FAYETTE COUNTY, INDIANA
BIOGRAPHIES

line
MISS MARGARET SHIELDS

    Miss Shields is well known to the residents of Connersville township, and her home, adjoining the city of Connersville, is a most beautiful spot, has been in the family for years, and many tender memories cluster around the grand old place. The name is an honored one in Fayette county, Indiana, Miss Shields having secured a warm place in the affections of a wide circle of friends who esteem her for the many estimable qualities she possesses, as well as for the fact that she is a daughter of the late Ralston and Anna (Huston) Shields. Her grandparents were Robert and Nancy Shields, the former a native of Ireland, whence he came to America with his parents in his childhood. They settled in the state of Pennsylvania in early colonial times and prior to the war of the Revolution and there his life was passed. Ralston Shields was one of a family of seven children and was the first to venture into the western country. He was born in 1790, in Franklin county, Pennsylvania, and remained a resident of the Keystone state until 1817, the year after Indiana was admitted into the Union, when he came here and purchased a tract of land, in Fayette county, some two and one half miles west of the present site of Connersville. The following year he returned to his native state and was married to Miss Anna Huston, daughter of William and Margaret Huston, whose relatives fought in the Revolutionary war. He brought his young bride to his Indiana home and there they lived a short time, until he had an opportunity to sell the land to advantage, which he did, buying other property farther west in the same township. Here their children were born and reared. His death occurred in 1859, when he was almost seventy years of age. His wife survived him more than a quarter of a century, dying in 1887, at the advanced age of ninety one years. Ralston Shields was always industrious and upright and enjoyed the confidence and respect of his fellow citizens to a remarkable extent. Both he and his wife were reared in the Presbyterian faith and their lives were patterned after the Divine model. More to be esteemed than all the property left to the children, is the heritage of a good name and worthy parentage with which they endowed them. Six children were born to them, namely: William, Robert, John, James, Benjamin and Margaret. Three of these are living, Robert, a resident of the state of Kansas; James, a resident of California and Margaret, our subject, who resides en the homestead which was shared by her twin brother, Benjamin, until his death, in 1896.
line
LAZARUS  MUNGER

    The ancestors of Lazarus Hunger, a representative citizen of Posey township, Fayette county, as far back as their history can be traced in the annals of America, are noted for the sterling traits of character that mark the valuable citizen of this great republic. At all times they have been ready to uphold righteous and just laws, to promote the welfare of the land of their nativity, and, if needful, to lay down their lives on the altar of her liberty and maintenance. The majority of the Mungers have led the quiet, independent lives of agriculturists, though a few marked exceptions to this rule have occurred.
    One of the very early pioneers of Ohio was General Edward Munger, the grandfather of our subject. He was born in Connecticut, September 30, 1763, and after his marriage, on the 5th of December, 1785, to Eunice Kellogg, a native of the same state, born August 13, 1767, he resided in the town of Washington, Connecticut, for a few years. Then, removing to Rutland county, Vermont, they dwelt there until the spring of 1798, when they located in Belpre, Washington county, Ohio. A short time subsequently they permanently settled on land purchased by the General in Montgomery county, Ohio, and there he cleared and made a good farm prior to his death, which took place April 14, 1850. He was a man of great enterprise and strong individuality, looked up to and consulted as one having authority. During the war of 1812 he raised and trained a regiment in the defense of the young republic, and for this invaluable service was commissioned brigadier general, being superseded in this position by the celebrated General Hull. Nor did his public services end here, as he was elected and won new honors in the Ohio state legislature, and in local offices. General Munger and his wife, Eunice, were of Puritan ancestry, their forefathers being numbered among the early colonists of New England. The eldest child of this worthy couple, Warren, born in Washington, Connecticut, February 28, 1787, returned to his native state about 1811 for the purpose of studying law, and subsequently was state's attorney of Miami county, Ohio, besides holding other important local offices. He continued to practice law until 1840, when he retired to his farm, where he resided until his death, in 1877. Truman, born January 19, 1789, came to Indiana in 1821, bought and improved land, which he afterward sold, then removing to the vicinity of Petersburg, Illinois. He bought a farm there, and in 1876 retired from the active duties of life to pass his remaining days in Prairie City, where he died. Edmund K. was the next in order of birth. Minerva, born in Vermont, November 5, 17.92, married Judge Amos Ervin, of Ohio, and died April 26, 1874. Reuben born in Vermont, October 30, 1794, died in Ohio. Elisur and Festus, died in infancy. Eunice, born in Montgomery county, Ohio, February 10, 1801, married William McCann, of Ohio, who purchased land in Posey township, this county, and sold the property after making some improvements. He then turned his attention to brick making, and later carried on a farm which he bought in Rush county, this state. There his wife died, in 1841, and after marrying again he went to Iowa, where his last days were passed. Sarah, born in Ohio, March 15, 1803, died September 12, 1883. She became the wife of Elam Ervin, an Ohio farmer, born November 17, 1801. At an early period they went to Rush county, this state, where he died when but forty years of age. Festus E., born April 11, 1805, was a farmer, and died in Dayton, Ohio. He reared six children, and three of his sons, Timothy, Lyman and Alvin, were soldiers in the Union army, the first two being members of the Forty fourth Ohio Regiment band. They enlisted in 1861, and were so unfortunate as to be taken prisoners and Timothy was confined in the famous Libby warehouse, while Lyman languished and suffered for seventeen months in the dreadful pens of Andersonville. In spite of all their hardships the three brothers lived to return home and to resume their accustomed occupations at the close of the war. Milton, born -October 5, 1807, was a farmer, and died near Piqua, Miami county, Ohio, in 1874. One of his sons, William, entered the service of the Union during the civil war, and what his fate was his parents never learned. Isaac N., born August 12, 1812, and now living retired in Piqua, Ohio, not only conducted a farm but was a successful teacher of music for a long time.
    Edmund K. Munger, who was born in Rutland county, Vermont, September 13, 1790, remained with his parents in Ohio until his marriage, in 1812, to Mary Cole, a native of Botetourt county, Virginia, born October 15, 1794. The same year the young man volunteered his services to his country, but the quota was complete and he was not needed.    Settling in Montgomery county, Ohio, he was industriously occupied in the cultivation of a farm until the spring of 1821, when he bought the two-hundred-acre farm on which the subject of this sketch now resides. In the fall of the same year the family removed to their new home here, and for many years the humble log cabin which the father erected served them as a home. In time the land was reduced to cultivation and in 1S35 the brick house in which our subject lives was built. The double room cabin in which they first dwelt was looked upon as almost palatial by their neighbors, and many happy hours were spent in the hospitable abode. The brick house, likewise, was one of the first erected of that material in the county, and travelers and those in search of a home and location were directed to this place, where, as it was known far and near, liberal and hearty hospitality was ever to be found. Politically, Edmund K. Munger was a Whig and Republican. Reared in the tenets of the Presbyterian church by parents who were extremely strict, he never became identified with any church, though his life was above reproach and his actions were consistent with the teachings of Christianity. He lived to a good old age, dying June 10, 1872. His faithful wife, who was a member of the Baptist church, died September 9., 1853. She went with her parents, Samuel and Catherine (Bryan) Cole, from Virginia to Montgomery county early in this century. The father, who was a wagon maker by trade, came to this locality in 1826 and settled upon a small tract of land north of Bentonville, where he plied his calling and cultivated his farm. Late in life he and his wife lived with their children, he dying January 1, 1849, and she September 7, 1844. Both were active members of the Christian church. Their children were: John, Philip, Jacob, Andrew, M. B., William, Elizabeth (now Mrs. T. Munger) and Mary.
    Eunice, the eldest child of Edmund and Mary Munger, was born in Ohio, February 24, 1814, and she never married. She was a member of the Baptist church untill she died, happy in her faith, February 5, 1884. Norman, the eldest son, born August 28, 1815, was a representative farmer of Wayne county, where his death took place April 30, 1885. Margaret, born June 12, 1817, married William Manlove, who was the first white child born in Posey township, his birth having taken place in 1815. Truman, born December 14, 1818, lived on farms in Henry and Rush counties, dying at his home in the last mentioned county, January 17, 1857. Elizabeth, born May 4, 1821, married Samuel S. Ewing, of Ohio. He was a carpenter by trade and engaged in surveying and farming in Wabash county, Indiana. Samuel, born March 6, 1824, learned the carpenter's trade, and after his marriage settled on an Illinois farm, where he remained until his death, August 18, 1896. He was a leader in the Christian church and Sunday school, and was highly esteemed by all  who knew him.     Martha,  born April 6, 1827, became the wife of M. B. Vandegrift, a blacksmith, and died March 6, 1880, leaving three children. Mary, born April 30, 1829, and now a resident of Anderson, Indiana, married William T. Hensley, of Fayette county. Lazarus and Edmund are the next of the family. Louisa, the youngest, born May 31, 1836, died June 1,  1843.
Lazarus Munger was born September 11, 1831, in Posey township, on the old homestead which he now owns. In the district schools he obtained a fair education, and under his father's instruction he acquired practical knowledge of farming when a mere boy. After the death of the parents, Lazarus and Edmund and three sisters lived together and carried on the work of the farm. Then, when two of the sisters married and the third died, our subject chose a wife. His brother remains unmarried, and has always been associated with him in business. Having accumulated a little capital they invested it, in 1863, in one hundred and twenty one acres of the homestead, and in August, 1882, our subject bought the other's share. Edmund Munger, who is an energetic business man, has been interested in various things besides farming, and has acted as agent for different concerns, among them being the Union National Building & Loan Association, of Indianapolis, and the Wayne International Building & Loan Association, of Cambridge City. For both of these companies he has transacted a large amount of business, and still represents them. His capital he invests in good securities of various kinds, and his integrity and square dealing are undoubted. He has always made his home and headquarters at his birth-place, being a valued member of our subject's household. For several years he has devoted much attention to the buying of shorthorn cattle and Poland China hogs, frequently going into neighboring states in search of especially fine specimens. Lazarus Munger, likewise, is interested in high-grade live stock, and always keeps large herds of shorthorns and Poland China hogs. He has added to his original purchase of land until he now owns five hundred and eighteen acres, all of which is under fine cultivation. His prosperity is well deserved, and is the direct result of application, sound judgment and perseverance in a line of action when once determined upon. He has upheld the Republican principles, and, though he has attended conventions in the county and state and has endeavored to advance the interests of the party, he never has been prevailed upon to accept a public office of importance, and though often urged to become a candidate for the legislature has persistently refused. He has served his own township as assessor, with credit to himself and friends, but has no desire for public office.
On the 10th of September, 1866, the marriage of Lazarus Munger and Miss Savanna Ferguson was solemnized. She is a daughter of Linville and Elizabeth (Loder) Ferguson, whose history appears elsewhere in this work.
    She was born February 8, 1843, and is one of five brothers and sisters, the others being, Oliver, now a resident of Milton; Elmer, who died at the age of twelve years; Mrs. Emma Thornburg; and Charley, who owns and carries on the old homestead which belonged to his father. The latter, who was one of the most successful stock dealers of this section of Indiana, himself cleared about five hundred acres of land, and divided fifteen hundred acres among his children. He was very prominent in every way, acting in public offices, and for twenty three years was connected with the Cambridge City National Bank, being its president for fifteen years.
The union of Mr. and Mrs. Munger was blessed with two daughters and one son, namely: Lorena M., born March 5, 1869, and now the wife of: Philip F. Weaver, a farmer; Warren H., born February 20, 1878; and Helen E., born October 1, 1879. The younger daughter and the son are students in Earlham College, and are receiving excellent training for the serious duties of life.

