BIOGRAPHIES published in
the "Biographical Record of Kane County, Illinois"
Originally printed by the S.J. Clarke Publishing Company, Chicago, 1898
All biographies submitted by K. Torp
JOSEPH B. SEYMOUR, now living a retired life at 405 Lasalle street, Aurora, Illinois, came to the state in 1842. He is a native of New York, born in Yates county, September 1, 1824, and is the son of John and Elizabeth (Wright) Seymour, both of whom were natives of New York, the former born in Duchess county, in 1783. In 1842, he came with his family to Illinois, and settled in Cook county, where he purchased a fairly improved farm on which was built two log houses and he further improved and developed the place. Later he built a good frame residence and good frame barn. An active and enterprising farmer he continued at farm labor until late in life, when he moved to Elgin, and died at the residence of his son, John W., at the age of ninety-three years. Of their family of twelve children five are yet living.
Joseph B. Seymour came to Illinois when eighteen years of age, having spent his boyhood and youth in his native state, where he had very limited educational advantages, attending school during a few winter months. On coming to Illinois, he assisted his father in the cultivation of the home farm until twenty-two years of age, after which he gave him half time until his marriage.
Mr. Seymour was married in Cook county, Illinois, June 11, 1848, to Miss Mary Saviah Haven, who was born November 28, 1832, in Carthage, Jefferson county, New York, and a daughter of Samuel and Lydia (Strong) Haven, the former a native of Massachusetts, born about 1790, and the latter a native of New Hampshire. They were married in Paris, Oneida county, New York. In 1844, Samuel Haven with his family came west, and located in Cook county, Illinois. By occupation he was a blacksmith and followed that business a few years after coming west. He spent the last years of his life with a daughter, Mrs. Lydia Knowles, in Michigan, and there died. Of his family of two sons and five daughters, Mrs. Seymour and a sister, Mrs. Martha Vernon, of Chicago, are the only survivors.
Mr. and Mrs. Seymour began their domestic life on a farm in Cook county. He first purchased one hundred and twenty acres on which was a frame house the farm being partially improved. From time to time, as his means increased he purchased other tracts and became the owner of four hundred acres on which were three good dwelling houses, two good barns, and which in due time he made one of the best farms in Cook county. He continued to reside upon the place until 1867, when he rented it and moved to Aurora, where he purchased a residence on Broadway, in which he lived until 1882, when he sold and removed to Elgin and there resided six years. In 1888, he returned to Aurora, purchased lots and built a good substantial residence where he yet resides.
While residing in Elgin, Mr. Seymour farmed a small place adjacent to the city, and with that exception has lived a retired life, but looking after his farm in Cook county. A part of the place he sold, but yet owns two hundred and seventy acres. Mr. and Mrs. Seymour have one son, Horace Jerome, who resides in Elgin, and of whom mention is made elsewhere in this work. In early life Mr. Seymour was a Whig, but on the organization of the Republican party, became identified with it, supporting its men and measures up to 1884, since which time he has been an advocate of the principles of the Prohibition party. For many years Mrs. Seymour has taken a very active interest in temperance work, and in missionary work. Both he and his wife are members of the First Methodist Episcopal church, of Aurora, and for the erection of the present house of worship they contributed of their means. For twenty-five years he served as steward of the M. E. church and has also served as trustee.
When Mr. Seymour came to Illinois, Chicago was but an insignificant town and he has lived to see it take rank as the second city in the union. The changes that have been made in the fifty-six years of his residence in Illinois can scarcely be conceived. An almost unbroken wilderness at the time of his arrival, the country is now dotted with flourishing villages and cities, and the magnificent farms with their large dwelling houses and barns indicate that the people are prosperous, indeed.
N.R. ZACK, senior member of the firm of Zack & Mylius, engaged in plumbing, gas and steam fitting, and sewerage, 52 North Broadway, Aurora, was born in this city December 21, 1860, and is the son of Michael and Anna (Izabaugh) Zack. The father came from Austria to this country in 1849, located in Chicago for one year and a half, and came to Aurora, and was one of its first settlers. He was a tailor by trade, and carried on a shop in Chicago and also for a short time in Aurora; later he moved to a farm, on which he is yet living, and is about seventy-five years of age. He is a member of the German Catholic church. His wife died about 1890, when about sixty-five years of age. She was also a member of the Catholic church. Of their family of nine children four are deceased. The living are Mary, residing at home; Nettie, wife of Jacob Marx, of Aurora; N. R., our subject; Anna, wife of Michael Wannamaker, of Kane county; Michael on the old homestead; and Frances.
Our subject attended the schools of Aurora, and spent his youthful days on a farm, until seventeen years old, when he went to Minneapolis, Minnesota, where he commenced to learn the plumbing business. After remaining in Minneapolis some eight months, he returned to Aurora, and went to work in the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy railroad shops in the coach department and remained three years. He started in business on the island, and was one of the firm of John Linden & Co., with whom he was connected six years, after which he established his present business, under Fouth Brothers' store, becoming the senior member of Zack & Mylius. They came to their present place of business, in 1894, where they keep on hand a full line of plumbing, steam and gas-fitting material, as much probably as any other two firms in the city. They do an extensive business, and are worthy of the patronage received.
On the 16th of October, 1884, Mr. Zack was united in marriage with Miss Frances Beaver, daughter of John Beaver; a well-known citizen of Aurora. Four daughters have come to bless their union - Kittie, Mamie, Haddie, and Olga. The parents are members of the Catholic church and politically Mr. Zack is Democratic in national affairs, and in local affairs he is independent.
ADONIRAM RIDDLE, of Aurora, first came to this state in 1846, remained four years, returned east, and in 1856 located in De Kalb county, and two years later carne to Kane county, where he has since continued to reside. The family are of Scotch descent, the first of the name locating in New Hampshire at an early day. James Riddle, the grandfather of our subject, was a native of New Hampshire, as was his son Enoch Riddle, who was born in the town of Grafton, Grafton county. In his native state Enoch Riddle married Polly Prescott, also a native of Grafton, New Hampshire, and a daughter of Reuben Prescott, who was a pioneer of that state. They became the parents of six sons and one daughter: Adoniram, our subject; Prescott, who moved to California about 1850, and there resides; Lyman, also residing in California; Cyrus, who died in De Kalb county, Illinois; Orisina, widow of John Cole, residing in De Kalb county; Robert, who resides in Will county; and Charles, also residing in Will county. After his marriage, Enoch Riddle engaged in farming in his native county, and there continued for many years. In his old age he came west to Illinois, where he joined his children, locating first on a farm in De Kalb county, where his wife died, after which he resided with a son in Will county, and there died.
Until sixteen years of age, Adoniram Riddle remained on the home farm, during which time he received a fair common-school education. Going to Vermont, he spent three years working first on a farm and then on a turnpike. He then went to Massachusetts and took a position in a cotton factory, where he remained nearly three years, and at Worcester, Massachusetts, entered a machine shop and worked one year. He then went to Boston and worked for the Boston Locomotive Company for about two years. From Boston he went to Keene, New Hampshire, where he engaged in railroad work, first in the repair shops, and then in charge of an engine on the road. In 1846, he came west, and entered a tract of some six hundred acres in De Kalb county, Illinois, to which he removed in 1856. On removing to the place he at once began its development, and remained on the farm about two years. In 1858 he sold out, moved to Aurora, purchased two lots on the corner of Broadway and LaSalle streets, where he built a residence into which the family moved. On coming to this place he entered the employ of the Burlington road, first in the roundhouse department, and about one year later was given charge of an engine, on which he continued to run for about twenty years. He then gave up railroading, purchased a stone quarry opposite the seminary, and, in partnership with his son, engaged in getting out rock. They built up a large business, shipping considerably, besides supplying the home demand. In 1895, he purchased a farm of eighty acres, adjoining the city limits of Aurora, and has since been engaged in agricultural pursuits.
In 1852, in Carroll county. New Hampshire, Mr. Riddle was united in marriage with Miss Hannah Cook, a native of that county, and a daughter of Eben Cook, also a native of New Hampshire. She had one sister, Emily, widow of Thomas Christopher, a carpenter and joiner of Boston, Massachusetts, where his death occurred. Mrs. Christopher made her home with Mrs. Riddle for a number of years. There are two living children by this union, the oldest being Clarence, who is married and operates the stone quarry. The other is D. A., a manufacturing jeweler of Providence, Rhode Island. They lost one daughter, Alice, who died at the age of three months.
Mr. Riddle was reared a Democrat, but believing in the equality of all men, he became a Republican on the organization of that party, with which he has since continued to act. Fraternally he is a Master Mason. As a citizen he has ever borne his part in the upbuilding of his adopted city. He was one of the originators of the Aurora street railway, became a stockholder and was one of its first directors, serving until the road was sold to the New York Company. For forty years he has been identified with the interests of Aurora, and has here many warm friends.
JOHN GARDNER, who is living a retired life in the city of Aurora, is a well-known and highly respected citizen, and for many years was actively engaged in business in the place. He was born near the city of Newark, Essex county, New Jersey, December 5, 1820, and is the son of Daniel Gardner, born in Essex county, New Jersey. In his native state Daniel Gardner grew to manhood and married Phileta Edwards, a native of what is now Union county, New Jersey, and a daughter of Nathaniel Edwards, who at the age of sixteen years offered his services to his country, and fought during the entire struggle for American independence. By trade Daniel Gardner was a cooper, and followed that occupation, in connection with farming, during his entire life. He died in New Jersey in 1858, his wife surviving him some three years, passing away in 1861. Of their family of twenty-six children, ten sons and four daughters grew to mature years. There were living sixteen of the children at one time. Of the entire number, only three now survive, John, Joseph and Luther, all residing in Aurora.
John Gardner grew to mature years in Essex county, New Jersey, and there learned the cooper's trade with his father, and followed it for some years. He was married in Essex county in 1847, to Emma Ball, a native of that county, where she was reared and educated, and a daughter of Noah Ball, also a native of Essex county. By trade he was a hatter, but late in life engaged in farming. His wife was Fannie Edwards, likewise a native of New Jersey. To Mr. and Mrs. Gardner six children were born, of whom Emma Frances and Charles. Henry died in childhood; Mary Emma died at the age of seven years; Burton, when about five years old; and Horace in childhood. The only survivor is Hattie, who yet resides under the parental roof.
After their marriage, Mr. and Mrs. Gardner began their domestic life in the suburbs of Newark, where they resided until 1853. While residing in Orange county, New Jersey, he manufactured a ship load of butter cases, which were filled with butter and sent to Australia. In September, 1853, Mr. Gardner came to Illinois, and purchased a farm near Eola, consisting of one hundred and twenty-one acres of improved land. He further improved the place, and there resided about fourteen months, when he sold out and returned to Orange, New Jersey, where he engaged in the lumber business. The first year he lost heavily by having several thousand feet of very valuable lumber being caught in a storm and washed out to sea. He continued the lumber business about three years, and in February, 1858, again came west, locating in Aurora, where he bought several lots on which he erected five dwelling houses, which he later sold. He also erected a cooper shop, and engaged in coopering, in which he was actively engaged for over twenty years, usually employing two or three men. His principal product was butter firkins, which he manufactured for the Aurora market.
