SAMUEL MORRIS LADD
Of Morrison, IL
Samuel M. Ladd, jeweler and optician at Morrison, was born Nov. 15, 1857, in Cincinnati, Ohio, and is the son of John A. and Mary E. (Mott) Ladd. His father was one of the pioneer telegraphers in Chicago and the West, and for many years conductor and superintendent of railroad, and in charge of United States transportation during the War: he is now a resident of Sterling. He is one of the most prominent Masons in Illinois, being Grand High Priest of the State. Mr. Ladd is the oldest of the six children belonging to the family, of whom two are deceased. Marian E. lives at Morrison. Mabel E. and Fannie K. are the youngest children. The son completed his educational course at the High School of Sterling, and in the spring of 1879 he entered the jewelry store of Clark & Giddings to learn the business, and passed two years in his apprenticeship. At the end of that time the firm of Sackett & Ladd was formed and they opened business at Sterling, continuing their relations and operations there three years. In June, 1884, Mr. Ladd came to Morrison and established his business alone. He has a judiciously assorted stock and is doing a good business. He is one of the leaders in his line of traffic in the western part of Whiteside County, and is the only exclusive dealer in jewelry in Morrison. He makes a specialty of Johnson's optical goods, and uses Dr. Johnson's dioptic metre, to perfectly adjust glasses to the eye and determine the lens suited to the case. His stock includes a full line of fine goods, solid and plated ware, jewelry, watches and all other articles common to similar establishments. Mr. Ladd is an earnest member of the Presbyterian Church. He takes a deep interest in Sunday-school matters and is the Secretary of the Central District Sunday-school organization. [Portraits and Biographical, Pg 202]
Of Prophetstown IL
Charles Lancaster, a well-to-do farmer, resides on section 24, Prophetstown Township, where he has a fine farm of 286 acres. His parents, Charles and Sarah (Curtis) Lancaster, were natives of England. His mother died in her native country, and his father in Prophetstown, Nov. 9, 1869 (Cemetery records have 16 Nov 1860?). Our subject was born in Nottinghamshire, England, July 14, 1827, but went into Lincolnshire at the age of two years, where he lived until the time he left the country. He was reared on a farm, enjoying only such educational advantages as the times in that country afforded. Shortly after reaching his majority, in 1851, he turned his face toward the New World, where he desired to come to better his fortune. He landed at NY where he worked on a farm till the autumn of 1855, when he returned to England, where, however, he only remained for ashort time, returning to the US in the spring of the following year, with his brother Edward. They came to Prophetstown, where our subject for several years rented a farm. In the spring of 1865 he bought 80 acres of his present farm, and to this nucleus he has added until he now has nearly 300 acres of fine farm land. He has erected a splendid residence; has good barns, fine orchard and indeed, one of the best improved farms in the county. In connection with carrying on this general farming business, he gives special attention to the raising of Short-horn cattle, in which particular line he takes considerable pride and no little pleasure. On his farm he usually has about 75 head of cattle, 13 to 15 head of horses, and from 75 to 125 hogs.
While not enjoying all the educational advantages that the modern school system of this country affords, he nevertheless takes an active interest in promoting the welfare of the schools, and giving the young every available advantage possible for securing an education. While on his visit to England, he was united in marriage to Mrs. Sarah J. Hippy, daughter of William and Mary Ann Hippy. The marriage took place in South Lufenham, County Rutland, England in April 1856. Mr. and Mrs. Lancaster are the parents of six children, besides having an adopted daughter. They are Mary A., wife of Mallory Hill farmer in Prophetstown; Charles H., engaged in the furniture business in Prophetstown; Sarah, wife of Millard Hill farmer in Prophetstown; WIlliam, Henry and Franklin, still at home; Clars is the name of the adopted daughter. As a gentleman worthy to be classed among the representative citizens of the county, we place Mr. Lancaster's portrait in connection with this sketch taken in 1885. [Portraits & Biographical 1885 Pg 625]
Of Prophetstown, IL
Edward Lancaster, farmer, residing on section 22, Prophetstown Township, and the proprietor of 350 acres located thereon, and one of the progressive and representative citizens of this county, is a son of Charles and Sarah (Curtis) Lancaster and was born in Ropsley England,June 22, 1831. His father was a native of the same country, as likewise was his mother. She died March 10, 1856 and the father at the residence of his son Charles in Prophetstown Nov. 10, 1869. The issue of the parents union was four children, three still living, Mary A. wife of John Dickson, a farmer in Prophetstown; Charles a farme in Prophetstown; Sarah the wife of William Musson and died in NY 1853.
Edward, the youngest, was reared on a farm and acquired his education in the common schools of his native country. He and his brother Charles emigrated to this country in 1856 and came directly to Prophetstown, this county, where they engaged in work by the month. On his arrival Mr. Lancaster found himself not only out of means but in debt $40. He went to work by the month one season, and then in company with his brother rented the "Paddock" farm, consisting of 50 acres. Two years laer he rented 60 acres of George P. Richmond, which he cultivated until 1865. In 1864 he bought 80 acres of his present farm and has added to it by subsequent purchases until he is the possessor of a fine farm, embracing 350 acres of land. The farm is well improved and stocked, and Mr. Lancaster is devoting his attention to the raising of stock. He has usually from 50 to 75 head of cattle, and raises annually about 100 head of hogs, and also has from 10 to 16 horses. Religiously Mr. L is a member of the Lyndon Congregational Church. Mr. Lancaster was united in marriage in the city of Bourn, Lincolnshire, England, April 9, 1856 to Miss Mary Francis, daughter of John and Susan Francis. She was born in Bourn, and accompanied him when he emigrated to this country in 1856 as stated. They have had 11 children, 10 yet survive; Janes is the wife of Lorenzo French, a farmer on a portion of the old homestead; Edwin resides at home; Eliza is the wife of Nathaniel Gage; Hannah, Herbert, Hettie, John, Agnes, Lewis adn Gilbert. Hettie is deceased. [Portraits & Biographical, 1885, Pg 675]
FRANK E. LANCASTER
OF Prophetstown, IL
Frank E. Lancaster, the owner of one hundred and sixty acres of excellent farming land on sections 20 and 29, Prophetstown township, was born in this township on the 4th of December, 1867, a son of Charles and Sarah (Hippy) Lancaster. The father was a native of England, born in 1827, and thinking to enjoy better business opportunities in the new world he resolved to take advantage of the chances here offered and in 1851 crossed the Atlantic to New York. Later he located in Whiteside county, arriving in the year 1856. Not having the capital with which to purchase a farm, he rented land for about ten years and during that period his dilligence and careful expenditure brought him sufficient funds to justify his investment, in a farm on section 24, Lyndon township. To this he added as opportunity offered until at the time of his death he owned a valuable property of two hundred and eighty-six acres. Long Since the time had passed when he was able to secure only the necessities of life, for as year by year went by his careful conduct of his business lnterests brought him a good return, enabling him to secure the comforts and some of the luxuries which go to make life worth living. He passed away December 18, 1906, and is still survived by his widow, who now resides in Prophetstown township. This worthy couple were the parents of four sons and two daughters, namely: Mary, the wife of M. S. Hill, of Prophetstown township; Charles, who makes his home in Prophetstown. Sarah, the wife of Millard Hill, also of Prophetstown; W. M., also of this city; Henry C., who carries on farming in Prophetstown township, and Frank E., of this review.
Frank E. Lancaster acquired a common-school education and remained under the parental roof until he had attained the age of twenty-one years. He then purchased one hundred and sixty acres on sections 20 and 29, Prophetstown township, where he has since resided. As the years have gone by he has brought his land under a high state of cultivation, the fields annually returning rich harvests as a reward for the care and labor he bestows upon them.
On the 11th of March, 1891, Mr. Lancaster was united in marriage to Miss Laura Frances, who was born in 1870, a daughter of Isaac and Anna (Thompson) Frances, the former a native of England and the latter of New Jersey. They came to Whiteside county in 1869, and the father passed away in 1899 but Mrs. Frances still survives, making her home in Prophetstown. She had a family of seven children, namely: Mrs Lancaster; Jennie, the wife of Charles Fee, of Prophetstown township; George, of Davenport, Iowa; William and John, who reside in Erie Illinois; Edward, who lives in Prophetstown; and Bertha, who is with her mother. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Lancaster have been born six children, namely: Elmer R.; Curtis H.; Clifford F.; Anna F.; Edward H., deceased; and Glen L.
In his political views Mr. Lancaster is a republican and has served as school director for four years, the cause of education finding in him a stalwart friend. Both he and his wife are members of the Congregational church and are widely and favorably known throughout Whiteside county, having spent their entire lives within its confines. In his agricultural interests he has ever followed progressive and enterprising methods and is recognized as a prosperous and public-spirited citizen of the community. [History of Whiteside Co by W.W. Davis]
EMANUEL S. LANDIS
Emanuel S. Landis is a farmer of Sterling Township, and is the son of Daniel and Margaret (Shaffer) Landis, natives of Pennsylvania, and parents of five children, -- Eliza, Emanuel S., Maria, Henry S. and Anna. The subject of this personal narration was born Dec. 27, 1816, and came to Illinois in 1852, He settled in Sterling Township, where he has since resided. He is the proprietor of 88 acres of land, which is nearly all under cultivation. He was first married in Lancaster Co., Pa., Feb. 24, 1857, to Mary Linginfield, who was a native of that State.. Their two children were named A. May and Benjamin F.; the latter is deceased. The mother died in July, 1866, in Sterling Township.
Mr. Landis was again married, in Sterling Township, Dec. 29, 1867, to Susan, daughter of John and Mary (Herr) Hoover, and widow of John Landis. Her first husband died July 8, 1855, in Sterling Township, and by this marriage there were nine children, -- David H., Mary A., Phares H., Abraham H., Ann M., Lizzie E., Emma, Martha E. and John. Three of these are living – Anna M., Phares H. and Martha E. Mrs. Landis was born June 9, 1820, in Lancaster Co., Pa. With her husband, she is a member of the Mennonite Church. [Transcribed by Marji Turner - Portraits & Biographical Pg 419]
HENRY S. LANDIS
Henry S. Landis, farmer, section 23, Sterling Township, was born March 27, 1820 in Lancasater Co., Pa., David and Margaret (Shaffer) Landis, his parents, were born in Pennsylvania, where they also died. They had five children, Eliza, Emanuel, Maria, Henry S. and Anna. Mr. Landis has been a resident of Whiteside County since 1851, when he removed hither from his native state. He still lives on the property he first bought, which comprised 144 acres of land. The estate is all under improved cultivation. Mr. Landis is a Republican, and is interested in school matters. He was married Nov. 18, 1841, in Lancaster Co. PA, to Fanny Stauffer, and they have 13 children, as follows: Anna, Barbara, Margaret, Susanna, Amos, Maria, John, Henry F. and Daniel. Mrs. Landis is the daughter of John and Barbara (Eby) Stauffer, and is one of nine children born to her parents; Benjamin, Fanny, Peter, Christian, John, Margaret, Anna, Bertram and Henry. Mrs. Landis belongs to the Mennonite Church. [Portraits and Biographical 1895 Pg 372]
HENRY S. LANDIS, whose farm is on sections 14 and 23, Sterling Township, has been identified with the agricultural interests of Whiteside county, for almost half a century. He was born in Lancaster county, Pennsylvania March 17, 1820, a son of Daniel and Margaret (Shafer) Landis, also natives of the Keystone state. The father, who was a teamster and later an innkeeper in Pennsylvania, died when our subject was only four years old. In his family were five children, Eliza, Emanuel, Maria, Henry S., and Annie, all of whom are now deceased with the exception of Henry S.
After the death of his father our subject was bound out until fifteen years of age, and then worked for wages as a farm hand. His education was acquired in the schools of his native county. In 1841, he married Miss Fannie Stauffer, who was born in Lancaster County, November 13, 1820, a daughter of John and Margaret (Ebee) Landis, also natives of Pennsylvania. In early life her father was a farmer and later followed the miller's trade. He had nine children, Benjamin, Fannie, Peter, Christ, Margaret, John, Annie, Barbara, and one who died young. With the exception of Mrs. Landis , all of this family remained in the east. To our subject and his wife were born thirteen children, namely: Annie, Barbara, Margaret, Susanna, Amos, Maria, John, Henry, Emma, Emanuel. Fremont, Reuben, and Daniel, all of whom are still living with the exception of Daniel, who died in infancy.
