RUFUS H. SHELDON
Rufus H Sheldon, dealer in agricultural implements, grain and live stock, at Rock Falls, was born in Cayuga Co., N. Y., Aug. 27, 1815. His father, Ira Sheldon, a farmer, was a native of Connecticut, of New England ancestry and English descent. His grandfather, Rufus Sheldon, was also a native of Connecticut and of similar ancestry. The family , so far as concerns its history in America, originally sprang from three brothers who emigrated to this country previous to the Revolution, settling in New England. Most of the Sheltdons have been farmers by vocation. Ira Sheldon was a soldier in the War of 1812, and died in Cayuga Co., N. Y., June 2, 1827, at the age of 42. His wife, Mary, was a native of Vermont, of New England ancestry and English descent, and died in Barry Co., Mich. The subject of this sketch is a relative of Henry O. Sheldon, editor of Sheldon’s Magazine. He is the second in a family of six children , his brothers being Isaac N., De Witt C., Hrvey N., Orson B. and Sylvester W. Mr. S. was 12 years old when his father died, but continued to live with his mother (who was again married) until he was of age, receiving ah high-school education. At the age of 19 he commenced teaching during the winter seasons, while he pursued farming during the intervals. He afterward purchased the interest of the other heirs and became sole proprietor of the old homestead, where he resided until 1847, when he came to Illinois, settling on an unimproved tract of 340 acres in Bureau County. After improving that place a number of years, he sold and came, in 1869, to Sterling, where, in partnership with C. M. Jaques, of Rock Falls, he entered the trade in agricultural implements and coal. They now have two elevators (having built one in 1877), with a capacity of about 60,000 bushels. They also deal extensively in live stock, and are driving a prosperous business. Mr. S. Attends the Methodist Episcopal Church, and in politics is a stanch Republican. Mr. Sheldon was married in his native county, Dec. 1, 1836, to Miss Mercy E. Edmomds, who was born in the township of Brutus, same county, in 1817, the daughter of Joseph Edmonds, a farmer. Mr. and Mrs. S. became the parents of eight children, three of whom are deceased.. The record now stands: Irving W. married Eleanor Cortwright, and now resides on a farm in Dakota; Clarence L. married Letitia Crawford and resides in Sterling, where he is practicing as an attorney at law; R. H. , Jr., married Miss May Stitzel, and is interested in the agricultural implement trade with his father; William C. married Anna Banes, and is now a resident of Winnipeg, Manitoba; Ida M. married Newton Petrie, a county officer in Pittsburg, Pa.; and the deceased are Mary, Edward S. and Joseph C. [Portrait and Biographical Album of Whiteside County, Illinois, Chapman Brothers Publishing Co., Chicago, 1885. Pg 360 ]
George Seyller, a hardware merchant, residing in the village of Prophetatown, is a son of George and Catherine (Haumesser) Seyller, and was born in Alsace, France, April 23, 1847. When Mr. Seylter was but eight years of age, his father emigrated to the United Staten and came to Naperville, this State. His father was a farmer by occupation, and soon after settling at the latter place, removed to Henry County and located on a farm. Mr. Seyller was reared on the farm, receiving such advantages as were afforded by she common schools in the locality where he resided. He worked on the farm until 1868, when, having attained his majority, he went to Annawan, Henry County, this State, and there engaged in the hardware business, in company with Herman Herschberger, with whom he remained in partnership until 1872, when he sold out. He then came to Prophetstown and was in the employ of W. H. Suthard in the capacity of a tinner. He remained with him about nine months, when, in company with his brother-in-law, August Clementz, he purchased the stock of Mr. Suthard, and conducted the pattnership business about nine years, when Mr. Seyller bought out his partner and baa since conducted the business alone. In 1874, while the partnership waa still in existence, they built the building (24 X 74, two stories and cellar which Mr. Seyller now occupies. In 1883, Mr. Seyller bought out the property; he carries a stork approximating $10,000, and is doing a good and constantly increasing business, being the leading one of this kind in Prophetatown. The stock consists of a full line of hardware, stoves, cutlery, tinware, farming implementa and farm machinery. His warehouse is nearly opposite his store building. He is alao engaged in tin roofing and repairing, and keeps two assistants. Mr. Seyller is also the owner of 8o acres of land situated on section 31, Prophelatown Township, which he cultivates. Religiously, he belongs to the Catholic Charclt, and socially, he in a member of the I.O.O.F.
Mr. Seyller was united in marriage, in Henry County, this State, Jan. 1, 1872, to Miss Catherine Clementz, a daughter of John and Lena Clementz. She was born in Naperville, Du Page Co., Ill., Nov. 25, 1848, and has borne her husband three children. Their record is as follows: Catherine, born Oct. 24, 1873; Nora, born Nov. 25 1874; Martha, Aug. 7, 1876. Mr. Seyller has been a member of the City Council four yeas and in acting in that capacity at the present time; he waa also President of the Council
one year. [Portraits & Biographical 1885 Pg. 749]
A prominent stock-breeder and farmer of Whiteside County, is located on section 15, Genesee Township. He was born May 28, 1835, County Antrim, Ireland, and came to this continent when 14 years of age. He came to Whiteside County on attaining his majority, and entered the employ of Van J. Adams, of Sterling Township. Later, he rented a farm in that township, which he “took on shares,” and in 1858, two years later, he went to Round Grove, in Mt. Pleasant Township, where he passed three years as a renter. In 1861 he purchased 80 acres of land in the same township. He continued to own the place between two and three years, when he sold out and bought a small farm in Genesee Township, which he managed seven years before increasing his real estate. He bought then sufficient land to constitute a farm of 175 acres, which he placed in good condition for agricultural purposes, and which he supplied with suitable buildings. His next removal brought him to a place near Coleta village, where he began by buying 40 acres of land on section 15. He has since purchased 120 acres, two- thirds of which is situated on section 16. The quality of his energies and judgment may be understood from the fact that in addition to the property names he owns 120 acres of pasture land in Genesee Township, and 160 acres in the township of Lyndon. His aggregated estate comprises 627 acres, and he is also the owner of a house in the village of Coleta. In 1860 Mr. Shannon began to interest himself in trade in stock, and was soon operating extensively in buying and shipping. One season he sent eight car-loads of cattle to market. He has since given much attention to raising colts, calves, and other small stock. In the fall of 1882 he purchased of M. W. Dunham, of Du Page, III., the registered stallion “ Hercules,” of Percheron blood and of full pedigree, which is registered in France, whence he was imported by his original owner. “Hercules” weighs nearly 2,000 pounds. In October, 1883, Mr. Shannon purchased “Breeze,” of the same breed and pedigree, fully registered. His weight is about 1,800 pounds.
Mr. Shannon is of mixed Irish and Scotch descent. His father, Robert Shannon, was of unmixed Irish lineage and married Rose Young, who was born in Ireland of Scotch parentage. They belonged to the class distinctively known as North-of-Ireland people, and after their marriage they remained about 20 years in their native country. They emigrated thence to America and located in -Ontario, then Canada West. The senior Shannon was a hotel proprietor in his native country, and he acquired a fine competency, but the generous character which he inherited proved the cause of disastrous loss, his belief in the trustworthiness of his friends failing to produce corresponding results. He lost his gains and came to this country to rebuild his fortune, and rear his children. Six years after the family left Ireland they came to the “States.” They made a brief stay in the township of Sterling, afterwards going to Wisconsin. Later, they returned to Sterling, where the parents were resident until the death of the mother, in July, 1881. She was 68 years of age. The father has since resided with his daughter, Mrs. Jennie Hazard, of Sterling. He is 75 years of age (1885). Their 14 children were named Ellen, Mary, Hugh, Thomas, Rachel, Robert, John, Anna, Glasgow, Archie, Jennie, David, George and Prudence. Mr. Shannon has one brother—Thomas—and one sister —Jennie—still living.
He was married July 9, 1856, to Susannah, daughter of Martin and Mary A. (Harvey) Durstine. The latter were born of German ancestors in Pennsylvania and located after marriage in Butler County. Mrs. Shannpn was born in that county Dec. 12,1835. In 1852 her parents removed to the West, and remained for a time in Iowa. They came thence to Round Grove, in Whiteside County. They had 11 children and she is fourth in order of birth. Mr. and Mrs. Shannon have one child, Mary, who was married Nov. 30,
1879, to Chauncey A. Brow, a farmer in Genesee Township. They have three children— May, Minnie and Hugh.
Mr. Shannon isan adherent of the Republican party and belongs to the Baptist Church, of which Mrs. Shannon is also a member. [Portraits and Biographical]
JOHN H. SHARER
John H. Sharer, a retired farmer and stockman living in Garden Plain township, was born in Center county, Pennsylvania, April 5, 1854, a son of Samuel and Magdalena (Hoy) Sharer. The former was a native of Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, born February 14, 1829, and came to Whiteside county, Illinois, with his father, Jacob Sharer, in 1866, purchasing the land upon which his son Albert now resides. Subsequently he rented the farm to his son Samuel, but made his home thereon until the time of his death, which occurred April 25, 1892, when he had reached the age of sixty-three years, two months and eleven days.
John H. Sharer was about twelve years of age when he accompanied his father’s family on the removal to this county and supplemented the education which he had received in the schools of his native county by attending for a short time the country schools of this locality. As he was the oldest son in a large family of children, it was necessary that he assist in the work of the home farm when still very young, being able to do almost a man’s work when but fourteen years of age. He had handled teams since his seventh year, and often, while working on the farm, when his harrow struck a stump his father would have to come to his assistance, either removing the obstruction or lifting the harrow over the stump. Thus he early became familiar with the various duties and labors that fall to the lot of the agriculturist, and was well qualified to carry on his farming interests successfully when he started out in life on his own account. On attaining his majority he worked by the month as a farm hand until his twenty-fourth year and was then engaged in the cultivation of rented land for fourteen years, on the expiration of which period, in the year 1892, he purchased a tract of one hundred and fifty-three acres, the greater part of which was improved. The buildings on the farm, however, were rather old and somewhat dilapidated and in 1901 he erected one of the handsomest residences in the county, subsequently also building some of the finest barns to be found in this county. He has since erected another dwelling on the farm, in which he resides, for his sons, who now largely relieve him of the active work of the fields, occupy the old homestead. The success which has come t him is but the merited reward of his well-directed labor and unremitting industry, for he started out in life empty-handed and has worked his way steadily upward to a place among the prosperous and representative citizens of Whiteside county. On the 18th of September,1878, Mr. Sharer was united in marriage to Miss Mary Starbuck, of West Virginia, a daughter of Benjamin and Anna Starbuck, both of whom were twice married. The children of the father’s first marriage were: Amanda, who married a Mr. Anderson and lived in Indiana; Oliver, deceased; and John, who has also passed away. Mrs. Starbuck had one child by her first marriage, Martin H. Hubbard, who is now deceased. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Starbuck were born six children, who lived to maturity: Martha, deceased; Adeline, the deceased wife of Addison Shaver, of West Virginia; Benjamin B., who has also passed away; George, of west Virginia; David, likewise of that state; and Mrs. Sharer. The last named was but seven months old when her mother died and she was reared by Mr. and Mrs. William Huffman, who settled in Newton township, Whiteside county, in 1864. Mr. and Mrs. Sharer are the parents of seven children, namely: Edgar, who on the 8th of January, 1900, wedded Mary A. curry; Charles W., who married Lorena Hawk; Lester, who married Miss Ida S. Blubaker; George H.; Benjamin S.; Ada May; and Willard L. In his political views Mr. Sharer is a republican, while his religious faith is indicated by his membership in the Methodist Episcopal church of Albany, with which his wife is also identified. His life has been one of continuous activity, in which has been accorded due recognition of labor and today he is numbered among the substantial citizens of his county. Having resided within its borders for forty-two years, he is widely and favorably known, the circle of his friends being almost co-extensive with the circle of his acquaintances. [Contributed by Marji Turner - From History of Whiteside County, Illinois From Its Earliest Setlement to 1908 by William W. Davis, M.A. Vol I Pg 1018-21]
WILLIAM H. SHAW
William H. Shaw, a farm hand in his early youth, is now conducting a successful business in grain and coal in Lyndon, where he owns and operates a large elevator. He was born in Tioga county, New York, August 21, 1850, but the following year was brought to Lyndon township, Whiteside county, with his parents, henry B. and Rosina W. (Newton) Shaw. His paternal grandparents were William and Betsy (Talmage) Shaw, natives of Saratoga county, New York, where their entire lives were passed. The mother was an own cousin of Dr. DeWitt Talmage, the noted divine, and was a daughter of Enos Talmage, who served for seen years in the patriot army in the Revolutionary war. William shaw had a a brother who was judge of the circuit court of Saratoga county, and he was the third in a family of four sons. the eldest brother, Thomas Shaw, had a family of twelve sons and one daughter. The second brother, Robert Shaw, became a resident of New Jersey, and the youngest was William Shaw, grandfather of our subject. All, however, are now deceased. Unto Mr. and Mrs. William Shaw were born five children: Lucy, deceased; Elizabeth; William T., who has also passed away; Henry B.; and Mary, deceased.
Henry B. Shaw was born in Tioga county, New York, November 12, 1826, and resided in his native county until 1850, when he came to the middle west and has since resided in Whiteside county. he was reared on a farm and after coming to Illinois purchased and secured land. His father had been a carpenter by trade, and Henry Shaw learned that business under his direction, but following his removal to the west, he turned his attention to agricultural pursuits and purchased one hundred and sixty acres of land at the bend in Lyndon township this he improved but after a time sold eighty aces., and later disposed of the remaining eighty acres. He then again engaged in carpentering. He brought some money with him on his removal from New York, but lost most of his property through the illness of his wife, which brought on heavy expenses. He then took up his trade and was identified with building operations in the county until he enlisted for service in the Civil war, on the 14th of August, 1862, becoming a member of Company B, Seventy -fifth Illinois Volunteer Infantry. he then took part in the battles of Perryville, Stone River, Chicamauga, Mission Ridge and Lookout Mountain. Later he was transferred to the First United States Engineer Corps and saw no more fighting, but did equally valiant service for his country during the succeeding eighteen months. after being with the engineers for about two weeks he was commissioned artificer and continued n that position until the close of the war, being honorably discharged July 3, 1865.
When the country no longer needed his aid at the front Henry B. Shaw returned home and worked at his trade as long as he was able, being a well known representative of building operations In Lyndon and the surrounding districts. his early political support was given to the democracy, but on the organization of the republican party he joined its ranks, and has since supported the candidates at the head of its ticket with two exceptions, when he voted the greenback ticket. He is a valued member of Orson K. Hubbard Post, No. 749, G. A. R. of Lyndon, and is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church. His life has been characterized by industry and activity, and in all things he has been guided by honorable principles. He was married on the 7th of February, 1846, to Miss Rosina W. Newton, who was born in Chenango county, New York, February 29, 1828, a daughter of Moses and Mehitable (Burlingame) Newton, whose family numbered twelve children, all of whom were professional people with the exception of Mrs. Shaw. Mr Shaw came to this county in 1850, and his wife joined him in 1851. thus far more than a half century they have resided in the county and have witnessed the greater part of its development. they have lived together longer than any married couple in Whiteside county, having traveled life's journey as man and wife for sixty-three years. Their family numbered five children: Sophia, now the wife of J F. Brumbley, of Lyndon; William H., of this review; Ida a., the wife of Jesse Troop, of Sterling; Clair V., who is living in Hume township; and Lily, deceased.
William H. Shaw, whose name introduces this record, spent the days of his boyhood and youth in his parents'' home, and from an early age has been dependent entirely upon his own resources. When but a boy he began earning his own living by working as a farm hand, his father being away form home as a soldier in the civil war. William H. Shaw continued his labors in the fields in the employ of others for six years, but was ambitious to engage in farming on his own account and carefully saving his earnings, at length purchased one hundred and seventy acres of land on sections 17, 19 and 20, Lyndon township. With characteristic energy he began to cultivate and improve the fields,which he brought to a high state of fertility, so that he annually marketed good harvests. In 1890, however, he retired from the farm and took up his abode in Lydon, where he established his present business as a dealer in grain and coal. The new enterprise proved profitable, and in 1902 he built a large elevator with a capacity of twelve thousand bushels. In addition to his elevator property, he owns several houses and lots and a business building in Lyndon, which sand as monuments to his ability and enterprise and are tangible proof of his diligence.
