ARMSTRONG, BERKLEY (Deceased)The Armstrong family, living in the northern part of Wabash County, were originally of Irish ancestry. They settled in North Carolina, from there removed to Kentucky, then to Tennessee, and in 1815 John Armstrong, the Grandfather, came to Illinois and settled in the northern part of what is now Wabash county. Berkley Armstrong was the son of Thomas J. and Martha G. (Crane) Armstrong. He was born on the farm, April 18th, 1835, where he lived and died. He departed this life April 19th, 1881. He married Rebecca A., daughter of Benjamin and Sarah (Wolf) Price, March 11th, 1857. Mrs. Armstrong was born January 14th, 1840. There are five children now living, the offspring of Berkley and Rebecca A. Armstrong. Their names in the order of their birth are Martha J., Sarah I., Clara B., Thomas J., and Bertie M. Mr. Armstrong, during life followed farming. At the time of his death he was one of the commissioners of the county. He was a kind and indulgent father, an affectionate husband, a good neighbor, and died respected by all who knew him.[From the 'Historical Encyclopedia of Edwards, Lawrence and Wabash Counties, Illinois', published 1883]
The Adams family, living in the northern part of Wabash county, is of English decent. Samuel Adams, the grandfather of David, was a resident of Brook county, West Virginia, of the Pan-handle district, and there married a Preston, who was of an old and distinguished family of Virginia. Samuel Adams died in Virginia, and his wife in Morgan county, Ohio, on the Muskingum river. Among the offspring of that union was a son, also named Samuel, father of David. He was born in Brook county, West Virginia, in September, 1797. He moved to Morgan county, Ohio, in 1833, and there died in 1876. He married Nancy Irwin, born in West Virginia. She died in 1827, leaving four children. Mr. Adams subsequently married Eliza Green and had seven children by that marriage. David Adams, the subject of this sketch, is the oldest son by the first marriage. He was born in Brook county, W. Va., August 14, 1818. At the age of eighteen years he engaged with a firm that was manufacturing and selling wheat fans. He afterwards superintended a shop for the manufacture of machines, for four or five years. In 1840 he came to Wabash county, Illinois, and put up a shop on the old Fox place, and there manufactured fanning mills. Prior to that time, however, he spent a year each in Clark and Edgar counties, Ills.; then about the same length of time in Carlisle, Sullivan county, Ind., township I, range 12 W. He worked at the fanning mill business for two or three years longer, and then abandoned it and gave his attention to farming. When he purchased the land it was unimproved, and all the buildings which ornament and beautify the place have been erected by him. A view of the premises can be seen on another page. In 1857 he commenced planting and raising nursery stock, and in 1859 commenced the sale. He supplied much of the stock for many of the fine orchards now bearing fruit in southern Illinois. He continued the business to the present year, when he made arrangements to abandon it.
On the 21st of January, 1841, he married Miss Mary, daughter of Jacob and Jane (Herrington) Fox. She died in January, 1879. By that marriage there were ten children, six of whom are living, whose names are: Sarah Jane, wife of Absalom Nunaly; Louisiana, wife of Henry E. Blood; Laura F, wife of Lewis Wood; Joan, Mary and Elisha Kent Adams.
From 1843 to 1857 Mr. Adams worked at carpentering, millwriting, capinet making and in wood work generally. He also carried on the farm at the same time. After the latter date his time was busily employed looking after his nursery. Politically, Mr. Adams was originally an Old Line Whig, and from that organization naturally drifed into the Republican ranks. In matters pertaining to religion, he does not subscribe to any formulated creed, but is partial to the teachings of Alexander Campbell, whom he knew intimately in his younger days, and for those purity of character, correct life, broad and enlightened views, he always entertained the highest respect and regard. The village known as "Adams' Corner" was started by and named in honor of Mr. Adams, who gave the ground and encouraged the town in various ways.
[From the 'Historical Encyclopedia of Edwards, Lawrence and Wabash Counties, Illinois', published 1883]
Among the representative and successful farmers of Wabash Precinct, Wabash County, Ill., is George Adams, formerly a teacher in the county and for many years a carpenter. Mr. Adams has himself cleared and improved his farm and has put it into a fine state of cultivation. He has shown excellent judgment in the conduct of his affairs and has been successful through hard work and energy. He was born in Brooke County, W. Va., February 26, 1833, and is a son of Francis and Eleanor (Green) Adams, natives of Maryland. Francis Adams was a son of Samuel and Sarah (Preston) Adams, also of Maryland, and was married in his native State. He and his wife moved to Morgan County, Ohio, and there spent the remainder of their lives.
In his boyhood George Adams accompanied his parents to Morgan County, Ohio, and in 1854, when he reached his majority, left home, having received a good education in Morgan County schools. He preceeded by boat from McConnelsville to Evansville, and thence by train to Princeton, Ind. With others he hired a four-horse team to reach Mt. Carmel, Ill., and while traveling through the bottom, it rained so hard that they remained all night at a house on the Indiana side of the river. After reaching Mt. Carmel Mr. Adams walked to Timberville, in Wabash Precinct, and worked for others until his marriage. He spent seven winters teaching school in Wabash County and for some time followed the trade of carpenter. He later turned his attention to farming, and after his marriage moved to a forty acre farm belonging to his wife. Only eight acres of the land was cleared and he began improving the farm at once for cultivation, becoming possessed of 150 acres all in one body, of which he cleared and cultivated all except twelve acres of timber. He gave his son, Charles F., thirty-five acres of land.
In February, 1858, Mr. Adams married Jane Wood, a native of Wabash County, daughter of Joshua and Elizabeth (Couch) Wood, and they became parents of the following children: Eleanor, Mrs. Charles Runyon, now deceased; Flora, Mrs. Linder Courter, of Mt. Carmel; Charles F. of Wabash County; Mrytle, Mrs. William F. Courter, of Allendale, Ill.; Joshua of Indianapolis, Ind.; Clara, Mrs. Webster Seibert, of Mt. Carmel; Della V., Mrs. Joseph Wright, of Wabash Precinct; Ruth, at home; George, died in 1905.
The family attended the Christian Church and in politics Mr. Adams is a stanch supporter of the Republican party. He is among the oldest residents of Wabash County and is considered one of its most useful and public-spirited citizens, being identified with the best interests of his community.
[From "The Combined History of Edwards, Lawrence, and Wabash Counties, Illinois". Published by J. L. McDonough & Co., Philadelphia 1883]
ARMSTRONG, Thomas N.
The Armstrong family is of Irish ancestry. John Armstrong, the grandfather was of Irish parentage. His father was killed at the siege of Derry. The grandfather emigrated from North Carolina to Kentucky, and from thence removed to Smith's Fork, in Wilson county, Tennessee, and in September, 1815, came to the territory of Illinois, and settled on section 13, township 1 N. range 12 W. of what is now Wabash county, then a part of Gallatin. He bought two hundred acres of land from Levi Compton. It was partially improved, and had on it a small cabin. He there lived until his death, which occurred April 30, 1836. He married Elizabeth Martin. She died at the same place, August 10, 1830, in the seventieth year of her age. Three were eight children, the offspring of John and and [looks like an error in the original text] Elizabeth Armstrong, all of whom are dead; all had families. One of them was Lewis, the father of Thomas Newton Armstrong; he was born in Kentucky, August 15, 1799, and came with the family to Illinois on the date above mentioned. Here he grew to manhood, and married Martha Wood, daughter of John Wood. She died May 19, 1866, in the sixty-sixth year of her age. Her husband, Lewis Armstrong, died September 2, 1869. He followed the peaceful avocation of a farmer during his life. By that union there were nine children, seven of whom are still living. Among the latter is Thomas Newton Armstrong, the subject of this sketch. He was born on the place where he now lives, May 29, 1829, and was the fifth child in the family. He grew up on the farm, and early in life adopted the trade of wagon-maker, which he followed for twenty years, though he also farmed during that time. On the 10th of May, 1866, he was united in marriage to Miss Emily, daughter of Jonathan and Rebecca Clarke. She was born in Wabash county, and died September 5, 1869, leaving two children, whose names are Martha and Emily Jane. On the 27th of February, 1871, Mr. A. married his present wife, Mrs. Sarah Jane Richards, nee Smith. She had one son by her former marriage, named William H. Richards. She was born in Richland county, Illinois, October 22d, 1840. There have been two children by the latter marriage, one of whom is living, named Edgar Armstrong. James W. is dead. Mrs. Armstrong is a member of the M.E. church. Mr. Armstrong is an honored member of the order of Free masonry, and holds membership with Allendale lodge No. 752. Politically the family are of Democratic stock. Mr. A. cast his first presidential vote for Franklin Pierce, in 1852, and from that time to the present has uniformly voted the ticket of his first choice.
As will be seen from the foregoing, the Armstrong family have been the pioneers of three states, viz.: Kentucky, Tennessee and Illinois. They came here three years before the territory was erected into a state. Abner Armstrong, the son of John, was the first sheriff of Edwards county; John Armstrong was county judge of Wabash county, and Thomas J. was also associate judge for a term. Other members of the family held various offices at different times, and in every official position earned the character and reputation of being honest, efficient and capable public servants.
[From the 'Historical Encyclopedia of Edwards, Lawrence and Wabash Counties, Illinois', published 1883]
One of the leading merchants of Mt. Carmel, Ill., who has taken an active part in local politics and public affairs in the vicinity for many years, is a native of Wabash County, born in Lick Prairie Precinct, February 11, 1848, a son of John W. and Rebecca (Stewart) Baird, the former a native of Kentucky, born in 1803, and the latter a native of Tennessee, born in 1808. His grandparents were Adam and Rebecca Baird, natives of Kentucky, and James Stewart and his wife, of Tennessee. The Stewarts were among the early settlers of Wabash County, coming in 1826 and fording the Wabash River with an ox team and wagon. They entered wild timber and prairie land in Lick Prairie Precinct, and improved it until they had a good farm. The Baird family also settled in Wabash County in 1826, securing Government land, and spending the remainder of their lives on this farm.
John W. Baird and his wife were married in Indiana, in 1825, and settled on a farm in Lick Prairie Precinct, where they resided until 1871, when they moved to Mt. Carmel to live with their son. They were the parents of ten children, of whom three sons and three daughters are now living, namely: Nancy, widow of C. B. Root, of West Salem, Edwards County, Ill.; Foster A., of Sumner, Ill.; Adam Quincy, of Shelbyville, Ind.; Caroline, widow of Sylvester L.; Will, of Portland, Ore.; Lillie, widow of Isaac N. Moore, of Mt. Carmel and Francis M.
Francis M. Baird received a good common school education and carried on farming on his own account until he was twenty-two years old, when he and his brother, Adam Q., established a drug store at Mt. Carmel. Two years later they sold out and Francis M. worked in the employ of others until 1906, then again embarked in business on his own account, in which enterprise he is still engaged. He has established a good custom and enjoys the confidence and esteem of his customers and friends.
September 8, 1874, Mr. Baird married Candace A. Jennings, who was born at Cataract, Ind., daughter of Theodore and Emma (Yager) Jennings, of Kentucky and England. Two children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Baird: Ralph J., of Long Beach, Cal., and Nora, Mrs. Edwin Marks, who lives with her father. Mrs. Baird died February 27, 1909, deeply mourned by her family and all who knew and appreciated her high character and blameless life. She was a good wife and mother and died firm in the faith of the Christian Church.
Mr. Baird has been an Elder in the Christian Church since 1895. He is a stanch Republican in political views and from 1894 to 1898 held the office of the County Clerk, being the only Republican who has ever held that office in Wabash County. Mr. Baird is a member of the fraternal orders of Ben Hur, Modern American and Court of Honor. He has a large circle of friends and is an intelligent, useful citizen, who has the best interests and welfare of the community at heart.
BAIRD, Winfield Scott, proprietor of the South View Poultry Farm, in Lick Prairie Precinct, Wabash County, Ill., was born near the farm where he now lives, January 13, 1860, a son of William S. and Sarah (Wood) Baird. William S. was a son of John and Rebecca (Stewart) Baird, formerly of Kentucky, and was born in Lick Prairie Precinct, August 15, 1829, while his wife was born in Friendsville Precinct, Wabash County, March 17, 1832, daughter of John and Catherine (Bratton) Wood, of Kentucky and Tennessee, respectively. William S. Baird, Sr., and his wife spent their m harried life in Lick Prairie Precinct, where he was a farmer and stock-raiser. He died on his farm September 3, 1865, and his widow died on the same farm January 31, 1881. Their children were: Clayborn, born October 8, 1853, died September 29, 1876, in his twenty-third year; Romelda, born March 17, 1855, died March 15, 1876, at the age of twenty one years; Elimara, Mrs. F.S. Briner, born September 22, 1856, died in Lick Prairie Precinct, June 27, 1885; Winfield S.; Zeruah, born April 1, 1863, died January 2, 882, at the age of nineteen years.After finishing the course in the common schools, Winfield S. Baird, Jr., attended the normal school at Grayville, Ill., during the winter of 1879-80. He lived with his parents until their death, assisting with the work on the farm. He inherited 120 acres of the home farm, and from his sister's husband, Mr. Briner, purchased seventy acres, which he sold two years later. He has added to his land until he now has 188 acres in his home farm, and purchased twenty-two and one-half acres of land in Fordyce Creek bottom, which was covered with timber, which he was cleared, tiled and improved. At the time he took possession of his farm but fifty acres were under cultivation, the balance being covered with timber. He sold twenty acres of the original 120 acres and now has eighty acres under cultivation. During the fall of 1905 he erected the present two-story nine-room dwelling. He also erected all other necessary buildings and has every possible convenience for carrying on his work. He has a substantial new barn 42 by 76 feet. 22 feet high, with an addition of the same height, 24 by 28 feet, and adjoining the barn is an ensilage silo with a capacity of 70 tons. Besides these he has a building which includes a corn crib, machine shed and hog house, 46 by 60 feet, and a wheat granary 20 by 24 feet. Besides general farming interests Mr. Baird has a large dairy of Holstein cows and raises German coach horses and Poland-China hogs. His wife raises Silver Wyandotte chicks.
Republican Compiler ( Gettysburg , Pennsylvania ) June 14, 1826
Shawnetown, April 29
Dr. Ezra Baker of Wabash County , Illinois, lately shipped from this place for N. Orleans , 80 barrels of castor oil, manufactured by him from beans of last year’s growth in his neighborhood. This instance of individual enterprise, is alike creditable to the state, as it will doubtless be profitable to the producer. – Gazette.
Submitted by N. Piper
Robert Bell, the only Revolutionary soldier positively known to live and been buried in the county, came to the precinct from Rockbridge County, Va., in 1815. He was the father of Hiram Bell and the grandfather of Judge Robert Bell.
[From the 'Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois Wabash County' published 1911.]
Also, D.C. Williams in his Book, "Lineages of Wabash County" stated that Mr. was Scotch-Irish, and that his family settled in Rockbridge County, Virginia prior to the Revolution. According to Mr. Williams, Robert Bell served in the Revolutionary war at age 16 year's old and that he was enlisted under Washington, later serving under LaFayette. Williams also states that he married Mary Caldwell and that he came to Wabash County, Illinois after her death.
BELL, James.- One of the oldest native-born residents of Wabash County, Ill., is James Bell, who was born in Bellmont Precinct, September 3, 1830, a son of George and Martha (Stillwell) Bell, the former a native of Botetourt County, Va., and the latter of Monmouth County, N.J. The grandparents were Robert and Mary (Caldwell) Bell, natives, respectively, of County Cork, Ireland, and Virginia, and John and Hanna (Stevens) Stillwell, natives of New Jersey.George and Martha Bell were married about 1820 and settled on a farm in Mt. Carmel Precinct. In 1837, Mr. Bell sold out and moved to other land which they entered from the Government. Mr. Bell was born August 24, 1794, and died January 8, 1871; his wife died October 15, 1870, at the age of seventy-three years. Their children were: John, Hannah, Hiram, Eliza, James, Richard, William, Jeremiah and Ellen. The only one of these children living is James of this biography.
James Bell attended the subscription schools of his native place, and lived with his parents until he attained his majority. He worked for a time as traveling salesman, and as Boss on Ohio & Mississippi, now the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad, a short time, and taught school some. He was married, November 27, 1857, to Winnifred E. Overton, born in Gibson County, Ind., December 10, 1837, and reared in Warren County, Mo. Her parents died when she was young. After his marriage Mr. Bell settled at his present location in a log house in the woods. He had eighty-seven and one-half acres of land, of which five acres were cleared. This he has developed into an excellent farm, clearing all but about four acres, and has added twenty-six acres more in one tract and fourteen acres in another. He has sold some of this land, but at the present time owns 103 acres of as good land as is to be found in Coffee Precinct. Formerly he raised a good many horses, mules, cattle and hogs, but in 1890 retired, turning over the management of the farm to his son. Mr. Bell was a very industrious and successful farmer and has won the respect and confidence among his fellow-citizens. He has been a Republican since the time of Lincoln, and is a consistent member and active worker in the Christian Disciples Church, of which he has been Elder and Clerk. Mrs. Bell died August 10, 1909, having been a devoted wife and mother, and was mourned by a large circle of friends.
Children as follows were born to Mr. Bell and wife: Martha Irene, resides with her father; Mary E. married Philander Read, of Coffee Precinct; Permelia L., Mrs. James Boger, who died in September 1888; Anna E., married Jacob Bradle, of Albion, Ill.; J. Harvey who operates the home farm; Vashti B., married J. W. Williams, of Wagner, Okla., and William Henry, of Washington, Ind.
[Transcribed from the 'Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois, Wabash County." 1911] Submitted by Dawn Daddario
BRATTON, Robert Henry, a prominent and influential farmer of Lick Prairie Precinct, Wabash County, Ill., was born in that precinct November 1, 1856, a son of Amos and Sarelda (Moore) Bratton, also natives of Lick Prairie Precinct. The grandparents, William and Priscilla (Wood) Bratton, natives of Tennessee, and Eli and Irene (Hill) Moore, were all early settlers of Wabash County. William Bratton and his wife entered government land, which was all timbered, and he cleared and put under cultivation forty acres, finally dying on his farm. Amos Bratton's father died when he was quite young and he settled on the home farm after his marriage. He had lived some time with an Uncle, Frank Gard, and learned the trade of wagon-making, at which he worked many years, and he also made coffins. Upon settling on the homestead he remodeled the house and cleared a great deal of land. He was a prominent Democrat and took a deep interest in political affairs, also became a member of the Christian Church. A tree fell on him one day when he was at work, fracturing his skull, and he was never able afterward to bear working in the sun or endure very hard work of any kind. He died March 8, 1873, and his widow afterward married Barton Ballard, though she spent most of her life on the old farm. She died September 16, 1904.
The children to Amos Bratton and his wife were: Priscilla Ellen, who died when sixteen years old; Robert Henry; Dora Alice, Mrs. John S. Miller, of Mt. Carmel; Pina Rosetta, Mrs. Henry E. Risely, died in Lick Prairie Precinct, Jersey May, died at the age of two years; Flotilla, Mrs. P.A. Groff, of Bellmont Precinct.
Robert H. Bratton received his education in the district schools and lived at home with his parents until his marriage, November 4, 1877 to Fannie Maria Stewart, born in Lick Prairie Precinct, October 3, 1858, a daughter of John M. and Marinda (Putnam) Stewart. After Mr. Bratton's marriage his mother deeded him forty acres of the home farm, on which he erected a house. Twenty five acres of the land was cleared and he cleared seventeen acres more. He bought out the other heirs and now owns 120 acres, twenty-three acres of this being in timber. Besides carrying on general farming he raises cattle and hogs.
Mr. Bratton and his wife are members of the Church of Christ, of which he has been Elder since 1890. He is a Republican in politics and served fifteen years as School Director. He is an energetic and industrious farmer and property is kept in excellent condition. Mr. Bratton has spent his whole life in the neighborhood where he now lives and has a large circle of friends. He and his wife had children as follows: Clarence A., born August 30, 1878, lives at Mt. Carmel; Henry H. born December 8, 1879, died December 28, 1885, at the age of six years; Maidie M., Mrs. F. Albert Doyle, born November 5, 1882, lives at Bone Gap, Ill.; Walter Amos, born January 30, 1886; died February 15, 1901, at the age of fifteen years; Flossie Exima, born born January 9, 1889, at home; Paul Randolph, born March 25, 1892, at home, and Beulah Isabelle, born January 5, 1895, at home.
[Transcribed from "Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois - Wabash County, 1911] Submitted by Dawn Daddario
BRINES, Everett Groff
Everett Groff Brines was a farmer and skilled worker in the automotive industry. He built B-29's during World War II and spent 40 years building cars for Chrysler Corp. Born in Bellmont, Wabash County, Illinois July 23, 1900 to James Russell Brines and Flora Viola Groff-Brines, Everett grew up on the third generation family farm in Mt. Carmel. He was described as medium height and build with blue eyes and light colored hair.
In 1918, Everett graduated from the 8th grade. He was 18-years-old but they only went to school from Thanksgiving time to the first of February. After the first of February they would begin the farming for the year.
When his brother Gilbert went off to serve in World War I, Everett had to stay behind and do the farming with his father. They would hitch three mules together to plow in the muddy fields otherwise they used tractors. Mules were easier to unlodge from the mud.
Everett grew an interest in tinkering with things while working in the farm shop. In 1920, Everett enrolled at Swainey Auto and Tractor School in Kansas City, Missouri. He learned automotive work, welding and even made batteries from scratch.
In the winter time he worked the rails as a fireman on the Illinois Railroad. The fireman fed coal into the locomotive. His route went from Mt. Carmel to Carbonddale and Chicago. He would go as far as 8 hours would take you. Then catch the next train down to Mt. Carmel.
In 1921 using his experience on the railroad, he got a pass on the train and went to Detroit and was hired by Ford Motor Company. Ford paid him $0.50 an hour as a welder. He worked for Ford until 1924 when he went over to Dodge, when Walter Chrysler bought the Dodge Corporation. He spent 41 years with Chrysler and became a foreman in the sheet metal experimental division.
In 1926, he met an Allendale, IL girl Katherine Florence Stillwell, a local teacher, while visiting Wabash County. She just happened to be the girlfriend of his brother Virgil. They met while Everett was driving them to a church picnic in Adams Corner. When Virgil intentionally knocked her off the teeter-totter Everett came to her aid. Virgil reportedly laughed it off. That was the end of her relationship with Virgil and the beginning with Everett. Soon Everett was corresponding with Katherine from Detroit and went back to Illinois to visit her. During a stroll in a park near Adams Corners, Illinois Everett proposed marriage on a park bench. Together they had two sons; William Everett and James Richard.
They lived in Highland Park, Wayne County, Michigan in suburban Detroit until he retired in 1968. Work life was dangerous in the car factory. One time, Everett was walking past a power hammer in the factory, the belt broke and the power hammer hit him in the shins. Some 40 years later he developed skin cancer in the same spot. When he had a appendicitis in 1940 the company paid him half his usual wage until he got out of the hospital then he only took home half his wage home until he paid back all of the money used during the hospital stay. That's was their idea of disability pay back then. During WW II his Chrysler plant switched over to making bombers for the war effort. His job was to hammer out the engine cowlings for the B-29 bombers used in the War on Japan. After the war he made cars again.
He was a Republican and fiscally responsible. He paid double the house payments until his house was paid off. In his spare time he was a basketball and baseball coach for his sons' teams and went to protestant church.
Everett was a very gentle person he never forced anybody, he knew how to coach everybody. But at Chrysler they said he was hell on wheels, he could really cuss a guy out but his nickname was "Happy." His son Jim remembers him as very active, never read a book.
"He would say to me, 'look up in the sky there is at least two hours of daylight left. Get out of that chair, quit reading that book. There is a lot you can get done with two hours of daylight. You can read that book after dark," Jim said. "If you had a minute he would find something for you to do."
He use to say "if you have a problem, get a project" and you'll work it out.
In 1968 they sold their house and moved to Mt. Carmel. He and his brother decided to plant corn for one season, for old times sake. In the February of 1972 they sold their house and moved to Arizona where his sons found work. Katherine and Everett lived in a condo in Sun City, Maricopa County, Arizona. Katherine died of a stroke 22 Apr 1979. Everett remarried a retired teacher by the name of Helen. She passed in 1993. Everett died 22 April 1995 several months before his 95th birthday. He is buried with his first wife at Sunland Memorial Park in Sun City.
Submitted by Jon Brines: Sources: Jon Brines memories of Everett, Interview with James Richard and William Everett Brines, US Census Records, Ancestry.com, Birth and death records, U.S. Public Records Index, U.S. Social Security Death Index, U.S. World War I Draft Registration Card
BRINES, James Russell
James Russell Brines was a Teacher, Farmer & insurance Agent. J.R., as he was sometimes referred, was born 31 Oct 1870 in Bellmont Precinct, Wabash County, Illinois. He was a middle child of nine brothers and sisters to Morris and Virginia (Mull) Brines. J.R. was described as 5'8", 160 lbs with a hooked nose, gray eyes, black hair, red mustache/eyebrows and a black beard. According to the 1880 US Census, James (8) was living in Bonpas, Wabash County, Illinois with his 50-year-old father Morris and 35 year old mother Virginia.
The early education was acquired in the district schools, but later he attended college out of state. James Russell graduated with two degrees; Stenography 1889 and a teacher's diploma from the Central Normal College, Danville, Indiana (near Indianapolis) 29 July 1891. At the age of 18 he began teaching school in a one room school house. In all, he spent 20-years teaching elementary school aged students. J.R. became a teacher at the school just after his future wife Flora graduated. She was a neighbor and somehow they fell in love. Her schooling went to 8th grade, he was a college graduate. By 4 May 1892, J.R. married Flora Viola Groff in Bellmont Village. She was the daughter of Judge John Groff and Harriet Gard. On May 11 1896, J.R. joined a building committee to arrange to build a church at Calhoun, IL at the cost of $900. By Oct 25 Maud Christian Church began operating and J.R. Brines was elected trustee. He later became the superintendent of Sunday school and the clerk of the church.
He taught grammar school until the growing season then worked the farm the summer months. In 1909, he gave up teaching to focus on the farm full time. He paid his father $1,000 for 90 acres in Bellmont. They worked his wife's additional 80 acres bringing the total owned to 290 acres. They called it "Plain View Farm." They raised white haired corn, maintained an orchard and raised Duroc Jersey hogs, Holstein Cattle and made a specialty of Buff Rock chickens. He followed scientific methods, added a windmill and followed modern agricultural ideas as the President of the County Farmer's Institute. J.R. was able to make the farming enterprise profitable until the Great Depression of the 1930's. The financial crisis of the Great Depression took its toll on the Brines Farm. J.R. told the story of when he sent his peaches to Chicago on the railroad, they would not buy the fruit because they said it was over ripe. J.R. was suspicious and reportedly said, "they stole them from me." In 1932, he lost the farm to foreclosure.
In politics he was a Republican. For several decades he was a Government Crop Correspondent reporting crop figures to the Federal government for Bellmont Precinct. He was the President of the Wabash County Teacher's Association, he was a member of Lodge 729 of the independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Royal Neighbors of Bellmont and member of the Sugar Creek Lodge No. 7645 of the Modern Woodsmen of America.
According to the 1930 US Census, James was living with Flora and 32-year-old daughter Pearl in Mount Carmel, IL and he was an insurance agent.
J.R. later developed Parkinson's Disease. Even so, a farmer friend called him "Shakey" as a term of endearment related to the effects of the disease. He died 2 Oct 1949 after complications from the disease and old age. He is buried at Rose Hill Cemetery, Wabash Co., IL by Flora.
Sources: U.S. Census, Ancestry.com, family stories told through James Richard Brines, The History and Families of Wabash County Illinois 1824-1993 by Todd W. Iddings. Also a biography believed to be written by James Russell Brines by himself for publication in another history book, according to Gilbert Brines.
Submitted by Jonathan Brines, gr. grandson of James Russell Brines.
