BIOGRAPHIES published in
the "Biographical Record of Kane County, Illinois"
Originally printed by the S.J. Clarke Publishing Company, Chicago, 1898
THE BIOGRAPHIC RECORD - pg. 150
GEORGE BAKER, fence manufacturer and dealer in fencing material, Hampshire, was born near Mansfield, Seneca County, Ohio, June 9, 1845. His father, Peter Baker, was born near Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, and his mother dying when he was about five years of age, he was taken and reared by an uncle, who lived near Green Springs, Ohio. In early life he learned the shoemaker’s trade, at which he worked for many years and at odd times after his removal to Hampshire Township. Samuel Baker, the paternal grandfather, moved to Ohio, some years after his son Peter went to live with his uncle. He died there about 1858, at the age of eighty years. The Bakers are of German origin, the first of the name settling in this country in colonial days. Peter Baker married Magdalena Cook, a native of Richland county, Ohio, and a daughter of John George Cook, who left Europe after the Napoleonic wars. To them were born seven children as follows: Sarah Ann, wife of Abraham Aurand, residing in Hampshire Township; George, our subject; Jacob, living in Hampshire Township; John, residing near the village of Hampshire; William, in Hampshire Township; Harrison, living in Sandusky County, Ohio; and Lydia, wife of Chris Bowman, of Hampshire township.
In November, 1845, Peter Baker came with his family to Kane County, Illinois, and located on a farm a few miles northeast of the present village of Hampshire. He came by wagon, and was three months in making the trip. While camping on the bank of a river one evening, the father went to get wood and the mother to get water. Our subject, then but about six months old, was left under the wagon. When the mother returned, she found the little one had rolled nearly into the river. The place selected by Mr. Baker was in the heavy timber, which had to be cleared for cultivation. A log house was first erected and later a substantial frame house was built. Here the father followed farming until his death, in December, 1867, at the age of forty-seven years. The mother remained in possession of the farm, until her death, November 25, 1894, at the age of seventy-five years. Peter Baker was a very industrious man, and in bad weather and at night worked at his trade of shoe making, and thus acquired money to pay for his farm.
The subject of this sketch was reared in Hampshire Township, and attended the district schools until the age of seventeen years. He remained upon the home farm, however, until November 17, 1864, when he enlisted in Company B, Seventeenth Illinois Cavalry, under command of Captain C. H. Shopleigh, and was mustered into the service at St. Charles, and was immediately sent to Jefferson Barracks, near St. Louis, where the regiment was detained for some months. It was then sent to Lexington, Missouri, where it engaged in battle with the Rebels, after which it was sent to Macon City, guarding prisoners. They returned to Illinois in charge of the prisoners, which were left at Alton, and the regiment was then sent to Kansas, west of Fort Scott, thence to Verdegris River, in the Indian country, and in guarding the stage route in Smoky Hill Valley. When near Salt Lake City, our subject and a companion were cut off from the troop by Indians, and the two fought for several hours, when relief came. Our subject was shot in the leg and was sent to the hospital at Fort Bennett, thence to Fort Leavenworth, where he was mustered out and discharged from hospital, January 10, 1866, and was sent to the soldiers’ home, where he remained until February 22, 1866, and then sent to Spring field, and from there home.
On his return home Mr. Baker began working on a farm for Mr. Rudolph, and, not yet being of age, his father took his wages, amounting to one hundred and fifty dollars, much to his sorrow. In the summer of 1867, he worked for M. J. Getzelman, for twenty-one dollars and fifty cents per month, and in the summer of 1868 for Samuel Gift. In 1869, he worked for Eberhardt Wertwein, and in the fall of that year went to Ohio, expecting to make a visit of a few weeks. Arriving there he went to work for an uncle, with whom he remained two years. On the 7th of December, 1871, in Thompson township, Seneca county, Ohio, he married Caroline Deuchler, third in a family of eleven children, born in Alsace, France, in 1845, and who came with her parents to America in 1851, sailing in April from Havre, France, landing at New York, in June; being forty-two days on the water. Her father, Peter Deuchler, married Elizabeth Long, a daughter of Peter Long, a soldier under Napoleon. Peter Deuchler was killed by a run away team, in 1872, at the age of seventy- two years. His wife survived him some years, dying at the age of sixty-seven years. To Mr. and Mrs. Baker four children have been born, as follows: Albert W., an employee in the tile factory, at Hampshire; Samuel R., a telegraph operator at New Lebanon, Illinois; Ida May and Lillie Annie, at home.
After his marriage, Mr. Baker rented a farm in Seneca County, Ohio, where he remained one year and then spent four years on a farm in Sandusky County, Ohio. In 1876 he returned to Kane County, rented a house and worked for Lucien Baldwin for one year, and then rented his father’s old farm for four years. Shortly afterwards he bought his present place at the edge of the village of Hampshire, and built his residence. For two years he worked in the tile factory and at painting for four years. In 1883, he began his present business, and now manufactures several varieties of fencing and is also agent for several lines of patent fencing. He has erected many miles of fencing in Hampshire and adjoining townships. During the season in which fence building is dull he canvasses for Bibles and religious books, and in a single year he has sold two hundred Bibles, and distributed two thousand Christian tracts. He and his family are all members of the Evangelical church. Fraternally he is a member of Hampshire post, G. A. R., and in politics is a Republican. (Submitted by Becky Asif, firstname.lastname@example.org, who is related to Abraham Aurand and Sarah Ann Baker)
THE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD - pg 310
SAMUEL J. GIFT, a farmer residing on section 15, Hampshire Township, traces his ancestry back to Colonial times, his grandfather, Jeremiah Gift, who was of German parentage, being born in Berks County, Pennsylvania, where he died at a ripe old age. His son, Daniel Gift, the father of our subject, was born in Union county, now Snyder County, Pennsylvania, July 18, 1811, and there died June 6, 1879. He married Sophia Hassinger, who died at the age of sixty years. She was the daughter of Jacob Hassinger, who was also of German descent. To Daniel and Sophia Gift, ten children were born, eight of whom are yet living. In order of birth they were— Samuel J., our subject; Mary, who married Simon Wetzel, and lives in Kansas; Roswell, who served in the war for the union, and who died in Ohio after its close; Margaret wife of George Dibler, a retired farmer of Hampshire; Barbara, who married Philip Gilman, and lives at Milton, Pennsylvania; Jonathan, who also served in the Union army, died in Kentucky during the war; Emeline married Mr. Gilman, of Shamokin, Pennsylvania; Sarah, who married Reuben Bauersox, of Paxton, Pennsylvania; Austin, who lives at Paxton, Pennsylvania; and Addie, who married Mr. Homer, of the same place.
The subject of this sketch was born near Middleburg, Union county, Pennsylvania, May 22, 1832; prior to the time that county was cut off from Snyder County. His education was obtained in the subscription schools of his native county, before the public school system was adopted. The school facilities were very poor, the terms of school being short and indifferent teachers employed. Until eighteen years of age he worked on the farm and then learned the bricklaying trade at which he continued for five years. He also learned the tanner’s trade, and was also engaged at that business for about five years. In 1866 he came to Kane County, Illinois, and rented land for five years, raising a crop of tobacco. In the fall of 1862 he came to his present place, comprising one hundred and twenty acres which he rented for five years and then purchased. It is fine rolling land, well drained with One and a half miles of tiling, and has on it a good, substantial dwelling, good barns and other outbuildings. Here he has resided for thirty-six years, engaged in general dairy farming. He now keeps about twenty head of cows, the product of which he sells at the creamery in Hampshire.
Mr. Gift has been married three times, his first wife being Catherine Aurend, who was born in Union county, Pennsylvania, in 1832, and was the daughter of John Aurend who married a Miss Reams. By this union were six children, as follows: James W., who married Kate Madre, by whom he has two children, Maggie and Arthur, and they reside in Kansas; Edgar and Agnes, who died in childhood; John D., who lives in Iowa; Charles E., who is assisting his father in the cultivation of the home farm; and one who died in infancy. For his second wife, Mr. Gift married Barbara Frederick, a native of Kane county, Illinois, and a daughter of Mathias Frederick. By this marriage are two children, Emma J., who married James Kemmerling, and they have one child, Hilda May; Dora A., who married Reuben Wright. The third wife of Mr. Gift was Lusetta Klick, born in Lebanon county, Pennsylvania, and a daughter of John and Katherine (Decker) Klick. Her father was the son of Conrad and Elizabeth (Decker) Klick, while her mother was a daughter of Jacob and Elizabeth (Brandt) Decker. By the third marriage is one son, Edwin Henry, who is farming with his father.
Mr. Gift is a member of the United Evangelical church. In politics he is a Republican, and has served his township as school director, road commissioner and various other official positions. A good neighbor and citizen, he is respected by all who know him. (Submitted by Becky Asif, email@example.com, who is related to Abraham Aurand and Sarah Ann Baker)
THE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. pg. 399
WILLIAM KLICK, section 10, Hampshire township, is descended from an old German family, whose ancestors came to America prior to the Revolutionary war. His grandfather, Conrad Klick, was probably born in Lebanon county, Pennsylvania, the family being well known pioneers of that section, the great-great-grandfather there being killed by the Indians. Conrad Klick, who was a farmer by occupation, married Elizabeth Weidmeyer, also of an old colonial family. His death occurred when he was about sixty-five years old.
John Klick, the son of Conrad and Elizabeth Klick, was born in Lebanon county, Pennsylvania, in December, 1806, and was reared in his native county. When a young man he worked in a mill, but followed the occupation of a farmer the greater part of his life. In 1847, he came west, driving through from Pennsylvania to Kane county, Illinois, with horse teams, and was five weeks on the way. He settled in section 10, Hampshire township, where he purchased one hundred and twenty acres of timber land, a very small part of which had been cleared. He went to work and cleared most of the land and there resided until his death. He was a thrifty man and a good farmer and was fairly successful in life. Before leaving his Pennsylvania home he married Katherine Decker, a native of Berks county, Pennsylvania, and a daughter of Jacob was Elizabeth (Brandt) Decker. Her father was a carpenter by trade, and died when she was quite young. Her paternal grandfather was in the Revolutionary war, and was marked by a bullet wound on the forehead, the scar of which remained until his death. To John and Katherine Klick ten children were born, of whom nine are living, as follows: William, our subject; Elizabeth, who married Moses Reams, and lives on section 11, Hampshire township; Anna, who married Ephraim Reams and lives in Iowa; Susanna, wife of Rev. Henry Shoemaker, of Elgin; John Henry, a resident of the village of Hampshire; Jonathan, engaged in farming in Iowa; Mrs. Lucetta Gift, of Hampshire township; Catherine, widow of Christian Schiller; and Henry, residing in Iowa. Amanda died in young womanhood.
