ST. JOSEPH COUNTY INDIANA BIOS


  Kara Azek Tapley Auten. 5-05-1855 to 8-02-1929.


Husband was Mahlon Auten.   12-15-1840 - 11-17-1897

Mr. Elgie Able Garthwaite, husband of Edith (Auten) Garthwaite wrote this in 1929 for the Dubuque newspapers:

  "Mrs. Kara Auten was born in Plymouth, Indiana May 5, 1855 and died at the home of her youngest daughter, Mrs. Edith Garthwaite. Wednesday morning, August 2, 1929 at Dubuque, Iowa.

  At the age of 18 she was united in marriage to John Chambers, at which time they moved to Wisconsin, amidst the early pioneers and Indians. Ever willing to do her part in the toils and struggles that were required of the early settlers in order to have a little place they could call their home.

  This marriage lasted 8 years after which time she moved back to Plymouth, Indiana and in the year 1884 married Mahlin Wharton Auten.   Five children blessed the union, 4 daughters and one son, but on November 17, 1897 the father was called, leaving the rearing of the family in the hands of the mother. The youngest child being about one year old.

  From thence on the mother worked untiredly to keep the family together, sacrificing all that a mother knows how, but her efforts were repaid for she kept the home intact until the children were married and had homes of their own.   Her later years being spent at the home of the younger daughter, now a resident of Dubuque, Iowa

  Three of the children Elmer, Mabel Stanley and Florena Wurtsbaugh, have preceded her to the Great Beyond. One sister, Mrs. Rettie Richards of Elkhart, Indiana and two daughters, Mrs. John Hill of Claypool, Indiana and Mrs, Elgie Garthwaite of Dubuque, Iowa, thirteen grandchildren and her many friends remain to mourn her loss.


  John Auten from South Bend, Indiana. 2-28-1840 to 7-10-1861.

All the following information was acquired at the South Bend Indiana Library, Fall 2000 by Janet Ribbens
Page 60 (book unknown at this time)

IN MEMORIAM - JOHN AUTEN (cousin to our Mahlon Auten)

The subject of this sketch was born in St. Joseph County, Indiana, three miles southwest of South Bend, Indiana about the year 1841.   His father, Abram Auten, being one of the early pioneers of St. Joseph County and an excellent citizen.   John enlisted at the first call of the President for troops as a private in Co. I of the 9th Regt. Ind. Vols., being then about nineteen or twenty years of age and an adventurous, chivalrous spirit, and cheerful disposition.   As a soldier he proved to be obedient and brave to a fault, it is said by his comrades.

During the last day of his life he was with the skirmishers of his regiment, lying behind a log in the field west of the Staunton pike, near chafing with impatience.   Auten who was described as of slender form with handsome, rather boyish face, and curling locks, grasping a revolver he had taken the day before from a dead rebel officer, sprang from behind the log he was hiding behind, and darted across the road into the thicket.   Just then rang out two shots and immediately his comrades were startled by the death shriek of brave young Auten.   And rallying together, a little group of skirmishers dashed across the road and bore back the lifeless form of their daring comrade.   His remains were sent home for burial, and were interred in South Bend cemetery, where on Memorial day loving hands heap more floral tributes upon the grave of the first martyr of St. Joseph County in the war for the Union, than is bestowed upon any other comrade's grave.   That his memory is cherished by his comrades is evidenced by the fact that Auten Post No. # 8 G.A.R. of the city of South Bend, Indiana, is named in honor of the youthful hero.   It is claimed by many of his comrades that John Auten was the first man in the Ninth who fell by a rebel bullet.   But as apparently authentic documents place his death at July 10th, and that of Wm. T. Gerard, of Co. G, at July 7th, 1861, the latter being killed near Elliott's farm, in a skirmish the first morning after the Union column under Gen. Morris, (with the Ninth Indiana Regiment in the advance) begun its march, it is more than probably that Gerard was first to fall.

The father of John Auten died in January, 1885, the mother having died some years before, and as a testimonial of their love and respect for him as the father of their gallant comrade, a large delegation from Auten Post No. 8 G.A.R. marched at the head of the funeral procession to the City cemetery in South Bend.

<>From all representations it is apparent young Auten was a young man of good character, and fine personal appearance, and of the stamp of many of the chivalric and patriotic young volunteers who were the first to spring to the defense of an assailed flag, and an imperiled nation. 

The New Era, North Indiana's Leading Weekly Vol VII No 20, May 18, 1912

John Auten - In Memoriam

John Auten, whose portrait appears on the front page of this issue, was a native of Northern Indiana, born in St. Joseph county.   He was one of those brave men who responded to President Lincoln's first call to defend the Union.   Company I, Ninth Indiana regiment, under command of Captain Andrew Anderson left South Bend for Indianapolis four days after the President's call.   The Ninth regiment, under the command of Colonel Robert H. Gilroy, was the first to leave the state, departing for Wet Virginia, May 29, 1861.   On the afternoon of July 10, 1861, John Auten was killed in a scouting expedition, an account of which is here reproduced from a letter written by Capt. Andrew Anderson, from Bealington, Virginia, dated July 11, 1861.

"On Tuesday and yesterday there was some irregular skirmishing between our pickets and those of the enemy, and at about the base of the Laurel hill.   About 4 o'clock yesterday afternoon, John Auten and Charles Kelley, of my company, and some one or two men of another company, determined to ascertain what was the real condition of affairs on this hill.   They drove in a picket of five men which the enemy had stationed at the base, and, then under cover of trees and bushes and stumps, crept up near to the top of the hill where they came in sight of a breastwork with a Cannon mounted on it.   Kelley and Auten were about 10 paces apart, and advancing together, got out from cover of the trees and a volley was fired.   Two shots were fired at Auten one of which struck him in the breast, when he screamed and fell dead.   One shot was aimed at Kelley and went between him and a tree at his side.

The boys who were left retreated down the hill pursued by the enemy, but firing at them as they went down, called for help, raised a force of about 20 men in order to recover Auten's body.   Lieut. Simons, of Company H, happening to be there, assumed the command, and his little force cautiously ascended the hill, keeping as much as possible under cover.   Lieut. Simons gave the command "Battalions, Forward march."   The enemy, thinking that the company was only an advance guard, reserved the fire for the battalion behind them, and the boys went directly to where the body was lying.   Simons took Auten's arms, other men the body, and they had just started down the hill when a large body of the enemy's troops raised up from behind the breastworks and fired upon them.   Our boys, returning the fire two or three times, killed two of the rebels, and brought the body and arms away safely.   It was a bold exploit.   At the time Auten was Killed, I was out of camp on a reconnoitering expedition with about half of the company, and got back in advance of the company just in time to hear the last volley and to meet the party bringing in the body.

"We made a coffin and buried him this morning at 8 o'clock.   His last resting place was well marked so that the body can be taken home for re-burial. 

In connection with John Auten, we also quote the following editorial from the St. Joseph County Register, of July 18, 1861, then the principal weekly publication of the county:

"John Auten, a member of Capt. Anderson's company, in the Ninth regiment of Indiana volunteers, who was killed in a scouting expedition July 10, at Laurel Hill, Va., was a son of Abram Auten of Portage township, of St Joseph County, Indiana and was in the 22nd year of age.   His energy, patriotism and bravery were evinced by the fact that he was detailed to go with the expedition, but of his own accord, joined the scouting party, who were taken from another company.   He could not brook the idea of being inactive when there was work to be done, or an enemy to fight.   His death has been well avenged and his friends and relatives, in their anguish at his loss, have at last the consolation of knowing that he fell bravely fighting in the sacred cause of his country; 'with his feet to the field and his face to the foe,' he was loved and respected by all who knew him and his death is deeply mourned in this community.   His body was sent home for interment and his funeral at South Bend on friday Aug 2, 1861 was attended by 5,000 people testifying their respect for the deceased and their sympathy for the noble cause in which he had sacrificed his life."  
(This article is found in the History of St Joseph Co. Indiana by Chapman 1880   page 448 and 449."

  In the Register of Aug 12, appeared the account of the funeral services of this young hero, the first of his company to fall in active service.

"The funeral of the brave and gallant John Auten, on Friday, Aug 2, was attended by at least 5000 of our citizens, testifying their respect for the deceased and their sympathy for the noble cause in which he had sacrificed his life.   The services were held at the Court House, and an appropriate and eloquent sermon was preached by the Rev. J. C. Reed.   The coffin was enveloped in the national flag and evergreen.   His body was escorted to the grave by a large number of his brothers-soldiers, marching with arms reversed and to the sound of military music.   Three rounds of eight guns were fired over his grave by the military squad and the vast assemblage then retired."

  Paper unknown:

"John Auten's Anniversary - This County's First Hero Fell Forty-three Years Ago.

Sunday was the 43rd aniversary of the death of John Auten, the first hero from St. Joseph county to fall in the war of the rebellion.   He was a young man and was one of the bravest of wsarriors.   he was a son of the late Abram Austin of Portage township, and was killed in a scouting expedition on the afternoon of July 10, 1861.

Mr Auten was not quite 22 years old when he was killed and was a member of Co. I. Ninth regiment, of Indiana volunteers.   The remains were brought to this city and a public funeral was held in the old court house, where the body lay in state.   The remains were viewed by at least 5,000 people.   Auten post No 8, G. A. R. was named after him as a mark of esteem and to perpetuate his memory and patriotic valor."
(Contributed by Sara Hemp)


 Calvin Myler, sec. 24; P.O., South Bend; is a son of James and Olive Myler, and was born March 5, 1820, in Butler County, Ohio. His father was a native of Westmoreland County, Pa., and was born in 1797; and his mother was a native of New York. They were married in Butler County, Ohio, and came to this county May 11, 1836, and settled in this twp. Calvin Myler was married to Mary J. Scott March 26, 1842, who was born in Bartholomew County, Indiana, Dec. 24, 1823, and they have had 9 children, to wit: Wm. F., Catharine, formerly a school teacher, Martha A., Sarah, E.J., Geo. L., who is also a teacher, John S., attending college at Valparaiso, Alexander and Charles. Mr. Myler commenced in life a poor boy, and today he owns 221 acres of land, worth $90 per acre.

(From History of St. Joseph County Indiana, Chas. C. Chapman Co., Chicago, 1880, p. 969:)


History of Fulton County, Illinois; together with Sketches of its Cities, Villages and Townships, Educational, Religious, Civil, Military, and Political History; Portraits of Prominent Persons and Biographies of Representative Citizens. Chas. C. Chapman & Co., Peoria, Illinois, 1879, page 952, Woodland Township
  Wm. S. Hopping, farmer, sec. 6; P. O., Astoria. In obtaining our biographical sketches many incidents come to hand. On the farm of Mr. Hopping is a large mound, one of the largest in this county, and in conversation we learn that relics of an interesting nature have been found; is the youngest son of Gideon Hopping. He married Miss Sarah J. Sturges, of South Carolina; her father, John Sturges, became known to fame as a Revolutionary soldier and was a living witness of the famous surrender at Yorktown. In 1823 Gideon Hopping and wife, each on horseback, made the western trip to Illinois and stopped near Springfield. In 1836 Mr. H. moved to Fulton Co, settling in Vermont township, and passed away over a quarter of a century ago. Mrs. H., who is a sister of Dr. Daniel B. Sturges, of South Bend, Ind., the well-known writer and minister of the Gospel, passed away but a few short weeks ago. She left but 3 children, - Gideon J., Joseph and Wm. S. Wm. S. was married in 1861 to Miss Mary Cooper, a daughter of James Cooper, by whom he had 5 children, 4 are living: Sarah J., John W., Mellisa E., Melina B. and Joseph H., deceased.
(contributed by Sara Hemp)


ALLEN, Charles Emery, clergyman; born at Indianapolis, Ind., June 2, 1863; son of Emery and Eliza Jane Allen; attended McCoy and Central High schools. Indianapolis; grad. Morris Brown Univ., Atlanta, Ga.; (D.D., Wilberforce Univ., 1911); married Ida May Hanimons, of Noblesville. Ind., July 22, 1888; 1 child, Mrs. Beulah Allen Johnson. Licensed to preach In A. M. B. Church, Noblesville, 1887; pastor at Anderson 3 years, Seymour 2 years, Lafayette, Ind„ 2 years, Ebenezer Church, Detroit, Mich., 6 years; presiding elder Michigan Conference 6 years; pastor at South Bend since 1812; member financial board A. M. E. Church; was delegate to general conference at Kansas City, Mo., 1912. Trustee Wilberforce Univ.; director Payne Theological Seminary. Delegate from Indiana to National Half-Century Anniversary Celebration of Negro Freedom at Chicago, 1915. Republican. 32 degree Mason. Home: 420 S. Main St.. South Bend, Ind.
Source: Who's Who Of The Colored Race, by Frank Lincoln Mather, Detroit, 1915 - Transcribed by C. Anthony

Nelson L. Ault is a man of special and well earned distinction in the field of professional photography an art with which he became allied with as an amateur and has since followed it as the medium through which he could render the highest degree of service to the world. Mr. Ault, who has spent most of his life in his present home City of South Bend, was born in Northern Wisconsin, at Antigo, Langlade County, in 1883. His father, William Ault, a native of Pennsylvania and of Pennsylvania Dutch ancestry, left home when a boy, going to Ohio, where he learned the trade of plaster mason, then coming to Indiana and living at South Bend awhile, and next taking his family to Antigo, Wisconsin. After a few years he returned to Indiana and located permanently at Mishawaka, where he continued busy with his trade until his recent death on January 4, 1919.
 
He married Lillie Hobart, daughter of William and Eliza Ann (Walton) Hobart, both of whom were of early American colonial ancestry. The Hobarts were a pioneer family in Michigan, and the Waltons in Indiana. Lillie Hobart Ault is still living in Mishawaka. The schools of that city afforded Nelson Ault his early advantages, after which for several years he was an employee of the Roper Furniture Company. In the meantime, at the age of sixteen, he had taken up photography as a pastime. It was a subject that led him on and on, and his increasing proficiency caused him to realize that here his talents would find their best expression. In 1909 he opened a gallery at 303 South Michigan street, and has done a thriving business ever since. In order to afford larger facilities for handling his custom, he established another studio at 122 South Main Street in March, 1919, and he carries a complete line of photographic supplies at each studio. Mr. Ault out of his business and profession has acquired several pieces of residential property.
 
In 1905 he married Miss Clarissa Dilling. She was born at Ishpeming, Michigan, daughter of Henry A. and Eveline (Devine) Dilling. To their marriage were born two children, Mary Elizabeth and Nelson Lafayette, Jr. Mrs. Ault is a member of the First Christian Church, and he is popular in the South Bend Lodge No. 294 Free and Accepted Masons, South Bend Lodge No. 29, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the Improved Order of Red Men and the Haymakers, while both he and his wife are members of the Rebekahs.
 
[Source: "Indiana and Indianans : a history of aboriginal and territorial Indiana and the century of statehood" by Jacob Piatt Dunn,1919 - Submitted by K. Torp]

W.L. Kizeb

W. L. Kizeb. For many years the Kizer family have occupied a distinctive place in the affairs of South Bend and St. Joseph county. From a wilderness this section has been gradually transformed into a fertile farming country and into one of the most prosperous cities of the Union, and in this glorious labor the Kizers have been active and zealous, leaving to their children and to posterity the records of useful, well spent lives. A worthy scion of this family, W. L. Kizer, was born in Holmes county, Ohio, February 15, 1844. His father, Ebenezer Kizer, came to St. Joseph county in the early year of 1846, locating in German township, where he purchased land and improved a farm. The latter part of his life was spent in South Bend, where his death occurred in 1883, when he had reached the sixty-third milestone on the journey of life, passing away in the faith of the Methodist Episcopal church, of which he was long a faithful member. Mrs. Kizer bore the maiden name of Susanna Ward, and was a native of Ohio. Her death occurred in South Bend at the age of sixty-four years. In the family of this worthy pioneer couple were seven sons and one daughter, all of whom grew to years of maturity, but the daughter died at the age of twenty-four years. The sons are: George, a resident of Michigan; Peter, also of that state; W. L., whose name introduces this review: Ebenezer, a resident of Michigan ; James, a farmer of German township, St. Joseph county; Jacob, also an agriculturist of German township; and Robert P.. of South Bend.

W. L. Kizer was only about two years of age when brought by his parents to St. Joseph county, and the early years of his life were devoted to the work of the home farm, while his education was obtained in the district schools near his home and in the city schools of South Bend. He also acquired a most liberal college education in the sciences and classics, where he also paid special at- tention to the study of the languages. He then became assistant revenue collector of the ninth district, fifth division, under Frank Tutt, and was later made deputy collector under Colonel Norman Eddy for the ninth district, state of Indiana, in which he remained for three years. He was next engaged in special agency work for the Etna Insurance Company of Hartford, but resigned that position to engage in the real estate business in 1869. His name is now well known in manufacturing circles, being secretary of the Malleable Steel Range Manufacturing Company, one of the leading industries of South Bend. He is the director of the St. Joseph Loan & Trust Company, also of the St. Joseph County Savings Bank, and is interested in many other leading industries of this county and city. At No. 803 West Washington street, South Bend, Indiana, is located Mr. Kizer's fine home.

