BIOGRAPHIES published in
the "Biographical Record of Kane County, Illinois"
Originally printed by the S.J. Clarke Publishing Company, Chicago, 1898
All biographies submitted by K. Torp
Timothy N. Holden
HON. TIMOTHY N. HOLDEN, mayor of Aurora, and a representative of one of its pioneer families, was born in North Charlestown, New Hampshire, March 21, 1839, and is the son of Richard and Sophia (Allen) Holden. Richard Holden was the son of Timothy Holden, a native of New Hampshire, of English ancestry, who was by occupation a farmer, and served in the Revolutionary war.
Richard Holden was born in Charlestown, New Hampshire, in 1809, and, after arriving at mature years, engaged in the mercantile business in that city. He came west in 1853 with his family and located in Rockton, Winnebago county, Illinois, and there remained until the spring of 1858, when he came to Aurora, where he spent the remainder of his life, dying in his eighty-fifth year. He was originally an Old-line Whig, and, later, a Republican. Sophia, his wife, was the daughter of Nathan and Deborah (Farwell) Allen, all of whom were natives of New Hampshire. She died in Chicago in her eighty-fourth year. They were the parents of four children - James L., living in Chicago; John G., who died in 1895; Timothy N., our subject; and Mary E., living in Aurora.
Mr. Holden began his education in the public schools of Charlestown, New Hampshire, and was fourteen years of age when the family left for the west. He finished his education in the schools of. Rockton. When nineteen years of age he went to Chicago and entered the employ of Fuller & Fuller, who are in the drug trade, with whom he remained eleven years. He then engaged in business for himself, in the wholesale glassware trade, on South Water street, Chicago, and was in that business at the time of the great fire in 1871, when he was burned out with the rest. Losing everything, he came to Aurora, and soon after found employment with the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad Company, and was with them seven years. He then went 'into the hardware business, as the junior member of the firm of Kendall & Holden, and that partnership continued for fifteen years, when he sold out to his partner. In 1895 he took up the real-estate, insurance and loan business, his offices being in the Coulter building.
Mr. Holden was united in marriage, September 17, 1868, to Marian Howell, daughter of Dr. O. D. and Cornelia (Moore) Howell. She was born in Moresville, Delaware county, New York, where her mother was also born, while her father was a native of the same county. They settled in Aurora in 1855, where he continued his practice. Both he and his wife are deceased. They had six children, two of whom are now living - Marian, and Annie the latter being the wife of Judge F. M. Annis, of Aurora. To Mr. and Mrs. Holden, two sons have been born - Frank H., and Ben E., who are now in Paris, where they have been for three years, engaged in study. They completed their preliminary education at Aurora, then graduated at the Chicago Manual Training School, then attended the Institute of Technology in Boston, three years, and are now at the Beauxarts, in Paris, and will finish the course in the fall of 1898. In that school are many young Americans, and all of prominent American families. This will be a splendid schooling for these young men, and when they return they will be richly and well endowed for life's journey.
Mr. and Mrs. Holden are members of the People's church, in Aurora, and in politics he is a Republican, casting his first presidential vote for Abraham Lincoln. He has held various positions of honor and trust, and for eighteen years was a member of the board of education. For fifteen years, he was a member of the board of supervisors of Kane county and was chairman of the board for eight consecutive years. In the spring of 1897, he was elected mayor of Aurora, and has made a popular and efficient officer, ever looking towards the best interests of Aurora. He has always taken an active part in the politics of the county, and has been a prominent factor in its growth and development. Socially he is a charter member of the City Club, and has been its president. He is a man of pleasing address, of social characteristics and highly esteemed.
A. H. LOWRIE is one of the most influential citizens of Elgin, a conspicuous figure in the business and public life of the city, exerting a strong influence in support of all progressive measures for the public good. A man of splendid intellectual endowment, broad minded and viewing with comprehensive glance the needs of the community, he advocates all that tends to the general welfare, and is accounted one of the valued residents of Elgin.
Born in Berwickshire, Scotland, October 29, 1836, our subject is a son of David and Margaret (Selby) Lowrie, also natives of Scotland. The grandfather, David Lowrie, was an only child. For some years he was connected with the military service of his country, and after the battle of Copenhagen, in which he participated, he was retired on half pay. He taught sword exercises after leaving the army and was a respected member of the community in which he made his home. The maternal grandfather of our subject was a farmer and died in Scotland in middle life. In 1842, David Lowrie, Jr., emigrated to America with his family, locating in Cleveland, Ohio, where he died in March, 1843, at the age of sixty-one years. His wife passed away in 1863 when more than sixty years of age. Both were members of the Methodist church, and he was a Free Soiler and strong anti-slavery man. Their family numbered ten children, seven sons and three daughters, of whom seven are now living.
Mr. Lowrie, whose name begins this review, was a child of six years when he came with his parents to America. He went all through the Cleveland schools and after his graduation in the high school of that city became a student in Adrian College, Michigan. Later he matriculated in the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor, but returned in the senior year to the Adrian college, and was graduated on the completion of the classical course. He received the degree of Ph. D. in the University of Florida, and afterward lectured in Florida and other states on literary and economic topics, being one of the popular orators of the south. On his graduation in the Michigan college with the degrees of A. B. and A. M., he was offered and accepted a tutorship in that institution, but after a short time he left it to take charge of a school in Cleve-land, where he remained two years.
Resigning from that position Mr. Lowrie accepted the superintendency of the schools of Bellefontaine, Ohio, and after three years spent in charge of the educational interests of that city accepted a similar position in Marion, but resigned in order to become professor of English literature and political science in Adrian College. For fifteen years he was a member of the faculty of that institution and was regarded as one of the most able, efficient and earnest educators in the state. For three years he was senior proprietor of "The Times and Expositor," of Adrian, then the most influential paper in southern Michigan. In 1882 he came to Elgin and purchased the "Advocate," a weekly journal, and the following year, by purchase, became proprietor of the "Daily News."In 1886 he associated with him W. L. Black in the publication of these journals, which they have since maintained in a foremost place among the newspapers of the state. The papers are published in the interest of the Republican party, and are excellent specimens of the highest art in journalism. Mr. Lowrie was one of the founders of the Inland Daily Press Association and from the beginning has been one of its officers and active members. He has always avoided public office, but under President Harrison served as consul to Freiburg, Germany, and was an able representative of the American interests there.
Mr. Lowrie was married September 11, 1859, to Miss Mattie B., daughter of Henry and Oraline (Waldo) Pease. Mrs. Pease was a direct descendant of Peter Waldo, who came to this country in the Mayflower, and her grandfather served in the Revolutionary war under Ethan Allen. Mr. and Mrs. Lowrie have three living children. Harry R., the eldest, now on the editorial staff of the "Chicago Times-Herald," is a graduate of Adrian College, and pursued a post-graduate course in the Yale University. Will L. was graduated at Adrian College, and afterward attended the university at Leipsic, Germany. He is now the real-estate editor on the "Chicago Tribune." Alfred Richard, now a student in Yale University, spent one year in Germany, studying the language, which he speaks very fluently. In addition to excellent school privileges, the sons have all had the advantages which only travel can bring. The two elder sons have twice visited Europe, and during his year's stay abroad the youngest son made a cycle trip from Freiburg, Germany, to Geneva, Switzerland, and all along the banks of the classic Rhine. Mr. and Mrs. Lowrie hold membership in the Congregational church, and their home is the center of a cultured society circle.
ROBERT ALFRED WINDETT, physician and surgeon, No. 23 South River street, Aurora, Illinois, was born in Kendall county, Illinois, October 5, 1860, and is the son of Alfred and Electa A. (Ford) Windett, the former a native of England, and the latter of New York. John Windett, the paternal grandfather, also a native of England, was for some years a soldier in the English army. He had a family of six children, of whom Arthur, an attorney in Chicago, and Walter, a farmer in Kansas, are still living. He came to America with his family in 1836 and located in Kendall county, Illinois, where he engaged in farming. His death occurred there, at the age of fifty-four years, the result of an accident caused by a horse stepping on his foot. His wife, Elizabeth Windett, survived him some years, dying in 1885, at the age of eighty-four years, her death hastened by a fall in which her hips were broken.
Alfred Windett, the father, was a lad of eleven years when he came with his parents to Kendall county, Illinois. At that time there were many Indians in this vicinity, and he became acquainted with Blackhawk and other noted, red men. His marriage with Electa A. Ford took place in Kendall county, where she came with her parents about 1857. She was one of a family of seven children, of whom four are yet living: Frank; Edgar; Amy, widow of William Cox; and Electa A., the mother of our subject.
The deceased are: Martin, an engineer on the Union Pacific railway, running one of the first engines out of Fort Laramie, was shot, and carried an arrow-head in his body for eighteen years, finally dying from the effects of the wound; Washington, a physician and surgeon, and professor of genitourinary diseases in the Kansas City Medical College, died in 1886; another died in childhood from diphtheria. The mother of these children is yet living in Missouri, and has passed her four-score years. Alfred and Electa A. Windett were the parents of three children, of whom our subject is the oldest. The others are John F., a farmer of Kendall county, Illinois, and James, a farmer of Kane county. The father died in 1889, at the age of sixty-four years. He was for many years a member of the Methodist Episcopal church, and an officer in the same. The mother is yet living in Kendall county, Illinois, at the age of sixty-seven years.
The subject of this sketch grew to manhood in his native county and received his literary education in the Sugar Grove Industrial School, and in Jennings Seminary, Aurora. After pursuing the prescribed course at Rush Medical College, he was graduated from it in the class of 1887, and at once commenced the practice of his profession in Aurora, where he has since continued to reside. In the eleven years in which he has been professionally engaged, he has built up a large and successful practice, and is recognized as one of the leading physicians and surgeons of Kane county. He has been connected with the Aurora City Hospital since locating here, and is now vice-president of the board of trustees. He is a member of the Aurora Medical Society, the Fox River Valley Medical Society and of the State Medical Association. In
the first named he holds the office of president.
On the 12th of February, 1885, Dr. Windett was united in marriage with Miss Evelyn S. West, daughter of Elijah West, of Chicago. They reside in a pleasant home at No. 96 Oak avenue, where they delight to entertain their many friends. Fraternally Dr. Windett is a member of the Masonic order, blue lodge and chapter, the Sons of St. George, Knights of the Globe, and Modern Woodmen of America, in which latter order he is examining physician for the local camp. In all national and state elections he affiliates with the Republican party, but in local elections he votes for men rather than party.
JOHN D. RANDALL, now living a retired life in Aurora, has been a resident of Kane county, since June, 1843. He traces his ancestry back to John Randall, who came from England in 1630, locating in Connecticut, where some of the family have always remained. The great-great grandfather of our subject was also named John Randall. His son, Col. William Randall, was in command of a regiment, during the war of 1812, and at Stonington, defended the town and beat off the British. His son, Jedediah Randall, was born in Stonington, New London county, Connecticut, and was the father of our subject. Jedediah Randall married Philura Peckham, of North Stonington, and a daughter of 'Squire Thomas Peckham of that place. After their marriage they remained for some years in Connecticut, and in 1843, came to Kane county, Illinois, where he purchased a partially improved farm, of one hundred and twenty acres, in
Sugar Grove township. After further improving the place, some eight years later he sold and moved to Aurora, but died on a farm near that city in 1860, at the age of sixty years.
Jedediah and Philura Randall were the parents of seven children, who grew to manhood and womanhood - John, our subject; Russell, now in the real-estate business in Georgia; James, for some years an active business man at Batavia and Aurora, was killed by an accident in his stone quarry; Mary A., married Peleg Winslow, and they located in Hinckley, where she died; Dudley was a printer by trade, and died in St. Louis; Cyrus was a soldier in the war for the union, and died in Andersonville prison; and Roswell, who died at the age of eight years.
John D. Randall was born in the town of Stonington, New London county, Connecticut, August 9,' 1823, and his boyhood and youth were spent in his native state, where he was reared to farm life, and in its common schools procured a fair education. He was twenty years old when the family came to Kane county, and for several years remained with his father assisting him in farm work. In 1851, he purchased two tracts of government land, lying near Waterman, Illinois, each containing one hundred and sixty acres. He located upon one quarter, and commenced its improvement, and there resided for three years. Renting that farm, he built a residence and moved to the other tract. In 1855 he sold out and returned to Kane county, buying residence property in Aurora. In the fall of the same year he sold his residence property and purchased a farm of three hundred and twenty acres, lying near the city, to which he removed and there engaged in farming for some years. He later sold one-half of the farm and yet retains one hundred and sixty acres, just outside the city limits, and which is a well improved and valuable farm.
In 1851 Mr. Randall was married, in Kane county, to Maria L. Barnes, a native of New York, born in the town of Alexander, Jefferson county, where she remained until the age of fifteen years, when she came with her father, Ira Barnes, to Kane county. This was in 1845, her father being numbered among the early settlers of Sugar Grove township. By this union were three children. Frank grew to mature years. He was a natural mechanic, and invented acorn harvester, which he later sold to William Deering, of Chicago. He died in 1882, leaving a wife and three children. Martha grew to womanhood and married Oscar E. Marlette, a farmer of Kane county. Lew Wallace is married and carries on the home farm.
In 1888 Mr. Randall purchased a lot at No. 18 North Chestnut street, where he built a neat residence, and where he has since continued to reside. He has always been an active and enterprising man, and in 1884 was elected highway commissioner of Aurora township, and served three years, during which time the roads through the township were graveled, and the New York street and North avenue bridges were built, important and much needed improvements. While residing in Waterman, he was elected and served two years as assessor, and was also justice of the peace for two years, resigning the latter office when he returned to Kane county. He was also township trustee a number of years, and assisted in the organization of the school districts of his township. Being a firm believer in prohibition, for some years he has been identified with the Prohibition party, but formerly was a Republican. When he came to Kane county, there was not a railroad anywhere in the vicinity, and the country was but little better than a wilderness. He has lived to see it thickly populated, having within its borders many, thriving towns, while its farms are the most productive in the country.
