HENRY BRIGGS SAMPSON
OF Hopkins Twp
Henry Briggs Sampson was born at Duxbury, Massachusetts, July 15, 1787, and was a descendant of Henry Sampson who came to Plymouth with the little band of Puritans in the Mayflower, in 1620. On the 20th of September, 1812, he married Miss Nancy Turner, at Marshfield, Massachusetts, a daughter of Col. Wm. Turner, of Scituate, Massachusetts, who was also of Puritan descent.
Mr. Sampson emigrated to Tremont, Illinois, in 1836, and from there to Como in 1839, where he died December 31, 1865. Mrs. Sampson was born at Scituate, Massachusetts, May 8, 1787, and died at Como, November 8, 1862. Their children were: Frances E., born January 8,1814, who married Winfield S. Wilkinson, November 18, 1841; children, Mary C., Alfred E., Henry B., and Frank, the latter dying in infancy. Ann R, born March 22, 1817; married Henry A. Sumwalt, October 31, 1837; Mr. Sumwalt died in Pike county, Illinois , about twelve years ago, and Mrs. Sumwalt in Sterling, September 3, 1876. Henry R., born September 6, 1819; married Miss Emma Dickinson, September 28,1858; one child, Kate P. Julia G., born June 16, 1825; married Charles N. Russell, December 25, 1851; children, Annie F., Charles T., and John N., who died in infancy. Georgiana S., born February 1, 1829; married Charles P. Mallett, January 26, 1847; children, Edward, died in infancy, Ellen ., Arthur F., died in infancy, and Charles P. Jr. Florence H., born April 2, 1832; married Edwin C. Whitman, October 5, 1855; children, Elizabeth M., Marcus Carrie B., Henry B., and Edwin D. Albert S., born October 1, 1834; married Miss Lucetta Cook, December 15,1858; children, Albert H., Mary E., Frank C., and Alice T.
Betsy S. (Winsor) Sampson was born at Duxbury, Massachusetts, February, 1768, and came to Como with her sons in 1839. She was the oldest person in the colony, and died October 5, 1854.
Briggs Sampson was born in Massachusetts in 1787 and he was descended from Henry Sampson, who came to America on the Mayflower in 1620. Sampson's mother was the daughter of Col. William Turner of Massachusetts who served in the American Revolution.
Sampson migrated to Tremont IL in 1836 and from there to Como in 1839. Sampson pursued a sea-faring life for some years and was known as Capt. Briggs Sampson. While master of his brig "Sampson" owned in a partnership with his father, Sampson met a vessel at sea one day, and as was the custom, the two shipmasters held a friendly parley.
"What brig is that?" inquired the stranger.
"Brig Sampson" was the reply
"What is her captain's name?"
"Briggs Sampson" was the answer
This response seeming identical with the former question was repeated, "What is her captain's name?" and the name was returned as before, Briggs Sampson. The misunderstanding continued and the question was asked for a third, and then a fourth time.. "What is the Captain's name?" And the reply was the same each time, "Briggs Sampson".
The vessels separated. The other captain highly displeased on not receiving a civil answer to his question and with Capt. Briggs resolved then to eliminate such a misunderstanding in the future by prefixing "Henry" to his name. He was known afterwards as Henry Briggs Sampson. Under this name he came to Illinois.
When Hopkins Township was organized he was the first town clerk and the first justice of the peace. He died in 1865.
His daughter, Julia T. married Charles N. Russell, for many years a merchant in Sterling. Her daughter, Miss Annie Russell, lived for many years on Second Avenue in Sterling. [The Daily Gazette July 1, 1976]
HENRY ROLLINS SAMPSON
Of Morrison, IL
Henry Rollins Sampson, Mayor of Morrison, is a descendant of one of the company of devoted pilgrims who came to Massachusetts in the Mayflower, in 1620. He is descended from a later generation, which included the children of Miles Standish and John Alden and Priscilla Mullins, who intermarried. Henry Sampson, his first recorded ancestor, was a child when he came to Plymouth, and was a member of the family of his uncle, Edward Tilley. This fact became known through the record made by Governor Bradford himself, and which was not discovered until 236 years afterward. Governor Bradford speaks of "the youth, Henery Samson," which accounts for the absence of his name from the compact which was made in the cabin of the Mayflower, and also shows that its original orthography omitted the letter "p" which was incorporated therein by subsequent generations. The lines of descent are remarkably well defined, and in but one single instance are clouded by lack of direct evidence. This, however, is obviated by accumulation of negative testimony to an extent that substantiates the unbroken lineage. Henry Sampson married Ann Plummer, and they became the parents of 10 children. His youngest son, Caleb, married Mercy Standish, the granddaughter of Captain Miles Standish, and the daughter of Alexander Standish, who married Sarah Alden, daughter of John Alden and Priscilla Mullens, whose courtship is the subject of one of the sweetest poems in the English language. David, eldest son of Caleb and Mercy Sampson, was born in Duxbury, and married Mary Chaffin. Chapin, their youngest son, was born in Marshfield, Sept. 21, 1735, and married Elizabeth Clift. He was a shipmaster, and is the first of the family on record as following a seafaring life. Job Sampson, his son, was born in Duxbury, Sept. 19, 1766, and married Betsey Winsor. They had four children, three sons and a daughter. Henry Briggs, the eldest child, was born July 14, 1787, and married Nancy Turner, who was born in Scituate, Mass May 8, 1787. They had eight children. Francis E. is the wife of W. S. Wilkinson, one of the most prominent citizens of Morrison, and now living there in retirement. Ann B. is deceased. Henry Rollins was born Sept. 6, 1819 in Duxbury, Mass. John T. is deceased. Julia T. is the wife of Charles N. Russell, a retired merchant at Sterling. Georgiana married Charles P. Malett, son of Colonel Mallett, of New York, and grandson of James Fenner, Governor of Rhode Island. They are living at Joplin, Mo. Florence H. married E. H. Whitman, a farmer near Como, Whiteside County. Albert S. is a merchant at Sterling. Henry Briggs Sampson also became a shipmaster, and after following a seafaring life some years, was associated with his brother in a mercantile enterprise for a few years, after which he removed with his family to Gardner, Maine, and resumed his former position as a captain in the merchant service. Two years later, in 1836, he came West to Tremont, ILL, whence he came, about 1839, to Hopkins Township, and was one of the earliest settlers on the present site of Como. His mother was the oldest of the colony who located there, and died at Como, Oct, 5, 1854. The senior Sampson located on a farm, where he kept a hotel for the accommodation of the many travelers and prospectors in the county. He died at Como Dec. 31, 1865.
Mr. Sampson is the third child of his parents, and remained under their authority until he was 15 years of age. He obtained a good, practical education at the academies at Duxbury, Mass. and Gardner, Maine, and, possessing a reflective temperament was at an early age the master of the limited curriculum of the schools of the period. In 1835 he obtained a clerkship in Boston, and later entered a large shipping establishment in the same city general assistant, where he was employed several years. He came to Morrison in 1858 and entered upon the duties of the position of deputy-clerk, under brother-in-law, W. S. Wilkinson. He was reappointed and served an aggregate of eight years. In 1865, in partnership with Col. D. R. Clendel, he embarked in a mercantile enterprise, which relation was in existence about one year. In 1872, associated with A. W. Warren, he opened an abstract office at Morrison, and they operated in partnership until July, 1882. Soon after the termination of their relations, Mr. Sampson formed his present business association with his nephew, Henry B. Wilkinson, and they are the owners of the only set abstracts of Whiteside County. They are also transacting a popular and profitable business in real estate and loans.
Mr. Sampson has been an active and useful citizen. of Whiteside County since the beginning of his residence therein. In 1861 he was elected Town Clerk and served three successive terms. In 1861 he elected to his first term as Supervisor of Mt. Pleasant Township, and has since been re-elected until the aggregate period of his official terms in that capacity is eight years. He was a member of the State Board of Equalization about two years, and has officiated six years as Councilman of Morrison. Among other important services which he has rendered was that of Chairman of the Water Works Committee, in which he accomplished a permanent benefit to the city of Morrison. At the point where the water works are now located there was a seemingly exhaustless natural spring, and it was in his opinion a desirable local for the purpose. He proved the value of his judgment by experiment, sinking a well of sufficient dimensions to thoroughly test its capacity. The necessary excavation led through the soil to bedrock, on which the foundation of the masonry was placed; and in this a basin has been blasted, into which the water flows through interstices in the rock and of remarkable purity. He superintended the construction of the works until their completion, and they form one of the attractions of Morrison, as well as one of the most valuable acquisitions of the place.
Mr. Sampson was elected Mayor of Morrison, April 21,1885, receiving an unanimous vote.
His marriage to Emma L. Dickinson took place at Boston, Sept. 27, 1858. Kate Power Sampson, their only child, was born in July, 1859. She died suddenly of heart disease March 27, 1878, going from life before a taint of worldliness had touched her glad young spirit and while existence was in its silvery bloom of hope and joy. She is "Safe from all sin and all sorrow, And safe from the worlds luring strife." Mr. and Mrs. Sampson are members of the Universalist Church.
His character is plainly apparent from the data given of his course of life since he became a citizen of Morrison. His entire record is one of probity, integrity and ability, the quality of his judgment and mental balance rendering him an efficient factor in all public enterprises. [Portraits & Biographical Whiteside County IL 1885]
Of Hopkins Twp
William Sampson was born at Duxbury, Massachusetts, May 21 1792 and came to Como in 1839. In 1815 he married Miss Caroline Sprague. The children of this marriage were: Caroline A., born March 6, 1817; .William Henry born June 18, 1819; Marla Louisa, born April 15, 1825; Virginia, born July 15, 1827; Marietta, born November 5, 1829; Josephine, born May 24, 1832; Frederick A., born December 19, 1835; Elizabeth J., born August 3, 1838. These children were born in Duxbury, Massachusetts. Two children were also born in Tremont, Illinois, but died in infancy. Caroline A. married Capt. Simeon Sampson, and resides in East Boston; children, Walter S., Lucy S., and George. William Henry married Miss Caroline E. Hopkins, and resides in Chicago, Illinois; children, J. Clifford, and Charles. Virginia married William Henry Guernsey, and resides in Minnesota; children, Flora, Edward, Josephine, and William. Frederick A. married Miss Eliza Farr, and resides in Chicago, Illinois. Maria Louisa married Amos C. Merrill, and resides in Sterling; children, Charles R. died September 5, 1850; Frederick A., Edward E., William R., Clifford S., Clara A., and Amos C., Jr. Mr. Sampson died in Chicago, in 1851, and Mrs. Sampson in the same city, September 28, 1877, at the age of 83 years.
