Knox County Illinois
Knox Township History
by O. L. Campbell
Knox Township as described in the United States Government Survey, is Number 11 North, Range 2 East. Its surface is a level prairie and its soil is as fertile as any in the county. Excellent natural drainage is afforded by Court and Haw Creeks, with the numerous streams tributary to them. The first named crosses the township from east to west; the latter cuts it in the southwest corner. Originally about one-third of Knox was covered with timber, and although most of the growth has been cleared away, there is yet a considerable amount standing along the banks of the water courses. The early history of the township is interesting, but is virtually identical with that of Knoxville, which is related in the succeeding pages. That city, for many years the county seat, and Randall, are the only towns of importance. Lake George and Highland Park, favorite pleasure resorts for the people of Galesburg, are within its limits.
Highland Park is situated in Section 18, a mile east of the city limits of Galesburg. It is under private management, which has arranged the grounds for the accommodation of picnic parties and keeps boats for hire upon the numerous small lakes with which the park is dotted, and in the neighborhood of which are large brick yards. A street car line runs out from the city, and the place is well patronized in summer. Ice is cut in considerable quantities from the little ponds and there are several large ice houses in the vicinity.
The chief industry of the township is farming, although brick is extensively manufactured in that part adjacent to Galesburg.
This village stands on the north half of Section 15. It was laid out on November 8, 1890, by C. B. Randall, and owes its existence to the phenomenal growth of the brick making industry and the completion of the Santa Fe line to Chicago. The population numbers about eight hundred and is composed chiefly of employees of the brick yards. In 1892 the railroad company changed the name of its station to East Galesburg, but that of the town remained the same as at first.
Randall supports two churches, Christian and Methodist Episcopal, a good school and a weekly newspaper.
The Christian Society was organized January 1, 1894, with eighty-six members, and may be rightly said to be the result of evangelistic work done by Rev. J. M. Morris and Elder J. G. Rowe. It is a mission of the Galesburg Church, which erected an edifice costing twelve hundred dollars in 1893. The present membership is sixty, and the Sunday school attendance sixty-five. T. L. Rowe is Superintendent.
The Methodist Episcopal denomination organized its church here a few years ago and built a house of worship costing three thousand dollars. There are twenty-seven communicants, and fifty pupils in the Sunday school. There is no settled pastor.
The East Galesburg Tribune was established in 1892, and is issued every Saturday from the presses of the Galesburg Plaindealer, by Karl R. Haggenjos, who is both editor and publisher. It is a seven column folio, and democratic in politics.
The Knights of Pythias and Modern Woodmen of America are well represented in the village. East Galesburg Lodge 46, K. of P., was organized with forty-five charter members, and has a present membership of forty-six. The first officers were : J. Stickels, C.C.; J. W. Yard, V.C.; F. Parkins, P.; J. H. Potter, K. of R. and S.; J. E. Hebard, M. of A.; C. J. Nibel, M. of F. Present officers: H. B. Corbin, C.C.; J. Underwood, V.C.; J. Bushong, P.; J. H. Potter, K. of R.and S. They meet at Robbins and Granvil’s store.
The East Galesburg Camp of Modern Woodmen was established August 16, 1894, with eleven members. Its present membership is forty-one. Meets in K. of P. Hall. First officers: J. L. Rowe, V.C.; John F. Barmore, Clerk. Present officers: A. P. Melton, V. C.; John F. Barmore, Clerk.
By O. L. Campbell
Knoxville is located on the southern quarter of Section 28 North, Range 2 East, Knox County, and was laid out August 7, 1830 by Parnach Owens. The town was first called Henderson, but in 1833 was given its present appellation, both county and town being named in honor of General Knox, of Revolutionary fame. Its location, on the divide between the Mississippi and Illinois rivers, on the east and west, and smaller streams on the north and south, renders the site a most desirable one for a city of homes; salubrious, healthful, and pleasing.
The town’s early history is full of interest. The first settler was Perry Morris, who, in 1829, located on what is known as the east side of the present city. He afterwards sold his farm to Captain John Charles. John Montgomery and Dr. Hansford came soon after. The last named was the first physician, and his daughter, Mrs. Grace Shock, was the first female child born in Henderson. John Moore Bartlett was the first boy. In 1832, John G. Sanburn brought a stock of goods here. Down to the time of his death he was a prominent figure in the town’s history. He was Knoxville’s first postmaster and held many important county and government positions, including that of the first Circuit and County Clerk. He died April 14, 1865. Henry Runkle came in 1833, his brother Eldred in 1834, and another brother, Cornelius, in 1836. These brothers have been closely identified with the development and history of the town from the date of its organization. Henry owned the first mill in the settlement. He died in 1852, and his brother, Eldred, who was associated with him in mercantile business, died in 1865. Cornelius Runkle is still an honored and respected resident of this city. Rev. Jacob Gum, a Baptist minister, was Knoxville’s first preacher. His son, John B. Gum, came to the township in 1839. He left a numerous progeny, who have become influential citizens. Daniel Fuqua came here in 1834, and for sixty-three years has been prominent in town and municipal affairs. The family is a prolific one, numbering one hundred and thirteen, including ten children, sixty-eight grandchildren and thirty-three great-grandchildren. He finds his greatest pleasure now in the family reunions of his descendants. Judge R. L. Hannaman located here in 1836. Although for a time he was engaged in mercantile pursuits, it was as an attorney that he was best known. For many years he was the leading lawyer of the county, and always known as the firm friend of the poor and distressed. The first sale of lots took place in 1831, when those upon which the offices of the Republican now stand brought over three thousand dollars.
From the time of its organization until 1872, Knoxville was the county seat of Knox County. The Knoxville of today is a model residence town, its citizens being a community of educated and refined people, with whom it is a pleasure to reside. It has exceptionally good educational advantages, electric lights, electric street railway and a splendid system of waterworks. Here also are situated the County Fair Grounds and the County Almshouse. Its people always point with especial pride to the city’s excellent private and public schools.
First in importance is St. Mary’s School, organized as Ewing Female Seminary in 1859. This institution was opened on Monday in Easter week, 1868, and after the destruction of the building and contents by fire on January 4, 1873 (the book has a typo of 1823, so I’m guessing it should be 1873) , was reopened January 31, in St. Ausgarius College building. The new structure was begun in April, occupied in October, and has twice been enlarged. The limit of its capacity (one hundred pupils) has been reached. St. Mary’s is an incorporated institution, the Board of Trustees representing the City of Knoxville and the three dioceses of the Protestant Episcopal Church in Illinois. The buildings, grounds, furniture and apparatus are valued at one hundred and fifty thousand dollars. Of this amount about fifty thousand dollars were given and bequeathed by the late Hon. James Knox. The house is constructed of the best materials—stone, brick, iron and slate—and the interior is finished with southern pine. The plans are the result of thirty years’ experience in school management and construction, and for adaptation to both sanitary and educational purposes are unsurpassed. St. Mary’s Church, built of stone, is a fine specimen of Gothic architecture, and connected with the school building by a cloister of rare beauty. Among the contents of the sacred edifice are a fine pipe organ, memorial windows and other gifts.
The provision made in the school for astronomical study is very complete, the apparatus and equipment having cost more than three thousand dollars. The Observatory is of brick, surmounted by a dome sixteen feet in height with transit room adjoining. The telescope is an equatorial refractor, mounted with clock work, having a six-inch object glass of Alvin Clark and Sons’ manufacture. The transit is a very fine instrument, made by Messrs. Fauth and Company. Personal attention is given to every pupil, and religious and semi-parental influences accompany the daily work and discipline. It is the aim of the school to prepare its pupils for responsible positions in life, and to adorn the family and social circle not only with intellectual culture, but also with graceful manners, refined tastes and Christina character. One special feature of the administration is that St. Mary’s continues under the rectorship and care of Rev. C. W. Leffingwell, D. D., who founded the school in 1868. Thirty years of experience, with a record of successful work, constitute a strong assurance of safe and wise management for the future. The following are the officers and teachers of the institution: The Rev. Charles W. Leffingwell, D. D., Logic and Psychology, Civics; the Rev. Edward H. Rudd, S. T. D. Chaplain, Latin, Greek, Natural Science; Nancy Meneeley Hitchcock, M. A. Principal Emeritus; Emma Pease Howard, Principal, Literature, Rhetoric and German; Mrs. Leffingwell, Vice Principal; Mrs. E. H. Rudd, French, Italian, History; Emily Seamans, Mathematics and Latin; Charlotte W. Campbell, English; Jessie M. Leath, Director of the Studio; Mrs. Helen Carlton-Marsh, Vocal Music; Mary Harriet Howell, Biology, Physical Training; William H. Sherwood, Chicago, Visiting Director of Music; Eleanor Sherwood, Resident Director of Music; Susan Bertha Humston, Organist, Assistant in Piano and Harmony; William H. Cheesman, Violin and Guitar; Mrs. Francis H. Sisson, Elocution; Charlotte Cooper, Preparatory Department; Louise Nichols, Matron; John F. Somes, Curator.
St. Alban’s Academy was founded by Rev. Dr. Leffingwell in 1890. The property on which it stands had been originally occupied by a Swedish-American college, which was largely indebted to Hon. James Knox, who gave thirteen thousand dollars toward the erection of the building. After five years, the embryo college had ceased to exist, and the property reverted to the City of Knoxville. In 1894, Dr. Leffingwell leased the school to Colonel A. H. Noyes, the present Superintendent, who had been a member of its original teaching staff, and who ably discharged the duties of Superintendent for five years. The main building is a four story brick structure, with a mansard roof and stone basement. It will accommodate fifty pupils, besides masters, matrons and attendants. In its enlargement and improvement strict attention has been given to the securing of the best sanitary conditions. Water supply, drainage, ventilation, light and heat are all of the best, and the appliances therefore are all of the most modern type. The recitation, class and assembly halls and chambers are well lighted, large and lofty, and admirably arranged for the combination of school and home comforts. In 1898 Phelps Hall was erected, the beautiful frame building for younger boys. Chief among the institution’s many attractions and improvements is the new gymnasium and armory. The main room of this building is seventy by forty feet, with a ceiling twenty feet above the floor, finished in Georgia pine, and thoroughly equipped with modern gymnastic appliances. In winter it is used as a drill hall and for indoor athletic games, as well as for social entertainments. The chapel, a wooden building in the Gothic style of architecture, having seating capacity of two hundred, stands on the grounds near the main building. An addition has recently been made to the latter, enlarging the number of recitation rooms and sleeping apartments. The academic staff is as follows: Rev. C. W. Leffingwell, D. D., Rector and Founder; Arthur H. Noyes, B. A., Superintendent; Rev. Francis Mansfield, M. D., M.A., Chaplain; Charles A. Adams, B. A., Sciences; Nelson Willard, B. A. Classics; John Harris Booge, Primary Department; J. Grant Beadle, Drawing and Architecture, Penmanship; Mrs. A. H. Noyes, Vocal and Instrumental Music; Miss S. E. Hayden, Studio Director; Mrs. E. M. Harrison, Matron; Miss Lutie Booge, Matron Phelps Hall.
Knoxville has an admirable public school system, with two good buildings. The first was erected in 1876, at an outlay of eighteen thousand, five hundred dollars; the second was finished in 1896, the cost being about seven thousand dollars. Both buildings are modern in construction, well arranged and have fine equipment, including a large and well selected library. The corps of teachers embraces only experienced and capable instructors. They are as follows: Principal, W. F. Jones; Assistants, Eighth grade, Emma Mowery; Seventh, Josephine McIntosh; Sixth, Amanda C. Lightner; Fifth, Nellie Evans; Fourth, Lodena McWilliams; Third, Belle Sanford; Second, Mary A. Parmenter; primary grade, Flora Smith; teacher of vocal music, M. B. Parry.
The first religious denomination to form an organization in Knoxville was the Methodist Episcopal, which has held regular services since 1831. The Free Methodists have also held services in the city for several years, but have no house of worship. The African Methodist Episcopal Church owns a church building and a parsonage, but the membership is small.
St. John’s Episcopal Church was organized in 1843, and erected an edifice, costing two thousand, five hundred dollars in 1867. The building is now used as a chapel for St. Alban’s Academy. The congregation embraces some seventy-five communicants, and the Sunday school membership is about one hundred and twenty-five, including the pupils of the Academy who attend. A handsome chapel is also connected with St. Mary’s Academy, of which mention has been already made.
The Swedish Lutherans formed a church in 1853, which is still in existence and holds regular services.
The present Presbyterian Church of Knoxville was organized in 1870, by the union of the “old” and “new” school branches of that denomination, under the pastorate of Rev. D. G. Bradford. Rev. W. H. Mason is the present pastor, and the church is in a flourishing condition.
The former “old school” Presbyterian house of worship is now occupied by the Christian Society, which was organized in 1871 and purchased the building from its former owners.
Illinois Council No. 1, R. and S.M., was organized March 11, 1852, under a dispensation granted from Kentucky. Its first officers were: T.J.G.M, William A. Seaton; Deputy T.J.G.M., G. C. Lanphere; P.C.W., Harmon G. Reynolds; J.G.C.G., I. M. Wilt; I. G.S., I Gulihur; Recorder, J. W. Spaulding; Treasurer, William McMurtry; Stewards, F. Mason and B. F. Hebard.
Rabboni Chapter, No. 95, R.A.M., was instituted October 5, 1856. Its first officers were: James McCracken, H.P.; Alvah Wheeler, K.; Adam Brewer, Scribe.
Pacific Lodge, No. 66, A.F. and A.M., was organized in 1896, by uniting Pacific Lodge No. 400 and Knoxville Lodge No. 66. E. T. Eads was the first W.M., and E. Codding, Secretary.
Knoxville Lodge, No. 126, A.O.U.W., was organized September 30, 1878. Dr. G. S. Chalmers was the first M.W.
Knox Lodge, S.K. of A., was organized in 1887, and is now in a flourishing condition.
The Knoxville Lodge of the Modern Woodmen of America was organized in 1888 and is now the largest fraternal organization in the city numbering one hundred and thirteen members. The Royal Neighbors, a branch of this order which admits women, was organized in 1896, with J. A. Westfall as its first presiding officer.
Knoxville Home Forum, No. 586, was organized April 18, 1896, and now has a membership of fifty. O. L. Campbell was the first president of the organization.
Horatio Lodge No. 362, K. of P., was organized in 1892, and has sixty members. Hon. A. M. Parmenter, the Mayor of the City, is its presiding officer.
A Temple of Honor was recently established with Dr. L. Becker as presiding officer.
The Knox County Old Settlers’ Association, whose composition is indicated by its title, holds annual meetings at Gilbert’s Park, Knoxville, which are very largely attended and are a source of great pleasure, besides promoting a friendly feeling among the members. Hon. H. M. Sisson is President, and O. L. Campbell, Secretary.
The Knox County Agricultural Board was organized in 1856, at Knoxville, and since that date has only once failed to hold a yearly meeting. The object of the organization is to promote the educational and other interests of the farmers of the county. The impetus which has been imparted to agriculture by this long series of annual gatherings has proved of the utmost benefit. The present officers are: President, Hon. J. F. Latimer, of Abingdon; Vice President, Hon. H. M. Sisson, of Galesburg; Secretary, O. L. Campbell, of Knoxville.
The first banking facilities of Knoxville were afforded by James Knox, as early as 1850, if not before, who received deposits and drew bills of exchange on New York for the accommodation of his customers. The transactions, however, were, in a sense, irregular; Mr. Knox having no established bank and being prompted chiefly by a desire to oblige his friends and neighbors. Jehial B. Smith started a private bank in 1850, and seven years later T. J. Hale became his partner, but before the outbreak of the Civil War the business was discontinued and the bank closed.
In 1853, Mr. Knox was sent to Congress, leaving the management of his affairs in the hands of Cornelius Runkle, who thus gained his first insight into the principles and usages of banking. On May 1, 1857, he, in connection with his brother, Elbert Runkle, opened a private bank, which they conducted until 1865, in which year they organized the First National Bank, with a paid capital of sixty thousand dollars. Cornelius Runkle was President, and John Babbington, Cashier. The stockholders were James Knox, G. A. Charles, John Eads, Miles Smith, A. M. Craig, John Carns, and the Runkle brothers. The bank was successful from the start, doing a large and profitable business; and when it was finally wound up, in 1856, it had a surplus of sixty thousand dollars.
