Knox County Illinois
MAQUON TOWNSHIP HISTORY -- Maquon Township Biographies
SALEM TOWNSHIP HISTORY -- Salem Township Biographies
Maquon Township History
pages 942-946 From Sketch by Dr. J. L. Knowles
In 1827, ten years subsequent to the original survey of this military tract, William Palmer and family, consisting of his wife and five children, located on the southwest quarter of Section 3, about forty rods southeast of the present limits of Maquon Village. This was doubtless the first white family to settle in Knox County. Mr. Palmer’s cabin, made of black hickory poles, stood in the midst of Indian gardens, which were usually deserted by the savages in early spring in favor of better hunting grounds farther west. They returned every fall to remain during the winter, until the year 1832, when, as a result of the Black Hawk War, they took a final leave and that neighborhood knew them no more. Mr. Palmer lived here five or six years, planted an orchard and cultivated the gardens, or patches vacated by the Indians, and as his cabin stood on the old Galena trail, it afforded a stopping place for the miners going to and from their homes in the southeastern part of the state. A few years later Palmer sold his cabin to Nelson Selby and removed to St. Louis.
The following year Simeon Dolph, the pioneer ferryman of Spoon River, settled on Section 4, building his cabin of logs where the Rathbun house now stands. Owing, however, to a suspicion of his having been implicated in the death of an unknown traveler, he left the community a short time afterwards.
In 1829, Mark Thurman, with his family, settled in Section 25, and one of his daughters, Mrs. Hugh Thurman, of Yates City, is recalled as one of the oldest residents of the county. The next year the families of William Darnell, William Parmer, Thomas Thurman and James Milam settled on Section 24 and 25. They all came from Highland county, Ohio. Subsequently a small, but regular and ever-increasing stream of settlers took up claims in the township, until 1837, it was thought a favorable opportunity had arrived for laying out a village, which was called Maquon. This is of Indian origin, signifying spoon. Sapol means river, and as the stream bearing this name assumes somewhat the shape of a spoon from source to mouth, it was called Maquon Sapol, or Spoon River.
This township was one of the chief Indian settlements in the state, and here were congregated families of the Sacs and Foxes and Pottawattomies. Their principal village was located on the present site of Maquon as here the Indian trails centered from all directions in pioneer days. A vast number of Indian relics have been and are still being unearthed in the vicinity, and there are a great many mounds scattered about the neighborhood, the most prominent being the Barbero mound, which is to have been built by the aborigines and to contain human remains. Maquon is well drained by Spoon River and the many small tributaries that flow into it, fine timberlands abound throughout the township, and about one-half of the surface is underlaid with an excellent quality of bituminous coal. The township organization was completed in 1853, by the election of James M. Foster as Supervisor; Nathan Barbero, Assessor, and James L. Loman, Collector.
The first school house in the township was built of logs in 1834 on Section 23, or, to locate it more accurately, about eighty rods west of where James Young’s dwelling now stands. The first teacher in that building was Benjamin Brock. The next house to be devoted to educational purposes was erected in 1836 or 1837, and was situated about fifty rods south of Bennington. The first school north of Spoon River was conducted by Miss Mary Fink in a shed adjoining the residence of Peter Jones, a father of John Jones, at one time postmaster. The only reading book at that time was the New Testament. It is claimed by some of Miss Fink’s pupils, that she could read and write, but could not “cipher”. However, notwithstanding this defect in her education, it was said that her labors were most commendable and satisfactory.
The township at first contained the three villages of Maquon, Bennington and Rapatee. Bennington was originally laid out in the center of the precinct in 1836 by Elisha Thurman, but it failed to develop sufficient importance to be called a village, although it was the township’s polling place until 1858, when the name was changed to Maquon.
[End of original transcription -- Additional Information below was transcribed by K.T.]
Rapatee Village can date its inception from the time of the building of the Iowa Central Railroad in 1883. It was laid out by Benjamin Adams in the southeast quarter of Section 33, and its first resident merchant was A. B. Stewart. The village contains at present a Union Church, three stores, a blacksmith shop, a wagon shop, two elevators, and about eighty inhabitants, and is located in the midst of a wealthy and prosperous community.
The village of Maquon is situated on or near the site of the old Indian village at the north line of the township on the northeast quarter of Section 4, overlooking, toward the south, the valley of Spoon River. The survey, comprising about sixty acres, was completed October 24, 1836, by Parnach Owen, who also laid out the village, assisted by John G. Sanburn, William M. McGowan, R. L. Hannaman, Mr. Richmond and Mr. Beers. For several years Maquon had neither religious nor educational institutions, but was, on the contrary, the site of a distillery and a race track. The latter, however, have been supplanted by a church and school, which are well supported. The village was incorporated March 14, 1857, and its population, as shown by the United States census, has been as follows: 1880, five hundred and forty-eight; 1890, five hundred and one; 1899, six hundred (estimated). Previous to 1880 the census returns do not give the population separate from the township. The first building in the village was Cox's Tavern, which was built by Benjamin Cox and was located where Joshua Burnett's residence now stands; it was known as The Barracks. For twenty years it was used as barracks, kept by Nathan Barbero. The first store was conducted by John Hippie in a building erected by Matthew Maddox in 1839. Maquon has not supported a saloon since 1880, and the steady, industrious rising generation speaks well for the cause of temperance. The present business interests are represented by two banks, six grocery stores, two dry goods stores, one drug store, one newspaper, one harness shop, one butcher shop, one wagon shop, two barber shops, three hardware stores, three restaurants, two millinery stores, four dressmaking establishments, four blacksmith shops, one rolling mill, one elevator, one undertaking establishment, two livery and feed stables, two physicians and two ministers. The private bank of William Swigart was organized by that gentleman in 1881, with a capital stock of $100,000, the officers being: William Swigart, President; and F. C. Bearmore, Cashier. The deposits are about $40,000. A. C. Housh incorporated his private bank in 1882, with a capital stock of $50,000. The deposits are about $30,000. The officers consist of A. C. Housh, President; and E. L. Housh, Cashier. The Maquon Chronicle was established in May, 1899, and is owned and edited by Charles Benfield. The Breeze, an independent weekly paper, was started about the middle of March, 1896, by Gorge H. C. Palmer, and was discontinued in 1898. The business portion of Maquon has experienced six disastrous fires, all of them of doubtful origin, one of the greatest sufferers from this cause being J. W. Briggs. The oldest merchant in the village is A. M. Maple, who, in 1848, opened a grocery store, which he conducted until May, 1896, when he retired, leaving the business in the hands of his son, C. F. Maple. It is but a matter of justice to mention that, during his entire residence in Maquon, Mr. A. M. Maple has set an example of morality, integrity and honesty that the youths of the village would do well to follow.
Maquon schools, prior to 1848, were held in rooms furnished by Nathan and Calista Barbero. The first school house erected was a substantial brick structure, thirty by forty feet, built by William Purcell in 1848. It is still standing and is now used as an implement house. The principal teachers in that building-were: Levi McGirr, Dr. A. H. Potter, Profes-sors Fishback, Agnen, Helderman, Brecken-ridge, Olmstead, Cram, Miller, Bickford, Griggs, Grove, and McCullough. The present school building was erected in 1866 by J. L. Wallick, of Knoxville, at a cost of $7,000. It is a two-story frame edifice, with four commodious rooms, and gives employment to four teachers. The first principal, Robert Proseus, was one of the most successful educators the town has ever had, and was engaged at a salary of fifty dollars per month. The successors to Mr. Proseus were: Henry F. King, William Beeson, Robert Hill, John French, Mr. Palmer, Mr. Axeline, D. G. Hopkins, A. W. Ryan, Robert Hill, James Rischell and C. F. Hurburg, the last named being the present incumbent and who, at this writing, has held the position for three years. The initial attendance in the new school house numbered one hundred and seventy-five pupils, and at the close of the term, which expired in September, there were one hundred and thirty pupils enrolled, the average age of these being ten years. The whole number of days taught was 7,406, the average daily attendance was 92 46-80 (sic), and the actual cost of tuition per day was 6 ½ cents a pupil. In 1899 the enrollment was one hundred and fifty-eight pupils. There are three grades and the school is considered one of the best in the county. The school houses in the township are eight in number, their value being estimated at $9,800; each has a library, with an aggregate value of seven hundred dollars, and out of the five hundred and thirteen persons under twenty-one years of age three hundred and forty-five are pupils.
Maquon Village was forty years old before Christian influence was sufficient to establish a church, although during that time many fruitless efforts were made by different faiths in that direction, the most prominent worker in the movement being Elder Scott, of Farmington, who was a member of the Campbell, or Christian Church. In 1841 the Presbyterians made an effort to establish themselves, and in 1842 the Methodists made a similar attempt, but neither met with any degree of success. In 1850 Spiritualism was introduced and affected the community to an alarming extent, the adherents of that faith holding full sway for ten or twelve years. In 1862 a United Brethren minister, the Rev. Wimsette, held a series of revival meetings in the old brick school house, which gave Spiritualism a serious blow, and as a result the church revived and prospered. About 1892 Christian Science obtained a firm hold on the community and a large number of the most devout Christians embraced that faith, and again the orthodox church was crippled. There are now two religious institutions in the township, namely: Maquon Church and Rapatee Union Church. The former was built in 1876 and dedicated September 11, 1877, by Bishop Jesse F. Peck, its first pastor being the Rev. Swartz, who served two years. H. S. Humes was the next to occupy the pulpit and he remained one year, his successor being L. B. Dennis, who stayed two years and then retired, having exerted in that time a strong Christian influence throughout the community. He was followed in the order named by E. H. Williams, William Merriam, A. P. Beal, R. B. Seaman, the latter of whom was a most worthy Christian and gentleman, through whose earnest efforts the present parsonage was built; Rev. Joseph Bell, whom Maquon people have every reason to long cherish in their memories; Rev. R. D. Russell, Rev. N. G. Clark, Rev. A. M. Bowlin, Rev. J. P. McCormick, Rev. R. G. Hazzard, Dr. Evans, Rev. Winters, and Rev. W. H. Young, the last named being the present pastor.
Rapatee Universalist Church was organized May 27, 1894, by the Rev. J. L. Everton and Rev. E. E. Hammond, with the following officers: A. B. Stewart, Moderator; Miss Nora Rapatee, Clerk; Mrs. F. P. Hurd, Treasurer. Meetings are held on alternate Sundays in the church building owned jointly by the Methodists and Universalists.
Rapatee Union Church was built in 1891 and was dedicated by Dr. J. G. Evans.
Maquon has been well represented by the medical fraternity, as will be seen by the following list of physicians who have practiced here since its organization: Doctors Emery, Hand, Allen, Williamson, Walters, Dunn, Allen, Dunlap, Cunningham, Stratton, Fidler, Tallman, Potter, Thomas, Townsend, Miller, Shaw, Niles, Hess, Southard, Morse, Knowles, Dickerson, Truitt and Long.
The township is justly proud of its unbounded patriotism some of its residents having taken part in three of the nation's most important wars. Among the early pioneers of the township were Philip Rhodes, John W. Walters and John M. Combs, who were soldiers in the War of 1812. Avery Dalton, residing near Elmwood, Illinois, who, at the ripe age of eighty-six years, is hale and hearty and who has furnished much information of the early history of Maquon township, and Madison Foster, deceased, were members of the Fulton County Rangers in the Black Hawk War. The rifle carried by Mr. Foster while in service is now owned by his son, Albert, and is in a good state of preservation, the old flint lock having been replaced by one of more modern manufacture. A full quota of two hundred and fifty soldiers was furnished during the Civil War, many of whom died on the field of battle fighting for the Union, while others still survive and occasionally live over again one of the most exciting epochs in the history of the country.
The fraternal societies are well represented in the township and a brief resume of the local branches is herewith presented.
Maquon Lodge, No. 256, I. O. O. F., was instituted April 29, 1858, and received its charter October 15, in the same year. The first officers were: L. W. Pennworth, N. G.; Allen Hanwrick, V. G.; William Davis, Warden; James L. Burkhalter, C. During the month of August, 1858, the lodge room was destroyed by fire and the lodge became disorganized until after the Civil War, when, on January 4, 1868, it was re-instituted with the following officers: Captain James L. Burkhalter, N. G.; R. D. Thompson, V. G.; J. M. Groves, Secretary; William Swigart, Treasurer. The present officers are: Orsin Swan, N. G.; George Tasker, V. G.; W. W. Harler, Treasurer. At present the local body has sixty-four members and the lodge hall is owned in conjunction with the Masons.
Maquon Lodge, No. 530, A. F. and A. M., was organized October 1, 1867, and worked under dispensation for nine months before receiving its charter. The first officers were: Robert Proseus, W. M.; William Swigart, S. W.; L. J. Dawdy, J. W. The present officers are: C. F. Herburg, W. M.; C. F. Maple, S. W.; G. G. Shearer, J. W. The membership numbers about fifty devoted brethren.
The Degree of Rebecca was organized April 8, 1883, with thirty-nine members, and meetings are held in the I. O. O. F. Hall. The first officers of this order were: Salome Wilkin, N. G.; Hannah Holoway, V. G. The present incumbents are: Roxy Donason, N. G.; Lydia Holoway, V. G.
Hancock Post, No. 552, G. A. R., was organized January 26, 1886, with twenty-three members. The present officers are: Albert Smith, Commander; John Jones, Adjutant.
Maquon Lodge, No. 171, K. of P., was organized by George Jones, deceased, and was instituted September 29, 1887. The first officers were D. G. Hopkins, C. C; C. E. Golliday, V. C; S. W. Love, Prelate; E. L. Housh, K. of R. and S.; C. S. Burnsides, M. of E.; E. D. Rambo. M. of F.: J. W. Davis, M. at A.; F. P. Hurd, Representative. The present officers are: A. A. Gifford, C. C; John Simpkins, V. C; C. P. McKenny, Prelate; E. L. Housh, M. of F. and K. of R. S.; Wilson Holoway, M. of E.; Samuel McWilliams, M. at A.; N. Donason, M. of W.; J. L. Libolt, Representative. The Knights of Pythias Lodge has always been in a prosperous condition, both financially and socially. There are twenty-two charter members, the total membership being thirty-eight.
The O. E. S. was organized May 9, 1891, by Mr. and Mrs. Hoover, of Washington, Illinois, with fourteen charter members, the total number of members today being thirty. Meetings are held in Masonic Hall. The first officers of this order were: Mrs. Emma Hurd, W. M.; G. G: Shearer, W. P.; C. F. Maple, Secretary. The present officers are: Miss Abbie Dixon, W. M.; G. G. Shearer, W. P.; Miss Mattie Hobkirk, Secretary.
Bertie Lenore Temple, No. 10, Rathbone Sisters, was organized December 28, 1893, by Grand Chief Mrs. Jennie Haws, of Decatur, Illinois, assisted by Mrs. Belle Quinlan, G. M., with fifteen charter members and thirteen Knights. There are now forty-one members. The first officers were: Leona Housh, M. E. C; Minnie Woods, E. S.; Lizzie Briggs, E. J.; Emma Hurd, M. of T. The present officers are: Belle Libolt, M. E. C; Alice Wasson, E. S.; Maggie Housh, E. J. Minnie Woods, M.; Florence Thurman, P. C. This temple was named in honor of Bertie Lenore Thurman, deceased. Meetings are held semi-monthly in the K. of P. Hall.
