W. R. Cobb, Secretary and Treasurer of the Sterling Gazette Company and its managing editor, was born in Elizabeth City, N. C., Oct. , 1846. The greater part of his life since reaching manhood ahs been given to his newspaper profession. He was for four years an officer in the United States Navy. He came West in the fall of 1876; taught a country school for a year and a half; assumed editorial charge of the Fulton (Whiteside Co.) Journal in 1879; became editor and secretary of the Sterling Gazette in 1880; and upon the reorganization of that institution in 1882 was made its general business manager and editor.
Although a Southern man and a slave-holder by birth, Mr. Cobb's sympathies and “material aid” were with and for the Union udruing the late war. In politics he has always been a Republican. His people are among the oldest of the settlers of the “Old North Sate,” the old homestead having been in the possession of his family for over 200 years. His mother and brother yet live in the ancestral home. Mr. Cobb married Laura E. John of Elizabeth City, N. C., in 1869. there have been seven children by this marriage, three of whom, two daughters and a son, are living. [Portrait and Biographical Album of Whiteside County, Illinois, Chapman Brothers Publishing Co., Chicago, 1885. Pg 273]
BENJAMIN COBURN, SR.
Of Lyndon Township
Benjamin Coburn Sr., with his wife, sons, daughters and grandchildren, emigrated from New York State to Lyndon in 1837. The family, besides Mr. and Mrs. Coburn, consisted of Charles R. Coburn. wife and four children Benjamin Coburn, Jr., wife and several children; James Coburn, wife and two children; John Coburn, wife and four children; Mrs. Stephen Jeffers, and Mrs. Elisha Hubbard.
Mrs. Benjamin Coburn, Sr., died July 31, 1837, shortly after the arrival of the family at their Western home, and was the first person buried in the Lyndon cemetery. Mr. Coburn died about twenty-eight years ago at an advanced age, and rests by the side of the wife of his youth. James Coburn resided at the homestead surrounded by an interesting family, until July 25, 1862, when he fell dead while making a stack of hay; his son, George L., continued to reside upon the homestead until 1875, when he sold the farm, and now a resident of Chicago.
Mary J., daughter of James Coburn, married Jehiel B. Smith, she is now a resident of Lyndon. Mrs. James Coburn, died in Lyndon September 2, 1877. John Coburn had four children, and has been living in California for the past twenty-five years; he keeps a hotel and ranch in the mining regions of a narrow valley of the Sierra Nevada mountains; he has one son in California, and one is dead; one daughter, Mrs. Addison Farrington, lives in Morrison, and another, Mrs. J. C. Teats, lives in Sterling. Benjamin Coburn, Jr., went to California, and died there in 1877. Charles R. Coburn has eight children; he lived in Fenton, and died about eight eight years ago. [Bent & Wilson History 1877]
CHARLES R. COBURN
Of Erie Township
Charles R. Coburn settled in Erie in 1839. He was born in Broome county, New York, in 1804; married Hannah Maxwell in 1827. Mrs. Coburn died in 1860; Mr. Coburn in 1865. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County IL 1877]
Frank Cochran, manufacturer of cigars and dealer in tobacco and newspapers, at Sterling, was born in Strasburg, Pa., March 3 1847, his parents being Amos E. and Barbara Cochran, natives respectively of Maryland and Pem1sylvania. The subject of this sketch remained at his parental home until he was 18 years of age, when he enlisted in the 122nd Regt. Pa. Vol. Inf., for nine months. Within a weak he was in Virginia, and during the second week he was engaged in the second battle of Bull Run; afterward he was in the engagements at Fredericksburg, Chancelorsville, and the regiment then went to Washington to bury the deceased Brigadier-General Whipple, as it was his wish that their regiment should perform that mournful task. They were then discharged, as their time had expired. Then, with some others of the regiment, he joined the 50th Militia at the time of the rebel raid at Gettysburg, enlisting for three months; after serving their time they were honorably mustered out. Then, in 1863, he came to Sterling and worked in the Gazette office for two weeks, and re-enlisted, as Sergeant in Co. A, 140th Regt. Ill. Vol. Inf., for 100 days; went to Tennessee and Missouri, served his time and was discharged. Returning to Sterling, he was employed in the Gazette office for three years; then went to the Williams & Orton machine-shops and learned the machinist's. trade, at which he worked about ten years. Two years of this time he worked for the Keystone Manufacturing Company. When the depression in the iron trade came on, work was slack, and he bought out the tobacco and cigar store of Mr. S. Hubbard, since which time he has been in his present employment, on Third Street. In his political views he is a Democrat; he is also a Freemason and a member of the G. A. R., and of the A. O. U. W. Mr. Cochran was married Sept. 24, 1876, to Miss Flora K. Petrie, of Pittsburg, Pa., and they have three children, Ollie M., Clara and William P. [Portrait and Biographical Album of Whiteside County, Illinois, Chapman Brothers Publishing Co., Chicago, 1885]
MRS. MARY J. COCKING
Mrs. Mary J. Cocking, well known in Whiteside county, where her entire life has been passed, is interested in an estate of two hundred and sixty-two acres on sections 21, 22 and 27, Erie township. This constitutes a valuable farming property, from which a good income is annually derived. Her birth occurred here in 1837, her parents being John S. and Rachel (Sher) Rowe. Both her father and mother were natives of the state of New York and came to Illinois at an early epoch in the development of Whiteside county. Her father entered land from the government in this county and began the development of a new farm, for not a furrow had been turned nor an improvement made upon the place when it came into his possession. In course of time his labors bad converted the place into a rich and pro. ductive tract of land, from which he annually gathered good harvests. The family were living here at the time of the memorable tornado of 1848-a most severe windstorm which blew his house and barns to pieces, killing two sons of the family and blowing Mrs. Cocking, then a little child, out of her sister's arms, so that she sustained injuries from which she never fully recovered.
Mrs. Cocking spent her girlhood days under the parental roof, attended the public schools of the neighborhood and was trained in the duties of the household, so that she was well qualified to take care of a home of her own when in 1868 she gave her hand in marriage to James Cocking, who was born in England in 1821. His life record covered about seventy-three years and he devoted his time and energies to general agricultural pursuits. He came to America and, establishing his home in Whiteside county, secured land and carried on general farming. As the years passed he brought his fields under a rich state of cultivation and at his death left a valuable property, comprising two hundred and sixty-two acres of land in Erie township, which is still in possession of the family. He died March 2, 1894, and his death was deeply regretted by many friends as well as his immediate family.
Unto Mr. and Mrs. Cocking were born six children, five of whom are still living, namely: William J., now a resident of Oklahoma; Minnie, the wife of Thomas James; Mahala and Robert J., both at home; and Cora E., the wife of S. A. Adams, of Erie township. Mrs. Cocking still resides upon the old home farm which her husband developed and improved. She is well known in this county as one of its worthy pioneer women, being a representative of one of its oldest families, while for seventy-one yeaas or throughout the entire period of her life, she has lived in this part of the state and been an interested witness of the changes that have occurred and the work that has been wrought in bringing the county up to its present state of development and improvement. [History of Whiteside Co by W.W. Davis]
The urge to settle new frontiers was a test of strength and endurance for the many early pioneers who treked westward long before the Civil War in the early 1860's. The Coe family was among the pioneer settlers in Whiteside as early as 1835 and earlier descendants of this family earned Revolutionary War records.
Albert L. (Leslie) Coe of Rock Falls was a member of this family, born Sept. 27, 1861 in Jordan Township near Penrose. Coe's father, Mortimer S. Coe was one of 13 children and an interesting note is that 12 of the 13 Coe children grew to adulthood, married and raised families. in the spring of 1869, the Coe family moved to a farm south of the Rock River in Hume Township. On Jan. 1, 1885 Albert L. Coe married Eva Belle Bancroft of Sterling.
For 10 years they resided on the Mortimer Coe farm in North Hume and in 1896 moved to a new home on West Fifth Street in Rock Falls. In 1906, they built a new home at 308 E. Second Street in Rock Falls overlooking the Rock River. They maintained this home until 1939 when Mrs. Coe moved to the home of her daughter, Mrs. A.E. Deem, due to failing health. She died at her daughters home June 19, 1941. Coe was an auctioneer and a livestock buyer. His calling card boasted, "Will cry sales in Whiteside and adjoining counties."
Coe entered a partnership with Charles Pippert (who opened a meat market in Rock Falls in 1876), and they operated under the name of "Coe & Pippert." They shipped cattle and hogs from the yards at the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad depot in Rock Falls to Chicago. In 1896 Coe transferred his memebership from the Fourth Street Methodist Church. He was also a member of the Rock Falls Lodge 936 A.F. & A.M., the Elks and OES No. 708.
Coe and his wife Eva were the parents of three daughters, Mrs. Minnie Coe Russell, Mrs. Genevieve Coe Deem and Mrs. Ruth Coe Atwell. He died June 28, 1928 at the family home located at 308 E. 2nd St. in Rock Falls. Coe's grandfather Simeon Maltby Coe and his wife, Mary Miles Coe, and their family came to Sterling from Monroe County in New York in 1835. Simon Coe's father and his two grandfather, Ensign Simeon Coe and Thomas Strong, had Revolutionary War records as did Joshua Miles, the father of Mary Miles Coe. Soon after their arrival in Whiteside County, Simeon Coe erected a saw mill on the banks of the Elkhorn Creek for the purpose of supplying lumber for a new and growing market created by the arrival of other new settlers to this area. In 1840, Simeon Coe built large home on Freeport Road which was the family home for many years. Albert L. Coe was the son of Mortimer S. Coe and Rachel Penrose Coe. Another son was born to the union, that of E.M. Coe. Born Rachel Penrose, Mrs. Coe was one of the five children born to Edwin and Mary Penrose. She was born Aug. 22, 1835 in the State of Ohio and early in the 1840's came by wagon overland to Illinois where the familys ettled in Sterling Township. She was married to Mortimer S. Coe on March 28, 1844 ? at Dixon (actually - the license in Book B #266 was issued in Whiteside County 28 March "1855"). After their marriage they lived for a short time in Sterling and Penrose and then moved to Hume Township and later moving to Rock Falls where she resided with her son, Albert L. prior to her death June 8, 1902. Penrose Corners north of Sterling on the Freeport Road, was named after her father, Jesse Edwin Penrose who died Oct. 29, 1879. Mrs. Coe was of Quaker parentage and she was a member ofthe Broadway Methodist Church in Sterling. and later transferred to the Rock Falls Methodist Church. Local descendants of the Albert Coe family include his dauther Mrs. Frank (Ruth) Atwell, Sterling; one grandson, Arthur Deem of Rock Falls; and two grandaughters, Mrs. Al Hunter, Como and Mrs. George mayfield, Rock Falls. [From the Daily Gazette, July 1, 1976]
DECIUS O. COE
Decius O. Coe is one of the prominent citizens of Whiteside County, from the extent and character of his business relations, and from the fact that he is connected by descent and marriage with two of its earliest pioneers. His parents, Simeon M. and Mary (Miles) Coe came to Whiteside County in 1838 and settled in Jordan Township. Mr. Coe of this sketch was born in Monroe Co. NY Nov. 23, 1820 where he lived until 1838 when he accompanied his parents to Jordan Township and was a resident there about three years when he removed to Sterling Township with his parents. He located on a farm on section 11, which he received by inheritance from his father, and on which he resided about 20 years. At the expiration of that time he sold his place, and not long afterward went to the city of Sterling, where he has resided six years.
He has been identified with the growth of the city, and was one of the founders of the First National Bank of Sterling, in which he was also one of the Directors. He has been a Republican since the organization of the party, and was a member of the first mass convention held at Springfield IL for the purpose of organizing that element in IL. He has held the office of Supervisor several years, and Justice of the Peace one term and served as Alderman. He has also been active in the promotion of the educational interests. He was one of the Board of Supervisors when the county seat was removed to Morrison, and served on the committee appointed to fix the sites of the county buildings. He was an active member of the Agricultural Society of Whiteside County from its organization for about 20 years, being a member of the Executive Board most of the time. He was President of the society one year. In June 1872 he settled on the section where he now resides, and is the owner of 245 acres of land located in the townships of Sterling, Jordan and Hume, which is all in a state of advanced cultivation. Mr. Coe is the possessor of a fine estate, for which he is indebted to his own energy, perseverance and industry. His marriage to Eveline N., daughter of Jonathan and Ellen (Bowman) Stevens (Stephens) took place Nov. 8, 1844. Her father was born Dec. 31, 1798 in Stonington Conn., and he was married Jan. 13, 1824. His wife was born Feb. 2, 1807 in PA and after their marriage they located in Luzerne County in that State where they remained until their removal to Whiteside COunty. They arrived in the Township of Sterling on the same day in wich S. M. Coe came to Jordan Township. Mr. Stevens settled on a farm on Section 15, just north of Harrisburg, now incorporated in the limits of Sterling. On this he lived 33 years and died Sept. 14, 1870. Mrs. Stevens died Jan. 22, 1876. Mrs. Coe is their only daughter and second child. Thomas W. is the name of her oldest brother. Marshall S. and John N are the youngest children of the family. Mrs. Coe was born May 8, 1827 in Luzerne Co PA and she is the mother of one surviving child, Marcus L. Coe who married Julia A. Galt, of Sterling, Aug. 26, 1875. Mr. and mrs. Coe have buried four children; Marcus LaFayette, Augustus J., Ellen M. and Albert L. The parents are members of the Presbyterian Church, with which the father has been many years connected. He has been an Elder many years, and is the oldest incumbent of that position in the Church at Sterling, and when he was elected he was the third Elder in that body. Both Mr. and Mrs. Coe are decidedly radical in their temperance views, and adopt the principles of the Prohibition element.