In his political views Mr. Shaw is a stalwart republican, and his fellow townsmen have called him to a number of positions of public honor and trust. He has been school t5treasurer for th past fifteen years, and was assessor of his township for one term. Interested in the moral development o f h is community he is an active and faithful member of the Congregational church, in which he is serving as deacon. His fraternal relations are with the Masonic lodge, No 750, of which he is a past master, the Modern Woodmen of America and the Mystics. almost his entire life has been passed this county, and the fact that many of his stanchest friends are those who have known him from his boyhood to th present is an indication that his has been an honorable career, well meriting the confidence an esteem of those with whom he has been brought in contact. [Whiteside County History 1908]
RUFUS H. SHELDON
Rufus H Sheldon, dealer in agricultural implements, grain and live stock, at Rock Falls, was born in Cayuga Co., N. Y., Aug. 27, 1815. His father, Ira Sheldon, a farmer, was a native of Connecticut, of New England ancestry and English descent. His grandfather, Rufus Sheldon, was also a native of Connecticut and of similar ancestry. The family , so far as concerns its history in America, originally sprang from three brothers who emigrated to this country previous to the Revolution, settling in New England. Most of the Sheltdons have been farmers by vocation. Ira Sheldon was a soldier in the War of 1812, and died in Cayuga Co., N. Y., June 2, 1827, at the age of 42. His wife, Mary, was a native of Vermont, of New England ancestry and English descent, and died in Barry Co., Mich. The subject of this sketch is a relative of Henry O. Sheldon, editor of Sheldon’s Magazine. He is the second in a family of six children, his brothers being Isaac N., De Witt C., Hrvey N., Orson B. and Sylvester W. Mr. S. was 12 years old when his father died, but continued to live with his mother (who was again married) until he was of age, receiving a high-school education. At the age of 19 he commenced teaching during the winter seasons, while he pursued farming during the intervals. He afterward purchased the interest of the other heirs and became sole proprietor of the old homestead, where he resided until 1847, when he came to Illinois, settling on an unimproved tract of 340 acres in Bureau County. After improving that place a number of years, he sold and came, in 1869, to Sterling, where, in partnership with C. M. Jaques, of Rock Falls, he entered the trade in agricultural implements and coal. They now have two elevators (having built one in 1877), with a capacity of about 60,000 bushels. They also deal extensively in live stock, and are driving a prosperous business. Mr. S. Attends the Methodist Episcopal Church, and in politics is a stanch Republican. Mr. Sheldon was married in his native county, Dec. 1, 1836, to Miss Mercy E. Edmomds, who was born in the township of Brutus, same county, in 1817, the daughter of Joseph Edmonds, a farmer. Mr. and Mrs. S. became the parents of eight children, three of whom are deceased.. The record now stands: Irving W. married Eleanor Cortwright, and now resides on a farm in Dakota; Clarence L. married Letitia Crawford and resides in Sterling, where he is practicing as an attorney at law; R. H. , Jr., married Miss May Stitzel, and is interested in the agricultural implement trade with his father; William C. married Anna Banes, and is now a resident of Winnipeg, Manitoba; Ida M. married Newton Petrie, a county officer in Pittsburg, Pa.; and the deceased are Mary, Edward S. and Joseph C. [Portrait and Biographical Album of Whiteside County, Illinois, Chapman Brothers Publishing Co., Chicago, 1885. Pg 360]
Stephen Sherwood, farmer, section 35, Genesee Township, is prominently identified with the agricultural interests of Whiteside County. He was born Aug. 7, 1801, in Peekskill, Westchester Co., N. Y. He represents prominent and honorable families in both lines of descent, his father, Caleb Sherwood, and his mother, who was Phebe Oakley, having belonged to families who came to this country prior to the organization of the Government, and their ancestors were personally interested in the stirring events that resulted in the independence of the Colonies. They were also represented in the War of 1812, and the later generation sustained the repute of their ancestral valor in the War of the Rebellion. Van Wert and Paulding, two of the captors of Major Andre, during the War of the Revolution, were cousins of Caleb Sherwood. Two uncles of his wife were participants in the second war with Great Britain.
There were six children in the family to which Mr. Sherwood belonged, and he was seven years of age when his father died. A few. years after that event he went to the city of New York, where he went to school until he was 16 years of age. He then engaged in the Hudson River service, in the capacity of a cabinboy, where he was occupied some years. He became later a sailor on the " Mary Augustus," a merchant vessel in the West India trade, Captain Miller, and he was on the ocean about 18 months. He then resumed his operations on the North River, where he was engaged until he came of age. In 1822 he became a clerk in a wholesale grocery in the city of New York, where he was occupied some years. He was a Whig of enthusiastic proclivities, and did excellent service in the Presidential election of 1840 when, by his own exertions, he secured the 17th ward in the city, which was notoriously Democratic, for his party. In 1841 the value of his efforts received due recognition, and he was appointed a clerk in the postoffice of that city, and he continued in.the position through the administrations of Harrison, Tyler and Polk.
In 1852 he came West. He settled in Whiteside County, locating 160 acres of land on section 35 of Genesee Township, of which he took possession in 1853. It has since been his permanent home. Everything surrounding him was in the most primitive condition. The county was still, much of it, unsettled, and the citybred man, who abandoned the most advanced metropolis on this continent to struggle with an unbroken prairie farm, experienced all the novelties of the situation, which, treated after the homely old fashion, would appear as homesickness. But Mr. Sherwood conquered his discontent and identified himself with the element that was putting forth every effort to further the progress of Whiteside County. On his farm no improvements had been made, and he drew the lumber for his small house many miles. His estate now contains 245 acres, and is all under cultivation. The first marriage of Mr. Sherwood, to Caroline Chase, occurred in the city of New York. She was born in Boston, June 30, 1812, and went at the age of 18 years to the city of New York. She died in Genesee Township, July 4, 1854. Of five children of whom she became the mother only one is living, Caroline A. She is a widow, and lives at Dixon, IL. The names of their deceased were Eliza E., Stephen M., Maria L. and William H. Her parents were natives of Massachusetts, and her father was interested in the woolen industry of that State. Mr. Sherwood was again married May 31, 1855, at Sterling, by the Rev. Mr. Stebbins of the Presbyterian Church, to Marena C. Harrison, daughter of Mark and Mary (Taylor) Harrison, of whom a sketch is given in connection with that of her brother, James H. Harrison. She was born in Putnam County, IL., and was but five years of age when her parents settled in Whiteside County, becoming pioneers and representatives of the period of first things in Genesee Township. Mr. and Mrs. Sherwood have had 10 children : Fanny E. married Fayette Berbeck; he was born in Wisconsin, and died Oct. 2, 1823, in Cambridge, Cowley Co., Kan., leaving two children F. Guy and Clarence; Emma R. married William , and lives in Barton Co., Kan; Gilbert is deceased; Phebe married Edward Knox; Elnora, Benjamin F., Charles J., Clara B., Asa K. and Arthur C. still reside at home. Mr. Sherwood is a Democrat, and is still an adherent to the principles which controlled his actions when he attained his political freedom. He cast his first Presidential vote for Henry Clay. [Portraits and Biographical History of Whiteside County]
Steven Sherwood who passed away March 1, 1886, was well known in Genesee Township as an enterprising farmer of the locality and as a citizen of worht and value. He was born August 7, 1801, at Peekskill, in Westchester County, New York, his parents being Caleb and Phebe (Oakely) Sherwood. Both parents were representatives of old, prominent families who came to this country in colonial days. Mr. SHERWOOD of this review was reared in the east, but the business opportunities of the west attracted him and in 1852 he made his way into this section of the country, settling on a farm of one hundred and sixty acres on section 35, Genesee township. It remained his place of residence up to the time of his death, and his energy and labors converted it into a well improved property. He annually gathered good harvests and thus made a comfortable living for his family. Mr. Sherwood was married first to Miss Caroline Chase, who was born in Boston, Massachusetts, June 30, 1812, resided in New York city until 1854 and then came to Whiteside County, Illinois. Her death occurred in this county, July 4, 1854, and of the five children born of that marriage none is now living. On the 31 of May, 1855, Mr. Sherwood was again married, his second union being with Marena C. Harrison, a daughter of Mark and Mary (Taylor) Harrison, of whom extended mention is made on another page of this volume in connection with the sketch of James E. Harrison, a brother of Mrs. Sherwood. Mrs. Sherwood was born January 23, 1833, in Putnam county, Illinois. By her marriage she has become the mother of ten children: Frances E., now the wife of William Kingman, a resident of Colorado; Emma R., the wife of William Rush, who is living in Barton county, Kansas; Gilbert, deceased; Phebe, the wife of Ed Knox, of Oklahoma; Elnora, the wife of John Morton, living in Whiteside County, B. F., a resident of Arkansas; Charles J., who married Sophia Bush of Iowa, in which state they make their home; Clara B., the wife of Ebner Howe, of this county; Asa K., who married Anna Howe and is living on the home farm; and Arthur C., also of Iowa. Mr. Sherwood devoted his entire life in the west to general agricultural pursuits and was well known in the community as an energetic, reliable business man, respected for his many excellent traits of character. His widow still survives him and resides upon the home farm, comprising eighty acres of land in Genesee township. She is a member of the Christian church and has many warm friends in this community [Whiteside County History 1908]
Charles Shirk, a retired farmer of Whiteside County, resident at Morrison, is a leading and representative pioneer citizen of the county, and has been for 20 years intimately identified with the development and substantial progress of its agricultural interests, and been especially active in the furtherance of its social, moral and religious interests. He was born Dec. 23, 1816, in Center Co., Pa., and is the son of Joseph and Catherine (Sissler) Shirk. His parents were born in the Keystone State, where his father was engaged in the business of a tanner and currier. They had five children, Mr. Shirk and two older brothers constituting the survivors. Robert is a shoe dealer in Center County; Mordecai is a tanner in the State of his nativity. The sons were brought up at home under the supervision and authority of their parents.
Jan. 11, 1838, Mr. Shirk of this sketch was united in marriage to Sarah Galbraith, who was born Aug. 15, 1815, in Armstrong Co., Pa., and they became the parents of ten children, five of whom are now living. Catherine was born Oct. 6, 1838, and died Dec. 12 ensuing. Miles B. was born May 23, 1840, and is the proprietor of a clothing establishment at Morrison. Mary, born April 13, 1842, was married Nov. 5, 1860, to Clemens Watson ; Milton was born May 9, 1844, and died July 1, of the same year; John B., born May 3, 1845, died Sept. r, 1863; James C, born May 5, 1847, died Aug. 23, 1868; Ell wood W., born July 13, 1849, is engaged in the livery business at St. Paul, Minn.; William," born June 22, 1851, is a farmer near Morrison; Elizabeth, born April 10, 1853, is the widow of James Shafer; Margaret, born March 10, 1855, died Feb. 1, 1863. The wife and mother died Aug. 14, 1881, after a wedded life of more than 43 years. Mr. Shirk was a second time joined in marriage, to Emeline Johnson, April 5, 1882. This union was of short duration, the second wife passing to the world of silence and of mystery April 20, 1884, after but little more than two years of married existence. Sept. 24, 1884, Mr. Shirk contracted a third matrimonial alliance, with Ellen Steer. She was born April 24, 1830.
Mr. Shirk was a citizen of his native state until 1864, when he transferred his energies and interests to Whiteside County, purchased 160 acres of promising land on section 12, Union Grove Township, and section 7, Mt. Pleasant Township, and brought to bear thereon all the abilities and skill which were the outgrowth of a life of endeavor under the fostering influences of the East. He placed all its acres under the best style of cultivation, and he made it an attractive home for his family of growing children, and its ownership is still held in the possession of him who tilled its soil in hopefulness and made it the nucleus of his years of successful effort. He also owns 320 acres on section 16, and 200 acres on section 21, in the same township, together with 40 acres of timber in the township of Clyde and two lots with residences in the city of Morrison, one of which is occupied by his family, the other by that of his son William. He is also the owner of $12,000 invested in the stock of the First National Bank at Morrison, of which he is one of the Directors. He belongs in membership to the First Presbyterian Church at Morrison, and was one of the most liberal contributors in the erection of the new and handsome church edifice of the society. [Transcribed by Christine Walters - Portraits & Biographical Whiteside County 1885]
MILES B. SHIRK
of Morrison, IL
Miles B. Shirk, of the mercantile firm of Shirk Bros., at Morrison, dealers in clothing and furnishing goods for gentlemen, was born May 23, 1840 in Clarion Co., Pa. He is a son of Charles and Sarah (Galbraith) Shirk, residents of Morrison, of whom an extended sketch, with a record of their several children, may be found on another page of this work. The father of Mr. Shirk has been and is still an extensive land proprietor of Whiteside County, and the son was reared on a farm. He lived on a farm until the fall of 1878 when in company with his brother William, he came to Morrison and embarked in the business in which they have since been engaged, and have operated with success. Mr. Shirk formed a matrimonial alliance with Jennie G. Gates Dec. 20, 1864 at Cooperstown, Venango Co., Pa., and they have had three children, namely; Elizabeth, George and Mary. Mrs. Shirk was born in Clarion Co., Pa and is the daughter of George and Elizabeth Gates. [Portrait and Biographical Album of Whiteside County, Illinois, Chapman Brothers Publishing Co., Chicago, 1885., Pg 278]
REUBEN F. SHIRLEY
Rock Falls, IL
Reuben F. Shirley, retired farmer, and a resident of Rock Falls, was born Aug. 21, 1820, in Connersville, Fayette Co., Ind., and was the youngest son of eight children in the family of John and Elizabeth (Danner) Shirley, his father a native of Virginia and his mother of Pennsylvania. Receiving a limited school education, and remaining with his parents until 22 years of age, he bought a farm in Marshall Co., Ind., containing 170 acres, and occupied it from 1843 to 1864; he then sold it, and came to Lee County, this State, buying 240 acres of land, which he cultivated three years; selling this, he purchased an 80-acre farm in the county, on the Dixon road, and resided there from 1867 to 1876. He then sold this place to his son, Samuel, and came to Rock Falls, and purchased a half block in Arey’s Addition, erecting a residence thereon, which he now occupies. Politically, Mr. Shirley is Democratic. He is a self-made man, ready at all times to lend a helping hand for the good of society. He was married June 2, 1842, to Jane Thompson, also a native of Indiana. They have had six children, four of whom are now living and married, namely: Samuel T., who married Alice V. Worthington; Meredith A., who married Sarah L. Densmore; Sarah E., who married Charles E. Payson, and Nancy A., who married J.H. Meckling. [Portraits & Biographical Whiteside County 1885 Pg 450]
Orin Sholes, resident at Morrison, formerly a farmer and merchant, was born June 19, 1808 at a place now known as Chipmans' Point in Vermont, and included within the township of Orwell, which was set off from Rutland County to Addison County some years since. It was formerly sholes Point, and is located about 2 miles south of the old fort, Ticoderoga, in Essex Co., N.Y. (The outline of Lake Champlain at this point is such that a portion lies due south of the fort.) His father, Joseph Sholes, was born June 17, 1771, and married Ann Hull, who was born Sept. 23, 1768. Both parents were born in Connecticut. Of their six children, Mr. Sholes is the only survivor. His mother was within sight of New London, Conn., when it was taken by Arnold, and her brother, who was in the fortifications, perished with others, only one person escaping with his life.
Mr. Sholes was reared on a farm and was engaged in agriculture until 1841, when he went to North Ferrisburg, Addison Co., Vermont, and opened a mercantile enerprise, which he continued to manage 13 years. In November 1854, he came West and located at Unionville, Union Grove Twp., where he engaged in trade in hardware, tinware, etc., operating at that point until 1860. In that year he bought 160 cres of land in the township of Union Grove, located on section 29, where he pursued his agricultural projects until 1871 when he leased the farm and moved to Morrison. He owns his residence, a dwelling adjoining and three lots connected therewith, besides several acres lying north of the village in the township of Mt. Pleasant. he also owns 320 acres in Dakota.