In 1851, Mr. Landis accompanied by his wife and four children came west by way of the Great Lakes to Chicago, which at that time was a small town, and by stage proceeded to Dixon (Illinois). They finally reached Sterling (Illinois) after two days spent upon the road. After a few days spent in that town, Mr. Landis purchased a farm of one hundred and forty-seven acres from John Albertson, a part of which had been fenced and a barn erected thereon. He commenced immediately to operate his farm, but lived in town until fall, when he moved into a log cabin upon his place, into which snakes would often crawl. To the further improvement and cultivation of this farm he has since devoted his energies, and still owns all of the original tract with the exception of three acres and a half, which he sold to the fair association. He has had no specialty but has always engaged in general farming. Politically he is identified with the Republican party, and served as school director for many years. His wife is a member of the Mennonite church and both are held in high regard on account of their sterling worth and many excellencies of character. [Contributed by Nancy Watkins - From - "The Biographical Record of Whiteside County (Illinois)" published in 1900 by J. D. Clarke]
Of Genesee Township
Samuel Landis was born in VA in 1792. He married Elizabeth Stretch in IN. Came to Genesee Grove in the spring of 1836. Children: Nathaniel, Susan, Sarah, Enoch, Mary, William, Nancy, John, Elizabeth and Margaret Ann. Elizabeth, Nancy and Margaret are living in MO. Enoch, Sarah and John are in Iowa. The rest are in IL. Mr. Landis was troubled with a tumor which grew so rapidly that a surgical operation became necessary; chloroform was administrated and it was skillfully removed, but he did not rally, and soon died. Mr. Landis was a cabinet maker by trade, and occasionally worked at it in connection with farming. Mrs. Landis is still living in MO. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 230]
SAMUEL LANDIS, farmer, section 10, Sterling Township, has been a citizen of Whiteside County since 1866. In that year he purchased 60 acres of land in the township where he is now a resident. He was born June 25, 1824, in Lebanon Co., Pa., and is the son of Benjamin and Eve (Segor) Landis. His parents were born and passed their entire lives in Pennsylvania. Their 11 children were named Elizabeth, Sarah, John, Mary, Susan, Henry, Benjamin, Samuel, Abraham, Rebecca and Catherine. Mr. Landis passed his minority under the authority of his parents and obtained a common-school education. He learned the business of chair-making, which he followed some years and was afterward variously employed, until his removal to Whiteside County. Mr. Landis is a Republican in politics and has officiated as School Director. He was first married in Lebanon Co., Pa., in 1848, to Lavina Martock, and they became the parents of two children - Mary A. and Rebecca. The mother died in 1851. Mr. Landis was a second time united in marriage Oct. 29, 1864, to Susan Nagle, and of their marriage nine children were born, as follows: George T., Alvin, Sarah, Agnes, Samuel, John, Ida, Emma and Amanda. Mrs. Landis was born March 3, 1842, in Pennsylvania. She is a member of the German Lutheran Church, and her husband belongs to the Presbyterian denomination. [Portrait & Biographical Pg 422]
of Prophetstown, IL
William Lane is justly classed among the substantial agriculturists of Prophetstown township, for he is the owner of four hundred and thirty-nine acres of as fine land as can be found within the boundaries of Whiteside county. He is also worthy of mention in this volume from the fact that he is one of the few remaining veterans of the Civil war, where he was found as one of the loyal defenders of the Union.
Mr. Lane was born in Niles, Berrien county, Michigan, June 18, 1837, a son of Benjamin and Charity (Roper) Lane, both of whom were natives of the state of New York, the former born in Ulster county, June 5, 1804, while the mother's birth occurred in Cayuga county, September 18, 1809. From the Empire state the father removed with his family to Berrien county, Michigan, being numbered among its pioneer settlers. The father there took up a tract of government land, whereon he made his home for some time. His family numbered six children, of whom only two are now living, the sister of our subject being Mrs. Sarah A. Winchell, of Tampico. The wife and mother passed away in Michigan March 17, 1843, at the comparatively early age of thirty-four years. The father was married a second time, this union being with Mrs. Elizabeth F. Robinson, who died in 1878. In 1855 the father removed to Illinois, settling near Yorktown, in Henry county, where he had purchased land the previous year and there he made his home for a long period, but the last few years of his life were passed in the home of his son William, his death occurring October 14, 1886, when he had reached the very advanced age of eighty-two years.
William Lane spent the period of his boyhood and youth on the homestead farm in Berrien county, Michigan. and his education was acquired in the common schools of Niles, that state. He was a youth of nineteen years at the time of his father's removal to Henry county, this state, and there he remained during the succeeding six years. when, feeling that his first duty was to his country he enlisted for service in the Civil war, becoming a member of Company K, Fifty-seventh Illinois Infantry, enlisting on the 12th of May, 1862, for three years' service. He participated in many engagements, the most important of these being at Corinth, Town Creek, Resaca, and he was also a participant in the Atlanta campaign, was in the engagement at Bentonville, North Carolina, and was with Sherman on his celebrated march to the sea. He was wounded in the battle at Corinth but not so seriously as to become disabled for active service, nor did he ever lose any time on account of sickness but was always found at his post of duty, being honorably discharged May 21, 1865.
Mr. Lane then returned to his home in Whiteside County, where he resumed the occupation of farming. His first purchase of land was eighty acres, which was still in a wild state, but he at once undertook the task of developing and improving this and has since added to his original purchase until he is now the owner of four hundred and thirty-nine acres, located in Prophetstown township. He has placed many improvements on this property, including a good country residence and substantial outbuildings, while the land has been placed under a high state of cultivation, annually yielding abundant crops as a reward for the care and labor which he bestows upon it. In addition to carrying on general agricultural pursuits, he is also engaged in raising stock, making a specialty of hogs, of which he annually raises large numbers. He is enterprising in all that he does, keeping in touch with modern methods of agriculture, so that he is meeting with well deserved success.
Mr. Lane was married in Prophetstown, October 18, 1868, to Miss Elizabeth Wroe, who was born in Virginia, March 11, 1852. Her parents were Benjamin and Matilda (Kennedy) Wroe, who were likewise natives of Virginia, the former born July 18, 1807, while the birth of the latter occurred February 9, 1816. Removing from Virginia to this state, they established their home near Princeton, Bureau county, becoming pioneer settlers of that section of the state. Later they removed to Missouri, where the father died on the 30th of June, 1857, when he had reached the age of fifty years. After the death of the father the mother returned to Whiteside county, where she lived for a time and then went to Kansas, where her remaining days were spent, her death there occurring on the 4th of May, 1901, when she had reached the extreme old age of eighty-five years. Of their family of seven children only four are now living, namely: John W., who resides in Oregon; James T., a resident of Missouri; Mrs. Grace M. Sweet. also a resident of Oregon; and Elizabeth, now Mrs. Lane.
The marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Lane has been blessed with six children: Ida E., who is engaged in teaching school and lives at home; William C., of Prophetstown township, who wedded Fannie May Fee, by whom he has a son, Paul; Charles F., who wedded Bessie Templeton, by whom he has two daughters, Hazel and Gladys, and makes his home in Savannah, Illinois; Mary A., the wife of Clifton Naftzger, a resident of Prophetstown township; Grace, who is engaged in teaching school; and Nellie, at home.
Mr. Lane cast his first presidential ballot in support of Abraham Lincoln and has supported every candidate of the republican party since that time. He has served as school director for a number of years but aside from this has held no public office. He and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal church, in the work of which they take an active and helpful interest, while with his old army comrades he maintains pleasant relations through his membership in the Grand Army of the Republic. He thoroughly enjoys home life and takes great pleasure in the society of his family and friends. His life is exemplary in all respects and he has ever supported those interests which are calculated to uplift and benefit humanity, while his own high moral worth is deserving of highest commendation. [History of Whiteside Co by W.W. Davis 1908]
BUEL A. LANGDON
Buel A. Langdon, the well known editor and proprietor of the Morrison Record, a bright weekly journal, was born in Chillicothe, Ohio, October 8, 1869, and is a son of Samuel A. and Lucelia (Brewer) Langdon, who are represented elsewhere in this volume. In 1871 the family came to Morrison, Illinois, but a year later removed to a farm in this county, where the father made his home until 1894. Upon the home farm our subject grew to manhood and he acquired a good practical education, attending the common schools, Dixon College and the Sterling high school. In 1890 he embarked in the florist's business in Sterling, where he remained until the spring of 1892, when he rented his father's farm, which comprises three hundred and twenty-six acres and is one of the most desirable places of its size in the county. After successfully operating the farm, he returned to Morrison in the spring of 1894, and purchased a half interest in the Record in August of the same year, his partner being H.E. Brown. Together they conducted the paper until the 1st of January, 1897, when our subject bought out Mr. Brown and has since been alone in business. He has met with excellent success as a journalist and is now at the head of one of the most prominent papers of the county. It is an eight-page sheet, and under his able management enjoys a large and constantly increasing circulation. The paper was started March 17, 1894, and Mr. Langdon has practically been with it since its inception. On the 14th of September 1892, he married Miss Hattie Swarthout. [Whiteside County Biographical Record 1900 pg 43, Contributed by Linda Criswell]
SAMUEL A. LANGDON
Samuel Langdon, farmer, section 7, Lyndon Township, was born June 17, 1833, in Monterey, Berkshire Co., Mass. His parents, Amos and Naomi (Thompson) Langdon, were both born in the same place. His paternal great-grandsire was a native of Eastern Massachusetts, and was one of the pioneers of the town of Monterey. His maternal grandfather and four brothers were farmers and extensive landholders in the same town. Mr. Langdon was brought up in the pursuit of his ancestors, and was educated in the common schools. He discharged the obligations of his minority to his parents, and at 21 years of age went to Ross Co., Ohio. He was appointed agent at Lyndon Station, in Ross County, on the line of the Cincinnati, Washington & Baltimore Railroad, where he operated six years. At the end of that time he engaged in the sale of merchandise in the village of Lyndon. In 1865 he was elected Treasurer of Ross County, and removed to Chillicothe, the county seat. In 1867 he was re-elected, and served his two entire terms, retiring from office in the fall of 1870. He came to Morrison, Ill., in the spring of 1871, whence he removed, a year later, to the farm he has since occupied. He purchased the place early in the spring of 1872. His homestead comprises 344 acres, all in excellent agricultural condition. It is fenced, and supplied with all necessary and commodious buildings. The place is one of the best managed in the county, and is beautified by shade and fruit trees and ornamental shrubs. Two barns, built by Mr. Langdon, have been destroyed by fire. The farm stock includes a considerable herd of thoroughbred Holstein cattle, in which the owner takes a justifiable pride. He was married Nov. 25, 1862, to Lucelia Brewer, and their children are named Elsie L., Porter B., Buel A., Ross S. and Clark E. Mrs. Langdon is the daughter of Daniel P. and Emeline (Hollister) Brewer, pioneers of Whiteside County. Mr. Langdon is a gentleman of culture and excellent judgment of men and general affairs, and enjoys a high degree of esteem among his friends and acquaintances. He has served three terms as a member of the County Board of Supervisors. [Transcribed by Christine Walters, Portraits and Biographical 1885 Chapman Brothers]
Of Portland Township, IL
Silas Langdon is a farmer residing on section 24, Portland Township, and is the owner of 130 acres of land thereon. He is a son of Zaphna and Mercy (Hall) Langdon, and was born on the farm where he at present resides, Aug. 13, 1855. His parents came from Massachusetts about 1845 or 1846 and located on the identical farm on which the son now lives. The father first bought 40 acres, built a log house, and entered vigorously upon the task of improving his land. The issue of their union was ten children, of whom only four at present survive, and of whom the following is a record: Sarah M. is the wife of Peter A. Jackson, a farmer in Butler Co., Kan.; Silas is next in order of birth; Perry G. is a farmer in Washington Territory; and George R. is a farmer in the same territory. The father died on the old homestead, Dec. 21, 1877, and the mother died in Elgin, this State. His father used to drive an ox team to Chicago, and sold corn at 8 cents and wheat at 15 cents per bushel. The date of his birth is Feb. 15, 1818, and he died as stated. The date of the mother’s birth is Sept. 10, 1819, and that of her death, Oct. 8, 1880. Mr. Langdon bought out the other heirs, and now has a fine farm with good residence, barn, etc., and buys and feeds cattle for the market. He usually keeps from 30 to 40 cattle, among which are some good graded Herefords. He raises 60 to 75 hogs, mostly the Jersey Red breed. Mr. Langdon was united in marriage in Portland Township, this county, July 4, 1877, to Miss Addie A. Booth. She is a daughter of William Booth and was born in Cattaraugus County, June 29, 1861. Her father is deceased, and her mother resides in this township with her son, Wesley Booth. They are the parents of four children, of whom the following is the record: Mark M., born Feb. 8, 1878; Edmund S., born Aug. 5, 1879; Howard D., born Jan. 9, 1881; Addie May, born Dec. 14, 1882. Mr. Langdon has met with success in his vocation as a farmer. When he was united in marriage he was the possessor of only $60 in money, and by good judgment and energetic effort, combined with the active co-operation of his help-meet, he has attained to comfortable circumstances. [1885 Portrait and Biographical of Whiteside Co]
CHARLES E. LANGFORD
President of the Langford & Hall Lumber Company, of Fulton IL, and the pioneer lumberman of this city, established himself in this business at Fulton in 1859. He began by running lumber across the river from Lyons. He next leased a saw-mill just above town, which he operated till 1862, when he built a small mill on the site of his present one. He operated the first mill till 1876, when he moved it off, and built the present extensive concern. The mill was begun in 1876 and completed in 1877. The Langford & Hall Lumber Company was incorporated Jan. 26, 1878, with a capital stock of $75,000, all of which is paid up. The mill has a cutting capacity of 75,000 feet per day, and, when running a full force, 130 men are employed ten hours a day. The company carries an average stock of 7,000,000 feet of lumber. It was inventoried Jan. 1, 1885, at a net value of $97,181. Mr. Langford was elected President and Treasurer at the organization of the company, and held the office for several years. Mr. George S. Sardam is the present efficient Secretary. Mr. Langford holds half the company stock, while the balance is divided between the heirs of Warren P. Hall and others.