Mr. Gardner and his family are members of the Park Place Baptist church, with which body he has been connected since coming to Aurora. For the past twenty-five years he has devoted his time largely to church work. He was ordained a deacon of the church in 1873. With that earnest desire to help his fellow men, he has freely given of his time to the Master's cause. The good that he has done will only be known at the last day.
JOSEPH W. GARDNER, of Aurora, Illinois, has been actively engaged in contracting and building in this city since 1855. He is a native of Essex county, New Jersey, born May 1, 1825, and is the son of Daniel and Phileta (Edwards) Gardner, both of whom are natives of the same state, the former born in 1781 and the latter in 1787. She was the daughter of Nathaniel Edwards, who served as a soldier in the Revolutionary war, under General Washington. By trade Daniel Gardner was a cooper, which he followed in connection with farming, for many years residing near the city of Newark, New Jersey, where he reared his large family, and where his death occurred.
Joseph W. Gardner is one of a family of twenty-six children born to Daniel and Phileta Gardner, the children all being at single births. Of the number Luther, John, and our subject are the only ones living. Joseph W. Gardner grew to mature years in his native state, and at Newark, New Jersey, learned the carpenter's and joiner's trade, serving a four years' apprenticeship. Before he attained his majority, he engaged in contracting and building, superintending the erection of three dwelling houses in Newark. He was married in that city April 17, 1847, to Miss Elizabeth Garrison, a native of Sussex county, New Jersey, and a daughter of James Garrison. By this union were three children, two of whom are living - Ann Eliza, wife of John Glaspie, who was a soldier in the war for the union, but is now a merchant and postmaster of Galatia, Colorado. William Edward, who is assisting his father in contracting and building, He was married in Aurora, November 23, 1881, to Miss Annie E. Freeman, who was born, reared and educated in Aurora, and the daughter of James Freeman, who was for forty years a merchant of the city, but who died in 1896. By this union are two children, James Lewis and Gertrude May, both students in the Aurora schools. James Freeman, the father of Mrs. William E. Gardner, was a native of Wales,, born in 1830, in a house which was on the line between England and Wales. He came to America with his parents in 1838 and to Aurora in 1840. Here he grew to manhood and married Ann Eliza Graves, daughter of the first Baptist minister of Aurora.
After their marriage, Mr. and Mrs. Gardner resided some three years in Newark, where he engaged in contracting and building. From Newark, he moved to Piermont, New York, where he engaged in the repair and construction shops of the New York & Erie railroad, continuing there about three years, serving as foreman in the shops. In 1855, he came to Aurora, Illinois, and purchased the property where he now resides. He at once commenced contracting and building, in which he has been actively engaged from that time until the present. Many of the public buildings and substantial residences of Aurora attest his skill as a builder. His building operations have been quite extensive, and his work has always been considered the very best. Commencing life for himself, empty-handed, by his own labor he has secured a competency and is recognized as one of the substantial men of Aurora.
Politically Mr. Gardner was an old Jackson Democrat, but of recent years he has voted independent of party, casting his vote for the man that he considered best qualified for the office. His son is also independent in politics. Religiously, he is a member of the Park Place Baptist church, with which he has been identified for forty years. His wife and family are also members of the same church. On the 17th of April, 1897, Mr. and Mrs. Gardner celebrated their golden wedding, a large number of relatives and friends meeting with them in honor of the occasion and presenting them a number of testimonials of their esteem and friendship. For forty years they have been residents of Aurora, and their friends are numerous indeed.
JAMES V. MINK.
Prominent among the energetic, far-seeing, and successful business men of Elgin is the subject of this sketch, who is a well-known real-estate dealer, with office in room 7, Town's Block. He was born in that city June 26, 1852, a son of Robert and Sarah Jane (Van Tine) Mink, natives of New York. His paternal grandfather, John Mink, was also born in New York, of Holland Dutch descent, and was a fanner by occupation. At an early day he came west and took up his residence in Kane county, Illinois, but died two years later, when nearly ninety years of age. He reared a small family. Our subject's maternal grandfather was born in this country and died in middle life.
In 1842 Robert Mink, our subject's father, came to Kane county and purchased a fine farm of two hundred acres two miles northeast of Elgin, which he transformed into one of the most highly-cultivated tracts in the locality. After engaging in agricultural pursuits for many years, he laid aside business cares and lived retired in Elgin for a few years before his death, which occurred in 1880, when he was sixty-seven years of age. His wife had passed away three years previous at the age of sixty-five. Both were earnest, consistent Christians, the mother belonging to the Baptist Church, while the father was a Presbyterian in faith. Four children were born to them, of whom three are still living: John W., Leander F., and James V.
Upon the home farm James V. Mink was reared, and, after attending the district schools for a time, he entered the Elgin Academy, where he completed his education. For five or six years after starting out in life for himself, he engaged in the grocery trade in Elgin, but for the past twenty years has been interested in real estate, doing a large and profitable business along that line. Besides his property in Elgin, he owns an excellent farm of three hundred acres five miles east of that place, and also city property in Chicago.
On the 18th of May, 1878, Mr. Mink was united in marriage with Miss Gracie Todd, a daughter of Thomas and Anna (McNeil) Todd, and to them have been born seven children, three sons and four daughters, namely: Edna J., Royal J., Clyde, Annie, Gladys, Mamie, and one who died in infancy. Only three are now living - Annie, Gladys and Clyde. The family have a beautiful home at No. 554 Douglas avenue, which was erected in 1885. Mrs. Mink holds membership in the Congregational church.
Politically Mr. Mink is identified with the Republican party, and for four years he most efficiently served as alderman of the First ward. Integrity, activity and energy have been the crowning points of his success, and his connection with different business enterprises has been of a decided advantage to the city. He is public-spirited and progressive, giving his support to all measures which he believes calculated to advance the general welfare.
CAPT. FRANCIS H. BOWMAN, president of the Bowman, Warne & Stewart Bank, St. Charles, Illinois, has been a resident of the city since 1845, and is well-known and greatly esteemed by all the people of Kane county. He is a native of New York, born in Broome county, May 9, 1816, and is a son of Ebenezer and Sylvia (Barnaby) Bowman, both of whom were natives of Vermont. The Bowmans are of English ancestry and were early settlers of the Green Mountain State, where Ephraim Bowman, the grandfather of our subject, was born.
Ebenezer Bowman was born about 1794, and grew to manhood in his native state, where his marriage with Sylvia Barnaby took place. About 1814 the young couple removed to Broome county, New York, where he cleared a farm in the wilderness, built a hewed log house and there resided until the death of his wife in 1828. He then moved to Pennsylvania, where he remained a short time, afterward returned to Vermont, again married, and there resided during the remainder of his life. Our subject is the oldest of two sons and three daughters born to Ebenezer and Sylvia Bowman. His brother, Benjamin Carlton Bowman, grew to manhood and settled in Pennsylvania, but later moved to Williams-port, where he engaged in the lumber trade and in banking, being for some years president of a Williamsport bank. He died there in 1896. One sister, Mrs. Mary Ann Yaw, resides in Franklin county, Vermont. Another sister, Prudencia, wife of John Colcord, resides in Vermont. The third one, Hannah M., married Hannibal P. Wood, and located in Illinois, where she died.
Francis H. Bowman was twelve years of age when his mother died. He then went to live with his uncle, Hiram H. Heath, of Ithaca, New York, and later removed with him to Auburn, New York. Good common-school advantages were given him while residing both at Ithaca and Auburn, which he industriously improved. When still in his youth he entered a hardware store in Auburn, New York, as a clerk, and there remained nine years, securing a good practical training in business affairs. The last few years of his stay there he was a confidential clerk of the firm and transacted much of the business.
While his business relations were pleasant and he had the full confidence of his employers, the life of a mere clerk was distasteful to him. He desired to better his condition in life, and with that end in view came west in 1845 and located in St. Charles, Illinois. Here he at once engaged in the hardware trade, a line with which he was thoroughly familiar. For three years he carried on the business alone, and then associated with himself John Lloyd, and a foundry business was added to that of hardware, the combined line being carried on under the firm name of Bowman & Lloyd. This was continued from 1848 until 1861.
The war for the union was now in progress and Mr. Bowman determined to enlist. Accordingly he sold out his interest in the hardware line to Owen Butler, but by mutual consent retained his interest in the foundry. In October, 1861, he was commissioned captain of Company G, Fifty-second Volunteer Infantry, and with his regiment marched first to St. Louis, from which place it went south, joining the advance in time to take part in the battle of Shiloh in April, 1862. Soon after this engagement he resigned his commission and returned home.
On his return Captain Bowman resumed active relations with . Mr. Lloyd in the foundry and about one year later re-purchased the interest of Owen Butler in the hardware trade. This relation was continued for some years. Captain Bowman then selling, lived retired for one year. But one of his temperament could not endure that kind of a life. He was one of the organizers of the Kane County National Bank, and was a director during its existence. J. C. Baird & Co. succeeded to the Kane County National Bank in which Captain Bowman was a stockholder and director, and at the death of Mr. Baird, some time later, he became its general manager. For about three years the business was continued under the old name, when a new co-partnership was formed by Mr. Bowman, John Warne and John Stewart, since which time the bank has been run under the name of Bowman, Warne & Stewart, bankers. It is recognized as one of the reliable and solid institutions of the county, due in a great measure to the well-known business ability and conservatism of Captain Bowman.
After remaining a bachelor in St. Charles for four years, in October, 1849, Mr. Bowman returned to his native state, and at Elmira married Helen M. Smith, who was born, reared and educated in that city. She was a faithful wife and helpmeet to him for forty-two long years, passing away in December, 1891. There were three children by this union: Carleton Smith, a farmer residing in Kane county; Francis E., who died in infancy, and Edward Harvey, who was a lawyer by profession, practicing for about five years in Chicago. He was accidentally drowned in 1890.
In early life Captain Bowman was politically a Whig, casting his first presidential ballot for William Henry Harrison in 1840. With that party he continued to act until the organization of the Republican party, when he joined its ranks, voting for General Fremont for president in 1856. From that time to the present he has never missed voting for the Republican nominee for the highest office in the gift of the people. His interest in the party has never abated, and in the campaign of 1896 he was a warm supporter of William McKinley, and an earnest advocate of protection and reciprocity. In the various conventions of his party-county, district and state - he has often served as a delegate, and by his fellow citizens has been honored with many local offices, including supervisor of his township, being the first elected to that office in St. Charles, trustee of the town of St. Charles, school trustee and school treasurer, serving in the latter position some twelve or fourteen years. In every position, public or private, he has discharged its duties faithfully and well. Fraternally he is a member of the Odd Fellows, subordinate and encampment, and has filled every position in his local lodge and camp. He has also served as a delegate from his lodge to the grand lodge and also to the grand encampment. For more than fifty years he has been a member of the order and has taken great interest in its welfare and in the dissemination of its principles, believing them to be for the best good of humanity.
In addition to his banking business, Captain Bowman is a stockholder in the tile factory, the condensing company and the Crown Electric Manufacturing Company. Few concerns established in St. Charles but have had his hearty co-operation. For fifty-three years he has been identified with the commercial and manufacturing interests of Kane county, and few men are better known and none more highly respected. As a business man and financier he has the confidence of all. His memory will long be cherished by those who know him, and his industry, thrift and business sagacity will be an incentive to those who come after him.
