Illinois Genealogy Trails History GroupHenry County, Illinois

Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois

Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885

 SURNAMES - C

(listed Alphabetically)

 

part of the Genealogy Trails Group

 

 

Hiram J. CADY, a retired agriculturist, resident of Geneseo, is a pioneer of Henry County of 1837. His father, John CADY, in 1836, located 560 acres of land in the township of Geneseo, or rather in that portion of Henry County which was named so. The son came here to settle on the property, and located on the southeast quarter of section 15.

He is a native of Alexander, Genesee Co., N.Y., and was born Nov. 15, 1814. The maiden name of the mother was Anna JOHNS. The farm still owned by Mr. CADY contains 245 acres. It is a valuable place, and is in excellent condition for profitable farming. It is conducted by one of the sons of Mr. CADY. He remained the occupant of the place until March, 1881, when he removed to Geneseo, to pass the sunset of his years of effort. He has been an adherent of the Republican party since the days of its organization.

Mr. CADY was united in marriage with Mary BARTLETT, Aug. 19, 1841. Her father, Cromwell K. BARTLETT, was a member of the Geneseo Colony, and one of the committee that entered the land in behalf of that organization. (An account of the operations of that body is presented in another portion of this work.) Mrs. CADY was born in Ames, Montgomery Co., N.Y., and is the mother of three children, two sons and a daughter: Allen married Ella FRENCH, and resides at Geneseo; Carl M. married Clara HEFFELFINGER, and they reside on the homestead; and Nellie C. is the wife of M.A. GREENE, of Colorado; the oldest child of Mr. and Mrs. CADY died Dec. 16, 1843; she was born March 14, preceding. The parents are members of the Congregational Church. The oldest son and the daughter belong to the same communion, and the younger son is connected with the Methodist Church.  [Source: pg 276-277. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]

George W. CAHOW, agent of the American Express Company at Kewanee, was born at Akron, Ohio, Aug. 24, 1830. His parents, George and Nancy (HOGUE) CAHOW, natives respectively of the State of Maryland and Dublin Harbor, were married in Ohio, where their two sons were born. The senior Mr. CAHOW, who was a farmer and came to Illinois in 1858, lived at the village of Cambridge the rest of his life, dying in 1863, at the age of 70 years. HIs wife died in Ohio, in 1841, at the age of 33 years.

George W. the subject of our sketch, after a few months' attendance at the public schools of his native State, found it impracticable in his circumstances to devote the time necessary to the acquirement of an education; so he was compelled to begin life for himself with but a scant knowledge of books. At this writing, however, one has to but to meet him to know tha the has not let the weeds grow in his mind. He has read, he has studied, he has worked and he has accomplished much. At the age of 18, he learned the potter's trade at Middleburg, Ohio, and followed it afterward a few years.

In 1855 he landed in Tiskilwa, Bureau Co., Ill., and in 1858 he came to Cambridge, this county, where he farmed about four years, moving thence to Kewanee, where he engaged in the grocery business up to 1866. In December of the last named year he was appointed agent by the American Express Company, a position he has since filled, with much credit to himself and to the entire satisfaction of his employers. Mr. CAHOW belongs to the Orders of Masons and Odd Fellows; is not an office-seeker nor an offensive partisan, though a substantial Democrat. Since coming here, he has served the people three or four terms as Town Trustee, which constitutes the sum of his office-holdings.

He was married at New Portage, Ohio, in August, 1854, to Miss Mary SMITH, a native of that town, and their only child, Anna, is an accomplished young lady teacher in the Kewanee public schools.  [Source: pg 639. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885].

Thomas CAIN, a farmer of section 29, Clover Township, was born on the Isle of Man, Nov. 10, 1850, and in emigration to thes country he arrived in Altona, Ill., April 29, 1868. He was brought up to agricultural labor, received a common-school education, and at Altona he commenced to work upon a farm for his uncle, David PATTY; but after the expiration of about five months he was severely attacked with typhoid fever, which laid him up for ten weeks; the next summer he worked for nine months upon a farm in this county, and then went to Galva, where he was a farm laborer two years. In 1885 he purchased an 80-acre farm in Clover Township, upon section 29, where he is now a resident. He has some very fine horses and some grade cattle.

Mr. CAIN is a Republican, is a School Director, and has held other offices in his township. He is a very benevolent man as well as enterprising, and both himself and his wife belong to the Methodist Episcopal Church.

He was united in the bonds of matrimonty in 1872, to Miss Bathia E. RINER, a native of Ohio, and they have six children: Elizabeth A., William T., Martha J., Coar A., Blanche M. and Nellie G.  [Source: pg 213. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]

J.V. CALDWELL, the leading apiarist of Henry County, is a farmer in the township of Cambridge and is located on section 5. He was born Dec. 26, 1847, in the city of Philadelphia, and is the son of Edward and Anna (HUTCHINSON) CALDWELL. His parents are natives of the Quaker City and are now living in Burns Township, in Henry County. They came to Illinois in the fall of 1856. They have four children: John V., Mrs. Sarah HOWE, Mrs. Emma McCULLOH and Mrs. A.R. KING. The latter is the wife of the Judge of Delta Co., Col.

The CALDWELL family is of Scotch origin and Irish birth, belonging to the class distinquished as "Scotch-Irish." The first ancestor, John CALDWELL, came to the United States in 1812. He located in Philadelphia, where he pursued his business as a dentist until his death. He married Ann VOLLUM, who was born in Philadelphia, and was a daughter of Edward and rachel (SOPER) VOLLUM. Her parents were natives of the part of the State of Maryland known as the Eastern Shore. That portion of that commonwealth for a long period of years had no municipal divisions. Her father and mother were respectively of Scotch and Welsh descent, and their married life covered a periof of 80 years. Her father lived to be 106, and he had been for 80 years a member of the Methodist Church. The mother died at 99. She is the mother of four children, named James, Edward, John and Robert.

After the death of Mr. CALDWELL his widow was again married to James Hutchinson, and had three children. They were named William, Mary and Henry. She is yet living in Philadelphia and is 86 years of age. The mother of Mr. CALDWELL, Ann (HUTCHINSON) CALDWELL, was born in Philadelphia, and is a daughter of James and Anna (SCOTT) HUTCHINSON. She is of Irish extraction.

Mr. CALDWELL was brought up on Henry County and has passed his life principally in farming. Since 1879 he has devoted much time to the culture of bees. He is noted for his skill in that line of business and keeps 180 colonies. He ships the product of the hives chiefly to Boston. His farm contains 80 acres of land under good cultivation. He is an adherent of the Republican party and has served in the capacity of Collector. He is a member of the Order of Masonry and a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church.

His marriage to Mary L. FUNKHOUSER took place Dec. 24, 1873. Mrs. CALDWELL was born March 30, 1854, in Beaver Co., Pa., and she is a daughter of Jacob and Hannah (BALDWIN) FUNKHOUSER. Her parents were natives of the same State in which she was born. Edward V. and Alice Edna are the children of the household.  [Source: pg 666 & 667. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]

Andrew CALHOUN, residing on section 5, Galva Township, was born May 1, 1824, near Lisford, County Donegal, Ireland, is of Scotch extraction and a son of Robert and Mary (GALBRAIGTH) CALHOUN. His mother died in Ireland, and his father emigrated to the United States, locating in Galva, this county, where he died, aged 76 years, leaving a family of four children, three sons and one daughter.

Andrew CALHOUN was married in Bellendrait Church, Ireland, May 3, 1848, to Miss Mary GALBRAITH, born near Londonderry, Ireland, Feb. 13, 1826. She was a daughter of Hugh and Susan (WEIR) GALBRAITH, who were prominent people in that country, and of Scotch extraction, their grand-parents having come from Scotland. Mrs. CALHOUN had three brothers and five sisters, of whom two of the former and three of the latter are now living. The CALHOUN and GALBRAITH families were Protestants, being members of the Presbyterian Church of Scotland. Three weeks after their marriage, Mr. and Mrs. CALHOUN sailed for the United States. After a journey of 45 days on the ocean, they landed at Philadelphia, where they lived for nine years, he working at the business of draying, and having a considerable number of men employed. He came West in March, 1857, and settled in Galva Township, this county, first near Toulon, Stark County, and in 1864 purchasing 160 acres of land on section 5, Galva Township, where he at present resides. He is at present the proprietor of 400 acres of land, which he has succeeded in obtaining by his own indomitable energy, economy and good judgment, and the major portion of which is in an advanced state of cultivation. In 1885, in company with his daughter, Prudence, Mr. CALHOUN went to the old country. He arrived in Ireland in June, of this year, visited his relatives and the old landmarks which he remembered in the days gone by, and, after passing a very pleasant vacation, again returned home to this country, arriving here in the latter part of August of the same year.

The children of Mr. and Mrs. CALHOUN are as follows: Mary A., Margaret J., wife of Thomas W. PATTERSON; Andrew G., Prudence, Rebecca, wife of James A. AYERS; Hugh A., William J., deceased; Susan E., William W., Henry C. and Frederick C. Mrs. CALHOUN, together with her daughters, Mary A., Susan E. and Prudence, are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Mr. CALHOUN, politically, votes with the Greenback party. He has filled the minor township offices, and has held that of Road Commissioner for seven years. [Source: pg 395. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]

Anson CALKINS, residing on section 21, Oxford Township, where he is livin in retirement from the active labors of the farm, which vocation he has pursued all his life, is a native of New York, having been born in Columbia County, that State, Nov. 14, 1818. The parents of Mr. Calkins were Elijah and Philena (COLEMAN) CALKINS, natives of New York and Connecticut respectively, and whose family comprise ten children.

Anson was the fifth child in order of birth of his parent's family, with whom he continued to reside until he attained the age of majority. He received a good education in the district schools of his native county, and assisted his father in the labors of the farm until he was 18 years of age. He then engaged to learn the carpenter's trade, and gave to his parents all wages that he received until he was 21 years of age, and up to the time that he left home. Upon becoming his own man he worked at his trade in his native State until 1841, when he came to Henry County, this State, and located on the identical tract of land on which he at present resides.  He at first procured 40 acres, subsequently 40 more, then 80 acres additional, and still later has increased his acreage until he is at present the proprietor of 678 acres of land. Mr. CALKINS may truly be considered a pioneer settler of Oxford Township, this county. Coming here in 1841, he found the county new and undeveloped, but his good judgment told him that in the near future it would all be settled, and what was then in its natural condition would become the fine agricultural district that it is to-day. He consequently held on to his land, and by incessant toil and economy added to his original 40 acres until he is to-day the proprietor of a fine estate. His accumulations of real estate in the county is attributable to his own indomitable energy, good judgment and economy; and, looking back over the history of the past, he realizes that his predictions have been fullfilled even beyond his expectations. He resides to-day on his fine estate in Oxford Township, retired from the active labors of a life of toil, and is enjoying the comforts which the present attributes to the labor of the past.

