Of Sterling, IL
Jacob Kauffmann, retired farmer and a resident of Sterling, was born in Lancaster Co. PA Jan. 26, 1820 and his parents were Rudolph and Elizabeth (Summy) Kauffmann. Leaving home at the age of 15 years, he was a farm laborer for 18 months, at $4.50 per month for 10 months, and $8 a month the remainder of that period. Next he devoted two and a half years to learning the shoemaker's trade, then one year as a journeyman, and then opened a shop for himself and followed the business for eight years. Next, he was engaged in the furnace business for 18 months, and then came to Sterling Twp. whe he was a farm laborer for three years. He then bought 80 acres in Jordan Twp. moved upon the place an din 1855 purchased 40 acres adjoining and in 1864 a quarter-section more; this last he afterward sold. At one time he owned as much as 440 acres. In 1871 he bought a lot in Sterling and build a residence upon it, where he now lives. Mr. Kauffmann is a Republican and has held local offices of trust. He was School Director in Jordan Twp. for 15 years. He is a substantial and worthy citizen. His marriage to Anna E. Snyder, a native of PA took place Feb. 2, 1840 and they have five children living - Tobias who married Hattie Capp and has six children - Minnie, Lincoln, Frank, George, Clarrie and Jessie; Leander who married Beckie Spivey and has four children - Carrie, Fred, Florence and Grace; Jacob who married Florence Robertson and has two children - Benjamin and Jesse; and the two other children are Adam and Cora. Tobias Kauffmann of the above family enlisted in the last war in 1864 in the cause of the Union and was a member of the 34th Reg. IL Vol. Inf. under Gen. Sherman. He was wounded at the battle of Bentonville, was engaged in many skirmishes, and served faithfully to the end when he was honorably discharged. [Portraits & Biographical Pg 296]
LEANDER S. KAUFFMAN
Leander S. Kauffman is a farmer on section 25, Hopkins Township. He is the son of Jacob and Ann E. (Snyder) Kauffman, who were born in Pennsylvania, of German descent. In 1850 they removed from the Keystone State to Whiteside County, locating primarily at Sterling and removing thence to Jordan Township. Later on they again settled at Sterling, their present place of abode, where they are living in retirement. Their seven children were born in the order in which they are named: Tobias, Benjamin F., Leander So., Jacob S., Adam E., Walter N. and Cora M.
Mrs. Kauffman was born May 20, 1847, in Lancaster Co., Pa. He was three years of age when his parents removed with their family to Whiteside County. He secured a common-school education and lived at home under the care and authority of his parents until he reached his majority. He then began teaching and pursued that business five years in Whiteside County. At the end of that time he entered upon the prosecution of a plan he had previously formed and engaged in farming. He bought 80 acres of land in Jordan Township, which he managed five years. He sold his property at the expiration of that period of time and bought his present estate in Hopkins Township. At the date of purchase it included 110 acres, and it now embraces 213 acres, which is practically all under cultivation. Mr. Kauffman is a Republican in political preference and relations, and has held several school and local township offices. He was united in marriage Nov. 9, 1871, in Lee Co., Ill., with Rebecca, daughter of John and Sarah (Robinson) Spivey. The parents were born in England, and the mother died their in 1850. In 1853 the father emigrated with his family to the United States, settling in Ogle Co., Ill. the father died there April 6, 1863. Mrs. Kauffman had two sisters, Hannah and Sarah, both older then herself. She was born April 20, 1849, in England. She has been the mother of four children, -- Carrie M., Fred W., Hattie F. and Grace L. Mr. and Mrs. Kauffman are members of the Christian Church. He belongs to the A. O. U. W. [Contributed by Marji Turner - Portraits & Biographical]
William Kearns, a farmer on section 35, Garden Plain Township, was born March 11, 1818, in Mifflintown, Juniata Co., Pa. He is the only son of his parents, Jacob and Mary (Woods) Kearns, both of whom were natives of Pennsylvania. The son was brought up on a farm and reared to an understanding of the business of agriculture. At 16 he is engaged with a cabinet-maker to learn the trade, at which he worked in Mifflin until 1839. In that year he went to Dresden, Muskingum Co., Ohio, where he was employed at his trade until 1841. He then went back to Mifflin and again operated there as a cabinet-maker until his removal to Illinois, which event transpired in the fall of 1846. He made his way hither by canal to Pittsburg, and came thence to Peoria by the Ohio, Mississippi and Illinois Rivers. He opened a shop there and conducted a line of furniture business. In 1863 he came to Whiteside County. He bought 160 acres of unimproved land on section 35, Garden Plain Township, for which he paid at the rate of $11.25 per acre. He has put his property in valuable agricultural condition. Mr. Kearns has been twice married. Elizabeth Saiger became his wife in the spring of 1839. She was born in the town of Mifflin, and died in Dresden, Ohio, in 1840. The second marriage of Mr. Kearns, to Lucy A. Boggs, occurred in 1843. She was also a native of Mifflin. They have two children. Joseph B. is the oldest. William L. was born Jan. 11, 1850, in Peoria, Ill. In 1877 he was married to Alice Startzman, and is the manager of his father’s estate. [Contributed by Marji Turner; Whiteside County History Portrait & Biographical Pg 737]
GEORGE G. KEEFER
George G. Keefer, Deputy Sheriff of Whiteside County and a resident of Sterling, was born in Franklin Co., Pa., April 1, 1842, his parents being John and Anna M (Grove) Keefer, natives also of the same county. His father was a merchant and farmer. Mr. Keefer, of this sketch, is the sixth in order of birth in a family of 12 children, and remained at home until 1862, receiving a common-school education. On leaving his parental home he enlisted, Aug. 1, 1862, in the war for the Union, namely, in Co. D., 126th Regt. Pa., Vol. Inft., which was attached to the Army of the Potomac. They went from Harrisburg into Virginia and participated in the second battle of Bull Run, then the battles of Antietam, Fredericksburg, Chancellorsville, etc. Mr. Keefer’s office in the army during the entire time of his enlistment, nine months, was that of messenger for Gen. A. A. Humphrey. He was honorably discharged, returned home and in March, 1864, he came to Whiteside County, settling near Empire, on the farm. After a residence there of 11 years, he rented the place, and in September, 1878, moved to Sterling, where he is now a resident. While on the farm he was Secretary of the County Grange for several years, was one of the Commissioners for eight years, and held other township offices. He was appointed Deputy Sheriff of Whiteside County in 1880, and still holds this position, his term not expiring until the fall of 1886. He is a member of the order of Odd Fellows, United Workmen, and Grand Army of the Republic; and both himself and wife, as also two daughters, are members of the Presbyterian Church. He is also one of the Directors of the County Fair; is a member of the Board of Education of the Second Ward School of Sterling. Dec. 13, 1866, Mr. Keefer married Miss Phebe A. Harvey, of Empire, this county. She was the daughter of Joel and Rachel Harvey, natives of the State of New York, who came West in 1836. Mr. Harvey was an energetic, persevering man, overcoming formidable obstacles in the opening of many farms, improvement of roads, building of mills, stores and factories, and doing more for the good of the county, probably, than any other man. Mr. and Mrs. Keefer have three children; Clara R., Genevieve and Samuel H. [Contributed by Marji Turners, Whiteside County History Portrait & Biographical, Pg 720]
J. FRANK KEEFER
Dr. J. Frank Keefer, practicing physician at Sterling, was born May 10, 1856 in Hopkins Twp. this county. His parents, Henry & Elizabeth (Strickler) Keefer, were natives of PA and in 1854-5 came West, settling in Empire, Hopkins Township, where Mr. Keefer purchased a farm of 80 acres and followed farming until 1875, when he sold and moved into Sterling. In the spring of 1878 he purchased Dr. Galt's drug-store on the corner of Locust and Third Streets, and has since been engaged in business there. Mr. Keefer, the subject of this sketch, was reared as a farmer's son until 17 years of age, when he entered the Carthage (Illinois) College and continued there until the spring of 1878, graduating; then, attending Rush Medical College at Chicago two winter terms and in spring, he received his medical diploma, Feb. 22, 1881; and finally located in Sterling, in the practice of his profession in which he has a rising popularity. He is also a partner of his father in the drug-store, which also is a leading business establishment of the place. [Portrait & Biographical of Whiteside County 1885 Pg. 257]
SAMUEL S. KEEFER
Samuel S. Keefer, liveryman, Sterling, was born in Franklin Co. PA Sept. 2, 1845, the son of John and Ann M. (Grove) Keefer. Receiving a common-school education and being brought up at farm labor, he emigrated West in 1865 and in 1866 he left home, worked at the occupation of carpenter two years, then was engaged in the grocery trade in Sterling the same length of time; next he resided on a farm of 160 acres in Genesee Twp. 12 years, and returned to Sterling in 1882. In March 1883 he bought out the stock of F.M. Maynard in the livery business and has since been engaged in that line, now having about 12 horses. His livery equipment is the largest in Sterling. Mr. Keefer is a Republican, and is a member of the Order of Modern Woodmen of America. He was married Sept. 11, 1866 to Anna M. Kurtz a native of PA. They have two children - Emma F. and Ida May. [Portraits & Biographical 1885 Pg 321]
HARRY F. KELLUM
Harry F. Kellum, resident of Prophetstown, is a son of Samuel and Lucretia (Eldrige) Kellum, and was born in Susquehanna Co., Pa., town of Dimock, April 1, 1818. His father was a farmer and lumberman, and was born Oct. 19, 1783, and his mother Nov. 27, 1787. The former died Jan 2, 1869, and the latter Jan. 2, 1879. The have seven children, of whom only two survive, Judge Charles Kellum, of Sycamore, DeKalb County, this State, and the subject of this biographical notice. Mr. Kellum, subject of this notice, was reared on the farm, alternating his labors thereon with attendance at the common schools, and working at the lumber business, until he was 18 years old. At this age in life he left school and the farm and entered the store of John F. Means, in which he acted in the capacity of clerk for five years, the same being in Towanda, Bradford Co, Pa. In 1844 Mr. Kellum came to this State, locating in Peru, where he remained until the fall of 1845, when he went to the city of New Orleans. In December, 1846, he enlisted in Gen. Scott’s Division, as a soldier in the Mexican War, and was in the service two years. He participated in a number of prominent engagements, and was promoted from a private to the position of Deputy Quartermaster. After his term of service had expired, he came to Peoria, this State, where he was engaged for a period in the capacity of book-keeper. In the spring of 1850 he bought a team,. And in May of that year joined a caravan and traveled across the plains to Sacramento. He stopped on his way at Salt Lake one month, and arrived in Sacramento in September of the same year; he went into the gold mines, where he endeavored to secure a fortune, and worked at the business four years; then became agent for Wells Fargo & Co., at Prairie City, Sacramento County, that State, in whose employ he remained until 1859. During the latter year he returned East via the Isthmus, and in 1860 came to this county and located on a farm one and a half miles east of Prophetstown. Mrs. Vellum died Dec. 14, 1864, aged 33 years, and after her death Mr. Vellum sold his property and came to Prophetstown. He soon opened a livery stable, which he ran until 1881, when he sold it; he then entered the grocery store of D. K. Smith & Co., and remained with them two years. The first marriage of Mr. Vellum occurred in Prairie City, Sacramento Co., Cal., Feb. 14, 1854, and the lady of his choice was Miss Sarah J. French, a daughter of George W., and Mariah French. She was born in Racine County, city of Burlington, Wis., in 1831. They had five children, four of whom still survive. Samuel was born Feb. 7, 1855, in Prairie City, Cal., an died April 23 of the same year. Addie was born May 22, 18566, in Folsom, Cal.; Mary, Nov. 22, 1858, in the same place, and is the wife of George Parks, a jeweler in West Union, Iowa; Louie was born Jan. 21, 1861, in Burlington, Wis., Alice, Nov. 12, 1862, and is the wife of William Norton, station agent and telegraph operator in Shellsburg, Benton Co., Iowa. Mr. Kellum was again united in marriage, in Prophetstown, July 21, 1872, to Mrs. Louise Spencer, nee Minchen, born in Montpelier, Bt., July 237, 1823, and came to Illinois in 1838. [Contributed by Marji Turners; Whiteside County History Portrait & Biographical Pg 573]
EPHRAIM H. KEMPSTER
Of Portland Township
Ephraim H. Kempster, farmer, residing on section 33, Portland Township, and owning 370 acres of land in the township, is a son of John and Lydia (Hall) Kempster, and was born near Utica, Oneida Co., N.Y., Sept. 16., 1834. When three years of age his parents came with him to this county, settling on wild land in Portland Twp. Ephraim was reared on the farm, and received the advantages afforded by the common schools. On the death of his father he inherited 60 acres of the homestead, and purchased 30 acres of the same from his brother, William Kempster. He at once located on his land, and has resided there, continuously since. By energetic effort and good judgment he has succeeded in increasing his landed interests until he is at present the owner of 370 acres. In the winter of 1855-6 he and his brother William, together with Jacob F. Butzer, erected a mill, which they ran for a season, when Mr. Butzer sold his interest to J.H. Kempter, another brother. The three brothers ran the mill for about 20 years as a sawmill, when they converted it into a turning establishment, and manufactured all kinds of furniture material for some 10 years. They have ceased to run it, and for the past few years have rented it. Mr. Kempster makes a specialty of stock on his farm. He has from 150 to 200 head of hogs, mostly Poland China. He has also a number of graded Norman and Clydesdale horses. Mr. Kempster is also, in addition to his agricultural labors, engaged in manufacturing lumber, which he ships to Davenport. On his farm he has a deer park in which he and his brother have six White-Tailed or Virginia deer.