Mr. Sholes was first married Oct. 10, 1830, in Orwell, Vt., to Caroline Wicker. They had 11 children, of whom seven are still living, and there were born in the following order: Lucy P. (Savage)' Louisa (Steer)' Chipman w. resides in Lincoln Neb., but owns and runs a cattle ranch in the Indian Territory; Watson W., a stockman in Fredonia KS; Joseph a farmer in Neb.; Royce a tinner in Fredonia KS; Charlotte the wife of Eugene Steer of Pierre, Dak.; Joseph and Rollin C. were soldiers in the Civil War, and enlisted in the 8th IL Cav. The latter died while in the service. Mr. Scholes wife died at Hinesburg VT. He was a second time married in Lyndon Twp., Mach 20, 1857 to Mrs. Mary J. Loomis. She was born Oct. 1, 1825 in Lewis Co., N.Y. and by her first marriage had three children - Alice, Sue A. and Bert Loomis. The older daughter is the wife of A.W. Hull, a railroad conductor in Minnesota. The son is a merchant in Hannibal MO. [Portraits & Biographical Pg 472]
GEORGE F. SHULER
George P. Shuler is a farmer of Sterling Township and is located on section 9. His parents, John G. and Christian (Bristle) Shuler, were born in Germany and passed their whole lives in their native country. Four of their six children lived to maturity and were named George F., John G., Anna M. and Mathias. Mr. Shuler was born April 26, 1835, in Germany, and at 18 came to America, leaving his native land forever in 1853. He went first to Butler Co., Ohio where he remained eight months, after which he came to Whiteside County, arriving in the State of Illinois in August, 1854. He was a farm laborer until 1856, when he bought 40 acres of land, which is now included in his fine farm in Sterling Town ship, and is on section 9. His estate comprises 531 acres of land, and is chiefly under cultivation. Mr. Shuler obtained a fair education in his native country. He has taken an active interest in the affairs of his township and served 17 years as Highway Commissioner: is now serving another term of three years; has been School Director 15 years. He is a Republican in political sentiment, and was reared in the principles of the Lutheran Church. He was united in marriage, Feb. 14,1856, in Sterling Township, to Elizabeth D. Rosenberry, and they have had six children, three of whom they have lost by death. Three daughters are living, Ann E., Emma R. and Mary R. John died when nearly three years of age. Two children died in infancy. [Transcribed by Christine Walters - Portraits & Biographical Whiteside County 1885]
Mrs. Isabella Sides, a resident of Sterling, was the daughter of Johyn M. and Amelia H. (Eicholtz) Werntz, as was born Jan. 18, 1843. Her father, a merchant of Strasburg, Pa., sold out there in 1862, and came to Sterling, where he was a merchant tailor, until the time of his decease, which took placer Jan. 3, 1882. Mrs. Werntz died in Strasburg, Pa., Aug. 22, 1857.
Their daughter, the subject of this sketch, married Jacob R Sides, a native of Strasburg, Dec. 31, 1863. Mr. S. was born Sept. 2, 1844, and was the son of John H. and Maria (Rohrer) Side. He received a fine education. He made his home with his parents until he was of age. He taught school, and also followed agricultural pursuits in Pennsylvania, until 1865, when he sold out and came West, locating in Sterling, and entering the lumber and grain business. This he followed ten years. Eight years of this time he bought grain and took charge of the books of the firm of John S. Miller & Co., distillers and ran the Sterling distillery. During his lifetime he established a nice home for his wife and children, and built three other houses, two of which he sold. He died Aug. 25, 1882, leaving a life insurance policy of $20,000, which was paid his family. He had four children namely: Minnie H., Ora K., Edwin R. and Grace B. Minnie H. married John Annas, of Sterling, Mary 6, 1885. [Portrait and Biographical Album of Whiteside County, Illinois, Chapman Brothers Publishing Co., Chicago, 1885. Pg 347]
Of Coloma Township
Ira Sillaman was born in Pennsylvania; married Miss Melissa Brooks in Ohio, and settled in Coloma in 1838. He was a wholehearted man, and esteemed by all old and modern settlers alike. At the time of their deaths, he and his wife resided in Como. Children: Homer, Rothmer, and Luna. Homer died of disease contracted in the army. Rothmer married a daughter of Mr. Numan's of Genesee Grove, and resides in Nebraska. Luna is married and lives in Wisconsin. W. W. Hawkins married Miss Sillamans sister, went to California and was with Daniel Brooks when he died. He now, with his family, resides in Aurora, Illinois. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County IL 1877]
Of Hopkins Twp.
Frederick Simonson was a native of New York, and born October 13, 1804. He married Miss Sabrina Harvey, April 25, 1827. The following have been their children: James H., born May 26, 1829; Sally, born May 2, 1831, Louisa F., born March 3, 1833; Frederick, Jr., born in 1835; Sabrina, born January 25, 1837; Flavel, born August 30,1840; Mary, born June 24, 1842. Mary died October 22, 1843, and Louisa F. November 7, 1868. Sally married Abram Law, January 1, 1850; children, Victor E., Granville, Winnie, Ida May, Elmer, and Marion. Flavel married. Miss Frances Thomas; James married Miss Lavinia Sherwin; children, Marcia, Kate, Cora, and two who died in infancy. Frederick, Jr., resided at the homestead. Mr. Simonson died June 30, 1869, and was buried in the timber just west of where his log cabin still stands. [Bent - Wilson History of Whiteside County]
Of Sterling Township
John Simonson came from New York State, with S. Miles Coe, in the summer of 1835, and made a claim in the northern part of the present township of Sterling. He was about six feet three inches in height, and had many peculiarities, one of which was an abhorrence of the razor. He never shaved, and his luxuriant beard covered his entire face, save a small portion of the upper part of his cheeks. At that time clean shaved faces were the rule, and a full-whiskered human physiognomy attracted as much attention as the queue of a Chinaman does now in a country village. He was usually known by the name of General Burgoyne. Being afflicted with a pulmonary complaint, he went to Arkansas, with his family, consisting of his wife and two children, some twenty years ago. Since then all have died. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County]
OF Portland Township
Jesse Slawson was born in Oneida county, New York, in 1809, and came to Portland in 1836. He was a carpenter by trade, and also followed farming near Spring Hill, while he was a resident of Portland. He now lives in Nebraska. Mr. Slawson married Miss Rachael M. Fuller, in 1833. Their children are: Andrew, who married Miss Catharine Joice, and lives in Missouri; Jesse D., who married Miss Lucy Kinney, and lives in Nebraska; Charles H., who married Miss Lydia Briggs, and lives in Kansas; Earl B., who married Miss Cordelia Brown, and lives in Nebraska; Howard F., who married Miss Mary Hepworth, and lives in New York; Seth H, who married Miss Jennie Patch, and lives in Portland; and Mary L., wife of Merritt Clifton, living in Portland. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County Page 357]
WILLIAM D. SLAYMAKER
William D. Slaymaker, a farmer on section 27, Garden Plain Township, was born in Williamstown, Lancaster Co., Pa., Jan. 28, 1839. He is the son of James H. and Jane E. (Mcllvaine) Slaymaker, and both parents were born in the county of which the son is a native. James H. Slaymaker was a farmer and kept a tavern on the celebrated Lancaster and Philadelphia turnpike, and the children of the family were born in the hotel. John Slaymaker, paternal grandfather of Mr. Slaymaker of this sketch, was Captain of a company in the military service of the United States during the War of 1812. The father died when William was 12 years old, and a year later, in 1852, the widowed mother with seven children came to Illinois. They remained a few months in Albany, when the family took possession of a farm in Newton Township. The mother lives in Marion Co., Kan. Mr. Slaymaker lived with his mother until his marriage, March 3, 1870, to Martha A. Curry, of Allegheny Co., Pa. In the fall subsequent he bought the farm he has since owned and occupied. The place is in good agricultural condition, with suitable and necessary buildings. John C, William M., Alvin B. and Samuel L. are the names of the children of Mr. and Mrs Slaymaker. The parents are members of the Presbyterian Church at Garden Plain. [Transcribed by Christine Walters - Portraits & Biographical Whiteside County 1885]
DAVID A. SLICK
David A. Slick, general farmer and stockman, located on section 13, Genesee Township, is the son of Jeremiah and Elizabeth (Leady) Slick. They were both born in the State of Pennsylvania. They were married in Pennsylvania, where they engaged in "agricultural pursuits until their removal, in 1853, to Carroll Co., III. They settled in the township of Freedom, where the son was horn, October 5 of the same year. The parents are now residents of Lanark, Carroll Co., 111.
Until he was 16 years of age, Mr. Slick remained at home, attending the district school. He then began a regular course of study at the college of Lanark, Carroll Co., IL., and continued till Oct. 6, 1870. Soon after he entered the mercantile establishment of Henry Wickey, at Coleta. He was a salesman there 10 years, and at the expiration of that time he purchased a half interest in the business. The relationship was in active existence two years, with successful results. On the termination of his commercial enterprise, Mr. Slick bought a farm of 80 acres, on section 13, Genesee Township. Since 1883, the year in which he engaged in farming, he has given considerable attention to agricultural operations, and to raising valuable stock. He contemplates another change a year hence, in 1886, and preliminary thereto he has sold his farm.
His marriage to Celesta Wetzel took place Sept. 19, 1881. Mrs. Slick was born Oct. 30, 1854, in Tuscarawas Co., Ohio. She is the daughter of George and Mary (Lineroad) Wetzel, both being of German extraction, and by birth natives of Ohio. She is the youngest of three daughters, there being no sons in the family. Her father was a mechanic, and he came West when she was a child of five years. Her mother died in Ohio in 1856, aged 25 years and six months. The daughter was placed in charge of her
uncle, Joseph Hannah, by whom she was brought up. She was educated at Mt. Carroll, IL., and Mt. Vernon, Iowa, and later, was sent to the Northwestern College at Naperville, 111. Mr. and Mrs. Slick have been the parents of three children - Josephine Natalie, Emory D. and Harold R. Mrs. Slick is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. In political sentiment Mr. Slick is a Republican. [Transcribed by Christine Walters - Portraits & Biographical Whiteside County 1885]
CHARLES HOOKS SLOCUMB
Of Albany, Whiteside Co IL
Charles Hooks Slocumb, a retired farmer resident at Albany, was born Nov. 14, 1817 near Carmi, White Co., Ill. Rev. Samuel Slocumb, his father, was a native of Georgia, and was born Nov. 23, 1783, in Atlanta. The family trace their descent in a direct line from Anthony, Giles and Edward Slocumb, who came to America from England in 1637. The first named is recorded as the first landed proprietor by purchase of 103 acres, which was called New Plymouth and is now included in Taunton and vicinity. Giles settled in Portsmouth, R.I. and died there in 1682. Edward is on record as one of the Supervisors of Highways in Taunton, June 1, 1647. There is no further record of him. The Slocumb family of Whiteside County are lineal descendants fromGiles Slocumb. Joseph Slocumb, great-grandfather of C.H. Slocumb, was a merchant at Atlanta Ga., early in the 18th century, and he had two sons, John Charles and Ezekiel. The former was a soldier of the Revolutionary War, and became a Methodist preacher. About the year 1800 he went to Kentucky, whence he removed about five years later to Concord, White Co., Ill. and there died, about 1825.
Ezekial lived in North Carolina after the close of the War of the Revolution, and from 1812 to 1818 he was a member of what was then designated the "House of Commons' of that State. He was a valiant soldier in the Colonial struggle with England, and was a Lieutenant at the battle of Moore's Creek. He was promoted to a Colonelcy for bravery in action. Samuel SLocumb, son of John Charles, went with his parents to Kentucky, and in 1812 he removed to the Territory of Illinois, settling near Carmi. The second struggle with Great Britain called him into the military service in the same year and he became an officer. He married Mary Ann Beck, March 21, 1804, and settled to the pursuit of farming in Concord. He was a man of recognized abilities and became Postmaster at Concord. He also held other important official positions at that place. In 1833 he went to Knox Co., Ill. where he settled on Government land and engaged in farming. He built a log house entirely without nails, covered with clapboards bound in place with poles, and having a punceon floor. He lived on the place five years, and in 1838 settled where the village of ALbany n ow stands. He died there Dec. 29, 1859. His wife's death took place Feb. 24, 1851. He officiated many years as a local preacher in the Methodist Church, and was a farmer nearly all his life. After coming to ALbany he was made Justice of the Peace and discharged the duties of the position a number of years. To him and his wife 11 children were born; Samuel lives in LaBette Co., Kan.; William W. is a steamboat captain and lives at Winona, Minn. With the execption of Mr. Slocumb of this sketch no others are living. Samuel Slocumb died at the age of 76 years. He was six years old when the Republic entered upon its first stage of existence under the administration of a President, and he died during the executive term of the 15th head of the nation. He was always a pioneer, and encountered the trials, privations and vicissitudes of the period of first things successively in White, Knox and Whiteside Counties, and at the time of his death, Albany was just emerging from its formative stage. If the record of his experiences as pioneer farmer and preacher had been preserved, the recital would have possessed the interest of a work of fiction.
When the family removed to Knox County they traveled with the aid of ox and horse teams, driving their stock and camping and cooking by the wayside. There were no mills to grind grain, and their food was shaved corn, or hominy made by pounding the grain in a mortar; and, having plenty of milk, they subsisted on mush and milk. What would they have said if they could have forseen the time when their wholesome but compulsory food would be served as a luxury on aristocratic tables?
Charles H. Slocumb was 20 years old when his parents removed to Albany. He rented five acres of land and engaged in farming in 1839. In the winter which ensued he chopped wood, at 25 cents per cord. In 1840 he established a sort of independent transportation line, carrying passengers to various points in the county. He did a good business, as many travelers came to Albany on the river who had business inland. After pursuing this vocation two years, he entered a claim in the (now) township of Newton, where he erected a log house, the material from which was removed from Albany. He made his land claim at Dixon in 1842, whither he went for the purpose, accompanied by his brother. Associated with two brothers, he improved and fenced 160 acres, on which he lived until his removal in 1851 to the township of Garden Plain. He at first bought 40 acres of land, to which he added by subsequent purchases of State land until he was the possessor of 218 acres. He occupied his estate until 1878 when he rented the property and removed to Albany.
Mrs. Elizabeth A. (Bennett) Slocumb was born March 23, 1830 in Cazenovia, Madison Co NY. She is the oldest daughter of Lyman and Susan E. (Latham) Bennett. Her father was born Nov. 8, 1802, in Ludlow, Hampden Co., Mass., of English parentage. He went to Cazenovia, where he was married Oct. 31, 1827. Susan Elizabeth Latham who became his wife, wsa born in Norwich, Conn., in September 1808, and while yet young went to Madison County with her aunts. In the fall of 1835 the family set out for Whiteside
County, traveling in the primitive method then in vogue. They had an ox team as a motive power and went to Buffalo, where they embarked on a steamboat for Detroit, their team coming across the lakes by the same boat; and it was again brought into requisition in the journey from the City of the Straits to Whiteside County. The family brought all their personal possessions, and they camped and cooked their food while on the way to their destination.
Mr. Bennett entered a claim on the north bank of Rock River, opposie Portland, where he built a log cabin, and resided about four years. At the end of that time Mr. Bennett went to what is now the township of Newton. He entered a claim, built a log dwelling, and fenced and otherwise improved 40 acres of land, on which he was a resident until 1859, the year in which he located in Albany Township.
A few years later he moved to the village of Albany which was his home until his death, which transpired March 3, 1884. His wife died April 9, 1873. Their children included two sons and eight daughters, and all but one lived to reach maturity; Elizabeth was married to C.H. Slocumb, Oct. 23, 1848; Helen M. is the wife of David C.Hanks, and lives in Albany; Harriet A. is the wife of A.t. Jenks, of Stillwater, Minn.; Lewis D. is a resident of Lyons, Iowa; Alice married J.F. Hopper, and is a resident of Albany; Irene is the wife of Charles Paddock and lives at Albany; Emily Jane and Sophronia are deceased. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Slocumb now living are; Lyman C., Samuel Chester, Sylvester B., Grandus H., Robert D. and Mabel Azelma; four children are not living. [Whiteside County Portraits & Biographical Pg 610]
STEPHEN B. SLOCUMB
Of Newton Twp.