In 1871 Mr. Kizer was married to Elizabeth Brick, the daughter of William W. Brick, of South Bend, and they have a son and daughter, Horace E. and Willimena, the latter the wife of.T. E. Morrison, a real estate and insurance dealer of South Bend. Ward Wells, another son, died July 6, 1904, at the age of seventeen years. Mr. Kizer gives his political support to the Republican party, and has served as the city commissioner, and for six years as chairman of the board of city commissioners during the administration of William H. Langley and Hon. David R. Leeper. Success has crowned the well directed efforts of W. L. Kizer, and he is popular and respected in all circles.

John Harvey Myers

John Harvey Myers, a prominent contractor and builder of South Bend, Indiana, was born in Madison township, May 15, 1864. His father, John F. Myers, was born in the state of New York, April 24, 1838, and his father, Frederick Myers, was, as far as known, a lifelong resident of that state. Her husband having died and the ties which bound her to her old home having been broken, Mrs. Myers, grandmother of our subject, emigrated to Indiana with her four children, and settled in Madison township, St. Joseph county, where she secured a tract of land, and there reared her family. Several years after coming to Indiana, she married a Mr. Hemlinger. John F. Myers, father of J. H. Myers, availed himself of the opportunity of attending the district school and in the meantime resided on the farm, and after marriage continued to occupy the home farm, which he managed with signal ability until 1898, with the exception of two years, which he spent as a soldier in the federal army during the war of the rebellion. Since 1898 he has lived retired from active work, and is now enjoying the quiet of a well ordered life and the rest which is due the man who labors long and faithfully. He is a stanch Republican in his political affiliations and holds membership in the local G. A. R. post. The maiden name of his wife, mother of Mr. Myers, was Margaret Jane Grimes. She was born February 27, 1832, in Owen county, Indiana, where her parents were pioneers, and died December 23, 1895. She reared five children : Sarah Isabelle; George, who died August 3, 1879; John Harvey; Nancy Sophia, who died in 1893; and Emma Ellen.

John Harvey Myers attended school in his youth and assisted on the farm, until eighteen years of age, and then commenced work at the carpenter's trade, continuing to live with his parents until twenty-four years old, then, having married, went to Lakeville and worked at his trade there two years, in 1890 removed to South Bend and engaged in business as contractor and builder, which business he has continued successfully ever since. There are many attractive evidences of his labor on East Weuger street, where there are, besides his own residence, twelve neat and substantial houses which have been erected under his supervision and in addition to these there are many others in different parts of the city. Mr. Myers is a practical plumber as well as carpenter.

On October 18, 1888, Mr. Myers was married to Miss Flora Isabella Kring. She was born in Union township, St. Joseph county, July 22, 1869. Her father, Henry Kring, was a native of Stark county, Ohio. His father, grandfather of Mrs. M. Frederick Kring, emigrated from Ohio to Indiana, making the removal overland with wagons. This was a long time before there were other means of transportation thither than that offered by horses or oxen. He was an early settler of Penn township, where he bought a partially improved farm, where he spent the remainder of his days. Mrs. Myers' father was twenty-one years old when he came to Indiana with his parents, with whom he lived until his marriage, when he bought good farm land in Union township and there he engaged in farming until about one year before his death, when he came to South Bend, where he died at the age of seventy- eight years, September 27, 1904. The maiden name of his wife, mother of Mrs. Myers, was Sarah Miller. She was born in Stark county, Ohio, daughter of John and Catherine (Wenger) Miller, the former a native of Ohio and the latter of Pennsylvania. She was fifteen years old when she came to Indiana with her parents, and she died April 16, 1904.

Mrs. Myers is the youngest of three daughters, the others being named Violetta and Dora Ellen. Mr. and Mrs. Myers have one son,' Cluro L., who was born September 9, 1889, and was educated in the public schools. Mr. and Mrs. Myers are faithful and consistent members of the German Baptist church.

August Herzog

August Herzog. When, after years of long and honorable labor in some field of business, a man puts aside all cares to spend his remaining years in the enjoyment of the fruits of his former toil, it is certainly a well deserved rewarii of his industry. "How blest is he who comes in shades like these,

A youth of labor with an age of ease—" wrote the poet, and the world everywhere' recognizes the justice of a season of rest lol- lowing a period of business liie.

August Herzog is one of the prominent citizens of St. Joseph county, and one of the few early pioneers of Mishawaka who have taken such a material part in the development of this beautiful little city.

Always active in business, and possessed of no mean ability, he has conquered fortune, and now in age is seeking rest, and the enjoyment of the fruits of his long life of toil. Few are there who are better known or have a wider circle of friends.

The Herzog family have resided in Mishawaka a full half century and are prominently identified with the best interests of the community, not only in business, but in social and religious circles.

The founder of the family in America was August Herzog, father of the subject of this sketch. He was born in the dukedom of Baden, Germany, August 21, 1835. His father, Sebastian Herzog, a brick, stone and plaster mason, was a lifelong resident of Baden, his native land. The maiden name of his wife was Elizabeth Kastner, also a native of Baden. She survived her husband several years, and visited America, but returned and spent her last days in her native home. She reared four children, named August, Thekla, Anton and Christina. All except Christina came to America and settled in Mishawaka. August Herzog attended school steadily until fourteen years old, and then commenced to learn the trade of shoemaker and served an apprenticeship of two and a half years, and then having become a skilful workman, received his discharge, and in accordance with the custom prevailing in that country, visited different cities, working a while in each city. He received a recommendation from each employer as an excellent mechanic and a youth of exemplary habits. At the age of eighteen he came to America. He sailed from Havre, France, in a sailing vessel and landed at New York forty-two days later. He found employment at his trade in the city and remained there six months, and then went to Massillon, Ohio, and worked at his trade there three and one-half years, and then, in March, 1857, he came to St. Joseph county and first stopped at South Bend, but not finding employment there, came to Mishawaka, and has been a resident here continuously since. He commenced here as a shoemaker for Albert Hudson, proprietor of a shoe store, and was in his employ five years and then became a "partner, firm name Hudson & Co., and continued seven years, and then Mr. Hudson sold to C. C. Godeman, and the firm name was changed to Herzog & Godeman, and continued four and a half years, and later Mr. Herzog bought his partner's interest and continued the business until the year 1899, and in the meantime has added a gentlemen's furnishing line, and selling his business has lived retired from active labor.

He married in 1857, August 30th, Balbina Kotz. She was born July 17, 1837, in Bavaria, daughter of Francis Joseph and Maria Victoria Besler. She came to America with her mother when she was thirteen years old, made the trip in sailing vessel and was fifty- five days on the water. The family settled in Massillon, Ohio, where they lived several years, and then came to St. Joseph county.

On the 30th of August, 1907, Mr. and Mrs. Herzog celebrated their golden wedding. There were present at the time six of their seven children and thirteen grandchildren. There were ten children, nine of which grew to manhood and womanhood: Francis Joseph, Henry, August H., Joseph, John A., Elizabeth M., Marie, Anna Thekla, Katherine, and a nephew, named August Weber, -left an orphan when an infant, was reared by Mr. and Mrs. Herzog.

John Augustus Herzog. Whether the elements of success in life are innate attributes of the individual, or whether they are quickened by a process of circumstantial development, it is impossible to clearly determine ; yet the study of a successful life is none the less profitable by reason of the existence of this uncertainty, and in the majority of cases, it is found that exceptional ability supplemented by close application and earnest purpose, forms the real success which so many have envied. It is a noticeable fact that the young men are rapidly occupying the foremost places in business and financial circles. Whether this is due to superior education or training, or to personal ability, is a question of dispute, perhaps it is due to all of these. At all events the fact remains that every community numbers among its leading citizens men who yet young in years have made a success of life. And among those who deserve special mention in this volume is the subject of this sketch.

He was educated in the St. Joseph school, Mishawaka, where he attended until fifteen years old, when he entered the employ of the Dodge Manufacturing Co., where he remained six months, then commenced clerking in his father's store, and continued clerking until January, 1899, when he purchased the business which he has continued to the present time. At the age of twenty-one he was elected city clerk and by re-election served four terms. Since starting in the shoe business he has given it such close attention that he has made his establishment the largest up- to-date shoe store in Mishawaka. He is a practical shoe man, having learned the trade on the bench when a boy of twelve years, as evidence of which he has among his collection in his Oriental room, a pair of boots he made at that time.

In 1900 his health required a recreation and he took a trip to Europe, starting from Mishawaka August 1st, through Canada, embarking on ship at Quebec, up the St. Lawrence, passing Anti Costa, Labrador, through the Straights of Belle Isle to Ireland, England, Holland, Belgium, France, Switzerland, Germany, Italy, Egypt and the Holy Land, returning about December 1st greatly satisfied after a very enjoyable time. His rare collection in Oriental footwear and souvenirs are on display in his Oriental room, also cards and photographs to show scenes along the whole trip.

He was married July 7, 1891, to Henrietta Elenoir Yenn. She was born in South Bend and is the daughter of Simon Yenn and Josephine Yenn. Mr. and Mrs. Herzog have two children, Mildred May, born October 6th, 1893, and Francis Elenora, born February 7.

Joseph Miller

Joseph Miller. For many years Joseph Miller has been a resident of St. Joseph county and has been identified with many of the interests that have contributed to its substantial development and improvement. His probity, fidelity and sterling worth have won him the unqualified confidence of his fellow men, and now, in the evening of life, his pathway is brightened by the veneration and respect which ever follow an upright career. He was born in Lebanon county, Pennsylvania, February 27, 1823, a son of Henry and Catharine (Harper) Miller, also natives of the Keystone state. Their ancestors came to America with William Penn, and Mr. Miller is of the fifth generation from the founders of the family on American soil. He was reared in the county of his nativity, attending the log school houses so common in the early days, but the instruction which he received therein has been greatly supplemented by extensive reading and observation in later years. In the early year of 1837 he made his way to Michigan, locating on the present site of'the city of South Bend. On the 3d of October, 1844, seven years after his arrival in this state, Mr. Miller married Martha A. Scott, the daughter of William and Susan (Nash) Scott, natives of Culpeper county, Virginia, but their daughter Martha was born in Jennings county, Indiana, November 3, 1827. She was about eight years of age when she accompanied her parents on their removal to St. Joseph county, and was reared in German township, on Portage Prairie, her education being obtained in its country schools.

In 1844 Mr. Miller located with his bride on a farm in German township, St. Joseph county, where they continued to make their home until 1849, going thence to New Buffalo, Michigan, where he had charge of the light house. But in 1853 the young couple returned to the farm in German township and were engaged in agricultural pursuits there until in April, 1865, when they took up their abode in South Bend. After locating here Mr. Miller engaged in the milling business, forming a partnership with a Mr. Judson, at that time the wealthiest man in the county, but after two years the partnership was dissolved, and during the following five years Mr. Miller was engaged in business with Hiram Loomas. From 1876 until 1886 he was engaged in the milling business in Mishawaka, returning in the latter year to South Bend and engaging in the wood and coal business with Samuel Lontz, who had served as his head miller for twenty years, and was therefore very proficient in the business. During the long period of forty years this firm has continued in business in South Bend, where they have become widely and favorably known and are awarded a liberal patronage. Mr. Miller* was one of the first justices of the peace in Warren township, but after holding that office six years he removed to the city, and during his residence in Mishawaka he served as president of the board of trustees. He was chairman of the board of trustees of Mishawaka for four years, being twice elected to that office. He was the founder and first member of Grace Methodist Episcopal church, in which he has ever since been an efficient and active worker. A stanch Republican in his political views, he has ever taken an active interest in the upbuilding of the party.

'Mr. and Mrs. Miller have traveled the pathway of life together for many years, mutually sharing the joys and sorrows which checker the lives of all, and to them has come the privilege of celebrating their sixty-second wedding anniversary. They have one living daughter, Elizabeth A., the wife of Dennis S. Brownfield, of South Bend. Their daughter Molly C. was drowned in the St. Joseph river, having with three companions fallen over the dam. Mr. Miller, who is one of the oldest pioneers of St. Joseph county, can recall many reminiscences of ,the early days, and he can distinctly remember of having heard Hon. Schuyler Coif ax make his first speech, being then about seventeen years of age. His career has been an active, honorable and useful one, and during his long residence in South Bend and St. Joseph county he has won the love and veneration of its residents.

William H. Holland

William H. Holland, president and manager of the Sibley Machine Tool Company of South Bend, was born in Florence, Nebraska, June 4, 1867. His father, James Holland, was a native of England, but came to America during his young manhood, and in New York was married to Margaret Finley, also a native of England. After their marriage Mr. and Mrs. Holland took up their abode in Elkhart, Indiana, frofn which place the former enlisted as a soldier in the Civil war.

In his business, and continued, his operations as a dealer in flour until his busy and useful life was ended in death, February 11, 1905. St. Joseph county was proud to name him among her honored sons, his birth occurring in Clay township on the 17th of May, 1854. His father, John Forster, for many years a prominent agriculturist in Clay township, was a native of Bavaria, Germany, born May 17, 1812. After reaching manhood's estate he left his native land for America, arriving in Clay township, St. Joseph county, Indiana, in 1850, and was here married to Barbara Ruining, a native also of Germany and at that time a widow with two daughters, Mar- garett and Barbara. By her marriage to Mr. Forster she became the mother of two sons, but one died in infancy, and Henry was the younger in order of birth. Mr. Forster. the father, was a Democrat in his political affiliations, and after reaching a ripe old age he retired from the active cares of a business life, his death occurring in South Bend in June, 1907, when in his eighty-sixth year.

Henry Forster

Henry Forster spent the days of his boyhood and youth on the old homestead farm in Clay township, and the training which he received in its public schools was supplemented by attendance at the University of Notre Dame, where he enjoyed superior educational advantages. From 1870 until 1878 he was employed by Knoblock & Gintz in their flouring mills, while during the following two years he was associated in the business of L. C. Axford, and later, embarked in the flouring business for himself, gradually winning a name among the leading business men of South Bend. At the time of his marriage he purchased his present property on Lafayette street, and in 1900 erected their present commodious dwelling.

On the llth of September, 1888, Mr. Forster married Anna C. Elbel, who was born in South Bend December 4, 1859, the daughter of Earhart Elbel, a cabinet maker of South Bend. He was born in Bavaria, Germany, but during his young manhood came to America, and in South Bend was unitexl in marriage to Sophie Fickenscher, also a native of Bavaria. He had learned his trade of cabinet-making in his native land, and continued one of its faithful devotees during the remainder of his life. Eight children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Elbel, two sons and six daughters, all of whom were born and educated in South Bend and two are now deceased. The father gave his political support to the Democracy, and was a member of the Odd Fellows fraternity, having been oqe of the first members of the order in the South Bend lodge. His death occurred in his eighty- second year, for he was born in the year of 1824 and died in 1905. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Forster were born two children, a son and a daughter.—Florence Eleanor, born on the 28th of July, 1890, and Herbert, born October 5, 1894. Mr. Forster was also a supporter of Democratic principles, and to him was accorded a leading place among the representative citizens of South Bend.

Henry C. Morgan

Henry C. Morgan is an honored veteran of the Civil war and one who has for many years held an important place among the business men of South Bend. He is a native son of the city, his birth occurring on the 20th of July, 1842, a son of Charles and Sarah (Shumarg) Morgan, the former a native of North Carolina and the latter of New Jersey. In a very early day the father removed to Wayne county, Indiana, where he worked for some time at the carpenter's trade, and in 1833 established his home in South Bend, here continuing his trade. His name was a well known and honored one in the early days of this cjty, and he was prominently identified with its early history.

Henry C. Morgan is indebted to the public schools of his native city for his educational training, and after completing his education he worked at the wagon maker's trade with Whitten & Conrad, receiving twenty-five dollars for his first year's work and fifty dollars for the second. At the inauguration of the Civil war in 1861 he offered his services to the Union cause, and in the following year became a member of Company C, Seventy- third Indiana Volunteer Infantry. His services continued until the close of the war and he was mustered out July 4, 1865. He was a member of the Army of the Tenneasee and participated in the battles of Nashville, Stone River and Perryville. While participating in Colonel Straight's raid in Tennessee he was captured and held as a prisoner of war, near Rome, Georgia, and finally on Belle Isle, where he was paroled and afterward discharged. He shared the fortunes of his command, often being in the thickest of the fight, and all honor should be paid to those who aided in upholding the principles of liberty. Returning to his home in South Bend Mr. Morgan began work in the grocery store of John Day, but after a short time embarked in the same busines for himself ia company with Charles George, the firm of Morgan & George continuing for six years. During the same length of time Mr. Morgan was engaged in the grocery business for himself on Washington street, on the expiration of which period he sold his interests therein to G. 11. Porter and became connected with the Dodge Manufacturing Company, having charge of the shipping department for six years. Again selling his interest he purchased the Miller farm near Mishawaka, but a few years later sold that place at a great profit and then embarked in the real estate business in South Bend, being now numbered among the representative real estate dealers in St. Joseph county.

Mr. Morgan married Miss Phebe W. Wad- hams, a daughter of Carlton Wadhams, of South Bend, and they have one son, Carlton W., who is engaged in agricultural pursuits near Niles, Michigan. Their only daughter, Estella, died when twelve years of age. Mr. Morgan is a public-spirited citizen, actively interested in every movement for the upbuilding of his native city and county, and he has represented the fifth ward in the city council. He is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Maccabees. He is a director in the First National Bank.

