Frank Hess, treasurer of the city of Hammond and otherwise prominent in the public and business life of his city and county, is a native son of Lake county and has lived here all his life, for over half a century. For fifteen years he has taken a leading part in the official matters of his county, has been the incumbent of some place of trust during this time, and in whatever relation he has met his fellow-citizens has won their entire confidence and esteem.
Mr. Hess was born in North township, Lake county, Indiana, November 17, 1853, being the only son and child of Joseph and Mary Ann (Sackley) Hess. His mother was a native of Canada and a daughter of William Sackley. She died in 1860, when Frank was seven years old. Joseph Hess was a native of France, and was one of three sons and one daughter, children of a life-long resident of France. Joseph Hess was a baker by trade. He came to America about 1846, and worked at his trade in Syracuse, New-York, for a time, and in 1848 moved west to Chicago. About 1852 he settled at West Point, or Gibson station, in Lake county, Indiana, having come to North township, Lake county, in 1850. That place was then the western end of the Michigan Central line of railroad, passengers being carried by stage from there into Chicago. He conducted an eating house there for a short time, and then moved to the place which was named in his honor, Hessville. He was in the cattle and stock business there for a time, and then conducted a general store. He held the office of trustee of North township for twenty-two years, and was also postmaster of Hessville for nearly forty years, his second wife having the place after his death. He died in August, 1895, Past seventy-one years of age. He was recognized as one of the most prominent citizens of that part of Lake county, and in many ways was identified with the progress and development of the community. He was a devoted member of the Catholic church. He married for his second wife Elizabeth Natke, and they had eleven children, nine of whom are now living: Edward; Alice, deceased, who was the wife of Fred Scheuneman, also deceased; George; William; Julius; Gustave, deceased; Albert; Joseph; Emma, who was the second wife of Fred Scheuneman, and after his death married William Bundy; John, and Lydia.
Mr. Frank Hess was reared on a farm in Lake county, and secured his education by attendance at the district schools. He remained with his father and assisted in his business until he was married at the age of twenty-six. He early took a prominent part in the public affairs of his township, and served as assessor of North township for thirteen years. He was city councilman of Hammond for three years, was city clerk for four years, and in 1892 was elected city treasurer, which position he has held and whose responsible duties he has discharged most faithfully to the present time. He has always been an advocate of the principles and policies of the Republican party. He is vice-president and also a director of the Lake County Trust and Savings Bank. He built his good home at 443 North Hohman street in 1886, and besides has other business interests and property in the city and county.
Mr. Hess married, May 24, 1879, Miss Emma Haselbach, a daughter of August and Mary (Grabo) Haselbach. Ten children were born of their union, but all died when young. Mrs. Hess died February 12, 1894. On October 10, 1895, Mr. Hess married Miss Martha Karsten, a daughter of John and Mary Karsten. They have one daughter, Emma C. Mrs. Hess is a member of the Lutheran church. Mr. and Mrs. Hess have an adopted daughter, Lydia Hess, born May 13, 1895.
JOHN P. SCHAEFER.
John P. Schaefer, of Section 33, St. John township, is a life-long resident of Lake county, and for many years has been one of its prominent farmers and representative citizens. He has been frugal, industrious and a good manager all through his career, and at the prime of his years has acquired a competence in a fine landed estate. He farms the small place where he resides, and rents out most of his other property. He has also identified himself with various community interests, and as an all-round successful man is a fine example of sterling American citizenship.
Mr. Schaefer was born in Center township of Lake county, on October 9, 1854. His father, Jacob Schaefer, a native of Germany, is counted among the early settlers of Lake county, and lived to be eighty-three years old, having spent his life as a farmer. His wife was Maggie Willem. also a native of Germany, and she died at about the age of sixty-five years. There were nine children in the family and all of them reached manhood and womanhood.
Mr. John P. Schaefer was the youngest of the family. He was nine years old when the family moved over into St. John township, and he was reared and received most of his education here. He remained at home and assisted his father in the cultivation of the farm until the latter's death, and he has continued farming to the present, gradually adding to his estate interests as he was prospered. He now owns four hundred acres where the old homestead is situated, and seventy-three acres where his present residence is located. He does general farming and stock-raising. He located on his present farm in 1901, having lived in section 35 previous thereto, and gives most of his own labors and attention to the seventy-three acres at his home, renting nearly all the rest of his land.
Mr. Schaefer is a Democrat as far as concerns national politics, but in local affairs tries to vote for the best man. regardless of what party tag he bears. He has church membership with the St. John's Catholic church. He was married in 1883 to Miss Susan Jordan, who was born in St. John township, Lake county, October 5. 1864. a daughter of John A. and Johanna (Klassen) Jordan, old settlers of Lake county. Mr. and Mrs. Schaefer have six children: Maggie, Edward, Carrie, Zelie, Mary and John A.
FLOYD M. PIERCE.
Floyd M. Pierce is the eldest child of Marion F. and Maggie (Randolph) Pierce, whose biographies as prominent citizens of Lake county are given on other pages of this history. The son has himself found a broad field of usefulness in his native county, and Ross township has especial reason to be proud and grateful for his sterling and public-spirited citizenship and his loyalty to all that concerns the general welfare. Both now and in later years his work for the educational interests of the township will be cherished and held up as one of his most important achievements. As trustee of the township he has given a far more than ordinary or perfunctory attention to the practical matters of education, and every child of school age is receiving more or less benefit from the enlarged educational opportunities which have been so largely the result of his endeavor and ambition along these lines.
This leading young business man and public official of Ross township was born in the township and county of his present residence, on May 25, 1873. He was educated in the public schools and the Northern Indiana Normal School at Valparaiso, after which he taught school for two years, from which experience his later work for the schools has received the greater stamp of practicality and effective direction. He was also appointed to the office of postmaster of Merrillville for a term of four years, and at the present time is successfully engaged in the coal business at this town.
Politically Mr. Pierce follows his father in adhering stanchly to Democratic principles. He was elected to the office of trustee of Ross township in 1900, and still holds that important office. During his term he has had the oversight of the construction of three schoolhouses and has otherwise been a leader in local affairs. He was directly concerned with the erection of the beautiful high school building at Merrillville, which is an honor to the town, the township and county, and shows how thoroughly this section of northwestern Indiana is living up to the reputation for high educational ideals established for the entire state of Indiana. The high school is seventy-four feet front and thirty-six feet wide, has two stories and a seven-foot basement, is built of stone and pressed brick, is heated by two furnaces, contains four large rooms, and is finished throughout after the most modern style of school architecture and educational equipments. The total cost of this permanent and model structure was seven thousand dollars, and its durability and thoroughness of construction are its chief points of economy, and it is altogether a credit to the taxpayers of the community. The rooms are seated with desks of the most approved and hygienic pattern, there are genuine slate blackboards, speaking tubes, and many other points of equipment which would astonish the old-time educator of half a century ago. In 1903 the Merrillville high school held an exhibition of the work done by the pupils of the manual training department, and the products of their youthful skill and handiwork were of such high grade that the photos of the different articles have been sent to St. Louis and are now on exhibition there at the World's Fair. Prior to the erection of the high school building the school contained only eight grades, but since Mr. Pierce's administration the full twelve grades have been instituted and now afford the children of Ross township unequalled opportunities for public school education. Another act of his administration has been the discontinuing of three small rural schools and their consolidation with the central school, the pupils being transported at the public expense to the school daily, and this has been done with de-creased expenditure for maintenance and with much increased efficiency in the character of work accomplished.
Mr. Pierce has fraternal affiliations with the Masonic lodge No. 551 and with Hobart Tent No. 65 of the Knights of the Maccabees. He was married, February 16, 1895, to Miss Lillie M. Niksch, and they have three children, Vida, Myra and the baby. Vida is now in the second grade of her school work. Mrs. Pierce was born January 25, 1876, and was reared in this county and educated in the common schools. Her father passed away March 2, 1903, at the age of seventy-seven, but her mother is still living at the age of seventy-two.
Joseph Patton, who for some years has been living retired from active life at Crown Point, is a pioneer farmer and settler of Lake county, with over fifty years of continuous residence to his credit. During most of this long period he has made farming his vocation, and still retains the farm on which he laid the basis of his prosperity. He has also given time and energy to the promotion of the general welfare of his community, and now at the age of three score and ten ranks among the men of influence and ability and excellent personal character and reputation in this part of Lake county.
Mr. Patton was born in Trumbull county, Ohio, October 17, 1834. His father, John H. Patton, was born in Mercer county, Pennsylvania, and came to Lake county in 1852 from Trumbull county, Ohio, locating and improving a farm in Winfield township, where he died in 1865 at the age of sixty-five years. He married Eliza Jane Dixon, who was born in Ireland and came to America when about fourteen years old, and who died at the age of sixty-seven years. They were the parents of sixteen children, and all of these grew up and married (except the oldest, who never married) and lived to be past thirty-five years of age. Some of them still live, being from seventy to eighty years old.
Mr. Joseph Patton, the seventh son and twelfth child, was reared in Trumbull county, Ohio, up to his eighteenth year, receiving most of his education in the old-time log schoolhouse, and in 1852 he accompanied his parents to Lake county. That was an early year in the history of Lake county, and there were but three stores in Crown Point at the time. In 1855, after he had married, he located on land of his own in Winfield township, where he cleared and improved a good farmstead of one hundred and sixty acres, building the houses and barns and completing the last of the important improvements in 1882. This is one of the model places of the township, and he still owns it and finds it a steady source of revenue, although in 1882 he retired from its active and personal management and moved into Crown Point, where he also has a fine property. He deserves the comforts of retired life, and as one of the old settlers has reaped his share of the profits accruing to those who place themselves in the van of progress and help develop a new country for the uses of civilization.
He has also been identified with the public life of Lake county, and is one of the life-long and influential Republicans of the county. During the Civil war he enlisted and served as a member of Company E, One Hundred and Fifty-first Indiana Infantry, his record to the end of the war having been most creditable. He is now a member of the John Wheeler Post, G. A. R., at Crown Point. He has been a member of the Methodist Episcopal church for forty-five years, and has filled all the offices and is devoted to its work.
He was trustee for about twenty years and is now class leader and also treasurer. He has handled all the money for the erection of the church at Crown Point, and has contributed much of his own to the various departments of church work.
Mr. Patton married, in 1854, Miss Phebe Folsom, who was born in Trumbull county, Ohio, and who became the mother of two daughters: Olive, the wife of William Pardington, of Chicago; and Ida May, the widow of Lincoln S. Blakman. In 1867 Mr. Patton married his present wife, Mrs. Eliza (Foster) Patton, who also had two daughters: Hattie, who died at the age of one and a half years; and Jennie, the wife of Edward Muzzall, and they have four children.
Reuben Hipsley, retired farmer and ex-county commissioner, residing at Palmer, Winfield township, has lived in Lake county for over fifty years, and most of that time has been spent in fanning. He retired a few years ago and moved into Palmer, but still supervises his farming operations and takes active part in business affairs. His career throughout has been one of integrity and upright dealings, and besides being successful in his life work he has found time to devote to public affairs and has been honored with the most important county office.
Mr. Hipsley was born in Knox county, Ohio, August 22, 1846. His grandfather, Joshua Hipsley, was born in Maryland, of German descent, followed for a life occupation farming, and was one of the pioneers of Knox county, Ohio. Jonathan Lewis Hipsley, the father of Reuben, was born twenty miles from Baltimore, Maryland, March 4, 1820, and died January 2, 1895. At the age of fourteen he accompanied his parents to Knox county, Ohio, and was reared and lived there until 1853, when he located in Lake county, Indiana, and bought and improved a farm of one hundred acres in Winfield township, on which he was living at the time of his death. He was a member of the Methodist Episcopal church, was a stanch Whig during the existence of that party, and afterward became an equally ardent Republican. He married Eliza Phillips, who was born in Jefferson county. Ohio, was reared in Knox county of the same state, and now makes her home at Mt. Vernon, Ohio. She is eighty years old, having been born August 1, 1824. Her father was Reuben Phillips, probably born in Pennsylvania.
Jonathan Hipsley and his wife had five children: John, deceased; Reuben ; Charles, of Broken Bow, Nebraska; Sarah, wife of J. J. Stoffer, of Knox county, Ohio; and Phebe, deceased.
Mr. Reuben Hipsley was about six years old when he moved with the family from Knox county, Ohio, to Lake county, so that his schooling was received in this county. He remained at home and assisted his father until his marriage, in 1870, and he then located in Winfield township on a farm that he still owns. He was engaged in farming there until 1900, when he built a residence in Palmer and moved to town. He has one of the nicest residences in this part of the county. He owns about three hundred acres of land, and still does farming on one hundred acres comprising the home place.
Mr. Hipsley has been a life-long Republican and voted for Grant, and has done much local work for the party. He was elected to the office of county commissioner in 1894 and was re-elected in 1898, so that he was in office for six years altogether. All the gravel roads of the county, costing in the aggregate six hundred thousand dollars, were constructed during his administration. He is a stockholder in the Commercial Bank of Crown Point. He affiliates with the Masonic Lodge No. 502 at Hebron.
Mr. Hipsley married, December 18, 1870, Miss Marilda Dittrick, who was born in Lapeer county, Michigan, October 12, 1849, a daughter of Walton and Sarah (Wells) Dittrick. Six children have been born to them: Carrie D., deceased; Alice A., deceased; Sherman J., deceased; Ida F., at home; and Lucile M. and Rillia Blanche. Ida was educated in the Conservatory of Music at Valparaiso. Lucile is in the eighth grade, Blanche in the sixth. Mrs. Hipsley was four years of age when she came with her parents to Marshall county, Indiana, and was reared and educated in that county. Her parents are both deceased, and she is the only survivor. Mr. and Mrs. Hipsley have in their possession an old parchment deed dated August 1, 1844, and executed under the hand of President John Tyler. This is the eleventh deed of the kind found in the county of Lake.
Charles Keilmann of St. John township is one of the oldest living members of a family which has been prominently identified with the agricultural and business affairs of Lake county since pioneer times. He has himself always followed farming, and is still residing on and operating a farm which he located upon after his marriage, over a half century ago. He has been a man of industry and good business habits, has now, at the age of seventy-five, a successful career behind him and much to show for his past efforts, and at all times and in all circumstances has enjoyed the respect and high esteem of his friends and neighbors.
Mr. Keilmann was born in Hesse-Darmstadt, Germany, August 29, 1829, being the fourth child of Henry and Elizabeth Keilmann, who in 1845 left their native fatherland and came to Lake county, Indiana, becoming early settlers in this portion of northern Indiana. Charles was about sixteen years old when he came to this county. He was reared to farm work, and remained at home and assisted his father until several years after he was grown. He was married in 1852, and in the same year located on his present farm. He now owns one hundred and twenty acres, and has had a long and continued record of success in his operations at farming. He is well known throughout the county, and is a truly representative citizen. He is a Democrat in politics, and served as road commissioner for three terms. He and his family are members of the Catholic church in St. John.
In 1852 Mr. Keilmann married Miss Anna Mary Orr, who was born in Germany and was a young girl when she came to Lake county. She died in 1884, having been the mother of twelve children, ten of whom are living: George, deceased; Susanna, wife of Adam Bohling; Frank, of Chicago Heights, Illinois; Phillip, of Nebraska; Henry, of Lowell, Indiana; Leonard, of Hammond; Michael, who lives at home and married May Dahlkamp; Charles, of Dyer, Lake county; John, who died aged five years; Mary, wife of Jacob Spanier, of St. John; Peter, of Hammond; and Jacob, of Chicago Heights. All these children were born and reared in St. John township.
Leonard Keilman, agriculturist, merchant and general business man of Dyer, St. John township, is the foremost man of affairs in this town, and has been identified with its commercial prosperity and general development for over forty-five years. He belongs to the family which is perhaps the most prominent in the industrial and commercial history of St. John township, and its members have played their various parts in Lake county for the past sixty years, from the primitive pioneer times to the progressive present. Mr. Keilman has numerous interests, from those purely agricultural to financiering and banking, and throughout his career he has been to a high degree successful and at the same time has used his influence and efforts for the advancement of the community along lines of material, social and intellectual good.
As were the rest of the family, he was born in Hesse-Darmstadt, Germany, on May 4, 1833, being the youngest of the seven children of Henry and Elizabeth Keilman, further mention of which worthy pioneer couple will be found in the sketches of the various other members of the family appearing in this work. When Leonard was seven years old the family came to America, and for a little more than four years lived in Portage county, Ohio, coming to Lake county in 1844. He was between eleven and twelve years of age when he arrived in this county, and for several years more attended the early schools of the county. He remained at home with his parents until twenty years of age, and then started out for himself by engaging in farming. In 1854 he was married, and then at once located on the farm where he has ever since made his home, and where he continued his farm operations exclusively for several years. In 1858 he branched out into the mercantile enterprises which have since occupied so much of his attention. He established a store in Dyer and at the same time added- a lumber yard. About 1860 he began the buying and shipping of hay and grain, and later took up the milling business at Lowell, where he still owns the mill and also the lumber and grain yards and elevators. In 1903 he was one of the organizers of the First National Bank at Dyer, and is one of its stockholders. His son Henry is its president and a director, and John L. Keilman is also a director. Henry Batterman is a director and vice-president. William F. Keilman and John A. Kimmet are the other directors, and Augustus Stumel is cashier. The capital stock is twenty-five thousand dollars, and it is already one of the important financial institutions of this part of the county. Besides all the enterprises just mentioned, Mr. Keilman owns about seven hundred acres of Lake county land. He has taken a good citizen's part in the public affairs of his community, and in national affairs has always voted the Democratic ticket. He and his family are members of the Catholic church.
In 1854 Mr. Keilman married Miss Lena Austgen, who was born in Germany and came to America when about twelve years old, locating with her family in Lake county during the same year. Mr. and Mrs. Keilman are the parents of eight children : Henry, who is a farmer and also mentioned in connection with the bank; Margaret, wife of J. A. Kimmet, of Lowell: Catherine, Mary, both single; Frank, a farmer; Ellen, a sister in St. Joseph's order; John L., a merchant and in partnership with his father; and Lizzie, single. All the children were born in Dyer.
HAROLD H. WHEELER.
Prominent among the energetic and capable young men of Lake county is numbered Harold H. Wheeler, who is now clerk of the circuit court and a resident of Crown Point. This is his native city, his birth having occurred on the 28th of December, 1871. He is the great-grandson of Solon Robinson, who was the first county clerk of Lake county and was the founder of Crown Point. He became one of the very earliest settlers of this portion of the state, locating here when much of the land was still in its primitive condition, when the forests were uncut, the prairies uncultivated.
John J. Wheeler, the father of our subject, is represented elsewhere in this work. In his family were four children, of whom Harold H. Wheeler is the eldest son. The latter was educated in the high school of Crown Point and immediately after leaving school he accepted the position of deputy clerk under George I. Maillet, under whom he served for three years. He was then deputy clerk for George M. Eder for eight years and at the end of that time was nominated without opposition at the Republican primaries for the position of clerk of the circuit court, in 1900. His election followed and he discharged the duties so acceptably that in 1902 he was re-nominated, and he now has five years to serve. His second term began in January, 1904. His connection with the office has been of long duration, so that he is thoroughly familiar with the business transactions therein and he has instituted many reforms and improvements, which have been of value in the system of conducting the work of the office of the clerk of the circuit court.
Mr. Wheeler is identified with several fraternal organizations. He belongs to the Independent Order of Foresters, the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, the Knights of Pythias fraternity and is a prominent Mason, always true and loyal to the teachings of the craft. He belongs to the blue lodge, chapter, council and commandery, also to the lodge of Perfection of the Rose Croix and has attained the thirty-second degree of the Scottish Rite. He is likewise identified with the Mystic Shrine, and is very active in the work of the fraternity, while in his life he exemplifies the beneficent spirit of the craft.
In 1891 he was united in marriage to Miss Jennie Ward, a daughter of Henry R. Ward, and they have one son, John Ward Wheeler. Mr. Wheeler has a very wide acquaintance throughout the county in which his entire life has been passed, and his election to office was a tribute to his personal worth as well as to his business ability.
WILLIAM H. VANSCIVER.
William H. Vansciver, a retired farmer residing in Crown Point, was horn at Beverly, New Jersey, December 25, 1852, and is of Holland lineage. His paternal grandfather was William Vansciver, his father, Barnet Vansciver. The latter was a native of New Jersey, acquired his education in the schools of that state and was married there to Miss Anna Homer, who was born and reared in Pennsylvania. Their only child, William H. Vansciver, was a year old when in 1853 they came to Lake county, Indiana, settling on a farm in Winfield township, where the father carried on agricultural pursuits until sixty-eight years of age, when his life's labors were ended in death.
Upon the old family homestead William H. Vansciver spent the days of his boyhood and youth, and his education was acquired in the common schools. As soon as old enough he assisted in the work of field and meadow, and later he took charge of the home farm, continuing its cultivation and management for many years. In fact, throughout his entire business career he has carried on agricultural pursuits, and he is now the owner of two hundred and twenty-eight acres of valuable land in Winfield township, which he rents, this bringing to him a good income. He is now practically living retired from active business life, although occasionally he assists in selling agricultural implements.
Mr. Vansciver was united in marriage to Miss Kate Patton, who was born in Ohio and was a daughter of James Patton. She was reared in Lake county, Indiana, and by this marriage there were four children, but two died in early life. The others are Delia and Dana. Both Mr. and Mrs. Vansciver are well known in this county and have a large circle of warm friends. He exercises his right of franchise in support of the men and measures of the Republican party, has taken an active interest in political work in his locality and keeps well informed on the questions and issues of the day. He served as township trustee of Winfield township for nine years, and he has always been interested in public progress and improvement. He is identified with the Masonic lodge and with the Foresters at Crown Point, and he con-tributes generously to different churches, although he is not identified with any denomination through membership relations. His life has been quietly passed, yet it contains many elements that are well worthy of emulation, for he has always been active and honorable in business, loyal in citizenship and faithful in friendship.
DAVID A. FISHER.
David A. Fisher, of Section 29, Eagle Creek township, has been among the leading farmers of this part of Lake county for the past twenty years, and carries on his operations on an unusually extensive scale. He is a native son of the county and township, and most of the years of a very busy and successful business career have been spent here. Besides farming, he has at various times branched out into commercial lines, where he has likewise been prosperous, and in citizenship and matters of community interest he performs his part in a public-spirited and generous manner.
Mr. Fisher was born in Eagle Creek township, Lake county, March 13, 1855, and was reared and educated in the county. From the public schools he went to Valparaiso and took a course in the Northern Indiana Normal School. For two years he was engaged in the hardware and implement business at Hebron, during 1882-83. In 1884 he returned to the farm, where he has found his pleasantest and most profitable scene of work. He has done general farming and stock-raising, and has the management of five hundred and ninety-five acres, with four men in his employ. During 1902 and 1903 he was once more in the implement business, selling binders, mowers and other farm machinery manufactured by the Piano Company. For some months in 1879-80 he was in Colorado for his health, and during the winter was engaged in freighting from Colorado Springs and Leadville, and he also
spent a part of the same winter in New Mexico. Mr. Fisher is one of the influential Republicans in local affairs, and served his township as trustee from 1886 to 1890. He affiliates with the Masonic lodge No. 502 at Hebron and the Independent Order of Foresters at Hebron.
In 1876 Mr. Fisher married Miss Elizabeth Bliss, and for their wedding journey they attended the Centennial at Philadelphia. Mrs. Fisher was born in New York state and was reared in Pulaski county, Indiana. They are the parents of two sons: Kenneth William and Winford B. Kenneth has received his diploma from the public schools in the class of 1902 and will take an extended course in schools of higher instruction. Winford married, June 11, 1903, Miss Lilly B. Volkee, of Eagle Creek township.