The first birth and the first death to occur in the township was that of Rebecca, a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Thurman, in 1831. The first marriage took place on Christmas, 1834, the contracting parties being Elisha Thurman and Anna Hall, and the first postmaster was William McGown, who held that position in 1837. The first bridge across Spoon River built in 1839, by Jacob Conser, but it subsequently collapsed by its own weight and was re-built by Mr. Conser the following year. It was located almost directly south of the village of Maquon. The second bridge was erected by Benoni Simpkins, in 1851, a few rods below the site of the present structure, which was built in 1873. The stone work was done by J. L. Burkhalter and John Hall, the wood work by Andy Johnson, and the iron work by Mr. Blakesly, of Ohio. The first distillery in Knox County was situated in Maquon and it furnished the cargo for the first shipment from Galesburg over the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad.
Maquon township has been remarkably free from criminality and has always possessed a high standard of morality, only two crimes of any importance having occurred in its history, of which a brief mention is here given. On March 17, 1883, Loren Thurman became engaged in a dispute with Jack Washabaugh and struck the latter with an ax, inflicting a mortal wound. Thurman was not punished. During the night of November 4, 1894, two masked burglars entered the house of Thomas Walter, located about two miles southwest of Maquon, and, with drawn revolvers, demanded his money. A desperate battle ensued, Mr. Walter using stove wood and chairs as weapons of defense. One of the burglars emptied his revolver during the struggle, one bullet striking Mr. Walter in the breast, but with the assistance of the latter's wife and daughter the men were finally driven from the house. One of the thieves was afterwards caught and sentenced to ten years in the penitentiary.
The following record of the township population has been made by the United States Census Bureau:
1860, one thousand, nine hundred and twenty;
1870, one thousand, four hundred and twenty-six;
1880, one thousand, four hundred and forty-eight;
1890, one thousand, three hundred and thirty.
Biographies for Maquon Township
Thomas J. Foster -- Andrew Clinton Housh -- Dr. Gilbert L. Knowles --Philemon B. Selby --Thomas R. Walter --William Henry Adams -- Jacob Booth -- Rev. Newton G. Clark -- Robert Henry Harper -- James Hobkirk -- John Jones -- Adam Kinser -- Augustas Melville Maple -- Maple Charles Fremont -- Harvey Ouderkirk -- Jesse Pickrel -- Elisha Barret Selby -- William Henry Selby -- George W. Simpkins -- Harry A. Smith -- William Swigart -- Thomas Ulysses Walter -- William Young
Thomas J. Foster was born in Indiana. April 3, 1822, and was educated in the schools of Madison County, Ohio. His parents, Joshua and Sarah (Silver) Foster, were natives of Pennsylvania. Mr. Foster was married in Knox County, Illinois, July 13, 1851, to Sarah Harriet Blakeslee, daughter of Sala and Lydia B. (Pierce) Blakeslee. Mr. Blakeslee came from Connecticut, and Mrs. Blakeslee from New Hampshire. Eleven children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Foster: Mary (deceased), Lydia, Rebecca Ann, James D. (deceased), Elizabeth, Lucy L. (deceased), Martha, Benjamin F., Joshua C, Ollie and Sala B. After residing three and a half years in Fulton County, Illinois, Mr. and Mrs. Foster removed to Knox County, and bought one hundred and sixty acres of land in Maquon Township, where Mr. Foster died May 28, 1882, and where Mrs. Foster still resides. Politically, Mr. Foster was a democrat. He was an attendant of the Methodist Episcopal Church, he was also a master Mason, and member of the Masonic lodge at Maquon, Illinois. Mrs. Foster came with her parents to Illinois
in 1835, when she was one year of age. They came by way of the Mississippi River, landing at Oquawka in Henderson County, and settled on a farm half a mile from Uniontown.
Andrew Clinton Housh, son of David and Elizabeth (Thornbrough) Housh, was born Oct. 16, 1834, near Greencastle, Putnam Co, IN. The progenitor of the Housh family settled in Virginia, where grandfather Adam Housh resided till he removed to Kentucky and located near Louisville. Farming was his vocation, and politically he was a democrat. There were born to him and his wife seven sons and four daughters: the sons were John, Andrew, Adam, George, Jacob, Thomas and David. Both Adam Housh and his wife lived to be very aged; she died in Kentucky.
David Housh, father of Andrew C., was born in Kentucky and removed to Putnam Co, IN. He married Elizabeth, a daughter of Joseph and Rebecca (Gibson) Thornbrough of the same state. The father of Joseph Thornbrough was a Quaker; Rebecca Gibson was of Welsh descent.
David came to Haw Creek Township, passing through the place where Maquon now stands, July 3, 1836. He was a prosperous farmer, and one of the leading men of his township. In politics he was a democrat, and held various township offices. He died at the old homestead in May 1879, at the age of 80 years. He owned at the time of his death about 2,600 acres of land. In religious belief he was a Universalist. He served in the War of 1812, though only twelve years of age, doing guard duty in one of the frontier forts in Indiana. Later he participated in many Indian skirmishes in his vicinity. He came to Illinois when Knox County was mostly a wilderness. Mrs. David Housh yet lives at the age of 89 years having been born near Greencastle, Indiana, March 1, 1810. David and Elizabeth Housh had thirteen children, seven of whom are now living: Mary, Rebecca, James O., Andrew Clinton, Elizabeth, Daniel M., and Eveline; all of them have been devoted to agricultural pursuits.
Mr. A. C. Housh was educated in the common schools of Knox County, and was brought up on the farm. In the year of 1858, with his father and three brothers, James O., Jacob C., and Daniel M., he entered upon a mercantile career in Maquon. They also engaged in the stock business and farming on a large scale. They had a general store, the largest in Maquon. A few years later he bought out his partners and continued the mercantile business alone for several years, selling out in 1896. He opened a bank in 1884 called the “A. C. Housh Bank of Maquon,” which he has conducted to the present time. He also owns and managed about 1,500 acres of farming land in Knox County, and also owns two farms containing 320 acres in Nebraska. In politics he is a democrat. He has been Township Clerk, Commissioner of Highways, School Director, and member of the Town Council. He is a member of the Masonic Fraternity, A. F. and A. M., Lodge No 530, in Maquon.. He is liberal minded in all things, and is worthy the esteem and confidence of his fellow citizens.
Mr. Housh was married at Knoxville, Nov. 11, 1857, to Adeline, daughter of Peter F. and Elizabeth (Fink) Ouderkirk. Mr. and Mrs. Housh have two children: Emma F. and E. La Fayette.
Dr. Gilbert L. Knowles, son of William and Lucinda (Robinson) Knowles, was born Aug 13, 1846, in Macomb, McDonough Co, IL. The genealogy of the family has its origin in England, and has included among its members many who were prominent in the world of art and letters. David Knowles, the grandfather of Gilbert L., was born and educated in Maryland, and moved to Washington, D. C., where he was a contractor and builder. He was married to Jane Roby. Four children were born to them: William, Robert, Mary and Hamilton. Mr. Knowles was a whig. He died in Washington at the age of 65. The sons of this family were all mechanics. William, the oldest, moved with his family to Macomb, IL in 1839, where he worked at his trade of contractor and builder. He built the first substantial dwelling in McDonough County. He died in 1873, aged 73 years. His wife died in 1877, at the age of 67. They had six children: Charles, James, Robinson, Jane, Gilbert L., and Mary. James was drowned in the Sheridan River, Missouri, in 1858.
Gilbert L. Knowles was educated in the schools of Macomb and at Hedding College, Abingdon, which institution he entered at the age of 24, and from which he graduated with the degree of B. S. While at Abingdon he read medicine with Dr. Reece, who was one of the most prominent physicians in the Military Tract. Mr. Knowles entered Rush Medical College of Chicago in 1878 and graduated in 1881. In the spring of 1881, he located in Knoxville, and moved to Maquon in the fall of the same year.
Dr. Knowles is indebted to his own untiring efforts for his success in life, having earned, unaided, the expenses for his literary and professional education. He has an extensive and lucrative practice, and enjoys the confidence and esteem of his fellow townspeople.
Dr. Knowles is a republican, and held the office of Coroner in Knox County for six years, his term of service ending in the fall of 1892.
Philemon B. Selby, son of George and Ruth (Allen) Selby, was born in Lancaster, Ohio, in 1809. His father was born in Virginia, and, being in the employ of the Government, removed to Mackinaw where he married a second time, and died when on a visit to his children in Ohio. Mr. Selby's mother was the granddaughter of Dr. Silas Allen who served in the Revolutionary War; his early life was passed in the State of New York, but he removed to Ohio and died at Royalton in that state.
Mr. Selby came to Knox County in 1834. Mr. Elisha Barrett, who married Mr. Selby's sister Clista, had selected a mill site on Spoon River. Mr. Selby bought the land on which the mill was built, and, assisted by his brother Nelson, operated it for many years. He was also a farmer, on rather an extensive scale, and owned nine quarter sections of land at the time of his death in 1868.
Mr. Selby was married at the home of David Housh in Haw Creek Township, November 12, 1837, to Elizabeth Gullett , daughter of Joshua and Barbara Housh Gullett. Joshua Gullett was born in Delaware and brought up in North Carolina. He was a farmer by occupation, and settled in Washington County, Indiana, where he was married in a block house which served as a fort. His wife, Barbara, was a daughter of Adam Housh of Kentucky. They came to Maquon Township about 1840.
Five children born to Mr. and Mrs. Selby are now living: Elisha, Mrs. Amanda Summers, Mrs. Salina Clark, Henry, and Mrs. Ruth Bigelow.
Mr. Selby was a dealer in stock, buying and selling cattle, taking at one time a drove of three hundred and sixty to Ohio and swimming them across the Illinois River below Peoria Lake. He was a democrat politically, and was a friendly, broadminded man of many good qualities, both mental and moral, and highly respected by the community in which he lived.
Mrs. Elizabeth Selby, who survives him, is a woman of sterling character. In early life in Indiana she learned to weave cloth, coverlets and carpets, and followed the same vocation after coming to Knox County with her Uncle David Housh. After her marriage to Mr. Selby she lived in a double shanty made of slabs, and later lived for two years in a frame house, and then moved into a log cabin, at the old Selby homestead, where she lived eight years. When her husband went to Ohio with a large drove of cattle, Mrs. Selby accompanied him with their two children, and cooked for the cattle drivers. They returned with three loads of cloth which they sold in Knox County, and with the proceeds bought more cattle to forward to the same market. After the death of her husband she managed her estate wisely, having a large stock of horses, sheep and swine on her numerous broad acres.
Thomas R. Walter, son of John W. and Hannah (Sumner) Walter, was born Sept 30, 1817, in Highland Co, OH. His father, born in Virginia, was a soldier in the War of 1812; his mother was from South Carolina. He was third in a family of ten children: Betsey, William J., Thomas R., Jincy, Lettice, James, Bowater, John W., Cynthia, and Richeson C.
Thomas R. was educated in the common schools of Ohio, and came to Illinois at the age of nineteen. He was married in Maquon Township, Aug. 8, 1854, to Sarah J. Stephenson, daughter of Edward and Mary (Keys) Stephenson, the former of whom was born in Maryland, the latter in Delaware. Sarah J. was born in Franklin County, Ohio, Sept. 24, 1835, and was the first of a family of six children: Sarah J., William, John, James K., Lewis N., and Edward O. The Stephenson family settled first in Haw Creek Township and afterward in Maquon Township where the parents died.
Ten children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Walter: Vianna, Mary E. (deceased), Ethzelda, two who died in infancy, Lyman, Elnora, Thomas Ulysses, Laura B., and Bert E.
Viana was married to B. F. Adams of Peoria; Ethzelda was married to Frank Pickrel and died in Haw Creek Township, June 2, 1881. Lyman is a farmer in Maquon Township, and the other three live with their mother on the old homestead.
Mr. Walter first purchased 160 acres of land which he improved with good buildings and other fixtures, subsequently adding to his possessions till he owned nearly 1,500 acres of well cultivated land in Knox County, besides property in Maquon. He was Road Commissioner, and also a School Director many years. In politics he was a republican. He died May 28, 1897.
Mr. Walter was a good farmer and a skillful business man; a hard worker, but an easy taskmaster; a supporter of the church, though not a church member; a friend of education; a good neighbor; a firm friend; a kind husband and father; a man of integrity and honor, “whose word was as good as his bond” a man respected by all who knew him for his good qualities of head and heart.
William Henry Adams - William Henry Adams: Farmer; Maquon Township; born in Rome, New York, January 22, 1844, educated in Knox County. His father, Andrew Adams, was a native of Ireland; his mother, Sarah (Coonradt), was born in Rome, New York. His maternal grandparents were Stephen and Jane Coonradt; his paternal grandparents were born in Ireland. January 29, 1880, Mr. Adams was married, in Maquon Township to Mary E. Jacobs; they have one child, Lottie. In religion, Mr. Adams is Orthodox. In politics, he is a Democrat.
Jacob Booth; Maquon, Knox County. Illinois; was born in Penobscot County, Maine, June 1. 1821. He was the son of Isaac and Mary Booth. Isaac Booth was born July 7, 1792, and married Mary Grinnell December 6. 1812. Mary Grinnell was born April 30, 1795. He died April 30, 1852; and his wife, April 12. 1836. She was the daughter of Royl Grinnell, a Revolutionary soldier, under General Hull. Jacob Booth came to Sangamon. County, Illinois, in 1839, and to Knox County, in 1844. He was married to Malinda Housh, daughter of George P. Housh, September 19, 1844. Malinda Booth was born March 17, 1821, and died June 9, 1869. Jacob Booth's second marriage was to Edith Martin, of Galesburg, Illinois, October 24, 1869. She was the daughter of Martin and Lucinda Martin. Mr. Martin died in St. Joseph, Missouri, in 1844. Mrs. Martin died in 1898, aged nearly ninety-five years. Mr. and Mrs. Booth have one adopted son, Frank Booth, of Abingdon, Illinois. Mr. Booth is a republican, and cast his first vote for Henry Clay in 1844. He and his wife are Christian Scientists, and are members of the mother church in Boston; and also members of the branch church at Maquon, Illinois, and were students of Mrs. Janet T. Colman, one of Mrs. Mary Baker G. Eddy's loyal students. Mr. and Mrs. Booth are faithful workers in the cause of Christian Science.
Rev. Newton G. Clark
CLARK, REV. NEWTON G: Minister of the Gospel; Maquon; born July 18, 1840, in Warren County, Illinois. He is son of Rev. William M. Clark, who came to Knox County in 1833, and in 1834 settled on the present site of Gilson, where he cultivated one thousand acres of land. Three of his sons were Methodist Episcopal preachers. His parents came from Kentucky. N. G. Clark was educated in the common schools and at Hedding College, Abingdon, Knox County. He entered Hedding at sixteen years of age. August 2, 1862, he enlisted in the Company F, Eighty-sixth Regiment, Illinois Volunteers; he also served in Company I, Thirty -sixth Regiment, and was honorably discharged in June, 1865. He returned and worked on his home farm till 1874, when he entered the Methodist Episcopal ministry. He was ordained by Bishop Scott at Carthage, Illinois, and his "charges" were at French Creek, Knox County, Sunbeam, Mercer County; Wataga, Knox County; Rock River Valley, Rock Island County; Hamilton, Hancock County; Lewistown, Fulton County; Walnut Grove, Hancock County; Cameron, Warren County; Burnside and Durham, Hancock County; Herman, Knox County; North Henderson, Mercer County; Maquon, Knox County; Victoria, Knox county, Williamsfield and Elba Center, Knox County; Douglas, Knox County, in 1894, after which he retired from active service. He moved to Maquon in April, 1892. In 1896 be bought a hardware store and added a department for groceries. Mr. Clark was married March 11, 1860, to Anna West, daughter of Samuel and Mary A. West, who were early settlers in Knox County.
