Genealogy Trails  
 Tippecanoe County, Indiana


For almost half a century this prominent citizen of Lafayette has been one of the representative members of the Indiana bar, and his long service on the bench attests his popularity. He is one of the pioneers of Tippecanoe county, and has been a witness of its development from a wilderness to its present prosperous condition. His friends and acquaintances are legion, few men in this portion of the state having more sincere well wishers. A man of broad mind and strong convictions, he has ever been the exponent of progress and advancement, and his influence has always been cast on the side of good government, reform and improvement in all lines.

As his name indicates, the Judge is of French extraction on the paternal side of his family. His grandfather, Abraham La Rue, was a native of New Jersey and was of French Huguenot descent. He was a farmer by occupation, reared several children, and died in his native state at an advanced age. The maternal grandfather of our subject was Daniel Doan, a native of Pennsylvania, as it is supposed, and of Welsh descent. He was a farmer, and was one of the pioneers of Switzerland county, Indiana. He was a soldier in the war of 1812. His death occurred at his home near Vevay, Switzerland county, when he was well along in years.

The father of the Judge was Joseph La Rue, a native of New Jersey and a carpenter by trade. He removed to Hamilton county, Ohio, in his early manhood and on the 13th of September, 1830, landed in Tippecanoe county, Indiana. Here he bought a quarter section of land at the present site of Stockwell, and continued to cultivate this property for five years, at the expiration of which time he died, aged about forty two years. His wife, who was born in Pennsylvania, departed this life a few years later, in 1842, at nearly the same age as her husband was at his decease. She was a devout Methodist. Of her four children but two survive. Harriet C, sister of our subject, is the widow of Dr. Carlyle, of Yellville, Arkansas.

The birth of Judge La Rue took place near the town of Harrison, Ham­ilton  county, Ohio,  November 24,   1826, and he  was therefore but  four years of age when his parents removed to this state. He was left fatherless at a tender age, and his mother brought him to Lafayette in order .that he might have better educational advantages. A few years later death deprived him of her tender care and love and he went to live with his guardian, Daniel C. Stoner, who sent him to Asbury (now DePauw) University, where the ambitious young man was graduated in 1849. After he had completed his sophomore year, however, he was obliged to stop and teach school for a period in order to have the requisite funds to meet his expenses. Prior to his graduation he took up the study of law, also, being indebted to Samuel A. Huff, afterward Judge Huff, for the use of the necessary law books. After passing an examination before the supreme judges of the state young La Rue was admitted to the bar, June 1,.1850, and from that time until the present has been engaged in practice in this place.

Shortly after his admission to the bar Judge La Rue was appointed by the county commissioners to the office of examiner of applicants for teachers' positions. This position he held until 1856, when he was elected, on the first Republican ticket ever placed before the public of this county, to represent this district in the lower house of the legislature, where he remained during one term. In the autumn of 1850 he went into partnership with B. O. Deming, under the firm name of La Rue & Deming, and this connection continued for some four years. In June, 1854, the justly celebrated law firm of Huff, Baird & La Rue was formed, the other parities to the same being Judge Samuel A. Huff and Zebulon Baird, eminent members of the bar. In 1857 our subject and Daniel Royse, under the name of La Rue & Royse, entered into a business alliance which was terminated only by the enlistment of Mr. Royse in the army. Then our subject practiced alone, for the most part, up to 1875, but that year he and Frank B., afterward Judge, Everett, entered upon their pleasant and profitable association, which was severed in 1880 by the election of Mr. La Rue to the judgeship of the superior court of Tippecanoe county. He was re-elected and served in 1888, when, on account of ill health, he declined a re-election. As early as 1867 he was honored, and his genius fittingly acknowledged, by the public, in his election to the bench in the court of common pleas of Tippecanoe county. He made a fine record and held the office until the spring of 1873. He was again chosen for high honors when, in 1875, he was selected to represent his district in the senate of Indiana and served in the sessions of 1875 and 1877; and there, as everywhere else, his ability, fidelity to the best interests of the people and ripe statesmanship, were abundantly manifested. For the past ten years he has resolutely declined public office, and has attended solely to his practice. By his energy and well directed efforts he has acquired considerable wealth, though he has never made this his object in life. He owns six residence properties in this city and has a beautiful home, where he delights to extend a most cordial, hospitable welcome to the hosts of friends who have gathered around him during his long residence in this place. In his fraternal relations he is a Mason and an Odd Fellow. September 18, 1854, Judge La Rue married Miss Mary O. Johnson, daughter of James B. and Rhoda (O'Neall) Johnson. Four children were born to that union, namely: Kate, James, John D. and Mary. James and Mary died in infancy and John D. died when in his twenty eighth year. The only daughter married Charles Ringleben and is the mother of two children, Frank L. and Dudley D. They reside in Logansport. Mrs. Mary O. La Rue died in 1860, in the faith of the Society of Friends, in which she had been reared. In October, 1868, the Judge married Mrs. Sarah E. Boulden, widow of Eli N. Boulden and daughter of Martin and Elizabeth Rhoads. The only child by the last marriage was Murray H., who died when a little over a year old.


Dr. John Simison, of Romney, Tippecanoe county, Indiana, is now rounding out a half century of active practice in the medical profession in Tippecanoe county, and is the only physician now in the county who has been in continuous practice here since 1851.

The Simisons are of  English descent.    They came to America and settled at Carlisle, Pennsylvania, prior to the Revolutionary war.    Robert. Simison,  Dr. Simison's grandfather, was a resident of Carlisle.    He was there married to a Miss Denny, and their children were Robert Elder, Boyd, Denny and Parker, and one daughter, whose name is forgotten, who married and settled at Mount Vernon, Alabama.

Robert Elder Simison, the father of our subject, was born in Carlisle, Pennsylvania, and received a college education there. He learned the trade of hatter. In his young manhood he moved to New Garden, Columbiana county, Ohio, and in that locality married Miss Sarah Rogers, a native of Columbiana county. He passed the rest of his life in that part of Ohio, and died there at the age of fifty two years. His children, in order of birth, were named Mary, Martha, Parker, John, David, Jane, Margaret and Catherine (twins) and Nancy. For many years Mr. Simison carried on a hat manufactory, but in later life engaged in agricultural pursuits. He was a man well known for his integrity of character, and had the esteem and respect of all who knew him.

Dr. John Simison was born November 16, 1824, at New Garden, Columbiana county, Ohio, and in his boyhood was a student at Atwater Academy, where he gained a thorough knowledge of the common branches, read some Latin and Greek, and became well versed in the higher mathematics. He then studied medicine in the office of Drs. Allen and Rice, of Rockville, Park county, Indiana, and attended the Medical College of Ohio, at Cincinnati. In the spring of 1851 he began the practice of medicine at Romney, Indiana, and soon established a large and lucrative practice over a wide range of the surrounding country, and became one of the best known of the early physicians.

About the time of his location here, in March, 1851, Dr. Simison married Miss Harriet Eliza Agnew, of Parke county, Indiana, who was born in that county September 30, 1832, daughter of Gibson and Eleanor (Smith) Agnew.

The Agnew family is an old and distinguished family of  colonial Pennsylvania, and, like the Simisons, traces its origin to England.     Mrs. Simson's grandfather Agnew settled in Adams county, Pennsylvania, at a very early day, previous to the   Revolution, and on a tract of land which he  acquired  he  built a  substantial, two story stone residence.    Being an educated man, He built his residence large enough to have a school in one part of it, and he established and taught the first high school in that part of Pennsylvania.    Two of his brothers settled in   the same  vicinity, and all three were men of large landed possessions and were highly respected  citizens. Grandfather Agnew's children were Smith, Joseph, Martha and Gibson.   He was a member of the Seceder Presbyterian church, and lived to an advanced age. After his death his widow became the wife of a minister of that church. Each had a large family when they  married, twenty two children in all, and the school-room was then utilized as a part of the residence in order  to accommodate them all.

Gibson Agnew, the father of Mrs. Simison, was born in 1708, at the homestead above referred to. In this connection it is a matter of interest to note that a portion of the great battle of Gettysburg was fought on this farm and the famous stone wall which was a part of the defence of the Union line was in part made by Gibson Agnew. Mr. Agnew received a good com­mon-school education and taught school in his younger days. His brother, Joseph, was a physician in Pennsylvania, and Dr. Joseph Agnew's son, Dr. Hayes Agnew, an eminent surgeon of the United States Army, was President Garfield's physician at the time he was mortally wounded by Guiteau. When a young man Gibson Agnew went to Cincinnati, where he married Eleanor Smith, who was born in the neighborhood in which the Agnews lived, in Adams county, Pennsylvania, daughter of George Smith. The Smiths also were of English descent and among the colonial settlers of Pennsylvania. George Smith was one of the pioneers of Cincinnati, where he kept a hotel and resided until his death, which occurred at a venerable age. After his marriage, about 1828, Gibson Agnew settled in Parke county, Indiana, near Rockwell, where he bought a tract of timber land which he cleared and improved, making a fine farm. On this farm all his children were born, namely: Martha, Sarah Harriet Eliza, Amanda, William, Margaret, David, John, Mary, Smith, George and Irwin, a sturdy pioneer family. In 1853 Mr. Agnew moved to Iowa and settled in Cedar county, on an improved farm consisting of half a section of land, and here he passed his remaining days, his death occurring in 1876, at the age of seventy five years. Politically, he was a Democrat, and, religiously, a Presbyterian, an elder in the church from the time of his young manhood until his death, and he had three sons who were elders in that church, and the other three sons were deacons. All the daughters became members of the same religious body.
Dr. Simison and wife have spent the whole of their married life at Romney, and here have reared their family, their children in order of birth being Margaret A., Boyd Denny, Dr. John F., Charles G., David P. and Gertrude M.

The subject of our sketch has long been identified with the {Masonic fraternity. He was one of the charter members of Romney Lodge, F. &. A. M., was its first worshipful master and held that office for several years. He has also taken the higher degrees of the order and is a member of the chapter and commandery at Lafayette. His religious creed is that of the Method­ist Episcopal church. For several years he has served as steward of the church and has always given liberally of his means to its support. Politically, he was first an old line Whig, and when the Republican party was organized in Tippecanoe county he was among the first to join its ranks, and was one of the founders of the Republican party in Randolph township. For four years he was one of the trustees of Randolph township.

In his long career as a physician Dr. Simison has accumulated a large and valuable medical library of the best medical books and is a patron of the leading medical periodicals of the day. The Doctor stands deservedly high as a physician among the medical fraternity of Indiana. His long and unbroken record of nearly half a century in active practice has thoroughly established his reputation, but he is best known and respected in the regions of his practice where he has so long been a familiar figure. He has always been noted for his kind and friendly disposition. He was never known to collect a bill by the aid of law and he has, without money or price, attended the sick and afflicted poor of his locality. His material reward, however, has been sufficient, gained by his honest industry and devotion to his profession. He is one of the largest land-owners in Tippecanoe county, having holdings to the amount of about two thousand acres of fertile land, and other valuable property. A few years ago he erected in Romney a beautiful and substantial residence, in modern style of architecture, and it is one of the finest homes in Tippecanoe county.


For nearly sixty years the Crouses, father and son, have been engaged in the practice of medicine in Dayton, Tippecanoe county, and have been prominently connected with all local progressive movements. They have been on the side of temperance, the father being associated with the old Wash-ingtonian Society and the son identified with the order of Good Templars. Both have been devoted to the Republican party, the father having formerly been a Whig, and later on of the foremost champions of the party which succeeded it, voting for John C. Fremont. His services on behalf of his party were recognized in his being elected to the state senate, in which he ably represented the public.

In following back the ancestry of the subject of this article it is learned that he is of German extraction on the paternal side. His great-grandfa­ther, George Crouse, come to America some time in the early part of the eighteenth century, and settled in Cumberland county, Pennsylvania. Henry Crouse, the grandfather, was born July 6, 1768, in Cumberland county, and married a lady of the same locality, Salome Hevison, she having been born February 15, 1766. Their children were as follows: Caroline, born May 20, 1792; Leah, March 6, 1794; Henry, August 1, 1796; Maria, July X5» l79%> Simon, July 25, 1802; John, August 15, 1804; David, September 18, 1808; Elizabeth, October 15, 1810; and Daniel, November to, 1814. Henry Crouse removed to Germantown, Ohio, about 1820, and cleared a farm in that locality. In 1830 he settled in Marion county, Indiana, on land which was afterward chosen as the site of the asylum for the insane, near Indianapolis. He bought and cleared a quarter section of land there and spent the rest of his days on that homestead. He died while still in the prime of life, owing to injuries received from a falling tree, which he had cut down. He was a member of the German Reformed church.

Dr. David H. Crouse, father of our subject, was a young man when-he accompanied the family to Marion county, in 1830, and for ten years there­after he assisted in the management of the property which his senior had purchased there. He then came to Dayton and bought land, gradually extending his possessions until he had about five hundred acres. For the most part, he purchased his farms from the original owners, and having greatly improved his special homestead, in i860 he built a substantial two-story brick residence upon it, and within its hospitable walls his son, our sub­ject, has dwelt for many years. In 1843 he was graduated in the Jefferson Medical College, of Philadelphia, and had previously studied with his brother, Daniel B., a successful early practitioner of Dayton and vicinity. He at once established himself in practice in Dayton  and for more than two-score years was a leading physician in this portion of the county. In the first years of his practice he was obliged to ride to distant places, as doctors were few and the population very scattering. For years he was a faithful member of the Presbyterian church and officiated as an elder in the same.

For his first wife Dr. David H. Crouse chose Rachel, daughter of Fred­erick and Catherine Gelwicks, of Franklin county, Pennsylvania. The Gel-wicks were of sturdy Dutch stock, and have been represented in this country since colonial days. The homestead owned by Frederick Gelwick was located some eight miles northwest of Chambersburg, and had been handed down from father to son for several generations. They were substantial farmers and were zealous members of the German Reformed church. The old Gelwick farm, a place of about three hundred acres, has never passed from the family and is now owned by a grandson of Frederick Gelwick. His children were John, Susan, Elizabeth, Mrs. Hartzell, Frederick and Rachel. To Dr. Crouse and wife Rachel several children were born, and those who lived to maturity were Salome C, who married Elijah Earl, Victoria V., wife of V. S. Burton; and Jerome H. Subsequently to the death of his first wife, in 1845, Dr. D. H. Crouse married Rachel Baker, by whom he had two children who survived: Meigs V., a former pastor of a Presbyterian church, and now the superintendent of a children's home in Cincinnati, Ohio; and Elda. The third wife of the Doctor, Mr&. Lydia Peter (nee Leibenguth) survived him, and is still living. His death took place Decem­ber 7, 1884, at his old home, where his active and useful career had been chiefly spent.

The birth of Dr. Jerome H. Crouse occurred December 30, 1843, in Dayton, Indiana. He attended Wabash College after he had finished a common-school education, but the civil war broke in rudtly upon his studies. He enlisted at eighteen years of age in the Tenth Indiana Battery, light artil­lery, under Captain J. B. Cox, as a private, for three years or as long as the war should last. He served under the great leaders, Buell and Rosecrans, took part in the battles of Pittsburg Landing, Stone River, Chickamauga, Corinth and the great four-months struggle known as the Atlanta cam­paign. After the fall of Atlanta he and his battery were placed in charge of a gunboat on the Tennessee river, and he was honorably discharged at Nashville, Tennessee, February 1, 1865. His service was a most creditable one, and he was relied upon by his superior officers, who knew that he would always be found at his post of duty, whatever happened. Though he partici­pated in the numerous hard-fought battles and campaigns in which his battery took part, he escaped capture and wounds, save once, when he was accidentally injured in the left shoulder. For some time he was connected with Wilder's brigade and was sent on several raids in the neighborhood of Atlanta.    Since «.

the war he has had special affection for the Grand Army of the Republic, and has been commander of Elliott Post No. 160, of Dayton, and was one of its charter members.
When he returned from the south the Doctor commenced the study of medicine under his father's guidance, and in 1867 graduated in Rush Medical College in Chicago. The same year he embarked in practice in this, his native town, and in 1868 took a special course in Jefferson College, Phila­delphia. For three decades he had been constantly occupied in his profes­sional duties, enjoying a large and lucrative practice. He is the possessor of an extensive library, embracing not only the finest works on everything connected with medical science but also on general subjects, standard litera­ture, etc. He is a past master of Dayton Lodge, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, is now serving as secretary of the same and also has attained the Scottish Rite degree in the order. Since the death of his honored father he has been an elder in the Presbyterian church, and takes an earnest interest in the spread of Christianity.

On the 6th of October, 1868, Dr. J. H. Crouse wedded Sophia C. Bartmess, a daughter of Oliver C. and Sarah (Clark) Bartmess, of Dayton. Mrs. Crouse was born in this town, December 14, 1847, and died in March, 1869. Her father, who is still living, was born in Butler county, Ohio, and entered the land where he settled and has since lived, in this county. Dr. Crouse was married in March, 1894, to Lena, daughter of Shannon and Mary (Taylor) Nicely, who came to Dayton from Pennsylvania. The Doc­tor and his estimable wife are the parents of one son, David H. Mrs. Crouse is, like her esteemed husband, a member of the Presbyterian church.


This gentleman is one of the substantial pioneer farmers of Tippecanoe county. His people first came to Indiana in 1827, locating in Clinton county, where they remained until 1832, when they came to Tippecanoe county and settled on the farm which is now the home of our subject. He springs from sturdy Pennsylvania-Dutch stock.    His grandfather,  Jacob Fidler, Sr., was a well known farmer of the Keystone state and was the father of three sons, Felt, John and Jacob, and three daughters, all of whom were ultimately married.

Jacob Fidler, Jr., the father of Orlando Fidler, was a native of Penn­sylvania and when a young man removed to Ross county, Ohio, ,where he married Elizabeth Storm, whose birth also occurred in the Keystone state. Her father, John Storm, was of Pennsylvania stock and in that state followed agricultural pursuits for some years. He afterward became one of the pio­neers of Ross county, Ohio, where he cleared up a large farm and became a wealthy man. In the Methodist church he held membership. His children -were John, Joseph, Samuel, Elizabeth, Rebecca, Susan and one other, a -daughter, whose name is not remembered.

His son John, when a youth of sixteen years, enlisted in the army for service in the war of 1812 and participated in several battles. He afterward resided on the old Storm homestead and became a very wealthy man. He owned about two thousand acres of land in Ross county, Ohio, together with extensive landed interests in Benton county, Indiana, Iroquois county, Illi­nois and in Iowa. He also had money out at interest and was estimated to be worth two hundred thousand dollars. A man of excellent business sagac­ity, he managed his affairs with great ability and discretion, and his prosperity therefore gradually increased. He held a membership in the Methodist church, and lived to the advanced age of ninety-eight years, his death occur­ring in Ross county, Ohio

After his marriage, Jacob Fidler, Jr., located in Ross county, Ohio, where he made his home for ten years, and then removed to Clinton county, Indiana, locating in Ross township, near the lijie of Tippecanoe county. There he entered one hundred and sixty acres of timber land, made a clear­ing, and industriously carried on the work of developing a farm for five years, when he sold the property, taking his pay in silver. This coin, together with what he already possessed, more than filled a half-bushel measure. In the fall of 1832 he removed to the farm upon which Orlando Fidler now resides, purchasing the eighty-acre tract of John Hoover. It had been first entered and settled by John Holliday, one of the pioneers of the county. As the result of his energy and well directed efforts, Mr. Fidler's financial resources were increased and he was thereby enabled to extend the boundaries of his farm until it comprised three hundred and forty acres of fine farming land. This he cleared and improved, making a good pioneer home. Both he and his wife were members of the United Brethren church, but in the latter years of her life Mrs. Fidler was identified with the Christian church. In politics the father of our subject was independent. He was a well known pioneer, and highly respected citizen,  and  his death, which occurred in February 1850, when he had reached the age of sixty years, was mourned by many friends. His children were Alvin, George, Joseph, Barbara, Sarah, Orlando, William, Susan, Rebecca and Andy. The last named was a loyal soldier of the Union army, and was wounded in battle.