William Klick was born in Bethel township, Lebanon county, Pennsylvania, November 17, 1829. He attended the common schools of his native county until thirteen years of age, and worked on a farm until he came west in 1847. Here he remained under his father’s roof and assisted in the cultivation of the farm until his marriage, when he rented the farm and began life for himself. Some four or five years later he purchased twenty acres, which he worked in connection with his father’s farm, and subsequently bought eighty acres of prairie land, lying three miles west. The two places being so far apart made it inconvenient to work them, so he sold both in 1865, and September 13, of that year bought his present farm of seventy-five, acres, in sections 10 and 15, on which was a log house and barn. He improved the house, covering the outside with siding and lathing and plastering the inside, making it a comfortable house, in which he resided with his family for some years. Later he built a neat frame house, good, commodious barns and other outbuildings, and placed the farm under a good state of cultivation.. He planted an orchard, which for years bore a large amount of fruit. In addition to general farming, he is engaged in dairying in a small way, selling milk to the factory in Hampshire. From his dooryard, a fine view is obtained across the country west, the village of Genoa being distinctly seen.
Mr. Klick was married in Hampshire township, June 1, 1850, to Caroline Reams, born in Union county, Pennsylvania, and a daughter of Samuel and Salorne (Aurand) Reams, the latter being a daughter of John and Catherine (Young) Aurand. The mother of Samuel Reams, attained the age of eighty-eight years and her brothers, Peter and Henry, lived to be eighty-eight and eighty-six years respectively. Both served in the Revolutionary war. Samuel Reams left Union county, Pennsylvania, in 1834 and moving to Ohio, there resided eleven years. In 1845 he came to Kane county, Illinois, coming through with ox teams and bringing also four cows; he was four weeks on the road, camping each night by the wayside. He arrived in Kane county in July, bought a farm in Hampshire township, and there resided until his death at the age of seventy-three years.
To our subject and wife six children were born, of whom Ira and Nathan are deceased, the living are: (1) William Franklin, who married Lydia Marshall, by whom he has three children, Carrie, Lydia and Daniel. They lived in Elgin a number of years, but in 1894 went to Chicago. (2) Aaron, who married Ellen Williams, by whom he has eight children, Alonzo, Emma, Samuel, Rosa, William, Wilbur, Clarence and Malinda; of these Emma is now deceased. (3) Elias, who makes his home with his parents, is an expert carpenter and cabinet maker, very ingenious manufacturing various sweet-toned musical instruments. (4) Samuel, who is employed on neighboring farms, makes his home with his parents.
Politically Mr. Klick is a Republican and has been honored with several township offices including school director, road commissioner and constable. In the first named office he served for thirteen years. Our subject well remembers pioneer days in Kane county. There were yet wolves and deer here when the family came and he remembers on one occasion that his dog bringing a deer at bay, and endeavoring to shoot it his gun failed to discharge. Some hunters who were chasing it soon came up and pursued it to its death. (Submitted by Becky Asif, firstname.lastname@example.org, who is related to Abraham Aurand and Sarah Ann Baker)
THE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. pg. 236
HARRISON H. REAMS. - The Reams family originally was from Alsace or Loraine in the valley of the Rhine. The earliest ancestor of whom anything definite is known is Henry Reams, a native of Berks county, Pennsylvania. His son, Benjamin, born in Berks county, Pennsylvania, moved to Union county in the same state, where Levi, the father of our subject was born. Benjamin Reams was born August 8, 1797, and died in June, 1847. He married Susanna Aurand, a native of Union county, Pennsylvania, and a descendant of General Aurand, who was an officer during the Revolutionary war and who came from England prior to that conflict.
Levi Reams was born in Buffalo Valley, Union county, Pennsylvania, June 11, 1826, and with his parents moved to Ohio in 1832. In 1846 they came further west to Kane County, Levi having proceeded the family two years. Levi worked three years for an uncle, Henry Decker, then married and began life for himself. Having learned the carpenter’s trade, he secured remunerative employment, saved his money and purchased land. He bought and sold several tracts, each time bettering himself. During the war for the Union he enlisted, and after serving his term returned and purchased one hundred acres of land in Hampshire township, near Harmony, McHenry county, which he cultivated ten years, sold and bought one hundred and twenty-four acres two miles from Harmony, which he owned until 1884, when he sold and moved to Chicago, lived there six months, then came to the village of Hampshire, built his present house and has lived there since.
Levi Reams has a creditable record in the army. He enlisted February 1, 1864, and served faithfully until July 6, 1865. He was sent first to Pulaski, Tennessee. Thence to Atlanta, his first battle being at Dallas, which was followed by Resaca, Buzzard’s Roost, and ten other battles of the campaign around Atlanta. He was on the famous march to the sea. He received his first mail for many weeks at Cape Fear River. At Rossville, North Carolina, he first heard of Lee’s surrender. With his regiment he later participated in the grand review at Washington. He returned through Wheeling, West Virginia, and Louisville, Kentucky, to Chicago, where he was finally discharged. Of his father’s family, he and his brother Thomas alone survive. His eldest brother, John, died in service during the Mexican war. His brother Samuel, who recently died in Hampshire, also served with credit through the Civil war.
Levi Reams first married Magdalena Schoemaker, a native of Alsace, born in 1827, and who came to America in 1829, with her father Peter Schoemaker, who was by occupation a farmer. She died June 6, 1884. By this marriage there were nine children, as follows: Louise, wife of Charles Wiedmeyer, of Jacksonville, Illinois; George, who lives in Hageman, New Mexico; Israel, in business in the village of Hampshire; Lydia, who married Frank Nichols, of Chicago; Matilda, who married Ernest Wiedmeyer, of Virginia City, Illinois; Harrison H., our subject; Jane who married William Daum, a farmer in Hampshire township; William, a minister of the Congregational church, at Cumberland, Wisconsin; and Emma, at present making her home with her brother George, in New Mexico.
Harrison H. Reams was born in Hampshire Township, July 26, 1860, and attended the district schools until the age of twenty, in the meantime assisting in the cultivation of the home farm. At the age of twenty- one, in partnership with his brother, be bought one hundred and twenty-four acres of land in Hampshire township, farmed seven years, sold out and moved to the village of Hampshire, in 1888, where he began the livery and transfer business, in which he is meeting with good success. He is also engaged in feeding and dealing in thoroughbred horses, French Coach and Percheron. He married Lydia Detmer, of Kane county, and a daughter of A. H. Detmer. In politics Mr. Reams is a Republican, and for nine years served as highway commissioner, was six years a member of the village board of trustees, and is at present deputy sheriff of Kane county. Fraternally be is a member of the Modern Woodmen of Americas Knights of the Maccabees, and of lodge No. 730, I. 0. 0. F., at Hampshire, Illinois. (Submitted by Becky Asif, email@example.com, who is related to Abraham Aurand and Sarah Ann Baker)
ADIN MANN, a well-known surveyor, civil engineer and prominent citizen of Elgin, residing at No. 112 Porter street, was born in Oxford, New Hampshire, October 14, 1816, and his parents, Aaron and Sarah (Ingraham) Mann, were natives of the same state. Of their seven children, six sons and one daughter, only two are now living, Adin, and Monroe, a resident of Montana.
The father, a farmer by occupation, came to Illinois in 1838 with his family and settled on a "claim" in the western part of Elgin township, Kane county, that our subject had taken up the year previous. Overwork and change of climate broke down his health the first season and he turned over the active operations of the farm to the boys, and cultivated only his garden which he always kept in prime condition till his death in 1852, when seventy-seven years of age. His faithful wife survived him only three weeks, dying at the age of sixty-three. Both were earnest members of the Congregational church. He served as captain of a militia company in the war of 1812.
John Mann, our subject's paternal grandfather, was of English and Welsh descent, and born in Hebron, Connecticut, and was the youngest of twelve sons. His father was joint proprietor of a township on the Connecticut river, in the northerly part of New Hampshire, having surveyed the lands under the Crown and obtaining title to one-half of the territory surveyed.
These lands he offered to each of his several sons as they became of age, if they would go up and settle on it, but they all refused till it came to John, the youngest. He said "Yes, I will go," and with his young bride, a little woman of one hundred pounds weight, he started for the northern wilds, to find his promised land, and pursued his journey to the end of all roads or means of conveyance.' Here he engaged a man with a "dugout" to take his little worldly effects and row up the river, while he hired a horse from a frontier settler, and mounting, took his little wife on the "pillion " behind him, and pushed on through the tangled forest sixty miles further, and dismounting they stood there alone on an October in 1765 in the solitude of the wilderness. The man who had navigated the "dugout" took back the horse to its owner.
They found and took possession of a log shanty that some daring adventurer had built and abandoned after felling two acres of the surrounding dense timber. Thus John Mann, with a small stock of provisions, an axe, jack-knife and drawing-knife, and the wife with a bed, a six-quart iron kettle and a three-pint tin dish, started out, at the coming on of winter, to commence the battle of life and carve out for themselves a home and fortune in the wilderness, and they succeeded. Being a cooper, with his axe, jack-knife and drawing-knife, he soon made a pail and tub for the wife, and learning that a settlement some distance up the river had raised some corn and improvised a crude mill to grind it into meal, he made a dozen more pails in the same crude way, and a hand-sled, going fifteen miles over into Vermont to his nearest neighbor to borrow a small augur for the purpose, and, when the river froze over, took his wares on the sled and hauled them up to the Haverhill settlement, traded them for corn, which he brought back in the shape of meal. In the spring he burned off the brush and limbs on the two acres of fallen timber, and planted corn among the logs and raised one hundred and fifty bushels. 'Thereafter his granary was never empty, and he became known the country round as the Joseph of Egypt, where all who needed could find a supply of grain. His little wife presented him with twelve sons and three daughters, all who lived to marry but one, and, dying at the age of eighty-four, John Mann left one hundred and fifty-six living descendants.