Henry Leer

Henry Leer. During the early history of St. Joseph county the Leer family became identified with its interests, and during the many years which have since elapsed its representatives have aided materially in the development of its resources, and havo taken an active interest in all the movements foe its welfare and upbuilding. The family came originally from Switzerland, but for many generations they have resided in this country, and the grandfather of Henry Leer was a native of Pennsylvania. Samuel Leer, the father, and also a native son of the Keystone state, came to St. Joseph county as early as 1829, being one of its first settlers. At that time the present city of South Bend was nothing but a trading post, and immediately after liis arrival he secured land from the government, continuing to make his home in this county until his busy and useful life was ended in death in 1850. He was a man of the strictest honor and integrity, and to his posterity he left an unblemished name and a record of which they should be ever proud. In the city of Dayton, Ohio, Mr. Leer was united in marriage to Mary Bowman, also a native of Pennsylvania, and they were blessed by the birth of nine children, all but one of whom grew to years of maturity.

Henry Leer, the only surviving child, was born in the little log cabin in which his parents began their life in St. Joseph county, on the 2d of October, 1845. and within the borders of old St. Joseph he has spent his entire life. When he was but five years of age his father died, but he remained in the family home with his mother until she. too, was called to her final rest. During the early years of his life he was engaged in farming on the old homestead, which now forms a part of the city of South Bend, and in 1900 he platted a part of the land, laying out fifty lots, which are now included in the most valuable portion of the city, the lots selling from four hundred and fifty to fifteen hundred dollars apiece. The land is now known as the Henry Leer addition, and is a valuable adjunct to the city.

The marriage of Mr. Leer was celebrated in 1868, when Caroline Shedrick became his wife, and they have two daughters.—Minnie, the wife of Ezra Bimm, of South Bend, and Dora, the wife of Harry Moore, an agriculturist of Clay township, St. Joseph county. Mr. Leer has been a lifelong resident of St. Joseph county, actively identified with its upbuilding and development, and although a .Republican in his political sympathies in local affairs he votes for the man whom he regards as best qualified for office. Wherever known he is held in high regard, and those who know him best are numbered among his warmest friends.

Joseph E. Neff

Joseph E. Neff. Among those who have won a name and place for themselves in the industrial world is Joseph E. Neff. His life history exhibits a long and virtuous career of private industry, and is the record of a well balanced mental and moral constitution, strongly marked by those traits of character which are of especial value in such a state of society as exists in this country. A community depends upon commercial activity, its welfare is due to this, and its promoters of legitimate and extensive business enterprises may well be termed its benefactors.

Prominent in the business circles of South Bend stands Joseph E. Neff. He was born in Grant county. Indiana, on the 25th of December, 1864, a son of John and Catherine (Bloomer) Neff, both natives of Ohio. In
the days of the gold excitement iu California the father joined the tide of emigration to that state and for six years was engaged in search for the precious metal. Returning to the east in 1860, he took up his abode in Grant county, Indiana, and engaged in farming, and is yet an honored and respected resident of that county, having reached the age of seventy-two years. In his political affiliations he is a Democrat, being firm in his convictions and zealous in support of the principles in which he believes. The cause of education has also always found in him a warm and faithful friend, and in all matters pertaining to the welfare of his fellow men he has always taken an active and helpful interest.

In 1884 Joseph E. Neff became a student in DePauw University, where he spent seven years, taking a course in liberal arts and graduating in law in 1891, with the degrees of A. M. and LL. B. In the same year he came to South Bend and began the practice of law with A. L. Brick, but in 1894.he abandoned a professional for a business life, and during the following four years was deputy collector of internal revenue under Cleveland's administration. In 1903 he organized the American Trust Company, and previous to that time, in 1900, in company with C. T. Lindsay, he had organized the Citizens Trust Company, being connected with that institution for two years. Since 1904 he has been secretary of the American Trust Company. He also organized the Navarre Place Company, of which he is the secretary, and also assisted in organizing the Michigan City Trust Company and the Farmers and Merchants Trust Company of Ligonier, Indiana. He gives his political support to the Democratic party, and is an active worker in its cause.

Mr. Neff married Miss Daisy, a daughter of Rev. W. R. Mickles. She died in 1889, and in 1901 he married Miss Florence Young, of Rushville, Illinois, who died in 1905. He has one son, Raymond, born on the 6th of November, 1889. Mr. Neff holds membership relations with the Masonic Lodge No. 294 and with the order of Elks, and he is also a member of the Commercial Athletic Club and the Country Club. He has in every way proven himself a public-spirited citizen, and possesses the public confidence to a remarkable degree.

James H. Brink

James H. Brink, South Bend's well-known and popular contractor and builder, is numbered among the native sons of Illinois, his birth occurring at Kankakee on the 20th of September, 1857, his parents being George L. and Hannah R. (Blakeslee) .Brink, the former of whom was born in Broome county, New York, and the latter in Orange county, that state. The father was reared to years of maturity in the county of his nativity, dying when he had reached the age of sixty-seven years, and the mother was called to the home beyond at the age of seventy-three years. In their family were four sons, one of whom died in infancy, one at the age of twelve years, and one when only six years old, leaving James H. Brink the only living member of the family. He attained to mature years in Plymouth, Indiana, whither his parents had removed when he was only a year old, and there he also learned the trade to which he has devoted the remainder of his life. In time he rose to the position of contracting in Plymouth, and continued his activities in that city until his removal to South Bend in 1900. Here he resumed the contracting and building business, and soon won the public confidence by reason of his excellent workmanship and his fidelity to the terms of a contract, while his patronage has steadily and rapidly increased. He employs a large force of workmen, including carpenters, brickmasons and other mechanics, and many of the finest buildings of the county stand as monuments to his ability and enterprise, including his own modern residence, erected in 1902. In this city alone he has built about two hundred houses, also doing the work for the Inter Urban Amusement Company at Spring Brook park and all the stations between Goshen and South Bend. As foreman for the Indiana Lumber Company he had charge of building the Hungarian school and Epworth Hospital, and has built many residences and business houses in Plymouth, including the M. W. Simons residence and store building.

On the 2d of February, 1881, was celebrated the marriage of Mr. Brink and Minnie J. Snyder, a native of Marshall county, Indiana, and a daughter of Simon Snyder, one of its early and honored pioneers. Two children have been born to them, Stella M., the wife of F. C. Henry, of South Bend, and George W., a prominent young business man of this city. Mr. Brink holds membership relations with the order of Ben Hur, and his political affiliations are with the Republican party. He withholds his support from no movement for the public good, and is a gentleman to whom all honor is due for his many virtues and genuine worth.

Martin J. Roach

Martin J. Roach. Few residents of St. Joseph county are better known in business circles than Martin J. Roach, who was born in the city of South Bend on the 9th of November, 1858, and has spent his entire life here. His father, William Roach, was a native of Mayo, Ireland, but came to the United States when young and established his home in the east. In the early '50s, however, he made his way to South Bend and was one of the honored pioneers who aided in laying the foundation on which to erect the superstructure of St. Joseph county's present prosperity and progress. Through the period of early development he was an important factor in the improvement and advancement of his adopted city, and he continued to make this his home until his busy life was ended in 1889, at the age of seventy-three years. He had married Bridget Holmes, also a native of Ireland, and she still survives her husband, making her home with her son in South Bend.

Martin J. Roach, one in a family of seven children, three sons and four daughters, received his elementary training in the schools of South Bend, this being supplemented by attendance at Notre Dame University. Having thus laid an excellent foundation for his future life-work he was thereafter employed as a mason for a number of years, when he rose to the position of a contractor in masonry. In 1896, with Martin Hoban, he organized the present firm of Hoban & Roach, contractors of sewers arid general street improvement. This has been a successful corporation from the commencement to the present time, having performed much of the principal work in their line in South Bend and surrounding country, and their business has been constantly enlarged to meet the growing demands of the trade until it is now classed with the leading industries of St. Joseph county. Both Mr. Roach and Mr. Hoban are practical men. and are up-to-date and progressive in all their ideas.

In 1906 Mr. Roach was married to Miss Anna Miller, of South Bend. They are members of the St. Joseph church. South Bend, and are accorded a high place in the social circles of South Bend. A Democrat in politics, he has been chairman of the township committee for six years, and served as alderman, representing the Seventh ward four years, and was a member of the board of park commissioners seven years. He is a member of the South Bend Lodge, B. P. 0. E., and the Independent Order of Foresters.

August F. Beyer

August F. Beyer was .born in the province of Pommeron, Germany, November 1. 1842, a son of August and Louisa Beyer. The son became a fresco painter by trade, becoming recognized as one of the greatest decorators in that line of trade in the capital city of Berlin, Germany. Whenever a call for great fresco painting was made he was always in line, and it so happened that he worked four months in the old King William's palace at the time when this last Emperor William was a little lad of about two years of age, Mr. Beyer several times enjoying the opportunity of playing with the young emperor. During a period of nearly four years he was a soldier in the Tenth Company, Kaiser Alexander. Grenadier Regiment No. 1. in Berlin. also actively participating in the wars of 1864 with S\veden and 1866 in Austria, having been slightly wounded in the great battle of Konigsgratz, July 3, 1866. and sent back to a private hospital, Landsberger No. 42, at Berlin, where he remained about six weeks.

After leaving his regiment Mr. Beyer again resumed his trade of a fresco painter. On the first day of June, 1870, he sailed from Castle Garden on the old steamer "Ocean Queen" for America, this being just a few days before the commencement of the German and French war. He immediately obtained work at his trade in Philadelphia by Kehrweider Brothers, fresco painters, his first work being to help fresco the great Presbyterian church in West Chester, eighty miles from Philadelphia, a contract in oil colors amounting to two thousand dollars. After the completion of this great work Mr. Beyer had a desire to visit Chicago, and immediately after reaching that city obtained work at his profession in an opera house just opposite the court house by Jeffrey & Almini, while later he worked for Schubert & Konig. During his residence in that city he also started a business of his own in partnership with Herman Korbowsky, and their business increased so rapidly that they had completed about six churches when the great fire demon swept over the city and destroyed a tract about five miles long and one mile wide, sweeping everything in its path and destroying Mr. Bever's residence at the corner of Franklin and Indiana streets, No. 110, also that of his partner on Church street. Both lost everything they owned, and this brought a great shadow over the partnership, but the same night they went to Englewood and on the following day started for Laporte, Indiana, where Mr. Beyer had just previously frescoed Father Oechtering's church there in company with Whitling Brothers, and Father Oechtering's (who was a brother of the Laporte priest) church in Mishawaka. lie took the latter contract himself. Before night came on he had found a home in the Rumley House opposite the church and just above Father Oechtering's apartments. That night the depot burned and destroyed three hundred dollars in paints for him. The old partnership was continued for three years, when it was then dissolved and Mr. Beyer came to South Bend in 1875, just one day before the burning of the Studebaker factory. He did a great deal of frescoing here and in neighboring towns, among his contracts being the old Masonic Hall for three hundred and fifty dollars, the old court house for one .thousand dollars. Father Oechtering's church in Mishawaka, Father Burk's church in Michigan City, and a Presbyterian church in Cold Water, also working in St. Mary's and Notre Dame churches, together with Leipsziger and Bensock from Indianapolis, and Professor Gregory from Rome.

Mr. Beyer was very successful in his work of fresco painting, but he was obliged to abandon the work on account of ill health caused by working so much with poisonous paints, and he then engaged in the gardening trade, a much healthier business. He first purchased of Aaron Skinner six and a half acres, the purchase price being four thousand dollars, lying between the Laporte road and Michigan avenue, but the tract was very poor sandy soil, on which was located an orchard of about two hundred old and crippled apple trees, with nothing but sandberries all around. Mr. Beyer had great trouble in bringing this land to a growing condition, and by so doing had overworked himself and for a year was very ill. In all that time there was scarcely any income, and both he and his family suffered many hardships, and during his sickness it happened that both Aaron Skinner and his wife died, pasing away within fourteen days of each other, with the result that Mr. Beyer was obliged to return the place to the Skinner heirs. At the same time t also happened that Mr. Wright, his neighbor and who owned the extreme fork of one acre joining his place between the Laporte road and Michigan avenue, offered his place to Mr. Beyer for four hundred dollars cash. Through the courtesy of a good friend, Mr. Boyd, at that time a partner in the lumber business of Boyd & Hillier. Mr. Beyer was able to become the owner of this one acre, which was very rich in fertilizer, and brought excellent crops. With the profits of this small tract, together with the old place he had worked that summer, he cleared about five hundred dollars, with which he secured as first payment a ten-acre tract from Christ Dille, ex-councilman, for the amount of twenty-five hundred dollars, the land being located on Mishawaka avenue near the Sample street bridge. Mr. Phillip Klingel loaned Mr. Beyer two thousand dollars with which to pay Mr. Dille, taking a first mortgage on the place, and after this debt had been paid he offered Mr. Beyer the cash to purchase the adjoining ten acras from Mr. Berk, the iceman, the purchase price being nine hundred dollars. Mr. Beyer's next purchase was the Charles Vinson place joining his former purchase, consisting of six and a half acres, with a brick house and stable, for which he paid thirteen hundred and fifty dollars. Again Mr. Phillip Klingel offered Mr. Beyer the money with which to buy the thirteen and a half acres joining the Vinson property around the corner on Eddy street, owned by John Woolverton, for the sum of twenty- five hundred dollars, which offer was also accepted, and at this time his landed possessions consisted of a truck farm of about forty acres, partly within and partly out of the city limits at that time. He was very successful in raising first-class vegetables, and gained a wide reputation for the number of prizes which he secured, receiving over three hundred dollars in prizes from Henry Maule of Philadelphia, over one hundred dollars from Gregory Marblehead of Massachusetts, also from Johnson & Stokes and many from the Indianapolis State Fair Association, in one year receiving seventeen out of the twenty-six awarded, mostly first prizes, while in one year in South Bend he received sixty- four prizes and a gold medal awarded by Louis Nickel. Jr. & Company, for the greatest and finest display of vegetables.

After seventeen years of hard and laborious work as a truck gardener Mr. Beyer turned the business over to his second son, Otto Beyer, and built a greenhouse. For this purpose he leased a lot from Sam Perly, agent for the Coquillards, on Main street, just opposite the court house, for ten years, on which he built a one-story frame building for a flower store, and just behind this a rose house with hot-water appliances. This building and the greenhouse, with a first-class boiler, proved very expensive and was far ahead of the business of the town at that time, which was then inhabited principally by working people and too poor to purchase flowers, thus making it almost impossible to keep the expenses above watermark. Through this and failing health the place was eventually lost. At this time Mr. Beyer was advised by two physicians to seek a change of climate, and in search of health went to Seattle, Washington, where he soon recuperated, and after a residence in that city of two months was made president of the Washington Produce & Fruit Growers Union. This organization had a director in every county in the state of Washington, who had his own wholesale house, where all the growers brought their fruit during the season, and all money transactions went through the Puget Sound National Bank, no one receiving any funds from this bank or from the Union without the signature of August F. Beyer. He sent in refrigerator cars strawberries by the carload as far as Chicago, which brought returns as high as from three to nine dollars a crate. Through his connection with this organization Mr. Beyer became better acquainted with the state of Washington than many people who had been born there.

In the meantime he had sent in his application for superintendent of the city park of South Bend through the civil service examination, and subsequently received a post card from the county commissioners stating that he had passed the highest examination, receiving eighty-seven and seven-eighths points, while Mr. Palmer received eighty-four points and Mr. Berkharst eighty-two points, and consequently he was in the list for appointment. This was in the fall, but Mr. Beyer did not return to South Bend until the 1st of July of the following year. In this time the city had purchased through his agents a tract of land of about ten acres for park purposes, now known as La Salle Park, and it was soon after this sale was made that Mr. Beyer returned from Seattle, completely restored in health, and again began the raising of flowers at his place on Mishawaka avenue. Through hard work and honest dealings he has been successful, and has today one of the finest and most up-to-date flower stores in the state of Indiana. On the 26th of November, 1906, Mr. Beyer again sold the city of South Bend thirteen acres of his place for a city park. He yet has twelve and a half acres, and is now making extensive improvements in his hot-houses, and, although sixty-six years of age, can do two men's work. He believes in "Do it now." When completed his plant will be one of the best in Indiana.

He was married in Strausberg. five miles from Berlin, Germany, to Louisa Hagedorn, a native of that neighborhood, and by this union were born eight children. One died in infancy, one died when one year old, and those living are: Paul, who was born in Berlin, Germany. He is now manager of the florist business. He also is a great decorator, having had an established reputation in Chicago, but gave it up to relieve the great work of his father. Otto has the business charge of the garden business. Herman is superintendent of the South Bend city park. William assists Otto in the garden business. John is an assistant of his brother Paul. Rosa lives at home. Mr. Beyer is a member of the Lutheran church. He is also a member of the South Bend Turn-Verein, of which he is president for his second term, and of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, and is past commander of the Maccabees. He is a member of the Northwest Sanger Bund.