WILLIAM A. SANBORN
Of Sterling Township, Whiteside Co IL
William A. Sanborn is a native of Perrysburgh, Cattaraugus county, New York, and was born January 13, 1832. He resided in his native State unÂtil the spring of 1852, when he came to Chicago, but remained there only a short time, and then returned to New York. In the fall of 1853 he again came to Illinois, and located at LaSalle. During the following spring he went to Chicago, and in November, 1854, came to Sterling in the employ of the contractors who had the completion of the railroad in charge. Soon after settling in Sterling he engaged in the coal, and agricultural implement trade, and was also express agent, holding the latter position until 1858. In 1860 he established a private banking house, which he conducted until 1870, when, through his influence, the First National Bank of Sterling was chartered and commenced business. He was chosen its first cashier, and has held the position ever since. When Sterling became a city Mr. Sanborn was elected its first Treasurer, and held the office for a number of years. In 1877, he was elected Supervisor of Sterling township, and is a leading member of the Board. He is an able financier, and has done much in other business capacities to add to the development of Sterling. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County]
The name of WILLIAM A. SANBORN was an honored one in business circles in Sterlng. Through the force of his character, his strong purpose and laudable ambition he gradually worked his way upward until for some years prior to his death he was cashier of the First National Bank. His birth occurred in Cattaraugus county, New York, January 13, 1832, his parents being Joseph and Anna (BLAISDELL) SANBORN, also natives of the Empire state. Following the death of the father, the mother came to the west at an early day and lived with her brother, who had preceded her to Polo, Illinois. There she passed away when well advanced in age. William A. SANBORN was reared in Cattaraugus county and acquired a common-school education but early started out in life on his own account. He was but twelve years of age when he began to earn his own living and in his youth and early manhood he followed various pursuits, scorning no employnent that would yield him an honest living. The rapidly growing west with its broader opportunities attracted him and in 1854 he came to Illinois, where he had charge of a construction gang on the Northwester Railroad, which was then being built. He was also in charge of a force of workmen on the hydraulic power on the dam across Rock rive at Sterling. Subsequently he became agent for the American Express Company at Sterling and occupied the position for a number of years, also acting as agent for the McCormick agricultural implements. He likewise conducted a coal business and through thee various undertakings he accumulated capital sufficient to enable him to establish a private banking business on Depot street. There, in August, 1864, his safe was broken open and robbed. He afterward removed his business to the present site of the First National Bank, where then stood a one-story brick building. The express office was conducted in the rear end of the building. When the First National Bank was organized Mr. Sanborn became one of its stockholders and in fact was largely instrumental in forming the company that resulted in the establishment of the business. From the beginning he served as cashier and so continued up to the time of his death, which occurred October 24, 1901, when he had reached the age of sixty-nine years and nine months. In all his business relations he was found reliable and trustworthy as well as energetic and determined, and his example may well serve as a stimulus and an encouragement to others.
Mr. SANBORN was married to Miss Helen McCUNE, a daughter of William McCUNE. They became the parents of a son and two daughters: John SANBORN; Anne, now deceased; and Helen, who died at the age of three years. The son, John SANBORN, was born and reared in Sterling, attended the public schools and was graduated from the noted Philips Exeter Academy at Exeter, New Hampshire. He then turned his attention to the stock business and engaged in the breeding and raising of horses, in which he continued with his father until the latter’s death. He has since lived retired, giving his supervision to his invested interests. He is now a director in the First National Bank and has other income property Mrs. SANBORN was reared in the faith of the Episcopal church. She was a lady of many excellent traits of character, devoted to the welfare of her husband and children, while in friendship she was ever loyal. She died in 1871 at the age of thirty-three years. Mr. SANBORN survived for three decades. In his death Sterling lost one of its representative and honored citizens. He served as mayor of the city for one term, was supervisor for a number of years and a member of the school board for about forty years. In all his relations to the public he was found a faithful official, placing the general good before personal aggrandizement and the public welfare before parisianship. His business interests were of a nature that contributed largely to the up building and commercial progress of the city. Aside from his banking interest he was for a number of years president of the Sterling Hydraulic Company, acting in that capacity up to the time of his death. He was likewise president of the Sterling Gas and Electric Light Works and in business was notably prompt, energetic and reliable. He formed his plans readily and was determined in their execution, yet in manner he was quiet and reserved rather than aggressive. He commanded respect because his strong qualities stood the test of time and of friendship. He was a member of the Masonic fraternity and in his life exemplified the sterling principles of the craft. While his somewhat reticent manner in a degree limited the number of his friends those who came within the closer circle of all who knew him respected him for what he accomplished and for the principles which guided him in every relation of life. [William Davis - History of Whiteside County, 1885]
JEROME E SANDS
OF Lyndon Twp, Whiteside Co IL
Jerome E. Sands, a farmer in Lyndon Township, residing on section 12, was born December 23, 1830, in Hornby, Steuben Co., N. Y. He is the second child and oldest son of John P. and Candace (Gaylord) Sands. When he was 14, his parents removed to Whiteside County, and he remained with them during his minority. At 21, he entered the employment of Marcus Sperry, a merchant in Lyndon, with whom he remained most of the time for three years.
He was married Aug. 23, 1854, to Violetta A., daughter of Reuel and Sally Lathe. About the same time he bought 120 acres of unimproved land on section 12, township 20, range 5, which is now the township of Lyndon. He built a house 14 X 22 feet on the ground with 10-foot joists, in which his family lived until 1876, when they took possession of the new dwelling which they have since occupied. In 1879 Mr. Sands built his fine large barn, and all the buildings on the place are of a valuable, convenient and well-arranged class. The estate of Mr. Sands now includes 400 acres of land, which exhibits the possibilities of Illinois farms under judicious management. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Sands are three in number, and are named Frank E., who was born April 6, 1856; Fred L., born Nov. 18, 1860; and Ella J., born June 13,1869. The mother died Nov. 16, 1881. [Portrait and Biographical Album of Whiteside County, Illinois, Chapman Brothers Publishing Co., Chicago, 1885., Page 431]
JOHN P SANDS
Of Lyndon Twp
John P Sands, deceased, formerly a resident on section 7, Lyndon Township, was born Aug. 15, 1803, in Westchester Co., N Y, and was the son of Jesse and Mary (Pardee) Sands, natives respectively of New York and Connecticut. The family removed to Yates County, in the same State, in 1819, whence they went, two years later, to Hornby, Steuben County. Mr. Sands was married in Hornby, June 8, 1825, to Candace Gaylord. Following is the record of their children: Ezra, the fourth son, was born March 9, 1839, in Yates Co., N.Y.; he was six years of age when his parents removed to Whiteside County, where he grew to manhood; he was 22 when the Civil War made it necessary for the Nation to demand aid of her strong sons, and he enlisted under the second call for troops, enrolling in August, 1861, in the Eighth Ill. Cav., Co. C. he was killed Oct. 11, 1863, in a skirmish at Raccoon Ford, Rapidan River, Va.; his command had been with the Army of the Potomac from the date of taking the field, and had participated in much service; he held the rank of Corporal; Pamela, the oldest daughter, was born Feb. 4, 1828, in Hornby, and was married April 4, 1849, to Jabez Lathe; she died Sept. 1, 1854, of cholera; Mary Jane, born March 18, 1836, was married Dec.15, 1853, to Jonathan Remington. He was born in Pennsylvania, and located in Lyndon in 1845; he died of cholera, Aug. 28, 1854. Five children survive: Lydia was born Nov. 29, 1833; Charles G., Nov.29, 1845, and Marcus A., Aug. 7, 1848. The mother was born April 8, 1809, in Plymouth, Litchfield Co., Conn., and is the daughter of Marcus and Lydia (Pond) Gaylord. Her parents were born in Plymouth, and in 1826 went to Hornby, Steuben Co., N. Y., where they died. In 1830 John P. Sands moved to Yates County from Steuben, and there lived until 1842, when he returned to Hornby. In May 1845, he started for Illinois, in the common way of traveling, with a wagon to convey family and household goods, and a span of horses. At Buffalo they embarked on a steamer, proceeding to Chicago, where they resumed their journey under the same circumstances as they left their home.
Mr. Sands made a claim on section 7, of township 20, range 5 east, which was in its original prairie condition. He built a log cabin, 14 x 16 feet in size, which the parents and eight children lived in three years, when they moved to a new frame house better adapted to their changing and improving circumstances. Mr. Sands improved his farm according to the usual methods, and it was his home during the remainder of his life - a period of almost 40 years. He died June 11, 1883. Mrs. Sands is still a resident on the homestead, and is 76 years of age. [Portrait and Biographical Album of Whiteside County, Illinois, Chapman Brothers Publishing Co., Chicago, 1885., Page 474]
Of Jordan Township
Vernon Sanford is a pioneer of Jordan Township of 1836, and after nearly 50 years with the devopment of WHiteside County, is living in retirement on his farm on section 1 of the township where he settled in its earliest period. He was born April 4, 1810 in the townshp of Middletown, Delaware Co., NY. Cyrenius Sanford, his father, was born in Connecticut of New England parentage and married Anna Hubbell. Both were of pure Yankee lineage. They were married in Conn. and went to Delaware Co NY where they remained until 1834, the date of their coming to Ogle Co. IL where they were among the earliest settlers.
Mr. Sanford is the sixth of his parents children , and he lived at home until he ws married. Catherine Campbell became his wife Sept. 7, 1834. She was born Nov. 18, 1815, in Dutchess Co NY and is the daughter of Henry and Rachel (Martin) Campbell. Her parents were natives of the State of NY and were farmers. They moved to Delaware County, where her father died. Her mother afterwards came to Ogle Co IL where she spent the closing years of her life.
Mr. and Mrs. Sanford located on Section 1, Jordan Township, Nov. 8, 1836. They came direct from the town of Middletown, Delaware Co NY. They bought 320 acres of land, chiefly located on Section 1. They lived at first in a pioneer's cabin, built of logs in primitive style which they abandoned in a very few years to take possession of the first frame house built in the township, erected by the proprietor. The entire property of Mr. Sanford is under improvement, including 204 acres which he owns in Jordan Township and 101 in Ogle County.
In 1848 the ancient village of Sanfordville, which was named for Mr. Sanford, was laid out, but is now in decay. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Sanford - Mary Jane born Feb. 5, 1837, and married Edwin Wolcot Dec. 13, 1854. She died March 25, 1861. Nancy was born April 15, 1839, and was married Oct. 22, 1857 to Gilbert Finkle. Rachel A. was born Oct. 12, 1852 and died Dc. 4, 1855. Mrs. Sanford belongs to the Baptist Church. Mr. Sanford is a Democrat in political faith. Probably the familiar features of no pioneer of the county will be more welcomed within this Album by the people of Whiteside County than those of this venerable man. [Portrait and Biographical Whiteside Co IL 1885 Pg 459]
GEORGE S. SARDAM
Secretary of the Langford & Hall Lumber Company, at Fulton, was born in Litchfield Co., Conn., Sept. 5, 1854, and is the son of Chapman and Pamelia (Joyce) Sardam. His parents also were natives of that State. He removed to Jefferson Co., N. Y., with his family in 1862. He was educated in the city schools of Watertown, and graduated at the High School of that city in 1870. He taught school in Jefferson County two years, and in 1873 went to Lyons, Iowa, with his uncle, Mr. D. Joyce, a lumberman of that city. He was employed one year as talleyman in his uncles mill, when he removed to Fulton and engaged as book-keeper and salesman for the lumber firm of Langford & Hall; On the incorporation of the Langford & Hill Lumber Company (Jan. 26, 1875), he became a stockholder, was chosen a member of the Board of Directors and elected Secretary of the Company. He has been re-elected Secretary at each succeeding election of officers to this date (1885), and has discharged the responsible duties of the office with ability and fidelity. The magnitude of the business which passes through his hands may be inferred from the following: The Langford & Hall Lumber Company has a paid up capital of $75,000, employs in the working season about 130 men, while the mill has a cutting capacity of 75,000 feet per day of ten hours. The stock on hand averages about 7,000,000 feet, estimated at a value of $100,000.