The brothers of Mr. Coe have been prominent in the localities in which they settled. George A. Coe, second eldest brother went to Coldwater, Mich. where he became distinguished in political circles. he was a member of the Legislature of the Peninsular State, when he was the only Whig in the Assembly, all the other members being Democrats. He was afterward elected Lt. Governor of the State. He died at Coldwater. ALbert S. Coe went to Rock Island, and represented that county in the Legislature of IL. He settled on a township previous to its organization, and when that event occurred it was called "Coe" in his honor. He died Oct. 17, 1869. [Portraits & Biographical Whiteside County 1885 Pg 401]
SIMON M. COE
of Jordan Township
Simon M. Coe was born October 29, 1784 in the State of Connecticut at Litchfield. In early life he removed with his father to New York, the mode of conveyance in that early time was with a spike team - a yoke of oxen at the wheel and a horse ahead driven by a whip alone. Mr Coe settled in Jordan in 1835 and died May 18, 1848. He married Mary Miles September 1, 1807, in Oneida county, New York. Mrs Coe died in October 1857. Children: Lucy Mary, born June 22, 1808; S. Miles born March 12, 1810, George Alonzo, born August 16, 1811; Frederick W. born January 25, 1813, Henry A. born October 4, 1814; Joshua born March 10, 1816, Albert S., born October 1, 1817; Jonathan F., born June 22, 1819, Decius 0. born November 23, 1820, Adeline E., born December 6 1822, Marcus L., born August 14, 1824, Helen Ann, born July 29, 1826; Mortimer S. born September 21, 1832.
Lucy Mary Coe, married George Stull. Children: Maltby C. born November 15, 1831; Lavona A. born February 25, 1834 Eugene S. born December 1,1836; Mary L. born February 24, 1839; George F. born February 27, 1841; Adeline A., born May 31, 1843; Mary E, born January 7, 1847. Mary L. died December 10, 1839, Mary E. in 1847, and Lavona A. April 12, 1849. Maltby C. married Mary J. Smith. Eugene married Mary Thompson; children, Irving, Lucy and Josephine. Geo. F. married Harriet Bronson children, Lavona and Homer. Mrs. Stull died, and in 1874 Mr. Stull was married to Susan Potts; they have one child. Adeline A. married H.S. Blair, children: Inez, Jessie and Josephine
S. Miles Coe was born in Paris, Oneida county. N.Y, March 12, 1810. When a child he removed to Monroe county, where he remained until 1835 when he emigrated westward and settled in Jordan township April 10 of that year. He has resided upon his original farm until the present time, forty- two years. Mr. Coe married Harriet Hull of Buffalo Grove, Ogle county. Mrs. Coe died in 1842. In 1847 Mr. Coe married May D. Walling; Children: Henry M., born June 21, 1848; Isaac N., born December 9, 1852; Levi W., born September 21, 1855; Jesse F. born January 9, 1857; Aurora B. born April 8, 1860; Simeon M., born August 7,1863; Frederick W. born July 19, 1866; Mary R. born March 11, 1869. The third child died in infancy. Mrs. Mary B. Coe was born March 27, 1824, in Barrington, NY. Mr Coe is one of Whiteside's best citizens, and has been prominent and energetic in all efforts to advance the interests of the county and township in which he resides.
George A. Coe settled in Michigan, and was twice married. He has four childrcn: Jennie, George, Mary and W. H. Seward Coe. Mr. Coe was a member of the Michigan Legislature and at one session was the only Whig in the body, all the other members being Democrats.
Frederick W. Coe was married June 29, 1836, to Phebe Ann Rogers, of Canada. Mr. Coe died of apoplexy, October 23, 1870. His widow resides in Lee county, Illinois.
Henry A. Coe married Alamina Moore, Children: Blanche A., Aurora, Clinton D, Jerome F., and May. Mr. Coe died July 5, 1858. Mrs. Coe died previously.
Albert S. Coe married Arathusie Barnet. Children: George B, and Florence. After the death of his wife. Mr. Coe was married to Lucy C. Hollister, of Port Byron, February 27, 1856. After a residence of a number of years in Whiteside county, Mr. Coe removed to Rock Island county and engaged in farming and the nursery business. Upon the organization of the township in which Mr. Coe settled it was named Coe. The gentleman occupied a number of important offices. His death occurred October 17, 1869.
Jonathan F. COE married Eliza E. Clark, November 10, 1843. Four children were born, of whom all, with the exception of Franklin A., died in infancy. Mrs. Coe's death was caused, in, 1860, by hydrophobia. Mr. Coe was afterwards married to Sarah Murray. Children : Clarence C., Arthur E., Willie A., Lysle S. Franklin A. Coe is now dead.
Decius O. COE married Eveline N. Stevens, November 8, 1844. Children: LaFayette, Augustus J, Marcus L, Ellen Mary, and Albert Leslie. All are dead except Marcus L., who married Julia A. GaIt, August 26. 1875.
Adeline E. Coe married Thomas Stevens December 31, 1846. Children: Maltby, born December 20, 1847, and Helen A., born November 3, 1849. Mrs. Stevens died October 24, 1850. Thomas Stevens was again married February 23, 1860, to Mrs. Helen A. Snavely. Children : Fred M, born December 23 1860; Thaddeus D., July 12, 1862; Ernest L., September 20, 1863; Frank L., October 10, 1864; Bowman, May 31, 1866. With the exception of Ernest all the children are living.
Marcus L. Coe married Sarah Ann Kirk, February 28, 1855, in Chesterfield, Morgan county, Ohio. Children Decius 0., Maria Louise, Cora Belle, Elizabeth N., and Edward N. Kirk.
Mortimer S. Coe married Rachel C. Penrose, March 28, 1855. Children: Edwin and Albert. [Pg 261 Bent-Wilson 1877]
SIMON MILES COE
Of Jordan Township
Simeon Miles Coe, a farmer in Whiteside County, "jumped" a claim on Section 33 in what is now Jordan Township, on the 10th of April, 1835, nine months prior to the separation of the county from Jo Daviess County. There were then three families resident within the limits of what is now Whiteside County, who had come here in 1834. At Dixon there was one double log house, owned by a man of that name who was engaged in farming on the site of the present beautiful city. Mr. Coe was guided in his selection by what he believed a necessity, his object being to secure timber land, which predomiinated where he located. The settlers who had come here from places where prairies were unknown did not believe the immense tracts of treeless acres would ever be settled, on the premise that it was impossible for humanity to endure the winter winds. The absence of landmarks on the sweeping expanse destitute of trees made them appalling.
Mr. Coe built a log cabin in the edge of the timber, and broke 20 acres of prairie, putting in grain and vegetables. He lived alone in bachelor freedom three years, and on the event of his marriage, in 1838, he built the best log cabin in the county for the reception of his bride, Harriet Hull, to whom he was joined in marriage in the winter of 1838, was born in Delaware Co., N. Y., and she came in very early life with her parents to Illinois, who located at Buffalo Grove, Ogle County. She died in 1842. Mary, the only child born to her, died in infancy. June 22, 1847, Mr. Coe was married to Mary D., daughter of Levi and Mary (Kress) Walling. She was born March 27, 1824, in Barrington, Yates Co., N. Y. Her father was of German origin, and her mother was a descendant of one of the early Dutch settlers of the State of New York, whose second generation settled in New Jersey. Levi Walling held a commission in the war of 1812, and was by calling a farmer. He removed in 1846 to Sterling, Whiteside County. He died there in 1868, and was about 75 years of age. The mother of Mrs. Coe traced her ancestry to the earliest settlers in this country. They were Puritans and held to the most rigid regulations of the sect. The landed property of the grandfather is held by Isaac Kress, a descendant in direct line. Mrs. Coe was reared and educated in the State of New York, and was 22 years of age when she accompanied her parents to Illinois. A year later she gave her hand in marriage to Mr. Coe, and they have had eight children, namely: Levi W. (2nd) died in infancy; Henry W., born June 21 1848, is married and lives in Lee Co., IL; Isaac N. was born Dec. 9, 1852, is married and lives at Ellendale, Dak.; Levi W. (2d) was born Sept. 21, 1855; Jesse F. was born Jan. 9, 1857, and lives in Iowa, Aurora B. was born April 8, 1860, and is teaching in Lee Co., Ill.; Simon M. was born Aug. 7,1863; Fred W., July 19, 1866; Mary R. July 11, 1869.
Mr. Coe was born March 12, 1810, in Paris Township, Oneida Co., N. Y. His father, Simeon M. Coe, was born in Litchfield, Conn., Oct. 29, 1784. His immediate ancestors descended from several brothers who came from England and were the founders of a lineage, where succeeding generations have continued in the vocation of their progenitors, who were farmers, and who have sustained the prestige of an honorable name. Simeon Coe and Joshua Miles, his grandfathers, were both soldiers of the Revolution, and the latter became a Captain in the command of General Putnam. The diffusion of generations have settled in New England, New York and Ohio. Simeon M. Coe, senior, descended from the New England branch of the family, and married, Sept. 1, 1807, Mary Miles, who was born in Connecticut. After their marriage they removed to Oneida Co., N. Y., and located near the city of Utica, which then had no existence. They were pioneers and Mr. Coe cleared and otherwise improved two farms. They had 13 children, all but one attaining mature age. Lucy M. married George Stull and is deceased. Mr. Coe of this sketch is next in order of birth. George A., Frederick W., Henry A. and Albert S. are not living. Jonathan F. and Decius O. succeeded them in birth. Adeline E. married Thomas Stevens and is deceased. Helen A. is a resident of Whiteside County, as are all the survivors. Marcus L. died in Rock Falls, Whiteside Co., Ill. Mortimer S. is the youngest.
When Mr. Coe of this sketch was a child of less than four years of age, his parents went, in the winter of 1814-15 to Monroe Co., N. Y., traveling on sleds drawn by ox teams. The family located in the dense forest of Monroe County, where the woods were so thick that in portions the light of day was softened to a mellow twilight, and at the bases of the huge trees grew the Indian pipe, a plant six inches in height, and in color and appearance like white wax. After a residence of more than 20 years, in the fall of 1838, the parents removed to Sterling Township, where the father died May 18, 1848. The mother died in October, 1857. The former was a man of ability, and in 1840 was made a member of the County Commissioners Court, a tribunal which was succeeded in 1849 by the County Court. He was a Whig, and was always active in local political affairs. He and his wife belonged to the Presbyterian Church.
Mr. Coe was reared to manhood in Monroe County, obtaining an excellent common-school education, which he made available as a teacher, and was engaged in that vocation four winters. He remained on his father's farm in the State of New York until he was 25 years of age, aiding in the improvement of the homestead. The family was large, and the high price of land rendered the prospects of advancement to young ambitions rather narrow. Mr. Cae inherited his proclivities for an agricultural life, and his chief incentive to his removal to Illinois was a desire to secure a broader opportunity for the life of effort which was the height of his ambition. He came West in company with Isaac Albertson and John Albertson, twin brothers, who had the same purposes in view. After looking about other parts of the State they went to Joliet, but Mr. Coe accepted the judgment of a man named Philip Townsend, and came to Whiteside County. One of the unique experiences of the bachelor life of Mr. Coe was his manufacture of a pair of pantaloons. He understood that it was necessary that the seams should be pressed, and he accomplished that accessory to fine tailoring, by the aid of an iron wedge. Mr. Coe's first purchase of land comprised 160 acres, and has made later purchases, until he is now the owner of 273 acres, all being under good tillage. The work of improvement has been done by his own hands and under his supervision, and the family occupy a frame house on section 34. The ruins of the first log cabin are still standing, and a tree which is growing up through it marks the first home of civilization in Jordan Township. The tree is two feet in diameter. On section 34 Mr. Coe set out an evergreen grove of various kinds of trees. In conformity with the recommendation of Horace Greeley, he set out a balsam tree as a memorial to Abraham Lincoln in 1865, which is now 30 feet in height. Mr. Coe was a Whig when he first obtained the privileges of citizenship, but he had an admiration for the character of Andrew Jackson, for whom he cast his first Presidential vote. He is a Republican of positive stamp, and all the male members of the family to which he belongs support the issues of that political element. He has been unflinching in his local duties, and has held the office of Supervisor of his township seven years; he has also served several terms as Clerk, and has acted 16 years in the capacity of Treasurer. He and his estimable wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. [Portrait & Biographical Pg 419]
ALBERT A. COLBERT
Albert A Colbert, a farmer residing on section 29, owning 160 acres thereon, 135 ¾ acres on section 20 and also 40 acres on section 4, Portland Township, is a son of Washington and Caroline (May) Colbert, and was born in Phoenix Township, Henry Co., Ill., March 19, 1842. His father was a native of Kentucky and was born near Lexington, that State. He was killed by the caving in of a well on his farm in 1844. His mother was a native of Southern Illinois, and is at present residing in Geneseo, this State. They were the parents of three children, of whom Albert A., the subject of this biographical notice, is the only survivor.
Mr. Colbert was reared on his father's farm in this State, and received the advantages afforded by the common schools, assisting in the labors of the farm. In 1842, his parents drove through from Southern Illinois via the Rock Island and Dixon Stage Road, and when they arrived in Phoenix Township, the subject of this notice was born.. His father took up in that township 120 acres of land, and resided there until his death. His mother now owns a small place, consisting of ten acres near Geneseo, where she has resided since 1862.
Albert A. enlisted in the war for the Union in July, 1861, in the Texas Rangers. Three months after enlistment he was taken prisoner at Lexington, Ky., with 2,000 others. They took the oath and were allowed to return, and went to St. Louis, where they were discharged and returned home. In August, 1862, he re-enlisted in Co. K, 112th Ill. Vol. Inf., as teamster, and served in that capacity two years and eight months. During that time he drove one six-mule team, two years and four months, and at the general review in North Carolina he was accredited with having the finest appearing team among 6,.000 in the Western Army. After receiving his discharge he returned to Geneseo and dealt in horses one year. He was then united in marriage. This event occurred in Phoenix Township, Aug. 20, 1866, and the lady chosen to share his joys and sorrows, his successes and failures, was Miss Lois A. Allen. She was a daughter of Jonathan and Charlotte Allen, and was born near Keokuk, Iowa. They are the parents of two children, namely: Nellie M., born in Geneseo, April 6, 1873; Amy B., born in Portland Township, this county, July 5, 1877.
