BIOGRAPHIES published in
the "Biographical Record of Kane County, Illinois"
Originally printed by the S.J. Clarke Publishing Company, Chicago, 1898
All biographies submitted by K. Torp
CAPTAIN A. C. GRAVES, a veteran of the war of the Union, and a pioneer of the state of 1834, but now living a retired life in the city of Aurora, is well known throughout Kane, Du Page and adjoining counties. He was born in Cortland county, New York, February 15, 1825, and is the son of Phineas and Anna (Kendall) Graves, the former a native of Cortland county, New York, and the latter of Vermont. Phineas Graves grew to manhood in his native state, where his marriage with Ann Kendall occurred. By occupation he was a farmer, and with that laudable desire to better himself he determined to come west. Accordingly on the 10th of February, 1834, with his family, accompanied by his brothers, Amos and Jesse, he left his old home and drove through with teams, being thirty-one days on the road. He first located in Will county, three miles from the present village of Lockport, where he bought a claim, on which was a log house, and which had eight or ten acres broken. This was known as canal land. Three years later he sold out and moved to Du Page county, located near Warrensville, taking up a claim of one hundred and sixty acres, which he improved and made one of the finest farms in the county. He later sold that farm and purchased another in the same township, where he re-resided a number of years and reared his family. He subsequently sold the farm, and moved to Aurora, where he died December 24, 1889, in his ninetieth year. His' wife passed away February 8, 1887, and they were laid to rest side by side in the west side cemetery, where a substantial monument marks their last resting place.
Captain Graves is the oldest son and second in order of birth of the family of eleven children born to Phineas and Anna Graves. The others are Lucy Ann, wife of Samuel Bartholomew, who resides near Turner Junction, Du Page county; Capt. A. C.; Mary, widow of Lucius Bartholomew, residing in Batavia, Illinois; Juliet, widow of Richard S. Reynolds, residing in Iowa; Betsy, widow of Orlando Stolp, residing in Missouri; Ellen S., wife of James Vallett, of Naperville; Martha, now deceased, was the wife of Norman T. Gazette, of Chicago; Emma, wife of Samuel Wright, of Denver, Colorado; Addison B., of Lamont, Will county, Illinois; James D., of Chicago; and A. Judson, of Calhoun county, Iowa.
The subject of this sketch came to Illinois with his parents, a lad of nine years, and was twelve years old when the family moved to Du Page county. He there assisted his father in opening up, and carrying on the home farm. His educational advantages were very limited, and were confined to the country district schools. After arriving at mature years, he settled on a farm of sixty acres adjoining that of his father, which he operated for some years, then sold out and moved to Naperville.
Mr. Graves was married in Du Page county, December 3, 1847, to Mary A. Buck, a native of Erie county, New York, and a daughter of Stephen Buck, who was one of the pioneers of Du Page county. She was reared and educated in her native state, and previous to her marriage was a teacher in the public schools of Du Page county. By this union are four daughters: Julia E., wife of Judge Gary, of Wheaton, Illinois; Anna P., wife of William Judd, of Aurora; Eva Viola, wife of Oscar Hamilton, of Aurora; and Bertha, wife of Lemuel Northam, of Joliet, Illinois.
In 1862, Mr. Graves raised a company, and was commissioned captain of Company D, One Hundred and Fifth Regiment, Illinois Volunteer Infantry, and with his regiment went immediately to the front. He served on detached duty, and was in charge of a company of mounted scouts, having under him when he first started about seventy-three men when considered necessary. After serving through the winter of 1862-3, he was compelled to abandon active duty on account of ill health, having been taken down with typhoid fever. After he had somewhat recovered, he was placed on duty in the spring of 1863, on the staff of General Granger at Nashville. Previous to his being assigned to the staff of General Granger he had been home on sick furlough, and returned to the front, accompanying Col. Hammond, of the One Hundredth Illinois Volunteer Infantry, with a large body of recruits. Joining his own command, he was in various engagements, including Dalton, Burnt Hickory, Kenesaw Mountain, New Hope Church, Big Shanty, Peach Tree Creek, and a number of lesser fights and engagements. After the Atlanta campaign, he was ordered back to Lookout Mountain, and reporting to the medical board, was sent to the hospital. Feeling that he could no longer remain in the service on account of his health, his resignation was accepted, March 8, 1865.
Returning home, he again commenced farming, at which he continued two years, when he moved to Aurora, and has since been a resident of this city. He lately sold his original farm but still has other farms and some Iowa land. He has always been quite active in political affairs, and since the organization of the party has been quite active in political affairs, and since the organization of the party, has been a stanch Republican. While yet residing in Du Page county, he was honored by his fellow citizens, with various official positions. For three years he served as collector of his township, and in 1855, was elected sheriff of the county, and moved to Naperville. After filling out his official term, he engaged in merchandising in Naperville and served as deputy sheriff two years. He was then re-elected sheriff and served another term. He also served his township as a member of the board of supervisors several terms; since coming to Aurora he served as city marshal four terms in succession. In whatever position held, he discharged its duties faithfully and well.
Captain Graves and his wife are members of the Aurora Baptist church. For some years he was a member of the Masonic lodge at Naperville, but is now a dimitted member. For sixty-four years he has been a resident of the Prairie state. On his arrival here, Chicago was an insignificant village, which he has lived to see become the second city in the union. Northern Illinois was then a vast wilderness, while to-day it is acknowledged to be the garden spot of the Northwest. In its transformation Captain Graves has borne no inconsiderable part.
ABRAHAM P. SHERWOOD, who for many years was actively identified with the agricultural interests of Kane county, but is now living retired at No. 226 Hamilton avenue, Elgin, was born in the town of Sweden, Erie county, New York, July 5, 1827. His father, John Sherwood, was a native of the same state, born April 6, 1790, and was a son of Hezekiah Sherwood. In 1836 John Sherwood, who was a carpenter by trade left New York and removed to Canada, but ten years later came to Kane county, Illinois, making the journey by boat from Chatham, Canada, to Detroit, and thence overland to Chicago and Kane county, being twenty-two days en route. On his arrival his cash capital consisted of about ten dollars, but he rented a farm in Plato and Campton townships, and began life in earnest on the western frontier. A year later he purchased eighty acres of land on section 19, Plato township, and. to the cultivation and improvement of his place he devoted his energies until called to his final rest on the 20th of May, 1879. He was a soldier of the war of 1812, and at the' battle of King's Mountains was taken prisoner, but was soon paroled and sent home. In early life he was a Democrat, but being a strong Union man he joined the Republican party about the time of its organization, and continued one of its stanch supporters. In religious belief he was a Methodist.
John Sherwood was twice married, his first union being with Sybil Jeffords, by whom he had three children. For his second wife he married Sarah Pease, a daughter of Abraham and Sarah (Dunham) Pease, and to them were born six children, namely: Seth, who was for many years a partner of our subject in business; Abraham P., of this sketch; Melton, a resident of California; Martha, wife of Charles Harvey, of the same state; John, a resident of Nebraska; and Mary, deceased.
Mr. Sherwood, of this review, began his education in the public schools of New York, later attended the subscription schools of Canada, but as his father was in rather limited circumstances his school privileges were meager, and he is almost wholly self-educated. At the age of nineteen years he ac-companied the family on their emigration to Kane county, and he and his oldest brother assisted the father in paying for his eighty-acre farm. Later the sons embarked in business on their own account, at first renting a tract of one hundred and sixty acres, which they successfully operated. Meeting with success in this undertaking, they purchased land, and being thrifty, energetic and of good business ability, they were soon able to add to their original purchase, increasing the boundaries of their land from time to time until they had nearly two thousand acres at the time of the division of the property. Their success was marvelous when compared with the careers of others who began life with them under far more advantageous conditions. Besides general farming, Abraham P. Sherwood was interested in dairying, and also in buying, feeding and shipping cattle. He continued to engage in active business until 1891, when, having secured a comfortable competence, he laid aside business cares, leasing some of his land, while other tracts he gave to his sons. Since then he has lived retired at his pleasant home at No. 226 Hamilton avenue, Elgin.
On November 11, 1852, Mr. Sherwood was married in Plato township, to Miss Phoebe Ann Wright, a native of New York state; and a daughter of E. Baldwin and Eliza (Foster) Wright. Her father, who was a soldier of the war of 1812, was a son of Solomon and Zelpha Wright. Her maternal grandparents were James and Phoebe Foster. To Mr. and Mrs. Sherwood were born six children, as follows: George W. married Lillie Warner and is engaged in farming on section 30, Plato township; John B., who is also engaged in farming on the same section, married Jennie McKellar and has two children - John Leroy and Harry; Margaret is the wife of A. M. Chapman, of Elgin; Lewis H. married Etta Haygreen and lives in Elgin; Benjamin A., a farmer on section 25, Burlington township, married Etta Cripps and has two children - Dewitt and Gracie; and Elizabeth Ann died at the age of two years.
Although an ardent Republican in politics, Mr. Sherwood has always refused to accept office of any kind, preferring to give his entire time and attention to his extensive business interests. His life record is one well worthy of emulation and contains many valuable lessons of incentive, showing the possibilities that are open to young men who wish to improve every opportunity for advancement. Upright and honorable in all the relations of life, he merits and receives the respect and confidence of all with whom he comes in contact. Mrs. Sherwood is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church.
ERASTUS W. BLACKMAN
Canada has furnished to the United States many bright, enterprising young men who have left the Dominion to enter the business circles of this country with its more progressive methods, livelier competition and advancement more quickly secured. Among this number is Mr. Blackman, who was for many years successfully engaged in agricultural pursuits in Kane county, but is now living retired at No. 610 West Chicago street, Elgin.
He was born in Toronto, Canada, June 18, 1825, a son of Zenas and Elvira (Mitchell) Blackman, the former a native of Vermont, the latter of Canada. In early life the father emigrated to Lower Canada, and from there to Upper Canada, where he opened up a farm. He was born in 1795, and, although quite young, he participated in the latter part of the war of 1812, receiving for his service a land warrant, which he traded for land in Canada without seeing the tract. In 1848 he came to Kane county, Illinois, and first located at St. Charles, but removed to Wheeling, Cook county, in 1868. He died in 1878, and his wife in 1896, at the age of eighty-one years. Both were devout members of the Methodist Episcopal church and took an active part in its work.
