OF Portland Township
Daniel Blaisdell was born in Vermont in 1778, and came to Portland in 1836, settling on the place now owned by his son Mason. He was one of the first County Commissions, elected in 1839, and was a man of excellent judgment, and very highly respected. He died in 1855. He had two children, Mason, who married Miss Alzina Rowe, and lives in Portland, and Caroline wife of Daniel F. Cole, who also lives in Portland. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 352]
Mason W. Blaisdell, farmer, residing on section 16, Portland Township, and the owner of 210 acres in the township, is a son of Daniel and Clarissa (Gardner), Blaisdell, and was born in Cortland Co., N. Y., July 27, 1820. His father was a millwright, in connection with farming and lumbering, in the State of Vermont, and his mother was a native of the same State. The issue of their union was three children, two of whom are living. Mary is deceased. Caroline is the wife of Daniel F. Cole, a farmer residing in Portland Township, this county.
Mr. Blaisdell is the youngest of his father's family. He and his father came by river to Rock Island, and walked to Portland Township, this county, arriving at the residence of Horace Burk June 15, 1836. His father made a claim of 160 acres on section 21, of Portland Township. Coming at that date in company with his father, Mr. B., as well as the latter, may be considered one of the pioneer settlers of this county. His father made improvements on his claim, and in the fall of 1837 the remainder of the family followed. In the tornado which occurred in 1844, his father was considerably bruised, and never fully recovered. He died on his farm, Dec. 23, 1855, where the mother also died, April 15, 1870. He was a man of energetic disposition, with a determination to establish a home for himself and family, and faithfully labored for the fulfillment of his desire. He held numerous offices in the township.
Mr. Blaisdell purchased 40 acres of prairie land and 33 of timber land in 1843, and subsequently added to his landed interests until at one time he had about 500 acres. He has given 80 acres to his son, Herbert P., 120 acres to his daughter, Anulet, and 80 acres to Almeda, and now has 210 acres, located on sections 21, 16, 25 and 27. He has a fine residence, good orchard, barns, fine running spring, etc. He also runs a threshing-machine in seasons, and has sawed wood for a number of years. Mr. Blaisdell was united in marriage in Portland Township, Dec. 5, 1844, to Miss Alzina Rowe. She was a daughter of James and Mary A. Rowe, and was born in Steuben Co., N. Y. The issue of their union was three children, all born in Portland Township, this county. Their record is as follows Anulet was born April 14, 1847, and is the wife of Ralph Smedley, a farmer of Portland Township; Almeda was born July 31, 1855, and is the wife of William C. Bryant, a farmer and dealer in stock at Erie; Herbert P., born Sept. 13, 1852, is now a resident of La Vergne, Minn. [Portrait and Biographical Pg 190]
OF Fulton Township
Lyman Blake is a native of Chichester, Merrimac County NH, and came first to Whiteside County in the summer of 1839, and bought a claim in the Precinct of Fulton, now known as Blake's Addition to the city of Fulton. After purchasing the claim he went back to NH and remained two years and then went to Boston, staying there over a year; thence to Buffalo NY and from there to Cincinnati OH where he lived 12 years. In 1854 he returned to Fulton where he has remained ever since. In 1855 he sold a large part of his land to the Railroad Company and in 1856 his addition was laid out into lots. The Addition originally covered 75 acres of land, and was the fractional 80 of section 28 township 22. Mr. Blake was Alderman of the city during the years 1859-60. He has always been averse to holding public position, preferring to devote his time to his private interests. Mr. Blake is a bachelor. [Pg 188-189 Bent-Wilson 1877]
LYMAN BLAKE, proprietor of Blake's Addition to Fulton City, and dealer in real estate, was born in Merrimac Co., N. H., town of Chichester, and is the son of James and Jane (Sherbourne) Blake. He came West in 1838, when about 25 years of age. He stopped at Fulton City - then a town on paper only - and purchased an interest in the village plat, and also purchased a claim of 80 acres on the river on section 28, which he subsequently entered at Government price at the land sale of 1839. He remained only a few months on his first trip, and returned to the East. He came again to Fulton in 1839 to enter his land, and again went East. He spent some time in New Hampshire, and then went to Boston, where he was employed in a wholesale mercantile house. He next went to Buffalo, and from there to Cincinnati, where, he engaged in commercial business and spent the ensuing twelve years, except one year and a few months - 1848-9 - which he passed in Mexico. He returned to Fulton in 1855, when he sold a portion of his land to the railroad company "Dixon Air Line," now the Chicago & Northwestern), and laid out the fractional 80 acres into village lots, naming it "Blake's Addition to Fulton City." The plat is now well settled, and the property quite valuable. Mr. Blake engaged in the grain and warehouse business soon after the railroad was completed to this place, and continued it for a number of years, besides dealing extensively in real estate.
He has never aspired to the honors of public office, but has unwillingly allowed his name to be used as a candidate for Alderman. He was elected to the Common Council of Fulton for the years 1859-60 and again for the years 1885-6. He is a Democrat in politics, and is held in high esteem by his fellow townsmen as an upright, honorable business man, who has done much to improve the city and develop its advantages. He has resided here continually since 1855. [Portraits and Biographical 1895] [NOTE: Lyman Blake is buried at the Fulton Cemetery 18 August 1809 - 1893]
JESSE K. BLEAN
Of Newton Twp.
Jesse K. Blean is one of the prominent citizens of the township, and is a man of excellent mind and unblemished character. He has represented the township in the Board of Supervisors for several hears, much to the benefit of his immediate constituents and of the county at large. [History of Whiteside County - Bent & Wilson 1877]
JOHN H. BLEY
John H. Bley, farmer, section 18, Hopkins Township, is a son of John H. and Maria Bley, who were natives of Germany, where they died. They had a family of three children,-John H., Elizabeth and Frederick. Mr. Bley, of this sketch, was born in Germany, July 3, 1835, lived in his native land till 1860, when he came to America and direct to Whiteside County, locating in Hopkins Township. Soon afterward he purchased 160 acres of land, where he settled and has since lived. He is now the operator of 215 acres in the township, most of which is cultivated. Mr. Bley was married in Hopkins Township, March 15, 1869, to Margaret Staassen, who was born in Germany, July 9, 1843. They have had eight children, six of whom are surviving, vix: Johanna E., Emily M., Frederick G., William M., Anna H. and John H., Jr.; two died in infancy. Mr. and Mrs. B. are members of the German Lutheran Church. In politics he is identified with the Democratic party. [Contributed by Debbie Thormahlen - Portraits & Biographical Whiteside County IL 1885 Pg. 268]
OF Clyde Township
Donald Blue was born in Argylshire, in the Highlands of Scotland, January 18, 1799. He married Catharine McFarlain, January 15, 1815. She was born January 1, 1801. Mr and Mrs Blue have lived together now over 62 years. In March 1820, Mr. Blue, with his family, emigrated to New Brunswick, where he resided 8 years, and then settled about 30 miles from Toronto Canada. After taking part in the "Patriot War" in Canada, in 1839 he settled and made a claim upon section 17, in Clyde. He was warned to abandon the claim, but replied to the committee that he was in peacable possession, and would hold it at all hazards. He was allowed to remain. In 1852 Mr. Blue went to California, where he remained 3 years, and then returned to his farm. For the past 12 years he has resided in Morrison.
Children: John, Jane ( now Mrs. John Wilson), Alexander, Donald (s/b Daniel), Margaret, Isabella, Charles, Catharine. Three children died in infancy; eleven children in all. Charles and Alexander died upon the plains, from starvation,during the Pikes Peak gold excitement in '59. John and Margaret died in Clyde in 1839. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 145-146]
[NOTE: **According to research Donald Blue is an ancestor of President Ronald Wilson Reagan as follows:
Donald Blue married Catharine McFarlain
Jane Blue married John Wilson 23 Nov 1841 Whiteside Co
Thomas Wilson married Mary Ann Elsey
Nellie Wilson married John Edward Reagan
President Ronald Wilson Reagan s/o Nellie Wilson Reagon]
OF Clyde Township, Whiteside Co IL
Richard Blue, farmer, resident on section 22, Clyde Township, was born on section 17 of the same township where he has lived all his life. His birth occured Nov. 7, 1855 and he is the son of Alexander A. and Mary (Beswick) Blue. His father was born in Nova Scotia of Scotch parentage and his mother was a native of England. They were united in marriage in Clyde Township and became the parents of four children. The incident about to be related in connection with the history of Mr. Blue, eclipses in intensity all others that have hitherto fallen within the province of the biographier, whose duty it becomes to place on permanent record a narration of terrible suffering and horrible necessity, such as clouds the personal annals of but few. Sorrows beset and troubles multiply, but are rarely without some shade of mitigation. In this there is but the ghastly reality. In 1859 Alexander, Daniel and Charles Blue, the first named being the father and the others the uncles of Mr. Blue of this sketch, together with John Campbell and Thomas Stevenson, set forth from Whiteside County for the new El Dorado of Pike's Peak, making their way there across the plains on foot. At Manhattan, Kansas they were joined by a party of nine others. When within sight of the peaks of the Rocky Mountains, their further progress was impeded by a terrific snow storm, and they wandered helplessly, consuming the remnants of food in their possession until starvation was imminent. Alexander and Charles were sick, the former having inflammatory rheumatism. After the terrible five-days storm was over, Charles was completely disabled. Then some of the party left them and went on. After proceeding on some days, after a rest for Charles' welfare, Alexander sank down exhausted and in extreme pain. In giving a description of their awful suffering, Daniel Blue continues the narration as follows; "We wrapped Alexander up in blankets, bathed him with snow water, and tearing our shirts into strips, bandaged his feet and head, and did all we could in our weak and almost dying condition to relieve him, and then we all lay down in our blankets on the snow and rested till morning. Oh, for something nourishing to eat! How hunger gnawed in our stomachs, parched our lips and dried up the moisture of our throats and mouths. How it weakened us, consuming, as if by fire, our muscles and our juices! It reduced us to very skeletons and we stalked about, emaciated, with death's hollow sound in every word we tried to speak, with death's dull, leaden fixedness in our eyes, and with death's pale look in our sad and wretched faces."
"It was here, in the midst of these tribulations, while we were lying on the ground together, and feeling that death from starvation was near at hand to all of us, that our conversation turned to the subject of eating each other! Horrible thought! And yet, the subject having been mentioned, we kept thinking of it, and subsequently we again spoke of it, and all then agreed that whichever of us should die first, should be eaten by the rest. On the next morning I beheld for the first time, dimly up among the clouds, a peak of the Rocky Mountains. My heart, faint with weakness, beat quicker then, and a thrill of joy came over me, and hope revived. I ran back to my companions, and joyfully announced to them my discovery. I carried Alexander a portion of the way. But we had not gone over 40 rods, when Alexander fell down exhausted again. I now deemed it improper for my brothers to try to go on further, and it was then proposed that all of the party who were able, should go on, and if they found help, should return to the rescue of the others. All went except Soley, one of the party that joined us. He and brother Alexander were now completely prostrate, helpless as babes. Charles rallied a little during the day, and he walked along slowly, while I carried the two helpless men along, first bearing Soley a certain distance, and setting him down, - then going back after Alexander, and then again returning for our stachels. My object was to find, if possible, a better shelter for them, hoping to find a human habitation of some kind. But evening came again, and our condition and prospects were more desperate and wretched than ever before. We had now been eight entire days without food, except boiled roots and grass and the snow, and even these, what little we could get of them, did not in the least satisfy our hunger. The roots were bitter and would not digest, and lay heavily on our stomachs, making us more miserable than we had felt previously. On that night Alexander suffered terribly, and I had to sit up with him, trying to sooth and alleviate his excruciating rheumatic pains. Charles and Soley slept soundly till morning; but at about seven o'clock that same morning, Soley commenced to sink rapidly, and soon expired, bidding us a sad farewell, and requesting us, with his last words to take his body and eat of it as much as we could, and thus preserve our lives. The poor, noble-hearted boy had actually starved to death! And in his fate, we three brothers, who were now left entirely alone, saw our own; for death was surely gnawing at our vitals, and we felt that soon we would have to follow our now silent, pale and emancipated companion to the other world, 'where the weary are at rest.' We were not strong enough to inter the corpse, neither had we pick or shovel with which to dig a grave, even if we could muster strength enough to do so. The dead body lay there for three days, we lying helpless on the ground near it, our craving for food increasing continually, until driven to desperation, wild with hunger, and feeling, in its full force, the truth of the sentiment, that 'self-preservation is the first law of nature,' we took our knives and commenced cutting the flesh from the legs and arms of our dead companion and ate it! This was the hardest of our trials - this being forced to eat human flesh. We restrained as long as we could, but we yielded at last, for it was our last resort for hope of preservation."
After struggling againt fate, all died shortly afterward, except Daniel, who subsequently became demented through suffering and grief and wandered aimlessly about but was finally discovered by some Indians in the vicinity of the Big Sandy River in Colorado. He was utterly without sense or knowledge and the red men delivered him to some whites, who took him to Denver, where he was cared for with skill and restored to health and reason. He has since written an account of his dreadful experience and has become a married man and is a farmer in Iowa.