After marriage, Mr. Colbert bought 80 acres of land in Phoenix Township, on which he resided and cultivated four years, when he rented it, and removed to Geneseo, and remained one year. He then exchanged his 80 acres for 200 located on sections 14 and 15, Portland Township, and resided there three years; then rented it, and in 1878 bought 160 acres, where he at present resides. He has since resided in Geneseo one year, where he had a fine residence and two acres of land, which he sold, and returned to his farm. In the fall of 1844 he bought 130 acres adjoining on the north, and now has a fine farm, well improved. He makes a specialty of stock, has 75 head of cattle, and is working into the Short-horn breed, and intends making his place a tock farm. He still deals in horses, and is one of the energetic, progressive farmers of Whiteside County. [Portrait and Biographical Album of Whiteside County, Illinois, Chapman Brothers Publishing Co., Chicago, 1885. Pg 546]
of Genesee Township
Ivory Colcord was born July 20 1799 in New Hampshire, in which State his wife was also born, June 27 1805. They came to Genesee Grove on the 13th of October 1837. On is route to the West, Mr Colcord shipped his family and goods at Olean Point, New York, on a flat board and went down the Alleghany river to Pittsburg PA where he took a steamer descending the Ohio River, and thence up the Mississippi River to Fulton. At Fulton he loaded his goods in a wagon, John Baker, Fulton's pioneer, furnishing the team and acting as driver and guide. The family also took passage in the same wagon, and the convoy crossed the sloughs and prairie to Genesee Grove. The whole trip consumed six weeks. Mr. Colcord purchased a timber and prairie claim of William Wick, paying for it $150 in gold. The claim consisted of two hundred acres of timber land, and 300 acres of prairie. Upon this he built a cabin 12 by 12 feet in size, in the winter of 1837-38. In this cabin the family cooked, ate, washed, slept and kept hotel. A large part of their goods was kept in the wagon, which stood in the door yard all winter. In the summer of 1838 , a house large enough to accommodate the family, and store away all the goods was erected. Mr. Colcord was a farmer, and an educated man. After the labors of the day were over, he devoted his time in the evening to teaching a school at the house of William Wick, and afterwards one in his own house. He was a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church and at the organization of the Society in Genesee Grove was chosen the first classleader. He was also elected the first Justice of the Peace in Genesee Township. Mr. Colcord died January 25, 1865.
His children were as follows: Ethan S. born April 18 1822; Abigail born 21 March 1826, Ralph B. born June 8, 1828; Lorena D. born October 5, 1830; John born June 24 1832, Rose Ann born April 5 1835, Ivory Jr. Born February 22 1837; William H. born July 29 1839, Elvira born July 25 1841; George W. born May 12 1843; Mary Angeline born November 22 1847. Ethan S. married Miss Eliza Jane Law in September 1843 and died in August 1863; Children - Albert, Arthur, Royal and Artie. Abigail married Washington Law in 1844 and died in 1864. Children were Taylor, Joshua, Orland, Wright and Hunter. Ralph B. married Miss Mary A. Shirley March 8 1854; children, Emma L., Luella M. and Nora B. Lorena D. married John Cummings in 1856 who died in 1864; children Emma and May. Mrs Cummings afterward married Washington Law. Rose Ann married Caleb Burgess in 1855; children Ophelia T., Florence V., Warner and Frederick. Ivory Jr married Miss Charlotte Frazer; children, Willard, Irena, Celine, Bertha and Angeline. William H. married Miss Phiana Lineroad. Children were Alice C., Eustatia, Nettie A., Edith B., Ernest S., Clayton E., Nellie L. and Elbertie E. Elvira married James A DeGroff; children - Raymond, Lettie, LeRoy, who died in infancy, and Herbert. George W. married Miss Lucretia Lineroad , no children. Mary Angeline married O. Terpenning, Children Frank J., Harry and Olia V.
Besides the township and other local offices held by Ivory Colcord, he was Coroner of the County from 1839 - 1844, and again from 1848 to 1854. He was an active, energetic man, and took a prominent part in helping to shape the affairs of the county in early days. [Extracted from Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 224]
RALPH B. COLCORD
Ralph B. Colcord, marble dealer at 431 Third St. Sterling, was born in Steuben Co. NY June 8, 1828. His father, Ivory Colcord, a native of Maine, was a farmer, moved from Steuben County to Genesee Twp., this county, arriving Oct. 14, 1837, where he died in 1865. His mother, a native of New Hampshire, was born June 27, 1805, and is now a resident of the village of Coleta. Mr. Colcord remained at his parental home until he was 25 years old, receiving a practical education and engaging in farming, the vocation of his father. About a year after he left home he entered the busines he has since pursued. He arrived in Sterling, this county, Dec. 22, 1869, since which time he has prospered in his trade. In his political principles and sympathies, Mr. Colcord is a Republican; he has served as a member of the Board of Education, and Alderman several years. He is a member of the Christian Church of Sterling, as are also his family. March 8, 1854 Mr. Colcord married Mary A. Shively, a native of Lyndon, this county, and they have two children - Emma L. and Luella M. The first mentioned married George W. Pearl, July 21, 1875 and they have a child Glennie L. [History of Whiteside County Portraits & Biographical Pg. 576]
WILLIAM H. COLCORD
Of Coleta, Genesee Township
William H. Colcord, Principal of the School at Coleta, Supervisor of Genesee Twp. and Postmaster of the village where he lives, is a native born citizen of his township, and represents one of the earliest names connected with the settlement of Genesee Twp. His father, Ivory Colcord, came to Genessee twp. in 1836, and bought a claim consisting of 200 acres of prairie and 300 acres of timber, paying therefor $150 in gold. He returned ot his home in steuben Co NY and in 1837 set out with his family for the West. They took passage on a flat-boat on the Allegheny River, proceeded to Pittsburg, went thence to the Mississippi River by way of the Ohio River, and from the junction of the two streams went to Fulton, whither they were conveyed by wagon to Genesee Grove, arriving there on the 15th of October. A small shelter was provided for temporary use during the winter that followed, where the domestic machinery was operated, and which also served as a house of public entertainment, as there was no hotel for the accomodation fo the army of land-lookers and prospective settlers. One of the controlling elements of a pioneer community is that of hospitality, and faces that have lately looked on civilization seem connecting links. The senior Colcord was a practical farmer, and a man of cultivated mind. He was the first school-teacher in Genesee Twp., and was also its first magistrate after the orgination of the township. He died Jan.25, 1865. He was born July 20, 1799 in Maine and married Elzina Smith, who was born June 27, 1805 near Keene NH and they settled in the State of NY. The mother is yet living, with a daughter in the village of Coleta. She is 80 years of age, and has been the mother of 13 chidlren, eight of whom survive.
Mr. Colcord is the third white child born in Genesee Twp. His birth occurred July 29, 1839, and his is literally descended from the Pilgrims of MA, his paternal being a Bradbury. In the maternal line he is equally well descended, and his veins contain a mixture of Scotch and English blood, in which nationalities his earliest ancestors had their origin. His education was begun under the supervision of his father, and was continued until he became of age.
He was married Feb. 16, 1860 to Fianna V. Linerode. The ceremony was performed by A.H. Law, at that date a magistrate of Genesee Twp., and now a resident of Mercer Co IL. Their marriage has been blessed with 10 children - Alice C., married to James. L. Peugh, a farmer in Genesee; Eustatia V., married to J. Fred. Fehrensen, druggist in Coleta; Annetta A., married to George A. Over, merchant in Sterling; and Edith B., Ernest S., Clayton E., Nellie L., Bertis S., Glenn D. and Elzina G., still at home with their parents. Mrs. Colcord was born in Tuscarawas Co. OH. Her mother died when she was young, and her father having married again, she continued under the care of her step-mother until she was married. Her father removed to Genesee Twp., when she was young, and he became prominent in the official history of the county. He died in 1857.
Mr. and Mrs. Colcord settled on a farm in Genesee Twp. The former passed the chief portion of the succeeding years in the improvement of his property, and devoted the winter season to teaching. With the exception fo two intervening years, he passed his life in this manner until 1878. In that year he relinquished his agricultural projects in order to apply his time and energies wholly to the labors of a teacher, in which vocation he has since been engaged. His farm contained 20 acres and was situated on section 21. In 1884 he sold the place and bought 150 acres near Sheldon, O'Brien Co., Iowa. He owns his residence at Coleta. In 1884 he succeeded Henry Wickey in the position of Postmaster. He has officiated one term as Justice of the Peace, has been Twp. Clerk three years, and is serving his fourth term as Supervisor, being appointed during 1884 to fill a vacancy created by the death of Rev. Cephas Hurless. He has also served two years as Assessor. Mr. Colcord is interested in local and general political issues, and is an influential and consistent Republican. [History of Whiteside County Portraits & Biographical Pg. 519]
DANIEL F. COLE
Of Portland Township
Daniel F. Cole was born in Montgomery county, New York, in 1816, and at an early age moved to Erie county, New York, In 1837 he came to Portland, and made a claim where he now lives. He married Miss Caroline Blaisdell in 1839. Their children have been: Almon, a practicing lawyer in Macomb, Illinois, and Nettie, now dead. Mr. Cole was elected County Commissioner in 1849, and has held the office of Supervisor of the township for several terms, and Justice of the Peace for twenty years. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County IL 1877]
Gilbert Cole moved to Whiteside co, IL after his first wife, Sarah Owen, died in 1865. He married again 9 Oct 1866 in Whiteside co, IL Louisa Sholes (the daughter of Orrin Sholes) at her father's home. Louisa was 20 yrs younger than Gilbert Cole. Gilbert Cole died 10 Dec 1873 in Whiteside co, IL and is buried in Morrison, IL. He was an elder in the Baptist Church. Gilbert Cole's daughter, Mary E. Cole married in 1862 William S Goodell and they also lived in Whiteside county, IL from about 1865 to 1872 when they moved to Mills county, Iowa. Gilbert Cole's son, Cyrus Dudley Cole married about 1874 Eliza Ann Roberts and they had 3 daughters born in Whiteside co, IL: Stella M. Cole born abt 1875; Sarah Cole born 15 Nov 1879 and another daughter (name unknown) born 3 Jan 1881 in Whiteside co, IL. [Contributed by Mary K. (Cole) Ward (Great-Great Granddaughter of Gilbert Cole]
HORACE B. COLE
Of Portland Township
Horace B. Cole was born in Erie county, New York, in 1821, and came to Portland in 1840. His first occupation at his new home was teaching school. He has filled various township offices to the satisfaction of the people, and is now living on his farm. Mr. Cole married Miss Belinda Brewer in 1850. Their children are : Hugh Wallace, Tibbie, and Frederick. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County IL 1877]
of Hahnaman Twp
Martin Coleman is a wide-awake and enterprising business man of Deer Grove, where he is engaged in general merchandising, in which line of trade he has built up a large and extensive business by his own energy and enterprise, and gained a most enviable reputation for his financial sagacity and honorable, straightforward dealing. Mr. Coleman is a native of Ireland, and when a young man came to America, landing in New Ynrk May 15, 1872. For one year he worked on a farm in Oneida county, New York and on the 15th of October 1873, went to Pittsburg, where he worked in a factory until March 6 1876. Subsequently he worked by the month on a farm in Pennsylvania until coming to Whiteside county, where he arrived on Sunday, November 21, 1877. Here he was also employed as a farm hand for several years, but in 1884 came to Deer Grove and bought the business of C. F. Garrett, a dealer in general merchandise and agricultural implements. He has enlarged his stock to meet the growing demands of his trade, and now carries a good assortment of dry goods, groceries, implements, etc., and has established an enviable reputation for good goods and fair dealing. In Sterling, in 1878, Mr. Coleman was united in marriage with Miss Maggie Ford, who was born in Canada, but was reared and educated in Sterling. Her father, Peter Ford, now of Deer Grove, was born in Ireland, June 22, 1802, and is now ninety-eight years of age, but still retains all his faculties in good condition. He has made his home in this county for almost half a century and is widely and favorably known. In the family of Mr. and Mrs. Coleman are the following children: Martin J. , who assists his father in the store; Mary, who is living with an aunt in Topeka, Kansas; Katie, who also aids in the store; Bessie; Delia; Patrick P. and Agnes. The family are communicants of the Tampico Catholic church, and Mr. Coleman is a member of the Modern Woodmen of America. Politically he votes the Democratic ticket at national elections, and cast his first presidential ballot for Samuel J. Tilden, but at local elections votes independent of party, endeavoring to support the best men for the offices. He has been township school trustee and a member of the school board for years, and by his influence and support he has done much toward securing good schools in his section of the county. He has most creditably served as justice of the peace for sixteen years, township clerk fourteen years, and been postmaster of Deer Grove continuously since 1884, with the exception of six months. He is an intelligent, progressive citizen of liberal views, and is heartily in sympathy with every movement that will in any way add to the prosperity of his community. His life contains many valuable lessons of incentive, showing the possibilities that are opened to young men who wish to improve every opportunity for advancement. [Source: Biographical Record of Whiteside County Pg 388]
Of Erie Township
James Collins, gardener, nurseryman and farmer, residing in Erie, is a son of William and Charlotte (Rawles) Collins, and was born in Albany, N. Y., Nov. 19, 1823. His father was a stonecutter. His mother died when James was seven years of age, and a maiden aunt, Hannah Rawles, took him to Romeo, Macomb Co., Mich., a few years later, where he learned the blacksmith's trade. He then went to Florence, Oneida Co., N. Y., where he was employed on dairy farms several years. He then went to New York City, where he was employed by the Union Ferry Company at the South Ferry, between Brooklyn and New York, and remained with them from 1849 to 1853. After leaving their employ, he came to Erie, this county, and purchased a farm of 80 acres, and in company with Samuel D. Carr bought several hundred acres of land. He subsequently sold his interest to Mr. Carr, in 1859. Mr. Carr died in June, 1861, and Mr. Collins married his widow, Elizabeth (Ennis) Carr, Aug 31, 1864. She was born in Ohio, Nov. 17, 1822, and had by her first marriage four children, namely: Rebecca, deceased, was the wife of George Wilcox, one of the prison keepers in the Joliet Penitentiary; Louisa is the wife of James Worrell, a carpenter, residing in Erie; Mary, deceased, was the wife of Van Renselaer Rowe, a farmer in Erie Township; William E. is a clerk in R. L. Burchell's store at Erie.