Robert Henry Harper, Farmer and Stockman; Maquon Township; born in Canton, Fulton County, Jan. 8, 1848. His parents were John and Ellen (Robinson) Harper, natives of Cumberland Co, PA; his grandfather Harper was a native of Belfast, Ireland and of Scotch descent.
His father came to Canton in 1846 and is now living in Farmington in the same county.
At sixteen years of age, Robert H. Harper enlisted in the Eleventh Illinois Cavalry, Colonel Robert G. Ingersoll commanding; he served in this regiment one year and nine months and then, until the close of the war, was with Burnside in Mississippi and Tennessee.
In the fall of 1868, Mr. Harper came to Maquon Township. He now owns 636 acres of land and is engaged in shipping stock to the Chicago market.
Sept. 15, 1869, he was married to Mary A. Hunter, daughter of Judge J. M. Hunter. There are five children: Robert K., Emma E., Mary, John, and Harry. In religion Mr. Harper is a Methodist. In politics he is a democrat. He was elected Supervisor of the Township in the spring of 1899.
James Hobkirk, Farmer; Maquon Township; born Feb 9, 1827 in Conoble, Scotland, where he was educated, and learned to be a baker. His father, Robert Hobkirk, spent four years in America and was born near Hawick, Scotland; his mother, Mary (Armstrong) was born in Conoble. They died in Scotland. Robert Hobkirk’s father, William, was lost in the wilds of Canada. Mary Armstrong Hobkirk’s parents, William Armstrong and Fannie (Moffat) were Scotch; the former was born in Conoble.
In May 1849, James Hobkirk was married to Jane Beattie in Scotland, and in August reached Maquon and took up farming, although he had previously been a baker. He rented a farm until 1860 when he bought 83 acres in Haw Creek Township, where he raised stock. In 1888 he moved to Maquon where he bought five acres of improved land. Between the years 1870 and 1880, he was twice elected Justice of the Peace, but having at that time no political aspirations, declined to serve; he is now, however, serving his second term in that office. He has taken a deep interest in educational matters and was School Director for 17 years. In religion he is a Presbyterian. In politics he is a democrat.
His wife Jane (Beattie) died Feb. 7, 1897, aged 72 years. They had two children, Mary and Martha. The former is now the home-keeper; the latter is a teacher in Haw Creek Township.
John Jones, Maquon; Farmer; born in Rochester, NY, Aug. 12, 1828; educated in Allegheny Co, NY. His father, Peter Jones, and his paternal grandparents, Phineas and Hannah (Harris) Jones, were natives of Vermont. His mother, Caroline (Fink) was a native of New York, and her father, John Fink, was born in the Mohawk Valley; John Fink’s wife, Sarah (Crane) was a native of England. Peter Jones was twelve years old when the family moved from Vermont to Rochester, NY. Mr. and Mrs. Peter Jones’ children are: Josiah E.; Horace; John; Sarah (deceased); Walter; Catherine; Mary A. (deceased); and Warren.
John Jones came to Knox County with his parents in 1835 and settled in Maquon, which was then a wilderness. The nearest mill was 50 miles away, but one was later built at a distance of 20 miles. In August 1862, Mr. Jones enlisted in the Eighty-third IL. Volunteer, and was elected Second Lieutenant in Company G. He served three years and came home as First Lt. He helped organize a colored regiment at Fort Donelson, and was offered the position of Lieutenant-Colonel but declined. At Fort Donelson he acted as Adjutant General for four months and was then made Quartermaster of the Post. He was a strong abolitionist, and spoke his views fearlessly.
After the war he farmed until 1876, when he located in Maquon where he has been Postmaster for fifteen years. He spent four years in California as a miner and merchant. Mr. Jones is a Liberal in religion. In politics he is a republican.
Nov. 2, 1854, Mr. Jones was married in Knoxville to Mary R. White, a daughter of John White of Knoxville, an early settler. Five of their children are now living: Mrs. Hulda C. Penman, Mrs. Mary W. Embick, Mrs. Kate M. Gifford, Emma H., and Robert C.
Mrs. Jones died July 5, 1888, aged fifty-one years.
Adam Kinser, Farmer, Soldier, and Miner; born in Haw Creek Township, Mar 1, 1839 and educated in Maquon. His father, Jesse Kinser, and his grandfather Elisha Kinser, were born at Lynchburg, VA. Mr. Jesse Kinser was a farmer who went to Indiana where he married Phoebe Housh, a native of Lawrence Co, IN, and the daughter of Adam Housh. Mr. Jesse Kinser came to Knox Co. in 1837 and settled in the northeast corner of Chestnut Township.
Mr. Adam Kinser was engaged in farming until his enlistment in Company A., Fourteenth Illinois Cavalry. After an honorable discharge at Camp Nelson, Kentucky, Dec. 13, 1864, he returned home and has since been granted a pension for injuries received during the war. In the spring of 1866, he journeyed overland to Virginia City, Montana, his company having several skirmishes with the Indians en route. After six years of rough but enjoyable mining life he returned to Knox County but went west again to western Missouri and eastern Kansas, where he successfully invested some money in a threshing machine and dealt in real estate for several years.
Nov. 27, 1872 he was married to Olive Straley at West Point, Missouri. She is the daughter of Elias and Elizabeth (Edge) Straley of Virginia and Ohio, respectively. Elias Straley kept a hotel in Independence, Missouri, and then began farming in Miami Co, KS.
Mr. and Mrs. Kinser have six children: William C., Alva A., Maud May, Emma Myrtle, Robert L., and Cecil K.
On the death of his father, he returned to Knox County and has resided in Maquon since 1880. After a short period of business life he retired and in 1897 was re-elected Police Justice, an office which he has filled with great tact and ability. In politics he is a republican.
Augustas Melville Maple -- Farmer and Merchant; born at Cabin Creek, Louis Co, Kentucky, April 9, 1819. His father, David Maple, and his grandfather, John Maple, were born in New Jersey, where the latter was married to Miss Thompson. Mr. David Maple was married to Mary Buchanan of Pennsylvania, a first cousin of President James Buchanan. He engaged in farming in Kentucky until his death; his wife died at her son’s home in Maquon in 1856. Mr. A. M. Maple’s grandparents lived to be very old, Mr. John Maple reaching the age of 86, and Mrs. Buchanan, who was a Pennsylvanian, that of 85 years.
Mr. Maple was educated in a log school house, and until twenty-eight years of age managed the old Maple farm and a large sugar camp in Kentucky. He sold out, went to Canton, Illinois, where he clerked for his brother, A.T. Maple for a year, when he and John Morton bought out his brother’s interest. After a partnership of three years, Mr. Maple purchased Mr. Morton’s interest and moved to Maquon, where, until selling his store to his son in 1896, he was successfully engaged in a general mercantile business.
April 4, 1851, he married Mary Sheaff, of Canton; they had three children: Harriett Louise, now Mrs. Hayden of Henry County; Charles Fremont, of Maquon, and Abraham Lincoln of Hulls, Illinois.
Mrs. Maple’s parents were Phillip and Harriett (Foreman) Sheaff; her grandparents were William and Mary (Miller) Sheaff of Pennsylvania, and her great-grandparents, who as children came from Germany on the same ship, were Phillip and Mary Sheaff.
Mr. Maple and his wife belonged to the Christian Church and for twenty years he was Superintendent of the Sunday school. They have been leaders in church and social work and he has energetically opposed the liquor element for fifty years. He is a republican in politics, and has held nearly all local offices.
Maple Charles Fremont -- Merchant; Maquon, Illinois; born in Maquon, July 1857, where he was educated. His father, A. M. Maple, was a native of Kentucky; his mother, Mary (Sheaff), of Pennsylvania. His paternal grandfather David Maple, and also the paternal great-grandfather, John Maple, were natives of New Jersey. His paternal grandmother, Mary (Buchanan) was born in PA. His maternal grandparents, Phillip and Harriett Sheaff, were born in Pennsylvania and Delaware. Mr. Maple’s maternal great-grandparents, William and Mary Sheaff, were natives of PA.
March, 1897, in Knoxville, Mr. Maple was married to Eva J. Chapin. In religion, Mr. Maple is a Protestant; in politics he is a republican.
Harvey Ouderkirk -- Farmer; Maquon Township; born at Maquon, Dec. 15, 1838; educated in Knox County. His parents, Jacob and Nancy (Waffel) Ouderkirk, were born in New York, and came to Maquon in the fall of 1835, accompanied by his father and their oldest daughter. After settling on a farm south of Maquon, they moved to Haw Creek Township, where he died in 1882, aged 70 years. His wife died in Missouri in 1892, aged 75. Their children were: Polly Ann, deceased; Mary J., widow of George Thurman; Harvey; Charles S.; Salinda, deceased; Welman J.; Emily E., wife of Dwight Joiner; Mrs. Harriet Barbero, deceased; and Martha, deceased.
Jacob Ouderkirk’s parents, Frederick, a farmer in New York, and Elizabeth (Bond) were natives of New York. Nancy Waffel’s parents were Henry and Elizabeth Waffel.
Harvey Ouderkirk was raised on a farm and had few advantages, but by improving his opportunities has acquired a fair education. He was married to Sarah E. Cook, Dec. 13, 1862 in Haw Creek Township. They have four children: Henry J.; Clara E., wife of Frank Briggs; Oscar B.; and Elnora E. The last two are at home. After his marriage he settled in a log cabin in Maquon Township, and though his farm was a rented one and corn selling at eight cents a bushel delivered, he succeeded in buying land in Chestnut Township. He now owns four farms, aggregating 417 acres. Nov. 2, 1880 he moved to a fine farm one and a half miles west of Maquon. He has dealt successfully in stock.
Mrs. Ouderkirk is a daughter of John and Hattie (Holloway) Cook, who came to Knox Co. in 1848. They were members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, but he afterwards joined the United Brethren. He died in Kansas.
Mr. Ouderkirk, though poor, contributed corn to the Kansas sufferers in 1860. In politics he is a republican and has held minor offices.
Jesse Pickrel, Farmer; Maquon Township; born in Jackson County, Ohio, Dec. 23, 1811; educated in the common schools. His parents were Solomon and Anna (Griffith) Pickrel of Virginia. They had seven sons and seven daughters.
Jesse Pickrel was married Nov. 2, 1834 in Athens Co, OH., to Miss Rosa Johnson, who was born Aug. 30, 1816. Their children are: Mrs. Sarah Ward (deceased); Mrs. Caroline Davis; Jesse, of Knoxville; Mrs. Ann Austin; Mrs. Melissa Baird; Milton, of Knoxville, and Douglas, who lives on the homestead, in Haw Creek Township.
Mr. Pickrel was reared on a farm in Ohio, and came to Haw Creek Township in 1847 where he bought 160 acres of land. At the time of his death he had 460 acres. He left the management of the farm largely to his wife, who was a woman of rare gifts, good judgment, and kind heart. She brought up a family of sons who are exceptionally good business men, and she takes a deep interest in the welfare of those with whom she comes in contact.
She is a member of the United Brethren Church. Mr. Pickrel was a democrat.
Elisha Barret Selby - Farmer; Maquon Township; born Nov. 3, 1839 at the old mill-site in Haw Creek Township; educated in Knox County.
Jan. 12, 1860 he married Sarah E. Barbaro in Chestnut Township. They have had eight children: Philemon B.; Mrs. Rhoda A. Dennis; Mrs. Delia Boyington (deceased); Nelson E.; Lyman; Mrs. Floy Lawrence; Edith; and Raymond. The last two are at home. Mrs. Selby is a daughter of Frederick and Malinda (Bartlett) Barbaro, who came to Knox County in 1850. Mr. Barbaro was born July 4, 1808 and is still living at the age of 91.
Mr. Selby lives in Maquon Township, Section 2, where he has 320 acres of land. He has also 42 acres on French Creek. He has been a farmer all his life. In politics Mr. Selby is a democrat.
William Henry Selby - Maquon; Farmer and Stockman; born Jan 30, 1851, on the old Selby homestead in Maquon; educated in Maquon and in the Galesburg Business College.
March 11, 1885, he was married to Florence Isabel Allen, daughter of William and America A. (Maxey) Allen, old settlers of Knox County. Mr. and Mrs. Selby have one son, William Floyd Selby.
He settled on the home farm and later built a house on the northwest corner of Section 2. He has been successful as a farmer and stock man, and now owns 400 acres of land. He has always been interested in fine stock, and has registered standard horses, hogs, and cattle, and has taken premiums at various local and State fairs. His running horses have been famous in Illinois and the adjoining States, his horse “Izell” having taken more premiums than any other horse in the county. Out of seventeen starts on the Ohio circuit he got first money fourteen times.
On his farm, known as “Living Spring”, he has about forty head of fine horses. Mr. Selby has done much for the advancement of fine stock in Knox County. In politics he is a democrat.
George W. Simpkins - Farmer; Maquon Township; born in Pennsylvania, December 17, 1832. His parents Horatio and Mary Rice Simpkins, and his grandparents, Ananias and Rachel Simpkins, came from Pennsylvania. He was married in Haw Creek Township to Mary McCoy, the daughter of in Haw Creek Township. Their children are; Andrew; Anne, the wife of David Barbero; Nathan; and Henry. His second marriage, July 31, 1886, was with Mrs. Elizabeth Moore Pumyea the daughter of Andrew and Margaret Steinbrook Moore. Mrs. Simpkins has two children by her former marriage, William Allen and Edith Pumyea. Mr. Simpkins was born on a farm, and has always been a farmer. After his marriage he rented a farm for two years, one-half mile east of Maquon; he then rented a farm of his father two miles farther east; he then lived for five years three miles north-west of Maquon, after which he moved to Decatur County, Iowa, where he remained one year and returned in 1859. He afterwards farmed five years in Elba Township, and fourteen years four miles west of Maquon. He then removed to Section 21, where he has one hundred and fifty-seven acres of finely improved land; he also has one hundred and sixty acres on Section 15, and four town lots. Mr. Simpkins is a democrat. He has been a member of the Grange for five years.
Harry A. Smith - Farmer; Maquon, Illinois; born Jan 15, 1868 in Fulton Co, IL; educated in the district schools. His father, William A. Smith, was a native of Pennsylvania; his mother, Sarah E. Smith, was born in Illinois. His paternal grandparents, Elijah and Susan Smith, were natives of Pennsylvania. His maternal grandfather, Andrew Pinegar, was born in Kentucky. Hi maternal grandmother’s Christian name was Matilda. The paternal great-grandmother’s family name was Brown; that of the maternal great-grandfather, Marchant.
