Winnebago County, Illinois
Edison I. Carr
The mill race was extended this year, and the brick paper mill erected. It was built by Wright & Merrill, of Beloit, and was the pioneer paper mill of Rockton. It had twentv-eight shares of the water power occupying lot number five on the water power plat. The mill was subsequently enlarged with the addition of a print machine, and for a number of years, the paper on which the Northwestern Christian Advocate was printed, was made in Rockton. This plant has gone through many changes and owners, haying been twice destroyed by It is now owned by Fred M. Coons, who has recently purchased it.
The same year Bird & Peterson still further extended the race and built the two story stone mill just east of the paper mill for manufacturing purposes, and was first used by Alonzo N. Mellen for a wheel barrow factory. It was subsequently used as a reaper works, corn planter shop, oil mill, and shingle mill, until it was changed into a rye mill by Hollister & Carlton about 1861 or '62. Later they sold to Kidder & Cowles, and an addition was built to the mill for custom work. The firm was then changed to Cowles & Gates, who run the business until it was destroyed by fire, April 25, 1879. It was never rebuilt.
The two story stone school house in the east part of the village, was commenced this year, and finished the year following. M. H. Patten and his wife were the first teachers in the new building. It was a great effort for that time, but the building was very much improved thirty years later.
The shoe factory was built this year by Smith & Martin. George Smith and C. B. Martin constituted the firm. They did a large business from the first, and sent their sale wagons into most of the towns in the north-west part of the state. The business continued to flourish for about two years with a hundred men on the payroll, when the great mistake was made of moving the establishment to Dubuque, Iowa, which proved a financial disaster. The old brick building still remains and has since been used for various purposes, but it was shorn of its glory when the shoe business departed from Rockton.
Edwin Martin was born in Washington county, Vt., April 25, 1821. He married Caroline Wheeler, Jan. 1, 1846. She was born in Vermont, July 2, 1827. They came to Rockton in 1851. He purchased a farm of 150 acres, on the Roscoe road, of Philander Bird, which he still ownes. He also has a town property where he resides. Thirty years ago he engaged with John Clover in manufacturing brick in the west part of the township for a couple of years. He has been school director, church trustee, and has served the public in' other capacities. He has now retired from active business and is in the enjoyment of a reasonable measure of good health for a man of his age. Mr. and Mrs. Martin celebrated their golden wedding, Jan. 1, 1896.
C. B. Martin was born in Washington county, Vt., July 18, 1832. He came to Rockton in 1851, and soon engaged with George Smith in building and running the shoe factory until its removal to Iowa. He was town collector and constable nearly twenty years, and deputy sheriff five years. He engaged in buying grain and live stock for a number of years. He married Mary C. Cardell, Oct. 1855. She dlied Dec. 29, 1889. For several years past he has made his home in Florida, where he has an orange grove.
Dr. Smith came here front Malone, N. V., in 1851, and lived in the Sherman Aspland house near the school building. He had a son born here in 1852, that was named William H. Smith. 1)r. Smith did not find a very encouraging practice, and in 1854, returned to his old home in York state. His son grew up to manhood and attained to the position of assistant secretary of the treasury, during Grover Cleveland's first administration. He served a part of the term, but had to resign on account of his health. He went back to his home in Malone, and soon died there.
Stephen Dewey Lyman came to Rockton in 1850 or '51. He had a brother Thomas, who came about the same time. S. D. Lyman tried farming on sonic land west of the river, but soon moved into town and went in trade with the Talcotts, under the firm of Talcott &Lyman. They had their store in the west end of the stone block until about 1854, when they moved into their new store, now known as the library building. Mr. Lyman built the stone house now the home of E. S. Waite, and while living there, his wife Julia A. Lyman, died very suddenly Nov. 28, 1854. Mr. and Mrs. Lyman were members of the Cong'l church, and Mr. Lyman was a leader of the choir for sonic time. After carrying on the business in the new store for a couple of years, Mr. Lyman bought out the stock in trade and moved it to Maquoketa, Iowa, where he conducted a store in connection with his brother, Thomas Lyman for a time until they failed in business. S. I). Lyman then turned his attention to the study of law and in time became a judge. Thomas Lyman returned to Chicago and got into some business there. On the death of a cousin, he received by will $70,000.
George Smith was a settler of Rockton of 1851 or perhaps earlier. He engaged with C. B. Martin in building and carrying on the shoe factory. After the firm failed in business, he went to Chicago and was salesman for the large shoe firm of Doggett, Bassett & Hill.
Alonzo N. Mellen came to Rockton, in September, 1852, and commenced to manufacture wheel barrows. lie was the first to use the new factory which had just been completed by Bird & Peterson, east of the Wright paper mill. Ile carried On the business for three or four years, when he sold out to Bird Peterson. He bought a farm about two miles east of town, and carried it on for a number of years. Then he moved back to town, and for several years was book keeper at the paper mill for Bradner, Smith & Co. Since then he has retired from business. He has been a deacon in the Congregational church for a good many years. He has also served as trustee, and been church clerk several terms. His first wife, who was a member of the church died June 18, 1890. She was born June 13, 1821. He is now living with his second wife, Mrs. Emma McConnell Mellen, whom he married July 7, 1891. Mr. and Mrs. Mellen are highly respected in the community.
Sylvester Bartholomew was a settler of 1852, although he was first a resident of Roscoe for about seven years. He was born in Ohio, March 31, 1808. He Married Calesta Johnson, in Ohio, May 11, 1835. They were both members of the Methodist church in Rockton. They were both much respected by all who knew them. He died Aug. 9, 1893. His wife was born Nov. 5, 181-1, and died at the home of her son, 0. T. Bartholomew, July 27, 1898.
S. Rosenbaum was a merchant here in the early fifties, and kept store in the stone block. He was a fluent speaker, and with his knowledge of law, was much sought after as a pettifogger. After a few years residence in Rockton, he sold out and went to California, and became a noted lawyer.
Michael Connor came here in the early fifties and was foreman in Wright & Merrill's paper mill for several years. Afterwards he was foreman for Bradner, Smith & Co., and still later he occupied the same position in Merrill's paper mill at Beloit. He went to California in the seventies, where he made his home. He came back a few years ago on a visit and soon returned. His wife died in Rockford quite recently and was buried in Rockton cemetery.
A. P. Newell was a settler here in 1852. He carried on wagon making- and built several houses, among which may be mentioned the one now owned by Barney Collins, the residence of Mrs. Goddard, and the home of W. W. Austin. He moved away a few years later, first going to Rockford, and finally to Sterland, where he now resides.
William Warren kept a store in Rockton in the first of the fifties. He bought the paper mill of Hollister & Co., in 1856, and formed a company to carry on the business. It was known as Bradner, Warren &Co. He lived on the Goodwill farm where he died Feb. 16, 1859.
James L. Gray was born in Montpelier, Vt., Nov. 18, 1816. He married Sarah I. Mitchell in 1839. She was born it 1812. They came to Rockton in 1852, and commenced keeping store in the Webb building, on the corner of Main and Washington streets.
The firm was Densmore, Gray Hadley. He sold out his share in the store a couple of years later to Mr. Jameson. He bought the stone house now owned by Charles Clarage, of Mrs. Ralph Smith about 1854, where he lived for the next ten years. He kept a lumber yard from 1856 to 1859. It was located where David Hudson's house now stands. He was an active man in the Methodist, and was one of the building committee when the church was erected in 1857. His wife died while in Rock-ton, Dec. 23, 1862. He married his second wife, Mrs. Frances Lock, Jan. 10, 1864. He moved to Rockford about 1872, where he died May 5, 1888.
Alpha Bligh was born Sept. 22, 1802, married Elmira H. Wiard, Jan. 27, 1828. They came west in 1S48, and lived in the vicinity of Rockton for three or four years. In 1852 he located on the south side of the river, on section twenty-four, which was his home as long as he lived. He was a charter member of the masonic lodge, which was started in 1849. He served the town several years as commissioner of highways. He died May 2, 1857. His wife was born April 17, 1808, and died June 30, 1885.
Tames N. Douglas was born in Jefferson county, N. Y., March 11, 1834. He came with his parents to Wisconsin, and after living- there ten years, came to Rockton in 1853. lie married Charlott Veness, Jan. 25, 1855. He and his wife are both members of the Baptist church. lie has been sexton of Rockton cemetery for the past twenty-seven years, and during that time has buried 320 persons.
Joseph C. Truman wam4 born in Jefferson county, N. Y., Nov.
25, 1828. He married Mary Hollister, in Hartford, Ct. March 12, 1851. She was horn Sept. 28, 1832. They came to Rockton in 1853. I le was partner in the paper mill built by Hollister S. Co., the same year. lie soon bought a farm, which he has since occupied and devoted his attention to farming. He held time office of town assessor for eleven years. He and his wife are members of the Methodist church, and he was one of the building committee when time church was erected.
Dr. David V. Waite was born in Auburn, N. Y., in 1822, graduated at Geneva medical college in 1851, and settled in Rock-ton in 1853. He has had a large practice for forty years, retiring in 1892, and during that time has accumulated ample property for all of his wants during the remainder of his life. He has a fine residence, and his sister, Mrs. Manard, presides in his home. He never married.
ROCKTON. RAILROAD BONDS
At the annual town meeting held April 5, 1853, it was voted that the town of Rockton subscribe the sum of $50,000 to the capital stock of the Rockton and Freeport railroad. On the 23rd day of February, 1854, the board of town auditors executed the subscription to said railroad company, which was consolidated with the Racine and Mississippi railroad company in 1S54. The bonds were issued Dec. 20, 1855, in amount of $500 each, at seven per cent interest, and made payable Feb. 10, 1876. They were signed by William Halley, chairman of the bond committee, and W. R. Weld, town clerk. These bonds were issued in exchange for $50,000 of railroad stock in the Racine & Mississippi railroad. When the railroad company made an assignment, and the property went into other hands the railroad stock held by the town of Rockton became worthless; hence an effort was made to have the bonds cancelled without payment. The court's decision- was against Rockton,
and the bonds had to be paid. Some of them were paid in full with all the accruing interest, and some with quite a reduction,
and some settled for seventy-five cents on a dollar. The total amount to liquidate the indeptedness as audited by the board, is given as follows:
PAID ON RAILROAD BONDS
Sept. 3, 1861 --Paid interest on railroad bonds 750.00
Sept. 6, 1862— „ 11 11 ), 750.00
Sept. 8, 1863— „ ,, /I 11 975.00
June 23, 1864—T. W. Burgess, Chicago, attorney fee. 300.00 Sept. 5, 1865—Railroad bonds and interest on them. 1,460.00
Sept. 3, 1866— 1 1 , >1 11 1,365.00
Sept. 3, 1867—David Carpenter paid attorney fee 200.00
Nov: 1, 1869—Railroad bonds, interest and cost 10,000.00
The railroad bonds cut a big figure in the past finances of Rockton, and its experience in town bonds is not likely to be forgotten by the present generation. With a large tax for two iron bridges across the river, and several of less note, an influence town bounty for her soldiers during the late civil war, and the railroad bond tax, Rockton struggled for years with all her might; but happily the great strain has past, and now our taxes are as low as other surrounding towns.A paper mill was built this year on the site of the present No. one paper mill of Bradner Smith. It was erected by Hollister 6: Co., and ready to run about Jan. 1st, 1854. This company carried on the business a couple of years, when it was sold to Bradner, Warren & Co. Time mill was destroyed by fire, Feb. 21, 1876. The mill was rebuilt that year and in run ning order in the fall at a cost of about $45,000. It has been shut down the past two or three years.
J. H. Hanchett, of Beloit, built the pile bridge across the river at the foot of Washington street in 1854.
William Talcott donated a hell to the Congregational church this year, and at the annual town meeting, Samuel Adams presented the following resolutions, which were unanimously adopted:
RocK-rox, April 4th, 1854.
"Resolved, that we the citizens of Rockton, assembled in town meeting, tender to William Talcott our sincere thanks for his very liberal donation of a church hell.
"Resolved, that it is suitable and in order to perpetuate the remembrance of the generous deed, that the following be inscribed on said bell:
"PRESENTED BY WILLIAM TALCOTT,
MARCH 18, 1854."
"Resolved, that a copy of these resolutions, signed by the moderator and clerk, he presented to William Talcott, and that the same he spread on the records of the town."
Among the early settlers coming from the New England states, was Edwin Case, who came in the spring of 1854, from Glastonbury, Ct. He soon moved into the brick house on Bridge street, which has ever since been the home of the family. Mr. Case was a wagon maker and worked at his trade for many years. He was born in Manchester, Ct., April 9, 1816, and died March 19, 1888. His mother, Mrs. Anna Case, came to Rockton in 1855, and lived with him until her death in 1857. Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Lord came from Glastonbury, Ct., in 1856, and made their home with their daughter, Mrs. Edwin Case. The next year Mrs. Lord was stricken with paralysis, and for eleven years remained a helpless invalid until relieved by death, Dec. 18, 1868. Mr. Lord died March 21, 1863. Walter Lord accompanied his parents in their journey west, and lived Isere a few months, making preparations for a permanent home, when he was taken sick and died suddenly, Feb. 9, 1857, on the very day that he had set to return east after his fatuity.
Gen. William Rfelitirdson came to Rockton when he was seventy years of age, and first lived in the Myron Carpenter house west of time river. He bought the farm now owned by his son, C. B. _Richardson. He soon purchased the brick house on bRidge street, where he died Nov. 24,. 1860. His wife was born Jan. 20,1805, and died Jan. 23, 1879. He was a general of state militia in the war of 1812.
Lucius Mellen was horn Nov.2, 1790, married Abigail Mills. She was born March 3, 1798. Mr. Mellen was engaged in the woolen mill business while living in the state of New York. He came to Rockton in 1854, and purchased a farm about three miles east of town, where he lived sonic twenty years. He died May 21, 1878. His wife died May 9, 1879.
Dorson Newell was born Feb. 9, 182-1, married Elizabeth A. Phelps, Sept. 12, 1850, and came to Rockton in 1854. For years he carried on wagon making in connection with his brother, A. P. Newell. Later years he has been variously engaged, mostly in selling groceries and confectionery. He lives on the west end of Main street, where he suffered the loss of his house and place of business by fire, Aug. 20, 1889; but he soon erected his present house on the same site, his friends generously giving financial aid to assist the enterprise. Mrs. Newell was born July 20, 1832.
A. W. Gilmore was a settler of Rockton about 1854. He was a man of means and dealt in real estate, and for a time had a lumber yard and bought grain. He purchased the E. S. Waite place and greatly improved it during- his residence here. He went to Chicago and started a private bank there. He is still living.
Col. Henry Shipley came here in 1855. He had a store in the west end of the New England hotel which he run for several years. He also bought the Northwest paper mill, of Mr. Wright and carried on that branch of business for a time. He bong-ht land on the south side of the river, including the hill now owned by Lewis Fairchild. He lived in the brick house east of the Baptist church, which has been in possession of the family until quite recently. He was supervisor of the town in 1804, but did not serve out his full term, owing to a stroke of paralysis. He married Ruth A. Slighter, April 2, 1814. She was born Aug. 12, 1823, and died in Rockton, Feb. 4, 1891. He died Sept. 27, 1805.
John Benton came from Massachusetts with his family in 1855, and settled on land west of Coon creek, now owned by W. H. Phelps. He sold the farm in 1808, to Austin &Jones and moved to the village, buying the Bowker house on the south side of the river, now the residence of H. A. Webber, where he lived until his death, Sept. 17,1877. Mrs. Benton died Dec. 3, 1870. They had a family of seven children, and all are now dead but one, Mary Benton, who was born Aug. 13, 1831. One son died in the war of the rebellion.
R. C. Sweet was born in Erie county, N. Y., Nov. 26, 1831, came to Rockton in 1855, and for ten years lived on the farm now owned by R. B. Meech, west of the river. He then moved to the town of Shirland, where he now resides. He married Lucinda M. Southworth, in Rockton, Oct. 29, 1857.
Austin D. Bliss was born Jan. 26, 1822. He married Betsey Adams, Nov. 29, 1843. She was born in 1823, and died May 23, 1865. He next married Mrs. Ellen Estes, July 5, 1866. She was born Aug. 9, 1841. He came to Rockton in 1855, but lived in Clinton, Wis., the first two years. In 1857 he purchased the place wherehe now lives of C. F. Chamberlain. He spent the most of his time in farming until quite recently, and since he has devoted his time to gardening. He suffered the loss of his house by fire, Feb. 19, 1889, but he rebuilt it a short time afterwards. He held the office of commissioner of highways from 1872 to 1891. He also served on the village board six years.
Caleb Bentley was born Feb. 14, 1829, read law in Woodstock, in the office of Lawrence Church, and was admitted to the bar, Sept. 13, 1853. He located in Rockton in 1855. He married Janet Gibson, Oct. 30, 1860. She was born June 13, 1840, and died Jan. 7, 1864. He next married Flora I. Pollard, April 1, 1875. She was born Dec. 5, 1845, and died Nov. 15, 1896. Mr. Bentley has enjoyed a liberal practice at his profession while living in Rockton. He held the office of justice of the peace, for twelve years. He owns a farm a couple of miles out of town on the Roscoe road, and a fine residence in the village.
John Lally came to Rockton this year and built the brick house on the south side of the river, on the brick yard lot, which was his home as long as he lived. He was an active man of business and did a great deal of work in furnishing stone from his quarry for building purposes. He was at one time a member of the village board, and served as street commission one or two terms. He had the misfortune to break one of legs while working in his quarry, and his death followed months afterward from a lingering spell of sickness. He married Ann Rogers in Sept. 1848. She was born Aug. 15, 1830. and died Oct. 2, 1897. He was born June 24, 1826, and died Feb, 17, 1883.
C. B. Richardson came to Rockton with his parents in the early fifties. He spent several years in buying horses and taking them to California by the overland route, making one trip a year. He could sell his horses at a fair price and get his pay in gold. He would return by the way of the isthmus to New York, where lie could sell his gold at a good premium, thus increasing the profits on his venture. He married Emroy P. Gray, only daughter of James L. Gray, Jan. 10, 1864, and settled clown to farm work. For a number of years past, he has practiced as a veterinary surgeon. He now lives in Rockford. He was born Dec. 25, 1831.
Denison Fairchild may he classed with the early settlers, as his father, Daniel Fairchild, was a settler here as early as 1836. He was born March 26, 1843, He married Gertrude A. Boardman. Most of his time has been spent in farming.
Daniel Fairchild, brother of the above, was born in Rockton, Feb. 4, 1848. He married Diema Springer, Feb. 11, 1873. She was horn in Maine, June 12, 1852. He is a farmer and resides in the town of Shirland.
The first lawyer to locate in Rockton was Rufus R. Hadley. He first came here as a lecturer on phenology, and concluded to settle here. He was elected justice of the peace in 1851, to fill the vacancy caused by Jesse Blinn moving to Rockford. He held the office three years until his successor was elected. He was in company with James L. Gray when lie kept store in the Webb store in 1852 and '53. He did not stay long in Rockton.
H. N. Chapman is the name of another lawyer who lived for a time in Rockton. He was a great admirer of old John Brown, and the day lie was hung for his crime at Harper's Ferry, Mr. Chapman tolled the church hell all day. During war times lie got a clerkship at Washington and went there to live.
W. R. Weld and Caleb Bentley were the other two lawyers, who have already been noted.
The list of Rockton physicians is quite extensive. In contrast with the lawyers, it shows that the people have been more peaceful than healthy. The first physicians, Hooker, Van-Brunt, Waite and Smith, have already been spoken of. Then come those of a later date: Drs. Prentice, Hulett, Drake, Kellogg, Knight, Bryning, Veness, Taylor, Kimball, Wood, Hunt, Lovesee, Sutherland and Cole.. Dr. Knight was here in 1857 and '58 and lived in the house which in.now the Baptist parsonage. Dr. Bryning lived in the Talcott homestead soon after the close of the war. Dr. Veness practiced here until his death in 1893. Dr. Taylor came from Janesville in 1875, and after a residence of a couple of years, he went to Chicago to run a drug store. Dr. Kimball came up from Rockford to take Dr. Taylor's practice. He stayed here about a year and then returned to Rockford, where he now resides. Dr. Wood came here from Capron, and stayed about two years, when he went to Dakota. Dr. Hunt came here from Beloit, but only made a short stay. Dr. Lovesee came from a practice in Harrison, and after a stay of two years or so, went to Elkhorn, Wis. He now resides in Roscoe. Dr. C. L. Sutherland came here from Janesville, in 1885. He graduated from Chicago Medical college in 18S3. Beside his extensive practice, he has served the public as president of the village hoard and as one of the directors of public school. Dr. E. J. Cole came to Rockton in 1896, from Plattsville, Wis., where he had practiced for several years. He is a graduate from "Hohnamann" medical college. He was born in Gratiot, Wis., in 1851.
This year was made prominent by the advent of the railroad, and communication by rail was established with the outside world. The first train of passenger cars arrived in Rock-ton, Oct..28, 1856, and it was a general time of rejoicing. The first car load of lumber was received Oct. 27, and E. L. Stiles and Ira Cummings unloaded it. It was consigned to James L. Gray. The first load of wheat shipped from here by rail was by Mr. Stewart, of Owen. It was shipped in his own grain bags, which were returned. This was the first way of shipping grain, but it was soon changed by putting the grain in the car without sacking.
C. F. Chamberlain kept a drug store here in the Lyman block about 1856 or '57. He bought the Montanye house of Mr. Nelson, and greatly improved it. He married Mary Greeley. After living in Rockton a few years, he moved to Aurora, and finally to Memphis, Tenn. where they both died.
Dean M. Pettibone, a cousin of Dea. Lutnan Pettibone, was born in St. Lawrence county, N. Y., Dec. 18,1812, married Lula Skinner, in Stockholm, N. Y., Nov. 20, 1839. They came to Rockton in 1856, and after living here a few years, removed to Elk Grove. He died in Elgin, in 1875. She died in Polo a few years ago. While living here Mr. Pettibone built the house which is now the residence of James S. Cowen.
David Hudson was born in Scotland, March 13, 1823. He married Amelia E. Bryning, Feb. 10, 1849. She was born March 0, 1832. They came here from Canada in 1856. He bought the stone house where Miss Susan Griffith lives, of Thomas Farmer, and lived there for twenty years, and worked at his trade as a blacksmith until 1877, when he moved onto the farm he had previously bought, and lived there until the fall of 1883, when he sold to Charles Hyatt, and built his present residence in town. He is now at work at his old trade again in connection with his son, J. W. Hudson.
