Mariposa County, California
History and Genealogy

Website updated with new data


Welcome to Genealogy Trails!

This county website is in need of a permanent host.
If you are interested joining our group as webmaster for this website, or any of our websites, view our
Volunteer Information page and Email Kim.
A desire to transcribe data and know-how to make a
basic webpage is required.

We'll be adding data to this site when we can.
Subscribe to our mailing lists to get notification when we update this and our other western websites.

County Seat: Mariposa
Year Organized: 1850
Square Miles: 1,451

Mariposa County was one of the original counties of California, created at the time of statehood in 1850. While it began as the state's largest county, over time territory that was once part of Mariposa was ceded to twelve other counties: Fresno, Inyo, Kern, Kings, Los Angeles, Madera, Merced, Mono, San Benito, San Bernardino, San Luis Obispo, and Tulare. Thus, Mariposa County is known as the "Mother of Counties".
The county took its name from Mariposa Creek, which was so named by Spanish explorers in 1806, when they discovered great clusters of butterflies ("mariposas" in Spanish) in the foothills of the Sierras. For many years, residents marked the annual arrival (in May) of migrating Monarch butterflies with a "Butterfly Days" parade.

Birth Notices Cemeteries


Death Records
Obituaries Newspapers Towns Updates
Marriage Notices Military Mortality
Voter Lists
(Great Register)

Neighboring counties

Madera County, California
Merced County, California
Tuolumne County, California

Back to the California State Page

Visit the National
Genealogy Trails Site


 All data on this website is
Copyright 2007-2012 by Genealogy Trails
with full rights reserved for original submitters.