Our subject's maternal grandfather was also of English descent and spent his entire life in the old Granite state, where he engaged in agricultural pursuits. His daughter, Mrs. Mann, was one of the heirs to the lands on which the city of Sheffield, England, the great steel manufacturing centre is builded, by will to the children of the fourth generation of the testator, of whom Mrs. Mann was one, but the loss of certain papers has hitherto defeated a successful prosecution of the claim. On the old homestead in New Hampshire, which was a part of the John Mann tract, where he first opened his eyes to the light of day, Adin Mann remained till he attained his majority, during the last three years of which he worked on the farm in summer, taught school in the winter and attended the Kimble Union Academy at the spring and fall terms, where he acquired a good practical education. In the summer of 1837 he came to Illinois and " took up a claim " on the as yet unsurveyed government lands in the west part of Elgin township, anticipating a future home for his father's family, and had some land broken up. Later in the season he returned to the old home, and in the spring of 1838 the whole family with two or three others, in all thirty persons, in wagons, started for Illinois, where they safely landed the latter part of June, after a tedious journey of nearly six weeks. A frame house was soon erected and the work of improvement began in earnest; shade trees and orchards were soon planted and in a short time the wild prairie assumed the aspect of a thrifty New England home. Later, when the public lands came into market, the claim was divided between the three older sons, one part becoming the property of our subject, who devoted the summer seasons to the farm and taught school in Elgin in the winter, being among the first teachers in this section of the state. In 1841 Mr. Mann returned to the old eastern home for "the girl he left behind him," and on the 30th of May married Miss Lydia P. Wright, daughter of Wincol F. and Mary (Worcester) Wright, and to them were born six sons and two daughters - Henry P., Eugene, Frank W., George W., Howard, Mary W., Hattie M. and Charles E. In 1843 Mr. Mann was elected justice of the peace and county surveyor, and moved from the farm into Elgin, but at the end of two years, on account of ill health, resigned the office of justice of the peace and returned to the farm, retaining, however, the surveyor's office, to which position in after years he was several times elected. He was notary public for many years, and also township assessor. He also served as county treasurer in i860 and 1861, when, on the breaking out of the war, the currency which he received at par depreciated to less than fifty cents on the dollar, and he was one of forty-two county treasurers who went under in the crash. The question might, perhaps, have been properly raised whether he and his sureties should be the sufferers, or whether the community at large, from whom he had received the currency in good faith, should have made good the losses. He turned over every species of property he possessed to make good the losses, except a cow, two pigs and a few bushels of wheat, leaving still a deficiency of $5,000, which his bail promptly paid. He then, broken in spirit, but patriotic to the core, procured authority from the governor to raise a company for the army, and in six days had one hundred brave boys enlisted, mustered into the United States service, and with his company and third son hastened to the rendezvous at Camp Butler, where he became captain of Company B, One Hundred and Twenty-fourth Regiment Illinois Volunteer Infantry. The two older sons had entered the service the year previous, and the fourth followed as soon as he could carry a gun. The father and four sons put in fourteen years of hard service, always at the front, and were one hundred and twenty-five days under battle and siege, and, what is quite remarkable, neither received a wound. He participated in quite a number of important battles, including the engagements at Port Gibson, Raymond, Jackson, Champion Hills, which General Grant declared to be the most important battle of the war, also at Yazoo and Bentonville, and in an exposed position and under fire through the siege of Vicks-burg, where he had command of the left wing of the charging party at the blowing up of Fort Hill. Later he was appointed chief engineer of the Vicksburg district, which position he filled with marked ability and efficiency till mustered out of the service, August 14, 1865, with the rank of lieutenant-colonel. When Lee surrendered, the headquarters of the department of the Mississippi was moved from Vicksburg to Jackson, with thirty thousand troops at that and other points in the interior. Mr. Mann was ordered to examine and report the condition of railroad communication between the two points, and found the whole line from the Big Black river to Jackson (thirty-five miles) in a condition of utter wreck, over one hundred bridges and culverts burned out, fourteen miles of the rails torn up and bent, ties burned and other material destroyed or carried away.
This he was ordered to rebuild at once, to furnish the timber, ties and other needed material, straighten the bent and twisted rails and put the road in running order, and was given seven regiments of colored troops to do it with, and in the meantime to furnish transportation and forward all supplies for the troops at Jackson and interior until the railroad could be rebuilt, and he was obliged to put on a transportation train of nine hundred mules for that purpose.
There being no white troops in reach from which to obtain the necessary skilled labor, he was compelled to pick up and hire old railroad men and mechanics wherever he could find them, and had one hundred and forty such on his pay roll, a large part of whom were returned Confederate soldiers.
The work was prosecuted vigorously. Material procured, timber cut and hewed in the forests, fifty miles away, bridges built, rails straightened and laid, and engines soon on the track. During these later months our subject had the work of three men on his shoulders, yet every branch of the business was pushed forward with system and vigor, he often riding forty miles on horseback in the night to be present at some point where his presence was needed in the morning. Thus he closed his military career, with the consciousness of having discharged every duty devolving upon him with promptness and efficiency and to the entire satisfaction of all his superiors in office, and with the warm regard of all who served under him, for he always looked after the comfort of the common soldier, often dismounting while on the march and putting a tired soldier boy in his saddle, or taking up a half dozen guns and balancing them across the saddle in front of him, to relieve the weary ones of a part of their burden, and looking after the comfort of the sick as far as possible.
He had saved over four thousand dollars from his army pay and when discharged from the military service went into the lumber business, and became partner in three steam sawmills and a large body of pine timber land, his family having removed to Vicksburg near the close of the war. The business prospect was most excellent, his interest being capable of yielding him a daily net income of fifty dollars, from which he hoped soon to liquidate all his obligations in Illinois. But the fates combined to crush him again at the end of the war as it had done at the beginning, and after a year of hard work and struggle, with the life of himself and family in constant peril, he gave up the contest and with funds barely sufficient to reach Kane county, he returned to his old home in Batavia, broken in health and penniless. The bitterness of the South against the old Yankee soldiers and the refusal of the railroads to ship his lumber to market, with other causes, compelled him to abandon a property worth ten thousand dollars.
After returning, to Batavia, Illinois, he engaged in map-making for a Philadelphia publishing firm, and made county atlases in Ohio, Pennsylvania and New York, and a state atlas of Kansas and Nebraska, which embraced a sectional map of every county in those states. He was an expert in this work. He filled the position of city engineer of Oil City for a time, and was assistant engineer at Topeka, Kansas, for a year and a half. With the exception of four years in Mississippi and twelve years in Kansas he has made his home in Kane county since 1837, and has been prominently identified with its interests. His life has been one of checkered vicissitudes, having lost the bottom dollar six times, yet when overwhelmed and buried beneath the avalanche of misfortune has heroically kicked off the sods and commenced anew the fight, and although in his eighty-second year he is still very active and is now acceptably serving as city engineer of Elgin and deputy county surveyor of Kane county.
Fraternally, Mr. Mann affiliates with Veteran post, No. 49, G. A. R., and, politically, has always been identified with the Republican party. His life is exemplary in many respects, and he has ever supported those interests which are calculated to uplift and benefit humanity, while his own high moral worth is deserving of the highest commendation. He has been a strictly temperate man, never using tobacco or liquor in any form, and both he and his wife are consistent members of the Congregational- church. On the eightieth anniversary of his birth, the family and near relatives held a reunion at his home, it being a pleasant surprise to himself and wife. In memory of that occasion he penned the following beautiful poem, being too much surprised and affected at the time to give expression to his thoughts:
TO THE FRIENDS WHO SO PLEASANTLY SURPRISED US ON THE EIGHTIETH ANNIVERSARY OF OUR BIRTHDAY.
In the early morning still with dewdrops glittering, With the mists still curling and the robins twittering, While all varied nature, fresh from the couch of night, Robed in golden sunbeams, smiled with radiance bright.
In life's morning pathway, moist with the dew of youth,
I met a blushing maiden, as fair and pure as truth; She put her hand in mine with confidence and joy, We walked along together in bliss without alloy.
We roamed o'er life's meadows, through many downs and ups,
Breathing balm of roses, plucking the buttercups; Hand in hand together along life's devious way, Erst with joy or sorrow, we walked the live-long day.
But mid-day heat grew strong, our shoulder's bent with care,
And many blinding griefs and burdens hard to bear; Yet in joy or sorrow, hand in hand as ever, Through all life's long journey we've walked along together.
Now the day is waning, the evening shades draw nigh, The hour is approaching to lay our labors by, Yet through twilight walking, hand in hand together, We still will journey on, nearing the dark river.
And will the angels come, as we stand together By the deep dark waters, and row us safely over To The land of beauty-to the realms forever blest- Where no sorrow reaches and weary ones find rest?
Will our absent loved ones, who've passed away before,
Meet with joyous greeting our landing on their shore? Will those we leave behind come to that happy land? Shall we meet together, a full, unbroken band?
God in his mercy grant this, our most earnest prayer: Guide us all and keep us, and bring us over there, Over there, over there, a blest united band. Together over there, one in that happy land.
Elgin, Illinois, October 14, 1896.
EBEN FOSS, residing at No. 631 Douglas avenue, Elgin, is the possessor of a handsome property which now enables him to spend his years in the pleasurable enjoyment of his accumulations. The record of his life previous to 1885, is that of an active, enterprising, methodical and sagacious business man and farmer, who bent his energies to the honorable acquirement of a comfortable competence for himself and family.
Mr. Foss was born in Thornton, New Hampshire, June 10, 1822, a son of Eben and Mary (Webster) Foss, also natives of that state, the former born January 9, 1785, the latter April 24, 1793. They were married November 2, 1815, at Thornton. When our subject was quite small he lost his mother, her death occurring March 24, 1826, but the father survived her many years, dying March 16, 1869. The paternal grandfather, who also bore the name of Eben Foss, was a native of New Hampshire, where throughout life he followed the occupation of farming and reared a large family of children, including John, Eben, Langdon, Carter, Jacob, Milton, Ruth, Betsy, Mrs. Robinson and Mrs. Durgin. The parents of these children were both members of the Congregational church.
The maternal grandfather of our subject was a private in the Colonial army during the Revolutionary war and late in life received a pension from the government. The great-great-grandmother, Mrs. Dustin, was at one time taken prisoner by the Indians while they were on the warpath and held in captivity for a time. Being notified of the approach of the red men, she sent word by one of the children to her husband who was plowing in the field at the time. He came at once to the house, brought out his seven children and bidding them to run ahead he slowly retreated, keeping the Indians back with his gun; he thus brought off his little flock in safety. His wife, who was unable to escape with him, was dragged into captivity. The party who captured Mrs. Dustin marched many days through the forest, at length reached an island in the Merrimac. Several days later, while the Indians were asleep, she, with the assistance of her nurse and a boy, who had also been captured, killed ten of the red men and returned home with their scalps that she might prove to the settlers, beyond a doubt, what she had done.
The mother of our subject had two brothers, Betton and Bradley, and perhaps others, besides several sisters - Mrs. Sargent, Mrs. Robinson, Mrs. Chatman, and Harriet, who was twice married, her second husband being a Mr. Greely, who conducted a hotel in Thornton, New Hampshire, for many years.
Eben Foss, of this review, is the fourth in order of birth in a family of six children, as follows: Betton, born February 10, 1817, was married in May, 1841, and both he and his wife are now deceased, his death occurring August 21, 1859. Mary Ann, born August 2, 1818, married Charles Cal-don, and died in 1882, leaving four children, who live in New Hampshire. Hannah Jane, born May 11, 1820, was married in December, 1842, to Oris Hitchcock, and died in 1891, leaving the following children - Paschal, Charles, Frank, Mary, wife of Charles Sharp; Mrs. Hattie Andrews, Mrs. Clara Bell Loveless, Mrs Ella Sharp, and Ellen.