Selvey K. Blodgett is one of the substantial farmers of Rock-ton township. He was born in Beloit, June 10, 1838, and was the first white male child born there. For a number of years lie has owned and conducted the "Blodgett farm," which was located by his father in an early day. He has devoted his time to dairy farming and stock raising, and in this line he has been very successful. His residence is pleasantly situated on the bank of Pecatonica river.
Samuel Widdowson was horn in England, Feb. 26, 1831. He marrried Elizabeth Marson, Sept.6, 1854. She was horn July 2, 1832. He came here in 1856, and worked at his trade as a moulder for the reaper company. He built a foundry in 1861, and for a time was in company with Mr. Fountain. In 1866 he went in company with W. R. Axe, and built a machine shop and foundry. This establishment run very- successfully for a few years, doing custom work and manufacturing paint mills. The building was destroyed by fire, Sept. 13, 1888. Mr. Widdowson still lives in Rockton, but at present is doing business in Delavan, Wis.
The school district on the south side of the river was organized in 1856, mostly from district number one, and what comprised the Macktown school. At a school meeting April 20, 1856, Alpha Bligh, T. M. Coons and G. H. Hollister were elected the first board of directors for the new district. The school house was built in 1857, and the first teacher of the school for the winter of 1857-'58, was Lewis Bigby. The present directors of the district are Hiram W. Young, Fred Gleasman and B. C. Truman.
Valentine Gleasman was born March 3 1838. He came to the vicinity of Rockton in 1856, and after laboring by the month at farm work till the fall of 1857, he went back east to bring out his father's family. He married Maryetta L. Gridley, Dec. 21, 1859. She was born Dec. 29, 1811. He bought his first farm near Canada school house in 1862, and by hard work and prudence was enabled to buy farm after farm, until at the time of his death, Sept. 29, 1893, he owned over fifteen hundred acres of good farm land. He was a remarkably successfully man of business, to start out when a young man with empty hands, and in thirty-five years accumulate a fortune by farming of nearly one hundred thousand dollars.
Rev. John Perham was one of the Congregational ministers here in the fifties for a year or two. He soon engaged in the lumber and warehouse business in connection with Rev. Silas Jessup. Be lived in the David Carpenter house. He finally moved to Beloit and died there.
At the town meeting in the spring of 1857, a committee was appointed to select a site and purchase grounds for a cemetery not to exceed ten acres. Said committee consisted of William Halley, Samuel Talcott, C. C. Smith, Henry Shibley and Joseph G. Veness. The present site was selected and purchased of Wait Talcott at a cost of $S70. The cost of surveying the same by Thos. J. L. Remington, was $45.91.
George WI Springer was born in Franklin, Maine, March 4, 1816. He married Rosanda Gup1iI, May 26, 1839. She was born in Gouldsborough, Maine, Jan. 2, 1818. They came to Rockton in the fall of 1857. He carried on the business of shoemaking. He built a shop on Main street next to C. Bentley's law office. He also built the house where Dr. Sutherland lives, which was his home as long as he lived. He served the village until his death as police magistrate. He was a member of the Methodist church. fie died Oct. 25, 1876. His wife died in Beloit, Sept. 13, 1895.
The Rockton Gazette was established this year by Funk & Phelps. The first number was issued in May, from the chamber of the west end of the stone block. After a short time Mr. Funk sold out to his partner, Henry W. Phelp, who continued the paper until some time in 1858, when lie moved the establishment to Burlington, Wis. While living here he married Alta Mason, Jan. 20, 1858. He enlisted in the war of the rebellion and died in service.
Rev. Silas Jessup was born May 23, 1813, married Mary Calender, Aug. 25, 1843. She was born April 25, 1814, and died April 13, 1883. He came here as early as 1857. He had a farm west of the river for a few years. He was in company with Rev. John Perham in the lumber and grain trade for a time. He died July 9, 1886.
Erastus H. Stanton established a bank in Rockton, in Webb's building, in 1857, which was conducted for a year or so. He lived on the Beloit road just north of where George Gayton now resides. He built the house there. He was supervisor of Rockton for three years in war times, from 1861 to 1864. He moved to Michigan and died there.
H.D. Jameson kept a store a short time in the Webb building. He built the large stone house up the river, recently owned by George Sheard, about 1857. He went to McHenry county and farmed it there awhile, and finally to Iowa, where he died.
The Fountain Reaper company was started in the spring of 1857, to manufacture the Founting reaper. The stock holders of the company were, William Halley, Henry W. Talcot, H. D. Jameson and J.B. Peterson. The business was carried on a couple of years, when the company closed up their affairs. Mr. Jameson was the business manager.
The Methodist church was put up and enclosed this year, but was not fully finished for a year or two after.
The Baptist church was built in 1857, and fully completed by the close Of the year.
CHURCHES OF ROCKTON.
The Congregational church was instituted on Friday, March 23, 1838 with fourteen original members. The meeting for organization was held at the house of Capt. William Talcott. Rev. William M. Adams presided at the meeting. The names of the first members were:
William Talcott, Mrs. Dorothy Talcott,
Henry W. Talcott, Miss Prudence Talcott,
Luman Pettibone, Miss Harriet Talcott,
Eli Hayes, Mrs. Alniira Pettibone,
J. Ambrose Wight, Miss Mary Pettibone,
Mrs. Sophia Adams, Mrs. Maria P. Ormsby,
Mrs. Julia Carpenter, Mrs. Sophrona Hayes.
Rev. William M. Adams was the first pastor, Luman Pettibone was the first deacon, J. Ambrose Wight the first church clerk, and Philander Bird, David Carpenter and Thomas B. Talcott, the first board of trustees. Meetings were in private houses until about .1840, then in the school house in the park for about ten years, until the present stone church was completed in 1850, at a cost of $5,000, which was considered at the time a great enterprise.
The church attained to a membership of one hundred and seven, Nov. 5, 1843, when eighteen members withdrew to help form a sister church in Roscoe. The names of those who withdrew were: Alvin Leland, John Bradley, Horace K. Leonard, Thomas R. Whipple, Edmond Bradley, Charles Kerr, John Moir,
Korah Briggs, E. Moir,
Solomon Leland, Mrs. Eunice Bradley, Mrs. Minerva J. Leonard, Mrs. Delia Whipple, George Kerr,
Mrs. Ann Frances Kerr, Mrs. Lydia Moir, Mrs. Thankful Briggs, Mrs. Hannah Cross.
On Feb. 28, 1846, another Congregational church was formed from the Rockton parent society, and located in Shirland. Fourteen members withdrew to form that church, as follows:
James L. Sharp, Mrs. Nancy Sharp,
Lemuel Fisk, Mrs. Martha Fisk,
Francis Steele Mrs. Rosetta Steele,
Luman Pettibone, Mrs. Almira Pettibone,
Henry S. Austin, Mrs. Eliza Austin,
Job Packard, Miss Hadassa Austin,
Julius Keeney, Samuel F. Briggs.
In 1851, there was still another demand on the parent church for extension work, and nine members went out to help form the church of Newark, Wis. During the first twenty-five years of the church's history, there has been a total membership of three hundred and nineteen, and up to time present time, a total membership of five hundred.
In March of 1854, Capt. William Talcott made the church a present of a bell, at a cost of $1,400. At the following town meeting a resolution was adopted that a suitable inscription be engraved on the bell, but it was never done. About that time a town clock was put in the church tower, by Speer& Cos-per, of 77 Lake street, Chicago, but as it did not work well, it was filially taken out by the clock makers, without expense to the town.
In 1867, Henry McNiel, of the town of Owen, donated by will, thirty-three acres of land to this church, valued at $1,000. The land was subsequently sold, and from the proceeds with necessary subscription, the church was able to build time present parsonage. At a church meeting, May 21, 1867, it was resolved that the munificent bequest of the late Henry McNiel, giving to this church thirty-three acres of land, "we do gratefully acknowledge the good hand of our God toward this church, and a worthy example of all aged father in Israel toward the church militant, and we shall cherish with profound respect the name and memory of the giver."
In 1885, Dr. John H. Carpentes willed to this church the house and lot near the railroad station, with the modest requirement, that $10 of each year's rent must he devoted to missionary work.
The semi-centennial of the organization of the church was held May 25, 1888, with appropriate exercises both afternoon and evening. The church clerk, E. I. Carr, read a well prepared historical sketch of the church; followed by an able article on the church choir, by Mrs. Fanny Hollister. Remarks were made by Hon. Wait Talcott, Thomas H. Talcott. F. W. Packard and P. L. Ellis. 1)r. McArthur preached an excellent evening; discourse. Revs. Higby and Wright assisted in the exercises. Several visitors from abroad were present.
In 1890 the Hon. Wait Talcott left the church by will the sum of $1,000, the interest of which to he used for the benefit of the church. At the annual meeting, Jan. 12, 1891, it was resolved: "That we the church and society express of our deepest gratitude for such unexpected remembrance; that we recognize in it very manifestly the character and quality of our departed brother, one not only while with us, but during the years of absence, he has more than once given tangible proof of his abiding affection."
In 1894, Thomas B. Talcott willed the church a house and lot, valued a $1,500. A good deal of repairs was put on this building, as a donation by W. A. Talcott, of Rockford, for which the church was duly thankful.
During the sixty years of the church's history, it has had eighteen ministers, whose names are as follows: William M. Adams, Dexter Clary, Lewis Benedict, John Perham, C. Selded, L. H. Johnson, F. Lawson, S. P. Barker, J. G. Sabin, T. L. Brown, H. G. McArthur, R. C. Bedford, A. F. Loomis. 0. G. May, E. F. Wright, F. A. Miller, Roger M. Sargent and Samuel L. Unger.
Of those who have been trustees of the church, we find the following names: Philander Bird, David Carpenter, Thomas B. Talcott, Jesse Blinn, Wait Taleott, ])r. Harley Hooker, Ira Cummings, Dr. J. H. Carpenter, L. D. Lyman, Henry 0. Brown, Sylvester Talcott, C. C. Smith, Miles S. Prentice, Charles C. Wright, Charles F. Chamberlain, Edwin Martin, Dean Pettibone, Samuel Hersey, A. N. Mellen, William Carlton, Henry W. Talcott, W. F. Packard, Silas Jessup, J. P. Farnsworth, J. B. Merritt, H. A. Webber, Chauncey Pettibone, William H. Farmer, J. A. Merrill, E. I. Carr, George Royden and Henry Knutson.
Of the church clerks there has been: J. Ambrose Wight, Wait Talcott, Coe Van Brunt, Seely Perry, Samuel Talcott, Henry 0. Brown, John H. Carpenter, Dean Pettibone, C. A. Strickland, Sylvester Talcott, E. I. Carr and A. N. Mellen. The deacon have been, Luman Pettibone, William Bradley, Wait Talcott, Coe Van Brunt, David Carpenter, Chauncey Pettibone, A. N. Mellen, J. A. Merrell and Henry Knutson.
The present church officers are: Samuel L. Unger, pastor; E. I. Carr, church clerk; William Thompson, Henry Knutson and William H. Farmer, trustees; and A. N. Mellen, Henry Knutson and Mrs. A. J. McKay, deacons. The present membership of the church, eighty-one. Sunday school superintendent, Elmer Kennedy.
METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH.
The M. E. church began as a class in 1855, with the following members: A. W. Case, leader, Mrs. A. W. Case, Sylvester Bartholomew and wife, Dr. J. A. Knight and wife, J. C. Truman and wife, and had preaching services once in two weeks at two o'clock in the afternoon in the stone school house, by Rev. J. P. Vance, of the Roscoe Methodist church. This class with others were organized into a church in 1856, by Rev. Holland Richardson.
Sylvester Bartholomew, Mrs. Calista Bartholomew,
Benjamin Phillips, Mrs. Benjamin Phillips,
C. L. R. Manning, Mrs. Jane Manning,
James L. Gray, Mrs. Sarah Gray,
Dr. J. A. Knight, Mrs. j. A. Knight,
J. C. Truman, Mrs. Mary Truman,
William Harley, Mrs. Elizabeth Harley,
J. W. Greattrax, Mrs. J. W. Greattrax.
Mrs Martha Chase.
The church building was commenced in 1857, Rev. C. F. Wright, pastor, with a building committee of James L. Gray, C. L. R. Manning, Dr. J. A. Knight, j. C. Truman and Benjamin Phillips. The building was erected and enclosed and remained in that condition until 1859, when it was completed, through the effort of Rev. James N. Martin, and dedicated by T. M. Eddy, D. D., editor of the North Western Christian Advocate.
From the commencement of the church services up to the spring of 1858, meetings were held in the school house, when the directors concluded not to have it used for religious services or Sunday school. This made the little band of Methodist feel as though they had no friends outside of their own members, being turned out into the street, and without just cause.
What to do and where to go was a serious question, but the directors in district No. two, came to their relief, and opened their school house to them. After holding services there a short time it was thought best to return to the north side, if a place could be obtained, as most of the members belonged on that side of the river. After a thorough canvass it was decided to secure the old red school house that had once been Rock-ton's pride in its earler history. It is the little old building on the corner of C. M. Crawford's.
Church services were held there until the church was dedicated, when the little society found itself badly in debt, but not discouraged. It was a time that tested the loyalty of its members, and they nobly stood the test by emptying their pocket books at every meeting and pledging more. This continued until 1862, when Rev. George Richardson got up a big railroad excursion to Chicago, which netted the church $856. The next year an excursion to Savanna was executed which added $136 more to the fund. The proceeds of these two excursions with help from friends, placed the church out of debt, and gave the trustees a clear title to the church property. The two years of Rev. Richardson's pastoral labor were prosperous ones, both spiritually and financially; and over sixty united with the church during that time. The average attendance of the Sun-clay school was over one hundred.
During the year of 1881, the lecture room was built through the effort of Rev. J. M. Conlee. This added much to the convenience of church work. After serving the church five years, Mr. Conlee was compelled on account of physical infirmities to ask conference for a superannuated relation, and spent most of his remaining years in Rockton.
The years of 1883, '84 and '85 were prosperous ones under the pastorate of Rev. N. A. Sunderlain. During the winter of 1884, special services were held for eleven weeks, closing with a jubilee, in which Rev. G. H. Vanhorn, Elder Manderville and Rev. G. S. Hubbs took part. As a result of these meeting one hundred and two united with the church.
During the years of 1891 and '92, over $1,400 were raised through the efforts of Rev. E. J. Rose, to purchase a parsonage and pay a $200 debt. In 1896 quite extensive repairs were made on the church under the management of the ladies. They very plainly demonstrated the fact that they are a power in the church.
LIST OF PASTORS AND YEARS SERVED.
1856 H. W. Richardson, 1857 C. F. Wright, 1858 Aaron Cross, 1859-60 J. N. Martin, 1861 W. D. Skelton, 1862-63 George Richardson, 1864 A. D. Field, 1865 D.W. Linn, 1866-67 James Bush, 1868 Edwin Brown, 1869 E. M. Battis, 1871-72 H. W. Raynolds, 1873 J. F. Stout, 1874 Homer Scoville, 1875 Peter Clare, 1876 J. S. Norris, 1877 J. J. Christ, 1878 George Erring, 1879 B. F. Smith, 1880-1-2 James M. Conlee, 1883-4-5 N. A. Sutherland, 1886 J. C. Bigelow, 1887-88 fames M. Coulee, 1889 W. A. Adroit, 1890 George Hopkins, 1891-92 E. J. Rose, 1893 W. B. Doble, 1894-95 H. E. Clark, 1896 Charles Virden, 1897-98 Robert Bell, 1897-98 Bobert Bell,
Rev. Robert Bell, chairman. Mrs. Sarah Gleasman, Mrs. Rozella Trimmer, Mrs. Mary Hull, Mrs. Jessie Veness, Mrs. Nettie Phelps, Miss Kittie Crawford, George Wilford, William Harley, Roscoe Gammon, Philip Gleasinan, William Liddle, S. R. Gridley, C. E. Phelps, H. S. Northrop, S. P. Jellison, C. C Coons, C. M. Crawford, B. C. Truman, 0. B. Houston, H. W. Young, Ernest Gleasman and J. C. Truman.
Only three of the charter members of the church are now living, William Harley and Mr. and Mrs. J. C. Truman.
Sunday school superintendent, C. N. Crawford.
THE BAPTIST CHURCH.
The early history of the Rockton Baptist church is closely identified with that of the Roscoe church. We find that on March 23, 1850, the Baptist settlers of Roscoe township, met at the home of J. CI, Veness, then living in Roscoe, and decided to organize a Baptist church. The following churches were represented at the Recognition Council which met April 2nd: Manchester, Beloit, Belvidere, Rockford and Hartford; and the following persons were recognized as constituting the membership of the first Baptist church Of Roscoe:
Patton Atwood and wife, J. G. Veness and wife, James Hatch and wife, James Smith and wife, Jane Hatch, Eliza Atwood, Elizabeth Churchell and Lydia Pickard.
The church was first supplied by Rev. Button, who was followed by Rev. Otis. Rev. James Veness succeeded Rev. Otis. On June 12, 1851, the following- Baptist people of of Rock-ton, Rev. James Veness and wife, Charlotte H. Veness, now Mrs. J. N. Douglass, 'Jones Parker, A. P. Newell and J. C. Potter, proposed to unite with the Roscoe church and hold alternate services, the church to be known as the Roscoe and Rockton United Baptist church. The proposition met with favor, and Rev. Veness supplied the united church.
In 1854, the services at Roscoe were discontinued for lack of suitable accommodations. The first place mentioned in the records in which the Rockton services were held, was in the Red School House, now used by C. N. Crawford as a paint shop. During the winter of 1856, they joined with the Congregational people in revival services, and there was a general awakening of religious interest. Twenty-one members were added to the church during the year.
June 28, 1856, the church voted to build a house of worship, and Jan. 13, 1858, the building was dedicated. The dedicatory sermon was preached by Rev. D. B. Purinton, who had become the pastor of the church in Oct. 1857. There was another revival during the winter of 1S58, and the report shows that there were thirty-four members added to the church during the associational year. During these years the church grew rapidly, the membership now numbering ninety-nine, a growth of nine-three in seven years.
The Sunday school was organized in 1858, and in 1862 the church was supporting three Sunday schools with a membership of three hundred and forty-one. Rev. C. T. Roe accepted the pastorate in 1860, and was followed by Rev. A. L. Wilkinson, who became the pastor in Nov. 1868. He remained with the church about three years. Rev. W. Whitney succeeded him in 1871, but was compelled to resign on account of poor health, after about a year's work with the church. Rev. Jas. Buchanan, a student of the Chicago Seminary, supplied the church for awhile, and in August, 1873, was called to the pastorate. The next one to take up the work, was Rev. W. N. Robinson, who began his labors in Jan. 1875, and continued with the church one year.
Rev. A. Whitman became pastor of the church in Feb. 1876, and continued until April, 1880. During June of the same year, Rev. W. G. Evans began his pastorate, and closed his labors with the church in 1883. For nearly one year the church was supplied by Rev. J. E. Hamilton. During his work, a prayer room was built at the rear of the church. During the winter of 1884, occurred a great revival in the M. E. church. Twenty one members were added to the-Baptist church during that association year.
In June, 1884, the church gave Rev. J. J. Phelps a call as pastor, which office he accepted and filled for about two years, when he was succeeded by Rev. H. L. Steele, whose pastorate continued until June, 1887. In Sept. of the same year, Rev. J. C. Hart became pastor of the church, and closed his labors at the end of the third year. The church was supplied until June, 1891, when Rev. Henry Topping accepted-a call, but soon severed his relation with the church to prepare for missionary work in Japan-
Nov. 1891, Rev. Stephen Crockett began his pastoral labors, which lasted until Nov. 1893. He was closely followed by Rev. W. L. Jones who served the church until 1895, when Rev. C. W. Woodruff took the ministerial position in the church, and served till the early summer of 1898, when the present pastor, Rev. T. C. Pedersen, assumed charge of the church work.
Three of the pastors were ordained after accepting the pastorate here: Rev. C. T. Roe, Jan. 15, 1861; Rev. Wilson Whitney-, Sept. 20, 1871; and Rev. Henry Topping, July 22, 1891. The Rock River Baptist Association has met with this church three times, 1857, 1876 and in 188
PRESENT CHURCH OFFICERS
F. D. Searls, C. 13. Holmes, 0. T. Bartholomew and D. N. Grant, deacons. P. Atwood, B. S. Waite, jr., and Frank Graves, trustees. Mrs. J. E. Forward, treasurer. Mrs. Clara A. Graves, clerk. Sunday school superintendent, D. N. Grant.
In addition to the three churches already mentioned, there are over fifty persons who belong to the Catholic church and go to Beloit to worship. There are also a few of the Seventh Day Advents, which years ago formed quite a society. The Spiritualists at one time were quite numerous, but now have scarcely a remnant left.
Charles Hyatt is an old settler of Rockton, coming with his father's family in 1842, when a boy only seven years old. He was born Sept. 17, 1835, married )rewcy Smith, April 10, 1866. She was horn Oct. 12, 1840, and died April 15, 1874. He married his second wife, Nary Bacon, Sept. 12, 1875. He has been industrious and careful of his savings, and has accumulated a handsome property. He owns the farm in the town of Owen, that his father, Horace Hyatt, deeded from government. His father in connection with his brother, Jacob Hyatt, established the first brick yard in Rockton, which was carried on by James Preston.
Michael Morrison came to Rockton in 1855. He was born in Ireland, Dec. 8, 1823. He married Joanna Hickey in Nov. 1851, She was born Aug. 10, 1832. He received a good education in his youth, and while living in Ireland was a disciple of Isaac Pitman, the father of phonography, and was secretary of a society formed in his native town. After he came here and was working in the paper mill, he found in a bale of old papers, the record book that he had used in Ireland. It had followed him across the sea and brought up in Rockton. He retained the old book which he values highly. He also has a copy of the bible printed in the Irish language, which is a rare treasure.
Frederick Gleasman was born Sept. 19, 1842, came with the family to Rockton township in 1858, when only sixteen years of age. He married Jenette Farmer, a daughter of Thomas Farmer, and devoted his time to farming, in which occupation he was very successful in accumulating a good deal of property. He has held the office of commissioner of highways for number of years.
James Shaw was a settler of Rockton about 1858. He lived in the Johnson house just west of E. S. Waite's place. He was in company with Mr. Stearns in rebuilding the Talcott grist mill in 1859, which was destroyed by fire the year before. After living here about ten years lie went to Missouri.