Charles L. Goetz

Charles L. Goetz, a manufacturer of cigars at 307 West Jefferson street. South Bend, was born in Rome, New York, on the 22d of January, 1859, a son of Casper and Mary (Holderied) Goetz, both natives of Baden, Germany. The father spent the early years of his life in the place of his nativity, coming to America about 1856 and locating at Rome, New York, where he followed his trade of shoemaking. There his death occurred when he had-reached the age of sixty- four years, but his widow is still living, having reached the age of seventy-one years, and is a resident of Rome. In their family were seven children, six sons and one daughter, and all are yet living.

Charles L. Goetz, the eldest of the children, received his education in the public and parochial schools of his native city of Rome.
and after its completion at the age of fourteen years, began the trade of a cigar maker, following that occupation in different parts of the state of New York until his removal to South Bend on the 29th of April, 1881. Thus twenty-five years of his life have been spent in this city, and during all that time, through the channels of trade as well as in other ways, he has promoted the interests of its residents, and at all times is alert in his efforts to improve the condition of all lines of business. For four years after his arrival Mr. Goetz worked at his trade of cigar making, but on the expiration of that period, in 1885, engaged in the manufacture of cigars for himself. Beginning in a small way, for lie only employed two men at the start, the business has gradually expanded as the result of his capable management and well- directed efforts, and at the present time an average of thirty-five operatives are given employment in the manufactory, and in addition he also owns one of the finest blocks in the city.

In 1883 Mr. Goetz was married to Emma E. Klingel, whose father, Valentine Klingel, was a prominent resident of South Bend, and one son, Philip K., has been born of this union. He is a graduate of the South Bend High School, and is now engaged in business with his father. Throughout tie period of his residence in South Bend Mr. Goetz has taken an active part in its public affairs. For four years he served as deputy oil inspector of the Thirteenth Congressional district, was a member of the board of public works under the Coif ax administration, and at the present time is a member of the county council. His fraternal relations are with the order of Elks, while politically he is a stanch supporter of Democratic principles. His public duties have ever been discharged with marked promptness and fidelity, and during his long residence in South Bend has been closely connected with its progress and advancement, supporting all measures for the public good.

Colonel Joseph Turnock

Colonel Joseph Turnock. Colonel Turnock's family has an especially close identification with the pioneer history of both Elk- hart and St. Joseph counties, and he himself has for many years of his life been a leading figure in military matters and those connected with the preservation and enforcement of the law in South Bend. In the enforcement of his official civil duties, as well as in his capacity of soldier of the Civil war, the Colonel has always evinced unflinching bravery and cool judgment. He is a brave man and a good citizen and a useful member of the community, in every sense of the word —what better words could be spoken of an American?

Joseph Turnock, whose present business occupation is financial secretary of the Building and Loan Association of South Bend, was born in Stoke Trent, England, September 30. 1836. His parents, Benjamin and Mary (Whitteker) Turnock, were born, reared and married in the same locality. The father was a carpenter, and was long in the employ of the famous Minton Pottery. Bringing his family to America about 1839, he located at Jersey City, where he was employed at his trade for ten years, removing to Mishawaka, St. Joseph county, Indiana, in 1849. At that time, however, the site of the city was prairie land, upon which he engaged in farming. After an experience of two years in this new life Mr. Turnock took his two teams and moved his family back to Jersey City, New Jersey. He there resumed his occupation as a carpenter and contractor, and continued thus employed for some seven years, but the freer life of the west again called him, and he returned to Indiana, locating at a point two and a half miles west of Elkhart City, in Elkhart county. The later years of his life were spent in Elkhart City, where he lived in comfortable retirement until his death, August 9, 1873. His wife and the mother of his thirteen children is also dead. Of the two daughters and eleven sons born to them, five sons and three daughters reached maturity, and the following are still living: Joseph and Hiram, residing in South Bend; Jamima, wife of Alexander Arisman; Mary, who married James Bigelow, both of the daughters living in Elkhart, and Colonel Joseph Turnock.

Joseph Turnock, who is the eldest of the living children, was about four years of age when his parents brought him to America. He received his education in a public school of Jersey City and at a log school house near the farm in Elkhart county, Indiana. When he reached the age of seventeen years he had virtually the charge of the farm, and continued to operate it until he attained his majority, when he came to South Bend to learn the trade of a plasterer. This occupation, which he subsequently followed for some time, gradually drew him into a contracting business, which, in partnership with his brother, Hiram, he prosecuted for about twenty-five years.

Mr. Turnock dates his residence in South Bend from 1858. and was already well on the road to success as a skillful workman when the Civil war broke out. In 1862-63 he was with the Twenty-first Indiana Battery in the sutler's department, and afterward enlisted in Company H. Twelfth Indiana Volunteer Cavalry. When the company was organized he was chosen its first lieutenant and subsequently was promoted to the captaincy, serving in the latter capacity for six months of 1865. He participated in the battle of Mobile, Alabama, had a horse shot from under him near Florence, Alabama, and was in several skirmishes near Murfreesboro, Tennessee, and other engagements with bushwhackers. Returning to South Bend at the close of the war, he resumed his contracting business, which he so successfully followed for many years thereafter.

Colonel Turnock's official career commenced in 1872, when he was elected by the Republicans as sheriff of St. Joseph county. He was re-elected in 1874 for another term of two years, and served as deputy sheriff for .a period of four years. During the eight years of his connection with the shrievalty he earned the general respect both of good citizens and evil-doers, although the latter had a wholesome fear as well as respect for him. He was afterward chosen chief of the South Bend fire department, and his previous record as an officer of the law was so memorable that he became chief of police. Under his administration of this department of the city service he first uniformed the policemen, and also brought them to a commendable state of discipline and efficiency. In 1901 he was again placed at the head of the department, and continued the splendid work previously begun for the succeeding two years.

Colonel Turnock is recognized as one of the finest disciplinarians in the state, not only by the citizens of South Bend but by the military authorities of Indiana. He was for some time a captain in the First Regiment, Indiana National Guard, and was later promoted to be lieutenant-colonel. His Civil war record has made him a leading member of the Norman Eddy Post No. 579, G. A. R., having served as past commander and a delegate to the national encampment. The colonel is also a well-known Mason, identified with Lodge No. 45, South Bend.

Joseph Turnock was married to Miss Frances Cottrell, daughter of Samuel S. and Catherine (Painter) Cottrell, and they have become the parents of the following: Nellie, wife of William P. Booth, of Chicago, and Frances, who married Robert Collmer, of South Bend. Mrs. Turnock's father was among the pioneers of St. Joseph county, was its first sheriff and otherwise prominent in its early affairs.

John Roth

John Roth, one of South Bend's most honored and respected business men. is a veteran of the Civil war, and bears an honorable record for brave service in the cause of freedom and union, while in the paths of peace he has also won an enviable reputation through the sterling qualities which go to the making of a good citizen. As secretary of the St. Joseph Loan and Savings Bank he is well known throughout northern Indiana.

Mr. Roth was born in Greenville. Ohio. November 28. 1843. His father, the Rev. Peter Roth, was a native of Lorraine. Germany, but in his boyhood days came with his father's family to the United States, the family home having been established in Ohio, where the son Peter became in time a well- known minister of the Evangelical church. He held pastorates in Ohio. Michigan and Indiana. In the early '60s he became pastor of a church in Mishawaka of the latter state, where he remained several years or until his removal to Ft. Wayne.- where he was stationed three years. He then came to South Bend in the late '70s and retired from the ministry. For many years he was one of the most efficient laborers in the cause of Christianity in this city. A strong and forcible speaker, earnest and eloquent in the presentation of the truth, his efforts were abundantly blessed, laboring in the cause of the Master until his death, at the age of seventy- eight years, although for a few years prior to that time he had retired from his ministerial labors. He married Susan Kline, a native of Bavaria, Germany, but who came with an uncle and aunt to the United States during her girlhood days.

When the great Civil war was inaugurated in 1861 John Roth was a lad of eighteen years, but he promptly offered his services to the Union cause, becoming a member of the Eighty-seventh Indiana Infantry, Company F, for just two years previous to his enlist
ment he had removed with his family to this state. He took part in all the campaigns of his regiment, participating in the battles of Perryville. Chickamauga and in the celebrated march with Sherman to the sea. He was a brave and fearless soldier, and was severely wounded at Chickamauga, where he suffered a gun-shot wound in his throat. He was mustered out at Indianapolis, Indiana, in 1865, for the war had ended and his country no longer needed his service. Mr. Roth thence made his way to Mishawaka and in 1868 to South Bend, his first employment in this city being as a clerk in a grocery store. He was then with the Union Manufacturing Company as a cabinet maker, while for six years he served as foreman of the box department of the Studebaker Manufacturing Company. In 1888 Mr. Roth assisted in the organizing of the St. Joseph Loan and Savings Association, of which he was elected secretary, and this is now one of the leading institutions of its kind in northern Indiana. He was the first gentleman to come to the assistance of the ladies in 1894 in organizing the Epworth Hospital and Training School. After its organization he was elected one of the trustees, and has served as secretary of the board of trustees ever since. He was also a member of the building committee.

The marriage of Mr. Roth and Kate E. Yarger was celebrated in 1866, she being a daughter of Philip and Louisa (Welper) Yarger. of Laporte county. Five daughters have been born of this union, namely: Mary Ellen (now Mrs. Wilkerson, of Chicago), Fannie H., Catherine E., Carrie E., and Helen. Mr. Roth is a stanch supporter of Republican principles, and in 1884 he was its choice for the office of city treasurer, which position he held for four years. He holds pleasant relations with his old army comrades by his membership with Auten Post, No. 8. G. A. R., while his religious affiliation is with the Methodist church.

William Toepp

William Toepp. One of the straightforward and successful business men of South Bend is William Toepp. He is public spirited and thoroughly interested in whatever tends to promote the moral, intellectual and material welfare of the city, and for many years he has been numbered among its valued and honored citizens. His birth occurred in Rome, New York. April 14, 1851. His father. Peter Toepp, was born in Alsace, France, and spent the first nineteen years of his life in his native land, coming thence to the United States and locating in Rome, where he was engaged in. business from 1857 until 1880. On the expiration of that period he came to South Bend, Indiana, and was counted among the city's most successful business men until 1898, and his death occurred in 1906, when he had reached the age of seventy-nine years. In his early manhood Mr. Toepp married Catherine Karle, who was born in Baden, Germany, and she lived to the age of seventy-five years. In their family were the following children: William, P. H., Elizabeth M., -Frank C., and Minnie, the wife of F. H. Goetz. of South Bend.

William Toepp, the eldest of the children, grew to mature years in his native city of Rome, and after completing his education he entered the dry goods business in that city with his father and brother, in 1878. They moved their stock of goods to South Bend and established their store at what is now 121 West Washington street. On the 28th of January, 1881, this store was destroyed by fire, and Mr. Toepp resumed his business on South Chapin street, organizing the firm of Toepp Brothers, they continuing in the dry goods business until 1885, when they transferred their operations to the shoe trade. One year later, however, in 1886, the business was closed, and Mr. Toepp. of this review, then went to Milwaukee, Wisconsin. Remaining in that city until 1888, he then returned to South Bend, and embarked in his present business of wholesale wines and liquors, and in addition to its proprietorship is also the owner of much valuable city property, being a part owner of the Toepp Building and the Jefferson Building. The latter was erected in 1906-7, and is the finest business block and office building in the city of South Bend. He is also president of the Sinking Fund Commission of this city, and served as one of the directors in the erection of the handsome Elks Temple, he being a prominent member of that fraternity and an active worker for its advancement. He belongs to the Merchants Association, and was one of the organizers of the C. A. C. building on Colfax avenue, opposite the Elks Temple, and is a member of the Turners and Mannerchor of South Bend.

The marriage of Mr. Toepp was celebrated on the 13th of September. 1881. when Linda Elbel became his wife. She was born and reared in South Bend, a daughter of John M. and Marie (Schmitz) Elbel. In his political connections Mr. Toepp is a Democrat, always taking a deep interest in local political affairs, and during a period of ten years he served as treasurer of the Central Democratic Committte. of which he is now a member. He is a man of excellent business and executive ability, of keen discrimination and capable management. He has not limited his efforts to one line of business, but has encouraged many enterprises, and to a high degree he enjoys the confidence and regard of those with whom he has been brought in contact through business and social relations.

Horace M. Kauffman

Horace M. Kauffman, manager for the Clem Studebaker estate, was born in Des Moines, Iowa, on the 10th of November, 1866. His career thus far in life furnishes a splendid example of what may .be accomplished through laudable ambition, for he has steadily worked his way upward, gaining success and winning the public confidence. His parents were Daniel W. and Mary A. (Neff) Kauffman, the former a native of Pennsylvania, and the latter of Dayton, Ohio. In the early days of 1849 the father joined the tide of emigration to the Golden state, but returned in 1852 and located at Muscatine and later at Des Moines, Iowa, where the birth of his son Horace occurred. His life's labors were ended in death in 1901, when he had reached the good old age of eighty-four years.

In the country schools of Iowa Horace M. Kauffman received the mental training which enabled him to begin life's battles, but at a very early age he was obliged to lay aside his text books and begin work on a cattle ranch. When he had reached the age of seventeen years he entered the law office of Lamb, Ricketts & Wilson, in Lincoln, Nebraska, where he diligently pursued his legal studies until his admission to the bar of Lincoln in 1886. During the following three and a half years Mr. Kauffmau was an employe of the Union Pacific Railroad Company, but prior to that time he had also engaged in the real estate business in Omaha, Nebraska. Coming to South Bend in 1893. he was tendered the important position of private secretary to Mr. Clem Studebaker, and after the death of that well-known financier he was made the secretary of the trustees of his estate. The world is not slow to pass judgment upon the individual, and when a man has won the high respect of those with whom business and social relations have brought him in contact it is by reason of his intrinsic honor and his worthy achievements. Condemnation comes quickly when merited, and esteem therefore indicates the possession of worthy qualities and characteristics.

The marriage of Mr. Kauffman occurred in 1892, when Dollie A. Harpster, of Omaha, became his wife. She is a daughter of David and Amanda (Redmond) Harpster. Mr. Kauffman affiliates fraternally with the Masonic order, Lodge No. 45, and with the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, and socially is a member of the Indiana Club. His religious connection is with St. Paul's Methodist Episcopal church.

Edward F. DuBail

Edward F. DuBail, occupying an enviable position in the business circles of South Bend, is connected with real estate, finance and loans, and is well known throughout St. Joseph county. A native son of this city, he was born on the 17th of November, 1867, his parents being Peter and Julia (Metzgar) DuBail, the latter a native of Ohio but of German descent. The father was a native of Alsace, Germany, but when only seventeen years of age he left his German home and came to the United States, and from that time until his twenty-fourth year was a resident of Louisville, Ohio. He then came to South Bend, where he was long known among its early and honored residents, his death occurring here in 1904, when he had reached the age of seventy years.

Edward F. DuBail, a son of this worthy couple, received his educational training in the St. Patrick school of South Bend, and after completing his studies he was engaged as a grocery clerk for eight years. On the expiration of that period he was enabled to enter into business life for himself, and from that time until 1892 wras the proprietor of a grocery store. Seeing the great possibilities open in the real estate field he decided to engage in the real estate and loan business, and in this field of endeavor has met with excellent and well-deserved success. He represents sixteen of the oldest insurance companies of the world, and in this special line he has done a very large business, it having amounted in the past year to eight hundred thousand dollars. Mr. DuBail has also laid out several additions, has erected eighty houses, and has now the pleasure of seeing the south end one of the most beautiful portions of the citv. lie is a firm believer in South Bend and its future, has done much toward its upbuilding and improvement, and the south end especially owes much to his industry and ability. Mr. DuBail is independent in his political affiliations, supporting the men whom he believes best fitted to fill the positions entrusted to their care. He has served on many city committees, is public spirited and progressive in all his ideas, and lends his influence to all measures which he believes useful to the majority.

In 1889 Mr. DuBail was married to Grace A., a daughter of David Bowman, who came to St. Joseph county, Indiana, in 1831, and was thereafter mimbered among its honored earlj' residents. They have one son, Donald E., who was born September 15, 1890. Mr. DuBail is a member of the Commercial and Athletic Clubs.

Samuel M. Robinson

Samuel M. Robinson. "We build the ladder by which we rise" is a truth which is certainly applicable to Samuel M. Robinson, for the high position he now occupies in the business world is not the outcome of propitious circumstances, but the honest reward of labor, good management, ambition and energy, without which no man can win prosperity. He was born in Berrien county, Michigan, April 2, 1862, a son of John and Mary (Shepley) Robinson, the former of whom was a native of Whitehall, Canada, and the latter of this country. The maternal grandfather was numbered among the honored early pioneers of St. Joseph county. The Robinson family is of French extraction, prominent and well-known in that country, where the name is spelled Robilliard. They, too, bore an important part in the early history of St. Joseph county, and one of their number served as the first commander of the fort at St. Joseph. Michigan. In the early '50s John Robinson established his home in St. Joseph county, Indiana, where he labored as a machinist, becoming a highly respected and valued citizen of his community, and his life's labors were ended in death in 1894, when he had reached the age of fifty-six years. His widow still survives him.