line
MILTON TRUSLER

    Not all men order their lives to their liking; nor yet are all men true to themselves in living as nearly to their ideals as possible and attaining to such heights as their opportunities and talents render accessible. We now turn to one who has done much and done it well, wherein all honor lies. Not a pretentious or exalted life has been his, but one that has been true to itself and its possibilities, and one to which the biographer may revert with a feeling of respect and satisfaction.
    Hon. Milton Trusler's identification with the history of that section of Indiana with which this compilation has to do has been one of ancestral as well as individual nature, and would on that score alone demand consideration in this connection; but such has been his personal prominence in positions of public trust and responsibility; such his influence in furthering the progress and material prosperity of the state at large, that his individual distinction clearly entitles him to representation in this work. Back to that cradle of much of our national history, the Old Dominion, must we turn in tracing the lineage of the subject of this review. He was born in Franklin county, Indiana, on the 31st of October, 1825, the son of Samuel W. and Martha (Curry) Trusler. The original representative of the family in Indiana was James Trusler, grandfather of the subject of this review, who was a native of Virginia, where he  was reared to manhood and there  married.
    About the year 1812 he emigrated with his family to the wilds of the Hoosier state, coming to Franklin county and settling on a tract of excellent land in the vicinity of the present little village of Fairfield. Here he developed a good farm, upon which he passed the residue of his days, passing away about the year 1840, at the age of eighty two. He was a man of strong individuality and upright life, being known as one of the successful and influential farmers of this section, where he was uniformly honored and respected, by reason of his sterling character. In his religious adherence he was a member of the Methodist Episcopal church, in which he was a most devout and earnest worker.
    In the family of James Trusler were five sons and two daughters. Of these Samuel Wilson Trusler, the father of our subject, was born in Virginia on the 9th of July, 1795, and accompanied his parents on their removal to Indiana in the early pioneer days. In 1830 he removed to Jackson township, Fayette county, this state, where he thereafter continuously devoted his attention to agricultural pursuits until called from the scene of life's labors. He owned a farm of one hundred and forty acres, which he brought under most effective cultivation, bringing to bear those methods and that judgment which insure success. The old homestead farm is now owned by his son, the subject of this review. Samuel W. Trusler was in politics a stanch supporter of the Whig party, and though he had no predilection for official preferment, he was called upon to serve in certain township offices and was for many years a school director, maintaining a lively concern in all that conserved the public welfare. While other members of the family had clung tenaciously to the tenets of the Methodist church, his intellectual powers led him to adopt somewhat more liberal views, and he became a zealous and devoted member of the Universalist church; ordering his life consistently with the faith which he espoused. The death of Mr. Trusler occurred on his farm August 4, 1846, and the community realized that a true and noble character had been withdrawn from their midst. His devoted wife had been summoned into eternal rest in 1838, at the age of thirty four years, her birth having occurred on the 4th of July, 1804.
    Of the children of Samuel W. and Martha (Curry) Trusler five grew to maturity, and of these we offer the following epitomized record: Nelson, who was born in Franklin county, Indiana, May 13, 1822, died at Indianapolis, in 1878, aged fifty six years. He was one of the representative members of the bar of the state and wielded a wide influence in political affairs. He served for three years in the war of the Rebellion, having held commission as colonel of the Eighty fourth Indiana Volunteer Infantry. He had held distinguished public preferment, having served as secretary of state and. being the incumbent as attorney general of Indiana at the time of his death..
    He was engaged in the practice of his profession at Connersville for a number of years, after which he removed to the capital city of the state, where his death occurred. The next of the family is Mrs. Mary J. Barnard, widow of William D. Barnard, of Indianapolis. She was born November 9, 1827. Gilbert, who was born in Franklin county, on the 21st of July. 1830, died in Indianapolis. He was a lawyer by profession, and was engaged in practice at Connersville. At the time of the war of Rebellion he effected the organization of the Thirty sixth Regiment of Indiana Volunteers, with which he went to the front as captain, being promoted major before the expiration of his term of service. He served as mayor of Connersville, was county clerk for two terms and was Fayette county's representative in the state legislature. Thomas J. Trusler was born February 11, 1835. Like his brothers, he was a member of the bar of the state, having been engaged in the practice of his profession in Connersville and Liberty for a number of years, after which he located in Indianapolis. He served as deputy secretary of state under his brother Nelson and also under Hon. W. W. Curry.
    Of the children who grew to maturity the subject of this review, Milton Trusler, was the second eldest, and his career, like that of his brothers, has conferred dignity and honor upon the state. He was five years of age at the time his parents took up their abode on the farm in Jackson township, and at the old homestead he was reared under the sturdy and invigorating discipline of farm life. It is interesting to revert to the fact that he never wavered in his allegiance to the great basic art of agriculture during the long years of his active business life. It is still more worthy of note that for sixty five years he lived on the old family homestead, which is still owned by him and from which he removed only when prompted to seek retirement from the active labors protracted over many years and crowned with merited success. Mr. Trusler received his educational training in the common schools, completing a course of study in the high school at Liberty. He assumed the personal responsibilities of practical business life by engaging in the line of enterprise to which he has been reared from his boyhood days. His original farm comprised sixty five acres, but he has added to it from time to time, as-prosperity attended his industrious and well directed efforts, until he now owns a finely cultivated place of three hundred and twenty acres, well improved with substantial buildings and figuring as one of the most valuable farms in this section of a great agricultural state.
    On the 17th of April, 1894, Mr. Trusler removed from his farm to East Connersville, where, in a pleasant home, he is enjoying the rewards of a life of honest and successful endeavor, well deserving that otium cum dignitate which is his portion as the shadows of his life begin to lengthen into the grateful twilight.     On the 9th of March, 1848, was solemnized the marriage of Mr. Trusler to Miss Isabelle Thompson, a native of Fayette county, and to them were born four sons and four daughters, concerning whom we incorporate the following data: M. Anna became the wife of Daniel Brumfield, a farmer of this county; Laura J., the widow of James M. Backhouse, resides in Connersville; Samuel F. is a farmer of this county; M. Henry, also a farmer of this county; Sidney E. is engaged in mercantile pursuits in Anderson, Indiana; Nina C. is the wife of J. B. Rose, of Miami county, this state; Ira T. is a resident of Connersville; and Juanita is the widow of William A. Stewart, of Connersville.
    In conclusion we will glance at the more salient points in the public or official life of Mr. Trusler. In his political proclivities he was originally a supporter of the Whig party, from which he withdrew to place his allegiance with the new and stronger candidate for public favor, the Republican party, of whose principles and policies he has ever since been a zealous advocate. He has wielded a marked influence in the political affairs of this section, and has served in various township offices. In 1872 he was the incumbent as trustee of Jackson township, a position which he resigned upon being elected to represent his county in the legislature, in which he served as a member of the lower house during the sessions of 1872, 1873, 1874 and 1875. His personal popularity and the appreciation of his value as a representative in the legislative councils of the state were manifested soon after his retirement from the lower house, since he became the successful candidate of his party for the state senate, in which he served during the sessions of 1876 and 1877. In the councils of his party and as a legislator he showed himself to be a man of strong intellectuality, broad and exact knowledge and mature and practical judgment. His influence was at all times cast on the side which looked to the conservation of public interests; his views were marked by distinctive wisdom, and the confidence in his personal integrity and ability was unwavering. In 1892 Mr. Trusler was the Republican candidate for the office of secretary of state, in which connection he made a very thorough canvass during the incidental campaign, but he naturally met defeat at the polls, since that year marked one of the most memorable general land-slides in the history of the Republican party. His strength in the state was shown, however, in the fact that he ran two thousand votes ahead of his ticket. He has a large acquaintance ship throughout the state and has a strong hold upon the respect and confidence of the farming class, with whose interests he has naturally had a most pronounced sympathy. He was for seven years master of the state Grange, in which connection he did active and effective work in every section of the state, striving at all times to spur farmers onward to the point of making agriculture and its allied industries occupy the dignified position which is intrinsically due.     He has done much to elevate the standard of husbandry in Indiana, and no man is more honored among the agricultural classes.
    Mr. Trusler was enrolling officer for Fayette county during the war of the Rebellion and was unflagging in his zeal for the Union cause. Fraternally he is prominently identified with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, being one of the charter members of Everton Lodge, with which he has been connected for more than half a century, and in which he has filled all the chairs, besides representing the lodge a number of times in the grand lodge of the state.
As one of the venerable citizens of Fayette county, and as one whose life has been one of signal usefulness and honor, the publishers of this work realize that even more distinct representation in this connection would not do justice to this well known scion of one of the pioneer families of Indiana, a state which has been honored and enriched by his example
line
EPHRAIM DERBYSHIRE,  M. D.

    Doctor Derbyshire is not only a leading physician of Indiana, but stands as a representative of one of the old and honored families of the state, the name having been identified with the annals of American history from pre Revolutionary times and having ever stood for the staunchest integrity and honor in all the relations of life. The Doctor is a native of Franklin county, having been born near Laurel, on the 17th of February, 1846, a son of James A. and Hannah (Palmer) Derbyshire.
    The Derbyshire family is of stanch old English stock, and records extant show that representatives of the name settled in Bucks county, Pennsylvania, prior to the war of the Revolution, the old family homestead having been located near the town of Yardley, that County. In this old Pennsylvania homestead both the grandfather and the father of the Doctor were born. The former, Alexander D. Derbyshire, passed his entire life in his native county, and he died in the old ancestral home mentioned. He was a weaver by trade, but he devoted the greater part of his life to agricultural pursuits.
James Alexander Derbyshire, the father of the Doctor, was born in Bucks county, Pennsylvania, on the 24th of April, 1817, the son of Alexander Derbyshire, who was likewise a native of the same county, as has already been noted, his death occurring at the age of sixty five years, while his wife passed away when James A. was a child of but three years. On the old homestead James A. Derbyshire grew to maturity, receiving such educational advantages as were afforded by the public schools, and preparing himself for the active duties of life by learning the trade of carpenter. In 1836 his brother-in-law, Joel Palmer, came from Pennsylvania to Indiana to engage in the construction of the Whitewater canal, and in connection with this work Mr. Derbyshire was induced to come to the state in the succeeding year, 1837. His brother-in-law was a contractor, and Mr., Derbyshire found employment with him, being engaged in the construction of locks and bridges on the canal, continuing to be thus employed until work on the canal was suspended. He then turned his attention to agricultural pursuits, having for several years carried on farming operations on rented land in Posey township, Franklin county, where he has ever since continued to reside. In 1846 he purchased his present farm, which is located on section 20, and his enterprise and sound judgment conserved the success of his efforts, and he has been long recognized as one of the representative men of the county, being held in the highest confidence and esteem in the community where he has so long resided.
    In the year 1842 was solemnized the marriage of James A. Derbyshire and Hannah Palmer, daughter of Ephraim Palmer, and they became the parents of seven children, two of whom are now deceased. We here give a brief record concerning the children: Oscar is a resident of Laurel, this county; Ephraim is the immediate subject of this review; Albert and Alexander are residents of the state of Oregon; Caroline is the wife of Prof. Felix Shelling, of the University of Pennsylvania; Elizabeth became the wife of John Withers, and her death occurred several years ago; and William P. died in infancy. Mrs. Derbyshire had been in declining health for some time, and in the hope of relief she went to California in 1886, being shortly afterward joined by her husband. They continued to reside in California for a year, but with no appreciable or permanent benefit to the health of Mrs. Derbyshire. They accordingly returned to their home in Indiana, and the devoted wife and mother survived but a short time after her arrival, her death occurring in Connersville.
    In his political adherency Mr. Derbyshire has long rendered a stanch allegiance to the Republican party and the principles and policies for which it stands sponsor. He was originally a Democrat, but left the ranks of that party at the time of the organization of the Republican party and gave his support to its presidential candidate, John C. Fremont. In earlier years he took quite an active part in local political affairs, and served for some time as a justice of the peace. In his religious views he holds to the faith of the Methodist Episcopal church, of which he is a member. Fraternally he has been long and conspicuously identified with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, being one of the oldest members of that organization in the state. He was initiated into its mysteries in 1839, and has thus been a member for the long term of sixty years. He has on many occasions represented his lodge in the grand lodge of the state, having been a delegate as lately as 1898. On this occasion he received much attention and fraternal deference as a veteran member of the order and as the oldest representative present. Mr. Derbyshire has ever been held in the highest esteem in the community, has ordered his life on a high plane, and is honored as one of the venerable pioneers of the county.
    Dr. Ephraim Derbyshire, son of the venerable gentleman whose life history has just been briefly outlined, was reared on the old homestead in Posey township, securing his preliminary educational discipline in the public schools, after which he completed a course of academic studies in the old Brookville College. After leaving school he learned the tinner's trade, to which he devoted his attention for a time. His ambition and natural predilections, however, prompted him to seek a wider and higher field of endeavor. His ambition was distinctly one of action, and he determined to prepare himself for the medical profession. He began his technical studies in the line, and in 1873-4 he took the course of lectures in the Ohio Medical College. Thus thoroughly fortified by careful and discriminating study, he began the practice of his chosen profession in New Salem, Rush county. Indiana, where he remained until 1880, having built up an excellent practice and established a reputation as an able and skillful practitioner. Desiring to still farther perfect himself for the work of his profession, he then matriculated in the Medical College of Indiana, at Indianapolis, where he completed the full course of study, graduating with the degree of Doctor of Medicine.
    Immediately after   his   graduation   the Doctor   located in  Bentonville, Fayette county, this state, where he continued in the active and successful .practice of his profession until 1897, when he located in Connersville, where his prestige and success have been equally marked. He has a deep appreciation of the responsibilities of his laborious and exacting profession, and not only does he keep fully abreast of the advances made in the sciences -of medicine and surgery, but he is animated by that lively sympathy and ..geniality of nature which are so essential in the true physician. The Doctor is a member of the State Medical Society and also the district association, and at the present time he is the incumbent as secretary of the county board -of health. For the past thirty five years Dr. Derbyshire has been a member of the Methodist Episcopal church, in whose work he has a deep and abiding interest.
    The marriage of the Doctor was celebrated in the year 1868, when he was united to Miss Amy C. French, of Decatur county, Indiana. They became the parents of two children, one of whom is deceased. The surviving child, Catherine, gives additional brightness in the home, which is the center of a cultured and refined hospitality. The Doctor and his family enjoy a ..distinctive popularity in the little city of their home.
    Reverting, in conclusion, to the Doctor's  father,   Jarres  A. Derbyshire, we may say that he is conceded to be the oldest Odd Fellow in the state, and on the occasion of the meeting of the grand lodge,   at Indianapolis,   in 1898, that distinguished body voted him  a medal  in honor of his long and prominent service in the fraternity.     Mr.   Derbyshire's fine farm comprises two hundred acres, under most effective cultivation and  equipped  with  substantial improvements.     On his farm are the local} famed  Derbyshire  falls,  which are known for their picturesque beauty, attracting many visitors to the place.
line
CAPTAIN THOMAS DOWNS

    For many years an active factor in the industrial interests of Connersville, Captain Thomas Downs, through his diligence, perseverance and business ability acquired a handsome competence, and also contributed to the general prosperity through the conduct of enterprises which furnished employment to many. Reliability in all trade transactions, loyalty to all duties of citizenship, fidelity in the discharge of every trust reposed in him, these are .his chief characteristics, and through the passing years they have gained to .him the unqualified confidence and respect of his fellow townsmen.
    Captain Downs was born in Anderson, Indiana, and is of Irish descent; .but at an early day the family was founded in America, and the grandfather, Thomas Downs, removed from his native state of Maryland to Fleming county, Kentucky, in 1800. Thirty years later he became a resident of Franklin county, Indiana, where he continued farming, which he had made his life work until called to his final rest. His wife, who bore the maiden name of Ruth House, was a native of Kentucky, and in their family were three sons and two daughters. Hezekiah Downs, the father of the Captain, was born in Kentucky in 1818, and went with his parents to Rush county at the age of twelve. Through much of his life he followed farming in Madison county, this state, but in 1862 brought his family to Connersville and here his last days were passed.     He died in 18S2, at the age of sixty four years.
    Captain Downs received his scholastic training in Madison county, and in May, 1862, when only sixteen years of age enlisted, at Anderson, for service in the civil war, becoming a member of Company K, Fifty fourth Indiana Infantry. On the expiration of his three months term he re-enlisted, October 2, 1862, becoming a member of Company K, Sixteenth Indiana Infantry, continuing at the front until November 10, 1S65, when, the war having ended, he was honorably discharged at Vicksburg. He was with the Army of the Cumberland and participated in the Vicksburg campaign and the Red river expedition. After the former he was ill for three months with typhoid fever, but with this exception he was always found at his post of duty, faithfully performing every service allotted to him, whether upon the field of battle or on the picket line during the silent watches of the night.
    When the country no longer needed his services Captain Downs came to Connersville, where he has since made his home. For many years he engaged in contracting and building. He was alone in business until January 1, 1874, when he became a member of the firm of Andre, Stewart & Company, contractors and builders and owners and operators of a planing mill. A year later lie purchased the interests of his partners, with the exception of Mr. Stewart, and the firm of Stewart & Downs was organized. This relation was maintained for a year, when Mr. Stewart sold his interest to Mr. Martin, and in 1877, by the admission of Mr. Wait to an interest in the business, the firm of Martin, Downs & Company was established. In 1878 they sold the planing mill to L. T. Bower, but Mr. Downs and Mr. Wait continued together in the contracting and building business. Subsequently they purchased the planing mill of Martin & Ready, and Mr. Ready bought a third interest in the business, operations being carried on under the style of Downs, Ready & Company until January of, 1899, when the Captain withdrew. This firm ran a very extensive planing mill and did the largest contracting and building business in the city for many.Tears. Many of the finest residences and other buildings of Connersville stand as monuments to the enterprise, thrift and ability of Captain Downs, whose commendable efforts made his success well merited.
Into other fields of endeavor also has he directed his  energies  and his wise counsel and sound judgment have contributed to the success of  a number of the leading business concerns of the city. He is a director of the Fayette Banking Company and is a director of the Central Manufacturing Company, which he aided in organizing in 1898, serving as its president the first year. He is a member and director of the Fayette Building & Loan Association, of which he served as president for a number of years. On the 16th of July, 1898, he was appointed assistant quartermaster in the United States Army, with the rank of captain. He was stationed at Jefferson Barracks, Missouri, one of the largest and oldest military posts and distributing stations in the country, having been established in 1827, and entered upon the duties of the office August 8, 1898. He is now stationed at Fort Stevens, Oregon.
    On the 10th of November, 1866, Mr. Downs was united in marriage to Miss Mary J. Eisemann, of Connersville, and their children are: Florence; Susan J., wife of Charles A. Rieman, a florist of Connersville and superintendent of the city cemetery ; Augusta, wife of J. P. Rhoads, who is employed at Jefferson Barracks, Missouri; William, who died in 1888, at the age of seventeen years ; and George, a graduate of Purdue University. The Captain maintains pleasant relations with his old army comrades through his membership in Connersville Post, No. 126, G. A. R., and is now serving as its commander. He also belongs to Otonka Tribe, No. 94, I. O. R. M.; Warren Lodge, No. 17, F. & A. M.; and Maxwell Chapter, R. A. M. An ardent advocate of the principles of the Republican party, he does all in his power to promote its growth and insure its success. He has served as a member of the city council and was on the school board for nine years, acting at different times as its secretary, treasurer and president. The cause of education finds in him a warm friend, who has effectively advanced its interests, and other measures for the public good receive his hearty support and co-operation. He possesses a social nature and jovial disposition, and the circle of his friends is almost co-extensive with the circle of his acquaintances.
line
  THOMAS FITZGERALD