The mother of Mr. Blue lived until April, 1863, when she died, leaving four orphan children, the youngest of whom was but seven years old. The son, who is the subject of this sketch, has sustained himself since his mother's death. Dec. 25, 1877 he was married to Emma A. Alldritt, and they have two children - Wilfred T., born Dec. 16, 1878 and Samuel A., born Jan.6, 1885. Mrs. Blue was born in Clyde Township, Aug. 13, 1859 and is the daughter of Thomas and Lavina (Heacox) Alldritt. Her parents were both natives of England and were married in Clyde Township, whither they removed with their respective parents. The father of Mrs. Blue is still living. The mother died Sept. 25, 1880. [Portraits & Biographical 1885 Pg. 487]
Isaac Body, a prominent farmer, on section 12, Ustick Township, is a native citizen of the State of Illinois having been born July 12, 1837, in Iroquois County, to which place his parents, Isaac and Mary (Myers) Body, removed from their native State – Pennsylvania – in the pioneer days of Illinois. Their eight children were named Catherine, Susan, Mary A., John, George, Isaac, Sarah and Eliza. Mr. Body has been all his life engaged in agriculture, and when he was 26 years of age set out for himself independently, and in October 1863, came to Whiteside County. He spent the first year on a rented farm in Ustick Township, and in the year succeeding bought 80 acres of land. On this he has operated with satisfactory and substantial results. He has erected an excellent class of buildings, and the place is one of the pleasantest in location in the township. His estate now includes 220 acres in the townships of Ustick and Clyde, and 120 is in tillage. Mr. body is a Republican, and has been School Director; he has also officiated in other township offices. Mr. Body was married Nov. 13, 1860, in Carroll Co., Ill., to Cyrena Dyson, and they are the parents of seven children: Adda F., Charles C., Della E., Mary L., Samuel M., Elmer I. And Etta C. The oldest daughter is the wife of John Bristol, of Ustick Township. Mrs. Body was born Nov. 15, 1839, in Carroll Co., Ill., and is the daughter of Hezekiah and Ruth (McIndoo) Dyson. Their children were named James, Charles, William, Cyrena, Hezekiah, Ruth, Cornelius, Margaret A., Dimmis D. and Mary E. Mr. and Mrs. Body are members of the Methodist Church. [Transcribed by Marji Turner from Portraits & Biographical History of Whiteside 1885 Pg. 438]
Of Ustick Township
Henry Bond was born in Denmark, Lewis county New York, December 7, 1818. He came to Whiteside county in the spring of 1838, with Lewis Graves and settled at first with him on the farm now owned by Oliver Baker, in the present township of Ustick. He afterwards made a claim about one mile west on section 7, and afterwards made a claim about one mile west, on section 7, and after remaining there some time sold it, and purchased his present farm on sections 10 and 11, in Spring valley, Ustick township. Mr Bond married Miss Lucy A Ingham in August 1841. Their children have been: Jennie E. born 24 Dec. 1842; Martha A. born August 28, 1847; and Emma E. born March 21, 1854. Martha A. died February 2, 1852. Jennie E. married Richard Keeny, September 28, 1870 and lives in Spring Valley, Ustick Township; and Emma A. married A. Hutchinson February 14, 1877 and also lives in Spring Valley. [Extracted from Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 470-171]
NATHANIEL L. BOND
Of Union Grove Twp. Whiteside Co IL
Nathaniel L. Bond, a farmer of Union Grove Township, resident on section 12, came to Whiteside COunty in 1843. Henry and Betsey (Graves0 Bond, his father and mother, were born in the State of NY where they were married and became the parents of seven children - Egbert, Nathaniel L., Elizabeth, Henry, Harriet, Warren and Allen. On removal to Whiteside County, they l ocated on a farm of Ustick Township, and there their lives terminated, the mother dying first, April 7, 1857, the father July 18, 1862. Henry Bond bought the farm of Roys Oatman, who went in 1850 with his family to California. In Arizona they were attacked by Indians, and the father, mother and four children were murdered. One child was left for dead, but recovered and made his way to safety. Two daughter were carried into captivity. One died of want. The other was rescued after five years of indescribable suffering.
Mr. Bond was born Jan. 26, 1815 in Lewis Co NY. He lived in his native township until 1843, when he set out for Whiteside County,where several brothers had preceded him. The entire journey was made by the aid of horses and consumed 41 days. The family arrived at their destination in October, and MR. Bond bought 160 acres of land in Fulton Twp. After an occupancy of 6 years, he sold out and located on a farm in the townshipof Lyndon. He purchased a farm, on which he resided about 20 years. He again sold out and went to the county of DeKalb IL where he was a resident one year, when he returned to Whiteside COunty, buying 120 acres of land in Union Grove Township. This was his field of agricultural operations until 1881. In that year he determined to secure release from agricultural labor and responsibilities, and accordinly sold his farm. He bought a home in Unionville, where he fixed his residence. In his political views he assimilates with the Republican party. He was united in marriage March 4, 1841 in Lewis NY to Sally M. Canfield and they had ten children, namely; Sarah L., Laura A., Mary J., Alzina L., Charles M. and Rosetta C. are living. George E., Norton H., Ellen L. and Sewell L. are deceased. Mrs. Bond was born Feb. 3, 1822 in Denmark, Lewis NY. She is the daughter of Norton and Sally C. (Lockwood) Canfield. Her parents were born in New England and had 13 children - Harriet M., Sally M., James L., Mary J., Lucy A., John N., Laura E., Henry H., William M., George M., Lorenzo B., Jay F., and Edna A. All of Mr. Bond's children were born in Whiteside except Lucinda, who was born in Lewis Co NY. Portrait & Biographical 1885 Pg 432 (NOTE:he didn't list a Lucinda maybe they mean Sarah L?)
Of Ustick Township
Warren Bond is a native of Lewis county, New York, and came to Whiteside county on the 16th of April 1842, first settling in Fulton, and afterwards in Ustick, where he purchased a fine farm of two hundred and forty acres, located on the Morrison and Fulton road, which he has since continued to own and cultivate. Of late years he has turned his attention principally in stock raising, endeavoring always to have the best. His gross receipts from farm and stock average two thousand dollars per annum. In relating his early experience he states that in his native state he threshed wheat for five cents a bushel, and helped clean the grain, working from sunrise until sunset. When he first came to Whiteside county he worked for John Hollinshead, in Ustick, for twelve dollars a month.
Mr. Bond married Miss Harriet N. Canfield, July 13, 1844. The children have been; Edna E. born November 5, 1847; Loretta born June 5 1854; Vesta M. born July 10, 1856; Olive J. born August 28 1858; Ada A and Ida A Twins born March 2 1861; Isabel born August 29 1863 and Alva W. born September 26 1865. Of these, Ada A. died September 14, 1861; Ida A. September 21, 1861; and Viola E. December 3, 1872. Edna E. married Delos P. Martin, October 18, 1865 and lives in Nebraska; Loretta H. married William J. Reed, December 31 1868 and lives in Ustick; Viola E. married Austin Goff March 18, 1872 and died as above stated - she lived in Ustick; Vesta married Wilson Springer January 1, 1874 and lives in Ustick; Olive J married Alonzo Springer, August 15, 1876 and lives in Union Grove; and George E. married Miss Sarah Bulkley, December 20, 1876 and lives in Ustick. Isabel and Alva W. reside at home. While yet a resident of Fulton, Mr. Bond held several town offices and since his residence in Ustick he has been elected Supervisor for nine different terms, and is the present Supervisor of the township. He is a good sample of the energetic, intelligent, and successful Whiteside county farmer. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County 1877 Page 470]
WARREN BOND, resident at Morrison, was born April 13, 1823, in Denmark, Lewis Co., N.Y., and is the son of Henry and Betsey (Graves) Bond. He was reared to man's estate in the State of his nativity, and in 1842 came to Illinois. On the 16th of April in that year he located in Fulton Township, and while a resident of that township he became prominent in the management of local affairs, holding several official positions. In 1852 he purchased 240 acres of land situated on section 32 and lying on the Morrison and Fulton road, in the township of Ustick. He has given much attention to raising stock, and is entitled to much credit for his efficiency in improving the grades of Whiteside County cattle. He has been for many years identified with the energetic, intelligent and prosperous farming element of the township where he has resided. The contrast in his earlier and later circumstances is to be inferred from the facts that, in his native State he used to labor from sunrise to sunset, threshing with a flail, and cleaning grain, and receiving compensation at the rate of five cents a bushel. On coming to Whiteside County he worked for John Hollinshead in the township of Ustick, at $2 a month. In less than 20 years his gross receipts from his stock and farm averaged about $2,000 annually. Mr. Bond is the owner of 160 acres of land in Kearney Co., Neb. He sold his land in Ustick Township, and in the spring of of 1883 retired from active agricultural life, removing to Morrison, where he built a residence and is living in the enjoyment of the accumulations of the efforts of his years of prime.
He is a Republican in political bias, and has devoted reasonable attention and effort to the interests of his party in view of his understanding of the obligations of his citizenship. He was always active in local politics in Fulton and Ustick Townships, and has served as a member of the County Committee. He served the town of Ustick as its Supervisor for ten years, also served as Census Enumerator for Ustick Township in 1880. Has taken a lively interest in school affairs, having held the office of School Director, Trustee and Treasurer. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity and belongs to the Royal Arch Chapter. Since his retirement to Morrison, Mr. Bond has engaged to some extent in financial operations.
The marriage of Mr. Bond to Harriet N. Canfield occurred July 13, 1844. Following is the record of their children: Edna E., born Nov. 5, 1847, married Delos P. Martin, Oct. 18, 1865, and lives in Nebraska; Loretta H., born Feb. 15, 1850, was married Dec.. 31, 1868, to William J. Reed, and lives in Ustick Township; Viola E. was born Dec. 21, 1851, and was married March 18,1872, to Austin Goff, and died Dec. 3, 1872; George E. was born June 5, 1854, married Sarah Bulkley Dec. 20, 1876; and died July 15,1881; Vesta M. was born July 10, 1856. She was married Jan. 1, 1874, to Wilson Springer, and now resides in Kearney Co., Neb.; Olive J. was born Aug. 28, 1858, and was married Aug. 15, 1876, to Alonzo Springer, a farmer in Union Grove Township; Ada A. and Ida A., twins, were born March 2, 1861; they died respectively Sept. 14 and Sept. 21, of the same year; Isabel was born Aug. 29, 1863, and was married in August 1881, to Walter Webber (TRANSCRIBER'S NOTE: should be Walter Ashley Wilbur) a farmer in Kearney Co. Neb. Alva W. was born Sep. 26, 1865 and is still with his parents. [Portrait & Biographical 1885 Pg 332]
Benjamin Bonebrake, resident at Unionville, has passed his life as a mechanic. He is a son of Frederick and Catherine (LaRose) Bonebrake, the former a native of PA and the latter of NC. After their marriage they located in Ohio, where they were subsequently resident until their death. Their children were named Anna, Levi, Benjamin and Sarah.
Mr. Bonebrake was born May 22, 1817, in Preble Co., Ohio. He passed his youth in the qcquisition of his education and as a farm assistant, at home. At the age of 20 years he obtained the control of his own time, and he fulfilled a predetermined resolution to learn the trade of carpenter and joiner, in which he passed 44 years. On becoming master of his trade, he located in Butler Co., Ohio, where he operated eight years. In the spring of 1856 he came to Whiteside County and rented a farm in Mt. Pleasant Township. After a short trial of agricultural life he went to Morrison, and in the spring of 1861 settled permanently at Unionville. He is the owner of 40 acres of land in Union Grove Township.
In political preference Mr. Bonebrake is a Republican, and he has been active in several local official positions. He has served 12 years as School Trustee, and as Collector six years. He is a member of Union Grove Lodge, No. 257, I.O.O.F. He belongs to the Protestant Methodist Church, of which his wife is also a member.
His marriage to Susan White occurred in Preble Co., Ohio in September 1841. She was born in Vermont and died Feb. 28, 1858 in Mt. Pleasant Township, leaving two children - Carrie and LaRose. Feb. 28, 1861 he was again married to Mrs. Harriet A. (Trye) Baker. She was born Aug. 13, 1825 in Sheffield, England, and is the daughter of William and Sarah 9Carter) Trye, and widow of William R. Baker, by whom she had four children, named Charles W., Olive, Warren and Ida M. Mr. Baker died June 14, 1859. He was the oldest son of Jacob Baker, a prominent pioneer citizen of Whiteside County, of whom a personal record appears on another page. [Portraits & Biographical Whiteside County IL 1885]
ADONIRAM J. BOOTH
Adoniram Judson Booth, publisher of the Sterling Blade, is a son of Gifford John and Mary A. Booth, and was born in Dundee, Yates Co., N. Y., Feb. 3, 1846. When three years old he removed with his parents to Elmira, N. Y., and resided there till 1855, when his father’s family removed to Illinois, residing for one year in Rock Island, and then in Fulton, Whiteside County. Here he completed his studies at the Fulton High School. In 1859 his father leased (and subsequently bought) the material of the Fulton Advertiser and commenced the publication of the Fulton Courier; he entered the office to learn the printing trade, and remained therein till1866, when he took a joint interest in the paper, which had in 1863 been changed in name to “Fulton Journal.” Mr. Booth and his father continued the business till March, 1872, when the establishment was purchased by George Terwilliger, of Sterling. For one year prior to the above sale Mr. Booth had been pursuing a special course of medical instruction, under the supervision of Dr. John Eddy, a thoroughly educated regular physician of Fulton; he subsequently gave his entire attention to his medical studies till the summer of 1873, when he went to Chicago and attended a regular course of medical lectures at the Hahnernann Medical College in 1873-4. While home from college in 1874 he joined his father in purchasing the Investigator printing-office at Morrison, this county; the name of the paper was changed to Morrison Times, and conducted as a Greenback organ. In 1876 this office was removed to Rock Falls, and the name of the paper changed to Whiteside Times; it was Democratic-Greenback in politics, and had a very extensive circulation in every township in Whiteside County. In the fall of 1877, Mr. Booth successfully issued a creditable history and directory of the two cities, - Sterling and Rock Falls, - bound in cloth and gold leaf. In May, 1878, A. J. Booth & Co. leased the Whiteside Times to Messrs. Hyde & Searle.
In June, 1881, Mr. Booth decided to commence the publication of the Daily Blade, a morning daily paper, in the city of Sterling, notwithstanding four failures in that line by former parties. This enterprise was a success, and was continued for nearly three years, - until Dec. 1, 1883, when impaired health necessitated a change of business. In November, 1884, having recovered health, Mr. Booth returned to Sterling and resumed the publication of the Blade as a weekly paper, Democratic in politics, six-column quarto in size.
