New Mexico Territory

1850 Counties 

County Description Area in sq miles Courts held at Pop in 1850
Bernalillo Co eastern part blank main town Albuquerque 7,751
San Miguel central part blank Las Vegas 7,074
Santa Anna blank blank not given 4,645
Santa Fe northern part, on western side of the Rocky mountains, water by Rio Grande del Norte blank Santa Fe 7,713
Socorro in southern part, crossed by Rio Grande del Norte blank Socorro not listed

1850 Towns

Name What County Pop Other
Fort Union PO not given    
Las Vegas PO not given    
San Elizario PO Socorro    
San Miguel PT San Miguel 700
Santa Fe City Santa Fe abt 5,000 seat of justice
Socorro PO Socorro    
Tecolita PO San Miguel    

Note: the US obtain this area in 1848 and it became a territory in 1850