1884 LAKE COUNTY INDIANA HISTORY
Source: Lake County, Indiana, 1884 : an account of the semi-centennial
celebration of Lake County, September 3 and 4, with historical papers and other interesting records prepared for
Authors: T H B; E H Woodard; Tuthill King; Charles W Cathcart
City of Publication: Crown Point, Ind.
Publisher: Printed at the Lake County Star Office
Transcribed by K. Torp
III. HISTORICAL PAPERS (continued)
The first volume of the history of this county, commencing after its introductory chapter, with the early settlement in 1884, closed with some of the more interesting events of 1872. In this volume some review has been presented of the events connected with our earliest settlement, and the story has been given of our growth for fifty years. Some events and facts presented in that former volume have in this found a new setting. They appear in other connections and in a new light. In this the account of our semi-centennial, or first jubilee celebration, is recorded; and in this are to be found many new, now garnered facts, as the journey of fifty years in length has been re-travelled. All that will now be needful in this paper will be, in the present circumstances, to state briefly some events already mentioned and such as may not be elsewhere recorded in chronological order.
To the year 1873 belongs the commencement of brick-block building in Crown Point, when our first three large halls were opened. In 1874 was organized the First National Bank of Crown Point. In these years also the State Line Slaughter House of 1872 grew into the town of Hammond, the first plot of that town having been recorded in the spring of 1875. Soon a growth there commenced which has made that town, now bearing the name of a city, the first in the county for shipments, for manufactures, and, probably, for population. In 1875 was organized the Old Settlers' Association. An abstract of its different meetings will be found elsewhere. In the centennial year of the nation, 1876, a number of the citizens of Lake county visited Philadelphia. Among these was W. A. Clark, who spent twenty-four days viewing the great exposition, and who wrote for the Crown Point Register a series of interesting Centennial letters.
At a meeting of citizens held at Cheshire Hall, Feb. 18, 1876, a county committee of seven persons-H.G. Bliss, Amos Allman, J. C. Sauerman, Reuben Fancher, John H. Abrams, Peter H. Saylor, Z. F. Summers and J. M. McAfee - was appointed to collect and transmit to the proper committees at Indianapolis specimens of mineral, manufactured, and agricultural products for the centennial exhibit at Philadelphia. To this committee was added, as assistant members for each township, W. L. Tolle, North; P. A. Banks, Ross; W. H. Rifenburg, Hobart; G. F. Gerlach, St. Johns; H. Wason, West Creek; O. W. Clark, Cedar Creek; O. Dinwiddie, Eagle Creek; Loren Hixon, Winfield; H. C. Beckman, Hanover; Z. F. Summers, Center.
In 1876 there were votes cast in the county, for governor 3,187, for congressman 3,148. The candidate for county treasurer, J. C. Sauerman, received 3,069 votes, and John Fisher for surveyor 3,114. The Republican majorities were that year, in this county, from about six hundred to over eight hundred votes.
In 1876 was erected in Crown Point the brick building by Geisen and Fancher. In 1877 the towns of Hobart and Hammond were advancing, and Lowell was waiting for a rail-road, grading having been commenced in 1874.
In 1878 a brick block was erected in Crown Point by Hartupee, Griesel, and J. D. Clark, costing about $15,000, and the new court house was commenced. This was completed and the occupation of the new building dates from Sept. 15, 1879. In this year and the next was built in this county the Grand Trunk road. Several barns were destroyed in 1880 by lightning and fire. At Crown Point was erected a $20,000 school house. Church buildings were completed and dedicated at Merrillville and at Deer Creek. In 1881 another brick "block" or part of a block on the east of the public square at Crown Point was built by John Griesel, Conrad Hoereth, and the Crown Point Bank; another was erected by J. H. Abrams in 1882; and still another by Warren Cole in 1883.
The report of the "Historical Secretary" for Sept. 1881, says: "The past year has been noted for railroad building." After mentioning that the rail had been laid from the Kankakee river through Lowell to the Pan Handle road north of Dyer, and that "the engine every day passes along the western shore of Cedar Lake," that report continues: "Work has been going on this past summer on three other roads that are to cross the county. 1881 may thus far be called the year of railroads in Lake."
In common with the citizens of the whole country, the people of Lake county joined in these demonstrations of sympathy and grief, when our cities were draped in mourning, from the extreme north to the Gulf, at the time of the death of President Garfield in the fall of 1882. Memorial services were held in the large room of the court-house at Crown Point which was filled with a dense throng of sorrowing citizens. Memorial addresses were delivered by a number of our public men. As a part of the exercises an original hymn was sung, of which the following is a copy:
[Transcriber's Note: I omitted the hymn]
The addresses by Judge Field and others were considered excellent for the occasion.
Decoration Day began to be publicly observed by the citizens of Crown Point in 1883, James H. Ball, Esq., delivering the oration. Judge E. C. Field delivered the oration in 1884.
The other events of note for 1883 and 1884 are already in this volume sufficiently mentioned. It remains only to be added that Thanksgiving services were held at Crown Point, Lowell, and at Lake Prairie; at Crown Point union services at the Main Street Baptist church, the Rev. B. E. S. Ely delivering the discourse, text, Ps. 116:12, "What shall I render unto the Lord for all his benefits toward me?": at Lowell union services in the Christian church, by the Rev. W. Crapp, Ps. 50:14, "Offer unto God thanksgiving:" at Lake Prairie, (a New England settlement) a New England thanksgiving sermon, by the Rev. T. H. Ball, text, Ps. 82:5, "If the foundations be destroyed, what can the righteous do?"; that a large and interesting teachers' institute was held, opening on Monday, Dec. 15, one hundred and fourteen teachers having been in attendance and $150 having been expended, the instructors from without the county being Prof. Ford, Miss Crocker, Prof. Brown, and W. H. Bell of the Indiana School Journal; and that the year closed with a cold and snowy winter.
Votes cast in 1884.- For Blaine, 2,214; for Cleveland, 1,901. Prohibition vote: Lowell 11, Eagle Creek 4, West Creek 3, Hobart 3, Winfield 2, Crown Point 1; in all 24. National 7. Whole number of voters about 4,200.
THE OLD SETTLERS' ASSOCIATION.
ABSTRACT OF MEETINGS.
Organized at the court-house July 24, 1875.
A constitution adopted, names of members enrolled.
Met at the Old Fair Ground, Saturday, September 25, 1875.
A rainy morning. After dinner, exercises. Letters from Solon Robinson and Joseph Jackson. Speeches, reminiscences, and a song, "The Indian Captive," by Dr. Wood of Lowell.
2d Meeting 1876. On Thursday, September 14, at the Old Fair Ground.
3d Meeting 1877. On Saturday, September 15. A rainy morning. Met at Cheshire Hall. But few at dinner. Exercises in the afternoon.
4th Meeting 1878. On Thursday, September 10, after the ceremony of laying the corner-stone of the new court-house. Dinner and afternoon exercises at the Old Fair Ground.
5th Meeting 1879. At the New Fair Ground.
6th Meeting 1880. On Thursday, September 9, at Cheshire Hall, At this meeting letters were read from Hon. John Wentworth, Hon. B. W. Raymond, Hon. G. S. Hubbard, Hon. Mark Skinner, Hon. Charles Cathcart, S. B. Cobb, J. N. Bates, Jerome Beecher, Philo Carpenter, and Solon Robinson.
Gurdon S. Hubbard says, in a postscript, "I first set foot on Chicago soil in October, 1818, then sixteen years old."
Some were present from Chicago, and from Dolton.
7th Meeting 1881. At Hoffman's Opera House. Saturday, September 29. The time of the death of President Garfield. A memorial hymn was sung.
8th Meeting 1882. August 19. At Hoffman's Opera House.
9th Meeting, eighth year, at the New Fair Ground. September 5, Wednesday, 1883.
Semi-Centennial 1884. T. H. BALL, H. S.
THE MEETING OF THE OLD SETTLERS.
The early settlers of Lake county met at the Fair Ground on Saturday, September 25, 1875, for their first annual gathering. The morning was rainy, but the clouds soon broke away, the sun shone, and a fair day followed the early showers.
After partaking of a rich dinner in Floral Hall and recalling old memories in brisk conversation, the Association was called to order by the President, W. A. Clark, prayer was offered by Rev. T. H. Ball, and the President delivered the following opening address.
Forty-two years ago tgday this county of Lake, that for beauty of landscape, productiveness of soil, and commercial' position is rapidly advancing toward the front rank of the counties of the State,-was a solitude, the stillness of primeval nature resting over it. The setting sun gilded the smoke that rose from the Indian wigwam, and the simple but barbarous tenants were content with their squaws, their medicine men, and their wars with other tribes. Forty years ago the white man came and took possession of the soil. The Indians were not numerous, and they received their white brothers cordially, introducing themselves under their Indian name, "Ishnawbies.". The whites they called "Shmokomans." Five years later the Indians were removed to the Pottawatomie reservation in Kansas, where their descendants still reside in peace and comfort." I visited this tribe fifteen years ago, and when I told them my house was on their old hunting grounds in Indiana, near the great Lake Michigan, I was immediately surrounded by a numerous group of their old men, who expressed much wonder and interest. There are here today before me men who have seen this county in its original desolation, and, I am happy to say, they have also seen it blossom as the rose. In spring, summer, and autumn they have seen it a sea of flowers and of beauty; then scorched and blackened by the annual prairie fires; and again, in winter covered with ice and snow, a bleak, inhospitable, and trackless waste, with no sign of human, habitation. It is to keep alive and fresh in our memories the incidents, difficulties, privations, joys, sorrows, hopes-and fears of the early days of the settlement of this county, and to enjoy a friendly, social re-union, that we have organized ourselves into this society of "Old Settlers." May we have many pleasant and happy meetings together.
(Read at the meeting of 1879)
I greet you all, old pioneers,
With pleasant words and hearty cheers,
Where yon shall meet this summer day
To celebrate your lengthened stay
In that fair land which erst you chose .
For living homes and last repose.
Alas! look round and count the faces,
And then again the vacant places,
Of those who are and those who were Partakers of our hardships share
In our old band of pioneers,
And give the absent ones our cheers.
I greet you all now once again,
As brothers all and noble men,
Beneath whose hands the wilderness
Did blossom as the rose, and bless
A thousand happy homes and dear,
Which greet you e'er with pleasant cheer.
SOLON ROBINSON, JACKSONVILLE, Florida, July 25,1879.
The list of the original members of 1875 is not at hand and is probably lost. At the meeting in 1879 a list was made out and published in the Register - thirty-six "pioneers" and forty seven "old settlers" having been enrolled at that anniversary. From that list and the list of this year the following list of membership is compiled. After each date the names are given of members settling that year.
1835-John B. Wilkinson, Mrs. P. A. Banks, Loren Hixon, Amos Hornor, James Adams, Mrs. Susan Clark, Mrs. Wm. Fisher, Mrs. H. Robertson, W. A. W. Holton, W. R. Williams.
1836-Dudley Merrill, Charles Marvin, D. C. Taylor, H. R. Nichols, N. Wood.
1837-B. Woods, Henry Hayward, T. H. Ball, Mrs. Moses Phillips, O. W. Clark, Mrs. Betsy Frazier, Z. P. Farley, Joseph Hack, Mrs. James Fuller, George Phillips, Mrs. M. J. Pearce.
1838-John C. Kenyon, Mrs. J. C. Kenyon, Henry Sasse, Senr., J. W. Kenney, Henry Surprise, Henry Sasse, Junr., Adam Schmal, George Willey, David Turner, Mrs. M. J. Hack, Mrs. Cynthia Willey.
1839-J. J. Michael, James Fuller.
1840-L. W. Thompson, Mrs. L. W. Thompson, Mrs. T. Fisher, John Brown.
1842-Mrs. J. H. Luther.
1843-Wm. Brown, Mrs. W. Brown, Amos Allman, Mrs. Elmer Brannon.
1844 -D. K. Pettibone.
1845-Mrs. Susan G. Wood.
1846 -Henry Dickinson.
1848-C. Manahan, Jacob Wise, Mrs. Maria Wise.
1849-J. H. Luther, Mrs. Eliza Marvin.
1850-Henry R. Ward, Mrs. H. R. Ward, T. Fisher, Hull Irish.
1851-George Krinbill, Mrs. G. Krinbill, John Donch, Mrs. S. Witherell.
1852-L. Dresser, Mrs. L. Dresser, Mrs. Barbara Knisely, Major Atkins, Mrs. M. Atkins, Samuel W. Smith, Mrs. George Nichols, James Doak.
1854-Ross Wilson, Mrs. R. Wilson, P. A. Banks, John Martin, Thomas Bowers.
1857-H. Wason, Mrs. H. Wason.
1860-Mrs. Martin Foster.
Dates not given.-Mrs. W. A. Winslow, Mrs. M. J. Dinwiddie, F. C. Meyer, Mrs. M. C. C. Ball, Mrs. F. Foster, C. W. Wise, Moses Phillips, W. A. Winslow, Mrs. J. J. Michael, Mrs. D. A. Chapman, J. W. Bates, Mrs. E. Clark, O. Dinwiddie, A. P. Thompson, Mrs. H. Surprise, Mrs. P. Kenney, L. D. Holmes, Mrs. C. C. Merrill, Mrs. L. Teeple, Mrs. Zeni Burnham, Mrs. J. W. Hughes, Mrs. H. Sasse, Junr., Mrs. Margaret Cilman, Mrs. W. R. Nichols, Mrs. T. C. Rockwell, R. H. Wells, Mrs. J. Fisher, Mrs. D. Turner, Mrs. A. Allman, Henry Pettibone, Alfred Winslow, E. P. Ames, Mrs. C. C. Allman, John Frazier, Mrs. D. C. Taylor, Mrs. Nathan Wood, John G. Hoffman, Joseph A. Little, Mrs. M. G. Little, Mrs. B. Williams, Mrs. Mary Edgerton, Mrs. J. Brown, Mrs. O. G. Wheeler, Mrs. L. V. Serjeant, Mrs. J. Doak, A. J. Pratt, Mrs. A. J. Pratt, Mrs. Smith, Charles Dolton, Mrs. C. Dolton, Mrs. A. Knowlton, Mrs. B. Judson, Mrs. R. H. Wells, B. Brown, Mrs. Brown.
There are probably other members, but their names are not on these two lists of 1879 and 1884.
EXTRACTS FROM ANNUAL REPORTS.
1879.-The death was reported of Mrs. Ann C. Wheeler, daughter of J. D. Jones, who came to Lake county in 1847, widow of Col. Wheeler. She died Jan. 10, 1879, being nearly forty-nine years of age. Also the death of Alexander Clark, son of Judge Clark, who came as a boy among the pioneers in February, 1835, who died of a lingering disease Feb. 22d, 1879, fifty-six years of age. Also of Rev. R. B. Young, a resident for about twenty-five years, who died April 24th, 1879, seventy-four years of age. Also of Mrs. Julia Merrill, wife of O. L. Merrill, daughter of Jesse Pierce, who died May 7th, 1869, twenty-six years of age. Also Mrs. Martha Parrish, widow of an old settler, who died at the residence of O. Pierce, March 3d, 1879, eighty-four years of age. Also Mrs. E. Benton, mother of Mrs. Parley A. Banks, and widow of a pioneer, who died at Englewood, Illinois, July 19th, 1879, eighty-two years of age. Also Zerah F. Summers, who had almost completed twenty-five years of residence, who died July 31st, 1879.
