Genealogy Trails

Sullivan County, Indiana
Biographies


Page 1     Page 3     Page 4


          Frank M. Douthitt, who is engaged in the clothing business at Sullivan, was born April 14, 1871, in Jefferson township, Sullivan county, Indiana, a son of Thomas M. and Lydia M. (Wells) Douthitt.  The father was a native of the same township and county, born on the old original Douthitt homestead, eight miles east of Carlisle, which place was settled by the grandfather.  Thomas M., the father, was born April 23, 1845, and still lives on the old farm, with his wife, who was also born within the same township, in 1848.  He has always followed farming, and was also quite a noted stock raiser.  He is still able to attend to his finely improved hundred-acre farm.  In his politics he is decidedly a Democrat.  He has taken much interest in the welfare of his county, having served one term as the county commissioner, and was a justice of the peace one term, etc.  Both he and his wife are members of the Baptist church, known as Indian Prairie church.  They are the parents of five children, born in the following order:  William T., an attorney; George E., residing in Carlisle; Frank M., of this notice; Louretta, died February 22, 1905; John E., residing on a farm adjoining the old homestead.

          Being reared on his father’s farm, Frank M. Douthitt had the advantages of the public schools of his native county.  He taught school one term in Jefferson township.  He then went to Sullivan and began clerking for McCammon & Wolfe, beginning April 27, 1892.  This was in a clothing store, in which he remained until December 1, 1900, at which time he opened a store on Jackson street, and put in a good stock of clothing and gentlemen’s furnishings, which line of business he still carries on in a successful manner.  His store is the largest of its line within the town of Sullivan.

          In his political views Mr. Douthitt supports the Democratic party, believing, as he does, that this best represents the general interests of the country.  He is one of the directors in the Sullivan Building and Loan Association, and has other business interests within the county.

          Mr. Douthitt was married, November 24, 1896, to Miss Anna Boatright, a native of Sullivan, born October 1, 1871, and educated in Sullivan, having graduated from the high school.  She was engaged in the millinery business with a sister at the time of her marriage.  She is the daughter of William and Ellen (Pearson) Boatright, both of whom are now residing in Sullivan.  The children born to Mr. Douthitt and wife are as follows:  Paul Schuyler, born August 23, 1897; Thomas Edward, born May 3, 1900; Joseph Boatright, born August 30, 1903.
Transcribed by Katherine Haggerty

          Ira Glidden, one of the business factors of Sullivan, doing a mercantile business, was born August 30, 1866, at Lewisville, Indiana, a son of Frederick Eugene and Julia (Martin) Glidden.  Both parents were natives of Rush county, Indiana; the father was born in 1834 and died in 1900, at Lewisville, Indiana, while the mother was born in 1841 and is now residing at Lewisville.  The father was a jeweler, and was engaged in a jewelry business at Greenfield, Indiana, for a number of years.  In 1884 he went to Sullivan, where he conducted a jewelry and shoe business until 1888, then returned to Greenfield and retired fro, active business.

          Being eight years old at the time his parents moved to Greenfield, Ira Glidden was there educated in the public schools.  He remained with his father until twenty-one years of age, then engaged in the clothing trade, with W.E. Woods, of Sullivan, Indiana, serving as clerk for twelve years, and gaining a thorough knowledge of the business.  His next experience was as a commercial traveler out of Indianapolis for three and a half years.  He was with Henderickson & Lefler, hatters.  After quitting the road, he returned to Sullivan, where he was again employed by W.E. Woods for a short time, and in 1904 engaged in business for himself, conducting a tailor shop.  The following year he, with John F. Douthitt bought the clothing business belonging to J.W. Wolfe & Son, and they have conducted the store to the present time in a most satisfactory and profitable manner.  Their store is the most thoroughly up-to-date one in Sullivan.  He is identified with the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks and the U.C.T. of Indianapolis.

          Mr. Glidden was united in marriage, August 29, 1888, to Lola Moore, born in Sullivan in 1862, where she was educated.  Her parents were Robert A. and Susan (Robison) Moore, the father living with his daughter, Mrs. Glidden, and the mother being deceased.  Mr. Moore is one of the pioneers of the dry goods trade in Sullivan.  He retired from a long and prosperous mercantile career, in the latter part of the eighties.  Mr. and Mrs. Glidden have two daughters:  Nellie and Susan.
Transcribed by Katherine Haggerty

          James R. Brown, lawyer and abstracter, practicing at Sullivan, is a native of Wabash county, Illinois, born September 14, 1872, son of John and Eliza (Cisel) Brown.  The father was born in 1832 and died in November, 1872.  The grandfather, James Brown, a native of England, born in 1795, came to the United States in 1820, locating in Virginia.  He removed to Illinois and there spent the remainder of his days.  Grandfather Thomas Cisel was born in Ohio in 1807, and went to Illinois on a raft, run down the Wabash river, in 1814.  The family settled at a point within Wabash county.  He was of English descent, and always followed farming for his livelihood.  The Cisels were all radical Democrats, while the Browns were Republican in their political views.

          John Brown, the father of James R., was also a sturdy farmer who, at the date of his death, owned about two hundred and fifty acres of choice land.  He took a deep interest in church work, belonging to the Methodist Episcopal denomination, and was a trustee in that church nearly all of his life.  The five children born to Mr. and Mrs. John Brown were named as follows, in the order of their birth: Mary, Aura, and Leander, deceased; Laura M., wife of H.A. Price, of Allendale, Illinois, where he is engaged in the mercantile business; James R., of this memoir.  After the death of the father, the mother married, in 1882, J.V.B. Wright.  She died in April, 1899.  There were no children be this marriage, and Mr. Wright now resides on a farm in Knox county, Indiana.

          James R. Brown was reared in Allendale, Illinois, to which place his mother moved four months after the death of the husband and father.  The son, having finished his course at the public schools of Allendale, entered and graduated from the scientific course with the class of 1895, at the Central Normal College at Danville, Indiana.  He then entered the State University, at Bloomington, Indiana, from which institution he was graduated in 1896.  He was admitted to the bar of the supreme court of Indiana in the same year.  He then began the practice of law at Martinsville, Indiana, forming a partnership with W.H. Pigg.  This law firm removed to Sullivan in 1897, and continued in the practice until 1900, since which date Mr. Brown has been in independent practice.  He also conducts an abstract business, with Joseph S. Schroeder, who in this branch of the business is a partner.  This is the only abstract office within Sullivan county, and they do a large business and carry it on along approved and correct lines.  Mr. Brown is secretary of the Sullivan County Loan Association; also president of the Sunday School Association as well as being treasurer of the Tri-State Oil Company, all of which causes him to be a very busy man.  In fraternal society matters he is connected with the Masonic, Ben Hur, Modern Woodmen and Royal Neighbors societies.  In Masonry, he belongs to the blue lodge and Eastern Star degrees.

          August 28, 1896, Mr. Brown was married to Sadie Holsen, a native of Wabash county, Illinois born January 25, 1875.  She was educated in her native county.  Her parents were Frederic and Nancy (Kneippe) Holsen, the former born in Germany and now living in Wabash county, and the latter a native of Wabash county, where she died in 1892.  The father is a grain dealer and miller, living at Allendale, Illinois.  Five sons were born to Mr. and Mrs. Brown:  John Stanley, Rolland, Thomas Cisel, Darrel and Marcell.  The parents are members of the Methodist Episcopal church, of which Mr. Brown is financial secretary, and he has been a class leader for the last six years.
Transcribed by Katherine Haggerty

          Adam Vincent Minich, farmer and stock raiser of Sullivan county, residing in Sullivan, was born May 9, 1857, in Haddon township.  He is a son of Pleasant Alexander and Sarah (Corbin) Minich, both parents being natives of this county.  The father was born June 6, 1822, and still lives on the old Minich homestead in Haddon township, south of Carlisle.  The mother, born January 25, 1832, also survives.  The grandfather, Adam Minich, was born in Virginia and his father and mother came from Germany.  The grandfather settled in Tennessee and moved from that state to Sullivan county, Indiana, where he died November 16, 1826.  He, with a crother came to Sullivan county, and entered tracts of government land.  Adam Minich was a saddle maker by trade and employed a small wooden mallet with which to pound impressions in the leather he used for making the saddle skirts with.  This implement is now possessed by Adam V., of this notice, and highly prized as a family relic.

          Pleasant Alexander, the father, has always followed farming for his livelihood and has made a success of tilling the soil.  He now owns two hundred and fifty acres of valuable land.  The first house, which he erected in 1856, is still standing on his farm, in the rear of the substantial brick structure erected in 1878.  In his political views, Pleasant A. Minich is a Democrat, and in church faith a Methodist.  He and his wife were the parents of three children, as follows:  Adam V., of this sketch;  William Franklin, born August 22, 1859, married and resides at home with his father;  Charles Theodore, died in infancy.

          Adam V. Minich obtained his early education at the public schools and was reared to farm labor, and taught habits of frugality and industry.  He lingered beneath the parental roof until twenty-four years of age, at which time he began to farm independently in Haddon township, remaining there until the autumn of 1903, when he moved to Sullivan.  He still owns his farm, which is a part of the old homestead.  In Sullivan, he has erected a commodious and modern styled residence, at the corner of Section and Johnson streets.  While residing in the town, he still operates his farm, in which he takes much interest.  Politically, he is a firm believer in Democratic policies and platforms.  He was elected on this ticket in the fall of 1902 as treasurer of Sullivan county, taking his seat January 1, 1904, and serving four years.  He has never been a candidate for any other public office.  He is numbered with the Masonic fraternity, being connected with Carlisle Blue Lodge, No. 3, F. and A.M.;  Jerusalem Chapter, No. 81, of Sullivan, and the Council of the same place.  He is also counted among the brotherhood of the Modern Woodmen of America, at Carlisle, Lodge No. 3332.

          November 17, 1881, he was united in marriage to Ollie M. Collins, a native of Haddon township, born July 8, 1857, daughter of J.O. and Sarah (Watson) Collins, the former born in Kentucky and coming to Indiana in his youth, with his father.  He died in Haddon township in the latter part of the nineties and Mrs. Collins still lives in that township.  Mr. and Mrs. Minich have no children of their own, but adopted a girl named Mabel and raised her to womanhood.  She is still with her foster parents and unmarried.  She taught school several terms in Haddon township as well as in the graded schools at Farmersburg and Carlisle.  Mrs. Minich is one of a family of nine children, six of whom still live.  They are as follows:  Finley O., residing in Haddon township; Mrs. Minich; Robert, residing on a farm in Tennessee; Dudley Odell, of Haddon township; Eugene L,. of Winchester, Tennessee, a hardware merchant; Ora L., unmarried and at home with her mother.
Transcribed by Katherine Haggerty

          Esom Ruben Leach, head of the firm of E.R. Leach & Co., of Sullivan, was born March 16, 1855, in Grant county, Indiana, a son of Edward and Emily (Brewer) Leach, both of whom died in Sullivan county.  The father came to this state from the East with his father and mother, and he was engaged in mercantile pursuits in Grant and Sullivan counties, moving to the last named county in 1864.  In 1887 he went to Nebraska and returned about 1890.  When he first came to Sullivan county, he settled in Cass township and raised one crop, and then moved to Sullivan, where he engaged in business.  He and his wife were members of the old style Baptist church and exemplary Christians.  Their children were as follows:  William Jasper, residing in Sheridan, Nebraska; Rachel Ann, deceased; Charles Milton, residing in Grant county; George W., resides at Sullivan; James S.; Esom R., of this review; Lucinda L., wife of William Lucas; Richard E., of Sullivan; Mary, deceased; John W., deceased.  The mother of these children died in 1865.  For his second wife, Mr. Leach married Mrs. Sallie Martin.  The children born of the second marriage were as follows:  Levy, Emily, Jesse, John, Bessie, Oliver, Daisy, and Marten.

          E.R. Leach of this biography, was only nine years of age when he came back to Sullivan county.  Here he obtained his common-school education and clerked for his father while yet in his teens.  When he had reached his twenty-first year, with two brothers, J.S. and G.W., he engaged in the livery business in Sullivan, continuing about two years.  He then returned to the farm, which he conducted about three years.  His next business was that of the grain, stock and implement business, which he carried on under the firm name of E. & E.R. Leach, operating this until 1886, when he went west, remaining in Nebraska until 1896 and being engaged in farming in that state.  Upon his return to the east, he was employed as a clerk for G.W. Borders, being appointed, in the fall of 1897, superintendent of the county asylum, which position he resigned after four years’ faithful service.  He was then appointed superintendent of the Orphans’ Home, at Greencastle.  He remained there four years, when he resigned and moved back to Sullivan.  In April, 1907, he purchased the business of the firm of Whitman & Asdel, who operated in grain and feed.  This business was run by Mr. Leach and his nephew, Clell Leach, until September, 1907, when G.F. Botts bought an interest in the business.

          Mr. Leach was married March 12, 1889, to Mary J. Turman, who was born in Turman township, Sullivan county, a daughter of Charles and Nancy E. (Johnson) Turman, both of whom were natives of Sullivan county.  Charles Turman is dead, but his wife resides at Graysville, Indiana.  Mr. and Mrs. Leach are the parents of two children: Glenn Emma, born January 21, 1890, single, and a graduate of the Sullivan High School with the class of 1908; Ruth Hazel, born November 28, 1893.  Mrs. Leach is a consistent member of the Christian church.  Politically, Mr. Leach affiliates with the Democratic party.
Transcribed by Katherine Haggerty

          Walter F. Wood, the present prosecuting attorney for Sullivan county, was born June 27, 1878, at Pleasantville, Indiana, son of Jesse A. and Elizabeth (Jones) Wood.  The father was born in Green county, Indiana, January 8, 1845, and now resides in Sullivan.  The mother was born in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, October 20, 1851, and is still living.  Mr. Wood’s paternal grandfather, Lacy Wood, was a native of Tennessee, and was born in 1808, dying in 1875, at Pleasantville, Indiana.  About 1835, he came to Indiana, settling in Greene county, but moved to neat Pleasantville in 1846.  He was of English and Irish extraction.  Grandfather Jones was of Dutch lineage, but born in Pennsylvania, going to Louisiana in the forties.  He was killed while serving in the Confederate army.

          Jesse A. Wood (father) has always followed agricultural pursuits, in which he has been materially prospered.  Politically he is a stanch defender of Republican ideas.  He served in the Civil war, from 1864 to 1865 – from April to April inclusive – as a private soldier.  Both he and his wife are members of the Baptist church.

          Walter F. Wood was reared in the free and independent atmosphere of the farm, and attended the district schools, remaining at home until about nineteen years of age.  He has the desire to become a lawyer, and read law at home a year, and then entered the office of Chaney & McNabb, with whom he read more completely.  Subsequently he was a student in the offices of Buff & Stratton, and also with C.D. Hunt.  When twenty-one years of age, he was admitted to the bar, and when twenty-three opened at office for the practice of his profession, which he is still occupying, having practiced alone, with the exception of one year, when he was associated with William B. Edmonds.  Politically, he is a progressive Republican, and was elected by this party, in November, 1906, as prosecuting attorney, receiving a majority of 362 votes, and taking the office, January 1, 1908, for the term of two years.

          Mr. Wood is a member of the Odd Fellows Order and the Modern Woodmen of America.  January 26, 1905, he was married to Miss Agnes McGuire, daughter of Rev. U.M. McGuire, who is now pastor of the Baptist church at Washington, Indiana.  Mrs. Wood was born January 8, 1882, and graduated from the high school with the class of 1902.  By this union two daughters were born to bless the home:  Elizabeth and Margaret.
Transcribed by Katherine Haggerty

          Paul Lyon Reid, the enterprising grocer and breeder of fine blooded Shetland ponies, residing at Sullivan, Indiana, was born January 28, 1873, in Sullivan county, Indiana, and is the son of James Thomas and Susan (Lyon) Reid.  The father was born in this county, and died about 1900, while the mother was a native of Owen county, Indiana, and now resides at Sullivan.  The father was a miller and merchant, operating the Sullivan Roller Mills for a number of years, and he was also a grocer.  He served in the Eighty-fifth Indiana regiment during the Civil war period for the term of three years.  Politically, he was a firm defender of Republican principles in party politics.  He belonged to the Masonic order, being a member of the blue lodge, F.&A.M.  He and his wife were members of the Methodist Episcopal church.  Five children were born to them, as follows:  William, deceased; Maude, wife of H.K. Ross, of Sullivan; Paul Lyon, of this memoir; Lola, widow of C.D. Taylor, residing in Sullivan; Ruth, deceased.

          Paul L. Reid attended DePauw University, at Greencastle, Indiana, for two years, after which he returned home and was employed by the Electric Light Company (of which his father was at that time superintendent) for five years.  He was associated with his father in the milling and grocery business up to 1900, when he engaged in the grocery trade on his own account, continuing until the present time.  He carries a full line of staple and fancy groceries and has an excellent trade, both within and without the city.  Politically, like his father, he is a Republican.  He is a Mason, being a member of both the blue lodge and chapter at Sullivan; he is also connected with the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks.

          June 29, 1894, he was united in marriage to Josephine Ensminger, born in Sullivan county, Indiana, October 12, 1874, daughter of Joseph and Jennie (Benefield) Ensminger.  Mrs. Reid was educated at the public schools of her native county.  The following children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Reid:  Mildred, born February 21, 1896; James T., born May 8, 1897; Ruth, born September 5, 1899.

          Besides the busy cares of his grocery business, Mr. Reid conducts another industry – a Shetland pony farm.  He carries in stock all the time from thirty to forty head of fine Shetland ponies.  His pony farm contains one hundred and thirty-four acres and is known at the “Walnut Grove Shetland Farm.”  He owns one exceptionally beautiful as well as valuable sire of a spotted color.  The animals from this farm are shipped to every part of the country.  This unique and profitable business has been carried on by Mr. Reid for six years and more.
Transcribed by Katherine Haggerty

          Winfield Scott Wolfe, who is numbered among the enterprising retail merchants of Sullivan, and the proprietor of one of the hardware stores of the city, was born February 6, 1880, in Sullivan county, Indiana, on a farm, and is the son of John W. and Mary O. (Sproatt) Wolfe.  The father is also a native of Sullivan county, born there January 16, 1848.  The mother, a native of Knox county, together with her husband, is now leading a quiet and somewhat retired life at Sullivan.  The father was a farmer in Sullivan county up to 1881, when he went to the town of Sullivan and there engaged in the clothing trade, continuing until May, 1906, when he sold to Glidden & Douthitt, the style of the firm at that time being J.W. Wolfe & Son.  Since then, he has led a retired life.  Politically, he is a Democrat.  In his religious faith, both he and his wife are of the Christian church.  He belongs to the Odd Fellows order and is ever active to the best interests of his community.