Samuel M. Robinson received his educational training in the Royalton school house in Berrien county, to which he was obliged to walk a distance of three miles, but being an industrious, determined lad he manfully pursued his course and embraced all the opportunities obtainable. When fourteen years of age he entered the employ of the well-known firm of George Wyman & Company, of South Bend, with whom he remained both as a boy and man for twenty-four years, gradually ascending the ladder of success until he became manager and a stockholder in the business. In 1900, however, he left that excellent position to embark in the real estate business, at that time forming a partnership with James B. Staley, and the firm of Staley & Robinson are now among the largest dealers in their line in northern Indiana. They have also opened up much desirable property in South Bend, notably the City View Place addition in the southern part of town, and the Robinson & Haughton Addition and La Salle Park in the western portion. They have bought and sold much valuable property, having but recently purchased the old Sand- age Steel Skein plant and organized the National Wire Bound Box Company, which promises to be one of the most successful institutions of the city. Mr. Robinson is president of the company, and he also has other valuable interests in the city. A man of forceful individuality, he has been steadily advancing until he now occupies an enviable position in the ranks of the business men of South Bend.

Mr. Robinson was united in marriage to Mary S. Sigerfoose, a native of Elkhart county, Indiana, and they have one son, Samuel B., who is a valued assistant to his father in business. Mr. Robinson is a member of the Maccabees, the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the order of Elks, and also has membership relations with the Commercial Athletic Club. The family affiliate with the Presbyterian church.

David Stover

David Stover, deceased. Since in its most intelligent form success is measured by the faculty of contributing to the well-being of humanity by the promotion of soundness in business ethics, politics, and the moral side of life, the career of David Stover must be regarded as of representative and singular importance in the history of St. Joseph county. He was connected with affairs of South Bend and vicinity for many years and until his labors ended in death, June 16, 1906. In scope his labors ascended from that of a route mail agent to that of a retired capitalist, diverging into the channels of politics and commercial pursuits. He was public- spirited, interested in everything that would tend to advance the interests of the commu- nitv in which he lived.

David Stover was born in Botetourt county, Virginia, January 19, 1816, and was there reared to man's estate and came from there to Indiana in early manhood. For a time he was employed by his brother, Mathias, at cabinet work, at South Bend, and later engaged in business for himself, and while still a young man entered the service of the United States as mail agent, and was one of the first, if not the first, railway mail agent between Toledo and Chicago, and continued eight years and then engaged in marble business at South Bend quite a number of years; then engaged in tea business a number of years; then sold to the Union Tea Company and removed to Vistula avenue, where he lived retired. He had been successful in business and after retiring from commercial pursuits his time was well occupied attending to his private affairs.

He was married in 1855, October 21, to Calista S. Hunt, born in Eden, Erie county, New York. Her father, Eddy Hunt, was born in New Jersey and there reared on a farm. When a young man he went to York state and bought a farm in Eden, and lived there a few years, then sold and engaged in the mercantile business in Eden. From there he moved to White Pigeon, Michigan,' and bought a section of land on the state line, and lived some years, when on account of sickness in the family he sold and started to return east. He stopped temporarily in Hillsdale county, where the mother of Mr. Stover died. He then went to Monroe, Michigan, and died there a few years later.

The maiden name of the mother of Mrs. Stover was Margaret Pound, and her father, the grandfather of Mrs. Stover, John Pound, was a native of Scotland, who on coming to America located first in New Jersey, and from there to Eden, New York, where he was a pioneer and where he died. His wife was Catherine Sharp. Mrs. Stover was very young when her parents died and she was thrown on her own resources. She apprenticed herself to a milliner, who taught her the commercial as well as the manufacturing part of the trade, and her employer soon sent her to Toledo to conduct a store there. At that time Toledo was but a village with two railroads. It was a very unhealthful place, and during her residence there she passed through two seasons of cholera, when at times there were not well ones to care for the sick. It was while she lived there she met and married Mr. Stover, who was many years her senior. After her marriage she removed her stock of goods to South Bend, where she conducted a nourishing business for many years.

Mr. Stover was a life-long Methodist, an interested worker, and filled various offices in the church. He was a Democrat all his life, and was a member of the city council for many years and fire policeman, was acting mayor some months in the absence of Mayor George, and for a time was an Odd Fellow.

Mrs. Stover in early life joined the Presbyterian church, and has always been an earnest advocate of its religious tenets. In fact, she has been active in all that tends to elevate humanity. A broad-minded woman who, while giving attention to her personal busi- nesvS affairs, has yet found opportunity to aid in the material progress, intellectual development and moral advancement of the community, realizing that not alone a man's but a woman's nature should grow along those lines. Mrs. Stover is a woman of not alone splendid business ability, as is shown by the record of her life, but of unimpeachable character, unswerving integrity and honor— who has a strong appreciation of the higher ethics of life, and in her pleasing personality has gained and retains the friendship and highest esteem of the entire community.

Albert H. Gushing

Albert H. Gushing. One of the straightforward, energetic and successful business men of South Bend, is Albert H. Gushing. He is public spirited and thoroughly interested in whatever tends to promote the moral, intellectual and material welfare of the city of his birth, for he is a native son of South Bend, his natal day being the seventh of April, 1865. His father, Albert G. Gushing, took up his abode within its borders in 1849, and was thereafter numbered among its prominent and useful citizens. Mrs. Gushing bore the maiden name of Martha Hine.

After completing his education in the public schools the son, Albert H. dishing, embarked in the cooperage business, but was afterward engaged in the drug trade. Since 1891, however, he has been extensively engaged in real-estate operations, in which he is associated with his father. Few men are more prominently or widely known in the business circles of South Bend than these gentlemen, and their popularity is well deserved.
In 1893 Mr. Albert Gushing was united in marriage to Miss Elizabeth Tutt, a daughter of Charles Tutt, one of the honored old residents of St. Joseph county.

W.P. Kelley

W. P. Kelley. The name of W. P. Kelley has been prominently associated with the business interests of St. Joseph county and South Bend for a number of years, and his whole career has been marked by signal integrity, justice and honor. He was born in Sullivan, Sullivan county, Indiana, on the nineteenth of October, 1862. the son of James Kelley, a native of Ohio, while the mother was a daughter of E. Rockwell, also a native of that state. After their marriage Mr. and Mrs. Kelley took up their abode in Sullivan, Indiana, where the father became well known as a merchant, and his death there occurred when his son was but five years of age. In 1870 the mother was again married, after which W. P. Kelley went to Terre Haute, Indiana, and became a student in its public schools. After completing his education he engaged in the fire insurance business in 1880, but in 1893 he removed to Indianapolis and in the following year came to South Bend, where he has ever since been engaged in the fire insurance business. His sound judgment, sagacity and unflagging energy have made him a valued factor of the department which he represents, and his reputation in trade circles has ever been unassailable, for he has exemplified in his dealings the old adage that honesty is the best policy. In politics he is an earnest Republican, an active worker in the ranks of his party, and he holds the office of treasurer of the Republican central committee.

On the twelfth of September, 1888. Mr. Kelley was united in marriage to Miss Ella M. Mitchell, a daughter of James Mitchell, of Indianapolis. Mr. Kelley holds membership relations with the Knights of Pythias and the Commercial Athletic club.

William L. Temple

William L. Temple. Mr. Temple is truly a self-made man, and from the study of his life one may learn valuable lessons. Depending upon his own resources from the early age of eleven years, he has by sheer force of will and untiring effort worked his way upward until he now occupies a leading place among the business men of South Bend, for as president of the Temple & Shaw Cigar Manufacturing Company he is well and favorably known. lie traces his ancestry to the mother country of England, the birth place of his great-grandfather, while his grandfather, Caleb Temple, was a native of the commonwealth which cradled so much of our national history, the Old Dominion of Virginia. His son and the father of him whose name introduces this review, William L. Temple, was a native of Crawford county, Indiana, where he was well known as a mer- . chant and leading politician, and for a number of years he held the position of county clerk. His death occurred when he had reached the age of seventy-five years. He was united in marriage to Martha Sanders, a native of Georgia, and in their family were ten children, nine daughters and one son.

William L. Temple, the only son and the youngest child of the family, is also a native of Crawford county, Indiana, where he was born on the fifteenth of January, 1858, and there he was reared and received his limited educational training. At the early age of eleven years he started out alone to battle with the world, for three years working in the county treasurer's office. On the expiration of that period he came west to Lincoln, Nebraska, where at the early age of fourteen years he became guard in the penitentiary, remaining there for two years, and at the end of that time he was serving as the warden's private secretary. Returning thence to Leav- enworth, Indiana, he became deputy clerk of Crawford county, and on the expiration of his four years' term in that position he was elected the county auditor of the county, being then but twenty-one years of age and the youngest county official in the entire state of Indiana. Despite his years, however, the duties of the office were discharged with a promptness and fidelity worthy of all commendation for four years, and at its close he entered upon the duties of a traveling salesman, thus continuing for the long period of twenty-one years, and during that time he traveled throughout every state in the Union selling cigars. It was in the year 1891 that he came to South Bend and organized the firm of Temple, Hummel & Ellis, cigar manufacturers, which later became Temple & Ellis and subsequently was changed to its present form of Temple & Shaw, one of the largest cigar manufacturing companies in this section of the state, their manufactory being located at 301 South Carroll street. They began operations with thirty employes, but as their business continued to grow they expanded their facilities and now 350 competent operatives are given employment, with three men on the road, and their product is sent throughout every part of the United States.

In 1879 Mr. Temple was united in marriage to Mary Scott, a daughter of A. M. and Sarah (Clark) Scott, of Lea veil worth, Crawford county. Indiana, where their daughter was born and reared. To this union has been born two children, a daughter and a son,— Ethel Loraine, the wife of Horace T. Reynolds, of South Bend, and William L., Jr., attending the Culver Military academy. Mr. Temple gives his political support to the Democracy, and is a prominent member of the Masonic order, being a Thirty-second degree Mason and a Shriner. He is also a member of the Odd Fellows order in Leavenworth, Indiana, of the Elks of South Bend, and is a member of all the leading city clubs.

W.B. Schaefer

W. B. Schaefer. Conspicuous in the roll of names of the younger men who have been successful in the business circles of St. Joseph county is that of W. B. Schaefer, who is extensively engaged in the lumber business in South Bend. He was born in Pierceton, Indiana, on the fifth of November, 1874. His father, William R. Schaefer, was a native of German, but when a young man about twenty-one years of age came to the United States and made his way to Indiana, residing in Goshen for a number of years thereafter. He then removed to Pierceton of that state and engaged in the mercantile business, but is now living retired from the active duties and cares of life, enjoying the fruits of years of toil in the past, but he still maintains his home in Pierceton. His wife bore the maiden name of Sarah J. Ruch, and was a native of Ohio.

W. B. Schaefer completed his education in the high school of Pierceton, in which he graduated in 1893, and immediately thereafter he entered upon a clerkship in a store in Elkhart. A few years afterward he came to South Bend, this being in 1897, and again assumed a clerical position, with the Martin & Page Lumber Company, where he laid the foundation for his future life work, for in 1901 he embarked in the wholesale lumber business for himself, with offices in the Dean building. He has attained a high degree of success in his business venture, and is recognized as a young man of energy, enterprise and ambition. His trade extends over northern Indiana and southern Michigan and is constantly increasing, for his business methods are honorable and above reproach.

Mr. Schaefer is a member of the Grace Methodist Episcopal church and of the Young Men's Christian Association, of which he is secretary of the board of directors.

Milton Barmore Pine

Milton Barmore Pine. Milton B. Pine, occupying an enviable position with the Singer Sewing Machine Company of South Bend, was born in this city on the twenty-first of April. 1873, a son of Leighton Pine, whose sketch will be found elsewhere in this work. After completing his education in the schools of South Bend Milton B. decided to enter the dental profession, and accordingly spent two years in the office of Dr. Conklin, of this city, lie then went to Chicago and entered the Chicago College of Dental Surgery, in which he was graduated in 1894, but owing to the excellent training he had received while with Dr. Conklin within one year and a half after entering college he was granted by the State Board of Dental Examiners a license to practice, and he opened an office while attending college. The Doctor was engaged in practice in Chicago until 1902, when he returned to South Bend and in March of the following year assumed charge of the works of the Singer Sewing Machine Company at Cairo, Illinois, and South Bend, while in 1904 he was officially installed as manager of the works in both cities. Dr. Pine was not brought into this company by his father, but for several years they had repeatedly urged him to join them, and at last he determined to abandon his profession and accept their offer. His excellent business ability has won him a high position in this large corporation, and South Bend numbers him among her prominent young business men.

On the ninth of February, 1904, Dr. Pine was united in marriage to Miss Garnett M. Hupp, of South Bend. The Doctor is a member of the Chicago South Shore Country club, the Chicago Automobile club, the Chicago Athletic club and the Chicago Yacht club. He is an enthusiastic automobilist, having owned the first steam oar in Chicago and was one of the organizers of the Chicago Automobile club. A young man of vigor, and like his father, an able organizer, he fills his important position with satisfaction to all.

Joseph A. Werwinski

Joseph A. Werwinski. Mr. Werwinski is distinctly the architect of his own fortunes, and as the record of a young man it is one of which he may well be proud. He has gained a most brilliant success, a just reward of meritorious, honorable effort, which commands the respect and admiration of all. He is a native son of South Bend, born on the fourteenth of January, 1882, a son of Michael and Amelia (Kaiser) Werwinski, the former having been born across the water in Europe, while the latter was born in Laporte county, Indiana. When a young man the father came to South Bend and engaged in the grocery business, thus continuing until his death in 1889. at the early age of thirty-six years. The mother still resides in South Bend.

Their son Joseph attended the parochial schools of South Bend, also the normal school at Valparaiso and the South Bend Commercial College, remaining in the last named institution for five years, thus receiving an excellent educational training. For a short time thereafter he clerked in a grocery store, and was also deputy township trustee under James D. Reid for one and a half years, and then for the following two years taught in the public schools in Crumstown, St. Joseph county. Indiana. He then secured a position with the real estate firm of Staley & Robinson, with whom he remained for three years, and on the first of January, 1905, he embarked in that business for himself on Chapin and Divison streets. His first venture in this business, however, was at the age of twenty- one years when he bought one acre of ground, naming it Werwinski, which he subdivided and built upon, making a success of this venture. He is now handling one of the largest tracts of land in St. Joseph county, consisting of thirteen hundred and twenty-six lots belonging to the Clement Studebaker estate, which is known as Summit Place addition and is located south and west from the Singer Manufacturing Company. Mr. Werwinski has practically built up the west end, a remarkable feat for so young a man. Out of four hundred and twenty lots in the first and second additions there have been built about three hundred houses, while in the third addition he has up to the present time sold over three hundred lots, twelve of which were to be used for a Polish church and school, facing on Ohio street. On the Summit addition cement walks and curbings have been built. He has recently purchased for a syndicate, composed of Horace M. Kauffman. himself and a few other local business men, the Kauffman place addition, consisting of one hundred and thirty-three lots in the most prosperous part of the city, within two hundred feet of Michigan avenue, and one of the streets is named Werwinski in honor of our subject. Mr. Werwinski is part owner of this addition, and is also vice-president of the Kosciusko Building & Loan Association, one of the largest corporations of its kind in South Bend. He is a Republican in his political views, and is second vice-president of the county Republican central committee. Fraternally he affiliates with the Knights of Columbus, the order of Owls and the Elks, and is a member of the Polish Turners, the Polish National Alliance of America and the Local Real Estate Board. His is a remarkable career for so young a man. He was left without a father when a mere boy, and alone and unaided has worked his way upward to the high position he now occupies.

Emanuel R. Wills

Emanuel R. Wills, of South Bend, is too well known to the citizens of this community to need any introduction to the readers of this volume. He is a prominent factor in the industrial and political life of St. Joseph county, and both his public and private record is one of which he has every reason to be proud. The place of his nativity was York county, Pennsylvania, where he was born on the first of October, 1840, a son of Lewis and Magdeline (Fleshman) Wills, natives also of that commonwealth.

Emanuel R. Wills grew to manhood on his father's farm, being occupied in the labors incident to the clearing and cultivation of the homestead. In 1865 he came to South Bend, and for a time thereafter clerked in a dry- goods store, while later he was engaged in the grocery business for himself. In 1882, without any solicitation on his part, he was chosen arid elected city treasurer, the duties of which he discharged with promptness and fidelity worthy of all commendation for two years, and on the expiration of that period he was made the treasurer of St. Joseph county. At the following election he was returned to that position, thus showing how efficiently he had discharged the obligations resting upon him. In 1891 Mr. Wills was elected the county assessor, and was as equally successful in that office, while at the present time he is engaged in the fire insurance and real estate Imsiness in St. Joseph county. He has earned for himself an enviable reputation as a careful man of business, always known for his prompt and honorable methods of dealing, which have won him the deserved and unbounded confidence of his fellow men. In 1874 was celebrated the marriage of Mr. Wills and Miss Margaret Coquillard, she being a daughter of Benjamin and Sophia Coquillard, of South Bend, and they have four children—Leo J., Edmund A., Florentine M. and Adele M.

George Goetz

George Goetz. The late George Goetz, a well known merchant of South Bend and for years engaged in the wood and coal business, was born in Baden, Germany, March 24, 1844. His father, Adam Goetz, was a farmer of Germany, where he married Catherine Karle, also a native of Baden. They had one child and the father died before George was born, the widow coming to America when he was an infant of six months. The mother and her two children settled in New York, and she was again married to Peter Toep, who, although a German, was born under the French flag. Mr. Toep had come to the United States when he was twenty-one years of age, and by his marriage to Mrs. Adam Goetz he became the father of three sons and three daughters: William, Katherine (deceased), Henry, Elizabeth. Frank and Minnie.