Mr. Sardam was married at Fulton, Ill., Oct. 25, 1875 to Miss Anna Berry, daughter of Michael and Mary Berry. Mrs. Sardam was born in Minnesota. They have two children, - a son and daughter, - Frank J. and Bertha E. In politics, Mr. S. is a Republican, having always voted with that party. [Transcribed by Christine Walters - Portraits and Biographical 1885]
Daniel Schryver, liveryman at Erie, is a son of Abraham and Charity Schryver, and was born in Monroe Co., N. Y., April 21, 1833. His parents were natives of New York, and died in Illinois. The issue of their union was five children, of whom three are living: Sally A., widow of Nevatus Webster, deceased, formerly a farmer near Polo, Ill.; Joseph A., a farmer near Marysville, Kan.; and Daniel.
Daniel's mother died when he was six years old, and he remained with his father until he attained the age of 13 years, when he left home and went to Galena, IL., where he remained about three months and then went to New Orleans. He was only about three months at the latter place, and went thence to Columbus, Ky., where he was engaged in driving stage to Mayfield for about six months. In 1851 he came to Erie and drove stage between Erie and Port Byron two years. He was then, in 1853, united in marriage with Miss Lennora, daughter of Joseph and Orpha Atwood. She was born in Vermont, Dec. 31, 1835, and bore him nine children, five of whom survive: Herman is a farmer in Erie Township. Libbie is the wife of Lemuel Cane, a barber in Nebraska. Horace is at home. Lucy is the wife of Marsh Bade, a resident of Montana, and Lena is at home. The deceased were Luella, Homer, Harry and Lorena. After his marriage Mr. Schryvcr purchased 80 acres of land one and one-half miles south of Erie, and also tented the S. L. Wilder tract, embracing 3,000 acres. He herds cattle on the rented land, and farms a portion of it.
Mr. Schryver enlisted in Co. I, 75th Ill. Vol. Inf., in 1862, as private and served three years. He was in a number of engagements, prominent among which were Perryville, Nashville, Murfreesboro, Stone River, Atlanta, Chattanooga, Lookout Mountain, Mission Ridge, Jonesboro, Pulaski, Tenn., and a second time at Nashville, besides numerous skirmishes, and escaped the perils of war without any serious injury.
Returning from the war he turned his attention to farming and herding. He now has the 3,000 acres under fence, still owns the 80 acres he originally purchased, and has since purchased 120 acres. He also owns his residence and lot in Erie. In December, 1882, he moved to Erie, and in the fall of 1884 purchased the livery stable at that place. He keeps eight horses and six carriages. Mr. Schryver is a member of the Masonic Order, and of the Modern-Woodmen of America. He is also Constable. [Transcribed by Christine Walters - Portraits and Biographical 1885]
Henry E. Schutt, general farmer, on section 16, Hume Township, was born Oct. 30, 1831, in Ulster Co., N. Y. Stephen Schutt his father, was a native of the same State where he was a farmer, and was extensive engaged in lumbering: he married Margaret Bois. Mr. Schutt lived with his parents until he was 26 years of age, when he became a bargeman on the Hudson River, and ran the "Morning Star" for three years. He then engaged in the management of a grist-mill at Eddiesville, on the Hudson, in which he was occupied one year. He spent the year following on the river, in his former capacity, with another company. He went next to Steuben Co N. Y., where he engaged in running a grist, saw and shingle mill in company with a brother. They conducted their joint business six years. Mr. Schutt was married Oct. 5, 1863, in Caton, Steuben County, to Catherine VanDemark. She was born in 1838, and reared in Ulster County, and died at her home in Hume Township, April 9, 1873. She was the mother of two children, one of whom died in infancy. Julian resides at home.
Mr. Schutt was married a second time Oct. 30, 1873, in Jordan Township, to Mrs. Sarah C. (Merricks) Ripley. She was born in Penn Co., Va., and is the daughter or Edward Merricks, also a native of Virginia. Mrs. Schutt's birth took place May 17, 1827, and came when 13 years old to Morrow Co., Ohio. Her marriage to Charles B. Ripley took place June 22, 1848. He was a native of Owego, "N. Y., where he was reared to manhood. He went thence successively to Pennsylvania, Kentucky and Ohio, and some years later, after marriage, came to Whiteside County, settling in Jordan Township, where he died in January, 1864, leaving his wife with five children: Eliza E., John, Henry, Pomeroy and Francis: the latter is deceased.
In April, 1869 Mr. Schutt came to Hume Township, and settled on a farm of 80 acres, which he managed until 1881. In that year he sold out and went to Sauk Co., Iowa. He remained there two years, again sold out and returned to Hume Township. He purchased 223 acres of land on sections 14, 15 and 16, perfectly improved and supplied with good buildings.
Mr. Schutt is a Republican in political faith, and is serving a term as Justice of the Peace. He has held several other official positions. [Transcribed by Christine Walters - Portrait & Biographical 1885]
Edward Scotchbrook is a farmer of Mr. Pleasant Township, resident on section 31. He is a citizen of the United Sates by adoption, having been born Dec. 8, 1827, in Lincolnshire, England, where he grew to manhood and was engaged in farming until 1851, when he emigrated to the United States. He first located in Tompkins Co., N. Y. In July, 1852, he came to Whiteside County, and in the autumn following he bought 40 acres of land in Fenton Township. He obtained employment as a farm assistant in Lyndon Township, where he worked by the month until the spring of 1854, when he rented the farm known as the Gibbs place, which he managed a year. He then bought 100 acres of land in the township of Prophetstown, where he was engaged in agriculture two years. In 1856 he exchanged his property for another farm in the same township, on which he was the resident proprietor eight years. In 1864 he sold the place and bought the Patterson farm near the village of Lyndon, which he held eight years. In 1872 he sold it and bought 294 acres in Mt. Pleasant Township, which is situated on sections 31 and 32. On this place he established his homestead. The entire acreage is practically under tillage, and the proprietor stocks his place on an average with 75 head of cattle and eight horses, and he fattens about 50 hogs annually.
Politically, Mr. Scotchbrook has been an adherent of the Republican party since he became in fact a citizen of the United States until the spring of 1884, when he joined the ranks of the independents.
The parents of Mr. Scotchbrook, John and Charlotte (Taylor) Scotchbrook, came from Lincolnshire, England, to the United States in 1853. They located in Whiteside County, where they both died. The date of the decease of the former was in July, 1872. The latter died May 6, 1882. They had three children, -- Mary A., Edward and Elizabeth.
Mr. Scotchbrook was married in Lyndon Township, March 27, 1854, to Mary A. Pope. Of their union five children have been born, -- Mary E., George P., Willard A., John T. and Sadie E. The mother was born Dec. 25, 1830, in Lincolnshire, England. Her parents, Abraham and Sarah Crampton Pope, were natives of the English shire where their daughter was born, and whence they emigrated to the United States in 1853. They came to Whiteside County and located in the township of Lyndon. In 1874 they made another removal, to the western borders of the continent, to Vancouver’s Island. The mother died there, Dec. 11, 1878. Their children were named Mary A., Betsey, Thomas, Sarah, Louisa, Eliza, Emma and Aaron. [Contributed by Marji Turner - Portraits & Biographical]
GEORGE P. SCOTCHBROOK
George P. Scotchbrook is one of the leading business men and honored citizens of Wessington, Beadle county, where he has for many years operated a grain elevator and been successfully engaged in the buying and shipping of wheat and other products. Mr. Scotchbrook is one of the many loyal citizens contributed by the state of Illinois to our great and prosperous commonwealth. He was born in Whiteside county, that state, on the 25th of August, 1857, and is a son of Edward and Mary A. (Pope) Scotchbrook, of whose five children four are living. The father of the subject was numbered among the pioneers of Illinois, whither he removed in 1854, and his active life was devoted primarily to farming and stock raising. His wife died in Illinois in 1890 George P. Scotchbrook secured his early education in the public schools of his native state, and in 1879 was matriculated in the State University of Illinois, at Champaign, where he completed the engineering course and was graduated as a member of the class of 1883, receiving the degree of Bachelor of Science. Before and after leaving college the subject became identified with the practical work of civil engineering, in connection with the government survey of the Mississippi river, and he was thus engaged until 1884, in September of which year he came to Wessington, South Dakota, where he engaged in the grain business, operating an elevator at this point in 1884 for G. W. Van Dusen & Company, and now having the best of facilities for the carrying on of his large and important enterprise, while he is known as a progressive and reliable business man, commanding the high regard of all who know him. He is a staunch Republican in his political proclivities, fraternally is affiliated with the Ancient Order of United Workmen, and both he and his wife are active and valued members of the Presbyterian church in their home town. On the 9th of June, 1887, was solemnized the marriage of Mr. Scotchbrook to Miss Nettie Barden, who was reared in Wellington, Ohio, being a daughter of George L. and Charlotte (Young) Barden. Of this union have been born two children, Francis Willard and Carl Edward, both of whom remain at the parental home. [Contributed by Bill Lappenbush from the History of South Dakota 1904]
Of Montmorency Township
Asa Scott was born in Center township, Morgan county, Ohio, on the 26th of January 1817, and came to Como, Whiteside county, on the 1st of June, 1839, making most of the way on the Ohio, Mississippi, and Rock rivers in a boat propelled by horse power. He remained in Como until 1847, when he purchased a farm in the present township of Montmorency, where he now lives.
Mr. Scott was married to Miss Elizabeth Taylor on the 22nd of February, 1838. Mrs. Scott is a native of Washington county, Ohio, and was born on the 3rd of August, 1820. Mr. and Mrs. Scott have been blessed with sixteen children, eight sons and eight daughters, thirteen of whom are living, and, as the happy father expresses it, all healthy, and not a cripple in the number. The following are the names of the children, with the date of their birth, etc. Jesse W. born November 16, 1838, now a resident of Montmorency; Mary T.,born October 4, 1842, now the wife of Geo. C. Calkins, and lives in Adams county, Iowa; Elknah B., born December 7, 1843, and died November 17, 1863 - he was a member of the 75th Illinois Volunteers, and was severely injured at the battle of Perryville, Kentucky; Eleanor, born July 3, 1845, now Mrs. Narry, and living at Vinton, Iowa; James M., born January 22, 1847, teaching at Grand Junction, Iowa; Addie, born August 6, 1848, now Mrs. Wood, and living in Crawford county, Iowa; Frances L., born May 11, 1850, now Mrs. Maskell and living in Hume township; Anna born November 21, 1851, now Mrs. Cain and living in Ida county, Iowa; Desdemona, born December 28, 1853, now Mrs. Mitchell, and living in Yorktown, Bureau county, Illinois; John, born April 9, 1855, died February 26, 1856; Asa, born September 20, 1856, and living in Montmorency; Delia, born May 4, 1859, living at home; Carrie, born May 12, 1861, living at home; Eugene, born December 20, 1862, died April 7, 1863; Philip S. and Sherman, twins, born April 12, 1865, living at home.
