Genealogy Trails  

Arizona Trails


Arizona State Flag

Pima County, Arizona

Arizona State Flag


Pima County, Arizona needs a Host!!
if you are interested in hosting Pima County read our
Volunteer Page.

Gene Phillips is the Arizona State Host.

There are links to forms on the state home page to use to submit obit and cemetery headstone information. Or you can send the data directly to me.
Click HERE to go to submission forms.

We regret that we are unable to perform personal research for folks.
All data we come across will be added to this site.
We thank you for visiting and hope you'll come back again to view the updates we make to this site.


      Pima County, the second largest of the four original counties, was created in 1864 and included approximately all of southern Arizona acquired from Mexico by the Gadsen Purchase. Settlement of the region goes back to the arrival in the I 690s of the Spanish who encountered Native Americans already living there.

      About the middle of the 18th century, silver and gold were discovered and prospectors from Mexico entered the area in droves. The latter part of the century saw expansion of mining and ranching in Pima County and an increase in population, despite the threat of attack from roaming bands of Apaches.

      The Royal Presidio de San Augustin del Tucson was completed by 1781,and it remained the northern-most outpost of Mexico until the arrival of American soldiers in 1856. From a population of 395 in 1820, Tucson has grown to be the second largest city in Arizona. It has always served as the Pima County seat and was the Arizona Territorial capital from 1867 to 1877. Tucson is home to the University of Arizona and offers many historical and cultural attractions.

      Just south of Tucson is the Mission of San Xavier del Bac, founded in 1697 by Father Kino and still in use today. Within Pima County are two cactus forests Saguaro National Park to the northeast and Organ Pipe Cactus National Monument in the southwestern portion.

      Although greatly reduced from its original size, Pima County still covers 9184 square miles. It ranges in elevation from 1,200 feet to the 9,185-foot peak of Mount Lemmon. The San Xavier, Pascua Yaqul and Tohono O'odham reservations together account for ownership of 42.1 percent of land located in Pima County. The state of Arizona owns 14.9 percent; the U.S. Forest Service and Bureau of Land Management, 12.1 percent; other public lands, 17.1 percent: and individual or corporate ownership, 13.8 percent. Pima County has an Enterprise Zone that includes all of South Tucson, central Tucson, portions of Marana, Sahuarita, parts of Pima County and parts of the Tohono QOdham and Pasqua Yaqui Indian Reservations.












Family History


Pima County Districts

1880 Mortality Schedule


Join our Genealogy Trails Southwest States to get email notices
when our county sites are updated.

For the Southwest States of :
Arizona, Nevada, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas


Neighboring Counties

Santa Cruz

N O T I C E :
Please DO NOT subscribe to our mailing list if you
currently use a Challenge/Reply type of spam software
on your computer such as 0spam or dropspam.
These programs are INCOMPATIBLE with mailing lists.

To join our mailing lists for other Genealogy Trails states

This page last updated on -- 14 Nov 2016