POLK COUNTY, FLORIDA
Church Records
POLK COUNTY, FLORIDA CHURCHES


WORK PROJECTS ADMINISTRATION
Professional and Service Division
The Florida Historical Records Survey
JACKSONVILLE, FLORIDA

These records show the church denomination, pastor, year, and other information pertaining to the church. Records are from 1938-1940.


[Source: WPA Church Records, Florida Memory; Transcribed by Sheila Pitts Massie, Coordinator.]

 

Demonination Church Name Year Constituted Defunct or not. Ending Date Race/Ethnicity Location Remarks
Southern Baptist Convention Arbuckle Baptist Church 1907 Defunct c. 1920 Not given 12 miles east of Frostproof, Old Military Road, Polk County. Constituted 1907. Services in school house until church, unpainted, square, plain, frame building was erected, and dedicated 1909. Services held here until church became defunct c1920 or c1921. Earliest known pastor, Rev. H. D. Mann, 1907-08. Last pastor, Rev. A. M. Smith, 1913-16; 1918-c1920, Avon Park, Fla.
American Baptist Association Ardella Missionary Baptist Church July 9, 1922 - - Not given Rural, Medula, Lakeland Mulberry Road, 5 miles southwest of Lakeland, Polk County Constituted July 9, 1922. Services in Medula Methodist Church, until present white, T shape, frame building erected 1922, dedicated May 10, 1925, additions 1939. First settled pastor, Rev. J. H. Dorman, 1922-29. Present pastor, Rev. John M. Parrish, 1937, 200 McDonald Ave., Lakeland. CHURCH ROLL AND RECORD, July 1922, 1 vol. Showing minutes of church conferences, membership roll, baptisms, deaths, Associational Letters. Custody of clerk, J. R. Hays, Route # 1, Lakeland. (FINANCIAL RECORD), July 1922, 1 vol. Showing receipts and disbursements. Custody of clerk, J. R. Hays, see supra. MEIGS INTERNATIONAL SUNDAY SCHOOL RECORD, August 1938, 2 vols. Showing members, teachers, officers, attendance, collections, reports, disbursements. Custody of secretary, Miss Evelyn Hicks, Medulla.
Missionary Baptist, affiliated with Southern Baptist Convention Athens Baptist Church April 23, 1911 - - White R. R. #2, Beresh Community, Fort Meade. Four miles off Avon Park-Fort Meade Road. Not foreign, Local church is sovereign and independent body, affiliated with Southern Baptist Convention, Nashville, Tennessee, Florida State Convention, Jacksonville, Florida, Orange Blossom Association, Changes annually. Services were held in the Athens Schhol house, Bereah, from date of organization 1911 to 1912, when they moved into the present church building. Present building erected in 1912, unknown if dedicated, re-roofed July 1934, Rectangular, wooden building, painted white. Very plain building, no special features. First settled pastor, W. O. Bethea, 1925-1930. Earliest known pastor, A. T. Farabee, 1911-?, Present pastor, Rev. Cecil Mann, 1937- ?, P. O. Box 597, Lake Wales, Florida. CHURCH RECORDS: Minutes: "The World Church Roll and Record Book" 1925-1932, 1 vol., "Convention Church Records, 1933, 1 vol. No records prior to 1925. These contain minutes of the meetings showing all business transacted by this church, membership roll and deaths, reports to the association, all receipts and disbursements. Kept in the home of the Clerk, J. W. Clements, Rural Route No. 2, Fort Meade, Florida, and are in fair condition. REGISTER BOOKS: "The World Church Roll and Record Book" and "Convention Church Record" contain the membership roll and deaths only. No other record kept. FINANCIAL RECORDS: The Financial Record is carried in "The World Church Roll and Record Book" and "Convention Church Record", no other record is kept. Records of auxiliary church organizations: Sunday School, "Convention Sunday School Record", 1937-1938, 1 vol. "Improved Six Point Department Record", Jan. 1, 1938, 1 vol. No records prior to 1937. Sunday School has been inactive until reorganized January 1, 1937. These contain enrollment, attendance, collections, and report to Superintendent Orphans' Home, Arcadia, Florida. Records are kept in the church and Mrs. G. W. Waters is Secretary and Custodian, and are in good condition. Mrs. Water's address is R. R. #2, Fort Meade, Fla. B.Y.P.U., "Secretary's Record Book", Jan. 1938, 1 vol. B.Y.P.U. has not been active and it was thought no records were kept prior to this date. Contain enrollement, attendance, collections, and reports to the Sunshine Federation. Kept in the home of Mrs. J. W. Clements, Secretary, Rural Route #2, Fort Meade, Florida, and is in very good condition. They have no central depository, some records being kept in the home of clerks and secretaries and others in the church. Information obtained from J. W. Clements, Clerk, Mrs. J. W. Clements, wife of Clerk and member, Mrs. G. W. Watters, Sunday School Secretary, Mrs. J. W. Clements, wife of Clerk and B.Y.H.U. Secretary.
National Baptist Convention of the United States of America Inc. Bethel Baptist Church 1897 - - African-American Concord St., one block W. of Main St., Mulberry, Polk County. Constituted, 1897. Services held, 1897-99, small school house, 2 blocks W. of present site; first church, 1899-1922, building burned 1922. In 1923 the present white, rectangular, frame building erected, pastorium added 1923; belfry and bell, 1929. Features: corner stone and piano. Present membership: Active organizations: Sunday School, Woman's Home Mission Society. First known pastor, Rev. Grant Richards, 1908-unknown. Present pastor, Rev. Tolen, 1928, Box 2591, Mulberry, Fla., Morehouse College, Atlanta, Ga. "Order Book", (Financial Record), 1929, 1 vol., showing record of monies received and disbursed. Custody of O. L. Anderson, Church Clerk, Mulberry. "Boyd's National Baptist Sunday School Minute, Roll, and Record Book", 1929, 7 vols. showing officers, teachers, pupils, attendance and financial records.
Southern Baptist Convention Beulah Baptist Church 1896 Defunct c1920 White 10 miles southeast of Ft. Meade, on Avon Park-Ft. Meade Road, Polk County Constituted 1896. Services in arbor until first building erected in 1898, and continued until disbanded 1914. Reorganized 1916, and by arrangement with County School Board, school house erected from material in Beulah Church in return for old school building, white, rectangular, frame old school building on Avon Park-Ft. Meade Road. Services were here until defunct, c1920. Earliest known and first settled pastor, Rev. James F. Gill, 1896-1900. Pastor before disbanding, Rev. C. Vickers, 1912-1913. Last Pastor, Rev. J. L. Yomans, 1919 only, Plant City, Fla.
Southern Baptist Convention Beulah Baptist Church 1868 Defunct 1885 White Route #1, Lithia, Florida (Located 1 mile S. of Nichols, 1/2 mile E. of line between Hillsborough and Polk Counties.) Affliliated with Southern Baptist Convention, Nashville, Tennessee; Florida State Baptist Convention, Jacksonville, Florida; South Florida Baptist Association, movable; Mr. R. W. Trapnell, now in his 83rd year, said he and his father helped haul pine logs to site of present Beulah Baptist Church (Landmark) in 1871 when Baptist men in that community built a church house. Beulah Baptist Church being organized there soon afterwards by Rev. B. W. Miller, assisted by Rev. J. M. Hayman. Judge Fortner (initials unknown) taught a three-months school in building same year. House was burned since 1900. The cemetery dates back to about 1860, one recent burial being that of "Grandma Weeks" monument showing she was born in 1827 and died in April 1940. Present building erected 1871, dedicated 1871, Plain mission style, made of pine logs, unpainted, a rectangle in shape. Burned in 1900. First settled pastor, Rev. S. Weldron, 1868-1871; Rev. B. W. Miller, 1871-unknown. Last Pastor, Rev. W. W. Bostwick, 1884-1885. (Also lists Rev. S. Walden, Unknown-1885, (Scratched out). The following served as pastors: John W. Hendry, J. M. (Boss) Hendry, I. A. Redd, T. H. Jaudon. No central depository for records. If any records were kept, they were lost or destroyed. Information obtained from Miss Hattie McDaniel & mother, lived near cemetery since 1910. Were told ruins of burned building was Beulah Baptist Church (Ad. Rt. 1, Lithia, Fla.); Mr. R. W. Trapnell, member & grandson of Rev. B. W. Miller, Rt. 3, Box 393, Plant City; Mr. Dave Kendrick, member, Rt. #1, Lithia, Fla.; Mrs. Dave Kendrick, member & grandaughter of Rev. B. W. Miller, Rt. 1, Lithia, Fla.
American Baptist Association (Landmark) Beulah Baptist Church August 31, 1913 - - White Route #1, Lithia, Fla. (Located 1/2 mile E. of Hillsborough & Polk County Line. Affiliations: State-State Association (of Landmark) Missionary Baptist Churches of Florida-Movable; District-South Florida Local Association-Movable. (Note: Beulah was organized as a church of Southern Baptist Convention, but ceased to co-operate fully about 1921 and so became a Landmark church.) Late in 1912, a number of persons met in Old Beulah cemetery to clean it out. They decided to try to have another church on site of the old one. Some meetings were held in an old store building near by, where Beulah Baptist Church was organized Aug. 31, 1913 by Rev. John B. Simmons with assistance of Rev. Irvin Walden, there were 18 charter members. Rev. Walden followed with a tent meeting. A brush arbor was built soon afterwards under oaks near cemetery and Rev. John B. Simmons was elected first pastor. Arbor was used until church was built in 1914, house being made "box" style of rough unplained lumber; this has been covered with nice material since and painted white. Present membership is 1923. Building erected in 1913, dedicated 1914 (Second Sunday in July); remodeled in 1939, S. S. room in yard about 1933; S. S. annex in 1939. (I assume S. S. stands for Sunday School); Mission style, frame wooden building, painted white, an "L" in shape, seating capacity about 300. Very nice new pews throughout, has a piano. A $50.00 light system was installed early in 1940. First settled pastor, Rev. John B. Simmons, 1912-1916; earliest known pastor, Rev. John B. Simmons, 1912-1916; Rev. Irvin Walden, 1912. Present pastor, Rev. J. Walter Allen, Aug. 1940-? He served as pastor at 3 different times previously, making about 6 years altogether. Route #1, Box 56, Lithia, Florida. Information obtained from: Earl Allen, son of Pastor, Rt. #1, Lithia, Fla.; W. W. Watson, Church Clerk; Miss Hattie McDaniel, Pianist; Rev. John B. Simmons, organizer & 1st Pastor, Route 3, Plant City, Fla.; Tom Lee Smith, Church Treasurer; Mrs. W. W. Watson, Secy. Ladies' Aid. (Church Records) Aug. 31, 1913-July 1925, 1 vol.; "Church Roll and Record" Aug. 1925, 1 vol. Proceedings of meetings, accessions by baptism, letter, statement, restoration; losses by letter, exclusion, erasure, death. Roll of members, annual financial reports from Church Treasurer, located in home of W. W. Watson, Church Clerk, Box 501, Mulberry, Florida. Condition of Vol. 1 is fair; of vol. 2 is good. Was told Rev. J. Walter Allen has been most active member through all the years and serving in various capacitites. Miss Hattie McDaniel has been first organist, then pianist since organization of church. No records were kept prior to Aug. 31, 1913. Treasury Records, Jan. 1940, 1 vol.; located in home of Church Treasurer Tom Lee Smith, Route #1, Box 66, Lithia, Florida. Condition of records good. The present Church Treasurer has served 11 years, using pocket note books. At the end of the year, he submits an annual report after which the note book is discarded. The former Treasurer used the same system. Records have been thus kept since organization in Aug. 1913, but these records were not preserved. "Convention Sunday School Record" Dec. 1913-1915, Jan. 1917-July 1922; 2 vols. Missing Dec 1915-1916, records were written on loose sheets and were lost, List of officers, teachers, and scholars; attendance, visitors, no. bible brought, amount of collections, disbursements; copies of quarterly and annual reports. Located in home of W. W. Watson, former S. S. Secy., Box 501, Mulberry, Florida. Condition of records good. Beginning with August, 1922 the general secy. has put record of attendance and collection on black-board each Sunday, but no written records have been preserved. Rev. J. Walter Allen was S. S. Supt. and choir leader for quite a number of years. (Records of Ladies' Aid) "University Composition Book" May 1935; 2 vols. Membership roll, lists of officers, proceedings of meetings, reports of aid given to poor, also of aid rendered church and pastor in various ways. Annual report of receipts and disbursements. Located in home of Mrs. W. W. Watson, Ladies' Aid Secy., Box 501, Mulberry, Florida. Condition of records are good. Ladies' Aid was organized in May 1932. Mrs. Watson only active secretary.
South Baptist Convention Bradley Baptist Church 1913 - - White Bradley Junction, Polk County Constituted 1913. First services in old school building now present Grammar School Building in Bradley Junction, until present rectangular, white frame building, with bell was erected in 1913. Present membership, 62. Active organizations, Sunday School. First settled pastor, Rev. Davis, 1913 (exact date of pastorship unknown). Present pastor, Rev. Bascom S. Sutton, P. O. Box 35, Bradley Junction. (CONVENTION CHURCH RECORD), 1921, 2 vols. Showing minutes of meetings, reports, membership roll, receipts and disbursements. Custody of former clerk, Richard H. Carroll, Box 3, Bradley Junction. (TREASURER'S RECORD), 1939, 1 vol. Showing receipts and disbursements. Custody of treasurer, B. L. Cravey, Box 22, Bradley Junction.; (SUNDAY SCHOOL RECORD), 1933, 1 vol. Showing teachers, pupils, officers, reports, collections.
Primitive Baptist Convention of the United States of America, Inc. Burket Chapel Primitive Baptist Church 1894 - - African-American 3rd Ave and Parker St., Bartow, Polk County Constituted 1894. Services in homes until present church, a white, rectangular, wooden building, 3rd Ave., erected, 1894, first services, May, 1894 moved to present site, and additions, 1919. First settled pastor, B. J. Jones, 1894-1900. Education unknown. Present pastor, Ennis Bullard, Jan. 1934, P. O. Box 322, Bartow, Florida; common school education. (Secretary's Record) Dec. 1938, 1 vol., contains minutes of church conferences, reports read and accepted, election of officers and delegates, call and tenure of pastor, financial records, receipts, disbursements, statements, reports, custody, Oretha Turner, Secy, 1395 Laurel Str. Bartow. (Church Register), 1937, 1 vol., contains the names of active members for 1937, custody, Oretha Turner, Secry; see supra. (Sunday School Secretary's Record) Dec. 1929-Sept. 1932; Dec. 1935-May 1936; Nov. 1938, 4 vols., showing organization, membership, exercises, attendance, offerings, activities, board-meetings, elections, delegates, reports, custody, Corine Bullard, P. O. Box 322, Bartow; (Youn People's Volunteer Workers Record), June 1935, 4 vols.; Showing organization, members, objectives, business, activities, rallies, money raised, elections, reports.
Southern Baptist Convention Caddin's Chapel (East Side Baptist Church) 1916 Defunct - White Main St. and Inghram Ave., Lakeland, Polk County Constituted. This was never constituted as a church, functioned as a mission as part of First Baptist Church of Lakeland. R. T. Caddin, donated lot and loaned money necessary to erect frame building; Sunday Schhol and sometimes preaching were held there.
Southern Baptist Convention Chicora Baptist Church 1889 Defunct 1920 White Chicora, Polk County Constituted 1889. Rev. J. M. Hayman conducted services in his home from 1883-1889. At that time James L. Durrance gave an acre for church site and white, oblong, frame building erected c 1890 and used for life of church. Building razed and material sold for $100.00, receipts given to Florida Baptist Children's Home, Arcadia. Earliest known pastor Rev. J. M. Hayman, 1883-89. First pastor, Rev. J. M. Hendry, 1890 only. Last pastor, Rev. J. B. Simmons, 1920 only. COMPLETE CHURCH RECORD AND MINUTE BOOK, 1889-1917, 1 vol. Showing members, deaths, financial records. Custody of former clerk-treasurer, Mr. J. M. Padgett, Fort Green.
Mount Enon Primitive Baptist Church Clear Lake Baptist Church 1895 Defunct 1907 White 3 miles N. W. of Eagle Lake on State Highway 79, Polk County Constituted 1895. First services in small building, then moved to present unpainted, rectangular, frame building erected 1895 and used until defunct 1907. First settled pastor, Elder H. F. Fortner 1895-1897. Last Pastor, Elder J. J. Sikes, 1906-1907, Highland City. DAY BOOK, 1895-1907, 1 vol. Showing minutes of church conferences, membership roll, Rules of Decorum, baptisms, deaths. Custody of J. H. Fortner, son of deceased Elder H. F. Fortner, Route #2, Box 124, Bartow.
Mount Enon Primitive Baptist Church Corinth Primitive Baptist Church 1892 - - White Ft. Meade, Route #2, Polk County. Constituted 1892. Services in homes until small building erected and destroyed by storm 1926. Present white, rectangular, frame building erected 1926-1927. First settled pastor, Rev. W. D. Tally, 1894-99. Present pastor, Rev. J. W. Mathis, 1928, General Delivery, Avon Park. S. E. LEDGER, 1902-23, 1 vol.; S. E. LEDGER, 1929-32, 1 vol.; SCHOOL DAYS, 1933, 1 vol. Showing minutes of church conferences, reports, Associational Letters, membership roll, baptisms, deaths, receipts and disbursements. Custody of clerk, J. M. Wingate, Route #2, Fort Meade.
Southern Baptist Convention Dixieland Baptist Church 1921 - - White 404 W. Belmar St., Lakeland, Polk County. Constituted 1921. Services in white, rectangular, frame building, erected 1921, dedicated 1922. Present membership, 108. Active organizations, Sunday School, Baptist Training Union, Woman's Missionary Society. First settled pastor, Rev. Earl Lewis, 1921-22. Present pastor, Rev. Thomas McDowell, 1922, Meridian St. and Burns Ave., Box 1484, Lakeland; Christian Mission Alliance Seminary, New York City. (CHURCH MINUTES), 1921, 3 vols. Showing business done, reports, Associational Letters, receipts and disbursements. 1 vol. 1921-23, custody of pastor, Rev. Thomas McDowell, see supra.; 2 vols. 1924, custody of clerk, Mrs. Charles Rowan, 302 Ariana St., Lakeland. (CHURCH REGISTER), 1921, 1 vol. Showing members, baptisms, deaths. Custody of pastor, Rev. Thomas McDowell, see supra.; (BIBLE SCHOOL RECORD), 1933, 5 vols. Showing members, officers, teachers, attendance, collections, disbursements. Custody of secretary, Mrs. George Fidler, 306 W. Hancock St., Lakeland.; (WOMAN'S MISSIONARY SOCIETY RECORDS), 1922, 5 vols. Showing members, officers, receipts and disbursements.
Southern Baptist Convention Dundee First Baptist Church 1913 - - White Corner Highway #8 and Merrill Avenue, Dundee, Polk County Organized Sept. 10, 1913, original name of church: The Dundee Baptist Church, changed September 1928. Organized in the old school building located at that time in front of the present church building, holding services in this school building until about January 1915, when they moved to their present church building. They moved into this building before it was completed. Affiliated with Southern Baptist Convention, Nashville, Tennessee; Florida State Baptist Convention, Jacksonville, Florida; Orange Blossom Baptist Association, movable. Plain wooden building with high hip roof, almost square, painted white. First settled and earliest known pastor, L. M. Chitty, Sept. 10, 1913-Sept 2, 1917; Present pastor, Rev. W. C. Rice, April 2, 1839-, P. O. Box 562, Frostproof, Florida. Records not transferred to a central depository of the church or denomination. There are only Sunday School Records missing and these have been lost or destroyed. Information obtained from: C. L. Smith, Church Treasurer and "Convention Church Record", J. H. Lanier, Church Clerk, W. C. Rice, Pastor, Mrs. Isabella Anthony, Charter member but has left the church., Mrs. Y. M. Davis, Sunday School Teacher and active in young people's work. "OK Day Book" (Treasurer's Records) October 1, 1939, This is the beginning of this record. There are no missing records, the financial records having been carried in (Church Records) up to this time, Contains a record of monies received and disbursed. 1 vol. is located in the home of C. L. Smith, Church Treasurer, P. O. Box 314, Dundee, Florida. Record is in good condition. Records were not kept earlier than dates shown as a separate financial record book is concerned, but the finances of the church have been carried in the Church Clerk's Record Books, "Convention Church Record", "Perfect Church Record", and (Clerk's Record) from date of organization, September 10, 1913-September 1939, except Sept. 24, 1931-Feb 4, 1932, when no records were kept.
Southern Baptist Convention East Side Baptist Church 1926 Defunct 1938 White Mulberry, Polk County Constituted 1926. Organized by Rev. C. C. Evans. First services in Evans' home until bungalow style, white, oblone, frame building erected 1926, and active until 1938 when congregation became so small building was sold to Church of Christ congregation. Majority of members joined First Baptist Church, Mulberry. They have no pastor at present. Present membership. First pastor, Rev. C. C. Evans, 1926-33; John Tarleton Agricultural College, Tarleton Station, Texas. Last Pastor, Rev. W. W. Dorsey, 1936-37, Lithia, Fla. (CONVENTION CHURCH RECORD), 1926, 1 vol. Showing members, minutes of meetings, baptisms, deaths, financial reports. Custody of clerk, Mr. J. E. Moore, Box 62, Mulberry.
Southern Baptist Convention Eaton Park Baptist Church 1933 - - White Eaton Ave., Eaton Park, Polk County. Constituted 1933. Services in store building, 100 feet West of present white, rectangular, frame building, erected 1934. Present membership, 79. Active organizations, Sunday School, Baptist Training Union, Woman's Missionary Society, Baptist Brotherhood. First settled pastor, Rev. Theodore Jones, 1933-35; John B. Stetson University, DeLand, Southern College, Lakeland. Present pastor, Rev. G. C. Voyles, 1936, Polk City. (CHURCH RECORDS), 1933, 2 vols. Showing charter members, minutes of meetings, membership roll, Associational Letter, baptisms, deaths. Custody of clerk, Vivian Wheeler, Eaton Park. (FINANCIAL RECORDS), 1933, 4 vols. Showing receipts and disbursements. (SUNDAY SCHOOL RECORDS), 1935, 2 vols. Showing officers, teachers, pupils, attendance, reports, collections, disbursements. Vol. 2, custody of secretary, Mr. J. D. Williams, Route #2, Box 28, Lakeland. (W. M. S. Records), 1938, 1 vol. Showing officers, members, minutes of meetings and financial record. SECRETARY'S RECORD BOOK FOR B.Y.P.U. OR B.A.U. EIGHT POINT RECORD SYSTEM (Senior) Jan. 8, 1940, 1 vol. Showing members, officers, minutes of meetings, reports, collections and disbursements.; SECRETARY'S RECORD BOOKD FOR B.Y.P.U. OR B.A.U. EIGHT POINT RECORD SYSTEM, (Intermediate) 1939, 1 vol. Showing membership roll, officers, minutes of meetings, reports, financial record. (RECORDS OF BAPTIST BROTHERHOOD), 1936, 1 Vol. Showing membership roll, minutes of meetings, financial records, 1 vol. 1936, custody of secretary-treasurer, H. O. Parrish, Eaton Park.
Southern Baptist Convention Eden Baptist Church 1910 Defunct. 1924 White 4 miles North of Ft. Meade-Frostproof Highway, 7 miles West of Frostproff, Ft. Meade, Polk County. Constituted 1910. First services in Eden School house, 2 miles north of Ft. Meade-Frostproof Highway until 1918, when white, rectangular, plain frame building erected, 1918-19, and dedicated. First settled and only pastor, Rev. J. F. Gill, 1910-24.
Mount Enon Primitive Baptist Church Elim Primitive Baptist Church 1885 - - White 2 miles south of Agricola, about 100 yards west of Brewster-Bartow Road, R.F.D. Fort Meade, Polk County. Constituted 1885. Services in small frame building unitl present rectangular, unpainted, frame building, with high gable roof, erected 1913. Present pastor, Rev. T. S. Evers, 1885-1888. Last pastor, Rev. I. C. Davis, Nov. 1935-Aug. 1939. Supply pastor, Elder Joe Hudson, 1939, Route # 1, Box 412, Bartow. SCHOLARSHIP LOOSE LEAF NOTE BOOK, April 22, 1897-August 1901, Nov. 21, 1908-December 1909, Apr. 22, 1911-April 1940, May 24, 1940, 2 vols. Title varies: (MINUTE BOOK), Apr. 22, 1897-August 1901, Nov. 21, 1908-December 1909, April 2, 1911-April 1940, May 24, 1940, 1 vol. Showing minutes of church conferences, Rules of Decorum, membership roll, baptisms, deaths. Custody of clerk, B. F. Lee, Route # 1, Box 51, Fort Meade.
Missionary Baptist Elim Missionary Baptist Church Sept. 11, 1929 - - White Highway # 8 and Center St., Dundee, Polk County Constituted Sept. 11, 1929. Services in Communith House, Main and first Sts. until present, white, rectangular, plain, frame building erected 1925; used as business building used as church after remodeling, February 1931. Present membership, 100. Active organizations, Sunday School, Baptist Training Union, Woman's Missionary Society. First settled and only pastor, Rev. Carl F. Johnson, Sept. 11, 1929, P. O. Box 351, Dundee; Swedish Baptist Theological Seminary, Chicage, Ill. PERFECT CHURCH RECORD, Oct. 17, 1928-March 6, 1935; CONVENTION CHURCH RECORD, March 20, 1935, 1 vol. Showing business done, reports, Associational Letters, membership roll, baptisms, deaths. Custody of clerk, Miss Myrtle Huey, P. O. Box 306, Dundee. (TREASURER'S RECORD), Sept. 11, 1929, 2 vols. Showing receipts and disbursements. Custody of treasurer, E. W. Magnuson, P. O. Box 352, Dundee. IMPROVED SIX POINT SUNDAY SCHOOL RECORD FOR SECRETARIES OF SUNDAY SCHOOLS, Aug. 18, 1929-July 27, 1930; July 1931-July 3, 1932; July 1933-Sept. 1936; Feb. 6, 1938, 8 vols. CONVENTION SUNDAY SCHOOL RECORD, Aug. 3, 1930-June 28, 1931; July 10, 1932-June 1933; October 1936-January 1938, 1 vol. Showing members, teachers, officers, attendance, collections, reports, disbursements. SCHOLARSHIP LOOSE LEAF NOTE BOOK, (W.M.S.), Feb. 27, 1936, 1 vol. Showing membership roll, officers, minutes of meetings, receipts. Custody of clerk, Miss Myrtle Huey, see supra. (TREASURER'S RECORD W.M.S.), August 1931, 1 vol. Showing receipts and disbursements. Custody of treasurer, Mrs. Paul Wood, General Delivery, Dundee. (SECRETARY'S RECORD B.Y.P.U.), Nov. 6, 1938, 1 vol. Showing members, officers, attendance, reports, collections. Custody of leader, Miss Ethel Smith, General Delivery, Lake Hamilton.