WILLARD CARYL TORREY, who is superintendent of two departments in the Elgin Watch Factory, is a native of Rockland, Maine, born February 25, 1855. He is a son of Joseph Grafton and Nancy (Caryl) Torrey, the former a native of Hanson, Massachusetts, and the latter of Stockbridge, Vermont. The father was a son of Joseph Torrey, a native of Massachusetts, who died in middle life. He was a minister in the Baptist church. His children were Joseph G., George L., Francis B. and Almira L. Of these, George L. is living in Kennebunkport, Maine; Francis B., in Bath, Maine; and Almira L., the widow of Zopher Sturtevant, in Lowell, Massachusetts.
Joseph G. Torrey was reared in his native state, and in early manhood went to learn the founder's trade, which he followed through life. His death occurred at Rockland, Maine, February 28, 1894. He was a life-long member of the Congregational church, and for many years served as a deacon. In politics he was a Republican. His, wife is yet living in Rockland, Maine, and is a worthy member of the Congregational church at that place. They were the parents of six children: Helen Maria, deceased; George Everett; Mary Frances died in infancy; Willard C.; Olive Bird died in childhood; and Arthur Lawrence. Of these, George is living in Rockland, Maine, and our subject and Arthur L. in Elgin.
The ancestry of Willard Caryl Torrey can be traced back for many generations. He is a grandson of John Caryl and Lucy (Clark) Caryl, the great-grandson of William and Sarah (Barron) Clark, and the great-great-grandson of Captain Peter and Hannah (Eppes) Clark. Captain Peter Clark removed from Braintree, Massachusetts, to Lyndeboro, New Hampshire, in 1775. Soon after arriving there he joined the Continental army, and was commissioned captain in the Ninth Regiment, New Hampshire Militia. He was engaged in the battle of Bennington, commanding a company of sixty men, and in that battle displayed great bravery, being the second to scale the British breastworks. He also took part in the defeat of General Burgoyne, at Saratoga, in 1777.
On the Caryl line our subject is the great-grandson of Dr. John and Eunice (Willard) Caryl, the Doctor being a surgeon in the Revolutionary army. Being the grandson of Joseph and Elmira (Little) Torrey, he is the great-grandson of George Little, the great-great-grandson of Lemuel and Penelope (Eames) Little, the great-great-great-grandson of John and Constant (Fobes) Little, the great-great-great-great-grandson of Lieutenant William Fobes, who was a brother-in-law of Captain Benjamin Church and second to him in command during King Philip's war.
On the Little line Mr. Torrey traces his ancestry to Thomas Little, who came from Devonshire, England, in 1630. He was a lawyer by profession. He married Ann Warren in 1633. Their third son was Ephraim Little, who married Mary Sturdevant.
He died in 1717. His son, John Little, married Constant Fobes, above mentioned, through whom the line continued as already given. Captain George Little, the grandson of John Little, was made an admiral in 1799. He had served in the Revolutionary war.
Another line through which our subject traces his ancestry is that of Richard Warren, who came over in the Mayflower. He was the father of Ann Warren, who married Thomas Little, and Mr. Torrey is therefore his great - great - great - great - great - great-grandson. It will thus be seen that the genealogical record of our subject is a good one, of which he may well be proud. Patriots every one as far as known, they are well represented in the history of our country.
The early life of Willard Caryl Torrey was spent in Rockland, Maine, where he attended the public schools. Later he entered the polytechnic institute at Worcester, Massachusetts, where he was graduated in 1877. He then spent two years at Bath, Maine, as superintendent of the Torrey Roller Bushing works, owned by his uncle, Francis B. Torrey. At the end of that time he started west, stopping at Kalamazoo, Michigan, where he remained six months. He then came to Elgin and entered the machine shop of the Elgin Watch factory, where he was employed some fifteen months. Returning east, he located at Fredonia, New York, and took charge of the tool works of the watch factory there. He only remained at Fredonia, however,, six months, and in 1882 again came to Elgin, and entered the watch factory there as foreman of the stem-winding department. Later that department was consolidated with the screw department, and Mr. Torrey was given charge of both. He now has the supervision of about two hundred hands.
Mr. Torrey was united in marriage at Fredonia, September 2, 1884, with Miss Ruth S. Wilson, daughter of Henry and Almeda (Steele) Wilson, natives of New York. Henry Wilson was a son of Lyman Wilson. His wife was the daughter of Oliver Wolcott Steele, also a native of New York. She is still living in Fredonia, that state, where her husband died September 8, 1876. They were the parents of three children: Addie E., wife of Frank C. Wilson, of Elgin; Elizabeth C., who resides in Fredonia, New York; and Ruth S., our subject's wife. The mother, who is a daughter of Sally Potter, is a member of the Presbyterian church. The Steeles are related to Governor Oliver Wolcott, of Massachusetts.
To Mr. and Mrs. Torrey two children have been born: Marion Goulding and George Arthur.
Mr. and Mrs. Torrey reside in a pleasant home on Watch street, which is ever open for the reception of their many friends. Politically Mr. Torrey is a Republican. Religiously Mrs. Torrey is a member of the Congregational church. Both are highly respected by all who know them.
PIERCE TYRRELL, M. D.
Among those who devote their time and energies to the practice of medicine and have gained a leading place in the ranks of the profession is the gentleman whose name introduces this sketch. He is now one of the most expert physicians and diagnosticians of Elgin, and his office is located at No. 209 Chicago street.
The Doctor was born in Bullyduggan parish of Mullinahone, county Tipperary, Ireland, in August, 1832, a son of William and Bridget (Frisby) Tyrrell, also natives of the Emerald Isle. Of their eight children, six sons and two daughters, only two are now living - Pierce, and David, who is a resident of Rutland, Illinois. The paternal grandparents, Patrick and Johanna (Tobin) Tyrrell, spent their entire lives in Ireland', where the grandfather followed farming, and there both died at advanced ages, the former being ninety-six and the latter ninety-seven at the time of their deaths. The grandmother Frisby was ninety-three years old at the time of her death. When past the age of four score years the grandfather was still very vigorous and active.
John Frisby, the Doctor's maternal grandfather, was educated for the priesthood, but was never ordained, and later became a farmer. He died when about sixty years of age. His people were large and a very warlike race. His son, William Frisby, was six feet two inches in height, measured fifty-two inches around the chest, and although he weighed two hundred and twenty-five pounds, he was an athlete and was very active, able to jump over four horses when placed side by side and into the saddle without touching a stirrup. He possessed a most wonderful constitution, which was plainly demonstrated at the.time of his death. He had fallen sixty feet and broken his neck, and although he could not speak he lived nine days. One son of the Frisby family, David, was tried for treason. Both the Tyrrell and Frisby families and connection were instrumental in putting down the collection of tithes in the parish of Mullinahone, county Tipperary.
In his native land William Tyrrell, the Doctor's father, followed the occupation of farming. In 1847 he crossed the Atlantic with the intention of making a permanent home in America, and only six hours after his arrival at the city of New York went before a notary public and declared his intention of becoming a citizen of the United States, as did his brother Pierce. He died, however, on Lake Erie, while en route to Illinois, at the age of forty-nine years, and was buried at Cleveland, Ohio. His wife survived him until 1856, dying at the age of fifty-eight. Both were members of the Catholic church. The Doctor's family are not members of any Christian church. The Doctor is an outspoken agnostic and looks upon the whole thing as a confidence game of R. R. D. D. on their deluded dupes.
The Doctor's primary education was obtained in the schools of his native land. He was fifteen years of age when he came with his parents to America, and has since made his home in Kane county, Illinois, since November, 1847. He was reared on a farm, and having always been a great reader of medical works, he began studying medicine soon after his arrival here, and manufactured fluids, fluid extracts, etc., before he entered a medical school. He first read the popular medical works, also studied under the direction of Drs. Clark and Whitford, and later entered the Eclectic Medical Institute, of Cincinnati, Ohio, where he graduated with the class of 1866. He first opened an office in Gilbert's, Kane county, from there removed to Huntley, Grover township, but in 1868 located permanently in Elgin, where he had previously practiced to a limited extent. He has made a special study of renal and chronic diseases and microscopy. He has always been a believer in bacterial origin of disease and for years has been an expert in microscopic research, and probably the first physician in Illinois to use or introduce antiseptics and germandes, having used them since 1860.
On September 14, 1868, Dr. Tyrrell married Miss Margaret Ann McGrath, a daughter of Patrick and Bridget (McGrath) McGrath, and to them have been born four children, namely: Mary Olla, born July 24, 1869; William D., February 20, 1871, who is now attending the Chicago Medical College; John Stafford, April 25, 1873; and Pierce C., November 10, 1876, all at home. The children have been provided with good educational privileges, and the family is one of prominence.
In his political affiliations the Doctor is a Republican. His skill and ability in his chosen profession is attested by the liberal patronage he enjoys, and which ranks him as one of the leading physicians of the county, having patients in several states of the Union. In social as well as professional circles he stands deservedly high, and has the respect and confidence of all who know him.
Edward P. Robinson
EDWARD P. ROBERTSON, who is engaged in the banking business at Maple Park, Illinois, is an old and well-known citizen of Kane county, one who has done much to advance its material interests. He is a native of Saratoga county, New York, born January 3, 1828, and is the son of John D. and Dorothy (Palmer) Robertson, both natives of New York state, and the parents of ten children, five of whom are yet living-Edward P., Benjamin L., James Q., Orville A., and Mary E. The parental grandfather, John A. Robertson, was also a native of New York, and a soldier in the war of 1812. He lived to be about ninety years old. The great grandfather Robertson was a native of Scotland, who emigrated to the United States, in an early day, locating in New York. The subject of this sketch was born and reared on a farm, and in the common-schools of the neighborhood received his education. In his youth he learned the shoemaker's trade with his father, commencing when eleven years old, and following that occupation until 1860. In 1851 he left his native state for Ohio, and there remained until 1856, when he came to Maple Park, Illinois, and was appointed station agent for the Northwestern railroad, and occupied that responsible position for twenty years. Leaving the employ of the railroad, he engaged in the lumber and hardware business, in which he was successfully engaged until 1891, when he sold out and embarked in the banking business, in which he has since been engaged.
On the 25th of April, 1846, Mr. Robertson was united in marriage with Miss Julia A. Esmond, a native of New York, by whom he had two sons, Charles F. and Ira E. They both served their country faithfully in the war for the union, the former giving up his life at Vicksburg, while the latter survived until after the close of the war, and died at home.
Our subject has an adopted daughter, Hattie, who married Robert S. Brown, a former partner of his, and who died on the 20th of August, 1893, when about fifty years of age. They had three children: Esmond R., Letitia and Amy.
In politics Mr. Robertson is an ardent Republican, and has always manifested more or less interest in political affairs. In 1857 he was elected justice of the peace, and again in 1858, and in 1864, serving in all, seven years. In 1879 he was elected supervisor, and served until 1888, In the village he has held all the important offices, and has ever shown an interest in the material welfare of the place. No improvement has ever been suggested but has met with his unqualified support, and he is therefore regarded as one of the most enterprising of the citizens of Maple Park. Fraternally, he is a Master Mason, holding membership with the lodge at Sycamore, Illinois. He also belongs to the chapter and commandery.
Mr. Robertson is in all respects a self-made man. Through his own exertions he has attained an honorable r; position and marked prestige among the representative men of Kane county, and with signal consistency, it may be said that he is the architect of his own fortunes, and one whose success amply justifies the application of the somewhat hackneyed, but most expressive title "a self made man." He has many of the elements of character which have enabled him to pass on the highway of life, many of the companions of his youth, who, at the outset of their careers, were more advantageously equiped or endowed.
H.B. WATERHOUSE, contractor and builder, 308 Fox street, Aurora, was born in Greenport, east end of Long Island, New York, November 15, 1859, and is the son of William and Cynthia (Booth) Water-house, the former a native of Clinton, Connecticut, and the latter of Long Island, New York. William Waterhouse was an early settler of Long Island, where he died June 6, 1880, at the age of sixty-eight years. He was a steady-going, quiet man, a member of the Baptist church, of which body his wife was also a member. Her death occurred December 1, 1881, at the age of sixty-one years. She was visiting her daughter, Mrs. Willis, in Chicago, at the time of her death, which was very sudden and unexpected. Of their family of eight children seven are living: Amelia, widow of John Terry, residing in Long Island; William H., now residing in Florida, was a soldier in the late war under General Kilpatrick, was in the battle of Gettysburg, was later taken prisoner, and was ten months in Andersonville, from which he was discharged at the close of the war; Cynthia, wife of William H. Willis, of Woodlawn, Chicago; John L., a boat builder, residing in the east end of Long Island; George B., a resident of California; H. B., our subject; and Edward, residing on Long Island.
The subject of this sketch was reared at the village of Greenport, Long Island, New York, and in its public schools he received his education. He then began working on a farm, where he remained two years, then worked in a fish factory, and in 1881 came to Aurora, Illinois, and commenced work with an uncle at the mason trade. In the past eighteen years they have done some of the principal work in many of the large buildings in Aurora and vicinity.
On the 12th of September, 1893, in Aurora, Mr. Waterhouse was united in marriage with Miss Ella Crandall, daughter of D. V. Crandall, of Aurora. By this union there is one child, William Levi. Both parents are church members, and in the work of the church they have each been very active, Mrs. Waterhouse serving as pipe organist for some years. In politics Mr. Waterhouse is a Republican. As a business man he is thoroughly reliable, and is held in high esteem by all who know him.
Delos V. Crandall, the father of Mrs. Waterhouse, is a native of Chenango county, New York, born March 21, 1829. His parents, Samuel and Ada (Goodrich) Crandall, were also natives of the same county and state, the father being a farmer by occupation. In 1854 he came west with his family and settled in Wisconsin, but later moved to Jones county, Iowa, and subsequently to a county near Sioux City, Iowa, where his death occurred. He and his wife were members of the Methodist Episcopal church. They were the parents of nine children, of whom seven are still living.