Mr. Langford was born in Genesee Co., N. Y., Dec. 14, 1816, and is the son of Charles and Fannie (Mansfield) Langford. His parents were natives of New York: his father was born in Genesee, and his mother in Oneida County. When two years of age Charles removed with his parents to Upper Canada, to St. John's. Seven years later they went to Northern Ohio, where they resided till 1829, when they changed to Erie Co., Pa. At the age of 14 years Charles bought his time of his father, who was a carder and clothier, and began life for himself. He had learned the carding business, at which he worked till the fall of 1836, when he started out to seek his fortune. He traveled South as far as New Orleans, and the following June 1837 he came up the Mississippi River to Lyons, Iowa. He made a claim on unsurveyed land between Lyons and Sabula before the Indians were removed.
His experience while a squatter is well worth relating. He built a log shanty, and hired five acres broken, which he planted to sod corn. He soon after bought a pair of old oxen on time; then, having a chance to exchange one of his oxen for breaking, he did so, and added nine acres to his plowed land, and paid for the cattle with the proceeds of his sod corn. The following season he sowed a part of his land, with wheat and planted the balance with corn. He then rigged his odd ox with an old mule's harness, with ropes tied to his horns for lines, and with this novel outfit he cultivated his corn His wheat yielded 30 bushels to the acre, which he hauled to Chicago, and sold for 90 cents a bushel. He sold his claim for a small consideration the second year, and the following winter engaged in cutting cord-wood for the boats. He sold his wood the next spring, and with the proceeds purchased a carding-machine at St. Louis, which he set up the following July, on a little water power on Elk River, between Sabula and Lyons. He built a dam and a small mill and began business as a carder. As many of the old settlers kept a few sheep and used the old-fashioned spinning wheels, he found plenty to do. He continued that business about five or six years, when he sold out. He then purchased a tract of land in Clinton Co., Iowa, where he engaged in farming. In 1852 he leased a small water-power saw-mill, on Elk River, above Lyons, which he subsequently bought. He operated that mill only a short time, when he sold out and resumed farming.
In 1856 he retired from the farm and located at Lyons. Soon after the financial storm of 1857 he leased what was known as the Stambaugh Saw-Mill at Lyons - since burned - which he operated till 1859, when he leased the mill on the Fulton side of the river, above town. In 1862 he built the small steam mill on the site of his present mill, as before mentioned. He is still the owner of 500 acres of his old term in Clinton Co., Iowa. Mr. Langford has, by the exercise of good judgment and untiring energy, developed an important and extensive business. He is a fair type of the self-made Western man, starting as he did at the age of 14 years, buying his time of his father, and going out into the battle of life with only his bare hands, shrewd judgment and indomitable will to back him. His marked success has been won after many a hard struggle against discouraging circumstances. Mr. Langford has been twice married: first in Pennsylvania, to Miss Hannah Shadduck, in 1836. His second wife was Miss Maria Sherman, to whom he was married in Fulton, IL, June 18, 1874. He had seven children by his first marriage, three sons and four daughters; by his second marriage he has one daughter. Mr. Langford was a Whig in early life, and since the organization of the Republican party he has voted that ticket. [Transcribed by Christine Walters; Portraits and Biographical 1885 Chapman Brothers]
Farmer, resident on section 12, Albany Township, was born Dec. 27, 1836 in Waterford, Fulton Co. Ill. Asa Langford, his father, was born in Alabama and accompanied his parents about 1805 to the Territory of Illinois. They located near Carmi in White County, where they were among the earliest to make a permanent location. The senior Langford was married there, and about 1S15 he went to Fulton County with his family, then including his wife and two children. He became interested in the river sen-ice and soon obtained a position as pilot, rising later to that of Captain. He was in the Black Hawk War and held the rank of Second Lieutenant. He died in Fulton County, April 6, 1862. Nancy (Nevitt) Langford, his wife, was the daughter of Wm. Nevitt, one of the first pioneers of Albany in Whiteside County. She died in 1868. Four of their seven children are now living (1885). The eldest is a member of the current Legislature of Illinois.
Mr. Langford was the sixth child of his parents in order of birth, and was 14 when his father settled in Albany. Four years later he was attached to the corps of Frink & Walker, stage route proprietors, between Chicago and Albany, in the capacity of roadmaster. After operating in their interests one year, he engaged as an engineer in a steam saw-mill, where he was occupied two years. The succeeding seven years he rafted on the Mississippi River. He had acquired some property and was comfortably located at Albany, when the tornado of June 3, 1860, which ruined the village, swept away his accumulations and left him with the privilege of beginning the world anew. He went to Bureau County and rented land, which he continued to manage two years. At the expiration of that time he took possession of some land left him by his father, situated on section 19. Three years later he sold the place and bought a homestead on section 12, where he has since operated with success. He now owns 500 acres, all in good agricultural condition with excellent buildings. Mr. Langford was married April 23, 1859, to Emeline Valentine. She was born in Monmouth, N. J., and is the daughter of Wm. and Julia A. Valentine. Guilford J. and Frank are the names of the sons of Mr. and Mrs. Langford. Frank received $100 per month as stenographer when only 19 years old. [Transcribed by Christine Walters Portraits and Biographical 1885 Chapman Brothers]
CALEB P. LANPHERE
Of Portland Township
Caleb Lanphere was born in Greene county, New York, in 1799, and came to Portland in 1841. In 1841, he married Miss Lucinda Martin. Their children have been: Almira, wife of John Fuller, living in Portland; James M., living in Portland; Clark C., who married Miss Lucinda Fuller, and lives in Portland; George, living in Warren county, Illinois; Albert, living in McDonough county, Illinois; Mary, wife of B. F. Brooks, living in Portland; Harriet, wife of 0. P. Welding, living in Portland; and Jay C., living in Portland, Mr. Lanphere died in 1875. He was a devoted christian, and one of the pillars of the Methodist church. He was a Justice of the Peace, and Town Clerk of the township for a number of years [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County]
BENJAMIN FRANKLIN LATHE
OF Mt Pleasant Twp
One of the leading citizens of Morrison is Benjamin F. Lathe, who, after an extremely active and useful life, has retired to enjoy the fruits of his toil. He has passed through the hardships of frontier existence, and has met with many reverses, yet has bravely surmounted the difficulties in his pathway, winning a position of affluence and influence in the community. His father, Reuel Lathe, a native of Charlton, Massachusetts, born in 1803, was a farmer. For a wife, the latter chose Sally Robbins, a native of the same town, born in 1800, and at the time of their marriage making her home with her grandfather. In 1845 the Lathe family removed from their late home in Steuben county, New York, to Lyndon township, Whiteside county, Illinois. John, the second son of Reuel Lathe, had come to these prairies the year before and had pre-empted land, which he purchased when the land office was established. The father continued to improve his farm until shortly before his death, which event took place in 1861. His widow remained on the old homestead with her son Benjamin until she passed to the silent land, in 1876. The father was a Republican, and in religion was a Universalist. Benjamin F. Lathe, whose birth occurred June 15, 1830, in Steuben county, New York, is one of ten children, two of whom died in infancy. Moses, who came to Illinois in 1848, died in this county. He had five children, all but one of whom survive, and one of his sons, Charles, lives on Lathe island, near Erie, Illinois. John, the second son of Reuel Lathe, died at his home in Lyndon township, and of his two sons one is deceased, and Hosea B. is a. resident of Galesburg. Jabez, who was married but had no children, lives near Erie with his nephew and is the owner of some farm land near Lyndon. Sarah E., with her husband, Milo Chapin, lives in Prophetstown, and their only surviving child, Samuel, is a resident of Portland township. Phoebe A., who never married, died in 1861, when about twenty-seven years of age. Violetta A., deceased, wife of J. E. Sands, had four children of whom three survive - Fred, Mrs. Ella Marcy, of Lyndon township, and Frank E., of Morrison. Lasira D., widow of James Knox, of Mount Pleasant township, has three children: James Reuel, of Monrovia, California; Edgar P., of Union Grove township; and Fred M., of Mount Pleasant township. When he was a lad of fifteen years B. F. Lathe came to Whiteside county, and until he was twenty-six years of age he remained on the parental homestead, engaged in agriculture. After his marriage the young man arranged to purchase his father's farm of one hundred and sixty acres, and in time he had placed it under high cultivation, making valuable improvements, and eventually increasing the boundaries of his place until it now comprises two hundred and forty acres, all situated in Lyndon township. He has raised stock and grain, and has met with success in his various undertakings. In 1892 he rented the farm and retired, and for a year lived in Morrison. He then joined his son and purchased two hundred and twenty eight acres of the Thomas farm, and there dwelt for four years. In 1897 he became the owner of a new house on East Main street, Morrison, paying two thousand dollars for the property, which he improved and is now making his home. In 1860 Mr. Lathe suffered greatly by the Comanche tornado, which devastated his homestead, wrecking his house, barns and orchard, everything being a total loss. He himself was injured seriously, and today carries scars on the head and face as mementoes of the long weeks when death fought for his life and almost won the victory. Upon recovering he bravely set about making a new start, for it was necessary for him to plant a new orchard and build a new house and barns and buy new implements for the cultivation of his farm. In 1897 he fell from a high wagon and sustained an injury to his hip which will make him lame during the remainder of his career. For sixteen years he was a school director in Lyndon township, and in political faith he has been a stalwart Republican. Religiously he is an adherent of the Universalist church. The marriage of B. F. Lathe and Lydia Knox was solemnized February 20, 1856. She was born in Erie county, New York, September 25, 1831, a daughter of James and Amy (Martin) Knox, who removed to Whiteside county in 1835. Here they were among the earliest settlers, and for years the Indians, whose camp was not far distant, in the Big Woods, on the Ox-Bow river, traded with them, obtaining provisions and clothing. For over a year the Knox family lived largely upon the meat of wild turkeys and wild hogs, the latter being very plentiful in this region at that day. James Knox built and operated the first ferry-boat on the river, near Prophetstown, and for many years it was one of the well known landmarks of this county. He owned a farm on the present site of Morrison, later sold it and moved one mile east of Morrison, and died at his old home there in 1860. His wife subsequently made her home with one of her sons until her death in 1866. All of her ten sons and two daughters lived to maturity. William, deceased, married Mary J. Emery, who, with six of their seven children, survives. Martin died in California. Alson, deceased, married Julia Weaver, who, with nine of their children, survives him. Peter died, leaving a widow, H. Emeline (Hawley) Knox. James married the sister of B. F. Lathe, and died, leaving three children. Archibald, deceased, married Minerva R. Garrison, who is living in Mount Pleasant township, as are their four children. Henry L. died in Mount Pleasant township, where he owned a good farm. John J., of Mount Pleasant township, married Lucy Humphreys. Mary died, leaving a husband, Byron McIntyre, now of Michigan, and four children. Allen, who resides in Kansas, married Mary Utley, and has several children. Louis Knox, a drayman of Morrison, wedded Emma Hulett, and has one son, Louts. The marriage of Benjamin F. Lathe and wife was blessed with four children. Alice R. became the wife of W. H. Bloom, editor of the Courier, of Sutherland, Iowa. David B., unmarried, is living at home with his parents. James F. is a thrifty young farmer of Mount Pleasant township, where he owns a valuable homestead. He married Nettie McNutt, and has a pleasant home. Clara L. is the wife of David L. Broyles, of Union, Iowa. He is a farmer and owns a good homestead of two hundred and eighteen acres. [Source: The Biographical Record of Whiteside County, Illinois, S.J. Clarke Publishing Co., Chicago, 1900, Pages 403-405; Contributed by Linda Criswell]
OF Lyndon Twp
Jabez Lathe, a farmer in Lyndon Township, is the third son of, Reuel and Sally (Robins) Lathe, of whom a sketch may be found elsewhere in this volume. He was born Dec. 1, 1822, in Steuben Co., N. Y., where he was brought up on a farm, and was well educated. He began teaching when 20 years old, and alternated that pursuit with farming until he came to Whiteside County with his parents, the removal of the family hither being effected in 1845. In 1846 be bought 50 acres of land on section 12, Lyndon Township, on which he made the first improvements, in 1848. He broke a few acres and set out an orchard, as a beginning of the work of putting his property under thorough cultivation. Mr. Lathe was united in marriage April 4, 1849, to Pamelia, daughter of John P. and Candace Sands. In the spring of 1850 he located on his place, where he had built a house. His wife died Sept. 1, 1854. He was again married Dec. 1, 1855, to Martha M. Hickcox. She was born in Chittenden Co., Vt., and is the daughter of Thomas N. and Mary (Foster) Hickcox. The agricultural affairs of Mr. Lathe were proceeding prosperously, when his buildings, fences and orchard were swept away by the tornado of June 3, 1860. His wife was so severely injured that she never fully recovered. He built the house he now occupies in 1862, and the farm is again supplied with convenient buildings, and is fenced in good condition. [Portrait and Biographical Album of Whiteside County, Illinois, Chapman Brothers Publishing Co., Chicago, 1885., Page 194]
Farmer, section 29, Ustick Township, is the only son of Samuel and Mary (Campbell) Lawton, who were born in England and lived and died there. The son was born May 6, 1831, in England. He had little opportunity for education save from observation, and in his early life he was a farmer and gardener. He improved an opportunity to study the art of a veterinary surgeon, in which capacity he has operated ever since. He came to the United States in 1859, settling primarily in Fall River, Mass., where he operated two years as a gardener. In February, 1861, became to Whiteside County and bought 60 acres of land on the same section where he has since been a resident. His estate now includes 160 acres, of which about two-thirds is in a condition favorable to farming. Mr. Lawton's marriage to Ann Hurst took place May 3, 1860. Mrs. Lawton is the daughter of John and Sarah (Hibard) Hurst, and her parents were born in England, where her mother died. Her father came with her to Fall River, where he passed the remaining years of his life. James, Mary, Jane and Ann were the names of the children of Mr. and Mrs. Hurst. Mrs. Lawton was born in September, 1830, in England. She has become the mother of four children, Thomas, Alfred, Edwin C. and Ruth A. In the spring of 1885, Mr. Lawton was elected Supervisor of Ustick Township. He is independent in political connection and adopts the views of the prohibition element. Mr. and Mrs. Lawton are members of the Methodist Church. [Transcribed by Christine Walters, Portraits and Biographical 1885 Chapman Brothers]
MARSHALL TURNER LEE
OF Sterling, Whiteside Co IL
For half a century Marshall Turner Lee has been numbered among the progressive, energetic citizens of Whiteside County, and at present he is living practically retired at his pleasant home in Sterling. Following in the footsteps of his patriotic father, who won honors for his gallant service in the War of 1812, he fought for more than three years during the War of the Rebellion, participating in some of the most arduous campaigns of that terrible conflict. In years of peace, no less than those of war, he has bravely performed his duty, and is justly entitled to a place on the nations roll of honor.