In 1880 Mr. Toep located with his family in South Bend, and during the first year of his residence there was engaged in the dry goods business. Subsequently he was in the coal and wood business, for a portion of the time with George Goetz, and still later formed a partnership with his son Frank in the jewelry line. He died in 1906, highly respected as a merchant and a man.

George Goetz was married, in 1871, to Miss Catherine Mayer, at Rome, New York. His wife and widow was born in Bavaria, Germany. December 11, 1847. the daughter of Leonard and Catherine (Miller) Mayer, also both Bavarians. The father was a farmer, and had a family of six children, Mrs. Goetz being the only one of the children who eame to America. In 1880 Mr. and Mrs. Goetz became residents of St. Joseph county, the husband working for the first year there as superintendent of the shipping department of the Singer Sewing Machine Company. Later he engaged in the coal and wood business. In 1890 he went into the post office as stamp clerk, retired from active work in 1894 and died in 1906. Of the family of eight sons and two daughters three of the former are deceased, the children in the order of their birth being as follows: George Peter, William (deceased), Frank (deceased), Joseph. Minnie, Edward, Katherine, Frederick, Arthur and John (deceased). The children were all reared and schooled in South Bend, and have proved a credit to themselves and their parents.

In politics Mr. Goetz was a Democrat. He was a faithful and active member of St. Mary's Catholic church, and in every relation of life a man of probity and reliability. His widow is now classed among the old residents of South Bend, and a substantial factor in its best progress.

Gareiel R. Summers

Gabriel R. Summers. Among the representative citizens of St. Joseph county, esteemed alike for his sterling worth of character and his activity in the business world is Gabriel R. Summers, a resident of South Bend. He was born in Laporte county. Indiana, on the thirteenth of March, 1857, a son of Edward Summers, whose birth occurred in Ireland. During his early manhood, however, he came to the United States, and after one year spent in Virginia went to Laporte and entered the service of the Drullinger family, one of the oldest and best known in that section of the state. He afterwards married Miss Catherine Drullinger, and his death occurred in Clay township, St, Joseph county, Indiana, in 1880, when he had reached the fifty-sixth milestone on the journey of life.

Gabriel R. Summers received an excellent education at Notre Dame University, in which he was graduated in 1873, and after leaving that institution he lived on a farm until he purchased the Jennings place adjoining the old homestead in 1880. which he still owns and operates. In addition to carrying on the work of the farm Mr. Summers has also dealt heavily in real estate, having been very successful in this line of endeavor, and he has handled some of the most valuable real estate in the county, being the owner of much land at the present time. In 1895 he organized the Vanderhoof Company, manufacturers of proprietary medicines, of which he is now the sole owner, and in 1894 he became president of the South Bend Iron Bed Company, one of the most successful enterprises of its kind in this section of the state. Thus for many years Mr. Summers has been an active factor in the industrial interests of St. Joseph county, and through his diligence, perseverance and business ability has acquired a handsome competence, while at the same time he has also contributed to the general prosperity through the conduct of large enterprises.

In 1880 Mr. Summers was married to Miss Mercy Ann Longley, a daughter of Andrew and Mary (Rupel) Longley, of St. Joseph county. One daughter has blessed their home, Alice, who was born on the seventeenth of August, 1893. Mr. Summers has fraternal affiliations with the order of Elks, the Royal Arcanum, the Foresters and the Maccabees,' and he is also a member of the Commercial Athletic club.

John Gallagher

John Gallagher. After a long and successful business career John Gallagher is now living a retired life in South Bend, his pleasant residence being located at 319 Colfax avenue. His birth occurred in the city of Burlington, Vermont, September 3, 1830, but to the Emerald Isle must we turn for the early ancestral history of the family. His father, Patrick Gallagher, was born in Ireland, and in that country was married to Ellen Giblin, but shortly afterward, in 1824, the young couple set sail for America, journeying first to Canada, thence to Burlington, Vermont, and finally to Canton, Stark county, Ohio, in 1836. where the husband spent the remainder of his life and died in 1842. The wife and mother survived until eighty-nine years of age, dying in Massillon, Ohio. They became the parents of six children, two sons and four daughters, all of whom grew to years of maturity, but only two are now living, the daughter being Rose Kersy, of Illinois.

John Gallagher, the third child and second son in order of birth in the family, was taken from his native city of Burlington, Vermont, to Canton, Ohio, by his parents when only six years old, there attaining to years of maturity and receiving his education in its public schools. In 1843 he began the tailor's trade, and six years later, in 1849, removed to Lewisville, Ohio, to engage in that occupation for himself, while in 1853 he came to South Bend. In this city he established a merchant tailoring business, which he carried on successfuly until 1904, covering a period of fifty-two years, and thus at that time was the oldest merchant in South Bend.

November 22, 1852, Mr. Gallagher was united in marriage to Jemima Vanderhoof, a native of Summit county, Ohio, and their union resulted in the birth of seven children, but the only two now living are Florence Decker, of South Bend, and Charles C., a practicing physician of Marietta, Ohio. The wife and mother has long since passed away, and in February, 1879, Mr. Gallagher married Rachel Rush, whose death occurred in September, 1905. He votes with the Democratic party, and as its representative served as one of the first trustees of South Bend.

During the long period of fifty years he has been associated with the Odd Fellows fraternity, being at the present time the oldest member of South Bend Lodge, No. 29, while he is also the only surviving charter member of the Masonic order of this city, in which he has attained the Knight Templar degree. He has passed the Psalmist's span of three score years and ten, and now, as he journeys down the western slope of life, he is resting from arduous cares, in the midst of friends who esteem him for his honorable record and his many commendable characteristics.

Virginius Nicar

Virginius Nicar, who is numbered among the leading business men of South Bend and St. Joseph county, was born in Mishawaka on the first of November, 1841, his father being Robert B. Nicar, a native of Lynch- burg, Virginia, and a millwright by trade. He came to Mishawaka, St. Joseph county, Indiana, in the thirties, and was thereafter prominently identified with the history of this locality. He served as the treasurer of St. Joseph county from 1851 until 1857, and in many other ways was identified with the public life of the county of his adoption. From the date of his retirement from the treasurer's office in 1857 until his death in 1865, at the age of sixty-three years, he was engaged in the hardware business. In his life he exemplified the beneficient principles of the Masonic order, while politically he was a staunch Republican from the time of the organization of that party until his death, and previous to that time was a Whig, having left the south on account of his hatred of slavery. For his wife Mr. Nicar chose Mary E. Lewellyn, a native of Lynchburg, Virginia, where she was also reared, and her mother was a first cousin of William Henry Harrison. Her death occurred in St. Joseph county in 1880, aged seventy-one years. In the family of this worthy pioneer couple were nine children, all but two of whom grew to years of maturity.

Virginius Nicar, the youngest of the family, remained in his native city of Mishawaka until ten years of age, when he came with his parents to South Bend and continued his education in the public schools of this city, also attending the Hillsdale college. On the completion of his education he learned the tinner's trade, and was thereafter employed in his father's hardware store until the later's death, when he assumed the control of the business in company with his brother, Captain Edward Nicar and brother-in-law, Dvvyght Deming. Mr. Nicar subsequently withdrew from tne firm and engaged in the hardware busines for himself in this city, thus continuing until he sold his interests in 1875 and turned his attention to market gardening and general farming, also becoming purchasing agent for the Birdsell Manufacturing Company of South Bend, having entire charge of their buying for four years. At the close of that period he engaged in the real estate business, which he now conducts in connection with a fruit ranch one and a half miles south of Spring Brook, and which is one of the finest properties of its kind in the state of Indiana. It consists of a tract of thirty acres, planted to many varieties of fruit, and its product has received more first premiums than that of any other farm in the state. Mr. Nicar is also connected with the Indianapolis, Logansport & South Bend Railroad Company, of which he is one of the stockholders and directors, and at one time was treasurer of the company.

In 1865 Mr. Nicar was united in marriage to Mary Taylor, the daughter of the late Colonel L. M. Taylor, the founder of South Bend, where his daughter was born on the twenty-fourth of May. 1844. and was educated in its public schools and St. Mary's seminary. The only child of this marriage is a son. Robert L.. of Seattle, Washington. Mr. Nicar has given lifelong support to the Republican party, always active in its work, and for five years served as the assessor of Union township. He is president of the St. Joseph County Horticultural society and a member of the Grange. Sixty-five years have passed and gone since Mr. Nicar became identified with the interests of St. Joseph county, and fifty-five years of that time ha.ve been spent in South Bend, years devoted to the improvement and upbuilding of its many interests. He has been a traveler throughout his life, visiting nearly all sections of the United States, and thus gaining that extensive information which only travel can bring.

Earl R. Perrin

Earl R. Perrin is numbered among the enterprising young business men of St. Joseph county. A community depends upon commercial activity, its welfare is due to this, and its promoters of extensive business enterprises may well be termed its benefactors. Mr. Perrin was born in Lena, Illinois. September 13, 1870, a son of Noah and Rosannah (Henderson) Perrin, the former a native of Pottsdam, New York, and the latter of Brock- ville, Ontario. In 1854 the father removed to Illinois, where he taught school and had charge of the construction work on the Illinois Central Railroad. He later embarked in the grain trade, purchasing the first grain ever brought into Lena. A number of years ago he retired from the active cares of a business life, and he now spends much of his time in traveling. His wife died in 1894, at the age of sixty-four years.

Earl R. Perrin, one of their nine children, three of whom are now living, received his educational training in the public schools of Lena, Illinois. For several years after laying aside his text books he was engaged in the advertising business. Since 1896 he has been a resident of South Bend, and during a year and a half of the early period of his residence here he was engaged in the study of law, and although he did not continue in the profession he obtained a knowledge of its fundamental principles which proved useful to him in his subsequent business career. In 1900 he embarked in the real estate business, first conducting operations in partnership with Daniel Gise, but in February, 1904, he purchased his partner's interest and has since been alone. He has contributed much toward the development of his adopted city and county. Among other work he laid out and developed the Battell Second Park Addition of Mishawaka, and also built for five blocks a boulevard eighty feet wide, with beautiful flower plots at the intersections of the streets. This was the first step toward the long proposed idea of building a boulevard from Mishawaka to South Bend. In South Bend Mr. Perrin is also interested in the Bowman addition and other enterprises for the improvement of the city. He also represents the Continental Fire Insurance Company of New York.

On the first of January. 1900, Mr. Perrin was united in marriage to Miss Mae Humes, a daughter of John and Loranna (Tipton) Humes, of St. Joseph county. Mr. Perrin holds membership relations with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and is depart-
meat commander of Indiana for the Patriarchs Militant, the uniformed branch of the order. He also holds membership in several other fraternal societies.

John Beyrer

John Beyrer, a prosperous real estate dealer of South Bend, is of that substantial and invaluable German stock which combines unfailing industry and broad common sense with native shrewdness and business ability. He is a native of the Fatherland, born November 22, 1850, to Jacob and Barbara (Greiner) Beyrer, who brought him when an infant of six months to America, and settled with their family on a farm in Berrien county, Michigan. On this homestead he developed to manhood, working on the farm and attending the district schools of his neighborhood, thus assisting his father and himself until he had reached the age of twenty-six year. He then purchased a thirty-acre farm in German township, two and a half miles northwest of South Bend, married and there established a home of his own.

For eight years after settling in German township Mr. Beyrer carried on an extensive dairy business, disposing of his product mostly in South Bend, afterwards contracting for gravel which he obtained from immense deposits in his land. For five years he supplied the gravel for roofing for the Ford Roofing Company of Chicago, has graveled twenty-one acres of roofing for the Oliver Chilled Plow Works and nearly as much for the Studebaker Brothers Manufacturing Company, which are fair illustrations of the magnitude of the business which he conducts in this line. In former years he devoted some of his time to the real estate business, but is now devoting his time to his roofing business with his sons.

On the eleventh of October, 1877, Mr. Beyrer was married to Miss Flora E. Miller, who was born in Warren township, this county, September 25, 1856. and is a daughter of James R. and Amanda E. (Ritter) Miller. Their four children were' born: J. Lloyd, August 11, 1878; James R., December 16, 1881; Ada, June 10, 1886, and Mary L., in December. 1890. Mrs. Beyrer is a worthy member of the Methodist Episcopal church. Her husband is a good citizen and man, and a warm practical supporter of worthy projects. Politically he is a Republican, and an active and influential local factor of the party. He has been a member of the Masonic fraternity and Odd Fellows order for the best part of his life, and is also a member of other fraternal organizations. Altogether he is a man and citizen who is a credit to himself, his nationality and the community in which he has faithfully labored for so many years.

E.A. Schiffer

E. A. Schiffer. Numbered among the younger but prominent business men of South Bend is E. A. Schiffer, who is the proprietor of one of its leading drug houses, located at 527 East Jefferson street. South Bend also claims him among her native sons, his birth here occurring on the tenth of August, 1876, a son of E. A. and Augusta (Tesmer) Schiffer, both natives of Germany. Mr. E. A. Schirt'er was numbered among this city's earliest residents, where he was engaged as a florist for a number of years, and his death occurred at the comparatively early age of thirty-two years. His widow is yet living, and is now the wife of August Kuss.

South Bend has continued as the home of E. A. Schiffer throughout his entire life, his educational training having been received in its public schools, and he is also a graduate in pharmacy. When twenty-one years of age he engaged in the drug business at his present stand. Gradually he has ascended the ladder of success, his business constantly growing in volume and importance, and the city now numbers him among her substantial business men.

In 1899 was celebrated the marriage of Mr. Schiffer and Miss Grace May Arris, her father having been the late John Arris, whose name is so well known throughout South Bend, where he was one of its leading politicians. For eleven years Mr. Schiffer has held membership relations with the Knights of the Maccabees, and his political affiliations are with the Democratic party. He is an earnest worker and a valued member of the Trinity Presbyterian church, in which he is serving as trustee and secretary, and in all the varied relations of life he is proving himself a worthy factor.

C.A. Dolph

C. A. Dolph. Occupying an enviable position in the business circles of South Bend, C. A. Dolph is honored and respected by all, not- alone on account of the success he has achieved, but also by reason of the honorable, straightforward business policy he has ever followed. He was born in Hillsdale county, Michigan, on the 27th of August. 1862, a son of Joseph M. and Cordelia (Cox) Dolph, both natives of the state of New York. The father was born in Rochester, that state, July 1, 1835, his parents being Obed and Elects. (Lewis) Dolph. His educational training was received in the schools of his native state, and during his boyhood days he moved with his parents and family to Ithaca, New York, where he resumed his studies. In 1848 the family home was established in Michigan, and young Joseph engaged in cabinet-making and the undertaking business, and his efforts have ever since been directed along that line. In 1892 he came to South Bend to join his son in the furniture business. On the 24th of February, 1864, Mr. Dolph enlisted for service in the Civil war, becoming a member of the second company of Sharpshooters attached to the Twenty-seventh Michigan infantry. He participated in the battles of the Wilderness and Spottsylvania Court House, in the latter of which he was wounded and was discharged on the 18th of August, 1865. He now makes his home in South Bend, and is a member of Auten Post, No. 8, G. A. R., in which he maintains pleasant relations with his old army comrades.

Charles A. Dolph came to South Bend in 1892 and organized the extensive furniture business of which he is now the proprietor. In 1903 he assisted in organizing the South Bend Brick Company and he is the treasurer of the company and also a director. This company turns out over ten million brick a year and is an industry of importance in this section of the state. He is a director and vice- president of the Merchants National bank, and is a director and one of the original incor- porators of the Home Improvement Company, which made Navarre Place one of the most beautiful home sights in the state of Indiana. In 1882 Mr. Dolph was united in marriage to Miss Jennie Snyder, a daughter of Philip and Betsey (Snider) Snyder. One son, Frank, has been born to this union, a promising young man now serving as assistant in his father's business. Another son. Bertie, died in 1894, at the age of nine years. The family are members of the Methodist Episcopal church, and Mr. Dolph also has membership relations with the Commercial Athletic club.

W.R. Phillips

W. R. Phillips. In the business circles of South Bend Mr. W. R. Phillips has become an important factor through his connection with the coal and wood trade, and as a member of the firm of Kanouse & Phillips he is well known in its industrial interests. His birth ocurred in Center township of St. Joseph county April 29, 1859, a son of Randolph

Phillips, who claimed Virginia as the commonwealth of his nativity, and he was there reared to years of maturity. He was also married to one of its native daughters, Lucy Ann Storer, and they became early settlers of St. Joseph county, Indiana, and the parents of four sons, one of whom died when young.

W. R. Phillips, the youngest in order of birth of the four sons, attained to years of maturity in his native township of Center, attending its public schools during his early boyhood days, and after reaching a suitable age engaged in the tilling of the soil. For some time he was also employed as a house painter, and in 1888 he embarked in the coal and wood business in company with Mr. Kanouse, this business relationship continuing to the present time. They conduct both a wholesale and retail trade, with offices at 540 South Chapen street, and they are among the leaders in their line in South Bend, and are numbered among the city's valued and useful residents.