    Thomas Fitzgerald, one of the best-know and most substantial farmers of Fairview township, this county, is a native of the Buckeye state, but has lived in Indiana since he was fourteen years of age.  He was born on a farm in Stark County, Ohio, November 19, 1858, son of John and Honoria (Shea) Fitzgerald, natives of Ireland, whose last days were spent in Jennings County, this state.
    John Fitzgerald was born in County Cork and when a young man left Ireland and come to the United States, locating in Stark County, Ohio, where about two years later he married Hanora Shea, also a native of County Cork, who had come to this country form Ireland about two years before her marriage.  After his marriage, John Fitzgerald remained in Stark County until 1872, in which year he moved to Indiana with his family and settled on a farm in Jennings County, where he followed farming the rest of his life, his death occurring in 1893.  His widow survived him until 1911.  They were the parents of eight children of whom five are still living.  Two of the children died in infancy and another, Mrs. Marie Cox, died about 1899.  Besides the subject of this sketch those living are Timothy, of Indianapolis; William, of North Vernon, and John and Cornelius, who are farming near Butlerville in Jennings County, this state.
    Thomas Fitzgerald was the third son of his parents and was about fourteen years of age when the family moved from Ohio to Indiana and settled in Jennings County.   There he completed his schooling and as a young man worked at farm labor in that country, in Bartholomew County and in Fayette County.  While working in this county he became acquainted with a young woman who lived just over the line Rush County and in 1887 he married her.  After his marriage he rented a farm in Union township, Rush County, and there made his home for ten years.  When he was moving onto that farm neighbors tried to tell him that he would find his landlord a hard man to get along with and that he would not stay on the place a year.  On the contrary, he found his landlord most agreeable and conditions so much to his liking that he remained on the place until 1897 and might have remained longer had not met with the misfortune of being burned out of house and home on October 15 of that year, with an almost total destruction of his household effects.  When the fire broke out a strenuous effort was made to remove the household goods from the burning building, but the piano became jammed in the doorway and thus barred the way of further salvage, very few of the household effects being saved.  After the fire Mr. Fitzgerald moved over into this county and occupied the farm which he now owns in Fairview township, a well-improved and profitably cultivated place of one hundred and fifty-one and one-third acres, and there he has made his home ever since.  In 1907, about ten years after moving there Mr. Fitzgerald and his family again were burned out, their farm house being destroyed by fire.  Following this second misfortune Mr. Fitzgerald built his present substantial house and there his and his family are now very comfortable situated.  Mr. Fitzgerald is a Democrat and takes due interest in local political affairs, but has not been a seeker after public office.  He is a member of the local lodge of the Improved Order of Red Men and takes a warm interest in the affairs of that organization. 
    On January 19, 1887, Thomas Fitzgerald was united in marriage to Kittie Belle Wright, who was born on a farm near the eastern line of Rush County across the line from Fairview, and to this union three children have been born, namely: Hanoria, who married Edward Keller, of Connersville, and two children, sons, Francis and Marion; Mary Helen, who married Joseph Theobald, a farmer of the Strawns Station neighborhood and has two sons, Joseph and Maynard, and John Thomas, who married Bertha Johnson and has remains on the home farm, farming with is father. 
    Mrs. Fitzgerald is a member of one of the old families in this part of the state, her parents, Thomas M. and Matilda C. (Groves) Wright, having been prominent residents of the Fairview neighborhood, where their last days were spent.  Thomas M. Wright was a Kentuckian, born near Millersburg, in Bourbon County, June 3, 1833, and there grew to manhood.  When a young man he came up into Indiana on a visit to the Bakers, kinsfolk of his, who lived then, as now, in the northeastern part of Fairview township, this county, and there he met Matilda C. Groves, a member of one of the pioneer families of that neighborhood, and from that time on she was “the only girl in the world for him.”  They were married on November 30, 1859, and established their home on a farm at the west edge of Fairview, where Mrs. Fitzgerald was born, the old Donovan Groves homestead, where Matilda C. Groves also was born, a daughter of Donovan and Eleanor (Baker) Groves, pioneers of that section and further mention of whom is made elsewhere in this volume.  In addition to his general farming Thomas M. Wright also was widely known as a buyer and shipper of livestock and became one of the well-to-do citizens of that part of the county.  He was for years a justice of the peace in and for his home township and he and his wife were members of the Christian church, in the various beneficences of which they were interested.  Mrs. Wright died on February 4, 1898, and Thomas M. Wright survived her for nearly three years, his death occurring on December 15, 1900.
SOURCE: Fayette County Library Barrows History of Fayette County, 1917 Pages 786, 787, 788 (contributed by Kathy Keller)
line
JOHN BAKER

John Baker, farmer, Fairview Township, was born in Bourbon County, Ky. , February 14, 1803.  His parents, Abraham and Elizabeth (Fife) Baker, were natives of Maryland and Kentucky, respectively.  Abraham Baker, born July 7, 1764, was a son of John and Mary Baker, who, in an early day, moved from Maryland to Kentucky, and there resided the balance of their days.  His wife was a daughter of Abijah and Ellen Fife.  They were married in Mason County, Ky., March 18, 1800, they settle in Bourbon County, Ky., remaining until 1824, when they moved to this county, where Mrs. Baker, died October 5, 1826.  They had a family of eight children:  David,John, Harrison, Mahala, Nancy, Ellen, Eliza, and Daniel.  Mr. Baker subsequently married Margaret Stephens.  They were exemplary members of the Methodist Episcopal Church.  In politics Mr. Baker was a Jacksonian Democrat in early and middle life, but subsequently became a Whig.  He died January 17, 1842.  John, our subject, the second in the family, came with his parents to this county in 1824.  In 1826 he returned to his native county and there married, December 12, same year.  Mary Hannah, born in Bourbon County, Ky., October 30, 1801, daughter of Joseph Hannah, a notive of Ireland.  To this union were born the following named children:  Elizabeth, John H., Eliza M., Sarah M., Harriet, James S>, Mary J., and David.  In February following their marriage our subject and wife moved to this county,, settling on the farm where he has since resided.  Mars. Baker died December 2, 1858.  Our subject began life at the foot of the hill, but by judicious use of his time, and hard labor, he gradually worked his way up until he had amassed a landed estate of 260 acres.  Aughts 7, 1882, h met with a painful accident, dislocating or breaking his hip bone, and has since been deprived of the use of his body.  Politically hs is a Republican.
SOURCE: Fayette County Library Barrows History of Fayette County, 1885 Pages 256 (contributed by Kathy Keller)
line
DAVID BAKER


David Baker, one of Fayette County's best-known retired farmers and substantial old citizen of Fairview Township is a native son of that township, born on the farm on which he is now living, two miles east of Falmouth, and has lived there all his life.  He was born on February 14, 1845, son of John and Mary (Hanna) Baker, both of whom were born in Bourbon County, Kentucky, who became pioneers of Fayette County and here spent their last days, substantial and influential pioneers of the Falmouth neighborhood.
John Baker was born on a farm in the near vicinity of Paris, in Bourbon County, Kentucky, February 14, 1803, son of Abraham and Elizabeth Baker, the former of whom was born on July 7, 1764, and who were married on March 18, 1800, making their home in Bourbon County, Kentucky, where eight children we re born to them, of whom John was the second in order of birth, the others being as follow:  David, born on August 11, 1801; Harrison, April 3, 1805; Mahala, March 13, 1807; Nancy, February 1, 1809; Ellen and Eliza (twins), July 2, 1811; and Daniel, June 22, 1814.  In the fall of 1824 Abraham Baker, seeking land for his sons, came up into Indiana and settle in Fayette County, giving each of his sons a farm in the northeastern part of Fairview Township.  He bought three eight-acre tracts, the place where David Baker now lives, and across the road from that place, where now the Fitzgerald farm is, he bought a quarter section.  On this latter tract he established his home, and there his younger son, Daniel remained with him until his death,  the other sons, John and David, occupying the nearby “eighties”, Harrison selling out ant and moved Wabash County, where he died.  The above three sons spent the rest of their lives on the farms which they opened and cleared back in the twenties.  Elizabeth Baker, wife of Abraham, died October 5, 1826, about two years after settling here in the then wilderness and Abraham Baker survived until January 17, 1842.
In the fall of 1826, John Baker, second son of Abraham, went back to this old home in Kentucky and there on December 12, 1826, was united in marriage to Mary Hanna, who was born in that same community in Bourbon County on October 30, 1801.  The following spring he returned to Indiana with his bride and settled on the farm two miles east of Falmouth, which he had begun to clear in 1824 and where he had put up a log cabin for the reception of his bride, and there he and his wife spent the remainder of their lives, earnest and industrious pioneers of that community.  As he prospered he increase his original holdings there to one hundred and twenty acres and later bought an adjoining tract of one hundred and forty acres on the north.  On that pioneer farm Mary (better known as  “Polly) Baker died on December 2, 1858 and John Baker, her husband, survived her many years, his death occurring in April, 1892, he then being in the eighty-ninth year of his age.  He and his ;wife were the parent of eight children, of whom the subject of this sketch was the last-born, the others being as follow:  Elizabeth, now deceased, who was twice married, her first husband having been William Dickey and the second, Dave Weimer: Harrison and Eliza Jane (twins), the latter of whom died when eight years of age and the form of whom died in April, 1892; James, who lives in Milton: Sallie Ann, who married Guy Jackson and is now deceased: Harriet, who married John Stuckey and lives in Grant County, and Mary Jane, of Falmouth, widow of Tillman Van Buskirk.  David Baker still has the spinning wheel used by his mother, “Polly” Baker, and the saddle bags which his grandfather and his father brought with them from Kentucky.  He also has the old family Bible, a venerable volume bound in sheepskin and printed in New York in 1814, in which is carefully set out the record of births and deaths and marriages in the family of Abraham Baker and of John and “Polly” Baker. 
John Baker and his wife were earnest members of the Methodist Church, as were the formers parents, and took an active interest in church affairs in the early days of the community in which they settled, religious services frequently being held in their home in the days before the settlements had an established house of worship, and their children were reared in that faith.
David Baker has always lived on the farm where he was born and has always followed farming, becoming the owner of a fine farm of one hundred and fifty-eight acres with a nice country home on it.  That farm he sold two years ago, but he continues to make his home there, living with his brother-in-law, who bought the place, and is quite content to spend the rest of his life on the place on which he was born and which he has helped to develop from pioneer times.
On May 8, 1901, David Baker was united in marriage to Dora Iva Pierce, who was born in the neighboring county of Franklin, a daughter of Cornelius and Isabel (Chance) Pierce, who years ago moved from Franklin County to New York Cit, where the father became a member of the metropolitan police force and where he died.  After his death his widow and children returned to Franklin County and presently moved thence to the neighborhood of Morristown, in Shelby County.  There the widow Pierce married again and presently moved back to New York.  Her daughter, Dora Iva, remained in Shelby County until her marriage to Mr. Baker.  She died at her home in Fairview Township in the fall of 1908.  She was a member of the Christian Church.
SOURCE: Fayette County Library  Connersville, Fayette County, Indiana Barrows History of Fayette County, 1917  Pages 995, 996, 997 (Contributed by Kathy Keller)
line
WILLIAM  MERRELL