BRINES, John Richard, WW1 Hero
John Richard Brines was an electrical engineer and a World War I hero from Wabash County. He was born March 12, 1895 in Wabash County, Illinois the son of Henry Brines (1854-1898) and Margaret Ann Jones (1868-1926) of Wabash County. He enlisted January 31, 1918 as a U.S. Marine assigned to the historical American Expeditionary Force who took on the German army in World War I. His brother Paul was a bugler in the Army during the war. From Jan until April John trained at Paris Island, South Carolina, according to military records. In May he was reported sick in the hospital with an illness of some kind. John's military doctors described him as having "excellent character." He would need it for the adversity he would soon face on the Battlefield in France. On June 21-26, 1918 Brines took part in the attack against the Germans in Boi de Belleau Bouresches northwest of the Chateau Thierry. Brines's unit, part of the 2nd Battalion of the 5th Marines were ordered to take Belleau Wood where the German forces were dug in with machine guns. His commanding officer Colonel Frederick May Wise gave a first hand account of the battle and the moment he got the orders from a courier to attack.
"I knew that piece of paper I held in my hand meant the needless death of most of my battalion," he reflected.
The charge occurred at four in the morning.
"I stood there watching them go forward," Wise reported. "The Germans could see us now. They had the range. Here and there men were dropping. But the line went steadily on. The Germans couldn't have had better targets if they had ordered the attack themselves. The barrage kept crawling on. About two hundred and fifty yards behind it the battalion went on, men dropping, men dropping, men dropping. Yard by yard they advanced. Minutes after, I saw them disappear into the woods. Those woods seemed to have swallowed up the barrage without an effort. Now they swallowed up the battalion."
The Marines stormed machine gun nests with rifles and bayonets and succeeded against all odds.
"At the battle's end. . .I lined the men up and looked them over. It was enough to break your heart," Wise reported.
Out of 965 men only 350 survived including Brines. The Fifth and Sixth Marine Regiments were awarded the French Fourragère medal for their actions at Belleau Wood which they renamed "Bois de la Brigade de Marine" or "Wood of the Marine Brigade."
His military records suggest Brines got a break from combat. In August he was assigned as a "messman" or a member of the steward's department who served meals to officers and crew. Brines service was not over.By September Brines fought in the largest battle in American history called the Hundred Days Offensive during the Battle of Argonne Forest with 1.2-million American soldiers.
It was the final Allied offensive of World War I that stretched along the entire Western Front. It was fought from September 26, 1918, until the Armistice onNovember 11, a total of 47 days. On Oct 5 during combat John was wounded and lost the top of his skull forcing the doctors of the day to replace it with a silver plate, according to family. He also received a gunshot wound to the left hand, according to military records. He was able to live a normal life but did not have a full head of hair like his Brines cousins. For his combat injury he was awarded the Purple Heart. He was discharged June 24, 1919. After the war he met fellow Mt. Carmelite Gladys R. Chapman. They wed and had one daughter; Jean Brines who had her father's mind for science. At General Electric she worked on the landing lights for the Apollo Moon landings. For a career John was an electrician at a automobile plant at Ford Motor Company in Detroit. He also worked as an electrical engineer at Chevrolet in the Gear and Axel plant in Detroit. He died 3 March 1955 at the age of 59. He is buried at Highland Memorial Cemetery in Mt. Carmel, IL.
Sources: U.S. Marine Corps Muster Roll and other military records, Interview with cousin James Richard Brines who knew him, Veteran Headstone Application - Illinois Veterans Commission
[Submitted by Wabash Pioneer Descendant Jon Brines]
Morris Brines was a career farmer who lived his entire life in Bellmont Precinct, Wabash County, Illinois. Morris was born William Morris Brines on 27 Nov 1830. He was of the first generation of Brines born in Illinois. The oldest son of Russel and Eleanor "Nellie" (Garner) Brines, Morris's grandparents Edward and Patience Brines were originally from Connecticut and brought the family to Illinois Territory in 1816 via Allegany County, New York. That was two years before statehood. It was said in a Wabash County history book, that Morris Brines "started in life with nothing but a horse, buying land from time to time as he was able to clear it." He worked as a farm hand saving his money.
And there was nothing worse than a thief in the night especially when he took off with your livelihood - the farm work horse. They were reportedly desperate city slickers preying on rural communities in alarming numbers. It was an easy decision to make for Morris to join up with the Wabash County Vigilance Association - its mission to hunt down and punish horse thieves wherever they ride. No safe havens across county lines where the Sheriff's posse fear to tread. Each "Minute Man" was paid $3 a day. He brought his best horse, a six gun and an iron will to get the job done. If he got his collar they'd kick in a reward of $25. For 1854 it was good money. Morris worked through his personal issues riding long and hard, a momentary escape from the farm's work load and the agonizing depression brought on by the loss of his new wife. At 24, Morris married 18-year-old Irena Gard Oct 20 1854. Within a week, his newlywed bliss was turned to loss as she suddenly passed. She was buried in Lick Prairie cemetery still a teenager.
Morris worked through his personal pain by putting himself into his work and it showed. His success in the saddle with the posse of neighbors and Bellmont merchants was noteworthy. Together they would never a lose horse with at least one alleged horse thief reportedly serving his time in the penitentiary, according to published reports.
As a farm hand his employer Aaron Hallock remembers Morris's work ethic on the farm.
In 1899, Aaron Hallock's daughter Mary Hallock Shearer wrote in her journal, "the hand that staid the longest and perhaps one we all thought the best was Morris Brines. I think he worked there most of the time for four or five years - part of the time he was paid an unusually high price, $20 a month. He was a hard and faithful worker and Father always had a great confidence in him. He was very close and saved nearly all his wages and has been for many years a wealthy man."
Nearly a dozen years passed before Morris married again. He discovered a boisterous Virginia Mull. He married his "Jennie" on 14 Oct 1866 in Wabash County, IL. She was the daughter of civil war veteran John Mull. The Brines and Mull families were very close a natural clan. Jennie's sister Elizabeth married Morris's brother Henry and her sister Rachael Mull was a housekeeper for another Brines brother Edwin. The young men and women socialized according to Shearer. The "Brines Boys," as she called them, went with John Mull's girls on happy "buggie rides and quilting" after church she wrote.
"One of our gayest trips that I best remember was on Easter Sunday to West Salem. A half dozen or more of the boys got buggys and took their best girl and after services in church we all went to a German boarding house for dinner where everything was so highly seasoned with garlic that we could hardly eat any dinner. We were all hungry too and we had many merry laughs."
Morris owned a fiddle and entertained the girls possibly wooing Jennie with his gift of music. His son Morris Jr too played the violin in College. His direct descendants still have the instrument. In fact most of Morris's children went to college. Morris and Jennie wanted a better life for their children and believed in educating them. Morris sent his children and a couple of his nephews off to Central Normal College, a teacher-training college, in Danville, Hendricks County, Indiana.
Morris's tragic times were not over as Jeannie and Morris lost their first three children as infants. The first daughter's name is unknown born in 1868, their second child was a son, his name sake William Morris Brines Jr who they affectionately called "Willie" born 17 Aug 1868 and died at 6 weeks old in October. Autumn continued to be a tough time for them as their third child daughter Jeannie Belle was born Aug 18 and died nearly three weeks later on Sept 8, 1870. Their fortune changed as God blessed them with a son on Halloween 1871, who they named James Russell. He would become a farmer himself and a school teacher and principal. Their next son was Morris William Brines born 13 Oct 1873. Morris Jr would also follow in his father's footsteps as a farmer who specialized in Hampshire Sheep. Daughter Nellie Virginia Brines was born 23 Sep 1877, Jacob Schneck Brines, named after the doctor that delivered him, was born 19 Mar 1880. Daughter Mina Clara was born 20 Feb 1886, Eva born 17 Oct 1889 and Maud born in March 1893. Together they would have 10 children, 7 would survive to adulthood, 5 of which, would attend college.
Morris owned 710 acres and became one of the most extensive farmers of Bellmont, according to a Wabash County history book. He raised white corn and hogs. According to the 1870 US Census the 39-year-old farmer's property was worth $15,000 with $1,200 in personal possessions with wife Virginia and 19-year-old farm laborer Peter Lance. In 1870, $15,000 dollars had the same buying power as $263,000 in 2011 money.
In 1901 Morris would again endure the passing of his love after Jeannie died. He passed away 31 Jan 1902 and was buried in Hallock Cemetery on the edge of the original family farm. His son Morris Jr. reportedly later reburied his parents in the Old Rosehill Cemetery.
Sources: US Census Records, Consumer Price Index, family stories from James Richard Brines and Theodora Brines Dixon, Journal of Mary Hallock Shearer published 1969, The History and Families of Wabash County Illinois 1824-1993 by Todd W. Iddings, Illinois Historical & Wabash County, Illinois Biographical, edited by Sherwood Risley, 1911, Mount Carmel Register articles 1854-1857 and a Mount Carmel Daily Republican article from 2006 regarding Wabash County Vigilance Association.
Submitted by Jonathan Brines
BRINES, NILE WILLIAM
Nile William Brines, a business owner, was born 27 Oct 1909 in Belmont, Wabash County, Illinois the son of Thomas Jacob Brines (1872-1950) and Hattie Florence Barnett (1884-1957). Both Nile and his older brother Orville worked on their parents farm until they were young adults. He and his brother Orville learned to hunt at a young age. That's something that never left him, according to his son Mark Brines. "He was a big quail hunter," Mark said. "He had a lot of trained bird dogs and raised pups."
Nile had 4 years of high school when many at that time were 8th grade graduates. By 1940 Niles was driving a school bus for the local school. At age 21 Nile married 17-year-old Mildred Elfreida McKibben (1913-1992), known as Elfreida. Together they had four children; Nile Eugene (stillborn 1931), Donald Lee (1933), Shirley Ann (1936), and Mark Clifford (1951). They attended the Methodist Church of Keensburg.
For the first few years of their marriage they lived in a house outside of town instead of the farm house that was kept by his parents. "The old farm house was old and pretty behind the times," Mark explained, "He rented it out after they passed."
Nile worked at Scott's Service Station in the 1930s in downtown Keensburg. Today the site is a rural fire station. Together Elfreida and Nile found a newer house in Keensburg not far from his work. "The lived here about 60 years and they were married 63 years," Mark said. "My brother, sister, and I all grew up in that house." Nile's garden was from the back of the garage all the way to the wheat field behind their property. "That was his garden," Mark recalled. "He had a big garden. He had sweet corn, green beans, cucumbers, sweet potatoes and white potatoes, strawberries, lettuce and cabbage." In 1996 The local Mt. Carmel newspaper referred to Nile as a "super-gardner" for his reported 30 pounds of sweet potatoes grown on one plant.
There was an oil boom going on around Wabash County and oil wells were being put an properties all over the area including Nile's homestead. "When they drilled it into that new sand there was a lot of oil and gas there," Mark said. It sprayed all over the white house in one incident that Mark can remember. "I remember there was oil all over the (white) house. The guys that drilled it had it cleaned off the house," he said. The residuals from the oil sales helped the bottom line but did not make anyone rich. "He used part of the gas to heat the house," Mark explained. "We had a gas burner in the living room." Nile worked for 30 years as a distributor for Marathon Oil and owned Brines Marathon, a tire distributor in Mt. Carmel. "He sold gasoline, diesel fuel, tires and batteries," Mark said. "It was an actually a gasoline distributorship. He had a truck and hauled fuel to farmers, construction (sites) and homes." Mark said he was popular salesman locally. "Nile was a real friendly guy," Mark said. "He had a lot of local customers."
His wife died in 1992 and Nile started attending the General Baptist Church. Nile lived another 9 years before passing away at the age of 89, 27 Jul 1999 in Keensburg, Wabash County, Illinois. He is buried at Highland Memorial Cemetery in Wabash County.
Sources: US Census Records, Social Security Death Index, US Public Records Index, Vol 1., Evansville Courier-Press 08-10-1991 article, Mt. Carmel Daily Republican Register 10-15-1996 article, Interview with son Mark Brines and nephew Thomas Brines.
Submitted by Jonathan Brines
BRINES, ROBERT D.
Robert D. Brines, early 20th century Wabash County farmer and stockraiser, born 13 September 1872 in Lick Prairie, Wabash County, IL to E.C. and Mary E. Swain-Brines.
He grew up on his parent's Lick Prairie farm with 7 other siblings and received an education in district schools. When he was about 5-years-old his parents got a divorce, which was unusual in those days. His father raised his sons on the farm and his mother moved into town, Mt. Carmel, with his three sisters who were young teenagers at the time.
At age 19, Robert married Mae Florence Wood, the daughter of Nelson Wood, a civil war veteran and his wife Sarah Ulm-Brines on 23 Feb 1892 in Wabash county, IL. He took over his father's farm and ran it until his father passed inm 1898. After which he rented a farm near Maud in Bellmont Precinct, Wabash County. According to a Wabash County history book Robert became one of the "well known and prosperous farmers and stock-raisers" of Wabash County. Just after the turn of the 20th Century, Robert and his family moved to the former Link Rigg farm in Mt. Carmel Precinct and four year's later purchased a 75-acres in Section 25 of Lick Prairie. In the spring of 1908 he purchased an additional 40 acres of timber land in Bonpas Creek where he cleared the trees and began to cultivate 14 acres of it.
"He is an enterprising farmer, of prudent industrious habits, and has won a fair degree of success through his own efforts. He raises a good grade of cattle, horses and hogs, besides carrying on a general line of farming," it read in part.
Robert and Mae had children together; Walter (1892-1895), Austin William, a WWI veteran 1894-1942, Lela Myrtle 1895-1958, Marcella May 1897-1897, Nelson Wood Brines 1898-1995, Lola Beryl 1901-unknown and Ethan Roy Brines 1906-1987.
The Brines family attended the Christian Church. Robert was a member of the charitable fraternal organization known as the Independent Order of Odd Fellows based on the ideals of Friendship, Love, and Truth. The group were known to visit the sick, relieve the distressed, bury the dead and "educate the orphan."
He also was a member of Modern Woodmen of America (Camp No. 5227) of West Salem, IL. Politically he identified himself as a Republican and "takes a commendable interest in public affairs and current issues," the history book read it part.
After 25 years of marriage Robert suddenly passed away at the age of 45 on 12 Feb 1918. He is buried at Lick Prairie Cemetery in Gards Point, Wabash County, IL. After Robert died Mae moved to Vincennes, Knox County, Indiana with her two youngest children where she worked as a seamstress in a ladies shop. At age 53 she met and married John Allen Judge, a widower from Edwards County, Illinois on Jan 31, 1925 in Kitsap, Washington, USA. They lived in Bremerton, WA and Tacoma Washington. Judge died at age 81 2 Sep 1951. MAe passed 17 Aug 1957 in Tacoma but is buried with Robert Brines in Lick Prairie Cemetery, Guards Point, Wabash County, IL, USA.
Sources: U.S. Census Records, Illinois, Deaths and Stillbirths Index 1916-1947, Illinois: Find a Grave Index 1809-2012, the Illinois Historical & Wabash County, Illinois Biographical, edited by Theodore Risley, 1911, Information and photo provided by granddaughter Dena Ackerman. Journal of Mary Hallock Shearer Edited by Clara Pixley, Judge-Brines Marriage Certificate from Kitsap, Washington 31 Jan 1925.
Submitted by Jonoathan Brines - Pioneer Descendant of Brines and other Wabash County Early Families
BUCHANAN, Charles, A successful surveyor and prominent citizen of Mt. Carmel, Ill., has filled a number of offices in the county with ability and credit, and he belongs to a family that has been prominent in the early history of Wabash County. Mr. Buchanan was born in Wabash County, February 25, 1856, a son of Robert and Elizabeth (Hershey) Buchanan, the former a native of Kentucky and the later of Pennsylvania. Robert was a son of Walter and Jane (Gillespie) Buchanan, of Scotch parentage. His wife was was a daughter of Joseph and Mary Hershey, natives of Pennsylvania.
Walter Buchanan and his wife first settled in Lawrence County, Ill., when there were few people there, coming down the Wabash River to Raccoon Creek. There they secured government land, which they cleared and improved. Mr. Buchanan was a skilled surveyor and one of the best mathematicians in the county. He spent his last days in Lawrence County, Ill.
Robert Buchanan and his wife were neighbors in childhood, living about six miles apart. He served as Surveyor of Wabash county from 1854 until 1879, and also conducted a farm of 320 acres. His death occurred in January, 1889, and that of his widow in June, 1890. Of their ten children seven still survive, namely: Alice, Mrs. John A. Harrington, of Allendale, Ill.; Isadora, Mrs. Edwin Gamper, of West Salem, Edwards County, Ill.; Ella, widow of George W. Smith, also of West Salem; Robert A. of Little Rock, Ark.; Laura, Mrs. Ruben Hill, of Bellmont, Ill.; Belle, resides with her sister Ella: and Charles. Those deceased are: William, died in infancy; Rosa, died at the age of nine years and seven days; Hannah J., Mrs. L.N. Putnum, of Bellmont, who left one daughter. Lulu, Mrs. James P. Long, of Richland County, Ill.
Charles Buchanan spent his boyhood on a farm and was educated in the common schools. He afterwards attended the normal school at Lebanon, Ohio, where he took a course in surveying. He became an expert in this line and in 1879 was elected Surveyor of Wabash County, Ill., serving five years in this capacity. He then located on eighty acres of land, his share of the home farm, and in 1892 removed to Bellmont , where he conducted a general store several years, then returned to his farm, where he remained until 1906, when he was elected to the office of County Treasurer and moved to Mt. Carmel, which is now his home. He continues the work of surveying when his services are in requisition. He has established a reputation for ability and careful work, and enjoys the full confidence and esteem of his fellow-citizens. Politically he is a Democrat. He formerly served as Trustee in Bellmont Precinct and is much interest in the cause of education, as well as other matters of public interest. He belongs to the Masonic Lodge No. 239, of Mt. Carmel, and to the Modern Woodmen of America, of Keensburg, Ill.
December 6, 1885, Mr. Buchanan married Elizabeth Keepes, born in Bellmont, Ill., daughter of Peter and Elizabeth (Peters) Keepes, of German parentage. This children by this marriage were: Evelina, married Lester B. Putnam of Mt. Carmel, and Harry, who died when two and a half years old. The family attend the Method Episcopal Church.
[From the "Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois - Wabash County" 1911, submitted by Dawn Daddario]
CISEL, JOHN H., one of the most prominent and influential farmers of Wabash County, Ill., is a native of Wabash Precinct, where he now owns a good farm. He was born March 6, 1841, a son of Thomas and Mary (McClain) Cisel, the former born in New York, and the latter in Ohio. The parents of Thomas Cisel removed from Ohio to Wabash County, in 1821, and died in Wabash Precinct. Thomas Cisel owned a farm in Wabash Precinct, where he lived after his marriage, and acquired more land in the Wabash River Bottom. Here he and his wife both died. Of their twelve children all reached maturity except one daughter who died in childhood. John H. was the sixth child.
Until his marriage John H. Cisel lived at home and helped in work on his father's farm. He received a good education in the public schools and was reared to agricultural pursuits. He married, December 25, 1866, Jemima Keen, who was born in Wabash Precinct, a daughter of Dennis and Margaret (Compton) Keen. After his marriage Mr. Cisel moved to a farm of 100 acres in Section 24, Wabash Precinct, which he cleared and improved, adding to it until he now owns 230 acres on Sections 2, 24, and 13. He carried on general farming and makes a speciality of raising fine horses, cattle and hogs. He has been very successful and is known as an enterprising, ambitious farmer. He is actively interested in all public enterprises that he considers beneficial to the community and in political views is a Democrat.
The following children have been born to Mr. Cisel and wife: Jesse Lee, of Wabash Precinct; Callie, Mrs. Harvey Pixley, of Flora, ILL; Levi, of Colorado Springs, Ohio; Josie, Mrs. Fred Holsing, of Allendale, Ill.; G. C. of Billings, Mont.; and Nora.
CLINE, John. - Many men make their own way in life and achieve financial success who have not had the benefit of a good education. Such a man is John W. Cline, a prominent farmer of Friendsville Precinct, Wabash County, Ill., who lost his father when he was an infant. He had little opportunity to attend school but has learned much through his own efforts and in the school of experience. He keeps himself well informed on the topics and issues of the day and appreciates the advantage of management on his farm in a scientific manner. Mr. Cline was born in Friendsville Precinct, January 11, 1873, a son of Andrew L. and Lucinda (Litherland) Cline, the former born near Pittsburgh, Pa., and the latter in Friendsville Precinct. They were married in the latter place and settled on a farm there, though he was a carpenter by trade. Here he died, leaving children as follows: Hubert Lee, of Friendsville Precinct, and John W. His widow married (second) Jacob Doty and they lived on various farms in the neighborhood. She died about 1900.
At the time of his mother's second marriage John W. Cline was seven years of age and he left the parental home. He lived for a year with Henry Leek and later found a home at various places until he was sixteen years of age, when he began working at farming by the month. He was married, April 28, 1895, to Lucy Payne, who was born in Wabash Precinct, October 28, 1871, a daughter of Jonathan and Letitia (McDonnell) Payne. After his marriage Mr. Cline built a house on a farm of 136 acres in Friendsville Precinct, which he had inherited from his great-uncle Marshall Wood. In the spring of 1906 he sold this land and purchased an eighty-acre farm on Section 8. Friendsville Precinct. The place was well improved and he has put it into a fine state of cultivation. He appreciated the value of high-grade stock and raises registered Berkshire hogs and Holstein cattle.
Mr. Cline and his wife have no children of their own but have an adopted son, Otto, who was born May 1, 1905. They are members of the Christian Church and active in its good work. Politically Mr. Cline is a Democrat and is actively interested in the welfare and development of the community.
[From the 'Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois Wabash County 1911.' Submitted by Dawn Daddario]
COMPTON, JAMES (DECEASED), who died on his farm of eighty acres, one mile west of Keensburg, Ill. spent his entire life in Wabash County, and was identified with the best interests of his community. Although he died a young man, he had won the respect of his fellows and maintained a good standing among them. Mr. Compton was born in Coffee Precinct, Wabash County, June 1, 1826, son of John and Rebecca (Branders) Compton, of Virginia, who were among the earliest settlers of the county. The parents entered wild land from the Government and developed a farm. The Indians were just leaving the neighborhood as they settled there. James Compton received but a limited education and early began to help his father on the farm. He remained at home until his marriage, December 23, 1848, to Mary Ann Kimbrell, who was born in Wayne County Ill., April 2, 1831, daughter of William and Permelia (Webster) Kimbrell, natives of North Carolina. Her grandparents were Peter and Catherine Webster, the latter of whom came with her daughter to Wabash County.
After his marriage James Compton moved to his farm near Keensburg, where he died a few years later, in November, 1856, at the age of thirty years. His widow continued to reside on this farm until 1901. The children born to Mr. Compton and his wife were: Joseph H., a sketch of whom appears in this work; Jeremiah and Sarah, deceased; Caroline, married John G. Lovelette, of Keensburg, who died September 7, 1904. Mr. Lovelette and his wife became parents of four children: two sons, James and Count, both of Chicago, and two daughters Sharlotta and Laura, both of whom died of lung disease.
Mrs. Compton married (second), February 3, 1861, Joshua Fifer, born in the United States, son of George Fifer, a native of Germany. Joshua Fifer resided on the old Compton home-stead until his death, December 20, 1873. He and his wife had children as follows: James and Francis, of Coffee Precinct; Permelia, and William, deceased. In 1901 Mrs. Fifer went to live with her daughter, Mrs. John G. Lovelette, in Keensburg. She has been a widow for nearly forty years and has managed her own affairs in a most able manner. She has reared her children to honorable man and womanhood and has done her whole duty by them. She is in fair health and is quite active for a woman of her years. She is revered and esteemed by her large number of friends and is honored by her children, grandchildren and great-grandchildren.
[Extracted from "Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois Wabash County 1911." Submitted by Dawn Daddario.]
COMPTON, Van Buren, Levi Compton, the grandfather of the subject of this sketch, was the son of John andElizabeth Compton, born February 1, 1766, in Fairfax county, Virginia. He was the grandson of John Compton, born in Charles county, Maryland, and Mary, his wife, born in England. Levi Compton married Rosanna, daughter of Stephen and Nancy Therwesse, who was born in St. Mary's County, Maryland, February 15, 1770. Levi Compton was undoubtedly the first permanent settler of what is now known as Wabash county. He moved from Virginia to Kentucky in 1792, and remained there until 1801, when he came to the northwest territory. He brought with him from Kentucky a slave, named Dennis Sales, who was probably the first slave brought to the territory. He was a large slave-owner in Kentucky, but like a great many more men in his day who were of broad and liberal minds, disliked slavery. He set them free before leaving Kentucky, - all but old Dennis, - and gave him his freedom soon after coming to Illinois. Levi Compton settled on the Wabash, on a tract known as "Compton's Grant." In 1804 he moved to a point about sixty rods from the northern boundary of Allendale, in Wabash precinct, and there he and his neighbors built a fort, which was known as "Compton Fort." It was one fourth of a mile from Jourdan's block-house. Both were built as a protection against the Indians, who roamed at will through Illinois. In 1816 he settled in what is still known as "Compton's prairie," in 1843. He was a conspicuous man in the pioneer days of Illinois. In 1818 he was a member of the constitutional convention that assembled in Kaskaskia and framed the state government. John Compton, the father of Van Buren, was the eldest son of Levi Compton; he was born in Berkley county, Virginia, February 21, 1791; he died in Wabash county, Illinois, in 1851. He married Jane, daughter of William Barney; she died in the spring of 1831. There were seven children by that union, none of whom are living. In 1836 he married Drusilla, daughter of Jeremiah and Nancy Sebby, born in Bourbon county, Kentucky, in 1801; she died in 1876. There were four children by the latter marriage; Van Buren is the eldest. He was born on the place where stood the old fort, March 23, 1837. His younger brother, John, was a soldier during the late war, a member of the 32d Regiment Ill. Vols., and was killed at the battle of Shiloh. There were four children of the first marriage of John Compton that left families. Van Buren Compton married Miss Sarah, daughter of John and Mary Faha. She was born in county Galway, Ireland. They came to Illinois in 1856, and the marriage was in 1865. There are three children living by the latter union. The Comptons from the time when the memory of man runneth not to the contrary were Democrats, and they still hold allegiance to that political organization.[From "The Combined History of Edwards Lawrence and Wabash Counties, Illinois" published in 1883 J.L. McDonough & Co., Philadelphia].