Delos V. Crandall was a teacher in the public schools until after the opening of our Civil war, when, in June, 1862, he enlisted in Company A, Twenty-sixth Iowa Volunteer Infantry, and was appointed corporal-. He was later assistant surgeon in a hospital. In 1864 he was in hospital No. 1, at Chattanooga, Tennessee. He was then in charge of the gangrene ward under Dr. Rice. In June, 1865, at Washington, he was honorably discharged and mustered out of the service. While in the hospital he invented the twin spiral spring, on which he secured a patent on the close of the war. Four thousand dollars worth of these springs were purchased by the city of Chicago for the fire and police departments. Soon after his discharge from the service, he moved to Chicago, and in the great fire, October 9, 1871, was burned out, losing everything that he had. His health failing him, in 1872, he moved to Aurora, and since that time has been an invalid.
Mr. Crandall was married February 1, 1854, to Miss Esther J. Kyle, also a teacher of much experience for many years. She was born July 21, 1836. They have three living children, as follows: Delos V., Jr., who at the age of sixteen began teaching violin music, which he still continues as a profession. He married a Miss Alice Bennett, by whom he has four children - Harry, Claude, Margaret and Herbert. They reside in Joliet. Ella, now Mrs. Waterhouse, is also a teacher of the violin, and is leader of the Urso Quintet, composed of Mrs. Waterhouse, the first violinist; Miss Hila M. Verbeck, Miss Florence Daily, Mrs. Frances Condon, violins; and Miss Lottie Spring, pianist. She is also a pipe organist, and has played in both the Methodist Episcopal and Baptist churches. Alice Amelia is a graduate of the East Aurora High School of the class of '98. She resides at home. Fraternally, Mr. Crandall is a member of the G. A. R. post of Aurora.
ALEXANDER REID, deceased, was a descendant of an old Scotch family, who lived many generations in Wigtonshire, the southwest county of Scotland, just across from the Irish coast. William Reid, the grandfather of our subject, lived to the advanced age of ninety-seven years, while the great-grandfather lived to be one hundred and three years old. William Reid married a Miss Gordon, of the famous clan of that name. His son, John Reid, who died about 1857, a very old man, married Martha Armour, a daughter of William and -Margaret Armour. Alexander Reid was the son of John and Martha (Armour) Reid. He was born in 1823 near Aken Claurie, some thirty-five miles northwest of Glasgow, Scotland. In 1833 he came to America, and settled in Kingston, Canada, where he resided for many years. While residing in Kingston, he married Miss Catherine Abbott, a native of that city, and a daughter of James and Margaret (Hamilton) Abbott, the former a native of London, England, born November 15, 1803, and died in Canada, near Kingston, October 31, 1871. The latter was born in the North of Ireland, of Scotch-Irish parentage, and was a daughter of Robert Hamilton, a soldier of the Irish rebellion of 1798. She died at the age of ninety years. Of the children of James and Margaret Abbott, the only ones residing in the west are Mrs. Reid and Archibald Abbott, who resides in Kansas.
To Alexander Reid and wife ten children were born, nine of whom are living as follows: (1) Margaret, who married Andrew Burroughs, by whom she had three children, Harvey, Catherine and Erwin. Mr. Burroughs is now deceased, and his widow is making her home with her brother William on the old homestead. (2) John, who resides in Shawnee county, Kansas, married Amanda James, by whom he has two children, Alice and Ethel. (3) Martha, who married George Titus, by whom she had two children, Ernest and Jennie. Mr. Titus is now deceased and his widow is living in Hampshire. (4) James, a farmer in Hampshire township, of whom further mention is made in this sketch. (5) Alexander, Jr., a merchant in Hampshire, married Lovina Lovell, daughter of Charles and Sarah (Perry) Lovell. They have one child, Bernice. (6) William, who lives on the old homestead in Genoa township, De Kalb county. (7) Emma, who married Joseph Corson, a farmer of Genoa township, De Kalb county, by whom she has one child, Vernon J. (8) Alice, wife of Edgar Dittmer, of Hampshire township. She was for seven years a successful teacher in Hampshire township. (9) May, who is a teacher in the public schools of Hampshire township, and who resides with her mother.
In 1868 Mr. Reid sold his property in Canada and came west, settling in the northeast corner of De Kalb county, where he purchased one hundred and sixty acres, which was his home until his death in 1890. He was a man of excellent moral qualities, of sterling honesty and worth, and was for many years a member of the Methodist Episcopal church. In politics he was a Republican. In his death the community lost one of its most valuable citizens, and the family a loving husband and affectionate father. Mrs. Reid now resides in the village of Hampshire, where she is held in the highest esteem. She is also a member of the Methodist Episcopal church.
JAMES F. REID, who was fourth in order of birth in the family of Alexander and Catherine (Abbott) Reid, is engaged in farming on section 7, Hampshire township. He was born near Kingston, Canada, April 3, 1858, and attended school in his native country until coming west in 1868. He then attended the district schools in De Kalb county until the age of eighteen years, working during the summer seasons on the farm. He remained at home until 1883, when he began life for himself, renting the Lyons farm in Hampshire for two years. He then worked in a tile factory in Hampshire for four years, after which he rented the farm which he now occupies, for several years. On the 14th day of May, 1896, he purchased the farm, which consists of three hundred acres of well improved land, with good house and barns and fine old trees, forming a grove about the place. The farm is well drained with seven miles of tiling; and is what is known as a stock farm, Mr. Reid giving his attention principally to the raising of stock, raising sufficient grain for his own use.
Mr. Reid was married in De Kalb county, Illinois, April 27, 1883, to Miss Ella W. Waters, a native of Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, and a daughter of James V. Waters, who was born in the same county, and who married Elizabeth Carson, who died in November, 1894, at the age of fifty-six years. Mr. Waters was a miller by trade, and came to De Kalb county, Illinois, in the spring of 1869. Of his family of eleven children, Ella W. is tenth in order of birth.
To James F. and Ella W. Reid three children have been born - Lizzie, Winnie and Buelah. The first named died at the age of nine years. Fraternally, Mr. Reid is a member of the Modern Woodmen of America, and in politics, he is a Republican. As a farmer he is thoroughly enterprising and up to date in every respect, his farm being well supplied with all kinds of agricultural implements, and is kept in the very best order, making of it a model farm.
PETER KLEIN, editor and proprietor of the "Aurora Volksfreund," of Aurora, Illinois, was born in Nusbaum, Rheinish Prussia, Germany, September 1, 1849. He is the son of Henry and Elizabeth (Kessler) Klein. His father was a native of that section, born November 2, 1811. He served in the Prussian army for a long time, and in 1862 came to the United States, locating in Chicago, and later removing to Aurora, where he died July 3, 1878. In politics he was a Republican. His wife died in the old country August 26, 1860. They were members of the Evangelical Protestant church, and their only child is the subject of this sketch. Mrs. Klein had been previously married, and by her former husband, Fr. Niebergall, had three sons, Fred, John and Henry, all of whom are now living in Chicago.
The subject of this sketch attended school up to the time of coming to the United States. On arriving here his first employment was in a dry-goods store, where he remained five years, and he then engaged in life insurance business for a short time. In 1868 he started the "Volksfreund," at Aurora. It was then a seven-column folio, published weekly, and was Republican in politics. In June, 1895, he started the "Daily Volksfreund," a four-page paper. The weekly has been increased in size to an eight-page sheet. In connection with the paper Mr. Klein has a large and complete job office, and does all kinds of commercial and job printing. The "Volksfreund" is one of the oldest German papers in the State, and both editions have a large circulation. It is a wide-awake sheet and is engaged in building up the best interests of Aurora and in advocacy of the principles of the Republican party.
Mr. Klein was married in February, 1876, to Miss Harriet Wilson, daughter of Ulmer and Sarah (Russ) Wilson. She is a native of Belfast, Maine. Her parents were old settlers of Maine, of English and German ancestry. The Russes came from England in 1634. Ulmer Russ, the great-grandfather of Mrs. Kline, took an important part in the Revolutionary war. Mr. and Mrs. Klein are the parents of two children, Ulmer and Clio Kessler. Fraternally, Mr. Klein is a member of the Masonic order. He has been a member of the school board for several years and has taken special interest in educational affairs. He has also been a member of the board of public works, and has served as city treasurer. For some years he has been a director in the German-American National Bank, and is also a director in the building and loan association of Aurora. In every position, public or private, which he has been called upon to fill he has discharged its duties faithfully and well.
ALEXANDER P. THOMS is a leading representative of the business interests of Elgin, and as a dealer in sewing machines and bicycles, he now carries on operations at No. 166 Chicago street, Of excellent business ability and broad resources, he has attained a prominent place among the substantial citizens, and is a recognized leader in-public affairs. He has won success by well-directed, energetic efforts, and the prosperity that has come to him is certainly well deserved.
Mr. Thorns is a native of Scotland, born near Glasgow, July 9, 1842, and is a son of Robert and Jane (Patrick) Thorns. The name was originally spelled Thorn. The paternal grandfather, George Thorn, spent his entire life in Scotland, where he reared his large family of children, and died at an advanced age. Rev. Alexander Patrick, the maternal grandfather, was a prominent Methodist minister of that country, where he conducted many, large revivals. He was also the founder of the Methodist church at Wallace Stone. He died in Scotland at the age of sixty.
In 1850 the parents of our subject left their old home in Scotland and came to the United States, first locating on a farm of eighty acres in Cook county, Illinois, east of Elgin. After a short residence there, the father sold the place, and bought another farm of one hundred and thirty-five acres three miles west of that city, which he improved and cultivated until 1884, when he rented the place. He then made his home in Elgin until called from this life in March, 1895, at the age of eighty-seven years. His wife had departed this life one year previous, aged seventy-two. They were faithful members of the Methodist church, and had the respect and esteem of all who knew them. The father was a very industrious man, and strictly honorable in all his dealings, and his fellow-citizens, appreciating his sterling worth, elected him to various local offices.
In the family of this worthy couple were twelve children, ten sons and two daughters, and with the exception of one, all are still living. Three of the sons are prominent Baptist ministers. They are as follows: George, deceased; Alexander P., of this sketch; Robert E.; Rev. James P, of Chicago; Rev. John C., of Titusville, Pennsylvania; William A.; Rev. Craigie S., of Des Moines, Iowa; George B. and David D., twins; Charles M., who, in connection with his brother George, is engaged in the real estate and loan business in Rochester, New York; and Mary C. and Maria J., both of Elgin.
Mr. Thorns, whose name introduces this sketch, was seven years old when he arrived in Kane county, and under the parental roof he grew to manhood, acquiring his education in the district schools and the Elgin Academy, under Prof. Brydges. Feeling that his adopted country needed his services during the dark days of the Rebellion, he joined the army at the age of eighteen, enlisting in September, 1861, and becoming a member of Company D, Eighth Illinois (Farnsworth's) Cavalry. He enlisted as a private and was on detached duty with Generals Keyes, Casey and Peck. With the Army of the Potomac he participated in the battles of Williamsburg, Fair Oaks, the seven-days fight, the engagements at Poolsville, South Mountain, Antietam, Martins-burg, Fredericksburg, Minoxy, Bevelry Ford and many skirmishes in Virginia and Maryland. After over three years of faithful service he was mustered out at Chicago.
After spending a short time in Elgin Mr. Thorns and his brother, James P., embarked in the commission business in Chicago, conducting the same for three years. Our subject then traveled for different sewing-machine companies, establishing agencies in thirty-three different states, and on his return to Elgin in 1883 he purchased his brother William A.'s interest in the sewing-machine business here. He now handles machines for five different companies, and for the past fourteen years has done an extensive business as a dealer in sewing-machines, and is now also dealing in bicycles.
In September, 1869, was celebrated the marriage of Mr. Thorns and Miss Isabella, daughter of Deacon D. L. Jacobus, of Chicago, and they have become the parents of eight children, six sons and two daughters, namely: Lawrence D., who assists his father in the store; William S., who is employed by an electric light company in Chicago; Alexander P., who is attending the Chicago University; and John C., Florence Belle, Ethel May, who are all at home and attending school; and two who died in infancy.
Socially, Mr. Thorns affiliates with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the Modern Woodmen of America, and Veteran post, G. A. R.; while religiously both he and his wife are active and prominent members of the First Baptist church of Elgin, of which he has been one of the trustees for three years. He is one of the leading and influential members of the Republican party in the city, takes an active part in campaign work, and was elected captain of the largest cavalry company ever raised in Elgin.
Mr. and Mrs. Thorns have an elegant home at No. 624 South street, in West Elgin, surrounded by an acre of ground. Being great lovers of flowers and shrubbery they have spent considerable time in beautifying and ornamenting their place and have converted it into one of the prettiest places of the city. Here hospitality reigns supreme and the many friends of the family are always sure of a hearty welcome.
DAVID W. SHOLES is one of the leading and enterprising citizens of Hampshire. He is of English descent, the first of the name coming to America in colonial times. John Sholes, the grandfather, from one of the New England states, came west in 1846, and took up land in Burlington township, and here resided until his death at the age of ninety-four years. He was a pensioner of the war of 1812. His father was a minister of the gospel and died in the east. John Sholes married a Miss Hammond, who died in Burlington township in the early '50s. Their son, David Sholes, the father of our subject, was born in Vermont about 1820. He left his native state in the '30s, and after living a few years in Ohio, came to Illinois, locating first in Galena, where he lived one year, and in 1844 settled in Burlington township, Kane county, where he secured a tract of fifteen hundred acres of good land. An energetic, hard worker, and a good manager, he was very prosperous. He married Mary J. Young, a native of Chemung county, New York, a daughter of Simon Young, also a native of that state. She died in 1890 at the age of sixty-two years. They were the parents of five children, as follows: Stephen, who died at the age of eighteen years; Ernest C, a brick manufacturer of Hampshire; Esther, wife of William Smith, of Elgin; David W., our subject; and Vernon, who died in infancy.
David W. Sholes was born in Burlington township, Kane county, Illinois, April 24, 1854, and after attending the district schools completed his education when seventeen years old at Jennings Seminary, Aurora, Illinois. In 1871, in company with his brother, Ernest C, he bought a cheese factory in Burlington township, and after one year purchased his brother's interest, and a year later sold out and went to Elgin, where he embarked in the grocery business with A. E. Archibald. In six months he bought his partner's interest and continued the business one year. He then sold and moved to a farm of four hundred and forty acres belonging to his father, and commenced farming, in which he continued until 1882, when he moved to Hampshire and engaged in the coal business, and also in buying and shipping stock. He soon sold the coal business, but continued in stock trading until 1892. He was appointed postmaster of Hampshire, July 1, 1893, and served four years, since which time he has been in the commission business in Chicago, going into the city every morning and returning on the afternoon train.