This long list shows Mr. Scott to be the patriarch of the township of Montmorency beyond the possibility of a doubt. Mr. Scott relates many incidents and experiences of his pioneer life, such as hauling grain to Chicago with ox teams, and the expedients to which early settlers resorted to obtain the necessaries of life. It was his custom to go each year at the proper season to Deer Grove to shoot deer, which were more plentiful there then than cattle are now. At these excursions he would kill all the deer the family wanted for a meat supply, and all the skins needed to make breeches and coats. In October of each year he would gather wild honey, and kill raccoon enough for oil, and furs for caps. He represents the happiest days of his life to have been when he followed five or six yoke of big oxen, hitched to a plow with a beam ten feet long and six by eight inches square-having trucks at the front end to govern it, breaking up prairie. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County 1877]
The first settler in Montmorency Township was ASA SCOTT and, for nearly five years, he and his family were the only residents in the township. Before that time he lived in Hopkins Township. Mr. and Mrs. Scott were the parents of 16 children. He utilized both wild and tame products in taking care of his family. He went once a year to Deer Grove in Hahnaman Township to hunt deer. He obtained all the venison the family could eat and skins to make coats and breeches. He gathered wild honey. He killed raccoons for oil and for skins to make caps.
Asa Scott enjoyed the pioneer way of life. He claimed in later years that he was happiest when he was breaking the prairie. He was what would be called in later years a "big-time operator" as he attacked the tough sod with an outfit of five or six yoke of oxen hitched to a plow with a beam ten feet long and six by eight inches in dimension. It was said that there were trucks at the front end to guide it and they may have been blocks through which ropes were threaded.
Much of the township's early history was about the Scott family. The first child born in Montmorency was a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Asa Scott. Her name was Addie B. and her birthdate was August 6, 1848. The first marriage vows were exchanged by Miss Mary T. Scott and George C. Calkins. The first death was that of John Scott on February 26, 1856. He was a son of Mr. and Mrs. Asa Scott and was less than one year old when he died. [Excerpt from A History of Whiteside County by Wayne Bastian 1968 Pg. 302]
Of Montmorency Township
Edwin Scott is a representative and prosperous farmer on section 18, Montmorency Township. He was born in Morgan Co., Ohio, Jan. 7, 1828, and brought up a farmer by his parents, Barney and Clarissa (Davis) Scolt. His father also was a native of Ohio, and his mother of the State of Maine; and they had nine children, - Alvin F., Hannah, Edwin (the subject of this sketch), Freeman, Merrill, Alfred, Jesse, Bernard and Addison. Their parents died in Ohio,
Mr. Scott remained at the parental home until 23 years of age, attending school and following agricultural pursuits. In 1850 he struck out into the clashing world for himself, going first to New Orleans, where, however, he remained but a short time. While there, on the eighth day of January, he saw ice, which was frozen there by the low temperature of the atmosphere, a rare occurrence in that latitude. He came to this county in 1851, first settling in Hopkins Township, at Como, where he was a resident two years. He then removed to Montmorency Township, where he purchased 40 acres on section 18, his present residence. This place has been his home ever since he first located upon it, with the exception of three years, which he spent in Rock Falls. He built a hewed-log house on his 40 acres in 1854, and moved into it, it being the first house south of the old Dixon road, or the "Lone Tree." Looking from his door south, east, or west, as far as the eye could see, there was nothing in sight but the vast prairie or the tops of the trees of the Green River timber. He dug a well, which was the crystal fountain for many, since the travel from New Bedford and vicinity passed his door. In 1858, seven families took all the water they used from this well. The settlers as they came found board and lodging with him while they built houses for themselves. Many a weary traveler has rejoiced to find this cabin, sometimes nearly frozen, sometimes lost in the darkness, and was made welcome to the comforts of the little home. Mr. Scott now owns 200 acres, all subdued to cultivation and in good agricultural condition. Mr. Scott has exhibited a high degree of industry and good judgment, and by honorable dealing and economy he has. succeeded in establishing a comfortable home. Officially, he has been honored by his fellow citizens with the public positions of School Director, Overseer of Highways, etc. In respect to national issues he endorses the principles of the Republican party.
March 4, 1851, is the date of Mr. Scott's marriage, in Como, Hopkins Township, to Miss E. Mary, daughter of Jesse and Anna (Sherman) Scott. Her parents, natives respectively of Pennsylvania and Ohio, came from the latter named State to this county in 1839, settling in Como, where they passed the remainder of their days. They had 13 children, namely: Asa, Jane, Josiah, David, Hiram, Adrial, Joel, John, E. Mary (Mrs. Scott), Maria E., Ca.roline A., Annis and Emeline. Mrs. Scott was born in Morgan Co., Ohio, June 4, 1829, and has seven children, namely: Clifton, Charles Ennis, Herschel, Fred L., Eva, Albert E. and Jessie. Mr. Scott's second son, Charles Ennis, married Miss Chattie White, of Morgan Co., Ohio, in 1876, he having formed her acquaintance while coming home from the Centennial. In 1881, his eldest son, Clifton, married Miss Elizabeth Albertson, of Orange Co. Ind., he being at that time Principal of the Orleans High School. In 1885, his third son, Herschel, who had just returned from two years of travel, married Miss Annie May, of this county, and is residing with his parents at the present time. [1885 Portrait and Biographical of Whiteside Co Pg 517]
JESSE W. SCOTT
Of Hopkins Township, Whiteside Co IL
Jesse Scott was born July 24, 1790, in Luzerne county, Pennsylvania and in 1802 came with his parents as far west as Morgan county, Ohio, where he lived until March, 1839, when he started for Illinois, by the way of the Ohio and Mississippi rivers, in a one hundred ton keel boat, propelled by horse power. On this boat he built a cabin 16 by 16 feet in size, and divided into two rooms in which the family lived, and the goods were stored during the journey. Upon reaching Rock river he turned his boat into that stream and followed it upwards until he reached Como, where he landed June 1, 1839. At that point he made a settlement, and has resided there ever since, a space of over thirty~six years. On New Year's day, 1815, Mr. Scott married Miss Anna Sherman. Their children have been: Asa, born January 26, 1817; Jane, born March 5,1818 Josiah, born May 18, 1819; David, born December 6,1820; Hiram B., born January 6, 1822; Adrial, born November 30, 1823; Joel S., born September 30, 1825. John, born May 26, 1827; Mary E., born June 4, 1829; Maria, born February 14, 1831; Caroline A., born August 8, 1832; Annis E., born February 22, 1834 and Emeline, born January 7, 1842. Of these children, Emeline died May 6, 1845; Annis E. September 12, 1845; Hiram, June 21,1850, and Joel S. November 8, 1855. Asa married Miss Elizabeth Taylor. The names of their children are given in the biographical sketch of Mr. Scott which will be found in the history of Montmorency township. Jane married Isaac H. Brittell; children, Almona, Charlotte, Orange, and Claudius. Josiah married Miss Harriet J. Coryell; the biographical sketch of Mr. Josiah Scott, giving names of children, will be found in the history of Hume township. David married Miss Louisa Stone; children, Eoline, Gertrude, Luther, Winfield, Theodore, Otho, Devrose, and Willie. Adrial married Miss Mary Sloan; children, Orson, Joel who died in infancy, Willie, Eddy and Ida. Joel S. married Miss Polly Stillian, by whom he had one child, Esther; Mrs. Scott died, and Mr. Scott married a second wife, the children by this marriage being John, Marion, Jane, Shereer, Alice, Annis, Amy, Oscar, and Addison and Eliza - twins, the latter dying in infancy. Mary E., married Edward Scott; children, Clifford, Eunice, Hershel, Frederick, Eva, Albert, and Jessie; Frederick died at the age of fifteen. Maria married Lewis A. Davis; children, Edgar, Evamalia, Jane, Lizzie, and Bertha. Lizzie died in infancy. Caroline married Alphonso Brooks; children, Augusta, Romanzo, and Elthier. Mr. Scott is now eighty-seven years of age, and in many respects has lived an eventful life. His fund of anecdotes and reminiscences of pioneer life is inexhaustible, and their relation in his peculiar manner highly interesting. Mr. Scott made trading trips with his boat for several years after he came to Como. The boat, with its motive power, was a curiosity, and caused universal surprise wherever it made its appearance. He is probably the only man who ever did, or ever will, succeed in propelling a heavy boat against the strong current of the Mississippi river, by horse power; Mrs. Scott died in Como in 1876. [Bent-Wilson History of Whiteside County]
JOHN E. SCOTT
Of Hopkins Twp.
John E. Scott, retired farmer, resided at Como, has lived in Hopkins Township since his boyhood, having come to "Whiteside County in 1839 with his parents. Jesse Scott, his father, was fitted by nature and habit for a pioneer. Energetic, persistent, sagacious and intrepid, he found himself cramped for opporunity and he decided to transfer his relations to Illinois, flowery tales of whose prairies and agricultural promise had filled the East. In March, 1839, he set out on a boat which was propelled by horse power, and on which he traveled to his point of destination on the Ohio, Mississippi and Rock Rivers. The unique craft was of 100 tons burden, and on it he constructed a shelter for his family and household goods. He landed June 1, 1839 at Como, where he fixed his location and resided during the remainder of his life. He was a man of most genial character, and through the 40 years of his life in Hopkins Township he was held in general esteem. No other instance is on record of a boat being propelled against the strong current of the Mississippi River by horse power, and it was an object of great interest when plying on the rivers on the trading expeditions, of which its owner made severa1. Mr. Scott died March 13, 1879.
His marriage to Annah D. Sherman took place Jan. 1, 1815, and they had 13 children. Mrs. Scott was born in Ohio and was kin to the family from which the distinguished General and Senator Sherman descended. Jesse Scott was born July 24, 1790 in Luzerne Co., Pa. He was 12 years of age when his father went to Morgan Co., Ohio, and he lived there until his removal to Illinois, as stated. He was nearly 89 years old at the time of his death.
His son who is the subject of this personal relation, was born May 26, 1828, in Morgan Co., Ohio, and is the eighth child of his parents. The entire number lived to mature life and were born in the following order: Asa, Jane D., Josiah S., David, Hiram B., Adrial, Joel S., John E., Mary E, Maria A., Caroline A., Annis E. and Emmeline.
Mr. Scott received a common-school education and led an active life in Hopkins Townsllip until 1882, when he rented his farm and removed to Como. He is the proprietor of 197 acres of land on section 15.
His marriage to Mary J. Shereer occurred Nov. 4, 1852, in Hopkins Township. She is the daughter of John E. and Mary M. (Cochrane) Shereer, and her parents were born in Scotland. They emigrated in early life to Canada, where they were married. They came thence to Will Co., Ill., where they resided until they died. Mrs. Scott is their only child, and she was born in Kingston, Ont., Oct. 26, 1832. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Scott are five in number, Annis C., Annah A. and Ann E. (twins), Amy A. and Oscar H. In political opinion and acts, Mr. Scott affiliates with the Republican party.[Portraits & Biographical Pg 786]
Jesse W. Scott, a farmer on section 7, Montmorency Township, is a son of Asa and Elizabeth (Taylor) Scott, natives of Ohio who settled in Hopkins Township, this county, as early as 1839, and afterward moved to Montmorency Township, where they resided the remainder of their lives, he dying May 17, 1883, and she March 19, 1884. They had 16 children, namely: Jesse W., Mary T., Elkanah B., Ellen, James, Ada B., Francis, Anna, Asa, Jr., Desdemona, John, Dolly, Eugene, Carrie, Frederick S. and Philip S., the last two are twins.