Southern Baptist Convention First Baptist Church (Concord Baptist Church, 1875-1882; Bartow Baptist Church 1882-1825 [sic]. 1875 - - White E. Church St. and N. Florida Ave., Bartow, Polk County Constituted 1875. First services held in Academy, Carpenter Ave. & Summerlyn St. First building erected 1883, sold, and moved to Main St. and Hendry Ave. where a frame building was erected in 1900 and used until 1924. Present square, cream brick, four storied building with 72 rooms, 30 art glass windows, Moller pipe organ, 7 pianos, and a corner-stone inscribed, "First Baptist Church, 1925." erected 1925, dedicated 1926. Pastorium erected, 1914. Present membership, 678. Active organizations, Sunday School, Baptist Training Union, Woman's Missionary Union with 4 auxiliaries, Brotherhood. Carries Co-op Program and H.T. Club. First settled pastor, Rev. J. M. Human, 1875-1883. Present pastor, Rev. J. E. Martin, 1923-, 420 E. Church St., Bartow; Georgetown College, Georgetown, Ky.; Southern Baptist Theological Seminary, Louisville, Ky. "History of First Baptist Church of Bartow," 1875-1925, author, G. O. Denham; written 1925, located home of G. O. Denham, 665 S. Wilson Ave., Bartow. Copied into "Minutes of First Baptist Church," Bartow. MINUTES OF FIRST BAPTIST CHURCH, 1875, 4 vols. Showing organization of Concord Baptist Church, minutes of meetings, membership roll, until Dec. 1930 when separate membership roll was opened. Custody of clerk, G. O. Denham, see supra. (CHURCH MEMBERSHIP), 1931, 1 file drawer, 680 cards. Showing membership. Custody of clerk, G. O. Denham, see supra. (FINANCIAL RECORDS), 1937, 1 vol. Showing receipts and disbursements. Custody of treasurer, J. E. Deisher, 260 E. Main St. (Store) GEN. SECRETARY'S REPORTS (SUNDAY SCHOOL), 1935, 5 vols. Showing reports according to Eight Point Record System. (W.M.U. RECORDS), 1932, 8 vols. Showing officers, leaders, members, donations, financial record.
Southern Baptist Convention First Baptist Church 1915 - - White 4 blocks West of A.C.L. Railroad, Brewster, Polk County Constituted 1915. Services held in one room schoolhouse until 1918 when church lapsed until 1922. Church reorganized in 1923 by Rev. J. Earl Lewis; congregation still worships in school house. Present membership, 62. Active organizations, Sunday School, Baptist Training Union. First settled pastor, Rev. T. H. Murphy, 1915, only. After lapse, first pastor, Rev. J. Earl Lewis, 1923-24. Present pastor, Rev. S. L. Albritton, 1939, Ona; Columbia College, Lakeland. UNIVERSAL CHURCH RECORD, 1924, 3 vols. Showing minutes of meetings, membership roll, reports, financial records. Custody of clerk, N. F. Peters, P. O. Box 84, Brewster. (TREASURER'S RECORD), 1937, 1 vol. Showing financial records of all departments. Custody of treasurer, N. F. Peters, see supra. CONVENTION SUNDAY SCHOOL RECORD, 1938, 3 vols. Showing officers, teachers, pupils, attendance, financial record. Custody of secretary, Miss Hazel Peters, Brewster. B.Y.P.U. RECORDS, 1939, 1 vol. Showing officers, members, financial report and attendance.
Southern Baptist Convention First Baptist Church 1916 - - White Eagle Lake, Polk County Constituted 1916. First services in old school building between Eagle and Pierce Ave.; until present T-shape, white, frame building with gable roof and belfry, erected 1926; remodelled 1937; pastorium erected 1936. Present membership, 441. Active organization, Sunday School. First settled pastor, Rev. Kirby, 1916-18. Present pastor, Rev. W. B. Davidson, November 1937, Box 146, Eagle Lake; Massey Business College, Columbus, Ga.; John B. Stetson University, DeLand. (CHURCH ROLL AND RECORD), 1916, 2 vols. Showing minutes of meetings, membership roll, baptisms, deaths, receipts and disbursements. Custody of clerk, W. T. Williams, Box 861, Eagle Lake. (FINANCIAL RECORD), 1934, 2 vols. Showing receipts and disbursements. Custody of clerk, W. T. Williams, see supra. (SUNDAY SCHOOL RECORD), 1930, 5 vols. Showing reports, attendance, pupils, teachers, collections.
Southern Baptist Convention First Baptist Church 1906 - - White East Broadway and Oak Ave., Fort Meade, Polk County Constituted 1906. Services in homes, then in little red school house known as Old Fort Meade; then in old Methodist Church 3rd St. and Church Ave., until present concrete block, rectangular, building erected 1908, dedicated 1909; additions, Sunday School Annex, 1922, pastorium, 1926. Present membership, 229. Active organizations, Sunday School, Baptist Training Union, Woman's Missionary Society. First settled pastor, Rev. H. S. Howard, 1909-April 1911. Present pastor, Rev. S. S. Mathis, Feb. 1939, 317 East Broadway, Fort Meade; Southern Baptist Theological Seminary, Louisville, Ky. CONVENTION CHRUCH RECORD, 1931, 1 vol. Showing business done, reports, Associational Letters, membership roll, baptisms, deaths. Custody of clerk, Dr. W. D. Turnley, 701 First St., North, Fort Meade. (BOARD OF DEACON'S RECORD), 1939, 1 vol. Showing business done, reports. Custody of secretary, M. A. Wilson, 116 N. Orange Ave., Fort Meade. IMPROVED CHURCH TREASURER'S RECORD, 1935, 2 vols. Showing receipts and disbursements. Custody of treasurer, Mrs. Glada Broyles, 301 North Oak Ave., Fort Meade. CONVENTION SUNDAY SCHOOL BOARD, January 1911-December 1911, 1 vol.; January 1917-February 1918, 1 vol.; March 1919-May 1921, 2 vols.; October 1923-September 1925, 2 vols. (SECRETARY-TREASURER'S RECORD), 1 box of Reports, October 1935, Showing members, officers, teachers, attendance, collections, reports, disbursements, according to Six Point Record System. Custody of secretary-treasurer, B. L. Keen, First State Bank, Ft. Meade. (SECRETARY'S RECORD OF W.M.S.), June 1932-September 1934; 1935, 3 vols. Showing members, officers, 2 vols. June 1932 to September 1934, custody of ex-secretary, Mrs. J. W. Parker, 809 North Lanier Ave.; 1 vol. 1936, custody of secretary-treasurer, Mrs. E. F. Mitchell, 124 So. Second St., Fort Meade. (TREASURER'S RECORD W.M.S.) 1925-34, 1 vol.; JOURNAL (W.M.S.) 1935, 1 vol. Showing receipts and disbursements, reports. Vol. 1, custody of ex-secretary, Mrs. J. W. Parker, see supra.; Vol. 2, custody of secretary-treasurer, Mrs. E. F. Mitchell, see supra. SECRETARY'S RECORD BOOK EIGHT POINT SYSTEM (Senior B.T.U.) 1937-June 1938, 2 vols. Custody of secretary, Stella Kiser, 315 N. Church Ave., Fort Meade. (INTERMEDIATE B.T.U.) 1937, 2 vols. Custody Virginia Grunholzer, 209 N. W. 1st St., Ft. Meade.
National Baptist Convention of the United States of America Inc. First Baptist Church (Original named Saint Mary's Baptist, changed 1935. 1914 - - Africa-American Maxcy's Quarters, Rural Route No. 1, Frostproof, Polk County. Affiliated with National Baptist Convention of America, Nashville, Tennesse; Progressive State Convention, Jacksonville, Florida; South Florida Progressive Association, St. Petersburg, Florida (Changes each year). Services were held in a small one room frame church located two mile west of the present site, in Turpentine Still Section, from the date of organization to 1935, when the building was moved to its present location. This building was destroyed during the storm of 1928 and the present building erected the better part of 1928 and early part of 1929. First service held 2nd Sunday in February 1929. Rectangular, wooden building, not painted. First settled pastor, N. A. Frazier, 1925-1929; Earliest known pastor, S. L. Griffin, 1919-1931; Present pastor, Rev. J. L. McCray, 1937, grammar school and attended Lakeland Seminary for four terms. General Delivery, Lake Wales, Florida.; Please note forms as follows: FIRST BAPTIST CHURCH.......FROSTPROOF; MT. ZION BAPTIST.......SEBRING...Regarding Lakeland Seminary....A friend who lives in Lakeland and who is a teacher, spent last weekend with my daughter. I asked if she knew anything about a colored school there named Lakeland Seminary and she stated there was a Lakeland Baptist Seminary for colored people, and that a colored man by the name of Gardner (have forgotten his first name) is a teacher in this school. I did not go out of town to get this information but an out-of-town person gave it to me. Realizing this should be correct, thought I would give you this information so you pass it on if you thought best. CHURCH RECORDS: The National Baptist ??? Record, Roll and Minute Book" 1929, 2 vols. (Unable to locate any records prior to 1929.) Contain minutes of the meetings, showing all business of the church coming before the official board, membership roll and deaths, but no reports to the church or Association. Kept in the home of Luticia Burgass, Clerk-custodian, Ellis Quarters, Frostproof, and are in poor condition. Members and deaths are carried in "The National Baptist Church Records, Roll and Minute Book". FINANCIAL RECORDS: "National", 1936, 1 vol. (Unable to locate records prior to 1936. Shows all receipts and expenditures; Kept in the home of Ella Brown, Financial Secretary-Custodian, Maxcy's Quarters, Frostproof, Fla., and is in fair condition. SUNDAY SCHOOL, "Sunday School Record and Roll Book", 1929, 4 vols, (Records prior to 1928 destroyed.) Contain enrollment, attendance, collections, and reports showing how funds are used. Kept in the home of Harry Age, Sec'y-custodian, Maxcy's Quarters, Frostproof, Fla., and are in fair condition. Woman's Missionary Society, not active, Ushers' Board, no records kept. B.Y.P.U. "B.Y.P.U. RECORD BOOK", 1933, 4 vols. (no records prior to 1933 could be located.) Contain enrollment, attendance, contributions, and reports showing how money is used. Kept in the home of Patella Brown, Secretary, Maxcy's Quarters, Frostproof, Fla., and are in poor condition. Patella Brown is custodian. No central depository. None of the officials could give any information on destruction or loss of records. It seems no records were kept until after the storm of 1928. The Secretary of the B.Y.P.U. and the members I contacted think the B.Y.P.U. was not organized until 1933. Information given by the following individuals: James Kelly, Deacon; Sherman Bryant, Deacon; John Howard, Oldest Member; O. D. Davis, Deacon; J. L. McCray, Pastor; Luticia Burgass, Clerk; Harry Age, Sunday School Secretary; Patella Brown, B.Y.P.U. Secretary; Ella Brown, Financial Secretary; Semore Dickson, a Baptist Minister who also attended this school (Lakeland Seminary), and is President B.Y.P.U.
Southern Baptist Convention First Baptist Church Year Constituted - - White State Road # 8 and known as the Main Street of the town. Affliliated with Southern Baptist Convention, Nashville, Tennessee; Florida Baptist Convention, Jacksonville, Florida; Orange Blossom Association, changes each year; Original name Frostproof Baptist Church, changed in 1915. Organized and held services in a small frame school building located on the ground where the present school building now stands, on First Street, until 1911, when they built a rough tabernacle on State # 8 Highway, where they met until the present church building was completed, in 1916. Present building erected in 1915-1916, dedicated November 24, 1918. 6 Sunday School Rooms added in 1932. Rectangular, frame building, painted white, has a bell. First settled pastor, Rev. Dewey Mann, 1924-1926, High School and attended Stetson University, DeLand, Florida, also attended Mercer University, Macon, Georgia. Earliest known pastor, D. H. Mann, 1907-few weeks (Father of Dewey Mann); Present pastor, E. Allen Burnette, 1935, high school and three years Southern Baptist Theological Seminary, Louisville, Ky, 317 Eighth Street, Frostproof, Florida. "CHURCH ROLL AND RECORD", 1907, 3 vols. Contain minutes of the meetings showing all business transacted by the church and reports to the Association. Also contain the membership roll up to 1935. Kept in the home of J. L. Godwin, Clerk, Rural Route No. 1, Frostproof, Fla., and is in very good condition. "CONVENTION CHURCH RECORD", 1935, 1 vol. Record prior to 1935 kept in "Church Roll and Record. This contains the membership roll copied from the "Church Roll and Record" and all members coming into the church since January 1, 1935. Kept in the home of J. L. Godwin, Registrar, Rural Route No. 1, Frostproof, Fla., and is in good condition. "THE MODERN CHURCH TREASURER'S RECORD", 1907-1935, 3 vols. These contain all receipts and expenditures. "Church Treasurer's Record", 1935, 1 vol. This contains all receipts and disbursements from 1935 to date, shows secretary's monthly reports to the church, and individual record of each member's contribution to the church. All records kept in the home of J. L. Godwin, Financial Secretary, R. R. No. 1, Frostproof, Fla. Condition good. Sunday School, no records kept; Girls' Auxiliary, no records kept; Woman's Missionary Society, no records kept; The funds to the above, (Girls' Auxiliary and Woman's Missionary Society) are turned over to the Financial Secretary and he makes the reports to the Florida Baptist Convention. Sunday School collections are also turned over to the Financial Secretary and used as they see fit. J. L. Godwin is Church Clerk and Financial Secretary, and records are kept in his home, R. R. No. 1 Frostproof, Fla. and are in good condition. Rev. Burnette stated that Mr. J. L. Godwin was such a good Clerk and Secretary that all the work was put on him and no one else seem interested enough to keep records.
Southern Baptist Convention First Baptist Church of Lakeland 1885 - - White North Florida Ave. & E. Bay St., Lakeland, Polk County. Constituted 1885. First services in Ballard store, a frame building, E. Main St. and S. Missouri Ave. Present red and buff, rectangular, brick building, with art glass windows, and pipe organ, erected 1904, additions 1904-1920. Dedicated December 1904. Present membership, 2,355. Active organizations, Sunday School, Baptist Training Union, Woman's Missionary Union with 7 auxiliaries and Brotherhood. First settled pastor, Rev. K. G. McCaskie, 1885-1888. Present pastor, Rev. James W. Jelks, 1936, 152 North Edgewood Drive, Lakeland; Mercer University, Macon, Ga. See "History of First Baptist Church of Lakeland," 1885, being written by D. L. Hart, church historian, 830 E. Walnut St., Lakeland. CHURCH RECORDS, 1895-1907, 2 vols.; 1922-34, 4 vols.; 1935, 2 vols. Showing minutes of meetings, reports, Associational Letters, Custody of church historian, Deane L. Hart, see supra. (CHURCH ROLL), 1885, 4 file boxes of 600 cards each. Showing members, baptisms, deaths. (FINANCIAL RECORDS), 1932, 4 File Boxes of 700 cards each. Showing receipts and disbursements. (SUNDAY SCHOOL RECORDS), 1929, 10 vols. Showing members, officers, teachers, attendance, collections, disbursements. (WOMAN'S MISSIONARY UNION RECORDS), 1904-32, 1 box of loose papers and 9 vols. Custody of Mrs. E. C. Flannagan, 331 S. Florida Ave., Lakeland. 8 vols. 1933, Custody of secretary, Mrs. A. C. Wright, 1005 Dorothy St., Lakeland. Showing program studies, money raising projects. (TREASURER'S RECORD W.M.S.), 1933, 4 vols. Showing receipts and disbursements. Custody of treasurer, Mrs. T. N. Morrison, 829 Crestview Ave., Lakeland. (BAPTIST BROTHERHOOD RECORDS), 1927, 6 vols. Showing members, meetings, officers, reports.
Missionary Baptist of National Convention of the United States of America Inc. First Baptist Church Nov. 1914 - - African-American Corner Fourth Street and Lincoln Avenue, Lake Wales, Polk County Local church is sovereign and independent body. It is affiliated with the National Baptist Convention of America, Nashville, Tennessee; Progressive State Baptist Convention, Jacksonville, Florida; South Florida Progressive Glades Association, changes each year. Organized and held services for nearly a year in a blacksmith shop on Third Street and Lincoln Avenue, holding services in this arbor until 1919 when they moved into a small, rough building on the rear of lot where the church now stands. In 1922 they built the First Baptist Church, a small building, worshipping in this building until 1926 when the entire structure was changed and building enlarged, or church rebuilt as stated on the cornerstone. (Unable to get the date services were held in the blacksmith shop.) Present building erected in 1922, remodelled 1926, parsonage added 1936. Plain wooden structure with belfry on the north corner and belfry on the south corner, painted white, rectangular in form, gable roof. Has auditorium, pastor's study and choir room. The inscription on cornerstone at the left as you enter the auditorium reads, "First Baptist Church organized Nov. A.D. 1914, built 1922 by Rev. I. W. Washington. Rebuilt 1926 by Wm. Smith, D.D. This house dedicated to the worship of Almighty God." They have no bell or other special features. First settled pastor, I. W. Washington, 1920-1922; Prior to 1920 services were held once and sometimes twice monthly, earliest pastor, Rev. Davis, 1914, short time, organized the church. Present pastor, Wm. Smith, Oct 1938, He served as pastor from 1922 to 1935. Grammar school, and attended Cookman's Institute, Jacksonville, Fla. This school founded and supported by the Methodist Episcopal Church North, and all teachers were white except one. Principal Prof. Darnell, General Delivery, Lake Wales, Fla. This institution and Bethune merged and is known as Bethune-Cookman, Daytona Beach, Fla. The Cookman's Institute at Jacksonville was located on or near the corner of Beaver & Hogan Streets. "Ledger", 1932, 3 vols. Unable to locate any records prior to 1932. These give the membership roll divided into wards, each ward being under a deacon of the church; minutes of the meetings showing all business transacted by this church, election of deacons and other officials. These also show some receipts and expenditures, together with monthly and annual reports which include amount collected by the auxiliaries. Kept in home of P. J. Bryant, Clerk, 209 Dorsett Ave., and in fair condition. The membership roll only is carried in "Ledger". No other register could be located. No baptisms are shown in this record. "Journal", 1937, 2 vols. Show all receipts and disbursements. Kept in the home of Miss Juretha colvin, Financial Secretary, Corner Fourth Street and Washington Avenue, Lake Wales, Fla. and are in fair condition. No records prior to 1937 could be located. Sunday School, "Boyd's National Baptist Sunday School, Minute, Roll and Record Book" 1935-1936, and 1938, 2 vols. Records prior to 1935 and 1937 record could not be located. These show enrollment, officers, teachers, and scholars present, visitors present, collections and disbursement, balance in treasury. Kept in the home of Frankie Jacobs, Mill Quarters, Lake Wales, she being Sec'y-Treas., and are in fair condition. Woman's Home Missionary Society, "Journal", Nov. 1935, 2 vols. No records prior to this date could be located. Show reading and approval of minutes, dues collected, amount raised from social programs, amount paid out. Kept in the home of Ollie Bryant, Sec'y-Treas., Custodian, 209 Dorsett Avenue, Lake Wales, Fla. and are in fair condition. They have a B.Y.P.U., but not very active and no records kept. Information obtained from the following: Wm. Smith, Pastor; Wm. Smith, pastor and wife, (Mrs.) Wm. Smith; P. J. Bryant, Clerk; Juretha Colvin, Financial Secretary; Frankie Jacobs, Sunday School Secretary and Treasurer; Ollie Bryant, Secretary-Treasurer of Woman's Home Missionary Society. There were several ministers who preached at this church during the six years prior to 1920 but did not live in Lake Wales, I. W. Washington being the first pastor who actually lived in Lake Wales. Services held once and sometimes twice monthly. The church was active but they were not able to pay a pastor for full time. Rev. Wm. Smith stated that when he attended Cookman's Institute this Institute was located on the corner or right near the corner of Beaver and Hogan Streets, in Jacksonville, Florida. The Principal and all teachers except one, which was black, were white. Prof. Darnell was the Principal. This Institute merged with the Bethune Institute and is now known as the Bethune-Cookman Institute, Daytona Beach, Florida. P. J. Bryant, Clerk is also custodian; Juretha Colvin, Financial Secretary, is also custodian; Frankie Jacobs, Secretary-Treasurer, is also custodian; Ollie Bryant, Secretary-Treasurer, is also custodian.
Southern Baptist Convention First Baptist Church July 23, 1916 - - White Central Ave. and Fourth St., Lake Wales, Polk County. Constituted July 23, 1916. Services in Masonic Hall near Lake Wales State Bank Building until 1922, then in tent until present square, Colonial style, buff brick building, with art glass windows and pipe organ, erected 1923. Present membership, 584. Active organizations, Sunday School, Baptist Training Union, Woman's Missionary Union with 3 auxiliaries, Brotherhood. First settled pastor, Rev. H. G. Kenney, 1916-1918. Present pastor, Rev. J. L. Drake, 1939, Lake Wales; Mercer University, Macon, Ga.; Southern Baptist Theological Seminary, Louisville, Ky. CHURCH ROLL AND RECORD, 1916-23, 1 vol. MINUTE BOOK, 1924, 1 vol. Showing business done, reports, Custody of clerk, H. F. Steedly, Townsend Sash, Door and Lumber Co., Lake Wales. CHURCH RECORD (Membership Roll), 1916, 1 vol. Showing members, baptisms, deaths, Associational Letters, reports. Custody of clerk, H. F. Steedly, see supra. IMPROVED SIX POINT RECORD FOR S.S. 1938, 1 vol. Showing members, officers, teachers, collections, disbursements. Custody of secretary, Mrs. W. M. Tillman, Pinehurst, Lake Wales. (B.T.U. SECRETARY'S RECORD BOOK), 1936, 2 vols. Showing members, officers, minutes of meetings, collections, disbursements. Custody of secretary, Roy Mahaffy, 48 Phillips St., Lake Wales.
Southern Baptist Convention First Baptist Church 1896 - - White University Ave. and Wuthrich St., Mulberry, Polk County. Constituted 1896 from members of Willow Oak Baptist Church. Services in frame building, Canal and Church Sts., which was also used as school house until badly damaged by storm, 1934. Services then in Grammar School until present red, T shape, Gothic style, brick building, with 18 memorial windows, erected 1935. Present membership, 230. Active organizations, Sunday School, Baptist Training Union, Woman's Missionary Union with 2 auxiliaries. First settled pastor, Rev. W. M. McDonald, 1898-1902. Present pastor, Rev. S. E. McLaughlin, 1936, Box 131, Mulberry; Southern Baptist Theological Seminary, Louisville, Ky. See short sketch "First Baptist Church of Mulberry, and present pastor, Rev. S. E. McLaughlin," by MIss Helen Lane, Church Clerk, published in Florida Baptist Witness, Jacksonville, Fla. Nov. 30, 1939, Custody of Mrs. J. H. Sykes, Wauchula, Fla. CONVENTION CHURCH RECORD, 8 vols. viz: 1909-33, 5 vols.; 1937, 2 vols. (CHURCH RECORD), 1933-37, 1 vol. Showing minutes of church conferences, reports, membership roll, baptisms, deaths, receipts and disbursements. 6 vols. 1909-37, custody of ex-clerk, Henry M. Whidden, Mulberry. 2 vols. 1937, 1 vol. Showing receipts and disbursements, pledges, reports. Custody of treasurer, J. M. Moody, Pierce. (WOMAN'S MISSIONARY UNION RECORDS), 1928, 3 vols. Showing members, officers, reports, receipts and disbursements. Custody of secretary-treasurer, Mrs. A. B. Howard, Mulberry. (SUNDAY SCHOOL RECORD), May 1939, 1 vol. Showing members, teachers, officers, attendance, collections, reports, disbursements. Custody of secretary, Miss Catherine Woodall, Cummins St., Mulberry.