Lloyd Stearns was a resident of Rockton for a few years. coming here about 1858, and engaged with James Shaw in rebuilding the Talcott grist mill in 1859. He lived in the house now known as the Baptist parsonage. He sold out his share in the mill in 1864, to C. W. Robertson, for $7,500. He was in company with E. J. Veness, in the tannery business in Racine for a couple of years. He died in Rockford.
E. Smith Waite was born in Genesee county, N. T., Jan, 26, 1832. He visited Rockton in 1854, to see his brother, Dr. Waite.
He located here in 1860. He married Lucinda B. Robertson, Dec. 21, 1866. In 1865 he established a stage route to Rockford, and had a contract for carrying the mail for two years. In 1868, he bought the brick hotel of Dr. Houghton. He started a livery stable which he run for several years. He had the only hearse that was ever owned in town. He served three terms as justice of the peace, one term as police magistrate, two terms as president of the village board, and one or two terms as village trustee. He now resides on his farm west of the river.
Samuel J. Goodwin settled in Rockton in the fall of 1860, and purchased the well-known farm which bears his name, on the Beloit road. He was born in Madison, N. V., Aug. 19, 1812, and died in Beloit, Feb. 6, 18S5, He was a stirring man of business, and tried to develope the water power between Rockton and Beloit, a sketch of which is here given. He moved to Beloit in 1868.The water power as projected by Mr. Goodwin, includes a dam across the river and a race terminating at the Jameson house. We quote from Mr. Goodwin's specifications:
"The dam will be located at what is known as Carpenter's island, and will be seven feet high above the water, or about eleven feet high from the foundation, and built upon a perfect circle line. The foundation will be three hundred and fifty feet wide and two hundred feet long. The upper end of the foundation will be double sheet, piled its entire width. Another course of sheet piling in the same manner will be carried the entire width at the spring line of the dam. Substantial stone abutments will be made to support the ends of the spring line of the dam. The guard locks will be eighty feet wide. The race will be eleven hundred and fifty feet long, eighty feet wide, and eleven feet deep at the darn, and fifteen feet at its lower terminus. This gives the power seven feet fall at the clam and eleven feet fall at the end of the race, making an average power of nine feet fall."
Lewis Fairchild was born in St. Lawrence county, N. Y., Aug. 7, 1825. He came to Beloit in 1855, and to Rockton township in 1860, where he located on a farm west of the river. He married Mrs. Lucinda Quinn, Oct. 10, 1847. She was born in Oct. 1824, and died, April 10, 1892. He married his second wife, Mrs. Laura J. Boone, Sept. 8, 1891. For the past few years he has lived in the village, on the south side of the river. He is a moulder by trade, and during his residence in Beloit, he worked at that business.
E. S. Waite was born in Genesee county, N. Y., Jan. 26, 1832: He is twin brother of E. Smith Waite. He came to Rockton in 1861, and for a year or so carried on a grocery store. The next two years he was in company with Mr. Joslyn, when the firm for three years following was Waite, Veness & Joslyn. From 1867 to 1880, the business was carried on by Veness & Waite, when Mr. Waite retired from the firm. Since that time he has devoted most of his time to farming. He has held the office of town assessor several years, and been president and trustee of the village a number of terms. For the past few years he has been librarian of the town library. He married Miss Kate Veness, May 1, 1862.
The great event. of 1861 was the breaking out of the civil war. Rockton viras eminently patriotic as was shown by the number of soldiers they sent to put down the rebellion. The following names represent as complete a list as could be obtained. All honor to the brave boys who so willingly rushed to the defense of their country.
ROCKTON SOLDIERS OF 1861 AND '65
Henry Adams, enlisted Aug. 1, 1861, Co. G, 44 reg. Mustered out Sept. 13, 1861. Died Oct. 23, 1861.
Charles D. Baker, enlisted Aug. 1, 1861, Co. G, 44 reg. Died of his wounds, Nov. 25, 1863.
Ambrose Banks, enlisted Feb. 8, 1865, Co. 0, 44 reg. Mustered out Sept. 21, 1865.
Arthur Bartholomew, enlisted Sept. 1, 1861, Co. G, 44 reg. Served out his full term of enlistment. Dis. at Nashville.
James Bartlett, enlisted Sept. 1, 1861, Co. 0,44 reg. Re-enlisted as veteran, Jan. 1, 1S64. Mustered out Sept. 25,1865.
John Bingham, enlisted in 3rd Wisconsin light battery.
William Bingham, enlisted in 3rd Wisconsin light battery. He died at Fortress Monroe.
Bruce Blinn, enlisted Aug. 6, 1862, Co. A, 74 reg. Transferred to infantry corps, March, 1864.
George W. Bliss, enlisted Aug. 14, 1862, Co. D, 74 reg. Mustered out June 10, 1865.
Luman N. Carpenter. enlisted in Co. E, 18th Wis. Was in Andersonville prison. Mustered out a captain.
David W. Chandler, enlisted Nov. 4, 1861, Co. F, 13th cay. Transferred to Co. C. Mustered out a corporal.
John S. Chandler, enlisted Aug. 18, 1862, Co. E, 74 reg. Mustered out a sergeant, June 10, 1865.
Cassius M. Clay, enlisted Feb. 16, 1805, Co. A, 153 reg. Mustered out Oct. 16, 1865.
C. H. Clay, enlisted Aug. 6, 1862, Co. A, 74 reg. Mustered out a corporal, June 10, 1865.
G. G. Clay. enlisted Aug. 0, 1862, discharged for disability, Nov. 5, 1862.
James H. Connor, enlisted Aug, 8, 1802, Co. D, 74 reg. Mustered out a sergeant, June 16, 1865.
Chas. C. Coons, enlisted Aug. 8, 1801, Co. G, 44 reg. Transferred to vet. R. C. April 30. 1864. Mustered out a sergeant Sept. 21, 1865. He was in Libby prison awhile.
Hiram F. Corey, enlisted Aug. 12, 1862, Co. E, 74 reg. Transferred to vet. R. C. Jan. 9, 1865.
James S. Cowen, enlisted Aug. 6, 1862, Co. A, 74 reg., promoted 2nd lieu. March 2, 1863, 1st lieu. Nov.16, 1864. Mustered out June 10, 1865.
D. C. Craine, enlisted.
Richard H. Craine, enlisted Aug. 14, 1862, Co. D, 74 reg, Mustered out May 19, 1865.
James Craine, enlisted.
Henry J. Crangle, enlisted March 15, 1865, Co. D, 74 reg. Transferred to 36 Ill. V. 1. June 7, 1865.
Lewis Christian, enlisted Aug. 1, 1861, Co. G, 44 reg. He was killed at the battle of Stone river, Dec. 31, 1862.
Silas Cummings, enlisted Oct. 23, 1861, Co. B, 51 reg. Mustered out May 31, 1865.
Thomas Dailey, enlisted Nov. 1, 1861, Co. B, 51 reg. Re-enlisted vet. Dec. 24, 1863. Dis. as serg., Aug. 6, 1864.
Edgar J. Davis, enlisted Oct. 1, 1864, 2nd lieu., Co. G, 44 reg. Mustered out sergeant May 22, 1865.
George E. Dolphin, enlisted July 30, 1861 as serg. Co. D, 11 reg. Dis. June 5, 1865. Promoted U. S. C. T.
Consider K. Davis, enlisted 4th Wis. battery.
George H. Duncan, enlisted Nov. 20, 1861, Co. F, 15th cay. Died at Keokuk, Iowa.
Samuel Dunham,.enlisted May 24, 1861, Co. B, 15 reg. Re-enlisted vet. June 1, 1864.
John Dunham, enlisted Co. C, 1st Wis. cay. Mustered out at the close of the war.
Melvin Fairchild, enlisted Co. G, 43rd Wis. inft. Re-enlisted Sept. 1861. Discharged June, 1865.
Henry C. Fackrell, enlisted Feb. 16, 1865, Co, A, 153 reg. Mustered out Sept, 21, 1865.
Charles E. Fox, enlisted Co. A, 1st R. I. cavalry. He was thrown from a horse and killed.
Mathew Goodrich, enlisted Sept. 1, 1861 Co. G, 44 reg. Died in Andersonville prison, Dec. 21, 1863.
David P. Gray, enlisted Aug. 1, 1861, Co. G, 44 reg. Died at Rolla, Mo., Dec. 28, 1861.
Henry M. Gray, enlisted—died in service, Dec. 17, 1862.
George E. Gustin, enlisted Aug. 14, 1862, Co. D, 74 reg. Discharged May 15, 1865.
John H. Gustin, enlisted Aug. 8, 1862, Cp. D. 74 reg. Died of wounds at Reseca, Ga., July 6, 1864.
Whitman Gustin, enlisted Nov.13, 1861, Co. D, 74 reg. Died of wounds at Reseca, Ga., June 4, 1864.
William H. Hanks, enlisted Aug. 1, 1861, Co. G, 44 reg. Discharged Aug. 1, 1862.
Edwin A. Harley, enlisted Oct. 1, 1861, Co. F, 13th cay. Discharged for disability, Nov. 4, 1862..
John W. Harley, enlisted Aug. 12, 1862, Co. E, 74 reg. Mustered out June 10, 1865.
A. R. Hart, enlisted Aug. 1, 1861, Co. G. 44 reg. Dis. Aug. 1, 1862. Re-enlisted vet. Jan. 1, 1865. Mustered out Sept. 25,1865.
Ansel Hartwell, enlisted in 8th Mo.
Charles Hicks,. enlisted June 2,1862, Co. C, 67 reg. Mustered out Sept. 29,1862.
Edwin G. Higby, enlisted Aug. 6, 1862, Co. A, 74 reg. Died at Nashville, Tenn., Dec. 7, 1862.
Robert Hunt, enlisted June 2, 1862, Co. C, 67 reg. Mustered out Sept. 27, 1862. Re-enlisted Sept. 28, 1864, Co. D, 17th Ill. cay. Mustered out July 8, 1865.
W. J. Hunt, enlisted June 2, 1862, Co. C, 67 reg. Mustered out Sept. 27, 1862. Re-enlisted Sept. 28, 1864, Co. I), 17th Ill. cay. Mustered out July 8, 1865.
Horatio Hersey, enlisted Jan. 4, 1864, Co. I, 9th III. cay. Killed at the battle of Campbellville, Nov. 24 1864.
Henry P. Kennedy, enlisted Nov. 23, 1861, Co. B, 51 reg. Discharged Feb. 4,1862.
Wm. S. Leffingwell, enlisted Aug. 6, 1862, Co. A, 74 reg. Trans. I. C. Nov. 21, 1863. Mustered out corporal.
Chas. D. Manning, enlisted Jan. 5, 1864, Co. I, 9th cay. as a saddler. Absent on sick list when reg. was m.o.
John Maginnis, enlisted March 2, 1865, Co. I, 9th cay. Mastered out Oct. 31, 1865.
Riley J. Need, enlisted Aug. 1, 1861, Co. G, 44 reg. Died at Jefferson City, No., Nov. 30, 1861.
Benj. F Moody, enlisted Jan. 29, 1862, Co. 13, 51 reg. Mustered out Feb. 27, 1861.
Josiah Morgan, enlisted Jan. 4, 1864, Co. D, 74 reg. Transferred to 36 111. Jan. 7, 1865.
Shepard Norcross, enlisted July-26, 1862, as musician, promoted to drum major, March 26, 1863.
Ferris Palmer, enlisted.
Robert Penman, enlisted Aug. 14, 1861, 2nd lieu. Co. G,44rg Resigned Feb. 28, .1862.
Thomas Penman, enlisted Aug. 1, 1861, Co. G, 44 reg. Mustered out Sept. 13, 1861.
J. B. Peterson, died in service at Memphis, Tenn., June 27, 1864.
Chauncey Pettibone, enlisted May 20, 1861, Co. F, 1st Wis. infantry for three months.
Osker Richardson, enlisted July 16; 1861, Battery A, 1st light art. m. o. end of three month. Re-enlisted fall of 1861, in Co. C, 1st Wis. eay. Promoted serg. Nov. 16, 1861. Died in service in 1863.
Timothy Robertson, enlisted June 2, 1861, Co. C, 67 reg. Mustered out Sept. 27, 1862.
Charles Rollison,- enlisted Co. C, 1st Wis. env. Mustered out at the close of the war.
Eugene Sawyer, enlisted Aug. 1, 1861, Co. G, 44 reg. Re-enlisted vet. Jan. 1, 1864. Mustered out Sept. 25, 1865.
Willis Sawyer, enlisted June 2, 1862, Co. C, 67 reg. On furlough when his regiment was mustered out.
Lorenzo D. Shores, enlisted May 24, 1861, Co. C, 15 reg. Discharged for disability, Nov. 26, 1862.
Franklin Shores, enlisted Aug. 8, 1862, Co. D, 74 reg. Transferred to 1. C. Sept. 1, 1863.
Charles M. Smith, enlisted sergeant Co. F, 16th Wis.
Henry Smith, enlisted Aug. 8, 1862, Co. D, 74 reg. Discharged a sergeant April 17, 1865, for disability.
James Stenips, enlisted Sept. 27, 1S62, Co. C, 67 reg.
John Spurling, enlisted 8th Mo.
C. B. Spurling, enlisted Aug. 9, 1861, Co. C, 44 reg. Discharged in the fall of 1861.
Albion H. Stevens, enlisted Jan. 29, 1862, Co. B, 51 reg. Died in service at Nashville, Tenn., Aug. 3, 1863.
George Stevens, enlisted Aug. 8, 1862, Co. D, 74 reg. Discharged for disability, Dec. 26, 1862.
H. D. Stevens, enlisted in the 8th Mo. Mustered out a captain.
A. G. Stiles, enlisted Oct. 23, 1861, Co. B, 51 reg. Re-enlisten vet. Dee. 24, 1863. Mustered out serg. June 24, 1865,
William Streeter, enlisted Aug. 1, 1861, Co. G, 44 reg. Discharged March, 1862.
George A. Springer, enlisted Nov. 2, 1861, Co. F, 13th cay. Discharged for disability, Dec.. 20, 1862,
Dwight L. Talcott, enlisted Jan. 5, 1864, Co. 1, 9th cay. Mustered out June 3, 1865. He was a prisoner in Andersonville.
John G. Taylor, enlisted Sept. 30, 1864, Co. D, 74 reg. Mustered out June 10, 1865.
John C. Thomas, enlisted Aug. 14, 1862, Co. F, 74 reg. Mustered out June 10, 1865.
Orville Thomas, enlisted Aug. 14, 1S62, Co. F, 74 reg: Mustered out corporal, June 10, 1865.
George Thompson, enlisted June 2, 1862, Co. C, 67 reg. Mustered out Sept. 27, 1862.
A. H. Toal, enlisted Feb. 16, 1565, Co. A, 153 reg. Mustered out Sept. 21, 1865.
Henry H. Trowbridge, enlisted Feb. 1, 1865, Co. A, 153 reg. Mustered out Sept. 21, 1865.
H. B. Tuttle, enlisted June 2, 1862, Co. C, 67 reg. Mustered out Sept. 27, 1862.
Leonard Thurston, enlisted Nov. 20,1861, Co. F. 13th cay. Discharded for disability, Dec. 12, 1862.
James E. Urquhart, enlisted Aug. 4, 1862, Co. A, 74 reg. Discharged Feb. 1803.
William H. Urquhart, enlisted Aug. 6, 1862, Co. A, 74 reg. Killed in battle Dec 31, 1862.
Vascoe Van Rensselaer, enlisted Sept. 28, 1864, Co. I), 17th city. Mustered out. j illy 21, 1865.
William Wearthy, enlisted Co. I), 17th env. Mustered out Dec.20, 1865.
Thomas Willie, enlisted Aug. 1, 1861, Co. G, reg. Re-en-listed vet. Jan. 1, 1864. Absent when reg. was m. o.
Andrew. J. Young, enlisted Aug. 8, 1802, Co. D, 74 reg, Discharged for disability, July 29, 1S03.
William G. Young enlisted Aug. 1, 1861, Co. G, 44 reg. Re-enlisted vet. Jan. 1. 1S64. Died of wounds, July, 1804.
Hiram Young, enlisted.
Philip Zorn, enlistd Aug 1, 1561, Co. G, 44 reg. Died in Andersonvilh.- prison, March 20, 1864.
Of the one hundred soldiers that were credited to Rushton during the war of the rebellion, 6 were under eighteen years of age, 25 were over eighteen and under twenty-one years, 46 were over twenty-one and under thirty years, 12 were over thirty and under forty years,
4 were over forty and under fifty years, 2 were over fifty years old, and 5 whose ages are unknown. 100 Total number.
SOLDIERS BURIED IN ROCKTON CEMETERY.
Silas Austin, of the war of 1812, died March 31, 1844.
Rufus Baker, war of 1812, died May 24, 1870.
George Benton, enlisted Co. A, 153 reg. d. Jan. 24, 1892.
C. E. Boone, died Jan. 8, 1893.
John Brown, of the war of 1812, died Sept. 29, 1861.
Dr. C. B. Carr, surgeon in a Missouri reg. d. Sep. 2, '68
John Q. Chatsey.
Edward Collyer, killed in a cyclone, April 18, 1880.
Edgar J. Davis, Co. G, 44 111. Died Feb. 5, 1882.
Theodore Dickerson, died
Gen. E. J. Farnsworth, killed in battle July 3, 1863.
Edwin A Harley, Co. F, 15th cavalry.
H. H. Helmer, died Dec. 30, 1892.
Josiah Morgan, Co. D, 74 Ill.
Fayette Pettibone, died March 8, 1897.
Luman Pettibone, war of 1812, died April 2, 1880.
Warren Raymond, war of 1812.
Charles Reed, war of 1812.
Gen. William Richardson, war of 1812, d. Nov. 24, 1860 21. Osker Richardson. 1st sol. of '61-'65 buryed in cem. 25. William Riley, died July 1, 1881.
Nathaniel Rudd, war of 1812, died April 4, 1847.
Henry W. Smith, Co. D, 74 Ill.
Albion H. Stevens, Co, B, 51 111. Died Aug. 3, 1863.
L. F. Stevens.
Capt. William Talcott, war of 1812, died Sept. 2, 1864.
Frank Alton, Co. F, 132 Ill.
Sherman A.spland, Co. G, 2nd Wis.
Andrew Bingham,. Co. C, 9th Mich. infantry.
Isaac Brown, Co. I, 43rd Wis. infantry.
Thomas M. Coons, Black Hawk war of 1832.
Charles C. Coons, Co. G, 44 111.
Edward Corcoran, Co. C, 55 Ill.
J. S. Cowen, Co. A, 74 III.
J. J. Crawford, Co. C, 145, Pa. vol. infantry.
C. M. Crawford, Battery H. Pa. light artillery.
A. E. Crawford, Co. 1‘1, 8th Ill. cavalry,
J. W. Fisk, Battery A, 5th U. S. artillery.
Roscoe Gammon, Co. F, 9th Maine.
George Gayton, Co. H, 42 Wis.
W. H. Graves, Co. H, 30th infantry.
Robert Hunt, Co. C, 67 Ills.
S. P. Jenison, Co. I, 6th N. Y: cay.
Theodore Knapp, Co. I, 111th N. Y.
David Kipp, Co. B, 74th Iii.
John Lighthart. Co. E, 141st III.
Andrew J. Loveless, 1st serg. Co. F, 1st Ill. cat-.
Henry Merritt, Co. C, 135th Ind.
J. A. Parkhurst. Co. B, 4th flying art.
E. Powell, Co. I, Ohio vol. infantry.
C. B. Spurling, Co. C, 44th Ill.
A. G. Stiles, Co. B, 51st Ill.
Leonard Thurston, Co. F, 13th ill, cay.
John Watts, Co. E, 33d Wis.
C. W Woodruff, Co. L, 8th Ill. cavalry.
SOLDIERS' WIDOWS WHO DRAW PENSIONS
Mrs. Lura Brown,
Mrs. George Benton,
H. H. Helmer,
Mrs. Henry Osborn,
Mrs. John Taylor.
Mrs. Addie Thomas
ROCKTON SOLDIERS OF THE CUBAN WAR
Barton G. Bingham, Co. E, 1st Wis. infantry
Charles E. Booth, Co. E, 1st Wis. infantry.
Henry Cole, Co. E, 1st Wis. infantry.
Cecil M. Coons, Co. E, 1st Wis. infantry.
Benjamin Davis, Co. E, 1st Wis. infantry.
Orville Partch, Co. E, 1st Wis. infantry.
Fred A. Smith, Co. E. 1st Wis. infantry.
Willis G. Widdowson, Co. E, 1st Wis. infantry.
Samuel R. Baker was a native of Vermont, and came to Rockton in 1859, and fora number of years has been engaged
in one of the paper mills. He owns a house and lot on block twenty-one. He married his wife, Mary M. Bruner, in Iowa, May 26, 1856.
A liberty pole was erected in the park in 1862. It was made of some hoom timbers which came down Rock river to Beloit
with a raft of pine logs. it was a very substantial affair of its kind, and stood the wear and tear of the storms and wind until the building of the park stand in 1880, when it was taken down,,
as it was considered unsafe to longer remain. The large flag which was purchased for the liberty pole by the-people of the
town, is still in existence, but much worn by thirty-six years
of service. It is a cherished old relic of by-gone times. It waved in the breeze when the boys in blue went out to put down the
rebellion, and when they returned it still floated at the masthead. When our brRve boys returned on a furlough from the Cuban war, the same old flag was floating over the street to do them honor.
Isaac D. Fryer was elected collector of the township of Rock-ton in 1862, and served in that capacity one year. He carried
on the harness business while living here. He was a very large man, weighing over 300 pounds. He afterwards moved to Rockford, where lie kept a hoarding stable in connection with his harness business. He died in Rockford a few year ago, being quite an old man.
Charles C. Coons was horn in Rockford, Lune 9, 1843. He came to Rockton in the fifties, and when nineteen years of age enlisted in the war of the rebellion, as one of Rockton's first soldiers, in company G, forty-fourth Illinois infantry. He participated in several battles, but was taken prisoner at Murfreesboro', Tenn., and confined in Libby prison for three months. lie was exchanged in time to engage in the battle of Chickamauga, where he was severely wounded. He was
discharged from service in September, 1865. Since that time he has resided in Rockton with the exception of two years on a farm in Minnesota. He married Miss Rebecca Hunt, June 13, 1867. He has served as a member of the village board several terms, and is now a member of the school board. Mr. and Mrs. Coons are both members of the Methodist church. They have had four children, three of whom are living.