August Koehle, proprietor of the Spring Hill resort at St. John, was born in Germany on the 3d of October, 1853, and came to America in 1871, being at that time eighteen years of age. He settled first in Chicago, where he was employed by a brewing company, remaining in that city for about five years or until 1876, when he went to Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. There he visited the Centennial Exposition and later returned to Chicago, but the same year came to Lake county, settling first at Crown Point. There he worked for the Crown Point Brewing Company and was made foreman of the plant, for his previous experience and comprehensive knowledge of the business well qualified him for this position, which he filled in an acceptable manner for about four years. On the expiration of that period, with the money which he had saved from his earnings, he established a saloon in Crown Point, conducting it for six months. On the expiration of that period he came to St. John, where he erected a building and carried on a saloon for some time. Later, however, he sold out and established his present resort called the Spring Hill Grove. This is a summer resort, contains fine buildings and all modern equipments to promote the pleasure of the general public. Everything is in first-class condition and the place was built at a great expense. He has good bowling alleys here and has a resort which is well patronized and brings to him a good financial return upon his investment.
On the 13th of June, 1878, Mr. Koehle was united in marriage to Miss Anna Smith, and to them has been born a son, William. In his political affiliations Mr. Koehle is a Democrat, active in support of the party, and he now has charge of the stone roads in St. John township. He is well known in this part of the county and is deeply interested in its welfare and substantial upbuilding. He and his family are members of the Catholic church of St. John. He has never had occasion to regret his determination to seek a home in America, for here he has found the business opportunities which he sought, and through close application, energy and untiring effort he has passed from humble surroundings and has become one of the well-to-do citizens of his community.
HERBERT E. JONES.
Herbert E. Jones, who is serving for the third term as city clerk of East Chicago, was born in Knoxville, Tennessee, on the 23d of July, 1866, his parents being John T. and Mary (Jones) Jones, both of whom were natives of Wales. The paternal grandfather, John Jones, was also born in Wales, was an iron worker by trade and coming to America was identified with the iron industry of Pennsylvania. He died in Pittsburg, that state, when more than eighty years of age. The maternal grandfather of Mr. Jones, also a native of Wales, spent his entire life in that little rock-ribbed country, dying in middle life. He had made fanning his occupation. His widow married again, becoming the wife of a minister.
John T. Jones followed in the business footsteps of his father and became an iron worker. He emigrated to America about 1851 and located in Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, making his home in that state until 1866, when he went to Knoxville, Tennessee, continuing to reside there and in the neighborhood of Chattanooga until 1873, when he removed to Portland, Maine. About seven years were passed in that city, at the expiration of which period he took up his abode in Chicago, Illinois, where he continued until 1889, when he removed to East Chicago. Here he spent his remaining days, passing away in 1897, when seventy-one years of age. His wife had departed this life about six months before, in July, 1896, at the age of sixty-nine years. They were members of the Congregational church. Their family numbered ten children, five sons and five daughters, of whom four are now living: John A., a resident of East Chicago; Mary, the wife of John P. Hickman, of Milwaukee, Wisconsin; Herbert E., of East Chicago; Daniel, who is also living in East Chicago.
In taking up the personal history of Herbert E. Jones we present to our readers the life record of one who is now widely and favorably known in East Chicago. Born soon after the removal of his parents to Knoxville, Tennessee, he spent the first seven years of his life in that state and then accompanied his parents to Portland. Maine. His education was acquired in the public schools. When he was thirteen years of age he began to earn his own living by working in a rolling mill, thus following the occupation which had been the life labor of his ancestors through several generations. He continued in that pursuit for a number of years, and in the meantime had become a resident, first of Chicago and then of East Chicago. Finally, however, he abandoned the iron industry to accept the position of city clerk, in 1898, and by popular franchise he has been continued in the office for three terms. His re-elections are certainly indicative of his methodical, systematic and accurate work in the office and of his unfaltering fidelity to duty. In March, 1904, he was nominated for the office of recorder of Lake county.
On the 1st of September, 1896, occurred the marriage of Mr. Jones and Miss Mary Jenkins, a daughter of Richard and Mary Jenkins, and they are now the parents of two children - Agnes and Herbert. Mr. and Mrs. Jones are consistent members of the Congregational church. They reside at 4222 Magoun avenue, where he has recently erected a comfortable home. Fraternally he is connected with East Chicago Lodge No. 595, F. & A. M., was formerly its master and is now filling the position of secretary. He also belongs to East Chicago Lodge No. 677, I. O. O: F., to the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks, the Knights of the Maccabees and the Modern Woodmen of America. His political allegiance is given to the Republican party, his study of the questions and issues of the day and of the attitude of the two parties respecting these leading him to give a loyal support to Republican principles, and it was upon the ticket of that party that he has been three times chosen to the position of city clerk.
Frederick Lash, the popular and successful proprietor of the Erie Hotel and Restaurant at Hammond, Indiana, has been numbered among the business men of this city since 1890. He has lived in the state of Indiana since the late sixties, taking up his residence here after a brilliant record as a soldier in both the volunteer and regular forces of the United States, and in his private career since that time he has been as successful, as enterprising and public-spirited as when he followed the flag of the nation. He has a permanent place in the regard of the citizens of Hammond, and has never been known to shirk the responsibilities of private, social or public life.
Mr. Lash was born in Berks county, Pennsylvania, December 19, 1843, being the only son of Benjamin and Elizabeth (Hummel) Lash, natives of Germany. His paternal grandfather, John Lash, was a native of Germany, was a baker by trade and also served in the regular army, and died in that country at the age of ninety-five years, having been the father of a good-sized family, mostly sons. Benjamin Lash was also a baker by trade, and followed that pursuit after emigrating to America and taking up his residence in Berks county, Pennsylvania. He died there in 1849, aged seventy-five years. His wife's father Hummel died in Germany, and that part of the family history is lost.
Mr. Frederick Lash was reared in Berks county, Pennsylvania, on a farm, and the school which he remembers having attended was in a log cabin. He was at home until the summons of war went out through the land, and as a boy of about seventeen he enlisted, in 1861, in the First New York Artillery. He was in the conflict from almost the very beginning to the end, and entered as a private and was gradually promoted to the captaincy of his company, being of that rank at the close of the war. He was in the battles of Lookout Mountain, Fredericksburg, Vicksburg, Missionary Ridge and the Wilderness, and was all through the Atlanta campaign. He was slightly wounded at Vicksburg. After the war he served three years in the regular army, being stationed most of the time in the eastern states, principally in New York.
Following his army service, he came to Indiana and engaged in the restaurant business in Lafayette for some years. He conducted a restaurant, bakery and confectionery establishment at Attica, Indiana, until 1890, and in that year came to Hammond, where he has been in the restaurant and hotel business ever since, for the past twelve years having had charge of the Erie Hotel, one of the most popular public houses of the city, owing all its prosperity to the excellent management of Mr. Lash.
Mr. Lash was married in March, 1869, to Miss Elizabeth Lahr, a daughter of Ulrich and Julia Lahr. There were two children of this union, William and Frederick, the former being a clerk in Hammond and a married man, while the latter is single. Mrs. Elizabeth Lash died April 8, 1899. On May 2, 1900, Mr. Lash married Miss Elizabeth Mclntyre, a daughter of James P. and Eliza Jane (Forrest) Mclntyre. Mr. and Mrs. Nash are Episcopalians in faith, although not identified with any church. He is a Republican in politics, and is alderman from the Third ward. He affiliates with Garfield Lodge No. 569, F. & A. M., with Hammond Chapter, R. A. M., and Bethlehem Temple of the Mystic Shrine in Chicago, and he and his wife are members of the Eastern Star. He also belongs to Moltke Lodge, I. O. O. F., and to the Ancient Order of United Workmen. He is a member of the William H. Calkins Post No. 549, G. A. R. For ten years he was commander of the Indiana State Guard, and was elected colonel of the Lake County Brigade, G. A. R, in 1900. He is the owner of several houses and lots in Hammond, and his material prosperity has come to him as the results of his own efforts. He is a self-made man, and well deserves the place of esteem which he has gained by a life of endeavor.
Mrs. Lash's grandfather, James Mclntyre, was of Irish lineage, but was born in the north of Scotland. He married Mary Booth, of pure English stock, and they had eleven children. He came to America in young manhood and settled in Vermont, where he died at the age of seventy-three years. His father, also named James, died in Ireland. Mary (Booth) Mclntyre died in Vermont at the age of seventy years.
The parents of Mrs. Lash were natives of Vermont, and lived at St. Albans Bay. They had two children: Elizabeth and Edgar Forrest Mclntyre. James P. Mclntyre, her father, was a molder by trade, and had a business of his own. He settled in Jackson, Michigan, at an early day, and thence moved to Athens, and from there to Three Rivers, in the same state, where he had a large plow factory. He returned to Vermont, but later came to Baldwin, Wisconsin, and from there to Stillwater, and thence to Eau Claire, Wisconsin, where he had extensive plow works. He later took up his residence in Chicago, which is his present home. His wife died in 1869. She was a member of the Methodist church. Her father, William Forrest, came to Vermont from Canada, and he and his wife Eliza had a large family. Mr. Mclntyre was a soldier in the Civil war. belonging to Company I, Vermont Infantry, and served four years, having been enlisted as a private and mustered out as a colonel. He was once wounded in the forehead by a shell. He married for his second wife Louisa Amelia Stannard, and they had nine children, five sons and four daughters, the five now living being Frank E., James H., Archie R., Sarah J. and Belle, all of Chicago.
John Stephens, as superintendent of the Inland Steel Company at Indiana Harbor, is a prominent factor in the industrial development and substantial growth of northwestern Indiana, and his career is one which excites the admiration and awakens the respect of all who know aught of his life history. To a student of biography there is nothing more interesting than to examine the life history of a self-made man, and to detect the elements of character which have enabled him to pass on the highway of life many of the companions of his youth who at the outset of their careers were more advantageously equipped or endowed. Mr. Stephens has through his own exertions attained an honorable position and marked prestige among the representative men of this state, and with signal consistency it may be said that he is the architect of his own fortunes, and one whose success amply justifies the application of the somewhat hackneyed but most expressive title of "a self-made man."
Mr. Stephens was born in Lydney, Gloucestershire. England, December 2, 1844, and is a son of John and Charlotte (Hawkens) Stephens, both of whom were natives of Lydney. The paternal grandfather also bore the name of John Stephens, and he too was born in Lydney. He was a mill worker, connected with the tin industry, and he died at the advanced age of ninety-two years, while his wife, Mrs. Hannah Stephens, died at the age of seventy-four years. They were the parents of three sons and four daughters. The maternal grandparents of our subject were Samuel and Sarah Hawkens, and were native residents of Lydney, where the latter died at the age of forty-two years, while the former reached the venerable age of eighty-nine years. He was a shipping contractor, loading and unloading vessels as they came into the canal and dock, or preparing them for passage at sea. To him and his wife were born a son and a daughter, the latter becoming the wife of John Stephens, the father of Mr. Stephens of this review. John Stephens, 2d, was a hammerman and lived and died in his native town of Lydney, where his death occurred in 1899, when he was seventy-seven years of age. His wife departed this life in March, 1902, when seventy-six years of age. Both were members of the Methodist church. They had but two children, the daughter, Sarah, being the wife of Lot Malsom, of Sharon, Pennsylvania.
Mr. John Stephens spent the days of his boyhood and youth in Lydney, England, and acquired his education in the public schools there. When six-teen years of age he became identified with the industry which he has made his life work, securing employment in an iron foundry. There he became familiar with the business in every department, and in detail as well as principle. He worked in both the tin and sheet-iron departments, gaining a most practical and comprehensive knowledge of the trade, and thus he was well equipped for advancement along that line when he came to America.
Believing that the new world offered better business advantages, Mr. Stephens, on the 22d of February, 1872, left England for America, landing in New York city on the 9th of March. The same day he went to Oxford. New Jersey, arriving there at half past six o'clock in the evening. He continued in Oxford until the following August, when he removed to Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, where he remained for ten months, and then located at Sharon, Pennsylvania, where he resided for eleven years, actively connected with the iron industry at that place. His next home was in Greenville, Pennsylvania, and two years later he went to Newcastle, in the same state, where he lived for five years. On the expiration of that period he returned to Sharon, where he remained for seven years longer. For eighteen years he was in the employ of P. L. Kimberly & Company, and during the last seven years with the Sharon Iron Company, being its superintendent. On leaving Pennsylvania, he removed to Muncie, Indiana, where he took charge of the plant of the Midland Steel Company, with which he was connected for six and a half years. From Muncie he came to Indiana Harbor, on the 1st of March, 1902, and in company with R. J. Beatty, John McGrath, John G. Dauks, R. W. Wick and some Chicago capitalists, including L. E. Block, P. D. Block and others, built the Inland Steel Mill, which now employs about nine hundred and fifty men, and this number will be increased as the work progresses. The output of the plant has reached very extensive proportions and it is destined to become one of the leading industrial concerns of the middle west. Throughout his business career Mr. Stephens has been connected with great productive industries, in which he has gradually worked his way upward through efficiency, skill and practical knowledge, until he stands today as one of the foremost representatives of the iron industry in Indiana. Moreover, throughout the entire period of his business career he has ever sustained a reputation which is unassailable, and while fully guarding the interests of his company he has also been most just and fair in his dealings with those who have worked under him, and no better proof of both statements, can be given than the fact that he has received from both employers and fellow-employees substantial tokens of their trust and esteem for him.
When Mr. Stephens left Newcastle, Pennsylvania, the employees of the mill there made him a present of a handsome gold watch and chain, a set of gold cuff buttons and a pair of fancy slippers, while the company gave him a purse of twenty-seven dollars and a rocking chair. When he left Sharon, Pennsylvania, the employees gave him a full set of the Encyclopedia Britannica and a rocking chair for himself and one for his wife. When he left Muncie the employees gave him a three-hundred-dollar silver set, and these tokens of kindly regard and good will he justly prizes highly.
On the 14th of October, 1865, Mr. Stephens was united in marriage to Miss Hannah Jones, a daughter of Herbert and Hannah Jones, and to them have been born the following children, five sons and five daughters: Emily, Caroline Charlotte, Frederick J. H., Lillie Hannah, Minnie Maude, William Charles, Francis Eusebius, Mabel, Harold and Clairmont. Emily is now the wife of Edwin Hoke, of Indiana Harbor, and they have two children, Emma and Beulah. Frederick J. H. Stephens married Miss Laura Halstock, of Muncie, Indiana. Lillie Hannah is the wife of Walter Dang, of Indiana Harbor.
Mr. and Mrs. Stephens are prominent, influential and active members of the Methodist Episcopal church, and he is serving as a member of the board of trustees and also as superintendent of the Sunday school. He is a local minister, having been licensed to preach thirty-four years ago. Politically he is a Republican. He built in 1902 the largest residence in Indiana Harbor, on the lake front. Possessing strong domestic tastes, his interest largely centers in his family, and he counts no sacrifice on his part too great that will enhance the welfare or promote the happiness of his wife and children. The church, too, claims considerable of his attention, and while in his business career he has steadily advanced, he has always found time to discharge his duties to his fellow-men and his obligations of citizenship.
CHARLES M. BAKER.
Charles M. Baker, who is proprietor and successfully conducts a large livery, feed and sales stable at Crown Point, is a business man who can point with much pride and satisfaction to his career of self-achievement culminating in a substantial place in the business circles of Crown Point and in the esteem of his fellow-citizens and associates. He has practically hewn out his own destiny and been the architect of his own fortune since he was a lad of few years and with little preparation such as most boys enjoy. From various experiences in varied lines of activity he has progressed gradually but surely, and is now able to claim one of the very best establishments of its kind in Lake county, with a constantly growing patronage as evidence of the excellence of his teams and equipments and methods of doing business.
Mr. Baker was born in Porter county, Indiana, March 26, 1866.. a son of Justice and Eunice (Allen) Baker, the former a native of New York state. He was four years old when he lost his mother, and five years old when he lost his father, and their individual histories are not easily recalled. Mr. Baker has one brother, George, of Boone Grove, Porter county, and three sisters: Lydia, wife of Noah Merriman, of Marion, Indiana; Jennie, wife of James Lewis, of Champaign, Illinois; and Emma, who is the widow of Alfred T. Coffin and lives in Crown Point.
Mr. Baker, thus left an orphan before he was of an age to attend school, was deprived of many circumstances of rearing that most children have. At the age of nine he was bound out to a man with whom he remained three years, and then started out on his individual career. He worked by the day and month at anything he could find. He clerked in a store in Crown Point for some time, and also spent two years as a clerk for the H. P. Stanley Fruit Company in Chicago. For several years after that he was engaged in various lines of enterprise in Crown Point, which has been the scene of most of his efforts since arriving at years of manhood. In 1900 he bought the livery stock of Charles Wilson, and in 1903 he built his present barn, thirty-eight by one hundred and forty feet. He keeps twenty-six head of good horses, and has the reputation of sending out the best rigs in town.
Mr. Baker is one of the public-spirited citizens of Crown Point, and has served on the town board and as one of the trustees of Crown Point. He is stanch in his adherence to the Republican party. He affiliates with the Independent Order of Foresters. In connection with the livery business he also buys and sells horses, and up to 1902 he was engaged in the hay business.
Mr. Baker married, in 1887, Miss Adah Holton, the daughter of Janna S. and Catherine J. (Eddy) Holton, who were Lake county pioneers. Mrs. Baker was born in this county, September 14, 1867, and was educated at Crown Point, finishing in the high school. She died February 16, 1904, when in her thirty-seventh year. There are three sons and one daughter of the family : Harry J., born in 1889: Fay M., born in 1892; Lewis C, born in 1895 ; and Howard H., born in 1897.
F. RICHARD SCHAAF, JR.
F. Richard Schaaf, Jr., is filling the position of bookkeeper with the Standard Oil Company and is an expert accountant. He also owns valuable real estate in Robertsdale, and is a director of the First National Bank of Whiting. While his life history is characterized by no exciting incidents, it, nevertheless, proves the value of activity, energy and reliability in the affairs of life and shows that the young man may occupy positions of great trust and responsibility.
Mr. Schaaf was born on the 15th of April, 1878, in Hamburg, Germany. His father, F. Richard Schaaf, Sr., was a native of Saxony, Germany, was reared and married there, Miss Catherine Schlueter becoming his wife. Her birth occurred near Hamburg. In the year 1880 they left the fatherland and with their family sailed for the new world, taking up their abode in Chicago. Mr. Schaaf, Sr., is a blacksmith by trade, but in Chicago engaged in the hotel business. In 1890 he removed to Whiting, where he also established a hotel, which he conducted for about five years. On the expiration of that period he went to Robertsdale, a suburb of Hammond, Indiana, where he engaged in the grocery business and also became a real estate and insurance agent. Both he and his wife are still living in North Hammond and are well known there. They are the parents of seven children and with one exception all are yet living.
F. Richard Schaaf, Jr., is the eldest child and was only about two years of age when brought to the United States. His education was acquired in the public schools of Chicago and in Bryant & Stratton's Business College of that city. In 1898 he became an employee of the Western Newspaper Syndicate of Chicago, continuing in that service for about seven months, when he was offered the position as bookkeeper by the Standard Oil Company at Whiting. His efficiency won him promotion to the position of head bookkeeper of the paraffin department six months after he had become an employee of the corporation. He is likewise a director of the First National Bank at Whiting and he owns a large amount of real estate in Robertsdale, having made judicious investments in property, from which he has already realized good returns.
Mr. Schaaf is well known in political circles in northwestern Indiana, and when he was but twenty-one years of age he was elected a delegate to the Republican state convention held at Indianapolis in 1900. He was also elected a member of the county central committee and made vice chairman of the city central committee of Hammond, Indiana. In the spring of 1904 he was nominated for trustee of North township. He is also president of the Robertsdale fire department, having filled this position for six years.
On the 12th of June, 1901, Mr. Schaaf was united in marriage to Miss Mary A. Roberts, a daughter of Mrs. Agnes Roberts of Robertsdale, and they are well known in Lake county, where they have many friends. Fraternally Mr. Schaaf is connected with the Masons, belonging to Whiting Lodge No. 613, F. & A. M., of which he is now treasurer. He is also a member of the Modern Woodmen of America. He is a man of considerable influence, aiding in molding public thought, action and opinion. The interests which have made claim upon his time and attention have been such as tend to the betterment of the conditions of mankind and for the stimulus of material progress or the improvement of the city.
ROBERT SPEAR, M. D.
During the seven years which mark the period of his professional career Dr. Robert Spear has met with gratifying success. Throughout this time he has made his home in East Chicago, where he has won the good will and patronage of many of the best citizens. He is a thorough student and endeavors to keep abreast of the times in everything relating to the discoveries in medical science. Progressive in his ideas and favoring modern methods as a whole, he does not dispense with the time-tried systems whose value has stood the test of years.
Dr. Spear was born in Cobourg, Ontario, Canada, January 23, 1868, and is of Scotch lineage. His paternal grandfather, Thomas Spear, was a native of Scotland and thence emigrated to Canada, where he followed the carpenter's trade. He was twice married and by the first union had one son. William, who reached mature years, while the three other children died in their teens. For his second wife he chose Miss McComb, and they had one daughter who died in childhood. William Spear, a native of Ontario, Canada, learned and followed the wagon-builder's trade in early manhood and afterward turned his attention to farming. He, too, was twice married, first wedding Miss Sarah Davidson, by whom he had four children, of whom three are now living, namely: Thomas, of Cobourg, Canada; William K., also of Cobourg; and David, of Pipestone, Manitoba. Their daughter, Elizabeth, is deceased. After the death of his first wife William Spear married Miss Margaret Brown, also a native of Ontario, and they became the parents of nine children, three sons and six daughters, of whom eight are now living., as follows: James, of Cobourg; Annie, also of Cobourg; Agnes, of Virden. Manitoba; Dr. Robert Spear; Andrew, of Cobourg: Margaret, of Rochester, New York; Christina, of Cobourg; and Isabell, of Wilton, North Dakota. Jennie died at the age of twenty-one years. The father of this family passed away at Cobourg, Canada, in 1901, at the age of seventy-five years, and is still survived by his widow, who is a devoted Christian woman, holding membership in the Presbyterian church, to which her husband also belonged. She was a daughter of Robert Brown, a native of Scotland, who crossing the Atlantic took up his abode in Canada, where he followed the occupation of farming. He married a Miss Miller, and they reared a large family of nine children. His death occurred when he was about eighty years of age.
Dr. Robert Spear spent his boyhood days in the usual manner of farmer lads, remaining under the parental roof near Cobourg. In the summer months he assisted in the work of the fields and in the winter seasons attended the district school. Later he continued his education in the collegiate institute at Cobourg, and subsequently entered Queen's University at Kingston. In order to prepare for the practice of medicine he became a student in the Trinity Medical College, of Toronto, from which institution he was graduated with the class of 1897. He then began practice in East Chicago, establishing his home in this city on the 1st of May of that year. Here he has remained continuously since, and his skill and ability are indicated by the patronage which is accorded him. He has always been a close and earnest student of his profession and his efforts are beneficially put forth for the alleviation of human suffering.
On the 6th of October, 1897, Dr. Spear was united in marriage to Miss Minnie Cook, a daughter of John and Martha (Sykes) Cook. Two children have been born of this union, Wilfred Garnet and Helen Gladys. Dr. and Mrs. Spear are Presbyterians in their religious faith, and in politics he is somewhat independent. In May, 1904, he was elected to represent the First ward in the City Council of the city of East Chicago. His professional connection is with the Lake County Medical Society, the Kankakee Valley Medical Society, the Indiana State Medical Association and the American Medical Association. He resides at No. 4530 Forsyth street, where he erected a good home in 1901.
