Indiana Trails

Wayne County Indiana
Biographies
line

JAMES   B.  ALLEN,   M.   D.

Numbered among the leading professional men of Cambridge City, Wayne county, is Dr. J. B. Allen, whose residence here dates back to October, 1897. The eldest of the four children of Jacob and Martha (Brown) Allen, he was born on the old family homestead, in Jefferson township, Wayne county, in 1844. His father is living, making his home in Hagerstown, with his daughter Carrie. He is now well advanced in years; the mother of the Doctor died in 1891, when in her seventy-third year. The only sister of the Doctor is Carrie, wife of George Fulkerson, and the two brothers are Lewis C. and Thomas B., and all are residents of this county.
Dr. Allen supplemented his common-school education by a course of study in the Hagerstown Academy, and later he attended Delaware University. Then for Some time he engaged in teaching, being employed in the schools of Williamsburg, Milton, Centerville and Decatur, Indiana, as superintendent. He has been agent of the Adams Express Company at Hagerstown since 1886, and since 1878 he has been connected with the firm of Allen & Company, druggists, of the same town. Having pursued the study of medicine, and graduating in the Ohio Medical College, at Cincinnati, in 1881, he established himself in practice in Hagerstown, where he continued actively engaged in professional work until his removal to Cambridge City, a year and a half ago. He served as a township trustee for five years in succession, and was a member of the pension board during Cleve¬land's last administration. Though exercising the right of franchise, as every citizen should, he has never devoted much time to politics.
On Christmas day, 1872, Dr. Allen and Miss Ellen Starr were united in marriage, and one child, Harry S., blesses their union. Mrs. Allen is a lady of excellent education and culture, and is a daughter of John and Mary (Jamison) Starr, of Centerville.

BENJAMIN  BRANSON  BEESON

For generations the Beeson family has been identified with the Society of Friends and noted for sterling qualities. Patriotic and loyal to the government, strongly in favor of  peace, right and  justice, and faithful  in the  discharge of every duty devolving upon them, whether in their public or domestic relations, they have embodied the ideal citizen of this great republic.
Benjamin Branson Beeson, one of the most prominent men in Wayne county, is a worthy representative of his family, which, as old records show, was founded -in the United States by two brothers of the name who accompanied William Penn to the colony in Pennsylvania. One brother settled in Philadelphia, and the other, from whom our subject is descended, went to Guilford county, North Carolina. Benjamin Beeson, the grandfather of the latter, was born in Randolph county, North Carolina, about 1765, a son of Isaac Beeson. In 1786 the marriage of Benjamin Beeson and Margaret Hockett was celebrated, and in 1826 they removed to Wayne county, Indiana, locating about a mile south of Franklin. Of their ten children who lived to maturity, five sons and three daughters eventually emigrated to this county, and, though most of them left children, only two, our subject and his cousin, Lewis Beeson, are left to represent the name in this county. The five sons were: Isaac W., Benjamin F., Ithamar, Dr. Silas Beeson, the first physician of Dalton township; and Charles, who came here with his parents. The daughters were Hannah, who married Seth Hinsshaw. and located in Greensboro, Henry county, Indiana; Margaret, who became the wife of Jesse Baldwin; Ruth, who married James Maulsby;and Rachel, who died unmarried. The father attained an advanced age and lies buried at the side of his wife in West River cemetery, two and a half miles east of Dalton.
Isaac W. Beeson, the eldest son of Benjamin and Margaret Beeson, was born in Randolph county, North Carolina, December 19, 1789. Physically he was of medium size, with fair complexion, dark hair and light-brown eyes. Of a frame none too robust, he nevertheless endured the numerous privations and hardships incident to frontier life, and lived to the advanced age of eighty-two years. He was a student by nature, quiet and thoughtful, and in bis early manhood taught several terms of school, successfully. Later he learned the wheelwright's trade, which he pursued to some extent throughout life. He possessed great determination and industry, and one rule which he followed, that of saving at least one hundred dollars a year from his earnings (and that at a time when money was especially scarce), is worthy of the emulation of all young men. His favorite brother, William, a man of fine business talent, and large and varied financial interests throughout North and South Carolina and Virginia, and subsequently to his death Isaac W., was occupied for about four years in settling his estate.
