Minnesota Territory

1850 Counties 

County Description Area in sq miles Courts held at Pop in 1850
Benton on eastern side, on east side of Mississippi river blank Sauk Rapids blank
Dacotah (Dahkotah) central part blank blank 584
Pembina no description blank Pembina 1,134
Ramsey eastern part, Lake Minsi Sagaigoning or Mille Lac, in the north, Mississippi river on southwest blank St Paul's 2,227
Wabashaw no description blank Wabashaw 243
Wahnatah no description blank blank 318
Washington on east boundary, St Croix river on east blank blank 1,056

1850 Towns

Name What County Pop Other
Cottage Grove PO Washington    
Elk River PO Benton    
Fort Ripley PO Wahnahta    
Fort Snelling PO Dacotah    
Lac Qui Parle PO Dacotah    
Long Praire PO Wahnahta    
Pembina PV, CH Pembina   seat of justice
Point Douglas PO Washington    
Red Rock PO Ramsey    
Red Wing PO Wabashaw    
Reed's Landing PO Wabashaw    
St Anthony's Falls PO Ramsey    
St Paul PV Ramsey 1,135 seat of justice, Capital of Minnesota
Sauk Rapids PO Benton    
Stillwater PO Washington    
Swan River PO Benton    
Taylor's Falls PO Washington    
Wabashaw PO Wabashaw   seat of justice