GEORGE M. EDER.
George M. Eder, cigar manufacturer at 205 South Hohman street, Hammond, has been a successful business man in Lake county for a number of years, having learned his trade when a boy and having begun the manufacture of cigars in Crown Point about thirty years ago. There is a large and steady demand for all the goods that he can produce, and his output has gained him quite a reputation. Before coming to Hammond he held a number of important local offices, and his public-spirited interest in general affairs and his loyalty to home, city and state mark him out as a representative citizen as he is also a man of highest integrity and sterling personal worth.
Mr. Eder was born in Landau, Bavaria, Germany, April 22, 1855. His paternal grandfather, Martin Eder, was a farmer and died in Germany when an old man. By his wife, Mary Eder, he had seven sons and one daughter. Mr. Eder's maternal grandfather died in Germany during middle life, and his wife, Theressa Huber, lived to the great age of ninety-six years, they having been the parents of only one child, the mother of Mr. Eder.
Mr. Eder's parents were John B. and Theressa (Huber) Eder, both natives of Germany. His father was a laborer in the fatherland, and later served for twelve years in the Bavarian army. He came 'to America in 1855.. locating in Chicago, where he followed various pursuits. He was burned out at the Chicago fire in 1871, and in 1873 moved to Crown Point, Indiana, where he died February 3, 1877, aged sixty-nine years. His wife survived him and died at the age of eighty-two. They were both Catholics. There were three sons and one daughter in their family, and the two now living are Joseph, of Crown Point, and George M., of Hammond.
Mr. George M. Eder was in infancy when his parents crossed the ocean to America. He was reared in Chicago, where he attended the public and parochial schools and learned the cigarmaker's trade, and lived there until 1873, when he accompanied the rest of the family to Crown Point. He engaged in the manufacture of cigars at the county seat until his election, in 1890, to the office of county clerk, which position he occupied for two terms, or eight years. In May, 1903, he moved to Hammond and resumed the manufacture of cigars. He owns his nice home at 205 South Hohman street, where is also located his factory. Mr. Eder is a stockholder in the Commercial Bank of Crown Point, and for five years was vice-president of the bank.
Mr. Eder was town clerk and treasurer of Crown Point for six years, and was twice elected township trustee, resigning that office after three years in order to accept the county clerkship. He has fraternal affiliations with the Catholic Order of Foresters and the Independent Order of Foresters. He and his wife are members of the Catholic church.
September 24, 1878, Mr. Eder married Miss Frances M. Scherer, a daughter of Peter and Catherine (Young) Scherer. There are seven children of this union, George J., Edward ]., Clarence M., Louis G., Rose M., Daniel and Florence. George J. is in the employ of the American Express Company; Edward J. is a lawyer in Hammond; Clarence M. clerks in a grocery store in East Chicago; Louis G. is attending college in Chicago; and the other three are in the public schools of Hammond.
CLARENCE C. SMITH.
Clarence C. Smith is a member of the firm of Smith & Clapper Brothers, liverymen at East Chicago, Indiana, and was born in Mason, Michigan, on the 5th of October, 1863. His paternal grandfather was a native of New York and was a farmer by occupation, but aside from that little is known concerning the ancestry of the house in the paternal line. Gideon Smith, the father of C. C. Smith, was born in the Empire state and became a boot and shoe maker. He followed that occupation in the east for a time and then abandoned it and removed to the middle west, locating in Michigan about 1862. He took up his abode at Mason, that state, where he remained until 1864, when he came to Lake county, Indiana, and settled one mile west of Deep River postoffice, where he purchased what was known as the Ed Chase farm There he carried on agricultural pursuits and also worked at his trade to some extent. He lived a life of untiring activity and industry, and whatever success he achieved was due solely to his own labors. He married Mrs. Anna L. Hanna, nee Marble, who was the widow of Thomas Hanna and a daughter of Simeon Marble, who was born in Vermont, which was also her birthplace. Mr. Marble followed the occupation of farming in New England and on emigrating westward about 1858 he located a mile and a half west of Deep River postoffice, where he purchased what was known as the Booth farm. There he carried on the work of tilling the soil throughout his remaining days, and his death occurred when he was seventy-five years of age. He was married five times, his first union being with a Miss Imes. He had but three children, all born by his first wife: Ann L.. who became Mrs. Smith: Horace Marble, who is living at Crown Point and Wheatfield, Indiana: and one that has now departed this life. Both Mr. and Mrs. Gideon Smith were members of the Methodist church and lived earnest, consistent Christian lives. Her death occurred in Hobart, Indiana, about 1880, when she was thirty-nine years of age, and Mr. Gideon Smith passed away in December, 1902, in East Chicago, at the age of eighty-two years. Mr. and Mrs. Gideon Smith were the parents of six children, three sons and three daughters, of whom five are now living: Eva, the wife of Henry Hanson, of Chicago; Clarence C, who is living in East Chicago; Flora, the wife of George Green, also of East Chicago; Simeon, who makes his home in Hammond, Indiana; and Alice, the wife of S. G. Carley, of Hammond.
Clarence C. Smith was reared in the usual manner of farmer lads, partly spending his boyhood days on the old homestead place west of Deep River. As soon as old enough to handle the plow he took his place in the fields and assisted in their cultivation from the time of early spring planting until crops were harvested in the late autumn. His education was acquired in the district schools, which he attended mostly through the winter months. When he was quite young his parents removed to Jasper county, where he remained until he was nine years of age, when he returned to Lake county and lived with his grandfather until he started out upon an independent business career. He was first employed as a farm-hand by the month and continued thus to serve until twenty-one years of age. At that time he took up the study of telegraphy, and in 1885 entered the employ of the Pennsylvania Railroad Company, working as telegraph operator until 1888. In that year he came to East Chicago as assistant station agent, and in March, 1889, he was appointed agent at Hammond, Indiana. On the 27th of January, 1891, he was appointed agent at East Chicago and served in that capacity until the 29th of December, 1903. when he resigned in order to engage in business for himself. He then joined the Clapper Brothers in forming the present firm of Smith & Clapper Brothers, liverymen, of East Chicago. They have a well equipped barn and do a good business, which is constantly increasing. Mr. Smith is also agent for the East Chicago Company, a real estate firm which is developing one of the good sections of the city, and he also owns three valuable properties there, his home being located at 4414 Magoun avenue. In March, 1904, Mr. Smith was appointed agent for the United States Express Company at East Chicago.
On the 21st of May, 1893, Mr. Smith was united in marriage to Miss Maude Holmes, a daughter of Milton D. and Helen (Turner) Holmes. Four children have been born of this union: Leonard C. (deceased), Beulah, Irene and Rolland. Both Mr. and Mrs. Smith hold membership in the Congregational church and take an active part in its work and contribute liberally to its support. He is now serving as a member of the board of church trustees. He is also deeply interested in the cause of education and is serving his second term as treasurer of the city school board. Politically he is a Republican, and is a progressive and public-spirited man and takes an active and helpful interest in every movement that he believes will contribute to the general progress and improvement.
CHARLES C. BOTHWELL.
Charles C. Bothwell, stock farmer, buyer and shipper, of Section 5, Ross township, has spent his life of successful effort in Lake county, and is numbered among the highly esteemed and prosperous citizens of the county. He has given the best in him to his life work, which accounts for the results he has gained, but he has also performed his share of public duties and responsibilities as a friend and neighbor and a citizen of the community.
Mr. Bothwell was born in Ross township. Lake county, June 11, 1852, being a son of John A. and Nancy (Dutton) Bothwell, the former a native of Vermont and the latter of New York. His father came to Lake county in 1839, thus being one of the earliest settlers, and located first in St. John's township, later in Ross township, and for about five years lived in Porter county, after which he returned to Lake county and lived here till his death, at the advanced and venerable age of eighty-three years. He followed farming all his life. He and his wife are both buried in Ross township. They were the parents of eight children, of whom Charles was the third.
Mr. C. C. Bothwell was reared in Ross township with the exception of the five years spent in Porter county, and he finished the education begun in the common schools at the Crown Point high school. As soon as his school days were ended he engaged in farming and the buying and shipping of cattle, which he has made the chief lines of his pursuit ever since. He has a farm of two hundred and eighty-three acres with excellent improvements, and besides the large crops of hay and grain, he keeps and feeds a large number of cattle and hogs. He also carries on a considerable dairy business.
Mr. Bothwell is one of the influential Republicans of his township. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church. He was married, October 26, 1884, to Miss Anettie Stone, who was born in Elkhart, Indiana. September 16, 1857. They have had five children: Cora; Walter; Charles Benjamin; Lillie May; and Lottie, who died in infancy. Mrs. Bothwell was reared and educated in Elkhart, Indiana, and she was educated in the common schools and then a course in the Elkhart high school, after which she obtained her teacher's certificate, having attended the Valparaiso Normal and taken the teachers' course. She taught five terms in Lake and Porter counties. Her father was a native of Vermont and was reared as an agriculturist. He was well educated. He was a Republican in politics. He died at the age of seventy-five years in Elkhart. Mother Stone was reared in Vermont and she died in Elkhart county, aged about forty years. There are four of the Stone family yet living: Benjamin Stone, a resident of Elkhart county: Amanda, widow of Richard Berritt, of Hartline, Washington; Hubert Stone, a resident of Elkhart: and Mrs. Bothwell. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Bothwell have received good educational training. Cora received her diploma in the class of 1903, and she was a student at the Valparaiso Normal School. She has taken music and also elocution. Walter is in the fourth grade, Benjamin is in the eighth grade of the public schools. He is a gifted penman and he is taking up the art of photography. He also takes music. Lillie May is in the sixth grade, and has taken music.
Jacob Rimbach, a prominent retired citizen of Hammond residing at 78 West Sibley street, has been a resident in the vicinity of Hammond for a longer period perhaps than any other present inhabitant of the city. In fact, when he first came here, a half century ago, no town was here, and the name and the town did not come into existence until nearly a quarter of a century later. He has lived a life of industry, good business management and foresight, and high and noble integrity, and is esteemed at the present not only because he is one of the largest property owners of the city, but also because of his own personal worth and character and for the part he has played in advancing the progress and welfare of his adopted city. What he has accumulated in the way of worldly wealth has been done so by diligence and sagacity in investment, and he deserves the credit of having achieved his own success and of being a self-made man.
Mr. Rimbach was born in the province of Eisenach, Germany, December 3, 1832, being one of two sons and the only one now living born to Christopher and Elizabeth (Hassar) Rimbach. His mother's father lived and died in Germany, and his history is lost in consequence of his having died when his children were small. Christopher Rimbach's parents were Jacob and Christina Rimbach, both of whom died in Germany, and they had one son and two daughters. Christopher Rimbach was a shoemaker by trade, and died in Germany about 1835. His wife survived him till 1893, and was about seventy-two years old at the time of her death. They were Lutherans. She was married a second time, her husband being Frederick Schroeder, and their two daughters are now both deceased.
Mr. Jacob Rimbach was reared in the land of his forefathers, receiving a common school education. He had a farm training, and knew the value of honest endeavor long before he came to this country. In 1854 he accompanied his mother to America and settled on the present site of Hammond, before the town had been started. He and his brother Frederick began work on the Michigan Central Railroad, which road had been built through the county only three years before. Two years later he was made foreman of a section, and continued in the employ of that company for twenty-four years, filling the position of foreman for twenty-two. After leaving the service of the railroad he started the M. M. Towle lumber yard in Hammond, being its manager for two years. He owned ten acres of land within the present confines of Hammond, and when he quit the lumber business he devoted his time to flower gardening. He divided his land into town lots and gradually sold them off, and also built a number of cottages on them. He now owns, in addition to his good home at 78 West Sibley street, a block of business buildings, including the Lion Store building, and also about fifteen tenant cottages. He is now living retired in the main, being occupied only by the oversight of his extensive property interests.
In 1858 Mr. Rimbach married Miss Mary Hillman, and they have four daughters: Emma, who married Morris Champaign, and has two daughters, May and Emma; Henrietta, who married Fred Champaign, and has two children, Myrtle and Fred; Francisca, who married Frank Hanson, and has two children, Jacob and May; and Louise, who wedded Otto Marback, and has a daughter, Anna. Mrs. Rimbach's parents, August and Christina (Feidel) Hillman, were natives of Germany and came to America in December, 1854, settling at New Buffalo, Michigan. Her father followed various occupations. He died in Chicago in January, 1898, at the age of eighty-four years, followed in death a week later by his wife, at the age of eighty-one. They were both Lutherans in religion. They were the parents of four children : Mrs. Mary Rimbach; Caroline, deceased, who was the wife of Andrew Burman; Sophia, the wife of Adolph Foin, of Los Angeles, California; and August, of Hammond.
Mr. and Mrs. Rimbach are members of the Lutheran church. At the time of the Civil war he paid fourteen hundred dollars for a substitute in the army. He is a stanch Republican in politics, and is a member of the county council.
Honored and respected by all, there is no resident of Whiting who occupies a more enviable position in public regard than does Henry Schrage, the president of the Whiting Bank and one of the early settlers of Lake county. His position of influence is not due alone to his success, but is the result of the honorable, straightforward business policy he has ever followed, his entire career being such as will bear the closest investigation and scrutiny. Moreover, he is an active factor in public life and one whose influence has been exerted toward general progress, reform and improvement.
Mr. Schrage is a native of Germany, his birth having occurred in Auhgen, Hessen, on the 21st of January, 1844. The first ten years of his life were spent in the fatherland, and he then came to America with his parents, Chris and Fredericka Schrage, who on crossing the Atlantic took up their abode in Chicago, whence they removed to Lake county in October, 1854. The subject of this review was reared where the town of Whiting now stands. He attended the public schools of Chicago and remained at home until about twenty years of age, when in response to the call of his adopted country he enlisted in 1863 as a member of Company K, Thirteenth Illinois Volunteer Infantry, as a private. He thus served until the close of the war and did active duty with his regiment, which was assigned to the Seventeenth Army Corps under the command of General Sherman. When hostilities had ceased and his aid was no longer needed to defend the Union, the preservation of which was an established fact, he received an honorable discharge, in July, 1865.
Mr. Schrage then returned to Whiting and entered the railroad service o as a section hand, being thus employed until 1868. The following year he engaged in business on his own account, opening a small general store, which he continued to conduct with fair success until about 1890. He then retired from active business and enjoyed a brief period of rest, but in 1895 he opened the Whiting Bank, a private banking institution. He also owns the East Chicago Bank, which he purchased in 1902, and he is therefore well known in financial circles in Lake county. These institutions have become recognized as strong financial concerns, and he is now conducting a large and prosperous banking business. He is at the same time a representative of that class of American citizens who, while promoting individual success, also advance the general welfare and prosperity. As his financial resources have increased he has made judicious investments in real estate, and he now owns much property in Whiting, in East Chicago, Hammond, South Chicago and in the city of Chicago. He has been identified in large measure with the upbuilding of Lake county, few men having contributed in greater degree to the substantial progress and upbuilding of his section of the state, in which he has spent the greater part of his life.
Mr. Schrage was united in marriage to Miss Caroline Wustenfelt, who was born in the province of Hessen, Germany. This marriage was celebrated in 1868, and has been blessed with six children: Harry C, who is cashier of the Whiting Bank; Mary, the wife of August Tresen: William C who is cashier of the East Chicago Bank; Herman; Sophia C, at home; and Walter E., who is employed in the bank in Whiting. The family is well known in that city and its members are prominent in local circles there. In the front rank of the columns which have advanced civilization and improvement in this portion of Lake county stands Mr. Schrage, and has been among those who have led the way to the substantial development and progress of Whiting, being particularly active in the growth of the city, in which he still makes his home. His memory goes back to the time when this was an undeveloped region, but when the town was founded he had the business foresight to recognize possibilities here and to utilize them for the benefit of the public as well as his individual interests. As a business man he has been conspicuous among his associates not only for his success, but for his probity, fairness and honorable methods. In everything he has been eminently practical, and this has been manifested not only in his business undertakings, but also in social and private life.
JOHN E. LUTHER.
John E. Luther, who has been a resident of Lake county since seven years of age and has a wide acquaintance within its borders, the vice-president of the First National Bank of Crown Point, is a veteran of the Civil war and a citizen whose active co-operation in public affairs has led to substantial improvement in northwestern Indiana. He is a native son of this state, his birth having occurred in Porter county three miles from Valparaiso on the 22d of November, 1840. His paternal grandfather was James Luther.
His father, James H. Luther, was born in Chazy, New York, in 1814, and when eighteen years of age went to the west. A year later he became a resident of Porter county, Indiana, where he followed farming until 1849. In that year he arrived in Lake county, locating- at Crown Point, and he carried on agricultural pursuits on a tract of land that embraces the site of the two railroad depots and the public school building of this city. He was honored with public office, being chosen county auditor for two terms or eight years. He carried on merchandising from 1855 until 1859 as a member of the firm of Luther, Holton & Company, and the firm then became Luther & Farley, while subsequently John G. Hoffman succeeded the firm of Luther & Farley. Prominent and influential, his efforts in behalf of his community were effective, and he was recognized as one of the leading men of Lake county. His aid in behalf of general progress was never sought in vain, but was given with a cheerfulness that made his work of much value in public affairs. He was a Whig until the dissolution of the party, when he became a stanch Republican and continued to march under the banners of that party until his demise. During the period of the Civil war all of the money that came to the county from the government was given to him for distribution among the families of the soldiers. He was reared in the Presbyterian doctrine, but for many years was a spiritualist. He died at the advanced age of seventy-nine years and five days. His wife, who bore the maiden name of Phoebe Ann Flint, was a native of Vermont and lived to be about twenty-seven years of age. They were the parents of four sons, all of whom reached manhood, namely: John E., Amos O., Albert W. and Henry E.
John E. Luther, the eldest son, is now the only living representative of the family. He was but eight years of age when he came to Lake county, and here he attended the district schools, his first teacher being Martin Wood. When about nine years of age he went to Valparaiso, where he worked for five years in the printing office with his uncle. Judge W. C. Talcott. On the expiration of that period he came to Crown Point, and later he went to Minnesota with a drove of cattle, walking all the way. He was eleven weeks on the road, receiving ten dollars for the trip. Mr. Luther remained in Minnesota for about two years, driving a stage for a year and a half and during the remainder of the time working" in a livery stable. On the expiration of that period he returned to Crown Point and accepted a clerkship in a store owned by John G. Hoffman. When a little more than a year had passed he offered his services to the government, enlisting April 19, 1861, under Mark L. Demotte, being the first man to enlist from Crown Point. He became a member of Company B, Twentieth Indiana Volunteer Infantry, and after serving for two years as a private he was commissioned first lieutenant and adjutant, continuing in that rank until October 10, 1864, when he was mustered out as a supernumerary officer. He took part in twenty-seven important engagements and was three times wounded, but he has never" applied for a pension. He was mustered out because of the consolidation of the Seventh, Fourteenth and Nineteenth regiments with the Twentieth Indiana Regiment, and as all of the officers could not be retained in their rank Mr. Luther was among those who was retired, for he had already served for three years and a half. He is life president of his regimental association.
In November, 1864, Mr. Luther returned to Crown Point, and on the 28th of December following he was united in marriage to Miss Addie Wells, a daughter of Henry Wells. She was born in Crown Point, was educated in the public schools there and was well known in the city. Her death occurred August 25, 1875, at Indianapolis, and she left one son, Harry W., who died in San Francisco of blood poisoning, July 15, 1896.
In 1868 Mr. Luther entered the employ of the McCormick Reaper Company and went to Galesburg, Illinois, where he remained through that season. He afterward continued with the company as bookkeeper and traveling salesman until 1879, when he removed from Indianapolis to Troy, Ohio, where he was engaged as bookkeeper for the firm of Beadle & Kelly. He spent several years in Ohio, and in 1882 went to California, where he remained for one year, and since 1886 he has resided continuously in Crown Point. He has been vice-president of the First National Bank since 1900 and is one of the oldest stockholders of that institution. He also owns a farm of about three hundred and twenty-five acres and has valuable city property. He is now living retired from active business, giving supervision merely to his invested interests.
Mr. Luther is a member of John Wheeler Post No. 161, G. A. R., of which he is a past commander. He is also a member of the Union Veteran Legion, Encampment No. 84, of Indianapolis. He did his duty to his country willingly and with marked loyalty because of his love for the Union, and he does not ask to be reimbursed for the sacrifice which he made in behalf of the stars and stripes. In politics he has been a life-long Republican. He certainly deserves great credit for what he has accomplished, as he started out in life in early boyhood without capital. As a business man he has been conspicuous among his associates not only for his success but for his probity, fairness and honorable methods. In everything he has been eminently practical, has discharged every public duty with ability and fairness.
WILLIAM F. BRIDGE.
William F. Bridge, city engineer of Hammond and county surveyor of Lake county, has lived in Hammond since 1890 and is a proficient member of the civil engineering profession and is popular in both business and social circles.
Mr. Bridge was born at Delphi, Indiana, April 11, 1864, being the only son and child of Jacob C. and Emma (Witherow) Bridge, both natives of Indiana. His paternal grandfather, John Bridge, was a native of Ohio, was a farmer there, and afterwards came to Carroll county, Indiana, at an early day, where he bought land of the government and improved it and added to his property until he had a large estate of five hundred acres. He was of Scotch descent. He died in Carroll county when about seventy years old. His wife, Rosanna Carr by maiden name, died at about the same age, and they had two children. Mr. Bridge's maternal grandfather, James Witherow. married a Miss Filson, and they were early settlers of Carroll county. He was an elder in the Presbyterian church, and died in middle age, having had four children. Jacob C. Bridge was a bookkeeper for many years. He lived in Delphi, Indiana, until 1886, was then in Colorado for four years, and since then he and his wife have been residents in Hammond. His wife is a member of the Presbyterian church.
Mr. William F. Bridge was reared at Delphi, Indiana, graduating from the high school there in 1884, and later took a special course in Wabash College. He then took up the study of civil engineering, and has followed that profession ever since, having gained a most creditable position in its ranks. He spent the years from 1886 to 1890 in Colorado, and since then has been a resident of Hammond. He was elected city engineer of Hammond in 1893, and with the exception of four years, has been in that office since. He was elected county surveyor of Lake county in 1902, and assumed the duties of that office in January, 1903. He has given entire satisfaction in both offices. In the spring of 1904 Mr. Bridge was nominated for a second time as surveyor of Lake county.
Mr. Bridge is a member of the Presbyterian church, and his wife is a Baptist. He affiliates with Garfield Lodge No. 569, F. & A. M., with Hammond Chapter, R. A. M., and with Hammond Commandery, K. T., and is also a member of the Knights of Pythias and the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. He belongs to the Sigma Chi college fraternity. In politics he is a Republican, and is city chairman of the Republican committee.
December 23, 1885, Mr. Bridge married Miss Lillian Sharrer, a daughter of Dr. Wilbur and Catharine (Moore) Sharrer. Four children were born of this union, Edgar, Grace, Norman and Helen. Mrs. Lillian Bridge died in January, 1900. She was a member of the Presbyterian church. On August 19, 1903, Mr. Bridge married Miss Bertha C. Watkins, a daughter of Rev. W. G. and Ruth (Evans) Watkins, the former a native of Wales and the latter of Pennsylvania.
