Genealogy Trails

Welcome to
Arkansas Genealogy Trails!

Volunteers Dedicated to Free Genealogy

Our goal is to help you track your ancestors through time by transcribing genealogical and historical data and placing it online for the free use of all researchers.


Many thanks to Anna Newell for all her work on this state.
She has been the host of this state since its beginning and we hope you appreciate her efforts as much as we have.
Though she has scaled back her workload, she is still hosting Randolph and Sharp counties for us.


This state site is now available for adoption!
If you are interested in joining Genealogy Trails
as the host of this state site or any of our county websites,
view our
Volunteer Page for all the ins and outs of becoming a host.

(Enough knowledge to make a basic webpage and a desire to transcribe data is required)

Check your attics!
Dust off your family scrapbooks!
We're looking for DATA for our sites!!!

We would very much like to make you part of this project.
If you have information that you'd like to share about any town, family, county or subject,
please send it to us and we'll make sure it gets posted to the right county.

Types of Data We're Looking to Post Online
Send transcribedbiographies, obituaries, vital records, census records, newspaper gleanings, military records, or if you have walked cemeteries and have transcribed those names and dates,and any other type of data you think would be helpful to researchers

Email Us with your Data


Regretfully, we do not have time to do research for anybody.

All data we come across will be added to these site.
We thank you for visiting and hope you'll come back again
to view the updates we make to thesesites.


Arkansas was originally a part of the province of Louisiana, and constituted a portion of that undefined region lying west of the Mississippi, which received not a tread of the white man until the present century, unless visited by De Soto, who explored the valley of the Mississippi in 1541. In the arrangement of territories it was separated from Louisiana and attached to Missouri. It remained in this connection till 1819, when it was erected into a district territory, under its present name. The Rocky mountains were its western limits; but by congressional acts in 1824 and by subsequent treaties with the Cherokee Indians, its area was curtailed. In 1836, a convention of the representatives of the people assembled at Little Rock, and adopted a state constitution; and the same year Arkansas was admitted into the Union as an independent state.
["Source: Fanning's Illustrated Gazetteer of the United States..."
Published by Phelps, Fanning & Co., 1853]

Arkansas County Data
Select a County Site to visit:

Arkansas State Data

County Map

Ark. in 1850 Gazetteer

History Topics

State Symbols



1869 Judges Salaries

Post Office Records

Slave Narratives

Freedman's Bank Records


Arkansaw Doctor

State Biographies

Military Records


Death Notices and Obituaries

Newspaper Gleanings

Ark Inmates, 1902-1921

Prisons, Asylums, School History

Blind School

State Health Dept. Records



Join our Genealogy Trails Southern States Mailing List
to get email notices when our county sites are updated.

For the Southern States of :

Arkansas   Louisiana   Mississippi

   Tennessee   Kentucky

You never know who you might meet and what family data they may share with you
-- it could start a whole new branch of the family!
We also use the mailing lists to announce our website updates.


Submit an Obituary
to Us for any County


Visit the States bordering Arkansas

Tennessee Genealogy Trails

TENNESSEE GenealogyTrails

 MISSISSIPPI Genealogy Trails

Louisiana Genealogy Trails

LOUISIANA Genealogy Trails

TEXAS Genealogy Trails

OKLAHOMA Genealogy Trails


MISSOURI Genealogy Trails

Visit our
National Site

Copyright © Genealogy Trails
All data on this website is Copyright by Genealogy Trails
with full rights reserved for original submitters.

shopify stats