Feb. 3, 1869, Mr. Booth married Miss Alma C. Sperry, of Lee Center, Ill., to whom were born five children, to wit: Gifford M., Harry Judson, Ida May, Charles Edwin and Anna Maude. Mr. and Mrs. Booth are both members of the Sterling Baptist Church. [Portrait and Biographical Album of Whiteside County, Illinois, Chapman Brothers Publishing Co., Chicago, 1885., Page 328]
Of Prophetstown Township
Ashley Booth is a native of Freetown, Massachusetts, and was born in 1806. In 1809 his parents moved to Chenango county, New York, and in 1830 to Cattaraugus county, in the same State. In 1835 Mr. Booth came to Whiteside county, and first made a claim near the present village of Portland, and in 1837 brought his family to his new home, living for a time in a rail cabin covered with boughs of trees. He lived at various places until 1844, when he opened a farm at Woodward’s bluff, and has resided there since, except a couple of years spent at the Pike’s Peak gold diggings. Mr. Booth married Miss Mary Foy in 1830, and after her death, which occurred in 1872, married Mrs. Fanny Winters. He has only one child, William, who married Miss Adliza Hurd, and is a farmer near Woodward’s bluff. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County]
JAMES H. BOOTH
Of Newton Township
James H. Booth, farmer on section 9, Newton Township, was born June 27, 1823, in Harrison Co., W.Va. He is the son of William and Deborah (Hart) Booth. His father was a Major in the war of 1812, and his title was recognized as long as he lived. In 1835 the family emigrated to Ohio, where they lived two years in Vinton County. They went thence to Cass Co. Ind., where they remained till 1839, and in the year journeyed to Illinois, transporting the family and household belongings with the aid of ox teams. There were 11 persons, - the parents and nine children. They made their journeys from Virginia to Ohio, and thence to Indiana, by the same method, carrying their provisions, cooking by the way and sleeping in their wagons. The senior Booth made a claim on section 9 of township 20, range 3, now Newton. He built a log structure, 16x16 feet in size, for a dwelling, which the family occupied a few years, when it was replaced by a frame house. William Booth died in 1854. His wife survived him 20 years.
Mr. Booth, subject of this sketch, secured a claim on a section adjoining that on which his father located. He was married July 6, 1848, to Susanna E. Rexroad. She was born Dec. 21, 1830, in Virginia. After the event of his marriage, Mr. Booth located on his estate, which he occupied until his death, Mary 17, 1884. He was a skillful farmer and an excellent manager, and his farm was considered one of the best conducted in the township, being particularly noticeable for its tidy, well regulated appearance. The buildings are of a good class, and the place is made attractive and valuable by fruit, shade and ornamental trees. In 1850 Mr. Booth went to California overland, traveling with ox teams, as he had done in 1835, in 1837 and in 1839, thus virtually crossing nearly the entire distance between the Atlantic and Pacific Oceans with teams of oxen, an experience paralleled but rarely, if ever, in the history of this continent. He spent two years in California, engaged in mining and in other employments. In 1852 he started for home, sailing from San Francisco, but the vessel was wrecked and the crew went back to Sacramento. Mr. Booth returned by way of the Isthmus of Panama and New Orleans. In political faith he was a Republican. Mr. and Mrs. Booth became members of the Presbyterian Church in 1858. There were two children by the first marriage, - Dyer, a resident of Barton Co., MO., and Milo, who resides in Huron Co., Dak. The second marriage of Mr. Booth to Cinderella Burton, took place June 29, 1857. She was born in Madison, Wis., and is the daughter of James N. and Martha (Wallace) Burton. Her parents were born in Tennessee and belonged to the pioneer element of Wisconsin. They settled in Rock Island County in 1840. Eight children were born of the second marriage, - Otis, Lucy, Aura, Deborah, James M., Jessie B., Leslie K., and Murray Houston. [Contributed by Marji Turner - 1885 Portrait and Biographical of Whiteside Co Pg 741]
WILLIAM BOOTH SR.
Willima Booth, Sr., a native of Virginia, settled with his family in Newton township in March, 1839. He drove through from Indiana the preceding winter. After leaving Virginia he remained a year in Ohio, and four years in Indiana, but the ague troubled his family so much he fled from it, thus leaving the Hoosier State and locating in the Rock River Valley. Mr. Booth settled on section 9, he being the first settler in that part of the present town of Newton. Mr. Booth was born in Randolph county, Va., May 4, 1783, and died upon his homestead in Newton, December 7, 1854. He was married in April 1802. His wife was born October 11, 1786, and died October 1875. A very large number of children, grandchildren, and great grandchildren are left to revere the memory of Mr. and Mrs. Booth. Children: John, now a resident of Ohio; Malinda, wife of Samuel Emmons of Tampico township; Heuston, a resident of Virginia; Hart, a resident of Indiana; Elijah, killed at Memphis; Jane M., wife of S. J. Thompson of Missouri; Nancy A., wife of Asa F. R. Emmons of Rock Falls; Stephen C., now in California; Isaac, a resident of Indiana; Edward D., a farmer in Newton; Wm. S., a farmer in Albany township; James H., a farmer in Newton; Lucinda, Daniel and Deborah, deceased. Stephen 0., made a claim soon after his arrival in Newton, on section 15, east of the place occupied by J. H. Marshall. Edward D. made a claim on section 9, where he now has a fine farm. James H. is an extensive and successful farmer in Newton township, his residence being on section 9. [History of Whiteside 1877 - Bent & Wilson Pg 339]
WILLIAM A. BOOTH
Of Prophetstown Township
William A. Booth, a farmer, residing on section 30, Prophetstown Township, and the owner of 220 acres of land thereon, is a son of Ashley and Mary (Foy) Booth, and was born in Cattaraugus Co. N.Y., June 18, 1832. His father, a native of Tompkins Co. N.Y , is a farmer by occupation, and at present resides in Portland Township, this county. His mother was a native of Cattaraugus Co., and died in this county, Sept 4, 1871. Mr. Booth was then married, in April, 1872, to Mrs. Fanny Winters.Mr. Booth is the only child of his father's family, and was reared on a farm, receiving the advantages afforded by the common schools. In 1838 his father's family came to this county, and located in Prophetstown, and six years later his father located on 166 acres of land on section 20, Prophetstown Township, where he resided until 1877, when he moved to Portland village.
Mr. Booth was united in marriage at the age of 18 years, in Hennepin, Ill. The event occurred June 17, 1850, and the lady of his choice was Miss Adaliza Hurd. She was a daughter of Horace and Lydia Hurd, and was born in Vermont, Nov 6, 1831. They had six children, five of whom are living; Horace A. was a farmer in Hume Township, this county: Clarence E. is a farmer, residing in Geneseo, Henry Co., Ill.: Fanny A. is the wife of Clement D. Johnson, a farmer in Prophetstown Township: Mary L. is deceased: Henry E. resides with his parents, as likewise does Bertha G. Mr. Booth resided on the old family homestead until about 24 years of age. In 1852 he entered 40 acres of land on section 29, Prophetstown Township, and resided on it about five years. He then bought, where he now lives, 40 acres, and has since added to his estate until at present he is the proprietor of 220 acres. He makes a specialty of dairying, and keeps usually about 20 cows. He raises also from 50 to 75 hogs annually. Mr. Booth is a member of the Odd Fellows Order, Sinnisippi Lodge, No. 308. Buried in Leon Methodist Church cemetary. [Portraits & Biographical 1885 Pg 525]
WILLIAM C. BOOTH
William C. Booth, deceased, a pioneer of Whiteside County, of 1839, was born Nov. 28, 1821, in Randolph Co., Va. His parents, William and Deborah (Hart) Booth, were married in Beverly, in the county and State above named. A few years later they located at what was then Booth's Ferry, now Phillippi, in Barbour County. In 1835, they went to Ohio, and made a temporary location in Vinton County. In 1835 they went to Indiana, and after a stay in Cass County they came to Illinois, traveling with their own teams, as there were no methods of public transportation. They settled in Whiteside County, the father making a claim on Section 9, in Newton Township.
Mr. Booth of this sketch located on section 8, of the same township. He made his home with his parents until his marriage, in 1849, to Elizabeth Wells, a native of the State of Vermont. After that event he bought a farm in Mr. Pleasant Township, in Rock Island County, where he continued to prosecute his agricultural operations until 1856, when he returned to Whiteside County, and took possession of his claim which he had made on section 8. After a residence of one year he returned to his property in Rock Island County, and remained two years, when he came back to Newton Township. In 1877 he bought a farm on section 36, in Albany Township, of which he took possession in 1880. On this he passed the remainder of his life, dying Feb. 23, 1883. He was an able man, and contributed largely through his energetic, active life to the development of the townships in which he was a pioneer. He was the recipient of universal esteem wherever he was known.
The first wife died in 1855, leaving three children: Amanda, wife of Andrew Cessford, is the only survivor, and lives in La Mar, Barton Co., Mo. In 1856 Mr. Booth married Lydia A. Kittle. She was born in Beverley, Pa., and is the daughter of Eli and Rebecca (Weis) Kittle. Six children were born of the second marriage, of whom four are living: Dama., Mason, William Clay and Bunn. Mason and William Clay are engaged in the hardware business, at Albany. Having in April, 1885, bought the hardware store and stock formerly owned by B. H. Quick, they carry a good stock of general hardware goods. [Portraits & Biographical 1885 Pg 633]
Edmund Bowman, jeweler on the corner of Third and Mulberry Streets, Sterling, was born in Strasburg, Pa., Oct. 14, 1824, and is a son of Joseph and Ann Bowman, who were also natives of the Keystone State. He remained at his parental home until the age of 0, receiving a common-school education and learning of this father the jewelry business. After leaving home, he worked at his trade as journeyman in Kennett Square, Chester Co, Pa. He opened business for himself the first time in 1853, but subsequently he closed business there, brought his stock of goods to Sterling, opened a jewelry house and has since prosecuted his business here. His success in this line, as might be expected, has been marked. He has a farm of 204 acres three miles from Sterling, besides the corner he occupies in business and two dwelling-houses in Sterling. In politics he is a Republican, and in the community he enjoys a high and honorable standing. May 13, 1857, is the date of his marriage to Maria P. Adams, and they have five children living, namely, Frank J., Grant J., Edward, Jennie and Louise. [Transcribed by Marji Turner from Portraits & Biographical History of Whiteside 1885 Pg. 254]
H. A. Boyd, marketman at Morrison, was born June 1, 1838, in Ayrshire, Scotland. He is the son of William and Mary (Robinson) Boyd, who emigrated to America with their family in 1854, locating on a farm two miles east of Morrison. They had 10 children, seven of whom are s till living. John is a farmer and dealer in stock near Morrison: William is a farmer in Nebraska; Peter is book-keeper for Thomas R. King, at Morrison; Mary is the wife of Robert Robinson, a farmer in the vicinity of Morrison; Janet married John Thompson, an “overman” in a mine in Ayrshire, Scotland; Jane is the wife of John Clark, of Morrison. Mr. Boyd was trained on a farm in his native shire, and when he was 18 years of age accompanied his parents to this country. After spending a few years on the home farm, near Morrison, he went South, and was for some time engaged as superintendent of construction on various railroads, overseeing the labors of men engaged in building trestlework, culverts and bridges. He returned to the county, where he has since been a resident, and he engaged in farming, drawing building materials and jobbing generally. He owned 40 acres of land situated a mile south of Morrison. In 1873 he bought the place where he is now engaged in the transaction of his business, and opened a meat-ship in company with his brother-in-law, John Clark. A year later he bought the interest of the latter. He has since been engaged in the transaction of a heavy business, including extensive shipping relations. He has also a fine farm of 100 acres, lying one mile southwest of Morrison, which he superintended personally, and is interested in breeding horses, making a specialty of Mambrinos, Clydesdale an Hambletonians. He is also the owner of 320 acres of land in McPherson Co., D. T. His residence is located on three and half acres of land, and is an attractive and valuable homestead. He belongs to the Order of Odd Fellows. The marriage of Mr. Boyd to Sarah Clark took place Dec. 29, 1864, in De Witt, Iowa, and to them four children have been born: Herbert N., Gertrude, John T. and Mary. Mrs. Boyd was born in Chautauqua Co., N. Y., and is the daughter of Thomas and Phebe Clark. [Contributed by Marji Turner Pg. 283; Whiteside County History 1880]
OF Clyde Township
Henry Boyer was born in Monroe county, Va., September 11, 1805, and died at Unionville, July 22, 1873. He was married in Sangamon county, Illinois, July 22, 1830, to Miss Mary Powell, who was born in Pickaway county, Ohio, August 5, 1811. Mrs. Boyer died May 19, 1871. In 1830 Mr. Boyer came to Whiteside county from Sangamon county Illinois, and settled in what is now Mt. Pleasant township near the line between that town and Union Grove, on the west side of Rock creek. A few years later he moved into Union Grove township where he resided until the time of his death. He was a man of strong individuality, and was a prominent and working abolitionist when it cost courage to be one. He had the confidenee of his friends and neighbors in an eminent degree in all things, and was prominent in the development of the county. Mr. Boyer was one of the founders of Unionville, and engaged in other enterprises for the advancement of the county. Children: Caroline, born April 29, 1831; Washington F., born July 16, 1832; Lydia A., born January 28, 1834; Elizabeth Jane, born January 5, 1836; Jacob W., born January 1, 1838; Samuel V., born Deeember 22, 1839; Mary J., born November 7, 1841; Edward P., born August25, 1848; Abigail, born June 9, 1845; John W., born December 17,1847; Henry, Jr., born January 18,1849; Emily, born August 1, 1851; Harriet B., born February 16,1854. Caroline, and Henry, die in infancy. Washington F. is married, and lives in Union Grove. Lydia A. married Aaron P. Young, and resides in Mt. Pleasant. Elizabeth Jane married A. B. Lukens, and .lives in Jasper county, Missouri. Jacob W. resides in Washington Territory. Samuel V. is married, and lives in Fulton. Mary J. married E. W. Shirk, and lives in St. Paul, Minnesota. Edward P. died in the army at Chattanooga, Tennessee, April 15, 1865. Abigail married M. M. Confrey, and resides in Jasper county, Missouri. John W. is married, and lives in Detroit, Michigan. Emily married A. C. Johnson, and resides in Chicago. Harriet B. is unmarried. [Extracted from Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 478]
BENJAMIN F. BOYNTON
OF Rock Falls
Benjamin F. Boynton, deceased, who was for many years an honored and trusted employee of the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad and a highly respected citizen of Rock Falls, was born in Grass Lake, Michigan, September 26, 1837, and was a son of Zerah and Permelia (Buss) Boynton both natives of Vermont. In 1834 the father removed to Michigan and settled at Grass Lake, where he became a prosperous farmer.