COUCH, Walter R., son of Hiram R. and Mary Couch, was born on the Hiram R. Couch homestead, two miles east of Lancaster, Ill., September 14, 1839. His father, of English parentage, was born in the State of New York and in the year 1816, at the age of eight years old, came with his parents and others to Wabash County, Ill., locating near Friendsville. His mother, whose maiden name was Starkey and whose father was native Irish, was born in the State of Ohio, her mother being a Yankee. From such ancestry it is not hard to divide where the wit and shrewdness, which characterize the subject of this sketch, are derived from. Walter R. received his early education in the old Couch district school, being privileged, with the other children of the neighborhood, to attend from fifty to sixty days of the winter season, after the corn had been gathered and the usual autumn tasks had been attended to. Here in the old schoolhouse the boys of the district obtained their literary training, and from early fall and until the opening of spring called them to the toil of planting the new crops, with Cushing's Manual to settle all questions of parliamentary procedure, they recited their dialogues, delivered their declamations, or gravely and seriously debated the public questions of the day. Walter R. was a member of this society from the time he was nine years old until he reached twenty-one, taking an active part, that he might in every way add to his literary attainments. In such pursuits his life was passed and young manhood found him with no definite calling yet chosen, save such as the farm would afford. In those days a healthy moral and religious atmosphere prevailed in nearly all the homes that went to make up the Couch school district. The parents in those homes had respect for the Lord's Day, and loved his Word, neither taking his Name in vain nor playing cards or running horse races. About this time Walter R. entered the first session of the Friendsville High School, then under charge of the Presbyterian Board of Education, where he continued until the close of the year.The following year he attended the Battle Ground Institute, seven miles north of Lay Fayette. Ind., conducted under the auspices of the Methodist Episcopal Church, this being being in the fall and winter of 1862. In the meantime he had to settle with his conscience as to whether he should enter the Christian ministry, which he did, and this conscience call was also God's call to him to enter actively and permanently upon that work, for the more efficient preparation for which he spent four full years in the Northwestern Christian University, receiving his B.S. degree at the hands of that institution on the 28th day of June, 1872. He previously been ordained to the regular ministry and during his every Lord's Day in the pulpits of some of the surrounding churches. It is worthy of remark, as showing the strenuousity with which he prosecuted both ministry and studies, to mention that, while he kept pace with his classes in the college, he held three consecutive protracted meetings, unaided by any other minister, at Old North Liberty Church, in Marion County, Ind.; Old Belleville, in Hendricks County; and Arcade, Hamilton County, all in Indiana, gathering converts to the number of 80, which for those periods, was considered rather a remarkable achievement. During this same ministry the North Liberty Church was reorganized, and at Old Belleville the house was rebuilt. Before his graduation in June, 1872, he had been called to preach, half the time each, for Greenwood and Clarksville Churches, both located in Johnson County, about five miles apart, the former lying some ten miles due south of Indianapolis. He received the stipend of $500 from each of these congregations and for five consecutive years ministered for these same fields, at the end of which time he severed his connection with Clarksburg, but continued to preach at Greenwood for two years more, when he resigned there also, came to Wabash County, taking up his residence in his old home, east of Friendsville and near the Old Barney's Prairie Church. It should be said with regard to his relations with the churches in Johnson County that they were always of the most happy, sympathetic and congenial nature, and are today on of the most pleasant memories of all his years of service.At the age of twenty-three Mr. Couch was married to Miss Exima C. Wood, daughter of Joseph and Charlotte Wood, and sister to Oliver and Ogle Wood, all of this county. She was to him a true helpmeet, sharing not only his joys, but his privations and toils as well, and was the brave, loving mother of all his children. During his years of early struggle, when burdened with his college work and trying at the same time to render efficient service in the ministry to the churches to which he had been called, she it was who bore more than her share of the labors, safeguarded him with her love and prayers, and taught their children to be loyal to the Lord whom their father and mother both served. It is his testimony that the most exalting, joyful and soul-satisfying of all the years of his Christian ministry were those spent with his consecrated family on the border line between Greenswood and Clarksburg, in Johnson County, Ind.When he resigned his work in Indiana and came back to Wabash County it was because he thought it would be better for his family, and more especially for his boys. And what was his reward? It was in the satisfaction he had in seeing every one of his sons and daughters pass from childhood into young manhood and womanhood with pure hearts, clean hands, correct habits; besides, that each one had voluntarily entered the church. And though he made his home on the farm continuously from October, 1878, to January 1, 1910, he believes that scarcely any ministry was ever more free in service than his, this being possible from the fact that he enjoyed the absolute confidence of every member of his family, which feeling was reciprocal, so that he had the encouragement and cooperation of the whole circle, enabling him to go wherever he was called, especially in attendance upon his regular appointments. It also enabled him to hold all the protracted meetings for the churches to which he ministered, this service sometimes compelling his absence from home for a month or more at a time, should the success of the meeting demand it, but even in this the family cheerfully and uncomplainingly bore any additional burdens, believing it a joy to have some share in the success of the husband and father's sacred calling. As a result of meetings in which he had no help whatever from any other evangelist, Elder Couch has had the satisfaction of seeing many members from twenty-five to sixty-five profess faith in the Christ and become active members of the Christian Church. He does not know how many he has baptized, having kept no accurate records of his work, but it is safe to say that they number many, many hundreds. It is also unfortunate that he has kept no account of those whom he married, nor of the funerals he has conducted. In both these items he has had a wide and varied experience, the marriages numbering hundreds and the funerals probably exceeding the number of weddings.Mr. Couch was twice married, his first wife dying many years ago. Later he was united to Mary J. Cusick, then a widow, who is the loved companion of his declining years. She was the daughter of Robert H. and Margaret Leek, of near Allendale, Ill., her brothers being F.M. and John Leek, of Allendale and Adams Corner. Mr. and Mrs. Couch have sold the old family homestead near Barney's Prairie Church and have settled themselves in a cozy little home at 1106 Mulberry Street, Mt. Carmel, where they expect to spend the remainder of their days, or at least until such time as something more congenial and attractive may present itself for their consideration. Elder Couch is a hearty, jovial, well preserved man, sturdy in his integrity and a splendid type of citizenship. His word is as good as his bond and the record of his life untainted with meanness or deceit. He is honored by all who know him, has made a large contribution to the good of his day and generation, and his children shall "rise up to call him blessed."[Extracted from the "Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois Wabash County" 1911.' Submitted by Dawn Daddario].
COURTER, Jacob, one of the most successful farmers of Wabash Precinct, Wabash County, Ill, is descended from some of the earliest settlers of the county, and the family have always been identified with the best interests of their community. Mr. Courter was born in Wabash Precinct, December 22, 1845, and is a son of Samuel J. and Eleanor (Banks) Courter. Samuel J. Courter was born in Wabash County March 27, 1822, a son of Jacob and Rachel (Hammond) Courter, natives of Kentucky and Maryland, respectively. Eleanor Banks was born in Wabash County April 21, 1826, and was a daughter of Alexander and Nancy (Rowlings) Banks, both natives of Kentucky, who came to Wabash County about 1815 and entered land from the Government, part of it timber and part prairie. Jacob Courter, Sr., and his wife located in the northern part of Wabash Precinct and bought land, where they spent the remainder of their lives.
Samuel J. Courter and his wife were married in Wabash Precinct in 1842, and rented a farm there about five years. They then bought out the other heirs to his father's farm in Section 5. He died November 4, 1883, on his farm, and his widow died March 21, 1902 at Allendale, Ill. Their children were: James E. who died in Georgia during the war; Jacob; Nancy A., Mrs. E.S. Preston, of Lawrence County, Ill.; Rachel P., Mrs. William Milligan, deceased; Samuel H. of St. Francisville,; Mary E., Mrs. A.M. Milligan, deceased, William A., of Hennessey, Okla.; Jane, Mrs. William O. Ramsey, died in Wabash Precinct; George B. of Chicago, Ill.; Mattie, Mrs. John Dunham, of St. Francisville.
Jacob Courter was reared on a farm and attended the district schools of his neighborhood. He did not leave home until his enlistment in Company B, Forty-second Illinois Volunteer Infantry, in August 1864. He was assigned with his company to the Army of the Cumberland, and participated in five important military engagements, namely: Chickamauga, Siege of Atlanta, Battles of Franklin, Nashville and Springfield, December 15 and 16, 1864. He was never wounded and was discharged in November, 1865. Returning home he resumed his former occupation and on March 12, 1868, married Sarah E. Preston, who was born in Wabash Precinct, a daughter of William and Urzilla (Smith) Preston. Her Father, William Preston, was born in Ohio, January 25, 1815, and his wife in Allendale, Ill., October 20, 1818. Their parents, respectively, were: Joseph and Sarah Preston and William B. and Elizabeth (Jordan) Smith, all natives of Ohio and among the earliest settlers of Wabash County, Ill., William Smith coming to the county about 1809. William Preston died May 2, 1901, and his wife March 7, 1899.
After his marriage Mr. Courter located on a forty-acre tract in Section 5, consisting of timber, which he cleared and put under cultivation. He lived there about four and a half years, when he traded this land for forty acres in Section 22 and bought another forty acres. His wife also owns seventy-five acres adjoining. He added to his possessions many times, and at the present time, owns 140 acres in one body, and has owned much more land which he as given to his sons. He built the handsome two-story frame house which is the present family residence, in 1888. He has erected other buildings on the home farm and has made many improvements, having all the land under cultivation except 10 acres which he has left in timber. Besides carrying on general farming he pays considerable attention to raising Shropshire sheep, short-horn cattle, Poland-China hogs and fine road and draft horses. He has been very successful in all his ventures and has always shown excellent judgment in the conduct of his affairs. He is an intelligent, enterprising farmer, ready to adopt modern methods and ideas in his work.
The children born to Mr. Courter and his wife were: William F. of Wabash Precinct; Edward R., also of Wabash Precinct; Sarah Viola and Walter J., at home. The family are members of the Christian Church and interested in all good work. Mr. Courter is actively interested in local affairs and is a Democrat in politics. He served as County Commissioner from 1896 to 1905 continuously, and filled the office with credit and ability. He belongs to the Modern Americans of St. Francisville, Ill., and also to the Farmers' Union, of Wabash Precinct.
[Extracted from the 'Illinois Historical Encyclopedia, Wabash County, 1911'] Submitted by Dawn Daddario.
DEICHER, John, (deceased).-The Deicher family is an old and well-known one in Wabash County, Ill., and has always been identified with the best interests of the county. Although John Deicher, who had a farm in Lick Prairie Precinct, has been dead a quarter of a century, his friends and associates still remember him with kindly feelings. He was born in Berks County, Pa., December 7, 1830, a son of Jacob and Catherine (Biehl) Deicher, of that State. About 1848 he came to Wabash County and worked for some time at the trade of carpenter. January 14, 1864, he married Mary Eliza Stoltz, who was born in Lancaster Precinct, Wabash County, July 6, 1845, a daughter of Adam and Margaret (Libolt) Stoltz, both natives of Germany. The grandparents of Mrs. Deicher were Adam and Eva (Stupple) Libolt, and Adam and Eva (Marx) Stoltz, all natives of Germany, who emigrated to the United States and became early settlers of Lancaster Precinct, Wabash County. After their marriage Adam and Margaret (Libolt) Stoltz settled on the farm owned by Mr. Stoltz's parents, which he purchased. His wife died August 11, 1846, and he married (second) her sister, Elizabeth Libolt. Mrs. Deicher was the only child by the first marriage, and by the second were four children, namely: Henry, deceased, John, died in infancy; Lewis, deceased; Anna Margaret, Mrs. B. F. Seibert of Lancaster Precinct, Wabash County.Mr. Deicher resided in Lancaster a year after his marriage and worked at his trade as carpenter. He had erected buildings on a farm of 100 acres in Lick Prairie Precinct, this farm being mostly in timber. He set to work to clear his land put it under cultivation and became a successful farmer and stock-raiser, continuing this occupation until his death, January 31, 1885. Since his death his widow has lived on a farm of fifty-five acres, owning ten acres and purchasing forty-five acres from her sons, and her sons James F. and Charles F. are cultivating her land. She and her husband jointed the Lutheran Church in early life. Mr. Deicher was a Democrat in politics. He was a good carpenter and an industrious and energetic farmer and did his duty as a citizen and in private life.Children as follows were born to Mr. Deicher and his wife: Adam, of Lick Prairie Precinct, a sketch of whom appears in this work; Elizabeth M., Mrs. John Seibert, of West Salem, Ill.; John, born September 5, 1869, died January 5, 1895; George Wesley, died at the age of two years; Daniel, of Lick Prairie Precinct; James H. and Charles F., already mentioned; Nora Catherine, Mrs. Joseph Brines, of Lick Prairie.[From the 'Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois Wabash County' published in 1911]
FOX, JEREMIAH The Fox family, on the paternal side, is of German ancestry. Jacob Fox, the grandfather, was a native of Germany, emigrated to America, and settled in Reading, Pennsylvania. He raised a family of sons, one of whom was Jacob; he was born in Berks county, Pennsylvania, September 2, 1792. He there grew to manhood and married. He came west with his family, and landed in Mt. Carmel, Wabash County, Illinois, May 13, 1837. After prospecting for a short time, he purchased one hundred and thirty five acres of land in Wabash precinct, improved it, and there remained until his death, which took place November 9, 1857. He married Jane Herrington, April 14, 1816, in Lebanon county, Pa. She died in Wabash county, Ill., May 23, 1865; she was born in Lebanon county, Pa., April 18, 1796, and was of Irish extraction. There were eight children by that union, two of whom are living, Jeremiah and Elmira, wife of John A. Greathouse. Four of them died, leaving families. Their names were Mary Ann, wife of David Adams; Hardin Fox, who was twice married, first to Susan Martin, who died leaving one child. His second wife was Jane McFarland, now Mrs. D.A.J. McIntosh; and one child living, Susannah, wife of Jeremiah Compton; she died March 12, 1860, leaving one child. Elijah married Frances E. Beedle, and left two sons and one daughter. Jeremiah Fox, the subject of this sketch, is the second son; he was born in Lebanon county, Pa, January 14, 1819; he was in his nineteenth year when the family came west. He remained at home until 1848, when he married. In 1846 he bought one hundred and eighty acres of land, where he now lives. There was a small log house on it, and a portion of it was slightly improved. All the improvements, with a slight exception, have been made by him. His house was destroyed by fire April 12, 1875, and since that time he has erected the large and elegant building that now adorns the farm and gives shelter and comfort to his family and guests. On the 31st of August, 1848, he was united in marriage to Miss Sophronia Compton, daughter of John and grand-daughter of Levi Compton, the first settler of Wabash county. Mrs. Fox was born in Wabash county, and died March 16, 1855, in the thirtieth year of her age. There were two children born of that marriage. Emma Ann and William J. Fox. The latter is one of the substantial farmer of Wabash precinct. He married Miss Sarah Jane Jackman, and has three children, whose names are Nora, Pearl and Josiah.On the 11th of March, 1858, Mr. Fox married Miss Caroline, daughter of John and Sarah (Bowers) Spidle, who was born in Wayne county, Indiana. There are five children living by the latter union. Their names in the order of their birth are: Sarah Jane, wife of Simon S. Couch; Lenora, Mary Ida, Fanny E. and Jeremiah Clyde Fox. Both Mr. and Mrs. Fox are members of the Lutheran church. Politically, he is a Democrat. He has held several offices of a local character, and served a term as one of the commissioners of the county. In addition to farming Mr. Fox has given considerable attention to the raising of fine cattle, sheep and swine, and in the latter business is well known throughout the county as a successful breeder.[From the 'Combined History of Edwards, Lawrence and Wabash Counties, Illinois." Published by J.L. McDonough & Co., 1883. Submitted by Dawn Daddario]
GARD, Green, an honored veteran of the Civil War, and representative of one of the most prominent families in Wabash County, Ill., since 1814, was born in Lick Prairie Precinct, Wabash County, October 31, 1838, a son of Benjamin F. and Mary (Bratton) Gard. The father was born near Cincinnati, Ohio, a son of Benjamin Franklin Gard, for whom Gard's Point was named, and one of the earliest settlers of Lick Prairie Precinct, where he secured land from the Government and remained on it the remainder of his life. Mary Bratton's father was a soldier in the War of 1812 and died in Tennessee, where she was born. His widow came to to Wabash County and was again married there.Benjamin and Mary Gard settled on Bald Hill Prairie after their marriage and a few years later removed to the Bonpas Creek Bottom. He bought and improved a tract of land and contributed a site for a school building. His first farm contained a whole section of land and he became the owner of many hundred acres, most of which was in Lick Prairie Precinct. He was a Whig and took an active part in political affairs. He was born April 3, 1805, and died in August, 1860, and his wife, born July 16, 1806, died about 1851. His children were: Jerusha, Susan, Mary, Harriett and Charlotte, deceased: Washington, of Lick Prairie Precinct: Wasson, deceased, Benjamin of Indiana, Green; Franklin, Marion and Rachel, deceased: Effie, Mrs. Albin Birkett, of Oklahoma; Caleb, deceased. The two last-named were children by his second wife, who was a Miss Kitchen.The youth of Green Gard was spent on his father's farm, and he received the usual education accorded a farmer's son in those times in the district schools. At the age of nineteen years he began working for his brother, Washington, learning the trade of wagon-making. In 1859 he began the erection of a house on a farm of 160 acres in Section 36, Lick Prairie Precinct, which his Father had given him. Two thirds of this land was prairie land and he cleared the remainder, putting it all under cultivation. At the time he began building the brush so was thick he could hardly get through it, but he brought the land to a high state of cultivation. He and his brother, Benjamin, bought a part of the home place on Bonpas Creek Bottom, which was still covered with timber. Green Gard secured sixty-three and one half acres of this, but has given land to his son until he now owns but thirty-two acres, besides 100 acres of the home place, having sold sixty acres in 1866.October 18, 1861, Mr. Gard enlisted in Company I. Sixty-sixth Illinois Volunteer Infantry, called the "Western Sharpshooters." which became part of the Fourteenth Missouri Volunteer Infantry, in which he served for one year, when it was transferred to the Sixty-sixth Illinois. He remained with the regiment as long as it was in service, except six month when he was on detached service, building railroads in Georgia. Mr. Gard received his discharge October 18, 1864, when he returned home, and has been employed in the management of his farm continuously ever since, except during a period in 1881-82, spent in wagon-making business in Edwards County, Ill.Mr. Gard married, January 14, 1860, Electa Kitchen, who was born at Kitchen Bridge, Edwards County, February 6, 1844, a daughter of Leallyn and Elizabeth (Wells) Kitchen, of Indiana. Her father died when she was quite small and her mother died about 1902. Mr. Kitchen and his wife had children as follows: Martha A., who married Martin V. Hon, but is deceased; Mrs. Gard; Marcy C., married Dr. Thomas McClain, of Roswell, N.M.; John E. of Bone Gap, Edwards County; William W., died in infancy. The children born to Mr. Gard and wife were: Addie, born March 12, 1861, and died November 24, 1884; Maud, born October 29, 1865, a widow of Peter Andrews, and resides at Cowling, Ill.: Edward, died in infancy: Earl, born April 1, 1872, lives in Lick Prairie Precinct; Leonard, born January 5, 1878, lived at Bone Gap; Vernon, born June 28, 1881, lives in Mt. Carmel Precinct; Paul, born October 1, 1886, at home. Mr. Gard is a Republican in politics and takes an active interest in the public welfare. He is an intelligent and progressive farmer and has been very successful in his enterprises. He has a large number of friends in the county and is considered a representative, useful citizen. He is a member of the Grand Army of the Republic.[Extracted from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois - Wabash County - 1911] Submitted by Dawn Daddario.
GARD, Benjamin FranklinBenjamin Franklin Gard was an early Illinois pioneer.
B.F. was born 3 Apr 1805 in Cincinnati, Ohio where his parents settled 23-years earlier on a government land grant. In 1814, the Gard family moved to Edwards County (now Wabash Co.) in the newly formed Illinois Territory. B.F. became a man at the time Illinois became a state. His father was a signer of the state constitution and a local political activist who opposed English immigrants to the area. B.F. met a neighboring farm girl, Mary Bratton who's father died during the War of 1812. The Brattons moved to Illinois in 1815. 19-year-old Benjamin and 18-year-old Mary were married 1 Aug 1824 in Edwards County, IL, just eight months after her mother remarried. They settled on Bald Hill Prairie after their marriage and a few years later removed to the Bonpas Creek Bottom. He bought and improved a tract of land and contributed a site for a school building. His first farm contained a whole section of land and he became the owner of many hundred acres, most of which was near Cabbage Corner in Lick Prairie Precinct. At one time he owned 1,000 acres of land, most of which he entered from land grants from the Government.
He was a Whig and took an active part in political affairs. The Whig Party was a political party during the era of Jacksonian democracy. Many later became Republicans when the party dissolved in the 1850's. The party was formed in opposition to the policies of President Andrew Jackson and his Democratic Party. Whigs supported national modernization and economic
After Benjamin Gard's first wife died in Jan 1855 he married another woman in March by the name of Elizabeth Wells. Wells had several children from a previous marriage to a man named Lee Allen Kitchen. Elizabeth Kitchen was 15 years his junior. He had trouble and soon had to take an ad out in the local paper: 3 Jun 1857: "My wife Elizabeth hath without just cause deserted my home and voluntarily absented herself I hereby appraise all persons that I will not consider myself responsible for any debts that she may hereafter contract." By the time he passed she returned home to him and they were living together on the 1860 US Census.
His children were: Jerusha, Susan, Mary, Harriett and Charlotte, deceased: Washington, of Lick Prairie Precinct: Wasson, deceased, Benjamin of Indiana, Green; Franklin, Marion and Rachel, deceased: Effie, Mrs. Albin Birkett, of Oklahoma;
Caleb, deceased. The two last-named were children by his second wife.
Benjamin Franklin Gard died Aug 17, 1860 in Bonpas Wabash County, IL at the age of 55 and was buried Ridge Cemetery, Lick Prairie Precinct, Wabash, IL, USA. Unfortunately, he never lived to see his son Green Gard become an civil war hero.
Sources: US Census Records, 1821 Illinois State Census, U.S. General Land Office Records- 1796-1907, Illinois Statewide Marriage Index, 1763-1900, Extracted from the "Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois, Wabash County, " 1911, Marriages, Divorces and Obituaries from the Mt. Carmel Register Vol. I - Wabash County Illinois, by Dr. Judith A. Hempel, and Published J.A.S.H. Enterprises,1986, there is a Notice of Abandonment Section as follows: 3 Jun 1857Kindly submitted by Jonathan Brines, a descendant of Benjamin Franklin Gard.
GARD, Washington. - No family is more closely identified with the early history of Wabash County, than the Gard family, which has been represented there since 1814, and which furnished one of the members of the Constitutional Convention of 1818, and of the last Territorial Legislature before Illinois became a State. Washington Gard, now living retired from active life in Lick Prairie Precinct, Wabash County, was born in that precinct, December 20, 1833, a son of Benjamin F. and Mary (Bratton) Gard. Benjamin F. Gard was born in Ohio, the son of Seth and Mary ( Brown) Gard, natives of Ohio, and Mary Bratton, daughter of the soldier of the War of 1812, was born in Tennessee. Grandfather Bratton was born in Tennessee and died in his native State, after his widow came to Wabash County and married a Mr. Wood.Seth Gard located in old Palmyra, Wabash County, and helped lay out the streets of that town. He was one of the first Judges of the county and served in the Territorial Legislature in 1816-1817, when it met at Kaskaskia. He finally settled on land which he secured from the Government at Gard's Point, which was named after him, and died on this farm in 1845. His widow died about 1856.After his marriage Benjamin F. Gard settled on a farm near Cabbage Corner in Lick Prairie Precinct, but soon sold out there and bought land in the western part of the precinct. At one time he owned 1,000 acres of land, most of which he entered from the Government. He died August 17, 1860, and his widow died in February 1855. Their children were: Seth, died in childhood; Mary, Mrs. John White, died at age of thirty-five years; Harriet, Mrs. John Groff, died in 1906, Wabash County; Charlotta, Mrs. Lewis White, died at Bone Gap, Ill., in 1909; Washington; Wasson, was killed in 1864 in the Civil War; Benjamin, of Posey County, Ind.; Green, of Lick Prairie Precinct: Franklin, died young; Rachel, Mrs. Nicholas Frederick, died several years ago in Mt. Carmel Precinct; Marion, died young. Mr. Gard married (second) a Miss Kitchen , by whom he had two children, Effie, Mrs. Birkett, of Oklahoma, and Caleb, who died many years ago.Washington Gard received his education in the district school of his neighborhood and remained with his parents until his marriage, November 12, 1854, to Ellen Gardner, who was born in Luzerne County, Pa., daughter of Henry and Sarah (Cole) Gardner, of Luzerne County. After his marriage Mr. Gard moved to a farm of 160 acres which his father gave him, erected a house and other buildings, and lived there until 1880, when he sold out to J. Fred Groff, and went to Pope County, Ill., and purchased 160 acres of improved land, which he traded nine years later for a farm in Lincoln County, Kan. After living there for five years, he sold out and returning to Lick Prairie Precinct, bought a small farm there, on which he has since resided. He has retired from active life and is enjoying the rest he has so well earned. In politics he is a Republican and has served as School Director and Road Supervisor. While living in Kansas he was a member of the P. of H.Mr. Gard is well known in the community where he lived as a public-spirited citizen, and is a worthy representative of the name he bears and of the family that has done so much to advance the interests of Wabash County. He and his wife became parents of children, as follows: Alice and Alonzo, died in infancy; Frank; Glenburn, of the State of Washington, Nora, a widow of James H. Stallons, conducts a general store at Gard's point; George O., of Saline County, Kan.; and Ruldolph, of Kansas City.[Extracted from "Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois, Wabash County, 1911. Submitted by Dawn Daddario]
Richard Fuller was an Indiana and Illinois farmer who settled the Midwest on a land grant from service he earned while in the U.S. Army in the War of 1812. According to his burial and military re-enlistment records Fuller was a farmer born in 1782 in North Carolina described as 5' 10” tall, blue eyes, light complexion, and fair hair. Little is known about his origin or his parents. Fuller enlisted for a 5 year term in the U.S. Army 4 Feb 1809,
at age 27, with the 3rd Infantry Regiment, the oldest active duty regiment in the army today. Fuller joined "The Old Guard" unit at a time when the U.S. Army was little more than 9,000 men and was considered more of a force of constables for the frontier than a standing army ready for foreign invasion. That all changed with increasing threats from Europe and frontier Indian tribes. He was likely trained at recruiting camps along the Catawba River near Salisbury, North Carolina heading to Fort Hawkins, Georgia and then west. From history of the 3rd Infantry Regiment it appears his unit and his commanding officer served the various battles in the Indian Wars of Mississippi Territory before concluding with the historic Battle of New Orleans against the British in the War of 1812. It's unclear if Fuller and General Andrew Jackson ever met. Military records show Richard was present at Fort Jackson (today Wetumpka, Elmore County, Alabama) during the signing of the historic Creek Treaty with the defeated Indian tribe of the south in Aug 1814. By the terms of the treaty, the Creek were forced to cede 23 million acres of their territory: their remaining land in Georgia and much of central Alabama, to the United States government. It signaled the end for the Creek Nation and for all Indians in the South which culminated in the Trail of Tears, forced relocation to Oklahoma several years later.
Jackson became the 7th U.S. President largely because of the success of the battle of New Orleans. Fuller was stationed in New Orleans until his discharge in April 1815. Attaining the rank of Corporal he was most likely conspicuous for bravery and success in the regiment. He returned to northern Alabama where he wed a pioneer. Fuller married a Nancy Foster in Mississippi Territory June 30, 1816 a year later that area was known as Madison County, Alabama Territory. Fuller must have moved from Alabama to Tennessee to Indiana abt 1826.
The family moved at s critical time in American history. Richard Fuller like many others left their adoptive state on account of slavery. In 1830, Tennessee was a slave state with about 20 percent of its population slaves. As a Baptist Richard Fuller and his family may well have opposed slavery on moral and religious grounds. Baptists in the north and the south had long been divided over the issue of slavery. By 1845 the controversy finally forced a bitter split. The coming civil war would only intensify the feelings on both sides. Fuller's beliefs had been profoundly tested and ultimately he made a courageous choice to leave for Indiana.
In 1826 he was listed one of the founding members of the Rock Springs Baptist Church now located in Southeast Township, Orange County, Indiana.
Nancy died before 1836 when Richard married Fanna "Fanney" Mull in Orange County, Indiana 10 Apr 1836. Richard had 6 children the first 2 allegedly born in AL; Rachael 1820-1873, Simpson A. 1822-1866, Nancy 1829-1891, Sgt. Bennet C. 1834-1866, George 1835 and Lucinda 1838 (most likely Fanna's daughter).A new law in 1850 allowed land grants to war veterans and Fuller took advantage of it moving to Wabash County, Illinois to work his 160 acres, provided by the government about 1852. He ended up cultivating 90 acres leaving 70 acres unimproved with a cash value of $1,000 in the 1850's. About this time Richard had 3 horses, 2 milking cows, 5 cattle, 7 sheep and 50 pigs for a $200 livestock value. He also kept 10 bushels of wheat, 2,000 bushels of corn and 80 oats. He died 13 Sept 1860 in Wabash County, Illinois and is buried Lick Prairie Cemetery.