Marshall T. Lee was born in Erie Co., PA, June 7, 1837 and there he lived until he was twelve years of age. He early mastered the various details of agriculture and remained under the parental roof until reaching his majority. As an initial step in independent life he chose Elizabeth Wetzell as his wife, their marriage being celebrated December 18, 1859. She is a daughter of Daniel and Mary (Bidler) Wetzell, and was born in Canton Ohio, in 1842. With her parents, who likewise were natives of Ohio, she came to Illinois when a young girl. Mr. and Mrs. Lee have seven sons, namely: Francis M., Marshall T., Charles J., Abram L., John H., Fay and Daniel W. Francis M. of Springfield IA married Nettie Wilbur and their two children are Zella and Wilbur. Marshall T., of Rock Falls, is a salesman for the Lee Harness Attachment Company, of Chicago, and is the inventor and patentee of the article manufactured. He married Nancy Brett and has three children - Harry, Lawrence and Lottie. Charles J., who is an enterprising farmer of Hume Township, married Erma Van DeMark, and their four children comprise: Wayne, Leland, Mildred and an infant. Abram L., who has been employed for 10 years by the Rock Falls Manufacturing Company, of Sterling, married Mamie Boos, and has two children, Nellie and Fern. John H., a leading attorney of Chicago, is a graduate of the Sterling Schools, and of the Civil Engineering and Electrical Department of the State University of Wisconson. He received the degree of Doctor of Laws in Kent College of Law, in Chicago, where he was graduated with high honors, and since then has been engaged in practice, his office being in the Monadnock Building, Chicago. He is an able business man, and was one of the organizers of the Lee Harness Attachment Company. His wife formerly was Miss Lillie McLain. Fay, a resident of Rock Falls married Bell Wilson, and their only child is named William. Daniel is a member of the class of 1900 of Kent College of Law, and also is employed as a stenographer in his brothers office in Chicago. Subsequent to the marriage of our subject and his wife they settled upon a 50 acre farm in Genesee Township, and were living there, busily occupied in the various duties of agriculture, when the civil war broke out. In October 1861, Mr. Lee enlisted in Company H 55th Illinois Volunteers. [Whiteside County Biographical Record 1900]
ELIAS D. LEFEVRE
Elias D. LeFevre, retired farmer and a resident of Sterling, was born in Lancaster Co., Pa., Dec. 5, 1825. His father, John W. LeFevre, was of French ancestry, and his mother, nee Mary Espenshade, was of French and German parentage. They came to Sterling in 1847, purchasing about 200 acres on section 21, in township 21, where they remained until their death. Mrs. L. died Oct. 31, 1859, and Mr. L, Dec. 31, 1872.
The subject of this sketch resides still in the same house which his father purchased in 1847, taking possession in 1849, the year he was united in marriage to Miss Annabella Hacker. They have had nine children, namely: John W., born Dec. 10, 1850; Lemuel H., Aug. 17, 1852; Mary R., Aug. 19, 1854; Eliza Bell, Sept. 19, 1856; Ida I., Dec. 3, 1858; Lottie B., April 6, 1861; Hattie B., April 20, 1863; Edward H., Nov. 2, 1865; and E. Jasper, June 28, 1870. John W. and Lemuel H. died in childhood. Mary R. died Aug. 31, 1879. She was a graduate of the first class (1873) from the Second Ward School, and was a successful teacher in the same school for five years, and only left her position to come home to die! Eliza Belle is still living and the wife of Charles W. Snyder: they have had three little girls, at one birth, all of whom are dead; Ida I. died July 2, 1884; she was also a graduate of the Second Ward School; Lottie B. is a teacher and a graduate of the Second Ward School, and has secured a position in the same school the coming year; Hattie B. is the family’s stand-by, and qualified for any position; Edward H. is a book-keeper and shipping clerk for H. F. Batcheller & Son, manufacturers at Rock Falls; E. Jasper has not yet finished his education. Mr. LeFevre has been a member of the Board of Education for the Second Ward for nine years; is a worthy citizen, a Republican, and a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, to which latter body his wife also belongs. [Portraits & Biographical 1885]
JACOB F. LEONARD
OF Tampico, IL
Jacob F. Leonard, Justice of the Peace, Notary Public and insurance agent of Tampico, was born April 10, 1838, in Greene County, PA. John Leonard, his father, was a native of the same State, and a farmer. He died when his son was six months old. The latter was brought up by his mother, Hannah (Reinhart)Leonard, who was born in Pennsylvania and was of German lineage. She married again and came to Illinois in 1851, settling in Bureau County. She is still living in that county and is married to her third husband, William Adams, a farmer in Fairfield Township. Mr. Leonard was a resident of Greene County until he was 14 years of age, when in 1852 he came to Bureau County. He remained there a few years and went to Kansas, settling in an unorganized part of the State, which is now Chase County. In the summer of 1860 he went to Pike's Peak, and after a brief stay came back to Kansas and soon after to Illinois. He resided for a time with his mother, in Bureau County, attending school.
He was married Sept 18 1863, in Bureau County to Martha A. Hayes. She was born Feb. 18, 1847, in Putnam Co., Ill., whence her parents removed to Henry County, and after some years to Bureau Co. Three children have been born to her and her husband and they are all deceased - Leroy H., Archa B., and Millroy.
Feb. 8, 1865, Mr. Leonard enlisted in Co. E. 14th Ill, Vol. Inf., under the command of Captain Stubbs. The regiment was assigned to the Army of the Tennessee under Col. H. H. Wilsie. Mr. Leonard was in no active engagements, and was discharged Sept. 5, 1865, after the close of the war. He returned to Bureau County and became interested in farming, which he followed there until 1875. In that year he settled in Tampico and has been interested to some extent in the business of an insurance agent. In 1877 he was elected Justice of the Peace and has been an incumbent of the office eight years. He owns 280 acres of land in Bureau County and considerable property in the Village of Tampico. He is a zealous and uncompromising Republican, and has served as Village Trustee. He is quartermaster in the local post of the GAR at Tampico, an belongs to the Blue Lodge, Masonic Order [Whiteside County Portrait and Biograhics 1885]
LEROY W. LEWIS
LEROY W. LEWIS, D. D. S., was graduated in the department of dentistry at the University of Iowa as a member of the class of 1902, and his subsequent professional success offers the most effective voucher for his technical skill and his effective application thereof, as well as for his personal popularity. The Doctor is established in the practice of his profession in the City of Shenandoah, where he has an office of the best modern equipment in both operative and laboratory departments, and where he has won definite standing as one of the representative members of his profession in Page County.
Doctor Lewis was born on the parental home farm in Plymouth County, Iowa, November 20, 1878, and is a son of Thomas W. and Harriet E. (Belvins) Lewis, the former of whom was born in Illinois and the latter in Vermont, their marriage having ben solemnized at Morrison, Illinois, and the year 1875 having marked their removal to Plymouth County, Iowa, where Thomas W. Lewis developed the fine farm estate that long continued the stage of his productive activities as agriculturist and stock-grower. He became one of the honored citizens and retired farmers of Le Mars, the judicial center of Plymouth County, where he passed away at the age of eighty years, June, 1930, his wife having passed to eternal rest in the year 1919. Ola B., eldest of the children, resides at La Mars; Dr. LeRoy W. is the next younger; Maude S. is the wife of I. R. stout, who is in charge of the male high school of the City of Newark, New Jersey, their home being maintained in the beautiful suburb of Bloomfield; Harry L., youngest of the children, resides at Sioux Falls, South Dakota, and owns and conducts a drug store at Hartford, that state. Thomas W. Lewis was long a loyal supporter of the principles of the Democratic party and was affiliated with the Masonic fraternity, his wife having been an active member of the Congregational Church. his father, Ward Lewis, was a substantial farmer in Illinois. Mrs. Harriet E. Lewis was a daughter of c. Frank Bevins, who was a blacksmith and carpenter and who resided in turn in Vermont, New York State and Illinois prior to coming to Iowa, where he gained pioneer honors.
After being graduated in the high school at Le Mars, Dr. LeRoy W. Lewis there completed a course in the Le Mars Normal School, after his graduation in which he entered the dental department of the University of Iowa, in which he was graduated as a member of the class of 1902. After thus receiving his degree of Doctor of Dental Surgery he was engaged in practice two month at Hull, Sioux County, and during the ensuing two years he maintained his professional headquarters at Larchwood, Lyon County. In 1904 he established his residence in Shenandoah, in which city he has continued in successful practice during the intervening period of a full quarter of a century. The Doctor has membership in the District Dental Association, the Iowa State Dental Association and the National Dental Association, and he has kept in close touch with the advances made in dental science and practice, so that his professional service at all times has been of the highest standard.