"All the world loves a lover," and one of the most pleasant things in the life of Isaac Beeson was his lifelong devotion to the woman who finally became his wife. As young people they were fondly attached to each other, but, owing to some opposition  on  the   part  of  relatives, their marriage was postponed from time to time. In the spring of 1822 Isaac Beeson started for Wayne count}-, Indiana, with a small outfit, which served him for many such journeys between his old and new homes. It consisted of a horse and rustic cart, a skillet, a small iron pot for boiling vegetables, a tin pan or two and a few pewter dishes. He usually traveled alone, sleeping nights in his cart, the trip taking seven or eight weeks. Upon his arrival here he made several entries of land, including two hundred and forty acres of the homestead in Dalton township, now owned by the subject of this article. Here he made his headquarters, and here his death took place nearly half a century later. The autumn of 1822 found him on the return journey to the south, where he worked at his trade until 1S28. when, there being a great wave of immigration into Indiana, he came with the tide and entered "congress " land in various parts of the state. Again he went back to the home of his childhood, to which he finally bade a last farewell in the spring of 1833, casting in his lot with the people of the Hoosier state. He located near Franklin, Wayne county, where his father and several brothers were living, the firm of Beeson Brothers having already become widely known. The three brothers who were in this partnership were S. H.. Benjamin Franklin and Ithamar, and among their numerous enterprises were the running of a gristmill, a tannery and a general mercantile business. The town which sprang into being as the result of their industry and enterprise was widely known as Beeson town in honor of the family, and everything was in a most flourishing condition when the great financial crashes of 1837 came and swept away the fortune and prospects of the little community. Isaac W. Beeson lost heavily on securities, but he was not disheartened, and ere many years had passed he had retrieved his fortunes.
Through all these years the attachment between Isaac W. Beeson and Mary Branson had continued, and at last, in the fall of 1837, she left her girlhood's home and many sincere friends in the sunny south and set out on the long journey to become the wife of the man she loved. They were married near Green's Fork, in this county, on the 27th of February, 1838. In less than thirteen years thereafter, Mrs. Beeson was summoned to the better land, and though he survived her a score of years, the devoted husband remained true to her memory and never married again. Her death took place October 10, 1851, and on the 26th of November, 1871. he was laid to rest by her side in the Friends' burying ground at Nettle Creek.
In religious faith Mr. Beeson was liberal, as might be expected of a man of his deep and broad views of life, his cherished hope being that some day the human brotherhood would be united on the central principles of Christianity, each reserving for himself the right of private judgment on minor forms and points.  Needless to say, that he was strongly opposed  to slavery and all forms of tyranny and injustice, and in common with those of his sect did not favor resorting to law, whether as individuals or as nations, but rather the submitting of all points of disagreement to arbitration. That he was a man of broad thought and an able writer, is amply demonstrated by manuscripts which he penned at various times on divers subjects. He was, so far as known to the compilers of this sketch.the original " Greenbacker " (not fiatist), for along in the '50s he earnestly advocated the issue of all paper money by the government, to be made equivalent to the coin money then in circulation, and the interest and profits to be applied to public improvements and the reduction of taxes.
Benjamin Branson Beeson, the only child of Isaac W. and Mary (Branson) Beeson, was born on the old homestead which he now owns and carries on. March 17, 1843. He has always given his chief energies to farming and stock-raising, and owns some eleven hundred acres of fine land, four hundred of which are comprised within the home place. He is public-spirited, and to him, perhaps, more than to any other person in his township, is the community indebted for the excellence of its highways. He has given considerable time, money and influence to their improvement, being specially interested in the Dalton turnpike. When the company was organized in 1S76, he became its secretary and treasurer, and he has served in similar capacities for many years for the Hagerstown & Bluntsville Turnpike Company. He was a charter member of the Nettle Creek Grange, which he represented oft-times in the county council and in the State Grange, and though the influence of that bod}- has declined it has exercised a lasting influence for good upon this generation of farmers. It has been largely superseded by the modern agricultural societies, and in 1880 Mr. Beeson assisted in forming what is known as the Wayne, Henry & Randolph Counties Agricultural Association, of which he was president for twelve years. He upholds churches and schools and all worthy institutions and methods of elevating the people, taking an active part in the political and moral questions of the day. He greatly admired President Lincoln and gave his support to General Grant at his first presidential election to office. For six years, from 1891 to 1897, he ably conducted the Richmond Enterprise, which attained wide circulation and won the most favorable notice of the public and contemporary journals. The columns of the paper strongly reflected his views on the prohibition of the liquor traffic, and it is conducted in the same lines by its present owner, the Rev. DeVore, to whom Mr. Beeson sold the journal in 1897, owing to other pressing business cares.
On the 14th of October, 1865, the marriage of Mr. Beeson and Miss Olinda Lamb, a daughter of Thomas and Elvira (Finch) Lamb, was solemnized. Mrs. Beeson was born in Clay township, Wayne county, in1841, and by her marriage she is the mother of four children, namely: Isaac Francis, born August 13. 1866; Mary Lenora, born January 23, 1S68, and now the wife of J. C. Taylor, of Dalton; and Edward Orton and Frederick Loten, twins, whose birth occurred July 3, 1877. The family are identified with the Society of Friends, following the example of generations of their forefathers, keeping ever in view the responsibilities and duties of life that rest upon them as individuals.