Mr. CALKINS was married to Miss Hulda GRIFFIN, a native of Massachusetts, in 1847. Their union has been blessed by the birth of five children, living: Myra P., wife of A.A. SHAW; Mary E., who married Ira K. FRANKENBERGER; James P., who married Mary E. KEER; John F., the husband of Alvira J. ELLIOTT; and Winfield C., who was united in marriage to Anna O. KEER. Mr. CALKINS votes with the Republican party. He has held various offices within the gift of the community in which he resides, and was the first Assessor of the township after its organization. He has made all the improvements visible upon his farm, such as buildings, fences, setting out an orchard, ornamental trees, etc., and has a fine evergreen grove of five acres upon his farm.  [Source: pg 355-356. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]    

Leonard C. CAMPBELL, City Clerk of Geneseo and Justice of the Peace, has been a resident of the county since 1860. He was born Oct. 6, 1816, in Malone, Franklin Co., N.Y. His father, the Hon. James CAMPBELL was a native of Bellows Falls, Vt., being born June 3, 1784, and died when within four months of this 100th  birthday. He was of Scotch lineage, and reached distinction in military life and as an official in prominent positions. He was an officer in the War of 1812, and served through the entire course of that contest, becoming in his later life a pensioner on account of the services he rendered. He was for a considerable number of years the Sheriff of Franklin County, and was afterward made Judge. He was a prominent member of the New York Legislature in the session of the winter of 1828-9. Politically, he was a Whig until the days of Van Buren, and after that period he was in sympathy with the Democratic element. In his habits he was a man of remarkable simplicity, and his vigor was preserved narly to the close of his long life. He married Maria CHAPMAN, who was of Scotch-Irish origin.

Mr. CAMPBELL was educated in his native county, and one of his school-mates was the man who afterward became the Vice-President of the United States, - Wm. A. Wheeler. On entering business life he engaged in mercantile pursuits at Ogdensburg, N.Y., and operated there from 1834 to 1855. While there he was married, June 20, 1841, to Sarah, daughter of Isaac and Sally WRIGHT. She was born in Ogdensburg, Feb. 19, 1819. Mr. and Mrs. CAMPBELL had two children, born in the city where the birth of the mother occurred. Leonard W. is the general traveling freight agent of the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul Railroad; he married Frank E. ADAMS, and is a resident of Chicago; James C. is in the employment of the Northern Pacific Railroad.

in 1855 Mr. CAMPBELL removed to Chicago, where he was interested in the transportation and commission business about five years. In April, 1860, he came to Geneseo, in the interests of the Chicago & Rock Island Railroad, and he acted in the capacity of agent for that corporation. He also operated as a purchaser and shipper of grain, and continued his connection with both lines of business six years. Meanwhile, the affairs at the railroad office at Joliet had fallen into a perplexing tangle through the dishonest management of an agent, and he was sent there as an adjuster and remained until he had placed everything in good order. His next relation was with the Chicago Stock Yards as cashier and disbursing agent during their construction; and while connected with the enterprise over a million dollars passed through his hands. He was occupied there about one year, and returned to Geneseo, where he again operated as a dealer in grain. In the beginning of his connection with politics Mr. CAMPBELL was what then termed a "Silver-Grey Whig," but through the evolutions of the politial questions from which the Republican party was evolved he became an adherent of th enew organization, and has since continued its devoted and constant ally.

In 1867 he was elected Police Magistrate at Geneseo, a position to which he was again elected until he had discharged its duties,-an aggregrate of nine years. Since that time he has held the position of Justice of the Peace nine years. In 1884 he was elected City Clerk, and is the present incumbent.

One daughter was born after the removal of the family to the West. She is the wife of George NEWLAND, a farmer of Osco Townshp. Mrs. CAMPBELL is a communicant in the Epsicopal Church. [Source: pg 244 & 247. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]

Rev. Erland CARLSSON, Pastor of the Swedish Evangelical Lutheran Church, at Andover, is one of the most widely known gentlemen of his nationality in America. Few men have exerted greater influence for good over their fellow men than has Rev. Mr. CARLSSON. He has a splendid record, and one which we shall not at, tempt to elaborate in this sketch, but merely give the more prominent features of his great workds among his people in behalf of religion and education. He was born in Sweden, Aug. 24, 1822, and graduated at the University of Lund, in 1844, and was ordained to the holy ministry by the Bishop of Wexio, in June, 1849.

After five years of faithful service in the Established Church (the Lutheran) of Sweden, with royal permission he left his native country, in June, 1853, coming to America. He at once proceeded to Chicago, arriving there in August of the same year. He took charge of the Immanuel Swedish Lutheran Congregration, which had been organized in that city in the same year, and consisted of a few poor Swedish emigrants. His remarkable career in that city is best told by the simple record of his pastorate of 22 years for his congregation. Commencing, as above stated, with a handful of poor Swedish emigrants, and without influence, during Mr. CARLSSON's services, his congregation became one of the largest Protestant Churches in Chicago. In the spring of 1875, he accepted a call to Andover,w here he is at present located.

Rev. Erl. CARLSSON has not only labored most efficiently as Pastor, but has taken a prominent part in the general affairs of the Swedish Lutheran Church of this country. For many years he has been the President of the Swedish Lutheran Illinois Conference, and at present is the President of the Scandinavian Evangelical Lutheran Augustana Synod of North America. When the Rev. CARLSSON arrived in Chicago there were only two Swedish Lutheran pastors and six Swedish Lutheran congregations in this country, but now the Synod of which he is President numbers 214 ministers, and 460 congregations, with a membership of 102,413, and now extends in territory from the Atlantic to the Pacific ope. Mr. CARLSSON is also the Chairman of the Board of Missions of this Synod, and also Chairman of the Board of DIrectors of the Augustana College and Theological Seminary at Rock Island. He is also connected with many other boards and important committees. He is a thoroughly competent man, eminently capable of taking charge of the extensive religious and educational affairs with which he has been connected. He has always taken the deepest interest and a most prominent part in the education of the Swedes, and in making them true Christians and good American citizens.

It is with pleasure that we present in the Album the portrait of a man so widely as well as so intimately connected with that large and respectable element, the Swedes, which we find in this county. His influence, however, is by no means confined by the boundaries of Henry County, or by the borders of Illinois even, but is largely exerted, and always for good, in every Swedish colony or settlement in the country.  [Source: pg 711. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]

Hugh G. CARSON, a pioneer of Henry County, and long an active farmer, but now living in retirement at Kewanee, was born in Salt Township, Wayne Co., Ohio, May 22, 1823. His parents, John and Elizabeth (BACKMASTER) CARSON, natives of Pennsylvania and of Scotch-Irish and English extraction respectively, were married in Wayne Co., Ohio, where seven of their eight children (four sons and four daughters) were born, the eighth having been born in Henry Co., Ill. At this writing (July, 1885) three of the sons and on of the daughters are living.

The senior Mr. CARSON was in his life-time a farmer, and brought his sons up to that vocation. The family came into Illinois in 1836 and settled on a farm of 160 acres, in Wethersfield Township, about three and one-half miles from where Kewanee now stands. Upon this farm the two old people (though neither of them was very old) spent the reminder of their lives. Mr. CARSON died in 1841, at the age of 43 years, and his widow in 1850, aged 50 years. At the time of his death Mr. C. was filling the offices of Justice of the Peace and County Commissioner. After his father's death, Hugh G. became the main stay of the family, and to his credit be it said he discharged his duties faithfully. In 1846 he purchased the interests of his brothers and sisters in and to the old homestead, and thereon began life for himself. In 1861 he quit farming and removed to town, but in 1865 returned to the old place and there lived until March, 1881, when he finally retired to the village of Kewanee. the CARSONs were truly pioneers of this part of Henry County. The Kilvington family, with whom Robert Coltis was living, werethe only people in this part of the country at that time, though two or three other families followed later in the fall. The postoffice was at LaFayette, Stark County.

Mr. CARSON was married in Burns Township, this county, Dec. 14, 1843, to Miss Emily Ann DOTY, daughter of Timothy DOTY, deceased, and a native of Ohio. Their children bear the following names: Mary E., John H., who was a soldier in the late war, a member of Co. F., 124th Ill. Vol. Inf., and served three years. He is now running a stock ranch in Nebraska; Sarah S., widow of William T. ORR; Florence G. died Sept. 10, 1878, and was the wife of Samuel R. PARKER; Rosa V. (MRs. O.W. SMITH, of Valparaiso, Ind.); Franklin R., D.D. S., La Porte, Ind.; and Ida N.

In politics, up to 1856, Mr. CARSON had been a Democrat, but in that year he assisted in the organization of a Fremont club, and has ever since been a Republican. He is a member of the Congregational Church, a Freemason and a citizen respected by all who know him. [Source: pg 613 & 614.. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]

George A. CARTER, supervisor of Edford Township, has been a land-holder in Henry County since 1865-6. He was born March 1, 1845, in Ashland Co., Ohio. His parents, Leander and Nancy (RICHISON) CARTER, were natives of the State of Vermont, and they settled soon after their marriage in the Buckeye State. The date of their removal there was 1835. the father was a farmer, and he died on his farm in Ohio, in 1878. The family included nine children. Eight still survive.

 Mr. CARTER was reared to manhood in his native county. In the days of his youth he was an attendant at the public schools,and as soon as his size and strenght permitted he made himself useful on the home farm. Just before he attained his majority he came to Henry County, as has been stated. Associated with P.H. Beveridge, he bought 400 acres of land on sections 34 and 35 in Edford Township, and has since been a resident of the same township. Mr. Beveridge was for a time a resident of the township, but is now a business man in the city of Chicago. Mr. CARTER is the resident manager of the estate. While living in Henry County, Mr. Beveridge was one of the ablest and most useful citizens, and served as County Treasurer two terms. Mr. CARTER has been engaged to a considerable extent in the business of a stock-grower and general farmer. The property of 400 acres is all in improved condition and supplied with all suitable farm fixtues. The buildings are of excellent type and include all that are necessary on a first-class stock-farm.

Mr. CARTER was married Feb. 23, 1881, to Miss Sarah BEVERIDGE. Mrs. CARTER was born in Ashland, Ohio, was a daughter of Peter and Ann (WATT) BEVERIDGE, and her parents were natives of Aberdeen, Scotland.

In political faith, Mr. CARTER is a Republican, and he has been in active public life in the affairs of his township for some years. He has served as Justice of the Peace four years. [Source: pg 307 & 308. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]

John N. CARTER, a retired farmer, residing on section 14, Galva Township, was born Jan. 29, 1829, in Ashland Co., Ohio, his paternal ancestors being derived from Scotland. His grandfather, Carter, settled in Pennsylvania, where he was a farmer, and he finally died in Ohio. His son, William CARTER, was born in the latter State, was also a farmer, came to Galva about 1855, and died there, at the age of 74 years. His wife was Margaret CASEBEER, who was born in Ohio, and is yet living, aged 85 years. Of her 16 children, the following are living: Daniel, Nancy, Mary A., Leanna, John N., Eliza Jane, Wesley, George, Charles and Clarissa.

Mr. CARTER, whose name heads this sketch, was reared until he was 10 years of age in Ashland Co., Ohio; in 1839 he came to Stark Co., Ill., where, after he commenced in life for himself, he purchased 80 acres of land in partnership with his father; he sold this, and afterward bought other land in this county, where he now owns 200 acres of land in Burns Township, and 20 acres of Galva Township, on section 14, where he now resides. He came here in the fall of 1882, to enjoy a life of retirement as the fruits of a well-earned competency, and also to educate his children. In his political views he is a Greenbacker.