Orlando Fidler, whose name introduces this review, was born November 6, 1831, in Clinton county, Indiana, and when only about two years of age was brought by his parents to the old family homestead in Tippecanoe county, whereon he now resides. He was thus reared amid the wild scenes of pioneer life. Much of the land throughout the county was still in its prim­itive condition, and deer, wolves and bears were still found in the forest, and often fell before the trusted rifle of Mr. Fidler, who in his young days was an excellent marksman. He was reared on the farm and early became familiar with the labors of field and meadow. On attaining his majority he was mar­ried to Rachel Routh, the wedding ceremony taking place in Lauramie town­ship, Tippecanoe county, September 9, 1853. She was born in that township, a daughter of John and Mary V. (Koontz) Routh. She had one son, John, but died soon after his birth, and on the 29th of December, 1859, in Laur­amie township, Mr. Fidler was again married, his second union being with Samantha Monohon, who was born in that township, July 22, 1844. Her parents were Martin and Sarah (Routh) Monohon. Her father was born October 26, 1821, was of Irish and German descent, and by occupation was a farmer. He, too, was married in Lauramie township, to Sarah Routh, a daughter of Isaac Routh, a native of North Carolina, and a representative of an old family of German origin. He was one of the pioneers of Tippecanoe county, locating in the midst of the forest in Lauramie township, as early as 1829. While coming to the west, the family were stricken with measles and soon after reaching their destination Mrs. Routh and several of the children died. The kind-hearted neighbors assisted the husband and father in build­ing his log cabin, and he managed to keep his remaining children together until they were able to care for themselves, although he never married again. He entered his land, developed a good farm in the midst of the forest, and, in ad Jition to the one hundred and sixty acres of rich land in his homestead, also became the owner of some good town property in Lafayette. He pros­pered in his undertakings and became one of the substantial citizens of the community. He was a member of the "Hardshell" Baptist church, and died at an advanced age. The children who survived the death of their mother were Joshua, John, Linda, Joyce, Susan, Isaac and Sarah. After his marriage, Martin Monohon settled on the farm owned by Isaac Routh, that his wife might keep house for her father. Mr. and Mrs. Monohon had but one child, Mrs. Samantha Fidler. The mother died when the daughter was only six weeks old.    She was a consistent member of the Baptist church and a well known farmer of the Keystone state and was the father of three sons, Felt, John and Jacob, and three daughters, all of whom were ultimately married.

Jacob Fidler, Jr., the father of Orlando Fidler, was a native of Penn­sylvania and when a young man removed to Ross county, Ohio, ,where he married Elizabeth Storm, whose birth also occurred in the Keystone state. Her father, John Storm, was of Pennsylvania stock and in that state followed agricultural pursuits for some years. He afterward became one of the pio­neers of Ross county, Ohio, where he cleared up a large farm and became a wealthy man. In the Methodist church he held membership. His children ivere John, Joseph, Samuel, Elizabeth, Rebecca, Susan and one other, a daughter, whose name is not remembered.

His son John, when a youth of sixteen years, enlisted in the army for service in the war of 1812 and participated in several battles. He afterward resided on the old Storm homestead and became a very wealthy man. He owned about two thousand acres of land in Ross county, Ohio, together with extensive landed interests in Benton county, Indiana, Iroquois county, Illi­nois and in Iowa. He also had money out at interest and was estimated to be worth two hundred thousand dollars. A man of excellent business sagac­ity, he managed his affairs with great ability and discretion, and his prosperity therefore gradually increased. He held a membership in the Methodist church, and lived to the advanced age of ninety-eight years, his death occur­ring in Ross county, Ohio

After his marriage, Jacob Fidler, Jr., located in Ross county, Ohio, where he made his home for ten years, and then removed to Clinton county, Indiana, locating in Ross township, near the lijie of Tippecanoe county. There he entered one hundred and sixty acres of timber land, made a clear­ing, and industriously carried on the work of developing a farm for five years, when he sold the property, taking his pay in silver. This coin, together with what he already possessed, more than filled a half-bushel measure. In the fall of 1832 he removed to the farm upon which Orlando Fidler now resides, purchasing the eighty-acre tract of John Hoover. It had been first entered and settled by John Holliday, one of the pioneers of the county. As the result of his energy and well directed efforts, Mr. Fidler's financial resources were increased and he was thereby enabled to extend the boundaries of his farm until it comprised three hundred and forty acres of fine farming land. This he cleared and improved, making a good pioneer home. Both he and his wife were members of the United Brethren church, but in the latter years of her life Mrs. Fidler was identified with the Christian church. In politics the father of our subject was independent. He was a well known pioneer, and highly respected citizen,  and his death, which occurred in February 1850, when he had reached the age of sixty years, was mourned by many friends. His children were Alvin, George, Joseph, Barbara, Sarah, Orlando, William, Susan, Rebecca and Andy. The last named was a loyal soldier of the Union army, and was wounded in battle.

Orlando Fidler, whose name introduces this review, was born November 6,   1831, in Clinton county,  Indiana,   and when only about two years  of age was brought by his parents to the old family homestead in Tippecanoe county, whereon he now resides.    He was thus reared amid the wild scenes of pioneer life.    Much of the land throughout the county was still in its prim­itive condition, and deer, wolves and bears were still found in the forest, and often fell before the trusted rifle of Mr. Fidler, who in his young days was an excellent marksman.    He was reared on the farm and early became familiar with the labors of field and meadow.    On attaining his majority he was mar­ried to Rachel Routh, the wedding ceremony taking place in Lauramie town­ship, Tippecanoe county, September 9, 1853.    She was born in that township, a daughter of John and Mary V. (Koontz) Routh.    She had one son, John, but died soon after his birth, and on the 29th of December, 1859, in Laur­amie township, Mr. Fidler was again married, his second union being with Samantha Monohon, who was born in that township, July 22, 1844.    Her parents were Martin and Sarah (Routh) Monohon.    Her father was born October 26, 1821, was of Irish and German descent, and by occupation was a farmer.    He, too, was married in Lauramie township, to Sarah Routh,  a daughter of Isaac Routh, a native of North Carolina, and a representative of an old family of German origin.    He was one of the pioneers of Tippecanoe county, locating in the midst of the forest in Lauramie township, as early as 1829.    While coming to the west, the family were stricken with measles and soon after reaching their destination Mrs. Routh and several of the children died.    The kind-hearted neighbors assisted the husband and father in build­ing his log cabin, and he managed to keep his remaining children together until they were able to care for themselves, although he never married again. He entered his land, developed a good farm in the midst of the forest, and, in ad litioti to the one hundred and sixty acres of rich land in his homestead, also became the owner of some good town property in Lafayette.    He pros­pered in his undertakings and became one of the substantial citizens of the community.     He was a member of the '*Hardshell" Baptist church,  and died at an advanced age.    The children who survived the death of their mother were Joshua, John, Linda, Joyce, Susan, Isaac and Sarah.    After his marriage, Martin Monohon settled on the farm owned by Isaac Routh, that hi* wife might keep house for her father.    Mr. and Mrs.  Monohon had but one child, Mrs. Samantha Fidler.    The mother died when the daughter was only six weeks old.    She was a consistent member of the Baptist church and a lady of the highest virtue, whereby she won the love of all who knew her. Mr. Monohon afterward went to Iowa and was again married, by which union he had five children, Asenath, Emma, Leander, Cassius and Augustus. He is still living, his home being near Seattle, Washington, where he owns a large estate. He has two sons who are interested in mining in the Klondike. After their marriage Mr. Fidler and his bride located on the old family homestead, where almost his entire life has been passed. He now has a very valuable farm, comprising over three hundred acres of arable land, which returns to him a golden tribute for the care and cultivation he bestows upon it. The home has been blessed with six children, namely, Melissa, Mettie, Frank, George, Lulie and Joseph. Mr. and Mrs. Fidler are prominent members of the Christian church, and he has always been a liberal contributor to its support. It was largely through his efforts that the house of worship was erected. He not only aided financially in the work but also assisted in hauling the building material and boarded the men who were engaged on its construction. In politics his views are in harmony with the free-silver Democratic party, yet he does not consider himself bound by party ties. He is a man of intelligence who reads and thinks for himself, is faithful to all trusts, is proverbially honest, and is numbered among the public-spirited and highly respected citizens of his community.


One of the most practical, progressive and enterprising agriculturists of Tippecanoe county is Jasper H. Stidham, who has spent his entire life on the farm in Union township, Tippecanoe county, where he yet makes his home. He is a representative of an old colonial family of the state of Dela­ware. His ancestors, natives of Sweden, were among the founders of the Swedish colony that was planted along the banks of the Delaware river before the founding of Philadelphia by William Penn. This was the first Swedish settlement in America, the year of their arrival, 1642, being marked by the building of a fort on Tinicum island, in the Delaware river. There they continued to hold dominion over the surrounding country, governing themselves according to their pwn ideas until 1655, when their power was disputed by Governor Stuyvesant of the New Netherlands, who captured the Swedish forts and ended Swedish rule in the new world. The little king­dom, however, has continued to send to America many of her best citizens, people whose sterling qualities have made them important factors in the com­munities in which their lots have been cast. To-day many of the prominent men of the nation proudly trace their descent from Swedish ancestors. William Stidham, the grandfather of our subject, was descended directly from one of the early colonists of Delaware, was born on a farm in that state, served as a captain in the old state militia, and in 1820, with several families, emigrated to Indiana, making the journey with horses and wagons, and becoming one of the pioneers of this state. He settled on land in Wayne county and developed and improved a farm, making his home in that county until his death, which occurred when he had reached the venerable age of eighty-two years. In politics he was a Democrat, and in religious faith he and his family were Episcopalians. He and his wife, Eliza Stidham, had five children: Thomas, John P., George, Ann and Eliza.

John P. Stidham, the father of our subject, was born in Delaware, three miles from Wilmington, on the 1st of September, 1799, received such educa­tional privileges as the common schools of his day afforded, and came to Indiana with his father when twenty-one years of age. In 1824 he entered one hundred and sixty acres of land in Union township, becoming a resident there in 1830; and this is the farm upon which our subject now resides- He afterward purchased forty additional acres from the government, and this deed bears the signature of Andrew Jackson, then president of the United States. Part of this land was prairie and part timber. After making the purchase Mr. Stidham returned to Wayne county, and on the 14th of August, 1829, took up his abode in Tippecanoe county. The following year he set­tled upon the old homestead farm in Union township, and at once began its development, transforming the wild land into richly cultivated fields and erecting substantial farm buildings. He was an industrious, energetic man, and by the aid of his children accumulated about four hundred acres of land, a very valuable property which he placed in a high state of cultivation. He was also a well known pioneer and respected citizen, and all who knew him held him in high regard. He married Terrissa Nort, who was born in Germany, March 4, 1800, and when twelve years of age came to Delaware with her father and half-brother and sister. The mother died in Germany when Terrissa was quite young. The father had been married before in that country, the children of the first union being John and Appolonie. The father, Mr. Nort, died on the passage to America. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Stidham were born three children: Elizabeth Ann, who was born May 13, 1830, and died March 20, 1894, when sixty-three years of age; Eleanor P., born October 1, 1831; and Jasper H., born August 18, 1833. The father lived to be seventy-two years of age, and died on the farm in Union township, March 26, 1871. In politics he was a Democrat, and in all life's relations he was true to the trust reposed in him and the duties that devolved upon him.

Jasper H. Stidham, whose name forms the heading of this article, has spent his entire life in Tippecanoe county. The farm which is now his home was his playground in youth and his training school for business cares.    The occupation to which he was reared he has made his life work, always devoting his energies to farming, stock raising and dealing in stock. His capable management, his systematic methods and his energy have brought to him a well deserved success. After the death of his parents Mr. Stidham and his two sisters resided upon the farm together until 1894, when the elder sister died. Since that time the remaining sister and brother have lived together, and through their combined efforts the old homestead ranks among the best homes in this part of Indiana. As the years have passed Mr. Stidham has made judicious investments in land, has extended the boundaries of the home farm, and now has a valuable property of over one thousand acres, much of which is under cultivation of a high order and yields to the owner a golden tribute in return for the care and labor he bestows upon it. The farm is splendidly drained, with about twenty-five miles of tiling.

Mr. Stidham shows a number of traces of his Swedish ancestry, having the thoroughness, reliability and perseverance so characteristic of the race. He is a man of kindly and genial disposition, of generous impulses, and broad-minded, and no citizen of the community stands higher in the public regard. In politics he has always been a Democrat and keeps well informed on the issues of the day, but has always refused office. He is a friend of -public improvement and a strong advocate of good roads, good schools and all measures tending to the general advancement and progress. He and his sister are worthy representatives of one of the old and honored families of the county, and well deserve mention in this volume.


There is always a great incentive to the young in a perusal of the life history of a successful man, one who has risen to a high place in any community by sheer force of character and the exercise of determination and perseverance. In the person of the subject of this sketch is found such an one. Left an orphan at an early age, he was thus thrown largely upon his own resources, but his was an undaunted spirit and he persisted in his efforts to acquire an excellent education, wisely concluding that with such a foundation success would more surely come to crown his labors in the world's busy highways. He has had wide and varied experience as an educator of the young, and few are better qualified to judge of their needs and capabilities. He thoroughly loves his work, and in this fact doubtless lies the secret of his success.

The Lafayette Business College, of which Professor Barnes is the president, is an institution whose value and high standing in northern Indiana are too well admitted to require a specific testimonial in this connection. Yet a brief recapitulation will be apropos. Without doubt it is one of the best commercial colleges in the state and enjoys numerous and peculiar advantages. Its faculty is composed of live, enterprising men, who, by long experience in business and educational fields, are finely fitted to instruct young men and women in actual business forms and requirements. Pupils are graduating from this college continually, thence to go into business channels and to occupy positions of responsibility and desirability in the great cities and in smaller towns. Scores of them are now valued employees of leading commercial firms in the cities of Chicago, Indianapolis, Cincinnati, St. Louis, etc. Moreover, many a young man has doubled his salary by taking a course of stenography, bookkeeping or typewriting. It is well known that many firms nowadays prefer to employ a person who is competent to keep books and to handle their correspondence also, and thus it is infinitely to the advantage of an applicant for a position if he thoroughly understands both kinds of work.

It would seem that no argument should be needed in this day of specialization, of progress, of enterprise, to convince every one, in whatsoever station in life, that he ought to fit himself for some kind of practical work.

Wealth takes unto itself wings, and nothing is certain save what is stored within the mind. It alone is a treasure house to be depended upon in the struggle for a livelihood, which comes sooner or later to the great mass of mankind. Every farmer, every business man, every man of whatsoever occupation or station in life is much better qualified to manage his property and look after his financial interests if he is posted in the various transactions of business life, if he has a practical knowledge of banking and notes, checks, drafts, etc., of contracts and business law. All of these things are carefully drilled into the minds of the students of the Lafayette Business College by a skilled and competent corps of teachers. One specially desirable feature of this college lies in the fact that a point is made of getting its students good and paying positions with reputable firms as soon as said pupils are competent. In the commercial colleges of the great cities this personal interest in scholars is impossible, but here every reasonable effort is made to place graduates in desirable positions, and one member of the faculty makes this his chief business and occupation. Board is, of course, much more reasonable in a place of this size than in a larger city, and all of the environments of students here are more beneficial and conducive to earnest, hard work and study. Among the faculty are the well known educators: J. F. Barnes, the president of the college; E. D. Douglas, who is principal of the English and commercial departments; R. A. Grant, principal of the shorthand and penmanship departments; and Frank Reinier, assistant in the commercial department. Lectures are given on the different lines of business by the leading business men of Lafayette.

Professor John F. Barnes was born in Spencer, Owen county, Indiana, October 13, i860, a son of Joseph B. and Eliza R. (Smith) Barnes. He was an only son, and his only sister, Eliza R., died when between six and seven years of age. The father, who was a farmer, bravely responded to the call of his country in the civil war, enlisting in the Fourteenth Indiana Volunteer Infantry. After he had gallantly served in many a hard campaign for about three years, his life was laid down as a sacrifice at the second day's battle of the Wilderness. His wife having died but a few weeks previously, our subject was thus left an orphan, but a few years old. His paternal grandfather, who was of German descent, was a farmer and early settler in this state. He died in middle life, at his home near Spencer, Owen county. His children comprised four sons and three or four daughters. The maternal grandfather of our subject, William Smith, was a native of Virginia, and of English descent. A successful farmer and stock raiser, he resided for years in Greene county, Indiana, where he was a pioneer. He reared a large family and died when about seventy five years old.

The boyhood of John  F. Barnes was spent upon his maternal grandfather's homestead in Greene county, and his education was that of the common schools and that of the Worthington high school, where he graduated, He then took a normal and commercial course, after which he taught for several years in the graded and district schools. In 1884 he went to the west and for four years traveled and lived in the western part of Kansas, the Indian Territory, Colorado and Texas. In 1888 he returned and for a year was an employee of the Union Milling Company, at Union, Indiana. The following two years he was occupied at his old vocation, that of teaching, and attending the normal school at Princeton, Indiana. During the winter of 1890-91 he was a member of the faculty of the Business University of Indianapolis. In August, 1891, he came to Lafayette, and was the principal of the commercial department of the college up to February, 1897, when he became president of the institution, as well. The college has prospered under his management, having about two hundred students enrolled.

June 30, 1898, Mr. Barnes married Miss Vina Price, daughter of James W. and Elizabeth (Johnson) Price, and their pleasant home is at No. 420 North Seventh street. They are members of Trinity Methodist Episcopal church and are interested workers in its various departments of usefulness. Mr. Barnes is superintendent of a mission Sunday school and is president of the Epworth League of the church. His parents were identified with the same denomination and he was reared in its creed. Politically, he is a loyal Republican and fraternally a member of the order of Knights of the MacCa­bees, being record keeper of the local organization with which he is identified


James Eli Jones, one of the trusted employees of the Panhandle Railroad, and a resident of Winamac, Pulaski county, is a native of Fulton county, Indiana, his birth having occurred near Kewanna, July 27, 1856.

His father, Isaiah Jones, who was a life-long farmer, was a native of Pennsylvania, whence he removed to .this state at an early day. In 1865 he removed to Douglas county, Kansas, where he pre-empted a quarter section of land about ten miles southeast of Lawrence. After living there for about four years he went to Brown county, same state, and was engaged in the cultivation of a farm there at the time of his death, March 25, 1872, when he was in his fiftieth year. His wife, the mother of our subject, bore the maiden name of Sarah Rogers.

In his boyhood James E. Jones lived upon farms, but agriculture was not exactly to his liking, and the main part of his mature life has been devoted to other enterprises.    He did not leave the parental home permanently until he was married, after which event he continued to carry on a farm for about one year. Going with his parents to northeastern Kansas in 1882, and settling near St. Joseph, Missouri, he obtained employment in Robinson, Kansas, as a stationary engineer in a mill owned by Samuel Grooninger. After holding that position for six years he entered the employ of the St. Joseph & Grand Island Railroad Company, in the construction department, later working for the same road in Nebraska, and serving as section foreman for a number of years. In November, 1897, he returned to this, his native slate, and has since been a resident of Winamac. In the spring of 1898 he became an employee of the Panhandle Railroad Company, with which corporation he is at present.

February 13, 1881, Mr. Jones married America Ann Dilts, and the children born to them are: Mae, March 27, 1882; Sarah Leah, February 28, 1885; Carry Ellen, January 12, 1890; and Lottie Belle, March 25, 1895. Fraternally, Mr. Jones is identified with the Modern Woodmen of America, and in politics he is a Republican. He and his estimable wife are members of the United Brethren church.


Dr. Cyrus Albert Harbaugh, the well known physician and surgeon of Lafayette, stands in the first rank of his profession and commands an extensive practice by means of his ability, learning and conscientious discharge of his high calling. No one stands in so close a relation to his fellow men as the family physician and no one is more often called upon to give advice and sympathy, or is the recipient of confidences which, if abused, would cause untold disaster. Good judgment, tact, caution, benevolence, all these must be combined with a thorough knowledge of his profession to make a successful practitioner, and in the gentleman whose name heads this sketch may be found these qualifications.