FLORANCE  R.   BEESON

Florance R. Beeson, a well known boot and shoe merchant at Connersville, Indiana, is descended from families which have been prominent in Indiana, in the south and in the east for many generations. He is a son of Munford G. and Louisa J. (Harvey) Beeson and was born in Wayne county, Indiana, October 5, 1857. Munford G. Beeson was a son of Hon. Othniel and Elizabeth (Wissler) Beeson. Othniel Beeson was a son of Benjamin Beeson, Jr., and his wife Dorcas, nee Starbuck. Louisa J., nee Harvey, mother of F. R. Beeson, was a daughter of Benjamin and Nancy Harvey, and was born January 12, 1836. Benjamin Beeson was born in North Carolina and died in Indiana, March 1, 1852. His wife Dorcas, nee Star-buck, also a native of North Carolina, died in October, 1872. Othniel Bee¬son was born in North Carolina, May 7, 1813, and died at his home in Wayne county, Indiana, October 10, 1897. His wife, Elizabeth Wissler, was born in Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, February 15, 1815, and is yet living on the Beeson homestead. The. early history and much of the genealogy of the families of Beeson and Harvey appear in the biographical sketch of Marquis D.^ Beeson, which is included in this work. The article mentioned contains much of interest covering Benjamin Beeson, Jr., and his wife and this family. Benjamin Beeson, Jr., was a son of Richard; Richard was a son of Isaac; Isaac was a son of Richard, and this Richard was a son .of Edward Beeson, who was born and reared in Lancashire, England, and was a member of the original Society of Friends founded by George Fox, and in 1682 joined the colony of William Penn in Pennsylvania.
Benjamin, Jr., first came to Indiana in 1813 and entered government land three and a half miles south of Milton. The next year he settled on it and began its improvement. Jacob and Barbara Wissler, whose daughter Elizabeth became the wife of Hon. Othniel Beeson, son of Benjamin Beeson, Jr., came with their family from Pennsylvania, in 1825. They were of Holland, Dutch and German extraction and in religious affiliation were Mennonites. Mr. Wissler, who was a prosperous farmer, died a few years after the settlement of the family in Indiana. They had five children, named John, Jacob, Elizabeth, Benjamin and Barbara. John died at Milton, Jacob at Arcadia and Benjamin in Iowa. .Barbara is living in Kansas. Elizabeth married Othniel Beeson in 1835 and is now eighty-four years old. They had four children: Munford G.; Helena (not married); Barbara, who became the wife of F. Y. Thomas, a prominent farmer and one of the commissioners of Fayette count}', and died August 24, 1899; and Amanda, not married.
Hon. Othniel Beeson was inured to pioneer life from childhood. His education was limited because local educational facilities were limited when
he was of the school age as the law now defines it. But he grew up and ripened into a man of broad-minded intelligence, a grand, honest man who did credit to the name of Beeson, which has not been sullied in the three centuries of its known history. After his marriage he opened up a large farm which he improved and upon which he lived during the remainder of his lifetime. He was especially successful as a stockman and much of his land was devoted to grazing. Reared a Democrat, he was bitterly opposed to slavery in the United States, and when he found that he could not oppose that evil .successfully in his old party he joined hands with the Republicans and was one of the early and aggressive leaders of that party in Indiana, helping it with his means and his pen, and going forth as a public speaker to do battle for the right as it was revealed to him. He was delegate to the state constitutional convention and later represented his district in the state senate. When he died the country lost one of the best and greatest citizens in all its history.
Hon. M. G. Beeson, oldest son of Hon. Othniel Beeson, was born in Fayette county, Indiana, January 9, 1835, and died May 16, 1883. Eight weeks later his widow died. He was reared and educated here and achieved material success as a farmer. He early became interested in questions of public moment, was an active and progressive Republican and gained great influence in his party. His voice was heard in conventions and during the active work of many campaigns. He represented his county in the legislature and made a fine record which would have assured him still higher political honors had not his career been cut short by untimely death. Two children were born to him: Florance R. Beeson and his sister Lulu, wife of Dr. J. E. King, a prominent physician of Centerville, Indiana.