The marriage of Mr. CARTER took place Jan. 9, 1859, in this county, when for his wife he chose Miss Abby A. DECKER, who was born Feb. 27, 1841, in New Jersey, opposite New York city. Her parents were John I. and Abigail (DECKLAND) DECKER, natives also of the State of New Jersey, and of English extraction. Her mother died in this county, but her father is still living in Kansas, aged 70 years.

Mr. and Mrs. CARTER have had nine children, eight of whom are living: Alba, John, William, Sherman, Ella, Ada, George, Paulina and Maud (deceased). [Source: pg 613. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]

Lee CHAMBERLIN, stock buyer and shipper, located at Alpha, was born in Morrow Co., Ohio, Aug. 11, 1845. His parents, who were John and Mary (TITUS) CHAMBERLIN, were natives of New Jersey and Pennsylvania respectively, came to Illinois in the year 1850, and settled in Whiteside County, near Morrison. They remained there for three years, when they moved into Henry County, locating in Oxfrd Township, where they purchased a quarter of section 32. To this they subsequently added 80 acres. In 1883 they sold out their Henry County property and removed to Iowa, settling in Taylor County.

Lee, of whom we write, remained until 23 years of age with his parents, receiving during that time a good education in the ordinary branches. His first enterprise after leaving home was to embark in farming on a rented place in Oxford Township; here he remained for five years. In 1874 his mother died, when he returned to the old homestead and worked the farm until 1883. At taht time he came into Alpha village to live, where he has since been engaged in buying and selling stock. Here he is well known and respected, and is recognized as one of the leading citizens of the place.

During the year 1869 an important event occurred in the lives of Miss Urania M. BUNDY and Mr. Lee Chamberlin. This was their union in the holy bonds of matrimony. Their home has been blessed with three children, to whom they have given the following names: Howard E., Mary B. and Clarence H. [Source: pg 382. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]

Samuel CHAMBERLAIN has been a resident of Geneseo since March, 1856. He is well known throughout a large section of Western Illinois for his efforts in the way of improving the breeds of horses, and has been of more practical benefit in this direction than any other man within this or in adjacent counties.

He was born in Charlton, Mass., April 16, 1820, and is the son of Jason and Polly (GIBBS) CHAMBERLAIN. He was reared to manhood in the Bay State, and was there married, Nov. 7, 1843, to Delliza REYNOLDS. Mrs. CHAMBERLAIN was born in Charlton, worcester Co., Mass., and is the daughter of James  and Dolly (VINTON) REYNOLDS. Dulcenia is the name of the only child of Mr. and Mrs. CHAMBERLAIN. SHe was born in the same place as her parents.

In 1855 Mr. CHAMBERLAIN removed to Moline, in the county of Rock Island, and in the year following fixed his residence in Geneseo. Since coming to the latter place he has been continuously engaged in the business in which he is at present interested. The stock he leeps is justly celebrated for its merits and his stables commonly exhibit from seven to ten animals of superior type and pure thoroughbreds of registered and acknowledged reputation. [Source: pg 461 & 462. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]

Rev. Jason CHAPIN, deceased, was one of the pioneer clergyman of Geneseo. He was born at Newport, N.H., in 1801. He received his literary education at Amherst College, and acommplished his theologica course at Andover Theological Seminary, and was graduated from the latter. In early life he was engaged in teaching, and, later, went to Ohio as a home missionary. He passed a few years there in that occupation, and went thence to New York.

His next removal was to Geneseo, whither he came in 1840, to accept the position of Principal of the Geneseo Seminary. He was the incumbent of the situation nearly six years, or until failing health compelled him to relinquish the post. His death occurred Sept. 11, 1846. He was a man of fine culture, and possessed abilities of more than ordinary type. He was a consistent Christian and an earnest advocate and supporter of all that was calculated to elevate and improve humanity. His political sympathies were with the Republica party, and he cast his vote in its behalf.

Mr. CHAPIN was married at Ware, Mass., Oct. 4, 1831, to Miss Caroline SNOW. She is the daughter of Eli and Alice (ALDEN) SNOW, and was born in Hampshire Co., Mass. Her mother was a lineal descendant of the historic pair at Plymouth, John Alden and Priscilla Molines (or MUllens), who discussed the claims of the "laggard in love," Captain Miles Standish, which resulted in the question of the lady in the case, "Why don't you speak he first-born child died in infancy. Florilla is the wife of Henry CANDEE, a retired manufacturer of Moline, Ill. Emily is the librarian fo the Geneseo Library. Alice C. is at present a resident at Geneseo. She has been teacher in the Indianapolis Kindergarten.

The widow of Mr. CHAPIN was married July 24, 1849, to Rev. William T. ALLAN. She is again a widow, and is still living at the homestead in Geneseo. [Source: pg 354. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]

John W. CHAPMAN, father of Chapman Brothers, editors of the Chronicle, published at Cambridge, was born Feb. 10, 1835, in Madison, Ind. He is the son of John and Mary A. (McKIN) CHAPMAN, who were natives of the State of Ohio. The family to which he belongs is of English extraction, his grandfather, John CHAPMAN, having descended from that nationality. The latter was a resident of Lancaster Co., Pa. His son John was the father of five children, - Elizabeth V., Henry C., William (deceased), John W. and M. Frances.

John CHAPMAN, Sr., was born in Ohio, and died in Madison, Ind., in 1841, at the age of 41. In early life he was a boatman on the Ohio River, and in later years he was a magistrate in the city of Madison. He also served as City Marshal and as City  Assessor. He was a man of excellent abilities and was the recipient of general esteem.

His son, John W. CHAPMAN, was reared in Madison, and there made himself ready for the contest of life by learning the trade of wagon-maker. March 2, 1858, he was married to Catherine STURGIS. She was the daughter of Levick and Mary (SIMONS) STURGIS, and died Oct. 25, 1883, at the age of 45. The three children to whom she gave birth are living, and are named William O., J. Harvey and Emma E. Mr. CHAPMAN afterward removed to Indianapolis, where he followed his trade for eight years. In April, 1876, he came thence to Cambridge, and has since been occupied in the pursuit of his vocation here.

His sons were educated in the public schools of Indianapolis, and began their acquaintance with journalism in that city, in the capacity of newsboys, which was their occupation while attending school. In the year succeeding that in which the family came to Cambridge, William O. CHAPMAN, of the Chronicle, entered the office of that journal, then in the hands of George C. Smithe, and began to obtain a knowledge of the trade of a printer. He passed one year subsequently in Rock Island and at Davenport working at his trade. When Harvey CHAPMAN reached the age of 14, he became at attache of the Chronicle office, where he also learned his trade. February 1, 1885, the two brothers took charge of the paper, and are engaged in its successful management. [Source: pg 551 & 552. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]

William S. CHARLES. One of the very earliest pioneers of this part of Illinois, is William S. CHARLES, an Englishman by birth, having been born in London, Nov. 1, 1813. He has, however, passed all of his active business career in this country. Whe he was quite young his parents moved to Wales, where he lived until 1832, when he crossed the ocean for America. For four years he remained in the East, most of the time in New York, and in 1837 came West and located in what is now Stark Co., Ill.  At this early period the face of the white man was rarely seen upon the broad, unbroken prairies of Northern Illinois. Mr. CHARLES was a sturdy young man and endured the hardships and privations which are necessary accompaniments of pioneer life, nobly. He did no remain in Stark County long, however, for in the autumn of 1840 we find him on his way to Henry County, and in Burns Township he made a location, being one of the very earliest pioneers, not only in Burns Township but also in Henry County. He now resides on section 32, where he owns a good farm of 200 acres of land.

The year before he left Stark County, April 18, 1839, his marriage to Miss esther L. STODDARD occurred. This was the first marriage ceremony that was performed within the borders of Stark County, which fact in itself tells of the unsettled condition of that country when Mr. CHARLES and Miss Stoddard carried on their courtship. His wife was a native of Goshen, Conn., and was born on the 6th of October, 1815. For many a year they traveled together along the journey of life, but on the 5th of May, 1879, this union was broken by the death of Mrs. CHARLES. Her demise occurred at her home in Burns Township. Five children had come to bless their home in those early pioneer days, only one of whom, however, is living. Their names are George S., Elizabeth M., Frank H., Rhoda I. and Mary A. Elizabeth is the only one now living.

Mr. CHARLES has been a prominent, active pioneer and citizen, and has acted as School Director, and in other positions has served the public. Politically, he is a Republican. [Source: pg 371 & 372. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]

T.H CHESLEY, present proprietor and editor of the Kewanee Courier, was born in Walden, Caledonia Co., Vt., Oct. 22, 1857. He was educated at the public schools of Vermont, and at the age of 16 years began the printer's trade at Lyndon, that State. He completed his trade on the Green Mountain Freeman, a paper printed at Montpelier, Vt., and came West, landing in Kewanee in 1877. In company with his brother, he leased the Courier from C.N. Whitney in 1879, and became its sole owner in 1882. Almost all his life has been spent in a newspaper office, the minutes details wereof are as familiar to him as the alphabet. He is thoroughly a practical printer, a graceful and elegant writer, a courteous gentleman, and full of promise for the future.

His father, Albert CHESLEY, died in 1867, and his mother, Lucretia (SMITH) CHESLEY, came West in 1878, and his since resided in Kewanee.

Mr. CHESLEY was married in Kewanee, in the fall of 1881, to Miss Mamie WHITNEY, the accomplished daughter of the former proprietor of the Courier and has had born to him two children-Merton adn Willis F.

In politics Mr. C. is a staunch Republican; in religion he is liberal, and the only secret order to which he belongs is the I.O.O.F. [Source: pg 485. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]

Leander CHILBERG, engagedin general farming and stock-raising on section 19, Lynn Township, where he has located his residence, is a native of Sweden, in which country he was born, Dec. 12, 1845. His father, N.M. CHILBERG, was also a native of Sweden, and a shoemaker by trade. He was married in that country to Margaret E. BERGESON. The family emigrated to the United States when the subject of this notice was but three years of age. They located in Swedona, where the parents are at present residing, and where the father was engaged in working at his trade for a period of 16 years. He then purchased the tract of land on which Leander is at present residing, but subsequently sold the same to his son, and is now living in retirement at Swedona. He and his family came to this county in 1849, being the first family of his nationality who located in Mercer County. He and his wife are connected with the Swedish Lutheran Church, of which denomination he was Trustee for many years.

Leander CHILBERG resided at home, alternating his labors on the farm with attendance at the district schools until he attained his majority. One year after that event, when 22 years of age, he was married to Miss Amanda KINSEY, in Richland Grove Township, Mercer County, the date of the ceremony being Sept. 24, 1867. She was a daughter of Warner and Ann (FRENCH) KINSEY, natives of Pennsylvania and New Jersey respectively, of American parentage and of Welsh and English extraction, and members of the Society of Friends. Her parents were married in Burlington Co., N.J., and a few years thereafter came to this State, locating in Mercer County at a time when the same was very meagerly settled, the date thereof being 1841.

They located in Richland Grove Township, and it was there that Mrs. CHILBERG was born, Nov. 28, 1844. She was reared under the parental influence, and remained at home attending district schools, at which she received her education, until her marriage. Her father was a farmer by occupation, and died June 5, 1878; and her mother at present resides in the village of Swedona, Mercer County. Mrs. CHILBERG is the third child in order of birth of a family of six children.