          The son, Winfield S., of this notice, was reared in Sullivan.  He was graduated from the Sullivan high school with the class of 1900, and then entered into business with his father, having put in his spare hours at the store before this time.  He continued with the business until his father sold in 1906, when Winfield S., with Charles Riggs, purchased a hardware stock, which they dealt in until 1907, when he bought out his partner, and now conducts the store alone.  He carries a full and complete line of shelf and heavy hardware, with stoves and buggies, together with a few farm implements.

          In his political views he is a Democrat and holds that the doctrine of that party best suits the masses of American citizens.  He is connected with the Odd Fellows and Elks orders.  Mr. Wolfe was married, in 1901, to Roxa Willard, who was born in Gill township, Sullivan county, Indiana, and died March 17, 1907.  She was educated in this county and was the daughter of Rufus O. and Mary (Owens) Willard.  Her parents are now residing in Gill township.  She left one son and one daughter:  Willard W. and Mildred Louise.  Mr. Wolfe is a member of the Christian church, as was his wife in her lifetime.

          Mr. Wolfe’s sisters are Teresa, born August 9, 1883, is unmarried, and at home; she was graduated with the class of 1902, and attended the Conservatory of Music, taking both the vocal and instrumental courses; Edna, born August 3, 1886, is a graduate of the high school of Sullivan, with the class of 1905; is unmarried and at home.
Transcribed by Katherine Haggerty

          Walter Gibson Scott, hardware dealer of Sullivan, a son of Thomas Leeman and Nancy M. (Cottterell) Scott, was born May 30, 1868, at New Hope, Ohio.  The father was a native of Cincinnati and of Scotch descent.  The mother was also born in Ohio, and they came to Indiana in the early seventies, locating at a point in Morgan county, where the father died.  Thomas Leeman Scott, was a practicing physician and surgeon.  He graduated at Cincinnati, Ohio, at one of the medical colleges.  Politically, Dr. Scott was an uncompromising Republican, and served in the Civil war as a lieutenant.  He belonged to the order of the Knights of Honor.  He had three children:  Walter G., of this memoir; John Thomas, residing in Indianapolis, where he is practicing medicine; Albert David, residing in Sullivan county.

          Mr. Scott received his education in Indiana and at the age of twelve years set out in the conflict of life for himself by working on a farm.  When eighteen years of age he commenced to farm for himself, continuing two seasons in Ohio, and then came to Elnora, Indiana, where he learned the art, or profession, of telegraphy, operating for the Evansville & Terre Haute Railroad Company for the next nine years.  He then returned to farm life for two years, coming to Sullivan in 1904.  Here he embarked in the hardware business, coupling with it house furnishing goods, wagons, buggies and pipe-fittings.  He is in company with his brother, A.D. Scott.  They also conduct a sale stable, catering to the local trade and the coal mines.  Mr. Scott is president of the Business Men’s Association of Sullivan; he belongs to the Knights of Pythias order, he is a Republican.  He was united in marriage, in 1905, to Nettie Bond, born in Worden, Illinois.  One child has come to bless and brighten their home – Myrtle Wyatt Scott, born April 12, 1906.  The parents are members of the Methodist Episcopal church.
Transcribed by Katherine Haggerty

          James M. Sinclair, one of the proprietors of the popular “Index Store” of Sullivan, is a native of Sullivan county, Indiana, born December 31, 1871, in Hamilton township.  He is the son of Samuel and Sarah (Willis) Sinclair, the former born in Indiana, and the latter in Kentucky, February 29, 1932.  The mother is still living with her son, James M.  The father died about 1881.  Politically, he was a stanch Democrat, and both he and his wife were members of the Methodist Episcopal church.  Eight children blessed their marriage union, as follows:  William M., residing at Coffeeville, Kansas; Mary A., wife of Andy Mason, of Sullivan; Thomas H., of Sullivan; Elizabeth, wife of Malon Gustin, of Sullivan; Edward, residing in Hamilton township; Eliza, wife of Reason Lovelace, residing at Duggar; Flora; James M., of this notice.

          Reared midst the scenes and labors coincident to the farmers’ life, James M. Sinclair remained at home until about twenty years, when he went to Sullivan and commenced clerking for a Mr. Boyd, who conducted the first Racket store established in the place.  After working there two years, he was employed at other places up to 1898, at which date he established a business for himself.  At first, he began with a stock of goods in what was known as a Racket store, having endless variety of small, cheap articles.  In the course of time, as his trade demanded it, he added more goods, until he now heads the firm of Sinclair & Co., which firm deals in a wholesale and retail way in furniture, stoves, tin ware, queens ware, glassware and five and ten cent counter articles – the latter being their specialty.  This store is situated in the Odd Fellows building at Sullivan.  By strict attention to duty, a large and prosperous business has grown up and the trade which at first was on a small scale has become one of goodly proportions.  In his political views, Mr. Sinclair is a Democrat.  In 1898 he served as clerk and treasurer of the town of Sullivan.  He is identified with the Odd Fellows order, including Encampment degree.  Himself and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal church, of which body he is one of the trustees.

          January 8, 1896, Mr. Sinclair was married to Fannie E. Orndorff, born in Knox county, Indiana, April 10, 1879, daughter of Wallace and Laura (Knotts) Orndorff.  The father died in Knox county when Mrs. Sinclair was in her infancy.  He mother later married her first husband’s brother, Andrew J. Sinclair, and they now reside south of Sullivan, in Hamilton township.  Mrs. Sinclair received her education in Sullivan county.  The children born of her marriage to Mr. Sinclair are:  Frances L., born August 10, 1897, and Zola I., born April 14, 1900.
Transcribed by Katherine Haggerty

          James Frank Alumbaugh – the vice president of the First National Bank of Carlisle, Indiana, and a man prominent in the business circles of his town and county, is James F. Alumbaugh, who was born September 10, 1857, in Haddon township, Sullivan county, Indiana, a son of Tilford and Paulina J. (Gobin) Alumbaugh.  The father, who was of German descent, always followed farming in Haddon township, until about 1890, when he retired to Carlisle.  He was a highly successful farmer and stock-raiser, at one time owning three hundred acres of most excellent Indiana land.  Tolford Alumbaugh was born April 1, 1834, in Gill township, Sullivan county, and died March 22, 1900, aged sixty-five years, eleven months and twenty-one days.  He was one of seven brothers, two perhaps being younger that he, but he was the last to pass away.  The death of both parents within a short time of each other left him an orphan about the age of five years.  He lived with his uncle, Morris Roberts, until eleven years old and was then bound out to Milner E. Nash, who died in February, shortly before young Alumbaugh was twenty-one.  He remained with the widow during the following summer.  In the autumn of 1855 Mr. Alumbaugh went to James M. Gobin’s place.  This was a turning point in his life, for about on year afterward on September 11, 1856, he was married to Paulina J. Gobin, daughter of James M.  To this union were born three children:  Libbie G., James F. and William H., the last named dying in infancy.  This left only a brother and sister.  The daughter was the late sister Cauble, of Precious memory.  The son James F., one of the leading business men of Carlisle, is the only one now surviving.  Uncle “Tip”, as Tilford Alumbaugh was called, commenced life with nothing, but by industry and integrity, by economy and good management, he long since secured a competency for himself and his family.  He loved his family and served them by self-sacrifice.  He obeyed the gospel and became a member of the Providence Christian church in the early sixties.  He and his wife were baptized at the same time by Uncle Joe Wolfe, who had also issued their marriage license and solemnized their marriage.  Tilford Alumbaugh was a charter member of the Carlisle Christian church, which met first in the old Seminary, then in a rented hall, and finally in the house now occupied by the church.  In the building of this house, in 1866, he took a leading part, being a member of the building committee, and contributing largely both of time and money.  For many years he served the congregation as elder.  In church work, as in everything, he was candid, energetic and decisive.  In his death the family lost an exemplary father and husband, the church one of its most valued members, and the community a benefactor.  “Blessed are the dead that die in the Lord, from henceforth; yea, saith the Spirit, that they may rest from their labors, and their works do follow them.”  A large audience attended the funeral, which took place in the Christian church, Sunday, March 25, at 10:00 A.M., interment being at Engle cemetery.  The services were conducted by the pastor, Rev. T.A. Cox.

          The mother of James F. Alumbaugh was also a native of Haddon township, born near Carlisle, Indiana, January 5, 1826, the daughter of James M. and Levicy (Booker) Gobin.  James M. Gobin was born in Kentucky and his wife in Indiana, both died in Haddon township, Sullivan county.  He was a farmer and also a stock-raiser.  In the early sisties Mrs. Alumbaugh became a Christian, uniting with the Providence Christian church, near Paxton, and with her husband she was a charter member of the Christian church at Carlisle.  Through all the early struggles and successes of this church, she helped to carry the burdens and rejoice in the victories, and in her last moments the church was her chief source of care.  No excuse for absence from the services of the church was satisfactory to her except sickness.  She was ready to give of her means as well as her time and personal services toward the support of the teaching of the gospel.  Her home was the home of the preacher as long as she was physically able to take care of the house.  For months she had not been in vigorous health and for some weeks was quite feeble, but would not give her consent to leave her own home until stricken with paralysis, January 13, when she was removed to the home of her son, James Frank, where she died January 30, 1903.  Retiring and modest almost to timidity, she was not a talking Christian but a working Christian.  The early years of her married life, when she began with little, as well as in the later years of financial success, she was a true helpmate to her husband, by whose side she stood for more that forty-three years, was a true mother, a good neighbor, a faithful friend and an earnest though quiet Christian.

          James F. Alumbaugh was reared to farm labor, receiving his education in the district schools.  He engaged in the livery business when twenty-three years old, locating at Carlisle for one year, where he operated the business until he sold it, to engage in the hardware trade, in company with J.N. Roberts, under the firm name of Roberts & Alumbaugh.  They also conducted a lumber and grain business at the depot and carried a large stock of farm implements and vehicles.  This co-partnership existed until January 1, 1905, when it was dissolved by mutual consent.  The hardware business is now conducted by Mr. Alumbaugh’s son, under the name of J.F. Alumbaugh & Co.  Since January 1, 1905, when Mr. Alumbaugh retired from the hardware business, he has superintended his farm in Haddon township, a two hundred acre tract known as the old Alumbaugh homestead.  He is also president of the Carlisle Construction Company, formed for the purpose of constructing gravel and stone walks and roads, and is vice president and one of the original organizers of the First Nation Bank of Carlisle, a solid financial institution.  Like his father, James F. Alumbaugh affiliates with the Democratic party.  He is a member of the county council and served two terms on the town council.  He takes much interest in educational matters, having served nine years on the Carlisle school board with much credit to himself and to the entire satisfaction of the district.  He belongs to Carlisle Lodge, No. 3, F. & A.M., standing high in the Masonic fraternity.

          Mr. Alumbaugh was married June 11, 1884, to Nora May Markee, who was born in Carlisle June 11, 1866, daughter of Isaac Newton and Mary Ann (Ferree) Markee.  (See sketch of the Ferree family, elsewhere in this work, with sketch of Edley W. Rogers.)  Isaac Newton Markee was born in Tippecanoe, Harrison county, Ohio, February 7, 1832.  He was married May 29, 1856, to Mary Ann Ferree Pirtle, of Carlisle, Indiana, by Capt. Wilbur Van Fossen.  To this union were born five children:  William Allen, Sarah Ellen, Nora D., Maud Winifred and a daughter who died in infancy.  Mr. Markee was a shoemaker by trade and a man of good business tact and had the confidence of all who knew him.  His father, James Markee, was born in 1795 and is buried in the town cemetery of Robinson, Illinois.  The mother Rhoda Johnson Nevitt, was born in Ohio in January, 1801.  Isaac Newton Markee died in Carlisle, Indiana, September 6, 1883, of paralysis of the bowels, having been an invalid for many years.  Mrs. Alumbaugh was educated at Carlisle, Indiana, and taught school for a season.  One son was born to Mr. Alumbaugh and wife, Harry Tilford, born March 21, 1885.  He was educated at Carlisle and at the naval academy at Culver, Indiana, and the Illinois University, after which he returned home.  He married Abbie Ross Harris, a native of Richmond, Indiana, where she was reared and educated, and they have two sons:  James Winston and Harris Tilford.  Mr. and Mrs. Alumbaugh are members of the Christian church.  Mrs. Alumbaugh is especially interested in church work, having served eight years as president of the C.W.B.M., three years as junior superintendent of the C.E., a teacher in the Sunday school for twenty-five years, and has always taken an active part in all public charities.  At present she is vice president of the National Benevolent Association for Homeless Children, and has done much good for that cause.  She is much beloved by children and appreciates greatly the friendship of a child.
Transcribed by Katherine Haggerty

          Charles Francis Batey, of the firm of Reed & Batey, druggists, and one of the well-known and enterprising merchants doing business at Sullivan, is a native of Kansas, born September 24, 1874, in Marchall county of that state.  He is the son of William Henry and Alice (Francis) Batey.  The senior Batey was a native of Ohio, born February, 1850, and died in 1900, in Sullivan county, Indiana.  The mother of Charles F. was born in Kansas, and died in 1876, after which sad event the father married Mary E. Stuckey, a native of Illinois, and who now resides at Terre Haute.  One child was born to each union – Charles F., by the first and Thomas Lloyd, by the second.  Thomas Lloyd was born in 1888, in Crawford county, Illinois, and now resides with his mother at Terre Haute.

          Charles Francis Batey was reared by his father and continued to remain at home until he was eighteen years of age, after which time he was variously engaged in the western part of Sullivan county for about two years.  When about twenty years old, he went to Sullivan.  This was in 1894 and then he commenced clerking for Joseph S. Reed in the drug business.  He remained with him until 1898, then went to Terre Haute with the Burton Drug Company, for whom he traveled about one year in Southern Indiana.  But not thinking the position on the road to his liking, he opened a drug store for Mr. Coffman, in Sullivan, but after a short time left that enterprise and went back with J.S. Reed and remained with him until September, 1902, when he bought a half interest of the Reed stock, since which time the firm has been known as Reed & Batey.  They handle large quantities of drugs, wall paper, paints, all kinds of musical instruments, sewing machines and general supplies.

          Mr. Batey is a half owner of the Globe Theatre at Sullivan, which he opened himself in May, 1907, but in the following August took Francis H. Abell in as his partner, the latter being the manager of it.  In his political choice, Mr. Batey is a Republican.  Fraternally, he is associated with the Odd Fellows, Elks and Modern Woodmen of America orders, having reached the Encampment degree of the first named lodge, while he is a trustee of the last two.

          In the month of August, 1898, he was married to Louise Burton, daughter of Thomas and Emily (Brewer) Burton.  Mrs. Batey’s mother is still living, and both were natives of Sullivan county, Indiana.  Mrs. Batey was born April, 1874, and graduated from high school of Sullivan.  To Mr. and Mrs. Batey one daughter has been born:  Emily Pauline, born in May, 1899.  The parents are both members of the Methodist Episcopal church.
Transcribed by Katherine Haggerty

          Lafayette A. Stewart, D.D.S., dental surgeon, practicing in Sullivan, Indiana, is a native of Sullivan county, born June 12, 1864, son of Lafayette and Emily (Peters) Stewart.  The father was born in Indiana and died in Sullivan county in 1884.  He was descended from that most sturdy and excellent people, the Scotch-Irish.  The mother was born in Sullivan county and died in 1888.  Lafayette Stewart was a general merchant doing business at Grayville and Sullivan, Indiana, up to within twenty years of his death, when engaged in the insurance and real estate business in Sullivan.  In politics, he was a supporter of the chief principles of the Democratic party; was trustee of Hamilton township, and took much interest in public matters.  He was a member of the pioneer Masonic lodge at Sullivan, being a charter member, and its first master.  He was also advanced to membership in the chapter of that fraternity.  Both he and his wife were members of the Presbyterian church, of which he served as an elder for a number of years.  Eight children blessed this union:  Isaac P., deceased;  Joseph L., residing in New York City; two who died in infancy;  Charles M., deceased;  Florence B., wife of R.C. Barnes, residing in Long Beach, California;  Lafayette A.;  Ralph W., residing at Danville, Illinois, a practicing dentist.

          Lafayette A. Stewart was graduated from the high school of Sullivan with the class of 1883, after which he entered the Indiana Dental College, at Indianapolis, from which institution he was graduated in 1888.  In the meantime, he worked with his brother Charles in the insurance business.  After his graduation, he commenced the practice of dentistry in Sullivan, where he is still located, and enjoying a lucrative practice.

          In his political views, Dr. Stewart is a defender of pure Democracy and votes the Democratic ticket.  In his fraternal relations, he is numbered among the brothers of the blue lodge, chapter and council of the Masonic order; he also belongs to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows – subordinate and encampment degrees.

          The doctor was united in marriage, August 14, 1890, to Mattie Crowder, born in Sullivan, November 6, 1866, a daughter of Dr. R.H. Crowder.  Mrs. Stewart was educated in the Sullivan schools.  Both the doctor and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal church and he has served as a trustee of the church for several years.  Two children were born to Dr. Stewart and wife:  Lois, born November 3, 1892, she is now attending high school;  Lafayette, born March 27, 1903.
Transcribed by Katherine Haggerty

          Frank J. Nicholas, an enterprising and skillful contractor and builder of Sullivan, is a native of Morgan county, Indiana, born March 3, 1878, a son of James F. and Rhoda (Long) Nicholas, who were born in Morgan county, Indiana.  The father is a brick mason and contractor, who went to Sullivan in 1890, and has resided there ever since.  He is a Republican in his political views, and was a soldier in the Civil war, being a member of the fife and drum corps.  He is a member of the Grand Army of the Republic.