CHARLES LEVEY, a retired farmer living at Batavia, traces his ancestry in this country to Jacob Levey, a native of Germany, who emigrated to this country prior to the Revolutionary war, and who assisted in its struggle for independence. His son, John Levey, was born in Schenectady, New York. He married Nancy Clute, a native of New York, but of German descent. They were the parents of eight sons and six daughters, the sons all growing to mature years, six of whom are yet living, as follows: Samuel is a farmer of McHenry county, Illinois; Andrew is engaged in farming in Minnesota; John resides in New York; James resides in Schenectady county, New York, where he is engaged in farming; Peter is also a resident of Schenectady county, and Charles of this review. The two sisters living are Catharine, wife of John Akin, of Farmington, Illinois, and Elizabeth, wife of Cornell Brunk, of New York.
Charles Levey, our subject, was born in Schenectady county, New York, August 4, 1829, and is the son of John and Nancy (Clute) Levey. He there grew to manhood and had but limited educational privileges. A young man of twenty-four years, he came west in 1853, and first located in Du Page county, Illinois, where he engaged in farming for several years. He was married in Batavia/Illinois, October 10, 1855, to Miss Ann Frydendall, a native of Schenectady county, New York, and who came to Illinois with her parents, Daniel and Hannah (Venton) Frydendall, in 1842. Her father was by occupation a farmer and engaged in that calling during his entire life, dying February 13, 1888. His wife survived him, and died April 15, 1898, when eighty-four years old. Mr. and Mrs. Levey are the parents of six living children, as follows: Theodore, married and engaged in farming in Blackberry township; Charles W., married and also engaged in farming; Daniel, a carpenter and joiner, married and residing in Aurora; Elmer, a farmer of Blackberry township; Belle, wife of Lewis Krumlanz, and May, wife of Thomas Mead, of Batavia.
In 1865, Mr. Levey moved with his family to Kane county and purchased a farm of one hundred and twenty acres in Black berry township, which was partially improved, and on which was a log dwelling house. He at once commenced its improvement and in due time built a large house, barn and other outbuildings, and there resided for some years. Renting out his own farm, he subsequently rented a farm of six hundred acres, on which he resided three years. He still owns the old homestead, which is operated by his son Elmer. Having a sufficient amount of this world's goods to enable him to live in ease and retirement, in the fall of 1889, he purchased residence property and removed to Batavia. Occasionally he visits the old farm, when the weather is pleasant, and assists his boys in the farm work.
Politically, Mr. Levey was formerly a Jackson Democrat, but is now independent, voting for such men as he thinks best qualified to fill the offices. He has been a resident of Illinois for forty-five years, while his wife has resided here fifty-six years. They are both well known in Kane and Du Page counties and are held in the highest esteem.
JOHN KEMP, of Aurora, Illinois, came to this city in 1855, and for about a third of a century was one of its most enterprising business men. He is now living a retired life, enjoying the fruits of honest toil. He was born in the town of Hull, Yorkshire, England, May 29, 1816. His father, John Kemp, Sr., was also a native Yorkshire, and there married Francis Hart, born and reared in the same shire. John Kemp, Sr., was a sailor in early life, and spent some years upon the sea. In 1829 he came to America and located near Montreal, Canada, and was one of the earliest settlers of that county. From there he moved to New York state and removed to Toronto, Canada, where he died.
The subject of this sketch was but thirteen years of age when he came with his parents to America. He remembers well the hardships endured, as pioneers of a new country. However, he went to Montreal, learned the harness maker's trade, serving an apprenticeship of four years. He there married, September 10, 1835, Miss Elizabeth McCullum, born in the Isle of Wight, and a daughter of James McCullum, a native of Scotland. By this union are four children, as follows: Elizabeth, who grew to womanhood, married and is now deceased; Charlotte, wife of John Kessler, residing in Rhilander, Wisconsin; Mrs. Fannie Rowland, now residing in Los Angeles, California; and Matilda, wife of Henry Gregory, residing in Charleston, South Carolina.
After marriage Mr. Kemp worked in Montreal for twelve years, then moved to Milwaukee, Wisconsin, where for a time he worked at his trade as a journeyman, and later started a shop of his own, and carried on business for three years. He then moved to Chicago, where he remained about nine months, and in 1855 moved to Aurora, then a town of about twelve hundred inhabitants, bought property and has here since continued to reside. He commenced business on the west side, and was the second to engage in the harness trade on that side of the city. After a few years he formed a partnership with Horace Gilbert and the firm did a very profitable and extensive business for thirty years, often working as many as fifteen men in their shops. Mr. Kemp did all the cutting and laying out the work for the entire force. He remained in active business until 1888, when he sold out and has since lived retired. During this time he purchased two farms in Hancock county, Iowa, one of which he continued to hold for twenty-five years. He also purchased vacant lots, in Aurora, which he held for a rise in value.
Politically, Mr. Kemp is a Republican, with which party he has continued to act since its formation, but he has never wanted nor would he ever accept public office. When a young man of nineteen, he was converted and united with the Wesleyan Methodist church, but later transferred his membership to the Methodist Episcopal church, with which body he has been actively connected for many years, and for the greater part of the time since coming to Aurora a member of the official board of his church. His wife has also been an active member of the same church for many years. For forty-three years he has been a well-known citizen of Aurora, where he and his most estimable wife are held in the highest respect by one and all.
JOHN N. HURD came to Aurora in the fall of 1854 and has here since made his home. While now living a retired life he was for many years one of the active and enterprising business men and manufacturers of the city. He was born in Bennington county, Vermont, July 1, 1830, and is the son of Gilbert and Eleanor (Thomas) Hurd, both of whom are natives of the same state, the former born in Bennington county, in 1803. The grandfather, Abraham Hurd, was a native of Vermont, of which the Hurd family were pioneers,
emigrating there from Connecticut. The marriage of Gilbert Hurd and Eleanor Thomas was celebrated in 1827. She was a daughter of Reuben Thomas, who was likewise a native of Vermont, of which state his father, Reuben Thomas, Sr., was a pioneer. Gilbert Hurd followed the occupation of a farmer in his native state, and in 1853 emigrated to Illinois, locating in Oswego, Kendall county, where he remained one year and then came to Aurora, when he purchased farm and town property. For many years he engaged in farming and in buying and dealing in stock, sheep and wool. He was a very liberal man and gave of his means for the erection of different churches and also gave liberally to charitable and benevolent purposes. His death occurred March 30, 1876. His widow survives him and resides on the old homestead where the family have lived for more than forty years. She is now eighty-eight years old.
The subject of this sketch is one of a family of four sons who grew to mature years. Reuben T. married and resided for a time in Vermont, where he was engaged in business. He later moved to Aurora, where he became a prominent business man and died here in October, 1894. His wife preceded him to their heavenly home some three years previously, leaving three children. John N., of this review, was next in order of birth. Hosea B., who now resides with his mother and brother in Aurora. Samuel, the fourth son, died January 1, 1897.
In his native state John N. Hurd grew to manhood, and received a good common-school education. After attaining his majority he taught six winter terms of school and in the summer assisted in taking care of the home farm. In 1854 he joined the family in Aurora, and in partnership with a brother engaged in farming and also in dealing in stock and wool. They continued in these lines until about 1867, when, with his brother Samuel, he engaged in the manufacture and sale of tinware, employing agents and furnishing them with an outfit, sold all through the country. They usually had some ten or twenty teams on the road, and gave employment to over fifty hands. They did a very extensive business which was continued until 1885. For about six years of that time, our subject, in company with Daniel Volentine, was engaged in the wool business. The partnership was dissolved by the death of Mr. Volentine, and for the succeeding two years he was with William Volentine, the son of the former partner. The business of Mr. Hurd was not confined solely to the lines mentioned. He from time to time engaged in buying and selling farms and in the improvement of city property. He also assisted other parties who were trying to establish themselves in business by loaning them money.
Early in the spring of 1869, Mr. Hurd went east, and in Washington county, New York, March 16, married Maria Gray, a native of that county, and a daughter of William Gray, also a native of that state. By this union were two children, one of whom, Gracia, died at the age of fourteen months. The other, Rhoda M., is now the wife of William H. Parker, Jr., of Aurora, by whom she has one son, John Alfred. Politically Mr. Hurd is a stanch Republican, as was also his father, though in early life the father was a Whig. He never cared for public office and has repeatedly refused to consider his nomination or election to any. However he was elected and served one term as alderman of his ward, discharging his duties in a faithful manner. On the organization of the Second National Bank, he acquired some stock and for a number of years served as director. In the forty-four years of his residence in Aurora, he has done his part towards its growth and development.
DWIGHT A. CHAMBERLIN, supervisor and a prominent business man of Elgin, is the well-known district agent of the Rockford Insurance Company, with office in the Elgin National Bank building, Elgin, Illinois. He is a native of the Prairie state, born in Rockford, June 2, 1849, and is a son of Alfred A. and Nancy E..(Munger) Chamberlin, the former a native of Vermont, and the latter of Massachusetts. In their family were four children: Marian C., widow of John Loop, of Santa Monica, California; Emma, wife of George M. Welles, of Elgin; Thyrsa T., wife of George W. Bridgman, of Bridgman, Michigan; and Dwight A., our subject.
Alfred A. Chamberlin, the father, was a pioneer of northern Illinois, locating at Aurora when the settlers' cabins were few and far between. At that time the great Prairie state gave but little promise of the bright future that was before it. Chicago was then but a small village, and the most enthusiastic of its citizens little dreamed of what it was destined to be. The .county of Kane existed but in name, its many thou-sands of acres of fertile land unturned by the plow. For some years after his removal to Illinois, he engaged in the foundry business in Rockford, with moderate success. From Aurora he removed to Oregon, Ogle county, Illinois, and later to Rockford. In 1859 he moved to Cherry Valley,
Illinois, and there engaged in. the milling business until his retirement to private life. In 1894 he came with his wife to Elgin and lived with his children, dying at the home of his daughter, Mrs. Welles, June 3, 1897, at the age of ninety years. His wife preceded him but five days, dying May 29, 1897, at the age of eighty-eight years. For a period of sixty-three years they traveled life's journey together, happy in each other's love. One Could not live without the other, and so the angel of death tarried but a few days after taking the one before he called for the other. Religiously she was a Baptist, and, while he never united with any religious body, he attended services with her. In his life he endeavored to faithfully carry out the golden rule.
The paternal grandfather of our subject, William Chamberlin, was a native of Vermont and there died. In his family were six or seven children who grew to maturity. The maternal grandfather, Lyman Munger, was a native of Massachusetts, where he died at an advanced age.
Dwight A. Chamberlin, our subject, was about ten years of age when his parents removed to Cherry Valley, and his education begun in the public schools of Rockford, was afterward completed in the same place. In 1871 he commenced the insurance business in his home village, and for some years traveled in the interest of the Rockford Insurance Company. His success as a solicitor soon gave him standing with his company and his patronage rapidly grew so that he became well known in many localities, and many held their insurance until his arrival that it might be given him. In 1885 he removed to Elgin, opened an office and has here since continued to reside. Having visited this place while on the road, he had here a number of patrons to begin with, and that number he rapidly increased. His business has been a large one and fairly profitable even in the midst of the hard times from 1893 to 1897. His company is well known to be among the best in the country and a risk placed with it is known to be safe.