Rockton lodge, No. 74, A. F. and A. M., was organized Jan. 5th, 1S49, under a dispensation from the Grand Lodge of the tate of The charter members were:
Rumsey Hatch, Alfred I. Ames, Alpha Bligh,
Jesse Blinn, George A. Young, P. D. Van Buren,
Joseph G. Prentis, Alex. H. Merrill, Wm. Leffinwell,
N. Howland, John Holland, L. W. Osgood.
Quite a number were admitted who went to California the same year. This is the oldest lodge in this part of the state, except Belvidere lodge. All of its original members have now paid the debt of nature. The lodge is in a prosperous condition, both socially and financially, and embraces many of the most influential men of the town. Ramsey Hatch was chosen the first worshipful master of the lodge, and held the office until Jan. 21, 1833. The subsequent worshipful masters have been:
W. R. Weld, Jan. 21, 1853, to June 9, 1854.
M. R. Patten, June 9, 1854, to May 25, 1855.
\V. R. Weld, May 25, 1S35, to July 2, 1857.
James Wight, July 2, 1837, to June 21, 1858.
NV. R. Weld, _June 24, 1858 to June 17, 1863.
S. Widdowson, Julie 17, 1863, to Dec. 21, 1866.
D. L. Whitney, Dec. 21, 1866, to Dec. 20, 1867.
W. R.Weld, Dec.20, 1867, to Jan. 1, 1869.
S. Widdowson, Jan. 1, 1869 to Jan. 7, 1876.
Henry E. Hater, Jan. 7, 1876, to Dec. 22, 1876.
J. 13. Rockwood, Dec. 22, 1876, to Jan. 9, 1880.
A. A. Snyder, jun. 9, 1880, to Dec. 30, 18S1.
S. L. Jenkins, Dec. 30, 1881, to Dec. 29, 1882. ,
D. L. Whitney, Dec. 29, 1882, to Jan. 11, 1884.
S. Widdowson, jan. 11, 1884, to jan. 2, 1885.
A. A. Snyder, Jan. 2, 1885, to Dec. 21, 1885.
J. W. Winsor, Dec. 21, 1885, to Dec.30, 1886.
A.A. Snyder. Dec. 30, 1886, to Jan. 4, 1889.
S. L. Jenkins, Jan. 4, 1889, to Jan. 10, 1895.
John Watts, Jan. 10, 1895, to Dec. 26, 1897.
James A. Darcus, Dec. 26, 1897, in office.
The membership of the lodge is forty-nine. They hold their regular meetings on the second and fourth Thursday evenings of each month, in their hall on the third floor of the east end of the stone block.
OFFICERS FOR 1898.
J. A. Darcus, W. M.; J. W. Armstrong, S. W.; E. S. Waite, J. W.; Wm. Thompson, treasurer; S. P. Jellison, secretary; Win. Thompson, chaplain; W. C. Loonier, S. D.; George Ellis, J. D.; N. V. Johnson and E. S. Kizer, stewards; H. J. Webber, tyler.
In connection with the masonic lodge is an auxiliary society of ladies, known as the Eastern Star. who hold their meetings in the masonic hall on the first and third Monday evenings of each month.
Rockton Chapter, No. 190, R. A. M., was organized Oct. 25, 1883. Its charter members were:
Edward Kinsley, R. de in Mantanye, W. J. Packard,
Wm. Shibley A. A. Snyder, Wm. Tompson,
J. W. Winsor, John Watts, H. J. Webber, Thomas Glover.
The membership is now forty-six. The present officers are:
Wm. Thompson, N. E. H. P.; vacant, E. K.; E. 0. Gridley, E. S.; S. P. Jellison, E. Sect.; B. B. Gates, E. Treas.; S. P. Jellison, E. Chap.; J. W. Armstrong, Cpt. of H.; S. L. Jenkins, P. S.; J. A. Darcus, R. A. C.; B. B. Gates, G. N. 3d V.; J. A. Johnson, G. N. 2c1 V.; E. S. Gleasinan, G. N. 1st V.; H. J. Webber, Sent. They meet once a month in the masonic hall.
Rockton Camp, No. 77, N. W. A., was orgnized Jan. 28, 1885, with the following charter members:
Frank Alton, E. I. Carr, J. J. Clover,
C. M. Crawford, James A. Darcus, E. A. Damon.
C. E. Purdy, Frank Rathbun], C. M. Ruland,
H. A. Webber, C. D. Beufield.
The camp meets the first and third Friday evenings of each month,in their hall over the public library. The present membership is eighty-two. The order is in a prosperous condition. Not a death has occurred in the camp since its organization, thirteen years ago.
OFFICERS OF 1898
S. L. Jenkins, V.C.; N. S. Rocker, W. A.; B. B. Hill, clerk;
I. Carr, banker; Patrick Wall, escort; Jason Newell, watchman; and Bruce Liddle, sentry.
KNIGHTS OF THE GLOBE
The order of the Knights of the Globe, was organized March 8, 1893, and known as the Gen. E. J. Farnsworth Garrison, No. 50. The original members were:
J. A. Darcus, Wm. V. Graves, G. M. Hopkins,
L. B. Hopkins, T. R. Harper, W. C. Loonier,
C. H. Osgood, C. E. Phelps, Nathan Sarver,
J. Smith, A. A. Snyder, C. L. Sutherland,
Charles Taylor, B. S. Waite, Jr., H. A. Webber.
The society meets on the second and fourth Monday evenings of each month. Their membership is forty-six. Their present officers are:
Dr. C. L. Sutherland, chief justice: 0. B. Houston, supreme judge; C. C. Coons, judge; "W. H. Merrill, president; W. C. Loonier, vice president; Dr. C. L. Sutherland, commander; R. L. Forward, lieu. commander; John Shurtliff, ensign; W. V. Graves, provost marshal; Arthur Liddle, guard; Fred. Mathewson, sentinal: C. E. Phelps, adjutant; G. M. Hopkins, quartermaster.
An auxiliary of the Globe, known as the Eminent Ladies, Meets in .the same hall.
COURT OF HONOR
Rockton District Court, No. 280, was organized March 5, 1897. The charter members were:
J. A. Darcus, W. W. Alden, S. S. Allen,
T. Conklin, Samuel Kelley, R. C. Jenkins,
Obed Larabee, G. W. Martin, Mrs. Lizzie Martin,
Mrs. J. C. Darcus, Mrs. Mamie Alden, Mrs. Cora Allen.
This society meets the first Tuesday evenings in each month. Their membership is fifteen. Their present officers are:
Mrs. Nancy Conklin, W. C.; Mrs. Cora Allen, W. V. C.; J. A. Darcus, recorder; Samuel Kelley, treasurer; R. C. Jenkins,' conductor; Mrs. C. J. Darcus, guard; D. T. Conklin, sentinel.
THE ODD FELLOWS
Rock River lodge, No. 59, 1. 0. of 0. F., was started here July 25, 1850,with the following charter members: John Clague Isaac F. French, N. F. Prentice, W. T. Getts and W. R. Weld: The lodge was very prosperous for a number of years, but after an existence of some thirty-five years, it surrendered its charter to the grand lodge and ceased to exist.
Sunbeam lodge No. 78, I. 0. of G. T., was organized March 31, 1865, with forty-six charter members, among whom we note the following well-known citizens: B. F. Fletcher, J. G. Veness, J. W. Dean, E. L. Stiles, Aaron Shores, W. NV. Comstock, Eben Pollard, David Carpenter, G. W. Springer, J. W. Veness, M. D. Keeney, C. L. R. Manning, J. W. Cowles, B. B. Gates, C. B. Comstock, Mrs. Nellie Gates, Mrs. Ruth Ellis, Mrs. Jane Manning, Mrs. Esther Keeney and Miss Nettie Cowles, with a large number of others. This society existed about twenty years, when it suspended its organization.
TEMPLE OF HONOR
Western Star Temple of Honor and Temperance, No. 10, was organized March 14, 1879, with twenty charter members as follows: J. C. Crimins, E. L. Stiles, J. B. Rockwood, E. I. Carr, W. W. Comstock, C. C. Clarke, J. A. Darcus, Alfred Maxon, George L. Frisbee, M. S. Sheldon, S. P. Jellison, A. A. Snyder, H. W. Harvey, John Lighthart, E. A. Bliss, H. E. Veness, Eben Pollard, D. H. Stiles, H. B. Robinson and C. L. R. Manning. This society had a rapid growth, and enrolled about one hundred and thirty members. Death of members, removals, and various other causes served to weaken the society, until the membership got so small that they gave up the organization about a year ago.
ROCKTON LIBRARY ASSOCIATION
This society was organized July 17, 1875, and continued to exist until the town library was started, when it turned over its accumulation of hooks to that institution and disorganized.
GRAND ARMY POST
A Post of the Grand Army of the Republic was organized in Rockton, Augusti15, 1867, under the supervision of Col. J. J. Palmer, with eleven charter members. C. G. Morgan was chosen first post commander. This organization only lasted a few years.
There was also an organizaton of the Rockton Union Guards of state militia in 1868, and James S. Cowen was chosen captain and Adam R. Hart, first lieutenant. This company soon disbanded and ceased to exist.
Joseph B. Merritt was born in Oneida county, N. Y., Dec. 27, 1830. He came to Rockton in 1857 to take charge of Bradner, Smith S. Co's paper mill, and has been superintendent of the mills for over forty years. He married Miss Frances E. Mellen, Dec. 1,1858. She was born April 11, 1839. He has been supervisor of the town for four years, 1875 to 1879, and during the building of the court house in Rockford he was one of the building committee. He has served as village trustee and been a member of the school board. Several years ago he moved to Beloit and built a fine residence there where he now resides. He still has charge of the paper mill industry in Rock-ton.
Garrett Clute was born July 19, 1816, married Minerva Dicks in 1839. He came to Rockton in 1858 to take charge of Bradner, Smith & Co's paper mill, and was foreman for that company in the east and Rockton for nineteen years. He went to California in 1874, and returned the next year. He lived the following three years in Iowa, after which he returned toRockton, where he lived until his death, March 21, 1885. He bought the place where he lived, in 1866. His wife was born April 6, 1819, and died May 13, 1890.
Jonah Forward was born June 10, 1810, married Jane E. Stantial, Jan. 6, 1848. She was horn Dec. 9, 1825. They came to Rockton township in 1866, and for ten years he carried on the Goodwin farm. Since that time they have resided in the village. For a few years Mr. Forward was engaged in the meat market business in connection with Mr. Gammon. Mr. and Mrs. Forward have been remarkably blessed in their family. They have eight children, all grown to man's estate. They are both members of the Baptist church. They celebrated their golden wedding, Jan. 6, 1898.
Charles M. Crawford was born April 18, 1846. He served as a soldier in the war of the rebellion, in a Pennsylvania regiment. He came to Rockton in 1866, and concluded to locate here. He married Miss Matilda J. Holdeman, Nov. 20, 1867. He commenced the blacksmithing business in 1873, and has continuously carried it on since that time. He has served the public on the village board as one of the truste0s, and also has been a member of the school board for several years. He has been an efficient officer in the Methodist church, of which he and his wife are both members.
H. S. Northrop was born in Oswego county, N. Y., Dec. 23, 1830. He married Mrs. Altha S. Freed, Nov. 2, 1851. They came west from St. Lawrence, N. Y., in 1866, and settled in Rockton which has since been their home. For several years he carried on the meat market business in connection with G. D. Peck. He owns a house and lot in town. .1-le is a member of the Methodist church, and his wife is connected with the Baptist church.
James Wall was born in Ireland, June 20, 1833. He came to this country and married Ann Quinn, in "Williamstown, Mass., Nov. V, 1852. She was born in 1835. While in the east he labored on the celebrated floosie tunnel and other railroad works. They came to Rockton, July 5, 1864. Since coming here he has been engaged in farming and doing team work. He served the village one term as street commissioner. Mr. and Mrs. Wall are both members of the Catholic church of Beloit, and are very devoted members of that faith.
Barton 13. Gates was born Nov. 7, 1832, and married Miss Nellie Bingham, Jan. 9,1855. They settled in Pockton township in 1856, and for about ten years he devoted his time to farming. In 1866 he started a grocery store in the building now owned by Mr. Poyden, which he conducted for about one year, when he bought au interest in the stone rye mill, then run by Kiddie & Cowles. In 1868 the firm became Cowles &- Gates, which lasted until the mill was destoyed by fire, April 25, 1879. in 1869 Cowles & Gates bought one-third interest in the lime kiln company, which continued ten years until the rye mill was burned, when Mr. Gates bought Mr. Cowles share in the lime kiln, and Mr. Cowles retired. Mr. Gates subsequently bought out his partners in the lime business, and for several years has been the sole proprietor. Quite recently he has engaged with H. A. Webber in the manufacture of fanning mills. Mr. Gates has been commissioner of highways for thirty-two years.
David Carpeter moved from his farm west of the river into the village in 1865. He bought the place which was his residence as long as he lived. He was supervisor of the town for five years, three years from 1867 to 1870, and two years from 1873 to 1875. He was elected one of the village trustees in 1873. He was a deacon in the Cong'l church for ninny years, and served several terms as trustee, as well as superintendent of Sunday school. He and his wife spent the winter of 18S7 and '88, in California. They celebrated their golded wedding, March 7, 1886. He died March 5,1897.
Rev. Charles T. Roe was horn in England, May 1, 1835, and came to Rockton in 1859. He was pastor of the Baptist church for seven years, and then was post master for five years. He married Miss Clara E. Mallard, July 21, 1864,. She was born in Canada, March 8, 1846. They moved from Rockton several years ago. He is now engaged in the Baptist publication house, in Chicago.
George D. Peck was born in the state of New York, Feb. 5, 1841. He married Miss Anna White, in Rochester county, N. Y., Oct. 22, 1834. They came to Rockton in 1868. He devoted most of his time to farming on a place west of the river, but he had a meat market in town for sonic time, and bought and shipped live stock to Chicago. They had a family of five children. They moved to South Dakota a few years ago, where they now reside.
Rufus Baker, an early settler of Rhckton, came here front Canada. He was born March 2S, 1784, and died in Rockton, May 2-1, 1S70. His wife Cynthia, was born July 17, 1790, and died Jan. 17, 1871. He was a dealer in real estate and loaned money, He built the brick house now owned by the Methodist church as a parsonage. Rufus Baker, a grandson of his, lived in Rockton for a long time. He was village clerk one term. Ile married Miss Serville V. Bartholomew, June 29, 1865. They moved to Spring City, Tenn., a number of years ago, and now lives there. Like his grandfather, he had money to loan, which has been his principal business.
E. Powell was born in Stark county, Ohio, Feb. 15, 1S39, and came to Rockton in 1865. He is a farmer and lives near the west line of the township, where he owns a good farm. He was a soldier in the war of the rebellion, in company I, 115th Ohio volunteer infantry. He was engaged in the battle of Murfreesboro. He also served on detached duty part of the time. He was honorably discharged July 6, 1565. He married Miss Nancy Gary, Aug. 5, 1862. She was born in Ohio, April 21, 1813. They are both members of the Methodist church in Shirland. He has been an active member in church work for a good many years.
James A. Merrill was horn in Rockton, Nov. 6, 1857. He learned the telegraphing business when quite young and soon secured the vosition of operator at Rockton railroad station, which place he held for over twenty years. Since 1896, has been station agent. He married Miss Minnie Comstock, May 29, 1883. Aside from his duties as a railroad employe, he has found time to discharge other duties. He has been clerk of the village two or three terms, a member of the school board, and a deacon in the Cong'l church, of which both lie and his wife are members.
Simon P. Jenison settled in Rockton quite a number of years ago. He was horn in Wyoming county, N. Y., March 2, 1835. He enlisted in the 6th N. Y. cavalry, Oct. 16, 1861, and was promoted corporal. He was in the battles of Chancellorville, Gettysburg, South Mountain, Smithfield, and other places. He was wounded in a skirmish at Deep Bottoms, on the James river. He married Miss Arvilla F. Davison, March 6, 1856. She was born Jan. 28, 1836, and died Sept. 13, 1897. Since living in Rockton, Mr. Jenison has been notary public for several years, and held the office of police magistrate two or three terms. Both he and his wife were members of the Methodist church.
George Feakins was born in England, May 16, 1813, came to this country with his parents, and settled in Cherry Valley, N. Y., where lie married Miss Mary Stockley, Sept. 10, 1839. She was bore? in England, June 17, 1814. He came to Rockton in 1870, and was employed in the flouring mills. He spent fifty years of his life as a miller. To this couple were born six children, four of whom are still living. He died in Rock-ton, Oct. 9, 1883. His widow is living with a son and daughter in Wisconsin.
Simeon R. Gridley was born in Iowa, May 6, 1850. His parents soon moved back to Rockton. which has since been his permanent home. He married Miss Nettie Briggs, Nov. 24. 1875. She was born March 10, 1848. He has worked in Bradner, Smith & Co's paper mill since 1871, and since 1891, has been foreman of the mill. He served one or two terms on the village board. Both he and his wife are members of the Methodist church.
Norte B. Comstock was born in Rockton township, Jan. 8, 1854. He married Miss Maggie Hickey, Sept. 1, 1880. She was born Nov. S, 1859. He has carried on the barber business since 1874. He owns a house and lot in town and has a nice place of business on Main street.
Niron B. Kincaid was born in the state of Maine, Oct. 18, 1836. He came to Rockton with his father in 1849. He married Mrs. Ruth Curtess in July, 1868. He married his second wife, Miss Flora Parker, Feb. 24, 1883. In 1864 he started a tobacco store in the Webb building, and after about a year, he moved to the stone block in the part now occupied by the meat market. In 1868 he built the store now used by the Houston Bros., and kept a store there till 1882. Since that time he has labored at mason work, which was his father's trade,
Lorenzo D. Kincaid was born in Rockton, Nov. 12, 1848. He married Miss Elizabeth Taylor, in,Ft. Atkinson, Wis., March 12, 1869. She was born June 2, 1850. He has been engaged in doing team work and farming most of the time he has lived in Rock ton.
George S..Ellis was born in Canada, Sept. 20, 1840. Came west with his father's family in 1845, and settled in the township of Owen, near the Canada school house. He married Miss Ruth Knapp. July 4, 1861. She was born in Vermont, Feb. 6, 1839. They located in Rockton, in 1864, where he engaged in blacksmithing, and has continued in that business until the present time. A number of years of ago he conducted the New England hotel for about four years, when he bought his present residence of the Adams estate. He served two terms as village trustee, and has been a member of the school board for several years. He has a passion for a fast horse, and generally keeps a good one. They have four children, all of whom are married. Mrs. Ellis is a member of the Methodist church.
Oscar Favor was born in Rockton township, Oct. 18, 1844. He married Miss Mary Bligh, March 8, 1869. He has held the office of town assessor for ten years, and been township trustee of schools for several years. For a few years he was engaged in buying and shipping grain and live stock. He has lived in the village corporation for nearly thirty years, and been a member of the village board two or three terms.
William R. Axe was born in England, July 22, 1821, came to this country in 1842, and to Rockton in 1866. He carried on business here with Mr. Widdowson for several years, conducting a foundry and machine shop on the water power. He married Miss Olive P. Marshall, in New York, in 1848. She was born in Maine, Nov. 15, 1822, and died in Rockton, April 7, 1891. Mr. Axe has been retired from business for several years past. He owns considerable property in Rockton and Beloit.
Andrew Bingham was born in Ontario county, N. Y., June 10, 1837, went to Michigan with his father's family in 1850, where he learned the printer's trade, and worked at that business for fourteen years. He enlisted in the war of the rebellion, in company K, in the 9111 Michigan infantry. He married Miss Emma R. Collins, Feb. 7, 1863. She was born in Chautauqua county, N. Y., July 1 1839. He has been engaged at mason work for the past twenty years. He came to Rockton in 1858, and has been a resident of the village for the past ten years. He has been village clerk two terms, and is now president of the village board. They have four living children.
John J. Clover war born in England, Jan. 21 1839, came to Rockton with his father's family in 1844. He married Miss Emily Shores, in Beloit, Wis., Oct. 2, 1862. She was born April 5, 1840. Be has been variously engaged in farming, meat market business, fireman and stationary engineer. He owns a house and lot in town. They have had three children, all of whom are now married.
George Wilford was born in Lincolnshire, England, June 2, 1845. He married Miss Sophia Shotliff. Nov. 28, 1865. They with their oldest child, came to this country, Oct. 1, 1867, and to Rockton, Nov. 1, 1878. To them were born seven children, all of whom are living. Mrs. Wilford was born Nov. 23, 1846, and died March 21, 1895. She was a member of the Methodist church. Mr. Wilford married again, Dec. 15, 1897, to Miss Mae Shufelt, of Rockton. He and his present wife are both members of the Methodist church. He has been foreman of the Phcenix paper mill for the past fifteen years.
John E. Woolery was born in the township of Burritt, March 25, 1854. He has lived in Rockton almost continuously since 1868. He has been engaged in farming and doing team work. He married Miss Marlette Stickler, Aug. 9, 1882. They have two children.
Henry B. Freed was born in.Oswego county, N. Y., Sept. 25, 1845. He came to Rockton in 1867. He married Miss Emma Royden, June 28, 1871. He worked in the paper mill the first fifteen years of his residence here. During the last ten or twelve years, he has been a clerk in Mr. Royden's store. He and his wife are both members of the Cong'l church.
Ephraim Osee Gridley was born in Rockton, Oct. 30, 1858 He married Miss Hanora A. Wall, in Kansas, April 22, 1879. She died May 9, 1881. He married Miss Flora U. Baker, April 10, 1889. He has been one of the workmen in the paper mill for a number of years. He owns a house and lot in town.
Thomas Jordan was born in Canada, Oct. 22, 1832. He came from there in 1852, and settled in the township of BUrritt. He married Miss Diana Holmes, April 19. 1853. They came to Rockton in 1869. He has been engaged in farming and doing team work since living here. He owns a home in town. They have had four children who are all married.
William Cowen was horn in Canada, Aug. 25, 1833, came to this county with his parents in 1848. He married Miss Helen M. Seaver, April 29, 1869. She was born in Ticonderoga, N. Y., Oct. 30, 1837. He devoted most of his time to farming. He owned a house and lot in town, in which he resided for many years. He died in Portland, Maine, Oct. 29, 1890. His remains were brought back here, and interred in Rockton cemetery.
Byron B. Hill was born at Watertown Junction, Wis., Oct. 19, 1846. He learned the trade of a harness maker, in Roscoe, when twenty years of age. He married Miss Lydia M. Kerr, Aug. 10, 1868. She was born in Roscoe, Feb. 23, 1847. He started the harness business in Rockton, in 1872, and has followed it almost continuously ever since. He has been town constable eight years, police constable four years, and deputy sheriff one year. Mrs. Hill is a member of the Methodist church.