Stephen B. Slocmb was born in White county, Illinois, at "Slocumb's Fort," on the Wabash river, in 1813. His father was an officer in the American Army during thc war of 1812-'15, and was garrisoning the fort in the territory of Illinois when the subject of this sketch was born.
In 1834 Mr. Slocumb removed to Knox county, Illinois, and in 1836 settled in Albany, and assisted in laying off the town. He made a claim in Newton in 1837, but did not settle upon his land until 1841. In 1845 he, for other persons, bid off large tracts of land in Newton at the Government land sales. He has always been actively engaged in furthering the interests of his township, and was for years honored with offices of trust by his fellow citizens. Mr. Slocumb has been engaged in farming for many years; also in the lumber business, and other mercantile enterprises. He is now extensively engaged in selling lumber along the Mississippi river, and is in the full enjoyment of health and energy.
He was married at Albany, February 14, 1839 (Ogle County License), to Letitia Maria McCall. She died April 3, 1845, and on October 15, 1850, Mr. Slocumb was married to Caroline Matilda Rouse. Her death occurred March 4, 1859, and December 9, 1859 (License dated 16 December 1859 Peoria County), Mr. Slocumb was married to Mrs. M. E. Hawks, who died March 23, 1861. Mr. Slocumb was married to his present wife, Malinda, daughter of Ivy Buck, May 11, 1864, children: William R., now pilot on Mississippi steamboats, was born December 23, 1840; Chas. H., a merchant in Nebraska, born March 1, 1843; Luella C., born August 15, 1851 ; Jane Sarah, now Mrs. J. Thomas, born May 16, 1854; George R., born August 27, 1856; Stephen E., born February 9 1870. Margaret Emily, born March 19, 1845, died in infancy. [History of Whiteside County, Illinois: From Its First Settlement ... edited by Charles Bent, 1877]
CHESTER S. SLY
Chester S. Sly, a farmer, sec. 15, Mt. Pleasant Tp., is a son of Ira and Jerusha B. (Adams) Sly, natives of Berkshire and Worcester Counties, Mass., respectively.They were married in Williamstown, Bershire, Co., Mass., and settled in North Adams, that State, where they lived till their death. The father died June 22, 1880, and the mother Jan. 25, 1878. Their family comprised eight children, namely: James N., Mary M., Chester S., Susan A., Martha W., George R., Charles E., Addison M. Mr. Sly, the subject of this biographical notice, was born in North Adams, Berkshire Co., Mass., March 7, 1841. His education was achieved in the common school of his native county, andhe assisted in the labors of the farm, until about the age of 19 years. He remained in his native county and on the old homestead until he had attained the age of 25 years, when he came to this county, in the spring of 1867, and located on 40 acres of land, which he had purchased previously, the same being located on section 15, Mt. Pleasant Township, and on which he has resided ever since. He is now the owner of 80 acres of good farming land, and eight acres not tillable. He was united in marriage in North Adams, Berkshire Co., Mass., Sept 27, 1866, to Sarah O., daughter of David and Sarah E. (Prentice) Ives, natives of Berkshire and Hampshire Counties, Mass. They settled in North Adams, where the mother idied in March, 1848. Thier family consisted of three children, Sarah O., Lucy M., and Frances A., Sarah O. was born in North Adams, March 13, 1839. She and her husband are the parents of two children, Carroll E. and Cherri M. Mr. Sly has been School Director, and is also one of the Directors of Mr. Pleasant Mutual Fire Insurance Company. He is also a member of the Order of Masonry, and he and his wife belong to the Methodist Episcopal Church. [Portraits & Biographical 1885]
Jacob Smaltz is a farmer on section 23, Ustick Township. He was born in Germany Nov. 9, 1814, and is the son of George and Kathrina Smaltz, who were also natives of Germany. He was married in his native land, Sept. 25, 1846, to Anna Fichter, and they are now the parents of ten children – Jacob, Mathias, Anna, Christiana, Dora, George, Mary, John, Eliza and William.
Mr. Smaltz emigrated with his wife and children to the United States in 1852. He went first to Ohio, where he lived 10 years, coming, in 1862, to Whiteside County. Soon after his arrival in Illinois he bought 80 acres of land in Ustick Township, on which he has since lived. He has exerted the thrift and energy which make continued existence possible in his own country, on the acres which he owns in Illinois, and has shown the worth of one man in the field of well directed effort. The habits he formed from necessity in early life have proved resources of profit to him under the privileges of a republic. He is now the owner of 203 acres in Whiteside County and 160 acres in Iowa. The home farm displays buildings of an excellent and valuable type. Politically Mr. Smaltz is a Democrat. He and his wife are members of the German Lutheran Church. [Contributed by Debbie Thormahlen from Portraits & Biographical Pg 463 Whiteside County IL 1885]
Alfred Smith, senior member of the firm of Smith & Bro., hardware merchants at Tampico, was born May 30, 1847, in Devonshire, England. His father came with his family to America in 1851, and settled in the Wyoming Valley in Luzerne Co., PA. After a few years another removal was effected, to Kankakee City, Ill., where themother died, July 4, 1882, aged 62. The father is married again and is still a resident of that place. Mr. Smith was brought up principally in Kankakee, and was there educated. He also learned the business of a tinner before he was 20 years of age, serving an apprenticeship of two years with Kerr Bros. of that place. After spending one year as a "jour" he entered into an association with James Porch, and they established their business at Chebanse, eight miles from Kankakee. Their paartnership was in existence three years. Meanwhile Mr. Smith was married Oct. 11, 1870, at Kaneville, Kane Co., Ill., to Sadie Lewis. Mrs. Smith was born in Elsie, Clinton Co. Mich., Oct. 8, 1855. Her father was a Baptist minister, and removed when she was 14 years of age to Illinois, and after several changes settled in Kaneville. They now reside in Rock Island County. Mr. and Mrs. Smith have two children: Ina, born July 16, 1871, and Earle, born Jan. 2, 1879. Mr. Smith became a citizen of Tampico in 1872, when he established his business at that place. He was built up a prosperous and extnesive trade, which is still increasing in popularity. He is the owner of 12 village lots. In 1884 Mr. Smith admitted his brother to a partnership with him, and the firm style became as stated. Mr. Smith is a Republican in political principle and connection. He has served as member of the Village Board, and also as School Director. He is a Deacon in the Baptist Church, and is also a Trustee of the Society. Mrs. Smith is a member of the same communion. [Transcribed by Christine Walters, Whiteside County History 1880]
Of Lyndon Twp.,
Dr. Augustin Smith was born in Clinton county, New York, June 13, 1800. He attended lectures at the University of Vermont in 1823, in connection with his other medical studies, and was licensed to practice medicine by the Clinton County (N. Y.) Medical Society, July 14,1824. He practiced medicine in New York nine years, and in 1833 came to Ottawa, Illinois, and afterwards went to Hennepin, on the Illinois river. In 1836 he came to Lyndon, and built the first frame house in the town, being the one occupied by John Roy in 1839 as a store and dwelling.
Dr. Smith married Miss Mary A. Beckwith on the 6th day of June, 1824. The children by this marriage were: Lucy B., born February 23, 1825, and one child who died in infancy. Mrs. Smith died July 16, 1837. He afterwards married Mrs. Sarah B. Ware. Their children were: Mary Alice and Sarah Minerva, twins, born January 25,1842; John Augustin and Jane Augusta, twins, born April 14, 1846. Of these John Augustin died September 12, 1846; Jane Augusta, February 9, 1848; and Sarah Minerva, January 27, 1866. Lucy B. married William W. Howard, September 11, 1844, and died at Lyndon, April 17, 1847; Mary Alice married, Frank Clendenin, March 14, 1866, and lives in Morrison. The children of Mrs. Sarah B. Ware, previous to her marriage with Dr. A. Smith, were Lucy Ann, born December 10, 1829, and Joseph, born June 16, 1832. Lucy Ann was married at Lyndon to Rev. Edwin G. Smith-now Superintendent of the American Bible Society for Illinois and part of Indiana of Dover, Illinois, by Rev. +, Owen Lovejoy, January 29, 1851, and died at Tremont, Illinois, November 5, 1864; one child, Edwin James, who resides at the house of his father in Morrison. Joseph married Miss Martha E. Roy, July 22, 1858, and died at Morrison, November 7, 1862; children, Fred and Joseph E.; Mr. Ware was in the practice of law at Morrison, and stood at the front rank of the profession; he was just upon the threshold of life, with a prosperous and brilliant career before him, when Death, the leveler of all, claimed him.
Dr. Smith practiced medicine at Lyndon until 1851, when he embarked in mercantile pursuits, and continued in 'that business for several years. He was appointed Postmaster at Lyndon in October, 1840, Hon. John M. Niles being then the 'Postmaster General. In 1840 he was Deputy Clerk of the County Commissioners' Court. On the 24th of February, 1843, he was elected Justice of the Peace, and was successively re-elected until he had served for a period of eleven years. In 1860 he moved to Morrison, and engaged in the mercantile business for several years. Dr. Smith died November 3, 1871, at Morrison, of heart disease, with which he had been troubled for many years. He was a highly educated gentleman, and a deacon of the Congregational Church for years, being specially noted for his many Christian virtues. [History of Whiteside County, Illinois: From Its First Settlement ... edited by Charles Bent, 1877]
CHARLES C. SMITH
Charles C. Smith, of the firm of Smith & Guthrie, dealers in hardware, stoves and agricultural implements at Erie, is the son of Sydney and Louisa (Riggs) Smith, and was born in St. Lawrence Co., N. Y.,Sept. 28, 1836. His father is a native of Lewis Co., N. Y.,is a hatter, and resides in this county, aged 80 years. His mother is also a native of Lewis County, and resides here. The issue of their union was six children, four of whom are living. Lester is a tinner by vocation and resides in Waterville, N. Y.; Lavina L. was the wife of David Guthrie and resides in Erie. William If. is cashier and book-keeper for R. L. Burchell, of Erie; Charles C. is in business as stated, and the other two died in infancy.
Mr. Smith learned the trade of carpenter and joiner in his native town, Canton, St Lawrence Co., N. Y., and followed it for a number of years. In 1854 he came to Erie and followed his trade for some time. In 1873 he formed a partnership with his brother-in-law, Joseph Guthrie, and engaged in the hardware business, and has continued it ever since except about 18 months. In the spring of 1882 he sold out and went to O'Brien Co., Iowa, where he was engaged in the hardware business until the fall of 1883, when he leturned and again entered in partnership with his former partner. They carry a stock usually amounting to $6,000, and employ one clerk. They own their buildings, four stores and warehouse, and keep all kinds of hardware, tinware, agricultural implements and farm machinery, and are having a good and constantly increasing trade. Mr. Smith was married in Portland Township, this county. Sept 1, 1857, to Miss Elizabeth Gulhiie, daughter of Samuel and Ann Guthrie, natives of Ireland. The issue of their union was five children: Estella L., born July 14, 1858, is the wife of Anson A. Matthews, engaged in the furniture business at Erie; Sevilla, born Aug. 7, was the wife of Henry Loucks, a farmer of DeKalb County, and died April 21, 1885. Minnie was born Sept. 9, 1862; Fannie, May 14, 1870, and Lester, Oct. 24, 1874. [Transcribed by Christine Walters - Portrait & Biographical 1885]
CHARLES H. SMITH
Charles H. Smith, farmer, residing on section 21, Hahnaman Township, is a son of Christian and Anna M. Smith, natives of Germany. His mother died in her native country, and in the spring of 1851 his father emigrated to this country, and settled in Montgomery Co., Pa. He resided there for six years,and in 1857 came to this county and settled in Sterling. The issue of their union was four children, namely: Christian, Charles H., Emma and William.
Charles H. was born in Germany, Feb. 1,1846, and was five years old when he came with his father to the United States. He lived at home, in Pennsylvania, assisting on the farm and attending the common schools, until 1861, when he came to this county, and "worked out " on a farm for three years. He then, in partnership with his father, rented a farm in Coloma Township, which they jointly cultivated for five years, after which he was variously occupied for a while, and then rented a farm, and cultivated it himself for several years.
In 1880 he went to Hahnaman Township, and purchased 160 acres of land, located on section 21. He erected a fine house and barn on the land, and entered vigorously upon the task of its improvement. In April, 1884, the destroying element, fire, swept away his barn and outbuildings, together with a large quantity of grain, 16 head of hogs, and all his farming implements. Misfortune did not dishearten or overcome him, and he rebuilt the same year. About 80 acres of his land is in a good tillable condition.
Mr. Smith was united in marriage Feb. 18, 1868, at Sterling, Ill., to Miss Mary, daughter of Phillip and Margaret Obendorf, natives of Germany. They emigrated to the United States about 1850, and settled in Philadelphia, Pa., from whence they came to this county in the spring of 1860, settling in Jordan Township, where, three years later, in 1863, the father died. They were the parents of five children : John, Mary, William, Charles and Sarah. Mrs. Smith was born in Philadelphia, Pa., Aug. 29, 1850. She and her husband are the parents of four children: Nellie M., Nettie M., Charles E. and Lilly M.
Mr. Smith has held the office of School Director, and politically is identified with the Republican party. Religiously, he is a member,of the German Evangelical Church, and his wife is a member of the English Lutheran Church, of which she has been a member since 16 years of age. [Transcribed by Christine Walters - Portrait & Biographical 1885]
Of Prophetstown Township
Harmon Smith was born in Vermont, in 1812, and came to Portland in 1837. He settled on Washington street, and remained on the same farm until his death. He married Miss Jane Olmstead, in 1839, their children being: Webster, who married Miss Hannah Underhill; Clarion, who married John Lambert; and Charles, who married Miss Edna Smith. [History of Whiteside County, Illinois: From Its First Settlement ... edited by Charles Bent, 1877]
CAPTAIN HARRY SMITH
Of Lyndon Township, Whiteside Co IL
Captain Harry Smith was a native of New York State, and born October 13 1779. Capt. Smith came to Lyndon in 1837, and made a claim and built a cabin just east of the creek, one mile east of the present village of Lyndon, on the Sterling road. He had been for a number of years prior to his coming West Sheriff of Steuben county, New York, and was a soldier in the War of 1812 and fought under Gen. Scott at the battle of Lundy's Lane. He was a short, thick-set, dark-complexioned man, generous, impulsive, wide-awake, self-reliant and manly to a fault.
He married Miss Melinda Warner, May 8, 1806. Their children were: Hannah A., born April 1O, 1807; Harriet L., born September 6, 1808; William H., born May 7, 1813; Charlotte M., born April 7, 1815; Harry R., born February 20, 1817; Melinda, born August 26, 1821; Jabez S., born March 8, 1824; and Hiram D., born July 17, 1826. One child died in infancy. Hannah A. married C. S. Deming. Harriet L. married Draper B. Reynolds. Charlotte M. married John Aljoe. Aljoe died in 1864; Mrs. Aljoe is living in Lyndon. Melinda married W. W. Gilbert, November 14, 1839. Jabez S. married Miss Adeline Tingley, February 27, 1851; children, Louisa M., Harry E., Eleanor A., and Martha A. Louisa and Harry E., are dead; Eleanor A. married John A. Slater. Hiram D. married Elizabeth J. James; children, George 0., Melinda A., and Margaret; he died February 10, 1876. Harry R. married Miss Mary A. Hurd; children, Caleb B., Sarah M., Olive E., Frank A., and Harry L. Capt. Harry Smith died October 21, 1858, aged nearly eighty years. Mrs. Smith died January 27, 1854. [History of Whiteside County, Illinois: From Its First Settlement ... edited by Charles Bent, 1877]
Of Prophetstown Township, Whiteside Co IL
Harry Smith was born in Rutland county, Vermont, in 1801, and came to Prophetstown with William Hill in the fall of 1835; making a claim on Benton street, near the present village. He married Miss Ursula Spratt, in 1825. Their children are: Ann, wife of William Hill, Jr., living in Prophetstown; Helen, wife of E. A. Fassett, living in Prophetstown; Duane, living in Prophetstown; and Jane, wife of George Kellogg, also living in Prophetstown. [History of Whiteside County, Illinois: From Its First Settlement ... edited by Charles Bent, 1877]
HIRAM P. SMITH
Hiram P. Smith, a farmer of Clyde Township, resident on section 7, was born in Black Creek Township, Luzerne Co., Pa., May 20, 1834. His parents, Abraham and Catherine (McMurtric) Smith, were born in New Jersey. Their parents were natives of New England and were of Irish extraction. His paternal ancestors emigrated to New England previous to the days of the Revolution. His father and mother were married in Black Creek Township, and they lived there all the years of their united lives, attaining a respected and useful position in society. The father was prominent in military affairs and held the rank of Major in the militia about 17 years. He died Sept. 30, 1876, aged 79 years. The mother is 84 years of age and is still resident on the homestead. Five of their nine children arc living.