Nov. 24, 1892, at Rapatee, Mr. Smith was married to Lillie M. Norval. They have had three children: Ethel, Halsey, and Nellie. In politics Mr. Smith is a democrat.
William Swigart - Farmer and stockman; Maquon; born in Pickaway County, Ohio, August 15, 1822. He is of German descent. His father, Daniel Swigart, was a native of Lancaster County, Pennsylvania; his mother, Elizabeth (Conrad) Swigart, was born in Greenbrier County, Virginia. Mr. Swigart came from Marion County, Ohio, to Knox County, in November, 1852. For a time he sent occasional shipments of grain to Chicago, but in 1862, he engaged permanently in the grain trade. For many years he conducted a lumber yard, which he now rents to other parties. In 1878, he opened a general grocery store in partnership with J. B. Boynton, which business he still conducts. In 1881, he opened the bank which bears his name. Mr. Swigart is a member of the I.O.O.F. in Maquon, and is also a Mason, holding membership in the Maquon lodge, in Eureka chapter, No. 98, of Yates City, in Knoxville Council, No. 1, and also in the Peoria Consistory of Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rites. He owns three farms in Haw Creek Township and fourteen others scattered in various townships and counties. In all he possesses two thousand six hundred acres of improved land. October 21, 1847, Mr. Swigart was married to Eliza J. McHenry, in Wyandotte County, Ohio; she died in 1861, leaving four children: John; Jane, now the wife of O. D. Cooke, of Hinsdale, Illinois; Daniel, now living in Chicago; and Alonzo, deceased. His second wife was Susan Stewart, who was born in Indiana, and died in 1875. She was the mother of six children, of whom the survivors are: Elizabeth, wife of Charles Hartsook, of Haw Creek; Sarah, wife of F. C. Bearmore, Maquon; and Lincoln, of Knoxville. Mr. Swigart was married May 16, 1876, to his present wife, Elizabeth Bull, who is a native of Fairfield County, Ohio. Mr. Swigart has held numerous local offices and has been Township Treasurer since 1863. He supports the worship of the Methodist Episcopal and the United Brethren denominations. In politics, he is a republican.
Thomas Ulysses Walter - Farmer; Maquon Township, where he was born March 30, 1869; educated in the common schools of Maquon Township. He was married, near Gilson, July 15, 1891, to Bessie Leona Baird , daughter of Anthony W. and Melisa (Pickrel) Baird, of Haw Creek Township. They have one child, Harold Baird, born January 8, 1894. Mr. Walter was reared on the home farm, and received his training under the instruction of one of the best farmers in Knox County. He settled on a farm of one hundred and sixty acres, to which he later added eighty acres. He is successful and highly respected. Mr. Walter is a Republican.
William Young - Farmer; Maquon; son of John and Margaret (Boyce) Young, who were natives of Derry County, Ireland. He comes of a Protestant family of probably Scotch extraction, who can trace their descent through many centuries. By trade, the father was a weaver, and for seven years William colored the cloth which his father wove. The parents died at an advanced age in Philadelphia.
William Young was married in Philadelphia, Oct. 12, 1847, to Elizabeth (Gilmore), daughter of Douglas and Mary (Hunter) Gilmore, who were natives of Derry County, Ireland.
Mr. and Mrs. Young had eight children: Mary, deceased; John; Margaret; Mrs. Martha Payton; James; Mrs. Elizabeth Swan; Mrs. Anna Clark; and William, who died in infancy.
Mr. Young came west to Wheeling, VA, and worked for three years in a foundry. In 1854 he came to Fulton County and then to Peoria County, IL. In 1856 he came to Knox County and farmed ten years in Salem Township. After the war he bought land in Maquon Township and is now the owner of 540 acres of good land.
Salem Township History
SALEM TOWNSHIP, By L. A. Lawrence
Salem lies in the southeast corner of Knox County and is bounded on the east by Peoria County and on the south by Fulton County. There are only a few townships that have as fine physical features or as marked beauty of outline as this. Commencing at a point known as Kent’s Mound, on Section 12, which rises forty or fifty feet above the common level, a somewhat irregular ridge, sometimes called “divide”, runs through the entire township, from east to west, taking the name of Pease Hill in its center and terminating at Uniontown, on Section 13, at its extreme western edge.
Salem was organized under the general law relating to townships on April 5, 1853, by an election held in a log school house near Michael Egan’s home, on Section 20. S. S. Buffum was chosen Supervisor; William Gray, Clerk; J. E. Knable, Assessor; D. Waldo, Collector; T. A. Croy, G. W. Euke and J. Jordan, Justices; M. B. Mason, A. Kent and J. E. Duel, Highway Commissioners; J. Taylor and D. Waldo, Constables, and G. Christmas, Overseer of the Poor.
John Sloan has been the supervisor most frequently re-elected, having served eight terms of one year each, at different periods, and others of from one year to three years.
The first settlement was made by Alexander Taylor, on the northeast quarter of Section 6, in October, 1834. He was soon followed by Felix and John Thurman, Henry and Avery Dalton, Solomon Sherwood, Benoni Hawkins, William Kent, John Darnell, John Haskins and Sala Blakesbee, most of whom brought their families with them.
The first birth recorded was that of little Laura, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. John Haskins, in 1835, and the first to be joined in wedlock were Avery and Delilah Dalton, cousins, who were married in 1855, by Squire Mark Thurman. The same year occurred the first death, that of Andrew Corbin.
The early settlers brought their religious faith and practice with them and held prayer meetings from time to time at convenient places. Their pious devotion attracted the attention of Rev. Henry Somers, who visited the settlement in November 1835 or 36, and preached the first sermon at the home of William Kent, on Section 13.
The first saw mill was built by James Mason on Kickapoo Creek, in Section 13, in 1835 or 36; another, a little later, by Anderson Corbin, on the same stream, on Section 14.
The people of Salem have shown an enlightened public spirit in the matter of good highways, and have provided a system of good, substantial, iron bridges, set upon firm stone abutments, over all the principal streams with stone culverts over most of the smaller ones. The question of constructing, grading and repairing the highways, was many years ago, by vote, left solely to the discretion of the highway commissioners. The result has been a uniform system of grading, which with thoroughly under-draining, affords the best roads obtainable on prairie soil without resort to the Macadam process.
Salem has an abundant supply of bituminous coal, which has been mined for local use from an early date along the banks of the streams skirting the north and south sides of the township. The most productive mines are found along the Kickapoo and Littler’s Creeks. The first mining of which any record had been preserved was successfully undertaken by Pittman and Barlow, blacksmiths, of Farmington, Fulton County, who, in 1832, took coal from the soil of Section 25, for use in their own forges. Avery Dalton was the first to mine to any appreciable extent for commercial purposes. He began operations on the same section three years later. Several drillings at Yates City have developed extensive and valuable veins, at depths varying from one hundred and twenty-five feet upward.
Not the least important among the industries which have helped to elevate Salem Township to its present position among the foremost in the county is that of stock-growing. Many of the most progressive farmers make the breeding of improved varieties a special feature of their farm work. Among the prominent stock raisers may be named: N. G. Daughmer and Son, D. Corey and Son, J. M. Corey, H. A. and James Sloan, E. H. Ware, Frank Runyon, A. D. Moore, and R. J. McKeighan. The efforts of these men and others who might be mentioned have resulted in elevating the standard established for fine stock to as high a point in Salem as will be found in the best farming sections of the State.
There are ten school districts in Salem, numbered in order to the ninth, the tenth being called Center. The last named is located on School Section 16. Of the ten school buildings, two, in Districts 3 and 4 are of brick, the others are frame. The first school house was located on Section 13, in 1838, in what is now District No. 1, and the first school was taught by Abiel Drew. The second school was erected in either the same or the succeeding year, on the southwest quarter of Section 6. It was of logs, and had been originally put up by James Hogue for a dwelling. Section 6 now forms a part of District No. 2. Of the ten schools, only the one in Yates City is graded.
From the County Superintendent's report for 1898 the following figures are taken:
Number males under twenty-one years in the township....................331
Number females under twenty-one years in the township.................319
Males between six and twenty-one In the township.........................232
Females between six and twenty-one in the township......................233
Tax levy for support of schools in 1898..................................$6,300.00
Value of school property in the township...............................11,600.00
Estimated value of school libraries---- 2,200.00
Amount paid all teachers in the township ...............................4,601.70
Every school in Salem has the benefit of a library of greater or lesser size and value, which owe their origin to W. L. Steele and the history of their establishment may be told in a few words. In September, 1878, Mr. Steele, then Principal of a graded school in Yates City, proposed to the School Board, composed of Dr. J.D. Holt, J. M. Taylor, and L. A. Lawrence, the organization of a school and public library, to be under the control of the board, and open at all times to pupils of the schools, and to the pupils upon payment of a membership fee. The scheme also contemplated the solicitation of donations of books and money. The plan was adopted. The movement commanded public support for the first, and the library has now grown to large dimensions and is one of the best in the State for a community of that size.
In the Civil War 182 served from this township, 151 served in various regiments of infantry, numbered from the 7th to the 132nd. Twenty nine are credited as having served in the 7th, 11th, 12th, and 14th Cavalry, and 2 in the Second Illinois Artillery. In addition, several are known to have enlisted in regiments from other states, notably in the Eighth Missouri Infantry, viz: William S. Kleckner, Frank Murphy, Frank and Fred Hamilton, Henry Ledgerman, James Dundas, Chester Vickery, George Frost, William Hull, William Taylor, and William Reed, besides, probably others, many of whom have never been credited, either to Knox County or to Salem Township. James H. Walton was probably the first enlisted man from Salem, having joined the 7th Infantry from Yates City, which was the first regiment organized in 1861. A draft was ordered to complete Salem’s quota under the last call for men in 1864, and four names were drawn.
Salem’s record in the war with Spain, 1898, is an extraordinary one, the township having furnished fourteen men out of a possible 150 for the whole county, the most of whom served in Company C., of the Sixth Infantry. The Mexican War of 1846 had one representative here, in the person of R. B. Corbin, who served in the Third United States Dragoons.
In 1837 a post office was established, called Middle Grove, near what was later Uniontown, Henry Merrell being placed in charge. It is said that Thomas Morse offered a whole day’s labor to secure a letter on which the postage had not been paid, money being then very scarce, but his offer was refused.
Sala Blakesbee is credited with erecting the first frame building for a barn, in 1837, on Section 19, but it was destroyed by fire the same year.
The underground railroad had a well defined “route” through Salem in ante-bellum days, and many a poor slave, fleeing for life and liberty had occasion to thank the “officers” thereof for their active vigilance in his behalf.
The moral and religious advancement of the people has kept even pace with their material development, as is shown by their work in the early churches and in kindred societies. In early days, preaching services were held in School houses, and all convenient places.
[*End of previous transcription*]
[Additional data transcribed by K.T.]
The Salem Township Bible Society Auxiliary to the American Bible Society was organized at the Cox school house, in District No. 6, April 8, 1855, with the following officers: George Reisinger, President; M. B. Mason, Vice President; Zeno E. Spring, Secretary; and Luther Goold. Treasurer. A constitution was adopted and a depository of Bibles established. Copies were sold, and were given to those not able to buy, money was contributed and the work continued regularly until 1880, when it lapsed until 1885. In that year the society was reorganized by electing W. B. Matthews, President; J. M. Cool, Vice President; Nettie Jaquith, Secretary; and L. A. Lawrence, Treasurer; the meeting therefor being held in the Presbyterian Church of Yates City. The work has continued regularly since. Its object is to place a Bible in, or within easy reach of, every family in the township. The present officers are: Edwin Ekstrand; President, Paul Montgomery, Vice President; Lizzie Speckard, Secretary; and A. J. Lawrence, Treasurer.
Another society, of equal or greater influence, has been the Salem Township Sabbath School Association, which was formed about 1870. Its purpose was the establishing and maintaining of Sabbath schools in the school districts not under the immediate influence of the churches. No records of its labors were kept until 1892. Beside maintaining its home work, it has contributed sums varying from twenty-five to sixty dollars annually for the county work in the same direction. Its active workers have been W. B. and W. W. Matthews, J. M. Cool, Thomas Terry, L. A. Lawrence, Mrs. Emma Lawrence, Mrs. R. J. McKeighan and many others, representing the various churches. The present officers are A. J. Lawrence, President; E. Extrand, Vice President; Miss Maud Fletcher, Secretary and Treasurer. Township conventions are held annually.
Douglas (formerly Summit), Salem's second village in order of date, was laid out on the northeast corner of the northeast quarter of Section No. 7 and the southeast corner of the southeast quarter of Section No. 6, by William K. Ware, on October 17, 1856. It was surveyed by E. T. Byram, and the grant of the streets, alleys and public grounds to the public was acknowledged by Mr. Ware before William McCowah, Justice of the Peace, on November 22, 1856. It sprang into existence as a result of the building of the old Peoria and Oquawka Railroad. It has probably two hundred and fifty inhabitants, and has always been a lively trading point in general merchandise, having two good general stores, excellent facilities for handling grain and stock, and a blacksmith and repair shop, and being surrounded by a prosperous farming community.
The Methodists built a commodious house of worship here in 1872, which was dedicated in July, 1873, Rev. Mr. Hill, the pastor, officiating. A Sabbath school has been regularly maintained by the church.
Douglas has a two-room school, superintended at present by Mr. Mack Beale.
Camp No. 3143 of the Modern Woodmen of America was instituted here on August 15, 1895, with fifteen charter members and the following officers: J. S. Heunter, V. C; Asa M. Laughlin, W. A.; E. H. Ware, E. B.; J. E. Barnaby, Clerk. The present officers are: W. A. Chase, V. C; Harry Dieffendorf, W. A.; John F. Simkins, E. B.; and J. S. Hunter, Clerk. The camp has a membership of sixty. Its growth has been phenomenal, and bids fair to more than meet the expectations of its organizers.
The village has the honor of being the home of the two oldest continuous residents of Salem, viz.:-James and Henry Taylor, aged seventy-four and sixty-five years respectively. Their father, Alexander Taylor, was the first settler, in 1834, on Section 6.
This is the oldest village in the township, having been laid out on the west half of the southwest quarter of Section 19, by Moses Shinn, June 4, 1839, and surveyed, platted and recorded by George A. Charles, June 6, 1839.
It is most beautifully situated, on the western extremity of the high divide previously mentioned, overlooking a wide expanse of undulating prairie. It was a point of much importance in its earlier days, as the first survey of the old Peoria and Oquawka Railroad passed through it, and a considerable trade sprung up. The first store was opened by Luther Carey, and others soon followed. A blacksmith shop was opened by Jacob Booth, who is yet living, and Moses Shinn, deceased. They also engaged in the manufacture of plows and wagons not long afterwards. Brick burning was commenced by Thomas Griggsby in 1845, and a primitive shingle machine was operated by Elisha Van Pelt about 1843, cotton-wood and black walnut being the timber most commonly used.
The first school was kept about 1843, in a frame building originally intended for a store, on the corner of the public square.
Grain was ground for domestic consumption in hand burrs in the early days, but horse power was substituted a little later.
The village is said to have been named in memory of Uniontown, Portage County, Ohio. A later survey for the railroad, in 1856, finally located the line about two miles further north, and the once flourishing village declined rapidly, until, in 1869, the legislature vacated the plat.