Mr. Kempster was united in marriage May 15, 1859, to Miss Rachel Ann Spicer. She was a daughter of George and Abigail (Scudder) Spicer, and was born April 23, 1846, in Will Co., Ill. They were the parents of six children, three of whom died in infancy. The record is as follows: Loretta A., born Feb 14, 1860, died Sept. 12, 1860; Arthur E., born March 17, 1862, died Feb. 20, 1864; Charles M., born July 5, 1865, died Aug. 5, 1867; Frank E., born Sept. 12, 1868; Elbert A., born May 7, 1873; and Mabel M., born April 11, 1881. [Portraits & Biographical Pg 589]
Of Portland Township
John Kempster was born in Berkshire, county, England, in 1794, and came to the United States in 1819, first settling in Oneida county, New York. He married Miss Lydia Hall, and came to Portland in 1837. The following are the children of this marriage: Julia Ann, wife of Washington Rowe, living in Henry county, Illinois; J. Henry Kempster, who married Miss Eliza Ann Rowe, and living in Portland; William W. Kempster, who married Miss Margaret Hahn, and lives in Portland; and Ephraim H. Kempster, who married Miss Rachel Spicer, and also lives in Portland. Mr. Kempster died in 1869. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 358]
JOHN H. KEMPSTER
Of Portland Township
John H. Kempster, farmer, owning 150 acres on sections 33 and 34, Portland Township, is a son of John and Lydia (Hall) Kempster and was born in Oneida Co., N. Y., May 11, 1818. He came West with his father's family by water, via the lakes and Chicago, and Aug. 25, 1837, came to Portland Township, this county. He was reared on the farm and attended the common schools of the county. On his father dividing his land among his three sons, John H. received 120 acres and has since added by purchase 30 acres, and at present has a fine farm of 150 acres. He has a fine residence and good farm buildings on his place and the entire tract well fenced. In the winter of 1856 he purchased an interest in a mill which his brothers and Mr. Butzer had erected, buying out Mr. Blitzer. Mr. Kempster has held the office of Supervisor one year, also Commissioner of Highway's and School Trustee. He was married in Portland Township Oct. 6, 1853, to Miss Eliza Rowe, daughter of Smith and Rachel Rowe. She was born in Steuben Co., N. Y., in 1830. The issue of their union was eight children, namely: Ellen A., born Sept. 23, 1854; Mary. J., born March 17,1856; Henry J., born May 31, 1858, died Aug. 5, 1879; Lottie J., born Dec. 24, 1860; obert A., born March 5, 1863; Ulysses G.,. Feb. 1. 1865; Minnie E., Sept. 11, 1868; Estella M. July 7, 1870; Ethel C., Sept. 23, 1874; and Bessie R., Feb. 1, 1877. Ellen A. married John Hahn, a farmer in Larimer, Col. Mary J. is the wife of Wm. Arnett, a farmer in Loraine Township, Henry County, this State. Lottie J. is the wife of Henry Arnett, a fanner of the same township and county. [Portraits & Biographical Pg 566]
Of Portland Township
William W. Kempster, farmer residing on section 34, Portland Twp., and owning 461 acres on sections 27, 33, 34 and 35, is a son of John and Lydia (Hall) Kempster. He was born Dec. 24, 1794. His father was a native of Berkshire, England, in which country he was born March 5, 1794. He emigrated to the U.S. in 1819, and located in Oneida Co., N.Y., where he married Miss Lydia Hall, a native of that county. The issue of their union was five children, one of whom died in infancy. The record of those living is as follows: John H. Kempster, Ephraim H. Kempster and William W., farmers in Portland Township; and Julia A. is the wife of George W. Rowe, a farmer in Phoenix Township, Henry County, this State. The family came West in 1837, and in August of that year the father purchased a claim, of J.H. Avery, on section 34. This claim consisted of 240 acres, and when the land came into market he purchased it from the Government. He located upon it with his family, Aug. 25, 1837, erected a log hut (the palatial residence of those days) and made the house his residence for about 15 years. His health failing, he divided his land between his three sons, and lived with his son J.H., until his death, which event occurred Jan. 1, 1869. He was born March 5, 1794, and coming to this county in 1837, when its natural condition had not been disturbed by the hand of man, he experienced, with his family, all the trials and deprivations incident to an early settlement. His wife died April 1, 1843, and the kind parents are remembered by the four surviving children as loving father and mother, and by many citizens as energetic and respected pioneers of Whiteside County.
William W. Kempster was born in Oneida County, N.Y., June 7, 1832. He was reared on a farm in this county, receiving the advantages of the common schools. In 1837 he was brought by his parents to this county, and consequently has passed the greater portion of his life here, and is truly a pioneer of the county. He remained on the home farm until his father divided the land between his brothers and himself, when he removed on the portion he received, and has since continued to reside on the same. By good judgment, hard labor and energetic effort, Mr. Kempster has added to his original inheritance until he is at the present time the possessor of 461 acres of land. He keeps on his farm usually from 30 to 60 head of cattle, including a number of high-grade Shorthorns, 30 to 40 horses, including 10 brood mares, and raises annually from 75 to 100 head of hogs.
In the winter of 1855-6 two of the brothers, William W. and Ephraim H., and Jacob F. Butzer, concluded to erect a saw-mill on the homestead farm; and as a proof of the energy and push they possess, we mention the fact that within 30 days from the origination of the thought the mill was erected and running. After running the mill one season Mr. Butzer sold his interest to another brother, J.H., and it was run by the three brothers. In a few years they added turning lathes. They manufactured all kinds of wooden material for household furniture, which they shipped mostly to Davenport, IA. They continued to run the mill, meeting with success for a number of years, and occasionally run it now, and sometimes rent it. Mr. Kempster was united in marriage in Sterling, this county, Oct 31, 1855, to Miss Margaret Hahn. She was the daughter of John and Caroline Hahn, natives of Germany and in which country she was born, Aug 21, 1838. Mr. and Mrs. Kempster have had 10 children, six of whom died in infancy. The record of the surviving four is as follows: Flora was born May 12, 1857, and is the wife of Nathan M. Crook, a farmer in Henry County, this State. They have two children, Roy and Birdie; Wallace was born April 30, 1868; Perry W. was born Dec. 5, 1869; and Myrtle, Aug 8, 1874. The three last-named reside at home. Mr. Kempster has held the position of School Director for 25 years, and is one of the progressive farmers of the county. [Portraits & Biographical Pg 578]
HENRY M. KENNEDY
Henry M. Kennedy, physician and surgeon, Head Clerk of the Order of Modern Woodmen of Americ, and residing at Fulton, was born in Mishawaka, St. Joseph Co., Ind., Jan. 4, 1851 and is the son of Henry D. and Charlotte (Steere) Kennedy. He came to Elgin, Ill., with his parents in infancy, and was educated at Wheaton (Ill.) College. After some experience as a clerk in Chicago he spent several seasons in the fruit business at Benton Harbor, Mich., teaching school winters. He took a regular three years’ course at the Hahnemann Medical College of Chicago, at which he received the degree of M.D. He began practice in Jackson Co., Iowa, which he continued till 1880, when he removed to Fulton, Ill., and has pursued his profession in this city continuously since. On the organization of the “Modern Woodmen,” a beneficiary fraternity, he was chosen Head Physician, and in May, 1884, he was elected Head Clerk, or Grand Secretary, of this order. He is also the editor of the Woodman’s Echo. He was married Nov. 10, 1874, at St. Joseph, Mich., to Miss Lillie Overacker. Mrs. Kennedy was born in Otsego Co., N.Y., June 14, 1854. They have three children, all boys,--Harry, Fred and Clarence. The Doctor is a Prohibitionist in politics, and served as City Clerk of Fulton in 1883-4, He is an earnest temperance advocate, and a member of Leota Lodge, No. 428, I. O. G. T. The Dr. and Mrs. K. are members of the Baptist Church. Although a resident of Fulton but a few years, Dr. Kennedy has made many warm friends, and has developed a very satisfactory practice. [Portraits & Biographical 1885 Pg 330]
RICHARD M. KENNEDY
OLD SETTLERS REGISTER - By R. M. Kennedy
R. M. Kennedy of Clyde says: "I was born January 30, 1823, in Tell Township, Huntingdon county, Pennsylvania. I lived in Franklin County, near Fannetsburg four years, and on November 3, 1839, left with my parents, two sisters and one brother for Dearborn County, Indiana. John Kegerise moved us to Pittsburg, a distance of 140 miles, in an old-time wagon which was drawn by five horses. We averaged twenty miles per day. We waited at Pittsburg eight days for a rise of water, and when it came we boarded the old Virginia steamboat which ran aground several times on the way. About 11 o'clock one night, while a few miles above Cincinnati, another boat ran into the Virginia and tore one of the side wheels and the cookhouse off, but we managed to get to the city with one wheel. In the morning we shipped on a packet boat for Aurora Indiana, thirty miles south, where we arrived about 2 o'clock Sunday, November 24th. We walked eight miles to Manchester, where we had relatives. R M Kennedy and Martha P Roberts were married January 25, 1844, in Manchester, Ind. Mrs Kennedy's parents were natives of Maine and migrated to Indiana in 1817. Mr & Mrs Kennedy left Indiana in May, 1855, and moved to St Paul, Minnesota with ox teams. Not being pleased with that country, we came down by steamboat and arrived at Fulton, September 28th of the same year. We stayed all night at Wilson Wright's hotel there. The family had an excellent supper and breakfast and two rooms and only $2.50 to pay. We arrived in Clyde Sept. 29, 1855, and have resided there ever since, save thirteen months spent in Morrison. We have had ten children, six of whom are living: Wm. E., leader of the drum corps in Sterling; Mrs Alice E Sayres of Dayton, Wash.; Mrs Kate C Brown of Waitsburg, Wash.; Mrs Clara Crom of Westlake, Idaho; Mrs Ed Janvrin of Clyde, and R. Y. of Coffeyville, Kansas. Joseph R, the first, a member of the 46th Reg of Ill Volunteers, died at Natchez, Mississippi in 1863."