Our subject was reared upon his father's farm and remained there until about nineteen years of age, when he entered the employ of the Chicago, Burlington & Ouincy Railroad Company, with which he was connected until his death, with the exception of a few years spent with the Lake Shore & Michigan Southern Railroad. On leaving their employ he moved to Aurora, Illinois, and again entered the service of the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad. After living there about two years, he came to Rock Falls in 1873, and continued to make this place his home until his death, which occurred April 25, 1899. For a short time he was in the employ of the Michigan Central and the Chicago & West Michigan Railroad Companies, but throughout his railroad career, he was mostly connected with the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Road. He rose from a humble position to that of conductor on passenger trains, holding the latter position for a quarter of a century to the entire satisfaction of the company and many patrons of the road, for he was a popular, genial man who made many friends. On the 25th of December, 186i, in Chicago, Mr. Boynton was united in marriage with Miss Sarah Petrie, a daughter of Charles and Lusina (Allard) Petrie, of that city, and by this Union four children were born, namely: (i) Charles Z., born in Grass Lake, Michigan, was killed near Freeport, Illinois, October 8, 1893, while employed on the railroad as fireman. He married Miss Emma Palmer, who with her two children, Elsie and Franklin; reside in Grass Lake, Michigan. (2) Fannie is the wife of Amos K. Frey, of Rock Falls, who is in the employ of the government as surveyor on the canal. He is a son of Henry and Lizzie (Kreider) Frey, of Jordan township, and is the youngest in a family of eleven children, all of whom are living. The other two children of our subject died in infancy. Mr. Boynton was a consistent and faithful member of the Congregational church, and belonged to the Knights Templar, the Ancient Order of United Workmen and the Conductors' Relief & Aid Society. Politically he was a Republican, but never took an active part in political affairs aside from voting. He was held in high regard by all who knew him and had many friends in his adopted county. [Whiteside Biographical Record 1900 Pg 467]
A. J. BRACKEN
Of Portland Township
A.J. Bracken, farmer, residing on section 23, Portland Township, and the owner of 240 acres of land thereon, was born on the farm where he at present resides, April 29, 1854, and has resided there ever since. His parents, Andrew T. and Mary (Crork) Bracken, were among the very earliest settlers of this county. His father was born Aug. 6, 1804, and his mother Sept. 7, 1815, in New York. They had three children, two of whom yet survive. James L. is a grain dealer in Tama City, Iowa, and married Nettie Adams. They have two children, Rachel and James. The father of Mr. Bracken died on the old homestead Dec. 9, 1870, and the mother Feb. 22, 1882. The mother had been previously married to a John Penwell, by whom she had one son, John J. a farmer residing in Geneseo, Henry Co. Ill. Mr. Bracken bought out the heirs of the old homestead, consisting of 240 acres, and now has a fine farm. Politically his father was a Republican and I served several years as Supervisor, and all the boys in of his family are identified with the interest of the party to which the father belonged. Mr. Bracken was united in marriage in Portland Township, this county, June 9,1873, to Miss Sarah Besse, daughter of William and Mary Besse. She was born in Portland Township, this county, Nov. 27, 1853. [Portrait & Biographical Pg 582]
ANDREW T. BRACKEN
Of Portland Township, Whiteside Co IL
Andrew T. Bracken was born in Erie county, Pennsylvania, in 1802, and settled in Portland in 1837. He married Mrs. Mary Crook Pennell, daughter of Asa Crook. The children by this marriage are: James M., living in Iowa; William, who married Miss Eva Poor, and lives in Iowa; and Jackson, who married Miss Sarah Besse, and lives in Portland. Mrs. Bracken had one child by her first marriage, Nelson, who married Miss Tinnie Fones, and resides in Henry county, Illinois. Mr. Bracken died in 1870; the widow still resides in Portland. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 358]
JAMES D. BRADY
OF Sterling Twp.
James D. Brady was born in Hamilton county Ohio, January 26, 1809. When he was four years of age his father’s family moved to Indiana, and settled on the land where the city of Attica now stands. In 1827 Mr. Brady went to the Galena mines, where he worked until the Black Hawk war broke out, when he volunteered, and remained in service during the whole of its continuance. He then came to Whiteside county, and made a claim near where Galt station now is. Upon this claim be lived alone for a year, and then sold out, and went to Bureau county, where he made a claim about four miles from Green river bridge, employing himself in farming, hunting, and fishing, until 1870. From Bureau county he emigrated first to Missouri, and then to Kansas, and in 1875 left his family in the latter State, while he crossed over into the Indian Territory, and became a herder of cattle. When last heard from he was still in that Territory. Mr. Brady married Mrs. Sallie N. Williams, October 19, 1857. Their children are: Wilber F., born July 24, 1861; and Edwin B., born July 20, 1866.. Mrs. Brady and the two children are now living in Sterling. [Whiteside Co History, Bent-Wilson Pg 406]
ANSON H. BRAUER
Anson H. Brauer has been a farmer in Sterling Township, since 1875, when he located on section 11, and where he made a purchase of 80 acres of land. The farm is in excellent agricultural condition. Mr. Brauer was born in Lee Co., Ill., Mary 30, 1849, and he is the son of William and Helen Brauer. Both his parents were natives of Germany, and emigrated to Illinois in 1840. They located in Lee County, where they are now living. They had three children, one of whom died in infancy. Those who still survive are named Anson H. and Frank W.
Mr. Brauer has passed his life since his school days in the pursuit of agriculture, remaining with his parents until he was 25. He was married April 8, 1874, in Lee County, to Lillian H. Butler, and they have two children – Myrtle M., and Leroy. Mrs. Brauer was born June 7, 1855, in Lee County, and is the daughter of Timothy A. and Roxana (Stewart) Butler. The former was born in the state of New York, and the latter in Illinois. Their children, seven in number, were born and named as follows: Mary M., Lillian H,., Otho J., Perdita A., Cicely E., Catherine and Nora M. Politically Mr. Brauer is a Republican, and in religious preference he is a believer in the tenets of the German Lutheran Church. He has been Overseer of Highways five years, and School Director since the spring of 1885. [Transcribed by Marji Turner from Portraits & Biographical History of Whiteside 1885 Pg. 564]
RALPH Y. BREED
Ralph Y. Breed, a well-known grain dealer of Erie, is an important factor in business circles and his popularity is well deserved, as in him are embraced the characteristics of an unbending integrity, una- bated energy and industry that never flags. He is a leading business man of the village, and as a public-spirited citizen is thorough- ly interested in whatever tends to promote the moral, intellectual and material welfare of the community. A native of Illinois, Mr. Breed was born in Schuyler county, November 5, 1861, and is a son of Dr. S. P. and Alzina (Powers) Breed. In their family were seven children, but three are now deceased, those living being Lena May; Lizzie R., wife of Edward Sisler, of Lincoln, Nebraska, Luella and Ralph Y. The parents are still living and now make their home in Princeton, Illinois. During his boyhood and youth our subject remained at home with his parents, and on the 25th of November, 1885, he was united in marriage with Miss Nellie M. Sapp, by whom he has three children, namely: Clifford, De Ette and Carrie Belle. Mr. Breed lived in Princeton until after his marriage and then located on a farm in Bureau county, near that city, where he engaged in farming and stock raising with marked success until the spring of 1896, when he removed to Erie. Here he purchased the grain business of Arthur McLean, and has since~ successfully carried on the same. He is an enterprising, wide-awake business man of known reliability, and is a progressive citizen. In politics he is a stanch Repub- lican, and before coming to this county held several township offices, while during his residence in Erie he has acceptably served as village trustee. Fraternally, he is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Knights of Pythias. [Whiteside Biographical Record 1900 Pg 506]
Who for more than a half century was a resident of Whiteside county, was closely associated with its agricultural development and at all times upheld its political and legal status. He stood for high standards in citizenship and in private life as well and the energy and diligence which he displayed enabled him to rise from a comparatively humble position in the business world to one of prominence and affluence. He was born in Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, May 3, 1826, his parents being Isaac and Frances (Neff) Bressler, also natives of the Keystone state. The former was a son of Peter Bressler, who came from Bressler, Germany, with his parents in his boyhood days, the family home being established in Pennsylvania. During his active business life he followed blacksmithing and farming. The maternal grandfather, Henry Neff, also a farmer by occupation, died in Lancaster county, Pennsylvania. Their daughter, Frances, one of a large family, gave her hand in marriage to Isaac Bressler, son of Peter and Elizabeth Bressler. After following farming for some time in Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, Isaac Bressler removed westward to Whiteside county, Illinois, in 1856 and settled on a tract of land in Jordan township, where he made his home until called to his final rest when about seventy-eight years of age. His wife survived him and was more than ninety-two years of age at the time of her death. Both were members of the Mennonite church and were people of the highest respectability. Their family numbered twelve children, eleven of whom reached adult age, while seven are now living: Eliza, the widow of Henry Bush, of Sterling; Annie, the widow of Jacob Meyers, who makes her home in Lancaster county, Pennsylvania; Catharine, who is the widow of John Stauffer and resides in Rowland, Nebraska; Peter, of Spokane, Washington; Isaac, living in Sterling; Benjamin, also of Sterling; Mary, the widow of Weidler Greybill, who likewise resides in Roseland, Nebraska. Those who have passed away are: Levi; Lydia, the wife of John Buckwalter, Fannie, the wife of William Echternaeh; Henry; and Susan, who departed this life when two years of age. The personal history of Henry Bressler is the record of a man who in all life's relations was found trustworthy, whose ideals were high and who ever made earnest effort to live up to the standard which he set before him. He was reared in the east, remaining upon a farm in Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, during the period of his boyhood and youth, while the public schools of that locality afforded him his educational advantages. He was a young man of about twenty-five years when he first sought the opportunities of the west, thinking to improve his financial condition by a removal to this less thickly settled but more rapidly developing region. Accordingly he arrived in Whiteside county in 1851, accompanied by his wife, and purchased one hundred and sixty acres of land in Jordan township at the usual government price. On the 21st of December, 1848, Mr. Bressler had married Miss Margaret Stauffer, who was born in Pennsylvania, April 8, 1830, a daughter of John and Barbara (Eby) Stauffer. Her parents were also natives of Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, Her paternal grandparents were Christian and Fannie Stauffer. The former was born in the Keystone state, of German descent, and was a miller by trade. He owned a large farm, which he cultivated for many years and at the age of seventy-seven he passed to his final rest, while his wife was sixty-five years of age at the time of her demise. Their family numbered seven children, who reached years of maturity: John, Maria, Benjamin, Annie, Betsey, Jacob and Barbara. The maternal grandfather of Mrs. Brassier was Peter Eby, a native of Pennsylvania, who followed the occupation of farming and was also a Mennonite preacher. He wedded Margaret Hess and both lived to an advanced age, rearing a large family, which included Peter, Christ, John, Henry, Ann Susan, Barbara, Elizabeth, Annie and Maria. The children of Mr. and Mrs. John Stauffer were eight in number: Benjamin, Fannie, Peter, Christ, John, Margaret, Annie and Barbara, and the only one now living is Mrs. Bressler. Following the removal of Mr. and Mrs. Bressler to Whiteside county he concentrated his time and energies upon his business interests in connection with the development and improvement of his farm and as the years passed by he extended its boundaries by the purchase of an additional sixty acres. Upon that place he resided for thirty-two years, bringing it under a high state of cultivation. In 1885 they removed to Sterling, where Mr. Bressler spent his remaining days in honorable retirement from labor.
They reared a family of nine children, who are a credit and honor to their name. Elizabeth, the eldest, is the wife of Martin Overholser, a resident of California, and they have four children : Ida, the wife of Walter McCaskill ; May, the wife of Lewis Seibert ; Grace, the wife of George Clements; and Lola, the wife of Walter Osterhoudt. Isaac Bressler, the second of the family, operating the old home farm in Jordan township, married Delora Brewer and they have three children, Fred, George and Carrie, the last named the wife of Frank Weatherwax. John Bressler, a farmer residing west of Sterling, married Ora Brewer and they have one son, Harry. Henry Bressler is living at home with his mother. Marcus, who follows farming in the state of Washington, married Leah Rutt and they have three children: Lura, the wife of Roy Kellogg; Floyd; and Margaret. Ida became the wife of Stephen Stiles and died leaving two children, Walter and Robert. Frank, a practicing physician of Chicago, married Maude Sheppard and they have a daughter, Helen. Adelia is the wife of Lorenzo Osterhoudt, a farmer residing east of Sterling, and they have two sons, Walter and Henry. Irving, the youngest of the family, died in infancy.
