SAMUEL McKEAN McCALMONT
Samuel McKean McCalmont, one of the strong and able members of the Whiteside county bar, practicing as senior partner of the firm of McCalmont & Ramsay, at Morrison, was born in Ustick township, this county, December 30, 1867. His father, John J. McCalmont, a native of Center county, Pennsylvania, died September 27, 1869, when about twenty-nine years of age, his son being then less than two years old. He was of Scotch-Irish ancestry and his great-grandfather, Thomas McCalmont, was a soldier of the Revolutionary war. John J. McCalmont acquired a common school education and devoted his life to agricultural pursuits. He came to Illinois about 1865, settling on a track of land in Ustick township, Whiteside county, his remaining days being spent upon the farm which he there purchased and improved. He was an enterprising agriculturist and successful in his undertakings, his well-directed labors bringing good results. His political allegiance was given to the republican party and in religious faith he was a Presbyterian. His sterling characteristics were those which constitute honorable manhood and business integrity. He married Sarah Elizabeth McKean, also a native of Center county, Pennsylvania, and of Scotch-Irish lineage. She is still living, at the age of sixty-six years and is a daughter of Samuel and Elizabeth (Lowry) McKean, both of whom died in Pennsylvania. After losing her first husband, Mrs. McCalmont became the wife of John Miller, now of Fulton, Illinois, and unto them were born a daughter, Anna, the wife of Edward B. Garretson, a printer of Moline, Illinois.
Samuel McKean McCalmont, the only son of the first marriage, was reared upon a farm to the age of nineteen years and attended the district schools, also continueing his studies in the schools of Morrison and of Fulton, Illinois, being graduated from the Fulton high school in the class of 1888. Later he spent one year as a student in the Northern Illinois College at Fulton, and then entered the literary department of the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor, Michigan, in the fall of 1889. At the beginning of the school year of 1890 he became a student in the law department of that institution and was graduated therefrom in 1892. He was admitted to the Illinois bar in June of the same year and at once began the practice of law at Fulton and continued there until March, 1895, when he removed to Morrison, where he entered into partnership with Judge Frank D. Ramsay, under the firm style of Ramsay & McCalmont. This relation was maintained until the election of the senior partner to the bench of the circuit court in 1897, after which Mr. McCalmont practiced alone until November, 1899, when Luther R. Ramsay, a son of his former partner, joined him in the firm . This is recognized as one of the strong law firms of the county and this part of the state. On the 16th of November, 1895, Mr. McCalmont was married to Miss Mary Alice Taylor, a daughter of Dr. Samuel Taylor, long a practioner of this city. Mr. McCalmont is an active factor in the public interests and welfare of Morrison. He belongs to the Presbyterian church, to the Mystic Workers and the Whiteside County Bar Association. In 1897-8 he served as city attorney, while from 1903 until 1905 he gave to the city a public-spirited and businesslike administration while filling the office of mayor. He is a most active worker in party ranks and has been chairman of the republican county committee. Deeply interested in the public schools, he is likewise president of the board of education of Mount Pleasant township. As a man and lawyer he occupies an enviable position in public regard and is recognized as one whose labors have been an element in the best interests and development of Morrison and his native county. [History of Whiteside County, Illinois Chicago: Pioneer Pub. Co., 1908]
JEREMIAH V. McCARTY
Jeremiah V. McCarty, conducting a successful business as a hardware merchant at Rock Falls, was born June 22, 1842, in London, England, his parents being Dennis and Johanna (Cochlan) McCarty, both of whom were natives of Ireland. The paternal grandparents emigrated from Ireland to America in 1855, settling near LaCrosse, Wisconsin, where they spent their remaining days. The mother of our subject died when the son was three years of age and in 1849 the father married Margaret Barry, also a native of the Emerald isle. They resided in London for twenty years and in 1850 crossed the Atlantic to the new world, remaining, however, for about a year in New England. They then continued on their westward way to McHenry county, Illinois, living for a time near Harvard, and about a year later they took up their abode near Elgin. In 1853 they became residents of Pecatonica, Winnebago county, Illinois, where they resided until 1856, when they again spent a year in Elgin. In June, 1856, they removed to Lee county and in 1857 to Whiteside county, taking up their abode on a farm northeast of Round Grove, the place being known as the Hecker farm, in Hopkins township. There they lived until 1870, then removing to Sterling, and the father's death occurred in that city on the 3d of October, 1871. Five children were born unto him and his wife: Jeremiah V., of this review; Kate, who was married in 1872 to M. B. Fitzgerald, a contractor of Sterling; Mary; the wife of James Fitzgerald, also a contractor of Sterling; Ella, the wife of James Ballou ; a mechanic of Chicago; and Fannie, the wife of James Wood, of Chicago.
Jeremiah V. McCarty spent the first eight years of his life in the land of his nativity and then accompanied his parents to the new world. He was with them on their various removals until the outbreak of the Civil war when in 1861 he offered his services to the government and enlisted for three years in Company E, Thirty-fourth Illinois Volunteer Infantry. He was with the Army of the Cumberland during this time, save for a short period in 1862, when his regiment was sent to reinforce Grant's army at the battle of Shiloh, returning thence to the department in Tennessee. At the battle of Shiloh Mr. McCarty was wounded twice. He was also in the siege of Corinth and in the battles of Stone River, Liberty Gap and Chickamauga, being the only member of his regiment who took part in the last named engagement, for the Thirty-fourth Illinois had been detached to guard the bridge that crossed the river over which his corps passed to drive Bragg out of Chickamauga. At this time Mr. McCarty was made orderly of the brigade. He was also in the engagements of Missionary Ridge, Lookout Mountain, Buzzard's Roast, Resaca, Rome, Kenesaw Mountain, Peach Tree Creek, Jonesboro and the siege of Atlanta, being engaged in continual fighting for one hundred and twenty-eight days. He was only once in the hospital, although he was many times exposed to the thickest fire of the enemy. His bravery and loyalty were ever above question and after the battle of Chickamauga he received honorable mention. At Atlanta, Georgia, he was discharged September 17, 1864, by reason of the expiration of his term, and although he had been at the front for three years he was then but little past the twenty-first year of his life. No veteran of twice his years, however, was more fearless or more true to the old flag than was this soldier boy who faced the enemy in many of the most hotly contested engagements of the war. When mustered out Mr. McCarty returned home and followed different pursuits in order to secure a livelihood, leaving the parental roof in 1866. In 1868 he began railroading between Sterling and Rock Island on the Rockford, Rock Island & St. Louis Railroad. For two years he was employed as a locomotive engineer arid during the succeeding thirteen years was engineer for the Pennsylvania Railroad Company between Bradford, Ohio, and Chicago. For eleven years of that period he lived in Logansport, Indiana.
Mr. McCarty was married in that city April 22, 1875, to Miss Mary Amelia Cassidy, a daughter of James and Elizabeth (Kissinger) Cassidy, the former a native of Pennsylvania and a contractor by occupation, who died in his home in Logansport, Indiana, in 1866. In addition to Mrs. McCarty there were three other children : Cecelia, who was born in Logansport and who married James Shafer, a locomotive engineer; John M., also a native of Logansport ; and William, general foreman of the roundhouse at Logansport, for the Pennsylvania Railway Company. Mr. and Mrs. McCarty have two children: Charles J., born in Logansport, Indiana, September 29, 1876, was eight years of age when his parents came to Whiteside county and in 1894 was graduated from the Rock Falls high school. He then took up the study of electrical engineering in the State University at Champaign, completing the four years' course. He is now a civil engineer in the employ of the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad Company and lives in Aurora, Illinois. He was for a time engaged with his father in the coal business at Rock Falls. He married Miss Susan Nickelson, a resident of Aurora. Gertrude E., the younger child, married John Kadel, Jr., of Rock Falls, who is engaged in the hardware business with his father-in-law. Following his marriage Mr. McCarty continued to engage in railroading until 1881, when he resigned his position with the Pennsylvania Company and with his family returned to Rock Falls. Here he purchased the business interests of the Montague family and dealt in coal, lime and building materials on lot 6, block 4, River street, continuing there until 1898, when he sold out to the firm of Smith & Grater. He was then engaged in building operations until May, 1905, when he formed a partnership with his son-in-law, Mr. Kadel, in the hardware business, purchasing the stock of Derbeshier & Sons. They have since carried on the business and now have a well appointed store, in which they are receiving a liberal patronage in recognition of their reasonable prices, honorable methods and earnest desire to please their customers.
Mr. McCarty suffers slightly from his old wounds but otherwise enjoys good health and is pleasantly situated socially and commercially. He belongs to the Modern Woodmen Camp and to the Grand Army of the Republic. He has several times served as commander of the latter and also as adjutant. He is likewise connected with the Knights of Columbus. His political allegiance is given to the republican party and he was for one terms a member of the board of trustees, while for five consecutive years he served as assessor of the town. Aside from his business his interest centers largely in the Grand Army of the Republic and he stands with the old guard whose faces are still set to the front. Many of his old army comrades have recently passed away. In all that he does he has been actuated by the spirit of Commissioner Warner, of the pension department, who wrote, "As the setting sun shines on our faces as we march down the western slope of life to our last camp in the valley, let us go forward with the same unfaltering step as when in the days of the '60s we bore 'old glory' to the front on many a hard fought battlefield nor furled it until victory was won." Mr. McCarty has never deviated from a course that he believed to be right between his fellowmen and himself and there has been much of the spirit of the old soldier in all that he has done as year by year he has fought the battles of life and in the great majority of instances has come out victor in the strife. [Transcribed by Christine Walters; Source: History Whiteside County IL. From Its Earliest Settlement to 1908 By William W. Davis M.A. The Pioneer Publishing Co. Pg. 636]
JAMES S. McCAULEY
James S. McCauley, farmer on section 5, Hopkins Township, has been a resident of Whiteside County since 1853, and has been identified with its agricultural development and progress for more then 30 years. He was born Nov. 11, 1821, in West Virginia. Cornelius McCauley, his father was born in Scotland, whence he emigrated and came to Maryland, where he was married to Mary Butler, after which they settled in Virginia. James was an infant when his parents went to Ross Co., Ohio, after which they moved ot Pickaway County in the same State. The father died there March 13, 1837. The death of the mother occurred in Ross County, July 7, 1851. Their children were 11 in number and were named as follows: William, Anna, Sarah, Susan, Elizabeth, Mary, John, Rebecca, Margaret, Catherine and James S. Mr. McCauley was 16 years of age when his father died; and until that event he remained at home engaged in obtaining his education at the common schools. Until the age of 23 years he operated as a farm assistant, and in 1848 rented a farm, which he continued to manage five successive yers. In the fall of 1853 he came to Whiteside County, and purchased 80 acres on section 8, in Hopkins Township. It was wholly unimproved, and he rented a farm in the same township, which he conducted four years. He then purchased 120 acres where he has since lived, and the building he has sdince erected are located on the home place on that section. He is now the owner of 408 acres of land, most of which is in Hopkings Township, and which is practically all under cultivation. He supports the principles of the Republican party, and has officiated in several local offices.
Mr. McCauley was married Jan. 7, 1847 in Ross Co., Ohio, to Hester a., daughter of Henry and Mary (Caughey) Hanawalt. They were born in Pennsylvania and located in Ohio after their marriage. The father died July 28, 1831, and the mother survived him until July 17, 1846. The brothers and sisters of Mrs. McCauley were named Christopher, Samuel, Jane, George and John. She is the youngest of all, and was born Jan. 10,1 822, in Ross Co., Ohio. Only two of eight children of which she has been the mother are living. March C. and Clara still survive. Marcellus, John W., Ida R., Alice A., Wilie and an infant child unnamed are deceased. [Portrait and Biographical Album of Whiteside County, Illinois, Chapman Brothers Publishing Co., Chicago, 1885. Pg 328]
Thomas McClelland, Marshall of the City of Morrison and Constable, was born March 20, 1824, in Cumberland Co., Pa. His father and mother, William and Margaret (Shannon) McClelland, were natives of the Keystone State. The former died in Franklin Co., Pa., in 1842, when about 60 years of age. The demise of the latter took place in Cumberland, Alleghany Co., Md., about 1848. Seven of their nine children are now living, namely: Mrs. Lydia Heaggy is a widow and resides at Mt. Carroll, Ill.; William is a carpenter in Clinton Co., Mo.; Jane, widow of William Paxton, lives at Morrison; John is a Methodist clergyman in Virginia; Joseph is a mechanic in Washington, D. C. Thomas McClelland is next to the youngest of his parents’ children in order of birth, and was brought up on his father’s farm until he was 17 yeas of age, when he entered a shop in Loudon, Franklin Co., Pa., to learn the business of a blacksmith, in which vocation he was engaged 35 years, and has passed 21 years of his life at Morrison in that pursuit. He opened his shop there in October, 1855, and operated about five years in company with Solomon Eshleman. After that, until he abandoned the business in 1876, he conducted his affairs alone. In the spring of 1877 he was elected Constable, and has been successively re-elected to the same position. Mr. McClelland has been active in other official positions in the municipal affairs of Morrison, and was a member of the second Board of Trustees. He has also acted in the capacity of School Director.