Doctor Lewis gives his political allegiance to the Republican party, he and his wife are zealous members of the Congregational Church in their home city and he is a trustee thereof; he is a member of the Shenandoah board of education, is affiliated with the Masonic fraternity, and has active membership in the local Kiwanis and Country Clubs. The year 1908 recorded the marriage of Doctor Lewis to Miss Grace Padmore, who was born at Le Mars, Plymouth County, and whose early educational advantages included those of the University of Iowa. Doctor and Mrs. Lewis have three children: Jane is, in 1929, a member of the junior class in Grinnell College; Donald is a member of the senior class in the Shenandoah High School; and Helen is a member of the Junior High School. [The People of Iowa, Volume IV by EDGAR RUBEY HARLAN, LL. B., A. M.; THE AMERICAN HISTORICAL SOCIETY, Inc. 1931; tr. by K.T.]
JOHN G. LIMERICK
OF Rock Falls IL
John G. Limerick, one of the most energetic, enterprising and progressive business men of Rock Falls, is a native of Illinois, born in Bureau county, January 18, 1864, and is a son of George and Letitia Limerick. The father, who was a native of New York, came to Illinois when a small boy and later took up government land in Bureau county which he developed into a good farm. He followed agricultural pursuits throughout life and died upon his farm in Bureau county, in February, 1875. His wife passed away at the same place in 1878. Of their nine children, only three are now living besides our subject, namely: A. H. is a prominent citizen of Winfield, Kansas, and principal and superintendent of the public schools of that place; Maggie is the widow of Thomas A. Bishop, a prosperous farmer of Whiteside county, and she now lives with her three children at 1005 West Fifth street, Sterling; and Minnie E. is the wife John Stewart, who is engaged in the express business in Chicago.
The subject of this sketch was reared on the home farm in Bureau county, where he remained until nineteen years of age. He attended school in Ohio, that county, and when his education was completed went to Boone, Iowa, where he was employed in the grocery business for a short time. While there Mr. Limerick was married, April 14, 1885, to Miss Ella Hartman, of that place, a daughter of Henry and Leah Hartman. Three children were born of this union: Elmo J., born in Boone, Iowa, January 27, 1886, died in Rock Falls, in 1890, and was burned in Sterling, Illinois; the second child died in infancy unnamed; Volney G., born in Rock Falls, December 17, 1891, completes the family. Mr. Limerick remained in Boone, Iowa, until April, 1887, and then came to Rock Falls, where he has since resided. He was employed as clerk in the hardware store of A. J. McNeil & Company for a period of seven years, and for one year by E. U. Taylor, another hardware merchant of Rock Falls. In 1896 he embarked in business for himself, purchased a barber shop, which he has since owned, but does not give all his time to the business, being now engaged quite extensively in the fire insurance business. He has obtained the agency for several of the best companies, and by his industry and close attention to his business has built up a large and prosperous patronage in that line. In the spring of 1898, he was elected city collector for a term of one year. During that time the office was made an appointive one, and upon the expiration of his term he was appointed by Mayor Woods for another term. He is a public-spirited citizen who gives his support to every enterprise for the public good. [Whiteside Biographical Record 1900 Pg 442]
DAVID H. LINGEL
David H. Lingel, whose activity and energies are concentrated upon the conduct and development of a successful grocery business at the corner of Thirteenth avenue and Fourth street in Sterling, is a native of Franklin county, Pennsylvania, having been born near Chambersburg on the 14th of April, 1851, his parents being John and Frances (Finnefrock) Lingel, who were likewise natives of the same county. The family was an old one of Pennsylvania, for the paternal grandfather lived in Franklin county and died there when a young man. His wife, Mrs. Barbara (Moffat) Lingel, long survived him and passed away in Sterling at the ripe old age of eighty-three years. The maternal grandfather, John Finnefrock, also died in the Keystone state when a comparatively young man. John Lingel, father of our subject, early learned and followed the shoemaker's trade, while later he became a farmer and subsequently engaged in house painting and paper hanging. He came to Sterling in the fall of 1864 and there resided until 1905, when he went to Chicago, where he now makes his home. His wife, however, died in 1866 in the faith of the Lutheran church, of which she was a member, while Mr. Lingel belonged to the United Brethren church in former years but is now a Methodist. For his second wife he married Maria Kissell. Six children were born of the first marriage: David H.; Catharine, the wife of A. N. Mallory, of Chicago; Anna, the wife of William Starr, of Lamoille, Illinois; Emma, living in Sterling; John F., of this city; and Sadie, the wife of E. H. Marriott, of Lamoille, Illinois. By the second marriage the father had two children: Mabel, now the wife of William Smart, of Sterling; and Bert. David H. Lingel was only thirteen years of age when he became a resident of Sterling and his education, begun in the common schools of Pennsylvania, was supplemented by the two years' study in the schools of Sterling. He then began clerking in a grocery store and spent four years until April, 1907, with the exception of two years devoted to painting. for fourteen years he was in the employ of Isaac Wolf, with whom he continued until the death of Mr. Wolf, when he embarked in business on his own account in April, 1907, establishing a grocery store at the corner of Thirteenth avenue and Fourth street. Already he has secured a liberal patronage and he has a neat, attractive and well equipped store, in which he is meeting with well merited success. On the 15th of June, 1875, Mr. Lingel was married to Miss Jennie E. Little, a daughter of William and Agnes (Porter) Little. They have two children: William J., who is with his father in the store; and Agnes Lillian, the wife of Martin M. Wasley, a resident of Chicago. Mr. and Mrs. Lingel are members of the First Methodist Episcopal church and his political allegiance is given to the republican party. The only office that he has ever held was that of tax collector in 1884, his aspirations having been in other directions than in the line of officeholding. For forty-three years he has lived in Sterling and is well known in its business circles as a man ever reliable in trade interests and at the same time possessing a spirit of marked enterprise and diligence. [William Davis - Whiteside County History 1908]
Daniel Lipe, a retired farmer of Sterling, was the son of Godfrey and Barbara (House) Lipe, natives of North Carolina and of German descent. They were farmers and died in their native State. He remained at his parental home until he was 23 years of age, receiving a common-school education and assisting on the farm. On leaving home he came to Montgomery County, this State, purchased 500 acres of land and followed agriculture there for 33 years, when he sold and came to Sterling, buying 23 acres of land joining town; he still resides on a portion of the same tract.
Mr. Lipe was married March 8, 1832, to Miss Matilda Walter, a native of North Carolina, and they have had 11 children, 9 of whom are still living, namely:
1. Louisa C, who was born in North Carolina, Feb. 11, 1833, moved with her parents to Illinois in 1835, arriving Oct. 13, and Dec. 25, 1856, married Whitson Hefley, a blacksmith by trade, who died in the Union Army, Oct. 18, 1863. By that marriage Mrs. H. had two children, one of whom, Arthur, is living. In the fall of 1865 she married William F. Henry, and by the present matrimonial union there have been five children. The three children living are May, Loa M. and Jesse. Arthur Hefley is married and has two children.
2. Wiley A. Lipe, who is a minister of the Gospel. He was born in North Carolina, July 9, 1835, and was moved with his parents in emigration to Illinois when only three months old. Oct. 25, 1860, he married Elizabeth E. Brown, and now has six children—Eva, Ada, Walter S., George, Archie and Augustus K., besides Ida, deceased.
3. Barbara J., born in Illinois, Sept. 29, 1837, married Levi S. Hefley, a farmer, Oct. 24, 1858, and has five children—Cyrus, Elizabeth, Daniel, George and Mary,besides one deceased. Elizabeth married Smyth Caton, Feb. 9, 1882, and has one child, Mabel.
4. Rufus F., who is a merchant. He was born in Illinois, Jan. 6, 1840, married Mary M. Holmes, Jan. 15, 1863, and has had two children—Dalton S., deceased, and Lilly D. The latter married Hiram E. Price, May 3, 1879, and has one child, Murriel by name.
5. Mary Elizabeth, who was born in this State, April 9, 1842, married Jacob Single, a farmer, March 14, 1860, and died Feb. 27, 1861.
6. Luther L., who is a minister of the Gospel. He was born Oct. 17, 1844, married Flora Stager, Oct. 5, 1872,and has had two children, Johnnie, deceased, and Olive.
7. Cecelia A., who also was born in this State, in August, 1850, and married Henry Raffenberger, an insurance agent, Dec. 5, 1870, and has four children — Walter, Levi, Olive and Roy.
8. George W., a druggist, who was born in Illinois, April 18, 1853, married Mary E. Miller, May 19, 1875, and has one child, Zula.
9. Sarah A. C., who was born in the Prairie State, May 23, 1856, and May 6, 1880, married Thomas W. Henry, a general carriage and buggy agent for the Enterprise Manufacturing Company of Cincinnati, Ohio.
10. Leora J., who was born in Illinois, Dec. 30, 1859, and Sept. 25, 1880, married Cyrus L. Schriver, general carriage and buggy agent for the Enterprise Manufacturing Company of Cincinnati, Ohio.
Thus it will be seen that Mr. Lipe, the subject of this record, has had 29 grandchildren (seven of whom are dead), and four great-grandchildren. His sons and daughters who are living are all married and are doing well, the men being in active business or professional life. In his political views Mr. Lipe is a Republican, and both himself and wife are members of the Lutheran Church. [Transcribed by Christine Walters, Whiteside County History Portraits and Biographical, 1885]
Mrs. Therese Litzrodt, residing in Genesee township, was born in Germany, August 8, 1854, and is the widow of Henry Litzrodt, who was a native of Saxony, Germany, his natal day being September 4, 1825. His parents were also of German birth and spent their entire lives in the fatherland. Their family, numbered seven children, of whom Mr. Litzrodt was the second son. At the age of fifteen years he entered upon an apprenticeship and learned the locksmith’s trade under the supervision of W. Demmer, in Eisenach, Germany. With the aid of fifty dollars received from his father he completed his two and a half years apprenticeship, and during the succeeding eight years followed his trade on his own account.
When twenty-six years of age Mr. Litzrodt came to America, hoping to enjoy better business opportunities in the new world. He made his way to Sterling, and in the vicinity of that city began work as a farm hand in the employ of a Mr. Sox. He continued in this work for several years and in the meantime, with the capital acquired through his industry and economy, he was enabled to purchase eighty acres of land, upon which a few improvements had been made. It was located in Genesee township and was originally covered with timber. At length Mr. Litzrodt took up his abode upon this farm and began its improvement and development.
For a year he lived alone and was then married in Chicago on the 12th of May, 1868, to Miss Sophia. E. Wilcken, a daughter of Jacob and Sophia (Swart) Wilcken. Mrs. Litzrodt was born in Mecklenburg, Germany. February 17, 1834, and her parents were both natives of that country. They reared a family of four children, but the father and mother are both now deceased, Mrs. Litzrodt being thirteen years of age at the time of her father’s death. Mr. and Mrs. Litzrodt traveled life’s journey together for about twenty-eight years and were then separated by the hand of death in 1890, the wife passing away in that year. Later Mr. Litzrodt made a trip to the fatherland, where he formed the acquaintance of Mrs. Therese Appold, who came to America in January, 1891, at which time Mr. Litzrodt returned to this country. They were married on the 12th of June of that year. By her first husband Mrs. Litzrodt had one daughter, who came to the United States with her mother and is now the wife of J. M. Winkey.
The death of Mr. Litzrodt occurred on the 30th of January, 1905. For many years he had successfully followed farming and had added to his original holdings until he was the owner of one hundred and eighty-five acres of rich and productive land. His life was one of industry and enterprise and the success which he enjoyed was attributable entirely to his own labors. He enjoyed the respect and confidence of those who knew him, and at his death left many friends in this county. Mrs. Litzrodt still surviving her husband, occupies the residence upon the home farm but rents her land. She owns one hundred and eighty-five acres and from this property derives a gratifying income. She is well known in Genesee township, where she has now lived for seventeen years, and her good qualities have gained for her the esteem and good will of all who know her. [History of Whiteside County - by Davis, 1908]
Of Garden Plain Twp.