The father of this family died on Christmas day of 1905 and thus passed away one of the prominent and honored pioneer .settlers. He held various township offices, the duties of which he discharged with promptness, capability and fidelity. He did not seek to figure prominently in public life, however, as he found in his active business career that his farming interests claimed the greater part of his time and attention. He worked diligently year by year to attain success and eventually became possessed of a valuable property that enabled him in his later years to live retired and to leave his family in comfortable financial circumstances. He was devoted to the welfare and happiness of her who traveled life's journey by his side for many years as a devoted and loving wife. His many good traits of character gained him the respect of his fellowmen and his death was the occasion of wide-spread regret to all who knew him. [Whiteside County History - by Wm. Davis 1908]
ISAAC S. BRESSLER
Isaac S. Bressler, of the firm of Bressler Bros., farmers and stock-growers on section 35, Jordan Township, was born Aug. 23, 1851, on the section adjoining that on which he lives in Jordan Twp. He is a son of Henry Bressler, of whom a personal account is given in connection with that of Levi Bressler. Mr. Bressler spent the succeeding years of his youth in obtaining a fair elementary aeducation at the common schools. He finished his education at Mt. Vernon, Iowa, and he remained at home until his majority. At 21 he assumed the management of his grandfather's farm, which ws his first independent venture in that direction. He was married Jan. 14, 1874 at Sterling, to Delora, daughter of George W. and Elizabeth (Green) Brewer. She was born in the city of Sterling, where her parents yet reside, and where she was reared and educated. She is the mother of two boys, Fred and George. Mr. Bressler continued the management of the farm of his grandfather until December 1878 when he formed a business relation with his younger brother, John. They commenced farming together on 305 acres of land in Sterling Twp., at the same time establishing "Bressler's Dairy." They kept a dairy herd of 60 cows, selling milk in the city of Sterling. After two years ofjoint operation as general farmers, they began to breed superior Shorthorn Cattle. They are the owners of a stock farm on section 35, the old homestead, Jordan Twp. which includes 220 acres of land under tillage. They have 220 head of cattle in their herds, 60 head of which are Short Horn and the rest principally high grades. They have erected buildings especially for the purpose of giving their stock every care and protection suited to their wants. They maintain a drove of Poland-China swine, averaging 50 in number. Since September 1884 Mr. Bressler has been a resident and personal superintendent of the farm in Jordan Twp. while his brother is similarly situated on the rented place in Sterling Twp. They take much interest in the exhibitions of local agricultural societies, in which they have been successful competitors as farmers and stock-growers. Mr. Bressler is a Republican in political faith, and belongs to the Fourth Methodist Episcopal Church at Sterling, of which society his wife is also a member. [Whiteside County History 1880]
ISAAC S. BRESSLER, whose capably directed labor has gained him a place among the men of affluence in Jordan township, lives on Section 34, where he is now successfully carrying on general farming. He is one of Whiteside county's native sons, born August 23, 1851, a son of Henry Bressler, well known and honored as one of the pioneer residents of this part of the state. He attended the common schools until sixteen years of age and afterward had the benefit of a few terms instruction in Cornell College at Mount Vernon, Iowa. After leaving college he returned to his native county and from his grandfather, Isaac Bressler, rented a farm located on section 35, Jordan township. With characteristic energy he began its development and his labors were soon manifest in the improved condition of the fields. While on the old Bressler farm, Isaac S. Bressler was married to Miss Delora E. Brewer, a daughter of George W. Brewer, of Sterling. She was born December 14, 1851, in the city of Sterling and comes from sturdy old New England ancestry, her parents removing, however, from the state of New York to the west. George W. Brewer has made his home in Whiteside county since 1837 and is therefore one of its oldest residents. He was born near Cooperstown, Otsego county, New York, May 6, 1827, and was descended from Revolutionary ancestry, his paternal grandfather having been a soldier of the American army in the war for independence. His father, Henry Brewer, was a wagonmaker by trade and in 1836 made a prospecting trip to the middle west. The following year he started with his family for Whiteside county, Illinois, going down the Allegheny and Ohio rivers on a lumber raft. From Louisville he proceeded by steamboat to St. Louis and from that point came to Whiteside county. He assisted in building a number of the first houses of the county and his family was among the first to establish a home in this part of the state. He afterward built and conducted a wagon shop and was thus one of the earliest representatives of industrial interests in Whiteside county. He died February 27, 1848, while his wife passed away January 6, 1867. Their son, George W. Brewer, father of Mrs. Bressler, is the only survivor of a family of nine children. He has lived continuously in this county for more than seventy years and in early life worked at the wagonmaker's trade. Later he turned his attention to farming, which he followed for a long period, and later gave his attention to the purchase and sale of land. Acquiring, as the years passed by, a handsome competence, he is now living retired in the enjoyment of well earned rest. He was married March 4, 1851, to Elizabeth S. Green and they became the parents of four sons and six daughters, of whom Mrs. Bressler is the oldest surviving. Extended mention is made of George W. Brewer on another page of this work. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Bressler have been born three children: Fred Nelson, born September 12, 1876, married Miss Ray Zella Lamar, of Chicago, a daughter of Raymond Lamar, a photographer of that city. This marriage was celebrated in 1900 and unto Mr. and Mrs. Fred N. Bressler have been born three children: Gladys born June 30, 1901; Burton, deceased; and Edward, born November 19, 1907. Fred N. Bressler is a graduate of the country schools and further continued his studies in the high school and business college, being graduated from the latter with honors. At present he is identified with commercial interests in Sterling. George B. Bressler, the second son, born December 21, 1880, after attending the common schools pursued his education in the high school and business college of Sterling. In 1903 he went to Chicago, where he has since resided, and at present occupies a responsible position with Crane & Company, of that city. He was married in 1905 to Miss Dot Lee, of Chicago. Carrie E., born December 1, 1887, began her education in the district schools and afterward took up the study of music in Sterling. In 1907 she gave her hand in marriage to Frank L. Weatherwax, of Milledgeville, Carroll county, Illinois, a son of Thomas Weatherwax, deceased, an old settler of Carroll county. Mr. and Mrs. Frank L. Weatherwax are now living on her father's farm on Section 35, Jordan township. Isaac S. Bressler, became the owner of his present farm in 1883. He has always lived the life of an enterprising, active and energetic agriculturist and his labors are attended with a measure of success which has gained him place among the men of affluence in his county. His farm is a well developed property, in the midst of which stand substantial buildings, while everything about the place is indicative of the careful supervision and practical methods of the owner. He is widely known as a reliable business man and trustworthy citizen and has an extensive circle of friends in the county in which his entire life has been passed. [History of Whiteside County, Illinois 1908]
Levi Bressler is one of the prominent, enterprising farmers of Jordan Towsnship, and is located on section 35. He is the grandson of Peter and Elizabeth (Stoner) Bressler. The former was born in Germany, and was about six years of age when his parents emigrated thence to the US. They settled in Lancaster PA where Peter Bressler grew to man's estate. He was married there to Elizabeth Stoner, who was of German parentage and American birth. He was a blacksmith and farmer and both himself and his wife died in Lancaster County. Their youngest child and only son, Isaac, was the father of Mr. Bressler, of this present narration. He acquired a complete knowledge of farming in Lancaster County, where he was born and he was there married to Fanny Neff, a daughter of a Pennsylvania farmer, and a native of the same county. She was of German origin, and became the mother of 12 children of whom 11 are still living, and who are all married. One resides in Nebraska, two in PA and the remaining eight in Whiteside County. Isaac Bressler was a farmer, and in connection with his agricultural operations, managed an overland transportation business, carried on between the cities of Philadelphia, Wheeling and Pittsburg - the latter being the eastern terminus of the western water route. This was conducted by means of the famous "Contestoga" wagon, having a capacity of four to six tons, and drawn by six horses. This was the limit, as the route crossed the several mountain chains of the Appalachian system. He was a successful stock-grower and dealer. Among his pioneer experiences was that of being a passenger on the first railraod between Columbia dn Philadelphia, horses furnishing the motive power. The passengers were on the top of the car, and one was nearly killed while passing under a bridge, neglecting to stoop at the proper time. Associated with the armers of Lancaster County, he established the Lancaster Bank, in the city of the same name. He acted as one of the directors of the institution until 1856, when he removed to Whiteside COunty. He purchased extensive tracts of land in Jordan Twp. and in other portions of the county, making the aggregate of 700 acres. He built a large residence on his farm in Jordan Twp. and a barn of the variety known as a "bank", or Swisser barn, the fist structure of the kind in the township, if not in the county. He was born at the very close of the 18th century and died March 31, 1881, after a life of active usefulness, during the entire course of which he experienced but a few days illness. His death was caused by fatty degeneration of the heart at 82 years of age. The mother is still living at Sterling. She was born in 1800 and is 85 years of age. She has been some years nearly blind.
Levi Bressler lived in his native county until he wsa 25 years of age, and during the last five years of that time he drove a team for his father in the transportation business. In the spring of 1848 he came to IL an spent the ensuing summer in Whiteside COunty, returning in the fall to PA, where he remained until he exchanged his bachelor condition for that of a benedict. He was united in marriage March 26, 1850 in Lancaster Co to Frances Eby. She was born Oct. 10, 1823, in Leacock Twp., Lancaster Co PA and is the daughter of a Pennsylvania farmer of German extraction, Abraham and Elizabeth (Groff) Eby. her parents were lifelong residents of the State of PA. Mrs. Bressler died at her home in Jordan Twp. Jan. 18, 1879 leaving five children. One little one preceded her to the home of eternal peace. She as a devoted adherent of the Mennonite faith. Mary F. died Jan. 31, 1861; Emma E. lives at home; Louisa married John S. Landis a farmer of Sterling Twp; Amanda is the wife of Henry R. Rutt, a farmer of Jordan Twp.; Lydia is the wife of Frank P. Wilson and lives on the homestead of her father; Mary is also at home.
In 1850 Mr. Bressler came with his young wife to Jordan Twp. and located on Section 35. He is now the owner of 240 acres, situated on sections 33, 34, and 35, which is chiefly under excellent cultivation, and furnished with first-class farm buildings. In political faith and connections he is a Republican of the genuine stamp. [Portrait and Biographical Whiteside Co IL 1885 Pg 581]
AUREN S. BREWER
Of Tampico Township
Auren S. Brewer, farmer and stock-raiser, section 23, Tampico Township, was born in Berkshire Co., Mass., March 18, 1838. His father, Hiram Brewer, also a native of the Bay State, was a farmer and mechanic, but is now retired and resides in Washington, D.C., where he was a time-keeper for the Government during the erection of the extension of the Capitol building. The maiden name of the mother of Auren S. was Clarissa Hollister, also a native of Massachusetts. Both the parents were of Scotch descent and of New England ancestry. When Mr. Brewer, the subject of this sketch, was 14 years of age, his parents removed with their family to Maryland, settling near the United States capitol. At the age of 22 he set out upon the beffeting sea of life for himself, and the first position he had was the charge of the transfer while constructing the bridges, and then the superintendency of a division of the Orange & Alexandria Railroad, for a period of two years. Next, he was in the service of the Adams Express Company for some time. The route changing to the Southern Express Company, he continued as express messenger for a period. At this time the War of Rebellion was inaugurated, and Mr. Brewer accepted the position of Inspector of Guns for the Confederate Army; but in the fall of 1862 he returned North. In this movement, he experienced some difficulty, as the rebels, supposing him to be a Federal spy, interrupted his travels. He next accepted a position in the banking house of Lewis, Johnson & Co., at Washington City (yet in existence), and remained there nine years; then he was employed at the Patent Office two years; then in the Treasury Department until 1877, when he emigrated West and located upon his present farm, near Tampico, which he had bought in 1867. It comprises 240 acres, well improved, and is a splendid place. Besides, he still owns property in Washington, which yields an annual rental of $600, besides several small tenements. He is one of the most extensive farmers in that part of the county, and makes a specialty of raising Clydesdale horses and Shorthorn cattle. In his principles of civil government, he is a stanch Republican, and he takes a zealous hold of local interests; he has been Township Supervisor since the spring of 1884, and has also held other offices in the township. He was marries July 12, 1870, in Milford Otsego Co., N. Y., to Miss Amelia A. Barnard, who was born in Milford, April 14, 1837. Her parents were Deacon M. and Adelia (Grover) Barnard, natives respectively of New York and New England, and of English ancestry. Her parents dying early in her life, she began school teaching at the age of 16 years. After teaching about three terms, she graduated at the Delaware Literary Institute at Franklin Delaware Co., N. Y., at the age of 20 years old. She succeeded well in her calling. Mr. And Mrs. Brewer have had three children, namely: Hattie, who was born June 28, 1871, and died April 15, 1879; Clara, who was born September 10, 1873; and Freddie, born September 29,1875. Mrs. Brewer is a member of the Presbyterian Church. [1885 Portrait and Biographical of Whiteside Co]
D. PORTER BREWER
Of Portland Township
D. Porter Brewer a native of Berkshire county, Massachusetts, was born in 1809, and came to Portland in 1837. He is still residing on his old farm. In 1834 Mr. Brewer married Miss Emeline Hollister. Their children have been: Fernando N., who married Miss Delia Frary, and lives in Lyndon; Elizabeth, wife of H. L. Osborn, living in Lyndon; Lucelia, wife of S. A. Langdon, living in Lyndon; James 0., who married Miss Rebecca Wenner, and lives in Portland; and Esther M., wife of Harrison Upton, living in Lyndon. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County IL 1877]
F. A. Brewer, carrying on general agriculture pursuits in Tampico township and also serving as township supervisor, being an active factor in matters of public progress and improvement, was born in Washington, D. C., September 26, 1875. He is a son of A. S. Brewer, a well known resident of Tampico, and remained with his father until twenty-one years of age, being reared upon the home farm, with the duties and labors of which he early became familiar. His early education was acquired in the public schools and later he attended the Northwestern University at Evanston, Illinois, of which he is a graduate. He was thus well qualified for work in the educational field and became principal of the high school at Tampico, where he remained for five years, giving excellent satisfaction by his practical and progressive methods of teaching. On the expiration of that period, however, he resumed general agricultural pursuits and rented his father's farm, upon which he now lives. He has been locataed here for five years and makes a spcialty of the raising of full blended Durham cattle. He operates two hundred and forty acres of rich and productive land on section 23, Tampico township, which belongs to his father, who is now living retired in the vilage of Tampico. Mr. Brewer of this review is an energetic agriculturalist, whose practical, progressive methods are manifest in the excellent appearance of his farm. He brings sound judgment to bear on all matters of decision relating to the improvement of his place and in his business dealings is as reliable as he is industrious.
On the 23d of August, 1900, Mr. Brewer was married to Miss Cora Blanchard, who was born in Portland MI October 6, 1876, a daughter of Emery M. and Ada (Simmons) Blanchard. The father was born in Canada and the mother in the state of Michigan and they are now residencts of Michigan. Mr. and Mrs. Brewer had but one child a son, who died in infancy. Mrs. Brewer is a member of the Metehodist Episcopal church and Mr. Brewer is a Presbyterian. In politics Mr. Brewer is a republican and is now filling the position of supervisor of Tampico township and also that of school trustee. He belongs to the Masonic lodge and is in full sympathy with the principles of the craft which is based upon mutual helpfulness and brotherly kindness. He is a young man of broad general intelligence and laudable ambition, who is making for himself a creditable place in the business circles and public life of his community. [History of Whiteside Co. Wm. Davis 1908]
GEORGE W. BREWER
George W. Brewer, a retired farmer, residing at Sterling, was born May 6, 1827 in Otsego Co., N.Y., his parents being Henry and Lucinda (Johnson) Brewer, natives alsoof the Empire State. His father was a wagonmaker and millwright. The subject whose names heads this sketch, was an inmate of the parental home until of age, receiving a common-school education and acquiring a practical knowledge of the wagon-maker's trade of his father. This vocation he continued to follow until he was about 25 year of age. He came to Sterling in February, 1838, and is therefore the oldest male resident of the place.
