Ronstadt, who was President of the Arizona Cattle Growers Association
1948-1950, has been associated with the cattle business almost from the
time of his birth in Tucson on August 25, 1903.
Cattle are in his blood on both his father's and mother's side; his
mother's grandfather was one of the early California rancheros, while
his father, Joe Ronstadt, was born on a cattle ranch about 60 miles,
below the border at Altar, Sonora.
In 1905 Carlos' father founded the Baboquivari
Cattle Company on the east side of the Baboquivaris. He later acquired
part of the La Osa and other properties, and began buying Mexican
cattle to place on the Arizona holdings. When he went to gather these
cattle, he found they had apparently been swallowed by other brands.
However, the outfit grew despite the setbacks. And
by the time young Carlos was of ropin' age. the Santa Margarita Ranch
was one of the big outfits of the Baboquivari country,
Carlos worked with the cattle during the summers and
attended school in the winters. After his graduation from the
University of Arizona, where he received a degree in Agricultural
Marketing, he worked with Armour & Company for two years. Then,
with a well-rounded education in the meat producing business, he
returned to the Baboquivari Ranch to become active in improving the
quality of the cattle.
In 1928, Carlos married Elizabeth Graves, a
University schoolmate, from Phoenix. They have a six-year-old daughter,
Nina, and a son. Karl G., who's now with the U. S. Air Force at
Cheyenne, Wyoming. And Carlos takes great pride in the fact that his
grandson. Carlos Dalton Ronstadt, is the fifth generation of Ronstadts
born in Tucson.
Since his father's death in 1933. Carlos has
acquired a ranch on the Santa Cruz River at Amado where he raises
cotton, alfalfa, corn and barley, and operates a modern feed lot to
fatten cattle from the Baboquivari range.
With Carlos' paternal grandfather having been born in Germany and
married in Sonora. and with his maternal ancestors of California
Spanish and English blood, he asks. "What am I?" Abbie Keith. Secretary
of the Arizona Cattle Growers Association, answers: "AN AMERICAN For
America is a fusion of . . . pioneer-spirited souls of every land!"
Joseph Pinkney Stinson
& Sarah West June Stinson
Stinson was born in New Providence. Alabama, on the 4th of January.
1850. Sarah West June was also born there only two years later, on the
27th of February. 1852. They grew up there
and met and were married in the year of 1872. on March the seventh.
They were both children of farmers, and so they too settled down to
begin their farming life. Their family grew to seven children, and then
a change came into their lives by way of two Mormon Elders of the
Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. The Elders were treated
very warmly and their message was heard, and the Slinson's became
members of the Church.
The Stinson's left Alabama and moved to Safford to
be nearer to the Mormon Church.
After living in Layton a few years they moved to Mesa. There in Mesa
two more children were born.
The Stinson's then moved back to Graham County, this time to Pima.
Allie Stinson Lines takes up the story: We came through Tucson,
Willcox, and on to Artesia, where we camped all night and then drove
into Pima the next day. We camped at Jim White's till we could find a
house. We found a two-room lumber house two blocks from the school
The two wagon boxes had to be bedrooms for awhile. Daddy then got a
four-room brick house up close to the Depot (which is now the site of
the Bush and Shurtz store). That was home till the family were all
grown up and married and settled in homes of their own. Daddy was
always a lover of animals and was never happier than when he had
someone's sick cow or horse to help doctor.
Mother became ill and died in 1906 and then Daddy
died a year later in 1907, leaving five children at home to be reared
and cared for by two older brothers. The three older girls were already
married. Ida Stinson married Clifford Farrington. Annie married
Lafeyette Judd and Bette married Charley E. Ferrin. James married Agnes
Nuttall, Allie married Alvin Lines and Aurelia married Rube Duke.
Willie Stinson married Bernice Steel and Porter Stinson never married.
"Joseph and Sarah have among their grand-children
and great-grandchildren, school teachers, medical people, electrical
engineers, farmers, contractors, miners and most important, family all
working in the Church for which they gave of so very much. There are
Bishops. Elders, etc. I have always been thankful that they did and
brought us all here to Pima."
Source: Pioneer Town, A Pima Centennial History
Lucy Craig Foutz
Lucy Craig Foutz was born in Pima
August 25, 1889. to lames Mormon and Elizabeth Craig. She was only
three months old when her father was killed.
Lucy, as all of Grandma Craig's
children, was taught to work, to help in any way she could help her
mother's hard struggle to raise her large family. When she was eighteen
years old she married Marry Lee, June 1908. They became the parents of
five children, Harry was killed in a railroad accident.
Lucy then bought the Charles Walsh
home, this is where Susanna Costner now lives, it was she that built
the additional two rooms on the home.
After two years of being a widow. Ed
Allen having lost his wife asked Lucy to marry him. Lucy and Ed spent
twenty years together, their home was where Alma and Wyona Bryce live.
They became the parents of four children, only one living to adulthood.
When Ed retired from the farm they
moved into town, their home was where Polly Carter lives at this time.
Ed passed away soon after moving here.
It was only a few years later Joe
Foutz was left a widow with five small boys to raise. Lucy married him
and became a mother to his family.
Joe and Lucy moved to Farmington. New
Mexico, then to California. When Joe retired they moved back to the
Gila Valley finding a home in Thatcher. Joe Foutz died three months
later. Lucy still lives in their Thatcher home.
Source: Pioneer Town, A Pima
William Jones Preston
William Jones Preston was born at
Howard Lake. Wright County. Minnesota April 10. 1885. His parents.
Thomas and Hannah Preston, joined the LDS Church in Minnesota and moved
to Pima. Arizona in 1885 before he was a year old.
In 1912 he married Phyllis Walser who
was born in Colonia Juarez, Chihuahua. Mexico, on November 13.1893. and
came to Arizona during the Pancho Villa Revolution, when she was
eighteen years old.
Will and Phyllis farmed most of their
lives between Pima and Glenbar, or Fairview as it was called when they
first moved there.
They were the parents of ten
children, two of whom died in infancy. The youngest son. Max Lee was
killed in a plane crash in Flagstaff. Arizona November 27. 1955 at the
age of twenty-two The oldest son. William Ross, died February 19.1979
He was an attorney and had resided in Flagstaff since 1942. He was
sixty three at the time of his death.
William J. Preston died January 20.
1951 and Phyllis died May 21. 1967.
The six surviving children are:
Margaret Bourdon of Show Low. Arizona: Dennis H. of Riverside.
California: Lucille Cooper of Camp Verde. Arizona: Robert Wade of
Flagstaff. Arizona; Florence Root of Tempe. Arizona: and James Neil of
Before Phyllis's mother. Annie
Hawkes. died in 1963. she was blessed with two great-great grand-
children from Will and Phyllis's family.
Source: Pioneer Town, A Pima
Preston & Bertha Isabel Rogers
Millard Preston, the son of Thomas
Preston and Hannah Ross was born March 26. 1879 in the town of Howard
Lake. Minnesota. He came to Pima with his parents when he was seven
Bertha Rogers was born in Pima,
perhaps the first baby girl to be born in the new settlement. Her
parents were: Joseph Knight and Josephine Wall Rogers. She was born
December 18. 1879 just nine months after the settlers arrived to settle
the small community.
In early childhood Millard and Bertha
were taught to work, to help out where or when they were needed
Millard and Bertha were married on
May 1. 1901. This marriage was unique as it was a double wedding.
Millard's sister Mary Elizabeth married Joseph Alder and John F. Nash
(a brother in-law) performed the wedding ceremony.
In 1906 the Canadian government and
the church encouraged young married families to go north to homestead,
so Millard and Bertha went to Frankburg. Alberta. Canada to homestead
160 acres of prairie land.
After ten years of fighting the cold
in Canada and remembering their friends and the warm winter days in
Pima, the Prestons returned to their old home. They bought eighty acres
of land from Joe Alder and built a new home, this is where Rodney Alder
Millard and Bertha worked hard to
make a good farm out of the land they bought, they raised good alfalfa
and grain and were happy back here with their friends and relatives.
Then tragedy struck hard and often.
Delso May died with double pneumonia. Josephine Presto Alfred died
after giving birth. Then Bertha passed away at childbirth.
Millard later married Ethel Cole with
her four children and worked very hard to support the big family, but
odds were against him. He lost the farm and went to work for the
Millard died November 24. 1962 He and
Bertha were the parents of eight children: Josephine, Delsa May, Maida,
Thomas Lloyd, Donald Reed, Milton and Virgil.
Source: Pioneer Town, A Pima
Thomas Elliot Norton
& Clarissa Roxanna Norton
Thomas Norton was born in Lehi. Utah
September 23. 1859. Clarissa was born January 29, 1870 in Salem. Utah.
They wen' married in Pima on February 2. 1888
Tom was the town barber, and Clarissa
helped in every way possible and the Norton's were happy as their
babies began to arrive to make their family complete.
They were the parents of five
daughters. Clarissa. Mahala. Alice. Stella, and Thelma. when in 1898
Tom was called on a mission. He sold all his barber equipment and left
for a Southern States Mission
Roxanna changed her front room into a
"CANDY SHOP" to help support her family and keep Tom on his mission.
She became the janitor for both the school and church, she worked hard
each day and each day she would put twenty-five cents away, as she was
determined to meet Tom in Salt Lake when he returned from the mission
The day finally came. Roxanna took
the two oldest girls and went to meet her husband and to have their
Temple work done then- in the Salt Lake Temple.
A dark cloud hovered over their
reunion however. Tom had contracted what in those days was called "Lung
Fever" and was very sick. When they arrived home. Tom's father-in-law
W.W. Crockett look him to Mt Graham with the hopes the clean mountain
air would help in his recovery, not to however and Tom died there in
Roxanna knowing now it was up to her
alone to feed, clothe and care for her children, pulled her shoulders a
little straighter and went to work. In addition to the work she had
been doing she look in washing and mining, made ice cream which she and
her daughters sold at the dances and other community affairs and did
raise and care for her five daughters.
Aunt Sanie, as she began to be called
card not only for her family, but found time to help others in need.
She was Relief Society President for twenty three years. She helped
being new babies into the world, she cared for the elderly when they
were sick, she was a friend to all and loved by all. She raised her
daughters to become fine upstanding women and lived to see them married
and have families of their own. If Aunt Sanie was to be asked, without
a doubt she would say "yes it was all worthwhile and I would do it all
again". Aunt Sanie died in Mesa. Arizona at the home of her daughter
Mahala Maloy on December 26. 1951.
Source: Pioneer Town, A Pima
George Larsen &
Wife Hannah Roseberry
George Larsen was born September 12.
1848 to Peter and Sessa Larsen in Fallealeu. Halbek. Denmark.
George came to this country with his
parents between the age of ten or twelve. It is not known when he
arrived in Utah.
In 1878 when Carl Nils Roseberry and
his wife Helena Erickson left Utah to go to Arizona, George Larsen was
with them. He had been courting their daughter Hannah.
It was in Snowflake. George and
Hannah decided to return to St. George and be married Hannah's mother
went with them and they were married November 6. 1878
The Larsen"s lived in Snowflake until
1880 then they joined a number of families that were moving to the Gila
Valley. They arrived in Pima when the settlement was still a few
stockade type homes in the mesquite thicket.
George and the Roseberry"s went right
to work helping clear the thicket to bring some semblance of order to
For a time George and Joe Roseberry
did some freighting but mostly he farmed. He always kept his farm and
home looking nice. George was good to everyone and was well-liked in
the community. He was always ready to share his men! and produce with
the widows in town. George hauled many a load of firewood and gave to
those in need.
George and Hannah taught their twelve
children to work hard and be honest. They wanted their children to
receive as much education as possible.
On October 1.1907. Hannah passed away
leaving George with seven children to care for Sam. the oldest, was
twenty-seven. Bill, the youngest, was three.
George died June 6. 1910. he left a
nice farm for his children and plenty to keep them comfortable.
Their children are: Charles Samuel.
Helena Cecelia. George Myrum (died in infancy), Hannah Carline (died in
infancy). Elizabeth. Gusty Ann. Mary Lenora. Hilda and Hilma (twins).
Joseph Peter, Beatrice Sophia, and William Roseberry Larsen.
Source: Pioneer Town, A Pima
John F. Nash & Wife
Henrietta Preston Nash
John F. Nash was born May 24. 1865 in
Marysville. California. This was near the "Cold Diggins" on the banks
of the Yuba River. He was the son of Robert and Mary Nash.
Henrietta (Rettie) Preston Nash was
horn October 1.1867 and came to Pima with the family from Howard Lake.
Minnesota. She was the daughter of Hannah Jane Ross. These two families made their way to Pima
Arizona. John and Rettie met
when they were both teaching at the Smithville (Pima) school.
They were married March 21. 1899 in
Central Arizona. Joseph Bigler performed the ceremony.
The Nash's moved to Thatcher Arizona
where he was asked to teach algebra and geometry at the newly organized
Gila Academy. He went lo work at the school and taught there twenty
In 1905 John Nash went to Australia
on a Mission for the Mormon Church leaving his family in Thatcher. On
his return he resumed his leaching at the Academy.
He was set apart as a counselor to
Andrew Kimball in the St. Joseph Stake Presidency and served until 1927
when they moved to Mesa. Arizona to be Temple workers.
Rettie Nash was an ardent church
worker and a wonderful mother to her children. She taught classes in
all the church organizations. She supported her husband in all his
church and school labors.