The union of Mr. and Mrs. CHILBERG has been blessed by the birth of three children,-Harry W., Anna M. and Charlie K. All reside at home and attend the public schools. After Mr. and Mrs. CHILBERG were united in marriage they located on the farm on which they at present reside, which at that time comprised 140 acres. Mr. C. has subsequently sold 20 acres, and at present is the proprietor of 120 acres, which is in a fair state of cultivation. In addition to devoting his time to agriculture, he raises considerable stock of a good quality, and is meeting with success in his chosen vocation, agriculture. He has held the position of Assessor of his township for some time, together with other minor offices. Politically, he is a believer in and a supporte rof the principles of the Republican party. [Source: pg 377. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]

Andrew CHINBURG, mason, residing at Orion, was born in Ostergotland, Sweden, May 11, 1847. He was brought to the United States by his parents when three years of age. His father, Nelson T., was a farmer in his native country, and for two years after he came to this county lived at Andover. From there the family, then consisting of five children, went to Galesburg. In that city the father, who now resides with his son in Orion, followed the trade of wagonmaking for 16 years. His mother, Carrie, died while the family were living at Galesburg, at about the age of 40 years. Andrew received his education in the common schools of Galesburg, at which city he learned his trade.

Mr. CHINBURG was married at Orion on the 30th of May, 1874, to Miss Louisa C. JOHNSON, who is a native of Sweden. She was brought ot this country by her parents, who now reside at Orion, when a gril of three years of age. Her family first settled at Andover, but subsequently came to Orion. After the marriage of Mr. and Mrs. C. they settled on a farm of 120 acres, which Mr. C. had purchased prior to that event. This land was located on section 16 and 17, Western Township. He now, however, owns 160 acres on section 33 of the same township, having sold his first farm.

Four children have been born to bless the home of Andrew CHINBURG and his wife. These they have given the following names: Anna C., Tilda H., Arthur and Frank J. Mrs. C. is a member of the Lutheran Church, and Mr. C. is a Republican. [Source: pg 276. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]

John CHISNALL, President and General Manager of the Kewanee Wagon Company, was born in Lancashire, England, June 27, 1833, and came to America in 1855. At the common schools of Engalnd he acquired a fair education in the elementary branches, and after spending some time in the cotton mills began, when he was 16 years of age, to learn the trade of wagon-maker. In the United States his first stop was at Omaha, Neb., where he worked at his trade for several years. From Omaha he removed to Philadelphia, Pa., and seven years afterward came to Kewanee. Here he was employed by the O'Brien Manufacturing Co., until January, 1882. In business, Mr. CHISNALL has been rather successful. Coming to America a poor boy, depending upon his labor for a livelihood, he has worked his way to the possession of a handsome property.

Mr. CHISNALL is a Royal Arch Mason, an officer in the Eastern Star, a member of the Knights of Honor, and Republican in politics. [Source: pg 482. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]

John CHURCHILL, a farmer on section 25, Geneseo Township, has lived in Henry County since 1852. He was born in Somerset Co., Me., June 6, 1836, and is the son of Asa and Mary (HOLDEN) CHURCHILL. His father was born in the same county where the porgenitors of the family were among the pioneer settlers, and he was deprived of him by death when 11 years old. After that event he was the master of his own fortunes. He became a member of the family of Major Webb in his native county, with whom he resided three years. He continued to find employment in Somerset County until he came to Illinois. He was then 16. He was induced to come here by the fact that some acquaintances had come and found remunerative employ. He operated as a farm assistant and rented land to work on his own account until 1862, when he enlisted. He enrolled himself a soldier of the United States on the 10th of August, in Co. C, 93rd Reg. Ill. Vols. He was in the service until the end of the contest. Among the battles in which he was under fire were those of the siege and capture of Vicksburg, Jackson, Champion Hill, Mission Ridge, and many others of greater or less importance. In 1864 he sustained injuries in a railroad collision and was transferred to Co. H, 23rd V.R.C. He received a final and honorable discharge Aug. 18, 1865. He came back to the State and passed ten years in Bureau County. In 1875 he bought the farm on which he is now a resident. It is well improved and is supplied with excellent buildings.

Sept. 27, 1870, he was joined in marriage with Harriet L. PARKER, and they have one child - Asa Emery. Mrs. CHURCHILL is the daughter of Emery and Delpha (BAILEY) PARKER. Her parents were early settlers in the State of Ohio, and were both natives of New Hampshire. [Source: pg 606. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]

Samuel CLARK, a prominet farmer of Andover, removed to Richland Grove, where he died a few years ago. [Source: pg 701. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]

John P. CLARKE, residing on section 10 Lynn Townshp, where he is engaged in farming and stock-raising, was born in what was then Berlin (now Swedona), Mercer Co., Ill., July 14, 1844. For history of his parents, see sketch of Wm. CLARKE in another part of this work.

John P. CLARKE remained on the paternal homestead, receiving an education in the schools at Milan, Rock Island County, his parents having removed to that city when was a small child. He also attended school at Andover, after his parents had settled in Lynn Township, this county, and completed his education in a graded school at Orion. He continued to reside with his parents, working on the farm, and prior to his majority spent some six years clerking at Milan and Rock Island city. He was united in marriage March 20, 1879, with Miss Emma A. WILKINSON, daughter of John A. and Martha (FULLER) WILKINSON, natives of New York. the parents, prior to their marriage, had removed from the latter State to Hebron, Jefferson Co., Wis., where they were married, and where Mrs. CLARKE, wife of John P. of this notice, was born Sept. 14, 1856. Her father died at that place about five years after her marriage. Her mother was afterward married again, to Melvin W. DAVIS, and in 1869 came with him to Rock Island County, where they now reside, and where Mrs. CLARKE's step-father is acting as express messenger for the American Express Company. Mrs. CLARKE was educated in the district schools of Wisconsin, and the High School at Rock Island city, and resided with her mother till her marriage.

Mr. and Mrs. CLARKE are the parents of one child, Harry W., born April 22, 1881. She is a member of the Baptist Church of Rock Island city, where she was organist for four years. John P. CLARKE was the eldest of a family of five children. He has for some time had control of the entire homestead, consisting of 325 acres, most of which is in an advance state of cultivation. In his chosen vocation, agriculture, he has met with signal success. Politically, he is identified with the Democratic party.[Source: pg 690 & 691. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]

William CLARKE, a retired farmer residing at Orion, was born in the northern part of Ireland, March 10, 1819. His parents were life-long farmers, and lived and died in their native country. They were John and Margaret (ARMOR) CLARKE. William was the fifth child of a family of nine children, six sons and three daughters, all of whom are married except one.

William passed the years prior to his majority under the parental roof, devoting the latter years of this period to learning the carpenter's trade, serving an apprenticeship of five years under John Maxwell. After he reached the age of 21 years, he set out for America all alone. He soon made his way to Mercer Co., Ill., where he located, his brother having come in 1835, five years before he did. He soon went to Rock Island, however, where he followed his trade for nearly two years, when he returned to Swedona, formerly Berlin, Mercer County, where he was married Aug. 23, 1842, to Miss Almira PILLSBURY. (For her parental history see sketch of Levi PILLSBURY.) She was born in Grafton Co., N.H., October 9, 1813. Shortly after her birth, the family moved to St. Lawrence Co., N.Y., where they lived for some years, when they came West and located in Andover Township, when she was 23 years old, and were consequently very early pioneers in this section of the country. the five children born of her marriage to Mr. CLARKE are John P., who married Emma WILKINSON, and is a farmer in Lynn Township, this county; Esther Ann, wife of George CARNES, of Orion; Edward P. married Anna CUNNINGHAM and lives at Monmouth, where he is a clerk in an agricultural store; Amelia R. is the wife of William SMITH, an attorney of Orion; Almira L. resides at home.

About two years after their marriage, Mr. and Mrs. CLARKE went to Milan (then called Camden Mills), Rock Island County, where they resided from 1844 to 1861, and where Mr. C. erected the second house  in the village. During the time he was in Milan, he was engaged in the wagon-making and blacksmithing business. In 1855 he purchased a farm in Lynn Township, this county, upon which he made fair improvements. He followed agricultural pursuits for two years successfully, when in 1857 he returned to Milan and embarked in the general mercantile business, which he continued to run for four years and was at the same time Postmaster. In 1861 he again returned to his farm and was there engaged, with the exception of two years he lived at Bloomington, Ill., until 1879, when he came to Orion. He then purchased the property he now occupies, and upon which he has made great improvements, chiefly in the erection of an elegant residence. He improved a half section of land in Lynn Township, one-half of which he bequeathed equally to two sons and the remainder, which is well improved, he retained. His lot in the village contained four and one-half acres.

Both he and his wife are members of the Presbyterian Church, of which Mr. C. has been Elder for many years. Politically, he is a Prohibitionist. [Source: pg 442. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]

W. L. CLAY. One of the prosperous and well-to-do farmers in Oxford Township is W.L. CLAY, whose place of residence is on section 35. He was born 1831, in Chester, Windsor Co., Vt., and is a son of John L. and Louisa M. (BALCH) CLAY, who werenatives of Vermont, and brought their family West, locating in Galesburg in 1840. At this place he resided on some land which the father had purchased three years previous to their coming West, and where he resided all the remaining years of his life, with the exception of eight years, which were spent in the city of Galesburg. He died on his farm in the year of 1876; his widow still survives, living in Galesburg, at the advance age of 82 years.

W.L. CLAY, our subject, received a high-school education, and assisted in the labors of the farm while at home, where he remained until he reached his 22nd year, when he left home and came to Oxford Township in 1854. Here he purchased a tract of land of 320 acres, and entered upon its improvement, remaining here until 1860; then went back to the old homestead and took charge of it until 1867, when he next went to Galesburg and remained there until 1869. He again returned to Oxford Township, where he has since been a resident, carrying on a stock and grain farm, in which he has been eminently successful. Mr. C. is the owner of 240 acres in Knox County, 160 in Warren County, and 520 acres in Nebraska.

Harriet M. DAVISON was united in marriage with Mr. W.L.CLAY in 1854, and of this union were born three children - Seth H., Mary and Harrold S. Mrs. CLAY died in 1860, and Mr. C. formed another matrimonial alliance, this time the lady being Anna M. JOHNSON. They have become the parents of three children - Fanny M., Warren L. and Eugenia M. Mr. CLAY is a Democrat in his political opinions, and is one of the leading and worthy men of Oxford Township. [Source: pg 240. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]

H.V. CLOUGH, dairyman and general farmer on section 19, Geneseo Township, is one of the representative farmers of Henry County in point of industry, thrift and persistency in the way of adding to the developement of the agricultural resources of the county. He was born in Bangor, Franklin Co., N.Y., March 20, 1830. His parents, Peter and Hannah (PERHAM) CLOUGH, were both born in the State of New York, and were of German and English birth respectively, They went, in the childhood of their son, to Jamaica, Vt. There Mr. CLOUGH grew to the age of manhood, and was instructed in the business of a farmer. He was also employed at various times ina saw-mill. He continued to live in the county of Windham until 1856, when he came to the county where he is now a resident. He at once bought a tract of land at Hickory Grove, in the township of Edford, and proceeded to the business of farmer in a prairie State. He erected a frame house, 14 x 18 feet in dimensions and one and a half stories in height. He cleared about 60 acres of his farm, which was situated in the grove, and after a residence thereon of about nine years, he then sold out and bought the place where he has since carried on his business operations. The place contains 240 acres and is all improved. In 1879 he established his business as a dairyman and has a milk route in the city of Geneseo. His cows number 60 on an average.