He was married in Mercersburg, Franklin Co., Pa., March 5, 1845, to Jane Ottenberger. Their seven children were named Martha J., Margaret I., Maria K., Thomas J., Susan C., Lydia A. and Ida May. Two of the daughters and the only son are deceased; Maria K. is the wife of William I. Lane, of Morrison; Lydia A. married Lewis M. Brown, of the same place. Mrs. McClelland was born Oct. 19, 1823, in Franklin Co., Pa., and is the daughter of Jacob Ottenberger. [Portrait and Biographical Album of Whiteside County, Illinois, Chapman Brothers Publishing Co., Chicago, 1885. Pg 347]
WILLIAM C. McCONNELL
Prominently identified with the business interests and successes of the town of Morehead, Neosho county, is he whose name introduces this review. He is the father of co-operative enterprises in this state and has demonstrated the success of his theories in the successful operation of various enterprises of that character in his town. Dr. McConnell was born in Whiteside county, Illinois, January 18, 1867, and is a son of John and Alice (Ringle) McConnell, well known farmers of Labette county, Kansas. The parents are native of Indiana and Michigan, respectively, and came to Kansas in 1871, one of the early settlers of Labette county. Seven children were born to them as follows. George W.; William C.; Annie, who died at three years; Charles R.; James A.; Sylvester A.; Paul and Olive.
Our subject was four years old when he came to Kansas and in the district schools of Labette county he acquired his early education. He graduated in the Parsons Business College in 1887 and began life by teaching school. After a number of years engaged in school work he took up the study of medicine with Dr. Wheeler, of Montana, Kansas. He became a student in the University Medical College of Kansas City in 1890 and finished his course in 1894. He opened an office in Morehead. Kansas, and soon built up a desirable and lucrative practice.
It was in 1895 that the little town of Morehead took its first lesson in industrial co-operation, the idea of Dr. McConnell. The Co-operative Mercantile Company began business that year with a capital of $250 with Dr. McConnell as secretary, and after seven years the stock of the concern in worth $3,000 and it is doing a business of $20,000 annually. Through his efforts the Cooperative Windmill and Plow Factory, the Cooperative Creamery, and the Cooperative Brick and Tile Factory, (being organized), of Morehead have been organized and established, representing an investment of $35,000, and, demonstrating the feasibility of the idea of cooperation; it was Dr. McConnell that infused life into the village of Morehead; it was his idea that spread throughout Kansas and resulted in the establishment of businesses on co-operative lines; it was the success of his plan that led capital in California to establish factories representing hundreds of thousands of dollars and it was he who first successfully ran a cooperative stock company in the state of Kansas. He is secretary of all the cooperative enterprises of Morehead and his name and integrity lend confidence and stability to the concerns.
Dr. McConnell was united in marriage in 1890 with Lizzie Downey, an Illinois lady who came to Kansas in 1880 and settled, with her parents, in Labette county. She was born in the state of Illinois, and she and the Doctor have two children, Sylvia Pearl and William Howard, aged eight and five years, respectively. [Source: History of Neosho and Wilson Counties, Kansas, Pub. by L. Wallace Duncan, Fort Scott, Kansas, Monitor Printing Co., 1902; transcribed by VB]
OF Fulton Township
Hon. James McCoy, the pioneer lawyer and one of the founders of Fulton City, Ill., has been an attorney in Northwestern Illinois for nearly 50 years, and the record of his career is such as to reflect most honorably upon his character as a man. He was born in Greenbrier Co., Va., Sept. 22, 1816. William McCoy his grandfather in the paternal line, was of Scotch origin and was born in Virginia. He married a Miss Hamilton, who was of mixed Welsh and Irish parentage. They settled in Greenbrier County during the stirring times that preceded the Revolution, when the Indians of the Atlantic seaboard were at the height of their atrocities, which condition was, to a great extent, attributable to the influence of the Tory element. Forts were constructed by the frontiersmen, and in one of these in Greenbrier County, William McCoy, father of Judge McCoy, was born, while his parents were seeking protection from Indian hostilities. William Mccoy (2d) attained to man's estate in his native county, and married Agnes, daughter of James and Elizabeth (Gillian) Hanna. The former was born in Ireland, and when a boy came to America and settled in Greenbrier county. His wife was of Scotch origin and was born in the same county, in 1784, and was of Scotch and Irish descent. There were 12 children in Wm. McCoy's family, all of whom grew to maturity, and eight of whom are still living. Of these, our subject is fourth in order of birth. James received an academic education in Monroe Co., Va., and was graduated in 1836. He read law till near his majority, when he came to Illinois with a view of establishing himself in his profession in some of the new towns of the West. He reached the Mississippi River at the point now embraced by the city of Fulton, May 9, 1837. Here he found John Baker, on whose claim a rude attempt had been made to plat a town site. This survey was abandoned, and a new one made under the management of Mr. McCoy, assisted by Henry C. Fellows, John B. Jenkins and George Kellogg. These four kept bachelor's ball in a little shanty on the river bank near the present steamboat landing. For several months they led an isolated and dreary life, fighting musquitoes and shaking with ague. Occasionally a curious passenger would land from some passing boat and, after looking the situation over, would go on. To the eastward of them was an almost unbroken stretch of wild and unsettled country extending to Dixon. Not even a trail led to the young city. Finally a few venturesome spirits joined them. The owners of the lots at that time were mainly Messrs. McCoy, Henry C. Fellows, John B. Jenkins, George W. Kellogg, Alvin Humphries, R. J. Jenks, John Baker, Lyman Blake and Jeremiah Humphries. In the fall of the same year he went to Champaign Co., Ohio, where lie was joined by his brother, and they returned to Fulton. He sold his land, consisting of one-sixteenth of the platted tract, chiefly on credit, and, on the completion of his arrangements, lie returned to Virginia., reaching home after an absence of 11months, in the spring of 1838. He remained in Virginia until July of the the same year, when he returned to Fulton to make collections. The financial crisis, which had convulsed the business world, had reached Fulton, and he was not able to adjust the business which had brought him there a second time, and he was obliged to re-purchase his property to secure himself from loss. He stayed in Fulton until winter, and made further purchases of land. He went to Ohio, where he passed the winter, and was there married, April 23, 1839, to Mis Elizabeth Russell, daughter of James and Jane Russell. Mrs. McCoy was born in Champaign Co., Ohio. Nov. 19, 1819.
In October, 1839, Mr. McCoy returned a third time to Fulton, to be present at the land sales. He soon determined to make this his future home. One year later, the village having acquired a population of three or four hundred, lie entered upon the practice of his profession. His marked ability and untiring energy soon placed him among the foremost of his profession in the West, and his practice extended to the neighboring Courts, throughout Illinois and Iowa. He was admitted to practice in the Supreme Courts of both these States, where he conducted successfully many important suits.
From the outset of his career as an attorney, Judge McCoy has controlled an extensive practice; and, although lie has a wide repute as a chancery lawyer, he is a master of every branch of the profession. Throughout his entire practice Judge McCoy has pursued one undeviating course of strict adherence to the letter of the law under the direction of authoritative and acknowledged interpreters. He is an acknowledged leader in the legal ranks of Whiteside County, has no superior as a counselor, and but few peers. He has conducted his business singly with the exception of the period in which he was associated with his two oldest sons. William J., a practicing attorney at Morrison and Judge of the County Court, is a man of peerless ability and is rapidly attaining a foremost position as a chancery lawyer. His character, formed under the direction of his father, is one of the best evidences of the influence by which it was involved. Albert R., an attorney at Clinton, Iowa, is one of the most brilliant advocates of the Northwest, and is a man of spotless record.
In 1851, while a project was under consideration before the Illinois Legislature to construct a railroad north and south through the State, Judge McCoy originated the idea of an east and west line from the Lakes to Council Bluffs on the Missouri River, to cross the Mississippi at Fulton and Lyons. He at once called a railroad meeting at Lyons, Iowa, just opposite Fulton City. His plan was to get the Iowa Legislature, which was then in session, to pass an act to incorporate a railway between Lyons and Council Bluffs. The meeting was well attended, and Judge McCoy was appointed Chairman of a committee of four, whose duty it was to present the matter to the Legislature and urge the passage of such an act. His associates upon the committee were John B. Bope, Benjamin Lake and D. P. McDonald. The petition was presented on Monday morning, and on the following morning an act of incorporation was passed by the House. It was sent to the Senate by a special messenger, where it was introduced. Senator Leffingwell procured a suspension of the rules and it passed to its third reading in 20 minutes, after which it received the Governor's signature and immediately became a law, in January, 1851. In order to procure the passage of this act, Judge McCoy had pledged himself to secure the passage of an act by the Illinois Legislature to grant a charter for a railroad from Fulton to intersect the proposed Illinois Central Road at or near Dixon. He immediately called a railroad meeting at Fulton, and secured a well signed petition for a charter for a railroad from Fulton City eastward. Although the Illinois Legislature was almost at the close of its session, by prompt and energetic action he secured before its adjournment a passage of the bill he desired, which provided for th~ construction of the Mississippi & Rock River Junction Railroad, now the Chicago & Northwestern. No sooner were these preliminaries successfully accomplished than a serious obstacle arose in the form of another line of road just chartered to run from Beloit, Wis., to Rock Island, Ill. The interests of the two roads were in conflict. A desperate effort was made by the managers of the latter road to defeat the project of building the Mississippi & Rock River Junction Railroad. Mr. McCoy took up the gauntlet, and with his characteristic energy called railroad meetings, made as many as three speeches a week in the interest of the road, until the total amout of capital stock was subscribed. He spent three years in soliciting an aggregate of $750,000. He secured a topographical map of the wstern slope from the Pacific to the top of the Sierras, which he used in his address, and prophesied that within 25 years the achievements would take place which he actually did witness within 17 years!
May 1, 1852, at a meeting of stockholders held at Union Grove, the following named gentlemen were elected officers of the road: James McCoy, President; Directors-J. T. Atkinson, Royal Jacobs, Charles Dement, Benjamin Lake, Elijah Buel, John Phelps and A. W. Benton.
Judge McCoy was still the leading spirit in this enterprise, and by wise and close procedure the con- struction of the road was assured. He issued the first 100,000 in bonds, and let the contract to build the road. Ground was first broken in February, 1853, and in April following the Michigan Central and Galena & Chicago Union Railroad Corn panies came forward and took stock to the amount of S405,000 in that portion of the road lying between Dixon and Fulton. From that date its success was assured.
Mr. McCoy was elected its first President and served as director of the road several years, and as the attorney of the company under its different managements till about 1879, when he resigned, to devote himself to his local practice. He was elected Judge of the County Court of Whiteside County, in 1857, with common-law. jurisdiction, but resigned in his third year of service, as he preferred his regular practice. He was elected a Delegate to the Constitutional Convention in 1869-70, to form a new State Constitution, and was made Chairman of one of the most important committees, that of State, County and Municipal Indebtedness. He also served on the Judiciary Committee and on three others of great importance. Judge McCoy was led through his warm interest in educational matters to accept a place on the Board of Trustees of the Illinois Soldiers' College, located at Fulton City, now known as the "Northern College of Illinois," and held that position several years.
In politics Mr. McCoy was originally a Whig and cast his first Presidential vote for Harrrison. On the adjustment of political matters and the consequent re-organization of parties, he became a Republican, and has voted with that party since. He was a Delegate to the National Convention of 1864, which renominated Abraham Lincoln for the Presidency, and was a Presidential Elector of 1868.
Mr. and Mrs. McCoy have had a family of seven children, of whom six are living; Melvina is the widow of Hon. Robert E. Logan, of Union Grove; William J. mrried Marie Aylesworth. Addison W. married Georgiana Freeman, and is practicing medicine at Wichita, Kan; Augustine is a lumber merchant of Iowa; Edward, the youngest, is a lumber dealer of Sioux Rapids, Iowa. [Portrait and Biographical Whiteside County]
WILLIAM JAMES McCOY
William James McCoy, Judge of the County Court of Whiteside County, was born in Fulton, July 13, 1842. He is the oldest son of Hon. James McCoy, ex-Judge of the same Court, who is one of the pioneer attorneys of the county, and is still engaged in the practice of his profession at Fulton. The records of the father and son form a pertinent feature of the collated annals of Whiteside County, from the fact that the former is one of its few remaining pioneers, and that the latter was born and has passed his life, thus far, within its borders. The progenitors of the McCoys were descendants of the Scotch-Irish, a race distinguished for a greater number of prominent characteristics than any other, and to whose fiber and strength some of the best types of the amalgamated nationality of the United States are wholly due. The traits which marked the founders of the race, suffer no dilution in being transmitted to succeeding generations. It is governed by the same laws of family decay; but its energy, thrift, courage, chivalry and purity go down to posterity in their primal vigor. In its representatives the "quality of manhood is unstrained". While they are ambitious, their success is not so much a matter of solicitude as the means by which it is reached. The records of Whiteside County will bear to the generations to come ample evidence of the influence, value and prestige of those who trace their lineage to the Scotch-Irish. Whiteside County was in its incipiency as a municipality when Judge McCoy was born at Fulton, at a period dating more than a decade prior to that when the now attractive little city took on the dignity of organization. He obtained the foundation of his elementary education at the public schools and later became a student at the Illinois Soldiers' College, then the Western Union College and the Military Academy. The curriculum of study was based on that of leading educational institutions of established repute; and Judge McCoy acquired a thorough acquaintance with higher English and completed a full college course in Latin, besides obtaining a practical understanding of other branches of classical study. He was an arduous student, and through unremitting application fell into ill health, which necessitated radical change. In the spring of 1863, he availed himself of an opportunity to travel across the plains with John Baker, the first settler at Fulton, who was engaged in the business of a "freighter" to Denver, Col., and he set out from Fulton for the purpose of "roughing it" in order to re-establish his health. At Council Bluffs he was promoted to the post of "driver" and accomplished the double purpose of enticing four yoke of oxen to Denver, and regaining health and strength. He supplemented the trip by a short stay in the mountains, where he was employed in a quartz mill. He returned to Fulton at the close of the same summer.