Upon the closing of the First National, the Farmers’ National Bank came into existence with F. G. Sanburn as President, and C. G. Smith, Cashier. It too, had a capital of sixty thousand dollars. This has since been increased to one hundred and sixty thousand dollars. The present officers are J. Z. Crane, President, and H. J. Butt, Cashier. The bank’s surplus is twelve thousand dollars, and its deposits and loans each about one hundred thousand dollars.
A private bank was opened in 1890, by J. M. Nisley. Its capital is about thirty thousand dollars, and deposits and loans amount to about forty thousand dollars.
The first newspaper to be published was the Knoxville Journal, the first issue of which appeared October 5, 1849. Its proprietors were John S. Winter and David Collins, and the editorial management was able. It was neutral in politics. Starting as a six column folio the number of columns was increased to seven on July 9, 1850, and to eight May 6, 1851. On January 13, 1852, Mr. Winter retired. Mr. Collins continued to be the sole proprietor until March 2, 1855, when he sold out to John Regan. Under the new control the paper soon became democratic, and after a few years was discontinued. The pronounced political attitude of his former paper induced Mr. Winter to re-enter the field of journalism, and on October 8, 1856, he issued the first number of the Knox Republican, taking strong anti-slavery ground, and earnestly supporting the principles, policy and candidates of the republican party, then in its infancy. The date of the issue gives the Republican the unquestioned right to claim the distinction of being the oldest paper in the county, in point of continuous publication. The county’s political complexion promoted a rapid increase in circulation. John Winter and R. M. Winans were soon taken into partnership, the firm name becoming John S. Winter and Company. On April 7, 1858, they disposed of the paper to Zaccheus Beatty and W. T. Robinson, the first named of whom was later, for many years, editor of the Republican Register of Galesburg. Within a few years Mr. Beatty retired, and in 1875, Mr. Robinson sold out to F. A. Lanstrum. Shortly afterward the paper was bought by the present editor, O. L. Campbell, who has very considerable enlarged its size, changing its form from an eight-column folio to a six-column publication of eight, and sometimes, ten pages. The paper appears every Wednesday, and has a circulation of about twelve hundred. It is a clean, family paper, well edited, and aggressively republican. It is now entering its forty-third year, and has been published continuously by its present proprietor for more than a quarter of a century.
The Knox County News was founded in December 1898, by Charles N. May and Fred O. McFarland. The last named gentleman retired after about three months. Messrs. Harry Campbell and F. Huschinger were then taken into partnership, but withdrew after about a month.
The municipal government of the City of Knoxville is vested in a Mayor, a Board of six Aldermen, elected from three wards, with nine heads of executive departments, which are named below. The present officers (1899) are: Mayor, A. M. Parmenter; Aldermen, F. E. Buckley, F. W. Emery, D. H. Funk, A. C. Barnhart, G. T. Parmenter and Jesse Pickrel; City Clerk, Fred H. Stearns; City Treasurer, H. J. Butt; City Attorney, E. A. Corbin; City Marshall, T. O. Stenson; Police Magistrate, James Godfrey; Street Superintendent, Herod Pierce; Superintendent of Waterworks, Fred McGill; Cemetery Sexton, Seth Crump; City Inspector, E. Codding.
Biographies of Knox Township
Alanson G. Charles -- Thomas Lee Gilbert -- David Brainard Huggins -- Charles Wesley Leffingwell, DD -- John Henry Lewis -- John M. Nisley -- Orange Lowell Campbell -- John Cooke -- John D. McClure -- Harvey Montgomery -- Allen Moore Parmenter -- Arthur Hamilton Noyes -- Cornelius Runkle -- Francis Granger Sanburn -- John F. Bannon -- Louis Becker -- Christopher Borrell -- Frank Buck -- Robert Rolland Buckley -- Charles N. Butt -- John Z. Carns -- Cyrus N. Carson -- William Caulkins -- Burrell N. Chapin -- Capt. George A. Charles -- James H. Conner -- John Cooke -- George W Cronoble -- Allen T. Evans -- Willfard Evans -- David H. Funk -- George Haner -- Dr. Charles Hansford -- Frederick Holton -- Samuel H. Hopper -- John H. Johnson -- James Knox -- Peter Lacy -- John O. Lander -- Charles D. Lindsey -- David Masters -- Henry Masters -- David McWilliams -- John Montgomery -- Johnston J. Neeley -- Hiram F. Parkins -- William I. Peckenpaugh -- Asa Ramp -- John C. Riordan -- James Runkle -- John G. Sanburn -- Louis M. Smith -- Malcolm Smith -- Mathew M. Smith -- Gardner G. Stearns -- John W. Tate -- Thomas B. Tate -- Albert Upson -- Ola Walberg -- David Warner -- Samuel Westerfield -- Thomas Wilson -- George W. Witherell
Alanson G. Charles
Alanson G. Charles is a native of Knox Township, and was born February 21, 1846. His parents were George A. and Dorlinsky (Post) Charles, natives of the State of New York. George A., the father, was a man of great natural ability. With an unerring judgment and quick perceptions, his opinions always carried with them the weight of conviction. He was kind and generous, and was beloved by all who knew him.
Alanson G. resembles his father in features and complexion, and the law of heredity is fully exemplified in his generous spirit and benevolent disposition. He is a sturdy, thrifty farmer, and is the owner of twelve hundred acres of beautiful rolling prairie land, in one solid body, with a commodious dwelling in the midst. Near by, are three hundred and twenty acres more, which may serve for tillage or pasture land, as the husbandman may think best. Mr. Charles’ farm seems to be an ideal one. As one steps upon it, the first impression is extent, magnitude. It is beautifully situated, and from the windows of his homestead, may be seen the spires and belfry towers of the city of Knoxville. Plenty seems to have its home here, as the abundant crops and the fine stock of horses, cattle, and swine attest.
Mr. Charles has been a resident of the county from the day of his birth. He has no desire for a better country or a better home. He has lived in peace and quietude, and has never sought position or place. He rather dislikes office, but has, now and then, accepted it at the urgent importunities of friends. For four terms he was elected Supervisor, which office he filled with great credit. For twelve years he has discharged the duties of Treasurer of Knox County Agricultural Board, and still holds that office. At present he is President of Knox County Farmer’s Institute, which was organized in 1891.
As a man, Mr. Charles is well informed and is thoroughly posted in his business relations. He is reserved, never opinionated, and is able to give an intelligent statement on all subjects coming within the scope of his knowledge. He is a good neighbor, a lover of friends, and is given to hospitality. In politics, he is a democrat, but not an extreme partisan. He sees good and evil in all parties; but his honesty forbids his screening the acts of evildoers. He believes that the perpetuity of republican institutions depends upon men of integrity and ability in office instead of strictly party men without these qualifications.
Both he and his wife are members of the Presbyterian church, and according to the principles therein inculcated, they have lived upright, Christian lives.
Mr. Charles was united in marriage November 24, 1868 to Lottie Rogers, daughter of Charles and Eliza (Phillips) Rogers. Charles Rogers was a native of Connecticut; and his wife, Eliza, of England. They settled in Knox Township in 1844, where Mrs. Charles was born January 31, 1848.
Mr. and Mrs. Charles have been blessed with six children: George, Albert, Roger, John H., Alice, and Bessie. Albert and Roger are deceased. [back]
Thomas Lee Gilbert
Thomas Lee Gilbert, son of Thomas and Annis (Dibble) Gilbert, was born in Oneida County, New York March 17, 1830. His father was a farmer, and it was on the farm that the son received his first lessons in industry and thrift that have opened to him the pathway of success.
Thomas Gilbert, the father, went with his father’s family to Oneida County, New York when he was only six years of age. He lived there, working on a farm, until he had grown to manhood. He then went to Ogdensburg, New York, and engaged in the mercantile business, until the War of 1812. He enlisted, and was wounded when Ogdensburg was taken by the British. After the close of the war, he went to the headwaters of the Mississippi, as a trader with the Indians. After returning from the Northwest, he lived in Oneida County until the Spring of 1834. He then went west again, in order to select a location for a permanent home. He traveled on horseback over the State of Illinois, and studied the merits and demerits of every portion. He preferred the country between the Illinois and Mississippi rivers; but the land was not then in the market and he returned to New York.
In the Spring of 1835, he was selected as one of a committee to find a suitable location in Illinois for a colony. This committee was composed of Thomas Gilbert, Nehemiah West, and Timothy Jarvis. A letter of instructions, written by the Rev. George W. Gale, was given them, which Mr. Gilbert carried in his pocket through the entire trip. The original letter is preserved in the archives of Knox College, from which the following interesting items are transcribed:
“First, Health. This may be regarded as a sine qua non. Under this head, the following indications are to be specially noticed: 1. The quality of the water in wells and springs.
The streams, whether rapid, slow or sluggish; whether they rise in swamps or pass through them, or from springs; the vicinity of marshes; the face of the country, whether level or rolling.
Quality of soil, depth, variety, general character, whether clay or loam or sand; and if mixed, what proportions, probably; slope of the country, and towards what points, and the degree of slope.
Supply of water, timber and fuel.
Facilities of intercourse; roads and canals, where now made or probably to be made at no distant time; navigable streams.
The sixth article has reference to hydraulic power, mills, and machinery; the seventh, to canals and navigable streams; the eighth, to state of population and prospect of increase. The main drift of the instructions was to select a healthy location. The letter is dated May 10, 1835, and is directed to Messrs. Gilbert, West, and Jarvis.
During this trip, Mr. Gilbert, the father, entered a half section of land in Orange Township, and also bought an adjoining claim on which was an unfinished log cabin. He then returned to New York for his family. He went to Chicago and tried to sell his horse, saddle, and bridle for the eighty dollars which he paid. He could not get that price, but instead, was offered forty acres of land, which is now the center of Chicago. The land was refused, and at last, his outfit was sold for sixty dollars. He then took a boat at Chicago around the lakes to Buffalo, then by lake to Cleveland, then by canal to Portsmouth on the Ohio River, then by the Ohio, Mississippi, and Illinois rivers to Copperas Creek Landing, and then by team to Knoxville, reaching that place November 25, 1835. He lived on his farm until 1865, when he sold out and moved to Knoxville where he died in 1872.
Thomas L. Gilbert has lived a busy life. He has earned not only a competence, but the respect and good-will of his fellow citizens. His ambition has been to shun the wrong, and to demand nothing but what is right. His life is an example of good deeds done and is worthy of imitation. In his business relations, he has ever been just and honest, and has never claimed anything but his own. He came into Knox County when only a child, and here has been his home ever since. In youth, he assisted on the farm, attending school as opportunity presented. At the date of his marriage, he settled on a farm in Orange Township, remaining there until the Spring of 1866. He then rented his farm and removed to Knoxville, where he was engaged in the grocery and live stock business until 1868. He next purchased an interest in a hardware store, which claimed his attention until 1871. In 1873, he engaged in the lumber business, which he continued for nearly twenty years. At present he is dealing in real estate.
The early educational advantages of Mr. Gilbert were such as are incident to a new country. To acquire a thorough business education, he improved every opportunity presented. He attended school each winter season until the Fall of 1850, when he entered Knox Academy at Galesburg. He is a well-informed and cultivated man, and shows that he has studied the book of experience with a high purpose and a noble aim.
In politics, Mr. Gilbert is a republican, having been connected with that party from its organization. In religion, he is a Presbyterian; both he and his wife being members of that church. He was united in wedlock April 24, 1856 to Harriet T. Hebard, the daughter of Benjamin and Eliza (Clisbee) Hebard, natives of Ohio. They have but one child, a daughter, Effie, who resides with them in Knoxville. [back]
David Brainard Huggins
born in Vermont, Aug. 31, 1824. His father, David Huggins was a farmer, and his mother’s maiden name was Cynthia Bartless.
His father came from Vermont to Knox Co. in 1834, and settled in Knoxville, where he lived until his death in 1851. At the time of his arrival in Knoxville, only seven families had preceded him and were located there. In 1836, at the first Fourth-of-July celebration at Knoxville, his father superintended the dinner for the crowd. He was a kind-hearted and generous man, and aided much in the development of the town and county in which he lived. In his religious views he was a Congregationalist, and held the office of Deacon for a number of years. While living in Vermont, he was Justice of the Peace for twenty years, and served in the same capacity for several years in Knox Co.
D. B. Huggins’ boyhood was passed on the farm. His opportunities for education were limited, but he availed himself of the instruction afforded in the common school and acquired therein a good, practical, business education. He was brought up a farmer and has followed the occupation of farming and stock-raising all his life. He discontinued the business in 1892 and now is retired.
Mr. Huggins has shown himself a public spirited man. He was largely instrumental in the establishment of the street car line between Galesburg and Knoxville. He headed the subscription list with one thousand dollars, and raised most of the money required by hard personal work. Furthermore, he gave bond for ten thousand dollars, to insure its completion. The speakers, on the occasion of the opening of the road, made honorable mention of these facts, and the street car company recognized these services by placing in the hands of Mr. Huggins the first spike to be driven, plated with gold.
Mr. Huggins has shown a disposition to aid in every good cause. For many years, he has been greatly interested in the Knox County Fair. Year after year, the general superintending of the grounds was entrusted to his care—a work in which he showed great judgment and efficiency. He made also liberal contributions, as the needs of the Fair seemed to demand.
Mr. Huggins has not been a great traveler. He has visited several States, but has never been abroad. He went to California in 1855, by water, and was more than a month on his way. While there, he took charge of a City Hospital in San Jose.
As a man, Mr. Huggins is quiet and unassuming, and is free from the pride of ostentation. He has lived a harmonious life, and has always been regarded as a good neighbor and a good citizen. His kindness of heart and his deeds of charity are an index of the man, and his habits of industry and perseverance will ever commend him as a worthy citizen.
In religious faith, Mr. Huggins is a Presbyterian. Both he and his wife became members of that church in 1868, and for more than thirty years have worshipped together in that communion. Politically he is a republican, and has been a faithful worker in the party ever since its formation.
He was married Dec. 26, 1847 to Harmony Doty, daughter of Ebenezer Doty. Her father was a soldier in the War of 1812, and her brother, Edward Doty, was one of the “forty-niners”.
To Mr. and Mrs. Huggins was born, Sept. 2, 1852, one son, Frank Doty. [back]
Charles Wesley Leffingwell, DD
Rector of St. Mary’s School, Knoxville, is distinguished as an educator and an organizer. In his connection with the cause of education, he is entitled to be remembered as a benefactor of the race.
Dr. Leffingwell is a New Englander by birth, and was born Dec. 5, 1840. He is the son of Rev. Lyman and Sarah Chapman (Brown) Leffingwell, natives of Connecticut. His father was brought up on the farm, and received his education mainly in the public schools. After arriving at maturity, he was educated in the higher branches and was fitted for the ministry in the Methodist Church. After a successful ministration for many years in different parishes, he died in Knoxville, IL., in 1880, at the age of seventy-one.
The first of the family in this country was Lieutenant Thomas Leffingwell, who was a leader in the colony which settled in Norwich, Connecticut in 1635. He was very friendly with Uncas and his Mohegan followers, and once saved this tribe from their enemies, the Pequots. His grandfather was Joseph Leffingwell, who was born in Norwich, Ct.
In his youth, Dr. Leffingwell had the usual advantages of the New England public schools. He supplemented this instruction by attending Temple School at New Haven, where he was fitted to enter Yale College. He finally chose Union College at Schenectady, NY, instead of Yale, entering the sophomore class. He did not graduate here. By too close application to study, he had impaired his health, and consequently, was unable to finish his course. He came to Illinois, whither his parents had preceded him a short time before. On his arrival, he did not long remain idle, and although only seventeen years of age, he engaged in teaching near Dundee, Kane County. His next service as a teacher was in the Military Institute at Kirkwood, Missouri, where he remained one season. He then accompanied Rev. Benjamin Eaton to Galveston, Texas, with whom he remained several years. Here he taught a select school, and at the same time, held the office of Deputy City and County Surveyor. He remained at Galveston until the commencement of the Civil War, when he returned to Illinois. He then matriculated at Knox College with an advanced standing, and graduated with high honors in the class of 1862. His Alma Mater has since shown her appreciation of his scholarship and ability by conferring upon him, in 1875, the degree of Doctor of Divinity.