Mr. CLOUGH was married in Windham Co., Vt., to Sophia HINES. Their marriage was celebrated Jan. 26, 1855. They have had eight sons, five of whom are living, namely: Victor W., born Jan. 20, 1856; Henry C., May 23, 1858; Frank, Aug. 19, 1861; Llewellyn A., Feb. 22, 1874; Clyde M., June 29, 1878. The deceased are: Charlie L., born Aug. 31, 1863, died Oct. 9, 1864; Harry L., born July 19, 1866, died April 12, 1870; and Ernest, born Feb. 2, 1871, died aug. 27, 1871. Mrs. CLOUGH was born in Windham Co., Vt., July 20, 1839. Her parents were William and Ann (MAYNARD) HINS. Mr. HINS was born April 1, 1812; and Mrs. H., May 23, 1816, and died May 5, 1864. [Source: pg 349 & 350. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]

Edward C. CLOW, engaged in the general mercantile business at Morristown, is a native of Hudson, Summit Co., Ohio, where he was born April 18, 1843. His parents, E.S. and Margaret J. (FLEMING) CLOW, moved to New Castle, Pa., Sept. 8, 1843, where they resided for three years, and then moved to Rock Island and resided there for two years, after which they moved on a farm three miles south of Milan, at which place he assisted his father in agricultural pursuits at the time.

Mr. E.C. CLOW, of this notice, enlisted in the 37th Ill. Vol. Inf. in 1861, and served for four years and nine months in the Union army.

After the term of his enlistment had expired, he came home somewhat broken down in health, but otherwise uninjured.

Arriving home he again engaged in farming, which occupation he followed for about a year, when he abandoned the farm and opened a grocery and restaurant at Milan. Continuing the latter business for about four years, he disposed of his stock and removed to Filmore Co., Neb., and there once more engaged in the occupation of farming, and occupied his time in that manner for 13 years.

In the fall of 1883 Mr. CLOW came from Nebraska to this county, and purchased the property where he is at present residing and carrying on his business, at Morristown.

He has a general stock of goods, and by his fair and honest dealing with his patrons has established a good and paying business.

The marriage of Mr. CLOW took place at Milan, Rock Island Co., this State, April 28, 1870, and Miss Carrie GALE, the daughter of Monroe and Elizabeth (COSSUM) GALE, became his wife. Her father died in Rock Island, where her mother still resides.

Mrs. CLOW was born in Cleveland, Oswego Co., N.Y., May 20, 1850.

Six children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. CLOW. Three died in infancy, and three, Ethel F., Cora E. and Edward S., are now living.

In politics, Mr. CLOW is a strong adherent of the principles of the Republican party. [Source: pg 707 & 708. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]

George A. COLBERT was one of the first preachers in the county, he and P.K. HANNA and Ithamar PILLSBURY being the first that are now remembered as preaching to the settlers. There are grandsons of COLBERT living here. [Source: pg 701. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]

Washington B. COLBERT left the county and went to Oregon in an early day. Some of his half-brothers remained in the county. [Source: pg 701. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]

A.B.COLE. The subject of the following brief personal sketch, Mr. A.B. COLE, is a well-to-do farmer upon section 28, Oxford Township. He was born in Chenango Co., N.Y., April 13, 1806. His parents, Amos and Dinah (CROWFOOT) COLE, were natives of Rhode Island. Mr. COLE remained under the parental roof until he was 21 years of age; during the meantime he received a good common-school education and assisted his parents.

After leaving home he worked out by the month for four years, when he bought 40 acres of land in Madison Co., N.Y. There he remained engaged for six years, when he sold his New York property and left for the West. He soon found himself in Oxford Township, this county, arriving as early as June 1839. He was therefore one of the pioneers of the county. For 12 years he labored at blacksmithing. He then entered from the Government 80 acres of land on section 28. To this he subsequently added 160 acres. Though coming to the county without a great deal of means, and having to spend so many years at his trade, he has become one of the prominent and representative citizens of Henry County. Though not a politician, he has been called upon by his neighbors and fellow citizens to serve as Justice of the Peace and Supervisor, and also to fill the responsible offices of County Treasurer, County Commissioner and County Assessor. Politically, he is an independent Democrat.

While living in the East, Mr. COLE and Miss Augusta BRIGGS, a native of Massachusetts, were united in marriage. This event was celebrated Nov. 24, 17830. To them have been born five children, four of whom are living, - Martha, Festus C., Amos and Lucy. The first is the wife of A.C. LOCKWOOD, of Mercer County; Festus married Elizabeth TAZE; Amos was married to Miss Kate EMERICK; lucy is the wife of W.W. SHAKLES.

Mrs. COLE died in August, 1877, and Mr. COLE is now living in retirement on his farm in Oxford Township. [Source: pg 528 & 529. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]

Joshua COLE, a well-to-do and respected farmer in Wethersfield Township, where he resides on section 14, is a son of Ezekiel and Maria (SMITH) COLE, both natives of Ohio. They came to Henry County in the fall of 1850, and settled in Wethersfield Township, where the father died the following year, October, 1851; the mother still survives. Their family consisted of eight children, of whom Joshua was the eldest, having been born in Harrison Co., Ohio, Oct. 29, 1837.

He (Joshua) received the training of the common schools of his district, came into Henry County, this State, in the spring of 1851, and began immediately in the occupation of an agriculturist. He has 330 acres of valuable land, on which he entered vigorously and energentically into the task of its cultivation and improvement, and has made this his home residing here ever since.

Mr. COLE was united in the holy bonds of matrimony in Wethersfield Township, on the 6th of February, 1859, to Miss Susan HOPPOCK, a native of New Jersey, and daughter of John and Margaret (HACKETT) HOPPOCK. Mr. and Mrs. COLE have had their home circle blessed by the birth of eight children, as follows: Mary C., Joseph T., Elton G., Martha M., William H., Wesley E., Otis R. and Earnest O. Mr. COLE has served his township as School Director for five years, and religiously, is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. In politics, he affiliates with the Republican party. [Source: pg 628. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]

Lycurgus COLE. One of the prominent young farmers of Annawan Township, residing on section 22, is Lycurgus COLE. He has long been identified with the history of Henry County, but has laid the foundation for an excellent record in the future, and gives promise of being at no distant day one of the leading and representative men of his community.

He was born in Jefferson Co., Ohio, July 14, 1856. He remained with his parents, working on the farm and attending the district schools, until 1876. During the latter year Mr. COLE came to this State and located in Stark County, where for two years he worked out by the month. He then rented a farm of 142 acres of Mrs. Barbara McCLELLAND, of Stark County, and for four years occupied his time in its cultivation. In March, 1884, he came to Annawan Township and bought 240 acres of improved land, on which he located with his family and entered vigoroushly and energetically upon the task of its cultivation and improvement, determining to make it a permanent home for himself and family. He has a splendid farm, with a good two-story residence, 36 by 48 feet in dimensions, and a good cellar. He has a fine grove of timber in his front yard, and on his place there are two barns, one 48 x 48 feet, and the other 32 x 60 feet in dimensions.

Mr. COLE formed a matrimonial alliance, Dec. 24, 1881, with Miss Mary COLE, the ceremony being performed by Rev. Keene, of the Methodist Episcopal Church of Kewanee. Miss COLE was born Nov. 8, 1861, in Stark Co., Ill., and is the daughter of Joshua COLE, born in 1837, in Athens Co., Ohio, and who married Miss Susan HABBOCK in 1860. Mrs. Joshua COLE was born in 1823, and bore her husband eight children, whose names are: Alexander, Izina, Byron, Lycurgus, Nesbit, Viola, Delmer and Etta. The venerable couple are still residents of Ohio, and the father yet takes pleasure in casting his vote, as he has done for years, with the Republican party.   [Source: pg 726 & 727. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]

John L. COMBS, a citizen of Geneso, resident on section 29, has been in Henry County since 1868. He was born in Winchester, Cheshire Co., N.H., July 22, 1844, and is the son of Calvin and Delia (TAYLOR) COMBS. He was reared in the town where he was born and was taught to make brooms, as it was the custom to instruct boys in the details of a trade. In the second year of the war he went to Massachusetts to enter the military service of his country. He enlisted in July, 1862, at Winchendon, in Co. D, 36th Mass. Vol. Inf. After a service of two years and two months he received an honorable discharge for disability and returned to New Hampshire. He again gave his attention to the manufacture of brooms in the town where he learned the business, and in Ringe, N.H., going thence to Dedham, Mass. He remained there until the year in which he came to Illinois. On coming to this State he located in Henry County and rented a farm in the township of Geneseo. He operated in that capacity two years, and at the end of that time took possession of the place of which he is and has since been the owner. He gave his attention exclusively to farming until 1882, when he erected a shop for the manufacture of brooms and has since been engaged in the prosecution of the two callings. He finds ready market for the sale of his wares in the county.

His union in marriage to Marinda BREED took place in 1865, and they are the parents of six children: George C., born Nov. 10, 1866; Frederick B., Oct. 15, 1868; Arthur L., Aug. 25, 1870; Charles A., March 28, 1872; Ella M., Oct. 26, 1876, and James F., Dec. 2, 1879.

Mrs. COMBS is the daughter of Joseph B. and Mary (WILSON) BREED, and she was born in the town of Ringe, N.H., Oct. 10, 1836. [Source: pg 411. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]

Elisha CONE, deceased, was one of the original members of the Geneseo Colony, one of the five who brought their families to the county in 1836. A full account of the operations of the little band are given in another department of this work, and so far as has been possible personal sketches of the other members have been obtained and appear elsewhere.

Mr. CONE was born Jan. 1, 1803, in Wallingford, Conn. In his early manhood he removed to Western New York, and there, on the 1st of January, 1825, he was married to Eliza A. HILL. She ws born in West Bloomfield, Ontario County. Their family included five children: Harriet M. married William MILLER; Clarissa P. is the wife of E.M. STEWART, of Kansas; Francis F. married Gabriella GILMORE, and they live in Florida; Ellen A. is the wife of Peter HILL, M.D., of Florida; Charles E. was a soldier in the Eighth Kan. Vol. Inf., and died in the hospital at Nashville, Tenn., March 29, 1863. The death of Mr. CONE transpired in 1846. His widow still survives. [Source: pg 262. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]

Reuben CONE came with the Geneseo Colony in 1836, bringing his wife and three children. One child was born here. Mrs. CONE was Miss Harriet THOMAS, of Canada. Mr. CONE removed to Kansas in 1862, and in 1871 went to Colorado, where he died in 1883. Three of the sons live in Colorado. [Source: pg 700. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]

Simeon N. CONOVER, station agent of the Rock Island & Pacific Railroad, telegraph operator and express agent at Orion, was born in Somerville, Somerset Co, N.J., June 1, 1857. His parents were Andrew J. and Rachel (DUNHAM) CONOVER, and both natives of the State in which our subject was born, having been united in matrimony in Monmouth COunty. They were both of New England parentage, and the father was engaged as a blacksmith. Of their union were born seven children, six having been born in the State of New Jersey.