Southern Baptist Convention First Baptist Church of West Frostproof 1928 - - White Five miles from Frostproof on old Fort Meade Road, about 1/4 mile off this road on dirt road. Local church is sovereign and independent body, affiliated with Southern Baptist Convention, Nashville, Tennesee; Florida Baptist Convention, Jacksonville, Florida; Orange Blossom Association, changes annually. Organized in 1928 in a small frame building on the east side of railroad track, near the American Fruit Growers Packing House, holding services in this building until 1931 when it was destroyed by fire, then services were held in the West Frostproof school building on the west side of the railroad track; near the first mentioned building until the latter part of 1932, when this building was burned to the ground. Services were then held in homes in the community (unable to get dates and in whose homes services were held) until the present church was erected, in 1935, where they have held services regularly twice a month. Present building erected in 1935, dedicated May 12, 1935. A very small frame building, rectangular, with windows and frames painted, but remainder of building has not been painted. NOTE: This church was built by subscriptions and all indebtedness paid when the first service was held in the church, the members doing the carpenters' work. First settled pastor, Rev. C. Vickers, 1928-July 1937, Earliest known pastor, Rev. C. Vickers, 1928-July 1937; Present pastor, Rev. Julius Gilbreath, 1937, Completed Seventh Grade and took a correspondence course, General Delivery, Lake Wales, Florida. (Church Record), 1928-1936, 1 vol. This contains the minutes of the meetings showing all business transactions of the church, this also shows members received, how and when, dismissals/calling of pastors, report of all collections and expenditures. This gives a record of the building of the church, date of first service and dedication of the church record of date received in the Orange Blossom Association and the Association meetings. A certain portion of this (Church Record) is used as a Register and lists the members of the church. Register Book kept in Church Records. This record is in poor condition and the year of 1937 is missing and unable to locate it anywhere. Another Record, "Convention Church Record", 1938, 1 vol. This contains the minutes of the meetings and all business of the church as mentioned in (Church Record), but gives record of business transacted during 1938, and does not give anything about the organization, building of the church, date of first service and dedication of the church. Gives list of members taken in during 1938. This record is in good condition, and both record books are kept in the home of the Clerk, W. Q. Dawes, West Frostproof, Florida, No box number, rural route, name of street nor house number. Financial record is carried in (Church Record) and "Convention Church Record". Mrs. A. E. Drawdy is Treasurer, but Mr. W. Q. Dawes, son of Mrs. Drawdy, carried htis record in the (Church Record) and "Convention Church Record," making reports of all collections and expenditures. Mrs. Drawdy lives within three hundred feet of the church, her address being West Frostproof, Fla. NOTE INCLUDED: The First Baptist Church of West Frostproof. In the Seventh Annual Session held with Bowling Green Baptist Church, Orange Blossom Baptist Association, Mrs. A. E. Drawdy is mentioned as Treasurer and she stated that she kept the money. She is an old lady and she stated that she did nothing to the records but her son, Mr. Dawes, carries the record in the Clerk's (Church Record) and "Convention Church Record." he being the clerk. Sunday School, "Sunday School Roll and Minute Book", January 1938; 1 vol. Unable to locate any other records prior to 1938. This contains the enrollment, secretary's reports showing officers, teachers, and pupils present, collections and expenditures. This is in good condition and is kept in the home of Mrs. Annie Vickers, Secretary, who lives near the church, post office address West Frostproof, Florida. (no street address, house number, nor post office box number.) Information obtained from the following: Mrs. A. E. Drawdy, Church Treasurer; Mr. W. Q. Dawes, Clerk; Mrs. Annie Vickers, Sunday School Secretary; Rev. Julius Gilbreth, pastor (This information received by letter); While these two persons, mother and son, gave me some information, most of it was taken from the (Church Record) and "Convention Church Record", Mrs. A. E. Drawdy gave all the information, she being the mother-in-law of Rev. C. Vickers, Rev. Vickers passed on.
Independent Baptist Church of America Florence Villa Baptist Church 1930 - - White 2nd St., Florence Villa, Polk County Constituted 1930, sponsored by First Baptist Church, Winter Haven. Services in two different store buildings, then in school building until burned and present white, small, frame building erected, May 1938. First settled pastor, Rev. John R. Kirby, 1930-1939; Carson and Newman College, Jefferson City, Tenn. Present pastor, Rev. Harry W. Giles, May 1939, Florence Villa.; Bible School, Theological Seminary, Moody Institute, Chicago; Northern Baptist Seminary, Chicago, Ill. (CHURCH CLERK(S BOOK), 1930, One loose-leaf not book. Showing minutes of meetings, reports, membership roll, baptisms, deaths. Custody of clerk, Mrs. John R. Kirby, 749 Avenue E. Southwest, Winter Haven.
National Baptist Convention of the United States of America Inc. Galilee Baptist Church 1893 - - African-American 227 South Lanier Avenue, Fort Meade, Polk County Affiliated with the National Baptist Convention of America, Nashville, Tennessee; Progressive Baptist State Convention, Jacksonville, Florida; First South Florida Association, changes annually. They organized in a small log house located about one mile north-east of their present church building, holding services here until 1895 when they moved into their first church building, a small frame structure, located about one-half mile from their present church. This building was sold bu they continued holding services here until the completion of their present church building, the latter part of the year 1908. Present church erected in 1908 and dedicated 1909, remodelled in 1921 and a parsonage added in 1921. Wooden structure with high gable-roof, T-shaped, color natural finish of wood. Special features are the circle top stained windows, and a cornerstone on which is the following inscription: "Galilee Baptist Church, founded 1893, Rebuilt 1908 by Rev. Wm. Smith, Pastor Y. A. Roberts. First settled pastor, G. W. McClendon, 1894-1896; Earliest known pastor, G. W. Brown, 1893-Organizer, Very short time. Unable to get length of stay, but only a few weeks. Present pastor, G. Robinson, August 1928, completed 11th grade and attended Morehouse Baptist College, Atlanta, Georgia., 227 South Lanier Avenue, Fort Meade, Florida. CHURCH RECORDS: "Single Entry Ledger", Jan. 1932 to Sept. 1932, then meetings on dates as follows: Sept. 29 and Nov. 3, 1933; Jan. 5, Jun 29, Oct 4, 1934; May 31, 1935; Jan. 1 and Dec. 30, 1937, 1 vol., contains minutes of meetings of the conference, stating reports of deacon and trustee boards, Sunday School and B.Y.P.U. were read and adopted, but these reports are not shown. Kept in home of Clerk-Custodian, A. T. Jacobs, 528 So. Charleston Ave., Fort Meade, Fla., and condition is fair.(Unable to locate records prior to 1932 and for the years 1936, 1938 and 1939. No minutes for years as mentioned in "Single Entry Ledger" other than dates given could be located.) "ORDER BOOK", not dated, shows the membership roll, no baptisms, births, death, nor marriages are shown. No other register could be located, this being the pastor's records, and is kept in his study in the parsonage, he being owner and custodian. Condition is good. Pastor's name and address: G. Robinson, 227 South Lanier Avenue, Fort Meade, Florida. No financial Secretary's record could be located. Ben Simpson, 807 South Lanier Avenue, Fort Meade, Fla., Financial Secretary-Custodian, stated that he had lost his record book. (BOARD OF TRUSTEES SECRETARY'S RECORD), Jan. 1, 1938, 1 vol. shows collections and disbursements. Kept in the home of the Secretary-Custodian, N. W. Wilkes, 514 South Lanier Ave., Fort Meade, Fla., and is (this part missing). SUNDAY SCHOOL, "Boyd's National Baptist Sunday School Minute, Roll, and Record Book", 1921-1923, 1 vol., May 1931-1938, 6 vols., contains minutes of the Sunday School, showing attendance of officers, teachers, scholars, and visitors present, collections and expenditures. "Sunday School Minute and Record Book for Secretaries", 1930-Apr. 1931, 1 vol., contains attendance of officers, teachers, and scholars, visitors present, collections and disbursements. Kept in the church, the minister being custodian, and are in good condition. Rosa L. Johnson, 21 Third Street, Fort Meade, Fla., is Secretary. Unable to locate records prior to 1921 and for 1923-1929. B.Y.P.U., "B.Y.P.U. SECRETARY'S RECORD", 1931-1932, 1 vol., contains minutes of meetings giving reports of each class. (Secretary's Record), 1933, 5 vols., contains minutes of meetings giving reports of each class. Records are kept in the church, pastor being custodian, and are in good condition. The Secretary is Thelma Liston, 524 South Charleston Avenue, Fort Meade, Florida. Unable to locate any records prior to 1931. Woman's Missionary Society, not active, and no records could be located, and Poinsettia Circle. Not transferred to any central depository. The pastor stated that the different officials had been careless in keeping records and that some officials had moved away and taken the records with them. Information provided by the following: G. Robinson, pastor; Ben Simpson, Financial Secretary; A. T. Jacobs, Clerk; N. W. Wilkes, Secretary of Trustee Board; Mrs. G. Robinson, pastor's wife.
Southern Baptist Convention Griffin Baptist Church May 19, 1904 - - White Rural, Lakeland-Kathleen Road at Griffin, 3½ miles north of Lakeland, Polk County. Constituted May 19, 1904. Serves in brush arbor, ¾ miles north of present white, rectangular, frame building erected 1905, first services and dedication Oct. 22, 1905. Present membership, 65. Active organizations, Sunday School, Baptist Training Union. First settled pastor, Rev. R. T. Caddin, 1904-10. Present pastor, Rev. O. N. Rimes, 1931-1935, 1937, Route #2, Plant City. CHURCH ROLL AND RECORD, 1904-35, 3 vols.; 1936, 1 vol. Showing business done, reports, Associational Letters, membership roll, baptisms, deaths, receipts and disbursements. Custody of clerk, Lonnie Lampp, Route #2, Lakeland. (FINANCIAL RECORD), April 4, 1935, 3 vols. Showing receipts and disbursements. Custody of clerk, Lonnie Lampp, see supra. CONVENTION SUNDAY SCHOOL RECORD, Oct. 12, 1905-Nov. 14, 1931, 15 vols. Jan. 4, 1932, 1200 cards (loose). Showing members, officers, teachers, attendance, collections, reports, according to Six Point Record System. SECRETARY'S RECORD BOOK (B.Y.P.U.), Nov. 25, 1928-29; 1934; 1938, 5 vols. Showing members, officers, minutes of meetings, attendance, collections, reports, disbursements according to Eight Point Record System. Custody of secretaray, Miss Louise Bridges, Route # 2, Lakeland.
Southern Baptist Convention Homeland Baptist Church 1882 - - White Old Ft. Meade and Old Bartow Roads, Homeland, Polk County Constituted 1882. Services in small frame building in rural settlement, 4 miles southwest of Homeland until 1885, then in Methodist Church of Homeland until present white, rectangular, plain, frame building erected and dedicated, 1886, remodelled 1907, additions Sunday School rooms, 1920. Church was arm of First Baptist Church of Bartow, 1889 until 1893 when recognized. Lapsed 1906, reorganized 3rd Sunday, September 1907. Present membership, 154. Active organizations, Sunday School, Woman's Missionary Society. First settled pastor, Rev. Bostick, 1882-October 1884. Present pastor, Rev. W. R. Erwin, July 1938, 809 West North St., Lakeland. RECORD, Oct. 8, 1893-Mar. 15, 1931, 1 vol. March 29, 1931, 1 vol. Showing Church Covenant, minutes of meetings, reports, Associational letters, membership roll, baptisms, deaths, receiptis, disbursements. Custody of treasurer, G. C. Scanlin, General Delivery, Homeland; Vol. 2, custody of clerk, Hurbert Clark, 525 S. Carpenter Aven., Bartow. DOUBLE ENTRY LEDGER (Financial Record) Sept. 30, 1938, 1 vol. Showing receipts and disbursements. Custody of treasurer, G. C. Scanlin, see supra. SUNDAY SCHOOL MINUTE BOOK, Dec. 26, 1909-Feb. 11, 1912, 1 vol.; SUNDAY SCHOOL ROLL AND MINUTE BOOK, Sept. 5, 1915-Dec. 31, 1922; Dec. 28, 1924-Dec. 20, 1925, 8 vols. CONVENTION SUNDAY SCHOOL RECORD, Dec. 11, 1938, 1 vol. Showing enrollment, officers, teachers, collections, attendance, reports. STUDENT'S NOTE BOOK (Woman's Missionary Society), Dec. 20, 1935, 1 vol. Showing members, officers, minutes of meetings, receipts and disbursements. Custody of president, Mrs. Florence Crum, Route # 1, Bartow. SECRETARY'S RECORD BOOK FOR B.Y.P.U. Feb. 27, 1938-Dec. 11, 1938, 1 vol. Showing members, officers, attendance, collections, reports, according to Eight Point Record System.
National Baptist Convention of the United States of America Inc. Jerusalem Second Baptist Church July, 1928 - - African-American Mulberry, Polk County Constituted, July, 1928 with some members from First Baptist Church. Organized, and services in K. P. Hall, until Methodist Church, Tiger Bay, purchased, moved to present site, and rebuilt as an unpainted, rectangular, Mission-hall type, wooden, frame structure, with bell and dedicated, 1933. First settled pastor, Rev. H. F. Moutree, 1932-36, Common school education; Present pastor, Rev. J. R. Lee, 1940, Mulberry, Florida; common school education. "LEDGER", 1932-1935, 2 vols. "CHURCH REGISTRY", 1935, 1 vol. Records containing minutes of church conferences, showing business, reports read and adopted, elections, call of pastors, actions on membership, roll of members, baptisms, deaths, exculsive restorations, transfers, lapses, occasional financial statements, condition of vol 3. poor, custody, vol. 1 (1932-33) T. D. Baker, Ex-Clerk, Mulberry; 2 vols. (1934-) in church. (Note): The volume "Church Register" (1935-) originally was the register of the Tiger Bay Methodist Church whose house of worship was bought, moved and rebuilt by the above Baptist Church and the church register went with the property and was used by the Jerusalem Church as a general church record book) "ORDER BOOK" (Treasurer's Record) 1936- 1 vol. Showing receipts and disbursements, dates, sources and objects, statements, reports, custody, Jasper McKnight, clerk-treasurer, Mulberry; "SUNDAY SCHOOL MINUTE AND RECORD BOOK", 1938, 2 vols. Showing organization, members, attendance, offerings, activities, board-meetings, elections, delegates, reports.
Southern Baptist Convention Kathleen Baptist Church 1895 - - White 2nd St., Kathleen, Polk County. Constituted 1895, from members of Mt. Tabor. Services in old, frame school building until Sept. 14, 1895, then new church until burned, June 1913. Services then in pastorium until present white, rectangular, frame building, erected 1914, addition Sunday School room, 1920. Present membership, 148. Active organizations, Sunday School, Baptist Training Union, Woman's Missionary Union with 1 auxiliary. First settled pastor, Rev. A. A. Keith, 1896-1897. Present pastor, Rev. C. C. Hancock, June 1, 1937, Route #3, Box 386, Lakeland. (CHURCH RECORD), 1895-1901, 1 vol.; CONVENTION CHURCH RECORD, 1914, 4 vols. Showing minutes of church conferences, reports, membership roll, baptisms, deaths, receipts and disbursements. 1 Vol. 1895-1901, Custody of charter member, W. H. Green, Kathleen; 4 vols. 1914, Custody of clerk, J. P. Smith, Kathleen. (KATHLEEN BAPTIST SUNDAY SCHOOL RECORDS), Jan. 9, 1938, 1 File Box of c200 cards. Showing reports, members, attendance, baptisms, collections and disbursements. BUDGET COMPOSITION BOOK (WOMAN'S MISSIONARY UNION RECORDS), April 1939, 1 vol. Cloth. Showing members, officers, receipts and disbursements. Custody of secretary, Mrs. J. A. Bates, Kathleen. SECRETARY'S RECORD BOOK FOR B.Y.P.U. OR B.A.U. EIGHT POINT RECORD SYSTEM, Jan. 1, 1938, 2 vols. cloth (Senior); April 2, 1939, 1 vol. cloth (Junior). Showing members, officers, leaders, collections, disbursements.
African Methodist Episcopal Church African Methodist Episcopal Church 1910 - - African-American Mulberry, Polk County Constituted 1910. First services in a dwelling house in eastern Mulberry. Church organized by Rev. B. Berrian and in 1925 a building was erected near Seaboard Railroad; later torn down and rebuilt near present site. This building was used until 1939 when a lot was secured and present unpainted, Mission style, T shape, frame building erected with bell, and two cornerstones. Present membership. Active organization, Sunday School, Women's Missionary Society, Epworth League. First settled pastor, Rev. F. W. Kenlaugh, 1910-1912, Edward Waters College, Jacksonville. Present pastor, Rev. W. M. Douglas, March 1940, Mulberry; Edward Waters College, Jacksonville. (CHURCH RECORDS), Ledger, 1937-1939, 1 vol.; Title varies, Order Book, 1940, 1 vol. Showing minutes of meetings, membership roll, baptisms, deaths, reports, receipts, disbursements. Custody of recording steward, Nathaniel Hall, Mulberry. SUNDAY SCHOOL RECORD, August 1938, 1 vol. Showing pupils, officers, teachers, receipts, disbursements.
The Methodist Church Allen Temple Methodist 1916 - - White 3rd St., and Washington Ave., Lake Wales, Polk County. Constituted 1916, and services in small frame building, Lincoln Ave., and 1st. St., until first church erected 1918, services until present church, a square, 1½ story, red, brick building with belfry and bell, erected 1928. Present membership. Active organizations, Sunday School, Woman's Missionary Society, A.C.E. League. First settled pastor, W. L. Gaines, 1916-1919. Education Unknown. Present pastor, M. Peter Chappel, Feb. 1938, First St., Lake Wales, Florida. CHURCH MINUTES, Double Entry Ledger, (Secretary's Record), 1937, 2 vols. Showing baptisms, deaths, financial records, minutes of meetings, membership roll, reports, baptisms, deaths, financial records. Custody of secretary, Mabel Carroll, 11 second Str., Lake Wales. (SECRETARY'S RECORD OF BOARD OF TRUSTEES), 1926, 1 vol. Showing minutes of meetings, receipts, disbursements. Custody of secretary, Binkie Brown, 338 North Ave., Lake Wales. SUNDAY SCHOOL (Sunday School Records), 1916-1919, 1931-1933, 2 vols. Title varies, Complete Sunday School Record, 1937, 1 vol. Showing pupils, attendance, reports, collections, disbursements. 1 vol. 1937, custody of secretary-custodian, Ethel Iles, 339 Third St., Lake Wales. A.C.E. LEAGUE, Day Book, 1929-1933, 1935-1939, 5 vols. Showing minutes of meetings, membership roll, reports, collections, disbursements. Current records, custody of secretary, Willie Lee Griffin, 11 Second St., Lake Wales. WOMAN'S MISSIONARY SOCIETY, Double Entry Ledger, 1937, 1 vol. Showing membership roll, reports, disbursements. Custody of secretary, Rosa Brown, Frink Quarters, Lake Wales.
The Methodist Church Alturas Methodist Church 1921 - - White 3½ miles S. of #79, Alturas-Babson Park Rd., Alturas, Polk County Organized in 1921. This church is the outgrowth of a Sunday School organized in 1917, by Rev. Robert White. Services were held in school house 1921-24. The present two-story-basement church of cream stucco and concrete, with corner-stone, was erected in 1924, dedicated March 2nd, 1932. Present membership, 64. Acitve organizations: Sunday School, Epworth League, Woman's Missionary Society. First known pastor, Rev. Robert Whtie, about 6 months, 1921. First settled pastor, Rev. W. H. Herndon, 1922-24. Present pastor, Rev. W. O. McMullen, 1939, P.O. Box 52, Homeland, Fla., Young Harris College, Young Harris, Georgis. See historical sketch, "History of Alturas Methodist Church, 1915-1931," Mrs. George E. Wilson, written in 1932. Not in record book. Custody of Mrs. George A. Wilson, Church Historian, Alturas. "Quarterly Conference Records", 1922, 7 vols. Showing dates & places of conferences, officers, district superintendent, pastor, statistical reports, pastor's report. These vols., also carry the minutes of Homeland Methodist Church. January 1922-Feb. 39, 6 vols., custody of J. A. Touchton, Quarterly Conference Sec., Box 79, Homeland, Fla. June 16th, 1939, 1 vol., custody of Rev. W. O. McMullen, Pastor, Homeland. "Church Register," 1922, 1 vol. Showing register of pastors, with tenure; membership, how received or dismissed; marriages; infant baptisms giving names of child, parents, pastor; deaths. Custody of Jesse Wilson, former treas, Box 1436, Alturas. (Financial Records), 1931, 3 vols. Title varies: "Reynold's Church Treasurer's Book," 1931-34, 1 vol.; (Treasurer's Record), 1938-39, 1 vol.; "Journal", 1939, 1 vol. Showing the full financial record, A record of dedication of the church. 1931-34, 1 vol., custody of Jessee Wilson, former Treas., Alturas. 1938, 2 vols., custody of Mrs. John Patton, Church Treas., Alturas. Sunday School Records, 1932, 2 vols, Title varies: "Meyer's Paramount Sunday School Secretary's Record," Oct 2nd, 1932-Sept 24th, 1933, 1 vol., "The General Secretary-Treasurer's Book," 1939, 1 vol. Showing officers, teachers, pupils, attendance and financial records. Sunday School Treasurer's Records, 1933, 2 vols. Title varies: "O K Church School Treasurer's Record; 1933-35, July 1936-Sept. 1937, 1 vol. "S. E. Ledger," Oct. 1937, 1 vol. Showing financial record. Custody of Mr. G. T. Voigt, Sunday School Treas., Alturas. (Epworth League Secretary's Records), 1938, 1 vol. Showing minutes of meetings, officers, membership roll, financial record. Custody of Willard Dees, Sec., Alturas. (Woman's Missionary Society Recording Secretary's Record), 1936, 2 vols. Showing minutes of meetings, reports of circles. 1936-38, 1 vol. Custody of Mrs. I. J. Godwin, Alturas. 1939, 1 vol. Custody of Mrs. Ralph Rogers, Recording Sec., Alturas. "Auxiliary Corresponding Secretary and Superintendent's Record and Report Book," 1939, 1 vol. Showing quarterly reports to the District Secretary of the Woman's Missionary Society. Custody of Mrs. B. R. Register, W. M. S. Cor. Sec., Alturas. "Auxiliary Treasurer's Record and Report Book," 1933, 4 vols. Showing monthly, quarterly and annual financial reports. Custody of Mrs. W. N. Gadau, W.M.S. Treas., Alturas.
The Assemblies of God The Assembly of God 1937 - - White Bergen St., Mulberry, Florida Affiliated with Nat'l: General Council of the Assemblies of God, Springfield, Missouri; State: South Florida District-Tampa, Florida.; No smaller district organization. Mrs. W. E. Wood began a tent meeting in Mulberry on June 15, 1937 when church began its organization, all officers secured and everything working nicely by July 22, 1938, on which date it was "set in order". Two building lots were secured right away, a house of worship begun and church began to use it in August, 1937. Soon afterwards a third lot was bought, on which plans are now being made to erect a parsonage. There were 16 charter members and number has increased considerably since, clerk does not have a complete roll of membership. Mission style, frame wooden building, painted white, a rectangel in shape. No special features. Furnished with pews and a piano. Seating capacity about 200. First settled pastor, Mrs. W. E. Wood, 1937, Shield of Faith Bible Institute, Ft. Worth, Texas; Amarillo Business College, Amarillo, Texas.; Earliest known pastor, Mrs. W. E. Wood, organized in 1937, Shield of Faith Bible Institute, Ft. Worth, Texas; Amarillo Business College, Amarillo, Texas; Present pastor, Mrs. W. E. Wood, 1937, Box 622, Mulberry, Florida, Shield of Faith Bible Institute, Ft. Worth, Texas; Amarillo Business College, Amarillo, Texas. (Clerk's Records) and quarterly reports from (Treasurer's Records) are recorded at National headquarters in Springfield, Missouri. No records known to be missing. Application of Affiliation" dated July 27, 1938, located in home of Mrs. M. E. Wood, Minister. (Treasurer's Record) 1937 located in home of Mrs. W. E. Wood. Mrs. W. E. Wood, Church Clerk & Treasurer, Miss Laura Frances Moore, S. S. Secy., Mulberry, Florida. (Treasurer's Records) 1937, 1 vol. Date and place of each meeting and amount of collection, also disbursements shown. Does not contain membership roll. Located in home of Mrs. W. E. Wood, Minister, Church Clerk and Treasurer, Box 622, Mulberry, Fla. Condition of records good. Contains financial reports from Sunday School and oral financial statements from Christ's Ambassadors. No records kept prior to June 15, 1937. (Clerk's Records) 1937, 1 bundle, Contains rolls of members and how received, by baptism or letter, with dates. Names of officers and dates of election or appointment. Deeds to property purchased or donated. "Application for Affiliation" sent when local church joined or was accepted into the General Council of the Assemblies of God, headquarters located in Springfield, Missour. Constitution and Articles of Faith. Also contains withdrawals of members with dates. Located in home of Mrs. W. E. Wood, Minister and Church Clerk, Box 622, Mulberry, Florida. Condition of records good. No relation to other records. No records earlier than June 1937. No minutes have been written at any time. "Sunday School Records" July 1937, 3 vols. Lists of officers, teachers and scholars; attendance, amounts of collections and disbursements. Copies of financial reports. Located in The Assembly of God Church, Bergen St., Mulberry, Florida. Condition of records good. Financial reports given in (Treasurer's Records) 1937, 1 vol.; located in home of Mrs. W. E. Wood, Minister & Church Treasurer, Box 622, Mulberry, Florida. No records kept prior to organization of Sunday School July 29, 1937.
