BIOGRAPHIES published in
the "Biographical Record of Kane County, Illinois"
Originally printed by the S.J. Clarke Publishing Company, Chicago, 1898
All biographies submitted by K. Torp
JOSIAH A. FINK, who is now living a retired life in the village of Kaneville, but who for many years was engaged in agricultural pursuits, and who is the owner of a well-improved farm of two hundred acres adjoining the village of Kaneville, came to Kane county in 1851. He was born in Madison county, New York, November 16, 1814. His father, John I. Fink, was born in Montgomery county, New York, as was also his grandfather, John Fink, while his great-grandfather, William Fink, was a native of New York, but of German parentage. The latter was in the French and Indian war of 1755, and for many years there was in the family a sword which was carried by him in those wars. John Fink was a minute man of the Revolution, and was in the battle of Oristany, in which one of his brothers was also engaged, and where he was wounded, from the effects of which he later died.
John Fink, the grandfather of our subject, moved with his family to Madison county, New York, in 1806 and was among the pioneers of that county, where he purchased land, which was covered by heavy growth of timber, and which he cleared and opened up a farm. His son, John I. Fink, there married Nancy Anguish, a native of Pennsylvania, who was also a pioneer of Madison county, where she, removed with her parents. They became the parents of four sons and three daughters, of whom our subject and the three daughters alone survive. After engaging in farming for some years in Madison county, John Fink removed with his family to Onondago county, New York, and located on the Seneca river, near Baldwinsville, where he spent the last years of his life, engaged in agriculture. His wife survived him a number of years.
Josiah A. Fink grew to manhood in Madison county, New York, where he received a fair common-school education. He remained at home assisting his father in carrying on the home farm until after attaining his majority. He has been three times married, his first union being Nancy Norris, who died in Onondago county, New York, leaving two children, Marilda, now the wife of Azel Howard, of De Kalb county, Illinois, and Nancy, wife of Captain Wells, of Sabbona, Illinois. After the death of his first wife Mr. Fink returned to Madison county and married Mary Ann Norris, who was his first wife's sister. She came west with her husband and died in Kane county. By that union there were two children, one of whom died in childhood.
The other, Norris, married, and resides in Iowa, where he is engaged in farming. In 1859 Mr. Fink married Miss Louisa Coy, who was born in Chenango county, New York, where she was reared and educated. She was a successful teacher in New York, and also in Kane county, before her marriage. By this union there are two living children-Frankie, now the wife of William Frederick, a farmer of Kaneville township, who operates the old Fink homestead, and Julia M., who was educated at Sugar Grove and the Dixon Normal School, graduating from the latter institution. She is now a successful teacher in the public schools. One daughter died in childhood.
In 1851 Mr. Fink sold his farm in New York and came to Kane county, Illinois, where he joined his wife's father. He here bought a. farm of two hundred acres, the present homestead, of which about one hundred acres was under cultivation, and on which was a small frame house. He at once began the improvement of the place, and has since built a good and substantial residence, good barns and other outbuildings. On that farm he continued to reside for thirty-two years, when he rented the place and moved to the village of Kaneville, where he purchased residence property, which he later repaired and remodeled, making a very comfortable home, and where he has since continued to reside. A life of industry and toil has enabled him to spend his declining days in ease and comfort. . Politically, Mr. Fink was originally a Democrat, but on account of his liberty-loving views he united with the Republican party on its organization, voting for its first presidential candidate, John C. Fremont. He was elected and served one term as supervisor, and also served four years as one of the township trustees. He was once elected justice of the peace, but would not qualify. In the various conventions of his party he has often served as a delegate. For years Mr. Fink has been a member of the Baptist church, while his wife is of the Congregational faith. His residence of forty-seven years in Kane county has brought him prominently before the people, and he is well and favorably known throughout the county.
JOHN F. JANECKE, JR., dealer in hardware and tinware, Hampshire, Illinois, was born in Hanover township, Cook county, Illinois, near the city of Elgin, September 4, 1874, and is the youngest of four children born to John F. Janecke, who was born in the city of Lenzen, province of West Preugnitz, Prussia, November 4, 1830, and who came to America at the age of thirty-one years. He was the son of John G. and Elizabeth Janecke, both of whom were also natives of the same province.
John F. Janecke, Sr., sailed from Hamburg, January 1, 1852, on the English sailing vessel, Charles Clark, and was eight weeks in making the voyage across the Atlantic. The ship was wrecked on the coast of Newfoundland, and the passengers and crew were three days and nights without food or shelter on a bleak coast. He saw a friend and companion engulfed in the icy waves. The wreck was in daylight or all would have been lost. There was a heavy fog and land was not discovered until the ship was nearly on the rock. Fishermen from St. John came to their rescue, and they were taken to that city where they remained three days. From there they were sent to Quebec, and everything having been lost, free transportation was provided to Chicago for those desiring it. On his arrival Mr. Janecke secured work on the railroad, at which he was employed for two years. He then engaged with an ice company in Chicago, with whom he remained ten years. In 1864, he went to Hanover township, Cook county, and purchased sixty acres of land, to which he added from time to time until his farm comprised two hundred and sixty acres. Success crowned his efforts and to-day, in addition to his farm property, he owns several business buildings in Elgin and also in the town of Hampshire.
John F. Janecke Jr., was reared on the farm in Hanover township and attended the district school, and also took a short course in Drew's Business College, at Elgin. At the age of seventeen he left home and began life for himself. He first secured a position in the tinshop of W. J. Meachem, in Elgin, where he remained eight months and then went to Hampshire, working for Chapman & Reid eight months. On the 1st of October, 1891, he purchased the interest of Mr. Reid and in February, 1896, bought Mr. Chapman's interest and is now sole proprietor of the store. He keeps a large stock of general shelf and heavy hardware, farming implements and machinery, barbed wire and wire fencing of various kinds, and has a large trade in a special pattern of milk cans, disposing of twelve hundred per year. He keeps two tinners busy the greater part of the year. His rapid increase in business has been such as to require additional room, and he now occupies a store building 28x125 feet, two stories in height. The building is owned by his father.
Mr. Janecke married Mary Melms, a daughter of Charles and Christina (Richter) Melms, a sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this book. One child, Lavoy, has been born to them. Fraternally Mr. Janecke is a member of Hampshire lodge, A. F. & A. M., and of Elgin chapter, R. A. M. He is also a member of the Modern Woodmen of America, and the Knights of the Maccabees. In politics he is a Republican. As a business man he is energetic and enterprising, and as a citizen is ever willing to do his part in building up and advancing the interest of his adopted city and county.
It is said that the poet is born, not made; but the successful lawyer has to be both born and made-made by close application, earnest effort, by perseverance and resolute purpose. The abilities with which nature has endowed him must be strengthened and developed by use. Only by merit can the lawyer gain a pre-eminent position. One of the successful lawyers of Kane county, whose name heads this sketch, resides at No. 75 South Fourth street, with an office in the Evans building, Aurora. He was born January 2, 1852, on his father's farm, four miles north-west of Newark, in Fox township, Kendall county, Illinois, and is the son of Nels O.and Margaret (Fritz) Cassem, the former a native of Norway, born June 5, 1829, and the latter of Grundy county, Illinois.
When a youth of seventeen, Nels O. Cassem left his native land for America, accompanied by some friends, and reached the point of his destination, Kendall county, Illinois, a few weeks later. He soon found employment, and on reaching maturity entered into contracts for grading the bed of the Rock Island railroad, then in course of construction from Morris to Seneca. He was entirely self educated, never
having attended school, but was possessed of strong common sense and natural ability. He had a strong body, possessed great power of physical endurance and knew how to work. He soon made money, and upon the completion of his contracts was enabled to purchase twelve hundred acres of land in Kendall county, for which he paid the government price of one dollar and twenty-five cents per acre. To this he has added from time to time, and is now the possessor of estates in Kendall, Grundy, LaSalle and Livingston counties, aggregating more than four thousand acres. All these farms are well improved and rank among the best in the state. He has given great attention to stock raising for the markets, and is still residing on the old homestead, where he has lived for more than half a century. Possessed of keen business instincts and indomitable perseverance, he has accumulated great wealth.
The mother of the subject of this sketch died August 28, 1872, aged forty-five years, eight months and five days, when Randall Cassem was twenty years of age. As a slight token of the love and affection which he bore to his dearly beloved mother, and of his reverence for all her virtues as a mother and friend, he directs a special mention of her here. In remembrance of all the unbounded kindness to him in his younger days by his mother, he thinks of her and requests that space be given for this to be said in her behalf. Mr. Cassem of his mother said: "She left to me the memory of her love. She is the gentlest memory of our family. The memory of our mother is the strongest, tenderest tie that binds our hearts together."
The family of Nels and Margaret Cassem consists of five children, as follows: Randall, the subject of this sketch; Olive Jane, born September 10, 1853, the wife of O. E. Osmondsen, a stock-raiser and farmer of Seward township, Kendall county, Illinois, by whom she has two children now living- Emily, born September 27, 1888, and Enor Nesley, born January 11, 1891; Margaret, born March 16,1859,the wife of O. M. Olson, a capitalist of Aurora, by whom she has two children-Mabel Edith, born October 12, 1887, and Hazel, born February 18, 1891; Margaret was named after her mother, and bears her name in token of her. One of the finest houses in Aurora, Illinois, now in the course of construction at 127 South Lake street, at this date, June 1, 1898, will be the home of Mr. and Mrs. Olson when completed.
Oscar Edwin, another son, was born March 18, 1857. He owns an extensive stock ranch of twelve hundred and thirty-three acres on the James river, three miles northeast of Mitchell, South Dakota. He married Dora Krom, of Ossian, Winneshiek county, Iowa, who was born October 23, 1867, and they have three children. The oldest, a boy named Randall Nelson, who was named after and in memory of his uncle and grandfather, was born September 3, 1886. The next younger, a boy named Loren Clement, was born July 17, 1891. The youngest, a little girl named Thelma Dorine, was born October 13, 1897. All are living at home with their parents and attending the public schools of Mitchell. Anna, another daughter of N. O. Cassem, resides in Chicago, Illinois.
