Logan County, Illinois
Genealogy and History
Welcome to Illinois Trails!

Part of the Genealogy Trails group

Illinois Genealogy Trails is a volunteer group whose goal is to put
history and genealogical information online for the free use of all researchers.

This county website is available for adoption!

If you want to join our group to help us add data to this website,
please visit our
Researchers Information Page

If you need help starting your Illinois research, visit our
Research Page

We regret that we are not able to perform any research for you.

County History

Named for Dr. John Logan, a pioneer physician who emigrated to the United States from Ireland. He was an Illinois State Representative and the father of General John Alexander Logan.
The county was established on February 15, 1839. Prior to this, the county was part of Sangamon, Tazwell, McLean and DeWitt counties. The county seat of Logan County is Lincoln, which was the first city named for Abraham Lincoln in 1853.

LOGAN COUNTY- situated in the central part of the State, and having an area of about 620 square miles. Its surface is chiefly a level or moderately undulating prairie, with some high ridges, as at Elkhart. Its soil is extremely fertile and well drained by numerous creeks. Coal-mining is successfully carried on. The other staple products are corn, wheat, oats, hay, cattle and pork. Settlers began to locate in 1819-22, and the county was organized in 1839, being originally cut off from Sangamon. In 1840, a portion of Tazewell was added and, in 1845, a part of De Witt County. It was named in honor of Dr. John Logan, father of Senator John A. Logan. Postville was the first county-seat, but in 1847, a change was made to Mount Pulaski, and later, to Lincoln, which is the present capital. Population (1890) 25,489; (1900), 28,680. ("Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois", ©190 1, transcribed by K. T.)

MOUNT PULASKI, a village and railroad junction in Logan County, 21 miles northwest of Decatur and 24 miles northeast of Springfield. Agriculture, coal-mining and stock-raising are leading industries. It is also an important shipping point for grain, and contains several elevators and flouring mills. Population (1880), 1,125; (1890), 1,357; (1900), 1,643.
("Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois", pub 1901, transcribed by K. T.)

Towns and Cities of Logan County

Aetna, Atlanta, Broadwell,Chester, Corwin, East Lincoln,Elkhart,
Eminence, Hurlbut, Laenna, Lake Fork, Mt Pulaski, Oran, Orvil, Prarie Creek, Sheridan and West Lincoln

Communities and Towns
Atlanta, Bakerville, Beason, Bell, Bethel, Broadwell, Burtonview, Chestervale, Chestnut, Cornland, Elkhart, Emden,
Evans, Fogarty, Hartsburg, Lake Fork, Latham, Lawndale, Lincoln, Lucas, Middletown, Mount Joy, Mount Pulaski, Narita,
New Holland, San Jose, Skelton, Union
Skelton, Burton View & Chesterville (Stations)
Towns Laid Out, Since Vacated

Logan County Data

Church Histories / Records
County Records
Family Bibles and Records
Historical Info
Military Records
Miscellaneous Data
Newspaper Data
Obituaries & Death Notices
School Records
Wills/Probate Records
Website Updates:
May 2017:  Community News, obits for VANISE, HODNETT, GORE
Apr 2017:  family records for BEVAN; obit for FARRIS.  Crime news for PERSON, ROLLER



Helpful Addresses

Logan County Courthouse
P. O. Box 278
Lincoln, IL 62656

County Clerk (217) 732-4148
Circuit Clerk (217) 735-2376
Recorder (217) 732-4148

IRAD Depository

Williams Hall
Illinois State University
Campus Box 5500
Normal, IL 61790-5500
(309) 452-6027

Logan County Genealogical & Historical Society
114 N. Chicago Street
Lincoln, IL 62656

Search Our Sites!

Illinois Genealogy Trails Mailing List

Keep informed of our updates to this site and all of our Illinois websites.

Visit our Surrounding County Websites:

Tazewell] [Mason] [Menard] [Sangamon] [Macon] [DeWitt] [McLean]

Back to Illinois Genealogy Trails Main Page

Illinois Genealogy Trails

© Genealogy Trails

All data on this website is Copyright by Genealogy Trails with full rights reserved for original submitters.