Presbyterian Church of the United States Associate Reformed Presbyterian Church Jan. 12, 1890 - - White Stanford St., and Central Ave., Bartow, Polk County. Constituted Jan. 12, 1890, and services in old Marquis Theatre, Main St. between Jackson and Wilson Aves., until 1892, then square, frame church, present site, razed 1925, then City School Auditorium, S. Florida Ave. and Stanford St., until present church, a red, rectangular Gothic, 2 story, brick building, with large auditorium, 3 class rooms, and pastors study on main floor, balcony, 3 sides, 4 class rooms, 2nd floor, 10 class rooms and assembly room, basement, 8 art glass windows extending through 2nd story, and pipe organ, erected 1925-26, dedicated June 20, 1926. First settled pastor, Rev. Mark B. Grier, May, 1890-Sept. 1890, Erakine College, Due West, South Carolina; Princeton Theological Seminary, Princeton, New Jersey. Present pastor, Dr. J. L. Oates, Jan. 22, 1928, 510 Central Ave., Bartow, Florida, Erskine College and Erskine Theological Seminary, Due West, South Carolina. See, "History of the Associated Reform Presbyterian Church of Bartow", by Dr. J. L. Oates, published by Associate Reformed Presbyterian Publishing Company, Due West, South Carolina, 1938, custody of publisher. (SESSIONAL RECORD), 1890, 2 vols. Showing church organization, including name of church, date organized, earliest known pastor, first settled pastor, election of elders and deacons; minutes of the session; membership roll, showing whether death, exclusion or transfer; call of pastors, election of officers and dates thereof. Custody, assistant church clerk, W. H. Stuart, 1010 South Broadway, Bartow. MODERN COMPLETE CHURCH TREASURER'S RECORD, 1932, 3 vols. Showing receipts, custody, church treasurer, W. L. Hunter, 450 South Broadway, Bartow. (CHECK STUBS), 1932, 1 file, Showing disbursements by check. Custody, church treasurer, W. F. Hunter, 450 South Broadway, Bartow. (GENERAL SECRETARY'S RECORD OF SABBATH SCHOOL), 1927, Showing attendance and collections by class, total collections and attendance. RECORD, 1915, 3 vols. Showing membership, attendance, and minutes of Woman's Missionary Society. Custody, Woman's Missionary Society secretary, Mrs. J. L. Oates, 510 South Central Avenue, Bartow. (FINANCIAL RECORD OF WOMAN'S MISSIONARY SOCIETY), 1923, 1 vol. Showing receipts and disbursements, Custody, Woman's Missionary Society, Mrs. Werner Jones, 1375 First Avenue, Bartow. (SECRETARY'S RECORD OF YOUNG PEOPLE'S CHRISTIAN UNION), 1940, 1 vol. Showing minutes, attendance, leaders, receipts and disbursements, Custody, Young People's Christian Union secretary, Abiah Church, R.F.D. 1, Box 362, Bartow. (SECRETARY'S RECORD OF JUNIOR CHRISTIAN UNION), 1939, 1 vol. Showing membership roll and attendance, Custody, Junior Christian Union secretary, Edward Stuart, 1010 South Broadway, Bartow.
Associate Reformed Presbyterian Church Associate Reformed Presbyterian Church 1914 - - White Corner Polk Avenue, East and Third Street, North, Lake Wales, Polk County No National Governing Body and not affiliated with any, not even with the Federal Council of the Churches of Christ in America. They have a General Synod of the Associate Reformed Presbyterian Church of the South, no headquarters, meets annually. Due West, South Carolina is the seat of their colleges. The address of the Moderator, Dr. E. N. Orr, is Charlotte, North Carolina. Presbytery takes in southern part South Carolina, all Georgia and Florida, semi-annually. Organized 2nd Sunday, June 1914. Organized and held services in a small frame building located on the ground where the present church is located until May 26, 1935, when they moved into the dining room of the Walesbilt Hotel. They held services here until they moved into their present church, December 7, 1935. Present building erected in 1935 and dedicated March 29, 1936. Gothic architecture, building is in the form of a cross, red brick with imitation stone trim. Fully equipped kitchen and social room in basement, large auditorium, twelve Sunday School rooms, pastor's study, art glass, eight memorial pews, New Electrical Hammond Organ. First settled pastor, Rev. S. A. Tinkler, July 1920-Dec 1933, A. B. Degree, Erskine College, T.H.B. Degree Erskine Seminary, Due West, South Carolina; Earliest known pastor, Rev. N. E. Smith, June 1914-July 1920, Rev. N. E. Smith was the first clergyman that ever preached in Lake Wales. A.B. Degree Erskine College, T.H.B. Degree Erskine Seminary, Due West, South Carolina. Present pastor, Rev. R. T. Nelson, Jan. 1934, A.B. Degree Erskine College, Due West, South Carolina, and T.H.M. Degree Princeton Seminary, Princeton, New Jersey; 339 Central Avenue, Lake Wales, Florida. "History of the Church" written by Rev. N. E. Smith and Rev. R. T. Nelson, period covered 2nd Sunday in June, 1914 to date; date written not shown, written and pasted in front of the first of two (Sessional Record) Books, and is kept in the pastor's study in the church. UNPUBLISHED "History of the Woman's Missionary Society of the Lake Wales Associate Reformed Presebyterian Church", written by Mrs. E. D. Ellis, 515 Sessoms Avenue, period covered January 1917 to Feb. 1939. The history of each year's work is written near the close of the fiscal year of the organization, which is March 31st. Part of the month of February and all of March, 1939 will be added to the history at close of fiscal year. Each year's history is located in the home of the author, Mrs. E. D. Ellis, 515 Sessoms Ave., in the (Secretary's Record), 1927-1932. Not written in any Record Book but money has been contributed for the ?. (Session Record) 2 books, ("Minutes of the Session of the Associate Reformed Presbyterian Church, Lake Wales", ) 1 book, 1914, 3 vols. Show election of Elders and other officials, the reception of members showing how and when received, dismissions, business pertaining to the work of the church, baptisms of infants, of members of the church, calling and dismissal of pastors, deaths, Treasurer's quarterly reports for the past two years. Show (Deacons Record) 1937, Kept in pastor's study and are in good condition. D. H. Alexander, c/o Lake Wales State Bank, Lake Wales, Fla. is Clerk. The membership roll showing how and when received, baptism of infants, deaths, and dismissals are shown in (Sessional Record) and "Minutes of the Session of the Associate Reformed Presbyterian Church, Lake Wales". "Duplex Alphabetical Church Treasurer's Record", 1938 1 vol. Unable to locate records prior to 1938. Contains all receipts and disbursements, individual account of pledges and collections of these accounts, monthly and annual reports to the deacons, semi-annual reports to the congregation. Kept in the office of the Treasurer, W. F. Boyte, Moffett Motor Company, Scenic Highway, Lake Wales, Fla., and is in good condition. (Deacon's Record) June 1937, 1 vol. (This record is kept in the unused portion of the older (Sessional Record), which is now being used by the Deacons, and no records of Deacons were kept prior to June 1937. This shows the meetings of the deacons, with the Treasurer's report incorporated, and deals with the business of the church. Kept in pastor's study in the church. Mr. Walter Cook is Secretary of Deacons and record in good condition. Mr. Cook has no permanent address. WOMAN'S MISSIONARY SOCIETY, (Secretary's Record) 1927-1932, 1938, 2 vols. Unable to locate records prior to 1927 and for 1933 to 1935 inclusive. Show the History of the Missionary Society, the entire work done by this organization, membership roll, attendance, business and inspirational meetings, programs which are designed to instruct and interest the members in the missionary activities, both at home and abroad, two fields of foreign missions, Mexico and India; record programs given for White Cross on mission fields which takes place of Red Cross; show record at stewardship and tithes, literature and christian education, temperance and thank offerings, donations to home missions; semi-annual report to Presbyterial on activities of each department. Current record 1936, 1 vol. kept in home of Secretary, Mrs. W. J. Smith, Highland Park, Lake Wales, Fla., and record 1927-1932 in home of Mrs. E. D. Ellis, 515 Sessoms Ave., Lake Wales, and all records are in good condition. (WOMAN'S MISSIONARY SOCIETY, "Journal" 1934- 1 vol. Unable to locate records prior to 1934. Shows all receipts and disbursements, annual reports to the Presbyterial of the Synodical Missionary Union of the Associate Reformed Presbyterian Church. Kept inthe home of Mrs. Wilton Futch, 212 Ninth Street, Lake Wales, Fla., and are in good condition. Sunday School, No permanent records kept. Christian Endeavor, No permanent records kept. Memorandum records are made of the Sunday School and Christian Endeaveor but are destroyed as soon as reports are made to the Presbytery. They are not particular about keeping permanent records as these are published in Synod Year Book. Only record they are particular about keeping is the Sessional Records. Records when completed can be sent to Montreat, North Carolina where they have fireproof vaults for the storage of all records relating to the Presbyterian faith. It is talked, and it is hoped that a library will be built on the ground of the Erskine College, Due West, S.C. in the near future, after which all records of the Associate Reformed Presbyterian Churches will be stored there. Information obtained from: R. T. Nelson, Pastor; Mrs. E. D. Ellis, Church Historian, Mrs. W. J. Smith, Sec'y WMS; Mrs. Wilton Futch, Treas. WMS; W. F. Boyte, Treasurer.
Non-Denominational Babson Park Community Church 1932 - - White Highway No. 8, ¼ miles south of Babson Park. Independent. In the Record is the following: "This church is amendable to no other church body, but recognizes the value of fellowship and cooperation so far as possible with other Christian Churches, and gladly works with them. Ministers maybe selected from any recognized denomination. When joining this church it is not necessary for the applicant to sever his relation to another church unless he so desires. Organized 1932, incorporated Feb. 25, 1932. This congregation has held services in this church from date of organization. During summer church services are discontinued. During the winter services are conducted by ministers from the north, no one pastor serving the entire season. In other words they employ a pastor for the length of time he can serve. Building erected 1921 but did not become Community Church property till 1932. Clinic and Welfare room added 1937. White stucco, rectangular in form, almost covered with vines. It has an addition on the west end, given by Mr. Rogers W. Babson, for the purpose of holding health clinics, and is the headquarters for the Community Welfare Work. First settled pastor, A. Craig Bowdish, 1932-July 1935; Earliest known pastor, A. Craig Bowdish, 1932-July 1935; Present Pastor, Rev. Dan F. Bradley, March 19, 1939-May 7, 1939, All are educated minister but no one could give me the name of colleges they attended. Cleveland, Ohio. (Trustees and Congregational Record), 1932, 1 vol., contains minutes of the meetings of Board and Congregation, Constitution and By-Laws of Babson Park Community Church, election of trustees, deacons, deaconesses, and other church officials, transfer of property of First Presbyterian Church of U.S.A. of Crooked Lake, Florida to Babson Park Community Church, membership roll, baptisms, deaths, calling of pastors. Contains reports of Church Treasurer, Financial Secretary, Treasurer of Woman' Auxiliary which includes report of Welfare Worker. Kept in office of Walton R. Brewster, Clerk-Financial Sec'y-Custodian, Webber College Office. (Trustees and Congregational Record) shows membership roll, baptism and deaths. A separate register is not used. (Treasurer's Record), 1934, 4 vols., (Check Books), shows receipts and disbursements. Record for 1938 is kept in the home of the Treasurer-Custodian, Edward S. Byron, R.R. #1, Babson Park, Florida, and record 1934-1937 are kept in the office of the Clerk-Custodian, Walton R. Brewster, Webber College Office, State Road #8, Babson Park, Florida, and all records are in good condition. (Unable to locate records prior to 1934) SUNDAY SCHOOL, "Meyer's Paramount Sunday School Secretary's Record" February 1934-July 1935, 2 vols., show class report of attendance, offerings, new scholars, visitors, weather condition, and summary of attendance and offering. Kept in the home of Mrs. Edith Miller, Custodian, Box 64, Babson Park, Fla., and are in good condition. No records prior to February 1934 could be located, and there are no records since 1935. The Sunday School has been inactive at different times, and discontinued in 1935, pupils attending Sunday School in Frostproof and Lake Wales, the church confining its activities to more Community and Social Welfare Work. WOMAN'S AUXILIARY, "Tower Loose Leaf Note Book", February 1938, 1 vol., contains the membership roll and dues paid, receipts and disbursements, annual reports which include reports of the Welfare Worker. In this record are the minutes of the meetings of the Welfare Committee, meetings being held annually or on call. Kept in the home of the Auxiliary's Treasurer, who is also custodian, Mrs. Edith Miller, Box 64, Babson Park, Florida, and is in good condition. Unable to locate records prior to February 1938. Most of the records are kept in the office of the Clerk, Walton R. Brewster, Webber College Office, State Highway No. 8, Babson Park, Florida. Information obtained from Edward S. Byron, Treasurer; Walton R. Brewster, Clerk-Financial Secretary; Mrs. Edith Miller, Secretary*Treasurer Woman's Auxiliary. WOMAN'S AUXILIARY, "Record" February 1932, 1 vol., contains membership roll and attendance, minutes of the meetings showing all business of the Auxiliary, religious programs, donations to home and foreign missions showing amount sent annually to the following: Florence Crittenden Home, St. Petersburg, Fla.; Leper Colony, Carrsville, La.; Rose Keller Home, Lakeland; Federated Council of Churches of Christ in America; schools in India and China; and to the Kate Ford Whitman Memorial Hospital, Fenchow, China until the recent war made it impossible for such donations to get through. It especially shows the good work done by the Auxiliary for the needy in the community. This "Record" contains minutes of the Woman's Auxiliary of the First Presbyterian Church of the U.S.A. of Crooked Lake, Oct. 1929 to Jun. 1932 (the post office Crooked Lake changing to Babson Park in 1928) showing Constitution and By-Laws with Amendments as of October 11, 1928. It also shows that the church turns over to the Auxiliary certain funds to be used for the welfare work of the community among the white and colored people, a Welfare Worker being employed by the Auxiliary the entire year for this work, with headquarters at the clinic room at the church. Kept in the home of the Secretary-Custodian, Mrs. Edith Miller, Box 64, Babson Park, Florida, and is in good condition.
Disciples of Christ Christian Church 1915 Defunct. About 1925 White In K. P. Hall, Mulberry, Florida Affiliated with Nat'l: International Convention of Disciples of Christ, Indianapolis, Ind.; State: Florida Missionary Society, Jacksonville, Florida; District: None; Organized about 1915. All meetings said to have been held in K. P. Hall in Mulberry. This church said to be active for a number of years until work at phosphate mines near Mulberry slowed down more and more following World War. After Majority of members moved to other localities, meetings were discontinued. No church was built. K.P. Hall is a two-story plain building of concrete blocks, grey in color, a rectangle in shape. First settled pastor, Rev. R. L. Blaney, 1915-unknown, High School; Earliest known pastor, Rev. R. L. Blaney, 1915-unknown, High School; Another pastor, Rev. Larow, unknown, High School.
Church of Christ, Scientist Christian Science Society Mar. 24, 1937 - - White Mezzanine Floor, Walesbilt Hotel, Lake Wales Affiliates, The First Church of Christ, Scientist, Boston, Massachusetts. Prior to 1937 a small group, sometimes as few as two and three, met and worshipped as far back as 1924 as shown by correspondence and receipted bills. They met in different homes, and at times during the tourist season, if enough Christian Scientists located in Lake Wales, they rented a room in town where they held services. During one winter they met in the Seminole Hotel, and another they met in the Walesbilt Hotel. (Unable to get the dates, neither could I get other buildings in which they met) The membership of this Society is ten or eleven. Prior to organization, in 1937, four of these members met with the Avon Park group. This Society or any other Christian Science Society could not organize as a Christian Science Society until they could have the number of members and all offices filled as required by the Mother Church, The First Church of Christ Scientist, Boston, Massachusetts. They have no church building of their own. Unable to get date hotel erected. Services were held in this hotel before they were organized, March 24, 1937. After organized, Miss Mary Cody was First Reader, 1937, after organized, Mrs. Frank Cody was Second Reader, 1937-Feb. 1938, (1st) High School and 3 yrs. College of Education, Evanston, Ill. (2nd) Grammar School) Present pastor, E. H. Favor, (1st Reader) Box 832, Lake Wales, Florida, (2nd Reader) Miss Mary Cody, Babson Park, Fla. High School and A.B.Degree University of Missouri, Columbia, Missouri. (Clerk's Record), March 1937, 2 vols. Contains minutes of the meetings showing election of Board Members, Readers, Clerk of Board, Treasurer, substitute Readers, pianist, and Sunday School teachers, and length of term for which elected. These do not show the date of organization but do show when it changed from Christian Science Group to Christian Science Society, but this is shown in the Church Register. Show approval of bill and all reports of Treasurer and Clerk. Kept in the home of Mrs. Helen Bennett, Babson Park, Fla., and in good condition. (Church Register), March 1937, 1 vol. Lists all members and their addresses, the charter members first and date admitted, shows members of The Mother Church and date of admittance, name of those having had class instructions. Kept in the home of the Clerk, Mrs. Helen Bennett, Babson Park, Fla., and is in good condition. (Treasurer's Record), 1937, 2 vols. Show all receipts and disbursements. Treasurer has two file boxes in which are all correspondence and monthly and annual reports. These reports are not shown on the record book (Treasurer's Record) but are made from the (Treasurer's Record). Kept in the home of the Treasurer, J. G. Snider, 138½ Park Avenue, Lake Wales, Fla., and are in good condition. The Sunday School fund is also shown in the (Treasurer's Record) (Treasurer's Correspondence & Receipted bills 1924-1937, 1 file box, contains all correspondence and receipts covering this period. Kept in home J. G. Snider, Treas-Custodian, 138½ Park Avenue, Lake Wales; "Weekly Time Book", marked as "Weekly Time Book", but Treasurer stated it was really a (Monthly Time Book), 1937, 1 vol. Shows amount paid and date paid to Readers and all other paid officials. Kept in the home of the Treasurer, J. G. Snider, 138½ Park Avenue, Lake Wales, Florida, and is in good condition. Sunday School, they have no secretary of the Sunday School, They do have a Treasurer of the Sunday School, just elected February 8th, and the funds of the Sunday School will be carried in a separate record in the future instead of being carried in the (Treasurer's Record) of the church. They only have a memorandum of this fund at the present time. All records kept by officials in office. Information obtained from Mrs. Helen Bennett, Clerk of Board; Mr. J. G. Snider, Treasurer; Miss Mary Cody, First Reader; Mrs. Frank Cody, Second Reader; E. H. Favor, Present Second Reader.
Prostestant Episcopal Church Christ's Church 1887 - - White Corner Broadway and North Cleveland Street, Fort Meade, Polk County. Affiliated with The Protestant Episcopal Church in the United States of America, (National Council), 281 Fourth Avenue, New York, N. Y.; Diocese of South Florida, 120 North Main Street, Orlando, Florida. Organized as a mission the latter part of 1887, This church was inactive for a year prior to Easter Sunday, 1939, also around 1922 or 1923. This church is still a mission, sponsored by the Diocese of South Florida. The first service, September 26, 1886, was held in the home of Mr. A. J. Bullock, located in what was known as old Fort Meade, now Broadway. The evening service of the same day was held in the old Methodist Church located in Old Fort Meade as was service of Dec. 22, 1886. Rev. C. S. Williams conducting these services. The next three services, in March, June, and August 1887, were held in the old school house, old Fort Mead, but now Broadway and Church Ave., they then organized, renting the old Methodist Church and holding services here until the present church was erected. By appointment of Biship Weed, Rev. Geo. S. Fitzhugh was given charge of this Mission. Presernt building erected 1882, dedicated 1891, first service 1889, Concrete steps added 1934, new roof, 1938, parsonage erected but sold and moved away. English architecture with belfry on south side, material wood, painted grey but is faded, or is badly worn, T-shape. Windows of leaden lights, oval at top, bell, altar service, lectern and baptism font. First settled minister, Rev. J. N. Lee, Jan. 1890-Dec. 1890; Prior to organization, G. S. Williams, 1885, after organization, Rev. Geo. S. Fitzhugh, latter part 1887; Present minister, Rev. Russell Carleton, Easter Sunday 1939-, New England Theological Seminary, Boston, Massachusetts, Episcopal Parsonagae, Bartow, Florida. "History of Christ's Church, Fort Meade, Florida",written by Rev. J. E. Lee, period covered September 26, 1886-April 1891, written April 15, 1891, located in vestry. This history is written in the front of "Parish Register". "Parish Register", 1890-1922, 1 vol., gives families, baptisms, births, confirmations, communicants, deaths, marriages, offerings, and burials. In this "Parish Register" is the "History of Christ's Church of Fort Meade, Florida", period covered Sept. 26, 1886-April 1891. (No other records prior to 1890 and after 1922 could be located. Since the clergyman of this church usually serve the Bartow church, Mrs. Charles Speight, Church Treasurer, thinks that records since 1922 have been entered by the clergymen in "Holy Trinity Parish Register", Bartow, Florida) "Parish Register" is kept in the vestry, and condition is good. Miss Margaret Scull, 330 East Broadway, Fort Meade, Florida is custodian. "Ledger, January 1934, 1 vol., contains receipts and disbursements. Kept in the home of the Treasurer-Custodian, Mrs. Charles Speight, 513 Third Street, North, Fort Meade, Florida, and is in good condition. (No records prior to 1934 could be located). CHURCH SCHOOL. "Meyer's Paramount Sunday School Secretary's Record", August 1926-May 15, 1927, 1 vol., shows class reports, attendance, offerings, visitors and new scholars', and summary of attendance, offerings. Kept in the vestry of the church, and is in good condition. They have had no Church School since May 15, 1927, and no records prior to August 1936 could be located. Miss Margaret Scull, 330 East Broadway, Fort Meade, Florida is custodian. CHURCH SCHOOL, "Meyer's Sunday School Treasurer's Record", January 1927-May 1927, 1 vol., shows receipts and disbursements. In this record is a memorandum as follows: "School closed third Sunday in May". Kept in the vestry, and is in good condition. (No records prior to January 1927 and after May 1927 could be located) They had no Church School since May 15, 1927. The custodian is Miss Margaret Scull, 330 East Broadway, Fort Meade, Florida. The "History of Christ's Church, Fort Meade, Florida" shows a Willing Worker's Band was organized shortly after the church organized. This later became the Guild and still later was known as the Auxiliary. No records of any of these organizations could be located. Records are not transferred to a central depository. Information provided by Mrs. Alicia Emily Flood, oldest surviving member; Mrs. Charles Speight, Treasurer; Miss Margaret Scull, early member; C.G.C. Wright, early member; Rev. Russell Carleton.
Churches of Christ Church of Christ 1908 - - White Corner Bay Avenue and Third Street, Eagle Lake, Polk County Organized in 1908, this church has been active from beginning but have not always had a minister. Services were held in the old school building located about 4 blocks west of Highway #17, on the Lake (Eagle Lake) until they moved to their church, in 1913. Regular preaching services are held on the second Sunday only (morning and evening) of each month. Rev. M. H. Northcross spent many winters (6 months of the year) in Florida before moving here, preaching for this congregation while here. Rev. H. C. Shoulders gave information regarding education to Mrs. Cynthia Northcross who passed it on to me. This congregation and no congregation of the Churches of Christ do not give the title "Reverend" to their ministers. The title given to their ministers is "Brother". No one is Reverend to them but the Divine. Building erected in 1913, remodelled in 1935. Plain wooden building, rectangular in form, painted white. First settled minister, Rev. M. H. Northcross, Fall 1908-Spring 1919; Earliest known minister, Rev. M. H. Northcross, Fall 1908-Spring 1919; Present minister, Rev. H. C. Shoulders, Spring 1939-, General Delivery, Largo, Florida, David Lipscomb College, (then known as Nashville Bible School) Nashville, Tennessee.
Church of Christ Church of Christ 1931 - - White Mulberry Road, Mulberry, Florida. (Located in eastern part of Mulberry on N. side Bartow-Mulberry Road) No National, State or District organization affiliated. In September 1931, Eld. B. B. conley began a tent meeting in Mulberry which resulted in the organization of the Church of Christ on September 6, 1931 with 25 charter members. Meetings were held in City Hall 1931-38, when present house of worship was bought from Baptists in eastern Mulberry. This church holds communion and Sunday School each Sunday, but does not keep a regular pastor. Building erected 1926-1927, dedicated Dec. 1938, bungalow style, frame wooden building, painted white, a rectangle in shape. No special features. Fitted with chairs, has no piano. Seating capacity about 200. Has name painted in form of an arch over front door. First settled Minister, Elder B. B. Conley, Sept.-Dec. 1931, Freed-Hardman College, Henderson, Tennessee; Earliest known minister, Eld. B. B. Conley, organized in 1931, Freed-Hardman College, Henderson, Tennessee; Present minister, Eld. A. G. Hobbs, began a revival about last of April, 1940. Mulberry, Florida, Abilene Christian College, Abilene, Texas. Sunday School, does not keep records. No central depository for records. None known to be missing. Information obtained from Mr. W. T. Heirs, Church Clerk & Treasurer; Mr. J. Hilliard, charter member, Mulberry, Fla.; Mrs. W. T. Hiers, wife of Clerk, Pierce, Fla.; Rev. C. C. Evans, former Pastor Eastside Baptist Church, Mulberry, Fla. (Church Records) Sept. 1931, 2 vols. Dates of meetings and by whom conducted. Rolls of members with date of baptism, also names and dates of withdrawals. Receipts and disbursements.
Church of God Church of God 1932 - - White 1130 East Bay Street, Bartow, Polk County Constituted 1932. Services were held for about three months after organization in a tent, six blocks northwest of present church; used a small building near the tent, 1932-35, until the present church, a rectangular, white, frame building was erected, 1934, used first Sunday in 1935, dedicated 1937, parsonage erected 1939. Present membership. Active organizations: Sunday School, Young Peoples' Endeavor, and Willing Workers. First settled pastor. C. H. Shaw, Oct.-Sept. 1932. Present pastor, John William Allen, 1937, 1130 East Bay Street, Church of God Bible School, Wimauma. (Church Records), 1932, 3 vols. Contain minutes of quarterly conferences, showing proceedings and usual church business-reports, action on membership and the pastorate, elections of officers and delegates, motions, resolution-a register of members, deaths, transfers, exclusions, restorations, also financial records, receipts, disbursements, statements, shows also the name of the church and the organizing pastor. Custody, E. H. Eowles, clerk-treas, Rural Route 1, Box 420-D, Bartow, (Sunday School Records), 1932-34, April 1935, 6 vols. Show organization, membership, attendance, exercises, studies, programs, offerings, activities, board-meetings, elections, reports, custody Mrs. Idena Blackburn, Scy., 855 Vine St., Bartow. (Records of the Young People's Endeavor) 1935, 2 vols. Show organization, members, exercises, programs, studies, activities, minutes, finances, elections, reports. Custody, Mrs. Idena Blackburn, see supra. (Records of the Willing Workers) 1936, 1 vol. Shows organization, members, objectives, business, activities (make and sell garments, etc.), money raised for church and parsonage aid. Custody, Mrs. John W. Allen (Pastor's wife), 1130 East Gay St., Bartow.