Randall Cassem spent his childhood and early youth working on the farm from the time he was able to handle an axe or hold the plow, and in the winter gathering what instruction the rude district school of the
period could afford, until he was fifteen years of age, then attended Fowler's Institute, an academy at Newark, Illinois, remaining there two years. Professor A. J. Anderson was principal of the school at first, and later Professor J. R. Burns. He then attended the State Normal School at Normal, Illinois, for one year, to which he was appointed through the influence of W. S. Coy, then county superintendent of schools of Kendall county. He taught school in this county for one year, then entered the law department of Michigan University, at Ann Arbor, Michigan, remaining there over two years, graduating March 25, 1874. Subsequently he passed a rigid examination at Detroit, Michigan, was admitted to the bar March 26, 1874, and was licensed to practice law in that state. He afterward read law in the office of John A. Gilliam, at Yorkville, Kendall county, Illinois, where he continued until he secured a license from the supreme court of Illinois to practice law in this state. This he obtained September 10, 1874. September 22, 1874, he settled down to practice his profession at Yorkville, Illinois, and carried on a general law practice there most successfully until April, 1887.
Removing to Aurora the same month, Mr. Cassem purchased his present elegant home, at No. 75 South Fourth street, and established a law office in the Schoeberlein Block. He afterwards removed to the Mercantile Block and became the law partner of Senator George E. Bacon, under the firm name of Bacon & Cassem. This partnership was continued until failing health caused the retirement of Mr. Bacon, who shortly afterwards died. Mr. Cassem then removed his office to the Evans Building, where he has since continued his practice alone. He practices in all the courts of the state-circuit, appellate and supreme and during all the years of his practice he has held the governor's commission as a notary public. While a resident of Yorkville he was city attorney three years, but apart from this he has neither held nor sought public office, his law and large property interests, including the legal management of his father's extensive estates, requiring all his attention.
Mr. Cassem was married April 11, 1882, to Miss Maggie Adelia Casler, daughter of Robert and Jeannette Casler, her father then being an extensive farmer near Piano, Kendall county, Illinois. Both parents are now deceased. Our subject and wife are attendants of the People's church, Aurora. In social circles they occupy a high position, and both are held in the highest esteem in the community. In all matters calculated to advance the best interests of his adopted city, Mr. Cassem is always found at the front. Politically, he is like all the members of his family, a stanch Republican, but is an independent thinker on all public questions, forming opinions of his own, which, as a rule, coincide with the party to which he has attached himself.
CHARLES AMES, Kaneville, Illinois, who, after a long and busy life, is now living in retirement, has been a resident of Kane county since 1855. He was born in West Rutland, Vermont, May 11, 1819, and comes of good old Revolutionary stock, his grandfather, Elijah Ames, a native of Connecticut, being a soldier in the war for independence. He removed to Massachusetts, where Avery Ames, the father of our subject, was born. From Massachusetts the family moved to Vermont when Avery Ames was a child of eight years. He there grew to manhood, and succeeded to the old homestead, which comprised over four hundred acres of land. In due time, he married Annie Ames, a daughter of Elijah Ames, who was also a pioneer of Vermont. Of their family of four sons and two daughters, who grew to mature years, Charles and his brother Avery are the only survivors. On the old farm he reared his family, and there remained until his death, at the age of eighty-eight years. His wife survived him about ten years, and passed away about her ninetieth year.
Charles Ames was fifth in order of birth, and grew to manhood on his father's farm, receiving a good common-school education. He remained under the parental roof until he attained his majority, when he began life for himself. He was married in Castleton, Rutland county, Vermont, March 8, 1843, to Adelia Ward, a native of Fairhaven, Rutland county, Vermont, and a daughter of Rev. Chauncey Ward, a minister of the Methodist Episcopal church, and also a pioneer of the Green Mountain state. Mrs. Ames was educated at Castleton Seminary, and was a teacher before her marriage.
Mr. and Mrs. Ames commenced their domestic life on the homestead of his father, and there remained for ten years. In 1855 they came to Kane county, Illinois, where some of their Vermont friends had preceded them. Soon after coming he purchased a farm of eighty acres, two miles north of the village of Kaneville, on which there was a small house, and about forty acres of the land having been broken. To the improvement of the place he bent his entire energies, and after a short time purchased forty acres adjoining. The old house in due time was remodeled by additions, and became a modern building, and good barns and other outbuildings were erected. On the place he continued to reside for twenty-six years, and was reputed one of the most enterprising and successful farmers of the township. In 1882 he rented the farm and moved into the village, where he purchased residence property, and has since continued to reside.
Mr. and Mrs. Ames have five children. Annette is the wife of Dr. H. B. Osborn, of Kalamazoo, Michigan. Daniel C. was married and resides in Homer, Nebraska, where he is engaged in farming. Edward is a practicing physician and surgeon and resides in Kalamazoo, Michigan. Charles S. is a successful business man residing in Iowa. Avery M. resides in De Kalb county, Illinois, where he is engaged in farming. The mother of these children passed away July 12, 1896. She was a noble Christian woman, a member of the Methodist Episcopal church, and died in the full assurance of faith. The family were patriotic during the war for the union. The son, Daniel C, served as a soldier in the Fifty-second Regiment, Illinois Volunteer Infantry; Dr. Osborne was a surgeon in the army, and served as post surgeon at Vicksburg for one year after the close of the war; Avery Ames, a brother of our subject, served in a New York regiment.
Politically Mr. Ames was originally a Whig, casting his first presidential ballot in 1840 for William Henry Harrison, and continuing to act with that party until its final dissolution, after the campaign of 1852. He then united with the Republican party, voting for Fremont in 1856 and for every presidential nominee of the party, up to and including William McKinley. The only offices ever held by him were those of high-way commissioner and a member of the school board. He was formerly a member of the Congregational church and later a member of the Methodist Episcopal church, in which he was an active worker for many years, serving as trustee and steward, and was also active in Sunday-school work. Fraternally he is a Master Mason, and was connected with the lodge at Kaneville until its surrender of its charter, after the destruction of the lodge-room by fire, when he united with Blackberry lodge at Elburn. A resident of Kane county for forty-three years, Mr. Ames is well and favorably known throughout its length and breadth. In the many changes that have been made he Has given material assistance, and has lived to see the day when Kane county is ranked among the best in the entire state. He is respected by all who know him, and is one of the best citizens of his township and county.
WILLIAM L. WHITE, a contractor and builder, of Aurora, Illinois, has been a resident of the city for almost half a century, dating his residence here since April 29, 1853. He is a native of New Jersey, born near Milford, Hunterdon county, June 14, 1830. His father, Alvin White, was also a native of New Jersey, and there married Ann Sinclair, a native of the same state, and a daughter of William Sinclair. Alvin White was a farmer and mechanic, and spent his entire life in his native state, where he died September 28, 1867. His wife died some years previous. In their family were six sons and six daughters, all of whom grew to mature years, and of which four sons and two daughters are living.
The subject of this sketch grew to manhood in his native state, and in early life learned the mason's trade, serving an apprenticeship of three years. He then worked at his trade as a journeyman, and also took a few contracts. In 1853, he came to Aurora, then a town of about two thousand inhabitants and the end of the railroad. He soon began contracting and building, and actively engaged in the work here for over forty-five years. All over the city are found public and private buildings, the erection of which was superintended by Mr. White. In that time he built a number of residences for himself, which were disposed of from time to time.
Mr. White was married in Aurora, in 1854, to Miss Francis Maria Harwood, born in the city of London, England, and who came to the United States when but fifteen years of age, in company with her father, J. E. Harwood, who settled in Aurora, about 1853. In the spring of 1855, Mr. White moved to Davenport, Iowa, where he engaged in business for some fifteen months, and then returned to Aurora, where he has since resided. Eight children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. White, of whom one is deceased. The living are Anna, wife of L. L. Rickard, of Kendall county, Illinois; Clara E., wife of C. G. Pearce, of Joliet, Illinois; George W., a business man of Beardstown, Illinois; William H., married and residing in Chicago; L. R., a traveling salesman; H. S., with the Joliet Steel Wire Works; E. B., bookkeeper for the Standard Oil Company, at Geneva. The deceased was Charles, who died at the age of eleven years.
Politically Mr. White is independent. Religiously he is a member of the People's church. His forty-five years residence in Aurora, has brought him prominently before the people, and he is well known in city and county; and his friends are many.
JOHN S. MILLER, who is engaged in the general merchandise business at Sugar Grove, Illinois, is an enterprising man of strict integrity, one who is helpful in any community where he may reside. He was born in the town of Beckett, Hamlin county, Massachusetts, March 20, 1849, and is the son of Frank and Frances (Hughes) Miller, both of whom are natives of the same state. The father died when our subject was but two years old and his mother passed to her reward when he was but six years old. After his mother's death he was taken by Benjamin Bracket, and was reared on his farm in Massachusetts. He was given fair school advantages, attending first the common schools and for two years was a student in the Suffield Connecticut Seminary..
After arriving at mature years, Mr. Miller was engaged in market gardening at South Hadley Falls for two years, after which he began the mercantile business at the same place, and later was engaged in the ice business in connection. He continued in business at that place for four years, building up a good trade. Selling out, he engaged in the real estate business, and was also shipping clerk in a paper mill up to 1876. He owned a fine business block at South Hadley Falls, which was burned in 1891, entailing a loss of six thousand dollars.
In 1876, Mr. Miller came to Kane county and located at Sugar Grove, where in connection with "Uncle" Thomas Judd, he erected a building for school and mercantile purposes. The building, which was called "Uncle Tom's Cabin", was a three story structure, costing nearly ten thousand dollars. It was burned down in 1878. On the completion of the building they put in a stock of general merchandise, which was the first in the town. A large trade has been built up by Mr. Miller, who has a reputation for fair dealing. In addition to his mercantile trade he is connected with a creamery company, and yet owns a good share of its stock. For some years he was also engaged in the lumber and coal trade, but in 1897 disposed of this part of his business. In 1894, in partnership with Frank Catlin, he engaged in buying and feeding sheep, usually having in hand about two thousand five hundred head. They rent a large farm, which is used in connection with the sheep business. In the fall of 1897, they bought and sold over fifteen thousand sheep.
At South Deerfield, Massachusetts, in November, 1875, Mr. Miller was united in marriage with Miss Mary E. Hale, a native of that town and state, and a daughter of Stephen B. Hale, also a native of Massachusetts. Previous to her marriage she was engaged as a teacher in the public schools. To Mr. and Mrs. Miller five children have been born as follows: Annie is now the wife of George O. Lye, of Sugar Grove; Hattie, who has been employed as a teacher in the schools of Jericho, Illinois, for three years; Stephen B., John E., and Frank, at home.