Mrs. Bridge's paternal grandfather, William Watkins, was a native of Wales, whence he came to the United States and settled in Pennsylvania. He was a Baptist minister, and died in middle life. His wife was named Mary. The maternal grandparents of Mrs. Bridge were Robert and Susan (Todd) Evans; the former was a son of David Evans and was a native of Wales,, and died when a young man; the latter lived to an advanced age. and was the mother of four children. Mrs. Bridge's father was a Baptist minister, a graduate of Bucknell University, of which she is also a graduate, and he now lives in Scranton, Pennsylvania, in which state he has done most of his ministerial work. He has always been in public life, and for a number of years taught music. He and his wife were the parents of six children, one son and five daughters: Bertha C. (Mrs. Bridge), Susie, Lillian, Ethel, Earl and Ruth.
Henry Chester, of section 17, Ross township, is one of the well known old settlers and prominent agriculturists of Lake county, having spent over a half century in his one township. He spent his youthful days among the rather crude and primitive conditions of that time, and has ever since been identified with the progress and advancement that have raised Lake county from an unprofitable wilderness to one of the banner sections of the state. He recalls many of the interesting experiences of that early day. His opportunities for literary accomplishment were meager, and as he had to work during the daylight hours he did his reading by the light of a rag dipped in a saucer of grease or by the flickering firelight of the old-fashioned hearth and chimney. And when he clad himself in his best and went forth to attend one of the balls of the countryside, he and his best girl rode in a wagon drawn by an ox team. From this primitive conveyance to the modern automobile graphically represents the progress of Lake county and the world in general since Mr. Chester was a carefree boy on his father's Lake county farm.
Mr. Chester was born in Columbia county, Pennsylvania, October 15, 1834. His grandfather, John Chester, was a native of England, whence he came at an early day to Pennsylvania, and for seven years fought in the ranks of the patriots in the Revolutionary war, becoming an officer in the Continental army. He saw and talked with General Washington and was a prominent man. His son Charles, father of Henry, was born in Pennsylvania, and came out to Lake county, Indiana, as a pioneer in 1847, living here until his death in 1874. He married Mary E. Price, a native of Pennsylvania and of German descent, and they were the parents of two daughters and one son that reached maturity.
Mr. Henry Chester was about twelve years old when he came to Lake county with his parents, and his subsequent rearing and early training was in Ross township, where, indeed, he has spent the rest of his life. When the war came on he enlisted on September 10, 1861, in Company G, Ninth Illinois Cavalry, and served until his honorable discharge, October 31, 1865, after giving four years and three months of his youth and strength to the defense of the Union cause. From choice he remained a private through all this time. He was in many battles in Kentucky, Tennessee, Mississippi, and the various campaigns of the middle west. He returned home to engage in the farming pursuits which have ever since employed him so profitably. He operates over a thousand acres of as fine land as lies in Lake county, and his agricultural enterprises mark him as one of the most progressive and successful farmers of his vicinity. He has also taken part in local affairs, and is well known throughout the county as a representative and public-spirited citizen.
Mr. Chester was first married, in 1859, to Miss Harriet Perry, who was born in Porter county, Indiana, a daughter of Ezekiel Perry. They had one child, Mary, wife of Henry Merchant. Mr. Chester's second wife was Harriet L. Hanks, of New York state, and at her death she left five children: Ella, wife of Charles Olson; Lovisa, wife of Charles Nelson; Carrie, wife of William Raschka, a merchant of Ainsworth, Indiana; and Charles E. and James H. Mr. Chester married for his present wife Mary E. Baird, and they have three children: Jerome, John and Daisy. The children have received good and practical educations, and Miss Daisy has taken instruction in music. Mrs. Chester was born in Westmoreland county, Pennsylvania, November 8, 1854, being the eldest of the ten children, four sons and six daughters, born to Samuel and Jane (Oakes) Baird. When she was a girl of twelve years her parents moved west to Bureau county, Illinois, where she completed the education begun in her native state.
Mr. Chester is a member of Earl Lodge No. 333, I. O. O. F., at Hobart, and his wife belongs to the Rebekahs at the same place. Mr. and Mrs. Chester are both church members, their respective denominations being the Methodist Episcopal and the Baptist.
From this brief review of the main facts of his career, is indicated the prominent position that Mr. Chester holds in his community and in Lake county. His individual enterprise and success and his strength of character are marked in still bolder outlines when it is remembered how he has been the architect of his own fortunes, and is a truly self-made man. At the beginning of his active career he worked for wages, receiving only thirteen dollars a month. Yet with this seemingly scant hold on prosperity's coign of vantage he continued to climb higher to success, and during his useful career has accumulated a large estate and made his life a factor for good throughout Lake county.
Andrew Kammer, postmaster at St. John, has been a well known man of affairs in this town for a number of years. He has held his present office almost continuously for seventeen years, which in itself shows his popularity with the community and his prestige as a public-spirited and energetic citizen. The first few years of his life were passed in his native land of Germany, but he was practically reared and has been identified with American institutions all his life. He has followed various lines of business, and during his connection with Lake county affairs has acquired property interests in several places. He is an influential citizen, and a hearty worker in any cause that he takes up and believes to be for the general welfare of the community.
Mr. Kammer was born in Hesse-Darnstadt, Germany, September 2, 1838, and at the age of eight years accompanied his parents to America, landing at Baltimore. He remained in that city until 1860, gaining his education and learning the tailor's trade. He followed that business in Cumberland, Maryland, until 1868, and then returned to Baltimore, where he continued in business for a year. In 1869 he came out to Lake county, Indiana, locating at St. John, and for the first six years taught school during the winter seasons. For ten years he was traveling in the interests of the Catholic Volkszeitung, Baltimore, Maryland, and did much business for that paper. He was also on the road eight years as the representative of a liquor house. In December, 1887, he was appointed to the office of postmaster of St. John, and with the exception of eight months has held the office continuously to the present time. Some years ago he built three tenant houses in Whiting, being one of the first to make that kind of investment in that town, and he still owns this property and rents it.
May 3, 1860, Mr. Kammer married Miss Katherine Wagner, who was born in Germany and came as a girl to America, having lived in this country since she was fourteen years old. Mr. and Mrs. Kammer have seven children living: Elizabeth; Mary; Nicholas; Michael; Theodore A., a teacher in the public schools of St. John; Andrew; and Catherine. The family are members of the St. John Catholic church.
ADAM J. GERLACH.
Adam J. Gerlach, with residence and farm on section 30, Center township, has been identified with the most important interests of Lake county for over forty years. He passed part of his boyhood in this county, after which he was one of the popular and leading workers along educational lines for many years, and the latter part of his career has been devoted most successfully to the life insurance business and to farming, so that his years have been both varied in their activity and prosperous in their fruits.
Mr. Gerlach was born at Harper's Ferry, Virginia, March 8, 1848, being a son of Michael and Catherine (Wirtheim) Gerlach, both natives of Bavaria, Germany. His father, on coming to America, located at Harper's Ferry, and in 1857 brought his family to Lake county, Indiana, settling in St. John township. He improved his first farm and also was the owner of two other farms, being during his lifetime one of the leading citizens. He taught school for some time and for many years was assessor o£ his township. He died at the age of seventy-five, and his wife in her seventy-sixth year. They were the parents of seven children, four sons and three daughters, and all but one are living and married at the present time.
Mr. Adam J. Gerlach, who is the third child and third son, was about nine years old when he came to Lake county, where he continued the education he had begun in Virginia. He graduated from the Crown Point high school, and from that time has made his own way in the world. He began by clerking in a store, but at the age of seventeen entered upon his career as school teacher, which he continued, altogether, for twenty-one years. One term was in Cook county, Illinois, but all the rest was in Lake county. He taught different branches, English and German being favorites, and he also made a specialty of musical instruction, both vocal and instrumental. He is an accomplished musician, and at the present time is organist in St. Mary's Catholic church at Crown Point.
He now resides on his farm of two hundred and forty-five acres situated three and a half miles south of Crown Point., where he was one of the fine farmsteads of this part of the county. But he devotes most of his time to soliciting life insurance for the Aetna Life of Hartford, having been agent in this business for twenty-one years. He has written many thousands of dollars in this time, and his work has extended to all parts of the county. One of his chief industries on the farm is a large dairy, and in this connection he has become one of the directors of the Chicago Milk Shippers' Union, which comprises many thousand dairies of Indiana, Illinois and Wisconsin. He is also interested in a company organizing, at Crown Point, a jelly manufacturing business. About eighteen farmers of the surrounding country will raise currents for this enterprise.
Mr. Gerlach is one of the well known Democrats of Lake county, and for some years served as justice of the peace. He is a member and a trustee of the Catholic church at Crown Point. He was married, August 10. 1874, to Miss Margaret Scherer, the daughter of Nicholas and Frances Scherer, who were among the early settlers of Lake county, where Mrs. Gerlach was born. Mr. and Mrs. Gerlach have had thirteen children, and all are living but one, who died in 1903, the others being as follows: Adam M. Amelia, wife of Theodore Stech; George F.; Frances; Agnes: Michael; Joseph; Richard : Philip; Susan; Josephine; and Lillie. Adam and Agnes graduated in the Crown Point public schools, and the former and George F. are members of the Crown Point brass band. Mr. Gerlach, being so proficient in music, has given his children fine instruction in music, and at gatherings, assemblies and farm institutes they take a prominent part.
GEORGE W. JONES.
Active in community affairs which have had important bearing upon public progress and improvement, Judge G. W. Jones is numbered among the leading and representative men of Whiting, Indiana, where he is now filling the office of justice of the peace. He has also been closely associated with educational affairs there and has done much for the upbuilding of the schools. In an official connection he has been largely instrumental in securing the attendance at school of a greater percent of pupils than had hitherto been enrolled. His labors have always been of a practical character, attended by results that are far-reaching and beneficial.
Judge Jones is a native of Ohio, his birth having occurred in Butler county on the 23d of May, 1844. He is a son of Dr. Caleb H. and Beulah (Staggs) Jones, the former of Welsh descent and the latter of English lineage. His paternal grandfather, Jonas Jones, was a native of New Jersey, and was a civil engineer by profession. Removing westward he surveyed a large part of southern Ohio and was one of the promoters of pioneer development in that portion of Ohio. His son, Dr. Caleb H. Jones, was also a native of Butler county, Ohio, prepared for the practice of medicine in early life and continued active in the prosecution of his profession up to the time of his death, which occurred in 1848. His wife was a native of North Carolina. On her father's side she was of English lineage and on the maternal line her ancestry could be traced back to John Smith, whose life was saved by the Indian maiden Pocahontas.
Judge Jones was the seventh in a family of nine children born to Dr. and Mrs. Jones. He spent his youth in the county of his nativity, and his early boyhood was a period of earnest and unremitting toil, for when he was only four years of age he was left an orphan. He earned his living during the greater part of the time until he had attained the age of sixteen years, but the elemental strength of his character was thereby developed and he became a self-reliant, courageous young man who bravely faced life's duties and made the most of his opportunities. In 1861 he offered his services to the government as a defender of the Union, enlisting in Company D, Fifth Regiment of Ohio Cavalry. He served for three years and seven months in the army as a private, but was promoted to the rank of sergeant. He took part in the battles of Shiloh, the siege of Corinth and the battle at that city, the siege of Vicksburg and the engagement at Lookout Mountain, where was displayed one of the most daring military feats of the great war. He was also with Sherman on the celebrated march to the sea.
When the war was over and he was mustered out of service. Judge Jones returned to his native county in Ohio and there served a term of apprenticeship as a machinist. In 1867 he made a business trip to Europe, being gone about six weeks, during which time he visited Liverpool and other points in England, beside going to France. After his return to his native land he removed to Middletown, Ohio, where he remained until 1869. and in the fall of that year he came to Indiana, locating at Kentland. He afterward removed to Sheldon, Illinois, where he engaged in the manufacture of carriages and wagons for a short time. He next went to California, afterward to Australia and subsequently to Japan and China, looking for a location and a better country than America. He remained in Australia for three months and visited Hongkong, China, and Yokohama, Japan. His travels, however, convinced him that there was no better country on the face of the globe than his own United States, and upon once more reaching this country he located in Sheldon, Illinois, where he remained for two years. During that time he was married and later he went to Nebraska, settling at Lone Tree. There he secured a homestead claim and continued its cultivation and development until the grasshoppers entirely destroyed his crops. He next returned to Iroquois, Illinois, and afterward went to Sheldon, while in January, 1884, he located in Hammond, Indiana, where he entered the employ of the Tuthill Spring Company and the Chicago Carriage Company, being thus engaged until he entered the services of the Hammond Packing Company as a machinist, filling that position until 1890, when he came to Whiting. Here Judge Jones entered the employ of the Standard Oil Company as a machinist and foreman of the compound press house, and later was sent to the round house in the switching department. During the last four years of his connection with the Standard Oil Company he had charge of the repairs on locomotives, and was regarded as one of the most capable and trusted representatives of the corporation in Whiting.
In the meantime Mr. Jones had become recognized as a prominent and influential factor in public life, exerting strong influence in behalf of measures for the general good. In 1898 he was elected justice of the peace of Whiting and has served in that capacity continuously since, discharging his duties in a prompt and able manner, his decisions being strictly fair and impartial. He was also elected city clerk of Whiting and is now filling that office. He is likewise engaged in the insurance business, having time to devote to these interests as well as his official duties. He is now vice-president of the board of children's guardians of Lake county, Indiana, and since taking his place as a member of the board he has made strenuous and effective efforts to keep children out of the saloons, and more children are now attending school than ever before in Whiting. He is the only Democrat that has been elected to public office in the town, and this fact is indicative of the confidence and trust reposed in him by his fellow citizens. He is not bitterly aggressive in politics., for while he believes in Democratic principles he casts his ballot independently at local elections where no issue is involved. Since 1867 Judge Jones has been an exemplary member of the Masonic fraternity and has filled all the chairs in the local lodge. He is also a Knight of Pythias, holds membership relations with the Knights of the Maccabees and Colonel Robert Heath Post, G. A. R., of Hammond, in which he has filled all of the positions with the exception of that of quartermaster.
In 1870, while living in Sheldon, Illinois, Judge Jones was united in marriage to Miss Margaret Markley, and to them were born two sons and one daughter: Harry, who is an engineer for the Standard Oil Company; Guy, a switchman in the employ of the same company; and Annie, at home. The Judge and his family are well known in Whiting, where they occupy an enviable position in social circles and have many warm friends. He has taken a very active and helpful part in public affairs, and in his life record has displayed many commendable characteristics. His benevolent spirit has prompted generous assistance to the borough, and he has the reputation of giving more liberally than any other man in Whiting according to his means. No one in need seeking his aid is turned away from his door empty-handed, and while he does not believe in the indiscriminate giving that fosters vagrancy and idleness, he does everything in his power to help those who are willing to help themselves. Judge Jones attended school for only about ten months, and his knowledge has all been acquired through practical experience and by reading and study at night. He has made the most of his opportunities as the years have advanced, and to-day he is a well-informed man, widely and favorably known throughout the community, his abilities well fitting him for leadership in political, business and social life. The terms progress and patriotism may be considered the keynotes of his character, for throughout his career he has labored for the improvement of every line of business or public interest with which he has been associated and at all times has been actuated by a fidelity to his country and her welfare.
W. C. McMAHAN.
Judge W. C. McMahan, in 1902 elected to his present office of circuit judge, has been one of the leading members of the bar at Crown Point for the past twenty years, and his legal talent and learning, his wholesome and genial personality, and his loyalty to the public welfare have been recognized in an extensive law practice and a large personal and party following who have honored him with various public offices, the last being the circuit judge-ship. Since taking his seat on the bench he has fully preserved the judicial dignity of the office and has made a most commendable record by his expeditious yet thorough handling of the numerous cases on his docket. His career has been typical of those of many successful lawyers, he having entered upon the law after a period of experience in school teaching and having passed the usual novitiate of hard study and early trials in gaining recognition from the people. His past record proves his success, and he has reached his present prominence at the bar and bench while in the prime of manhood, being a man of forty-six and with many years of useful work before him.
Judge McMahan was born in Carroll county, Indiana, August 2, 1858, being of Scotch-Irish lineage. His grandfather, Robert McMahan, was an Indian trader, and served as aide-de-camp to General Washington. He was later one of the first settlers in the old town of Chillicothe, Ohio, where he located during the Indian wars. During the pioneer epoch of Ohio history and throughout the remainder of his life he was actively identified with the development and upbuilding of that state and of Indiana.
Judge McMahan's father is Robert McMahan. who was born in Darke county, Ohio, and when a small boy went with his parents to Tippecanoe county, Indiana, where he was reared to the occupation of farming, passing his youth among frontier scenes. He became a farmer of Carroll county, where he has devoted his energies to agricultural pursuits to the present time, although he is now seventy-nine years old and one of the honored patriarchs of his community. By his first wife he had one son. He was afterward married in Carroll county to Miss Martha White, who was born in Ohio and is still living. Her father, Zenas White, was a native of Ohio, and settled in Carroll county, Indiana, in 1832. Of this second union six children were born, four sons and two daughters.
Judge McMahan, the eldest of his brothers and sisters, was reared in Carroll county, Indiana, obtaining his early education in the country and village schools. He later attended the normal school at Ladoga, Indiana, and for four years engaged in teaching school. With his ambition set for the profession of law, he entered the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor, and studied there one year. He spent another year in reading law with a firm in Logansport, and in 1883 was admitted to the bar at Delphi Carroll county, Indiana. In April of the following year he located in Crown Point and began the practice which he has continued with so much success during the last twenty years. He has almost continuously been in some office demanding his professional services. He was town attorney for sixteen years, was prosecuting attorney of the county from 1890 to 1894, and in January, 1902,. was appointed to the position of circuit judge and in the fall of the same year was elected to that office. He has for a number of years been one of the influential Republicans of this part of the state, and as far as his duties permit he takes an active part in politics. His only fraternal affiliations are with the Knights of Pythias.
In 1888 Jude McMahan married Miss Irene Allman, a daughter of Amos and Mary (Luther) Allman. She was born in Crown Point, and by her marriage became the mother of three children: Claudia, Mary and Maurine.
SETH L. PEARCE.
Seth L. Pearce, of section 19, Eagle Creek township, is a life-long resident of this fertile portion of Lake county, and has been prominently identified with its fanning and stock-raising interests during nearly all his years since attaining manhood. Very little time has been spent away from the scene of his childhood joys, and his career has been worked out to a successful degree of fulness among the people and in the environments that he has known since he first became conscious of the great world about him. As the head of a happy home and as a factor in the social and business life of his community he has borne his share of responsibilities and become known everywhere in his township as a man of integrity and industrious habits.
Mr. Pearce was born in Eagle Creek township, Lake county, July 29, 1854, being the eighth child and the third son of Michael and Margaret J. (Dinwiddie) Pearce. His father, who was one of the pioneer settlers of Lake county, was born in 1808 and died in 1861, and his mother was born in 1818 and died August 8, 1894. Besides Seth L., there are six children living: John, in whose biography on another page further details of family history will be found; Harriet, wife of Isaac Bryant, of Hebron, Indiana: Nancy Ann, wife of O. V. Servis, also written of in this volume; Mary J., wife of W. T. Buchanan, of Eagle Creek township; Susanna, wife of G. H. Stahl, of Eagle Creek township; and Thomas, on the old homestead.
Mr. Seth L. Pearce was reared in his native township, and after attending the local schools went to the Crown Point high school and then to the Northern Indiana Normal School at Valparaiso. He spent a year and a. half in Oregon and California, but returned to his native township to take up the agricultural pursuits which have ever since formed his chief occupation and given him his livelihood. After his marriage he located on the farm where he still resides, consisting of one hundred and sixteen acres, well improved and under his capable management producing good general crops and stock. Mr. Pearce is a stanch Republican, and in church matters is a member of the United Presbyterian church at Hebron, taking a useful part in its work.
March 16, 1886, Mr. Pearce married Miss Sarah G. Patterson, a native of Kosciusko county, Indiana, where she was born July 16, 1859, the daughter of John and Margaret (Kirkpatrick) Patterson. Her father was born in Pennsylvania, September 15, 1799, and died April 7, 1864, and her mother in Ohio, August 21, 1819, and died December 12, 1900. She is the only child of their marriage. She was reared and educated in her native county. Father Patterson was reared as an agriculturist in Pennsylvania, and educated in the log-cabin school of "ye olden days." In his early life he was a Whig, and at the birth of the Republican party took up its principles. He came to Ohio from Pennsylvania and afterwards to Kosciusko county, Indiana, in 1843, and there had purchased one hundred and twenty acres of land in Plain township. He and wife were members of the United Presbyterian church. Mother Patterson was born in Clarke county, Ohio, and was seventeen when she became a resident of Indiana. Mrs. Pearce was educated in the common schools, was also a student in the Warsaw high school three years. She is a lady of genial, cordial bearing, and her cosy,
hospitable home is a haven for friend or stranger. Mr. and Mrs. Pearce have one daughter, Margaret E., born March 6, 1887, and who graduated from the Crown Point high school in 1904. She expects to enter a university of high rank, and take the classical course.
JAMES MONTGOMERY HALSTED.
James Montgomery Halsted, of section 11, Ross township, is a life-long resident of Lake county, and has found in agricultural pursuits the best employment for his energies and a means of gaining a comfortable livelihood and a substantial place in the world of material circumstances. He is a son of one of the very earliest pioneers to the county, so that the Halsted family has figured in the industrial and social life of Lake county from its earliest years to the present, and, furthermore, have always retained the esteem and high regard of their fellow citizens and business associates.
Mr. Halsted was born in Ross township, September 12, 1852. His father, James Halsted, was a native of Oneida county, New York, and about 1838 came out to Lake county, Indiana, locating in a very sparsely settled community and playing the part of the doughty pioneer in clearing the ground and making way for civilization. He was a farmer all his life, and lived to the advanced age of eighty-seven years. He was a member of and helped to build the Unitarian church at Hobart. In politics he was a Democrat from the time of casting his first vote to the last. His wife was Mary Woodhouse, who was born and reared in New York city, a daughter of Edwin Woodhouse. She is still living at the age of seventy-six, and has been the mother of six children, four sons and two daughters, all of whom grew up and married, and five are living at the present writing.
Mr. James M. Halsted is the eldest son and the second child. He was reared in Ross township, being educated in the public schools, and he remained at home and assisted his parents until his marriage, in 1877. In the same year he located on the farm where he has since made his home. This consists of one hundred and fifty-seven acres of well improved and highly cultivated land, and is devoted, under his skillful management, to general farming and stock-raising. Mr. Halsted is also interested in public affairs, and in 1904 was the Democratic candidate for the office of trustee of Ross township.
He married, in 1877, Miss Emma Brown, the daughter of James and Jane Brown. She was born in Michigan City, LaPorte county, Indiana, and was reared there. Mr. and Mrs. Halsted have five children: Albert, Ura, Roy, Mamie and Ethel.
C. A. FRIEDRICH.
Captain Charles A. Friedrich is the proprietor of the Harbor Hotel at Indiana Harbor and is one of the upbuilders of the town, which has had an existence of but a very few years, but in this brief space of time has made rapid strides, enjoying a marvelous yet substantial growth. The hostelry of which Captain Friedrich is proprietor is the leading one of the town, and in addition to its conduct he is also engaged in real estate operations.