For many years William Merrell, now deceased, was connected with the business interests of Connersville and Fayette county, and belonged to that class of representative American citizens who promote the public good while advancing individual prosperity. The salient points in his career were sound judgment, unflagging energy, versatility of business talent and capable management, and these brought to him success and gained him distinction as one of the leaders in commercial circles in Connersville. His well spent life commended him to the confidence and esteem of all, and in his death the community lost one of its most valued citizens.
A native of Kentucky, William Merrell was born in Mason county, near Maysville, February 27, 1813, a son of Reuben and Sarah (Helm) Merrell. He was reared and educated in. Maysville, and assisted his father in the work of the home farm until 1S37, when he came to Connersville, Indiana, where he entered upon a mercantile experience, as a clerk in his uncle's dry-goods store.     He subsequently engaged   in the same   line  of business  on  his  own account, being associated in partnership with his father-in-law for some years. They conducted the leading general store in the town, carrying a large stock of goods and receiving a liberal share of the public patronage. Mr. Merrell was also the owner of a large farm just west of Connersville, and resided thereon for a number of years, largely devoting his energies to it- cultivation and improvement. In the field of finance he was equally successful. In connection with James Mount, now deceased, he established the Farmers' Bank in Connersville, and acted as its cashier for a considerable period, making this one of the most reliable and prosperous financial institutions in the locality. He was safe and conservative in his business methods, yet not unprogressive, and his native sagacity, enterprise and reliable methods brought to him a most gratifying success.
On the 1st of November, 1840, Mr. Merrell was united in marriage to Miss Anna K., daughter of Abram B. Conwell. She now resides in Connersville, and is a most estimable lady, having the warm regards of many friends. Nine children were born of their union, namely: Sarah E., of Connersville, the widow of Dr. George Garver, who was a prominent physician here; Charles; William, who has served for a number of years as city councilman, being the only Democrat elected to that office through a long period; Conwell, a farmer; Frank P., who is proprietor of a restaurant in Grass Valley, California; John, who is engaged in farming and makes his home with his mother on the old homestead; Emma, wife of William Havens, of Rushville; Minnie, wife of Andrew A. Norman, of Cincinnati; and Mrs. Anna M. McIlhenry, of New York city.
Mr. Merrell spent his last years upon his farm near Connersville, and there his death occurred. In the business world he ranked with the ablest; as a citizen be was honorable, prompt and true to every engagement; as a man he held the honor and esteem of all classes of citizens, of all creeds and political proclivities. For many years he was identified with the substantial and material development of his adopted county, and was classed among the worthy pioneer settlers who laid the foundation for the present prosperity of this section of the state.
line
FRANCIS M.  BILBY

The subject of this sketch, Francis M. Bilby, of Connersville, Indiana, is one of the prominent and influential farmers and stock dealers of Fairview township. He is a native of Fayette county and has been identified with it all his life. He was born June 5. 1830. son of Stephen C. and Jane (Ludlow) Bilby, and is of English descent. His grandfather Bilby came from England to America on board a pirate ship, by surprise, during the Revolutionary period, and fought for independence in the American army. After the war he settled in Pennsylvania, where his death occurred some years later. His children were John, of Ohio; Joseph, of Terre Haute, Indiana; Stephen C, father of the subject of this sketch; Richard and Mrs. Lois Johnson.
Stephen C. Bilby grew to manhood in Ohio and was married there, and in 1828 came to Indiana, settling in Fayette county. He subsequently entered land in the new purchase at Indianapolis, where he improved a farm. This farm he sold in 1856 and at that time purchased a small farm in Harrison township, where he passed the closing years of his life, his death occurring in 1873. His wife died in 1883, at the home of her son, Francis M. They were old-school Presbyterians, strict in their religious views, and plain and unassuming in manner. By trade Stephen C. Bilby was a blacksmith, and through the greater part of his life followed it, in connection with his farming operations.
The Ludlows were New Jersey people, and it was in that state that Mrs. Bilby was born. She was reared and married in Ohio, to which place her parents emigrated and where they passed the rest of their lives and died. Their family comprised four children: Henry, John, Jane and Osa, the last named the wife of Mr. S. Phipps. Stephen C. and Jane (Ludlow) Bilby were the parents of seven children, as follows: Mrs. Julia A. Wallace; Mrs. Viola Moffit; Salona, who died at the age of seventeen years; Francis M., whose name introduces this sketch; Albert G., a resident of Wayne county, Indiana; Jasper, deceased, left a family; and Mrs. Elizabeth Lenord, deceased.
Francis M. Bilby was reared on his father's farm. After completing his studies in the common schools, he taught school and with the proceeds attended Fairview Academy, in this way obtaining a good education. He remained a member of ins father's household until his marriage, in December, 1854, when he settled on a rented farm, he farmed rented land for seven years. During this time careful economy and honest industry enabled him to lay by a snug little sum, and in 1865 he purchased the farm upon which he has since lived. He has made additional purchases from time to time until his landed estate now comprises over one thousand acres, in Fayette and Delaware counties. Mr. Bilby has always carried on general farming and stock-raising, and since 1850 has dealt; more or less in stock, some¬times buying in large quantities and shipping to market, taking a pride in handling only the best the county afforded. While his operations have in the main been successful, he has had his full share of misfortune, meeting with .losses in many ways. He has lost by cholera as many as a hundred hogs. Throughout his whole career Mr. Bilby's transactions have always been strictly on the square. He has never defrauded any one out of a single penny and he has reason to take just pride in his high standing among the capitalists of the country, who regard his word as good as his bond.
Mr. Bilby married Miss Dorcas A. Etherton, daughter of Stout Etherton, of Ohio, who came to Indiana about 1832 and bought and improved a farm in Fayette county. Mr. Etherton died in Milton, Indiana. He was known as a Whig in early life and was a supporter of the Republican Party from the time of its organization. Religiously he was a Baptist. His children were Charles, Joseph, Aaron and Dorcas A. by his first wife. Charles and Aaron died in early life. Joseph was a volunteer in the Union army during the civil war and died in the army. By his second wife Mr. Etherton had the following named children: Margaret, Mary, Sarah, Nancy. Adeline, Samuel and Sophia. After the death of his second wife, whose maiden name was Rachael Martin, Mr. Etherton married her sister, Sarah Martin. There were no children by this union. Mr. and Mrs. Francis M. Bilby are the parents of ten children, whose names in order of birth are as follows: Charles and Emerson, farmers; Florence, who was the wife of Alva Hardy, died, leaving three children; Mrs. Clara Kendry; Elmar, a farmer; Mary Anna, wife of E. Williams; and Alva E., Morton, Palmer W. and Sherman, all farmers.
Mr. Bilby affiliates with the Republican party and takes an interest in public affairs, but has never been an aspirant for political favors, nor has he ever filled office of any kind, his own extensive business affairs occupying the whole of his time and attention
line
MILES K.  MOFFETT.
The present efficient and popular clerk of Fayette county, Miles K. Moffett, holds and merits a place among its representative citizens, and the story of his life, while not particularly dramatic, is such as to offer a typical example of that alert American spirit which has enabled many an individual to rise from obscurity to a position of influence and renown solely through native talent, indomitable perseverance and singleness of purpose.
A native of Fayette county, Mr. Moffett was born in Fairview township, September 21, i860, and is a son of John and Fanny J. (Hamilton) Moffett, the former of Scotch and the latter of Irish descent. The paternal grand¬parents, Joseph and Salome (Heller) Moffett, were born, reared and married near Chambersburg, Pennsylvania, where they continued to make their home until the removal of the family to Fayette county, Indiana, in 1826, when they settled on Williams creek, six miles west of Connersville. The grandfather, who was a life-long agriculturist, owned and operated a large farm here and in his undertakings met with excellent success. He also built the first gristmill on Williams creek and carried on milling for a number of years. Politically he was first a Whig and later a Republican, and in 1840 served as county commissioner of Fayette county. He died on his farm in 1872, when between seventy-five and eighty years of age. He filled the office of justice of the peace for a number of years, and was long a consistent and faithful member of the Methodist Episcopal church. In his family were seven children, four sons and three daughters, all of whom followed farming.
The father of our subject, who was the oldest son in this family, was born near Chambersburg, Pennsylvania, and was about two years old when brought by his parents to Indiana, almost his entire life being passed on Williams creek, where he engaged in carpentering and farming as an extensive agriculturist and large contractor and builder. He was quite a prominent man and served as county real-estate appraiser for five years. He was a stanch supporter of the Republican party and its principles, and was a leading member of the Methodist Episcopal church of Connersville. He died on his farm in 1874, aged fifty-two years, his wife in 1890, aged sixty-eight. She was a native of Fayette county and a daughter of George Hamilton, who was for many years a prominent and successful farmer of the county, where at one time he owned a large amount of land. Our subject is one of a family of eight children, five sons and three daughters, and with the exception of himself the sons all follow agricultural pursuits.
Reared upon the home farm in Fairview township, Miles K. Moffett attended first the common schools of the neighborhood, and subsequently the Fairview Academy for  one  year and the  Danville Normal School for two
years, graduating in the scientific course at the latter institution in 1884. At the age of twenty he commenced teaching school, and had taught three terms in Fayette county before his graduation. He continued successfully to follow that profession until 1894, and was principal of the Maplewood school of Connersville for the last five years of the time. He was then elected clerk of the county, and so acceptably did he fill the office that he was re-elected in 1898, his present term expiring in 1902.
As a Republican, Mr. Moffett has always taken an active and prominent part in political affairs, was chairman of the county committee in 1896, and is now a member of the Republican state committee. He read law with Reuben Connor, an able attorney of Connersville, and was admitted to practice in 1893; but, having since been engaged in teaching and in the discharge of his official duties, he has not yet engaged in practice. On the expiration of his present term, however, he expects to turn his attention to his profession. He is quite prominent in social as well as political circles, and is a member of Fayette Lodge, I. O. O. F.; Whitewater Encampment, I. O. O. F.; Connersville Lodge, No. 11, K. P.; Connersville Lodge, No. 379, B. P. O. E.; Otonka Tribe, No. 94, I. O. R. M., of which he is past sachem; and is past state president of the Haymakers' Association, a branch of the Red Men. Religiously he is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church of Connersville. He is held in high regard by all who know him, his public service has been most exemplary, and his private life has been marked by the utmost fidelity to duty. On the 4th of May, 1886, Mr. Moffett married Miss Anna Hoak, of Hendricks county, Indiana, and to them have been born two children, a son and a daughter.
line
JAMES M.   McINTOSH

From an early period in the history of the development of Fayette county the name of Mclntosh has appeared frequently upon its records in connection with important public service, and in the subject of this review we find one who has labored most effectively in public office for the public good and is accorded that recognition which is justly due the public-spirited and progressive citizen whose unselfish efforts in behalf of the general welfare have been attended by splendid results. He is one of Connersviile's native citizens, his birth having here occurred on the 14th of November, 1858. He completed the regular public-school course and then entered the DePauw University—the old Asbury University—at Greencastle, being graduated in that institution with the class of 18S0. Soon afterward he began reading law under the direction of Charles Roehl, his father's old law partner, and was admitted to the bar in 1882. His practice has covered a wide range in jurisprudence, demanding a comprehensive knowledge of the principles of law, as well as strength of argument and logical arrangement of evidence in presenting his cause before the court or jury.
Mr. Mclntosh has been honored with a number of public positions. His fellow townsmen, recognizing his worth and ability, elected him to the position of mayor in 1886, and so ably did he administer the affairs of the city that he was re-elected in 1888, serving for four consecutive years.  In 1890 he was elected clerk of the circuit court for a term of four years, and in 1895-6 he represented Wayne and Fayette in the legislature of Indiana. He was an active member on the floor of the house and was the author of the "direct tax" bill for educational purposes, and was a prominent member of the ways and means committee. In politics he is a stalwart Republican, unswerving in support of the party principles, and for ten years he has served as chairman of the county central committee. At one time he served as cashier of the First National Bank, and was formerly secretary and treasurer of the Whitewater Valley Silver Plating Company, occupying that position for a number of years. In September, 1899, he received the appointment of national bank examiner for Indiana upon the endorsements of Senators Beveridge and Fairbanks, and without solicitation on his part.
On the 12th of February, 1890, was celebrated the marriage of James Mclntosh and Miss Anna L. Pepper, of Connersville. Unto them have been born four children, namely: Mary E., Jessie C., Dorothy J. and James P. Mclntosh. Mr. Mclntosh belongs to the Methodist Episcopal church, and is a valued representative of various fraternal organizations, his name being on the membership roll of Warren Lodge, No. 15, F. & A. M.; Connersville Lodge, No. 11, K. of P.; Otonka Tribe, Improved Order of Red Men; and the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks. He is broad in his views and liberal in his judgments, strong in his convictions and earnest in his opinions. He is of a social disposition, courteous and genial manner, and throughout the county in which his entire life has been passed has a host of warm friends.
line
SAMUEL J. SHIPLEY

No death in many years has caused such profound sorrow throughout the county as did the passing away of this venerable citizen of Connersville, Indiana, Lieutenant Samuel J. Shipley, who, by long years of honorable, upright life and kindly nature, had grown into the affections of his fellow citizens to a marked degree. He was born at Wilmington, Delaware, December 24, 1813, and came to this county at the age of six years, making his home here from that time until his death, on July 11, 1897. His parents were Joseph B. and Mary H. (Test) Shipley, the former born near Brandy-wine, Delaware, November 14, 1780, and the latter a native of New Jersey. The family were of English stock and came to America soon after William Penn established his colony in Pennsylvania. They were members of the Society of Friends. Samuel Shipley, the grandfather of our subject, was born December 5, 1775, and married Jane Bennett, a sister of Caleb Bennett, who commanded a company of American soldiery at the famous battle of Brandywine. Four children were born to Joseph and Mary Shipley, viz.: Mary A., born February 29, 1805; Charles, born August 17, 1807; Ella J., born October 15, f8u; and Samuel J. The father died while the children were small, and in 1819 the mother brought her little family to Fayette county and here reared them.
Samuel Shipley was a bright, energetic lad, and it became the ambition of his life to become a sailor. In 1833 he made application for appointment as midshipman, his case being urged by General Jonathan McCarty, then member of congress from Connersville district, who took an interest in the young man and desired his success. His application receiving favorable notice, he entered upon his duties and remained in active service until his retirement, by reason of ill health, many years later. A naval academy was established in Philadelphia in 1839, which later was transferred to Annapolis,. Maryland, and their first class for examination was called before the board in 1840, at which time Mr. Shipley was one of the successful competitors. He was raised to the lieutenancy in 1847, and had a long and successful career at sea, visiting nearlyall the important ports in the world and meeting many exciting and interesting experiences. When the cloud of secession spread over our fair land and threatened the destruction of our beloved government, Lieutenant Shipley hastened to offer his services, and was stationed at Fortress Monroe as executive officer of the Brandy wine." Some two years later in 1863, ill health caused him to retire from the sea and return to his home in this county, where he passed the remainder of his life.
In 1837 Lieutenant Shipley purchased a farm in Harrison township, Fayette county, which became his home. On November 14, 1841, while home on leave of absence, he was united in marriage with Miss Martha Hol-ton, daughter of Rev. Jesse and Jane Holton. The young wife lived but a short time, dying in her twenty-fourth year, in 1846, leaving an only daughter, Jennie, as the comfort and companion of the bereaved husband. Father and daughter spent many happy years together in their beautiful country home, a close bond of love and sympathy binding them the more firmly to each other as the years passed, and his death has been a blow that has been well nigh unsupportable to the beloved daughter. He was a man of great energy and rare judgment, which he carried into all affairs in which he was interested. He was a man of intelligence, and few men had acquired a greater or more varied knowledge, which, coupled with his amiable disposition and companionable manner, made him one of the most remarkable men of his day. He was a manly man, and the honor and esteem in which he was held by all who came in contact with him was but the just tribute to his
worth.
line
JOHN K. JEMISON