John and Rettie had many virtues.
Their deep integrity, honesty, humbleness, charity, and kindly manner
towards all people and especially to the many students he taught at
Gila Academy was out-standing.
They were the parents of five
children: Nellie Kimball, Annie Farnsworth, Florence Pierce. Fred Nash
and Olive Hoopes.
Source: Pioneer Town, A Pima
Ebenezer Bryce &
Wife Mary Ann Bryce
A kindly, unpretentious farmer of the Gila Valley who died in 1913, has
a more beautiful and enduring monument than the pyramids of the
Pharaohs, the famed TAJ MAHAL which Shal Jehan erected in memory of his
wife, or the timeless tombs of the Ming dynasty.
A tiny hamlet named in his honor will
also help perpetuate his name for future ages, and the best memorial of
all is a group of direct descendants that number in the many hundreds.
The man is Ebenezer Bryce; the
monument is the Bryce Canyon National Park; the hamlet is located
across the river from Pima. The story of Ebenezer Bryce is typical of
the many Mormon converts who left their mother country during the
nineteenth cen-tury to play a part in the great adventure that was
Born in Dunblain. Scotland, November
17, 1830. to Andrew Bryce and wife Janet Adams Bryce. When he was
eleven years old he became an apprentice in a shipyard. Later he
learned a car-penter's trade and that of a millright. He also sang in
the church choir. He came to the United States when he was seventeen,
landing in St. Louis, Mo., then making the trek to Utah with the James
Page Company and arrived in Salt Lake City. September 16. 1850. He
worked for a family by the name of George A. and Bathsheba Smith, and
it was here that he met his future wife, Mary Ann Park, who was helping
with the cooking and household duties. The young miss soon won
Ebenezer's heart and they were married 16 April 1854.
A combination of Ebenezer's inherent
pioneer spirit, the Mormon Church's colonization plan, and the magic of
his saw and hammer was responsible for his many moves throughout
central and southern Utah for the 26 years following his mar-riage. He
was called to different areas to help build up the towns, building
sawmills, flour mills, and shingle mills. He also built the church
house (LI)S) at Pine Valley, Utah. While living in Pine Valley,
Ebenezer bought a steam powered sawmill which he moved to Grass Valley
and then to Mount Trum-bull in Northern Arizona where he sawed lumber
to build the St. George Temple. When the contract was completed, the
church purchased his sawmill. Perhaps the Bryce's most memorable
location was in southern Utah. Their log cabin was built in an expanse
of green meadows with clusters of cedars, acres of standing pines,
rising rose-colored cliffs and an arching blue sky forming constant and
shifting scenes of grandeur.
The location was a practical one,
too. The nearby Paria River afforded Bryce, waters for irrigation of
crops and the watering of cattle, the close forests supplied the
settler with lumber and fuel. Bryce built a road to timberline. which
was also used by the people of nearby Cannonville. These early pioneers
then called the surrounding area "Bryce Canyon." a name which now
includes the entire ter-ritory of Bryce Canyon National Park. This
cabin built by Ebenezer is now serving as a Museum in Tropic. Utah. It
was moved a few miles from its original location in the meadows below
what is now known as Bryce Canyon National Park. In 1880 because of the
cold weather they decided they would move to a warmer climate, and this
is when the first chapter of the Bryce families Arizona adventure
began. Ebenezer sold his farm and part of his sheep, then traded the
balance for sheep in Arizona.
The soul-trying trip of the Bryce
family was made in three horse-drawn wagons. Ebenezer drove one of the
wagons, a son Dave, drove another, and Ebenezer Jr. (Ebb) who was
married by this time and had a family, drove the third. They wended
their way over the historic Mormon Trail.
Snowflake was the first Arizona home
of the Bryce family. Afterward they went through Bush Valley. Alpine,
and into Nutrioso. In August he moved his family to Williams Valley and
in 1882 the Bryce family started for the Gila Valley by way of Mule
Creek and Ash Peak. They arrived in Smithville. now Pima. November 17,
Ebenezer found the land of the Gila
Valley raw and uninviting, but he was a man of vision and possessed
great courage. Here was the land he was seeking. The mesquite thickets
bordering the Gila would become fertile fields; here was ample range
for his herds; the stately pines of the Graham Mountains could be
converted into homes. The prowling Apache was a danger he recognized
but feared not.
The first Gila Valley home of the
Bryce family was a tent with a hoard floor, located a short dis-tance
northwest of the present Pima High School. Ebenezer planned it only as
a temporary abode for his family, until he had time lo build a more
sub-stantial dwelling. A well was dug near the tent and good water was
found. Also, a stockade kitchen erected directly in front of the tent
helped make life more pleasant. The Bryce's second home was not far
east of the present Bush and Shurtz store build-ing. It was a frame
structure. Khenezer hauled the lumber from Tucson.
The cattle driven from the north,
first ranged to the west of the Cluff ranch, but were later moved to
the hills and mountains north of Pima. This was the beginning of the
present vast cattle domain now owned by grandsons of Ebenezer.
At the request of church authorities.
Ebenezer took a leading part in construction of a sawmill in the Graham
Mountains. Partners in this undertak-ing were Hyrum Weeeh. Joseph
Cluff, and John Moody. This sawmill was located in what is pres-ently
callixJ "Nuttal's Canyon." The lumber was marketed to pioneers at the
Cattleman and Millwright though he
was. Ebenezer's heart first belonged to the soil. Across the river from
Pima hi; began clearing ground of giant mesquite that grew in
profusion. With the aid of his sons and many others, they constructed
the Bryce canal with teams of horses, using Fresno and Slip scrapers,
bringing the muddy, life-giving waters of the Gila to the land. They
irrigated their fields, raised cattle and created farm lands.
In 1884. the canal was completed and
a goodly part of the land cleared. Ebenezer built a frame house on his
farm in Bryce which became his fami-ly's home until the time he
constructed the red brick home.
Ebenezer began construction on this
red brick home for his wife Mary Ann. He obtained brick from the kiln
at Safford. and he sought out wood with the finest of grains for the
doors and the wood-work. It was crafted with precision, and orna-mented
with careful details. From it you can under-stand the personality of a
man for whom both a foremost National Park and a small Arizona
Com-munity were named. This red brick home was built just a few yards
south of his lumber dwelling, and it was completed with one exception,
the front porch was never added for Mary Ann died before the intended
addition was begun.
He built a flour mill in Bryce just
below the hill, by the Alton Welker home; later flood waters washed it
away, but not until it had faithfully served its purpose. He also built
a grist mill in Safford for Christopher Layton.
Ebenezer was respected by all who
knew him. He loved to read and owned many fine books. In Church
affairs, he was honored by being made a Patriarch in the L.D.S. Church.
He died in 1913 and is buried beside
his wife in a plot of ground he opened up back in the days of Indian
trouble and range mayhem.
In summary, think with me, if you
will, words describing this great man and his wife who founded this
community: He was a carpenter, Millwright shipbuilder, cattleman,
gardner, farmer, he was courageous, honest, religious, determined,
indepen-dent, cultured, kind, faithful, a Missionary and a Patriarch.
His wife, Mary Ann was a homemaker, seamstress, candlemaker, she was
religious and a devoted wife and mother of twelve children.
This settlement was first officially
called Bryce, with the establishment of a Post Office August 6, 1883.
It was so named in honor of its founder, Ebenezer Bryce.
Many other families arrived in the
vicinity of the Bryce Community, and among them were the George O. Peck
family, who came in 1885, the John Felshaw family in 1887 and the Simon
Matthews family who came in 1891.
John Mattice and his bride, Jane
Louisa Bryce were married in 1888. Their first home was forty acres
they homesteaded north of the George A. Peck home. This is known today
as the Will Bryce farm located in Bryce.
Among the early settlers who came to
this little town were the Hayes, Nephi Packer family, the Daltons,
Mattices, Murpheys, Wakefields, Porters, Jeters, Stocktons, Walkers and
many others I do not know about. (I apologize if I have missed
someone). These people were all hard working people with a desire to
help build up the Community.
With the population of the Bryce
Community growing, the Bryce Ward Latter-Day Saint Church was
organized. A meeting was called in Ebenezer's home by Apostles Francis
M. Lyman and John Henry Smith, March 19, 1890 and an organization took
place, with Nelson Alma Mattice being sus-tained as Bishop with Alma N.
Bryce and George Otis Peck as counselors.
After serving a little over two
years, Nelson Alma Mattice was released and Alma N. Bryce was
sus-tained October 1, 1892. Thomas B. Nelson and Simon F. Murphy were
later sustained as coun-selors.
After faithfully serving as Bishop
for ten years Alma N. Bryce was released and David H. Claridge was
sustained on November 16.1902, with Thomas B. Nelson and Simon F.
Murphy as counselors with William 1. Porter as ward clerk.
It was also necessary to organize a
school district, known as district #17. The first school and also the
first church, was held in the Nephi Packer home. The first teacher on
record was Joanna Merrill in 1890. Some of the pioneer teachers were:
John Felshaw. Minnie Randall. Mr. and Mrs. Jeter, William Asay and
The Nephi Packer family played
another impor-tant role of interest in the Bryce history. Mr. Packer
operated the first store and post office. His tenure as Bryce
postmaster covered the period of August 5, 1891 to August 22. 1895.
Succeeding Mr. Packer as Postmaster was Alma N. (Al) Bryce who served
the Bryce Community at this post until January 30, 1907. In turn Mr.
Bryce was followed by Thomas E. Nelson as Bryce postmaster and
storekeeper. Mr. Nelson kept the store and post office until 1912, then
Heber B. Bryce and daughter Elnora operated it until moving to Lizzard
Ridge. Christena (Tena) Nuttall ran it until it was discontinued. Loran
and Martha Mattice ran the store after the post office was
discontinued. In later years, a store was built by George Alvin (Dick)
Bryce and it was operated by his daughter Lola Hubbard. Alma J. Bryce,
a son of George Alvin later took the store over and he oper-ated it
with the help of Lavon Peck.
Ebenezer and his wife, who died April
1897, were the parents of twelve children, four girls and eight boys.
All lived to marry and rear children with the exception of Dave. Six
sons and three daughters married and lived in the Bryce community, all
of them farmed and ran cattle for their livelihood. Working with cattle
in the early days was very hard work and long hours. Not having trucks
to load supplies in, they had to pack horses to move from one camp to
another. They had to ride horses from their homes to the mountains,
getting up at four in the morning to make the ride and coming in after
dark at night. These cattlemen. Ebenezer's sons, grandsons. Pecks and
the John Mattice men would corral the cattle as they gathered them on
their roundups, and then in order to sell them they had to drive them
from the mountains to the railroad at different shipping points, which
was Ft. Thomas at first, then Solomonville and lastly to Pima. They had
to stand guard over the cattle at night and the least little noise
would make them stampede, going in all directions, this meant they had
to gather them all up again. These early pioneers built a solid rock
corral on the mountain at what is known as "Big Spring". This corral
still stands and the water from this spring has never failed throughout
all the years, even tho there have been many years of drought. A pipe
line runs from this spring for about seven miles and furnishes water
for cattle at five different watering places.
In 1936 the cattlemen were notified
that the Indians were taking the Indian Reservation back, and they
would have to move their cattle off the land. Up until 1934 their
cattle was on Public Domain land, State and Patented land, but in 1934
a law was passed making it the BLM land. The Taylor Grazing act was
also passed and everyone had to fence their allotment. They began to
gather the cat-tle, selling off a lot of them and moving the rest to
other land they were using and owned. By 1940 they had everything moved
off and the Indians moved their cattle there. Art Lines owned goats in
Markam Creek, but later sold the goats off and Dick Bryce and sons
bought the grazing permit. They also bought remnants of cattle from
different cattlemen. With the coming of more people, more land was
cleared and cultivated. There could only be a small acreage irrigated
with the first Bryce canal, so in order to irrigate more land they
consolidated with the Oregon Canal, and as time went by the Oregon and
the Graham canals consolidated and it is known today as the "Graham
These early pioneers endured many
hardships, many trials and tribulations, but their faith never wavered.
Their faith was the sustaining power that kept them going. They were a
happy people and happiness came from living their religion. Often in
the evenings after a hard days work, they met together and sang songs
and danced and enjoyed each other. Their main recreation was ward and
community dances held almost every weekend. Music was sometimes
furnished by Tommy Fuller playing the violin accompanied by his
daughter on the piano. There were primary dances where the children
were taught to dance. In earlier days on the first of May they always
braided the Maypole and crowned the May Queen. The 4th and 24th of July
was always celebrated with parades, etc. Of course, there were their
religious meetings and socials where they all worked together, such as
Primary. Relief Society. MIA. Sunday School and Sacrament Meeting.
About 1909 the population had
increased so much, it was found necessary to form another school
district in the west part of Bryce. A house of adobe was soon made
ready and school began with the first teacher on record being Alice
Sabin. Some of the pioneer teachers were: Queen May Holman. Mary
Mellinger. David Heywood and Nora Lamoreaux. This place was called
"Enterprise" commonly known as Lizzard Ridge. School district #43.
After about fourteen or fifteen years this school was dissolved and the
children were sent hack to the Bryce school district. At this time and
a few years previous there were many families moved into this
community. Some of them were the Ted Adams family, Billingsley's,
Moyes, Layton's, Ison's. Pollocks. Messenger's Lamoreaux. Johnston's,
Cosper's. Thatchers, Nuttalls. Harless, Beaches. Dixons, Welker s.