Mr. Collins has one child by his marriage to Mrs. Carr, Sherman, born July 18, 1865. He still owns 170 acres of land in the vicinity of Erie, about 40 acres of which lie inside the corporate limits of that village. In 1869 he engaged in the nursery business, and has sold large numbers of evergreens and other kinds of nursery stock in this section, and raises numbers of sweet potatoes, cabbage, tomatoes and other plants. He also has a contract to build one and three-fourths miles of the main ditch of the Whiteside Rock Island drainage system. He has held the office of Justice of the Peace two terms, Township Clerk two terms, Assessor several years, and has been a member of the Village Board several years, and President of the same one year. Mrs. Carr's first husband, Samuel D. Carr, was one of the pioneers of Erie Township, and married his wife in Rock Island County in 1843, and brought her to this county. He has resided in the county several years previous to his marriage. He built part of the Hotel known as the St. Nicholas Hotel, in 1851, and kept it until the fall of 1856, when he he rented it for a period and then sold it. Previous to that he had kept a hotel in a log house close by where he erected the St. Nicholas. [Portraits and Biographical 1895]
S. Collins, successor to A. Critchfield & Co., wholesale and retail dealer in marble and granite monuments, cemetery enclosures, etc., at Fulton. This business was established in June, 1882, by A. Critchfield & Co., who conducted it till March 1884, when Mr. Collins bought them out, Mr. A. Critchfield being retained as foreman and general manager of the mechanical and designing department. Mr. Collins employs from six to ten men, and turns out from eighteen to twenty thousand dollars' worth of work annually. The bulk of his custom comes from Whiteside and neighboring counties, although sales extend into Iowa and neighboring States. He uses in his work only the best grades of Italian and American marble, and of Scotch and American granite. He has facilities for turning out work on short notice, of beautiful designs and of the finest workmanship. The subject of this sketch was born in Cumberberland Co., N. J., near the historic ground known as "Vineland," on the 19th of September, 1824, and is the son of John and Mary (Pettet) Collins. In 1838 he removed with his parents to Dayton, Ohio, where he was reared on a farm. He was married at Dayton, June 24,1847, to Miss Mary J. Irvin, daughter of William and Martha (Brooks) Irvin. Mrs. Collins was born in Montgomery Co., Ohio. In 1855 he came West and settled on a farm in Muscatine Co. Iowa. He was elected and served 14 years as Township Assessor, several years as Town Clerk, and held other minor offices. He continued farming in Muscatine County till March, 1882, when, having sold out, he removed to Fulton and engaged in the marble business. Mr. and Mrs. Collins have had eight children, two sons and six daughters. Anna B. is the wife of T. S. Meeker, of Muscatine, Iowa. Mary E. is the wife of Asa Critchfield, of Fulton, Ill. Laura died aged , 21 years. Martha L. is the wife of Morris N. Rippey, of Muscarine, Iowa. Ida C., William I., Harry E. and Eva A. are unmarried. William is engaged with his father in the marble works. Harry is at Darlington, Wis employed as merchant clerk. Mr. and Mrs. Collins are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Mr. C. is Prohibitionist in politics, but was a Republican till 1884. [Portraits & Biographical Pg. 219]
Thomas Conboy is a farmer on section 1, Hume Township. He was born Sept. 12, 1842, in Galway, Ireland, and is the son of Patrick and Margaret Conboy. They were natives of the same part of Ireland. In 1861 the son emigrated to America. He made his first location in the town of Clarence, in Cedar Co., Iowa. A year later he came to Como, in Whiteside County. He engaged as a laborer on the farm of C. H. Holmes, where he was employed four years. A year after, in 1868, he purchased 80 acres on section 1, Hume Township , on which he had resided during the year 1866 as a renter. In 1873 he bought 80 acres more and in 1882 he made another purchase of 43 acres. The tract is now all under improvement, and is supplied with a fine large residence and suitable farm buildings. Mr. Conboy is engaged to a considerable extent in raising fine graded stock.
April 8, 1866 he was married, in Hume Township, to Mary, daughter of Patrick and Bridget (Bly) Noonen. Her parents were born and married in the west of Irland. A few years later they emigrated to America and made a temporary settlement in Monmouth Co., N. J., where Mrs. Conboy was born, May 15, 1848. Later, her parents came to Como, where they located when she was a small girl. Her mother lives with her. Her children are eight in number and are named Martin, Maggie, Mary, Eddie, Thomas, Ana, Willie and John. The family belong to the Catholic Church. Mr. Conboy is Democratic in political opinion. He has officiated as School Director and as Highway Commissioner. [Whiteside County History 1885]
JARED D. CONYNE
Of Lyndon Township
Jared D. Conyne came from Lewis county, New York, and settled in Lyndon township in 1839. He worked on the mill race then being extended by Ray, Harmon, Spencer and Dix. He formerly lived on a farm owned by him one and a half miles north of Lyndon, but has of late years resided in the village, where he owns a fine residence. He married Miss Orrell M. Warner; one child has been born to them, a daughter, named Orrell, who married Truman G. Wilder. [Bent & Wilson History 1877]
of Genesee Twp.
John Courtright, who is now living retired, receiving a good income from valuable property interests, has made his home in Whiteside county since 1852 and has therefore been a witness of much of its growth and up building. He has taken a deep interest in its progress and has contributed in substantial measure to its agricultural develoment, and now in his retirement from business he watches its continued progress with pride. He has attained the age of eighty-four years, his birth having occurred in Sussex county, New Jersey, October, 10 1823. He is a son of Reuben Courtright and a grandson of Samuel Courtright. The latter, a native of New Jersey, was a farmer by occupation, reared a large family and died in old age. Reuben Courtright, also born in New Jersey, followed agricultural pursuits as a life work and cast in his lot with the early settlers of Genesee township, Whiteside county. There he continued to make his home up to the time of his death, which occurred when he was eighty-six years of age. In early manhood he wed Deborah Bedell, also a native of New Jersey, her parents being farming people of Sussex county. She died in middle life and Mr. Courtright afterward married Elizabeth Van Nettan, who is also now deceased. There were ten children, four sons and six dauhters, of the first marriage, of who three still survive: Catharine, the widow of William Woolley, now living in Omaha, Nebraska, at the age of ninety-two years; Margaret, the widow of Franklin Woolley and a resident of Sterling at the age of eighty-six years; and John, who is eighty-four years of age. There were also ten children of the father's second marriage and the four who survive are: Lydia Ann, the wife of William Howard; of Sterling; George Courtright, of this city; Josephine, the wife of Henry Shively, of Peoria, Illinois; and Aaron Courtright, of Denver, Colorado.
No event of special importance occurred to vary the routine of farm life for John Courtright in his boyhood and youth. He was reared in Sussex county, where he acquired his education, and when not busy with his textbooks he assited in the work of tilling the soil After he had reached manhood he learned the carpenter's trade, which he followed for a number of years. While still living in the east he was married in 1848, to Miss Sarah A. Trauger and in 1852 they removed westward to Illinois with their daughert, settling in Genesee township, Whiteside county. During the first summer Mr. Courtright worked at his trade and afterward bought a farm, to which he has since added. The property is therefore extensive and valuable and its fine appearance indicates his careful supervision and practical methods. He broke the sod, planted the first crops, built a house and otherwise improved the place, converting it into a productive tract. He paid three dollars and a half per arce for the first farm, which is today worth one hundred and fifty dollars per acre. He also owns another farm of seventy-five acres near the old homestead, together with one hundred and sixty acres in North Dakota, an interest in eighty acres in Ustick township and a half section in Greeley county, Kansas. Great changes have occurred since he came to the county fifty-five years ago, for the once wild land has been converted into rich and productive farms, in the midst of which thriving towns and villages have sprung up, affording all the advantages of a modern civilization. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Courtright were born a daughter and son. The former, Amanda Jane, became the wife of Francis Adelbert Gould, of Sterling and they have a son, John L., who married Nellie Cokersberger and has three children - Francis Adelbert, George Raymond and Leon Lester. The brother of Mrs. Gould was Lester Courtright, who died at the age of six years. The mother died December 31, 1906, when more than eighty years of age, in the faith of the Methodist church, of which she had long been a consistent and devoted member. Her loss was deeply deplored by the church and her friends, as well as her husband and daughter. She was devoted to the welfare of her home and famly and displayed many of the sterling qualities of the ideal wife and mother. Mr. Courtright owns and occupies a fine brick residence at No. 712 First Avenue.. He is a stockholder of the State Bank of Sterling and his industry in former years, resulting in judicious investment in property and stocks, has made him financially independent, permitting him now to enjoy a well earned rest. In 1891 he left the farm and removed to the city, where he has since made his home. He has held various township offices and as school director has done effective service in behalf of the cause of education. Politically he is a republican with unfaltering faith in the principles of the party. A review of his life show that in business he has been diligent as well as reliable, that in citizenship he has been loyal to the best interests of the community and that his social acquaintances know him as a tried and trusted friend. [Contributed by Amy Anderson from the History of Whiteside County]
JOHN COURTRIGHT, general farmer, section 32, Genesee Township, was born Oct. 10, 1823, in Sussex Co., N. J. His grandfather, Samuel Courtright, and his father Reuben Courtright, were both farmers, and were born in Sussex County. The former died in that county. They were farmers and were the descendants of the settlers from the Netherlands who located in New Jersey. The mother of Mr. Courtright, Deborah Bedell before her marriage was the daughter of a New Jersey farmer, and passed her whole life in her native State, where she died about 1827. She was the mother of ten children Reuben Courtright took a second wife, by whom he had also ten children. Nearly all his 20 children grew to mature age. Reuben Courtright died Aug. 8, 1985 aged 86 years and some months.
Mr. Courtright was four years of age when his mother died, and he was under the care of his stepmother after the second marriage of his father continuing a member of the Paternal household until he was 22 years of age. He went then to Port Jarvis, N. Y., where he apprenticed himself to learn the trade of a carpenter with John Clark and John Kyte. The terms of his agreement provided that he was to remain with them two years and receive six dollars a month for his first year's service. He abandoned the plan underr which he began to acquire his trade and completed his preparation for a mechanic's career with a man named Westbrook Williamson. He afterwards returnee to his native county in New Jersey, and was married Dec. 29, 1848 , to Sarah A. Trauger. She was the daughter of Lewis and Elizabeth (Adams) Trauger, natives of Bucks Co., Pa., and of German descent and ancestry. They were farmers and were married in their native country, afterwards removing to Sussex Co., N.J. Their two eldest children were born in Bucks Co., Pa, and the eight Younger were born in Sussex County. Mrs Courtright has a twin sister amd they were born July 25, 1825. Her father died in 1836 and was about 46 years of age at the time of his decease. The death of her mother occurred about 1853 and she was 65 years old. Mrs. Courtright remained with her mother until two years previous to her marriage, and the intervening time she was a member of the family of an older sister.
After the union in marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Courtright, they lived neatly three years in Sussex County, whence they came in 1852 to Illinois and settled for a few months in the township of Sterling, in Whiteside County. In the year following, in company with his brother, he bought 16o acres on section 32 Genesee Township, on which they operated together some time and afterwards made a division of the estate, Mr. Courtright taking the southern half, adjoining which he had bought 40 acres, the whole constituting a valuable and finely located farm of 121 acres. The entire acreage was all unbroken prairie at the date of his purchase. It gives substantial proof of the quality of the energy and thrift brought to bear on the property by its advanced cultivation and its excellent far buildings. Mr. Courtright is the owner of two additional farms, containing respectively 79 and 75 acres, which are all undere improvement. He owns besides 10 acres of timber. Two children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Courtright. Amanda married Francis A. Gould, and they reside with her parents. Lester died when six years of age. Mr. Courtright is a decided Republican. [Portrait and Biographical Album of Whiteside County, Illinois, Chapman Brothers Publishing Co., Chicago, 1885., Page 489]
Levi Courtright, farmer, section 28, Genesee Township, was born Jan. 27, 1840 in Sussex Co., N.J., and is a son of Reuben and Elizabeth (Vernanten) Courtright. (see sketch of John Courtright.). His parents came to Illinois when he was 15 years of age. His father was the parent of 21 children, born of two marriages. Mr. Courtright is the sixth in order of birth of ten children born of the second marriage. He was brought up on his father's farm and lived at home until he was 22 years old.
He was married Dec. 24, 1861, in Genesee Township, to Sarah Franklin. She was born Feb. 12, 1841, in Muskingum Co., Ohio. Her parents, Simeon and Catherine (Funk) Franklin, went when she was ten years old to Fulton County, in the same State. Six years later they made another removal to Genesee Township, in Whiteside County. Her father died in May, 1871, aged 70 years. Her mother lives in Jones Co., Iowa, with her eldest daughter, and is aged 78 years (1885). Mrs. Courtright is one of a family of eight children, and is herself the mother of five sons and daughters. Emma V. is the wife of Henry Finzel, a farmer and teacher in Genesee Township. Martha C., Charles, Frank an Fred (twins) are the names of t hose who are yet unmarried. Mr. Courtright passed some years in the business of farming “on shares,” and in February, 1873, bought 103 acres on sections 28 and 19, which has since been his field of operation. The family belong to the Methodist Episcopal Church. Mr. Courtright is a Republican in political affiliation. [Portrait and Biographical Album of Whiteside County, Illinois, Chapman Brothers Publishing Co., Chicago, 1885. Pg 360]
WILLIAM H. COURTRIGHT
William H. Courtwright, general farmer, living on section 31, Genesee Township, was born April 26, 1820, in Sandyston, Sussex Co., N. J. His parents were Reuben and Debora (Bedell) Courtright, of whom a full sketch appears in connection with that of John Courtright. Their children were: Peter, born Nov. 1, 1809; Ohebe, Jan. 11, 1812; Isaac, April 18, 1813; Catharine, Jan. 7, 1815; Lucinda, April 30, 1816; Jane, May 27, 1818; William H., April 26, 1820; Margaret, Feb. 6, 1822; John, Oct. 10, 1823; Mary, March 18, 1827; andDeborah, March 18, 1827; and by Mr. C's second wife there were the following: Benjamin, born July 22, 1831; Samuel, July 13, 1833; Mary, Oct. 14, 1835; William H., Nov. 21, 1837; Levi, Jan. 27, 1840; George, Sept. 14, 1843; Paretial, Aug. 7, 1845; Lydia Ann, Aug. 22, 1848; Josephine, Oct. 20, 1850; and Aaron D., Dec. 2, 1852. Mr. Reuben Courtright died Aug. 8, 1875; Mrs. Deborah Courtright, March 18, 1827; and Lucinda, their daughter, died Aug. 22, 1848.