1880.--The death was reported of Mrs. Harriet W. Holton, the first teacher in our county, and for several years the oldest woman in our limits, who died October 17th, 1879, at the residence of her son, William A. W. Holton, being ninety-seven years of age. This report made Sept. 9th, 1880, says:
"A member of one of the pioneer families, Mrs. Annie Turner Morgan, in October last, left the home of her father and the home circle and the land of her birth, crossed the ocean, landed in Europe, and then sailed for Southern Asia, where she is now with her husband and daughter, the first representative from Lake county as a Christian missionary among the heathen."
1881.-From a lengthy report the following is taken. Mrs. J. A. H. Ball died Oct. 14th, 1880, seventy-six years of age. John Mereness died Feb. 1, 1881, nearly seventy-two years of age. In the same month died Jacob Hurlburt, who was with the surveyors here in 1834, who guided Solon Robinson in October of that year to this spot which is now Crown Point, who, then a resident of Porter county, afterward removed into Lake, and at whose "home his fellow pioneers and settler friends were sure of finding the old-time hospitality." The deaths were also reported of two pioneer women, Mrs. J. C. Kinyon and Mrs. Henry Sanger.
Finding human remains at Cedar Lake in October, 1880, was also reported.
1883.-Several interesting items are found in this report given at some length. The deaths are: Hiram Post, a resident in South East Grove for thirty-three years, died Aug. 19th, age eighty-seven years. Mrs. George Fuller, aged sixty-seven years, died Aug. 20th. Asa E. Flint, who came to this county in childhood in 1836, died Aug. 25th, fifty-four years of age. Jacob Platt died August 5th, age eighty-three. Lorenzo D. Holmes, a resident since about 1838, died at Ross in the spring of this year.
Among landmarks removed the following were reported: The first Methodist church building was taken down in the fall of 1882; the Crown Point bakery in July, 1883; and the First Baptist church building, completed in 1856, was taken down in August, 1883.
IV. OTHER RECORDS AND PAPERS.
Some may inquire, What is the value of these family records? Not to name other considerations that may ap-pear for themselves, this may be named in advance. It is granted that it is often desirable to know certain dates as to birth, marriage, and death; and these dates are kept, not in every one's memory, but in old family Bibles. Suppose a fire should consume a dwelling, and with it the family Bible. Then the record has perished. But if it is placed in such a volume as this there is no probability that it will be soon destroyed. Already the authority for some of the dates that will be given is becoming in some of the family Bibles uncertain. A dim worn date cannot always be accurately made out. But nearly all of the dates given in these records may be relied upon as accurate.
The order in which these are arranged is largely one of convenience, not particularly of design or choice. The marginal numbers given mark the generation from the beginning of each recorded line.
Residing with us for a time, one of the citizens of Crown Point of the present year, is WILLIAM E. CARTER, who was born on the boundary line between North Carolina and Virginia, in 1809, his mother being a lady of North Carolina. His parents removed in the fall of that same year to Indiana Territory, settling in what was then Hanover county, which afterward became Washington, and then that portion was set off at length into Orange county. This family settled, the father, mother, and two little children, fifteen miles from any white family, five miles from an Indian village, Indians and wolves abundant about them; so that we had at our reunion a member of one of the true pioneer families of southern Indiana, one who has seen all the growth of the State and about half of our growth as a territory, The first cabin home of the Carter family was the first cabin built in that county. Five brothers of this family are now living; four still in Indiana, four of them Methodists, and one a Quaker, one of them a Methodist minister, of which group of brothers our fellow-citizen, W. E. Carter, is the oldest. Living for many years near Indianapolis, well acquainted in the central counties, one among the active and prominent men of years ago, in 1868 he came into the north part of the State, and is now residing here with the family of his son, J. R. Carter. This pleasant family, father, mother, two daughters, the younger bearing the name EVANGIE, and a young son, make one of the many additions to Crown Point society of these later years.
THE FOWLER FAMILY,
Luman A. Fowler was born in Berkshire county, Massachusetts, October 1, 1809.
He spent in Crown Point the winter of 1834 and 1835 in the little hamlet, on sections five and eight, which afterwards became the town of Crown Point. He was married October 18, 1835, in Wayne county, Michigan, to Miss Eliza Cochran, who was born in Madison county, New York, October 27, 1816.
In December of 1835 these two, then quite young, and just starting out together on the ways of life, became residents in the growing hamlet which was first called Lake Court House. Here Mrs. Fowler, who is still living, has resided for all these years, except a short residence in Will county, Illinois, at Lockport, in 1840.
The account of family expenses here for the first year, which is still in the hands of Luman A. Fowler, of Crown Point, contains at the head of the list this item: "Amount of money paid out from the time of starting to the landing on Robinson's Prairie is 883.00."
The children are: Harriet Ann, born in Lake county, Ind., October 29, 1836. She died in 1863. The others are all living, three not residing in this county. They are: Rollin D., Josephine, A. Emmet, Wm. Stewart, Luman A., Mary Jane, Alta, and Mabel. These are all married, and in these eight families there are, the grandchildren of Mrs. Fowler, now twenty-six children. The third of the nine children, Miss Josephine, now Mrs. Chester Peterson, was born in Lockport, Illinois, February 16, 1840. The others were born in Lake county.
Five brothers and three sisters, children of Christopher Turner, who died in the old home beyond the sea, came with their mother, Mrs. Turner, across the Atlantic, and to Lake county, in 1865. The family home is on the prairie, a short distance from the Centre school house. Mrs. Turner died in 1880. The three sisters married and have pleasant homes in this county, two at South East Grove and one near Plum Grove. They are now Mrs. Nethery, Mrs. Brown, and Mrs. Pearce, three very estimable women, who manifest decided religious principles and are valuable neighbors and friends. Four of the brothers are-also citizens of the county. William Turner married Miss Annie Boyd, and resides between the Grove and LeRoy. They have five sons and one daughter. The youngest are hearty looking twin boys, born last April. The oldest is nine years of age.
Alexander Turner married Miss Lizzie Beber. They are living on the Robinson Prairie. James M. Turner, who resides with his unmarried brother, Thomas, at the family homestead, has lately married Miss Cora Dunn, an interesting and lovely Christian young lady of the Plum Grove neighborhood. John C. Turner, the fifth brother, is in the West. Leaving this county he became a miner, then an assayer of ores, afterward an "expert" in judging of the value of ores, and at length superintendent of mines. As such he travels in California, Montana, and Mexico, being superintendent of several mines for a wealthy company, having received a short time ago a salary of $400 per month. The members of this family brought with them from the Old World the results of that strong religious training, known as Presbyterianism in Scotland and in the north of Ireland, and such, as is shown by thousands who have sought our shores, make excellent citizens in this New World.
Another family of similar principles, the family of HUGH BOYD, came into Lake in that same year of 1865. H. Boyd came with his wife, with one son, James Boyd, and two daughters, Miss Mary and Miss Annie. Remaining for a time at Crown Point, then occupying the Turner-Scofield butter factory and farm, they at length bought one of the old Grove places, which, obtained from the United States by "patent" in 1844, has passed through the hands of two of the Starr family, two of the Flint family, of Joseph Bray, and of Henry Pratt. JAMES BOYD, having married, has built a house and resides on the same farm a short distance east of his father. Miss Mary Boyd still resides at home, one of the teachers of the county. All the family are interested in church and Sabbath school work.
ANDREW HENDERSON, who was born in 1817, who lived twelve years in Philadelphia and two in the state of New York, came into this county in 1855.
His first wife had one son, Charles, and three daugh-ters, Mary, Fanny, and Maggie Jane, Henderson. He afterward married Mrs. Livingston, born in 1836, with whom he is now living in Eagle Creek township, on the Range Line road, some three miles south of LeRoy. Mrs. Henderson has one daughter, Mary Jane Livingston, and they have three sons, Joseph Samuel, Moses Hartwood, and William John Henderson. They are in good circumstances.
1. JONATHAN L. HIPSLEY was born in Maryland, twenty miles from Baltimore, in 1820. He settled on Eagle Creek Prairie, in this county, in 1853. One son, the oldest, is dead. One daughter is living in Ohio, Mrs. S. Stoffer. The other two sons, Reuben and Charles, live on the same small prairie.
2. REUBEN HIPSLEY, the elder of these two, owns the farm just east of his father's, which was formerly owned by William Young. He has a well finished and well furnished house, a large horse and hay barn, and a well constructed house: buildings all, that with their conviences, comforts, and adaptation to a farmer's wants, might be taken as models for a pleasant farmer home and surroundings. Within this pleasant home the visitor will find the mother, an intelligent, refined woman, and two daughters, Miss Carrie, a courteous, thoughtful, gifted girl, now entering "the teens," and winsome, attractive little Ida, not yet three years of age, whose young sister and little brother took wings and went up to Paradise, but whose likenesses will be found upon the parlor wall. This little sister, Alice, was born on the twenty-ninth of February, and never had an anniversary of her birthday, dying before the fourth year came round.
3. CHARLES HIPSLEY lives about half a mile north of his father's, owning what was once the Woodbridge and part of the Humphrey place. He built in 1883 an excellent farmer residence the whole covering an area of fifteen hundred and sixty-four feet. The main part is eighteen feet high giving two stories of nine feet each. The kitchen and wood house part is one story of nine feet. The rooms above and below are sufficiently large, well finished, and very pleasant for their respective uses. The cellar is large with walls of-rock and perfect drainage. The cash outlay for this building was nearly two thousand dollars. Entire cost not reckoned up. The barn and other buildings are very much like those of his brother. Charles Hipsley was married about fourteen years ago to Miss Carrie Blakeman. They have four children: Emma, nine years of age, and little Bessie, two years old; and between these two daughters in age are the two sons, John and Harry.
These three families, the father and the sons, have some excellent farming and grass lands, owning quite largely what were once the Young, the Humphrey, and the Woodbridge farms, with a part of the Hickson lands.
1. OBADIAH TAYLOR was born in Massachusetts. He resided for many years in the state of New York, where were born five sons, Obadiah Taylor, , Adomjah Taylor, Feb. 11, 1792, Horace Taylor, 1801, Leander Taylor, Seymour Taylor, and six daughters, who became Mrs. Dorothy Lilley, Mrs. Betsey Edgerton, Mrs. Almira Palmer, Mrs. Miranda Stillson, Mrs. Rhoda Gifford, Mrs. Rachel Hurlburt. Most, if not all of this large family, became residents in Pennsylvania; and most of them afterward came to the east side of Cedar Lake, where the father and grandfather, Obadiah Taylor, then an aged man, died in 1839, one of his sons-in-law, Dr. Calvin Lilley, dying the same year. As yet no monument marks the spot, in that lone mound or hill-top, where these and other members of the Taylor, Edgerton, and Warriner families are buried.
2. ADONIJAH TAYLOR was born in the state of New York Feb. 11, 1792. He was married Sept. 17,1813, to Miss Lucy Winchester, who was born Aug. 12, 1792, in Connecticut, but was brought up in Vermont.
Children of Adonijah and Lucy Taylor: Israel Taylor, born Jan. 6, 1816, Albert Taylor, Sept. 17, 1818, William A. Taylor, March 17, 1821, Almira and Alvira Taylor, twins, Nov. 4, 1823, (Alvira died Sept. 23, 1835,) DeWitt Clinton Taylor, May 1, 1826, Julia Ann Taylor, Nov. 29, 1828, Calvin L. Taylor, Sept 9, 1831, Lucy A. Taylor, Sept. 1, 1835. Calvin L., a Cedar Lake boy, who grew up to manhood among us, and was baptized in December, 1850, becoming a member of the Cedar Lake Baptist church, died May 29, 1853. (His sister Lucy, then a girl fifteen years of age, and their cousin, the young Esther Edgerton, were baptized in that same December of 1850.)
Adonijah Taylor died September 21, 1843, and Mrs. Lucy Taylor, his wife, who also became a member of the Cedar Lake Baptist church in 1850, died December 10, 1869, being seventy-seven years of age, a highly respected and estimable Christian woman. It had been generally understood that Mrs. Taylor was born in Vermont, as stated in the "Lake of the Red Cedars," but of late it has been ascertained that she went there in childhood, having been born in Connecticut. It appears that while many of the earliest settlers of East Cedar Lake were born in New York or Pennsylvania, the families were largely of New England origin.
3. ISRAEL TAYLOR, the oldest of the sons named above, twenty years of age when he became a resident at Cedar Lake, married Hannah McCarty. Their children are Catherine and Fayette, and one child dying young. This family has resided for a number of years in Iowa.
3. ALBERT TAYLOR, the second son, removed many years ago to Milwaukee, Wisconsin, where he acquired considerable property and married. He has no children. He was for a time a resident of Crown Point, coming here in the spring of 1876, but returned again to Wisconsin.
3. WILLIAM A. TAYLOR, the third son, was married March 3, 1842, to Hannah Caroline Warriner, oldest daughter of Elder Norman Warriner, then Baptist pastor in Lake county. This marriage is the fifty-fifth recorded in the county record book, and the first marriage solemnized by a Baptist minister in this county. (For the earliest marriages in the county see "Lake County, 1834" page 173; and for the Baptist marriages see "Lake of the Red Cedars" page 345.)
Daughter, SABRA MARILLIA TAYLOR, named after the two Mrs. Warriners whose pioneer homes were in 1837 not far from Cedar Lake, the one her grandmother, the other her great aunt. She was born Jan. 12, 1846, and was married Dec. 28, 1864, to James Radley, of Earlville, Illinois, where she is now living. They have no children. W. A. Taylor was again married, after the death of his first wife, to Laura Ann Carl who was born July 1, 1833. Children: Jane Ann, born Nov. 8, 1852. Married July 2nd 1871, to B. Sheffield and now residing near Poplar Bluff, Missouri, having one son living. Charles, born Jan. 8, 1854; died Feb. 13, 1855. Alphoretta A.,better known as Allie A., born Aug. 22, 1858; married Oct. 6, 1877, to Edgar C. Wheeler, of Crown Point. They have two children, Burr Oliver and Annie T.
4. Ross B. TAYLOR, born July 6, 1861.
Hattie Tennessee, born Jan. 11, 1863; married Dec. 24, 1884, to Edward Stonex of Boone Grove, Porter county, Indiana. Marcia L., born April 25, 1871.
3. ALMIRA TAYLOR, the oldest of the daughters of Adonijah and Lucy Taylor, was married to Lyman Mann. They had four children, Amy, Julia, Albert, and Matilda. After the death of L. Mann, Mrs. Almira Mann was married June 21, 1852, to James H. Stringham. A second time a widow, she is now residing in Iowa.
3. LUCY A. TAYLOR, the youngest daughter of Adonijah Taylor, married William Davis. They reside in Kansas and have two children.
2. HORACE TAYLOR, another son of Obadiah Taylor, was born in 1801, and was married in 1820 to Miss Sarah Ann Odell. Their children were, born in Pennsylvania, O. G. Taylor, June 10, 1821, George Taylor, Sept. 15, 1823, Sylvester Taylor, May 29, 1825, Polly M. Taylor, Nov. 4, 1829, Alvin Taylor, March 15, 1832, born in South Bend, Sarah J. Taylor, May 15, 1835, and born at Cedar Lake, Esther Ann Taylor, Jan. 9, 1837.
3. OBADIAH G. TAYLOR, the oldest of the four sons, was married to Miss Julia Ann Taylor, April 30, 1844.
Children and date of birth: Mary Ann, July 20, 1845, Cassius M., Dec. 31, 1847, Josephine, Oct. 25, 1851, Clinton A., Dec. 26, 1854, George W., Feb. 13, 1857, Emma, March 5, 1859, Addie Julia, May 5, 1861, (died July 24, 1861,) Ella May, May 25, 1862 Lucy H., Oct. 16, 1864, Esther Jennie, May 11, 1868, Martha Alice, Aug. 11, 1871. Of these ten living children, the three sons, and five of the daughters are married and live in or near Creston.