Robert M. and his brother, James L. married sisters; Robert M. married Martha Piatt Roberts and James L. married her sister Emira. [Submitted by Jayne Kennedy Sweger ]
RICHARD YATES KENNEDY
A man of genial presence, of manifest sympathy, of resourceful brain and high educational standards, is found in Richard Yates Kennedy, principal of the Coffeyville High School. He has had many years of experience in the educational field, some thirty-three more or less continuous, and there are few problems of a teacher's life that he has not, at one time or another, successfully solved. Professor Kennedy has been a resident of Kansas since 1887, has valuable property investments in Montgomery County, and social, business and civic interests at Coffeyville. Richard Yates Kennedy was born in Whiteside County, Illinois, February 16, 1862, and is a son of Robert M. and Martha P. (Roberts) Kennedy, and a grandson of John Kennedy. The grandfather was born in Pennsylvania, of Scotch parentage, and died in that state many years ago. By trade he was a cabinetmaker and he lived in Franklin County.
Robert M. Kennedy was born in Franklin County, Pennsylvania, in January, 1823, and died in Whiteside County, Illinois, in December, 1912. At the age of seventeen years he went to Lawrenceburg, Indiana, and while living there worked as a carpenter and farmer. In 1855 he removed to Whiteside County, Illinois, securing a homestead on which he lived during the rest of his life. In many respects he was a man to be looked up to and his fellow citizens recognized his sterling character and superior judgment by frequently electing him to offices of trust in his township. He served as a justice of the peace and for fourteen consecutive years was township assessor. He was a consistent member of the Presbyterian Church, belonged to the Masonic fraternity and to the Caledonian Club, a social organization.
At Lawrenceburg, Indiana, Robert M. Kennedy was married to Miss Martha P. Roberts, who was born there in 1826 and now resides in Whiteside County, Illinois. To this marriage the following children were born: Joseph, who enlisted in 1861 for service in the Civil war, as a member of the Forty-sixth Illinois Infantry, died of dysentery, at Natchez, Mississippi; William E., who is a contractor doing business in Whiteside County, is a veteran of the Civil war, enlisting in the Seventy-fifth Illinois Infantry and suffered incarceration in Libby prison; Alice, who is the wife of Wesley Sayers, a retired merchant of Dayton, Washington; Henry G., who died in 1863, at the age of seventeen years; Catherine, who is the wife of William E. Brown, who has a large ranch near Waitsburg, Washington; Alfred, who died at the age of two and one-half years; Luther, who died in infancy; H. M., who died in 1905 at the age of forty-two years, was a farmer in Whiteside County; Richard Yates; Clara, who is the wife of James Crom, who is a prominent citizen of Twin Falls, Idaho; and Grace, who is the wife of Edward Janvrin, a prosperous farmer and stockman of Whiteside County, Illinois.
R. Y. Kennedy in boyhood attended the excellent public schools of Whiteside County. Subsequently he entered the State Normal School at Bloomington, Illinois, and still later became a student in Dixon College, Dixon, Illinois, from which institution he was graduated in 1890, with the degree of Bachelor of Science. Since then he has frequently attended summer sessions at the Chicago University and the Kansas State University, the acquisition of learning being his ideal of enjoying a vacation.
In 1883 Mr. Kennedy began to teach school and continued to teach in Whiteside County for the next four years. In 1887 he came to Kansas and bought a farm, largely as an investment because his field of preferred labor was educational. He resumed teaching and continued in the schools of Montgomery County until 1894. In that year he accepted a teaching position in one of the city schools of Coffeyville and in 1905 became teacher of history in the Coffeyville High School and two years later was made principal of the high school. To this office Principal Kennedy brought solid learning and broad vision as an instructor and combines with teaching efficiency the practical qualities which are equally needed in one who is at the head of such an institution. He has under his supervision 20 teachers and 430 pupils.
In Whiteside County, Illinois, in April, 1886, Mr. Kennedy was united in marriage with Miss Axa B. Wink. Her parents were Sanson and Elizabeth Wink the former of whom, once a prosperous farmer in Whiteside County is now deceased. The mother of Mrs. Kennedy, now aged eighty-six years, resides at Sterling, in Whiteside County. Mr. and Mrs. Kennedy have seven children as follows: Ola M., who is a resident of Twin Falls, Idaho, is bookkeeper for Charles Munson, a wholesale dealer; Flossie, who is a graduate of the Coffeyville High School and the Kansas State Normal School at Emporia, is teaching in the schools of Tulsa, Oklahoma; Florence, who is a graduate of several institutions, is the wife of Charles N. Brooks, who is superintendent of construction for the W. S. Dickey Clay Company of Chattanooga, Tennessee; Dewitt, who is employed at Coffeyville in the Cudahy Refining Company's plant; Leah, who is a graduate of the Coffeyville High School, is a sophomore in the State Normal School at Pittsburg, Kansas; Gretchen, who is a student in the Coffeyville High School; and Maxon, who is a pupil in the Eighth Grade in the city public school.
In politics Mr. Kennedy is affiliated with the republican party. Formerly he was an active member of the Modern Woodmen of America and the Knights of Pythias but more recently has confined his attention to organizations connected with his profession and is a member of the Kansas State Teachers' Association, the Kansas Southeastern Teachers' Association, and the National Association of High School Principals, the last named being a newly formed body. With his family Mr. Kennedy belongs to the Presbyterian Church and is a member of the sessions. Interested in everything that promises intellectual advancement and additional culture in his city, he consented to be a member of the directing board of the Carnegie Library. He still retains his farm of 160 acres situated one-half mile north of Bolton, and owns his comfortable residence at 106 West First Street, Coffeyville. [A Standard History of Kansas and Kansans, Volume 4; by William Connelley; Lewis Publishing Company, 1918]
WILLIAM A. KENNEDY
William A. Kennedy, farmer, located on section 27, Clyde Township, was born Oct. 10, 1828, in Washington Co., N.Y. His parents, Alexander and Sarah A. (Tice) Kennedy, were natives of New York, and descended from ancestors of New England birth and Scotch origin. They were farmers and came West when their son was 20 years old-in 1848. They located at first in Whiteside County, but later the father went to Buffalo County, Neb., where he died in Kearney City, in the fall of 1883. The mother is living in Clyde Township, and is 78 years of age. She is still in unbroken health and strength. Mr. Kennedy, in company with his brother, became the proprietor of 320 acres of land in Clyde Township, all of it being unimproved. He was then not 23 years of age. He was married April 10, 1856, in the township of Mt. Pleasant, to Emmeline, daughter of Aaron and Amy (Havens) Bailey. Her father was born in Vermont, and her mother was a native of Essex Co., N.Y. Mrs. Kennedy was born Aug. 14, 1840, in Jefferson Co., N.Y. Her parents came to Mt. Pleasant Township, in 1855, where they were farmers. Her father died of a cancer, Oct. 20, 1874, in the township of Delhi, when he was 77 years of age. The mother is 84 years of age and is vigorous, mentally and physically. At the time of their marriage Mr. and Mrs. Kennedy settled on the property he owned, on which he made rapid improvements. The farm is now (1885) in the best of conditions and fenced and stocked. Mr. Kennedy is a Democrat, and both himself and wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. [Contributed by Debbie Thormahlen from Portraits & Biographical Whiteside County IL 1885 Pg. 227]
John Kent was born in Morriston, Morris county, New Jersey, in 1816. When ten years of age he removed with his father to Ohio where he resided until April, 1839, when he came to Union Grove, He worked the first summer for Henry Ustick, and the next winter in the saw mill for J. A. Robertson and Benj. Burns, He made his first claim where he now resides near Union Grove Station. In 1841 he married Miss Mary Jeffers, who taught the first school in the locality. When Mr. Kent commenced housekeeping he left his wife in their cabin alone and made a toilsome journey of twelve days to Chicago, where he traded a load of winter wheat for a stove with which to commence housekeeping. Mrs. Kent died July13, 1876. Children: Sarah Elizabeth, now dead; Mary M., married to Volney Twitchell; Ellen A., married to John A. Blue; Omar L., married and resides on home farm; Lewis H., a lawyer; and John W. Mr. Kent’s farms are among the finest and most advantageously located of any in the county, but when he made his claim, the "neighbors" about the grove considered he was going "clear out of the country." [Bent Wilson History of Whiteside County 1877]
JOHN KENT, who has been for many years a prominent agriculturist of Whiteside County, is living in retirement from active business life at Morrison. He has been associated with the development and general progress of the county since 1839, when he became a land-holder in the township of Union Grove. He was born in Morris Co., N..J., June 18, 1816 and is the son of Jacob and Nancy (Blackford) Kent, both being natives of the same State where the son was born. His father was a tanner and currier and also a shoemaker, as the custom prevailed in those days of combining the three callings. The family removed from New Jersey, in 1827, to Knox Co., Ohio. Late in life, the parents came to Illinois to pass the remainder of their lives with their children. The father died in Carroll County, Dec. 16, 1859, aged 74 years and 26 days. The demise of the mother occurred June 26, 1869, when she had reached the age of 73 years, 1 month and 12 days. They had 11 children, and only five survive to the present. Mrs. Elizabeth Chamberlain, of Morrison, is the oldest. Mr. Kent is the second who is living. Levi is a farmer in Douglas Co., Oregon; James L. is a farmer in Kansas; William is pursuing the same business in Nebraska, and is by trade a carpenter. Mr. Kent was thoroughly trained in the theory and practice of farming, which he has made his life-long pursuit. He came to Union Grove, Whiteside County, in the full flush of the strength and ambition of his young manhood, and took a claim of 80 acres, which he secured when the land came into market and to which he added by further purchase until his property on section 3 aggregated 160 acres, of which he made a valuable farm. He attended diligently to his interests, and as he prospered he made further purchases, and now owns 160 acres of land on section 9, in the township where he first located, 114 acres on section 3, 20 acres of timber on section 1, 10 acres of timber in Mt. Pleasant Township, and 20 acres of the same valuable variety of real estate in Carroll Co., Ill., situated in the township of York. He is also the owner of his residence, the lot therewith connected and two vacant lots in Morrison.
At the date of Mr. Kent’s arrival in Whiteside County, a condition of almost primeval nature reigned. Claims were held by right of possession, households were like angels’ visits, few and far between, and glimpses of humanity were more welcome than the glow of the summer sun or the kiss of the prairie breeze on the cheek of the laborer who turned the soil with his plow, and dreamed wild dreams of the plentiful harvest, promised by the rich mold which had lain fallow since the continent rose from the depths of the sea. There were privations, toil and hardships, but the season of prosperity was too near at hand and too certain for the admission of discouragement, and the lovely prairie acres of to-day fully attest the quality of the energies brought to bear on their reclamation and conversion into fruitful fields.