Eben, our subject. Bradley V., born July 29, 1824, was married July 11, 1852, and now lives in Laporte City, Iowa. Harriet Webster, born February 8, 1826, was married May 9, 1850, to Daniel Brandon, and died in 1887. After the death of the mother of these children, the father married Charlotte Elliott, by whom he had one son- Charles Elliott, who was born May 28, 1828, and is now living in California. His children are Alvah and Louella, who are still living; and Ida, who died in 1877, at the age of twenty years.
During his boyhood the subject of this sketch attended the district schools for three months during the winter season, while the remainder of the year was spent in assisting with the work of the home farm. When sixteen years of age he came with his parents to Campton township, Kane county, where he purchased one hundred and sixty acres of wild land at the government price of one dollar and a quarter per acre. He continued to work for his father until he attained his majority, and became thoroughly familiar with every department of farm work. On starting out in life for himself, he continued to follow the pursuit to which he had been reared, and became one of the most successful farmers and stock-raisers in his locality. The land which he purchased from the government he continued to operate until 1884, and to the original tract added until he had one hundred and seventy-four acres of valuable land, which he sold for nearly sixty-seven dollars per acre. He then removed to Elgin, where he has since lived retired, enjoying the fruits of his former toil.
In 1847 Mr. Foss was united in marriage to Mrs. Emily C. (Ravlin) Cleveland, who died November 18, 1885, at the age of sixty-six years. She was a consistent Christian woman, a member of the Baptist church. By her first marriage she had one son, still living, Charles L. Cleveland, of Scranton, Greene county, Iowa, who married Wealthy Allen and has two children, Fred and Frank. Three children blessed the second union, namely: Mary Webster, who died at the age of one year; Harriet, widow of J. A. Daniels, who died February 12, 1896, in California, aged fifty-three years, and left one son, John F., now a student in the public schools; and Mary F., wife of J. H. Williams, of Elgin, by whom she has five children-Howard, Clarence, Lloyd, Ruth and Grace.
Mr. Foss cast his first presidential vote for Zachary Taylor, but has never taken a very active part in politics aside from voting. He is a worthy representative of that class of citizens who lead quiet, industrious, honest and useful lives, and constitute the best portion of a community. Wherever known he is held in high regard, and as an honored pioneer and highly-respected citizen he is certainly deserving of honorable mention in the history of his adopted county.
JONATHAN TEFFT, a farmer living two and one-half miles south of Elgin City, is numbered among the earliest settlers of Kane county, the family emigrating from Madison county, New York, and locating in Kane county in the fall of 1835. The paternal grandfather, Jeremiah Tefft, was a native of Rhode Island, married "Rhoda Hoxie, of Richmond, Kings county, Colony of Rhode Island," as the old marriage certificate reads, which is in possession of our subject, "October 23, 1768, by Edward Perry, J. P."
After the close of the Revolution he moved to Madison county, New York, which was then the far western frontier. There he spent the remainder of his life and reared his large family, one of whom, Jonathan, was the father of our subject. Jonathan Tefft, Sr., was born in Madison county, New York, where he married Elizabeth Collins, born December 8, 1792, and daughter of Solomon Collins. By this union were fourteen children, six of whom are yet living: Amos, living in Nebraska; Jonathan, our subject; Thomas W., now serving as alderman of the sixth ward in Elgin; Louisa, widow of P. C. Gilbert, residing in Elgin; Emeline, widow of William Worden, now residing in Kansas; and Rhoda, who married Chauncey B. Halley, and now lives in Barrington, Cook county.
On coming west, Jonathan Tefft, Sr., settled first on a farm in Cook county, adjoining the present city of Elgin, a part of which is now Lord's Park. The year following he bought a claim, the farm on which our subject now resides, lying in section 36, Elgin township, and section 31, Hanover township, Cook county. The first farm in Cook county he sold to his son, Dr. Joseph Tefft, the first physician in Elgin. His death occurred in Elgin, January 26, 18S6, having almost attained his seventy-sixth year. In his political views he was originally a Democrat, later a Republican, a man of great strength of character, never sought office, but served in many official positions. Jonathan Tefft, Sr., was one of three commissioners to lay out and establish a road from Elgin to St. Charles oil the east side of Fox river.
Jonathan Tefft, our subject, was born in the town of Lebanon, Madison county, New York, was reared on a farm, and attended the district schools until the age of eighteen, when the family moved west. He attended school one winter after coming to Illinois in a log school house two miles south of Elgin. His first purchase of land was one hundred and ten acres lying northeast of Elgin, and in 1850 he purchased one hundred and forty-three acres in section 31, range 9, lying south of his father's homestead. On that place he resided until March 1, 1865, when he moved to the old farm.
Mr. Tefft was married near Elgin April 8, 1841, to Miss Delinda West, a native of Madison county, New York, and daughter of Isaac West, who first married Ruth Wilcox, daughter of Daniel Wilcox. The Wests moved from the same neighborhood in Madison county, New York, the year following the emigration of the Tefft family. Of the three children of Isaac and Ruth West, Mrs. Tefft alone survives. He died in 1876 at the age of eighty-two years. To Mr. and Mrs. Tefft five children have been born, only two of whom are now living, Jenny and Frank.
As a practical farmer, Mr. Tefft is excelled by few. He has a large dairy farm, which consists of two hundred and eighty acres, fifty-two acres lying in Kane county and the rest in Cook county, and is well improved in every respect. His father's old house is still standing on the farm, but he resides in a house erected by himself in 1888, which cost nearly five thousand dollars. On the place are one hundred head of cattle, eighty of which are milch cows. He has a large cattle barn, thirty-six by one hundred and forty-six feet, horse barn forty by forty feet, and tool shed thirty-two by thirty-six feet. The entire farm is under a high state of cultivation, and everything about the place shows a thrift of the owner.
In politics Mr. Tefft is a Republican, with which party he has acted since its organization. He has been honored by his townsmen with a number of official positions. He was made a Master Mason in the Elgin lodge, No. 117, in 1854, and was one of the charter members of South Elgin lodge in 1865. On the surrender of its charter he again united with Elgin lodge, No. 117. He was a member of Fox River chapter at St. Charles, and of Bethel commandery at Elgin. He was formerly a member of the Sycamore commandery at Sycamore. At one time he was a member of the Board of Trade of Elgin.
Mr. Tefft is one of the few men yet living who saw almost this entire country in its virgin state, and has done as much as any other one man to develop its resources and make it the garden spot of the west. On his arrival here there were but few cabins on the east side of the river at Elgin and but three on the west side. He has hunted deer on the present site of the city, and assisted in breaking the prairie on its present site. He remembers when the Indians came from the northwest to spear fish in the Fox river. Nearly all of his long and useful life has been spent in Elgin township, and few men are better known in Kane county.
JOHN L. HEALY, a representative member of the bar of Elgin and a native of the city, was born August 3, 1861, his parents being Bernard and Catherine (Laughlin) Healy. His father was born in Dublin, Ireland, and was a son of Joseph Healy, an officer in the English army. The latter married Margaret Morgan and both he and his wife spent their entire lives in the old world. Bernard Healy was the only one of their family that ever crossed the Atlantic to America. He made the voyage in 1842 and soon after took up his residence in Elgin, where he embarked in the harness and a saddlery business, engaging longer in active and uninterrupted business than any other in the county. He aided in laying out the town of Elgin in connection with James T. Gifford and named two streets in honor of his favorite authors, William E. Channing and Joseph Addison. He was a man of extensive reading and broad general culture and his memory was remarkably retentive. In all matters of business his word was as good as his bond and he had the respect and confidence of all who knew him. He was a man of remarkable purity of character, of earnest purpose and upright life, and his life record forms an indispensable part of the history of the county. In politics he was a Democrat, and in religious belief was a Catholic. His death occurred November 6, 1894, but his widow is still living in Dundee, Illinois. They had a family of six children: Bernard; John Leander, of this sketch; Richard, who died in infancy; Walter E., who was a graduate of Ann Arbor University and now a student in Mr. Healy's law office; May E. and Charles, all residents of Kane county. The father of this family was twice married, and the children of the other union are Joseph and Rosann. Their mother bore the maiden name of Winifred Anderson, and their marriage was celebrated in Manchester, England. Her son, Joseph, was a graduate of Notre Dame and the University- of Michigan, at Ann Arbor, and studied law with Judge Silvanus Wilcox. He afterward became a partner of Botsford & Barry, and died in 1871, at the age of twenty-six years. He was a young man of splendid mental attainments and brilliant prospects. His sister died at St. Mary's College, while pursuing her studies there.
The public schools of Elgin afforded our subject his preliminary educational advantages, which were supplemented by a course in the high school of Dundee. He next entered St. Joseph's College, of Bardstown. He further continued his studies in Notre Dame University, and was graduated in 1879, after which he studied law in the office and under the direction of Botsford & Barry, of Elgin. He was admitted to the bar in Chicago, in 1884, passing an examination before the appellate court, and then spent one year traveling in Europe. He did some post-graduate work in Heidelburg and spent some time in Frankfort-on-the-Main and in other European cities, and, with a mind broadened by travel and the knowledge and culture which only travel can bring, he returned to his native land.
Locating in Elgin, Mr. Healy entered into partnership with Judge Henry B. Willis, under the firm name of Willis & Healy, a connection that was maintained for four years with excellent success. It was then dissolved by mutual consent and Mr. Healy has since been alone. He is engaged in general practice and is well versed in many departments of jurisprudence. He has a splendidly equipped office in the building which he owns, and enjoys a large clientele. He also has other real-estate interests, including two store buildings adjoining the Spurling block, and has some valuable realty in Chicago.
In politics Mr. Healy is a Republican; socially, and is a prominent member of the Knights of Pythias fraternity and other organizations. He has attained a well-merited success at the bar and in his other business enterprises, and Elgin regards him as one of her substantial and reliable citizens.
HERMAN H. AND GUSTAVE F. KIRCHHOFF, Hampshire, Illinois, doing business under the firm name of Kirchhoff Brothers, are dealers in lumber, grain, flour, feed, coal and wood. They carry a good stock of all things in their line and are doing a large and fairly prosperous business. They are well known throughout the northern part of Kane county and the adjoining portions of McHenry and De Kalb counties as young men of good business ability, and who can be depended upon in every business transaction. Henry Kirchhoff, their father, was born in Hanover, Germany, in 1833, and emigrated to America in 1845 with his father, John Henry Kirchhoff, who was a soldier against Napoleon, at Waterloo, and who died in Cook county, Illinois, at the age of seventy-nine years. Henry Kirchhoff married Mary Franzen, a daughter of Henry Franzen, who was an early settler of DuPage county. They became the parents of ten sons and two daughters, all of whom are living in Cook county, save Herman H. and Gustave K., of whom we write.