Politically, Mr. Miller has been a Republican from his youth up. For two terms he served as postmaster of Sugar Grove and for one term was assistant postmaster. For many years he served as school trustee of his township, and has always been interested in the public schools. Fraternally, he is a Master Mason and is also a member of the Modern Woodmen of America and of the Knights of the Maccabees. For twenty-one years he has been a resident of Sugar Grove and has always shown himself a worthy citizen, giving liberally of his time and means in aid of every public enterprise. In the erection of the Methodist Episcopal church he gave a generous donation, and has always assisted in maintaining its services. While not classed as an old settler, he is yet widely known throughout the county and is respected for his genuine worth.
RICHARD C. TAYLOR, M. D., of Elburn, Illinois, was born in Crawford county, Ohio, November 16, 1860, and is the son of James and Mary (Gaut) Taylor, both of whom were natives of Pennsylvania, where they were married, and both are now living in Marshall county, Indiana. For many years the father was an extensive farmer. He was born December 10, 1811, in Mercer county, Pennsylvania, from which place he moved to Crawford county, Ohio, about 1830. His marriage with Mary Gaut was solemnized August 31, 1837, and they celebrated their sixtieth anniversary August, 1897, at which time there were present their family of six children, with the exception of one daughter, Margaret. There were nine grandchildren present, and a good time was had by all. . In early life Mrs. Taylor was a member of the Presbyterian church, and later of the Baptist church. She is a devout Christian and an excellent good woman, widely known and frequently spoken of for her many admirable qualities of head and heart. They were the parents of eleven children, of whom two died in infancy and three in early childhood. Of the six living, Margaret is the widow of James Sprout, and resides on a farm in Ashland county, Ohio; Elizabeth is the wife of Peter W. Blue, and they reside at Mentone, Indiana; Sarah J. is the widow of J. T. Bloomer, and resides on a farm in Fayette county, Ohio; Jerome B. is a farmer residing in Kosciusko county, Indiana; Richard C., our subject; and Amanda K., wife of Jesse Taylor, a farmer of Marshall county, Indiana. James Taylor was quite a prominent man in the county of his adoption, well educated, and with many friends throughout the county, .During the war for the Union he advocated its vigorous prosecution.
The subject of this sketch was reared in Kosciusko county, Indiana, where he was taken by his parents when one year old. He attended the district schools of that county, and remained upon his father's farm until 1879, when he commenced learning the carpenter's trade, at which he worked eleven years. While working at his trade he commenced the study of medicine, and in 1890 commenced reading with Dr. J. W. Heffly, of Mentone, Indiana, and later attended the Bennett Medical College, of Chicago, Illinois, from which he was graduated in the class of '93. On receiving his diploma he commenced the practice of his profession in Chicago, and there remained until January, 1895, when he removed to Elburn, where he has since continued in practice with gratifying success. Dr. Taylor was married August 4, 1886, to Miss Elvina Nellans, daughter of Moses and Lucinda Nellans, of Fulton county, Indiana, of which county she is a native. By this union they have two children - Katie E. and Mary E., both of whom are attending the schools of Elburn. Mrs. Taylor is a member of the Baptist church, in the work of which she is greatly interested.
In politics Dr. Taylor is a Democrat, but takes little interest in political affairs as such, voting for the men rather than the party. Fraternally he is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and has held all the offices in both the subordinate lodge and the encampment. He is a member of the Forresters and an officer in the same, and of the Court of Honor, of which he is examining physician. He is also medical examiner for several of the insurance companies. The Doctor, who is yet in the prime of life, is highly esteemed by all who know him, and stands well among the members of his profession. He is energetic, enterprising and enthusiastic, just such a citizen as gives character to a community.
EDWARD C. WHILDIN, who resides on section 4, Big Rock township, where he owns and operates a farm of one hundred and eighty-five acres, is a native of Kane county, born in Sugar Grove township, December 26, 1844. He is the son of Richard Whildin, a native of Wales, who came to the United States a young man, and first located in New York, and there married Louisa Benjamin, a sister of Leonard Benjamin, who came with them to Kane county, Illinois, about 1838. Locating in Sugar Grove township, he entered a tract of one hundred and twenty acres, opened up and developed the farm, there raised his family, and there died in May, 1875, at the age of seventy-three years. His wife died some seven years previously, passing away in 1868. Of their family of four children, Mary is the wife of H. P. Swan, of Livingston county, Illinois; Mrs. Harriet A.
Taylor resides in Big Rock township; Edward C. is our subject; and George F. owns and operates the old home farm. After spending his boyhood and youth upon the farm in Sugar Grove township, and attending its public schools, our subject continued to assist his father in operating the farm, until his marriage, May 28, 1873, to Miss Mary G. Taylor, who was born and reared on the farm where she now resides, and is the daughter of Percy Taylor, a native of Vermont, who in early life moved to New York, and there married Rebecca Lawrence, moving west to Kane county, Illinois, in 1837, where he entered the land now owned and occupied by our subject.
After marriage, Mr. Whildin rented a farm for several years, and then bought out the heirs to the old Taylor homestead, on which he located, and has resided since March, 1880. He has since built a large residence, two barns, tiled much of the land and otherwise improved the place. He has always been somewhat interested in political affairs, and since casting his first presidential ballot in 1868, for General U. S. Grant, he has advocated the principles of the Republican party. His ability has been recognized by his fellow citizens, and for four years he served as assessor of his township, and for eleven consecutive years has served as a member of the board of supervisors. On the board he has been quite active, serving as chairman of the equalization committee, and of the miscellaneous committee, and also as a member of various other committees. As a delegate to numerous county, congressional and state conventions, he has exerted a good influence. In every position called upon to fill he has discharged the duties, faithfully and well, and in a most satisfactory manner.
A lifelong resident of Kane county, he is well known throughout its length and breadth, and where best known, is held in the highest esteem.
WILLIAM WALLACE FRASER, proprietor of the creamery and feed mill at East Plato, was born in Cattaraugus county, New York, August 1, 1860, and is the son of Robert and Eliza J. (Dales) Fraser, both of whom were born in Livingston county, New York, the former May 15, 1816, and the latter in 1824.
Robert Fraser was the son of Alexander Fraser, a native of Scotland, who came to this country at an early day, and was murdered for his money at his home in Livingston county, New York, in 1864, when eighty years of age. Five men came to his home at midnight, who knew of his habit of arising at that hour to read. His wife climbed out of the window, alarmed the neighbors, who found the villains in a school house dividing the money. They were captured, tried and all given life sentences. When a young man Robert Fraser for a time was engaged in teaching singing school, but after his marriage he engaged in merchandising in Cuba, New York, and also owned a farm. In 1862 he sold out, came west, and bought six hundred and forty acres in Elgin township, and engaged in farming. In 1878 he sold the farm and moved into Elgin, where he lived a retired life until his death in 1888, at the age seventy-two years. His widow yet resides in Elgin. They were the parents of seven children: Donald B., deceased; Maggie, wife of Frank S. Heath, of Elgin; Robert, deceased; Melvin, a missionary in Africa; William Wallace, our subject; John, deceased; and Charles.
Our subject was but two years of age when his parents moved to Kane county. On his father's farm was spent his boyhood and youth, and in the public schools of the township and at Elgin and Milwaukee received his education. When sixteen years of age he began working in the butter factory which he now owns. He remained there two years, and then secured a place at Lily Lake, Campton township, where he also remained two years, going to Holstein for one year and to Gray Willow one year, returning to Lily Lake, where he spent two years. Moving to Elgin, he ran an engine two winters for an ice company, and then spent eight years in the gilding department of the Watch Factory. Leaving that employ he went into a lumber and coal business, but soon sold his lumber interest, continuing in the coal office two and a half years. In June, 1897, he purchased his present place of business at East Plato.
Mr. Fraser has been twice married, his first union being with Miss May Lathrop, daughter of Alvin Lathrop, who now resides in Dakota. Alvin Lathrop was the son of Elijah and Eunice (Philbrick) Lathrop. By this union there was one son, Donald B., born July 23, 1881. His wife dying, Mr. Fraser, on the 25th of May, 1893, married Mabel Bishop, daughter of Henry and Annie (Elmore) Bishop, the latter being a daughter of David Elmore, born in Massachusetts in 1800, and who came to Kane county in 1836 and died in 1854. He was the son of William Howard Elmore, a descendant of Elmer Elmore, who came over in the Mayflower. David Elmore married Mary Humphrey, a daughter of Rev. Humphrey, who married a Miss Curtis. Henry Bishop was the son of Nathaniel Bishop. He was born in St. Mary's parish, Devonshire, England, and, coming to America, first settled on St. John's river, New Brunswick, coining to Kane county, about 1851. He bought a farm on section 28, Elgin township, where his death occurred. By his second marriage Mr. Fraser has one daughter, Hazel Mabel.
Mr. and Mrs. Fraser are members of the First Baptist church of Elgin. Fraternally he is a member of Silver Leaf camp, No. 60, M. W. A. In politics he is a Republican.
WILLIAM M. PRICE, of Sugar Grove township, is now living a retired life on his farm on section 5, comprising four hundred and twenty-six acres of well-improved land. He is numbered among the settlers of 1841 and relates many amusing incidents of pioneer life, incidents which were not so amusing at the time, but by the lapse of years show the ludicrous side. Mr. Price was born in the county of West Mathe, Ireland, July 4, 1816, and when but fifteen years of age came to America with an older brother, and for a few weeks lived in Canada, then went to Burlington, Vermont, and on July 5, 1831, at Strafford Hollow, hired out to a farmer and butcher, worked for a month, loaned his employer thirty dollars and lost both that and the month's salary. He then hired to Judge Jedediah Harris, and was employed by him on his farm for six years and nine months. The Judge proved a good friend to the poor Irish boy, and he and his wife were like a father and mother to him. For the next two years he was engaged with another party, but in May, 1841, came west to Illinois, by way of the Erie canal to Buffalo and then across the lakes to Chicago. From that place he came to Sugar Grove township, Kane county, and here joined Mr. Bliss, who had located here some three years previously. He bought a claim of Mr. Bliss comprising a tract of one hundred and sixty acres, paying five hundred dollars for the claim. The land was unimproved, although the frame of a house had been built, which Mr. Price enclosed, and taking a family boarded with them while improving the place. On the 4th of January, 1843, Mr. Price was united in marriage with Miss Mary Smith, a native of Pennsylvania and a daughter of James Smith, a pioneer settler of 1836. By this union eleven children were born, three of whom died in early childhood. The living are Olive M., at home; Janet, wife of Charles Benton, a substantial farmer of Kaneville township; Hugh, married and residing in Hinckley, Illinois; Minnie, at home; George W., at home; Nancy E., wife of Richard Berry, a farmer of Sugar Grove township; William W. and George W., who carry on the farm; and Jessie, wife of Cornelius Cornell, a farmer of Yorkville, Illinois.