Church of God Church of God 1898 - - White 301 South Perry Avenue, next to number 207, Fort Meade, Polk County Affiliates are General Ministerial Assembly, Anderson, Indiana; State Ministerial Assembly, Orlando, Florida; No district meetings. In 1898 the reformation of the Church of God was first brought in the State near Fort Meade, about four and one-half miles north-east of town, known as Pool Branch, holding services in what was then known as the McAuley School Building. About two months later this church was organized holding services in this same building until the erection of a frame church building in the same neighborhood, the latter part of 1898, when they moved into this building. The latter part of 1899 they established a camp ground in this vicinity, on which a tabernacle was erected. They then held their services here, as well as their annual State Camp Meetings of the Church of God until about 1906 when they moved in church erected near the present church building. Services were held here until their present church was completed in 1925, the old church having been moved on the rear of lot while this church.....Present building erected and dedicated 1925. First service before completion 1924. Parsonage bought & moved on church property in 1917 & remodelled 1925. It is of red brick, one story and basement. The first floor consists of large auditorium and the basement is divided into six class rooms. It is rectangular in form. To the left of the front entrance to the church is cornerstone with inscription as follows: "A.D. 33-1924 Church of God". First settled pastor, W. O. Williams, 1900-1906; Earliest known pastor, A. J. Polson, Feb. 1898-July 1898; Present pastor, W. D. Collins, 1934-, 303 South Perry Avenue, Fort Meade, Florida, High School. (Secretary's Record), 1915-1938, except the year 1916, then 1933, 1 vol., (records for the years 1916 and 1929-1932 are missing. It was thought no meetings were held these years as meetings were held only when necessary. Records prior to 1915 were destroyed by fire. This contains minutes of the business meetings of the church and of the Trustees, showing election of officials. In the front of the Record book is the Constitution and Bylaws. Kept in home of Secretary-Custodian, W. T. Hurst, R.R. #2, Bartow, Florida, and condition is good. No register of membership is kept. They baptize but keep no records of baptisms. In other words, persons living according to the bible are recognized as members of the Church of God. "Ledger", 1914-1917, 1920, 1931, 1 vol., contains receipts and disbursements. "Unified Church Treasurer's Loose Leaf Record", 1924-1926, 1 vol., contain receipts and disbursements, and accounts of regular contributors. (Records prior to 1914, for years, 1918, 1919, 1921-1923, 1927-1930 could not be located). Kept in home of the Treasurer-Custodian, B. F. Woodard, 408 South Orange Avenue, Fort Meade, Florida, and condition is good. SUNDAY SCHOOL, "Meigs International Sunday School Record', 1927, 1929, 1931, 1939, 4 vols., contain minutes of the Sunday School, attendance and collection of each class, total attendance and collections, birthday offerings, election of officers and teachers, cash account showing receipts and disbursements. Kept in church, minister is custodian, and Secretary is Henry Adams, R.R. #2, Fort Meade, Fla., and condition is good. (Records prior to 1927, for years 1928, 1930, 1932-1938, could not be located) YOUNG PEOPLES' SOCIETY, "Samson Composition Book", 1937, 1 vols, shows enrollment, attendance, collections and expenditures. Kept in home of the Secretary-Custodian, Ava Martin, R.R.#1, Fort Meade, Fla. Condition good. No records prior to 1937 could be located. Ava Martin is also Treasurer. MISSIONARY SEWING CIRCLE, "Lucky Star Composition", Dec. 1936, 1 vol. contains membership roll, attendance, minutes of the business meetings, showing when this society reorganized, Dec. 1936, work done by the society, amount raised and how distributed. Kept in the home of the Secretary-Treasurer-Custodian, Mrs. Ida M. Johnson, Box 126, Fort Meade, Florida, and condition is good. (Records prior to Dec. 1936 could not be located.) Children's Society, no permanent records kept. They do not transfer records to a central depository, in fact have none. Information provided by W. D. Collins, Pastor; W. T. Hurst, Church Secretary; Fay Collins, Pastor's wife; B. F. Woodard, Church Treasurer; Ava Martin, Secretary-Treasurer Young People's Society; Mrs. Ida M. Johnson, Secretary-Treasurer Sewing Circle.
The Church of God The Church of God 1931 - - White Palm Avenue between 9th and 10th Streets, Frostproof, Polk County Affiliated with The Church of God, Cleveland, Tennessee; State Overseer, Wimauma, Florida; District Overseer, Lake Wales District, Rev. Morris Wiggins stated for the past four years they have met in Chattanooga as they had outgrown Cleveland. Church organized 1931, and held services in a rough tabernacle, located about one mile from the present church building, in a little town known as Lantana, from October 1931 until December 1933, when they moved into their present church building. Present building erected 1933, This church has been dedicated but unable to get the date. Building straightened and new pillars replaced old ones, metal roof on church and parsonage. Parsonage built same time church was built. Plain, tabernacle style, rectangular in form, wooden construction, painted white. Have no special features. This church does have a piano. Official title of clergyman: Formerly called Elders but have changed to pastors. First settled pastor, Rev. I. T. Williams, 1931-1932; Earliest known pastor, Rev. I. T. Williams, 1931-1932; Present Pastor, Rev. Morris Wiggins, Oct. 1936, Completed Seventh Grade, attended Church of God Bible School, Wimauma, Florida, two terms. General Delivery, Frostproof, Florida. "Model Record Book", 1931, 1 vol. This contains the minutes of the meetings showing all business of the church. It also contains reports to the Quarterly Conference and acceptance of reports. A certain portion of this book is used as a register which lists the members of the church, showing dates received and dismissed. Kept in the home of W. S. Jenkins, Clerk, Palm Ave. (no number), Frostproof, Florida, and is in fair condition. This record is kept in "Model Record Book", which gives a list of members showing when received, and any dismissals. Does not show any baptisms, births, nor deaths. (Treasurer's Book), 1936, 1 vol. Unable to locate any records prior to 1936. This contains all receipts and expenditures, showing tithes received, collections, amount paid to Foreign and Home Missions. It contains a record of money sent to orphanage, Cleveland, Tennessee, amount paid to pastors, and expenses in the building of the church and parsonage. Kept in the home of the Treasurer, W. S. Jenkins, Palm Ave., and is in fair condition. This also shows amount given by Sunday School for missions. As near as I could make out this record book (Treasurer's Book) is from 1936 to date. Only twice was the year written in this book. Sunday School, "Church of God Model Record", 1933, 4 vols. Unable to locate any records prior to 1933. Contains record of officers, teachers, and scholars, collections and expenditures, showing amount given by the Sunday School for missions. Kept in home of Secretary-Treasurer, Mrs. Gladys Vaught, Frostproof, Florida. (Lives about 1 mile from church, old Frostproof-Ft. Meade Road. Records in good condition. C. of G.Y.P.E., "Uniform S. E. Ledger", 1937, 1 vol. Unable to locate any records prior to this date. This contains a record of attendance, social activities for raising money, tithes received, all receipts and disbursements, quarterly reports to the State Superintendant of Y.P.E. Kept in the home of Mrs. Morris Wiggins, Secretary, Palm Ave., between 9th and 10th Streets, Frostproof, Fla., and is in good condition. W. M. B., organized in 1934, but not very active and no records kept. They, some few members who do not work except in the home, make some articles of clothing and sell, giving the money to the pastors to help in expenses to General Assembly. Have no central depository. Information provided by Rev. Morris Wiggins, Pastor; Mrs. Gladys Vaught, Sunday School Sec'y-Treas; W. S. Jenkins, Church Clerk-Treas.; Mrs. Morris Wiggins, wife of Pastor and Secretary of C. of G.Y.P.E.
Church of God Church of God 1920 - - White South Seminole Avenue, just off Broadway, ½ block. Fort Meade, Polk County Affiliated with General Assembly, Church of God, Cleveland, Tennessee, Annual; State Conference, Wimauma, Florida, Annual; District Convention, Lakeland District, Annual. Services were first held in a tent located on the ground where the church now stands for a short period, 1920. They then began holding services in the home of Mr. John Grunholzer, 200 First Street, North, Fort Mead, Fla., and continued holding services in his home and homes of other members (unable to get dates and names of other members) until the present church was erected, in 1921. Present building erected 1921, dedicated 1921, unable to get exact date. First service, Jan. 1921; Enlarged, added to west end, 1930; Parsonage, 1931; Re-roofed, 1933; Painted, 1938; A plain wooden building, painted white, rectangular in form. First settled pastor, Rev. J. F. Mann, 1920-1921, Grammar School; Earliest known pastor, Rev. J. F. Mann, 1920-1921, Grammar School; Present pastor, Rev. M. M. Thomas, 1934, Grammar School, No. 10, South Seminole Avenue, Fort Meade, Florida. "CASH", Sept. 1931-Sept. 17, 1933, 1 vol., "LEDGER", Sept. 24, 1933-Sept. 23, 1934 and April 1936, 6 vols., "Single Entry Ledger", Oct. 1934-Sept. 1935, 1 vol., "Journal", Oct. 1935-March 1936, 1 vol. The contents of these records, being the same, are as follows: Membership roll, dismissals, minutes of the meetings of the quarterly conference, receipts and disbursements, including tithes and special offerings. Kept in home of Clerk-Treasurer-Custodian, Lillian Lamb, 23 No. Seminole Ave., Fort Meade, Fla., condition is good. Records prior to 1931 could not be located. No separater register is kept. The membership roll and dismissals are shown in the "Cash" & "Ledger", "Single Entry Ledger", and "Journal" Record Books, but no baptisms, births, marriages, and deaths are shown. "CHURCH OF GOD TREASURER'S REPORT", June 1935, 3 vols., contain monthly reports of the church. Kept in the home of the Treasurer-Custodian, Miss Lillian Lamb, 23 North Seminole Ave., Fort Meade, Florida, and are in good condition. (Unable to locate any records prior to this date, and Miss Lamb thought no such record was kept prior to 1935. SUNDAY SCHOOL, "Church of God Model Record", 1924-Jan. 30, 1927, 1932, 8 vols., contain attendance of officers, teachers, scholars, and collections of each class, total attendance and collections, disbursements and balance on hand. Records 1924-Jan. 30, 1927 and 1932-1936 are kept in the home of Mr. John Grunholzer, Custodian of these records and who has been Secretary of Sunday School since it was organized until past two years, his address being 200 First St., North, Fort Meade, Fla. Records for 1937, are in the home of the Secretary-Custodian, C. V. Yeoman, 114 South Cherokee Ave., Fort Meade, Fla., and condition of all records is good. Records prior to 1924 and for Feb. 1927-1931 could not be located. Y. P. E. "Scholastic Composition Book", 1939, 1 vol., contains minutes of the meetings, membership roll and attendance of senior, junior, and honorary classes, number visitors present, collections which include donations and commission on sale of religious magazine, and disbursements. Kept in the home of the Secretary-custodian, Eulee Stephens, 505 North Myrtle Street, Fort Meade, Florida, and condition is good. No records prior to 1939 could be located. Willing Workers, inactive and no records could be located. Record not transferred to a central depository. Mr. John Grunholzer stated some of the Sunday School records were recently destroyed by fire as they had no need for them. No one was able to give any explanation for the missing Clerk's Records. Information provided by Mr. John Grunholzer, Oldest member; Mrs. M. M. Thomas, Pastor's wife; Lillian Lamb, Clerk; M. M. Thomas, Pastor; Eulee Stephens, Sec'y. Y. P. E.; C. V. Yeoman, Sec'y Sunday School; J. F. Mann, Organizer.
Church of God Church of God 1932 - - African-American In the negro quarters about ¾ mile west of Highway #17. Affiliated with General Ministerial Assembly with International Camp Meeting, Anderson, Indiana; State Ministerial Assembly, Lakeland, Florida; No District. They organized in a tent near where the church is located and held services there until about the latter part of 1932 when they moved into their present church building. Present building erected 1932, dedicated 1932, first service, 1932. Plain wooden building with small porch in center front, making it a perfect T-shaped building. It is painted white. First settled pastor, Rosa Davis, 1932, attended F.A.M.C., Tallahassee, Florida. Earliest known pastor, Rosa Davis, 1932, Attended F.A.M.C., Tallahassee, Florida; Present pastor, Rosa Davis, 1932, attended F.A.M.C., Tallahassee, Florida; 1015 Third Avenue, North, Lakeland, Florida. Records are not transferred to a central depository. The Sunday School Records are kept in the church; the Secretary of the Church keeps all church records. Information obtained from Will Jackson, Charter Member; Jessie Allen, Church Clerk; Rosa Davis, Pastor. "SINGLE ENTRY LEDGER", January 28, 1934, missing October 1932-December 1933, if kept. 1 vol. Records are not discontinued. The present Clerk stated the missing records were not turned over to her and she thought the former Clerk destroyed them. Contains minutes of the meetings showing dates of meetings and usual church business; membership showing names only; financial record showing monies received and disbursed. January 28, 1934, 1 vol. is located in the home of Jessie Allen, Clerk, whose address is General Delivery, Homeland, Florida. Record is in good condition. Jessie Allen stated she was sure records were kept earlier than date shown but she thought they had been destroyed by a former clerk. (SECRETARY'S RECORD) January 1938, missing from date of organization (unable to get this date) - December 1937, 1 vol. Sunday School records have not been discontinued. The records have been lost or destroyed so stated Jessie Allen, Church Clerk. Contains class reports showing attendance of officers, teachers and scholars, collections and disbursements, and a summary of these reports. January 1938, 1 vol. is kept in the church, the secretary being Abe Allen, whose address is General Delivery, Homeland, Florida. Record is in good condition. Records were kept earlier than dates shown but they have been lost or destroyed.
Church of God The Church of God Sept. 1921 - - White Walker Street, next to No. 45 Walker Street, Lake Wales, Polk County Affiliated with The Church of God, (J.H.Walker, General Overseer), Cleveland, Tennessee; State Overseer, (E.M. Ellis, State Overseer, Tampa), Headquarters is Wimauma, Florida; District Overseer (Morris Wiggins, District Overseer) Lake Wales District; State Bible School is located in Wimauma, Florida; National Bible School is located at Sevierville, Tennessee. Organized in a tent located on the corner of Polk Ave. and Second Street and held services in this tent until the present church was erected. Present building erected 1922, has been dedicated, unable to get date. No additions but parsonage purchased in 1934. Wooden building with gable roof, triangular in form, painted white. No special features. First settled pastor, Rev. J. F. Mann, 1921-1924, Grammar School; Earliest known pastor, Rev. J. F. Mann, 1921-1924, Grammar School; Present pastor, Rev. B. W. Watson, 1937, Grammar School, 45 Walker Street, Lake Wales. "MODEL CHURCH RECORD", 1923-1930, 1937, 2 vols. (Unable to locate recors for 1931-1936. These contain the membership roll, showing when received, dismissals, Conference meetings and approval of same, tithes, all collections and disbursements. The 1937 record does not show all collections and disbursements, this year being the beginning of the Treasurer's record. In addition to the above it shows the Quarterly Conference Reports. Kept in the home of the Clerk, E. C. Dyal, 325 Briggs Avenue, and are in fair condition. This record is carried in "Model Church Record", showing membership roll and when received, also dismissals. (TREASURER'S RECORD), 1937, 1 vol. (No Treasurer's record prior to 1937 other than that carried in "Model Church Record".) This shows all receipts and disbursements, with reports showing tithes collected, amounts paid to missions and orphange. Kept in the home of the Treasurer, E. C. Dyal, 325 Briggs Avenue, and is in good condition. C. of G.Y.P.E., (SECRETARY-TREASURER'S RECORD), 1933, 2 vols. Unable to locate any records prior to 1933. Contain the membership roll, election of officers, all business of the organization, receipts and disbursements, and reports to the State Superintendant of the Y.P.E. Kept in the home of Sec'y-Treas., Miss Ethel Alderman, 109 Walker Str., and are in fair condition. SUNDAY SCHOOL, "CHURCH OF GOD MODEL RECORD", 1933-1934, 1938-1939, 4 vols, Unable to locate records prior to 1933 and records for 1935-36-37. These show attendance of officers, teachers and scholars, collections and expenditures, and balance in Treasury. Kept in home of Louvenie Mixon, Sec'y-Treas., P.O. Box 744, Lake Wales, and are in good condition. WILLING WORKERS' BAND (SECRETARY'-TREASURER'S RECORDS), 1937, 2 vols. No records prior to 1937 could be located. Had not been very active prior to 1937. Show all social meetings, work done by the members, together with all receipts and disbursements, showing money used for the upkeep of the parsonage and small repairs of the church. Kept in the home of Mrs. E. C. Dyal, Sec'y-Treas., 325 Briggs Ave., Lake Wales, and are in good condition. Not transferred to any central depository. Information obtained from Rev. B. W. Watson, Pastor; Rev. J. F. Mann, former pastor and organizer of church; E. C. Dyal, Clerk and Treasurer; Miss Ethel Alderman, Sec'y-Treas. Y.P.E.; Miss Louvenie Mixon, Sec'y-Treas. Sunday School; Mrs. E. C. Dyal, Sec'y-Treas. Willing Workers.
The Church of God by Faith The Church of God by Faith 1925 - - African-American Corner Harding Avenue and Third Street, Lake Wales, Polk County Affilitated with (National) General Assembly Permanent headquarters, Ocala, Florida, meet annually; They also have a Deacons and Elders Council, meets in Ocala. This Council and General Assembly meet six months apart. N. Sippio is General Overseer. South Florida District, meets quarterly, recently met in Florence Villa, but changes meeting place. O. M. Boone is District Overseer. Organized in a tent located on Fourth Street and Washington Avenue, in 1925, and held services in this tent until a small church was erected, in 1926, on the property where the present church now stands. In 1933, this building was moved on the rear of the lot and the present church erected, the first service in this church being the fourth Sunday in May, 1934, on which date the church was dedicated. Present building erected 1933-1934, dedicated 4th Sunday in May, 1934. Parsonage built 1935. Wooden frame building, rectangular in form, painted white. First settled pastor, O. M. Boone, 1928-1929, Grammar School; Earliest known pastor, N. Sippio, 1925-1926, unknown; Present pastor, O. M. Boone, 1933, Grammar School, 200 Harding Avenue, Lake Wales. "LEDGER", 1938, 1 vol., could not locate any records prior to 1938. Shows a record of the business of the church, approval of the financial secretary's report, election of officials of the church. Kept in the home of the Recording Secretary, Viola Manuel, Highland Park, Lake Wales, Florida and is in fair condition. The membership roll only is shown in the Financial Secretary's Book, "Church of God by Faith". "CHURCH OF GOD BY FAITH", 1932, 5 vols. These show the membership roll and amount paid by each member, all collections and expenditures. Current record kept in the home of the Financial Secretary, Viola Stone, 439 Fourth Street, and old records kept in the church. Records in fair condition. (No records prior to 1932 could be located) WILLING WORKERS CLUB (Secretary's Book), 1937, 1 vol. Unable to locate any records prior to 1937. This shows all meetings opened with devotional services, all work done by the members, the sale of these garments and amount received, and amount given to charity. Kept in the home of Gladys Ferrell, Secretary, 141 Second Street, and is in fair condition. SUNDAY SCHOOL (Secretary's Record) 1932-1933, "Church of God by Faith" 1936, 5 vols. Unable to locate records prior to 1932 and for 1934 and 1935. These show attendance of the officers, teachers and scholars, collections and expenditures. All records kept in the church, and Parthelia Stone is Secretary. Parthelia Stone's address is 439 Fourth Street. Records in fair condition. Not transferred to any central depository. Information provided by O. M. Boone, Pastor; Viola Manuel, Recording Secretary; Viola Stone, Financial Secretary; Gladys Ferrell, Secretary W.W.C; Parthelia Stone, Secretary Sunday School.
Protestant Episcopal Church Church of the Good Shepherd May 17, 1925 - - White Corner of Fourth Street and Bullard Ave., Lake Wales, Polk County Affiliated with The Protestant Episcopal Church in the United States of America, (National Council), 281 Fourth Avenue, New York, N.Y.; Diocese of South Florida, 120 North Main Street, Orlando, Florida. First organized as a Mission, May 17, 1925. This church is still a Mission. Sponsored by the Diocese of South Florida. Organized and held services in the Scenic Theatre, Stuart Avenue, from May 17, 1925 to about August 1, 1925, then moving into Alexander's Studio, Seminole & Scenic Highway, holding services here until about December 1925. They then began holding services in the City Boat House, continuing here until they moved into their present church building, Easter Sunday 1928. Original church building was built by the men of the congregation. Present building was erected 1926, remodelled 1929, Church School Room, Dec. 1937. Spanish type, frame and stucco, cream color, rectangular. Stained glass window depicting Christ as a Shepherd, Estey Reed Organ, memorial altar (oak), brass Eucharist candlesticks and seven branched candelabra, brass and oak altar rail, oak lectern, and marble baptismal font. First settled pastor, Rev. G.W.R. Cadman, 1926-1937, Graduate University of the South, Sewanee, Tennessee; Earliest known pastor, Rev. G.W.R. Cadman, 1926-1937, Graduate University of the South, Sewanee, Tennessee; Present pastor, Rev. Gladstone Rogers, June 1, 1937, Graduate University of the South, Sewanee, Tennessee, 428 East Bullard Ave., Lake Wales, Florida. (Early History of the Church) by the vestry, period covered, 1924 to August 1933, dated August 1933, located in the office of the minister, which is in the church. Not written in any record book. NOTE: Period covered 1924 to August 1933. This, of course, gives early meetings in homes prior to organization. "Church of the Good Shepherd", 1937, 1 vol., contains the minutes of the meetins of the vestry. Unable to locate any other record book. Kept in the office of the Secretary of the vestry, who is also Junior Warden, W. H. Bunting, Alcoma Building, Lake Wales, and are in good condition. "Parish Register", 1926, 1 vol. This contains baptisms, confirmations, births, marriages, deaths, and transfers. Kept in the office of the minister, and is in good condition. Minister's office is in the church, corner Fourth Street and Bullard Avenue. NOTE: "Register of Church Services", June 6, 1937, 1 vol., gives all information about the services, date, place, hour, attendance, communion, number communing, special offerings, person who conducts services, preacher who preaches the sermons at that time. Kept in the office of the minister-in-charge, in the church. It seems no "Register of Church services were kept prior to the present pastor's coming as none could be located. This record is in good condition. NOTE: Unable to locate any "Parish Register" prior to 1926. It is thought a memorandum of early members was kept and later copied in this "Parish Register, or that there were no confirmations prior to 1926. (Treasurer's Record-File Drawer) 1926 to 1936, 1 drawer; (Cash Book), 1935, 1 vol. File Drawer contains all business correspondence, correspondence with respective members of the church of various programs contemplated, month reports and annual audit reports of the church. (Cash Books) shows all receipts and disbursements. Kept in the office of the Treasurer, F. W. Davis, Lake Wales, Citrus Growers Assn., Walker St. and are in good condition. No records prior to 1935 (Cash Book), 1935 & File Drawer, 1926-1935 could be located. (Bulletins of Announcements), May 1937, 2 vols. Gives the schedule of services and meetings, other announcements, information for the members of the congregation pertaining to the church. Kept in the office of the minister, or minister-in-charge, in the church, and are in good condition. No records prior to 1937 could be located. (SECRETARY'S CORRESPONDENCE, 1925-1935, 1 file box, contains correspondence of the church by secretary; kept in the office of the Secretary.... CHURCH SCHOOL, No records, school being reorganized. WOMAN'S AUXILIARY, (Secretary's Record), 1925-1930; 1932-33; 1935, 4 vols. Unable to locate records for 1931 and 1934. Contain a record of the organization of the Ladies Guild of the Church of the Good Shepherd, the change to the Church Service League, April 19, 1926, and the change to Woman's Auxiliary, May 1936; membership, election of officers, attendance, dues pledged, religious and social programs, food sales, bazaars, and amount raised from such; show record of the religious educational work, United Thank Offerings, and Social Service League, and donation and gifts to missions. 1925-1930 records kept in the home of Mrs. N. H. Bunting, 333 Sessoms Ave., former Secretary but now Treasurer of the Auxiliary; other records kept inthe home of the Secretary, Mrs. Joe Giberson, 413 High St., and all records are in good condition. WOMAN'S AUXILIARY (Treasurer's Record), 1925, 2 vols., show all receipts and disbursements; annual reports from 1930 to 1938 to the Secretary of the diocese. Kept in the home of the Treasurer; Mrs. N. H. Bunting, 333 Sessoms Ave., and are in good condition. Daughters of the King, no records kept. Records not transferred to a central depository. Information provided by Rev. Gladstone Rogers, priest-in-charge; Mrs. N. H. Bunting, Treasurer, Woman's Auxiliary; N. H. Bunting, Junior Warden & Sec'y Vestry; F. W. Davis, Treasurer; Mrs. Joe Giberson, Secretary, Woman's Auxiliary.