Mr. Sholes was married in Elgin, June 17, 1876, to Miss Nancy J. McCIellan, born in Burlington, Illinois, and a daughter of John M. and Nancy (Wilson) McCIellan, the latter born near Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, and a daughter of Jacob Wilson, whose wife was a Miss Fitzpatrick, both of whom were natives of Pennsylvania. John M. McCIellan, also born in Pennsylvania, was the son of John McCIellan. To John M. McCIellan and wife five children were born as follows: Mary Jane, wife of E. K. Allen; George, who died in Greene, Iowa; Margaret, who married William Stone, but is now deceased; Nancy J., wife of our subject; and Genevra, who married Joseph C. Wall, of Watertown, South Dakota.
To our subject and wife two sons were born. Thomas F. is a fine machinist, and makes his home in Hampshire. He married Anna Scott, daughter of Walter and Charlotte (Scott) Scott, natives of England. David J. is the cashier in the Kane County Bank.
Mr. Sholes lately built a fine cottage in the eastern part of Hampshire in the midst of a beautiful natural grove. Politically, he is a Democrat and has served in various official positions, among them being collector, school director and member of the village board. Fraternally he is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, Knights of the Maccabees and Knights of the Globe. Socially he and his wife are members of the Wednesday Club.
Sarson L. Judd
SARSON L. JUDD, of Sugar Grove township, has been actively engaged in farming for many years, and has been a stock dealer for about twenty years. He is a native of New York, born in Warren county, March 4, 1849. His father, Dexter C. Judd, was a native of Connecticut, born in 1825, while his grandfather, Sarson L. Judd, was also a native of Connecticut. The family are of English descent, and originally settled in Connecticut. Early in the present century Sarson L. Judd removed from his native state to New York. He was a blacksmith and axe-maker by trade, which occupation he followed for many years. About 1834 he came to Kane county, and built the first blacksmith shop in what is now the city of Elgin. He there carried on business for a year or two, sold out and returned to New York, where his last days were spent.
Dexter C. Judd grew to manhood in New York, and learned the blacksmith trade with his father, and carried on business at Bolton, on Lake George, up to 1850, when he came to Kane county, Illinois, and purchased a farm of twenty acres in Sugar Grove township. He also built a blacksmith shop and worked at his trade in connection with farming for a number of years.
As his means increased he purchased more land, until he had a farm of two hundred and seventy-six acres adjoining the present village of Sugar Grove. While residing in New York he married Eliza C. Brown, also a native of that state, where she was reared and educated. They were the parents of five sons, all of whom grew to mature years and all living and heads of families. Asel T. is a farmer of Sugar Grove township; Samuel B. resides in Aurora; Sarson L., of this review; Charles D., of Aurora; and Smith C, of Chicago, Illinois. Dexter C. Judd was quite a prominent man in Sugar Grove township, and held a number of local offices of honor and trust. Later in life he removed to Aurora, where his death occurred in June, 1893. His wife passed away two years previously, dying in 1891, and their bodies were laid to rest in Sugar Grove township.
The subject of this sketch grew to manhood on the old home farm, and was educated in the Sugar Grove schools. He remained with his parents until after attaining his majority. On the 25th of November, 1870, in Sugar Grove township, he was united in marriage with Miss Mary Gillett, a daughter of Lewis H. Gillett, a pioneer of Kane county, and later removed to Iroquois county, where he purchased a farm and remained six years, then returned to Kane county, bought the old homestead on which he has since resided, and where he has engaged in general farming and also in the stock business. In 1897 he also engaged in the farming-implement and coal business at Sugar Grove, where he has just completed a large and substantial residence, one of the best in the township. Mrs. Judd died in 1894, leaving two sons - Lewis Dexter, married and now running the old home farm, and Clarence, a student in the Sugar Grove Normal Institute. Mr. Judd was again married April 2, 1895, his second union being with Miss Susie Kauth, who was born and reared in Kane county, and a daughter of Michael and Audesia Kauth, of Sugar Grove township.
Politically Mr. Judd is a life-long Republican, the liberty-loving principles of which he inherited from his father, who was a strong anti-slavery man. He cast his first presidential ballot for U. S. Grant in 1868, and has voted for every presidential nominee of the party up to William McKinley, for whom he voted in 1896. He has always taken an active interest in political affairs, and has served as a delegate in many conventions, county, congressional and state, and has given his services to his county as supervisor for nine years. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, and also of the Modern Woodmen of America. As a citizen he is enterprising and progressive, and never fails to be found in the front of those advocating any measure that will advance the interest of his town or county. Well known throughout the entire county, as well as in the adjoining counties of Kendall and De Kalb, he is held in the highest esteem by all.
No foreign element has become a more important part in our American citizenship than that furnished by Sweden. The emigrants from that land have brought with them to the new world the stability, enterprise and perseverance characteristic of their people and have fused these qualities with the progressiveness and indomitable spirit of the west. Mr. Colson, now one of the leading merchants of St. Charles, is a worthy representative of this class.
J. F. Colson was born in Sweden, January 20, 1853, a son of John P. and Christine S. Colson, who during his infancy came to the United States, and, after a short time spent in Chicago, they located in St. Charles in the summer of 1853. The father was a shoemaker by trade and continued to follow that trade until incapacitated by age. He died in St. Charles in 1892, but his wife is still living and now finds a pleasant home with our subject.
The public schools of St. Charles afforded J. F. Colson his early educational advantages, hut to a large degree he is self-educated, obtaining through his own exertions a good, practical business knowledge. He began his business career as a clerk in the store of L. C. Ward, with whom he remained for twelve years, obtaining a thorough training in business methods, which has been of great benefit to him in later years. In 1885 he formed a business partnership with Charles A. Anderson, with whom he had clerked for five years, and together they engaged in merchandising until the latter's death in 1888. He was succeeded by Charles H. Haines as silent partner, and business has since been conducted under the firm style of Colson & Company. They carry a large and complete stock of dry goods, notions, boots, shoes, clothing, hats, caps, carpets, etc., and have built up a large trade, having early gained a reputation for good goods and fair dealing. When Mr. Colson started out in life for himself he had no capital, but by perseverance, industry and economy he has steadily worked his way upward and has become quite well-to-do. He is an enterprising, progressive business man of sound judgment and excellent ability, and the success that he has achieved is certainly well deserved. He has not only secured a comfortable competence, but has made for himself an honored name in the land of his adoption.
In Geneva, Illinois, in January, 1882, Mr. Colson was united in marriage with Miss Anna Johnson, a native of Sweden, who was born and reared in Geneva. They now have five children - Winfield, Leroy, Ruth, Harold and Robert - and the three oldest are attending school in St. Charles. The Republican party finds in Mr. Colson an ardent supporter of its principles, having cast his first vote for General Grant in 1872. Fraternally, he is a master Mason, belonging to the blue lodge of St. Charles, and is a member of the Modern Woodmen. He is also a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, of which he is past grand; has filled all the offices in the encampment up to the chief patriarch, and he and his wife belong to Rebekah lodge. Mr. Colson has spent almost his entire life in St. Charles, and since attaining to man's estate he has been identified with its business interests, materially aiding in the advancement and prosperity of the city.
BAXTER O. SKINNER, a farmer residing on section 22, Plato township, was born five miles from Westport, Essex county, New York, November 15, 1834. His early life was spent in his native state, and his education was received in the public schools at Brainard's Forge, five miles from Pleasant Valley. He came west with his parents in May, 1853, and assisted his father in opening up and developing a good farm. His father, Oren Skinner, was born in Langdon, New Hampshire, in 1804, and died in Plato township, Kane county, January 13, 1861. He was a clothier and draper by trade, his principal work being in finishing broadcloth. On the 5th of May, 1853, he left his New Hampshire home for the west, going by rail to Buffalo, thence by lake to Toledo, then by rail to Chicago. Severe storms were encountered on the lakes, and about ten or twelve days were spent in making the trip to Chicago. He had two brothers then living in Chicago, and with them he remained a short time before coming to the farm where the family has since resided. At the time they came there was much government land open to entry, and there was plenty of wild game in the country. Oren Skinner took up one hundred and sixty-five acres, and later purchased forty acres more. Of the original tract our subject now owns one hundred and twelve acres, where he conducts the stock farm, raising horses principally. He has a good house upon the place, rebuilt in 1897-8, with a beautiful grove surrounding the house and barns.
The paternal grandfather, Baxter Skinner, was born in New Hampshire or Vermont. He was descended from one of two brothers, who emigrated from England, settling in Connecticut and Massachusetts. By trade he was a blacksmith. Oren Skinner married Charlotte Cady, who was born in Rutland, Vermont, and a daughter of Oliver-Cady, a soldier of the war of 1812, born September 20, 1781, and died April 30, 1841. He was married October 12, 1805, to Abigail Brainard, born June 10, 1786. He moved to the town of Reading, Vermont, in 1803. As early as 1804 he was a choir leader in the Congregational church. Abigail Brainard was a daughter of. Deacon Timothy Brainard, a drum major of the war of 1812. The Cadys are a musical family, one of the number being a partner of George F. Root, and they were the largest dealers in musical instruments in Chicago before the great fire of 1871. Our subject has a fine old violin, which came into his possession forty-five years ago, and which is over three hundred years old and has been in the family for many generations. Timothy Brainard was in the battle of Plattsburg, moved to Westport, New York, in 1814, and some years later to Kane county, Illinois, and died in Plato township at the age of eighty-three years. Oren Skinner and wife were parents of four children, as follows: John, who preceded the family to Chicago, in the fall of 1852, and died April 24, 1888, at the age of fifty-eight years; Martha, wife of A W. Hall, resides on a farm near our subject, and which is part of the old homestead; Baxter Oliver, our subject; and Armenia S., who married William
J. Fisher, and lived in Essex county, New York, died in July, 1881.
For forty-five years Baxter O. Skinner has been living upon his present farm, and is well known throughout Kane county. He is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and was a member of the Grange during its existence. Politically he is a Republican, casting his first presidential vote for John C. Fremont, and has voted for none but Republican presidential candidates ever since. He is now serving as deputy sheriff, a position which he has filled for some twelve or fourteen years. His interest in the public schools has always been great, and for twenty-one years he has served as school director. He has been township trustee since 1873, and has been president of the board for many years. During the war he was a member of the state militia. Always loyal he has made a good representative citizen of the township.
MORRIS P. BROWN, of Aurora, Illinois, was for many years one of the most active and enterprising farmers of Kane county. He dates his residence in this-county from October, 1845. A native of the Empire state, he was born in the center of the town of Watertown, Jefferson county, July 25, 1827, and is the son of James Brown, who was an early settler of that county, and whose father built a tavern for the entertainment of the traveling public, which they carried on for many years. The paternal grandfather, Aaron Brown, was a native of Massachusetts, from which state he removed to Jefferson county, New York. The mother was of English and Scotch ancestry.
James Brown was married in Jefferson county, New York, to Fannie Scott, a native of Connecticut and a daughter of Abel Scott, who was also a pioneer of Jefferson county, New York, moving from Connecticut. After marriage, James Brown and wife commenced their domestic life on a farm in Jefferson county, where they remained until 1843, when the father came to Kane county, Illinois, where he remained a short time, and then removed to De Kalb county with Morris P., who came in 1845. The mother came in 1846 and joined the family in De Kalb county. After twenty years spent in De Kalb county, they returned to Kane county, and located in Sugar Grove township, where she died January 26, 1875. He survived her about two years, dying February 13, 1877. He was a man of good education, studied for the ministry, and was an active member of the Presbyterian church.
Morris P. Brown is the only survivor of a family of two sons and three daughters, all of whom grew to mature years, but are now deceased. In his native state he spent his boyhood and youth, and a few weeks during the winter months was enabled to attend school, the remainder of his time being given to hard work upon the farm. When nineteen years of age, he came west and settled in De Kalb county, where he entered eighty acres of land, and commenced its improvement. He later entered two hundred and forty acres, giving him a farm of three hundred and twenty acres. As his means increased he purchased more land, and owned at one time one thousand acres. In 1865, he came to Kane county, and purchased two improved farms, in Sugar Grove township, comprising three hundred and forty acres. While commencing life in this state a poor boy, success has crowned his efforts, and he is to-day regarded as one of the substantial men of Kane county. In addition to the three hundred and forty acres he owns in Kane county, he has also a valuable farm in Nebraska, and residence property in Aurora. He is likewise a stockholder in the First National Bank of Aurora.
On the 22nd of November, 1855, Mr. Brown was united in marriage in De Kalb county with Miss Sarah E. Hyde, born in Grand Island, Vermont, and a daughter of James W. Hyde, also a native of Vermont. James W. Hyde, in that state, married Ruth Corbin, a Vermont lady, whose father, Warren Corbin, was one of the first settlers of Grand Island. James W. Hyde removed to New York, located first in St. Lawrence county, after which he removed to Franklin county, and in 1846 came to Illinois, settling in Kendall county, where he opened up a farm, and later removed to De Kalb county, but later went to live with a son in Iowa, where he died. Mrs. Brown was reared in New York state, and in Kendall county, Illinois, and here participated in the hardships and privations of pioneer life. To Mr. and Mrs. Brown four children were born: Ella G. grew to womanhood, married P. B. Quinn, settled in Kane county where she died, leaving one daughter, Mary E., now residing with her grandparents. May H. died at the age of sixteen years. Grace M. S. is the wife of Daniel J. Gordon, a substantial farmer of Sugar Grove town-ship. Fannie R. is the wife of Leonard Hall, also a substantial farmer of Sugar Grove township.
In 1881 Mr. Brown built a residence in Aurora, to which he removed with his family in 1882, and here resided three years. They then returned to the farm, and seven years later came back to Aurora, where he has since lived a retired life. On the organization of the Republican party, Mr. Brown became an adherent, casting his vote for John C. Fremont, since which time he has been a stanch advocate of its principles. Fraternally he is a Mason, a member of the bine lodge, council, chapter and commandery. As a citizen he is held in high esteem, and in the growth and development of the county he has borne his part.