This may be called the metropolis of the township. It is pleasantly situated in the northeast part of Salem, on the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad, and its corporate limits include the whole of Section 11. It is surrounded by an intelligent, prosperous farming community, and, being at the junction of the Galesburg and Peoria and the Buda and Rushville branches of the railroad, it has the best facilities for both travel and traffic.
It was laid out by William and A. C. Babcock, Thomson Maple, Rufus H. Bishop, Bostwick Kent, and James Burson, on October 20, 1857. It was surveyed and platted by E. T. Byram, County Surveyor, and named in honor of Yates County, New York, the early home of the Babcocks.
The first business house was erected by James Burson, on the southeast corner of Main and Union streets, in 1857. The next store was built by W. D. Dixon, in 1858. The first hotel was opened by John Sonnemaker, in the same year. The first dwelling was put up by Isaac West, and others soon followed, built by Stairwait, Kerns, and others. From the locating of the depot, in 1857, there sprung up a brisk trade in all merchandise needed by an agricultural community.
A grain warehouse was at once established by Buffum and Knable, and Yates City became the center for a large shipping business in grain and stock. Until the building of the Santa Fe railroad through Truro Township, twelve miles north, in 1887-89, the place drew its patronage from a large section of country to the north, northeast and northwest, within a radius of twelve or fifteen miles, including the greater part of Elba and Truro townships, and prospered greatly. It had a good flouring mill, built by Summers and Beeson in 1868, and a wagon and carriage shop, by W. D. and M. Aley, both of which were destroyed by fire in 1887 and 1888 and never rebuilt. Brick and tile were formerly manufactured in large quantities, but within the last year this industry has been abandoned. A farmer's co-operative store was opened in 1874, and flourished until February, 1889, when it was dissolved.
Since the building of the Santa Fe line, trade has been more limited, but it is still a center for a large business in general merchandise, grain and stock.
The village has ever been alive to its social interests, and active in promoting whatever would tend to its welfare as the years went by. A Harvest Home Association was organized in 1886, largely through the efforts of Mr. McKeighan, the editor of the "Banner," supported by interested citizens. The festivals of the association have grown in interest and popularity, until now their visitors are numbered by the thousands, representing all communities and classes and coming from every direction within twenty-five miles. The annual programs afford opportunity for oratorical, literary and musical display, while athletic sports, games, and amusements of every sort form prominent features of the entertainments.
From the date of its founding, 1857, the saloon fastened itself upon the village, and clung like a vampire until about 1875, when, through a determined effort of the best citizens, the groggery was driven out, and by dint of constant vigilance has been kept out, with the exception of the years 1888 and 1895, when licenses were granted for the sale of liquor. The advocates of the saloon stole a march upon the unwary friends of temperance, but only for a year at a time.
The population in 1880 was six hundred and seventy-nine; in 1890, six hundred and eighty-seven; in 1898, six hundred and eighty-three.
Banking facilities are afforded by the "Farmers' " and "People's" banks. Both are private institutions. The first named was organized in 1875 by J. M. Taylor and Isaac Lambert. Mr. Lambert soon withdrew, and on August 12, 1880, Mr. Taylor sold the business to J. H. Nicholson, W. P. Parker and L. F. Wertman, who organized the Farmers' Bank, which they conducted until 1889, when Mr. Nicholson obtained full control. Since his death, in 1895, his widow, Mrs. C. M. Nicholson, has conducted the business with Charles D. North, with F. E. Wilson as cashier. The bank has as handsome, well-appointed quarters as can be found outside a metropolis. The People's Bank was organized in October, 1889, by Walter Bailey and Company. These are now deceased and the present firm name is Harriet L. Bailey and Company, with John W. Dixson as cashier. Both of these institutions do a general banking and exchange business and find steady employment for all their capital.
The first postoffice was opened in February, 1859, with J. M. Corey as postmaster. The present incumbent of the office is W. G. Lehman, whose enterprise has provided an office with modern appointments far in advance of those of ordinary country villages.
Yates City was chartered on March 4, 1869, its first trustees being: D. Touslee, W. H. Eastman, Frank Madden, G. N. Pierce and J. D. Roberts, Mr. Touslee being the President. E. B. Rhea, City Clerk; W. L. Adams, Marshal; Benjamin Kersey, Treasurer; and David Wiltse, Police Magistrate. The present Board consists of A. W. Garrison, President; F. E. Wilson, W. W. Wood, William T. Corbin and Frank Anderson. J. B. Coykindall, City Clerk; M. Knable, Marshal; Smith Rhea, Treasurer; and T. J. Kightlinger, Police Magistrate.
It has a graded school of four departments, that compares favorably with similar schools throughout the county. A full English course is taught, with the sciences and Latin. Professor W. F. Boyes is Principal, with Mr. C. W. Bird, and Misses. Lizzie Spickard and Mary Friend as teachers of the Grammar, Intermediate and Primary departments, respectively. All are energetic and faithful workers in their profession, and have made the school one of the educating forces of the county. For the past five years it has had an elementary course in vocal music, of which Miss Minnie Eyerly is the present teacher. The enrollment of pupils is one hundred and eighty-one, with one hundred and sixty-three in average attendance. An important feature of the institution is its library of about nineteen hundred volumes, previously mentioned, that furnishes an inexhaustible mine of information, auxiliary to the line of regular study. The present school building erected in 1872, is out of date and inconvenient, but will, no doubt, soon be replaced by a more modern structure.
The Yates City Banner, formerly the Industrial Banner, was founded by A. H. McKeighan, its present editor and proprietor. Its first issue appeared December 25, 1879. It stanchly advocated the Greenback policy during that agitation, and has vigorously championed the movements in favor of prohibition and free silver. The Banner has always been firmly devoted to the best interests of the community, and fearless in advocating what, in its view, seemed best. It is independent in politics, giving its support to those measures which it believes to promise the best results to the whole people. It has ever been a mortal foe to the saloon; its motto is "hew to the line, let the chips fall where they may."
Yates City has an excellent system of electric lighting, introduced in October, 1894. It obtains its power, by contract, from the Elmwood Electric Lighting Company, of Elmwood, two and one-half miles east, in Peoria County. It also has a volunteer fire company and an engine, and about one mile of vitrified brick sidewalk.
The First Presbyterian Church was organized by a committee from Peoria Presbytery, which met November 16, 1866, in the school house. After a sermon by Rev. Thomas Stevenson, an enrollment was made and eighteen members were admitted, chiefly by letter. Joseph Cunningham and William B. Matthews were chosen Elders. An election of trustees resulted in the choice of John C. Bryson, John D. Huey and William B. Matthews. The first pastor was Rev. John H. Smith; the present is Rev. Donald M. Ross. R. J. McKeighan, J. J. Matthews, J. M. Corey, C. M. Bliss and L. A. Lawrence compose the session. With the exception of a few brief intervals, regular preaching services have been held since the organization of the church. A house of worship costing over three thousand dollars was erected in 1867. The congregation supports a flourishing Sabbath school, started in 1867 by Mr. G. N. Pierce. Elder W. B. Matthews was Superintendent most of the time until his death, in December, 1890, when L. A. Lawrence was chosen. He has discharged the duties of the position down to the present time. The average annual attendance has been about eighty, and its sessions regular. Beside the Sabbath school, the Ladies' Missionary Society has been an active, vital force since its organization, about 1875. It has. been tireless in ad-vocating and supporting the home and foreign mission work of the church, never failing to make a liberal monthly and annual contribution. The Young People's Society of Christian Endeavor was organized in 1886, and has pursued its way steadily and faithfully, with good, substantial results. Its present officers are: J. L. McKeighan, President; George Montgomery, Vice President; Bertha Chamberlain, Recording Secretary; Zora Conver, Corresponding Secretary; and Giles Matthews, Treasurer.
This church has a substantial parsonage, the gift of one of its oldest and stanchest members, Mr. James McKeighan, just before his death, in November, 1885.
The Baptists, among whom were M. Lawrence, James Burson, Andrew Vance, Charles Haines, A. M. Swan and David Corley, and their families, with Rev. A. R. Newton as leader, commenced a house of worship in 1864-65, laying the foundation and procuring materials, when difficulties arose, and their site and materials were sold to the Methodist Episcopal Church, prominent among whose members were J. M. Cool, R. F. Anderson, Ephraim Jordan, Bostwick Kent, Sylvester Goold, and John Foster, who took up the work, completing the building and dedicating it in 1868. There they have held regular Sabbath services since, usually conducted by nonresident ministers, from neighboring churches. At present the church is under the care of Rev. Mr. Henderson, of Peoria. Its work has been steadily strengthened by a regular, well-attended Sabbath school, and later by a branch of the Epworth League, organized in 1888 by the young people. Mr. Thomas Terry is the present Sabbath school superintendent.
A Universalist church was organized September 1, 1866, and an edifice built the same year, which was used conjointly by the other denominations until their own houses of worship were completed. The first and leading members of this denomination were: J. E. Knable, M. B. Mason, Walter Bailey, James Clisson, James H. Nicholson, S. S. Buffum, T. L. Long and A.B. Taylor, with their families. Rev. Mr. Carney, of Knoxville, was their first pastor, followed irregularly until April 5, 1889, when, complications having arisen, the church was disbanded by petition and the property sold.
The following organized societies are found here:
Yates City Lodge, No. 448, A. F. and A. M., was chartered October 4, 1865, with eighteen members and the following officers: S. S. Buffum, W. M.; J. E. Knable, S. W.; and M. B. Mason, J. W. Its present officers are: C. D. North, W. M.; J. W. Wood, S. W.; S. E. Milani, J. W.; John McKinty, Treasurer; F. E. Wilson, Secretary. Its membership is forty-one.
Eureka Chapter, No. 98, R. A. M., was chartered October 5, 1866, with twenty-five members. The first officers were: Benjamin Kersey, H. P.; M. B. Mason, K.; J. C. Riner, Scribe. The present officers are: J. M. Corey, H. P.; G. W. Johnson, E. K.; J. W. Wood, E. S.; M. W. Thomson, C. N.; William Anderson, Pr. S.; C.D. North, R. A. C; S. E. Milam, Treasurer; F. E. Wilson, Secretary; W. H. Hauser, Tyler. The chapter has sixty-five members.
Yates City Lodge, No. 207, I. O. O. F., was chartered October 13, 1868, with Imri Dunn, Benjamin Hayes, B. Bevens, A. S. Murphey and Henry Soldwell as charter members. Its first officers were: Henry Soldwell, N. G.; B. S. Briggs, V. G.; Benjamin Hayes, Secretary; and
B. Bevens, Treasurer. The present officers are: C.V. Bird, N.G.; S. W. Stone, V. G.; T. J. Kighttinger, Recording Secretary; J. W. Bird, Permanent Secretary; W. A. Goold, Warden; and J. W. Dixon, Treasurer. The present membership is thirty-nine. The lodge owns a good hall, conjointly with the Masons.
Camp No. 3102, Modern Woodmen of America, was chartered July 25, 1895, with twenty-three members and the following officers: S. P. Hassenbacher, V. C; Charles T. White, WT. A.; John U. Conver, E. B.; Samuel E. Knox, Clerk. At present the officers are: S. P. Hassenbacher, V.C; M. Ellison, W. A.; Frank Christman, E. B.; S. W. Stone, Clerk. The camp has forty-five members, and meets in the same hall as the Masons and Odd Fellows.
Morgan L. Smith Post, No. 666, Department of Illinois, G. A. R., was instituted January 25, 1889, with twenty members and the following officers: J. N. Burch, Commander; W. S. Kleckner, Senior Vice Commander; B. F. Pittiman, Junior Vice Commander; J. O. Wren, Chaplain; F. W. Brown, Officer of the Day; J. B. Reed, Quartermaster; M. W. French, Adjutant. The present officers are: A. Schoenberger, Commander; G. W. Golliday, Senior Vice Commander; T. C. Hand, Junior Vice Commander; J. O. Wren, Chaplain; O. P. Fetters, Quartermaster; L. A. Lawrence, Adjutant. The post has at present fifteen members.
Salem Township Biographies
Louis P. Arbogast -- James Madison Hunter -- Weber Andrew Jaquith -- Lucius A. Lawrence -- James McKeighan -- James Hasbrouck Nicholson -- William Benjamin Bird -- Clarence M. Bliss -- Cyrus Bliss -- D.M. Carter -- F.H. Chamberlain -- William Hill Faulds -- Arwine Garrison -- Sylvester Goold -- Cyrus M. Hall -- H.J. Hensley -- Lorenzo D. Howell -- Joseph Hunter -- Loren Kennedy -- T.J. Kightlinger -- Joseph Knox -- Robert A. Lower -- Samuel Ramp -- William Ramp -- F.J. Runyon -- Hugh A. Sloan -- Sarah Sloan -- R.R. Steck -- Charles A. Stetson -- Allen Thurman -- W.H. Thurman -- John Williams -- Frank E. Wilson -- Harry Zook
Louis P. Arbogast -- son of Jesse and Susan (Stoner) Arbogast, was born Jan. 1, 1844, in Wabash Co, IN. His father was born in Harris Co, VA to Peter and Christina Arbogast, and his mother was born in Baltimore, Maryland, to Henry and Susan Stoner; his grandparents came from Germany.
Mr. Arbogast came with his parents from Indiana to Fulton Co, IL in 1854, and to McDonough Co, IL. in 1855, where his parents died. In 1865 he removed to Farmington, IL, and thence, in 1870, to Salem Township, where he located on Section 19. His farm, three miles south of Douglas, contains three hundred and twenty acres of land, and is known as the “Lone Birch Stock Farm”. He has been an extensive raiser of stock, principally “Short Horn” cattle and Poland China swine.
Mr. Arbogast was married in Galesburg Feb. 18, 1875 to Esther E. Potter, who was born in Salem Township. Her parents were Norman Z. and Charlotte (Blakeslee) Potter, both of whom died at the old homestead in Salem Township.
Mr. and Mrs. Arbogast have one son, Norman P., born June 18, 1882. In politics, Mr. Arbogast is a republican, and has held the office of Road Commissioner two terms; he has been Assessor, School Director and School Trustee, holding the latter offices many years. He was a leader in the organization of the Cemetery Association, of Uniontown, and served as Trustee twenty years. He is a dealer in all kinds of fruit, such as blackberries, strawberries, raspberries, prunes, apricots, peaches, pears, and apples.
James Madison Hunter -- was born Dec. 31, 1811 in what was then known as Frankleton, now Columbus, Franklin Co, OH. His parents, Joseph and Deborah (McGowan) Hunter, married and settled in Ohio, while it was yet a territory. His father was a native of Pennsylvania, but his mother was from Newfoundland, Canada. The Hunter family is of Scotch-Irish descent, and their ancestors were Protestants. Grandfather McGowan was a soldier in the Revolution.
Judge James M. Hunter was the third of five sons, left orphans when he was but four years old. At the age of five he left the home of the uncle with whom he was then living, and entered the service of a farmer by the name of Cutler, whose land adjoined the city of Columbus.
Judge Hunter was a self-made and self-educated man. All the educational advantages he enjoyed were those secured in the country and city schools, while he was living with Mr. Cutler. He was only 17 years old when he went into the business of transporting freight from different lake ports to Dayton and Cincinnati. In this business he continued five years, and then in 1833, sold out and rented a farm two and one-half miles from Columbus.