Sources: U.S. Census Records; Indiana/Illinois Cemetery Records, Alabama Marriage Collection, 1800-1969 on Ancestry/Source Information Jordan Dodd, Liahona Research; Bureau of Land Management, Record Group 49; National Archives, Washington, DC. Retrieved by Jonathan Deiss as PDF file (13,733); U.S. Army, Register of Enlistments, 1798-1914 p209; Zachary Frank Hanner the Director of the National Infantry Museum in Columbus, Georgia, Lieut. J. H. McRae's "History of the 3d Infantry. Edward C. Annable, Jr. Curator, National Infantry Museum (706) 545-1870 / (706) 545-5774; Oxford Companion to US Military History: U.S. Army: 1783 – 1865 with Russell F. Weigley, History of the United States Army, 1967, Francis Paul Prucha, The Sword of the Republic: The United States Army on the Frontier, 1783–1846, 1969, Richard H. Kohn, Eagle and Sword: The Beginnings of the Military Establishment in America, 1783–1802, 1975, Edward M. Coffman, The Old Army: A Portrait of the American Army in Peacetime, 1784–1898, 1986, William B. Skelton, An American Profession of Arms: The Army Officer Corps, 1784–1861, 1992.Submitted by Jonothan Brines
GILLIATT, Claud Edison, M.D., a prominent and successful young physician of Allendale, Wabash County, Ill., was born in Unionville, Ind., July 24, 1878, son of Dr. William B. and Amy Ann (Lomax) Gilliatt, both natives of Orange County, Ind. Their parents were William and Nancy (Willard) Gilliatt, native of West Virginia, and Lentsford and Elvira (Hunt) Lomas. Dr. William B. Gilliatt graduation from the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Cincinnati, Ohio, about 1872, and began practicing at French Lick, Ind., in partnership with Dr. Bowles, who invested "Greek Fire." After spending a year with Dr. Bowles he moved to English, Crawford County, Ind., and a year later moved to Unionville. , the same State, being one of the oldest physicians in Orange County. He and his wife had children as follows: Laura, who died at the age of four years; Claud E.; and Lulu Ann, of Greenfield, Ind.After graduating from the public schools Dr. Claud E. Gilliatt attended the normal school at Mitchell, Ind., and Bloomington (Ind.) State University, at the latter institution taking a prepatory medical course. He taught one year (1894) in Orange County, Ind., and later attended the Hospital College of Medicine, at Louisville, Ky. In 1895 he took a post-graduate course in Chicago Post-Graduate Graduate School. In 1898 Dr. Gilliatt began practicing at Unionville, Ind., and in June, 1899, located at Allendale, Ill. He is a skillful physician, enterprising and ambitious, and has the largest practice of any physician in the vicinity.Dr. Gilliatt was married, March 14, 1900, to Beulah Price, who was born at Allendale, Ill., daughter of J. W. and Sarah (McLain) Price. They have one son, James Price, who was born February 10, 1901. Dr. Gilliatt is well-known and stands well in the community, having been successful from the start in building up his practice. He is a member of the Christian Church and has been Deacon since 1908. He belongs to the Masonic Lodge, the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Modern Woodmen of America, of Allendale, and the Tribe of Ben Hur and Lodge of Royal Arch Masons at Mt. Carmel. In political views, he is a Democrat.[From the 'Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois - Wabash County - 1911.] Submitted by Dawn Daddario.
GRAY, F.S., M.D.
Was born in Brown county, Ohio, January 20th, 1855. He is the son of Martin P. and Eliza (Waterfield) Gray, old settlers of Ohio. He received his primary education in the common schools and his literary training in the Union Christian College at Merom, Sullivan county, Ind. He entered at fifteen years of age, and remained there five years, then engaged in teaching, and taught six years. He came to Illinois in 1878 and to Wabash county in the fall of 1879, and located in Allendale, where he engaged as Principal of the Public Schools, and taught two years. During that time he commenced reading medicine in the office and under the direction of Dr. A.J. McIntosh, a prominent physician of Allendale. He read medicine two years, and then entered the Medical College at Cincinnati in the fall of 1881, and there took two full courses, and graduated from that institution on the 8th of March, 1883, with the degree of M.D. He commenced the practice in Allendale in connection with his preceptor, and at present continues there. Dr. Gray is just entering the profession, but he brings to it a mind trained to study in schools and in the profession of teaching, and we predict for him success in the healing art.
On the 24th of March, 1883, he was united in marriage to Miss Belle, youngest daughter of Alexander and Rachael McFarland. Both the doctor and his wife are members of the Christian Church - he of the New Light branch of that Christian organization. In politics he is a Republican.
[From the 'Combined History of Edwards, Lawrence and Wabash Counties, Illinois." Published by J.L. McDonough & Co., 1883. Submitted by Dawn Daddario]
GRAY, Frank S., M. D.
Among the most valuable citizens of any community are its phyusicians whose influence is always widely felt. Among the well-known physicians of Allendale, Ill., is Dr. Frank S. Gray, who was born in Feesburg, Brown County, Ohio, January 20, 1855, son of Martin Perry and Eliza (Waterfield) Gray. Martin P. Gray was born in Smithville, Monroe County, Ind., son of Peter and Mary (Dillman) Gray, of Bartholomew County, Ind. His wife was born in Brown County, Ohio, daughter of Jacob and Nancy (Metzer) Waterfield, natives respectively of Virginia and Kentucky. The Waterfield family came originally from England and settled in Virginia.
Martin Perry Gray and his wife married in Brown County, Ohio, and lived on their large farm there from 1854 until the spring of 1868, when they moved to Merom, Ind., the site of Union Christian College. They disposed of their Ohio land and, in the fall of 1878, moved to Windsor, Mo., living there until 1897, when they sold out and removed to Indianapolis, Ind. Here Mr. Gray still resides with his son, Austin W. He was born January 28, 1833, and has reached the age of seventy-seven years. His wife, who was born January 28, 1833, died in September 1906. Frank S. was the oldest child and the others were: Alvin Scott, of Edinburgh, Scotsland; Ida, Mrs. Arthur DeVore, of Indianapolis, Ind.; Edwin, died at the age of two years; Carrie, Mrs. Harry Wheelock, who died while on a visit to her parents in Missouri; and Austin W., employed in the car shops of the Big Four Railroad, at Indianapolis.
Frank S. Gray attended the public schools of Ohio and Union Christian College, of Merom, Ind., and at the age of nineteen years began teaching at Covington, Ind. A year later he returned to Merom and taught two years in the schools of that city. He then taught two years in Sullivan, Ind., one year at Paxton, Ind., and then accepted a position as Principal of the schools at Allendale, which he held two years. July 25, 1880, he began reading medicine with Dr. McIntosh, and in the fall of 1881 entered Ohio Medical College, of Cincinnati, from which he graduated Marcy 8, 1883, and two days later became co-parter with Dr. McIntosh at Allendale. They also conducted a drug store. Eight years later they dissolved partnership, and Dr. Gray, after practicing medicine three years, then established a drug store. Since 1896 he has had only office practice, and now has the only drug store in Allendale. In November, 1897, he was appointed by President McKinley as Postmaster of Allendale, and has since held the office by subsequent appointments. Besides the office in Allendale, he has charge of two rural delivery routes. He has been very successful in his various enterprises and has established himself in the good-will and esteem of his fellow-citizens. He stands well in his profession and has a good practice.
March 24, 1883, Dr. Gray married Rachel Belle McFarland, who was born in Wabash Precinct, Wabash County, and they became parents of children as follows: Nellie, Mrs. Haldon L. Gooch, of Lawrenceville, Ill.; Gertrude, Mrs. John C. F. Henry, of Herrin, Ill.; Carrie, at home; Frank Sylvester, attending school in Valparaiso, Ind., where he is taking a course in pharmacy; Lady Jane and Martin Paul, at home. Dr. Gray is a Republican in political views. He is a member of the Christian Church, is serving on the Board of Trustees, and has been Superintendent of the Sunday School since 1902. He is a member of the Modern Woodmen and Mystic Workers of the World of Allendale, and is examing physician for both orders and for the New York Life Insurance Company.
[From the 'Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois, Wabash County' Edited by: Theodore G. Risley, published 1911 Chicago, Munsell Publishing Company]
GROFF, John, Hon. One of the leading and representative men of Wabash county is the subject of the following sketch. He was born in Germany, Hesse Casel on the Rhine, October 11th, 1826. His parents John Frederick and Anna Mary (Baum) Groff; emigrated to America in 1841. They came directly to Wabash county, Illinois, and purchased two hundred acres of land in section 18, township 1S., range 13 west, for which Mr. Groff paid eight hundred francs, or seven hundred and sixty dollars in United States currency. There was a small log house on the place, and about forty acres of the land was cleared. There he lived and continued the improvement of the farm until his death, which occurred June 3d, 1849. His wife survived him and died in March, 1858. There were ten children by that union. John, the subject of this sketch, is the third in the family. His father being in feeble health after his arrival in this country, and John being the oldest son at home, the work of running the farm devolved upon him,-consequently, he had little opportunities for receiving an English education. But natural good sense has, perhaps, been of more real value to him than any information he could have obtained from books. In 1849 Mr. Groff commenced life for himself. He purchased eighty acres of land in section 19 in same town, for which he paid $200. He built thereupon a small log house and lived there until 1860, when he purchased the homestead where he now lives, and in 1866 erected the large and commodious brick farm-house, a view of which can be seen on another page, and there he still resides. Mr. Groff is one of the most successful farmers in Wabash county, and has a large body of fine land (nearly 800 acres), all well improved and in a good state of cultivation. The accumulation of this property has been effected through the exercise of patient industry and rigid economy on the part of Mr. Groff; assisted and aided by his excellent and amiable wife.
On the 30th of September 1849, he married Miss Harriet, daughter of Benjamin F. and Mary (Bratten) Gard. She was born in Bonpas precinct, Wabash county, Illinois, March 14, 1829. Seth Gard her paternal grandfather was one of the first settlers in Wabash county, and a prominent man in his day. He was a member of the Territorial Legislature in 1817, and a member of the First Constitutional Convention that assembled at Kaskaskia in 1818. There have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Groff eleven children. Their names in order of their birth are: Benjamin F., born August 29, 1850; he married Miss Harriet Ellen Ingram; they have had five children whose names are: Benjamin P., John F. (dead), Minnie M., Lewis L., Eddie E. and Lula Medora. John Frederick Groff, born January 29, 1853, married Margaret L. Brines; they had had five children, whose names are: Harriet Maria, Rosa B., John L. (dead), William L., Carrie M. (dead), Mary Elizabeth, eldest daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Groff is the wife of John T. Davis; they have four children whose names are: Harriet A., William P., John L. and Nora Belle Davis. Anna Margaret was born Sept. 3d, 1856, and married George H. Rigg; they have three children, named Harriet E., Laura B. and Lewis Sherman Rigg. Frances Elmira, born August 23d, 1858, is the wife of H. M. Cowling; they have two children, named William L. and Caroline. Perry Allen born Feb. 25, 1860. Alfred died in infancy. Harriett Medora, born Feb. 17, 1863, William Albert, born Dec. 23d, 1864; Lewis E., born June 9, 1867; and Flora Viola born March 4, 1872. Politically Mr. Groff is a Democrat. He served one term on the Board of Commissioners of the county, and while in that position gave excellent satisfaction to his constituents.
Such, in brief, is an outline sketch of the life of Judge Groff. He came here a stranger in a strange land, with no influential friends to back him; but by his energy, tact, and strong common sense, has risen, in a few short years, to be one of the leading agriculturalists of southern Illinois.
The strong characteristics of these sturdy German people, which are economy, industry and honesty, are marked in him. In the neighborhood, and among the people who know him best, it is said of him that he is a good, honorable citizen, a kind neighbor and friend, and a man whose word is as good as his bond.
[From the 'History of Edwards, Lawrence and Wabash Counties, Illinois." Published 1883 by J. L. McDonough & Co., Philadelphia.] Submitted by Dawn Daddario
GROFF, John Frederick, a representative and progressive farmer of Lick Prairie Precinct, Wabash County, Ill., belongs to a family that has been represented in the county for several generations. Mr. Groff was born in Bellmont Precinct, Wabash County, January 29, 1853, son of John and Harriet (Gard) Groff, the former a native of Germany and the latter of Lick Prairie Precinct. John Groff was born in 1825, a son of John and Margaret Groff, of Germany, who brought their family to Wabash County in 1840 and settled in Bellmont Precinct. Grandfather Groff entered 160 acres of land which was covered with timber, and started to clear it. He died on his farm in 1848, having made many improvements including the setting out of an orchard. Harriet Gard was a daughter of Franklin Gard, an old settler of Wabash County.
John Groff, Jr., secured the old homestead, manufactured brick and erected one of the first brick houses in Wabash County, which is still standing. He worked for his father, received a house in payment and acquired all his land through his own enterprise and industry. He cared for his mother until her death in 1858. Mr. Groff moved to Mt. Carmel, where he lived a few years, but did not like it there and returned to his farm. He died March 4, 1905, and his widow survived him but a short time, passing away May 1, 1905. Their children were: Benjamin Franklin, of Bellmont, Ill.; John F.; Elizabeth, Mrs. Thomas Davis, who died at Bone Gap, Ill.; Anna Margaret, Mrs. George Rigg, of Bone Gap; Perry A. of Bellmont Precinct; Albert who died in infancy; Frances Elmira, Mrs. Frank Cowling, a widow, living in Mt. Carmel, Ill.; Harriet M., married Major Chapman, of Mt. Carmel Precinct; William A. of Bellmont Precinct; Lewis E. lives on the old homestead; Flora, Mrs. James Brines, of Bellmont Precinct. John Groff gave each of his children eighty acres of land and John Frederick received his share out of the home farm.
John F. Groff received his education in the district schools and was reared to farm work. He erected a house and other buildings on the land he received from his father and after living there four years, sold it and purchased 160 acres in Section 31 of Lick Prairie Precinct. The latter farm contained an old house and about 100 acres of the land was cleared. Later Mr. Groff bought another house and built two barns, 42 by 50 and 30 by 36 feet, clearing the land of timber until there is but twenty-eight acres left in its original condition, the rest being under cultivation. He has shown excellent judgment in the conduct of his affairs and has been successful in his operations. Besides carrying on general farming he keeps imported horses and Spanish Jacks and horses for trotting and coach use. He also raises Jersey and Holstein cows for dairy purposes and Poland and China hogs.
Other 6, 1875, Mr. Groff married Margaret L. Brines, who was born in Lick Prairie Precinct, April 1, 1851, daughter of Lyman and Maria (Holmes) Brines, the former born in New York in 1807, and the latter in Knox County, Ind., in 1807. Mr. Brines and his wife had twelve children, namely; Ezra, deceased; Mary, Mrs. Robert Rigg, of Lick Prairie Precinct; Orilla A., died at the age of eighteen years; Hamilton, died in Lick Prairie Precinct; Franklin, of Lick Prairie Precinct; Charlotte E., lived with Franklin; Hanna, widow of Lavel Aborn, of Bellmont Precinct; Jemima A., Mrs. Henry Bruce, died in Bellmont Precinct; Rebecca J., resides with Franklin; Eda, Mrs. Barber Shearer, of Lick Prairie Precinct; Clara C. Mrs. Samuel Litherland, died in Bellmont Precinct; Mrs. Groff, the youngest child. Mrs. Groff attended the Friends Grove District School and Mr. Groff the Groff District School. They are members of the Christian Church. He is actively interested in current events and public issues, and in politics is a democrat. He has served as School Director. Fraternally he belongs to the Ben Hur Lodge of Mt. Carmel and to the Farmers' Union, of Lick Prairie.
Mr. Groff and his wife had children as follows: Hattie M., born November 7, 1876, a widow of Rolla H. Miller, whose husband died April 19, 1906; Rosa B., born June 14, 1878, married James Hare of Lick Prairie Precinct; John L., born January 13, 1880, died February 3, 1880; William Lewis, born February 20, 1861, lives in Granger, Wash.; Carrie May, born in December 29, 1882, but died in infancy; Amy Edna, born January 28, 1884, died February 20, 1884; Charles Franklin, born September 4, 1885, of Mt. Carmel Precinct; Eda, born September 1, 1888, married Ora Woods, of Lick Prairie Precinct. Mrs. Miller had three children: Herman, born February 12, 1899; Beulah, born January 12, 1903; Eldon, born August 16, 1905, died July 20, 1906. William Lewis married Mattie Walker and they have two children: Cuma Bell; Stella, died in infancy, and Lorena. Charles Franklin Groff married Viola Ales, and they had three children: Hollis, died in infancy; Edna, and Cecil.
[From 'The Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois - Wabash County -1911' Editor: Theodore G. Risely - submitted by Dawn Daddario]
GROFF, Louis Edward.-Among the most beautiful country homes in Wabash County, Ill., is that owned by Louis Edward Groff, who has spent his entire life on his present farm in Bellmont Precinct, where he was born June 9, 1867.
He is a son of John and Harriett (Gard) Groff, the former a native of Germany and the latter of Wabash County. John Groff became the owner of 1,000 acres of land, most of which he cleared and improved himself. He and his wife had the following children: Frank, Lizzie, Fred, Margaret, Elmira, Albert, Dora, William, Louis Edward and Flora.
November 30, 1892, Louis E. Groff was married, at Mt. Carmel, Ill., to Flora Butterick, daughter of William and Amelia (Compton) Butterick, the former a native of England and the latter of Wabash County. Mr. Butterick was a general farmer and brick-layer by occupation, and he and his wife had children, as follows: Lizzie, Flora, James, Maggie, Edward, Nora, Mabel and Collie. Mr. Groff and his wife became parents of the following children: Maude, born February 3, 1893; Raymond, August 3, 1894; Bessie, April 25, 1896; Harold, May 25, 1898; Holland, September 3, 1900; Leonie August 28, 1904, and one child, born July 5, 1910, and died in infancy.
Mr. Groff was reared on his present farm and educated in local schools. He has spent his entire active life in agricultural pursuits and met with gratifying success in his enterprises. He pays special attention to dairying and appreciates the value of high-grade stock in securing the best results. He raises thoroughbred Holstein cattle for this purpose and finds them a profitable investment. He owns 235 acres of land and is well known for the excellence of his crops. He is actively interested in local public affairs and for three terms has served as precinct school director. He contributes considerable time and influence to the promotion of the interests of the Farmers' Union, as well as to any other cause which he believes will benefit his community. He is a member of the Christian Church.
[From 'Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois - Wabash County 1911' Editor Theodore G. Risley Submitted by Dawn Daddario]
GROFF, Perry Allen.-Among the enterprising business men of Wabash County, Ill.. is Perry Allen Groff, of Bellmont Precinct, an extensive dealer in agricultural implements, threshing machines and clover hullers, and well known in connection with the work he has done in the interest of the Farmers' Co-operative and Education Union. Mr. Groff was born on the farm he now occupies, February 25, 1860, son of John and Harriet (Gard) Groff, the former native of Hesse Cassel, Germany. The grandfathers were John Groff and Frank Gard, the former having located in Wabash County in 1842, on timber land in Bellmont Precinct, purchased from the Government.
After marriage the parents of Perry A. Groff settled on land in Bellmont Precinct that was secured from the Government, where they spent the remainder of their lives, with the exception of three years spent in Mt. Carmel. Both died on the farm, he March 3, 1905, and she in May 1905. They were parents of ten children.
The boyhood of Perry A. Groff was spent on his father's farm. He received a common school education, attended the normal school at Grayville, Ill., one term, and spent a year and half at Holbrook's Normal School, at Lebanon, Ohio. He lived with his parents until his marriage, January 12, 1888, to Flotilla Bratton, who was born in Lick Prairie Precinct, daughter of Amos and Zerelda (Moore) Bratton, of Wabash County. Mr. Groff and his wife settled on part of the home farm, which his father gave him, and which contained a good house and other necessary buildings. He had eighty acres at first and has added to it until he now has four bodies of land, all in Bellmont Precinct, aggregating 120 acres. He has managed his farms himself except for two years when he rented them. Besides doing general farming he raises Shorthorn and Jersey cows, draft and other horses, and a few Poland China hogs. He sells the milk from his dairy.
Mr. Groff has natural ability in the line of mechanics, and is a good carpenter, iron and brick worker, and able to run many kinds of machinery. Since 1889 he has handled harvesting machines and binders, and he has added to his line many other farming implements, handling all such machines put out by the Collins-Gale Importing Company, the Fish Brothers Wagon Company and the Banner Buggy Company. In 1894 he added threshing machines and clover hullers, as well as fodder shredders. Mr. Groff has worked up a good business in this line, and his dealings with his customers have been most satisfactory. He is a stanch [note this mis-spelling comes directly from the published work] Democrat and has served as Clerk of the Road District since 1896 and as School Director since 1906. He is a charter member of the Farmers' Co-operative and Education Union of America, having served as Secretary and Treasurer since its organization. He is a member of the Christian Church and ready to support any worthy cause which comes to his notice.
Children as follows were born to Mr. and Mrs Groff: Virgil A., died November 29, 1895, was born March 14, 1889; Mamie Pauline, born November 14, 1891; Dolice Viola, born November 1, 1893, the last two being at home.
[From the 'Historical Encyclopedia Wabash County -1911' Editor Theodore G. Riseley, published Chicago, Munsell Publishing Company 1911]
HALLACK, Aaron B., One of the oldest residents of Wabash County, Ill., is well versed in the early history of the county, where most of his life has been spent, and has always taken great interest in the welfare of the community in which he lived. He was formerly very active in promoting the interest of the Farmers' Grange, and has given his financial aid to the erection of at least a dozen churches, of various denominations, Mr. Hallock's immediate ancestors were of the Quaker faith. He was born in Tuckerton, N.J., April 24, 1818, son of John and Lydia (Collins) Hallock, natives respectively of New York and New Jersey, and grandson of John Hallock and John Collins, both of the State of New York.
In 1839 the family of John Hallock moved west, going by rail to Philadelphia, thence by stage to Pittsburg, and then down the Ohio River by boat to Evansville, where a party of six hired a wagon to take them to Wabash County. There Mr. Hallock purchased 120 acres in Lick Prairie Precinct, the farm containing a one-room house. His land was on Bald Hill Prairie. Mr. Hallock tried to make things convenient for the farmers in the vicinity in every possible way, and conducted a general store, a hay press and a cider-mill.
His mother being deceased, Aaron B. Hallock started out in life on his account at the age of fourteen years, going to the State of New York, where he worked for farmers at a wage of $4.50 per month. Being ambitious to better himself, he went to Philadelphia soon after to learn a trade, but had to abandon his purpose on account of a death in his family. Soon afterward he went to New York City and began learning the profession of druggist, conducting a store for his brother some six years. Mr. Hallock has spent his entire life up to the last few years, but since that time has lived practically retired from business and other cares. In his work for the Grange he has had many large gatherings at his place. He has disposed of all his land except 120 acres in his home farm.
May 5, 1842, Mr. Hallock married Asenath Ogden, who was born in Ohio, and died February 24, 1859, having borne her husband children as follows: Mary, Mrs. Joseph Shearer, a widow living in Mt. Carmel; John, of Lick Prairie Precinct; William P., of Harrisburg, Ill.; Aaron, died in a southern hospital during the Civil War; Allen, of Harrisburg, Ill.; Martha, Mrs. Rufus Newkirk, of Mt. Carmel Precinct; Lydia, Mrs. David Royer, of Centralia, Wash.; Charles, of Keensburg, Ill.; Lillie, who died in infancy; James, Asenath and Amy, live with their father; Katie Finley, Mrs. Lewis Rigg, of Elbert, Colo.; Henry, died in infancy. Mr. Hallock married (second) his first wife's niece, who bore the same name, also born in Ohio. They were married in 1860 and she died April 28, 1873.
Mr. Hallock is still more active than many men of fewer years, and has a retentive memory. In religious views he is inclined in favor of Spiritualism. He was one of the first voters for the Anti-Slavery ticket in Wabash County and has since voted the Republican ticket. He served many years as a Justice of the Peace, sixteen years as a Magistrate and sixteen years as School Trustee. Many are the men who are glad to claim Mr. Hallock as their friend, and he is accorded the highest regard and respect where ever known.
[From "The Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois - Wabash County. Published in 1911].
HIGGINS, John, Or, "Uncle John," as he is familiarly called, was born in Alleghany county, New York, January 14th, 1813. His father, John Higgins also by name, was a ship-carpenter, originally from Connecticut. His grandfather was a revolutionary soldier. The family were among the pioneers of Wabash county, having come hither in 1816. In those early days, subsistence was scanty. His father paid as high as twenty-five cents per pound for bacon. Upon being question as to why he would do so when the woods were full of game, he replied that he "wanted something greasy." In the family were three sons, one of whom, William, is dead, and George is living in Richland county. John Higgins was married to Julia [my note, should be Judah] Keracher, a native of Berks county, Pennsylvania, where she was born, December 29th, 1816-on the 31st of January, 1833. [In keeping with Genealogy Trails policy to transcribe information exactly as it is written I must keep to the original dates, which is obviously missing something]. To them were born twelve children, Delia, Jan. 9th, 1834; Mary C., March 12, 1836; Betsey, Dec. 31st, 1837, died Jan 14th, 1839; Daniel, Sept. 23d, 1839, died May 14th, 1857; Sarah A., March 9th, 1842, Susannah, Feb. 17th, 1844; Judah, April 7th, 1846, died Dec. 13th, 1870; George W., April 5th, 1849, died Aug. 12th, 1850; Maria, April 5th, Nancy, Sept. 9th, 1857, and Ellen. Upon the breaking out of the Black Hawk War, Mr. Higgins was anxious to go, but his father needed his services, being engaged at the time in the erection of the first brick building, perhaps erected in the county. During the late war he was almost alone in his avowal of Republican principles in his immediate vicinity, a faith to which he has constantly adhered. He is a most devoted member of the Christian Church, in the success of which he takes great interest.
[From 'The Combined History of Edwards Lawrence and Wabash Counties, Illinois.' Published 1883]
HIGGINS, John P. was born in Wabash County, Il., March 30, 1825, and at age of thirteen years engaged in flatboating on the Ohio and Mississippi, extending their trips from Bonpass, Ill., to New Orleans, and continuing this pursuit nine years. Mr. HIGGINS and his father were successful hunters, he having killed in one year as many as sixty deer, and his father 120, besides large numbers of turkeys and small game. In 1859, the subject of this sketch went to California, with an ox-team, remaining about two years. While there, he killed a grizzly bear. Mr. Higgins was married, in 1849, to Mary K. KEY, also of Wabash County, Ill. He first bought forty acres of land, adding to it as his means would allow, until he now owns 357 acres, with comfortable buildings, ten acres of orchard, and seventy head of cattle and three teams. Mr. Higgins is largely engaged in the live stock business, and is one of the most enterprising men in the county, and one of its oldest settlers.
HIGGINS, John P. resides on section 35, Madison Township, Richland County, where he follows the occupation of farming. He is one of the leading agriculturists of the community, and being widely and favorably known we feel assured that this record of his life will prove of interest to many of our readers. His birth occurred in Wabash County, Ill., March 30, 1825, and in a family of five sons and three daughters, he is the second in order of birth. His parents were William and Jane (Jourden) Higgins. His father was born in Genesee County, N. Y., December 7, 1800, and when a small boy he accompanied his father and grandfather with their respective families to Illinois. At that time a colony of thirteen families emigrated to Wabash County, and were among its first settlers. The only road across the country at that time was known as the ''trace" road, which led from Vincennes, Ind., to St. Louis, Mo.
William Higgins remained in Wabash County until 1828, when he came to what is now Richland County, but was then a part of Lawrence County. He entered land from the Government and began the development of a farm. He was a great hunter, and in three days killed twenty-four deer. He also ran a flatboat from this place to New Orleans by way of the Bonpas, Wabash and Mississippi Rivers for about seven years. He was Postmaster of Bonpas for a number of years, and was Justice of the Peace for a quarter of a century. Leading and influential in all public affairs, he took a very prominent part in the development and upbuilding of the county in an early day, and is numbered among its honored pioneers. He died January 12, 1863, at the age of sixty-three years, and, like his parents and grandparents, was buried in Lancaster Cemetery. His wife, who was born in Hardin County, Ky., in 1797, accompanied her parents to Wabash County in an early day. She died a few years later than her husband and sleeps by his side in Lancaster Cemetery. Only two children of the Higgins family are now living. George W., the eldest, died in Richland County in April, 1855; John is the second in order of birth; William J. went to California in 1855, and died soon afterward; Louis W. died in California in 1853; Anson H. died in this county April 30, 1874; Sarah E., who was born in 1834, is the wife of I. M. Key, a farmer of Indian Territory; Vermelia K., wife of James Sorkley, died in 1873.
Mr. Higgins whose name heads this record remained with his parents until he had attained his majority, working on the farm during the summer and hunting during the winter season. He also made several trips down the river to New Orleans. On the 26th of October, 1848, he wedded Miss Mary K. Key, who was born January 1, 1828, and is a daughter of John and Sarah (Runnels) Key. Her father came from Kentucky to Illinois in 1818, locating in Wabash County. His death occurred in Richland County, June 8, 1857, and his remains were interred in Sugar Creek Cemetery. His wife was a native of Georgia, and came with her parents to Illinois when a maiden of sixteen summers. She died in this county in the year 1872, and was also laid to rest in Sugar Creek Cemetery. The following children were born unto Mr. and Mrs. Key: Elizabeth, wife of Thomas Wier, a resident of Mt. Vernon, Ill.; Nancy, widow of Thomas Parker, a resident of Wayne County; Mary, wife of our subject; Thomas H., deceased; Martha, who has also passed away; Henry, a farmer of Missouri; Caroline, wife of William Barton, a farmer of Richland County; and Emma, wife of Edwin Risley, an agriculturist of Wabash County, Ill.