Mr. Smith is the fifth child in order of birth and until he reached his majority lived at home, meanwhile obtaining such education as was possible at that period, and also acquiring a complete knowledge of agricultural arts. On obtaining the control and direction of his own time he attended Wyoming Seminary for some time, and completed an entire course of study. He afterwards engaged in teaching in his native county, passing the alternate summer seasons in agricultural labors. He passed six years in this manner and meanwhile came West, arriving in Lee Co., ILL., in October, 1858.
Nov. 19, 1861, he was married to Catherine, daughter of John and Jane (Flick) Smith. Mrs. Smith is of German descent, her grandparents having emigrated from Germany to Pennsylvania. Her parents were married in Columbia Co., Pa., and afterwards located in Lycoming County, in that State, whence they came, some years later, to Clyde Township and are now living on a farm on section 18. Mrs. Smith was born in Briar Creek Township, Columbia Co., Pa., Nov. 19, 1841. She was about two years old when her parents went to Lycoming County, where she was principally educated. She was 17 years of age when her father removed to Illinois. The family first located in Ogle County, removing later to Lee County, fixing their residence near Dixon. She became a teacher and taught school two terms in Lee County and was married there. The family circle now includes six children, Wellington L., Emma J., Mary A., Clement R., Eva M. and Hiram P., Jr.
Soon after their marriage, Mr. and Mrs. Smith settled in Fair Haven Township, Carroll County, this State, whence they removed, two years afterward, to Clyde Township. They managed a farm two years in the interests of John F. Demmon, after which they purchased 80 acres of land on section 7, Clyde Township. The property is finely located and the homestead now contains 160 acres of land, all under good improvement and well stocked. At the lime it came into the possession of Mr. Smith it was all unbroken prairie. The cattle or. the place are valuable grades of Short-Horns. Mr. Smith affiliates with the Democratic party and has held the minor offices of the township. With his wife, he is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. [Transcribed by Christine Walters - Portrait & Biographical 1885]
John Smith, general farmer, residing on section 18, Clyde Township, was born Oct. 25, 1815, in Columbia Co., Pa. He is of mixed English and German extraction, his parents, David and Catherine (Hiner) Smith, belonging respectively to those nationalities in lineal descent. They were born in New Jersey, were married in the State of their nativity, and lived there some time as farmers. Later they removed to Pennsylvania, and were among the pioneers of Colombia County, in that State. Their 16 children—eight sons and eight daughters - nearly all attained adult age.
Mr. Smith is the sixth child, and he lived at home until he was 24 years old. His mother died when he was 16 years of age. He was married in his native county to Jane H., daughter of John and Elizabeth (Laub) Flick. Both were of German descent, and came in early life to Pennsylvania. They were married in Northampton County, and afterward located in Columbia County, where Mrs. Smith was born, Oct. 28, 1818, and she is the youngest but one of a family of 10 children. When she was nine years of
age she became a member of the family of her sister, Mrs. Catherine L. Appleman, in Montour Co., Pa. Her father died March 6, 1864, in Lycoming Co., Pa., aged 85 years. Her mother died there also, Oct. 28, 1860, aged 79 years.
The children of Mr. and Mrs. Smith were six in number: Catherine is now the wife of H. P. Smith; Peter married Ada Miner, and is engaged in farming in Clyde Township; William B. married Susannah L. Sykes, and resides in Union Grove Township; Ettie M. is the wife of John Taylor, of Morrison; Stephen P. married Lucy Stapleton, and lives in the township of Union Grove; Mathias became a soldier in the Union army, and died at Chattanooga, Tenn.; he was 24 years of age.
The family remained in Pennsylvania until 1859, when they removed to Illinois, and located near While Rock in Ogle County. After a brief residence there they settled on a farm in Lee County, which they occupied some years. In 1869 they located on a farm of 76 acres on section 19, Clyde Township, where they have since resided, and have made excellent improvements. The family are members of the Presbyterian Church. Mr. Smith is a Democrat. [Transcribed by Christine Walters - Portrait & Biographical 1885]
Leander Smith, banker at Morrison, is one of the most prominent business men in Northern Illinois. He is senior member of the banking firm of Smith & Mackay, and has been president of the First National Bank of Morrison since its organization in 1865. The ancestors of Mr. Smith belonged to the old Puritan stock that settled in Mass. and his immediate progenitors located at and near Ipswich, in that State. From there, Nathan Smith, his father, traced direct lineal descent. The grandparents of Mr. Smith settled in Mt. Vernon, NH, where Nathan was born in 1777. Nancy Lamson, who became his wife, was born in Mt. Vernon in 1782 and they became the parents of two sons, Nathan Jr and Leander. The former died in Athol Mass. in Jan. 1879 and left a wife and three children.
Nathan Smith Sr. was by vocation a manufacturer of woolen cloth and after marriage went to Templeton Mass. In 1838 he removed to Royalston, in the same State, and died there in 1849. His wife died at the same place in 1854. Mr. Smith was born Feb. 10, 1819 in Templeton Mass. In addition to the business of a manufacturer his father owned and conducted a farm, where his family lived and where his sons were brought up. Mr. Smith lived on the farm until he was 16 years of age, when he was sent to an academy at New Ipswich NH, where he obtained a substantial elementary education. At the age of 17 he began teaching and spent six successive winters in the pursuit of that vocation. Meanwhile he was engaged in studious preparation for a professional life, and as opportunity offered, he began to read medicine. He matriculated in the Medical Dept. of Dartmouth College in Hanover NH, from which he was graduated with the degree of M.D. in 1842, when he was 23 years of age.
He entered upon his initiatory career as a physician and surgeon at Richmond NH where he practiced with success for about three years. He was not content with the scope and acquisitions of his life as a professional man, and in order to extend his business relations he left Richmond and went to Tioga Co PA, when the rich lumber resources of that section was being opened and which afforded a promising field for the exercise of the abilities and ambitions of Mr. Smith. His professional skill was
as valuable a resource as the energies and financial ability he brought to bear upon the situation, and he conducted his business as a physician with all the interest and ardor demanded by the exigencies of the location. he entered heavily into the manufacture and sale of lumber and combined therewith a mercantile enterprise of considerable proportions. His location was at Elkland and he was engaged in the pursuit of his several interests in Tioga County from 1845 to 1853.
Meanwhile, the glowing and exciting accounts of the golden harvest on the Pacific coast, ripe for the reapers, aroused all sectionf of the New World and Mr. Smith joined the "Argonauts," as the earliest immigrants to California were designated. He went in March 1849 to the sunset slope of the Western Continent, to avail himself of the mining resources. At that time the city of Sacramento was a hamlet of tents, and a few unpretentious houses occupied the site of the present magnificent city of the Golden Gate. The local government was in a state of chaos from existing circumstances; the rapid influx of pupulation of a most miscellaneous character, setting aside all regulations of law and order; and in the absence of authority, every man was a power unto himself and exercised his assumed perogatives according to his own interpretations of the rights and privileges to himself accruing, by virtue of his understanding, his interests, or his prejudices, or whatever his standpoint might be.
Mr. Smith engaged in prospecting on the North Fork of the American River, and he remained about a year. He was an efficient auxiliary in the administration of measures to secure the tranquility and protection of the people, the government being in a formative condition.
He returned to PA in 1850, after a year of successful operation in the Golden State, and resumed the duties of his former business connections. In 1853, he went to Vinton, Benton Co IA under the same impetus which had led him to PA. He established his practice there and became speedily and extensively identified with the general interests of the place. He qcquired the prorpietorship of large trcts of Government land, and he platted an addition to the village of Vinton, which is still designated by his name. After operating at that point a year, he went to Lyons IA and prosecuted his professional business and other interests two years. In 1856 he came to Fulton, Whiteside Co IL, where he devoted his attention to he prosecution of financial projects and enterprises, and also engaged extensively in the manufacture and sale of lumber. He prosecuted his interests in that direction at Fulton 10 years and during that time he secured large tracts of Government land in Wisconsin and Minnesota, covered with pine timber, the latter being removed and the land afterwards sold to settlers for farms. Mr. Smith inaugurated the private banking enterprise of Smith, Root & Co. at Fulton in 1856 in which he retained a controlling interest until 1864 under which the enterprise was established at Morrison - L. Smith & Co. In 1865 the latter was converted into the First National Bank, with Mr. Smith as President and A.J. Jackson, Cashier. In January 1885 the bank commenced business under its first extension of franchise, its original charter having expired at the end of 20 years.
In the fall of 1862 while a resident of Fulton, Mr. Smith was elected to represent his district in the Legislature of IL and in the fall of 1864 he was re-elected to the same position. He served on Committees on Banks, Corporations and State Institutions and on several others of minor importance. He performed his duties in the interests of his constituency in an able and characteristic manner. He introduced several important bills, among which was that providing for the building of the Rockford, Rock Island and St. Louis RR, now the property of the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy corporation.
In 1876 Mr. Smith became a resident of Morrison, and in 1878 he founded the private banking house of Smith & Mackay, of which he is the senior member and which has been from the outset engaged in the transaction of extensive and satisfactory financial operaitons. He has continued his trafic in real estate and has devoted much attention to the general improvement of land in Whiteside County, where he is the proprietor of 2,000 acres of land under excellent cultivaion. He is also the owner of several thousand acres of land in Iowa, nebraska, Wisconsin and Minnesota.
Since becoming a citizen of Whiteside County, he has been continuously identified iwth the local interests of Fulton and Morrison. He officiated several years as members of the Council in the former place and also served that municipality some years as City Treasurer. On the organization of the College of Northern IL, at Fulton, he was constituted a member of the Board of Trustees, and with the exception of interim of one year, he has acted as its Treasurer continuously.
Mr. Smith was united in marriage Aug. 18, 1843 in Richmond NH to Elizabeth Parkhurst. She was born in Richmond and was the daughter of Dr. John Parkhurst of that place. She died Jan. 31, 1851 at Elkland PA. Mr. Smith entered into a second alliance May 2, 1855 with Dolly Ann Allen. She was born in Cortland Co NY. Mr. and Mrs. Smith have been the parents of six children. Elizabeth, second child, is deceased. Alice is the oldest. Frank L. is cashier in the banking house of Smith & Mackay. Louis W. is his successor in the order of birth. Edward A. is a bookkeeper in the bank. Harry W. is the youngest child. [Portrait & Biographical 1885 Pg 303]
LEANDER SMITH, now deceased, was for many years a well known banker of Morrison and one of the most prominent business men in Northern Illinois. His business interests, wide in scope and important in character, brought to him notable success and at the same time proved a factor in the rapid and substantial development of the localities in which he operated. He arrived in Whiteside county in 1856 and was identified with its interest until his demise. He was born February 10, 1819. at Templeton, Massachusetts, and was descended from Puritan ancestry. The early home of the family was at Ipswich, Massachusetts, but Nathan and Nancy (Lampson) Smith, the parents of our subject, were both born at Mount Vernon, New Hampshire, the former in 1777 and the latter in 1782. They had but two sons, Nathan and Leander. The father, a woolen manufacturer and farmer, removed to Templeton, Massachusetts, in an early day and in 1838 took up his abode at Royalston when he died in 1849, while his wife passed away there in 1854. Leander Smith remained upon the home farm until sixteen years of age, when he became a student in the academy at Ipswich, Massachusetts, and acquired a good education. At seventeen years of age he taught schoo1, following the profession for six years. In the meantime he look up the study of medicine, matriculating in the medical department of Dartmouth College, from which he was graduated in 1842, at the age of twenty-three years, he practiced his profession successfully for three years at Richmond, Vermont, and thence went to Tioga county, Pennsylvania, where the lumber resources of the district were being developed. He located at Elkland and from 1845 until 1853 was identified with various interests in the county. His professional skill won him a large and lucrative practice and his energy and keen business insight proved strong elements in the success that attended other business ventures. He became successfully engaged in the lumber business and was also connected with meercantile projects of considerable proportion. Attracted by the reports concerning the gold discoveries on the Pacific coast, in March, 1849, he started for California, participating in the life of the state at the time when the present capital city was but a village of tents and San Francisco contained only a few houses. There was no well organized government and many desperate and criminal characters were found in that region, drawn thither by the opportunities afforded for carrying on their depredations. Mr. Smith engaged in prospecting on the north fork of the American river for a year and rendered efficient aid to the administration of measures to secure protection to the people. He met with good success during the year of his resilience in California and in 1850 returned to Pennsylvania, where he resumed his former duties and business connection. He afterward went to Vinton, Iowa, where in 1853 he opened an office for the practice of his profession, also becoming an active factor in the general business life of the place. He owned a large tract of government land upon which he platted a port of the town.
After a year he removed to Lyons, Iowa, and was identified with its professional and commercial interests until 1856, when he arrived in Fulton, Whiteside county, Illinois. He was a man of keen business discernment, readily recognizing and utilizing opportunities, and here he devoted his time to financial projects and enterprises and was also engaged extensively in the manufacture and sale of lumber for ten years. He also purchased large tracts of government land in Wisconsin and Minnesota, from
which he cut the timber and then sold the land to those who wished to become permenent settlers. In 1850 he established the banking house of Smith, Knot & Company, owning a controlling interest therein until 1864. in which year the financial institution of L. Smith & Company was established at Morrison. The following year it was converted into the First National Bank, of which Mr. Smith became president and A. J. Jackson cashier. In 1876 Mr. Smith took up his abode in Morrison and two years later founded
the banking house of Smith & Mackay, an institution which soon took rank with the hading financial enterprises of this part of the state. Mr. Smith was also interested in the real-estate business and owned and assisted in the improvement of two thousand acres of land in Whiteside county, besides several thouand acres in Iowa, Nebraska, Wisconsin and Minnesota. He was considered to be the financial head of Whiteside county and he belonged to that class of typical American citizens who in advancing individual
interests also contribute to the public welfare.
In August, 1843, at Richmond, New Hampshire, Leander Smith wedded Miss Elizabeth Parkhurst, a daughter of Dr. John Parkhurst of that place. Her death occurred at Elkland, Pennsylvania, January 31, 1851 and on the 2d of May, 1855, Mr. Smith wedded Miss Dolly A. Allen, a native of Cortland, New York. They became the parents of six children. Alice, Anna K.. Frank I., Lewis W., Edward A. and Harry W. The mother was a daughter of Edward Allen, a granddaughter of Joseph Allen, a soldier of the the Revolutionary war and a great-granddaughter of Zebulon Allen, who was the first lieutenant in the Colonial army in the struggle for independence. One of the sons of Leander and Polly A. (Allen) Smith, Frank L., was born June 20, 1861, at Fulton, Illinois, and attended the public schools and the University at Champaign. At the age of twenty he entered his father's bank as cashier and remained in that position until his death, which occurred at Pasadena, California, in February, 1887. He married Gertrude Thatcher, a daughter of W. H. Thatcher, a pioneer of this county. He made his home in Sterling and for many years was county treasurer, but now resides in Morrison. The marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Frank L. Smith was celebrated in 1886 and his death occurred the following year.