The parents of our subject were Philip and Marjorie (Stoops) Har­baugh, the former born Brown county, Ohio, and the latter in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. The father combined the occupations of farming and school teaching, and came to Indiana in 1835, settling in Hamilton county, and is now living retired in Cicero. The mother died at Cicero, Indiana, in September, 1878. Both were members of the Christian church, in which Mr. Harbaugh served for many years as elder and deacon. Their children were three in number: John R., of Cicero; Cyrus A.; and Lydia C. Hall, of Cicero, now deceased.

Philip Harbaugh, Sr., the grandfather of Dr. Harbaugh, was a native of Germany who settled in Ohio at an early day.    He was also a  farmer by occupation and was a soldier in the war of 1812. He reared eight children and lived to be eighty four years old. The maternal grandfather of our subject was George Stoops, who was a native of Scotland and a fur merchant. He made his home at Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, and was about seventy five years old at the time of his death.    He also had eight children.

Dr. Cyrus A. Harbaugh was born in Cicero, Hamilton county, Indiana, February 18, 1852. He was brought up on his father's farm and in his boyhood attended the district school afterward being a student in the Arcadia high school and completing it at Butler University. He began the study of medicine in 1872 and in 1876 was graduated at the Medical College of Indiana. Subsequently he attended the Miami Medical College, at Cincinnati. He began the practice of his profession at Arcadia, where he remained for six years, then going to Cincinnati for two years. He then removed to Tip-pecanoe county, where the remainder of his time was spent until 1896, when he took up his residence in Lafayette.

On December 25, 1876, our subject was united in marriage to Miss Arminda B. Martz, a daughter of Moses and Tabitha (McCormick) Martz, and three children have been born to them: Jewell M., Leona M. and Nina A. The Doctor and his estimable wife are worthy members of the Christian church, in whose good work they take an active part. They have a pleasant home, recently built, which is a charming resort for their many friends. Politically, Dr. Harbaugh is a Republican, but has always been too busy to become an aspirant for office. Socially, he belongs to the Masonic fraternity, the Knights of Pythias and the Supreme Court of Honor. He is a genial, companionable man, and very popular throughout the


For the past decade the gentleman whose name stands above this brief tribute to his sterling worth has been the sole proprietor of the McGrath Foundry and Machine Works, one of the pioneer enterprises of Lafayette, established almost forty years ago, by hi§ father, whose history follows that of the son. The foundry of to-day is a large and prosperous plant, situated at the corner of Third and Romig streets. All kinds of steam engines and boilers, mill gearings, castings and machinery are here manufactured, and a specialty is made of repairing machinery. Under the pushing, energetic management of R. H. McGrath the business is being enlarged continally and gives promise of yet greater things.

One of the native sons of Lafayette, he has always been closely associ­ated with the upbuilding and growth of the place, and has done his share in promoting its advancement. He was born May 5, 1859, and received his early education in the local schools. Believing that he should receive special business training, his father then sent him to the Lafayette Commercial College, where he was trained in general business routine. Later the young man spent two years pursuing the higher branches of learning in the Uni­versity of Notre Dame, near South Bend, Indiana. In 1876 he became one of his father's employes, in the machine shops here, and, by a period of practical work in all of the departments of the concern, he became thoroughly conversant with each and every detail of the work necessary for him to know. In 1884 he was taken into partnership, which connection continued up to the date of his father's death, in 1889.    Since that time the entire control of the business has been in his hands, and he has been abundantly able to cope with the responsibilities of the position. Success has crowned his efforts and he may be justly proud of the same. His business methods are upright and honorable and his word is as good as his bond. Politically, he is a Democrat, and in religion is. a Roman Catholic. By his marriage to Miss Mary Ward he has four children.


The man who founds a successful business or establishes a factory giving employment to many hands is a benefactor to the public no less than is the man who generously builds school-houses and libraries, churches and asylurrs. No better way can be found of assisting the poor than to make it possible for them to honestly and industriously earn their own livelihood, and, to the credit of the majority of the great laboring class, be it said that few of the multitude are not willing to work. Forty years have rolled by since the McGrath Machine Shops and Foundry were started in Lafayette, and for almost thirty years of that time the subject of this article was at the head of the enterprise, which he carefully cherished until it became one of the relia­ble and stable plants of the city. He was a fine machinist and an excellent mechanic, understanding thoroughly every detail of his business. Not only that, he was, moreover, a genius and inventor of no little merit, and among his useful and valuable inventions may be mentioned the now well known McGrath Champion cylinder iron corn-sheller for use in warehouses, and a wagon-dump for unloading grain at elevators, etc. Both of these inventions proved very popular and valuable and are now in extended use throughout the country.

The birth of Robert M. McGrath occurred in Reading, Pennsylvania, July 23, 1826. He was a youth of fourteen when he first arrived in Lafayette, where the rest of his life was mainly spent. At that time, however, he did not stay long, but went with a surveying party to survey the course of the Wabash & Erie canal, and it was not before 1844 that he returned to make his permanent home here. Entering the employ of Joe Hubler, the pioneer foundry man of Lafayette, he continued with him for several years, during which time he mastered the business and became an expert mechanic. In i860 he purchased the ground on which the McGrath machine shops now stand, and soon erected a substantial lot of buildings. Little by. little, he extended the capacity of the works, and by square dealing and straightforward methods won the regard and patronage of the public. He continued actively engaged in business until death put an end to his labors, July 4, 1889.

Mr. McGrath left a widow, three daughters and two sons to mourn his loss. His eldest son, Charles M., had died previously, when nine years old. Mrs. McGrath was formerly Miss Catherine O'Grady, a native of Ireland. Her surviving children are Mary C, Robert H.v Catherine, Helen, Frances and George J.    The family are Catholics in religious faith.

In local Democratic circles Mr. McGrath was acknowledged to be an important factor. For a number of years he served in the city council, and at the time that the present court-house of Tippecanoe county was erected he was one of the county commissioners who carried the matter through to successful completion. By his many sterling qualities of mind and heart he endeared himself to all who knew him and his place in the community where he dwelt so long cannot be easily filled.


The popular proprietor of the Bramble House, Lafayette, is also a prominent dentist as well as a scientist of considerable reputation. He was born in Morristown, Lamoille county, Vermont, February 27, 1844, the son of Amos and Meriel (Lake) Eaton, both natives of that state. Their fam­ily consisted of seven children, four daughters and three sons, of whom the following are now living: Henry R., residing in Grant Park, Illinois; Corolin, wife of David Taylor, of Fort Collins, Colorado; and Amos V. The father was a carpenter, contractor and farmer, and removed in 1845 from Vermont to the state of New York, where he lived in Chautauqua and Allegany counties for about fifteen years. He then went to Shiawassee county, Michigan, remaining there for three years, and from there to Strawberry Point, Clayton county, Iowa, where he engaged in farming and working at his trade. He died at the latter place in 1874, at the age of seventy-five years. His wife departed this life the following year. The father enlisted in the Mexican war, but peace being declared soon afterward he did not have an opportunity of serving. He was captain of the militia in his old home in Vermont and was thoroughly posted in military tactics. He held various township offices, and with his wife was a member of the Universalist church.

The paternal grandfather of our subject was Simeon Eaton, a native of Vermont and of English descent, the first of the family in America coming over in the Mayflower. He was a farmer by occupation, had a large family, and died at an advanced age. The maternal grandfather was Henry Lake, also a native of Vermont and of English descent. He was a farmer and school-teacher and had a family of eight children.

Amos V. Eaton spent his boyhood and youth in New York and Iowa, attending the common schools and gaining a fair education. When the civil war broke out, his patriotism was aroused and in July, 1862, he enlisted in Company H, Eighteenth Iowa Infantry, was made a non-commissioned officer and served for three years. He was in a number of bloody engage­ments, among them the battles of Springfield, Missouri; the Red River cam­paign; near Mayesville, Prairie de Anne, Moscow, Poison Springs, Saline River, Arkansas, and many minor engagements. When the war was over our subject returned to Iowa and studied medicine and dentistry in Anamosa, where he practiced the latter branch of his profession for twenty years and was then obliged, on account of ill health and loss of eyesight, to give up his work. In 1883 he went to Effingham, Illinois, and started a fruit farm, on which he lived for about five years, at the end of that time removing to Greene county, Indiana, where he was engaged in the hotel and livery busi­ness, at Newberry, until 1891, when he sold out and removed to Lafayette, becoming proprietor of the Bramble House.

On January 14, 1867, Dr. Eaton was married to Miss Ida Simmons, a daughter of Benjamin and Hannah (Wolcott) Simmons, of Anamosa, Iowa. They have six children, all daughters, Cora, Jessie, Mayme, Caddie, Mabel and Florence. Jessie is the wife of John L. Lewis and Caddie became the wife of Joseph M. Hughes. Mr. and Mrs. Eaton are members of the Uni­versalist church, in which the former is a trustee.    While a resident of Anamosa Dr. Eaton was its mayor for three years, a member of the city council for six years and school director six years. He has been a member of the Odd Fellows fraternity and belongs to John A. Logan Post, No. 3, G. A. R., and also to the Union Veteran Legion. Politically, he is a Republican, and cast his first vote for Abraham Lincoln, after entering the army. Mrs. Eaton is president of Circle No. 7, Ladies of the G. A. R., of Lafayette.

While in Iowa Dr. Eaton was a member of the Anamosa Scientific As­sociation, of which he was vice-president at its organization and later its president. In the meetings of this body various topics were discussed, such as geology, fish culture and its history, eye and ear, chemistry, diphtheria, hygiene, heat and ventilation, photography and other subjects. During that time the Doctor gained a reputation as a geologist, and has written some able articles on that subject. He has a large and interesting collection of spec­imens of minerals, fossils, rock formations, and curiosities, and also an ex­tensive library relating to these things. While mayor of Anamosa, in 1879, he wrote an article for the History of Jones County, upon the solicitation of the publishers, the Western Historical Company, of Chicago, which treats exhaustively of the geological formation of Jones county, and includes inci­dentally the counties of Clinton, Jackson, Scott and Howard, embracing a territory of fifty miles in width by one hundred and sixty miles in length. He also furnished for the same publication a valuable article on the stone quarries of Jones county, from which some stone was furnished for the capitol build­ing at Des Moines, the state penitentiary and other prominent buildings in Iowa and other states all through the west and northwest. The Doctor, among other of his writings, has also preserved a diary of his three years' serv­ice in the army, showing his career and important events occurring every day during that time.

Dr. Eaton is of a quiet disposition, genial and agreeable, and capable of carrying to a successful conclusion anything he undertakes. He is a first-class dentist, and in his capacity of host is a royal entertainer, making it a point to look after the comfort of his patrons and thus winning the praises and abiding friendship of those who have been his guests.



Upon one of the farms first developed in Sheffield township, Tippecanoe county, Indiana, resides John Brand, a substantial and progressive farmer, whose well tilled fields and substantial buildings indicate the careful super­vision of an industrious and energetic owner. His birth occurred upon this homestead, which had become the home of his parents in 1835. His father had previously visited the county, having made three trips to Indiana. On his visit in 1834 he purchased the property and located thereon the follow­ing year. The land was in part entered from the government by Joseph Slater in 1829, and John Brand still has in his possession the original deed, signed in the bold handwriting of Andrew Jackson, then president of the United States. Four years later, in 1833, a portion of this farm was entered by George Storm.

Very little had been done in the way of improvement when Samuel Brand took possession of the property, and in clearing and developing the land he was assisted by his sons, including John Brand, whose birth occurred on the farm April 16, 1841. His education was largely acquired in a small frame school building which stood on the northeast corner of the farm, and was built by the neighbors for school purposes, but his first instruction was received in his father's log cabin, where for a time school was held. He early became familiar with all the duties and labors that fall to the lot of the agriculturist, and thus when he began life for himself was well prepared by practical experience to manage the work of the farm. In 1866 he was mar­ried and brought his bride to the old family homestead, where he is still liv­ing. The playground of his boyhood thus became the scene of his manhood's labors, and the fields where he was wont to romp in youth, afterward yielded to him golden harvests in return for the care and cultivation he bestowed upon them. He purchased the farm of his father,a tract of one hundred and sixty-two acres. This had been cleared by the father and his sons, but Mr. Brand has added many substantial improvements and now has a very valu­able property supplied with all the conveniences and accessories of the model farm. From time to time he has purchased other lands until his farm now comprises three hundred and seventeen acres, and in addition he has other valuable property elsewhere. He is also one of the directors and stockhold­ers of the Farmers' National Bank, of Mulberry, of which he was one of the founders, and is an enterprising business man, whose capable management, sound judgment and great energy have brought to him prosperity.

On the 7th of February, 1866, Mr. Brand was united in marriage, in Madison township, Clinton county, Indiana, to Miss Sarah Elizabeth Camp-man, a native of Pennsylvania and a daughter of Lewis F. and Maria (Moyer) Campman. Her father was born in New Jersey and was of sturdy English ancestry and educated in the German language. Lewis Frederick Campman was born at Hope, New Jersey, February 2, 1794, a son of Christian Fred­erick and Annie Mary Campman. November 12, 1829, he married Mary Moyer, a daughter of David and Sarah Moyer, and their children were Frederick Andrew, born March 23, 1831; Henry Frantz, January 16, 1833; Mary Annie, August 6, 1834; David, May 3, 1836; Louis Henry, January 23, 1838; James William, April 23, 1839; and Sarah E., December 28, 1840. The father followed farming in early life, afterward engaged in school-teach­ing in New Jersey, and subsequently engaged in clerking in a store. Later he went to Philadelphia, where he accepted a position as cashier in a bank, and on severing that connection he returned to Grimville, Pennsylvania, where he engaged in clerking until an advanced age. He afterward lived with his children in Indiana, and died at the home of our subject, when about seventy-eight years of age. He was a straightforward, honorable man, a highly respected citizen and a consistent member of the Reformed church. By the marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Brand were born six children, namely: AlvinS., born October 28, 1867; Sylvester L., born December 20, 1868; Lilly Ellen, born March 9, 1871; Katie Ann, born January 31, 1872;
Guy Orlando, born October 17, 1875; and May Susannah, born March 27, 1879.

Both Mr. and Mrs. Brand are members of the German Reformed church, and in his political connections he is a Republican. He also belongs to the Odd Fellows lodge, of Mulberry, and is popular with his brethren of the fraternity. He has always been a man of great industry, intelligence and determination in business, and through his well directed efforts has won a handsome competency that numbers him among the substantial citizens of the community. There has been nothing in his life to awaken the condem­nation of his fellow men; on the contrary he commands uniform regard, and is accounted one of the leading residents of Sheffield township, Tippecanoe county.


Alexander H. Crouse is one of the substantial and respected citizens of Tippecanoe county, and a son of one of the honored pioneers. He belongs to the same family as Dr. Jerome Crouse, of Dayton, Indiana, in whose sketch may be found the genealogical history of the family. There is a tradition that three brothers of the name came from Germany at a very early day and located in Philadelphia, but more authentic records give proof that George Crouse, the great-grandfather of our subject, crossed the Atlantic to the United States in the first part of the eighteenth century and took up his abode in Cumberland county, Pennsylvania.
Henry Crouse, the grandfather, was of sturdy Pennsylvania-Dutch stock, and was born in Cumberland county, July 6, 1768. In that locality he was married to Miss Hevison, who was born February 15, 1766, and their children were: Catherine, born May 20, 1792 ; Leah, born March 6, 1794; Henry, born August 1, 1796; Maria, born July 15, 1798; Simon, born July 25, 1802 ; John, born August 15, 1804; David, born September 18, 1808 ; Elizabeth, born. October 15, 1810; and Daniel, born November 20, 1814. About 1820 Henry Crouse, the father of this family, removed to German-town, Ohio, and cleared a farm in that locality. In 1830 he became a resident of Marion county, Indiana, and purchased and cleared a section of land, including the site which was afterward chosen for the asylum for the insane, near Indianapolis. He died in the prime of life, owing to injuries sustained while felling a tree. He was a member of the German Reformed church.

John W. Crouse, the father of our subject, was bcrn April 15, 1805, in Westmoreland county, Pennsylvania, and during his youth accompanied his parents on their removal to Butler county, Ohio. He was married in Preble county, March 17, 1825, to Miss Eliza Christman, the marriage ceremony being performed by Rev. Bishop Kumler. The lady was born in Preble county, June 1, 1805, a daughter of Daniel and Magdaline (Oza) Christman. Her parents were both natives of Guilford county, North Carolina, the father born March 27; 1773, and the mother, December 8, 1776. They were among the early pioneers of Preble county, Ohio, where they reared their family of four sons and a daughter, namely: John, Eliza, Solomon, Jacob and Daniel. The sons spent the greater part of their lives in Preble county, where they were highly respected citizens. Daniel Christman entered land from the government and developed a good farm, at one time owning about three hun­dred acres. He was a straightforward, honorable man, a member of the United Brethren church, and died on the Ohio homestead when about eighty years of age.

The family record of Mr. Christman, the grandfather of our subject, is as follows: He was born November 2, 1745, and died March 11, 1810. His wife Magdaline died June 7, 1800. Their children were: Margaret, born June 6, 1769; Jacob, August 9, 1770; John, September 17, 1771; Dan­iel, March 27, 1773; Mary B., April 3, 1774; Catherine, October 3, 1775; Peter, March 17, 1777; David, January 5, 1779; Mary E., February 27, 1782; Elizabeth, March 16, 1783; Roseanah, November 6, 1785; Susannah, Sep­tember 6, 1787; Solomon, February 2, 1790; and Sophia, April 5, 1792. Jacob Christman, the great-grandfather of our subject, was born May 5, 1720.
After their marriage, the parents of our subject took up their abode near Liberty, Union county, Indiana, in 1825. The father purchased land, also a sawmill. In the fall of 1828 he removed with his family to Wayne township, Tippecanoe county, Indiana, locating two miles from the present Crouse homestead. He bought one hundred and forty-two acres of land and entered a quarter section from the government, and thereon resided until his death, which occurred September 13, 1844. He cleared away the timber, turned the first furrows upon the prairie land, and developed a good farming property of three hundred acres, the greater part of which he placed under a high state of cultivation. He and his wife were both members of the United Brethren church, in which he served as class-leader and held other offices. He assisted in building a number of churches, contributed liberally to their support, and was very active in advancing the work of his denomination. In politics he was a Whig, and was at one time a candidate for state senator. He was a loyal and valued citizen, a substantial, practical farmer and a straightforward, reliable business man. His wife died March 26, 1883, at the age of seventy-eight years.    She had been a widow for many years and had depended upon her son Alexander to manage the farm and business affairs in 7 her old age. Her children were Mary A., born October 5, 1826; Alexander Hamilton; Daniel Franklin, born June 11, 1837, and died July 11, 1866; and Mary A., who became the wife of James W. Stewart and died March 23, 1874.

Alexander Hamilton Crouse was born on the homestead farm in Union county, Indiana, October 23, 1828, and was only six months old when brought by his parents to Tippecanoe county, so that he was reared amid the pioneer homes and scenes of this locality. He pursued his education in a log school-house, made of round poles, with puncheons for seats and con­structed with the sharp edge uppermost, so that the children would not get lazy. In one end of the building was an old-fashioned stick chimney, and a back-log ten feet long could be put in the huge fireplace! For a window a log was removed and the aperture covered with greased paper. Between the ages of six and fifteen years Mr. Crouse attended that school through the winter season, with the exception of short intervals spent in a school of little better grade, near Odell. When he was a small boy his father instructed him in practical business methods, and he began to learn how to buy young cattle, being encouraged by his father, who gave him the money and taught him to know the points of good stock. He was also early inured to the labors of the fields, and when only nine years old cultivated thirty-five acres of corn. When he was sixteen years of age his father died, and the care and manage­ment of the farm devolved upon him. It was a great responsibility for a youth of his age, but he performed the work manfully and nobly, being assisted by the wise advice, counsel and encouragement of his devoted mother.