After graduation, he became connected with the Military Institute at Poughkeepsie, NY as Vice-Principal—Dr. C. B. Waring being Principal. During his three years’ service here, his aspirations for the Episcopal ministry seemed to shape the destiny of his future life-work. Immediately he put himself under the instruction of Rev. Dr. Traver, of Poughkeepsie, and afterwards completed his theological course in the Seminary at Nashotah, Waukesha Co, Wisconsin. He graduated in 1867, receiving the degree of Bachelor of Davinity. After his ordination by Bishop Whitehouse, he became an assistant to Rev. Dr. Rylance of St. James’ Church, Chicago, which position he held for four months. He was then elected Tutor in the Theological Seminary at Nashotah. His tutorship here was of brief duration. Before a year had passed, he was called by the Bishop of Illinois to establish a school for girls in Knoxville. It was opened on Monday of Easter week, 1868, under the title of St. Mary’s School.
This school is under Episcopal supervision and the property was given to the diocese under the condition that a boarding and day school should be maintained there for a period of five years. Under Dr. Leffingwell’s management its growth was marvelous, and within four years, it had outgrown its accommodations. A plan was adopted for the enlargement of the building, and Hon. James Knox came forward with a generous gift of ten thousand dollars. Others readily responded. The church gave four thousand, and the Rector advanced the large sum of twelve thousand five hundred dollars. Soon the building was completed and furnished with all the appurtenances which were necessary to make a successful school.
On the morning of Jan. 4, 1883, this structure, which was the pride of Knoxville and the county, with all its contents, was burned. A blackened mass of ruins marked the spot where it once stood, a thing of beauty. The Rector, undaunted, and with a spirit that did not quail in the presence of misfortune, did not wait for the dying embers to expire, but secured another building, the Ansgarius College for his school. An annex, twenty-five by one hundred feet, was built, and within a month, the school was in session again. In May 1883, the work of reconstruction commenced, and in October of the same year, St. Mary’s was completed on a greatly improved plan and larger scale and opened for work.
St. Mary’s School has a wide reputation, and is patronized by the best families far and near. The buildings and grounds are artistically arranged, and an air of neatness and taste pervades all the surroundings. As a home for young ladies, it has no superior in Knox County. It has been made what it is by that untiring worker and educator, Dr. Leffingwell. By his efforts, he has lifted it to the pinnacle of prosperity, and success. It has no ups and downs, but is always full and flourishing.
Second only to his interest in his school is his interest in “The Living Church”, a paper of which he has been editor and proprietor for more than twenty years. It has won its way to a leading position in the Episcopal Church and has a national circulation. In influence, it is second to none. Only a small portion of Dr. Leffingwell’s time, however, is spent away from his duties in St. Mary’s. His motive in conducting this enterprise has not been for financial profit, but for the work’s sake, and the good influence which might be thus exerted.
Dr. Leffingwell occupies not only a prominent position as an educator, but also in church work. From the time of the division of the Diocese of Illinois until the present, he has been President of the Standing Committee and Deputy of the General Convention of the Quincy Bishopric. During the illness of the Bishop, he has been twice elected President of the Diocesan Convention.
As a citizen, Dr. Leffingwell has lived a remarkable life. Starting in the world without means, he has acquired a competence by his industry and labor in fields of usefulness. While pursuing his studies in the theological school he supported himself and his family by organizing and teaching a select school. His personal characteristics are of the benevolent order. He is a thorough scholar, and is practical in his dealings and teachings. He is kind in disposition and agreeable to every one. A trinity of good qualities forms the basis of his character—decision, prudence, and discretion in all things.
Dr. Leffingwell was united in wedlock, June 23, 1862, to Elizabeth, daughter of John Francis. He was formerly of Kent, England, but came to this country, residing in Chautauqua County, NY.
Dr. and Mrs. Leffingwell have been the parents of seven children: Anna and Bertha, who died in infancy; Alice, deceased after graduation and marriage; Warring, Ernest, Hortense, and Gertrude, now living. [back]
John Henry Lewis
is a living example of a successful man. With a well-balanced mind, he has pursued the path that leads to fortune and to fame. He has been a prominent citizen of Knox County for many years, residing in the city of Knoxville. He is a native of the State of NY, and was born in Tompkins County, July 21, 1830.
The ancestry of Mr. Lewis reaches back to the period when the times and the events “tried men’s souls”. The name Lewis will ever be illustrious in the annals of American history. That charter of American liberty, the Declaration of Independence, was signed by Francis Lewis, from whom John H. is descended.
Francis Lewis was a native of Landaff, in the shire of Glamorgan, South Wales. He was born March 1713. His father was a clergyman, and his mother was the daughter of a clergyman, the Rev. Dr. Pettingal, who had charge of a parish in North Wales. Francis was an only child and was left an orphan when only five years old. He was left to the care of a maternal aunt, was sent to the Westminster School in London, where he soon became a thorough classical scholar. In the spring of 1735, when he was only 21 years of age, he came to New York with merchandise which he had purchased with his small fortune. His partner was Edward Annesly. Francis took a portion of the goods to Philadelphia, where he remained two years. He then returned to New York and married Elizabeth Annesly, the sister of his partner. When the Continental Congress met in Philadelphia, he was unanimously elected a member of that body, April 22, 1775, and continued to hold the office until 1779. He was an uncompromising advocate of liberty, and was one of the first to declare that the colonies could not live under the dominion of Great Britain. For the cause of freedom and the inalienable rights of the colonies, he spent his fortune and died poor at the advanced age of ninety in 1803.
Henry Lewis, the father of John, was a native of New Jersey, and was born in Sussex Co., Oct. 6, 1796. His kinsman, General Morgan Lewis, whose wife was of the noted Livingston family, was once its Governor. The wife of Henry Lewis was Permelia M. Shaver, a native of the State of New York. They were married July 8, 1826, and removed to Illinois in the fall of 1836, with their two sons, George W. and John H. The day of railroads and steam had not yet dawned, and they were compelled to make their trip in a two-horse wagon, loaded with the implements that would be of service in their new settlement. At length, after fifty-one days of extreme weariness and toil, they reached their journey’s end, Oct. 15, 1836. They settled in Ellisville, Fulton Co., where were only a few deserted wigwams. Mr. Lewis erected the first frame house in that town, and it was here that the hopes and plans of this little family were blasted by his death, Sept. 25, 1837, --within a year of his arrival. At this bereavement, the mother did not sink down in despair, but looked beyond the lowering clouds and saw a glimmering ray of hope. In a lone wilderness, without friends or home, she battled nobly to sustain herself and her children, until they should reach a period when they would be self-supporting. George, the eldest son, left his home, while yet young, and traveled in the eastern states and in Mexico, and at last settled in southern California, where he died. John H. remained with his mother, until he was eleven years of age, attending school a few months each year, and earning his own subsistence by working on the farm. Then for a period of six years, a contract for his services was made with a South Carolinian family, under the following stipulations: good clothing, three months’ schooling each year, a horse, saddle and bridle, at the close of his apprenticeship. These conditions were almost wholly neglected. For the first five years, young Lewis had had but 41 days of schooling; was poorly clad, was treated as a menial, and at meals was not allowed to sit at the same table with the family. His mother, learning of the situation, succeeded in removing him at once. He was placed for the winter in the family of William Kent, who lived near Yates City. In the spring, he was employed near by on the farm of James Kent, at seven dollars a month. In 1847 he came to Knoxville, doing chores for his board in the family of Judge R. L. Hannaman. Here he remained for two years, enjoying, at the proper season, the advantages of the common school. In 1849, he was employed in the store of G. M. Ewing, of Knoxville, at a salary of fifty dollars a year and board. The second year, his salary was raised to seventy-five dollars. The third year, he was offered one hundred and fifty dollars, but the offer was declined, that he might obtain a broader and more liberal education, and thus fit himself for the higher duties of citizenship. He was next engaged in the store of Alexander Ewing, of Knoxville, and by his trustworthiness and fidelity, he soon gained the confidence of his employer. Mr. Ewing entrusted him with a small bill of goods to sell on the road on commission. Young Lewis had neither horse nor wagon, nor money to purchase an outfit,--his only capital being less than twenty-two dollars. Of this amount twenty dollars was paid towards a horse and harness, purchased at forty dollars, and a sixty-day note for sixty dollars was given for a wagon. Thus equipped, Mr. Lewis started out on his new venture, and so successful was he, that the amount of his profits was sufficient to pay off his note before maturity. In 1852, he took a clerkship in the store of Mr. Chesney, of Abingdon, where he remained until his employer sold out in 1857.
Previous to this time Mr. Lewis had been employed in the law office of Hannaman and Hale, making out abstracts of county records. It was there that he acquired a liking and a taste for law, and in 1857, having access to the library of a prominent lawyer in Abingdon, Mr. A. J. King, he availed himself of the privilege of reading law, and soon was qualified for practice. He was licensed by the Supreme Court, Jan. 10, 1870, to practice law in all the courts of the State.
In politics Mr. Lewis is a thorough-going republican. As a member of that party, he has held many public offices, which he has always filled with marked ability. In his early years he was an abolitionist, sympathizing greatly with the colored race in their enslaved condition. He became a member of the republican party at its organization and voted for John C. Fremont, its first nominee for President. In the exciting campaign of 1860, when Lincoln was elected President, Mr. Lewis was elected to the office of Clerk of the Circuit Court of Knox County, holding the office for four years. He then took a vacation for several months, visiting friends in the Union Army. All this time, his interest in politics was unabated, and he kept himself thoroughly posted on all national affairs. In 1868 he again entered the Clerk’s office, as deputy, holding that position for six years. In 1874 he was appointed one of the Trustees of the Institution for the Education of the Blind. He resigned this office when he was elected a member of the State Legislature.
Mr. Lewis’ record in the State Legislature is highly commendable, and for his judicious acts and votes there, he has received the encomiums of his fellow citizens generally. One act of his, while member of the Legislature, is deserving especial notice. Having examined carefully into the penal institutions of the State, and believing that their management was not for the good of the criminal and the best interests of the State, he framed and introduced a preamble and resolution which was read for information, but being objected to by a single member was not allowed to be considered. It was published in the papers throughout the State and highly commended. Mr. Lewis argued that prisons, in a measure, should be reformatory; that criminals as criminals have rights which the State is bound to respect; that those bound by the ties of consanguinity and love should have a portion of the fruit of their labor. The resolution excited a great deal of comment and interest, far and near, and was probably the first introduced in this State on that subject.
In 1880, Mr. Lewis was elected to Congress by the republicans of the Ninth Congressional District of Illinois, over his democratic opponent, John S. Lee. In 1882, he was re-nominated, but defeated on account of his vote on the river and harbor bill.
Mr. Lewis is a living proof that a man is the architect of his own fortune. Poverty in his youth had no power to control his ambition or smother his aspirations. In the distance, he saw the fertile fields of promise, and through the open gateway, he was determined to enter. By his determined resolution, he hewed his way through the wilderness of doubt and uncertainty, and won for himself riches and honor. As a citizen, he is noted for his affability and urbanity of manners; for his kindness and sympathy to the unfortunate and his charity towards all. He is bound by no creed, is a member of no church, but believes in the gospel of good deeds. He belongs to the Masonic Order, having joined when quite young.
Mr. Lewis was married, Dec. 1857, to Elizabeth S. Russell. She was the daughter of R. H. and Elizabeth Russell of Abingdon, IL., who came to this State in the fall of 1837. They were Virginians by birth and left their native State on account of their hatred of the institution of slavery.
To Mr. and Mrs. Lewis were born six children, four sons and two daughters, two of whom are now living: Ira J., born Aug. 14, 1865, now married and living in Knoxville; and John, born Aug. 30, 1874, now practicing law in Galesburg. [back]
John M. Nisley
is of German descent and was born in Franklin Co, PA., Nov. 26, 1840. His father was Joseph Nisley, who was born in the same county. His mother was Mary (Schwartz) Nisley, a native also of Pennsylvania.
Joseph Nisley, the father, had the misfortune or good fortune of not inheriting riches. He was bereft of parents when only about six years of age, and was left almost alone to battle with the storms and vicissitudes of life. For a term of years, he was bound out to a cabinet-maker, which occupation he followed until he came to Knox County in the spring of 1843. He settled on a farm near the city of Knoxville, where he became a successful farmer, and where he lived the remainder of his days. He died Jan. 2, 1861.
Mary Nisley, the mother, was a kind, neighborly woman and performed the duties of the household in a wise and acceptable manner. She was the daughter of Daniel and Catharine Schwartz, both of whom were natives of Pennsylvania.
John M. Nisley was brought up on a farm and had some of the experiences and struggles of the pioneer farmer of Illinois. He relinquished this pursuit in 1873 and took up his residence in Knoxville. He received his education in the country schools and at Knoxville. He never had the advantages that the college affords; but in the public schools, he received such instruction as would thoroughly fit him for the duties and practical business of life. In education and in every sphere of life, “not how much, but how well”, has been the ruling characteristic of his mind.
From the business of a successful farmer, Mr. Nisley passed to that of a banker. In 1890, he started a private bank in Knoxville, which he has since conducted. This bank has always been regarded as a popular financial institution.
As a man and citizen, Mr. Nisley has disclosed traits of character that have made him popular. He is mild in disposition, agreeable in manner, and has an air of sincerity and honesty that draws around him many friends. He possesses sound discretion, is endowed with a good judgment, and never gets entangled or meddles with the affairs of others. He has a cool, reflecting mind, and always reaches his conclusions after mature deliberation. He is kind and charitable, and believes in helping those who will make an effort to help themselves. He is a republican in politics, but not an offensive partisan. He is liberal-minded in his religious views, and believes that the science of true living is above creed and doctrine.
Mr. Nisley was married in Newton, Kansas, to Kate C. Runkle, Dec. 19, 1889. She is a niece of Cornelius Runkle, of Knoxville. [back]
Orange Lowell Campbell
a native of Knox County and was born in Knoxville, March 7, 1852. His father was Elisha Campbell, born in Gallipolis, Ohio. His mother was Mary Amelia Lowell, a native of Maryland.
As the name indicates, Mr. Campbell’s ancestors are of Scotch descent. His great-grandfather, John Campbell, was born in Scotland and was a cousin of Thomas Campbell, the poet. His grandfather was also called John Campbell, and was a man of broad culture and an accomplished gentleman. He was a physician and poet, and during the struggle for independence, became an officer in the Revolution. He was a native of Virginia.
Mr. Campbell’s father was both a teacher and mechanic. As a sergeant, he entered his country’s service in the War of the Rebellion and was wounded in a skirmish at Fort Donelson. He was so injured as to induce a spinal disease: but by exercising the greatest care, his life was prolonged for fifteen years. At the early age of sixteen he left his Ohio home coming first to Bloomington, IL., then to St. Louis, then to Peoria, and finally to Knoxville. He resided in Knoxville for twenty-five years, and then removed to Council Bluffs, Iowa where he died.
Mr. O. L. Campbell obtained his education in the public schools of Knoxville. After receiving the customary training in the primary grammar schools, he entered the high school, from which he graduated in 1868. In his studies he was proficient. The circumstances and conditions of his boyhood opened up to him a practical view of life. When but a lad, the bent of his mind was turned towards the printer’s art. Early he entered the printing office of the Knox County Republican under the editorship and management of Z. Beatty, and served there as an apprentice almost continuously until Feb. 23, 1876, when he became editor and proprietor. For nearly a quarter of a century, the Knox County Republican has made its weekly visit in many homes and has ever regarded as an interesting and reliable publication.
Mr. Campbell is certainly a public spirited man. Self-interest, the main spring of action, has not been the all-absorbing passion of his life. The many and various offices that he has held in different organizations attest the fact that he has been a worker for the public good. He was elected City Clerk of Knoxville for eight different terms and served as Town Clerk for twenty years. In town and county he has been the Secretary of twenty-two organizations. He was a member of the Knox County agricultural Board for nineteen years, serving as Secretary during the entire period. For seventeen years, he has served with credit as Secretary of the Old Settlers’ Association. In 1892, he was one of the originators and organizers of the Farmers’ Institute, and had held the office of Secretary during the eight years of its existence. He is also one of the organizers of the Knoxville Public Library; was a member for eight years of the Board of Education; is a member of the Fraternal Life Insurance Organization, called “The Miner of Honor”; was charter member of the Home Forum, Sons of Veterans, and Modern Woodmen of America. It is but truth to say, that Mr. Campbell has performed the functions of these various offices acceptably and creditably.