Church of the Nazarene Church of the Nazarene 1932 - - White Corner South Floral Avenue and West Hooker Street, Bartow, Polk County Affiliated with General Assembly, Church of the Nazarene, 2923 Troost Avenue, Kansas City, Missiouri, quadrential; District Assembly, Florida District, movable. Organized Sept. 19, 1932. They held services over the old Polk County Bank Building, corner Broadway and Main Street, September 19, 1932-October 1933, when they moved to a room over an old plumbing shop located on the corner of East Summerlin Street and South Wilson Avenue, holding services here until they moved to their present church building, in June 1936. Present church built 1936, plain wooden building with high gable roof, double doors in the center front of building, over which is the following: "CHURCH OF THE NAZARENE". First settled pastor, Rev. P. M. Owen, Sept. 19, 1932-May, 1934, unknown education; Earliest known pastor, Rev. P. M. Owen, Sept. 19, 1932-May 1934, unknown education. Present pastor, Rev. P. E. Nelson, June 1938, Attended Asbury College, Wilmore, Kentucky; 890 South Oak Avenue, Bartow, Florida. Records are not transferred to a central depository of the church, but are usually kept by the officials in office. The missing records have been lost or destroyed. Information provided by Rev. P. E. Nelson, Pastor; Mrs. J. D. Hamrick, Church Sec'y-Treasurer; Mrs. Grace Sullivan, Secretary W.F.M.S.; Miss Bessie Lee Hamrick, Sec'y, S.S., N.Y.P.S. and Treasurer, W.F.M.S. (MINUTE BOOK), September 19, 1932, 1 vol., records are not discontinued, neither are there any missing records. Contains minutes of the meetings showing organization of the church giving date; the appointment of pastors and election of officers showing names; charter members showing names and addresses, motions, reports and usual church business. September 19, 1932, 1 vol., is kept in the home of Mrs. J. D. Hamrick, Church Secretary, 520 East Wabash Street, Bartow, Florida. Record is in good condition. Records were not kept earlier than date shown. "DOUBLE ENTRY LEDGER", The pastor, Rev. P. E. Nelson, stated this is the membership roll from date of organization. 1 vol. Records are not discontinued. Rev. P. E. Nelson stated there were no missing records as this was a complete membership record from date of organization. Contains the membership showing names (no dates shown); how received, whether by baptism, profession of faith, letter; how removed, whether by order of the Board, death, transfer, dismissal. Since there are no dates shown they are not arranged chronologically, by dates, neither are they arranged alphabetically, but presume they are arranged in the order as they became members. Vol. 1 is located in the home of Rev. P. E. Nelson, Pastor of the Church of the Nazarene, 890 South Oak Avenue, Bartow, Florida. Record is in good condition. Rev. Nelson stated record is from the beginning of the organization, the names of charter members included in record, and no other Register had been kept, but the names of the charter members are shown in the (Minute Book). "JOURNAL" January 1934, If kept, they are missing Sept. 19, 1932-1933, 1 vol. Records have not been discontinued. The missing records have been lost or destroyed, Mrs. Hamrick, Treasurer, stated as she was sure they had been kept. Contents: Financial record showing monies received and disbursed. January 1934, 1 vol. is located in the home of Mrs. J. D. Hamrick, Treasurer of the Church, whose address is 520 East Wabash Street, Bartow, Florida. Condition is good. Mrs. Hamrick stated she was sure records were kept earlier than dates shown but they had been misplaced and she could not locate them. She has been secretary from the beginning of the organization but has not always been Treasurer from the beginning, and she things records were not turned over to her when she was elected Treasurer, January 1934. "THE PRACTICAL SUNDAY SCHOOL RECORD", 1933, 1937; Missing Sept. 26, 1932, when organized, -Dec. 1932 and 1934-1936. 4 vols. There are not discontinued records. The missing records have been lost or destroyed. Contain weekly class reports showing attendance of teachers, scholars, and officers, offerings, and a summary of these reports. 1933, 1937, 4 vols., are located in the home of Bessie Lee Hamrick, Sunday School Secretary, whose address is 520 East Wabash Street, Bartow, Florida. Condition of records is good. Records were kept earlier than dates shown but they have been lost or destroyed. N.Y.P.S. (SECRETARY'S RECORD), May 1936, missing October 1932, when organized-April 1936. 1 vol. Records are not discontinued. The missing records have been destroyed. Contains the membship showing names, the attendance, and the dates of meetings. May 1936, 1 vol. is kept in the home of Bessie Lee Hamrick, Secretary of the N.Y.P.S., whose address is 520 East Wabash Street, Bartow, Florida. Condition is good. Records were kept earlier than dates shown but these have been lost or destroyed. W.F.M.S. (SECRETARY'S RECORD), November 1937, when reorganized. Missing from time when first organized (unable to get date) Oct. 1937. 1 vol. There are no discontinued record. Records are missing from date it was first organized-Oct. 1937. However, it was inactive for a period but unable to get dates and it was believed no records were kept of the meetings for a period prior to the time it disbanded. This is not definite. Contents. Contains membership roll, showing names; election of officers, showing names, minutes of the meetings showing dates, reports and usual business of the society. November 1937, 1 vol., is kept in the home of Mrs. Grace Sullivan, Secretary, whose address is 820 West Vine Street, Bartow, Florida. Condition is good. There were records kept earlier than dates shown but it was known exactly when the Society became inactive and how long there was a lapse, but any records kept prior to November 1937 have been lost or destroyed. W.F.M.S.(TREASURER'S RECORD), December 1937; Missing Jan. 1934-Nov. 1937 and from date it was first organized (unable to get date) until it became inactive. 1 vol. There are not discontinued records. The missing records have been lost or destroyed. Contains an itemized account of all general and special collections, and expenditures showing how disbursed. December 1937, 1 vol. is kept in the home of Miss Bessie Lee Hamrick, Treasurer of the Society, whose address is 520 E. Wabash Avenue, Bartow, Florida. Condition is good. Records were kept earlier than dates shown but these have been lost or destroyed.
Church of the Nazarene Church of the Nazarene 1937 - - White Corner Stewart Avenue and Walker Street, Lake Wales, Polk County Affiliated with Church of the Nazarene, 2923 Troost Ave., Kansas City, Missouri, General Assembly, meets every four years, different cities; District Assembly, (Dist. Supt. H. H. McAfee), Florida District, meets annually, in different cities. Rev. M. H. Rozzell, pastor, stated that the Churches of the Nazarene were called Pentecostal Church of the Nazarene from 1907 to 1919, when the word "Pentecostal" was dropped. This was done to save confusion. They organized and held services in a tent located on Corner Walker Street and Central Avenue, from April 1937 until they moved into their present church building in June, 1937. Present building erected 1937, dedicated Monday, July 5, 1937. Frame building, rectangular in form, painted white. No special features. First settled pastor, R. J. Rogers, 1937-June 27, 1938, education unknown; Earliest known pastor, R. J. Rogers, 1937-June 27, 1938, education unknown; Present pastor, Rev. M. H. Rozzell, June 29, 1938, High School graduate; attended Travecco Nazarene College, Nashville, Tennessee; 109 Stewart Avenue, West, Lake Wales, Florida. (MINUTES OF THE SECRETARY), 1937, 2 vols.; Show date of organization, election of all church officials, calling and dismissal of pastors, all business transacted by the Church Board, membership roll. Old record kept in the home of Mrs. Nezzie McGill, former secretary, 23 Walker Street, and current record kept in the home of Mrs. Madeline Spurlock, Secretary, 106 Sharp Street, Lake Wales, Florida, and both records are in good condition. No separate Register Book is kept, but the membership roll only is shown in (Minutes of the Secretary). No baptisms, confirmations, births, deaths, removals are show. (TREASURER'S RECORD), 1937, 2 vols. Show all receipts and expenditures. Monthly report to Church Board on plain sheets, copies of which are in the Treasurer's file, are made from the (Treasurer's Record), but these are not shown in any record book. Old record kept in the home of Mrs. Edna McGill, 25 Walker Street, Lake Wales, and current record in home of the Treasurer, C. W. Martin, 119 Polk Avenue, Lake Wales, and are in good condition. SUNDAY SCHOOL, "The Practical Sunday School Record", 1937, 2 vols. Show attendance of teachers, scholars, officers, annual reports to the Sunday School and Church Board. Reports are made to District Assembly on blanks furnished by the Assembly. Kept in the home of Mrs. Nexxie McGill, Sec'y. 23 Walker Street and are in good condition. SUNDAY SCHOOL "Ledger", 1937, 2 vol. Shows regular collections, special offerings and expenditures. Current record kept in the home of Mrs. M. H. Rozzell, Treas., 109 Stewart Ave., West. Old record kept in home of Mrs. Edna McGill, 25 Walker St., Lake Wales, and both records are in good condition. N.Y.P.S. (SECRETARY'S RECORD), 1938, 1 vol. (Not active prior to 1938 and no records kept). Shows membership roll, regular meetings, special meetings of missionary interests, and reports from different officers. Kept in the home of Mrs. Madeline Spurlock, 106 Sharp St., Lake Walkes and are in good condition. W.F.M.S. (TREASURER'S RECORD), 1938, 1 vol. (No records kept prior to 1938) Shows all collections and expenditures. Reports to District Assembly made on blanks furnished by the Assembly. Kept in the home of Mrs. C. W. Martin, Treasurer, 119 Polk Avenue, and is in good conditiong. Not transferred to any central depository. Information provided by Rev. M. H. Rozzell, Pastor; Mrs. Nezzie McGill, Sunday School Sec'y.; Mrs. Madeline Spurlock, Secretary Church; Mr. C. W. Martin; Miss Doris Martin, N.P.Y.S. Secretary; Mrs. C. W. Martin, W.F.M.S. Treasurer.
Church of the Nazarene Church of the Nazarene 1936 - - White 1 mile W. of Highway #8, 1 block S. of Winter Haven-Lake Wales Short Route, Waverly, Polk County. Constituted in 1936. All services held in present white, rectangular wooden building with high gable roof and steple [sic] in front over entrance; has bell. Present membership. Active organizations, Sunday School, Nazarine [sic] Young Peoples Society, Woman's Foriegn [sic] Missionary Society. Earliest known clergyman, Rev. Robert Rogers, 1936-1937. Present clergyman, Rev. W. E. Hudnall, 1939, Waverly, common school education. (MINUTES), 1937, 2 vols., showing minutes of meetings, election of officers, reports and business of a general nature, July to Sept., 1937, 1 vol. in the home of Mrs. Omie Peoples, Sec'y W.F.M.S., Waverly. 1937-1939, 1 vol. located in the home of Mrs. Bertie Norton, Church Sec'y., Waverly. (JOURNAL), 1937, 1 vol., showing financial record, list of membership, how received, how removed, transfers of membership; list of church officers, custody of Church Sec'y., Mrs Bertie Norton, Waverly. (THE PRACTICAL SUNDAY SCHOOL RECORD), 1939, 1 vol., showing weekly class reports of attendance, list of teachers, visitors, offerings, and a summary of these reports; located in the church. SEC'Y-TREASURER'S RECORD, N.Y.P.S.), 1 vol, showing record of organization, membership, financial records, custody of sec'y., Clyde Fraiser, Waverly. (SEC'Y'S RECORD, W.F.M.S.), 1939, 1 vol., showing membership roll, minutes of meetings, dues and financial record, business transactions, custory of Mrs. Omie Peoples, sec'y, Waverly.
Non-Demoninational Community Church 1930 - - White Pierce, Fla. (Located east side Mulberry and Brewster Road in Pierce, Fla.) As there is no church organization, church not connected with any denominational bodies. Began holding preaching services in 1930. A house of worship was built in Pierce in 1930 by a phosphate company operating there, was named Community Church, to be non-denominational. Dr. Chas. A. Raymond, Pastor of First Presbyterian Church of Lakeland, Fla., has preached there regularly since church was built, he has received no salary. Bungalow style, wooden building, painted white, a rectangle in shape. Building has art glass windows, seating capacity about 150. Only Pastor, Dr. Chas. A. Raymond, 1930, Davidson College, Davidson, N. C.; Southwestern University, Clarksville, Tenn. (Has since moved to Memphis, Tenn.) No records are kept by Community Church; information provided by Mr. J. M. Moody, a leader and promoter of work in Community Church, Pierce, Florida; Dr. Chas. A. Raymond, Pastor, First Presbyterian Church, Lakeland, Fla.; Mrs. R. D. Hayes, Asst. in S. S., box 135, Pierce, Fla.; Mr. I. Aubrey Hayes, S. S. Sec'y. & Treas. Box 135, Pierce, Fla. (SUNDAY SCHOOL RECORD), Jan. 1938, 2 vols., Rolls of officers, teachers and scholars, attendance. Receipts and disbursements, monthly and quarterly reports. Jan. 1938, 2 vols.; located in home of Mr. I. Aubrey Hayes, S. S. Secy. & Treas., Box 135, Pierce, Florida. Condition of records good. No relation to other records. No information or records earlier than 1938. The church is non-denominational, but Baptist literature is used throughout Sunday School except in primary classes, where Presbyterian literature is used.
Presbyterian Church of the United States Cumberland Presbyterian Church 1888 - - White 730 S. Florida Ave., Lakeland, Polk County Constituted 1888. Services in store building E. Main St., until 1889, frame church, Florida Ave. and Lemon St., until present church, a red, T shape, brick building, with memorial windows and pipe organ, erected 1925, dedicated in Nov. First settled pastor, J. S. Boydston, 1888-1903. Education unknown. Present pastor, David C. Kinnard, Dec 1, 1938, Lakeland, Florida; Bethel Colleg, McKenzie, Tennessee; Cumberland Theological Seminary, McKenzie, Tennessee. See brief history, "Cumberland Presbyterian Church, 1888-1925", published in Lakeland, Florida, 1925, in pastor's office. CHURCH MINUTES, 1888, 2 vols., showing minutes of official board, reports of church officers, including treasurer's report. Custody, church secretary, W. D. Gracy, 505 South Missouri Avenue, Lakeland. CHURCH REGISTER, 1888, 1 vol., showing membership roll, showing baptisms of infants, baptisms of adults, marriages and deaths. (FINANCIAL RECORD), 1928, 3 vols., showing receipts and disbursements. Custody, church treasurer, H. Clay Cunningham, Patton Heights, Lakeland. (SUNDAY SCHOOL RECORDS), 1925 , 14 vols., showing attendance of teacher and pupils, names of teachers and pupils, amounts collected by each class, weekly, monthly, annual collections and attendance. (SUNDAY SCHOOL FINANCIAL RECORD), 1937, 1 vol., showing itemized record of receipts and disbursements. Custody, Sunday School secretary-treasurer, A. R. Coburn, Lakeland. Fair condition. (WOMAN'S MISSIONARY AUXILIARY MINUTES), 1932, 2 vols., showing minutes of the Woman's Missionary Auxiliary, 1 vol. 1936, custody, Woman's Missionary Auxiliary recording secretary, Mrs. B. F. Wilson, 815 South Tennesse Avenue, Lakeland. (FINANCIAL RECORDS) 1937, 1 vol., showing membership roll; receipts and disbursements. Custody, Woman's Missionary Auxiliary corresponding secretary-treasurer, 169 Lake Morton Drive, Lakeland. (CHRISTIAN ENDEAVOR SOCIETY FINANCIAL RECORD), 1935, 1 vol., showing receipts and disbursements, membership roll. (CHILDREN'S BAND MINUTES AND FINANCIAL RECORD), 1937, 1 vol., showing membership roll, receipts and disbursements; minutes, custody, Children's Band leader, Frances Riggins, 169 Lake Morton Drive, Lakeland.
Methodist Episcopal Church Dundee Methodist Church 1913 - - White East Merrill Ave. near corner of Third St., Dundee, Polk County Constituted 1913. First services held in small school building on Highway #8 until present white, rectangular, frame building with high gable roof, bell tower and bell, erected 1913, remodelled 1926, and Sunday School Rooms added. This church was inactive the latter part of 1930-31, but went back in Conference 1937. Present membership 14. Active organizations, Sunday School. First settled pastor, Rev. Mr. Criswell, 1914-unknown. Present pastor, Rev. G. S. Roberts, 1940; (NOTE: Has Rev. Bruce F. Gannaway, June 1937, 116 Third Street, Haines City; Washington and Lee University, Lexington, Virginia; Emory University, Atlanta, Georgia. This is scratched out.) (CHURCH TREASURER'S RECORD), 1932, 2 vols. Showing receipts and disbursements. 1 vol. October 1932-September 1935, custody of Mrs. J. P. Lyle, Box 740, Dundee. 1 vol. August 1937, custody of treasurer, Mrs. Elizabeth Shepard, Box 265, Dundee. (SUNDAY SCHOOL RECORDS), 1926, Title varies: The Complete Sunday School Record Book, October 1926-September 1928 and November 1939, 2 vols.; Cokesbury Record Book, October 1929-September 1930, 1 vol.; Day, October 1932-December 1936 and January 1937-October 1939, 1 vol., showing pupils, reports, attendance, receipts, disbursements. 2 vols. October 1926-September 1928 and October 1929-September 1930, custody of Mrs. J. P. Lyle, Main Street, Dundee. 2 vols., October 1932, custody of secretary, Miss Louise Lyle, Box 740, Dundee. (SECRETARY'S RECORD), September 14, 1938, 1 vol. Showing minutes of meetings, membership roll, amounts pledged. Custody of secretary, Mrs. A. B. Smith, General Delivery, Dundee. (TREASURER'S RECORD), September 14, 1938, 1 vol., showing dates of organization, receipts, disbursements. Custody of treasurer, Mrs. Elizabeth Shepard, see supra.
General Council of Assemblies of God Eagle Lake Assembly of God Oct. 1932 - - White Gilbert St., in front of Eighth St., Eagle Lake, Polk County. Constituted October 1932. Organized in tent Finley and 9th Sts., erected tabernacle immediately, held services there until present, rectangular, white, wooden building erected 1938, dedicated 1939. Four lots donated, congregation planted 3,000 nursery trees which were sold and building erected with the $1,000 proceeds. First settled pastor, Rev. Lane, 1932-1933, common school education. Present pastor, Rev. P. H. Green, 1938, P. O. Box 81, Eagle Lake, Florida, Central Bible Institute, Springfield, Mo., Florida Bible Institute, Tampa, Florida, Taylor University, Upland, Florida. Active organization, Sunday School. (CHURCH RECORDS), Oct. 1933, 2 vols., showing minutes of meetings, dates, motions, elections, financial record, membership roll, custody of clerk, F. B. Varnes, Box 91, Eagle Lake, Florida. (TREASURER'S RECORD), Jan. 1935, 2 vols., showing receipts, disbursements, 1 vol, custody deacon, J. T. Rogers, City Hall McCloud St. 1 vol., custody of clerk, F. B. Varnes, Box 81, Eagle Lake, Florida. (SUNDAY SCHOOL RECORD), Oct. 1938, 2 vols., weekly class reports showing attendance, collections, financial report, custody S. S. secretary, Miss Theatus Lovett, Box 101, Eagle Lake, Florida.
Methodist Episcopal Church, South Eaton Park Methodist Church 1926 - - White Fletcher Ave., Eaton Park, Polk County Constituted 1926, in a tent. The present white, rectangular, wooden building was erected immediately. Present membership 8. Active organizations, Sunday School, Woman's Missionary Society, Epsworth League. First known pastor, Rev. B. F. Lawhern, organizer of church. First settled pastor, Rev. T. W. Carlton, 1926-1928. Florida Southern College, Lakeland. Present pastor, Rev. Nelson H. Oldford. Fla., 1939, Fla. Sou. Col. Lakeland; Syracuse University, Syracuse, N.Y., address: Highland City, Fla. (QUARTERLY CONFERENCE RECORDS), 1926, 4 vols, show reports of the pastor, all church officers, officers of auxiliaries, financial records. Custody of the pastor. (CHURCH REGISTER), 1926, 1 vol., shows register of former pastors, bishops, presiding elders, present pastor; membership roll; marriages; infant baptisms; deaths. Custody of pastor. (SUNDAY SCHOOL RECORD), 1933, 4 vols. Show: membership roll, officers and teachers, weekly report of collections and attendance; financial record. Located in the church. (WOMAN'S MISS. SOCIETY), 1937, 1 vol., shows: membership roll, minutes of meetings and financial record. Custody of Mrs. Susie McMillin, W.M.S. Sec-Treas., Pro Term, Eaton Park. (EPSWORTH LEAGUE RECORDS), 1935-1937, (disbanded), 1 vol., shows: rolls of officers and members; activities of members; minutes of meetings; financial records. Located in the church.
Assemblies of God The Faith Tabernacle 1937 - - White One mile south of Alturas and about four miles south of Highway No. 79, on Alturas-Babson Park Road, Alturas, Polk County. Affiliated with General Council, Assemblies of God, Springfield, Missouri; District Council, South Florida District, movable. Organized Aug. 18, 1937. Organized and held services in the home of Rufus Skipper, located about ¼ mile south of the church, until they moved to their church, July 2, 1939. Present building erected 1938-1939, unpainted plain wooden building, rectangular in form. First settled pastor, Rev. J. T. King, Aug. 1937-Sept. 1938, common school; Earliest known pastor, Rev. J. T. King, Aug. 1937-Sept. 1938, common school; Present pastor, Rev. John W. Hause, Sept. 14, 1939, 444 Avenue "H", S.E., Winter Haven, Florida, common school. Records are not transferred to a central depository of the church or denomination, but are usually kept in the homes of officials in office. Information provided by Rev. J. T. King, former pastor; Rev. Hause; Mrs. Ethel Hill, Charter Member and S. S. Secretary; Carter Hill, secretary-treasurer; Mrs. J. B. King, member. "MINUTES", August 18, 1937 only, this being the only minutes of this church. Minutes showing the organization of the church, election of trustees, secretary, treasurer, and pastor. Located in the home of the Secretary-Treasurer, Carter Hill, R. R. No. 2, Box 166 A, Bartow, Florida. Condition is good. Mr. Hill stated they had not kept any minutes except the date as given above but had given special attention to their financial records, showing from what source money was received and an itemized statement of expenditures. "UNIFORM CASH BOOK", Sept. 11, 1939, There are no missing records, the charter members are shown on form sheet "Church Set in Order", and prior to Sept. 11, 1939, the membership was kept on sheets of paper and copied in the "Uniform Cash Book" Sept. 11, 1939, Contains a list of membership showing names only. 1 vol., is located in the home of the church treasurer, Carter Hill, R. R. No. 2, Box 166A, Bartow, Florida. Condition is good. This record contains the membership to date from date of organization, the charter members recorded in this book, the membership being transferred from a sheet of paper to this record book, and new members added as they came in, but no dates are shown. (FINANCIAL RECORDS) as follows: (a) (TREASURER'S RECORD), May 1, 1939-Dec. 1939, 1 vol., (b) "JOURNAL", Jan. 1940, 1 vol. May 1, 1939, Missing Aug. 18, 1937-April 1939. 2 vols. They had very few records until they started a drive to raise funds to finish their church which was started 1938, but very llittle done to it until 1939. What record they had has been destroyed. Contain an itemized account of receipts and disbursements. May 1, 1939, 2 vols. are located in the home of Secretary-Treasurer, Carter Hill, R. R. No. 2, Box 166A, Bartow, Florida. Condition is good. A memorandum of monies received and disbursed was kept earlier than dates shown but this has been destroyed. (SUNDAY SCHOOL) (SECRETARY'S RECORD), July 2, 1939-Apr. 21, 1940, 1 vol., and April 28, 1940, 1 vol. July 2, 1939, This is the beginning of this record. No records were kept prior to moving in their church. Class reports showing attendance of teachers and scholars, collections and disbursements, and a summary of these reports. There is also a record of the date of first service in the church in the current book, April 28, 1940. Located in church. Condition is good. Records were not kept earlier than dates shown.
Disciples of Christ First Christian Church March 24, 1892 - - White 400 South Oak Ave., Bartow, Polk County Constituted March 24, 1892. Services in Court House until first church erected, present site, 1895-1896, moved back to allow construction of present church, a gray, rectangular, concrete building, with balcony, large auditorium, pastor's study, basement and 4 class rooms, memorial art glass windows and pipe organ erected 1925-1926, dedicated 1926, first services Oct, same year. Former building moved to 270 Courtland St., remodelled, and donated as pastorium by Mr. Leon Hebb, 1926. First settled pastor, Rev. R. A. White, 1909-1910. Education unknown. Present pastor, Rev. Bernard P. Smith, Sept. 23, 1938, 695 E. Stanford St., Bartow, Florida; Roanoke College, Selma, Virginia; University of Virginia, Charlottesville, Virginia; Rochester Theological Seminary, Rochester, New York. See, "Early records of Bartow Church", 1892-1900, by H. L. and L. V. ??vies, Feb. 9, 1920, 152 pp., custody of church clerk, Miss Rosalie Brown, 450 S. Central Ave., Bartow, Florida. (MINUTES), March 1892-May 1898; Jan. 1924-July 1928; Jan. 1937, 3 vols., the last one loose leaf. Record of business meetings, dates, those present, reports, matters considered, acts, resolution, financial statements, calling of pastors, elections. Custody, Miss Rosalie Brown, Clerk, 450 So. Central Ave., Bartow. "RECORD OF MEMBERS OF CHURCH OF CHRIST", March 1892-1898, 1 vol. "CHURCH REGISTER AND RECORD", Jan. 1924-July 1928, 1 vol., record of organization meetings and services, showing dates and assisting clergymen; a register of members, when and how received, whether by letter, baptism, restoration, commendation, deaths and dismissals, details; Vol. 2 shows membership from 1898, a list of officers, giving names, addresss, office and dates of tenure, list of ministers and dates of pastorates, the earliest listed being Rev. R. A. White, 1909-1910. Custody of Miss Rosalie Brown, Clerk, see supra. "JOURNAL" (FINANCIAL RECORD), 1937, 1 vol., showing receipts and disbursements. Custody, Miss Rosalie Brown, Treas, see supra. "THE MODEL SUNDAY SCHOOL RECORD", 1936, 4 vols., showing organization and membership, attendance, exercises, programs, activities, business, receipts, disbursements, reports. Custody, Miss Frances Gibson, Route 2, Box 27 B, Bartow. (W.M.S. SECRETARY'S RECORD), 1934, 1 vol. (loose-leaf), showing organization, membership, business, programs, studies, activities, money raised for missions and wellfare work, reports. Custody, Mrs. Leon Hebb, Scy., 610 So. Broadway, Bartow.