Mr. Kent was married Oct. 7, 1841, in Union Grove Township, to Mary Jeffers. Eight children were born to them in that township, of whom five are yet living. Following is the record: Sarah was born June 10, 1844, and died Sept. 17, 1875; Mary M. was born April 9, 1848, and married Volney Twitchel, a farmer in the township where she was born; Ella A., born May 25, 1850 is the wife of John Blue, a farmer in Nebraska. Omar was born Jan. 18, 1852, and is engaged in farming in Nebraska. Lewis H., born June 11, 1854, is a practicing attorney in Nebraska. John W., a farmer in Union Grove Township, was born April 27, 1859. Their mother, a native of the State of New York, died July 13, 1876. The second marriage of Mr. Kent, to Mrs. Diana Green, occurred March 14, 1878, near Tomson, Carroll Co., Ill. Her first husband, John Green, was a native of Johnstown, Licking Co., Ohio, and died March 18, 170, in Tomson. Their children were three in number. Sarah, wife of Jasper Whitney, a farmer of Tomson, was born in Licking Co., Ohio. Horton, also a native of Ohio, is a traveling salesman in the employment of the Union Knife Company of Chicago. Francis M. was born in Carroll County, and is a farmer in Dakota. [Portraits & Biographical 1885]
HARRY E.C. KIDD
Of Sterling, IL
By a combination of the initials of his full name Harry E.C. Kidd obtains the signature "Heck", under which he writes sports stories for teh Gazette and this has become a nickname by which he is familiarly known by readers of his articles and especially by his close friends and the newspaper fraternity of northern Illinois. Harry Kidd's first connection with the Gazette was in 1906, when he served as reporter for the paper on special assignments for two years. Later he was with The Standard as reporter for a year, spent several months on the news staff of the Savanna Daily and then returned to the Standard, where he was working when that paper and the Gazette were merged. For a short time he was employed as newsgatherer for the Rock Falls News. After a period of general reporting Kidd became a regular member of the news staff in 1916. In addition to handling all of the local and community sports, Mr. Kidd serves as police reporter and assists in general city newsgathering. He is a loyal supporter and strong booster for the Sterling and Rock Falls township high school and the Community high school athletic teams. [Sterling Daily Gazette November 2004, originally published December 9, 1929]
Marcellus Kidder, is a prominent and enterprising farmer of Jordan Township, and is located on section 14, where he owns a large farm comprising, in connection with his acreage on sections 11 and 15, 300 acres in solid body. It is all well improved and supplied with fine farm buildings. Mr. Kidder is also successfully engaged in raising stock. He was born Sept. 8, 1840, in Bristol, Grafton Co., N.H. Benjamin Kidder, his father, was a native of the same place, and was a descendant from a family who came to America during the Colonial period, and were participants in the War of the Revolution. Benjamin Kidder married his second wife, Mary Doton, whose father, Ephraim Doton, was born in New Hampshire, and was of English lineage, his progenitors having come to America previous to the war for Colonial independence. The first wife, whose maiden name was Sarah Dodge, was also born in New Hampshire and bore three children. One, named Adniram, is still living, in O’Brien Co., Iowa. Of the second marriage, three children were born: Electa married H. Taylor and died in Poweshiek Co., Iowa June 9, 1878. She was born Nov. 15, 1837. Nelson B. is a farmer in Ogle Co, Ill. Mr. Kidder’s parents came West when he was 15 years old, in 1856. They located on section 11, on a farm containing 160 acres of land, where soil had never seen the implements of agriculture. On this place the family lived for years, the son remaining at home until he married. The parents went later to Ogle County, where the father died, at Woosung, Aug. 6, 1883, aged 88. He was an active and prominent member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. The mother is 78 years old. Mr. Kidder was married April 25, 1871, at Dixon, Lee Co., Ill., to Ella J., daughter of John G. and Hannah B. (Torcy) Annan. Her father was of Scotch lineage, and her mother descended from parents of English extraction. They were natives of New Hampshire, and were married in the city of Manchester. Mrs. Kidder was born Sept. 2, 1848, in Grafton, N.H. She was reared and educated principally in that county and completed her studies at New Hampton Institute. When she was 18 years of age, she began teaching and made that her occupation until 1869, when she came to Ogle County. She is the mother of two children. Ida L. was born May 9, 1875; Royce A. was born July 8, 1878. Mr. Kidder, at the outset of his married life, located on 80 acres of the homestead of his father, which is now included in his estate. He is a Democrat in political persuasion. [Contributed by Debbie Thormahlen - Portraits & Biographical Whiteside County IL 1885 Pg. 461]
OF Sterling IL
Ezekial Kilgour was born in Cumberland county, Pennsylvania, in 1791, and came to Sterling in 1837. During his residence in Pennsylvania, he was Colonel of the First Regiment of Cavalry, raised in Cumberland county. He was a farmer, and in addition kept teams of horses and oxen, and broke prairie for other parties at $1.50 per acre; also transported wheat to Chicago. He also had the contract for carrying the mail from Sterling to Fulton and Albany at the low rates allowed by the Government. He was an earnest, industrious, enterprising, conscientious man. An interesting incident is related of him. When he had the logs ready to put up his cabin, he invited the settlers to assist at the raising, and they came readily at the call, and went vigorously at work. After laboring for sometime they became dry and called for whiskey and water, but the Colonel being a temperance man had made no provisions for the former. This being ascertained they refused to go on unless the ardent was furnished. The Colonel positively refused to comply with the demand, when the pioneers struck, and marched to Worthington & Brink’s store and reported. Mr. Brink promptly came to the rescue, filled a demijohn and sent the men back to the raising. The work was immediately resumed, and the cabin was soon up. The Colonel, however, true to his convictions, beat a retreat, and sat on a log, while his joyous neighbors rolled up and fitted the logs of his habitation. He died January 14, 1848, of erysipelas in the head and face. He married Miss Elizabeth Graham, November 9, 1825. Mrs. Kilgour was born in Cumberland county, Pennsylvania, in 1801. Their children were: Nancy, Jane, William M., Isaiah G., Ezekiel J., Martha B., and Eliza G. Isaiah O., and Eliza U, are dead. Ezekiel J. enlisted in Company I, 75th Illinois Volunteers, and was elected First Lieutenant; he participated with the Regiment in the battle of Perryville, and died of pneumonia in the military hospital, at Nashville, Tennessee, December 1862; his remains were brought to Sterling; he was unmarried, and was a brave, intelligent, and conscientious man and officer. Martha B. died of pneumonia, December 14, 1867, while visiting the family of B. B. Barnes. Nancy Jane married John B. Crawford, December 20, 1849; children, Letitia Jane, Samuel G., James B;, and Elizabeth; James B. died September 22, 1858, and Letitia Jane, March 17, 1864. [Whiteside Co History, Bent & Wilson Pg 408]
WILLIAM MATHER KILGOUR
of Sterling Township
Gen. William M. Kilgour late attorney at law of Sterling was born June 12, 1828, in Cumberland County PA. and is a son of Col. Ezeliel Kilgour, manufacturer and Colonel of the militia regiments in that county. His mother nee, Elizabeth Graham was a daughter of Judge Graham of the same county. In 1837 the family came west settling near Sterling. General Kilgour received a common school education in his youth, studied law, and was admitted to practice in the State Courts by the Supreme Court at Ottawa, Ill., in 1856. The next year he was admitted to the Bar of the Federal Circuit and District Courts, and subsequently in the Supreme Court at Washington. The General was a prominent politician. Under the old regime he was a Whig, and was a representative from his county to the mass convention held at Bloomington, which organized the Republican party in Illinois, and nominated Col. Bissell for Governor. It was as a soldier, however, that the General made his mark. In 1861 he was among the first to volunteer, enlisting as a private in the 13th Regt. Ill. Vol. Inf. Upon its organization he was elected Second Lieutenant, and served with the regiment one year in Missouri, taking part in the skirmish at Wet Glaze, Lynn Creek, Springfield and Salem. During the time he also served as Judge Advocate. The next year, 1862, he was taken sick with fever and resigned. He had scarcely recovered from his illness when more troops were called for and he volunteered again, receiving a commission as Captain in the 75th Regt. Ill. Vol. Inf. When the regiment was fully organized he was promoted to the rank of Major. Shortly afterward, in an engagement at Perryville, Ky., he was wounded by a ball passing through his body. It was thought at the time that the wound would prove fatal; but he recovered, and in August, 1863, regained his command just in time to participate in the bloody battle of Chickamauga. He continued to serve with the regiment until it was mustered out, in July, 1865, having been in every battle in which it participated from the rime he rejoined it excepting that at Culp's Farm, making in all 27 regular engagements. He was in nearly every battle fought in the Department of the Cumberiand. During a great part of the Atlanta campaign he was in command of the 80th 111. Vol.Inf., and at Pumpkin Vine Creek, in Georgia, was under fire for nine con- secutive days. The 75th Regt. Ill. Vol. Inf,, under Gen. Kilgour, was the first under Gen. Joseph Hooker's command to charge the rebel works at Lookout Mountain, driving the rebels first up the mountain and then off of it. He was wounded three times, and was three times promoted for meritorious services in the field. His commission as Second Lieutenant of the r3th Ill. Inf., he received from Gov. Yates. April 20, 1861. For gallant and meritorious services at Mission Ridge, Tenn., he was commissioned Major by brevet, Oct. 31, 1867, by U S. Grant, then President of the United States. Also, the same date, he received, for similar valor at Atlanta, Ga., a commission as Lieutenant Colonel by brevet; and again, for bravery at Nashville, Tenn., he was brevetted Colonel. At the close of the war he was commissioned Colonel in the regular army, and subsequently brevetted Brigadier General.
The foregoing testimonials to Gen. Kilgour's efficiency in the field of war in defense of his country were never sought by him either directly or indirectly. They are simply proofs of his merit. On his retirement from the army, in 1867, Gen. Kilgour resumed the practice of his profession at Sterling, in which he was successfully engaged until his death, which occurred May 29, 1885, at Los Gatos, Cal., from the effects of the principal wound he received from the rebels in defense of his country. He was a member of the Knights of Pythias, I.O.O.F., A. F. and A. M., K. T., and G. A. R.
The General was married in 1865, to Mary Isabella Junkin, of Perry Co., Pa. They had five children: Eliza G., Susan J., James Albee. Cassius M. and William S.
William M Kilgour is a native of Cumberland county, Pennsylvania, and came to Sterling with his father’s family in 1837. He was married to Miss Isabella Junkin, near Iowa City, Iowa, on the 30th of November, 1865. Their children have been: Eliza Graham, Susan Junkin, James Albee, Cassius Mathers, and Freddy who died in infancy.