Mr. Scott was born in Morgan Co., Ohio, Nov. 16, 1839, and ever since he was old enough to labor he has been engaged in agricultural pursuits, and has resided in this county ever since he was three and a half years old, with the exception of six months spent in Missouri. His school education was such as usual in the common schools of his boyhood days.
He was first married March 13, 1863, in Como, Hopkins Township, to Sarah Z. Scott, daughter of Solomon W. and Hannah (Davis) Scott, natives of Ohio. Mrs. S. had one child, Ida M., and died May 1, 1867, in Missouri. Mr. Scott was again married, in Sterling, Ill., Sept. 22, 1869, to Charlotte A., daughter of Solon and Charlotte (Smith) Stevens, who were natives of Pennsylvania. They had seven children, Charlotte A., Martha, Anna C, John, Etta M., Emma A. and Susan. Mrs. Scott was born in the Keystone State and she and her husband are the parents of Ernest, Charlie P., Goldie G., Wayne E. and Pearlie. The first named died in infancy. Mr. Scott is now the owner of 240 acres of land, all but 20 of which are in cultivation. He is a Republican in his political views, and has held the offices of Collector six consecutive years, Road Commissioner four years, Overseer of Highways several years, etc. [Transcribed by Christine Walters - Portraits and Biographical 1885]
JOHN M. SCOTT
Of Lyndon Township
John M. Scott was born in Greensboro, Vermont, in 1798, and came to Lyndon in the summer of 1838. In 1819 he married Miss Chloe Wood, who was born in 1796, in Orleans county, Vermont. The following have been their children: Elizabeth, Edward Payson, Finette, and Mary T.
Elizabeth married Gaius Howard, June 3, 1846, and died at LaSalle, Illinois, in 1856. Her remains were interred at Lyndon. Finette graduated at Dr. Thrall's Medical College, in New York, and practiced medicine at Waterbury, Connecticut, for a time, and about 1858 married Dr. Thomas T. Seeyle, brother of Prof. Seeyle, formerly member of Congress from Massachusetts. They have since resided at Cleveland, Ohio, and conduct a large water cure establishment at that city. Mary T. has been a successful teacher at Fulton, Sterling, and other points in this county, and for the past six years has been a teacher in the Morrison public schools. Edward P. became a thoroughly educated gentleman, graduating with high honors at Knox College, Galesburg, Illinois, and at the Hamilton Theological Seminary, New York. Upon leaving the latter institution he was ordained as a minister in the Baptist denomination, and sent as a missionary to Assam, India, where he remained six years. At the end of that time, owing to the failing health of his wife, he got leave of absence and returned home, staying, however, only a year, and then went back, and died at his post, May 18, 1869, of Asiatic cholera. John M. Scott has resided with his daughter, Mrs. Seeyle, at Cleveland, Ohio, for a number of years. Mrs. Scott died in September, 1850.[Bent & Wilson History 1877]
OF Hume Township
Josiah Scott is a native of Ohio, and was born May 18, 1819. He came to Whiteside county, with his father's family, in June, 1839. On the 13th of March, 1846, he married Miss Harriet J. Coryell. The children by this marriage have been: Walter H., born December 24, 1847; Edwin D., born November 15, 1849; Celestia L., born July 8, 1853; Hiram B., born November 15, 1855; Eliza J., born May 10, 1857; Franklin C., born February 27, 1858; Alice A., born February 17, 1860; Jesse T., born January 12, 1862; Orange M., born July 31, 1863; Bertha L., born May 26, 1867; Hattie A., born October 24, 1869. Two children died in infancy. Walter H. married Miss Gertrude Wilcox; one child, George. Celestia L. married William E. Richardson; children, Charles and Bessie. Eliza J. married George E. Baker; children, Frederick, and Ida. Edwin D. and Hiram B. are teachers. Mr. Scott owns a farm of two hundred and eighty acres on section twelve. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 240]
WALTER H. SCOTT
Walter H. Scott, of Hume Township, represents a pioneer name which is connected with the days of first things in Whiteside County. Josiah Scott, his father, was born May 18, 1819, in Ohio, and he came to Whiteside County in 1839. He was married March 13, 1846, to Harriet J. Coryell, and they have 12 children, of whom two died in infancy. Mr. Scott Sr., became the owner of a valuable farm on section 12, and attained prominence in the agricultural development of the township. He is now living in retirement at Rock Falls.
Mr. Scott was born in Delaware County, Ohio, in 1847. He was two years of age when his parents removed to Hume Township. He obtained all the education possible from the facilities afforded by the public schools of the period. When he was 18 years old he entered college at Adrian, Mich., where he was a student nearly four years in the classical course. On his return to Whiteside County he engaged in teaching. He went, in the spring of 1873, to Macon Co., Mo., where he engaged as a teacher in the winter season, and during the remainder of the year managed a steam grist and saw mill. After a residence there of nearly n years, he returned to Hume Township, where he assumed control of the homestead estate, on section 12, in which he has since been engaged. In his professional relations he attained gratifying prominence. In his political belief and connections he is a Republican. He has officiated to a considerable extent in local affairs, and is Township Clerk, and also Clerk of the Hoard of School Directors in his district. He was married in Allegan, Mich., to Mary G. Wilcox, and they have had four children: George D., Edith, Harriet and Hiram G. Mrs. Scott was born May 21, 1849, in Blissfield, Lenawee Co., Mich., where her parents were prominent farmers. She was educated at Adrian. [Transcribed by Christine Walters, Whiteside County History 1885 Portraits and Biographical]
OF Genesee Township
Edward Scoville, the father of James, came to Genesee Grove in 1843.His wife's maiden names was Susan Case. Children: Paulina, Augustine, Hiram, Sanford, James, Stephen, Susan, Edward, Alexander, Sprague and Jane. All the sons are dead except James and Alexander. The daughters are all living. The father and mother both died in Illinois. Sanford Scoville settled in Genesee Grove in 1844, and died in 1874 from injuries received by being thrown from a wagon. He left a wife and one child; his daughter married Alexander Calkins. Steven Scoville died about 20 years ago, leaving a wife and 6 children. Alexander Scoville is now living at Rock Falls. Sprague Scoville died about 30 years ago at Genesee Grove, he was not married. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County, Page 224]
OF Genesee Township
James Scoville was born February 21, 1810 in Washington county New york. He traveled on foot from home to Erie, Pennsylvania, then again on foot across Michigan to Chicago and then to Milwaukee in November 1834. At that time there were no bridges, and he was compelled to wade or swim all the streams. He had left his family in New York while he was seeking work. He was employed by Junot & Rogers, at Milwaukee, in the lumber business, at $25.00 per month. When he was through with his work at his place, he walked all the way back to New York. Mr. Scoville was married November 15 1832. Children: Ira, born May 24, 1834; Mattie, born March 12 1836; Amelia, born March 12 1838; Mary E born December 17 1841; Sarah born November 29 1843; Paulina born January 20 1845; James born March 30 1848; Ettie born April 12 1850; Emma born January 17 1852 and Ella born December 12 1855. Mr Scoville made no claim on Government lands, but bought a timber lot from Wm . Wick, built a cabin on a prairie lot in October 1839 and moved his family into it in November He also held the claim of the grove northeast of Genesee, which was then called Sight Grove, afterwards Prospect Grove. When he settled in Genesee Grove his entire worldly possessions consisted of a span of horses and a wagon. The provisions for his family and the feed for is horses had to be brought from Warren county, one hundred miles south, for the first year's supply. In the second year the products of the farm were sufficient. His first house was a log cabin 18 x 20 feet, all in one room, and was used as a kitchen, dining room, parlor, sleeping room, granary, harness room and wood house. In addition to all this, his cabin was the stopping place for all strangers who passed that way. Mr. Scoville and his wife are now far down the sunset side of life, and have secured not only the necessaries, but also many of the luxuries of life. They are among the solid people of Whiteside County. [Extracted from Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 223-224]
JAMES SCOVILLE, deceased, was one of the prominent pioneers and representative citizens of Whiteside county, whose last days were spent in retirement in Sterling. He was born in Washington county, New York February 21 1810 a son of Edward and Susan (Case) Scoville, also natives of that state. The father followed the occupation of farming in New York until 1841 when he came to Whiteside county, Illinois, and took up a tract of one hundred and twenty acres of government land in Genesee township, upon which he made his home until his death. He died, however, in Pike county, Illinois, in 1859 being taken ill while visiting there and never recovering. His wife had died a few years previously. They were the parents of nine children, Paulina, Sanford, James, Stephen, Alexander, Sprague, Angeline, Susan and Mary Jane, all of whom lived to maturity, married and reared families with the exception of Sprague, who died at about the age of eighteen years.
The subject of this sketch attended the common schools of his native state, and as soon as old enough to be of any assistance he commenced to aid in the work of the farm. On the 11 th of November, 1832 he was united in marriage with Miss Elizabeth Hills, who was born in Oneida county, New York January 24, 1813 a daughter of Ira and Sarah Jane (Hurlburt) Hills, both natives of Connecticut. In early life her father followed the cooper's trade, but on his arrival to New York turned his attention to farming. He became a resident of that state a few years prior to her birth, and when she was four years old he moved to Pennsylvania, purchasing land in Erie county, where his death occurred. He was a prosperous and successful man and was highly respected by all who knew him. He was an officer (captain) in the war of 1813 and his services received a land warrant, with which he secured land in Ohio, but never located thereon. His wife survived him about twenty years and died at the home of a son in Galesburg, Illinois. In their family were eleven children, of whom seven reached man and womanhood, namely: Nelson, Riley, Lester, Cynthia, Elizabeth, Sarah and Mary Ann. Mrs. Scoville is now the only one of this family living.
After his marriage Mr Scoville and his wife located in Erie county, Pennsylvania, where he purchased land from the government and engaged in farming until 1839 when he started overland in a prairie schooner for Illinois. After twenty-one days spent upon the road he arrived in Galesburg, where he remained two months and then came to Whiteside county, locating in Genesee township on the line between Whiteside and Carroll counties. Here he took up two hundred acres of wild land and from the unbroken prairie he developed a fine farm, which he placed under a high state of cultivation. His first home here was a rude log cabin of two rooms, which were utilized as sitting room, parlor, kitchen and bed room for two years, when a more commodious and better residence was erected. This was the home of Mr. Scoville and his wife until they left the farm and moved to a place near Coleta, where he had purchased two hundred acres. He finally retired from farming in 1 88 1 and took up his residence in Sterling, where he died January 29 1884 honored and respected by all who knew him. His widow now makes her home with her daughter, Mrs Olmsted, in Milledgeville, Illinois.