As the years passed, his thrift and enterprise brought him increased wealth, and following the teachings of his father he became a prosperous cattle dealer. He was a good trader, and accumulated a handsome prop­erty. He remained at home with his mother until after her death, and was therefore not married until late in life. Some time after losing his mother he saw a Kentucky lady in whom he became much interested, and five years later they were married, in Hardin county, that state, June 24, 1894. She was in her maidenhood Miss Tee P. Humphrey. Their wedding was cele­brated about three o'clock on Sunday afternoon, in a beautiful chestnut grove on the Humphrey homestead, Rev. Felix Humphrey, her brother, per­forming the ceremony in the presence of a large concourse of the best peo­ple of the county, more than twelve hundred being present. The bride ;was twenty-two years of age, the bridegroom sixty-five years. On their return to Indiana they gave a large reception to the many friends and neighbors of Mr. Crouse, over six hundred people being royally entertained. Their chil­dren were John Thomas, who was born April 26, 1895, and died in infancy; William Alexander, born March 24, 1896; and Mary Magdalene, born October 7, 1898. Mrs. Crouse was born in Hardin county, Kentucky, March 25, 1872, a daughter of Thomas and Arminda (Royalty) Humphrey. Her father was a son of Samuel and Drusilla (Haywood) Humphrey, the former born in Hardin county, his father being Samuel Humphrey, Sr., who left his Vir­ginia home and became one of the pioneers of Kentucky, making his home there among the Indians. The grandmother of Mrs. Crouse, Mrs. Drusilla Humphrey, was the daughter of a prominent official of Hardin county, who had Indian blood in his veins, and more remote members of the family served as chiefs of the Shawnee Indians. It is claimed that a vast amount of land in Kentucky belongs by right to this branch of the family. The chil­dren of Samuel and Drusilla Humphrey were Sallie, John, Lydia, Samuel, William Wesley, Thomas, Rachel and Mahala. The last named died in early womanhood. Mr. Humphrey was a substantial farmer of Hardin county and a good citizen. In politics he was a Republican, and died in his native state in middle life.

Thomas Humphrey, father of Mrs. Crouse, was born in Hardin county, March 12, 1827, was a farmer by occupation and when about twenty years of age married Arminda Royalty, who was born in Hardin county, July 1, 1832, a daughter of Daniel and Annie (Saunders) Royalty. Her father was born in Washington county, Kentucky, and was a son of David Royalty, one of the pioneers of Kentucky. Annie Saunders was a daughter of Thomas and Sally Saunders, and her father was a Kentucky pioneer, who served through the Revolutionary war under General Washington. He was a very strong man and weighed two hundred pounds when he entered the army, but was wounded in battle, which rendered him a cripple for life. His parents lived near a battle-field, and the window glass in their house was shattered by the firing. After leaving the army Mr. Royalty took up his residence in Washington county, Kentucky, where he spent his remaining days. His children were Annie, Isaac, Rebecca, Hannah and several daughters whose names are forgotten. Daniel Royalty was a shoemaker in Hardin county, Kentucky, where he also owned land, being one of the substantial citizens of that locality. He removed to that place soon after his marriage and there made his home until his death. His children were Sarah, Thomas, Jane, Rebecca, Catherine, Mary A. and Arminda. After their marriage Thomas Humphrey and his wife located at the head-waters of Mill creek, where he purchased a farm and spent the remainder of his life, while some of his children yet remain at that place. He and his wife were the parents of the following named: Felix, Thomas, Missouri, John W., Isaac F. and Wiatt W. (twins), Mary, Christian D. and Tee P. Mr. Humphrey died December 22, 1894, at the age of sixty-seven years, a member of the Baptist church, in which he had served as clerk and moderator.    He had a common-school education, was an industrious, energetic man, trust­worthy in business, and with his family a kind and affectionate husband and father. His widow is now living with her daughter, Mrs. Alexander H. Crouse. She, too, is a member of the Baptist church, in good stand­ing, and all of her children are connected with the same denomination. In politics the family are stanch Republicans. The Humphreys are of the old and respected families of Kentucky, well known for their sterling worth and excellent traits of character. Rev. Felix Humphrey, a brother of Mrs. Crouse, was educated in Garnettsville, Meade county, Kentucky, and is now an ordained minister in the Baptist church.

Mr. Crouse, whose name introduces this review, is accounted one of the prominent, diligent and prosperous agriculturists of Tippecanoe county, the greater part of his attention being devoted to his farming interests, which he manages with marked ability and success. He cast his ballot for Abraham Lincoln and for many years was a stanch Republican, but is now a Demo­crat and free-silver man. For eight and a half years he served as a justice of the peace, during which time he tried many cases and was always noted for his moderation and justice. His good common sense also played a part in his official service and was manifest in the settlement of many cases out of court, through arbitration between the litigants. He is a man of sterling rectitude of character, and his word is as good as his bond. Like his father, he was at one time a candidate for state senator, and it is claimed that he originated and suggested the present liquor laws of the state of Indiana. He has traveled quite extensively, visiting the principal cities of the United States, and in 1869 he went abroad, spending some time in England, Ire­land, Scotland, Wales, France, Germany, Spain and Turkey, viewing the many points of modern and historic interest in those lands. Socially, he is connected with the Odd Fellows society and has passed all the chairs in the lodge and also belongs to the encampment. He is a man of kindly disposi­tion, generous nature and courteous manner, and is one of the most highly respected and popular residents of Tippecanoe county.


One of the most venerable of the old pioneers yet living in Randolph township, Tippecanoe county, Indiana, is John H. Martin, whose post office address is South Raub. His father, David Martin, was born in Pennsylvania and early in life emigrated from that state to Ohio, then called the Western Reserve, and settled near Circleville, where he engaged in farming. He married Sarah Monohan, daughter of Peter and Silence Monohan, and they "became the parents of the following named children: Cynthia, Joseph, John H., Owen, David, Samuel, Mary, Sally, Abby and Margaret. The family home continued to be near Circleville until after seven of the children were born, when, in 1829, it was exchanged for one further west. That year David Martin, accompanied by his wife and children, came to Indiana and settled in Randolph township, Tippecanoe county, where he entered one hundred and sixty acres of timber and prairie land and devoted his energies to the work of making a farm. He prospered from the first and became one of the most respected pioneers of this locality. As he was able he purchased more land, thus adding to his farm until he had about three hundred acres, well improved. He died on his farm when near the age of seventy years. Politically, he was a Democrat.

John H. Martin, the third born in the above named family, and the direct subject of this review, dates his birth near Circleville, Ohio, February 23, 1816. He was about thirteen years old when his father moved to Indiana and can well remember the journey from Ohio to this state, which was made with ox teams and which consumed fifteen days, the nights being spent in camp by the roadside. For a few winters after coming to Tippecanoe county he attended school, held on the subscription plan, in a log school-house with a stick-and-mud chimney, big fire-place, and with a greased paper for window in the north side, while the south side could boast of a four light window. He grew to manhood on his father's farm, and at about the age of twenty five years was married, in Randolph township, Tippecanoe county, to Patience Burroughs, their marriage being consummated October 3,1837. Mrs. Martin was born September 30, 1822, in Meigs county, Ohio, daughter of Josiah and Hannah (Pierce) Burroughs, natives of New Jersey. Josiah Bur­roughs was a son of Jacob Burroughs and Silence, his wife.    After marriage Josiah and Hannah Burroughs settled in Meigs county, Ohio, to which place he had gone and entered land a short time previously and where he provided a rude frontier home for the bride he brought from New Jersey. There he fanned and worked at his trade, that of cooper, and found a market for his barrels on the Ohio river. He was an industrious and intelligent man and acquired a good education, attending school after he was twenty one years of age; and in connection with the other occupations above referred to he also taught school and did some surveying. In September, 1824, he moved to Indiana and took up his abode in Randolph township, Tippecanoe county, where he made a comfortable home. He taught two terms of school in this county when he was an old man. Politically, he was an old line Whig, and his religious faith was that of the Friends or Quakers. His children were Hester, Job, Elizabeth, Nancy, Edward, Hannah, Patience, Abby and Josiah.

After their marriage Mr. and Mrs. Martin settled on the farm where they now live, at first renting of his father. He inherited a portion of the homestead, subsequently bought adjoining land, from time to time adding to his holdings until his landed estate comprised five hundred acres, but he has since divided with his children, now retaining for himself two hundred and twenty acres, one of the best farms in the vicinity. Industry and good management have characterized his efforts and contributed to the success he has attained, and besides accumulating a competency he has, aided by his faithful wife, reared a large family of children to occupy useful and honored positions in life. Their children are as follows: Martha, born December 18, 1842;. Josiah, September 10, 1844; William, January 18, 1846; Ellen, November 27, 1849; Benjamin, January 10, 1851; Caroline, March 3, 1853; Melissa,. August 29, 1855; Sarah, January 5, 1857; David W., March 8, 1860; John, February 25, 1862; Hettie, March 15, 1864; and Albert, February 5, 1865.

Mr. Martin is, politically, a Democrat and is an advocate of " free silver."' Of him it may truthfully be said that his word is as good as his bond.


One of the venerable citizens of Lauramie township, Mr. Elihu Peters, is of substantial and sturdy German stock. His grandfather, a farmer of Ross county, Ohio, near the line of Pike county, was a well known tavern keeper on the Portsmouth and Chillicothe road for many years. He was financially in comfortable circumstances, and besides, it is said that a large estate in the Fatherland was to come to him at some future date. His children were Thomas, John, Betsy and Langham. He lived to be very advanced in life, dying on his farm in Ross county.

John Peters, the father of Elihu, was born in that county, was a farmer by occupation, and married, in Pike county, Sarah Wiley, a native of North Carolina, who was early left an orphan and was taken to Ohio by John Holliday and his family.    Mr. Peters' children were: Ann, who married a man named Warren; Belinda, who became Mrs. Wright; and Holladay. The first two of these were married in Ohio, and the last mentioned was married in Indiana. During the third year after his marriage Mr. John Peters settled in Indiana, in October, 1828, making the journey hither with a four horse team and being two weeks on the way. Warren Wiley and his family were with this party. Mr. Peters settled on Wild-cat prairie, in Sheffield township, Tippecanoe county, where he entered eighty acres in the edge of the prairie, in a grove where Frank Earl now lives. There he built a cabin and proceeded to improve the farm. He entered two eighty acre pieces where Cul­ver Station now is, and eighty acres on the line between Sheffield and Laur-amie townships. About 1836, which was about eight years after he settled here, he sold out and moved to Clinton county, this state, where he purchased seven hundred and forty acres four miles south of Jefferson, on Twelve Mile prairie. This place he improved and resided there for seven years, when he sold that also and bought a sawmill in Sheffield township, on Wild­cat creek, with sixty five acres of land; this was a mile south of Wyandotte, and the mill he operated for four years. Then he sold the mill and bought three hundred and sixty acres of land two and a half miles south in Sheffield township, and here he lived and labored for five years, then rented the place and purchased sixty five acres near Stockwell and retired from active life. He also bought one hundred and sixty five acres in Lauramie township, near Conroe, which he rented to his son Elihu, the subject proper of this sketch. He was a practical and prosperous farmer, well known and respected. He had no school education but had a good head for business. Having no faith in banks, he formed the habit of concealing his money in buildings about the premises. After his death three thousand and two hundred dollars was found in his house by our subject. After the house on the mill property was burned the old gentleman found a lump of gold, which he sent to the mint. Politically, he was an old line Whig and voted for Henry Clay. He was a soldier in the war of 1812, stationed at Toledo. His death took place in 1871, when he had reached the age of seventy three years. His children were: ' Elihu, Mary, Holladay, Jackson, Langham, Anna, Robert, Sarah and Martha.

Elihu Peters, whose name heads this article, was born January 27, 1826, in Ross county, Ohio, and was eighteen months old when he was brought to Tippecanoe county, Indiana, in October, 1828. He was brought up among the pioneers here, gaining a limited education by attendance at school, which, however, was but two months. His wife taught him to read. The old log school-house was supplied with a window made by sawing out a section of one of the logs in the structure, and with seats made of puncheons, and with a mud-and-stick chimney, the universal style at that period.    In early life he was a farmer and teamster, hauling many a load of goods from Lafayette to Franklin.

October 4, 1849, at the age of twenty four years, in Pike county, Ohio, Mr. Peters was married to Caroline Armstrong, a native of Ohio and a daughter of John and Mary (Lucas) Armstrong. Her father, a native of that state, moved to Indiana, settling in Sheffield township. By occupation he was a teamster. He died in Clay county, Illinois, at the residence of his son Martin. His children were: Martin, Elizabeth, Mary, Margaret, Eleanor (who died when a child), Caroline and William.

After marriage Mr. Peters settled with his young wife in Sheffield township, two and a half miles from Stockwell, on a farm owned by his father, consisting of three hundred and sixty acres. After a residence there of three years he moved to the neighborhood of Conroer Indiana, and rented there for sixteen years. On the death of his father he inherited fifty three acres, and he bought more until he had a hundred and ten acres. Afterward he bought eighty acres more near Stockwell, and also a residence in town, where he now lives. Recently, however, he sold this farm. In politics he is a Republican, and he and his wife are members of the Methodist church. Their children were Allen T., John W., Harris P., Melvin W., William (who died at the age of four years), Mary A. and an infant who died unnamed.

Mr. Peters has always been a hard-working, industrious man, honest, straightforward and respected as a good citizen by all, who know him. He is one of the few remaining pioneers, and his mind is well stored with reminiscences of the olden days. He can remember the Indians who used to pass by his father's cabin and stop for a glass of water, and also remembers the old block-house at Wyandotte, which was built by the first pioneers for protection.


The well known pioneer of Randolph township, Tippecanoe county, Indiana, whose name heads this sketch, is of English descent and comes from a family whose first settlement in America was in the Old Dominion. Three brothers who bore the name of Throckmorton came to this country in colonial times and located in Gloucester county, Virginia, and it was in that county, about the year 1766, that William Throckmorton, the grandfather of Edmund, was born. He became a lawyer and moved to Frederick county, Virginia, where he lived until his death, which occurred when he was about seventy years of age. In religion he was an Episcopalian. His children were Warner, Henrietta, and a daughter who married a Mr. Thompson.

Warner Throckmorton, the father of Edmund, was born in Jefferson county, Virginia. He received a college education probably at William and Mary's College and engaged in the same profession his father had followed, that of the law. He married Catherine Inskeep, in Hampshire county, West Virginia, where she was born, daughter of William and Susan (Forman) Inskeep. William Inskeep was a prominent citizen, a member of the Presbyterian church, a farmer and slave holder, and owned a large plantation comprising nearly five hundred acres. His children were Isaac, For­man, William, Catherine, Sallie, Elizabeth and Rebecca. Mr. Inskeep spent his whole life in Hampshire county, Virginia. His portrait, painted in 1819, an excellent and well preserved likeness, is in the possession of our subject. The portraits of William and Warner Throckmorton were also painted by the same artist. William's portrait was destroyed by fire in the burning of the family residence; Warner's is still preserved in Bedford, Indiana. War­ner Throckmorton settled in Romney, Hampshire county, West Virginia, and there, in addition to engaging actively in the practice of law, was interested in farming and owned a number of slaves. He was a member of the state militia and was always called Colonel. He died at Romney, West Virginia, in 1825, at the age of forty three years. He was a member of the Episcopalian church. A prominent and influential man, popular with all classes, he could have had, it has been said, any office in the state, including that of governor, had he so desired.
Edmund Throckmorton, the immediate subject of this sketch, was born December 5, 1820, in Hampshire county, West Virginia. He received a common school education and in early life was a clerk in a store in Romney, Tippecanoe county, Indiana, where he arrived on March 20, 1838. This town was named in honor of the old town of Romney in Virginia. William Throckmorton, a brother of our subject, was here engaged in the mercantile business in company with W. F. Reynolds, and Edmund entered their employ. He had left Romney when a child of five or six years, shortly after his father's death, and, with his mother, went to live with his grandfather, William Inskeep, a farmer near the town, and there he lived until coming to Indiana. He clerked in his brother's store, as above stated, and subsequently went with him in the same capacity to Lawrence county, Indiana, where he remained about eleven months.

He married in Dayton, Indiana, May 1, 1842, Mary E. Wolf, a native of Frederick county, Virginia, and a daughter of John S. Wolf and wife, nee Walton. The Wolfs were an old Virginia family, and the children of John S. Wolf were Mathew, Ann, William, Frances and Mary E. After marriage Mr. and Mrs. Throckmorton settled in Romney, Indiana, where he continued with his brother in the mercantile business for about two years. In 1845 he settled on his present farm, or a portion of it, his first tract comprising eighty acres. Also he had forty acres of timber land about two miles from this place.    By honest and earnest toil he brought his farm under cultivation and had good buildings erected thereon, and as the years passed by and his efforts were attended with success he purchased more land, until he had two hundred and seventy acres. The children by his first wife were Sally and Edward. Her death having occurred in September, 1850, he subsequently married Sarah Learning, a native of Philadelphia and a daughter of Furman Learning, Sr. In 1857 death again bereaved him of a loving companion. In May, 1858, he wedded Elizabeth Devault, of Lafayette, Indiana, born in Ross county, Ohio, February 17, 1830, daughter of Lemuel and Mary (Mc Clure) Devault. For some years Lemuel Devault was a merchant of Lafayette. Later he settled on a farm in Randolph township, Tippecanoe county, was engaged in agricultural pursuits the rest of his life and died on his farm. His children were Wallace, Elizabeth, Margaret, Mary, James and Edward. By his third wife Mr. Throckmorton became the father of the following children: Warner T., George K. and Forman W. Warner T. has charge of the home farm. He was born here April 8, i860; was educated in the public schools and Purdue University, taking a course in the mechanical department; and was married February 21, 1887, in this county, to Preda E. Detchorn, who was born in Ohio in 1862, daughter of Newman and Amanda (Agnew) Detchorn. Their children are Hugh, Eleanor, Warner and Her­man M. Edward Throckmorton, the eldest son of Edmund, married Anna Webster, of Romney, Indiana, and is one of the substantial farmers of Ran­dolph township. He and his wife are the parents of two children, Mary and George K
For the long period of sixty-one years Edmund Throckmorton has re­sided in Tippecanoe county and for fifty-five years he has been on his pres­ent farm. Consequently he is well known here, and, what is more, those who know him best esteem him most highly. He is a consistent member of the Presbyterian church and affiliates with the Republican party, having left the old-line Whigs to enter the Republican ranks; but he has never sought or filled public office, as he has preferred the quiet life of a private citizen.


Captain Sheetz is a native of Tippecanoe county, Indiana, his birth occurring on the 9th of October, 1837. He was the third child of the eleven children of Frederick and Eliza C. (Taylor) Sheetz, the parents being natives of Hampshire county, Virginia, and very early pioneers of Tippecanoe county, locating on a farm near Lafayette in 1821. There Frederick grew to manhood, learning the miller's trade, an occupation which he followed for many years, and in 1845 he bought a farm and ended his days in agricultural pursuits, his death occurring there in 1864; and his wife survived till 1867. The Captain's ancestors on his father's side were German, and on his mother's side they were Scotch Irish. Of their large family all are living so far as known to the subject of this sketch, excepting a brother who died in the army. Edward F. is a farmer in Spink county, North Dakota; Harriet became the wife of VV. S. Van Natta, whose sketch is given elsewhere in this work; Warren, whose name heads this sketch; Alfred, who was a member of Company D, Tenth Indiana Infantry, and died in the army service in 1863; Margaret, the wife of Mr. Kelso, lives near Indianapolis: her first husband was George Shigley; Charles is a farmer near Lafayette; William T. has been lost to his family for many years and is presumed to be in the far west, if living; Frederick is a bookkeeper at Indianapolis; Frank is a farmer near Lafayette; Robert is a prosperous machinist at Muncie, this state; and Maria Virginia is the wife of Dr. B. F. Beasley, who is a successful physician at Lafayette, this state.

The paternal grandfather of our subject was a native of Virginia, Fred­erick Sheetz by name; and the maternal grandfather was Robert Taylor, also a native of the Old Dominion; and both families were prominently identified with the history of that state.