Florance R. Beeson, born on the old Beeson homestead, in Wayne county, Indiana, remained there until his marriage to Miss Kate Richmond, October 9, 1878, when he accepted the position of station agent at Beeson Station. Mrs. Beeson, a lady of much intelligence and many accomplishments, is a daughter of George A. and Jeanette C. (Warren) Richmond. Captain G. A. Richmond, youngest son of Jonathan and Mary B. Richmond, was born in Butler county, Ohio, September 29, 1825, and was educated in the common schools. In 1846 he enlisted as a private in Company H, Fourth Regiment, Ohio Volunteers, and in 1847 was commissioned captain of that company and he held the commission until the close of the Mexican war. In 1849 he was appointed by Commissioner John B. Weller assistant commissioner to establish the boundary line between the United States and Mexico. In 1852 he located in Franklin county, Indiana, where he became .a dry-goods merchant. September 10, 1853, he married Jeanette C, daughter of Alexander R. and Charlotte Warren, of Franklin county, Indiana, who bore him three children: Kate (Mrs. F. R. Beeson); Mary E., who died in infancy; and Lottie, wife of Mark Beeson, of Wayne county, son of Bezaleel Beeson. Mark Beeson died January 25, 1888, his wife in 1879, leaving one son, George R. Beeson, who is being reared by Mrs. Richmond and is employed as salesman in the shoe store of F. R. Beeson, at Connersville, Indiana.
In 1855 Captain Richmond and his family removed to Burlington, Iowa, In 1857 they returned to Franklin county, Indiana, and in 1864 moved upon a farm in Wayne county, which the Captain had purchased. In 1881 he sold this farm and the family removed to another in Fayette county, which he had acquired. They remained there ten years, and in.1891 Captain Richmond retired from active business and located with his family at Connersville. There he died, May 7, 1895. Mrs. Richmond is now (1899) sixty-two years old and in a physical condition favorable to longevity. She receives a pension on account of service rendered by Captain Richmond in the Mexican war. Captain Richmond was a business man of more than ordinary ability, was successful as a farmer as well, and left a good estate. For seventeen years he was station agent at Beeson Station. Politically he was a lifelong Democrat.
F. R. Beeson, who is a capable telegrapher and proved himself an active and trustworthy agent at Beeson Station, had charge of the railway interests there 1878-90, and resigned the position to remove to Connersville, where during the ensuing year he filled a similar position in connection with the Big Four system. In 1891 he engaged in the shoe trade, in which he has been successful, and his store has grown to goodly proportions. He has profitable farming interests also, and is popularly regarded as a pushing, progressive, honorable business man who has done and is doing well and has a good future. Mr. and Mrs. Beeson have had three children: Lottie, who died in infancy; Hugh R., born December 1, 1885; and A. Wayne, born August 7, 1887. Mrs. Beeson and her two sons are members of the Presbyterian church.

LYCURGUS  W.  BEESON

    This popular and influential citizen of Milton, Indiana, who is now serving as the trustee of Washington township, Wayne county, was born in that township on the 7th of February, 1856, and belongs to one of the oldest and most distinguished families cf the county. The Beeson family was founded in the United States by Edward Beeson, of Lancastershire, England, who crossed the Atlantic in 1682 with one of William Penn's colonies and first settled in Pennsylvania.  Later he spent several years in a Quaker settlement in Virginia, and then bought land on the Brandywine in Delaware, a portion of which is now within the corporate limits of the city of Wilmington. There he died. He had four sons, Edward., Richard, Isaac and William. Isaac Beeson, one' of the' descendants of Richard, in the fourth generation, removed to North Carolina. His son Benjamin was the great grandfather of our subject. The grandfather also bore the name of Benjamin. He, with two brothers, founded the family in Indiana. In 1S12 Isaac took up his residence near Richmond, and Thomas settled in Washington township, Wayne county, in 1818.
    Coming here on a tour of inspection in 1813, Benjamin Beeson selected one hundred and sixty acres of land, which he entered at Cincinnati, and then returned to his home in North Carolina. The following year, with a wagon and four-horse team, he moved to his new home in Indiana territory, and in the midst of the wilderness commenced the struggle of pioneer life. He was a blacksmith and wagon-maker by trade, and in a shop upon his farm he followed those occupations in connection with clearing and improving his land. His nearest neighbors were five and six miles away. His wife, who bore the maiden name of Dorcas Starbuck, was a true helpmeet to him, and they raised the wool and flax which she spun, wove and made into garments for the family. The latchstring of their little cabin always hung on the outside of the door, and the early settlers in search of homes found there a resting place. Mr. Beeson was extensively engaged in farming and stock-raising, and by the assistance of his estimable wife accumulated a large property, which they left to their children. He supported the principles of the Democratic party as advocated by Jefferson and Jackson, and most capably filled the office of justice of the peace for many years, his decisions never being reversed. For many generations the family was identified with the Society of Friends, but the Indiana branch, which seemed more progressive than the rest, withdrew from that sect, though they still retain many of the admirable characteristics of the society and have always commanded the respect and confidence of every community in which their lot has been cast. Benjamin Beeson died March 1, 1852, aged sixty-four years, his wife in October, 1872, aged eighty-six. Two of their eleven children were born in North Carolina, the others in Indiana. They were as follows: Bezaleel, Othniel, Templeton, Delilah, wife of John Patterson; Rachel, wife of James Harvey; Julia, wife of William Dick; Cinderella, wife of William Harvey; Benjamin F., who is represented elsewhere in this volume; Amanda M., wife of Thomas Emerson; Marquis D., father of our subject; and Charles, who died unmarried in 1852.