When he discontinued his trade he exchanged his shop and business for a farm of 160 acres in Sterling Twp: but within six weeks he sold the farm, at a net gain of $1,625; then he bought another farm and sold it. In 1855 he engaged in mercantile business at Sterling for a year, and then turned his attention to farming and dealing in farms, horses and cattle, until 1881. At the present time he has only 100 acres, and that he rents. He has a fine residence in block 26, east of Broadway. He generally votes the Republican ticket. Mr. Brewer was married March 4, 1851 to Elizabeth S. Green, a native of New York State, and of their ten children the following four are living; Dolora E., Orra L., Carrie M. and Myrtie M. The first named was married Jan. 14, 1874 to Isaac S. Bressler and their two children are Fredie N., born Sept. 12, 1876 and George B., Dec. 21, 1881. [Transcribed by Marji Turner from Portraits & Biographical History of Whiteside 1885]
HARLAN L. BREWER
Harlan L. Brewer, proprietor of the "Brewer House " at Rock Falls, was born at Black Rock, N. Y., Feb. 7, 1845. His parents, Addison and Maria (Adams) Brewer, farmers, came West in 1846 and settled at Binghamton, Lee Co., Ill., on land which they bought of the Government. After a residence there of five years they removed to Dixon, Ill., where Mr. B. started a wagon shop and pursued his business there a year. He then sold out and returned to Binghamton, purchasing a hotel, which he conducted until his death, which was caused by his team running away and throwing him out upon the ground.
When 16 years old, young Harlan enlisted in Co. B, 12th Ill. Vol. Inf., Sept. 13, 1861, under Col. John McArthur, and participated in many important engagements, among which were the battles of Fort Doualdson, Shiloh, Corinth, in front of Atlanta, etc., and in Sherman's march to the sea. He veteranized Dec. 31, 1863, and took part in the Grand Review at Washington. He was mustered out at Louisville, Ky., July 10, 1865.
Returning from the war, he for two years was a brakeman on the Illinois Central Railroad, and then promoted as conductor. He followed railroading for 13 years. He next took charge of the "Baltic House " as proprietor, changing its name to " Brewer House," which he is now successfully conducting. He is a member of the A. O. U. W. and of the G. A. R. In politics he is a Republican, and he has held the offices of Village Trustee and Constable at Rock Falls. He was married Dec. 31, 1866 (no record in IL), to Miss Amelia Doolittle, a native of Binghamton, Broome Co., N. Y. They have had two children: Stella May, born Nov. 10, 1869; and Villette D., June 25, 1878, who died June 28, 1883. [Portrait & Biographical Pg 213]
OF Sterling Twp
Henry Brewer was born in New York State, December 2, 1788, and married Miss Lucinda Johnson, December 2, 1812. He came to the West in 1836, and settled at first on the farm now owned by P. Bacchus Besse, in Portland township. In February, 1837, he came to Harrisburg. Mr. Brewer took the water route when coming West, first floating down the Alleghany and Ohio rivers on a raft as far as Louisville, Kentucky, and shipping his family and goods on a steamer to St. Louis. While the vessel was lying at the wharf at St. Louis one evening, Mr. Brewer being on shore, and Mrs. Brewer engaged with the children on deck, the cry was raised “a man overboard.” Mrs. B. thinking it might be her hushand ran with a candle in her hand to the river side of the boat to ascertain, and accidentally fell into the water near the wheel which was being turned by the current. One of the hands on the steamer noticing the accident, ran behind the wheel judging she would catch hold of it in her fall, so at to be ready to rescue her as she rode with it. This opinion proved to be correct, and as the wheel made its revolution she was found clinging to one of the buckets with one hand, and still keeping hold of the candle with the other. In this condition she was taken on board, not only thoroughly drenched, but thoroughly frightened. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Brewer were; William, born September 10, 1813; Harry, born November 19, 1815; Mary, born January 18, 1818; Lucena, born February 27, 1821; Lucinda, February 4, 1823; Harriet, born July 28,1825; George W., May 6, 1827; and John, born Jannary 19,1834. Three died in infancy. Harriet died in Harrisburgh, February 11, 1841; John died March 14, 1841, and William, June 27,1844. Lucena married Porter Greene, and died in Wisconsin in 1864, leaving five children. Harry married Miss Helen Adams, of Van Buren county Iowa. Mary married Daniel Drake, October 22, 1836; children, Harry L., who died in the army, Lucinda M., Lucetta, Henry, Frank, and David; Mr. Drake died in California,. and Mrs. Drake afterwards married Dr. Walker who became a surgeon during the late war, and died in the service. Lucinda married James Bradley, February 13, 1844; children, Otho J., Rosetta, and Deborah; the two latter are dead; Otho J. lives in California; Mr. Bradley was killed by Indians in California, and Mrs. Bradley married John S. Bass; children, Herbert, Mary, Darrow, and Seymour. George W. married Miss Elizabeth S. Green; children, Deborah E, Orra L., Emma, George N., Hattie L., Charles D, William H, Addie, C, and Carrie M; Emma, George N., Hattie L., Charles D., William H., and Addie C., are dead; Mr. Brewer learned the wheelwright business in the shop of his father, then followed farming for a time and afterwards engaged in the grocery business in Sterling. Henry Brewer the father, died February 27, 1848, at the age of 59; Mrs. Brewer died January 8, 1867, aged 78. [History of Whiteside County, Illinois, Bent - Wilson 1877 **Transcriber's Note - Henry Brewer was the son of John & Mary (Twist) Brewer]
Nathan Brewer, a farmer residing on section 24, Portland Township, and the owner of 217 acres on sections 24 and 25, is the son of Jonas and Malinda (Orton) Brewer, and was born in what is now Monterey, Berkshire Co., Mass., March 25, 1804. His father was born in the same county and State and was a farmer by occupation, and his mother was likewise born in Berkshire County. The issue of their union was seven children, only three of whom are now living. Nathan is the oldest. Lucy was the wife of Grove Terrell, deceased, and resides in Tampico, this county. Emily is the wife of Miles Sperry, a farmer residing in Connecticut. Mr. Brewer resided on his father’s farm until the date of his marriage, which occurred in Monterey, Berkshire Co., Mass. The lad whom he selected to share his sorrows, his joys, his successes and his failures, was Miss Louisa Chapin. Their union has been blest with seven children, six of whom survived: Lucia, born Dec. 23, 1835; Balinda, born Oct. 1, 1837; Edgar J., born Nov. 11, 1839; Warrant S., born Oct. 16, 1841; Wallace N., born Sept. 2, 1843; Watson M., born Aug. 28, 1845; John M., born March 30, 1848, and died June 27, 1881. July 24, 1859, Mrs. Brewer departed to the land of the hereafter, and Mr. Brewer was again united in marriage to Sarah Dudley, which event occurred Jan. 24, 1870. Mrs. Dudley was the widow of William Dudley, and had five children by her former marriage, namely: Adline, John, Ominda, George and Frank W. Frank W. is at present engaged in running the farm of 217 acres.In 1851 Mr. Brewer came West and located where he now resides. He purchased at first 51 acres, and has subsequently added by purchase until he has increased his landed interests to 217 acres. [Transcribed by Marji Turner from Portraits & Biographical History of Whiteside 1885 Pg. 438]
Hezekiah Brink was born May 21, 1809, in the State of Vermont. While be was an infant the family moved to Erie county, New York; thence to Pennsylvania, and soon afterwards to New Richmond, near Cincinnati, Ohio. Mr. Brink’s father was a soldier of the war of 1812, and was killed in a battle near Buffalo, New York. His widow married Samuel S. Geer and moved from Ohio to Carroll county, Kentucky. After a stay of two years the family changed their residence to Madison, Indiana, where the subject of our sketch served an apprenticesbip of five years at the hatter’s trade. In 1834, Mr. Brink came to Whiteside county, and made a claim on section 22, in the present township of Sterling. A reference to his exploring expedition through a portion of Rock River Valley prior to making his claim will be found in the history of the township. Mr. Brink, and Messrs. Andrews and Holland, who made the exploring expedition with him; together with a Mr. Bisbie who accompanied Mr. Brink back from Fox river, and Wm. Andrews, first commenced work on the Holland claim where Como now is. The horses and oxen owned by the party, being found insufficient to break prairie, Mr. Brink was despatched to Bureau county to secure an additional yoke of oxen, and a plow. A cabin was erected for Bisbie near the location of the old Como dam, and another one afterwards built near the drive to the ferry landing.
Three or four days were spent in breaking prairie, when the whole party was prostrated with fever. The settlement was then abandoned, and the party went to Sugar Grove, Mr. Brink putting up with Benj. Stewart, and the others at John Morgan’s. Mr. Holland soon afterwards died; Bisbie returned to Fox river, and Andrews to Dixon. Andrews afterwards sold his claim at Como to Jason Hopkins, and those of Holland and Bisbie were abandoned. In 1834, Mr. Brink broke five acres on section 22, where John Stauffer now lives. Wolves were then numerous and bold, at times being so audacious as to steal Mr. Brink’s dinner from his wagon. In November of that year be built a log cabin of round logs on the lot where Mr. Cross now lives, on block 34, east of Broadway, Sterling. In 1836, Mr. Brink broke prairie for William Kirkpatrick, where the Fair Grounds are now located. He also broke five acres during the same year for Anthony Sells, where Mr. Reed now resides, and several acres in 1835 near the Big Spring in Coe's Grove, for S. Miles Coe. In 1837, he built a saw and grist mill, and a carding machine, the latter of which he sold to Adam Knot. The mill property was sold to Joel Harvey, in 1847. Mr. Brink built another saw mill on the Elkhorn in 1850, which he sold to Smiths and Weber.
He married Miss Martha Buckhannan, September 25, 1829, in Ripley county, Indiana. Their children have been: Thomas and Mary, who died in infancy; Samuel, born July 21, 1834; Margara, born February 25, 1836; David, born April 7, 1838. Mrs. Brink died October 16, 1839, and Mr. Brink married Miss Sophronia L. Guffin, October 11, 1840. The children by this marriage have been: Harvey, born November 30, 1841; Caroline; born February 7, 1845; Albert, born March 2, 1847; Julia L., born March 26, 1849; Newton L., born August 11, 1851; Alma, born November 9, 1853; Ada M., born September 8, 1855; Ella, born April 13, 1858; Martha Belle, born September 9, 1860, and Allen H., born May 21, 1865. Sixteen children were born of the two marriages, of whom nine are now living; Margara married A. .B. Crandall, in 1855. Charles died in 1844, and Alma in September, 1854. Harvey died of typhoid fever at Nashville, Tennessee, while a member of Company D, 75th Illinois Volunteers; Samuel died at Burmuda Hundred, being then a Sergeant in Company G, 39th Illinois Volunteers. David is now a resident of Page county, Iowa; he served during the war in Company B, l3th Illinois Volunteers. Albert resides in Sterling; he was also in the war, and served in Company 0, 39th Illinois Vol., Newton resides in Pottawottamie county, Iowa, Caroline married H. N. Bartholomew, and lives in Powesheik county; Iowa. Julia L. married Daniel Cole. Mr. Cole died and she afterwards married J. M, Armstrong, and now in Rock Falls The remaining children are living in Sterling. [From The Whiteside County History 1877 - Bent-Wilson]
JOHN J. BRISTLE
OF Ustick Twp., Whiteside Co IL
John J. Bristle is one of the most progressive agriculturists of Whiteside county. He owns about four hundred and sixty-seven acres of rich farming land in Union Grove and Ustick townships, has remodeled the buildings upon his place and has a well furnished modern residence. Everything about his farm bespeaks the supervision of a practical, progressive owner and the success which he has achieved attests the value of the methods he has followed in carrying on his work. He is one of the county's native sons, his birth having occurred near Sterling, September 29, 1858. His father, George J. Bristle, was born in Germany in 1828 and came to America at the age of twenty-six years, first settling in Ohio, whence he afterward came to Illinois and entered the employ of Dr. Pendleton, of Sterling. In 1843 he made his first purchase of land, becoming owner of ten acres, and when he had saved a sufficient sum from his earnings he bought forty acres in Ustick township, upon which he resided until 1887. He then removed to Clyde township, where he lived for a number of years, after which he invested in property in Morrison and retired to private life, enjoying throughout his remaining days the fruits of his earnest and unremitting toil. There he died April 27, 1904, and his genuine worth as a man and citizen made his death the occasion of deep regret to many friends. He has one brother residing in the middle west, Simon Bristle, who is now living retired in Boone, Iowa, while another brother, Fred Bristle, died in Sterling. The mother of our subject bore the maiden name of Dorothy Eslinger. She was born in Germany in 1831 and was married in Ohio, where her parents continued to reside until they were called to their final rest. Unto Mr. and Mrs. George J. Bristle were born four children: John J.; Lewis, who is now living retired in Morrison; Lizzie Landis Bristle, who died in Coleta in 1903; and Mrs. Susan Deeters, of Morrison.
As a farm boy John J. Bristle spent the period of his minority and in assisting his father in carrying on the home farm he laid the foundation for his present success. He has always followed general agricultural pursuits and is today the owner of valuable property of neat and attractive appearance. In his business career he accomplishes what he undertakes and brooks no obstacles that can be overcome by determined, persistent effort.
On the 25th of December, 1882, Mr. Bristle was married to Miss Adda Body. Her father, Isaac Body, was born July 12, 1837, in Iroquois county, Illinois, where his parents, Isaac and Mary (Myers) Body, had located on coming from Pennsylvania. Isaac Body was reared to the occupation of farming, which he chose as a life work, and when twenty-six years of age he started out on his own account. In 1863 he came to Whiteside county and for a year cultivated a rented farm in Ustick township. In the suceeeding year he purchased eighty acres of land, which he cultivated with satisfactory and substantial results. He has erected here an excellent class of buildings and the farm is most pleasantly located, while its improvements make it a valuable property. His interests now include two hundred and twenty acres in Ustick township and one hundred and twenty acres in Clyde township, all of which is cultivable.