Our subject is the oldest of their ten children, of whom eight are still living. Three of the sons were soldiers of the Civil war. At President Lincoln's first call for two hundred thousand volunteers, Ephraim enlisted in Dodson's Cavalry and served three years in the Western army, during which time he was never wounded or taken prisoner. He is married and resides in Arkansas. George enlisted in the One Hundred and Twenty-seventh Illinois Volunteer Infantry, which was also assigned to the Western army, and he participated in many important battles. His arduous service broke down his health, and he died at his home in Kansas, leaving a widow and one child. As soon as old enough, Emerson A. enlisted in the artillery service as a private, and with the Army of the Potomac took part in some hotly contested engagements, including the battle of Gettysburg, where he was the last one to leave a gun which was captured by the Rebels. He was never wounded. Our subject's sisters are Matilda, wife of William Comfort, a farmer of Independence, Iowa; Eliza J., widow of Lucian Scott, of Elburn, Kane county; Adaline, deceased wife of Walter Sutherland, a farmer of Kansas; Adalaide, wife of Nelson Sales, of Nebraska; and Laura, wife of Herbert Johnson, a farmer of Kansas.
In the schools of Canada Erastus W. Blackman obtained his education. Throughout his business career he successfully engaged in farming, and on coming from Canada to Illinois, in 1848, he purchased one hundred acres of land in Wheeling township, Cook county, twenty-two miles northwest of Chicago, between Arlington Heights and Palatine. Subsequently he traded that place for two hundred acres in Kane county, five miles northwest of St. Charles, to the cultivation and improvement of which he devoted his time and attention for twenty years. On selling out to his son, he bought his present comfortable home in Elgin, where he now enjoys a well-earned rest.
Mr. Blackman was married May 2, 1852, to Miss Sarah Jane Switzer, a daughter of Joseph and Salina Switzer, natives of Canada, where Mrs. Blackman was also born. Her mother died in that country at the age of forty-three years, and the father afterward married Catherine Robinson, by whom he had one daughter, Amelia, who is now the wife of Jacob Miller, of St. Paul, Minnesota, by whom she had seven children. He came with his family to Illinois in 1849. Both the mother and daughter are still living but Mr. Switzer died in 1855, aged fifty-three years. By his first marriage he had ten children, eight of whom still survive, namely: Samuel; Martin; Charles; Mrs. Blackman; Lizzie, who married Stephen Gates and died about 1857, at the age of twenty-two years; Mary A., wife of I. C. Towner, of Elgin; Joseph Russell, a resident of St. Charles, Kane county; William Heury, of California; Jabez, a farmer of Kane county; Emma, who died in infancy.
Mr. and Mrs. Blackman have seven children: Salina is the wife of L. A. Hovey, a railroad man residing in Elgin, and they have three children-Lucia, Julia and Vine; Frank M., who has been a policeman in Aurora for many years, wedded Mary Fish and has two children - Claud M. and May; Emma M. is the wife of Bela Ward, a farmer of Campton township, Kane county, and has two children - Pearl and Ruby; Mary E. is the wife of Charles Searles, of Freeport, Illinois, and has three children - Earl, Paul and Charles Raphael; Ray Allen, of St. Charles, married Ella Shaw and has one child, Myrl; Amelia is the wife of Arthur Bullock, who is employed in the watch factory at Elgin; and Philo M. is a machinist, residing with his parents.
In the Methodist Episcopal church, Mr. and Mrs. Blackman and several of their children hold membership, while he has served as steward and filled other offices in the same. For thirty-eight years he has been a teacher in the Sunday-school, and for many years was superintendent, always taking an active and prominent part in all church work. He is a grand, good man, upright and honorable in all his dealings, and commands the confidence and respect of all with whom he comes in contact. For many years he served as school director in his township.
HERMAN F. DEMMER, chief of police of Aurora, was born in Germany, and with his parents started for America, when about two months of age. Soon after their arrival, the mother died in St. Louis, with cholera during the great epidemic of that disease in that city. The father died about one year later in Buffalo, Iowa. In their family were four children, Herman F., our subject; Lena, now the wife of B. F. Stevens, of Orion, Henry county, Illinois; Anna, widow of Andrew Bolden, now residing in Chicago; and Ida, wife of George E. Hampson, a retired farmer of Millford, Illinois.
After the father's death, Herman was bound out to a Mr. Dodge, in Buffalo, Iowa, with whom he remained a number of years. He was educated in Moline, Illinois, where he resided after leaving Iowa. In 1861 he came to Aurora, which has since been his home with the exception of about six years. During the late war he enlisted and served about five months and on his return went to railroading for the Chicago, .Burlington & Quincy Railroad Company, until 1868, when he left the service of that company and was engaged with the Hannibal & St. Joseph Railroad Company. At Davenport, Iowa, January 5, 1870, he enlisted in the regular army, and was sent to Fort Leavenworth, where he remained a month. He was then sent west and served on the plains for two and a half years. He was then sent to Mt. Sterling, Kentucky, thence to Little Rock, Arkansas, from which place he was again sent west to engaged in the Modoc war, but order countermanded before they got to Council Bluffs. He was next stationed at Fort D. A. Russell, and later at Fort Laramie. He was discharged at the latter place, having served five years, lacking five days. His record was an excellent one.
Returning to Aurora, Mr. Demmer again began railroading, first as brakeman, and then conductor. After about four years spent in that service, he again left the road, and for a time engaged in business. He was then appointed on the police service, and served as patrolman two years, when he received the appointment of chief of police, which position he yet holds, making eleven years continuous service, which is the longest continuous service of any chief ever having been employed in this city. At present he is president of the Chief of Police Union of the state of Illinois, which position he has held for five years. This is certainly an acknowledgment of his ability, by the chiefs throughout the state.
On the 15th of January, 1881, Mr. Demmer was united in marriage with Miss Alma Steele, of Aurora, and a daughter of Catherine Steele, who is the mother of four children - Dyer, a railway brakeman, residing in Aurora; Mary A., who married S. M. Farwell, and died in Aurora, at the age of forty-four years; Nelson, deceased; and Alma. To Mr. and Mrs. Demmer seven children have been born, five of whom are living - Daisy, Mabel, Nellie, Anna, and Lily. Those deceased are Frank and George.
In politics Mr. Demmer is an ardent Republican, who takes pleasure in upholding the platform and measures of his party on all occasions. He is one of the reliable men of Aurora, and his many admirable qualities have tended to make him popular with all classes with whom he comes in contact. As a public officer he has given the fullest satisfaction through his constituency. Socially he is a courteous gentleman, and is a man whom misfortunes have not disheartened, nor has disaster had an appalling effect. He was nominated by the Republican party for sheriff in 1898.
MANLEY P. TREADWELL, residing on section 10, Elgin township, was born on the farm where he now resides.
His father, William Treadwell, was born July 22, 1823, in Almyr, Ontario, Canada, and came west in 1840, and later purchased a farm on section 10, Elgin township, where he resided for many years. He was the son of Anson and Nancy (Somers) Tread-well, natives of Canada and New York, respectively. Martha A. Adams was the daughter of Edward and Abigail (Padelford) Adams. To William M. and Martha A. Treadwell three children were born, as follows: William E., a physician and surgeon at Maple Park; one who died in infancy; and Manley P., our subject.
The boyhood and youth of Manley P. Treadwell were spent upon the home farm, and his education was obtained in the district schools and Elgin Academy. At the age of eighteen years he went to Chicago, and was there engaged in the milk business one year. He then returned and farmed with his father one year, after which he moved to Elgin, and for one year was engaged in teaming, and in the watch factory for seven years. In 1886 he again returned to the farm, which consists of one hundred and sixty acres of fine arable land, and where he has since continued to reside. He usually keeps about fifty head of cows, the milk from which he sells to the condensing factory at Elgin, and ships to Chicago.
On the 16th of February, 1882, Mr. Treadwell was married in St. Charles, Illinois, to Miss Kate Vanderwalker, born in Chester, Warren county, New York, and eighth in a family of nine children born to William and Sophia (Churchill) Vanderwalker, the latter a daughter of Otis Churchill. Her father did good service in the war of 1812. By this union one child has been born - Alice M., who yet resides under the parental roof.
Mr. Treadwell in politics is thoroughly independent, voting for such men as he thinks best qualified for the office. For many years he served as clerk of the board of school directors of his district and was annually re-elected, until he refused longer to serve. He is a member of the Baptist church, of which body his wife is also a member, and was one of the main promoters of the chapel built near his residence in 1896. Fraternally he is a member of Monitor lodge, No. 522, A. F. & A. M., and of Silver Leaf camp, No. 60, M. W. A.
For some years the family has been accustomed to taking long trips overland, for health and pleasure. A number of seasons they drove through to St.. Paul and back, returning on the west side of the river and camping by the way. They have also traveled east, visiting many of the large cities of New England and the central states. As a farmer, Mr. Treadwell ranks among the best, his farm being well supplied with substantial buildings, and it is well watered by a large stream which flows through it. The farm lies very near the corporate limits of Elgin.
George W.L. Brown
GEORGE W. L. BROWN, a well-known real-estate dealer of Elgin, living at 158 North Liberty street, is proud to claim Illinois as his native state, his birth having occurred in Cook county, April 19, 1848. He is a representative of one of its old and highly respected pioneer families, his parents being Schuyler and Mary Ann (Youngs) Brown, the former a native of New York and the latter of Canada. Of their seven children, only two are now living-Charles and George W. L. The father, a farmer by occupation, came to Illinois as early as 1833, with a Mr. Scuttler and located at old Fort Dearborn, now Chicago. He carried on farming seven miles west of Blue Island, in Cook county, and there reared his family, but in 1856 he removed to Humbolt county, Iowa, where he engaged in his chosen calling until 1887, when he returned to Genoa, Illinois, to live with our subject. His wife, who was a consistent member of the Methodist church, had died in 1869, at the age of fifty years, and his death occurred in Genoa, in 1892, when in his eighty-eighth year. During his early manhood he was a member of the New York State Militia, and originally he was a Democrat in politics, but, after voting for Lincoln in 1860, he continued to support the Republican party. Wherever known he was held in high regard, having the respect and confidence of all with whom he came in contact.
Hugh Brown, our subject's paternal grandfather, was born in New York state, of English ancestry, and throughout life principally engaged in farming. He reared a family of eleven children, was a soldier in the war of 1812, and was over seventy years of age at the time of his death. The maternal grandfather, Jerry Youngs, was a native of Canada and died at an advanced age.
Upon his father's farm, Mr. Brown, of this review, spent the days of his boyhood and youth, and in the district schools of Cook county he acquired his education. At the early age of fifteen, however, he laid aside his text books to aid his country in the struggle to preserve the Union, enlisting in Company G, Thirty-ninth Illinois Volunteer Infantry, "Yates' Phalanx." He served a little less than two years and during that time participated in the battle of the Wilderness, the siege of Washington, the battles of Hatchie's Run, Petersburg and many skirmishes. He had entered the service as a private, but was promoted corporal on the day he was shot, but did not hear the order of promotion. It was on the 2nd of April, 1865, at the battle of Petersburg, that he was wounded, and, being sent to the hospital at Fortress Monroe, he remained there from the 4th of that month until July 19, when he was honorably discharged and returned to his home in Cook county.