To them were born ten children, as follows: Ira, a resident of Grundy county, Iowa, married Mary J. Bushnell and has six children; Mittie, a resident of Sterling, is the widow of Edward Millard and has four children; Amelia married Benton Harris, who died leaving four children, and she is now the wife of Peter Dull, of Milledgeville; Mary is the wife of John P. Bull, of Genesee township, and they have four children; Sarah is the wife of H. T. Healy, of Carroll county, and they have twelve children; Paulina is the wife of Elhanan C. Winters, of Rock Falls, whose sketch is given elsewhere in this work; James died at the age of four years; Etta is the wife of Charles Olmsted of Milledgeville, and they have two children; Emma married William Calkins, of Milledgeville, and died at the age of thirty-one years, leaving two children; and Ella is the wife of Colonel Bushman, of Genesee township, and the) have nine children.
In his political affiliations, Mr. Scoville was a strong Republican, and he served as school trustee in his district for many years. He was a prominent and influential member of the Methodist Episcopal church, tool; an active part in all church work and served as steward and class leader the greater part of the time. He was very charitable and benevolent, always willing to lend a helping hand to the poor and needy, and gave to the support of any religious body. [The Biographical Record of Whiteside County, Illinois]
SEAVEY, John Franklin
Formerly actively connected with the agricultural life of Whiteside county, is now practically living retired on his valuable property comprising one hundred and sixty-five acres, situated on section 8, Mount Pleasant township. He is a native son of Illinois, his birth having occurred in Lee county, October 23, 1842. His parents, Jesse and Sarah J. (Norris) Seavey, were both natives of New Hampshire, the former born August 11, 1810, and the latter March 11, 1812. On his removal to the west. Jesse Seavey located first in Whiteside county and worked on the old Jacobstown mill for Jonathan Haynes. In 1840 he settled in Lee county. where he was engaged in farming, owning nearly four hundred acres of land. The father, who was familiarly called “Squire" Seavey, passed away November 25, 1862, while the wife and mother survived for many years, her death occurring in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, April 18, 1905, when she had reached the very advanced age of ninety-three years, being at the time of her death the oldest member of the Woman's Relief Corps of the state of Illinois. Her remains were interred in Palmyra cemetery in Lee county.
The family of this worthy couple numbered nine children, namely: Charles H., a resident of Hoopeston, Illinois, who was a member of the Sixty- ninth Illinois Regiment in the Civil war; Harriet A., the deceased wife of John Stager, of Dixon, her death occurring in California; George E., who passed away in Whiteside county in the year 1905; John F., of this review; Jefferson, who also served in the Civil war as a member of the Seventy-fifth Illinois Regiment, and who is now deceased; Josephine, who became the wife of Lewis Whipple and passed away more than twenty-five years ago; Abbie M., the wife of Joseph Renchin, a resident of Cedar Rapids, Iowa: Sarah J., the wife of John Fornof, former editor of the Streator Free Press and now postmaster of that city, by whom she has six children; and Luella, who died at the age of seven years.
John F. Seaver was reared in Lee county and acquired his education in the common schools. During the period of his boyhood and youth he assisted his father in the work of the home farm and remained under the parental roof until he had reached the age of twenty-five years, when he started out upon an independent business venture, choosing, however, the work to which he had been reared. For one year he followed farming in Carroll county, after which he went to Madison county, Iowa, where he purchased a farm which lie operated for a like period. He believed, however, that his native state offered better advantages and accordingly returned to Whiteside county and purchased land in Mount Pleasant township, this constituting a portion of his present home place, which now embraces one hundred and sixty-five acre.-. He has made many improvements on his place, including good farms and outbuildings, so that he now has a valuable property. Locating on this farm in February, 1870, he was for many years thereafter actively engaged in general agricultural pursuits and in later years raised considerable stock. He is now practically living retired, the actual work of the farm being conducted by a son-in-law, Albert Hills.
Mr. Seavey served as a member of the Civil war, enlisting in Lee county as a member of Company I, Fifteenth Illinois Infantry. He had twice previously attempted to join the army, but was restrained from doing so on account of his youth. Another important event in his life occurred when in 1867 he was married to Miss Phoebe Dodd, who was born in Ohio, April 1, 1847. Mrs. Seavey was a little maiden of nine years when she accompanied her parents, Josephus and Sarah (Rines) Dodd, to this state, and five years later, in 1861, the family home was established in Whiteside county, where the daughter gave her hand in marriage to Mr. Seavey. Their marriage has been blessed with two daughters, but both are now deceased. The elder, Sarah Ann, died in 1870, in infancy. Lillie L.. the younger daughter, born in 1874, was married in 1804 to Albert Bills, by whom she had one son, John H., now eleven years of age. Mrs. Bills passed away January 1, 1006, at the early age of thirty-one years. Mr. Bills and his son reside with Mr. and Mrs. Seavey and he is managing the farm for Mr. Seavey. Mr. Seavey has always given stanch support to the men and measures of the republican party, but has always declined to accept public office, preferring to give his entire time and attention to his private business affairs. Mrs. Seavey is a member of the Woman's Relief Corps at Morrison, to which her daughter also belonged. Mr. Seavey and his estimable wife are highly respected in the community where they have so long made their home and their friends are numbered by the score. From the History of Whiteside County - Wm. Davis 1908
ALEXANDER J. SEELY
OF Portland Township, Whiteside Co IL
Alexander J. Seely came to Portland with his brother Norman. He worked at his trade, that of blacksmithing, until November, 1838, when he got into a difficulty with an Indian, and the latter was. killed. He secreted himself in cornfields for a time, and finally succeeded in leaving the country. He went to Texas, was in the war with Mexico, and was taken a prisoner and probably killed. He married Philene Blackmore. Their children were Jennette and Robette, who are now married and living in Michigan. Mrs. Seely afterward married Chauncey Van Duzen. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 350]
ANDREW J. SEELY
OF Portland Township, Whiteside Co IL
Andrew J. Seely, a farmer on section 1, Portland Township, is a son of Col. Ebenezer and Dolly Seely, and waa born in Cattaraugua Co., N. Y., Jan. 26, 1832. In June, 1836, the family emigrated to this county, locating in Portland, where Andrew J. has since resided. When 23 years of age he left the homestead and went to Sterling, forming a partnership with Romanzo Ramnnay, a brother-in-law, and starting the first furniture store and lumber-yard in than place; but a few months afterward his partner died, in July, 1855. Then, in company with his brother Martin, Mr. Seely opened a hardware, grocery and tin shop in Portland village, under the firm name of A. J. & M. V. Seely. After continuing this about 18 months they closed the boniness and rented the homestead, consisting of 250 acres, for two years, when the subject of this sketch removed to Prophetstown, opened the first livery stable in that place, and conducted it two years. He then returned to the homestead for a year, and next went to Pike's Peak, Col., and foIlowed mining for seven months, and was also barber, blacksmith and road-grader, assisting in grading the road to Gold Hill; he returned in the fall.
In January 1861, he opened the first livery stable in the village of Erie; remained there five months; thence went to Portland Township again, purchasing 40 acres of the homestead and 10 acres adjoining, to which he has since added until he now has an aggregate of 200 acres, where he in now settled, making a specialty of Hambletonian horses, raises soom cattle and fattens 40 to 50 hogs annually. During the last 12 or 14 yearn he has also been engaged to some extent in removing buildings. He has raised and worked on very many buildings in Portland and Prophetstown, an now doing an acttve business as auctioneer. In 1871-2 he was employed grading on the railroad. Thus he has demonstrated himself to be a handy man at almost anything in the techanical and live-stock line.
Mr. Seely has been Assessor of Portland Township eight years; is a member of the I.O.O.F., being a Representative in the Grand Lodge; in also Worthy Councilor, in the Lodge of Modern Woodmen at Prophetstown, and is also a member of the Order of the Daughters of Rebecca, as are also his wife and daughter.
He was married Feb. 21, 1856, in Portland Township, to Miss Almina, daughter of Calvin and Sally Williams, who was born in Lodi, Cattaraugua Co., N. Y., Nov. 7, 1833. Mr. and Mrs. Seely have three children: Alexander J., bonn Nov. 15, 1857, who left here in 1880, and engaged in the smelting works at Rico, Col., and ws married at Prophetstown, Feb. 20, 1884, to Miss Florence Bartlett, then a teacher in Prophetstown; Jennie L., born July 19, 1862, still at home; and Charles E., born Dec. 4, 1867.
Mrs. Seely's parents came to Detroit, Mich., where they resided three years; then, in 1838, came to Prophetstown Tonwnship. They are both now deceased, the mother dying July 14, 1840, and the father Oct. 7, 1884, aged 84 years, four months and seven days. Her father was a mechanic, a carpenter and joiner by trade, and erected a number of buildings in Prophetntown Tonvnship. He received an injury at Rochelle in 1883, by a railroad train, that was the cause of his death at the time stated. Mrs. S. has three sisters and one brother in this county, and a sister in Rochelle, Ill. Her oldest sister is Mrs. Emily Gage; 2nd, Mrs. Harriet Myres; 3d, Mrs. Elba Barber; 4th, Mrs. Lovina Thanks; and her brother is Enos Williams. [Portraits & Biographical Pg 383]
COL. EBENEZER SEELY
Of Portland Township
Col. Ebenezer Seely, the oldest living resident of Whiteside County, living upon his farm in Portland Twp., was born in Onondaga Co., N. Y., Nov. 6, 1802. He is a son of Jeduthan and Sally (Gibbs) Seely. His father was a native of Washington Co., N. Y., a farmer by occupation, and died near where Col. Seely now resides, Sept. 4, 1836, and was the first man buried in the county. His mother was a native of Utica, N. Y., and died in Olin, Iowa, in 1841. They were united in marriage in Onondaga Co., N. Y., and afterwards moved to Genesee County, that State. They were the parents of six children, five sons and one daughter, three of whom yet survive, and one of whom, Col. Seely, subject of this notice, is the eldest. Horace is now residing at Oxford Mills, Jones Co., Iowa. Mary is the wife of Rev. Lowry, a Congregational minister in Olin, Jones Co., Iowa.
In 1806, the parents of Col. Seely moved from Onondaga to Genesee Co., N. Y., and in the latter county Mr. Seely was reared on a farm, receiving the advantages afforded by the common schools, and developed into manhood. On attaining adult age he continued to follow the vocation of farming and lumbering, and soon after entered into a copartnership with Marvin Frary in the saw-mill business. They erected a saw-mill in the latter county, which they continued to operate for five years, when Col. Seely sold out and, taking his share of the lumber that was on hand, constructed a raft on which he placed his family, consisting of wife and five children and father and mother, and rafted down the Ohio River to Louisville, Ky. He sold his lumber at that place and took a boat to St. Louis, accompanied by his family, and sent from the latter city to Rock Island. At the latter place he hired a team and brought his family to what is now Prophetstown Township. He had nevertheless been to this county before. In September, 1834, he came here and located 320 acres of land on sections 6, of Prophetstown Township, and 1 of Portland Township. He broke some land and made some other improvements on his place, and in March, 1835, returned to New York, and in April, 1836, brought his family as stated. He at first moved into a little house his brother Norman B., now deceased, owned at that time, and soon erected a log house of his own, 22 X 22 feet. The following year he erected another building, 22 X 22 feet in dimensions, twelve feet from the building which he first erected, and placed them both under one roof. In 1839 he erected a frame house, 22 X 30 in dimensions, and one and a half stories, in which he kept a hotel for the accommodation of pioneer travelers, having brought with him a good supply of bedding, provisions, etc. He continued to act as mine host on his farm for 32 years, the same being known as a farmers home. He had at one time 220 acres under the plow, and a fine farm.