Mr. and Mrs. Higgins began their domestic life upon the farm which is still their home. One child came to bless their union, Louis D., who was born in September, 1849, and died in April, 1859. On the 26th of April of the last-named year, our subject left home with an ox-team for the West, his objective point being Pike's Peak, but he changed his mind and went through to California by way of Oregon, the trip taking five months and eleven days. He spent some time mining and was variously employed during his stay in the Golden State, and worked for a time for Maj. Bidwell, who was candidate for President on the Prohibition ticket in 1892. While thus employed he killed a grizzly bear on Bid well's ranch in Butte County, Cal. He returned to his home in 1860, arriving December 12, coming by way of Arizona and Old and New Mexico. The farm upon which he began his married life was at first only forty acres in extent, but our subject devoted himself assiduously to its cultivation, and also dealt in cattle for several years in this and adjoining counties. His business undertakings proved successful, and as his financial resources increased, he extended the boundaries of his farm until it now comprises three hundred and thirteen acres, which yield to him a golden tribute in return for his care and cultivation. The beautiful country home is surrounded by well-tilled fields, and the neat appearance of the place indicates the thrift and enterprise of the owner. For many years Mr. Higgins supported the Republican party, but is now independent in politics. His wife is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and to its support he contributes liberally, although he is not connected with any religious denomination. Mr. Higgins' business career has not only been an upright and honorable one, but has been a successful one as well. He started out in life empty-handed, but has steadily worked his way upward, and the difficulties he has encountered have only seemed to make him labor all the more earnestly for his success. He has now attained a position of wealth and influence, and at the same time has won and retains the confidence and regard of all.
[Portrait and Biographical Record of Effingham, Jasper and Richland Counties Illinois, Containing Biographical Sketches of Prominent and Representative Citizens, Governors of the State, and the Presidents of the United States. (Chicago: Chapman Brothers, 1887), p.600 - Submitted by Judy Edwards]
HIGGINS, John F., a prominent citizen of Lancaster, Ill., formerly a successful businessman and farmer, but not retired from active business life, was born in the town where he now resides, October 24, 1854, son of John and Judy (Kercher) Higgins. John Higgins was born in Cayuga County, N.Y.. in 1812, son of John Higgins, who was born in England. Judy Kercher was born in Berks County, Pa., daughter of Jonathan Kercher.John Higgins, Jr., father of John F. Higgins, was brought West by his parents in 1816. They came by wagon to Cincinnati, thence down the Ohio and up the Wabash to Mt. Carmel, with keel-boats. They drove to Lancaster and entered land, part timber and part prairie, about eighty acres altogether. Jonathan Kercher entered land near that of the Higgins family in 1818, and helped lay out the town of Lancaster, and both families made permanent settlements in Lancaster Precinct. John and Judy Higgins settled on a part of his father's farm after their marriage and he purchased eighty acres of land adjoining. He finished clearing the land and converted it into a fine farm, making all possible improvements. Part of the land was in Section 4 and part in Section 5, Town 1 North, Range 13 West. Mr. Higgins died January 18, 1902, and his wife died May 12, 1891. They were parents of two sons and ten daughters.The boyhood of John F. Higgins was spent on his father's farm and he attended the district school of the neighborhood. He helped with the farm work and lived at home until his marriage to Sarah Ann Biehl, who was born in Lancaster Precinct, daughter of Charles and Mary (Schlenker) Biehl, natives of Germany.John F. Higgins and wife settled on part of the home farm, which he bought from his father, and to which he added twenty acres more. He carried on general farming and stock-raising and conducted a furniture, hardware and lumber business for ten months, at Flat Rock, Ill., serving in the capacity of clerk, and also took care of the postoffice of that town under Presidents Grant and Arthur. November 8, 1910, he was elected Justice of the Peace and has now retired from his farm. He has been successful in all his enterprises and has won the approval and respect of his fellow-men by his industry and high character. He is a member of the Christian Church and is affiliated with the Mystic Workers of the World. In politics Mr. Higgins is a Republican, and served three years as Deputy Assessor. He and his wife became parents of children as follows: Charles F., of Lancaster Precinct; Adam J., on his father's farm; Naomi, the oldest child, died in infancy; Ruth E. lives with her father.
JACKMAN, Louis - Among the citizens of Vincennes well known in both professional and business circles is Louis W. Jackman, who was born in Lawrence County, Illinois, February 3, 1862, a son of Aaron R. and Mary E. (Courter) Jackman. His Father was also born in Lawrence county, Illinois, June 18, 1839, and was a mechanic by trade, but spent most of his life upon a farm. He served in Company E., One Hundred and Fifty-fourth Regiment Illinois Infantry, in the Civil war, enlisting at Olney, Illinois, and becoming chief musician of the regiment, which was stationed at different times at Nashville, Murfreesboro and Tularemia, Tennessee. The mother of our subject was born in Wabash county , Illinois, in 1841, and was a daughter of Elder William Courter, a leading evangelist in southern Illinois in his day. He was a pioneer preacher of the Christian church and the family have been actively identified with that church ever since its organization in this country. John Wood, an early ancestor on the maternal side, came to America from England about 1770. He enlisted in the Revolutionary war from New Jersey and the records show that he was an ensign and served for a time on General Washington's staff. After the close of the war he was given a land grant in what is now known as Barren county, Kentucky, and descendants of his oldest daughter are now living there. In 1807 he disposed of his holdings in that state and settled in Wabash county, Illinois, being identified with the organization of that county and serving for several terms as county judge. His son, Alexander, was the father of Melinda (Wood) Courter, the mother of Mary E. Courter, who became the mother of Louis W. Jackman. The descent is thus traced from the time of the Revolution. Mr. Jackman's great-great grandfather on the paternal side came to Knox county, Indiana early in 1800 and another ancestor, Allen Ramsey, located in this county as far back as 1787. The grandfather, Basil Jackman, and his brother, William R. Jackman, served side by side in the Black Hawk war, the latter being a sergeant in Spy's battalion of mounted infantry. William R. Jackman and his father, Richard Jackman, were in the war with Tecumseh participating in the battle of Tippecanoe.
Six children were born to Aaron R. and Mary E. (Courter) Jackman, five of whom are living: Louis W., the subject of this review; William C., a conductor on the St. Louis & San Francisco Railroad with headquarters at Enid, Oklahoma; Emma H., the wife of Oscar E. Hollowell, of St. Louis; Clara F. the wife of John W. Williamson, of St. Louis, and Della the wife of Marion Pickering, of Vincennes.
Louis W. Jackman received his early education in the common schools of Lawrence and Wabash counties, Illinois. He later attended the National Normal University of Lebanon, Ohio, and also the Southern Indiana Normal College of Mitchell, Indiana. In the meantime he taught school to secure the necessary funds for further education. He began the study of law under the preceptorship of Hon S.Z. Landes, of Mount Carmel, Illinois, and continued it under W.F. Schoch, of Mound Valley, Kansas. He was admitted to the bar in Kansas in June, 1887, in Illinois in 1889, and Vincennes in January, 1890, since which time he has devoted his attention principally to the law, but on November 1, 1909, he acquired possession of the Vincennes Agency Company, of which he is manager. He was prime mover and organizer of the Denison Building & Loan Association at St. Francisville, Illinois, the St. Francisville Canning Company, and also one of the organizers of the First National Bank of St. Francisville, being attorney and director of each of these organizations. He served as mayor one term and city attorney of St. Francisville five terms, and as city attorney of Cedarvale, Kansas, one term. He has been a Mason since 1883, and was initiated, passed and raised in Allendale Lodge, No. 752, of Allendale, Illinois, serving as secretary of the lodge for two terms and master for the same length of time. After moving to St. Francisville, desiring a lodge at that place, he petitioned the grand lodge of the State of Illinois for a dispensation, but found the petition barred on account of the grand lodge-by-laws. Being a delegate to the grand lodge, he introduced and secured the passage of two amendments to the by-laws, whereby the territory became available for a new Masonic lodge. Application for a dispensation, however, was again refused by the grand master, necessitating a personal interview with that officer, which resulted in the issuance of the desired dispensation. Mr. Jackman is also a member of the Modern Americans and the Tribe of Ben Hur.
In 1889, at Vincennes, Mr. Jackman was united in marriage to Miss Mary E. Collison, a native of Lawrence County, Illinois. Her father, James M. Collison, was born in the same county and served for four and half years in the Civil War under General Grant in the Vicksburg campaign, and W.T. Sherman at Chattanooga, and at the battle of Missionary Ridge, and was in the division that marched to the relief of Knoxville. He then marched with Sherman to the sea and back to Washington, D.C., and participated in twenty-seven hard-fought battles and eighteen skirmishes on land and water. Four children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Jackman, three of whom are now living, James Bruce, born August 22, 1890; Ruth E. born January 13, 1892; and S. Roy, born September 26, 1894. The oldest son served in the band of the Eighth United States Infantry at San Francisco and Monterey, California, for one and one-half years. He then bought his release in order to return home and assist his father in the insurance business, which he is now doing.
Mr. Jackman is a member of the Christian church and was an elder of that church and chairman of the board of trustees for fifteen years at St. Francisville. He has always been an active worker in the church and Sunday school, and was president of the Lawrence County Sunday School Association two terms. In the various responsibilities of citizenship he has always attempted to perform his part with fidelity and has always been actively identified with the democratic party. As is to be seen by the above record, Mr. Jackman is a man of unusual energy and perseverance, and when he undertakes anything he generally carries it through to a successful issue. These traits have been handed down from worthy ancestors, and wherever we find them we may expect a sturdy character and reputation for solid and enduring worth."
[From the Biography of Louis W. Jackman, pg 116-117, Vol 1 of Greene's 1911 "History of Old Vincennes and Knox County" - submitted by Dawn Daddario]
JORDAN, Levi (deceased), who was for many years identified with the best interests of Mt. Carmel, Ill., will be greatly missed in many circles. He was a veteran of the Civil War and was prominent among his comrades of the G. A. R., having left a record as a soldier of which his family may well be proud. He made his own way in life from the time he was a young boy, leaving home without capital to go among strangers, but finally achieved a fair degree of financial success.
Mr. Jordan was born near Ownesville, Ind., October 19, 1844, and received his somewhat limited education in the common schools near his home. At the age of eleven years he felt compelled to leave home on account of the cruel treatment accorded him by his father and step-mother, and spent two years in the Sate [misprint in book] of Missouri. He then returned to the vicinity of his old home and began learning the work of a stationary engineer from a man named James Hughes, who befriended him and gave him a home and employment until the time of his enlistment for service in the Union Army, which took place September 13, 1861, when he became a member of Company E, Forty-second Indiana Volunteer Infantry. He was captured at the Battle of Stone River and confined in Libby Prison four months, being then discharged and re-enlisting the following day. He served until July 21, 1865, serving in all a period of three years, nine months and twenty-seven days, and during that time participating in some of the most memorable battles of the war period, including Perryville, Murfreesboro, Chickamauga, Lookout Mountain, Mission Ridge, Ringgold, Resaca, Kenesaw Mountain, Peach Tree Creek, and Atlanta and numerous other engagements and skirmishes. After his discharge he located at Mt. Carmel, where he worked as machinist in various lines for about ten years. In 1875 he purchased twelve acres of land in the south-western part of Mt. Carmel and established a truck garden, where he raised sweet corn, sweet potatoes and many other vegetables and plants.
December 28, 1869, Mr. Jordan married Frances Parkinson, who was born in Mt. Carmel, August 6, 1849, daughter of William and Eliza (Russell) Parkinson. Mr. Parkinson was born in Wilkesbarre, Pa., three weeks after his parents came from England, a son of Edward and Mary (Belby) Parkinson, both natives of England. His wife was born in Mt. Carmel, a daughter of Abraham and Hanna (Stewart) Russell, the former a native of Nantuckett, Mass., and the latter born in New Jersey, her mother's maiden name being Ingersoll. Mr. Russell and wife settled in Mt. Carmel among the pioneers and there died.
William Parkinson was a merchant and carried on a business some years in Mt. Carmel, but on account of poor health was compelled to abandon his occupation, and in 1852 went to California, where for two years he worked in the gold mines. Returning to Illinois by way of the Isthmus and by ship to New York City, whence he made his way to Mt. Carmel, he engaged in work as a stone mason. He enlisted in the Union Army as member of the Fortieth Illinois Volunteer Infantry, and was killed at the Battle of Pittsburg Landing, April 6, 1862, having enlisted during the previous month. His widow died in St. Francisville, Ill., November 27, 1895.
Mr. Jordan and wife had children as follows: Ella, Mrs. George Sharp, a merchant of St. Francisville, Ill.; Edwin R., of Mt. Carmel; Bertha, died at the age of three years; Eliza, Mrs. Frank Kuhn, of Mt. Carmel; Amy, Mrs. Gustave Dieschauerr of Evansville, Ind. Mrs. Jordan received her education in the schools of Mt. Carmel, where her entire life has been spent. Mr. Jordan was a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, as also is his wife. He always took an active interest in politics, although not desirous of holding public office. He was the friend of education and ready to help a good friend and neighbor. He was a prominent member of the Odd Fellows Lodge and took an active part in the other organizations of which he was a member. Mr. Jordan died January 15, 1910, after having been confined to his home for eight months. His widow now resides at home with her grandson, Raymond Jordan, born June 11, 1895, who has made his home with his grandparents since infancy. [From the 'Historical Encyclopedia Wabash County -1911' Editor Theodore G. Riseley, published Chicago, Munsell Publishing Company 1911]
KEEN, Hon. Ezra B. (deceased), who, at the time of his death, was the oldest native citizen of Wabash County, Ill., came from a race of pioneers and was a worthy representative of the hardy stock from which he sprang. His family were among the founders of three States. They came originally from New Jersey, of which State his grandfather, Peter Keen, was a native. Soon after the Revolutionary War the grandfather removed to the Northwest Territory, settling near Cincinnati, then but a struggling frontier village. In 1814 he sold out and, gathering his effects together, removed to the Territory of Illinois, settling on what is known as the Fox farm, two miles south of Allendale, in what is now Wabash, but which was then a part of Edwards County. He was one of the original proprietors of the ill fated town of Palmyra, which was the first county-seat of Wabash County. He died in 1840 on a farm near Friendsville, to which he had removed. His wife was Jemima Gard, a sister of Seth Gard, another pioneer and a man of prominence in his day, who was a member of the Constitutional Convention of 1818, and of the Territorial Legislature in 1817. One of the children born to this family was Daniel Keen, who became the father of the subject of this sketch.
Daniel Keen was born in Hamilton County, Ohio, in 1794, and was a young man when the family came to Illinois. He was married in 1815 and removed to the southern part of the county, settling on a tract of wild land in Coffee Precinct just north of the present town of Keensburg. There he opened up a farm upon which he remained until 1852, when he returned to the northern part of the county, but later came back to end his days on the old place, dying there in 1875. He was married, in 1815, to Mary Compton, daughter of Levi and Rosanna Compton, who came to Illinois from Virginia in 1802, and who are said to have been the first settlers of this part of the State. Levi Compton was one of the prominent men among the pioneers of Illinois, was the colleague of Seth Gard as Delegate from Edwards County to the Constitutional Convention in 1818, the year Illinois was admitted into the Union as a State, and Representative from the same county in the First General Assembly (1818-20). His son Joseph was the first male child born within the limits of what is now Wabash County. Mary (Compton) Keen died in 1831, the mother of five sons and two daughters, the subject of this sketch being on of the former. Daniel Keen was married in later years to Julydia, daughter of Thomas McClain, who survived him at his death.
Ezra Baker Keen, the third son of Daniel and Mary (Compton) Keen, was born on the old homestead near Keensburg, December 1, 1821. He grew up on the farm and was subject to all the privations and trials which marked the pioneer life of those days. He received a limited education in the subscription schools, the only kind then in existence in that part of the State, and in he [submitter's note this was obviously meant to "the"] old log school houses with puncheon floors and greased-paper windows, he learned to read, write and cipher. His only opportunity for a more advanced education came when for a short time under the tutelage of a shrewd Yankee, Rueben Fox, he was given instruction in English grammar in addition to his other studies. Meager as were his early educational opportunities, he never ceased to travel, reading and contact with men, acquired a broad knowledge of affairs that made him one of the best informed men of his time.
In his youth the waterways afforded practically the only means of communication with the outside world, and his desire to learn something of other sections of the country led him early to turn his attention to the river. At the age of eighteen years he made his first trip to New Orleans, as a flatboatman, and the aptitude which he at once showed for the work caused him to be in great demand as a pilot for these rude craft, which constituted the only means by which the early settlers could get their produce to market. In the intervals of farming he followed the river for many years, making 25 round trips to New Orleans, a record perhaps equaled by no other person in his section. He had many stirring adventures and the story of his experiences would fill a volume. He inherited a rugged constitution and his physical prowess made him a leader among the young men, few of whom could best him in a wrestling bout or equal him in lifting with the handspike, the favorite methods of determining physical superiority in those days.
Mr. Keen taught one term of school at Lick Prairie and a little later located in Mt Carmel where, in partnership with the late D. S. Harvey, he conducted a store for a short time. He could not be content, however, to be trammeled by the restrictions of a business career, and, soon disposing of his interests, returned to farming, purchasing the old homestead, upon which he remained until the day of his death. He was progressive in his methods as a farmer and, before his days of activity had passed, acquired quite a comfortable competence.
In 1856 Mr. Keen was united in marriage with Lucinda Knowles, of Gibson County, Ind. Mrs. Keen is a daughter of Ephraim and Cynthia (Kimball) Knowles. Her family came originally from the State of Delaware, but her father was a native of Georgia, emigrating to Indiana in 1811. Jessee Kimball, the maternal grandfather, was a soldier of the Revolutionary War, removed from his native state of Connecticut to Kentucky and later to Indiana, where he died in 1858, at the advanced age of ninety-seven years. Six children were born to the union of Ezra B. and Lucinda Keen, of whom three are living, namely: Mrs. E. A. Bucholz, of Keensburg; Daniel E., of Mt. Carmel, Postmaster and editor of the the "Mt. Carmel Republican," and Marshall G., of Chicago.
KEEN, George W., whose parents were among the early settlers of Wabash county, was born September 2, 1827. His father, Dennis Keen, was a native of Ohio, a farmer by occupation. When but a small boy, George was set to plowing, a vocation he has all through a busy life kept up. His schooling was quite limited, extending over less than five months altogether. This was in the Little Rock district, near the present site of Allendale. Arrived at the age of twenty-one, his father gave him an eighty acre tract of land, all heavily wooded. With a will, he went to work clearing out a farm. For five years he "kept bach," as it is termed, in a cabin, while day by day he was engaged in felling trees, burning brush, and plowing the ever enlarging tract of farming land. At the end of that time he had some fifty acres in fair cultivable condition, and to the attractions of his home he added a wife, being married to Jane Campbell on the 17th day of February, 1853. The marriage ceremony was performed by Thomas Armstrong, at the time judge of the county court, a gentleman who had often twitted George on his bachelor way of living, and who had repeatedly asked for the chance of "marrying him without charge,' he always added. At the time of the marriage, Mrs. Keen had a cow, a horse, some bed-clothing, and a hundred and twenty-five dollars cash given her by her father. Mr. Keen had fifty acres of cleared land, and six head of horses. During the first few years he was peculiarly unfortunate in horses, losing no less than nine head, three of which were accidentally killed. Such discouragements he bore patiently, and only toiled the harder to make amends for the loss. Mrs. Keen was the daughter of James, of Wilson county, Tenn.; and Mary Campbell, of Virginia. They came to Illinois in 1851. The long and tedious journey was made by Mr. and Mrs. Campbell, an aunt, an uncle, a hired hand and four children-one son (James) and three daughters. The trip was made by wagon, on foot and on horseback.
An incident in the early lives of Mr. and Mrs. Campbell is worthy of mention. Mrs. Campbell, who maiden name was Pritchett, was the sole dependence of her widowed mother. She had the plowing to do, the wood to chop; in short, the various farm work that usually falls to the lot of boys was hers to do. Hence, her mother forbade the match with Mr. Campbell; but as was the custom, the neighboring boys aided James by stealing the girl from her mother's house and aiding a runaway match. Starting as they did, penniless, they had a hard time of it. He split rails at twenty-five cents per hundred, to get money with which to defray doctors' bills. James Campbell died March 1st, 1879, and his wife Mary P. Campbell, on March 17, 1876. Both lie buried in Gard's Point grave-yard, a few miles south of Lancaster.
On the old place cleared out by Mr. Keen they lived till 1866, when he moved to his present home, where he had bought four hundred acres of land. To himself and wife were born ten children, nine of whom are living: Sylvanus, Mary Elizabeth (dec.'d), Margaret Jane, Effie Isadora, Rosanna, Isabella, Sarah, James, Dennis and Louisa. Of these, Sylvanus was married to Harriet Susan Bryant, daughter of Samuel Bryant, Lawrence county, Sept. 3, 1879; Margaret was married to Russell Ridgeley, of Richland county, May 4, 1876; and Isadora was married to Constantine Shief, a Christian minister, now of Richland county, May 4, 1882.
Mr. Keen is a Democrat of the old school, his voting having commenced with a ballot cast for Lewis Cass. He and his wife are faithful, earnest members of the Christian church. A good citizen, a kind neighbor, he has hosts of friends. [From 'The Combined History of Edwards Lawrence and Wabash Counties, Illinois.' Published 1883]
KENEIPP, Cyrus Harvey, a farmer of Mt. Carmel Precinct, where he owns an extensive farm, is a native of the precinct where he resides, born July 26, 1846. He is a son of Silas and Jane (Harvey) Keneipp, the former a native of Germany and the latter of Wabash County, Ill. Mrs. Kenipp's father and mother, Beauchamp and Hester Harvey, were natives of Ohio. Silas Keneipp was one of the earliest settlers of Mt. Carmel, and the land he secured was all covered with timber. Upon his marriage he settled a mile and half southwest of Mt. Carmel, and here spent the remainder of his life, passing away about 1876. His widow survived several years and died about 1889. They were parents of children as follows: George M., deceased, Edward, of Mt. Carmel; Ellen, deceased, wife of Major Chapman, of Mt. Carmel Precinct; Maria, Mrs. Charles Calverly, of Mt. Carmel Precinct; Alexander, of Mt. Carmel; Frank, died at the age of eight years, and Judith, Mrs. A. M. Orr, of Mt. Carmel.
The boyhood of Cyrus H. Keneipp was spent on his father's farm near Mt. Carmel, where he resided with his parents until his marriage, in December, 1869, to Catherine Wilhelm, daughter of Conrad and Gertrude (Smith) Wilhelm, boths natives of Worms, Germany. Mr Wilhelm's father, Conrad Wilhelm, and his wife's father, William Smith, came to Wabash County in an early day, and here Mrs. Keneipp's parents were married. They settled on a farm in Mt. Carmel Precinct, where he died, about 1858, and his widow lived in Mt. Carmel until her death, in 1890. After his marriage Mr. Keneipp moved to his farm of eighty acres, one and a half miles southwest of Mt. Carmel. He had to clear a large part of this land, erected on it modern buildings and made all possible improvements, adding to his possessions from to time, until he is now the owner of 332 acres, all well improved. He raised registered Hereford cattle and has a good grade of horses and hogs. Mr. Keneipp is independent in political matters and votes for the man he considers best fitted to hold office. He belongs to the Methodist Episcopal Church of Mt. Carmel, ranks as one of the intelligent and successful farmers of Wabash County, and he is held in high esteem by all who know him. He takes an active interest in political affairs, although he does not care for public office.
Mr. Keneipp and his wife have one son, Stewart, born June 11, 1871, who resides on part of the home farm. He married Maud Murray, born in Mt. Carmel, daughter of William and Lucy (Bonninger) Murray. The former a native of Pennsylvania and the latter of Mt. Carmel. Three children have been born of this marriage: Helen and Richard, at home, and Wilhelm, born in August, 1898, but died in May, 1907.
[From "The Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois" Wabash County, Published 1911 Chicago Munsel Publishing Company]
KING, Henry. The subject of this sketch was among the reliable and substantial farmers of Wabash county. His father, Joseph King, was born in North Carolina, September 24, 1794. He remained in the South until 1837, when he came North and settled in Lawrence county, Illinois, and there remained until his death. He married Lucy Harrison, who was closely related to William Henry Harrison, President of the United States in 1840. By that union there were ten children, three of whom are living, viz: Nancy, wife of Robert Maquire; John, and Mary Ann, wife of William Huffletell.
Henry King, the subject of this sketch, was the second son. He was born in Rockingham county, North Carolina, Aug. 27, 1837. He came to Illinois in 1835, two years before his father. He worked at the cooper and carpenter trades, and also in a mill. He was of an industrious disposition, economical in his habits, and soon laid by some money which he invested in a farm of ninety-nine acres, located in Lawrence county, which he improved until January 1870, when he moved to section 33, in township 2 north, range 12 west, where he bought and improved land, whereon he erected a fine commodious farm-house, a view of which can be seen on another page of this work. There he lived until his death, which took place April 2, 1882. He was a member of the Christian church, a good man, devoted husband, kind and indulgent father, and esteemed by all who knew him.
On the 24th of June, 1841, he was united in marriage to Miss Susannah Ramsey, daughter of Aaron and Elizabeth Ramsey. She died April 1, 1856, leaving five children, two of whom are yet living. Their names are Joel B. , and Caroline, wife of Eli Fries.