It was March 6 of this year (1833) that he married Miss Eliza Hunter, of Madison County, Ohio. Mrs. Hunter was born Oct. 12, 1817. Mr. and Mrs. Hunter remained upon their rented farm only 18 months, and then removed to Union Co, OH., where they purchased 80 acres of land and where they resided for 3 years. They then removed to Madison Co., OH., and bought a farm of 240 acres. In 1846 Mr. Hunter, with his wife and children, moved to Illinois and settled in Salem Township, where he bought 360 acres of land and began to improve it. Here he lived the remainder of his life, an active, honorable and honored citizen of the county. For 8 years he was Justice of the Peace, and was one of the last three Associate Justices of Knox County. He was known far and wide, and in the southeastern part of Knox County, was one of the best known and most representative citizens.
Judge Hunter died on his farm Nov. 15, 1894 at nearly 83 years of age. Mrs. Hunter died Dec. 4, 1888, at the age of 76. They had six children, all of whom reached maturity: Deborah; Joseph;Charles R.; James M.; Eliza J., wife of H.C. Mann; and Mary A., wife of R.H. Harper.
The character that Judge Hunter built was far more than financial success. It is something that will endure forever, a monument to his memory and an honor to his county. In politics he was a democrat, and it is an interesting fact, that General Andrew Jackson received his first vote for President.
Weber Andrew Jaquith -- son of Nathaniel and Prudence Jaquith, was born at Andover, Vermont, Feb. 28, 1828. His parents were of French Protestant (Huguenot) descent, and were born at Windsor, VT.
Mr. W. A. Jaquith located in Salem Township, Knox Co, IL. in 1854, and began farming. He was married April 8, 1855 to Susan E. Macklin, a daughter of William Macklin, an old settler of Bureau Co, IL. She was born in Delaware in 1833.
Their daughter, Mrs. Nettie J. Corbin, was born in Salem Township, Jan. 10, 1859. She was educated in the Farmington graded schools and was married Aug. 30, 1892 to Charles Melvin Corbin, a grain merchant and owner of the Yates City Elevator. Mr. Corbin was born at Avon, IL. Nov. 17, 1859 and educated in the Yates city schools. His father was Richard Corbin of Ohio. Mr. and Mrs. Corbin live at Yates City where they have a handsome residence.
Mr. and Mrs. Jaquith accumulated a considerable fortune by industry and hard labor. They were members of the Methodist Episcopal Church for 25 years. Mr. Jaquith was always active in church work, having been Steward, Trustee and Class-leader.
Mrs. Jaquith, who died Feb. 1, 1891, was a good neighbor and friend, and a generous contributor to the church; she was the loving companion of her daughter, Nettie, who had the care of her parents in their declining years.
Mr. Jaquith was a man of excellent character and led an exemplary life. He was a democrat for many years, but later became a prohibitionist. He died May 11, 1891.
Lucius A. Lawrence -- son of Milton and Sylvia (Atwood) Lawrence, was born at Hinesburg, Chittenden Co, VT., June 26, 1840. His parents moved from their home in Hinesburg to Monkton, Addison Co, VT, in 1841, and in 1861 came to Elba Township, Knox Co, IL. His father was a man of strong, decisive character, and unyielding disposition, combined with a very retentive memory. He is now 83 years old. His mother was a kind and gentle woman, who died March 25, 1857, in the 39th year.
The Lawrence family in this country is descended from three brothers who came from England to the Colonies in 1666, and settled in Massachusetts. One brother went to Connecticut, and from him has sprung the present family. The Lawrences were prominent in the early history of New England, and representatives of the family still occupy the old homestead at Lexington, MA., where their ancestors settled more than two hundred years ago.
Lucius A. Lawrence’s opportunities for education were confined to the district schools and to two terms in Hinesburg Academy, where he studied the common English branches, rhetoric, and algebra. He learned much, however, from observation and diligent after-study, and now has a critical facility in the use of the English language, as well as a wide range of general information.
His childhood was spent on a sterile, unyielding farm in Vermont, and he was taught to till the soil and care for stock. He had few pastimes, his routine consisting of steady hard work, regular attendance at the common school, at church and Sabbath school, and to the observance of strict unswerving obedience to his parents.
After leaving school, he farmed and taught in the district schools of Salem and Elba Townships. Aug. 7, 1862, he volunteered for war service, and became a member of Company H, One Hundred and Second Illinois Infantry, which was mustered into service at Knoxville, IL, Sept. 2, 1862. After preparatory drill, the regiment was ordered to the field, and after crossing the Ohio River at Louisville, Kentucky, Oct. 1, 1862, was brigaded with the One Hundred and Fifth and One Hundred and Twenty-ninth Illinois Infantry, and the Seventieth Indiana and Seventy-ninth Ohio Volunteers. The brigade immediately took the field, and helped to repel the invasion of Kentucky by the Confederate army under General Bragg, going to Frankfort, and thence to Bowling Green. The brigade was there made a part of the Army of the Cumberland, commanded by General W. S. Rosecrans, in which organization he served until the close of the war. His regiment was engaged in garrison duty until the opening of the Atlanta campaign at Chattanooga. From May 2, 1864, he shared the fortunes of Sherman’s army that brought about the fall of Atlanta September 1, 1864. He was in the hospital from Oct. 30, 1864, to Jan. 1865, after which he rejoined his regiment in the Carolinas, and participated in the last campaign of the war, the surrender of the Confederate army under General J. E. Johnson, April 26, 1865. He marched to Washington, and was in the Grand Review May 24. He was mustered out of service at Washington June 6, and discharged at Chicago, June 15, 1865.
After the war, Mr. Lawrence again interested himself in farming, until failing health compelled a change, and, in March 1877, he removed to Yates City, IL, which is his present home. In 1882, having regained his health, he purchased the lumber stock of W. T. Wells, to which he added a stock of farm implements, and managed the combined business until Jan. 1899. In 1893, he purchased an interest in the People’s Bank, of Yates City, which he still owns.
Mr. Lawrence was married to Mrs. Charlotte M. Baird, March 21, 1869. She was the daughter of Moses and Cynthia Wheeler, who came from Pennsylvania and settled in Knox County in 1859. Mrs. Baird’s first marriage occurred in 1861. She had one daughter, Nora, who is the wife of Hugh A. Sloan, the present Supervisor of Salem Township. Mr. Baird enlisted in Company H., One Hundred and Second Illinois Infantry, in Sept 1862, and was killed in battle at Resaca, Georgia, May 15, 1864.
Five children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Lawrence: Alma E., born Mar 4, 1870, and died Mar 20, 1891; Edwin P., born Dec 1, 1871; Arthur J., born Sept. 13, 1873; Cynthia May and Sylvia June (twins), born Mar 1, 1878, and died Aug. 16, and 21, 1878, respectively.
Mr. Lawrence was a member of the I.O.G.T. from 1867 to 1872. He became a member of the Grand Army of the Republic in 1886, since which time he has held the position of Commander or Adjutant, in Post No. 666, Department of Illinois, at Yates City. He was a member of the Baptist Church from 1857 to 1874, but is now a member of the Presbyterian Church. In politics, he is a republican, and was elected Supervisor of Elba Township in the years 1867-68-69, and in Salem Township in 1894. He served as President of the City Council of Yates City during the years 1879-80-85-86-89, having been elected on the anti-license ticket. He has been a member of the Yates City School Board continuously since 1878, and, in 1880, he was elected Justice of the Peace for Salem Township, and resigned in 1883.
Mr. Lawrence is one of the most prominent men of his township, and is possessed of more than ordinary erudition and breadth of mind, and holds advanced and clearly defined views regarding current events.
James McKeighan -- son of John and Lillie (Gault) McKeighan, was born in Antrim County, Ireland, June 9, 1803. He was the second son, and had seven brothers and three sisters; those of the children who reached maturity, save one lost at sea, came to America and settled in Pennsylvania, Illinois, and Missouri. James learned the trade of linen weaving, at which he worked till he was 32 years of age, when he emigrated to the United States, landing at Philadelphia in the year 1835. He brought with him but a small amount of property, but he had what was far better, the integrity, perseverance and strong faith so often seen in the descendants of the old Scotch Covenanters. This rich inheritance from his ancestors he brought to Pennsylvania and it was the solid foundation of all the work of his subsequent life. He arrived at Farmington, Fulton Co, IL. in Dec. 1838, and in a few years was the owner of an 80 acre farm.
Mr. McKeighan returned to Ireland in the fall of 1847, and there, in 1848, married Elizabeth, daughter of Robert and Rachel Cunningham. Soon after his marriage he returned to Farmington and built a log house on his farm, which he soon replaced with a comfortable frame dwelling. A few years later he sold his property in Fulton County for two thousand four hundred dollars, and removed to Salem Township, Knox County, where he purchased 160 acres of unbroken prairie land on Section 22. Here, with the canny skill of the Scotch-Irishman, he made for himself and family a splendid farm. He endured all the trials of the pioneer: he “broke” prairie and built sod fences, and tried to hasten the good time by helping to grade the track for a railroad. Finally, as a result of labor well applied, special care in raising stock and in disposing of the products of his farm, he became wealthy, and was able to give good farms to his children.
Mr. McKeighan and his wife had six children, two of whom died in infancy: the names of the remaining four are Robert J., Rachel, Mary Elizabeth, and Emma.
In politics Mr. McKeighan was a whig, but when the republican party was organized he entered its ranks and stood for liberty and the union during the Civil War. He assisted in organizing, and was a member of the Presbyterian Church at Farmington, and gave twelve hundred dollars toward the erection of a church edifice, and when he became a member of the church in Yates City, he was in a similar manner beneficent to that organization. Those who were in want found in him a friend; those who needed advice could rely upon his judgment, and, whether in public or private life, he was ever ready to assist those in need of help. He died Nov. 15, 1885, mourned, not only by his own family, but by the whole community in which he lived.
James Hasbrouck Nicholson -- son of Nicholas and Mary (Washburn) Nicholson, was born Aug. 8, 1808, on the “Hasbrouck Farm”, Middletown, Delaware Co, NY. The father was born in New York, the mother in Connecticut. They were married and settled in Middletown, and afterward removed to Alleghany County, on the Genesee River, where they died. Six children were born to them: Edward, Sarah, Elizabeth, James Hasbrouck, Hannah and Abel S. The father of J. H. Nicholson was of Irish extraction, his great-great-grandfather having been stolen from Ireland by a sea captain and brought to Canada. His son, Robert, was a royalist during the Revolution, and, going to Canada, settled in Walford Township, Leeds County, and died at Nicholson’s Falls.
Mr. J. H. Nicholson was brought up on a farm, and attended the common schools. He removed to Illinois in 1842, and was a farmer by occupation; in politics, a democrat; in religion, a Universalist. He married Catherine King. Their daughter, Mary S., was born in Knox County, Dec. 22, 1852, and was married to Charles D. North (see separate bio of Charles D. North) in Knox Co, Dec. 22, 1875.
James H. Nicholson was one of the prominent Free Masons of Yates City. He was initiated in Elmwood Lodge, and was a charter member of the Scottish Rite, thirty-second degree, in Peoria, IL. He died May 31, 1893, and “Over his remains were repeated the beautiful ceremony of the order he loved so well”.
William Benjamin Bird -- Farmer; Salem Township; born in Canada, Nov. 10, 1850; educated in the common schools. His parents, Stephen and Ann Bird, were born in Ireland, as was also his maternal grandfather, William Bird. Stephen Bird came to Canada when a young man and thence to this country, Aug. 16, 1864, and now lives in Yates City, at the age of 82. Mr. W. B. Bird came to Elmwood, IL. in 1864, and has lived since then in that vicinity, except three years, when he was in the west.
Sept. 18, 1878 he was married in Salem Township to Mary E. Bliss; she was born Aug. 16, 1860 and is the daughter of C. and Angelina (Smith) Bliss, both of whom are now living in Yates City.
There are 3 children: Arthur L, born May 5, 1881; Harlem W., born Oct 18, 1884; Forrest W., born June 1, 1892.
In religious belief the family are Methodists. In politics Mr. Bird is a republican.
Clarence M. Bliss -- Farmer; Yates City; Salem Township; born in Peoria County, Aug. 17, 1857; educated in Yates City. His father, Cyrus Bliss, was born in Chautauqua County, N. Y., May 23, 1834; his mother, Angeline (Smith) Bliss, was born in Indiana County, PA, July 18, 1833. Cyrus Bliss’ parents were Zenas Bliss, born in Vermont, in 1765, and Mabel (Gilit) Bliss. Mrs. Cyrus Bliss’ parents were Elijah and Susan W. (Brown) Smith.
Feb. 8, 1883 Mr. Bliss married, in Salem Township, Ella B. Carroll; of this union there are three children: Walter C. born Mar. 21, 1886; Herbert G, born Aug. 12, 1888; and Angie May, born Feb. 28, 1894.
Mrs. Bliss was born in Knox County, Oct. 25, 1861, daughter of William and Jane (Lucas) Carroll, both of whom are still living at Middle Grove, Fulton Co, IL.
Mr. Bliss has a farm of two hundred and eight acres, with fine buildings, on Section 13, Salem Township, one and one-half miles southeast of Yates City. He and his wife are members of the Presbyterian Church, of which Mr. Bliss is an Elder and Trustee. He has held the office of School Director for a number of years. In politics he is a republican.
Cyrus Bliss -- Retired Farmer; Yates City, Salem Township; born May 23, 1834 in Chautauqua County, N. Y.; educated in the common schools. His father, Z. G. Bliss, was born May 12, 1793 in Shaftsbury, Vermont; his mother Mabel (Gillett) was born in Hartford, CT., July 3, 1798. They died at Princeville, the former, Dec. 25, 1868, the latter, June, 1882. Z. G. Bliss’ parents were Zenas and Sarah (Auton) Bliss, the former born in Vermont in 1765.
Feb. 25, 1855, Mr. Cyrus Bliss married Angeline J. Smith in Knox Co, IL.; she was born July 18, 1833 in Indiana Co, PA., and was the daughter of Elijah and Susan M. (Brown) Smith, who came to Salem Township in 1851; her father died in April 1878; her mother died June 17, 1899 in Farmington at the age of 85.
Mr. and Mrs. Bliss have six children: Luther A., born March 25, 1856; Clarence M., born Aug. 17, 1857; Olive V., born May 9, 1859; Mary E., born Aug 16, 1860; William S., born Apr 30, 1864; and Lillie B., born Mar 14, 1867.
Mrs. Bliss is a member of the Presbyterian Church.
Mr. Bliss came from New York to Illinois with his father May 23, 1837, and settled in Hallick Township, Peoria County in 1838. January 1847 they removed to Stark County, near Lawn Ridge. In coming from Chautauqua Co, N.Y., his father floated down the Alleghany and Ohio rivers to Cincinnati upon a raft of lumber which he had made with a house upon it; he sold the lumber and took a steamer to Peoria by the Ohio, Mississippi and Illinois rivers.
Mr. Cyrus Bliss came to Salem Township in 1853, where he has since been a resident, excepting three years, when he was in Peoria County. He owns a farm of seventy acres on Section 24, Salem Township; one in Peoria County of one hundred and forty-seven acres, and a house and lot in Yates City. In religion he is a Presbyterian; in politics a prohibitionist.