On the 13th of November, 1860, Isaac Body was married in Carroll county, Illinois, to Miss Cyrena Dyson and they became parents of seven children: Adda, the wife of John Bristle; Charles C., a farmer and stock- raiser living in Trumbull county, South Dakota; Della E., the wife of George Tyson, of Portland, Oregon; Mary L., the wife of Herman Dykema, living ou a farm in Ustick township; Samuel M., a resident of Portland, Oregon; Elmer J., who died September 26, 1894; and Etta C., the wife of Albert Mathews, also a resident farmer of Ustick township. The father of this family died Angust 12, 1887, being killed in a wreck. He was a republican in his political views and both he and his wife were members of the Methodist church. Mrs. Body was born November 15, 1839, in Carroll county, IIlinois and is still living. Her parents were Hezekiah and Ruth (Mclndoo) Dyson, natives of Indiana, whence they removed to Carroll county, Illinois, when it was still a frontier district. Their children were James, Charles. William, Cyrena, Hezekiah, Ruth, Cornelius, Margaret A., Dimmis D. and Mary E. Dyson.
After their marriage Mr. and Mrs. Bristle located on the old home place in Ustick township, comprising one hundred and sixty acres of land, upon which Mr. Fish now resides, having rented the property for sixteen years. in 1893 they removed to Morrison, where they resided for nine years and then purchased the farm which is now their home, becoming owners of this propety October 11, 1898. Since that time Mr. Bristle has remodeled all of the buildings and now has a nice, well furnished modern home and also ample shelter for grain and stock. His possessions aggregate four hundred and sixty- seven acres of rich and productive land in Union Grove and Ustick townships and the farm is productive and valuable. He is also extensively engaged in stock-raising, feeding on an average of three carloads of cattle and hogs per year. He grinds his grain with a new gasoline engine, which he has lately installed, and he uses all of the latest improved machinery to facilitate the work of the fields and the farm. Everything about the place is indicative of his progressive spirit and the wisdom of his judgment concerning business matters is manifest in his success.
Unto Mr. and Mrs. Bristle have been born two daughters and a son. May, who was born November 27, 1883, is now the wife of Paul Wilson, a farmer or Ustick township. Ruth, born August 14, 1885, died November 12 1893; George, born December 5, 1889, attended school in Morrison and is now assistiug his father in carrying on the home farm, being a young man of good business ability and enterprise.
Mr. Bristle votes with the republican party and is in thorough sympathy with its principles and purposes, but is not, a politician in the sense of office seeking. His ambition has been to acquit himself of life's duties honorably before all men, to improve his capabilities and opportunities and to become of use in the world; and it is to this spirit mainly that he owes his advancement. [History of Whiteside Co by W.W. Davis]
J. W. Broadhead, dealer in general merchandise, successor to Herrold, Broadhead and Co., Fulton. The business was founded by Herrold & Church in 18??. In 1873 Mr. Broadhead and a younger brother of Mr. Church purchased the elder Church's interest and the firm became Herrold, Broadhead & Co. The business was conducted under this head till 1878, when Mr. Broadhead bought out Mr. Church, and in the spring of 1883 purchased his remaining partner's interest and became sole proprietor. He carries an extensive stock of general merchandise, exceeding anything in that line in Fulton. His stock is selected with great care, with a view to suiting his customers. Six salesmen are employed in the business.
Mr. Broadhead was born near Jamestown, Chautauqua Co., N. Y., May 20, 1850, and is the son of James and Caroline (Van Ness) Broadhead. He came to Fulton with his parents in 1857, and was educated in the public schools of this city. His father was a blacksmith by trade, and J. W. was employed a part of his time as an assistant in the shop. In 1867 he engaged with Herrold & Church, general merchants at Fulton, as salesman. After having had six years experience in the business, he purchased an interest in the house, and in the spring of 1883 became sole proprietor, as before stated. Mr. B. has demonstrated his capacity to conduct an extensive business successfully. He has a good reliable trade and is considered one of the leading merchants of Whiteside County. He was married at Fulton, Ill., in February, 1877, to Miss Alice Robinson, daughter of Bradstreet Robinson, one of Fulton's oldest and most respected citizens. Mrs. Broadhead was born at Fulton. They have three children, all girls, Elsie, Helen and Sylvia. Mr. Broadhead is a member of Fulton City Lodge, No. 189, A. F. & A. M., and is Republican in politics. [Whiteside County History 1880 , Transcribed by Christine Walters]
OF Genesee Township
Ephraim Brookfield was born in Genesee County NY. He went to California in 1849; when he returned he attended school at Knox College, Galesburg. He afterwards taught school several years. He married Harriet Yager in September 1859. Children: Louis E born June 6 1860, Fannie M born December 29 1863; Ellen T born November 17 1872 and Dora born September 12 1874. Fannie M died March 22 1875. Mr Brookfield was clerk in the store of J T Crum at Genesee Grove. He afterwards became a partner, and finally bought out Crum, carrying on the business in his own name at Coleta for 14 years. During all this time he labored with an energy and tact that but few men possess. In 1874 he sold the stock and building to H S Wickey and commenced banking in Rock Falls on his own capital. His health failing, he was compelled to seek a warmer climate. He went to Florida, but died January 10, 1876 and was buried in the Sterling Cemetery. [Extracted from Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 227]
Of Genesee Township
Isaac Brookfield was born in the State of New York, July 9, 1791. He came and settled in Genesee Grove in July 1837, building a log cabin. After six years he moved to Indiana, but returned in 1858 and settled in Sterling, and worked at his trade as shoemaker until 1874. Since then he was an invalid. He died January 23 1877 at the ripe age of 86. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County IL 1877]
L. EDWIN BROOKFIELD
L. Edwin Brookfield, President and Treasurer of the Rock Falls Manufacturing Company (specialty, burial cases), was born in Coleta, this county, June 5, 1860. His parents were Ephraim and Harriet (Yager) Brookfield, and were natives of the Empire State. His father was a banker at Rock Falls, and died Jan. 10, 1876. The subject of this sketch remained at home with his parents until 1883, being educated at the public schools of Sterling; and at the early age of 17 he took charge of the business of the Rock Falls Manufacturing Company, which was organized in August, 1877, and now does a business of $100,000 annually. In 1884, he built, at Rock Falls, the Brookfield Block, on Main Street, containing three stores — one for hardware, one for dry goods, boots and shoes and one for a restaurant. This block cost $10,000. Mr. Brookfield also owns a farm of 80 acres in Genesee Township, this county, and three houses in Sterling, where he resides. Though so young, he has already become one of the leading business men of the place. Mr. Brookfield was married September 15, 1882, to Miss Helen J. Galt, daughter of Thomas A. and Catherine (Anthony) Galt, of Sterling. They have one daughter, born June 14, 1883, and named Emily C. In his political sympathies Mr. B. is a Republican, and he is a member of the Order of Knights Templars. [Portrait & Biographical 1885 Pg. 574]
OF Portland Township
Alphonso Brooks was born in Onondaga county, New York, in 1812, and came to Du Page county, Illinois, in 1833, and to Portland, Whiteside county in 1835. His family came in the spring of 1836. He lived for six years what is now known as the Wallingford farm, and and after that near Spring Hill where he kept a public house for twenty-two years. He has been Supervisor, Town Clerk, and Justice of the Peace, of the township, and also postmaster. He is still living. Mr. Brooks has been twice married. His first wife was Miss Eliza Teats, and his second, Mrs. Mary Whitcomb, whom he married in 1872. The children are: Benjamin F., who married Miss Mary Lanphere and lives in Portland; Alice, who married Jacob Shetters, and lives in Iowa, Marion, who married Miss Eliza Woodside, and lives in Iowa; and Rose E; who married James Parks, and lives in Iowa. [Extracted from Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 352]
Of Coloma Township
Daniel Brooks was born and reared in Conneaut Ohio. Settled in the territory now Coloma in 1837. He was one of the first Justices of Rapids Precinct. A hardy pioneer, honest and manly and esteemed by all who knew him. He went to Californai in 1849, and died in San Francisco, after a few hours illness, of Asiatic cholera. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County IL 1877]
PARDON A. BROOKS
Of Lyndon Township
Pardon A. Brooks was born at Rockfield, Worcester county, Massachusetts, May 20, 1806, and came to Lyndon in 1837. He married Miss Olive Dean, September 12, 1833. Their children have been: Hiram P., born July 18, 1834; William H., born June 30,1837; Isabella, born November 10, 1839; Susan L born February 26, 1843; Lucien B., born June 27, 1848; Samuel P. born June 17, 1850, and Rufus F., born April 5,1852. Isabella and Lucien died in infancy. Mrs. Brooks died August 4, 1857, and on the 5th of September, 1859, Mr. Brooks married Miss Julia Reynolds. The children by this marriage were: Horace M., born August 16, 1860; George E., born December 12, 1862, died in infancy; Esther M., born July 18, 1865. Susan L. married Frank J. Coles October October 30, 1862; one child, Frank B. Mr. Brooks brought the first separating threshing machine into the state from Maine by way of New Orleans to Alton, where he commenced running it with good success. [Bent & Wilson History 1877]
REV. ADELFORD J. BROWN
Rev. Adelford J. Brown, Pastor of teh First Baptist church of Sterling, was born in Madison Co., NY Oct. 1, 1850. His parents were William (a mason by trade) and Elizabeth (Belknap) Brown. At the age of 13 years he was "bound out" to Amos Hemstreet, a farmer, until of age, with the understanding that he should then receive $150 and two suits of clothes, but his behavior was so good that he was set free at 18 with this bonus. The reason that he was "bound out" was his father's entering the US Army in 1862, when the family was too large and dependent to remain together at home. Two of the children were accordingly indentured. When Mr. Brown left Mr. Hemstreet, he attended the Cazenovia NY Seminary three years and graduated, and then attended teh Syracuse NY University two years. Making a profession of religion at the age of 17, he continued his Christian career with zeal and began to preach the gospel while a student at Syracuse, having his apopointment at Colmar, six miles distant. He was Pastor of the Baptist Church at the latter place, and while sustaining this relation he was blest with a revival, resulting in 104 conversion. After leaving Colmar he taught school at Upper Lisle, Broome Co NY and next, by the advice of his father-in-law, he purchased a farm in Chenango County, and followed agriculture three years; then, receiving a call from West Danby, Tompkins Co., NY he sold his farm and engaged in the ministry as a "supply" at that place. He was ordained May 7, 1879, at Scott's Corners, Seneca Co NY and accepted a call from the Baptist Church at that place and was in their service three years. Next, he accepted a call from the Baptist Church at Sennett, Cayuga Co NY, where he served two years; then he served the church at Dansville NY about two years; and finally in January 1885, he received and accepted a call from the Sterling IL Baptist Church and he removed here and commenced his pastoral labors on the 15th day of February following. His flock numbers 240. Oct. 28, 1873 Mr. Brown married Miss Hattie R. Eaton, a native of Willett, Cortland Co NY and a daughter of Peter Eaton, a Methodist clergyman. Mr. and Mrs. Brown have two chilren - Earl O. and Hattie E. [Portrait & Biographical Pg 284]
MRS. AURA T. (LINDLEY) BROWN
Of Portland Twp.
Mrs. Aura T. Brown, a resident on Section 16, Portland Township, occupies a farm of 220 acres. She is a daughter of Jeremiah and Abigail Lindley, and was born in Tinmouth, Rutland Co., VT. Oct. 8, 1807. She was married in Middletown, that county, Jan. 2, 1832 to Vivalda Brown, who as a son of Jonathan Brown. The latter was born in Wells, same county, May 5, 1807. They had nine children - Jeremiah D., a farmer in Lancaster Co Neb.; Charlotte S., deceased; Albert O., also deceased; Jonathan, who died in the late war; Alanson L., residing in Idado; Cordelia M., James V., Martha M., allof whom are deceased and Mary J. the wife of Pliny Brown, a farmer and blacksmith in Kansas. Mr. Brown was a shoe and harness maker. He, with his family, moved from Vermont to Pennsylvania, and after a residence of three years, there, to Aurora, Erie Co NY where he followed his trade. In October 1850 they came to Prophetstown, this county, and in 1852 moved upon their farm, which Mr. Brown bought in July 1849. Upon this place he made a number of improvements, as house, barn, fences, etc. He died at his home, July 4, 1871. Mrs. B. now rents the farm. [Portrait & Biographical Pg 381]
ELEARY C. BROWN
Of Tampico Township
Eleary C. Brown, general farmer and stock-raiser, section 28, Tampico Township, was born in Otsego Co., N.Y., April 19, 1829, his father being Allen Brown, a mason and farmer, and a native also of that State. At the age of 24 years, having previously learned the trade of stone-mason, he came West, spent a few months in La Salle County, this State, and in 1854 entered an 80-acre tract in Tampico Township; and on this he commenced to make improvements, while boarding with a neighbor, and soon he made his residence upon it. This is the place he still occupies, but he has increased his landed possessions to 320 acres, all improved and in fine condition. Mr. Brown has an imported stallion from France, valued at $2,000.
