Genealogy Trails Logo

islands of hawaii

Genealogy Trails


Facts and Trivia about the State of Hawaii


State Flag



State Bird: Nene

State Dance: Hula

State Flower: Yellow Hibiscus

State Gem: Black Coral

State Individual Sport: Surfing

State Mammal: Hawaiian Monk Seal

State Marine Mammal: Humpback Whale

State Song: Hawai`i Pono`i

State Team Sport: Outrigger Canoe Paddling

State Tree: Kukui Tree


Island Colors

Hawai`i -- The official color is Red.
Maui -- The official color is Pink.
O`ahu -- The official color is Golden Yellow.
Kaua`i -- The official color is Purple.
Moloka`i -- The official color is Green.
Lana`i -- The official color is Orange.
Ni`ihau -- The official color is White.
Kaho`olawe -- The official color is Gray.


*The state of Hawaii consists of eight main islands: Niihau, Kauai, Oahu, Maui, Molokai, Lanai, Kahoolawe and the Big Island of Hawaii.

*Hawaii is the only state that grows coffee.

*More than one-third of the world's commercial supply of pineapples comes from Hawaii.

*Hawaii has its own time zone. 

*There are four counties in Hawaii (Kauai; city and county of Honolulu; Maui; and Hawaii).

*Hawaii is the only U.S. state whose majority of people are non-white

*Electric lights illuminated Iolani Palace four years before the White house had them.

*Hawaii has the oldest school west of the Rocky Mountains. It was founded in Lahaina in 1831.


Visit Genealogy Trails

© Genealogy Trails