Simeon N., our subject, was the oldest but one of his parents' family, and in 1868 came West with the family, locating first in Wyoming, Stark Co., Ill. Afterward the family went to French Grove, Peoria Co., Ill., at which place they have made their permanent home. Simeon N. CONOVER, whose name heads this article, was educated principally in the public schools fo Wyoming. While at the latter place he learned the art of telegraphy and has since been a successful operator.

In April, 1874, he became connected with the railroad company as shop clerk, occupying that position seven years, then one year in Des Moines, Iowa, for the Wabash Company, filling the same position, and in December, 1882, came to Orion, Ill. He has since had the entire management of the station of the Rock Island & Pacific Railraod at this place.

Dec. 24, 1878, Mr. CONOVER was married at the residence of the bride's parents, at Wyoming, Ill., the lady chosen for his companion in life being Miss Eva M. WESTFALL, daughter of Robert E. and Sarah A. (WOODS) WESTFALL, natives respectively of Ohio and Indiana. They were married at Toulon, Ill., and there located on a farm, where Mrs. CONOVER of this notice was born Feb. 13, 1859. She was reared and educated in the county of her nativity, and resided with her parents until her marriage. The father was Second Lieutenant in Co. F, 112th Ill. Vol. Inf., and was afterward promoted First Lieutenant, and died of a fever, in Kentucky. The mother is yet living, and resides with her daughter, Mrs. CONOVER.

Mrs. C. is the mother of two children by Simeon N., namely: Leon, born Dec. 18, 1880; and Anna M., born Nov. 1, 1884. Mr. and Mrs. CONOVER are both members of the Methodist Episcopal Church at Orion. Politically, Mr. C. is an adherent to the principles of the Republican party, and locally is a member of the Village Board. [Source: pg 448. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]

Francis A. COOK, manufacturer of brick and tile at Cambridge, was born Nov. 8, 1842, in the township of Wethersfield, Henry County. He was probably descended from English progenitors, as the location of the family in the East would seem to indicate that such is the fact. The earliest ancestors were settlers in Salem, Mass. The parents of Mr. COOK, Robert and Martha (WIGGINS) COOK, were born in Massachusetts. They came from that State to Henry County in 1840. They settled in the township where the son was born, but later they went to Kewanee, where the deaths occurred. The father was brought up by the father of the lady he married. He was a tailor by calling, and afterward became a farmer in Henry County. His farm was where the village of Kewanee is located. Of the six children born to him and his wife there is only one, the son who is the subject of this personal account residing in the county The latter was educated at Kewanee. He was still in his minority when he entered the military service of the United States. He enrolled as a soldier May 12, 1961, a few days after the first call of President Lincoln for troops. He enlisted in the 7th Regt. Mo., Vol. Inf., in Co. I. His corps commander was Gen. John A. Logan, and he served under him nearly three years. He received an honorable discharge May 14, 1864. Following are the names of some of the actions in which he listened to the whistle of rebel bullets, and with each one came the notion that its special mission was to ascertain his exact whereabouts. He ws under fire at Raymond, Jackson, Champion Hills, Vicksburg, and in all the engagements in which his regiment was involved.

Mr. COOK then returned to his home at Kewanee. He passed the next two years in the business of painter, and then commenced the manufacture of brick. He was interested in the business at Kewanee for five years, and at the expiration of that time he sold his interests there and removed to Cambridge. He at once entered upon the manufacture of brick and tile, in which he has since operated. He manufactures annually about 1,800,000 brick, or rather that is the capacity of his works. The tile factory can produce 1,000,000 feet yearly. These are the figures if the works are managed separately. Jointly they have the capacity of aboute a million brick and tile annually.

Mr. COOK was married Oct. 24, 1867, to Mary DEMORRO. Their only child, Lettie, died in infancy. Martha is the name of an adopted daughter.

Mr. COOK is a Republican, and belongs to the G.A.R. [Source: pg 653. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]

John J. CORKILL, residing on section 25, Galva Township, is a native of the Isle of Man, having been born on that island, Sept. 7, 1851. He is a son of John and Margaret (KERMODE) CORKILL, natives of the same island, and where his mother died, aged 42 years, leaving to the care of her husband four children, namely: Mrs. Ellen LEWEN, who died in Ford County, this State; Mrs. Margaret ANDERSON, who also died in Ford County; John J., the subject of this notice; and Mary, who died in her 15th year. The father emigrated to this country in 1866, landing at Portland, Me., and coming direct to Galva, this county, where he engaged in the occupation of farming. He was again married and is at present residing in Ford County, this State.

John J. CORKILL, whose biography we write, was 15 years of age when he emigrated to the United States. After arriving in this county he occupied for five years in farming, then went into the coal business, in which he was engaged for ten years, working a shaft for himself. He was one of a company of three who conducted three shafts near Galva, and finally sold out to the Herdien Coal Company. He met with financial success in that business, and in 1870 purchased 160 acres of land, located on section 25, in Galva Township, on which he located and entered energetically and vigorously upon its improvement and on which he is at present residing, meeting with s uccess in his chosen vocation.

The marriage of Mr. CORKILL occurred Jan. 25, 1872, the lady of his choice being Miss Isabella LEWEN, a native of the Isle of Man, where she was born in 1848. She is the daughter of Robert LEWEN, and has borne her husband three children,-Pearl Idella, Merrick J. and Ella May.

Politically, Mr. CORKILL votes with the Republican party, and both he and his wife are connected with the Methodist Episcopal Church. Socially, Mr. CORKILL is a member of the A.O.U.W., belonging to Bailey Lodge, No. 135, at Galva. [Source: pg 507 & 508. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]

William CORNELL, a retired farmer, residing at Woodhull, was born in Frederick Co., Md., Sept. 14, 1814. His parents were Thomas and Mary (PAXTON) CORNELL, natives of Maryland. They came to Ohio in 1819, where they purchased land, and where his father engaged in the occupation of farming. His father was a soldier in the War of 1812, and he and his wife resided in Ohio until her death.

William CORNELL remained on the old homestead in Ohio, assisting in the labors on the farm and attending school, until he attained the age of 24 years. He was the main stay of his parents in their old age, and lived with and cared for them until their deaths. He then sold the farm that they had purchased and bought another 80 acres in Morgan County, consisting of timber. He cleared this land and fenced it and engaged actively and energetically upon its improvement, and continued to reside thereupon for abut five years. He then sold it and purchased 200 acres of timber land. This he mostly cleared, and erected two houses upon the same, together with barns, outbuildings, fruit trees, etc., and there resided for ten years. He then sold 100 acres, and subsequently exchanged the other 100, in 1859, for 320 acres of land in Iowa.

In 1861 he came to Illinois, and remained one year with his son, William C., who had previously come here, and on his son's entering the army and losing his life in defense of the Union cause, Mr. CORNELL concluded to stop in this State. He finally rented land in Henry County, and followed farming in that manner for about four years. He then purchased 80 acres of land location on section 6, Clover Township, on which he resided four years; then he sold it and purchased 160 acres, on which he reside for five years more. At the expiration of this time, in 1872, he left the farm , and has since rented it. He has purchased a house and three lots where he is at present residing in Woodhull, and also a house and four lots at that place which he rents.

Mr. CORNELL was married in 1837 to Miss Nancy JEFFERS, and their union has been blessed with five children,-Mary J., Martha L., Hannah, Cynthia and Joseph-all married. Mrs. CORNELL died Feb. 2, 1856, aged 37 years and ten months. His second wife, Jane CONNERS, whome he married Oct. 20, 1857, died Feb. 19, 1883. He was married again to Mrs. J. ANDERSON, daughter of David PATTERSON, in 1884.

Mr. CORNELL, politically, is a believer in and a supporter of the principles of the Republican party. He and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. [Source: pg 380. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]

Jacob COSNER, farmer, section 11, Burns Township, was born in Coshocton Co., Ohio, Sept. 11, 1809. There he lived until 1838, when he came to Henry County and located in Wethersfield Township, being among the very earliest pioneers to locate in Henry County. He remained there but three years, for in 1841 we find him tilling the soil in Burns Township. Here he owns 162 acres of land.

Mr. COSNER was married in Wethersfield Township, Feb. 5, 1841, to Sarah LEONARD, daughter of Samuel and Phebe LEONARD. She was born in Pennsylvania, Jan. 6, 1820. Ten children were born to them, four of whom survived. These are well known in the community where they reside. The living are William H., whose sketch is given in this volume; Abraham S., Amanda B. and Francis M. Amanda is the wife of Lewis E. WILHELM, of Burns Township. The deceased members of the family are Sylvester R., Benton B., Sarah S., Mathew P., Ruea R. and Cyntha M.

Mr. COSNER was Postmaster at Burns postoffice for seven years and Road Commissioner six years, and has served as School Director. Since he voted for General Jackson he has ever been a Democrat. [Source: pg 556. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]

Abraham COUNTRYMAN, a farmer on section 19, Yorktown Township, has owned the farm on which he is a resident since 1854. In that year he came to the county to prospect, but did not take possession of the property until 1867. He was born in Little Falls, Herkimer Co., N.Y., Nov. 30, 1830, and he is the eldest son of Henry and Catherine (DOXTATER) COUNTRYMAN. His father was a native of Montgomery Co., in the Empire State, and his mother was a native of the same county in which he was born. When the latter was 14 his parents removed to the State of Illinois. They came via the Erie Canal to Buffalo, and from there by the lake route to Chicago. From that city they went to Wheeling in Cook County. They were among the pioneers of that region, and there the father rented land and engaged in farming. The son operated as the assistant of his father until he was 19, when he entered upon an apprenticeship to learn the business of a carpenter and joiner. He served but three months as an apprentice, and then commenced to operate as a "jour." He passed six months in that capacit, and then began to take contracts and carry on the business of a builder. He continued to operate in that manner until 1865, when he rented land in the township of Wheeling, and passed the time until 1867. In that year he took possession of 80 acres of land in the township where he has since lived, and of which he became the owner in 1854. The place had no improvements of any character, and Mr. COUNTRYMAN built a small frame house and at once began to push the work of placing the farm in a good and comfortable agricultural condition. He has bought land on section 20, adjoining his original purchase, and his estate now includes 160 acres, all inclosed and in excellent condition. He has erected good farm buildings and set out a great number of trees of several varieties.

Mr. COUNTRYMAN has been a Republican since the formation of the party. He was married May 25, 1855, to Magdalena MILLER, who is a native of Bavaria, Germany, and she is now the mother of five children,-Mary A., Frank W., Edwin, William, Adlaid and George. The eldest daughter is the wife of William LANDWEHR, of Yorktown Township. [Source: pg 271 & 272. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]

Elijah T. COWL, retired farmer living in Kewanee, was born in Sullivan County, State of New York, at a place now called Wertzburg, Nov. 21, 1808. His parents, William and Lydia (PERRY) COWL, natives of Cape Cod and the county of Putnam respectively, reared five sons and three daughters, Elijah T. being the third in the order of birth. The senior Mr. COWL was a tanner and currier by trade, and the subject of this sketch alternated his labors, before arriving at his majority, between those of farming and the trade of his father. The family removed from Sullivan to Putnam County in 1817, and there the two old people spent the remainder of their lives, Mr. COWL dying in 1853, at the age of 72 years, and Mrs. C. four years later, at the age of 70 years.