Col. Seely also erected a steam saw-mill on his farm, in company with several other pioneers, and they ran it for about ten years, when he bought them all out, which he did one at a time, and became sole owner. The mill was finally run for two years as a grist-mill. Afterward Col. Seely sold the machinery, which was shipped away.
Mr. Seely tells many interesting stories of his early settlement in this county. The first grist that he had ground he took to Aurora, 100 miles distant, and was some eight days making the trip. He has drawn a great deal of wheat to Chicago, and has had at a time two and three teams on the road at once. He has seen a string of teams three miles long loaded with wheat, and on their way to the now great metropolis. At one time he went to Chicago with three loads of wheat, and was spokesman for the wheat drawers that day and controlled the price of that article there, and bulled the market from 75 cents to $1.10. At present he could hardly accomplish the wonderful feat he performed that time. The Colonel also saw the first two-story building erected in Chicago, which was in September, 1834. This was the Tremont House, which afterward burned, and was replaced with another fine stone building. Mr. Seely receives his title of Colonel from having been the Colonel of the militia of New York, and also in this State.
Col. Seely was united in marriage, in Alexander Township, Genesee Co., N. Y., Jan. 25, 1824, to Miss Dolly Maynard, who was born in the State of Connecticut, Feb. 27, 1803, and died Jan. 6, 1875. They raised seven children, six of whom survive. Solomon, a resident of Sterling: Sarah, the wife of Alexander Hatfield, a resident of Sterling. Andrew J., a farmer in Portland Township. Martin V., a resident of Prophetstown. Caroline, wife of Stephen H. Beardslee, a resident of Cadillac, Mich.: and Jennie, a widow, residing in Brooklyn, N. Y. David is deceased. Col Seely has been a member of the I. O. O. F. 30 years. He was the first President of the Pioneer Society of this county, and has held the position ever since. The first meeting was held in January, 1853, in the Wallace House, Sterling, and Col. Seely has never failed to attend the meetings of the society since, with but a single exception. The meetings are held at Hamilton's Bluffs, in Lyndon Township, this county. He has a remarkable memory for a man of his age. His mind is as clear and strong as men usually are at 60. Mr. Seely is a gentleman worthy of the distinction of having his portrait placed in the honorary position in this ALBUM, and especially so when he has been living in this county longer than any other man. [Portrait and Biographical Album of Whiteside County, Illinois; Chapman Bros., 1885, pgs. 189-190]
COL. EBENEZER SEELY was born in Cayuga county, New York, in 1802, and married Miss Dolly Maynard, in 1824. He moved with his father to Cataraugus county, New York, in 1823, where he successfully engaged in farming and lumbering, In the summer of 1834 he concluded to explore the new and first went to Michigan where he expected to find his brothers Norman B. and Alexander J., but upon ascertaining that they had pushed on farther west, followed them to Dixon's ferry, and thence to Prophetstown, arriving at the latter place, September 24, 1834. The next day he made a claim where he now lives. His health not being good he soon after started for his New York home, but upon arriving at John Dixon's he was so much worse that he was compelled to remain there for three months. He pursued his journey immediately upon his recovery, and arriving at home sold his farm, and mill property, and with a raft of lumber started down the Alleghany river. His father and mother, John Reed, wife and child, and Henry Brewer, wife and three children, accompanied him and his family on the raft, with all their household goods. He sold his lumber at Louisville, and took a steamer for St. Louis, and thence to Rock Island, where he arrived on the 4th of June, 1835.
By dint of great perseverance he procured a team to take his family to his new home, and then returning to Rock Island chartered a small ferry boat, loaded it with his effects, and started up the river. When he had got within sixteen miles of his destination, he fortunately found some teams to take his goods to Portland. He had brought provisions for a year's supply for his family, but he was not the man to refuse to feed the stranger or share with his neighbor, and as there was considerable immigration that fall his supply soon became exhausted. St. Louis was the best market for provisions, and Col. Seely, in conjunction with his neighbors, William Hill, Marvin Frary, N. G. Reynolds, and Asa Crook, sent Capt. Dix to that place with $1,300 to purchase the needed supplies. Capt. Dix was robbed of the money on his journey, and then there was nothing to do but go to Knox county, to which place Col. Seely and Mr. Frary started with teams to purchase wheat, pork, etc. By the time they had bought the wheat, fanned it in the primitive style to which they were compelled to resort, taken it to the mill and had it ground, and had procured their pork, and other articles, winter was upon them. The creeks and small rivers were freezing up, the sloughs would not bear a team, thereby entailing great hardship in getting home. Col. Seely's house always furnished a shelter for the newly arrived settler until he could build a cabin for himself, and the hospitality shown by him and his amiable wife will be long remembered. He has always been held in high estimation by his fellow townsmen, and when the land came into market in 1843, he was selected to enter all the lands around Portland village, and re-deed to the owners of the different claims and lots, a duty which he performed to the utmost satisfaction of all. This delicate and important duty was only entrusted in the different townships to men upon whose integrity a full reliance could be placed. Col. Seely is now in the seventy-fifth year of his age, and still in the possession of all his faculties. At the annual gathering of the old settlers, at Hamilton's Grove, he is the one most eagerly sought for to relate the incidents and reminiscences of pioneer life, and much of the success of these meetings are due to his genial presence. John Reed, who came with him, remained in Portland for a time, and then went to Missouri, where he is still living. Henry Brewer stayed only a year or two, and then settled in Sterling. He was the father of Ald. George W. Brewer, of that city. Mrs. Seely died January 6, 1874, aged 72 years.
The children of Mr. and Mrs. Seely have been Solomon M., who married Miss Rachael B. Leland, was in trade at Portland for several years, afterwards went to California, and upon his return engaged in business in Sterling, and was for a time proprietor of the Wallace House, in that city, and is now residing in Jones county, Iowa; David B., who first married Miss Jane Maynard, and after her death, Miss Frances Adams, and died in 1874; Sarah G., wife of Alexander M. Hetfield, living in Portland; Andrew J., who married Miss Armina Williams, and is a farmer in Portland, and has been Assessor of the township for the past three years; Martin V., who first married Miss Almina Maynard, and after her death, Miss Kate Keeler has been engaged in farming, and stock raising in Portland, was President of the Whiteside county Agricultural Society for several years, and now resides in Prophetstown where he owns a fine hotel, known as the Seely House; Caroline, wife of S. H. Beardslee, living at Clam Lake, Michigan;. and Jane A., wife of A. B. Crosby, 1iving at New York city. [Extracted from Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 354]
HORACE G. SEELY
OF Portland Township, Whiteside Co IL
Horace G. Seely was born in Cayuga county, New York, in 1804, started for Illinois in company with his brother Jeduthan and family, and his sister, Mrs. Marvin Frary, late in the fall of 1835, but could get no further than Quincy, Illinois, on account of the cold weather and ice. They remained all winter at a camp meeting ground, three miles from Quincy, and arrived at Porland in March. He resided at Portland for a few years, and then went to Jones county, Iowa, where he is still living, hale and hearty, at seventy-three years of age. He married Miss Bethsheba Milk. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 356]
JEDUTHAN SEELY, Jr.
Of Prophetstown Township
Jeduthan Seely Jr. was born in Cayuga county, New York, in 1807 and came to Prophetstown in June, 1834, and settled adjoining the village of Portland, but within the present limits of Prophetstown. Mr. Seely married Miss Mariba Foy. Their children have been: Marvin, who died in 1851; Tamson, wife of Jones B. Nichols, living in Prophetstown; William F., who died in 1876; Emily Martin; and Celestia, wife of E. Laban Ballou, living in Prophetstown. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County]
MARTIN V. SEELY
Of Portland Twp., Whiteside Co IL
Martin V. Seely, "mine host" of the "Seely House," is a son of Col. Ebenezer and Dolly (Maynard) Seely (see sketch of Col. Ebenezer Seely in another part of this work), and was born in Cattaraugus Co., N.Y., Jan. 30, 1834. The father of Mr. Seely was a native of Genesee Co., N. Y., and now resides in Portland Township, this county, at the advanced age of 82 years; his portrait appears in this work, and in connection therewith a biographical sketch of his life. The mother of Mr. Seely died on the old homestead, aged 72 years. When two years of age, 1836, Mr. Seely accompanied his parents to this county, where they located on a farm. He was reared on the farm, assisting in the labors of the same and alternating his work thereon by attendance at the common schools until he attained the age of majority.
Mr. Seely was united in marriage in Portland Township, this county, March 20, 1855, to Miss Armina Maynard, a daughter of William and Emily Maynard. She was born in Erie Co., N.Y. Jan. 30, 1834, the same day and year which witnessed the birth of her husband. The issue of their union two children, both of whom are deceased, Sadie and Willie.
Mrs. Seely died in Portland Township, March 7, 1859, and Mr. Seely was again married in the same township, Dec. 19, 1861, to Miss Amelia Keeler, daughter of Ralph O. and Orlantha J. Keeler. She was born in Wood Co., Ohio, Aug. 15, 1835. They had one son, Ralph M., born July 19, 1867, and at present attending the Business College at Sterling Ill. Mrs. Seely died in Prophetstown, Dec 15, 1884. In 1861, Mr. Seely bought the old homestead, which comprised 260 acres. He subsequently sold 160 acres of the same and at the present time is the proprietor of 100 acres of the old homestead, also 160 acres on sections 1 and 35 in Portland Township. He made a speciality of stock-raising, buying anc feeding his stock and shipping annually about $50,000 worth. Mr. Seely was President of the Whiteside Agricultural Society of Sterling, for two years. Socially, he is a member of the I.O.O.F.
In 1873 Mr. Seely went to Prophetstown and built the Seely House, which he rented for six years, and during that time was interested in the stock business When the First National Bank was organized, he was a stock-holder and director of the same. In 1879 he took charge of his hotel and has conducted it ever since. It is the only hotel in Prophetstown, has 28 rooms for the accommodation of guests, and is conducted in a manner every way suited to the wants of the traveling public. Mr. Seely is strictly temperate never having tasted a drop of ardent spirits in his life; nor does he use tobacco in any way. [Portrait & Biographical Record of Whiteside County 1885 - Pg 192-193]
NORMAN B. SEELY
OF Portland Township
Norman B. Seely was born in Genesee county, New York, in 1809. He married Miss Lydia Crook, and came to the Rock River country in June, 1834 with Asa Crook, locating where the village of Portland now is. He remained until 1839, when he went to Jones county, Iowa, where he laid out the town of Rome, built a saw mill, and engaged in farming for many years. He went twice to California, where he built another mill, and losing his health, returned to Portland. He died in October, 1874, aged 65 years. He was a good type of the pioneer, and made many friends wherever his enterprising spirit took him. He built the first house in Portland, merely a hole in the ground, in which he wintered in 1834, working meanwhile in Rock Island, on the Government works. He walked home from that place, a distance of 40 miles, every Saturday night bringing supplies for his family, and returned each Monday morning. His children are as follows; Mary, George, Sarah, Norman, Ellen, Mack, and Josephine. Mary and Norman are dead; George and Mack are in California; Sarah married J. B. Hagan, and resides in Henry county, Illinois; Ellen married James Stewart, and Josephine married H. Jones; they reside in California. Mrs. Norman B. Seely is still living, and is also a resident of California. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 350]
DANA B. SEGER, M.D.