In 1868 Leander Smith again visited California and noted with interest the many changes that had occurred in business conditions, in the government and in the social and moral life of the city. He belonged to the Masonic fraternity and was a Baptist in religious belief, in which connection he accorded to all the right to their individual opinions. He gave his political allegiance to Jeffersonian democracy until 1848, when he cast his ballot for Martin Van Buren, the presidential candidate of the free-soil party. From 1856 until his death he was one of the stalwart advocates of the republican party, and was deeply interested in its success and growth. While at Fulton he was elected to represent the district in the state legislature from 1862 until 1864 and while a member of the house served on the committee on banks, corporations, state institutions and others of less importance. He also introduced a number of important bills, including the one for the building of the Rockford, Rock Island & St. Louis Railroad, now a part of the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy system. He filled the office of city councilman in Fulton for a number of years, was also city treasurer and for a time was alderman at Morrison. In all of these official positions his labors were marked by a singleness of purpose that never left room for question us to his loyally or his patriotism. On the organization of the college of northern Illinois at Fulton he became a member of its board of trustees and served as its treasurer until his death, having entire charge of the endowment fund. He died August 7, 1889, and Whiteside county lost one of its most distinguished citizens - a man whom to know was to respect and honor and who, though eminentlv successful in business life, ever followed methods which were above reproach or suspicion. [Transcribed by Christine Walters; Source: History Whiteside County IL. From Its Earliest Settlement to 1908; By William W. Davis M.A. The Pioneer Publishing Co.]
MARTIN VANBUREN SMITH
OF Morrison, IL
Martin Van Buren Smith, telegraph operator for the Chicago & Northwestern Railroad Company and agent for the American Express Company at Morrison. has been in the service of both of these companies for a half century. No higher testimonial of his capability and of his trustworthiness could be given. Large corporatious of this character do not keep in their employ men who are incompetent or indolent. On the contrary the utmost falthfulness to duty and fidelity to the interests of the corporation must be manifest, and Mr. Smith's long service is a guarantee of his qualifications in those particulars.
He was born in Dupage county, Illinois, April 3, 1841, his parents being Job A. and Susan (Fulton) Smith, the former a native of Dighton, Massa chusetts, and the latter of the state of New York. The father was born in 1799 and was of English descent, although the family was established in America during the colonial epoch in our history and was represented by valiant soldiers, who fought for the republic in the Revolutionary war. Job A. Smith was a printer and newspaper man and from 1825 until 1828 was editor of the Elmira (N. Y.) Gazette. He came to Illinois in 1834, settling first at West Chicago in Dupage county, where be entered two sections of land from the government. Upon the farm which be there developed he spent his remaining days and earned a good living for himself and family, bringing his fields under a high state of cultivation and adding many modern equipments to his place. In his later years he was a member of the Congregational church. His political allegiance was originally given the democratic party, but on the organization of the new republican party he became one of its stanch supporters. For a number of years he was one of the county commissioner of Dupage county, also filled the office of justice of the peace and held other minor positions. No trust reposed in him was ever betrayed in the slightest degree and his service as a public official and his record as a business man commended him to the confidence and good will of all concerned. His wife was a member of the Congregational church and an estimable lady, who died when about fifty years of age.
Martin Van Buren Smith was the youngest son in a family of six children and in the public schools of West Chicago pursued his education. He was reared on a farm to the age of sixteen years, when, thinking to find other pursuits a more congenial life work, he began learning telegraphy in the office of the Chicago Union Railroad Company at Elburn, Illinois. This company was afterward merged into the Chicago & Northwestern and Mr. Smith remained as agent at Elburn for three years. In the winter of 1863-4 he came to Morrison as agent for the Chicago & Northwestern Railroad Company and the American Express Company and has since retained these positions, being in the service of both of these companies for a half century. He is always courteous to their patrons and obliging in manner, while at the same time he is never neglectful of his duty toward those whom he represents.
In 1869 Mr. Smith was married to Miss Jessie J. Furlong, who was born in Cattaraugus county, New York, in 1847, a daughter of John and Sarah Furlong, who came to Illinois in 1855. Her father was connected with the construction company that built the Chicago & Northwestern road and moved along the line with that road. He settled in Morrison about 1856 and made this his permanent place of residence, having charge of the construction of the Morrison section of the road.
Unto Mr. and Mrs. Smith were born two sons and a daughter. Will A. M., manager for the Mutual Life Insurance Company for the state of North Dakota and a part of Minnesota, with headquarters at Fargo, is married and has two children. Robert Thomas Fulton is married and lives at Butte, Montana, where he is cashier for the Silver Bow National Bank. Mary H. completes the family. The wife and mother, who was a faithful and consistent member of the Presbyterian church, died January 22, 1897.
Mr. Smith is a member of the Masonic order and has attained high rank in several degrees. He is also connected with the Odd Fellows. His political support is given the democracy and he has represented the third ward on the board of aldermen and as school director. His life has been quietly passed in the faithful performance of his daily duties and he has made a splendid record by his long continued service with the telegraph and the express companies. [History of Whiteside Co by W.W. Davis]
PHILLIP H. SMITH
Philip H. Smith, of the firm of Hull & Smith, dealers in drugs, medicines, notions, paints, oils, jewelry, etc., at Prophetstown, is a son of Adam and Catherine (Berner) Smith, and was born in Niagra Co., N.Y., near Lockport, Dec. 26, 1844. His father was a native of Germany, a farmer by occupation and at present resides in Boone Co., Iowa, retired from the active labors of life. His mother was also a native of Germany, and is still living. The issue of their union was nine children, six of whom are living. When Mr. Smith was six months old, his parents came West to Cook Co., Ill., where they resided about 20 years, his father owning a farm some 20 miles from the city of Chicago. In 1861 the family moved to Henry County, this State, where Mr. Smith of this notice had purchased a farm of 120 acres, and subsequently increased his acreage in that county until he owned 280 acres. He resided in Henry County until 1875, when he came to Prophetstown and in company with J. J. Green opened a general store, which they conducted until the fall of 1881. In the spring of 1884, Mr. Smith formed a partnership with H. C. Hull in the drug business, which relation exists at the present writing. They erected their fire-proof store building, and carry a stock approximating $3,000 in drugs and fancy goods. Mr. Smith still owns a farm in Bureau County, and, in connection with J. J. Green, 123 acres in Henry County. Socially, he is a member of the Order of Modern Woodmen of America. [Portraits and Biographical Whiteside County History 1880]
Of Prophetstown Township
Robert Smith was a native of Vermont, and came to Prophetstown in 1837, locating a claim near Jefferson Corners, upon which he settled in 1838. He met with the same fate as Stephen Crook, while returning from Dixon’s ferry in November, 1838. Mr. Smith married Miss Christina Lee. They had two children: Richard, living Tampico, and Lucy, living in Vermont. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County]
STEPHEN D. SMITH
Of Prophetstown Township
Stephen D. Smith was born in Poultney, Vermont, in 1798, and came to Prophetstown in 1839. He settled on Washington street where Ezra Hill lives, and remained there until 1855 when he purchased a farm adjoining the village. In 1871, he sold this farm to his son D. Kenerett, , and Luther B. Ramsay, who laid it out into village lots, and most of the building since the completion of the railroad has been done on this land. Mr. Smith still resides upon a portion of it. In 1821 he married Miss Tilly Manley. Their children have been Polly, who married P. Bates Reynolds, and is now dead; Caroline M., Luther B. Ramsay, living in Prophetstown; Ryland, who married Miss Williams, and is now dead; William Edson, who married Miss Amanda Reynolds, and is now dead; E. Wallace, who married Miss Philura James, and lives in Kansas; and D. Kenerett, who married Miss Alma Green, and lives in Prophetstown. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County]
Levi Snavely, farmer, section 11, Sterling Township, is a son of Jacob and Barbara (Hess) Snavely. His parents were born in Pennsylvania, and they had 10 children, who were born in the order in which their names are given, as follows; Elias, Elizabeth, Jacob, Moses, Henry, John, Anna, Levi, Mary and Susan. Levi was born Jan. 23, 1837 in Lebanon Co., Pa., and he came to Whiteside County in 1855, first buying a farm in Jordan Township. He took possession of his property, and resided thereon until 1868, when he bought 140 acres in Sterling Township. He has pushed his business operations with profitable results, and he is now the owner of 262 acres of valuable land in Whiteside County, 198 in Lee Co., Ill and 540 in Marion Co., Kan., which is mostly under tillage. The proprietor has erected excellent buildings, which are materially to the general appearance of the place. Politically Mr. Snavely is identified with the Republican party, and has been active in the well-being and progress of the schools of the township. He was united in marriage, Jan. 6, 1860 (8 January 1860 per Illinois Marriage Archives) in Sterling Township to Anna, daughter of Henry S. and Fanny (Stauffer) Landis. They have 10 children as follows; Emma J., William, Francis, Alice, Anna, Henry, Jacob, Ervin, John and Mabel. William and Francis are deceased. [Portraits & Biographical 1885 Pg. 440]
JAMES A. SNYDER
[son of John H. Snyder]
Snyder, J. A., merchant, Clarence, of the firm of Snyder & Company; was born in Schoharie County, New York, December 30, 1848; he left there when 6 years of age and moved with his parents to Whiteside County, Illinois; he came to this county in August, 1859, and has been engaged in the mercantile business here ever since; they also have a branch house at Morrison, Illinois, his brother being in charge. October 2, 1872, he married Miss Maggie McKibbin, a native of Steuben County, New York; they have one son--James A., Jr., born July 25, 1873. [From Dayton Township, History of Cedar County Iowa 1878]
J. CLIFTON SNYDER
J. Clifton Snyder, Postmaster of Fulton, Ill. was born in this city, Nov. 14, 1857, and is he son of the Hon. William C. and Isyphene C. (Pearce) Snyder. He was educated in the city schools of Fulton and at the Northern Illinois College. At 14 years of age he entered the office of the Fulton Journal as an apprentice, learned the printer’s trade, and in December, 1877, formed a partnership with his brother-in-law, T.J. Pickett, Jr. and leased the Journal office, Mr. Pickett being succeeded by Mr. W.R. Cobb in March, 1879. This connection lasted till March 1, 1880, when he sold out, but continued in the office some time longer. In May, 1881, he engaged in the warehouse business, in company with W.C. Snyder, and they do a general forwarding and commission business, and deal in grain, feed, coal, lime, brick and cement. Mr. Snyder was appointed Postmaster at Fulton by President Arthur, Dec. 22, 1882, and entered upon the duties of office Jan. 1, 1883. Mr. Snyder was married at Peoria, Ill., March 29, 1885, to Miss Hattie L. Noble, daughter of Hiram and Sophia E. (Summers) Noble. Mrs. Snyder was born on Staten Island, N.Y. [Contributed by Debbie Thormahlen - Portraits & Biographical Whiteside County IL 1885 Pg. 236]
JOHN H. SNYDER
OF Morrison, IL
John H. Snyder, senior member of the firm of Snyder & Co., merchants at Morrison, was born Aug. 16, 1840, in Argusville, Schoharie Co., N. Y. His father, James Snyder, was born in the State of New York, where he was for some years engaged in the mercantile business. He is a resident of Morrison and is about 77 years of age. The mother, Nancy (Runkle) Snyder, was a native of New York, and has been some years deceased. The four children of whom they became the parents still survive. Mary is the wife of L. H. Robinson, of Chicago, who is operating in that city as a loan and real-estate broker. Harriet N. lives in Chicago. James A. is engaged in conducting a branch store in Clarence, Iowa.
Until he was 20 years of age, Mr. Snyder was chiefly engaged in obtaining his education, and in 1855 he accompanied the family of his father to Morrison. His first employ was as a clerk in the dry-goods house of Spears & Bro., in which capacity he officiated about fonr years, when he was admitted to a partnership and the firm style became Spears & Co. Its relations were in existence four years, andin r868 he went to Clarence, Iowa where, in company with his brother, he established the mercantile enterprise which is now under the management of his brother. He instituted the business which he has since prosecuted in 1876, and is operating with satisfactory results. His stock includes fine arid well assorted lines of dry goods. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity and belongs to Lodge No. 357, at Morrison. He owns considerable property in the city, and is a stockholder and director in the First National Bank at Morrison. Mr. Snyder was married July 20, 1867, in Morrison, to Mary Furlong, and they have two children, Jessie H. and Alliene. Mrs. Snyder is the daughter of John and Sarah Furlong and was born Jan 25, 1847 in New York. [Portrait and Biographical Album of Whiteside County, Illinois, Pg 206; Chapman Brothers Publishing Co., Chicago, 1885.]
JOSEPH C. SNYDER
Joseph C. Snyder, farmer, section 24, Albany Township, was born July 18,, 1844, in the same township, of which he has been a citizen since the time he reached the period of his privileges as such, and where he spent the years of his boyhood and youth. He is the son of Joseph and Nancy (Clark) Snyder. At the age of 18 Mr. Snyder entered the military service of the United States. He enlisted in the same month in which he reached that age, in Co. F, 93rd Ill. Vol. Inf. and continued in service during the war. He was under rebel fire in the battles at Jackson, Miss., Raymond, Champion Hills, siege of Vicksburg and Missionary Ridge. At the last named contest his ankle was broken by a minnie ball, and he was disabled for six months. He rejoined his command at Goldsboroo, N. C. and accompanied his regiment to Washingon, where he was a participant in the grand review. On obtaining his discharge, he came back to Whitesdie County, and engged in farming in Garden Plain Township. He was married in October, 1866, to Mary H.. daughter of William and Harriet Ewing, and took up his residence on his father's farm, a portion of which was under his management until his removal to Albany, where he bought a livery stable. After two years' attention to that enterprise, he rented a farm in the Township of Newton, which he conducted until 1875. In that year he bought the farm of which he is still the owner and occupanat. It comprises 160 acres of land and is all fenced and in advanced cultivation. The buildings are of good class, and the appearance and the value of the farm are much increased by the fruit and shade trees. Mr. and Mrs. Snyder have four children, namely: Fannie H., Minnie, Mabel and Myrtle. [Transcribed by Christine Walters; Whiteside County History 1880]
2nd Biography:Joseph SNYDER, a settler in Whiteside County in 1844, was born Feb. 28, 1818, in Cincinnati, Ohio. He is the son of Daniel and Betsey (McMahon) Snyder. The family originated in Pennsylvania. Mr. Snyder passed the years of boyhood and youth in the city of his nativity, and as soon as he was of suitable age and size he engaged on a steamboat on the Ohio River, on which he was occupied until his removal to Whiteside County. He spent a summer in Albany and rented a tract of land adjacent on which he worked through the season. In the autumn of the year he bought 40 acres of land on section 13, of Garden Plain Township, of which he took possession. Three acres were broken and a log house of hewn logs had been built. He employed his time and energies to so good purpose that in the year following he bought 40 acres additional, located on section 18, of Union Grove Township, which was covered with timber. By making subsequent purchases Mr. Snyder has become the owner of 160 acres, all of which is enclosed and in tillage, except 100 acres of timber. The acreage is located at four different points and every portion is supplied with good farm dwellings, and is devoted to raising grain and stock. Mr. Snyder was for many years a Republican. He was married May 2, 1840, to Nancy, daughter of William and Elizabeth Clark. She was born Feb. 24, 1820, in Lewis Co., Ky. Her parents were natives of Ohio. Joseph C., Henry, Sanford, William, Mary E., Alonzo, Ann Augusta (Mrs. Henry Horner, of Marengo, Iowa), Edward, Hattie, May, John, Edward and Wadsworth. The latter lives in Garden Plain Township. [History of Whiteside County 1900]
WILLIAM C. SNYDER
OF Fulton Township
(Photo contributed by Corkey Waite)
William C. Snyder, State Senator, representing the 19th
Senatorial District of Illinois, which includes Whiteside and Lee
Counties, is one of the early settlers of of Whiteside County, and was a
practicing physician at Union Grove in the early history of this part
of the State. Dr. Snyder was born in Burlington Co., N.J., July 29,
1821 and is the son of James and Sabilla (Cowperthwait) Snyder. His
father was a native of New Jersey; and descended from one of the old
Holland families of that State. His mother was born in Medford,
Burlington Co., N. J., and descended from the well-known English family
of Cowperthwait. William C. left New Jersey in April, 1845, and came to
Lyons, Iowa, arriving there in May of that year. He entered the office
of Dr. Bassett, of that city, as a medical student, and pursued his
studies there about two years. He removed to Union Grove, this county,
in June, 1847, where he entered upon the practice of medicine. He
subsequently took a course of lectures at Rush Medical College, of
Chicago, and continued the practice of his profession at that place till
June, 1854, when he removed to Fulton, Ill., and engaged in business as
a dealer in general merchandise. He continued in that line two years,
when he built the large warehouse at the steamboat landing, and engaged
in the warehouse and forwarding business, which he has continued, with
the exception of limited intervals, to this date, covering a period of
nearly 30 years.