          When Frank J. was about three years old, his parents moved to Brazil, Indiana, where he attended school.  At the age of fifteen years he commenced to work for himself, learning the bricklayer’s trade and working at it in Brazil for five years, during which time he studied at home.  He had taken up the study of architecture and when he had reached twenty years of age, began contracting on his own account.  His first building contract was the Davis, Carpenter & Hoskins building, a business block and business college structure, of which Mr. Nicholas was the contractor on the mason work.  He remained there until 1900, then went to Colorado Springs, Colorado, where he superintended the erection of three large veneered brick residences, he doing the architectural work on the same.  In the autumn of 1900, he came to Sullivan, where he has resided ever since and been engaged in the architecture and building business, doing contract work.  Among the structures planned by him may be names in this connection the Citizen’s Trust & Loan Company’s building, the largest building in Sullivan county.  It is located on the corner of Jackson and Main streets and is seventy-five by one hundred and thirty feet on the ground and fifty-five feet high – three stories.  He also built the Carnegie Library, which was erected in 1904, at a cost of $10,000.  Mr. Nicholas’ father had the contract for doing the mason work on the Davis Hotel and superintended the building of the Methodist Episcopal church at Sullivan.  Besides the building named, Frank J. Nicholas had the contract for building the Jackson Street High school building, in Sullivan, and also the Leach block, on West Washington street.  Among the late and beautiful residences within the town, he has had the majority of the building contracts, including the preparation of the plans and specifications.  In the Giles Addition to Sullivan, he planned and contracted for all of the buildings except one, and built the Bay’s block on North Court street.  At this writing, he drew the plans for the new Presbyterian church, erected in 1908.  He is one of the stockholders of the new opera house being erected, and made the plans for the building, which is known as the “Colonnade.”  Politically, Mr. Nicholas is a firm supporter of the principles laid down by the Republican party.  He is identified with the Masons and Elks.

          He was united in marriage, first in 1897, to Mary Underhill, who was born at Pleasantville, Sullivan county, Indiana, December 10, 1877, and who died April 22, 1906, leaving two children to mourn her death.  The issue by this union was: Lois, deceased; William; Agnes; Mary Gertrude, deceased.  For his second wife, Mr. Nicholas married, in November, 1907, Gertrude Underhill, a sister of his first wife, and who was born in the same locality in 1879.  The first wife spent the last two years of her life in Colorado Springs.  Both wives were members of the Baptist church, and members of the Rebekah lodge of the Odd Fellows order.

          Beginning at the lower round of the ladder of life, Mr. Nicholas has steadily made his way upward, though at times against many difficulties.  He has accumulated a handsome property, including two fine residences in Sullivan.
Transcribed by Katherine Haggerty

          George Randall Stivers, proprietor of the Interurban Restaurant of Sullivan, Indiana, was born in Meigs county, Ohio, July 19, 1856, a son of George and Elizabeth (Rice) Stivers.  The mother was born in Alabama, in 1821, and died in 1883.  The father was born in Oswego county, New York, in 1819, and was killed at the battle of Stone River, January 2, 1862, during the Civil war.  He was a captain of the same, and plied the rivers from Pittsburg to Kentucky.  He has this boat built at Madison, Indiana, and it was called “Leslie Combs.”  It was built for George R. Stivers by the Robinson Brothers.  His maternal grandparents were residents of New Orleans, and at one time were quite wealthy.  The paternal grandfather, George Randall Stivers, was born in Germany and his wife, Mary Uriana, was born in the same country, and there they were united in marriage, coming to this country at a very early day.  They were the parents of the following children:  William, deceased; George, deceased; Uriana, a resident of Des Moines, Iowa; Catherine, of the same city, and both are unmarried; Charles, a resident of Frankfort, Kentucky.  George Stivers, the father of George Randall, was  Republican in politics and belonged to the Masonic fraternity.  In church relations he was a member of the Baptist church, as was also his wife, until after his death, when she united with the Methodist Episcopal church.  There were five children born to Mr. and Mrs. George Stivers:  Harriet, deceased; Oliver Rice, resides in Columbus, Ohio, and is a commercial salesman; Serena, deceased; Mary Uriana, deceased; George Randall, of this memoir.

          Reared in Kentucky and Indiana, George Randall Stivers received the most of his schooling in Vevay, Indiana, and learned the printer’s trade at that place.  He was employed for three years on the Vevay Reveille, after which he worked for a time in Cincinnati, on the Enquirer.  Leaving this trade, he commenced the butchering business at Edinburg, Indiana, where he continued for ten years.  He then moved to Sullivan, Indiana, where he followed the same business for seventeen years.  He sold this business and engaged in the restaurant business, moving to his present place in December, 1906.  His place of business is at the corner of North Court and Beech streets, Sullivan.  In addition to the regular restaurant trade, he carries a full line of tobacco, cigars, candies, etc.

          In his political views, Mr. Stivers is a believer in the principles of the Republican party.  For two years he was marshal of the town of Edinburg and served on the town board of Sullivan two years.  He is interested in fraternal societies, belonging to the Odd Fellows, Elks, Knights of Pythias and Modern Woodmen of America.  He was united in marriage, December 28, 1886, to Nanie Bowers, who was born in Perksville, Kentucky, August 30, 1856, and died February 16, 1905.  She was educated at the high school of Edinburg, Johnson county, Indiana.  There was no issue by this marriage.  For his second wife, Mr. Stivers married, August 5, 1907, Nora Shepherd, who was born in Sullivan county, Indiana, May 12, 1880.  The present wife is a member of the Presbyterian church, while the first wife was connected with the Christian denomination.
Transcribed by Katherine Haggerty

          John Ersinger, a civil engineer of Sullivan, Indiana, was born September 3, 1860, in Santon Schaffhausen, Switzerland, a son of Michael and Anna (Myers) Ersinger, both natives also of that place, and both now deceased.  They were farmers in Switzerland, and of an excellent family.  The children born to Michael and Anna (Myers) Ersinger were as follows:  Barbara; Michael; Christian; Leonard; George; Alexander; John; Anna, deceased.  This family all live in Switzerland except John and his brother Leonard, who resides in northern Indiana.

          Educated in Switzerland in a literary and civil engineering course, John Ersinger, in 1880, came to the United States and located at Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, where he was engaged at his profession for about four months, then went to Indiana and settled at Goodland, where his brother now resides, and here engaged in the railway service, being in the civil engineering department of the Chicago & Eastern Illinois Railroad Company.  His first work was surveying the road from Brazil to Evansville.  His next employment was in Minnesota, on an extension of the Duluth & Iron Range, from Tower to Ely.  After one year’s service there, he returned to Brazil, Indiana, from which place he surveyed a line to Evansville, for the Chicago & Eastern Illinois System.  He then quit railroading and returned to Brazil and operated a coal mine for about three years, after which he engaged as an engineer in the construction of the gravel roads in Clay county, Indiana, at which he worked for about four years, and during which time he constructed most of the gravel roads in that county.  May 1, 1898, he went to Sullivan, when the gravel roads were first started in that section of the state, and was there employed at such work for about two years.  At the termination of this undertaking, he, with R.L. Bailey, surveyed for several interurban roads which have not as yet been constructed.  In 1904, he entered into a contract to construct macadamized roads in Sullivan county, of which he has up to this time made nine miles of most excellent roads.  He is still thus engaged and his skill is acknowledged to be superior to others employed in such contract work.

          Politically, he is a Republican, and fully alive to all of that party’s interests.  He is affiliated with the Masonic fraternity, being a member of blue lodge, chapter, council, commandery and Eastern Star.  He is a stockholder in the Hamilton Gas and Oil Company, of which he is also a director.
Transcribed by Katherine Haggerty
 
          William H. Lucas, of the Sullivan Transfer Company, is a native of Turman township, Sullivan county, Indiana, born December 11, 1858, son of Barton R. and Sarah Elizabeth (Weir) Lucas.  His father was born in Floyd county, Indiana, October, 1833, of Scotch-Irish descent.  The mother was born in Turman township, in 1836, and died in 1872; she was of Irish extraction.  The grandfather of William H. Lucas, James Weir, was a native of Ireland, and his wife, Margaret McKee, was born in the United States.  James Weir always followed farming for his livelihood, and was among the pioneer settlers of Turman township.  Barton R. Lucas the paternal grandfather, was born in Scotland and came to this country, where he served in the war of 1812 against Great Britain.  He also followed agricultural pursuits all of his life.

          Barton R. Lucas, the father of William H., was a soldier in the Civil war, and after his return from that conflict engaged in farming, continuing until about 1870, when he retired to Sullivan, where he lived until 1902, and then removed to Bedford, Indiana, his present home.  He was twice married, first to Sarah Elizabeth Weir, by whom the following children were born:  James B., deceased; William H, of this notice; John A., of Sullivan; Charles E., deceased; Sarah E., deceased; Estella, deceased.  For his second wife, Mr. Lucas married Catherine Deckard, by whom he had one daughter – Cora, who is living at Bedford, Indiana.

          William H. Lucas was practically reared in Sullivan county, as his father moved to this county when he was a mere boy.  Here he was educated in the common schools in Sullivan.  When but seventeen years of age, he enlisted, September 12, 1876, in the Seventh United States Cavalry, serving until September 12, 1881.  He was stationed with the regiment in Dakota, Montana, Wyoming, Utah and the northwest.  He was both a private and an orderly sergeant.  After the termination of his army service, he turned his attention toward railroading, entering the employ of the Evansville & Terre Haute Railroad, commencing as a brakeman in the passenger service.  He was in this position about one year, when he was promoted to conductor on the same road.  He ran from Evansville to Terre Haute, following the same until 1887, when he abandoned the road engaged in the livery business, coupled with a transfer line, which is now styled the Sullivan Transfer Company.  At present, his partner is James E. Russell.  They have the largest barn in the town of Sullivan.  They cater to the hotel service and also to passenger and mail interests.

          In his political affiliations, Mr. Lucas is a stanch supporter of the Republican party; he has served two years on the town council and in January, 1908, was elected as chairman of the Republican county central committee.  He is a member of the Odd Fellows and Knights of Pythias fraternities and also a member of the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks.  He is now serving as the president of the Sullivan County Trotting Association.

          An important event in the career of Mr. Lucas was his marriage, October 1, 1882, to Lucinda C. Leach, who was born in Grant county, Indiana, April 23, 1857, a daughter of Edmond and Emily (Brewer) Leach, both natives of Indiana, and both now deceased.  Mr. and Mrs. Lucas are the parents of one daughter – Glen, who was born July 26, 1883.  She was educated at the high schools of Sullivan and then attended the Indianapolis Conservatory of Music for two years, taking both vocal and instrumental instructions.  She was married, July 24, 1903, to Harold C. Bays, and they reside at Culver, Indiana.  Mrs. Lucas is a member of the Christian church and much interested in the work of that denomination.
Transcribed by Katherine Haggerty

          Manning E. Drake, of the Sullivan Monument Company, workers in marble and stone for monumental purposes, was born October 19, 1854, in Fairbanks township, Sullivan county, Indiana, a son of Manning and Margaret (Armstrong) Drake.  The father was born in Butler county, Ohio, June 17, 1813, and the mother was a native of Kentucky; she died October 24, 1860.  Manning Drake, Sr., was of English descent, while his wife descended from the Scotch lines of Great Britain.  The grandfather, James Drake, came to Sullivan county in 1817, locating in Fairbanks township, where he followed farm life until his death.  He claimed a large tract of land and was highly respected and prosperous.  Politically, he was an avowed Democrat.

          Manning Drake, the father of Manning E., lived in Fairbanks township from the age of four years.  He possessed a remarkable memory and his mind was clear and active up to the time of his death, which occurred June 6, 1908.  At one time he owned about twelve hundred acres of land in Fairbanks township.  He became forehanded and loaned much money out to those about him.  In his political views he was a Democrat.  Both he and his good wife were members of the Baptist church.  To them were born twelve children: Elizabeth, deceased; Mary J.; Amanda; Malinda; James; Benjamin, deceased; Sarah, deceased; Ira; Manning E.; Margaret; William; and one who died in infancy.

          Manning E. Drake was reared on the farm and obtained a good common-school education in the district schools of his neighborhood.  When he became twenty-one years of age, he commenced to farm independently, in Curry township, Sullivan county.  He continued there until April 12, 1898, when he removed to Sullivan and engaged in the livery business and in the shipment of horses of all kinds.  In 1900, he sold out this business and embarked in the marble and monument business, under the firm name of Cummins & Drake.  This co-partnership continued until 1906, when W.F. Wagner bought Mr. Cummins out, and the firm was changed to Drake & Wagner.  This enterprising and thoroughly reliable firm sell the product of their works in Sullivan, Vigo, Parke, Greene, Clay, and other territory within Indiana and also in Illinois.  It is among the most extensive works for fitting up monuments within this portion of the state of Indiana.  Either one member or the other of this firm remains on the road selling, while the other superintends the work at home.

          While Mr. Drake was yet on the farm, he made a reputation as a specialist in raising Poland-China swine, all registered.  He shipped about one hundred and fifty head annually to all parts of the United States.  He also handled registered Holstein cattle, though not on so extensive a scale as he did the hogs mentioned.  He still owns land of much value – eighty acres within Curry township and two hundred and twenty acres one mile west of Sullivan.  Politically, Mr. Drake affiliates with the Democrats.  He is a member of the Odd Fellows order at Sullivan.

          One of the most important events of Mr. Drake’s life was his marriage, May 4, 1878, to Emma Gaskins, who was born in Curry township, and died April 4, 1882.  Two children were the result of this union:  Perry, born March 14, 1879, married and resides on a farm;  Olive, born August 3, 1881, is unmarried and at home.  Both attended the schools in Sullivan.  For his second wife, Mr. Drake married, March 1, 1883, Julia Denney, born in Curry township, Sullivan county, a daughter of William Denney, now of Sullivan.  The date of her birth was July 29, 1863.  Her mother died when the daughter was but a mere child.  By Mr. Drake’s second marriage, four children were born:  LeRoy, born May 14, 1885, a graduate of the Bennett Medical College in Chicago, with the class of 1906; he also attended one of the medical colleges at Indianapolis, and then began practicing medicine at Middletown, Vigo county, Indiana, but removed to Palatine, Illinois, in January, 1908;  Goldie, born November 30, 1887, unmarried, a graduate of the high school in 1905; she is now attending Franklin College, from which she expects to graduate in 1909;  Claudie, born in September, 1891, attending high school;  Lola, born August 22, 1894, also in high school.  Mr. Drake and his family are members of the Baptist church.
Transcribed by Katherine Haggerty

          James Douglas Smith, one of the owners of the Arc Amusement Company of Sullivan, Indiana, and the tonsorial artist whose finely equipped parlor is at the Davis House, is James D. Smith, who was born June 24, 1864, in Vigo county, Indiana, in Fayette township, son of James and Nancy (Posey) Smith.  The father, a native of Sullivan county, was born in Jefferson township in 1832, in the month of November, and died in Oklahoma in May, 1906.  The mother was born in the same township as her husband, and they were united in marriage in Sullivan county.  The grandfather of James D. Smith was among the early settlers of Sullivan county, who took government land and resided there the remainder of his life.

          James Smith, the father, made agriculture his occupation.  He farmed in Vigo county one or two seasons, then moved back to Farmer’s Prairie in Hamilton township, Sullivan county, where he purchased sixty acres of land.  After residing there for nineteen years he sold out and moved to Shelburn, Indiana, where he lived a retired life for two years.  He the moved to his farm in Curry township, where his wife died.  He married Mrs. Thomas Chambers, of Cass township, Sullivan county, but subsequently they separated and he moved to Dugger, where he was engaged at various business enterprises for a time, but about 1902 he went to Oklahoma, bought a farm there and remained there until his death.  Politically he was a Democrat.  Both he and his first wife were members of the Christian church.  They were the parents of the following children:  Homer, deceased; Marshal B., a barber of Hymera; Emma A., of Oklahoma; Charles, of Sullivan; James D., of this notice; William, of Washington, North Dakota; and two who died in their infancy.

          James D. Smith was reared on the farm and obtained a common-school education.  He remained at home with his father until twenty years of age, when he engaged in the barber business, learning his trade at Dugger, Indiana, after which he conducted a shop there himself for about ten years, and then went to Sullivan, where he has since been engaged in the barber business.  In September, 1898, he opened his shop in the New Davis hotel, where he makes use of four barber chairs and conducts a first-class shop.  He is also a half owner in the Arc Amusement Company, which is located on North Court street, opposite the Davis Hotel.

          In his political views, Mr. Smith is in accord with the Democratic party.  He is a member of the Odd Fellows and Knights of Pythias orders at Sullivan.  He was married May 18, 1889, to Lavina Campbell, born in Hamilton township, Sullivan county, Indiana, October 22, 1872, a daughter of Thomas M. and Jane (Spence) Campbell.  She received her education in her native township at the public schools.  One daughter has been born of this union:  Dorothy, born May 10, 1900.  Mr. Smith is a member of the Christian church, while his wife is connected with the Presbyterian.  Mr. Smith’s paternal grandfather was twice married and was the father of twenty-one children.
Transcribed by Katherine Haggerty


          William F. Wagner, one of the proprietors of the Sullivan Monument Company, was born August 4, 1864, in Terre Haute, Indiana, a son of William and Catherine (Emerick) Wagner.  William Wagner was a native of Wittenburg, Germany, born August 13, 1826, and died May 29, 1900, at Clinton, Indiana, his home, however, being in Terre Haute.  The mother was born in Trenton, New Jersey, in 1837, on the twentieth day of November, and she died March 20, 1906, in Los Angeles, California.  Her husband located in Terre Haute in October, 1852, when yet a single man, and they were married there January, 1863.  He had learned the stone-cutter’s trade in Germany, and also worked some at the stone monument industry.  After going to Terre Haute, he built the State Normal College buildings at that place, as well as the Marble Block on Wabash avenue, the Old Opera house, the Episcopal church and the Presbyterian church.  The stone used in the construction of the two last named buildings was quarried at Pottsville, Indiana, and floated down on rafts.  He also built a great many store buildings at Paris, Illinois, and Brazil and Vincennes, Indiana.  He engaged in the monument business at Terre Haute in 1854, on Third street, under the firm name of Wagner, Crossley & Webber, which firm continued for about ten years.  Mr. Wagner then engaged in the building stone business, in which he remained until 1875, when he formed a partnership with F.B. Palmer, under the name of Palmer & Wagner, which business relations existed for seven years, when the name of the firm was changed to Wagner & Ripley.  They continued as a firm for five years, when the business was conducted as Wagner & Son, and so operated until the father’s death.