In the course of his association with his father in previous years, he had determined upon entering the legal profession. He had drifted into familiarity with office relations and had gathered much miscellaneous acquaintance with common and statutory law. On his return from Colorado, with health restored and ambition freshened to activity, he entered upon the systematic study of law in his fathers office at Fulton and prosecuted his studies with vigor until the ensuing winter, when he entered the Law School at Chicago and was graduated in July, 1865. In September following he was admitted to the full privileges of the Bar of Illinois. Later he obtained those of the Federal Courts.
The qualifications of Judge McCoy as a lawyer are of a high order. The natural bent of his mental organism has led him to a thorough mastery of the principles of jurisprudence, and he is the possessor of a comprehensive knowledge of the technique of the profession. While he is fitted to perform the duties of any branch of legal business, his temperament has dictated his preference for that of chancery law, which affords opportunity for the exercise of his natural proclivity to reduce conditions to systematic form. The bulk of his practice comprises cases that involve the settlement of important interests upon broad and equitable grounds. His clientage includes classes who are removed from common litigation by elevation of character, and whose business in the courts requires the services of an attorney who possesses a discriminating and exhaustive acquaintance with authorities.
In the branch of the profession he has selected for a field of operation, he has won prominence and distinction. He is also an advocate of recognized ability. His powers are completely subservient to his judgment, and he does effective work before a jury from his perfect preparation and thorough understanding of the case. He constructs his argument symmetrically, building it step by step, and avails himself of the force of incisive, significant phraseology, which is entirely devoid of rhetorical trickery, indulged for the purpose of bewildering and captivating the judgment of men who are unconscious of the cunning which is the expedient of the leading charlatans of the period.
The relations of Judge McCoy to his profession are such that an analysis may at some future date answer the query of some one having a personal interest in his character. His ability, industry, persistency, energy and integrity have received just acknowledgment in his selection for the responsible position of which he is the incumbent. His association with his father as son, student and business partner, developed the best trait he possessed - a reverent appreciation of the inflexible probity of his sire; and to his daily contact with a life of unswerving devotion to principle, does he owe more than to any other cause whatever merits he may possess. He was led to the recognition of the sublimity of equity as the grand underlying principle of all codes, by the fact that the bulk of law on which society is founded and perpetuated, is unwritten; and he has molded his career in conformity with his convictions. The existence of temptations in his profession, in his view, furnishes no palliation for a corrupt manhood, and he regards an attorney who finds himself conscious of the seductions which prove pitfalls of moral ruin to so many, a poor interpreter of the science of law. Hence, he has found few obstacles to an undeviating method in his practice, and he has adhered unswervingly to his determination to preserve his relations as an exponent of law in the dignity and self-respect incumbent upon him as a man, and the son of a man whose excellence of character sheds peculiar luster on the records of Whiteside County.
Immediately upon the completion of his course of preparation and his admission to the Bar, the firm of J. McCoy & Son was established, and its members conducted their business under that style until a younger son and brother, A. R. McCoy, completed his studies for the same profession, and was admitted to a partnership, the firm style becoming McCoy & Sons, which continued operative until the autumn of 1878, when W. J. McCoy removed to Morrison. October 14, that year, he established his office in that city and has built up a popular and successful business. He is an indefatigable worker; and although he has discharged the duties of his office in a manner every way characteristic, his private business has suffered no diminution, but has rather increased through the wider scope of his connections. He was elected County Judge in November, 1882, scoring a success over the candidate of the opposition, Hon. William Lane, by about 2,000 votes. The fact that he ran ahead of his ticket by about 1,700 votes, renders the fact cf an unpartisan election peculiarly significant. During his term of office, still unfulfilled in 1885, the business of the County Court has very materially increased, which is due in part to the methods pursued by Judge McCoy, and in part to changes in legislation, which occasion diversion from the Circuit Court.
Judge McCoy was married Sept. 13, 1869, in Fulton, to Marie E., daughter of Charles W. and Caroline M. Aylesworth. They have three children: Lester C, born June 23, 1870; William M., born June 14, 1876; Helen C, born Feb. 24, 1885. Mrs. McCoy was born May 4, 1845, in Salem, Ohio. [History of Whiteside County - Portraits & Biographical Pg 223 (1885)]
HIRAM C. McCRAY
Of Genesee Township
Hiram C. McCray, farmer, section 6, Genesee Township, was born Aug. 30, 1850, and is the son of Martin D. and Margaret Ann (Crum) McCray. His father was a settler of 1838 in Genesee Township. He was born May 31, 1806, in Kentucky. His father dying when he was ten years of age, he went to Indiana, where he grew to manhood in the care of his uncle. Jan. 1, 1836, he married the sister of John Thompson I Crum, who came to Genesee Township in the same year. The wife was born in Ohio, and their marriage occurred in Henry Co., Ind. They had five children and Mr. McCray is the youngest. His father died in 1863, and he remained. in his mother's care a year longer. She married John Yager, Nov. 16, 1863, and lives in Sterling. When her son, who is the subject of this sketch, was 14 years of age he went to Coleta for the purpose of acquiring a knowledge of the trade of a blacksmith, under the direction of J. H. Culp. After working a year he engaged in farming until 1870; then worked ten years for T. T. Daniels at Morrison, and in 1883 he again commenced farming. His marriage to Susanna Hurless took place Sept. 19, 1869. Mrs. McCray was born Aug. 20, 1852, in Wood Co., Ohio, and she is the daughter of Rev. Cephas and Elizabeth (Overholser) Hurless, of whom a sketch may be found on other pages. She was hardly two years of age when her parents located in Genesee Township. She is the mother of two children, Edwin M., born May 8, 1870, and Perry A., born June 21, 1872. Mr. McCray is a Democrat. His wife is a member of the United Brethren Church. [Portraits & Biographical Pg. 217]
OF Genesee Township
Martin McCrea was born in Kentucky May 31 1806. His father died when he was but 10 years old and Martin was brought up in the family of an uncle in Indiana. He married Margaret Ann Crum, January 1, 1835. he had 3 sons and 3 daughters. He was a peculiar man. Brought up on the extreme Western frontier, he was deprived of almost all the advantages of common schools. His associations were with the dwellers in the log cabins; he hated intensely what he understood to be a mean act. If he made up his mind to be a man's friend, he would stand by him until the death. On the other hand, if he became possessed with the idea that a man was dishonest, he would so fearlessly. He often indulged in veins of wit and sarcasm, and was incapable of revenge. During a cold winter he was making his way on foot to Harvey's store, at Empire, to purchase a pair of winter boots. His feet being very large, he had spoken to Mr. Harvey to bring on some extra sizes. On his way he met a neighbor, who had just come from the store. He hastily inquired if the Bush family had been at the store since the boots had come, and, being told that they had, he turned around at once and started for home, remarking that if the Bush family had been there, there would be none left for him. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 227]
Of Hopkins Township
James McCue, general farmer on section 32, Hopkins Township, was born Sept. 24, 1834, in the parish of Balanakiln, County, Galway, Ireland. He emigrated thence in 1854, arriving in the United States in November after he was 20 years old. He worked by the month until the spring of 1859, when he rented a farm. He continued its management three years, after which he bought a farm, in Hopkins Township, containing 80 acres, where he fixed his homestead. He is now the owner of 460 acres in the townships of Hopkins and Lyndon, which includes about 300 acres under the plow. His place is well stocked with an average number of 90 head of cattle and 18 horses; and he fattens an annual average of 60 hogs. His parents, Thomas and Honora (Ternon) McCue, lived and died in Ireland. They had four children - William, James, Mary and Ann. Mr. McCue was married at Dixon, Lee Co., Ill., by Rev. Father Kinady, C. P., March 1, 1859, to Margaret, daughter of James and Ellen (Kirk) Doyle. She is one of their nine children: Michael, James, Mary, Margaret, John, Patrick, Catherine, Sarah and Ellen. Mrs. McCue was born in Ireland, and is the mother of six children, named William,James, Mary, Thomas, John and Edward. Politically, Mr. McCue is a Democrat. He has held several official positions in local affairs. The family are Catholics. [Portraits & Biographical Pg. 286]
JOHN JOSEPH McCUE
John Joseph McCue, who owns and operates a valuable and up-to-date farming property of one hundred and sixty acres on section 36, Hopkins township, was born in this township on the 5th of July, 1868, a son of James and Margaret (Doyle) McCue. The grandparents were Thomas and Honora (Ternon) McCue, who lived and died in Ireland. James McCue, the father of our subject, was born in the parish of Balanskiln, County Galway, Ireland, County Galway, Ireland, September 24, 1834, and in November, 1854, when a young man of twenty years, emigrated to America, locating in Whiteside county. He possessed no financial resources with which to take up the battle of life in a new country, but his resolute spirit, willing hands and strong physical manhood proved to be ample equipment. For the first six or seven years after his arrival in this county he was employed as a farm hand, but in 1859 rented a tract of land, being successfully engaged in it cultivation for about three years. At the end of that time, by reason of the exercise of careful economy and unremitting diligence, he had succeeded in accumulating capital sufficient to enable him to purchase eighty acres of land, which he brought under a high state of cultivation, and which eventually became the old homestead. As the years passed he added to his holdings from time to time, until he is now the owner of nine hundred and seventy-three acres of rich and productive land in Whiteside county, and is widely recognized as one of its most successful and enterprising citizens. About 1898 he removed to the place where he now resides, on section 19, Hopkins township, having here a beautiful, modern home and being surrounded by all of the comforts and many of the luxuries that go to make life worth living. On the 1st of March, 1859, Thomas McCue had been married at Dixon, Lee county, Illinois, to Miss Margaret Doyle, the ceremony being performed by the Rev. Father Kinady, C.P. Mrs. McCue was a native of Ireland and a daughter of James and Ellen (Kirk) Doyle, in whose family were the following children: Mary, Margaret, John, Patrick, Catherine, Sarah and Ellen. In the McCue family were six children: William C., who lives on the old homestead in Hopkins township; James E., also a resident of that township; Mary, who wedded James S. Quinn, of Chicago, and died about 1895; Thomas E., a resident of Sterling township; John J., of this review; and Edward, who died when about five years old. Mr. McCue has given each of his children a good start in life. He is now spending his remaining days in the enjoyment of the fruits of his former toil and, having lived in this county for more than a half century, is widely and favorably known as one of its representative and influential residents. John Joseph McCue acquired his education in the common schools and assisted his father in the operation of the home farm until several years after he had attained his majority, when he was married and established a home of his own on section 36, Hopkins township. His farm consists of one hundred and sixty acres, and is one of the best improved properties in the county, being equipped with all the accessories and conveniences of a model farm of the twentieth century. The drive to the residence is entered through an automatic swing gate of the latest device, and the cement walks and many other modern improvements give evidence of the enterprise and progressive spirit of the owner. The fields annually return golden harvests as a reward for the care and labor he bestows upon them, and he has long been recognized as one of the wide-awake and prosperous agriculturists of his community. On the 12th of October, 1898, Mr. McCue was united in marriage to Miss Anna C. Gronis, a daughter of Charles and Bridget (McDermott) Gronis, further mention of whom is made on another page of this work. Unto our subject and his wife have been born six children, five of whom are now living: Mary Frances, Jennie Loretta, John Joseph, Charles Joseph and Leo. In his political views Mr. McCue is a democrat, while the religious faith of the family is indicated by their membership in the Catholic church. Having spent his entire life in this county, Mr. McCue is well know, and has gained the respect and confidence of all with whom he has been associated, for his life has ever been upright and honorable in all relations, and he is now surrounded by many comforts, a beautiful home and a family of bright and interesting children. [History of Whiteside County 1908]