Andrew Lockhart, a prosperous farmer of Garden Plain Township, was born in Green Township, Adams County, Ohio, June 21, 1819. He is the son of Robert E. and Sarah (Hemphill) Lockhart. His father was born Oct. 18, 1793 in Fleming Co., KY. He was a soldier of the War of 1812 and was in the command of Gen. Hull, stationed at Detroit. His mother was born Sept. 21, 1795, near the celebrated battlefield of the Brandywine, PA. The great-grandfathers of Mr. Lockhart settled in Adams County about the year 1797, where the respective families of the Lockharts and Hemphills were residents for a long succession of years. Mr. Lockhart was reared on his father's farm, and received his education in the district schools. His father was also interested in the business of a lumber merchant, and on arriving at independent manhood the son entered the father's employ. In 1844 the senior Lockhart presented his son with $200, above his wages, and he devoted his accumulated means to the purchase of land in Garden Plain Twp., whither he came for the purpose. He first bought 40 acres on section 24, and soon after secured another tract on section 14. He then returned to his home and engaged to work for his father for $100 yearly, and his board and clothes. He sent money to pay his land taxes, but the letters miscarried and 40 acres were sold for their payment. On his return in 1854 he redeemed his claim. He came back for a final settlement in the year named, and built a frame house, doing the first breaking on the place in that year. He was married March 27, 1856 to Nancy Randall. She was born Sept. 16, 1834 in Jefferson Twp. Adams Co.OH and is the daughter of Alexander and Hannah (Newman) Randall. Mr. Lockhart still owns the property on which he first settled and has placed it in excellent farming condition; it is enlarged by a later purchase of 40 acres adjoining. In 1881 he bought the farm he now occupies on section 14, which is also under tillage and supplied with necessary farm fixtures. The entire estate of Mr. Lockhart in Garden Plain comprises 460 acres in valuable agricultural condition. America F. Melissa, Elisha, Sarah, Angeline and Robert Lee are the names of the children of Mr. and Mrs. Lockhart. [Portraits & Biographical 1885 Pg 653]
Elisha Lockheart, one of the leading agriculturists of Garden Plain Township, was born May 21, 1821, in Greene Township, Adams Co., Ohio. He is the second son of Robert E. and Sarah (Hemphill) Lockheart. The first business in which he was engaged was as a help manager of a wood-yard, at the head of Brush Creek Island in the Ohio River, for the purpose of supplying steamboats with fuel. He was then but 12 years of age, and he continued to help conduct the affairs of the wood station until 1852, when he married, and ran a rented farm until 1856. In the fall of 1845 he came to Whiteside County and entered 231 acres of land, 200 of which was was prairie, situated on section 11, of township 21, range 3. He made the remainder of his claim on section 8, consisting of 30 acres of timber. After he reached the age of 21 years he entered into an engagement with his father for $100 yearly salary, and his board and clothes. He came West in 1845 with three years salary, and secured his land. He went back to Adams County, where he engaged in the pursuit of agriculture and the wood business, until 1856. He then made a permanent removal to Whiteside County, and located on section 27 of Garden Plain Township, where he improved a farm. In 1858 he took possession of the land he had formerly located on section 11, and which was still in a wholly wild state. It is at present writing in a state of advanced cultivation, and he has increased his possessions until he is now the owner of a valuable estate, comprising 872 acres of land, all of which is under tillage, with the exception of 51 acres of timber. He also owns 160 acres of land in Poweshiek County, Iowa, and 120 acres in Morris County, Kan. Mr. Lockheart has rented his land, and is living in retirement.
He was united in marriage Nov. 16, 1852, to Rebecca Rinard. She was born Dec. 27, 1825, in Washington Co., Ohio, and died Feb. 20, 1885, and was interred in the Cottonwood Cemetery, Ustick Township. While the death of Mrs. Lockheart inflicted an irreparable loss, she accomplished much more than the usual lot in the influence she exerted in her home and in social circles. She was all that the terms wife, friend and neighbor imply. [Transcribed by Christine Walters, Whiteside County - Portraits and Biographical's 1885, Pg. 670]
JOHN SMITH LOGAN
Of Portland Township
John Smith Logan was born in Yates county, New York, in 1815. He came to Portland in 1836, and settled about a mile west of Spring Hill. It would be hard to find a single enterprise in his neighborhood, that has not received his aid and encouragement. The year after his arrival he greatly assisted in building the first school house in the township, and, in 1841, to his efforts in a great measure was due the erection of the first and only church in the town. As Justice of the Peace, Town Clerk, Assessor, and in other town offices, he has served the people, and always with satisfaction. In 1876, he sold his farm and purchased a home in Prophetstown, where he now resides. In the year 1844 he married Miss Elizabeth Warren, who died in 1863. In 1865 he was united in marriage to Mrs. Mary Ashton, The children of Mr. Logan are: Herman, who served as a volunteer in the 34th Illinois regiment, and now resides in Nebraska; George E., who was a volunteer in the 140th Illinois regiment, and also resides in Nebraska; Addis G., and Robert E., who reside in Portland. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 353]
JOHN S. LOGAN, one of the pioneers of Whiteside County, residing in Prophetstown, is a son of Robert and Polly ( Row) Logan, and was born in Yates Co., N. Y., Aug. 3, 1815. He was reared on a farm in his native county, receiving only such education as was common to farmers sons of the time and locality in which he lived. In 1836 Mr. Logan came West with his brother-in-law, Nathaniel Squires, and and an uncle Christopher Row, both now deceased. They started originally for Davenport, Iowa, but stopped at Rock Island about two months, where Mr. Logan was, with his brother-in-law, engaged in the carpenter and joiner's trade. He then went to Davenport and was there engaged in the same business, and in the fall of that year he came to this county and made a short visit to parties of his acquaintance, when he returned to Davenport and taught school on Vandruff's Island, in Rock River, that winter, the teacher having been drowned. In July, 1837, he returned to Portland Township, this county, and made a claim of 250 acres of land and when the same came into market, he bought quite a large tract. He kept the same for 40 years, put it under good tillable condition, and placed numerous improvements upon it. While living in that township he was Assessor ten years, Justice of the Peace twelve years, and Township Clerk several years. Mr. Logan was united in marriage in Portland Township, this county, Dec. 19, 1844, to Miss Elizabeth Warren, a daughter of Russell Warren. She was born in New York, May 24, 1819, and has borne her husband nine children, four of whom yet survive: Herman N. is a farmer, in York Co., Neb., George E., a farmer of the same county; Addis G. is likewise a farmer of the latter county; Robert Emery is a printer in Washington, D. C. Mrs. Logan died in Portland Township, on the old homestead, Oct. 26,1863, and Mr. Logan was again married, in the same township, April 2, 1865, to Mary A. Ashton. She was a native of Devonshire, England, and was born in that country Dec. 11, 1824. She had by her former marriage, with John Ashton, six children: Samuel J., William H., Matilda, Elizabeth, Frank D.; George is deceased. Mr. Logan owns his residence and three lots in Prophetstown, also a number of other vacant lots, and also has a house and lot in Waco, York Co., Neb. He left the farm in the spring of 1879 and moved to Prophetstown, where he is at present residing, retired from the active manual labor of life. [Portraits & Biographical Pg 544]
ROBERT EMMET LOGAN
Robert Emmet Logan, deceased, late Representative in the Legislature, was born in Bath, Steuben Co., N. Y., Feb. 13, 1828, and died of heart disease in the Illinois State Capitol, while in the performance of his duties as a Legislator, on Thursday, Feb. 26, 1885. He was educated at Bath Academy, N. Y. He learned the trade of cabinet-making, working at it for several years in the East, and in 1853 turned his steps westward, coming to Davenport, Iowa, where for some time he was foreman in a furniture factory.In December, 1854, being attracted by the influence of family relations, he took up his residence in Portland Township, Whiteside Co, Ill., where he taught school, and afterward pursued the business of cabinet-making. In 1860 he became Deputy Sheriff of the County, and served in that capacity until he was elected Sheriff in 1862, holding the latter position for one term. General Oglesby was first elected Governor in November, 1864, and early in 1865 he appointed Mr. Logan a Penitentiary Commissioner. Mr. Logan was re-appointed at the end of two years, and in 1868 was elected to the same position by the people, the office having become elective. He is one of the proprietors of the present Revere House at Morrison at its opening, Dec. 26, 1865,and maintained his connection with it for about a year. In the meantime, he had, in 1864, entered largely into the business of farming in Union Grove Township, about four miles west of Morrison, and moved upon his farm in 1867. He was President of the Whiteside County Central Agricultural Society from 1875 to his death, and by his energy made it one of the most successful in the Slate. His executive ability gave him great prominence among his fellow men, and as a presiding officer he had few equals in his party.
For the past 20 years he has been actively interested in politics. He was a Delegate to the National Republican Convention at Chicago, in 1880 and was Presidential Elector from the old Fifth District that year. He was very popular at home, and on all occasions where the interest of the community was to be subserved, Robert E. Logan was the modest, liberal and efficient man, and to him the meed of praise was cheerfully accorded. He served as Supervisor of his town continuously from 1875 until November, 1884, when he resigned upon his election to the Legislature; he was Chairman of the Board for several terms. In the fall of 1884 he was the unanimous choice of the Republican Convention of Whiteside County for the Legislature, and was nominated shortly after by the Republican Convention of the Nineteenth Senatorial District, comprising Whiteside and Lee Counties. Upon the convening of the Legislature he took a very active and influential part, and gave promise of a useful career. He was a member of the Masonic Lodge at Morrison.
Seldom is it that a community is called to mourn the loss of a person so generally and warmly appreciated as was Mr. Logan - a man who willingly aided every good work. No one could manage anything of a public nature better than he. His friends loved him because he was true to them; his enemies respected him because he was just to them. Mrs. Malvina (McCoy) Logan, who survives him, is the daughter of Hon. James McCoy, of Fulton, of whom a sketch is given elsewhere. Their marriage took place Feb. 23, 1864, and their children are three sons and a daughter. [Transcribed by Christine Walters, Portraits and Biographical 1885 Chapman Brothers]
Daniel Long, retired farmer, residing at Morrison, was born in Somersetshire, England, Sept. 26, 1821. His father was William Long, a miller and baker by trade; his mother's maiden name was Susanna Follett. His father died in June, 1870. The subject of this sketch was brought up in his father's business, and was married in 1S4S to Miss Susan Chapman. They had but one child, Frederick D., now a resident of England. Mrs. Long died in 1851, and the following spring Mr. Long emigrated to America. He spent a few months in Rochester, N. Y., and then went to Lyons, Iowa, where he resided one year. He next removed to Clinton, where he engaged in the butchering business. He was an early settler of Clinton and continued in business there six years, and then engaged in farming, in Spring Valley, this county. He was married in Mt. Pleasant Township, Dec. 8, 1854, to Mrs. Elizabeth Church, widow of Edward Church and daughter of John and Ann Link. Mrs. Long's paternal grandfather was John Link, and her paternal grandmother was Penelope Link, who was a daughter of Edward Link. Her maternal grandfather was Joseph Tyler, and her maternal grandmother was Mary Follett. Mrs. Elizabeth Long was born in Tarrington, Herefordshire, England, and emigrated to America in 1852. She had one child by her former marriage, Alfred A., who married Mary Lourcher and resides in Spring Valley, Ustick Township, Whiteside County. They have three children, Arthur A., Elizabeth A. and Lizzie M. Mrs. Long lost her former husband in 1848. Mrs. Ann Link died in November, 1870. Mr. Long and wife continued to reside on their fine farm in Spring Valley till 1883, when they moved to Morrison, their present home. Mr. Long still owns a well improved farm in Ustick of 160 acres, situated on sections 3 and 4. He also has two dwelling-houses and five and a half city lots in Morrison, besides city property in Clinton, Iowa, and a quarter-section of farming land in Northern Dakota. Mr. and Mrs. Long have had one child, Alice A., who died in infancy. Mr. Long is a Democrat, and he and his wife are members of the Episcopal Church. He has made two visits to his native country since coming to America, on one of which his wife accompanied him. During his last visit, his father died, at the advanced age of 89 years. [Transcribed by Christine Walters; Portraits and Biographicals 1885 Chapman Brothers]
CARLTON W. LOOMIS
Carlton W. Loomis is a farmer on section 34, Hopkins Twp. He is the son of Washington and Marcia G. (Burdick) Loomis, of whom a succinct personal narration is given on another page. He was born March 24, 1861 in Hopkins Twp. He obtained as good a common school education as the public schools afforded, which he attended until he was 16 years of age. He then went to Valparaiso, IN where he attended the Normal School six months. Later he entered the Iowa Business College at Cedar Rapids, where he was graduated in Feb. 1878. He is engaged in farming on the homestead of his father, of which he is the owner. In political preference he is a Republican. Mr. Loomis was married Feb. 22, 1881 in Sterling, to Lydia, daughter of Henry S. and Elizabeth (Eshleman) Williams. Her parents are natives of Lancaster Co., Pa., and she is one of seven children, born in the following order: Benjamin F., Albert A., Jacob E., Lydia, Henry E., Ulysses G. and Minnie E. Mrs. Loomis was born March 3, 1864 in Sterling. She is the mother of two children; William W. and Charles E. [Portraits & Biographical transcribed by Christine Walters]
JOHN B. LOOMIS
John B. Loomis, liveryman at Prophetstown, is a son of Joel and Parmelia (Bowman) Loomis, and was born in Steuben Co., N.Y., March 18, 1841. When he was four years of age he came to this county with his mother and two brothers, his father having died nearly two years previously. They came to Morrison, this county, and afterward removed to Henry County, this State. Mr. Loomis was reared on a farm, and received his education in the common schools of the time and locality in which he resided. In the spring of 1861 he came to Prophetstown, and has made his residence there until the present time. He was united in marriage in Prophetstown, Dec. 16, 1868, to Mary Alvira Barber, a daughter of David and Eliza Barber. She was born in Prophetstown Township, March 4, 1850. Her parents were among the pioneers who settled that portion of the county and endured all the trials incident to the early settlement. Mr. and Mrs. Loomis are the parents of three children, all born in Prophetstown: Carrie E., Aug. 17, 1873; Mina P., Aug. 30, 1877; and jay B., Feb. 5, 1885. Mr. Loomis has been in the livery business in Prophetstown since January, 1881. He keeps usually about eight horses, and vehicles sufficient to supply the wants of his customers. Socially he is a member of the Order of Masonry, Modern Woodmen of America, and the A.O.U.W. [Portrait & Biographical, 1885]
JOHN B. LOOMIS, engaged in the livery business in Prophetstown, was born in New York, March 18, 1841, his parents being Joel and Parmelia (Bowman) Loomis, natives of Connecticut and Luzerne county, Pennsylvania, respectively. The father died in the Empire state in 1843 and the mother afterward married John Bollen in 1846. By her first marriage she had three children, Alfred E., John B. and Joel E. all residents of Prophetstown. By her second marriage there were born five children: George, who is living in Nebraska; H. S., a resident of Prophetstown; Lucretia, the wife of David Parker, of Iowa; Lewis, deceased; and T. J., a resident of Nebraska. The father, Mr. Bollen, died in 1889.