The gentleman whose name initiates this sketch, John K. Jemison, of Connersville township, Fayette county, Indiana, is a representative of one of the pioneer families of this county. John Jemison, the father of John K., was born in Kentucky, in 1793. When quite young he was orphaned by the death of his father, and at an early age was " bound out" to learn the trade of tanner. When his time as an apprentice had expired he went to Cumminsville, Ohio, and there he worked at his trade for one year. From Cumminsville he came to Fayette county, Indiana, and located in Jackson town-ship, where he erected a tannery, which was one of the first in the county. His death occurred in 1851. He was married in Cincinnati, Ohio, before coming to Fayette county, to Miss Cynthia Coe, a native of Virginia, who, like himself, was left an orphan in early life. She survived her husband many years. It might be said with regard to that most estimable woman, that previously to her marriage, and while a resident of Cincinnati, she
was employed as a tailoress, a common occupation for women at that time.   She also at the same time cared for a younger sister, the two living together, and while the elder worked at her trade the younger did the housework. Several quite remarkable coincidences were connected with the lives of these two women. Both were married on the same day and each became the mother of seven children, the older having six sons and one daughter; the younger, six daughters and one son. Both of the husbands were named John, and both were natives" of the state of Kentucky. They were tanners by trade and the two had been associated in business for about a year at Cumminsville. The younger returned to Kentucky, but later came to Indiana and settled on a farm, which was his home till death.
John Jemison was an industrious, upright citizen, and his descendants are numbered among the best people of Fayette county. Of his seven children, the daughter and one son have passed away. The surviving members are as follows: Jefferson H. and William, of Jackson township, Fayette county; John K., of this" sketch; Oliver, of Nebraska; and Samuel, also a resident of Jackson township, Fayette county. The daughter, Jane, was the eldest of the family. She became the wife of Abram Myers, and was the mother of ten children, several of whom have passed away. Her death occurred in February, 1899. The deceased brother, Elijah Jemison, left a daughter, who is now the wife of C. Blacklidge.
John K. Jemison was born at the old homestead in Jackson township, Fayette county, Indiana, June 29, 1823, and he, like his brothers, was reared to the occupation of farming. In October, 1850, he was united in marriage to Miss Sarah Ward, daughter of James and Osee (Bell) Ward. Mrs. Jemison was born on .the Wabash, in Parke county, Indiana, August 7, 1834. Her parents were natives of Kentucky, came to Connersville in their youth and were married here. After their marriage they settled in Parke county, later returned to Connersville township, Fayette county, and still later removed to Illinois. The mother's death occurred some years previously to the father's. He afterward married again, and at the time of his death was eighty-seven years of age. Mrs. Jemison is one of a family of eight members, six of whom are living, viz.: Boswell and Marion, wholesale druggists, of Indianapolis; Mrs. Jemison; Mrs. Emily Jemison, of Connersville; Mrs. Ada Guffin, widow of Dr. John Guffin; and Osee, wife of Greenbury Hansan, of Jennings township, Fayette county, Indiana. Those deceased were Belle, who died at the age of twelve years; and Thompson, at the age of seventeen.
Mr. and Mrs. John K. Jemison lived in Jackson township for fifteen years after their marriage, and then purchased the old homestead of his parents, in the same township, where they lived for fifteen years longer, and since then they have occupied their present home near the city of Connersville.    They have two sons: Marion K., at home; and Ward, a druggist of
 Connersville. For nearly half a century Mr. and Mrs. Jemison have journeyed through life together. Their influence has ever been directed toward advancing the interests of the moral and religious conditions of the community, and such have been their lives that they have won the confidence and esteem of all with whom they have been associated. They have long been worthy members of the Methodist Episcopal church, to which their younger son also belongs. The elder son and his wife are members of the Presbyterian church.
line
JAMES   I.   DEHAVEN

James Isaac Dehaven, of Connersville township, Fayette county, Indiana, represents one of the pioneer families of this county. He was born in Harrison township, Fayette county, February 17, 1821; hence his whole life of nearly four-score years has been passed in this county.
His father, Isaac Dehaven, was born in Pennsylvania September n, 1789, and was a son of Samuel Dehaven. The latter emigrated with his family to Kentucky from Pennsylvania when his son Isaac was a lad. From Kentucky the entire family, consisting of Samuel Dehaven, the grandfather of the immediate subject of this sketch, and his sons and daughters, came to Fayette county in 1816 and settled, in Harrison township. Samuel Dehaven had lost his first wife in Kentucky and was the second time married when the family came to Indiana. Samuel Dehaven was the father of quite a numerous family, which included the sons Jacob, Samuel, Jr., Isaac and Christopher. There were also two other sons, by his first marriage, who joined the Mormons and went west with those people and were afterward reported to have lost their lives by drowning. There were two daughters, named Polly and Sally. There were. also two sons and two daughters born to Samuel Dehaven, Sr., by his second marriage.    The grandfather of the subject of this biography entered land in Harrison township and lived there the rest of his life. Isaac Dehaven, father of James I., was a soldier in the war of 1812, as was his brother Jacob. James Isaac has often heard his father tell of his experiences in that war, in which he had some narrow escapes and thrilling experiences.
Isaac Dehaven was married in Kentucky, before the emigration, to Nancy Stucker, daughter of Jacob Stucker. The latter was born in Kentucky August 11, 1764. and his wife March 26, 1773. They became the parents of eleven children, and Nancy was born January 11, 1792. Isaac Dehaven and wife spent all their lives after coming to Indiana in Harrison township. He died March 25, 1875, and his wife December 21, 1865. They became the parents of the following named children: Elizabeth, William, Sally Ann, Jacob, James, Isaac and John H. The last two are the only surviving members of the family. John H. resides in Harrison township.
James Isaac Dehaven grew up, as he says, " in the brush." He had no opportunities for getting even the common rudiments of an education. He lived at home till he was married. The writer was highly amused to hear him relate some of his experiences when a boy. When too young to take part in the clearing up of the land and other heavier work, other duties were required of him such as a boy could attend to. The brush in the early days was exceedingly thick, and the cattle in browsing through it in " fly time '" would often get their tails so wound around the brush that they would be held fast and totally unable to extricate themselves, and were liable to perish unless relief was afforded them. One of the duties of our subject as a boy was to follow the cattle and when one became entangled cut it loose. It was a proud day for him when his father purchased a knife for which he paid two dollars and presented the same to the boy, to use in freeing the cattle that might become entangled by their tails in the thick brush. His boyhood and youth were spent at the homestead of his father in Harrison township.
May 11, 1844, he was united in marriage to Eliza Ann Hamilton, a daughter of Nathaniel Hamilton. He remained at home for a short time after his marriage and then removed to a piece of land at Yankeetown; but in 1846 he settled where he now lives, on section 22, Connersville township, and this has been his home for fifty-four years. He and his wife started in. life with nothing but good health and a willingness to work to build for them-selves a home. Only very little improvement had been made on the place. Their first residence was a round-log house, made of poles and daubed with mud. Their cooking outfit was a skillet and an old-fashioned iron oven for baking " corn pone." Mr. Dehaven has still in his possession this little iron oven, a memento of the early days when he and his good wife started in life together. The first land can that the young couple possessed Mr. Dehaven dugout of a poplar log. This the good wife would also use for other purposes. Fin-ally, after a few years, his father-in-law, who lived near him, substituted for his log house one made of brick, and Mr. Dehaven was permitted to remove the logs of the old house to his place and reconstruct a house for himself, and this was the second residence of Mr. and Mrs. Dehaven. His present resi¬dence was built many years ago. Mr. and Mrs. Dehaven, by hard work and careful management, made good progress in material affairs, and children to the number of nine were given to them. Six of these are living, in 1899, namely: Lucinda, Flora, Minnie, Mary Myrtle, Elbert and John. The other three died in infancy. Mr. Dehaven lost his wife February 3, 1893, after a long illness.
In the accumulation of his propertya fine farm of two hundred acres and all the success he has attained in life, Mr. Dehaven admits that much of it is due to his wife's judgment and advice. He always consulted her in matters of business and generally followed her advice. He is now passing his declining  years in comfort, respected as an honest, upright citizen.

line
RICHARD E. HAUGHTON, M. D.

Dr. Richard E. Haughton, who for forty-five years has been actively engaged in medical practice in Indiana, is one of the most talented members of his profession in the state, and has, perhaps, done as much to elevate the standard of medical excellence therein as any other man. Being of broad and liberal mind, and having enjoyed the advantages of a superior education, he has had the interests of the people deeply at heart, and has keenly felt how completely they are at the mercy of the medical practitioner, who, but a few years ago, before .the present rigid regulations were put into operation, was often the most veritable charlatan, plying his arts to the jeopardy of his misguided patients. By pen and speech Dr. Haughton has used his influence for many decades in the advocacy of higher education and training for physicians, and the limitation of their once almost absolute power over the lives of their patients. He has always stood boldly forth as the champion of progress, and his wonderful influence has been exerted at all times on the side of right and truth.
A son of William and Sarah (Johnson) Haughton, the Doctor traces his ancestry, along both lines, to old English nobility. On the paternal side he is descended from Sir Wilfred Haughton, a baronet of the seventeenth century, and many of his ancestors achieved distinction in the business and professional world and as statesmen and authors. One of the eminent representatives of the family at the present day is Rev. Dr. Samuel Haughton, of Trinity College, Dublin, Ireland. The maternal ancestor of our subject was a nobleman at the court of James I. of England, and his descendants were among the first colonists of Virginia. They were wealthy landholders and slave-owners for some time, but, being associated with the Friends, they came to abhor the principle of human slavery and eventually manumitted their slaves.
William Haughton was born in Carlow, county of Carlow, Ireland, about forty miles from Dublin, in 1804. He was partially educated in Ackworth boarding school, in England, and in 1822 he set out to make his fortune in the United States. At first he located in Fayette county, Indiana, and subsequently removed to Union county, same state. Here for forty-five years he was known as an educator, one of the ablest in the state, and though he taught for several years in the old-time log school-house, he later was connected with some of the leading educational institutions of Indiana at that day. For over a score of years he was a preceptor in Beech Grove Seminary, having under his charge young men from all parts of the country, some twenty states being thus represented. He was principal in the Union County Seminary and thereafter he became a member of the faculty of Earl-ham College, where he continued actively engaged in his beloved work of instructing the young, until, by reason of failing health, he was compelled to resign his position. When he had rested from his labors for a period at Knightstown, Indiana, he could not resist a resumption of his former work, when he was tendered a position as principal in the high school there, and death found him at his post. He died in July, 1878, of paralysis, aged seventy-six years. A birth-right member of the Friends' church, he was a preacher in that sect for a number of years, his life being a consistent and beautiful example of the doctrines to which he was reared. His devoted wife survived him, dying in 1882, when four-score years of age. He had but two children, Richard E., and Mrs. Lucy White, of Texas.
The birth of Dr. R. E. Haughton occurred in Fayette county, Indiana, December 8, 1827. He found an able friend, companion and instructor in his father, and at an early age was remarkably proficient in mathematics, science and literature. When a youth of fifteen he rendered his father excellent service as assistant teacher, and from 1845 to 1849 he devoted a portion of each year to the cultivation and management of his father's farm, helping to pay for the property. In the fall of the year last named, he commenced medical studies with their family physician, but, his father having been called to Richmond, the young man took his place in the Union County Seminary. In 1853, however, he was graduated at the head of his class, with the degree of Doctor of Medicine, in the Cleveland Medical College, where he had pursued the prescribed course of study. For a short time prior to his graduation he had practiced at Knightstown, with a partner, and he now returned, and until October, 1855, he remained in that place. Thereafter he practiced in Richmond for a score of years, meeting with exceptional and merited success.
In the autumn of 1873, Dr. Haughton was urged to accept the chair of descriptive and surgical anatomy in the Indiana Medical College, at Indianapolis, after which he was professor of physiology and physiological anatomy in the College of Physicians and Surgeons., in the same city, for a period of four years. In the summer of 1879 he witnessed the fulfillment of a long cherished desire, the establishment of a new college which should occupy a much higher plane than any of its predecessors. Thus, largely owing to his influence and zeal, the Central College of Physicians and Surgeons was founded in the capital city of the state. This institution was the first one of the kind in the west to require students to pass a general examination ere they were admitted, and the numerous restrictions and regulations which were put in force have proved a safeguard and benefit to the college, whose graduates are proud of their alma mater, in consequence.
A ready, clear and comprehensive writer, Dr. Haughton has wielded his pen for years on a variety of subjects. A valued contributor to the leading medical journals of the day, his articles on the diseases of the nervous system and on Surgery (in which department he is especially expert) have been widely c6pied. Desiring to further qualify  himself in special lines, he took a post-graduate course in Jefferson Medical College a few years ago. Since 1859 he has been a member of the American Medical Association, and is identified with the Indiana State Medical and the Tri-state Medical Association (of Indiana, Illinois and Kentucky). He is an honorary member of the Ohio State Medical Association, and belongs to the societies of Wayne, Marion and Union counties. He assisted to organize the Wayne County Medical  Society and that of Union District. Since1895 the Doctor has again been engaged in practice in Richmond, many of his old patients returning to him, and others, who have known him by reputation, have been glad to retain him as their family physician. He takes great interest in local affairs, and was one of the projectors and original stockholders in the Richmond Street Railroad Company.
In his religious views the Doctor is liberal and independent, as might be expected of one who has been a deep student and has had wide experience. Though he was reared in the Society of Friends, and has the most genuine esteem for that body, he prefers no other guide or rule of conduct than what he finds in the Scriptures, and is opposed to ritualism and formality in worship. After four years' special study of religion, he was ordained a minister in the Methodist Episcopal church, in 1898, though for two-score years he has preached the gospel of Christ, and from his boyhood he has endeavored to lead the life of a Christian.
In the First Presbyterian church of East Cleveland, Ohio, on the 13th of February, 1853, a marriage ceremony was performed which united the destinies of Dr. Haughton and Miss Catherine Meeker. She died December 20, 1867, and left two children: Edward Everett, who is engaged in the real-estate and insurance business in Chicago; and Louanna. The present wife of the Doctor was Miss Elizabeth Mather, a pupil of Earlham College, and a lineal descendant of the famous preacher, Rev. Dr. Cotton Mather. She is an earnest Christian worker and has been for years connected with the Woman's Christian Temperance Union as a national evangelist.

line
THOMAS C. EGAN

Thomas C. Egan, conducting business in Denver under the name of the Egan Printing Company, was born in La Fayette, Indiana, December 28, 1863, his parents being John and Mary (Deegan) Egan. The father, a native of Ireland, came to America about 1835, when a young lad, and settled in La Fayette, Indiana, where he spent his remaining days. He took up the business of merchant tailoring and became quite successful, conducting a profitable establishment as the years passed on. He died in La Fayette in 1902, at the age of seventy eight years. His wife was also a native of the Emerald isle and came alone to the new world about 1836. She, too, took up her abode In La Fayette and there was married to Mr. Egan. They had lived in the same county in Ireland and were sweethearts there. She passed away September 16, 1917, at the age of eight-seven years. Their family numbered six children: Robert, George, Thomas C., and three daughters—Mary, Margaret and Minnie.