Elijah T. COWL remained with his parents until he was about 25 years of age, at which time he set up for himself. In 1849 he left Putnam County and removed to the State of Connecticut, where he followed farming about five years. In 1854 he came into Henry County and purchased a farm in Wethersfield Township, from which he removed into Burns Township three years later. At the last named place he resided util 1833, when he retired from manual labor and took up his abode in the village of Kewanee.

In December, 1834, in the county of Putnam, in his native State, Mr. COWL married Miss Caroline HINMAN, and their u nion, always a happy one, was blessed with two children - Mary, the estimable and amiable wife of Mr. Ira PARKER, a farmer of Burns Township, Henry Co, Ill., and Lydia A., the handsome and accomplished Mrs. Charles BURTI, whose husband is a wealthy stock dealer and ranch owner in Kansas.

Originally, Mr. C. was a Whig, but upon the demise of that party, like a large majority of its whilom adherents, he became a Republican, to which party his loyalty is unimpeachable. In the battle of life he began as he continued, relying upon his own resources. The legacy left  to him was that of a strong physique, an iron constitution and a well balanced head. He has been the recipient of no gifts, no gratuities. Aided only by the good woman who early in life allied her fortune with his, he has, to use a homely phrase, "paddled his own canoe;" and the story of his many trials, of his struggles, of his defeats, disappointments and ultimate success can not be told in his history; for it, like the life of a soldier in Sherman's grand march from Atlanta to the sea, is but the recital of an individual experience, a common factor in the mighty amy of hardy pioneers who preceded civilization as it were, and by their daring and endurance made life in the newer States not only possible but in thousands of cases luxurious. [Source: pg 624 & 625.. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]

F.J. COX and Elizabeth, his wife, settled in Henry County in 1851.[Source: pg 701. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]

Joseph F. COX, farmer and stock-raiser, residing on section 20, Oxford Township, was born in Port Byron, Rock Island County, this State, Jan. 16, 1840. His parents were John W. and Juliett (WILLIAMSON) COX, natives of Kentucky. (See sketch of the latter, on another page.)

Joseph COX remained at home until he became 21 years of age, when he enlisted in the war for the Union, Sept. 3, 1861, in Co. M, Fourth Ill. Cav. He remained in the service for three years and a month, participating in the following battles: Fort Henry, Fort Donelson, Shiloh, Corinth, and many smaller engagements. He was sick at the hospital in Keokuk, Iowa, for a year. After returning home he immediately engaged in farming. He purchased 80 acres on section 15, which land he put under good cultivation and then sold. In 1875 he purchased the land that he is now residing upon, being 160 acres; upon this he entered vigorously and energetically on the task of improvement, and later added to his original purchase by buying land in Pawnee Co., Neb., where he has 320 acres of good farming land.

Dec. 6, 1864, Mr. Joseph COX chose for his wife Miss Jane W. SUTTON, a native of Canada. Of their union have been born six children, living, namely: Wilhelmina G., Elmer S., Clinton C., Walter K., Daisy M. and Treva. Mr. C. is politics is a Republican. Socially, he is a member of the Order of Masons. He has been Supervisor, and is considered one of the solid and reliable men of Oxford Township. [Source: pg 384. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]

Mrs. Juliett COX, widow of John W. COX, a prominent and early settler of Northwestern Illinois, still owns the old farm homestead, but lives at her home in Alpha, at the advanced age of 73 years. Mr. COX was born in Wayne Co., Ind., in 1807. In 1836 he came into Illinois, and settled on the banks of the Mississippi, at a place called Tippecanoe, near Hampton, Rock Island County. There he lived and labored hard in the development of the country for 13 years, when he came into Oxford Township, and purchased 160 acres of land on section 16. Here he was one of the first pioneers, and wasan honored and respected citizen. He lived on the old place, which he had brought to a good state of cultivation, until his death, which occurred March 2, 1864. Politically, Mr. COX was a Republican, and religiously, an ardent Methodist, and for 40 years had been connected with that Church.

In 1832, while living in Indiana, Mr. COX was married to Miss Juliett WILLIAMSON, the lady whose present name heads this sketch. She was born in Kentucky, in 1812, and passed through all the hardships and privations of pioneer life attending them on their removal to Illinois in so early a day. She can scarcely realize the remarkable transformation that has taken place in this section of Illinois since she and her husband came here in 1836. Mrs. COX is and has been for many years connected with the Methodist Episcopal Church. She reared a family of respected and useful children, some of whom are well known in the community in which they reside. The following list gives their names and to whom they have been married: Eliza, the eldest , is the wife of John HENDERSON; Joseph F. married Jennie SUTTON; John W. was united in the bonds of matrimonty with Mary WAGNER; Samuel K. has for his wife Miss Ella PATTERSON; Evarald S. becme the husband of Hattie EPPERSON. [Source: pg 371. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]

Amzi A. CRANE, owner of 360 acres of land, located on section 22, Osco Township, is a son of Elias and Esther (MAXWELL) CRANE, natives of New Jersey, where they married, settled and lived until their deaths. They were the parents of six children, John, Mary A., Phebe, Susan M., Elias M. and Amzi A.

The subject of this sketch was born in Union Co., N.J., Nov. 6, 1829, and his early life, until the age of 21 years, was passedon his father's farm and in attending school. He then obtained a position in New York city in a grocery and provision store, in which he remained about eight months, when, on account of ill health, he came on a visit to the West, and being pleased with the country determined to make his home here. He then returned East and in a few months again came West, this time for a permanent settlement. In the spring of 1853 he came to Henry County, where he has since lived. He first purchased 160 acres on section 22, Osco Township, where he has erected fine buildings and is now the proprietor of 360 acres, most of which is under a high state of cultivation. He keeps from 100 to 200 head of Hereford cattle, six horses, and fattens about 25 head of hogs annually.

Amzi A. CRANE was married in Trivoli, Peoria Co., Ill., Sept. 13, 1854, to Emeline C. POTTER, daughter of Elias and Ann (CRANE) POTTER, natives of New Jersey, where they married and settled; in 1831 they removed to Peoria Co., Ill., where they lived until about 1867; then they removed to Farmington, Fulton Co., Ill., where they now reside. Mr. and Mrs. POTTER are the parents of four children,- Susan E., Emeline C., Mary C., Louisa A. Emeline C. (Mrs. CRANE, wife of our subject) was born in New Jersey, July 24, 1835. Mr. and Mrs. CRANE are the parents of three children,-Franklin P., born July 9, 1855; Hattie M., born March 1, 1859; and Anna E. born August 1, 1861. Franklin P. resides in Kansas City, engaged in the stock business, is the husband of Nellie May, a native of Mercer Co., Ill., and Minnie B., their daughter. Hattie M. is the wife of Howard H. SMITH and resides in Osco Township and is the mother of one child, Clarence C., born June 2, 1885; and Anna E. resides with her parents in Osco Township.

Mr. CRANE has held the office of Supervisor three terms, Township Treasurer 15 years, Township Assessor and other minor offices. Mr. and Mrs. C. are active membersof the Methodist Episcopal CHurch. In politics he is identified with the Republican party. [Source: pg 493 & 494. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885] 

Elias M. CRANE, a business man of Cambridge, has been connected with the development of Henry County since 1854, when he settled in the township of Osco. He was born in Union CO.,N.J., Sept. 3, 1827. He attained to the estate of manhood in the State of his nativity and on arriving at an age suitable to embark in active business he interested himself in farming.

Dec. 10, 1851, he was married to Louisa A. MILLER. They have seven children, who are named Britton, Sarah, Josephine, Winfield, John A., Libbie and Etta.

On coming to this county Mr. CRANE located on section 25, in the township of Osco, taking possession of a tract of land four miles southwest of the village of Cambridge. He followed the calling of a farmer there until his removal to Cambridge in 1883. He is the owner of 610 acres of land, which is chiefly situated in that township. For some years previous to the transfer of his residence and business relations to the place where he is now operating, he was extensively and successfully engaged in the business of a stockman. He has given much intelligent attention to the improvement of the stock on his estate and exhibits some fine Hereford cattle, including about 75 animals. Among other interests in which he has successfully engaged for 20 years past, is the purchase of large quantities of broomcorn for shipment to the Eastern markets.

In 1882 he embarked in a mercantile enterprise at Cambridge, and when his relations in that avenue were fairly under way he removed in the year named to that place. Mr. CRANE is also engaged in raising stock in Phelps Co., Neb., where he is the owner of three sections of land and a large herd of cattle.

Politically, Mr. CRANE is in harmony with the Democratic party. While a residen of Osco Township, he was frequently called to serve in the various offices and discharged the duties confined to his care with honor and fidelity.  [Source: pg 667. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]

John W. CRAWFORD, of the township of Munson, has resided in Henry County since he came hither in 1850. He at that time located on section 31, of what was then town 16, and is now Munson. He is therefore justly entitled to the cognomen of a pioneer of the county.

He was born in Bowling Green, Warren Co., Ky., Sept. 18, 1828, and is the son of John and Elizabeth (HOWARD) CRAWFORD. His father was a native of Virginia, and was a preacher in the Cumberland Presbyterian Church. when he was still a young man he left his native State to settle in Kentucky, where he remained until 1833, the year in which he came to Illinois. He set out with his wife and four children, and with two pair of oxen and a wagon, in company with a party of pilgrims with the same object in view as led the great army of pioneers to the Prairie State. The entire party led the lives of gipsies while they were on the journey; and, when it is remembered that it is a fast growing custom for the delicate and refined in higher social circles, to make such trips for the sake of their novelty and adventure, as well as for health, it may well be conjectured that the travelers in search of homes found something to make their travel pleasant and profitable. They located in Knox County. The father of Mr. CRAWFORD bought land of the United States Government, on which the city of Abingdon is now built. He erected a log house, which had a puncheon floor and was roofed with clapboards. He was occupied with his farming and preaching at that place until his death. His widow still owns a farm in the vicinity of Abingdon, where she makes her home.

Mr. CRAWFORD remained on the farm of his father until 1850, when he came, as has been stated, to Henry County. The place where he bought this tract of land was all wild prairie, and cut logs and had them sawed into material suitable for a frame house, which he built for the accomodation of his family, and which was 16 x 18 feet in dimensions. He broke first 40 acres and fenced it. He was the owner and occupant of that place until he exchanged it for land on section 19 in the same township, which transaction took place in 1852. In the spring of 1855 he commenced the work of breaking the acres of his new farm, and in the fall he erected a house and removed thither. He still holds the place and has added to its dimensions until it comprises 240 acres. It has all been improved and good and suitable buildings erected. Mr. CRAWFORD has set out a considerable variety of trees.

He was married aug. 14, 1851, to Mary E. SNYDER. Mrs. CRAWFORD was born in Warren Co., Ohio, was the daughter of Frederick and Hannah (HIGH) SNYDER. She became the mother of three children: Libbie H. is the wife of William SHEAFFER, Farragut, Iowa; Ida J. married Byron MARKHAM, who lives in Washington, Kan.; Clara A. is the wife of George HOWARD, and they reside near Shenandoah, Iowa. The mother died Nov. 3, 1863. Julia MORROW became her successor June 14, 1864, and of the second marriage there are six children: Nory Ella, who died Aug. 5, 1883; Minnie M., Arthur J., John W., Jay Edson and Jessie Martin.