Mr. Campbell’s great experience, well informed mind, and readiness to assist in public enterprises, have made him a very useful member of society. He attracts by his personal bearing, gentility of manners, and frankness of spirit. He is liberal, kind, and charitable and the golden rule of right doing and right living is his unerring guide. He is frank, open hearted, consistent, and manifests in his daily life honesty of purpose and integrity of action. In religious belief, he is a Presbyterian. In political faith, he is a conscientious, straightforward republican. Under President Harrison’s administration, he was appointed Postmaster at Knoxville, holding the office for four years. He is now Chairman of the Republican Congressional Committee of the Tenth Congressional District.
Mr. Campbell was married in Knoxville June 19, 1873 to Augusta Stowe Bull. Three children have been born to them: Sterling H., Secretary of the National Railway Specialty Company, Chicago; Charlotte W., teacher of English in St. Mary’s School, Knoxville; and Mary, who was born Oct. 9, 1893 [back]
a native of Pennsylvania, was born in Fayette County, Dec. 11, 1834. His father was Thomas Cooke, who was born in the same county April 3, 1813. He is still living very near the place of his birth, at the advanced age of 86. His occupation at first, was that of a miller; afterwards, a farmer. He was a sturdy yeoman and earned a competence for himself and family by almost unremitting toil. In 1848 he made an extensive trip through the Mississippi valley when the means of conveyance and place of entertainment were very unlike those of the present day. He passed down the Ohio River, up the Mississippi to Burlington, thence to Mt. Pleasant, Iowa, thence eastward to Macomb, Canton, Peoria, and finally to his Pennsylvania home where he has lived in retirement these many years.
His mother was Eliza Frazer, who was born in Franklin Township, PA, June 2, 1812. She was the daughter of Luke and Elizabeth Frazer, and was a most estimable woman. She died in Knox Co, IL. at the early age of 64.
The ancestry of this branch of the Cooke family in this country is not far to trace. Some of them were among the early settlers of Pennsylvania, and belonged to the Quaker fraternity. One somewhat peculiar and distinguishing characteristic ran along the succeeding generations of this family which is worthy of mention. They had a “passion” for two Biblical names—Thomas and John. Away back in early times, the family is represented by Thomas Cooke—a substantial Quaker. Then comes a John Cooke, who is followed by a Thomas, then by a John, and so on, even down to the latest generation.
John Cooke, the subject of this sketch, had no special advantages for an education beyond the common schools of his native town. He made a good use of his time and became well versed in the practical branches then taught. His school days were intermingled with his home duties and labors in a mill and on a farm. After arriving to manhood, he pursued a similar occupation, until he came to Illinois in 1868. He first engaged in farming near Knoxville, which occupation he followed for twenty-four years. In 1892, the Board of Supervisors of Knox County elected him Superintendent of the Almshouse, which position he still holds. The wisdom of this selection is shown in the air of neatness and general good management that seem to pervade every department.
As a citizen, Mr. Cooke needs no encomium. By his own exertions, he has earned his way in the world without assistance from either friends or relatives. It is by attending strictly to the duties and obligations of life that he has acquired a competence and a name for honesty and integrity. He is considerate in action and has no disposition to antagonize those with whom he comes in contact. He is not forward in opinion, but always has a reserved force in his judgments. In religion he belongs to the Christian Church, having joined in Fayette City, PA., in 1875. In politics he is a republican.
He is a member of Pacific Lodge, No 66, A. F. and A. M., and of the A. O. U. W. of Knoxville No. 126.
Mr. Cooke was married in Fayette County, PA., Oct. 2, 1856 to Martha M. Torrey. [back]
John D. McClure
is a native of Lawrence County, Illinois, where he was born Aug 13, 1854. His grandparents were John A. and Louisa (Hadden) McClure, the former born in Kentucky. His father, Thornton Scott McClure, is a Presbyterian minister at Oaktown, Indiana, and was born in that State. His mother, Lucinda (Ennons) McClure, was born in Lawrence Co, IL.
John D. McClure was educated in the common schools, and at Howe’s Academy, Mt. Pleasant, Iowa. Upon attaining his majority, he went to Fort Worth, Texas, where for several years he engaged in the grocery and general merchandise business. Owing to ill health, he disposed of his interests in Texas and in 1890, moved to Knoxville, IL. For some months he was not actively interested in business, but in 1892, having regained his health, he bought property on the square, opposite the Court House in Knoxville, where he engaged in the restaurant and confectionery business. In the pursuit of this occupation he has met with pronounced and gratifying success.
Mr. McClure was married at Fort Worth, Texas, April 21, 1881, to Edith Adelia Chapin, a daughter of Burrell N. and C. Jane (Culver) Chapin. They have one daughter, Edith Maurie. Mrs. McClure comes of distinguished Mayflower and Revolutionary ancestry, many of whom rendered conspicuous service to their country. Her grandparents were Moses Bascomb and Irenia (de Maranville) Chapin, the former a lineal descendant of Willam White, the eleventh signer of the Mayflower compact of 1620. Mrs. McClure was educated at Knox College, Galesburg.
Mr. McClure is a man of quiet, unassuming manner, whose good judgment and reliability are thoroughly appreciated by his friends and business associates.
In politics he adheres strictly to republican principles, but has never sought official recognition. In the spring of 1899, he was elected a member of the Board of Education of Knoxville. [back]
is a thrifty farmer and was born in Knox Township, on the place where he now lives, Jan. 14, 1834. John Montgomery was his father, whose occupation was that of a farmer. He was a native of Kentucky and was born in Nelson County, Oct. 27, 1801. When he was ten years of age, his parents bought a home in Indiana and lived in that State until they removed to Henderson, Illinois. They arrived in Henderson on May 10, 1830, living there and engaging in farming for a period of eighteen months. They then removed to the farm in Knox Township where Harvey Montgomery now lives.
Harvey’s mother was a Kentuckian by birth and was born in Barren County. This county takes its name from Little Barren River, which drains this section of country. The origin of the name is traceable to sparsely wooded tracts, called in the West, “Barrens”.
His parents were married in 1825, and there were born to them seven children: three boys and four girls—three of whom are still living. The following is the order of their births: Robert, Rebecca, Minerva Jane, Eliza, Harvey, Sarah S. and John W. One of the daughters became the wife of Jacob D. Gum, a familiar name in Knox Co., and another is the wife of C. N. Butt, who lives near Knoxville.
Harvey Montgomery’s grandfather, Robert, was a Pennsylvanian, and was born in Mifflin County, which took its name from Governor Mifflin. His grandmother was Rebecca Brown, a native of Pennsylvania. Harvey’s great-grandfather was killed in an Indian engagement on Pickaway Plains in the eastern part of Ohio, when the State was but a wilderness, inhabited by tribes of wandering and ferocious Indians. The name Pickaway comes from the misspelling of “Piqua”, the name of an Indian tribe, inhabiting this region.
Harvey Montgomery, during his school age, had no easy task to perform. He had to labor almost incessantly on the farm while attending school. It was a true example of pursuing “knowledge under difficulties”. Making use of what time was spared him, he attended the district school at what is known as the “Hague Schoolhouse”, and acquired there the rudiments of his education.
When his meager school-days were ended, he continued the avocation of farming, which he had pursued, more or less, during his boyhood. And during these many years of his life, his business has been farming and stock-raising. His aim is to cultivate the best of stock, which he regards as more profitable than keeping an inferior sort. His horses, his short-horns, and his sheep have been considered among the best, and he has been reckoned among our most thrifty and reliable farmers. His home farm is well situated and covers an area of 800 acres—the larger portion of which is tillable land, the smaller portion is covered with native forests. His homestead does not comprise all of his real estate. A short distance south of the city of Galesburg, he owns a farm of 160 acres; he owns another farm of 80 acres; and still another of 80 acres more. His landed possessions in all comprise 1120 acres. The land is rich and valuable.
Mr. Montgomery has no particular love for office. He seeks to do his duty as a citizen, and leaves to others the trials, troubles, bickerings, honors, and emoluments of office-seeking and office-holding. For the long period of 25 years, he had been a member of the Knox County Agricultural Board, and served for a term or two as an Assistant Supervisor. He is a member of the Old Settlers’ Association, whose meetings he never fails to attend. He wears a gold medal presented by them on which is the following inscription: “Harvey Montgomery, 1834-1898, Oldest Person Born in Knox County”.
Mr. Montgomery has no church affiliations, but believes it to be a religious duty to live an upright and moral life. He has no sympathy with cant for fustian, whether practiced by Christian or infidel. He has lived a plain, unaffected life, and is regarded by the community as an estimable and worthy citizen. He is guided by moral principle, kind and affectionate, and he bestows his charities where his sound discretion and judgment dictate. Politically, he has always been a stanch democrat, with unswerving faith in Jeffersonian principles. He is not radical, and is ever willing to listen to the views of his opponents.
Mr. Montgomery was married in Henderson Township, Nov. 15, 1864, to Louisa Maxwell. She was born in Henderson Township, Feb. 28, 1842, and was the daughter of Harvey and Sarah Maxwell. Her father came to Knox Co. in 1829 and located near Henderson Grove.
To Mr. and Mrs. Montgomery were born three children: Sarah J., born Nov. 18, 1865; John, born Dec. 2, 1866; and Henry, born Nov. 22, 1870.
Sarah J. married John G. Hayes, and has one child Harry M. They live in Galesburg Township. John married Grace Dunlap, and to them has been born one child, Marie. They lived in Knox Township. Harry married Mary Bowers. They have one child, Jennie, and live in Knox Township. [back]
Allen Moore Parmenter
is a native of Knoxville, Illinois, and was born Dec. 21, 1846. He is the son of Theophilus Talcott and Roxanna (Warren) Parmenter, who were an industrious couple, and scrupulous in the moral training of their children. His father was an exemplary man, honest and upright in all his dealings. He was born near Greenfield, Franklin Co, MA. in 1809. His mother died when he was only seven years old, leaving a family of three boys, of which he was the oldest. He was bound for a term of years to his uncle, who resided near Hartford, CT, to learn the tanner’s trade.
He was married in Pepperell, MA., where for a short time he made his home. He then moved to Albion, Erie Co, PA. and after remaining there a few years, started for Knoxville, Illinois. His conveyance was the usual emigrant wagon drawn by a span of horses, which he drove the entire distance, reaching Knoxville in 1837. His business was that of a boot and shoe merchant. Here he lived the remainder of his days, and died March 20, 1897, in his 87th year.
Mr. Parmenter’s mother was a native of Massachusetts, born in Pepperell, June 17, 1810. She was a spirited woman, domestic in her family relations, and was proud of her ancestry. One of her ancestors, John Farrer, was one of the Pilgrims of the Mayflower. She lived to an advanced age, universally respected, and died in Knoxville March 13, 1894.
Allen M. Parmenter is, in a great measure, a self-educated man. The rudiments of his education were obtained in the Public Schools of Knoxville. This instruction was supplemented by attending night-schools, when he was working at his trade in Peoria. Although his opportunities for education were limited, yet by his reading and his intercourse with the world, he has become well posted for the duties and practical business of life. He first learned the tinner’s trade of Thomas C. Moore, who was appointed Assessor, of what was then the Fifth District of Illinois, by President Lincoln. He next went to Boston and was employed for five months by the Eastern Railroad Company. He then was engaged by the Boston Stamping and Manufacturing Company, where he worked for three years. He next served for a period of three years, at Troy, New York, as a tinner for Tibbits and Butler.
While here he was engaged by J. B. Wilkerson to build perfect working models of the different makes of cook stoves, manufactured in Troy and Albany, some of the models costing thirty dollars each. He then returned to Knoxville, the home of his childhood. He first engaged in the boot and shoe business with his father and continued therein until 1874. Then he launched into the hardware business, connecting there with the sale of carriages and farm implements, which is his present occupation. His first bill of hardware amounted to eight dollars and fifty cents, for which R. A. Culter of Peoria, went security.
Mr. Parmenter, by his probity and honesty of purpose, has earned the respect and good-will of his fellow citizens. He is Chairman of Knox Township Republican Committee; has served nine years as Alderman of the City of Knoxville; has been elected twice to the office of mayor, his last election being without a dissenting vote. His second term of office is not yet completed and he is still working for the general good of his native city. He was instrumental in establishing St. Albans—a school which is looked upon by every Knoxvillian with pleasure and pride. The street-car line between Galesburg and Knoxville received his hearty commendation and support.
Mr. Parmenter has confined his travels to the United States and Canada. He has journeyed eastward several times, over different routes, and has learned much of the physical features and development of the Eastern States and the States of the Mississippi Valley. He was once a member of the Methodist Church and for seven years was Superintendent of the Sabbath School. At present he is connected with the Presbyterians, having joined that organization about fifteen years ago. Politically he is an unswerving republican and a firm adherent of this party’s principles and policies.
Mr. Parmenter is connected with the following societies: Knoxville Lodge, No. 66, Royal Arch Masons; Illinois Council, No. 1, serving as its present Secretary; Raboni Chapter, No. 95; the Order of Redmen; A.O.U.W.; Select Knights of America, being the present Chancellor Commander of the same; member of the Knights of Pythias; Venerable Council of Modern Woodmen of America; member of Miner of Honor.
Mr. Parmenter is a working man. He discharges his public and private duties with zeal and discretion. He is known for his honesty of purpose, his uprightness in action, and for his adherence to principle. He is not fastidious but frank and open-hearted. He is entertaining in conversation and his apparent brusqueness of manner is more pleasing than otherwise.
Mr. Parmenter was married in Knoxville, IL., Dec. 25, 1872, to Catharine Elizabeth Rosenberg, a daughter of Henry Rosenberg, a native of Pennsylvania, and a practicing physician at Knoxville for many years.
Mr. and Mrs. Parmenter have had four children: Willie R., born Sept 23, 1874, died Dec. 25, 1880; J. Harvey, born June 7, 1876, died June 14, 1881; Henry A., born Aug. 8, 1882, a graduate of the High School at Knoxville, an excellent performer on the piano, now clerking in his father’s store; Maurice, born Feb. 16, 1884, at present a member of the High School at Knoxville. [back]
Arthur Hamilton Noyes
son of George S. and Mary S. (Murdock) Noyes, was born in Boston, MA, June 23, 1867.
His father was a clergyman, and for ten years officiated at the Seaman’s Bethel in Boston, as the successor of that remarkable man, Father Taylor. He had a fine presence and was extensively known for his ability and eloquence.
The Noyes family reaches back to an early period in the history of this country. Nicholas and the Rev. James Noyes came from England in 1834 and settled in Newbury, MA, the following year. This family is represented in many departments of American history. The name appears in the Continental Congress of 1774-75, in the Revolutionary struggle and other wars, and lastly, in the War of the Rebellion. A large number of the men were clergymen and army officers, and one became Speaker of the House of Representatives.
Arthur H. Noyes had superior educational advantages. He first received instruction in the public schools of Nahant, MA. Afterwards, he entered, for a short time, Boston University, and lastly, matriculated at Trinity College in Hartford, CT. From Trinity, he graduated with high honors, receiving the degree of Bachelor of Arts.
In childhood, young Noyes was blessed with good surroundings and an ideal home. His parents were intelligent, and gave him that moral and religious instruction, which guided his footsteps in after years. The seeds of his manhood were sown at the paternal hearth. Early he disclosed a fondness for reading and study, and a strong desire for education was manifest.
Before completing his course and during the intervals of college work, he engaged in teaching at the early age of seventeen. He also did some newspaper work and engaged in other occupations for his support. He graduated in 1889, and came to Knoxville in 1890.
President Noyes first entered St. Albans Academy as Master in Greek and Latin in 1890. He was promoted to be head master in 1892. In 1894, he leased the school, acting at the same time as its Superintendent. When the institution was incorporated in 1896, he became its President. Under his management, St. Albans has acquired a good reputation for thoroughness of instruction. It is doubtful whether any western school of a similar grade can make a better showing. Her graduates have attained a uniformly high standing.
President Noyes, in his early years, lived in a country of the best schools and colleges. He was surrounded with classic literature and had the companionship of educated men. He embraced all his opportunities for learning and has become a thorough scholar. He is not forward in his address, but rather retiring. He dislikes large social functions, and never courts popularity.
His dignity of manhood is such that he makes friends that are lasting. He is kind and affable, and is endowed with warm feelings and generous sympathies. He is thoroughly conversant with the duties of his profession, and is not unmindful of home duties, or the duties of citizenship.