Mrs. George Brown
Soon after the war Mr. Brown removed to De Kalb county, Illinois, where he made his home for three years, and then went to Humbolt county, Iowa, engaging in farming there until his return to De Kalb county, in 1872. On the 1st of March, 1893, he came to Elgin, and has since successfully engaged in the real estate business in this city. Being an honorable, upright business man, he has met with a well deserved success in his undertakings, and is to-day numbered among the leading and valued citizens of the place.
On the14th of October, 1869, Mr. Brown married Miss Margaret J. Vote, a daughter of John and Anna Maria (Karn) Vote. The children born to them are as follows: Charles Elmer, who died in infancy; Clara Belle, who is now the wife of G. H. Brown, of Genoa, Illinois, and has three children, Hazel May, Clayton George and Floyd Harvey; Maggie May, who is the wife of J. B. Brown, a brother of George H., and has one child, Raymond Claire; George W. L., Jr., a graduate of Callow's Business College; and Charles F. and Alta Adell, both at home.
Socially, Mr. Brown is a member of the Masonic order, the Modern Woodmen of America, and Genoa post, G. A. R.; while politically he has always been an uncompromising Republican, doing all in his power to advance the interests and insure the success of his party. For about thirteen years he served as school director in New Lebanon, Illinois, and was commissioner of highways for the same length of time. He is a man of recognized ability and, with his amiable wife, stands high in the communities where they have made their home. Those who know them best are numbered among their warmest friends, and no citizens in Kane county are more honored or highly respected.
AUGUST JAPP, a retired farmer living in the village of Hampshire, is a representative of the German-American citizens, who by their industry and thrift, have done much in making Kane county occupy its proud position among the counties of the great state of Illinois. He was born in the village of Hanshagen, province of Mecklenberg Schwerin, Germany, October 5, 1847, and is the son of August Japp, Sr., and Dorothy (Bottcher) Japp, the former a native of Jesse, Mecklenberg Schwerin, Germany, born in 1813, and is yet living at the advanced age of eighty-one years. His father was Hans Japp, a native of the same country. Dorothy Bottcher was a daughter of Hans Bottcher, who lived and died in Germany.
The subject of this sketch attended the parochial schools in his native country until the age of fourteen, when he engaged in farm work, which he continued until his removal to America in 1865. He was then but eighteen years of age and left just before he would have been called into the service of his country in the German army. The family sailed from Hamburg. October 27, 1865, on the steamer Saxonia, and after being twenty-two days upon the water landed at New York. They came at once to Cook county, Illinois, and located at Shaumberg. For two years our subject worked as a day laborer at anything he could find to do. His father then rented a farm and for the four succeeding years he worked with him, giving him his time until twenty-five years of age. He then formed a partnership with his father, which was maintained for four years.
On the 21st of September, 1872, Mr. Japp was united in marriage with Miss Wilhelmina Bredemeyer, who was born in the village of Katherinshagen, Hesse, Germany, in 1852, and who came with her parents to America in 1853. By this union eight children have been born, Mina, 1st, deceased; Lena, who married Henry Koerner, of Genoa township, DeKalb county, Illinois; Mina, who married John Bottcher, and lives in Genoa township, De Kalb county; Louisa, deceased; August, John, William, and Henry at home.
Immediately after his marriage, Mr. Japp moved with his young bride to Hampshire township, and a few years later bought one hundred and forty acres in sections 18 and 19, and two hundred and fifty acres across the line in De Kalb county, making him a fine farm of three hundred and ninety acres. He there carried on mixed farming, giving special attention to stock and grain and making many improvements upon the place. He was a good farmer, industrious as the day was long, and success crowned his efforts in a remarkable-degree, enabling him to rent the place and in the spring of 1898 move to the village of Hampshire, where he is now living a retired life. Politically Mr. Japp is a Republican and for sixteen years was school director of his district, and served as road commissioner for two terms. He is a member of the Lutheran church, of which body his wife is also a member, and was the first to suggest the organization of a church of that denomination in Hampshire township in 1876. Both are held in the highest esteem in Hampshire township and wherever known.
OTIS N. SHEDD, now living a retired life in the city of Aurora, but who for years was one of the active enterprising and representative business men of the city, is numbered among the settlers of 1856. He is a native of Maine, born in Oxford county, July 10, 1831, and is the son of Silas Shedd, a native of Massachusetts, born October 2, 1794. His father, the grandfather of our subject, was also a native of Massachusetts. Otis N. Shedd is the seventh generation from Daniel Shedd, a native of England, who settled in Bramtree (note: Braintree?), Massachusetts, in 1644.
Silas Shedd, the father of our subject, grew to manhood in his native state, and served in the war of 1812, for which he drew a pension until his death at the advanced age of ninety-one years. He married Miss Clarissa Noyes, a native of New England, born in 1800, and a daughter of Captain Ward Noyes, who for many years was a captain in the militia of his native state. Silas Shedd was a cooper by trade, and also engaged in agricultural .pursuits. His wife preceded him to the land beyond, dying in 1880. They were the parents of four children, of whom our subject was third in order of birth. Of the others, Calvin married and settled on the old homestead, where his death occurred; Alice N. married Robert Frost, and they reside in Norway, Maine; and Caroline, who married Benjamin Henry Noble, and after making their home in Maine for a few years, removed to California, where they now reside.
In his native county and state, Otis N. Shedd spent his boyhood and youth on the farm, and during the winter months attended-the public schools, and later a private school taught by Samuel Cobb, a brother of Sylvanus Cobb, a noted educator and divine. Before attaining his majority he taught in his home district, and was quite successful. A young man, he removed to Lawrence, Massachusetts, and there engaged in a woolen mill, now known as the Washington Mill. Later he went to work in a soap factory, where he continued three years, and learned the business of soap making. While residing in Lawrence he was married August 28, 1853, to Miss T. F. Hawkins, a native of Vermont, reared and educated in Brunswick, that state, and a daughter of W. W. and Susannah (Wait) Hawkins, of Brunswick, Vermont. By this union are five children, one of whom died in infancy, and Otis N., who died in his sixth year. The living are Clara A., wife of Dr. S. S. Delancy, of Williamsport, Indiana, and they have two children, Helen Delancy and Julius; Isabella F. widow of Professor Stein, of Aurora, by whom she had two children, Alma F., and Edwin Arthur; and Alma E., who married Mr. Merrill, moved to Tacoma, Washington, and there died leaving one daughter, Elizabeth.
In 1855, Mr. Shedd moved west to Chicago, and there resided one winter. In the spring of 1856, in company with Mr. Beach, a former employer, he came to Aurora, and bought a farm of one hundred acres, which now lies within the city limits. On that farm he located, and began its improvement, and also started a soap factory and engaged in the manufacture of candles. In the same spring he laid out Beach & Shedd's addition to the city of Aurora. He later bought thirty-seven acres more, which he platted as Shedd's subdivision. In addition to this, he purchased another tract which was laid out as Shedd & Nobble's subdivision. He also had charge of the old fair grounds, and with Mr. Dickinson had a portion of it surveyed and platted, and it is now known as Dickinson & Shedd's addition. Since its organization, he has been a stock holder in the Aurora Silver Plate Manufacturing Company, and was a director in it for a number of years. He also owns stock in the building and loan association and in the German National Bank.
Politically Mr. Shedd is a Republican, his first presidential ballot being cast for John C. Fremont, and from that time to the present, he has never faltered in the support of the men and measures of that party. He has taken quite an active part in local politics, and has served four years as alderman, three years as commissioner of highways, and as supervisor of the town two years and has been a delegate to various county and congressional conventions. He is a man of good business ability, and in whatever position he has been tested, has proven his true worth.
CYRUS H. LARKIN, a farmer and dairyman residing on Larkin avenue, Elgin, Illinois, has made his home in Kane county for over sixty years, and his name is inseparably connected' with its agricultural and business interests. His thoroughly American spirit and his great energy have enabled him to mount from a lowly position to one of affluence. One of his leading characteristics in business affairs is his fine sense of order and complete system, and the habit of giving careful attention to details without which success in an undertaking is never an assured fact.
Mr. Larkin was born in Waterville, Vermont, May 20, 1830, and is a son of Cyrus and Sarah A. (Horner) Larkin, also natives of that state. In their family were only two children, and Emily W. is now deceased. The father was a woolen manufacturer in early life and later a farmer. On coming to Illinois, in 1837, he secured a farm in Dundee township, Kane county, five miles from Elgin, and four years later he removed to that city. As he was in poor health our subject took charge of the farm at the age of nineteen, and in 1865 he built his present commodious residence, his parents living with him until called to the world beyond. The father died June 17, 1885, aged eighty-five years, and the mother November 11, 1887, at the age of eighty-two years and three months. In early life they were members of the Congregational church, but later joined the Methodist Episcopal church, and died in that faith. The father never sought office, but was frequently called upon to fill some local positions, the duties of which he faithfully and capably discharged. His first purchase in Kane county consisted of one hundred and sixty acres of land, but this he sold, and purchased one hundred and twenty acres, which are still owned by our subject.
Joseph Larkin, the paternal grandfather of our subject, was a son of Edward Larkin, in whose family were several sons, Joshua and Lorin being among the number. Joseph was a lumber manufacturer and was killed in the mill yard. He had aided the colonies in achieving their independence during the Revolutionary war. In Brandon, Vermont, March 24, 1785, he married Miss Hannah Winslow, and at that place all of their children were born. She was a lineal descent of Edward Winslow, who lived in England in 1560. Among his sons was Kenelm, and in the next generation two Kenelms. Kenelm Winslow, of this third generation, came to America with his brother Josiah on the Mayflower in 1629, but previous to this time Edward Winslow, the second, came over in the same vessel, accompanied by his brother Gilbert, they being among the first detachment of Pilgrims who landed at Plymouth Rock, May 20, 1620. Gilbert afterward returned to England where he died, but Edward was the leader of the colony from the beginning, was afterward chosen governor of the same, and possessed considerable ability as a statesman. Jedediah Winslow, the father of Hannah, was born March 26, 1727, in Rochester, Massachusetts, and died in Brandon, Vermont, April 5, 1794, while his wife, Elizabeth (Goodspeed) Winslow, was born in Barnstable, Massachusetts, in March, 1750. They had a family of ten children.
Cyrus H. Larkin was but seven years old when he came with his parents to Kane county, where he has since made his home. His early education was received under the instruction of his father, but he afterward attended school in Elgin, and later was a student in the college at Beloit, Wisconsin. For five years he successfully engaged in teaching, but since that time has devoted his attention to agricultural pursuits and his other business interests. He is now the owner of four hundred acres of valuable farming land adjoining the city of Elgin, is a stockholder in the First National Bank of that place, and is interested in a large mercantile establishment in Texas and also in the cattle business in that state.