          Politically Mr. Wagner was a supporter of the Democratic party.  He belonged to the Odd Fellows and Ancient Order of United Workmen lodges.  His wife was a member of the Roman Catholic church and was of German descent.  Eleven children were born of this union, four of whom died in infancy, and the others were:  William F. and George W. (twins), George W. being now deceased;  Lewis F., residing at Newman, Illinois;  Edward, deceased;  Catherine, deceased;  Josephine, residing at Los Angeles, California;  Mamie B., of Los Angeles, wife of Arthur W. Harris, has three daughters.

          William F. Wagner was reared in the city of Terre Haute, receiving his education at the public schools and being graduated from the Old Garvin Commercial College in 1882,  Believing that every man was more independent by having perfect knowledge of some one of the trades, he mastered that of stone-cutter, under his father’s directions, working with him until his death, in 1900, since which time Mr. Wagner was engaged at Clay City, Clay county, Indiana, up to 1905 and in Sullivan since then.  During 1905 he entered into a partnership with M.E. Drake, under the firm name of Drake & Wagner, but now styled the Sullivan Monument Company, which concern is doing an extensive and profitable business in the artistic production of substantial monuments and kindred marble and stone work.

          In his political views, Mr. Wagner is a firm believer in the general principles laid down in the platforms of the Democratic party.  In his fraternal affiliations, he belongs to the Knights of Pythias, Modern Woodmen of America and the Tribe of Ben Hur of Sullivan.  He was united in marriage, March 6, 1884 to Nora E. Bressler, a native of Clay county, Indiana.  She was reared on a farm and received her education at the common schools, remaining at home with her people until the date of her marriage.  She is the daughter of Daniel H. and Matilda (Zenor) Bressler.  The father was born in Pennsylvania, and his father conducted one of the old-time stage route hotels or taverns in that state.  Mrs. Wagner’s mother was born in Clay county, Indiana, and both parents are now deceased.  Mr. and Mrs. Wagner are the parents of one daughter – Jessie May, born December 19, 1886.  In their religious convictions, both Mr. and Mrs. Wagner are members of the Methodist Episcopal church.
Transcribed by Katherine Haggerty

          Leander R. Botts, a retired farmer of Sullivan county, was born June 30, 1837, in Coshocton county, Ohio, son of John and Nancy (Morris) Botts.  The father was born in Pennsylvania in 1796 and died in 1847, in Hocking county, Ohio.  The mother was born in Maryland in 1798 and died July 1, 1859, in Sullivan county.  She was of French extraction and the father of German.  He was a farmer and they were married in Ohio.  Leander R. Botts received a limited education in Hocking county, Ohio, and started out in life for himself at the age of eighteen years, working as a farm hand, and when twenty-two years old he began farming for himself.  He also taught school, continuing in this calling until thirty years of age, farming summers and teaching in the winter months.  In 1859 he came to Hamilton township, Sullivan county, Indiana.  He followed teaching in Hamilton, Jackson, Fairbanks and Curry townships.  He next took up the business of stock dealer, in conjunction with his farming operations, following the same ten years.  He once owned a hundred and fifty acres in Hamilton township.  He remained on the farm until 1904, when he retired to Sullivan, where he purchased a city residence property.  He still owns eighteen acres in his home township.  Politically, Mr. Botts votes the Democratic ticket. He is a member of blue lodge of the Masonic fraternity at Sullivan.

          March 1, 1860, he was married to Elizabeth Rusher, born in Sullivan county, Indiana, February 10, 1836, daughter of Minor and Mary (Marlow) Rusher, both natives of Kentucky.  The father was born in 1806 and died in Sullivan county, Indiana April 30, 1867, and the mother born August 31, 1811, died February 22, 1888.  They were of German descent and emigrated to Sullivan county in 1828, being numbered among the very early settlers of the county.  The five children born of this union are as follows:  Hettie, born June 1, 1861, wife of Joseph Wyman and residing in Hamilton township;  George F., September 10, 1864, now resides on Jackson street, Sullivan, Indiana;  William H., October 10, 1866;  Maggie, born May 29, 1870, died in February, 1876;  Flora C., born February 8, 1876, died May 5, 1896.  Mrs. Botts has been a consistent member of the Christian church for many years.

          For his years, Mr. Botts has a remarkable memory, as is illustrated by the list of his old school teachers, beginning with the first, and which list he desires to keep as a record for the future:  Miss Stratton, in Licking county, Ohio; Mr. Kelsey, James G. McBroom, Nathan England, Henry Lincoln, Rosie O’Neil, Ephraim Woodard, Phebe Sudlow, Jesse Griggsby, all of Hocking county, Ohio; Samuel Edginton and Robert Wolfenbarger, of Coshocton county, Ohio.  When Mr. Botts first came to this township the land was all timbered heavily, and this was removed by log rollings, which lasted about two weeks, each spring.  He relates how the school teacher of the “fifties” were paid a dollar a day.  Also how in his boyhood days they all lived on their own resources, making their own clothing, sugar, molasses, etc.  He notes the great transformation since those pioneer days in the Buckeye and Hoosier states, and is glad to have been a participant in changing the wilderness to a fertile, prosperous and highly enlightened section.
Transcribed by Katherine Haggerty

          John McNabb Branson – No philosopher ever made a truer statement than the one who proclaimed that the greatest man in the world can do no more than to do well the thing which lies nearest to him; and it may be added that greatness has usually been achieved through the faculty and determination to accomplish with faithfulness and forethought the affairs of family and home community before going a field for other honors.  Measured by this approved standard, John McNabb Branson, well know primarily as a substantial farmer and stock raiser, has made his useful and honorable life one unvarying success, and his manly and intelligent efforts have never ceased to assist in the agricultural, educational and religious development of Curry township and Sullivan county.  He comes of an old Virginia family, his father migrated form the Old Dominion (through Tennessee and Georgia) to this Indiana region, where he became one of its foremost pioneers.  The son was born in Cocke county, Tennessee, on the 25th of April, 1836, being the son of Michael, Jr. and Sarah (McNabb) Branson.  The father was a native of Pittsylvania county, Virginia, where he was born in September, 1805, and died in Curry township, Sullivan county, March 22, 1888.  The mother was born in Cocke county, Tennessee, and died on the farm adjoining the homestead now occupied by John M., in 1890.  The paternal grandfather, a native of Virginia, spent his life within its limits as a farmer, stock raiser and a distiller.  By his wife he became the father of ten children, and the sons are as follows:  James, was a resident of Missouri, and was a farmer;  George, was a renowned Baptist minister, itinerant, district, and preached in four or five counties in Indiana;  he died in the state of Iowa;  Asa, was a farmer and stock dealer; he purchased lands in Jackson township, and there died;  Michael was the father of John McNabb Branson;  Luke L., was a Baptist minister in North Carolina, also an agriculturist;  Joseph was an agriculturist, resided in Missouri, and there died.  There is no record given of the daughters.  Michael Branson, Jr., received an unusually broad education for one of those days, and during his lifetime practiced three professions, as well as became remarkably successful in agricultural enterprises.  He was first a school teacher, practiced medicine, preached from the pulpit of the Baptist church, and during the last twenty years of his life not only returned to his labors as a physician but profitably engaged in farming.  From Virginia he first removed to Cocke county, Tennessee, and in 1844 transferred his homestead to Hamilton county, that state, later going to Cass county, Georgia, and finally in 1849 locating with his family in Curry township.  Here he entered the last quarter section of canal land and resided until his death, occupied as farmer, a physician and a man of public affairs.  For many years he served as a justice of the peace, and as early as 1857 represented the county in the state legislature for one term.  In politics he was a stanch Democrat, never turning from the straight path as laid down by the fathers of the party.  The four children born to this strong and good man were as follows:  Samuel, for a time a school teacher prior to his death, at the age of twenty years;  Nancy Branson Curry, who died after rearing three children;  John M. Branson, of this review; and Felix, who married M.J. Curry and died some dozen years ago, leaving four children.  The children of this family were all well educated, and honored their parents, themselves and the communities of their residence.

          John M. Branson spent the first twenty-five years of his life on the home farm, securing an education and faithfully assisting his parents.  He then mastered the cooper’s trade, and after being employed in that line for some time opened a shop at Shelburn, which he operated for several years before his marriage.  Subsequently, he purchased land in Curry township and commenced to farm on a tract of forty acres.  His holdings have since been increased to one hundred and eighty acres, and he now owns not only one of the most valuable farms in this locality, but one of the finest residences in Farmersburg.  Mr. Branson was a resident of the town for seven years while his children were attending school there, but now lives on his fine farm, engaged in the raising of standard crops and live stock and making a specialty of the breeding of horses.  In politics he is a Populist Democrat, has been somewhat active in the local field, and has served for one term as assessor.  He is a member of the Missionary Baptist church, and for many years has been prominently connected with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows.  The Farmersburg lodge was established in 1885, and he has filled all the chairs in it, is a member of the Encampment, and has served as a delegate to the grand lodge.

          On May 10, 1866, John M. Branson married, as his first wife, Martha A. Zink, who was born in Jacksonville township, Sullivan county, Indiana, in November, 1848, and died June 20, 1885, being buried in Littleflock cemetery, Shelburn.  The children of this union were as follows: (1) Stella, born February 14, 1876, who is teaching music in the girls’ department of the State School at Redwing, Minnesota, having been educated at DePauw University, Greencastle, Indiana, and also taught music in Chicago; (2) George Austin Branson, was born May 14, 1878, in Curry township, and is now engaged in the implement business in Hindsburg, Illinois.  He married Goldie Knight, having been educated at Danville, Illinois; (3) Flossie, who was born November 4, 1882, married Robert C. Brownlee, and resides in St. Louis.  She is a graduate of the Protestant Association Hospital of St. Louis, and is a lady of thorough culture and earnestness of purpose; (4) Clarence Michael Branson was born on the 13th of June, 1885, and is pursuing a law course at Bloomington, Indiana.  He attended the normal school at Danville two years and taught for a like period, having now three diplomas to his credit.  He is married to Martha Inez Sparks.

          As his second wife, John M. Branson married, on July 11, 1887, Miss Margaret McMillan, born in Philadelphia, March 18, 1852, daughter of Daniel and Margaret (Geddes) McMillan.  Mrs. Branson’s father was born in Glasgow, Scotland, in 1820, and died at Little Rock, Arkansas, in March, 1859.  The mother, born in the Scotch city named in 1822, died at Galveston, Texas, in 1858, being at the time a temporary resident seeking health in the south.  Mrs. Branson’s father came to the United States in 1838 and first located in Woodville, Mississippi, where as a tailor he associated himself with his uncle.  He followed that trade throughout life, and at the time of his death owned a flourishing establishment in Little Rock.  Margaret McMillan was graduated from a scientific course at the female college in Oxford, Ohio; afterward removed to Natchez, Mississippi, where she remained two years; and in 1870 located in Park county, Indiana, where for the seventeen years prior to her marriage to Mr. Branson she taught the literary and musical branches.  She is a Presbyterian, while the children of the family are members of the Methodist church.
Transcribed by Katherine Haggerty

          Arthur Denny Cutler, representing the legal profession in an able manner at Carlisle, Indiana, is a native of the state of Illinois, and was born at Dallas, Hancock county, of that state, November 15, 1875.  He is a son of Rev. William Alonzo and Mary Ann (Denny) Cutler.  William Alonzo Cutler, born at Alton, Illinois, November 28, 1843, and he was the son of Alonzo Cutler, born in Massachusetts, October 16, 1804, at Warren, and who died August 26, 1896, at Brooklyn, New York.  He was a manufacturer and real estate dealer and resided in Chicago and St. Louis for some years.  He married Elizabeth Upham, who was born November 2, 1804, in Enfield, Massachusetts, and who died in Chicago, December 25, 1863.  They were the parents of the following named children:  Marshal, deceased;  Julia, deceased;  Harriet;  Mary;  William Alonzo.

          Rev. William Alonzo Cutler was reared and received a common school education at Alton and was graduated from Jacksonville College, in Illinois, where he took the literary course.  In the days of the Civil war he was a soldier from Illinois, enlisting in April, 1864, for one hundred days, and mustered into Company “C,” One Hundred and Forty-fifth Illinois Regiment Volunteer Infantry, at Camp Butler, Springfield, Illinois.  He served about six months in southwestern Missouri, near Rolla, under General Rosencrans, and was mustered out in the fall of 1864, at Camp Butler.  He then chose the ministry and followed that profession in the Presbyterian church all his life.  Among the places in which he was pastor may be named:  Fairmont, Minnesota; Broadhead, Wisconsin; Clear Lake, Iowa; Kansas, Illinois; Charleston, Knightstown, Sullivan and Carlisle, Indiana; Rankin, Illinois, and Milwaukee, Wisconsin, the last named place being where he is now preaching.  His wife, the mother of Arthur Denny, was born in England, in Staffordshire, July 31, 1852, a daughter of John and Ellen (Samuels) Denny.  Her parents came to America in the sixties and settled in Morrison county, Minnesota, where they remained until overtaken by death.  They were the parents of six children.

          The children of Rev. William Alonzo Cutler and wife were as follows:  Everett Alonzo, born June 3, 1873, now pastor of the Westminster church at Milwaukee, Wisconsin; he graduated of Hanover College and McCormick Theological Seminary, of Chicago;  Arthur Denny, of this notice, of whom further mention is made;  William Murray, born December 20, 1877, now a cashier in the bank at Rankin, Illinois; he graduated from the Sullivan high school;  Grace Hattie, born December 18, 1881, resides with her parents at Milwaukee.

          Arthur Denny Cutler was educated in various towns in Illinois and Indiana, after which he entered Earlham College, at Richmond, Indiana, for one year and one term, then entered Hanover College, remaining four years and two terms, graduating with the class of 1894.  Having chosen the law for his life’s profession, he began the study of that science with John T. Hays, of Sullivan, Indiana, in 1894, remained under his preceptorship one year and then located in Carlisle in 1896, since which time he has carried on an independent law practice.  He is the only attorney of the place.  He was admitted to the bar November 14, 1896, and was admitted to practice in the supreme and appellate courts in 1900.  He was owner of the Carlisle News from September, 1899, to April, 1907.  He is a director and one of the organizers of the First National Bank of Carlisle.  In his political affiliations, Mr. Cutler is a supporter of the Republican party.  He belongs to the Modern Woodmen of America, and is fully up with the advanced age in which he lives.  He was united in marriage, November 7, 1900, to Tillie H. Sallee, born in Carlisle, November 23, 1875, daughter of William H. and Rebecca (Ford) Sallee, both now deceased.  Mr. and Mrs. Cutler are the parents of three children:  George, Charles Nelson, and Mary Rebecca.  Mrs. Cutler is an exemplary member of the Methodist Episcopal church.  Mr. Cutler has a library of over five hundred volumes, professional and otherwise, and his neat and well arranged office is commendable.
Transcribed by Katherine Haggerty

          Edley W. Rogers, editor of the Carlisle (Indiana) News, is a man of good southern stock, with a substantial strain of French Huguenot blood, and ancestral influences, with a strong individuality and a thorough practical training, have combined to make him a forcible and pithy journalist and a substantial all-around newspaper man.  A native of Loogootee, Indiana, he was born on the 28th of August, 1885, and is a son of W.Q. and Margaret Olly (Pirtle) Rogers.  The father was born in Adamsville, Tennessee, September 11, 1847, and the mother in Carlisle, Indiana, February 21, 1853, the latter being a daughter of William and Mary Ann (Ferree) Pirtle.  The founder of the Ferree family in the United States was Madam Mary Ferree, who was a French Huguenot and fled from France with her children, one of her fellow voyagers being William Penn.  It was in the colony of the great Quaker leader that Madame Ferree settled with her family, in 1708, and laid the foundation of the first Huguenot community in this section of the country.  Later generations of the family located in Indiana and made their home near Paxton.  Among the pioneers to this locality were Joel and Mary (Leeth) Ferree.  Their son Philip Copeland, married Margaret Trimble, and Mary Ann Ferree, a daughter by this union, became the maternal grandmother of Edley W. Rogers.  The latter was born near Paxton, Indiana, September 8, 1830, and died February 25, 1907, as the wife of Isaac Newton Markee and the mother of Mrs. W.Q. Rogers.

          Mary Ann Ferree was married twice, the first husband being William Linder Pirtle, to whom she was married when she was twenty years of age.  Her husband, who was the son of Jacob and Lydia Pirtle, was a tanner, associated for a time with Isaac Shannon, and was a man of industrious and sterling character.  He died in August, 1853, leaving Mary Ann and Margaret Olly, the latter being the mother of Edley W. Rogers, and still living.  Another daughter of this family, Clara Jane, died in infancy.  The second marriage occurred May 26, 1856, when Mary Ann Ferree became the wife of Isaac Newton Markee.

          Mr. and Mrs. W.Q. Rogers were married at Vincennes, Indiana, but never resided there, going at once to Loogootee, where they still reside, and where the husband is engaged in the real estate business.  The elder Mr. Rogers is a Republican, belonging to the Masons and Odd Fellows fraternities, and both he and his wife are active members of the Christian church.  The second of their six children, Alba, died at the age of three years, the other members of the family being still alive are:  William L., a grocer of Carlisle;  Aimee Nora, living at home;  Charles Q., a resident of Seymour, Indiana, where he is employed as a freight conductor on the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad;  Edley W., of this sketch;  and Halstead P. Rogers, a student of the Loogootee high school.

          Edley W. Rogers received his education at Loogootee, his birthplace, graduating from its high school in 1902.  He then completed the mastery of the printer’s trade, which he had commenced two years before, and continued this as his steady employment until he removed to Carlisle.  He was first employed on the Martin County Tribune and the Shoals Republican, and during 1905-6 was in partnership with his brother, William L. Rogers, at Beaumont, Kansas, where he was engaged in general merchandising.  In November, 1906, Mr. Rogers went to Sullivan to assume a position on the Democrat and Times, and remained in that capacity until his purchase of a half interest in the Carlisle News, during April, 1907.  His association in the enterprise was H.T. Alumbaugh, who remained with him until April 6, 1908, when Mr. Rogers became the sole proprietor.  His publication in a non-partisan, independent weekly newspaper, having a circulation of eight hundred copies.  It is a clean, newsy, well edited journal, and reflects decided professional credit upon its able and popular proprietor.  Its editor is a firm Republican in politics and, fraternally, is a member of Carlisle Lodge, No. 3, F. & A.M., at Carlisle, Indiana;  Jerusalem Chapter, No. 81, R.A.M., at Sullivan;  Sullivan Council, No. 73, R.S.M., at Sullivan; also of Carlisle Chapter, No. 185, Order of the Eastern Star, at Carlisle.
Transcribed by Katherine Haggerty

          William J. Curtner, proprietor of the well equipped drug store at Carlisle, was born January 14, 1854, in Carlisle, Indiana, son of James A. and Symira (Ledgerwood) Curtner.  The father was born in Kentucky and came to Carlisle, Indiana, when a young man, remaining there until his death, which occurred January 31, 1864.  He served in the army during the Mexican war.  He was of Scotch and German descent.  By trade he was a harness and saddle maker, and conducted his business on the spot where his son’s drug store now stands.  He is said to have been an exceptional workman at his trade, and his workmanship was known far and near for both its beauty and quality.  He voted the Republican ticket and was a charter member of Carlisle Lodge, No. 50, of the Odd Fellows order, at Carlisle.  Both he and his wife were members of the Methodist Episcopal church.