On. the 2nd of July, 1886, Mr. Chamberlin was united in marriage with Miss Cora L. Orth, daughter of John and Mary (Gardner) Orth, and their union has been blessed with two children: Harry D. and Marie E. Mrs. Chamberlin is a member of the First Congregational church of Elgin. John Orth, her father, was a native of New York, and came to Illinois early in the '50s, locating in the township of Caledonia, Boone county, where he engaged in farming up to the time of his death, which occurred October 10, 1878. His widow is a native of Lockport, Niagara county, New York, where they were united in marriage. She is still living on the old homestead in Caledonia township, loved and respected by a large circle of friends. They were the parents of two children: Ida C. and Cora L.
Fraternally, Mr. Chamberlin is a member of the Knights of Pythias, Maccabees, Royal League and Home Forum. Politically, he is a Republican, with which party he has been identified since casting his first presi-dential vote for U. S. Grant, in 1872. For two years he served as assistant supervisor of Elgin, and in the spring of 1897 was elected supervisor for a term of two years. He has always taken an active interest in political affairs and for the success of his party has labored hard in season and out in the dissemination of party principles. During the campaign of 1896 he gave much time to the work, and of his means he has usually given with a generous hand. In his business he is recognized as a hustler, and in the discharge of his official duties he has exhibited the same energy that characterizes him as a business man. As a progressive citizen of Elgin and Kane county he is well worthy a place among its most honored men, and few men in the county have more stanch, true and tried friends than the genial, open-handed and warm-hearted subject of this biography.
JOSEPH TEFFT, M. D., the first mayor of Elgin, and for years one of the most prominent citizens of Kane county, was born in Lebanon, Madison county, New York, August 29, 1812, acquired a good literary education for the times, read medicine with an uncle in Great Barrington, Vermont, and in 1833 attended medical lectures at a college in Brattleboro, that state. His father, Jonathan Tefft, Sr., was born in Madison county, New York, March 18, 1790, and in that county married Elizabeth Collins, who was born December 8, 1792, and died August 24, 1856. In 1835 they emigrated to Illinois, first settled on a farm adjoining the town of Elgin, but in Cook county. On removing to section 36, Elgin township, Kane county, the following year, he sold the Cook county farm to his son. The family were members of the Society of Friends, and were widely and favorably known. Having sold the farm to his son Jonathan, he removed to the city of Elgin, where he died January 26, 1866, at the age of seventy-six years. In politics he was first a Whig and later a Republican. (Further mention is made of the family in the sketch of Jonathan Tefft, on another page of this volume.) The family has been identified with the history of this country since colonial days. In the possession of Jonathan Tefft, of Elgin township, is the certificate of marriage of his grandparents, Jeremiah Tefft and Rhoda Hoxsie, of Richmond, Kings county, Colony of Rhode Island, dated October 23, 1768. After the Revolutionary war they removed to what was then the "far west," locating in Madison county, New York, where they reared a large family of children and spent their remaining days.
With his father's family our subject came to Illinois in the fall of 1835, making the entire journey with ox teams. He first located at South Elgin, but later traded farms with his father, taking the one in Cook county, a part of which is now Lord's Park. Upon this place are still standing apple trees which were planted by Jonathan Tefft. He was the first physician of Elgin, and in the discharge of his professional duties, as well as the common duties of pioneer life, he experienced many hardships. At one time he and his brother-in-law, P. C. Gilbert, had occasion to go to McHenry county. On their return they found that a flood had washed away the bridge over Fox river, and following the direction of a neighbor they started to ford the stream, the Doctor taking the lead. The horses, however, had to swim partly across. On arriv-ing home the Doctor found an urgent call awaiting him. He immediately re-crossed the river, saw his patient and returned, the feat being accomplished with great fatigue both to man and beast.
Some of the earliest settlers tried to drive away those who came a little later, so that they might secure larger tracts of land when their first claims were perfected, but their threats had no effect upon Dr. Tefft.
He was warned to leave his claim, but paid no attention to it. A notice was tacked to his door, and finally one of the band came to his cabin, telling him the rest of the crowd were waiting at the edge of the tim-ber to punish him if he did not leave. He defied them and they asked for a parley. He replied if they would leave their rifles in the field, they might approach and seat themselves upon a log in his yard, and that he would come out, rifle in hand, and parley with them. This was done, with the result that he told them plainly that he would stand by his rights as an American citizen, and if he were injured more than one of them would suffer from the encounter. He was left in peace, his firmness and determination having won the day. He continued in active practice until 1875, and was frequently called in consultation up to the time of his death. Being a great reader and student, as well as an enterprising progressive man, he kept abreast of the times in his profession, the general sciences and literature. He was one of the most honored and highly respected citizens of the community.
Dr. Joseph Tefft was twice married, his first union being with Miss Emeline Gilbert, by whom he had one child, Julia, now deceased. For his second wife he married Mrs. Lavina (Johnson) Ormsby, a native of Putney, Vermont, born August 25, 1815. By this union there was one child, Leslie E. She died in Elgin, January 22, 1897.
Dr. Joseph Tefft was the first mayor of Elgin, and served in all five terms. He was president of the Elgin Academy from its inception until his death, which occurred August 26, 1888. He was also president of the Scientific Society, and was a man highly honored and respected by all, and his death was sincerely felt in the community for which he did so much, and where he so long resided.
JAMES W. BATTLE, ex-mayor of Aurora, was born in the town of Gill, Franklin county, Massachusetts, October 5, 1831. His father, Ichabod D. Battle, and his mother, Miranda S. (Moore) Battle, were both natives of Orange, Massachusetts. By trade the father was a wheel-wright and wagonmaker, which occupation he followed during his entire life. His death occurred at the age of eighty-seven years, and he was a remarkably well preserved man until the end, running a sawmill at the age of eighty-three years. His wife died at the age of fifty-seven years. They were the parents of eight children, of whom four are still living, as follows: Jane I., widow of Hetsel Purple, resides in Greenfield, Massachusetts, but spends most of her time with her children; James W., our subject; Edwin P., formerly an engineer on the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy railroad, now resides in Chicago; Charles S., living in Aurora.
The subject of this sketch was reared in town and country, and attended school in the country until about sixteen years of age, when he secured employment on a farm, at five dollars per month, during the summer. He then went to work in a pail factory, where he remained a year or two, going from there to Athol, Massachusetts, where he was employed in a hotel. From Athol he went to Phillipston and worked at splitting palm leaf, for making hats. He continued there one season, but there was too much brimstone in the business, and so he secured work in the chair factory. After being employed there a short time, he went to Cape Cod and drove a peddler's wagon, but soon returned to Winchester, New Hampshire, where he engaged in the same business. From there he went to Cleveland, Ohio, and later to Norwalk, in the same state, and in 1853, commenced firing on a railway locomotive, remaining there fourteen months. On account of cholera he went east and was married November 4, 1854, to Miss Cordelia Lobdell, a native of Monroeville, Ohio, by whom he had one child, Emma C., wife of Frank Griffith, now residing in Racine, Wisconsin, by whom she has three children, Jamie, Frank and Sadie. In 1856 Mrs. Cordelia Battle was called to her final rest.
The second marriage of Mr. Battle occurred September 7, 1859, when he was united with Miss Isabella Gilbert, daughter of Lyman and Emily Gilbert, both of whom were natives of Massachusetts. Her father was born in 1796, and died November 4, 1849; her mother died May 7, 1881, at the age of seventy-six years; they were members of the Universalist church. In their family were seven children: George, born in 1824, died June 4, 1863; Foster, born February 19, 1825, died April 5, 1842; Cephas, born October 13, 1827, moved to South Carolina, in early manhood, where his death occurred in June, 1894; Lyman, born August 10, 1829, died May 1, 1856; Isabella, born October 25, 1833, is the wife of our subject; Emily, born June 12, 1838, died May 19, 1857; and Foster, the second, born March 18, 1846, died July 27, 1889.
In 1855, our subject came west with his wife, and located in Michigan City, Indiana, and for seven months was with the New Albany & Salem railroad as fireman, and then secured a position as engineer on the Michigan Central railroad. With that road he continued until 1859, when he went to the Hannibal & St. Joseph railroad, but did not long remain with it, resigning on account of ill health. He went to Massachusetts to regain his health, and was under the doctor's care for some time, and then engaged in farming. In the spring of 1860, he bought out a store, at Northfield Farms, Massachusetts, and was in the mercantile business until 1862, when he sold out and returned west to Aurora, taking an engine on the Burlington road. He continued in that service, until the day Lincoln was assassinated. From Aurora he went to Janesville, Wisconsin, and for four years ran an engine on the Wisconsin division of the Chicago & Northwestern railroad. He then opened a hotel in Chicago, the Clarenden, on the corner of Clark and Ontario streets, but only remained there six months, when he sold out and returned to the Burlington railroad at Aurora, and ran an engine for six years. He next engaged in the grocery business in Aurora, with Robert Pierpont, and was with him six years.
On the introduction of the street railway in Aurora, he was made superintendent, and continued to be thus employed until his appointment as superintendent of the water work's in 1886. He held that position three years, and then went into the lumber business, as the senior member of the firm of Battle& Glover. After five months they sold the business to the street railway company. In 1878, Mr. Battle was elected alderman, and was re-elected until 1882, when he was nominated and elected mayor of the city, serving one term. In 1892, he was again elected alderman of his ward, and served two years. He was in the council when the city changed its lighting from gas to electric light, being the first city in the country to establish that system. Representatives from various cities in almost every state in the union came here to see the plant.
In 1894, Mr. Battle was again elected mayor, but was counted out. He contested the election, and was declared elected by the county court. An appeal was taken to the supreme court, by the other party, and that court confirmed the decision of the county court. He was then given the office, but had only six weeks to serve. Since that time he has been in private life, giving his attention to other interests until in April, 1898, he was elected supervisor of Aurora township without opposition. He is now one of the directors of the Silver Plate Manufacturing Company, a stockholder in the cotton factory of Aurora, and has been connected with various other manufactures of the city, of late years. Mr. Battle was made a Master Mason in Harmony lodge, at Northfield, Massachusetts, in 1863, and is a member of the Jerusalem Temple at Aurora. For many years he was a member of the Railway Locomotive Engineers. In politics he is an ardent Republican. He has never asked for an office for himself, and it has been with-him, that the office sought the man, and not the man the office. In all official acts he strives to do his duty, regardless of popular feeling.