Mr. Courtright, the subject of this sketch, received a limited education in the public schools, and continued under the parental authority until he was 21 years of age. After arriving at his majority he spent two years in the capacity of a farm laborer. His first important movement was his marriage, Dec. 22, 1842, to Mary A. Trauger. She was born July 25, 1825, in the township of Wallpack, Sussex Co. N.J., and is a daughter of Lewis and Elizabeth (Adams) Trauger, whose sister is the wife of John Courtright. The items pertaining to the personal history of the parents of Mrs. Courtright are to be found in connection with the sketch already referred to. She is twin sister of Mrs. John Courtright. Her sisters and brothers, in order, were: Jessie, Samuel, William, Geo. A., Chrstenah, Elias, Mary A., Sarah A., Henry and Theodore. To her and her husband 11 chilren have been born, seven of whom are living. Henry T. married Katherine O. Trauger, and they are residents of Clay Co., Iowa. S. Elizabeth married Charles S. Rowley, a farmer of Plymouth Co., Iowa. Wiliam R. married Sarah A. Gould. They live on a farm in Hopkins Township. Delila A. is the wife of John Parish, a farmer in Tama Co., Iowa. Miles A. married Minnie S. Marohn, and they are residents of Lincoln, Neb., where the husband is a teacher in the public schools. Anna M. married David Decker of Sterling. Emma is unmarried and resides at home.
Mr. and Mrs. Courtright passed five years in farming in their native county after they were married, and they removed thence to Luzerne Co., Pa. They were there interested in agricultural pursuits a similar length of time. In 1852 the brothers William and John, accompanied by their families, removed to Whiteside County and purchased 160 acres of land on section 32, of which they were the joint possessors some years. At length the tract was divided and Mr. Courtright of this sketch became the sole proprietor of the northern moiety, and his acreage had been increased by a purchase of 20 acres previous to the division. Subsequently, he sold his farm on section 32, and bought 177 acres on sections 31 and 30. At the time he took possession of his homestead it was in its primal condition, and is now under excellent improvements.
Mr. Courtright is a Republican in political sentiment and has held several township offices. He and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and he has been a Class-leader more then 20 years. [Portrait and Biographical Album of Whiteside County, Illinois, Chapman Brothers Publishing Co., Chicago, 1885. Pg 494]
David Cowan, farmer, section 27, Ustick Township, has been a citizen of Whiteside County since June, 1854. He is the son of Robert and Mary (Sellers) Cowan, and his parents were born and died in Scotland. Their seven children were born in the following order: William, Mary, Robert, Adam, John, David and Elizabeth. Mr. Cowan, the youngest son, was born June 22, 1822 in Scotland. He was educated in the parish school near his early home, and he was a farmer on his native heather until 1854. In June of that year he bade a final farewell to the land of his birth, and on reaching Whiteside County went to the township of Union Grove, where he remained ten months. He went next to Clyde Township, where he passed a similar period, working by the month. In 1857 he located where he has since lived and managed his farm, which comprises of 123 acres in tillage. Mr. Cowan was married April 10, 1857, in Unionville, Union Grove Township, to Agnes, daughter of Archibald and Agnes (Wilson) Taylor. She was born April 25, 1882, in Scotland, which was also the native land of her parents. Robert S., Archie T., Mary A., Lizzie W. and Margaret B. are the names of the children of which Mr. and Mrs. Cowan have been the parents. The youngest daughter died when five years old. The parents are members of the Presbyterian Church. Mr. Cowan is a Nationalist in political sentiment; in temperance principle he is a prohibitionist. He has held office of School Director three years. Mrs. Cowan had ten brothers and sisters, born as follows: Roberts (1st), Elizabeth, John, Robert (2d), Agnes, Archibald, James, Margaret (1st), Gilbert, Margaret (2d) and Mary. Five of the above only now living, all of whom are residing in the United States [Contributed by Debbie Thormahlen from Portraits & Biographical Pg 460 Whiteside County IL 1885]
of Tampico, IL
Emery D. Covell, a representative farmer and highly esteemed citizen of Tampico township, whose home is on section 6, was born in Wyoming county, New York, December 24, 1835, and is a son of George R. D. and Laura (Carpenter) Covell, also natives of the Empire state. During his childhood he removed with the family to Genesee county, New York, where the father bought a farm and spent his remaining days. There both parents died. Our subject passed his boyhood and youth in much the usual manner of farmer boys of his day, aiding his father in improving and carrying on home farm and attending school as the opportunity presented itself. In Genesee county, he was married, November 15, 1859. the lady of his choice being Miss Julia E. Erwin, who was barn in Monroe county, New York, but was reared in Genesee county. They have one son, Clarence, who married Stella Needham and has eight children. He helps his father carry on the home farm. After his marriage, Mr. Covell rented land in Genesee county, New York, and engaged in farming there until the spring of 1862, when lie came west to Whiteside county, Illinois, joining his brother~in-law, Burt Erwin. During the First year spent here, he worked by the month as a farm hand, anti the following year operated rented land. His first purchase consisted of eighty acres of raw prairie, which he fenced, broke, and converted into a highly productive farm. After farming upon that place for several years, he sold it at a good profit, arid bought one hundred and twenty acres where he now resides. The same season he purchased another forty-acre tract adjoining the first, and has since devoted his time and attention to the improvement and cultivation of this farm, with the exception of three years spent in Kansas. Renting his land in 1895, he moved to Logan, Phillips county, Kansas, where he bought an elevator and en- gaged in the grain and stock business for three years, but in September, 1898, he sold his interests there and returned to his farm in Whiteside county, Illinois. In politics Mr. Covell is an ardent Republican, and has never wavered in his allegiance to that party since casting his first presidential vote for Abraham Lincoln in i86o. He has never cared for official honors, hut at different times has served as school director in his district. He is largely interested in any movement that is for the improvement of his township and county, or that will elevate or benefit the people among whom he lives. He is honored and respected wherever known, and by his neighbors and friends is held in the highest regard. [Whiteside County Biographical Record 1900 pg 240]
Henry Cramer, merchant, Fourth Street, Sterling, was born Oct. 8, 1824, in Pennsylvania. His parents were Christian and Hannah (Miller) Cramer, residents upon a farm. Mr. Cramer, the sixth child in a family of ten sons and four daughters, remained at home until of age, receiving a common-school education. He was then a day laborer for many years, through the winter carrying on the butchering business. He came West in 1864, settling in Sterling, this county, where he has since resided. He opened his grocery store in 1880, commencing on the small capital of $117. At the present time he carries a stock of $2,000, and runs a delivery wagon to all parts of the city, and also to Rock Falls. His trade is prospering in all its branches. Previous to engaging in mercantile business he purchased his residence, the west half of lots 7,8 and 9, block 21, east of Broadway, and just east of the old American House. Mr. Cramer is a representative business man of Sterling, a member of the Methodist Church, and in politics a Republican. He was married Nov. 27, 1844, to Annie Smith, and they have had nine children living, and all married, as follows: Mahala A. married Martin R. Watson, and has seven children living: Laura, Biga, Horace, Lillie B.,Guy, Jeffy and Martie; William H. married Elzabeth Brenbarger, and had by that marriage three children,--Minnie, Charles and Wilber; he afterward married Lucy Daniel, a native of Kansas City, and by the present union there is one son, Frank; Emanuel married Anna Heckerman, a native of Pennsylvania, and they had one child, named Mabel; by his first wife he was the parent of two sons, Walter and Charles; Isaac D. married Belle Morgan, a native of Sterling, and their three children are Daisy, Mertie and Tinie; Benjamin F. married Ada Swartzbaugh; John C. married Susie Stout, a native of Pennsylvania, and their three children are Rilla, Clifton and Lotta; Joseph M. married Ella Burgess, a native of Iowa; Mary H. became the wife of David Stookey, a native of Iowa, and they have two children, Guy and Emma; Sarah E. is now Mrs. Sargenas Williams, and the mother of two children, Anna and Earl. Mrs. Cramer is also a member of the Methodist Church. [Whiteside County History, 1885]
Of Erie Township
Lafayette Crandall is a native of the town of Collins, Erie county, Now York, and was born on the 9th of April, 1822. He came to Illinois in 1835, and located first at Grand Detour, then in Jo Daviess county, now in Ogle, where he remained until 1837, when he settled at Crandall's ferry, in the present township of Erie, his farm lying in section 18. On the 10th of February, 1847, he was married in Portland township to Miss Lovina Rowe, the children of the marriage being the following: Francis Marion born April. 27, 1849; Ida E., born March 6,1853; Alice A., born November 12, 1857; and George W., born September 15, 1863. These children are all residing with their parents. Mr. Crandall is one of the successful farmers of Erie, He has been Justice of the Peace of the town, and is a member of the Executive Committee of the Whiteside County Central Agricultural Society. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 151-152]
LAFAYETTE CRANDALL, farmer, residing on section 18, Erie Township (19 north, 4 east), is a son of Luke and Deborah Wilbor Crandall, and was born in the Township of Collins, Erie Co., N. Y., April 9, 1822. His father, a farmer, was a native of Vermont, and a descendant of an old American family. His mother, also a native of the Green Mountain State, was of Irish ancestry. Both are now deceased. They had eight children, three of whom are living. The record of all is: Hannah married David Hunt, a farmer, who came to Erie Township in the fall of 1835; both are now dead; Maria became the wife of Moses Hubbard, and both these are also deceased; they were residents of Rock Island County; John and Lewis D. came to Erie Township, from New York, in the fall of 1835, and about 1837 built the ferry in this county, two miles south of the village of Erie, which bears their name - "Crandall Ferry;" they had farms in this township; John died in Edgar County, this State, and Lewis D., being elected Sheriff of this county, was a resident of Sterling for sorne years; also a merchant for several years previously in Portland, this county; he moved to Central City, Col., where he died Nov. 15, 1860; Lucinda also came to Erie about 1837, kept house for her brothers at the ferry, and married, in that township, a farmer named James Hamilton, both these are now deceased; Fidelia, the wife of Jerome Peters, is now a resident of Mercer Co., Ill., they were early settlers of Fenton Township, this county, married in Erie Township, and resided there a number of years; the next in order was La Fayette, the subject of this sketch; Luke W. came to this country about [839, resided with his brothers at the ferry for a time, but was a roamer; when last heard from he was in Oregon.
When the subject of this sketch was 13 years of age the family emigrated West, locating in Lee County, this State, where his father purchased a farm of about 200 acres, and was also a half owner of a ferry across Rock River at that point. He died in that county. LaFayette came to Erie Township, this county, in 1839, and resided with his brothers at times until 1847, when he took possession of the 60 acres where he now resides, receiving it from his brother Lewis's claim, and his brother John let him have ten acres of timber in Erie Grove. When the the land came into market Mr. Crandall bought it, and has since added to it by further purchases, so that he now has an aggregate of 300 acres, on sections 18, 13, 25 and 26. He has a nice farm. His house was probably the second frame structure in the township. Mr. C. has been Justice of the Peace six years.
He was married in Portland Township, Feb. 10, 1847, to Miss Lovina, daughter of John S. and Rachel Rowe. She was born May 20, 1827, in Steuben Co., N. Y. Of their four children, three are still living; Francis M., born April 27, 1849, married Helen Stephenson, Dec. 25, 1872; he is a farmer, and resides in Portland Township; Ida E., born March 6, 1853, became the wife of John J. Bessee, a farmer of Erie Township, April 15, 1874, and died Nov 29, 1884; Alice A., born Nov 12, 1857, and George W., Sept 15, 1865, are still at home [Portrait and Biographical Album of Whiteside County, Illinois; 1895]
LEWIS D. CRANDALL
of Erie Township
Lewis D. Crandall was born in Erie county, New York, in 1816, and settled in Erie in the fall of 1835, on section 18. In 1837, he establishod the ferry still known as "Crandall's Ferry," it being one of the first on Rock river below Dixon. Mr. Crandall was Sheriff of Whiteside county one term, and was also engaged in business at Portland with Mr. Sol. Seely, He was also editor and proprietor of the Sterling Times, now Gazette. His wife's maiden name was Phebe Hunt. She died several years previous to Mr. Crandall, whose death occurred in 1860 [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 151]
DAVID M. CRAWFORD
Of Sterling Township
David M. Crawford was born in Buyerstown, Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, April 5, 1830. Previous to his coming West he was for three years a clerk in a large mercantile establishment in Philadelphia. He came to Sterling in the spring of 1850, and in 1852 became a partner in the firm of Galt & Crawford, remaining with it for three years, and then with Thomas A. Galt in the hardware business. He remained in the hardware trade until 1858 when he established a dry goods store, in connection with his brother, J. L. Crawford. The firm continued until the death of his brother, when he assumed entire charge, and so continued until 1871, when James A. Galt, and E. Diller Davis, became partners with him, the firm name becoming D. M. Crawford & Co. and has so remained. Mr. Crawford has devoted his whole attention to business, resisting all efforts to induce him to accept public positions. As a business man and a citizen, he stands deservedly high. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County]
TRUMAN H. CROCKER
Truman H. Crocker, well known in Whiteside County as a breeder and raiser of live stock and fine poultry, is doing much through his private business affairs not only for his own financial condition, but also to improve the grade of stock raised in this county. He was born in Newton township, this county, February 24, 1862, and is a son of John W. and Amerette (Hill) Crocker, who were natives of Michigan, in which state they were reared. The mother came to Illinois with her parents and the father with his brother. They became residents of Albany, and both are now living in Morrison, Mr. Crocker having retired from active business life. Their family numbered nine children: Truman H.; Mrs. Mary Elmyra Sherman, of Chicago; Bertha, the wife of William Sprinkle, of this county; Frank E. and Francis B., twins, who are residents of Fenton township; Carrie, the wife of Burt Strayer, of Missouri; Jennie, who is with her parents; William, a mail carrier of Fenton; and Carl, at home.