Ratliffs. Powells. Jarvis's and the Hancock's.
At a ward meeting held February 28,
1909 with President Andrew Kimball and Charles Layton of the St. Joseph
Stake Presidency. Bishop Claridge was released and George A. Peck was
sustained as Bishop, with Oscar Tyler and David J. Bryce as counselors.
After serving the ward well for fifteen years as Bishop he was
honorably released. He had found employment in the Globe. Arizona area
and the ward was left in charge of his counselors. James A. McBride and
Miles Messenger until January 4. 1925. (dates taken from Ward Record)
On January 4. 1925. lames A. McBride was sus-tained as Bishop with Ray
D. Lamoreaux and Miles Messenger as counselors. Miles Messenger was
released September 7. 1930 and Ray D. Lamoreaux and Alma J. Bryce was
sustained as counselors. Due to the growing population, the old
school-house became too small to accommodate all the people. It was
decided to build a new red brick school house on the corner lot north
of where the old school building stood. This building was finished in
1926. After the school moved to its new location it was decided to
remodel the old building and convert it into a church house.
Bishop McBride obtained permission
from the General Authorities to do this, and on February 22. 1928 much
planning and work began. A committee was appointed and it was decided
to assess each family according to their ability to pay. The work was
very slow as members of the ward tried to work out part of their
assessment, and since it was har-vest time, the men had to gather their
crops, but the work slowly continued and the building was finished and
dedicated March 26, 1929 with 143 in attendance. President Harry L.
Payne. William C. Ellsworth and Spencer W. Kimball of the St. Joseph
Stake Presidency were present. They encouraged the Saints and praised
them for their efforts, and stated it was a lovely place to worship the
Lord. President Payne gave the dedicatory Prayer.
Bishop James A. McBride family
decided to move to Safford, so he was released as Bishop August 30.
1931. This left the ward without a Bishop again for a few months, hut
his counselors Ray D. Lamoreaux and Alma J. Bryce carried on. Bishop
McBride served some seven years, (taken from Ward Record) On January
24, 1932 at a Ward Conference, Jesse M. Layton was sustained as Bishop
with Alma J. Bryce and Melvin M. Hancock as counselors. The ward
continued to grow very fast and there was much Temple work done during
this time. Bishop Jesse M. Layton was released December 30. 1934. Silas
F. Jarvis was sustained as Bishop of the Bryce Ward December 30, 1934
with Melvin M. Hancock and Alton A. Welker as counselors, with George
A. Peck as ward clerk. By this time they were very much in need of a
new ward church house. By approval of Church Authorities the old
building was torn down October 1, 1937 and plans for a new one began.
Church was held in the new schoolhouse during time of construction of
the church. Melvin M. Hancock was released as 1st counselor and Alton
A. Welker was sustained to take his place April 17. 1938 and |ohn C.
Cosper as 2nd counselor. George Peck was released as clerk and |ames E.
Harless was sustained in his place. Actual labor on the new building
commenced August 19. 1940. and through much hard labor by Bishop
Jarvis. his counselors and everyone in the Community, enough money was
raised through dif-ferent projects to help finance the building. The
new Church was completed in July 1941. at a cost of approximately
$11,000.00. The first Church service was held in the new building July
20. 1941 and was dedicated by Apostle George Albert Smith on March 29,
The Presidency of the St. Joseph
Stake. President James M. Smith. Jack Daley and Benjamin Blake
at-tended a Conference held August 30.1942 at which time Silas F.
Jarvis was released as Bishop after serving some eight years.
Alton A. Welker was sustained as
Bishop of the Bryce Ward August 20,1942 with Alma J, Bryce and Lawrence
E. Hancock as counselors and James Whitmer as Ward clerk. James Whitmer
was released and Raymond Copple was sustained October 13, 1946.
At the close of the school year in
1943-44 the pop-ulation of the district had decreased so much, it was
decided to consolidate the Bryce district with Pima school district,
and the children were bussed to Pima. The Bryce school house was torn
down and the red brick from this building was taken to Pima and used to
build a new L.D.S. Seminary building. Because of the population
decrease, in Septem-ber, 1946, it was decided to take the M.I.A. to the
Pima Ward where there would be more young peo-ple of the same age.
Bishop Welker announced that transportation would be provided.
At a Sacrament meeting June 29, 1947
one of the older pioneers, Sarah C. Bryce gave "A vivid description of
the early pioneers who first settled in the Gila Valley, and of the
trials they had with the
Indians". During the years that Silas
F. Jarvis, Alton A. Welker and Alma J. Bryce was Bishop, there were
many projects, to raise money, first to help build the new church, then
to help furnish it with drapes, carpet, etc. The ward and Priesthood
members had several projects, such as: a calf project, and a cotton
project. The Relief Society ladies served dinners, had rummage sales
and helped wherever possible to help accomplish their goal.
After about eight years as Bishop,
Alton A. Welker was released February 26, 1950.
Alma J. Bryce was sustained Bishop of
the Bryce Ward February 26, 1950, with John C. Cosper and Lawrence E.
Hancock as counselors, with Douglas Farnsworth as clerk.
Work was continued on the projects to
raise money to carpet the church house. Soon the goal was reached and
carpet was purchased to cover the aisles, pulpit and the Relief Society
room. Church was held in this building until December 5,1954. On
account of the membership of the com-munity being so small at this
time, the General Au-thorities decided it was best to discontinue the
ward. At a meeting held on this date, the President of the Stake met
with the ward membership and released all those who were holding
positions in the ward, including Bishop Alma J. Bryce who had served
faithfully for some four years. The member-ship of the Bryce ward was
assigned to the Pima Second Ward.
On December 5,1954, Bryce Ward became
a part of the Pima 2nd Ward.
In 1956-57 the Bryce L.D.S. Church
house was moved to Pima and became the home of the Relief Society to be
used by both Pima and Pima 2nd Wards. Bishop Elbert Alder of the Pima
2nd Ward, Bishop Wilford Crockett of the Pima Ward with the Relief
Society Presidency of both wards. President Bertha Welker and her
counselors. Fern Alder and Cherril Weech. and President Jane T. Mattice
with her counselors, Jacy Crockett and Ruth Marshall, all worked
together with many more in the Com-munity and made this building into a
very comfort-able place for Relief Society.
At this time, 1978, there are
thirty-five families living in Bryce and twenty-five people are
descendants of Ebenezer and Mary Ann Bryce.
If any one man should be named
responsible for the settlement of Ihe village we know as Pima, that man
would be William R. Teeples.
Wm Teeples was living in Holden. Utah when Apostle Erastus Snow came
and asked him In act as captain, to form a company of ten families, to
help settle Arizona.
Upon arriving at Forest Dale they discovered the Moses Cluff family
they had known in Utah. It was especially good to see these friends, as
it was Christmas Eve.
While living in Forest Dale. Wm Teeples and five others, upon the
advice of Mr. Cooley. went south to look over the Gila Valley.
Mr. Teeples was much impressed with the Valley, the others were not so
favorably impressed. In February he went with three others Hyrum Weech.
Ben Pearce, John W. Tanner, to again look at the Valley. All liked what
After gaining permission from the Church Authorities. Wm Teeples again,
on March 17. 1879. started to the Gila Valley. In the company were
twenty-eight men. women, and children, a small enough group, to start
the settlement in the Gila Valley.
These twenty-eight souls located and founded the town we now call Pima.
Wm R. Teeples had not long to live in the Town he helped settle. He
died June 5. 1883. at age forty-nine. His passing left an empty space
in the small community that was difficult to fill.
Wm Teeples was married to two wives. Harriet Cook and Caroline Teeples.
Each wife had a large family.
Joseph Knight Rogers
December 1844-17 December 1906
The above is a brief summary of the
accomplishments of this man. Joseph Knight Rogers and wife Josephine
and three children, came to Smithville (Pima) April 8. 1879. He was the
Presiding Elder of the group of 28 who left Cooley's Ranch with the
blessing of President Jesse N. Smith, of Snowflake Stake.
1- One of the Founders of Pima
2- First Presiding Elder
3- First Bishop
4- Father of Graham County
5- Served two terms in Legislature
6- School Board Trustee
7- Rogers Reservoir
10- Father of 21 Children
His was one of Ihe first homes built, it had a combination roof of
willows, tall rush grass, then finer grass mixed with clay and mud.
lastly dry earth was put on to keep the rain out. A Public well was dug
directly in front of his house for all to use. On September 26. 1880 he
was ordained Bishop of the Smithville Ward holding this position until
J.K.. (as he came to be called) was elected as member of the House of
Representatives and served in the 11th Territorial Legislature. This
convened in Prescott January 3,1881. and closed March 12, 1881. He rode
on horseback from Pima to Prescott.
Sister Mary Ransom knitted him a pair of gloves to help protect his
During this session he introduced the bill which created Graham County
from Pima and Apache County.
At that time the newly created area comprised what is now Graham and
Greenless counties. Graham was the first County with an English name,
all the others had Indian names.
J.K. also served in the Legislature which was held in Phoenix in 1897.
From Journals of Arizona 1881 we learn that J.K. voted for measures he
felt would directly benefit or be uplifting to the; people he served.
He was always interested in the community, serving as school board
trustee, and on the Board of directors of the canals.
He first owned forty acres east of town but since "all land had been
taken up." he and his family took up 680 acres of land, about one half
of this was farming land. Here was constructed the Roger's Reservoir
about 1890. On this land also is the Rogers Cemetery where Joseph
Knight Rogers was laid to rest December 20. 1906.
He had married three women in accordance with the law of polygamy. They
were Josephine Wall. Louisa Roseberry and Mary Fuller. He fathered
twenty-one children, three of whom preceded him in death. Two of his
children are living at the date of this writing, they are: Mary Rogers
Payne of Mesa. Arizona, and Susanna Rogers Costner still
living in Pima, a block away from her fathers original home.
Other descendants still residing in Pima
are Betty Jean Costner Morris and family, Deanna Rogers Batty and
family, Olive Myers Crockett. In Safford. The Don Preston Family and
Helen Williams Crandall.
The Weech Family
On October 6. 1845, in Herefordshire,
England, when Hyrum Weech was born, the Weech family had no indication
that part of the family was destined to help settle, the Great American
West, that land which became part of the State of Arizona.
Not long after Hyrum's birth, events started to shape the future of
First. Mormon missionaries converted the parents. Samuel and Elizabeth
Gould Weech, to the LDS Church.
Second, was their desire to join the Saints in Utah. The story of their
emigration to America and journey across the plains to eventually
settle in Goshen. Utah, was, as so many others, full of hardships. The
father and one daughter died in Illinois just after a sister, Emily,
was born. The story of how the mother continued on with her family
would, in itself, fill a book.
The third event was the trouble in Goshen over water rights, and other
disappointments, which forced another move, this time to Arizona.
When Hyrum Weech with his wife Sarah Dall Weech. arrived in Pima there
were six children in the family. The first four, Sarah, Elizabeth,
Rebecca and Emma, were all daughters. Hyrum was getting quite
aggravated with Sarah for all the girl babies. At last came a boy,
David Henry, and then another girl. Jane. Seven more children were born
in Pima; Pearl. Joseph, William, John, Amanda, Robert and Clara.
Hyrum and Sarah Weech lived a long and eventful life, filled with
service to Church, community and fellowman.
They left a story of their lives, including the founding of Pima. This
little book, "Our Pioneer Parents", has proved invaluable in
researching the history of Pima and it's settlers. Hyrum Weech also
married Mary Taylor, a daughter of John Taylor. From this union was
born a girl, Mary Lorena, and a boy who died at birth.
Lorena married Dennis Smithson and lives at Woodruff. Arizona, and is
the mother of a large family. Still living, she is the last of the
Hyrum Weech children.
There are, however, two daughters-in-law living at this time (1978):
Janie Boswell Weech, 91, and Mary Allen Weech, 81.
The second member of the Weech family to settle in the Gila Valley was
Emily Weech Lines, the ancestress of numerous Lines and Mary Lines
McBride families living in Pima.
The mother, Elizabeth Weech. arrived next and made her home close by
Joseph Samuel Weech
The fourth member of the Weech family
to arrive in Pima was Joseph Samuel Weech, an older brother to Hyrum
Weech and Emily Weech Lines.
Joseph came to Pima in 1884. His wife, Emma Wilkins, had died, leaving
him with six of his youngest children.
Joseph moved on to Layton and settled next to the Olsen family. His
daaghter. Rachel Weech. married Tscar Alfred Olsen on October 10, 1894.
She and Oscar joined the two farms on Lone Star Lane which are still
owned by their descendants.
Oscar and Rachel were the parents of eight children: Joseph, Emma.
Howard, Harold. Harry, Lola. Glenna and Anna Mae.
Joseph Samuel Weech died in 1893 and is buried in the Pima Cemetery
next to his mother, Elizabeth Gould Weech.
On July 4, 1879 the small community of Smithville (Pima) gathered to
celebrate with games, races and of course a dance planned for the
The celebration was made doubly so when four young unmarried men rode
into the village on horseback. These young men were, Joseph Edwin
Cluff, his brother, David Guff, Jeff Hundly and Tom Sessions. The young
men had left Forest Dale July 1, making the trip in three days. The
Cluff brothers reported their Father, Joseph Sr., was making ready to
leave Forest Dale and would soon join them in Pima.