He was elected the first Supervisor of Union Grove Township; in 1852 he was re-elected, and served in 1853. Also from 1850 to 1853 inclusive, he was Postmaster at Union Crove. In he was elected Supervisor of Fulton, and in 1858 was appointed Drainage Commissioner of Whiteside county, serving in that capacity till 1872. While occupying this responsible position he discharged its important duties with fidelity and satisfaction to all concerned. He was elected Collector of the township of Fulton, Ill 1857, and re-elected in 1858-59. In 1861 he was appointed Postmaster of Fulton, by President Lincoln, for the term of four years, and re-appointed each succeeding term till December, 1882, when he resigned to qualify as State Senator, to which office he had been elected in the fall by nearly 3,000 majority.
Dr. Snyder has always taken a warm interest in matters of public importance, and has, as his record. shows, held many positions of honor and trust, In 1866 he was elected Mayor of Fulton; but, as it was found that he could not discharge the duties of the office while holding an office under the United States, he resigned the position. In the spring of 1876 he bought the printing office of the Fulton Journal, published that paper three years, and sold out to his son, J. C., and son-in-law, T. J. Pickett.
He was foremost in organizing the Fulton Business Association, and the Cemetery Association, and has served as Secretary of both for many years. In politics he is an earnest Republican, and for a number of years has been Chairman of the Republican County Committee. He was also a member of the Republican State Central Committee one term.
He was married in the city of Lyons, Iowa, in 1849, to Miss Isyphene C. Pearce, daughter of Jonathan L. and Mary E. (Gardner) Pearce. Mrs. Snyder was born in Rhode Island. Her parents were natives of the same State. Dr. and Mrs. Snyder have a family of seven children, four daughters and three Sons: Kate C. is the wife of Thomas J. Pickett, Jr., son of Senator T. J. Pickett, of Illinois. and is now a resident of Ashland, Neb. Martha C. is the wife of J. C. Neff, Agent of the Northwestern Railway, at Rochelle, Ill.; J. Clifton is the present Postmaster of Fulton, Ill., he having succeeded his father to that office in December, 1842. He married Miss Hattie L. Noble in March, 1885. Annie E., J. Justin, Henry G. and Lena V. are residing with their parents. He has been actively and prominently identified with the movements of the temperance element for many years, and is an uncompromising foe to the traffic in and use of intoxicants.
Dr. Snyder was made a Freemason in Fulton City Lodge, No. 189, A. F. & A. M., in 1857, and has served as Master many years. He is one of the charter members of Fulton Chapter, No. 108, R. A. M., is the present H. P., and has presided over the work of the Chapter several terms. As State Senator he served on seven prominent committees, and acted in the capacity of Chairman of Committee on Warehouses. He was a member of the managing committee on the part of the Senate, whose watchfulness and sagacity was instrumental in the election of Gen. John A. Logan to the United States Senate. Dr. Snyder's portrait, which is given on another page, is a copy of a photograph taken in 1884. [Portraits and Biographical Pg 501-502]
Dr. William C Snyder was born in Haddenfield, Hunterdon County New Jersey July 29, 1821, and was educated as a physician and admitted to practice in his native State. In June 1847 at the age of 26 years, he came to Whiteside County and settled in Union Grove, where he practiced his profession until June 1854, when he moved to Fulton. During the Doctor's residence in Union Grove he represented the town in the Board of Supervisors in the years 1852-53 and 54 being the first Supervisor of the town. From 1850 to 1853 he was Postmaster at Union Grove. In 1856 he was elected Supervisor of Fulton and in 1858 was appointed Drainage Commissioner for the county, and held the office until 1872. This was a position of peculiar trust and one of great interest and importance to the County. The Doctor entered upon its duties with the full determination of discharging them with fairness, fidelity and to the best interests of all concerned; and that he did so is the universal expression of all conversant with his official acts. In the years 1857-58 and 59 he was Collector of the township of Fulton. In 1866 he was elected Mayor of the city of Fulton, but it being ascertained that he could not perform its functions by reason of holding a United States Office, he resigned. In May 1861 was appointed Postmaster at the city of Fulton by President Lincoln, and the appointment unanimously confirmed by the United States Senate. The term was for 4 years and at its expiration he was re-appointed and this has been the case at the expiration of each term up to the present time, a period of 16 years. Previous to his appointment the Postoffice had been moved from one place to another in the city, as the convenience or opportunities of the different postmasters seemed to dictate or demand, but upon his assuming the position he permanently located it in his own building on Base street, and fitted it up in a manner to fully answer the requirements of the public. A more convenient or more tastily arranged and fitted up Postoffice cannot be found in this section of the country. The Doctor has always been a public-spirited citizen, and whenever any movement in behalf of the interests, growth or prosperity of the city of his home, or of the county, was projected, he was one of the first to be consulted, and the first to act. He is at present Secretary of the Fulton Business Association and the Cemetery Association, positions which he has held from the organization of these bodies. He has also held the position of Chairman of the Republican County Committee for quite a number of years, and was for one term a member of the Republican State Central Committee. [Bent-Wilson 1877 Pg 188]
Edward Somers, farmer, section 27, Portland Township, cultivating the Youngs farm, which comprises 197 acres, is a son of Frank and Mary (Baker) Somers, and was born July 25, 1846, in Portland Township, this county. His father, a farmer, was a native of Pennsylvania. His parents came to this western country in 1836, and were therefore among the earliest settlers here. His mother died when he was very young, and his father again married, and now resides in Kansas. Of the four children of his mother three are living, namely: Sarah, who is the wife of Edward Ott, a farmer in Kansas; Peter, a farmer. The subject of this sketch is the oldest of the children, and remained at his parental home until he was 18 years of age, when he was employed by the month, and then took a rented farm, which he cultivated for a time. In 1882 he bought a farm of 120 acres in Portland Township, kept it a year, and then sold and rented his present farm of 197 acres. He was married in Loraine Township, Henry Co., Ill., May 5, 1867, to Miss Nancy Bollen, daughter of Thomas and Lydia Bollen. She was born in that township in August, 1850. The have seven children: Cora, Frederick, Frank, John, Bernard, Lutitia and Hattie. [Whiteside County History 1885]
ISAAC COLIN SOUTHARD
Of Prophetstown Township, Whiteside Co IL
Isaac Colin Southard was born in Rutland county, Vermont, in 1809, and came to Prophetstown in 1836, locating on Washington street, where he opened one of the best farms in the town. In 1870 he sold the farm to Chauncy Paddock and moved to Minnesota, where his wife died. He is now living in Kansas. Mr. Southard married Miss Almira Hill, their children being: Emery D., who married Miss Lucy Roberts, and lives in Minnesota; Isaac Colin, Jr., who married Miss Christine Farnum, and lives in Iowa; William E., who married Miss Annie Bremer, and lives in Prophetstown; and Susan L., wife of George Strong, living in Minnesota. [Bent & Wilson History of Whiteside County]
Hermon Sox, farmer, section 12, Sterling Township, was born Nov. 14, 1814, in Germany. His parents, Selig and Rosa Sox, and died in their native country. Their children were nine in number, and were named Hertz, Myers, Hermon, Abram, Louis, Hirsch, Hannah, Rosa and Emma. Mr. Sox passed his minority in his native land, and fulfilled the legal conditions which provide that German boys shall attend school a certain number of years and afterward learn a trade. He obtained a knowledge of the business of a soap and candle manufacturer and also worked on a farm. In 1835 he came to the United States. He first went to Pennsylvania, where he lived three years. At the expiration of that time he went to St. Louis, Mo., and a year later came to Whiteside County. He passed five years in the capacity of a farm laborer, and on a farm which he rented, after which he bought 240 acres of land in Sterling Township. He is now the proprietor of 160 acres, all of which is under cultivation, and the buildings on the place are valuable and add greatly to its general appearance. Mr. Sox is identified with the Republican party in politics. He was united in marriage Dec. 27, 1835, in Pennsylvania, to Margaret Owens. She was born in that State Nov. 14, 1814, on the same day of the same month and year as her husband. Their children are named Emily, Jane, Ella, Edward F., Hattie, Mary, Louis N., Harmon E. and Amanda. Mrs. Sox is the daughter of Redmond and Christiana (Arnold) Owens. Her parents lived and died in Pennsylvania, where they reared their children - Christiana, Edward, John, Mary, Hattie and Elizabeth. [Transcribed by Christine Walters - Portraits and Biographical 1885]
DWIGHT S. SPAFFORD
Hon. Dwight S. Spafford, dealer in groceries, crockery and cutlery at Morrison, was born Dec. 22, 1834 in Bergen, Genesee Co., NY. His father, Sumner Spafford, was born in 1799 in Worcester Mass., and died in February 1858 in Bergen. Delia (Barber) Spafford, his mother was born in Connecticut and died in October 1883 aged 68 years. Three of their four children yet survive. Burton J. is deceased. Catherine married Thomas T. Tone, a grain dealer in Bergen NY. Jerome is a farmer in Bergen.
Mr. Spafford is the oldest of the surviving children of his parents. He was reared on the home farm and until he was 17 years of age, and had the advantage of winter terms of school only, after he attained sufficient growth to render his labors profitable on the farm. But he made excellent use of the advantages he had, and at the age named began teaching winters and became a student at the Normal School in the city of Albany. He was graduated at that institution in 1853. He passed one year ensuing in teaching at Greene, Chenango Co NY, where he officiated as Principal. He then went to Equality, Gallatin Co IL and filled the position of Principal 3 years.
In 1859 he came to Morrison, and associated with O.B. Crosby, established a business similar to that in which he is now engaged. This relation existed 2 years, at the end of which time, Mr. Spafford became by purchase sole proprietor, and has since operated singly. In 1863 he built the brick building in which he is now transacting his business. It is 3 stories high above the cellar, and is 26 x 52 feet in dimensions, with a brick ware-house two stories in height in the rear, situated upon the railroad, furnished him every facility for carrying one of the largest stocks of goods in his line in the city and the aggregate of his annual transactions is a speaking testimony to the character and business methods of the proprietor. The duties of the establishment require the aid of four assistants. Mr. Spafford is a stockholder and director in the First National Bank at Morrison, also in the First National Bank of Kearney, Neb; has officiated four years as Supervisor of the township of Mt. Pleasant, and is the owner of considerable real estate at Morrison.
He is a Free Mason, and is a member of the advanced bodies, including Sterling Royal Arch Chapter, Dixon Commandery and Freeport Consistory.
He was united in marriage Nov. 15, 1866 in Morrison to Lide E. Robertson and they have three children - Frank S., Earl J. and Rob Roy. Mrs. Spafford was born Jan. 20, 1845 in Union Grove Township., the daughter of John A. and Emily Robertson. Mr. Robertson came to Whiteside about 1838, from Washington Co NY and was among its first pioneers.
On the death of Hon. Robert E. Logan, of whom a sketch is given in this work elsewhere, he was elected to serve as his successor as Representative in the Thirty-fourth General Assembly from the 19th Senatorial District, comprising Whiteside and Lee Counties. It is a sufficient tribute to the estimate of the character of Mr. Spafford by his party, that he was selected in the midst of a session of the Assembly of IL which will mark one of the most significant historical eras in the State annals. It was one that was a forcible reminder of the times when the party watchword characterized its picket guard, and the emergency demanded that the position be filled by a man of inflexible principle and unapproachable probity. [Portrait and Biographical Whiteside Co IL 1885 Pg 593]
Dwight Sumner Spafford is the oldest merchant in
point of continuous connection with business interests in Whiteside
county, and has won the success which follows earnest effort, close
application and honorable methods. He was born in Bergen, Genesee
county, New York, in 1834, and has, therefore, long since passed the
scriptural age of three score years and ten. In spirit and interests,
however, he seems yet in his prime, and his activity equals that of many
a man of much younger years. His father, Sumner Spafford, a native of
Massachusetts, was of English ancestry, and the grandfather, Jacob
Spafford, was a soldier of the Revolutionary war. About 1800 the family
removed westward to Bergen, New York, and there Jacob Spafford bought a
farm in what was known as the Holland purchase, where he remained until
his death, which occurred about 1840. He prospered in his undertakings,
owing to his capable management and diligence, and thus provided a good
living for his family. He held membership in the Presbyterian church,
and his life was actuated by high and honorable principles.
His son, Sumner Spafford, accompanied him on the removal to the Empire state, and throughout his life followed the occupation of farming, dying upon the old homestead in 1858. His religious faith was that of the Presbyterian church, and his political allegiance was given to the whig party until its dissolution, when he joined the ranks of the new republican party. He married Delia Barber, who was of French ancestry, although the family was established in America in early days. Her father was killed in one of the Indian wars of the country. Mrs. Spafford was a devoted member of the Presbyterian church and died in that faith in 1868. They were the parents of four children: Burton J., deceased; Dwight S., of this review; Kate D., the widow of Thomas J. Tone, who at one time was engaged in teaching in Cincinnati, Ohio, but was later engaged in the grain business; and Jerome H., a farmer of Bergen, New York.
In taking up the personal history of Dwight S. Spafford, we present to our readers the life record of one who is widely and favorably known in this part of the state. The days of his boyhood and youth were spent in the usual manner of farm lads, and through the summer months he assisted in the work of the fields, while in the winter seasons he attended the country schools. Ambitious for a more advanced education, he afterward became a student in the State Normal school of Albany, New York, from which he was graduated with the class of 1855. He taught school at Greene, New York, and at Equality, Illinois, after going to Albany. In the spring of 1856 he came to the west, settling at Equality, where he taught school for three years. In August, 1859, he arrived in the village of Morrison, and became identified with its commercial interests through a partnership formed with Orren B. Crosby, under the firm style of 0. B. Crosby & Company. This relation was maintained for three years, when Mr. Crosby retired by selling his interest to Mr. Spafford, who since 1862 has been located in the building in which he is now engaged in business, and which he erected. No other merchant of the county has been so long connected with its trade interests, and no one has maintained a more unassailable reputation for business integrity and reliability. He has been very successful owing to his alert, enterprising spirit, and he is accounted one of the representative merchants and citizens of this part of the state.
In 1865 Mr. Spafford was married to Miss Anne E. Robertson, who was born in Union Grove township and died in 1885. There were four children of that marriage: Frank S., who is inspector of government surveys of Idaho, making his home in Boise, is married and has three children ; John Earl, who is married and makes his home in Leigh, Nebraska, where he is acting as cashier of the Maple Valley State Bank; Roy R., secretary of the C. D. Gallentine Company, of Morrison, who is married and has one child; and Fred Dwight, a student in the Illinois University, at Champaign. Mr. Spafford was again married in 1890, his second union being with Alice Smith, a native of Lyons, Iowa, and a daughter of Leander Smith. They have three children: Leander Smith, a student of the Kentucky Military Academy, at Lyndon; Ruth, who is in school: and Allen, who is likewise in school.
Mr. Spafford is a prominent Mason, having attained the thirty-second degree, and is also connected with the Shrine. In politics he is a republican, recognized as one of the stalwart workers in republican ranks, and one whose opinions carry weight and influence. He has served as school director, as a member of the board of supervisors, and as president of the board of education.