JOHN W. LINDEN, who represents the Seventh ward as a member of the board of aldermen in the city' of Aurora, was born in the Grand Duchy of Luxemberg, January 27, 1859, and is the son of Peter and Mary Ann (Flammang) Linden, both of whom were natives of the same country. In his native land Peter Linden followed the trade of wagon maker, but on coming to this country in 1861 engaged in farming, which occupation he followed until his death, January 26, 1883, at the age of sixty-seven years. He was one of the first settlers in what is known as the "big woods." He was a member of the St. Nicholas Roman Catholic church, as was also his wife, who died January 4, 1898, at the age of seventy-four years. Of their family of five children, John is the city inspector of sewers; Henry engaged in the saloon business in Aurora; Susan, wife of Nicholas Linster, of Aurora, an employe of the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad Company in the shops at Aurora; Maggie, wife of Peter Wagner, an electric lineman of Aurora, and John W., our subject.
John W. Linden was educated in the country schools and also in the parochial schools of Aurora. For fifteen years he was an employe of the woolen mills at Aurora, in the carding and spinning departments. After leaving the mill he engaged in the wholesale and retail liquor business, as agent for the Pabst Company of Milwaukee.
Mr. Linden was married in October, 1885, to Miss Catherine Winkle, daughter of Jacob Winkle, one of the first German settlers in this section, coming here in the forties. Religiously Mr. and Mrs. Linden are members of the Roman Catholic church. He takes great interest in politics, and is an ardent believer in the restoration of silver. He is the present chairman of the Democratic senatorial committee, of Kane and Du Page counties, and has held that position for the past six years. He has been a delegate to the various state conventions of his party, and was a delegate to the first silver convention held in this state. Few men are better posted in political issues, especially on living questions. In 1891 he was elected alderman from his ward, and has since held the office by re-election. That he has made a good officer is attested by his continuous service. As a citizen he is alive to all the best interests of Aurora.
Rev. Jonathan Stoughton
REV. JONATHAN C. STOUGHTON, a superannuated minister of the Rock River conference of the Methodist Episcopal church, residing at No. 70 South Lincoln avenue, Aurora, Illinois, was born in Ashtabula county, Ohio, November 3, 1820, and is the son of Henry and Almira (Clapp) Stoughton, both of whom were natives of Connecticut. The father moved from Connecticut to Ashtabula county, Ohio, in 1812, when a young man, and was there married. His life occupation was that of a farmer, and his death occurred in Windsor township, Ashtabula county, in 1876, when in his eighty-sixth year. He was a member of the Congregational church, while living in Connecticut, but, after coming to Ohio, did not unite with any church, as there were no churches of that denomination there at that time. He was well and favorably known in the county, which was so long his home. His wife, who was a devout member of the Methodist Episcopal church, died in 1844. Of their seven children, four are still living: Mary, wife of Mr. Gould, residing in Ashtabula county, Ohio; Sarah, also a resident of that county; and Henry E., of Cambridge, Illinois, which has been his home for many years.
Jonathan C. Stoughton, who was the eldest of the seven children born to his parents, remained on the home farm until in his eighteenth year, when he came to Illinois, and worked on a farm in Trivola township, Peoria county, for one hundred dollars per year, remaining there for three years. He then entered Knox College, at Galesburg, from which he graduated in 1846. During vacations he taught school, and worked in the harvest fields, that he might secure the means to continue his studies.
At an early age he was converted, and united with the Methodist Episcopal church. From the time of his conversion, he felt the desire to enter the ministry. In 1846, he joined the Rock River conference, with which he has since held official connection. In 1854, after having served at various places, he came to Aurora, and took charge of the Methodist Episcopal church at this place. Two years later, by appointment from the conference, he built the Jennings Seminary. In 1858, he went to Freeport, where he continued until 1860. He was elected a delegate from the Rock River conference to the general conference, held at Buffalo, New York, in 1860. He then went to Champaign, Illinois, and there erected a building, and started the Champaign and Urbana Seminary. A few years later, when the Illinois legislature had passed an act for the creation of a State University, the building and grounds of the seminary were offered the state, as an inducement to locate the university there. Had it not been for this generous offer, it is more than probable the university would have been established elsewhere.
During the summer of 1861 and that of 1862 he was in the recruiting service, and was instrumental in securing many volunteers. In the fall of 1862, Mr. Stoughton offered his services as a private, and with the command went to Camp Douglas, where he was commissioned by Governor Yates as a captain of cavalry, but never served in that capacity. He was later commissioned chaplain of the One Hundred and Twenty-seventh Regiment, Illinois Volunteer Infantry. He was sent south to Memphis, and was with Sherman when after Price in .Tennessee, and on the Tallahatchie river. He also took part in the siege of Vicksburg. He stood the service fairly well, but took sick on the Yazoo, in the fall of 1863, and was compelled to leave the service. He personally knew Grant, Sherman, and many of the leading officers of the Western army.
Returning home, he shortly after was assigned to Grace Methodist Episcopal church, Chicago where he remained one year, returning to Champaign, and completing the institution, which had been abandoned thus far during the war. At this time he was not engaged in pastoral work, but was appointed by the conference as a general agent, and lectured much on temperance. In 1864, he started and edited a temperance paper, which was wiped out by the fire in Chicago, in 1871. As a lecturer on temperance, he attained great celebrity, and his services were in great demand. After traveling in Europe for a time, he returned and again took up the regular work of the ministery. After serving the Galena street church, Aurora-followed with Rock Falls, Rochelle and Wyanet-he then went to New Mexico, in charge of the English mission, at old Santa Fe. Later he was sent to Chicago as pastor of the Asbury, and later to the Winter street church, the State street church and the Fifty-fourth street church. After leaving Chicago, he served three years at Sugar Grove, Kane county, Illinois, when he came to Aurora, where he has since continued to reside. He is now retired, after having served the church fifty years in the active work of the ministry, though not always as a pastor.
Mr. Stoughton has always taken an interest in political affairs, believing it to be the duty of a minister, as well as a layman, to exercise all the rights of citizenship. In 1870, he ran as an independent candidate for congress, against General Farnsworth, who two years previously had been elected by fifteen thousand majority. Notwithstanding the large majority to overcome, Mr. Stoughton made a vigorous canvass. For a few days after the election, the Chicago papers had reported he was elected, but the back townships counted him out. On the 9th of January, 1847, Dr. Stoughton was united in marriage with Miss Amanda Cheritre, a native of New York state. By this union there were three children, a son and two daughters. The son, Lorenzo T., was drowned in Fox river, at Montgomery, in 1864. With another boy he was in a skiff, floating down the river, and not observing the dam, was carried over and drowned. Of the daughters, Ethel is now the wife of Rev. W. K. Beans, of the Methodist Episcopal church, of Spokane Falls, by whom she has one son, Lorenzo W., student in the medical department, of the Northwestern University, class of '99. Estella, now the wife of Justice Anient, of Chicago. The wife and mother died, August 24, 1880, at the age of fifty-six years. She was a member of the Methodist Episcopal church, and a very active worker in the same. September 1, 1881, Dr. Stoughton was again married, his second union being with Miss Mary J. Leet, of Bradford, Illinois, and a daughter of William and Helen Leet. See sketch elsewhere in this volume. Mrs. Stoughton is a woman of superior business ability, and is a very successful worker in the Methodist Episcopal church, of which she has been a member for many years.
Since 1847, Dr Stoughton has been a member of the Sons of Temperance, and for many years was grand worthy patriarch of the order. Through his instrumentality, many persons have been saved from the curse of drink, and started in the way of righteousness. In 1852, he was made a Royal Arch Mason. While residing in New Mexico, he was a member of the G. A. R., but has not affiliated with the order to any great extent since his return to Illinois. While for many years a strong Republican, in 1872 he supported Horace Greeley for president, making many speeches in his behalf in Indiana and Illinois. For some years he has been an active worker in the Prohibition party.
JOSEPH MOULTON FISH, who is residing in the city of Aurora, is a native of the town of Danby, Rutland county, Vermont, born May 27, 1816. His father, John Fish, was also a native of that state, while his grandfather, Elisha Fish, was born in Rhode Island, and was a soldier in the Revolutionary war, and also in the war of 1812. He was a pioneer settler of Rutland county, Vermont. The family are of English origin, the great grandfather of our subject, coming from England and locating in Rhode Island. John Fish grew to manhood in his native state, and there married Abigail Moulton, a daughter of Joseph Moulton, who was a native of Massachusetts and a pioneer of Vermont. By occupation John Fish was a farmer, and during the war of 1812 served as a non-commissioned officer. His wife died in Vermont, and he later moved to Illinois, and resided with his son Joseph, his death occurring at Lockport, Illinois, in April, 1863.
The subject of this sketch is the oldest son of John and Abigail Fish, and fifth in order of birth of a family of eight sons and four daughters, eight of whom grew to mature years, married, reared families, and are all, except subject, now deceased. In his native state he grew to manhood, and there received limited school privileges, but made the best use of every advantage for obtaining an education. His youth was spent in almost every kind of employment, and he received a thorough practical business training. In addition to mercantile training he was for a time employed in the machine shops at Danby, Rutland county, Vermont. After he had reached his majority he commenced business for himself, starting a blacksmith shop, in which he employed several men. He continued in that business for five years, and was then for seven years engaged in the wholesale marble business, quarrying and manufacturing. Selling out, he removed to Buffalo, New York, and engaged in the manufacture of lumber on Buffalo creek, where he erected a mill, and had charge of a very extensive business, purchasing all the material, selling all the lumber, and employing all the men.
In the spring of 1859, Mr. Fish sold his interest in Buffalo, came to Illinois, and located at Lockport, Will county, and there engaged in the real estate and livery business, and for four years served as deputy sheriff of Will county. In 1865, he moved to Aurora, where he engaged in farming and the real estate business, continuing in that line for several years, during which time he was the owner of several improved farms in Kane county, and also much city property, and now owns considerable improved residence property.
Mr. Fish was married in Rutland county, Vermont, in 1846, to Miss Martha B. Smith, a native of that county, and a daughter of Asa Smith. After a happy married life of fifty-three years, Mrs. Fish was called to her final rest, May 7, 1897, and her remains were interred in Spring Lake cemetery.
Religiously, she was reared in the Quaker faith. Mr. Fish, though not a member, is an attendant of the Methodist Episcopal church, but like his wife was reared a Quaker. While not having any children of their own, they reared and educated three children.
Politically, Mr. Fish was an Old-line Whig, but became a Republican on the organization of that party, and has been identified with it to the present time. He was elected and served eight years as a member of the board of aldermen, during which time he served on some important committee, was chairman of the courthouse, public buildings, and public grounds, was also chairman of the judiciary committee for several years, and a member of the finance. For nine consecutive years he served as justice of the peace, when he resigned the office. He served four years as deputy sheriff in Kane county, also served for nine years on board of town auditors. He has served as a delegate to county, congressional and state conventions, where he has exerted considerable influence. In whatever position called upon to fill he made an efficient officer.
For a third of a century, Mr. Fish has been a resident of Aurora, and in that time has made many warm friends, who esteem him for his worth as a man, and who recognize his ability in every public, or private capacity. Commencing life in limited circumstances, by his industry, economy, and business ability, he has become one of the prosperous citizens of Kane county, well-known throughout its length and breadth.