Mary Ann married George W. Palmer, Nov. 6, 1860.
Cassius M. married Annie E. McCarty, Jan. 31, 1877.
Josephine E. married Thomas E. A. Vinnedge, Sept. 19, 1872.
Clinton A. married Susan Edgerton, April 26, 1877.
George W. married Ella D. Ross, Feb. 27, 1879.
Emma married Marshal A. Nichols, April 12, 1877.
Ella May married Celestian N. Barber, Dec. 22,1881.
Lucy H. married Kinzie E. Wittier, Dec. 5, 1882.
Sixteen grand-children and two great-grand-children complete the list of the living descendants of O. G. and J. A. Taylor, making twenty-eight in all, and furnishing for a family gathering an assembly of thirty-eight persons, of whom none are yet old.
Miss Jennie and Miss Alice, now in a promising girlhood, still grace the home of their parents, which is now near the rail-road station, the post office, and the church, to which lately, from the farm, their parents have retired to pass the evening of their days.
3. GEORGE TAYLOR, the second of the four sons of Horace Taylor, died May 17 or 18, 1839, at Cedar Lake, in the sixteenth year of his age.
3. SYLVESTER TAYLOR, the third son, married Lydia L. Odell, Dec. 28, 1844, in Chicago. Children: John R., born March 13, 1846, at Cedar Lake, Horace M., March 31, 1855, in Wisconsin, James H., June 20, 1857, at Cedar Lake, Alfred G., Feb. 29, 1860, at Crown Point, Homer B., Nov. 3, 1862, Clara Belle, Nov. 13, 1865, Sylvester A., Dec. 24, 1868.
4. JOHN R. TAYLOR, married Feb. 1872, to Susan Strong, of West Creek. Children: Lydia, Hamlet, Maud, Johnnie.
POLLY M. TAYLOR was married to Loren G. Odell. They Jive in Fillmore county, Minnesota, and have seven children living.
ALVIN TAYLOR, the youngest son of Horace Taylor, who became a member of the Cedar Lake Baptist church and was - baptized Nov. 2, 1851, when nineteen years of age, being exactly two months younger than Herman Ball, of Cedar Lake, who was baptized in October of the same year, went soon afterward to California, and remained there as a resident. He there married a lady from near Richmond, Indiana, and had six children.
1. LYMAN THOMPSON, who was the forty-third member of the Cedar Lake Baptist church, and whose death May 9, 1852, was a great loss to the interests of that church, came to what is now the vicinity of Creston, on Lake Prairie, with his wife and three children, in 1847. On the farm where he settled, now owned by one of his sons, is a prairie height from which one of the finest views of the lake and prairie to be had in this region, can on any pleasant day be enjoyed.
2. Children: Laura Thompson, born Jan. 1840. Married William Scritchfield. Now living in Kansas. Orrin J. Thompson, March 2, 1842, Amos P. Thompson, March 18, 1845, William Thompson, March 16, 1848.
3. Children of O. J. Thompson: John W., Ida Olive, and Clifford James.
3. Children of Amos P. Thompson, who married Celestia Palmer, daughter of A. D. Palmer: Charles Franklin, Irvin James, Wilber Amos, Ella Alvina, Alice Laura.
Mrs. L. Thompson, now Mrs. Loyd, has resided for many years in Lowell.
1. HORACE EDGERTON, born in Connecticut, residing for some years in Pennsylvania, settled in La Porte about 1833, where his first wife, Mrs. Betsey Taylor Edgerton died, leaving seven children, four sons and three daughters, Freedom, Amos, Alfred, Franklin, Amasa, Polly, and the young pet of the household, Esther. With these seven children, in a home without a mother, but having an excellent housekeeper in the person of the oldest daughter, Miss Freedom Edgerton, a fine specimen of Pennsylvania girlhood, Horace Edgerton became a resident on the east side of Cedar Lake in 1836. Three of the sons are yet living in the county, one a business man, a merchant at Crown Point, and two are substantial farmers near Creston on Lake Prairie.
FRANKLIN EDGERTON, the third son, died in his early manhood, about 1842.
2. Amos Edgerton, living at Crown Point, has three sons, Lewis, Horace, and Harmon.
3. Lewis Edgerton, a harness maker at Crown Point, has one son and three daughters.
2. Alfred Edgerton has three sons and seven daughters. One daughter, Flora, married L. Cutler. They have three sons and one daughter.
2. Amasa Edgerton has two sons.
2. Polly Edgerton married Moses Davis. They have one son and four daughters. They live in Kansas.
3. Ida the oldest daughter, is now a wife and mother.
2. Esther, the little girl of years ago, married Willis Barrows, and after his death George Carl. They also live in Kansas.
2. Mrs. Freedom Dillee, the oldest daughter of H. Edgerton, the pioneer, left one daughter.
3. Leanora B. Dillee, that daughter, married A. Scritchfield, and is living in a pleasant home in Creston.
1. JAMES PALMER was born in Connecticut. He was a soldier in the war of 1812. He married Almira Taylor, a daughter of Obadiah Taylor, and came to West Creek township, settling upon Lake Prairie, in 1846. He moved into Cedar Creek township in 1854, and died in August, 1863. He left four sons, Sylvester, Adelbert D., George W., and William; and two daughters now living, Mrs. D. C. Taylor and Mrs. Amasa Edgerton. Sylvester Palmer is in California and William Palmer in Nebraska. George W. Palmer married Miss M. A. Taylor. They live at Cedar Lake. Miss Sophia A. Palmer the youngest daughter was married February 9, 1857, to Henry J. Geer. They both died some years ago. Two of their children yet remain in this county, one son, a youth, and Miss Ida Geer.
2. A. D. PALMER was married in 1849. He commenced business at the old school-house corner about 1868, as successor of Amos Edgerton, was burnt out and removed to his present location in 1875, where he has been postmaster, and dealer in general merchandise, and now a grain buyer. He has nine children, seven sons, Benjamin Franklin, James Calvin, John Dennis, Marcus Adelbert, Charles Fremont, Edward Grant, Jasper Packard; and two daughters, Celestia, now Mrs. A. P. Thompson, and Henrietta, a young "beam of light" now in her father's home.
The sons of Mrs. Miranda Stillson were Seymour, Lyman, Charles, Simon, Leonard, and Riley. Of these the oldest, Seymour Stillson, is dead. Lyman never came to this county. Riley came in his childhood with Dr. Lilley and his wife by whom he was brought up. He went into the army in the last war, and became a captain. He is now living with his family in Chicago. One only of the six brothers remains in the county, Charles Stillson. He has nine children, Seymour, who is in Kansas; Andrew; Mrs. Sarah Ann Burch; Charles, who married in this county; Edward C, who married Miss Ann Loyd; John; Mrs. Garrison; Warren; and Viola who married George Barber.
Hiram H. Scritchfield was born in 1811, and his wife was born near Lexington, Kentucky, January 4, 1812. They came to the Creston neighborhood in 1852, having then been married twenty years. They had seven sons and seven daughters, the youngest son being born in this county. H. H. Scritchfield died in 1868. One son has also died. Mrs. Scritchfield is now Mrs. Jonah Thorn of Lowell. The daughters are: Mrs. T. Cleveland, of Crown Point; Mrs. Alfred Edgerton; Mrs. M. F. McCarty, now Mrs. Snell; Mrs. Reuben Wood; Mrs. O. J. Thompson; Mrs. W. Garrison; and Mrs. W. Pixley; these six residing in or near Creston. The sons are: William, Jackson, Alexander who married Miss Dille and who lives in Creston, Oliver, James, and Richard.
The descendants of H. and Mrs. Hester A. Scritchfield are "thirteen living children, fifty-four grandchildren, and fifteen great-grandchildren, being in all eighty-two. Four sons and their families reside in Pottawatomie county, Kansas." The others are in this county.
DAVID MCKNIGHT settled at Hickory Point, in Lake county, May 15, 1845. He has had six sons and three daughters.
One daughter is now living in the county, Mrs. Maggie Thompson, and three sons. About twenty years ago the family removed to the neighborhood of Le Roy, where the father and mother and three sons with their families now reside. Four of their sons went into the army and fought for the Union in the great Civil War. Two returned to their home.
2. The sons now living in the neighborhood of Le Roy are: James McKnight, who has seven children living, among them some intelligent, courteous young daughters. Into this home no novels come. The reading for the children is selected with care, and is designed to improve their minds and hearts -Robert McKnight, who has a family of six children; and William McKnight, who has two children. The other living brother, John McKnight, resides in Kansas, having left Lake county not long ago.
These families have been already named as members of the Reformed Presbyterian congregation. Exact number of communicants of that church, according to James McKnight is seventeen. They are to settle a pastor at LeRoy in the spring.
1. HEMAN SPALDING was a native of New England. About 1785 he removed to Oneida county, New York. He afterwards removed to Michigan. He had seven sons and two daughters.
2. HEMAN M. SPALDING, one of the sons, was born in 1809. He became a resident in Lake county August 5, 1837. He had five sons and four daughters. Three of these daughters are, Mrs. J. T. Handley, Mrs. Isaac Handley, both having homes and families near Winfield station, and Mrs. George Sims.
3. Of the sons mentioned above, the youngest, Dr. Heman Spalding, is a physician in Chicago. He married Miss Ida Burhans, who died near the close of this year, December 9. James Spalding lives at Sherburnville. He has six children. Joshua P. Spaulding was married. about 1856 to Miss Cynthia Dodge, a daughter of Henry Dodge, then of West Creek, and a niece of Mrs. Blowers, of Crown Point. They have three sons, Milo, Levi, and Henry, and four daughters, Mary, Helen Isabel, and Alice. Miss Mary was married to Albert S. Thompson, June 14, 1877. They now reside in Chicago.
4. Milo Spalding was married about a year ago to Miss Dora Hamilton, and now lives near his father's.
Levi Spalding is one of the teachers of the county.
The other children, except Mrs. Thompson, are yet young and remain at home. Their father was in the Union army in the late war, he was for many years postmaster at West Creek, and now lives at Orchard Grove where he owns an excellent farm. He is well known in the county as a public spirited citizen, now about fifty years of age.
THOMAS CRAFT came to this county soon after James Fuller. He has six sons and four daughters, three sons and one daughter, the latter about sixteen years of age, are now at home. He has a fine stock farm in Orchard Grove and in the marsh. Two of his sons were furnished with a breaking team of six good working horses. The plow at first cut a furrow thirty-two inches wide; but it had been worn off or filed off at this time. The boys were breaking land where the furrows were ninety rods long, and not having a sulky invented then on which to ride, they adopted a different plan from that then generally followed. The horses were well trained, the plow, they found, needed no holding. So one boy took his station at one end, one at the other, to turn the team and plow at each end and send them across without a driver, the boys in the meantime lying down on the grass and watching the trusty horses. Thus they "broke prairie" for some time; but lying so much on the damp ground made the boys sick, and then their mode of "breaking" was made known. The boys learned that it was better for their health for them to keep with the team. On this farm are some good springs near the stock barn.
1. HERMAN UNDERWOOD was born in Duchess county, New York, about 1793. He died twelve years ago at the age of eighty. Mrs. Underwood, who is still living, residing with Mrs. Palmer, was of the Mather family of Connecticut, was born in 1793, and was ninety-one years of age in September of this year. She retains quite well the use of her faculties. H. Underwood's father died when he was about four years old, and no family records of a former generation remain. Of this family, besides the father and mother, there came to this county in 1854 three sons and five daughters.
2. Sons: John Underwood, unmarried. Now living in Kansas. Daniel Underwood, living near Merrillville, having four daughters and one son. Harmon Underwood, who married Miss Esther Lathrop, and who died a few years ago, leaving two daughters, Miss Sylvia and Miss Ruby, and two sons, Herman and his older' brother Norman. Mrs. Underwood and her family have resided for some time in Crown Point.
2. Daughters: Mrs. B. Harper, of Ainsworth, who died some months ago; Mrs. Burge, of Crown Point, who died a few years ago; Mrs. Harper, of Cedar Lake; Mrs. A. Joy; and Mrs. Palmer. The children of Dr. and Mrs. Palmer are: Miss Hattie, William, and Miss Alice. The first has been a teacher, the second is a medical student, and the third is the young story writer of Lake. The Palmer family having resided for a time in Chicago are now living upon their farm north of Crown Point.
1. HENRY FARMER, whose name is upon the list of the settlers of 1836, and from "Bartholomew county," spent here the winter of 1835, and entered here as a settler with his family, having then nine children, in 1836. He came with two wagons, one drawn by six yoke of oxen, the other by three, with two hired men driving a flock of sheep and a herd of cows.
2. Henry Farmer, now living on East and North streets in Crown Point, was one of those young children then; and Mrs. Mason, well known in Center township, and Mrs. E. Hewlick, now of Oregon, are two of the daughters who were in their young girlhood in the spring time of 1836. Another of these daughters, a half sister of H. Farmer, is Mrs. B. Williams, of Crown Point. One of the daughters is dead. Of the sons who came here in childhood, James died in Cali-fornia, Abram lives in Iowa, and Tunis Farmer and Thompson Farmer have removed to Nebraska. Henry Farmer was married in 1852, June 2, to Miss J. Nash. They have three children living.
3. Alpheus A. Farmer, the oldest of these, lives in Quebec county, Kansas. He has a farm and a store, and a small family.
Warren Farmer has just gone to Kansas to commence life. Miss Effie May remains at home attending school.
NETHERY. Three brothers of this family name have lived for some years in the county. John Nethery lives on the north side of South East Grove. He has two daughters and one son living.
His wife was one of the Turner family. His home is very pleasant. The beauty and order of Christian principle and the light of love are there. Alexander Nethery and his small family live east of the Grove. He has a good farm, and has more than ordinary fondness for reading. Thomas Nethery lives on the Kankakee lowland. He is now in Europe.
1. JOHN GEORGE WEISE and Mrs. Eve Weise lived in New Goshenhoppern, in Philadelphia county, Pennsylvania, dates of birth not now known, where was born, December 23, 1751, a son, Adam Weise. The family soon after removed to Heidelberg township, in Berks county. This family were members of the Evangelical Lutheran church.
2. Adam Weise was married February 2, 1772, to Margaret Elizabeth Wingard, daughter of Lazarus and Catharine Elizabeth Wingard, born March 15, 1749, a member of the Evangelical Presbyterian (German Reformed) church. Names of children and dates of birth: Catharine Elizabeth, November 21,1772, Ann Elizabeth, April 28, 1774, John, August, 13, 1776, Anna Mary, June 28, 1778, John Adam, January 24, 1780, all of these except the first having been born in Hagerstown, Maryland, to which place the Weise family removed in 1773, the father, Adam Weise enlisting at Hagerstown and serving as sergeant in the Maryland cavalry in the Revolutionary War, returning in 1782 to Lykens Valley, Upper Paxton township, Dauphin county, Pennsylvania, settling on Wiconiseo Creek, becoming owner there of some three hundred acres of land, where was born John George, January 7, 1786. The Indians becoming troublesome here the family removed to Bethel township, Berks county in 1788, where were born Anna Margaret, February 14, 1789, and Anna Maria, July 21, 1791. The family returned to the old place in Lykens Valley in 1796, and in 1802, settled in Millersburg where were born, Abel, October 3, 1821, Hannah, February 13, 1823, and Frederick Neimon, August 25, 1825, these three being the children of Mrs. Catharine Neimon Weise, widow of James Patton, who was married to Adam Weise, then a widower, December 10, 1820.