Captain Sheetz received a common school education in his native county, and his early life was spent on his father's farm, where he remained until his enlistment in the army, at the age of twenty four. He was one of those who promptly responded to their country's needs, and enlisted on the 18th of September, 1861, as a private in Company D, Tenth Indiana Infantry. On the organization of the company he was appointed one of the five sergeants and served in that capacity one year. In recognition of his special fitness to command, his devotion to duty and bravery on the battlefield, he was commissioned first lieutenant and soon thereafter was promoted to the rank of captain; and for two years he commanded his company and was present with it in all the dangers of three years' active service at the front. The first rendezvous of the regiment was at Louisville, Kentucky, where it was assigned to the command of General Thomas; and it afterward participated in active maneuvering and skirmishing against guerrillas in Kentucky. The first general engagement was at Mill Springs, which was quickly followed by the terrific battles at Shiloh and Corinth, Mississippi. It was next attached to the ' Fourteenth Army Corps and marched upon Nashville, Tennessee; made a forced march from Nashville to Louisville in pursuit of General Bragg, of the rebel forces, and had various skirmishes in Tennessee; returned to Nashville, and thence went out on the Chickamauga campaign, where, going into the battle of Chickamauga with forty men, Captain Sheetz brought his company out with only thirteen men capable for service, twenty having been killed or wounded. He remained at Chickamauga from September 15, 1863, until February, 1864, during which time the regiment was recruited and given the opportunity to re-enlist in the field. Captain Sheetz was detailed to bring the soldiers home on return furlough, and was home thirty days; but as an organization they did not improve the opportunity. The siege of Chattanooga being raised, the Captain and his company started out on the Atlanta campaign, but his term of service expired before he reached Atlanta, and the regiment was relieved at Ringgold, Georgia, and returned to Indianapolis, where it was mustered out of service, September 18, 1864.
Returning from the war, Captain Sheetz resumed agricultural pursuits, purchasing a farm of two hundred and forty acres southeast of Fowler, upon which he lived till 1885. By reason of failing health he retired from active labors of all kinds and located in Fowler, where he has resided since his retirement from the farm.
Of the social orders Captain Sheetz selected only the one which brings together for mutual protection and counsel his old army comrades, and accordingly he has been a member of the Grand Army post from its earliest history, and in this he has taken great interest. He recognizes the G. A. R. button as a "badge of honor," conveying to him in unmistakable language the mortality of man. He realizes that it is a society with a " time limit," and that soon the final reveille will call the last veteran to his eternal rest. He recognizes the emblem of the order as the "insignia of rank," telling to the world that the wearer was not only a defender of liberty and union, but also that his military record bore the closest scrutiny, for no traitor or convicted coward can enter the portals of the order. Captain Sheetz has served in all the official capacities of the local post, excepting that of adjutant, and is proud of his connection with the "time limited and fire tested fraternity."

In matrimony Captain Sheetz was united, September 6, 1870, with Miss Harriet H. Johnson, a daughter of William R. and Margaret (Finch) Johnson, early settlers of Benton county. Her father was a prosperous farmer and stock grower, who died in 1863, at the age of fifty years, and her mother is still living on the old home farm near Oxford, at the age of seventy five years. Mr. and Mrs. Sheetz became the parents of four sons and two daughters. The two first born, Theodore M. and Margaret E., died of diphtheria, the latter in infancy, their deaths occurring within a few days of each other; Laura A. is the wife of Charles B. McKnight, an attorney in Fowler; David C. is a clerk in the shoe store of Van Natta & Evans, also in Fowler; Warren, Jr., is a student in the Fowler schools; and Chester is liv­ing with his aunt at Lafayette
On the 31st of August, 1885, having but recently returned from the farm to Fowler, Mrs. Sheetz died. This was a severe blow to the family, and the Captain still realizes his loneliness and the disruption of family affairs. Since the occurrence of this sad event he has made his home for the most part with his married daughter, Mrs. McKnight.
In his political sympathies Captain Sheetz has always voted with the Republican party, in whose councils he has always been active and influential; but with advancing years and bodily infirmity he has relinquished to  some extent his former political enthusiasm. He has held the position of trustee of Pine township two terms, or four years, and he held a similar position in Center township (Fowler) for a like period. He is not connected with any church organization, though his wife was a devout Christian lady, a member of the Methodist Episcopal church.


One of the most extensive land-owners and substantial farmers of Indiana is Isaac Herrod Montgomery, who resides in the county which bears his name. His home is near the boundary line of Tippecanoe county, and he is so widely and favorably known throughout this section of the state that he well deserves mention in this volume. An honored pioneer, he has spent his entire life within the borders of the Hoosier state, and through many decades has been identified with the material progress and development of this central western section. His mind carries in one indissoluble chain the history of its frontier experiences, its early improvement and its later advancement, and at all times he has borne his part in the wonderful transformation that has converted the state from a wild region into richly cultivated farms and happy homes. Although he has reached the advanced age of eighty five years, he is still enjoying good health, and looks after his business investments, not caring to relegate his affairs entirely to others. He is truly a remarkable character, and his activity in the evening of life puts to shame many a man of half his years, who, grown weary of the struggles of a business career, rests from his labors content with little or nothing for old age.
The Montgomery family is of sterling Irish and English ancestry, and many of its members were distinguished in the Emerald Isle. General Richard Montgomery, of the British army, who fell at the siege of Quebec, was of the same stock. He was an own cousin of Alexander Montgomery, the grandfather of our subject, who came to America in his seventeenth year. When the colonies attempted to throw off the yoke of British tyranny he entered the army and served for seven years, until the cause for which they fought was successfully accomplished. He was three times married. First in Bourbon county, Kentucky, where with his wife Elizabeth he located upon a farm. Their children were Alexander, Archibald, William and Jane. In Kentucky he was a contemporary of Daniel Boone, and participated in a number of the engagements with the Indians on the "dark and bloody ground," also experienced the hardships and privations of pioneer life. About 1812 he removed to Scott county, Indiana, where his wife died. His second wife was Sarah Agins, a widow, and they had two children: Polly, who married a Mr. Anderson, and Mahala. In 1823 he removed from Scott county to Crawfordsville, and his second wife having died he was married a third time, in 1825, when just a hundred years old, Mrs. Lucy Cox, a widow, becoming his wife. The same year he removed to Iowa, saying that he 44 would grow up with the country." He settled six miles west of the Mississippi, where he entered six hundred acres of land, which he improved, ten more years of life being vouchsafed to him. He was a man of very hardy constitution, six feet and two inches in height, very vigorous, strong and energetic, and he reached the truly remarkable age of one hundred and ten years. He received a pension from the United States government in recognition of his services in the Revolutionary war. In politics he was an old line Whig, and in religious belief was a Methodist. His opposition to slavery had led him to leave Kentucky, but he never owned slaves even while in that state. He was a noted frontiersman and pioneer, and performed an important work toward opening up the states of Kentucky, Indiana and Iowa to the advance of civilization.

Alexander Montgomery, father of our subject, was born in Bourbon county, Kentucky, about 1789, and was reared among the pioneers of that state. He was married in that county, in 1813, when twenty four years of age, to Annie Herrod, or Harrod, as the name is more frequently spelled. She was born in Kentucky, a daughter of Joseph and Elizabeth Herrod. Her father, it is believed, was a German, who settled in pioneer times in Kentucky, and as a companion of Daniel Boone participated in the Indian troubles.    He was the founder of what was known as Harrod's Station, a frontier post in Indian times. Afterward he located in what was then called Lexington, but is now Harrodsburg, Scott county, Indiana, where he died at an advanced age. His children were Samuel, William, Isaac, Annie, Jemima, Polly, Betsy, Cynthia and Peggy. The father was a member of the Methodist church, and gave his political support to the Whig party.

At the time of his marriage Alexander Montgomery located in Jefferson county, Indiana, but afterward cleared up a farm in Scott county on the Ohio river, near the town of London and near the Jefferson county line. He removed to Crawfordsville about 1823 and opened a shoe shop, but finally purchased land near that place and resumed farming. He died in Mont­gomery county, in August, 1866, at the age of seventy seven years. Like the others of his family, he was a Methodist in religious faith and served as class leader in his church. Politically, he was a Whig. He served his country in the war of 1812, under General William Henry Harrison, and participated in the battle of Tippecanoe. The General did not fear an attack by the Indians, but as a matter of caution doubled his guard the night before the battle, and Alexander Montgomery was placed on duty. The red men made the attack very early in the morning, while it was yet dark. An Indian who was creeping toward the white men fired upon Mr. Montgomery and the bullet grazed his head. Somewhat stunned, he dropped to his knees, but recovered quickly and as the Indian approached shot him through the body. The Indians carried away their dead during the battle, as was their custom, but the next day the Indian that Mr. Montgomery had shot was found where he fell.

To the parents of our subject were born the following children: Isaac H,, Simpson, Archibald, Harvey, Samuel and Cynthia A. The mother died in Crawfordsville, in September, 1823, and in 1827 Alexander Montgomery married Hannah Kimbler, by whom he had three daughters, Mary, Eliza and Lucinda. She died and two years later be wedded Mrs. Ketchem, a widow.

Isaac Herrod Montgomery was born March 24, 1814, in Jefferson county, Indiana, near the line of Scott county, to which county the father removed when the son was about three years of age. He was educated in the old pioneer subscription schools, and also pursued his studies in the old brick school-house in Crawfordsville. He learned the shoemaker's trade at which he worked eight years, but through the greater part of his life carried on farming. He was married April 14, 1836, in Montgomery county, when about twenty two years of age, to Elizabeth Parks, who was born in Dear­born county, Indiana, October 19, 1816, a daughter of Elija and Eveline (Hill) Parks. Her grandfather, Micajah Parks, was a native of New Jersey, and as a pioneer went to Ohio, settling at Elizabethtown, near the Indiana state line. He and his wife, Polly, whom he had married in New Jersey, had five children, Jacob, Elizabeth, Isaac, Thompson and Harrison. The father was a substantial farmer, straightforward business man, worthy citizen and a faithful member of the Methodist Episcopal church, and died at the age of seventy years. Elija Parks, father of Mrs. Montgomery, accompanied his parents to Ohio, where he married Eveline Hill, who was born in Miami town, Ohio, a daughter of Andrew Hill, an Ohio farmer, who died in middle life. His children were Jackson, Daniel, Eveline, Katie, Polly and Elizabeth. Elija Parks became one of the pioneer settlers of Dearborn county, Indiana, prior to 1816, and about 1828 removed to Montgomery county, where he entered land and became a substantial farmer, owning about four hundred acres. His children were Elizabeth, Thompson, Charles, Oliver, Omar, Oscar, Polly A., Orrin and Elija. He spent his last days upon his farm and died when about seventy years of age. He was a member of the Methodist Episcopal church, and exercised his right of franchise in support of the men and measures of the Whig party. He gave all of his children some land, thus enabling them to gain a start in life, and at the end of a long, useful and honorable career passed to the reward prepared for the righteous.

After their marriage Mr. and Mrs. Montgomery located on a tract of forty acres of prairie land which her father had given her. They worked hard and perseveringly, and in course of time the land was transformed into richly cultivated fields. In early manhood Mr. Montgomery began to raise and sell cattle, and in this enterprise was quite prosperous. By his good management and practical business methods he increased his capital and from time to time made judicious investments in land. He finally purchased all of his father-in-law's farm and other lands adjoining, until he now owns sixteen hundred acres in one body, and in addition has a quarter section in Arkansas, and a residence property in Crawfordsville. He is a man of great energy and keen discrimination in business affairs, and with the assistance of his estimable wife, who by her frugality and industry proved indeed a helpmeet to him, he accumulated one of the best farming properties in the entire state. Mr. Montgomery recalls many interesting reminiscences of pioneer life, when land was unimproved, forests uncut and the work of civilization seemed scarcely begun. When he was a boy of but twelve years he carried the mail from Crawfordsville to Lafayette. The two towns were twenty eight miles apart by direct route, but there were so many sloughs and bad places in the road that he was obliged to keep to the ridges and thus the distance was lengthened to thirty five miles. This trip he made once each week on horseback, carrying the mail in saddle-bags. He was the first mail carrier between the two towns, and was first appointed to the position
during the administration of John Quincy Adams, but was not removed when Andrew Jackson became president. He was employed by Colonel Vance, of Crawfordsville, who had a contract for carrying the mail, and gave to Mr. Montgomery about half of what he received from the government, the pay of the latter being fifty cents per trip. It was a very arduous undertaking for a boy of his age, and well illustrates the strength of character which he manifested even at that time.

Unto Mr. and Mrs. Montgomery have been born the following children: William H.; Adaline, who was married, died at the age of twenty seven years ; Elija ; Eveline ; Amanda; Samantha ; Mary ; Alice, who died at the age of eleven years ; Wallace F., and Eudora. The parents have long been faithful and consistent members of the Methodist church, Mr. Montgomery having united with the church in his youth, while his wife became a member at the age of seventeen years. In politics he was originally a Whig, and after the death of that party aided in organizing the Republican party in this locality. He voted for Fremont and Lincoln, and since that time has never failed to support the candidates of the "grand old party." He is one of the best known of the Indiana pioneers now living. For years extensively engaged in farming and stock dealing, he is widely known for his sterling honesty and fairness in all trade transactions. He has led a strictly temperate life, using neither tobacco nor intoxicating drinks, and to his excellent habits his good health is certainly largely attributable. He has now reached the venerable age of eighty five years, while his wife is more than eighty three years of age. They both retain their sight and hearing to a remarkable degree, and are fine examples of Indiana's best pioneer citizens. They have spent sixty three years of wedded life upon the old family homestead, where in the evening of life they may now be found, surrounded by every evidence of comfort and refinement.


This gentleman is the oldest resident of Tippecanoe county born within its borders, and is therefore deservingly classed among the honored pioneers who have witnessed the entire growth and development of this locality and aided in its advancement and progress. The Holladay family is of Irish descent and was founded in America by the great-great-grandfather of our subject, who located in Rockingham county, North Carolina, and was killed in one of the early Indian wars of the country. His son John was born in America and became the father of another John Holladay, the grandfather of our subject, who was born in Rockingham county, North Carolina, and served in the Revolutionary war in the interests of liberty and independence. He made farming his life work, and in 1804 removed to Ross county, Ohio, locating twelve miles north of Chillicothe. He afterward removed to Fayette county, Ohio, where he cleared up a farm, but subsequently returned to Ross county, where he died at an advanced age. He was a member of the Presbyterian church. His children were William, Samuel, John, Jennie, Annie, Martha and Rachel.

John Holladay, the father of our subject, was born in Rockingham county, North Carolina, December 10, 1798, and went with his father to Ross county, Ohio, when six years of age.    There he was reared upon a farm, and on entering upon his business career, he, too, became an agriculturist. In that county he married Rachel James, who was born March 6, 1802, a daughter of Evan and Lydia James. Her father was born in Pennsylvania, of sterling Scotch Irish ancestry, and in early pioneer times removed to Ross county, Ohio, where he and his wife spent their remaining days. Their children were Kins, Davis, Lydia, Rebecca, Polly and Betsy. After his marriage John Holladay located on a farm in Ohio, whence he removed to Indiana, locating in what was then Fairfield, but is now Wea, township, Tippecanoe county, October 5, 1825. He first leased a tract of land of a Mr. Hoover, and there made his home for a year. In the spring of 1827 he located on the Wea prairie, where our Subject now resides. This land had been entered by his brother, Samuel Holladay, who came to the county in 1824 and pre-empted the farm, consisting of one hundred and sixty acres, the original deed to which is signed by Andrew Jackson, then president of the United States. John Holladay settled on eighty acres of that tract and began the work of transforming the wild prairies into richly cultivated fields. He made a good pioneer home, prospered in his undertakings and finally became the owner of a quarter section of land where our subject now resides. He also made judicious investments elsewhere, and in addition to his home farm owned an eighty acre tract two miles northeast, eighty acres three and a half miles southeast, and a farm of one hundred acres in Iowa. When he arrived in Tippecanoe county he had only three dollars and a half, but he possessed great energy, strong determination and sound judgment, and by the exercise of these qualities steadily worked his way upward to success. The homes of the settlers were widely scattered in those early days and the work of civilization seemed scarcely begun, but the efforts of such men as John Holladay worked great changes, and the once unsettled region became the home of a prosperous and contented people. In politics Mr. Holladay was a Democrat, and was a loyal and progressive citizen. He died July 6, 1867, when about seventy years of age, and his wife passed away August 17, 1847. Their children were Hannah; Maria; Eli; Samuel, who died January 2, 1855; Ira, who died December 17, 1854, Jonathan and Lydia.

It is to this family that Eli Holladay belongs. He was born on the farm which is still his home, March 16, 1826, but the little log cabin in which he first saw the light was situated about a mile and a half west of his present residence. The usual educational advantages of that time were afforded him, his studies being pursued in a log building, where school was conducted on the subscription plan. He was early inured to the arduous task of developing new land, and from an early age has been actively identified with the farming interests of Tippecanoe county.    On the 6th of February, 1853, in Muscatine county, Iowa, he was united in marriage to Sarah Thornton, who was born in Tippecanoe county, Indiana, June 5, 1825, a daughter of Isaac and Martha (Reynolds) Thornton. Her father was a pioneer of this county, and his brothers, Levi, Err, James, John and Lot, were also among the early settlers here. They all moved to Iowa with the exception of James and located in Muscatine county, where Isaac Thornton spent the remainder of his life. His children were John, Sophia, Vashti, Sarah, Martha, Salinda, Eliza and George W.

For two years after their marriage Mr. and Mrs. Holladay resided in Muscatine county, Iowa, and then removed to Polk county, that state, making their home near Des Moines where they lived for four years upon a far m of ninety acres which Mr. Holladay owned in Camp township. He then sold his property and returned to Indiana, but went again to Muscatine county, where he purchased one hundred acres of land, on which he resided for one year. On the expiration of that period he was persuaded by his father, who was alone, to return to the old homestead, where he has since remained, successfully conducting the farm, which has brought to him an excellent income. His home has been blessed with six children, Ira, Flora, Eliza, John, Mar­tha and Bessie
Mrs. Holladay is a member of the Christian church, and gives his political support to the Democratic party. Numbered among the pioneers of the county, he is both widely and favorably known, and has been actively associated with many of the leading events in the history of the locality. He has a remarkable memory and his mind is well stored with interesting incidents and reminiscences of the early days when Tippecanoe county was on the western frontier. His life has been a straightforward and industrious one, and he is a respected citizen.


John Cloyd is today one of the oldest pioneers of Tippecanoe county. The time of his residence in the county antedates that of most pioneers, for in 182S he came to this locality, and has since been identified with the development, progress and advancement of the county. He is descended from Irish ancestry, his grandfather, William Cloyd, having been born on the Emerald Isle, whence he emigrated to America in his early manhood. He located in Tennessee prior to the war of the Revolution, and in that state followed the blacksmith's trade, near Jonesboro, up to the time of his death. He was married in that locality to Miss Jane Barr, a native of Ireland, who ran away from home in order to become his wife. Their children were Joseph, Samuel, William, John, Sarah and Jane.    Samuel served his country in the war of 1812. William Cloyd was a very industrious and energetic man, and he became one of the substantial citizens of the community in which he made his home. He was highly respected by all who knew him, and died on his farm near Jonesboro, Tennessee, at an advanced age.

The father of our subject also bore the name of William Cloyd, and was born near Jonesboro, March 22, 1786. Under his father's direction he learned the blacksmith trade, and after attaining his majority he was married in his native county to Miss Esther Neale. In 1814 they removed to Miami county, Ohio, where Mr. Cloyd worked at blacksmithing until he was enabled to purchase a farm of eighty acres. This was covered with timber, but he at once began to clear and improve it, and soon fertile fields yielded him good harvests. In October, 1828, he removed with his family to Tippecanoe county, and on the 16th of that month settled on Wea creek, on the quarter section of land which forms the eastern part our subject's farm. It was a tract of oak and hickory barrens. With characteristic energy he began its development, and made a good homestead upon which he spent his remaining days, his death occurring between the ages of fifty and sixty years. He was very industrious and enterprising, and his success was the well merited reward of his own labors. In politics he was a Democrat. His first wife, nee Esther Neale, was born in Tennessee, August 9, 1790, and was one of the children of Jesse Neale. Among her brothers and sisters were Nancy and Caleb Neale. She died in Miami county, Ohio, leaving four daughters, all born in Tennessee. Mr. Cloyd was again married, in Miami county, his second union being with Hannah Elmore, daughter of David and Phoebe (Pugh) Elmore. Her father was a pioneer farmer of Miami county, whither he removed from the Carolinas. By the second marriage of William Cloyd three children were born, David, William and Susan.