EZEKIEL PEARCE, a retired farmer, living at 326 South La Salle street, Aurora, is a pioneer of northern Illinois. He was born in Logan county, Ohio, August 6, 1827, and is the son of Daniel and Sarah (Titsworth) Pearce, the former a native of Maryland and the latter of Ohio. The father was by occupation a farmer, and, in 1832, came to Illinois, and located a claim in Kendall county, to which he removed his family in 1833, at which time they did not know of a white man north of them. They settled near what is now the town of Oswego, and there was only two families between them and Chicago. The family of a Mr. Walker was the only one residing between Oswego and Joliet.
Daniel Pearce served twelve days in the war of 1812, when he was called back on account of the cessation of hostilities. He was married three times, and was the father of fourteen children, nine of whom were by his last wife, the mother of our subject. Of these nine, all are living but two. They were Lemuel, who went to California in 1850, in company with our subject, and, after their arrival, left him and went south with a friend, to engage in farming was never afterward heard from; Ezekiel, our subject; Joseph, a farmer residing in Kossuth county, Iowa; Elizabeth, who married J. B. Stafford, and is now deceased; Daniel, who resides on a cotton plantation, in Mississippi; James, living near Oswego, Illinois; Rebecca, wife of W. H. Chappell, of St. Joseph, Missouri; Isaac, who is in the grain business in Dakota; and Calvin, on the homestead, near Oswego. The father died in 1878, when eighty-nine years old, and the mother in 1874, when seventy-five years old. They were members of the Methodist church at Oswego.
The subject of this sketch was reared on the farm, and agricultural pursuits have been his life work. At the age of twenty-two years he began life for himself, working a farm on shares. In 1850, he went to California, by the overland route, in company with his brother, Lemuel. They left Oswego, Illinois, March 11, 1850, and reached Placerville, commonly known as Hangtown, on the 14th of July, following. They started in a company of one hundred and fifty persons, but dissensions arose, and there were but few of the number together, on their arrival in California. They passed through Salt Lake City, and there spent eight days, resting and viewing the sights. On account of ill health, he was compelled to return home much before the time expected. On his return he resumed farming, and in 1860, made his first purchase of land in Kendall county, consisting of about thirty-five acres. As his means increased, he made additions to his farm, until he had two hundred and seventy-six acres, which is yet in his possession, and which he farmed for many years. He also has land in Plymouth county, Iowa.
In 1852, Mr. Pearce was united in marriage with Miss Sarah A. Brownell, a daughter of David Brownell, of Kendall county. By this union were six children: Sarah E., now the wife of J. S. Hoyt, a farmer of Plymouth county, Iowa, by whom she has one child, Harry; Nora, wife of Thomas Goudie, by whom she has three children, Daniel, James and Margaret, also resides in Plymouth county, Iowa; Frank D., who married Miss Loucks, by whom he has five children, Roy, Nathan, Ezekiel, Lida and Edith, is a farmer presiding in Oswego township, Kendall county; Fred K., who married Miss F. Gibbons, by whom he has two children, Arthur and Georgia, resides on the old homestead in Kendall county. Two others died in early childhood. The mother of these children died in 1883, at the age of fifty-seven years. Mr. Pearce's second marriage was in March, 1888, to Mrs. Stafford, nee Ferris, and widow of Joseph Stafford.
Mrs. Pearce is a member of the Episcopal .church, and, fraternally, Mr. Pearce is a member of Oswego lodge, No. 303, A. F. & A. M., of Oswego, Illinois. Politically, he is a Democrat. While not in the service himself, his two brothers, Isaac and Calvin, took part in the late war, each serving three years. The latter went with Sherman to the sea. Isaac was a member of the Fourth Illinois Cavalry, and was taken prisoner, and spent a short time in Andersonville. Both returned and are yet living.
PETER VAN DEUSEN, of Aurora, Illinois, though not numbered among the pioneers of Kane county, has been a resident of Aurora for about a quarter of a century. He is a native of New York, born in the town of Livingston, Columbia county, July 8, 1812. His father, Robert Van Deusen, was a native of the same county and state, as was his grandfather, James Van Deusen. The family was among the pioneers of Columbia county and was originally from Holland. Robert Van Deusen grew to manhood in his native county, and married Barbara Sharp, born at Greenbush, near Albany, New York, of which place her father was an early settler. Robert Van Deusen was by occupation a farmer, and after remaining in New York for a few months after marriage, he moved to the town of Sheffield, Berkshire county, Massachusetts, where his death occurred some years later, and where his wife also died. Of their five sons and four daughters, all grew to mature years, married and became heads of families. Of this number our subject and one sister are the only survivors. The sister, Sally, is now the wife of John Hillier, and resides in Sheffield, Berkshire county, Massachusetts.
Peter Van Deusen spent his boyhood and youth on the farm in Columbia county, and had but very limited educational advantages, attending school during a few weeks only of the winter months. In other seasons of the year, he had to work on the farm. After leaving the parental roof, he worked out as a farm hand for several years. He first married in Litchfield county, Connecticut, in 1840, Miss Harriet Foster, a native of Connecticut. By this union were two sons: Ward, married and residing in Cherokee county, Iowa; and Frank, married and residing in Litchfield county, Connecticut.
After his marriage Mr. Van Deusen rented a farm in Litchfield county, Connecticut, which he operated a few years, and then purchased the place on which he resided for several years. Selling that farm, he purchased the old homestead in Berkshire county, Massachusetts, which was only two miles from his Connecticut farm. After operating that farm for a number of years, he sold out and came west. While residing in Massachusetts he lost his wife in 1862. Some six years later, in 1868, he married Miss Fannie Cleveland, a native of Massachusetts. The following year he located in Will county, Illinois, where he rented a farm some four or five years. He then moved to Aurora and was employed in various enterprises for some years. Purchasing a lot soon after his arrival here, he built a neat and substantial residence at 224 Claim street, which is yet his home.
In early life Mr. Van Deusen was a Whig, but since the organization of the Republican party he has been identified with it, and has been an earnest advocate of its principles. While not a member of any church, Mr. and Mrs. Van Deusen attend the Congregational church. In the many years that have passed since coming to Kane county, they have made many warm friends, who esteem them for their worth as citizens, and who honor them for their upright character.
JAMES WRIGHT, a progressive farmer residing on section 35, Plato township, was born on the farm on which he now resides, March 5, 1859. He received limited schooling in the district school until his fourteenth year, attending three months each winter. His father died at that time, making it necessary for him to shift for himself. He worked for a farmer during his fourteenth year, and attended the winter term of school. Until his eighteenth year he worked by the month for various farmers and then leased eighty acres from his mother, for a period of ten years. The first year his mother kept house for him, after which he kept "bach" for five years, then sold his four-years' leasehold to a brother.
The next six years he worked on farms again, saving his money, and one by one bought up the shares of his brothers and sisters in the farm, until he now owns the entire tract, consisting of one hundred and eighty acres of as fine farming land as lies in the Fox River valley. He bought the final share in 1884.
The house first built by his father on his first purchase, in the '30s, was burned some years ago, and our subject now resides in the old house that stood on the hundred-acre-tract, purchased by his father many years after his settlement in Plato township. In the spring of 1898 he built a fine large barn, thirty-eighty by eighty feet, with a high basement stable for the sheltering of his herd of half a hundred milch cattle, and his teams of fine horses. A breeder of fine, horses, Mr. Wright owns "Ben,"a beautiful white horse, whose grandsire was the famous Percheron "Success," the first of his race to be brought to America. His dam was of Arabian blood, and "Ben" shows the finer qualities of each, and is so gentle a child can drive him. He has the beautiful outlines and finely arched neck of his Arabian sires. In 1899, Mr. Wright de-signs building a commodious residence to take the place of the one he now occupies, which, though old, is made comfortable and cosy on the inside by the hard of Mrs. Wright.
Like all thrifty farmers, Mr. Wright believes in building first the barn to shelter the stock and store the grain, which will build the house later. His farm is well cultivated and is used for dairy purposes; all the products of the fields are fed upon the place, making it annually more fertile than the previous year. When a youth of seventeen, Mr. Wright worked with a threshing machine, and when eighteen purchased a half interest in a machine, and since that time has been engaged each summer and fall more or less in the threshing business. He early began those habits of thrift which have made him independent in middle life, not owing a dollar and able to pay cash for all he buys. When he first began life for himself he had occasionally to contract debts, but which spurred him on until paid. Independence is the fruit of his labor.
William Wright, the father of our subject, was born in London, England, in 1813, and was the son of a small farmer who was not able to give his son an education. He had early to earn his own living, and when a mere child was employed at a few shillings per month, with board, to drive crows from the fields for the large farmers. While thus employed he was not given enough to eat; but he managed to earn enough to bring him to America, although his earnings were small, and it took a long time to secure the required amount. He reached New York in 1836, with only a shilling in his pocket. As soon as he could earn a small sum he came on to Kane county, and for three years worked at anything that came to his hands. He entered eighty acres on section 36, Plato township, later adding adjoining one hundred acres in section 35. At first he raised grain exclusively, but drifted into dairy farming and that became more profitable. He died in 1872, in his fifty-ninth year. In politics he was a Republican.
After living a bachelor's life for five or six years after coming to Kane county, Mr. Wright married Miss Sylvia Seward, a native of Binghamton, New York,, who came to Kane county with her parents when a miss of twelve or thirteen years. She was the daughter of Levi and Harriet (Spencer) Seward. By this union ten children were born, eight of whom are now living: John, living near Plato Centre; William, living in Kansas; Mark, who resides in Nebraska; Sarah, wife of Harry Elmore,of Rockford, Illinois; James, our subject; Huldah, who makes her home with our subject; Jesse; Levi, living at Bafford, Kansas; Katherine, who died at the age of twenty-two, and Frank who died in infancy. The mother of these children died at the age of sixty-seven years.
James Wright, our subject, married, in Geneva, Illinois, December 8,1885,Miss Harriet Tucker, born in Campton township, Kane county, and a daughter of Charles and Clara (Andrew) Tucker, now residents of Plato township. By this union five children have been born, four of whom are now living: Meerll Elmer, born October 14, 1886; Ida May, born May 8, 1887; Lester Leroy, born April 8, 1894; and Orris L., born July 4, 1897. One child died in infancy.
Fraternally Mr. Wright is a member of Wasco camp, No. 1701, M. W. A. In politics he is a thorough Republican.
JOHN KELLY is a prominent farmer residing on section 15, Hampshire township, where he is engaged with his brother, Timothy Kelly, Jr., in general and dairy farming. He was born on the farm where he now resides, October 14, 1865, and is the son of Timothy and Mary (Ryan) Kelly, both of whom were natives of Ireland.
Timothy Kelly, the father of our subject, was born in County Tipperary, Ireland, March 25, 1818, and came to America in 1840, taking passage on an old sailing vessel, and being shipwrecked. The voyage lasted sixteen weeks, when he landed at New York, where he lived one year, working at his trade of blacksmith. On coming to Illinois, he secured a position of blacksmith for the stage line running between Chicago and Galena, and was placed in charge of the shop at the stage station one mile west of the old village of Hampshire. He was the first blacksmith in the township. Besides the company's shoeing and repairing, he was allowed to do such other work as came to the shop. Having the only smithy in the neighborhood, he was seldom idle, and, by his thrifty habits, prospered. Soon he began buying land, his first purchase being about 1845, when he secured a portion of the tract which now comprises the homestead, to which he added until it now comprises two hundred and forty acres of as fine land as is to be found in the Prairie state. He built the house and barns, and began the tiling of the land to which his sons have added until they have more than one thousand rods of tiling. In addition to his farm, Mr. Kelly purchased one of one hundred and forty-five acres, which he gave to his son James, who occupies the same.