          The mother of William J. was born one mile southwest of Carlisle, on the old Ledgerwood homestead, which was the first place settled upon anywhere north of Vincennes.  The great-grandfather, James Ledgerwood, was a native of South Carolina and located in Kentucky when a young man and came to Indiana in the spring of 1793, and in the fall of that year returned to Kentucky, intending to move his family the following year, but on the banks of the Ohio river he was captured by the Indians, who took him to a point near Detroit, Michigan, and there held him prisoner for seven years.  He then returned to Kentucky and got his family, coming to Carlisle in 1803.  Here he built him a cabin of logs, a mile southwest of town.  He was granted some land west of Carlisle by the government on which to build a mill, which he operated until his death.  This grist-mill was willed to his son William, who operated the same until his death, giving it to three of his sons, Thomas, Joseph and William Jr.  William and Joseph died soon after their father’s death, when the property fell to Thomas, who operated it until his death, when the old pioneer landmark was sold to Benjamin Watson, and he in turn sold to a Mr. Abbey, who moved it to near Dugger, where it now stands, although abandoned for milling purposes.  A wonderful story of early days could be told had this old mill but the power of speech.  James Ledgerwood and wife reared a family of five children and one of their sons, Samuel, united with the Christian church of Sullivan county at about the date of its organization.

          Mr. Curtner’s grandfather, William Ledgerwood, was born in Kentucky, coming with the family to Sullivan county when a mere lad.  Here he grew to man’s estate and married and reared a family of twelve children.  He married Catherine Jenkins, born at Chester district, South Carolina, November, 1792.  She moved to Sullivan county, Indiana, when yet a girl.  She started with her father and mother about 1804, and after being on the journey about two weeks, her father, Thomas Jenkins, died.  The children of this family were:  Sarah, Eliza, Catherine, William, Thaddeus, Martha, John and Richard.  The last named was killed by the Mexicans while in the army.  The great-grandmother of William J. Curtner had a brother named William Gill, who came to Sullivan county before she arrived.  Gill township was named in honor of him as was “Gill Prairie.”  Mr. Curtner’s grandmother, Catherine Jenkins, and her sisters and brothers located four miles southwest of Carlisle.  The mother joined the Shakers and took her daughters with her.  Subsequently, William Ledgerwood married Catherine and took her from the Shaker society, which community bore an interesting part in the early day history of this section of Indiana.  Grandmother Jenkins and her daughters, Sarah and Eliza, were among the division of the Shakers who went to Kentucky, locating at Shakerstown, which place is still in existence.  There Grandmother Jenkins died before the Civil war and Sarah became head eldress of the Shakers at Shakerstown, holding the position until incapacitated by old age, dying when about ninety-four years.

          William Ledgerwood and wife reared twelve children – eight sons and four daughters; only one of the sons, Wesley Ledgerwood, bore children.  He died in Iowa, leaving a large family.  The daughters all married and bore children:  Martha married John Curry; Elizabeth married Col. W.D. Blackburn, who was killed in Louisiana during the Civil war; Nancy married W.G. Culberson; Symira married James A. Curtner and they were the parents of five children, as follows:  two died in infancy;  John M., residing at Wabash, Indiana, was born June 20, 1851; he is a banker; William J., of this notice; Flora, born August 11, 1857, died about 1880; she married Dr. R.L. Jenkins, now deceased, and their child was Amy, who now resides in California.

          William J. Curtner was reared and educated at Carlisle and attended business college at the old Garvin & Heinley College in Terre Haute, Indiana.  When nineteen years of age he entered the drug business, at first clerking in Carlisle, and later purchased an interest in the business, and has been thus engaged ever since.  The business is now operated under the firm name of W.J. Curtner & Sons.  They carry a full line of pure drugs, paints and wall paper.  Mr. Curtner owns a part of the old Ledgerwood homestead – eighty-three acres – of which the deed has never been changed from the family.  He also is interested in the Building and Loan Association, of which he is president.  Politically, he is a Republican and in fraternal societies he is a worthy member of both the Masonic and Odd Fellows orders at Carlisle.

          He was united in marriage, September 14, 1876, to Emma A. Griffin, born in Sullivan county, January 6, 1859, a daughter of James L. Griffin, ex-county recorder, and a minister in the Christian church.  The children born of this union are:  James F., born July 6, 1878, married Ada M. Shepherd, born in Sullivan county; they have one son – William Ledgerwood; Ada M., born December 22, 1880, married William B. Akin, former editor of the Times, at Sullivan, but now of Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, and they have one son, Edgar W., born April 2, 1886, unmarried and in business with his father; Flo, born January 4, 1892, unmarried and at home, and will be graduated from the high school in 1909.  The eldest child of the family died in infancy.  Mr. Curtner is a member of the Methodist and his wife of the Christian church.
Transcribed by Katherine Haggerty

          Edgar W. Akin, Jr., cashier and one of the directors of the People’s Bank of Carlisle, Indiana, was born June 28, 1883, in Carlisle, Indiana, son of Edgar W. Akin, Sr., and Susan M. (Wiggs) Akin.  The father was born in Bloomington, July 17, 1853, and the mother was a native of Kentucky, born May 20, 1852.  Both parents of Mr. Akin are residing in Carlisle.  (See sketch of C.T. Akin, in this work.)

          Edgar W. Akin, Sr., was engaged in business with Charles T. Akin at Carlisle until about 1892.  During that year he, with Josiah T. and Charles T. Akin, organized the People’s Bank of Carlisle, with a capital stock of $25,000, and Edgar W. Akin, Sr., has been the president ever since.  In 1902 the institution was reorganized and the stock increased to $35,000, and again in 1907 increased to $50,000.  Politically, Edgar W. Akin, Sr., is a Democrat, and in fraternal connection is a worthy member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows at Carlisle.  His wife is the daughter of Lorenzo D. Wiggs and wife, who were natives of Kentucky, emigrating to Carlisle in the fifties and conducted a hotel and a store there.  They both died at Carlisle.  They reared three children: H.R. Wiggs, residing at Carlisle; Susan M. (Mrs. Akin); Lillian, deceased.  Mr. and Mrs. Akin are members of the Christian church, of which he has been a trustee for a number of years.

          The three children of this couple are:  Elouise, born May 20, 1876, now wife of James McConnell, residing at Carlisle; she was educated in Oxford College, Oxford, Ohio, and also attended a private college (Cotes) at Terre Haute, Indiana, and she took a literary course in both schools named; the second child died in infancy, and Edgar W. Jr., is the youngest.  He was reared in Carlisle and attended the common schools, after which he entered the Culver Military Academy, in 1898.  In 1900 he entered Lake Forest Academy, at Lake Forest, Illinois, and graduated with the class of 1902.  He passed from the last named educational institution into Brown University, Providence, Rhode Island, where he spent one year, and then returned to Carlisle and began clerking in the People’s Bank.  This was in 1903, and he continued as a clerk until 1905, when he became cashier, which position of trust he still holds.

          Edgar W. Akin, Jr., was married September 14, 1904, to Elizabeth Irma Galt, born in Sterling, Illinois, a daughter of John M. and Elizabeth (McPherran) Galt, both natives of Illinois.  The father is deceased and the mother lives in Sterling, Illinois.  The father was engaged in the banking business.  Mrs. Akin was educated in the public schools of Sterling and later graduated from Ferry Hall Seminary, at Lake Forest, Illinois, with the class of 1902.  She then went to Smith College, at Northampton, Massachusetts, where she spent two years; she is a member of the Presbyterian church.
Transcribed by Katherine Haggerty

          Dr. Irvin J. Keys, representing the dental profession in a thoroughly up-to-date manner at Carlisle, Indiana, was born July 7, 1872, at Verona, Kentucky, son of William and Elizabeth (McCauley) Keys.  The mother was born in Pennsylvania in the year 1826, and died September, 1907, at Lancaster, Indiana.  The father was born at Piqua, Ohio, February 29, 1824, and died March 23, 1899, at Lancaster, Indiana.  They were united in marriage in Ohio.  Dr. Keys’ paternal grandmother was a native of Ireland and the maternal grandparents were natives of Pennsylvania.  Dr. Keys’ father went to Cincinnati, Ohio, when aged about thirteen years, and grew into manhood in that city.  He then went to Kentucky about 1860, remaining in that state until 1874, when the family moved to Lancaster, Indiana, where he and his wife both died.  He was a machinist and followed this trade all of his active years.  At Marysville, Kentucky, he owned and operated a foundry and employed about two hundred workmen.  Upon moving to Lancaster, Indiana, he lived a retired life.  Politically, he was an ardent supporter of the Republican party, and he and his wife were members of the Presbyterian church.  Seven children blessed this union, as follows:  Charles, now a resident of Bedford, Indiana; William T., residing at Commiskey, a machinist; Mary, deceased; Elizabeth, wife of Charles A. Fewell, residing near Lancaster, Indiana; Robert R., residing at Linton, Indiana, and practicing dentistry; Carrie Gertrude, wife of Nicholas Clashman, residing near Lancaster; Irvin J., of this review.

          Dr. Keys received his education at the public schools and high schools at Lancaster, graduating with the class of 1889.  He then attended the Normal at Danville, Indiana, and also one at Mitchell, after which preparation he attended the dental department of the Hospital College of Medicine, Louisville, Kentucky, one year and was graduated from the Kansas City Dental College with the class of 1897.  After graduating, he practiced his profession in Kansas City a short time, and in 1899 located at Carlisle, Indiana, where he is the only dentist of the place and enjoys a large practice.  Dr. Keys was superintendent of the schools at Dupont, Indiana, for two years, first in 1891, and was recalled in 1893 to the same position.

          He is affiliated with the Masonic order, being a member of Carlisle Lodge, No. 3, A.F. and A.M.  In addition to being a member of the Masonic order and Modern Woodmen of America, he is a member of the Supreme Tribe of Ben Hur and the Order of the Eastern Star Chapter of Carlisle, No. 185, of which order he is now worthy patron, being elected to this office the second time.  He united with the Presbyterian church at Carlisle, January 30, 1908, and a short time after was elected to serve on the Board of Elders, of which body he is now clerk.  Politically, the doctor is a Republican.  He was married in 1902 to Carrie Alberta Land, who was born in Carlisle, Indiana, and educated there.  She also received musical instruction at the Conservatory of Music, Indianapolis, Indiana.  She is the daughter of Jacob Land and wife.  Her father, now deceased, was a member of the Sullivan county bar and served as a justice of the peace at Carlisle for a number of years.
Transcribed by Katherine Haggerty

          William E. Cowle, the present justice of the peace at Carlisle, Indiana, is a native of Vanderburg county, Indiana, where he was born on his parents’ farm, November 30, 1837, a son of William and Julia A. (Ewing) Cowle.  The father was born in England and came to America with his mother and a brother and sister when two years old.  The grandmother was a sister of Squire John Ingle, whose son, John Ingle, Jr., built the Evansville & Terre Haute Railroad through Carlisle.  William E. Cowle’s father and mother located in Vanderburg county, Scott township, where the father died in 1838 and was buried in that township, in what is now an unknown cemetery.  Mr. Cowle, the father of William E., of this notice, was a thoroughgoing farmer throughout his entire life.  Politically, he was an old line Whig.  After his death, his widow married Joseph Harrison, who was of English birth, and who came to this country about the same time that her first husband came, and Mr. Harrison was also buried in the township as was Mr. Cowle.  By the first marriage two children were born:  Sarah, now deceased, and William E.  By the second marriage, Mr. Cowle’s mother was the mother of the following children by Joseph Harrison:  John; Thomas, deceased; Richard, deceased; Henry; James, deceased; and Martha.

          William E. Cowle was reared on a farm until fifteen years of age, when his mother died, and he went out to make his own way in life.  For two years he worked at Memphis and Batesville, Arkansas, where he also attended school for a short time.  In July, 1855, he went to Evansville, Indiana, and learned both land and marine engineering.  He was finally licensed by the government as a river engineer and ran boats between Evansville, Indiana and Cairo, Illinois, and also to Paducah, Kentucky.  At one time he was interested in towing boats with Captain Henry L. Mitchell, continuing in this line of work until the autumn of 1870, when he went to Freelandsville, Indiana.  In March, 1873, he located in Carlisle, where he erected a mill for sawing lumber, on the Thomas Davis place, one mile east of town.  He continued to operate this sawmill until about 1893, when he engaged in the windmill, pump and engineers’ supply business, which he still carries on.  July 19, 1902, he was appointed justice of the peace.  He also is largely interested in the collection of accounts, having been elected collector by the Merchants’ Association of Carlisle.  He is very successful in the collection of such accounts as are turned over to him by the business men who compose this association.  In his politics, Mr. Cowle is a Republican.  He has served as town clerk and treasurer two terms.  He is one of the active and honored members of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, being a member of the Carlisle Encampment.

          For a time he was engineer in the United States Navy and held the rank of master, by reason of which he now draws a pension from the government.  During the three and one-half years’ service with the Federal army, his duties lay with the United States Navy.  He was aboard the steamer General Thomas, belonging to the Eighth District, Mississippi Squadron, on the Tennessee river, and at Generals Beauregard and Hood returned to Alabama along the Tennessee river, and at Gunterville, Alabama, there was a severe action, and the steamer General Thomas, whose captain was Gilbert Morton, under Commodore Forrest, was in this affray.  Mr. Cowle received his honorable discharge at Evansville, Indiana, August 24, 1865, and returned to his home, once more as a civilian.

          Mr. Cowle has been thrice married, first to America L. Guilkey, who was born in Indiana, and died leaving three children:  Charles, who died at the age of seventeen months; the second and third children both died in infancy.  For his second wife, Mr. Cowle married Angeline Hopkins, born in England.  By this union six children were born:  Sarah, who now resides with her father;  Julia, wife of Frank Sproatt, residing in Carlisle;  Luella, at home, the wife of W.F. Risinger, and they have five children;  Anna, deceased; married Professor Gifford;  William E. (twin brother of Anna), also deceased; an infant, deceased.  For his third wife, Mr. Cowle married Susan Childs, born in Vandenburg county, Indiana, of English descent.  There is no issue by this union.  Mr. and Mrs. Cowle are members of the Methodist Episcopal church.  Among other business interests, Mr. Cowle is a stockholder in the telephone company and also in the First National Bank of Carlisle.
Transcribed by Katherine Haggerty

          James Nelson Roberts, who is well known in the community in which Carlisle is situated, having for many years been a dealer in hardware, lumber and grain at that point, and now retired from active business pursuits, is a native of the Old Dominion state, born in Frederick county, Virginia, October 28, 1849, son of Andrew and Sarah (Nelson) Roberts.  The father was born in Ireland in 1816 and the mother in Frederick county, Virginia, in 1826.  She died in Hancock county, Ohio, and in 1859.  Andrew Roberts came to this country alone, when about eighteen years of age, and lived in New York two years, then went to Washington, District of Columbia, in which city he resided two years, going from there to Frederick county, Virginia, where he was united in marriage.  In 1851 he removed to Hancock county, Ohio, and in 1868 to Carlisle, Indiana, where he lived until his death in 1898.  He was a farmer by occupation.  He had been educated for a priest in Dublin, Ireland, and New York City, but finally abandoned the idea of priesthood.  While living in Virginia, he had the sub-contract of constructing the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad grade.  He possessed great energy and considerable skill.  His mother’s parents were both natives of Ireland, and died in Ohio, where they were farmers.  Andrew and Sarah (Nelson) Roberts were the parents of seven children, as follows:  Margaret, wife of Clark Hill, residing in Clinton, Illinois; the next child died in infancy; James Nelson; Mary Virginia, a widow, now residing at Columbus, Ohio; Jennie, wife of C.E. Henshaw, residing in Wisconsin; Ella, deceased; and Marion, a resident of Sullivan, Indiana.  For his second wife, Andrew Roberts married the widow of Joseph Wolfe, who was reared in Carlisle, Indiana.  Politically, Mr. Roberts was a stanch defender of Democratic principles.  Both he and his wife were members of the Methodist Episcopal church, he having united with this church at Carlisle.

          James N. Roberts, of this sketch, obtained a common school education in Ohio and began to work for himself when he reached his majority.  He continued to do farm labor until 1879, when he went to Cherokee, Iowa, and there engaged in the grain and milling business with his brother-in-law, C.E. Henshaw.  After two years he sold his interest and went back to Carlisle, Indiana, and embarked in the hardware business, with J. Frank Alumbaugh, operating under the firm name Roberts & Alumbaugh.  Their business comprised hardware, tin ware, harness-making, lumber and grain.  This continued until the fall of 1905, when the firm was dissolved, Mr. Roberts taking over the lumber and elevator business, which in the spring of 1906 he sold to James McConnell.  Since that date Mr. Roberts has been looking after the interests of his farm.  He is one of the owners of the old Roberts homestead, and is the treasurer of the Carlisle Building and Loan Association.  He is also one of the directors of the People’s State Bank of Carlisle, Indiana.  Politically, Mr. Roberts is a supporter of the Democratic party.