The settlers did indeed welcome these new arrivals to the settlement.
Joseph Cluff and his sons were industrious willing workers. They joined
right in helping in any community project. It was with their help the
Smithville Canal was completed enough to deliver water so crops could
be planted in early 1880.
The Joseph Cluff family, later cleared land a few miles east of Pima,
built their home and moved into what is now Central. Joseph Cluff was
ordained the first Bishop of the Central Ward in October 1883.
On April 22, 1896 he opened a Central store. Joseph Cluff will be
remembered by all his descendants. Among the many are. Irwin Cluff.
Cluff Holliday. Lester Mattice. Verna Ray Cluff Colvin. May Cluff
Follett and so many many more.
The Reuben Warren Allred family came to Pima in 1879. after a journey
that took them over thirty years.
Reuben and Elzadie Ford Allred
Reuben Warren Allred was eighteen
years old when he married Elzadie Emiline Ford. Four days after their
marriage, both joined the Mormon Battalion. Elzadie was allowed to go
along with her new husband, as two women were with each Company, to do
laundry work for the men. At Santa Fe, New Mexico, Elzadie had to turn
back toward Salt Lake City, while Reuben continued on toward
California. After the Battalion was disbanded, Reuben joined his wife
in Salt Lake City, Utah.
In 1879 the Allred's moved to Pima, Arizona with their family of three
children, John Warren, Mary Lilly and Rosebelle. Although the Indians
were at times troublesome, and the place had no near neighbors. Reuben
moved about seven miles west of Pima, to a place called Buttermilk
Point. This was near Matthewsville.
The Allreds found it profitable to milk cows, make butter and cheese,
to sell to the soldiers at Ft. Thomas. The Freighters, going from Bowie
to Globe, always looked forward to stopping at the Allred Farm for a
cool glass of buttermilk.
After five years, the Allreds moved back to Pima buying the Henry Dall
farm, as Henry Dall wished to return to Utah. This was near the Hilda
Some of Reuben and Elzadie's descendants still living in Pima are,
Orson Allred, Clare Allred Larson, and a host of others.
Simon B. Miller & Maryann Dall Miller
When Hyrum Weech and Henry Dall
returned with their families in December, 1879. with them was a
brother-in-law, Simon B. (Charley) Miller, his wife Mary Ann Dall
Miller, two boys and two girls.
The Millers were made welcome into the home of the Gallager family,
where they lived until Charley could build a one room log cabin for his
Charley Miller was indeed a most welcome addition to the small
community. He pitched right in helping on the Smithville and Dodge
Canals to bring in the much needed water and many other community
The Miller family were all industrious, hard working individuals, with
Mary Ann and the girls helping with the planting and harvesting when
necessary. The Miller's built an Adobe Hotel with dining room. This was
where the red brick Hotel was later built.
Charley and Mary Ann Miller have many descendants still living in Pima.
Louella Miller Marshall's story is in "Our Pioneer Women" chapter.
John Nuttall and Laura Gardner Nuttall arrived in Pima January 28,1880.
The Nuttall family had lived at Forest Dale for a year before moving to
Pima. They had many friends who had come to Pima the year before.
John Horatio Nuttall & Wife Laura
The Nuttall home was right across the
street from the J.K. Rogers home. Their first home, as were all the
others in Pima at that time, was of logs. Later he built a brick home,
that as their family increased, was added upon to become a large
John Nuttall is believed to have built the first sorghum mill in Pima,
having it ready the first fall after his arrival.
The Nuttalls bought the sawmill that had been moved from the Chiricahua
Mountains by Hyrum Weech. Ebenezer Bryce and )ohn M Moody.
The canyon, where the mill was located, was later named Nuttall Canyon.
John also owned and operated a flour mill, first located in Pima, then
moved to Bryce, where a few years later it was washed away when the
Gila was in flood.
The Nuttalls owned a threshing machine, threshing grain throughout the
John and Laura took an active part in Church andcivic activities. They
liked to see the young people have a good time. John and Laura
accompanied them on picnics and hayrack rides. They also built a hall
encouraging the young to dance.
It is said of John Nuttall. His word is always good and he can be
John also married Christina Hubbard and raised the two large families.
Hundreds of John's. Laura's and Christina's descendants live in the
Gila Valley and throughout Arizona.
More Settler's Arrive
On January 12. 1880. Ihe Vanguard of
a large group of settlers arrived. These families would almost double
the population of Pima.
The first to arrive consisted of Thomas Ransom, his wife Mary (Mame)
Dodge Ransom. Peter McBride. his wife Ruth Burns McBride amd two sons.
Frank and Howard. Arthur Newell and Family, and Abraham Boswell. whose
wife Hannah Dodge Boswell. was not along at that time.
After looking the valley over. Tom and Mame Ransom returned to Forest
Dale to help others move in and bring in their cattle.
Abraham Boswell returned to Toquerville. Utah, for his wife and family,
and also others still in Toquerville. They all met in Forest Dale, then
made up a large wagon train to go on to the Gila Valley.
Those making up this train were. Seth Dodge, his two wives with a large
number of teenage boys and girls, another son-in-law William Ransom,
his wife Permelia Dodge Ransom. Nells Joseph Roseberry. his wife
Lucretia and family. Samuel Green, his wife Lucinda and family.
Seth George Dodge & Lovina Braden
With this influx of new settlers, a
town meeting was called where it was resolved to grant these new
families all the rights and privileges as those arriving earlier, so
the lot numbers were again placed in a hat and each head of family drew
a number that corresponded with the lot he was to build upon. There was
undoubtedly some trading because one whole block fell to four of the
Thomas Ransom (a son-in-law of Seth Dodge) first home was where Vance
Marshall lives now. He took up land for farming to the north and west
somewhere to the east of where the Mack farm waslater. At that time
there was no water available, so Thomas Ransom (a son-in-law of Seth
Dodge) first home was where Vance Marshall lives now. He took up land
for farming to the north and west somewhere to the east of where the
Mack farm was later. At that time there was no water available, so he
and the Dodges commenced a canal for irrigation purposes. This was
named the Dodge canal as the Dodge men supplied most of the labor. Tom
and Mame had no children of their own. There were however, always young
people living in their home. Verda Stowe and Frank Balland. left
orphans as children, were given a home by the Ransoms, where they grew
to adulthood. Myrtle Ransom Golf and Lavina Dodge lived there much of
the time. Thomas Rasmussen was the last to live in their home. Tom
lives where the Ransoms had a home after moving back from Oregon.
William John Ransom and wife Permelia Dodge Ransom were also with the
large group arriving in May 1880. William Ransom was living in
Toquerville. Utah, when he was called to work on the St. George Temple.
In 1878 he was married to Permelia Dodge. At this time the Seth Dodge
family were considering a move to Northern Arizona. He and Permelia
traveled along with his wife's family, eventually arriving in Pima.
These were busy times for Will and Permelia. raising food for their
needs, attending their Church duties, and supplying the necessities for
Will and his brother. Tom and a brother-in-law Eli Dodge went into the
mountains, built a "up and down mill" and donated six hundred board
feet of lumber when the new Brick Church was built. Most of this lumber
was used for window and door frames.
John Simion & Lenora McRay Holladay
John Simion Dodge, was born September 27, 1859 in Beaver, Utah to Seth
George and Mariah Jane Davidson Dodge. John came to Pima with the rest
of the Dodge family in 1880. He married LenoraMcRay Holladay September
13. 1882. Lenora or Nora as she was always called, was the daughter of
Thomas Wiley and Ann Hotton Matthews Holladay. She was born November
19, 1867 in Santaquin. Utah. She, with her parents came to Pima a short
time before her marriage.
John was a cattleman, he and his brother Delos, were building up a
ranch south of Pima, running their cattle in the foothills of Mt.
To help finance the ranch, John took a government contract to carry
mail and passengers from Willcox to Ft. Thomas by way of Ft. Grant. The
road at that time went from Ft, Grant over the west end of Mt. Graham,
then to Cedar Springs, down little Cottonwood Canyon and on to Ft.
Using Cedar Springs as a halfway station. John would drive to Willcox
then back to Cedar Springs. From Cedar Springs his younger brother
Joshua Thomas would then take the run to Ft. Thomas and back. Nora
lived at Cedar Springs with her first two children. Alva and John,
returning to Pima for the birth of their third child Eva.
With the end of the mail contract. John and Nora moved back to their
ranch southwest of Pima. It was there John died September 28. 1890
leaving Nora and the three small children.
Joshua Thomas Dodge
Joshua Thomas Dodge, was born
August 18,1867, he was the brother of John Dodge. At the death of John.
Thomas was a great help to Nora and her children.
On July 12. 1891 Tom and Nora rode horseback into Pima and were married.
At the time of their marriage they were still living at Simion Springs.
Noras two older children Alva and John, now old enough for school, had
a long walk into Glenbar for school.
To afford the children a better chance for education. Tom and Nora sold
the ranch and moved into Pima, there nine more children were born;
Rhoda, Lenora. Blanche, Ethel, Thomas Hollis. Clyde Harve. Ralph Seth.
Elija Reese, and Mildred.
Thomas freighted from Willcox to Globe until the railroad was completed
into Globe, this put an end to freighting by team and wagon.
When Harve Blair had his sawmill on Mt. Graham, Tom logged for him.
Thomas died November 30.1929. Lenora on July 12.1940. Both are buried
Ralph & Alva Dodge Lucas & Friend
Alva Dodge was born November 6. 1884
to John and Nora Dodge. The first home Alva remembers was at the Stage
Station at Cedar Springs, this was where her father and uncle had the
contract to carry the mail.
Alva was a true pioneer, as a child she learned to work, not only at
housework but also to be of help in the fields when needed.
Even as a child Alva had a desire for learning, as she grew older she
would have liked to have gone on to higher education, but family
circumstances did not permit this however, so Alva went to work to help
support the family.
When she was eighteen she married Ralph Edward Lucas. Ralph was born in
Santa Monica, California July 3, 1882. They were married July 29, 1903.
After their marriage Ralph and Alva built a home south of where the
Pima Depot was. It was there they had a chicken, egg and baby chick
business, later they sold out and moved to California.
Ralph and Alva always helped any of the family that was in need. They
were both active church workers. When Alva's sister. Ann became a widow
and Ralph's sister Louise needed assistance Ralph and Alva were there
to help. With their help Alva's sister Blanche was able to fill a
Ralph died in California and was buried in Rose Hills Cemetery in
Whittier. Alva then moved back to Mesa, where she now lives.
John Eugene Dodge
John was born 10 February 1887. in a
one-room house in Pima. Arizona, the eldest son of John Simion Dodge
and Lenora McRay Holladay. His father was a cattleman. During the
summer they lived at Snow Flat. His father died of a ruptured appendix
when John was three and a half years old. There were no doctors to
operate for appendicitis there at that time. The next July his mother
married his father's brother. Joshua Thomas Dodge. They rode horseback
to Pima to be married.
They lived at Simon Springs when Alva, his older sister, and he started
to school at Hog Town, later called Glenbur. He went to school there
one winter. then moved to Pima where he got the rest of his formal
education. He quit and went to work when he was in about the fourth
grade. He was about twelve years old when he worked for Uncle Tom
Ransom feeding cane to a sorghum mill and took his pay in sorghum at
fifty cents a day. At this time his uncle freighted from Globe to
Willcox. leaving Nora and the kids at home alone. At nights they went
to bed at dark so as not to light a lamp for fear of Indians coming.
When he was about fourteen he worked for Joe Alder making adobes for a
brick kiln, getting seventy-five cents a day. Then he moved to Harve
Blair's sawmill in the Graham mountains where he and his uncle logged
for the mill. He left before the season was over and went to work for
his uncle. Jack Dodge, in the butcher shop in Pima. After that he
helped Art Lines move a herd of goats from Bryce to Old Rock dairy at
Clifton. He did other odd jobs here and there for a few years and then
went back to Pima and started baling hay and working for the farmers.
West Follett and he broke horses for (YL) ranch, then he worked on the
For a long time he punched cows for the 76 cattle ranch. Desiring a
change, he went with "Chuck" Boyle to Los Angeles and took up
barbering. He worked in Weaver Jackson's Beauty Parlor for several
years before returning to Pima. It was here that he married a childhood
acquaintance. Lola Courtney, on January 3,1917. They lived in Pima and
he barbered there. During the First World War they moved to Globe,
where he caged in the Iron Cap Mine. It was here that Stanford was born
to them. December 20, 1917. They returned to Pima, where he ran the
Pima Barber shop.
Lyman was the youngest son of Seth
and Lovina Brandon Dodge. He was born February 26. 1862 in Beaver,
Utah. He was eighteen when, with his parents he came to Pima in 1880.
He with the rest of the Dodge family played an important part in the
growth of Pima.
Lyman helped his father build the Dodge home of white rock. (This house
is still standing on the corner of 1st north and 1st west).
He married Amanda Reynolds on June 1, 1882, they became the parents of
Lyman spent his life doing carpenter work, blacksmithing, freighting
and working at the mill in the Graham mountains.
He and Amanda were married for thirty-five years and all except one
year when he worked in Morenci was lived in Pima.
When he was 55 years old Lyman died of appendicitis June 24, 1917 in
Globe, Arizona, leaving Amanda with six children still at home. (Her
story is told in the Pioneer Women's Chapter of this book).