Thomas C. Egan was the third in order of birth in this family. He pursued his education in the public schools of his native city to the age of seventeen years, when his textbooks were put aside and he started out to provide for his own support. He was first employed as superintenden't of the news carriers for the La Fayette Courier of La Fayette, Indiana, and later he entered upon a regular apprenticeship at the printer's trade, starting in as "devil" and. continuing to work his way upward until he became a journeyman. He worked in that way in Indiana in various newspaper offices until 1885, when he removed to the west, arriving in Denver on the 20th of June of that year. He was then employed at his trade by the Republican Publishing Company and afterward was connected with the Rocky Mountain News. In 1893 he entered business on his own account, beginning in a small way. He has since been closely associated with the printing business and his interests have grown and developed as the years have passed on. Today in point of time he is the dean in the printing business in Denver and he is now serving for the second term as president of the Colorado Pioneer Printers' Association. His individual interests have greatly increased and he now employs on an average of fourteen skilled workmen and conducts a modern plant equipped with the latest improved machinery and supplied with every facility to promote the work and render the output of the highest class in point of mechanical perfection.

On the 18th of January, 1898, Mr. Egan was united in marriage in Denver to Miss Florence Boggs, a native of Missouri, and they have become parents of three children.

Blanche, Edgar and Lillian, all born in Denver. Mr. Egan has his own home—a beautiful residence at No. 715 South High street. He Is devoted to the welfare of his wife and children and finds his greatest happiness at his own fireside. For rest from business cares he turns to motoring and mountain climbing. In politics he is a democrat where national questions aiid issues are Involved but at local elections casts an Independent ballot. He belongs to the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks and to the Knights of Columbus, which indicates his religious faith to be that of the Catholic church, his membership being in St. Francis De Sales church. He also belongs to the Denver Typographical Union- and to the Denver TypotheUe and he is a member of the Denver Civic and Commercial Association. As the oldest representative of the printing business in Denver he is widely known, having been long associated with the trade in this city. His entire career has been characterized by enterprise and progress. The interests of his Jlfe have been of a varied nature, making his a well developed and well rounded character, and his success Is the result of a careful recognition and utilization of opportunities.


Ira Caldweli>. For forty years a resident of the Blythdale locality, Ira Caldwell has resided on the farm which he now owns for one year less than that time, having in 1875 purchased 120 acres of land in sections 11 and 12, at that time unimproved. During his first year here he built a shelter for his family and a place for the protection of his stock, proceeded to break the sod, and the second year obtained a crop. From that time to the present time he has been engaged in mixed farming and the raising of livestock, and his property is now one of the finest and most valuable in the community, while the little cabin that served him as a home during the first years of his stay here has been replaced by a commodious and handsome country residence. Mr. Caldwell was born in Fayette County, Indiana, May 12, 1839, and is a son of Train and Jane (McClure) Caldwell.

James Caldwell, the grandfather of Ira Caldwell, was descended from a South Carolina family, but was a Kentuckian by birth. Some time after his marriage he took his family from Kentucky up into Indiana, crossing the Ohio River at Cincinnati and following the boundary line of the states north to a point opposite Fayette County, and there awaited the conclusion of the treaty with the Indians which brought the region of Fayette County into the public domain. He then crossed over and entered land and spent the rest of his life in that county. When he crossed the Ohio River, Cincinnati had only four houses and the region of Western Ohio was barely touched with settlements. After he settled in Indiana, James Caldwell followed teaming to Cincinnati, and on one of his trips met with an accident that resulted in his death some time later. He married Mary Loder, who lived to a ripe old age, and they had the following children: Benjamin, who died in Wayne County, Indiana; Train, the father of Ira.

Lucinda, who married James Tiner; Jane, who married William Ross; Mrs. Daniel DeHaven; Jonathan, who died in Rush County, Indiana; James, who died at Lewisville, Indiana; and Frank, who died at Indianapolis. The above brothers were all farmers and stockmen, and worked together in the latter business during the greater part of their lives.

Train Caldwell was born in a block house on the edge of Ohio October 1, 1810, while the 'family waited for the opening of the lauds in Fayette County, Indiana, and he died March 2, 1887, at Connors- ville, Indiana. In Fayette County he spent all his life and within the very atmosphere of his birthplace. His education was of a practical nature and his career showed him to have been a man of business judgment. He raised, fed and shipped stock for many years and at one period of his life was a breeder of fine horses and cattle at Benton- ville. He accumulated a splendid estate during his career. During his life he had no military record, nor did he serve his community in any official capacity, but always gave his support to the candidates and policies of the democratic party. He was reared as a Primitive Baptist, but in after life united with the Christian Church. He was a solid and substantial citizen, greatly interested in .the affairs of -his community, and was taken away at the end of a rather active career. Mr. Caldwell married Jane McClure, a daughter of Samuel McClure, of Irish descent, who settled in Fayette County, Indiana, from Adams County, Ohio. Mrs. Caldwell died in 1869, having been the mother of the following children: James, who spent his life in Fayette County, Indiana; John, who died in the same county; Benjamin, who died in Henry County, Indiana; Nathaniel, who died at Richmond, Indiana; Mary A., who married Lee Fox and died at .Connorsville, Indiana: Ira, of this review; Jonathan, who lives at Cambridge City, Indiana; Sanford, of Fayette County, Indiana; Wilson, of Indianapolis, Indiana. Only one of these numerous sons served the Union during the Civil war.

Ira Caldwell was educated in the district schools at a time when the advantages to be secured in an educational way were of a primitive nature in his locality. He went into the Union army in 1862, enlisting at Lewisville, Indiana, in Company I, Eighty-fourth Regiment, Indiana Volunteer Infantry. His captain was A. W. Fellows and his colonel was Nelson Trussler, and the regiment crossed the Ohio River at Cincinnati and met Kirby Smith's troops at Covington, at which point they participated in a skirmish. The command then went to West Virginia and did guard duty along the Ohio River, and later, in the spring of 1863, the regiment joined General Thomas' army at Nashville, Tennessee, and participated in the fighting during the campaign under Thomas through to Atlanta, Georgia, participating in the engagements at Chickamauga, Chattanooga, Lookout Mountain, Resaca, Ringgold Gap, Kenesaw Mountain, Peach Tree Creek, Buzzard's Roost, Tunnell Hill, and the siege of Atlanta, and finally Goldsboro, where the southerners were defeated decisively. General Hood having retreated toward Nashville, Thomas' command, with others, followed him up and fought him at Franklin and Nashville, where they practically annihilated his army. The command of Mr. Caldwell next went to Hunts- ville, Alabama, and after there spending some time was ordered to Eastern Tennessee, his regiment being engaged in repairing the railroad near Greenville, Tennessee, when the war ended. Mr. Caldwell was mustered out of the service June 30, 1865, without having been wounded or without a hospital record. He went into the service as a duty sergeant, and was orderly sergeant when mustered out, his record having been a most excellent one.

line
ARTHUR R. SAWERS

There is no better indication of a man's real worth and character than the opinion entertained for him on the part of his business associates and colleagues. It is in business where the real nature of the man comes to the forefront, where he may display a selfish greed or a thoughtful consideration of the rights and privileges of others. The salient features in the life of Arthur R. Sawers may be judged from the fact that he was beloved by all who knew him, as much in business circles as by those with whom he came in contact in social relations. He figured for a number of years as a prominent representative of the grain brokerage business and yet was a comparatively young man at the time of his death, having only passed the forty-eighth milestone on life's journey. He was born in La Fayette, Indiana, September 10, 1861, and passed away in Chicago, on the 22d of June, 1910.

His father, James Sawers, was a native of Richmond, Virginia, and was a descendant of an old Scotch family. He married Henrietta Donnelly, who came from the north of Ireland. They had previously settled in La Fayette, Indiana, and were there married, Mr. Sawers becoming closely identified with the business circles of that city as a jeweler.

Arthur R. Sawers pursued his education in the grammar and high schools of La Fayette and following the death of his father attended night school in order to perfect his education, realizing fully that education is an almost indispensable concomitant of business progress and success. At the age of nineteen years he managed the business of William Timberlake, proprietor of a grain elevator at Iroquois, Indiana, in whose employ he had been for some years before. After the removal of Mr. Timberlake to Cincinnati, Ohio, Mr. Sawers went to that city and continued with his former employer for six years. In 1888 he came to Chicago, for Mr. Timberlake had removed to this city and desired to have the benefit of the faithful and able services of Mr. Sawers at this point. In July, 1895, the latter entered the employ of the Calumet Grain & Elevator Company on joint account, and when he disposed of his interests in that company he accepted the management of the interests of the J. Rosenbaum Company at El Paso, Texas, remaining at that point for three months to arrange the business there, after which he went to Memphis, Tennessee, where he continued as manager for the same company for two years. In June, 1905, he returned to Chicago and engaged in the receiving business on his own account, securing a large number of good shippers who trusted him implicitly. He also supplied a number of mills with milling wheat to their liking and made for himself a creditable and enviable position as a representative of the grain brokerage business at this point. For nearly ten years he was a member of the board of directors of the Grain Dealers' National Association and during much of that time served on its executive committee. He attended many of the meetings and did much to promote association work, both state and national. In the early days of combined and cooperative interests of this character in Indiana he contributed largely to the promotion of the La Fayette division which was the forerunner of the state organization. He was likewise a member of the Illinois Grain Dealers' Association. As chairman of the committee which drafted the trade rules of the national association he showed that broad grasp of trade customs and practices and that firm faith in the efficacy of fair play which resulted in rules so equitable that settlements of many trade differences and disputes have been effected by mere reference to the rules. It is said that his genial greeting was long one of the pleasing features in the gatherings of the grain association. The Grain Dealers Journal at his death wrote: "Always thoughtful, considerate and kind, he won a host 'of friends in the trade who will deeply mourn his loss." His remains were interred in Spring Grove cemetery, Cincinnati, Ohio.

line
Thomas B. Ward

Thomas B. Ward, of La Fayette, was born at Marysville, Union County, Ohio, April 27, 1835; his parents removed to La Fayette, Indiana (where he has since resided), in May, 1836; was educated at Wabash College, Indiana, and at Miami University, Oxford, Ohio; graduated at the last-named institution in June, 1855; studied law at La Fayette, Indiana, and was admitted to the bar in 1857; was elected Mayor of La Fayette in 1861, and re-elected in 1863, serving four years; served one term as clerk to the city of La Fayette, and three ternis as City Attorney of that city; was appointed by Governor Hendricks, in 1875, Judge of the Superior Court of Tippecanoe County, Indiana, then newly created, and elected to that position in 1876, serving five years in all as Judge; was elected to the Forty-eighth Congress as a Democrat, receiving 17,357 votes against 16,482 votes for Orth, Republican, and 1,114 votes for Jacks, Greenbacker. Re-elected.

Source: Biographical and genealogical history of Wayne, Fayette, Union and Franklin Counties, Indiana

line

THOMAS W. WORSTER.

Thomas W. Worster is one of the most influential and honored residents of Jennings township, Fayette county, Indiana, and is a member of one of the oldest families in the county. He is a son of James and Nancy (Milner) Worster, and was born on the farm upon which he now resides on February 8, 1828. His grandfather, the Rev. Robert Worster, was a native of England and came to America when a young man in early colonial times. He was a minister of the Methodist Episcopal church and enjoyed the distinction of being the first preacher of that denomination west of the Alleghany mountains. He first located in Pennsylvania, but later moved to Kentucky, and still later came to this county, where he died, in December, 1830, at the home of his son James. He was a remarkable man in many respects, and was an educator as well as a preacher, having taught school many years in this country. He was enthusiastic and earnest in his work and possessed great powers of endurance. That he was blessed with a hardy constitution, is shown by the extreme age which it was permitted him to attain, as he saw one hundred and one summers come and go. His wife was formerly Mary Gorman, a lady many years his junior, who died February 1, 1832. The family have been noted for longevity, and the past and present generations are sustaining well the record. A large number of children were born to Robert Worster and wife, all of whom have passed to the great beyond.

James Worster was born in the state of Pennsylvania, December 31, 1782, and was but a lad when his father removed to Kentucky. His early years were spent in running a flat-boat down the Ohio and Mississippi rivers to New Orleans. He married Nancy, daughter of Amos Milner and a native of Kentucky: her father was a soldier of the Revolution and in the French and Indian wars, and was at Braddock's defeat. James Worster took part in the earlier engagements of the war of 1812, and in the fall of 181 3 came to Brookville, Franklin county, this state. Previously he entered a tract of land in Jennings township, which has remained in the possession of the family ever since and is now the home of his only surviving son. This was one of the first places settled in this township and at the time it was entered the Indians were still numerous in this section, large numbers of them often being seen hunting for game. Although great numbers of Indians fought with England in the war then in progress, it was seldom that these settlers were molested by those infesting this part of the country, owing in a great measure, no doubt, to the kindness with which the whites invariably treated them. James Worster died on the 29th day of September, 1849, in his sixty-eighth year; and his wife, who was born September 1. 1789, died September 24, 1876. They were industrious and highly respected citizens and were prominent in the Methodist church. Nine children were born to them, all of whom, with one exception, reached advanced age. Only two, Mrs. Sarah E. Colby, of Delaware county, this state, and Thomas W., our subject, are now living. Hannah was born July 31, 1806, and died at the age of eighty seven years; Mary J. was born October 16, 1808, and died February 6, 1899; Amos M. was born May 25, 1811, and died at the age of eighty-five years; Robert was born December 7, 1814, and died when about eighty-two; John O., born June 10, 1817, and Lucinda, born November 23, 1822, also attained advanced ages; while Elizabeth died at the age of thirty.