Marquis D. Beeson was born in Wayne county, October 18, 1829, and after his marriage in 1851 he settled upon the farm given him by his father. two and a half miles south of Milton, where he still resides.  It is a beautiful place, upon which he has made many improvements in the way of buildings. The owner of this delightful country home is one of the most prominent and highly respected citizens of Washington township as well as one of its most successful business men.     He is  charitable and benevolent, willing to lend a helping hand to the poor and needy, and has given his children   an excellent start in life.
    In 1851 he was united  in  marriage with Miss   Ellen Harvey, who  was born   March  20, 1834.  Her father, Benjamin   Harvey, was born in Wayne  county, May  15,  1808, a  son of  John   and  Jane   (Cox)   Harvey, natives of North Carolina, who at an early day came to Indiana  and settled near Centerville.  John Harvey was a farmer and stock trader by occupation, was prominent and wealthy, and was  upright and honorable in all transactions. By birthright he was a member of the Society of Friends, to which he always adhered.     He was born  May 17,  1779, and  died   September   12, 1850, while his  wife  was born March 3, 1782,   and  died  in 1854.  Their children were Rebecca, Isom, Benjamin, Aaron, Nathan, William   C, John P., Mary E. and Jane.  After his marriage, Benjamin Harvey, the maternal grandfather of our subject, located on land entered by his father three miles south of Milton, where he improved a large and valuable farm.  He was a hard-working  man, strictly honest and  honorable, and  at his death  owned six   hundred  acres of   land.     He   died   March   27,   1856,   aged   forty-seven years.  He married Nancy Sellers, who was born in Kentucky, November 1, .1809, and in 1816 came to Wayne county, Indiana, with  her parents, who settled near Jacksonburg, where they improved a fine farm.  They were of Irish descent and  members of  the  Baptist   church.  The children born to Benjamin and Nancy (Sellers) Harvey, were Isaac S., who died at the age of nineteen years; John, who died in Oklahoma;  Ellen, mother of  our subject; Louisa,  wife  of   M.  G.  Beeson;  Ira,   deceased; Viola,   wife   of  A.   Banks; Amanda, wife of J. Howard; Nancy, wife of E. Wilson; William O., deceased; Granville, a resident of California;  George W., deceased;  and  Melinda and Melissa, twins, the former the wife of  T. Beeson, the latter deceased.  The subject of this sketch is the oldest   in a family of  four children, the others being Lafayette, born March 10, 1858;  Wellington, September 6,  i860;  and Eva, June 28,   1863.
    Lycurgus W. Beeson, of this review, was educated in the country schools and remained under the parental roof until his marriage, when he settled on a farm in Posey township, Fayette county, remaining there until 1S86. He then located upon a farm in Washington township, Wayne county, to the improvement and cultivation of which he devoted his energies until elected township trustee, in 1895, when he removed to Milton, his present home. He has met with marked success as a farmer and stock-raiser and now owns two well improved farms in Washington township. Being a man of sound judgment and good business ability, he has been called upon to serve his fellow citizens in various ways, such as settling up estates and acting as guardian. He has also served as township assessor, and is now filling the office of trustee in a most capable and acceptable manner. In political sentiment he is a Democrat, and he is one of the leaders of his party in his community.
On the 29th of September, 1880, Mr. Beeson was united in marriage with Miss Ida Ferguson, and they now have one son, Robert L., born August 4, 1881. Mrs. Beeson was born in Washington township, Wayne county, October 29, 1861, a daughter of Thomas L. and Mary (Lewis) Ferguson, who spent their entire lives in this county. Her paternal grandparents, Nimrod and Elizabeth (Isbell) Ferguson, were natives of North Carolina. The grandfather was born in Wilkes county, August 2, 1786, and was a brother of Micajah and Joel Ferguson, early settlers of Indiana. He and Nimrod came to the territory of Indiana in 1809 and explored twelve miles of unsurveyed land, after which they returned to their native state. On again coming to Indiana, in 1812, Nimrod Ferguson entered three hundred and twenty acres of land five miles south of Milton, which he at once commenced to improve, building thereon, in 1817, the second brick house in Wayne county. Then returning to North Carolina, he was married, October 11, 18 18, to Elizabeth Isbell, whom he brought as a bride to his home in the wilderness. Having some money, he was enabled to get his farm well improved in advance of the other early settlers, and as he was very successful in his life work he was able to give his children a good start in life. He died August 13, 1865, aged seventy-nine years: his wife, July 19, 1884, aged eighty-eight. She was born November 18, 1796, a daughter of Thomas and Discretion (Howard) Isbell, both natives of Albermarle county, Virginia, the former born June 27, 1753, the latter July 29, 1764. They were married in Wilkes county, North Carolina, in 1782. Mr. Isbell was one of the men who fought so bravely for the independence of the colonies during the Revolutionary war, enlisting at the age of eighteen and serving five years. After being honorably discharged at the end of that time, he re-entered the service and remained until the war ended. His children were: Prudence, Benjamin, John, Frances, Livingston, Elizabeth, Thomas, Mary and James. The children born to Nimrod and Elizabeth Ferguson were: Thomas L., father of Mrs. Beeson; Milton, deceased; Polly E., wife of R. Wilcox; Viana, wife of William Wallace; John W., who lives on the old homestead; Pinkney M.; Casburn; Caroline, wife of W. Carver; James N.; Sarah C, wife of J. M. Swafford; Discretion R., now Mrs. Lair, deceased. The parents were members of the primitive Baptist church.