          He was married, February 7, 1888, to Carrie Long, who was born in Evansville, Indiana, and there educated.  She is the daughter of Lewis and Mary Ann (Gautner) Long.  Both of Mrs. Roberts’ parents were natives of Germany, and were united in marriage in Vandenburg county, Indiana.  Both are now deceased.  They were well-to-do farmers.  Mr. and Mrs. Roberts are the parents of three children:  Raymond Andrew, born April 1, 1889, was graduated with the class of 1908 from the Carlisle high school, and is now a student of Notre Dame (commercial course), at South Bend, Indiana;  Louis Long, born April 26, 1891, graduated with the class of 1908, and is now a student in Wabash College, at Crawfordsville, Indiana; and Charles Elliot, born March 4, 1894, is now in the sophomore class.  Mrs. Roberts is a member of the Roman Catholic church, and attends St. Mary’s church at Sullivan, Indiana, of which Rev. Father James Bolin in the pastor.
Transcribed by Katherine Haggerty

          Claude A. Ellis, of the firm of Risinger & Ellis, patentee of Hygiene Cabinets, and secretary of the Carlisle Business Men’s Association, was born November 17, 1868, in Haddon township, near Carlisle, Indiana, son of Thomas Orlando and Eliza (Sproatt) Ellis.  The father was born in Carlisle, December 19, 1835, and is of English descent.  The paternal grandfather, John W. Ellis, was born in Virginia, and married Elizabeth Veech, who was also a native of Virginia.  They were married and soon afterward came to Carlisle, Indiana.  He farmed several years, after which he took up the carpenter’s trade and painting.  In his latter days he was an undertaker.  He was the first to carry on such business at Carlisle, and many times preached the funeral sermons for the deceased whose funeral he was hired to conduct.  He was an old-fashioned Democrat and served as trustee of his township many years.  Both he and his estimable wife were members of the Christian church, in which he was very active.  He was married three times, and was the father of eighteen children by the three marriage unions.  Eleven of his children still survive.  His father (Claude A.’s great-grandfather Ellis), named Louis, was a native of England, who on coming to America settled in Virginia.

          Thomas Orlando Ellis was reared and educated at Carlisle, Indiana.  He learned the brickmason’s trade, with his uncle, in Mobile, Alabama.  After remaining there about seven years, Mr. Ellis came back to Carlisle and purchased a farm which he worked, being also employed at his trade.  He still lives on his farm, about three-fourths of a mile from Carlisle.  He owns two farms of about four hundred acres.  He is a supporter of the principles of pure Democracy, and is a member of Lodge No. 3, A.F. & A.M., at Carlisle.  He married Eliza Sproatt, who was born within a quarter mile of where she now lives, on September 4, 1838.  She was educated in the place of her nativity.  Her parents were John and Eliza (Minich) Sproatt; her father was born on Shaker Prairie, Knox county, Indiana, March 1, 1810, and died November 17, 1884.  He was always engaged in farming in Sullivan county.  Eliza (Minich) Sproatt was born in Haddon township, July 26, 1819, and neat this place she spent her entire life, dying February 8, 1906.  Her father was of English descent, and her mother of Dutch ancestry.  Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Orlando Ellis were the parents of two children: Claude A., born November 17, 1868, and Mirtie, born May 23, 1876.  Mirtie was educated in Carlisle and married William A. Deiss.  They now reside on a farm near Carlisle, Indiana.

          Claude A. Ellis, was reared on his father’s farm and attended the district schools about Carlisle.  When sixteen years old, he went to Florida and there began firing on the J., T. & K. W. Railroad.  He continued there several months and then returned to Carlisle and began running a stationary engine, which work he followed for about five years.  His next business was conducting a livery barn, with Rush M. Cammeron, under the firm name of Cammeron & Ellis, which partnership existed one year.  Mr. Ellis then formed a partnership with T.S. Risinger, under the firm name of Risinger & Ellis, which firm conducted a hardware, furniture and undertaking business.  This is the only firm doing such business in Carlisle.  Politically, Mr. Ellis is a Democrat and for some time has served as president of the Carlisle school board.  He is affiliated with the Masonic order, being a member of Carlisle Lodge No. 3, F. & A.M., Chapter No. 81, Council and Commandery No. 54, at Sullivan.  He is also a member of the Odd Fellows Lodge No. 50, belongs to the Encampment No. 139 of Carlisle, and has been through the chairs and to the grand lodge.  He is also an honored member of Ben Hur Court, and Modern Woodmen of America, Camp No. 3332, both of Carlisle.  The firm to which Mr. Ellis belongs, has placed on the market their celebrated cabinet case, above mentioned and during the last year has gained a wide reputation for this excellent invention, the patents of which they own.

          Mr. Ellis was united in marriage August 6, 1890, to Lillian A. Wiggs, born in Carlisle, Indiana, on the lot where now stands the People’s Bank of Carlisle.  She died September 22, 1904, leaving three children, as follows:  Eloise, now attending the high school, will probably graduate with the class of 1909;  Orlando, attending high school, will probably graduate in 1910;  Stanley, in school.  The mother of these children, was  a devout Christian and a member of the Christian church.
Transcribed by Katherine Haggerty

          David Frederick Shake, D.V.S. – Doctor Shake, the skillful veterinary surgeon of Carlisle, Indiana, is a native of Warren county, Iowa, born August 18, 1863, and he came to Indiana in April, 1868.  he is the son of Christopher Columbus and Lucy J. (Bowen) Shake.  The father was born in Haddon township, Sullivan county, Indiana, May 16, 1836, and died February 16, 1889, in Jefferson township, Sullivan county, where he had resided only a few months.  All but eight years of his life when re resided in Iowa were spent in Sullivan county, Indiana.  He was of Irish and German descent.  His father, Christopher Columbus Shake, Sr., was born about 1800 in Kentucky, where his wife was also born about 1801.  In 1820 he came to Sullivan county, Indiana, and raised one crop in Haddon township, during which season he bached it in a log cabin, built by himself.  After this crop was harvested he returned to Kentucky and was married and soon returned to the place where he has farmed one season, and there spent the remainder of his days.  He entered about five hundred acres of land and there reared a family of five sons and four daughters.  He and his wife were among the charter members of the Prairie Baptist church.  In politics he was a Democrat.  Grandfather William Bowen and wife Mary (Spencer) Bowen, were born near Lexington, Kentucky, where they were united in marriage.  In 1820 they effected settlement in Sullivan county, Indiana, near the Knox county line.  He was a farmer throughout his life and politically he was a Democrat.  He had seven children, and in their church connection, both he and his wife were members of the Baptist church above referred to.

          Dr. Shake’s father always followed farming and stock raising.  He was a Democrat and a member of the Grange lodge.  He and his wife were the parents of ten children:  William C., residing in Clearmont, Illinois, whose general occupation is that of a farmer, but has been deputy sheriff for four years in Richland county, Illinois; Charles A., a resident and farmer of Jefferson township, Sullivan county, Indiana; Spencer J., residing in Fort Branch, Indiana, now the pastor of the Methodist Episcopal church of that place; John L., residing at Pleasantville, Indiana, a farmer and thresher; Dr. David F., of this biographical notice; Ulysses Grant, a resident of Clearmont, Illinois, a farmer; Mary, deceased wife of W.M. Howard; Elijah, who died in childhood; Cora, died aged nineteen years; Claude T., residing at Sullivan, Indiana, a carpenter by trade, and the mother lives with him.

          Dr. Shake was reared in Haddon township, Sullivan county, Indiana, his father removing there when the son was about four years.  In 1900 the doctor sold out his farm interests and entered the Indiana Veterinary College, at Indianapolis, graduating from that institution in April, 1902, when he immediately opened an office for the practice of his profession in Carlisle, Indiana.  He is still practicing and with highly satisfactory results.  He holds consultations along the line of the E. & T. H. Railroad, in his locality.  Politically, he is a supporter of the Democratic party and has been a member of the town council four years, and has still two years more to serve.  He is president of the town board, having been such since January 1, 1906.  He is a member of Carlisle Lodge No. 3, A.F.&A.M., and also belongs to the Modern Woodmen of America.  He was united in marriage November 30, 1887, to Eliza Hooper, who was born in Haddon township, Sullivan county, Indiana, November 23, 1868.  She is the daughter of Pinckney and Nancy (Corbin) Hooper and received her education in the district schools of her native township.  Her father was born in Knox county, Indiana, and her mother in Sullivan county, and both are now deceased.  Her father was a life-long farmer.  Dr. Shake and wife are the parents of four children, as follows:  Lillie Belle, born April 10, 1890, unmarried and at home; Pinckney C., born November 7, 1897; Pleasant Harold, born May 28, 1902; Charles Maxwell, born July 7, 1905.  The doctor and his wife, are members of the Indiana Prairie Baptist church.
Transcribed by Katherine Haggerty

          Thomas S. Risinger, who is a member of the enterprising firm of Risinger & Ellis, merchants and manufacturers in Carlisle, Indiana, is a native of Wynder township, Knox county, Indiana, born November 19, 1858, son of Charles W. and Martha B. (Snapp) Risinger.  The father was born in Jeffersonville, Kentucky, January 13, 1822, and died January 8, 1873, in Knox county, Indiana.  The Risingers are of German extraction.  Daniel Risinger, the grandfather, also a native of Kentucky, born at the same place as was his son, married Sarah Miers, a native of Kentucky.  They were married in that state and very early in life took up a quarter section of land.  He was a farmer and operated a water-power sawmill and tread-wheel.  Daniel and wife reared seven daughters and one son.  In their religious profession they were Methodists.

          Charles W. Risinger remained a resident of Wynder township after his father moved to Knox county, Indiana, and was a farmer and engaged in the sawmill business with his father.  When they first moved to Knox county, they operated a pottery and made crocks and jugs, as well as other vessels made from clay.  Charles W. Risinger was a soldier in the war with Mexico, and politically affiliated with the Democratic party.  His wife, Martha (Snapp) Risinger, was born in Sullivan county, Indiana, March 14, 1836, in Haddon township, and was there educated, teaching school a year.  Her parents were Abraham and Martha (Baird) Snapp.  Her father, born in Kentucky in 1793, was of English descent, while her mother was of Irish extraction.  They were married in Knox county, Indiana.  Abraham Snapp was a miller by trade and ran a gristmill and sawmill combined, at Scottville, Haddon township.  He served as colonel in the war of 1812.  He was thrice married, and reared a family of eleven children.  He died in Haddon township in 1847, his wife dying many years previous.

          The children born to Charles W. Risinger and wife were: Aurelia; wife of Herman Vaughn, a bookkeeper for Risinger & Ellis; Thomas S.; John, deceased; Catherine, wife of Frank Minich, residing in the township in which Carlisle is situated; Leonard, deceased; Frank, residing in Evansville, Indiana.

          Thomas S. Risinger was reared to farm life and educated in the public schools.  After his marriage, he purchased a sixty-one acre farm in Haddon township, just over the Knox county line, and there resided until he sold out and went to Carlisle, uniting with his brother Frank, under the firm name of Risinger Brothers, undertakers and dealers in hardware and furniture.  Thomas S. learned the art of embalming and the undertaker’s business of Tutwiler & Sons, Indianapolis, Indiana, and is now a licensed embalmer.  He is a member of the Funeral Directors’ Association of Indiana, and is now the only undertaker in Carlisle.  After a partnership of one year, the Risinger Brothers dissolved, Thomas S. buying his brother out, and continuing one year alone.  In the month of February, 1894, C.A. Ellis (see his sketch in this work), was taken in as a partner, since which time the firm has gone under the title of Risinger & Ellis.  This firm is extensively engaged in the manufacture of the patented Hygienic Cabinet, which article is having a large sale at this date.  Politically, Mr. Risinger is a supporter of the Democratic party and has been a member of the town board.  He is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows Lodge No. 50, belonging to the Encampment degree of that fraternity, No. 139.  he has filled chairs in this lodge, and been to the grand lodge of the state.  He is also connected with the Modern Woodmen of America, at Carlisle.  Besides his many other business cares, Mr. Risinger is one of the directors of the Carlisle Building and Loan Association.

          Mr. Risinger was united in marriage October 14, 1884, to Miss Judah Belle Hooper, born in Haddon township and educated in the district schools of the same.  She is a daughter of Pinckney C. and Nancy (Corbin) Hooper.  (See sketch of Dr. D.F. Shake).  Mr. and Mrs. Risinger are the parents of two children:  Edna, born July 8, 1886, unmarried and at home and Aurelia, born January 1, 1890, unmarried and will graduate with the class of 1909, from the Carlisle high school.  Mr. Risinger and his family are members of the Methodist Episcopal church and Mr. Risinger is a trustee of the parsonage.  He has served as trustee of the church at Bethlehem for several years, but has recently given it up to others.
Transcribed by Katherine Haggerty

          Abraham G. Cox, D.V.S. – A skillful representative of the veterinary profession, who enjoys a large practice at Carlisle and surrounding territory, is Dr. Abraham G. Cox, who was born August 10, 1858, in Haddon township, Sullivan county, Indiana, east from the town of Carlisle.  He is the son of Jacob and Mary (Hamilton) Cox.  His father was born in Madison county, Indiana, and died in Jasper county, Illinois, aged about thirty-five.  The mother was born and died in Jasper county, Illinois.  Grandfather John Cox was a native of England and by occupation was a farmer.  The maternal grandfather was a native of Scotland, and his wife Elizabeth Schmidt, born in Germany.  They were also farmers.

          The parents of Dr. Cox moved to Jasper county, Illinois, in 1860, and there he lived until fourteen years of age, when he came back to Haddon township and worked on a farm.  In 1881, he was employed in a drug store at Houston, Missouri, after which he began the study of medicine, entering the College at Charleston, Illinois, in 1886.  He remained in that school two years, going then to Toronto, Canada, where he took a one years’ course.  He began practice, April 13, 1890, at Carlisle, Indiana, continuing until the autumn of 1897, when he entered the Indiana Veterinary College, from which he was graduated with the class of 1898 and at once returned to Carlisle, and has been practicing here ever since.  In 1906 Dr. Cox erected a modern veterinary hospital and formulated what is widely known as “Dr. Cox’s Barb-wire Liniment,” and “Painless Blister,” the same being made by P.L. Hoover & Bros.  The doctor is a member of the Indiana Veterinary Association and is an up-to-date and highly skilled veterinary.  He belongs to Carlisle Lodge No. 3, F. & A.M., and the Modern Woodmen of America.  He is a stockholder in the First National Bank of Carlisle.

          Dr. Cox was married July 6, 1891, to Mary Trimble, born in Haddon township, Sullivan county, Indiana, February 19, 1869, and educated in the same locality.  She is the daughter of William and Jane Trimble.  Her father was born in Sullivan county, Indiana, and her mother in Ohio, and both are still living in Haddon township.  He is among the most extensive farmers within the township.  Mr. and Mrs. Cox have had two children:  Earl, who died in infancy, and Corda, born November 11, 1895.  Mrs. Cox is a member of the Church of Christ.
Transcribed by Katherine Haggerty

          James McConnell, who is a well known grain and lumber dealer of Carlisle, Indiana, was born July 17, 1871, in Haddon township, Sullivan county, Indiana, son of Baily and Jennie (McDowell) McConnell.  Baily McConnell was born in Haddon township, and his wife in Ohio, in Columbiana county, at Mooretown, April 29, 1852.  She was a daughter of Dr. James McDowell, who came to Carlisle when she was a young girl.  He began the practice of medicine at Pleasantville, Jefferson township.  Andrew McConnell, the father of Baily McConnell, also came to the county at a very early age.

          James McConnell, of this notice, was reared on the farm and educated in the public schools, after which he attended DePauw College at Greencastle, Indiana, for four years.  He then turned his attention to agriculture and still owns his will-tilled farm, although he has never lived on the place, having resided in town ever since his marriage.  He owns a creamery and a herd of seventy-five registered Jersey cattle, and operates a strictly sanitary milk business.  In the spring of 1905 he purchased the lumber and grain business of J.N. Roberts, and now has the only lumber yard of the place.  He also carried a full line of clay products.  In connection with his extensive lumber trade, he runs a planing mill.  Both his lumber and creamery interests are models of uniformity and correctness.  He keeps an exact count of every pound of butter produced from each cow he owns.  It is said that his system in not equaled within Indiana.

          Politically, Mr. McConnell affiliates with the Republican party.  He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, belonging to Carlisle Lodge No. 3, F. & A.M.; Council, Chapter, and Royal Arch Masons of Sullivan; also belongs to the Modern Woodmen of America at Carlisle.  He was married in 1896, to Eloise Akin, by whom three children were born: Bernice, Bailey, and Wall.  The reader is referred to the sketch of Edgar W. Akin for the ancestry of Eloise (Akin) McConnell.
Transcribed by Katherine Haggerty

          Clarence F. Burton – The business career of Clarence F. Burton, which has been attended by a large and well merited degree of success, was begun when he was but sixteen years of age as a clerk in a store at Silverwood, Indiana.  After ten months spent in that capacity he became a student in the normal at Covington, Indiana, and after a six months’ course there returned to the store in Silverwood and clerked there for two and a half more years.  During the year and a half following this period he was the proprietor of a restaurant at Covington, and then returning again to his home town of Silverwood was for three years associated with D.P. Williams in the grocery business and was the postmaster of that town.  Selling his interests there, he went to Clinton and spent a short time in the dry goods store of Randolph Brothers, and in July of 1904 he came to Shelburn and became a partner of I.C. Dalrymple in a mercantile store.  In 1908 he purchased Mr. Dalrymple’s interest and has since been alone in the business.  He is one of the leading merchants of the city and enjoys a large and lucrative trade.

          Mr. Burton was born at Silverwood, in Fountain county, Indiana, December 11, 1871, a son of William E. and Sarah J. (Lunger) Burton.  The father died when his son Clarence was but three years of age, and the mother, who was born near Linden, Indiana, about 1840, afterward married Peter Reynolds and is living on the home farm in Fountain county.  There were three children by the first marriage:  Thomas, who is a miner at Clinton, Indiana, and Flora Williams, of Silverwood.

          Clarence F. Burton, one of the three, attended the public schools of Silverwood until he was sixteen years of age, and then, as above stated, entered upon his successful mercantile career.  On the 6th of March, 1901, he was married to Margaret Randolph, who was born in Silverwood in 1880, a daughter of Henry C. and Clara Randolph, who are farming people residing near Silverwood.  The two children of this union are Carroll F. and Lucile, born respectively on the 27th of July, 1902, and on the 24th of September, 1904.  Mr. Burton is a member of the Knights of Pythias order, Lodge No. 98, at Silverwood, and he gives a stanch support to Republican principles.
Transcribed by Katherine Haggerty

          Solomon Deeble – Superintendent and general manager of the Carlisle (Ind.) Coal and Clay Company, Solomon Deeble is a native of Monmouthshire, Wales, where he was born June 14, 1854, son of James and Margaret (Ashton) Deeble.  The father was born in Cornwall, England, and the mother in the north of Wales.  They came to America in 1864, locating in Dover, New Jersey, where they remained one year, then went to Pittston, Pennsylvania.  In 1869 their son Solomon, of this sketch, came to this country and joined his parents in Pittston.  Here the father died.  He was a miner and usually followed that business for a livelihood.