Herman H. Kirchhoff was born in the township of Leyden, Cook county, Illinois, January 27, 1862, and there made his home until 1887, in the meantime attending the public schools and assisting upon the home farm. In company with C. A. Franzen he then went to Pingree Grove and opened a lumber, wool and coal yard, which they conducted for eleven years. Gustave F. Kirchhoff was also born in the township of Leyden, Cook county, Illinois, his birth occurring November 11, 1869. He also received his education in the public schools of the township and assisted upon the home farm. On the 1st of January, 1898, the two brothers moved to Hampshire and purchased the feed store of Werthwein & Zimmer, and in February following, the lumber yard of McClure & Struckman, a business in which, as already stated, they are meeting with success, being accommodating and popular.
Herman H. Kirchhoff was married December 21, 1892, in Elgin, Illinois, to Miss Margaret J. Shedden, of Plato township, and a daughter of John Shedden, who is now living a retired life in the city of Elgin. To them have been born one daughter, Florence Alice. Mr. and Mrs. Kirchhoff are members of the Presbyterian church and are active in all church and benevolent work. Fraternally he is a member of the Modern Woodmen of America and Knights of the Maccabees. In social circles they occupy a prominent place.
ROBERT ARCHIBALD, a successful and progressive farmer residing at No. 434 Chicago street, Elgin, is a native of Kane county, born in Dundee, March 11, 1852, and is the only child born of the union of Abram and Jane (Crichton) Archibald. The parents were both natives of Scotland, where they were married in 1847, and the following year they left their old home near Glasgow and crossed the Atlantic to America. The father purchased a farm two miles and a half northwest of Dundee in Kane county, and here followed agricultural pursuits, although in his native land he had served as foreman in a colliery. On laying aside business cares, he moved to Elgin, where he died June 23, 1897, aged eighty-four years and one month. He was a worthy and highly respected citizen, ever kind and accommodating to his neighbors and friends, and just and honorable in all his dealings. His whole life was characterized by honesty, industry and those qualities essential to good citizenship. He was first a Republican in politics and later a Democrat, while in religious belief he was a Presbyterian, to which church his wife also be-longed. She died April 8, 1893, at the age of eighty-one years. By a former marriage he had one son, Abram Archibald, Jr., now living near Los Angeles, California. The mother of our subject was also previously married, her first husband being Daniel McNeal, by whom she had three children: Malcom and John, members of the firm of McNeal & Higgins, wholesale grocers on Market street, Chicago; and Anna, wife of Thomas Todd, of 136 South State street, Elgin. They came to the United States during childhood.
Robert Archibald began his education in the common schools of Kane county, and later attended the Elgin Academy. Since completing his education he has devoted his time and attention to farming, having become thoroughly familiar with all the duties which fall to the lot of the agriculturist upon the home farm where he was reared. Being a thorough and systematic farmer he has met with a well-deserved success and is now the owner of two valuable farms in Kane county. In connection with general farming he is also engaged in dairying. Socially he affiliates with Dundee lodge, No. 190, F. & A. M., and politically is a Democrat. In the various relations of life he has always been the same earnest, upright, capable and courteous gentleman, winning the confidence and esteem of all who know him.
DWIGHT E. BURLINGAME, M. D., is one of the most prominent and successful physicians and surgeons of Elgin, his office being at his beautiful home at No. 18 Villa street. He was born in Adams, Berkshire county, Massachusetts, June 8, 1844, and is a son of Daniel Fenner and Mary A. (Mason) Burlingame, also natives of the old Bay state. The family is of Danish origin and its first representatives in England were probably prisoners of war. It was founded in this country as early as 1640. The Doctor's grandfather, Elisha Burlingame, was a native of Rhode Island, and as a Continental soldier during the Revolutionary war, he fought in the battle of Long Island. He died of pneumonia in middle life, leaving four children, three sons and one daughter. James Mason, the Doctor's maternal grandfather, was also a native of Rhode Island, was a farmer and frontier tradesman, and died at an advanced age.
Daniel F. Burlingame was also a farmer by occupation, and died on his farm in Adams, Massachusetts, in 1895, at the ripe old age of eighty-eight years. During his early days he was captain of the state militia, and did considerable business in settling up estates as a referee and appraiser. His wife departed this life in 1893 at the age of eighty-six years. Both were consistent members of the Congregational church, and were highly respected by all who knew them. , Four sons and one daughter were born to them, of whom four are still living - Elisha, a resident of Adams, Massachusetts; Dwight E.; Phoebe A.; and John L., of Holyoke, Massachusetts.
Under the parental roof Dr. Burlingame grew to manhood, and after attending the public schools of his native state for some time, he graduated from a high school in 1865. Subsequently he entered the medical department of the Northwestern University at Evanston, Illinois, and graduated from that institution in 1869 with the degree of M. D. The following year he opened an office in Elgin at his present location. He has that true love for his work without which there can be no success, and has always been a progressive physician, constantly improving on his own and others' methods and gaining further encouragement and inspiration from the performance of each day's duties. Regularly each year he makes a trip to the east for the purpose of visiting noted medical institutions to refresh his memory and obtain the latest ideas on the science of medicine and surgery. He regularly visits the old University Medical School of Philadelphia, one of the most thorough medical schools in the country where the work of such men as Drs. Joseph Price, Ashurdt, Baldy, Penrose, Deavor, and Hart is studied. He also visits the celebrated Bellevue Hospital Medical College and the Post Graduate School of New York, whose corps of teachers are nowhere excelled for their ability and skillful work, both in medicine and surgery. In 1892 he crossed the ocean and visited the hospitals in Europe, especially those of Berlin, Germany, and Paris, France, gaining much useful and practical knowledge. Although engaged in general practice, he makes a specialty of surgery and is recognized as one of the most skillful surgeons in Northern Illinois. At present and for some years he has been a member of the surgical staff of Sherman Hospital, Elgin, Illinois. In his chosen calling he has met with remarkable success.
In 1872, Dr. Burlingame was united in marriage with Miss Sarah A. Winchester, a native of Canada and daughter of Dr. Edgar and Anna Maria (Martin) Winchester, the former born in the province of Quebec and the latter in England. In early life Dr. Winchester moved with his father's family to Walpole, lower Canada, where he grew to manhood and received a good education. He studied medicine in that country and attended a medical college in Toronto, Canada, later graduated at Ann Arbor and took a post-graduate course in Jefferson Medical College in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. About 1852 he removed with his family to Dundee, Kane county, where he engaged in practice a few years and then moved to Elgin, where he soon became well established and was recognized as one of the best physicians and surgeons in the place.
In 1858, Mrs. Winchester departed this life. She was a woman of excellent reputation, and in early life was a member of the Church of England, but later in life united with the Baptists and was a member of that body at the time of her death. She was a mother of four children, two of whom are now living-Mrs. Burlingame and Dr. William G., a successful dentist of Detroit, Michigan. Later Dr. Winchester married Miss Lydia Choate Perkins, of Elgin, by whom he had three children, only one now living, Maud, residing with her mother in San Bernadino, California.
Early in 1862, Dr. Winchester offered his services to the general government and in March 25th of that year received his commission as surgeon and was assigned to the Fifty-second Illinois Volunteer Infantry. He joined his command about a week before the battle of Pittsburg Landing, and coming to the front a young, unknown surgeon, he was assigned by his superior officer to a minor position in one of the field hospitals during the fight. While performing his duty, a captain was brought in wounded, a ball having passed through the bone of one of his arms. The surgeon in charge said the arm must come off, and his opinion was concurred in by other surgeons present. The captain refused to submit to its amputation- and in someway Dr. Winchester was called upon for his opinion. After examining the arm he said that it could be saved though the operation would shorten it a little. The other surgeons smiled increduously, but the Doctor proceeded to work, cutting out a portion of the bone and bringing the parts together. The operation was quickly, neatly and skillfully performed that the Doctor was at once put to surgical work and his ability was recognized by all. After serving over two years he resigned his position, which was accepted April 23, 1864.
Returning to his home in Elgin, Dr. Winchester resumed the practice of his profession and continued until 1871, when he removed to San Bernadino, California, where he died in 1875. He was a consistent member of the Baptist church, and took as active a part in church work as his professional duties would permit. Every Sunday morning especial found him in the house of God. His widow is yet living in San Bernadino.
To Dr. and Mrs. Burlingame two children have been born-Anna M. and Hattie F., both at home. The family hold membership in the Baptist church and occupy an enviable position in social circles. Fraternally- the Doctor belongs to Monitor lodge, F. & A. M.; Loyal L. Munn chapter, R. A. M. and Bethel commandery, K. T. He is also a member of the Century Club of Elgin; the Fox River Valley Medical Society; the Illinois State Medical Association; the American Medical Association. Politically he is independent. Wherever the Doctor goes he wins friends and has the happy faculty of being able to retain them. His popularity has made him a great favorite in all circles.
COLONEL WILLIAM SMAILES, who has attained distinction in military circles, and is one of the leading merchant tailors of Elgin, has shown in his successful career that he has the ability to plan wisely and execute with energy, a combination which, when possessed by men in any walk of life, never fails to effect notable results.
Mr. Smailes is a native of England, born in Burlington, Yorkshire, May 14, 1842, a son of William and Mary (Witty) Smailes. The father and also the grandfather, David Smailes, followed the tailor's trade as a life work. In 1853 William Smailes, Sr., brought his family to America and located in Elgin, Illinois, where throughout the remainder of his life he worked at his trade, at the same time being also interested in farming. His death occurred in December, 1881. In his family were five children, namely: Rebecca, who married James O'Connor, and died in 1872; William; Mary Ann; Janet; and Frederick, who died in 1897. In his religious views the father was liberal and in politics was a stanch Republican.
Having accompanied his parents on their removal to this country, William Smailes, Jr., grew to manhood in Elgin and in the Elgin Academy completed his literary education, being one of the first pupils in that institution. While not in school he worked principally upon his father's farm until after the outbreak of the Civil war. In December, 1863, he enlisted in Company A, Thirty-sixth Illinois Volunteer Infantry, and was ordered to the front in the spring of the following year. During his first engagement - the battle of Resaca - he was wounded in the left leg below the knee and was first sent to the field hospital, from there to Nashville, Tennessee, thence to New Albany, Indiana, and later to Quincy, Illinois. When he had sufficiently recovered, he was assigned to the medical department at Quincy, where he remained until April, 1865, and was then engaged in military duty on Rock Island until mustered out November 15,1865.