Adam Weise was by trade a blacksmith. He was appointed by the Governor justice of the peace February 1, 1799. The commission commences:
"In the Name and by the Authority of the Commonwealth, of Pennsylvania, Thomas Mifflin Governor of the said Commonwealth, To Adam Wise, of the county of Dauphin, Esq., sends Greeting:" It is rather lengthy and peculiar. One sentence is, "To have and to hold this Commission, and the Office hereby granted unto you the said Adam Wise so long as you shall behave yourself well." It thus appears that at this time, or before, the German form of the name was changed to the English form. That the said Adam Wise did "behave" himself well is evident from the fact that "he remained in office thirty-four years, or until his death in 1833." At the time of his death, October 5, in the eighty-second year of his age, there were eleven children, sixty-three grandchildren, and one hundred and thirty-three great grandchildren; and it is said by Frederick Neimon Wise of Lykens, that now, after fifty years, the descendants of Adam Wise are "scattered in nearly every state of the Union, especially in the West."
3. John George Wise, born in 1786, January 7, was married to Charlotte Mone in 1808, removed to Fairfield county, then to Westmoreland, afterward to the state of Ohio, and died in Lake county, at the home of his son, in 1859, and was buried in the Deer Creek cemetery. He had six sons who reached manhood and two daughters who grew up to womanhood.
4. Jacob Wise, one of the six sons mentioned above, was born in Dauphin county, January 20, 1817, and was five years of age when the family removed to Fairfield. He came to Lake county in 1849. He was first married July 4, 1838, and again December 21, 1843.
5. Children of J. Wise: Henry W. born November 19, 1839. Cornelius W. July 30, 1841, Maria E. December 7, 1842, James M. March 30, 1845, Laura J. May 18, 1847, .and George M. born December 25, 1848. Also Amanda F. March 4, 1851, Margaret L. January 3, 1857, and Martha E. born October 15,1858. Of these Maria E. Wise died in March, 1845.
Marriages. Cornelius W. Wise and Sarah Wilson September 1864. Laura J. and Phillip Teeple September 27, 1866. Henry W. Wise and Eliza C. Alyea December 25, 1867. Amanda F. and George W. Didie, January 9, 1873. James M. Wise and Ellen J. Murphy December 15, 1874.
Margaret L. and David Wilson January 22, 1879, and Martha E. and James C. McNeal February 8, 1882.
6. Number of grandchildren of the sixth generation eighteen.
The grandparents of these children are now living in Crown Point, to which town so many farmers have of late years retired. They have built a good brick house and are very pleasantly situated for home comforts.
1. JONN H. PATTEN, born January 10, 1801, came to Lake county in July, 1852, and died here November 14, 1865. He had nine sons and seven daughters. Mrs. Patten, his wife, was born in 1799, and died May 16, 1867.
2. Sons: David went to California, did not come to Lake.
Robert Patten was a physician; had no children. Lives in Kansas.
John Patten has three sons and two daughters. He now lives in Iowa.
Seymour Patten has one son and three daughters.
William Patten has one son and four daughters.
James Patten has one son and four daughters.
Joseph Patten has three daughters.
Thomas Patten now lives in California. He has two daughters.
Henry Patten, who is dead, had two sons and one daughter. These are not now residents of the county.
Daughters: Mrs. R. Everts has two sons and four daughters.
Mrs. C. Colby has one son, John Colby, telegraph operator and real estate agent, now in Nebraska, a Crown Point boy; and five daughters, four married.
The third daughter was not a resident of our county. She lives in Pennsylvania, Mrs. Anna Folsom Mrs. Eliza Jane Reeves lived in Ohio, never resided in this county.
Mrs. Joanna Border lived here for some time, and then removed west; probably now in California.
Miss Johanna Patten is the sixth daughter.
Mrs. Susanna Knoph is the seventh. No children.
It appears from the above record that four of the brothers, substantial farmers, now live in the county, one having retired from his farm to Crown Point; and that four of the daughters still reside in the county.
3. Of the third generation there are connected with the above families in Lake county, twenty-eight, some not now in the county.
4. Of the fourth generation, great-grandchildren of John H. Patten, there are now thirty.
It is the custom of these families to meet at some one of their homes each year for a Christmas and a New Years' dinner, and these gatherings are large and pleasant.
1. James Fuller came to this county about 1840. He had considerable means. He had nine sons and at least one daughter. This daughter married Abram Nichols.
2 The names of the sons are here given and the number of their children. Oliver Fuller had four sons and four daughters. He
and his wife are both dead. James Fuller had one son. He also is dead. Aaron Fuller had six children. He now lives in Texas and his children are scattered. Archibald Fuller had four sons and four daughters. He is also dead. Frank Fuller, who married a daughter of George Ferguson, who was an early settler in the Belshaw neighborhood, has for several years been living at Crown Point. He has two sons and seven daughters. Five of the daughters are married and one son. Benjamin Fuller had one son and two daughters. He is not now living. Richard Fuller has eleven children, most of them at home. He lives in the south part of the county. Woodbury Fuller had two sons. He was killed in the army. John M. Fuller has five sons and three daughters. He now lives in the Kankakee lowland. One daughter, Miss Jennie, married Warren W. Dickinson; and one, Miss Alvaretta, married Charles Edwin McNay.
3. Of the third generation, the grandchildren of James Fuller, according to the above numbers, there are fifty-six; but not all now in this county.
1. Thaddeus Fuller was a brother of James Fuller. He had two sons, George and Robert.
2. Robert Fuller had two children.
2. George Fuller had two sons, Watt and Matthew; and two daughters, Mrs. Kenney and Mrs. C. Handley.
3. Watt Fuller has three daughters, one of whom is married. He lives in Kansas.
EWER AND WEMPLE.
Frederick Alexander Ewer, was married in Lake county, June 17, 1871, to Mrs. Adelia Louisa Wemple. Their children are: Henrietta Edith, born 1872 Freddie Colfax, 1874 Lillian Augusta, 1876, Bertram Ernest, 1878, Harry Alexander, 1880, and William Van Slyke, 1884. The genealogic line of these American children, traced back, shows a union of Scotch, English, and Holland blood, a union that ought to show some sturdy characteristics.
The mother, who was Adelia L. Van Slyke, was born in the state of New York, March 8,1837, a descendant of the Van Slyke and Lockwood families of Schenectady, N. Y. The date of the emigration of her fore-father from Holland has not been ascertained. She married Peter V. Wemple September 6, 1854, and they settled on the Robinson Prairie in this county in 1855. He died November 4, 1870, leaving six children now living, one having died in infancy. Four of these -were daughters, Melissa, Anna, Ida, Emma, and two were sons, Edwin and Jessie Wemple.
The father of the six Ewer Children named above,- Mrs. Ewer, it appears, is the mother of twelve living children - the father, F. A. Ewer, was born in Liverpool, England, February 27, 1843, spent some time in Australia as a traveller and sight-seer, and came to the United States in 1870. His line goes back, in the old family records, to 1640, and to Hugh McAlexander of Scotland, connected with whose family are many interesting historical facts.
The following is the line.
1. Hugh McAlexander.
2. William McAlexander, born in 1650.
3. David McAlexander, born 1676, married 1700.
5. William McAlexander, born 1701, married 1723 to Helen Maxwell, died 1741.
6. John McAlexander, born 1726, married 1755 to Elizabeth Murray, died 1769.
7. Jane McAlexander married to --- Bradley. The name McAlexander now disappears.
7. Betsy Bradley, granddaughter of John McAlexander, married Harry Ewer of England.
8. Harry Alexeander Ewer, an attorney at law of Liverpool married Henrietta Pipe of Southport, England. They had one daughter, Margaret Jane, and one son.
9. Frederick Alexander Ewer, with whom this record commenced, born in 1843, represents it thus appears, the ninth generation from Hugh McAlexander of Scotland, through the English families of Bradley, Pipe, and Ewer. He has been for some years one of the teachers of our county in our public schools, and is interested in Sunday-school and church work. He is an intelligent observer of men and things, and has gathered knowledge from travel and observation as well as from books. His home is still on the Wemple farm.
1. GEORGE BELSHAW came with his family from England in 1834, and settled at first on Rolling Prairie in LaPorte county. Afterward the family removed to Lake county occupying farms on the southern extremity of Lake Prairie near the grove. There were five sons: George, William, Henry, Charles, and Samuel; and two daughters, Mary and Ann. Mary married in LaPorte county and became Mrs. M. Seffens. Ann, a girl of more than ordinary loveliness, died when eighteen years of age, and a pine grove marks the place of her burial. This family, with the exception of two of the sons, went to Oregon in 1853.
2. George Belshaw, of Oregon, a prosperous and quite wealthy farmer, has, or has had, five children. He was married, in this county to Miss Can dace McCarty. He visited our county a few years ago. He raises excellent wheat. He has three sons and two daughters.
2. William Belshaw, visiting England in 1846, was married here, in the winter of 1847, to Miss Harriet A. Jones, and died at his home in West Creek, November 23, 1884, being seventy-one years of age. He has left six children, Mrs. Mary Cathcart. Mrs. Lucy J. Hayden, three sons, Edward, Charles, and John, and Miss Florence, the daughter at home.
2. Henry Belshaw, who remained in this county, who has near his house a fine pine grove, has two sons, William H. and J. Charles, and five daughters. Four of the daughters are now married. Elisabeth married Simeon Sanger, Ann married S. C. Beebe, Eunie married Dr. John Daum, and "Dace" or Candace was married October 22, 1884, to E. W. Dinwiddie of Plum Grove and Florida. Miss Jennie at this date remains at home.
2. Charles Belshaw has three or four children.
1. Michael Pearce was born in Ohio, February 20, 1808. He was married November 19, 1840 to Miss Margaret Jane Dinwiddie, who was born June 5, 1818, and who was a sister of J. W. Dinwiddie of Plum Grove.
2. Children of M. and Mrs. M. J. Pearce. John, born January 11, 1842, Harriet, March 27, 1843; Nancy Ann, July 14, 1844; Mary Jannette, December 17,1845; Loretta, April 24, 1847, died August 1, 1849; Susannah, born July 31, 1849; George, June 7, 1851, died November 10, 1851; Seth born July 29, 1854, Ellen, July 29, 1854, died March 18, 1855; and Thomas, born February 23, 1858.
Marriages. Miss Harriet Pearce was married to Isaac Bryant December 1, 1863; John Pearce to Miss Lizzie V. Foster, September 9, 1867; Miss Nancy A. Pearce to Orlando Service, March 29, 1870; Miss M. J. Pearce to W. B. Buchanan, March 21, 1872; Miss Susie Pearce to George H. Stahl, January 27, 1878; Thomas Pearce to Miss Mary Turner, March 13, 1883.
3. Of the third generation there are, children of John Pearce two, Miss Florence and Jay; of Mrs. Bryant four, one son Edward and three daughters, Bertha, Jessie, and Blanche; children of Mrs. Buchanan three, Albert, Maggie, and Ina; Mrs. Servis' little daughter May; and Mrs. Stahl's young child. In all eleven grandchildren. M. Pearce died April 4, 1861. Mrs. Pearce, her children and grandchildren as named above, all live in six homes in the same neighborhood. Just west of this group of homes are the homes of the Dinwiddie family.
1. SOLON ROBINSON, the founder of Crown Point, had two sons, Solon Oscar and Charles, both of whom died in quite early manhood, leaving no children. He had also two daughters, Josephine S. and Leila. G, both of whom are still living. The younger of these, Miss Leila, was married to F. S. Bedell, for many years, editor and proprietor of the Crown Point Register, and she is now Dr. L. G. Bedell of Chicago. She has no children.
2. Miss Josephine S. Robinson was married to J. S. Holton and has two daughters, Belle and Jennie.
3.Miss Belle Holton was married to John J. Wheeler, now editor of the Lake County Star, October 27, 1870. They have three children.
3. Miss Jennie S. Holton was married to J. F. Rowins, now also editor of the Star, May 7,1873. They have four children.
4. Children of Mrs. Wheeler, Harold, Fred, and Jennie Wheeler.
4. Children of Mrs. Rowins, Howard H. J. Edward, Josephine Sarah and Cora Belle Rowins.
It thus appears that there are now in Crown Point, descendants of Solon Robinson who died at Jacksonville, Florida, November 2, 1880, two granddaughters and seven great-grandchildren. His two daughters are living, one in Chicago, and one in Minnesota. His second wife, now a widow, still occupies their pleasant home at Jacksonville. She was here on a visit this fall of 1884.
RICHARD FANCHER, born in 1800, visiting this region, and making his claim in 1834 on the section seventeen where the little lake still bears his name, becoming a resident in 1835, and still living among us as the last of the earliest settlers at Crown Point, had one son, who died young, and five daughters. These daughters became Mrs. J. C. Nicholson, now dead, Mrs. Alton, also dead, Mrs. Sanford Clark, Mrs. J. Clingan, and Mrs. H. Church. Of the third generation, sons and daughters of Mrs. Nicholson, Mrs. Clark, and Mrs. Church, there are seven now living. Of the fourth generation there are also seven.
1. HENRY WELLS, whose three sisters, Mrs. R. Eddy, Mrs. A. Sanford, and Mrs. L. Grillingham, died in Crown Point several years ago, had two sons, Rodman H. and Homer, and two daughters now living, Mrs. Susan Clark, and Mrs. Pratt, wife of Dr. S. Pratt, of Hebron. The latter has no children.
2. Mrs. Clark has one daughter, the wife of John Hack, of Crown Point.
2. R. H. Wells, elected sheriff of Lake county this fall was married to Miss Emily Vanhouten and has one son and one daughter. His first wife, who was Miss Nancy J. Vanhouten, had no children.
2. Homer Wells was married to Miss Celista Sherman, and has two children.
3. Mrs J. Hack has two sons.
There are then living, the descendants of H. Wells, one of our earliest settlers at Crown Point, two sons and two daughters, five grandchildren, and two great-grandchildren.
1. WILLIAM CLARK, known as Judge Clark, came here in February, 1835, with three sons and two daughters.
2. Thomas Clark married Miss Lovina Parwell. He has one son, William Clark, and two daughters, Mrs. J. Brown, and Mrs. O. G. Wheeler.
2. Alexander Clark married Miss Susan Wells. He died in 1879, leaving one daughter, now Mrs. J. Hack.
2. Miss Margaret Clark married W. R. Williams, a descendant, according to family traditions, of the noted Roger Williams, of Rhode Island, and who is still living in Crown Point. She died many years ago leaving no children.
2. Miss Mary M. Clark married Benjamin Kellogg. She is still living so far as is known, now not quite sixty years of age. Number of children unknown. The Kellogg family reside in Arizona.
2. John F. Clark died when a young man.
3. William Clark, son of Thomas Clark, has one son Guy Clark, a daughter Jessie May Clark, also a young son.
3. Mrs. J. Brown has three children.
3. Mrs. O. G. Wheeler has also three children.
3. Mrs. J. Hack has two children.
The descendants of Judge Clark then are: one son living here and a daughter in Arizona; four grandchildren in this county, how many in Arizona not known; and eleven great-grandchildren in this county.