On the 24th of August, 1854, Mr. Larkin married Miss Jane E. Johnson, a daughter of Ashbel Johnson, and to them were born two children. (1) May, who is now the wife of D.B. Hoornbeek, of Alpine, Texas, and has two children - Brewster and Etta May; (2) Fred A., M. D., a physician of Englewood, Illinois. The mother of these children, who was a consistent member of the Methodist church, died May 2, 1874. Mr. Larkin was again married December 27, 1888, his second union being with Mrs. Jeannette Crane, widow of Franklin Crane.
Politically Mr. Larkin is a stanch Republican, and has served as supervisor several terms and also town treasurer. He is justly regarded as one of the most progressive and reliable business men of Elgin, and in all life's relations merits the confidence so freely accorded him. His residence in Kane county covers a period of sixty years, during which he has ever borne his part in the work of development and progress, and is therefore deserving of honorable mention among the pioneers.
WILLIAM E. CONSTANT, M. D. a successful and popular physician and surgeon of St. Charles, is a native son of Illinois, his birth having occurred in Sangamon county. February 28, 1854. The Constant family is of French origin and was early founded in Kentucky, where Isaac Constant, our subject's grandfather, was born. The Doctor's father, Dr. Jacob Constant, was also a native of Kentucky, born near Winchester, in 1826, but when only a year old was brought to Sangamon county, Illinois, by his father, being numbered among the pioneers of the state. The, latter pre-empted land in Sangamon county, near Springfield, and from the wild tract developed a good farm, upon which he reared his family.
At an early age Dr. Jacob Constant took up the study of medicine, becoming a student of the great Hahnemann, and later engaged in the practice of his chosen profession, while he also owned and operated a farm. In Sangamon county he married Miss Lillian Wilson, a native of Scotland, and a daughter of James Wilson, also an early settler of Sangamon county. Mrs. Constant was reared and educated in Edinburg, Scotland.
In the county of his nativity, Dr. William E. Constant grew to manhood, and in its public and high schools obtained a good practical education. Under the direction of Dr. Morgan, a leading physician of Springfield, he commenced the study of medicine, and in 1881 entered Hahnemann Medical College, of Chicago, where he graduated with the class of 1883. He began the practice of his profession in Decatur, Illinois, later was located for about twenty months in Areola, Douglas county, and for the following five years successfully engaged in practice in Rochelle. On selling out there, he came to St. Charles, where he soon succeeded in building up a large and remunerative practice. He keeps abreast with the latest discoveries and theories in the science by his perusal of medical journals, and his skill and ability is attested by the liberal patronage he enjoys.
In Rochelle, on the 28th of November 1888, Dr. Constant was united in marriage to Miss Belle Ogden, a native of Ogle county, Illinois, who completed her education in the high school of Rochelle, and is a daughter of John Ogden, a substantial farmer of Ogle county. Politically the Doctor is a stanch Republican, but has never aspired to office, preferring to give his undivided attention to his professional duties. Fraternally he is a member of the Masonic lodge of Rochelle, and also belongs to the Knights of Pythias. He has made many warm friends since coming to St. Charles, and in social as well as professional circles occupies a prominent position.
CHARLES MELMS, SR., after years of honest toil, is now living a retired life in the village of Hampshire. He was born in the village of Rostow, Pomeramia, Prussia, January 15, 1838, and is the son of John and Christina (Heckstadt) Melms, both of whom are natives of the same country, the latter dying when our subject was only three years of age, and the former when he was nineteen years old. After the death of his mother, he lived with an uncle until fourteen years old, and then with a sister until he attained his majority. From the time he was seven years old, until the age of fourteen, he attended the public schools of his native land. In his youth he worked on the farm and spent one year at the wagon-maker's trade. In October, 1862, he sailed from Hamburg, in the two masted sail vessel, Helena, and after a voyage of eight weeks and two days, landed at New York. He came west, working two years at Waukesha, Wisconsin, after which he spent some four or five years in different states, going as far south as Helena, Arkansas, and points in Mississippi, Kansas, Missouri, Iowa, Illinois and Wisconsin as far north as Lake Superior, working at whatever he could find to do. He then went to Chicago, and on the 13th of May, 1867, married Christina Richter, who was born in Tridelfitz, the province of Pomeramia, Prussia, and the daughter of George and Hannah (Krumhorn) Richter, whose lives were spent in Germany. She came to America in 1858 at the age of twenty-three years. By this union five children were born, as follows: Charles, Jr., and Henry, of whom further mention is made in this sketch; William, in the milk business in Chicago; Bertha, wife of Frank Channing, a conductor on the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul road, running between Hampshire and Chicago, and Mary, wife of John F. Janeck, Jr., a prominent young business man of Hampshire, whose sketch appears elsewhere in this work.
After his marriage Mr. Melms settled down to business and for a time was employed in a lumber yard and on vessels. He then ran a fruit and vegetable wagon two years in the city, saved his money and went into the wood and coal business, in which he was engaged seven years. In the meantime, he invested in real estate in Chicago, which he traded for land in Hampshire township, on closing out his coal business, and here moved with his family and engaged in farming. He secured a hundred and fifty acres and later bought a farm adjoining consisting of one hundred and three acres. Subsequently he bought another farm of one hundred and sixty acres and a ten-acre timber tract, in all four hundred and twenty-three acres. He continued to actively engage in farming until March 1, 1891, when he leased the farms to his sons, Henry and Charles, removed to the village of Hampshire, built a handsome modern house and is living in ease and comfort.
CHARLES MELMS, JR., the son of Charles Melms, Sr., and Christina (Richter) Melms, was born in Chicago, April 28, 1868, and came to Kane county, in 1876, and grew to manhood on his father's farm on section 14. He attended school in the Bean district until eighteen years of age, and from the time he was old enough to hold a plow assisted in the cultivation of the farm. He remained under the parental roof until February 24, 1891, when he was united in marriage at Huntley, Illinois, with Miss. Emma Schrader, who was born in Huntley, and a daughter of Henry and Dora (Duesesing) Schrader, the former a native of Hanover, Germany, and now residing in Huntley, at the age of sixty-seven years. By this union are two sons - Glen, born January 23, 1892, and Harry, born September 1, 1894. In March, following his marriage, he began farming for himself, renting the farm of his father on section 14, for two years. He then came to his present farm, which is a well-improved dairy farm of one hundred and fifty acres, on which he keeps thirty-five head of cows, and is meeting with good success. In politics he is independent, and fraternally a member of the Modern Woodmen of America.
HENRY MELMS was born in Chicago, December 10, 1869, and came to Kane county, Illinois, in 1876, with his parents, Charles Melms, Sr., and Christina (Richter) Melms. He attended school in the Bean district during the winter months until fourteen years of age, and remained at home assisting his father until twenty-one years of age. On the 12th of April, 1891, he married Lena Reinking, who was born in Ontarioville, Illinois, July 5, 1870, and is a daughter of Deitrich and Dora (Fisher) Reinking, and to them have been born four children - Elma, Myrtle, Frank and an infant. The first named died in infancy. Mr. and Mrs. Melms are members of the Lutheran church and in politics he is a Republican.
ROMEO W. MARSHALL, who is living retired in the city of Aurora, and who came west in 1868, was born in Trenton Falls, Oneida county, New York, January 12, 1824. His father, Romeo W. Marshall, Sr., born in 1787, and his grandfather, John Marshall, were natives of Connecticut. The latter served as a teamster in the Revolutionary war. The Marshal's are of Scotch descent, but came to this country from England. There were two brothers, one locating in Rhode Island, from which branch of the family our subject was descended, while the other located in North Carolina, and was an ancestor of Chief Justice Marshall.
When a young man, R. W. Marshall, Sr., moved from Connecticut to New York with his father, first locating in Herkimer county, where the father died when ninety-eight years old. In that county, R. W. Marshall, Sr., married Harriet Van Antwert, a daughter of Lewis Van Antwert, a native of Holland. Soon after their marriage they moved to Oneida county, New York, where they resided for some years, and then removed to Jefferson county, on the St. Lawrence river. In the vast wilderness he opened up a farm of two hundred acres, and there spent the last years of his life, dying in 1874. His wife passed away three years previous. In the war of 1812 he served for a short time, and for a number of years served as postmaster in both Oneida and Jefferson counties. Of their nine children four are yet living.
The subject of this sketch was reared in Jefferson county, New York, where he helped to open up and develop the farm. His educational advantages were very limited, but he made the best use of them, and in after years by reading and observation he has become a well informed man. He remained on the home farm until twenty-six years of age, and on the 13th of March, 1850, married Mary A. Jewett, of Windsor, Vermont, where she was reared and educated, and a daughter of Rev. Jewett, who died when she was a mere child. He was a minister of the Methodist Episcopal church. For some years previous to her marriage she was a teacher in the public schools. By this union there were three children: Phila, who resides at home; C. N., married and engaged in merchandising in Aurora; and Josephine, wife of John W. Miller, a business man of Aurora, by whom she had one child - Marshall J.
Soon after their marriage Mr. Marshall bought a farm in Jefferson county, near that of his father, and engaged in farming and butter-making for some years. Selling out the farm he engaged in the hotel business at Redwood, Jefferson county, New York, which he continued for five years, and in the fall of 1868 came to Aurora, and located in the suburbs of the city. In 1875 he engaged in the hotel business, and for thirteen years was proprietor of the city hotel, where he did a large and profitable business, having a feed barn in connection, and catering to the country trade. On the organization of the Merchants' National Bank he purchased some stock, and is now one of the directors of that financial institution. He is now residing in a neat and attractive home on South Lake street, where he delights to entertain his many friends.
Politically Mr. Marshall is a stanch Republican, with which party he has been identified since its organization, having voted for its first presidential nominee, General John C. Fremont. He has voted for every presidential candidate of that party up to the present time, with one exception. He never wanted or would accept official position, giving his time and attention to his business interests. While not connected with any church organization, Mr. and Mrs. Marshall attended the People's church. He is a man of exemplary habits, upright character, and is classed among the representative business men of Aurora.
A brilliant example of a self-made American citizen and a grand exemplification of the progress that an ambitious foreigner can make in this country of unbounded opportunities, is shown in the case of Mr. McCredie, a leading business man of Elgin, whose home is at No. 138 North Gifford street. His wonderful success is due to his own energy and the high ideal which his lofty and laudable ambition placed before him. Success in any walk of life is an indication of earnest endeavor and persevering effort-characteristics that he possesses in an eminent degree.
