Georgia Genealogy Trails

"Where your Journey Begins"

Early Parishes of Georgia

an excerpt from
The Story of Georgia and the Georgia People
1732 to 1860
by George Gillman Smith, D.D.
Originally published c. 1901

Transcribed by K. Torp, 2007

Early Parishes of Georgia

The State was laid off into 8 parishes in 1758, viz:

Christ Church, which included all of Chatham and the islands adjacent.
St. Matthew's, which included all of Effiingham and much of Screven.
St. George's, all of Burke, Jefferson, and a part of Screven.
St. Paul's, all of Richmond, Columbia, McDuffie, and a part of Warren.
St. John's, all of Liberty.
St. Andrew's, all the section south of the Altamaha, near Darien. (became Camden County)
St. Philip's, the section on the south side of the Ogeechee, west of Liberty. (became Glynn county)
St. James's, Frederica and the county south of it to the disputed line.

In 1765 four new parishes,
St. Patrick's, St. David's, St. Thomas's and St. Mary's, were laid out in the section south of the Altamaha, and now contained in Camden, Charlton, and the adjoining counties. These parishes were not really organized, and were such in name only.

There was a feeble effort to build a church in each of these parishes, but save the log church in Augusta and in St. George's parish I can find no evidence that any others were built.

pg. 60
The new immigration was very large. The first comers had reported so favorably of the land that great crowds of immigrants came from the older counties of Virginia and from middle and eastern North Carolina into St. Paul's, St. George's and St. Matthew's parishes. Many Scotch-Irishmean came directly from Ireland and settled in what is now Jefferson county, which was then St. George's parish. Many Marylanders came into the land on Little river, and another body of Quakers came from North Carolina, led by Mr. Jos. Mattocks, and settled near what was known as the villago of Wrightsboro. When the newly ceded lands in 1773 were opened for settlement there was at once a large immigration into that section, which was afterward known as Wilkes....

Return to the Main Index page

Return to Main Index Page