The Holton family, prominent among the pioneer families of Crown Point, has no representative now among us, but has quite a line preceding the settlement in this county
1. William Holton came from England in the ship Francis in 1634. He died in 1691.
2. John Holton, born probably in New England, died in 1712.
3. William Holton, the third in this line, a sure American, died in 1757.
5. John Holton the second, died in 1797.
6. Joel Holton was born in 1738.
7. Alexander Holton was born in 1779. About 1804 he married Miss Harriet Warner, commenced the practice of law, settled in 1817 at Vevay, Indiana, afterward at Vernon in Jennings county, where he died in 1823, and in 1835, in February, the remainder of the family settled at Crown Point. Mrs. Harriet W. Holton, who came here with a family of one daughter, two sons, a daughter-in-law, and two grandchildren, was, in some respects, the most remarkable woman that ever lived in Lake county. She was born in Hardwick, Massachusetts, January 15, 1783. She was a daughter of General Jonathan Warner. She had two brothers, William Augustus and Jonathan Warner, the latter a business man of Boston, the former a wealthy man for those days. She had seven sisters, and about 1840 the eight met at Enfield, at the death of their mother, who was then about ninety-four years of age. These eight were, Mrs. Robinson, wife of the governor of Vermont, a man of wealth as well as position; Mrs. Stuart, wife of Judge Stuart of Vermont, also wealthy; Mrs. Bradley, wife of a Vermont lawyer; Mrs. Brown, wife of a Massachusetts lawyer; Mrs. Hitchcock, wife of another Massachusetts lawyer; Mrs. Jones, wife of a copyist, a fine penman; Miss Warner, the one maiden sister; and Mrs. Holton, the widow of an Indiana lawyer. These eight sisters were all members of the Presbyterian church. They all died of old age, two of them while sitting in their chairs. Mrs. Holton was a teacher in Westminster, Vermont, before her marriage in 1804; she taught in Vernon, Indiana; and she was the first teacher in Lake county; a woman whose memory the teachers that have succeeded her ought to cherish. It is needless to say that she had a strong constitution, as she lived to be ninety-seven years of age. Her mental faculties were vigorous. And she was a woman of devout, unassuming piety; an earnest, humble Christian. We have had several quite remarkable women in our county, but in several respects no other like her.
7. J. Warner Holton, born in 1807; W. A. W. Holton, and Miss Harriet Holton.
These, whose names appear in our early annals, went with their children westward a few years ago, where some of the eighth and ninth generations are probably now living.
Of all these pioneer families of Crown Point, the Fowler family, mentioned on page 375, seems to be at present much the largest in number. The descendants of Solon Robinson number about twelve. Of Richard Fancher seventeen. Of Henry Wells eleven. Of Judge Clark the known descendants are seventeen, counting three also counted in the Wells family. Of Luman A. Fowler the descendants are, Mrs. Fowler also living, thirty-four.
W. W. CHESHIRE was born in Mocksville, N. C. October 22, 1830. In the spring of 1852, with only such education as the public schools of that state at that time provided, he came on foot to Indiana, leaving behind him the region of pitch, tar, and terpentine, and approaching the center of enterprise and rapid growth. He first went to work on a farm, then attended school, in 1854 was a student in Franklin College, and graduated at Miama University in June, 1858. He then became a teacher, was married, April 23, 1861, to Miss Bessie Boone, and came with her to Crown Point the next August. He opened a select school September 2, 1861, and soon became Superintendent of Crown Point public school, and then school examiner, and held that position for six years, being absent for seven months in the Union army. In 1867 he was elected county clerk and held that office two terms. He then resumed the business of teaching, having charge of the public school, and was elected county Superintendent of education. That office he held till April, 1882, when he went to Washington, D. C, as an examiner in the pension office, where he remained one year. He was then appointed a special examiner of the pension office for the New England District. He has held that position nearly two years, and has travelled over in that time a large part of New England. When the new administration goes into office he may be expected to resign and to return to Crown Point. His wife, Mrs. B. B. Cheshire, has aided him largely in teaching, and has shared with him the enjoyment and opportunities for observation in travelling over New England. Next to the name of Rev. William Townley in advancing the cause of education in Crown Point, may be placed the name of William W. Cheshire.
From a manuscript volume containing a "biography of Colonel John Wheeler," which has been kindly placed in my, hands by Mrs. Alice Wheeler Cole, formerly of Crown Point, now of the state of Massachusetts, the following record is compiled.
The Wheeler family line runs back to Concord, Massachusetts, and then back to England; but of the English family there are only uncertain traditions. Says the Biography which is my authority, which was written by Johnson Wheeler, formerly of Crown Point, now dead, "The Wheelers of New England were a hardy, robust set of men, much given to athletic sports and probably produced some of the best wrestlers of the age. Some of the early and more aristocratic families, tradition says, were proud of tracing their descent from the old English stock, and would often refer to the family escutcheon which has been preserved." This escutcheon, or coat of arms, contains upon it a bearded goat rampant, a closed dexter arm, in the hand a bouquet of flowers. The motto is "Live while you live." The following is the Lake county family line.
1. John Wheeler son of Wheeler from England, who settled in Concord before 1640, removed to Fairfield, Connecticut, in 1644.
2. John Wheeler, son of the preceding, settled in Stratford and afterward joined a colony for the settlement of Woodbury on the east of the Housatonic river. He was a prominent member of this colony and had a large family. Two of his sons, Thomas and John, married sisters, the daughters of Benjamin Stiles, of which family was Dr. Stiles, a president of Yale College. John Wheeler of Woodbury died in 1704.
3. John Wheeler, named above, was the youngest son, and was born in 1684. His wife was Ruth Stiles.
4. Samuel Wheeler, son of John and Ruth Wheeler, was born in 1712.
5. Johnson Wheeler, son of Samuel, was born in 1754
6. 6. Johnson Wheeler, son of Johnson, was born in 1797
Thus far, after the second removal, that is after the founding of Woodbury, for three generations, the sons had married and settled near the homes of their fathers; but early in this nineteenth century a westward migration from New England began. And from his Connecticut home Johnson Wheeler and his wife removed to Huron county, Ohio, in 1824.
7. John Wheeler, son of these residents of Ohio, was born in Connecticut, in New Milford, Litchfield county, February 6,1825, his parents being then on a visit to the old New England home. In the spring the parents returned, with the little Connecticut boy, to their Ohio home, where the next twenty-two years of life were spent, the son, John, proving to be healthy and athletic, becoming a leader among his associates, manifesting firmness and decision of character, gaining knowledge at the district schools, then attending an academy where he gave special attention to mathematics. In December, 1846, he was married to Miss Ann C. Jones, and in the summer of 1847 he removed with his father to this county. Here, for a few years, he was a farmer in the summer and a teacher in the winter. He succeeded well in teaching. In 1853 he commenced with his father the art of surveying and civil engineering on the swamp lands of Lake county, and was at length appointed county surveyor. In 1857 he commenced the publication of the Crown Point Register, and, in the new position as editor, in connection with Z. F. Summers, as joint proprietor, he avowed strong Republican principles and "warred against the evil of intemperance," and as political excitement waxed high and the war cloud grew dark, his firmness and decision became the more marked. He soon raised a company of one hundred men in response to the call of the President for seventy-five thousand volunteers, was chosen captain, "and the company was mustered into the United States service as Company B, 20th Reg't. Indiana Volunteers." An elegant sword, the gift of friends in Lake county, was presented to Capt. Wheeler while his regiment was on parade in Indianapolis. Interesting as it would be, the limited space in this volume will not allow us to follow the 20th Regiment and Company B through all their war experiences. They passed through Baltimore with flying colors, were at Fortress Monroe, at Hatteras, at Camp Hamilton; and so thoroughly had their captain performed the duties of a soldier that he was commissioned Major of the regiment, February 16, 1862. In March, 1863, he was commissioned Colonel. In July as Colonel of the Twentieth Indiana Regiment, he led his veteran troops on that bloody and decisive field of Gettysburg, and there fell on July 2d, in the slaughter of that terrible conflict. The body of the patriot soldier was brought to Crown Point for burial and now rests in our new cemetery. Colonel Wheeler left two sons and one daughter.
7. Oliver G. Wheeler, brother of Colonel Wheeler, was another son of Johnson Wheeler of Ohio, and the youngest of seven children. He was married to Miss Alice Clark in 1870. They have three children, Maud, Mira, and Ned Johnson.
7. The other five children of Johnson Wheeler were daughters, all coming to Lake county in 1847.
These are: Mrs. Manahan, Mrs. Julia A. Hughes, Mrs. Burnham, not now living, Mrs. William Krimbill, and Mrs. Martha Burnham.
8. John J. Wheeler, son of Colonel Wheeler, was born January 11, 1848. He was married October 27, 1870, to Miss Belle Holton. They have three children.
8. Edgar C. Wheeler was born July 11, 1856. He was married to Miss Allie A. Taylor, October 6, 1877. They have two children.
8. Miss Alice Wheeler was married to Sanford S. Cole in 1872. They have four children.
9. The members of the ninth generation of the Wheeler line, the tenth from England, .the ninth from Concord, are: Harold Wheeler, Fred Wheeler, and Jennie Wheeler, children of John J. and Mrs. Belle Wheeler, and Burr Wheeler, and Annie Wheeler, children of Edgar C. and Mrs. Allie Wheeler; grandchildren all of Colonel John Wheeler, who fell on the battle field of Gettysburg fighting for the life of this American nation.
Among our pioneers was a family whose name seems not to have been in the Claim Register, or at least was not found and inserted among others taken from that authority. This was the family of L. P. Dodge. The family came from Canada about 1836, and settled on West Creek near the lower crossing. The father, Paul Dodge, a native of Vermont, living near the Connecticut, with his wife, also came to live with their son. Also Henry Dodge with his family settled in the same neighborhood. These two pioneer settlers were brothers of Mrs. Blowers. L. P. Dodge now lives in Saginaw county, Michigan.
1. William Sherman was married at Saratoga, N. Y., November 29, 1807, to Miss Calista Smith, who was born in Shrewsbury, Rutland county, Vermont, April 17, 1789. After residing for some time in Canada they settled in Lake county in 1837. They had thirteen children, two only of whom are now living, Michael Sherman of Milwaukee, Wisconsin; and Henry Sherman of Danville, Illinois. William Sherman, the father, died in 1843. Mrs. Sherman, remaining a widow, lived for a time with her daughter Mrs. Farrington, and afterwards with her daughter, Mrs. J. H. Luther, and died October, 1, 1884, in the ninety-sixth year of her age, sharing largely in the respect and esteem of the community.
2. The daughters of Mrs. Sherman, of whom none are now living were, in this county, the two just mentioned, Mrs. Dr. Farrington, whose one son, Stephen, and one daughter, Delia, died in early manhood and womanhood; and Mrs. Luther, the wife for many years of James H. Luther, of Crown Point. Mrs. Luther had no children of her own, but was an excellent step-mother for the sons of J. H. Luther, a mother to some motherless girls, and one of our noblest women hi relieving suffering humanity, in avoiding injurious gossip, in kindly deeds of friendship and neighborly regard.
2. The sons of Mrs. Sherman who have died in this county are John Sherman, William Sherman, and Willard Sherman. Dr. Nehemiah Sherman, another son, died at Plymouth, Indiana.
3. Descendants of John Sherman: Abel Sherman, the only son, who has five daughters and two sons; Mrs. J. Atkin, who has three daughters; Mrs. Jaqua, who now lives in Nevada, and has two sons; Mrs. Harkless, living in Illinois, who has two children; Mrs. Homer Wells, who has two children; and Mrs. Frank E. Cooper, who has one son, Eugene.
Descendants of William Sherman: one son, Van Sherman, and two daughters, Mrs. R. Kilbourne and Miss Emma Sherman, all living in the county.
Descendants of Willard Sherman: two sons living in the West, Adolphus Sherman, who has three children, and William Sherman, who has two sons; also three daughters, Mrs. Frazier, who has eight children, and Mrs. Scritchfield, who has six children, and Mrs. Ella O. Roudebush, living at Crown Point.
The living descendants of Mrs. Sherman it thus appears, are: two children, fourteen grandchildren, and thirty-six great-grandchildren, in all fifty-two descendants.
1. Dr. Ira Holton of Chester, Vermont, was married in September, 1816, to Miss Rosalinda Smith, who was the youngest of thirteen children and who was born July 18, 1795, a member of that Smith family of Friends in Shrewsbury, Vermont, represented for these many years in Crown Point by Mrs. Calista Sherman and herself, the two sisters who have been our most aged women. A third sister of that large Vermont family, Mrs. Thankful Smith Brown, was represented here for a time in the person of her son, Clement Brown, who was born in Rutland county, Vermont, November 17, 1805, and who after residing in Chicago, Minnesota, and California, having a brother, Dr. H. S. Brown, in Milwaukee, one in California, a son, John Brown, in Chicago, and a sister, Mrs. H. B. McConnel, in Vermont, came, some five years ago, " to spend the evening of his days at Crown Point," where he died, October 30, 1884.
Dr. Holton, residing with his family for some years as a physician in Canada, came to Lake county in 1844 and went to Michigan City to reside in 1845, where he died in 1851. He had five sons and five daughters, several or whom with their mother became residents in Lake county. Mrs. Holton died here, at the home of Mrs. R. C. Young, where she had lived for many years, March 28, 1884, having nearly completed her eighty-ninth year of life.
2. Sons: Volney Holton came to Lake county about 1840. His children are: Ira, Henry, Lydia, Pearl, Willard, Janna, Gertrude, and Andrew J. Four children have died. His wife was Miss Martha Jane Cochrane. He died, having been afflicted with blindness for many years.
Daniel Holton, the third son, came to this county with his brother. He left after about ten years, and is now in Kirbyville, Oregon. He has two sons and one daughter.
Janna S. Holton came here with his father, Dr. Holton, in December, 1844. Since then, for now forty years, he has been a prominent citizen, a merchant, or county officer, or business man, continuously. Probably no other business man of Crown Point has for as many years gone regularly, almost every day, from his home to his store or office, as J. S. Holton. Now in the latter part of "middle life," with a comfortable and pleasant home, where reside his wife and three young daughters; his two older daughters, Mrs. Wheeler and Mrs. Rowins, living in Crown Point with young children growing up around them, their husbands practical printers and editors of the Lake County Star; no business man here would seem to have more elements of domestic happiness around him.
Hiram S. Holton, the youngest of the sons, was for many years a resident of Crown Point and a prominent business man. He was married to Miss Gertrude McDonald. They have two sons, who are young men in business life, Winfred B. and Hoyt; a daughter, Miss Flora, attending the high school at Indianapolis, and a young son, Charles. The family take a large interest in the promotion of temperance and of public virtue. Their home life is very pleasant. For a few years they resided in Washington City, and now live in Indianapolis where they find profitable business, still retaining their Crown Point home.
Daughters. Mrs. Lydia Nash of Crown Point.
Mrs. Henry S. Calkins of Janesville, Wisconsin.
Mrs. R. Calista Young of Crown Point, who has one son, Charles H. Young, pension agent at Crown Point, and an excellent singer and musician, married July 4, 1883, to Miss Jennie Rowe, herself a good amateur pianist.
Mrs. Charles R. Luther of Valparaiso, who was the youngest of the ten children of Dr. and Mrs. Holton. Mrs. Luther has two sons and one daughter.
Mrs. Holton at the time of her deaths in March last, had living seven children, thirty-one grand-children, and twenty-four great-grandchildren. In all sixty-two descendants.
John Hack, who was the father of eleven children, came with his family to Lake county and settled on Western Prairie, called also Prairie West, in 1837, the first pioneer German family of the county. He died in Crown Point in 1855, sixty-nine years of age.
1. Matthias J. Hack born July 27,1816, was married to Miss Angeline Schmal, now Mrs. Hack of the Hack Exchange in Crown Point, December 15, 1854. He died February 27, 1867, leaving three sons, Joseph L., John M., and William.
2. Joseph Hack, born March 18, 1825, was married April 15, 1852, to Miss Catharine Linen, with whom he lived thirty years and four months. He has had three sons and three daughters. The sons are:
3. George G. Hack who was born in 1854. He was married October 26, 1880, and after the death of his wife he was again married, May 17, 1883 to Miss Elisabeth Lorth of Chicago. They have one son, Arthur, born March 5th of this year.