After marriage Mr. and Mrs. Price commenced their domestic life on the farm where they now reside, and which has been their home for fifty-nine long years. In the early day, and for about twelve years, he hauled all his grain and produce to Chicago, and there purchased all the necessaries of life and lumber for his house. For about twelve months he suffered with the fever and ague, which was quite prevalent in early times. But he was always cheerful and it mattered not what trouble came upon him he endured them in a philosophical manner. For some years he has been afflicted with rheumatism and requires the use of crutches, but he is the most cheerful and most pleasant companion, with mind clear and memory good. Mrs. Price has also for some years suffered with the rheumatism, but never complains and is ever cheerful and busy with her needle.
Mr. Price came to the United States with but sixty dollars in his pocket, but he came with a stout heart and willing hands and a determination to succeed. By his own labor and enterprise, assisted by his good wife, he has secured a competency, and in old age is enjoying the fruits of his former toil. During the fifty-seven years of his residence in Kane county, he has scarcely been from the farm more than one night at a time, save on one occasion, when he spent four weeks in visiting with a brother. Politically, "Uncle Billy," as he is familiarly called, has been a life-long Democrat, the principles of the party being dear to his heart. Office holding has had no charms for him and he would accept none, save that of school director, in which he served for some ten or twelve years, and also that of road commissioner, in which he served for some years. He has always been an advocate of good roads, and hauled the first load of gravel used on the roads of Sugar Grove township. Few men are better known in Kane county, and the house of Uncle Billy Price is the abode of true hospitality, and there the ''latch string always hangs out."
HENRY SEAVEY, now living a retired life in the village of Big Rock, was for many years numbered among the most enterprising of the farmers of Kane county. He was born in Wyoming county, New York, January 5, 1841. His paternal grandfather, Mark Seavey, Sr., was a native of Vermont, who, in young manhood, removed to Wyoming county, New York, and later coming 33 to Illinois, and in Kane county spent the remainder of his life. His son, also named Mark, is the father of our subject. The latter grew to manhood in Wyoming county, New York, and there married Lucy Ann Campbell, a native of the same county and state. While residing in Wyoming county, Mr. Seavey engaged in the milling business, owning and operating a saw and grist mill. In 1844 he came to Kane county, Illinois, and located in Sugar Grove township, where he bought a claim, on which he resided for two years. In 1846 he moved to Big Rock township, purchased a partially improved place, having on it a log house and log stable. He at once began the further improvement of the place, and there resided until his death, January 1, 1852, at about the age of forty-four years. His widow remained on the farm, reared her family, and now resides with her children in Big Rock, a well-preserved woman of seventy-seven years. Of their two sons and four daughters, all are yet living. Henry is the subject of this sketch; Aaron M. is a farmer of Sugar Grove township; Wealthy is the wife of W. H. Chapman, of Aurora; Ellen is the wife of D. J. Myers, of the village of Big Rock; Merselia is the wife of Charles Weed, also of Big Rock; and Anna is the wife of C. A. Crouse, whose sketch appears elsewhere in this work.
Henry Seavey came to Kane county, Illinois, when but four years of age. In its public schools he received his education, attending the same during the winter months, and assisting on the farm in the summer, until fifteen years of age. He then left home and commenced working by the month, on various farms, some seven or eight years, when he purchased a place of one hundred acres, which was partly fenced and broken, and on which were some very inferior buildings. With commendable energy, he began the further improvement of the place, and feeling the necessity of a helpmeet, he was married in Kane county, January 5, 1868, to Nancy Chapman, a native of southern Illinois, but who was reared in Kane county, and a daughter of J. H. Chapman. After marriage, he lived on the old family homestead and operated that and his own place adjoining for three years. His wife dying in April, 1871, he sold his farm and commenced dealing in stock at Big Rock and Hinckley, for two years. He then went to Piano, Kendall county, Illinois, and worked for Stewart & Hemming Breeding Association, breeders of fine stock, and remained there three years.
On the 2nd of March, 1880, Mr. Seavey was married in Piano, to Miss Eliza M. Craig, a native of Kendall county, Illinois, and a daughter of George Craig. Her mother dying when she was a child, she was taken to New York, where she grew to womanhood, and then returned to her home in Kendall county. After their marriage, he located on a farm in Kendall county, on the line dividing it from Kane county, where he purchased eighty acres, and later bought eighty acres more, adjoining, and improved and developed both places. Tiling the land, and erecting various buildings, he there resided some thirteen years. In 1890 he purchased about seven acres in the village of Big Rock, and erected one of the neatest residences in the village. Renting his farm he removed to Big Rock, where he has since lived a retired life, enjoying a well-earned rest. Since coming to the village, however, he has engaged more or less in the real estate business, having purchased and sold several well-improved farms.
Politically Mr. Seavey is a Democrat on national issue, but on local issues he is independent, supporting the men he considers best qualified for the office. His father and grandfather were Republicans in their political faith. Mr. Seavey never sought, nor would he accept, office, until after his removal to the village, when he was elected a member of the school board. He united with the Masonic lodge at Kaneville, with which he retained membership until it ceased to exist in consequence of their lodge building being destroyed by fire. The fifty-four years that he has spent in Kane county have been eventful ones. In the great changes that have been made he has done his part and is certainly entitled to the rest which he now enjoys.
EVELYN L. STARKS, who resides on section 30, Rutland township, is the son of the first settler of that township, and is descended from one of the oldest New England families. His grandfather, Stephen Starks, was a near relative of the famous Revolutionary general. Stephen Starks moved from Williamstown, Massachusetts, to Rutland county, Vermont, shortly after the Revolutionary war. He died at the age of about sixty years in Sangamon county, Illinois. He married Abigail Rich, who came west with her son, and died in Sangamon county, Illinois, in 1845, at an advanced age.
Evelyn R. Starks, the father of our subject, was the son of Stephen and Abigail (Rich) Starks. He was born at Williamstown, Massachusetts, March 19, 1813, and with his parents moved to Rutland county, Vermont, when he was a child, and there he was reared. He worked on the lakes in connection with farming until the age of twenty-two, when he came west in the fall of 1835, and entered a tract of wild land, on section 30, Rutland township, Kane county, becoming the first settler of that township. When the township was organized, he was elected its first supervisor and named it for his old county in Vermont. Locating on section 30, he staked his claim of one hundred and sixty acres, and then went to spent the winter with a friend from Vermont, living two miles from where Naperville now stands. In the spring of 1836, he was joined by his uncle, Elijah Rich, who took up a claim on sections 30 and 31. The two kept "bach" one year, and Mr. Starks being the younger, acted as cook and housekeeper. The year following Mr. Rich returned to Vermont for his family, and, on their arrival Mr. Starks gave over cooking and housekeeping. In 1838, he himself went back to Vermont for a wife, and there married Esther Doty, a native of New York. Their happiness, however, was short lived, Mrs. Starks dying in 1840. On the 6th of December, 1845, Starks married in Rutland township, Miss Saloma Gage, a native of Arcadia, Wyoming county, New York, born June 4, 1819, and who died April 24, 1890. She was the daughter of Solomon Gage, Sr., who located in Hampshire township, section 32. For ten years prior to coming west, she had been a teacher in the schools of New York state, and, after coming here with her brothers in 1844, she taught one year in a log school house, where the village of Hampshire now stands. Her father, Solomon Gage, Sr., was born in New Hampshire, in 1788, and died on the farm in Hampshire township, Kane county, Illinois, October 21, 1851. He married Miriam Guernsey, born in New Hampshire, in 1786, and a daughter of Cyril Guernsey. She died December 17, 1866. To Evelyn R. and Saloma Starks, six children were born as follows: Evelyn L., our subject; Milton J., who resides on a fine farm in McHenry county, Illinois; Frank A., John W., and William H., deceased; and Willie H., who resides in the village of Hampshire, and is serving as justice of the peace.
Evelyn R. Starks was a man of unusual prominence, and was the first supervisor of Rutland township. He participated in all movements for the advancement of public good. A hard worker, he gave too little time to recreation and rest in his early life, and for twenty-five years endured the misery of broken health. By his industry he acquired eight hundred acres of land, to which he gave almost his undivided attention. His death occurred in 1880. Religiously, he was a member of the Methodist Episcopal church, and in politics he was a stanch Republican. An abolitionist in sentiment, prior to the war he was interested in freeing slaves. When the railroad was built, in 1874, which passes through his old farm, Starks Station was named in honor.
Evelyn L. Starks, our subject, was born February 2, 1847, on the farm where he has always resided. He attended the district schools until the age of sixteen, and worked for his father until of legal age, when, on attaining his majority, he worked for him one year for wages, then rented a part of the farm, and began life for himself. After the death of his father, his mother made her home with him until her death.
Mr. Starks has been twice married, his first marriage being solemnized in Elgin, December 3, 1868, when he wedded Helen M. Weed, daughter of Elijah Weed, of whom a sketch appears elsewhere in this
book. Two children were born to this union - Mabel A. and Eveline E., the latter being deceased. Mr. Starks was again married September 25, 1889, at Edinburg, Johnson county, Indiana, with Miss Magdelene Hartman, a native of that place, and a daughter of Michael and Julia A. (Pickens) Hartman. By this union one child was born which died in infancy.
Mr. Starks has never had any desire to leave the farm. While others flock to cities and villages when sufficiently well-to-do, to retire, he prefers the wholesome life of the farm. He has five hundred acres of as fine land as lies in Kane county, and runs a dairy farm, milking about ninety cows and shipping to Chicago. Fraternally, he is a Master Mason and a member of the lodge at Hampshire. In politics he is a Republican. From the time he attained his majority he has served as school director or road com-missioner. Prominent and influential in his township, liberal and public-spirited, he has many friends in Kane county, of which he is a lifelong resident.