William R. Webber was born in Rockton, Nov. 26, 1864. He married Miss Maggie Westlake, Oct. 4, 1S88. She was born March 30, 1869. He is engaged in farming. He is one of the commissioners of highways.
William H. Merrill was born in Rockton, Jan. 23, 1851, married Miss Sarah E. Cowen, May 9, 1877. She was born Dec. 10, 1850. He is a painter by trade, and has followed that business most of the time for several years.
Alexander T. Hart was born Feb. 12, 1821. He married Miss Phebe B. Cole, Jan. 4, 1819. She was born March 7, 1829. He lived in Janesville a number of years ago, where he owned considerable property, but financial reverses deprived him of most of it. He has lived in Rockton a long time. He has held the office of town collector for nine years.
Fred M. Coons was born in Rockton, April 16, 1855. He married Miss M. Etta Bordner, in Freeport, Feb. 16, 1887. For a number of years he was engaged in buying and baling straw for the Rockton paper mills. Some three years ago he leased the Phoenix paper mill and carried it on until July 28, 189F, when he bought the plant, and has since conducted the business. He owns a quarter section farm just east of town in which he now resides.
William Smith was born in Rockton. He was engaged in the livery business for about eight years, and since then has devoted his time to farming, and raising blooded stock. He has persistently refused to hold a town or village office, although frequently requested to do so. He married Mrs. Melissa Rockwell, May 15, 1876.
William H. Baker was born in Jefferson county, N. Y., March 33, 1812. He married Miss Charlotte M. Shamiour, in Canada, Jan. 22, 1863, where he worked for a lumber company. She was born Jan. 13, 1846. He learned the blacksmith trade in Canada. He came to Rockton, in 1866, and has been engaged for twenty-one years, as master mechanic in the paper mills. He has served one term on the village board.
John W. Hudson was born at Mt. Pleastaut, Canada. Jan. 21, 1850. He came to Rockton with his parents iii 1856. He married Miss Zelia A. Loonier, May 14, 1870. He has been inthe blacksmith business most of the time for the past twenty-five years. He moved to Kansas for a short time several years ago, but had to return on account of sickness of his family. He has served two terms as village clerk. His wife is a member of the Baptist church. They have only one son.
John Piper was born in England April 8, 1812. He came to Rockton in 1869, and bought the Osgood farm west of town, where he lived until his death, which occurred Sept. 25, 1875: His wife was born in England, March 4, 1816, and died in Rockton, Dec. 19, 1877. In connection with carrying on his farm, he had a meat market in town for a short time, and then he tried milling in the custom department of Cowles & Gates' rye mill.
Hiram W. Young was born in Canada, Jan. 6, 1845, came to Rockton in 1868. He married Miss AltaM. Comstock, March 13, 1876. She was born Sept. 8, 1851. He worked at farming the first few years. He was time keeper two years when they were building the Chicago and Omaha railroad. He has worked in the paper mill for the past eighteen years; thirteen years of the time as fireman. He has served two or three terms as village trustee, and been a school director on the south side of the river. He and his wife are both members of the Methodist church.
Michael McCue was born in Ireland, July 18, 1833. He married Miss Ann Hynes, Aug. 25, 1856. She was born Aug. 15, 1836. He went to California in 1862, and was there four years. While he was gone his wife came to Rockton in 1864, and bought the place where they now reside. He came back from California in 1866, and has since lived in Rockton. For a number of years he worked in the paper mills. Both he and his wife are members of the Catholic church of Beloit.
John Watts was born April 16,1840. He married Miss Esther Riley, April 12, 1867. He served in the war Of the rebellion in a Wisconsin regiment. His first work in Rockton was tending the lime kiln, which he followed for several years. He subsequently bought the place where he now resides, and a farm on the Beloit road. He is now devoting his time to farming. He has been a member of the village board. Both he and his wife are members of the Baptist church.
Prof. William W. Austin was born in Rockton, Apri120, 1841. When a child his parents removed to their farm, three mileswest of town. Here he grew to manhood, a lover of the study of plants and animals, and where the foundation for his late work in the sciences and natural history of animals was laid. He is an alumnus of Wheaton college, and is held in high esteem by Beloit college, having a pleasant and intimate acquaintance with a number of its professors. He has spent twenty-five years of successful work in the school room, and for resting spells, between years of teaching, has served as book-keeper for several important business concerns. He is the author of a work on the natural history of animals, and a regular contributor to several popular magazines. He married Miss Josephine A. Dury, Dec. 24, 1862. She was born Dec.24, 1812, and died Feb. 3, 1896. They were both members of the Cong'l church. They have had four children, two sons and two daughters. He served the village one term as police magistrate. He rendered valuable assistance in successfully establishing our public library. He has expended much time and money in an effort to establish important industrial enterprises in Rockton, and in doing so will undoubtedly be successful.
Roscoe Gammon was born in Peru, Maine, March 7, 1843. He married Miss Clarinda M. Raynolds, Dec. 18, 1865. She was born June 2, 1846, and died May 3, 1894. He came west in 1868 and after carrying on a farm for four years, he engaged in the meat market business, which he followed for fifteen years. Since then he has been quite extensively engaged in bee keeping, market gardening and raising green house plants. He married his second wife, Mrs. Gertrude Wellington, Oct. 7, 1897. She was born Aug. 14 1862. Mr. Gammon is a member of the Methodist church, and has been a leader of the choir for many years. He has served as a member of the village board one or two terms. He served in a Maine regiment during the war of the rebellion.
Edwin Kinsley was born in New Jersey, May 17, 1838. He settled in Rockton in 1859, and for twenty-live years, in connection with his brother, William Kinsley, carried on the business of blacksmithing and carriage building. He married Miss Jennie Glover, Oct. 7, 1860. She died Sept. 15, 1892. He moved to Beloit in 1884, where he now resides. He carries on a large business in the carriage line. He has three children, one son, and two married daughters.
David Harper was born in Canada, Aug. 17, 1821. He came to Rockton in 1852, in connection with his father's family. He married Mrs. Rebecca Osgood, Sept. 7, 1869. She was born in Vermont, Oct. 15, 1830. He has been principally engaged in farming. For several years past, he has been greatly afflicted with his eyes, which has been a serious disadvantage to him in business.
Arthur G. Stiles was born October 29, 1843. He was a soldier in the war of the rebellion for four years. He married Miss Alice Thayer, July 9, 1870. She was born March 18, 1854. He has worked at blacksniithing most of the time since he returned from the war. He receives a pension on account of injuries received while in the service of the government.
Oscar T. Stiles was born in Rockton, April 8, 1845. He married Miss Emma Hardy, Oct. 29, 1871. She was born June 16, 1850. He has been engaged in the paper mills for a number of years.
Orson T. Bartholomew was born in Ohio, June 2. 1836. He came to Rockton with his parents in 1852. He learned the trade of a tin smith, and has followed that business ever since. He carried on a tinshop for eleven years in the old house of H. W. Talcott, on Main street, which occupied the site of Comstock's barber shop. He occupied the store in the east end of the stone block, twenty-two years, as a hardware and tinshop, until he sold out to Philps & Waite in 1894. Since that time he has had a small store on the north side of Main street. He married Miss Mary Atwood, Dec. 25, 1866. She was born June 1, 1838. They are both members of the Baptist church.
Henry Lampman was born in Canada, Oct. 10, 1842. He came to Rockton in 1868. For several years he was engaged in harness making. Subsequently he carried on the shoe business until the last two years, and since that time has given his whole attention to gardening and bee-keeping. He married Miss Helen M. Lundy, Oct. 10, 1864. She died in 1869. He married his second wife, Miss Celora May Davis, in 1870. She was born Sept. 9, 1S53, and died Julie 19, 1893. He married his third wife, Mrs. Ida Parkins, April 15, 1894. She was horn i n Roscoe, Dec. 4, 1856.
Jacob J. Crawford was born in Pennsylvania, Jan. 30, 1841. He came to Rockton in 1868. IIe married Miss Minnie S. Young, Oct. 21, 1869. He has been engaged a good deal in farmwork, but for several years past, has carried on the meat market business. He was a soldier in the war of the rebellion, in a Pennsylvania regiment. He has held the office of town collector two years, one year as town clerk, one term on the village board, and is now postmaster.
John W. Winsor was born in Homer, N. 1., June 6, 1819. By his first marriage he had two children, John J. Winsor, of Toledo, Ohio, and Mrs. Carrie Hall, of Mitchell, S. D. Two years after losing his first wife, he married Miss Chloe Bartlett Harrison, of Albion, N. Y., who was born in Williamstown, Mass., Nay 3, 1819, and died Nov. 12, 1881. BS., this marrirge he had two daughters, Mrs. Sara C. Bedford, of Beloit, Wis., and Mrs. Lizzie Winsor Martin, of Rockton. In 1838 he sold his lumber interests in Michigan, and came with his family to Nockton, having purchased the E. H. Stanton farm, one mile south of town, where the greater part of the remainder of his life was spent. He held the office of town clerk one year. He died 20, 1892.
Willis G. Stevens was born in Rockton, Oct. 12, 1865. He married Miss Edith 0. Booth, j tine 15, 1893. She was born June 15, 1870. He was engaged in bridge building and other railroad work for a number of years. For the past eight ( r nine years he has been at work in one of the paper mills.
Calender Jessup was born May 25, 1850, married Miss Caroline Packard, Oct. 12, 1881. She was born April 24, 1854. He carried on a farm west of the river for a few years and then moved into town where he was engaged at team work. He was superintendent of the Cong'l Sunday school for several years. He died March 11, 1894. Both he and his wife were members of the Cong'l church.
C. B. Spurling was born Dec. 2, 1837, came to Rockton with his parents in 1847. He was in the war of the rebellion, in Co. C, 44th Ills. regiment, during the first year of the war. He married Mary E. Kelley, July 8, 1862. He went to Iowa in 1863, and worked in a paper mill' in that state for twenty years. He returned to Rockton in 1883. He married his second wife, Philena Marlette, Dec. 2, 1886. He now holds the office of .villarge marshal.
Richard B. Meech was born in Canada, Jan. 2, 1840. He was a resident of this county as early as 18.5.7. He married Miss Alice H. Bentley, Jan. 20,1869. She was born Jan. 20, 1819. He owns a large farm west of the river, and is engaged in farming and stock raising. They have two children.
William H. Farmer was born in the township of Rockton, July 14, 1S12. He married Miss Alma Martin, Oct. 15, 1868. She was born in Vermont. Several years ago he was engaged in trade in town for a short lime. They now live in the northwest part of the township, where he is engaged in farming. They are both members of the Cong'l church. He has held the office of church trustee for two terms.
William W. Comstock was born in Rockton, in /849. He married Miss Sarah Winsor, Feb. 15, 1877. She was born July 8, 1850. He was a book-keeper for the Northwest paper mill for several years. He was drowned during the great freshet at Beloit, April 20, 1881. His remains were found a month later, buried in the sand on Green's island, and were given a burialin Rockton cemetery.
William C. Royden was born in 1848. He carried on a drug store in Rockton for about ten years. He died of consumption Feb. 8, 1885. He was a member of the school board when they enlarged the school building. His wife died a few years afterwards. They had no children.
William C. Loomer has lived a number of years in Rockton, and most of the time has been engaged in farming. He married Miss Adeline L. Bart, April 15, 1879. They now reside on the old Mack farm.
Edgar J. Forrester was born in the state of New York, June 18, 1834. He came to Rockton in 1852. He married Miss Salina R. Ranney, July 6, 1868. She was born May 4, 1840. He has been engaged in farming and attending to all calls as a veterinary surgeon. He now holds the office of street commisisoner of the village.
Edwin W. Martin was born Dec. 1, 1850. He was a commercial traveler for several years. He was postmaster of Rockton under Cleveland's first administration. lie has at odd times gathered a valuable collection of Indian relics, which embraces many thousand arrow heads, stone axes, mortars, he has been twice married. He is now a clerk in the Rockford post-office.
George W. Martin was born in Rockton, Joule 29, 1854. For several years he was a clerk in Veness Waite's store. After that he was in partnership with Mr. Veness in the store fora few years. He married Miss Lizzie Winsor, Oct. 13, 18E6. He spent several years in the south, but since returning to Rockton has lived on the Winsor farm south of town.
Frederick J. Bentley is an old resident of Rockton township. He married Miss Clara Hunt, March 7, 1882. He is quite an extensive farmer, and carries on the same farm which was located by his father in the early settlement of the country.
Judson R. Jones was born at Allen's Grove, -Wis., Dec. 1, 1857, He came to Rockton with his parents when a boy. He married Miss Emma Stevens, Dec. 29, 1S80. She was horn March 12, 1857. For years he was a traveling agent selling agriculturarimplements, and for the past ten years he has been traveling for John Thompson & Sons, of Beloit. Mrs. Jones is a member of the Methodist church.
William W. McKay was born March 17, 1835. He married Miss Amanda J. Felt, June 16, 1861. She was born Oct. 12, 1842. He was a painter by trade and followed that business in connection with team work for a number of years. He also was engaged iu selling paper. He died March 15, 1894. Mrs. McKay is a member of the Con'g church.
James Ward was born in Ireland in 1826. He came to this country in 1849, and to Rockton in the early sixties. He married Mary Ryan. She died in California in 1864. He went to California with his family in 1863, and returned from there soon after the death of his wife. He married Mrs. Mary Jane Curry, Oct. 26, 1865. She was born in Ireland, Nov. 24, 1S30.
Mr. Ward has worked in the paper mill for a number of years. Both he and his wife are members of the Catholic church.
John B. Taylor was born July 24, 1S30. He came to Rockton in 1857. Before coining here he worked in Sharp's rifle factory, in Hartford, Ct. Since living in Rockton he has worked at paper making most of the time, and for several years was foreman in Keeney's paper mill. His wife died July 22, 1882. He has retired from active business and now resides with his son Charles Taylor.
James Aspland was born in England, March 8, 1805, He married Ann Westmoreland in 1832. She was born May 12, 1814.
He came to Rockton in 1868, locating on a farm north of thevillage oa the Beloit road. From there he moved to the village and was engaged in the meat market business for a number of years. He died Sept. 5, 1831. His wife died July 6. 1891. He and his wife were both members of the Methodist church. They had nine children, eight of whom are still living.
ROCKTON LINE KILN
The Rockton lime kiln was started in 1868 by J. W. Hinkle and D. Lovell. Cowles & Gates bought a third interest in the property in 1869, and D. T. Weed bought Mr. Lovell's share. Mr. Gates bought Mr. Cowles' interest in 1879, and subsequently acquired the whole property. The two kilns have a capacity of 500 bushels a day, and have turned out as high as 50,000 bushels a year.
TOWN OFFICERS SINCE 1850
On page 102 we gave the names of the supervisors of the town since it was organized in 1850. We now give the names of the other town officers:
1850—William Halley, served for three years. 1833—William R. Weld, served for five years. 1858—Erastus L. Stiles, served for eleven years. 1869—Edward S. Waite, served for five years. 1874—John W. Winsor, served one year. 1875—John Gibson, served two years. 187 7—William Shibley, served one year. 1878—George W. Martin, served one year. 1879—James S. Cowen, served nine years. 1888—Seth L. Jenkins, served two years. 1890—J. J. Crawford, served two years. 1892—Fred W. Rockwell, served one year. 1893—E. S. Waite, Jr., served one year. 1894—E. I. Carr, served one year. 1895—Charles E. Shufelt, served one year. 1896—Fred W. Rockwell, served to date.
1850—John M. Hulett, one year. 1851-1)r. Coe Van Brunt, one year. 1852—Rowland C. Smith, three years. 1835—Charles C. Wright, two years. 1857—Rufus M. Bullock, one year. 1858—F. W. Merrill, two years. 1860—Thomas B. Talcott, five years. 1865—George W. Springer, one year. 1866--Joseph Caldwell, one year. 1867—Joseph C. Truman, eleven years. 1878—E. I. Carr, five years. 1883--Oscar Favor, seven years. 1890—Edward S. Waite, five years. 1895—Oscar Favor, in office to date.
1850 Ira Cummings, two years. 1852—Benjamin Phillips, seven years. 1859—Ansel Comstock, two years. 1861—Francis Christian, one year. 1862—Isaac D. Fryer, one year. 1863 John Henry, one year. 1864—Sylvester Bartholomew, one year. 1865—C. B. Martin, fourteen years. 1879 A. A. Snyder, seven years. 1886—A. T. Hart, nine years. 1895—J. J. Crawford, one year. 1896—J. W. Veness, one year. 1897—H. J. Webber, in office to date.
JUSTICES OF THE PEACE
1850—Jesse Blinn, one year, resigned. 1850—John B. Peterson, four years. 1851—Rufus R: Hoadley, three years, to fill vacancy. I854—William Halley, eight years. 1854—William R. Weld, four years. 1858—Caleb Henley, twelve years. 1862—Joseph G. Veness, four years. 1866—Henry B. Jones, seven years. 1870--Warren Raymond, seven years. 1873—E. Smith Waite, four years. 1877 Charles L. R. Manning, fourteen years. 1877 James W. Veness, nineteen years.
E.Smith Waite and William Thompson are the present justices of the peaces.
COMMISSIONERS OF HIGHWAYS
1850—Philander Bird, A. S. Newton and Win. Leffingwell, 1851--Ramsey klatch, Wm. Leffingwell and Aaron Shores,1852 —F. W. Merrill, David Carpenter and T. M. Coons. 1853—F. W. Merrill, T. M. Coons and Samuel Adams. 1854—Samuel Goldy, Alpha Bligh and John Bacon. 1855—John Bacon, Alpha Bligh and W. A. Phelps. 1856—W. A. Phelps, Alpha Bligh and John Bacon. 1857—T. M. Coons, James L. Gray and Melvin Stevens. 1458—T. M. Coons, James L. Gray and John Clover. 1859—John Benton, Win. M. Thomas and Ira Knowles. 1850—Alonzo F. Chase, J. P. Farnsworth and R. H. Comstock. 1831—James Kline, R. H. Comstock and A. W. Gilmore. 1862—B. B. Gates, elected for three years. 1863—J. G. Verses, 1864—j. A. Kline, 1865—R. Bowker, 1866—C. W. Robertson 1867—W. A. Phelps „ 1868—A. C. Joslyn, 1869—B. B. Gates,1870—C. B. Richardson, 1871—Joseph B. Merritt, 1872—B. B. Gates, 1872—A. D. Bliss, 1873—C. B. Richardson, 1874—A. D. Bliss, 1875—B. B. Gates, 1876--Henry W. Conklin, 1877—A. D. Bliss, 1878-13. B. Gates, 1879—Henry W. Conklin, 1880—John Morse, 1881-13. B. Gates, 1882—A. D. Bliss, 1883—john Morse, 1884--B.B. Gates, 1885—A. D. Bliss, 1886—C. 13. Wilmot, 1887--B. B. Gates, 1888—A.D. Bliss, 1889—C. B. Wilmot, 1890—B. B. Gates, 1891—Fred Gleasman, 1892—C. B. Wilmot, 1893—B. B. Gates , 1894—Fred Gleasman 1895W. H. Graves, 1896—B. B. Gates, 1897—Fred Gleasman, 1898—W. R. Webber
Among the first constables we find the names of Simon Young, Ira Cummings, H. A. Davison, Benjamin Phillips, Alonze Rice, Aaron Shores, Frank Packard, &c.
THE WATER POWER
The water power has a greater fall than any on the river. Its reputed flow of water is 12,000 inches, with a fall of nine feet. The banks of the race and mills are protected from injury from high water, by a substantial guard lock. The stock of the water power company is divided into ninety-six shares, and at the present writing, sixty-four shares or two-thirds of the water power is owned by Bradner, Smith & Co. The other thirty-two shares are owned by the Phoenix paper mill and the Webbers. The race was first excavated in 1838, but it has since been greatly enlarged and extended.
The upper mill 'site on the race, of fourteen shares of water, designated as water power lot No. 10, was first occupied by a saw mill in the fall of 1838. David Jewett built the mill, and after running it about five years, sold out to other parties. Charles Kane was at one time interested in the mill, and B. F. Fletcher also had some financial interest in it. After a time the old mill was destroyed by fire. The site came into the possession of A. H. and F. W. Merrill, who sold it to Hollister & Co., July 2, 1853, for the considration of $1,500. The company commened building a paper mill that year, and it was finished by Jan. 1, 1851, The members of the firm of Hollister & Co., were George W. Hollister, C. C. Hollister and Kendall C. Young. It was intended at first for a small wrapping paper mill, but they changed their plans to a four engine print paper mill; and also increased their stock by taking into the company, A. W. Case and J. C. Truman. Mr. Young sold half of his interestin the mill to A. H. and F. W. Merrill. The company made print paper for about two years, and in 1856, sold the plant to Bradner, Warren & Co. Mr. Warren died in 1857, and the company was changed to Bradner, Smith & Co., which firm still owns the property. The old paper mill was destroyed by fire, Feb. 10, 1876. The mill was rebuilt the same season, greatly enlarged in capacity, at an outlay of about $50,000.
The present site of the Keeney paper mill, water power lot No. 9, of twelve shares of water, was variously used in the early years of its developement. At one time there was a carding machine located there, and dignified by the name of a woolen factory, although no cloth was ever made. This mill was destroyed by fire. The power was also used to run a mill for sawing stone for building purposes, and for various wood working machinery. Turning out large wooden bowls, broom handles and similar work was once an important industry. The power was next used by the Fountain Reaper company about 1858, and for a few years afterwards, when the plant was purchased by M. D. Keeney and converted into a paper mill. This mill was burned March 25, 1878, while being run under a lease by Booth & Hinman, of Beloit. The present structure was built during the summer of 1880. The machine room was nearly consumed by lire, July 16, 1886, but was soon rebuilt. The plant was afterward sold to Bradner, Smith & Co., and is now known as their No. 2 paper mill.
Water power lot No. 8, with its two shares of water, comprise the site used by Widdowson & Axe for their foundry and machine shop. They carried on the business for a number of years. The building was destroyed by fire Sept. 13, 1888. The water power and land was afterwards sold to Bradner, Smith & Co. Water power lot No. 7, with its ten shares of water, embraces the site of the old Talcott grist mill, built in 1839. It was the pioneer grist mill of this section of the country, and had an existance of nineteen years, when it was destroyed by fire in 1855. The site was sold to Stearns & Shaw, who built the white mill on the same spot, in 1859. Mr. Sterns sold his share to C. W. Robertson in 1864. The mill property successively passed to M.D. Clarke, Henry and Paul Robinson, I. Warnes, and finally to John Feakins, and while owned by him it was burned August 10, 138S. Feakins sold the site to Bradner Smith& Co. The mill has not been rebuilt.