Will and his sister-in-law Mame Ransom were prominent in the production
of drama. It is told in one scene Will had to eat a pie, so his wife
with her keen sense of humor, baked a nice pie only using cottonseed
for raisins. It was quite a surprise to her husband when he, on stage,
tried to eat the pie. His lines were "Damn this pie. Molly". It was no
effort to say it with emphasis that night.
In early 1900 the Ransoms, along with other Pima people, moved to
Oregon. Will and Permelia lived there until
Permelia's health failed and then returned to Pima where
she passed away in October, 1917.
Will lived to the ripe old age of 86. He was buried by the side of his
wife. Will and Permelia were the Grandparents to the Art Woolsey family
and Thomas Rasmussen family, many still living in the Gila Valley.
Seth George Dodge, the father and father-in-law of the Dodge, Ransom
and Batty families, was not to live long after arriving in Pima. While
freighting from Willcox, his gun accidentally discharged killing him
Although his life here was short, the family remaining contributed so
much to the growth and development of Pima and the Gila Valley that we,
the citizens of Pima, owe a great deal to this good man.
Abraham M. Boswell with his wife Hannah Dodge Boswell, were also with
the Dodge family. They too were from Toquerville, Utah. Hannah had two
children from a former marriage. Her first husband was killed just
before her daughter Cora (Follett) was born. Her son Thomas Batty was
five years old when they left Toquerville. The wagon train stopped on
the Buckskin Mountains while Hannah gave birth to a baby boy (Matt
The Boswell family's first home was a brush shelter with the wagon box
set to the side.
That fall Hannah left her children in the care of Tom (Batty) while she
fed the cane thru the Sorghum mill for John Nuttall. Abe was working on
a farm at Ft. Thomas. Later he built a log cabin on what is now the
East Lot. In the summer they moved to Ft. Bowie where Abe had
employment. After moving back to Pima, he freighted between Bowie and
Globe. Early in 1900 they joined the Ransoms when they moved to Oregon.
The Boswell's by this time had a large family. Among the ones to be
remembered by older residents of Pima are, Tom Batty, Matt and Fay Bos-
well, Cora Follett, Nechi (Hyde) Janie Weech.
Abe and Hannah Boswell were the parents of twelve children. One died in
infancy, so they adopted another to make an even dozen.
When the Boswell's moved to Oregon, only two of their large family
remained in Pima, Tom Batty and Fay Boswell.
Fay Boswell & Tom Batty
Tom Batty was seven years old when
his parents moved to Pima. He remembers on the way of a Mexican man
coming into their camp. He had been shot through the mouth and his
feet. He was bleeding badly. The Indians had shot him as they chased
him away from his camp. The men in the wagon train were alarmed. They
sent the women and children back to Ft. Apache, while the men stayed
with the wagons which held all their possessions and made ready to
guard and fight if necessary. The Indians, however, did not attack the
Tom Batty was a student in the first log school house in Pima. His Aunt
Cinda was his teacher.
When his family moved to Ft. Bowie, Tom walked and drove a cow and
calf. He was eight years old. He often told how high the grass was. His
Mother had made him a hat woven from straw and about all they could see
of him was that straw hat bouncing along.
Tom earned his first money at that time. He brought the cows in at
night for Charley Roseberry. The Quartermaster at the Fort had a cow
and calf and paid Tom 25 cents a week to look after her. He bought
himself a pair of shoes. They cost $2.75. He always said they were the
prettiest and best shoes he ever owned.
When Tom was fifteen years old. he was driving a freight tram between
Bowie and Globe. The Indians were so bad the freighters would wait to
form a large group and travel together for better protection for
themselves, their teams and wagons. At that time there were over three
bundled teams on the road freighting, with anywhere from one team and
wagon to twenty-four horses and four wagons. It took one month to make
a round trip from Bowie or Willcox to Globe.
Thomas Batty and Azelia Barney were married December 24.1893 at the
Barney Ranch in Solomonville.
Tom worked at farming, railroading or where he could find employment.
In 1904 the Batty's decided to make a move to Idaho. They arrived at
Toquerville. Utah, where Tom had relatives. In November while there
Azelia look sick. The Doctor from Cedar City advised taking her to Salt
Lake for an operation, which Tom did
Azelia died January 25, 1905 leaving Tom with three small children.
In 1912 Tom married Hulda A. Matthewson, a widow.
Tom took a contract to build a road from Cork to Crazy Horse for which
he was paid $600.00. The road was to be used for hauling Ore from the
He worked for the YL Cattle Company at the Goodwin Ranch for eight
years. In 1934 they moved to their farm in Glenbar, living there until
1944. when he sold the farm and moved to Pima.
Thomas Batty was the father of four children, only two lived to
adulthood. Ethel Carter and Walter. Walter still lives in Glenbar.
Source: Pioneer Town, A Pima
Aaron H. Hackney was born in
Mercer, Pennsylvania, October 31, 1815, his father being of good old
Quaker stock and his ancestry on his mother’s side being of Dutch
descent. He retained almost to the day of his death - December 2,
1899, a clear recollection of his boyhood days and loved to relate his
youthful pranks and experiences. He remembered well the
demonstration attending the visit of Marquis de Lafayette in 182 and of
the parade in his honor by the Mercer militia, a motley company that
never smelled gunpowder.
In 1832, in his seventeenth
year, he removed to St. Louis where he became intimately identified
with the business and social interest of that then thriving frontier
town. In connection with his brother-in-law, Louis A. Benoist, he
was engaged for years in the banking business in St. Louis and New
Orleans, and he also owned steamboats which plied between those two
His intimate acquaintance with
the leading men and knowledge of public affairs brought him into
prominence as a political leader, and although never an office-seeker
he was nominated for judge of the county court, elected by a handsome
majority and served his term with credit.
Jude Hackney was one of the
first directors of the Iron Mountain railroad and purchased the first
rolling stock for that road. In St. Louis he also became
intimately acquainted with Nathaniel Pascel, A. B. Chambers, George and
John Knapp, proprietors of the Missouri Republican, and for many year
he was a contributor to the columns of that paper.
In 1857 he left St. Louis and
made his first trip over the Santa Fe trail to New Mexico, and from
that time until the close of the civil war he was engaged in
merchandising at Santa Fe and Mesilla and made seven trips over the
trail by ox-team to St. Louis to purchase goods.
The Judge removed to Silver
City, New Mexico, when there was only one house erected there.
When Grant county was organized, at the request of William Rynerson,
then a member of the legislature, Judge Hackney suggested the names of
Grant and Silver City of the county and town respectively and they were
Having still a fondness for
newspaper work he purchased the only newspaper published at the time in
Silver City and changed the name of the publication to “The
Herald.” It was a small sheet, but its columns cintillated with
the bright and epigramatic writings of the Judge.
In April, 1878, Judge Hackney
removed to Globe and established the ARIZONA SILVER BELT, the first
number of the paper appearing on May 2 of that year. The SILVER
BELT early took rank among the leading newspapers of Arizona, and
under the able editorial management of Judge Hackney continued to exert
a potent influence on public affairs in the territory.
Arizona Silver Belt May 17 1906
Contributed by Kim Torp
Edward N. Fish, who is mentioned in
this chapter, was a '49er, who subsequently came to Arizona and made
the Territory his home. In 1849, with forty Massachusetts men, Mr. Fish
sailed from New Bedford on the "Florida," and rounded Cape Horn,
finally arriving at San Francisco. After several years of varied
occupations in California, Mr. Fish, in 1865, came to Arizona, and
became a member of the firm of Garrison & Fish, post traders at
Calabasas. After about a year Mr. Fish removed to Tucson, where he
established a large general merchandise store. In addition to this
business, he engaged in the cattle business and milling, and in order
to meet the need of a reliable freighting system, he established a
freight line between Yuma and Tucson, and other parts of Arizona. Mr.
Fish also maintained a branch store at Florence, where he transacted a
very large business. In the early days of California he was a member of
the Vigilance Committee there. After coming to Arizona he was, for
eight years, a member of the Board of Supervisors of Pima County, for
most of which time he was Chairman of the Board.
Mr. Fish was twice married, the first
time in 1862 or 1863 to Barbara Jameson, in San Francisco, the result
of this union being two children, one of whom is still living. His
second marriage was to Maria Wakefield, in 1874, in Tucson, Miss
Wakefield having the honor of being the first white woman married in
Tucson, being also the first public school teacher in Tucson. From this
marriage there were born four children, three of whom are still living.
Mr. Fish died in Tucson on the 18th day of December, 1914.
Hon. J.A. Zabriskie
Is a native of
New Jersey, but afterwards became a resident of New York state. He
received a collegiate education in Columbia College of New York City,
which was subsequently followed by a military course at the academy at
West Point. He was in the war of the rebellion, and did good service in
it, which merited for him the appointment of Assistant Adjutant-General
for the Western Districts. After the close of the war he went to Texas,
where he became prominent in the politics of that state. He was three
times elected District Attorney for the Western District, and was one
of the Republic. can commission from Texas to Washington, in 1869, to
urge President Grant to recognized the Hamilton Republicans of that
state. He was appointed by President Arthur to the office of United
States Attorney for Arizona, a position which he filled with honor,
efficiency, and to the approval of both the people and the government.
He now has a well, earned reputation among his associates in all courts
of law, as well as a high standing in the community in which he lives.
Col. Zabriskie is attorney for a number of large corporations, and in
political life has taken an active and trusted position, having been
several times Chairman of the Republican Central Committee of Pima
County. He was for five consecutive terms Grand Orator of the Masonic
fraternity, and has delivered numerous addresses on questions of vital
importance to the public. The Colonel has taken active part in all the
political campaigns of the past ten years, and his reputation as a
stump speaker is well known all over.the coast. As a lecturer and ready
orator he stands among the first.
The thriving little
town of Springwater, in Livingston County, New York was the place of
nativity of M. S. Snyder, our gentlemanly assessor and collector. He
was born April 25, 1853. Attended first the North Dansville Seminary,
and afterwards the Genessee Wesleyan Seminary in New York State. He was
for two years bookkeeper for a firm in Rochester, New York. In 1874, he
was appointed deputy collector of customs in St. Louis, Missouri. Mr.
Snyder was one of the first United States store-keepers appointed in
St. Louis after the completion of the "Whisky Ring" trial. In 1876 he
was appointed deputy collector of Internal Revenue in the same city,
and served in this capacity until 1878, when he came to Arizona,
arriving at Tucson, August 8th of the same year, and remaining in
Arizona since that time. He was connected with the Arivaca Milling and
Mining Co. for about one year, and was afterwards in the Recorder's
Office for a short time. Later he became managing agent for the Arivaca
Mail and Stage Co., which position he retained for one year. He was a
member of the 11th Legislature of Arizona. For two years he was Deputy
Sheriff and Assessor, of Pima County, under R. H. Paul, after which
time he engaged in and mining. In 1886 he was elected County Clerk of
Pima County, and when that office was about March, 1887, he was
appointed Clerk of the Board of Supervisors, which position he retained
until 1,1889. In the election of 1888, he was Republican candidate for
Assessor and Tax Collector, elected to the place. This position he at
present occupies, and he does it well.
Selim M Franklin
Was born in
San Bernardino, California, October 19, 1859. After having gone through
the public schools of that city, he engaged in the business of
newspaper publisher and short-hand reporter, and continued in this
business for two years, when he left it in order to attend college. In
1878 he entered the University of California, where he was noted for
his close application and studious habits, and in 1882 he was graduated
with honors from that institution as a Bachelor of Arts. He at once
devoted himself to the study of the law, and in the same year was
admitted to the bar by the Supreme Court of the State of California. He
practiced law in San Bernardino for a short time, and May, 1883, left
for Tucson, Arizona, where he has since resided and practiced his
profession. In 1884 he was elected a member of the 13th Legislative
Assembly of Arizona on the regular Democratic ticket, and it is a
notorious fact, that in the midst of all the abuses and accusations of
corruption that have been heaped on that body, the actions of the Hon.
S. M. Franklin stand without reproach from anybody. He afterwards
became attorney for the city of Tucson, and in 1885 formed a law
partnership with the Hon. Harry R. Jeffords, under the firm name of
Jeffords & Franklin, and has ever since been a member of that firm.
He was Deputy District Attorney of Pima County in 1887-8, and is at
present a member of the Board of Regents of the University of Arizona,
and also a member of the Territorial Capital Commission. The
straightforward and incorruptible course which he has ever followed in
his public actions, and his undoubted ability, have gained for him well
merited prominence, both as a lawyer and as a worthy citizen
George J. Roskruge
near the town of Helston, County of Cornwall, England, on the 10th day
of April, 1845. In October, 1870, he emigrated to the United States,
going to Denver, Colorado, and on the 26th of May 1872, he came to
Arizona, was engaged on the surveying of public lands until July, 1874,
when he accepted the position of chief draughtsman in the United States
Surveyor General's office in Tucson; resigning in 1880, he entered into
business as a surveyor, was appointed United States land and mineral
surveyor for the district of Arizona, and city surveyor of Tucson. In
July, 1881, was appointed superintendent of irrigation ditches for the
Papago Indian Reservation. In September, 1881, was appointed a member
of the Board of Trustees School District No. 1. In November, 1882, was
elected on the Democratic ticket County Surveyor of Pima County, and
has been re-elected at each election since. On the 11th of June, 1887,
was appointed a member of the Board of Regents of the University of
Arizona, resigning when the administration went out. In March, 1888,
was elected Vice-President and in January, 1889, President of the
Tucson Building and Loan Association. Mr. Roskruge is a prominent
member of the Masonic Fraternity. He was made a Master Mason in June,
1870, in True and Faithful Lodge No. 318, Helston, Cornwall, England,
demitted in 1881, and became a charter member of Tucson Lodge No. 4.
jurisdiction of Arizona; served three.terms as Master; is a Past High
Priest of Tucson Chapter No. 3, R. A. M., and Past Eminent Commander of
Arizona Commandery No. 1. Knights Templar. At the formation of the
Grand Lodge of Arizona in 1882, was elected Grand Secretary serving as
such until 1888, when he was elected Deputy Grand Master, and in 1889,
was elected Grand Master; he is also a Deputy Inspector-General of the
Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite, and is an Honorary member of the
Masonic Veteran Association of the Pacific Coast.