ARCHER B. PHELPS, who resides on section 24, Kaneville township, on a farm of two hundred and thirty acres, has been a resident of the township and county since October, 1861. He was born in Chenango county, New York, February 11, 1845. His father, Pliny Phelps, and his grandfather, George Phelps, were also natives of the same county and state. Both were by occupation farmers. Pliny Phelps, who was born in 1819, married Elmira White, also a native of New York. By this union there were five sons and three daughters, all of whom grew to manhood and womanhood, except one, who died in childhood, named Herbert. They were Archer B., our subject; Lyman, who married and settled in Kaneville township, and later died in Sterling, Illinois; Agnes, wife of Charles Dadds, of Kaneville, Illinois; George, who is married and resides at Pullman, Illinois, is engaged as a traveling salesman; John, of Geneva, who holds a position in Chicago; Estella resides in Geneva; and Ella, wife of Doctor Fred W. Goding, now consul in Australia. In the fall of 1861, Pliny Phelps came to Kane county, Illinois, with his family, and located on the farm where our subject now resides, which he had purchased the previous year, at which time he made a visit to this section. The place was fairly well improved, and to its further improvement he bent his energies, and was actively engaged in farming until his death in March, 1868. His wife survives him, and now resides with a son in Geneva.
The subject of this sketch came to Kane county when sixteen years of age, and assisted his father in the cultivation of the home farm. His education began in the public schools of his native state, was completed in the schools of Kaneville. He remained with his father until the latter's death, when he took charge of the farm and business, and later purchased the interest of the other heirs, being now the owner of the entire estate. He was married in January, 1869, to Miss Maria E. Hartwell, a native of Chautauqua county, New York, who came to Kane county when a child with her father, Willard Hartwell. She was here reared and educated and previous to her marriage engaged in teaching in the public schools. By this union are six children, as follows: Lynn, who is married and is engaged in farming in Kaneville township; Lee, who died September 16, 1897, at the age of twenty-four years; Jennie, at home; Earl, who is assisting his father in carrying on the farm; Alice and Clinton, students in the Kaneville schools.
In addition to his own farm of two hundred and thirty acres, Mr. Phelps rents an adjoining farm of two hundred acres, and for several years has been operating both farms. In the spring of 1898, he had one hundred and twenty acres in corn, over sixty acres in oats, and the balance in meadow and pasture land. He makes a business of feeding several carloads of hogs and cattle annually, and usually feeds stock enough to consume the crop. Politically Mr. Phelps is a stanch Republican, and cast his first presidential ballot for U. S. Grant in 1868. While always taking an active interest in political affairs, and while giving unswerving allegiance to his party, he has never asked or accepted office. A man well known in his section of the county, he is held in high esteem by all, and while giving strict attention to his business interest, has yet manifested an interest in public affairs and has ever shown his desire to do all he could for his adopted county and state.
SAMUEL E. POULEY, dealer in agricultural implements, carriages and harness, Elburn, Illinois, is one of the leading and active business men of that city. He is a native of Kane county, born November 27, 1851, and is the son of Samuel and Almira (Hitchcock) Pouley, the former a native of England, and the latter of Vermont.
Samuel Pouley, the father of our subject, is a native of Nottinghamshire, England, born April 17, 1808. He was one of the very oldest pioneers in this section of the country, at the time of his settlement there being no roads or bridges, and but two houses between his place and Geneva, which was then a cluster of but a few houses. His parents were Robert and Hannah (Godfrey) Pouley, the former, who followed farming, being nearly one hundred years old at the time of his death. In his native land, Samuel Pouley followed gardening, and had but limited advantages for an education, and what he afterward acquired came by his own efforts while in touch with the world in business. In 1840, he came to America, landing in New York, where he remained one year, then moved to Illinois, settling in Blackberry township, Kane county, where he remained until 1892, when he moved to the village of Elburn, where his death occurred December 16, 1893.
While yet residing in England, Samuel Pouley entered the ministry of the Baptist church, and upon coming to Illinois, held meetings in school houses and dwelling houses, being one of the pioneer ministers of the county. He was a man of chaste life and habits, of irreproachable character, of gentle and lovable disposition, and efficient in the service of his Master. His life was pure, simple and capable of no double interpretation. He left behind him the character of one who was ardent, honorable, prudent and persevering in the interest of those who entrusted their rights to his keeping.
Samuel Pouley was married January 1, 1844, to Almira Hitchcock, who was born in Vermont, November 9, 1810, and a daughter of Amos and Achsah (Hendee) Hitchcock, who were also natives of Vermont, where they lived until their death, the former at the age of ninety-two years. Of their six children, five are yet living- Martha A., (Mrs. Charles A. Baker), Robert F., Eliza J. (Mrs. John Winters), Samuel E., Emma L. (Mrs. Martin Withey.) The first born died in infancy. In early life Mr. Pouley was an abolitionist and later a Republican. Mrs. Pouley is yet living at the age of eighty-eight years.
The subject of this sketch was reared on a farm and educated in the district schools. He assisted his father in farm work until his marriage, when he moved to Wheaton, DuPage county, Illinois, and there worked as a carpenter for more than three years, then returned to the farm, where he remained nine years. He then moved to the village of Elburn, worked one year at his trade, and was then five years as the junior partner of the firm of Matheson & Pouley, druggists. He sold his interest in that establishment March 1, 1898, when he commenced his present business, keeping at all times a large assortment of agricultural implements, carriages and harness, and is working up a good trade.
Mr. Pouley was married March 28, 1878, to Miss Emma J. Humphrey, daughter of Milton and Minerva (Miller) Humphrey, both of whom are natives of New York, and who were then residing in Blackberry township, Kane county, Illinois. By this union are seven children-Edna M., Edwin A., Avis M., Mary J., Verna A., Vida E. and Edith C. Religiously, Mrs. Pouley is a member of the Congregational church, and, fraternally, Mr. Pouley is a member of the Modern Woodmen of America. In politics he is a Republican, and takes an active interest in state and national campaigns. He conducts his business upon methods which commend him to the favor and confidence of the people, and he is most justly numbered among Elburn's prominent and influential citizens.
D.E. LAMSON, who resides on section 7, Big Rock township, is one of four brothers who now own and operate a farm of three hundred and eighty-four acres of well improved and valuable land. All are natives of Kane county, Illinois, L. J. being born December 12, 1856; D. E., July 13, 1858; A. W., February 4, 1860; and L. L., December 4, 1861. The father, L. J. Lamson, was a native of Massachusetts, born in 1817, under the shadows of Bunker Hill; his father, the grandfather of our subject, was also a native of Massachusetts, and there died about 1819. The family are of English descent, and originally settled in Massachusetts.
L. J. Lamson, the father of our subject, was but two years old when his father died. He was then taken to Maine, where he grew to manhood, and then returned to Massachusetts, and later went to New York City, where an elder brother was engaged in merchandising, and for whom he clerked a short time. In 1836 he came to Kane county, Illinois, and located in Big Rock township, being one of the first four families to settle in that township. He first entered a tract of land, and bought other land, locating where his sons now reside. He cleared the land, fenced the same, and opened up the farm, in due time erecting a substantial house and good barns, and otherwise developed the place. He was one of the most active and prosperous farmers in the township. By his fellow-citizens he was honored with various official positions, being elected the first township clerk.
Mr. Lamson was married in Big Rock township, to Jane Dale, a native of England, born at Piddington Hill, Durham county, and a daughter of Thomas, who located in Big Rock township, Kane county, in 1852, when his daughter was in her maidenhood. The four children born of this union have already been mentioned. Politically the father was a Republican, and was quite active in political affairs, but gave the greater part of his time to his farming interests. Upon the old homestead he reared his family, and passed to the unseen world April 11, 1889. His wife survived him some years, dying February 28, 1895.
D. E. Lamson, our subject, grew to manhood on the home farm, and was educated in the public schools of Big Rock township and at Sugar Grove. With his brothers, he remained with the father until his death, when they took charge of the farm and business. On the death of the mother, they succeeded to the farm, and in addition own one hundred and fourteen acres adjoining the old place, where our subject makes his home.
In 1888, the Lamson Brothers began to breed and deal in Hereford cattle quite extensively, and for some time had a herd of forty head of pure blooded stock. In 1890 they began to breed and deal in Poland China hogs, and have also been engaged in breeding Dorset Horn sheep, mostly imported stock. They have worked up a large business in fine stock and ship to various localities in several states of the union. In the ten years in which they have engaged in the breeding of blooded stock, they have acquired a splendid reputation.
Politically the brothers are all Republicans, and give earnest support to the men and measures of that party. For eight consecutive years, D. E. Lamson served as assessor of the township. Fraternally the brothers are members of the Modern Woodmen of America, D. E. being a charter member of the camp at Big Rock, in which he has served two terms as head consul. He has also served as delegate to the state encampments. L. L. was banker of the camp in 1897, and L. J. has also served officially in the camp. L. J. and L. L. are also members of the Knights of the Maccabees. Enterprising and progressive, the brothers are doing much to advance the material interests of the county, especially of Big Rock township. They are well and favorably known as men of exemplary habits and upright character.
FRANKLIN P. MIGHELL is one of the enterprising and progressive farmers of Kane county, and resides on a farm of one hundred and fifty-seven acres, on section 32, Sugar Grove township. He is a native of New York, born in Tompkins county, June 21, 1837, and is a son of Ezekial and Lucinda (Todd) Mighell, of whom special mention is made in the sketch of Silas H. Mighell on another page of this work. He came with his parents to Kane county, an infant, and here his entire life has since been passed. He was educated in the common schools of the county, and as soon as old enough assisted in the cultivation of the home farm. He remained at home until 1860, when he was united in marriage with Miss Viola Snell, a native of New York, but who came with her parents to Kane county when a child, and here grew to womanhood. By this union are six children as follows: Estella, wife of Perry Wilder, of Kendall county, Illinois; Frank E., married and residing in Aurora; Maud, wife of Benjamin Spencer, of Aurora; May, wife of Frank Phillips, of Aurora township; Nattie, wife of George Stainfield, a farmer of Sugar Grove township; and Ray, a young man who is assisting in carrying on the home farm. In 1862, Mr. Mighell bade farewell to his family and friends and enlisted in the Eighth Illinois Cavalry, which became a part of the Army of the Potomac. With that army he participated in the fight at Sugar Loaf mountain, the battle of Antietam, second battle of Fredricksburg, second battle of Bull Run, Gettysburg and Kelly's Ford, together with many lesser engagements, about sixty in "all. He enlisted as a private and was promoted sergeant in his company. He never lost any time by reason of sickness, while in the service. He served until the final close of the war, and was mustered out in July, 1865, at Jefferson Barracks, near St. Louis, Missouri.