Dana B. Seger, M.D., of the firm of Taylor & Seger, physicians and surgeons; office corner of Main & Genesee Streets; residence on Grove, Morrison; was born in Oxford Co. Maine Jan. 4, 1842, and is the son of Allen & Achsa (Howard) Seger. His father was a native of Maine and his mother of Vermont. He came to Wethersfield, Henry Co. IL with his parents in 1852. He began reading medicine with Doctors Taylor & Ferson of Erie IL prior to the breaking out of the late war. In November 1861, he enlisted in Co. I 45th IL Vol. Inf. and served six months, when he was discharged for physical disability contracted in the field. He then resumed the study of medicine with his former preceptors and pursued his studies till the fall of 1863 when he re-enlisted in the 74th IL Vol. Inf. and was detailed as hospital steward in the 4th Army Corp. He was in constant service in hospital duty till the close of the war, and was discharged Oct. 8, 1865. On his return from the war he attended Rush Medical College in Chicago, taking a regular course of lectures and graduated in the class of 1867-8, with the degree of M.D. He began practice at Erie, this county, which he continued till 1882 when he came to Morrison and formed the existing partnership with his old preceptor, Dr. Taylor. He has a rapidly increasing practice, and is working into the front ranks of the profession.
Dr. Seger was married at Erie IL Feb. 14, 1873 to Kate L. Reynolds, daughter of WM. and Ann (Binan) Reynolds. Mrs. Seger was born in Fenton, Whiteside Co. IL. They have two children - Inez and Ivy. Mrs. Seger's parents were early pioneers of Fenton Township. [Transcribed by Christine Walters - Portraits & Biographical Whiteside County 1885]
E. S. Seger, manufacturer of the " Erie Windmills," residing at Eric, is a son of Edmund and Betsey (Powers) Seger, and was born in Oxford Co., Me., March 22, 1833. His father was a native of the same State in which his son was born, a farmer by occupation, and is deceased. His mother is also a native of Maine, and at present resides in Erie. Soon after attaining the age of majority, Mr. Seger accompanied his mother, in 1855, to Grand Detour, IL., near the town of Dixon, this State; in the spring of 1853, moved to Erie. The family at that time comprised a brother, Hamlin A., now deceased, and a sister, Caroline A., now the widow of Martin Monroe, and residing in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. He remained near Dixon until the spring after his arrival there, when he came to Erie village, and was employed on a farm near that place. He also learned the trade of wagon-maker in Erie, with Marcus Sanford. About 1875 he started the manufacture of windmills, and afterward admitted Stephen Tobey, who remained with him about three years, since which time Mr. Seger has conducted the business alone. He manufactures mills, and does general repairing, makes water tanks, etc.; he is somewhat of an inventive genius, and has procured several patents on windmills, and other articles of manufacture. Mr. Seger was united in marriage in Dixon, IL., June 4, 1873, by Harvey Morgan, J. P., to Miss Cordelia Foskit, a daughter of Hiram and Jane E. Foskit, who reside in Erie. She was born in Randolph, Cattaraugus Co., N. Y. [Transcribed by Christine Walters - Portraits & Biographical Whiteside County 1885]
MILTON H. SEGER
Milton H. Seger, Supervisor of Erie Township, and a farmer residing on section 3, where he rents 197 acres of land, is a son of Allen and Achsa (Howard) Seger, and was born in Oxford Co., Me., Feb. 5, 1838. His father was a native of the same county as his son, and was a farmer by occupation. His mother was a native of New Hampshire, and both parents are deceased. Their family comprised three children, two of whom are living: Milton H. and Dana B., the latter of whom is a physician, residing in Morrison. Mr. Seger was reared on a farm, receiving the advantages afforded by the common schools, and engaged in performing such labor as was common for farmers sons, until he attained the age of manhood. In the spring of 1854, his father's family came West and located in Wethersfield Township, Henry Co., IL., and in the fall of 1854 they came to this county and located in Erie Township, one mile north of the village of Erie, where his father purchased a farm of 130 acres, and on which he resided for three years. His father then moved into the village of Erie and purchased a small place, which is now inside the corporation of that village. He died there, Nov. 7, 1872, as likewise the mother, Oct. 2, 1872. In 1860 Mr. Seger of this notice, lured by the glowing accounts of the discovery of gold, went to Pike's Peak, where he was engaged in mining one season, and returned to Erie Township and engaged in farming and hunting during the game season. He is a lover of the sport and met with considerable success in hunting, his game consisting of prairie chickens, snipe, plovers, etc., which he shipped to the Chicago and St. Louis markets. In August 1871, he entered R. L. Burchells store in Erie, and acted in the capacity of clerk for that gentleman for over 14 years. He was promoted to the position of head clerk, and when the store was divided into departments, he took the dry-goods department. In March, 1885, on account of poor health, he retired to his farm, on which he at present resides. He makes a specialty of cattle and hogs, and keeps a small dairy.
In 1873 Mr. Seger was Supervisor and also held the position of Justice of the Peace for eight years, from 1873, and also other minor offices, and has been re-elected to the former position the present year(1885).
He was united in marriage in Erie, April 16, 1861, to Miss Nancy J. Duncan, daughter of Alexander and Lucinda (Lee) Duncan. She was born in Pennsylvania. They are the parents of 12 children, all born in this county: Cora V. is the wife of Seth Eddy, a farmer of Erie Township; Mary E.; Russell; Hattie H. is clerking in the dry-goods department of R. L. Burchell, of Erie; Ella, Wallace, M. Clayton, Myrtie, Frank, Ernest, Dana and Ethel. The father of Mrs. Seger is yet living and resides in Erie Township, where he follows the occupation of a farmer. [Transcribed by Christine Walters - Portraits & Biographical Whiteside County 1885]
CHARLES G. SEIDEL
Charles G. Seidel is a farmer of Hopkins Township, being located in the northeast quarter of section 10. He is the owner of 100 acres of land, which is his original purchase in the township and county, and which came into his possession in 1867. He has since added to his real estate, increasing the aggregate to 160. It is all under good cultivation, and the proprietor has erected find farm buildings. In political sentiment and connections Mr. Seidel is a Republican.
He was born in Germany, Oct 4, 1839. Gotleib and Barbara (Zaiser) Seidel, his parents, were inhabitants of their native land until 1853, when they emigrated to the United States. They made their first location at Columbus, Ohio, whence they came to Whiteside Co., Ill., and fixed their residence at Sterling. The mother died there May 3, 1883. Their children were born in the following order: Caroline, Louis, Fred, Charles G., Wilhelmine, William, Joshua, Dorothea, Caleb, Sophia, Mary, George Emma. One child died in infancy.
Mr. Seidel came to this country with his parents in 1853. He came with them to Sterling in 1857, where he engaged in farm labor and worked by the month for six years, after which he rented a farm for four years. At the expiration of that time he became a land-holder in Hopkins Township.
Mr. Seidel was married April 9, 1863, to Anna, daughter of Solomon and Margaret A. (Wagner) Freihner. She was born Sept. 39, 1845, in Pennsylvania, where her mother died when she was 10 years of age. The father lives with his daughter, who is one of six children. Anna M., Samuel, Margaret, John and David lived to reach maturity. One child died in infancy.. to Mr. and Mrs. Seidel 12 children have been born, six of whom are still living: Charles F., Margaret E., Georgietta, Charles W., Chester L. and Mry C. Those who are deceased were named Clara A., George W., Ida M., Aaron H. and Edward L. One child died unnamed. The parents are members of the English Lutheran Church. [Transcribed by Marji Turner - Portraits & Biographical Pg 370]
HARVEY R. SENIOR
Harvey R. Senior, vice president of the First National Bank of Albany, was formerly closely associated with agricultural interests in Whiteside county but has retired from the work of the farm and gives his attention merely to his invested interests at the present time. He is a man of undoubted business integrity, of enterprise and of stalwart determinationâ€”qualities which have characterized him throughout his entire life and gained him his present enviable position as one of the substantial citizens of the community. He was born in Garden Plain township, this county, December 4, 1850, his parents being John and Mary (Murphy) Senior. The father came to Whiteside county some years prior to his marriage. At the time he located here it was difficult to obtain even the necessities of life, while none of the comforts and luxuries: could be enjoyed. In fact, the settlers had to undergo many hardships and privations in order to reclaim this region for the purposes of civilization. Mr. Senior had come from England and in this country he gave his time and energies to agricultural pursuits. In Whiteside county he wedded Mrs. Mary Baird, nee Murphy, the widow of Harvey Baird. With her first husband she came from Ohio to Illinois in 1847 and their home was established in Garden Plain township, where the country was ,absolutely new, neighbors few and far, between and the comforts of life almost unknown. Mr. Baird entered and purchased land and became quite an extensive farmer. Following the death of her husband, Mrs. Baird became the wife of John Senior in 1849. By her first marriage she had four children who lived to years of maturity: Frank, now deceased; Ethelind, the deceased wife of William T. Crotzer; Mary, the widow of Mat Hopkins and a resident of St. Louis, Missouri.; and Ebenezer, of Beaumont, Texas. Mr. and Mrs. Senior became the parents of but one child, Harvey R., of this review. Mr. Senior had also, been previously married and by his former union had one son, John, who is probably now deceased. Frank Baird, the half brother of our subject, was killed at the battle of Vicksburg in July, 1863 The mother died in the same year.
Harvey R. Senior was reared upon the home farm and educated in the country schools. He was left an orphan at an early, age and his opportunities in youth were about like those of the average boy in a frontier community. At the age of twenty-one years he commenced farming on his own account on land purchased by the family and for a long period continued, actively in general agricultural pursuits. His early training well qualified him for the capable conduct of his business in this connection and as a farmer he has been very successful, the methods he has followed leading to prosperity. He early learned how to till the soil to the best advantage and to take the best care of his crops, and thus for a long period he annually gathered rich harvests, for which he found a ready market. Outside of farming he has had but few business interests. In 1902, however, in connection with Dr. S. B. Dimond and C. E. Peck, he organized the First National Bank of Albany, of which he is a director and the vice president. He was also president for a number of years of the Garden Plain Mutual Fire Insurance Company.
On the 30th of March, 1876, Mr. Senior was married to Miss Emma A. Stone, of Garden Plain township, a daughter of I. D. Stone, an early settler of Whiteside county who followed the occupation of farming as a life work. Mrs. Senior was the only child of her father's first marriage and there were two sons of his second marriage: Daniel S., now living in Garden Plain township; and Burt, whose home is in Morrison, Illinois. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Senior were born four children: Clarence F. and Newell K., both residents of Garden Plain township; and Olive L. and Emily B., at home. The wife and mother died in 1899, and her death was deeply regretted by many friends who entertained for her the warmest regard in recognition of her many sterling traits of heart and mind. Mr. Senior is a Republican and in 1898 was elected county supervisor and was continued by re-election until 1906 when he resigned and moved to Albany. [History of Whiteside County - by Davis 1908]
BACK -- HOME
© Copyright Genealogy Trails