Col. Kilgour was a school teacher in his early days, and, also taught school while reading law. Be was admitted to the law in all the courts of the State at the term of the Supreme Court held at Ottawa, in 1856, and immediately entered upon the duties of his profession. Since that time he has been admitted to practice in the United States District and Circuit Courts, and in the Supreme Court of the United States, at Washington. He took a high rank in his profession almost from the start, his clients being only from the best citizens of Sterling, and the surrounding country. This standing he has maintained, and as a consequence his business has been constantly increasing. When first, admitted to the bar he was elected Justice of Peace for the township of Sterling, and held the position four years. He also served several terms as Supervisor of the township, greatly to the satisfaction of the people, and to the benefit of the county. He is a large property owner in Sterling city and township, and is otherwise identified with the business interests of the city. In all measures looking to the welfare and advancement of Sterling he has taken an active and prominent part, aud has been long recognized as a leading man, not only in the township and county where he resides, but throughout this section of the country. At the breaking out of the war of he enlisted in Company B, 13th Illinois Volunteers, and was Second Lieutenant of his company. He remained in active field duty with his Regiment for one year, participating in the battles of Wet Glaze, Lynn Creek and Springfield, Missouri, and was then compelled to resign on account of sickness brought on while in the line of duty. As soon as he recovered his health, however, he re-enlisted on the call of the President in 1862 for six hundred thousand more volunteers. At this time be assisted in raising the 75th Illinois Volunteers, and at the organization of Company I, was elected Captain. When the Regiment was organized he was elected Major; and as such went with the regiment to the field. At the battle of Perryville, Kentucky, October 8, 1862, he received a gun shot wound, the ball passing through the stomach and liver, the wound was so serious that he was carried from the battle ground to a farm house near by, where he remained under the charge of an army surgeon until January, 1863, when he was taken to Louisville, Kentucky, and eventualy returned home on sick leave. So strong was his desire to serve his country in its sorest time of need, that as soon as he was able to travel, he joined his regiment, it being then at Stephenson, Alabama. He was at the battle of Chickamauga on the 19th and 20th of September, 1863, and was taken prisoner, but cut his way, with Company D, commanded by Capt. Moore, through the enemy lines, and joined his Regiment. This was done while the fighting was going on. He also participated in the battles of the defense of Chattanooga, and at one time was completely surrounded by the enemy, all communication being out off. The next battle in which he engaged was at Lookout Mountain, the 24th of November, 1863, where be was in the advance under Gen. Hooker. After the battle “among the clouds,” be participated the next day in that at Missionary Ridge, and on the following day fought in the battle of Ringgold Gap, Taylor’s Ridge, Georgia. He was afterwards sent with the detail to recover the Chickamauga battle ground, and bury the dead, arriving there the 5th of December, 1863. The bodies of those who had fallen in the battlere mained unburied, and had been partially destroyed by dogs, bogs, buzzards, and vultures, two days wore consumed in this service, when the detail returned to Whiteside station, Georgia. In, February, 1864 he took part in the battle of Buzzard’s Roost, near Dalton, Georgia, commanding at that time the 80th Illinois Infantry, by order of Gen. Wm. Gross, who was in command of the Brigade. In May, 1864, he fought in the battles of Tunnel Hill, Rocky Face Ridge, and Dalton. Following these he was at the two days battle at Resaca, then, at Kingston, Cassville, Cartersville, and Pumpkin Vine creek, Pine Mountain, and Kenesaw Mountain, all in June, 1864. On the first of July, 1864, be commanded the skirmish line at Atlanta,. Georgia, and again on the 24th of August, when Gen. Sherman was marching to the right and rear of that place. About the same time he had command of a detachment of pioneers, and was ordered in the night to make an advance movement, and destroy the track of the Macon Railroad, near Altoona, his command reaching the ground first. On the 30th of August, 1864, he was. at the battle of Jonesboro, Tennessee, and also at the battle at Lovejoy’s Station, September 2, 1864. His next engagement was at Lost Mountain, Georgia, from which he pursued the rebel General Hood to Gaylesville, Alabama, and from the latter place was sent in command of a detail of the 75th Illinois, and 23d Ohio to guard seven hundred government teams with army supplies, through the enemy’s country. He then participated in the battles of Athens, and Dalton, Georgia, Pulaski, and Spring Hill, Tennessee, and also in the great battle at Franklin, Tennessee, November 30, 1864, in which the rebels lost seven thousand killed and wounded. Following these battles he had command of the skirmish line at the battle at Nashville, Tennessee, on the first day, and on the second day charged the first and second lines of the enemy’s works, with the 75th Illinois, and captured them. He was brevetted from Lieutenant Colonel of the 75th Illinois Volunteers, to Colonel, for gallant and meritorious services at Missionary Ridge, and to Brigadier General for similar services at Atlanta. On the 29th of July, 1866, he was appointed Captain in the Regular Army, and was breveted Major, Lieutenant Colonel, and Colonel in the Regular Army, for meritorious services while in the Volunteers. Col. Kilgour was one of the bravest and truest men, and one of the most capable officers in the Union Army, during the four years fight for the life of the Union. [Whiteside Co History, Bent-Wilson Pg 406]
JOHN S. KIMBALL
John S. Kimball, a retired farmer, resident at Tampico, was born at Saccrarappa, Cumberland Co., Me., Nov. 16, 1833, his parents being P. H. and Susan (Stanley) Kimball. He was a child when the family removed to Yarmouth, in his native county. When 15 years of age he went to Ipswich, one of the oldest towns in the State of Massachusetts, where he spent five years in attending school. After spending a year at South Bend, he came to Prophetstown Township, this county, where his father had previously settled, and took possession of 160 acres of land, which his father had entered from the Government. Here he commenced life in agricultural pursuits and soon afterwards was married, at Morrison, Jan. 1, 1870, to Miss Martha Underhill, daughter of Arnold and Anna (Chase) Underhill, natives of Ohio. Mrs. Kimball was born in Shreves, Sullivan County, that State, July 3, 1838, and died at her home in Tampico, Aug. 8, 1882, aged 44 years, 1 month and 5 days. After she was reared and educated in her native State, she came with her parents to the West, locating in the village of Prophetstown, where she was a milliner and dress-maker until her marriage. Mr. and Mrs. Kimball had one child, Charlie, who died Aug. 4, 1875, at the age of one year and 18 days. Mrs. Kimball was an active and useful member of society, and her death was a loss to all the living. Immediately after marriage Mr. Kimball settled on a farm of 160 acres in Tampico Township, adjoining Glassburn’s original plat of the village of Tampico. Half of it is now within the corporation and six acres of it is platted as “Kimball’s Addition to Tampico.” The other half is a handsomely improved farm, made such altogether by Mr. Kimball’s own industry and good judgment. His is politically a stanch and reliable Republican, and socially a member of the Masonic Order. He is also very active in local interests. Some years ago Mr. and Mrs. Kimball took into their care a girl named Lizzie Kewley, daughter of James and Anna (McClue) Kewley, who was born in Fairfield, March 1, 1863, and under their supervision she was carefully reared and educated. Mr. Kimball was again married, in Prophetstown, May 15, 1885, to Sarah Jones, daughter of Henry and Anna Jones, natives of Ohio. She was born in Newton Township, this county, Oct. 7, 1857. [Contributed by Marji Turners, Whiteside County History Portrait & Biographical Pg 628]
CAPT. JOHN A. KING
Of Union Grove Twp.
Capt. John A. King was a native of New York State, and came to Whiteside county in 1837, and made a claim on the west side of the grove, in what is now Union Grove township. After making some improvements, he ascertained that his claim was on the school section, and then abandoned it for a small improvement two miles south near John Richard’s present place. Capt. King had been part owner and Captain of a boat on the Hudson river, plying between New York and Albany, for several years before coming to Whiteside. In the fall of 1838, his wife, whose maiden name was Emily Odell, a sister of J. Danforth now of Morrison, came from New York to meet him with their first child, Emily C, then about eighteen months old. The family lived for the first year in a cabin 9 by 12 feet in size. The second child, Ann A., was born August 2, 1839 and the third, Albert C., July 4,1842. Capt. King lived several years in Union Grove township, and then moved to Kingsbury, Newton township, where Mrs. King died shortly after. He then moved to Eastern Oregon, and died about 1873. Emily C. is the wife of C. W. Abbey, and resides in Abilene, Kansas, Ann A. married Mr. Arnold, is now a widow, and resides at Albany, Oregun; Albert C. is a resident, and herdsman of the Wallowa Valley, Eastern Oregon. [Bent - Wilson / 1877]
THOMAS R. KING
Thomas R. King, dealer in country produce and manufacturer of creamery butter, residing at Morrison, was born Feb. 25, 1844 in the parish of Street, Somersetshire, England. His forefathers were residents of the same parish and shire for many generatins before him. His grandfather, Robert King, was born in 1777, and married a miss Reives. She died in 1838, aged 78 years. Charles King, his father, was born March 11, 1805 in Overleigh, Street (parish) Somersetshire, and married Jane Lessey. She was born March 25, 1805 at Midney, near Longport. They had five children, four of whom are living. Sarah and Catherine live in England. Mary Ann is the wife of Josiah Lamport of St. Joseph MO.
Mr. King began to operate in his own behalf in his native country when he was but 14 years of age, and commenced by trafficking in live stock. He followed the business in his own country until 1865, when he emigrated to America. He began dealing in butter at Memphis TN where he prosecuted his interests about five years, spending one summer at Belvidere, Boone Co. IL buying butter for the Memphis market. In 1871 he established himself at Morrison and began to deal in butter and farm produce. At
present he is conducting two creameries in Whiteside County, situated respectively at Round Grove and at Prairie Center. His daily aggregate product of butter in the best part of the season averages from 2,500 to 3,00 pounds. He is the owner of a large refrigerator building for the storage of butter and eggs, situated at Maquoketa Iowa, 35 x 62 feet in dimensions, and acknowledged to be the best structure of its kind in the State. He makes his shipments chiefly to New York and Philadelphia, and transacts busines
amounting annually to $300,000. To farmers who furnish the cream for his creameries, he supplies the necessary outfit. Mr. King owns the building at Morrison where he operates, his residence and grounds, which are located in one of the most pleasant and prominent parts of the city.
Mr. King's marriage to Louisa Gibbs took place Aug. 23, 1862 at Glastonbury, Somersetshire, England and they have five children - Harry C. born Dec. 23, 1863 in England; Kate G. born Feb. 17, 1870 in Memphis TN; Lilly M. born March 13, 1873 in Morrison and died Aug. 16, 1873; Edna L. born Oct. 5, 1874; George E was born June 20, 1884. Mrs. King was born March 25, 1843 in Kingston, Somersetshire England is the daughter of Henry & Ann (Damphier) Gibbs.