Returning to his home in Elgin, Mr. Smailes worked at the tailor's trade for others for a while, and then embarked in business on his own account, then as a member of the firm of William Smailes & Sons, and later Smailes Brothers. Since the death of his brother he has been alone and to-day enjoys an excellent trade, which has been built up through fair dealing and good workmanship, for he is acknowledged to be one of the best tailors in the city.
At Quincy, June 10, 1866, Mr. Smailes was united in marriage with Miss Emma Lane, daughter of James Lane, and to them were born four children. Anna, the eldest, is now the wife of Morton V. Gilbert, a prominent lawyer of Chicago, member of the well-known firm of Smith, Gilbert & Kreidler, and they have two children - Virginia and Katherine. The others of the family were Willie, now deceased; Fred J., who is employed in the watch factory; and Guy Garfield, deceased. Religiously the family is connected with the Universalist church.
The Republican party always finds in Mr. Smailes a stalwart supporter, and he takes quite an active and prominent part in local politics. He has been a member of the Republican executive committee, has been a delegate to numerous conventions, and in the spring of 1886 was elected alderman from the fifth ward. On leaving the army he did not allow his interest in military affairs to subside, but in 1876 organized a company of state guards, of which he served as captain for eight years. It was made Company E, Third Regiment Illinois National Guards, and was one of the best drilled companies in the regiment. For two years, in 1884 and 1885, Mr. Smailes served as lieutenant-colonel of the regiment. He is a prominent member of the Grand Army Post of Elgin, of which he was commander in 1894 and 1895, and has held other offices. He was also on the national staff of the Grand Army under Grand Commander Lawler. Mr. Smailes was the first secretary and is now serving as such at the Elgin Children's Home Association. Fraternally he is also an honored member of the Masonic order, belonging to the blue lodge, No. 522, F. & A. M.; Woodstock chapter, No. 36, R. A. M.; and Bethel commandery, No. 36, K. T. In this order he is past master and past eminent commander. It is safe to say that no man in Elgin has more friends or is held in higher regard by the entire community than William Smailes.
WILLIAM H. WING, of Elgin, Kane county, Illinois, for many years one of the leading attorneys, real estate and loan agents of that city, with suite of rooms comprising the whole second floor of the First National Bank building, is one of the best known citizens of the county. He was born in Washtenaw county, Michigan, and is a son of Washington and Catherine (Himes) Wing, both natives of New York state, who after their marriage first settled in Washtenaw county, Michigan, and later moved to the adjoining county of Livingston, where they engaged in the occupation of farming, and while there Washington Wing was elected to the legislature of Michigan, and served in the session of 1845-6. In the summer of 1846 he came to Elgin, Kane county, Illinois, and purchased a farm just north of the city, the present site of the Ludlow shoe factory. Later he purchased and moved to a farm just west of the city, where the remainder of his life was passed - and where he died in February, 1888. His wife, Catherine Wing, died there in March, 1854. They were the parents of four children: William H., our subject; George W., who died in Michigan, April 16,1842; Mary V., who died in Elgin, on the farm last mentioned December 26, 1862; and Orlando A., now a farmer and resident of St. James, Minnesota.
After the death of his first wife, Washington Wing married Adeline Willits, of Delhi, Michigan, who survived him. They were the parents of two children: Edwin W., who resides on the old homestead, and Katie L., wife of Rev. Silas Sprowls, of Elsinore, California, where her mother also resides. Washington Wing was an active, progressive farmer, well and favorably known. For some years he served his township as a member of the Kane county board of supervisors, and from time to time held other local official positions.
William H. Wing was ten years of age when he came with his parents to Elgin: His school life,, beginning in the public schools of Livingston county, Michigan, was continued in the schools of Elgin and Lombard University, Galesburg, Illinois. He was united in marriage with Miss Abby C. Saunders, at Milwaukee, Wisconsin, July 18, 1861, and after reading law in the office of Silvanus Wilcox, at Elgin, and attending the law department of the University of Michigan, at Ann Arbor, was admitted to the bar to practice law in the various courts of Illinois, April 23, 1867. He soon afterward opened an office at Elgin, and from that time on for several years diligently and successfully followed his profession and the trial of cases in the various courts of Kane and adjoining counties. On the t 8th of October, 1875, he was admitted to practice in the district and circuit courts of the United States for the northern district of Illinois, having cases in both of these courts at that time. Of late years he has omitted the trial of law cases as much as possible, as his large office, real estate and loan business required his entire attention. Several of the young men of Elgin have been students in his office at various times and are now successful practitioners.
For many years Mr. and Mrs. Wing occupied a beautiful home on Highland avenue in the city of Elgin, which was remodeled by them in 1891, making it one of the handsomest residences in the city. There was probably no residence in Elgin that contained more elaborate interior finish, while the exterior was also handsome and modern. This beautiful home was almost destroyed by fire on the morning of March 20, 1897, at which time Mrs. Wing lost her life. No greater calamity ever befell the city of Elgin, and the sympathy of the entire community went out to the bereaved husband. Mrs. Wing was a native of New Hampshire, her maiden name being Abby C. Saunders, and was a daughter of Henry and Martha Saunders. In 1854, through the advice of the governor of New Hampshire, she gave up the comforts of her childhood home at Wilmot, that state, and came west in company with friends, among them Miss Kilbourne, who is now Mrs. Oscar Lawrence, of Kane county, Illinois, to engage in teaching. She soon secured and taught the district school in the new brick school house northwest of the city the coming fall and winter terms, and the following year took charge of one of the principal schools of Dundee, and among her pupils was Alfred Bosworth, the present cashier of the First National Bank at Elgin. Sending for her younger sister, Martha, who was still in the east, they continued teaching in the Dundee school, and were very successful. In 1856 Miss Saunders came to Elgin and taught school in the building on the site of the present Mill street school, which was known as the Hamilton district. After her marriage to Mr. Wing, in 1861, she continued to teach for a time, and became principal of the Elgin high school. She also taught in the "old brick," where the high school is now located, and in the old Baptist church school, and in the Elgin Academy. She was a very able teacher, and a woman of much executive ability and very fine educational attainments. Her management of the school room was tactful and energetic, while her opinions were often sought and relied upon by those outside of the school room. Many of the middle-aged men and women of Elgin owe the excellence of their instruction to her conscientious discharge of her duties as a teacher. In later years, as the wife of our subject, her home influence and management were quite as marked as her school government. The boundless hospitality of Mr. and Mrs. Wing encircled a host of friends from all points of the compass, and it was a rare occurrence to find her without a guest. To those who frequented her home and shared her genial entertainment, her presence was almost home itself, and the friendly words of advice or encouragement which she seemed so able to give to many an unfortunate or despairing one, can never be estimated in number or fruition. Ever ready to sacrifice herself for the benefit of others, doing through tiresome exertions what many probably never realized, her multiplied years of activity were being spent, and undoubtedly her going to the burning attic the second time that fatal morning was more with the thought of rescuing something that would be a pleasure or benefit to some one than the thought of danger.
The pathetic sadness of perishing in such an act, amid the smoke and flames made in consuming her lovely home and its manifold treasures—the labors and garnering of years —adds to the intensity. She never shrank from an arduous duty because of its great exertion, and it was grand to know the firm solidity of the pillar of strength there was in her friendship, which, when once drawn out, was an ever-flowing source of proffered good, and as reliable as the round of the seasons. A devoted wife, she made home her kingdom. Faithful to her friends, no sacrifice was too great in their service. Her duties were discharged ably, conscientiously, cheerfully. The influence of her life can never be forgotten, for it is woven into the character of our citizens and our institutions.
Mrs. Wing was a member of the Woman's Club of Elgin, and engaged in many charitable enterprises. She verified by her life the lofty ideas that she honored. Through her philanthropic principles and kindness, many a helping hand has been extended to those needing charity. Few women were more highly esteemed or had more true friends. Those who knew her in early womanhood and who sat under her instruction, retained for her a warm place in their remembrance to the last. The last few years of her life she was compelled to remain somewhat retired on account of poor health, but her wealth of intellect never gave way. A true helpmeet to her husband, her counsel and advice were often sought by him to his great and lasting good. The funeral services were held March 22, 1897, at the Universalist Church, Elgin, conducted by Rev. A. N. Alcott. Her remains were then laid to rest in the beautiful Bluff City cemetery. Through the heroic efforts of the firemen the residence was saved from total destruction and has since been rebuilt, but the light of the home had gone out.
In his political views, Mr. Wing is a Republican, and since attaining his majority has always supported the party with time and money, but has never sought political office of any kind, preferring to follow his chosen profession. He has, however, been city attorney of Elgin, and for upward of five years was treasurer of the Illinois Northern Hospital for the Insane. Outside of his profession, and in a business way, he has been a director of the First National Bank of Elgin for several years, is a stockholder in said bank, and also in the Elgin National Bank. He owns a fine farm of one hundred eighty-five acres on the western border of the city of Elgin, and other property in various parts of the city. Commencing life for himself with scarcely a dollar, Mr. Wing has been diligent, and applying himself closely to business, he laid the foundation for future prosperity, built securely thereon, and to-day is numbered among the men who, by labor, sound judgment, business sagacity and wise forethought, have provided for the time when it may be well to lay aside at least part of his many active business cares.
OWEN B. WELD, who resides in a beautiful home on the corner of Crystal street and Highland avenue, Elgin, is numbered among the pioneers of 1838. He was born at Oxford, New Hampshire, October 24, 1831, and is a son of Francis and Harriet (Mann) Weld, the former a native of Massachusetts, and the latter of New Hampshire. The Welds are of English origin, the first of the name locating in Massachusetts prior to the Revolutionary war. The Manns were of Scotch origin, and were likewise early settlers of America. The paternal grandfather of our subject, Josiah Weld, was a native of Massachusetts, while his maternal grandfather, Aaron Mann, was born in New Hampshire. The latter married Sarah Melvin, and they reared a family of five children. After her death he married Miss Ingraham, by whom he had six children. By occupation he was a farmer. His death occurred when he was about eighty years old.
In 1838 the Weld, Merrill and Mann families, numbering seventeen in all, including Grandfather Weld, started from their New Hampshire home, bound for the Prairie state. With the exception of that part from Buffalo to Toledo, the entire journey was made by team. They arrived in Kane county June 6, 1838, and found, as yet, an almost unbroken wilderness. The present beautiful city of Elgin contained but three or four log cabins, and they were here two years before the country was surveyed by the general government.