3. Frank Hack, born in 1862 and his youngest brother, Joseph P. Hack, in 1871.
3. Sons of M. J. Hack: Joseph L. Hack born in October, 1849, married in 1873; three children: John M. Hack, born in 1851, married 1875; two children: and William Hack, born 1854, married 1883. He has one child. These six grandsons of John Hack, the pioneer of forty-seven years ago, have their homes in Crown Point.
Of the descendants of Joseph Schmal, who settled on the same Western Prairie in June, 1838, and who had seven children, are now: Mrs. Rhein of Hanover township, not far from Cedar Lake, who is seventy-two years of age; John Schmal of St.Johns, who is about seventy; Joseph Schmal of Brunswick; Mrs. A. Hack of Crown Point; and Adam Schmal of Center township, formerly county treasurer, and a resident of Crown Point. He is quite wealthy, and is well known as an upright citizen and officer to the citizens of this county.
Of the family of Peter Orte, coming at the same time with the Schmal family, none now remain. Of the family of Matthias Reder, also accompanying these, there are now two grandsons, one of whom, Lewis Reeder, is a citizen of Crown Point,
There are in the county quite a number of grandchildren of Joseph Schmal in the five families named above. Only a small number of the German families of the county belong to the "pioneer" period; but very many of them are "old settlers."
1. Henry Sasse Sen. was married in 1827 in the province of Hanover and came to America in 1834. He first settled in Michigan, and came to Cedar Lake in this county in 1838. He was married a second time in 1841 and again in 1870. His present wife has one son, young Herman E. Sasse.
2. Henry Sasse Jun. was born in Germany, in Hanover, January 6, 1832, and came to Michigan and to Cedar Lake with his father and mother. That mother, Mrs. Anna B. Sasse, died June 10, 1840, leaving two sons, the younger, "William Emil, born near Ann Arbor, November 20, 1836, who died in Hanover township June 2, 1870. The step-mother of these two brothers, Mrs. Johanna B. Sasse, had eight children, all of whom are dead, and she died in 1866.
Henry Sasse Jun., coming to this county when six years of age, was married the last of March, 1855. He has one daughter, Henrietta, now Mrs. Henry Gromann, who has one daughter and one son. The Sasse family are now all residents of Crown Point. H. Sasse, Jun. has been one of the intelligent and successful teachers of the county, and was for some years a prosperous farmer at Cedar lake. He is now a dealer in Agricultural implements. H. Sasse Sen., although retired from business life, holds quite an amount of property, the accumulations of fifty years of life in America.
Of the pioneer H. Von Hollen, who died a few years ago, there are no descendants. Of Lewis Herlitz there are two sons, two daughters, some grandchildren and great Grandchildren.
Of the Meyer family there are several representatives. Frederick C. Meyer and his wife Mrs. Martha Meyer, now quite aged, live on the West side of Cedar Lake. They have two sons, Frederick and Henry, and three daughters.
John H. Meyer, who married Miss Maggie Dittmers, lives on the Dittmers' place, where was once the home of H. Ball of Cedar Lake.
At the head of Cedar Lake, on the high bank, where was once the squatter home of Joseph C Batten, and af-terward the home of a soldier in the army of Napoleon when on the march to Moscow, now resides John Meyer, a son of an "old settler," born in 1838, who has six sons and two daughters, and is one of the substantial farmers of Hanover township, owning land in both Hanover and Center. The old log walls of the early home still remain on the place. The two little girls, some seven and nine years of age, appearing almost like twins, Lizzie and Maggie, give graceful life within their father's commodious home.
An uncle of J. Meyer, and for many years a prominent business man at Brunswick is H. C. Beckmann. He has two sons, John N. Beckmann, born in 1856, and Herman C. Jun. and several daughters. The monument to the memory of the mother of these daughters and sons, in the small mound cemetery of J. Meyer, is one of the finest and most costly in the county.
Near Hanover Center is the home of Matthias Geisen, father of Peter Geisen, of Crown Point, now eighty years of age.
1. J. C. Sauerman came from Bavaria in 1846, when fourteen years old. Remained over three years in Chicago, then returned for a visit to his European home. He recrossed the ocean and settled in Crown Point in 1851. In August, 1853, he was married to Miss Strochlein, daughter of John Strochlein, who came to this county in 1852. They have three children, Mrs. Maggie Pettibone, wife of Dr. Henry Pettibone, of Crown Point, Andrew A., and Miss Flora.
2. Andrew A. Sauerman, born in Crown Point, was married four years ago. He has one son Harvey. He is assistant cashier of the Crown Point National Bank.
1. Alexander Fisher, who was born in Ayer, Scotland, in 1801, came to Montreal in 1818, and afterward settled in Schenectady county, New York, where he was married, 1819, to Miss Agnes Brown, born at Paisley, Scotland, daughter of Alexander Brown who came to this country in 1805. They had eight children, six of whom are now living, three sons and one daughter having been for many years residents in this county.
2. William Fisher, the oldest of these three sons, born in 1825, came to this county in 1850. In 1854 he was married to Miss N. Bryant. They have three children, David A. Fisher, dealer in hardware in Hebron, Mrs. Arabella Hayward, living near Ross, and Miss Ida E. Fisher. Living for many years on the west and then on the east side of Eagle Creek, on the Hebron and Lowell mail road, the family have lately removed to Hebron.
2. Thomas Fisher, comings to this county in 1850, becoming a permanent resident in 1851, was married to Miss Mary Brown, a daughter of Alexander Brown, of South East Grove. Living for some years in Eagle Creek, they have for many of the later years been residents of Crown Point. They have no children.
2. John Fisher, born in Schenectady county, New York, in 1832, coming to this county in 1855, was married in 1865 to Miss Joanna Willey. They live near Crown Point and have one son.
These three brothers, the Lake county representatives of a large family, are all well off, having accumulated property and having married into old and wealthy families. The first has been for some thirty years a farmer, and has held the office of county commissioner, and has now retired to business life at Hebron. The second has carried on a factory for some thirty years, has been a farmer a portion of the time, and then a retired town resident, accumulating steadily year by .year by the increase of capital and by business enterprise. And the third, coming as a surveyor, becoming at length a farmer, has been for many years county surveyor, an office which he still holds. He is a man of -fine and generous impulses and deservedly popular, a valuable friend.
3. Of the third generation, and bearing the family name, there is now m the county but one, George W. Fisher, a promising youth, the only son of J. and Mrs. J. Fisher.
1. Alexander Brown, of Scotland, had a son, John Brown, and a daughter, Agnes, who married. Alexander Fisher. He came to this country in 1805.
2. John Brown-a name that is historic in England and America-had six sons, Alexander, George, Mathew, John, Colin and William; and two daughters, May and Eliza.
3. Alexander Brown was born August 25, 1804, was married March 1, 1835, came to South East Grove in 1840, and died October 21, 1849. He had three sons and two daughters. The daughters are, Mrs. T. Fisher and Mrs. W. Nicholson, both having homes in Crown Point.
4. John Brown was born October 7, 1840, was married to Miss Almira L. Clark, July 13, 1871. They have three children now living: Niel, May, and Grace
4. William Barringer Brown was born June 17, 1843. He was married, November 13, 1877, to Miss Carrie Sigler, of Hebron. They have three daughters, Mabel, Bessie, and Bernice.
4. George Brown was born May 5, 1849, was married to Miss Turner in 1869, and died June 21, 1878. He left three sons, Alexander, William, and Herbert.
3. John Brown, of South East Grove, was born in the state of New York, April 3, 1812, and came to this county in 1840. He has not been married. He has his home at Mrs. Crawford's, near the Grove.
3. William Brown, who came to this county in 1843, was born December 1, 1821, and was married in May, 1851, to Miss Mary J. Wallace. They have three daughters, Miriam, now Mrs. H. G. Bliss, Edith M., now Mrs. Jay Crawford, and Miss Ruby J., who is attending school at Crown Point; and two sons, Mathew J. Brown, a young man of much energy and activity in farming and business life, and William Brown, who is yet quite young, very promising in his young manhood. The two sons and Miss Ruby still make their home with their father and mother.
Lyman Wallace, of Scoth descent as the name suggests, (although at present the line cannot be traced back to the renowned warrior, Sir Willam Wallace,) was born in Washington county, New York, in 1800. He was married twice. His first wife, a native of Vermont, had one son, William Wallace, and three daughters. Two of these are yet living, Mrs. Phelps of Decatur, Michigan, and Mrs. Temple of Eagle Creek in this county. His second wife was also a native of Vermont, of Burlington county, and was born May 4, 1798. She was the mother of five daughters, and with his wife and these, his daughters, L. Wallace came to this county in 1843 from Gennessee county, New York, and settled in the south part of South East Grove. He died here in the winter of 1851. Four of his daughters married and now are: Mrs. John Dinwiddie of La Porte, Mrs. Starr of Winamac, Mrs. William Brown of this county, and Mrs. Parkinson of Kansas.
The youngest daughter, Miss Lucretia Wallace, remains at home with her mother. They have removed to Hebron in Porter county, where Mrs. Wallace is still living. She will be eighty-seven May 4, 1885.
William Wallace was in the Union army. He was in Missouri, and went one day to a house where the family was supposed to be friendly to the Union cause, and while sitting on the steps was shot in the forehead by a confederate soldier.
JACKSON AND FARLEY.
I am sorry that no special records have been obtained of the families of the two early settlers named above. But those who could have furnished them are either not living or not in the county. Benjamin Farley was born in 1781. His son, Zebulon Farley, now of Chicago, and his grandson, Eugene Farley, are well known in Crown Point.
Joseph Jackson was born in 1793 and his wife in 1796. They have been married nearly seventy years. They left Crown Point some twenty-five years ago. Recent letters from Iowa state, "that the health of General Jackson and his wife is still good."
Most American families must find it difficult to trace back their ancestral line more than two or three hundred years, and many families have no certain records for more than two or three generations back. I have before me, in making out something of the line of the Dinwiddie family of Lake county, letters from Alexandria in Virginia, from Bristol and London in England, from Petersburg, Virginia, from Annan Cemetery, Scotland, and I have consulted other authorities.
I find first, as in many names of more than one syllable, and even as in some of these, a variety in the orthography. Thomas Dinwiddy, architect and surveyor, of Greenwich, London, has sent to Oscar Dinwiddie of "America," a list of what he calls" Various versions of my name received on letters, parcels, &c," amounting to one hundred and thirty in number. The list is a literary curiosity as it now lies before me. The same Thomas Dinwiddy says, in his accompanying letter, "Your name, however, terminates in ie, mine in y; so that I should think we were split from the original Scotch tribe long since. I think the spelling of my name must be a corruption, yours being the true way." (See the letter written in October, 1877.) In the letter of the Rev. William Dinwiddie, of Alexandria, two other forms of the name are given, as he speaks of the Rev. James B. Dunwody, a Presbyterian minister in South Carolina, and Lieut. Dunwoody, from Iowa, in the Signal office at Washington City. Coming now to the letter from Scotland, dated Annan Cemetery, December 12, 1884, written by David Dinwodie, I find the following: "All my forefathers lived and died, and have become almost nameless as the leaves of the forest, about the parishes of Applegirth and Lochmaben. Looking at Bacon's Popular Map of Scotland last night, I could see three prominent places, such as Dinwodie Castle, Dinwodie Holm, and Dinwodie Green. The last place got its name from the first Dinwoodie in the world, who was a man of the name of John Din, to whom one of the kings of Scotland crave the title Dinwoodie and one hundred pounds reward. I have been thinking of going to Applegirth for a long time for to see the old burial place of ray forefathers, and to see the coat of arms on one of the stones." In a later letter he explains still further in regard to the name, that a reward of one hundred pounds was offered for the head of an outlaw, that John Din succeeded in killing this outlaw and carried his head to Edinburg, to the king, in what was called in those days a WOODIE. So the king, after bestowing the promised reward, added to his name this word woodie, and a woodie forms a part of the coat of arms. The date he cannot tell, nor the king's name. He sends, however, twelve stanzas from a poem on "The Battle of Dryef Sands, 1518," from which I take the following:
(transcriber's note: poem omitted)
It thus appears that the Dinwoodie of 1518, who was then a Scottish laird or lord, was a tall, brave, and fierce warrior, as became the customs and requirements of those days; if not the same man, a genuine descendant of the bold man who killed the dreaded outlaw. Height of stature characterizes some of the American branches of the family. The Rev. William Dinwiddie of Alexandria says, " The shortest of us is six feet high. Edgar and James are six feet three; I am six feet one inch; my father six feet three; and my grandfather was six feet two."
David Dinwoodie of Scotland can give no family records back, because the "old family Bible" containing the records had gone with a brother-in-law out of Scotland; but he considers David a family name, although his father's name was James; his grandfather was John Dinwoodie, and his great-grandfather was Thomas Dinwoodie, who "lived in Sandy Holm Parish of Apple-girth." This James Dinwoodie was married over ninety years ago. His father, John Dinwoodie, lost his landed estate in consequence of signing bonds for three different men, all of whom failed and left him to pay off their indebtedness; which was done to the very last shilling.
James Dinwiddy, of Bristol, says that one of his ancestors, "Robert Dinwiddy, landed in America some years ago." His letter was written in March, 1876, and he soon after died. His only son, Thomas Dinwiddy, of Greenwich, who recognizes the y termination as a corruption of the earlier name, says he can trace back no further than to his great-great-grandfather, who lived near Bristol and died in 1770; but he thinks they were connected with Robert Dinwiddie, the governor of Virginia, and he sends the inscription copied from "Governor Dinwiddie's tomb at Clifton Church near Bristol." The letter in which he says, I have procured a copy of the inscription, and I am very glad to enclose it to you, is dated Greenwich, London, March 23, 1879, addressed to Oscar Dinwiddie. As a matter of general historic interest, I am glad that we can reproduce here the "Inscription on Robert Dinwiddie's Monument" taken direct, from the copy sent from Bristol through Greenwich.
"In this Church are deposited the remains of Robert Dinwiddie Esqr formerly Governor of Virginia Who Deceased July 27th 1770 in the 78th years of his age The annals of that country will testify With what Judgement, Activity, and Zeal he exerted himself In the Public cause when the whole of the north American Continent Was involved in a French & Indian War The rectitude of Conduct in his Government And integrity in other Public employments Add a Lustre to his Character which was revered while he lived And will be held in estimation whilst his name survives His mere private virtues and amiable social qualities he possessed Were the happiness of his. numerous friends and relations Many of whom shared his bounty All lament his loss As his happy dispositions for domestic life Were best known to his affectionate Wife & Daughters They have erected this Monument To the memory of his Conjugal and Paternal Love Which they will ever cherish and revere With that Piety and tenderness he so greatly merited."
Governor Dinwiddie retired from office in Virginia in 1757 and soon after sailed for England,
From "Virginia Historical Collections," a large work which has been placed in my hands, I take the following:
"The Dinwiddie is an ancient Scotch family of historical mention."
On a "list of Barons and men of note" in 1296 is the name of Allen Dinwithie, the progenitor, it is said, of the Dinwiddies, who were chief proprietors on lands bearing their names in Applegirth, Dnmfriesshire, Scotland.
o Thomas, chief of the clan, was slain in Dinwiddie's tower in 1503, by the Jardins; and, it was supposed, by the same agency, the Laird of Dinwiddie was assassinated in the streets of Edinburg in 1512. Among those giving allegiance to England in 1547 was the Laird of Dunwoody with forty-four followers. See "Dinwiddie papers."
Assuming, now, that all of this variously written name are descendants of the brave John Dinwoodie of Scotland, the lines of descent not being traceable at present, the Lake county family genealogy is the following: (As in other family lines the figures given denote the generation, from the earliest of the line whose name is given.)