John Cloyd, whose name begins this sketch, was born in Miami county, Ohio, near Troy, December 8, 1816, and when thirteen years of age came with his father to Tippecanoe county. The journey was made with teams and there was quite a large party of emigrants, eighteen wagons being used to accommodate them. The men were all armed, as the Indians were still numerous in this section of the country. They experienced considerable difficulty in crossing the rivers and swollen streams, but at length reached their destination in safety. In the party were David Elmore with his family, and two of his sons-in-law with their families. They all camped out every night near the roadside and thus traveled for two weeks, when they arrived in Tippecanoe county. John Cloyd assisted in driving the cattle and sheep, which they brought with them in considerable numbers. Here he was reared amid the wild scenes of the frontier, where civilization was just  encroaching upon the wildness of a hitherto unimproved section. Lafayette then contained only two log cabins and two log stores. Mr. Cloyd had little opportunity to secure an education, attending a subscription school for three weeks, which was the extent of his privileges in that direction. He aided in the laborious task of developing new land, and at the age of twenty two years was married to Betsy Nicewander, December 16, 1838. Her parents were Joseph and Elizabeth Nicewander. The young couple began their domestic life upon a part of his father's farm, which land he cleared and improved, transforming it into rich fields. Four children came to bless the home, namely, Maria, William, Margaret and Louisa. The mother died in 1851, and in Clinton county, Indiana, February 8, 1854, Mr. Cloyd was again married, his second union being with Jane Bailey, who was born in Ohio, December of 1835.

Her parents were Silas and Sarah (Trotter) Bailey. The former was a representative of an old colonial family of Virginia and Maryland, and was a pioneer of Clinton county, Indiana, his home being near Colfax. He died in Cleveland, Ohio, about 1851, when en route for the gold fields of California. His children were Nun, Jane, Thomas, Jehu, Dorothy and Henry. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Cloyd were Jesse, who died when about sixteen years of age; Henry, who died in infancy; Ritchie; Ellen; Thomas B.; Esther J.; Martha; and Annie. Again, Mr. Cloyd was called upon to mourn the loss of his wife, who died April 7, 1880, at the age of forty five years. She was a faithful member of the Christian church, and her well spent life won her the friendship of all with whom she came in contact.

In his political views Mr. Cloyd is a Democrat, but has never sought office, always giving his time and attention to the improvement of his farm and property. Thus has he prospered. He first located on a part of his father's land, but after some years he was enabled to purchase the interests of the other heirs in the old homestead, and to-day he is the owner of four hundred acres in that tract. He has also made other purchases, and his landed possessions aggregated five hundred and sixty acres in Tippecanoe county, in addition to a farm of one hundred and sixty acres in Iowa. Some of this he has given to his children, but still retains possession of the old homestead of four hundred acres. He has also engaged quite extensively and successfully in stock raising, has paid high prices to secure the best grades of stock, and for several years has taken premiums at the county fairs for the best stock on exhibition there. Notwithstanding he has paid out forty thousand dollars in security debts for others, he is now numbered among the prosperous farmers of the county. He is truly a self made man, his success being the merited reward of his well directed labors, his enterprise and his capable management.    His honesty is proverbial and he has
the confidence of all with whom he has had dealings. He well deserves mention among the honored pioneers of the county, which has been his home for more than seventy years, and which owes not a little of its improvement in agricultural districts to his efforts.


Study of the history of Tippecanoe county will soon disclose the fact that the Brand family has been one of the most prominent from the time of the earliest settlement here to the present. Its representatives have been especially active in promoting the agricultural interests, and at all times have been numbered among that class of loyal citizens who promote the public good while advancing individual prosperity, and who labor earnestly and consecutively for the improvement and betterment of the community with which they are associated. Such a man was Samuel Brand, the subject of this review, and at his death the county lost one of its best residents. He was born on the old family homestead in Sheffield township, February 22, 1837, and is a son of Samuel Brand, an honored pioneer of the locality, who was born in Maryland, December 13, 1802. His father, who also bore the name of Samuel Brand, removed from Maryland to Pennsylvania and thence to Ohio, locating among the pioneers of Butler county, that state. There he carried on farming, and also operated a distillery near Hamilton, Ohio. He spent his remaining days in Butler county, and reached an advanced age. Both he and his wife were members of the United Brethren church, and to them were born nine children, namely, Samuel, Michael, Elizabeth, Barbara, George, Susan, John, Mary and Rebecca.

Samuel Brand, the father of our subject, was a boy when he accompanied his parents to Ohio.    There he acquired a limited education, and on attaining his majority married Lydia Vance, the wedding taking place December 19, 1826.    The record in the old family Bible says that she was born November n, 1805, and that their children are Elizabeth, born May 19, 1828; Washington, born February 22, 1830; Mary Ann, born October 27,1831; Michael, born December 29, 1833; Samuel, born February 20, 1837; Eli, born September 11, 1839; John, born April 16, 1841; and Lydia, born January 7, 1844.    The mother of these children died November 27, 1859, and Mr. Brand was afterward married, on the 6th of April, 1865, to Mary Burkhalter.    They had no children who reached years of maturity. Mrs. Brand died April n, 1869, and Samuel Brand, Sr., departed this life September 211 1872.    Upon his first marriage he located on a farm in Butler county, Ohio, whence he removed to Tippecanoe county, Indiana,  about K&35« and made a home in Sheffield township.

It was upon the old farmstead that the birth of our subject occurred. He was afforded the usual common school advantages, but being a good student he became a well informed man, adding largely to his knowledge through reading, experience and observation. The occupation to which he was reared he made his life work, and was accounted one of the enterprising and prosperous farmers of his neighborhood
When about twenty three years of age he was married in Sheffield township, Tippecanoe county, to Sarah A. Peter, who was born July 4, 1838, in Lehigh county, Pennsylvania, a daughter of John and Mary (Kern) Peter. Her grandfather also bore the name of John Peter and was a brother of William Peter, an honored pioneer of Clinton county, Indiana.
John Peter, Sr., carried on agricultural pursuits in Lehigh county, Pennsylvania, and was a substantial citizen. He was a member of the German Reformed church and enjoyed the high regard of all who knew him. His children were Jacob, John, Elizabeth, Leah, Sallie and Lydia. Mr. Peter, the father of Mrs. Brand, was born in Lehigh county, Pennsylvania, and
also made farming his life work. He married Mary A. B. Kern, a daughter of Nicholas Kern, whose family were relatives of the family of William Peter. Nicholas Kern resided near Slatington, Lehigh county, where he owned a large farm and was also financially interested in a slate mine. He acquired a handsome competence and died on his farm at the age of
eighty years. In the Lutheran church he held his ecclesiastical membership. His children were Henry, Jacob, Stephen, Eli, Polly and John
After his marriage John Peter located on his father's farm, where five of his children were born. In the fall of 1840 he came to Indiana, making the journey with team and wagons, accompanied by Jonathan Peter, a second cousin of Mrs. Brand, and Henry Kern, a brother of Mrs. John Peter. John Peter located in Sheffield township, Tippecanoe county, on
eighty acres of timber land, of which only a few acres had been cleared. He cut down the remainder of the trees, transformed the land into fertile fields and made an excellent pioneer home, at the same time adding to his property until his farm comprised one hundred and twenty acres. He was an elder in the German Reformed church, and his wife was a mem-
ber of the Lutheran church. In politics he was a Republican. His death occurred in 1859, when he had attained the age of fifty three years.

His chief characteristics were such as commended him to the confidence and respect of all. He was industrious and enterprising, temperate and moral, loyal to his duties of citizenship and devoted to the best interests of his family, rearing his children so that they became an honor and credit to his name.  
At the time of their marriage Mr. and Mrs. Brand began their domestic life in Perry township, Tippecanoe county, upon a farm of one hundred and eighty six acres, of which eighty acres had been cleared. Mr. Brand continued its further development, and transformed it into richly cultivated fields, which yielded to him a golden tribute in return for the care he bestowed upon them. As his financial resources increased he purchased other lands and extended the boundaries of his farm until it embraced two hundred and twenty six acres. He erected a substantial residence and commodious barns and out buildings for the care of his stock and conducted his farming operations on a most progressive and improved plan. His life was not uncheckered by difficulties and obstacles, but these he overcame by determined purpose and steadily advanced in the path to success
Mr. Brand was a man of high moral character, of temperate habits and peaceable disposition, reliable in all business transactions, faithful to all duties of citizenship. Such qualities won him the esteem of his fellow men, and made his example one worthy of emulation. He died January 7, 1895, at the age of fifty seven years, eleven months and seventeen days, and the entire community mourned his loss. He was a faithful member of the Presbyterian church and held the office of church trustee. His wife is also a consistent member of the same church. Since the fall of 1898 she has made her home in Dayton, where she has recently completed a tasteful and pleasant residence. She is a lady of good business ability and many virtues, and to her husband was a practical helpmeet. She has many friends in the community and enjoys the hospitality of the best homes of Dayton.


Now entering upon his second term as mayor of Lafayette, the subject of this biographical notice is one of the most popular and widely known citizens of Tippecanoe county. Though he has always been a most stanch and loyal worker in the ranks of the Republican party he has never been an office seeker and never before acted in an official capacity, save as justice of the peace for eight years. His many friends insisted in bringing him forward as a candidate for the mayoralty in 1891, and he made the race against ex-Mayor McGinley, who had held the office for several terms and seemed to be so thoroughly entrenched in the esteem of the people that his defeat was an almost impossible matter. Nevertheless Mr. Justice received but thirteen votes less than his opponent, whose party was then about three hundred votes in the majority in Lafayette. In 1894, in recognition of the splendid race he had made three years previously, the Republicans again nominated Mr. Justice for mayor, and this time he was successful, defeating Dr. W. S. Walker, one of the strongest men the Democrats could have nominated. The excellent manner in which Mr. Justice acquitted himself during his first term of office as mayor led to his re-nomination and re-election in 1898, and it is safe to say that the ranks of his opponents are rapidly dwindling away. Upright and faithful to the interests of the people, advocating all measures which will be to their lasting benefit, he merits the genuine regard in which he is held by all.

Matthew Justice, the progenitor of the Justice family in the United States, was of Scotch Irish origin. He removed from the Emerald Isle to Holland in the beginning of the last century and about 1720 came to America, settling in New York. He was the father of seven sons, all of whom were born in this country, and a remarkable fact in connection with them is that they were all soldiers in the Revolutionary war, and three of their number laid down their lives on the altar of our country's liberty. One of these gallant heroes was the great-grandfather of the subject of this article.

A son of Noah and Sarah F. (King) Justice, natives respectively of New Jersey and Delaware, Noah Justice, Jr., was born in Ross county, Ohio, October 16, 1836, and was a child of but three years when his parents brought him to the wilds of Tippecanoe county. They settled upon a farm about three miles north of Lafayette, and there the father was occupied in tilling the soil  until his death, which event took place January 10, 1856.

His four children were named respectively George K.,  Rhoda K., Noah and Sarah A.

In his boyhood our subject attended the district schools of his home neighborhood and gave his dutiful assistance to his parents on the farm. His education was a liberal one for that day and was completed in the Collegiate Institute at Battle Ground, Indiana. He continued to give his attention to agricultural pursuits until he was thirty one years of age, when he came to Lafayette and read law for a year or more and was admitted to the bar. However, he did not settle down to the practice of law, but drifted into the real estate business, which has since commanded his attention. By perseverance and well directed energy he became successful and respected in this community, and few of our citizens are held in higher regard than he.


We are now permitted to review briefly the life history of one who stands distinctively as one of the most prominent and progressive farmers of Tippecanoe county, Indiana, and as one of the representative citizens of Wea township. This alone would render peculiarly consistent the consideration of his life and labors, but additional propriety comes from the fact that he is a representative of one of the old and honored pioneer families of the county and of a name which has been conspicuously identified with the annals of this section of the Union from a very early epoch. The Ray family is of stanch old German lineage, and the father of our subject, Benjamin Ray, was born in Pickaway county, Ohio, of which section his parents were numbered among the pioneers. The father of Benjamin Ray was twice married, and the children of the first union were Jerry, John, George, Hannah and Sarah. Of the second marriage the following children were born: Benjamin, Reuben and Elias. The paternal grandparents of our subject continued to reside in Pickaway county until their death, their son Benjamin having been but sixteen years of age at the time of the decease of his father.

Benjamin Ray was reared to maturity in his native county, receiving his educational discipline in the pioneer schools, and early turning his attention to dealing in live-stock. His training had been such as to eminently fit him for the prosecution of this branch of industry, and his efforts were attended with excellent success. His marriage was celebrated near Circleville, Pick-away county, about the year 1840, when he was united to Miss Mary Fry back, a sister of Edmund Fry back, to whom individual reference is made on another page of this work. After their marriage Mr. and Mrs. Ray continued their residence in Pickaway county, Ohio, for one year, after which they located in Tippecanoe county, Indiana, whence, at the expiration of one year, they removed to Vermilion county, Illinois, settling there in the year 1843. The death of Mrs. Ray occurred in November, 1845, and Mr. Ray continued his residence in Vermilion county four years longer, within which time he consummated a second marriage, being united to Miss Martha Smith, who was a native of England, whence, at the age of twelve years, she accompanied her parents upon their emigration to America, the family settling in Vermilion county, Illinois. The children of the first marriage were John N., the immediate subject of this review, and Elias; and those born of the second marriage were Laura, Benjamin F., Clinton and Esther.
In 1849 Benjamin Ray returned with his family to Tippecanoe county, Indiana, where he purchased land in Wea township, three miles west of the fine farm where his son, the subject of this sketch, now resides. This land was originally entered from the government by a Mr. Bell, one of the pioneers of the county, and Mr. Ray purchased one hundred and sixty acres, to which, by gradual accretions, were added other tracts, until the total area of his holdings in the county aggregated about four thousand five hundred acres, implying that he was one of the most extensive land-owners in the county. He was a very successful stock raiser and dealer, and his success was the result of his individual sagacity and efforts. After having given his attention to farm work as a youth, he early gave inception to his independent business career, initiating operations on an original capital of only sixteen hundred dollars, which he received from his father's estate. His life was one of distinct honor and integrity in all its relations and was prolonged in its usefulness, since he lived to be somewhat more than sixty years of age, his death occurring in Wea township, where he was known as a representative citizen and a man of sterling character. In his political adherency he was a Republican, but was never an aspirant for political preferment. In religion he was a devoted member of the Methodist Episcopal church. He was a man of discriminating judgment, strong intellectual powers, unceasing industry and unbending integrity, and as the result of his well directed efforts left to his heirs a large landed estate.    It may be incidentally noted that his son Elias participated in the war of the Rebellion, having enlisted in the one-hundred-day service.

John N. Ray, whose name initiates this sketch, was born in Wea township, Tippecanoe county, on the 26th of November, 1842, and was afforded excellent educational advantages in the common schools, taking a thorough course in the high school and proving an earnest and efficient student. Reared upon the farm, he has always maintained his allegiance to the basic art of husbandry, and has been very successful in his endeavors, though handicapped in a measure by impaired health, as will be noted later on.
On New Year's day, 1866, was solemnized the marriage of Mr. Ray and Miss Mary C. Baker, daughter of Abner Baker, of Jefferson township, Clinton, county, Indiana, and the children of this union were three in number, nameLy: John B., Mary C. and Benjamin F. The devoted wife and mother was summoned into eternal life on the 4th of May, 1878, and on the 6th of August, 1886, Mr. Ray was again married, in Ross county, Ohio, where he was united to Miss Maria McCoy, who was born January 18, 1856, the daughter of Joseph and Nancy McCoy. Her father was a native of Ross county, Ohio, and was descended from sterling Scotch ancestry, the family having been pioneers of both Kentucky and Ohio. The great-grandfather of Mrs. Ray likewise bore the old scriptural name of Joseph, and he was a native of Kentucky, whence he removed to Ohio, becoming one of the pioneers of Ross county, and doing valiant service as a soldier in the war. of 1812. His children were James; Dickson; two daughters, whose names cannot be recalled; and Alexander, who was captured by the Indians in Kentucky and held in captivity for five years, his release being secured by the payment of a ransom consisting of a barrel of whisky, the prized "fire water " which worked such havoc among the red men. That worthy pioneer of Ross county, Joseph McCoy, died there, having developed an excellent farm and owning about three hundred acres at the time of his death.

His son, James McCoy, grandfather of Mrs. Ray, also devoted his life to agricultural pursuits in Ross county, Ohio, where, it is supposed, his parents were the second family to take up their residence. He married Katie Anderson, and their children were Joseph, James, John, William and Maria. James McCoy settled on the old homestead, in Ross county, where he became a substantial and prosperous farmer and one of the prominent and honored citizens of the community. Like his father before him, he was an elder in the Presbyterian church, and he ordered his life upon the high plane which his religious faith implied. He lived to attain the age of sixty seven years, his death occurring in his native state.
Joseph McCoy, son of James and father of Mrs. Ray, was born in Ross, county, Ohio, in 1820, receiving his educational  discipline in the common schools of the place and period. Upon reaching maturity he continued in the time honored industry with which his ancestors had been identified, becoming a farmer and carrying on operations with success. He married Nancy Dawley, daughter of Moses and Maria (Cook) Dawley, the former of whom was born in Baltimore, Maryland, whence he removed to Ohio, becoming a pioneer farmer of Ross county. His children were as follows: James, Nancy and John. Mr. Dawley died in Ross county, in middle life; in religious faith he was a Methodist.
After his marriage Joseph McCoy settled within a mile of the parental homestead, giving his attention to the development and cultivation of an excellent farm of two hundred acres. His children were seven in number, namely: Emma, John, James, Katie, Maria, Lucy and George. In his religious adherence Mr. McCoy was a Presbyterian, and in politics was a Republican. He entered the Union service during the war of the Rebellion, at the time of Morgan's raid, furnishing two horses. He was captured, with both horses, by the celebrated guerrilla general, but was released after a short time. He was an energetic and successful farmer and honored citizen, living to attain the age of about seventy three years.
After his first marriage Mr. Ray took up his abode upon his present farm, in Wea township, having inherited three hundred and twenty acres of his father's estate. At the time he located here the present fine farmstead was principally in its original and unimproved condition, being covered with heavy timber. He at once initiated the work of improvement, devoting himself to this end with such energy and zeal that he eventually developed one of the most highly cultivated and most valuable farms in this section of the state. In 1878 he erected a very fine barn, which was destroyed by fire in the spring of 1895, entailing a very considerable loss. In the year 1898 he also built an attractive and commodious frame residence, of modern architectural design and two stories in height. The pleasant home is located on an elevated site and commands a fine view of the surrounding country. In politics Mr. Ray renders a stanch support to the Republican party, and he is an attendant of the Presbyterian church, of which his wife has been a member from her girlhood.
Mr. Ray is in enfeebled health, resulting from exposure in cattle feeding when he was a young man, and for the past fifteen years he has been practically an invalid. As a young man he was ambitious and hard-working, being faithful and industrious in his work upon the farm, and now that physical infirmities are his portion he may look back with satisfaction upon duties fulfilled and feel thankful that fortune has so favored him with goodly gifts which render his affliction less severe. He is known as one of the representative citizens of the community, and holds the confidence and esteem of those among whom his useful life has been passed. In addition to his homestead farm he has other farming property, the aggregate area of his estate being five hundred and eighty acres.

The children of John N. and Maria (McCoy) Ray are four in number, namely: Cecil, Ruth, Alathea and Hazel K. The family home is one of distinctive culture and refinement, and there the most genial hospitality is shown to a wide circle of friends.