On the 5th of May, 1857, he married Miss Ann Jackman, who was born in Franklin county, Indiana, Sept. 29, 1825. Her father, Allen R. Jackman, who was born in Knox county, Indiana and her mother whose maiden name was Sarah Barber, was born in Virginia. By the marriage of Henry and Ann King there were six children. Sarah, the only daughter and child, died in her second year. There are five sons living. Their names in the order of their birth are: Allen J., born April 15, 1860; George A., born Nov. 11, 1862; Martin, born Aug. 2, 1864; Charles M., born Dec. 2, 1866; and James, born June 18th, 1868. Mrs. King is a member of the Christian Church. She lives on the place and has taken charge of it since the death of her husband. [From 'The Combined History of Edwards Lawrence and Wabash Counties, Illinois.' Published 1883]
LITHERLAND, John M.- Some men growup to farm life and find it so satisfactory that they never desire to engage in a different occupation. Knowling every detail of their work, they are able to accomplish much, and are rewarded by the success to which they attain. One of the progressive farmers and stock-raisers of Dennison Township, Lawrence County, Ill., whose farm is located on Section 13, was born in Wabash County, Ill., May 3, 1846, a son of Elisha Litherland, now deceased, who was also born in Wabash County.Elisha Litherland was a son of George Litherland, a pioneer of Wabash County, Ill., but a native of Ohio. He settled in Wabash County when he became one of the first pioneers, and a very prominent citizen. His wife was Katherine Courter, also a native of Ohio, and they had twelve children, all born in Wabash County. Elisha Litherland married, in Wabash County, Alzina McFarland, who was a native of Kentucky, a daughter of John McFarland, a soldier of the War of 1812. The latter entered land from the Government in Wabash County, to the extent of 140 acres, upon which he spent the remainder of his life. He had five children who grew to matjurity, one dying in infancy.After marriage, Elisha Litherland bought 120 acres in Wabash County, which he cleared and improved, and resided thereon until his death. In politics he was a life-long Democrat. During his long life of nearly eighty-two years, Elisha Litherland accomplished much and left an honored name behind him. He and his wife became the parents of twelve children: Mary Jane, William Franklin, John McFarland, Louisa, Georgiana, Thomas, Sarah, James B., Merilla, Bertha, Robert and Etta May, all born in Wabash County.Reared on the home place, John M. Litherland went to the log schoolhouse, and thus grew to maturity. On September 13, 1874 he married Martha Elizabeth Dart, who was born in Dennison Township, April 7, 1854, a daughter of Amor Dart, now deceased, a farmer of Ohio, where he was born. He was reared in Cincinnati and there married Delilah Ramsey, daughter of Tobias Ramsey, a sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this volume. Mr. Dart came to Illinois with his daughter, and located in Dennison Township, where he bought a farm of 160 acres, clearing and improving it. He bought and sold other farms, carried on general farming extensively, and was a prominent man of his time. He and his wife had thirteen children, Mrs. Litherland being the youngest, and all were born in Dennison Township but the eldest: Margaret Jane. Sarah Ann, Louisa, John Wesley, Sarelda Mildred, Sabillah Caroline, Mary Evaline, Martha and five who died in infancy. In politics Mr. Dart was a Democrat, and in religious belief a Methodist, and died firm in the belief of his church at the age of seventy-seven. Mrs. Litherland was educated in the log school house of her district, and was married in Dennison Township.After marriage Mr. and Mrs. Litherland lived for fifteen years in Wabash County on the Litherland farm, but in 1889 Mr. Litherland moved to Dennison Township, and located on his present farm of seventy-four acres, on which Mr. Litherland has made the improvements. Mr. and Mrs. Litherland have had thirteen children: Amor, Elisha, William Alexander, James Clinton, Jennie May, John Ogle (deceased), Josie Maude, Henry M., Jesse Oral, Eli McFarland, Martha Jane, Thomas Burton, Victor Irl, Mabel Earnestine, three of whom were born in Dennison Township, and all attended school here. Mr. Litherland is a member of the United Brethren Church. He has been a Democrat since he cast his first vote. Mrs. Litherland is a member of the Order of Ben Hur.[From the book "Lawrence County" Page 707]
MCINTOSH, John Jerome, M. D., A prominent physician of Allendale, Ill., whose father was the second practicing physician in Wabash County, and who had a diploma from a medical college, is a native of Allendale, born July 2, 1881. He is a son of Dr. Andrew J. and Jane (McFarland) McIntosh, the former born at Timberville, Wabash County, and the later in Wabash Precinct. His paternal grandparents were Samuel and Eleanor (Mathews) McIntosh, he a native of Paris, Bourbon County, Ky., and she of Sullivan County, Ind. Samuel McIntosh was a son of John Ogg and Sarah (Bennett) McIntosh, the former born in Invernesshire, Scotland. He was an assistant surgeon under Cornwallis in the Revolutionary War, and was appointed presiding Judge at the organization of Wabash County. Jane McFarland was a daughter of James Alexander and Rachel (Osborn) McFarland, the former born in Christian County, Ky., and the latter in Lawrence County, Ill. James A. McFarland was a son of John and Mary P. (Thompson) McFarland, the former born in Elkton, and the latter in Christian County, Ky.In 1814 Samuel McIntosh and John McFarland, came to Wabash Precinct and County and settled on farms, the former being a wheelright, veterinary surgeon and farmer. He served in the War of 1812; and entered land from the Government. Dr. Andrew J. McIntosh married and settled at Allendale being the second physician to practice in the county who had a diploma. He graduated from the University at Cincinnati, Ohio, in 1869, although prior to this he had practiced ten years. He served many years as Coroner of Wabash County, and his widow died May 9, 1908. His first marriage was to Sarah Grayson, by whom he had two daughters: Jennie, Mrs. W. C. Burns, of Danville, Ill., and Sarah, Mrs. David Crawford who died in Tennessee. Mr. McIntosh married (second) Jane (McFarland) Fox, widow of Hiram Fox, by whom she had son, Hite, Assistant Cashier of the First Nation Bank, of Allendale. The only child of the second marriage was Dr. John J.At the age of sixteen years John Jerome McIntosh entered the university of Vincennes, Ind., two years later matriculated at Center College, Central University, Kentucky, and two years later entered the medical department of the Northwestern University, of Chicago, Ill., from which he was graduated Cum Laude in June, 1905. He was elected to membership in the Alpha Omega Alpha (Honorary Medical Fraternity). While a student he was an active member of the Phi Beta PI Medical fraternity. After serving eighteen months as interne in the Cook County Hospital, he returned to Vincennes, Ind., where he remained for six months in order to secure a life certificate for service in the State of Indiana. In July, 1907, he located in Allendale, and took up the practice of his father, to which he has added materially, and now has the satisfaction of being well established and very busy. He has established himself also in the confidence and esteem of all with whom he has associated, and is considered one of the leading young physicians of the county, being well fitted by natural ability and training to rise in his profession. In the fall of 1908 he was elected to the important office of County Coroner and is discharged the duties of same with credit.Dr. McIntosh married, October 3, 1908, Hester Holson, born at Allendale, Ill., a daughter of Fred and Nancy (Keneipp) Holson. he was born in Germany and she in Lawrence County, Ill. They have on daughter, Mary Jane, born July 21, 1909, and one son, John Jackson, born August 9, 1910. Dr. McIntosh is a devout member of the Christian Church and is a deacon of same. Politically he is a Democrat and fraternally a member of the Modern Woodmen of America, Camp 1799, and the Masonic Lodge, No. 752, of Allendale. He has many firm friends in the county and takes a lively interest in everything that affects the welfare of the people. He is a typical young physician of today, keeping well informed on the latest discoveries and theories of his profession, and taking an intelligent interest in other current topics and issues. [From 'The Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois Wabash County, 1911, Editor: Theodore G. Risley, Munsell Publishing Company].
McNAIR, Charles E., of Friendsville Precinct, Wabash County, Ill, comes of a family well known in the county for nearly a century, and always identified with its best interests and progress. The grandfather of Mr. McNair entered land three-quarters of a mile north of Friendsville, and was one of the pioneer settlers. Charles E. McNair was born in Friendsville Precinct, January 13, 1853, a son of James P and Margaret A. (Dennison) McNair, the former a native of the same precinct and the latter of Lawrence County, Ill., being born near Bridgeport. James P. McNair married and located on an eighty-acre farm one-half mile east of his father's home, this land having been given him by the latter. He built a house and entered forty acres more on the Crawfish bottoms. He died May 17, 1898, and his widow died August 5, 1900. Charles E. was their second child, the others being George, who died at the age of sixteen years, and Mary, who died at the age of seventeen years. Nearly the entire life of Charles E. McNair has been spent on the home place. He attended the district school in boyhood and came into possession of the farm at his father's death. Here he carried on general farming and raised cattle, hogs and horses, until February, 1902, then sold out and purchased ninety acres one-half mile west of Friendsville, where he has resided since September, 1906.Mr. McNair married (first) Sonora Jones, who was born in Gibson County, Ind., daughter of Charles and Rachel (Newsom) Jones, and they had two children: George, who died in infancy, and Maggie, married William L. Crum, of Lancaster Precinct, and they have one child-Beatta Ruth, born October 29, 1903. Mr. McNair married (second) on December 30, 1891, Mary Ellen Courter, born in Wabash County, a daughter of Daniel and Rebecca (Ashcraft) Courter. Her parents died when she was a small child, and she was reared in the family of Gifford Runyon, of Friendsville Precinct. By his second marriage Mr. McNair, has one child, Effie, at home. He and his wife are well-known and popular and have a large circle of friends. He is a Republican in politics and served as School Director one term. Fraternally he is affiliated with the Modern Woodmen of America, of Friendsville, and the Farmer's Union, of the same place. He is interested in every good cause. Like his father and grandfather before him, he is greatly interested in the development and welfare of the community, and is one of the public-spirited citizens of the county, being representative of its highest interests. [Transcribed from "Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois Wabash County' 1911', published by Newman, Shelby and Bates] Submitted by Dawn Daddario
MOORE, Benjamin Franklin.- One of the representative men of Wabash County who has been before the public in various capacities during the past few years is Benjamin Franklin Moore, Sheriff of Wabash County, and a well know citizen of Mt. Carmel. He was born December 26, 1861, near Metropolis, Massac County, Ill., and is a son of Benjamin Franklin and Emily (Tanner) Moore.
The father of Mr. Moore was born in Perry County, Tenn., in 1826, and there married Emily Tanner, who was born in the same county in 1834. In 1860 they moved to Massac County, Ill., there bought a farm, and in 1861 Mr. Moore enlisted in Company B, One Hundred Thirty-first Regiment, Illinois Volunteer Infantry. While on a scouting expedition near Atlanta, Ga., Mr. Moore was captured by the Confederates and sent to Andersonville Prison for several months, but finally, in company with four others, he managed to escape and made his way to his home in Massac County, arriving in a nearly starved condition. Being unable to rejoin his regiment, he went to Caseyville, Ky., and there joined the Third Kentucky Volunteer Calvary, with which he remained until the close of the war. After the close of hostilities he bought a farm in Union County, Ky., which he operated until 1871, then moved to Saline County, Ill., but subsequently moved to Johnson County, where his death occurred in 1885. His wife survived until 1903, when she passed away at the home of one of her daughters, having formerly lived with her son, Benjamin F., for some time.
Benjamin Franklin Moore was educated in Union County, Ky., and Saline County, Ill., and remained at home until eighteen years of age, when he went to work in the coal mines at Spilertown, Williamson County, working for John Wilerford for a little over a year. He then went to Murphysboro, Ill., where he worked for a short time in the mines, then becoming a brakeman on the Mobile & Ohio Railroad, a position which he held for six months. In 1881 he came to Wabash County, Ill., and first worked in a mine near Maud, working for a few months for Jacob Zimmerman, then going to Saline County, Ill., and assisting in opening a mine at Clifton. He worked there until his marriage, July 3, 1883, to Lida Van Seudan, born in Wabash County, a daughter of J.A. and Samantha (Rigg) Van Seuden. After marriage Mr. Moore worked for Harvey Hughs in in the Clifton mines until the following spring, when he commenced farming, his first venture being on the farm of his father-in-law near Maud. The following year he rented the Jack McLain farm on Bompas Prairie, which he sold and moved to Pratt County, Kan. He next went to Metropolis, where he conducted a livery concern for three years, then going to Johnson County and serving as City Marshall at Burnside, and as Deputy Sheriff of the county under Sheriff M. A. Hankins. Moving back to Wabash County in 1900, he came to Mt. Carmel and bought a livery business on Fourth Street, and in 1903 was elected Alderman on the Republican ticket. In 1904 he sold his business on Fourth Street and bought the old Woods house and a lot adjoining on which he erected a livery stable. In addition to these, he owns three other properties in Mt. Carmel. In the fall of 1906, Mr. Moore was nominated for the office Sheriff and Collector of Wabash County, his opponent being Alec Compton, who defeated him. Twenty days after the election, Mr. Compton was murdered, at at the subsequent special election necessary to fill the vacancy, Mr. Moore defeated James Williams, his Democratic opponent by 160 votes, in a county that ordinarily has a Democratic majority of 300 to 400. He has been one of the best officials Wabash County has ever had and has the confidence and respect of his fellow citizens.
Mr. Moore has a daughter, Carrie, and an adopted daughter, Gladys. He and his wife are members of the Christian Church. Fraternally he is connected with the Odd Fellows, the Modern Woodmen, the Tribe of Ben Hur and the Order of Elks.
[Transcribed from "Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois Wabash County' 1911', published by Newman, Selby and Bates] Submitted by Dawn Daddario
MUNDY, Hon. Mahlon H., who is one of the most prominent Democrats in Wabash County, Ill., and has served in several public offices in the State, as well as in local offices, has been engaged in the practice of law at Mt. Carmel, Ill., since 1880. Mr. Mundy was born in Lancaster Precinct, Wabash County, March 8, 1850, a son of Henry and Mary (Penson) Mundy, the former a native of Edwards County and the latter of Wabash County. Henry Mundy was a son of Samuel and Phebe (Reed) Mundy, both born in New Jersey, the former in 1785 and the latter in 1787. Phebe Reed was a daughter of William and Rachel Reed and a cousin of President Pierce, and her husband was a son of Samuel and Abigail Mundy.
Samuel Munday and his wife were married November 30, 1809, and in 1818 they came to what is now Wabash County, Ill., then a part of Edwards County. Their children were: Griffith, born June 22, 1813; William, born May 26, 1815; James M., born June 6, 1817; Henry, born February 26, 1820; Nelson, born February 16, 1822, died January 3, 1824; Caroline born May 21, 1824; Samuel, born December 25, 1825; John Q. A., born October 15, 1827; Phebe A. born July 23, 1829; Julia A., born November 1, 1831; Jersey A., born November 12, 1834. The Penson family were native of Connecticut and were early settlers of what is now Wabash County.
Henry Munday married and settled on a farm in Lancaster Precinct. He was born February 26, 1820, and his wife March 12, 1824. He died on his farm, June 7, 1896, and since then his widow remains on the old homestead. Their children were: Carl, died in infancy; Allen, deceased; Mahlon; Samuel, of Mt. Carmel; Maria and Frances M., deceased; Sarah Jane, Mrs. W.A. Risley, of Mt. Carmel; Mary Ellen, died in 1888; Phebe A., Mrs. John Mason of Edwards County, Ill.The early years of Mahlon H. Mundy were spent on his father's farm and he attended the commons schools. He remained at home until he reached his majority and then worked a year and a half on a farm, after which he went to Warrenton, Warren County, Mo., and attended the Central Western College two years. Returning to Illinois he went to Edwards County and taught four years, then began reading law with Judge Phinney D. Preston, of Olney, Ill. Three years later he came to Mt. Carmel and engaged in the practice of law there, January 1, 1880. He has been successful from the start and stands high in his profession.
In political views Mr. Mundy is a strong Democrat and is active in party affairs. He served from 1884 until 1896 as State's Attorney, and as a member of the Forty-third and Forty-fourth General Assemblies of Illinois. He held the office of Master in Chancery from 1905 - 1909, and was elected City Attorney in 1882 and again in 1884, serving two terms of two years each. Fraternally he is a member of the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks, No. 715, of Mt. Carmel, and has many friends among all classes. He is well known among business men and is looked upon as a representative, patriotic citizen of the city, county and State.
Mr. Mundy married (first), January 6, 1884, Mrs. Isabel Phipps, who was born in Lawrence County, Ind., widow of Larkin Phipps, and daughter of David and Catherine Boyles, of Lawrence County, Ind. By her first marriage she had two children: Harry M., of Mt. Carmel, and Minta, Mrs. J.F. McDonald, of Virginia. One daughter was born of her marriage to Mr. Mundy, Hazel, Mrs. Fred Lewis, of Columbus, Ind. Mrs. Mundy died September 21, 1894, and Mr. Mundy married (second) October 18, 1895, Mrs. Emma L. (Koegley) Robinson, widow of John Robinson. She had two children by her first marriage: Estella, Mrs. J.S. Campbell, of Marion, Ill., and Hattie, who lives with Mr. and Mundy and her daughter. By his second marriage Mr. Mundy had no children. [Transcribed from the book "Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois, Wabash County" Editor Theodore G. Risley, Published 1911 by Munsell Publishing Company]
MUNDY, William R. (deceased). - The late William R. Mundy, of Lick Prairie Precinct, Wabash County, Ill., spent most of his life in the county, where his parents were among the earliest settlers. The family have been useful members of the community and have helped build up the local institutions and promote the general welfare. Mr. Mundy was a prominent member of the Methodist Church and served many years as a steward. He was active in Political affairs and served several years as County Commissioner, being a Republican in his views. He was active in the Farmers' Grange and was much interested in its progress. He has been missed from many circles and his many friends remember with gratitude his public spirit and many good traits of character.
Mr. Mundy was born in New Jersey, May 26, 1815, the son of Samuel and Phebe Mundy, also natives of New Jersey, who located on a farm in Lick Prairie Precinct, Wabash County, when the surrounding country was a vast prairie and almost entirely unsettled. They entered land from the Government and lived on it until a few years before their deaths, then moved to Mt. Carmel. William R. Mundy lived at home with his parents until his marriage, and was educated in the country schools of the time. He and his wife began housekeeping on a farm in Lancaster Precinct, and he afterward entered a farm of 160 acres in Lick Prairie Precinct, part of it in timber. He improved the land and erected a house, developing a fine farm. He became an extensive stock-raiser and was an energetic farmer making the most of his opportunities. He became very successful and had a good standing in the community.
Mr. Mundy married (first) December 30, 1838, Sarah Risley, who was born in Wabash County, a daughter of Jeremiah and Rachel Risley. Mrs. Mundy died in June, 1859, having had children as follows: Phineas, born Apri 9, 1840, died at the age of a year and a half; Frances C., born October 23, 1841, married Isaac Breese, who died, and she now lives in Mt. Carmel; Henry Clay, born June 3, 1844, died at the age of a year and a half; Ezra Green born January 12, 1846, deceased; William Hardin, born January 3, 1849, deceased; Charles Miller, born June 11, 1851, deceased; Sarah Alice, born May 31, 1854, now Mrs. Eli Knowles of El Paso County, Colo; Asenath Adeline, born October 5, 1857, married Simon Epler, and died at Albion, Ill., in 1908; Anna Isabel, born June 19, 1859, now Mrs. Jacob Epler, of Glendora, Cal. Mr. Mundy was married (second) March 20, 1860, to Mary Ann Risley, born in Mt. Carmel, Ill., May 20, 1835, daughter of Daniel and Eliza (Harland) Risley, natives of New Jersey, and grand-daughter of Jeremiah and Rachel (Tilton) Risley, also natives of New Jersey, who were early settlers of Wabash County, Ill. By his second marriage, Mr. Mundy had no children. His death occurred November 7, 1899, since which time his widow has lived on the home farm, which she rents out. Mrs. Mundy is well known in the vicinity of her home, having spent her entire life in Wabash County, and she has a large circle of friends. [Transcribed from the book "Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois, Wabash County" Editor Theodore G. Risley, Published 1911 by Munsell Publishing Company]
One of the most extensive farmers in Friendsville Precinct, Wabash County, was born on the farm where he now resides, and upon which his father settled as a young man. He is a son of Zachariah and Eliza A. (Greathouse) Newkirk, and was born October 20, 1851. His father was a native of Ohio, and had two brothers, Hugh and William, who were early settlers of Wabash County. Eliza A. Greathouse was a daughter of early settlers of Friendsville Precinct, Wabash County where she was born.
The first marriage of Zachariah Newkirk was to a Miss Higgins, and they had two children; a son, who died in infancy, and Martha, who married James Campbell and had four children - Mary Eliza, Clara, Charles and Ada. After his second marriage Mr. Newkirk located on the farm where his son Paul now lives, and began housekeeping in a very modest manner. For their wedding supper he and his wife had corn meal mush. However, he was ambitious and industrious and became the owner of a fine farm of 640 acres. But little of this land was cleared and he cleared and improved most of it himself. Part of this land he secured from Geary W. Smith, who entered it from the Government. Mr. Newkirk was a successful farmer and raised a large number of cattle, horses and hogs. He died on the farm November 7, 1863, and his widow died in August, 1876. Their children were: Mary E., married Jackson Buchanan, deceased; William H., deceased; Paul; Clara, married James Buchanan, who died, and she afterwards married Clate Hutchinson, of Wabash Precinct, Eliza Ann, Mrs. Albert Sapp, of Washington; James Enoch, of Mt. Carmel Precinct.
Paul Newkirk was reared on his father's farm and also spent two terms in the Friendsville High School. At the time of his father's death he came into possession of sixty-six acres of land, helped his mother as long as she lived, and after her death bought 149 acres from the other heirs. He has added to his land until he now owns 338 acres, all of which except forty acres, is under cultivation. He is an enterprising and intelligent farmer and, besides carrying on general farming, has invested in high-grade stock, raising Oxford and Shropshire sheep, Poland China hogs, registered Durham cattle and draft horses.
Mr. Newkirk married, November 22, 1877, Catherine L. Stroh, of a well known pioneer family in Wabash County. She was born in Mt. Carmel Precinct, daughter of J.B. and Elvira (Leed) Stroh, natives of Pennsylvania and Mt. Carmel, respectively. Children were born to them as follows: Eliza Ann, born May 8, 1879, died January 7, 1901; Bertha, born July 4, 1880, married Glenn Shephard and they have a daughter, Catherine, born April 23, 1906; Lillie May, born March 9, 1882, of Olney, Ill; Herbert Nelson born January 12 1884 married Blanche Wilkinson who was born in Friendsville Precinct, September 10, 1883, and they have one child, Virginia May, born March 6, 1909; Joshua Bernard born February 10, 1883, lives at home. Herbert Nelson and his family reside on a part of the home farm. Mr. Newkirk is a member of the Christian Church and has been an Elder since 1905. He is an Independent Democrat, and fraternally belongs to the Modern Woodmen of America; the Tribe of Ben Hur of Mt. Carmel, and Modern America of Friendsville. He sunk a well of his farm in 1908. The family have a large circle of friends and are well known in the community.
[Transcribed from "The Historical Encyclopedia have of Illinois - Wabash County", Published 1911, Chicago Munsell Publishing Company - submitted by Dawn Daddario]
NEWKIRK, Rufus M., An enterprising and public-spirited citizen of Friendsville Precinct, Wabash County, Ill., who is actively identified with every movement that tends toward the welfare and development of his community, was born in Muskinum County, Ohio, February 6, 1849, a son of William and Sarah (Crooks) Newkirk, the former born in New Jersey and the latter in Maryland, and grandson of Abram and Grace (Loper) Newkirk, natives of New Jersey, and Robert and Elizabeth (Brelsford) Crook, of Ireland. Abram Newkirk was killed when his son William was but six years of age, and his widow brought her family to Wabash County, Ill., between 1845 and 1850. William Newkirk did not come to Wabash County until 1858 and in 1856 he purchased a tract of land in Section 35(?), Town 1 North, Range 13 West, in Friendsville Precinct, half prairie and half timber. He had 160 acres in the home farm and 160 acres south of Friendsville, where Jacob Zimmerman now lives. Mr. Newkirk made all possible improvements and erected on of the first brick houses in the county. He was killed by the memorable cyclone at Mt. Carmel, June 4, 1877, and his widow survived him until December, 1891. Their children were: Mary Jane, Mrs. Jairus Greathouse, died at Anna, Ill., in 1908; Clarinda, Mrs. Alfred McNair, died about 1861; Nathan Henry and Clarissa, drowned in 1852, and Rufus M.
Rufus M. Newkirk was the youngest child of his parents and has spent his life on the home farm since he was brought there a small child. He attended the district schools and Friendsville Academy and received a good education. His father gave him the homestead, to which he has added twenty acres. He has cleared it and put it under cultivation except about fifteen acres of timber land. Besides carrying on general farming he makes a speciality of raising Red Polled, Durham and Jersey cattle, and has a fine dairy herd. He also raises Poland-China hogs, and horses for general use. He is a Republican in politics and served twenty years as School Director. Fraternally he is a member of the Masonic Order, being affiliated with Lodge No. 329, of Mt. Carmel, and also belongs to the Ben Hur Tribe, No. 97, of Mt. Carmel. He is an ambitious farmer and has developed his farm to a fine property.
Mr. Newkirk was married, in September, 1874, to Martha Hallock, who was born in Mt. Carmel Precinct, daughter of Aaron B. and Acenith (Ogden) Hallock. Children as follows were born to this union: Sarah Catherine, Mrs. Adelbert Shearer, of Centralia, Wash.; Anna, died in infancy; Gertrude and Grace, twins, the latter of whom died in infancy, and Gertrude is the wife of Vern Mundy, of Cherry, Colo.; Amy, at home; William, died at the age of two years; a son and daughter who died in infancy; Allen, at home; and another daughter who died in infancy.
[From the 'Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois, Wabash County, 1911', edited by Theodore G. Risley, Chicago Munsell Publishing Company, 1911.]
PARMENTER, Ben, M. D.
Among the younger physicians who have established themselves successfully in the practice of their profession in Wabash County, Ill., is Dr. Ben Parmenter, of Bellmont. Dr. Parmenter is a member of a family that is well known in the community and has identified himself with its best interests. He was born in Bellomont Precinct, December 8, 1881, son of Aden Theodore and Mary Alice (Bristow) Parmenter, the former a native of Wabash County and the latter of Fibson County, Ind. Aden T. Parmenter is a son of Henry and Jane (Putname) Parmenter, of Wabash County, and his wife is a daughter of Nathaniel and Maria (Collins) Bristow, the former a native of Kentucky. Henry's father, Isaac Parmenter, was one of the earliest settlers of Wabash County, when it was part of Edwards County, coming from the State of New York. He was a farmer by occupation and served as Sheriff of Edwards County. Aden T. Parmenter was married in his native county and settled on a farm of 255 acfres in Bellmont Precent, where he reared his family. He has always been engaged in farming and owns another farm of eighty acres. He and his wife had children as follows: Daisy A., Mrs. J. S. Brines, of Bellmont Precinct; Dr. Ben; Anna and George H., at home; Mil, farms part of the home place; Mollie, married Harm Myer, a merchant of Bellmont; Harry and Winnifred, at home.
After receiving a public school education, Ben Parmenter entered the Southern Collegiate Institute, at Albio0n, Ill., from which he graduated at the age of twenty years. He taught two years in the public schools of Bellmont, then served one year as Superintendent of Schools in Norris City, Ill. He received his professional training at the Barnes University, St. Louis, Mo., from which he gr4aduated in medicine and surgery in 1909. Dr. Parmenter has had a very good practice in Bellmont since locating there and stands high in the profession. He is prominent in social and political circles, is a Republican and is afflicated with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, No. 720, of Bellmont, and the Modern Woodmen of America of St. Louis, Mo., Olive Camp. Dr. Parmenter is unmarried and makes his home with his sister, Mrs. Myer.
[From the 'Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois, Wabash County, 1911', edited by Theodore G. Risley, Chicago Munsell Publishing Company, 1911.]
PICKERING, John M., one of the most substantial and prominent citizens of Allendale, Ill., has risen to a position of trust and responsibility by his habits of industry and reliability. Mr. Pickering was born in Lukin Township, Lawrence County, Ill., the oldest of eight children of Jordan and Mary (Keneipp) Pickering, natives of Pickaway County, Ohio, and Lawrence County, Ill., respectively. She was a daughter of Solomon and Nancy Keneipp. Jordan Pickering was a carpenter and cabinet-maker and married in Lawrence County. In later life he became a farmer in the same county. John M. Pickering was born August 16, 1840, by his father's first marriage, and lived with his parents until his marriage, being educated in the common schools.
In 1864 John M. Pickering moved to Claremont, Ill., and worked at the trade of Cooper, making four barrels one year, then removed to Bridgeport, Ill., and worked at his trade a year and a half longer, after which he returned to the home farm and conducted same until 1882. At that time he moved to Allendale and became engineer in a grist mill. After working one year in the mill he took a position as Exchanger on the floor, and also run the engine, until 1904, when he was made chief miller, and has held this position since in the plant of Holsen and Dorney and has the complete confidence of his employers, caring for their interests as though they were his own. He sold the property left him by his parents and invested in real estate at Allendale. Politically he is a Democrat and has served as School Director. While living in Lawrence County, he served one term as Assessor of Lukin Township. He is devoutt [this is straight from the book - dd] member of the Methodist Episcopal Church and has been a Class leader since 1898. Mr. Pickering is a well known and popular member of society, and is considered a representative and public-spirited businessman.
March 3, 1864, Mr. Pickering married Sarah Woodward, who was born September 3, 1841, in Connecticut, a daughter of Samuel Woodward, also a native of that State. Of this union children were born as follows: Samuel, died in 1865; Marion, of Vincennes, Ind.; Mary Caroline, keeps house for her father; George A. of Robinson, Ill., Solomon, died in infancy; Harriett J., Mrs. Reeder Courter, of Wabash Precinct, Horace of Lawrence County, Ill., and Viola, who died in infancy. Mrs. Pickering died August 12, 1881, mourned by a large circle of friends, remembered as a kind neighbor and a devoted mother and wife, as well as a devout Christian.
[Transcribed from the book "Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois, Wabash County" Editor Theodore G. Risley, Published 1911 by Munsell Publishing Company]
POOL, James, of Friendsville, Wabash County, Ill., is a grandson of James Pool, who came to the county in 1810, with a brother, William and took up a half-section of prairie land in Friendsville Precinct, where he spent the remainder of his life, and died in March, 1855. He preached in the Christian Church, the first funeral sermon in Wabash County, and besides being a preacher, was also a successful farmer and tanner. The subject of this biography was born in Wabash Precinct, March 26, 1851, a son of Lemon and Mary (Potts-Swaney) Pool, natives of Friendsville Precinct and Dresden, Ohio, respectively. The mother was the widow of James Swaney at the time of her marriage to Lemon Pool, who was a son of James and Angeline (Keen) Pool, both natives of Ohio, while she was a daughter of William Potts, also of Ohio.
After his marriage Lemon Pool settled at St. Francisville, Ill., and for three years worked in a saw-mill. He then took a trip through the Southern States and conducted a saw-mill one year in St. Francisville, and upon his return purchased the shares of the other heirs to his father's homestead. After carrying on the farm four years he moved to Hazelton, Ind., in Spring of 1861, where for four years he followed the trade of carpenter. He then returned to his farm, where the remainder of his life was spent. He died October 13, 1895, at the age of seventy-nine years. His children were: James (the oldest) ; John, of Mt. Carmel, Ill.; Peter, of Evansville, Ind.; Lemon H., of Friendsville, Ill.; William, a Methodist Episcopal minister; Charles, who died in Evansville in 1908.