Thomas W. Worster was reared to manhood in this county, and October 26. 1851, was united in marriage with Miss Mary A. Blew, who was born in Union county, Indiana, February 16, 1833, and is a daughter of Jacob W. and Mary (Stout) Blew. The parents of Mrs. Worster were schoolmates and the friendship then formed ended in their marriage. Both parents died, the mother in 1840 and the father four years later, leaving two orphaned children,—Mary A. and James M. Mary was reared by her aunt, Mary Blew. Both parents were descended from Revolutionary stock. Her grandfather, Jonathan Stout, was born in Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, and was a son of a companion of Daniel Boone, the famous Kentucky scout. Both names, Stout and Blew, are familiar in the early history of Fayette county. Both Mrs. Worster and her children are doubly eligible to the orders of Sons and Daughters of the Revolution. The union of Mr. and Mrs. Worster was honored by the birth of six children, viz.: James Austin, born May 21, 1853; John O., October 26, 1856; Charlie S., October 24, 1860; Thomas Lincoln, April 18, 1863, deceased; Mary Jane, August 6, 1867; and Grace H., November 21, 1872. They have four grandchildren: Thomas W., only child of James Austin; Melvin Paul, son of John; and Edna May and Robert Clifford, children of Charles. They are worthy members of the Methodist Episcopal church and are citizens who would be a credit to any community. Fraternally, Mr. Worster is a Master Mason and a member of the order of Odd Fellows.

BIOGRAPHICAL AND GENEALOGICAL HISTORY OF Wayne, Fayette, Union and Franklin Counties, The Lewis Publishing Co 1899

line
DR. JOHN A. CAMPBELL

In the veins of Dr. John A. Campbell, of Steamboat Springs, the blood of the resourceful, ingenious and ever thrifty New Englander mingles with that of the industrious, productive and multifariously useful Pennsylvanian, his father, John Campbell, having been a native of Maine and his mother, whose maiden name was Mary Furry, of that great hive of many-sided and highly serviceable labor founded by William Penn. They were successful farmers and raisers of good stock, and made their final earthly home in Fayette county, Indiana, where the Doctor was born near Connersville on July 14, 1831. The father was a stanch Republican and both parents belonged to the Christian church. Of their ten children five are living, the Doctor, Daniel, James, Mary and Elizabeth. One son named Amos laid his life on the altar of his country, fighting in defense of the Union at the battle of Arkansas Post. The Doctor was well educated, beginning his course of scholastic training in the common schools and finishing it at the Northwestern Christian University, in which is now Butler University, at Indianapolis, Indiana, receiving the degree of Bachelor of Arts. He was also president of Ladoga Academy in 1861-2, receiving his university degree of Master of Arts some time afterward. In 1854 he was ordained to the Christian ministry, and for a number of years thereafter he filled the sacred desk, most of the time in his native state. He was graduated in medicine in 1875 and practiced his profession at Queensville, Indiana, for several years. In 1881 he became a resident of Colorado, locating at Evans, Weld county, for a short time, then moving to Denver, where he remained until 1883 engaged in various occupations. In the year last named he determined to turn his attention to mining, and to this end took up his residence at Breckenridge, where he discovered some valuable mines and remained until 1887 working them and other mining properties. He then sold his interests at Breckenridge and elsewhere at a good profit and moved to Routt county, locating at Steamboat Springs. Here he pre-empted a ranch of one hundred and sixty acres, which is near the town and is steadily growing in value, all the land being tillable and yielding good crops, particularly of hay. With a deep and abiding interest in the general welfare of the county of his adoption, and especially devoted to its moral and educational advancement, he served from 1889 to 1893 as county superintendent of the public schools, being elected twice to this important office. From the organization of the Routt County Pioneer Association he has been its faithful and highly appreciated historian. He also served as bill clerk in the state house of representatives, being appointed as a Republican, he having always been a devoted member of that party and giving it earnest and loyal support. Fraternally he is a Master Mason. On August 10, 1854, he was united in marriage with Mrs. Charlotte Dyer, a native, like himself, of Fayette county, Indiana, born near Connersville. They have had three children, one of whom died in infancy. The two living are Dr. Lucian Dan Campbell, of Denver, and Miss Lucy, who is still at home. Mrs. Campbell’s parents were natives of Virginia who passed many of their later years in Indiana, where they died. They had two children, one of whom, their daughter Casseldonia, died some years ago, leaving Mrs. Campbell the only survivor of the family. The Doctor is a very popular, prominent and highly esteemed minister and citizen.
(Source: Progressive Men of Western Colorado, Publ 1905. Transcribed by Kim Mohler)

line
WILLIAM L. VEATCH

Beginning the battle of life for himself at the age of fourteen in the actual and awful strife of the Civil war, in which he enlisted at that early age and was soon at the front, and after his three-years term of enlistment expired contending with a destiny of toil and often of privation for many years, the subject of this brief review came to his present estate of public esteem and earthly comfort along no primrose path of dalliance and lulled into pleasant slumber on no flowery bed of ease. His was the strenuous life of its most exacting form during much of the time from his very youth. But he was sustained in the struggle by his lofty courage, his native resourcefulness, his sturdy self-reliance and his persistent determination. Mr. Veatch was born at Connersville, Fayette county, Indiana, on September 8, 1848. His educational advantages were few, and he was unable to make full use of what he had. Soon after the beginning of the Civil war, filled with the martial spirit then flooding the country in its hour of peril and need, he enlisted in the Union army and in the midst of the most active field service passed three eventful years. Responsibility educates rapidly, however, and experience, although a hard, is a thorough taskmaster, and his military service much more than made amends for his lack of schooling, and armed him well for all the subsequent trials and dangers he was destined to encounter. After his discharge at the end of his term he returned to his Indiana home and during the next two or three years he remained with his parents. In 1867, at the age of nineteen, an age at which many young men of promise are contending for the prizes of degrees and scholarship, or waiting with hesitant spirit for opportunity to seek or be found for them, he once more essayed the weighty task of building his own fortunes, and moved to Ellsworth, Kansas, where, in partnership with his oldest brother, James C. Veatch, he conducted a hotel, an enterprise in which they were successful and prosperous until 1874, when a disastrous fire swept away their property and business, together with a large proportion of their accumulations. During the next three years he lived the uneventful life of an Indiana farmer. In 1877 he returned to the hotel business and he continued in it until 1884, his location being at Denver, this state. In the year last named the business was sold, and Mr. Veatch moved to Middle Park and bought the improvements on a ranch claim, and once more became a farmer. He remained there engaged in ranching until 1886, when he moved to the White river country among the earliest settlers. Here he followed mining and prospecting in various camps, but still held an interest in the hotel enterprise. He located a ranch of one hundred and sixty acres and soon afterward added another of the same size to his possessions. He set about diligently and with energy to improve his property and continued his efforts with steady progress until he owned a good farm, two hundred acres of which were under cultivation, the ranch being eight miles southeast of Meeker. His principal occupations at this point were ranching and raising stock, and he continued them with profit until he sold out in 1902. In that year he was appointed by the secretary of the interior supervisor of the forest reserve, a position which he is still filling with general satisfaction to all parties interested. He has been generally successful in business notwithstanding his several reverses, and is now one of Colorado’s prosperous and prominent citizens. When he reached the White river country the whole section was sparsely populated and Indians in the region were still numerous, but they gave the whites no trouble. There were few roads and no bridges, and even the common convenience of civilized life were scarce and often unattainable. But the early settlers there were men of hardihood and courage, boldly confronting their difficulties and privations, challenging fate herself into the lists and ready to meet her on almost equal terms. In all the movements for advancement Mr. Veatch took an active and helpful part. He is an earnest and unwavering working Republican in politics, and among the fraternal organizations he has affiliation with four, the Freemasons, the Odd Fellows, its sister organization the Daughters of Rebekah, and the Grand Army of the Republic. His parents were George and Eliza (Baringer) Veatch, the former born in Kentucky and the latter in Pennsylvania. They passed the greater part of their mature lives in Indiana, where they died, the father on February 21, 1875, and the mother on February 28, 1900. The father was a farmer, kept a hotel and conducted a real estate and stock brokerage business, and was very successful. All of their six children are living, James C., in Washington, D.C.; William L., at Meeker, Colorado; Mary E., wife of Hilton B. Hall, at Momence, Illinois, and Nancy C., wife of Tucey Tyler, at Kremmling, Colorado. Mr. Veatch was married on October 15, 1874, to Miss Emma C. Bellows, a native of Missouri, who died in October, 1884, leaving one child, their son Charles E.
(Source: Progressive Men of Western Colorado, Publ 1905. Transcribed by Kim Mohler)

line
SAMUEL TUTTLE
Samuel Tuttle, postmaster of Orange, Fayette county, Indiana, is a veteran of the civil war and a man whose sterling integrity entitles him to the high regard in which he is held by all who know him. Mr. Tuttle is a native of the Pine Tree state. He was born in Passadumkeag, Penobscot county, Maine, October 12, 1840, son of Samuel and Fanny (Sibley) Tuttle, both of whom were born in Maine. James Tuttle, the grandfather of the subject of this sketch, was an Ohio farmer who passed his life and died in the Buckeye state. His children, five in number, were Samuel, James, Church, and Martha, wife of J. Wolf, and another daughter whose name cannot now be recalled. James Tuttle was an Abolitionist and a Republican, and in his religious views he was known as a materialist. General James Tuttle, who has figured prominently in Iowa politics, is a cousin of our subject. The senior Samuel Tuttle grew to manhood on his father's farm in Maine, later in Ohio, and when a young man returned to Maine and engaged in the lumber business, rafting lumber down the Penobscot river. He was married in Maine, and in October, 1850, moved with liis family to Indiana, locating in Fayette county, where he spent the rest of his days in the quiet of farm life. He died in Fayetteville about 1870. Both he and his wife were identified with the Christian church, and she survived him until 1893 She was a daughter of Hiram Sibley, a farmer of Maine. To Samuel and Fanny (Sibley) Tuttle were born four children, namely : Martha, who died in early womanhood; James, a member of the Ninth Indiana Cavalry, died in the service during the civil war; Samuel; and Mary, deceased wife of A. Pettis. Thus Samuel is the only one of the family now living. Of their mother we further record that she was the youngest of a family of four children, the others being John, William A., and Eliza, wife of J. P. Roundy, of Bangor, Maine.
The direct subject of this sketch, Samuel Tuttle, was ten years old when his father moved from Maine to Indiana, and on his father's farm in Fayette county he passed the years between ten and eighteen. He then learned the trade of harness maker, and as a journeyman was employed in work at that trade when the civil war was inaugurated. August 12, 1861, he enlisted at Terre Haute, Indiana, as a member of the Nineteenth United States Iiifmtry, which was mustered in at Indianapolis. His command was sent to Kentucky, where it became a part of the Fourteenth Army Corps, Third Division, and with it he shared the fortunes of war, participating in numerous engagements.
Among the battles in which he took part were those of Shiloh, Stone river, Chickamanga, etc. Sunday night, September 20, 1863, he was taken prisoner by the enemy and sent to Richmond, Virginia, where he was destined to taste the horrors of prison life,-a life which did not soon end for him. He remained at Richmond until February of the following year, when he was transferred to Danville; subsequently was sent back to Richmond and was held a captive until September, when he was released. It was only by stratagem that he avoided Andersonville at the time he was transferred to Danville, and it was by the use of the same means that he obtained his parole. After this he went to Annapolis, Maryland, and was placed in St. John's hospital, where he remained a month, at the end of that time going to Detroit,. Michigan, where he was honorably discharged, his term of enlistment having expired.
At the close of his army service Mr. Tuttle returned to Fayette county, a physical wreck, and it was a year before he recovered sufficient health to enable him to resume work at his trade. As soon as he was able he engaged in work as a journeyman harness maker, and was thus occupied until 1876, traveling about from place to place. In 1876 he returned to Fayetteville, opened a shop and settled here. In the meantime he had married, in Marshall county, Indiana. He worked at his trade here until 1885, when he retired. In May, 1898, he received the appointment as postmaster of Orange post office and has acceptably filled the office ever since.
Mr. Tattle's first wife, whose maiden name was Mary David, was the daughter of W. P. David, a farmer and Methodist minister of Marshall county, Indiana. Mrs. Mary Tuttle died in 1871, leaving an only child, Rosa, who is now the wife of Martin P. Carny, a farmer of Madison county, Indiana. In 1876 Mr. Tuttle married Mrs. Agnes Spangle, a daughter of John Flanders, a native of Pennsylvania. Mr. Flanders was for years engaged in farming in Steuben county, Indiana, and died there. Mrs. Tuttle has one child by her first husband, William Spangle. By Mr. Tuttle she has had three children. The first-born died in infancy and James A. and Mary are both at home. Mr. Tuttle's first wife was a Methodist and his present wife and the two children are members of the Christian church. Mr. Tuttle is an ardent Republican and is identified with the G. A. R. Post, No. 126, at Connersville.
Biographical and Genealogical History for Wayne, Fayette, Union and Franklin Counties 1899
line
AUGUSTUS C. SCOTT.
Of an old Virginia family that was founded in Indiana at an early period in the history of the Hoosier state, Augustus C. Scott is a worthy representative. He was born in the city which is still his home, Richmond, August 4, 1843, and is a son of Andrew F. and Martha Scott. His grandfather, Jesse Scott, was a native of Rockbridge county, Virginia, where he spent his entire life in the occupation of farming. Andrew F. Scott likewise was a native of Rockbridge county, born December 8, 181 1. He was educated in the common schools, was reared on a farm, and in 1838 came to Indiana. For many years he was identified with the growth, development and improvement of Wayne county, and in his death, which occurred March 16, 1895, the community experienced a great loss.
Under the parental roof Augustus C. Scott was reared to manhood, and pursued his education in the schools of Centerville and Richmond, and through this source and by means of reading, experience and observation he has become a well informed man. For many years he has successfully engaged in farming and stock-raising, and is now the owner of two valuable farms. The larger, comprising two hundred and seventy-eight acres of rich land, is situated a mile and a half east of Richmond, while the other, of sixty-three acres, is three miles southeast of Richmond, and both are in Wayne township. Thus conveniently near the city, Mr. Scott gives to them his personal supervision and derives from the property a very desirable income. For a number of years he has successfully and extensively engaged in the raising and selling of stock, and being an excellent judge of stock he makes judicious purchases and profitable sales. His business interests, however, have not been confined to one line of endeavor. He is a man of resource full ability and has been an active factor in the successful control of some of Richmond's leading enterprises. He is a stockholder in the Richmond Natural Gas Company, and also in the Second National Bank, and through these avenues adds materially to his income.
In marriage Mr. Scott was united with Miss Rachel, a daughter of John S. and Rachel (Thorne) Brown, the wedding being celebrated May 3, 188S. They became the parents of four children, namely: Thomas H., now deceased; Andrew F., Martha Mabel and Ruth Eloise, all at home. The family is one of prominence in Richmond, and their home is the center of a cultured society circle.
In his political views Mr. Scott is a Democrat, but aside from casting an intelligent ballot in support of the principles of his party he takes little part in political affairs. At all times and in all places he commands the respect of his fellow townsmen by his upright life, and in the history of the county he well deserves representation.
His father-in-law, John S. Brown, deceased, was born in New Jersey in 1812, and in 1819 was taken to Treble county, Ohio, by the family in their emigration to that point. After growing up he became a successful farmer, ^buying the old home farm of six hundred acres, where Mrs. Scott was brought up. She was the youngest of nine children, eight of whom are still living. Mr. Brown was especially successful in the rearing of live stock, practically carrying out the maxim, "The best is none too good." For about eight years he was connected with a firm in Richmond engaged in packing pork. In his religious views he was liberal, not connected with any church, though by birthright a Friend. In 1836 he married Rachel Thorne, a native of New Jersey, who was engaged in school-teaching before her marriage. She was an active member of the Hicksite Friends' meeting, and was a clerk of the -meeting at her death in 1856. Mr. Brown died in 1879.
Biographical and Genealogical History for Wayne, Fayette, Union and Franklin Counties 1899