Societies, religious or political, secret or social, have but little attraction for him. While in college, he was a member of only two fraternities: I.K.A. and O.A.X. By virtue of his position as head of St. Albans, he holds a commission as Colonel in the Illinois National Guard.
In religious faith, he is connected with the Episcopal Church. At present, he is Junior Warden of St. John’s Parish, Knoxville.
He was married June 6, 1892, to Eunice Alice Phelps, daughter of Judge Charles H. Phelps, of Burlington, Iowa, niece of Hon. E. J. Phelps, late minister to England.
They have had born to them three children: Dorothy Louise; Arthur Phelps, deceased; and Virginia Murdock. [back]
is one of the few survivors of the pioneers of Knoxville and Knox County. He has watched the growth of city and town, and has marked the onward march of civilization. The venerable man, who is now in his ninetieth year, has been a co-worker here with others for nearly two generations, and has borne a conspicuous part in every good work and improvement.
Mr. Runkle was born in Watervliet, Albany Co, NY, Jan. 19, 1810. His father, John Runkle, and his mother, Helen Van Wert, were natives of the same State, though of Holland descent. Mr. Runkle was left fatherless when only three years old; but he had the tender care of a loving mother until he reached the age of fifteen, when she died, leaving a family of four sons and two daughters. The children remained at the old homestead, until Aug. 1833 when the two elder brothers, John and Henry, came to Illinois. John settled at Hanna City, Peoria County, and resided there until his death at a very advanced age. Henry located at Knoxville.
Cornelius started westward in August 1834, seeking his fortune and a home in this almost unexplored region. He reached Knoxville in 1834, and engaged in the mercantile business with his brother for a year and a half. He then went to Mt. Pleasant, Henry Co, Iowa, where he was engaged in trade until 1847. He then returned to Knoxville, accepting a clerkship for his brother, until he was elected Sheriff in 1854. He held this office for two years, and then engaged in the banking business with his brother under the firm name of Runkle and Company. This co-partnership lasted for eight years, when a National bank was established, which led eventually to the founding of the First National Bank of Knoxville, with Cornelius Runkle as its President.
Mr. Runkle conducted the affairs of the bank as its chief head until January 1885, when he resigned that position to a younger man. In all his business relations as a banker, Mr. Runkle showed a marked ability and a peculiar fitness for his vocation. He exhibited a keen financial sagacity and a gentleness of manners towards his customers that was observable by everyone. His probity, genial character, and unswerving honesty won for him friends and fame.
As a banker, Mr. Runkle had one experience which shocked the community far and near. It happened on the night of Feb. 6, 1880, and is told in the following language: “His private sleeping room was in his bank building. After he had retired and gone to sleep, he was awakened by three men in his room. They blindfolded and gagged him, after which they took him to the safe and ordered him to unlock it. Not having the combination, he could not do so, and he says that he would not, even if he had known the combination. In order to compel him to acquiesce in their demands, they hung him up by the neck, then let him down; he still refused. Then they laid him in bed, drew his feet over the footboard, and held the lamp underneath them, burning and torturing him in a most fearful manner. They left about three o’clock in the morning; but before going, they tied Mr. Runkle securely in bed, as they thought; but he succeeded after a couple of hours in releasing himself, and when he went to breakfast, he gave the alarm. The thieves, however, secured three thousand five hundred dollars, which they found in a small, old-fashioned safe, the key of which was in Mr. Runkle’s pocket. It was about two months before he fully recovered from the shock to his system, and the effects of the burning. The thieves were never caught.”
What courage, what purpose Mr. Runkle displayed in an hour like this. What thoughts, what emotions must have disturbed the usual quietude of his being. Threats may intimidate, but they had no power to destroy his manhood. Torture also was powerless. As a citizen, Mr. Runkle has always shown the same manly character. Firm in the principles of justice and right, kind in disposition, benevolent in his sympathies, and full of charity and good deeds, he has lived a long life above reproach.
In politics, Mr. Runkle in early years was a whig. Afterwards he became affiliated with the republican party. He has never been a politician, but has exercised the right of suffrage as his conscience dictated. He is not a member of any church, but has contributed largely to the support of the Christian religion.
Mr. Runkle never married. [back]
Francis Granger Sanburn
was born in Knoxville, Illinois, Oct. 4, 1843. His father was John Goold Sanburn, and his mother’s maiden name, Althea Owen.
The genealogy of the Sanburn family reaches back to Lieutenant John Sanburn, who was born in 1620. The next in the line of descent was Nathaniel Sanburn, who was born in 1666. The third generation reaches Jedediah Sanburn, Francis’ great-grandfather, who was born in 1757. He was one of the patriots of the Revolution, and was on the Lexington “Alarm List”, living at Wethersfield, Connecticut. In the fifth generation is found the name of John Goold Sanburn, the father of Francis Granger Sanburn.
John Goold Sanburn was a distinguished man, intellectually, and morally. To his name is linked much of the early history of Knox County. He was born in Canandaigua, New York, March 13, 1797—the home of Francis Granger, Postmaster-General under the first Harrison and the namesake of his son. His parents were New Englanders, and were thoroughly schooled in industry and economy among the rugged, barren hills of their nativity. They were among the earliest pioneers of western New York, then the home of the savage Indians and wild buffalo. The spirit of enterprise was in the son, and in the autumn of 1817, he came to Ohio, where he spent the winter in teaching school. In the spring of 1818, he embarked in a skiff at Pittsburg with his brother and three other young men, and sailed down the Ohio River, landing at a point opposite St. Louis. He then, with his companions, made his way on foot to that city. He then went to St. Charles, Missouri, where he spent the summer in teaching. The following winter, he returned to Canadaigua, making almost the entire journey on foot. His diary kept on this journey is in the possession of his children and is highly prized. It shows his spirit, enterprise, and sturdy endurance. After spending two or three years in western New York, he again returned west, locating at Vandalia, then the capital of Illinois. He remained here until 1830, when he again visited his native home, making the journey both ways on horseback.
About this time, the Military Tract was attracting great attention on account of the fertility of its soil and other natural advantages. Mr. Sanburn saw here an opportunity, and in 1830, opened a store in Henderson Grove. In this year, the new County of Knox was organized. At the same time Knoxville became the county seat. Mr. Sanburn, by reason of his general intelligence and accurate business habits, held nearly all the important offices. He was Clerk of the Circuit Court, Clerk of the County Court, Recorder, Probate Judge, and Postmaster.
Mr. Sanburn was married in 1831 to Althea Owen, a native of western New York. At an early age she came to Ohio, thence to Knox County, IL. To them were born six children, four sons and two daughters.
At the time of his death, Mr. Sanburn was Assistant Assessor of Internal Revenue of Knox County. He also held other minor offices, such as City Clerk and trustee of both Knox and Ewing University.
As a man, Mr. Sanburn was a kind, well educated, well informed, and a pleasing conversationalist. He was positive in his political preferences, was formerly a whig, but later a republican. He was patriotic and loyal, and during the Civil War, was a strong advocate of freedom and union. In religion he was an Episcopalian, but with his wife, attended the Presbyterian Church.
Mr. Sanburn died April 14, 1865, the day President Lincoln was assassinated. Mrs. Sanburn died at the old home in Knoxville, Jan. 30, 1883.
Francis G. Sanburn was fortunate in his birth. He belonged to a family of lofty aims and of great moral worth. He was the fifth of seven children, and was taught in boyhood the high moral lessons that blossomed into the fruit of a true manly life. In childhood, he received much instruction from loving parents, and in mature years, he had the advantages of the common school, and of higher institutions of learning. Early, he became well fitted to enter upon the active duties and business of life. Like many a young man, he went westward, spending a summer in Kansas. He soon, however, returned to his native State, and was next engaged for two years as Deputy Postmaster, under the late Z. Beatty. In 1872 he went to Topeka, Kansas, and was employed there but a short time. He next found employment in the firm of Phillips Brothers at Galesburg. He soon resigned this position and accepted the offer of a clerkship in the Farmers’ National Bank in Knoxville, which was more to his taste and liking. With this bank, he remained until his death, serving for several of the last years of his life as its President.
The esteem in which Mr. Sanburn is held is marked. His friends and fellow citizens had perfect confidence in his integrity and ability, and had no misgivings in placing him in positions of honor and trust. He was retiring, and had no hankering after office; and yet, he served his native City two terms as City Clerk, five or six terms as City Treasurer, and two terms as a member of the Board of Education.
A graphic representation of his early life may be obtained from the following sketch, written by his sister, Althea O. Sanburn.
“His early childhood was passed in the modest home of his parents. He engaged with keen interest in the amusements of boyhood life, but was equally ready and willing to bear his share in the tasks and duties of home life suited to his years. He early showed mechanical tastes, and delighted younger children of the neighborhood by his constructive genius. Numerous water-wheels, windmills, fishing seines, and, finally, a miniature railroad on which the boys and girls were delighted to ride, though in a rude box car, were some of the results of his recreation hours up to his thirteenth year. His love for flowers was very marked, and he never failed to find the first spring blossoms before others suspected their arrival. While a mere boy, he became quite an expert in budding and grafting choice varieties of roses, which were his favorites. As a child, his mind was quick and active, and his reasoning powers good. In school he was a diligent pupil and a general favorite with his teachers”.
Mr. Sanburn had no striking characteristics. He was admired for his equanimity of temper, his gentleness of manner, and his uprightness of character. He was not given to frivolity, but was always sedate and thoughtful in his bearing. He was kind to the unthankful, full of charity for the unfortunate, and merciful in speech and act. He lived a life above reproach, and had the reward that comes through industry, strict integrity, and Christian oblication.
Mr. Sanburn’s religious faith was Presbyterian. In early manhood, he joined that church, and was an elder therein for about five years. He was not a partisan or a politician, but was a firm adherent to principle. He was a republican, and cast his first vote for Abraham Lincoln for President.
Mr. Sanburn was married Aug. 1, 1878 to Mary H. McCracken, who was born in Worthington, Ohio, and died in Knoxville, Feb. 7, 1881. When a child, her parents removed to Knoxville. She graduated from St. Mary’s in 1871. After graduation and until two years after her marriage, she taught painting in oil, Latin, French, and the sciences in her Alma Mater.
To Mr. and Mrs. Sanburn was born one daughter, Mary Louise. [back]
John F. Bannon
General Merchant; East Galesburg, Knox Township; born in Lowville, Lewis County, New York, September 10,. 1866; received an academic education in Lewis County, New York. His father, Patrick Bannon, was born in Ireland; his mother, Julia Carroll, was born in Lewis County, New York. December 13, 1893, Mr. Bannon was married in Altona, Knox County, Illinois, to Lottie E. Pierce; they have two sons, Raymond C., and Harold M. Mrs. Bannon's father, Mathew Pierce, was born in Lewis County, New York in 1832. He was educated in the common schools and was by occupation a farmer. He was still a young man when he came to this State and county. He was twice married, first to Mary Hobbs, who died in 1861. They had three children: Charles, Ella and Mary. Mr. Pierce's second wife was Amelia (Mix), formerly of Dutchess County, New York. They had five children: Delbert, who died in his eighteenth year; Lottie E., William E., Lorenzo; and Park A. Mr. Bannon was one of seven children: James Patrick, Edward, John F., Jennie, Nettie, and Florence. Mr. Bannon's father died June 08, 1866; his mother is still living . Mr. Bannon is a member of the I. O. O. F., Veritas Lodge, No. 478, Galesburg, Illinois, Hazle Lodge, No 378, Knights of Pythias, East Galesburg; East Galesburg Camp, No 2435, Modern Woodsman of America; and of Fraternal Tribunes of East Galesburg, No 17. He is a democrat in politics. [back]
Knoxville; Physician; born in Clarksville, Tennessee, Oct. 15,1864; educated in Galesburg, IL. His father, Lother Becker, was born in Germany; his mother, Mary (Smith) in Vermont. His maternal grandparents, Loren and Eliza (Bemis) Smith, were natives of Vermont. Dr. Becker studied medicine one year at Michigan University, Ann Arbor, and graduated from the Chicago Medical College in 1888. He has had a successful practice at Knoxville. He is a member of the Presbyterian Church. In politics he is a republican.
Oct. 11, 1888 Dr. Becker married Addie H. Rearick in Galesburg; they have three children: Harry F., F. Marjorie, and L. Dunster. [back]
Farmer; Knoxville; first husband of Mrs. Hannah Patterson; born July 9, 1834 in England, where he received his education.
Feb. 16, 1859, in Knox Township, he was married to Hannah A. Rewland. Their three children now living are: George T., Charles J., and Emily M.
George T. married Melinda Patterson, of Warren Co. Emily M. married Bert C. Allen; they have two children: Mary A. and Clyde F. Charles J. married Rosa B. Sharp; they have six children: C. Edward, William C., George G., Emily E., Sarah F., and Samuel C.
Mr. Borrell was a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. In politics he was independent. He died Aug. 19, 1881. [back]
Knoxville; Cooper; born Sept. 9, 1842, in Altheim, Germany, and educated in that country.
June 29, 1864, in Knoxville, he was married to Barbara C. Reker, daughter of Christian G. and Wilhelmina (Birch) Reker. Mrs. Buck’s parents were born in Germany, her father in 1798. They had nine children: William, Christian, August, Gottleib, Frederick, Marie, Barbara C., Sophia, and Caroline. His parents are dead.
Mr. and Mrs. Frank Buck had four children: William M., John A., Nellie J., and Frank C.
Mrs. Buck is a member of the Christian Church. Mr. Buck was a democrat in politics. He died Sept. 9, 1894. [back]
Robert Rolland Buckley
Retired Farmer; Knox Township; born in Yates Co., N.Y., Feb. 26, 1827; educated in the district schools of Illinois. His parents, John and Nancy (Ambree) Buckley, were born in New York, the former in Yates, the latter in Saratoga County. His paternal grandmother, Mary (Botsford), was a native of Mohawk Valley, as were also his maternal grandparents, Rolland and Ann (Van Amburgh) Embree. His paternal grandfather, Robert Buckley, was born in CT.
Mr. R.R. Buckley has been married three times. His first wife was Mary M. Carter, whom he married in Tazewell Co., IL. His second wife was Alvira Charles, whom he married in Knoxville in April 1883. They had one son, Rolland C. His third wife was Hannah E. Miles, daughter of Hon. Rufus Miles, of Persifer Township, whom he married at Galesburg, April 19, 1892. They had two children: Mary A. and John Miles. Mr. Buckley attends the Presbyterian Church. He is a republican. [back]
Charles N. Butt
Farmer, Knox Township; born in Champaign Co., OH, March 10, 1833; educated in one of the log school houses of Knox County. His parents, Thomas D. and Sarah (Williams) Butt, were born in Greenbrier County, West Virginia. His paternal grandparents, Archibald and Sarah (Norris) Butt, and his maternal grandparents, John and Martha (Knight) Williams, were natives of Virginia. Archibald Butt was Drum Major in the War of 1812, and while on a retreat was wounded in the shoulder by a shot through his drum.
December 31, 1857, Mr. Butt was married to Sarah S. Montgomery in Knox County. They have one child, Harvey J., who is cashier in the Farmers’ National Bank of Knoxville. Harvey J. was married to Sarah McCracken. They have one daughter, Dorris.
Mr. Butt’s brother, George W., and several of his cousins were soldiers in the War of the Rebellion. In religion, Mr. Butt is a nominal Protestant. In politics, he is a democrat. [back]
John Z. Carns
President of the Farmers’ National Bank, Knoxville; was born in Knoxville Sept. 8, 1858. He was educated at Knox College, Galesburg, IL. His father, John W. Carns, was born in Virginia, and his mother, Sarah (Zook) Carns was born in Pennsylvania.
Mr. J. Z. Carns was married in Knoxville, IL. Sept 10, 1890 to Nellie Pierce. They have one child, Marie L.
Mr. Carns entered the Farmers’ National Bank as Assistant Cashier in 1885, in 1887 was made Cashier, and in the spring of 1899, he was elected President. In politics Mr. Carns is a republican. [back]
Cyrus N. Carson
Knoxville, Dry Goods Merchant; born in Pennsylvania, March 13, 1846; educated in Pennsylvania public schools. Mr. Carson’s parents, John B. Carson and Elizabeth (Shaffer), were natives of Pennsylvania, as were his maternal grandparents, Daniel and Katherine (Eichelberger) Shaffer.
March 19, 1873, Mr. Carson was married to Ruth E. Baily in Knoxville; they have four children: R. Baily, Elizabeth M., Ruth E., and Margaret H.