D.M. Carter -- Wagon and Carriage business; Salem Township; born Nov. 8, 1838 in Gallia Co., OH.; educated in the common schools. His father, George Carter, was born in Gallia Co, OH., and died in Ohio at the age of 84. His mother, Phebe (Ripley) who also died in Ohio, was born in New York; her father, Joshua Ripley, a Baptist minister was a native of New York State. George Carter’s father, John, was born in Shenandoah Vale, Virginia, and lived to the age of 97.
Dec. 8, 1868, Mr. Carter married Miss L. J. Boggs in Abingdon, IL. She was the daughter of Elliott and Elinor (McCoy) Boggs, who came to Abingdon in 1864. Mrs. Carter was born in Nicholas Co., W. V., Oct. 20, 1841. Both her parents are deceased; the father died at the age of 70; the mother at the age of 80.
Three children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Carter: Etha B., born Sept 18, 1869; Myrta L., born July 10, 1873, died April 10, 1894; Earl M., born June 23, 1876. Etha B. graduated at the Chicago Musical College; she married Dr. H. J. Hensley; Earl M. is a graduate of the Illinois School of Dentistry at Chicago.
Mr. Carter was a soldier in the late Civil War, a sergeant in Company F, One Hundred and Forty-fourth Ohio Infantry. He worked for the government in building and repairing ambulances and wagons until Lee’s surrender. He is a member of the G.A. R., Yates City and has been a member of the Board of Aldermen several terms. He was manager of a co-operative store in Yates City, IL. for about ten years: U. S. storekeeper at Peoria under Julius S. Starr for five years; and now holds the office of Township Treasurer. In politics he is a republican.
F.H. Chamberlain -- Farmer and Furniture Dealer; Salem Township; born Dec. 29, 1847 in Clinton Co., OH; educated in Clinton County common schools. His father, John, was born in New Jersey; his mother, Mary Jane, who is now living in Viana, Clinton Co., OH., was born in Virginia. John Chamberlain’s parents, William (who was a sailor) and Elizabeth, were born in New Jersey. Mary Jane Chamberlain’s parents, Hadon and Elizabeth (Smithson), were born in Virginia.
Dec. 18, 1879, Mr. Chamberlain married Charlotte M. West, in Galesburg; they have three children: Bertha M., Edith W., and Glen H.
Mrs. Chamberlain is the daughter of Isaac N. and Charlotte M. West. She was born in Salem Township Dec. 4, 1861; her father was a large landowner.
Mr. Chamberlain came to Illinois in 1872, and farmed for a number of years; then went into livery and harness business; later in the grocery business; and now has a furniture and undertaking establishment; he also carries a large stock of wall-paper, paints and oils. He is a member of the I.O. of O. F., Lodge No. 360, Yates City. He has been Constable for the town of Salem, and also School Director. In politics he is a republican.
William Hill Faulds -- Merchant; Douglas, Salem Township; born in Renfrew county, Scotland, December 07, 1856; educated in Glasgow. His father, John Faulds, was born or Renfrew, Scotland, and died at Kankakee in 1895. His mother, Jennett Hill Faulds, was born in Scotland; died in 1862. Her father, William Hill was born in Scotland. March 15, 1892, Mr. W. H. Faulds married, at Galesburg, Sarah, daughter of Abraham and Madgaline Warfield; she was born December 17, 1860. There was one Child. Arthur Albert, born May 24, 1893; died October 27, 1893. Mrs. Faulds died in Chicago December 1894. Her mother resides at Maquon. John Faulds located in Vermillion County, Illinois, in 1862, where he bought a tract of land and engaged in mining, continuing in the business until 1870. Mr. W. H. Faulds came from Scotland in 1866. In 1888 he started in the mercantile business with Mr. Hubbard; he is now sole owner of the business, and has a very large trade. In politics, he is a democrat, and has been deputy Postmaster at Douglas. He is a member of the Presbyterian Church.
Arwine Garrison -- Farmer and Liveryman; Yates City, Salem Township; born January 10, 1868, in Clinton, Ohio; educated at Blanchester, Ohio. His parents, James and Susanna, were natives of Ohio, the former of Clinton county, where he now lives, the latter of Brown County. James' father, Arwine, was a native of New Jersey, Susanna Garrison's parents were Peter and Nancy Rude, the latter born in Cincinnati, the former near that city. July 08, 1889, Mr. Garrison married Rosabell Girton in Westborough, Ohio, where she was born June 11, 1870; she was the daughter of John and Edith Girton. Her father died in 1889; her mother is still living at Westborough. She is a member of the Methodist church. Mr. Garrison was brought up on a farm, and started in the Livery business February 27, 1894. In politics, he is a democrat.
Sylvester Goold -- Farmer; Yates City, born June 06, 1855, in Salem Township. His father, William, and his grandfather Sylvester F., were born in Rutland Vermont. His mother, Mary E. Corbin was born in Ohio; her parents were William and Mary E. McGinnis Corbin who were born in Virginia. November 14, 1875. Mr. Goold was married, in Yates City, to Mary E. Knable, who was born in Salem Township May 06, 1852; She was the daughter of John E. and Mary N. Clark Knable, both of whom are now dead. Nine Children were born to them. C. C., Born October 26, 1876, Evart, born December 23, 1878, died January 10, 1879, J. W. Rosco, born July 15, 1881; Lottie B., born March 14, 1883; Edison R., born June 28, 1855 Sydney S., born March 28, 1887; Mary L., born September 07, 1889; Carrie M, born August 23, 1890; and Susie M., born May 12, 1893. Mrs. Goold taught school for several terms in Salem Township. She died November 02, 1897. Mr. Goold owns about sixty-seven acres of land. He is a member of the Modern Woodmen of America, Lodge No 3102, Yates City. In Politics, he is a republican.
Cyrus M. Hall -- Farmer and Merchant; Yates City, Salem Township; born April 6, 1833; educated in the common schools. His father, Chaney Hall, was born in Vermont; his mother, Sarah (Richards) Hall was born in Ohio. His paternal grandparents, Samuel and Silence Hall, were born in Vermont. His maternal grandfather, Joshua Richards, was born in Pennsylvania; his maternal grandmother, Rachel (Clary) Richards, was born in Maryland.
Mr. Halls’ first wife, Rhoda A. Sherman, was born July 3, 1834; died Jan. 29, 1894. They had one child, Cyrus Elmer, born Jan. 28, 1856. Florence E. Winslow, a grandchild, lives in Lincoln, NE; she has one child, Sylvia Eileen, born May 26, 1899.
Nov. 8, 1891, he married in Galesburg, Mrs. Lyda M. Buffum, who was born Aug. 24, 1844 in New York; her parents were James and Sarah J. Jobes; her first husband was Matthew Buffum, a farmer, who was born in 1831 and died in 1891; her mother is living, aged 89.
Mr. Hall has been Supervisor, Justice of the Peace, Assessor, and Road Commissioner. He conducted a hotel at Galesburg, and at Lincoln, NE. In early life he was in the Mercantile and Agricultural Implement business. In 1856 he originated a cultivator, which is very extensively used at the present time. In politics he is a republican.
H.J. Hensley -- Physician and Druggist; Yates City, Salem Township; born in Hurman, Fulton Co, IL., June 21, 1863. His father, John Wesley Hensley, was born in Kentucky, Oct. 9, 1835; settled in Fulton County in 1854, removing to Yates City in 1864, and is now a practicing physician in Peoria, IL. His mother, Elizabeth, was born in Vermont. His grandparents, Evans and Anna Hensley, were born in Kentucky.
In Feb. 1889, Dr. Hensley married Etha Carter in Yates City; they have two children: Lucile C., born Feb 25, 1891; and Myrta E., born Dec. 25, 1894. Mrs. Hensley was born in Yates City, Sept 8, 1878; she was a daughter of David M. and Lavinia Carter, who are both living in Yates City; she is a member of the Eastern Star. In religion, she is a Methodist.
Dr. Hensley is a graduate of Rush Medical College; he is a member of the Masonic Order, Lodge No. 448, Yates City, Eureka Chapter, No. 98. He has been President of the City Council, and was Postmaster from 1892 to 1896. In politics he is a democrat. Besides his practice as a physician, he has a flourishing business as druggist.
Lorenzo D. Howell -- Farmer; Salem Township; born in North Carolina, Oct. 15, 1847. His parents, David and Catlein (Everitt) Howell, were born in NC and died there. Mrs. David Howell’s father, Daniel, was born in Ireland; her mother, Mary, in Scotland. Mr. L.D. Howell was educated in the common schools.
Feb. 17, 1876 he was married in Galesburg to Mary M., daughter of Levi and Mary Ann Stair. She was born Sept. 29, 1856 in Wayne Co, OH. They have five children: Mary Alberta, born Mar. 11, 1877; Lulu, born Aug. 25, 1880; Nora, born Aug. 16, 1887; Lorenzo Everitt, born June 3, 1893; and William J. Bryan, born Aug. 11, 1896.
Mr. Howell came to Peoria in 1865. He owns a farm of 205 acres (Section 27) and has 43 cattle and 11 horses. He is a member of A.F.& A.M. Lodge, No 194, Farmington; in politics he is a democrat.
He and his father were in the Confederate Army, Company C. Third North Carolina Volunteers. His father was in the Mexican War; and his maternal grandfather was in the War of 1812.
Joseph Hunter -- Farmer; Salem Township; born Oct. 11, 1838, in Madison Co, OH. He came west with his father in 1846; and was reared on the Hunter homestead, where he now resides.
Feb. 16, 1860 Mr. Hunter was married in Knox County to Rebecca Webb. They had eight children: Mrs. Florence M. Cramblet, deceased; Grace G., who died at the age of 6; James M., who died at the age of 18; Joseph Edward, who married Mattie Johnson; Frank S., who married Millie Craig; Mrs. Mary E. Jobes, deceased; Mark L. and Hugh S., are teachers in Knox County public schools. Mrs. Hunter died May 4, 1883, at the age of 47.
Mr. Hunter is a democrat and has been School Director for 24 successive years and Assessor nine terms in a republican township. He is a member of the A. F. & A.M. fraternity, Yates City Lodge 448, also of Eureka Chapter, of Yates City, 93.
Loren Kennedy -- Farmer and General Grocer; Salem Township, where he was born Sept. 25, 1854; educated in the common schools. His father, Jacob Kennedy, went from Maryland to Ohio, and from there removed to Salem Township in 1846 where he followed farming until his death in 1891. His mother, Mabel (McDougall), was born in Ohio; died in 1873.
Oct. 30, 1877, Mr. Loren Kennedy married Laveny Howsher in Salem Township; there are five children: Grace Mabel, born Mar 14, 1880; William E., born Jan 12, 1882; Mertie N., born May 1884; Murial, born June 1887; Frankie, born in 1891.
Mrs. Kennedy was born in Iowa in July 1860. Her parents were William and Sarah (Merchant) Howsher. She is a member of the Baptist Church.
Mr. Kennedy farmed until 1892, when he went into the general merchandise business. He is an Odd Fellow and a member of the Modern Woodmen of America. In politics, he is a democrat.
T.J. Kightlinger -- Yates City; born in Elba Township, Knox Co. July 28, 1840; educated in the common schools. His parents, Jacob and Maria A. (Berfield) Kightlinger, were born in Crawford Co, PA; Jacob was born Nov 16, 1800 and died July 18, 1887; Maria A. was born Mar 30, 1806 and died July 16, 1886. His paternal grandfather was Isaac Kightlinger.
Mr. T. J. Kightlinger’s first wife, Margaret Peck, was born in PA in 1850. There were four children: Harley C., born Mar 22, 1869; Gertrude F., born June 3, 1871; Walter L., born Jan 8, 1874; Lura G., born June 109, 1876.
In 1885 he married Salina Shaffer in Galesburg; Major McKee performed the ceremony. Mrs. Kightlinger was born in Ohio, 1841; she is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and has been a teacher in the public schools.
Mr. Kightlinger left his farm in 1881 and moved to Yates City, where he has been City Marshal two terms; member of the City Board two terms, and Justice of the Peace and Police Magistrate twelve years. He is a member of the I.O.O.F., Lodge No. 370, Yates City. He has always taken a prominent part in politics, and has been delegate to county and State conventions. He has practiced law in justice courts and acts as collection agent for the sale and rental of town and other properties. In religion he is a Universalist. In politics he is a republican.
Joseph Knox -- Retired Farmer; Yates City, Salem Township; born Sept 29, 1824 in Marshall Co, W. V.; educated in the common schools. His father, James Knox, was born in Fayette Co, PA in 1798 and died in 1842; his mother, Margaret (Robinson) was born in Marshall Co. W.V.; her father, William Robinson, was a native of Ireland.
Mar 15, 1849, Mr. Knox was married in Marshall Co., W.V. to Mary A., daughter of Brice and Sarah (Rush) Blair. Ten children were born to them: George M., born Dec 15, 1851; William L., born May 28, 1854; Brice Blair, born Aug 7, 1855; Frank, born Oct 2, 1857; Joseph P., born Sept 24, 1860; Sarah M., born May 27, 1862; Charles Lincoln, born Nov 4, 1864; John M., born Feb. 16, 1868; Oscar B., born Aug. 12, 1869; and Samuel E., born Aug. 17, 1871.
Mrs. Knox is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church and of the society of the “White Ribbon”.
Mr. Knox came to Peoria County in the fall of 1850. He owns a farm in Iowa of 277 acres. He has been a member of the Grange. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. In politics he is a populist.
Robert A. Lower -- Merchant; Salem Township; born April 11, 1844; educated in the common schools. His father, Jacob Lower, was born in PA in 1812; his mother, Mary (Cavins) Lower, was born in Mt. Vernon, Ohio; his grandfather, Johann Lower, was born in Germany.
Mr. R. A. Lower enlisted in Abingdon Oct. 22, 1861, Company K, Fifty-fifth Volunteers, and participated in the battles of Pittsburg Landing; Shelby Station; Chickasaw Bayou; Arkansas Post; Haines Bluff; Champion Hills; Vicksburg; Missionary Ridge; Dalton, Georgia; Dallas, Georgia; Kenesaw Mountains; Atlanta; Ezra Church; Siege of Atlanta, and Jonesborough, Georgia. He received a medal for conspicuous gallantry at the siege of Vicksburg, and was discharged at Chattanooga, Tennessee, Oct 31, 1864.
March 10, 1869, he was married at Elmwood to Rachel A. Smith; there are five children: Alfred B., born June 20, 1871; Albert E., born Mar 8, 1873; Mary E., born Nov 10, 1877; Ruth A., born Apr 23, 1879; and Harriet E., born April 5, 1882.
Mrs. Lower was born in Eaton, Ohio, June 2, 1844. Her father, G. W. Smith, is now deceased; her mother, Mary (Austin) Smith, is living in Elmwood, IL.
Mr. Lower came with his parents to Salem Township in 1844. He belongs to the Grand Army of the Republic; was elected Mayor of Yates City in 1888, 1893 and 1897; and was Supervisor of his township in 1895 and 1896. He engaged in the mercantile business in 1869 and has been very successful. In politics he is a democrat.
