Illinois Genealogy Trails

Welcome to this
Carroll County Illinois
Genealogy Trails Website

Our goal is to help you track your ancestors through time by transcribing genealogical and historical data and placing it online for the free use of all researchers

We will need to do some re-organizationof this website since there are some technical issues which need repair, but the data will remain available.  The first step of getting this index page under control has begun --- the data which had been listed individually is now sorted into index pages by type.  Hopefully that will make this page easier to navigate and it will help us to continue to add new data.

Also please note that going forward, we will not be accepting individual family trees or family photos.


We regret that we are unable to do personal research for anyone.
All data we come across will be added to this site.
We thank you for visiting and hope you'll come back again to view the updates we make to this site.

Happy Trails to you on your quest for your ancestors.


Carroll County
Carroll County was formed in 1839 out of Jo Daviess County.
The county is named for Charles Carroll who signed the Declaration of Independence. Carroll, who died in 1832, was the last signer to die.

The county seat is Mount Carroll

The historical town of Savanna is here in Carroll County right on the Mississippi River. When the trains and riverboats rules this town was a hustle and bustle of excitement and adventure. People from far and wide passed through Savanna, some moved on but many left their mark. Further inland is the county seat of Mt. Carroll, complete with a Courthouse Square. The city of Mt. Carroll, although up to date and progressive, is still a place where time stands still. The brick streets can still be found, the old buildings and stores are still used. A drive through town makes you feel like you would want to live there.

 Lanark * Mt. Carroll * Savanna
 Milledgeville * Chadwick * Shannon * Thomson

Carroll County is divided into these twelve townships:
Cherry Grove-Shannon * Elkhorn Grove * Fairhaven * Freedom * Mount Carroll * Rock Creek-Lima *
Salem * Savanna * Washington * Woodland * Wysox * York

View Township Map


Check your attics!
Dust off your family scrapbooks!
We're looking for DATA for this site!!!

If you would like to submit data for this site,
Email Us with your submissions.



Census Records

Death Records

Family Bibles and Records

History Topics

Marriage Records

Newspaper Gleanings

Obituaries and Death Notices

School Records

Wills/Probate Records


Search This site The web

search engine by freefind

In memory of
Christine Walters
who hosted this county for many years.



Submit an Obituary to Us

for any of our county sites.


Join our
Genealogy Trails Illinois Trails
Mailing List
to get email notices when our county sites are updated.

Mt. Carroll Twp. Library

Carroll County Probates
Carroll County Circuit Clerk
ID = Probate  Password = cccc


Adjacent Counties
Stephenson County - northeast
Ogle County - east
Whiteside County - south
Jo Daviess County - northwest
Clinton County, Iowa - southwest
Jackson County, Iowa - west

 Illinois Genealogy Trails
Visit the Illinois State Page

Genealogy Trails
Visit our National Genealogy Trails Site

All data on this website is © Copyright by Genealogy Trails with full rights reserved for original submitters.

website statistics