On the same water power lot with the grist mill, was the Talcott saw mill, built in 1838. It. was the first saw mill in Rockton. It had an existance of about a quarter of a century, when it was burned. In the spring of 1805, M. D. and C. W. Keeney leased the old saw mill site for a term of years, and commenced in a small way to manufacture heavy pasteboard. Not having the necessary machinery for drying purposes, the primitive process of drying in the sun had to be resorted to, and some days they would have acres of land covered with paper to dry. Several improvements soon followed, and the business continued in a prosperous condition until the 15th of December, 1867, when a devastating fire wiped out all of the accumulation of valuable machinery. Not even the company's books were saved to tell the state of their business transactions. '''his hard blow was soon overcome by the purchase of the Fountain reaper works and established their paper mill on that power.
Just across the race from the old grist mill, and a little be-law tie Keeney paper mill, was another saw mill of an early (late. It was built by Martin P. Ormsby in the fall of 1838 He subsequently sold the mill to Thomas Stokes, an Englishman, who came here with some means. His investment did not prove very remunerating, and after he had exhausted all of Ins money, his dead body was found one morning in the river. It was never known whether it was a case of suicide or an accident, or the result of some other cause. No investigation was made. The mill property passed into the hands of David and Samuel Briggs, and after a few years was destroyed by fire.
In 1851 the mill race was extended down to water power lots Nos. 4 and 5, and the pioneer paper mill of the north-west, was built that year by Wright & Merrill, of Beloit. The deed conveying the site and one-sixth of the water power from William Talcott and Dorothy Talcott his wife, to Wright & Merrill, bears date the 4th clay of February, 1851, for the consideration of $1,200. The first paper mill was devoted alternately as occasion required to the manufacture of wrapping-and print paper, and was under the management ofT. L.' Wright for nearly thirty years, save the short dine in 1857-'58, it was operated by Henry Shipley. During Mr. Wright's management, the water power was incensed to twenty-eight shares. In 1880 the plant was sold to the Rock River Paper Co., of Beloit, under the management of J. M. Cobb. Mr. Wright died Jan. 11, 1881. The mill was partly rebuilt soon after, but suffered destruction by fire before it was completed, except the boiler house which was little enjured. It was soon built anew, to be again' destroved by a more disastrous tire than the first. The mill was rebuilt in it present form by W. T. Randall. It is now owned by Fred M. Coons, who purchsed it July 28, 1S9S. The product of the mill is now mostly carpet felt and straw board.
Water power lot No. 4, with its twelve shares of water, was developed in 1851 and '52, by Bird & Peterson, who built a three story stone mill. The building was first used by Alonzo N. Mellen for a wheel barrow factory. After conducting the business for three or four years, he sold out to Bird & Peterson. Following this the building was variously used as an oil mill, corn planter works, shingle mill and reaper shop, until it was converted into a rye mill by Hollister & Carlton, in 1S62. From that firm the property passed to Kiddie &. Cowles, and in 1S68, to Cowles & Gates, who conducted the business until the mill was destroyed by lire, April 25, 1879. The mill was not rebuilt. The site is now owned by Bradner, Smith & Co.
The establishment of the \Vebbers, at the lower end of the race, on water power lot No. 2, with its four shares of water, was developed in 1S59, by William Webber Sons. Buildings for reaper works, foundry and saw mill were soon erected, and the business of manufacturing, the Webber reaper was carried on for some time. In the fall of 1S79, the building used for a reaper shop with a part of the water power, was sold to William Kelley, who conveted it into a grist mill; and about the same time, H. A. Webber erected a building- for a fanning mnill factory. A disastrous fire on time evening of Sept. 1, 1S93, swept away all of these buildings. The same fall H. A. Webber erected a building for a grist and feed mill, and during- time summer of 1898, Webber & Gates built a two story factory for the manufacture of fanning- in ills, which is au important industry.
The water power grounds have all been once entirely burned over, all of the original buildings having been destroyed imv lire; and in several cases a second tire has destoved valuable buildings, as it has happened to Bradner, Smite & Co's mill, the Keeney mill, the Talcott grist mill, and the Northwest paper mill.
UNDEVELOPED WATER POWER
Besides the now already developed water power, which is one of the best on Rock river, Rockton still possesses two other water powers, which are yet unimproved. The first is known as the Goodwin water power, which has already been spoken of. The other is the power afforded by the Pecatonica river. At present its waters are allowed to sweep by unchecked by dam or wheel. By taking the waters of that river at its mouth, with the overflow of Rockton dam, and conducting them down the south bank of Rock river by a well constructed race for a mile or so, another water power could be developed of much importance. With all of these water powers in active operation, Rockton would stand at the head of the list of western towns for manufacturing facilities. There is a bright future in store for Rockton, but by whose hands these grand improvements will be made is yet to be seen, but they must surely come. The men of means, seeking an investment, would do well to carefully notice what nature has done to make Rockton a great manufacturing center; and with our present railroad facilities, diverging to every cardinal point of the compass, there is only one essential element wanting energetic men with means.
Rockton has had a large experience with bridges. The present bridge across the Turtle creek this side of Beloit, was built about 1868, at cost of $2,600. The city of Beloit contributed $800 towards its construction.
The abutments of the lower iron bridge were built in 1869. Then followed the Trusedell iron bridge with its miserable failure and disappointment. In 1870 the present iron bridge was built by the King Bridge Co., and it has proven a great success. Iii 1873 the Carpenter iron bridge was built by the same company.
VILLAGE OF ROCKTON.
The village of Rockton was incorporated under the general laws of the state in 1872. The territory embraced by the corporate limits includes all of section twenty-four, the east halfof section twenty-three, the south half of section thirteen, and the south-east quarter of section fourteen; being one and one-half mile square.
The first board of trustees was as follows: J. B. Merritt, G.H. Hollister, Robert Penman, M. D. Keeney, E. Smith Waite and F. W. Merrill. The first meeting to organize the board was held Sept. 10, 1872. J. B. Merritt was chosen president, Samuel Widdowson, clerk; and lngolls Carlton, treasurer. The amount fixed for a saloon license at a board meeting Sept. 13, 1S72, was one hundred and twenty-five dollars a year. The fiscal year was made to expire May first of each year, also the trustees were to serve without pay. George Ellis was appointed police constable.
The spring election for trustees in 1873, resulted in electing D, Keeney- T. B. Talcott, David Carpenter, E. J. Veness, E. Pollard and Oscar Favor for time ensuing year; George WV' Springer was elected police magistrate; and E. L. Stiles, village clerk. On time organization of the new board, T. B. Talcott was chosen president; and J. G. Veness, treasurer. The bonds of the clerk and treasurer were made at $500. N. B. Kincaid was appointed police constable. The board refused to grant a saloon license.
The village fathers were then very economical in the administration of the village affairs. They served without pay, met in Mr. Talcott's office to save rent, sat on board benches to save the expense of chairs, used Mr. Talcott's office lamps for lighting purposes, and when cold weather required a fire, each contributed an armful of wood for the general comfort. This plan drew a little harder on Mr. Talcott, than on the other members, but as he was president of the board, be could afford to do a little extra for the honor of the office.
By the action of the hoard in 1873, E. L. Stiles was given general supervision of the cemetery grounds, and James N. Douglas was appointed sexton.
In 187-1 the village clerk was allowed a salary of $10 a year. The calaboose was built that year, in hack of Kinsley's shop, at an expense of $125. The board also appropriated $50 to aid Mr. Mathews in establishing- the Rockton Herald, with the understanding that it was to be paid back in printing.
The Rockton Herald was established Jan. I, 1875, by W. D.Mathews, and was conducted by him for about a year and a half, when it was sold to the present proprietor.
The park stand was built in the summer of 1880, at an expense of $315, after a plan drawn by Frank Packard, architect. On the evening of Aug. 26, a meeting was held in the park to dedicate the new structure. E. L. Stiles gave a historical account of the park, and Prof. Henderson, of Beloit college, made a very interesting address on village improvements.
The Rockford railroad was surveyed in 1880, and in the fall of that year, the track was laid to the mills on the water power-The road to Rockford was completed in 1881, and trains commenced running late in the year. The new depot was also built the same season.
The Rockton public library was started in 1888. The building was donated by Hon. Wait Talcott, of Rockford, and it was put in excellent repair at a cost of $2,000, by his son, W. A. Talcott. The town carried out its part of the conditions, by voting a tax to maintain a library. Thomas B. Talcott donated $1,100 worth of books as a fitting tribute to the memory of his deceased wife, Mrs. Sophia Willard Talcott. Other donations of considerable importance, have been added at different times. These with the purchase of hooks by the yearly tax has already amounted to several thousand volumes.
The town hall was built in 1893, at a cost of $3,000. It was dedicated Dec. 21, 1893, with quit an elaborate ceremony. The attendance vas large, with several persons from abroad.
The village building was purchased in 1894, and fitted up for village purposes. The first story is used by the fire deparment and a lock-up, and the upper story for a council room.
Rockton citizens who have been elected to a county office, were Thomas B. Talcott, county commissioner; William Hulin, county recorder; Hiram J. Sawyer, and Moses j. Upright, sheriffs; mat A. A. Snyder, county treasurer.
ADDITIONAL SOLDIERS' NAMES
Of the war of the rebellion:
1 Oliver Acne, enlisted March 2, 1865, Co. E, 9th 111. cavalry. Mustered out Oct. 31, 1865.
2 Darwin B. Moore, enlisted Co. E, 9th 111. cavalry.
3 John Potter, enlisted Co. C, 67th 111.
4 Henry Thompson, enlisted June 2,,1862, In. o. Sept. 27, '62.
BIRTHS, MARRIAGES AND DEATHS
Prudence Blish, born April 23, 1767, died Oct. 20, 1848.
Maj. Nathanael Rudd, born 1772, died April 4, 1847.
His wife, Waity Hopkins, born 1779, died June 10, 1856.
John Brown, born Aug. 8, 1776, died Sept. 29, 1861.
Theodore Blinn, born Sept. 1, 1777, died July 1, 1850.
John Griffith, horn 1782, died April 27, 1862.
Lydia, wife of Anson Parker, born 1782, died March 25, 1861.
Gen. William Richardson, born May 7, 1783, died Nov. 24, 1860.
His wife, Sabina Parker, horn Jan. 20, 1805, died Jan. 23, 1890.
Capt. William Talcott, born March 6, 1784, died Sept. 2, 1864.
His wife, Dorothy Blish, born April 8, 1789, (lied Nov. 24, 1879.
Rufus Baker, born March 28. 1784, died May 24, 1870.
His wife, Cynthia, horn July 17, 1790, died Jan. 17, 1871.
Thomas Harley, horn 1787, died Oct. 11, 1859.
I'hebe Waite, born 1788, died March 14, 1859.
Rev. William M. Adams, born Dec. 28, 1788, died March 12, 1842
His wife, Sophia Farnsworth, b. July 22, 1796, d. Sept. 11, 1869.
Silas Austin, born Feb. 18, 1789, died March 31, 1844.
His wife, Lydia, horn Aug. 25, 1786, (lied Feb. 21, 1860.
John Henry, born June 21,1789, died March 16, 1871.
Joseph Lord, horn Nov. 5, 1789. (lied March 21,1863.
His wife, Chloe Moulton, born May 21, 1792, died Dec. 18, 1868.
Osee Talmogc:, born Jan. 1, 1790, died Sept. 25, 1845.
His wife, Sally, born April 29, 1789, died March 18, 1884.
Nathanael Shores, born 1790, died Nov. 12, 1855.
Benjamin Shfuniour, born May 6,1790, died Sept. 17, 1868.
His wife, Mary Ann, born 1792, died Feb. 8, 1805.
l)ea. Luman Pettibone, horn Aug. 20, 1791, died April 2, 18E0.
His wife, Almira Rudd, born 1797, died Sept. 18, 18(14.
Loring Loonier, born Aug. 10, 1792, (lied Nov. 13,1877.
His wife, Mary, horn 1791, (lied Oct. 31, 1875.
Dr. Harley Hooker, born Dec. 9, 1792, died March 16, 1867.
His wife, Mary Beardslee, (lied May 25, 1877.
Chellis Hooker, horn Dec. 9, 1792, (lied Nov. 3, 1847.
His wife, Sally, horn May 28, 1796, died April 26, 1889.
Mrs. Horace Case, born flay 10, 1793, died March 15, 1857.
Dardane, wife of Charles Reed, b. Jan. 9, 1794, d. July 30, 1831).
John Ilttiton, horn Oct. 4, 1794, (lied Sept. 17, 1877.
His wife, Climena, born Aug. 27, 1798, (lied Dec. 3, 1870.
Alanson S. Newton, born Aug. 1, 1795, died July 4, 1877.
His 1st wife, Polly Prentice, died Dec.5, 1830. 2d wife, Eunice Palmer, born Aug. 10. 1807, died April 29, 1877.
Jabez Smith, born 1796, died Dec, 21, 1866,
His wife, Sophrona, born 1808, died Sept. 17, 18S2.
Leonard W. Osgood, born Jan. 7, 1796, died June 15, 1858.
Locus Mellen, born Nov. 2, 1798, died Maw 21, 1878.
His wife, Abigail Mills, born March 3, 179S, died May 9, 1879.
Dr. John H. Carpenter, born May 19, 1797, died May 2S, 1885.
Ralph Smith, born July 14, 1797, died Sept. 25, 1815.
Frederick Dresser. born Jan. 24, 1799, died Feb. 22, 1889.
His 2d wife, Susan, died May 8, 1878. 3d wife Elizabeth, died Feb. 27,1897.
Stephen Mack, born Feb. 1799, died April 10, 1850.
His Indian wife, Ho-no-ne-gah, died July, 1847.
Justus Forrester, born June 20, 1799, died Aug. 9, 1885.
His wife, Deborah, barn March 22, 1798, died.
Dea. Dorus Pettibone, born June 18, 1799, died Aug. 27, 1865.
His wife, Eliza Ann, born Jan. 25, 1803, died March 1, 1862.
Lydia W. Grant, born Aug. 1, 1799, died, Sept. 14, 1884.
Mrs. Mary Palmer, born Oct. 16, 1799, died April 12, 1884.
Thomas Harper, born Dec. 3, 1799, died Feb. 5, 1893.
His wife, Elizabeth, born April 27, 1801, died Oct. 27, 1866.
Elder James Veness, born Sept. 30, 1800, died Jan. 22, 1881.
His wife, Charlotte Garrish, born Oct. 15, 1798, (lied Oct. 8, 1862
Mrs. C. C. Clay, born Oct. 24, 1800, living.
Thomas Carpenter, born April 13, 1801, died Jan. 20, 1874.
His wife, Ann, born June 13, 1799, died Dec. 11, 1801.
Alpha Bligh, born Sept. 22, 1802, died May 2, 1857.
His wife, Elmira H. Wiard, born April 17, 1808, died June 30, 1885
Samuel Marson, born Jan..2, 1803, died Nov. 2, 1887.
His wife, Sophia, born 1805, died Dec. 20, 1882.
Henry N. Bates, born 1803, died March 6, 1851.
John Bacon, born June 21, 1803, died Nov. 6, 1884, Portland, Me
His wife, Ermina, born 1815, died May 27, 1863.
James Gill, horn July 9, 1803, died Aug. 25, 1869.
His wife, Sarah, born 1790, died Dec. 25, 1879.
William Webber, born March 26, 1804, (lied July 19,1889. His wife, Mary Hake, born April 20, 1802, died April 6, 1886.
James Kincaid, born 1804, supposed to have died in Iowa. His wife, Hepsabah, horn Nov. 27, 1807, died April 7, 1895. Dudley Spurling, born July 1, 1804, died Feb. 8, 1869.
His wife, Lorinda, born July 2, 1812, died May 2, 1868.
Horace Hyatt, born 1804, died April 16, 1S71.
His wife, Azuba, born 1806, died Dec. 1882.
Howe P. Teague, born 1SO4, died March 29, 1875.
His wife, Susan, horn June 2, 1811, died May 3, 1892.
John McConnell, born Oct. 10, 1804, died June 22, 1881.
His wife, Arletta, born April 5, 1809, died May 27, 1894.
Edmund Cordell, born Oct. 25, 1804, died Jan. 21, 1891.
His wife, Hannah, born March 10, 1805, died March 4, 1876.
Truelove Mallard, born Dec. 18, 1804, died Jan. 23, 1896.
His wife, Lovina Waite, born Aug. 5, 1813, living.
Thomas Grout, born Feb. 13, 1805, died June 13, 1858.
Darius Adams, born April 1, 1805, died Nov. 5, 1880.
Ira Cummings, born April 19, 1805, died Jan. 25, 1895.
His 1st wife, Elizabeth, born Jan. 8, 1818, died Oct. 13, 186--
Dr. Coe VanBrunt, born June 3, 1805, died Sept. 17, 1851.
His wife, Electa, horn June 8, 1808, died 1897.
Hiram Bellows, born Aug. 22, 1805, living.
His wife, Rebecca, born tune 19, 1807, died June 20. 1884.
J. W. Dean, born Oct. 11, 1805, died, Sept. 20, 1893.
His 2d wife, Sarah, born July 7, 1815. died Oct. 15, 1897.
William M. Thomas, born Nov. 9, 1805, died July 5, 1882.
His wife, Eliza Conklin, born Jan. 25, 1811 died June 4, 1893.
WilliamMoss, born Nov. 20, 1805, died Sept. 19, 1860.
Thomas 13. Talcott, born April 17, 1806, died Sept. 30, 1894.
His wife, Sophia Willard, born, Nov.11, 1824, died Dec. 25, 1888
Aaron Shores, born June 2, 1806, died Sept. 23, 1893.
His wife, Jane, horn March 18, 1811, died Sept. 24, 1873.
Charles Griffin, born Sept. 14, 1806, died 1890, in Iowa.
His wife, Eliza, born May 29, 1809, died in Iowa.
Calvin Stevens, born Dec. 24, 1806, died Oct. 3, 1871.
His wife, Rozilla, born Dec. 21, 1807, died April 19, 1863.
Thomas Glover, horn Aug. 28, 1807, died July 3, 1885.
His wife, Ann, born Nov. 16, 1809, died Dec. 11, 1884.
David Carpenter, born March 15, 1808, died March 5, 1897.
His wife, Julia Pettibone, born July 15, 1814, living.
Sylvester Bartholoinew, b. March 31, 1808, d. Aug. 9: 1893.
His wife, Calista, born Nov.5, 1814, (lied July 27, 189S.
James Aspland„horn March 8, 1808, died Sept. 5, 1884.
His wife, Anti Westmoreland, b. June 12, 1814, d. July 6, 1891.
Joseph Comstock, born March 23, 1809, died Nov. 12, 1891.
Edom Chapman, born Sept. 17, 1809, died Nov. 1, 1884.
His 1st wife, Gertrude Jones-2d wife Mary Wallace.
P. D. VanBuren, born 1810, died Aug. 7, 1849.
Alvah McKay, born Feb. 16, 1810, died Aug. 4, 1887.
His wife, Elizabeth Benn4tt, born 1806, died 1858.
J. C Gridley, born March 26, 1810, died Nov. 1, 1888.
His 1st wife, Sarah Root. 2c1 wife, Calista A. Talmage, b. Oct. 2, 1813, d. Sep. 8, 1894.
Alonzo F. Chase, born July 4, 1810, died April 8, 1883.
His wife, Martha, born 1815, died Oct. 9, 1867.
Sylvester Talcott, born Oct. 14, 1810, died Jan. 19, 1885.
His wife, Mary -Westlake, born Sept. 26, 1820, died Dec. 9, 1892.
John H. Jenkins, born June 22, 1811, died, Feb. 11, 1894.
His wife, Phebe Cozzens, born July 22, 1811, died Nov.11, 1863.
C. W. Robinson, born March 16, 1812, died Dec. 25, 1883.
His wife died Nov. 4, 1895.
John Piper, born April 8, 1812, died Scpt. 25, 1875.
His wife, Elizabeth, born March 4, 1816, died' Dec. 19, 1877.
Henry S. Austin, born May 1, 1812, died Jan. 26, 1892.
His 1st wife, Miss Packard. 2.1 wife, Eliza Packard, h. Jan. 23, 1817, died Dec. 3, 1886.
James Johnson, horn Aug. 10, 1812, died Jan. 1, 1898.
His wife, born Aug. 13, 1819, died Aug. 1, 1896.
Benj. F. Fletcher, born July 21, 1812, died March 7, 1879.
His wife, Abigail Cutter, born Aug. 4, 1817, living.
Luther Lawrence, born July 29, 1812, died March 27, 1891.
His 1st wife, Adelia Loonier, b. May 21, 1816, ad. Oct. 20, 1869. 2d wife, Mrs. Susan Teague, b. June 2, 1811, d. May 3, 1892
Dean Pettibone, born Dec. 12, 1812f died 1875, in Elgin.
His wife, Lura Skinner, died a few years ago in Polo.
John 13. Peterson, born 1812, died June' 7, 1864.
His wife, Oracy Willard, born 1819, died Sept. 17, 1855.
Charles J. Fox, born 1813, died Jan. 30, 1873.
His wife, Susan Cutter, born Nov. 11,1812, died Sept. 20, 1894.
Orange Smith, born 1813, died May 1, 1866.
George Feakins, born May 16, 1813, died Oct. 9, 1883.
His wife, Mary Stockley, born June 17, 1814, living.
Rev. Silas Jessup, born May 23, 1813, died July 0.1886.
His wife, Mary Calender, born April 25, 1814, died April 13, 1883
Isaac Adams, born July 23, 1813, died April 15, 1883. His wife, Lucia, born June 10, 1821, died Aug. 27, 1868.
Henry W. Talcott. born Feb. 13, 1814, died Dec. 9, 1870.
His wife, Emeline McConnell, b. Dec. 10, 1817, d. Aug. 25, 1894.
Thomas M. Coons, born July 22, 1813, living.
His 1st wife, Rebecca Reed. 2d wife. Mrs. Maria Fairchild, born May 24. 1819, died March 2, 1896.
Samuel Hersey, born July 27, 1811, died Sept. 26, 1879.
His 1st wife, Hannah Cole, died April 29, 1853. 2d wife, Prudence Talcott.