line
HEZEKIAH GRUBB.
Jackson township, Fayette county, Indiana, includes among its representative farmers and respected citizens Hezekiah Grubb, whose post office address is Everton.
Mr. Grubb is a native of the township in which he now lives, and was born December 15, 1844, son of Joseph and Mary (Myers) Grubb. Joseph Grubb was a Virginian. He was born in 1815, and when two years old was 'brought by his parents to Indiana, their location being in Union county, where his boyhood days were spent, up to the time he was fifteen, in assisting on the farm work. At that age he commenced working at the carpenter's trade in Fayette county, which trade he followed until he was thirty. He was married in Jackson township, Fayette county. Industrious and economical, he prospered in his undertakings and when a young man invested in land in Decatur county. Afterward he disposed of that property and bought farm land in Jackson township, Fayette county, from time to time making additional purchases until he was the owner of eight hundred acres, which he divided among his children. The latter part of his life was spent in retirement at his homestead, where he died in the year 1892. His wife died in 1876. He was a broad-minded, well-posted man, interested in the public affairs of his locality but never seeking office or notoriety. Politically, he was a Republican. In his early life he was a Universalist in his belief, but later he identified himself with the Methodist church, of which he was a consistent member at the time of his death. Generous, genial and hospitable, possessing in a measure the characteristics of the best pioneer element, he was held in high esteem by the community in which he lived. His wife, whose maiden name was Mary Myers, was of German parentage. Little is known of her family history except that her parents were early settlers of Fayette county, were Christian people and passed their lives on a farm. In the Myers family were six children: Abraham, Mrs. Catherine Bloomfield, Mrs. Sarah Mcllwain, John, Henry and Mrs. Mary Grubb. John and Mary Grubb had a family composed of the following members: John, of Dearborn county, Indiana; Hezekiah, whose name introduces this sketch; Theodore, of Jackson township, Fayette county; Nancy, wife of William Casto; Rachael, wife of G. McLain; Indiana, wife of G. Myers; and Winfield and Marion, both farmers of Jackson township, Fayette county.
Hezekiah Grubb was reared on his father's farm and was educated in the public school near his home, and in time came into possession of a portion of his father's estate, where he now lives. After his marriage, in 1865, he went to Rush county, where he spent one year, at the end of that time returning to this place. Since 1869 he has occupied his present home. He has been engaged in farming all his life, and each season since 1888 has owned and run a threshing machine, doing a profitable business in this line.
Mr. Grubb is a Republican and takes an intelligent interest in all political matters. Since 1894 he has been trustee of Jackson township, giving careful attention to the affairs of this office and filling the same to the entire satisfaction of all concerned.
He was married, in 1865, to Miss Sarah Hood, who was born in Columbia township, Fayette county, Indiana, May 19, 1849, daughter of George and Susanna (Jones) Hood, who came from Tennessee to Indiana at an early day. Mr. Hood improved a farm in Fayette county and here passed the rest of his life and died, his death occurring in 1886. He was a son of Robert Hood, a native of Virginia, who moved to Tennessee, thence to Kentucky and later to Indiana. For many years he ran a fiat-boat to New Orleans He was in the war of 1812 and took part in the battle at which Tecumseh was killed. His children were George, father of Mrs. Grubb; Samuel, a resident of Fayette county; Mrs. Martha Maber; Jane, wife of W. Ball; Jack, of Fayette county; and Robert, who died in Libby prison during the civil war. Following are the names in order of birth of the children of George and Susanna Hood: Mrs. Mary Lyons; Robert, deceased; Sarah, wife of the subject of this sketch; Charlotte, wife of T. Brookbank; Jane, wife of W. Corbin; Albert, of Fayette county; Samuel, who died, leaving one child; Mrs. Laura Mason; Sherman, of Tipton county, Indiana; and John. Mr. and Mrs. Grubb have had two children: Adelia, who died at the age of eleven years; and Norman, a promising young man, who for the past five years has been engaged in teaching school in Fayette county. Mr. and Mrs. Grubb and their son are members of the Methodist Episcopal church.
Biographical and Genealogical History for Wayne, Fayette, Union and Franklin Counties 1899

line
WILLIAM F. DOWNS.
Perhaps no one agency in all the world has done so much for public progress as the press, and an enterprising, well edited journal is a most important factor in promoting the welfare and prosperity of any community. It adds to the intelligence of the people through its transmission of foreign and domestic news and through its discussion of the leading issues and questions of the day, and more than that, it makes the town or city which it represents known outside of the immediate locality, as it is sent each day or week into other districts, carrying with it an account of the events transpiring in its home locality, the advancement and progress there being made, and the advantages which it offers to its residents along moral, educational, social and commercial lines. Connersville is certainly indebted to its wide-awake journals in no small degree, and the subject of this review is the editor of two excellent newspapers of that city. The Connersville Times and the Daily News. Throughout his entire life he has been connected with journalistic work, and his power as a writer and editor is widely acknowledged among contemporaneous journalists.
One of Indiana's native sons, William F. Downs was born in Anderson, Madison county, December 25, 1854, his parents being Hezekiah and Ruth Ann (Chase) Downs. The family is of Irish lineage, and the grandfather of our subject, Thomas Downs, was a native of Maryland. In 1800 he removed to Fleming county, Kentucky, and in that state married Ruth House. Subsequently he came to Indiana, making his home in Rush county. He followed farming as a life work. Hezekiah Downs, who was one of a family of three sons and two daughters, was born in Kentucky in 18 18, and was a lad of twelve years when he accompanied his parents on their removal to Rush county. He, too, was a farmer by occupation, and spent the greater part of his life in Madison county, Indiana, but in 1862 came with his family to Connersville, where his death occurred in 1882, when he had attained the age of sixty-four years. His wife passed away in 1881.
William Francis Downs was a lad of eight summers when he came with his parents to Connersville, and with the interests of the city he has since been identified. He acquired his education in the public schools of Anderson and Connersville, supplementing it with a course in the "poor man's college," the printing office. He early entered upon his journalistic career, and practical experience has made him familiar with the business in every department, as gradually he has worked his way upward through successive stages to the editorial sanctum. He put aside his text-books in the spring of 1868, and on. the 9th of November of that year, when a youth of thirteen, he entered the employ of A. M. & G. M. Sinks, publishers of the Connersville Times, little realizing then that he would one day be the editor of the same journal. Seven years passed during which time he served as compositor and afterward as foreman of the mechanical department, and in July, 1875, he purchased the Times in conjunction with John A. James, continuing its publication for two years, when they sold out to Charles N. Sinks. He afterward did local work on the paper, but in 1880, in connection with John C. O'Chiltree, he again purchased the journal and was connected with it as one of the editors and proprietors until 1882. He then again sold his interest and for two and a half years thereafter was city editor of The Examiner. On the expiration of that period he became city editor of the Times, filling that position until June, 1887. During all these years his original methods of execution, his great facility of perception, his correct and spirited grasp of affairs, all combined to give individuality to his style, bringing him instant recognition not only at home but also in the field of contemporaneous journalism.
In 1887 Mr. Downs extended the field of his labors through the publication of the Daily News, the first successful daily of the city. It made its first appearance on the 9th of June of that year, entering upon what has proved to be a most prosperous existence. His long experience in the field of journalism enabled him to successfully launch the new venture, and so guide its course, that, passing the rocks of disaster, it reached the untroubled sea. In the enterprise he was associated with Mrs. Hull, who owned a half interest in the paper. The plant was located in the Huston building, and from there removed to the National Bank building. On the 20th of September, 1892, the News was consolidated with the Connersville Times, the paper being then owned by J. W. Schackelford, Delia Smith (now Mrs. Hull), and W. F. Downs. The last named has remained as the editor of both journals. Mr. Schackelford disposed of his interest to J. H. Tatman, and the local work was under the superintendence of Bernal Tatman until August, 1895, when Mr. Tatman sold his third interest to Mr. Downs and Mrs. Hull, but in the spring of 1896 he purchased the latter's half interest. Though changes have occurred in ownership, the News has ever remained the same, save for the continued improvement that is being made. As ils name indicates, it is published daily, and is a bright, entertaining journal, devoted to the promotion of local interests and to the support of the Republican party. The Connersville Times is a weekly paper, a six-column, eight-page journal, and both have a large circulation and a splendid advertising patronage. The office and plant owned by the company are most complete, being equipped with the latest improved presses and machinery for turning out the highest grade of newspaper and job work. That the enterprising city of Connersville is well represented by these journals is a fact beyond dispute, and in journalistic circles throughout the state the editor, W. F. Downs, holds an enviable position.
Mr. Downs was married December 25, 1S94, to Miss Helen Carpenter, of Sturgis, Michigan, and they now have two children. Halo and Talcott Chase. In all of the affairs of the city which tend to the promotion of its welfare Mr. Downs has ever manifested a zealous and active interest, his voice and pen being used in influence of their support In 1884 his fellow townsmen gave evident appreciation of his worth by electing him to the office of city clerk, and so acceptably did he discharge his duties that he was re-elected in 1886 and again in 1888, serving for six consecutive years. In 1890 he was elected mayor and again chosen to administer the affairs of the city in 1892. His service was one of much benefit to the city, many needed reforms being secured and many progressive measures being adopted. In politics he is a most ardent Republican. He has been secretary of the Fair Association, and at all times is the advocate of the movements that are intended for the public good. Socially he is connected with Warren Lodge, No. 15, F. & A. M. and has taken the degrees of capitulate and chivalric Masonry. He is also a member of the Otonka Tribe, No. 94, I. O. R. M., and of the Modern Woodmen of America. In manner he is courteous and genial, and among the people with whom he has been so long connected he is very popular.
Biographical and Genealogical History for Wayne, Fayette, Union and Franklin Counties 1899


line
DR. WILLIAM S. VAN METER

The subject of this memoir is a retired physician and surgeon of Thayer and one of those whose Influence for truth and right covers a field for moral work. The biblical quotation, "By their fruits ye shall know them," applies to the conduct of men of the 20th century as much as it did to that of men in the days of miracles or when the Great Teacher uttered the words of this quotation. The progress of Methodism in Kansas owes much to such men as Dr. Van Meter; men who have kept on the firing line in all its moral conflicts and headed all upward tendencies for righteousness and right-living among men.

Dr. Van Meter was born in Fayette county, Indiana, June 25,1827. He is a son of Joel and Mary A. (Crouch) Van Meter, natives of the states of Virginia and Maryland, respectively. The father came into Indiana in 1816, the year of its admission as a state, accompanied by his father, Abram Van Meter. The family settled in the heavy wood and cleared up a farm, a small one for this day. Theirs was the time of blockhouse building to protect themselves from the Indians and many are the lives that would have gone out by the blow of the tomahawk without them. Joel Van Meter's house was the temporary abiding place of the itinerant Methodist preachers and also the place for holding meetings before churches were built. He died in 1891 at the age of eighty-five, his wife dying in 1837 at thirty-two years old.

Our subject is the oldest of five children, only two of whom survive, viz., the doctor and a sister, Cornelia C. Payne, wife of John F. Payne, of Owen county, Indiana. The doctor attended school in Abington, Wayne county, Indiana, and when through with school he studied medicine under Dr. James Rubey at Abington. He began practice in 18I8 in Fulton county, Indiana, where he remained until 1854 when he went to Grandview, Illinois. In 1869 he came to Kansas and located in Neosho county where he took a claim, a tract of land which he improved and still owns. He is retired from active farm work and is devoting the evening of his life to kindly and charitable acts and to promoting the welfare of his family. Dr. Van Meter was married in 1855 to Sarah E. Payne, a daughter of the late W. K. and Matilda Payne. The former died in Illinois in 1886 at the age of eighty-four and the latter died in Kansas at the age of seventy-six years. They were both members of the Methodist church and Mr. Payne was a playmate of Abraham Lincoln in childhood.

Four children were born to Doctor and Mrs. Van Meter, as follows: Myra P., who died at forty years of age, was the wife of T. M. Goode; Joel E., who died at nineteen years; Charles E., who resides on the home farm, is married to Lucy Houghton and has three children; Tillie, George and Joel; and Nannie, Mrs. Charles Wright, wife of a Wilson county farmer. The latter has two children, viz., John W. and Eunice.

The Doctor and Mrs. Van Meter are lifelong members of the M. E. church. The doctor has filled all the offices which are accorded to laymen, superintendent of the Sunday school for thirty-five years and several times a delegate to the annual conference of the church. In 1853 he was made a Mason, has been a charter member of two different lodges - in Edgar and Coles counties, Illinois - has passed all the chairs in the order and, in politics, votes and acts with the Republicans.

One incident which is not directly connected with the history of this family but which is worthy of note and will be of real interest to the descendants of our subjects daughter Nannie: John Wright who lived in Southern Indiana (and was the grandfather of Charles Wright, son-in-law of our subject) was a cousin of Abraham Lincoln and taught a school in which the great president was a pupil.

Dr. Van Meter's remote ancestors were, on his paternal side Dutch, and on the maternal side English. The date of the introduction of the Van Meter name into American biography is very remote in the history of our country and it can be said to have been truly pioneer. 
[Source: History of Neosho and Wilson Counties, Kansas, Pub. by L. Wallace Duncan, Fort Scott, Kansas, Monitor Printing Co., 1902; transcribed by VB]







Return To The Main Index