Dr. Geo. Martin
it necessary to single out a man, distinguished, at home and abroad,
wherever the city of is known, for the possession of all the eminent
qualifications to secure success and prominence particular business,
the selection would fall on George Martin as entitled to front rank in
his profession in the Southwest. The establishment of this most popular
gentleman is located on the south side of Congress street, at No. 314,
between Church street and Stone avenue.
Hon. Harry R. Jeffords
in Dayton, Ohio, January 25, 1855, but at an early age removed to
Natchez, Miss., and for many years made this his home. He received his
law education in the Law School of Columbia College in the City of New
York. In 1873 he became Cotton Register of Issequena County, Miss., and
he had before that time been Cotton Tax Collector of the same county.
He was admitted to the bar at Mayersville, Miss., in December of 1874,
and at once became the law partner of his father, Judge E. Jeffords. In
1881, when only 26 years old he was elected State Senator from
Washington, Issequena and Sharkey counties, Miss., being the youngest
man that has been elected to that honorable body since the war of the
Rebellion. The senatorial district which he represented was one of the
most popular and wealthy in the State, and the great popularity which
his talents and genial manners had gained for him, is attested by the
fact, that although being an outspoken Republican, Mr. Jeffords polled
every vote cast in Issequena county, where he lived. He was a member of
the Senate Judiciary Committee, selected on account of his well-known
ability, for two terms. He continued to practice law in partnership
with his father until 1884, when he came to Tucson, Ariz. The following
year he formed a partnership with Hon. S. M. Franklin in this city, and
since that time has practiced law in connection with him. In 1886 he
was elected District Attorney of Pima County, and in May, 1889, was
appointed U. S. Attorney for Arizona, which position he holds at
present. Mr. Jeffords has met with great success in the practice of his
profession, and ranks with the foremost as a lawyer and an eloquent
orator. Mr. Martin keeps a full line of pure drugs and chemicals and
also deals in all the finest perfumes and toilet articles. A full line
of the various patent medicines he has always on hand. One great
advantage he has over other houses is in the fact that prescriptions
are compounded in his store both night and day. Therefore the public
can be always accommodated. Mr. Martin has a very large acquaintance
all over the Territory and is a gentleman always obliging and courteous
and ever ready to administer to the wants of those who are in need. He
is also considered one of the " slandbys " of the city and is always
one of the first to aid in promoting all public enterprises.
Source: Arizona A Review of its Resources A Comprehensive Review Of Its
History, Counties, Principal Cities, Resources And Prospects, 1891
CHARLES A SHIBELL.
Mr. Shibell, who came to Arizona in
1862, and is now recorder of Pima county, was born in St. Louis, Mo.,
August 14, 1841, a son of George and .Mary Agnes (Byrne) Shibell,
natives respectively of Pennsylvania and Boston, Mass., tile former of
German extraction, the latter of Irish descent. During the '30s the
father settled in St. Louis, where he had various interests. During the
Mexican war he served as lieutenant in a Missouri regiment. In 1861 he
crossed the plains to California, where he died at seventy seven years
of age. His wife died in St. Louis. Of their five children all but one
attained maturity, Charles A. being next to the oldest, and the only
one in Arizona. In 1854 he accompanied his father to Davenport, Iowa,
where he attended the high school and Iowa College. In 1861 he left St.
Louis with his father, traveling with horse-teams via St. Joe, the
North Platte, and the Sweetwater, Humboldt and Carson route through
South Pass, to California, the trip from St. Joe consuming sixty days.
After a short period as a clerk in
Sacramento, in the fall of 1861 Mr. Shibell entered the government
employ as teamster. February 15, 1862, he arrived at Fort Yuma, and
from there started toward the Rio Grande with the First and Fifth
California Infantry and the First California Cavalry Regiments. During
this expedition he visited Tucson. On the 1st of January, 1863, he was
transferred to Arizona, and returned to Tucson, then a small town.
After a few months more of government service, he turned his attention
to mining, later engaged in ranching and in transportation between
Tucson and Yuma. he acted as treasurer of the Tucson Building &
Loan Association and also of the Citizens Building & Loan
Association. From 1865 to 1868 he engaged in farming sixty-five miles
south of Tucson. In 1876 he was elected sheriff of Pima county, and was
re-elected in 1878, serving four years. Next he became interested in
the hotel business, operating what is now the Occidental. In 1888 he
was nominated county recorder on the Democratic ticket and was duly
re-elected. So satisfactory was his service that he was re-elected
successively in 1890, 1892, 1894, 1896, 1898 and 1900, the last time
without opposition, and with the endorsement of the Republicans.
By his first marriage Mr. Shibell had
four children: Mamie A. and Lillie M., of Tucson; Charles B., of Los
Angeles, Cal.; and Mercedes A., Mrs. Green, of Los Angeles. The second
marriage of Mr. Shibell took place in San Francisco and united him with
Miss Nellie Norton, a native of Alabama. To this union were born two
children; Lionel J., who is in the employ of the Southern Pacific
Railroad; and Orpha. Fraternally Mr. Shibell is connected with the
National Union and the Ancient Order of United Workmen. In the .Arizona
Society of Pioneers he has held the offices of secretary and president.
During three years in which he was a member of the board of school
trustees he was for one year president, and for two years clerk of the
Source: Portrait and Biographical Record of Arizona Chapman Publishing
JUDGE WILLIAM H. BARNES.
Called to the exalted and highly
responsible office of associate justice of the supreme court of
Arizona, Judge William H. Barnes acquitted himself with distinction
during his term, which covered four years from 1885 to 1889. He also
enjoys the honor of having been the second president of the Arizona
Territorial Bar Associations. in which organization his counsels have
borne great weight during the more than a decade and a half of his
identification with the same. High as he undoubtedly stands in his
profession, he is equally important as a factor in the councils of the
Democratic party, and four times, in 1876, 1880, 1884 and 1892, he was
chosen to represent his locality in the national conventions of his
party in the capacity of a delegate.
The general public of Tucson and
Arizona maintain such a degree of interest in Judge W. H. Barnes that
the following facts in regard to his family and early history have been
compiled. His paternal grandfather removed from Maryland, his
birthplace, to Portsmouth, Ohio, in the early part of the
just-completed century, and in that town occurred the birth of Rev.
William Barnes, the judge's father, in 181 2. He received a liberal
education, completing his studies at Yale, and was a minister of the
Congregational Church for many years. In 1853 he removed to Alton,
Ill., and later, retiring from active labors, spent his declining days
in Jacksonville, Ill. For a wife he had chosen Eunice, daughter of
Nathaniel Hubbard, and a native of Manchester, Conn. Her father, who
was a farmer, lived and died in Connecticut, and her mother—a Miss
Talcott in her girlhood—was a niece of the celebrated hero, Capt.
Nathan Hale, who so tragically lost his life in the war of the
Judge W. H. Barnes was born in
Hampton, Conn., in 1843—one of the four children of Rev. William and
Eunice Barnes. His brother, Capt. N. H. Barnes, who died at Hartford,
Conn., in 1899, was an officer in the United States navy. When ten
years of age, the judge became a resident of Illinois, and, after
leaving the public schools of .Alton entered the Illinois College at
Jacksonville, and subsequently was graduated with the degree of
Bachelor of Arts, in 1865, from the University of Michigan. Then,
taking up the study of law, he was admitted to the bar of Jacksonville,
Ill., in 1866, and at once embarked in the practice of his chosen
profession. Continuing to rise among the lawyers of that city, he
enjoyed the confidence and genuine regard of all with whom he was
associated, and when he determined to cast in his lot with the great
southwest, it was a matter of sincere regret to his fellow-citizens of
so long standing. Since 1885 he has been identified with Tucson, and,
as previously stated, was an associate justice of the supreme court of
Arizona during the first four years of his residence here, representing
the first judicial district. In the fraternities, he is connected with
the Odd Fellows and Order of Elks and was initiated into Masonry in
Tucson Lodge No. 4, F. & A. M. In his early manhood, Judge Barnes
was united in marriage with Miss Belle J. Daily, the ceremony being
performed in Carthage, Ill. The only child born to them is Josephine,
now the wife of Col. John H. Martin, who has been in command of the
First Arizona National Guard for the past nine years, and who is the
junior member of the well-known law firm of Barnes & Martin, of
Source: Portrait and Biographical Record of Arizona Chapman Publishing
HON. WILLIAM M. GRIFFITH.
This prominent citizen of Tucson, who
is now serving as United States Marshal of Arizona, has been actively
identified with the business interests and political affairs of this
territory since 1870, and is a recognized leader in the Republican
party. He claims Pennsylvania as the state of his birth, being born
near Westchester, Chester county, April 14, 1839, and is the oldest in
a family of four children, only two of whom are now living. His
brother, E. E. Griffith, now a manufacturer of New York City, belonged
to a Pennsylvania regiment in the Civil war and was one of General
Rosecrans' body guard. Our subject's paternal grandfather, Abel
Griffith, was a native of Wales, a farmer by occupation, and a member
of the Society of Friends. On coming to this country he settled in
Chester county Pa., where our subject's father, Thomas S. Griffith, was
born. The latter was graduated from a college in Philadelphia, and as a
minister of the Baptist Church he afterward preached in Westchester and
Hepzabaugh, Pa. He died at an early age. His wife, who bore the maiden
name of Jane Hare, was born in Philadelphia of English ancestry, and
died in Westchester.
Our subject was reared in that city
and acquired a good practical education in its public and private
schools. In 1856 he took Greeley's advice to "go West" and went to St.
Louis, and later to Pilot Knob, Mo. During the Civil war he entered the
quartermaster's department of the Army of the Southwest under command
of General Steele. He was present at the battles of Haines Bluff,
Chattanooga and Lookout Mountain, the siege of Vicksburg and the
Atlanta campaign, and was with General Thomas' command when in pursuit
of Hood, which resulted in the battles of Franklin and Nashville, Tenn.
In the fall of 1864 he became ill at Huntsville, Ala., and on his
recovery entered the quartermaster's department at Nashville, under
Captain Irvin, remaining there until the close of the war. During most
of his service be was master of transportation.
On the return of peace Mr. Griffith
became a mail contractor, starting at Fort Smith, Ark. In 1874 he
assisted in establishing the stage and mail route between San Diego,
Cal., and Fort Worth, Tex., becoming manager and later president of
what was known as the Texas & California Stage Company. Their main
line was one thousand seven hundred miles and required twelve hundred
horses to operate it. Mr. Griffith was connected with that enterprise
for eight years with headquarters first at San Diego, and later at Yuma
and Tucson, Ariz., locating at the last-named place in 1878. In 1881 he
sold his interest in that company and embarked in the cattle business,
starting a ranch at Dripping Spring, Gila county, one hundred miles
from Tucson as president and manager of the Dripping Spring Cattle
Company, whose specialty was Shorthorn and Hereford cattle. Mr.
Griffith disposed of his interest in that business in 1896. During his
residence here he has operated local stage lines and engaged in mining.
In 1870 Mr. Griffith married Miss
Dora Fleming of Macon, Ga. The only son born of that union, E. E.
Griffith, was educated at the Christian Brothers College, St. Louis.
Mo., and the State Agricultural College in Ft. Collins, Colo., and is
now engaged in mining at Morenci, Ariz. In 1874 Mrs. Griffith died at
their residence at Fort Smith, Ark.
The Republican party has always found
in Mr. Griffith a stanch supporter of its principles. In July, 1897, he
was appointed by President McKinley as United States marshal of
.Arizona, with headquarters at Tucson. He has since discharged the
duties of that office in a most commendable and satisfactory manner.
Since the convention at Minneapolis in 1892 to which he was elected a
delegate, he has served as a member of the national Republican
committee. He was also a delegate to St. Louis in 1896, and again to
Philadelphia in 1900. He is a thirty second degree Mason, a member of
the blue lodge chapter and commandery of Tucson, and El Zaribah Temple,
N. M. S., at Phoenix. He is also a member of the Elks Club, and one of
the leading and influential citizens of Tucson.
