Zion Lutheran
Evangelizal Church
Nelson Township, Lee County IL

The leading and I may say, only, church in Nelson Township is Zion's Lutheran Evangelical which was organized February 23, 1867 with 58 members.

The first elders were Conrad Hartman and Daniel Uhl; the first deacons were Lewis F. Long and Gerhart Missman. The first pastor was Rev. A.A. Trimper, the Dixon Lutheran Minister. The second pastor was Ephraim Miller who assumed his duties there in 1871. In 1875 Rev. J.P. Sanderson followed.

In the year 1877 Rev. J.W. Henderson assumed charge and in 1879 Rev. J.B. Kast became pastor.

The Dixon Evening Telegraph May 1, 1951

Back Home

Illinois - "Our Way"