Prominent in the legal profession and in political and social circles is the gentleman whose name forms the heading of this article, and who for the past five years or more has been a resident of Lafayette. Born in Richmond, Maine, September 29, 1856, he is a son of George W. and Jane A. (Raudlett) Parks, natives of Maine and Massachusetts, respectively. The father and also the grandfather, Daniel Parks, were both born, and lived and died in Maine, respected and esteemed by all who knew them. The great-grandfather of our subject was one John Parks, a native of Manchester, England, who, in 1772, emigrated to the United States, and in 1774 settled at the head of Swan island, in the Kennebec river, in Maine. Parks' Ferry was named in his honor, and there it was that Benedict Arnold, of Revolutionary fame, camped on his march to Canada. The maternal grandmother of our subject was a Louise Bradley, a lineal descendant of Albert Morris, who was one of the immortal signers of the Declaration of Independence. Three of her great uncles died in the British prison ship, Jersey, during the Revolution. The name Raudlett is, of course, French in origin, and thus, along one line, George D. Parks traces his ancestry to France.

He was reared in Richmond, his birthplace, receiving an excellent education. Being of a practical turn of mind, he decided to take up the business of a civil engineer, and accordingly he entered the University of Maine and there pursued a full course, graduating with the' degree of C. E. in the Centennial year. For the following three years be practiced his new calling, but in the meantime took up the study of law, which he found more to his liking. In 1879 he was admitted to practice by the supreme court of Maine and established himself in business in Brunswick, that state.    During the ten years of his residence there he succeeded in building up a fine practice, but, in 1889, on account of his family's health, he removed to Port Payne, Alabama, and continued there, engaged in his profession, some four years. In 1893 Mr. Parks removed to Lafayette, where he is prospering as an attorney-at-law and where he has made a wide acquaintance. He has frequently been appointed to occupy the bench as special judge, and is master commissioner of the courts of Tippecanoe county

The Republican party is indebted to Mr. Parks for some very effective work in its behalf. A man of wide information and research, he has the courage of his well founded convictions and he is not afraid to publicly give the reasons "for the faith that is in him." During the memorable campaign of 1896 he delivered twenty eight impressive, eloquent, forceful speeches at different places, and he is justly considered one of the ablest orators of northern Indiana and one of the most thoroughly posted on the points at issue. Fraternally, he is identified with the Odd Fellows and the Knights of Pythias.

In 1881 Mr. Parks married Anna S. White, of Bowdoinham, Maine, and their two sons are Roscoe W. and Morris R. Mr. and Mrs. Parks are active members of the First Baptist church of this place, he being a trustee and treasurer of the official board.


This substantial farmer and citizen of Jackson township, Tippecanoe county, is the head of one of the prominent pioneer families of this section of Indiana. His father, Isaac Shelby, was a pioneer here who became a prominent landholder, owning at one time three thousand acres. He was born in Pickaway county, Ohio, about 1798, a son of David Shelby, who was a representative of the old Virginia family of that name, prominent in colonial times and in the Revolutionary war.

Isaac Shelby received a common school education, but, having an acute intellect for matters of study, he attained an education rather superior to the average and became a school-teacher, in Pickaway county, Ohio, in which county he married Jane Boggs, a daughter of John and Sarah (McMicken) Boggs. Mr. Boggs was a pioneer farmer and a large land-owner there, who afterward entered land in this county. He was a soldier in the war of 1812. His children were William, John, Moses, James, Jane, Lydia and Sydney. He died in Ohio, at an advanced age.

About a year after marriage Isaac Shelby emigrated to the vicinity of Terre Haute, Indiana, about 1828, and a short time thereafter removed to Covington, this state, where he bought land and resided about ten years. About 1838 he moved to Tippecanoe county, settling on land where John B.,' our subject, now resides. He entered a part of this land and bought more of a Mr. Ellsworth, at five dollars per acre. In Indiana he owned altogether about three thousand acres. He improved his home farm and became a practical farmer, enjoying marked success.    He had a good pioneer home.

His children were John, David, Moses, Minerva and Sarah, living, and James, who died at about thirty five years of age. When Mr. Shelby first settled on this land he built a pioneer log cabin, but at length he was able to erect a large and substantial frame house, on nearly the same plan as that of the domicile now occupied by the subject of this sketch, but of greater dimensions.

In politics he was an old line Whig, was a member of the Indiana state legislature several times, and was a man of prominence and extensive influence. Both he and his wife were exemplary members of the Methodist church, and in early days he assisted liberally in the erection of church edifices at various points in the county. He had two sons in the civil war, David and James, in the Seventy second Indiana Cavalry. David served four years and was in many battles. Mr. Shelby was a man of tireless industry, a large stock raiser and dealer in live stock, and handled many cattle, being a shrewd, practical business man. He left to each of his children a respectable patrimony, and died aged about sixty years, July, 1858.
John B. Shelby, our subject, was born September 27, 1827, in Pickaway county, and was about one year old when brought by his parents to Indiana, the journey being made by means of a four horse wagon. He received the usual pioneer education, in the typical log school-house, which, by the way, his father had built on his farm. The seats were flat rails. His father hired a school-teacher and boarded him, and here young John learned to read and write and to understand some of the other common branches.
April 23, 1861, when he was about thirty one years of age, in Pickaway county, Ohio, he was united in marriage with Miss Margaret A. Beaver, who was born November 26, 1831, in Franklin county, Pennsylvania, a daughter of David and Annie (Clapsadle) Beaver. Her father was born near Reading, that state, of Pennsylvania Dutch stock, May 28, 1804; and Mrs. Clapsadle was born in 1801: they were married November 25, 1824. David Beaver was a farmer and one of the earliest pioneers of Pickaway county, Ohio. His children were George W., Mariah, Sarah E., Margaret A., Sarah E. (2d), Rebecca J., Mary E., David C. and Samuel E. In his religious faith Mr. Beaver was a Lutheran. About 1863 he moved to Tippecanoe county, Indiana, locating in Jackson township, where he bought two hundred acres of improved land, and here passed his remaining days, and died at the age of sixty three years, in 1867.    He was a straightforward, upright man.

Since his marriage Mr. Shelby has resided on the Shelby homestead. He inherited three hundred acres of the land and has added to it until he now owns about four hundred and fifty acres. His children are George V. and Jessie.    In politics he is a Republican, and both himself and wife are sincere and consistent members of the Methodist church, in which he holds the office of steward, and has always been a liberal supporter of religious and moral institutions. In agricultural operations he is extensive and successful, and likewise in the shipping of cattle. He is widely and favorably known as an honest dealer and an honorable citizen.

Stephen O. Taylor

     The popular and widely known proprietor of Taylor’s Livery and Sale Stable, which is located at Nos. 10 and 12 South Third street, Lafayette, Indiana, was born in his home city March 20, 1837. His parents were Stephen O. and Elizabeth (Diltz) Taylor, the former of whom was a native of New York and the latter of Ohio, and of  the eight children born to them these four are living: Nelson, of Alexandria, Louisiana; Daniel, who lives in San Antonio, Texas; Ingram, a resident of Alexandria, Louisiana; and Stephen O., our subject. The father spent his early youth in New York and then removed to Tippecanoe county, Indiana, about 1828, subsequently locating in Lafayette, where he engaged in stock-raising and later kept a hotel. He is now deceased. His wife, who was a mother of the old-school Presbyterian church, is also dead. The paternal grandfather of our subject was Stephen o. Taylor, a native of Virginia, of Scotch-Irish descent, who moved to New York and died there at an advanced age. The maternal grandfather was William Diltz, one of the early settlers of Ohio. The Diltz family is quite a large one and holds annual reunions in Indiana, the last one taking place at Winnamac in 1898.
     Stephen O. Taylor has just completed his half century of residence in Lafayette. His father died when our subject was a boy and the latter remained at home, attending the district schools and assisting his mother until attaining manhood, when he began working for Thomas Woods, who was one of the early settlers of Lafayette and at that time held the office of postmaster, and took charge of that gentleman’s omnibus line for some years. In 1856 Mr. Taylor embarked in the livery and stock business for himself, bought and sold horses and mules for many years and furnished a large number to the government during the war of the Rebellion. He has one of the largest and most completely equipped stables in Tippecanoe county and here usually accommodates about sixty horses, including boarders. His trade being among the best class of people in the vicinity, Mr. Taylor has in consequence, the finest class of horses, the most fashionable carriages and is always ready to furnish the latest style in turnouts for parties, weddings and all similar affairs. He is a progressive and liberal-minded citizen, a member of the Masonic fraternity, in which he has attained the degree of a Knight Templar, and he has a pleasant home at the corner of Eighteenth street and Indiana avenue, where he extends a cordial hospitality to his numerous friends.
     Politically, Mr. Taylor is a stanch Republican and has always stood ready to serve his party whenever called upon. He was elected sheriff of Tippecanoe county for two terms, from 1878 to 1882, and was city councilman from the seventh ward for eight years.
     Mr. Taylor was united in marriage to Miss Laura J. Shively, and they have four children, namely; Harry, who is in the newspaper business at Washington, District of Columbia; William, who assists his father in the livery business, and who married Miss Lida Sillsbury; Lillian M. is at home; Hervey H. is in the freight department of the Wabash Railroad, at Toledo.

[Biographical History of Tippecanoe, White, Jasper, Newton, Benton, Warren and Pulaski counties, Indiana, transcribed by Debbie Gibson]

Hon. Elisha Little
Pg. 350

     Among the representative men of Adams, Warren county, none is held in higher regard than the gentleman whose name initiates this review. A native of his home county, he was born October 13, 1837, on a farm in section 27, now owned by Newton Little, and on which his father, George Little, who was a native of Ohio, settled in 1828. The home farm compromised one hundred and sixty acres, which was bought for one dollar and a quarter and acre, and the log cabin, which contained but one room eighteen by eighteen feet, and was the home of the family for many years, stood on the banks of the Kickapoo river. The Indians were plentiful in those days, but very seldom molested the settlers, on the whole being even good neighbors. On this place the parents spent the remainder of their days, the father dying in 1877, aged seventy-one years, and the mother in 1839, at the age of twenty-seven years.
     The boyhood days of our subject were spent upon the home farm and his early education was obtained in the primitive log school-house, the same being supplemented by a course of study at Thorton Academy. On the breaking out of the civil war Mr. Little, then a young man of twenty-three, was among the first to respond to the call of President Lincoln for volunteers, and in September, 1861, enlisted as a three-years man, being assigned to Company D, Tenth Indiana Volunteer Infantry. He took part in many of the noted battles, among them being Mill Springs, Kentucky, Perryville, Chickamauga, Mission Ridge, Resaca and Kenesaw mountain. From Mill Springs his regiment went to Atlanta and from there was sent back to Marietta, Georgia, and he received his honorable discharge at Indianapolis, September 20, 1864. He was promoted to be corporal of his company, and his record throughout his service was that of a brave and faithful soldier. He was wounded at the battle of Mill Springs by a minie ball but escaped serious injury.
     After his return home from the army Mr. Little taught school the following winter and in 1865 moved to the farm which he now occupies and which comprises two hundred and eighty-eight acres, on sections 22 and 27. He carried on general farming and stock-raising and has been successful in his enterprises.
     Mr. Little was married May 23, 1865, to Miss Mary Hargrave, who died in 1875. They had four children, - George, Annie, Carrie, and Leila. George and Annie are deceased. His second wife was Miss Ella Hargrave, to whom he was married in 1876, and they have two children, - William O. and Richard H.
     Mr. Little was elected to the state legislature on the Republican ticket in the fall of 1876 and served one term. He filled the position with credit to himself and to the entire satisfaction of his constituents. Socially he is a member of Green Hill Lodge, No. 455, F. & A. M., senior warden of the Knights of Honor at Attica, Indiana, and belongs to George D. Wagner Post, No. 365, G. A. R., at Pine Village. He is a worthy member of the Methodist Episcopal church, in whose work he takes an active part.

[Biographical History of Tippecanoe, White, Jasper, Newton, Benton, Warren and Pulaski counties, Indiana, transcribed by Debbie Gibson]

William S. Baugh
Pg. 356

     In the words of the Lafayette Journal, William S. Baugh, county treasurer of Tippecanoe county, “has been all his life a conscientious, hardworking Republican, and no man in the county has struck more faithful or harder blows for its success.” He is a man of the people and interested solely in the welfare of the people and in whatever makes for their happiness and prosperity. He was born and reared upon a farm, and has followed agricultural pursuits during his whole life. However, he is a man of more advanced ideas than is the average tiller of the soil, and stands as a type of the best class of progressive, enlightened, thrifty “country gentlemen,” as our English cousins would say. Honorable, upright and earnest in the discharge of the important duties devolving upon him as the custodian of the people’s finances, he is all that a treasurer should be, and merit’s the confidence which is reposed in him.
     Jonathan Baugh, the father of our subject, was one of the honored pioneers of what is now Union township, Tippecanoe county, settling there about 1830. He was born in Pickaway county, Ohio, in 1822, and accompanied his mother and stepfather, John Weider, to this locality, where he grew to manhood. His father, who was of German descent, died in the  Buckeye state. Jonathan Baugh married Mary Patty about 1843. She is a native of Oxford, Butler county, Ohio, and is still living in Union township, this county. Her father also died in Ohio and she came to this state with her mother and stepfather. The children born to Jonathan Baugh and wife were Mrs. Nancy E. Taylor; Mrs. Hannah Smalley; Mrs. Jennie Taylor; Alice, deceased; Fremont; William S.; and Mrs. Kate Bone, of Oklahoma. Commencing life a poor man, Jonathan Baugh became very wealthy and successful, as the result of energy and good business methods. At one time he was the owner of over eight hundred acres of fine farming land, and was known far and wide as a stockman and breeder of short-horn cattle. Few men in Union township were better liked or more thoroughly respected. He was a stanch Republican, but never aspired to public office. His death, in 1892, was felt to be a public loss, and his place in the community has not easily been filled.
     William S. Baugh was born near Farmers’ Institute, Tippecanoe county, November 16, 1859. He received a liberal education in the common schools and in the Valparaiso Normal, at Valparaiso, Indiana, and from his boyhood was associated with his father in the management of the home farm. After the death of the senior Mr. Baugh, the young man succeeded to the control of the property, which includes upwards of half a section of land in Union and Wayne townships. He is a thorough, practical farmer and excellent business man, as was his father before him, and has made a grand success of his various undertakings. He became actively connected with political affairs about ten years ago, and in 1890 was a candidate before the convention for the office of county auditor. He was defeated by Mr. Byers, and again in 1894 the ambitious young man suffered a similar fate, the ever-popular Mr. Jamison being the successful candidate. By this time, however, Mr. Baugh had become well known to the public, who admired his many fine qualities of mind and heart, and when, in 1896, his faithful friends brought his name forward again, this time for the county treasurership [sic], he received a majority of nearly all the votes cast on the first ballot, being nominated over four other aspirants. He was duly elected, and entered upon his new duties January 1, 1897, and in 1898 he was elected for a second term. Socially, he is a Master Mason and a member of the Knights of Pythias.
     In 1882 Mr. Baugh married Annie Hollingsworth, of Union township, and three interesting children bless their home - Harry, Jessie C. and Harriet.

[Biographical History of Tippecanoe, White, Jasper, Newton, Benton, Warren and Pulaski counties, Indiana, transcribed by Debbie Gibson]

John W. Warner
Pg. 350

     Mr. Warner has been serving in the capacity of justice of the peace since 1894, has frequently held other public positions of trust and responsibility, and is one of the honored old citizens of Lafayette, his residence here being one of almost half a century’s duration. He has been actively interested in whatever movements have been inaugurated here with the object of benefiting the city and adding to its desirability as a place of residence or business, and his influence is known to be ever exerted in the support of worthy enterprises.
     Though his birthplace was in Ireland, no native son of this fair land could be more thoroughly devoted to her welfare than the subject of this narrative. During the civil war he left his young wife and his home to go to the defense of the stars and stripes, which are the emblems of the land of his adoption, and his life was very nearly sacrificed to the cause, for he was for a long time in the hospital in Louisville, Kentucky, and was furloughed that he might go home and die in peace with his loved ones near. He finally recovered, however, on account of a fine constitution and the excellent nursing and care of his devoted wife. It was in 1863 that he tendered his services to the Union, being assigned to Company A, One Hundred and Twenty-sixth Regiment, Eleventh Cavalry Volunteers. He was at his post of duty until the close of the conflict, when, as stated, he was given up to die, as he was so ill and run down in health and strength. He took part in numerous skirmishes, but was not in any of the most noted battles, as it happened. For some time he was the first sergeant of his company.
     Both the grandfathers of our subject were natives of Ireland, and in that isle passed their whole lives. John Warner, the paternal grandfather, was a farmer, owning a good estate near the town of Bantry, on Brantry bay. He was a soldier in one of the revolutions in Ireland. The maternal grandfather, James Wright, was a merchant in the town of Skibbereen, and lived there to an advanced age. The parents of John W. Warner, of this article, were Robert S. and Jane (Wright) Warner, likewise natives of the isle of Erin. They were the parents of six children, all but one of whom survive, namely: John W.; James W.; Jane A.; Charlotte, wife of John Brown, of White county, Indiana; and William, of Whiting, Indiana. The father was a baker and confectioner by trade, plying those callings in his native land. He came to America in 1849, and the following spring commenced farming in Wabash township, ten miles northwest of Lafayette, where he bought a farm of ninety-five acres. Later, he purchased eighty acres more of prairie land and fifteen acres of timbered property. He was industrious and enterprising and developed good farms from the wilderness. Death put an end to his labors in 1891, when he had reached the ripe age of seventy-four years. His wife died many years before, in 1871, when in her sixty-fourth year. Both were devoted members of the Methodist church, in Ireland, as well as in the United States.
     John W. Warner was born near the town of Skibbereen, county Cork, Ireland, October 6, 1839, and spent the first ten years of his life there. He was reared upon his father’s farm in Tippecanoe county, and up to the time of his marriage he assisted in the cultivation of the old homestead. He had attended the common-schools of his native land to a greater or less extent before leaving those shores, and after coming here he went to the old-time log school-house of the period. He became a practical farmer, and after his marriage he rented his father’s farm until he went into the army. When he recovered from his arduous army service he resumed agricultural pursuits, and continued to reside in the neighborhood of his early home until 1870.
     Removing to Lafayette in the year mentioned, Mr. Warner became deputy sheriff under David G. Smith, and then was made a member of the city police force, serving as such for about nine years, and for two years was employed in a similar capacity by the Wabash Railroad Company. Various occupations claimed his attention for the next few years, and in 1887 he was appointed bailiff of the circuit court. He served in that office under Judge Vinton for one year and under Judge Langdon for six years. Politic ally, he is a Republican. In the fraternities he belongs to Lafayette Lodge, No. 15, I. O. O. F., and is past grand and past chief patriarch of Wabash Encampment, No. 6. He is also connected with Canton No. 18, Patriarchs Militant; Columbia Lodge, No. 334, Knights of Pythias, of which he is past chancellor; Company No. 1, of Indiana, Uniformed Rank of the Knights of Pythias, and is major of the First Battalion of the Eighth Regiment of that order. In the Grand Army of the Republic he is a member of the John A. Logan Post No. 3.
     December 28, 1861, the marriage of Mr. Warner and Miss Clara W. Eklund, daughter of John and Catharine Eklund, was solemnized. Eight children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Warner. Robert E., a mail-carrier of this place, married May Davidson and has two children, Robert and Margaret. Catharine died at the age of eleven months, and James Franklin died when in his sixth year. Augusta is the wife of Robert E. Carr, of Wabash, Indiana, and is the mother of one son, Warner. William J., a carriage trimmer by trade, married Annie Schible and has a little son, Vern by name. Clara M. is the wife of Theodore C. Freshour, of this place. Harry C. is a photographer in Peoria, Illinois, and Edward T. is a member of Company C, One Hundred and Sixtieth Indiana Volunteer Infantry, stationed at Newport News. The same spirit of patriotism which animated his father and forefathers took possession of the young man when his country recently took up arms against tyrannical and oppressive Spain. The first home of our subject in Lafayette was built by him in 1871, and his present home, next door to his former residence, was erected in 1892. Both he and his wife and several of his children are members of the Methodist church, and contribute liberally of their means to the cause of Christianity and to the uplifting and welfare of their fellow men.
[Biographical History of Tippecanoe, White, Jasper, Newton, Benton, Warren and Pulaski counties, Indiana, transcribed by Debbie Gibson]