When Truman H. Crocker was two years of age his parents removed to Fenton township, where he was reared to the occupation of farming, early becoming familiar with the duties and labors that fall to the lot of the agriculturist. He continued to assist his father in carrying on the home farm until he had attained his majority, when he started out in life on his own account. He first purchased a farm of eighty acres, but after two or three years sold that property, and for two years afterward rented land. He next purchased his present farm, comprising one hundred and thirty acres on section 27, Fenton township. There was nothing on the place when it came into his possession, and all of the buildings and improvements stand as monuments to his thrift and enterprise. He now has an excellent place equipped with modern accessories and conveniences, and everything about the farm is kept in a state of good repair. His success is attributable entirely to his own efforts, for he had no capital when he started out in life, working, however, persistantly and earnestly to gain a start, eventually winning a place mong the substantial residents of the county. He is now extensively and successfully engaged in raising draft and road horses, making a specialty of the Clyde and Major Mason stock. He keeps on hand from eighteen to twenty-five head of thouroughbreds and he also makes a specialty of whitefaced shorthorn cattle and raises from seventy-five to one hundred and twenty-five head offerings. This is one of the best stock farms of the county. He never sells a bushel of corn but feeds all his stock, although he has raised as high as six thousand bushels of corn in a year. He not only cultivates his own fields, but also rents land for this purpose. Mr. Crocker is well known as a poultry fancier and has raised some of the finest poultry found in Whiteside County. He now has six hundred chickens upon his place and is preparing to raise them on a still more extensive scale. In all of his business he is very progressive, brooking no obstacles that cannot be overcome by determination and honest effort, and as the years have gone by he has met with success that is as commendable as it is gratifying.
On the 21st of May, 1883, Mr. Crocker was married to Miss Pluma Mickle, who was born in Ustick township, this county, August 13, 1866, a daughter of Lorenzo Mickle. Their children are four in number: Effie Myrtle, now the wife of William J. Forth, postmaster and merchant of Fenton; Maggie Elmyra, the wife of Clifford Breed, of Spring Hill, Portland township, this county; and Forest Emory and Nina D., both at home. Mr. Crocker is an ernest republican in his political views, and has held minor township offices. For many years he has served as a director in the schools, and the cause of public education finds in him a stalwart champion. In a review of his life it will be found that his advancement in the business world has come to him as the direct result of his close application and unfaltering perseverance. He has known how to use hsi time and his opportunities to the best advantage, and no resident of the locality is a better judge of the value of stock, so that he is able to make judicious investments while from his sales he derives a good profit.
ASA CROOK, Sr.
Of Prophetstown Township
Asa Crook was born in Rutland county, Vermont, in 1790. When nineteen years of age he moved to Erie county, New York, where he remained until 1831, when he came to Indiana, staying there only a year, and then moving to Michigan. His residence in the Wolverine State was of three years duration, and in May, 1834, he came to Prophetstown, and made a claim adjoining the present village. He then returned for his family, and going by the way of Knox county, engaged a Mr. Benjamin Brown there to go up to Prophetstown to do some breaking for him. He arrived with his family on the 4th of June, and as the breaking had been completed, planted it to sod corn, which produced a good crop. Mr. Crook erected a log house that season, and lived in it until 1839, when he built the large two-story frame house now owned by W.A. Taylor. In this house, he entertained many travelers. He was probably the first Justice of the Peace in the county, having been elected to that office in August 1835. He was also Postmaster early in 1836. He was always a farmer, but like many other of the early settlers, made some money in selling claims.
Mr. Crook's family was a large one, and endowed with strong constitutions. The children are all still living, and enjoying excellent health. Mrs. Crook is with her son Timothy D., in Nebraska, and is now eighty-four years of age. Mr. Crook died in Sharon, Henry county, in 1854. Mr. and Mrs. Crook, the latter being a Miss Mary Dustin, were married in 1811. Their children have been: Theron, who married Miss Nancy Hamilton, and lives in Oregon; Timothy D, who married Miss Elizabeth Barker, and lives in Nebraska; Charles, living in Iowa; Asa, Jr., who married Miss Lucy Cole, and lives in Henry county, Illinois; Lydia, who married Norman B. Seely, and lives in California; Mary, who married Mr. Penwell, and after his death, Andrew T. Bracken, and lives in Portland; Cynthia, who married David Brown, and lives in Iowa; Lucy who married Robert Woodside, and lives in Portland; Sarah, who married P. Baachus Besse, and lives in Portland; Laura, who married Benjamin Mattson, and lives in Henry county, Illinois; and Caroline, who married David Vader, and lives in Iowa. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 375]
RODNEY C. CROOK
Rodney C. Crook, a retired farmer residing in Prophetstown, this county, is a son of Stephen and Mary C. (Gibbs) Crook. He was born in Orange County, Vt., Aug. 24, 1836. His father was a farmer by occupation, and in April, 1838, came West, and located in what is now Prophetstown Township, this county, and about one and a half miles east of the present village of that name. Asa Crook, a brother of Stephen Crook, father of the subject of this sketch, drove from Vermont with teams in the fall of 1837, spending the winter in Buffalo, N. Y., and in the following spring came West with two teams loaded with household goods, and located in this county. The family consisted of four sons and four daughters. One daughter was married and remained in Vermont; and one brother, David P., had already preceded the family to this county to prepare a place of shelter; Mary, now deceased, was married to Harry C. Crook, in Vermont; David P. and Albert G. are also deceased; Lucy A. is a widow, and resides in Denver, Col.; Irene G. is the wife of Joel Kirshbaum, of Burlington, Iowa, a book-keeper by occupation; Charles H. is a resident of Iowa; Harriet is deceased, and Rodney C., the subject of this notice. The father died here in the f all after the arrival of the family. The mother was assisted by her two sons, David P. and Albert G., and when the land had come into market on which they originally settled, they purchased 240 acres. The mother died in Sterling, Sept. 30, 1861, where she was living with her daughter, Lucy A.
Mr. Crook remained at home, assisting in the maintenance of the family and receiving the advantages of the family and receiving the advantages afforded by the common schools, until the spring of 1834, when he went to California, in company with two brothers, D. P. and Charles. He was employed in herding for his brother, D. P., and in 1857 he returned, and the following spring he was employed in a livery stable at Sterling. He then, in 1860, went to Colorado, but only remained a short time. In 1861 he again made the same trip. In 1862 he went for the third time, and remained until 1864, engaged in mining, and meeting with very good success. He had several claims, and made enough to return and purchase a farm of 160 acres, located on sections 30 and 31, Hume Township. He resides on section 30, and has since added by subsequent purchase to his landed interest until he is a present the proprietor of 240 acres. He gradually worked into fine stock, and when he retired from farming he had 53 head of cattle, among which were 17 head of full-blooded Short-horn and graded. He still owns his 240-acre, and has held the office of Supervisor one year, Commissioner three years, School Trustee three years. He is a member of the Masonic Order. In the spring of 1885 he retired from active labor on the farm, and moved to Prophetstown.
Mr. Crook was united in marriage in Livingston Co., Ill., Feb. 20, 1866, to Miss Mary C. Brydia, a daughter of Truman W. and Laura (Day) Brydia. She was born in Bluffdale, Green County, Mary 13, 1844. They have one daughter, Mary L., born in Hume Township, this county, March 20, 1876. The parents of Mrs. Crook were natives of Vermont. Her father is a farmer by occupation, and resides in Livingston Co., Ill. Her mother died in that county, July 8, 1873. [Portrait and Biographical Album of Whiteside County, Illinois, Chapman Brothers Publishing Co., Chicago, 1885. Pg 556]
Of Prophetstown Township
Stephen Crook was a native of Rutland county, Vermont, and came to Prophetatown in 1836. He made a claim above Coon creek that season, and returned to Vermont. In the summer of 1838 he came back with his family, and in the November following was frozen to death while coming home from Dixon’s ferry, an account of which will be found in this chapter. Mr. Crook married Miss Mary Gibbs. Their children have been: Mary, who married Harry C. Cook, and is now dead; Albert G., who married Miss Sarah Besse, and lives in Sterling, Lucy Ann, wife of Lewis D. Crandall, living in Colorado; Irene, wife of Joel Kirshbaum, living in Iowa; Charles; and Rodney C., who married Miss Mary C. Brydia, and lives in Hume. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County]
of Garden Plain Township
Isaac Crosby is a native of Shrewsbury, Worceter county, Massachusetts, and was born March 11, 1805. He came to Garden Plain, then Albany Precinct Whiteside county, in May, 1838, and settled first on the farm now owned by Mrs. S M KILGORE. Here he remained until 1844, when he purchased his present farm, situated on section 14, on the ALbany and Morrison road, a little east of Garden Plain Corners. When he purchased the land it was all wild prairie, and the hard work of breaking it was done by himself. He has now one of the most beautiful farms in the township and upon it on eof the largest and most thrifty orchards. Mr. CROSBY was married to Miss Lury B KNOWLTON, at the town of Grafton, Worcester county, Massachusetts December 2, 1830, the Rev. Otis CONVERSE, a Baptist clergyman, tying the nuptial knot. Mrs. CROSBY is also a native of Shrewsbury, Worcester county, Massachusetts and was born January 31, 1810. There are no children to bless this union, as there outght to have been, for a more amiable couple do not reside in Whiteside county. Mr CROSBY has followed farming since his residence in this county and has held no office, always saying, when he was solicited to accept one by his fellow citizens, that he would rather pay a fine than be troubled with the duties of a public position. It is needless to say that he has never been troubled in that respect, nor been called upon to a pay a fine, as office-seekers and office-holders are not rare birds in any community. He states that in going from Albany to his first place on the Kilgore farm, he hitched a yoke of oxen to a tree and had it dragged there , so as to make a trail by which he could return without getting lost. For three weeks, during the year 1839, he did not see a living person, except his wife, and was on his bed sick at that. Mr. CROSBY is one of the hale, genial pioneers of Whiteside County. [Extracted from Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 213-214]
ASHBEL C. CROUCH
Ashbel C. Crouch, section 20, Ustick Township, is a son of John and Betsey (Pratt) Crouch. His parents were born in Vermont and lived all their lives in that State. They had a family of 12 children. John A., Ashbel C., Betsey, Caroline, Nelson and Mary are the only ones who lived to attain the age of majority. Mr. Crouch was born in Orwell, Rutland Co., Vt., March 24, 1813, and he was educated in the common schools and academy in Brandon and Shoreham in his native township. He lived at home on his father’s farm until he was 23 years of age, when he went to the western part of the State of New York and settled in Chautauqua County. He lived there about four years, and in 1839, removed to Madison Co., Ill. He spent nearly four years there engaged in teaching, and at the expiration of that time went to Iowa and became interested in farming, remaining there until 1850. In that year he made an overland journey to California with an ox-team, which consumed four months. He engaged in mining and pursued that vocation more than two years. In 1853 he came back as far East as Illinois and bought 160 acres of Government land in Ustick Township, this county, on which he settled and fixed his homestead. He is now the proprietor of a finely improved farm of 160 acres with excellent buildings. Mr. Crouch is in sympathy with the principles of the National Greenback party in political opinions, but is independent in party relations. He has officiated as Township Clerk, Commissioner of Highways and Assessor. During the prevalence of the Grange movement he was active in its interests.
The first marriage of Mr. Crouch took place March 24, 1842, in Madison Co., Ill, to Marion A. Pierce, a native of Vermont. Oscar, Julius, Wallace, Delia and Edward were the names of their children who are all deceased. The mother died March 12, 1849, in Iowa. Mr. Crouch formed a second matrimonial alliance with Mahala Bolick, March 6, 1854, in Iowa, and they had two children: John and Melvin D. The eldest son died when he was two years of age. Mrs. Crouch is the daughter of David and Rachel (Simond) Bolick, who were natives of North Carolina, where she was born Feb. 11, 1819. She is the third in order of birth, and the names of her brothers and sisters were Amos, Agalina, Priscilla, Catherine, Caleb, David, Rachel and Lydia. [Portrait and Biographical Album of Whiteside County, Illinois, Chapman Brothers Publishing Co., Chicago, 1885. Pg 518]
Scott Crouch, senior member of the mercantile firm of Crouch & Ackerman, at Coleta, was born Jan. 5r, 1842, at Saratoga Springs in the State of New York. Samuel and Sarah (Baker) Crouch, his parents, were born in Saratoga County, and were of New England parentage. They lived in that county some years after their marriage, and removed thence to Wysox Township, Carroll Co., Ill., where they settled on a farm in 1848. Carroll County was in a comparatively unbroken condition, having but few permanent settlers.
Mr. Crouch has in his veins the blood of three nationalities, Scotch, Irish and Dutch, from whom his parents descended. He is the oldest of seven children, of whom there are four survivors besides himself. His parents are yet living on the farm where they located nearly 40 years ago. The earlier ancestors of both were noted for tenacity of life, which is a marked characteristic in both lines of descent, several individuals having lived nearly a century. Mr. Crouch has seen and known seven grandparents and great-grandparents. He lived at home until he was 22 years of age. His first independent step was his marriage to Margaret J., daughter of Geroge R. and Mary W. (Green) Proctor. The latter were married in Lawrence County, where they resided some years, removing thence to Martin County, in the same State. Mrs. Crouch was born Nov. 7, 1841, in Martin County, where she lived and attended school until she was 14 years of age. In 1856 her father transferred his family and business to Genesee Grove. He died the next year and the mother resides in Genesee Township with her son.