Mr. CRAWFORD is an Elder in the Presbyterian Church, and his wife is a member of the same organization. [Source: pg 556-557. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]    

James H. CREE. One of the wealthy representative gentlemen of Oxford Township, Henry County, is Mr. James H. CREE, a retired farmer of Alpha village, where he is at present residing. He was born in Ohio, in the year 1816, on the 31st of May, and is son of Robert and Ellen (BARKLEY) CREE, natives of Pennsylvania and Kentucky respectively. The subject of this notice remained at home untill 22 years of age, assisting in the labors of the farm, and alternating his labors thereon with attendance at the district schools, where he received a fair education. After leaving home he engaged in the occupation of a farmer, which he continued for 20 years. In 1858 he sold his farm and came to Oxfor Township, where he made a purchase of 80 acres on section 13. On the latter he resided for 23 years, in the meantime putting it under excellent cultivation, and of which he made one of the best farms in the township. He next bought a house and three lots in Alpha village, which he has made his home residing there ever since.

Miss Barbary SNYDER, a native of Virginia, was united in marriage with Mr. CREE, and they have raised three orphan children, taking them when very young- Margaret A. COPNER, William A. SNYDER and Elizabeth A. SNYDER. Margaret A. COPNER became the wife of George BREWER, and they are the parents of four children: Effie J., Barbary, William and Ira; William SNYDER married Miss Ida SPIVEY, and one child, Elias, has been born to them; Elizabeth SNYDER married Robert KNOX, and they have two children, viz.: Ora M. and Robert.

Mr. CREE is a Republican in his political views, and belongs with his wife to the Methodist Episcopal Church. He has held the office of School Director in his township, and is a respected and reliable man of Henry County. [Source: pg 204-205. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]    

Asa CROOK, of the township of Atkinson, is a pioneer of the section of the Stateof Illinois in which Henry County is located. He settled in the county of Whiteside in 1854. He was there a resident until the date of his removal to the township where he has since been a citizen.

He was born Jan. 27, 1827, in the town of Holland, Erie Co., N.Y. His father Asa CROOK, was born in the state of Vermont, in the year of 1799. The latter emigrated from the Green Mountain State when he was 19 and settled in Erie County. He was a resident there 24 years, and became prominent in the local affairs. He served many years as Justice of the Peace, and was elected Supervisor in the same year and held the offices while he continued a resident there. The family moved to Whiteside County in 1834 and settled in Prophetstown Townshp. The father died Oct. 22, 1853. The mother, whose maiden name was Mary L. DUSTIN, was born April 23, 1791, and died July 5, 1881. She was 90 years old, and lived to see the fourth generation of her descendants. She bore 11 children. They were born in the order given: Lydia, Mary, Theron W., Timothy D., Charles, Cynthia, Lucy, Sarah, Asa, James and Caroline. The mother saw before her death 71 grandchildren, 64 great-grandchildren, and two great-great-granchildren!

The fathers of both Mr. and Mrs. CROOK were soldiers in the War of 1812.

Mr. CROOK was married Jan. 1, 1852, at Portland, in Whiteside County, to Lucy COLE. She was born in the town of Wales, in Erie Co., N.Y., and is the daughter of John COLE. Her father was a native of New Hampshire, and was born July 12, 1783, in the town of Alexander. He was married in 1813 to Hannah FONES, and they became the parents of ten children, named Harry, Nelson H., William, Malinda, Lucy A., Sarah, Dorcas, May, Cordelia and Almon. The two oldest sons were soldiers in the Union service during the Civil War, and the second died in the stockade prison at Andersonville.

Mr. and Mrs. CROOK have had seven children, whose births are recorded as follows: Nathat M., Sept. 23, 1852; Julius, Oct. 11, 1855; Lilla L., Dec. 18, 1859; Albert B., Oct. 11, 1861; Asa S., Sept. 14, 1864; Eva L., March 18, 1867; John S., Jan. 24, 1869. Lilla L. died Nov. 9, 1863.

Mr. CROOK is a prosperous farmer and owns 215 acres of excellent land in advanced cultivation. He is engaged in the branches of farming common to the locality. In his political relations he is an unmistakable Republican. Mrs. CROOK is a member of the United Brethren Church.   [Source: pg 269-270. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]    

Hiram CROSSLEY, the proprietor of 120 acres of land in Osco Township, and one of its successful farmers, resides upon section 16, where he follows his chosen vocation. The parents of Mr. CROSSLEY were John B. and Elizabeth (GOLDTRAP) CROSSLEY, and were natives of Ohio, where they were married and resided, his father following the occupation of a farmer. In 1850 the parents came to Bureau County, this State, where they resided four years, and then removed to and settled in Atkinson Township, this county, and continued to reside in the same until 1866. During that year they returned to Clermont Co., Ohio, wehre they are still living. Their children were six in number, of whom Hiram was the fourth in order of birth.

Mr. CROSSLEY, of whom we write, was born in Clermont Co., Ohio, Nov. 4, 1836. His education was acquired in the common schools of his native county, and his years prior to attaining his majority were passed on the home farm assisting his father in the labor thereon. In September, 1862, Mr. CROSSLEY enlisted in the 112th Ill. Vol. Inf., and served in defense of his country's flag until March, 1863, when he was discharged on account of disability. Receiving his discharge, he returned to this county and continued to reside here until 1864, when he again enlisted in the 72d Ill. Vol. Inf., known as the Board of Trade Regiment. He served until October, 1865, when, the war having closed, and the soldiers on both sides having doffed their uniforms, laid aside their accoutrements of war, and returned to their peaceful vocations of life, he came home. Mr. C. met with a serious accident in Kentucky prior to his leaving the field of battle. Jan. 1, 1863, he was run over by a forage wagon, which was the cause of his receiving his discharge formerly referred to.

On returning from the war, Mr. CROSSLEY again settled in Osco Township, and purchased 80 acres of land on section 16. He erected good buildings on his farm, and entered vigourously and energetically upon the task of its improvement. He has since added to his original purchase, and at present is the proprietor of 120 acres of land in an advanced state of cultivation.

The marriage of Mr. CROSSLEY to Sarah F. HAMILTON was solemnized in Osco Township, Feb. 13, 1867. She was a daughter of Levi and Mary (WALKER) HAMILTON, natives of New York and Massachusetts respectively. Her parents were married and resided in Massachusetts for a time, and in 1856 came to this county, locating in Osco Township, where his mother died April 7, 1876. Her father still survives, and is a resident of Osco Township. Mrs. CROSSLEY was third in order of birth of a family of ten children, six of whom lived to attain the age of majority, namely: Sarah F., William O., Mary A., Emma W., Henry W. and Lucy J. Mrs. CROSSLEY was born in Brookfield, Worchester Co., Mass., March 11, 1839,- and has born her husband two children,-Hattie E. and Harry T.

Mr. CROSSLEY has held the office of Township Collector, School Director, and Overseer of Highways in his township. He and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. In politics, Mr. CROSSLEY always casts his vote with the Democratic party.  [Source: pg 393 & 394. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]

Royal G. CROUCH came to the township of Atkinson, where he is an agriculturist, in 1878. He has a farm of 160 acres on section 16, where he is pursuing his plans with the success his industry and good management deserve. He was born March 2, 1831, in the State of Vermont, and his property gives evidence that he has inherited the practical judgment and thrifty habits which characterize the stock in which he had his origin. When he reached the age of 20 he learned the trade of a brick and plaster mason. He served his apprenticeship in Rutland, Vt., and after passing three years in that place he went to Troy, N.Y., and was occupied there one year in the same vocation. He came thence to Henry County and worked at the same business in Geneseo, where he operated as a contractor and took jobs. In the year 1878 he bought a farm of 160 acres in Atkinson Township and has been a resident there since. He is a Republican in his political views.

The marriage of Mr. CROUCH and Mary E. HUNT was celebrated Jan. 1, 1855. They  have had five children. Mary Edna was born June 1, 1856; George H., Sept. 10, 1857; Herbert R., July 25, 1862; David W., April 9, 1859; Merritt G., Nov. 17, 1874. Mrs. CROUCH was born in Vermont Oct. 15, 1835. She is a Congregationalist in religious views. [Source: pg 532. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]    

Silas Crouch, one of the prosperous and energetic farmers of Henry County, residing on section 16, Osco Township, is a son of John and Margaret (DALY) CROUCH, natives of New York and Pennsylvania respectively. Their family consisted of eight children- Nance A., Lovilla, Maria, Amanda, Silas, John, Fred and Aaron.

Silas, our subject, was born in Crawford Co., Pa., Aug. 7, 1834, and continued to remain in the State of his nativity until the year 1860, when he learned the cooper's trade and came to Henry County, and for one year lived in Cambridge, engaged in carpentering. He then worked a farm on shares for his uncle about a year, and continued to rent land until 1867, when he purchased 80 acres on section 24. He has since increased his landed interests until he has now in his possession 420 acres of good farming land, all tillable. When he came to Henry County, Mr. CROUCH had nothing but his own resources to depend upon, and he is , at the present writing, one of the most successful farmers of Henry County.

MR. CROUCH was united in marriage in Cambridge, Aug. 10, 1861, the lady being Mary CAROTHERS, daughter of James and Rachel (SKYHONK) CAROTHERS, who are both natives of Ohio. She was their only child, born in Scott Co., Ohio, Feb. 26, 1841. Mr. and Mrs. CROUCH were the parents of 11 children, nine of whom are living as follows: Lovilla J., Frank, John, James, Benjamin, Lester, Frederick, George and Ella. Two died in infancy. Mr. CROUCH has been honored by the position of School Director in his township, and in politics he is identified with the Republicans. [Source: pg 397. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]    

Samuel I. CURRY, residing at Woodhull, was born in Knox Township, Knox Co., Ill., NOv. 18, 1852. His parents were Isaiah B. and Mary (VANGILDER) CURRY, natives of Virginia and Indiana respectively, who came to this State in 1849 and 1844. They were married in 1851, in Knox County, and the issue of their union was six children,- Samuel I., Sophia J., Morey J., David V., Estella and William B., all of whom are yet living.

The subject of this notice was united in marriage to Miss Ida M. WHITMORE, March 13, 1876. She was the daughter of David and Eliza J. (BOOHER) WHITMORE, of Clover Township, this county, and their union has been blessed with two daughters, Bessie M. and Jessie D; Sophia, second child in order of birth of the parent's family, married Henry VAIL, a resident of Watage, this State, and they have two children, William and Harry; Morey J. marrried Josie HENWOOD, and two children have been born of that union,-Ethel A. and Cleona P.

Mr. CURRY of this notice received a good English education at the Hedding College at Abingdon, Knox County. After leaving school he lived with his parents until he attained the age of 24 years, when he was married, and afterward worked on his father-in-law's land, in Clover Township, for eight years. At the expiration of that time he came to Woodhull, and engaged in the hardware and implement business with his father-in-law, and has continued in the same since Jan.1 , 1884. They are doing a successful and constantly increasing business, and by fair dealing are establishing a good trade at that point.

Politically, Mr. CURRY is a believer in the tenets of the Democratic party. He and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Although a young man, Mr. CURRY has obtained quite a prominence in the community in which he resides as a man of business, sterling worth and integrity. [Source: pg 199-200. Portrait & Biographical Album of Henry Co., Illinois - Originally published by Biographical Pub. Co., Chicago, Ill, 1885]