The possibilities under the Government of the US are exemplified in the history of Mr. King, and form a strong contrast to those offered to the class to which he belongs by birth. His character as a business man and citizen of Whiteside County render it a significant addition to the collated records of the community in which he is a resident. [Portrait and Biographical Whiteside Co IL 1885 Pg 443]
SAMUEL H. KINGERY
Samuel H. Kingery, farmer, section 8, Genesee Township, was born Oct. 29, 1836, in Pennsylvania. His father, Daniel Kingery, was a native of Pennsylvania, of German extraction, and was a physician. The latter married Susannah Hoover, also a native of Pennsylvania, and a descendant of the Dutch element that settled many sections of the Atlantic region. After marriage they resided in that State until 1845, when they came with seven children to Whiteside County, and located at Albany on the river. The father was one of the pioneer practitioners of the western part of Whiteside County, but, true to a peculiar trait of his character which led him constantly to new and untried fields of effort, he remained there but a limited time, going subsequently to Carroll, Stephenson and Ogle Counties. He made a permanent settlement at Polo, where he died, Feb. 27, 1874, aged 69 years. Mrs. D. S. Good, and is 74 years of age. The family to which Mr. Kingery belongs is noted for tenacity of life, several of his ancestors having lived nearly a century. He accompanied his father’s family in their changes of residence until he was of age. He obtained an education by study in the district schools and under the instructions of Prof. August Cadmus in Carroll Co., Ill. He taught school two years in Cherry Grove in that County. His marriage to Rebecca Overholser occurred Aug. 16, 1860. Mrs. Kingery is the daughter of “Uncle” John and Julia A. (Weimer) Overholser. Her parents were born respectively in Pennsylvania and Ohio. Her paternal ancestors were natives of Holland. Her grandfather in that line was born in Bucks Co, Pa. The family of her father’s mother belonged to the territory which was in dispute in the recent struggle between Germany and France and now belongs to the former, -- Alsace. The name of the founder of the family was Joseph Van Gundy and the later generations have dropped the prefix. Both families came to the United States colonies before the Revolution, and founded the Overholser and Gundy genealogies in this country. They were all farmers and belonged to the Mennonite Church. The grandfather and father of Mrs. Kingery located in Harrison Co., Ohio, when the latter was but five years of age, and he there passed his youth and in early manhood was married. The daughter was born there Feb. 25, 1839. In 1844 her parents and four children went to Stark County in the same State, where they lived on a farm until 1859. In that year they became residents of Genesee Township locating near the village of Coleta. “Uncle” John is a member of the family of Mr. Kingery. Aug. 28, 1885, he will be 74 years old. He has been blind since 1875. In position as an honorable upright man he is second to none, and he sustains the repute which he has worthily earned among a large circle of appreciative friends in Whiteside and Carroll Counties. His name is a household word in Genesee Township, and old and young have a personal interest in his welfare. His wife died Dec. 29, 1884. “Grandma” Overholser was warmly loved by the people among whom she lived 25 years. She and her husband were regarded as home missionaries in their intercourse with humanity. The latter has been for many years a prominent member in the religious society of which they are members. They belonged to the United Brethren Church. Mrs. Kingery came to Illinois when she was 18 years of age, and she lived with her parents until she was married. No children have been born of that event, but she has reared a foster child to man’s estate, -- Daniel O’Brien, now a resident of Sterling. She is now in charge of a little girl, -- Fannie L. Berkey, -- who promises to reward the efforts in her behalf. Mr. Kinger was a resident of Carroll County about one year after marriage. He then bought 70 acres of land now included in the plats of Coleta, which he was chiefly instrumental in laying out. In October, 1869, he sold the property and went to Sterling, where he acquired an interest in a flour-mill and its business relations. He conducted an extensive business on the Rock River for five and a half years, but was obliged to relinquish his relations in that line, and traveled until he became free from the disease known as the miller’s sore throat, which he had contracted. On recovering his health, he embarked with success several years, and later became interested in the sale of groceries and provisions. He sold out eventually, and went to California for the benefit of his wife’s health. The object was fully accomplished after a residence of 18 months on the Pacific coast. On returning to Genesee Township, he assumed charge of the farm of his father-in-law, and he has made a successful trial of agriculture. Mr. Kingery’s connection with the general affairs of the township and county reflect credit on his citizenship and manhood. He was prominent while at Sterling as a member of the City Council, and he officiated some time as Vice-President of the Gas Company. He has also done effective service in the Agricultural Society, was Superintendent of Floral Hall and took active part in the various exhibitions of the organization. He is no less prominent and zealous in religious interests, and was President and Vice-President of the Y.M.C.A., being an active factor in the establishment of the reading room under the auspices of that body. He and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Mr. Kingery is a Republican of decided type, and has been Justice of the Peace. [Contributed by Marji Turners, Whiteside County History Portrait & Biographical, Pg 490]
SILVUS H KINGSBURY
SILVUS H KINGSBURY was a general farmer, located on Section 31, Genesee Township, is also interested in raising stock, and conducts a dairy of respectable proportions. He has been a citizen of Whiteside County since 1854. He is the son of JOHN KINGSBURY, and his father was born in New Hampshire. The latter was a pioneer of Jefferson Co, NY, where he settled in its early period of settlement. He was there married to NANCY BAILEY, and was a resident of that county until 1843, when he died at the age of 41 years, the date thereof being April 23rd. The maternal garandparents of Mrs Kingsbury were SAMUEL and OLIVE BAILEY. They, together with three children, deid within a period of of about two months, of an epidemic known as the black fever. SAMUEL BAILEY died Jan 1, 1813, aged 48 years; OLIVE BAILEY, his wife, died Feb 4, 1814, aged 47 years; Lewis died Feb 9, 1813, at the age of nine years; Alison died Feb 12, 1813, when he was 12 years old; Joshua died March 5, 1813, and was 8 years old. Mrs Kingsbury never married again, but, later on, came to Morrison, and lived with her daughter through her remaining years, dying Nov 26, 1873, aged 72 years. Her children included two sons and two daughters. Mr KINGSBURY is the eldest; NANCY PARRISH was born Sept 24, 1831, and died April 3, 1859; ELIZA A ERWIN was born July 13, 1835, and died March 3, 1872; JOSEPH C was born Oct 2, 1837, and is a business man at Marysville, Cal. Mr KINGSBURY was 15 years old when his father died, and he remained with his mother one year after that event, and the family was never reunited. Mr KINGSBUARY obtained employment was a cattle drover, named Robert Knott, who made purchases of stock in St Lawrence County for the market at Albany, and he worked for him some years, acquiring knowledge and experience which have been valuable to him in later years. In 1854 he fulfilled a resolve of some years standing, to locate permanently in the West, and he settled in the township of Genesee. He purchased a valuable tract of prairie land, which contained 200 acres, and was practically in its primal condition. Household affairs were managed for some years by his mother and his youngest sister. His marriage to OLIVE E POOND took place Feb 11, 1860, in White Rock, Ogle Co, Ill. Her father, ABEL POND, was a native of Essex Co, NY, and he married CAROLINE CRAWFORD, who was born in Benson, Vt. (an outline of the genealogy of the POND family may be found with the sketch of STEPHEN POND.) Mrs KINGSBURY was born April 12, 1838, in Middlebury, Knox Co, Ohio, where she was brought up and educated. She died in Genesee Township, Oct 3, 1878, when she was 41 years of age. Following is the record of her four children: N. May, born Dec 28 1860, was married March 2, 1882, to GEORGE EDSON, and they live on the Kingsbury estate; their child JENNIE O, was born Feb 5, 1883; CARRIE E was born Dec 2, 1862, and was married Aug 21, 1883, to JACOB MENSCH, a farmer of Genesee Township; EMMA A, born Oct 27, 1864, was married Nov 30, 1882;, to CHARLES H KENNEDY, and lives in Clyde Township; they have one child, PEARL; JOSEPH CADY was born March 26, 1871, and is engaged in obtaining his education. Since his removal to Genesee Township, Mr KINGSBURY has maintained his homestead on the property he then bought, which is all well-improved and supplied with first-class farm buildings, among which is a superior residence. The proprietor is a model farmer, is a Republican in political views, and is earnestly interested in the welfare of his township and county.[Contributed by Jayne Kennedy Sweger - Portraits & Biographical Whiteside County IL 1885]
Fulton, Whiteside Co IL
Peter Kitchen, manufacturer of an dealer in harnes and saddlery, at Fulton, began business here in June, 1858 and has the oldest established house in his line in the city. He was born in Ithaca, Tompkins Co NY Dec. 15, 1837 and is the son of William and Martha (VanBuskirk) Kitchen. He learned his trade in his native town and in 1856 went to PA. He has carried on his present business her continuously since 1858, covering a period of 27 years. Starting in a moderate way, he has increased his stock and facilities for manufacturing til he now has an extensive establishment, well stocked with everything in his line and most complete in its appointments. Mr. Kitchen has been twice married, first at Fulton March 24, 1860 to Letitia Fitzpatrick by the Rev. Ben Close. Two children were born - Frank, the eldest, is employed on the M ississippi River; the younger died in infancy. Mrs. K. died Dec. 13, 1862 and Mr. Kitchen was married again at Fulton Nov. 11, 1863 to Sarah E. price by the Rev. J.B. McClure. She is the daughter of Wm. Price and was born in Monroeville OH. Mr. Kitchen is a member of Fulton Ciyt Lodge, No. 189, A.F. & A.M. He is a democrat. [Portraits & Biographical 1885 Pg 320]
GEORGE B. KITLE
George B. Kitle, dealer in illuminating oils and gasoline, Sterling, was born in Berkshire Co., Mass., Nov. 24, 1824. His parents were Francis and Hannah (Brodie) Kitel, natives respectively of Rhode Island and Massachusetts. Receiving a common-school education, he left home at the age of 16, and for six years was a farm laborer, following the vocation he learned of his father. At the age of 22 he took charge of public works, plank roads and railroading, in which he was employed in the Eastern States until 1850, when he emigrated West, locating in Elgin, Ill. After conducting a hotel there for two years, he took charge as foreman of a section of the old Elgin Railroad; and from 1853 to 1883 he was Road Master, for one company. He has been a resident of Sterling for 30 years, and is a highly esteemed citizen. He is a Democrat in his political views, has held the office of Alderman, and is a member of the Orders of A. F. & A. M., K. T., and I.O.O.F. His residence is in Wallace’s Section Addition to Sterling. He was married in August, 1852, to Miss Amanda Wright, and they have had two sons and one daughter, viz: Nella, who married James St. J. Greenough, in 1878, and has three children, Helen, George and Fanny. Edward R., who married Malinda Rose, in 1879, and also had three children, - Maud, Nella, and Andrew R. [Contributed by Marji Turners Whiteside County History Portrait & Biographical Pg 737]
THEODORE "HANDSOME JACK" KLUTAS - Criminal
Of Albany Township
Capt. Cornelius Knapp, a resident of Albany, was born July 9, 1830, in the township of Mooers, Clinton Co., N. Y., and is the third son of Robert and Emily (Frost) Knapp. His father was born in 1792, in Nassau, N. Y., and was brought up in Lansingburg, near the city of Troy. He was a commissioned officer during the war of 1812, and after its close located in Clinton County, where he was a citizen until his removal to Illinois in 1845. He made the journey with his family, comprising his wife and five children, and they set out from Rouse's Point on Lake Champlain, whence they proceeded to Whitehall. They went from there via the Champlain and Erie Canals to Buffalo, and thence on the lakes to Chicago. A farmer brought the party from the Garden City to Whiteside County.
Mr. Knapp bought a tract of Government land in what is now Garden Plain Township, on which he built a small frame house, suited to the times and his means; but it soon gave way to one of more convenient dimensions. On this place which the proprietor placed under excellent improvements, he resided until his death, in 1871, a period of 26 years. The mother was born May 4, 1799, in Rutland, Vt., and she died March 15, 1877, aged 78 years. Their children were five in number. C. Seymour lives in Garden Plain Township, which is also the place of residence of George M., the second son, and of Hiram F. and Mary Almira.
