Shasta County, CA
History and Genealogy



Welcome to Genealogy Trails!
Volunteers Dedicated to Free Genealogy

This county website is in need of a permanent host.
If you are interested joining our group as webmaster for this website, or any of our websites, view our
Volunteer Information page and Email Kim.
A desire to transcribe data and know-how to make a basic webpage is required.

We'll be adding data to this site when we can. Subscribe to our mailing lists to get notification when we update this and our other western websites.


Shasta County was one of the original counties of California, created in 1850 at the time of statehood. Parts of the county's territory were given to Siskiyou County in 1852, and to Tehama County in 1856.

The county was named after Mount Shasta; the name "Shasta" is derived from the English equivalent for the name of an Indian tribe that once lived in the area. The name of the tribe was spelled in various ways until the present version was used when the county was established. Originally Mt. Shasta was within the county, but it is now part of Siskiyou County, to the north. Its 14,179-foot peak is visible throughout most of Shasta County.

Cities & Towns:

Big Bend
Fall River Mills
French Gulch
Hat Creek
Lakehead - Lakeshore
Montgomery Creek
Palo Cedro
Round Mountain
Shasta Lake

Vital Records Resources

County Courthouse
1815 Yuba Street, Suite 2
Redding, CA 96001-1723
Phone: (530)225-5557


County Seat: Redding
Year Organized: 1850
Square Miles: 3,786


Cemetery Locations:

Eureka Cemetery
Pine Grove Cemetery
Saint Louis Cemetery

Sattley Cemetery
Sierraville Cemetery

Online Data

Biographies Births Cemeteries
Census Deaths History


Military Obituaries
Probate Burial Index Murders
Marriage Notices Birth Notices News

Library Locations:

National Archives - San Francisco
1000 Commodore Drive
San Bruno, CA 94066-2350

Alleghany Station Library
Downieville Station Library
Loyalton Station Library
Sierra City Station Library









Visit the National

Visit the National Genealogy Trails Website

Genealogy Trails

Neighboring counties

Lassen County, California
Modoc County, California
Plumas County, California

Tehama County, California
Trinity County, California
Siskiyou County, California

Back to the California State Page


 All data on this website is
Copyright 2007-2015 by Genealogy Trails
with full rights reserved for original submitters.