          Solomon Deeble lived in Pittston, Pennsylvania, for thirty-six years, being a mine superintendent for several years at that place.  He began the occupation of a coal miner in Wales, when but seven years of age, acting as a trapper, which part of mining work he performed for three years and then stated in as a driver boy, continuing in such role in the mines of his native land, until he was fifteen years old.  He then came to Pittston, Pennsylvania, where he commenced as a driver-boy.  Two years were spent at that branch of the work, after which he started in as a real laborer and mined one year, when he had mastered the situation in the coal mining business sufficiently to enable him to work as a regular miner, which he did for twelve years.  His next position was that of driver boss, at which he worked for two years, then as fire boss one year, when he commenced as pit boss.  This was in 1891 and continued in that service for ten years, being employed by the Avoca Coal Company at Avoca, Pennsylvania.  Resigning he was made superintendent of the Traders Coal Company (although still holding his residence at Avoca) and held that position for five years.  In 1897 he was appointed postmaster of Avoca, Pennsylvania, and served in that capacity until 1904, being superintendent of the mines at the same time.  In 1904 he resigned the postmastership, as well as his positions in the mines, and in March 1905, went to Carlisle, Indiana.  There he established the Carlisle Coal and Clay Company.  He began the sinking of a shaft in the month of April and has been superintendent and manager of the company ever since.  The shaft was sunk to a depth of two hundred and forty feet, and work begun on vein number six, March 19, 1906.  After having worked the mines to a daily output of two hundred and fifty tons, they observed the roof was weak and the mine was abandoned.  They then went down to a distance of three hundred and fourteen feet, and began working number five in October, 1907.  This vein of coal is five feet in thickness, and of an extra good grade; the roofing is said to be of an excellent quality, too.  The daily output of this mine is two hundred and fifty tons and the coal produced is sold throughout Indiana and also in Chicago.  This mine is provided with an escape shaft down to number four vein, at a depth of four hundred and ninety-five feet, it being the deepest shaft within the entire state of Indiana, while the vein of pure coal is five feet in thickness.  The president of this mine is John Williamson, of Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania; J.C. Wiegand, of the same place, is secretary and treasurer; Solomon Deeble, manager, and Thomas J. Deeble, is salesman.

          Solomon Deeble was united in marriage to Ruth Davis May 22, 1874.  She was born in Wales, in the same locality as her husband.  This union has been blessed by seven children:  Thomas, died in infancy; Anna, wife of Joseph McPherson of Carlisle, Indiana; Thomas J., married Fannie Mae Pearce, of Carlisle, in 1904 and now has two children – Emma Ruth and Jessie Lois; Birdella, wife of William L. Evans, residing in Carlisle; Viola, wife of William T. Pratt, and has two children – Ruth Deeble and William Thomas, Jr., residing in St. Albans, Vermont; William F., married Grace Wilson and has one daughter – Viola Dean; Roy Edgar, married Miss Geneva Hammond and is still at home.

          Politically, Solomon Deeble affiliates with the Republican party and in fraternal societies, he is connected with the following:  Masons, Blue lodge, chapter, commandery and Shriners; Odd Fellows; Ancient Order of United Workmen; Foresters; and Knights of Pythias.  He was a member of the school board at Avoca, Pennsylvania, for nine years.  Mr. Deeble received no schooling in his youth but is a self-educated man and he and his wife both being self-educated appreciate a good practical education and gave their children a high school and college course.  Four residences on the Sullivan road between Carlisle and the mines were erected by Mr. Deeble.
Transcribed by Katherine Haggerty

          George W. Pirtle, M.D. – Dr. George W. Pirtle, a practicing physician at Carlisle, Indiana, is a native of Haddon township, Sullivan county, Indiana, and was born two miles north of Carlisle, November 17, 1868, son of James W. and Mary A. (Cron) Pirtle.  The father was also born in Haddon township in August, 1837, and died December 31, 1904.  The mother was born in Knox county, Indiana, and died in Carlisle in the spring of 1906.  The Pirtles are of an English family who came from England in 1635, two brothers settling in Virginia and from them this branch of the family have all descended.  The grandfather, Alfred Pirtle, was born in Sullivan county, and his father, George Pirtle, the doctor’s great-grandfather, was born in Kentucky, coming to Sullivan county among the pioneer settlers of this part of Indiana.  James W. Pirtle, father of George W., was a farmer and also operated a saw-mill.  Politically, he was a Democrat.  His children were as follows:  Dr. George W.; Charles, a resident of Hamilton township, Sullivan county; Jacob, who resides on the old Pirtle homestead and Edward, a resident of Paxton, Indiana.  The doctor’s mother was twice married, first to James Stipe, who died in the Civil war at Chattanooga, Tennessee.

          Dr. Pirtle was educated in the common schools of his native county and then entered the Lake Forest University, Lake Forest, Illinois.  Subsequently, he graduated from that most excellent educational institution, Rush Medical College of Chicago, with the class of 1890.  In the spring of that year he began active practice of medicine at Carlisle, Indiana, where he has not missed a day’s practice since he first opened an office, eighteen years ago, aside from the time spent at the medical societies.  He is a member of the Medical Society and American Medical Association, American Association for the Advancement of Science, Washington, D.C., becoming a member of the last named in 1895.  He takes much interest in fraternal matters, and belongs to Carlisle Lodge No. 3, F. & A.M., the chapter and council at Sullivan, and also belongs to the Modern Woodmen of America.

          He was united in marriage October 18, 1891, to Belle Julian, born in Indiana, December 23, 1867, daughter of Rev. B.F. Julian, now retired at Hymera, Indiana.  Mrs. Pirtle is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church.  They are the parents of one son, J. Julian Pirtle, born July 12, 1896.
Transcribed by Katherine Haggerty

          Herbert A. Brown, who is the general manager of the Carlisle Mill and Elevator Company, was born in Rockport, Spencer county, Indiana, December 9, 1860, son of Thomas H. and Martha (Jones) Brown.  Thomas Brown was born in Russelville, Ohio, February 4, 1809, and died at Princeton, Indiana, April 2, 1900.  He was of Pennsylvania German descent.  He was a drover and stock dealer, and also handled real estate.  He came to Spencer county, Indiana, in 1818, with has parents, Conrad Brown and wife.  They located on the bluffs and built a log cabin at a point where is now located the county seat of Spencer county.  Conrad was a farmer.  Thomas H. Brown lived in Spencer county until 1888, at which time he went to Princeton, Indiana, where he lived until his death.  He was supporter of the Republican party and served three terms (six years) as sheriff.  He was a member of the Masonic lodge and took much interest in Masonry.  His wife was born in Spencer county, Indiana, September 7, 1830, and died April 21, 1900.  She was of English descent and was a member of the Methodist Episcopal church.  They were united in marriage in Spencer county, Indiana, in 1852, and were the parents of six children, as follows:  John Y., residing in Princeton, Indiana, where he is engaged in the livery business; Adalie A., wife of Prelot Rounds, an electrical engineer, residing in Providence, Rhode Island; Herbert A., of this sketch; Harry T., residing in Los Angeles, California, and engaged as a contractor and builder; Nora, wife of Charles Morris, residing in Troy, Ohio; he is a tobacco dealer; Mary, wife of R.L. Tichenor, residing in Princeton, Indiana, where he is engaged in the livery business.

          Reared in Rockport, Indiana, and educated in the same place, Herbert A. Brown was sixteen years of age when he began to learn the miller’s trade in his native town.  He continued there three years, then went to Eureka, Spencer county, where he remained about six months.  He next went to Hazelton, Gibson county, Indiana, where he remained two years, working as a miller.  He then went to Carmi, Illinois, but remained there only a short time, when he moved to Sumner, that state, and lived there two years.  The next six years he spent in Vincennes, Indiana, with J. & S. Emison.  He then went back to Hazelton and engaged in the milling business on his own account, remaining between four and five years.  Thinking to better his condition, he moved to Webster, Missouri, remaining a few months and then went to Lawrenceville, Illinois, where he remained two years, going from there to Birds, Illinois, and engaging in milling for himself.  Two years later, he went to Princeton, Indiana, and engaged with the Zenith Milling Company for three months.  In the month of June, 1903, he went to Carlisle, Indiana, and operated the mill for Wiley Brenton for about two and a quarter years, since which date he has been operating the mill for the Carlisle Mill and Elevator Company; he is the head miller and general manager of the mill.  This is a high grade flour-producing plant and the product is shipped to all parts of the country.  They also buy and ship all kinds of grain.  The “Golden Eagle” brand of their flour is a trade-winner and has given Mr. Brown a wide reputation as a flour maker.

          Mr. Brown is a Republican in his political views, and is a member of the Royal Arcanum lodge at Vincennes, Indiana; the Court of Honor in Carlisle; No. 66 Tribe of Ben Hur at Carlisle, and the Mutual Protective League Council No. 226, at Litchfield, Illinois, as well as holding membership with the T.P.A. at Vincennes.  He was married August 27, 1881, to Laura Briscoe, born in Warrick county, Indiana, May 17, 1860.  She is the daughter of With and Adeline (Brown) Briscoe, both natives of Warrick county, and both now deceased.

          Mr. and Mrs. Brown are the parents of three children, only one of whom is living: Agnes, born in Sumner, Illinois, November 13, 1882.  She is still at home and is a graduate of the J. Smith Business College, at Vincennes, Indiana.  For two years she was employed with Bay & Company’s wholesale house in Vincennes, resigning on account of her mother’s failing health.  The other two children died in their infancy.  Mr. Brown’s wife and daughter are acceptable members of the Methodist Episcopal church.
Transcribed by Katherine Haggerty

          Philip L. Hoover – Enterprising, energetic, and possessing rare business ability and tact, Philip L. Hoover, of Carlisle, Sullivan county, is widely known as head of the firm of P.L. Hoover & Bros., which has exclusive control of the manufacture and sale of Dr. Cox’s Barbed Wire Liniment, one of the best and most wonderful articles of the kind in existence.  A native of Sullivan county, he was born, July 22, 1869, in Haddon township, which was, likewise, the birthplace of his parents, John M. and Ann T. (Cartwright) Hoover.  He comes of pioneer stock, his grandfather, Philip L. Hoover, first, for whom he was named, having been one of the early settlers of this township.

          Coming from Pennsylvania, his native state, to Sullivan county, the grandfather, Philip L. Hoover, took up land, entering about six hundred acres.  He was a tailor by trade, and worked at it some in connection with farming.  He served as a soldier in the Mexican war, and after his return from the army devoted his attention almost entirely to agriculture, becoming one of the leading farmers of this part of the county, his homestead and property being near Carlisle.

          Born on the home farm in 1845, John M. Hoover succeeded to the occupation in which he was reared, and as a general farmer and stock-raiser was successful.  As a man and citizen, he was held in high respect, and his death, which occurred May 5, 1889, was a loss to the community in which he had spent the greater part of his life.  He married Ann T. Cartwright, who was born June 27, 1835, and is now living, making her home in Carlisle, Indiana.  Her father, William C. Cartwright, was born in Virginia, from there coming to Sullivan county soon after the arrival of the first family of Hoovers.  He subsequently married Sarah Ledgerwood, who was born in this county in 1804, being the first white child born within its precincts.  In politics, John M. Hoover was a steadfast Republican, and in religion his wife was, and is, a consistent Methodist.  Five children were born of their union, namely:  Nolan C., of Carlisle, a member of the firm of Hoover Brothers, and its traveling agent, married Saddie Vance, a native of Haddon township, and they have two children;  May, born April 5, 1866, died in childhood; Phillip L., of this sketch;  Elmer G., born June 19, 1872, is also traveling for the firm, his home, however, being in Carlisle; and Hester A., born May 9, `1874, is a member of the firm of P.L. Hoover & Brothers.  All of these children were reared on the farm.  Elmer & Hester both attended the Indiana University, at Bloomington.  Hester also took a course of study at the State Normal school, and for two years was a teacher in the graded schools of Carlisle.

          Remaining on the home farm until twenty years old, Philip L. Hoover then accepted a position as clerk in the drug store of W.J. Curtner.  Subsequently going to Terre Haute, he was for a time similarly employed in Jasper D. Denison’s drug store, where he formed a familiar acquaintance with the details of the business.  Forming a partnership, then, with A.M. Morris, he embarked in business in Carlisle, becoming junior member of the firm of Morris & Hoover.  While thus engaged this firm formed a separate business in company with Dr. Cox, of Carlisle, placing before the public the Barbed Wire Liniment formulated and manufactured by the doctor.  Two years later, Mr. Hoover bought out Mr. Morris, and four years later managed the drug business alone.  In 1895, he admitted his brother Elmer to partnership, and later the remaining members of the family were admitted to the firm, his mother, his sister Hester, and his brother Nolan all becoming equal partners in the business, the name of the firm being P.L. Hoover & Brothers.  In 1900, this enterprising firm sold out its drug business, and also the telephone exchange, which Mr. Hoover had for some years managed in partnership with Charles Griffin.  In 1897, Mr. Hoover bought out Dr. Cox, and since 1900 the firm has manufactured Dr. Cox’s famous Barbed Wire Liniment, and in placing it on the market has been very successful.  Be extensive advertising its merits are widely known, and it is now sold in large quantities throughout the West and South, being found in all of the leading drug and general stores of Kansas, Oklahoma, Florida, Washington, Iowa, Nebraska, Michigan, Minnesota, Georgia, Alabama, California, Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Missouri, Ohio, Tennessee and Texas.  The use of this liniment is this vast territory of states is a sure proof of its medicinal virtue, and bespeaks the energy and enterprise of the firm that handles it, and the great advertising ability and knowledge of its members.

          In 1892, Mr. Hoover married Xenia Anderson, who was born in Cass township, a daughter of Joseph Anderson, now a resident of Sullivan.  Mr. and Mrs. Hoover have two children, Glenn and Helen.  Politically Mr. Hoover supports the principles of the Republican party.  Fraternally he belongs to Carlisle Lodge No. 3, F. & A.M., to which his brothers also belong; to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, being a member of both lodge and encampment; and to the T.P.A.
Transcribed by Katherine Haggerty

          Mark Lester – A man of undoubted enterprise, industry and ability, Mark Lester, of Carlisle, is actively associated with the industrial progress of this part of Sullivan county, and as the owner of a sawmill is carrying on a substantial business.  He was born October 20, 1854, in London, England, which was also the birthplace of his father, Henry Lester.  His grandfather, Mark Lester, who was for many years a captain in the Royal Navy, married a Scotch lassie, Isabelle Keeling.

          In his earlier years, Henry Lester was engaged in the drug business in London.  He was a man of talent, a genius in his way, and invented and patented the waterproof match.  He then began the manufacture of matches in London, being a pioneer in that industry.  Being burned out in 1855, he transferred his residence and business from London to Nottingham, where he erected a match factory, which he managed until his death.  He married Hepzibah Gimbert, who was born in Cambridgeshire, England, a daughter of Thomas Gimbert, a velvet weaver, and she too, spent her last years in Nottingham.  They were both active in religious work, and were prominent members of the Church of England.  Eight children were born of their union, namely:  Thomas, deceased; Harry, died in Sullivan, Indiana; George is engaged in mining in Nottingham, England; Ruth, deceased; Mark, with whom this sketch is chiefly concerned; Alice, wife of Joseph Hopkins, of Nottingham, England; William, a lace maker, resides in Nottingham; Jane died in infancy.

          Receiving a limited education in the Nottingham schools, Mark Lester remained at home until eighteen years of age, when he enlisted in the British army, in which he served three years, and one hundred and ninety-five days, as a private.  Returning home, he worked in the mines until 1879, when he emigrated to this country, locating October 1, of that year, in Shelburn, Sullivan county, Indiana, where for three years he was profitably employed in mining pursuits.  Going back to England for a vacation, he staid there awhile, and then returned to Indiana, and during the summer of 1884 mined for coal in Sullivan.  On April 17, 1885, Mr. Lester, in the employ of the Carlisle Coal Company, began sinking a shaft about a mile north of Carlisle, and superintended its management for nine years, after which he operated it on his own account for three years, from 1892 to 1895.  In 1893, Mr. Lester, in company with Walter Bugher, embarked in the threshing business, and continued in it seven years, when his partner sold out to Mr. Lester.  In 1896 these gentlemen established themselves in the milling business, carrying it on in connection with their threshing operations until 1900, when Mr. Lester bought the sawmill, and thresher, and has conducted it most successfully.  He does considerable custom work, and is an extensive shipper of lumber, having a prosperous trade, and in addition to his mill in Carlisle also has one in Knox county, which he has operated since 1906.  He formerly owned a farm of twenty-four acres, but was burned out in August, 1894, and has since lived in Carlisle.

          On September 9, 1878, Mr. Lester married Sarah Jane Rigley, who was born December 6, 1862, in Derbyshire, England, a daughter of William and Charlotte Elizabeth (Hardy) Rigley, life-long residents of England.  Of this union Mr. and Mrs. Lester, eleven children have been born, namely: Ernest M., deceased; Horace H., born in England, December 30, 1883, received his early academical education at Vincennes College, afterwards being graduated from the University of Minnesota with the class of 1905, was principal of the Anacortes high school in Washington, and is now Professor of Botany in Bellingham high school, Washington; Ivan Jefferson, born February 22, 1885, was graduated from the Carlisle high school in 1905, and is now in partnership with his father – he is a Mason, from Blue Lodge to Council, the same as his father; Grover died in infancy; Bertram died in early childhood; Paulina C., born January 17, 1890, was graduated from the Carlisle high school with the class of 1908, is now a successful teacher in Haddon township; Albert Carroll, born March 14, 1893; Thomas William, born December 5, 1895; Raymond Kelling, born September 24, 1898; Elizabeth Eloise, born September 23, 1901; and Jennie Gretcham, born March 21, 1904.  Politically Mr. Lester affiliates with the Democratic party.  Fraternally he is a member of Carlisle Lodge No. 3, F. & A.M., of Sullivan Council; and of Sullivan Chapter, R.A.M.  Religiously, his wife, daughter and two sons are members of the Methodist Episcopal church.  Mrs. Lester is a member of the Eastern Star at Carlisle.
Transcribed by Katherine Haggerty

          William B. Shepherd – Among the well-known residents of Haddon township is William B. Shepherd, who, as a liveryman, is carrying on a substantial business in Carlisle, having an extensive patronage.  A son of the late William B. Shepherd, Sr., he was born in this township, May 24, 1863, and was here brought up and educated.