Mr. Carson is a member of Knoxville Lodge, No 66, A. F. and A. M.; also of Rabona Chapter, No 95, R. A. M., and of Illinois Council, No. 1, of Knoxville, R. P. S. M. In politics he is a democrat. [back]
Knoxville; farmer and fruit grower; born Oct. 30, 1843 in Washington Co, IN., where he was educated in the district schools. His father, Samuel Caulkins was born in Washington Co., IN., and his mother, Sarah A. (Stewart), was born in Ohio. His paternal grandparents, Joel and Desire (Barnard) Caulkins were natives of Onondaga Co, N.Y. Joel Caulkins was born in 1782 and served in the war of 1812. He died in May 1879; his wife died in 1858. William Caulkins’ maternal grandfather was James Stewart.
Mr. Caulkins’ first wife was Mary Ward, whom he married Oct. 10, 1868. They had ten children: Lewella, Mary, Cora, Olive Z., Delmer, William F., Charles W., Frederick, Lurissa, and Cornelius R. Lewella married William Weikert of Orange Township. They have one son, Earl. Mary married Albert Weikert, of Knoxville. They have one daughter, Porthia. Mary died April 7, 1898. Cora married Rev. F. M. Campbell; they have a baby boy. Olive Z. married John Youngquist; they have a son and daughter, Stirling and Cecil. W. Frank married Gertrude Stokes.
Dec. 31, 1898, Mr. Caulkins married his second wife, Mrs. Mary Briggs Runyan, in Peoria; she had seven children by her first marriage: Leslie, Nellie, Flora, Edgar, Myron, Verne, and Harold. Mr. Runyan died July 4, 1893.
In religion Mr. Caulkins is a Free Methodist. In politics he is a republican. He is a member of G. W. Trafton Post of Knoxville, No 229, Grand Army of the Republic, Department of Illinois. The ancestry of the family is Scotch, Dutch, and English. [back]
Burrell N. Chapin
Retired Farmer; Knoxville; born Aug. 4, 1834 at Lewiston, IL.; educated in the common schools at Farmington and Canton, IL. His father, Moses Bascom Chapin, was born in MA., Sept. 21, 1805; his mother, Irenia De Maranville, was born June 12, 1808 in Grafton, N. H., where she is still living.
Mr. Chapin is of a Mayflower and Revolutionary ancestry, his paternal ancestors, with but one exception, having fought for their country, either against the Indians or foreign foe. He is a lineal descendant of William White, the eleventh signer of the Mayflower compact of 1620. His paternal great-grandparents were Captain Caleb and Rebecca (Bascomb) Chapin, the former born July 1836, at Barnardston, MA. His maternal great-grandparents were Charles De Maranville of Freetown, MA, and Deborah (Lombard) De Maranville; his paternal grandparents were Consider Chapin, born Aug 26, 1766, in Deerfield Township, MA, and Esther (Wallace) Chapin; his maternal grandparents were Jabez and Comfort (Buffum) De Maranville, the latter born Mar 15, 1782. Consider and Caleb Chapin served during the Revolution; the former was in Shay’s Rebellion and the latter in the Battle of Lake Erie.
Mr. B. N. Chapin was married Sept. 22, 1857 near Farmington, IL., to C. Jane Culver. Three of their four children are now living: Mrs. Edith Adelia McClure, of Knoxville; Mrs. Eva J. Maple of Maguon; and Ora Eugene Chapin, lawyer, of Chicago. Ora Chapin is a graduate of Knox College (1888) and of the Chicago Law School. He has a large and lucrative practice, and has held important offices in Cook County, including those of Deputy Sheriff, Deputy County Clerk and Clerk of the Cook County Courts.
Mrs. Chapin is also of distinguished ancestry, among them being William White of Mayflower fame. She is related to Peter Craps and Silas Kirby, who were Revolutionary patriots. Her paternal grandfather, Joseph Culver, served under Washington at Valley Forge, and was at the surrender of Burgoyne. He was one of six men who carried the wounded General Arnold on a litter from the battlefield at Saratoga to Albany, New York. Mrs. Chapin and her two daughters are members of the Daughters of the American Revolution. [back]
Capt. George A. Charles
was for many years one of the most prominent and influential men in Knox County. Though politically a democrat, he was for many years elected Supervisor in an anti-slavery stronghold, and was the chosen leader of the Knoxville party during the whole period of the county seat war.
He was born in Erie Co., N.Y., Dec. 25, 1810, the son of Captain John Charles, a sailor upon the inland seas, who was born in Pennsylvania Oct. 17, 1782, and Eunice Gates, born June 16, 1788 in New York. Captain John Charles came west in 1830 with his family, and located on Section 28 of what is now Knox Township. For a year they occupied an abandoned log cabin, found in the vicinity, then they moved into a hewed log house built by themselves.
Here Captain George A. Charles lived until his marriage to Pomelia Gardner, when he located a claim on Section 22 in the same township. His wife dying after the birth of her first child, Rosalia, who became Mrs. J. F. Earl of Mason City, IL, he was again married, Dec. 5, 1843, to Doolinsky Post, daughter of Ezra and Patty (Pratt) Post. By this marriage he had four children: Alvira, Alanson G., Albion P., and Harley J.
Until 1870 he lived on his farm. Then he removed to Knoxville, purchasing a residence on East Main Street, where he lived until his death, Nov. 5, 1878.
Captain Charles was County Surveyor for four years, and Supervisor of Knox Township for thirteen years. Coming to Knox County with almost nothing, through his sound judgment and shrewd financial ability he was able to achieve pronounced success. He was thoroughly honest and upright, and made hosts of warm friends. [back]
James H. Conner
Knoxville; Retired Farmer; born in Franklin Co, OH., Aug. 29, 1841; educated in the common schools. His parents were Benjamin T. and Ellen L. (Stephenson) Conner. The latter was a native of Ohio. His ancestry was Dutch, German, Irish, French, and English.
Mr. Conner came to Knox County in 1843. Aug. 27, 1862 he enlisted in Company F. Eight-sixth Illinois Volunteers, and was honorably discharged June 6, 1865.
March 22, 1866, in Gilson, he was married to Esther Rambo, daughter of Allen T. and Elizabeth (Shelton) Rambo. Mr. Rambo was a native of Indiana, and was a gunsmith by trade. Mr. and Mrs. Rambo had eleven children: Julius R., John S., Esther, Tabitha, Marian, Reuben, Nancy K., Francis M., Thomas B., Judson, and an infant daughter. Mr. Rambo died in April 1894, his wife April 3, 1891.
Mr. and Mrs. Conner have had eight children: Laura E., Dora E., Ida M., Lurena E., J. Herbert, B. Franklin, L. Gertrude, and Bessie B. B. Franklin died in his fifth year. Laura E. married Lincoln Swigart; they have two children: Harry and Charles. Dora E. married John Wasson; they have one son, Franklin D.
Mr. Conner is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. In politics he is a republican. [back]
Knoxville; Superintendent of Knox County Alms House; born in Fayette County, Pennsylvania, December 11, 1834; educated in the district schools and academy. His parents, Thomas and Eliza A. (Frasher) Cooke; his paternal grandparents, John and Rachel (Murphy) Cooke, and his paternal great-grand-parents, Thomas and Elizabeth (Cope) Cooke, were from Pennsylvania. His maternal grandparents, Luke and Elizabeth (Henry) Frasher, were from New England. September 2, 1856, Mr. Cooke was married in Pennsylvania to Martha M. Forrey. He is a member of the Christian Church. In politics, he is a republican, and has for eight years been Superintendent of the Knox County Alms House. He is a member of Pacific Lodge, No. 66, A. F. and A. M., and of the A.O.U.W. of Knoxville, No. 126. [tr. by K.T.] [back]
George W Cronoble
Farmer; Knox Township; born in Center Co, PA., Aug. 22, 1840; educated in Ohio. His parents, Jacob and Elizabeth (Houseman) Cronoble, and his paternal grandfather, Adam Cronoble, were natives of Pennsylvania. The ancestry of the family is German.
Mr. Cronoble was married to Sarah L. Elkins July 9, 1865, in Kentucky. They have six children: William H., Oscar C., Jennie M., John A., G. Edward and Artie B. William H. is a farmer, and married Susie Mooney; they have three children: Bernice, Russell, and Gale. Jennie M. married Charles H. Taylor.
Aug. 2, 1862, Mr. Cronoble enlisted in Company F, Eighty-third Regiment Illinois Volunteers, and was honorably discharged June 26, 1865. He is a member of G. W. Trafton Post, No. 239, of Knoxville, Grand Army of the Republic, Department of Illinois.
In religion Mr. Cronoble belongs to the United Brethren. In politics he is a republican. [back]
Allen T. Evans
Farmer; Knox Township; born in Knox Township August 27, 1846; educated in the common schools. The ancestry of the family was Welsh, French, German, and Scotch. Mr. Evans' Father, Willfard Evans, was a native of Virginia, while his mother, Eleanor Rambo was born in Ohio. His paternal grandparents, John and Nancy Hathorn Evans, were born in Virginia, while his maternal grandparents, were natives of Ohio, as was also Mrs. Reuben Rambo's father, Abram Haptonstall, who was a soldier in the Revolutionary War. August 27, 1868, Mr. Evans was married in Persifer Township to Anna E. Calwell. They have one son, Dellfard C. Dellfard C. married Mary McCrea of Knox Township; they have one son, Ray E. Mrs. Evans' father, Oliver Calwell, was a farmer, and was born in Pennsylvania December 17, 1820, where he was educated in the common schools. Mr. Calwell was married to Desire S. Manley, of Persifer Township. They had four children; Mehitabel S.; Annie E; Olive C.; and Oliver A. who died at an early age. Mr. Calwell died April 18, 1860; his widow died march 10, 1896. The ancestors of the Manley's were in the War of 1812. In Politics, Mr. Evans is a republican. [back]
(deceased): Knoxville; Farmer; Born March 27, 1814, in Virginia. His parents were John Evans, born in Virginia, and Nancy Hathorn. November 17, 1845, Wilfred Evans was married to Eleanor Rambo in Knoxville; they had eight children; Allen T.; Nancy M., deceased; Alice A.,; Almeria E., deceased; Sarah C., deceased; Emma S.; Ida A., deceased; and Luella. Mrs.. Eleanor Evans father, Reuben Rambo, was born in Virginia and was well educated. He married Charity Haptonstall, in Greenbrier County, Virginia. They had nine children: Allen T.; Sarah and Rachel, Twins; Abram; Margaret, Eleanor; Malinda; Mary A; and Fannie M. The parents are deceased. In politics, Mr. Evans was a republican. [back]
David H. Funk
Contractor and Builder; Knoxville; born in Pennsylvania, April 23, 1854. His parents, John and Mary A. Moyer Funk, were married in Pennsylvania, September 11, 1849. They had eight children: Sara E., David H., Louis Calvin, Melinda H., Molly J., Emma, Fannie L., and Ida R., ; Mary A died in 1868, and John in 1891. David H. Funk was educated in Pennsylvania. He married Georgia E. Missen in Peoria, April 22, 1883. There were five children: Harry W., who died in his first year; Jessie M.; E. Lillian; G. Doris; and Mable F. Mr. Funk is a Presbyterian. [back]
Knoxville; Restaurant; born Aug. 15, 1869 in Orange Township; educated in the Knoxville High School. His father, Simon Haner, was born in Pennsylvania March 30, 1825; his mother, Lucy A. (Cooll), was born near Gettysburg; his paternal and his maternal grandfathers, Jacob Haner and Peter Cooll, were natives of Pennsylvania. His maternal grandmother was Anna (Lawver). Simon and Lucy A. (Cooll) Haner had ten children, seven of whom are living: Molly, Amanda, Eli F., Samuel, Anna L., Emma, and George W. Amanda is now Mrs. Weaver, and has one son, Floyd. Eli F. married Louisa Smith; they have four children: Florence, Lee, Harold, and Winifred. Samuel married Hattie Miller, they had one daughter, Murl M. Anna L. is now Mrs. Albin Haskell; she has one daughter, Lola F. Emma is married to John M. Lewis; they have four children: Lettie, Agnes, Myrtle and Forrest L. Simon Haner died Oct. 15, 1887; his widow survives him. The ancestry of the family was German.
March 1, 1893, George W. Haner was married to Anna M. Dawson in Galesburg. They have one child: L. Earle. In politics Mr. Haner is a democrat. [back]
Dr. Charles Hansford
was one of the first County Commissioners, and the earliest physician in Knox County, having settled here in 1829. He was born in Kanawha County, Virginia, in 1801. He came to Galena at an early date, and from there to Henderson Grove and thence, in 1833, to Knoxville, where he died in 1852. His wife, Eliza, and one child, Ellen, survived him. He had a very large practice, employing, it is said, three teams and two drivers, and riding incessantly day and night, for weeks at a time. He represented his district in the Legislature during one session, and was one of the most popular men in the county. His life and work are worthy of more extended mention, but, unfortunately, his history is now lost. [tr. by K.T.] [back]
Knoxville; Shoemaker, and Night Watchman for the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad; born Nov. 20, 1836, in Frederick Co., Maryland; educated in Ohio. Mr. Holton’s parents, Thomas and Cordelia (Petticord) Holton, were natives of Maryland; his paternal grandfather, Thomas Holton, came from the North of Ireland. The family came to the United States before the Revolution, and Thomas Holton (the grandfather) and his brother served in that war. Thomas Holton (the father) was a soldier in the War of 1812. Frederick Holton enlisted May 23, 1861, in Company B., Illinois Volunteers, and was honorably discharged at the close of the war. He is a member of James Shields’ Post, No. 45, Grand Army of the Republic, Galesburg, IL.
In May 1866, Mr. Holton was married in Missouri to Mrs. Emily (Milsted) Prenatt; they have had four children: Sarah S. (now Mrs. H. W. Wilson), George W., Howard J., and Frederick I. Frederick I. died at the age of 27.
In religion, Mr. Holton is a Nominal Protestant. He is a republican. [back]
Samuel H. Hopper
Mine Owner and Farmer; Knox Township; born in Washington Co, IN, Nov. 16, 1835; educated in the district schools. The ancestry of the family on the paternal side is English, on the maternal side, Scotch. The paternal grandparents, Zachariah and Polly (Leatherwood) Hopper, were natives of England; the former was a soldier in the Revolutionary War. Mr. Hopper’s father, Charles Hopper, was a native of North Carolina, and his mother, Mary (Henderson) came from Kentucky. Mr. Hopper was the oldest of eleven children: Samuel H., Thomas Jefferson, Frances M., James E., Zacharia P., John W., Sarah E., Aquila, Charles B., William W., and Perry H. Charles Hopper, Sr. died in 1881, his wife died in 1885.
Thomas J. was a soldier in Company A, Fifty-ninth Illinois Volunteers, and was killed at Stone River, Tennessee. Frances M. married John Hester, who died in 1879. Her second marriage was with John M. Mitchell, of Arkansas; they have one son, W. Samuel.
Mr. Hopper was married to Elizabeth Caulkins, Aug. 19, 1863, in Knoxville; they have two children: S. Elmer and Mary O. The latter married Jesse Reynolds; they have three sons: Harold, Don and Earl. Mr. Hopper was in the Black Hawk Indian War, and Aug. 1, 1862, he enlisted in Company F, Eighty-sixth Illinois Volunteers, and was honorably discharged the latter part of 1863. In politics he is a democrat. [back]
John H. Johnson
Knoxville; teacher of Automatic Penmanship; born in Knox Township Dec. 3, 1869. His parents, Swen and Nellie (Nelsdotter) Johnson, were born in Sweden, as were also his paternal and maternal grandfathers, John Swenson and Peter Nydahl.
March 30, 1892, in Altona, Mr. Johnson was married to Ida C. Quick, daughter of Charles J. and Frederica (Carlson) Quick, both of whom were natives of Sweden. Mr. Quick was born April 109, 1823 and was educated in his native land. Nine children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Quick: G. Alfred, Frank W., Charles G., Claus, Andrew, August, Otto, Ida C., and Anna L. The ancestry is Swedish on both sides.