1. David Dinwiddie. (Date of birth and of death unknown, also the connection up to John Dinwoodie unknown. Very naturally some branches of the family would get the name Dunwoodie, Dinwiddy, Dinwiddie, and various other forms.)
2. David Dinwiddie.
3. David Dinwiddie.
4. David Dinwiddie. (Dates of the birth and death of all these not as yet ascertained. More than one old family Bible with its family records is missing.)
5. David Dinwiddie, "fifth David, son of David in succession," born 1724; married December 17, 1745, to Jean McClure and November 20, 1783, to Elizabeth Kerr; died December 19, 1803.
6. David Dinwiddie, "sixth David, son of David in succession," born July 25, 1755; married January 27, 1778, to Susannah Patterson; died December 5, 1823.
7. Thomas Dinwiddie, son of David, born March 27, 1787; married October 20, 1808, to Mary Ann Wilson; died September 17, 1862.
8. John Wilson Dinwiddie, son of Thomas, born October 1, 1813; married August 19, 1844, to Mary Janette Perkins; died April 6, 1861.
9. Children of J. W. Dinwiddie: Oscar, born September 2, 1845; married February 2,1874, to Mary Joan Robertson; Jerome, born February 7, 1848; married December 27,1871, to Mary M. Chapman; Augusta E., born June 27, 1850, died ---; Frances R, born May 9,1852; married February 2, 1871, to Frank Earl Brownell;
Henry and Mary, born December 5, 1854; died ;
Edwin Willis, born December 18, 1856; married October 22, 1884, to Candace Belshaw; Mary Elizabeth, born July 18, 1859; married September 30, 1880, to Walter L. Nichols.
10. Children of Oscar Dinwiddie: Marion Elmer,
born November 18, 1874; Joseph Perkins, born February 3, 1876; Belle Irene, born June 21, 1879; Edwin Lorraine, born November 17, 1882; Edith Janette, born June 9, 1884.
10. Children of Jerome Dinwiddie: John Abbott, born December 1,1872; Grace, born December 25,1874; Daisy, born July 28, 1878.
10. Children of Frances R. and F. E. Brownell: Jay Carlton, born April 8, 1872; Alice J., born February 25, 1874; John Earl, born December 5, 1875; Claude Bertrand, born March 5, 1877; Catharine Alma, born October 9, 1879; and Guy Clayton, born May 21, 1881.
10. Children of Mary E. and Walter L. Nichols: John Bernard, born June -, 1881, and Harry Burton, born August -, 1883.
As in this line we go back from Marion Elmer Dinwiddie, born in 1874, through four generations, a full hundred and fifty years, to that David Dinwiddie who was the fifth David son of David in succession, born in 1724, it is probable that going back from him, through four more generations, we would find the father of our first David to have been born somewhere about 1754. His name has not yet been ascertained, nor does it seem to be yet known where, the American line begins, (we cross the Atlantic without knowing it,) but between that father of that David and that warrior of 1518, "Dinwoddie's laird," poetically called " In stature tall as mountain pine," there could not be more than two or three generations. But at present this line can be traced back to the eleventh generation only from the present, bringing us back somewhere between 1550 and 1570, and, according to the family traditions of but a few generations back, to some place in the land of Bruce and Burns, of Wallace and of Bannockburn.
Commencing once again with Marion Elmer Dinwiddie, and with his brothers, sisters, and cousins, we go back through eight generations, in the Perkins' line, to 1590. Here again we will cross the ocean without knowing it.
1. John Senior Perkins, born 1590, died 1654.
2. Thomas Perkins, born 1616, died May 7, 1686.
3. Elisha Perkins, born 1656.
4. Joseph Perkins, born May 10, 1702, married November 20, 1727, to Mary Dorman.
5. Joseph Perkins, born July 16, 1744, married October 31, 1765, to Ruth Clark, died January 27, 1821.
6. Joseph Perkins, born June 8, 1778, married November 19, 1806, to Elizabeth Cook, died January 31, 1849.
7. Mary Janette Perkins, born May 5, 1818, married August 19, 1844, to John W. Dinwiddie, now Mrs. Dinwiddie of Plum Grove. Mrs. Elizabeth Cook Perkins, mentioned above, the great-grandmother of the Lake county Dinwiddie children, was born February 6, 1786, and is still living in Rome, New York. She will soon reach her 99th birth-day anniversary.
8. The eighth generation in this line has been already given. See 9 in the Dinwiddie line.
9. For those in this generation see 10 in the Dinwiddie line; these showing five children and sixteen grandchildren of Mrs. M. J. Dinwiddie, now living.
1. The Livingston family, Samuel and Mrs. Jane Livingston, came from Europe to Lake county in 1853. Names of the sons and daughters: Robert, Sarah, John, Sam, Joseph, Eliza, Jane, James, William, Hartford, Thomas, and Moses. Six of these brothers were in the Union army. Sam Livingston died January 20, 1852, Thomas, March 6, 1867, and John, April 25, 1880. The other sons and daughters are still living. Mrs. Jane Livingston died February 9, 1879, and her husband died March 8th of the same year.
2. Robert Livingston, who was married nearly forty years ago, has ten children, two sons, Sam and Moses, and eight daughters, Mrs. Jane Hill, wife of Dr. Jessie L. Hill of Creston, married November 10, 1875, and now having two promising daughters, educated at home,- Mrs. Mary Garrison, who has one daughter and one son, active, pleasant children,-Mrs. Eliza Pancoast, and, unmarried daughters, Belle, Ella, Rosa, May, and Loe. Three or four of these daughters have spent considerable time as teachers in the public schools of the county.
The Baldwin family, becoming residents here in 1848, are now represented by J. P. Baldwin, who was born in 1835, married in 1867, who has one daughter and one son, Miss Martha J. and John J., and lives on his farm in Winfield, near Palmer. Other dates of settlement are: Ross Wilson, October, 1854, John McKay, Joseph Wilson, and John Ross, 1855. The latter was married in the same year to Miss Jane Wilson; the first to Miss Margaret McKay in 1854, and Joseph Wilson to Miss Jane McKay. These all were residents for a time in Philadelphia. J. P. Baldwin was married to Miss Mary McKay.
DENNIS PALMER, whose name is given to the station on the Chicago and Atlantic Railroad some eight miles eastward from Crown Point, has lived for many years on that small prairie known as Eagle Creek. He has two sons, one of whom has been for several years raising cattle and farming in the West.
NOAH BIBLER, whose wife is a sister of Dennis Palmer, came to Lake county in the summer of 1852. He removed from Bucyrus, Ohio, coming with a horse team along the miles that lay between. He has three sons, Elliot E. Bibler, who is married and has two sons, and who lives near Winfield station; Norris O., who still remains at the family home; and Dennis P. Bibler, who married a daughter of John Collins of Crown Point, and who also lives near Winfield station.
1. Jeremiah Willey, a descendant of an early New England family, was born in Connecticut July 28, 1777, and died May 14, 1865. Of marriage no date. His wife was Miss Hannah Staples. They had eleven children, one only dying in childhood. Four of the ten are now living. In 1817 the family removed to the state of New York. J. Willey was a son of David Willey.
2. George Willey, one of the sons, was born in Connecticut in 1814, three years before the removal to New York. He was married in 1835 to Miss Clynthia Nash. They had seven children, three sons dying in infancy.
3. George Almeron Willey, the only living son, was married in 1864 to Miss Laurana Nash. They now reside in Missouri, and have three sons and four daughters. .
3. Miss Joanna Willey, the oldest daughter, was married in 1865 to John Fisher. They have one son, now a young man, George W. Fisher.
3. Miss Alice A. Willey was married to Clement L. Granger in 1874. They have no children.
3. Miss Clynthia A. Willey, the youngest daughter, was married to Horace M. Griffin in 1876.
Material has been found for some record of another old New England family. But, although the above is an old English name, the Lake county family records go back only a few generations. And, as is the case with some others, we begin in the first generation without a date.
1. Jacob Wood, born 16-. His wife, Hannah Wood, born 16-.
2. Nathan Wood, a son of Jacob Wood, born March 23, 1721, and his wife, Elizabeth Wood, was born March 14, 1724. They had three sons and six daughters: Daniel, born April 7, 1747, Moses, May 25, 1748, Sarah, October 7, 1750, or the record says October 21, (As this was the last child born, in this family, in what was called Old Style, New Style having commenced in England, by act of Parliament, in September. 1752, the 3d day of that month being called the 14th, this fact may have led to some confusion in the date.) The other children were: Dolly, born October 15, 1752, Phebe, August 17, 1755, Jacob, August 17, 1757, Lydia, November 17, 1759, Betsey, January 1, 1763, and Hannah, born February 2, 1766.
3. Moses Wood, born May 25, 1748, was married to Miss Sarah Barker when about thirty years of age. They had three sojis and eight daughters. The following are the names and dates of birth of these children: Mary, born November 5, 1779, Nathan, September 24, 1781, Sally, December 26, 1784, Dolly, March 7, 1786, Betsey, March 16, 1788, Pamela, March 21, 17.90, Sarah, May 26, 1792, Hannah, June 27, 1794, Lucy, August 22, 1796, Jacob, November 4, 1798, and John, October 28, 1800.
4. John Wood, the pioneer settler of this family in Lake county, born as above, in 1800, was married to Miss Hannah E. Pattee, (a cousin of Sarah B. Hall, who became the noted missionary, Mrs. Boardman then Mrs. Judson,) November 16, 1824. Mrs. Wood was born in New England October 13, 1802. She was a noble woman. She died in Lake county September 27, 1873. A fine granite monument, about fifteen feet in height, marks the place of her burial, and on it is inscribed, "A true, faithful, loving wife; a kind and affectionate mother; ever toiling for the good of all; and this is her memorial." Old documents now in the county state that John Wood of Danvers was commissioned by the Governor of Massachusetts, Levi Lincoln, Cornet in a company of the Battalion of Cavalry in the first Brigade and second Division of the Militia of the Commonwealth, March 29, 1826, and Lieutenant, May 26, 1828. In 1835 he made a claim on Deep River.
Children: Nathan, born August 24, 1825, Augustus, May 26, 1828, Abby Maria, June 24, 1830, John Warren, December 18, 1832, who died September 13, 1836, and George, March 10, 1835. These all were born in New England. In Lake county, John W., March 13, 1838, Mary, March 22, 1840, and Oliver S., April 15, 1842.
5. Miss Abby M. Wood married Win. H. Shedd and died March 1, 1856, leaving one daughter, Abby.
5. Nathan Wood was married November 4, 1852, to Miss R. A. Rundle. They have four sons, Edward E., Herbert, Nathan A., George W., and two daughters Miss Ella A. and Miss Eva M.
5. Augustus Wood was married in 1852. He has two daughters, Mrs. Carrie M., wife of Dr. J. A. Ryan of Valparaiso, to whom she was married May 20, 1879, and Mrs. Abby M. Bullock of Hobart; also one son, John J. Wood.
5. George Wood was married October 8, 1857, to Miss Mary J. Dizard. They have two sons, Eugene and William H., and two daughters, Miss Anna E. and Miss Sarah J. The oldest son is a merchant in Woodvale.
5. John W. Wood, now. a grocer in Valparaiso, was married August 14, 1861. He has three sons, Fred A., Newton A., Harry G., and one daughter, Miss Mary.
5. Dr. Oliver S. Wood, physician now at Hebron, was married in 1864 to Miss Charity R. Farnham. They have two sons, Clayton and Carlton, and two daughters, Miss Lottie B. and Miss Leta.
5. Miss Mary Wood was married January 1, 1869,
to Dr. A. W. Vincent. She has one daughter, Miss Alice Vincent.
Number of grandchildren of John Wood now living, members of the sixth generation, twenty-four; of great grandchildren ten, who are of the seventh generation from Jacob Wood of the seventeenth century. John Wood died December 1, 1883. His remains repose beside those of his wife near the granite monument.
The earliest mention of this name that I find in English history brings us back to a family in Kent, perhaps ac Canterbury, and to John Ball, a noted preacher "on the brotherhood of mankind." See Froude's "Annals of an English Abbey." Maurice of England says: "This remarkable man was the moving spring in the insurrection of 1381."
A second noted John Ball was born, in 1585. He was quite a voluminous writer, a Puritan divine. See Ency. Brittannica. In later times seven Ball families in England have received coats of arms. Those of note in England are: among the baronets, "Ball of Blofield, Norfolk, 1801;" the Right Hon. John Thomas Ball, LL. D., made in 1868 a privy Councillor of Queen Victoria; Lieut. Col. William Clare Ball, C. B., an English Knight; Salisbury Ball Esq. of Burwell, born in 1836, son of Edward Ball, M. P.; Sir Alexander Ball, "a distinguished admiral in the British navy " in 1804; Sir William Keith Ball, his son, the first baronet of this line having been Governor of Malta; and Frances Maria Theresa Ball, a noted Catholic woman. See "County families of the United Kingdom" and other authorities.
Noted Americans of this name are few. They are Mary Ball, second wife of Augustine Washington, mother of George Washington, a superior woman, born in 1706, "descended from a highly respectable family of English colonists who established themselves on the banks of the Potomac;" Thomas Ball of Boston, a sculptor of note, born in 1819; Ephraim Ball,, born in 1812, inventor of " Ohio mower;" and George H. Ball, a Baptist minister and Editor, born in 1818.
Of the New England and Lake county family of Balls, to which now we come, nothing is known of their English ancestry. It is family tradition that three of the name came over from England, two settling in New England, and one in Virginia.
The following is family history.
1. Francis Ball came to Dorchester in 1640, removed to Springfield and there married, in 1644, Abigail; daughter of Henry Burt. This Henry Burt was a resident of Roxbury. His house was burnt, and for his relief or aid,-fire insurance companies not then having been established this side of the ocean-a grant was made by the General Court in November, 1639. He removed to Springfield in 1640. He was chosen or appointed Clerk of Writs. He had eight daughters. Tradition states that his wife being very sick in England was supposed to be dead and was placed in a coffin. She revived, came to America, and became the mother of nineteen children. There may be a doubt as to the number of her children. The second daughter, Abigail, was married, according to the Burt family records, to Francis Ball in 1644. Francis had two sons, Jonathan, born 1645, and Samuel, born in 1647. Francis Ball was drowned in the Connecticut river in 1648. Age unknown.
2. Jonathan Ball, born in 1645, was a captain. His second wife was Mrs. Susanna Worthington widow of Nicholas Worthington. He had in all twelve children, six of whom died when young.
Captain Ball died May 21, 1741, when ninety-five years of age.
See Savage's Genealogical Dictionary of New England.
The Ball family records state that Jonathan Ball was the first male child born in West Springfield. The following names of his children have been preserved in the records: Thomas, born in 1676; Samuel, 1680; Jonathan, 1683; Francis, 1687; Benjamin, 1689; Joseph, 1695. Thomas died young. Samuel was a physician. He was drowned in the Agawam river. Jonathan settled in Granville. (He had two sons, Jonathan and Lybeus. This Jonathan engaged in the war of 1755, was Major of a regiment of his Majesty's Provincial troops. He went to Boston to procure the money to pay his troops, and on his return to Springfield was taken with the small pox, and died March 7, 1760, in the thirtieth year of his age. Tradition speaks of his very fine appearance on horseback. His brother, Lybeus, was Major of a regiment in the war of the Revolution.) Francis settled in Springfield; Benjamin in West Springfield on the family estate; and Joseph in Agawam parish.