Thomas L. Ferguson, Mrs. Beeson's father, was born August 13, 1819, and was married August 8, 1848, to Mary Lewis. He was a scientific and successful farmer, who began operations upon a farm given him by his father, and the neat and thrifty appearance of the place plainly indicated the supervision of a careful and painstaking owner, as well as one who thoroughly understood their chosen vocation. His last years were spent in retirement at Milton, where he died May 22, 1891, and his wife passed away September 15, 1896. They were consistent members of the Christian church and highly respected by ail who knew them. Of their three children only Mrs. Beeson is now living, their sons, Levi and Charles, having died of diphtheria at the ages of seven and nine years, respectively. Mrs. Ferguson's father was Caleb Lewis, an honored pioneer and prominent farmer of Wayne county.

HON.   CHARLES C. BINKLEY

    The final causes which shape the fortunes of individual men and the destinies of states are often the same. They are usually remote and obscure, their influence wholly unexpected until declared by results. When they inspire men to the exercise of courage, self denial, enterprise, industry, and call into play the higher moral elements, such causes lead to the planting of great states, great nations, great peoples. That nation is greatest which produces the greatest and most manly men, as these must constitute the essentially greatest nation. Such a result may not consciously be contemplated by the individuals instrumental in their production. Pursuing each his personal good by exalted means, they worked out this as a logical conclusion. They wrought on the lines of the greatest good. Thus it is that the safety of our republic depends not so much upon methods and measures as upon that manhood from whose deep sources all that is precious and permanent in life must at last proceed.
    We are led to the foregoing reflections in reviewing, even in a cursory way, the salient points which mark the career of him whose name appears above. He has not alone attained prestige and success in the practice of a laborious and exacting profession, but has been conspicuously identified with many interests which have subserved the material prosperity of Indiana; has proved a valuable factor in the legislative and political councils of his state and nation; has attained marked distinction in one of the great and noble fraternal organizations; has been in that constant sympathy and touch with the work of Christianity that stand as an earnest of effective and zealous personal labor; and, while not without that honorable ambition which is so powerful and useful an incentive to activity in public affairs, he has ever regarded the pursuits of private life as being in themselves abundantly worthy of his best efforts. As one of the representative men of Wayne county and of the state, consideration is due  Senator  Binkley  in   this compilation.
    Sixty years ago in the attractive little village of Tarlton, Pickaway county, Ohio, there was born to George S. and Margaret (Lybrand) Binkley a son to whom was given the name of Charles C. He whose nativity is thus recorded figures as the immediate subject of this sketch. His father, George Simon Binkley, was born in Hagerstown, Maryland, and his mother, Margaret (Lybrand) Binkley, was a native of Ross county, Ohio, both being of stanch German lineage, their respective grandparents having emigrated from the Fatherland and established homes in America. Senator Binkley was one of five children, there having been two sons and three daughters in the family. It should be noted that all grew to maturity, that all are married and that all are active, successful and honorable in the earnest discharge of life's duties.
    Charles C. Binkley was reared in his native village, attending the public schools in his boyhood and preparing himself for entrance into the Ohio Wesleyan University, at Delaware, Ohio, where he prosecuted his studies for some time, later matriculating in the Ohio University, at Athens, where he completed his essentially literary course. Having decided upon and formulated his plans for his life work, he began reading law at Brookville, Franklin county, Indiana, where he became a student in the office of Hon. John D. Howland, who was subsequently clerk of the United States courts for Indiana. For a short period he was a deputy for Hon. John U. Johnston, clerk of the Franklin circuit court.     Prior to entering upon the practice of his profession Mr. Binkley was elected clerk of Brookville township, and this preferment gave distinctive evidence of his eligibility and personal popularity, for he was a stanch Republican in his political proclivities, while the political complexion of the township was very strongly Democratic. He was admitted to the bar in Brookville, and is still in the active practice of  his profession.