Francis Weld, on his arrival in Kane county, made a claim to one hundred and thirty-six acres of land a mile and a quarter west of the city limits of Elgin, and the house stands precisely in the center of the township. He there lived until his death, in 1873, at the age of seventy-three years. His wife, preceded him to their heavenly home eight years, dying in 1865. They were the parents of eleven children, four of whom are now living: Owen B., our subject; Mary, wife of Dr. Briggs, of Muscatine, Iowa; Newton F. and Salem E., both of Elgin. The parents were members of the Congregational church, and were numbered among the charter members of the first Congregational church of Elgin. In his native state Francis Weld followed the occupation of a shoemaker, which he had learned in his youth, but on coming to Kane county, he became a farmer, which calling he followed with success during the remainder of his life.
Owen B. Weld, our subject, was but seven years of age when he accompanied his parents to Kane county. Although sixty years have since passed he has a distinct recollection of the country as it appeared to his young eyes. The old log schoolhouse, with its slab seats and puncheon floor, is vividly remembered, for there he secured a limited education in the subscription schools. But the farm had to be cultivated, and, being the eldest son in the family, he was early trained to hard work, and hard work it was in those days. The farm implements of the present day were then unknown. There were no riding plows, no mowing machines, no reapers, no four-horse cultivators; in fact, every implement was of the rudest kind. To do the work required one had to be up with the sun, or even before the break of day, and happy was he if he could cease from his labors when the sun went down. The prairie sod did not always readily yield to the teeth of the wooden harrow, the rows into which the corn must be dropped were very long, but the work must be done.
When about fifteen years old, on account of the ill-health of his father, young Owen had to take charge of the farm. The responsibility was great, but he was equal to the occasion, and the old farm never suffered under his management. On the death of his father he purchased the interest of the other heirs in the old homestead and it yet remains in his possession. Its limits, however, have been extended, and it now comprises seven hundred acres of as fine land as one would wish to see. The improvements have always been well maintained. Tenement houses, barns and other outbuildings have been erected as the occasion demanded, and in 1897 there were four families living on the old homestead. In addition to this farm, Mr. Weld owns three hundred acres at Pingree Grove, where a little town is springing up, and which now contains a tile factory, stores, a good schoolhouse, a handsome park and a number of cottages.
On the 11th of January, 1854, Mr. Weld was united in marriage with Miss Elizabeth M. Kelley, a daughter of John and Eliza (Mansfield) Kelley, the former born in Schenectady, and the latter in Esptirs, New York, but who moved to Kane county in pioneer days. Two daughters were born of this union-Hattie E. and Mary May. The former married Orlando Wing, and they now reside in St. James, Minnesota. They have two daughters and one son - Mary Belle, Lyla Abby and Owen Weld Wing. Mrs. Wing has lately made application for membership in the Daughters of the Revolution, both Welds and Manns being represented in the Revolutionary war. Her great-great-great-grandfather, Stanford, was also in the service. Mary May married J. Frank Page and they now reside in Chicago.
Few persons are better known in Kane county than Mr. and Mrs. Weld, and their memory of bygone days is remarkable. Both remember well the Rev. N. C. Clark, the first Congregational minister to preach in Elgin, and also the Rev. Ambrose, the first Baptist minister to break the bread of life to the citizens of that place. Mrs. Weld remembers the first marriage which occurred in the neighborhood where her parents located. In religious belief Mr. and Mrs. Weld are Universalists, having an abiding faith in the love of God and in the final holiness and happiness of all mankind. Mrs. Weld has been an active member of the Universalist Ladies Benevolent Society since its organization, and has done much toward relieving the wants of the poor and deserving of Elgin. She is . also a charter and life member of the Woman's Club, of Elgin.
The home of Mr. and Mrs. Weld at No. 52 North Crystal street, Elgin, into which they moved in 1882, is one of the very best houses in the city. It is a beautiful brick mansion, elegantly furnished and located on a fine site commanding a view of the business portion of the city. It is without doubt one of the most substantial built residences in the place. Here they from time to time entertain their host of friends in a most hospitable manner. Their acquaintance is very extended and they know personally nearly all the old settlers in the county.
Politically, Mr. Weld is a Prohibitionist, and to the cause of Prohibition has given study and thought as well as time and money. The liquor traffic has always had in him one of its most steadfast foes. He is also a firm believer in bimetallism, but as a politician he is but little known as he has never been an office seeker, and has always been content to give his time and attention to his business interests. As a farmer he was a pronounced success, and while practically living retired much of his time is yet spent in looking after his farming interests, and he now raises many fine horses and cattle. While more than three-score years have passed by in the lives of Mr. and Mrs. Weld they have left but a light impress upon them and by their cheerful manners they brighten the lives of those around them. Few persons are more popular wherever known.
JOHN McDONOUGH is a retired farmer residing in Hampshire, Illinois, and who for many years was engaged in agricultural pursuits, and by a life of toil succeeded in accumulating enough of this world's goods to enable him to live in ease and retirement. He was born at Machelfield, near Belfast, County Antrim, Ireland, June 1, 1826. When quite young he accompanied his parents to America, sailing from Belfast, and landing at Montreal, Canada, being thirteen weeks on the water. The family remained at Montreal one winter, and then moved some thirty or forty miles southeast of the city, on the line dividing Canada from the state of Vermont. He there lived until the age of seventeen, when he went to the town of Bridgeport, Addison county, Vermont, where he worked on farms for three years. Hearing of the advantages that were open to the aspiring ones in the west, he determined to emigrate where land was cheap, and the opportunities were much greater for the industrious one than in the east. Accordingly, in the fall of 1848, by ox team, he went to Ogdensburg, New York, thence by boat to the mouth of the Niagara river, and by team to Buffalo, and thence to Chicago by boat. While on the lakes they en-countered some severe storms, at one time being storm-bound at Manitou, and again at Milwaukee, Wisconsin. From Chicago he came to Kane county, Illinois, and located in Burlington township, where he purchased forty acres of land on section 35, to which he added from time to time, until he had a fine farm of two hundred acres. When he purchased the place there was on it a large log cabin, and thirty acres of land had been broken. It is now a well-improved farm, with a good house, barns and other out-buildings, and all improvements were made by our subject. For some years the farm has been used for dairy purposes, and on the place are usually kept about forty head of milch cows. John McDonough, Sr., the father of our subject, was also born in County Antrim, Ireland, and was the son of James McDonough, a native of Scotland, who emigrated to Ireland, and there died. John McDonough, Sr., married Rachel Holden, who was born in Ireland, but of Scottish descent, and who died in Kentucky, at the age of sixty-nine years. They were the parents of seven sons and two daughters, five of whom came west, settling in Illinois and Iowa. The father also came west in 1851, and lived with our subject for many years, but died at the home of a daughter, who was married and living in Kentucky. The survivors of the family are: Mrs. Mary Steers, living in Kentucky; Richard, residing in Ogle county, Illinois; William, in Canada; Henry, in Missouri; John, in Hampshire, Kane county; Robert lived in Iowa, and is now deceased; and Mrs. Eliza Gould, in Chicago.
The subject of this sketch was first married in Burlington township, Kane county, November 20, 1852, to Miss Louisa Hamilton, born in Ohio, and a daughter of John and Sarah Hamilton. She died March 7, 1856, leaving one son, William, who married Ella Secord, and lives in Sycamore, De Kalb county, where he is operating a creamery. They have one son, Charles. On the 15th of October, 1859, Mr. McDonough was again married, his second union being with Miss Harriet Barber, born in Canada, and a daughter of Lahira and Anna (Nichols) Barber. By this second marriage there are three children as follows: Luella, who married Ed. Cripps, by whom she has one child, Belle, and they reside in Burlington township; Herman, who married Dora Kraft, and lives in Chicago; and Estelle, who married Eugene Young, by whom she has one daughter, Vera, and they reside in the village of Hampshire.
Mrs. Harriet McDonough, died February 14, 1897. She was a woman of lovely character, a member of the Methodist Episcopal church, and her death was sincerely mourned not alone by the bereaved husband and children but by many friends throughout Kane and adjoining counties. Mr. McDonough is also a member of the Methodist Episcopal church, in which he takes a lively interest. In politics he is a Republican and for many years served as school director and also as road commissioner. A residence of fifty years in Kane county has made him many friends who esteem him for his many estimable traits of character.
GEORGE E. HAWTHORNE. - History for the most part records only the lives of those who have attained distinction in military or political life, but in this practical era it is the business man who furnishes to his neighbors and to future generations the lessons that may be followed with profit. Those who become potential forces in a community are the men who in the face of opposition and competition work their way steadily upward, conquering all obstacles and overcoming all difficulties in their path, and their own successes lend added force to the welfare and progress of the communities with which they are connected.
Mr. Hawthorne is a representative of this type. He has long been connected with the commercial interests of Elgin and is still regarded as her leading hardware merchant. He was born in Falls Village, Connecticut, December 7, 1844, his parents being Thomas and Elizabeth Hawthorne. His father was a native of England and came to the United States in early life, taking up his residence in the Nutmeg state. His wife came from the little rock-ribbed country of Wales. His death occurred in Elgin several years ago and his wife passed away in 1864. The family came west in the '80s, locating in this city. In his political views the father was a Republican. His family numbered six children, namely: Richard J.; Lotta, wife of Joseph Britton, of Falls Village, Connecticut; George E.; Frederick K., who started for Michigan fifteen years ago and has never been heard from; Sarah, wife of Frank Conant, a resident of Denver, Colorado; and Ella, who is living in Elgin.
George E. Hawthorne was reared on a farm and assisted his father in its cultivation until seventeen years of age. His initial studies were pursued in the common schools and supplemented by an academical course. When seventeen years of age he went to Winsted, Connecticut, where he learned the tinsmith's and plumber's trades, serving a three years' apprenticeship, after which he located in Armenia, New York, where he served in the capacity of foreman of two shops for a year.
Mr. Hawthorne then came to the west in 1866, arriving in Elgin on the 14th of November. Here he accepted a position as foreman for Edson A. Kimball, with whom he continued for two and a half years, and also spent a similar period in the service of Rodgers Brothers. He then purchased the store of his employers, at the comer of State and Chicago streets, carrying on business there for about two years, when in company with F. S. Bosworth, they purchased the hardware stock of J. A. Carlisle on Chicago street, on the east side, conducting both stores through the succeeding two years, when he consolidated the two, carrying on operations on the east side. About two years later he sold out to Mr. Bosworth, and after six months when his brother R. J. Hawthorne arrived from Iowa he entered into partnership with him and embarked in business on Grove avenue under the firm name of Hawthorne Brothers. This was in 1876. In 1879 they erected a business block on Douglass avenue above the Home Bank building, occupying the same for eleven years, when they erected the splendid business block on DuPage street, which has now been occupied by the firm for about five years. This is a double building, three stories in height, and is occupied with an extensive stock of shelf and heavy hardware, stoves, furnaces and plumbers' supplies. They employ on an average about twelve hands and have a very large and profitable business, having secured an excellent trade by reason of the honorable dealing and the fine goods which they handle.