ANNAS HATHAWAY, a well-known and honored citizen of Elgin, whose home is at No. 645 North Spring street, was born on the 13th of October, 1827, in Steuben county, New York, a son of Joel and Anna (Babbitt) Hathaway, natives of Massachusetts. Five children were born to them, four sons and one daughter, but our subject is the only one now living. During his early life the father worked at the stone mason's trade, but later turned his attention to farming. Coming west in 1850, he and his wife made their home with their eldest son, E. T. Hathaway, in Wayne, Du Page county, Illinois, where the father died in 1870, aged eighty-six, and the mother, who survived him five years, died at the age of eighty-one. Both were Universalists in religious belief and were held in high regard by all who knew them. During the war of 1812 the father was captain of a company, and while living in Steuben county, New York, he served as supervisor and also as county superintendent of the poor for some years.
The paternal grandfather of our subject was born in Massachusetts, of English parentage, was a farmer by occupation, and was a soldier in the Revolutionary war, taking part in the battle of Bunker Hill. He reared a family of seven sons and three daughters, and died at the advanced age of one hundred years. Edward Babbitt, the maternal grandfather, was also a native of the old Bay state, and died in middle life leaving a family of three sons and three daughters.
Mr. Hathaway, of this review, obtained his education in an old log school-house near his boyhood home, and at the age of fourteen left the parental roof and entered upon his business career as a clerk in a store, where he was employed for four years. On the 4th of May, 1845, he first set foot in Elgin, where he had stopped to visit friends while on his way to St. Louis, Missouri, and after spending eighteen months here he proceeded to that city, where he made his home for four years. He then returned to Elgin, and in partnership with W. C. Kimball, opened a store in Union, McHenry county. On selling out two years later he removed to Cedar Rapids, Iowa, where he engaged in merchandising one year; later he moved to Chicago and gave his attention to bookkeeping. Subsequently he went to Pike's Peak in 1859 and on to California, where he engaged in mining. He returned to Chicago in 1860 and remained there till 1861; he then went South and engaged in mercantile business until 1866. Returning he engaged in the commission business in Chicago for one year, and then became interested in railroading, having charge of the freight department of the Chicago & Northwestern road for one year. He was next ticket and freight agent for the Chicago & Pacific railroad, and later had charge of the out-going freight for the Lake Shore & Michigan Southern railroad for six years. The following year he was connected with the pool line under George H. Daniels, but at the end of that time the pool line was dissolved and he came to Elgin, where for seven years he served as freight and ticket agent for the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul railroad. Going to Tacoma, Washington he became manager for the Tacoma Trading Company, furnishing coal and building supplies. He then returned to Elgin in 1890, and three years later was appointed chief clerk and secretary of the state board of trustees of the Illinois Northern Hospital for the Insane, a position he acceptably filled for four years. In the spring and summer of 1892, he built his present beautiful home in that city, where he expects to spend his declining years.
On the 22d of February, 1853, Mr. Hathaway was united in marriage to Miss Sylvira M. Bartlett, a daughter of Edmund and Naomi (Babcock) Bartlett, who located in Kane county as early as 1834, making their home upon a farm near Wayne for over half a century. Mr. Bartlett died upon that place, but the death of his wife occurred in Elgin. Mr. and Mrs. Hathaway have two children. Carrie, the older, is now the wife of D. W. George, of Jacksonville, Illinois, and has three children - Sylvira, James and William. Herbert is employed in the watch factory in Elgin.
Mr. Hathaway is a prominent Mason, having belonged to that order since joining Unity lodge, F. & A. M., in St. Charles, Illinois, September 20, 1852, and he is now a member of Loyal L. Munn chapter, R. A. M.; Bethel commandery, No. 36, K. T.; Oriental Consistory and Medinah Temple, both of Chicago. Politically he is identified with the Democratic party. Since 1845 he has made his home almost continuously in Chicago or Elgin, and his wife has been a resident of Kane county for sixty-three years, so that they have witnessed almost the entire development of this section of the state, and deserve to be numbered among its honored pioneers, as well as its highly respected and valued citizens.
WILLIAM W. NEWMAN, of Aurora, Illinois, is a native of the Empire state, which has contributed to the great state of Illinois many of its best and most enterprising citizens. For many years he was one of the leading farmers of Sugar Grove, township, Kane county, but is now living a retired life. He was born in the town of Butternuts, Otsego county, New York, December 7, 1812. His father, Abraham Newman, was born in Connecticut, and was a soldier in the Revolutionary war. When a young man he moved from Connecticut to New York, and at Granville, that state, he married Lucinda Crippen, a native of New York. By trade he was a tailor. After residing for a time in Granville, he then went to Otsego county, and later he moved to Jefferson county, New York, where he cleared and opened up a farm in the heavy wilderness, and in the town of Alexander spent the last years of his life, dying at the age of eighty-three years.
William W. Newman is one of a family of six sons and six daughters, all of whom grew to manhood and womanhood, married and reared families. Of the number, our subject and one brother are all that survive. One brother, J. D., who resided in Chicago, died at the age of eighty-eight years. The other brother, A. D., also retired, is living in Wooster, Massachusetts. In Jefferson county, New York, our subject grew to manhood, his education being received in its common schools. In his youth he learned the carpenter's trade, which he followed for some years, after arriving at manhood's estate. Being always handy with tools, he could work at any mechanical trade.
On the 17th of January, 1839, in Lewis county, New York, Mr. Newman was united in marriage with Miss Laura L. McCoy, a native of Vermont, who came to New York when a child, with her father, William Mc-Coy, who was a pioneer of Lewis county. To Mr. and Mrs. Newman, four sons have been born - James D., who grew to manhood, engaged in railroad work, married and resided in Chicago, where his death occurred; W. C. is a stock dealer and shipper, married and resides in Nebraska; L. A., now deceased; and J. B., who resides at home, and assists his father in the business.
After marriage Mr. Newman bought the old homestead in Jefferson county, New York, where he carried on a general farming and dairy business, continuing there until 1853, when he sold out and came to Kane county, Illinois, locating in Sugar Grove township, where he purchased a partially-improved farm of two hundred and twenty-two acres, and at once resumed farming. He brought the farm under a high state of cultivation, made extensive improvements upon it, and there resided until 1868, when he purchased residence property in Aurora, to which he removed, and where he has since continued to reside. Later he-sold the farm and invested in city residence property, buying lots and erecting dwelling houses, principally on the west side. He now owns several valuable residences in the city. Being a carpenter, he took charge of the erection of the buildings, thus making a great saving in the expense. In early life Mr. Newman was a Whig, which party he supported until after its defeat in 1852, and, on the organization of the Republican party, gave adherence to its peculiar views, and has since been a stanch advocate of its principles. While residing in the country, he served as assessor, school director, and in other positions of honor and trust. Commencing life in very limited circumstances, he has, by honest industry, strict integrity, and the practice of economy, secured a Competency, which enables him to live at ease and enjoy the fruits of a life well spent. While not numbered among those who profess to be pioneers, he is yet among the early settlers of the county, and has witnessed the greater part of the changes made in transforming this section into the most productive part of the great state of Illinois. In this work he has done his part and is entitled to all honor and credit.
ORLANDO DAVIDSON is one of the leading and influential citizens of Elgin, who has taken an active part in promoting its substantial improvement and material development. For many years he was one of the most active and enterprising business men of the city, identified with its industrial, commercial and banking interests, but is living retired at his pleasant home, known as Stone Cottage, No. 157 South Chapel street.
Mr. Davidson was born May 3, 1825, in Windham, New Hampshire, a son of James Nutt and Lucy (Lancaster) Davidson, also natives of that state, the former born in Windham and the latter in Acworth. The grandfather, who also bore the name of James Davidson, was born in Tewksbury, Massachusetts, January 12, 1752. When the Colonies resolved to throw off the yoke of British oppression, he joined the Continental army at Cambridge and remained in the service until the war ended, witnessing the surrender of General Burgoyne. He gained a comfortable living by his occupation of farming. That he was held in high esteem by his fellow citizens was evidenced by the number of offices he was called upon to fill from time to time, being one of the prominent officials in his town for a period of more than thirty years. Social, genial and very kind in disposition, he made friends easily, and could as easily retain them. He was a man of strong convictions, was firm and self-reliant, noted for his candor .and exemplary Christian life. He died in Windham, New Hampshire, July 3, 1837. From infancy he had resided in that state. In early manhood he married Miss Hannah Hemphill, and to them were born nine children, namely: Nathaniel, Margaret, Sarah, Anna, Samuel, James Nutt, Mary, James Nutt and John Hemphill.
Of these James Nutt Davidson (second), the father of our subject, was born July 12, 1797, and in early life was a butcher, conducting a slaughter house in the east. He was also interested in hotel keeping for a time. In 1835 he removed to Sandusky, Ohio, and ten years later located in Chicago, where he was engaged in the commission business for some years. Several years prior to his death he became an in-mate of the home of our subject, in Elgin, where he passed away in August, 1873, at the age of seventy-six years. He was known as Deacon Davidson, being for many years a deacon in the Congregational church in the east and in Chicago. Before the war he took considerable interest in the operations of the underground railroad, and assisted many a poor darky on his way to Canada and freedom. His wife, who was a member of the same church, and a most estimable woman, died in Chicago, in 1855, at the age of sixty years. In their family were eleven children, ten of whom reached years of maturity, but only three are now living: Orlando; Cynthia A., wife of J. H. Stead, of Salida, Colorado; and Jennie, widow of Gilbert G. Edgerton, of Fremont, Ohio. Those deceased are Amintor, Nathaniel, Daniel, Charles, James, Mary and Elizabeth, wife of S. M. Moore, of Chicago.
The first ten years of his life Orlando Davidson lived upon a farm in his native state, and then accompanied his parents on their removal to Sandusky, Ohio, making the journey partly by wagon and the remainder by way of the lakes. There he acquired a good education in the common schools, and after coming with the family to Chicago, he taught a country school where Evanston now stands. He and an older brother, as well as their father, took an active interest in the underground railroad at that time. For a time he held a position in a bank in Chicago, and in 1850 came to Elgin to settle up the estate of James T. Gifford, "the father of Elgin, whose sketch is given in connection with that of his daughter, Mrs. Preston, on another page of this work. Having accomplished this task, Mr. Davidson returned to Chicago, and resumed his duties in the bank, but in 1854 removed his family to Elgin, where he has continuously resided since, making the "stone cottage" built by his father-in-law, Mr. Gifford, his home. On locating there his yard covered an entire block.
In Elgin, Mr. Davidson opened a private bank in 1854, which successfully passed through the stringency of money matters in 1857, and in 1866 was converted into the Home National Bank, of which he was the first president, serving as such until 1878. Since then he has practically lived retired, though he has been interested in other enterprises, being secretary of the Elgin Packing company, until the time of his sickness in December, 1895. He was instrumental in bringing the watch factory to Elgin, and was a resident director of the same for several years; took an active interest in locating the Northern Hospital for the Insane in Elgin, and was its treasurer for six years, during which time the building was erected; and has always taken an active interest in the Elgin Academy, a classical institution of learning, of which he was the leading supporter for over thirty years, acting as secretary of the board of trustees during that time. Mr. Davidson was also one of the organizers of the Elgin Scientific society, of which he was president and secretary for some time, and was also president of the Elgin Bible Society.
On the 26th of May, 1848, Mr. Davidson was united in marriage with Miss Caroline Amelia Gifford, a daughter of James T. and Laura (Raymond) Gifford, prominent and honored pioneers of Elgin. Six children were born of this union: (1) Lucy died in infancy. (2) Jay Gifford, born January 19, 1851, was an expert accountant of Chicago, who graduated from the Chicago University in 1872, and was an officer and prominent member of the Plymouth Congregational church of that city. He died July 31, 1885.
(3) Laura, a graduate of the Elgin Academy, and also studied at Vassar, is the wife of Judge Nathaniel C. Sears, of the Appellate court, residing at Edgewater, Chicago.
(4) May C. is a graduate of the Elgin Academy, and for ten years has been one of the most successful and popular teachers in the primary department of the schools of this city. (5) Jennie Elizabeth graduated from both the Elgin Academy and Oberlin College, Ohio, and is now the wife of Arthur L. Warner, mechanical superintendent of the Illinois Iron & Bolt Works of Carpentersville. They have two children: Orlando Davidson and Florence May. (6) Stella Amelia was also educated in the Elgin Academy and Oberlin College, and is now the wife of Harry Ainsworth, of Moline, Illinois, a member of the manufacturing firm of Williams, White & Co., and secretary of the same. He is also a graduate of Oberlin College and the Harvard Law School. Their children are Caroline Davidson, Sarah Andrews and Dorothy Sears.
Mrs. Davidson, who was born May 26, 1827, in Sherburn, New York, died October 24, 1890, while visiting her daughter in Moline. At the age of eight years she came with her parents to Elgin, and was married while the family were residing in Wisconsin. She was a life-long and consistent member of the Congregational church, and always took a leading part in all church work. Her death was widely and deeply mourned, for she made many friends, and had the respect of all who knew her.
Mr. Davidson and his wife were charter members of the Plymouth and New England Congregational churches of Chicago, and assisted in supporting both. For forty years he has served as deacon in the First Congregational church of Elgin, and for thirty years was superintendent of the Sunday-school. A true and earnest Christian gentleman, the world is certainly better for his having lived, and both by precept and example he has led many to become nobler men and women. On attaining his majority he voted with the Whig party, but since the organization of the Republican party he has been one of its stanch supporters. For a time he served as secretary of the Old Settlers Association of the Fox River Valley, and to all enterprises calculated to advance the moral, intellectual or material welfare of his adopted city he has given a hearty support.
ARVIN T. HAWLEY, a dealer in agricultural implements, residing at No. 617 South street, Elgin, is but a recent acquisition to the goodly array of progressive business men in that thriving city, but his ability, enterprise and upright methods have already established for him an enviable reputation. Although he is still a young man comparatively, his popularity is established on a firm basis-that of his own well-tested merit.