    Mr. Binkley was united in marriage to Miss Georgianna Holland, daughter of Hon. George and Elizabeth (John) Holland, of Brookville, and he somewhat later entered into a professional partnership with Judge Holland with whom he was associated in Brookville until 1861, and thereafter at both Brookville and Richmond, Indiana, until the death of his honored colleague, November 30, 1875, offices being maintained in both places noted. Senator and Mrs. Binkley have two sons and two daughters, all of whom are married. A man of broad mental grasp and marked business ability, Senator Binkley naturally became prominently concerned in many undertakings and movements which have distinct bearing on the material prosperity of this section of Indiana. In 1865 he was an active participant in securing legislation that enabled the Whitewater Valley Canal Company to sell to the Whitewater Valley Railroad Company the right to build a railroad on the bank of the canal. About the same time he was elected president of the canal company mentioned, and as such executive made the transfer to the railroad company of the right to construct its line as noted. He continued in the office of president of the canal company until its waterway was no longer in use as a means of traffic, having been superseded by more modern and effective methods of transit, he having been the last incumbent of the position of president.
    From its organization until the time of his abandoning business associations in Franklin county, in the fall of 1875, he was the attorney for the Whitewater Valley Railroad Company, and was very prominently concerned in its construction and subsequent management. As attorney he prepared the organization for the several hydraulic companies occupying the canal, from Cambridge City, Indiana, to Harrison, Ohio, the list including the . Connersville, Ashland, Laurel, Brookville & Metamora and Harrison Hydraulic Companies. In 1867, about the time he removed with' his family from Brookville to Richmond, Mr. Binkley found the Cincinnati, Richmond & Fort Wayne Railroad Company making a desperate effort to build its road. It had been struggling to accomplish its object from as early a date as 1854, but its efforts .had not been attended with any appreciable measure of success. In 1867 Mr. Binkley was elected secretary of the company, and shortly afterward William Parry was chosen president. In these offices the gentlemen continued Mr.  Binkley subsequently becoming treasurer also until long after the road was constructed and, in fact, for years after the time when its line was leased, in 1871, to the Grand Rapids & Indiana Railroad Company, and the subject of this sketch is still a member of the board of directors of the company. It is needless to say that he brought to bear his rare executive ability, his mature judgment and indomitable energy and enterprise in shaping the affairs of the company and gaining to it the object which it had so long struggled to attain. His efforts in the connection unmistakably had potent influence in placing the company and its properties upon a substantial basis.
    In his political adherency Senator Binkley has ever been staunchly arrayed in support of the Republican party and its principles, and it was but in natural sequence that he should become an active worker in the cause and one of the leaders in political work. He has been in no degree a seeker (or political preferment, but the conspicuous place he has held in. the councils of his party is evident when we take into consideration the fact that from the year 1 S60 up to the present time .he has been a delegate to every Republican state convention in Indiana, with the one exception of that of 1898, when he was absent from the state. In 1872 he was a delegate from his district to the national Republican convention, held in Philadelphia, when General Grant was nominated for his second term as chief executive of the nation, and Henry Wilson for vice president.
    In 1898 Mr. Binkley was elected to the state senate from Wayne county, and in the session of 1899 was a member of ten, and chairman of two, of the important committees of the upper house of the state legislative assembly. He prepared, and took a leading part in securing the passage of, the bill providing for the return of the battle flag captured during the war of the Rebellion from Terry's Texas Rangers. The success of Mr. Binkley in a professional way affords the best evidence of his capabilities in this line. He is a strong advocate with the jury and concise in his appeals before the court. Much of the success which has attended him in his professional career is undoubtedly due to the fact that in no instance will he permit himself to go into court with a case unless he has absolute confidence in the justice of his client's cause. Basing his efforts on this principle, from which there are far too many lapses in professional ranks, it naturally follows that he seldom loses a case in whose support he is enlisted. He is not learned in the law alone, for he has studied long and carefully the subjects that are to the statesman and man of affairs of the greatest importance, the questions of finance, political economy, sociology, and has kept abreast with the thinking men of the age. A strong mentality, an invincible courage, a most determined individuality and a sterling character have so entered into his  make-up  as  to  render him   a natural  leader and a director of opinion.
     He is distinctively a man of high intellectuality, broad human sympathy and clearly defined principles. These attributes imply predilections which have naturally led him into associations aside from his professional, business and public life, and in conclusion we consistently may revert to the more important of these.