Mr. Hawthorne, of this sketch, is also interested in a creamery in Richmond, Illinois. At one time the firm had in operation seven creameries in Illinois and Wisconsin, but have now disposed of all save the one in Richmond. A few years ago they purchased the Spurling Block, the finest business building in the county, the lower floor being used for stores, the upper floors being converted into fine offices, supplied with all modern equipments and conveniences. Mr. Hawthorne, our subject, was also director of the Home National Bank for three years. He is a man of wide resource and excellent ability in matters of business, is quick to recognize and take advantage of opportunities and whatever he plans he carried forward to successful completion along honorable lines that have won a most enviable reputation in commercial circles.
Mr. Hawthorne was married in June, 1869, to Miss Emma Gregory, a native of Elgin and a daughter of S. Gregory. She is a member of the Congregational church and a lady of culture and refinement, who presides with gracious hospitality over their pleasant home. In his political views Mr. Hawthorne is a Republican, and though often solicited to become a candidate for official honors has steadily declined. He is a valued member of Monitor lodge, A. F. & A. M., Loyal L. Munn chapter, R. A. M., and Bethel commandery, K. T. He also belongs to the Century club and to the Black Hawk club, which has fitted up a splendid summer resort on the banks of the beautiful Lake Kosh-Konong, Wisconsin. They have there a commodious club house, hunting lodge and other buildings, and the neighborhood affords ample opportunities to the followers of both Isaak Walton and Nimrod to indulge their tastes. The members of this club are from all parts of the United States, and meet in this lovely spot to enjoy the pleasures and charms of outdoor life.
Mr. Hawthorne is pre-eminently a man of affairs, yet has never pursued his business interests to the sacrifice of the development of a well-rounded character such as results from the cultivation of other interests. During the hot summer months he puts aside all cares and enjoys a season of rest and recreation in travel or in visiting the club resort before described, or other places of interest and beauty. He is a genial, whole-souled gentleman, of kindly manner, generous disposition and honorable purpose, and his well-spent life has gained to him many friends.
JOHN MANLY ADAMS, a leading photographer of Elgin, was born September 9. 1833, at Aimer, Canada, and is a son of Edward and Abigail (Padelford) Adams, natives of Oxford, England, and Massachusetts, respectively. During his boyhood the father crossed the Atlantic and took up his residence in Canada, where he married and continued to live until his removal to Kane county, Illinois, in 1843, locating in Elgin. Throughout life he followed the occupation of shoemaking. He died in 1877, his wife April 27, 1857; both consistent and worthy members of the Baptist church.
In the public schools of Canada John M. Adams began his education, being ten years of age when he accompanied his parents on their removal to Elgin, where he attended the high school until sixteen years old. Three years later he started out to earn his livelihood by manufacturing mattresses, at which occupation he was engaged for three or four years with fair success. For about five years following he worked at the plasterer's trade, and then very successfully engaged in the butchering business for the four years preceding the Civil war. In 1861 he began learning photography, to which art he has since devoted his time and attention, and is now one of its most able representatives in Kane county. Being one of the best photographers in Elgin, he receives a liberal patronage, and as an upright, honorable business man, he commands the respect and esteem of all with whom he conies in contact.
In October, 1851, Mr. Adams was united in marriage with Miss Caroline Johnson, a native of Pennsylvania, who came to Elgin with her parents, Samuel J. Johnson and wife, natives of Pennsylvania, now deceased. To Mr. and Mrs. Adams were born two children, namely: Spencer M., a photographer; and Mattie A., now the widow of Alfred Kingsley, of Barrington, Cook county, Illinois, and a resident of Elgin. The mother of these children, who was a consistent member of the Baptist church, dying in October, 1879, Mr. Adams was again married, his second union being with Mrs. Barbara (Duston) Saunders, a native of Canada, and widow of Charles 'Saunders. She holds membership in the Presbyterian church. Politically, Mr. Adams has always been a Democrat, but has never taken an active part in politics, always refusing to accept office. He is a member of the Photographers' Association of the United States, and often attends their conventions.
SPENCER M. ADAMS, the son, was born in 1852, and was reared and educated in Elgin. With his father he learned photography, and has since successfully engaged in that business. He was married in 1875 to Miss Lizzie Hobrough, a native of Canada, who came to Elgin in 1869 with her parents, Charles and Mary Ann (Barnes) Hobrough, natives of England. To Mr. and Mrs. Adams have been born two children, Mabel, and Charley M., who died at thirteen years of age. The mother and daughter are both members of the Episcopal church. Politically Mr. Adams is an independent Democrat, while fraternally he is a member of Silver Leaf camp, No. 60, A.O.U.W. He is also a member of the National Photographers' Association, usually attends all its conventions, and has taken a number of premiums. Many of the portraits in this work are copies of photographs taken by him.
HENRY WARFORD, residing on sections 3 and 4, Geneva township, is practically living a retired life. He has been a resident of Kane county since 1844, and is therefore numbered among its early settlers, men who by their industry and self-denial have made the county to rank among the best, in the state of Illinois. He is a native of the town of Butcome, Somersetshire, England, born December 11, 1818, and is the son of William and Anti (Weeks) Warford, both of whom were natives of the same shire. His father dying when he was but four years of age, eight years afterward he went to live with an uncle, and with him came to the United States in 1832. They first located in Onondaga county, New York, where he grew to manhood and received his education in the common schools.
A young man of twenty-six years, Mr. Warford came to Illinois and located in Geneva township, Kane county, and soon afterward purchased a tract of eighty acres of unimproved prairie land, two miles west of Geneva. He at once began its improvement, erecting upon the place a small frame house, to which he later added a wing, and in due course of time had a good, productive farm. He remained on that place about twelve years, but in the meantime had purchased thirty-five acres, where he now resides, and to which he removed after leaving his original farm. He has now one hundred and fourteen acres adjoining the corporate limits of Geneva, which is a well-improved and substantial farm.
Mr. and Mrs. Henry Warford
Mr. Warford was united in marriage in Wayne county, New York, September 29, 1846, to Miss Hulda A. Hoag, a native of Wayne county, New York, and a daughter of Benjamin and Anna (Smith) Hoag, pioneers of that county, where they reared their family and spent the remainder of their lives. Previous to their marriage Mrs. Warford was a successful teacher in her native county. By this union six children were born, three of whom are now living: Alice M., wife of Jonathan Farrar, of Marshall county, Kansas; Eunice H., wife of W. B. Guild, of Wheaton, Illinois; and Kate N., wife of H. W. Hawkins, of Geneva. They lost two infant sons. One daughter, Anna D., married Charles A. Barber, and they removed to Marysville, Kansas, where she died in March, 1890.
The first presidential vote of Mr. Warford was cast for Martin Van Buren in 1840. At that time he was really a believer in Whig principles, but the action of the Whigs, with their coonskins, hard cider and log cabins, so disgusted him that he cast his ballot for Van Buren. A believer in the equality of all men, he united with the Republican party on its organization in 1856, and voted for John C. Fremont. Being a strong temperance man, and in favor of the prohibition of the liquor traffic -- since 1884 he has been identified with the Prohibition party. Since locating in Kane county he has held several local positions of honor and trust, including that of assessor, which position he held for six years. A friend of education in the public schools, he served some years as a member of the school board. While serving as a delegate to various county political conventions, he has never been a politician in the ordinary sense of the term. For many years he has been a member of the Congregational church, and has served upon its official board. His wife is also a member of that church, and both take an active and commendable interest in all departments of church work.
For fifty-four long years Mr. Warford has been a resident of Kane county, and while he came here a poor man, without means, by his industry and thrift, assisted by his estimable wife, he has accumulated a fair amount of this world's goods, and is now enjoying a well-earned rest, surrounded by many friends, who esteem him for his many noble traits of character and Christian integrity.
RUSSELL WELD has demonstrated the true meaning of the word success as the full accomplishment of an honorable purpose. Energy, close application, perseverance and good management - these are the elements which have entered into his business career and crowned his efforts with prosperity. He is now the senior member of the well-known firm of Weld & Hall, who conduct a large and popular drug store on Fountain Square, Elgin, while his residence is at No. 115 College street.
Like many of the most prominent citizens of Kane county, he is from the New England states, his birth having occurred June 18, 1824, in Orford, Grafton county, New Hampshire. His parents, Albigence and Betsy (Town) Weld, were both natives of Massachusetts, the former born in Charlton. He was a farmer by occupation, and died in Spencer, Massachusetts, in 1852, aged fifty-two years. He had served his country as a soldier in the war of 1812, and had held various local offices of honor and trust. After his death the mother married Jonas Sibley, of Spencer, who is now deceased. She died in 1893, at the advanced age of ninety-five years. In religious belief she was a Methodist, and the father of our subject also belonged to that church. Their family consisted of seven children, of whom four are now living - Russell; Phylena, widow of Thomas Dwelley, of Oakham, Massachusetts; Daniel L., of the same place; and Adaline, wife of Clinton Bradway, of Medina, Ohio.
The paternal grandfather of our subject was Josiah Weld, who was born in the old Bay state, but his parents were natives of England, and landed in Boston some time during the eighteenth century. He was a farmer, and died in 1810, at the age of forty-two years. In his family were four sons and one daughter. The maternal grandfather of our subject was also a native of Massachusetts and of English descent. His wife, Azubah Town, lived to the extreme old age of one hundred and one.
The first eighteen years of his life Russell Weld spent in his native state, acquiring his literary education in the Lester Academy and learning the shoemaker's trade, which he successfully followed, for about fifteen years. In 1842 he removed with his parents to East Brookfield, Massachusetts, where he made his home for four years. He was married September 29, 1846, to Miss Content H. Forter, a daughter of George and Esther (Adams) Porter. She became an active and prominent member of the First Methodist Episcopal church of Elgin, and her death, which occurred December 12, 1884, was widely and deeply mourned.
It was in April, 1869, that Mr. Weld removed to Elgin, where he has since made his home. In company with his cousin, Salem E., a native of this city, he opened a drug store, which they carried 011 until 1891, when the cousin sold his interest to Edwin Hall, and the firm became Weld & Hall. They do a large and profitable business, handling all kinds of drugs, wallpaper, glass, paints, oils, etc. Although not a member of the Methodist church, Mr. Weld attends its services, and is now serving as trustee of the church. Politically he is a strong Republican. Always courteous, kindly and affable, those who know him personally have for him warm regard, and he is now one of the most popular and influential business men of Elgin. He gives his support to all measures which he believes calculated to advance the general welfare, and is therefore justly numbered among the most public-spirited and progressive citizens of the place.
Unless otherwise noted, all biographies were submitted by K.Torp
BACK TO BIOGRAPHY INDEX
Return to the Main Index Page for Kane County