Mr. and Mrs. Johnson are members of the Lutheran Church, in which Mr. Johnson is Secretary and Deacon. They have two children: Hulda C. A. and Nellie F. Mr. Johnson is a republican. [back]
was born July 04, 1807, in Montgomery County, New York,, and was the son of James and Nancy Ehle Knox. He died October 09, 1876, at his home in Knoxville, Illinois, and was buried in the Knoxville Cemetery. He studied at Hamilton Academy, in Madison County, New York, and entered Hamilton College in 1827, where he remained one year. He matriculated at Yale University in 1828, and graduated in 1830. He then studied law with Maynard and Spencer, in Utica, New York, and was admitted to the Bar in 1833. In 1836, he came to Knoxville and entered his brother's store, which he managed after the latter's death, in 1839. He was member of the Constitutional Convention of 1848; and in 1852, and again in 1854, was elected to Congress as a Whig, In Congress, he was Chairman of the Committee on Roads and Canals. He was public-spirited, and was the first President of the Peoria and Oquawka Railroad. He bequeathed a large sum to found an agricultural school in Knoxville. This money was to be available only in case $40,000 in addition should be subscribed in Knox County for the school. As this was not done, the bequest reverted to Yale and Hamilton Colleges and to St. Mary's School. His eyesight failing, he made several visits to Berlin for relief, in 1861, from 1865 to 1869, and again in 1872-73. In 1840 he married Prudence H. Blish, who died in 1846, leaving no children. [back]
Knoxville; Retired Farmer and Lumber Merchant; born Nov 27, 1830, in Ohio, where he received his education. His parents were Enos L. Lacy, born in West Virginia, and Sarah (Wright), born in Clinton Co, Ohio. His paternal grandparents were John J. Lacy, born in W. Virginia and Ruth (Clevinger); his maternal grandfather was Abel Wright.
Sept. 24, 1855, he was married in Ohio to Lucinda Woodmansee, daughter of George and Eliza (Olcraft) Woodmansee. They had six children: Sarah L., George L., Laura B., Retta J., Charles A., and Enos R.
Sarah L. was married to Alonzo T. Steele; they have six children: Ella A., Arthur Roy, William, Harley, Lucinda, and Fay. George L. was married to Ollie Russell; they have four children: Retta, Clarence, Thomas, and Mary. Laura B. married Edward McElwain; they have two children: Jennie and Ortie. Retta J. was married first to Albert W. Young; they had one daughter, Lulu. Mr. Young died in Feb. 1892. His widow was married to Samuel V. Hannam; they have one daughter, Clara. Charles A. married Elizabeth Russell; they have two children: Francelia and Carl. Enos R. married Jessie Wilson; they have one son, Ralph.
George and Eliza (Olcraft) Woodmansee had ten children who grew to maturity; Thomas, Mary, Lucinda, LeRoy, Adeline, George, Xenophon, Francelia, Lorena, and Alonzo. Mr. Woodmansee died in 1892; his widow is still living.
Mr. and Mrs. Lacy are members of the Episcopal Church. Mr. Lacy has held the office of Alderman. In politics he is a democrat. [back]
John O. Lander
Knoxville; Merchant; born in Sweden, Sept. 26, 1838, where he was educated. His parents were natives of Sweden; his father was Olof Johnson; they had twelve children, four of whom are still living: Johanna; Rev. H. Olson; Pernella, now Mrs. Anderson; and John O.
April 15, 1867, in Knoxville, Mr. Lander was married to Else Johnson. They have had six children: Clara A., Luther A., Louisa A., Ernest J., Emma F., and Nellie G. Clara A. married Rev. H.P. Ottoson; Louisa A. married Alvin Anderson, and they have one daughter, Margaret L.; Luther A. married Elizabeth Van Gilder, and they have one son, Harvey. Ernest J. is a student in Michigan University, Ann Arbor, Michigan.
Mr. Lander’s father died about 1864, and his mother died soon after.
Mr. Lander enlisted July 1862 in Company E. Eighty-third Illinois Volunteers, and was honorably discharged at the close of the war. He is a member of G. W. Trafton Post, No 239 of Knoxville, Grand Army of the Republic, Department of Illinois.
Mr. and Mrs. Lander are members of the Lutheran Church. In politics he is a republican. [back]
Charles D. Lindsey
Knoxville, where he was educated; clerk in clothing house; born in Knox County Feb. 18, 1864. Mr. Lindsey’s father, Charles R. Lindsey, was a native of Mason Co, VA; his mother, Mary A. (Post), was born in St. Louis, Missouri. His paternal grandfather, Rowland Lindsey, was a native of Maine; his paternal grandmother was Phebe (Russell) of Chautauqua Co, NY.
Charles R. Lindsey came to Knoxville in 1838. He was born Jan 23, 1822 in VA., where he was educated, and where he was for many years a farmer. He married his first wife, Caroline Armsbury in Iroquois Co, IL, in 1843; she died eight months later. His second marriage was with Mary A. Post, Oct. 5, 1848, in Monmouth, Warren Co. They had ten children, six of whom grew to maturity: John T., Martha D., Kellum P., Corrien, Charles D., and Mary E. John T. was married to Sarah Smith; they have eight children: C. Edwin, Robert B., Margaret C., Arthur McLellan, Harry, Simeon, Ray, and Martha L. Martha D. married Henry Masters. Kellum P. was married to Ada Corbin; they have three children: Ezra, Nellie and Francis. Corrien was married to John B. Evans; they have five children: Jennie M., Jessie L., Julia F., J. Clifford, and Tede M. Mary E. married William Stotts; they have two sons: Paul Sheldon and Phillip Brook. Mr. Lindsey died Feb 4, 1899; his widow is still living. Her father, Ezra Post, was born in Greene Co, NY in 1787. In 1812 he was married to Pattie Pratt; she was born in Rensselearville, Albany Co, NY in 1792. Eight children were born to them: Melinda, Rubbie A., Dorlinske, John C., Albion, Mary A., Ezra and S. Croghan. The family came to St. Louis, MO in 1825, and moved to this State in 1836. Mr. Post died in 1853; his widow died Nov. 28, 1881. Mr. Post was a soldier in the War of 1812. The ancestry was Scotch and Welsh.
Charles D. Lindsey is a member of Horatio Lodge, No 362, Knights of Pythias, also of Camp No. 411, Modern Woodmen of America, and of the Minor of Honor, Grim Shaft No. 1; he is one of the Supreme Board of Directors.
May 11, 1887 Mr. Lindsey was married to Anna Nelson in Oneida; they have had three children: Hazel B. (died in infancy), C. Willard and Nelson. Mr. Lindsey is a member of the Presbyterian Church. In politics he is a democrat. [back]
Knoxville; Contractor and builder; born in Maryland, July 15, 1845; educated in Maryland and Pennsylvania. His parents, Conrad Masters and Sarah C. Shenburger, were natives of Germany. They had eight children: Henrietta, William, John, Henry, Kate and David (twins), Elizabeth, and George. Conrad Masters died in 1891, but his widow survives.
The ancestry of the family is German on both sides. Dec. 24, 1874, David Masters was married to Mary J. Haner in Knoxville; they have had four children: Cora E.; Harvey D.; L. Myrtle, who died in her twentieth year; and Edna M.
Mr. Masters is a Presbyterian. In politics he is a democrat. [back]
Farmer; Knox Township; born in Maryland, July 26, 1843; educated in the common schools. His father, Conrad Masters, was a native of Germany, and his mother, Catherine Shenberger, was born in York Co, PA.
Jan. 14, 1873, Henry Masters was married in Knox Township to Martha D. Lindsey. They have had seven children: Charles, who died at the age of eight; Mary K.; Emma F.; Harley C.; Henry C.; and two who died in infancy.
Mrs. Masters’ father, Charles R. Lindsey, was born in Virginia; he was married to Mary Post. They had ten children. Mrs. Lindsey is still living. The ancestry of the family is German, Scotch, Welsh and Irish.
Mr. Masters is a member of Knoxville Lodge, No 66, A.F. and A.M. In politics he is an independent democrat, and has held the office of School Director. [back]
Knoxville; Retired Farmer; born in Knox County, April 7, 1846; educated in the common schools. His parents, Robert and Margaret (Thurman) McWilliams, were natives of Ohio. His paternal grandfather, Samuel McWilliams, was from Pennsylvania; his maternal grandfather, John Thurman, was from Virginia. His ancestry is Scotch, French and Swedish.
Jan. 11, 1866, in Knox County, Mr. McWilliams was married to Mary E. Rambo; they have five children: Flora M., Frank E., C. Elmer, Lodema A., and Hattie L. Flora M. married Leonard Stegall; they have one son, Floyd G. Frank E. married Ollie West; they have one daughter, Alma E. Hattie L. married Andrew F. Peterson; they have one son, Francis L. Lodema A. is a teacher in the graded schools of Knoxville.
Sept. 13, 1862, Mr. McWilliams enlisted in Company A, Fourteenth Illinois Cavalry, and was honorably discharged July 18, 1865, upon a surgeon’s certificate of disability.
He is a member of G. W. Trafton Post, G.A.R., No. 239, Knoxville. Mr. McWilliams is a republican. [back]
Farmer; Knox Township; born December 2, 1866, on the old homestead; educated in the common schools. His parents, Harvey and Eliza (Maxwell) Montgomery, were born in Knox County; the former was born January 14, 1834, being the oldest citizen in Knox Township who was born there. They married in Henderson Township November 15, 1864; they have three children: Sarah J., John and Henry. Sarah J. married John G. Hayes, of Knox Township; they have one son, Harry M. Henry married Mary E. Bowers; they have one daughter living, Jennie. Harvey Montgomery was fifth in a family of seven children of John and Margaret (Vaughn) Montgomery, who were born in Kentucky, the former in Nelson, and the latter in Barren County. May 10, 1830, John Montgomery came to Knox County and in 1832 settled on the farm which his grandson now owns. The paternal great-grandfather, Robert Montgomery, was a native of Scotland. The maternal grandparents, Henry Vaughn and Jane Bell, were born in Kentucky. March 2, 1892, Mr. Montgomery was married in Galesburg Township to Grace J. Dunlap; they have one child, Marie G. Mrs. Montgomery’s father, Thomas Dunlap, was born in Flemingsburgh, Kentucky in 1816, and came to Illinois when a boy. He was married to Cornelia Anderson, of New York. They were deaf mutes. They had eight children: Edwin, Caroline, Hattie, Eva E., Sarah, Clara, Grace J., and Cornelia. Mr. Dunlap died April 15, 1890; his widow is still living. The ancestry of the family is Scotch and English. In politics, Mr. Montgomery is a democrat. [back]
Johnston J. Neeley
Farmer; Knox Township; born in Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, November 10, 1852; educated in the district schools. November 15, 1876, Mr. Neeley was married in Knoxville to Ida A. Metcalf; they have had one daughter, Harriett Maude. Mrs. Neeley’s father, Almanson Metcalf, was born in Fairview, Cattaraugus County, New York, April 12, 1823, and married Harriet M. Beech in Knox Township September 1, 1855. Mrs. Neeley was their only child. Mr. Metcalf was a republican. He was a prominent Mason of Knoxville, Lodge No. 400, A. F. and A. M.
Mr. and Mrs. Neeley are members of the Presbyterian Church in Knoxville. He is a republican [back]
Hiram F. Parkins
Contractor and Builder; Knox Township; born March 15, 1858, in Knox County, Illinois; educated in the common schools. The ancestry of the family is Scotch and Dutch on the paternal side, on the maternal side, German and English. Mr. Parkins’ father, Leven A. Parkins, was a native of Virginia, while his mother, Martha (Maxey), was born in Kentucky; they had eleven children, (six are listed): Byron, Hiram F., James M., Charles, Almon E., and Annie, who married to Julius Newton. Mr. Parkins’ father died in July 1876, but his mother is still living. Mr. Parkins’ paternal grandfather, James Madison Parkins, who married Miss Haptonstall, was born in Virginia. Mr. Parkins married his first wife, Ida McDaniel in Galesburg January 13, 1880; they had two children: Frederick, born October 11, 1882; and Sarah I. Mrs. Parkins died September 17, 1896. May 7, 1898, Mr. Parkins was married in East Galesburg to Mrs. Laura B. (Clutts) Jeffries, who had one son, Chester, by her first marriage. Mrs. Parkins’ father, Robert Clutts, was born in Ohio, September 12, 1838, and was married to Pricey Shelton, a native of Kentucky. They had three children: Mary E., Charles, and Laura B. Mr. Clutts died in 1876, but Mrs. Clutts is still living. Mr. Parkins is a member of Hazel Lodge, No. 378, Knights of Pythias, of East Galesburg, also of East Galesburg Camp, No 3426, Modern Woodmen of America. Mrs. Parkins is a member of Rathbone Marguerite Temple of Galesburg, Illinois. In religion, Mr. Parkins belongs to the United Brethren. In politics he is a republican, and for three years held the office of Alderman. [back]
William I. Peckenpaugh
Knoxville; born in Knox County, April 30, 1849; educated in the public schools. His father, James W. Peckenpaugh, was born in Indiana; his mother Mary (Chaney), was born in Ohio. His paternal grandparents, Solomon and Rachel H. (Williams) Peckenpaugh, his maternal grandfather, Ezekiel Chaney, were born in Kentucky. His paternal great-grandparents were Peter Peckenpaugh and Meally (Abbott). The former of Pennsylvania, October 9, 1872, Mr. Peckenpaugh was married in Knoxville to Mary J. Brown; she was a daughter of John Brown, born in Ohio, December 28, 1828, and Johanna (Stenson), a native of Sweden. Mrs. Peckenpaugh lost her father August 30, 1854, and her mother September 28, 1892. Her ancestry was English and Swedish. Mr. and Mrs. Peckenpaugh have four children: Arthur B., Harriet E., John F., and Clarence W. Arthur B. married Alice Lawrence July 10, 1895; they have one son Lawrence A. Harriet E. married Lee Chalmer Wilson, of Knoxville, October 6, 1898. Mr. and Mrs. Peckenpaugh are members of the Eastern Star of Knoxville, Faith Chapter Number 169; Mrs. Peckenpaugh has held the office of Worthy Matron. Mr. Peckenpaugh is a member of Pacific Lodge of Knoxville, No. 66, A. F. and A. M., also of Illinois Council Number 1, R. S. M. Mr. Peckenpaugh is in the tubular well and wind mill business. He is a member of the Presbyterian Church. He is a republican in politics, and has held the office of Alderman, and is a member of the School Board. [back]
Retired Farmer; Knoxville; born in Knox County, Jan. 24, 1855; educated in the common schools. His parents, Benjamin and Sarah (Maps) Ramp, were born in PA; the former, Nov. 20, 1815, the latter, in 1819. They died in March 1891.
March 15, 1879, Asa Ramp was married to Deborah Wesner in Knox Co.; they had three children: Electa M., born Jan. 1, 1880; Florence B., born Jan. 7, 1885; and Waldo L., born Aug. 10, 1886.
Mrs. Ramp was born in Somerset Co, PA., March 28, 1859; she was the daughter of Anthony and Julia Ann Wesner; the former born in Germany, Jan. 16, 1823, and died in Knox Co. Oct. 22, 1876; the latter born in Northumberland Co, PA, Dec. 3, 1819, and died in Knox Co. March 4, 1885. Mrs. Ramp’s parents were members of the Methodist Church. Mrs. Ramp is a member of the Royal Neighbors of America.
Mr. Ramp lived in Ford Co, IL. for five years; he then moved to Truro Township, and after a nine years’ residence moved to Knoxville, where they have lived for six years. He is a member of the M. W. A., No. 411, Knoxville Camp. Mr. Ramp owns about 440 acres of land in Elba and the adjoining township. In politics he is a republican. [back]
John C. Riordan
(deceased); Knoxville; Farmer; born in Ireland May 29, 1827; educated in the common schools. Feb. 14, 1854, he was married to Mary A. Richmond in Haw Creek Township. They had two children: L. Riley and Alice. Alice married Edward Schwartz; they have one daughter, Louise F.
Mrs. Riordon’s father, Linus Richmond, was born in Connecticut Oct. 4, 1801. He married Sarah Pickrel. They had eight children; Mary A., David, Jesse, John C., Emily, Eliza, Guy H., and Solomon. The family came from Ohio to Illinois in 1834. Mr. Richmond died Dec. 12, 1887; his wife died Oct. 9, 1853.