Disciples of Christ First Christian Church 1921 - - White Corner Tillman Avenue, West, & First Street, South, Lake Wales, Polk County No affiliation, they cooperate with United Christian Missionary Society, Indianapolis, Indiana, and Florida State Missionary Society, Jacksonville, Florida, but recognize no ecclesiastical authority over the individual congregation; District Convention, movable. Organized March 1931, original name, Christian Church, changed about 1934. During 1921 services were held in Rhoades Real Estate Office, in the Bank Building, then they moved upstairs in the Bullard Building, holding services here until 1923, when they moved into the Scenic Theatre. They held services in the Scenic Theatre until they moved into their present church building, May 1925. Present building erected 1925, dedicated May 1925, unable to get exact day. Sunday School & Lecture Room added 1931, now separated into class rooms. Spanish style bungalow, stucco with frame annex, L shape, natural concrete color (light gray). The only special feature is Reproduction in baptistry of Otto Stemlers' "Baptism of Christ" by Clarence Tibado, Lake Wales, Florida. First settled minister, H. O. Lane, 1921-1923, College and Seminary, but unable to get name of college and seminary and addresses. Earliest known minister, H. O. Lane, 1921-1923, College and Seminary, but unable to get name of college and seminary and addresses.; Present minister, Rev. C. F. Dance, 1938, High school, Keen, N.H., Cincinnati Bible Seminary, Cincinnati, Ohio, 109 Tillman Avenue, South, Lake Wales, Florida. (MINUTE BOOK), 1937, 1 vol., contains a record of the business meetings of the official board, the membership roll showing date of admission and how received, reported to be in possession of the Secretary, Pallas J. Gum, Pinehurst, Lake Wales, Florida. This information taken from record of the pastor, C. F. Dance, who, until recently, had this book in his possession for the purpose of obtaining information from it. He stated he had been unable to find another record. Mr. Gun, being a travelling man, I have been unable to see him and examine the record. The membership roll is carried in (MINUTE BOOK). "THE STANDARD FINANCIAL SECRETARY'S RECORD", 1937, 1 vol., shows all receipts and disbursements, and list of members who are regular contributors. Kept in the home of the Treasurer, L. A. Ruckno, Ninth Street and Conassett Avenue, and is in good condition. Unable to locate any records prior to 1937. SUNDAY SCHOOL OR BIBLE SCHOOL (called either) "Simplex Sunday School Secretary's Record and Treasurer's Account Book", 1934, 2 vols., unable to locate records prior to 1934. Show attendance and collections of each class, teachers. Kept in the home of the Secretary, Mr. L. A. Ruckno, 9th St. and Cohassett Ave., and are in good condition. SUNDAY SCHOOL, "Eilers" Sunday School Treasurer's Record", 1937, 1 vol., (This is the beginning of this record, this record having been carried as collection, with amount paid out shown in check book) This shows all receipts and disbursements. Kept in the home of Mr. L. A. Ruckno, Treas., and is in good condition. WOMAN'S MISSIONARY SOCIETY organized Sept. 1938. (SECRETARY'S RECORD), 1938, 1 vol., show membership roll. Contains minute of the meetings, showing mission and Bible study. Kept in the home of the Secretary, Mrs. C. F. Dance, 109 Tillman Ave., and is in good condition. WOMAN'S MISSIONARY SOCIETY (TREASURER'S RECORD), 1938, 1 vol., shows all receipts and disbursements, and reports to the Society. Kept in the home of Mrs. C. F. Dance, Treas., 109 Tillman Avenue, Lake Wales, Fla. and is in good condition. Young People's Christian Endeavor organized October 1938. Intermediate and Junior Christian Endeavor organized Jan. 1939. No records of these kept. The pastor stated they had no central depository and that most of the records had been lost. Information provided by C. F. Dance, Pastor; Rev. Chas. H. Trout, pastor, 1929-1937; Orville Hale, Elder; L. A. Ruckno, Church Treas. & Bible School Sec'y & Treas.; Mrs. C. F. Dance, W.M.S. Sec'y.-Treas.
Southern Methodist Church First Methodist Church 1916 - - White Sessoms Ave. and 2nd St., Lake Wales, Polk County Constituted 1916. Services in homes of members until present church, a white, rectangular, wooden, frame building, with steeple, erected 1916, first services Oct. 8th, dedicated 1919, addition pastorium 1920, Sunday School building 1922, remodelled and addition of Men's Bible Class building 1939. Present membership, 409. Active organizations, Sunday School, Epworth League, Women's Missionary Society. First settled pastor, Rev. J. L. Criswell, 1921-1924, Education unknown. Present pastor, Rev. A. A. Koestline, 1937-, 207 Sessoms Ave., Lake Wales, Florida; Pikes Peak Bible Seminary, Colorado Springs, Colorado. See, "History of the Lake Wales Methodist Church", by R. N. Jones, 1938, published in Florida Christian Advocate, Lake Wales, Florida, Aug. 11, 1938, in pastorium. QUARTERLY CONFERENCE RECORD, 1937, 1 vol. Showing minutes of meetings, reports, CHURCH REGISTER No. 2, 1916, 1 vol. Showing membership roll, baptisms, deaths. (TREASURER'S RECORD), Financial Report, 1938, 1 vol. Showing receipts, disbursements. Custody of treasurer, R. L. Johnson, c/o Tillman & Johnson, Scenic Highway, Lake Wales. SUNDAY SCHOOL, (Cokebury Record System, Secretary-Treasurer), October 1938, 1 vol. Showing pupils, officers, teachers, attendance, offerings. EPWORTH LEAGUE, Yong [sic] People's Department Record Book, 1937, 1 vol. Showing members, attendance. Custody of secretary, Myrtle Gilbert, Lake of the Hills, Lake Wales. WOMAN'S MISSIONARY SOCIETY, Ledger, 1920-27, 1934, 2 vols. Showing minutes of meetings, financial reports. Custody of secretary, Mrs. Ford Flagg, 328 Twin Lakes. WOMAN'S MISSIONARY SOCIETY RECORD AND REPORT BOOK, 1934, 3 vols. Showing membership roll, reports, receipts, disbursements. Custody of Mrs. Ford Flagg, see supra. WOMAN'S MISSIONARY SOCIETY AUXILIARY TREASURER'S RECORD, 1936, 2 vols. Showing membership roll, collections, reports. Custody of treasurer, Mrs. C. C. Lawson, 408 Central Ave. WOMAN'S MISSIONARY SOCIETY TREASURER'S RECORD OF LOCAL WORK, 1935, 1 file box. Showing collections, disbursements. Custody of treasurer, Mrs. Ellen Sholtz, Box 395, Lake Wales.
Southern Methodist Church First Methodist Church (Bartow Methodist Church, c1866-1905) 1866 - - White South Broadway and West Parker Street, Bartow, Polk County Constituted, c. 1866, Early services were outdoor gatherings. Later the congregation held services in "The Academy", a two story frame building on the southwest corner of Carpenter Avenue and Summerlin Street and in the Court House until 1883 the erection of the first church on the northeast corner of Church and Floral Avenue. Services were held in the first church until the present church, an Italian Romanesque stle, white brick building with clay tile roof, two towers at front with arched loggia, memorial windows, pipe organ and cornerstone, erected 1905; dedicated, 1911. Present membership 590. Active organizations: Sunday School, Society of Women for Christian Service, Epworth League. First settled pastor, Rev. W. C. Jordan, 1881-1883, Present pastor, Rev. F. J. Patterson, 1937, 295 South Broadway, Bartow; Vanderbilt University, Nashville, Tennessee; Florida Southern College, Lakeland. See published sketch "Historical Paper of Church", by Miss Lillian R. Carpenter, published in the Polk County Record, Bartow, October, 1933 1 p. newspaper; also a copy of this publication is in "Historical Commission #1" in the Court House, 4 pp. 149-152 of this volume. QUARTERLY CONFERENCE RECORD, February 1923, 5 vols. Showing the official roll; minutes of the Quarterly Conference; statistical reports; pastor's reports. Custody, pastor, Rev. F. J. Patterson, 295 South Broadway, Bartow. CHURCH REGISTER, 1908, 2 vols. Containing register of members, showing how received and dates there of; how removed; withdrawal, deaths, expulsions; church conferences and dates thereof; register of pastors, 1900, showing names, dates of appointment, removal, names of presiding elders and bishops; register of marriages, showing names of contracting parties, officiating minister, dates; infant baptisms, showing names of infants, parents' names, birth date, date baptized, officiating minister. Custody pastor, Rev. F. J. Patterson, 295 South Broadway, Bartow. MERCHANDISE STOCK BOOK No. 1413, June, 1938, 3 vols. Showing individual account of regular contributors to the church. Custody, church treasurer, Mr. George L. Tyler, Box 897, Bartow. STANDARD COLUMNAR BOOK No. 23, July 5, 1936, 1 vol. Showing all receipts and disbursements made by the church, Custody, church treasurer, Mr. George L. Tyler, Box 897, Bartow. THE BRACER NOTE BOOK, 1940, 1 vol. Showing minutes of the Board of Stewards. Custody, Board of Stewards secretary, Mr. W. Edgar Clark, Box 4, Bartow. THE GENERAL SECRETARY-TREASURER'S BOOK, May 1892-June 1894, Jan. 1898-Feb. 1899, Jan. 1900-Feb. 1903, Feb. 1904-June 1906, Jan. 1907-Dec. 1908, Jan. 1909-Oct. 1909, Feb. 1910-Dec. 1910, Jan. 1916-Dec. 1916, Dec. 1918-Sept. 1919, Oct. 1922-May 1925, Oct. 1925-Dec. 1925, Oct. 1932, 26 vols. Title varies: THE MODEL SUNDAY SCHOOL RECORD, May 1892-June 1894, Jan. 1898-Feb. 1899, Jan. 1901-Dec. 1901, Jan. 1916-Dec. 1916, Dec. 1918-Sept. 1919, Oct. 1924-May 1925, 7 vols; SUNDAY SCHOOL RECORD BOOK, Jan. 7, 1900-Dec. 1900, Jan. 1902-Feb. 1903, Feb. 1904-June 1906, Jan. 1907-Dec. 1908, Jan. 1909-Oct. 1909, Feb. 1910-Dec. 1910, 8 vols; MEIG'S S. S. SECRETARY'S RECORD, Oct. 1922-Sept. 1924, Oct. 1925-Dec. 1925, 3 vols. Showing weekly class reports with officers, members, and teachers present, collections; summaries of weekly class reports; treasurer's monthly report showing receipts and disbursements; remarks. 1 vol. Oct 1939, Custody, Sunday School secretary-treasurer, H. C. Heath, 635 Floral Avenue, Bartow. RECORD, 1936, 1 vol. Showing minutes of Woman's Missionary Society and Society of Women for Christian Services: membership list; list of officers; reports of circles; list of charter members of Woman's Society of Christian Service. Custody, recording secretary, Mrs. M. Allen Hain, 395 Parker Street, Bartow. AUXILIARY CORRESPONDING SECRETARY AND SUPERINTENDENTS' RECORD AND REPORT BOOK, April 1935, 2 vols. Showing quarterly reports of the Woman's Auxiliaries with total members, new members; disbursements for local work; financial reports. Custody, corresponding secretary, Mr. Frank Childs, 770 East Main Street, Bartow. AUXILIARY TREASURER'S RECORD AND REPORT BOOK, Jan. 1938, 2 vols. Showing treasurer's monthly and quarterly reports of receipts and disbursements, Society of Women for Christian Service. Custody, Society of Women for Christian Service Treasurer, Mrs. Solon G. Wilson, 820 East Main Street, Bartow.
Southern Methodist Church First Methodist Church (Fort Meade Methodist Episcopal Church, South) 1869 - - White Broadway and Pine St., Fort Meade, Polk County Constituted 1869. Services in old store building, near East Broadway and Church Ave., then little red school house, 1 block from first building until first church erected, 3rd St. and Church Ave., 1882, present church, a red, rectangular, brick building, with cathedral windows, large auditorium, and 10 Sunday School rooms, erected, 1911, dedicated 1913, addition of pastorium, 1913, other additions, 1917, 1926 ,1929. Present membership, 269. Active organizations, Sunday School, Woman't Society for Christian Service. First settled pastor, Rev. E. J. Gates, 1892-1893. Education unknown. Present pastor, Rev. T. A. Ferguson, 1939. (Scratched out: James Slicer Purcell, 1938, 17 Pine St., Fort Meade, Florida; Millsap College, Jackson, Mississippi; Vanderbilt University, Nashville, Tennesse.) See "Just a Sketch of History of Ft. Meade M. E. Church", by Mrs. M. M. Loadholtes, published in Fort Meade Ledger, Fort Meade, Florida, Nov. 30, 1933. Custody of Mrs. G. H. Holden, Fort Meade, Florida. QUARTERLY CONFERENCE RECORD, 1903-1933, 8 vols.; 1934, 2 vols. Showing minutes of meetings, 2 vols. 1934, custody of secretary, Mrs. Louise M. Bowers, 200 Oak Ave., Fort Meade. CHURCH RECORDS, 1882-1908, 1 vol. 1909, 3 vols. Showing membership roll, baptisms, deaths. Custody of secretary, Miss Jennie Zander, 138 Broadway, Fort Meade. (FINANCIAL RECORD), Meyers Paramount Alphabetical Church Treasurer's Account Book No. 1, 1933, 1 vol. Showing receipts, disbursements. Custody of treasurer, Miss Jennie Zander, see supra. SUNDAY SCHOOL RECORD, Complete Sunday School Record Book, 1908-1913, 3 vols.; Title varies, O. K. Sunday School General Secretary's Record, 1914-1928, 11 vols.; The General Secretary-Treasurer's Book, 1932, 7 vols. Showing pupils, officers, teachers, attendance, offerings. WOMAN'S SOCIETY FOR CHRISTIAN SERVICE, 1929, 7 vols. Showing minutes of meetings. Custody of recording secretary, Mrs. G. H. Holden, Fort Meade.
Southern Methodist Church First Methodist Church 1884 - - White 217 South Kentucky Ave., Lakeland, Polk County Constituted 1884. Services in public school building, Tennessee Ave., between Orange and Lime Sts., until 1888, then small frame building, present site, until 1889, when converted into pastorium and large frame church erected, services until present church, a gray, rectangular, Gothic, concrete block building, with chimes, pipe organ, and art glass windows, erected 1906, dedicated Dec. 1909, remodelled 1912, additions, 1922-1923. Present membership, 1409. Active organizations, Sunday School, Woman's Missionary Society, Epworth League. First settled pastor, Rev. T. J. Philips, 1885. Education unknown. Present pastor, Rev. James D. Hurt, 1938, 705 E. Orange St., Lakeland, Florida; Southern College, Lakeland, Florida; Emory University, Atlanta, Georgia. See historical sketch, and Directory, First Methodist Church, Lakeland, Florida, 1884-1935, by Rev. R. E. L. Folsom, 45 pp, published by First Methodist Church, Lakeland, Florida, 1935, in Church Office Building, Lakeland. CHURCH CONFERENCE RECORDS, 1915, 7 vols. Showing minutes of meetings, CHURCH REGISTER, 1884, 3 vols. Showing membership roll, baptisms, deaths. CHURCH TREASURER'S ACCOUNT BOOK, 1933, 7 vols. Showing pupils, officers, teachers, attendance, reports, financial reports. WOMAN'S MISSIONARY SOCIETY, (Woman's Missionary Society Records), 1930, 8 vols. Showing members, officers, leaders, minutes of meetings, receipts, disbursements.
Southern Methodist Church First Methodist Church 1896 - - White Church Street, Mulberry, Polk County Constituted 1896. Organized in school house with 14 charter members by Rev. J. T. Mitchell, and meetings held herre until present white, rectangular, Gothic style, 2 story, frame building, with addition of 10 Sunday School rooms in 1934. Present membership 239. Active organizations, Sunday School, Woman's Missionary Society. First settled pastor, Rev. H. B. Frazer, 1905-06. Present pastor, T. R. Adams, 1940 (Scratched out: Rev. R. T. Caldwell, 1935, Box 677, Mulberry; University of Florida, Gainesville; Emory University, Atlanta, Georgia. QUARTERLY CONFERENCE RECORD, 1907, 8 vols. Showing minutes of meetings, reports. CHURCH REGISTER, 1907, 4 vols. Showing membership roll, baptisms, deaths. MYERS PARAMOUNT CHURCH TREASURER'S ACCOUNT BOOK, December 1933, 3 vols. Showing receipts, disbursements. (SUNDAY SCHOOL RECORDS), General Secretary-Treasurer's Book, 1935, 5 vols. Showing pupils, officers, teachers, reports, collections, disbursements. WOMAN'S MISSIONARY SOCIETY RECORDS, 1905-1911; 1937, 2 vols. Showing minutes of meetings, membership roll, reports, receipts, disbursements. 1 vol. 1937, custody of secretary, Mrs. H. C. Cravey, Box 104, Pierce. WOMAN'S MISSIONARY SOCIETY TREASURER'S RECORD, 1928, 1933-34, 1937, 5 vols. Showing membership roll, reports, receipts, disbursements. 2 vols. 1937, custody of treasurer, Mrs. Mary A. Gaston, Mulberry.
Methodist Episcopal Church First Methodist Episcopal Church 1910 - - White State Highway #8 and Second Street, Frostproof, Polk County Constituted 1910. Services in old Frostproof school, site near present school building, until 1912, when 1st church erected, after one service destroyed by fire, school building again until Presbyterian Church erected as a Union Church, erected 1913, services until present church, a rectangular, red, brick building, with steeple, bell, and 3 art glass windows, erected, on "pay-as-you-go" plan, 1914-1918, holding first services c1915. Present membership 214. Active organizations, Sunday School, Woman's Missionary Society. First settled pastor, J. W. Austin, 1911-1912. Education unknown; Present pastor, R. T. Caldwell, 1940, (Scratched out: Rev. J. A. Partridge, 1937, 24 3rd St., Frostproof, Florida; Vanderbilt University, Nashville, Tennessee. QUARTERLY CONFERENCE RECORD, 1934, 2 vols. Showing members, reports, financial report. Custody of secretary-treasurer, F. E. Backus, 115 Wall St., Frostproof. CHURCH REGISTER, 1932, 1 vol. Showing membership roll, baptisms, deaths. Custody of pastor. (LARGE CASH BOOK), 1937, 1 vol. Showing receipts, disbursements. Custody of secretary-treasurer, Mr. F. E. Backus, see supra. CHURCH CONFERENCE RECORD, 1937, 2 vols. Showing membership roll. Custody of secretary, Mrs. J. A. Partridge, 24 Third St., Frostproof. SUNDAY SCHOOL, Title varies: The General Secretary-Treasurer Book, 1937, 2 vols. Showing reports to quarterly conference. Custody of secretary, Bill Jacques, 315 Third St., Frostproof. WOMAN'S MISSIONARY SOCIETY (Secretary's Record), 1937, 1 vol. Showing minutes of meetings, membership roll, receipts, disbursements. Custody of secretary, Mrs. Fred Wooten, Fifth St., Frostproof.
Presbyterian Church of the United States First Presbyterian Church 1910 - - White Pine Street just off Broadway, Fort Meade, Polk County Affiliated with Presbyterian Church in the United States, General Assembly, stated clerk's residence 1240 Liberty Bank Building, Dallas, Texas; The Synod of Florida, clerk's residence, Chattahoochee, Florida; St. John's Presbytery, clerk's residence, Plant City, Florida. Organizaed Nov. 8, 1910, this church has been active since its organization but services only held once or twice monthly until Oct. 1915. They organized and held services for a short time (date not given) upstairs in the Canter Building, on Broadway, then moving into the Baptist Church holding services here until March 12, 1912. They then moved into the Council Chamber (City Building), holding services here until August, 1912, after which they moved into the auditorium of the school building, on Broadway, holding services here until May, 1914. The next business meeting, latter part of May 1914 shows this meeting was held in the Methodist Church, after which the minutes up to Sept. 1919 were missing. A notation was made that the clerk, Mr. King, who moved away, had used another book for the minutes and had taken this with him and pages were being left on which to copy these minutes should they ever be returned. From this business meeting and "History of Methodist Church" by Mrs. M. M. Loadholtes, history stating Presbyterians and other churches held services in the Methodist Church around 1914 and 1915, show services must have been heldin Methodist Church, but Mrs. K. O. Varn, Charter member of Presbyterian church, thinks they moved back to school house, holding services here until they moved into their church building. Present building erected 1917, dedicated 1936 (unable to get exact day & month). First service held first Sunday in October 1917, Manse given by former pastor, H. A. Tucker. Very modest wooden building with four Sunday School Rooms in the gallery, painted grey, rectangular in form. First settled pastor, Rev. H. A. Tucker, 1915-1923, unknown education.; Earliest known pastor, Rev. J. W. Roseborough, Nov. 1910-May 1911, organizer, preaching occassionally to May 1911.; Present pastor, Dr. Alfred deBarritt, Dec. 1938, B. C. Degree at Binns Academy, Oldham, Lancaster, England, Graduate London College, Clapton, London, England. 311 N. E. First Street, Fort Meade, Florida. "SESSION MINUTES", 1910-May 1914; Sept. 1919-1933; 1936, 1 vol., The clerk moved away taking the minutes June 1914 to Sept. 1919; a note was made on "Session Minutes" record stating minutes 1934 to 1936 not recorded. These not being located it was thought the clerk moved away taking these with him, or they had been destroyed. Contains minutes of the meetings of the congregation and of the session, shows organization of the church, places in which services were held, membership roll showing how and when received, dismissals, election of elders, deacons and trustees, election of delegates to Synod and Presbytery, infants baptisms of members, calling and dismissals of pastors, statistical reports. Kept in the manse, the minister being custodian, and is in good condition. 311 N. E. First St., Fort Meade, Fla. (Present Clerk is Dr. E. L. Williams, office over Langford's Drug Store, Fort Meade, Fla. The membership roll, showing how and when received, is carried in "Session Minutes". "THE MODERN CHURCH TREASURER'S RECORD", 1920-1924, "LEDGER", 1925-1928, 3 vols. Unable to locate any records prior to 1920 and for 1925-1928. Contain all receipts and disbursements. "The Modern Church Treasurer's Record" is kept in the Church Library, Mrs. Kline O. Varn, custodian. "Ledger" (Two in number) are kept in the office of the Treasurer, H. H. King, 102 W. Broadway, Fort Meade, Fla., who is custodian of these particular records, and all records are in good condition. "THE GLOBE STANDARD RECORD", 1927, 2 vols. This is the beginning of this record. These show amount of collections each Sunday, also give name and address of members who are regular contributors and amount pledged and collected. Kept in the office of Treasurer, H. H. King, 102 W. Broadway, Fort Meade, Fla., he being custodian. All records in good condition. WOMAN'S AUXILIARY, "S.E. LEDGER", 1913-1917 AND 1927-1929, "RECORD, 1937, 3 vols. Unable to locate records 1918-1926 and 1930 -1936. Show the organizatoin of the Society as Ladies Aid, in Jan. 1913, the change to Presbyterian Aid and Missionary Society, latter part 1913, the change to Woman's Auxiliary in 1937, minutes of inspirational and business meetings, membership roll including charter members, election of officers, appointment of delegates to Presbyterial, benefit programs, subjects studied, mission work done, aid to church, some collections and disbursements. Reports circled in back of record books are copies of reports made to Presbyterial. "RECORD" kept in manse, 311 N. E. First St., Ft. Meade, Fla., and Mrs Alfred deBarritt is Secretary-custodian. "S.E. LEDGER" (2) kept in the Church Library, and Mrs. Kline O. Varn, Pres., Auxiliary is custodian. All records in good condition. Mrs. Kline O. Varn's address is 314 W. Oak Street, Fort Meade, Florida. WOMAN'S AUXILARY, "ORDER BOOK", "DAY", "LEDGER", 1924, 3 vols. Unble to locate records prior to 1924. Show all receipts and disbursements. Current record is kept in home of Treasurer, Mrs. Harmon Head, who is also custodian, 109 So. Charleston Ave., Fort Meade, Fla. Old records are kept in the Church Library, and Mrs. Kline O. Varn, Pres. Auxiliary, 314 N. Oak St. Fort Meade, Fla., is custodian, good condition. SUNDAY SCHOOL, "MEYER'S PARAMOUNT SUNDAY SCHOOL RECORD", 1921-1924, "MEIGS INTERNATIONAL SUNDAY SCHOOL RECORD", 1934, 9 vols. Contain attendance scholars, officers, teachers, vistors present, offerings. "MEYER'S PARAMOUNT SUNDAY SCHOOL SECRETARY'S RECORD" are kept in the Church Library, Mrs. Kline O. Varn, 314 N. Oak Street is custodian; "MEIGS' INTERNATIONAL SUNDAY SCHOOL RECORD" are kept in the home of the Secretary, Mrs. Teresa Green, Box 315, Fort Meade, Florida, who is custodian of these records. Condition of all records are good. Unable to locate records prior to 1921 and 1925-1933. Records of the churches, Prebyterian faith can be transferrred to Montreat, N. C., but they keep their records in the library of the church. "SUNDAY SCHOOL, (Cash Book), 1936, 2 vols. (This is the beginning of this record) Show all receipts and disbursements. Kept in the home of the Treasurer, Mrs. Teresia Green, Box 315, Fort Meade, Florida, and condition is good. Information obtained from Dr. Alfred deBarritt, minister; Kline O. Varn, former clerk, charter member; H. H. King, treasurer; Mrs. Alfred deBarritt, Secretary Woman's Auxiliary; Mrs. Harmon Head, Treasurer Woman's Auxiliary; Mrs. Kline O. Varn, President Woman's Auxiliary.