Dec. 6, 1857, is the date of Mr. Brown's marriage, at Erie, this county (Whiteside), to Miss Catherine, daughter of of William H. and Susan (Vanbiber) Gray. Her parents were natives of Ohio, and of English ancestry, who settled on a farm in Athens Co., Ohio, where Mrs. Brown was born, July 25, 1835. She was 12 years of age when the family changed residence to a point near Pekin, Ill. Afterward they moved to New Bedford, Bureau County, and finally to Erie, this county, where she was educated. Mr. and Mrs. Brown have been the parents of four children, two of whom have died. The living are: Herbert E. born Oct. 6, 1859, residing at home; and Willis, who was born Feb. 5, 1861, married Miss Minnie Badgley, and resides in Tampico, the owner of 80 acres on section 27 in this township. Their biographical sketches are given more fully elsewhere in this volume. The deceased are Estella, who died Nov. 23, 1861, at the age of about three years; and Mary, who was born Dec. 18, 1863, and died Sept. 9, 1864. Mr. Brown, the subject of this sketch, in his political views, is a National Greenbacker. He has been honored by his fellow citizens with the offices of Justice of the Peace, and Township Clerk, Treasurer, Trustee, etc. Both himself and Mrs. B. are members of the Methodist Protestant Church. [Portraits & Biographical Pg 612]
ERICK P. BROWN
Erick P. Brown, residing at Prophetstown, is a son of Philip B. Brown, deceased and was born in the village in which he at present resides, Dec. 19, 1853. Phili B. Brown, father of the subject was born in Rutland Co Vt., June 21, 1821. He was a son of Philip Brown and was united in marriage to Miss Adeliza D. Nichols, daughter of E.G. and Elizabeth G. Nichols. She was born Oct. 27, 1826 and bore to her husband four children, three of whom are living - Erick P, Ernest M. born Feb. 22, 1855, died Sept. 17, 1878; Nicholas B. born May 6, 1857, Bertha E born July 21, 1859 is the wife of R.C. Forkey, a clerk in Baldwin's store, Prophetstown. Philip Brown came to this county in 1847 and located in Prophetstown Township on Sections 3 and 10, and when the land came into market paid $1.25 an acre for 160 acres on which his son Nicholas B. at present resides. While living, he made a specialty of fine hourses and cattle, and devoted his time to the cultivation of his farm. He died on the old homestead, lamented and mourned by a host of relatives and friends, Oct. 4, 1880. His widow still survives and is at present residing with her daughter at Prophetstown. Eric P. Brown, subject of this biographical, was reared and educated in Prophetstown. On arriving at about the age of 14, he returned to the homestead in Prophetstown Township, where he taught school for about 2 years. His education had been cquired in the schools of Prophetstown and he graduated from teh Commercial College at Clinton in 1876. In March 1883, Mr. Brown entered the drug store of J.H. Mosher at Prophetstown, with whom he has remained until the present time. He has acquired a full knowledge of the drug business in all its different details, adn expects to continue in the same. [Portrait & Biographical Pg 795]
Frank Brown, who follows general farming on section 22, Hume township, was born in Yew York city, April 12. 1858, his parents being James and Catherine (Gaulropp) Brown. The father, whose birth occurred in Germany on the 7th of December, 1832, is still living on his farm on section 22, Hume township, having passed the seventy-fifth milestone on 1ifes journey. His wife, who was born November 12, 1836, in Germany, died on the old homestead in this county, January 2, 1908. The father was only five years of age when brought by his parents to America in 1837, the family home being established in New York city. where he acquired his education and learned the cabinet-maker's trade, which he followed in the metropolis for a number of years. It is rather unusual for a man city born and city bred to chose farm life but this course Mr. Brown pursued and it proved a wise one. In the year 1865 he came westward to Whiteside county and took up his abode upon a farm west of Rock Fails, which he rented. He continued to cultivate rented land until 1876, when with the money he had saved from his earnings he invested in eighty acres of land on section 22, Hume township. Not long afterward he bought eighty acres more and has since lived on that place, his labors transforming it into a productive and valuable farm, upon which are now seen many substantial improvements. In his work he has been energetic and practical as well as progressive and has gained well merited success. His wife came to America with her parents in 1851 and they, too, resided in New York city, where Catherine Gaulropp gave her hand in marriage to James Brown. Unto them were born ten children, as follows Henry, a resident of Hume township: Frank, whose name introduces this record, Mrs. Amelia Heckman, a resident of Sterling; Mrs. Lizzie Gaffey, who resides in Hume township: John, also of Hume township; Mrs. Mary Pettit, who makes her home in Cordova, Illinois: George, who resides in Sterling; Joseph, who died at the age of twenty-six years; and two, who died in infancy. Frank Brown was a little lad of about seven years when brought by his parents from New York city to Whiteside county, where he has since lived. The public schoois afforded him his educational privileges and under his father's direction he received ample training in the work of the farm, early becoming familiar with the best methods of carrying on the work of field and meadow. When twenty-five years of age he started out in life on his own account as an agriculturist and in 1900 he bought eighty acres from his father. This be at once began to improve and develop, erecting all of the buildings upon the place and making it largely a model farm. Here in connection with the raising of cereals best adapted to soil and climate he also raises shorthorn cattle and Poland China hogs of high grade and his business interests are materially advanced thereby.
On the 18th of October, 1882, Mr. Brown was united in marriage to Miss Annie Beck, who was born in Germany, August 14, 1861, and is a daughter of John and Rose (Haberer) Beck. The father, who was born in 1817, died in 1878, and his wife passed away the same year. Her birth occurred in 1830. Their family numbered six children Mrs. Christina Wolbet, who makes her home in Sterling; Mrs. Barbara Obendorf, a resident of Carroll county, Illinois; Annie, now Mrs. Brown; Jacob, of Sterling Township; Mrs. Rose Brown, a resident of Hume township; and Mrs. Sullie Stern, also of Sterling township. The home of Mr. and Mrs. Brown has been blessed with five children: William, born July 13, 1883; Frank, July 1, 1885; Mable, January 29, 1888; Roy, July 10, 1893; and Grace, September 9, 1902, all yet under the parental roof. Mr. Brown has served as a school director for several years and the cause of education finds in him a stalwart and earnest champion. He gave his political allegiance to the democracy until 1905, when he became a supporter of republican principles. Be and his wife are members of the German Lutheran church and he belongs to the Modern Woodmen Camp No. 12 of Sterling and to the Mystic Workers of the World at Rock Falls. Almost his entire life has been passed in this county and for more than four decades he has been closely associated with agricultural interests here. He stands as a high type of the progressive farmer, who utilizes his opportunities to good advantage and is quick to adopt any new method which his judgment sanctions as a valuable one in promoting farming interests. [History of Whiteside Co by W.W. Davis]
HERBERT E. BROWN
Of Tampico Township
Herbert E. Brown, general farmer, Tampico Township, was born in that township, Oct. 6,1859, was reared on the farm and educated at the public schools and at Sterling Business College. He spent one season, during the year 1882, in the employment of the Weed Sewing-Machine Company, of Chicago, as their correspondent and book-keeper. He has since been engaged in general farming, and is still residing with his father and unmarried. [Portraits & Biographical Pg 511]
Of Prophetstown Township
Lewis Brown was born in Dutchess county, New York, in 1779, and came to Portland in 1836, locating a farm on Washington street, on which his son Harry now lives. He died in 1876 at the ripe old age of ninety-five years. Mr. Brown married Miss Orilla Clark. Their children were.: Sarah B., now dead; and Harry who married Miss Julia Minchin, and after her death, Miss Anna Rurfis, and lives in Prophetstown. [1877 Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County]
Of Rock Falls
William B. Brown, liveryman and dealer in horses at Rock Falls, was born at North Stonington, New London Co., Conn. June 24, 1838. His parents, Thatcher and Eunice (Spalding) Brown, were also natives of the same state. Receiving a liberal education, he commenced teaching at the age of 16 years, and followed that vocation for five years; thenceforward he made agriculture his principal business, and dealt in live stock. In 1868 he left his parental home and emigrated to this State; after stopping at Grand Detour six months, he came to Rock Falls and engaged in the livery business, following it ever since, with satisfactory success. Purchasing a lot on Main Street, he built a store upon it, and has since rented the same. He also bought two lots on Bridge Street, where he at present keeps his livery barn and outfit. In his political principles Mr. Brown is a Republican. He has been Trustee of the village corporation for six years, Assessor four years and School Director two years. He was married Sept. 3, 1863 to Phebe E. Collins, a native of Connecticut and a daughter of Amos & Phebe (Brown) Collins, who were also natives of Connecticut and members of the agricultural community. By this marriage there have been six children - John B., Charles R., George I., William J., Sarah L. and Nellie F. [Portrait & Biographical Pg 225]
WILLIS A. BROWN
Of Tampico Township
Willis L. Brown, general farmer, section 30, Tampico Township, was born Feb. 5, 1861, in Tampico, and is the son of E.E. Brown, whose sketch is given in the Albm. He was educated in the common schools of his native township and in the Norther Illinois Coolege at Fulton, this county. On arrive at the age of manhood, he married Miss Minnie Badgley, daughter of J. Perry Badgley, who was educated in the village of Tampico. He then settled on the farm of 80 acres which he still occupies. It is all improved, and under Mr. Brown's good judgement and industry it doubtless will increase in value. In political principles Mr. B is a Rebuplican, and both himself and wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. [Portraits & Biographical Pg 616]
Of Portland Township
James Bryant, farmer and stock-raiser on section 36, Portland Township is a son of William and Elizabeth Bryant, and was born in Wayne Township, Knox Co. Ohio, Sept. 14, 1821. His father was a native of NJ and his mother of NY. On attaining the age of manhood, Mr. Bryant came West and located in Ogle Co IL. June 28, 1844, he came to this county, and two years later in 1846, he entered 104 acres of the land he at present owns in Portland Twp. On first coming to the county his entire moneyed possessions footed up the "enormous" amount of $1.50. His energetic determination and faith in the future developemnts of the county, for he had faith from the first time that he came, induced him to "stick" and he "stuck". He went to work by the day, farming and following the carpenter and joiner's trade, which he had learned in the East, and waited patiently for developments and opportunity. They came, and his good judgment prompted him to enter his land as stated, and still better judgment induced him to hold on to it. He has done so to the present time and has increased his acreage, by subsequent purchase, until he is at present the owner of 590 acres. He has a fine residence on his farm, which stands as a monument of his own handiwork. Even the doors and windows were made with his own hands.
Mr. Bryant usually keeps about 100 head of cattle, a number of which are graded Short-horns, 15 of 16 head of horses and from 100 to 160 head of hogs, and his success is attributable to his push and energy, joined with the active co-operation of his good helpmate.
He was united in marriage in Portland Twp. Oct. 17, 1848 to Miss Emily M. Benson. She is a daughter of Christian and Maria Benson and was born in Rhode Island, March 29, 1829. Mr. Benson, Mrs. Bryan'ts father, was born in Sweden May 1, 1805 but early in life, in 1820 he came to America and became one of the first pioneers in Whiteside County. He located in Portland Twp., where he lived an honored and respected citizen, until his death, which occurred June 6, 1885. In early life, Mr. Benson was a sailor and had sailed three times around the world before he settled down to the quiet, peaceful life of a farmer. He was a well-informed man, and in his long and eventful life of four score years accomplished much good. Mr. and Mrs. Bryant have had four children; William C born Oct 11 1850 is a dealer in stock at Erie; George E born Apr 12, 1853 is a farmer; Joseph F born Sept 1, 1856 and Maria R. born Feb. 5, 1866. Miss Maria possesses considerable natural ability as a sketcher, painter and musician. Mr. Bryant is a self-made man and deserves no little credit for the success he has thus far made of life. He possesses many rare traits of character which have made him an enterprising citizen, one who is devoted to the best intereests of the community in which he resides, and won for him the esteem and respect of all who know him. [Portrait & Biographical 1885 Pg 717]
Of Portland Twp
William Bryant, dealer in live stock at Erie, is a son of James and Emily (Benson) Bryant and was born in Portland Twp., Oct. 11, 1850. Mr. Bryant was reared on his fathers farm, Portland Twp. where he received the advantages afforded by the common schools, assisted in the maintenance of the family, and developed into manhood. He was married in Geneseo, Henry Co., IL May 27, 1873 to ALmeda Blaisdell, daughter of Mason & Alzina (Rowe) Blaisdell, and was born in Portland Twp. July 31, 1857. The issue of this union was three children, two born in Portland Twp. and one in Erie Twp.; Lorena, March 29, 1875; Emil, Dec. 15, 1882; Ralph C., Oct. 28, 1884. After his marriage Mr. Bryant resided on 64 acres of land in Portland Twp. which belonged to his father; his wife received 67 acres of land adjoining that on which he resided, making 131 acres ,where they lived until Oct. 1882, when he moved into the village of Erie. Having since become the proprietor of the farm, he rents it. Since moving to the village he occupies his time in buying live stock and shipping to Chicago, in which business he is associated with Charles H. McLean. [Portrait & Biographical 1885 Pg 792]
SAMUEL G. BRYNING
OF Fulton, Whiteside Co IL
Samuel G. Bryning, M.D., Fulton, is a native of Canada, and a agraduate of the Medical Dept. of Victoria Univ. Toronto, Canada. He was born in Norfolk County, now Ontario Nov. 29, 1826, and is the son of Rev. John and Nancy (Lee) Bryning. He received his literary education at Mt. Pleasant Academy, studied medicine with Drs. J.B. Culver and I.White of Florence, Canada, and with Dr. James Lee of London Canada. He attended lectures at Victoria Univeristy Toronot, at which institution he graduated. He began practice at Melbourne Canada in 1860, which he continued till 1864 when he came to IL and located at Rocton. He pursued the practice of medicine at that place till September 1868 when he came to Fulton, this county, and has been in practice here continuously since.
Dr. Bryning was married at Simcoe, Norfolk Co. Canada Nov. 26, 1848 to Miss Catharine Daughter of Capt. Jacob Davis. Mrs. Bryning was born at Yarmouth, Nova Scotia. They had two sons; the elder Samuel L. married Esther Barr, and lives at Wheaton IL; John A. married Nillie Smith and died aged 25 years, leaving a wife and one child, now residing at Fulton.
Dr. and Mrs. Bryning are members of the Presbyterian Church of Fulton. The Doctor votes the Repulbican ticket; is a member of the Order of the Knights of Honor of Iowa, and of Campt No. 2 of the Modern Woodmen of Fulton. Dr. Bryning has had 35 years experience in the practice of medicine, 17 of which he has passed at Fulton. His practice extends to neighboring counties and has reached very flattering and lucrative proportions. He has certainly been eminently successful, and success is the standard by which the world forms its judgment. [Portraits and Biographical 1885 Whiteside Co. 402]
BACK -- HOME
© Copyright Genealogy Trails