Returning home after receiving his discharge, he resumed farming, purchasing forty acres adjoining his present place but locating where he now resides, which is a part of the old homestead. Since that time he has made many improvements in the place, erecting a good and substantial residence, with good barns and other outbuildings. His farm is always kept in the best order and is well supplied with all modern farm implements. He has always engaged in general farming and stockraising and has been fairly successful in everything that he has undertaken.
Politically Mr. Mighell is a Republican, the liberty-loving principles of that party having been instilled in from his youth, his father being an Abolitionist, and for some years a conductor on the underground rail-road. The first presidential campaign in which he participated was that of 1860, when he cast his vote for "Honest Old Abe." He has been honored by his fellow citizens with various local offices, including collector of the township, road commissioner and member of the school board. Fraternally he is a member of the G. A. R. post, No. 20, of Aurora. An almost life-long resident of the county, he has seen its changes from a wilderness until it is to-day one of the most productive counties in the state. He has seen towns spring up as if by magic, until to-day between Aurora and Chicago it is almost one continuous city. In the work of its development he has done his part.
CHARLES F. SHARP occupies a fine farm of four hundred and eighty-eight acres in Campton township, his residence being on section 32. He is one of the most prominent of the farmers of his township, and his ability and worth is recognized by all. A native of New York, he was born in the town of Ripley, Chautauqua county, May 1, 1839, and is the son of Joseph and Sarah A. (Phillips) Sharp, the former a native of England and the latter of Wales, but who was reared in England. In his native land Joseph Sharp was a farmer, while his father, John Sharp, followed the business of truck gardening.
About the year 1829, the grandfather of our subject, John Sharp, emigrated with his family to the United States, and settled in Chautauqua county, New York, but came west to Kane county, Illinois, about 1843. Purchasing a farm he continued to reside in this section until 1856, at which time he proceeded to Benton county, Iowa, with two sons and one daughter. Subsequently he removed to Floyd county, Iowa, where he died at the age of eighty-nine years.
Both parents of our subject came to the United States in their youth, some years before the emigration of John Sharp. They were married in New York state and resided there where the father engaged in farming until 1858, at which time they came with their family to Kane county. For several years after his arrival here he worked land on shares, and about 1866 purchased a farm in Virgil township and died there.
Our subject got his early education in New York state and in Illinois in the district schools, working on his father's farm in the meantime. On the 21st of February, 1867, he was united in marriage with Mary J. Hitchcock, daughter of a prominent farmer of this county and one of a family of eight children. By this union three children have been born, all yet living. They are Fred S., Frank H. and Alice E., the latter living with her parents. Fred H. married Hattie Nash, of Michigan, and they have two children, Carrie and Mary. They reside on one of his father's farms of one hundred and sixty acres in Campton township. Frank resides on the old homestead near his father's present residence, situated on section 34, a fine farm and good buildings and which also comprises one hundred and sixty acres. He married Allie Barlow, whose parents are residents of Kane county.
Mr. Sharp has held a number of official positions in the county. He was supervisor one term, justice of the peace four years, highway commissioner ten years, and to him is largely due the credit for many of the excellent gravel roads in Campton township. He was also township trustee two terms, and was school director for many years. A stanch Republican in politics, he cast his first presidential in 1860 for Abraham Lincoln. He follows general farming and stockraising on his present farm, which is excellent land, thoroughly well drained and equipped with good fences and substantial buildings. A pleasant, genial, honest man, he is held in the highest respect wherever known, and his friends are many throughout Kane county.
ALEXANDER R. WALKER, a representative farmer of Hampshire township, resides upon section 17, where he is engaged in general and dairy farming. He was born August 27, 1844, in Hemmingsford, St. Johns county, province of Quebec, not far from the line dividing Canada from the state of New York. His father, Thomas Walker, born in Port Glasgow, Scotland, in 1809, married Isabel Perry, a daughter of John Perry, also a native of Scotland. The paternal grandfather, John Walker, also a native of Scotland, came to America in an early day, settling in Hemmingsford, Canada, where his death occurred. Thomas and Isabel Walker were the parents of eight children, as follows: John, deceased; Elizabeth, deceased; Mary, wife of James McGuff, of Burlington township; Elizabeth is the wife of David Jackson, of Virgil township; Alexander, our subject; Kate, who married John Barker, of Nebraska; Thomas, living in Virgil township; and Jemima, deceased.
In 1852 Thomas Walker came to Kane county, Illinois, with his family, and located in Virgil township, where his death occurred in 1891, at the age of eighty-two years. His wife lives in Virgil. Our subject lived with his father till the age of twenty years, and then worked by the month until his marriage, September 6, 1871, with Miss Martha Reid, daughter of David and Olive (Powley) Reid, the former a native of Scotland, born near Aiken Claurie, about thirty-five miles northeast of Glasgow, February 13, 1813, and the latter born in Frontinac county, Canada, in April, 1813.
David Reid grew to manhood in Scotland, and at the age of twenty years emigrated to Canada, sailing from Campbelltown, and after a three-months voyage, landing in Quebec, and locating near Kingston, in Frontinac county, where he resided until his emigration to Kane county, in 1850. Two years previously he visited Kane county, and purchased a farm of one hundred and sixty acres in Hampshire township, then returned home, and in the spring of 1850 brought his family to their new home. He is yet living on the old homestead, where he has spent nearly half a century, but making his home with his daughter, the wife of our subject. For some years he has been in ill health from a stroke of paralysis. His wife, the mother of Mrs. Walker, died in 1871. She was the daughter of William and Elizabeth (Hoffman) Powley, natives of Canada, the former dying at the age of ninety years. The parents of William Powley lived in America prior to the Revolutionary war, but after hostilities ceased returned to Germany, where they resided some years, and then again emigrated to the United States. About the outbreak of the war of 1812, they removed to Canada, where the father secured a good farm, on which he resided until his death. He often related to his children, how at one time in the forest he ran out of provisions, and killed, cooked and ate a rattlesnake, which he always declared was, under the circumstances, very good. Of the four children born to David and Olive Reid, three are yet living - John, a banker of Kansas City, Kansas; Dr. Charles P., of the village of Hampshire; and Martha, wife of our subject.
To our subject and wife, eleven children have been born - Harriet, Florence, David, Thomas, Clarissa, Hugh, Kate, Charles, John, Bessie and James. Fraternally Mr. Walker is a member of Hampshire lodge, Ancient, Free and Accepted Masons, of which he has been a member since 1867. In politics he is a Republican, and has held the office of school director and highway commissioner. He has resided upon his present farm since his marriage, and is regarded as one of the best farmers in the township, and as a citizen he is held in the highest esteem by all who know him.
PHILLIP H. HEMRICK, who engaged in farming on section 30, Rutland township, was born in Hampshire township, Kane county, Illinois, on section 13, September 25, 1848, and is the son of Michael and Dora (Hauslein) Hemrick, both of whom were natives of Bavaria, Germany, where they grew to manhood and womanhood, and were married, emigrating to America in 1845, and locating on a farm on sections 13 and 24, where they resided until their death, the latter dying when sixty years old, and the former at the age of seventy-six years. They were the parents of eight children, as follows: Michael, living in Kansas; Charles, also living in Kansas; Phillip, our subject; Dinah, wife of Jacob Miller, of Hampshire township; William, who died from the effects of sun stroke; Elizabeth, deceased; John, living on the home farm, and Malachi, deceased.
The subject of this sketch was reared on the home farm, and attended the district schools during the winter terms, and engaged in farm work the rest of the year. He remained under the parental roof until the age of twenty, when he hired out for one year. He was married in Elgin township April 13, 1869, to Caroline M. Maupton, who was born in Hampshire township July 12, 1850, and was the daughter of John and Sophia (Kolb) Maupton. The former died in 1852, and the latter makes her home with our subject. Mrs. Hemrick died January 8, 1898, leaving two children - Emma C. and Addie. They lost one, Ida S., who died at the age of six years. Emma C. is now the wife of E. A. Gage, of whom a more extended notice appears elsewhere in this work.
Mr. Hemrick is a member of the United Evangelical church, of which body his wife was also a member. In politics he is a thorough Republican, and for twenty-five years has served as school director. When the post office was established, in 1883, at Starks Station, known as Sunset Postoffice, he was appointed postmaster, which position he has creditably filled to the present time. Fraternally, he is a member of the Modern Woodmen of America, while his wife was a member of the Ladies of the Maccabees.
WILLIAM H. TUPPER, who owns and operates a fine farm of three hundred and sixty acres in section 14, Kaneville township, has been a resident of Kane county, since 1854. He was born in Ontario, Canada, March 6, 1830. His father, Elias Tupper, was a native of Nova Scotia, and was of English parentage. He grew to manhood in New Brunswick, and there married Ann Beckwith, also of English parentage. They became the parents of four sons and three daughters, but one son died in childhood, all growing to mature years, but are now deceased with the exception of our subject and his brother, Eliakim, who resides in Canada. In early manhood, Elias Tupper was engaged in mercantile trade, but on his removal to Canada, he first engaged in merchandising and later in farming. He settled near Quebec, where his store was destroyed by fire, during the war of 1812. After being burned out, he located in Ontario, above Hamilton, on a farm and there spent the last years of his life. His death occurred in 1836, when our subject was a child of six years. His wife survived him and reared the family, doing her duty by them in a most faithful manner.