In Paris, Illinois, in 1885, Mr. Phillips was united in marriage to Rosella Green, who died leaving one son, Ralph, a resident of Pitts- burg, Pennsylvania. In 1900, Mr. Phillips wedded Anna Clingman, and their only child, Helen, is now six years of age. Mr. Phillips has been a lifelong resident of St. Joseph county, and since age conferred upon him the right of franchise he has supported the principles of the Democratic party. He has earned for himself an enviable reputation as a man of business, and his honorable methods of dealing haye won him the unbounded confidence of his fellow citizens.

J.E. Williams

J. E. Williams is a worthy representative of the business interests of South Bend, and possesses that progressive spirit which, undeterred by seeming obstacles or disadvantages, steadily presses forward to a desired end and accomplishes the result in view. Throughout his entire life he has been a resident of St. Joseph county, his birth having occurred within its borders in North Liberty on the llth of August. J852. The paternal family has long been established in the United States, and is traced back to Thomas Williams, who came from the mother country of England in 1777 and planted the family home on American shores. He was of Welsh descent. The grandfather of our subject, George Williams, was born in Harpswell, Maine, August 3, 1777, and was married to Mabel Litchfield. of South Lewiston. that
slate. Their son, Sumner G. Williams, was born in Durham, Maine, December 20, 1813, and as early as 1836 he came to Indiana, locating in North Liberty, where he was engaged as a farmer and carpenter until he retired from the active duties of a business life and established his home in South Bend in 1874. His death occurred on the 23d of April, 1894. In his early manhood Mr. Williams married Ann Wood, who was born on Staten Island, New York, of French descent. She was in her eighty-fourth year when death claimed her, and had been the mother of twelve children, only three of whom are now living: W. S., who is now engaged in business with his brother J. E., and Mabel, the wife of Jacob Reamer, of South Bend.

J. E. Williams remained on the home farm in St. Joseph county until he came to South Bend in 1874, purchasing the grocery store of J. W. Buffman, the business being carried on under the firm name of Reamer & Williams until Mr. Williams purchased his partner's interest in 1888. Remaining alone from that time until 1897, his brother, W. S. Williams, then became a member of the firm, which is now known as Williams & Brother. South Bend has long placed this institution at the forefront of her business interests, and the house enjoys a large and representative trade.

In 1877 Mr. Williams was united in marriage to Anna, the youngest daughter of Col. N'orman Eddy, of South Bend, and they have three children, Owen, of Mishawaka; Eugene, at home; and Bertha, the wife of Harold E. Herr, of South Bend. To Mr. Williams belongs the honor of being the second oldest grocery merchant in point of years of continuous service in South Bend, his connection with the trade continuing during the long period of thirty-four years, while during that time there has been no shadow of wrong or injustice to mar his career. At one time he represented the third ward in the city council, and for one term served as a member of the city council, the cause of education ever finding in him a warm friend. His fraternal relations are with the Masonic order. Having spent his entire life in St. Joseph county, Mr. Williams is very widely known, and his extensive circle of friends and the warm regard in which he is held indicate his upright and honorable life.

Jacob Kirsch

Jacob P. T. Kirsch. For many years Mr. Kirsch has occupied a very conspicuous place among the leading business men of South Bend. As the manager of the South Bend Mercantile Company, he is prominently connected with its commercial interests, and through the channels of trade has contributed not alone to his individual prosperity but to the welfare of others as well. His birth occurred in Friedheim, Adams county, Indiana. July 10, 1869. His father, Charles Kirsch. was a native son of the fatherland, born in Baden, Germany, but when eighteen years of age he came to America. In Indiana he was married to Margaret Kiefer, who was born in Adams county, that state, of German descent. They became the parents of nine children, seven of whom grew to years of maturity.

Jacob P. T. Kirsch, the sixth child and second son in order of birth, spent the early years of his life in his native place, receiving his higher education in Addison Seminary, of Addison, Illinois, where for five years he pursued the teacher's course. Thus with this excellent educational training to serve as the foundation for his future life work he entered the teacher's profession, spending about two years in Pekin, Illinois, and aibout seven years in South Bend, he having taken up his abode in this city in 1880. About 1887 he abandoned the professional for a business career, embarking in the general mercantile order and advertising business, and on the 19th of June, 1906. he organized the South Bend Mercantile Company, of which he was made the secretary and manager. The company sells all kinds of merchandise by mail. By his able management of finances, Mr. Kirsch has succeeded in placing it upon a substantial and paying basis, and is making it one of the leading mercantile interests of the city. He is also the secretary and treasurer of the South Bend Advertising Agency.

Mr. Kirsch was first married to Anna Knoll, by whom he had one child, Hulda, while by his second marriage, to Lizetta Hans, he has become the father of four children, Renata, Oswald, Genevieve and Aletha. Mr. Kirsch is an active and valued member of St. Paul's Evangelical Lutheran church, in which he is completing his third term of three years as one of its deacons, and for seven years he has also served as a teacher in its parochial school. In this city, where they have so long been citizens, the family are held in the highest regard by their innumerable friends.

Hilton Hammond

Hilton Hammond. The name of Hilton Hammond occupies a high place in the business circles of St. Joseph county, being well known in connection with contracting and real estate, and the success he has achieved is the result of enterprise and his own unaided efforts. He was born on a farm m Bartholomew county, Indiana, near Columbus, October 1, I860, his father being Joseph Hammond and a native of Switzerland county of this state, but was reared in Cincinnati. In 1863 he moved west to Hastings, Minnesota, where he continued his occupation of contracting, for he too was well known as a contractor and builder, and his death occurred in Kansas City, Missouri, January 1, 1893, when he had reached the age of seventy- three years. lie was of English descent, as was also his wife, nee Minerva Hilton, a native of Cincinnati, Ohio, where she was reared and educated. Her father, John Hilton, taught the first public school in that city, continuing in the profession for forty years, and his labors were effective in raising the standard of the schools with which he was connected. During the Civil war he served as scout for General Harrison. Mrs. Hammond passed away in death in 1892, aged sixty-eight years, the mother of eleven children, seven of whom grew to years of maturity.

Hilton Hammond, the sixth child and fifth son in order of birth, began in the contracting business with his father when only thirteen years of age, and two years later, at the early age of fifteen, he started out in the world to battle for himself, traveling over the country as a journeyman until his arrival in South Bend in 1888, coming hither from Chicago and associating himself with the well known contractor, Mr. Werst. Severing his connection with that gentleman six years later, he entered the contracting field for himself, and many of the finest buildings which now adorn St. Joseph county stand as monuments to his ability, among which may be mentioned the Jefferson building, several of the Singer manufacturing buildings, the Masonic Temple, Places Hall on Lafayette street, and he now has in course of construction the Y. W. C. A. building. Mr. Hammond is also extensively interested in real estate in St. Joseph county, where he owns and handles much valuable property. He today ranks among the leading men of finance in his adopted county, and although a young man his creditable life work has won him the respect and commendation of all who are familiar with his history.

In 1884 Mr. Hammond was married to Reese Bailey, the daughter of Elisha Bailey, and their only child is a daughter, Edith, the wife of A. C. Mecklenburg, a manufacturer of gasoline engines in South Bend. Mr. Hammond is a prominent member of the Masonic order, having reached the Knight Templar degree, and in his political affiliations he upholds the principles of the Democracy.

Fred T. Kemble

Fred T. Kemble may well be termed one of the representative business men of South Bend, as well as one of its most highly respected and esteemed citizens. He is an honored veteran of the war of the rebellion, and his bravery aided in no small way the cause for which he victoriously fought. He was born in Burlington county, New Jersey, December 13, 1843. His father, John Kemble, also a native of that commonwealth, became a resident of South Bend on the 3d of June. 1853. where he engaged in farming, saw-milling and the distillery business. He was quite an old man at the time he established his home in this city, and he was the father of twelve children, of whom his son Fred was the youngest in order of birth and was nine years of age when he accompanied his father to South Bend. In 1861 he offered his service to his country's cause, enlisting in Company E, Forty-eighth Indiana Volunteer Infantry, and after three years of service re-enlisted in the same company and regiment and was mastered out as first duty sergeant on the 17th of July, 1865, his military career having: covered a period of four years. During that time he participated in many of the historic battles of the war, including those of Corinth, Raymond, Jackson, Champion Hill, siege of Vicksburg, the Atlanta campaign and the march of Sherman to the sea and finally took part in the grand review at Washington. Although often in the thickest of the fight he was never wounded or in the hospital, and his military career is one of which he may justly be proud.

Arriving at his home on the 25th of July, 1865, Mr. Keinble began at once to learn the mason's trade, which he has mastered in every detail, and in 1869 he began contracting in masonry work. Gradually he has forged to the front in his chosen line of endeavor, and has long been recognized among the leading mason contractors in St. Joseph county, many of its large buildings being the result of his handiwork, including the city library and the county jail and many of the residences of South Bend.

The first marriage of Mr. Kemble was celebrated in 1866, when Anna Matlock became his wife, and after her death he married Dr. Lorena Duch in 1873. She was born near Akron, in Stark county, Ohio, November 29, 1848, and when but five years old was brought by her parents to South Bend, where she received her literary education, and her medical training was received under the precep- torship of Dr. William Buchel. In 1876 she entered upon the active practice of her chosen profession, which she has continued during the long period of thirty years in South Bend, where she has become widely known both professionally and socially and is enjoying a large and representative practice. She speaks several languages, including" the Polish, Hungarian. German, French and English. Mr. Kemble is a member of Auten Post No. 8, G. A. R., in which he has filled all the chairs with the exception of that of commander. He is a Democrat in his political affiliations, and during Cleveland's administration served as a mail carrier in South Bend.

David A. Westbury

David A. Westbury. One of the leading citizens and influential business men of South Bend. Mr. Westbury has for a number of years been an active factor in its industrial circles as a representative of the plumbing and heating business. He was born in Rochester, New York, August 12, 1854, a son of James and Anna (Carter) Westbury, the former a native of Scotland and the latter of the north of England. The Westbury family came to America in 1827, and James Westbury was an expert in the mixing of glass and also as a shoemaker. In 1855, with his family, he emigrated to Iowa, locating on a farm near Cedar Falls, where they continued to reside for about nine years, when they sold their possessions there and returned to Rochester, New York. There Mr. West- bury passed away in death at the a-ge of seventy-nine years, his wife having preceded him to the home beyond, dying when fifty-nine years of age. They were the parents of six children, four sons and two daughters.

Their son David was the eldest child in order of birth, and he spent nine years of his early life in Iowa, returning to his native city of Rochester when a lad of ten years. When fifteen years of age he began learning the plumber's trade, serving a three years' apprenticeship, during which time he received fifty dollars in money and his clothes for his first year's work, boarding at home, and the third year he was advanced to seventy-five dollars. During a year and a half at the close of his apprenticeship he worked as a jobber in Rochester, and then, abandoning his trade, spent nine years on the stage in concert work with many noted companies, namely: The John T. Raymond, Frank Mayo and Abbie & Schofield at Buffalo; Norcross & Nixon Minstrels at Philadelphia. Pennsylvania ; spent one season with Joe Murphy and Latta, and was also with Mary Anderson, Adeline Neilson, Charlotte Cushman, Lawrence Barrett, E. L. Davenport, Thomas Sal- vina, Janauschek and other companies. He won for himself widespread fame as an artist of great ability, but returning to Rochester at the close of his nine years on the stage, he resumed his old trade of plumbing, and for seven months continued that occupation in his native city. At this time Mr. West- bury received an offer to assume charge of the American Heating & Plumbing Company at Winnipeg, Manitoba, which he accepted and remained there until December of 1884, when he removed to Chicago, and in the spring of 1885 came to South Bend to install the heating plant at the Oliver Opera House. After completing the work, he went to New Orleans and other parts of the country in the interests of the heating trade, and finally accepted a position with E. P. Bates, of Syracuse, New York, taking charge of all his western work, and making his headquarters at Chicago. His interests, however, were centered in many of the leading western cities, including St. Louis, St. Paul and Minneapolis. Returning to South Bend in June. 1887, Mr. Westbury put in the heating works at the Oliver plant, and afterward installed heating plants for the Studebakers, the Bird- sells, the Wilson Brothers shirt factory, the Colfax Manufacturing Company, St. Mary's Academy, thence returned to the new plants of the Olivers and the Studebakers and also cleared up all the work for E. P. Bates. In 1894 he engaged in business with Mr. Blair, this partnership continuing until 1901, when Mr. Westbury purchased his partner's interest, and has since carried on his vast and important business alone. His relations, however, in this city are many and varied, for he is one of the directors of the South Bend Mercantile Association, ex-president of the South Bend Business Men's Association, of which he is a member of the board of directors, and is one of the city's leading business men.

In 1882 Mr. Westbury was united in marriage to Lucy Convery, and they had one son, John D.. now a resident of Pana, Illinois. For his second wife he chose Ella Holtorf, their marriage having been celebrated in 1893. Mr. Westbury has fraternal relations with the Masonic order and the Elks of South Bend, and is a valued worker in the ranks of the Republican party.

F. M. Cimmerman

F. M. Cimmerman for a number of years has been prominently identified with the business interests of St. Joseph county, and in that time has become recognized as one of its most valued and useful citizens. Connected with real estate operations, he is well known in South Bend. He was born in Logansport. Indiana, January 13, 1866, a son of Peter and Mary (Shiers) Cimmerman. The mother claimed Ohio as the state of her nativity, while the father was born in Maryland, just one year after the arrival of his parents in the United States from Germany. He continued a resident of the Buckeye state until the outbreak of the Civil war, when he enlisted for the struggle in the Ninety-third Ohio Volunteers and served during the entire campaign. His military career was one which will ever redound to his honor as a loyal and devoted son of the republic and as one whose courage was that of his convictions. After the close of the war he removed to Logans- port, Indiana, which continued as the family home until 1876, when a removal was made to St. Joseph county, and here the father engaged in agricultural pursuits.

There the early part of Mr. Cimmerman's life was spent on the farm. At the age of thirteen he left the farm and was engaged in various kinds of work, from a section hand on the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad to that of a grocery clerk, that he might educate himself. In March, 1884. he came to South Bend, where for the following thirteen years he served in a clerical capacity for the A. C. Kern Dry Goods Company, while for the following seven years he was with the Livingston Clothing Company. Thus for many years he has been an active worker in the mercantile interests of South Bend, and through his diligence, perseverance and business ability was enabled to enter into trade relations for himself, and since 1904 has been numbered among the leading real estate dealers of St. Joseph county. An ardent advocate of the principles of the Republican party, it was in but natural sequence that he should become an active worker in the cause and one of the leaders in political work. In January, 1906, he was elected chairman of the Republican central committee.

In 1889 Mr. Cimmerman married Miss Jessie, a daughter of David Card, one of the honored early pioneers of St. Joseph county, and one daughter has blessed this union, Lucille, who was born on the 9th of September. 1891. In his fraternal relations Mr. Cimmerman is a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, and Protective Order of the Royal Arcanum. Mr. Cimmerman also holds the very responsible position of assistant postmaster.

Joseph Schmidt

Joseph Schmidt. The name of Joseph Schmidt is deeply engraved on the pages of South Bend's industrial history, for through many years he has been a prominent contractor in cut stone, and "many of the noted buildings of northern Indiana and southern Michigan stand as monuments to his ability. With a mind capable of planning, he has combined a will strong enough to execute his well formulated purposes, and his great energy, keen discrimination and perseverance have resulted in placing him among the leading business men of the community.

Mr. Schmidt's birth occurred in Germany on the 22d of March, 1864, and he remained in his native land until eighteen years of age, attending its public schools until his fourteenth year and serving his time as an apprentice to the stone cutter's trade. Crossing the ocean to the United States, he located at Columbus, Ohio, where he began working by the day, but steadily he worked his way upward, overcoming many difficulties and obstacles in his path, until he became a well known contractor of cut stone in that city. After a residence there of eighteen years he came to South Bend and resumed operations as a contractor, and among the buildings which are the result of his handiwork may be mentioned the city hall, the Perley, Oliver, grammar. Studebaker's and Mussell schools, the Elks and Masonic temples, and he now has under construction the cut stone work for the Y. M. C. A. building, the Studebaker office building and the First National Bank building of Gary. Indiana, an all-stone front building, also the Mix residence, city hall and school
building of Mishawaka, the Huntington library at Huntington, Indiana, the library at Goshen, the library building at Port Huron, Michigan, a church at Plymouth, the First Congregational church and Elks Temple at Elkhart, the Plymouth State Bank, and a church in Troy, Ohio, which is built entirely of stone, as is also the Elkhart church, and many other public buildings and private residences. He furnishes constant employment to twenty men, all of whom are skilled artisans in their calling and are paid the highest wages. His business methods have ever been in strict conformity with the ethics of commercial life, and he has long been accounted one of the leading citizens of St. Joseph county.

In 1896 Mr. Schmidt married Etta Schwank, and their two children are Richard and Lawrence. He gives his political support to the Democracy, and is a member of the Elks and Turners fraternities.