Presbyterian Church of the United States First Presbyterian Church 1883 - - White Cor. Palatlahaha & Noxon Sts., Auburndale, Polk County Constituted in 1883. First services held in a pametto arbor, 1883-1886. A frame church building, ¼ mile East of present site was used 1886-1925. Present spanish-gothic style, stucco on tile, stone grey, building with cornerstone, art glass windows, was erected and dedicated in 1925. Present membership. Active organizations, Sunday School, Woman's Association, Christian Endeavor. Earliest known pastor, Rev. W. G. F. Wallace, 1883-1885. First settled pastor, Rev. W. A. Shivl, 1885-1886. Present pastor, Rev. J. Irwin Wherry, 1933, Auburndale. Attended Sterling College, Sterling, Kansas, Pittsburg Seminary, Pittsburg, Pa. (Minutes of Session), title varies, 1922, 3 vols. showing minutes of meetings of church sessions, report of church officers and auxiliaries, list of removals and reason, name of moderator and name of clerk; Custody of Charles W. Webber, Clerk of Session, Auburndale. "Church Register", title varies, 1883, 2 vols. showing receptions and removals, with dates, marriages, baptisms, deaths, list of pastors and elders, Custody of Charles W. Webber, Clerk of Session, Auburndale. "The Paramount Church Treasurer's Double Envelope Record, No. 3", 1939, 1 vol. showing list of members and amounts contributed by each, other sources of income and amounts, disbursements and balance, custody of H. C. McCollum, kept at Peoples Bank of Auburndale where he is employed. "Students Loose Leaf Note Book", (Board of Trustees' Minutes), 1936, 1 vol. showing names of Trustees, dates of meetings, yearly budget, financial reports, actions of the board, custody of Miss Cora Leggett, Sec'y of Board of Trusteees, lives across St. from church. (Sunday School Record), record varies, 1935, 2 vols. showing dates of meetings, roll of members, list of officers, teachers and scholars, comparison with previous Sunday Reports, financial record, custody of Marian Hines, Sunday School Sec'y-Treasurer, Auburndale. "Scholastic", (Woman's Association Minutes), 1938, 1 vol. showing dates of meetings, discussions, attendance, reports, special business, custody of Mrs. Esther Leighton, Sec'y., 3 blocks E. of church. (Financial Records), 1934, 1 vol. showing itemized record of receipts and disbursements and balances, custody of Mrs. A. E. Hines, Treasurer, 2 blocks E. of the church. "Cash", (Financial Record of Christian Endeavor), 1937, 1 vol. showing itemized account of receipts and disbursements, custody of Mary Louise Thorp, Sec'y-Treasurer, ½ mile N. E. of church.
Presbyterian Church of the United States First Presbyterian Church
See Church History
1882 - - White Cor. South Fla. Ave. & East Stanford St., Bartow, Polk County Constituted in 1882. First services held monthly in old Hughes Opera House until church lapsed in 1883. They reorganized as a Northern Presbyterian church in the old Methodist Church, located on what is now known as West Church St., near Floral Ave., but services were resumed in Hughes Opera House until the present T shaped wooden building, veneered with red brick, except Sunday School rooms which are not completely finished. Front doors are Gothic effect, has vocallion organ and cornerstone. A manse was added about 1909, church remodelled 1932, additional Sunday School rooms and pastors study in 1937. NOTE: This church rejoined the Southern Assembly of the Presbyterian Church in 1904. See unpublished history of the "First Presbyterian Church, Bartow, Polk County, Florida", 1882-April, 1940. Written from time to time by Mrs. A. A. McLeod, located in her home at 395 South Central Ave., Bartow. See "Minutes of Sessions". Active organizations, Sunday School, Young Peoples Work, Woman's Auxiliary. Earliest known clergyman, Rev. W. G. F. Wallace, 1882-(probably until lapse in 1883). First settled clergyman, Rev. Samuel J. Hair, 1886-1889. Last (regular) clergyman, Rev. W. T. Jones, 1930-1939, attended Davidson College, Davidson, N. C., Union Theological Seminary, Richmond, Virginia. "Minutes of the Session", 1885, 2 vols. showing minutes of the session and congregational meetings; including reorganization of ths First Presbyterian Church of Bartow, reports, membership roll, showing how members received and dismissed, shows transfer of this church from the South Fla. Presbytery to St. John's Presbytery in 1904, custody of H. L. Finney, Clerk of Session, 835 South Broadway, Bartow. "Cash", (Financial Record), 1932, 8 vols. showing monies received and disbursed, custody of J. W. Booream, Treasurer, Box # 471, Bartow. "Simplex Sunday School Secretary's Record, and Treasurer's Account Book", 1938, 1 vol. showing attendance of teachers and scholars, number of officers and visitors present, collections, summary of these reports, located in the church. (Sunday School Sec'y's. Records), 1939, 1 vol. showing minutes of meetings and membership list, custody of Betty Gaymon, Sec'y', 750 Pearl St., Bartow. "Memo Book", (Financial Record of Young Peoples Work), 1940, 1 vol. showing collections and expenditures only, custody of Marilyn Till, 645 East Stanford St., Bartow. (Sec'y's Record), Woman's Auxiliary, 1939, 2 vols. showing minutes of meetings, reports, all business of the auxiliary, activities of the various circles, membership roll, financial record, custody of Mrs. W. O. Jones, Sec'y', Rural Route #1, Bartow. (Treasurer's Record), 1938, 2 vols. showing all receipts and disbursements and annual report, custody of Mrs. E. B. Acres, Treasurer, 1030 East Gay St., Bartow. (Record of Circle 1.), 1940, 1 vol. showing membership roll and financial record, custody of Mrs. Vet Brown, 230 East Summerlin St., Bartow. (Record of Circle 2.), 1940, 1 vol. showing minutes of meetings, roll of members, preview of topics to be studied in near future, free will offerings, and collections, custory of Mrs. Joe Dyer, Sec'y. & Treasurer, Circle 2, Bartow. (Record of Circle 3), 1940, 1 vol. showing minutes of meetings, membership roll, preview of topics to be studied, collections and disbursements, custody of Miss Ola Fortner, Sec'y, Treas., 1030 Hibiscus Drive, Bartow.
Presbyterian Church of the United States First Presbyterian Church of the U.S.A. of Crooked Lake April 20, 1920 Defunct. 1932 White Highway #8, Babson Park, Polk County Constituted April 20, 1920. Services in home of Lindies Cody, Cody Villa, 3 miles south of Babson Park, 1920, home of Mr. H. N. Thayer until church, a white, rectangular, stucco building erected 1921, first services May 21, 1921. First settled pastor, Rev. W. C. Rommel, Jan 1921-1926. Education unknown. Last pastor, A. Craig Bowdish, 1929-Feb. 1932, Hesperides, Lake Wales, Florida; education unknown. MINUTES OF THE SESSION, 1920-1926, 1 vol. showing organization of church; minutes of session; organization of Sunday School and Woman's Auxiliary, discontinuance of Sunday School; business relative to erection of church; membership roll, showing how received, in and adult baptisms, deaths. Custody, former member, Mr. Walton R. Brewster, Webber College Office, Babson Park. RECORD, 1928-1932, 1 vol. showing minutes of Woman's Auxiliary, membership roll; disbursements to all church welfare projects; also minutes of Woman's Auxiliary of Babson Park Community Church, 1932 (see forthcoming inventory Church Archives of Florida), Custody, Woman's Auxiliary, former treasurer, Mrs. Edith Miller, Box 64, Babson Park.
Presbyterian Church of the United States The First Presbyterian Church of Waverly, Florida 1914 Defunct 1926 White 1 mile W. of Highway #8, 1 block S. of Winter Haven, Lake Wales Short Route, Waverly, Polk County Constituted in 1914. All services were held in same white, rectangular wooden building with high gable roof. Building now being used by the Church of the Nazarine. First settled clergyman, Rev. David Lander, 1916-1917. Last Clergyman, Rev. William C. Rommel, 1921-1926, Winterhaven. (Minutes of the Session), 1914-1923, 1 vol. showing date of organization, minutes of meetings, list of charter members and members later received; showing how received and how removed, election of church officers and delegates, name of the (then) acting moderator, Dr. J. F. Shepherd, historical statement about this new community organization, financial record, custody of Mr. M. M. Fraiser, member Church of the Nazarine, General Delivery, Waverly.
The Methodist Church Free Methodist Church 1912 - - White N. Kentucky Ave. and Magnolia St., Lakeland, Polk County Constituted 1912. Services in tent, Magnolia St. between Tennesse and Kentucky Aves., until church, a white, rectangular, wood building erected 1905, purchaed from Evening Lights 1913. Active organizations, Sunday School, Woman's Missionary Society. First settled pastor, E. E. Shellhammer, 1912-date unknown. Education unknown. Present pastor, G. W. Gaines, 1936, 217 E. Magnolia St., Lakeland, Florida. QUARTERLY CONFERENCE MINUTES, 1925, 1 vol. Showing minutes of meetings, reports, Custody of secretary, Sarah Webb, E. Magnolia St., Lakeland. (CHURCH REGISTER), 1925, 1 vol. Showing membership roll, baptisms, deaths. Custody of secretary, Sarah Webb, see supra. (FINANCIAL RECORDS), 1925, 1 vol. Showing receipts, disbursements. Custody of treasurer, George Overholt, Providence Road, Lakeland. SUNDAY SCHOOL RECORDS, 1925, 15 vols. Showing pupils, officers, teachers, attendance, collections, disbursements. Custody of secretary, Jack Smeltz, 706 N. Stella Ave., Lakeland. WOMAN'S MISSIONARY SOCIETY AND YOUNG PEOPLE'S MISSIONARY SOCIETY, (no dates of vols. given) (Records kept for current year and destroyed after reports are recorded in conference minutes.)
Presbyterian Church of the United States Frostproof Presbyterian Church March 27, 1924 - - White 8th St. and Palm Ave., Frost Proof, Polk County Constituted March 27, 1924, in home of Mrs. J. G. Mapey, 4th St. and Highway #8. Services in white, rectangular, wooden building, with belfry and bell erected 1913, as a Union Church, dedicated 1929, remodelled and addition of pastorium 1926, 6 Sunday School rooms, 1937, Sunday School room 1938. First settled pastor, Rev. J. E. Bird, 1924-1929. Education unknown. Present pastor, Rev. N. P. Farrior, 1932, Frostproof, Florida; Davidson College, Davidson, North Carolina; Union Theological Seminary, Richmond, Virginia. See "Presbyterian Church Oldest Institution", published in Highland News, Frostproof, Florida, 1930, two columns, in Sessional Record, custody of Mr. Luther M. Cody, 316 Wall St., Frostproof, Florida. SESSIONAL RECORD, 1924, 1 vol. Showing minutes of the session and congregation; statistical reports to the Presbytery; membership roll, including baptisms of adults and infants, and deaths; also summary of Woman's Auxiliary reports, Custody, church clerk, Luther M. Cody, 316 Wall Street, Frostproof. (TREASURER'S BOOK), 1930, 1 vol. showing receipts and disbursements, custody, church treasurer, Mr. B. H. Griffin, South Reedy Boulevard, Frostproof. IDEAL SECRETARY'S RECORD, 1935, 3 vols. showing list of Sunday School members, attendance, offerings. (WOMAN'S AUXILIARY RECORD), 1930-33, 1937, 4 vols. showing minutes; pledges, collections; annual reports to the session and to the Presbytery. 1 vol. 1937, custody, Woman's Auxiliary secretary, Mrs. J. A. Hussey, 49 Magnolia Avenue, Frostproof.
First Born Church of The Living God First Born of the Living God 1928 - - African-American So. French Avenue, third door from Fourth Street. Affiliated with General Assembly, First Born Church of the Living God, 1117 Daniel Street, Waycross, Georgia; Annual Assembly, met last in Sarasota, Florida, changes annually; District Assembly, Fort Meade District. In June, 1928, they organized in the little home of Mary E. Royal, located on the lot where her present home now stands, 312 South French Avenue, holding servies here until they moved into their church erected about two blocks south of her home, on the same avenue, the latter part of 1928. They lost this property, the mortgagor taking possession of it, but continued holding services in this building until September 1938, when they moved into the present building which they have rented. This building was erected in 1928 but not used by this congregation until Sept. 1938. This is a small wooden box building, rectangular in form, not painted - in its natural color. Have never had a settled clergyman. Earliest known clergyman, N. J. Utzy, June 1928-1930. Present clergyman, Philip Bryant, 1935, Completed Third Grade, General Delivery, Bowling Green, Florida. Preaches once a month.
Roman Catholic Holy Spirit Church 1928 - - White Vero Beach Road, (Highway #79), one mile East of Lake Wales, Polk County Language of services is Latin, affiliated with The Holy Father in Rome is the Supreme Ruler of the whole Church Most Reverend Bishop P. Barry is the Bishop of the diocese of St. Augustine, Florida. Organized as a mission in 1928, established as a parish in 1929. Organized from St. Joseph's Catholic Church, Winter Haven, Florida. They met in homes until the present church was dedicated in 1928 before opening for service. (Unable to get name of homes and dates) Dates of tenure, this is contrary to date as given in Ste. Anne Shrine Guide Book, Feb 1928. Rev. Salois stated the date given in the Guide Book is incorrect. The Holy Spirit Church, of which Ste. Anne Shrine is a mission, is self-supporting. Present building erected 1927-1928, dedicated before opening for services in 1928. Mediterranean and Mission style, hollow tile, finished in red stucco, rectangular in form. Cornerstone with the following inscription: D. O. M. ECCLESIA SPIRITUS SANCTI A. D. MCMXXVII, Hammond Electric Pipe Organ, plain altar service, circle top windows. First settled pastor, Rev. A. J. Salois, Feb. 1929, (Providence College, Providence, R. I., studied philosophy at the Seminary of Theology, Montreal, Quebec, for 2 years attended the Grand Seminary of Theology, Montreal, Quebec, completing Theology at St. Mary's Seminary, Baltimore, Maryland; Earliest known pastor, Rev. Patrick Nolan, 1928 to Feb. 1929, Education unknown; Present pastor, Rev. A. J. Salois, Feb. 1929, Box 1045, Lake Wales, Florida. A short historical sketch appeared in Ste. Anne Shrine Guide Book of 1937-1938, written by Rev. A. J. Salois, title "Holy Spirit Church", published by Rev. A. J. Salois under the direction of Brice Printing Co., Inc., Lake Wales, Florida, during the years 1937 and 1938, 1 page, located in the Parish and in many homes in Lake Wales, Florida, and other homes in the State of Florida. NO MINUTES ARE KEPT. Parish Register" 1928, 1 vol., contains a record of births, marriages, baptisms, deaths, confirmation, first communion. Located in the Rectory of the Church, and is in good condition, pastor being custodian. (The Rectory is located on a Clay Road about two blocks from the church, name of Road is not given, neither is there a number on the house.) "Cash Book", 1928, 1 vol., shows all receipts and disbursements, and reports to the Bishop of the Diocese, St. Augustine, Florida. Kept in the Rectory of the Church, located on Clay Road about two blocks from the church, and is in good condition, pastor being custodian.
The Episcopal Church Holy Trinity Church 1880 - - White East Parker Street and South Florida Avenue, Bartow, Polk County This is a unision, sponsored by the Diocese of South Florida, started c 1890. It is not known where services were held before the present church, a Gothic type, rectangular, tan with brown trim, stucco building, with altar service, pipe organ, service lights and py? was erected, 1900; consecrated, 1900; addition 1926. Present membership. Active organization: Church School, Woman's Auxiliary, Altar Guild, and Young People's Service League. First settled pastor, Rev. John Gray, 1900-03, Present pastor, Rev. Russell Carlton, April 1939, Boston Bible School, Boston; Massachusetts State Normal, Boston; New Engladn Theological Seminary, Cambridge, Massachusetts. (Church Register) 1900, 2 vols. showing members, confirmations, communicants, confirming bishops, baptisms, showing child's names, date of birth, date of baptism, names of parents, sponsors, officiating ministers; also marriages, names of parties, minister, date; burials showing names, age, last residence, cause of death, place of interment, minister, date. Gives names of Rectors since 1900, showing tenure. Custody, Rev. Russell Carlton, pastor, 405 So. Orange Ave. Bartow. (Financial Records), Jan. 1938, 1 vol. showing receipts and disbursements. Custody, E. A. Pierce, Treas., 845 So. Broadway, Bartow. (Woman's Auxiliary Secretary's Record), May, 1937-March 13, 1939, 1 vol.; June, 1939, 1 vol. Show organizations, objectives, members, business, activities, studies, money raised for church aid, Custody, vol. 1, Mrs. Caroline Redfield, Ex. Scy., 595 E. Parker St., Bartow, vol. 2, Mrs. W. A. Taylor, Scy., 915 So. Orange St. Bartow. (Woman's Auxiliary Treasurer's Record), Oct. 1932, 2 vols. (Woman's Aux. Treas. con't) showing receipts and disbursements and report to the Diocese. Custody, Mrs. Mary T. Newell, Treas., 290 East Church St., Bartow. (Secretary's Record) Jan. 24, 1934, 1 vol, Records of the Altar Guild showing organization, objectives, business activities, altar services, sick and shut-ins, money raised, reports. Custody, Mrs. Alice J. Carlton. Scy., 405 So. Orange Ave., Bartow.
The Methodist Church Homeland Methodist Church 1861 - - White Homeland, Polk County EPWORTH LEAGUE, October 1933-March 18, 1934, 1 vol. Showing membership roll, attendance, officers, minutes of meetings, reports. Custody of president, Paul E. Wilson, Jr., Box 17, Homeland. WOMAN'S MISSIONARY SOCIETY MINUTES, July 14, 1909-Nov. 5, 1909, 1915-June 1919, January 1938, 3 vols. Showing membership roll, officers, minutes of meetings, reports. Custody of recording secretary, Mrs. Lee Mitchell, Box 66, Homeland. (WOMAN'S MISSIONARY SOCIETY,), Title varies: Treasurer's Record Book, Jan. 1, 1913-Jan. 1, 1915, 1 vol.; Record and Report Book, Jan. 1, 1913-Dec. 31, 1913, 1 vol; Record and Report Book for Auxiliary Treasurer, Apr. 1, 1915-Jan. 1, 1919; Apr. 1, 1920-Dec. 31, 1933, 7 vols.; Auxiliary Treasurer's Record and Report Book, 1938, 1 vol. total 10 vols. Showing reports, receipts, disbursement. 7 vols. Jan. 1, 1913-Jan. 1, 1915,; Apr. 1, 1915-Jan. 1, 1919, April 1, 1920-Dec. 31, 1933, April 1, 1938, Custody of treasurer, Mrs. J. A. Touchton, Box 79, Homeland, 1 vol. Jan. 1, 1913-Dec. 31, 1913, custody of recording secretary, Mrs. Lee Mitchell, see supra. AUXILIARY CORRESPONDING SECRETARY AND SUPERINTENDENT'S RECORD AND REPORT BOOK, April 1, 1938, 1 vol. Showing membership roll, officers, reports, receipts, disbursements. Custody of corresponding secretary, Mrs. Bertha Boyer, Box 106, Homeland.
The Methodist Church Kathleen Methodist Church Jan. 20, 1900 - - White Polk Ave. and 2nd St., Kathleen, Polk County Constituted Jan. 20, 1900, from members of Socrum Methodist Church. Services in school building, 300 years northeast of present site, until church, a white, rectangular, wood building, erected 1905, first services Feb. 7th., dedicaded [sic] May, 7th. Present membership, 94. Active organizations, Sunday School, Woman's Missionary Society. First settled pastor, A. M. Gardner, 1906-1908. Education unknown. Present pastor, Samuel I. Hendrix, 1939, Kathleen, Florida; Florida Southern College, Lakeland, Florida; Emory University, Atlanta, Georgia. QUARTERLY CONFERENCE RECORD, Jan. 20, 1900, 3 vols. Showing minutes of meetings, reports, financial records. Custody of pastor. CHURCH REGISTER, Dec. 5, 1912, 3 vols. Showing membership roll, baptisms, deaths, vol. 1928, custody of secretary, Mrs. C. W. McCullough, Kathleen. SUNDAY SCHOOL RECORD BOOK, 1906-1933, 10 vols. Title varies, The General Secretary-Treasurer's Book, 1933, 7 vols. 17 vols. Showing pupils, officers, teachers, minutes of meetings, attendance, collections. WOMAN'S MISSIONARY SOCIETY, Auxiliary Treasurer's Record and Report Book, Dec. 29, 1939, 1 vol. Showing reports, receipts, disbursements. Custody of treasurer, Mrs. W. A. Casebier, Kathleen. (ROLL AND MINUTES OF WOMAN'S MISSIONARY SOCIETY), Samson Composition Book, Jan. 20, 1936, 1 vol. Showing minutes of meetings, membership roll, attendance, Custody of secretary-treasurer, Mrs. W. A. Casebier, see supra.
Southern Baptist Convention Lake Buffum Baptist Church 1922 - - White Rural Route #1, eight miles east of Ft. Meade, about ¼ mile east of Ft. Meade-Babson Park County Road. Affiliated with Southern Baptist Convention, Nashville, Tennessee; Florida Baptist Convention, Jacksonville, Florida; Orange Blossom Baptist Association, changes; Organized January 15, 1922; This church split from the Eden Baptist Church, sometimes known as Midland Church at that time located about 4 miles northwest of the Ft. Meade-Frostproof Road, within 3 miles of the Lake Buffum Church before this property moved to its present location. Midland church has been destroyed more than ten years. They organized in their present church building then known as the Lake Buffum School. This property, the building only, was purchased by the church sometime during the year 1922, and in the early part of 1934 was moved to its present location. Unable to get date erected as school; moved to present location in 1934. This church does not seem to have had a dedication service, but there is no indebtedness against it. First service, Jan. 1922; Windows and new metal roof in 1937, ceiled, 1938, Rostrum added 1934. Wooden frame building, unpainted, rectangular in form. No special features as yet, but gas lights are to be installed in this building by the Green Fuel Company before the third Sunday in June, 1939. This is somewhat unusual for a rural church in Florida. First settled pastor, Henry Alderman, Oct. 1929-Oct. 1934; Earliest known pastor, C. J. Page, Organizer, Jan. 1922- May 1922; Present pastor, J. N. Gilbreth, Oct. 1935, General Delivery, Lake Wales, Florida, High School; "DAY BOOK", Jan. 15, 1922-Feb. 1928, 1 vol., contains minutes of the meetings showing the organization of the church, covenant, charter members, membership roll, baptisms, election of officials, calling and dismissal of pastors, organization of Sunday School, collections. Kept in the home of former clerk-custodian, Joseph Campbell, R.R. #1, Ft. Meade, Fla., and is in fair condition. "CONVENTION CHURCH RECORD", March 1928-June 19, 1938, 1 vol., contains minutes of the meetings, calling and dismissal of pastors, election of officials. No separate register is kept. The membership roll and baptisms are shown in "Day Book", 1922-1928, 1 vol. and "Convention Church Record", March 1928-June 19, 1938, 1 vol. No marriages, births, deaths are shown. (TREASURER'S RECORD), 1935, 2 vols., show collections and expenditures. Kept in the home of the Treasurer-Custodian, Joseph Campbell, R.R. #1, Ft. Meade, Florida, and are in fair condition. No records prior to 1935 could be located. (BUILDING FUND RECORD), Feb. 1937, 1 vol., (loose leaves) contains a record of all collections for this fund, as well as an itemized account of all expenditures. Kept in the home of the Treasurer of the Building Fund, who is also Custodian, Mrs. Irene King, General Delivery (not on any Rural Route) Ft. Meade, Florida, and is in good condition. SUNDAY SCHOOL, "Record Book for Sunday School", Nov. 1928-Nov. 1930, 1 vol., contains attendance of officers, teachers, and scholars, number of visitors present, collections and expenditures, and monthly reports. Kept in the home of former Secretary-Custodian, Mrs. Zelma Pylant, R.R. #1, Ft. Meade, Fla., and is in good condition. "Convention Sunday School Record", July 1937, 2 vols., contains attendance of officers, teachers, scholars, visitors present, collections and expenditures, monthly and quarterly reports, Treasurer's account. Kept in the church, Mrs. Odessa O'Steen, General Delivery, Ft. Meade, Fla., being Secretary-Custodian, and are in good condition. Records prior to Nov. 1928 and from Dec. 1930-June 1937 could not be located. (Treasurer's Record), Oct. 1938, 1 vol., contain receipts and disbursements. Kept in the home of the Treasurer-Custodian, Lamb Lanier, R3B #1, Ft. Meade, Florida, and condition is good. No Treasurer's Record was kept prior to Oct. 1938. Information obtained from the following: Mrs. Zelma Pylant, active member; Mrs. A. E. Drawdy, former member; Mrs. A. M. Vickers, former member; Mrs. J. C. Touchton, member; Mrs. Joseph Campbell, member; J. C. Touchton, Clerk; Mrs. Irene King, Treasurer of Building Fund; Mrs. Odessa O'Steen, Sunday School Secretary, J. N. Gilbreth, pastor. The (Clerk's Record) contains minutes of the meetings only. This church has not discontinued keeping a membership roll, but no new members have been added to the church since June 1938.
Mount Enon Primitive Baptist Church Little Elam Primitive Baptist Church 1932 - - White Brewster-Bartow Road, 3 miles South of Agricola, Route #1, Fort Meade, Polk County Constituted 1932. On March 18, 1928, a few of the early members of Elam Primitive Baptist Church, Ft. Meade, withdrew and held a service in Tiger Bay school house. Next meeting April 2, 1928 was in the home of B. B. Walker. From then until June 1929, services held in Community Church, Tiger Bay. In 1929, an oblong, unpainted, frame building was erected and after the death of their pastor, church was constituted October 1932 so as to be able to join Mt. Enon Association. Present membership ?. Earliest known pastor, Elder M. Walker, March 1928-1929. First settled pastor, Elder S. S. Pickett, May 1929-June 5, 1932. Present pastor, Elder W. M. Davis, Dec. 3, 1938, General Delivery, Bowling Green. ORDER BOOK, AND LEDGER, 1928, 2 vols. Title varies: ORDER BOOK, Mar. 18, 1928-Sept. 30, 1928, June 1929, October 1935, 1 vol. LEDGER, Oct. 18, 1932, 1 vol. (MINUTES October 1932-October 1935 transcribed from ORDER BOOK into the LEDGER:) Showing reorganization of church 1932 naming church "Little Elam Church", membership roll, minutes of church conferences, baptisms, deaths. 1 vol. 1928-35, Custody of Deacon J. S. Watson, Route #1, Ft. Meade; 1 vol. Oct. 18, 1932, custody of clerk O. H. Tew, 1630 Oleander Ave., Bartow.

Visit our National Site

All data on this site is protected by copyright law with full rights reserved for original submitters.
Genealogy Trails ©2008-2015

 

Polk County Home Page | Florida Home Page | Genealogy Trails Home Page