John B. Loomis remained with his mother until nineteen years of age, when he started out in life on his own account. For a long period he was identified with agricultural pursuits, cultivating rented land for sixteen years. He fed and shipped hogs for four years but not finding that profitable he withdrew from that business and established a livery barn in Prophetstown in 1881. The new venture was more successful and he has continued in that line to the present, having a well equipped livery stable, keeping a good line of carriages and other vehicles and a number of fine residences in Prophetstown.
On the 16th of December, 1868, occurred the marriage of John B. Loomis and Miss Alvira Barber, a daughter of David and Eliza (Williams) Barber. Her father was born in Vermont and her mother in the state of New York, and at an early day they removed westward to Illinois. They were the parents of three children, Mrs. Loomis, Effa and George. Mr. Barber died in 1892 and his wife, surviving for about eleven years, passed away in 1903. The grandmother of Mrs. Loomis was the first person buried in Prophetstown cemetery, interment being made in 1844. The family was one of the first to locate in this part of the county and was closely associated with the early pioneer development. The home of Mr. and Mrs. Loomis has been blessed with three children: Carrie, who is yet under the parental roof; Mina, the wife of S. E. Wheelock, of Manlius; and J. B., who is with Armour & Company in Chicago.
Mr. Loomis and his family are members of the Congregational church and are prominent socially in the community, while the hospitality of their own home seems most attractive to their many friends. Mr. Loomis belongs to the Masonic Lodge, No. 293, and is a charter member of the Modern Woodmen Group No. 16. His political views are in accord with the principles of democracy and his fellow townsmen have elected him to the offices of assessor and road commissioner. His purposes have always been in harmony with public spirited citizenship and his cooperation can always be counted upon when there is a movement afoot to further the welfare of the community. In his business life he has made that steady progress which follows close application and unfaltering energy, and whatever success he has achieved has come to him only through his own efforts, so that he may well be called a self-made man. [History of Whiteside, 1900]
Of Hopkins Twp.
Washington Loomis, deceased, was formerly a farmer on section 34, Hopkins Township. He was born Feb. 9, 1827, in the State of New York. He settled at Como, in Hopkins Township, in 1854, where he was a resident a little more than two years. He then bought 160 acres of land on section 34, Hopkins Township, and later made a further purchase of 130 acres. He continued the management of his farming interests until the fall of 1867, when he removed to Sterling. In the spring of 1868 he went to Waverly, Iowa, and engaged in the sale of agricultural implements and was occupied in that business until his death, which occurred July 30, 1870 While a resident of Hopkins Township he was prominent in local township official matters and acted in the capacity of Supervisor nine years, besides filling the position of Treasurer and other minor offices. He was married Nov. 9, 1854, to Marcia G. Burdick, by whom he had six children, named William H., Carlton W., Frank W., Carrie A., Blanche A. and Henry E. The three last named are deceased. Mrs. Loomis was born Aug. 7, 1831, in the State of New York, and is the daughter of Joel C. and Mary (Baker) Burdick. The former was a native of Massachusetts and the latter was born in New York. Their children were Marcia G., William R., Joel C., Alexis C. and Clarence A. [Portraits & Biographical Pg 307]
NOAH S. LOUX
Noah S. Loux, is a farmer on section 15, Sterling Township. He was born Jan. 27, 1845, in Bucks Co., Pa., and is the son of Mathias and Catherine (Yost) Loux. They were natives of Pennsylvania, and the father died in that State, in April, 1874. The death of the mother occurred in June of the same year. They had 14 children, of whom nine grew up, namely: Andrew, Isaac, Hannah, Catherine, Mary, Mathias, Elizabeth, Noah S. and Israel. Mr. Loux was a carpenter in his native State until 1864. In November of that year he came to Whiteside County and was engaged in the same business at Sterling, and also in wagon-making for four years. In 1868 he began farming, and operated on rented farms until the spring of 1884, when he bought the farm he now occupies, comprising 114 acres of land, which is in fine agricultural condition. In politics Mr. Loux is neutral.
He was married Nov. 19, 1869, in Hopkins Township, to Mary A., daughter of Jacob and Susan Reitzel. She was born in Lancaster Co., Pa., Sept. 9, 1843, and her brothers and sisters, nine in number were born in the following order: Martha, Sabina, Susanna, Henry, Sarah, Abraham, Jacob and Lewis. She is the second in order of birth. To her and her husband four children have been born, but only one survives, Nevin R. Harrison R. is deceased, and two children who died in infancy. Mr. and Mrs. Loux are members of the English Lutheran Church. [Whiteside County Portrait & Biographical 1885]
WILLIAM J. LOVE
OF Tampico, IL
William J. Love, stock dealer at Tampico, was born in Greene Co., Pa, June 10, 1844. His father George Love, was a native of England, a farmer, who came to America in early life and settled in Greene Co., PA, where he married Mrs. Hannah Leonard, nee Reinhart, a native of that county and of German ancestry.
Mr. Love was only four years old when his father died. His mother afterward married William Adams, a native of Ohio. Two years after the death of his father, Mrs. Love moved West with her family, locating in Fairfield Township, Bureau Co, IL. When he became of age, Mr. Love began farming on his own account, on a tract of 160 acres, in that township, where he continued until 1883, when he came to Tampico and purchased three lots, with a good dwelling, where has since lived; and since his location here he has devoted his attention to dealing in live stock, buying and selling about 100 carloads annually.
In Politics he is a thorough Republican. When he was about 25 years of age, March 23 1870, he married Miss Margaret, daughter of Lodowick and Anna Underhill. Her father was born in New York and her mother in Kentucky. Mrs. Love was born in Yorktown Township, Henry County, Illinois Aug. 10, 1852, but she was brought up and educated in McDonough County, this State, where her parents still reside. Mr. and Mrs. Love are the parents of three children, namely: Claud D., who was born June 6, 1871; May, born May 31, 1873; and Arling, Sept. 27, 1879
[Portrait and Biographical Album of Whiteside County, Illinois; Chapman Bros., 1885, pg 611]
William Lovett, farmer, section 8, Union Grove Township, has been a land-holder in Whiteside County since 1858. He was born Nov. 3, 1829, in New Jersey, of which State his parents, John and Beulah (Harvey) Lovett, were natives, and where they passed their entire lives. Their five children were named Isaac, John, Samuel, William and Elizabeth.
Mr. Lovett was sent to the public schools until he was 14 years of age, when he was apprenticed to a blacksmith, and served six years, acquiring a thoroughly practical knowledge of the business in all its details, and he made it the vocation of his life in his native State until 1858, the year in which he removed to Unionville, where he was similarly occupied for a year. Meanwhile he determined to become a farmer, and, in the following year, he purchased a small farm in the township of Union grove. He continued its proprietor seven years, when he sold it and bought 80 acres of land on section 8, where he has since lived. His farm is in creditable agricultural condition, and the owner has materially added to its value by erecting substantial farm buildings. Mr. Lovett is a Republican in political faith and connections.
He was united in marriage to Emmaline Russell, March 23, 1859, in Mt. Holly, N.J., and they have had four children. Anna E., Emma A. and William A. still survive. Mary died in infancy. Mrs. Lovett is the daughter of William and Harriet (Lovett) Russell. Her parents were natives of New Jersey and had four children, all girls,- Rachel, Emmeline, Louisa and Jane. Mrs. Lovett was born Sept. 18, 1827, in Springfield, N.J. she is a member of the Methodist Church. [Contributed by Debbie Thormahlen from Portraits & Biographical of Whiteside County IL 1885, Pg 248]
JACOB J. LUDENS
Popular as one of the younger attorneys practicing at the Whiteside county bar, makes his home in Sterling. He was born at Garden Plain, this county, on the 13th of October, 1877. and is of Holland lineage, his parents, John P. and Dorothy (Vandenberg) Ludens, being natives of the land of the dykes. The father came to America in 1866, settling at Fulton, this county, where he purchased a tract of land and engaged in farming. There he reared his family and continued as one of the enterprising and representative agriculturists of the community up to the time of his death, which occurred May 7, 1893, when he was fifty-five years of age. Mrs. Dorothy Ludens was a daughter of Jacob Vandenberg, who was a butcher of Holland. Both he and his wife, Mrs. Jennie Vandenberg, died in middle life. Mrs. Ludens still survives her husband and now lives with her youngest daughter in Chicago. She holds membership in the Holland Reformed church, in which John P. Ludens was a deacon for many years. He served as school director and was a most loyal and devoted citizen of his adopted country. His family numbered eight children : Jennie, the deceased wife of J. B. Sterengberg; Annie, the wife of David B. Sterengberg, of Ustick township; Peter M., who is living in Montana; Elizabeth, the wife of Fred M. Dykema, of Virden, Illinois; Harry J., who is engaged in the practice of law at Morrison, this state; Jacob J., of this review; John, who is a student in Knox College at Galesburg, Illinois; David, a civil engineer for the Northern Pacific Railroad Company ; and Mattie. the wife of William Parr, of Chicago.
Jacob J. Ludens was reared to farm life in this county, attending the district schools in his early boyhood and afterward becoming a student in the Northern Illinois College at Fulton, where he pursued a law course. He was admitted to the bar in 1900 and for two years thereafter engaged in teaching school. He then took up the active work of the profession, opening a law office at Erie, while two years later he removed to Sterling, where since July, 1904, he has continuously practiced. In the four years of his residence here he has Avon a creditable name for himself as a lawyer of ability and learning who prepares his cases with great care and precision and presents his cause in clear and logical manner. On the 9th of January, 1907, was celebrated the marriage of Mr. Ludens and Miss Ermyn I. Smith, a daughter of Dr. A. C. and Rachel Smith, her father being one of the oldest practicing physicians of Sterling. Mr. Ludens belongs to Rock River Lodge, No. 612, A. F. & A. M. ; to Sterling Chapter, No. 57, R. A. M.; to Sterling Lodge, No. 174, I. 0. 0. F.; and Corinthia Lodge, No. 63, K. P. His wife is a member of the Baptist church. They are interested in all that pertains to the welfare and progress of the community. Mr. Ludens is a republican in politics and an active worker in the party, serving now as a member of the county central committee. The alert, enterprising spirit of the middle west is manifest in all that he does and the place that he has already won for himself in professional circles argues, well for a successful future. He is popular as a citizen and as an attorney, and he and his wife move in the best social circles of the city. [Whiteside County History - by Wm. Davis 1908]
DAVID WILSON LUNDY
Deceased, formerly a practicing physician and surgeon at Albany, was born March 10, 1842, in East Guillambury, York, Canada. He was the son pf Judah and Elizabeth (Lepard) Lundy, who were natives of Pennsylvania, and removed thence to Canada, where they are still living. Dr. Lundy received his primary education at the grammar school. He was of studious, reflective temperament, and early in the course of his educational career determined on a professional life. While in comparative youth he entered the office of Dr. Noble, of Sharon, Out., under whose preceptorship he read medicine. He matriculated in 1861, at Victoria College, in Coburg, where he accomplished the rigid course of study required by the regulations of that institution, and was graduated with honor, May 3, 1865. He was Delineator of Anatomy in the college while completing his studies, and was prominent while yet a student for his proficiency in the science and art of surgery.