Captain Knapp was 15 years of age when he accompanied his father's family to Whiteside County. In the winter following he attended school at Albany, and in the ensuing summer he was employed as teamster by Capt. W. S. Barnes. He spent the succeeding winter in school at Union Grove. In the spring of 1847 he engaged in rafting on the Mississippi River, and followed that occupation three consecutive seasons, attending school two alternating winters and teaching a third in the school-house in Cedar Creek District. In 1850 he went to California, journeying thither most of the way on foot, supplies, etc., being transported by horse teams. He was enroute three months. He became interested in gold mining and remained on the Pacific coast until the fall of 1853, when he returned via the Isthmus of Panama and New Orleans. In 1854 he once more engaged in his former occupation of rafting on the river, and was engaged in that business until the war. In 1857 he bought an interest in a steamboat, but was not concerned personally in its management. On the advent of civil war, Captain Knapp became master on a freight boat plying between St. Croix, and Burlington, which he conducted one summer. In the winter following he took the boat to Memphis and sold it. Captain Knapp continued in the river service until 1884, operating during the time principally as master and pilot on steamboats. He was engaged two years on the "Diamond Joe" line, which was his only digression from the service above mentioned. Captain Knapp was married Nov. 22, 1855, to Harriet L. Townley. She was born in Quincy, IlL, and is the daughter of William and Harriet (Huntington) Townley. Her father was born March 5, 1803 in Elizabethtown NJ. Her mother was born in Owega NY March 3, 1808. The family settled in New York in 1833. The two older children of Capt. and Mrs. Knapp, Florence and Mildred C., live in Chicago, William T. lives in Clinton Iowa, Mary L. lives with her parents. Florence is the widow of Harry Leland [Portraits & Biographical]
There are few men in Wallowa county that are possessed of higher order of talent than the esteemed subject of this sketch, who has manifested in various places and capacities of his ability to handle the business affairs of life in a manner that brings success and stamps him as a man of sound judgment, keen foresight, executive force and good financial ability, while also commensurate with these qualities there have been shown fine moral virtues that stamp him the stanch, true upright citizen. Mr. Knapper was born in Whiteside county Illinois, on April 9, 1853, the son of Gottlieb and Christiana Knapper, natives of Germany. The father came to America in 1842 and settled in Whiteside county Illinois and there he became one of the prominent men of the county, remaining in the same place until his death. He was one of the leading agriculturist of that county. There our subject received his education and technical training, being grounded in sound principles from a wise father. When Ludwig reached the years of majority he stepped into the arena of life's conflicts for himself and he was soon installed in the position of manager of his father's estates, continuing in the same for five years.
Following that period he went to Iowa in 1879 and two years being spent in farming in that state, he then turned toward the setting sun and sought a home in the west. Umatilla county was the place where he first stopped and: taken by its offers of resources, he set to work there for two years in farming, then in company with Ed Jennings, whose sketch appears in another portion of this work, he wrought there with excellent success, and then they sought out a place in Wallowa county and brought their flocks and accoutrements hither. Fourteen years Mr. Knapper and his brother-in-law wrought steadily on in the business and then dissolved partnership. Mr. Jennings took the farm land and our subject owned the flocks. Since that time Mr. Knapper has bought his present place the date of the purchase being March 1, 1898 The estate consists of one thousand five hundred and twenty acres of good land and it lies five and one-half miles east from Joseph. The farm is well improved and is to be made one of the best in the entire county, and Mr. Knapper is still one of the leading sheep men of the county. On Jan 2, 1880 Mr. Knapper married Miss Ellen, daughter of Robert and Sarah (Bradley ) Jennings and sister of Ed Jennings. The wedding occurred in Adair county, Iowa and to them have been born the following children. Robert B ; Elsie M ; Addie M; Benjamin H. Mrs. Knapper was born on February 3 1862 in Astoria Illinois. Mr. Knapper is one of the prominent men of our county and is justly entitled to the prestige and encomiums of his fellows that he enjoys. [Illustrated History of Union and Wallowa Counties Iowa Page 644, 645]
WILLIAM H. KNIGHT
of Ustick Township
William H Knight was born on the banks of Penobscot Bay, at the village of Northport, Waldo county, Maine, November 3, 1816. He came to Whiteside county and settled in Fulton in June, 1838, remaining there only a year, and then made a claim under the bluffs in the present township of Ustick, where he followed the occupation of farming until 1849. He then returned to Fulton, and has resided either in the city or township since that time. Mr. KNIGHT married Miss Sarah R. JOHNSON, a daughter of Jesse JOHNSON, in the town of Ustick, November 24, 1840. The children by this marriage were: George H, born October 28, 1841; Franklin, born October 28, 1842; Lydia A., born APril 16, 1844; Bernice B., and Bernard, twins, born July 16 1846; Sarah F., born October 14, 1849; William F., born September 19, 1855; Charles D born December 1, 1858; and Charles D., (2nd) born November 4, 1862. Of these, Franklin died February 16, 1844; Bernard, June 11, 1847; Sarah F., July 29, 1850; Charles D (1st) died October 20, 1859; and Lydia A., November 15, 1876. George H. married Miss Kate CONNOLLY, and lives at Maquoketa, Iowa; Lydia A. married George BEUZEVILLE, and died as above state; and Bernice B., married George W DUNCAN and lives a LaCrosse, Wisconsin. Mrs. KNIGHT died January 12, 1864 and on the 2nd of November 1865 Mr. KNIGHT married Mrs. Susan M THOMAS, his present wife. There has been one child by this marriage, Edward Everett, who was born April 29, 1871. Mr. KNIGHT has been engaged since coming west, as a farmer, hotel keeper, lumber dealer, ferry owner, and grocer. He is at present the owner of a fine farm a short distance northeast of the city of Fulton. He has held several town office, and was for four years School Director in Fulton. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 469]
OF Mt Pleasant Twp
Archibald Knox was born at Aurora, Erie county, New York, September 11, 1827, and his life record covered the span of years to May 4, 1898, when he passed away at his home in Mount Pleasant township. His parents were James and Amy (Martin) Knox, who came to Whiteside county in the fall of 1839, only three years after the Black Hawk war was fought, whereby the domination of the Indian race here was forever ended. However, there were still many evidences of Indian occupancy and this great state had but a very small population compared with the number of its resident at the present time. Large tracts of land were unclaimed and uncultivated and the forests were uncut. The parents, journeying over land from New York settled at Prophetstown, and were residents of this county until called to their final rest. They had a family of twelve children. James K., the father, born January 8, 1791, in Dover township, Dutchess county, New York, died in Mount Pleasant township, this coun! ty, September 24, 1860, while his wife born in Grand Isle, Vermont, January 19, 1800, died February 9, 1866. Their children were as follows: William, born in Buford township, Dutchess county, Now York, June 2, 1817, died in Mount Pleasant township, Whiteside county, Illinois, December 20, 1884. Martin, born February 9, 1819, in New York, died at Brownville, California, July 25, 1884. Allison, born in Haldeman county, New York, March 3, 1821, died in Mount Pleasant township, this county, October 23, 1882. Peter, born in the district of Gore, Canada, April 4, 1823, died May 2, 1875, in California. James, also a native of Canada, born July 30, 1825, died in this county, September 11, 1873. Archibald, born in Aurora, New York, September 11, 1827, died in Mount Pleasant township, this county, May 4, 1898. Henry L., born in Aurora, New York, December 27, 1829, died in Mount Pleasant township, Whiteside county, January 5,1886. Lydia, born in Erie county, New York, September 25,! 1831, is the wife of Benjamin Lathe, a resident of Morrison. John J., born in Aurora, New York, January 23, 1833, resides in Mount Pleasant township. Mary, born March 16, 1837, at Morrison, Illinois, became the wife of Byron McIntyre and died at Yankton, South Dakota, March 17, 1899. Allen, born in Morrison, Illinois, May 3, 1840, was a soldier of the Thirty-fourth Illinois Infantry and lives at the Soldiers Home at Quincy, Illinois. Lewis, born November 8, 1842, at Morrison, was a member of the Eighth Illinois Cavalry in the Civil war and died November 30, 1906.
Archibald Knox was but eight years of age when brought by his parents to Illinois and was reared amid the wild scenes and environments of pioneer life. He resided here continuously until his death, with the exception of a brief period of two years spent in California. He accompanied four of his brothers as they journeyed over the plains and through the mountain passes to the gold fields and for two years remained on the Pacific coast, but not finding the wealth that he anticipated he returned to Illinois to take from the soil in another way the prosperity that ultimately crowned his efforts. As a claim from the government he took up the homestead on section 23, Mount Pleasant Township, that is still owned by his widow, filing his claim at the land office in Dixon, whereby he secured one hundred and twenty acres at a dollar and a quarter per acre. Today it is worth at least one hundred fold that amount. Practically throughout his entire life Mr. Knox carried on general farming, turning the first furrows upon his place and bringing the fields into a high state of fertility, so that year after year he gathered good crops and in due course of time accumulated a handsome competence. At Prophetstown, on the 1st of September 1856, Mr. Knox was united in marriage to Miss Minerva Garrison, a native of St. Lawrence County, New York, born June 16, 1837, a daughter of Philip and Phoebe (Eastman) Garrison, both of whom were natives of New York, where they were reared. They came to Whiteside county in 1854, settling at Prophetstown, where they became identified with farming interests. The father purchased land there and made the place his home until his demise in 1871, when he was sixty-nine years of age. His wife survived him for two years and died in 1873, at the age of seventy-four. They were the parents of seven children. Esther, who was the wife of W. R. Stone, died in June 1898. Emanuel, who was a member of the Seventy-fifth Illinois Infantry in the Civil war, died at the Soldiers Home in Quincy, Illinois, March 8, 1901. Mary A., who became the wife of William Waite, of New York, and died in Erie, Illinois, January 25, 1902. Henry died in Mount Pleasant Township, December 21, 1908. Mrs. Lucinda Pratt is living in Lyndon, at the age of seventy-three years. Mrs. Minerva Knox is the next of the family. William, who was a member of the Thirty-fourth Illinois Infantry, died soon after the war.
The marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Knox was blessed with four children. Elizabeth, the eldest, is the wife of. David Barnum, of Morrison, and has two children by a former marriage, Carl and. Albert Myers. Albert, who operates the home farm for his mother, married Miss Lena Tjarks, a native of Round Grove, this county, and a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. U. H. Tjarks. They have one daughter, Mabel. Emeline Knox became the wife of R. A. Reynolds, of Morrison, and has three children, Ray, Lola and Freda. Arthur married Margaret Doyle and resides in Union Grove Township. He has three children, James, Mildred and Irene.
Archibald Knox staunchly upheld republican principles but was not a politician. He belonged to the Methodist Protestant church and in all his life upheld principles of truth, justice and honor. Coming to Illinois in early pioneer times, he was for many years closely associated with the growth and improvement of this part of the state and could relate many interesting incidents of the early days. He lived here at a time when the homes were largely log cabins, when wild game was to be had in abundance and when Indians were still sometimes seen, but the white race reclaimed the region for the uses of civilization and Mr. Knox bore his full share in the work of general improvement. All who knew him esteemed him for his many stalwart characteristics and his name is still honored among the many who were his friends. [History of Whiteside County, Illinois, From its Earliest Settlement to 1908, by William W. Davis, M.A., The Pioneer Publishing Co., Chicago, 1908. Page 973-975; Contributed by Linda Criswell]
JAMES KNOX, Sr.