Born in Scotland, February 10, 1848, Mr. McCredie is a son of William and Margaret (Limmond) McCredie, also natives of that country. The father was born in Wigtonshire, and was the only son of Peter and Margaret (Fraser) McCredie, farming people, who spent their entire lives in Scotland, the former dying at the age of sixty-two years, the latter at a much more advanced age. They had one daughter, Elizabeth, who married George Jamieson and both are now deceased. The mother of our subject was one of a large family of children whose parents were Quintin and Margaret (McAdam) Limmond, natives of Ayrshire, Scotland.
William McCredie, Sr., who, born in 1806, was a farmer by occupation, emigrated to Canada in 1872, but after residing there for seven years, he returned to his native land in 1879, on a visit, and died there. While on this side of the Atlantic he visited Illinois. He died in 1880, aged seventy-five years, a faithful member of the Presbyterian church and a most excellent man. His widow, who is also a member pi that church, now lives with her daughter, Jane, in Elgin. The subject of this sketch is the oldest of their nine children, and, like all his brothers, is engaged in the creamery business. Quintin, who was engaged in business in Huntley, Illinois, died in McHenry county, in 1888, aged thirty-eight years. Margaret Ann is the wife of James Campbell, who is also engaged in the creamery business in Jefferson, Wisconsin. Elizabeth is the widow of Robert Marshall, a Scotch-Canadian, and is a resident of Marshall, Wisconsin. Jane lives with her mother in Elgin. Thomas Limmond is a resident of Ohio, Illinois. James makes his home in Earlville, this state. Robert Cumming lives in Mt. Morris, Ogle county, and Edward Limmond, in Ohio, Bureau county, this state. Our subject had two half brothers. The older, Captain Patrick McCredie, was a sea captain, and was in several ship wrecks. While commanding the Greta, he saved the crew of the ship Great Britain, which was destroyed during a gale on the British Channel, March 11, 1876, and for his bravery displayed by this act he received a written communication from the committee of "Liverpool Shipwreck and Humane Society" commending his gallant service. John McCredie, the other half brother, was also a sailor for twenty years, but when the family came to America he accompanied them, and now lives with his widowed sister, Mrs. Marshall, in Wisconsin.
Reared on a farm, William McCredie continued to engage in agricultural pursuits until twenty-seven years of age, when he became interested in the creamery business, working for the firm of Braman, Horr & Warner, at Elyria, Lorain county, Ohio, for three years. He then came to Algonquin, Illinois, and near that place engaged in the same business with Robert McAdam until 1881, when he purchased his partner's interest after being together for three years. Since then he has carried on operations at different places, including Barrington Station, Barrington Center, and Elgin, where he still resides in active business. He owns one creamery in Lee county which is under the management of his brother James, and is also interested in many others. For twenty years he has successfully engaged in this business, and the prosperity that has crowned his efforts is certainly well deserved for in him are embraced the characteristics of an unbending integrity and industry that never flags.
On the 23d of January, 1884, in Halton county, Ontario, Mr. McCredie was united in marriage with Miss Mary Jane Marshall, a native of Canada and daughter of John and Margaret (Archibald) Marshall, who emigrated from Scotland to that country at an early day. Her parents celebrated their golden wedding in 1892, at which time all of their large family of children were present as well as many other guests.
Since then the father has passed away, dying in 1896, but the mother is still living on the old home farm in Canada. With one exception her children are also living. Mr. and Mrs. McCredie have three children, namely: Maggie Jane, William, and Marian Elizabeth.
Politically Mr. McCredie is independent, generally voting for the man rather than the party, though he is rather inclined toward Democracy. He is a prominent Mason, belonging to the blue lodge of Barrington. Illinois; L. L. Munn chapter; Bethel commandery, Elgin; and Medinah Temple, Knights of the Mystic Shrine, of Chicago. With the First Congregational church of Elgin he and his wife hold membership and by all who know them they are held in high regard. He has several times visited his native land, but has no desire to return there to live. As a representative business man and highly respected citizen of Elgin none are more deserving of honorable mention in a work of this character than William McCredie.
WILLIAM BURTON has been identified with Kane county for more than half a century, and has contributed his share to its material progress and prosperity, but has now laid aside all business cares and is enjoying a well-earned rest at 'his pleasant home in Elgin. He was born November 26, 1821, in Sherrington, Province of Quebec, about twenty-seven miles from Montreal, and is a son of John and Jane (Stringer) Burton.
The father was born in North Burton, Yorkshire, England, in 1791, and in 1819 emigrated to Canada, locating in Sherrington, where he engaged in farming. He had three brothers, namely: William, Richard and Francis. He was short of stature, of light complexion, of positive character, but of gentle disposition. In religious belief he was an Episcopalian, as was also his wife. In manner she was rather firm, and was charitable to an eminent degree. She was born January 31, 1796, in Hunenby, Yorkshire, England, of which her parents, Richard and Hannah (Wallace) Stringer, were also natives. They removed to Canada in 1818, and in that country her father died; but her mother spent her last days in Kane county. Besides Mrs. Burton, they had three sons and one daughter, namely: Mark, George, John and Alice, wife of Arthur Allison, all now deceased, with the exception of Robert, who makes his home in Elgin. The father of our subject continued to reside in Sherrington, Canada, until killed at the battle of Odeltown, November 9, 1838. The mother died in Elgin township, Kane county, April 9, 1864.
In the family of this worthy couple were nine children, of whom William is the oldest; Richard, born September 13, 1823, died in August, 1897; Mary, born August 14, 1825, married George Marshall; John, born September 19, 1827, died in Elgin, in 1870; Francis, born December 14, 1829, of whom see sketch elsewhere in this volume; George B., born February 9, 1831, died December 12, 1838; Alice, born December 7, 1833, married George Church, and died in Dayton, Washington, November 19, 1886; Mark, born September 6, 1835, died July 27, 1883, in Helena, Montana; and Annie, born July 4, 1838, married George Cookman, and died April 11, 1891, at Mason, Iowa.
Upon the home farm in Canada, William Burton was reared, and in the schools of the neighborhood acquired his education. On leaving the parental roof at the age of sixteen, he went to Albany, New York, to learn the blacksmith's trade, but not liking that occupation, he obtained work on a farm in Cherry Valley, New York, where he remained for two years. After his father's death he returned home to look after the family, remaining in Canada until 1844, when he left for the far west, accompanied by his uncle Robert, uncle Mark and brother Richard. They made the journey by way of the lakes to Chicago, and from there on foot to Kane county.
In 1845 William Burton purchased a tract of two hundred and forty acres, in Plato township, to the cultivation and improvement of which he devoted his time and attention for sixteen years. Having secured a comfortable competence, he then retired from the arduous duties of farm life and removed to Elgin, where he erected a pleasant residence on Walnut avenue. Five years ago he sold his farm, which was one of the best in Kane county. While engaged in agricultural pursuits, he and his brother Richard built a cheese factory in Genoa, De Kalb county, Illinois, which they operated for five years. There they also bought a tract of two hundred and ninety acres of land, which they converted into a dairy fawn, keeping thereon fifty head of cattle. When they finally divided the property, the brother took the farm and our subject the factory, which he later sold. He also built the first factory in Plato township, Kane county, in partnership with John McDonald, but later sold his interest. Upon ,his farm in that' township he kept forty head of cows for dairy purposes.
In St. Charles, Kane county, Mr. Burton was married January 1,1855, to Miss Sarah Poole, a daughter of Charles Poole and wife, natives of England, now deceased. Her father lived to the extreme old age of one hundred and nine years. The children born of this union were as follows: Clara, born December 24, 1855, married Samuel Buckley, a farmer of Marshall county, Kansas, and died July 10, 1874; Georgiana May, born May 6, 1857, is the wife of George Burton, of Genoa, De Kalb county, Alice Maud Mary, born May 13, 1859, is the wife of. Peter Young, a resident of Pottawatomie county, Kansas; Ernest W., born December 9, 1860, is a carpenter living in Elgin; and John Francis, born February 21, 1863, is a farmer of Marshall county, Kansas. The mother of these children, who was a consistent member of the United Brethren church, died March 27, 1863.
Mr. Burton was again married, July 18, 1863, his second union being with Miss Jane Cookman, a native of Yorkshire, England, as were her parents, Francis and Maria (Dibbs) Cookman. She was a Methodist in religious belief, and died in that faith, June 16, 1892, being laid to rest at Udina, Kane county, where Mr. Burton's mother, his children and grandchild have all been buried. By his second marriage he had four children, namely: Margaret, born June 3, 1865, is the wife of Nelson Their and lives in Missouri; William C, born July 23, 1867, died August 30, 1880; Sarah Ann, born June 28, 1870, keeps house for her father; and Mary, born February 26, 1872, died August 20, 1880.
At local elections, where no issue is involved, Mr. Burton votes independent of party ties, but at other times never fails to support the Republican ticket. While living on his farm, he efficiently served as school director most of the time. Prior to coming to Elgin he held membership in the United Brethren church, but as there was no church of that denomination in this city, he united with the Methodist congregation. During the long years he has been a resident of Kane county, he has championed every movement designed to promote the general welfare, has supported every enterprise for the public good, and has materially aided in the advancement of all social, educational and moral interests. After a useful and honorable career he can well afford to lay aside all business cares and live in ease and retirement. His daughter presides over his home, which, in its appointments, evinces the refinement and culture of the inmates.
JAMES SHAW, city librarian and clerk of the city court, Aurora, Illinois, was born in Lancashire, England, July 9, 1840, and is the son of James and Anna (Gould) Shaw, both of whom are natives of England. The parents came to America during the infancy of our subject and settled in Portsmouth, New Hampshire, where James was reared and educated in the common schools and graduated from the high school. After leaving school he entered the office of the daily "Chronicle," at Portsmouth, to learn the printer's trade and was there nearly five years.
In the summer of 1862, Mr. Shaw enlisted as a private in Company K, Sixteenth Regiment, New Hampshire Volunteer Infantry, with which he was sent to the southeast, the regiment being assigned to the Nineteenth Army Corps, under command of General Banks. It was engaged in the Port Hudson campaign. His term of enlistment expiring, he returned home in the fall of 1863. After spending a year as clerk in the navy yard at Portsmouth, he came west to Chicago, and engaged in the printing business. In the following winter, however, he went south to Mobile, Alabama, being one of the army of "carpetbaggers" and was there some six years, engaged in newspaper publishing, and assisted in re-construction generally. In 1873 he came north and in 1874 joined Pierce Burton in the publication of the Aurora "Herald." He remained with that paper six years, when the partnership with Mr. Burton was dissolved. He was soon afterward elected clerk of the city court, to fill a vacancy, and by re-election has held the office until the present time. In 1884 he was appointed librarian, which position he has also held until the present time. In 1888 he was appointed by recommendation of the whole bar, official reporter of the circuit court of Kane county, which position he held for three years. He ran the Aurora Centre for the University Extension Course of Lectures for popular instruction, Mrs. Pierce Burton being the first secretary, and our subject the second one, which office he has since continued to fill.