Mrs. Helen M Gougar

GOUGAR, Mrs. Helen M., orator and woman suffragist, born in Litchfield, Mich., 18th July, 1843. From her earliest years Mrs. Gougar has been an intense and unflinching enthusiast for the right. At forty years of age her hair was prematurely whitened by a bitter and hard-fought attempt to weaken her power, in political circles, by defamation, but, the battle over and her enemies completely vanquished, she goes on unflinchingly and contests heroically for what she believes to be the right and patriotic course to a higher civilization. In this battle she decided forever the right of women to take an active part in political warfare being compelled to endure defamation.  As a speaker she is earnest, easy, dignified and at times impassionedly eloquent, wholly without affectation or oratorical display. She speaks without manuscript or notes, rapidly and convincingly. Her special work in reforms is in legal and political lines, and constitutional law and statistics she quotes with marvelous familiarity, when speaking in public. She has been repeatedly called upon to address special committees in Congress, also the legislatures of Indiana, Illinois, Nebraska, Iowa, New York, Wisconsin and Kansas. She recognizes the historical fact that popular governments are overthrown by corrupt municipalities. She believes that the "home vote" is the only power that can control the proletariat mob of large cities, and this causes her to espouse woman suffrage on the platform and with a forcible pen. Mrs. Gougar is the author of the law granting municipal suffrage to the women of Kansas, and the adoption of the measure was largely due to her efforts. She proved the correctness of her theory by redeeming Leavenworth, the largest city in the State at that time, from slum rule by the votes of women. The success which has attended that law, in the interest of political honor and the exaltation of public service, is well known. As a writer she is concise, direct and fluent. She was for many years a contributor to the "Inter-Ocean" and is still held in high esteem by the management of that Republican organ, notwithstanding her radical Prohibition party affiliation. As a business woman she is thorough, prompt and systematic; as a companion, cheerful, witty, voluble. In her domestic life she is happy and fortunate, the wife of a man of wealth, education and refinement, a successful lawyer, respected and beloved by all who know him, and whose affectionate sympathy, self-poise and financial independence have sustained her in the aggressive methods peculiar to her public work. Their home in Lafayette, Ind., is one of unusual elegance and comfort. Although childless, both she and her husband are fond of children and young people, and they are seldom without a youthful guest in the house, the children of her five sisters, or other relatives or friends, and sometimes a waif of charity, who share the cheery hospitality of their elegant surroundings.
(Source: American Women by Frances Elizabeth Willard, Mary Ashton Rice Livermore, Vol. 1, 1897. Transcribed by Marla Snow)
Transcribed and Contributed by The Transcription Team

FORMAN, Thomas

FORMAN, Thomas; born, Lafayette, Ind., (Tippecanoe Co) Aug. 7, 1853; son of George S. and Emma (Leaming) Forman; educated in public and high schools of Lafayette, Ind.; married at Petoskey, Mich., 1893, Miss Minnie Hankey. Came to Detroit, 1879, and entered into partnership with Charles Dickerson, firm Dickerson & Co., hatters; removed to Petoskey in 1882 and became manager of the Pine Lake Lumber Co.; entered lumber business on own account 1893, and incorporated as the Thomas Forman Co., lumber and hardwood flooring, of which is president and manager. Republican. Presbyterian. Member Detroit Board of Commerce. Office: Gregory and Fort Sts. Residence: 30 W. Forest Av.
Submitted by Christine Walters Source: "The Book of Detroiters by Albert Nelson Marquis 1908" 

Orion Wainwright Daggett

At twenty-one years of age, O. W. Daggett was one of the first settlers of Gypsum valley.  He was born at Monitor, Tippecanoe county, Indiana, on January 4, 1861.  He comes of a race of pioneers and in how own career has been faithful to the customs and traditions of his family.  He great-grandfather’s seventh ancestor, John Daggett, was a pioneer of Massachusetts, coming to that state in 1630 with Governor Winthrop.  Later on his ancestors were pioneers in the states of Connecticut, Ohio, Indiana and Illinois.  Naplithali Daggett, great-grandsire of the subject of this sketch, was Doctor of Divinity of Yale College from 1755 to 1766, and president of that institution from 1766 to 1777.  He was one of the first martyrs of the American Revolution, being wounded while leading the students against the British.  He was taken prisoner and died from the effects of their mistreatment.
Orion Wainwright Daggett is the son of Alfred and Emma (Britan) Daggett, the former a native of New Haven, Connecticut, and the latter of Birmingham, England.  They settled in Lafayette, Indiana, where the father was for years an extensive manufacturer of woolens, linseed oil and flour, and a general merchant.  The son attended the common schools and a high school at Lafayette, Indiana, and while a youth spent the summer vacations working in the woolen factory, and later began clerking in a dry goods store at Sheldon, Illinois.  At the age of eighteen he became a purchaser for his father’s grain business, thus early in life learning the art of dealing with others to advantage.  In 1882 he came to Colorado, and after inspecting Denver and Leadville as sites for business, turned his back upon the work to which he had been trained and became a ranchman.  On May 25, 1882, he located in the Gypsum valley, becoming one of its first settlers, there being at the time only four ranches taken up between Redcliff and Glenwood Springs and no wagon road into the valley.  The four settlers who ranches he passed on his weary pilgrimage on foot were Joseph Brett, H. J. Hernage, Webb Frost and John Bowman.  There was not a ditch or an enclosure in this part of Colorado then, and everything necessary to make the region habitable was yet to be done.  But Mr. Daggett went to work resolutely, after filing the first homestead claim for this section, and began to bring about the settlement and improvement of the country.  He built the second ditch in the county and in course of time erected a dwelling for himself, until then living in a tent.  There were of course no buildings in the neighborhood, but Indian teepees were plentiful across the creek; still their occupants were not unfriendly and gave him no trouble.  For a long time he saw only nine white men in the valley.  His first occupation here was hauling game to Aspen and Leadville for sale, and as the product was abundant the business was profitable, he hauling out on one occasion two wagon loads of elk which he secured on the Flat Tops.  Beaver were also plentiful in the creek on his place, and so wild game not only furnished meat for his table but the means of securing other supplies.  He continued to hunt and sell game in this way two or three years.  His ranch comprises one hundred and sixty acres and is four miles south of Gypsum.  It was covered with sagebrush when he took possession of it, but he has improved it in every way since then, and now has not only a comfortable home on it, but a source of considerable revenue from its products.  In 1891 and 1892 he was associated with other gentlemen in merchandising as a member of the Daggett, Shiff & Company establishment at Gypsum, and from 1893 to 1902 was in the mining and milling and general merchandise business of the firm of Daggett & Evans at Fulford, Colorado.  With this taste, which is almost inevitable to every energetic man in this part of the world, he expended a considerable lot of money at different periods in developing mining property in the Fulford district.  In 1902 he sold out the business he was then conducting and returned to his ranch at Gypsum to which he has since given almost his whole attention.  From 1883 to 1887 he freighted between Redcliff and Glenwood Springs, hauling part of the Ute Chief, the first printing press, into the latter place.  From the dawn of his manhood Mr. Daggett has earnestly supported the Republican party and in all its campaigns he has lent a willing and effective hand to the cause.  His ranch is widely known and favorably mentioned on all occasions as the Red Rock Ranch.  On January 4, 1891, he united in marriage with Miss Sarah F. Haines, who prior to her marriage was a prominent school teacher in Indiana and Salt Lake City.  She died on February 24, 1900.  Two children were the result of this marriage, both of whom died.  On November 4, 12903, he was married to Miss Harriet D. Patterson, a native of Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, his present wife.  On December 4, 1904, was born to them a little girl, Elizabeth Patterson Daggett.
(Source: Progressive Men of Western Colorado, Publ 1905. Transcribed by Nancy Overlander)

John Y. Carpenter

This most wide-awake and progressive citizen of Monte Vista, Colorado, whose restless energy and unconquerable spirit have led him into many sections of the country and a great variety of pursuits, and who has shown that he could be as courageous and gallant in war as  he was industrious and many-handed in peace, was born at Lafayette, Tippecanoe county, Indiana, on June 8, 1838, and is the son of John and Ellen (Youel) Carpenter, natives of Ohio, who some years after their marriage moved to Indiana and there passed the remainder of their lives, the mother dying there in 1843 and the father in 1873.  Five of their children are living, Mrs. Lafayette Booth, of Cincinnati, Ohio, Mrs. David Ward, of Crowley, Louisiana, Mrs. John Kerr, John  Y., and Benjamin C., who lives at Perryville, Indiana.  John Y. received a limited common school education, and in 1860, when he was twenty-two, his father started him in the drug business at Rainsville, Warren county, his native state.  When the Civil war broke out he enlisted in the Eleventh Indiana Infantry under Colonel (afterward General) Lew Wallace, and though he served until November 15, 1863, and was in several fiercely fought battles, among them the capture of Fort Donelson and the engagement at Shiloh, he received only a few slight flesh wounds.  After sixteen month’s service in the infantry he was promoted to the Second Arkansas Cavalry, Troop C., and was mustered out as captain of that command.  He returned to Indiana on leaving the army, and farmed until September, 1865, when he moved to Benton county, Missouri, where he resumed farming and raising stock, and followed that occupation eight years.  He then kept the National Hotel in Sedalia, Missouri, three years and a half, and in 1877 moved to Joplin, the same state, where he engaged in mining lead until July, 1879, when he crossed the plains with a party of seventy persons conveyed by thirteen wagons drawn by horses, to San Juan in southeastern Utah.  The party separated at various places until Mr. Carpenter was left alone.  He crossed the mountains in this state, going over Walsenburg La Vesta pass, by Fort Garland and Conejos, and across Cumbers, the principal pass of the Rockies.  The silver excitement took him into the Indian country where they savages were still hostile, and he had many thrilling adventures with them.  He prospected in Utah seven months without success.  He then came into Colorado, and during the next two years kept a hotel and prospected at Parrot City in La Plata county.  In 1883 he changed his residence to what is now Montezuma, where he located land and began farming and raising stock, which he continued until 1889, when he sold all his interest, and locating at Durango, again turned his attention to miming, being interested in the Tempest Mining & Milling Company at the head of the Florette river.  In 1891 he moved to Summitville and continued his mining operations with the aid of his sons.  The Pass-Me-By Tunnel, Mining & Milling Company was formed by them and its properties developed, and from its organization Mr. Carpenter has served as its secretary.  From 1902 to 1904 he conducted the Blanco Hotel at Monte Vista.  The Pass-Me-By has one thousand two hundred feet of tunnel on surface work and four thousand feet on the water level, cross-cutting eleven claims, and is equipped with as fine machinery as can be had.  Its ores are mainly gold, with very little silver or copper.  Mr. Carpenter and his sons are engaged in the business of breeding the Angora goat in Colorado, and have bred the stock with great success and profit.  They have eight hundred acres of land, well improved and sufficiently irrigated for the cultivation of seven hundred acres.  On this they conduct a general ranching industry and raise cattle and horses extensively.  Mr. Carpenter was married on March 2, 1864, in Warren county, Indiana, to Miss Marian Mitchell, a native that county.  Four of their seven children are living, Ulysses G., promoter and president and general manager of the mining company already mentioned and the Asiatic Mining & Milling Company, west of it; Orion P., a ranchman; Clarence J., a practical miner; and Tula.  Both father and sons are earnest Republicans in politics and belong to the order of Elks; and the sons also belong to the Maccabees.  Their ranch is three miles and half east of Monte Vista, and has the second best water right on the Rio Grande.  It is improved with good buildings and in a forward state of cultivation.
(Source: Progressive Men of Western Colorado, Publ 1905. Transcribed by Nancy Overlander)


SAMUEL GRAY is the genial and popular proprietor of the hotel in Keller, Ferry county.  In addition to operating this, he gives his attention to mining.  He was born in Lafayette, Indiana, on July 17, 1840, being the son of David R. and Sarah (Tadford) Gray, natives of Ohio.  They were early settlers of Indiana and there remained the balance of their lives.  The mother died in 1847 and in 1851 the father married Elizabeth Mires.  To the first marriage, four children were born, William, Samuel, John L. and Ellen, deceased.  By the last marriage one son was born.  In very early days our subject crossed the plains with his grand-parents, who located in the Mohawk valley, Oregon, in 1853.  There Samuel was educated in the common schools and at the age of fourteen assumed the responsibilities of life for himself.  Two years after we find him in Corvallis with an uncle, J. B. Congle, operating a saddler’s store.  For three years he conducted that business, then went to California and became a cook on a steamer in 1859, and returned to Portland.  The next year he went to Orofino, Idaho, and mined for a short time.  After that he returned to Walla Walla and wintered, and in 1861 and 1863 went to the Boise Basin and there in 1863, was the first locator of valuable mining property. He took a claim on Granite creek from which he took twenty thousand dollars in three months.  After this he went to Portland, but shortly went to the Grande Ronde valley of Eastern Oregon, where he opened a saddler store, but was unsuccessful in the venture.  He then went to the Willamette valley and started in the same business with the same result.  Then he came to Lewiston and operated in the same business again.  Here he made a brilliant success.  He continued there until 1884, then sold and came to Couer d’ Alene and opened a hotel.  For two years he was occupied at this; then he took land there on the reservation, where he made his home for eight years.  Selling the property, he removed to Marcus, in Stevens county, and later to Keller, where we now find him.  He opened a hotel in Keller and there also became interested in a grocery store.  In addition to each, as stated before, he gives his attention to mining.
In 1864 Mr. Gray married Mary A., daughter of Joseph and Elizabeth Howe, natives of Missouri.  Mr. Howe was there killed by a tree falling on him, after which, in 1863, the mother moved to Oregon.  She died in 1893, having been the mother of four children.  To Mr. and Mrs. Gray three children have been born, William P., at Wilbur, Washington; Clare; and D. R., associated with his father in business.  Mr. Gray is one of the stanchest of substantial Republicans and since he cast his first vote for Abraham Lincoln, he has voted for every Republican candidate for president since.  He remembers well when James K. Polk was elected and is a well-informed and influential man in political lines.  Mr. Gray has never seen fit to hold office although he labors faithfully for the good of men.  He and his wife are members of the Baptist church and are well and favorably known in this community.  Mr. Gary has amassed two or three fortunes and has lost them, but is again a very prosperous citizen. [SOURCE: “An IlIllustrated History of Stevens, Ferry, Okanogan, and Chelan Counties in the state of Washington”; Western Historical Publishing Company, 1904 – tr. By Sandra Stutzman]


J. GUY LOWMAN, one among the progressive and popular educators of the state of Washington, who in his short life of thirty-three years has won a measure of success that would satisfy many a man of threescore and ten, was born near the old battle field of Tippecanoe in the vicinity of LaFayette, Indiana. February 13, 1872. His father, Jacob W. Lowman, of German ancestry, born in West Virginia in 1837, came when a boy of fourteen to the state of Indiana, and thus secured for himself the honor of being one of the pioneers of that state. At the opening of the Civil War, he enlisted, but stricken with fever, was unable to render any active service. Later, still longing to lift his hand in defence of his country's honor, he attempted to reenlist, but was rejected on account of ill health. In 1893, he settled in Anacortes, where he still resides, ably filling the office of police judge and justice of the peace. He also served one term as mayor of that city. His parents came to the United States in 1873, [sic.] locating in Rock Creek County, Virginia. The mother, Nancy A. (Shigley) Lowman, is a native of the Buckeye state, born in Jamestown, in 1839, of German parentage, her family being closely related to the famous Captain Mahan, the naval author, whose ancestors settled in the United States before the Revolution. Having received a careful education, she was for a number of years a teacher. She is still living, at Anacortes, the mother of three children. Her son, William A. Lowman, owns and operates the White Crest creamery at Anacortes;  Effie L. is the wife of Adam M. Dilling, a prominent contractor in Anacortes. Coming with his parents to Iowa when five years old, Mr. Lowman there remained six years, when they returned to the grandfather's old home near LaFayette, where he was born, his parents having been there on a visit at that time, though their home was then at Canton, Illinois. In this atmosphere of historic associations he grew to manhood, working on the farm and attending the little country school, there laying the foundation for a lifetime of usefulness. He began his career as a teacher in his home county at the age of twenty, removing to Anacortes in 1893, where he served as substitute for a few months, and later taught in country schools, employing all his leisure moments in diligent study. He has thus secured a splendid equipment for his life work, demonstrating the possibility of securing this higher education outside of college walls, given the requisite amount of ambition, energy and perseverance, all of which he possesses in abundant measure. For three years he was principal of the Avon schools, tendering his resignation when, in 1902, he was elected county superintendent on the Republican ticket. Two years later, he was re-elected by a majority of fifteen hundred votes. Believing that greater advantages, at a minimum cost, may be secured through the consolidation of country schools, Mr. Lowman has been an earnest advocate of the system, which he has secured in one locality, while in others, the thorough agitation of the question promises to bear fruit in the near future. Formerly the wages of teachers in Skagit county were far below that of the surrounding counties; now through his influence they have been raised to as high a scale as is paid in any county of like character in the state, and he is justly proud of the fact. Another progressive idea which he has carried out is the establishment of district association meetings throughout the county, having for their aim the more intimate acquaintance of teachers with their patrons and with each other. Still another example of his untiring zeal may be cited: the extension of school district lines to take in taxable land of nonresidents, not hitherto within the district boundaries, to the value of five hundred thousand dollars. He has also secured the adoption of free text book system in a majority of the schools of the county.
Mr. Lowman was married August 29, 1900, to Dixie M. Hawkins, daughter of William and Talitha (Miller) Hawkins. Her father is one of the pioneers of Skagit county, coming here in 1882 and taking up the homestead on which he now resides. A southerner by birth, he was for many years a cattle ranger in Texas. Both parents are still living. Mrs. Lowman is a native of Arkansas. To them has been born one child, Vivien G., on October 8, 1901. Mr. Lowman, as may be inferred, is a prominent Republican. Fraternally, he is a member of the Odd Fellows; in religious belief, a Presbyterian, of which church he is an active member. Though devoting so large a proportion of his time exclusively to educational matters, he has yet, by his wise investments become the owner of a ranch near Avon, on which he is making extensive improvements, and of numerous lots in Anacortes.
An Illustrated History of Skagit and Snohomish Counties, Inter-State Publishing Company, Chicago, Illinois, 1906.  Submitted by M.K.Krogman.

Of the firm of Dimmitt & Arnold, proprietors of steam saw mills on section 24, was born on the 22nd of March, 1841, in Tippecanoe County, Indiana, and was reared there and in Iowa. He came to this county in 1869, and has been engaged in threshing and the saw-mill business since. He owns a fine farm of thirty-six acres. During the late War, in 1862, he enlisted in the 65th Illinois, Company E, and served for eighteen months, and then re-enlisted in the 7th Tennessee, Mounted Infantry, and served about eighteen months; took part in the battles of Antietam, Harper’s Ferry, Nashville and many other minor engagements, serving under McClellan and Thomas. He married Miss Nancy L. Markham in 1860. She is a native of East Tennessee and was born on the 2nd of June, 1840. They have had eight children, six of whom are living: Mary T., Sarah J., William W., Ida O., Albert F. and Louisa E.
Source: The History of Jackson County, Missouri, Illustrated, Union Historical Company (1881) Transcribed by Kim Mohler


TODD, William E., traveling salesman; born Lafayette, Ind., June, 1859; Scotch descent; son of Archibald S. and Ruth (Jones) Todd; his father was an architect; paternal grandparents Dr. James Crowell and Nancy (Johns) Todd; maternal grandparents William A. and Mary (Ketring) Jones; educated Lafayette High School and graduated Cincinnati, Ohio; began business career as a traveling salesman; married Bessie Stewart September 1, 1883; affiliated with Knights of Pythias and M.W. of A.; is member of M.E. Church; sales manager in Tennessee for United States Oil & Paint Works, which position he has held for many years.
Source: Who’s Who in Tennessee, Memphis: Paul & Douglass Co., Publishers, 1911; transcribed by Kim Mohler

Return To The Main Index Page

Next Page