          William B. Shepherd, Sr., was born in Sullivan, Indiana, in 1836, and died on his farm, in Haddon township, in 1886.  In the early 50’s, following the trail of the gold seekers, he went to California, and for awhile was employed in mining, but without meeting with the anticipated success.  Somewhat disappointed in the result of his venture, he returned to Sullivan county, and for awhile lived at Shaker Prairie.  Subsequently, in company with Joseph Wolfe, he embarked in business as a general merchant and a grain dealer, being first located at Griswold, Knox county, and afterwards in Carlisle.  Subsequently buying land in Haddon township, he was engaged in agricultural labors until his death.  He was a Democrat in politics, a member of the local Grange, and belonged to the Christian church, of which his widow is still a member.  He married Elizabeth Summers, who was born in Sullivan, in 1842, and is now living on the old Shepherd homestead.  Their union was blessed by the birth of seven children, namely:  Thomas G., residing with his widowed mother on the home farm, in Haddon township; Solomon G., of Gill township; William B., of this brief sketch; Estella May, wide of Alonzo Pifer, of Gill township; John, deceased; Effie, wife of F.M. Bland, of Gill township; and Carrie J., wife of William Willis, of Hamilton township.

          Educated in the district schools, and reared to agricultural pursuits, William B. Shepherd assumed the management of the home estate upon the death of his father, carrying it on for four years.  Locating then in Carlisle, he embarked in the livery business, and a year later admitted to partnership Rush McCammon, with whom he was associated for two years as junior member of the firm of McCammon & Shepherd.  Selling out his interest then to Frank Risinger, he was for twelve years engaged in the retail liquor business in Carlisle, closing out April 3, 1908.  Two weeks later, on April 15, 1908, Mr. Shepherd and Mr. McCammon again entered into partnership, and are now carrying on a good business as proprietors of the livery and feed stable.  Politically, Mr. Shepherd is identified with the Democratic party, and fraternally he belongs to the Eagle Lodge No. 996, at Sullivan, Indiana.

          On February 18, 1883, Mr. Shepherd married Elizabeth Wagner, who was born in Ohio, in 1864, a daughter of John Wagner, who came to Indiana about 1870, and located first in Gill township, later settling in Sullivan, where he spent his last years.  Of the six children born to Mr. and Mrs. Shepherd, two are dead, the second child having died in infancy, and John, the third child, having also passed to the life beyond.  For are living, namely: Howard Floyd, born October 6, 1884, is engaged in the livery business with his father; Paul, born September 24, 1888, was graduated from the Carlisle high school in 1907, and is now in the employ of P.L. Hoover & Brothers, in Carlisle; Hazel, born February 28, 1892, attends the Carlisle high school, belonging to the class of 1909; and Helen, born February 3, 1900.  Mrs. Shepherd is a member of the Christian church.
Transcribed by Katherine Haggerty

          James D. Howard – An honored representative of the brave, daring and energetic pioneers who came to this section of the country when it was in its primitive wilderness, and by heroic work actively assisted in developing it into a fertile and productive region, James D. Howard, of Carlisle, is eminently worthy of especial mention in this biographical work.  A son of Cornelius Howard, he was born September 4, 1844, in Jefferson township, Sullivan county, on the home farm.  His grandparents, Joseph and Sarah Howard, were born, reared, and married in North Carolina.  They afterwards lived for awhile in Kentucky, and their first child was born in Daniel Boone’s fort.  Coming from there to Sullivan county in 1820, he took up land, and was there employed in tilling the soil until his death in the fall of 1838.  He was buried in the Indian Prairie Cemetery, in that township, his body being first there interred.

          Cornelius Howard was born, June 13, 1805, in Oldham county, Kentucky, and died October 28, 1896, in Jefferson township, Sullivan county, Indiana.  He was a farmer from choice, being engaged to a considerable extent in stock raising and dealing, and at one time was owner of four hundred acres of land.  He married first, Nancy Jarrel, who lived but a short time after their marriage.  He married second, Naomi Mayfield, who was born in Jefferson township, Sullivan county, June 20, 1819, and died in the same township, May 9, 1894.  Her father, James Mayfield, who served in the war of 1812, married Amelia Hinkle, in Kentucky, their native state, and was subsequently one of the original settlers of Jefferson township.  Of the marriage of Cornelius and Naomi (Mayfield) Howard, eleven children were born, as follows:  Joseph T., of Jefferson township;  Naomi Elizabeth;  James D., of this sketch; W.W., residing of the old Howard homestead; R.M., deceased; Franklin P., deceased; John S., engaged in the fruit business in Florida; Sarah E., wife of Edward C. Shake, of Haddon township; Wilton M., also of Haddon township; Jasper, deceased; and Daniel V., engaged in farming in Fairland, Indiana.

          Brought up on the home farm, James D. Howard was given excellent educational advantages, attending first the district schools, afterward continuing his studies at what is now DePauw University, in Greencastle.  He subsequently taught school three terms in Jefferson township, and was then in the drug business in Carlisle until 1870, when, in company with James L. Berry, he embarked in the drug business in Carlisle, being junior member of the firm of Berry & Howard.  In January, 1874, he returned to Jefferson township, and resumed work on his farm of one hundred acres, residing there until September, 1888.  Locating in that year in Franklin, Mr. Howard was there employed in the grocery business for three years, when he traded one hundred and sixty acres in Jefferson township for a farm in Haddon township, an estate of two hundred acres, subsequently selling his store and property in Franklin, Indiana.  Immediately assuming possession of his property, he engaged in agricultural pursuits in Haddon township from 1891 until 1905, as a general farmer and stock raiser, meeting with genuine success.  Since that time, Mr. Howard has been a resident of Carlisle, where he is living retired from active pursuits, although he still supervises the management of his farm.  He is highly esteemed as a man and a citizen, and is an influential member of the Democratic party, and belongs to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, into which he was initiated January 8, 1872.  He has filled all of the offices of his lodge and encampment, and has been a delegate to the grand lodge.

          On February 28, 1867, Mr. Howard married Nancy Jane Robbins, who was born in Knox county, Indiana, January 10, 1846.  Her parents, John and Lucy (Bowen) Robbins, came from Kentucky, their native state, to Indiana, and were among the very first settlers of the northern end of Knox county.  The father was a soldier in the war of 1812.  He had a family of seven children, as follows:  James, deceased; Julia, wife of William A. Perry, of Freelandsville, Indiana; Mary, deceased; Thomas, residing on a part of the Robbins homestead, in Knox county; Nancy Jane, wife of Mr. Howard; Isabella, deceased; and Alexander M., living on a portion of the old homestead.  Five children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Howard, namely: a child that died in infancy; Edward C., deceased; Carrie B., deceased; Flora E., born October 3, 1874, is the wife of Thomas A. Grizzle, of Carlisle; and Icie Nora, born April 11, 1877, married Frank Corbin, of Carlisle, and has one child, James V. Corbin.  Forty-one years ago Mr. Howard united with the Missionary Baptist church, to which his parents belonged, and of which his wife in a member and he has filled all of the offices connected with the church.
Transcribed by Katherine Haggerty

          Mrs. Hannah F. (Alsop) Jerauld – A woman of culture and refinement, possessing excellent judgment and much executive ability, Mrs. Jerauld bravely assumed the duties devolving upon her when, many years ago, she was left a widow, and has ever been mindful of the interest of her household.  She resides in Carlisle, Sullivan county, where her birth occurred, March 27, 1846, and is descended from an old English family, being the daughter of Joshua and Margaret (Calvert) Alsop.

          Hon. Joshua Alsop, her father, was born in the town of Wall Hexem, in Northumberlandshire, England, on the fifth of September, 1807.  In the year 1818, on the 18th of May, in company with his father, mother, two brothers an sister, he emigrated from the old world to the new, landing in Canada.  Thence they moved to the state of New York, residing at Halls Corner for one year, and then starting for the west, via Pittsburg, sailing down the Ohio river to the mouth of the Wabash and up that river to York, Illinois.  After a short stay at that place the family located at Carlisle, Indiana, in the fall of 1820, where Mr. Alsop remained until his death.

          In the thirtieth year of his age, Mr. Alsop was married to Miss Margaret Calvert and shortly afterward commenced his career of business, which he conducted on the old-fashioned theory that the work of a mercantile man must be as good as his bond.  So strong did he adhere to this principle that his name became synonym of business integrity throughout the Wabash valley.  Mr. Alsop early became satisfied that the facilities the river afforded for the transportation of produce and merchandise were inadequate to the development of Sullivan county.  Upon the suggestion of railroad connection between Terre Haute and Evansville he became enlisted in the enterprise, and was elected one of the directors, which position he held until the time of his death.  He made all his sacrifice for the road with a desire that it should run through Carlisle.  His plans were for a time frustrated by the machinations of certain men, who were anxious that the road should be located out of the town.  Then Mr. Alsop displayed that trait of character which he possessed in a remarkable degree (tenacity of purpose), made a Herculean effort and enlisted fifteen associates in the cause.  The road was finally located in Carlisle, at a loss to Mr. Alsop and his friends of $32,000.  Those who are enjoying the benefits conferred cannot appreciate the sacrifice thus made on their behalf.

          From the inauguration of the free school system Mr. Alsop gave it his financial aid and his unwavering support, looking forward to the time when education should become compulsory.  One of his peculiar traits of character was his habit of coming to the rescue of a failing or an embarrassed public enterprise, and by the timely advancement of money placing it on the highway to success.  In 1870, much against his will, he was elected a member of the State Senate and served during the regular session of 1870-72, but no consideration whatever would induce him to accept re-election.  Though taking an interest in political affairs, he was averse to holding office.  He was a sincere friend to the honest poor man, never refusing him either aid or sympathy.  Enterprising and progressive he took an especial interest in the welfare of his adopted town, but whether his project was private or public always remembered his honor as a man.  His death in 1876 was a sad loss to his family and a heavy loss to the community.

          Mr. Alsop’s marriage to Margaret Calvert occurred at Carlisle, Indiana, February 14, 1837, and seven children were born to them, as follows:  William and Mary, who died young; Nancy and David, also deceased; Hannah, of this sketch; Isadora, wife of Charles P. Gwin, who resides in Georgia; and Anna C., widow of the late Frank Parvin.  Mr. Parvin was born in Evansville, Indiana, and was there educated, beginning his business career as a dry goods merchant in association with his father.  He afterward embarked in the drug business in that city, and carried it on successfully until failing health forced him to retire from active pursuits.  He was a Republican in politics, and a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows.  Mrs. Parvin was educated at DePauw College, where she received an excellent intellectual training.

          Hannah F. Alsop received her elementary education in the public schools of Carlisle, afterward attending a female college in Terre Haute.  On December 8, 1870, she married Thomas H. Jerauld, who was born in Patoka, Indiana, February 22, 1837, and died in that city, February 9, 1883.  He received his collegiate education in Bloomington, Indiana, and was actively and successfully engaged in mercantile pursuits at Patoka until his death, being an honored and respected member of the community and a man of sterling integrity and worth.  In politics, he was a stanch Republican.  In April, 1884, Mrs. Jerauld returned to Carlisle, her girlhood home, and has since resided there.  She is an able business woman, and has, among other property, a farm of one hundred and seventy acres in Haddon township, from the rental of which she realizes a good income.  The Bellevue Coal Company of Pennsylvania has recently sunk a coal shaft on Mrs. Jerauld’s farm, and is now working vein No. 5.  Mrs. Jerauld and her husband became the parents of four children, namely:  Heber, who lives at home; Anna, who died in infancy; Margaret, who lived but sixteen months; and Charles G., who also resides with his mother.  Religiously, Mrs. Jerauld is a member of the Presbyterian church.  She has seen many changes in Carlisle since her girlhood days, and remembers driving with her father to Vincennes to take the train to Evansville before the railroad was completed as far north as Carlisle.  It is hard for the younger people of this generation to realize the wonderful changes made in the every-day life of this day by the establishment of railways, telephones, telegraphs, and the rural free delivery service throughout the country.
Transcribed by Katherine Haggerty

          George W. Funk, a retired farmer and one of the early promoters of the Wabash levee, as wall as the present gravel road system, whose excellent farm lied in the famous Wabash valley, but who now resides in Carlisle, Sullivan county, is a native of Russellville, Lawrence county, Illinois, born March 24, 1851, a son of Henry H. and Martha (Petitt) Funk.  The father was born in Virginia and the mother in North Carolina.  They both had accompanied their parents to Lawrence county, Illinois, at an early day, being among the pioneer settlers in that region.  The grandparents, Peter and Nancy Funk, both lived in Lawrence county until their death, and both reached the advanced age of ninety years.  Peter Funk was a miller and mill-wright, and operated the first mill ever run at Russellville, Illinois.  He sold out, and later followed farming pursuits.  While in the milling business he and his son, Henry M., attached a carding mill and a distillery to the mill proper.  The son Henry W. also farmed in the latter years of his life and died when aged about sixty years, his wife dying when George W. was but three weeks old.

          George W. Funk grew to man’s estate surrounded by the scenes of country life, receiving his education at the common district school, beginning to work for himself at the age of nineteen years, by farming on a modest scale, with one horse in Gill township.  He came to Sullivan county when he was but sixteen years old.  He continued to farm in Gill township until the autumn of 1904, and had come to be an extensive farmer at this time (1908), owning eight hundred acres, all in Gill township.  This man’s career only shows what may be accomplished by persistent labor and good management, in a free country where every man may become the architect of his own fortune.  Besides his extensive farm, he owns considerable property in Carlisle and in Riverside, California; also has about $25,000 in money loaned out in California.  He is also a stockholder in the People’s State Bank, at Carlisle.  He began the foundation of this handsome financial success, by working on a farm by the month.  He has ever been progressive and alive to all public enterprises, and was the first petitioner to secure gravel roads, as highways, in Sullivan county, starting on Gill Prairie.  About 1871, he in company with Samuel Hammell, made an effort to put in a levee in Gill township, along the Wabash river, but were defeated by three votes.  He also took active part in the promotion of the levee which was constructed some years since.  Politically, Mr. Funk is a firm believer in, and supporter of the cardinal principles of the Democratic party.  He is an honored member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows at Carlisle, belonging to the subordinate lodge.

          February 11, 1869, marked an important epoch in his life.  On that day he married Mary C. Blackburn, a native of Lawrence county, Illinois who died at the age of thirty-five years, the mother of seven children, born in the following order:  Estella, deceased; Lavina, died in infancy; the third and fourth children also died in infancy; Arabelle, married G.W. Allen, and died at the age of twenty-four years, leaving daughters – Hattie and Erma, who are being cared for by Mr. and Mrs. Funk; Nellie, deceased; and George, deceased.

          For his second wife, Mr. Funk married March 23, 1883, Harried Cochran, born in Lawrence county, October 18, 1854.  She was educated in the county in which she was born.  The children of this union all died in infancy.  Mr. and Mrs. Funk are members of the Christian church of which he served as an elder at Carlisle about twelve years.  The last few winters, Mr. Funk has spent six months with his family, at Riverside, that most beautiful winter resort in California.  In August, 1890, he removed to Carlisle, where he now has a fine home residence.
Transcribed by Katherine Haggerty

          James W. Calvert, one of the thoroughgoing agriculturists of Gill township, Sullivan county, Indiana, was born on Shaker Prairie, Knox county, Indiana, December 21, 1855.  He is the son of Robert and Sarah (Snapp) Calvert.  The father was a native of Kentucky and the mother of Indiana.  The latter’s parents were natives of Virginia.  Robert Calvert, the father, was an early settler of Knox county, coming with his parents, both of whom died there.  He continued to live in Knox county and served from there in the Mexican war from 1846 to 1848, receiving a gunshot wound which caused his death in 1856,  when his son of this notice was but one year old.  The widow, later married and died in the autumn of 1860.  The children of Robert and Sarah (Snapp) Calvert were as follows:  Mary, wife of Peter Price, of Carlisle; John, deceased; Ellen, widow Blann, of Oaktown, Knox county; James W. of this notice.

          Left fatherless when but a babe of about a year old, James W. Calvert has never known the aid, and watch-care of a father’s love and manly strength, to guide him through the uncertain shoals of boyhood and youth.  His educational opportunities were limited.  He attended the schools of his district and Carlisle a few terms.

          He made his home with an uncle in Carlisle, Indiana, until thirteen years of age, when he hired out to work for a farmer at twenty dollars the first year, and was defrauded out of this amount, including five dollars given him by his uncle as a present.  However, the same unscrupulous man’s father, out of shame and sympathy, bought young Calvert a suit of clothes.  After this sad beginning, he found employment with another farmer at fifteen dollars a month and continued working there until twenty-seven years of age, when he purchased a team and the necessary implements and commenced farming in Knox county, remaining there about ten years.  He kept “bachelor’s hall” about three years, really a hard way in which to farm, but at all times he was cool and self-possessed.  His next experience was in the purchase of a small farm in Gill township, which he soon sold and bought twenty-two acres.  Two years later, he bought forty acres in Haddon township, to which added, in 1907, forty acres more, making altogether a farm of 102 acres at the present time.  On this fine place, he carries on general and stock farming, paying especial attention to swine and horses.  In his political views, he is in accord with those of the Democratic party, while in church faith, he adheres to that of the Christian denomination.  At one time, he was connected with the Odd Fellows order, but at this date has no lodge affiliations.

          Mr. Calvert was happily united in marriage, February 12, 1885, to Miss Amanda O’Haver, daughter of Henry and Mary S. (Jewell) O’Haver, early settlers in Knox county, but who later removed to Sullivan county and the father still lives in Gill township, the mother having died several years ago.  Two children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Calvert:  Arthur, deceased, and Urban B., unmarried, and employed in a wholesale meat house of Chicago.

All Biographies On The Page Transcribed and Contributed by Katherine Haggerty
A History of Sullivan County Indiana Thomas J. Wolfe Volume 1 1909

Return To The Main Index Page