On the 30th of June, 1885, Mr. Shaw was united in marriage with Miss Ella D. Lowd, of Portsmouth, New Hampshire, to which place he returned for that purpose. Her parents were William D. and Rebecca Lowd, on the mother's side being a direct descendent of the martyr, John Rogers, who was burned at the stake during the reign of Bloody Queen Mary. The great-great-grandfather of Mrs. Lowd was for many years a minister, at the little stone church on one of the Isles of Shoals, on the coast of New Hampshire, and now a famous watering place or summer resort. To Mr. and Mrs. Shaw two children have been born - Alice Ada, attending the schools of Aurora, and Marian H., who died at the age of seven years.
Mrs. Shaw is a consistent member of the Episcopal church. Fraternally Mr. Shaw is a member of the Masonic order, and also of the Grand Army of the Republic. In politics he is a Republican, and takes an active interest in his party. He is a man of studious habits, of positive convictions and indomitable energy, and for what he believes to be right, will stand against all odds.
SAMUEL L. ADAMS, who is now efficiently serving as justice of the peace in St. Charles, was for many years one of the active, enterprising and representative business men and farmers of Kane county, dating his residence here from the spring of 1860. He was born in Cavendish, Windsor county, Vermont, June 16, 1820, and is a worthy representative of a very old and prominent family of New England, belonging to the "presidential branch" of the Adams family. Benjamin Adams, the grandfather of our subject, was a native of Massachusetts, and was one of the minute men of the Revolutionary war, taking part in the battle of Bunker Hill.
Samuel Adams, Sr., our subject's father, was born in Vermont about 1790, and manifested his patriotism by serving as a soldier in the war of 1812. He married Miss Calista French, also a native of Vermont, and a daughter of Josiah French, who also belonged to an honored family of Massachusetts. Samuel Adams, Sr., was a tanner and currier by trade, but in early life followed farming. He was one of the most prominent and influential men of his town and county, served as justice of the peace for nearly half a century, and also filled the offices of selectman, town clerk and other positions of honor and trust. He died in Vermont in 1875, and his wife passed away the year previous.
Mr. Adams, of this review, is the oldest in their family of seven children, two sons and five daughters, who reached mature years, the others being Josiah Quincy, who still resides at the old homestead in Cavendish, Vermont; Marietta, who is now the widow of Friend Weeks, of Rutland county, Vermont, and is now a resident of Cavendish; and Marcella, a resident of Chester, Vermont, and the widow of Ira H. Adams, who died in 1896. Jane, Ellen and Betsy are deceased.
In his birthplace Samuel L. Adams spent the days of his boyhood and youth, and in the schools of that place obtained a fair education, which enabled him to engage in teaching for three years in Vermont. He also learned the tanner's and currier's trade which he followed for a number of years before coming to Kane county, Illinois in 1860. Landing here in March of that year, he located on a farm in St. Charles township, where he engaged in agricultural pursuits until 1876, and also followed school teaching during three winter terms. On selling his farm, which adjoined the corporation limits of St. Charles, he located in the village where he has engaged in merchandising at three different times, some seven or eight years in all, the first three years being devoted to the grocery trade.
On the 2d of July, 1848, in the town of Cavendish, Windsor county, Vermont, was celebrated the marriage of Mr. Adams and Miss Betsey M. Parker, also a native of that state, and a daughter of Dr. Isaiah Parker, who belonged to a Massachusetts family, and lived to the advanced age of ninety-six years. During her girlhood Mrs. Adams obtained an excellent education and successfully engaged in teaching both in Vermont and after coming to Illinois. She died January 26, 1882, leaving a sorrowing husband and many friends to mourn her loss. Having no children of their own, Mr. and Mrs. Adams adopted Ella D. Howard at the age of four years. She was reared and educated by them, and is now the wife of A. D. Bell, of St. Charles.
Although not old enough to vote at the Presidential election of 1840, he carried a banner in the processions during the campaign of that year, his interests being with "Tippecanoe and Tyler, too," and on becoming a voter he supported the Whig party until the organization of the Republican party, voting for John C. Fremont in 1856. He has served as a delegate to many of the county conventions of his party, and has been called upon to fill the offices of supervisor seven years, township trustee, and commissioner of highways twelve years. He was one of a committee of three who built the present bridge across Fox river at St. Charles, and was also secretary of the building committee of supervisors when the present fine court house and jail of Kane county were erected. He has been a member of the old town council, was president of the board of trustees, and has now acceptably served as justice of the peace for five years. In all of these various positions he has discharged his duties with promptness and fidelity, proving a most capable and popular official. Socially he is a prominent member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, is past grand of his lodge, has served as secretary of his lodge and also the encampment in the grand lodge several terms, has been chief patriot and filled all the chairs in the encampment. For thirty years he has been identified with the interests of Kane county and has become widely and favorably known throughout this section of the state.
CHARLES OSCAR CUMMINGS, deceased, was born in New Albany, Indiana, June 6, 1845, died at his residence in New Orleans, Louisiana, August 16, 1882. About 1850, his father moved to New Orleans, which continued to be the family residence. He attended private schools in that city, and later Professor Soule's Business College. His father having died in 1855, he early became the mainstay of the family and contributed to the support of his mother and sisters from the age of fifteen. He secured a place as clerk in a store, and while thus engaged, attended business college. Having saved from his earnings, he later in partnership with his brother-in-law, went into the commission business, in which he prospered through strict integrity and honest dealing, accumulated a comfortable competence. Owing to ill-health, he traveled in the north every summer, sometimes on the Atlantic coast, and again in the lake regions of Wisconsin and in Maine. In July, 1882, he bought a farm of one hundred and twenty acres in Kane county, near his wife's birthplace, in order that he might have a home of his own to go in summer when he so desired. But he never had the pleasure of spending his time on the place, his death occurring but a month later. He was an affectionate husband and father, honored and respected by a wide circle of friends. In politics he was a Democrat and a Confederate during the war. He was reared a Methodist but when married he united with the Episcopal church.
Charles O. Cummings was the son of Thomas Cummings, who was born in Baltimore, November 25, 1816, and at Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, October 10, 1838, married Mary Jane McConnell, a daughter of Hugh McConnell and Mary (Perrine) McConnell. She was born in New York, November 24, 1822, and is yet living in New Orleans. The mother of Thomas Cummings died when he was quite young. His father marrying again, he left home and soon lost track of his family and therefore knew little of his ancestors. He learned ship carpentering in his youth and held a position for many years on boats running north from New Orleans. While repairing a wheel of his boat he got wet, took cold, and after a short illness died November 15, 1855.
The subject of this sketch married in New Orleans, January 1, 1872, Miss Susan Jane Babcock, who was there on a visit to her half-brother, Professor George Soule, who was a Confederate colonel in the Rebellion, was taken prisoner at Shiloh and taken to Johnson's Island for five months, in whose business college Mr. Cummings had received his business education. She was born in Barrington, Yates county, New York, April 6, 1844, and is a daughter of William H. and Cornelia E. (Hogeboom) Babcock. The latter was born in Green county, New York, November 8, 1814, and died September 11, 1893. She was the daughter of Andrew and Julia (Distant) Hogeboom, the father being a farmer by occupation. His wife attained the age of ninety years. Cornelia E. Hogeboom first married Ebon Soule, a Frenchman, by whom she had three sons,
Andrew, George and Stephen. George is a professor in a business college in New Orleans, while the other two live in California.
William H. Babcock, the father of Mrs. Cummings, was born in New York, October 10, 1816, and died in Kane county, Illinois, September 12, 1884. By occupation he was a farmer after coming west in 1854. By trade he was a mason, and an excellent workman. On coming to Kane county, he settled on section 30, Hampshire township, where he purchased forty acres of land adjoining a forty-acre tract his wife received from her father. He was the son of Abiram Babcock and Susan (Lee) Babcock, the latter being a cousin of Robert E. Lee. To William H. Babcock and wife nine children were born as follows: Sallie, who died at the age of six months; Mary, who married David Davis, and lives in Beloit, Wisconsin; Julia, who married Hiram S. De Witt, and is living in Hampshire, Illinois; Abiram Lee, who resides in California; Susan J., widow of our subject; Lucy, who married James F. Bell, and is living on section 30, Hampshire township; Charlotte, wife of John Oesterman, residing on the old home farm on section 30; and Phebe E., who married Edward Everitt Crawford, a merchant of Genoa, Illinois. One son was a member of the Seventeenth Illinois Cavalry in the war for the Union.
To Mr. and Mrs. Cummings four children were born in New Orleans - Mary Cornelia, Charlotte E., William Arthur and George Bidwell. The daughters are teachers of recognized ability in Kane county. Mrs. Cummings resides on the farm, to which she gives her personal attention. She also owns a house and lots in Hampshire and several fine building lots in Elgin, in a select quarter of the city.
George P. Marshall
GEORGE P. MARSHALL, deceased, was one of the honored pioneers and highly respected citizens of Kane county, with whose agricultural interests he was prominently identified for many years. He was born May 9, 1817, in Ryther, Yorkshire, England, a son of James and Ann (Parker) Marshall, also natives of that place. In that country they spent their entire lives, the father dying in 1883, at the advanced age of ninety-five years; the mother August 22, 1872, at the age of eighty-five.
In 1842, at the age of twenty-five years, George P. Marshall crossed the broad Atlantic and first located in Canada, where he spent two years. In his native land he had learned the carpenter's trade, but after coming to the United States he devoted his energies exclusively to farming. It was in 1844 that he became a resident of Kane county, at which time most of the land was still in its primitive condition, and he and his young wife were forced to endure all of the hardships and trials incident to pioneer life. After renting a farm for two years near Plato, he purchased seventy-seven acres on section 29, Elgin township, and thereon erected the first frame house in the township. He also employed the first teacher in his district, the pupils being two of his own children and one of the teacher's. Upon the farm which he first bought, he continued to reside until called to his final rest October 3, 1881. In England he had joined the Odd Fellows Society, but in this country held membership in no secret organization. He was always loyal to his adopted country and her institutions, and most acceptably served his fellow citizens as school trustee, road commissioner and thistle commissioner.
Mr. Marshall was married in Canada, in 1842, to Miss Mary Burton, who was born in Sharington, near Montreal, August 14, 1825, a daughter of John and Jane (Stringer) Burton, and granddaughter of Richard and Hannah (Garbutt) Stringer. Her father was born in North Burton, Yorkshire, England, in 1792, and was a son of Richard and Mary Burton. In 1818 he emigrated to Canada, and was killed November 9, 1838, at the age of forty-six years, while serving in the militia during the rebellion in that country. Mrs. Marshall's mother was a native of Hull, England, born in 1794, and died at the age of sixty-seven years.