His father, the late Theodore Hawley, was born in Canajoharie, Montgomery county, New York, July 4, 1815, a son of Aschiel and Lavina (Parde) Hawley, the former a hatter by trade and quite prominent in religious circles, being a deacon of the Presbyterian church. The family was founded in this country during the seventeenth century by English emigrants. In the county of his nativity, Theodore Hawley attended the public schools until sixteen years of age when he began learning the watch maker's trade, working at that occupation for eight years. On first coming to Illinois he located in Lake county, where he purchased a farm of two hundred and forty acres, and after living upon that place for several years, sold and removed to Algonquin, McHenry county, but only remained there one year. He next engaged in mercantile pursuits in Rome, Jefferson county, Wisconsin, until 1862, when he removed to Batavia, Kane county, Illinois, where he made his home for three years, during which time our subject was born. In 1865 he purchased a good farm of one hundred acres in Burlington township, where he resided until coming to Elgin, in the spring of 1897. Politically, he was originally a Whig, but on the dissolution of that party became a stanch Republican, and for four years under President Johnson's administration he served as postmaster of East Burlington. He was a man of character and sterling worth, and he well merited the high regard in which he was uniformly held. After a long and useful life he passed away at the home of our subject in Elgin, February 19, 1898.
On the 26th of December, 1847, Theodore Hawley was united in marriage with Miss Sarah Cramp, who was born in Sussex, England, March 20, 1826, and when three years old was brought to America by her parents, William and Sarah (Morton) Cramp, locating first in Oneida county, New York. In 1847 the Cramp family removed to Algonquin, McHenry county, Illinois, where the marriage of the parents of our subject was celebrated. Both lived to witness the fiftieth anniversary of that happy event, and the mother is still living, finding a pleasant home with our subject. To this worthy couple seven children were born, namely: Marcus A., a resident of Kansas; Helen L., who died in 1896; Annie, wife of S. G. Conners, of Plato township, Kane county; Sarah E., who died in infancy; Emily H., wife of Henry Buzzell, now a resident of Iowa; Cora E., wife of August C. Bird, living near Belvidere, Illinois; and Arvin T., of this sketch.
In Batavia, Kane county, Arvin T. Hawley was born October 5, 1864, but when only six months old his parents removed to the one-hundred-acre farm on section 25, Burlington township. Upon that place and an adjoining section in Plato township he made his home until his removal to Elgin in the spring of 1897. He acquired a good practical education in the public schools, which he attended until eighteen years of age, and then assisted his father in the operation of the home farm, taking entire charge the following year, when his father retired from active labor, though he made his home with our subject until his death. Mr. Hawley still owns the homestead of one hundred acres and also leases fifty-five acres, which are now operated by a tenant, and upon the place keeps thirty-five cows, shipping the milk to Chicago. His country home was destroyed by fire October 23, 1896, but the following spring was rebuilt. Mr. Hawley also owns his pleasant residence in Elgin. In the spring of 1898 he embarked in his present business at the corner of Standish and Jewett streets, Elgin, dealing in Champion mowers and binders and a full line of farm implements. He is already meeting with excellent success in this undertaking.
In Belvidere, Illinois, Mr. Hawley was married December 18, 1890, to Miss Elveretta Morrison, a native of Sycamore, De Kalb county. Her father, Joseph Morrison, was born in Ontario, Canada, and about 1868 removed to De Kalb county, Illinois, where he followed the occupation of farming. He wedded Mary McCarthy, daughter of George McCarthy, of that county. Mr. Morrison died in June, 1888. To Mr. and Mrs. Hawley were born two children, namely: Edna Pearl, who died at the age of two years, and Erma Ethelyn, who was born in February, 1898. Edna Morrison, the sister of Mrs. Hawley, makes her home with our subject, and attends the Elgin public schools.
The Republican party has ever found in Mr. Hawley a stanch supporter, and from the time he attained his majority until his removal to Elgin, he was a member of the school board of his district. He also served as township assessor one year and tax collector two years. Socially, he formerly belonged to the Knights of the Maccabees. He is an energetic, wide-awake and enterprising citizen, and in both business and private life commands the respect and confidence of all with whom he comes in contact.
HENRY G. OHLS, M. D.
In the last half century it has been rare for a man to win prominence in several lines. It is the tendency of the age to devote one's entire energy to a special line, continually working upward and concentrating every effort towards accomplishing a desired end. Dr. Ohls, although well qualified for general practice, has made a specialty of the diseases of the nose, throat and chest, and along these lines has made an enviable reputation in the medical world. He resides in Elgin, has an office in the Elgin Bank block, and he is also engaged in practice in the Venetian building, Chicago.
The Doctor was born in Chicago, October 27, 1860, a son of John and Augusta G. (Garnsey) Ohls, natives of Ohio, in whose family were two children, the other being Effie. L. For thirty-five years the father was connected with the American Express Company, being assistant superintendent of the Illinois division the greater part of the time. He died at Hinsdale, May 23, 1894, aged fifty-eight years. The Doctor's mother passed away in 1880, at the age of forty years. Both were active and prominent members of the Episcopal church, Mr. Ohls serving Grace church in Hinsdale both as vestryman and warden for several years. In common with every member of the Ohls family, he was a Republican from the formation of the party, but not an office seeker.
Early in the eighteenth century the Doctor's ancestors removed from Germany to Philadelphia, and many members of the family reside in Pennsylvania and eastern Ohio to-day. During the Revolution the family furnished its quota to the patriot army, and throughout the last war members of the family served with distinction in the armies of the north. The Doctor's maternal grandfather, Daniel E. Garnsey, lived for many years at Piqua, Ohio. At an early date he invested largely in Chicago realty, but, lacking the confidence of others in the city's prospects, removed to Michigan City, and sold his holdings in Chicago, which later became very valuable. His death occurred at Rives Junction, Michigan, in his sixty-fifth year. His wife bore the maiden name of Mary Phillips, of the well-known New York family.
Reared in Hinsdale, from the age of six years, Dr. Ohls began his education in the public schools of that place, later attended the Aurora high school, and in 1883 graduated at the University of Michigan with the degree of Ph. B. After a business experience of one year in the employment of the American Express Company, he entered Rush Medical College, where he served as assistant in chemistry to Professor Walter S. Haines, graduating at that institution with the class of 1887. For three years thereafter he engaged in practice in Clinton, Iowa, but in 1890 returned to Chicago and pursued special studies in the Polyclinic. He 'continued to reside in Hinsdale until 1896 when he removed to Elgin and has since built up a good practice at this place. For several years he has confined his practice to the diseases of the nose, throat and chest, and has served as professor of laryngology and rhinology in Jenner Medical College in Chicago. He has also been medical director of the Expressman's Mutual Benefit Association for a number of years. For two years past he has been associated with Professor E. Fletcher Ingals as editor of the department of laryngology and rhinology in the American Year Book of medicine and surgery, in which are recorded all the important discoveries of the year in medicine and the best results in surgery, taken from medical journals, monographs and text books.
On the 20th of June, 1894, Dr. Ohls married Miss Anna Elizabeth Oden, of Benton Harbor, Michigan. August 1, 1895, a daughter, Katharine Augusta, was born to them. The Doctor is a member of the Episcopal church, and his wife is a Methodist in religious belief. They have made many warm friends since coming to Elgin and occupy a prominent position in social circles.
Dr. Ohls is a member of Michigan Alpha Chapter of the Phi Kappa Psi fraternity, the Royal Arcanum and the Knights of the Globe, and is also a member of the Fox River Valley Medical Association. His offices are equipped with the most modern appliances needed in his practice, and he keeps abreast of the latest discoveries and theories. His skill and ability is attested by the liberal patronage accorded him.
WILLIAM L. MESSENGER, a veteran of the war for the union, now holding a position with the board of warehouse commissioners, Chicago, resides at No. 457 South Lake street, Aurora, Illinois. He is a native of Massachusetts, born in Norfolk county; March 4, 1839, and is a son of Fisher Messenger, born in 1806, in the same town, county and state. Fisher Messenger married Roanna White, a native of Massachusetts and a daughter of Leonard White, a direct descendant of Perigrine White, one of the pilgrim fathers, and also a descendant of Governor Bradford, of Massachusetts. He was a weaver by trade and followed that occupation until he came west in 1857. He also learned the manufacture of baskets, and on his removal to Aurora, in 1857, engaged in that business, finding sale in Chicago for his product. He made Aurora his home until his death in 1879. He was married three times, his first, wife who was the mother of our subject, dying in Massachusetts in 1843. His third wife survives him; and is yet residing in Aurora.
Of the five children born to Fisher and Roanna Messenger, Ellen married George W. Barker, of Bridgeport, Connecticut, but is now deceased; Sarah, widow of Rev. James W. Searle, resides in Foxboro, Massachusetts; Mary married William Johnson, and both are now deceased; Lydia married Albert Pettee, but is now deceased; and William L., our subject. By the third marriage of Fisher Messenger, there is one daughter living, Mrs. Emma F. Carnes, of Aurora.
William L. Messenger was eighteen years of age when he came with the family to Aurora. While yet residing in his native state, he acquired a good common-school education, and also acquired a knowledge of basket manufacturing, in which he assisted his father, after coming to this place. On the 1st of December, 1860, he was united in marriage with Maria Wagner, born at Fort Plains, New York, and a daughter of John J. Wagner, also a native of New York, and a pioneer of Kane county, Illinois, locating here in 1838, on land which now is nearly all comprised within the corporate limits of Aurora. Here he opened up a large farm, reared his family and spent the last years of his life, dying about 1867. To William L. and Maria Messenger four children were born: the oldest, Elnora M., is now the wife of P. G. Lincoln, of Aurora; William F. married and resides in Aurora; Frank C. married and also resides in Aurora; and Earl, residing at home.
After their marriage Mr. and Mrs. Messenger commenced their domestic life in Aurora, and he continued to assist his father in business. But the war clouds were gathering and soon the proclamation of President Lincoln was issued for men to aid in the defense of the union. The first call was for three-months' men, and Mr. Messenger was one of the first to respond, and joined the Seventh Regiment, Illinois Volunteer Infantry, the first regiment sent from this state. He was, however, assigned to an artillery company, and was first in active duty at Cairo. After the expiration of his term of service he returned home, and in July, 1862, again enlisted, and was assigned to the First Arkansas Calvary, and was commissioned adjutant, serving in that position until, in 1863, when the organization was changed, and he was commissioned second lieutenant of Company D of the same regiment, and served as such until the close of the war, when he was mustered out at Fayettville, Arkansas. He participated in many engagements in and around Fayetteville, and also at Prairie Grove, Arkansas. For about a year he was on detach duty, serving as provost marshal of Fayetteville.
After his discharge Lieutenant Messenger returned home, where he engaged in the clothing trade for a short time, and later was in the fruit business. He then moved to Salem, Illinois, where he remained for a few years, going from thence to East St. Louis, where he engaged in railroading. In 1877 he returned to Aurora, since which time he has been engaged in various lines of business, including real estate and insurance. He now holds a position in the office of the grain and warehouse commissioners at Chicago, a position which he is well qualified to fill.
Lieutenant Messenger has been a stanch Republican during his entire life, his father before him being an Abolitionist of the rankest kind, and was connected with the underground railroad, assisting many a poor colored person to his liberty. For two terms our subject served as alderman from his ward, a part of which time he was chairman of the fire and water committee, of the public buildings and grounds committee, and of the judiciary committee. He cast his first presidential ballot for Abraham
Lincoln, and has since supported every presidential nominee of the Republican party. Fraternally, he is a member of the Masons, and also the Knights of Pythias. As a citizen, he stands high in the estimation of his fellow men, and is ever progressive and enterprising, doing all in his power to advance the material interests of his adopted city, of which he has been an almost continuous resident for forty-one years.
HON. EDWARD C. LOVELL, ex-county judge and a well-known attorney of Elgin, occupies a suite of rooms in the Spurling block. He was born in Chicago, Illinois, July 18, 1842, a son of Vincent S. and Lucy (Smith) Lovell, the former a native of Yorkshire, England, and the latter of Whitestown, Oneida county, New York.
Vincent Lovell, the paternal grandfather of our subject, was also a native of Yorkshire, England, and came with his family to the United States after the war of 1812, because of his admiration of American institutions. Unlike many others, he was the possessor of considerable means. By occupation he was a farmer, both in his native land and in this country. In his family were twelve children. His death occurred in Whitestown, New York, when he was about seventy years of age. Several of the children came west, among whom were the late John Lovell and William Lovell, of Elgin. The maternal grandfather of our subject was Daniel Smith, a native of Columbia county, New York, of Welsh ancestry. He was also a farmer. His death occurred in Oneida county, New York, when he, too, was about seventy years of age.
Vincent S. Lovell, our subject's father, was about fourteen years old when he came with his parents to the United States. His youth and early manhood were spent upon a farm in Oneida county, New York, and he there married Miss Lucy Smith. By this union two children were born: Edward C., our subject; and Vincent S., who died in December, 1892. The latter was a graduate of the University of Michigan, and was a journalist for several years after leaving college, being for sometime on the editorial staff of the Albany "Argus," and later on the Chicago "Post" and "Mail." After his marriage, in 1876, to Miss Eliza A. Hadwen, of England, he made his home in Elgin, where he was associated in business with his brother during the remainder of his life. His modest worth and sterling character were universally recognized, not more by his election at different times to the offices of director of the public library and mayor of the city, than by the affectionate regard and respect in which he was held by all with whom he had either social or business relations.
In 1837 the father came with his young bride to Elgin, where he bought about one hundred and fifty acres of land, the southern line of which was some distance north of where Jefferson avenue is now located. This farm he cultivated until about 1841, when he leased the same and removed to Chicago, and there engaged in mercantile trade for three years. He then returned to Elgin and remained here until his death in September, 1852, when in his forty-third year. Reared a Methodist, he later embraced the Swedenborgan faith, and was one of the organizers of the new church in Chicago. While his business interests commanded the greater part of his time, he yet served in several local offices, and was one of the first town clerks of Elgin.