The Captain is descended from a distinguished family of Germany, prominent in public life there. His grandfather Friedrich was commander of and had supervision over all the fortifications in central Germany, and at his death was buried under the monument which he had erected at Coburg. Germany. He married a Miss Demuth, and among their children was Charles E. Friedrich, the father of Captain Friedrich. He. too, was a native of Germany, and was in the government service throughout his entire life. He lived for a time in Saerbricken. He became a prominent officer, and the emperor voluntarily placed a medal upon his breast-the medal of the order of the Red Eagle. He was twice married, his first union being with Miss Leopoltina Miller, also a native of Germany and whose father spent his entire life in that country, where he conducted a hotel. To Mr. and Mrs. C. E. Friedrich were born three children, who are still living: Charles A.; Emelia, the wife of Ernst Gross, of Rheinholz, Germany: and Julius, of New York. After the death of his first wife the father married Katharina Dawald, and they had four sons-Ernst, Robert, Rudolph and Carl, all in Germany. Charles E. Friedrich died in the year 1899, at the advanced age of seventy-nine years, while the mother of our subject died of cholera in 1866. Both were consistent members of the Lutheran church.
Captain Charles A. Friedrich was reared in the fatherland and acquired his education in that country. When he had completed the high school course he attended college and afterward entered a sailors' school at Hamburg, Germany, known as the German Seamen's School, where he pursued a thorough course. Subsequently he entered the merchant marine service., which claimed his time and energies until 1901. His first trip to America was made in 1865, he landing at New York in April on the day that President Lincoln was assassinated. He continued to follow the ocean until 1869, when he began sailing on the Great Lakes, and was captain of various vessels until 1901, when he determined to abandon the vocation which had so long occupied his attention, and came to Indiana Harbor.
Captain Friedrich was the first man who slept in his own bed in the town. He opened the Harbor Hotel, renting the building when it was but partially finished, and the first night he had sixty-six boarders. There was not a bedstead in the house at the time, although he had four thousand dollars' worth of furniture upon the way, it being almost impossible to get the furniture from the cars by wagon, because of the swampy and stumpy condition of the ground, almost making hauling impossible. As rapidly as possible, however, he provided for the comfort of his guests, and the Harbor Hotel has ever maintained the first place among the leading hostelries of the town. He has a good patronage and his success is assured because of the enterprising methods he follows, and his earnest and untiring efforts to please his patrons. He is also interested in the real estate business and has handled considerable property here.
The condition of Indiana Harbor at the time of the opening of the hotel, contrasted with its present condition, indicates the rapid growth of the town, which now contains a population of three thousand and is still rapidly growing. The wise system of industrial economics which has been brought to bear in the development of Indiana Harbor has challenged uniform admiration, for while there has been steady advancement in material lines there has been an entire absence of that inflation of values and that erratic "booming" which have in the past proved the eventual death knell to many of the localities in the central west, where "mushroom towns" have one day smiled forth with "all modern improvements" and practically on the next have been shorn of their glories and of their possibilities of stable prosperity until the existing order of things shall have radically changed. In Indiana Harbor progress has been made continuously and in safe lines, and in the healthful growth and advancement of the town Mr. Friedrich has taken an active part.
On the 14th of May, 1898, Captain Friedrich was united in marriage to Miss Nellie T. Burke, a daughter of John and Theressa Burke. He belongs to several fraternal organizations, including the Odd Fellows, the Knights of Pythias and the Improved Order of Red Men, and has attained the uniformed rank in the K. of P. He is a member of the Indiana Harbor, Columbia and Jackson Park Yacht clubs. Politically he is a Republican, but his attention has never been directed toward office-holding, as he prefers to perform his duties of citizenship in other ways. While on the water he had some thrilling experiences, and now he is living the more quiet life of a hotel proprietor, ably ministering to the wants of the traveling public and by his genial, obliging manner making many friends.
Seymore Patton is one of the oldest citizens of Lake county, both in years of his age and in length of residence, and his honorable and active career as a farmer here for over forty-five years is one of the important items of the history of Center township. He came here in the strength and vigor of his young manhood and settled on the land which has ever since formed part of his homestead, and from the wild prairie and woodland he developed a farm whose continued cultivation has afforded him a most honor-able occupation and a means of livelihood, resulting in comfortable circumstances for his old age and in grateful esteem and regard from all his fellow citizens and associates.
Mr. Patton was born in Trumbull county, Ohio, December 18, 1828, a son of John and Eliza Jane (Dixon) Patton, the former a native of Butler county, Pennsylvania, and the latter of Ireland, whence she came to America at the age of fourteen. His parents were married in Butler county, Pennsylvania, where his father followed the occupation of farming, but spent his last years in Lake county, Indiana, where his death occurred at the age of sixty-four years. His mother died in this county at the age of sixty. There were sixteen children in the family, and all but one grew up and married and reared families.
Mr. Patton, the fifth child of the family, was reared in Trumbull county, Ohio, and was educated in that county's public schools. He was married there in 1852, and in the same year he came to Indiana, for the first two years being located in the south part of the state, in Morgan county. In 1855 he came to Lake county, but two years later moved to LaPorte county, whence two years later he moved back to Lake county. He then bought the farm where he now lives, and has continued his home and habitation thereon during all the subsequent years. He found the place a raw prairie, but he has placed and replaced many improvements since the day of his arrival. The present home place consists of eighty acres besides fifteen acres of timber tract.
In 1852 Mr. Patton married Miss Sarah Ann Beber, who was born near Allentown, Pennsylvania, and died May 8, 1904. Five children were born of this union of over fifty years, and four are now living: Anna M., the wife of Freeland Price, of Norton county, Kansas; Sarah, unmarried; William H., at home and performing most of the active work of the farm; and Vina, at home. Anna was a successful teacher in Lake county and also in Kansas. Mr. Patton has long been one of the Democratic voters of the county, and has always given his influence to the work of progress and development of his community.
James Patton, retired farmer of Winfield township, is a representative citizen of Lake county, entirely deserving of the substantial place he has gained in the esteem and high regard of his fellow citizens. His life of more than threescore and ten years has been fruitful in many ways. From early years he devoted himself industriously to his duties as a farmer, and only within the last few years has he remitted the diligence and constant effort which gained him prosperity in material circumstances and influence in affairs of citizenship. He made his first acquaintance with Lake county over fifty-five years ago, and some fifteen years later returned to this fertile agricultural section of northern Indiana and made it the field of his endeavors for his subsequent active career. He is accordingly well informed as to the various epochs in Lake county's industrial and political history, and is one of the honored old-timers.
Mr. Patton was born in Trumbull county, Ohio, April 26, 1831, being a son of John and Eliza Jane (Dixon) Patton, the former a native of Butler county, Pennsylvania, and the latter of Ireland, whence she came to America at the age of fourteen. His parents were married in Butler county, Pennsylvania, where his father followed the occupation of farming, but spent his last years in Lake county, Indiana, where his death occurred at the age of sixty-five. There were sixteen children in the family, and all but one grew up and married and reared families.
Mr. James Patton, the eighth of this large family, was reared in Trumbull county, and during his boyhood attended a log-cabin school for several years, drinking in such knowledge as this primitive fountain of learning afforded. In 1848, when aged seventeen, he started out in life for himself, coming to Lake county, Indiana, where he remained and gained a good acquaintance with the country for three years. He returned to Trumbull county, where he was married, and remained in his native county until 1864, when he went to Williams county, Ohio, and in 1868 came and took up his residence in Winfield township of Lake county, where he continued his successful farming operations until 1901, when he moved to his present residence in the same township and resigned most of his former business cares. Mr. Patton has always adhered to the Democracy in his political views. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church. He married, in 1858, Miss Mary Earl, who was born and reared in Trumbull county, Ohio, and died in Lake county, April 9, 1894. There were eleven children born of this marriage, but six are deceased. Those living are: Euthema, the wife of David Booth, of Chicago; Kittie, wife of William Vansciver, of Crown Point; Orwillie, wife of Michael Hefron, of Chicago Heights. Illinois; Flora Unora, at home; and James, unmarried.
Amos Allman is numbered among the honored dead of Lake county, whose memory is yet enshrined in the hearts of many of those who enjoyed his friendship. His life was so straightforward, his conduct so manly and his actions so sincere and unaffected that he won the warm regard of all with whom he was associated and he left behind him an untarnished name.
Mr. Allman was born at Atwick, in Yorkshire, England. February 17, 1825. His parents were Major and Margaret (Haxby) Allman. who were also natives of England, and there the mother spent her entire life. She passed away in 1826. leaving six children, of whom Amos was the youngest. Four years later, in 1830, the father bade adieu to friends and native country and with his children sailed for the new world, at first settling in Canada. In 1843 he became a resident of Crown Point.
Amos Allman accompanied his father on the emigration to the new world when but five years of age and lived in Toronto and Whitby, Canada, residing with his eldest sister. In 1842 when about seventeen years of age he entered upon an apprenticeship to the tailor's trade in Sturgis, Michigan, and the following year he removed to Crown Point, where he worked at his trade, but was soon obliged to abandon this vocation because of the partial failure of his eyesight. Several years later he returned to Sturgis, Michigan, and there embarked in merchandising, continuing in business at that place until 1855. In the latter year he once more came to Lake county to look after his father's business and with the exception of one year spent in Niles, Michigan, he remained continuously a resident of Crown Point from 1855 until his death. His father had served as county recorder up to the time of his death in 1856 and in that year Amos Allman was elected to the position, which he filled for eight consecutive years, having been re-elected. He was also for eighteen months, beginning in 1856, deputy revenue collector at this port. After his retirement from office Mr. Allman turned his attention to the abstract and real estate business, in which he continued for a long period, becoming widely known in that way. He handled much valuable property, negotiated many important real estate transfers and did a large abstract business, so that his clientage in both departments brought to him a good financial return and as he carefully husbanded his resources he was eventually enabled to retire from active business life and spend his remaining days in the enjoyment of a well-earned rest. He erected a number of buildings in Crown Point, including his own beautiful home, and thus he contributed in substantial measure to the improvement of the city.
Mr. Allman was twice married. On the 26th of November, 1857, he was joined in wedlock to Miss Olive Wilcox. who died on the 1st of June, 1859. On the 22d of March, 1860, he was again married, his second union being with Miss Mary A. Luther, and they became the parents of five children, who survive the father, whose death occurred at his home in Crown Point January 14, 1897, when he was nearly seventy-three years of age. Mr. Allman held membership with no church, but lived a most upright, honorable life, was always temperate in his habits and generous in his support of religious and benevolent enterprises. Indeed his career was in many respects most exemplary. He was always deeply interested in the growth and progress of the city and his co-operation could always be counted upon to aid in the advancement of any movement which promised to be of lasting benefit to Crown Point. He possessed a strong love of nature and was never happier than when he could find time to get away from his office and spend some hours nearer to nature. He was a man whom to know was to respect and honor. Numbered among Crown Point's pioneers his entire life to his fellow townsmen was as an open book which all might read. He possessed strongly domestic tastes and while he accomplished much in the business world and ratified his friendships by kindly sympathy and thoughtful consideration for others, his greatest depth of love was reserved for his family.
MRS. MARY ALLMAN.
Mrs. Mary Allman, the widow of Amos Allman, of Crown Point, whose sketch is given above, was born in Concord, New Hampshire, October 18, 1832, and is a daughter of James and Irena (Ransom) Luther. Her father was also a native of the old Granite state and in the year 1834 he emigrated westward to Indiana, becoming one of the pioneer settlers of the state. He took up his abode in Porter county and there secured a tract of wild and unimproved land, which he transformed into a good farm, carrying on agricultural pursuits on that property up to the time of his death, which occurred when he was in his sixty-second year. His wife survived him for some time and passed away in her sixty-ninth year. This worthy couple were the parents of ten children, seven sons and three daughters, all of whom reached years of maturity, but Henry, Maria, John, Amos, Caleb, Charles and Martha A. are all now deceased. Those still living are Martin, who makes his home in Colorado, and Mary A.
Mary Luther was but two years old when brought by her parents to Indiana. She was reared in Porter county and after attending the common schools of those early days she became a student in Valparaiso. When about sixteen years of age she began teaching and was thus engaged until twenty years of age. On the 22c! of March, 1860, she gave her hand in marriage to Amos Allman, whose life record is given above. By her marriage she became the mother of two sons and three daughters: Walter L., who is represented elsewhere in this volume; Mary I., the wife of Judge McMahan, whose life history is also given in this work; Claude W., who is with his brother Walter in business; Jessie May, at home; and Nellie L., the wife of J. B. Neal, of Joliet, Illinois. All were born in Crown Point. Mrs. Allman has spent almost her entire life in Indiana and has long been a resident of Crown Point. She is one of the pioneer women of this portion of the state and has witnessed the wonderful transformation that has occurred as Lake and Porter counties have emerged from frontier conditions into a high state of civilization. She has a wide acquaintance in northwestern Indiana and to-day many friends entertain for her the warmest regard. Mrs. Allman is a lover of flowers and among the beauties of nature she enjoys many happy hours.
CARL EDWARD BAUER.
Carl Edward Bauer, secretary of the Simplex Railway Appliance Company at Hammond, is one of the practical and progressive business men of the city. As a mechanical expert and contriver he is especially proficient, and as such has been a valuable member of his company. He has been an American citizen for over twenty years, and owing to his ability he has been constantly engaged in useful activity and has filled a worthy niche in the world of industry. He is one of the highly esteemed citizens of Hammond, where he has lived for the past six years, and in both business and social and civic affairs his personal integrity and worth of character have made him a man of influence.
Mr. Bauer was born in the village of Langenholzhausen, province of Lippe-Detmold, Germany, on November 5, 1857, being a son of Ferdinand E. and Minna (Bock) Bauer, both natives of the fatherland. His mother was a daughter of Christian Bock, who was a farmer and brewer and also ran a bakery at Varenholz, in the province of Lippe-Detmold. He had an inn in that place, and was a prominent burger of the town, serving as its mayor. He died at the age of fifty-five years, and his wife survived him a number of years. They had three children.
The paternal grandfather of Mr. Bauer was Frederick E. Bauer, who was a German miller, and was also mayor of his home village. He lived to be about seventy years of age. His wife, who attained the age of seventy-six, was named Wilhelmina Mello, whose father was a Hollander and later a German settler.
Ferdinand E. Bauer was one of a good-sized family. He followed in the footsteps of his father and made milling his occupation until very recently. He is now living retired at the advanced age of eighty-seven years, being one of those sturdy Teutons who never grow old and who retain their vitality to the last. He resides in his old home at Langenholzhausen. He is still able to read without glasses. He has been a prominent man in his community, having been mayor of the village a number of times, and also a deputy to the provincial diet. In his younger days he traveled all over Europe, and is a well-informed and most intelligent old gentleman. His wife is also living, and well and hearty at the age of eighty-three. They belong to the Reformed church. They were the parents of four sons and two daughters: Leopold; August; Johanna, wife of Rev. Korfif; Emil; Carl E.; and Helen, who died at the age of six years.
Mr. Carl E. Bauer was reared and educated in Germany, and served his full time in the cavalry branch of the regular army, being a non-commissioned officer during his service, and at the time of his departure from the country he was a lieutenant of the army reserve. His education was received in the gymnasium and his technical training at the polytechnic school, so that he had the thorough and careful German equipment for life's duties.
He came to America in 1882, locating first at Terre Haute, Indiana, where he was in the employ of the Terre Haute Car Manufacturing Company as a mechanical engineer. He was there until 1887, and then took a similar position at Muskegon, Michigan, with the Muskegon Car Company, with whom he remained until 1892. From that time until 1895 he was in the employ of the Indiana Car and Foundry Company at Indianapolis, and for the following two years was with the Illinois Car and Equipment Company. In 1897 he began his connection with the Simplex Railway Appliance Company, which in the following year located its shops at Hammond. He is now secretary of the company. From three to four hundred persons are employed by this concern, and their large annual product consists of various kinds of car and railway appliances.
Mr. Bauer has fraternal affiliations with Hegewisch Lodge No. 766, I. O. O. F., and also with Crystal Lodge No. 258, K. of P. His politics are Republican. He has a nice home on Hohman street, and he and his family stand high in the social circles of the city. He was married in April, 1887, to Miss Olga Wittenberg, a daughter of Otto and Charlotte (Sachs) Wittenberg. There were four sons and two daughters born of their union: Walter; Gretchen; Carl; Minnie, who died at the age of six years; Ernest, who lived only a little over a year; and Emil.
NATHAN B. MEEKER.
Nathan B. Meeker, who has been a well-known and prosperous farmer of Center township on the old Meeker homestead for over a quarter of a century, is a member of an influential and long established family of Lake county, his brothers, J. Frank and Charles H., being worthy and successful representatives of the professional and business life of the county as he himself is of the agricultural interests. He has devoted his best efforts and endeavors to farming since arriving at years of manhood, and these thirty odd years have been prosperous from a material and individual standpoint and of eminent usefulness to the social and industrial development and progress of the community in general.
Mr. Meeker was born in Wyoming county, Pennsylvania, November 4, 1850, being the eldest son of Sherman B. and Elizabeth (Gress) Meeker, whose history is further detailed in the sketches of their above mentioned sons, to be found on other pages of this work.
Mr. Meeker, when four years old, was brought from his native place to Illinois, about a year later to Calhoun county, Michigan, at the age of nine to White county, Indiana, and thence to Carroll county, and in 1865 to Lake county, where his home has been ever since. He was educated in the public schools of the last three mentioned counties, and was reared to farm life and remained at home assisting his parents until his marriage in 1873.
Mr. Meeker married, April 29, 1873. Miss Isadore Craft, and they have one son, Thomas C, who is studying in the pharmacy department of the Northern Indiana Normal at Valparaiso. Mrs. Meeker was born in Ohio, April 23, 1851, and came with her parents, Thomas and Lucinda (Forsha) Craft, to Lake county when she was about two years old, and she was reared and educated at Orchard Grove, Cedar Creek township. There were twelve children in the Craft family, seven sons and five daughters, and there are seven now living: Morgan, who is married and is engaged in the furniture and undertaking business in Monon, White county, this state; Cassander, who is married and is a farmer at Momence, Kankakee county, Illinois; Mrs. Meeker; James, a farmer of Lake county; Jennie, who was a Lake county teacher and is now the wife of George Norton, a farmer of Lake county; Adelbert, who is married and is farming at Lowell; and Elza, a farmer in this county.
Mr. and Mrs. Meeker began their married life as renters in Kankakee county. Illinois. They located in Center township in 1878, on the homestead farm of one hundred and sixty acres, where they have resided ever since and conducted a farming and stock-raising business. They are citizens of high standing socially and personally, and are held in high esteem throughout their home township.
Mr. Meeker has been a life-long Republican and first voted for General Grant. He and his wife are members of the Grange, and he has fraternal affiliations with the Knights of the Maccabees at Crown Point.
Mrs. Meeker's parents are both deceased, and the following paragraphs, taken from the local press, give the details of their useful and well-spent lives and add to the completeness of this biography:
"Thomas Craft, the subject of this week's half-tone illustration, is now a resident of Lowell, where he moved a short time ago to spend his remaining years.
"He was born in Pennsylvania on July 24., 1826. At the age of five years he moved with his parents to Ohio, in which state he received his early education in a day when school facilities were not of the best and school hours few and far between. On arriving at manhood he first started to work for his father at one hundred dollars per year, but at the end of the first year found that this was earning money too slow, so he cleared about four acres of timber land and started into the cultivation of tobacco and made considerable money in raising and handling this product.
"He was married November 30, 1848, to Lucinda Forsha, with whom he lived happily for forty years, when death claimed her in 1888. In 1854 he moved with his family to Orchard Grove, where he first purchased one hundred and fifty acres of land, to which he added other purchases from time to time until at last his total holdings were over four hundred acres of well improved real estate.
"He has eight children, all of whom with the exception of one are married and living upon farms, with the exception of the oldest son, Morgan, who is in business at Monon, Indiana.
"He was married again in 1894.
"He has recently sold his entire farm to James Black, of Momence, for sixty dollars per acre, the tract bringing him twenty-four thousand dollars, and a public sale of his personal property netted him two thousand dollars, thus leaving him sufficient means to provide for his welfare in his old age and enable him to live in peace and comfort."
"Passed Away - Mrs. Lucinda (Forsha) Craft was born in Marietta, Monroe county, Ohio, January 16, 1830. Died at her residence in Orchard Grove, Indiana, January 31, 1888, aged fifty-eight years and sixteen days. She was married to Thomas Craft, November 30, 1848, in Fredericktown, Ohio. In the fall of 1854 she with her husband moved to Lake county, Indiana, where she lived till her death, then crossing the bright river. She was the mother of twelve children, three in their heavenly home, nine on earth. She lived happily forty years with her husband. January 25 she was taken very ill, and after six days of intense suffering, she gave up life on earth for a brighter home above. She has passed away and left us with nothing but a pleasant memory. A break has been made in our hearts by that casket, open grave and silent mound, which can never be healed.
"Dearest mother, thou hast left us,
And gone to that better land; Would that you could have remained with us But the voice of God you heard.
"Oh! mother, thou hast left us, To join that heavenly band, Nevermore to return to your loved ones- Left us here, on this desolate plain."
HEINRICH C. SCHRAGE.
Heinrich C. Schrage is filling the position of teller in the Bank of Whiting and is a son of Henry Schrage, the president of the institution, who is mentioned on another page of this work. Heinrich C. Schrage was born on the 2d of July, 1869, pursued his education in the public schools here and in the Lutheran school at Colehour, Illinois, where he spent one year. He entered upon his business career as a clerk in the general store owned by his father at Whiting, and served in that capacity until he took charge of the postoffice in 1892. He remained there until 1896, since which time he has been largely connected with banking interests. He was, however, appointed postmaster in January, 1899, and filled that position for two and a half years, when he resigned in order to accept the position of teller in the Whiting Bank. In this capacity he is now serving, and he has thorough and practical knowledge of the banking business that has resulted in making him one of the strong and influential representatives of financial interests in Lake county. The bank has a capital and a surplus of sixty thousand dollars and a large business is conducted. The management of the institution devolves in marked measure upon Mr. Schrage. who is well qualified for the onerous duties.
Mr. Schrage has spent most of his life in Whiting and is well known here. He is the owner of considerable real estate in Schrage avenue, having houses there which he rents, and these bring to him a good income. In politics he is a stanch Republican, and he belongs to the Lutheran church. In Whiting he is well known, and his social qualities have made him popular with a large circle of friends, and the fact that many of his stanchest friends are those who have known him from early boyhood is an indication that his salient characteristics are those which command respect, confidence and
CHARLES A. JOHNSON.
Charles A. Johnson, nominee for county auditor and who is engaged in the undertaking business in Whiting and is also agent for the Adams Express Company, was born in Chicago, Illinois. June 5, 1866, his parents being Andrew M. and Margaret Johnson, both of whom were natives of Sweden and who on emigrating to the new world established their home in Chicago. On the 18th of July, 1866, Andrew M. Johnson removed with his family from that city to Lake county, Indiana, his son Charles being then only but six weeks old. The boy was reared in this county, pursued his early education in the public schools and afterward attended Augustana College at Rock Island. Illinois, where he completed his school work. He then returned to his father's farm and for some four or five years remained with his parents.
Being the youngest of the family he assumed charge of the home farm after the others had left and continued its management up to the time of his marriage. He had early been trained to habits of industry and economy upon the old homestead place, and was familiar with the work of field and meadow when he relieved his father of the care and labor of the farm.
In 1888 Charles A. Johnson was united in marriage to Miss Matilda Wild, who died April 19, 1894. She was the mother of four children, of whom two are now living: Charles E. and Herbert T. On the 3d of March, 1899, Mr. Johnson was again married, his second union being with Mrs. Charlotte Beck, and they are now well known in Whiting, where they have an extensive circle of friends.