The children born to our subject and his wife were as follows: Ann Jane married Hosea E. Perkins, who was born in Jefferson county, New York, November 8, 1819, but when seven years old went to Ohio, and in the fall of 1841 came to Illinois; Levina is now Mrs. Padelford; William is engaged in farming at East Plato, Kane county; Charles H. is a mason and builder living at Chico, California; George F. follows farming near Wasco Station, Campton township, Kane county; Caroline L. is the wife of Hiram Brown, of Port Walthal, Virginia; Ellen L. is the wife of Millard Starr, who is engaged in agricultural pursuits near Pingree station; Richard S. is a merchant of South Elgin; Frederick J. is engaged in farming near Plato Center; and Henry L. is living with his mother in South Elgin.
Mrs. Marshall well remembers the region around her birthplace, which was in the midst of a deep forest, and among the primitive scenes of frontier life she was reared to womanhood. Her father had to clear away the trees in order to secure space for his home, and the family were obliged to carry their butter and other produce to market, walking the entire distance of eighteen miles. Thus inured to such a life she was well fitted to endure the hardships which surrounded her early residence in Kane county. In coming to this state she and her husband came by way of the Welland canal and great lakes from Buffalo to Chicago, and thence by wagon to Kane county. Game was still quite plentiful in this region, furnishing the early settlers with most of their meat, and most of the land was still wild prairie and timber. She has watched with interest the wonderful changes that have since taken place.
RICHARD S. MARSHALL, son of George P. Marshall, as one of the representative and prominent business men of South Elgin. He is a native of Kane county, born on his father's farm, on section 29, Elgin township, May 16, 1856, and there remained until sixteen years of age, aiding in the work and attending the district schools of the neighborhood. At that age he began to Work for others as a farm hand and was thus employed until he attained his majority.
On the 22d of February, 1877, at the age of twenty years, Mr. Marshall was united in marriage with Miss Clara Campbell, a native of Vermont, who when a child of eleven years came to Illinois with her parents, Emmett and Marian Campbell, the former of Scotch descent. To Mr. and Mrs. Marshall have been born three children, namely: Bertha, Albert and Frank.
After his marriage Mr. Marshall rented a farm of one hundred and eighty-three acres, which he operated for three years, and for the same length of time engaged in agricultural pursuits upon a farm in Hampshire township belonging to M. C. Getzelman. He then rented the old homestead for two years, and at the end of that time removed to South Elgin, where he was first engaged in buying and selling stock for six years, meeting with success in his new undertaking. This naturally led to his entering the meat business, and to his market he subsequently added a stock of groceries. On the 8th of January, 1897, his store was destroyed by fire, probably the work of incendiaries, but the same spring he rebuilt on the new trolly line west of the Fox river and has built up a good trade for a small village - a trade that is constantly increasing. He is an enterprising, progressive business man of known reliability, and his genial, pleasant manner has made him quite popular in both business and social circles.
ISAAC T. BEVIER, who for many years was one of the leading merchants of Aurora, was born at Leurenkill, Ulster county, New York, March 13, 1818. His parents, Johannis and Elizabeth (Teachout) Bevier, were both natives of New York state. The name was originally spelled Bovier, and is of French origin. The Boviers were of the Huguenot faith and fled from France to Holland, during the time of those religious persecutions and found refuge with friends in the Palatinate. Louis Bovier, or Bevier, emigrated from Frenken, on or about March 5, 1675, and on arriving in America, they stopped temporarily at New Amsterdam, afterwards at New Paltz, and were among the original twelve patentees of that place. They had a family of eight children - Marie, Jean, Abraham, Samuel, Andrius, Louis, Esther and Solomon. Abraham Bevier married Rachel Quernory, and they settled at Warwarsing, New York. Their children were Louis, Annie, Cornelius, Samuel, Jacobus, Abraham, Maria, Johannis, Benjamin and Daniel. Johannis, the father of our subject, married Elizabeth Teachout, and their children were Mary Ann, Cornelius H., Esther B., Simon J., Isaac T., Cornelius A., Sarah E., Rachel M., Antoinette, Sarah J., William E. and Harriet E., all, excepting Sarah E., living to the age of maturity.
Isaac T. Bevier obtained his education in the public schools at Leurenkill, residing in boyhood upon his father's farm. In boyhood he learned the tailor's trade at Elmira, New York, to which place the family had removed. After learning his trade he worked at Elmira as a journeyman for several years. In the meantime he married, March n, 1841, Miss Sarah Bradner, daughter of William and Frances Emily (Wood) Bradner, of Goshen, New York. In 1844 he came to Aurora, and deciding to make this city his future home, returned to Elmira for his family. In 1848 he commenced the tailoring business here in partnership with the late William McMichen, each conducting an establishment, one on each side of the river, but in partnership. After a year or so, Mr. Bevier retired from business on account of failing eyesight, after which he served as constable and collector for several years. In 1858 he went into the drug business on Broadway with J. D. Moore, but soon afterwards purchased his partner's interest and continued the business alone up to the time of his death, which occurred January 3, 1884. He was subject to heart trouble, and died suddenly in Florida, where he had gone to gain health and strength. His remains were brought back to Aurora and buried in Spring Lake cemetery, escorted to the grave by the Knight Templars and Odd Fellows, of which in the former body he had been prelate, and had filled all the offices in the Odd Fellows society. Mr. and Mrs. Bevier had a family of four children as follows: Cornelia F., who resides with her mother. William B., who married November 25, 1898, Emma S. Borwell, of Fon du Lac, Wisconsin, by whom he has two children, George, S., born August 20, 1872, and Benjamin B., born April 9, 1880; John E., who was married October 26, 1868, to Mary J. Seymour, by whom he has one child, Frank H., born June 23, 1874; Frank H., who died April 8, 1873. John E. Bevier died in Aurora, August 20, 1875.
Mr. Bevier was a public-spirited man and in addition to those already mentioned; he held the position of street commissioner several years and highway commissioner for nine years. .With his wife he was an attendant of the Congregational church. As a citizen he was well known and universally esteemed. His death was a sincere loss to the community in which he had so long resided. Mrs. Bevier still resides in Aurora in a pleasant home at No. 285 Main street, and is also held in the highest esteem.
MORRIS CLINTON TOWN, now deceased, was for many years one of the best known business men of Elgin. He was of English and French extraction, his ancestors settling in America prior to the Revolutionary war. His father, Bester Town, was born in New York August 20, 1794. He was reared in his native state, and September 22, 1816, married Betsy M. Martin, a native of Vermont, born in 1795. For some years after marriage he followed farming in Washington county, New York. In 1824 he removed with his family to Erie county, Pennsylvania, where he engaged in hotel keeping and farming, but later commenced the manufacture of hats, and embarked in the mercantile trade. His death occurred in Erie county, Pennsylvania, December 2, 1870, and he was followed to the grave by his loving wife, January 22, 1872. During the war of 1812 he served his country as one of its soldiers.
Morris C. Town was born at Granville, Washington county, New York, February 7, 1818, and was eldest in a family of eight children. His boyhood and youth were spent at home with his parents and he learned the hatter's trade in his father's manufactory, receiving at the same time a common-school education. At the age of twenty-two he began life for himself as a merchant, at North East, Erie county, Pennsylvania, and was quite successful. But life in the east was not suited to his temperament. He wished to broaden out, and so resolved to come west. Accordingly in the spring of 1846 he came to Chicago and commenced in mercantile business, which he continued until the fall of 1847, when he came to Elgin and for three years was one of its most prosperous merchants. He then opened a banking office, and in 1851 secured a charter from the state. In 1858 he sold his banking business and removed to Chicago, where he remained until 1860, when he again came to Elgin and for the second time engaged in merchandising. In 1862 the banking house of Lawrence Pease & Town was established and Mr. Town assumed the general management of the same. In the summer of 1865 the First National Bank of Elgin was organized and he was elected cashier, a position he held for a number of years, and was then elected president, serving as such until his death.
Mr. Town was twice married. His first wife, whom he married August 27, 1839, was Miss Hannah S. Oviatt, born at Hudson, Ohio, July 27, 1819, and by her he had one child, Helen S., who became the wife of William O. De Long, and who is now living at Titusville, Pennsylvania. Mrs. Town passed to her reward in 1843, and Mr. Town married Miss Maria Selkregg, November 12, 1844, at North East, Pennsylvania. She was a native of that state, born at Colt's Station, Erie county, December 19, 1821, and a daughter of Osee and Harriet (Robinson) Selkregg, natives of Connecticut and Pennsylvania, respectively. Six children were born of this union, as follows: Ella L., born September 30, 1845, is now Mrs. L. B. Hamlin, of Elgin; Morris Clarence, born July 4, 1847, died January 8, 1850; Frank, born April 27, 1849, died June 5, 1881; Harriet E., born March 27, 1851, married John H. Volk, and is now living at Mont Clare, Illinois; Carrie M., born May 27, 1855, is the wife of W. W. Sherwin, of Elgin; and Morris Clinton died in infancy. Mrs. Town died January 26, 1897. She was a member of the Congregational church, a true Christian woman, one who was greatly esteemed by all.
After a residence in Elgin of forty-five years, save for a short time spent in Chicago, already mentioned, Mr. Town passed from this life, his death taking place July 31, 1892, at the age of seventy-four years and five months. He was a man of more than ordinary ability, and did much to make Elgin the thriving city it now is. Few enterprises of a public nature but what secured from him financial as well as moral support. He added much to the city by the erection of a fine business block which bears his name. A friend of education, he was one of the founders of the Elgin Academy, and served as one of its directors until his death. In 1878 he was elected a local director in the Elgin National Watch Company, a position which he held until his death. Fraternally he was an Odd Fellow, and was one of the charter members of Kane lodge, at Elgin.
MRS. D. P. GRAY, of Aurora, Illinois, was born in Covington, Tioga county, Pennsylvania, April 7, 1817. Her father, Thomas Putnam, was a native of Massachusetts, and the son of Elijah Putnam, a cousin of Israel Putnam, of Revolutionary fame. Thomas Putnam married Hannah Huntington, a native of Massachusetts, where he then resided. Soon after his marriage he moved to Pennsylvania, and settled in Tioga county, when he followed his trade of saddle-tree maker for several years, and there reared a family. His wife died in Pennsylvania, and he later married again. He was a very prominent man, serving for some years as postmaster of Covington, and also justice of the peace. For some years he was a general in the state militia.