The subject of this sketch grew to manhood in Canada and received good common-school advantages. On the 9th of April, 1848, he was united in marriage, in Canada, with Miss Catherine Edmonds, a native of Canada, and a daughter of Oliver Edmonds, formerly from New York. At the time of his marriage he was but eighteen years of age, and his bride but sixteen. Immediately after marriage he took charge of the Edmonds farm, which he operated for about six years, the winters of which time he engaged in lumbering. In 1854, he came to Kane county, Illinois, and purchased a tract of four hundred and eighty acres, in Kaneville township, about one hundred acres of which was under cultivation. Upon the place was a fair house and barn, which in due time gave place to a larger residence, while other improvements upon the place were made and the farm became one of the best in the township. It is well tiled, and supplied with outbuildings of a most substantial character, and is well equiped with all modern agricultural implements.
To Mr. and Mrs. Tupper nine children were born as follows: Oliver, married and engaged in farming near Maple Park; Mrs. Anna Watson, of Kaneville, who owns one hundred and twenty acres adjoining her father's place; Jeremiah, married and engaged in farming in Pierce county, Nebraska; Sarah Jane Cary, a widow residing in Kaneville; William H., who was a substantial farmer, married and died leaving a wife and children; Mary, wife of Dr. Elliott, of Peotone, Will county, Illinois; Susie, wife of Henry Herrick, a farmer of Sugar Grove, and George, now a student in the medical department of Michigan University at Ann Arbor.
Mrs. Tupper died July 21, 1889, at the age of sixty-seven years, and later Mr. Tupper married in Cortland, De Kalb county, Illinois, Mrs. Philena Joslyn, a native of Vermont, who there grew to womanhood, and the daughter of Martin L. Lowell, and a sister of Judge Lowell, of Sycamore. She is the mother of four children by her first marriage.
Politically Mr. Tupper is a Republican, but has never been a seeker after office. Always a friend of education, he has served as a member of the school board and given much of his time to advantage the educational interests of his neighborhood. He has shown his interest in educational matters in other ways, giving five hundred dollars toward the erection of Clark's, now Jennings Seminary, of Aurora. Religiously he is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church, of which body his wife is also a member.
At the time of his marriage Mr. Tupper was possessed of but little means, but he had a determination to succeed, and with that determination in view, he began work, toiled early and late, and as a result, success has crowned his efforts, and he is to-day numbered among the well-to-do and representative farmers of Kane county.
SILAS H. MIGHELL, of section 28, Sugar Grove township, is a well-known enterprising farmer-one who has spent almost his entire life in Kane county, dating his residence here since the fall of 1837. He was born in Rutland county, Vermont, December 12, 1829. The Mighell family were among the pioneers of Vermont, where James Mighell, the grandfather of our subject, was born. His son, Ezekiel Mighell, was born in Rutland county, Vermont, December 24, 1799, and there grew to manhood and married Lucinda Todd, also a native of Vermont. Ezekiel Mighell was a carpenter and joiner by trade, and followed that occupation during his residence in Vermont, and after his removal to Tompkins county, New York, where he went about 1830, locating near the head of Cayuga Lake. He there also engaged in farming; but, believing that he could do better in the west, he came to Illinois in 1837, locating in Sugar Grove township, Kane county, where he bought a claim of two hundred acres, which he entered after it came into the market. On the place was a log house into which he moved, and where he lived for a few years until he could improve the place and secure means for the erection of a more pretentious residence. From time to time he added to his original purchase until he had six hundred acres of fine farming land and was recognized as one of the substantial farmers of Kane county. On the old home farm he reared his family, and later moved to Aurora, living a retired life, and where his death occurred June 10, 1884, when about eighty-five years of age. His wife passed away March 26, 1877.
To Ezekiel and Lucinda Mighell eight children were born, two of whom, Silas and Nancy, died in infancy. Those who grew to mature years were Lewis, who married and settled in De Kalb county, where his death occurred May 25, 1883; Mary grew to womanhood, married John Ellis, now of Kewanee, Illinois, and died September 22, 1874; Silas H., the subject of this sketch; Albert, who married, moved to Aurora, where his death occurred; Horace R., married, settled in Morris, Illinois, and there died August 11, 1892; and Frank P., whose sketch appears elsewhere in this work.
Silas H. Mighell was about eight years of age when he came with his parents to Kane county. He assisted in developing the home farm and as the opportunity was afforded him attended the district school. He remained under the parental roof until after attaining his majority, and on the 19th of March, 1854, married Delena Colkins, a daughter of Thomas S. and Fannie (Clark) Colkins, the former born at Corning, New York, December 4, 1800, and the latter at Keene, New Hampshire. They moved to Illinois in 1852, located near Montgomery, Kane county, where Mr. Colkins died November 27, 1862. His wife survives him, and resides on a farm adjoining that of her daughter, Mrs. Mighell, and is now ninety-four years of age. To Mr. and Mrs. Mighell three children have been born: The oldest, Emma DeEtta, is now the wife of Franklin Eglington, of Aurora; Fannie L., wife of Arthur Potter, of Aurora; and Ina May, who is a practicing physician in Chicago and a graduate of Hahnemann Medical College.
After their marriage Mr. and Mrs. Mighell located on the farm where they now reside, and where they remained two years, then moved to De Kalb county, Illinois, where Mr. Mighell purchased a farm of one hundred and sixty acres, which he cultivated for seven years. In 1863 he returned to the old farm in Sugar Grove, township, on which he has made many substantial improvements. Later he sold the De Kalb county farm and purchased another farm in Sugar Grove township of one hundred and thirty-three acres, which is fairly well improved.
Politically Mr. Mighell is a Republican, with which party he has been identified since its organization. Religiously Mrs. Mighell is a member of the Baptist church. A residence of fifty-nine years in Kane county has brought him in contact with many of its representative citizens, and wherever best known he is the most highly esteemed.
ALEXANDER L. HINDS, who resides on section 23, Sugar Grove township, came to Kane county in 1842, and has here since made his home, with the exception of a few years spent in De Kalb county. His father, Alpheus H. Hinds, was a native of Vermont, born at Mount Holly, March 9, 1796. His grandfather, Carlis Hinds, was also a native of Vermont, where he married Polly Bents, also a native of the Green Mountain state. In 1803, he removed to Jefferson county, New York, of which he was a pioneer. He attained considerable prominence in that county, and in 1809 was elected and served one term in the legislature of the state. He died in 1811. Alpheus H. Hinds removed with the family to New York, a lad of five years. He there grew to manhood and married Mercy Wilkie, a native of Jefferson county, New York, and a daughter of Rev. Matthew Wilkie, a minister of the Baptist church, who died at Evans Mills, Jefferson county, New York, at the ripe old age of ninety years. He was a relative of Captain Miles Standish, the Puritan captain.
After his marriage, Alpheus H. Hinds operated the old homestead a few years and then moved to Redwood, New York, which was then a wilderness, which later became a flourishing town. In connection with an uncle of his wife, he built a sawmill, and engaged in the manufacture of lumber. Later he was appointed postmaster and for some years served as justice of the peace. In 1842, with two teams, he started west with his family, coming through Canada and was some four and a half weeks on the road. He arrived in Kane county on his forty-sixth birthday, March 9, 1842. In Sugar Grove township, he purchased a claim and later entered the land. On that farm he remained until 1871, when he sold out and removed to Aurora, where his death occurred December 10, 1874. His wife passed away December 20, 1872, and both were laid to rest in the West Side cemetery.
Alexander L. Hinds, our subject, was but two and a half years old when he accompanied his parents to Kane county. He is the youngest of a family of five sons and three daughters, and of that number he has one brother and one sister living. His brother, James Hinds, is a business man residing in Rochester, New York. His sister, Mrs. Laura R. Davidson, makes her home with our subject. Our subject remained with his father some years after attaining his majority, and engaged in the cultivation of the home farm. He married in Aurora, February 26, 1868, Miss Nettie Colley, a native of Belleville, Ohio. After his marriage he continued to operate the old homestead for two years, and then bought a farm in De Kalb county, to which he removed and where he remained for some years. While residing there his wife died in April, 1877, leaving one daughter, Alice L., who makes her home in Aurora. In 1878, Mr. Hinds sold the De Kalb county farm, returned to Kane county, and rented the farm on which he now resides, for some two or three years and then purchased the place, since which time he has given his attention to its further improvement and in general farming.
Politically, Mr. Hinds is a Democrat, with which party he has been identified since attaining his majority. He has never wavered in the support of his party, nor in advocacy of its principles. Fraternally, he is a member of the Modern Woodmen of America and the Knights of Honor. An old settler of the county, he is well and favorably known and held in high esteem.
Mrs. Laura R. Davidson, a sister of Mr. Hinds, was born in Watertown, Jefferson county, New York, January 29, 1822. She was there given good school advantages, and for some years before her marriage engaged in teaching in the public schools. She has been twice married, her first union being with William J. Rose, a native of New York, who came to Kane county a young man, and purchased the farm where Mrs. Davidson now resides. Here they began their domestic life, and resided until the death of Mr. Rose, May 16, 1873. He was a successful farmer, a careful business man, and his death was sincerely mourned by many friends. After his death, his widow rented the farm, though still making it her home. On the 24th of December, 1885, she married T. M. Davidson, who met with an accident which caused his death some two years later. He died August 19, 1887, since which time Mrs. Davidson has been making her home with her brother. She is a member of the Baptist church, and is much esteemed and beloved by all, and is one of the few remaining old settlers of Kane county.
JOHN C. WHILDIN resides on section 17, Big Rock township, where he owns and operates a fine farm of two hundred and fifty-one acres. He was born in the town of Marion, Montgomery county, Pennsylvania, July 12, 1843. His father, Jeremiah Whildin, was a native of Wales, born in Montgomeryshire, December 25, 1799, and there grew to manhood, and married Mary Reese, also a native of Montgomeryshire, Wales. The marriage ceremony was solemnized in 1826. In 1842 they emigrated with their family to the United States, and after spending seven years in Pennsylvania and New York they came west to Chicago, and there leaving his family, with his son, J. M., he walked from Chicago to Big Rock township, and after selecting a location, sent back three teams for his goods and family. His brother Edward had located here some three years previously, and it was through his solicitation that Mr. Whildin came to Kane county. On his arrival in Big Rock township he purchased one hundred and twenty acres of land, on which was a log house, and a few acres in cultivation. To the improvement of this land and to founding here a home, in which to rear his family and spend his declining days, was the desire of his heart. He later bought more land until his tract comprised two hundred and twenty-five acres. In the course of time the old log house gave place to a more modern structure, barns and other outbuildings were erected, and the farm placed under a high state of cultivation. On this place he died October 21, 1889, at the age of nearly ninety years. His wife passed to her reward, April 13, 1880. Jeremiah Whildin was a true Christian man, a member of the Baptist church at Big Rock, in which he was elected deacon in 1849, serving as such until his death. Of their family of four sons and eight daughters, three sons and five daughters grew to mature years, and of these, three sons and one daughter now survive.