Mr. Johnson took up his abode in this city on the 5th of March, 1892, and embarked in the undertaking business. He also established a livery stable and has continued in both lines to the present time. He holds three diplomas for efficiency in embalming, having attended and graduated from the United States School of Embalming at St. Louis, conducted by Professor Sullivan; the Boston School of Embalming, under Professor Dodge, and the Embalming School of Professor Myers at Springfield, Ohio. He has a well equipped undertaking establishment, carrying everything in his line, and he is also receiving a liberal patronage in the livery business. He is likewise agent for the Adams Express Company and is thus well known in the business circles of Whiting.
Mr. Johnson is quite active and influential in local political circles and has been chosen for a number of public offices. He served as trustee of his town for two years, has been president of the town board, and, March 19, 1904. received the nomination for county auditor of Lake county on the Republican ticket. For many years Mr. Johnson has taken a leading part in Republican politics of Lake county, and ever since he gained his majority he has earnestly supported the principles and policies of that party and without question has fully earned the nomination for the office of county auditor. Socially he is connected with the Knights of Pythias fraternity, the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks and with the Knights of the Maccabees. Almost his entire life has been passed in Lake county, and the circle of his acquaintances has continually grown. By perseverance, determination and honorable effort he has overthrown the obstacles which barred his path to success, and through untiring activity has reached the goal of prosperity. He is recognized in his community as a man of broad mind and public spirit, and his genuine worth has won him high esteem.
MARCUS M. TOWLE.
Marcus M. Towle, the well-known business man of Hammond, has the distinction of being one of the founders of this now thriving city in extreme northwest Indiana. Hammond is best known to the outside world for its dressed beef industries, and it is a matter of history that Mr. Towle took part in the establishment of the first packing house in this place, as it was one of the first in the country, and was one of the energetic and enterprising, members of the firm that sent some of the first consignments of beef abroad. He was not only thus active in giving birth to the city, but has since been vitally interested in the material development and progress of the city. While he has been successful in his own affairs, he has never neglected the welfare of his city, and with unselfish devotion to its good has participated in many enterprises, both in the capacity of an official and as a private citizen, and for that reason is regarded by his fellow citizens as one of the most public-spirited and progressive of men.
Mr. Towle was born in Danville, New Hampshire, January 14, 1843, a son of Amos G. and Mary P. (Page) Towle. His grandfather, Nehemiah Towle, was a native New Hampshire farmer, and died when about eighty years old. His wife survived him some years, and they had only one son, Amos G. The latter was also a native of New Hampshire, and was a merchant, first in Danville and then in Haverhill, Massachusetts, where he remained up to the time of his death, in 1860, when forty-four years old. He was postmaster at Danville under President Taylor, having been one of the eight men of the town who voted for Taylor. He and his wife were both Universalists. His wife, Mary (Page) Towle, who survived him until 1900, being seventy-six years of age, was a native of New Hampshire and a daughter of Thomas Page, who was a New Hampshire farmer, a soldier in the war of 1812, was the recipient of several offices in his township and the owner of considerable property, and lived to be a very old man, having been the father of several sons and daughters. Amos and Mary Towle were the parents of sixteen children, seven sons and nine daughters, nine of whom are living now: Marcus M.; Mrs. Mary Flanders, of Haverhill, Massachusetts; Charles, of Haverhill; Porter, of Hammond, Indiana; Amos, of Hammond; Olive, of Haverhill; Mrs. Henrietta Ladd, of Haverhill; Elizabeth; and Clara.
Mr. Marcus M. Towle lived in Danville until the age of twelve, and then moved with the family to Haverhill, in which two towns he received most of his education. He learned the butcher's trade, and followed it for many years. He was in Boston for some time, and then came to Detroit, Michigan, where he lived for six years, and then returned to Boston. In 1869 he came out to where the present city of Hammond is situated, for there was no town there at the time. In partnership with George H. Hammond, Caleb Ives and George W. Plumer, he established the dressed beef business, which was the real foundation of the town. He also laid out the town and named it in honor of Mr. Hammond. The beef business was started as the Hammond, Plumer & Company, and at the death of Mr. Plumer in 1874 the business was incorporated as the George H. Hammond & Company, with Mr. Hammond as president and Mr. Towle as vice-president. Mr. Towle continued his connection with the company until 1884. They originated the dressed beef business in this country, and shipped the first cargo of dressed beef to England, Mr. Towle going on the first trip and making arrangements in England for the handling of the product. The enterprise was started on a small scale, but eventually employed two thousand men. The firm has recently been removed to Chicago.
On withdrawing from the meat business Mr. Towle engaged in various enterprises in the city. He organized the First National Bank in 1886. In 1902-3 he built the fine new opera house known as the Towle Opera House, with a seating capacity of fourteen hundred persons. For the past ten years he has given his attention to the greenhouse and florist business, having now an area of twenty-five thousand square feet under glass, and carrying on an extensive trade in this and surrounding cities.
December 25, 1865, Mr. Towle married Miss Irena Dow, a daughter of Jacob and Mrs. (Stevens) Dow. They have six children: Marcus M., jr., who is a clerk in the First National Bank, and who married Miss Matilda Gherke; George Hammond, who is assistant manager of the opera house; Fred Cheney, who is a locomotive engineer on the Erie Railroad; Annie May; Birdie; and Ida Mary.
Mrs. Towle is a member of the Methodist church. Mr. Towle affiliates with Garfield Lodge No. 569, F. & A. M., and was the first master of the lodge; also with Hammond Chapter, R. A. M., and Hammond Commandery, K. T. In politics Mr. Towle is a Republican, but has been interested in party affairs only so far as it would help his city. He was the first mayor of Hammond, serving for two terms, and was township trustee two terms, and has also been a delegate to several state conventions. He owns a beautiful residence, which he erected in 1885, and also has other city property.
Hon. Nichols Scherer has for many years figured prominently in public affairs and business circles in northwestern Indiana, and his history is a notable one in that he came to this state empty-handed and in humble capacity entered business life. If those who claim that fortune favors certain individuals will but examine into the life record of such men as Mr. Scherer they will learn that it is not circumstance or environment, but indefatigable energy and industry that form the basis of all success. Mr. Scherer, recognizing that each day held its duty and its opportunity, worked on steadily, performing to the best of his ability each task that came to him, and now after many years of residence in Indiana he is numbered among the substantial citizens and leaders in Lake county. He makes his home at Schererville, which was named in his honor, and of which town he is the founder and promoter.
Mr. Scherer was born in Prussia, Germany, on the 29th of June, 1830, and came to America with his parents, John and Mary Scherer, in 1846. They landed at New York city, where they remained for about four weeks, and thence proceeded westward by steamer and canal boat to Chicago, and on to St. John township, Lake county, settling in the town of St. John. The father died about 1865, aged one hundred and three years and the mother died about 1870, aged ninety-nine years. The father died in Dyer and the mother died in Schererville, and both parents are interred in St. John's cemetery in one grave.
Mr. Scherer began working for the state of Indiana as swamp-land ditcher and was afterward appointed land commissioner, which position he held until he became connected with railroad interests. He went from St. John to Dyer in the capacity of landlord, and in the latter place was engaged in the hotel business, as well as railroading. He remained there for about nine years, or the expiration of which period he was engaged on the construction of the Panhandle Railroad, then called the Chicago & Great Eastern. He was head boss on the road from Richmond, Indiana, to Chicago, having charge of the building and the repairing and also running all kinds of trains. He located at what is now Schererville in 1865, being at that time connected with the Great Eastern Railroad, and he remained with the company for twelve years.
In the meantime he purchased the land upon which Schererville now stands, laid out the town, and it was named in his honor. He has been a resident here for almost forty years. He was with the Pan Handle Railroad, which is now a part of the Pennsylvania Railroad system, and during that time he also built a part of the Michigan Central Railroad at Union City, Michigan, and a part of the Eastern Illinois Railroad, of the Wabash Railroad, and the Milwaukee & St. Paul Railroad, also constructing what is known as the Joliet cutoff, now a part of the Michigan Central Railroad. At the same time he was engaged in the sand business, shipping sand from Schererville. and in this he still continues. He likewise dealt in real estate, and carried on farming, and thus extending his energies to many lines of business activity he conducted important interests, which proved to him lucrative and made him one of the substantial citizens of northwestern Indiana.
Mr. Scherer has been a resident of Lake county for fifty-eight years, and is well known in this part of the state, his labors being of a character that have contributed to the development and improvement of the state, as well as to his individual prosperity. Outside of the strict path of business he has also proved a helpful factor in interests for the general good, and has co-operated in many movements which have for their object the welfare of the general public. His political allegiance has always been given to the Democracy, and he has served as road superintendent and as constable. He was also swampland commissioner and for one term represented his district in the state legislature, where he gave loyal support to all bills which he believed contained measures for benefit to the commonwealth.
While residing in St. John Mr. Scherer was united in marriage to Miss Francisco Uhlenbrock, who was born in Germany October 10, 1833. They became the parents of seven children, but only three are now living: Anna, the wife of Nicholas Schaefer; Maggie, the wife of Adam Gerlach, who is mentioned elsewhere in this volume; and Teressa, the widow of Jacob Austgen. There are now thirty-three grandchildren and two great-grandchildren. Mr. Scherer and his family are members of the St. Michael's Catholic church. No history of this community would be complete without mention of Mr. Scherer, for, coming to this section of the state at an early period in its development, he is now numbered among the honored pioneers, his mind bearing the impress of the historic annals of the county. He can relate many interesting incidents of those primitive times as well as of the later-day progress and improvement, and moreover he has played so prominent and helpful a part in the substantial upbuilding of the county that his name is inseparably interwoven with its history.
SAMUEL R. TURNER.
Dr. Samuel R. Turner, a leading physician and surgeon at 107 First National Bank Building, Hammond, has gained a good practice and taken a foremost position among the medical fraternity of this city and Lake county since taking up his residence here about three years ago. He is a man of ability both in his profession and in the performance of his duties as a man and citizen, and his career has been most creditable from his early years, during which he had to make his own way and earn the means for his professional education.
Dr. Turner was born in Stephenson county, Illinois, near Freeport, May 13, 1858, a son of Samuel and Jane E. (McGlashon) Turner, natives, respectively, of Trumbull county, Ohio, and of the state of Vermont. His paternal grandfather, Samuel Turner, was a native of Ireland, though of Scotch descent, and a son of a life-long Irish citizen. He came to America about 1797 and located near Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. He was a carpenter and cabinet-maker by trade. He came to Indiana about 1833 and settled in LaPorte county, and four years later came to Lake county, where he settled on a land claim and to which he brought his family in 1838. He improved a farm, and was both a prosperous and influential citizen. He died there in 1846 at the age of sixty-four. His wife was Jane Dinwiddie, who was born in Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, January 18, 1783, and died in 1870, aged eighty-seven years. They had seven children who grew to maturity.
Samuel Turner, the father of Dr. Turner, was a farmer by occupation, and was a young man at the time of his removal to Indiana in 1833. He followed farming there up to the breaking out of the Mexican war, and then enlisted and served as- quartermaster in the American army. He returned to his Indiana farm, then moved to Illinois and lived in Stephenson county for a few years. In January or February of 1859 he returned to Lake county, and lived on a farm in Eagle Creek township from then until his death, which occurred April 24, 1864, when he was forty-six years old. His wife survived him until October, 1884, when she was fifty years old. They were members of the United Presbyterian church. They had two sons, Dr. Turner, and William M., of Denver, Colorado. Mrs. Jane E. Turner's father was W. G. McGlashon, a native of Canada and of Scotch parents who moved to Vermont from Canada. He was a tailor in his younger years, and after coming to Indiana among the early settlers engaged in merchandising in Crown Point for several years. He afterward lived on a farm near Crown Point. In 1876 he moved to Ottumwa, Iowa, and died there in 1897, when eighty-one years old. His wife was Ann Duffy, a native of Ireland and still living. They had five children.
Dr. Samuel R. Turner was brought to Lake county when about a year old, and was reared on a farm in Eagle Creek township. He attended the district school, and later the high school in Hebron, Porter county. For several years he was engaged in teaching during the winter and fanning during the rest of the year. He then took up the study of medicine, and in 1888 graduated from the medical department of the University of Louisville, Kentucky. He has since been engaged in practice for varying periods of time at Dyer, Hobart, in Lake county, in Wheatfield, Jasper county, in Lansing, Illinois, and about three years ago took up his residence in Hammond, where he has enjoyed an increasing practice to the present time.
December 13, 1883, Dr. Turner married Miss Henrietta Burgess, a daughter of Henry and Eliza (McCay) Burgess. Six children have been born of this union, three sons and three daughters: Albert, who died at the age of two years and three months; Susan E.; Mary Edna; Harold B.; James Samuel, who died aged five years nine months; and Wilma Jane.
Dr. Turner affiliates with Garfield Lodge No. 569, F. & A. M., and also with the Maccabees and the Modern Woodmen of America. He is a member of the Lake County Medical Society, the Indiana State Medical Society, the Kankakee Valley Medical Society and the American Medical Association. He is a stanch Republican in politics, and has served four years as county coroner, his term expiring January 1, 1904.
REDMOND D. WALSH.
Canada has furnished to the United States many bright, enterprising young men, who have left that country to enter the business circles of the United States with its more progressive methods, livelier competition and advancement more quickly secured. Among this number is Colonel Walsh. He has somewhat of the strong, rugged and persevering characteristics developed by his earlier environments, which, coupled with the livelier impulses of the Celtic blood of his ancestors, made him at an early day to seek wider fields in which to give full scope to his ambition and industry - his dominant qualities. He found the opportunities he sought in the freedom and appreciation of the growing western portion of this country. Though born across the border he is thoroughly American in thought and feeling, and is patriotic and sincere in his love for the stars and stripes. His career is largely identified with the history of railroad building in the middle west, and in more recent years he has been a prominent and influential citizen of East Chicago, where he is now engaged in real estate operations.
Colonel Walsh was born in the county of Peterboro, Ontario, Canada, and is of Irish descent. His paternal grandfather, William Walsh, was born on the Emerald Isle and died there at an advanced age. He married a Miss Murphy and they had a large family, including Richard Walsh, whose birth occurred in county Cork, Ireland. He was a farmer by occupation and in 1818 he emigrated to Canada, spending his remaining days in that country with the exception of a brief period which was passed in the United States. He always engaged in the tilling of the soil, making that a source of income whereby he provided for his family. He served in the Patriot war in Canada in 1837 and died there at the age of sixty-six years. In early manhood he had married Elizabeth Ford, likewise a native of county Cork, Ireland. Her father, Dennis Ford, was born in Ireland and died in that country at an advanced age. He reared a large family upon his home farm, where his industry and enterprise in the cultivation of the fields brought to him a comfortable living. His grandson, Ted Ford, now lives upon the old home place, which comprises two hundred acres of rich land and which has continuously been in possession of the family from the eleventh century. It was at one time a very extensive tract, but during the reign of Queen Elizabeth it was confiscated, although two hundred acres were afterward restored to the family. By the marriage of Richard Walsh and Elizabeth Ford thirteen children were born, twelve of whom reached adult age, while six are now living: Colonel Redmond D.; Richard, of the Soldiers' Home; Bridget L., the widow of James Haynes, of Corry, Pennsylvania; John, who lives on the old homestead in Ontario; Elizabeth, the wife of James Fyfe, also of Ontario; and Ann, the wife of David Kelley, of the same place.
Colonel Walsh was reared on the old homestead farm in Canada and also followed lumbering in his early life. His business career has been characterized by intelligent and well-directed efforts, and he may well be called a self-made man, a representative of the progress and advancement which have been a manifest factor in the history of America in the nineteenth century. His success has not been the result of genius but of individual and continued effort. He acquired a common school education and also received instruction from a private teacher for some time. While in Canada he followed lumbering, taking his timber to the Quebec market. He made several trips to the United States in search of a location which he regarded as favorable, and in 1862, accompanied by his wife, he went to Corry, Pennsylvania. There he entered upon a contract to build the Oil Creek Railroad, which he completed in 1862, and afterward entered the services of the Pennsylvania Railroad Company, assisting in the construction of its line from Franklin to Meadville, Pennsylvania. He was superintendent of construction and for some time held that position after the completion of the road. Subsequently he built the Allegheny Valley Railroad from Warren to Pittsburg, and was thus engaged in railroad construction work at the time the Confederate army made its way into Pennsylvania. He then enlisted in order to defend this state and after participating in the battle of Gettysburg, following which time the rebels were forced to retreat, he resumed the pursuits of private life. In 1865 Mr. Walsh took a prominent part in organizing the Fenian Brotherhood. The following year he went west and was engaged as a contractor and superintendent of work on the Union Pacific Railroad, his time being thus occupied until the completion of the line in 1869. In 1870 he entered into business relations with the Central Pacific Railroad Company, with which he continued for a year, after which he went to Kansas, where he was superintendent of the work for the Missouri, Kansas & Texas Railroad. The period of his connection with that company covered three years, during which time the line was constructed to connect with the Houston & Texas Central road. He afterward became associated with the latter company, with which he continued for three years, and then he returned to Pennsylvania, where he built a coal road from Larabee to Bunker Hill. Subsequently he went to the Buckeye state, where he assisted in the building of the Scioto Valley Railroad and later he was engaged in the construction work of the Springfield, Jacksonville & Pomeroy Railroad, then the St. Clairsville & Bellaire Railroad, and afterwards a railroad extending from! Youngstown, Ohio, to Pittsburg, Pennsylvania. Returning to Ohio he built the valley railroad from Canton to Cleveland, and then went to Colorado, where he engaged in the construction of the Denver & Rio Grande Railroad over Mar-shall Pass, connecting it with the Denver, Rio Grande & Western Railroad at Junction City. Another important contract which was awarded him and which he faithfully and capably executed was the building of the Alpine tunnel, a work which covered two years. He then embarked in mining in Colorado, being interested in several diggings. Returning to St. Louis he was associated with a partner, Michael Coffey, in the construction of the standard gauge road from East St. Louis to Cairo, and later he went to Nebraska and built the approach to the United Railroad bridge at Rulo, Nebraska. There he moved more dirt than any other contractor in the same length of time, three hundred thousand yards being taken away in ninety days. His next work was the construction of twenty miles of the Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railroad from Galesburg west. He built the Elgin, Joliet & Eastern Railroad, and then came to East Chicago, Indiana, where he built the Chicago, Calumet & Terminal Railroad, the contract being awarded him by General Joseph T. Torrence, now deceased. At that time General Torrence promised to make a present of a town lot to the first child born in the town. Not long afterward there were born to Mr. and Mrs. R. W. O'Brien, the former a nephew of Colonel Walsh, twin boys. It seemed necessary that two lots should be given, one to each child, and General Torrence gave one lot, while Colonel Walsh gave the other. The boys are now young men.
During his railroad construction work on the site of the present city of East Chicago Colonel Walsh became convinced of the advantages which might be derived from establishing a home here, and he took up his abode here in 1888. It was he who first used an ax in cutting down a tree on the present site of the city. He assisted in laying out the town, being the contractor for all the street work. He also erected ten of the first buildings of this city, and he has continued an active factor in the work of improvement and progress to the present time.
In the year 1893 East Chicago was changed from town to a city government. The city council of that date made a contract with a contracting company to build water and light plants. The city council accepted the plants before they were half completed and issued the city bonds for the full amount of the contract. The water works were useless and cost more to keep it in repair than it was worth. Three hundred and thirty thousand dollars of bonds were turned over by the city council to the company. R. D. Walsh took the company into the courts and knocked out two hundred and ninety-six thousand dollars of bonds, and the supreme court of the state of Indiana granted a perpetual injunction against ever collecting either interest or principal on these two hundred and ninety-six thousand dollars of bonds. Then the city council sold, or rather gave the plants back to the bogus bondholders. R. D. Walsh again went into court and took the plants away from the bondholders for the city. All this at his own expense. The plants are now in the city's possession.
In 1889 the residents of the town had an election and incorporated East Chicago, and Colonel Walsh at that time was elected the first president of the town board. He has also been treasurer of the city and trustee, and he is a well known and representative resident of this thriving place. Perhaps no man is better known in the county than he, because of his great activity in business. By. his strength of character and mental power he has acquired a handsome competence and by his genial social manner has won many warm friends.
Colonel Walsh was married in Ontario, Canada, to Miss Hanna Curtain, who died in 1871. They became the parents of eight children, but all have passed away.
Many and eventful have been the experiences which have come to Mr. Walsh in the course of his active business career. While executing his contract in connection with the building of the Union Pacific Railroad he at one time became engaged in battle with the Indians on Rock Creek, Wyoming, and sustained a gunshot wound in the instep, which forced him to go upon crutches for two years. He is now living a retired life in East Chicago. To him there has come the attainment of a distinguished position in connection with the great material industries of the country, especially in the line of railroad construction - a work the value of which cannot be over-estimated. He is a man of distinct and forceful individuality, of broad mentality and mature judgment, and he has left an impress for good upon the industrial world. He earned for himself an enviable reputation as a careful man of business and in his dealings became known for his prompt and honorable methods, which win for him the deserved and unbounded confidence, of his fellow men. For the entire length of his life he has been in sympathy with the independence of Ireland and has always taken an active part in all movements tending toward lessening the oppressed sons of Erin.
Michael Kozacik is a self-made man who is now the possessor of valuable property interests and who at the outset of his business career was empty-handed. He had no inheritance or influential friends to aid him, but by determined purpose and perseverance he has gradually accumulated a handsome competence. He is now engaged in business as a retail liquor dealer at Whiting. A native of Austria, he was born on the 29th of September, 1873, and was reared in his native country until more than eighteen years of age, during which period he acquired his education in attendance at the public schools. He entered upon his business career as a day laborer in Austria, receiving but twenty-five cents per day. Not content with business conditions, however, in that country, he resolved to test the favorable reports which he had heard concerning opportunities in the new world, and making arrangements to leave Europe when about eighteen years of age he sailed for America and came from the Atlantic coast to the Mississippi valley, establishing his home at Blue Island, Illinois. There he remained for but two months, but not succeeding in finding work there he removed to Whiting and entered the employ of the Knickerbocker Ice Company. His position necessitated his working ten hours per day at a salary of one dollar and a quarter. Strong resolution and untiring purpose, however, were numbered among his salient characteristics, and he continued to work through the ice-cutting period. He afterward entered the employ of the Standard Oil Company at a salary of one dollar and a half per day, and continued in the service of that corporation for seven and a half years. He was fireman and did various other kinds of work, and during the period of his service with the company, he managed to save from his earnings the sum of thirteen hundred dollars. In the meantime he had also married and furnished his home. With the capital he had acquired through his labor and economy he invested his money in Whiting property and also established a small saloon in a little frame building, where he conducted a retail liquor business for a few years. During that period he erected a building at Indiana Harbor at a cost of six thousand dollars, but becoming convinced of the fact that Indiana Harbor was not a desirable place he sold his property there, and erected the building in Whiting that he now occupies, at a cost of ten thousand dollars.
Although Mr. Kozacik had but six dollars when he landed in the United States he is to-day in good circumstances. He is a liberal man, who has given generous assistance to the poor, and he is a public-spirited citizen, who takes a deep and active interest in general progress and in the material development of Whiting. The hope that led him to leave his native country has been more than realized for in the new world he has won prosperity, gained a comfortable home and has also found many friends. In politics, he is a strong Democrat and always does all in his power for the interests of that party, and, May 3rd, 1904, he was elected to represent the first ward in the Whiting city council.
To the union of Mr. Kozacik and wife have been born four sons, viz: Michael, Peter, John and Paul.
ELI M. BOYD.
Eli M. Boyd, prominent farmer of Ross township, is one of the very oldest living settlers of Lake county, where he and his well known twin brother located over fifty-five years ago, when the country was largely wild and much of it still belonging to the government. Their subsequent career is a part of the agricultural history of the county, for in time they became and still are ranked among the largest farmers of the county. Furthermore, they are men of eminent public spirit, interested in the welfare of the county, and their efforts and influence have been felt in. diverse ways for the benefit and unbuilding of industrial and social institutions.