In 1848, in Du Page county, Illinois, Timothy Kelly married Mary Ryan, a daughter of Timothy and Ellen (Eagan) Ryan, who emigrated to the states in the early '40s. By this union ten children were born, as follows: Michael, a blacksmith residing in Hampshire; Ellen, wife of Michael Burns, an account of whom appears elsewhere in this work; James, living in the village of Hampshire; Julia, wife of Lawrence Somers, of Hampshire; Maggie, Mary and Bridget, who died quite young; John, our subject; Timothy, Jr., in partnership with our subject on the farm; and one who died in infancy.
After the building of the railroad and the discontinuing of the stage line, Mr. Kelly erected a forge on the farm, and continued his trade, until his farming interests were such as to demand his whole attention. After a long and useful life, Mr. Kelly died June 23, 1889. Religiously he was a Catholic, and in politics a Democrat.
John Kelly, our subject, was reared on the farm, and received his education in the schools of Hampshire village, which he attended until the age of sixteen years. He remained on the farm with his father until his death, since which time, in partnership with his brother Timothy, he has been engaged in its cultivation. They keep it under a high state of cultivation, and have upon the place about fifty head of cows, the product of which they ship to Chicago. In politics he is a Democrat, and, religiously, a member of the Catholic church at Hampshire. He married Maggie Manning, born in Boston, and a daughter of Phillip and Ellen (Hawes) Manning, both of whom were born in County Tipperary, Ireland, and both living in Rutland township, Kane county, in good health.
HIRAM T. HARDY, M. D., has been actively engaged in the practice of his profession at Kaneville, Illinois, for a quarter of a century. He is a native of New Hampshire, born at North Groton, Grafton county, March 12, 1838. The family are of English descent, and early settlers of New England. David Hardy, the grandfather, was a native of New Hampshire, as was also his son, Luther Hardy, the father of our subject. The latter grew to manhood in Grafton county, and there married Lucy Tenney, also a native of the Granite
state, and a daughter of Benjamin and Betsy (Taylor) Tenney, the latter being a daughter of Jacob Taylor, a soldier of the Revolutionary war. Luther Hardy was a substantial farmer of Grafton county, where he reared his family, and there spent his entire life, dying, however, while on a visit to Boston, Massachusetts, March 27, 1872. His wife passed away August 20, 1871.
The subject of this sketch spent his boyhood and youth upon the home farm, and in the common schools received his primary education, completing his literary course at the Thetford, Vermont, Academy. After leaving school, he was engaged in teaching for about two years, during which time he began the study of medicine, under the instruction of Dr. E. C. Worcester, and took his first course of lectures at Dartmouth College.
In the spring of 1862, he enlisted in the Seventh Squadron, Rhode Island Cavalry, for three-months' service. They were sent to the front, and did duty in Shenandoah Valley, Virginia, principally in scouting and picket duty. He was discharged at the expiration of his term of enlistment, returned home, and resumed the study of medicine. His services, however, were needed in the field, and, in the fall of 1863, he again enlisted, this time joining the Third Vermont Battery, and with this battery he was assigned to the Army of the Potomac, participating with it in many engagements, among which was the battle of the Wilderness, numerous engagements around Petersburg and Richmond, and in fact all along the line. Early in 1865 they broke camp, and started after Lee, and our subject was present at Appomattox Courthouse, when General Lee surrendered. After the surrender he was detailed to hospital duty, at Farmville, Virginia, and there remained until his discharge, June 15, 1865.
After receiving his discharge, Mr. Hardy returned home, and again took up the study of medicine. In the fall of 1865 he returned to Dartmouth College, and graduated from that noted institution of learning in the class of 1866, receiving his degree of M.D. Soon after graduating, he located at Strafford, Vermont, and began the practice of his profession, remaining thereabout five years, and building up a good practice.
While residing at Strafford, Dr. Hardy was united in marriage, March 12, 1868, with Miss Sophia E. Buzzell, a native of Vermont, born and reared at Strafford, and in its schools and at Flushing, Long Island, receiving her education. She is the daughter of John D. and Wealthy A. (Smith) Buzzell, both natives of Vermont. Dr. and Mrs. Hardy have two children living, Ralph H. and Adra Genevieve. The for-mer is married, and is engaged in business in Kaneville. The latter is a student of the Kaneville school, and has developed fine musical talent. One daughter, Mabel Le Rue, died in 1877, at the age of four and a half years.
In the spring of 1871, Dr. Hardy came to Illinois and located at Elgin, where the parents of Mrs. Hardy had previously settled. During the summer following, Dr. Hardy engaged in the practice of his profession at Elgin, but in the fall of that year moved to Dorchester, Saline county, Nebraska, but only remained there during the winter, returning to Elgin in the spring of 1872, and there engaging in practice about eighteen months, and, in the fall of 1873, removing to and making a permanent location at Kaneville. Here he has since been actively engaged in the practice of his profession, a period of twenty-five years. His practice is a large one, extending for many miles around. His success as a physician has been such as to commend him to the entire community. He is a member of the Fox River Valley Medical Association, the Chicago Medical Association, the Illinois State Medical Association and the American Medical Association, in each of which he has been somewhat active, preparing various papers, and taking part in the discussions. He keeps fully abreast of the times and well posted in all the medical discoveries, and while, naturally conservative, does not hesitate to adopt that which accords with his judgment.
The father of Mrs. Hardy, John D. Buzzell, came west with his family in 1870, locating in Elgin, Illinois, where he lived a retired life, and there spent his last years, dying in 1874. After his death, Mrs. Buzzell moved to Kaneville, making her home with her daughter, Mrs. Hardy, where her death occurred in 1881. They were both highly honored and respected people.
Politically Dr. Hardy is a stanch Republican, and in 1860, cast his first presidential ballot for Abraham Lincoln. From that time to the present, he has advocated the men and measures of that party, and has cast his vote for each of its presidential candidates. A friend of education and the public schools, he has served several years as a member of the school board of Kaneville, and is at present one of the board. Religiously the Doctor and wife are members of the Congregational church at Elgin, and attend the Methodist Episcopal church at Kaneville, and for eleven years the Doctor served as superintendent of its Sunday-school, and was also leader of the choir, while Mrs. Hardy was organist for some years. Their son, Ralph H., is now leader of the choir of the Methodist Episcopal church. Fraternally the Doctor is a Master Mason, and is a member of the Modern Woodmen of America, and the examining physician for the camp at Kaneville. He is also a member of the Aurora post, Grand Army of the Republic. Few men are better known in Kane county, and none more highly honored than the subject of this sketch.
DANIEL J. FELLOWS, one of the enterprising and progressive business men of St. Charles, dates his residence in Kane county from November, 1839, and is there justly numbered among its pioneers as well as its representative and prominent citizens. The Fellows family is of English origin and was founded in the United States at a very early day, its representatives locating in New York, of which state our subject's grandfather was a native.
His father, Stephen Fellows, was also born in New York, and when a child of five years lost his father. In Genesee county, that state, he grew to manhood and married Sabra Stephens, who was born in New York, of German lineage. In 1835 they removed to Cuyahoga county, Ohio, where our subject was born March 16, 1836, but after a residence there of one year they returned to New York. In November, 1839, however, they came to Kane county, Illinois, where the father purchased a claim of three hundred acres. He later entered the land and converted it into a fine farm, continuing to make it his home until called to his final rest in 1875, at the age of eighty-one years. He was one of the charter members of the Baptist church of St. Charles, which he helped to organize, and always took an active and prominent part in all church work. His wife survived him for five years, and they now lie side by side in the Garfield cemetery near the old homestead.
To this worthy couple were born five sons and seven daughters, of whom three sons and six daughters are still living. Lucinda was the wife of Joseph Allard, a resident of Iowa. Hiram has been a resident of Oregon since 1847, having driven across the plains with two yoke of oxen and being six months en route. Darius died in Utah. Mary, deceased, was the wife of Martin Johnson, of Janesville, Wisconsin. Laura is the widow of A. L. Wheeler and is a resident of St. Charles. Alexander is deceased. Daniel J. is next in order of birth. Stephen A. lives in Ogle county, Illinois. Caroline is the wife of John M. Kendall, of Vandalia, Illinois. Lydia is the wife of James Earnshaw, of Olwein, Iowa. Sarah is the wife of H. M. Wing, of Olwein, Iowa. Jerome Lawrence also makes his home in the same town in Iowa.
Daniel J. Fellows was only a child of three years when brought by his parents to this state, and upon the old homestead in Kane county he grew to manhood, attending the local schools and aiding in the work of clearing and developing the home farm.
After reaching man's estate he rented a farm and began life for himself. In this county he was married in March, 1858, to Miss Serepta Madison, a native of New York State, and a daughter of Dyer Madison, another pioneer of Kane county, who brought his family here when Mrs. Fellows was a child of twelve years.
After his marriage, Mr. Fellows continued to engage in agricultural pursuits until 1865, when he rented his farm, and since November of that year has lived at his present home in St. Charles. For about five years he engaged in pressing hay and handling stock and grain, and later, in connection with the stock business, he was interested in general merchandising for about three years. On the 3d of June, 1874, he started for California with three car loads of sheep, which he disposed of in San Francisco, the venture proving quite profitable, and the money derived therefrom he invested in half a block on Forty-eighth street, Chicago. After four months spent upon the Pacific slope he returned to St. Charles, and again engaged in the stock and grain business until 1887. That year he and his family went to California by way of the Southern Pacific railroad, and from the southern part of that state proceeded to San Francisco, and, later, to Oregon, visiting his brother, who had left his old home in Kane county just forty years before. This pleasant trip occupied five months. Since his return, Mr. Fellows has given his attention principally to the real-estate business, handling Chicago and farm property:
Our subject's first wife died November it, 1870, leaving three children. Sabra Ellen married Fred Moore and removed to Kansas, where she died, leaving three children. Elmer, who is now interested in the stock and grain business in St. Charles, is married and has six children. Harry, also of St. Charles, is married and has three children. In Marengo, Illinois, December 25, 1872, Mr. Fellows married Helen M. Beam, a native of Kane county, and a daughter of James Beam, an early settler and pioneer teacher of this region. This wife died March 5, 1889. Two children blessed this union: Willis Daniel, a resident of St. Charles; and Bessie L., a graduate of the East Side High School, now living at home. On the 25th of September, 1889, in St. Charles, Mr. Fellows was united in marriage with Eliza H. Dailey, who was born, reared and educated in Nova Scotia, and is a daughter of James S. Dailey, also a native of Nova Scotia. By the last marriage there are three children, namely: Howard M., Stephen L. and Laura Elva.
Mr. Fellows cast his first presidential ballot for Abraham Lincoln in 1860, and was an ardent supporter of the Republican party for many years, but for the past eight years he has been identified with the Prohibition party. He has never cared for political honors, preferring to give his entire time and attention to his business interests. Earnest and consistent Christian people, he and his wife are faithful members of the Baptist church, with which he has long been officially connected, and is now serving as deacon. Almost his entire life has been passed in Kane county, and that those who know him best are numbered among his warmest friends testifies to a well-spent life and honorable career.