Samuel Ramp -- Farmer, Yates City, Salem Township; born Nov. 11, 1850 in Knoxville; educated in Haw Creek Township. His parents, Benjamin and Sarah (Mapps) Ramp, were born in Hopewell, Lancaster Co, PA, the former, Nov. 20, 1815; the latter, Sept. 18, 1819; Benjamin died March 17, 1891; Sarah died March 25, 1891.
March 30, 1873 Mr. Samuel Ramp married in Knoxville, Sarah A., daughter of J.T. and Cyntha Ferguson Jacobs; there were six children: Benjamin Franklin, born Jan. 17, 1874, died Jan. 18, 1878; Cyntha May, born June 3, 1877; Thomas L. born April 19, 1879; Lena Grace, born Dec. 15, 1881; Laura Agnes, born March 10, 1885; and Fred Earnest, born Jan. 10, 1891. The surviving children are all at home. Mrs. Jacobs, Mrs. Ramp’s mother, died April 10, 1876; and Mr. Jacobs lives in Ionia, Kansas.
Mr. Ramp lived in Truro Township twenty years, then came to Yates City, Nov. 1, 1893. He owns 470 acres of land in Truro Township (Section 32 and 33) and 80 acres east of Yates City, with very fine buildings. He also owns a fine brick dwelling and seven building lots in Yates City, and a modern residence and three lots in Elmwood. Mr. Ramp’s parents came to Illinois in 1848. In politics he is a republican
William Ramp -- Farmer; Yates City, Salem Township; born Oct 4, 1841, in Cumberland Co, PA.; educated in the common schools. His parents, Benjamin and Sarah (Mapps) Ramp were born in Cumberland Co, PA, the former, Nov. 20, 1815; the latter, Sept. 18, 1819. The father died March 17, 1891; the mother, March 25, 1891. Benjamin Ramp’s parents, William and Elizabeth (Herbling) Ramp were natives of Germany. Sarah Mapp’s father, John, was born in New Jersey.
William Ramp’s first wife was Hannah Jane Richmond, born in 1842, died June 28, 1868. Her parents were Edward and Clarissa (Cook) Richmond. She was a member of the M.E. Church. Of this union there were three children: Alice Jane, born March 30, 1861; David E., born July 26, 1865; and Hattie Ella, born Feb. 6, 1868.
His second wife was Susan Welty, daughter of Henry Welty of Knoxville. She died in 1879; she was a member of the Presbyterian Church. Of this union there were three children: Cora and Clarence, born June 27, 1871; Luie, born Jan. 10, 1875.
He married his present wife, Octava L. Fravel, in Knoxville, April 6, 1881; four children were born to them: Herbert L., born April 3, 1882; Mary Agnes, born Nov. 8, 1883; Willie D., born July 14, 1887; and Carrie Maud, born April 12, 1889. The present Mrs. Ramp, daughter of James and Mary (Hendricks) Fravel, was born in Louisiana, Jan. 31, 1853. She is a member of the Presbyterian Church. Both the parents are dead.
Mr. Ramp came to Illinois with his parents in the fall of 1848. His father settled in Haw Creek Township, where he accumulated a large property, about 2000 acres of land, valued at $100,000. Mr. William Ramp lived for a time in Persifer and Truro Townships; he spent two years in Kansas, and resided for a time in Louisiana. He now lives on his 80 acres in Salem Township, and has 114 acres in Elba Township. He is a member of Masonic Lodge, No. 448, Yates City, and has been School Director a number of years. In religion he is a Presbyterian. In politics he is an independent.
F.J. Runyon -- Farmer; Salem Township; born June 22, 1858, in Milbrook Township, Peoria Co; educated in the common schools. His father, J. C. Runyon, was born in Indiana, Nov. 28, 1825, and lives with him; his mother, Nancy S., was born April 22, 1829 in Preble Co, Ohio; died in 1884. Her parents, Joseph and Rachel (Hull) Smith, were born in Rockbridge, VA. J.C. Runyon’s parents, Finus and Dorcas Runyon, were born in Kentucky.
Nov. 22, 1822, Mr. F. J. Runyon was married in Peoria to Ethel, daughter of John and Merilla (Krisler) Bridson; she was born in Milbrook Township, Peoria County, Jan. 22, 1863; her mother lives at Laura. Mrs. Runyon is a member of the Presbyterian Church. There are three children: Pearl M. and Earl B., born May 3, 1884; Alwilda, born May 20, 1890, died Dec. 27, 1893.
Mr. Runyon is a member of the I.O. of O.F. Lodge No. 102, Elmwood; Knox Encampment, No 163; A.F. & A.M. Lodge No. 448, Yates City; Eastern Star, Yates City; Modern Woodmen of America, and Alpine Camp, at Elmwood. He went to Kansas where he lived about four years, and was engaged in the agricultural implement business. Nov. 25, 1887, he came to Salem Township and settled on Section 12, where he has a good farm of 97 acres, between Elmwood and Yates City. He is a breeder of pure Chester white hogs, and has taken a number of first premiums. In politics he is a republican.
Hugh A. Sloan -- Farmer; Yates City, Salem Township; where he was born May 19, 1858; educated in the district school. His parents, John and Mary Sloan, were born in Ireland.
March 22, 1883 he married, at Yates City, Ida E. Baird, who was born in Elba Township, June 1, 1861. There are two children: Jessie May, born Dec. 15, 1885; and John, born Aug. 26, 1889. Mrs. Sloan’s father was killed in the War of the Rebellion. She has been a teacher of music.
Mr. Sloan is Supervisor for Salem Township; he was Road Commissioner nine years, and School Director for several terms. He has about 514 acres of land. He is a member of the Modern Woodmen of America, Lodge No. 3102, Yates City. In politics he is a democrat.
Sarah Sloan -- Yates City, Salem Township; born in Antrim County, Ireland, Nov. 22, 1832; educated in the common schools. Mrs. Sloan’s parents were Hugh and Sarah (Caulfield) Allen, who were also born in Antrim County, Ireland. Hugh Allen’s parents Hugh and Sarah, and Sarah (Caulfield) Allen’s parents, William and Mary Caulfield, were born in Ireland.
Mrs. Sarah Sloan came to America in 1854; her husband, John Sloan, in 1850. They were married in Davenport, Iowa, June 13, 1854; there were seven children: Mary, born July 30, 1856; Hugh Allen, born May 19, 1858; Sarah Ann, born Dec. 18, 1861; Susan Jackson Kell, born Oct. 7, 1865, died July 27, 1879; James, born Jan 9, 1870; John, born Oct. 8, 1872, died July 27, 1879; and Jessie, born Jan. 18, 1877, died Aug. 1, 1879.
Mary Sloan married Dr. Hensley, and lives in Peoria; Hugh married Elnora Baird, and is Supervisor of Salem Township; Sarah married E. H. Ware, and lives in Douglas; James resides at home with his mother, and manages the farm.
Mrs. Sloan’s husband was an engineer and surveyor for the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad, from Burlington to Peoria, and after the road was built, he bought a farm in Salem Township. He owned about 800 acres of land. He was Supervisor a number of years; was a member of the Legislature, and was a distinguished representative of his district. He was a Free Mason. He died in April, 1889. In religion he was a Presbyterian.
R.R. Steck -- Farmer; Salem Township; born in Westmoreland County, Pennsylvania, Nov. 12, 1851; educated in the common schools. His parents, S. F. and Isabella (Jack) Steck, were born in Westmoreland County, PA, the father, Nov. 22, 1822, and the mother, Sept. 27, 1818. Mr. Steck is still living in Elmwood; Mrs. Steck died in Peoria County in 1885. Mr. R. R. Steck’s paternal grandfather was Simon Steck; his maternal grandparents were Samuel and Nancy (Porter) Jack, who were born in Westmoreland Co, PA.
Nov. 1, 1876, Mr. Steck was married in Salem Township to Elizabeth, daughter of James and Elizabeth (Cunningham) McKeegan. Mrs. Steck’s parents came from Ireland, and first settled in Fulton County where Mrs. Steck was born Feb. 14, 1854. In 1855 they removed to Salem Township.
Mr. and Mrs. Steck have five children: Isabell E., born Aug. 29, 1878; Edith R., born Sept. 12, 1879; Elizabeth, born March 3, 1882; Margaretta R., born March 25, 1886; and Robert B., born July 5, 1892. Edith R. and Elizabeth are graduates of the Farmington High School.
Mr. Steck came to Farmington Feb. 13, 1865; settled on Section 34 in Salem Township in 1878; he has acquired a farm of 225 acres and has a large amount of stock. He is a member of the Presbyterian Church in Farmington. In politics he is a republican.
Charles A. Stetson -- Dry Goods Merchant; Yates City, Salem Township; born May 4, 1840 in Otsego Co., NY; educated in the common schools of New York, and in Farmington, Illinois. His father, John S., was born in Otsego Co, NY in Jan., 1805, and died in Farmington, IL. in 1892. His mother, Eliza (Robinson), was also born in Otsego Co, NY.
Mr. Stetson’s first wife, Amanda M. (Caldwell), died Dec. 19, 1887; they had two children: Helen E., born Feb. 27, 1870, now the wife of F. E. Gates, of Omaha, Nebraska; and L. R., born Feb. 15, 1879, now with the Merchants National Bank of Peoria.
His second wife was Lucinda (Miller), who died Dec. 25, 1891.
His third marriage was with Mrs. Minnie (Holcomb) Gates, in Galesburg, IL, July 18, 1895. They have had two children: Mrs. Stetson was born in Connecticut in 1840.
Mr. Stetson came from New York to Farmington, IL. in 1856, when he was sixteen years of age, and in 1862 he engaged in the dry goods business. In 1869 he removed to Yates City and built the first brick store in that locality. He has been School Trustee a number of years, and a member of the City Board. He is held in high esteem in the community. In politics he is a republican. Mrs. Stetson is a member of the Presbyterian Church.
Allen Thurman -- Farmer; Salem Township; born in 1823 in Highland Co, OH. He was educated in the common schools. His parents, John and Elsa (Bales) Thurman, were born in Virginia. His paternal grandfather was Allen Thurman.
Mr. Allen Thurman’s first wife, Elizabeth, who was born in Maryland about 1823, was the daughter of Littleton Truitt; she died in 1878; her parents died in Ohio. Seven children were born to them: John Allen, born Oct. 25, 1849; Mary Ann, born March 7, 1843, died in infancy; Permlia, born May 15, 1850; Rachel, born Feb. 22, 1853; Isaac, born Sept 21, 1855; and William, born March 19, 1858.
In 1884 Mr. Thurman was married to Barbara Branble in Peoria, IL; she was born in Maryland.
Mr. Thurman came to Illinois in 1833, and settled on the township line between Elba and Salem Township. Soon after his first marriage he settled on a farm in the southern part of Elba Township. His two sons, Isaac and William, are in Montana; John Allen lives in Elba Township.
Mr. Thurman has been School Director of his township. In religious belief he is a Christian. Politically he is a democrat.
W.H. Thurman - Farmer; Salem Township; born in Highland Co, OH, March 27, 1822; educated in the common schools. His parents, Philip and Jane (Powell) were born in the James River, VA. Philip Thurman was a Methodist Preacher in Ohio for sixty years. He brought nine slaves with him from Virginia, but, when he reached Ohio, he set them free. He died at the age of 82. Philip Thurman’s parents, Nathan and Fanny, were natives of England. Nathan Thurman was for many years a Methodist Preacher. Jane (Powell) Thurman’s father was William Powell.
Jan. 3, 1845, Mr. W. H. Thurman was married to Pheba Jane Thurman in Bennington, IL. She was born in Highland Co, OH., Dec. 31, 1826, being the daughter of Mark and Fanny (Marchant). Of this union there were eight children: Dr. Newton Thurman, born March 3, 1845; Mary Jane, born Oct. 15, 1847; Adeline, born Feb. 4, 1850; Henry, born Nov. 7, 1852; Fanny M., born July 24, 1855; Charles M., born Dec. 31, 1859; William M., born Dec. 3, 1862; and Ida Irena, born April 15, 1867.
Mrs. Thurman’s father, Mark Thurman, came to Illinois in 1829, when there were only three log cabins at Peoria, and the place was known as Fort Clark. He was born Oct. 26, 1802, and his wife, Oct. 3, 1806. He died Oct. 26, 1845, and his wife, Jan. 31, 1870. He was the first Justice of the Peace of Maquon Township and the first School Director.
Mr. W. H. Thurman came to Bennington, overland, in 1841. He has been Road Commissioner and School Director. In 1844, he became a Campbellite. He is a republican.
John Williams - Farmer and Carpenter; Salem Township; born February 15, 1832, in Canton, Illinois; educated in the common schools. His parents were W. S. Williams, born in New York, and Elizabeth (Sweegal) born in New Jersey. Elizabeth Sweegal's parents were natives of Germany. Mr. John Williams married Miss A. J. Weir, at Knoxville, October 26, 1866,they had one child, Anna, born October 31, 1870. Mrs. Williams was born in Indiana in 1849, and died October 12, 1883. Anna married Horace Franklin Record; they have three children: Roy, born April 7, 1893; Marie, born November 17, 1895; and Ray, born January 15, 1897. In 1852, Mr. Williams went overland with an ox team to Oregon, and for about twelve years followed gold mining. In 1865, he traveled seven months in Germany. After his return home he mined coal for about fourteen years, and then farmed until the summer of 1898, when he started for the Klondike, via Vancouver, B.C., Schwatka, and Lake Bennett to Dawson City, where he prospected about twenty days on Eldorado Creek, then returned home via St. Michael and Seattle. In politics he is a republican.
Frank E. Wilson - Cashier, Farmers’ Bank, Yates City, Salem Township; born in Truro Township, Jan. 12, 1868. His father, John Wilson, was born in West Virginia, Sept. 14, 1816, in Moorefield, Hardy County. He removed to Green County, Ohio, and from there to Truro Township, Knox County, Illinois, in 1838, where he started in the mercantile business and farming. From there he went to Knox Township, and settled on a farm, where he died in Sept. 6, 1893. His wife, Mary, was born in Ohio, and is now living in Knoxville.
Frank E. Wilson married Kate M., daughter of Edward M. and Hannah Collins, in Persifer Township, Oct. 31, 1894; they have one child, Miriam E., born March 5, 1898.
Mr. Wilson was educated at Knoxville, and is a graduate of the Gem City Business College, Quincy, Illinois. He is a member of the A.F.& A.M., No. 448, Yates City, and Eureka Chapter, 98, and is Secretary of both lodges. He has been City Treasurer a number of years, and is now President of the City Board. In politics he is a democrat.
Harry Zook -- Farmer; Salem Township; born in Franklin Co, PA, Nov. 25, 1835. His parents, Joseph and Mary Zook, were born in Franklin Co, PA, and the former died in 1862.
March 17, 1862, in Lewiston, Fulton County, Mr. Harry Zook married Anna Maria Bond, who was born Sept. 25, 1842, near Farmington; she was the daughter of Selden and Maria (Cady) Bond. Mrs. Zook’s mother died near Farmington, and her father died in Salem Township.
In 1845 Mr. Zook came to Canton, IL., with his parents, who afterwards located southeast of Farmington. With his wife, he came to Salem Township in 1869, and settled on Section 20, where he has a farm of 80 acres, with very fine buildings, and where he raises all kinds of fruit. In politics, he is a democrat.
BACK -- HOME
Copyright ©Genealogy Trails