Our subject was reared in her native town, where she received a fairly good education, and on March 3, 1833, a young lady of sixteen years, gave her hand in marriage to L. W. Gray, a native of Ohio, born July 11, 1812, but who was reared in Tioga county, Pennsylvania, where he received a good education in the common schools, and in Wellsborough College. After their marriage they began their domestic life in Covington, Pennsylvania, where he worked at his trade of tanner and currier, and carried on that business for six years. In 1838, they moved west, first locating in Oquawka, Henderson county, Illinois, and six months later moving to Henderson, where he was elected constable and served until 1843.
In that year they moved to Kane county, where Mr. Gray bought land near Aurora, which he farmed some four or five years. He then sold the farm and moved into Aurora, purchasing some land, which now lies within the city limits. He laid out an addition to the city, on the west side, known as Gray's addition to Aurora. He served as one of the first aldermen of the city, and was continued in that office until his death, October 10, 1881, at the age of seventy years.
Politically Mr. Gray was identified with the Democratic party, and was a firm believer and a stanch advocate of its principles. A friend of education, he served for some years as a member of the school board, and did much to advance the educational interests of his adopted city. Progressive in all things, he encouraged every enterprise that he considered would have a tendency to advance the material interests of Aurora. In his death the city lost one of its best men.
Mr. and Mrs. Gray were the parents of seven children, of whom four survive. John married Lucretia Smith, of Henry county, and they now make their home in Jefferson, Iowa, where he is engaged in business. He was a member of the Forty-fifth Illinois Volunteer Infantry, and during the last two years of his service was on the staff of General McKean. Thomas P. was also a soldier in the late war, serving in the Eleventh Illinois Volunteer Infantry, and was wounded near Pittsburg Landing. For some years he has been employed in the pension office at Washington. He married Hetty Headley, and they made their home in Washington. Ann married Salmon Dennison, of Aurora, who served during the late war, as a member of Company H, One Hundred and Twenty-fourth Regiment Illinois Volunteer Infantry. He died in Aurora, in January, 1891. Wright married Rosella Miles, and resides in Windsor, Colorado. Warren died in infancy. Grant died in early childhood. Wells grew to mature years, and died when about thirty-five years of age. Mrs. Gray has twelve grandchildren, and six great-grandchildren. She is a member of the Peoples church of Aurora, and is a woman who is held in the highest esteem by all who know her.
EDWARD BAKER, a leading merchant of St. Charles, is an important factor in business circles, and his popularity is well deserved, as in him are embraced the characteristics of an unbending integrity, unabated energy and industry that never flags. As a public-spirited citizen he is thoroughly interested in whatever tends to promote the moral, intellectual and material welfare of the community.
Mr. Baker was born in Canandaigua county, New York, September 13, 1828, a son of Chauncey and Rhoda (Webster) Baker. The birth of the father occurred in 1800, in Vermont, but he was reared in New York, of which state his wife was a native. In 1835 he removed with his family to Medina county, Ohio, where he worked at his trade of blacksmithing and also operated a farm, which he purchased when only partially improved. He was highly respected and was called upon to serve in a number of local offices of honor and trust. He died in Medina county, Ohio, in 1852, and his wife departed this life in 1872. In their family were five children, two sons and three daughters. William Baker, the brother of our subject, died in Ohio, at the age of thirty-five, leaving a family. The three sisters were all married and are living at this date (1898).
Upon the home farm in Medina county Edward Baker grew to manhood and during his youth was provided with good school privileges, attending both the common and high schools of that locality. For some years he successfully engaged in teaching in Ohio during the winter months, while the summers were devoted to farm work. On coming to Illinois in 1853, he purchased a farm near Aurora, in Kane county, but after operating it for one season, he sold and bought another place in St. Charles township, two miles west of the village of that name. This farm was partially improved, and to its further development and cultivation he devoted his time and attention for about twenty years, during which time he built an addition to his house, erected a barn and made many other improvements which added greatly to its value and attractive appearance. Subsequently he sold his farm, and removing to St. Charles, he formed a business partnership and engaged in merchandising, being at the present time the oldest merchant in the village.
In Summit county, Ohio, Mr. Baker was married in 1850, the lady of his choice being Miss Martha E. Phelps, a native of New York state, and a daughter of John Phelps, who at an early day removed from New York to Ohio. Mrs. Baker was reared and educated in Summit county. The children born to our subject and his wife are as follows: Charles, who died at the age of thirteen years; Delora, wife of J. W. Gates, of Chicago, who is president of the Illinois Steel Company and is largely interested in mines in the west; Vernie, wife of R. F. Angel, of St. Charles; and Edward J., a grain inspector of Chicago, who is married and lives in Chicago.
Politically, Mr. Baker is a life-long Republican, an advocate of protection and sound money, and has served as alderman in St. Charles. He has ever taken an active interest in educational affairs, has been a leading member of the school board for almost a quarter of a century, and his labors have been very effective in raising the standard of schools in St. Charles. Religiously he and his wife are active and prominent members of the Methodist Episcopal church, while he has been a member of its board for thirty-five years. He also belongs to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and has been treasurer of the lodge for the long period of twenty years. Over his life record there falls no shadow of wrong, and in many respects his life is well worthy of emulation, for he is an honorable, upright business man, and has ever, been found true and faithful to every trust reposed in him.
WILLIAM PFRANGLE, city clerk, and also town clerk of Aurora, was born in this city March 7, 1860, and is the son of Sebastian and Lena (Heimelsbach) Pfrangle, both of whom are natives of Germany, and were there married. In 1853, the family came to America, first stopping in New York for a short time, then coming west to Chicago, where they remained about two years, moving from there to Wheaton, Illinois, Mr. Pfrangle being elected professor of German and music in the college at that place. He was a highly educated man and was engaged in teaching before coming to America. From Wheaton they came to Aurora in 1858, and he engaged in teaching in the old Clark seminary. He died in 1859, before the completion of the school building, when about forty-three years of age. His wife survived him many years, dying in 1886, at the age of seventy-one years.
Our subject is the youngest of twelve children, born to Professor and Mrs. Pfrangle. Of the twelve, four sisters and three brothers are still living, while three died in early childhood, and two in mature years. The living are Amelia, wife of Conrad Hoffman, residing in Aurora; Emma, wife of John Lackner, of Aurora; Charles J., who married Laura Wagner, is a sign writer in Aurora; Pauline, wife of Zopher Ketchum, of Aurora; Albert, janitor of the east side high school, Aurora; Jenny, wife of Benjamin B. Hayford, chief engineer of the Columbus Memorial Building, Chicago; and William of this review.
The subject of this sketch was educated in the Aurora public schools, and at the age of sixteen secured a position as clerk in the post office, and for nineteen years was connected with the postal service, and for fifteen years was assistant postmaster, terminating his career there May 6, 1895, when he resigned, having been elected city clerk, which office he still holds and is now serving his second term. He was also elected town clerk in April, 1895, and is serving his third term in that office.
On the 3rd of May, 1882, Mr. Pfrangle was united in marriage with Miss Sadie Cross, daughter of Prof. J. G. Cross, and author of the eclectic shorthand system. He is a teacher of wide experience, and for a time was connected with the college at Naperville, the seminary at Aurora, and the State Normal School, at Normal, Illinois. He is now conducting a school in Los Angeles, California. He is also a minister in the Methodist Episcopal church, and filled pulpits in the Rock River conference before taking up college work. To Mr. and Mrs. Pfrangle five children have been born - Jessie, Bessie, George, Charles and Mabel, the latter two being twins. They were born February 13, 1893, and Mabel died July 4, 1894.
Mrs. Pfrangle is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church, and is active in all church and benevolent work. Mr. Pfrangle is a member of the Uniform Rank of Knights of Pythias, and affiliates with the Republican party, in state and national campaigns. He is a good and accommodating officer, and a most worthy citizen, such as give character to a community. His official career speaks of the right man in the right place, and duty well done, and duty appreciated.
GEORGE S. HALEY, the present efficient police magistrate of Batavia, has been a resident of Kane county since 1854. He was born in the town of Guilford, Windham county, Vermont, July 14, 1827. He traces his ancestry to Belcher Haley, a native of Ireland, who came to this country at a very early day, and located in Windham county, Vermont, where his son Nathan T. Haley, the father of our subject, was born in 1800. In his native county, Nathan T. Haley, grew to manhood, and there married Harriet Holton, also a native of Windham county, Vermont. He was by occupation a farmer and upon his farm in that county reared his family and spent his entire life, dying in 1867. His wife survived him a number of years, dying about 1885.
George S. Haley spent his boyhood upon his father's farm, and until the age of sixteen attended the public schools as the opportunity was afforded him, usually three months during the winter, in the meantime working on the farm. He then went to Greenfield, Massachusetts, to learn the cutler's trade, serving an apprenticeship of six years, and then worked as a journeyman, from 1845 to 1854. With that laudable desire to better himself, he came west, locating at Geneva, Illinois, and there went to work as a machinist. . For ten years he was thus employed, and in 1864, came to Batavia and entered the machine shop, and has since been a resident of the city. For twenty-five years he was foreman in the foundry of the United States Wind and Pump Company, and was one its oldest employees.
In 1847, at Brattleboro, Vermont, Mr. Haley was united in marriage to Miss Lucinda Nash, a daughter of Lewis Nash, by whom he has nine children, as follows: Charles H., a foreman for the Challenge Engine and Feed Mill Company, who is married and has a family; Rev. Fred H., married and .now resides in Kansas City; Edward, married, and is a machinist, residing in Batavia; Clarence H., married, and is also a machinist, residing in Batavia; Hattie M., wife of Merritt McMaster, a blacksmith of Batavia; Dexter Garrett, a cabinet maker, who is married and resides in Batavia; and Frank E., at home. Two died in early childhood.
Politically Mr. Haley was a Republican for years, and cast his vote for John C. Fremont, the presidential candidate of that party. He was originally a Whig and cast his first presidential vote for Zachary Taylor. Of late he has been identified with the Democratic party. By his fellow citizens, he has been honored with several positions of honor and trust. He served as village trustee and one term as president of the board. He is now police magistrate, which position he has held for twelve years, with credit to himself and constituents. In political affairs he has always manifested great interest, and has often served as a delegate to the various conventions of his party. Fraternally he is a member of the Masons and has served in every position in the blue lodge except Master, and in some of the offices of the Chapter.
In July, 1894, Mrs. Lucinda Haley departed this life, and on the 24th of November, 1897, Mr. Haley married Mrs. Caroline Patterson, nee Carter, of Chicago, but a native of Ohio. She is a member of the Episcopal church, in which she takes a commendable interest. A resident of Kane county for forty-four years, Mr. Haley is well known as a man of exemplary habits, true to his friends and one who is willing to do his duty in all things.
BACK TO BIOGRAPHY INDEX
Return to the Main Index Page for Kane County