Mr. E. M. Boyd was born in Lucus county, Ohio, September 10, 1837, so that he is now near the limit of threescore and ten. His father, Alexander Boyd, a native of Pennsylvania, died when Eli was seven years old, and little is known of his history. He married Elizabeth Kelley, a native of Westmoreland county, Pennsylvania, and she lived to be seventy-six years old and was married a second time. They had three children, a daughter and the twin sons, Eli M. and Levi, who are the principal characters with whom this sketch is concerned.
Mr. Boyd and his brother made their own way from an early age, although they lived with their mother and step-father for some time. They came out to Michigan and thence settled in Lake county, Indiana, in 1848, working on their step-father's farm about nine months of the year and at-tending school for three months. They were industrious and frugal and enterprising in their habits and methods of management, and were not long in getting started in the world. Farming has always been the work in which they have found the best field for their endeavor, and they are now the owners of six hundred acres of land in Ross and Hobart townships, containing some of as good soil as is to be found in the county. Mr. E. M. Boyd is a member of the advisory board.
Mr. E. M. Boyd was married, January 6, 1874, to Miss Agnes Hyde, and five children were born to them: George, who is married and lives on one of his father's farms: Alexander, single; Warren, who is married and follows farming; Charles, at home; Alice, aged fifteen, at home. Warren was a student at Valparaiso normal. Alice is in the eighth grade in the public school and has taken musical instructions. Mrs. Boyd was born on Wabash avenue, Chicago, September 8, 1850, a daughter of Michael and Mary (Mclntoller) Hyde. Her parents are dead. There are six sisters living at present, of her family. She was educated in the common schools.
The Boyd brothers are ardent supporters of the Republican party, and have always advocated strongly the principles of the platform. The first presidential vote they cast was for Lincoln, and they cast their votes for Grant, Garfield, Blaine and McKinley. Mr. Eli Boyd has yet in his possession a vest made in the year 1856, the year that General Fremont was the first nominee of the Republican party. The Boyd brothers and wives are attendants of the Methodist Episcopal church, and give to the benevolences, and all needy are well remembered.
Mr. and Mrs. Boyd are among the leading people of Ross township, and we are pleased to present this sketch.
H. L. IDDINGS.
Dr. H. L. Iddings, of Merrillville, Ross township, has been the leading medical practitioner of this town for the past twenty years. He had already attained to considerable prominence in his profession before locating here, and since then he has not only found in Merrillville and the surrounding country a large field for his life work, but has also taken an active part in various matters pertaining to the general welfare of the community, filling in all respects the niche of a broad-minded, public-spirited and enterprising citizen.
Dr. Iddings was born in Kendallville, Noble county, Indiana, January 22, 1852, being the eldest of the seven children, four of whom are now deceased, born to Warren and Hester (Newman) Iddings. Warren Iddings was a son of Henry Iddings, a native of Pennsylvania and of Scotch and Welsh descent. He was born in Summit county, Ohio, where he remained till he was eleven years old, and during the rest of his life followed agricultural pursuits mainly in Noble county, Indiana, where his death occurred in his seventy-ninth year. His wife was also a native of Ohio, and of Irish and German descent.
Dr. Iddings was a student in the high school at Kendallville, Indiana, spent one year in the Fort Wayne Methodist Episcopal College and one year at Ann Arbor in the State University. He gained his early training mostly by his own efforts, and before taking up the study of medicine taught school for three years. He read medicine with Dr. Gunder Erickson at Kendallville, and in 1876 graduated from the Detroit College of Medicine, at Detroit. For four years he was located in practice at Swan, Noble county, Indiana, and was then appointed to the office of physician to the state penitentiary at Michigan City, discharging the duties of that position for two years. He came to Merrillville in 1883, and has been in constant and successful practice here ever since. He is examining surgeon for the New York Life Insurance Company, the Equitable Life Insurance Company, and is district examiner for the Catholic Order of Foresters.
Dr. Iddings affiliates with the Knights of Pythias at Crown Point. He is a strong Republican in politics, and on the ticket of that party was elected to the trusteeship of Ross township, which office he held for seven years and a half.
Dr. Iddings married, in 1878, Miss Mary E. Clark, the fourth in number of the seven children of Jonathan and Polly (Skinner) Clark. She was born in Noble county, Indiana. There are six children of this marriage: John, who is a student in the medical department of Northwestern University at Chicago: Harold and Harry, twins: Morris, Eva and Fred.
JOSEPH A. BEATTIE.
Joseph A. Beattie, who resides on section 34. Center township, and is filling the position of township trustee, was born in Winfield township. Lake county, Indiana, July 5, 1862. His father was William Beattie, a native of Ireland., in which country he was reared and married. His wife bore the maiden name of Rebecca Ross and was also a native of the Emerald Isle. Crossing the Atlantic, they became residents of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and thence removed to Lake county, Indiana, locating in Winfield township, where Mr. William Beattie carried on agricultural pursuits throughout his remaining days. He passed away April 9, 1899, and his wife also died in Lake county, the date of her death being June 1, 1899. In their family were nine children, three sons and six daughters, of whom three died in infancy, while six reached years of maturity and four are now living.
Joseph A. Beattie, the eighth member of the family and the only surviving son, was reared on the old family homestead and is indebted to the district schools for the early educational privileges he enjoyed. He afterward attended the high school at Crown Point, and when not engaged with the duties of the schoolroom he gave his father the benefit of his services by assisting in the cultivation and improvement of the home farm. He remained under the parental roof until his marriage, which important event in his life occurred on the 27th of November, 1890, the lady of his choice being Miss Gertrude C. Holton, a daughter of Charles V. and Margaret Jane (Cochran) Holton, who were early settlers of Lake county. Mrs. Beattie was born in this county and was here reared and educated. At the time of his marriage Mr. Beattie became a resident of Crown Point, but in 1891 he took charge of the Willowdale stock farm, comprising four hundred and twenty acres. He has since remained as its superintendent, filling the position for twelve years in a most acceptable manner. This is the property of William J. Davis, of Chicago. In 1892, in connection with Mr. Davis, Mr. Beattie purchased three hundred acres of land on section 18, Center township, and this farm is also conducted by Mr. Beattie, it being devoted to pasturage and to the raising of hay for the stock. He handles about one hundred and fifty head of cattle and horses and feeds all of the grain raised. There is a fine creamery upon the place and the cream is shipped principally td the Wellington and the Stratford hotels and the Chicago & Alton Railway for use on dining cars. Mr. Beattie is recognized as a most enterprising and progressive business man, conducting his farming interests along modern lines, and his capable direction of his business affairs and untiring energy have brought to him a creditable and gratifying measure of success.
In his political views Mr. Beattie is a stanch Republican, and in 1900 he was elected upon that ticket to the position of township trustee of Center township for a term of four years, receiving a majority of more than two hundred, and received sixty-six more votes in the township than were cast for the presidential ticket, a fact which indicates his personal popularity among the people with whom he has been acquainted from early boyhood. He has been the president of the Lake County Agricultural Society for six years and was re-elected in 1903. His efforts as the head of this organization have been effective in promoting the welfare of the farming class of this county. He has taken an active part in all public measures contributing to the general good, and is a most progressive and enterprising citizen. Fraternally he is connected with the Independent Order of Foresters. He has never lived outside the borders of Lake county, his interests centering here, and among the residents of this portion of the state he has many warm friends. He is one of the leading and popular men of Lake county.
WILLIAM E. WARWICK.
Hon. William E. Warwick, who for a number of years has been one of the forceful and honored factors in public life and business circles in Whiting, has attained to prominence through force of his character, the exercise of his talent and the utilization of opportunities. By education and training he was well qualified for the important position which he is now filling, that of first assistant superintendent for the Standard Oil Company, at Whiting, where is located the largest plant of the kind in the world. He is also the vice-president of the First National Bank of Whiting, and his business career has won the respect of his contemporaries and excited their warm admiration. It is not this alone, however, that entitles him to rank as one of the foremost men of his city, for his connection with its public interests has been far-reaching and beneficial. He has aided in shaping the municipal policy, and his patriotic citizenship has taken tangible form in his zealous labors for the improvements instituted through aldermanic measures. He is now the mayor of Whiting, and as its chief executive is giving an administration characterized by a business-like spirit and by substantial upbuilding and progress.
Mr. Warwick was born in Oshkosh, Wisconsin, on the 13th of January, 1862. His father, William P. Warwick, was born in Dahlonega, Georgia, but was partially reared in New York city. He became a lumberman of Wisconsin, where he has resided for many years, still making his home in that state. He wedded Miss Mary Palmer, a native of Waukegan, Illinois, but her death occurred when she was thirty-five years of age. In the family were two daughters, but one is now deceased.
Hon. William E. Warwick, the only son, was reared in the place of his nativity until seventeen years of age, and from the age of six years he attended the public schools, thus acquiring a good practical education. On leaving Wisconsin he went to Bedford, Iowa, where he lived two years with an uncle, who was engaged in farming there. Then he began teaching in the country schools of Iowa, and in the meantime he had begun preparation for college, wishing to gain a more advanced education, the value of which he realized. He attended the Iowa State Agricultural College, and during the periods of vacation engaged in teaching school in order to meet the expenses of his college course. He was graduated in 1888, and the following year he came to Whiting, where he accepted the position of mechanical draftsman for the Standard Oil Company, acting in that capacity for about two years. He was then made assistant master mechanic, and thus served until the 1st of December, 1893, when he was transferred to the paraffine department as its superintendent. For almost ten years he acted in that capacity, and in November, 1903, he was made first assistant superintendent of the works, which position he is now filling. This plant is the largest in the world of its kind, two thousand men being- employed, and the position of Mr. Warwick is therefore a most important and responsible one. He is yet a comparatively young man, his thorough practical training, his close application and his sound business judgment well qualify him for the onerous duties that devolve upon him. He is likewise the vice-president of the First National Bank of Whiting.
In October, 1902, Mr. Warwick was united in marriage to Miss Ella Fredenberg. They have a pleasant home in Wheeling which is noted for its gracious and warm-hearted hospitality. Fraternally he is a Mason, having taken the three degrees of the blue lodge. In his political views Mr. Warwick is a gold Democrat, and after the incorporation of Whiting as a city in 1903 he was elected its first mayor and is still its chief executive. He came to Whiting when the town was being laid out by the Standard Oil Company, which built its extensive works here, and with the growth and progress of the place he has since been identified, doing all in his power for its substantial improvement and upbuilding. He is a public-spirited citizen, has wrought along modern lines of progress, both in his business and his public life, and in Whiting he commands the respect and confidence of the great majority of those with whom he has come in contact.
CYRUS E. SMITH.
Cyrus E. Smith, a prominent farmer on section 18, Ross township, and ex-county commissioner, has been identified with the various interests of Lake county for over forty years, and is a representative citizen in every sense of the word. He has found in farming a profitable and pleasant vocation, which at the age of sixty-five has surrounded him with comfortable circumstances for approaching old age, and his interest and work for the public welfare and his high personal integrity and character have gained him the esteem and well thinking of his fellow citizens and business associates throughout the county.
Mr. Smith was born September 29, 1839, in Springfield township, Erie county, Pennsylvania, on the farm which his grandfather settled in 1801. and on which his father, Amos Smith, was also born and reared. His father followed farming, and dies at a young age, in 1852. He married Harriet Ellis, a native of Massachusetts, and who died in 1858, leaving four children, one daughter and three sons.
Mr. Smith, the eldest of the children, was reared and educated in his native place, growing up on the old homestead farm. He continued farming in Pennsylvania for two years after his marriage, and in 1863 came out to Lake county and located on the farm which he has ever since cultivated and owned. He placed countless improvements on the place during the subsequent years, and his farm of one hundred and sixty-five acres will now compare favorably with any in the township. He carries on a general farming, stock-raising and dairy business, and has made his operations pay steady profits. For about eight years he taught school during the winter seasons in Ross township.
Mr. Smith was married in Erie county, Pennsylvania, October 6, 1861, to Miss Ellen Harper, a native of Ashtabula county, Ohio, and a daughter of Benjamin and Ruth (Underwood) Harper. The son born of this marriage is deceased, and they have an adopted daughter, Pearl. Mr. Smith, as a stanch Republican, first voted for Lincoln, and has taken an active part in public affairs. He was elected county commissioner in 1884 and held that important county orifice from 1885 t0 1891. He was also appointed trustee of Ross township to fill out a vacancy.
ARTHUR T. COX.
Arthur T. Cox, treasurer and manager of the Wisconsin Lumber and Coal Company, at East Chicago, is an enterprising young man who in his active career has followed modern business methods and wrought along lines which have resulted in gaining for him a very desirable position in the business world, one that brings to him a good financial return.
He was born near Westfield in Hamilton county. Indiana, December 9, 1863, and is the oldest of four living children of Stephen and Julia A. (Rich) Cox. In the family, however, were seven children, four sons and three daughters. The family was established in the south at an early day, and the grandfather, Hugh Cox, was a native of North Carolina, where he always made his home, passing away in that state when in middle life. Through his business career he followed the occupations of farming and milling. His wife, Mrs. Rebecca Cox, has also been called to her final rest. They were the parents of two sons and four daughters. They held membership in the Friends church, and their lives were in harmony with their religious faith.
Stephen Cox, father of Mr. Cox, was born in North Carolina, was reared to the occupation of farming and followed that pursuit throughout his active business career. He came to Indiana in the spring of 1861 and settled near Westfield, where he continued to engage in the tilling of the soil until 1901. In that year he retired from business life and is now enjoying a well-earned rest in Westfield. He married Miss Julia A. Rich, who was born in Indiana and was a daughter of Peter Rich, also a native of this state. Her father was a farmer by occupation, and lived at Westfield, where he died at a ripe old age. He was very prominent and influential in his community, and various local positions were conferred upon him. His wife, who bore the maiden name of Amy Jessup, also died at an advanced age. In their family were a son and three daughters. Mr. Rich was a most earnest and untiring worker in the Friends church, and he and his wife were recognized as leaders in the congregation of their home locality. Both Mr. and Mrs. Stephen Cox were also ardent workers in the Friends church, likewise took an active interest in the temperance cause and did all in their power to promote temperance legislation. In the year 1899 Stephen Cox was called upon to mourn the loss of his wife, who died in the month of July when about sixty years of age. Of their family of four sons and three daughters, those now living are Arthur T.; Erwin, who makes his home near Westfield, Indiana; Nietha, the wife of E. L. Fpulke, of Kansas City, Missouri: and Elsie, who is the wife of Charles Baldwin, of Westfield.
In retrospect one can see Arthur T. Cox as a farm boy, working in the fields as he assisted his father in the cultivation of the crops, or attending the district schools. After he had largely mastered the branches of study taught in the local school he entered the Union high school, and subsequently pursued a collegiate course and was graduated on the completion of the scientific course in Earlham College, at Richmond, Indiana, with the class of 1890, at which time the Bachelor of Science degree was conferred upon him. The following year he entered upon his business career in. connection with the lumber trade. He was employed first in his home town and afterwards in the county seat at Noblesville, Indiana, where he remained for two years. On the expiration of that period he entered the employ of the Nordyke and Marmon Company, of Indianapolis, being in their office for a few months. Later he was sent out by the firm as collector to different towns in Indiana. A year later he entered the employ of the Paxton Lumber Company of Hammond, in 1894, and was located there until 1897, when he went to Rensselaer, where he continued for about a year. He next secured a position in Morocco, Indiana, and afterwards went to Lowell, where he accepted the management of the Wilbur Lumber Company, of Milwaukee, filling that position in a manner entirely satisfactory to the company for three years. He was next offered and accepted the position with the Greer-Wilkinson Company at Russellville, Indiana, and in February, 1903, he came to East Chicago to act as manager of the lumber yards of the same company at this place. In February, 1904, the Greer-Wilkinson Lumber Company sold its interests in East Chicago to the Wisconsin Lumber and Coal Company, of which concern Mr. Cox became treasurer and manager and one of the stockholders and has continued in these relationships up to the present time. In 1904 the company erected a two-story lumber warehouse, sixty by one hundred and fifty feet, in which is carried an extensive and varied line of building materials, and the establishment is one of the flourishing business enterprises of East Chicago.
June 20, 1901, occurred the marriage of Mr. Cox and Miss Laura LuElla Fuller. Mr. Cox is a member of the Society of Friends, while his wife is identified through membership relations with the Methodist Episcopal church. Fraternally he is connected with Colfax Lodge No. 378, F. & A. M., at Lowell, Indiana, and belongs to Renssalaer Lodge No. 82, Knights of Pythias. His political endorsement is given to the Republican party, but the honors and emoluments of office have had no attraction for him, as he has preferred to give his time and attention to his business interests and to the enjoyment of home life. The Cox household is noted for its hospitality which is generous and cordial, and both Mr. and Mrs. Cox have won many friends during their residence in East Chicago.
GEORGE F. GERLACH.
George F. Gerlach, the prominent and well-known merchant of St. John, Lake county, is a self-made and successful business man. He began life for himself at an early age, finding in school teaching the first stepping stone of progress, and at the same time acquainted himself with the details of mercantile affairs. He is and has been for some years an important factor in business circles of St. John township, and is always found identified with the side of progress and general advancement in material, social and educational movements.
Mr. Gerlach was born in Bavaria, Germany, January 24, 1841. His father, Michael Gerlach, was a native of the same country, and in 1846 emigrated with his family to America. He settled at Harper's Ferry, West Virginia, where he followed his trade of carpenter for about eleven years. In 1857 he emigrated further west, locating in St. John township, Lake county, Indiana, where he turned his attention to farming pursuits. He bought eighty acres of land, improved it, and for the remainder of his life made farming a successful enterprise. He died at the age of seventy-four years. His wife was Agnes Catherine Wartheim, a native of Germany, and who also attained the age of seventy-four years. They were highly respected in Lake county, and are to be counted among the early settlers who opened up and developed the farming regions. They were the parents of seven children, one of whom died young, but the others, four sons and two daughters, are still living.
Mr. George F. Gerlach, the eldest of the family, was about five years old when he crossed the ocean to America, and about sixteen when the family came to Lake county. He began his education in Virginia, and later attended the St. Vincent's College in Westmoreland county, Pennsylvania. After coming to Lake county he began his independent career by teaching school, beginning at the age of seventeen and continuing the profession for about three months of the year during the following ten years, in St. John and Hanover townships. What time he was not teaching he employed by acting as clerk in the store of Henry and F. P. Keilmann, at St. John. In 1867 he married and in the same year began business in partnership with Mr. F. P. Keilmann. They carried on a general merchandise business until 1885, when the partnership was dissolved, and since then Mr. Gerlach has been conducting his store alone and at his present location. He has a long established and prosperous business, carrying a stock valued at about sixteen thousand dollars, and is recognized as one of the foremost business men of the county. He also buys and ships grain and live-stock. This position in the world of affairs is the more creditable when it is remembered that Mr. Gerlach commenced his career with nothing except his own ambition and industrious habits.
He has also performed his part in public affairs. He has been a Democrat since the casting of his first vote, but maintains an independent attitude in local affairs, voting for the best man. He has been a justice of the peace, and is now a notary public. He is also interested in the agricultural development of Lake county, for he owns about nine hundred acres of land in different parts of the county.
Mr. Gerlach married, in 1867, Miss Margaret Keilmann, and they are the parents of nine children: Katie, wife of Peter Schmidt; Frank, in his father's store; Joseph M., also in the store; Maggie, wife of John Stoltz, who is employed in Mr. Gerlach's store; Lizzie, wife of Michael Weis, of Ross township; George and Charles, who are in their father's store; and Lena and Clara, who are still in school. The children were all born in St. John township, Lake county.
WILLIAM J. GLOVER.
William J. Glover has almost completed his second term as recorder of Lake county, and during an eight years' incumbency of that office has set a standard of efficiency and administrative ability which is a matter for pride to himself and for profit and good to the county. Like most of the worthy citizens of Lake county, Mr. Glover has spent his years in labor providing for the material wants of himself and family, and is therefore a popular man in the true sense of that word. He first became known to Lake county as an employee of the iron mills of East Chicago, and for the past fifteen or more years has been an upright, public-spirited and hard-working citizen, always steadily progressing toward a higher goal of endeavor. As a public official in various places of trust he has shown himself worthy of honor and confidence and an excellent depository of the county's administrative affairs.
Mr. Glover is a Pennsylvanian by birth and rearing. He was born at Bolivar, January 26, 1856, and is of Scotch lineage in only the third generation from the original American progenitor. His paternal grandfather, James Glover, was born in the city of Edinburg, Scotland, and came to the United States something over seventy years ago. He settled in Maryland, and died at Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, at ninety-two years of age. Robert Glover, the father of the Lake county recorder, was born in Maryland, and is now seventy-one years old, residing in Pittsburg, Pennsylvania. He has been a stationary engineer nearly all his life. His wife is also living at the age of sixty-seven, and her maiden name was Clara Corsin.
Mr. William J. Glover was taken to Pittsburg in childhood, and was educated there in the public schools. He found employment at different lines of work before he entered the iron mills, and for some twenty-two years he was employed in the iron mills in Pittsburg and in East Chicago. He came to Chicago, Illinois, in 1882, and in 1888 settled at East Chicago. The latter was a mere town at that time, and he was one of the first settlers. In addition to his daily work he became identified with the public life of the place, and before long was taking an active part in Republican politics. He was elected and served one term as treasurer of East Chicago, and was elected to the city council for two terms. While serving in the latter position he was elected, in 1896, to the office of recorder of Lake county, and then severed his connection with affairs in East Chicago and moved to Crown Point, where he has since made his home. He was chosen for a second term as recorder in 1900, so that he has served nearly eight years. He has always been a Republican, and is a man of popular and genial manners, just such a one as the people of a community pick out as a representative citizen and choose for their various administrative offices.
Mr. Glover has affiliations with the Masons, the Elks, the Foresters, the Maccabees, and the Amalgamated Association of Iron, Steel and Tin Workers. He was married in June, 1881, to Miss Elizabeth Owens, of Pittsburg, Pennsylvania. They have five children: Robert S., Edward C, Florence M., William J. Jr., and Helen.
WILLIAM HENRY WOOD.
William Henry Wood, general merchant at Deep River, has been the leader in the business affairs of this community for many years. In fact, the Wood family, grandfather, father and sons, have been closely identified with industrial and commercial interests of Ross township as long as any other family still existing in the county, and they have kept fully abreast of the tide of progress and development which has advanced Lake county from a wilderness to one of the richest and most prosperous counties of the state.
The pioneer of the family was John Wood, grandfather of the above named, who came out from the east to Lake county, Indiana, before the official separation and organization of the counties of Porter and Lake. He was a miller by occupation, and by building and operating the old grist and saw mill at Deep River supplied the early settlers with commodities absolutely essential to civilization and modest comfort. His mill was one of the first in the county, and he carried on his business here for many years. He was of English and Scotch descent.
George Wood, the father of William H. Wood, was born in Massachusetts, and in boyhood came out to Lake county with his parents, being reared, educated and married in this county. He engaged in general merchandising and milling at Deep River during most of his active career, and was a prominent and influential man in the surrounding country. He was a member of the Unitarian church at Hobart. His death occurred when he was fifty-nine years old. He married Mary J. Digerd, who was born in Buffalo, New York, of Irish descent, and is still living. They were the parents of six children, four of whom reached adult age.