Harry L. Yerrick

Harry L. Yerrick, the leading undertaker of South Bend, was born in Springfield township. Summit county, Ohio, five miles from Akron, April 2, 1872. His father, Benjamin F. Yerrick, also claimed Summit county as the place of his nativity, and he was there reared and married. When about five years of age Harry L. Yerrick accompanied his parents on their removal to St. Joseph county, Indiana, their first home being in Walkerton, where the son remained until seventeen years of age. In February, 1889, he became a citizen of South Bend, spending his first seven years in this city in the special order department of the toy works. In January, 1897, he took up the work of an undertaker, continuing with some of the leading firms of the city until 1904, when he embarked in the business for himself. In the meantime he had pursued a two months' business course at Indianapolis, Indiana, and in 1889 secured his license as an undertaker from the state board of health and the State Board of Embalmers. He is now the only undertaker in the city who owns his own stable and furnishes his own horses and carriages, owning six splendid turnouts. The success which has attended his efforts is but a merited reward, for in him are embraced the characteristics of an unbending integrity, unabating energy and industry that never flaggs. He is public spirited and thoroughly interested in whatever tends to promote the moral, intellectual and material welfare of the city in which he has so long made his home, and he is rapidly winning for himself a place among its most valued citizens.

In 1895 Mr. Yerrick was united in marriage to Ada A. Hood, the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. L. E. Hood, and two children, a son and a daughter, have been born to them, Helen M. and Harry L., Jr. Many of the fraternal societies of South Bend claim Mr. Yerrick as a member, namely: The Knights of Pythias, Elks, Eagles, Royal Arcanum, the Loyal Americans and the order of Ben Hur, and he is also a member of the Grange. In the Masonic order he has attained the Royal Arch degree. He upholds the principles of the Republican party, but at local elections votes independent of party ties, and is a worthy member of the Grace Methodist Episcopal church.

Source A History of St. Joseph County Indiana Volume 2 By Timothy Edward Howard

Herman A. Towle

Herman A. Towle is senior member of the well known jewelry concern of Towle, Winterhalter & Hanafin. which is located in Butte, and which was incorporated under the laws of the state of Montana in 1908. The jewelry establishment conducted by this company is one of the finest of its kind in the entire northwest and controls an enormous trade. Mr. Towle holds prestige as one of the prominent and influential citizens of Butte, where he is esteemed by all with whom he has come in contact and where his sterling integrity of character has won him the entire confidence of his business associates.

A native of the fine old Hoosier state of the Union, Herman A. Towle was born at Mishawaka, St. Joseph county. Indiana, the date of his birth being the 24th of October, 1861. He is a son of Samuel Sargent and Charlotte Simons (Leroy) Towle, both of whom are now deceased. The father was born in Lockport, New York, in 1809, and in 1835 removed from the Empire state to Mishawaka, Indiana, where he devoted a number of years to the tanning business. During the latter years of his life he was a prominent and prosperous farmer and he was called to eternal rest in 1875, at the age of sixty-five years. The mother passed away in 1888.

Herman A. Towle was a lad of but fourteen years of age at the time of his father's demise and thus early was bereft of paternal love and guidance. His preliminary educational training consisted of such advantages as were afforded in the public schools of Mishawaka and in Falls City, Nebraska, where an elder brother then resided. As a youth Mr. Towle entered upon an apprenticeship at the jeweler's trade and after thoroughly familiarizing himself with that line of enterprise was a journeyman jewelry in Chicago and other places. In May, 1889. he came to Butte, where he entered the employ of Hight & Fairfield, remaining with that concern for the ensuing four years. In 1894 he purchased the interest of Mr. Cameron, a member of the firm of Cameron & Winterhalter. In 1908 the business of the above concern was incorporated with a capital stock of $80,000. At that time J. L. Hanafin was admitted to membership in the company and the business is now conducted under the title of Towle, Winterhalter & Hanafin. The official corps of the company is as follows: L. Winterhalter, president; H. A. Towle, vice-president ; and J. L. Hanafin, secretary and treasurer.

Mr. Towle has had a most successful career in Butte, where he has gained many friends and won the confidence and patronage of the public. He is connected with one of the finest and most up-to-date jewelry houses in the west. He is a business man in the broadest sense of the word. He does not take part in local politics but exercises his franchise in favor of the Republican party. Fraternally he is affiliated with the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks and he is also a valued and appreciative member of the National At Niles, Michigan, in 1894, was celebrated the marriage of Mr. Towle to Miss Emily Kelsey, a native of Missouri. Mr. and Mrs. Towle have four children, whose names are here entered in respective order of birth,—Mildred, Charlotte, Elise and John H. W. P. Baker. A man of pronounced ability, energy and enterprise, W. P. Baker is intimately identified with the agricultural development of Ravalli county, owning a valuable and well-managed ranch, and as one of the leading attorneys of Hamilton is widely and favorably known in legal circles. A native of Missouri, his birth occurred at Lancaster, Schuyler county, May 12, 1864. His father, the late Moses Baker, was born and bred in Kentucky, and was there fitted for a professional career. Migrating to Missouri in early manhood, he taught school a number of years in Schuyler county, but later bought land in that county and was there engaged in general farming until his death in 1898. He was much interested in local affairs, and for three terms served as treasurer of Schuyler county. He married Miss Frances Henson, of Kentucky, and she died on the home farm in Schuyler county, Missouri. Of the six children born of their union, four are living, namely: Anna, widow of J. P. Peyton, of Missoula, Montana; James L., who for many years has served as postmaster in Lancaster, Missouri ; Ida M., wife of H. B. Wayland, of Hamilton, Montana, and W. P., the special subject of this brief biographical review. Brought up in Missouri, W. P. Baker attended the rural schools of Schuyler county and the public schools of Lancaster, until he was eighteen years of age, laying a substantial foundation for his future education while young. He subsequently assisted his father in the care of the homestead for six years, during which he spent all of his leisure in reading law, acquiring a good knowledge of legal affairs, and was there admitted to the bar. Coming then to Montana, just before it donned the garb of statehood, Mr. Baker purchased a tract of land in the Bitter Root valley, near Grantsdale, and but three miles from Hamilton. Continuing his agricultural labors, he has now one of the best improved and most attractive and valuable ranches in Ravalli county, the superintendence of which he still retains. He has also acquired title to city property of value, and is financially interested in the mining resources of Montana. In 1898, Mr. Baker opened a law office in Hamilton, and in addition to his other work is actively engaged in the practice of his profession, having built up a substantial practice in the city and .surrounding country. Evincing a warm and intelligent interest in local affairs, in 1898, Mr. Baker was elected county attorney on the Silver-Republican ticket, and was reelected to the office three successive times. Fraternally, he is a member of the Ancient Free and Accepted Order of Masons, Ancient Arabic Order of the Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, and of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. In former days, Mr. Baker took great pleasure in hunting deer and other large game, but of recent years his business affairs have demanded so much of his attention that he has found no leisure to devote to his favorite pastime. At Hamilton, Montana, November 26, 1901, Air. Baker married Carrie M. Miller, who was born in Baltimore, Maryland, and they have one child, Eulalia E. Baker. Frank E. Wileman, clerk and recorder of Granite county, is entitled to a place in the front ranks of the young men of Philipsburg who have done well with their lives thus far. Mr. Wileman was born in Auroraville, Wisconsin, on March 11, 1873. He is the son of Joseph C. and Frances (Gill) Wileman. The father was born in Belleville, Ontario, Canada, coming to the United States as a young man. He served in the Union army during the Civil war and took an active part in six battles, in one of which he was wounded. He settled in Wisconsin for a number of years and then went to Leadville, Colorado. He conducted the first boarding house at the Little Pittsburg mine and was there during the great mining excitement. He has since traversed many states and followed various occupations, including ranching and hotel business. He is now living in Philipsburg. His young wife died in Wisconsin in 1873, at the early age of twenty-two years, and is there buried. Three children were born to them, Frank E. being the second born and the eldest son.

His mother died when he was an infant, and Frank Wileman was taken in charge by friends of the family when he was four years old. The family removed to Ripon. Wisconsin, taking the motherless child with them, and there he grew up as one of their own, attending school and helping with the farm work after hours and between school seasons. When he was sixteen years of age he came to Philipsburg. and since that time he has been a continuous resident of this city. The first work of any importance that Mr. Wileman did was when he was seventeen years old. at which time he put in the water works at Granite. He took the contract and performed the work, carrying it out successfully, and the plant stands there today in testimony of the ability which the young man showed. For several years he worked in the mines in and about Philipsburg, and in 1901 was appointed deputy sheriff for a four-year term. Following the conclusion of that term he returned to his mining ventures, and for six years was thus occupied, three years being passed in Alaska. In 1908 Mr. Wileman was elected county clerk and recorder, and he is now serving his second term in that office, where he has performed his duties with a high degree of efficiency and in a manner which has inspired confidence and esteem in the minds of the public.

Mr. Wileman is a Republican and takes an active and intelligent part in the political affairs of his district. He is a Mason and an Odd Fellow, and has been through all the chairs of the latter named order. He and his wife are attendants of the Methodist Episcopal church, but not members.

On June 20. 1903, Mr. Wileman was united in marriage with Miss Jennie Johnson, daughter of Erick and Marie Johnson, natives of Sweden. One child has been born to Mr. and Mrs. Wileman, a daughter named Frances Elois, who is attending the schools of Philipsburg.

Burt C. Buffum
Burt C. Buffum, plant breeder and seed grower; (Prog. Rep.); b. April 7, 1868, South Bend, Ind., s. of G. W. and Harriet (Butts) Buffum; educ. pub. schls. Greeley, Colo.; grad. (B. S.) Colorado Agricultural college, 1890; (M. S.) 1893; asistant meteorology and irrigation, Colo. Agricultural college, 1890; prof. horticulture and agriculture, Univ. of Wyo., 1891-1900; vice-director Wyoming Experiment Station, 1896-1900; prof. Agriculture, Colorado Agriculture college, 1900-2; director Wyoming Experiment Station, & Seed Breeding Co., 1907, and moved to Worland; perfected and introduced improved Winter Emmer and Buffum’s No. 17, Winter Wheat, and the new Beardless Emmers; author, various papers and works; “Arid Agriculture,” “Plant Breeding,” “Sixty Lessons in Agriculture;” Wyo. State Commissioner for the Lewis and Clark Expo.; mem. Wyo. State Horticultural Experiment Commission, 1905-14; chr. board of electors, Worland Pct. No. 2; mem. 32 deg. Mason, Wyoming Consistory No. 1, Cloud Peak A. F. & A. M., Worland, Cache La Poudre R. A. M., Fort Collins, Colo., Shriner, Korein Temple, Rawlins, Eastern Star, Worland; Farmers’ Union; Farmers; Society of Equity. Address: Worland, Washakie county, Nebraska.    
[Source: Men of Wyoming, By C. S. Peterson, Publ 1915, Transcribed by Richard Ramos]

FRANK M. FOOTE,
Frank M. Foote insurance broker; pres. Carbon Steel Manufacturing and Mining Co.; (Rep.); b. May 26, 1846, South Bend, Ind.; s. of Alexis and Christiana (Millis) Foote; educ. pub. schls. and H. S., South Bend; student Valparaiso (Indiana) Univ., 1860-1; manager Smith & Wolley Lumber Co., South Bend, short time; bookkeeper A. Osmond & Sons Hdw. Co., Rochester, Minn., 1871; located in Bryan, Wyoming, spring of 1871, as agent, and in August., 1872, removed to Evanston, Wyo., as agent of the Union Pacific Ry. Co., holding that position until 1890; assisted in organizing and became the first president of The Carbon Steel Manufacturing & Mining Co., 1912; receiver U. S. land office, Evanston, 1890-4; 1897-8, and 1899-14; colonel commanding 1st Regt. Wyoming National Guard, 1893-7; major commanding 1st Battalion, Wyoming Volunteers, in the Philippines during the Spanish-American war and the Philippine insurrection; mem. Wyo. Terr. Legislature, 1875-6; probate judge and treasurer, Uinta county, Wyo., 1877-80; undersheriff, 1880-1; mem. Wyo. Terr. Penitentiary commission, 1884-8; mayor Evanston, 1889-90; county assessor, 1895-6; member 33 deg. Mason; active member of the Supreme Council of the Southern Jurisdiction of U. S. A.; inspector general Wyoming and Utah Masonic organizations; Past Grand Commander and Past Grand Master Lodge, Wyo., A. F. & A. M.; Past Grand Master of Grand Lodge, I. O. O. F. Terr. Of Wyoming, 1879; life member Salt Lake City Lodge No 85, Elks.  Address:  Evanston, Wyoming.  Deceased, 1914.
[Source: Men of Wyoming, By C. S. Peterson, Publ 1915. Transcribed by Anna Parks]

J. LOUIS GRAVERSON,
J Louis Graverson attorney; (Dem.); b. November. 24, 1882, South Bend, Indiana; s. of John and Sarah (Schilt) Graverson; educ. pub. schls. Bremen, Ind.; grad. H. S. Bremen, 1903; grad. (LL. B.) Indiana University, Bloomington, 1910; taught school near Bremen, Ind., 1903-7; admitted to practice before Indiana Supreme Court, 1910; U. S. Circuit Court of Indiana, 1910; admitted to practice in Wyoming, 1911, and in the District Court of the U. S. for Wyoming, 1912; located in Sheridan, Wyoming, 1911, and engaged in the practice of law as a member of the firm of Graverson & Lawhead, 1911-12; since 1912 has been in the general practice by himself in Sheridan; mem. Wyo. H. of Rep., 1915-17; mem. Masons; Elks; Sigma Alpha Epsilon fraternity and Phi Delta Phi law fraternity.  Address:  Sheridan, Wyoming.
[Source: Men of Wyoming, By C. S. Peterson, Publ 1915. Transcribed by Anna Parks]

Garceau Theodore
Garceau Theodore, Red Lake Falls. Merchant.  Born April 13, 1857 in South Bend Ind, son of John and Clara (LaFontaine) Garceau.  Married June 29, 1883 to Sybil Rubertus.  Educated in public schools of south Bend Ind an Univ of Notre Dame 2 years.  Moved to Red Lake Falls 1882 and engaged in teaching school and was asst postmaster; in mercantile business as Garceau Bros until 1898; now Garceau & Zaiser.  Pres First Nat Bank.  Member Am and Minn State Bankers assn.
[Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. Publ.  1907 Transcribed by Nancy Overlander]

FARRINGTON, John Peter
FARRINGTON, John Peter, real estate; born, South Bend, Ind., June 21, 1858; son of Patrick and Mary Manghen Farrington; educated in public and parish schools at South Bend; married, South Bend, Jan. 29, 1890, Mary T. Lovett; children: Thomas L., John F., Anna L., Richard J. Learned carriage blacksmith trade at works of Studebaker Bros. Manufacturing Co., South Bend; came to St. Louis, September, 1880, and went into installment book business; since 1887 in real estate business, now member Arm of Farrington & Co. Democrat. Catholic. Member of Legion of Honor, Knights of Columbus. Office: 907 Chestnut St. Residence: 2924 N. Newstead Avenue.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)

FARRINGTON, Patrick Joseph
FARRINGTON, Patrick Joseph, life insurance; born, South Bend, Ind., Jan. 15, 1860; son of Patrick and Mary (Maughen) Farrington; educated in parochial school taught by Brothers of Notre Dame University, Indiana; married, Carlinville, ILL., June 5, 1883, Cassie E. O'Neill; children: Mary E., Grace G., Florence C, Joseph E., Catherine, O'Neill Francis. Came to St. Louis, 1882, and was in employ of a publishing company until 1885; in business for self selling publications and other merchandise until 1892; secretary St. Louis House Furnishing Co. and St. Louis Clothing Co., 1892-1910; now city manager John Hancock Life Insurance Co. Democrat. Roman Catholic. Member Knights of Columbus. Office: Chemical Bldg. Residence: 5189 Vernon Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)

BEARDSLEY Benjamin F
BEARDSLEY Benjamin F, St Paul.  Res 706 Dayton av, office 541 Endicott bldg.  Insurance.  Born June 10, 1860 in St Joe county Ind, son of Elijah Hubbell and Matilda (Lemon) Beardsley.  Married Feb 19, 1889 to Amelia Phoebe Simonds.  Received his education in the public schools in Buchanan Mich.  Conducted a news-stand in the village post office in Buchanan Mich 1877; clerked in hardware store 1879.  In the argricultural implement business in Minneapolis 1880-91; since which time he has been engaged in the insurance business St Paul representing the Phoenix Mutual Life Ins Co and the Employers Liability Assurance Ltd of London; sec of St Paul Chamber of Commerce 1900-1904 and of N W office Nat Irrigation Assn for 4 years.  Is a member of several national and state assns for social and commercial good; the Commercial Club and the Church Club, Diocese of Minn.
[Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. Publ.  1907 Transcribed by Rhonda Hill]

Garceau Theodore
Garceau Theodore, Red Lake Falls.  Merchant.  Born April 13, 1857 in South Bend Ind, son of John and Clara (LaFontaine) Garceau.  Married June 29, 1883 to Sybil Rubertus.  Educated in public schools of south Bend Ind an Univ of Notre Dame 2 years.  Moved to Red Lake Falls 1882 and engaged in teaching school and was asst postmaster; in mercantile business as Garceau Bros until 1898; now Garceau & Zaiser.  Pres First Nat Bank.  Member Am and Minn State Bankers assn.
[Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. Publ.  1907 Transcribed by Nancy Overlander]

Return To The Main St. Joseph County Index Page