Mr. and Mrs. Crouch have had four children, one being deceased. Rachel was born Jan. 22, 1866; David E. was born Feb. 18, 1873; Mabel was born July 30, 1882. Mr. and Mrs. Crouch settled on a farm containing 100 acres of valuable land, all under improvement, in Carroll County, and which is still owned by Mr. Crouch. In October, 1884, he removed to Coleta for the purpose of engaging in his present business enterprise. The firm at that date operated under the style of Cobb, Howe & Crouch, and in 1885 it was constituted as at present. They are transacting a satisfactory business and are steadily advancing in popularity. Mr. Crouch is an independent Republican. [Portrait and Biographical Album of Whiteside County, Illinois, Chapman Brothers Publishing Co., Chicago, 1885. Pg 702]
JOHN THOMPSON CRUM
OF Genesee Township
John Thompson Crum came from Indiana in 1838 in company with Martin D McCrea. Mrs. McCrea was his sister. He made a claim , and after remaining a number of years he went to Indiana and married Mary Pierce. He had a stock goods at Genesee Grove, which he afterwards sold to Ephraim Brookfield, and then went back to Indiana where he still lives. Mr. Crum built the first house in the place now called Coleta, for a store and dwelling house combined, on the corner of Sections 10 and 22. [Extracted from Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 228]
Of Como & Sterling
William Crum came and made a claim in 1838. He followed farming until bout 10 years, when he sold out and went into the dry goods business at Galt. He now owns and lives on the farm known in Como as the Perkins place. He first married Emeline Wick in 1843. Hand one child, now the wife of Joe. Sales in Iowa. Mrs. Crum died and he married Rachel M Lee. Four children were born, but all are now dead [1877 - Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 228]
WILLIAM CRUM, a retired farmer at Sterling, was born April 18, 1822, in Indiana, and was the son of William and Rosanna (Whitinger) Crum, natives of Pennsylvania, who emigrated that year to Indiana. The subject of this sketch was the youngest of 12 children in his father's family, and was only eight months old when his father died. He was brought up on the farm and in attendance at school until 1838, when he left home and came to Genesee Township, this county. Buying a quarter-section of land as soon as it came into market, he followed agricultural pursuits upon the same for 28 years; then for six years he was engaged in general mercantile business at Galt; selling out, he purchased a farm of 106 acres in Hopkins Township, and resided upon it nine years; and finally, in 1884, he moved to Sterling, occupying a residence which he purchased at the corner of Eighth and Market Streets.
May 14, 1843, Mr. Crum was married to Emeline Wick, a native of Ohio, and they had one child, Nancy E., who married Joseph M. Sowles and has five children, - William, Arthur H., Lulu A., Bertha. M. and Mary E. Mrs. Crum died March 25, 1844, in Genesee Township, this county, and Mr. Crum, for his second wife, married Rachel M. Lee, Sept. 26, 1846. She was born in Ohio and died Aug, 11, 1881, in Galt, this county. May 28, 1884, is the date of Mr. Crum's marriage to his present wife, Latina L. Patrick, a native of Illinois. Mr. Crum's political views are Democratic, and both himself and wife are members of the Christian Church. He is a liberal, intelligent Christian, and therefore a useful and worthy citizen. [Whiteside County Portrait & Biographical, 1885; Pg. 628]
WILLIAM PATTON CULBERTSON
Of Fulton IL
William Patton Culbertson, capitalist at Fulton, was born Dec. 3, 1819 near Erie PA. In the paternal line of descent he is of Scotch lineage, his earliest recorded ancestor having been one of those who went to Londonderry, Ireland, to escape the persecution of the Scottish "kirk," and who was in the siege of that place during the attack by King James. John Culbertson, son of the latter, landed at New Castle, Del., during the reign of the first George. His son, John Culbertson (2nd) was born in 1708. The record of his children are - Andrew, 1731; James 1733; Jane 1735; Jon 1737; Samuel 1744; Ebenezer 1757; Esther 1763. The children of Andrew Culbertson were William 1765; John Boyd 1767; Elizabeth 1769; John B (2nd) 1770; Andrew 1772; James 1774; Samuel 1776; Mary 1780; Jeanette 1783.
Andrew Culbertson (2nd), father of Mr. Culbertson of this sketch was born in 1772 in Northumberland Co PA, the increasing generations having settled in that State. He married Ann Culbertson, a cousin of several removes, and they had the following children - John B. 1798; Jane 1800; Duncan 1802; Agnes 1803; James 1805; Eliza 1807. The mother died and was succeeded by Ann Moorhead, who was born April 29, 1781 in Lancaster Co PA of Scotch-Irish parents. The children were THomas M June 21, 1810; ANdrew J. April 21, 1812; and William P., as above stated. Their father was a farmer, and a pioneer of Erie County. He located a farm, which he cleared of the heavy forest and placed in creditable agricultural condition. Desirous of changing his locality, he determined to make his way Westward, and made every preparation to that effect about 1811; but family considerations prevailed and he settled about 10 miles east of Erie, where he secured a claim in the dense primeval forest and cleared another farm. He died in 1848. The demise of his wife took palce Nov. 17, 1867. Thomas M., their oldest son, died Oct. 16, 1881. Andrew was for many years a farmer in Garden Prairie Township, Boone Co. IL. He is living there in retirement.
Mr. Culbertson obtained a fair degree of common-school education under the difficulties naturally attendant upon pioneer conditions; and after he was 21 years of age, acquired an expert acquaintance with the business of a carpenter and joiner, going to Washington County, in his native State, for that purpose, and was occupied there in the vocation of a mechanic between two and three years. In 1843, circumstances induced him to make a chance trip to Western IL, and he remained throughout that year and until the fall of 1844 in Rock Island and Warren Counties; and, during the period of his stay in the latter, he was occupied in the pursuit of his trade. He returned to the state of his nativity at the time referred to, having contracted the "chills" a malarial disease which was more troublesome than dangerous, and in the early days of IL seemed likely to postpone indefinitely the period of her permanent settlement.
Mr. Culbertson was first married in Erie County, Aug. 22, 1846 to Mary, daughter of Robert McCord. She was born in Newville, Cumberland Co. PA. In October, same year, they moved to Belvidere, Boone Co IL and in the fall of 1850 Mrs. C. returned to Erie Co PA to spend the winter and there died, Feb. 16, 1851. Mr. Culbertson continued to operate as a contractor and builder. In 1852 he entered employment of Beloit & Madison Railroad corporation as superintendent of construction of buildings and bridges, continuing in that capacity until 1855, when he was appointed to the position of Assistant Superintendent of the more extended railway, the Dixon Air Line, now the Chicago and Northwestern, his chief being George Bassett. His business relations brought him in June, 1855 to Fulton, where he was for some time occupied in constructing several buildings in the railroad interest. In the spring of 1859 he caught the inspiration of the gilded rumors from Pike's Peak, and set thence to push his way to fortune by a more rapid route, and he passed the summers of 1859-60 in mining for gold with reasonable success. On his return in 1861 to Fulton, he formed an association with Dr. Leander Smith, now a banker at Morrison, for the purpose of proscuting the lumber business. In 1862 they purchased the Dement saw mill near Fulton, which they continued to manage several years. Dr. Smith fell into ill health, in 1868 sold his lumber interest to E.P. Wells, now a banker at Clinton Iowa. After the return of Dr. Smith with restored health, he and J.M. Fay bought the half interest of Mr. Wells, the firm style becoming Culbertson, Smith & Co. They continued their joint transactions until 1878, when they suspended active business, and at the date of this writing, 1885, the partnership has not been formally dissolved.
In 1879 Messrs. Culbertson & Fay established a grocery enterprise at Fulton, which they conducted two years with satisfactory results, and closed in the spring of 1882. Since that date Mr. Culbertson has given his attention to financial transactions. Politically he is a Republican, but has never been aggressive in his political action, and has never sought the emoluments of office. In 1882 he was elected a member of the Board of Trustees of the Northern Illinois College and is still the incumbent of the position.
Oct. 28, 1852 he married Helen M., daughter of Dr. Daniel Reed of Belvidere, IL and they had two children - Carrie J April 23, 1854 the wife of Prof. Carl V. Lauchman, founder of the Conservatory of Music at Minneapolis MN and they have a daughter Helen Reed Aug 30, 1878. Professor Lauchmen was born March 27, 1853 in MO and descended from German parents. He has spent many years in the acquisition of musical knowledge abroad. In 1881 he and his wife, who is an accomplished musician, went to Cologne for the purpose of study, where they spent 18 months. LAter they went to Berlin and thence to Weimar, where they passed a year and a half under the instructions of Lizst. Mrs. Lauchman was a frequent contributor to the musical journals of America during her residence in Germany, and has since been connected with musical literature in her native country. Charles R., the only son of Mr. Culbertson was born March 18, 1857 and is a resident at Fulton.
The mother died at Fulton, Nov. 6, 1857. Nov. 18, 1858 Mr. Culbertson entered into a matrimonial alliance with Mary M., daughter of John Fay, at Westfield, Chautauqua Co NY. She was born there Aug. 21, 1821 and died at Fulton, July 19, 1866. Mr.Culbertson was again married Feb. 8, 1871 at Westfield to Charlotte, daughter of Asa Hall. She was born Sept. 23, 1828 at Westfield and died at Fulton, Sept. 17, 1882.
Fulton has been the field of his operations in business matters for a period of 30 years; and during that time he has maintained his record as a man of probity and unswerving rectitude. He became a convert to the faith of his ancestors in early life, and for 20 years has been an Elder in the Presbyterian Church. Physically he has preserved the erect stature and firm, sound constitution of the days of his prime. Although he is approaching the limit of years allotted to man, his mental powers are in full vigor, and he manifests in not even the smallest degree the encroachments of time. His eyes exhibit the fire and keeness of early life and his face glows with the ruddy hue of health. [Portrait and Biographical Whiteside Co IL 1885 Pg 541]
Truman Culver, a retired merchant, of Rock Falls, is a native of the Empire State. He is the first son that survived in the family of Truman J. and Catherine A. (Campbell) Culver, and was born in Booneville, Oneida Co., N.Y., Sept 9, 1835. His parents, natives also of that State, emigrated to Lee County, this State, in 1860, when his father died: his mother is still living, with one of her sons, at Crambridge, Neb.
Truman, the subject of this biography, remained at his parental home until he was 17 years of age. At 14 he began to attend school; being subject to asthama, he could not begin earlier. Although his schooling comprised so short a term,--only three years,--he made such progress that he then began to teach; and, was the practice in those days, he â€œbought his timeâ€ and started out in the world for himself, promising to give his father $200 any time before he was 21. He paid this debt within 18 months. He taught eight terms of district school alternating with attendance as a pupil at higher schools. From the age of 22 to 24 he attended college during the winters and followed manual labor the rest of the year.
He next went to Pike's Peak to dig gold, and was not successful. After remaining there a month, in company with three others, he made two canoes ('dug-outs')from cottonwood, lashed them together to keep them from rocking while on the water, and started from Denver (that place then comprising only seven sod houses) down the Platte River to Omaha; but after going about 150 miles they came to grief by the upsetting of their craft in a whirlpool caused by a beaver darn. They lost everything except a part of a sack of flour. They made a fire On the bank, rolled their rescued flour, which had become wet by the accident, into balls and roasted them on the coals, for their bread, which they stored in a small sack made out of the flour sack just referred to. They started on foot and subsisted on these bread balls two days, when they met an old trapper, from whom they purchased an old coffeepot, without spout, handle or bail, at the price of S4.50! In this they made gruel out of the dry portion of their flour, which lasted them about a week. At this time they learned from inscriptions on buffalo bones that the coming trains had received word that the gold diggings had proved a failure and that they had turned back, and those coming back had taken a shorter route. On learning these facts, they knew they would not be overtaken by any one, nor met by those coming, while they were hundreds of miles from civilization, without anything to eat. They resolved, however, to push ahead, hoping to meat friendly Indians. After their little store gave out the first thing they ate was cactus, which proved nauseous and could not be retained in the stomach. They then tried several kinds of weeds, but with no better effect. Finally they succeeded in capturing five frogs, which they ate entire! and with good results! They pushed on until again exhausted, when they found some herd's grass, the roots of which they ate. On the strength of this they trudged along two days more! But by this time their stomachs became so weak they could bear nothing, yet they dragged their weary way along for a few days more, without endeavoring to eat anything! At this juncture Mr. Culver noticed that the other boys avoided him, and were consulting each other privately! He pretended to go to sleep, so he might overhear what they said; and, sure enough! he learned that two of the three were in favor of killing him to eat! He roused up and asked them whether they heard "those frogs." They answered No. He said, "Remain here, and I will go and look for them." Accordingly he went down to the bank, and forever disappeared from those fellows. He soon fell in with a band of Indians, who gave him "jerked" antelope, refusing money but accepting a bright- colored neck-tie as a remuneration. With this sustenance Mr. Culver pushed on, walking, for many days, and at last sank down on the bank of the Platte, utterly exhausted. He wrote on an envelope his address and a statement that he had starved to death; and there he lay insensible, he knows not how long, when he was discovered by four men, in the first boat that ever succeeded in getting down the river. He could not talk above a whisper. After informing them of the emergency, they took him aboard their boat, saying that if he were to die heshould die with them. They gave him broth, and after a few days of careful management they so revived him that he became able to steer the boat. Their provisions being exhausted, they searched about for something to eat, and the best they could find was the carcass of a buffalo, which had lain so long as to become tainted; but they made a portion of it palatable by scorching it. A day or two after that gave out, they arrived at Fort Kearney where they were cared for by the Government army surgeons. Regaining sufficient strength they were sent to Omaha, where the subject of this sketch found he weighed a little over 100 pounds, having lost about 70 pounds!
Mr. Culver then came to Whiteside County, locating at Morrison. After working, as he was able, on a farm for three months, he returned to the State of New York and taught a term of school. Then he came West with his parents, who settled near Lee Center, while he came on to Morrison and worked on the same farm in 1861, owned by Erastus Pollard.
Next, Mr. Culver enlisted for the cause of the Union in the great War of the Rebellion, joining Co. C, Eighth Ill. Vol. Cav., as a private, and during his service in the army he was under fire more than a hundred times. At the battle of Gettysburg he was wounded in the right ankle, on the second day of the engagement, but he remained on duty to the close of that bloody contest. At the expiration of his term of service in 1866, he was honorably discharged, as First Lieutenant.
Returning to Morrison, he engaged in the grocery trade, which he followed for about 13 years, erecting at the end of three years the first new store building in Rock Falls, on the corner of Main and May Streets. For the next three years he was engaged in the boot and shoe trade and then retired from active business.
September 5, 1865 Mr. Culver was married to Clarinda Allen of Morrison. Their only child named Glen died when 5 years of age.