William Henry Wood, the fourth child and third son of this family, was born in Deep River, Lake county, July 2, 1865, and was reared and has spent all his life at this place. After attending the common schools he entered the business department of the Northern Indiana Normal School at Valparaiso, where he was graduated in two years, and then returned to Deep River. He was with his father in the creamery business for two years, and then he and his brother Eugene bought out their father and carried on the general store and creamery in partnership for six years. Mr. Wood then bought out his brother, and has been very successfully conducting the mercantile business ever since. He is also vice-president of the Ohio Standard Oil Company, at Amsterdam, Ohio, and has various other business interests.
As a life-long Republican he has taken much interest in public affairs. He is now candidate for township trustee, and was at one time on the advisory board. He has been the postmaster of Deep River for the past ten years, the office being located in his store. He is a Mason affiliating with Hobart Lodge No. 357. He is well known in business and social circles, and his store is up to date and a large one for a place the size of Deep River. He carries about four thousand dollars' stock, and has a large trade from all the surrounding country. Mr. Wood married, in 1894, Miss Martha Battia, of Middle Falls, New York. They have two children, Olive and Raymond.
HENRY C. BATTERMAN.
Henry C. Batterman, prominent in the industrial, mercantile and financial affairs of Dyer, St. John township, began his career at this place some thirty years ago, with his trade and his character as his principal capital, and during the intervening period has come to be one of the most influential business men of this part of Lake county. He has been prominently identified with nearly all the affairs of Dyer, whether of a business, social or political or whatsoever nature, and is an all-round worthy citizen whom all esteem and hold in highest regard.
Mr. Batterman is a brother of Edward Batterman, the well known business man of Hobart, and in whose personal history on other pages of this work will be found the parental and ancestral records. Mr. H. C. Batter-man was born in Will county, Illinois, October 10, 1855, and was reared and educated there. He learned the harness-making business, and at the age of twenty, in 1875, came to Lake county, where he continued to work at his trade, following it altogether for twenty-two years. He prospered from the first, and has been on the up-grade ever since he started out on his own hook. In 1894 he established a livery business in Dyer, and has carried it on very successfully to the present time. In 1900 he opened his machine and blacksmith shops and agricultural implement house, and in these lines does a large and steadily increasing business. He took a leading part at the organization of the First National Bank at Dyer, and is a director and the vice-president of that substantial financial institution. He also owns stock in the creamery at Dyer, and is secretary and treasurer of the Horse Breeders' Association at Dyer. He has had an annual trade in his implement and shops enterprise amounting to over ten thousand dollars, and his business push and energy are continually increasing his hold on the commercial and industrial affairs of the county. In public matters and political questions he has always adhered to the principles and policies of the Republican party. He has served as superintendent of roads and was on the township advisory board. He has also been active in religious affairs, and is an official member of the Dyer Union church.
Mr. Batterman has been married three times. His first wife was Mary Richart, by whom he had one son, Joe B. The second marriage was with Maggie Young, and his present wife was Miss Helen Richart. a sister of his first wife. They have two living children, Carrie and Johanna. Fraternally he is a member of the Order of the Foresters of America. Council No. 16, at Dyer, and he was a member of the High Order of Foresters.
JAMES A. PATTERSON.
James A. Patterson, an attorney at law engaged in practice in Indiana Harbor since the summer of 1902, was born in Sharon, Pennsylvania, on the 31st of August, 1867, and is one of a family of eight children, four sons and four daughters, whose parents are William and Mary (McAlpin) Patterson. His paternal grandfather, William Patterson, Sr., was born in Scotland, belonging to one of the old families of that country. Emigrating to America, he spent his last days in Canada, where he died at the very advanced age of ninety-two years. He had long devoted his energies to agricultural pursuits and in that way had provided for his family, numbering his wife and four or five children.
William Patterson, Jr., was born in Catron, Scotland, and after arriving at years of maturity he married Miss Mary McAlpin, a native of Kilmarnock, Ayrshire. She belonged to a family numbering several daughters and her father died in Scotland when he had attained a venerable age. William Patterson followed mining during much of his life. When a young man he left Scotland and went to Australia, where he was engaged in mining gold.
He afterward emigrated to Canada, locating in a pioneer district, and there he carried on farming for three or four years, at the end of which time he went to Pennsylvania. On leaving that state about 1876 he journeyed westward to Illinois, settling at Coal City, where he engaged in mining coal, but his last years were spent in the Indian Territory, where he died in 1885, at the age of fifty-eight years. His wife still survives him and is now seventy-six years of age. Like her husband she is a member of the Presbyterian church, and through many years has shaped her life by its teachings and precepts. To this worthy couple were born four sons and four daughters, and six are yet living: Margaret, who is the wife of D. W. Frye, of Coal City, Illinois; Helen, the wife of David H. Wilson, also a resident of Coal City; William M., who is living in St. Louis, Missouri; Robert J., a resident of Moberly, Missouri; James A.; and Elizabeth, the wife of Cornelius Clark, of Coal City, Illinois.
James A. Patterson was a lad of about nine years when with his parents he removed to Coal City, Illinois, where the days of his youth were passed and his early education was acquired. He afterward pursued a business course in a commercial college at Leavemvorth, Kansas, and later he occupied a position as bookkeeper for four or five years. He then went to Valparaiso College and was graduated from the scientific and literary departments, so that he gained a broad general knowledge to serve as an excellent foundation upon which to rear the superstructure of professional learning. Following the completion of his normal work at Valparaiso, he took up the study of law in the Chicago Law School of Chicago, from which he was graduated in 1898, and the same year was admitted to the bar. He has since engaged in practice, covering a period of six years, and on the 1st of April, 1902, he opened an office in Indiana Harbor, where he has since been located. His clientage is continually growing and has connected him with much of the important litigation tried here. He is thorough and painstaking in the preparation of a case, clear and concise in argument, cogent and logical in his reasoning, and has attained a creditable position among the younger members of the Lake county bar.
On the 24th of June, 1898, occurred the marriage of Mr. Patterson and Miss May A. Wiles, a daughter of Truman B. and Abigail E. Wiles. Abigail E. Wiles died June 17, 1904, at Mabel, Minnesota. They reside at 3729 Grapevine street, where Mr. Patterson erected a good home in the summer of 1903. Politically he is a Republican. He belongs to the Knights of Pythias and Modern Woodmen fraternities, and his wife is connected with the ladies' auxiliaries of both. She, too, is a graduate of Valparaiso College, and they both occupy an enviable position in the social circles where culture and intelligence predominate.
Gottlieb Muenich deserves to be numbered among the old settlers of the city of Hammond, for he has resided here for twenty-five years, which time covers almost the entire period of the city's growth and development to its present thriving proportions. At the age of nearly eighty years, he is also one of the patriarchs of the city, and his character and person are venerable and respected in the eyes of all citizens of Hammond, who esteem him both for his length of years and also for the useful part he has taken in the affairs of city, county, state and nation since becoming a naturalized citizen upwards of fifty years ago.
He was born in the province of Brandenburg, Germany, in 1825, and is now the only surviving one of the four children, one son and three daughters, born to Christian and Christiana (Hartneck) Muenich, the former of whom was a German farmer and died in the fatherland about 1863, followed a short time after by his wife. They were both Lutherans. The paternal grandfather of Mr. Muenich died in Germany when close to sixty-eight years old, and the maternal grandfather was a farmer and died in Germany.
Gottlieb Muenich was reared in Germany and received a good education in the common schools. He took up life's duties by learning the weaver's trade. He was a soldier in the royal armies for five years, being a sergeant, and also for several years was overseer and guard of a large estate. He was married before leaving the old country, which important move of his life he made in 1857. For the first year he lived in Chicago, and then went to Kessville, Indiana, where he bought a small farm and devoted himself to agricultural pursuits for twenty-one years. In 1879 he left the farm to take up his residence in Hammond, which was then in its stages of beginning and progress toward a prosperous city. He has lived here ever since. He first built a large frame house on South Hohman street, adjoining his present residence, and after living there several years sold it to his son Gustav. In 1897 he built his present substantial brick residence at 216 South Hohman street.
Mr. Muenich is a veteran of the Civil war in this country, having enlisted in 1862 in Company I, Seventy-second Illinois Infantry, and served about a year, after which he returned to his home at Hessville. Mr. and Mrs. Muenich are both members of the Lutheran church, and in politics he has always adhered to Republican principles and policies.
August 8, 1853, Mr. Muenich was married to Miss Anna Natke, a daughter of Christian and Maria (Wannock) Natke. Both her paternal and her maternal grandfathers died so long ago that no knowledge of their history is obtainable, but the name of the former's wife was Maria ("Rockhill) Natke, and that of the latter's Katharina Wannock. Mrs. Muenich's father was a farmer, and in 1857 he emigrated with his wife and family from Germany to America, and after a short residence in Chicago located at Hessville, where he remained till his death, in 1887, at the age of eighty-one. His wife died in 1877, aged seventy-four. They had three children: Anna, the wife of Mr. Muenich; Elizabeth, wife of Joseph Hess; and Martin Natke.
Four sons and one daughter were born to Mr. and Mrs. Muenich: Carl Gustav is a contractor in Hammond; he married Miss Maria Bellof, and they have one daughter, Etta. Gustav Adolph Muenich died at the age of five and a half years. Rudolph is a paperhanger; he married Alvina Zachholz, and their three children are George, Ida Anna Alvina and Bertha. Maria married Henry Huehn, now deceased, and they had five children, Emma, William, Henry, Myrtle and Arthur. Edward Muenich follows the trade of carpenter; by his wife, Alice Benedict, he has five children, Rebecca, Elmer, Lola, Roy and Arthur.
HENRY L. KEILMAN.
Henry L. Keilman, president of the First National Bank of Dyer and a prominent farmer of St. John township, has spent all his life in Lake county and is of the third generation of the well known family who located in this county sixty years ago. He has spent most of his active years in farming pursuits, which he has followed for over thirty years, and he has resided on his present fine farmstead for twenty-five years. Outside of his financial and agricultural interests he has concerned himself in a public-spirited manner with the administrative affairs of his county and township, and is everywhere known as a good citizen, a good neighbor and a man of unusual energy and business capacity.
Mr. Keilman was born in St. John township, September 22, 1856, being the eldest son of Leonard and Lena (Austgen) Keilman, who in childhood came from their native land of Germany. His father, who is still among the active and enterprising business men of St. John township, is written of elsewhere in this work, and various details of family history are to be found under the name Keilman in various portions of the history.
Mr. Keilman was reared in his native township, and was educated in the district school and then attended, in 1872, Pionono College, near Milwaukee, Wisconsin. On his return home he at once took up farming, and after his marriage, in 1879, located on the farm where he still resides. He owns three hundred acres, and does general farming, stock-raising and dairying. At the time of the organization of the First National Bank in Dyer, in 1903, he was elected its president, which office he still holds, and his direction of the bank's affairs has been most satisfactory to the stockholders and is resulting in giving the institution considerable prestige among the business interests of St. John township.
Mr. Keilman was elected, on the Democratic ticket, to the office of trustee of St. John township, in 1894, and he held that office for five years and three months. He and his family are members of the Catholic church, St. Joseph's church at Dyer.
In 1879 Mr. Keilman married Miss Maggie Schaefer, who is also a native of St. John township. They have eight children, all born on the old homestead farm in St. John township, as follows: William H., Frank L., Emma, Frances, Raymond, Leonard, Verna and Helen.
Dennis Palmer, old settler and man of affairs of Lake county, has been for many years a leading spirit in the commercial and industrial development of Lake county and particularly of that portion where the town of Palmer is situated, which was founded on his land and named as a lasting memorial to his life and services in behalf of the community. He was one of the influential residents who contributed of their own means and lent their vigorous efforts for railroad building in this county. Many enterprises of private business and public nature have engaged his attention during a long life of over seventy years, and his place in the county is one of honor, high esteem and most public-spirited and useful performance of his part in life.
Mr. Palmer was born in Lorain county, Ohio, August 21, 1830. His father, also named Dennis, was born in Massachusetts, whence he moved to New York state, and from there to Ohio, settling first in Lorain county, then in Crawford county, and about 1854 came to Lake county, Indiana, where he passed his declining years and died at the age of eighty-two years. His wife, Olive Terril, was a native of Connecticut, but was reared in the early times of Lorain county, Ohio, and died in that state at the age of eighty.
Mr. Palmer was the only son of his parents' five children. He was seven years old when he moved to Crawford county, Ohio, where he was reared. His education was acquired in one of the primitive old log-cabin schools. He remained in that county for two years after his marriage, and in 1854 moved to Mason county, Illinois, but after six months came to Lake county and took up his first residence in Winfield, Winfield township. He was there six years and then came to the place where he has ever since made his place of residence, for over forty years. During his more active career he engaged in various kinds of business, in the raising and shipping of stock, merchandising and farming. A town was laid out on his land in 1882 and named in his honor. At present he owns only one hundred and seventy acres in this vicinity, but once was possessor of six hundred. Much of the growth and prosperity of this region is due to his active efforts. He has one son, Richard, who is in the real estate business in Kansas City, Missouri. He owns lands in Kansas, but these are under the control of this son and his grandson.
Mr. Palmer started out in life without a dollar, and the story of his life is one of self-achievement, industry and capable business management. He therefore deserves the esteem which is accorded him in Lake county, and the weight of his opinions has in many ways been felt throughout the county. He has in the main retired from active pursuits, and confines most of his attention to lending money and dealing in securities. He has been a strong Republican since the organization of the party, and has served as township trustee one term, and was justice of the peace for twenty years. He was an old-line Whig and at the birth of the Republican party espoused its principles and voted for Fremont, then Lincoln, Garfield, Blaine and McKinley.
He helped in getting the lines of the Pennsylvania and the Erie railroads run through Crown Point, which resulted in much of the subsequent prosperity of that town as a commercial center. He was the first man to sign the right of way and give a mile of his own land to the Erie road, doing this with the understanding that the line should be constructed through Crown Point. He also assisted in taking up subscriptions for the Pennsylvania Railroad, signing his own name for one hundred dollars. Through many such enterprises he has made his influence felt for good in Lake county, and is one of the best known and truly successful men of the county.
Mr. Palmer was married, May 12, 1852, to Miss Mary Wilson, and of the two children, both sons, born to them, one is living, Richard, also mentioned above. Richard Palmer was born February 17, 1853, and was reared in this county, being educated in the common schools. He has been engaged in the stock, real estate and the banking lines of business, and for some time he resided in Minona county, Iowa, and carried on stock, banking and mercantile enterprises. He married, November 4, 1875, Miss Mary E. Fargo, by whom he had one son, Mark S. D., who was educated in the common schools and at the Valparaiso College, and is now postmaster at Eskridge, Kansas; at the time of receiving his official notice he was the youngest postmaster in the United States. This grandson of Mr. Palmer was married on August 1, 1899, to Miss May E. F. Parsonage, who was born in Wabaunsee county, Kansas, June 17, 1879, her parents being still living and fanners in Wabaunsee county, and she received a high school education and for some time was a teacher. The one daughter of this marriage. Lois Zoe, is thus a great-grandchild of Mr. and Mrs. Palmer, so that there are four generations alive at the present time. Mark S. D. Palmer is a Republican, having cast his first vote for McKinley, and fraternally he is associated with Tent No. 79, of the Maccabees, at Eskridge, and with the Ancient Order of United Workmen No. 165.
Mr. Richard Palmer's first wife died December 10, 1880, and by his second wife he has six children, as follows: John R.; Alice, who is in the high school; Maude, in school; Fayette, Lucile and Katie. On February 27, 1902, Mr. Richard Palmer married Mrs. Mary E. (Hatterly) Luth, who was born in Harrison county, Iowa, November 5, 1866, being a daughter of James and Hannah Hatterly. She was educated in the common schools, finishing at the Shenandoah high school, and she taught in Iowa for a year and a half. By her marriage to Henry Luth one son, Leslie E., was born, he being now fifteen years old and a student in the public schools of Kansas City, where his parents reside. Richard Palmer moved to Kansas City in June, 1903, and engaged in the real estate business. He is a Republican, having cast his first vote for Hayes, and he has always supported those principles. His wife is a member of the Christian church, and they are generous in regard to the benevolences.
Mrs. Dennis Palmer was born in Wyandotte county, Ohio, February 19, 1833, and was a daughter of Daniel and Sarah (Taylor) Wilson. She was one of thirteen children, and six are yet living. She was reared in her native state, and her first school was a log cabin, with a mud and stick chimney, with benches of slabs resting on four pins for legs, and the desk for the older scholars a long board resting on pins driven into the wall. She used the goosequill pen, usually fashioned out with the knife of the master, who, for a portion of her school days, was none other than her future husband,. Mr. Palmer. Much more might be related of those early pioneer days.
For half a century have Mr. and Mrs. Palmer traveled the journey of life together, sharing the joys and sorrows as they have followed one close on the other. And now at the eventide of life, when the sun of their careers is fast setting, they can look back over the past years as over a golden harvest field where the garnered sheaves of golden deeds lie before God and man as proofs of their noble characters and generous endeavors, so that all son, grandchildren and all who come after them - may rise up and call them blessed.
REV. H. PH. WILLE.
Rev. H. Ph. Wille has been pastor of the First Lutheran church of Whiting since 1891 and was the first minister regularly located here. During the years which have since come and gone he has succeeded in building up a strong religious organization and one which has had potent and far-reaching effect in the moral development and progress of this part of the state. Widely known and respected by all with whom he has come in contact, the life record of Rev. Wille cannot fail to prove of deep interest to many of our readers. He was born in Hamburg, Germany, on the 18th of December, 1843, when his parents were en route for America. His father.
Philip Wille, was a native of Prussia and was a farmer by occupation. He came to the United States in the spring of 1844, locating near Milwaukee Wisconsin, and he lived to enjoy the privileges and opportunities of the new world for forty years, passing away in 1884, when seventy-four years of age. His wife, who bore the maiden name of Charlotte Tews, was also a native of Prussia and is still living at the very advanced age of eighty-eight years. They became the parents of nineteen children, but only six reached adult age.
Rev. H. Ph. Wille is the only surviving son, and was but three months old when his parents arrived in America. He was educated in the public and parochial schools near Milwaukee, Wisconsin, and in Martin Luther College at Buffalo, New York. He also attended Concordia Seminary at St. Louis, Missouri, where he was graduated with the class of 1870 on the completion of a theological course which prepared him for the active work of the ministry. His first charge was at California, Missouri, where he remained for about four years. He then removed to Concordia, Missouri, where he acted as pastor of the Lutheran church for twelve years, and on the expiration of that period he accepted a call for the church at Geneseo, Illinois, where he continued his ministerial labors for five years. In 1891 he arrived in Whiting. It was then but a mere village and he became the first regular pastor in this place. He began here with a membership of only forty, but his labors have resulted in great and substantial growth in the church, which now has an enrolled membership of over three hundred. He is also interested in the building up of a congregation at Indiana Harbor. His active connection with the ministry covers thirty-four years, during which time he has not been denied the full harvest nor the aftermath. With conscientious zeal he has devoted his time and energies to his holy calling, and his pulpit addresses, his pastoral labors and his personal influence and example have been strong and forceful elements for the betterment of mankind and the upbuilding of the church in the various localities in which he has resided.
On the 1st of September, 1864. Rev. Wille was united in the holy bonds of matrimony to Miss Minnie Henning. who was born and reared in Buffalo, New York, and is a daughter of G. and Minnie (Voelker) Henning. They have become the parents of ten children, five sons and five daughters: Edward, a farmer now residing in Nebraska; Lillie, the wife of Paul A. Scholz, who follows farming near La Porte, Indiana; Herman C, who is proprietor of a grocery store in Chicago; Emma, who is engaged in dress-making in Whiting; Otto, who died at the age of thirty years; Clara, the wife of George Hornecker; Julius, who is engaged in the tinner's business in Whiting; Ella, the wife of William Glock, of Whiting; Rudolph, who is employed as a salesman in a grocery store in Chicago; and Mollie, at home. The family is Avell known in Whiting, where they have resided for twelve years, and the hospitality of the best homes is very cordially extended to them. Mr. Wille commands the respect of people of all denominations, and while he is firm in his advocacy of what he believes to be right he is also charitable in his opinions and of kindly, generous spirit.
A. MURRAY TURNER.
A. Murray Turner, president of the First National Bank of Hammond, is a life-long resident of Lake county, and for some years has been prominently identified with its business and financial affairs. He has shown great ability in promoting and organizing enterprises whose results are for the welfare of the community and people at large, and his influence and work in this direction have been of great benefit to Lake county. He is essentially a business man, but has also directed some of his energies to politics and social matters, and is a representative citizen of the city of Hammond.
He was born in Crown Point, Indiana, October 3, 1859, being a son of David and Caroline (Bissell) Turner. The family is one of the oldest of Lake county, and the business and agricultural interests of the county have felt the stimulating control of three generations of the name. Grandfather Turner was a native of the north of Ireland, whence as a small boy he came to America with a family to whom he had been bound out for a term of years. He grew to manhood in Trumbull county, Ohio, and in 1837 came to Lake county, Indiana, where he spent the remainder of his sixty years in farming pursuits. His wife, named Patterson, died in Eagle Creek township, Lake county, at the age of eighty-seven years, and they had a large family.
David Turner, the father of the Hammond banker, was born in Ohio, and during the early years of his manhood followed farming. He came to Lake county in 1837. For some years he was the only merchant in the town of Crown Point. He served as state senator from 1858 to 1862, and was then appointed United States assessor by President Lincoln, holding that office until its abolishment. He was president of the First National Bank of Crown Point for a number of years and died in February, 1890, at the age of seventy-three years. He was a Republican in politics, and a Presbyterian. His wife, who still survives and resides with her son, A. Murray, is a native of Ohio. Mrs. Mary Brunot, of Greensburg, Pennsylvania, is a sister of Mrs. David Turner, and they two are the only survivors of the family. David Turner and wife had seven children, all of whom are still living: John Bissell Turner, of Cedar Rapids, Iowa: Sarah J., wife of Thomas W. Monteith, of Port Huron, Michigan; Emma, wife of I. C. Emory, of Cedar Rapids, Iowa; Annie T., widow of Freeman Morgan, of Chicago; Mary T., widow of Charles A. Holm, of Hammond, Indiana; A. Murray; and Austria T., wife of Charles A. Ross, of Austin, Illinois.
Mr. A. Murray Turner was reared in Lake county, and received his education in the Crown Point schools. He was engaged in farming and stock-raising until 1888, at which time he was elected sheriff, and served four years. He came to Hammond in 1893 and joined a syndicate formed to build the first street railway of the city. He was president of this company until 1900. He was engaged in various other enterprises, and in 1901 organized the First National Bank of Hammond, becoming its president, in which office he has effected much in making the First National one of the soundest and most reliable financial institutions of the county. Mr. Turner is a stanch Republican, and was a delegate to the national convention that nominated McKinley for president in 1900.
December 31, 1890, Mr. Turner married Miss E. Lillian Blackstone. They enjoyed a most happy marital union for ten years, during which one daughter was born, Margaret Caroline Turner. Mrs. Turner passed away in November, 1900, at the age of thirty years. She was a member of the Presbyterian church, and a woman of many social graces and accomplishments, thoroughly devoted to her home interests and thoughtful and careful of her husband's best interests.
She was a daughter of Dr. John K. and Margaret J. (Bryant) Black-stone, of Hebron, Indiana. Her paternal grandfather was also a physician, and her maternal grandfather, Simeon Bryant, was a native of Ohio and a farmer. She had three brothers and was the only daughter. Her mother was a native of Hebron, and her father of Athens, Ohio. Her father was a soldier in the Mexican war, being the youngest commissioned officer in that conflict, and in the Civil war he served as surgeon with the rank of major.
BACK TO THE HISTORY INDEX