(I find the following in "Centennial Celebration" of West Springfield, Mass., under "Genealogy of the Smith Family," page 121. Speaking of the sons of Benjamin Smith that record says, "Jonathan had a large and stately house erected for his use just east of the brook, on a commanding eminence at the junction of two roads, haying married Margaret, the only child of Samuel Ball of West Springfield Center." Her six sons are named and one daughter. The record continues, Mr. Ball having died, his second wife surviving him, it was found by his will, that he had devised his real estate, with the exception of his homestead, to the children of his daughter, and the child of his second wife by a former marriage, so that the 'great swamp,' as it was called, now known as Ball's swamp, with other large. tracts of land, fell into the possession of the Smith family," two of the Smith sons going to live with their step-mother, Mrs. Samuel Ball, and assisting in the cultivation of the farm.) We come now to the third generation.
3. Benjamin, fifth son of Jonathan Ball, had four sons, Benjamin, Charles, born 1725, Noah, Moses, and one daughter, Abigail.
4. Charles had two sons, Charles born 1760 and Heman, and one daughter, Ruth. Charles settled in Ireland parish, (now Holyoke); Heman, in Rutland, Vermont, where he was pastor of a congregational church, a doctor of divinity. He was a good scholar. He was never married. Charles Ball was one of the Selectmen of the town in 1777, then fifty-two years of age.
5. Charles the second, known as Lieut. Charles
Ball, had four sons, Francis, Charles, Hervey born 1794,
and Edwin H., born 1807, and one daughter, Merob. The daughter married Warren Chapin and had two sons, Asahel and Warren, and two daughters, Mary and Jane. Lieut. Charles Ball was nine times elected representative from his native town, two only in a list of seventy-three exceeding him in the number of re-elections, one of those being a grandson of Dr. Samuel Ball, called in the old record "Mr. Esq. and Hon. Jonathan Smith Jr."
6. Hervey, third son of Charles the second, had four sons, Timothy Horton, born February 16, 1826; Henian, January 15, 1832; Charles, April 15, 1834; James Hervey, September 11, 1836; and three daughters, Elisabeth Hanmer, born August 25, 1829; Mary Jane, October 25, 1839; Henrietta, December 7, 1841. Of these Heman Ball died at Cedar Lake August 28, 1854, Henrietta Ball January 27, 1863, and Charles Ball, Lieutenant of Twelfth Indiana Cavalry, died while "at home on furlough" September 12, 1865.
7. Timothy H. Ball was married April 19, 1855, to Miss Martha C. Creighton of Alabama. They have one son, Herbert S. and one daughter, Georgietta Ethberta.
7. James Hervey Ball graduated at the Law School of the University of Chicago in 1871. He was married September 1, 1880, to Miss H. Bridgeman of Chicago, who died September 5, 1881.
8. Herbert S. Ball graduated at the Bennett Medical College of Chicago in March, 1884.
Among the pioneers on the west side of Cedar Lake was Charles R. Ball, a nephew of Hervey Ball, son of Charles Ball, grandson of Lieut. Charles Ball, who has lived for many years a few miles northwest from Chicago. He was born in 18--, and has six sons, Dunham, Charles, J. Wesley, Leavitt, D. Morris, and Marcellus. Daughters in the Ball family have generally been few. Of the five children of Lieut. Charles Ball of the fifth generation, one son is now living Col. Edwin H. Bull of. Holyoke, Massachusetts. He has five sons living and two daughters. His sons are: James R., Henry Jube, Francis Wayland. Charles Ely, and Dillman Kimball. His daughters are Mrs. Helen S. Allyn and Mrs. Alice E. Carpenter of Holyoke. He has twenty grandchildren. Col. Ball has visited this county occasionally, and was here at the time of the death of his brother Judge Ball of Cedar Lake.
1. Francis Ball from England 1640. Drowned 1648/ Age unknown.
2. Jonathan Ball, born 1645, died 1741. Age 96.
3. Benjamin Ball, born 1689, died 1773. Age 84.
4. Charles Ball, born 1725, died 1795. Age 70.
5. Charles Ball, born 1760, died 1838. Age 78.
6. Hervey Ball, born 1794, died 1868. Age 74.
7. Timothy H. Ball, born 1826.
7. James H. Ball, born 1836.
8- Herbert S. Ball, born 1856.
It thus appears that no one in this line, born in America, has died under the age of seventy. And the average age of the American generations is over eighty. Years between the death of father and son, 93, 32, 22, 43, 30.
Number of descendants of Francis Ball unknown.
Number of descendants of Charles Ball of 1725,
seventy now living.
NOTE.-I have stood by the tombstone of Francis Ball in the old burial place of West Springfield, at the very spot where, more than two hundred and thirty years ago, his dust was committed to the earth, and am glad and grateful that the community there preserve, in the heart of their old town, their long unused, now ancient cemetery. T. H..B.
1. The earliest of this family whose name can be recorded here was Jacob Ames of Canterbury, N. H.
2. Samuel Ames, his son, was born in Boscawen, New Hampshire, in 1724. He had two sons, Samuel and David.
3. Samuel Ames, one of these sons, was born in 1745. He married Jane Gerrish, the only sister of Col. Henry Gerrish. He was in the Revolutionary War, was at the battle of Stillwater. He was noted as a hunter. His children were, Joseph, Hannah, Sarah, Polly, and David. He died in 1825.
4. Joseph Ames, the oldest son, was born in 1771. He died in 1851. His children were: Myra, Joseph, Lucy, David, Samuel, Nathan, Plumer, Stephen, and Phebe Jane.
5. Samuel Ames, the third of these sons, was born July 14, 1813, and came from New Hampshire to Lake Prairie, West Creek township, in 1856. He has one son, Edward Payson, and one daughter, Lizzie. He is now living at Elkhart.
6. Edward P. Ames was born June 4, 1848, and was married to Miss Nannie Wason December 4, 1875. They have three sons: Carl W., born March 20, 1877; Ray H., born February 14, 1879; and Edward E., born June 25, 1881.
Miss Lizzie Ames was married in 1877 to George E. Compton. They reside at Elkhart in this state. E. P. Ames was this fall elected county recorder, and now resides in Crown Point.
DR. THOMAS PEACH.
A resident of Boscawen, New Hampshire, married February 2, 1815, to Miss Susannah Gerrish who was born June 15, 1797. and who was a daughter of Henry Gerrish of the sixth generation and sister of Abiel Gerrish of Lake county, Dr. Peach, then an aged man, came to Lake Prairie about 1858. He and his wife made their home with their son-in-law, E. N. Morey, where he died, February 8, 1882, being ninety-eight years of age.
1. Among the early settlers in Newbury, Massachusetts, was Capt. William Gerrish, who was born in Bristol, England, in 1617, August 20, and settled in Newbury in 1639. He was the first captain of the military band in that town, a representative for five years, and removing to Boston in 1678, he died at Salem August 9, 1687. He had six sons and two daughters.
2. Col. Moses Gerrish, one of those six sons, was born May 9, 1656, and died December 4, 1694. He had two sons and four daughters.
3. Col. Joseph Gerrish, one of those sons, was born March 20, 1682, and died January 1765. He was for twenty years a member of the colonial legislature. He "had such muscular power that he swam the Merrimack river, near its mouth, every year till he was past seventy." He had thirteen children.
4. Capt. Stephen Gerrish, one of those children, was born January 22, 1711, and died 1788. He removed from Newbury to Canterbury, New Hampshire. His second wife was Joanna Hale, sister of Richard Hale who was V the father of Capt. Nathan Hale, the martyr spy in the war of American independence." He had five sons and one daughter.
5. Col. Henry Gerrish, one of these sons, was born May 3, 1742, and died May 16, 1806. He had seven sons and four daughters.
6. Henry Gerrish, one of the sons, was born May 29, 1772, and died September 11, 1862. He married Mary, daughter of Hon. Abiel Foster, of Canterbury, June 6, 1796. She died in 1869, "aged about 95" years. Mrs. Gerrish's mother, Mrs. Foster, was Mary Rogers, daughter of Rev. Daniel Rogers of Exeter, New Hampshire. Mrs. Gerrish was the eighth in descent from John Rogers, the martyr. The following is the line of this descent:
John Rogers of London, burned at Smithfield, February 14, 1555, the first martyr in Queen Mary's reign. 1st. A son, whose name seems to have been lost, one of the "small children" that stood with their mother near that martyr's stake, on that dark day in England's history. 2d. Rev. John Rogers, "a famous minister of God's word at Dedham, England, who died in 1639." 3d. Rev. Nathaniel Rogers, who came to America in 1636 and died in 1655. 4th. John Rogers, a physician, preacher, and president of Harvard College, who died in 1684. 5th. Rev. John Rogers of Ipswich, who died in 1745, in the 80th year of his age. 6th. Rev. Daniel Rogers, of Exeter, who died in 1785, aged 78 years. 7th. Mary Rogers. 8th. Mary Foster Gerrish, born October 1, 1774. Henry and Mary Gerrish had five daughters and two sons.
7. Abiel Gerrish, the younger of these sons, was born March 7, 1806, at Boscawen, New Hampshire. He became a resident of Lake county in 1856. He was married to Miss Eliza Dodge, January 18, 1830. In January, 1880, they celebrated their golden wedding. They "were two of the original twelve members of the Presbyterian church in West Creek, of which he was chosen elder at its formation;" Mrs. Gerrish died September 19, 1881. He died June 10, 1884. They had five daughters and one son. The first three children, Maria, Martha, and Mary, were born in Canterbury, New Hampshire. The first married Joseph Barnard Jr. of Contoocookville, New Hampshire, whose daughter, Miss Mary E. Barnard, is now in our county. The second married William S. Freed, a former resident of Crown Point, now with his daughters in Washington territory. Mrs. Freed died December 16, 1875. The third married Joseph A. Little of West Creek, November 1, 1859. The fourth daughter, Jane P. married Thomas Stroud of Wheeler, Porter county, Indiana, December 31, 1863. The fifth daughter, Ann E., married David B. Brush, of Waveland, Indiana, September 22, 1868.
8. James L. Gerrish, the only son of A. Gerrish, was born in Boscawen, New Hampshire, November 15, 1836. Still a member of his father's family he came into Lake county, West Creek in 1856, and was married February 15, 1866, to Miss Lena D. Dyer of Wheaton, Illinois. They have two children, Henry and Kittie.
7. A grandson of Col. Henry Gerrish, the seventh son of Joseph Gerrish, and a cousin of Abiel Gerrish, late of West Creek, is Dr. Alfred A. Gerrish, born July 9,1829, a physician at Lowell, in Lake county. He is unmarried.
The Gerrish, Little, Ames, Peach, Plumer, and Morey families, all old New England families, have intermarried in the generations of the past, and about thirty years ago representatives of these families formed a settlement in West Creek township, which has been often called the New Hampshire Settlement. (Members of the Little family also intermarried with the Ball family, a number of years ago.)
George Little, who came from London to Newbury, Massachusetts in 1640, was the founder of this now wide spread family, in the United States. A quite full record has been gathered, by diligent research, of his descendants, a record which contains now the names of sixty-five hundred of these descendants. Of the Lake county branch of this family only will the record be here given.
1. George Little, from London, England, came to Newbury in 1640. He soon secured some of the most productive land in that town-and this word is used here in its New England sense equivalent nearly to our township-and purchased land at Saco, Maine, at Stonington and Quinnebang, Connecticut, in New Hamp-shire, and in New Jersey. He had three sons and two daughters. He died in 1693 or 1694.
2. Moses Little, the youngest of these sons, was born March 11, 1657, and died March 8, 1691. His estate was returned to the probate court in November 1691 as amounting in value to one thousand and sixty-five pounds sterling. He had three sons and three daughters.
3. Tristam Little, the second of these sons, was born December 9, 1681, and died November 11, 1765. The house which he erected was standing a few years ago, and probably is now, being the residence of William Little Esq., town-clerk of Newbury. (A large part of the land in that town secured by George Little of 1640 is still owned by his direct descendants.) Tristam Little, the third in this line, had six sons and five daughters.
4. Enoch Little, the fifth of these sons, was born May 21, 1728, and died October 21, 1816. He removed from Newbury to Hampstead in 1766, and to Boscawen, New Hampshire, in 1774. He had seven sons and five daughters. His first, second, and third sons, Friend, Benjamin, and Joseph, were soldiers in the war of the Revolution. Two were in the battle of Bennington, and one was with Washington at White Plains, and "at West Point at the time of Arnold's treason, and saw Andre lead to execution."
5. Jesse Little, the sixth of these sons, was born July 30, 1767, and died August 10, 1840. He married Martha, a daughter of Col. Henry Gerrish of Boscawen, who died at New Buffalo, Michigan, August 28, 1855. He had six sons and four daughters.
6. Capt. Thomas Little, the fourth of these sons, was born January 2, 1802, married Myra, a daughter of Capt. Joseph Ames of Boscawen, New Hampshire, June 2, 1829, and removed to West Creek township, Lake county, in 1855. For almost thirty years, it thus appears, this household has been numbered among the families of Lake. Capt. Little was, like his "ancestors, a man of excellent character, energetic and intelligent, an earnest Christian man, one of the founders of the Lake Prairie Presbyterian church, a man well known in the southern and central parts of the county. He died at the family home in West Creek township, August 19, 1877, in the seventy-sixth year of his age. Mrs. Little, his wife, died June 17, 1869. They had one son, Joseph A., and two daughters, Sarah H., and Lucy J. These all are well known among the residents of the southern part of the county.
Miss Sarah H. Little, a very estimable young lady, admired and loved by her many friends, died February 19, 1874. Her dust reposes with the mortal remains of her father and mother, in the Lake Prairie Cemetery, a burial place on a large rise of ground near the center of Lake Prairie, within its ample enclosure twenty-five, or more of the native plants of that prairie growing each summer, a burial place, in the estimation of this writer, the choicest of all our cemeteries, where he hopes memorial stones can be found, as in the heart of the New England towns, by the generations of the future, even until the dead awake.
Miss Lucy J. Little was married, August 2, 1860, to Thomas H. Bonham of Ohio.
7. Joseph A. Little, the only son of Capt. Little, was born May 24, 1830, became a resident of Lake county, then a young man, in 1855, was married November 1, 1859, to Miss Mary Gerrish, a daughter of Abiel Gerrish of West Creek, and has become "an extensive fanner and stock-raiser" in the southwestern part of the county, now one of our wealthy and influential citizens. He has three sons, Lewis G., James H., and Jesse; and three daughters, Ellen, Myra A., and Mary E.
8. Lewis G. Little, the oldest of these sons, was born in Lake county, February 21, 1861. He is now a student of Wabash College, at Crawfordsville, Indiana. A descendant in such a long line of honorable ancestry, a member of one of the large families of our land, of whom the names and records are known of six and a half thousand persons, in the generations of the past and of the present, he may well be expected to make for himself a noble record in life. And like him, his brothers and sisters have their own records largely yet to make. They will be expected not to fall behind the virtue, the energy, the intelligence, arid the solid worth of the generations that have preceded them.
For much of the foregoing I am indebted to records "compiled by Alfred Little" of New England. I find in this family largely Christian men, and men of weight of character in their communities, farmers, office holders, soldiers in our three noted wars, singers and musicians and teachers, college graduates, surveyors, business men, and some distinguished Gospel ministers.
Well says one of these compilers, a writer known to readers of Boston journals by the signature "Carleton," "No educated person denies or underrates the value or historical investigation."
"A life time devoted to that pursuit does not seem misspent." And well says George T. Little, a compiler and publisher in 1877, The fact that the Bible, God's revealed word, devotes so much space to genealogical tables, and so repeatedly reminds the Hebrews that they are the children of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob, grants to the family history the right to a place amid the numberless volumes that annually issue from the press."
Here, for our county, and this volume, these family records must close. I am glad that so many have been placed in my hands.