The subject of this sketch was but six years of age when he came with the family to Kane county. On the home farm he remained, assisting in its cultivation, until after reaching his majority, in the meantime receiving his education in the public schools. On the 14th of May 1868, he was united in marriage with Miss Harriet Potter, who was born in Big Rock township, Kane county, and a daughter of Samuel E. Potter, a native of Franklin county, Massachusetts, who came to Kane county a young man about 1845. He here married Olive P. Winslow, also a native of Massachusetts. He was the owner of land in both Kane and De Kalb counties, and here died July 20, 1855, when about thirty-five years of age, leaving a widow and several small children. Mrs. Whildin was taken by her aunt Mary Potter, to her grandfather, Potter, in Massachusetts, where she was reared to womanhood. After the death of her grandmother Potter, she went to New York state and there lived one year, and then returned to Kane county, where her marriage with Mr. Whildin occurred. By this union are five children, of whom Alice is now the wife of William W. Williams, a farmer of Big Rock township; Mary A. is the wife of B. C. Fountain, also a farmer of Big Rock township; Merritt J. is assistant postmaster, and clerk in a store at Big Rock; Otis F., who is assisting in carrying on the farm, and Leslie E., a student at the home schools.
Politically Mr. Whildin is a Republican, having acted with that party since attaining his majority. He has been quite active in local politics and has served in several official positions. He was on a special committee for the erection of a town hall, and since becoming of age he has served as a school director. Every year he has served as a delegate to various conventions, including county and congressional, and is one of the commissioners of highways of the township and treasurer of the board. While not members of the church, Mr. and Mrs. Whildin attend the Baptist church at Big Rock, in which faith they were both reared. A thoroughly practical farmer, one who has engaged in no other line of business, Mr. Whildin has worked early and late, and success has in a measure crowned his efforts.
RENALWIN OUTHOUSE, deceased. This gentleman was born near Lily Lake, Kane county, April 22, 1852, and was the son of James and Elizabeth (Read) Outhouse, both natives of New Brunswick, Nova Scotia. The former was raised on a farm and that pursuit he followed in his younger days, but the temptations surrounding his home at Sackville, New Brunswick, near to the stormy bay of Fundy, were too strong for his adventurous spirit, so he left farming and followed the sea. In 1836, with his wife and two children, he came to the United States, and settled near Maple Park, Kane county, Illinois, where he staked off a claim of government land, but soon after removed to another farm, which he purchased in the same township, and subsequently sold to his father-in-law, Joshua Read, who had newly arrived with his wife, Priscilla (Chapel) Read, and their twelve children. James Outhouse then bought a farm near Lily Lake, Campton township, to which he added from time to time, eventually owning three hundred and twenty acres, upon which he built a good residence and other outbuildings, and gradually improved the land. At the time of purchase the Black Hawk Indians and their noted leader were extant in this vicinity.
James Outhouse had a family of seven children, as follows: Priscilla, Edward, William, Mary, George, Renalwin and Arathusa. Priscilla is the widow of George Easterbrook and is now living in De Kalb county; William is a resident of Elgin; Mary is the wife of James Leighton and resides in Maine; George, a retired farmer, is now living in Elburn, Illinois; Arathusa is the wife of Henry Lord, of Aurora.
Renalwin Outhouse gained his early education in the public schools, supplemented by a year in Jennings Seminary and Business College, in Aurora, after which he settled down to farming, his father dividing the old homestead farm between him and his brother George. January 28, 1878, our subject married Addie Leighton, daughter of Alfred C. and Jeannette (Morris) Leigh ton, residing in Perry, Maine, her father being a native of Eastport, Maine, while her mother was born in Ayrshire, Scotland. Mr. Leighton is deceased, while Mrs. Leighton makes her home with her daughter, Mrs. Outhouse. Four children were born to our subject and wife-three still surviving: Fred M., Laura E., and Myrtie E.; Mary J. died in her eighth year.
The son, Fred M., is taking a scientific course in Dixon College, preparing himself for the legal profession. Laura graduated from the Elgin High School in 1898; and Myrtie is now attending school at Elburn, Illinois.
Mr. Outhouse was clerk of the school board three terms, and highway commissioner two years, being still in office at the time of his death. He was formerly one of the directors of the Milk Shippers' Association. Fraternally he was a Mason, belonging to the blue lodge at Elburn, the chapter, and a Knight Templar, belonging to Sycamore Commandery, No. 15. Mr. Outhouse was the owner of about four hundred and twenty acres of valuable land. His widow rents her farms and resides in a pleasant, commodious residence in the village of Lily Lake. She also owns property in Elburn, Illinois. Mr. Outhouse attended the dedication of the World's Fair at Chicago, and was stricken with illness immediately on his return home and died on the 4th of November, 1892. His remains lie resting in the beautiful cemetery at Elburn. Mrs. Outhouse is a member of the Congregational church.
MRS. CATHERINE B. SLATER, M. D., No. 48 Fox street, Aurora, Illinois, has practiced medicine in the city since 1879, and is to-day one of the most successful lady physicians in this section of the state. She comes of a family of educators and has herself been a leading teacher in the public schools of Illinois and other states. She was born at Otsego, near Zanesville, Ohio, February 26, 1844. She was the fifth child and fourth daughter in a family of eight children born to Thomas H. and Jane (Culbertson) Patrick, the former a native of Warren, Massachusetts, and the latter of Zanesville, Ohio. Her father was one of the most proficient educators of his day and all his family were teachers of merit. He was a resident of Zanesville at the time of his marriage, which event, took place in the early '30s. He continued to reside there until 1839, teaching in the meantime. In the spring of that year he brought his wife to the prairies of Illinois and purchasing land in Montgomery county, founded the village of Zanesville, naming it after his former home, the journey there being made in a wagon; the country at that early day was wet and malarial, his wife soon tiring of their adopted home, they returned to Ohio, and continued to reside there until called to their final rest.
The maternal great-grandfather of our subject, Col. Horatio Jamieson, was a graduate of Edinburgh University, Scotland, and came to America to assist the colonists in their struggle for liberty. So active and eminent were his services in the cause, that it is stated in the private records of the family that General Washington tendered him Fort Duquesne, as a reward for his valued services. His declined the reward, however. He was also a surgeon in the French and Indian war. He later returned to Scotland for a time, but came back to Pennsylvania and there married. The only child of this union was named Cassandra, and who from a small child took considerable interest in her father's medical studies and became quite an adept in the use of the knife and lancet. She became the wife of James Culbertson and was a woman of great beauty and undaunted courage. In 1805 James Culbertson and his wife emigrated from McKeesport, Pennsylvania, and were pioneers in the early settlement of Central Ohio. On leaving Pennsylvania their destination was Columbus, Ohio, but stopping at Zanesville on the way, they became very popular in that scattered hamlet, and on resuming their journey they were escorted .for some distance by most of its inhabitants. The fatigues of travel, sickness, together with the warmhearted reception they had met with at Zanesville, caused them to return before reaching Columbus, and they determined to make that place their future home. Securing a valuable piece of land in what is now the center of the city, they greeted a dwelling and a business block in which for many, years Mr. Culbertson carried on the business of a hatter, manufacturing the then popular beaver hat-known to the present generation only by pictures representing "Uncle Sam "and "Grandfather Harrison."
The family of James Culbertson and wife consisted of five daughters and six sons, of whom three died in infancy. The others established themselves in every branch of life, professional, business and agricultural. Their names were as follows: James, Joseph, Perry, Jamieson, a captain in the Civil war; William, Elizabeth, Emily and Jane, the last named being the mother of our subject. She was born in 1809, died 1852. Of these, William is the only one now living. The children born to Thomas H. and Jane Patrick were: Louisa, James, Charlotte, Elizabeth, Catherine B., Harriet, Thomas and Asa P. The last two died in infancy, while James and Charlotte are also deceased.
The early education of our subject began in the Mclntyre Academy at Zanesville, Ohio, an endowed institution in which her father was principal. The academy was afterwards absorbed by the public schools. In the public schools her education continued and she was graduated from the high school in 1864. She subsequently taught in the high school at Fremont, Ohio, and on September 3, 1867, she married James G. Slater, a merchant of Fremont, and continued to reside there until the fall of 1868, at which time they removed to Mansfield, Ohio, where they remained until February, 1870, when they came to Aurora, Illinois. Soon after their arrival, Mr. Slater engaged in the dry goods business, entering into partnership with A. Somerindyck. Later failing health induced him to dispose of his interest in the business, since which time his services have been with Mr. Sencenbaugh.
Mrs. Slater began the study of medicine in 1873, at the same time teaching in the west side high school at Aurora, of which she was principal for three years. She then entered the Woman's Medical College, of the Northwestern University, Chicago, where she remained a little over two years, and was graduated in the spring of 1879, with the degree of M. D. She was one in the first class to stand competitive examinations for the hospitals of Chicago. Immediately after receiving her degree Dr. Slater began the practice of her profession in Aurora, her office being at 48 Fox street, and she has built up an excellent practice
among the very best families in Aurora. Since her graduation she has supplemented her education by a journey to Berlin, Germany, going as a delegate from the American Medical Association to the international congress at Berlin, and was the first lady admitted to any clinic in that country. This was in 1890. She remained there six months, and while abroad visited all the medical institutions of any note, receiving invitations from the different medical societies. In 1897, Dr. Slater formed one of a party of about fifty physicians, ladies and gentlemen, who traveled and visited the hospitals on the continent of Europe and Russia, and all were most cordially received. She was appointed professor of hygiene in the medical department of the Northwestern University at Chicago, and in 1895 was elected to the board of education of Aurora, and is still a member. She has been trustee and surgeon of the Aurora City Hospital since its establishment in 1888, and is also surgeon of the Woman's Relief Corps, No. 10, department of Illinois. While reared a Presbyterian, she now attends the Episcopal church. A woman of natural and acquired ability, she ranks high in her profession and is greatly esteemed for her womanly virtues.
BACK TO BIOGRAPHY INDEX
Return to the Main Index Page for Kane County