JACOB D. RICKERT, the well-known engineer at the Elgin Watch Factory, of Elgin, Illinois, and one of the honored early settlers of that place, is a native of Pennsylvania, born May 25, 1838, in Schuylkill county, of which his parents, Joseph and Elizabeth (Diebert) Rickert, were also natives. Both were of German descent and were representatives of old Pennsylvania families. Joseph Rickert, who was a farm-er by occupation, brought his family to Illinois about 1848, and first located in Geneva, Kane county, where he worked at his chosen calling for about six years. He then removed to Elmhurst, Du Page county, twelve years later went to Bloomingdale, Illinois, and, after fifteen years spent at that place, removed to Wheaton, where he lived for three years, at the end of which time he located in Naperville, all in Du Page county. At the last named place he died in 1878, and his wife passed away at the home of her son, Daniel, in Aurora, in 1889. They were earnest members of the German Evangelical church, and in politics the father was first a Whig and later a Republican. In the family of this worthy couple were seven children, four of whom are still living, namely: Esther, the wife of Samuel Kline; Sarah, wife of Walter L. Good; Daniel, a resident of Aurora; and Jacob D., of this sketch.
Until attaining his majority our subject remained with his parents, and in the schools of Geneva, Illinois, he began his education, the family having removed to that place when he was about eight years of age. The district schools afforded him the only opportunity he had for obtaining an education. Mr. Rickert manifested his patriotism by enlisting at St. Charles, Kane county, September 16, 1861, in Company D, Eighth Illinois Cavalry, and was in all the engagements of his regiment until after the battle of Williamsburg, Virginia, in 1863. While on a foraging expedition in charge of Quartermaster Chamberlain, he and his comrades met a regiment of Confederate soldiers, who made them prisoners. For about a month he was confined in Libby prison and was then paroled under the condition that they would fight no more. They were ordered to Washington, District of Columbia, where there was a large number of paroled prisoners, more than could be provided for, and Mr. Rickert was among those discharged by order of the Secretary of War.
Since his return from the war, Mr. Rickert has been employed as a stationary engineer, and in that capacity Has been with the Elgin Watch Factory since January 8, 1867, almost a third of a century. His long continuance in their service plainly indicates the confidence and trust the company repose in him.
On the 6th of January, 1864, Mr. Rickert was united in marriage with Miss Harriet A. Smith, a native of Bloomingdale, Du Page county, Illinois, and a daughter of Alvin and Mrs. (Walker) Smith, who weie among the early settlers of that place, where the mother died. The father, who was a native of Vermont and a farmer by occupation, departed this life while living in Elgin. Mr. and Mrs. Rickert have four children: Charles A., an employe in the Elgin Watch Factory, wedded Mary Johnson, of Carpentersville, and has one child, Gale; Judson D. married Frances Barber and is employed in the finishing department of the watch factory; Lillian, who is also connected with the factory, resides at home; and Nellie E. expects to graduate from the Michigan University at Ann Arbor in the spring of 1898. The family have a very pleasant home at No. 274 Grove avenue, which was erected by Mr. Rickert, and which is the abode of hospitality and good cheer.
Politically, he is an ardent Republican, and, socially, he is an active and prominent member of the Grand Army Post, No. 49, of Elgin, and he also belongs to the Ancient Order of United Workmen and the Loyal Legion. He is a man of domestic tastes and industrious habits, and commands the confidence and respect of all with whom he comes in contact, either in business or social life. Mrs. Rickert is an earnest member of the Congregational church and a most estimable lady.
JOHN H. SCOTT, who is now living a retired life in Aurora, has been a resident of Kane county since 1838. He is a native of Oneida county, New York, born October 26, 1834. His father, John Scott, was a native of County Derry, Ireland, born about 1804, came with his parents to the New World, when a lad of eleven years. They settled in Oneida county, New York, where he grew to manhood, married Mary Atkinson, a native of Leeds, England, and who came to America with her father, Francis Atkinson, when a child of nine years. John Scott was a wagon maker by trade, and followed that occupation in connection with carpentering in early life. In 1837, he moved to Chicago, then a town of about three thousand people, and for a year was an overseer on the Illinois & Michigan canal. In 1838 he came to Kane county, and spent the winter of 1838-9 in the village of St. Charles. In the spring of 1839, he took up a claim of some four hundred acres in Virgil township The Indian tent-poles were still on the place, and also the tent-poles of the soldiers under General Scott, who removed the Indians from this vicinity.
After locating upon the farm, John Scott commenced its improvement, and at the same time did a great deal of carpenter work in Kane and adjoining counties, up to within a short distance of Chicago. He built three good houses on his claim, and, in 1856, engaged in merchandising at Blackberry Station, now Elburn. He remained there for two years, then returned to his farm, but later sold it and removed to Sycamore, De Kalb county, built a residence, and there engaged in business for a time, then returned to farm life, and still later located in Elburn, where he remained about a year. He then went to St. Charles, where he died at the residence of his son, William, in 1880. His wife passed away about two years later. He was quite a prominent man in the early days of Kane county, and was one of the last county commissioners prior to the adoption of the township organization law. For several years he served as justice of the peace, and was one of the most active and enterprising citizens of this county.
John H. Scott, our subject, came to the state a lad of three years, and was but four years old when he came to Kane county. In the primitive schools of the early days, he obtained his primary education, and later attended the St. Charles High School and the Elgin Academy. He remained upon the home farm until after attaining his majority, and with his father was engaged in the mercantile trade at Blackberry Station. In 1858 he purchased his father's interest in the store, which he continued for one year, then exchanged it for a farm in Kaneville township.
On the 22nd of November, 1858, in Ogle county, Illinois, he married Miss Martha J. Ostrander, a native of Erie county, Pennsylvania, where she was reared and educated, and, for a time previous to her marriage, engaged in teaching in the public schools. By this union two children were born, who grew to maturity, the eldest, Lillian Lizzie, being now the wife of F. G. Hanchett, a prominent attorney of Aurora.
The other, R. B. Scott, is also a lawyer of prominence in Aurora. He married Alice M. Downing, a daughter of W. H. Downing, of Aurora.
Mr. and Mrs. Scott began their domestic life in the town of Blackberry, but, in 1859 moved to the farm in Kaneville township, which was a tract of one hundred and forty acres of improved land. He at once be-gan the cultivation of the farm, and engaged in general farming and stockraising for about seven years, when he sold the farm and January 1, 1867, moved to Kaneville, and for a time was clerk in the employ of B. A. Coy, and later with B. A. Coy & J. W. Prichard. After being in the firm for a time, he purchased the interest of the firm, and continued the business until 1888, and meeting with gratifying success. During this time he invested His surplus means in two farms, one near Kaneville, consisting of one hundred and sixty-one acres, well-improved, and a place of four hundred acres in Blackberry township, which was also well improved.
In his political views, Mr. Scott is a Republican, his first presidential ballot being cast for John C. Fremont, in 1856. He has cast his presidential ballot for the nominee of that party at every election from that time to the present, save in 1896, when he was prevented from voting by an accident, which confined him to the house. By his fellow citizens he has been honored with various local offices, including that of township treasurer, in which he served several years, justice of the peace for eight years, and also assessor for several years. A friend of education, he served for years as a member of the school board, and for some sixteen years was postmaster at Kaneville. In many of the conventions of his party, county, congressional and state, he served as a delegate. Faithful in all things, he discharged every duty in a satisfactory manner.
Mr. Scott lost his wife July 5, 1896, and she was laid to rest in Spring Lake cemetery. She was for many years a consistent member of the Methodist church, and died in the faith. For more than forty years, Mr. Scott has also been a member of the Methodist Episcopal church, in which he has taken an active part, and where his influence for good has been felt by many persons. In 1896 he moved to Aurora, where he has since lived a retired life, enjoying the fruits of the years gone by, honored and respected by all. In the sixty-four years of his residence in Kane county, he has made many friends throughout its length and breadth, and has been no inconsiderable factor in its development.
JOHN TYERS, of Aurora, Illinois, has been a resident of the city since 1854, during which time he has been actively engaged either in contracting and building, or as one of the trusted employees of the Chi-cago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad Company. He was born in Peakirk, Northamptonshire, England, December 4, 1831, and is the son of Matthew and Mary (Lewin) Tyers, both of whom were natives of the same shire, the father being engaged for many years in the mercantile business at Peakirk. The maternal grandfather, James Lewin, also a native of Northamptonshire, was a man of superior education, and a professional teacher, and for thirty years was employed in one school.
John Tyers is one of a family of four sons and one daughter, all of whom grew to mature years, save one son. Edward was a well-educated man, a teacher in England, where his death occurred. James grew to manhood in England, came to the United States and settled at Oswego, Illinois, and there married. He was a miller by trade, and for a number of years was engaged in the milling business at Oswego, later removed west to Sioux Rapids, Iowa, where he purchased a mill and there carried on business for a few years, then returned to Oswego, Illinois, but is now traveling with his wife in the south. Alice, widow of Mark Vickers, now resides in the city of London. John is the subject of this sketch. William, a miller by trade, is now living retired at West Brighton, near Rochester, New York. In his native country, John Tyers grew to manhood and received good common-school advantages. In early life he learned the carpenter's and joiner's trade, serving an apprenticeship of three years. In company with his brother William he emigrated to America in 1852, and joined his older brother at Vienna, now called Phelps, New York, and went to work at his trade. He there remained two years, about half of which time he was a partner in a sash and blind factory. In 1854 he came to Aurora, where he worked for a time at his trade as a journeyman, and then commenced contracting and building. Latter he went into the shops of the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad Company, and was employed in the construction of buildings and depots. After the Chicago fire, he was sent to that city by the company, and there worked for a time. Previous to his entering the employ of the company, he assisted in the erection of a school-house at Piano, and the Methodist Episcopal church at Sandwich.
Mr. Tyers was united in marriage at Aurora, December 25, 1858, with Miss Sophia Corlett, a native of New York, born near Utica, and a daughter of Thomas Corlett. There are two children by this union, the oldest, Mary E., now being the wife of Lester Barker, a prominent business man of Sandwich. The youngest, William J., is married and is the present city attorney of Aurora. Since leaving the railroad company, Mr. Tyers has worked at his trade, and in contracting and building. Many of the public and private buildings of Aurora show the architectural skill and handiwork of our subject. Since locating in Aurora, as a permanent investment, Mr. Tyers has taken stock in the Burlington road. Politically he is a Republican, his first presidential ballot being cast for Abrahan Lincoln and his last for William McKinley. He is a member of the Baptist church, of which body his wife is also a member, and both are active in church and benevolent work. Fraternally, he is a Master Mason. Mrs. Tyers is a member of the Woman's Relief Corps of Aurora. In the forty-four years of his residence here, Mr. Tyers has witnessed many changes, and in the great transformation that has taken place he has been an active factor. No man in Aurora stands higher in the estimation of the people.
BACK TO BIOGRAPHY INDEX
Return to the Main Index Page for Kane County