James Pool was educated in the public schools and Friendsville Seminary, and when eighteen years of age began working in a foundry and machine shop in Vincennes, Ind., removing six months later to Evansville, where he spent six months, in a machine shop, later returning to Friendsville, where he erected a general repair shop. He also taught Natural Philosophy and Astronomy in Friendsville Seminary. Three years later he embarked in the manufacture of scientific instruments, such as telescopes, microscopes, batteries, etc., and continued in this enterprise eight years, and then worked eight years in various machine shops in Mt. Carmel. He returned to Friendsville in 1888 and in 1897 was appointed Postmaster, which office he has held to the present time. He has also carried on other business in connection with the postoffice, for ten years did general job-printing, and since has conducted a general merchandise store. He is an expert mechanic and in 1876 made the first electronic telephone ever used in the county. In 1902 he made the first automobile ever run on public roads in the county, first trip November 24, 1902, and since turning his attention to other lines has shown business acumen and good judgment in the conduct of his public and private affairs. He is one of the most prominent Republicans of Wabash County and served four years in the United States Signal Service, four years as Justice of the Peace, eight years as School Director, and one year as Overseer of the Poor in Wabash County. Fraternally he is a member of the Modern Woodsmen of America, is well known in social circles and highly esteemed by his associates and neighbors. The family attend the Methodist Episcopal Church.
Mr. Pool married, September 7, 1880, Anna Simonds, who was born in Mt. Carmel Precinct, a daughter of William and Mary (Hill) Simonds, and they became parents of children as follows: Vitula, Mrs. Harley Geissler, of El Reno, Okla; Eugene E., a mail clerk on the Louisville & Nashville Railroad, his run being from St. Louis to Nashville; Nellie, cashier in a bank at El Reno, Okla.; Ethel, a stenographer at El Reno, Okla.; and Robert, Harry and Lenora, all at home.
[From the 'Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois, Wabash County, 1911', edited by Theodore G. Risley, Chicago Munsell Publishing Company, 1911.] Submitted by Dawn Daddario
PRICE, William M.
The bankers and successful business men of any place have great influence on the progress and welfare of their community, and are necessarily men of prominence and stability. The financiers of a farming country are usually conservative and careful in their business dealings, and are so well known by their patrons, who are also their neighbors, that they have gained the confidence and respect of all who know them. The First National Bank of Allendale, Ill., the only institution of its kind ever established in that town, was organized by a number of leading men who resided in the vicinity, their names being: James W. Price, William M. Price, Fred Holsen, Sr., William F. Courter, H.A. Fox, James Stillwell, and H.T. Goddard of Mt. Carmel, Ill.
William M. Price was born at Timberville, Wabash County, Ill., August 15, 1869, son of James W. and Sarah I. (McClain) Price, the former a native of Richland County, Ohio, and the latter of Wabash Precinct, Wabash County, Ill. (For list of their children see sketch of J.W. Price.)
The education of William M. Price was received in the public schools of Allendale, Ill., after which he began working in his father's store, following this occupation until 1906, when he participated in organizing the Allendale Bank.
The Officers of the First National Bank, of Allendale, are: James W. Price, President; William F. Courter, Vice President; William M. Price, Cashier, and H.A. Fox, assistant Cashier. Mr. Price has been Cashier since the organization of the bank and is well fitted by training and experience for this responsible position. The bank is one of the chief financial institutions of Wabash County and stands well in that part of the State.
September 11, 1895, Mr. Price married Cora B. Tracy, born at Chapel Hill, N. J., a daughter of Elizabeth R. Tracy. To this marriage one son was born, James Tracy Price, born June 11, 1896. Mr. Price is a member of the Christian Church, in which he is a Deacon, having that post since 1904. He is a sound Democrat and served seven years as a member of the Democratic Central Committee. Fraternally he belongs to A. F. & A. M. No. 752, of Allendale; Chapter No. 159, of Mt. Carmel; Knights of Pythias, No. 227, of Mt. Carmel, and Modern Woodmen of America No. 1799, Allendale. He is well known in Allendale and vicinity, and has many warm personal and political friends. He has discharged the various duties that have come to him in private and public capacities to the best of his ability and has won the approval of all with whom he has had dealings.
[From the 'Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois, Wabash County, 1911', edited by Theodore G. Risley, Chicago Munsell Publishing Company, 1911.]
PUTNAM, Samuel R. is a descendent of one of the pioneer families of Illinois and Wabash county. The family originally came from Massachusetts. Howard Putnam, the great-grandfather of Samuel R., was born in Worcester, that state, February 11, 1762. He was a young man when the war of the Revolution broke out, and too young to enter the service at that time. He, however, espoused the cause of the patriots, and was for two years a solder under Washington at the latter end of the war. Hannah Putnam, his wife, was born in the same state, Aug. 16, 1763. Howard moved to New Brighton in Columbia county, New York, and there his son, Samuel Putnam, the grandfather of the present family was born in Westminister, Vermont, Sept. 11th, 1787. He married Relief Chaffey, who was of Puritan stock, born in Westminister, Vermont, Dec. 11th, 1796. She died in Wabash county, Illinois, February 14th, 1859, having survived her husband thirteen years.
Samuel Putnam emigrated to Indiana in 1817, about the time that state was admitted into the union. There his oldest daughter, Tryphosia, was born, September 2nd, 1817. The next year he came across the river into Illinois. His eldest son, Sylvester Putnam was born in Wabash, then a part of Edwards county, Feb. 14th, 1819. Here Samuel Putnam remained until his death, which occurred March 10, 1846. By the marriage of Samuel and Relief Putnam, there were five children, among whom was Chesterfield Putnam, the father of Samuel R. He was born in Wabash county, Illinois, Sept. 23rd, 1825. He in early life learned the trade of wagonmaker, which he followed for a number of years, then engaged in farming and subsequently returned to his trade again, and at present is engaged in that business, in Mt. Carmel. He lived for a few years in Lawrence county, but with that exception, his life has been passed in Wabash county. He married Miss Elizabeth Baird, a native of Wabash co., who was born Mar. 8, 1826, and married Sept. 3rd, 1843. Her parents, John W. and Rebecca (Stewart) Baird, were natives of Kentucky, and were also among the early settlers of Wabash county. The offspring of the marriage of Chesterfield and Elizabeth Putnam, were Gilbert LaFayette, who was a soldier during the late war, and a member of the 115th Regt. Ill. Vol. Infty. He contracted a disease while in the line of his duty during the war, and died, April 12, 1868. Julie, the only daughter, is the daughter of Seth Gard, and a resident of Wabash county. Edgar Newton, youngest son, married Ellen Ayres. She died January 5th, 1882, having one son named Noble Putnam.
Samuel R., the subject of this sketch, is the third in the family. He was born in Wabash county, Illinois, Oct. 19th, 1849. He was reared upon the farm, and received his education in the common schools of Wabash and Lawrence counties, and in the High School of Mt. Carmel. In the Spring he commenced the study of law in the office, and under the directions of Bell & Green, prominent attorneys of the Wabash bar. He read the standard text books, and pursued his studies diligently until the Spring of 1870, when he was examined as to his proficiency by a committee, upon whose recommendation the Supreme Court granted him a license to practice law. Soon after his admission he went to Eureka, Kansas, opened an office and commenced the practice. He remained there two years, then returned to Mt. Carmel and continued alone in the practice for one year, then formed a law partnership with Mathews & Greathouse, under the firm name of Mathews, Putnam & Greathouse, which continued five years. Upon its dissolution, the present firm of Putnam & Greathouse was formed. Mr. Putnam, while in the general practice, makes the probate business a specialty, and in the line of the practice has been more than ordinarily successful. He is a young man, possessing studious and good habits, industrious disposition and an earnest desire to excel in his chosen profession. Politically, he comes from an old line Whig and Republican stock, and since 1872, when he cast his first presidential vote, has uniformly voted the Republican ticket. On the 21st of April, 1878, he was united in marriage to Miss Agatha E. Wienbach, a native of Wabash county, Illinois. One child, a son named Karl, has been born to them.
[From 'The Combined History of Edwards, Lawrence and Wabash Counties Illinois]. Published in 1883
RAMSEY , J. Eli, who all his life has taken an active interest in the welfare and progress of the public schools of the State of Illinois, and who has served twelve years as County Superintendent of Schools for Wabash County, is well known to educators through Southern Illinois in consequence of the work he has done in the interests of the cause in which there is so much need of constant activity. Mr. Ramsey has now engaged in another line of work, but retains his interest in school work and rejoices when any good has been accomplished along the line of his many years of endeavor. He is a native of Wabash County, a son of Robert and Rachel (Wood) Ramsey, both natives of Wabash County. His grandfathers were Dr. James Ramsey, a native of Ohio, and Eli Wood.
Dr. James Ramsey was one of the early settlers of Wabash County and was a veterinary surgeon practicing there many years. Robert Ramsey and wife were married in Wabash Precinct, and he became the owner of three farms in the county, besides two in Lawrence County, though he spent most of his life in the former. He died, however, on one of his Lawrence County farms, November 18, 1894, at the age of sixty two years. He was an extensive stock-raiser and a successful farmer. His widow now resides in St. Francisville, Ill. Eleven children were born to them, as follows: J. Eli, the oldest; Mary, Mrs. Edgar Pixley, of Friendsville Precinct; James M., of Mt. Carmel, dealer in fine stock; William R., an attorney in Chicago; Belle, who died at the age of twenty-five years; Cary W., an attorney living at Goldendale, Washington, Florence E., Mrs. Ezra Vandermark, of Crossville, Ill., whose husband is a furniture dealer and undertaker: Linder, living at home; Essie M., Mrs. Harley Orr, of Bickness, Ind.; and Maud, Mrs. Charles Spencer, of Bridgeport, Ill.
J. Eli Ramsey spent his boyhood on a farm and upon reaching manhood spent his summers at farm work and his winters in teaching school. He received part of his education in the seminary College at Danville, Ind. After teaching some years he attended the Southern Illinois Normal University, at Carbondale, Ill., from which he graduated in 1890, having completed the full classical course. He served one term as President and held other offices in the Southern Illinois Teachers' Association, and has held offices in other educational associations. In 1890 he was elected County Superintendent of Schools. After holding this position he became business manager of the Mt. Carmel Register Company. At the same time he has been actively interested in the real estate business, in connection with the life and fire insurance business, and has met with gratifying success.
Mr. Ramsey was married, July 7, 1887, to Elizabeth Mundy, who was born in Lick Prairie Precinct, daughter of James and Irene (Wood) Munday, and to this marriage children were born as follows: Clarence, who died in the fall of 1907, at the age of nineteen years; Leota M., a teacher in the public schools of Mt. Carmel; Everett E. and Fred W. E., at home. Mrs Ramsey died April 18, 1896, and in February 1899, Mr. Ramsey married (second Maggie C. Copeland born in Mt. Carmel, daughter of James Copeland, one of the old settlers of Mt. Carmel).
Mr. Ramsey has been Deacon several years in the Christian Church and is now an Elder. He is a teacher in the Sunday School and served eight years as Superintendent of same. He is also the chorister. He is a member of the Wabash County School Association and for some time gave instruction in music in various counties in Illinois. He takes an active interest in all kinds of church work and is an active member of the various societies of Mt. Carmel Christian Church.
In political affiliations Mr. Ramsey is a Democrat and is much interested in political affairs. He has been very prominent as a member of the State Teachers' Association, and is a member of the Scientific Society of Mt. Carmel. He belongs to Lodge No. 839, A.F. & A.M. of Mt. Carmel; also to the I.O.O.F.., the K.O.T.M. and the M.W. of A. He and his wife have a large circle of friends and are well known for their generous hospitality.
[From "Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois, Wabash County, 1911]
SIMONDS, William (deceased). - In the death of William Simonds the people of Mt. Carmel, Ill., lost a good man and a representative citizen, one whose long life was full of usefulness. He was born October 25, 1825, a son of Elijah and Kerine (Ulm) Simonds. Elijah Simonds was born in Ohio and came to Wabash County when a young man, settling in a still uncleared part of the county, where he subsequently engaged in farming. He married Katherine Ulm, who was of German descent but was born in Ohio, and they had three children, William being the only one to survive infancy.
William Simonds obtained his knowledge of books in the district schools of Wabash County. From early youth he was a serious cast of mind and united with the Methodist Church, later becoming a local preacher and in that calling visited many parts of the county and became well and favorably known. When his father died he inherited the home farm of eighty acres, a large portion of it yet remaining uncleared. To the clearing up of this land to its improvement and cultivation, Mr. Simonds devoted himself, these cares restricting somehwat his labors in the local ministry, although to the close of his life he was an active and useful member of the church.
On August 12, 1846, Mr. Simonds was married to Mary R. Hill, born February 7, 1827, in New Jersey and was brought to Wabash County by her parents in 1837. She was a daughter of Horace Hill, a native of that State, who formerly followed the son. He married Dorcas Hackett, also a native of New Jersey, and they were the parents of three sons and three daughters who survived, two children being born after the family came to Wabash County. The names are as follows: Sarah, Rhond, Mary R., John Samuel, Morris, Aaron, Ann Eliza and Harriet. Horace Hill located at first on Bald Hill Prairie, entering forty acres from the Government, a part of which he cleared up and improved and continued to live on that place until the close of his life.
To Mr. and Mrs. Simonds eleven children born, all on the old Simonds homestead. They were given the following names: Cyrus, Nathan, Wiliam, Edward, Maria, Eliza, Araham, Alofred, Anna, Ellsworth and James. Of these: Cyrus, Nathan, William, Abraham and James are deceased.
In his political sentiments, the late William Simonds was a Republican and he was ever a loyal supporter of the Government. During the great Civil War he served one year as a soldier in Co. I, Thirty-second Illinois Volunteer Infantry, being discharged on account of disability. He was identified with both the Masons and the Odd Fellows. Mrs. Simonds died April 18, 1910.
[From "The Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois" Wabash County, 1911, Published by Munsell, Publishing Company]
SMITH, John "Tinner" Smith, Jr.John "Tinner" Smith Jr. was a 19th Century farmer and a tinsmith. Born in 1788 in Connecticut, John Smith's parents are a mystery. Most likely his father was named John Smith Sr. John Jr. met a girl named Rebecca Ballard from New York and married her most likely in Hamilton County, Ohio where he was residing between 1808-1813. A history book alleges John Smith, Jr., from Ohio, in 1815, settled on the N. E. quarter of section 31, tp. 2 N of Edwards County, Illinois Territory before statehood. He was familiarly known as "Tinner" Smith, from the trade he exercised.
Tinplate consists of sheet iron coated with tin and then run through rollers. This process was first discovered in the 16th century but in common practice by the 18th century America. The tinsmith, or whitesmith, learned his trade, like many other artisans, by serving an apprenticeship of 4 to 6 years with a master tinsmith. This person is a mystery, but a clue no less. He learned first to make cake stamps (cookie cutters), pill boxes and other simple items. Next, he formed objects such as milk pails, basins, cake and pie pans. Later he tackled more complicated pieces such as chandeliers and crooked-spout coffee pots. Many young tinsmiths took to the road as peddlers or tinkers in an effort to save enough money to open a shop in town.
Land records indicate John and Rebecca Ballard owned land in Wayne County, Indiana in the 1810's and sold it to her family, possibly a brother named James Ballard in Oct of 1820. They had three children together; James Smith born 29 Jun 1816 and George Lyman Smith born 12 Jan 1820 both in Wayne Co, Indiana. Their third son was John Smith III born 06 Oct 1825 in Bald Hill Prairie, Wabash County, Illinois. All of their children raised their own farms and lived and died in Wabash County, Illinois. In 1849, John and Rebecca moved to Allendale, Wabash County and operated a farm with their youngest son John R.
A history book describes John Jr as somewhat "dissipated, and something of a joker; he used to say, that when he went home intoxicated, he would throw his hat in at the door, and if his wife did not kick it, he could safely venture in. One day she told him to go and get some wood ; he took his hat, went out, and at the end of two years appeared with a small armful of wood, which he laid down upon the floor and said, There, Beck's your wood."
His son George died at age 38 in 1858, John Jr died a year later on 27 Aug 1859 in Wabash County, Illinois. His widow lived with their youngest son John until she passed in 1869. They were both in their 70's when they died. According to the Federal Census Mortality Schedule John Jr. died of "old age." John and Rebecca have a new headstone at Oreo Cemetery, Wabash Presbyterian Cemetery provided by their descendants (they had 25 grandchildren).
Sources: 1860 US Mortality Schedule Wabash County, IL, Combined History of Edwards, Lawrence and Wabash Counties, IL by J.L. McDonough & Co., 1883 p. 280, John Smith Affidavit of Decease and Name of Heirs, Probate record indicating estate admistered by James Smith, Oreo Cemetery Records, Wabash County, IL. Wayne Co., Indiana Land Records for John & Rebecka Smith, John R. Smith Obit Mt. Carmel Register 24 Feb 1909 Column 1, page 5.[Submitted by Wabash County Pioneer Descendant Jon Brines]
SMITH, Louisana "Lucy" Hanks
Louisiana "Lucy" Hanks Smith was a Wabash County farmer's wife and first cousin of President Abraham Lincoln. Lucy, as she was known, was born 16 Sep 1833 in Billett, Lawrence County, IL the daughter of Hezekiah Hanks and Elizabeth Hardesty. She was one of six children, two sisters died as infants. Little is known about her childhood. Her father told her he was the brother of Nancy Hanks - uncle to Abraham Lincoln. His Hanks family were originally from Virginia by way of Kentucky and that he was the only one of the family that settled in Lawrence County, Il. Later when Lucy's brother Joseph was serving in the military he called on the president during the Civil War and they "established their relationship," an newspaper report read in part.
By age 15 Lucy was orphaned living with a guardian split up from her three brothers. It is unknown how the young parents died. On 28 Mar 1849, she and her brother William Hanks were living with John Mieure, an appointed guardian. By 1850, William was living with John Maxwell and later Daniel Grass and Lucy with Grass's neighbor Adeline Sheperd. Grass allegedly later married the widow Shepard who had 3 children of her own, according to descendant Jeanie Hynes-Santillo. Lucy grew to young womanhood in Lawrence County, living for a while in Lawrenceville. In late fall of 1850 Lucy left Lawrence County forever to a new residence in Wabash County. Church records show she became a member of the Barney's Prairie Church Dec 21, 1850. Less than two years later, on 4 March 1852 at age 19, she married John Smith, the son of a local Tinsmith.
The Smith family had a modest family farm raising Indian Corn and Wheat on about 55 acres of rented land; producing 600 bushels of corn and 900 bushels of wheat in 1880. It was valued at $1,200 and $250 worth of livestock. They didn't do it alone employing farm laborer according to a federal report.
Together they had 6 children; Rebecca 22 Jan 1853, George W. 1 Dec 1854, Joseph Samuel 10 Apr 1859, Mary A. 29 Aug 1863, Infant 4 Feb 1865 (died same day) and Newton Howard 26 May 1867. John Smith died after a severe cold he had for a month and passed 19 Feb 1909 and is buried in Oreo Cemetery, Wabash Presbyterian Cemetery. Wabash County, IL. Recently a new headstone was erected with her and her husband's names. She was said to take part in sewing and quilting "alert and active both mentally and physically" at age 92 and was said to read without glasses. She was described as "retaining in memory events of her girlhood to an unusual degree and delighted in talking of those days." She spent the waning years of her life studying anything she could find on the martyred President. She was living with her son Newton Howard, who took over the family farm, when she died 23 Apr 1928 in Allendale, IL. She was buried next to her husband on 28 Apr 1928.
Sources: "Cousin of martyred president lives in Wabash" Mt. Carmel Daily Register 02-12-1925, US Census Records, Lawrence County Estate Records - Box 455, Death Certificate - John Smith 1909, Barney's Prairie Church Records, Wabash County, IL transcribed by Louis Jackman and John King, 1880 Selected U.S. Federal Census Non-Population Schedules for Friendsville, Wabash County, IL.
[Submitted by Jon Brines]
STEIN, George B. - George B. Stein was born in Mt. Carmel, Ill., August 17, 1872, the son of Jacob and Julia (Groff) Stein, prominent pioneers of the county. Mr. and Mrs. Stein were married in 1851 and, on February 23, 1901, celebrated their Golden Wedding. Mr. Stein was educated in the public schools of Mt. Carmel. His youth was spent on his father's farm. For fifteen years he was engaged in a general merchandising business, but for the last six years has been writing insurance, in all its branches, and has built up an extensive and prosperous business. He is thoroughly familiar with all classes of insurance, and his diligence and reliability is an assurance to his patrons that their interests are perfectly safe in his hands. He is now Public Administrator of Wabash County, by appointment of Go. Deneen, and makes a capable and trustworthy official.
Mr. Stein prepared and published, in conjunction with Mr. E. F. Eichorn, the first City Directory of Mt. Carmel and "Gazetteer of Wabash County," a publication of excellent merit. He is a very prominent and influential member of several fraternal orders, being Esteemed Leading Knight of the Elks Lodge, Master of Exchequer of the Knights of Pythias and a social member of the Modern Woodmen of America, as associated with the local Lodges of Mt. Carmel.
Mr. George B. Stein and family are influential members of the Lutheran Church. In politics he has always been a zealous, active and prominent Republican, always looking for an opportunity to do some honorable and valuable service with his party. He is a man of unremitting energy, always alert and striving with persistant industry to accomplish whatever he sets his hands to do, and consequently becomes a leader in nearly every political, social or public matter in which he takes a part. He is obliging, liberal, frank and generous, and quick to see and avail himself of the first opportunity to render assistance in cases of individual or public necessity. He is athletic and fearless, a fine angler and successful hunter, provides bounteously for his family and hospitably entertains his friends.
On December 26, 1894, Mr. Stein was united in marriage to Miss Ella Harris of Olney, Ill., who was born and raised in that city. Mrs. Stein, on the maternal side, is a direct descendant of Lord William Berkely, Colonial Governor of Virginia. Her father's family settled in Virginia in the seventeenth century. Both families were owners of large estates in Albermarle and Culpepper Counties. The Harrises left Virginia because of their opposition to slavery, going first to Ohio and, in 1840 removed to Illinois.
Mr. and Mrs. Stein have four children: Maurice Harris, born January 9, 1896; Dorothy born February 11, 1899; and Frank Berkely and Bernard Jacob, born January 23, 1908. [Transcribed from "The Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois Wabash County." Submitted by Dawn Daddario]
STILLWELL, JOHNJohn Stillwell and his wife settled in Barren County, Ky., and later moved to Illinois, settling at Timberville, Wabash County, about 1816. Robert Bell and his wife located in Barney Prairie, Wabash County, about 1818. He served seven years in the Revolution as a member of the Light Artillery under Gen. Lafayette, in Pennsylvania and Kentucky. He settled in Friendsville Precinct and was buried there.
NOTES RE JOHN STILLWELL:
A direct descendant of John Stillwell, Mr. Jonathan Brines, sent this information not only to make a correction, but to give us more information about this early Wabash County Settler and his family. We thank him very much for his detailed contribution and the quite interesting history of Mr. Stillwell.John Stillwell born about 1764 in Shrewsbury, Monmount County, New Jersey was one of the earliest settlers in Edwards County, IL, what is now Wabash County, Illinois. John was christened at Christ Church, Shrewsbury, Monmouth, New Jersey July 7, 1765. His father James was a soldier of the American Revolution, a royalist fighting for the English crown. His father tried to insulate John, his eldest son, from the rebellion by sending him off to be an apprentice of a mason/bricklayer. It was said his apprenticeship wasn't over until the war ended and that his father did not want him to join the rebels. In 1780, when he was 16-years-old, John fled the fighting with his mother and three siblings.They left their home in Brunswich, New Jersey and put all of their possession on a boat to Jamaica. Jamaica saw its population of whites double during the American Revolution as royalists wanted to flee the fighting but couldn't stomach Spanish rule in neighboring Florida.The Stillwell family of four took the American ship Watt under the command of
Captain Coulthard sailing to Jamaica. Unfortunately rough seas forced the ship to sink
near Long Island, New York killing 26 men and a total loss for the ship. The Stillwells escaped with their lives but little else.They were described as 'castaways by William Franklin, the Governor of New Jersey. He felt sorry for Mrs. Stillwell and her family in a June 6 letter asking officials at the British Headquarters to give them rations.
After the war in 1786, John traveled to Halifax, Nova Scotia to file a claim with a british commission formed to help relatives of those who helped the British Government during the war. In testimony, John said his father's farm in Middleton, Monmouth County, NJ of nearly 300 acres and all of his livestock were seized by the American Government. John is believed to have married his wife Hannah Stevens in New Jersey where he grew up.
In 1791, John Stillwell is said to have removed from Monmouth County, NJ, to Kentucky. Little is known about his time there. His son Samuel reported on later census that he was born in Kentucky. And it is believed that all his children first five children were born in Kentucky or New Jersey.
In 1804, he moved to Wabash County. The County History says he arrived with two sons Samuel and James, but also had three daughters; Martha Patsy and Hannah, and a slave, whom he freed within a short time after coming from the South to Illinois. He settled in the Southwest section 12 in Wabash Township and cleared and improved 100 acres of land which was quite a feet at the time.
The general migration pattern at that time, was to settle first along the rivers where water could be used for transportation, since the only roads were animal traces or indian trails. The pioneers generally believed that the prairie soil was not productive for farming since it was not rich enough to grow trees. Farmers and settlers would settle in the wooded areas, which occurred along the rivers and waterways. Occasionally at this time there were problems from Indians, and many of the settlers built fort or stockade for their protection. John Stillwell also constructed a stockade. When he first came to the county he was very active in the affairs around Old Palmyra. In 1816, County records show an order appointing John Stillwell to be Supervisor of the Poor for Palmyra.He was said to be a great prankster, and seemed to take special delight in discomforting the English settlers around Albion, Illinois. It is said that he was a very eccentric man. Although one of the wealthiest citizens among the early settlers, he took pleasure in wearing the poorest of clothes that were ragged with wear and tear. One person who knew him by reputation said John Stillwell once lost his hat, and from that time on went bareheaded. He only said, ' his hat should have lasted.'About 1820 he moved near Bellmont, IL and settled on the Southeast Section 21His will was prepared 28 Jan 1835, so presumably he died around that date.
John Stillwell was buried on the old Stillwell farm, also known as the Peter Steckler farm, later owned by F.W. Wilcox - located near Friends Grove School house. The Marker at his grave was removed by some of the Stillwells, and since been lost. The approximate location of the grave, as remembered by Joseph Steckler, was at the time under an apple tree on a small elevation near a woods. Today the apple tree is gone and between 200-250 feet of the grove has been cut away.
History and Families, Wabash County, IL 1824-1993 Volume 1, Riverbend Publishing Company
American Migrations 1765-1799, by Peter Wilson Coldham
The David Library of the American Revolution/British Headquarters AO12 and AO13 Loyalist
Shipwrecks of the Western Hemisphere 1492-1825 by Robert F. Marx 1971 p.155.
Combined Histories of Edwards, Lawrence, and Wabash County, Illinois. It was published in 1883 by J. L. McDonough & Co., Philadelphia and Edwardsville, IL.
US Census Records, Ancestry.com
Reference (c) above; Doctor John E. Stillwell wrote:
“John Stillwell was evidently a Loyalist and for a short time resided in
Canada: Claims presented to American Loyalist Commission. Claim of John Stillwell, eldest son and heir of James Stillwell, late of Monmouth Co., N.J. Is now past 22 years of age. Father died in Staten Island before the Battle of Monmouth. His mother is now alive, July 18, 1786. Claimant was apprenticed by his father to George Justice, a mason of West Jersey. Has two brothers and sisters. Father was a mason. The American Loyalist's Audit Office MS in 16 vols., the Lenox Library. Printed in 2 Vols., called Report of the
Bureau of Archives, of Ontario.”