Source: Portrait and Biographical
Record of Arizona
Starting life for himself as a poor young man, with no
his strong arm, his clear and well trained brain, his strong desire for
success and his unwavering determination to win it. Wakeman Sutton, one
of the promising mining men of Butte, has reached a position in his
industry that is highly creditable to him, and is all the more
commendable because it has been won over difficulties and in spite of
disasters. Adversity has attended him at times, but has not been able
to quell his spirit. Neither has success unduly elated him or made him
careless of details in his business. He has literally been tried by
both extremes of fortune and has never been seriously disturbed by
Mr. Sutton was born in the city of Bloomington, McLean county,
Illinois, on August 30, 1857, and is a son of Benjamin and Mary
(Barnard) Sutton, the former born in the state of New York in 1824, and
the latter in North Carolina in 1827. The mother died in June, 1899,
and the father in August , 1900. Both passed away at Santa Barbara,
California, where they located in the year 1872. The father was a
physician, and was seventy-six years of age when he died. He and his
wife were the parents of five children, of whom their son Wakeman was
the second in numerical order.
He began his education in the public
schools of Bloomington,
Illinois, and completed it at a high school and college in Santa
Barbara, California, leaving school at the age of eighteen. Becoming at
once the master of his own movements and controller of his affairs, he
entered the employ of Wells Fargo Express Company and remained in their
employ until the fall of 1876, when he became bookkeeper for the
wholesale commission house of Rouse & Laws, San Francisco. In 1879
he removed to Arizona, where he was engaged in mining and mercantile
pursuits for about eight years, during a portion of the time being the
manager of the large mercantile establishment of the Roger Brothers,
their stores being situated in Benson, Fairbanks and Bisbee. He came to
Montana in 1887, first as a traveling salesman for the firm of Castle
Brothers of San Francisco, extensive importers of teas, coffees and
spices, and dealers in high class groceries of every kind. He traveled
through all parts of Montana for this firm until 1894, then decided to
take up his residence permanently in Butte and devote himself wholly to
He began mining in 1895 and has been
continuously engaged in it
ever since, being connected, in the course of his activity in the
industry in this part of the country, with the Nora mine, now an
Amalgamated Copper Company property, the Silver King mine and the Modoc
mine, as well as with other properties.
He is now president of the Silver King
Leasing Company, which is
working the Silver King mine, the shaft of which is located at 212 West
Quartz street, right in the heart of the city, and in the rear of
Senator Clark's residence and the new county courthouse. At present,
with a depth of only three hundred feet, it yields about fifty tons of
ore per day.
On September 6, 1881, Mr. Sutton was
married in Tucson, Arizona,
to Miss Lillie Sargent, a native of New York state and the daughter of
Charles and Jane Sargent. Three children have been born into the Sutton
household, and two of them are living. These are : Addie, now the wife
of Dr. J. S. McKinley, of Butte; and Dorothy, who is still living with
her parents. The one son born in the family, William, died in Butte, in
December, 1901. The family residence is at No. 205 West Quartz street,
near the Silver King mine.
[Source: the History of Montana by Helen Fitzgerald Sanders, Volume 3,
1913 - Submitted by Friends for Free Genealogy]
GEORGE O. HILZINGER
GEORGE O. HILZINGER, Attorney of Pima County, was born
January 4, '79,
in San Francisco, and was educated in the public schools. He attended
the University of Arizona, and completed the course in Mineralogy and
Metallurgy, and was graduated in '97. Later he entered the Law School
of the University of Michigan, from which he was graduated in 1901. Mr.
Hilzinger is a thorough Spanish scholar, and in 1898 was appointed
Spanish interpreter in Pima County. In 1911 he was United States
Commissioner, and at the first State election was chosen Attorney of
Pima County. During the years he practiced his profession in Pima
County, before election to his present position, Mr. Hilzinger had
achieved success and earned a reputation for ability, unquestionable
moral courage and the strictest integrity.
Who's Who In Arizona Volume 1 1913 Complied and Published by Jo Connors
KIRK T. MOORE, Representative from Pima, and member of
the law firm of
Moore & Bernard, was elected in 1908 to represent his County in the
House of the Twenty-fifth Territorial Assembly. His father, A Til ton
R. Moore, was a member of the Eighteenth Assembly, and from 1898 to
1907 served as Registrar of the United States Land Office. Kirk T.
Moore was born in Topeka, Kansas, October 4, 1882, but has lived also
in Colorado, California and Arizona, in each of which States he
received a portion of his education. The family removed to this State
in 1893. He was a student at the University of Arizona from 1899 to
1904, and then attended Leland Stanford Junior University during the
next three years, and was there graduated with the degree LL. B. in
1908. He was admitted to practice before the Supreme Court in November
of the same year, and immediately engaged in partnership with F. H.
Bernard. In March, 1909, at the close of the Territorial Legislature,
he was appointed Territorial Superintendent of Public Instruction, by
Governor Joseph H. Kibbey, and served in this capacity until Arizona
was admitted to the Union. During his term in the First State
Legislature he was one of the most active members in behalf of
educational matters. He is now a member of the Committees on Education,
Code Revision, Judiciary, and Enrolling and Engrossing.
KIRK T. MOORE
Who's Who In Arizona Volume 1 1913 Complied and Published by Jo Connors
TOM K. RICHEY
TOM K. RICHEY, Attorney-at-Law and former City Attorney
of Tucson, was
born in Girard, Kansas, June 27, 1874. His parents, George H. and
Fannie Gossin Richey, were natives of Ohio, whose ancestors were early
settlers in that State and Pennsylvania. Mr. Richey was educated in the
public schools of Kansas, and later attended St. John's Military
Academy, Salina, Kansas. His first regular occupation was selling
newspapers in Leadville, Colorado, and he has since been employed in
various capacities in different States, having worked with city
engineering force, in a coal mine, in a printing office, railway office
in Pittsburg, Kansas, C. B. & Q. office, Chicago, and in a grocery
store. Weir City, Kansas. From 1896 to 1898 he taught in the public
schools of Arcadia, Kansas, and the following year was elected
Superintendent of the Schools of Crawford County for a two years' term,
his leisure time during all of his educational work being devoted to
the study of law. In 1901 he served as Reading Clerk in the Kansas
Legislature, and the same year was admitted to the practice of law in
that State. He went to Law ton, Oklahoma, in the fall of 1001, at the
opening of the Kiowa, Comanche and Apache country, and was admitted to
the bar of Oklahoma, and established a nice practice there, remaining :
in 1904, and came to Arizona in 1905, located in Tucson, where he
immediately engaged in the practice of law, and has since been a
resident of that city. In the new field Mr. Richer soon acquired a
prominence in his profession and found his experiences in various
phases of life a valuable aid in his work. In 1907 he was appointed
City Attorney, and held the office until 1911. His thorough knowledge
of the law and of existing conditions, and his genuine integrity, have
caused him to be recognized as not only one of the leading, but one of
the most reliable attorneys in Southern Arizona. Mr. Richey is a member
of the Masons, Elks and Knights of Pythias. He was married July 19,
1911, to Miss Marie Grandpre. They have one son, Thomas Victor Richey.
Who's Who In Arizona Volume 1 1913 Complied and Published by Jo Connors
FRANK L. CROFOOT. Representative from Pima County, was
born in Fond du
Lac, Wisconsin, May 3, 1882. He came to Arizona in 1906, and located in
Tucson, his present home. Mr. Crofoot is a Republican, and almost at
once began to take an active interest in the workings of his party in
the State, and especially in Pima County. He was one of two Republicans
elected to the First State Legislature out of Pima County's delegation
of five, and, although one of the minority, he has taken a prominent
part in the deliberations of the House, his work in the committee room
having been especially commended by his colleagues. Mr. Crofoot is
Chairman of the Style, Revision and Compilation Committee, and member
of the.Appropriations, Enrolling and Engrossing and Judiciary
Committees. Mr. Crofoot had the distinction of being the only member of
the minority in either house to have a chairmanship during the regular
session, and the first special session. He was chairman of the
Committee on Militia and Public Defense, and this committee had charge
of the militia code in the lower house. Of this measure, passed during
the regular session, General Evans, Chief of the Bureau of Militia of
the United States Army, said: "This bill, if passed without amendment,
will give Arizona the best militia code of any State in the Union." It
was passed without amendment largely through the efforts of the
Chairman of the House Committee. Mr. Crofoot has held important
accounting positions since he came to Arizona in 1906. He has been a
member of the Republican County Central Committee for five years and
has served as Secretary of the City Central Committee. Mr. Crofoot has
always been a hard worker in the interests of his party, has a wide
acquaintance not only in Pima County, but over the entire State, and
his record in the Legislature is one of which he is justly proud.
FRANK L. CROFOOT
Who's Who In Arizona Volume 1 1913 Complied and Published by Jo Connors
FRANK H. HEREFORD was born at Sacramento, California, on
1861. His parents a few years later, moved to Virginia City, Nevada,
and his home during the earlier period of his life was in Nevada. His
mother, Mary Jewel Hereford, dying when he was six years old, most of
his time was thereafter spent in California with relatives and at
school, until his 16th year, when his father moved to Tucson, Arizona.
Mr. Hereford's home has ever since that time been in Arizona. He
attended McClure's Academy at Oakland, Santa Clara College at Santa
Clara and the University of the Pacific at San Jose, all of the State
of California. He studied law in his father's office at Tucson,
Arizona, and was admitted to practice in the year 1885, and ever since
that date has been practicing, maintaining an office in the city of
Tucson. He has made a specialty of mining and corporation law, and is
the regular attorney and chief counsel for a number of the larger
mining companies of Southern Arizona. He is interested in a large
number of business enterprises in the State, principal amongst which
are the Consolidated National Bank of Tucson, of which he is a
director, and the La Osa Cattle Company, of which he is a director and
secretary. He was private secretary for two years to F. A. Trifle,
Governor of Arizona; a member of the Constitutional Convention of
Arizona, which convened in the year 1891, and was District Attorney of
Pima County for two successive terms. His father, Benjamin H. Hereford,
was a lawyer of prominence in Arizona; was a member of the Territorial
Legislature in the year 1879, and for several terms served as District
Attorney of Pima County. Mr. Hereford was united in marriage to Miss
Adeline Rockwell, of Milwaukee, Wis., July 30, 1901. They have three
sons, Francis Rockwell, aged 11 ; Jack, aged 6, and Edgar Tenney, aged
FRANK H. HEREFORD
Who's Who In Arizona Volume 1 1913
Complied and Published by Jo Connors
SAMUEL L. KINGAN, attorney-at-law, Tucson, was born in
Pennsylvania, in 1867. He passed his early life in that city and was
educated in its public schools. Mr. Kingan took his law course in the
University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, from which he was graduated, and he
was admitted to practice in 1889. Two years later he came to Arizona,
and he has since been the senior member of the firms of Kingan &
Dick and Kingan & Wright. During the years of his residence here
Mr. Kingan has built up an excellent practice and has become prominent
in legal circles, having been successful in the conduct of some highly
important cases, in both the local and United States Court. Mr. Kingan
is a Republican, and while he has never held a political office, he has
always taken an active interest in public affairs. He was one of the
Pima County delegates to the Constitutional Convention, and served on
the Judiciary, Schedule, Mode of Amending and Miscellaneous Committees.
He is a member of the Masonic Order and belongs to the local lodge. He
married Miss Mary Tucker, of Illinois,, in 1889, and to the union was
born one daughter, Mary.
SAMUEL L. KINGAN
Who's Who In Arizona Volume 1 1913
Complied and Published by Jo Connors
N. E. PLUMER, president of the Southern Arizona Bank & Trust
Company, is the son of Nathaniel B. and Martha Sanborn Plumer, and was
born in Detroit. Mich., February 28, 1866. Mr. Plumer's parents were
both natives of New England, and when he was a small child, they
returned to their Boston home, and there he was reared and educated in
the public schools, and there he made his home until he engaged in
business for himself. Mr. Plumer's first employment was with the George
H. Hammond Packing Co., whose representative he was for several years,
when he engaged in the packing business on his own account. He was
subsequently Eastern representative of the Cudahy Packing Company, and
as such he practically built up their eastern business, established
branch houses, and bought or built the company's real estate throughout
the east. Coming to Arizona sixteen years ago, Mr. Plumer first engaged
in real estate and insurance business for three years, as member of the
firm of Plumer & Steward, of Tucson. He then organized The Southern
Arizona Bank & Trust Company, was elected president of the
corporation, and has since held this position. During the comparatively
short time this bank has been in existence it has advanced from the
smallest bank in the city to second place, and now ranks among the
strongest in the state, which is to be attributed mainly to Mr.
Plumer's guidance of its affairs. Mr. Plumer is a descendant of early
time New England families, and a distant relative of Daniel Webster.
Mrs. Plumer, also a native of New England, was formerly Miss Mabel
Roberts. Though so prominently known in the business world, Mr. Plumer
has never had any inclination for political or fraternal associations.
He is a member of The Old Pueblo Club. Both Mrs. Plumer and he are
members of the Corgregationalist Church. They have one daughter, five
Who's Who In Arizona Volume 1 1913 Complied and Published by Jo Connors
JAMES J. GILLEN, of the Southern Arizona
Bank & Trust Company, was born in St. Catherine's, Ontario, July 8,
1886, and is the son of Matthew and Margaret S.Delaney Gillen. He was
educated in the public schools of Chicago and the University of
Illinois. Mr. Gillen has had considerable experience in banking, having
been employed for ten years with the Continental and Commercial
National Bank, Chicago, in various capacities, and when he resigned
from their employ was holding the position of credit man. He came to
Arizona in 1912, located in Tucson and has since been employed by the
Southern Arizona Bank & Trust Company. Mr. Gillen is a well known
member of the Knights of Columbus, the Old Pueblo Club, Tucson, and the
Mohawk Club, Chicago.