Pump manufacturer, Sterling, was born March 23, 1813. His parents were Stephen and Polly (Davenport) Mc,Cune, natives of Vermont and of Scotch descent, who moved to Ohio in 1833, where they died, the former in 1840 and the latter in 1854. Mr. Wm. McCune, the subject of this biographical outline, was brought up as a farmer's son, receiving a common-school education. At the age of 19 years he left home and spent a year as a sailor on Lakes Erie and Ontario; was then on the North River and the Erie Canal three years: next, he conducted a hotel at McConnellsville, N. Y., five years; then he purchased a hotel at Camden, N. Y. and managed that for seven years, when he sold it; and finally, in the fall of 1854, he came to Sterling and opened the Wallace Hotel, of which he was landlord ten years. Then he engaged in real-estate business, and also agent for the hydraulic company, and built the second dam across Rock River. In 1870, in company with Hull & Bowers, he entered his present business as pump-manufacturer. He afterward purchased the interest of his partners, and he has since admitted into the business his sons, so that the firm name is now Wm. McCune & Co. They are enjoyng a prosperous run of trade. In his political views, Mr. McC. is a Democrat; and he is a member of the Masonic Order. Mr. McCune was first married in 1834, to Luvina Perrin, and by that marriage there were three children, two of whom are living, viz.: Sarah and Hervey H. Sarah was married to Mr. M. A. Bunn, and she now has one child living, named Frank. Mrs. McCune died in 1845, and Mr. McCune was married again, in 1848, to Almira Hazen, and by the latter union there are three children,—Elizabeth, William A. and James A. William was married June 7, 1877, to Anna Crawford, and they have three children,—Fred L., born May 24,1878; Helen, Nov. 20, 1881; and Gretchen, May 9, 1883. James A. married Ella Pickett, Sept. 12, 1877, and they are the parents of one daughter, Etta L., born July 16, 1878. [Whiteside Co History, Biographical and Portrait 1885]
Deceased, formerly a resident of Sterling, was born in Scipio, Cayuga Co., N. Y., Jan. 24, 1807, and when 17 years of age he learned the trade of stone mason and plasterer, which he followed for several years, in the city of Buffalo. In 1845 he moved to Chicago, Ill., where he continued to follow his trade for eight years. He then came to Whiteside County and purchased 80 acres of land on section 7, township 20, range 5. He was successful in farming, and added to his landed estate until he had an aggregate of about 500 acres. He was married Dec. 31, 1834, to Harriet Reynolds, and they had four children: Mary, wife of G. W. Higley, and living in Oregon; Charlotte, wife of R. H. Scofield; Clara, wife of L. G. Reynolds and residing in Oregon; and William, who lives in California. Charlotte died April 2, 1885, leaving four children. Mr. McDearman, for his second wife, married Miss Louisa, daughter of Horatio and Sarah (Swan) Wells, and by this marriage also there were four children, namely: Harriet, wife of R. J Resse and residing in Lyndon; Arthur, in California Louisa and Edith arc residents of Sterling. Mr. McDearman died Sept. 12, 1881, highly respected as a citizen and neighbor. As a father, too, he took great interest to the welfare of his children, giving them all a fair education. Mrs. McDearman is a resident of Sterling, an estimable lady, and a consistent member of the Baptist Church. [Whiteside Co History, Biographical and Portrait 1885]
Andrew McFadden, farmer sec. 15, Ustick Tp., is the son of Adam and Elizabeth McFadden: parents of Scotch origin and Irish birth, belonging to the historic families who went from Scotland to Ireland in 1619 to escape the persecutions of James. Mr. McFadden was born June 28, 1817, in County Derry, Ireland. He was 22 years of age when he came to the United States, and he remained in the Eastern States until about 1853, when he located in Ustick Township. He owns 80 acres of land. He was married in New York, Dec. 11,1843, to Margaret Collins. She is a native of Ireland, whence she emigrated when quite young. They have become the parents of five children, two of whom — James and Margaret—are deceased. They were born in the following order: Jane, James, Elizabeth, Edwin and Margaret. Mr. and Mrs. McFadden are members of the Presbyterian Church. Mr. McFadden is a Republican in political preference. [Portraits and Biographical Whiteside County History 1880]
James McGrath, farmer, section 25, Albany Township, was born March 10, 1829, in the town of Lincoln, 60 miles from St. Johns, N. B., and is the third son of James and Elizabeth (Sewell) McGrath. He spent his boyhood and youth in his native province and was reared to agricultural pursuits. In 1854 he came to Whiteside County, and rented a farm in the township of Garden Plain, which he managed until 1858. In that year he moved to the section on which he has since lived, in Albany Township, which was then designated township 20, range 2. In 1860 he bought 120 acres of land, which has since been his property. He is now the owner of 600 acres, located on sections 25 and 26. His parents came with him to Albany Township and lived with him until their deaths, which occurred respectively in 1856 and 1884. Mr. McGrath is still a successful eluder of the wiles of matrimony, and it is feared is a confirmed bachelor. [Transcribed by Christine Walters Portraits and Biographical 1885]
Nicholas McGrath is a farmer on section 13, Albany Township, where he owns 120 acres of land under advanced cultivation. He was born March 20, 1838, at Narrow Place, 30 miles from the city of St. John, in the Province of New Brunswick. In 1840 he accompanied his parents to Albany, and he lived there and in Garden Plain Township until 1858, when he went to Wausau, Wis. He spent a short time rafting on the river making a trip to St. Louis, whence he went to Leavenworth, Kan., where he entered the employment of a Government contractor, and drove a train comprising six yoke of oxen to Salt Lake City, conveying supplies for the soldiers. Four months were consumed in the journey. Mr. McGrath went thence to California, where he engaged in freighting from Sacramento to Georgetown with six yoke of oxen. The distance comprised in the route was 60 miles, and he was interested in that vocation one year. With the exception of the harvest seasons, he spent the next two years in a livery stable in Sacramento. He went thence to Silver Mountain and from there to Canon City, Nev., when he proceeded to Virginia City. He passed six months there, driving a mule train consisting of eight of those interesting animals, after which he operated as an assistant in a quartz mill, and was occupied in that capacity until 1865. In that year he came home and bought a claim of land on which he has since resided. Mr McGrath was married in 1868, to Nancy A. Brightman. they have two children - William J. and Maud E. [Transcribed by Christine Walters; Portraits and Biographical, 1885, pg 731-32]
Of Erie Township
Samuel McGregor, a farmer residing on section 18, Erie Twp. where, connection with his brother Robert, he is cultivating 281 acres of land, which they rent, is a son of Daniel and Harriet 9Carpenter) McGregor, and was born in Portland Twp. this county, three miles southwest of the village of Portland, Feb. 13, 1851. His father was a native of NY, as likewise was his mother. They came by water to Chicago in 1850, and then drove to Portland Twp. where the father soon afterwards bought a farm of 76 acres. In the fall of 1870, he went to Erie Twp. and rented the farm which Samuel, the subject of this notice, now rents. The father died on that place Oct. 15, 1871. The mother still resides with their sons on the farm. The parents family comprised five children, all living, and all born in this county. Mr. McGregor is the oldest of his father's family. Clara is the wife of Javis Fargo, a farmer residing in Erie Twp; Robert is a partner in the cultivation of the farm; Jane is the wife of Wm. Wiggins, a farmer also residing in the same township; and Mary is the wife of Dewitt Bunn, likewise a farmer in Erie Twp. When the father died the two boys, Robert and Samuel, took charge of the farm, and cultivated the same for their mother three years; they then rented the farm themselves, and have ever since cultivated the same, and have met withs uccess, usually raising from25 to 30 hogs, a few colts, etc. [1885 Portrait and Biographical of Whiteside Co, Pg. 780]
Ustick Twp., Whiteside Co IL
Jotham McKee, farmer, section 22, Ustick Twp, was born Oct. 27, 1821 in Jefferson co NY. His father and mother, Horace and Clarissa (King) McKee, were born and lived all their lives in the same State. Of their family of nine children, six lived to grow up, as follows; Sophronia, JOseph, Horace, Sally A., Jotham and Hiram W.
Mr. McKee was engaged in agricultural pursuits in his native county until Jan. 1866. He then came to Whiteside County and lived in the city of Morrison 12 years, during which time he was engaged in a meat market. He officiated ten years as City Marshal. He acted as Constable and a part of the time served as Deputy Sheriff. He was also Street Commissioner four years. In the spring of 1878 he bought 160 acres in Ustick Township, which has since been his field of operaiton. Politically, Mr. McKee is a Republican, and he has been a Constable in Ustick Twp. four years. He is also a member of the Order of Odd Fellows. His marriage to Delight Frink took place April 7, 1846, and they have one child, James F., who is a resident of Rockford IL. Mrs. McKee was born Nov. 30, 1824 in Cortland Co NY and is the daughter of Joseph and Esther (Palmer) Frink. Her parents were natives of the State of New York. She is a member of the Baptist Church. [Portraits & Biographical Pg 418]
Of Portland Township
Hiram McKenzie was born in Essex county, New York, in 1817, and came to Portland in 1837. He is a cooper by trade, and worked some time for Job Dodge, making pork barrels. He is now a resident of Yorktown, Bureau county. Mr. McKenzie married Miss Cordelia Chubbuck, in 1837. The children of this marriage are: Virgil A., who married Miss Nettie Brown;. Lovina M., who married Ansel Burdick; Albert E., who married Francis Hodgeborn; and Lucinda A., who married Austin Foy. Mrs. McKenzie died, and in 1875 Mr. McKenzie married Elsie Pelton. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County IL, 1877]
Deceased, was an early settler of Whiteside County. He was born in the Highlands of Scotland, in midsummer, 1800, and was the son of Alexander and Margaret (Thompson) MacKenzie. He learned the trade of mason and builder, and was married in Aberdeenshire, Oct. 11, 1833, to Miss Margaret S. Ritchie, daughter of George and Margaret (Read) Ritchie. He emigrated to America in 1838, and settled in Virginia, where he continued to reside till June, 1843, when he came to Whiteside County and located on a farm in the township of Ustick. He worked at his trade of mason and contractor in Fulton, while his energetic and thrifty wife conducted the farm. Mr. MacKenzie built in 1848 and operated the first saw-mill at Fulton, which was a small water-power mill, and continued to conduct it to the time of his death, which occurred Sept. 29, 1854. He also worked at his trade, and among his contracts was one for the erection of the stone building now used as a planing-mill by the Langford & Hall lumber Company, which he built for Judge McCoy & Co. He was also employed by the Government in the construction of Fort Gaines, some 200 miles above St. Paul, and spent two seasons on Government work. While a resident of Ustick he was the first Supervisor of that township, and held other minor oifices. In politics he was a Whig. Mr. and Mrs. MacKenzie had four sons and six daughters. The eldest child was Margaret, wife of James Savage, now of Oregon; Helen is the wife of William Savage, of Morrison, Ill.; Alexander died in childhood; Virginia - so named from her native State - is the wife of Augustus Johnson, of Morrison; George married Ella Houghton, and died in 1877, leaving a wife and four children; Alexander, the second of that name, married Lovina Devore, and lives in Iowa; Mary married William Trye, and lives at Morrison; John and Josephene are twins; John is a Captain on the Mississippi; he married Miss Abbie E. Devore, and resides at Fulton; Josephene married John Kyner, and lives in Nebraska; Clarissa A. is the wife of Thomas Janvrin, of Morrison; George and Alexander were soldiers of the late war. Mrs. MacKenzie survives her husband, and resides at Fulton, with her son, Captain John MacKenzie. She has been a member of the Presbyterian Church since her girlhood. [Whiteside Co History, Biographical and Portrait 1885]
CAPT. JOHN McKENZIE
A resident of Fulton, and Master of the steamer "Silver Wave," of the Van Sant & Musser line, plying between Stillwater, Minn., and Muscatine, Iowa, is a native of Whiteside Co., Ill., being born in the town of Ustick, July 3, 1850. His parents, John and Margaret (Ritchie) MacKenzie, were born in the Highlands of Scotland and came to this county in 1843.