STOLTZ, Mary [Stoltz, Seibert, Deisher]
The Two Mary’s
Mary Elizabeth “Eliza” Stolts was born in Wabash County on 6 Jul 1845 to Adam Johann Stoltz (1811 – 1901) and Margaret Leipold (1825 – 1845). After her mother Margaret died, Adam married Margaret’s sister Elizabeth Leipold (1830 – 1907). Mary Elizabeth had a younger sister, an infant girl who was born and died in 1844. Mary Elizabeth had three step-brothers and one step-sister named Henry H 1848 – 1889, John Adam 1849 – 1850, Lewis Franklin 1852 – 1893 and Anna Margaret 1855 – 1943.
On the 14 of Jan 1864 Mary Elizabeth married John Deisher (1830 – 1885) in Wabash County. Mary Elizabeth lived all her life in Wabash County and died 18 May 1915 and is buried at Jordan Creek Cemetery along with her husband John. Mary Elizabeth and John Deisher had eight children, namely: Adam 1865 – 1949, Elizabeth 1867 - ?, John 1869 – 1895, George Wesley 1871 – 1873, Daniel 1873 – 1940, James H 1875 – 1961, Charles F 1877 – 1950 and Nora Catharine 1881 – 1933.
Mary Elizabeth married Frank Walter after John died. That marriage was 3 Aug 1892 in Wabash County.
In the 1860 census, John Deisher was living with the Stoltz family and listed as a carpenter.
In researching Mary Elizabeth “Eliza” Stoltz I have found several people have confused her with Mary E Seibert 1849 – 1888. This has been seen on cemetery listings on the internet. Her marriage to John Deisher is listed on the Illinois Marriage Index and also noted in the book by: Eurus Vernon Stoltz, 29 August 1909 - 1 May 1981, Author of The Stoltz Genealogy, 1634 – 1980, Ancestry and Descendants of Johann Adam Stoltz. The book is held at the library in Mt Carmel and much of it has been scanned and put on the internet. Adam Stoltz’s obituary also refers to his daughter as Mary E Deisher.
Mary E Seibert, 8 Aug 1849 was born in Lancaster, Wabash Co, IL and was the daughter of Jacob Seibert 1811 – 1862 and Catherine Fritz 1811 – 1880. Mary E Seibert married her cousin Solomon Henry Seibert 1851 - ?. Mary and Solomon had five children, namely: Webster Lee 1869 – 1930, Julia A 873 - ?, James S 1875 - ?, Ode Marcellus 1878 – 1964 and Grace A 1880 – 1927. Mary E Seibert died 12 Dec 1888 in Wabash County.
Mary E Seibert’s marriage to Solomon Henry Seibert can be found on the State of Illinois Marriage Index. It was 5 May 1872.
Submitted by Francie Keifer
UTTER, JOHN CHARLES, M.D., who is conducting a large medical practice at Mt. Carmel, Ill., was born there December 14, 1859, a son of Abraham and Elizabeth (Penston) Utter. The father was born in Allegany County, N. Y., March 11, 1812, and died on his farm near Mt. Carmel, September 15, 1872. His wife, who was born in Atlantic County, N. J., May 22, 1820, died at Mt. Carmel. She was the daughter of John and Sarah (Lake) Penston, natives of New Jersey, who came to Wabash County, Ill., in 1823, and settled in Mt. Carmel, soon thereafter, however, moving to Bald Eagle Prairie. The paternal grandfather of Dr. Utter was Major Henry Utter, who was born in Allegany County, N.Y., where he married his first wife, who died leaving four children. He subsequently married Rachel Hendricks, whose father was a Revolutionary soldier. Henry Utter was a soldier of the War of 1812 and rose to the rank of Major, by which title he was afterwards known. In 1817 he came to the Territory of Illinois and settled in the old town of Palmyra, the first county-seat of Edwards County, of which Wabash County was a part. The next spring he went to Bald Eagle Prairie and remained there until his death. He was a millwright by trade, and one of the well known and highly esteemed men of his community.
Abraham Utter, father of Dr. Utter, remained with his parents until twenty-one years of age, and then went to Schuyler County, Ill., where his brother was living and, for a few years, peddled fanning mills. Later he returned to the Wabash County home. In 1836 purchased the interest of the others in the estate, and soon afterwards purchased a place near Centerville, which he improved and on which he lived for fifteen years. He then purchased the place near Mt. Carmel, and there the remainder of his life was spent. He was a man of energy and industry, possessed of good business judgment and foresight, and accumulated a large amount of property. He was of a quiet disposition and reserved manner, but quick to take advantage of a good business proposition. He was domestic in his habits and tastes, and a faithful member of the Christian Church. Nine children were born to Mr. Utter and his wife, namely; Mary Gordon, born May 18, 1840; Josiah, who died in his second year; Henry, born June 7, 1845; Edwin, born November 21, 1850, died in 1856; Lewis, who died in early childhood; Robert Carroll, died in infancy; John Charles; Elizabeth Beamon, born September 15, 1862, and lives in Mt. Carmel.
John Charles Utter was educated in a private school in Kentucky, afterwards taking a three years' course in Eureka College at Eureka, Ill., from which he was graduated, and then spent three years at Miami Medical College, Cincinnati, Ohio. He began the practice of his profession at Pueblo, Colo., where he remained until 1893, and then returning to his native county, took up his practice at Mt. Carmel. At Waco, Texas, on September 25, 1884, he married Frances H. Scarborough, a native of Mississippi and daughter of Daniel Scarborough, an early planter of the latter State. Mr. and Mrs. Utter have two daughters living: Camille, born July 15, 1886, married George D. Karsch, a civil engineer, living at Mt. Carmel; and Marie, born June 9, 1890, married Hugh F. Harbin, a farmer residing in Wabash County, and they have one child, Mary Frances, born September 2, 1909.
Mr. Utter has been very successful in his practice, owns a fine farm and valuable city property, and is also interested in coal deposits in this district. His skillful treatment of many complicated cases has won for him the confidence of the people of his community, and his practice has been correspondingly large. He is a member of the Wabash County and State Medical Societies. Religiously he belong to the Episcopal Church. [Transcribed from the 'Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois - Wabash County' - submitted by Dawn Daddario].
WOOD, ABNER - The Wood family came to Wabash County at an early day, and Alexander Wood, the grandfather of Abner, was one of the pioneers of Friendsville Precinct. His maternal grandfather, Ira Keen, was also an early settler in Friendsville Precinct and a soldier in the Black Hawk War. Abner Wood was born in Friendsville Precinct, October 16, 1850, a son of Ira and Rufina (Keen) Wood, both natives of that precinct. Alexander Wood was a native of Kentucky and Ira Keen from Hamilton County, Ohio. Ira Wood was married in Friendsville Precinct, where he was reared, and settled on a farm of 200 acres. He died in 1873 and his widow continued to live on the home farm several years, and then spent the remainder of her life with her children. She died in Mt. Carmel, March 26, 1908. They had four sons and five daughters, of whom those surviving are: Abner; Emily, Mrs. George Goodhart, of Mt. Carmel; Clinton, of Mt. Carmel; and Eleanor and William, of Friendsville Precinct.
The early days of of Abner Wood were spent on a farm and he attended the district schools. He resided with his parents and after the death of his father, remained in charge of the home farm until his own marriage, June 11, 1876, to Sarah Smith, who was born in Wabash County, a daughter of George and Mary (Banks) Smith, both natives of Wabash Precinct. George Smith is a son of John and Rebecca (Ballard) Smith, who was born in Wabash County, a daughter of George and Mary (Banks) Smith, he of Vermont, and she of New York, daughter of a Methodist circuit-rider. Mr. Smith was married in New Hampshire and was a turner by trade. He came down the Wabash River on a flat-boat - while the Indians were still living in Wabash County, and secured timber land from the Government, which he improved and developed into a good farm. The paternal grandparents of Mrs. Wood, Alexander and Nellie (Rawlins) Banks, were early settlers in Illinois, the latter a native of Lawrence County, Ill., and the former of England.
After his marriage Abner Wood lived on his farm and made a speciality of raising stock. About seven years later he moved from this farm of ninety acres, locating in Mt. Carmel in the fall of 1902. He still looks after his farm, but devotes the most of his time to buying and selling hogs, cattle and sheep, a business which he has found very profitable. He has established a reputation for fairness and honest dealing in business and is highly esteemed for his many good qualities. The following children were born to him and his wife: Ira, of Mt. Carmel, a school teacher; George, a physician and surgeon of Indianapolis, Ind.; Della, Mrs. Emery Davidson, of Mt. Carmel Precinct, and Dora, Allie and France, at home. Mrs. Wood was educated in the common and high school and is a refined, cultured woman, who is interested in many good causes in the community. Mr. and Mrs. Wood are members of the Christian Church. He is a Democrat in politics and a member of the Modern American Society.
[Extracted from 'Illinois Historical, Wabash County, 1911'] Submitted by Dawn Daddario]
Wood, John F576
John Wood, son of Joseph and Catharine Julian Wood, was born 27 Nov 1754 in Frederick County, Maryland. He was a soldier in the American Revolution from Frederick County. He served first for about two months under Wagonmaster, John Peirce. On 1 Jan 1777 he was appointed Sergeant in Captain Philip Smith's Company, Colonel James Johnson's Battalion of the Maryland Militia. On 17 Apr 1781 he was commissioned Ensign in Captain Jacob Collins' Company of the same battalion.
John Wood was married twice. His first marriage was on 5 Dec 1781 in Frederick County, Maryland to Martha Ogle (1761-1820), daughter of Colonel Alexander Ogle of Frederick County. It is said, but not proven at this point, that Alexander Ogle was of royal descent through King John I and King Henry III of England. Alexander Ogle died in 1783 and devised to his daughter, Martha Wood, 200 acres of land in Berkeley County, (West) Virginia. John Wood and his family moved to this farm where they lived for ten years. They sold out and returned to Frederick County, Maryland for a short time. They then moved to Kentucky and in 1798 settled in Warren County, Kentucky where they lived until 1808, at which time they again sold out and moved to what is now Wabash County, Illinois. He constructed a fort, called Wood's Fort. After the death of his wife, Martha Ogle Wood, John Wood married Rachel Bratton on 27 Jan 1824. Rachel was the widow of James Bratton and a daughter of Enoch Greathouse. She was granted a widow's pension on 21 Apr 1853. John Wood died 14 Nov 1832 and was buried near his first wife, Martha Ogle Wood, in the old Wood Cemetery not far from Friendsville, Wabash County, Illinois. His grave marker reads "John Wood, Ensign, Maryland Militia."
The children of John and Martha Ogle Wood are: Susanna (born 6 Jan 1783, married Joshua Buchanan), Elizabeth (born 23 Aug 1783, married William Bright), Joseph (born 5 Aug 1786, married Leah Greathouse), Mary (born 15 Jul 1788, married William Barney), Alexander (born 14 Aug 1790), married Priscilla Greathouse, Jeremiah (born 28 Aug 1792, married 12 Jan 1815 Jane Philpott or Phelpatt), Rebecca (born 27 Dec 1794, married John A Greathouse), Eli (born 8 Dec 1797, married Mary E. Courter), Martha (born 6 Nov 1800, married Lewis Armstrong, son of John and Elizabeth Martin Armstrong), and John (born 20 Dec 1803, married Katherine Bratton).
See the Joshua Buchanan story for information on the family of Joshua and Susanna Wood Buchanan.
By Mary H. Buchanan
[Source title info pending - submitted by Dawn Daddario]
Jeremiah Wood was an Illinois Pioneer, Black Hawk War Veteran and a Mill operator. Jeremiah was the son of John and Martha (ogle) Wood, born in Berkeley Co., Virginia (today West Virginia), 28 Aug 1792. After residences in Kentucky he came with his father's family to Illinois and settled in Edwards County (now Wabash) where he married 12 Jan 1815 Jane Phelpatt (Philpot). William B. Smith officiated at the wedding.
Illinois was a dangerous place in the territorial days. Even though Indian attacks on settlers were a threat Wood was daring. In Palmyra, Edwards Co., IL Jeremiah was said to be skilled at throwing a tomahawk. Indians were interested in an area used as racetrack west of town, according to a local history book. They were known to make sport of horse racing and tomahawk throwing. Jeremiah and his friend John Barney were equally matched and could hit the mark with a hatchet at 20 to 30 feet. At this time, occasionally, a buffalo might be seen passing through the settlement. Bears and wolves were a source of much annoyance to farmers. Not infrequently the sound of a pig would break the stillness of the midnight hour. On one occasion the sentries, Jeremiah Wood and William Barney, deserted their posts, and took the dogs that had been put out to watch, and went coon-hunting. On another occasion in Barney's Prairie, it is said in the local history book, a wolf quietly snuck up behind "Jere" Wood, and jumped at him, caught him by the coat, near the shoulders, tearing it and nearly pulling him down. He turned suddenly and struck the animal with his gun, which was so injured by the act that it missed fired.
Historically, Jeremiah built the first water mill in Edwards (now Wabash) County about 1817 or 1818. It stood on Crawfish Creek about three-fourths of a mile above the wagon road leading from Friendsville to Patton. The grist mill would use water to push 19th century machinery to grind grain into flour. He was a land owner as a deed from Jeremiah Wood to John Shadle 12 Feb 1831 shows a sale of 95 acres. He served in the Black Hawk War, enrolling as a Private in Wabash County, 19 June 1832 in Capt. John Arnold's Company 2nd Regiment 2nd Brigade. He served with and most likely accompanied Abraham Lincoln's unit to bury the dead after the Second Battle of Kellogg's Grove 26 June 1832. Most likely Jeremiah was not in combat.
his son Obed and brother-in-law Robert Leek were listed as administrators of the estate of Jeremiah Wood. A quit claim deed from Asahel Brines and Susan Brines to Obed Wood dated 12/11/1847. He died, it is said, in 1854 (family record) and an old copy of the Mt. Carmel Register states that his will was probated 10 Feb 1847. He was buried in Wood Cemetery, Wabash County, IL. His grave has a U.S. marker for his war service.
Sources: Lineages of Wabash County by D.C. Williams p. 350, History and Families of Wabash County, IL 1824-1993 by Tom W. Iddings p. 57-58, History of Edwards, Lawrence and Wabash Counties p. 281, Mt. Carmel Register 2-11-1847, page 811 of Illinois history book copyright 1911, The Sauks and the Black Hawk war by Perry A. Armstrong, Wabash County burial records
Submitted by Jon Brines, descendant of Jeremiah Woods and Jane Philpot.
WOOD, Nelson - The Wood family is one of the oldest in Wabash County, Ill., having been represented there since 1809. Nelson Wood, of Lick Prairie Precinct,, is a native of the county, born in Friendsville Precinct, February 27, 1834, a son of John and Catherine (Bratton) Wood, natives of Kentucky and Tennessee, respectively. The father of John, also named John Wood, was born in England and came to the United States in 1770, becoming an officer in the Revolutionary War. He married a Miss Ogle in Maryland and afterward lived for a time in Virginia, moved from there to Kentucky, and in 1809 entered land in the southern part of Friendsville Precinct, Wabash County, mostly prairie. He erected a fort in which the family lived for protection from the Indians. He developed a fine farm and died on it about 1838. His son John married Catherine Bratton, whose father died in Tennessee, after which the widow brought her family of three daughters and two sons to Wabash County. The mother married John Wood, Sr., and her daughter married John Wood, Jr., the former spending her last days in Edwards County, Ill., where she died about 1875.
John and Elizabeth (Bratton) Wood were married in Wabash County and settled down on the part of the land his father owned, where both died, he on January 20, 1891, and she in the fall in 1978. Their children were, Livona, who was Mrs. Sidney Miller and later Mrs. Bradshaw, died in Mt. Carmel; Victor of Mt. Carmel Precinct; Nelson; Clark and a daughter (twins), the former who died in infancy, and the latter in Wabash County in August, 1908; Judy, Mrs. James Campbell of Mt. Carmel Precinct; John R., killed in Mt. Carmel, in 1906; Catherine, Mrs. John Leek, of Wabash Precinct; Niles, died in the Civil War; William, died in Mt. Carmel Precinct; and Stephen, of Mt. Carmel.
Nelson Wood attended the Shadle District School and received the same education as was given to most farmers' sons in the vicinity at that time. He remained at home until his marriage, April 11, 1858, to Sarah Ann Ulm, who was born in Clay County, Ill., daughter of William Ulm. In September, 1861, Mr. Wood enlisted in Company I, Thirty-second Illinois Volunteer Infantry, being mustered in at Springfield, Ill., and assigned to the Western Army, under General Grant. He participated in the Battle of Shiloh, April 6 and 7, 1862, was afterward taken ill and as a consequence was discharged for disability, November 22, 1862. He made a good record as a soldier and acquitted himself creditably in the line of his duty to his country. Returning home after the war he resumed farming, and after his marriage, located on a farm of 160 acres in Lick Prairie Precinct, upon which were fifteen acres of cleared land with an old log house standing on it, where the family made their home about 10 years. He erected a good frame house about 1868, and in 1883 erected a new frame dwelling with modern conveniences, to which he added in 1893, making a fine home. He has developed a fine farm, all of which he has under cultivation except twenty acres of timber land.
Mr. Wood's wife died on February 15, 1878, and he married (second), December 1, 1878, Mary E. Ulm, a half sister of his first wife, whose mother was Sarah (Campbell) Ulm, of Tennessee. By his first marriage Mr. Wood had nine children, namely, Bertha, born February 6, 1859, died March 18, 1872; Rosella, born September 12, 1860, married Glenn Goddard, and died; Catherine, born December 21, 1864, married Lewis McGregor, is now deceased, Victor, born August 6, 1866, died December 15, 1886; Austin A., born January 3, 1868, resides in Eugene, Ore.; John H., born May 4, 1869, resides in Wabash County; Florence May, born January 7, 1871, married Robert Brines, of Lick Prairie Precinct; Sarah Melissa, born December 31, 1873, died March 17, 1875; Lenora, born January 29, 1876, died June 25, 1883. By his second marriage, Mr. Wood had children, as follows: William M., born November 29, 1879, died December 12, 1879; Elbern A., born December 22, 1883, resides with his parents; Judy L., born February 6, 1885, married Glenn Couch, of Mt. Carmel; Arva V., born May 29, 1887, and died October 5, 1903; Estes I., born May 22, 1894, resides with parents.Mr. Wood is a member of the Christian Church, of which he has been a Deacon for many years. In politics he is a Republican and has served a few terms as School Director. Mr. Wood is identified with the best interests of his community, and is a worthy representative of his family, which has been highly respected in Wabash County for more than a hundred years.[Extracted from the "Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois, Wabash County, " 1911. Submitted by Dawn Daddario].
WOOD, ObedObed Wood was one of the first in his family to be born in Illinois. A farmer by trade Obed died young at age 35. Obed was born about 1822 in Edwards County, IL the son of Jeremiah Wood and Jane Phelpott. Obed (and Robert Leek) were listed as administrators of the estate of Jeremiah Wood.At 23, Obed married Mary Avalon or Abiline, Daily, the daughter of David Daily, on 16 Mar 1845. Obed was a member of Barney's Prairie Church near Friendsville founded by his family's ancestors in 1816. Church records indicate in 1845 the couple soon after their marriage was received in the congregation by confession and immersion. The strict Christian practices were well documented and Obed was a member in good standing until 22 Sept 1855 when it was recorded that he was excommunicate from the church for unknown reason. The church was of the New Light denomination. The church was conducted much like the Apostle Paul practiced it as demonstrated in his Epistles in the New Testament of the Bible considered the Word of God, so the admonitions were to be obeyed. It was important that each believer read his or her Bible every day, soaking up the word of God. Daily prayer was an important part of their faith. The members were expected to attend the weekly Church Services. If too many services were missed, or if there was some kind of sin committed, the Elders in the Church would work with the individual, and help lead them to repentance. Sorrow over the transgression and asking God to forgive them was the custom. Casting lots, or gambling, betting on horses or breaking of one of the 10 commandments were infractions such as stealing, lying, or committing adultery.Obed and his wife had a daughter named Harriett Amanda in 1845. Harriett Amanda Wood kept the faith and married George W. Smith, a postmaster who's family also attended the same church. Obed and Mary are on the 1850 census in Wabash County (Edwards County until 1857). Obed was 28 years old in 1850. According to the 1850 Federal non-population schedule, Obed Wood had 40 acres of farm land and 60 acres unimproved for a value of $200. He raised 14 horses, 2 milking cows and 50 swine for a value of $350. He also kept 80 bushels of wheat, 300 corn and 100 oats. He had 17 lbs of wool, 30 lbs of potatoes and made 50 lbs of butter. Obed Sr. and Mary A. had two children in on the 1860 census, Obed (age 9) and Harriett (age 5). However, Obed Sr. died in 1857, at age 35, according to his stone; consequently, his name was not on the 1860 census. A quit claim deed from Asahel Brines and Susan Brines to Obed Wood dated 12/11/1847. His stone was at the Wood Family farm. It was stolen in 2012 and recovered by the Wood family.Sources: Illinois Historical & Wabash County, Illinois Biographical, edited by Risley, 1911 p. 811, Combined History of Edwards, Lawrence and Wabash Counties, IL by J.L. McDonough & Co., 1883 p. 140, US Census Records, 1850 US Federal non-population schedule, Church Records of the Barney's Prairie Christian Church From 1819 to 1860 filmed by The Genealogical Society of Utah, Salt Lake City, Apr 2, 1942 Film #7694 - Copied in 1926 from the Original Church Records by Mrs. Naomi Phillippe at the request of L.W. Jackman.[Submitted By Obed Wood/Harriet Amanda Wood descendant Jon Brines]
WOOD, Oliver H.
Among the oldest families of Wabash County, Ill, are the Wood and Keen families who have been represented there for several generations. Oliver H. Wood was born in Friendsville Precinct, November 6, 1845, a son of Joseph and Charlotte (Keen) Wood, and a worthy representative of his race. Joseph Wood was a son of Joseph and Leah (Greathouse) Wood, the former a native of Virginia and the latter of Kentucky, and his wife was a daughter of Ira and Eleanor (Jordan) Keen, the former born in Cincinnati, Ohio, and the later of Kentucky. Joseph Wood came down the Ohio River and up the Wabash to Palmyra, formerly the county seat of Edwards County, then drove to Friendsville Precinct, where he secured government land, there married and spent the remainder of his life. Ira and Eleanor Keen were very early settlers of Wabash County, he being brought there by his parents when a lad, and the family took up government land in Wabash Precinct. Ira Keen married and settled in Friendsville Precinct, where he died at the age of ninety-two years.
Joseph and Charlotte Wood were married in Wabash County and settled on land they bought and entered, adding to it until they owned 500 acres. He died April 27, 1859, at the age of thirty-nine years and she died April 18, 1884, at the age of sixty years. Their children were: Exima, married W. R. Couch, and died in Friendsville Precinct; Oliver H., Mary, Mrs. S.A. Williams, of Springfield, ILL; Horace, died at the age of thirty-five years; Joseph O., of Friendsville Precinct; Linder, died at the age of twenty-seven.
Oliver H. Wood lived with his mother after his father's death and took charge of the farm, remaining at home until his marriage, December 21, 1871, to Mary E. Milburn, born in Friendsville Precinct, daughter of Harrison and Emily (Shoaff) Milburn, the former a native of Patoka, Ind., and the latter of Pennsylvania. After his marriage, Mr. Wood and his wife moved to the farm in Friendsville Precinct. This land had been previously improved and tiled and buildings erected on it by him. He has since added thereto until he has 135 acres, and here carried on farming, raising Jersey cattle and registered Poland-China hogs. He and his wife have two children, Clifton J. who is in partnership with his father in carrying on the farm, and Nora E., Mrs. George Schrader, of Friendsville Precinct. Mr. Wood and his son have made a specialty of breeding Barred Plymouth Rock chicks and White Holland turkeys. Mr. Wood is much interested in this industry and formerly served as President of the Wabash County Poultry and Pet Stock Association. As a boy he attended the district school and the Presbyterian parochial school at Friendsville. He is now a member of the Christian Church and has been an Elder in the since 1890. Politically he is a Republican and served three years as County Commissioners, from December 5, 1887. He takes great interest in anything that pertains to farming and has always liked this class of work, in which his whole life has been passed. He is an able and industrious farmer and has reaped results accordingly. He is now President of the Wabash County Fair Association, and his administration of its affairs has been most satisfactory to all concerned.
[Extracted from 'Illinois Historical, Wabash County- 1911 - submitted by Dawn Daddario].
WOOD, Victor. - One of the enterprising and successful farmers of Wabash County, Ill, who has brought his farm from an unimproved state to its present productiveness, is a native of the county, born in Friendsville Precinct, December 4, 1828, a son of John and Catherine (Bratton) Wood. John Wood was born in Kentucky and his wife in Tennessee, he is a son of John and Patsy (Ogle) Wood, natives of England and Bohemia, respectively, she a daughter of David and Rachel (Greathouse) Bratton, of Tennessee. David Bratton was a soldier in the war of 1812, and on his way home at the close of the war was taken sick and died from yellow fever at Memphis, Tenn. His widow was on her way to Wabash County, Ill., when she heard of her husband's death and came on with the family to her destination. John Wood, Sr. was one of the earliest settlers of Wabash County, going to the county in the spring of 1809, and entering 160 acres in Friendsville Precinct, there built a home for his family. In the fall of the same year he was returned for his family. Half of his land was prairie and the remainder timber, and there he and his wife spent the remainder of their lives.
The marriage of John Wood, Jr., took place in Wabash County and they settled on a farm in Friendsville Precinct, which he operated until his sons were able to take care of it; then took up the trade of gunsmith, which he followed until his great misfortune of becoming blind, about three years before his death. He was born in 1803 and died about 1885. He and his wife had thirteen children who lived to maturity, and following four still survive: Victor; Nelson, of Lick Prairie Precinct; Catherine, Mrs. John Leek, of Allendale, Ill.; Stephen T., of Mt. Carmel.
Victor Wood is the oldest child of his parents still living and resided with his parents until his marriage, December 7, 1851 to Eliza Armstrong, born in Lick Prairie Precinct, Wabash County, daughter of Ephraim Armstrong, of Kentucky. After his marriage Mr. Wood moved to an eighty-acre farm in Section 6, Mt. Carmel Precinct, all timber land, given to him by his Father. He has made all the improvements on this place and has cleared much of it. He has also added to his farm until he now owns 140 acres. The following children were born to Mr. Wood and his wife; Fannie, Mrs. George McGregor, now deceased; Seth; Joshua, who died at the age of seven years. Mrs. Wood died November 26, and Mr. Wood (second) May 24, 1857, Harriet Ulm, born in Mount Carmel Precinct, daughter of William Ulm, and she died October 4, 1864, having bourne the following children: Sarah C., Mrs. Samuel Moyier, of Friendsville, Ill.; Alice, Mrs Louis Glick, now deceased; William, who died at the age of four years; Joseph L. of Friendsville Precincts. Mr. Wood married third May 25, 1866, Susan W. Carter, born in Posey County, Ind., daughter of Benjamin and Rachel (Williams) Carter. Two children were born of this union; John H. of Mt. Carmel Precinct; and Victor B. of Friendsville Precinct. Mr. Wood's third wife, died October 19, 1876, and he married (fourth) Rachel Montgomery, widow of Thomas Montgomery, who had one son, Burgess, of Gibson County, Ind. Two children born of this union; Cora, Mrs. Franklin Dantworth, of Granite City, Ill., and her twin-sister, Dora. Mrs. Wood died April 28, 1880. Mr. Wood married (fifth) October 28, 1880, Margaret (Frost) Campbell born in Allen County, Ky., a daughter of William and Margaret (Nix) Frost. The father a native of Kentucky and the mother of Tennessee. Mrs. Campbell was the widow of William D. Campbell, who was born in Tennessee and died in Edwards County, Ill., in 1876. She and Mr. Wood had one daughter, Jessie May, Mrs. Clinton Hinderliter, of Waterloo, Iowa. The following children were born to William D. Campbell and wife; Mary D. died in infancy, Indiana, died at the age of eight years; James of Friendsville Precinct; John and Almira (Mrs. Joseph Shillings), both of Mt. Carmel.
Mr. Wood is an enterprising and progressive farmer, and is always ready to adopt modern methods of carrying on his work. He is a member of the Christian Church and his wife of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Politically he is a staunch Republican and is much interested in the welfare of his community and highly esteemed. [submitted by Dawn Daddario from the 'Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois - Wabash County, 1911, Editors: Newton Bateman, L.L.D. and Paul Selby, A.M. Wabash County Biographical Editor: Theodore G. Risely. Published Chicago, Munsell Publishing Company 1911.']
Back to the Index Page
©2008 Genealogy Trails