On the death of her husband, Mrs. Lovell took charge of the estate and handled it with ability and was enabled, though largely through her own exertions, to keep the family together and provide handsomely for her boys. A woman of good education, she taught for some time a private school in Elgin, and gave her sons their first lessons. Later they attended the public school, then the Elgin Academy, and finally entered the University of Michigan, at Ann Arbor. The mother accompanied them to that place, rented a house and remained with them until graduation. Her death occurred in Elgin in June, 1894, at the age of nearly eighty-eight years. Her memory is cherished not alone by the family but all who knew her in this life. Kind-hearted, benevolent and affectionate, her friends were among all classes of society. Among her benefactions was a handsome gift to the Elgin Academy of its manual training building, and a liberal donation to Sherman hospital.
Since early childhood Edward C. Lovell has been a citizen of Elgin. His life has been an open book, read of all men. During the dark days of the Civil war he enlisted and was commissioned adjutant of the One Hundred and Forty-first Illinois Volunteer Infantry and a few months after the expiration of that service was made captain of Company C, One Hundred and Fifty-third Illinois Volunteer Infantry, with which he served until the autumn of 1865, when the regiment was mustered out. The greater part of Captain Lovell's time while in the regiment was spent on detached service, chiefly as inspector-general on the staff of Gen. N. A. M. Dudley, and later on the staff of Gen. John E. Smith.
Before entering the service Mr. Lovell taught school for a time, and after his return he again took up school work, and in all gave the greater part of his time to teaching for about five years. Re-entering the University of Michigan in 1865, he pursued the prescribed course and in 1868 was graduated from the literary department. Years before this he had determined to enter the legal profession, and to that end read law with General John S. Wilcox, and after completing his college course in 1868 entered the law department of the University of Michigan, from which he graduated in 1870.
Returning to his home in Elgin immediately after his graduation, Mr. Lovell at once opened an office and engaged in practice. From the beginning he has been successful in securing clients and retaining their patronage. His merits as a lawyer Secured for him the nomination for the office of county judge in 1882, and he was duly elected. Four years afterwards he was renominated and again elected, filling the position in all eight years in a most satisfactory manner, Leaving the bench in 1890, he resumed the active practice of law, in which he is now busily engaged.
On the 30th of June, 1885, Judge Lovell was united in marriage with Miss Carrie G. Watres, of Scranton, Pennsylvania, daughter of Lewis S. and Harriet Gertrude (Hollister) Watres. Four children were born of this union - Gertrude Caroline, Lucy Coultas, Margaret Louise and Vincent Watres. The last named died in infancy, February 2, 1896. Subsequent the wife and mother departed this life, and was laid to rest beside her infant son. She was a woman of fine attainments, and was a member of the First Congregational church of Elgin.
Politically, the Judge is a Republican, and with that party has acted since attaining his majority. In its principles he firmly believes, and for its success he has given of his time and money. He has served as city attorney of Elgin, also its mayor, and in 1879 was elected and served a term in the legislature of the state. A friend of education, he is at present serving as president of the school board. As a lawyer his merits are recognized at home and abroad, and he is now local attorney for the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul Railway Company. His interest in army life has never been lost, and he is a member of Veteran post, No. 49, G. A. R., and the Illinois commandery of the Loyal Legion at Chicago. As a citizen he stands high in the estimation of the people.
Capt. Alexander Little
CAPTAIN ALEXANDER C. LITTLE, one of the leading attorneys of Aurora, was born in January, 1838, in Rome, Oneida county. New York, and is the son of John and Nancy (Rae) Little, both of whom are natives of Dumfriesshire, Scotland, and who are related to Thomas Carlyle and Edward Irving. They were married in Scotland, and came to the United States in the '30s, locating in Oneida county, New York, where the father purchased a farm near Rome, and carried on farming. In 1851 he came to Illinois, locating in Kane county, where he was engaged in farming. He died at Big Rock, in July, 1860. In religious belief he was a Presbyterian and in politics a Republican. He was the son of John Little, who was the son of John Little, a member of an old Scotch family of substance. Nancy Rae was the daughter of Benjamin and Agnes Rae, and also a member of the Presbyterian church. She died at her son's home in 1879. They were the parents of nine children, of whom our subject was the youngest son.
Alexander C. Little, our subject, attended the common schools until he was eighteen years of age and then began studying medicine with Dr. W. Danforth, of Joliet, a friend of the family. Later he entered the medical department of the Iowa College, at Keokuk, Iowa, from which he was graduated in 1858. For a year before he graduated he was a partner of Dr. Danforth.
After he left college he spent his time in the seminary in Aurora until 1862, when, the war being on, he enlisted in July of that year. He organized a company, but it was not mustered in and was disbanded. With fifteen of his men he went to Piano and enlisted there, joining Company K, One Hundred and Twenty-seventh Illinois Volunteer Infantry. His first service was at Camp Douglas, and Dr. Little was appointed orderly sergeant. The regiment remained in camp until November 20, when it was ordered to Memphis, Tennessee, and assigned to General Sherman's division, and with it remained until the close of the war.
From Memphis he went with the Chickasaw Bay expedition, and was in the fight in December. Later his command went to Arkansas Post, and was in that battle in which about five thousand prisoners were captured. From there they went to Vicksburg, and were under Grant at Young's Point. He was in that vicinity and in the siege until the surrender. While at Arkansas Post the captain of the company was taken sick and resigned, and our subject was appointed to his place. After Vicksburg they were ordered to Chattanooga, and were all through that campaign. After the relief of Chattanooga they were sent up to relieve Burnside, at Knoxville, from which place they returned to Larkinsville, and went into camp, while Sherman was organizing his Georgia campaign. At the battle of Kenesaw Mountain he was in command of the regiment; the colonel pleading sickness and the major withdrawing, he was put in command by General Giles A. Smith, and with his command was in the hottest of the fight. After the day was won he received the compliments of the general for his gallant services. From then on he was in the campaign until the fall of Atlanta. In the engagement of August 3, 1864, at Atlanta, he was wounded while in command of the left wing of the regiment. Colonel Curtis lay back with his regiment and would not come out, so Captain Little, in whose valor and capacity to lead there was no question, was called to take charge, and as the regiment was marching out for battle he was wounded. The colonel of this regiment was finally reinstated through political pressure and joined his regiment at Goldsboro, North Carolina.
After he was wounded Captain Little went north, and later returned to Chattanooga, where he was ordered to organize, among the detachments of the Fifteenth Army Corps, a command and go to the relief of General Ammen at Knoxville. His command consisted of six hundred men. He then returned to Louden and took command there, guarding the bridge. From there he went to Cleveland, Tennessee, and was assigned to the staff of General Baughton, where he remained until he rejoined his regiment at Goldsboro. He was aide-decamp on General Baughton's staff. On their way they had a fight with General Bragg, at Kingston, North Carolina. After he arrived at Goldsboro the provisional division was disbanded, and he was put into the Second Missouri Engineer Corps, Army of the Tennessee. In this position he served until he arrived in Washington, when, on the 5th of June, 1865, he was mustered out.
After his discharge Captain Little returned to Aurora, and feeling rusty in literary matters, after his long service in the army, he entered Antioch College to review his studies. He entered the senior class, and remained there for about one year, when he returned to Aurora and began the study of law with the Hon. Charles Wheaton. He was admitted to the bar in 1867, and began at once his practice by opening an office at Aurora, where he has since continued. He soon came to the front, and is one of the successful attorneys of the Kane county bar. His first partner was Hon. B. F. Parks, who remained with him in 1873-4. His next partner was L. Isham White, who was with him about one year, and was succeeded by G. W. Avery, that partnership continuing five years. Then came Ira S. Smith, who is his present partner. Captain Little is a close student of law, and is regarded as an able counselor and pleader.
Captain Little was married January 18, 1877, to Miss Bonnie B. Snow, daughter of Prof. Snow, who was a Massachusetts man by birth. They have an adopted son, Leonard Rae. Mrs. Little is a member of the Episcopal church, in which she takes an active part. In politics Captain Little is a Republican, and in 1869 served as alderman of the Eleventh ward. In 1874 he was elected mayor of the city, serving one term, and during his incumbency he organized the public library, which has become one of the beneficial institutions of the city. Previous to his election as mayor he served as city attorney, and has served one term subsequently. Fraternally, he is a member of Aurora post, No. 20, G. A. R. As a citizen he is progressive, and is ever ready to do his part for the best interests of the community in which he lives.
THOMAS W. LEAKE, senior member of the well-known firm of Leake & Gulig, of St. Charles, is one of the most active and enterprising businessmen of that place. He is a native of Illinois, born in DuPage county, September 25, 1851, and is a son of Rawson H. Leake, and grandson of William Leake, who spent his entire life in New York. The father was born October 27, 1820, in Dutchess county, New York, where he grew to manhood and married Mary Ann Gorham, a sister of J. R. Gorham, of St. Charles, whose sketch appears elsewhere in this volume. In 1850 they emigrated to Illinois and located in DuPage county, where Mr. Leake first purchased one hundred and sixty acres and later two hundred and fifty-five acres, operating the same until 1875. He soon transformed the wild land into highly cultivated fields, and the fine farm which he developed is still in the possession of the Leake family. Removing to St. Charles in 1875, he bought residence property here and lived retired until his death, which occurred May 30, 1893. His estimable wife still survives him and is a resident of St. Charles. In their family are only two children - Thomas W.; and Emogene, wife of F. P. Haviland, a resident of St. Charles and a business man of Chicago.
On the home farm in DuPage county Thomas W. Leake passed his boyhood and youth, and his education, which was begun in the public schools of the neighborhood, was supplemented by a course in Wheaton College. After his father left the farm he took charge of the place, and was successfully engaged in agricultural pursuits - general farming, stock raising and dairying for fourteen years. At the end of that period he rented the farm and moved to St. Charles, where he formed a partnership with his brother-in-law, F. P. Haviland, buying out an established hardware business. Together they conducted the business for three years, and then Mr. Leake purchased the other's interest, being alone for the same length of time. The present partnership was then formed, and the firm disposed of the hardware business in 1898, and now conducts a general machine shop. They have established an enviable reputation for good goods and fair dealing, and this fact has insured their success.
On the 15th of December, 1875, in DuPage county, Mr. Leake married Miss Almira L. Gorham, who was born, reared and educated in that county, and is a daughter of J. R. Gorham, now living retired in St. Charles. Two children grace this union: Bertie and Myrtle, who are both attending the east side school, of St. Charles.
Reared a Democrat, Mr. Leake supported the men and measures of that party until the fall of 1896, when he voted for McKinley. He has never aspired to office. Socially, he affiliates with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and the Knights of the Globe; and, religiously, he and his wife are consistent members of the Methodist Episcopal church, of St. Charles, with which he is officially connected. They have a pleasant home in St. Charles, where they delight to entertain their many friends.
FRANK H. BERNER is a young and enterprising farmer, residing on section 26, Hampshire township. His grandfather, Ludwig Berner, was a native of Germany, a farmer by occupation, a Lutheran in religion, and there lived and died January 12, 1853, at the age of sixty years. He served in the German army against the great Napoleon. His wife, was Mary Dabor, also a native of Germany, who there died in 1888, at the age of seventy-two years.
John Frederich Christian Berner, the son of Ludwig and Mary Berner, was born m the village of Dorov, near the city of Mueringen, Prussia, January 8, 1837. He attended the public schools until the age of fourteen, when he engaged in farm work until he came to America. Previous to leaving his native country he was united in marriage April 26, 1863, in the church of Nuering, to Minnie Groth, born in the village of Wonetak, and daughter of Peter and Rachel (Mueller) Groth. The young couple started the next day for America, sailing from Hamburg, May 1, 1863, in the good ship, Sonna, Captain Bull, and landed at Quebec, Canada, June 20, following. From Quebec, they came directly to Illinois, locating at Huntley, McHenry county, where he secured work on the railroad, continuing that occupation two and a half years. He then rented a farm in McHenry county, near Huntley, which he operated one year, then rented another farm for the same length of time, after which he moved across the line into Hampshire township, Kane county, and purchased eighty acres of land on section 26, which he at once began to improve. Later he bought forty acres on section 34, and one hundred and forty acres on section He rebuilt the house, erected a barn and spent five hundred dollars for a good well. He has now two hundred and sixty acres, divided into two farms, both of which are under a high state of cultivation, and which he rents to his two sons. In 1892 he built a neat brick house in the village of Hampshire, planted shade trees and. vines, and has a most comfortable, homelike place. He is a member of the Lutheran church, of which his wife is also a member, and in politics is a Republican. While residing in the old country, he served three years in the German cavalry. To John F. C. Berner and wife seven children were born, as follows: Mary, wife of William Kruse, a prosperous young farmer of Elgin township; Fred, who married Emma Thies, a daughter of Fred Thies, a prominent farmer of Plato township; Frank, our subject; Emma, who married John Getzelman, a farmer in Hampshire; George, who died at the age of eight months; Helen, living at Burlington, Illinois; and Christian, employed on the farm with his brother, Frank. Frank H. Berner was born on the farm where he now resides, June 14, 1869. He attended the public schools of Hampshire township, until about sixteen years of age, during which time he assisted in the cultivation of the farm. He continued to reside with his father until the latter retired in 1892. On the 22nd of March, 1892, in Hampshire township, he married Anna M. Getzelman, a daughter of Michael J. Getzelman, a sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this work. By this union there is one child, Edna May, born January 25, 1893.
On his marriage, Mr. Berner took charge of the home farm, which he rents from his father, and which comprises one hundred and twenty acres of splendid farming land. He engages in general and dairy farming, and milks thirty cows, the product of which he ships to Chicago. Religiously, he and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal church, and, politically, he is a Republican. An energetic, progressive and industrious young farmer, he is highly regarded in the community of which he has been a life-long resident.
REUBEN TUCK, a retired coal merchant of Elgin, is of foreign birth, but Kane' county has no more patriotic or loyal citizen. For many years he was prominently identified with her business interests, first as a farmer, and later as a coal dealer, and having met with excellent success in his undertakings, he is now enabled to lay aside all business cares, spending his declining years in ease and retirement.