John was reared on his father's farm, and when 18 years of age, or in 1868, he engaged as a deck hand on a Mississippi River steamer. Before the expiration of two years he had qualified himself for the position of pilot, and sailed as such. In 18— he purchased a third interest in the steamer "Wm. White" and became her Captain. He. afterwards built and commanded the steamer "Eclipse." He sold out his steamboat interests in the spring of 1883, since which time he has sailed the "Sam Atlee" and the "Silver Wave." Capt. MacKenzie was married near Creston, Iowa, Dec. 14, 1880, to Miss Abbie E. Devore, daughter of John and Josephine (Smith) Devore. Mrs. MacKenzie was born near Mt. Carroll, Carroll Co, Ill. The Captain is a staunch Prohibitionist, of Republican antecedents. He is Chairman of the Prohibition County Committee, and was the Prohibition candidate for Representative in the late campaign. He is a member of Fulton City Lodge, No. 189, A. F. & A. M. Mrs. MacKenzie is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Captain MacKenzie has worked up through all grades of a boatman's duties from the lowest to the highest, and has long been classed among the most popular and skillful of the Mississippi steamboat Captains. He has made his home at Fulton, Ill., since 1881. [Whiteside Co History, Biographical and Portrait, 1885]
D. LaFAYETTE McKENZIE
D. La Fayette McKenzie, deceased, a former resident of Coloma Township, was born April 30, 1827, in Essex Co., N. Y. His parents removed with their family when he was young to the western part of his native State, whence he came in 1834 to Whiteside County. He first located in Prophetstown, where he was a resident for about eight years. In 1842 he went to the township of Portland and from there, in 1868, to the township of Coloma and was a resident there until his death, Nov. 21, 1879. He was the owner of 480 acres of land when he died. He was married in Sterling, Feb. 2, 1853, to Lucia, daughter of Nathan and Louisa (Chapin) Brewer. The father and mother of Mrs. McKenzie were born in Massachusetts. They came thence to Whiteside County in 1850 and settle in Portland Township. The mother died July 25, 1859; the father survives. Mrs. McKenzie is the oldest of their ten children. She was born Dec. 23, 1835, in Massachusetts, and is the mother of four children - Nathan L., Fred E., Julia C. and Wallace L. Mrs. McKenzie owns 160 acres of improved land. In 1870 Mr. McKenzie went to Colorado to engage in the stock business. He was accompanied by his family and made the trip overland as the methods of traveling were then called, when parties moved with their own teams. Three years later they returned to the homestead in the township of Coloma. Mrs. McKenzie also went, in 1859, to Pike's Peak, but he returned the same season. While in Colorado, associated with another man, he established the first trading post at Golden City, Colorado. He was a member of the A.O.U.W. [Portrait and Biographical Album of Whiteside County, Illinois, Chapman Brothers Publishing Co., Chicago, 1885. Pg 619]
MARLON C. McKENZIE
OF Hume Township
Marlon C. McKenzie was born in Essex county, New York, in 1823, and came first to Whiteside county in 1841, and remained three years, when he reÂturned East. In 1865 he again came to Whiteside, and purchased his present farm in Hume township, upon which he has since continued to live. In 1849 he married Miss Marian M. Haven. Their only child is May, now fourteen age. Mr. McKenzie has served for two terms as member of the Board of Supervisors, and has also been Assessor for the township. He has two hundred -forty acres of land on sections 28 and 32. Besides carrying on his largely engaged as a stock raiser and dealer. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County, Page 241]
NATHAN L. McKENZIE
A farmer on section 30, Coloma Township, is a son of D. La Fayette and Lucia (Brewer) McKenzie, of whom a personal narration is given elsewhere this volume. The son was born Oct. 28, 1853, in the township of Portland in the same county where he has passed his life thus far, with the exception of about four years, when he was in Colorado engaged in the cattle business. In 1883 he bought a farm in Iowa, which lie afterward sold, having occupied the property about 18 months. He is now the owner of 240 acres in the township of Portland, which is under a good degree of tillage. Mr. McKenzie was united in marriage at Prophetstown, March 22, 1876, to Minnie, daughter of William and Sarah (Young) Dudley. Her father was born in Ohio, and her mother was a native of England. Their children were named John, Minnie, George and Frank. Mrs. McKenzie was born in Michigan, July 17, 1858. The children that have been born to herself and husband are three in number and are named Myrtie, Grace and La Fayette H. Mr. McKenzie is a Republican in political sentiment. He is a member of the I.O.O.F. [Whiteside Co History, Biographical and Portrait 1885]
R. H. McKenzie, a resident of Tampico yet deriving his income from valuable farming interests in Illinois, was born in Bureau county, this state, November 31, 1854, his parents being O. W. and Emily (Dow) McKenzie. The father was a native of Essex county, New York, born March 8, 1825. His great-great-grandfather came from Scotland and settled in eastern New York, where h reared a family of seven children, namely: Alexander, Robert, Crosby, Sallie M., Ethel, Thomas and John. all of the sons were soldiers in the war of 1812 and the military record of the family was therefore a most creditable one.
John McKenzie took part in the battle of Plattsburg. He was born August 6, 1794, and died in Bureau county, Illinois, July 3, 1857. He was married on the 23d of February, 1815, to Miss Betsey Havens, who was born February 9, 1796, and passed away March 5, 1854. They became the parents of nine children: Hiram, Eliza, John M., Oliver W., DeLafayette, Lyman W., Lomira C., Robert and Chancy D. The parents with their children removed westward to Bureau county, Illinois, in the spring of 1846 and during the first summer lived upon a rented farm. In the fall of that year they built a log house with a board roof on section 7, Fairfield township, where the father had secured a claim. During the first years of their residence in this pioneer home they hauled all the water used in the house in barrels from Woodford Bluff in Whiteside county, a distance of six miles. Such were some of the privations of pioneer life neccessary to pave the way to the prosperity of later years. Two years after building his log cabin John McKenzie hauled lumber from Chicago and built a frame house, in which he and his wife spent their remaining days. At that time Chicago was but a small town of little industrial or commercial importance and the most farsighted could not have dreamed of the wonderful growth to which it would attain in less than a century. The crops were hauled to market there, for there were no railroads to supply easier transportation.
O. W. McKenzie came to Illinois with his parents and took advantage of the opportunity offered by the government to secure a claim, obtaining one hundred and sixty acres on section 7, Fairfield township, of which he afterward entered eighty acres, while his brother John entered the remaining eighty. They broke the first prairie where Yorktown now stands, hiring two yokes of oxen from Joseph Arnett at fifteen cents per day. Oliver W. McKenzie afterward bough these oxen for ten dollars per head. With characteristic energy he continued the improvement and development of his eighty acres and to the farm moved a pole house which he had purchased for five dollars. Having thus made preliminary arrangements for a home of his own, he further completed these by is marriage, on the 20th of March, 1850, in Princeton, Illinois, to Miss Emily Dow, the eldest daughter of Witcher and Eunice (Bump) Dow, former residents of Cayuga County, New York, who in 1847 arrived in Bureau conty, Illinois. Mrs. Dow was widely known as an excellent nurse and a woman of many spendid traits of character, who was loved by all. She was born December 7, 1877. It was on the 27th of January, 1828, that she gave her hand in marriage to Mr. Dow, with whom she traveled life's journey happily for nearly a half centry. Mr. Dow was born in Danville, Vermont, October 13, 1804, and died in Illinois, May 30, 1882. There were the parents of eight children: Mrs. Emily McKenzie, Mrs. Emaline Greenman, and Clay Q. Of this family the first named, Emily McKenzie, was born March 5, 1829, in Cattaraugus county, New York, and by her marriage became the mother of six children. Ellen E., Julia A., Raymond H., William E., Oliver W., and one who died in infancy.
Oliver W. McKenzie was always a successful farmer and stock-raiser, whose carefully conducted interest brough him a creditable measure of acres of land, rich and productive. He was the first blacksmith and store keeper of Yorktown and was not only associated with its commercial and industrial interest but also took an active part in political affairs in his locality. He was the first constable and assessor of Fairfield township, filling the former position for thirteen years, and in the discharge of his duties he manifested the utmost fidelity as well as capability. Active in business, he achieved a gratifying measure of prosperity and the methods which he followed won for hm the respect and confidence of all.
R. H. McKenzie, whose name introduces this record, remained with his father until he attained his majority, pursuing his educatin in the public schools and gaining intimate knowledge of the best methods of tilling the soil through the assistance which he rendered in carrying on the ome farm. When he had reached adult age, he rented a part of his father's land for four years and then bought eighty acres in Bureau county. Removing to this farrm, he made it his place of residence until 1890, when he located upon the old homestead belonging to his father and oerated it for two years, thus relieving his father of all the care and labor connected with the cultivation of the place. There the father died July 22, 1891, , having for about three years survived his wife, who passed away November 5, 1888. Following the death of the former, Mr. McKenzie removed to Tampico, where he has since made his home. He is now the owner of four hundred and eighty acres of valuable and productive land in Bureau county, eighty acres in Whiteside county and ten acres of timberland in Henry county. He always handeled stock while living uon the farm, keeping on hand high grades of horses, cattle andhogs and realizing a good profit from his annual sales. He has been associated with the business interests of Tampico as a progressive merchant, dealing in groceries and men's furnishing goods for six years and also conducting a meat market. On the 12th of February, 1879, Mr. McKenzie was married to Miss Lovina West, who was born in Whiteside county in 1859, a daughter of Isaac West, a native of the state of New York, and one of the family of three children. by her marriage she has become the mother of three children, two sons and one daughter: Roy E., who is a graduate of a business college at Galesburg, Illinois,; Hazel F., who is in Aurora, this state; and Clyde, at home. The parents are consistant and faithful members of the Christian church and Mr. McKenzie indicates his views upon the temperance question by the stalwart support he gives to the prohibition party. He belongs to the Modern Woodsmen camp at Tampico, to the Knights of the Globe, and to the Bankers Life, of Des Moines. He has always lived in this section of the state and is a representative of one of the oldest and most prominent pioneeer families. His own record has been in harmony with that of the family and he stands for progressive citizenship, for integrity in business and for uprightness in every relation of life. He is now deriving his income from his invested interests while he is practically living retired, save for the supervison which he gives to his property. [Whiteside County History 1900]
WILLIAM RICHMOND McKENZIE
Of Prophetstown Township
William Richmond McKenzie is a native of Essex county, New York, and was born in 1815. He came to Prophetstown in 1837, and settled first on the bottom, but afterwards opened a fine farm on Jackson street, where he still resides. Mr. McKenzie married Miss Harriet Martin in 1842, their children being: Luther B., who married Miss Annie Manning, and lives in Prophetstown; William, living in Colorado; Lovisa, wife of Frank D. Ramsay, living in Morrison; Ella, wife of Augustus Reynolds, living in Prophetstown; Mabel, wife of George H. Hyde, living in Little Rock, Arkansas; and Arthur, living in Prophetstown. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County]
WILLIAM R. MCKENZIE, a farmer residing on section 35, Prophetstown Township, is a son of William and Louisa (Richmond) McKenzie, and was born in Essex Co., N.Y., Oct. 30, 1815. His father was a native of the same State, in which his son was born, and his mother a native of Connecticut. Their children were five in number, four of whom are yet living. William R., the subject of this notice, is the oldest; Milton, Marlow C., and Laura A. are the remaining three who are living; and Catherine is deceased. Mr. McKenzie was reared on a farm and received his education in the common schools of the time and locality in which he resided. In 1837 he came West and located in Prophetstown Township, this county; he came by steamer from New York to Chicago, then in company with several others walked to this county, where he engaged in the occupation of a farmer for different parties. He entered a piece of land on section 27, which he afterwards sold and bought (1849) where he at present resides 40 acres. He kept adding to his original purchase at different times, until he now has 360 acres of land, which constitutes a nice and well-improved farm, with substantial out-buildings, residence, etc. He has held the office of Justice of the Peace four years, and also that of School Trustee.
Mr. McKenzie was united in marriage in Lyndon Township, this county, March 17, 1842, to Miss Harriet Martin, a daughter of Silas and Sarah Martin. She was born in Canada, May 16, 1822, and has borne to her husband seven children, two of whom are deceased. The living are, Luther B., born Feb. 23, 1843, and is a farmer residing in Prophetstown Township; Louisa, born Aug. 7, 1848, is the wife of F.D. Ramsay, an attorney at law, residing in Morrison; Ella, wife of A.H. Reynolds, a farmer of Green Co., Iowa, was born Dec. 20, 1850; Mabel, wife of George H. Hyde, a merchant at Little Rock, Ark., was born May 10, 1853; Arthur, born March 29, 1855, resides at home. The deceased are, William, born May 4, 1844, died Aug. 8, 1883; and Dallas, born Dec. 29, 1845, died Aug. 29, 1847. [Portraits and Biographical Whiteside County 1885]
WILLIAM DICKSON McILVAINE
Born in the middle of the last century far inland in a small town in one of the rural counties of the Prairie State the casual observer would find in William Dickson McIlvaine many of the traits that characterized his Scotch-Irish and Pennsylvania-Dutch ancestry clearly defined. In him as in a large proportion of Americans these elements combine well and the result is a good average in citizenship.
The first McIlvaine of record, one Alan by name, in 1529 held lands in Ayreshire, Scotland, extending for many miles along the Doon, by charter from James V. but he persecution of Convenanters deprived the family of their magnificent properties and caused their migration to the north of Ireland in the 17th century. It is from these families that the American branch sprung, the first of the name arriving in New Jersey in 1719. The branch from which Mr. McIlvaine is descended settled in Lancaster County PA, in 1741 and thereafter gave good account of itself in the Colonial and Revolutionary Wars.
In the maternal line Mr. McIlvaine is descended from Capt. John Slaymaker, Revolutionary soldier, a son of Mathias, of Hesse, Germany, who in 1710 left a position of eminence to come to America, settling in Lancaster near the McIlvaine family. Mathias and his descendants were people of giant strength and stature, among whom are several noted philosophers, theologians and soldiers.
William D. McIlvaine was born January 4, 1854, in the little town of Albany, Whiteside County, Illinois, on the Mississippi River, where his father John D. McIlvaine, had settled with his bride Catherine Slaymaker McIlvaine in 1843, and where the elder McIlvaine conducted an extensive warehousing business until 1860 when he removed his family to Chicago. The family established itself on Erie Street on the north side of the river and Mr. McIlvaine remembers that Henry W. King was their next door neighbor. With his older brother John Slaymaker, his sister Katherine (Mrs. J.P. Wilson), and Samuel Linn McIlvaine he attended the old Newberry School and later the Central High School. At the age of fourteen he left school to take a position with Baker & Gifford, merchants in the hat and cap, glove and mitten business on Lake Street.
In 1870 the family removed to the beautiful suburb of Lake View. Here a pleasant social circle existed, among the old families being the Wallers, the Kerfoots, the Lamoynes and the McConnells. It was in the parlor of Mr. McIlvaine's mother that the First Presbyterian Church of Lake View was organized.