In politics he was a democrat. He died March 26, 1877. [back]
Farmer; Knox Township, where he was born Jan. 22, 1836; educated in Knoxville. Mr. Runkle’s parents, Eldert and Nancy (Bowen) Runkle, were natives of New York, the former of Albany County, the latter of Rensselaer County. His paternal grandfather, John Runkle, was born near the Hudson River, south of Albany, while his paternal grandmother, Helen (Van Woort), was born on the Mohawk River in Saratoga County, New York. His maternal grandfather, Nathan Bowen, was a native of New England. The ancestry of Mr. Runkle’s family on his father’s side was German and Scotch, on his mother’s Welsh. Eldert Runkle has six children: Elizabeth, James, Mary E., Lucy G., George, and Franklin. He died in 1865; his wife in 1888.
Dec. 4, 1872, James Runkle was married to Mehitabel Calwell in Persifer Township. They have four children, Daisy E., Lucy, Elroy, and Bessie. Daisy E. married William Lotts. Lucy married Oscar Molter; they have one son, Archibald. In politics Mr. Runkle is a democrat.
Runyon, F. J., Farmer; Salem Township; born June 22, 1858, in Milbrook Township, Peoria Co; educated in the common schools. His father, J. C. Runyon, was born in Indiana, Nov. 28, 1825, and lives with him; his mother, Nancy S., was born April 22, 1829 in Preble Co, Ohio; died in 1884. Her parents, Joseph and Rachel (Hull) Smith, were born in Rockbridge, VA. J.C. Runyon’s parents, Finus and Dorcas Runyon, were born in Kentucky.
Nov. 22, 1822, Mr. F. J. Runyon was married in Peoria to Ethel, daughter of John and Merilla (Krisler) Bridson; she was born in Milbrook Township, Peoria County, Jan. 22, 1863; her mother lives at Laura. Mrs. Runyon is a member of the Presbyterian Church. There are three children: Pearl M. and Earl B., born May 3, 1884; Alwilda, born May 20, 1890, died Dec. 27, 1893.
Mr. Runyon is a member of the I.O. of O.F. Lodge No. 102, Elmwood; Knox Encampment, No 163; A.F. & A.M. Lodge No. 448, Yates City; Eastern Star, Yates City; Modern Woodmen of America, and Alpine Camp, at Elmwood. He went to Kansas where he lived about four years, and was engaged in the agricultural implement business. Nov. 25, 1887, he came to Salem Township and settled on Section 12, where he has a good farm of 97 acres, between Elmwood and Yates City. He is a breeder of pure Chester white hogs, and has taken a number of first premiums. In politics he is a republican. [back]
John G. Sanburn
the first County Clerk, the first Circuit Clerk, the first Postmaster, and one of the most prominent men in Knox County, was born in Canadaigua, New York, March 13, 1797. His parents were among the earliest pioneers of western New York. Inheriting thus the spirit of enterprise, Mr. Sanburn came to Ohio in the autumn of 1817. That winter he taught school, and the next spring, in company with his brother, Nathaniel Sanburn, and three other young men, he worked his passage down the Ohio River to about the foot of Indiana. Thence he went overland to St. Louis and westward to St. Charles, Missouri. That winter he returned to his native town, making almost the entire journey on foot. After two or three years he again went westward and located at Vandalia, Illinois. In 1830, he came to Knox County and opened a store in Henderson Grove. He at once took a leading position in the county, being largely instrumental in effecting its organization. When Knoxville was platted, he purchased or procured by assignment a very large proportion of all the lots in the village.
In November 1831, he married Miss Althea Owen, sister of Parnach Owen, who survived her husband. They had seven children, four sons and three daughters. One son, F. G. Sanburn, lived in Knoxville, where he was president of the Farmers’ Bank.
Up to his death John G. Sanburn was one of the best known men in Knox County. He was a trustee of Knox College and of Ewing Female Seminary—now St. Mary’s. He died in Knoxville Friday, April 14, 1865. [back]
Louis M. Smith
Knoxville; Postmaster; born Jan. 6, 1862 in Mercer Co, IL.; educated in Missouri. His father, George F. Smith, was born in 1836 in Knoxville, his mother, Clementine M. (Sadler), was born in Harrisburg, PA. They had five children: Louis M.; Bert G., who is a school teacher; two who died in infancy; and Jessie L., a teacher in the High School of Knoxville, who died Oct. 7, 1894. George F. Smith was commissioned First Lieutenant, Company E, One Hundred and Thirty-eighth Illinois Volunteers in 1864, and was honorably discharged Oct. 14, 1864. He died in 1881, and his wife in May 1898.
Louis M. Smith’s paternal grandfather, Miles Smith, was a native of New York; his maternal grandparents were John L. and Sibbie (Stewart) Sadler. The ancestry of the family is English, Welsh and Irish.
Mr. Smith is a member of Knoxville Camp, No. 224, S.O.V., has been Captain two terms, and is now a member of the Division Council. He is also a member of Horatio Lodge, No 362, Knights of Pythias. Mr. Smith belongs to the Methodist Episcopal Church. In politics he is a republican. [back]
Farmer; Knox Township; born in Herkimer Co, NY, Dec. 15, 1836; educated in the common schools. The ancestry of the family was Scotch and English. Mr. Smith’s parents, James and Jeal (McCann) Smith, were natives of Scotland.
Mr. Smith came to Illinois in 1856. He was married March 7, 1860 in Joliet, IL. to Harriet M. Randall. They had four children: Fred M., James D., George C., and Maud R. Fred M’s second marriage was with Fannie (Ingram) of Hornellsville, New York. He had a daughter, Clarissa, by a former marriage. James D. is a farmer, and was married to Sarah Lufkin, of Massachusetts. George C. and Fred M. are in the employ of the Union Pacific Railroad.
Mrs. Smith’s father, Dennison Randall, was born in Cattaraugus Co, NY in 1810, and married Elexemena Pratt of Hume, NY. They have five children: Ann Netta, Harriet M., Esther Y., Dennison P., and William C. The Pratts were soldiers in the Revolutionary War, and both families were represented in the Civil War.
For thirty years, Mr. Smith was connected with the Chicago and Alton Railroad, during twenty years of which time he held the position of Train-master. Mr. Smith and family are members of the Presbyterian Church. In politics he is a republican, and held the office of Supervisor for ten years. [back]
Mathew M. Smith
Superintendent for the Purington Paving Brick Company; Knox Township; born in Buffalo, New York, Jan. 29, 1860, where he was educated. His parents, Mathew and Margaret (Brown) Smith, were born in New York City. His paternal grandparents, Mathew and Margaret (McCoy) Smith, were natives of Ireland, the former of Belfast. His maternal grandparents, James and Jane Brown, were natives of Scotland.
July 12, 1880, in Buffalo, New York, Mr. Smith was married to Elizabeth E. Henry; they have one son, Stephen H. Mr. Smith is a member of the Veritas Lodge, No. 478, of Galesburg; I.O.O.F. and the Modern Woodmen of America, East Galesburg, Camp No. 2436. He has served the people of East Galesburg for four terms as President of the village. He is a republican. [back]
Gardner G. Stearns
Farmer; Knoxville; born in Conway, MA., Feb. 9, 1836, where he was educated. His parents, George and Fannie (Arms) Stearns, were also natives of Conway.
Mr. Stearns was Captain of Company A, Seventy-seventh Illinois Volunteers, and was honorably discharged at the close of the war. He was wounded in action, and was a prisoner of war at Tyler, Texas.
Oct. 2, 1865, he was married in Knoxville to Lucy G. Runkle, daughter of Eldert and Nancy (Bowen) Runkle; there were five children: George E., Arthur D., Fred R., Fannie G., and Mary E. Arthur D. married Mary Wertman; Fred R. married Louise Rambo.
Mr. Runkle was born in Albany County, New York in 1802, where he was educated in the common schools; he came to Illinois about 1833, and was a farmer by occupation; he died in June 1865. Mrs. Runkle died in Oct. 1888; they had six children: Elizabeth, James, Mary H., Lucy G., George, and Frank.
In politics, Mr. Stearns was a fearless republican. For one term he held the office of Supervisor. His paternal ancestors were English, Dutch and Welsh on the maternal side. Captain Stearns died Aug. 8, 1898. He was an attendant at the Presbyterian Church. [back]
John W. Tate
Knoxville; General Grocer; born Jan 2, 1842 in Hancock Co, IL; educated in the public schools of Rushville. Mr. Tate enlisted Aug. 2, 1862 in Company B, One Hundred and Nineteenth Illinois Volunteers, and was honorably discharged Sept. 9, 1865. He is a member of G. W. Trafton Post of Knoxville, No. 239, Grand Army Republic, Department of Illinois.
Dec. 3, 1868, in Rushville, IL., he married Sarah Neill. They have had four children: Sussanah, Edward A., Louis N., and Marie F.
Mr. Tate is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. In politics he is republican. [back]
Thomas B. Tate
Knoxville; General Grocer; born Sept. 21, 1836 in Macomb, McDonough Co., IL., where he was educated in the common schools. His father, Milton A. Tate, was born in Virginia, and his mother, Martha A. (Broaddus), was born in Kentucky. His paternal grandparents were John and Sally Broaddus.
Mr. Tate enlisted at Knoxville, Aug. 8, 1862, in Company E., Eighty-third Illinois Volunteers, and was honorably discharged June 26, 1865, as Second Lieutenant. He is a member of G. W. Trafton Post of Knoxville, No. 239, Grand Army Republic, Department of Illinois.
He was married to Mary Booth, Oct. 8, 1861. They have eight children: Charles E., Carrie A., Nettie, Mattie, Frank M., John T., Asenath B., and Jennie.
Mr. Tate has held the offices of Mayor and Postmaster. He is a republican in politics. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. [back]
Farmer; Knox Township; born in Summit Co, Ohio, May 8, 1842. His parents, Rowland Weller and Phebe (Randall) Upson, had eight children: Josephine, Lucy M., Albert, Matilda S., Louisa M., Hannah F, and two deceased.
Rowland Upson was born in Summit Co, OH. Feb. 6, 1806, and died in Knox Township May 6, 1875. Phebe (Randall) Upson was born in New York in 1815, and died in Knox Township May 6, 1884. His grandfather, Stephen Upson, was born in Connecticut in 1775; his grandmother, Sallie Upson, was born in CT. in 1798; both died in Talmadge, Ohio.
Albert Upson married Hannah M. Case in Knox Township, Jan. 1, 1867. Her parents, Elisha E. and Rachel (Morse) Case, are deceased.
Mr. and Mrs. Albert Upson have five children: Florence M., William D., Nellie E., George A., and Arthur E.
Florence M. is married to Mark Noble, Jr., of Creston, Iowa; they have three children: Florence H., Nina Z., and Jessie M.
William D. married Mary T. Fackler, of Knox Township; they have one son, F. Albert.
George A. and Arthur E. are with their parents on the home farm.
Mr. and Mrs. Upson are members of the Congregational Church. Mr. Upson is an independent republican. He lives on the farm purchased (1851) by his father. [back]
Farmer; Knox Township; born Jan. 4, 1831 in Sweden, where he was educated.
June 5, 1869, in Knoxville, Mr. Walberg was married to Betsey Olson, who was born in 1838. They have had three children: Swan, Caroline, and Albert.
Swan married Nellie Nelson, who was born in Sweden; they have one son, Harry.
Caroline married Peter Pierson of Galesburg; they have one daughter, Pauline.
Albert married Jettie Heagy, of Knoxville.
Mr. and Mrs. Walberg are members of the Swedish Lutheran Church. In politics he is a republican. [back]
Knoxville; Retired School teacher; born in Indiana County, Pennsylvania in 1819, where he was educated. His brother, William W. Warner, was born in PA, Nov. 10, 1825 and married three times; his first wife was Mary Schranghos, and they had two children, one of whom is now living, W. Rufus; his second wife was Mrs. Elizabeth (Seiper) Lyons; his third wife was Annie (Roberts) Tice, whom he married Dec. 8, 1875, and by whom he had four children: Wilber W.; Minnie; Valdora; and David D., who died at the age of seven. W. W. Warner enlisted in Company D, One Hundred and Third Illinois Volunteers, and was honorably discharged in 1865, on a surgeon’s certificate of inability. He was a member of G. W. Trafton Post of Knoxville, No. 239, Grand Army of the Republic, Department of Illinois.
David Warner married Nancy Wells Aug. 28, 1844 in Pennsylvania. In religion he is a Presbyterian. He is a republican. [back]
deceased; Farmer; Knox Township; born Jan 14, 1836, in Preble County, Ohio; educated in the common schools. His parents, Jacob and Amy (Ayers) Westerfield, were natives of Ohio. The ancestry of the family is Dutch, German and French.
May 16, 1872 in Knox Township, Mr. Westerfield was married to Mahala Harmony. They had two children: Frank E.; and Eva K., who died at the age of eleven. Frank E. is a member of Camp No. 224, S.O.V., Knoxville.
Mrs. Westerfield’s father, John Harmony, a farmer, was born in Franklin County, PA, July 6, 1801, and educated in the common schools. He was married to Eva Zumbro of Pennsylvania. They have five children: Helena, Elizabeth, Anna B., Mahala, and Frank Z. The family came to Knox Township in 1853. Mr. Harmony died Dec. 28, 1893, his wife died Feb. 9, 1888.
Dec. 2, 1861, Mr. Westerfield enlisted in Company B, Second Regiment Colorado Cavalry Volunteers, and was promoted to Corporal April 25, 1864, and honorably discharged Dec. 13, 1864. He died July 31, 1893.
Mr. Westerfield was a member of G. W. Trafton Post, No. 229, Knoxville Department of Illinois, Grand Army of the Republic. He was a member of the Presbyterian Church. In politics he was a republican. [back]
Farmer; Knox Township; born in Champaign Co, Ohio, Nov. 27, 1835; educated in the common schools. His father, Francis Wilson, was a native of Pennsylvania, born in Butler County, March 1, 1809; his mother, Nancy (McPherrin) was born in Ohio. She was married to Francis Wilson Jan. 17, 1833; they had three children: George W., who died at the age of twenty-seven; Elizabeth, who died Jan. 3, 1838; and Thomas.
Francis Wilson’s second marriage in Sept. 1840 was with Elizabeth McPherrin; she died Aug. 15, 1882. Five children were born to them, three of whom survive: John, Alexander, and Francis M. Francis Wilson died in the fall of 1896; he was universally respected.
Feb. 20, 1888, Thomas Wilson was married in Knoxville to Augusta Hammarstrom. They had four children: Eva O., Harry D, Paul E., and Miriam M.
Mrs. Wilson’s father, Carl Hammarstrom, was born in Sweden May 1, 1825; he was married to Anna C. Carlson, and came to the United States in August 1865. They had six children: Charles A.; Hilma K.; A. Edward; Augusta; Emma S., who died at sea in July 1865; and E. Josephine. His father and mother are living. The ancestry of the family is English, Scotch, Irish, and Swedish.
In politics Mr. Wilson is independent. [back]
George W. Witherell
Farmer, Knox Township; born in Washington County, Indiana, Sept. 8, 1845; educated in Illinois. His father, Ephraim Witherell, was born in Vermont; his mother Rebecca (Donaldson) was a daughter of Alexander Donaldson, who was born in Erie Co, PA. His paternal grandparents, Asaph and Johanna (White) Witherell, were natives of Vermont; his great-grandfather, Noah Witherell, came from England on the Mayflower. His ancestry is English, Irish, Scotch, and Dutch.
May 17, 1866 in Knoxville, Mr. Witherell was married to Martha A. Stoliper; they have eight children: Flora M., Minnie R., Harmon E., Daisy E., Arthur A., Ettie R., and the twins, Clyde A. and Clara A.
Flora M. married George Bredlove; they have two children living, Mabel and Harry.
Minnie R. married John Drudge; they have two children, Roy S. and Berneth.
Harmon E. married Lola Myers, they have two children, Harrie Lee and Helen; they now reside near Wichita, Kansas.
Arthur A. married Mamie Peterson; they have one daughter, Geneva.
Daisy E. married James Farrell; they have one daughter, Hortense.
Feb. 11, 1863, Mr. Witherell enlisted in the Seventy-seventh Illinois Volunteers and was honorably discharged Aug. 5, 1865. He is a member of G. W. Trafton Post No. 239, G.A.R., Knoxville, Department of Illinois, and also of A.O.U.W. of Knox Lodge No. 126. Mr. Witherell is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. In politics he is a republican. He was the first President of the First Shaft of the Minor of Honor. [back]
BACK -- HOME
Copyright ©Genealogy Trails