Dr. Lundy entered upon his practice at Albany, whither he came soon after completing his course of study. He at once established a substantial and popular business, in which he continued without intermission with the exception of a few months spent in Canada. He formed at Albany a partnership with Dr. H. M. Booth, which was in existence but a short time. Dr. Lundy was a man of fine character. His intellectual qualities were pre-eminent, and he was always an ardent student. He was considered a leader in the surgical branch of his. profession, and in common practice as well. He was fitted by nature for his profession, his calm, equable temperament rendering him an auxiliary to the sick-room in the capacity of friend and nurse as well as of physician. He was married May 17, 1866, to Sarah C, daughter of George and Elizabeth (Rockey) Slaymaker, natives of Lancaster Co., Pa. Mr. Slaymaker was born in 1799, and came to Whiteside County about 1855, with his family. He died July 17, 1881, in Newton Township, where he was a farmer. Mrs. Slaymaker was born Feb. 28,1815,and is still living. Mrs. Lundy was born Aug. 28, 1844, in Lancaster Co., Pa., and came with her parents to Whiteside County. Dr. and Mrs. Lundy had two daughters: Mary E. was born at Albany, Oct. 25, 1867; and Kate E. was born March 19, 1860. The elder is engaged in teaching. Dr. Lundy died in April, 1881, losing his life by an accident on the railroad. He was on his way to Cordova to perform a surgical operation, when the bridge over the Meredocia sank under the weight of the train, having been rendered insecure by recent high water, which had destroyed the highway bridges in the vicinity. Dr. Lundy was the only citizen of Albany who was injured. His loss was regarded as a public calamity. [Transcribed by Christine Walters, Portraits and Biographical 1885 Chapman Brothers]
OF Fulton Township
C.S. Lunt first came to Illinois in May, 1836, from Boston, Massachusetts, making his way by canal, stages and lake, and settled first in Chicago where he remained until the spring of 1838, when he came to Dixon, and started down Rock river in a small boat, in company with Mr. J. Thompson, landing at Rock Island in due time. Not being satisfied with the place, he embarked on an up river Mississippi steamer and landed at New York, now Clinton, and then walked to Lyons, crossing the river at that place in a large canoe, the on1y ferry then running, to Fulton. In 1839 he bought the claim in Jordan where Dr. Pennington’s farm is now situated, and built a log house upon it, and in 1840 moved to Fulton, and purchased a house and several lots of Mr. Church, the lots being situated where the college grounds are now. Here he continued to reside until the fall of 1852, when he purchased his present farm in Fulton township to which he gave the name of “Cottage Grove Farm.” Mr. Lunt has seen a good deal of pioneer life, and his reminiscences of the early times are very interesting. Being of a naturally quiet disposition, he never entered into political life, preferring to attend strictly to his private business, and devote his leisure moments to literature. He is a man of broad culture, being well versed in both the ancient and modern classics. The later years of his life have been passed rather secludedly at his beautiful home on Cottage Grove Farm. [Bent-Wilson 1877 Pg 190]
CHARLES F. LUSK
Merchant at Albany, was born July 25, 1825, in Richmond, Berkshire Co. Mass., and was 11 years of age when he came to Illinois, with his parents. At the age of 16 years he began to give his attention to the acquisition of the trade of carpenter, and he made that his business until 1876. He has been a constant resident of Albany, with the exception of one year, which he spent in Boston in the occupation of a stair-builder. In 1876 he embarked in the mercantile enterprise to which he has since devoted his time and energies. His business is located in a building which he erected some years before, and had previously leased. Mr. Lusk has been married twice. His first wife's name was Phebe Humphreys. She was born in Bradford, Pa., and was the daughter of Allen and Elizabeth Humphreys, pioneers of Carroll County. The ancestors of the family were natives of Connecticut. Two children are now living. The mother died in January, 1852. Mr. Lusk was married in 1855, to Henrietta, daughter of Isaac and Mary (Miller) Park. She was born in Indiana. Of the second marriage six children were born: Isaac P., Henry C, C. Frank, Jr., Nettie A., Roy A. and Josie H. Mr. and Mrs. Lusk are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Mr. Lusk is a Republican in political principle, and he belongs to Lodge No. 566, A. F. and A. M. [Transcribed by Christine Walters; Portraits and Biographical 1885 Chapman Brothers]
Of Albany Township
Chester Lusk, deceased, was one of thepioneers of Albany, of 1836, and in October, 1839, he became one of the 12 proprietors of the site of Lower Albany, by purchase from the United States. He was born in 1802,. in Columbia Co., N. Y., and there grew to manhood and learned the trade of shoemaker. He went thence to Berkshire Co., Mass., and married Hannah Fitch, who was born in that county. They went soon after their union to Coxsackie, in the State of New York, removing shortly after to Pittsford, Monroe County, where Mr. Lusk worked at his trade between one and two years. He made another removal to Holly, Orleans County, where he lived eight years, and kept a hotel. At the end of that time he removed to Ohio, and located near Fremont, where he was engaged in farming two years.
In 1836 he set out from Fremont for Whiteside County, transporting his family and household belongings with horse teams. November 29 they arrived at Stake's Ferry, which was full of floating ice. They waited a week, and as soon as the stream was cleared they crossed, and passed the winter in a log house near the dwelling of William D. Dudley. In the spring of 1837 the family took possession of a claim at Albany. The location of his farm was at Sheep Grove, where he prosecuted his agricultural projects with energy. In 1850 he made the overland trip to California, and spent nearly two years in mining for gold. He returned by the Isthmus of Panama and New Orleans. He opened a meat market at Albany on his return there, and also continued the management of his farm until his death in February, 1855. His widow is still living with a granddaughter, Mrs. William Herald, of Sloan, Woodbury Co., Iowa. Two children were born to them, Charles F. and Hiram P. The latter died when 10 years old. [Portraits & Biographical]
OF Tampico Township
Nicholas Lutyens, general farmer and stock raiser, section 28 at, Tampico Township, was born in Luzerne Co., Pa., Feb. 25, 1827. His father, Francis Lutyens, was a native of Germany and was a farmer who died in Luzerne County in 1827, before Nicholas was born. The mother, nee, Elizabeth Fowler, was a native of Pennsylvania, of German descent, and had a second husband. Under the guidanee of mother and step-father young Nicholas was reared and earning his own livehood a portion of the time independently, he remained under the parental roof-tree until he was 23 years of age. In 1833 the family moved to the west and soon afterward settled in what is now Kendall county. It was while he was a resident of that county, Sept. 6, 1853, that Mr. L. married Ellen Rowe, who was born in NY State Nov. 23, 1830 and came West with her parents when she was 20 years of age. Mr. and Mrs. Lutyens have had nine children, three of whom are deceased. The survivors are; Charles, who is married, and resides in Morrison; Libbie, now the wife of L.K. Brainard; George, married and residing in the village of Tampico; William, now a widower; Ella and Levi are unmarried and remain at the parental home; the names of the deceased were Cora, Cliffie and Freddie.
In 1854 Mr. Lutyens moved from Kendall Co., to Fairfield Twp. Bureau Co IL, settling upon an improved farm, which he cultivated on shares for a season, and the next year he came and located upon an improved tract of land in Tampico Twp. His first purchase wsa of 80 acres, and afterward he bought 80 acres more on section 27. This has ever since been his home; but he was four years in the army in defense of the Government. He enlisted Oct. 21, 1861 under the first call, in Co. B of the 56th Reg. Vol. Inf. under the command of W.F. Lynch of the Army of the Tennessee, under Gens.Sherman and grant. He was afterward transferred to the 57th and 58, in the last of which he had all his military experience. He was at all the battles in which his regiment was engaged, as Ft. Donelson, Shiloh, Corinth, etc., besides many skirmishes, his last engagement being at the battle of Nashville. At the battle of Corinth he was slightly wounded by a gunshot in the left shoulder. At the battle of Shiloh nearly all his regiment was captured, but he himself escaped. He first enlisted as private; but Oct. 12, 1863, he was commissioned First Orderly Sergeant, which appointment he held until the close of the war. He was honorably discharged Feb. 7, 1865 at Chicago. Since the war he has devoted his attention to his estate, which now comprises, besides the tracts mentioned, 160 acres of the homestead, and 40 acres on sections 23, which is in meadow. In political principles Mr. Lutyens is a strong Republican. He was the first Road Commissioner of his twp. holding the office 15 years, and he has served as Constable about 2 years. He and his wife are members of the Baptist Church. [Portraits & Biographical Whiteside County]
James Lynch, a farmer of Genesee Township, located on section 34, was born Dec. 10, 1837, in County Kilkenny, Province of Leinster, Ireland. His parents, James and Honora (Sullivan) Lynch, were Irish by birth and long descent, their ancestors having lived in Ireland as far back as the generations can be traced. Mr. Lynch's father died some months before the son's birth, and before the latter was five years of age he was in possession of a step-father. He had two step-sisters, one of whom died young, and the other is living in Clinton, Iowa. An elder sister of Mr. Lynch is still living in Ireland.
He remained in his native country until he was nearly of age, and came to the United States in 1857, landing in Boston on the 1st day of June. He came direct to Chicago, where he obtained employ in a shingle factory, working for a Mr. Oliver. He came to Lee Co., Ill., in the fall of the same year, and worked at Franklin Grove for the Chicago & Northwestern Railroad corporation. In the spring following, he entered the employ of the Chicago & Rock Island Company, going to Minnesota in their interests. In 1859 he returned to the employ of the former corporation. A few months later he went to Arkansas, where he worked on the levees. He came back to Whiteside County in the spring of 1860, and July 8, 1863, he was married, in that city, to Sarah A., daughter of Mark and Mary (Taylor) Harrison, pioneers of Whiteside County and represented in the personal account of James H. Harrison, the brother of Mrs. Lynch. She was born March 3, 1844, on the homestead of her father in Genesee Township. She was educated and grew to womanhood in the same township in which she was born, and where she has passed her entire life. She had the advantage of two years' instruction by a private teacher in her father's house. To Mr. and Mrs. Lynch six children have been born, all of whom are living but one. James M. was born Aug. 18, 1864; Joseph T., June 15, 1869; Olive A., born Sept. 19, 1870, died in 1873; Edward M., Aug. 6, 1872; Mary E., July 24, 1874; William H., April 8, 1877. After their marriage, Mr. and Mrs. Lynch resided for a time at Sterling, and the husband was there employed on the line of railroad then being built. A year later he entered the employ of S. T. Hosmer, a brewer, with whom he remained until 1866. In July of that year Mr. Lynch became a farmer in the township of Genesee and operated some years as a renter. They finally settled on 40 acres of land which became the property of Mrs. Lynch by inheritance from her father's estate. It is in excellent condition with fine barn and residence, which have been erected by Mr. Lynch. He is a believer in the Catholic father; his wife is a member of the Christian Church. Mr. Lynch is an active and earnest Republican. [Portrait & Biographical, 1885]
Marcus Lyon, general farmer and stockraiser, residing on section 6, Tampico Township, was born in Medina Co., O., Feb. 27, 1845, his parents being Daxter and Sarah A. (Vaughn) Lyon, who, after marriage, emigrated to Illinois in Mt. Pleasant Township, this county. Mr. Lyon, the subject of this biographical notice, was educated at the district schools and at Morrison, and remained an inmate of the paternal home until he was 25 years of age, when, Feb. 28, 1870, he was married, in Wyoming, Jones Co., Iowa, to Miss Minerva Miller, a native of Indiana, who was reared and educated in Iowa, where her parents are now living. Mr. and Mrs. Lyon have become the parents of seven children, namely: Lottie, Lewis, Gracie, Hubert, Katie, Rhoda and Martha. The last named is deceased.
After marriage, Mr. and Mrs. Lyon settled on a farm of 120 acres in Mt. Pleasant Township, this county, where they lived until March, 1875, when they moved to Tampico. Here Mr. L. had purchased a quarter section of good land, and after settling on the same bought 80 acres more on section 6, so that he now has a fine farm of 240 acres, all improved. In his political views, Mr. Lyon is a Republican. [Contributed by Debbie Thormahlen from Portraits & Biographical Pg 787 Whiteside County IL 1885]
BACK -- HOME
© Copyright Genealogy Trails