Still higher political honors have been accorded him, for he was elected to the thirty-fourth general assembly, and had the distinction of being One of the memorable one hundred and three who supported General Logan and elected him to the United States senate. He has ever been a man fearless in support of his honest convictions and of unswerving loyalty to any cause or movement which he believes to be right. He stands as a man among men, strong in his honor and his good name, strong in his ability to plan and perform. His life history proves that success and an untarnished name may be won simultaneously. [Contributed by Davis Foss - History of Whiteside County pg 764]
Mathias Spang, a prominent and enterprising farmer, on section 11, Genesee Township, was born April 1, 1837, in Prussia. John Spang, his father, was of the same nativity, and was a stone cutter. He died in 1843, at 45 years of age. He had been twice married, and was the father of three sons and a daughter by his first wife: John is a stone cutter n the land of his birth; Peter is an officer in the French army, and resides at Paris, France; William is a farmer in Racine Co, Wis.; the daughter is married, and lives in Cincinnati, Ohio. The senior Spang was married about two years after the death of his first wife, to Lucy Mergan, daughter of a German farmer. She had become the mother of three children when she became a widow. Anthony, her second child, is a farmer in the Province of Ontario, Canada; Margaret lives in Ontario.
Mr. Spang is the oldest of the children born of the second marriage. The three little ones were such in very fact, and the mother managed to keep her little flock together until her son w sold enough to maintain the family. He had learned the trade of molder, and followed it as a business until he was 20 years of age, when he became liable to the conscription. To avoid being drafted into the German army, he came with his mother, brother and sister to America. They landed at Quebec, and proceeded at once to Toronto, where Mr. Spang obtained employment as molder. He had testimonials from his employers in his native land, of whom he acquired a knowledge of his business and with whom he remained until he left Germany. The evidence of his qualifications procured him a situation, which he filled until his marriage.
He entered into a matrimonial alliance with Mary Morden, Jan. 8, 1865. Mrs. Spang is the daughter of Jacob and Lydia (White) Morden, and was born June 1, 1848. Her parents were farmers in the Province of Ontario, and still reside in the Dominion. Their family included four sons and five daughters, Mrs. S. being the oldest of the latter. She was reared to womanhood in her native province, and is the mother of nine children, born as follows: Lucy, Oct. 25, 1867; John, Nov. 17, 1869; Anthony, Aug. 7, 1871; Mathias, June 27, 1873; Lydia, June 7, 1876; Mary, Nov. 19, 1878; Anna, March 19, 1880; Lucinda, Oct. 25, 1881; William, Sept. 27, 1883. The oldest child was born in Ontario co., Canada.
The family came in 1868 to Chicago, where they remained through the winter. They were three individuals-father, mother and an infant child. In the spring ensuing they came to Whiteside County, and purchased 50 acres of land in Genesee Township, near Coleta. This was the beginning of the career of Mr. Spang as a farmer under the fostering influences of a republican government. He has increased his estate to 98 acres in extent, and made creditable and valuable improvements.
Among the people of his own nationality he is in a sense a leader, ever holding himself in readiness to give counsel and general information as he may be qualified to do, and for which he has frequent applications. He is a Democrat in his political views, and actively interested in the progress of the party in local avenues. In religious belief he is a Catholic. His wife was brought up under the tenets of the Methodist Church. The mother of Mr. Spang died at her home in Ontario, Canada, aged 84 years and five months. [Contributed by Debbie Thormahlen from Portraits & Biographical Pg 497 Whiteside County IL 1885]
SAMUEL W. SPANGLER
Samuel W. Spangler, farmer on section 21, Garden Plain Township, was born April 14, 1820, in Rapho Township, Lancaster County, Pa., and is the third son of Daniel C. and Catharine (Wyland) Spangler. The parents were both born in Lancaster County. Mr. Spangler acquired a complete knowledge of the various details of the business pertaining to a flour mill, which he began to learn at 19, and which he followed in Lancaster County, in 1844. In the fall of that year he went to Wayne County, Ind., where he engaged in the same capacity through the winter following. He returned to Pennsylvania, and was a resident there until 1847, when he went a second time to Wayne County, Ind., and passed four years in the management of a flour-mill near Centerville.
In 1851, he came to Whiteside County and bought 80 acres of land on section 21, of Garden Plain Township. He is now a prosperous and progressive farmer, on the same estate upon which he first located on coming to Illinois. A house has been built upon this, to which additions have been made, and other requisite farm buildings have been erected. The proprietor has also planned hedges and set out ornamental trees. The farm contains 120 acres, all enclosed, and Mr, Spangler is also the owner of 10 acres of timber. He was married March 16,1848, to Mary, daughter of Ephraim J. and Margaret (Trindle) Merritt. She was born Dec. 11, 1829, in Wayne County, Ind. They have 10 children living, Washington, Nancy, William, Edward, Lincoln, Albert, Newton, Lawrence, Mary J., Samuel and Arthur. Orlando, third in order of birth, died in 1860, aged six years. [Transcribed by Christine Walters - Portraits and Biographical 1885]
Joseph Spear is one of the most substantial and enterprising agriculturists of Montmorency Township. He resides on section 24, where he located in 1860, removing there from Coloma Township. He came to Whiteside County in 1854, when he was 21 years of age and there became the proprietor 01 a farm by purchase. Six years later, he transferred his family and interests to Montmorency Township, selling the farm from which he removed. He first purchased 160 acres of land, and has continued to buy until he is the owner of 1,009 acres in Whiteside County, all improved. Besides, he holds valuable interests in both Sterling and Rock Falls. In political faith and connection Mr Spear is a Republican.
He was born July 21, 1833, in Newbury, Vt., where he remained through 'his minority and was educated in the common and high schools. His parents, James and Mary (Sevage) Spear, were born respectively in Vermont and Canada. They passed the entire course of their married lives in the Green Mountain Stale, and they died there. Their children were: Albert G., Julia A., Charlotte, William and Joseph. The marriage of Mr. Spear to Maria D. Sturtevant look place April 5, 1860, in Coloma Township, and to them have been born five children—Harry W., William H., Eugene V., Ernest B. and Joseph D. Mrs. Spear is the daughter of Isaac and Susan (Summers) Sturtevant, of whom a personal narration is given elsewhere. The eight children of Mr. and Mrs. Sturtevant were born in the following order: Jane, Maria I)., Henry J., William S., Jerome B., Emma A., Susan 0. and Ida M. Mrs. Spear was born in Vermont, Nov. 18, 1836. [Transcribed by Christine Walters - Portraits and Biographical 1885]
DANIEL P. SPEARS
OF Morrison, IL
Daniel P. Spears, of the firm of D. P. Spears & Son dealers in dry goods, hats, notions, gentlemens and ladies furnishing goods, at Morrison, Ill., was born Dec. 29, 1822, in Milan, Erie Co., Ohio. His father, William W. Spears, was born in Pennsylvania and went thence to the State of New York, whence, after a residence of some years there, he went to Ohio where he remained until the termination of his life.
The mother, Love (Watkins) Spears, was a native of Massachusetts. Of their ten children five are living: Nathan W. is a farmer and merchant in Fayette Co., Iowa; Nancy is the widow of Samuel Harper and lives in Lawton, Mich.; Betsey is the wife of Russell Munger, a retired farmer at Lawton, Mich.; Mary A. married Crowell Eddy, a farmer in the township of Clinton, Lenawee Co., Mich., and died there March 10, 1885.
Mr. Spears is the youngest of the children born to his parents, and until he was 24 years of age remained on the farm of his father. Meanwhile his brothers, William and Charles, both now deceased, had established themselves in business at Pittsburg, and at the age named he went there and engaged in their employ, where he continued four years. About 1840 he went to Tecumseh, Lenawee Co., Mich., and entered in partnership with his brother, Nathan, where they were interested in the manufacture of woolen goods. On the termination of this venture he went to White Co., md., where, associated with W. R. Davis, be embarked in a mercantile enterprise in which he was occupied seven years. In 1858 he came to Morrison to enter upon the duties of the position of salesman in the dry-goods house of Spears & Bro. Four years later he purchased a part of the building where lie is now engaged in the transaction of his business and put in a stock of merchandise. He embarked in the enterprise in company with Joseph Shafer. This relation existed until the death of the latter, when Mr. Spears purchased the claims of the heirs of his late partner, and became associated with James Shafer, nephew of the deceased. Two years later he became by purchase sole proprietor of the establishment and until September, 1884, conducted the business alone. At that date he purchased the store and stock of Chas. Spears & Son, situated adjoining, opened communication between the sales-rooms and is now transacting business in the double store. At the date of enlargement he admitted his son, Frank W., to a partnership. Their establishment includes two large sales-rooms, 51 by 44 feet in size, and they employ four assistants. Their stock is estimated at a value of $17,000, and includes a full line of goods suited to the local patronage. In the spring of 1885 Messrs. Spears & Son added a carpet department to their business.
Mr. Spears belongs to the Order of Odd Fellows. He is a member of the Board of Aldermen of Morrison. He owns a farm of 70 acres lying three miles south of the city, also 12 acres connected with his residence in this place. He is also the owner of a half interest in 16o acres of land in White Co., Ind.
Mr. Spears has been married three three times. He was
first joined in marriage in Milan, Ohio, to Elizabeth Walbridge, who
died two years later, after becoming the mother of one child, who died
in infancy. Mr. Spears was again married, in White Co., Ind., to Sarah
J. Burns, who survived between two and three years. Dec. 6, 1858, Mr.
Spears contracted a third marriage at Monticello, md., with Mary Shafer.
Their five children were born at Morrison. Frank W. is the oldest and
is in business with his father. Fred is the next in order of birth, Burt
C. is a clerk in the store, Maggie J. and James are the two youngest.
[Portrait & Biographical Pg 208]
Elias Spencer of Sterling and Clara Bush of Polo were united in marriage at a hotel in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, Wednesday evening, September 5, 1906, at nine o'clock and they immediately came to Sterling where they began housekeeping.
Mr. Spencer was for many years a resident of Chadwick, Carroll county, but lately moved to Sterling where he is conducting a blacksmith shop.
Mrs. Spencer is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Chas. Bush of Polo, They have the best wishes of their many friends. [Contributed by Karen Fyock - Scrapbook Clipping]
Ignatz Spinka, proprietor of the pottery at Fulton, was born March 31, 1842, in Bohemia. He attended the schools of his native country until the age of 12, when he began the acquisition of a knowledge of the craft of a potter. He was employed in that business until 1868, when he emigrated to America, and at once proceeded to Carroll Co., 111., where a brother who had preceded him to the New World resided. He remained with him one year in the capacity of a farm assistant. In 1870 he came to Fulton, and entered the employ of C. B. Batcheler, the proprietor of a pottery. He afterward bought the business, and has since conducted its relations on his own responsibility. He has operated with success, and owns a house and lot at Fulton. He built his dwelling in 1872.
Mr. Spinka is an industrious and enterprising man, and, like most of his class, has prospered under the influences of the habits he brought from his native land, which form the best capital of foreign- born citizens of the American Republic, and, together with their energetic perseverance, rarely fail to produce substantial results. He has acquired a thoroughly practical knowledge of English, which he reads and speaks. He was married Jan. 22, 1867, to Mary Baryzkaalso, a native of Bohemia, and they have three daughters - Mary, Carrie and Annie. The two oldest were graduated from Fulton Academy, June 3, 1885. [Transcribed by Christine Walters - Portraits and Biographical 1885]
Orlando Sprague, surveyor and retired farmer, residing at Fulton, was a pioneer of Illinois, of June, 1836, and of Whiteside County, of June, 1842. He is a native of the State of New York, and was born in Broome County Jan. 4, 1815, the son of Charles and Luanna (Bennett) Sprague, and was reared in his native county, receiving a liberal education and learning the gunsmith’s trade.
In June, 1836, he emigrated to Illinois and located at Chicago, where he spent two years working at his trade. In 1838 he removed to Ottawa, and from there to Fulton in June, 1842. Soon after reaching this place he formed a partnership with Daniel Lamberton, who had been his companion on coming to the city, and under the firm name of Sprague & Lamberton they entered upon the manufacture of furniture. At that early day their machinery was not very perfect, and their lathes were turned by horse power. However, they turned out all sorts of useful and substantial furniture, and were the first in their line of business in the place. Thus they continued till 1847, when they closed, and Mr. Sprague engaged in the manufacture of cut shingles, using horse power and a machine of his own invention. His machine turned out 6,000 shingles per hour, of fine quality.
He continued the shingle-making business up to the fall of 1849, when, having caught the California gold fever, he began preparations for a trip to that region. On the 8th of April, 1850, he started overland for California, in company with a party of his fellow townsmen, and arrived at Hangtown, Cal., the 8th of August following. Instead of undertaking placer-mining, he engaged in hunting, in company with the well-known hunter, W.Y. Ives; and they did a fine business, killing antelope, which they sold at 25 cents per pound. They frequently killed from 20 to 25 antelope a day. Learning of a good opening at Shasta, in Northern California, for a gunsmith, Mr. Sprague proceeded to that point and opened a gunsmith shop. Business prospered with him beyond his expectations, but his health failed him and he was obliged to suspend operations and return to the States, which he did via the Panama and New Orleans route. He then purchased a large tract of land lying in Fulton Township, amounting to 840 acres, situated on sections 26, 35 and 27. He then engaged in farming, while still residing in the city.
Mr. Sprague was married at Fulton, Ill., Nov. 17, 1845, to Miss Mary J. Hamilton, a daughter of Wm. Hamilton; she was born in Indiana. Two children were born of this marriage. The elder, Cora E., is the wife of Mr. Winchester, of Chicago; and Helen, the younger, died in childhood, from burns received in falling into a fire in the street! A separation occurred between Mr. Sprague and his wife in 1872, and she now resides with her daughter in Chicago.
He married again Sept. 26, 1872, at Rock Island. His present wife was Mrs. Martha J. Bradway, widow of William Bradway, and daughter of Edson and Sophronia (Marsh) Smith. Mrs. Sprague was born in Connecticut and came West to reside in 1865. She had one child by her former marriage, a daughter, named Stella M., and born Sept 27, 1867. Mr. Sprague sold his farming lands, and for the past ten years has devoted his attention to surveying, the lending of his capital and the care of his extensive village property. He had made a study of surveying in his younger days; and, having a natural love of mathematics, he soon became an expert in his business and authority on the subject of land boundaries in this region.
In politics he is an earnest Republican and has voted with that party since its organization. He still resides in the comfortable house he erected in Fulton in 1846. [Transcribed by Christine Walters; Whiteside County History 1880]
Cornelius Springer is a farmer on section 33, Ustick Township, and the son of Jacob H. And Hannah (Davoe) Springer. His parents were born in the state of New York, and in 1866 came to Whiteside County, locating in Union Grove, where the father died, Aug. 26, 1876. The mother still lives in Union Grove Township. Their children, who numbered 12, were named: Clarinda, Henry, Jacob, Cornelius, Daniel, Eleanor C. Lavina E., Martin, Wynard, John G., Alonzo and Alexander.
Mr. Springer was born Oct. 9, 1830, in Herkimer Co., N.Y., obtained his education in the public schools, and since the beginning of his life of active independence, he has been occupied chiefly with agricultural pursuits, although he has given some attention to the business of a carpenter. In 1860 he left his native State to engage in farming in Illinois, and he settled in Ustick Township, where he is now the owner of 155 acres of land. He also owns 640 acres in Dakota.
Mr. Springer is a Republican in political principle, and accepts the doctrines of the Prohibitionists. He has filled the offices of Road commissioner, Collector, School Director and Overseer of Highways.
His marriage to Mary A., daughter of Hiram and Nancy (Munger) Stration, took place Oct. 28, 1852, in Jefferson Co., N.Y. The parents came in 1859 to Whiteside County, and located in Ustick Township. The mother died in November, 1876, in Morrison. The father is still living. Their children are Adaline E., Theresa N., Mary A., Calista F., Ellen L., Emeline and Celia. Mrs. Springer was born Oct. 23, 1831, in Rutland Co., Vt. Nine children have been born of her marriage to Mr. Springer - Hiram A. , Martin J., Eleanor T., Eber D., Alonzo J., William D., Grant U., Herbert and J.D. Eber is not living. Mr. And Mrs. Springer are members of the Methodicst Episcopal Church; also their sons, Hiram and Alonzo. [Whiteside County Portrait & Biographical 1885]
BACK -- HOME
© Copyright Genealogy Trails