R. H. Comstock, born June 14, 1815, died Jan. 18, 1894.
His wife, Hannah H. Horton, born March 21, 1828.
W. P. Crawford, born Oct. 23, 1815.
His wife, Thursey M. Watson, died Aug. 24, 1878.
Rowland C. Smith, born 1815, died Jan. 28, 1856.
His wife, Margaret Westlake, died.
Darius Palmer, born April 21, 1815, died Dec. 12, 1853.
William 0. Goddard, born Oct. 11, 1516, died Jan. 31, 1847.
His wife, Maria Hooker, -born Sept. 29, 1817.
Robert D. L. Montanye, born Jan. 2, 1816, died April 24, 1895.
His wife, Polly Ann Foot, born Nov. 19, 1816.
John Griffith, born Jan. 4, 1816, died June 8, 1896.
His wife, Catherine Webber, born in England.
George W. Springer, born March 4, 1816, died Oct. 25, 1876.
His wife, Rosanda Guptil, born Jan. 2, 1818. died Sept. 13, 1895
Edwin Case, born April 9, 1816, died March 19, 1888.
His wife, Elizabeth Lord, born June 19, 1821, died Jan. 13, 1892
Amos Blake, born June 11, 1816, died April 9, 1855.
Garrett Clute, born July 19, 1816, died March 21, 1885.
His wife, Minerva Dicks, born April 6, 1819, died May 13, 1890
James L. Gray, born Nov. 17, 1816, died May 5, 1888.
His 1st wife, Sarah Mitchell, born 1812, died Dec. 23, 1862. 2d wife, Mrs. Frances Lock.
Ansal Comstock, born May 21, 1817, died March 31, 1863.
His wife, Mary Willard, born 1S22, died Aug. 6, 1895.
John Clover, horn fuly 1, 1817, (lied Nov. 23, 1864.
His wife, Mary, born, 1515, died May 27, 1877.
Orris Shurtliff, born Oct. 29, 1817, died Sept. 1S, 1891.
His wife, Sarah Smith, horn June 20, 1832.
Henry B. Jones, born Feb. 19, 1818, died July 1, 1895.
His wife, Aurora Parker, born July 31, 1823.
Samuel Talcott, born March 1, 1818.
His wife, Minerva Cody, (lied April 21, 1865.
William Halley, born June 4, 1818.
His wife, Christian 'Mackie, born Aug. 1815.
James Swan, horn July 9, 1818, died Aug. 27, 1892.
His 1st wife, Elizabeth P. White. 2d wife, Mary Grant, born Feb. 13, 1823, died June 20, 1889.
Charles C. Smith, born July 16, 1818, died Oct. 12, 1869.
His wife, Mary A., born Jan. 7, 1824, died May 4, 1864.
Walter H, Lord, born Aug. 10, 1818, died Feb. 9, 1857.
Leonard Thurston, born Dec. 17, 1818, died Nov. 24, 1898.
His 1st wife, Sarah Jane Thompson, born 1834, died Apr. 1, 1858
Elbridge Gammon, born Aug. 15, 1818, died April 1, 1872.
His wife, Esther Bisbee, born Oct. 29, 1823.
George H. Joslyn, born Jan. 27, 1819, drowned Aug. 26, 1892.
His 1st wife, Eunice, born May 9, 1823, died Sept. 13, 1881. 2d wife, Mrs. Weatherhead.
J. W. Winsor, born June 6, 1819, died Oct. 20, 1892.
His 2d wife, Chloe Harrison. born May 3, 1819, d. Nov, 12, 1881.
Jonah Forward, born June 1_0, 1819.
His wife, Jane E. Stantial, born Dec. 9, 1825.
F. W. Merrill, born Aug. 20, 1819, died Feb. 14, WS.
His wife, Harriet S. Hollister, born March 31, 1825.
Silas White, born Dec.4, 1819.
His wife, Catherine, born Sept. 23, 1825.
Abram Coller, born 1819, died Jan. 1, 1883.
Sylvester Stevens, born 1820, died Nov 27, 1892.
His wife, Louisa Shores, born 1834.
William Warren, born 1,820, died Feb. 16, 1859.
Mary D. Thayer, born April 12, 1820, died Aug. 13, 1895.
Caleb Carr, born July 18, 1820.
His wife, Cinderella Lewis, born, Nov. 6, 1820, d. March 3, 1892
E. L. Stiles, born Aug. 8, 1820.
Ilis wife, Marantha Capron, born Aug. 16, 1818.
Henry W. W. Talcott, born Aug. 22, 1820, died April 10, 1847.
Alonzo N. Mellen, born Nov. 1, 1820.
His 1st wife, Sophia Hall, born June 13, 1821, died June 18, 1890 2d-wife, Emma McConnell, born Jan. 1, 1851.
A. T. Hart, born Feb. 12, 1821.
His wife, Phebe B. Cole, born March 7, 1829.
C. L. R. Manning, born Feb. 19, 1821, died April 8, 1891.
His wife, Jane Raker, born Dec. 4, 1821, died Aug. 14, 1896.
George Royden, born April 25, 1821.
His 1st wife, Jane P. Collier, born March 16, 1820, died Feb. 9. 1893. 2d wife, Sarah Lally, born June' 0, 1849.
Edwin Martin, born April 25, 1821.
His wife, Caroline \Vheelock, born July 2, 1826.
Robert Hunt, born May 2, 1821.
His wife, Jane, born Aug. 19, 1819, died Sept. 11, 1898.
Henry Fackrell, born June 13, 1821, died Jan. 25, 1893:
William P. Axe, born July 22, 1821.
His wife, Olive P. Marshall, b. Nov. 15, 1822, d. April 7, 1891.
W. F. Packard, born July 31, 1821.
His wife, Julia Adams, born Sept. 13, 1824.
H. D. Dewey, born Aug. 21, 1821, died June 2, 1892.
G. H. Hollister, born Dec. 14, 1821, died Nov. 2, 1890.
His 1st wife, Elizabeth Pettibone, died Sept. 20, 1860. 2d wife Fannie E. Hooker, born Sept. 13, 1838.
Henry Shibley, born 1821, died Sept. 27, 1865.
His wife, Ruth Slighter, born 1823, died Feb. 4, 1891.
F. J. Bentley, born Jan. 3, 1822, died Sept. 3, 1888.
His wife, Sam]] Crandall, horn Feb. 17, 1823.
Austin D. Bliss, born Jan. 26, 1822.
His 1st wife, Betsey Adams, horn 1823, died May 23, 1865. 2d wife, Mrs. Ellen Estes, born Aug. 9, 1841.
Dr. David V. Waite, horn March 2, 1823.
David Hudson, born March 13, 1823.
His wife, Amelia E. Bryning, born March 9, 1832.
Dr. Joseph G. Veness, born May 18, 1823, died Feb. 4, 1893.
His wife, Katherine Butler, born May 31, 1825.
Machael Morrison, born Dec. 8, 1823.
His wife, Joanna Hickey, born Aug. 10, 1832.
Henry Graham, horn Dec. 20, 1823, died.
His 1st wife, Melissa Shurtliff, born 1830, died 1856. 2d wife, Ellen Foster, born March 8, 1831.
Dorson Newell, horn Feb. 9, 1824.
His wife, Elizabeth A. Phelps, horn July 26, 1832.
V.A. Lake, born Feb. 9, 1824, died Oct. 5, 1875. His wife Miss S. M. Taft, horn Feb. 26, 1826.
W. A. Phelps, horn April 6, 1825.
His wife, Mary Jane Lippitt, horn Sept. 2, 1826.
James W. Veness, born May 22, 1825, died Aug. 15, 1896.
His wife, Susanna Legg, born Oct. 8, 1830.
Lewis Fairchild, born Ang.7, 1825.
His 1st wife, Mrs. Lucinda Quinn, born Oct. 24, 1824, died April 10, 1892. 2d wife Mrs. Laura J. Boone.
John Morse, born April 25, 1826, died Feb. 21, 1885.
John Lally, born June 24, 1826. died Feb. 17, 1883.
His wife, Ann Rogers, born Aug. 15, 1830, died Oct. 2, 1897.
Rollin C. Orr, born Oct. 2, 1826, died Jan. 17, 1883.
His wife, Adelia Horan, born April 29, 1835, died Jan. 8, 1892.
Henry W. Conklin, born June 24, 1827.
His wife, Alvaline Grower, born Feb. 24, 1833.
Rufus D. Stanton, born Jan. 12, 1828, died Feb. 2,1858.
Alfred Hull, born April 16, 1828, died May 19, 1892.
J. C. Truman, born Nov. 25, 1828.
His wife, Mary A. Hollister, born Sept. 28, 1832.
Caleb Bentley, born Feb. 14, 1829.
His 1st wife, Janet Gibson, born June 13, 1840, died Jan. 7, 1864. 2d wife, Flora Pollard, born Dec. 5, 1845, died Nov. 15, 1896
John B. Taylor, born July 24, 1830.
His Wife, Anna M., died July 22, 1882.
Machael Hen nesy, born Sept. 26, 1830, died.
His wife, Bridget Everets, born June 24, 1831.
Edmund W. Moody, born Oct. 1, 1830, died.
His wife, Charlotte Fader, born iii Canada.
Marshal Mellen, born Dec. 3, 1830, died Jan. 25, 1890.
His 1st wife, Phila Perham, born Oct. 3, 1837, died Jan. 25, 1872. 2d wife, Hattie Fox, born Feb. 10, 1844.
James E. Chase, born Dec. 25, 1830.
His 1st wife Polly Jane Newton. 2d wife, Matilda Vanderburg
Joseph B. Merritt, born Dec. 27, 1830.
His wife, Frances Mellen, born April 11, 1839.
Samuel Widdowson, born Feb. 26, 1831.
His wife, Elizabeth Marson, born July 2, 1832.
Edson 1. Carr, born Sept. 11, 1831.
His wife, Mary A. Ward, born Jan. 16, 1834.
Andrew J. Young, born Oct. 8, 1831, died Aug. 10, 1898.
His wife, Anna Hunt, born March 10, 1836, died March 10, 1884
C. B. Martin, born July 18, 1832.
His wife. Mary Carden, born 1835, died Dec. 29, .1889.
B. B. Gates, born Nov. 7, 1832.
His wife, Nellie Bingham, born Jan. 17, 1832.
William Cowen, born Aug. 25, 1833, died Oct. 29. 1890.
His wife, Helen Seaver, born Oct. 30, 1837.
G. B. Goodfellow, born 1833, died May 28, 1888.
His wife, Esther, born 1833, died Sept. 2, 1896.
James N. Douglas, born March 11, 1834.
His wife, Charlotte Veness, born.
Edgar J. Forrester, born June 18, 1834.
His wife, Sabina R. Ranney, born May 4, 1840.
S. P. Jellison, born March 2, 1835.
His wife, Arvilla F. Davison, b. Jan. 27, 1836, d. Sept. 13, 1897.
William W. McKay, born March 17, 18.35, died March 15, 1894.
His wife, Amanda J. Felt, born Oct. 12, 1842.
Charles Hyatt, born Sept. 17, 1835.
His 1st wife, Drewey Smith, born Oct. 12, 1849, died April 15, 1874. 2d wife Mary Bacon.
James S. Cowen, born Dec. 15, 1835.
His 1st wife, Miss Phillips. 2(1 wife, Mrs. Sarah Lester.
0..T. Bartholomew, born June 2, 1836.
His wife Mary Atwood, born June 3, 1838.
George R. Hooker, born Sept. 24, 1836, died Aug. 18, 1871.
His wife, Minnie Martin, born 1842, died Dec. 19, 1876.
Sherman Aspland, born Oct. 4, 1836.
His wife, Elizabeth McNtitly, born July 3, 1845.
E. J. Veness, born Jan. 1, 1837:
His wife, Mary Sterns, born Feb. 3, 1841.
Thomas M. Carpenter, born Feb. IS, 1837.
His 1st wife, Ida L. Humphrey, died Aug. 2, 1874. 2d wife, Sophia Martin, born June 15, 1857.
Andrew Bingham, born June 10, 1837.
His wife, Emma Collins, born July 1, 1839.
Valentine Gleasman, born March 2, 1838, died Sept. 29, 1893.
His wife, Maryette L. Gridley, born Dec. 29, 1841.
John J. Clover, born Jan. 21, 1839.
His wife, Emily Shores, born April 5, 1840.
R. B. Meech, born Jan. 2, 1840.
His wife, Alice Bentley, born Jan. 26, 1849.
Olney E. Shufelt, born Jan. 30 1840.
His wife, Anna Briggs, born Aug. 8, 1842.
J. W. Fisk, born Oct. 15, 1840.
His wife, Sarah E. Rudy, born Aug. 13, 1848.
George Gleasman, born 1840, died Jan. 1, 1890.
His wife, Sarah A. Lake.
William W. Austin, born April 29, 1841.His wife, Josephine A. Dewry, b. Dec. 24, 1842, d. Feb. 3, 1896.
William H. Baker, born March 30, 1842.
His wife, Charlotte M. Shamiour, born Jan. 13, 1846,
Roscoe Gammon, born March 7, 1843.
His 1st wife, Clarinda M. Reynolds, b. June 2, 1846, d. May 3,
1894. 2d wife, Mrs. Gertrude Wellington, b. Aug. 14, 1862
George W. Warren, born 1844, died Aug. 16, 1874.
His wife, Mary Shibley, born 1847, died March 13, 1882.
Albert H. Toal, born Aug. 29, 1844.
His wife, Jenette, born Feb. 1, 1843, died Sept. 12, 1896.
Byron B. Hill, born Oct. 19, 1846.
His wife, Lydia M. Kerr, born Feb. 23, 1847.
Calender Jessup, born May 25, 1850, died March 11, 1894.
His wife, Caroline Packard, born April 24, 1854.
O. A. Anderson, born July 19, 1854.
His wife, Melva McConnell, born Oct. 20, 1854.
J. R. Rummell, born April 29, 1856, died July 10, 1892.
His wife, Eva J. Sprague, born July 23, 1859.
Charles E. Shufelt, born June 21, 1860.
His 1st wife, Nettie M. Jones, born July 24, 1864, died July 18,
1883. 2d wife, Fannie Lally.
Capt. William Talcott and Dorothy Bligh, married 1805.
Joseph. Lord and Chloe Moulton, married Dec, 1, 1814.
Horace Case and Anna West, married April 9, 1815.
A. S. Newton and Polly Prentice, married May 3, 1818, 2d wife, Eunice Palmer, married July 13, 1831.
Rev. William M. Adaths and Sophia C. Farnsworth married March 11, 1819.
John Benton and Climena Poter, married March 20, 1822.
Elder James Veness and Charlotte Garrish, married May 19,1822
Dorus Pettibone and Eliza Ann Pettibone, married Thanksgiving day, 1822.
John McComiell and Arleta Marvin, married Oct. 1, 1825.
Dr. Harley Hooker and Mary Beadslee, married Feb. 1827.
Thomas Glover and Ann Collier, married Jan. 1828.
Alpha Bligh and Elmira H. Wiard, married Jan. 27, 1828.William M. Thomas and Eliza Conklin, married Nov. 13, 1828.
J. C. Gridley and Sarah Root, married Nov. IS, 1828. 2nd wife, Calista A. Talmage, married Nov. 26, 1837.
William Webber and Mary Hake, married May 3, 1832.
John M. Hulett and Lucinda Jay, married June, 1832.
Wait Talcott and Elizabeth Ann Norton, married Feb. 5, 1834.
Alvah McKay and Elizabeth Bennett, married May 3, 1834.
Sylvester Bartholomew and Calista Johnson, in. June 11, 1835.
Henry S. Austin and Eliza Packard, married Nov. 10, 1835.
David Carpenter and Julia Pettibone, married March 7, 1836.
Charles J. Fox and Susan Cutter, married April 16, 1837.
Robert Logan and Eliza Blake, married July 19, 1837.
John Bacon and Ermina Seaver, married Aug. 1837.
John F. Thayer and Elizabeth M. Thurston, in. Dec. 12, 1837.
James L. Gray and Sarah I. Mitchell, married 1837. 2d wife, Mrs. Frances Lock, married Jan. 10,1864.
C. W. Robertson and Mary Fairbank, married April 29, 1839.
George W. Springer and Roanda Guptil, married May 26, 1839
George Deakins and Mary Stockley, married Sept. 10, 1839.
Dean Pettibone and Lura Skinner, married Nov. 20, 1839.
Harrison H. Young and Mary B. Bachelor, m. Jan. 15, 1840.
Walter H. Lord and Mary Taylor, married Feb. 2, 1840.
Thomas Groute and Ann Carpenter, married April 2, 1840.
Elbridge Gammon and Esther Bisbee, married June 4, 1840.
Stephen Mack and his Indian wife, Ho-no-ne-gab, in. Sept. 14, 1840. 2d wife, Mrs. Isabella Daniels, in. Feb. 24, 1848.
William Carlton and Melissa I. Austin, married Sept. 23, 1840.
Luther Lawrence and Adelia Loonier, married 1841, 2d wife Mrs. Susan Teague, married May 16, 1877.
Julius Keeney and Hester Ann Seaton, married Jan. 7,1841.
Porter Bellows and Angeline Hinman, married Jan. 26, 1841.
David Briggs and Mary Pettibone, married Feb. 11, 1841.
Seth Higby and Adela1d Gibson, married April 14. 1841.
Calvin Comstock and Harriet Beard, married April 15, 1841.
E. L. Stiles and Marantha Capron, married June, 1841.
Sylvester Talcott and Mary Westlake, married June 10, 1841.
William M. Cristy and Eliza Jones, marrried June 17, 1841.
William O. Goddard and Maria Hooker, married Nov. 1841.
Wadley Favor and Mary Bryning, married April 11, 18-12.
Elijah Austin and Louisa Gibson, married April 18, 1842.
Samuel Hersey and Hannah Cole, married Sept. 2, 1842. 2d wife, Prudence Talcott, married May 17, 1854.
R. D. L. Montanye and Polly Ann Foote, married Feb. 14, 1843.
Thomas B. Talcott and Sophia Willard, married J one 5, 1843.
F. J. Bentley and Sarah Crandall, married June 9, 1843.
Silas Jessup and Mary Calender, married Aug. 25, 1843.
Charles Wright and Harriet N. Talcott, married Oct. 10, 1843.
Austin D. Bliss and Betsey Adams, married Nov. 29, 1843, 2d wife, Mrs. Ellen Estes, married July 5, 1866.
Samuel Briggs and Almira Pettibone, married Feb. 8, 1844.
Henry Shibley and Ruth Slighter, married April 2, 1844.
Albert Hulett and Eleanor Blake, married June 6, 1844.
Alonzo N. Mellen and Sophia Hall, married June 11, 1844., 2d wife, Emma McConnell, married July 7, 1891.
F. W. Merrill and Harriet S. Hollister, married Aug: 20, 1844.
John Logan and Rachel Blake, married Dec. 11, 1844.
Moses W. Allen and Minerva Fletcher, married June 18, 1845.
Simon Young and Mary Cutler, married Oct. 9, 1845.
Henry W. Talcott and Emeline McConnell, m. Oct. 11, 1845.
Samuel B. Hayes and Olive M. Gibson, married Dec. 1845.
Edwin Martin and Caroline Wheelock, married Jan. 1, 1846.
George Royden and Jane Collier, married 1846. 2d wife Sarah Lally, married Nov. 28.1893.
James Swan and Elizabeth P. White, married March 17, 1846 2d wife, Mary W. Grant, married June 30, 1861.
Howard N. Adams and Eliza A. Smith, married March 18, 1846
Amasa B. Herrick and Lydia A. Young, married April 3, 1846.
Edwin Case and Elizabeth C. Lord, married April 8, 1846.
Israel H. G. Densmore and Albina Merrill, married Oct. 19,1846
James L. Sharp and Mary P. Billings, married Nov: 1, 1846.
Joshua S. McDowell and Eleanor Thayer, married Dec. 3, 1846
William Halley and Christian Mackie, married Dec. 4, 1846.
Asa Palmer and Ellen T. Merrill, married April 5, 1847.
B. F. Fletcher and Abigail Cutter, married June 15, 1847.
Edson P. Allen and Fidelia Blake, married June 21, 1847.
Samuel Talcott and :Minerva P. Cody, married .Sept. 23, 1847.
Lewis Fairchild and Mrs. Lucinda Ouinn, in. Oct. 10, 1847. 2d wife, Mrs. Laura J. Boone, married Sept. 8, 1894.
Ansel Comstock and Mary L. Willard, married Oct. 14, 1847.
Caleb Carr and Cinderella Lewis, married Nov. 1, 1847.
William R. Axe and Olive P. Marshall, married 1848.
Jonah Forward and Jane E. Stantial, married Jan. 6, 1848.
R. H. Comstock and Hannah Horton, married Jan. 10, 1848.
W. A. Phelps and Mary Jane Lippitt, married Jan. 13, 1848.
Solomon Densmore and Fidelia Teed, married April 5, 1848.Dr. J. G. Veness and Katherine Butler, married Aug. 12, 1848.
John Lally and Ann Rogers, married Sept. 1848.
A. T. Hart and Niche B. Cole, married Jan. 4, 1840.
David Hudson and Amelia E. Bryning, married Feb. 10, 1849.
Charles Havens and Julia A. Young, married March 22, 1849.
Henry S. Westlake and Juan Frenandez Teed, in. April 24, 1849
James H. Jones and Paulina P. Austin, married June 27, 1849.
Thomas M. Coons and Mrs. Maria Fairchild, in. Nov. 7,1849.
Henry Graham and Melissa Shurtliff, married 1850. 2d wife, Ellen Foster, married 1858.
Dorson Newell and Elizabeth A. Phelps, married Sept. 12, 1830
V. A. Lake and Miss S. M. Taft, married Oct. 25, 1850.
J. C. Truman and Mary A. Hollister, married March 12, 1851.
Michael Morrison and Joanna Hickey, married Nov. 1851.
H. S. Northrop and Mrs. Althe Freed, married Nov. 2, 1851.
Dr. Nathanael F. Prentice and Miranda C. Hyatt, married, Nov. 20, 1851.
William Thompson and Elizabeth Davis, married Jan. 1, 1852.
G. H. Hollister and Elizabeth Pettibone, in. Sept. 18, 1832. 2nd wife, Fannie E. Hooker, m. Dec. 11. 1861.
James Wall and Ann Quinn, married Nov. 26, 1852.
J. W. Veness and Susanna Legg, married Feb. 3, 1853.
Edson I. Carr and Mary A. Ward, married March 3, 1853.