In his political views Mr. C. is a Republican, is the first postmaster of Rock Falls, holding that position three years. He is a member of the G.A.R. [Portraits & Biographical 1885 - Whiteside Co IL Pg 340]
Cornelius Cunningham, farmer, section 20, Hahnaman Township, was born in Ireland, in 1820, and emigrated to this country in 1850. He lived in Clinton, Hunterdon Co., N. J., until 1852, in Pennsylvania until the next year, then in Rockford, Ill., about two years, then in Monroe, Green Co., Wis., till February, 1866, when he came to this county, settling in Hahnaman Township, where he is now the proprietor of 400 acres, about 250 of which is in thorough cultivation. Mr. C. was married in Pennsylvania, Nov. 14, 1852, to Eliza Fogarty, who also is a native of Ireland. They have 12 children, viz.: Morris, John J., Mary A., Lizzie A., Cornelius, Nellie M., Sadie F., Frank, Thomas, Edward, Margaret and Charles. In his political views Mr. C. is a Republican, and both himself and wife are members of the Catholic Church. [Portrait and Biographical Album of Whiteside County, Illinois, Chapman Brothers Publishing Co., Chicago, 1885. Pg 564]
J. M. Cunningham, dealer in drugs, patent medicines, glass, stationery, clocks, watches, jewelry, etc., at Erie, is a son of Andre and Sabrina (Mumford) Cunningham, and was born in Exeter, Ostego Co., N. Y., Jan. 31, 1846. Mr. Cunningham was eight years of age when his parents permanently settled on a farm in Taylor Township, Ogle County.
Mr. Cunningham remained on his father’s farm in Ogle County until 18 years of age, receiving the advantages afforded by the common schools. He then went to Mt. Morris, same county, in which he reside and engaged in the drug business. He served three years in the latter and in 1874 came to Erie, this county, and conducted a drug-store for his father. He soon afterwards purchased the necessary tools for watch repairing, and carried on that business in connection with the former. He continued to conduct both branches of the business until 1884. His father died Feb. 24 of that year, and he became full possessor of the business July 1, 1885. He carried a stock approximating $2,000. He has a good and constantly increasing trade. He has two patent medicines, -- Cunningham’s Antii-bilious Elixir, and The Good Samaritan. The former he warrants a sure cure for bilious fever, fever and ague, headache, dyspepsia, jaundice and all diseases arising from an impure condition of the blood. The latter he warrants to cure croup, sore throat, burns, sprains, wounds, deafness, sore eyes, rheumatism, etc.
Mr. Cunningham was married to Erie, April 14, 1877, to Miss Annie Mofat. She was born near Amboy, Ill., July 3, 1859, and has borne him on son, Ernest J., born in Erie, July 3, 1878. [Portrait and Biographical Album of Whiteside County, Illinois, Chapman Brothers Publishing Co., Chicago, 1885. Pg 775]
Samuel Currie was born August 15, 1810, in Roxburyshire, Scotland. He, with his family, immigrated to Canada in 1829, and settled at a place called York, near Toronto. He was engaged in the "Patriot War," and received a wound which caused a permanent injury to his arm. In June, 1838, he came to the United States, and settled in Clyde in 1839. He married Jane Patrick, June 15 1833, in Canada. She died May 27, 1840. Mr Currie was remarried to Miss Julia Thomas. About 12 years ago Mr. Currie sold his farm in Clyde, and is now a resident of Morrison. [Taken from Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 144]
Samuel Currie, retired farmer, resident of Morrison, has been a citizen of Whiteside County since 1838, when he became a member of its pioneer agricultural element, and has since been a factor in the development of Northwestern Illinois. He was born August 15, 1810, in Roxburgshire, Scotland, on the river Tweed. His father, John Currie, was a native of Yetholm, in the same shire, and was born Oct. 25, 1776. His mother Hannah (Lockley) Currie was born in Ilderton, Northunberlandshire, England, Nov. 11, 1784. The marriage of his parents took place at Jedburgh, May 27, 1805, and in May, 1818, the family emigrated to America. They settled at first in the State of New York, where they remained until November 1819, when they went to York in Canada (now Toronto). In March, 1820, they took possession of a farm in Scarborough, in the Dominion where the father died, Sept. 17, 1830. The mother died Dec. 18, 1861, in East Whitby, Canada. There are (in 1885) but four survivors of their ten children, who were born in the following order: Sarah (deceased) was the wife of Joseph Lundy. James is living in retirement in the township of Whitby, Canada; has been for many years a minister of the Methodist Episcopal Church. John was a farmer; Andrew was a merchant tailor, and Robert, formerly a farmer in Kansas, are all deceased. George is engaged in the business of sheep-raising in Montana. Mark was during his lifetime a carriage builder and blacksmith in Canada. Margaret is deceased. William resides in Lloyd, WI, and was a millwright before his retirement from active business life.
Mr. Currie attained to adult age in the Dominion, and when about 24 years of age rented a saw-mill and engaged in manufacture of lumber, in which he was interested about five years. During that period Mackenzie's Rebellion, known also to the history as the Patriot's War, startled the representatives of the British government in the Dominion and Mr. Currie joined the insurgents in the ill-fated struggle. He was shot through his right arm in one of the encounters of the conflict, and has suffered from the consequences all his life. He found Canadian rule no more palatable after the rebellion had been crushed than before, and, in June, 1838, he bid a final farewell to monarchical government and came to Illinois, locating primarily in Carroll County, where he remained one year. In 1839 he came to Whiteside County and entered a claim of 240 acres of land on section 30, Clyde Township, which comprised 160 acres of prairie and 80 acres of timber--one of the finest and most promising tracts of land in the township and which he converted into a model farm. He resided on his estate 25 years, pursuing his agricultural projects and engaged during the latter part of that period in loaning money. He has operated to some extent in the business last named since his removal to Morrison, in October, 1864, when he retired from active participation in a laborious life. He is the owner of considerable property, variously situated in the county.
Mr. Currie has been married twice. He first formed a matrimonial alliance, in Scarborough, Canada, June 15, 1833, with Jane Patrick, who died May 27, 1840, after becoming the mother of two sons, Asa and John--who followed their young mother to the silent land beyond while they were still in youth. She was born June 4, 1812. Mr. Currie was united in marriage to Julia Thomas, Sept. 17, 1840 in the township of Mt. Pleasant. Mrs. Currie was born Dec. 10, 1817, in St. Clair, IL. Her parents, Anthony M. and Jane (Jordan) Thomas, were born in South Carolina, and were married in 1805, in St. Clair County, whither the former had come in 1804. Anthony Thomas was a soldier of 1812. He came to Mt. Pleasant in 1837, where he died Sept. 8, 1850. His wife died Sept. 12, 1858. [Taken from Portrait and Biographical 1885 Page 215]
James Currier, retired farmer, Sterling, was born in the town of Holland, Erie Co., NY on Cazenovia Creek, his parents being Joseph and Mary (Craig) Currier, natives of Montpelier, VT. His father, a farmer by calling, pursued his vocation on a farm of 40 acres, partly timber land, which he had purchased; but after occupying the place for six years he lost it. He then moved 12 miles away with a yoke of two year old steers, into the woods, upon another 40 acres tract, which he had bought for $2.50. There he built a small log house, 12 x 20 feet in size, commenced to clear the ground, and the first year raised a good little crop of farm produce. He died in 1856, leaving a widow with six dependent children, James being the third in order of birth.
At the youthful age of ten years, the subject of this sketch, with his mother, took charge of the family and of the farm. She died in 1859; also, a son and a daughter died while the family resided at that place. James became the owner of the homestead, and continued to manage it, clearing more ground and purchasing 70 acres of timbered land in addition. All this tract he cleared, except a small portion reserved for a wood lot. He remained 40 years.
May 10, 1839 he married Sally A. Stillwell, and they became the parents of four children - Mary, Archibald, Martha J. and Phebe A. Mary died Aug. 14, 1840. Archibald married Mary McVicker, March 9, 1871 (Whiteside Co) and they have two children, - Charles and Melvin. Martha J. became the wife of Jesse Penrose in 1879, and they have one daughter, Lillian. Phebe A. married Malburn A. Tapper, Oct. 5, 1871 and they have two sons, Bertie and Eddie.
Mrs. Currier died May 10, 1848 and for this second wife, Mr. C. married Alma Howe, Oct. 8, 1848. She was the daughter of Aaron and Sarah (Clark) Howe, natives respectively of Maine and Massachusetts, Mrs. C. being the fifth in order of birth in their family of six children. By the last marriage there have been five children, namely; Emma V., who Sept. 2, 1873 married Levi W. Davis of Iowa, and they had two children, Isaac born Sept. 6, 1875 and Mary, Aug. 6, 1878. Mr. Davis died Nov. 29, 1882. Julia S., second daughter, was married Jan. 1, 1874 to Samuel Hosford, of Montmorency IL and they have three children - Frederick, Franklin and Theresa. Edward J. married Rose Bowers, of Montmorency, Jan. 13, 1879 (IL. marriage records indicate Feb. 13, 1879) and their three children are Leroy, Lee and Alma M. Elizabeth S. was married Dec. 14, 1879 to John Harl.
Mr. and Mrs. Currier, May 14, 1858, moved with their family to Montmorency, exchanging their former homestead for 200 acres of prairie land, estimating the latter at $12 per acre; also in the same trade, Mr. C. gave a horse for 80 acres of land.
While practicing as a veterinarian in New York State, Mr. Currier purchased a valuable horse, which was afflicted with the "grease-heel," and in doctoring it, was poisoned, so that he was covered with blisters. After the best physicians in the vicinity had failed to relieve him, he went in 1874 to Hot Springs, Ark., weighing only 68 1/2 pounds, and four months afterward, he came home weighing 141 pounds. In 1878 he went again, remaining three months; but he has never fully recovered. The doctors have taken pounds of proud flesh off his arm and palm of his hand. Both his hands are crippled. In his political views, Mr. Currier is a Greenbacker, and as a citizen of Sterling he stands high in the estimation of his fellow citizens. [Portraits & Biographical Pg 767]
Of Garden Plain Twp.
Samuel Curry, deceased, a former resident of Garden Plain Township, and a farmer on sections 32 and 33, was born Nov. 4, 1833, in Allegheny Co., Pa. He was the eldest son of John and Jame (McRoberts) Curry. He was reared on the farm of his father, where he was born, and was educated in the common schools. In October, 1856, he came from Pennsylvania to Whtieside County, and not long after, bought the wild land of which his farm is comprised when he took possession of it. He built a house on his property, and began to make the usual improvements without delay. He was a singel man, and his house was occupied at first by the family of his brother, with whom he boarded. He was a man of industrious habits and an excellent manager. He put his farm in fine and valuable condition, and greatly increased the beauty of its appearance by setting out numerous trees. Mr. Curry was married Feb. 17, 1875, to Hattie, daughter of Rev. Edward and Mary (Mathew) White, pioneers of Garden Plain Township, of whom a sketch appears elsewhere. Their only child is named Mary. Mr. Curry died Mary 17, 1885, (current year). [Portraits & Biographical Pg 750 Contributed by Marji Turner]
OF Coloma Township
Frank Cushing was born in Providence RI in 1819. He came with his mother to Coloma in the spring of 1839, and settled on Section 30. November 10, 1841 he married Miss Mary D Breed at Como, in Hopkins Township. Mr Cushing has been an active citizen of the township. He was Justice of the Peace for twelve years and Supervisor of Coloma in 1858-59 . In 1868 he removed to Portland Township, Whiteside County, where he has since resided. Children: Benjamin F who married Miss Addie Allen, and resides in Iowa; Mary Ann, dead; Frank, now in California; Edmund J who married Miss Mary Pfulb and resides in California; Duna F; John J; Henry S; William L B; Susan C and Emma L. The latter six reside with their parents in Portland. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County, Page 133]
MRS. SUSAN (JARVIS) CUSHING
Widow of Daniel C. Cushing Of Coloma Township
Mrs. Susan (Jarvis) Cushing was born in Boston Massachusetts n 1788. She married Daniel C. Cushing of Providence Rhode Island in 1809. In company with the following children she settled in Coloma in the spring of 1839; Samuel B. who died in Providence R. .I in 1873; Daniel C who died in Coloma in February 1843; Charles J who died in Kentucky in 1867; Frank, now living in Portland, Whiteside County ; D.r John J. who married Harriet Barlow, and is now residing in San Francisco, CA; Edward J. who married Mary Wild, and is now living in Providence RI : Susan J. who married Frank Cheney, and resides in South Manchester Conn. Mrs Cushing died in 1861. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County IL 1877]
DAVID C. CUSHMAN
OF Sterling Twp
D. C. Cushman was born in Vermont, May 24, 1809, and came to what was then Chatham, in 1838, where he opened the first blacksmith shop in the place. He was married, and had two children, Helen, and Horace. Helen married David Carnes, their whereabouts are not known Horace enlisted in the army, and has not been heard from since. Mrs. Cushman died and Mr. Cushman married Mrs. Eliza Claypole in 1841. Their children were.: Salmon, James, Emma, and Wesley. Salmon and Wesley are married and live in Sterling; Emma married George Hazen, and lives in Page county, Iowa; James died in infancy. [History of Whiteside County, Illinois, Bent - Wilson 1877, Pg 398]
** [Transcriber's Note: David C. Cushman was the son of Salman & Phoebe (Strong) Cushman. His brother Charles must have come with David to IL, as Charles married Mary Waterbury in Ogle Co. 2 November 1837. David's first wife was Fanny Heard born 13 April 1813, died 11 December 1835 in Vermont. They were married 28 October 1830 in Vermont; children Helen M. 31 July 1831; Horace 06 November 1833; Henry M. 18 August 1835 died 15 September 1836. David's second wife was Eliza Claypole born 5 August 1809. They were married in Parke Co. IN 13 September 1841. The Bio says he came to IL in 1838 so these children should have been born in Whiteside Co IL - Salman 8 August 1842, James 8 July 1845, Emma 4 May 1846 and Wesley 19 September 1848.]
WILLIAM H CUSHMAN
OF Portland Township
William H Cushman settled in Portland in 1835. It is not certain where he was born, some claiming that he came from Virginia, while Mr. Burke says that he came from Vermont, and that he served as a soldier in the war of 1812. He sold his farm in Portland in 1837 to Nathanial Norton, taking a new claim near by, where he lived several years, and then went to 0regon. He married Miss Betsey Barnett, the children of the marriage being: Daniel; Polly, who married Simeon Chaffee, and after his death, Mr. Morehouse; Wallace; Flavie, who married Chauncey Rowe; Halloway; John; Madore, who married Miss Hattie Coburn, and David C., all of whom live in Oregon, and Narcissa who married John Kane, and lives in Iowa. [Extracted from Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County, Page 352]
BACK -- HOME
© Copyright Genealogy Trails