An assistant secretary of the credit department of the Phelps, Dodge and Palmer, wholesale shoe merchants he gained valuable experience and later had charge of the city credit department of the J.V. Farwell Company. In 1899 Mr. McIlvaine founded The McIlvaine Adjustment Company and later became president of the National Safeguard Company with offices in Chicago and New York, the latter an association of over a thousand merchants for mutual protection against non-paying customers. In the adjustment of debts Mr. McIlvaine's long experience with credits and his genial disposition brought him remarkable success.
For some years he has been secretary and treasurer of the Penn Mining Company of Calaveras County, California.
In 1889 he was united in marriage to Catherine, a daughter of John K. Harmon. They have one son, John Harmon McIlvaine.
Mr. McIlvaine is a Republican in politics and his church affiliations are Presbyterian. He is a member of the Society of the Sons of the American Revolution, The Union League Club, the Art Institute, the Chicago Historical Society and the Knollwood Golf Club. [Contributed by Rommy Lopat and Transcribed by Christine Walters; Source: "Chicago and Its Makers", ed by Paul Gilbert and Charles Lee Bryson, Chicago, 1929]
THOMAS SHIRLEY McKINNEY
Thomas Shirley McKinney, who at the time of his death was cashier of the First National Bank of Sterling, having for some years been closely associated with the financial interests of the city, belonged to that class of men whose worth in business circles and in citizenship caused their death to be the occasion of deep and wide-spread regret. A native of Indiana, he was born on the 27th of April, 1855, his parents being Joshua Vose and Catharine McKinney, who were natives of the Empire state. The father came west when a young man and he and his brother William were very early settlers of Sterling, where for some years he conducted a milling business. His last years were spent in honorable retirement from labor in the enjoyment of well earned rest and he died November 27, 1906, at the age of eighty-four years. He was one of the founders of the Congregational church here and a man of deeply religious sentiment, whose Christianity was evidenced in his daily life. He was ever just and honorable, having the strictest regard for truth and veracity, while in his opinions of others he was charitable and in his actions kindly. For many years he served as deacon of the church and such was his life that he left to his family an untarnished name. Unto him and his wife were born eight children, five sons and three daughters, of whom four are now living: Jeannette, the wife of Dr. James E. Harlan, vice president of Cornell College, of Mount Vernon, Iowa; Olive, who became the wife of Clinton L. White, a prominent lawyer of Sacramento, California; William E., who makes his home' in Dewitt, Iowa; and John G., of Los Angeles, California.
Thomas Shirley McKinney, brought to Illinois in his early childhood, was reared in Sterling, pursued his education in the public schools and was graduated from the high school. He afterward attended Cornell College at Mount Vernon, Iowa, and entered business life as teller in the First National Bank, where his fidelity, loyalty and capability won him promotion. He became assistant cashier and eventually succeeded Mr. Sanborn in the position of cashier, in which capacity he was retained for a number of years or until the time of his own demise. Ever faithful to the interests of the bank, he contributed in no small degree to its success and was a popular official.
On the 1st of August 1892, Mr. McKinney was married to Miss Mary Viola Cassell, a daughter of Abram C. and Barbara (Meyers) Cassell. They became the parents of one son, John B. McKinney. The parents of Mrs. McKinney were natives of Pennsylvania, making their home in Philadelphia, where their daughter was born. The father was a cigar manufacturer and about 1869 came with his family to Sterling, where he and his wife still reside, being prominent and highly esteemed old people of the city. They are members of the Christian church and have here an extensive circle of friends. Mr. Cassell was the first prohibitionist in Sterling. His father, also a native of Pennsylvania, conducted a cotton mill there. Mrs. Cassell's parents were John and Elizabeth (Meyers) Meyers, likewise natives of Pennsylvania. Unto Abram C. and Barbara (Meyers) Cassell were born seven children, five daughters and two sons, namely: Henry Clayton, of Pasadena, California; Mrs. McKinney; Elizabeth Gertrude, of Sterling; Addie Laurene; Mabel Dora, the wife of Edward A. Anger, a resident of Chicago; John Allen, also of Sterling; and Beulah Latina Cassell.
The death of Mr. McKinney occurred July 1, 1905, when he was fifty years of age. He belonged to the Congregational church with which Mrs. McKinney still holds membership, and his life, displaying many excellent traits of character, won for him the stalwart friendship of the great majority of those with whom he came in contact. He was an exemplary representative of the Masonic fraternity, belonging to Rock River Lodge, No. 612, A. F. & A. M.; Sterling Chapter, No. 57, R. A. M.; and Sterling Commandery, No. 57, K. T. His political allegiance was given to the republican party but he neither sought nor desired office, preferring to concentrate his energies upon his business affairs. In manner he was genial and cordial and he had the happy faculty not only of winning but also of retaining friends, and when he was called from this life Sterling felt that death claimed one whom she could ill afford to lose. [History of Whiteside County by Davis, 1908]
OF Fenton Township
Arthur McLane, dealer in grain, lumber, coal and wood, with office and elevator on the C. B. & Q. R. R, near the depot at Erie, is a son of Jesse and Emily (Neuman) McLane, and was born in Wayne Co., Ind., near Richmond, May 30, 1827. His father was born in Pennsylvania and raised in Virginia. He was a farmer during the latter portion of his life, and formerly a dealer in horses. His mother was a native of Virginia, and both parents are now deceased. The issue of their union was ten children, of whom six survive, namely: Rebecca, the wife of William Sellers; John, a farmer near La Porte, Ind.; Mary, the wife of John Belden; Bird, a merchant at LaPorte, Ind.; Jesse N., a physician in Florida; and Arthur. Arthur was reared on a farm in Indiana, and attended the common schools until 20 years of age. He then taught school several winters and worked in the capacity of a clerk. About this time he learned the carpenter's trade, which he followed during summers, and pursued his trade and teaching conjointly until he came West. Mr. McLane was united in marriage April 19, 1851, in La Porte, Ind., to Miss Emeline Barney. She was a daughter of Ephraim and Ruth Barney, and was born in New York, Oct. 28, 1830 They have one child, Charlie H., who is at present engaged in buying and shipping stock and hay at Erie. Mr. McLane came to this county in 1854, and purchased a farm of 200 acres in Fenton Township. One year later he sold it, and purchased 100 acres in Newton Township, which he cultivated and on which he residee until 1859. He then sold and repurchased his 200 acres in Fenton Township, on which he moved, and engaged in stock-raising and farming. He has since added, by purchase, to his landed interest, and now owns 303 acres, all adjoining. He also owns in partnership with James Hubbard about 200 acres. In 1870 Mr. McLane came to Erie, and engaged in buying and shipping grain and live stock, and landling coal and building material. He erected his elevator in 1877, and it has a capacity of 12,000 bushels. He is also the owner of seven lots in Erie. Religiously Mr. McLane is a member of the Baptist church. Socially he is a member of the Masonic Order, belonging to Blue Lodge No. 667 at Erie, of which he was a charter member, and is the present Master. He had held the latter office three years previously. He was Supervisor of Fenton Township three years, Assessor three years, and was one of the principal movers and workers in the extensive drainage system of Fenton and Newton Townships. He was Drain Commissioner four years, three in Union District, and one in Whiteside and Rock Island. Mr. McLane still keeps his farm well supplied with fine stock. He has usually 75 head of high grades and thoroughbred Shorthorn, 100 head of Shropshire Down sheep, and about 25 head of horses. Mrs. McLane died on the farm in Fenton Township, Jan. 22, 1883, leaving her husband and son, and a host of friends to mourn her loss. Since Mr. McLane's advent into Whiteside County he has been quite an important factor in developing its resources. He is an enterprising, public spirited citizen, and is justly classed among the leading and representative men of the county. [Portraits & Biographical Pg 711]
JOHN W. McLEMORE
OF Sterling Twp
John W. McLemore was a native of Tennessee, and born in 1808. He came with his father’s family to the State of Illinois when quite a child. In 1836 be came to Whiteside, and made a claim in the present township of’ Sterling, within a few miles of the present city. Part of this claim, and the one on which be put improvements, now forms a portion of Mr. Weaver’s farm. In 1839 he was appointed Deputy Sheriff by James C. Woodburn, the first sheriff of the county, and performed many of the duties of the office. Be was elected Sheriff in 1840, and held the position for two terms, and in 1846 was again elected, holding the office then for one term. He gave general satisfaction by the faithful and energetic discharge of his duties. In 1854 he went to California, where he remained fifteen years, and upon his return lived part of the time at Rock Falls, and part at Sterling, until his death, which occurred at the latter place in August, 1871. Mr. McLemore married Miss Eliza Cantrell in 1835. Mrs. McLemore died in Nevada in 1876. Their children are: Lucinda wife of Almanza Merrill, who lives in Nevada; and Clarence, who resides with his family in California. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside Co Page 407]
David McMillan, of the firm of McMillan & Wylie, lumber dealers and merchants, at Tampico, was born Jan. 31, 1834, in Fayette Co., Pa. Thomas' McMillan, his father, was a native of the same State. He was a man of scholarly attainments and passed the years of his early business life in teaching. Later he became interested in farming. He was Commissioner of Fayette a number of years. He married Priscilla Arnold, the daughter of a farmer, and who was one of the earliest settlers of Western Pennsylvania, and belonged to the nationality known as English descent. The father died in Fayette County in 1853, and the mother died about ten years later. Mr. McMillan was the second oldest child in order of birth, and he had one brother and two sisters. His father died when he was about 18 years old. Previous to that time he attended the common school. Subsequently he took charge of the homestead, living with his mother until her death. After that event he came to Illinois, making his first location near Buda, Bureau County, settling on a farm of 200 acres. He continued its management for four years. He spent a year prospecting in various Western States for the purpose of selecting a suitable location, and finally bought 160 acres of land in Montgomery Co., Iowa, near the village of Red Oak. Later on he came to Whiteside County and entered into the business relations in which he has sinc& been interested. He is the owner of 160 acres of land in Tampico Township, which is under partial improvement. The firm owns a considerable amount of property in the village of Tampico. Their business covers the transactions common to trade in lumber, general merchandise, hardware, agricultural implements, coal, etc.
Mr. McMillan was married Oct. 21, 1879, in Lyndon, to Mollie Patterson. James and Mary Pannell Patterson, her parents, were natives of Pennsylvania, where they belonged to the agricultural class. They were early settlers in Lyndon and were connected with the pioneer history. Their farm was located in the vicinity of the village of Lyndon, where Mrs. McMillan was born. She was brought up and educated in the district schools and in the village schools at Lyndon. She became a teacher and followed that vocation for some years. Leroy and Clark are the names of the children of Mr. and Mrs. McMillan. The mother is a zealous member of the Congregational Church. [Contributed by Christine Walters, Whiteside County History 1880]
Of Genesee Township, Whiteside Co IL
James McMullen was born in Ireland. He came to Canada, and in 1837 settled in Genesee. He had a wife and 8 children. His wife died soon after his coming, and he sold out and returned to Canada. He married again, and after a number of years came back to Illinois, and settled in Carroll county. He is now living in Fulton, but has been an invalid for several years. He was an intelligent, enterprising man. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County IL 1877]
JOHN F. McNAUGHTON
Of Tampico, IL
John F. McNaughton, proprietor of the Tampico House, Tampico, was born in Hebron Township, Washington Co, N. Y., Jan. 17, 1838. John McNaughton, his father, was a teacher by profession, and married Betsy Whitney, who was born in Washington Co., N. Y. They went shortly afterward to Wayne County, in the Empire State, returning subsequently to Washington County. In 1855, the family came to Illinois, and located in the township of Portland, Whiteside County. In 1855, the family came to Illinois, and located in the township of Portland, Whiteside County. The father died in June, 1871. The death of the mother occurred Aug. 31, 1879, in Fairfield Township, Bureau county. Mr. McNaughton went with his parents to Wayne County when a mere child, and obtained a chief part of his education after they returned to Washington County. He lived with them until their death. He was married July 4, 1853, to Elizabeth, daughter of Thomas and Jane (White) Liddle. Her parents were born respectively in Scotland and Ireland. They came in early life to the United States, and were married in Argyle, Washington Co., N. Y. Mrs. McNaughton was born May 22, 1831, in the township of Salem, in the county named. She was brought up by her mother, her father having died when she was nine years of age. Her mother died some years later, at the home of her son in Washington County. On the event of his marriage, Mr. McNaughton located in the township of Ontario, Wayne County, where he was a citizen until 1855, when he removed with his family to Portland, Whiteside County. He occupied a farm in that township for 20 years, going from there to the town of Fairfield, Bureau County. In February, 18__, he came to Tampico and purchased the hotel property, of which he has since been manager. Two of the children that have added to the family are dead. Eva is the wife of George Seibel, and they live on a farm in Bureau County; Hattie married Frank Guy, and five months afterwards became a widow, her husband having been drowned in Rock River; Josephine, Maggie L. and Sarah E. live with their parents. Mrs. McNaughton is a member of the United Brethren Church.