OF Mt. Pleasant Township
James Knox, Sr. was born January 8, 1791, in Dutchess county, New York. He remained in New York until 1816, when he removed to Canada, where he lived a number of years. In 1825 he moved to Erie county, New York, where he lived until October, 1835, when with his family he emigrated to the West and settled in the "Ox Bow Bend," across the river north of Prophetstown, where he engaged in farming and running a ferry across Rock river, first using the common oared boat and poles, then the rope and pulleys. He resided at this place about two years, and in 1837 located on land where Morrison now is, near the present corner of Wall and Orange streets. Not being successful in securing water, he changed his location to near where the present Library Hall stands; there he found water by digging the well now on the property of F. C. Woodruff. The site of Morrison was then covered with hazel brush and trees. Mr. Knox was a successful farmer, good citizen, and reared a substantial and highly respected family. He married Miss Ann Martin, of Vermont, January 9, 1816. Children: William, born June 2, 1817; Martin, born February 9,1819; Alson, born Mareh 3, 1821; Peter, born April 4, 1823 - died May 2, 1875; James, born July 30, 1825-died September 11, 1873; Archibald, born September 11, 1827; Henry, born December 27,1828; Lydia, born September 25,1831; John J., born September 23,1833; Mary, born March 6, 1837; Allen, born May 3, 1840; Louis, November 8, 1842. Of the twelve children, all are living with the exception of Peter and James. Martin is a resident of California; Mary (Mrs. McIntyre) resides in Yankton, Dakota, and Lydia (Mrs. Lathe), in Lyndon; the remainder of the family live in Mt. Pleasant township. James Knox, Sr., died September 24, 1860, and his wife February 9, 1866. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 299]
JOHN JAY KNOX
OF Mt Pleasant Twp, Whiteside Co IL
John Jay Knox, who carries on general farming on section 21, Mount Pleasant township, was born in Aurora, Dutchess county, New York, January 23, 1833, his parents being James and Amy (Martin) Knox, of whom mention is made elsewhere in this volume. The son was but two years of age when his parents came to Whiteside county, the family home being established at Prophetstown in 1835. There the father built the ferry, which he operated for two years, after which he removed to Morrison and bought a claim from John Stakes, in what is now Mount Pleasant township, there residing for some time. Eventually he sold that property and removed to a farm of eighty acres of section 16, Mount Pleasant Township -the school section - where he resided until his demise. He was reared in the faith of the Society of Friends or Quakers and in that church his mother was a minister. Later in life James Knox joined the Methodist Episcopal church and its teachings constituted the guiding rule of his ! life throughout his remaining days. His political views were in accord with the principles of the Republican Party and he was a man whom to know was to respect and honor, for he was always faithful to his convictions and fearless in defense of what he believed to be right.
John Jay Knox was one of twelve children and under the parental roof was reared, remaining in Morrison until fifteen years of age. His educational advantages were somewhat limited, for the schools of that early day were of a primitive character, but as he has journeyed on in life he has learned many valuable lessons from reading and experience. In his business career he has devoted his time and energies to farming and has been quite successful. Since the spring of 1837 he has resided continuously in Mount Pleasant Township and prior to his marriage had improved his present farm. He bought eighty acres of state land on section 21, Mount Pleasant Township, in 1856 or 1857, it being then a tract of raw prairie on which not a furrow had been turned or an improvement made. Soon, however, the track of the shining plow was seen across the fields and with the planting of the seeds and cultivation of the crop there came in course of time abundant harvests to reward his labors. He also owned another forty-acre tract of land at one time, but eventually disposed of that property. He continued to engage in general farming until fifteen years ago, when he rented his land and has since lived retired.
Mr. Knox was married in this county in 1863 to Miss Lucy Humphrey, who was born in the state of New York in 1834 and is a daughter of Porter Humphrey. She came to this state as a young lady of about eighteen or twenty years and arrived in Whiteside county about the time of the outbreak of the Civil war. But two children were born unto Mr. and Mrs. Knox and but died in infancy.
Mr. Knox has always supported the Republican Party since age conferred upon him the right of franchise, but has never desired office. For more than the scriptural age of man-three score years and ten-he has lived in this county and there are few who have more intimate knowledge of its history. Many pictures of pioneer life have been indelibly impressed upon his memory and he relates various interesting incidents of the time when the number of inhabitants in the entire county would hardly equal the population of a single township today. The method of living too, were very different from those of the present time, but with the onward march of progress Mr. Knox has always kept apace and like others of the family has ever maintained a foremost position in the rank of the leading agriculturists in this part of the state. [History of Whiteside County, Illinois, From its Earliest Settlement to 1908, by William W. Davis, M.A., The Pioneer Publishing Co., Chicago, 1908. Page 1136-1139]
of Mt Pleasant Twp, Whiteside Co IL
While a third of a century has passed since Peter Knox was called from this life, he is yet remembered by many residents of Whiteside county, particularly in the district in which he lived. He was born April 4, 1823, in Dumphrey township in the district of Gore, Canada, and accompanied his parents, James and Amy (Martin) Knox, on their removal to Whiteside county in 1835. He was therefore reared in this county from the age of twelve years, making his way into the district when it was a pioneer region upon the frontier. Only three years before, the white settlers had contested with the red race their right to rule over the broad prairies and hunt in the timber regions of Illinois. The red men had rebelled against the intrusion of the white face and entered upon active warfare under the leadership of Black Hawk. Great stretches of the country were still unclaimed and were known as government land. The prairies were covered with their native grasses and wild flowers, and in the winter the winds had unbroken sweep over, the districts which were covered with an unbroken sheet of snow. The cabins were largely built of logs, cooking was done over the fire places and the houses were lighted with candles and later with kerosene lamps. Mr. Knox became familiar with all of the conditions and environment of pioneer life and the hardships and trials incident to the extension of the frontier. As a boy and youth he assisted in the arduous task of developing a new farm and remained a resident of this county until 1852, when he went to California, accompanied by his three brothers - Henry, Martin and James. They made the overland trip across the long stretches of sand and through the mountain passes until their eyes were gladdened by the sight of the green fields of California. The fabulous stories of rapidly acquired wealth led them to hope that they might have equal success there, but after a year Peter Knox yearned for the old home in Illinois and returned to Whiteside county, taking up his abode in Mount Pleasant township. He settled on his present farm, which now comprises two hundred and forty acres in section 16, and which is still owned by his widow, who leases it. Year after year he cultivated the fields and added to the equipments of the farm until he had one of the best-improved places of the district. The fields brought forth rich harvests and he also raised considerable stock, which had good pasturage in the meadows. He thus led a busy, useful and active life and acquired a comfortable competence. In 1860 Mr. Knox was united in marriage to Miss Emeline C. Hawley, who was born in Genesee county, New York; a daughter of Hiram and Sarah (Dexter) Hawley. Her father, who was an agriculturist, died in the Empire state and the mother died soon after coming to Whiteside county in 1858. Mrs. Knox was one of five children, namely: Royal, a resident of Morrison; Mrs. Susan M. Humphrey, who is the widow of G. B. Humphrey and is living with Mrs. Knox in Mount Pleasant township; Linas, who was a farmer during his active life and died in Morrison in 1874; and Truman M., who died in California in 1904. He was for a time a resident of Whiteside county and enlisted here for service in the Eighth Illinois Cavalry, after having previously served for a time in a New York regiment. Mr. Knox was a stalwart supporter of the Republican Party. As the years passed by he prospered in his undertakings and was enabled to enjoy rest and recreation in his later years. He was spending his second winter in California when his death occurred. Mrs. Knox spends most of the winter months in that sunny clime, while the summer seasons are passed in Whiteside county, where she has so long resided and where she has a most extensive acquaintance, while from the great majority who know her she receives warm friendship. [History of Whiteside County, Illinois, From its Earliest Settlement to 1908, by William W. Davis, M.A., The Pioneer Publishing Co., Chicago, 1908. Page 1246-1249, Contributed by Linda Criswell]
OF Mt. Pleasant Township
William Knox was born in Paris, Canada, June 2,1817; was married August 21, 1842, to Miss Jane Emery, at Prophetstown, Illinois. Mr. Knox came to Whiteside county with his father, and settled near Prophetstown, in 1835, having previously lived in New York. In 1837, upon his father moving to what is now Mt. Pleasant township, he purchased the ferry at Prophetstown, and did a large business for several years. He closed out his business in that part of the county and came to the vicinity of Morrison in 1842, settling on section 16. Subsequently he located on section 14, where he has since resided. Mr. Knox is largely engaged in farming, owning a number of valuable tracts of land. His children are Sarah Jane, born April 17, 1845; Harriet Ellen, born March, 1847; Walter E., born May 25,1851; Martin W., born March 19,1854; William H., born October 8, 1856; Andrew J., born September 27, 1858; Clarence and Claretta, born June 5, 1866. The first-mentioned died at the age of five years. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 299]
WILLIAM H. KNOX, of Union Grove Township is a native citizen of Whiteside County, and was born Oct. 8, 1856, in Mt. Pleasant Township. His parents, William and Mary J. (Emery) Knox, came to Whiteside County in 1835, and after residing some time in Prophetstown, removed to the township of Mt Pleasant and there the father died, Dec 20, 1884. The mother is still living. The names of their eight children were Sarah J., Harriet, Walter E., Martin W., William H., Andrew J., Clarence D., and Clara M.
Mr. Knox spent the years of his minority in obtaining his education. In 1878 he detached himself from home associations and rented a farm in Mount Pleasant Township, on which he operated two years. In 1881 he made a permanent settlement on a farm of 150 acres on section 25, of which he is the owner, in Union Grove Township. Of this 115 acres are under excellent cultivation.
The marriage of Mr. Knox to Cora M. Harrison took place Jan. 1, 1879, in the township of Mt. Pleasant. Two children have been added to the household circle, Olive L. and Ruby H. Mrs. Knox was born Oct.12, 1859, in Ohio, and she is the daughter of Thomas and Electa A. (Hoag) Harrison. Her father was a native of England and her mother was born in the State of New York. After a residence of some years in the State last named and in Ohio, they came, in the spring of 1868, to Whiteside County and fixed their residence in the township of Mt. Pleasant. Mrs. Knox has one brother younger than herself-George F. Harrison. Mr. Knox is identified with the Republican party in political sentiment. [Portrait and Biographical Album of Whiteside County, Illinois, Pg 234]
JOHN H. KREIDER
John H. Kreider has been a farmer on section 13, Sterling Township, since the fall of 1854. He was born Dec. 3, 1814, in Lancaster Co., Pa., and is the only surviving child of his parents, John and Catherine (Hostetter) Kreider, who were natives and life-long residents of Pennsylvania. Their children were six in number, and five died in childhood. Mr. Kreider acquired a common-school education and lived at home with his parents until the age of 22 years. He then obtained employment as a farmer and passed 13 years in that and other occupations in his native State. He first purchased 155 acres of land, and increased his property to a little less than 200 acres of land, under good tillage and with good buildings. He was married Nov. 9, 1836, in Lancaster Co., Pa., to Sarah Heidelbuch. She was born in the county where she was married, Feb. 1, 1819, and is the youngest child of John J. and Sarah Heidelbuch, who were the parents of eight children. Mr. and Mrs. Kreider have had six children, -- Catherine, Jacob, David, Henry, John and Sarah. Only three children are still living. The mother is a member of the Mennonite Church. Mr. Kreider is identified with the Republican party in political preference. He has been Highway Commissioner about 15 years. [Contributed by Marji Turners Whiteside County History Portrait & Biographical Pg 774]
JOHN H. KREIDER JR.
John H. Kreider, Jr., farmer, section 2, Sterling Township, was born Dec. 20, 1850, in Lancaster Co., Pa., and is the son of John H. Kreider, of whom a personal narration is given on another page. He attended the public schools until he was about 18 years old. He has resided in Whiteside County since he was four years of age, his parents having come hither in 1854, and since he reached man’s estate he has been engaged in agricultural pursuits. In the winter of 1880 he bought 110 acres of land on section 2, where he is now prosecuting his farming projects. Of this, 90 acres are under tillage. Mr. Kreider is a Republican in political sentiment. He was married Dec. 24, 1871, in Sterling, Ill., to Maggie Ebersole, and they have five children, who were born in the following order: Matilda, Henry, Abraham, Franklin and John. Mrs. Kreider was born March 9, 1851, in Lancaster Co., Pa., and is the daughter of Abraham D. and Anna (Rutt) Ebersole. A personal sketch of her parent may be found elsewhere in this volume. Mrs. Krieder is a member of the Mennonite Church. [Contributed by Marji Turner, Whiteside County History 1880]
BACK -- HOME
© Copyright Genealogy Trails