Mr. Tuck was born in England December 13, 1818, a son of Thomas and Elizabeth (Molton) Tuck, who spent their entire lives in that country, the father, a farmer by occupation, dying when our subject was only two years old. The mother survived him many years, passing away in 1848. Both were devout members of the Methodist church, and their home was the stopping place of the itinerant preachers. The father erected the church where they attended service, and his wife took an active and prominent part in all church work, regularly attended services, and was a grand, good woman. Our subject is the only survivor in their family of ten children, and, outside of his own family, he has only one nephew and one niece now living. The latter had three children, Nellie, Mollie, and a son, who formerly lived in London, but now live in South Africa. The mother, Mrs. Harriet Crispe, visited her children in that country with the hope of benefiting her health, and there died in the arms of one of her daughters. Her husband, Thomas Crispe, is a jeweler of London. In 1837 our subject and his sister Mary came to America, but subsequently she returned with her husband to England, where she died in 1877.
The only opportunity Reuben Tuck had of attending school was when between the ages of five and seven years, after which he worked on a farm in his native land. He is, however, a well-informed man of good business qualifications. At the age of fourteen he began learning the tailor's trade, which he successfully followed in England until nineteen, when he bade good-bye to home and friends and sailed for the New World, which he reached after a long and stormy voyage of forty-one days. He located in Luzerne county, Pennsylvania, where he engaged in tailoring and later at farming. In 1841 he returned to England on a visit, making the voyage both ways on the same vessel, being thirty-one days in going and twenty-five days in returning.
In 1845 Mr. Tuck emigrated to Kane county, Illinois, by wagon, and the journey of eight hundred miles occupied thirty-one and a half days, while the expenses were about a dollar a day for himself, wife and three children. He landed in Kane county October 23,1845 with seventy-five dollars in silver, and in Plato township pre-empted one hundred and sixty acres of government land, which he later purchased, and to which he subsequently added until he had three hundred and sixty acres of valuable prairie land, and forty acres of timber. This he sold on coming to Elgin, in 1865, and the following year embarked in business as a coal dealer, conducting the first coal office in that city. He was thus engaged until 1883, when he retired from active business life and is now enjoying the fruits of his former toil.
In December, 1838, Mr. Tuck was united in marriage with Ellen Fletcher, who was born in England, November 25, 1816, a daughter of William Fletcher, a weaver, in England, who emigrated from that country to the United States and took up his residence in Pennsylvania, and followed farming. The children born of this union were as follows: Elizabeth, born in 1839, died January 31, 1875; William H., born March 20, 1841, enlisted as a private, during the Civil war, in Company K, Fifty-second Illinois Volunteer Infantry, in the fall of 1861, and was wounded at the battle of Shiloh. He never recovered, dying in the hospital at St. Louis April 26, 1862. George Elmer, born January 5, 1844, married Mina Perry and engaged in business until his death, which occurred May 2, 1883. He left two children, Bertha N. and Myrtie B.
Sarah Emma, born September 3, 1847, is the wife of J. G. Tuttle, of Elgin, and has one child living, Amy; Joanna, born January 12, 1851, died October 4, 1854; Charles Reuben, born December 29, 1854, died September 11, 1855; Charlotte, born April 4, 1857, died October 2, 1857. The mother of these children, who was a consistent member of the Congregational church, died March 10, 1881. Mr. Tuck was married September 18, 1883, to Miss Ann Gimbert, an English lady, who was a member of the Methodist Episcopal church of Elgin, and died April 23, 1886. On the 4th of November, 1886, Mr. Tuck married, for his third wife, Mrs. Lucinda B. (Savory) Rose, widow of P. T. Rose, of Lake county, Illinois, by whom she had three children, namely: Mary, now the wife of E. J. Locke, of Hampshire, Kane county, and the mother of two children, Leslie and Inez; Grant E., of Chicago, who married Bessie Mann, and has one son, Le Roy Mann; and Carrie C, a milliner, who lives with her mother and our subject in Elgin.
Mr. and Mrs. Tuck are both earnest and faithful members of the First Methodist Episcopal church of Elgin, and take a prominent part in its work. Socially, he at one time affiliated with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, while politically he was originally a Whig, and is now identified with the Republican party. He is one of Elgin's honored and valued citizens, his upright and honorable career having won for him the confidence and high regard of all with whom he has come in contact either in business or social life.
JACOB E. SALFISBERG, junior member of the firm of Spiker & Salfisberg, manufacturers of artificial stone, sidewalks and paving, is a representative of the younger business men of Aurora. He was born in Naperville, Illinois, January 18, 1872, and is the son of Jacob and Anna (Salfisberg) Salfisberg, both of whom are natives of Switzerland, born near Berne, the capitol. About 1849, when a young man, his father came to this country, in company with what was later his wife's parents. He was a miller by trade, and on coming to this country worked for Mr. Parker, in his mill at Oswego, Illinois. After being thus employed for some years, he came to Aurora, and burned lime for his brother, Christian.
In 1867, he moved to Naperville, where he remained until 1889, when he sold his interest there, and returned to Aurora, where he has since lived a retired life. To Jacob and Anna Salfisberg, ten children were born, of whom eight are living. In order of birth they were as follows: Fred, who died at the age of two years; Emma, wife of John Nicholas, by whom she had two children, John and Frank, died in 1889, at the age of twenty-seven years; Amanda, wife of W. C. Daniels, by whom she has one child, Viola May now resides at South Evanston, Illinois; Charles A. married Clara B. Hair, and has three children - LeRoy L., Gracie E. and Nellie M., and they reside on a farm in Kendall county, Illinois; Edith E., wife of Thomas Harding, by whom she has one living child, Donald J., now resides in Aurora; Annie E., wife of Richard Hair, by whom she has two children, Ralph R. and Flossie F.; Jacob E., our subject; Edwin A., a fireman on the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy railroad, residing at home; Frank O. and Maude May, at home.
The subject of this sketch was educated at Naperville, and there took a business course in the college, from which he graduated in the class of '88. After leaving school he worked for a short time in his father's quarry, and later was employed in the general office of the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad Company. After passing an examination, he was employed as a mail carrier in Aurora for several years. He was then in the shoe business for a short time and later in the dress goods department of the wholesale house of J. V. Farwell, Chicago. In March, 1896, he purchased an interest in his present business, in which he has build up a good and substantial trade. His work is of the very best, and he tries to give satisfaction in every respect. Much of the artificial stone work of Aurora and neighboring towns is made by the firm of Spiker & Salfisberg, whose reputation is of the very best. The fact that the work has been done by this firm is a guarantee of its good quality. As a business man, he is recognized as among the most progressive in the city. Fraternally, he is a member of Ben Hur lodge, No. 870, I.O.O.F., Aurora, and is a trustee of the lodge and has held other offices. He is an attendant of the Congregational church.
HENRY BRIGHAM ADAMS, a representative of one of the old families of Aurora, and the leading coal dealer in the city, was born at Fort Ann, Washington county, New York, March 21, 1857, and is the son of Charles Henry and Harriet (Coleman) Adams, the former being a native of Washington county, New York, born June 17, 1816. Charles Henry Adams was the son of Wright Adams and Catherine (Rainey) Adams, who were the parents of Wright, Guerdon, Anna and Margaret. Wright Adams and wife died in Washington county. Henry B. Adams is the tenth descendant through the Coleman branch from Elder William Brewster, who came over in the Mayflower.
Charles Henry Adams, the father of our subject, was at one time a farmer in his native state, and also engaged in merchandising and various other pursuits. For a time he was captain of a packet line, was station agent at Fort Ann, and at another time served as deputy sheriff of Washington county. While residing in Troy, New York, to which he removed, he served as constable. He was a member of the Baptist church, and was a consistent believer. In the summer of 1867, he came to Aurora, and purchased a home at the corner of New York street and Lincoln avenue, which is still in the family. After locating in Aurora, he was engaged in the real estate business, and was justice of the peace for about twelve years. In early life he was a Whig, and later a Republican. He was one of the leaders of the Park Place Baptist church, and took a great interest in church matters. He superintended the construction of that edifice. A man of firm disposition, social nature, and benevolent, his death, which occurred March 18, 1897, was mourned not alone by his family, but by the community as well. His wife was also a native of Fort Ann, New York. Her father, Noah Coleman, was a farmer by occupation, and he and his wife, Mary Ann, spent their last days at Fort Ann. They had four children, Edward, Horace, Ruth and Harriet, all living except Ruth. Edward is living at Fort Ann, and Horace 6n the old family homestead, where Ruth died unmarried. Mrs. Harriet Adams is living in Aurora, on the place first purchased by her husband on their removal to that city. She was born February 19, 1826. Religiously she is a member of the Baptist church. Her children are as follows: Eudora, now the wife of Dr. H. G. Gabel, of Aurora; Roma L., now the wife of J. O. Mason, of Aurora; and Henry B., of this sketch. Fraternally Charles H. Adams was an Odd Fellow, and was a member of that organization for over fifty years. The Rebecca degree was conferred upon him by Vice-President Colfax, in Ohio, and he was one of the first who took this degree.
Our subject was ten years of age when he accompanied his parents to Aurora. In the public schools of that city, he received his education, and at sixteen began the study of bookkeeping and telegraphy and as soon as he was proficient in these branches, he engaged with the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad Company, at Hinsdale, where he remained about one year, was then sent to Galesburg, in the supply department, and there remained about three years, when he was transferred to the Iowa division, at Albia and Osceola. He quit the railroad business on account of his health, and went west for a time, but on his return he engaged with the Iowa Central Railroad Company, with which he was connected about one year at Dillon, Iowa, as station agent. He went then to the Chicago & Alton Railroad Company, for a while at Brighton Park, when he returned to Aurora, and went into the supply department of the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad Company, but only remained with the company about one year. He then engaged in the manufacture of brooms for about two years, when he sold out and later went into the office of the Chicago, Wilmington & Vermillion Coal Company, as bookkeeper. The old agent of that company, Mr. Wood, died about one year later, and Mr. Adams succeeded him as agent. This was in 1889, and he has since continued as such agent. The company carry a full line of hard coal and wood, together with the soft coal, which is the product of their own mines. They sell at wholesale to dealers and manufacturers. By his attention to the business Mr. Adams has increased the sales of the company from year to year, and has a large and increasing trade. The office of the company is at 146 Spring street, near the viaduct.
On the 23d of November, 1880, at Mt. Pleasant, Iowa, Mr. Adams was united in marriage with Miss Minnie B. Walker, daughter of Harry D. and Belle (Redman) Walker. She is a native of Mt. Pleasant, and was married in the house where she was born. She was one of four children, the others being Charles D., Hattie and William; the latter died when about nineteen years of age. Charles married and engaged in the hardware business at Mt. Pleasant, Iowa. Hattie married H. J. Laubenfels, and is also living in Mt. Pleasant, where the parents are also living. The father has been the grand keeper of records and seal of the Knights of Pythias of Iowa for twenty-four years and still holds this important position. Mr. and Mrs. Adams have one child, Roma Hattie, born August 26, 1881. The family are all members of the Park Place Baptist church, of which Mr. Adams is treasurer.
Fraternally, Mr. Adams is an Odd Fellow, being a member of Waubansie lodge, No. 45, and of Aurora lodge, No. 390, Knights of Pythias. Socially, he is a member of the Aurora City Club, and in politics is a Republican. Mr. Adams has a comfortable home at No. 459 New York street, corner of State street, where he prefers to spend hours, not devoted to business in the enjoyment of life. By strict attention to business, and by the conscientious discharge of all duties imposed upon him, he has been successful in life, and has won the respect and esteem of all.
FRANK B. TAZEWELL is one of the young and enterprising farmers of Plato township, residing on section 25. He is a native of Kane county, born in Rutland township, January 23, 1865, and there grew to manhood, receiving his education at the country schools and Elgin Academy, supplemented by a business course at Drew's Business College in Elgin. He remained at home assisting his father in the cultivation of the farm until twenty-seven years of age, when he married, and later bought his present farm, the northeast corner of section 25, Plato township. It is a well improved place, with all the modern conveniences for dairy farming, including windmill and large barn sufficient to shelter about forty head of cattle. All the milk produced in the place he ships to Chicago.
James B. Tazewell, the father of our subject, who is engaged in farming on section 26, Rutland township, was born in London, England, January 12, 1838, and came to America in 1844, with his parents, James and Rachel (Brewer) Tazewell. He was the eldest of three children. In Rutland township, he married Mary Jane Moore, born in Chicago, January 28, 1838,. and a daughter of William and Margaret (Cochran) Moore. By this union there were six children as follows: James M., farming on section 26, Plato township; Elizabeth, wife of William R. Fuller, a retired farmer of Elgin; Margaret, wife of Henry P. Kenyon, of Elgin township; Frank B., our subject; David, engaged in farming with his father; and William H., farming on section 7, Elgin township.
After remaining at home, as already stated, Mr. Tazewell was united in marriage in Hampshire township, April 10, 1895, to Miss Lou E. Doty, born in that township, and a daughter of Edward Doty, born in Chautauqua county, New York, March 8, 1838, and who came west about 1853, and later purchased a farm on section 23, Hampshire township. He was the son of Elijah Doty, who attained the age of seventy years, and who married Polly Hodges, a native of New York, whose mother was Mary French of the same state. Edward Doty married Betsey Pingree, born at Pingree Grove, and daughter of Francis Pingree, who married Lydia Patchen. Her father settled first in Illinois, afterwards went to Iowa, where he died at an advanced age. The Pingree family are descended from Moses Pingree, a native of England, who married Abigail Clement, and died at Ipswich, Massachusetts, in 1641. His son, Moses Pingree, Jr., married Sarah Converse, and their son, Aaron, married Ann Pickard, and their son, John, married Faith Jewett, and to them Andrew was born, and to him and Abiah Straw, his wife, Francis Pingree was born. He was the father of Mrs. Doty. Mrs. Tazewell is the eldest of three children born to Edward Doty. To our subject and wife one child has been born, Lynn Edward, born August 27, 1896.
BACK TO BIOGRAPHY INDEX
Return to the Main Index Page for Kane County