Politically, Mr. McNaughton is a decided Republican, and has been Township Collector. [Portraits & Biographical Pg. 748 - Contributed by Marji Turner]
Of Coloma Twp., Whiteside Co IL
Quite a number of the leading and prominent citizens of Whiteside county were born on the other side of the Atlantic, and have transported to this land of fertility and plenty the thrifty habits of their native country. Among these none is better known or more widely respected than the gentleman whose name heads this sketch. His home is on section 27, Coloma township, where for many years he was actively engaged in farming, but is now living retired. Mr. McNeil was born in Paisley, Scotland, November 27, 1836, a son of Alexander and Janet (Mason) McNeil, also natives of that country. In 1849, with their family, they sailed for the United States, and arrived safely in New Orleans, but the mother was taken sick and died before reaching this county, being laid to rest in the cemetery at Albany, Illinois. The father, who was a machinist by trade, remained in Whiteside county for two years and then went to Chicago, where he worked at his trade until his death. In the family were five children, namely: (1.) Isabella is the widow of Burrell Stone, who was an extensive and prosperous farmer, and she now spends her summers in Rock Falls, Illinois, and the winter in Florida. She has four children living, Mary J., Mina, Jessie and George, and one deceased. (2.) Mary is the wife of Henry F. Batcheller, who was supervisor of Coloma township for twenty-five consecutive years, but is now living retired in Rock Falls, and they have three children; Imogene, wife of S. O. Roberson; Addison; and Mrs. Fay Roddemeyer. (3.) Robert, our subject, is the next of the family. (4.) Jane is wife of John A. Lyde, of St. Andrews Bay, Florida. (5.)George lives in Chicago, and is a machinist; has charge of R. F. Crane's machine shops.
Robert McNeil acquired his education in the schools of his native land, and after the emigration of the family to the new world, he began life for himself as a farm hand, being thus employed until able to purchase land. During his boyhood, he also engaged in teaming from that county to Chicago and Aurora, and drove cattle to market in the former city. From his wages, he at length saved one hundred dollars in gold, and with it purchased a tract of government land before he was twenty years of age. For a number of years he successfully engaged in general farming and stock raising, making a specialty of Durham cattle, and at one time owned two hundred and eighty acres of very valuable and productive land, one hundred and eighty acres of which he still owns.
In July, 1856, Mr. McNeil was united in marriage with Miss Jean Lyle, who was also born in Paisley, Scotland, January 22, 1839, and was one of a family of ten children. Her parents were James and Agnes (Allison) Lyle, who came to this country in 1843, and took up their residence at Buffalo Grove, Ogle county, Illinois, where the father followed farming, though in Scotland he was a manufacturer. Of the nine children born to our subject and his wife one died in infancy. The others are as follows: (1.) Alexander J., a hardware merchant of Rock Falls, is married and has one child, Jean E. (2.) Agnes is the wife of Jame... [History of Whiteside Co. Biographical Record 1908 Pg 480]
ROBERT McNEIL, a nephew of Mr. Mason, who has lived with him ever since his immigration to this country, in 1849, superintends the work of the farm. He was married July 4, 1856, to Miss Jean Tyle, of Ogle Co., Ill., but formerly from Scotland. They have been the parents of eight children : Alexander J., Agnes J., Willie E., John M., Jennie L., Georgiana M., Robert B. and Mary I. Mr. McNeil is a Democrat, and a member of the County Democratic Committee; also Chairman of the Town Central Committee. He holds the Presbyterian faith, and his wife and daughter belong to the Presbyterian Church at Sterling. Mr. McNeil was the first organizer of the Whiteside County Caledonian Club, consisting of 40 members, all of Scotch descent. They received a charter in 1878, and are still in existence. They have a library of 250 volumes, mostly of Scotch and English literature. [pg 351, Portrait and Biographical album of Whiteside County, Illinois...", 1885]
JOHN H. McNEILL
John H. McNeill, a successful coal and grain dealer of Erie, was born in Henry county, Illinois, December 17, 1860, a son of James and Eliza (Dingman) McNeill, the latter a native of Canada, and the former of Ireland. The parents removed to Illinois in an early day, first locating in Whiteside county, Illinois, while subsequently they took up their abode in Henry county, where James McNeil, surviving his wife, passed away in 1881. In the family of this worthy couple were three children: William O.; John H., of this review: and one who is deceased.
John H. McNeill pursued his education in the common schools, and remained with his father until the latter's death, when he started out in life for himself by renting a farm, continuing its cultivation for two years. On the expiration of that period he purchased and operated a hay-baler for fourteen years, being at the same time also engaged in the real-estate business. Subsequently he bought an elevator in Erie, and for the past thirteen years has been buying and shipping grain, also handling coal to some extent. In the conduct of his business interests he has met with a gratifying and well merited measure of prosperity, and is widely recognized as one of the successful business men and enterprising citizens of his community. He owns a half interest in two hundred acres of land on section 3, Erie township, and his property holdings also include two fine residences in Erie.
On the 3d of October, 1889, Mr. McNeill was united in marriage to Miss Dora Stiver, who was born in Bureau county, Illinois, in 1871, her parents still residing in Walnut, Bureau county, Illinois. She was one of a family of eight children and by her marriage has become the mother of five children: Mabel W., a public school graduate of the class of 1908; Roy A., who is attending college at Davenport, Iowa; Alston D. ; Leland S.; and Gwinavere Ellaine.
In his political views Mr. McNeill is a stanch adherent of the republican party, but without desire for office as a reward for party fealty. His fraternal relations connect him with the Odd Fellows Lodge, No. 890, and with the Knights of Pythias Lodge, No. 317, at Erie. His life has been one of continuous activity, in which has been accorded due recognition of labor and today he is numbered among the substantial citizens of his county. [History of Whiteside County by William W. Davis 1908]
William McNeill Jr., a farmer and stock-raiser, residing on Washington Street, Prophetstown, is a son of William, Sr. and Jane (Gillis) McNeill, and was born in Portland Twp., this county, Feb. 6, 1851. His father is a native of Ireland, as likewise is his mother, and both at present reside in Lamoille, Bureau Co. this State. Their family comprised six children, whose record is - James, deceased; Elizabeth the wife of Robert Dale, a farmer residing in Portland Township; Florence, single and resides at Lamoille; William; Margaret, deceased; John J. engaged in running a creamery at Lamoille. The parents came to this county in 1849, and located in Portland Township, where the father procured a farm consisting of 400 acres and resided there until 1883, when he sold the property and removed toLamoille, Bureau Co. IL. Mr. McNeill was united in marriage in Prophetstown Nov. 18, 1880 to Miss Pearlie Geer, a daughter of Lyman D. and Caroline D. Geer. She was born in Geneseo, Henry County, this state, Oct. 1, 1858. She is the owner of a farm comprising 600 acres in Yorktown Twp., Henry County, this State and mr. McNeill is engaged in stocking it with fine Short-Horn cattle. He expects to make a specialty of fine stock and will buy and sell considerable. In 1881 he started a creamery in Prophetstown and in the fall of 1882 he sold out and bought an interest in a creamery in Walnut, Bureau County, this State, with his brother John J. They afterwards purchased a creamery in Lamoille, and one at Sublette, Lee County, this State; and Mr. McNeill at present owns a one-fourth interest in the the three creameries. They manufacture annually about 500,000 pounds of butter and ship mostly to New York City. Mrs. McNeill's father resides in Prophetstown. [Portrait and Biographical Whiteside Co IL 1885 Pg 545]
Judge JAMES E. McPHERRAN
An enumeration of the men of Whiteside county whose record confers honor and dignity upon the community which has honored them would be incomplete were there failure to make prominent reference to Judge James Emmett McPherran, for no man of the county was ever more respected or ever more fully enjoyed the confidence of the people or more richly deserved the esteem in which he was held. In his lifetime his fellow citizens, recognizing his merit, rejoiced in his advancement, and since his death they have cherished his memory. Honorable in business, loyal in citizenship, charitable in thought, kindly in action and true to every trust confided to his care, his life was of the highest type of American manhood, and he left the impress of his individuality upon the laws of the state in their formation and in their execution.
Judge McPherran was a native of Huntingdon county, Pennsylvania, "born in 1834. He was a son of John and Elizabeth (Stewart) McPherran, a grandson of Andrew and Martha (Adams) McPherran and a great-grandson of John McPherran. The earliest representatives of the family in the new world came originally from the highlands of Scotland and had all the sterling traits of the Scotch people. Andrew McPherran served his country as a soldier in the Revolutionary war. He married Martha Adams, a cousin of the two presidents of that name. Her mother was a Sterling from the town of Sterling, Scotland. Andrew McPherran was one of three brothers, two stepbrothers and three sisters who came from Scotland to the new world and after aiding in winning independence for the colonies he settled at Racetown Branch in Huntingdon county. Pennsylvania. Two cousins of the name, John and William McPherran, also came to America with the brothers and sisters mentioned and settled at Baltimore, Maryland.
John McPherran, father of Judge McPherran, was a native of Pennsylvania, became an iron master and also operated a farm. He was a devoted member of the Presbyterian church, in which he served as elder, and he died when well advanced in years, having long survived his wife, who passed away in middle life. Of their children, only one, Stewart McPherran, of Kansas, is now living.
Judge McPherran acquired his early education in Pennsylvania and was graduated from Jefferson College, after which he made his way westward to Chicago and completed a course in the Chicago Law School in 1862. In the fall of that year he came to Sterling, where he opened an office and practiced as a member of the firm of Sackett, McPherran & Ward. After a short time, however, he withdrew from this association and continued alone in practice throughout the remainder of his long connection with the Whiteside county bar. As an attorney he ranked at the head of this bar, being widely recognized as a lawyer of more than ordinary ability. His success in a professional way afforded the best evidence of his power? He was a strong advocate with the jury and concise in his appeals before the court. Much of the success which attended him in his professional career was undoubtedly due to the fact that in no instance did he permit himself to go into court with a case unless he had absolute confidence in the justice of his client's cause. Basing his efforts on this principle, from which there are far too many lapses in professional ranks, it naturally followed that he seldom lost a case in whose support he was enlisted. For a number of years he served as master in chancery and was filling that position at the time of his death.
On the 20th of April, 1865. Judge McPherran was united in marriage to Miss Sarah A. Withrow, of Macomb, Illinois, a daughter of William E. and Harriet Eliza (Chase) Withrow. Her mother was a relative of Salmon P. Chase. Her father was a native of Lewisburg, Virginia, and a graduate of Yale College. He read law in the east and afterward came to Illinois, settling at Rushville in 1835. There he became acquainted with Miss Chase and they were married in 1839. His parents were James and Letitia (Edgar) Withrow, while his wife was a daughter of Moody and Lucy (Farnum) Chase. The former owned a large farm near Cornish, New Hampshire. He was a son of Moses Chase, who served as a private in Captain William Scott's company of Colonel Jonathan Chase's regiment in the Revolutionary war and who was a member of the house of representatives three times. He married Hannah Brown. William E. Withrow died in Sterling, November 15, 1886, at the age of seventy-seven years, while his wife died at the comparatively early age of thirty-three years. They had three children: Chase Withrow, now a prominent lawyer of Denver, Colorado; Mrs. McPherran; and Judge James Edgar Withrow, of St. Louis, Missouri, who has been on the bench for twenty years.
Four children were born unto Judge and Mrs. McPherran but the only daughter, Mabel, died in 1897 at the age of thirty-one years. Edgar Withrow, the eldest son, was admitted to the bar in both Michigan and Illinois and is now land commissioner for the Duluth; South Shore & Atlantic Railroad and lives at Marquette, Michigan. He married Miss Mabel Alice Wilkinson and they have two daughters, Elizabeth and Sarah. Ralph Stewart McPherran, the second son, pursued a course in chemistry and metallurgy and was graduated from the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor. After spending ten years with the Allis-Chalmers Company at Milwaukee, Wisconsin, he is now holding a position in the line of his profession with the J. 1. Case Threshing Machine Company, of Racine, Wisconsin. Charles Chase McPherran, the youngest son, is a chemist and metallurgist and succeeded his brother in the service of the Allis-Chalmers Company. He married Miss Fredericka Augusta Wholrab, a granddaughter of Colonel Lindwerm, an old resident of Milwaukee.
Judge McPherran, because of his long residence in Sterling and his active and honorable service in behalf of public interests, was one of the best known citizens here. He was made a Mason in Washington Lodge, No. 164, A. F. & A. M., at Washington, Pennsylvania, affiliated with Chartiers Lodge, No. 297, at Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, June 23, 1856, and joined Sterling Lodge, No. 202, June 21, 1862, while on the 6th of March, 1896, he became a member of Rock River Lodge, No. 612. He was exalted to the Royal Arch Degree of Sterling Chapter, No. 57, R. A. M., June 27, 1900, was created a Knight Templar in Sterling Commandery, No. 57, October 30, 1900 and was an exemplary member of the craft. He was long an earnest Christian man and prior to his death united with the Presbyterian church, of which Mrs. McPherran is also a member.