Thomas Jordan and Diana Holmes, married April 19, 1853.
Mark McConnell and Mary Beecher, married Oct. 13,1853.
Leonard Thurston and Sarah Thompson, married Oct. 31,1853 2d wife, Diana Stiles, married Oct. 8, 1858.
Orvis Shurtliff and Sarah Smith, married June 25, 1854.
Samuel Widdowson and Elizabeth Marson, m. Sept. 6, 1854. 13.
B.B. Gates and Nellie Bing-ham, married Jan. 9, 1855.
James N. Douglas and Charlotte Veness, married Jan. 25,1855
C. B. Martin and Mary C. Cardell, married Oct. 1855.
S. P. Jellison and Arvilla F. Davison, married March 6, 1856.
Edmund W. Noodv and Charlotte Fader, married April 3, 1856
Albert Hulett and Rachel Lake, married May 1, 1856. 2d wife, Minerva Feakins, married Oct. 17, 1889.
Samuel R. Baker and Mary N. I3runer, married May 22, 1856.
William Coons and Melissa Wheeler, married Sept. 29, 1856.
A. J. Young and Anna Hunt, married Oct. 4, 1856.
Rollin C. Orr and Adelin Horan, married Nov. 11,1856.
Henry W. Conklin and Alvaline Grower, married Nov. 28, 1856
E. J. Jones and Lucitia Colby, mar. 1 Tali. 13, 1857.
John G. Taylor and Frances Gleason: married April 19, 1857.
Thomas Stickler and Mrs. Nancy Taylor, married June 11, 1857
R. C. Sweet and Lucinda M. Southworth, in. Oct. 29, 1857.
Henry B. Jones and Aurora Parker, married Jan. 9, 1858.
Henry W. Phelps and Alta Mason, married Jan. 20, 1858.
John B. Holmes and Anna S. Gibson, married Jan. 28, 1858.
Joseph B. Merritt and Frances E. Mellen, married Dec. 1, 1858
William H. Baker and Charlotte M. Shamiour, in. Jan. 22, 1859
Olney E. Shufelt and Anna Briggs, married Aug. 7, 1859.
Valentine Gleasinan and Naryetta L. Gridley, in. Dec. 21, 1859
John Griffith and Catherine Webber, married March 1, 1860.
William Webber, jr., and Mary E. Smith, married Aug. 13, 1860
Andrew J. Loveless and Deborah Brown, married Sept. 29, 1860
Edwin Kinsley and Jennie Glover, married Oct. 7, 1850.
Caleb Bentley and Janet Gibson, married Oct. 30, 1860. 2d wife Flora I. Pollard, married April 1, 1875.
William H. Kendig and Elsie A. Crawford, in. March 3, 1861.
William W. McKay and Amanda J. Felt, n. June 16, 1861.
George S. Ellis and Ruth Knapp, married July 4, 1861.
Moses Pennock and Mary A. Crandall, married Nov. 28, 1861.
Michael Hennesy and Bridget Everet, married Dec. 29, 1861.
Marshall Mellen and Phila. Perham. married March 10, 1862. 2d wife, Hattie Fox, married Oct. 30, 1872.
E. S. Waite and Kate Veness, married May 1, 4862.
E. Powell and Nancy Gary, married Aug. 5, 1862.
C. B. Spurling and Mary E. Kelley, married July 8, 1862. 2d wife, Philena Marlette, married Dec.2, 1886.
John J. Clover and Emily Shores, married Oct. 2,1862.
Eleazer J. Veness and Mary V. Stearns, married Nov. 5, 1862.
William W. Austin and Josephine A. Dewry tn. Dec. 24, 1862.
Truman Holmes and Amanda Springer, m. Nov. 26, 1863.
C. B. Richardson and Emroy P. Gray, married Jan. 10, 1864.
C. T. Roe and Clara E. Manard, married July 21, 1864.
Henry Lampman and Helen M. Lundy, married Oct.10, 1864. 2d wife, Celora Nay Davis, m. 1870. 3d wife, Mrs. Ida Parkins, married April 15, 1894.
George D. Peck arid Anna White, married Oct. 22,. 1861.
J. W. Fisk and Sarah E. Rudy, married Dec. 3, 1864.
Sherman Aspland and Elizabeth McNutly, m. Jan. 1, 1865 John Webber and Susan Aplin, married March 7, 1865.
Charles Bryden and Bulah E. Sharp, married June 23, 1865.
Rufus Baker and Seville V. Bartholomew, nu June 29, 1865.
Frank Alton and Permelia Kennell, married Dec. 10, 1865.
Roscoe Gammon and Clarinda M. Reynolds, m. Dec. 18, 1865.
2d wife, Mrs. Gertrude Wellington, m. Oct. 7, 1897.
Charles Hyatt and Drewey Smith, married April 10, 1866. 2d wife, Mary Bacon, married Sept. 12, 1876.
H. A. Webber and Mrs. Sarah Kennedy, married June 26, 1866.
E. Smith Waite and Lucinda B. Robertson, in. Dec. 21, 1866.
O. T. Bartholomew and Mary Atwood, married Dec. 25, 1866.
George Gleasman and Sarah A. Lake, married Jan. 2, 1867.
W. H. Graves and Clara E. Farnsworth, married Jan. 21, 1867.
Chauncey Newton and Mary E. Towne, married Feb. 27, 1867.
John Watts and Esther Riley, married April 12, 1867.
C. C. Coons and Rebecca Hunt, married June 13, 1867.
C. M. Crawford and Matilda J. Holdeman, m. Nov. 20, 1867.
N. B. Kincaid and Mrs. Ruth Curtess, married 1868. 2d wife, Flora Parker, married Feb. 24, 1883.
Chauncey Wilmot and Amelia Keeney, married March 2, 1868.
E. J. Forrester and Salina R. Ranney, married July 6, 1868.
William H. Farmer and Alma Martin, married Oct. 15, 1868.
R. B. Meech and Alice H. Bentley, married Jan. 20, 1869.
Oscar Favor and Mary L. Bligh, married March 8, 1869.
Lorenzo D. Kincaid and Esther E. Taylor, in. March 12, 1869.
William Coweri and Helen M. Seaver, married April 29, 1869.
B. B. Hill and Lydia M. Kerr, married Aug. 10, 1869.
David Harper and Mrs. Rebecca Osgood, in. Sept. 7, 1869.
Dwight Talcott and Emily A. Robertson, in. Oct. 12, 1869.
James Aspland and Minnie Zinnerman, married Oct. 16, 1869.
J. J. Crawford and Minnie S. Young, married Oct. 21, 1869.
William Seaman and Hattie Smith, married Nov. 4, 1869.
H. J. Webber and Clara Piper, married Nov. 17, 1869.
A. A. Snyder and Cora Lee Stiles, married Nov. 18, 1869.
Martin Kelley and Ada Taylor, married March 18, 1870.
J. W. Hudson and 'Z'elia A. Loonier, married May 14, 1870.
Arthur G. Stiles and Alice Thayer, married July 9, 1870.
H. D. Hopkins and Hannah Moore, married Dec.22, 1870.
T. H. Webber and Kethura Piper, married May 4, 1871.
H. B. Freed and Emma Royden, married June 28, 1871.
Peter Hanson and Katherine Philips, married July 28, 1871
Oscar T. Stiles and Emma Hardy, married Oct. 29; 1871.
T. M. Carpenter and Ida L. Humphrey m. 2d wife, Sophia C. Martin, married June 20,1877.
Daniel Fairchild and Diema Springer, married Feb. 11, 1873.
George W. Aspland and Nancy Gifford, married Oct. 19, 1873.
R. C. Jenkins and Ada L. Clement, married Nov. 17, 1873.
John O. Chatsey and Jane Carr, married Nov. 17, 1873.
A. E. Crawford and Mrs. Martha Smith, married July 20, 1874.
S. L. Jenkins and Azuba Clute, married Nov. 11, 1874
R. C. Gridley and Nettie Briggs, married Nov. 24, 1875.
H. L. Baker and Mrs. Mary Reynolds. married Feb. 19, 1876.
H. W. Young and Alta Comstock, married March 13, 1876.
Charles E. Purdy and Josie Conner, married April 4, 1876.
Robert Bauch and Flora E. Springer, married April 22, 1876.
William Smith and Mrs. Melissa Rockwell, in. May 15, 1876.
Albert E. Nichols and Clara Chase, married Sept. 30, 1876.
J. W. Armstrong and Martha C. Wishop, married Nov. 15, 1876.
William Forward and Alice Veness, married Nov. 23, 1876.
Frank R. Eley and Catherine M. Harsh, married Dec. 24, 1876.
William W. Comstock and Sarah Winsor, m. Feb. 15, 1877.
T. W. Graves and Frances Druynois, married April 21, 1877.
William H. Merrill and Sarah E. Cowen, married May 9, 1877.
Joseph Atwood and Lizzie Gleasman, married Sept. 5, 1877.
Edward Palmer and Ella Carr, married Nov. 19, 1877.
Pettibone and Emma Whipple, married Nov. 26, 1877.
James Crosby and Kate Veness, married jan..17, 1878.
Frank Kent and Nettie Cowles, married Feb. (3, 1878.
William Kinsley and Sophia Peterson, married Feb. 14, 1878.
Charles F. Clover and N. iola D. Shores, married Feb. 21, 1878.
H. E. Clift and Bertha A. Newell, married April 4, 1878.
T. Ripley and Sarah L. Burdick, married April 16, 1878.
John Curry and Kate Hawkins, married May 12, 1878.
David N. Grant and Marietta Clark, married Oct. 11, 1878.
Charles E. Brown and Maggie Hart, married Feb. 4. 1879.
W. C. Loonier and Adeline L. Hart, married April 15, 1879.
B. O. Gridley and Hanora A. Wall, married April 22, 1879. He married Flora U. Baker, April 10, 1889.
Nathan Sarver and Ella Fisher, married, July 3, 1879.
John Lighthart and Mary Boyle, married Dec. 31, 1879.
B. C. Truman and Rhoda Weed, married Feb. 26, 1880.
Hiram S. Baker and Sarah J. Thompson, married July 31, 18S0
N. R. Comstock and Maggie Hickey, married Sept. 1, 1880.George W. Conner and Hattie Merrill, married Sept. 30, 1880.
J. W. Sheppard and Nary D. Manning, married Dec. 25, 1880.
J. R. Jones and Emma Stevens, married Dec. 29, 1880.
J. W. Forward and Annie Royden, married March 3, 1881.
Henry Knutson and Melissa L. Walker, married Sept. 3, 1881.
A. Bliss and Mary Kimball, married Sept. 22, 1881.
Calender Jessup and Caroline Packard, married Oct. 12, 1881.
Charles E. Shufelt and Nettie M. Jones, married Nov. 30, 1881. 2d wife, Fannie Lally, married Sept. 26,1887.
William Osborn and Allie McCue, married Feb. 28, 1882.
J. Bentley and Clara Hunt, married March 7, 1882.
Elmer Kennedy and Mary J. Buren, married June 27. 1882.
J. E. Woolery and Marlette Stickler, married Aug. 9, 1882.
Clinton Fisher and Ella Malone, married Aug. 20, 1882.
Quincy A. Curtess and Anna M. Culler, married Aug. 30, 1882.
Alfred Hull and Mrs. Mary Chapman, married Oct. 1882.
J. A. Mucus and Jennie Wallace, married Nov. 7, 1882.
F. Stevens and Mary Baron, married Dec. 25, 1882.
Charles H. Osgood and Mary A. Murray, married Dec. 31,1882.
James A. Merrill and Minnie Comstock, married May 29, 1883.
Clinton J. Lester and Flora Shibley, married Nov. 15, 1883.
John P. Butler and Alice Hogan, married Nov.28, 1883.
E. A. Damon and Mary S. Griffith, married June 11, 1884.
W. N. Axe and Alice Hunt, married April 13, 1885.
Lloyd E. Veness and Jessie Smith, married May 7, 1885.
Edward Shotlift and Lena Ellis, married May 20. 1883.
O. A. Anderson and Melva McConnell, married June 27, 1885.
Patrick Wall and Mary Hennesy, married June 29, 1885.
George Curry and Kate Smith, married Sept. 29, 1885. 2d wife Kittie Hennesy, married Oct. 28, 1891.
Charles W. Clarage and Athalia E. Denison, m. Jan. 27, 1886.
Edgar Austin and Nellie Richardson, married Feb. 1886.
E. Collins and Hattie (Minn, married April 30, 1886.
N. S. Rocker and Grace Benton, married Nay 14, 1886.
C.E. Phelps and Nettie G. Trimmer, married Sept. 10, 1886.
Charles E. Cooper and Anna Wilford, married Sept. 16, 1886.
W. C. Hollister and Carrie Culler, married Oct. 12, 1886.
W. Martin and Lizzie Winsor, married Oct. 13,1886.
Eugene Helmer and Eliza Aspland, married Oct. 19, 1886.
J. R. Rumme11 and Eva J. Sprague, married Nov. 18, 1886.
W. J. Phelps and Cora D. Crandall, married Jan. 26, 1887.Fred M. Coons and M. Etta Bordner, married Feb. 16, 1887.
Charles TaylOr and Anna L. Benton, married June 23, 1887.
M. H. Cornell and Cora Stickler, married June 23, 1887. .
Leonard Newell and Nellie Wall, married July 2, 1887,
W. W. Weld and Arneta C. Loveless, .married Aug. 12, 1887.
Frank Clover and Mabel Crawford, married Sept. 15, 1887.
Thomas Stickler, jr., and Abbie Hendee, married, Oct. 11, 1887
Rev, R. C. Bedford and Mrs. Sarah Comstock, in. Oct. 13, 1887.
James Aspland, 2d, and Maggie Kelley, married Jan. 1, 1888.
Leander Jordan and Adie Wilford, married May 22, 1888.
William R. Webber and Maggie Westlake, married Oct. 4, 1888
Edgar I. Carr and Mary A. Glover, married Feb. 17, 1889.
Adren Loveless and Victoria Kincaid, married Sept. 25, 1889.
Leland Fisk and Anna O'Brien, married Sept. 25, 1889. 2d wife May Snyder, married Oct. 11, 1898.
William Ellis, and Carrie Chatsey, married Sept. 27, 1889.
Willis B. Carr and Sophia Wilford, married Nov. It, 1889.
Asa Peck and Ellen Cozzens, married Dec. 25, 1889.
S. S. Brown and Debbie Fisk, married Dec. il, 1889.
G. D. Cooper and Jennie Shears, married Feb. 19, 1890.
Dr. C.'L. Sutherland and Susie Thomas, married Sept. 4, 1890
Neil D. Hough and Mary Morrison, married Oct. 14, 1890.
G. F. Graves and Clara A. Douglas, married Oct. 26, 1890.
Fred Chatsey and Dora Shamiour, married Feb. 27, 1891.
Frank Benton and Cynthia Shears, married Aug. 20, 1891.
George Houston and Alta _Clover, married Sept. 24, 1891.
Nathanael Manley and Emeline A. Hyde, married Oct. 20, 1891
John Taylor and Mary Seaverson, married Dec. 24, 1891.
Lewis L. Briggs and Jessie M. Hart, married June 30, 1892.
Frank Aspland and Nellie Chatsey, married Feb. 4, 1893.
Frank H. Cooper and Mary T. Westlake, married March 20, 1893
E. J. Pollock and Addie E. Norris, married June 15, 1893.
Willis G. Stevens and Editli 0. Booth, married June 15, 1893.
Fred Mellen and Grace Austin; married Aug. 8, 1893.
William Butler and Josephine Morrison, married Sept. 21, 1893
Arden Liddle and Nora Chatsey, married Sept. 21, 1893.
Orville B. Houston and Nellie Smith, married Oct. 5, 1893.
Rev. W. B. Doble and Mina Gleasman, married Nov. 30, 1893.
W. C. Webster and Mabel C. Coons, married Feb. 28, 1894.
W. V. Graves and Amy Brown, married May 29, 1894.
Charles A. Stevens and Della Forrester, married Aug. 1, 1894,
Albert D. Harper and Bertha Partch, married Sept. 14, 1894.
Frank Newell and Lula J. Wright, married Nov. 21, 1894.
Merritt H. Carr and Phebie M. Jenkins, married Dec. 24, 1894.
Charles Kelley and Rose Aspland, married April 18, 1895.
Abraham Mendelsohm and Hattie L. McKay, m. Aug. 7, 1895.
Thomas R. Harper and Hannah M. Christsonon. Sept. 12, 1895
H. E. Erdahl and Maud Carpenter, married May 6, 1896.
E. W. Houston and Anna J. Watts, married May 20, 1896.
Harry Rocker and Maud Brown, married June 4, 1896.
Edward Jenkins and Mary E. Rocker, married July 22, 1896.
W. P. Loveless and Jessie C. Morehouse, married Oct. 19, 1896
Luther Hopkins and Eva Cowen, married Nov. 26. 1896.
Charles Griswold and Hattie Lampinan, married Dec. 24, 1896
Amos A. Loveless and Minnie Wintz, married Dec. 25, 1896.
Fred Forrester and Susie Loveless, married Jan. 3, 1897.
Edward M. Lone and Fannie Bentley, married June 8, 1897.
William A. Taylor and Carrie E. Ide, married June 13, 1897.
E. S. Waite, jr., and Mattie Holmes, married Oct. 14, 1897.
William Trimmer and Belle Wilford, married Oct. 22, 1897.
Frank Forrester and Kittie Dean, married Nov. 17, 1897.
Alanson Griswold and Ida Black, married Nov. 24, 1897.
Gust Guakow and Lizzie Stevenson, married Jan. 1, 1898.
Charles Seigle and Flora Ellis, married Feb. 23, 189S.
George D. Moody and Lucy A. Crandall, married Feb. 24,1898.
Jay Liddle and Maud Webber, married Feb. 23, 1893.
John Rosander and Nellie Palmer, marrried March 2S, 1898.
George Gleasman and Lillian J. Wilder, married June. 8, 1898.
George Osborn and Fannie Pennock, married Aug.18, 1898.
William Cowen and Olie Toal, married Sept. 22, 1893.
Warren H. Gleasman and Nellie Johnson, married Sept. 25, 1898
George Baker and Anna May Gillen, married Nov. 24, 1898.
Arland M. Randall and Nellie Meech, married Dec. 7, 1898.
Mr. and Mrs. William M. Thomas, celebrated Nov. 13, 1878.
Mr. and Mrs. William Webber, celebrated May 3, 1882.
Mr. and Mrs. Sylvester Bartholomew, celebrated June 11, 1883.
'Mr. and Mrs. Henry S. Austin, celebrated Nov. 10, 1885.
Mr. and Mrs. David Carpenter, celebrated March 7, 1886.
Mr. and Mrs. E. L. Stiles, celebrated June 16, 1891.
Mr. and Mrs. R. D. L. Montanve, celebrated Feb. 14, 1893.
Mr. and Mrs. Edwin Martin, celebrated Jan. 1, 1896.
Mr. and Mrs. William Halley, celebrated Dec. 4, 1896.
Mr. and Mrs. Jonah Forward, celebrated Jan. 6, 1898.
Mr. and Mrs. William A. Phelps, celebrated Jan. 13, 1898
Thomas Parker, died April 10, 1868, aged 47 years.
William Coons, died March 26, 1877,
Abbie Fletcher, died Dec. 11,.1877.
Mary Jessup, died in Polo, May 6, 1878.
John Gleasman, died August 12. 1878.
Jesse F. Stevens, died Sept. 11, 1878, aged 47 years.
Edward Collier, died April 18, 1880, killed in a cyclone.
Allen Bingham, died July 19, 1880,
L. W. Gitehell, died August 13, 1880.
Mary Malian's, died Feb. 20, 1881.
Robert Spencer, killed by the cars, Feb. 22, 1881.
Mrs. Sarah Craige died Dec. 17, 1881.
Edgar J. Davis, died February, 1882.
Ella Curtess, died Atius 10, 1884.
Robert Mallams, died Feb. 14, 1887.
Mrs. Flora Lester, died June 17, 1888.
Mrs. Mary DeLee, died March 9, 1889.
John Webb, died Augnst 1, 1889.
Alard D. Carr, died August 13, 1889.
H. W. Harvey, died Dec. 2, 1889.
Fred Truman, died Sept. 15, 1890.
Charles Stiles, died Nov. 3, 1890.
Irena Carr, died January 4, 1891.
Clarence J. Lester, died April 4, 1891.
Mrs. George Hyde, died Jan. 14, 1892.
George Hyde, died Jan. 19, 1892.
George Benton, died Jan. 24.1892.
H. H. Hefner, died Dec. 30, 1892.
Cyreuus Boone, died Jan. 8, 1893.
Mrs. T. Dickerson, died Jan. 9, 1893.
Mrs. Cooper, died Jan. 18, 1893.
David S. Butler, died May 3, 1894.
Mrs. Mary A. Carr, (lied Sept. 4, 1894.
Rev. James M. Coulee, died July 17, 1895.
Mrs. Mary D. Thayer, died August 13,'1895.James S. Withee, died Feb. 8, 1896.
Mrs. Amanda Hamilton, died Feb. 1896.
Frank Liddle, died Feb. 12, 1896.
Charles H. Talcott, died July 17, 1896.
Rev. I. F. Pettibone, died March 8, 1897.
Mrs. James King, died May 8, 1897.
George Johnson, died July 31, 1897.
Henry Sprague, died Dec. 1, 1897.
Miss M. E. Pettibone, died March 14, 1898.
Bert Veness, died June 7, 1898.
FIRES IN ROCKTON
Feb. 21, 1876—Bradner, Smith & Co's paper mill.
April 20, 1877—Thomas H. Webber's dwelling house.
March 25, 1878—Keeney paper mill run by Booth & Hinman.
April 25. 1879—Cowles & Gates rye mill.
March 23, 1885—Cong'l parsonage caught on fire.
June 17, 1886— Old depot burned,
July 16, 1886—Part of Keeney's mill burned.
August 23, 1886—Wm. Cowen's house occupied by Dr. Lovesee
Augut 10, 188S—John Deakins' flouring mill,
Sept. 13. 1888—Axe's machine shop burned.
Feb. 19, 1889—A. D. Bliss' house burned,
August 6, 1889—D. Newell's house burned.
Sept. 1, 1893—Webbber's grist mill and fanning mill shop brn'd
Sept. 17, 1893—Andrew Bingham's house caught on fire.
Nov. 8, 1893—John Veness' barn burned.
March 11, 1895—Dr. Waite's house burned.
This Web Page Created with PageBreeze Free HTML Editor