JAMES J. GILLEN
Who's Who In Arizona Volume 1 1913 Complied and Published by Jo Connors
GORDON HAYWARD SAWYER, secretary of the
Southern Arizona Bank & Trust Company, has been permanently
associated with this institution since September, 1910, when he became
assistant secretary. Mr. Sawyer had previously spent seven months in
Tucson, during part of which he was temporarily employed by the above
bank. He was born in Chicago November 2, 1871, but was reared and
educated in Joliet. Having graduated from the high school, he was
employed as collector for the First National Bank of that city,
remained with them six years, meantime advancing to the position of
teller. He then accepted a position as assistant cashier of the Joliet
National Bank, with which he remained until his removal to Tucson.
Since Mr. Sawyer's connection with the Southern Arizona Bank &
Trust Company, its resources have increased to more than $1,000,000,
and its deposits have more than doubled, and the bank stands among the
foremost of the state. Mr. Sawyer was made a Master Mason, March, 1901,
a Royal Arch Mason, May, 1901, a Knight Templar and Knight of Malta,
October, 1901, and a member of Medinah Temple, November of the same
year. He was elected treasurer of Joliet Commandery
GORDON HAYWARD SAWYER
Who's Who In Arizona Volume 1 1913 Complied and Published by Jo Connors
HENRY C. WHITE, principal of the School
for Deaf Mutes in connection with the State University, at Tucson, is a
native of Boston, and lost his hearing as a result of typhus fever when
four years of age. He was educated at the American School for the Deaf
at Hartford, the Horace Mann School for the Deaf in Boston, and at
Gallaudet College for the Deaf in Washington, D. C., having been
graduated from the latter in 1880 with a B. A. degree, \vhich was
awarded under the seal and authority of Congress by President
Rutherford B. Hayes, ex-officio patron of the college. Mr. White early
took to reading and covered a wr ide field of fiction, poetry and
history, and though unable to sense the sound of rhyme, has a keen
appreciation of the beauty of language and the sentiment of poetry. By
means of his habit of reading only the best, Mr. White has acquired a
thorough mastery of English, an unusual accomplishment for the deaf.
After his graduation he taught in a school for the deaf at Beverly,
Mass., where he remained until called upon to organize a similar school
at Salt Lake City, which he built from the ground up, and which today
ranks as one of the best in the west. After eight years he returned to
Boston to settle his father's estate, and there engaged in various
pursuits, among them that of editor. He was frequently consulted by the
deaf of New England on matters of law, was induced to take up the study
of law, and after three years work compiled and published "Law Points
for Everybody," which had a phenomenal sale in New England and New
York. He frequently acted as court interpreter for mutes and has
assisted in this way some of the most noted attorneys of the country.
He was also instrumental in establishing the New England Home for Deaf
Mutes, Aged, Infirm or Blind, of which his wife was first matron. Mr.
White has been twice elected secretary of the National Association of
Deaf, consisting of eighty thousand throughout the United States, and
declined a third term in this capacity. He has done newspaper work on
papers devoted to the interests of the deaf, and written articles upon
educational matters which have won for him a national reputation as one
of the best teachers of English in the profession. Mr. White married
Miss Mollie E. Mann, who was deaf, but not dumb, and they have three
children, two girls and one boy, all normal in speech and hearing. One
daughter is married to a young lawyer in New York, while the other one,
Miss Harriet White, early engaged in the profession of teaching, and is
at present employed with her father in the school at Tucson as matron
and teacher of lip reading. This school is entirely the result of Mr.
White's personal efforts extending over a period of two years. When he
decided to come to the far west to establish another school for the
deaf where it seemed most urgently needed, he chose Arizona as his
field of endeavor, and brought with him a letter from Mayor Fitzgerald
of Boston to Mayor Christy of Phoenix, and others from a member of the
legislature, the Boston School Committee, and Secretary of the Y. M. C.
A. After Governor Hunt was elected he received a personal letter from
Governor Foss, of Massachusetts, commending Mr. White to his good
offices. \Vhen his unremitting efforts in behalf of those afflicted
like himself were crowned with success and a state school for the deaf
in Arizona became a reality, Mr. White was chosen its principal. This
school is situated just north of the University campus and has
seventeen pupils ranging from 6 to 21 years of age, and applications
for admission are being constantly received. The building, formerly a
private residence, will soon be unable to accommodate the number of
pupils and new quarters will, therefore, be required. Thus far, the
work has been extremely successful, the pupils being ^deeply interested
in the work, pleased with their home, and all like Tucson and its
climate. In this latest act in a life devoted almost entirely to the
uplifting of those of his own particular class, Mr. White has
undoubtedly accomplished the organization of a school that will prove a
boon to the many thus afflicted in Arizona, which as it increases in
proportions and usefulness will surely stand a monument to his ability,
persistence and great-heartedness.
HENRY C. WHITE
Who's Who In Arizona Volume 1 1913 Complied and Published by Jo Connors
SELIM M. FRANKLIN was born in San
Bernardino, California, October 19th, 1859. He is a son of Maurice A.
Franklin, one of the pioneer merchants of California, who came there in
1849 from Liverpool, England. His mother was Miss Victoria Jacobs. Mr.
Franklin was educated in California and was graduated from the State
University in 1882, then entered the law department of the same
institution, from which he was graduated in 1883 and was admitted to
the Bar of California the same year. He then came to Tucson and
commenced the practice of law. He was elected to the Thirteenth
Territorial Legislature, and during the session he was active in behalf
of the Bill creating the University of Arizona, was instrumental in
having the same passed, and served as a member of the Board of Regents
for a number of years. In 1886 Mr. Franklin was City Attorney of Tucson
and was Assistant United States Attorney for a time. He was also a
member of the Capitol Site Commission who selected the site for the
present Capitol in Phoenix. Mr. Franklin is the only surviving member
of the Pima County representation to the Territorial Convention which
nominated Mark Smith for his first term in Congress. He is now
practicing law and has been in Tucson since 1883. He is a member of the
Masons and Elks, also of the Old Pueblo Club of Tucson. His wife was
Miss Henrietta Herring, daughter of the late Colonel William Herring of
Tucson, one of the ablest attorneys of Arizona. They have four
children, Marjorie, Gladys, Mary Inslee and Selim Herring.
SELIM M. FRANKLIN
Who's Who In Arizona Volume 1 1913 Complied and Published by Jo Connors
JAMES R. DUNSEATH
JAMES R. DUNSEATH, attorney at law and U.
S. Commissioner, was born in Belfast, Ireland, December 20, 1873, but
at the age of fourteen removed to Toronto, Canada, with his parents. He
wras educated in the Ontario Model School of Toronto, and the
Collegiate Institute in connection with the University of Toronto. Mr.
Dunseath then removed with his parents to Michigan, where he took up
newspaper work and finished his trade as a practical printer. In 1898
he was graduated from the Detroit College of Law with the degree of LL.
B. He was immediately admitted to practice before the Supreme Court of
Michigan, and entered upon the practice of his profession in Detroit.
Later he took the examination and was admitted to practice in Ohio, and
forming a partnership with another attorney, made Toledo his
headquarters. Business in connection with some mining properties in
which he was interested necessitated his making a trip to Morenci in
1902, and seeing the wonderful opportunities afforded in this state for
a young man of energy and experience, he decided to make Arizona his
future field of effort. He located in Morenci and was admitted to
practice before the Supreme Court of Arizona. For about three years he
was in charge of the Morenci Leader, which became a power in Graham
County politics. After recovering from an attack of typhoid fever, his
health requiring a lower altitude, he removed to Tucson, where he was
appointed to fill a vacancy as Deputy Clerk of the District Court. This
position he held for six months, and resigned to take up the practice
of law in the office of Mr. Frank Hereford, with whom he was associated
for several years. Mr. Dunseath makes a specialty of land and mining
law, and in this, as in corporation and probate work, he is becoming
recognized as one of the leading young lawyers of the Southwest. In
1910 he again became Deputy Clerk of the District Court, which office
he resigned February 1, 1912. He was Supreme Court Reporter from
1908-1912, which position he also resigned upon the admission of
Arizona to statehood, when he was appointed U. S. Commissioner at
Tucson. Mr. Dunseath is a member of the K. of P. and Moose and an
official in each, and a member of the local Masonic and Odd Fellows
lodges. In politics he is a Republican, and has done excellent work for
his party in both Graham and Pima Counties. He married Miss Irene P.
Hanavan, and they have one son, James Elliott Dunseath.
Who's Who In Arizona Volume 1 1913 Complied and Published by Jo Connors
SYLVESTER W. PURCELL, one of the
prominent attorneys of Tucson and Probate Court Judge of Pima County
for two terms, was born at Baxter Springs, Kansas, May 3, 1870. The
Purcells came to America in 1664, and located in Virginia. Their
descendants are numerous in the Southern States, especially Virginia
and Kentucky, of which last named state Judge Purcell's father and
grandfather were natives. His brother, Dr. W. B. Purcell, practiced for
many years in Tucson. His mother, Mary Walden Purcell, was a native of
Virginia, and his grandmother, Eliza Clay Walden, was a first cousin of
Henry Clay. In 1880 the family removed to Denver, Colo., where Judge
Purcell attended the public schools, and also took up the study of law.
With a few other law students he organized a class of which he was
president, and the school was conducted in the Maish building of the
University of Denver. In 1894 Dr." Purcell and family moved to Texas,
where Judge Purcell continued his studies, and was admitted to practice
before the Supreme Court of the state in 1895. The following year he
came to Tucson, where he has since been engaged in practice. He was
elected Probate Judge in the year 1897, assuming office January 1st,
1898. At the expiration of his first term he was nominated by
acclamation and re-elected. Judge Purcell is attorney, counselor and
financial agent for several large corporations doing business in
Arizona and Western States, and is personally interested in important
mining properties in the southern part of the state.
SYLVESTER W. PURCELL
As an attorney he is considered among the foremost of Arizona. He is a
good judge of law as well as of men, and conducts all business with a
strict regard to a high standard of professional ethics. As a Democrat
he takes a prominent and influential part in political affairs and is
active in public life, and above all a booster for his home city,
Tucson, and for Arizona.
Who's Who In Arizona Volume 1 1913 Complied and Published by Jo Connors
IRA ERVEN HUFFMAN
IRA ERVEN HUFFMAN, Mayor of Tucson,
Member of the State Board of Medical Examiners, and one of the ablest
physicians in Arizona, is the son of John W. Huffman, First Lieutenant
of Indiana Volunteers during the Civil War. Dr. Huffman was born near
Versailles, Indiana, on the 13th day of March, 1870. Later in the year
the family moved to Iowa, where Dr. Huffman was educated in the public
schools, afterward being graduated from Drake University, Des Moines,
Iowa. His first position was that of teacher in the schools of Iowa.
Later he entered the Medical Department of Drake, from which he was
graduated and then took up the practice of his profession in Utah. He
came to Arizona several years ago and has been eminently successful in
the new state. At the annual convention of the State Medical
Association held at Globe, May 21, 1913, Dr. Huffman was elected
president of the association for the ensuing year. He is also captain
of the Medical Corps of the Arizona National Guards. In addition to
these offices Dr. Huffman has been City Councilman, and is at present
serving his second term as Mayor, having been re-nominated without
opposition. He is a member of the Masons, Odd Fellows, Knight of
Pythias and Fraternal Brotherhood; he is now Past Noble Grand of the
Odd Fellows and Past Deputy Grand Master of the Beaver District of
Utah. Mrs. Huffman, who was formerly Miss Edith Gillmore, is also a
daughter of an officer in the U. S. Army during the Civil War, her
father being Isaac Gillmore, First Lieutenant of the 2nd Iowa Cavalry.
Who's Who In Arizona Volume 1 1913 Complied and Published by Jo Connors
HIRAM W. FENNER, M. D., is a resident of
Tucson, but widely known beyond the confines of his city and county..
Dr. Fenner is the son of Hiram and Elizabeth Myers Fenner, both natives
of Pennsylvania, who later lived in Bucyrus, Ohio. In the latter town
Dr. Fenner was born in 1859. His ancestry on both sides is German, but
his father's family were early settlers of Pennsylvania. Dr. Fenner was
educated in the public schools of Bucyrus and was graduated from the
high school in 1876. The same year he began the study of medicine in
Terra Haute, and subsequently entered the Medical College of Ohio now
the University of Cincinnati from which he was graduated in 1881. He
then came to Arizona and was appointed physician for the Copper Queen
Mining Company at Bisbee, where he remained until 1883. In the latter
year he located in Tucson, engaged in private practice, and during the
years that have intervened, his skill, his strict adherence to
professional ethics, and his genial, tactful manner have won for him a
warm place in the hearts of the many who are known as his friends and
patrons. Besides attending to his general practice Dr. Fenner has for
many years been division surgeon for the Southern Pacific Railroad
Company. He has also been regent of the University of Arizona and
member of the Board of Library Commissioners which superintended the
erection of the Carnegie Library. In politics he is a Republican. He
has been associated for years with the Arizona Medical Society. Dr.
Fenner was married near San Francisco to Miss Ida Hemme, a native of
HIRAM W. FENNER, M. D.,
Who's Who In Arizona Volume 1 1913 Complied and Published by Jo Connors