He possessed rather a retiring disposition but such was his genuine worth that the measure of respect and confidence accorded him was no limited One. He might have attained to distinguished honors in political and public life had he so desired. As it was, he was prominent in both state and municipal affairs and in 1873-4 represented his district in the Illinois assembly, becoming identified with some of the most important legislative measures enacted during that period, being the author of several bills which today occupy a place among the statutes of the state. Public spirited in an eminent degree, he was interested in all that pertained to local advancement and national progress and when called to positions of honor and trust discharged his duties with marked fidelity and promptness. He was especially interested in" the library of Sterling and to him, more than to any other citizen, the city is indebted for its present excellence. His home life was largely ideal and he found his greatest happiness in the quiet enjoyment of the companionship of his wife and children. He died December 11, 1903, at the age of sixty-nine years. Few lawyers have made a more lasting impression upon the bar of Whiteside county, both for legal ability of a high order and for the individuality of a personal character which impresses itself upon a community. He stood for high ideals, not only in the practice of law but in every walk of life, and while his retiring disposition limited in a way his circle of intimate friends, there were none who knew him that did not entertain for him the highest respect. [History of Whiteside County by William M. Davis, 1908]
OF Montmorency Township, Whiteside Co IL
Tyler McWhorter is a native of Metamora, Franklin county, Indiana, and came to Montmorency in April 1854, purchasing and settling upon lands which he now owns. His farm is one of the finest and best cultivated in the town, and is situated near the southeast corner. Mr. McWhorter early became one of the most energetic and public-spirited men in Montmorency, and has frequently been honored with public positions. From 1868 to 1874 he was Supervisor of the town, and before and since has held other town offices. So well and favorably had he become known throughout the county, and this Senatorial District, that he received the unanimous nomination at the hands of the Republican party in the fall of 1874, for Representative to the 39th General Assembly of the State, and was elected by a large majority. His course during his Legislative term was one which reflected great credit upon himself and his constituents, being marked with an earnest and intelligent devotion to the public interests of the District and the State. He was upon several of the more important committees of the House, and gave to the matters which came before them the careful consideration necessary to arrive at a proper conclusion as to their merits. As a farmer he has taken the deepest interest in all that pertains to the advancement of agriculture and stock raising, of which he is now reaping his reward. Stimulated by. his example, many other farmers have turned their attention to the improvement of their lands and stock. Such men are a benefit, not only to their immediate community, but to the country. [Bent & Wilson 1877]
TYLER McWHORTER, a prominent citizen and extensive agriculturist, resident on section 25, Montmorency Township, has been identified with the substantial prosperity of Whiteside County since the spring of 1856. He was born in 1825 in Metamora, Franklin Co., Ind., and is the oldest son of John and Mary (Lynn) McWhorter. His father was born in Pennsylvania and his mother was a native of West Virginia. After their marriage, they located in Franklin Co., md. They had ten children, whom they reared to mature years in Indiana, and they remained in that State as long as they lived. Until his removal to Whiteside County, Mr. McWhorter remained with his parents. On coming to Illinois he bought half of section 25 in Montmorency Township. His estate is considered one of the best in the county, and now includes 520 acres, situated in Whiteside and Lee Counties. AU the original acreage is under improvement and a portion of the remainder. From the outset, Mr. McWhorter has given intelligent attention to the improvement of stock, and the high rank of his township in that particular is proportionately due to his exertions. He owns on an average 80 head of cattle and 12 horses. He has been an important factor in the local government of his township, in which he has held many offices of trust. He has served as Supervisor nine years. His abilities and public spirit were duly recognized in the fall of 1874 by his nomination for Representative in the 29th Legislative Assembly of Illinois, in which he served one term, being elected by a large majority. The record of his services is characterized by the same disinterestedness and effort which have marked his life from a less public capacity. He is an uncompromising Republican. Mr. McWhorter was united in marriage to Rhoda A. Ward November 28, 1849 in Franklin Co Ind. and they are now the parents of seven children who were born in the following order; Mary M., Ellis, Anna, John E., William L., Louise and Leroy. The mother was born in Ohio. Mr. McWhorter is a Republican in political persuasion and he has been actively interested in school affairs. He has served as School Director fifteen years. [Whiteside County Portrait & Biographical 1885 Pg 531]
Hon. TYLER McWHORTER, coming to Whiteside county in pioneer days, was closely associated with its early development and later progress and left the impress of his individuality upon its growth and development. His labors were a beneficial factor in public life, not only in the material interests of the county but in its political progress as well, and he was honored by his fellow townsmen with election to the state legislature, where he represented his district most creditably. Mr. McWhorter was a native of Ohio, but was reared to manhood in Indiana, to which state he removed in his early boyhood with his parents, John and Mary (Lynn) McWhorter, the former a native of Pennsylvania and the latter of West Virginia. John McWhorter was a descendant of Thomas McWhorter, who came from Scotland before the French and Indian war and took up his abode in New Jersey. His children were Gilbert, Hugh and Mary, the last named becoming the wife of William Bucha'nan. Hugh McWhorter married Keziah Tyler and they had six children Thomas, Tyler, Betsey, James, Keziah and John. Of this family Tyler was the father of John McWhorter and the grandfather of our subject. He married and settled in Indiana, where was born unto him a son, John McWhorter, The last named, arriving at years of maturity, wedded Mary Lynn and their children were Lynn, Francis, Henry, Tyler, Keziah and Mary. Reared to manhood under the parental roof, Tyler McWhorter early became familiar with the experiences of pioneer life in Indiana, as he aided in the development of new land there and its further cultivation as it was transformed into productive fields. He had no special advantages in his youth; in fact, his opportunities were rather limited than otherwise. During his boyhood days he pursued his studies in a log schoolhouse in Indiana and his father, who was a teacher, assisted him in acquiring a good practical education.
He remained at home until his marriage, which was celebrated November 28, 1849, Miss Rhoda A. Ward becoming his wife. She was born near Cincinnati, Ohio, and is a daughter of Elias and Rhoda (Miller) Ward, who were natives of New Jersey. Her maternal grandfather was Major Luke Miller, who served with distinction in the Colonial army during the Revolutionary war. He spent his entire life in Madison, New Jersey, dying in the house in which he was born. He was a farmer and blacksmith by occupation and lived a life of industry. His family numbered two sons and six daughters. The paternal grandfather of Mrs. Rhoda A. McWhorter was Israel Ward, a native of New Jersey, who made farming his life work. In 1811, accompanied by his family, he removed to Hamilton county, Ohio, where he bought land for himself and his sons. He had a family of six sons and two daughters. His son, Elias Ward, the father of Mrs. McWhorter, was a soldier of the war of 1812 and for his services received a land warrant. For a number of years he followed the carriage-trimmer's trade in Cincinnati, but finally selling his farm in Ohio removed to Franklin county, Indiana, where he lived until a few years prior to his death. He then came to Whiteside county, Illinois, to make his home with Mr. and Mrs. MeWhorter and some of his other children and here died September 6, 1870. His family numbered twelve children and, with the exception of one who died in infancy, all reached years of maturity, were married and reared families of their own. Only two, however, are now living Mrs. McWhorter and Lewis B. Ward, who resides in Rock Falls, this county.
Following his marriage, Tyler McWhorter continued to reside in Indiana until 1854, when he started for Whiteside county, Illinois. He made the journey by team, bringing with him his household goods, after which he returned for his wife and three little children. This time they traveled by rail to Dixon and thence by team to Sterling. From that time forward until his death Tyler McWhorter was a prominent and influential citizen of this part of the state. The first farm he purchased comprised three hundred and twenty acres of land, which he bought from Jonathan Banes, who had secured it from the government. The purchase price was three dollars per acre. Not a furrow had been turned upon the place and the land was in the condition in which it came from the hand of nature. Mr. McWhorter first erected a small frame house, which is still standing and is yet in possession of the family. He performed the arduous task of developing new land and converting raw prairie into a cultivable farm and in the course of years, as the result of his indefatigable labor, he had one of the finest and best cultivated farms in his township, bringing his land under a high state of development and adding to it many modern improvements and equipments. All these, however, involved much earnest toil and conditions of life in the community afforded no such conveniences and advantages as are now to be obtained. The farm machinery was very crude and much of the labor now done by improved agricultural implements was then done by hand. His neighbors, too, were widely scattered. Only here and there had a settlement been made and many of the homes were built of logs. As a farmer Mr. McWhorter took a deep interest in all that pertained to the advancement of agricultural and stock-raising interests and, stimulated by his example and words of encouragement, many other farmers turned their attention to the improvement of their land and the advancement of their live-stock interests according to his methods. His labors were thus of direct benefit to his fellowmen. At one time he was the owner of five hundred and twenty acres in Montmorency township, while in Kossuth county, Iowa, he had six hundred and forty acres. He lived upon his farm in this county, however, until his death and was one of the most prominent agriculturists of northern Illinois.
Unto Mr. and Mrs. Tyler McWhorter were born four sons and three daughters Mary, now the wife of John Jamison, of Algona, Iowa; Ellis, who is living near Algona; Anna, the widow of Edgar Woods, of Montmorency township, Whiteside county; John E., of Burt, Iowa; William L., who is represented elsewhere in this volume; Charlotte L., the wife of Fred Buell, of Sheridan, Wyoming; and LeRoy S., who makes his home near Burt, Iowa.
Mr. McWhorter through the period of his residence in this county was recognized as a mos'c public-spirited man and was frequently honored with positions of public trust and responsibility. From 1868 until 1874 he served as supervisor of the town and both prior and subsequent to that period he held other offices. In. the fall of 1874 he received the unanimous nomination of the republicans for the position of representative in the twenty-ninth general assembly and such was his personal popularity and the confidence reposed in him that he was elected by a large majority. He served on several of the more important committees of the house and gave to the matters which came before the assembly the careful consideration necessary to arrive at a proper conclusion as to their merits. He was an earnest working member of the house and was connected with considerable important constructive legislation. In community affairs he took a helpful part and his influence and aid were always given on the side of reform, progress and advancement, while his many good qualities made him one of the foremost citizens of the county. He was instrumental in securing one of the first schools in Montmorency township and served as school director for fifteen years, the cause of education receiving from him tangible aid. He was a recognized leader in the local ranks of the party and became a leading and active member of the Methodist Episcopal church. His death occurred on the 5th of May, 1889, when he was sixty-four years of age, and his wife, who survives him, has been a resident of Sterling since 1890.
Though nineteen years have come and gone since Tyler McWhorter passed from the scene of earthly activities the influence of his life and labors has not ceased to be felt. His example was well worthy of emulation and the character of his work made him a citizen whom to know was to respect and honor. He lived to witness the transformation wrought in this county and was an active factor in the work of improvement as it was carried forward. His own life was at all times characterized by an orderly progression, and the motives which guided his conduct gained for him an unsullied reputation. [Whiteside County History - by William W. Davis 1908]
A life of industry, diligence and well directed effort has been crowned with success that enables William L. McWhorter to put aside business cares and enjoy an honorable retirement fro labor. He now resides at No. 801 E Second Street in Sterling and is numbered among the native sons of the county, his birth having occurred in Montmorency township, August 12. 1860. He is one of the seven children of Hon. Tyler and Rhoda A. (Ward) McWhorter, of whom extended mention is made elsewhere in this volume.
William L. McWhorter was reared upon his father's farm in Montmorency township and attended the district schools, while later he was a pupil in the Sterling Business College. He then returned to the farm and after his father's death he carred on the farm for a fewyears. He then bought what was known as the Frank Utley farm of two hundred and sixty=one acres, living upon it until the spring of 1902, when he reetned the farm and removed to Sterling, where he has since lived retired. His rest is well merited because his life has been active andhis energy and diligence constitute the basis of his success.
On the the 12th of March, 1890, Mr. McWhorter was married to Miss Arebelia M. Beale, a daughter of Jacob M. and Margaret (Sturtz) Beale. The paternal grandfather was Nicholas Beale, a native of Pennsylvania; who wedded May Hardin and followed the occupation of farming as a life work. He died when past middle life, having reared a large family. The maternal grandfather of Mrs. McWhorter was John Sturtz, a native of Pennsylvania and a farmer by occupation. He married Rebecca Beale, who survived her husband for several yars and lived to an advanced age. The parents of Mrs. McWhorter were natives of Somerset county, Pennsylvania. The father was a farmer during the greater par t of his life and afterward conducted a general store near Ursina in Somerset county, Pennylvania. He was a soldier of the Civil war, surving throughout the period of hostilities. He died in Ohio at forty-nine years of age. They were Lutheran in religious faith. In their family were two sons and five daughters, as folllows: Calvin L.; Charles H.; Mary J., the wife of Thomas Costello; Elizabeth, the wife of William Martz; Martha L. wife of Charles L. Walker; Arabella, the wife of William L. McWhorter; Amanda L. who died at th age of two years. Calvin was killed in a railroad accident when not quite twenty-one years of age.
Unto Mr. and Mrs. McWhorter were born three children: Margaret L, Pauline and Alden Lynn. Of these Pauline died at the age of six months and Alden L. at the age of thirteen months. The parents are members of St. John's Luteran church and Mr. McWhorter belongs to the Modern Woodmen of America. His political allegiance is given to the republicn party and wherever he sees an opportunity to advance community interests or to promote the general welfare he eagerly embraces it. In his business career he has so labored as to win gratifying success and is thus enabled to spend the evening of life in well earned retirement from further labor. [Transcribed by Christine Walters; Source: History Whiteside County IL. From Its Earliest Settlement to 1908; By William W. Davis M.A. The Pioneer Publishing Co.]
BACK -- HOME
© Copyright Genealogy Trails