    In early life the Senator was initiated into the mysteries of that noble fraternity, the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and in the same he has risen to high distinction and has ever maintained a live interest in its affairs. In 1889 he was elected and installed as grand master of the grand lodge of the state of Indiana, and there from was, in 1891 and 1892, grand representative to the sovereign grand lodge of the order. As such representative he attended the session of the sovereign grand lodge at St. Louis, Missouri, in 1891, and that at Portland, Oregon, in the succeeding year. At the present time he is a trustee of the grand lodge of the state and is also a member of the I. O. O. F. home committee, comprising- five members, that recently located and is now engaged in building a home for aged and indigent Odd Fellows, and Odd Fellows' wives, widows and orphans, the home being located at Greensbursr, Indiana, and standing as one of the noble benevolent institutions of the state and as an honor to the great fraternity which brought it into being.
    From his youth up Senator Binkley has been a zealous and devoted member of the Methodist Episcopal church, and has been particularly active in Sunday school work. He was superintendent of the Sunday school at Brookville, and as soon as his family came to Richmond he was elected superintendent of the school of the Union Chapel, which subsequently became and is still known as Grace Methodist Episcopal church. With the exception of an interim of a few months he was thus continued as superintendent for twenty successive years. He served as delegate to the general conference of the church at its session in 1880, having been elected to represent the North Indiana conference. In 1884 he was elected as one 01 the delegates to the conference composed of representatives from all the Methodist bodies in America to celebrate the close of the first century of organized Methodism, attending the conference, which was held in Baltimore, Maryland, December 9-17, in the year mentioned.
    In 1883 Senator Binkley was elected a member of the board of trustees of De Pauw University, at Greencastle, Indiana, and was thereafter re-elected and served for twelve consecutive years, during the greater portion of which time he was chairman of the committee on finance. He has always had an abiding interest in educational and all other matters that subserve the progress and well being of his fellow men, and he has been recognized as a power for good in any community where his influence has been directed.

DAVID W.  DENNIS,  A.  B., A.  M., Ph.  D.

    For twenty five years the name of Professor David Worth Dennis has been inseparably interwoven with the history of the educational interests of Richmond. His broad intelligence, scholarly attainments and his full appreciation of the value of knowledge as a preparation for life's responsibilities make him one of the ablest educators who have promoted the interests of Earlham College and advanced the intellectual status of his adopted city. The ever broadening influence of his work is, of course, incalculable, for when was ever a measurement for the psychic forces of nature invented? His labors are permeated by broad humanitarian principles which render them not merely a means for gaining pecuniary returns, but a source of assistance to his fellow men, whereby he advances the scheme of our human existence, the constant uplifting and betterment of the race.
    Professor Dennis is a native of Dalton township, Wayne county, and is a son of Nathan and Evelina (Worth) Dennis. Both on the paternal and maternal sides his ancestors were from Nantucket, but his grandparents removed to North Carolina, locating in Guilford county, where the father of our subject was born in 1S15, the mother in 1813. The latter was a sister of Governor Jonathan Worth, of North Carolina, whose grandson, Ensign Worth Bagley, was the first man who lost his life in the Spanish American war. Nathan and Evelina (Worth) Dennis were married in Wayne county, Indiana, and spent the remainder of their days in Dalton township, where the father successfully carried on agricultural pursuits. He was one of the leading men of the locality, was the promoter of many local enterprises, and was an active and consistent member of the Society of Friends; he was for more than twenty five years clerk of West River preparative meeting of ministers and elders. He was twice married, his first union being with Mary Lamar, by whom he had four children, namely: William, who died in early manhood, in 1871; Osborn, a minister of the Friends' church in Randolph county, Indiana; Edwin, of Wabash, Indiana; and Mrs. Mary Ebrite, a Resident of Muncie, Indiana. After the death of his first wife Mr. Dennis married Evelina Worth, and their only child is Professor D. W. Dennis. The father died in 1872 and the mother in 1887.
    Until sixteen years of age Professor Dennis remained on his father's farm in Dalton township, Wayne county, attending the common schools and those -conducted under the auspices of the church to which his people belonged, his father being one of five men who contributed to extend the term of the public schools longer than the public funds would permit, and thus gave his and other children the advantage of better educational facilities. When only seventeen years of age David W. Dennis began teaching school, which profession he followed for three years, when he further continued his own education by study in Earlham College. He was graduated in that institution when twenty four years of age, with the degree of Bachelor of Arts, and since that time he has taught almost continuously in the Richmond high school .and Earlham College, with the exception of one year, 1889-90, which he spent with his family in Europe. He remained for fourteen months, during -which time he visited Germany, France, Switzerland, Italy, England and Scotland. During six months of that time he was a student in the universities of Bonn and Edinburgh, pursuing a course of embryology in the latter, of biology in the former. The degree of Master of Arts was conferred upon him by Earlham College in 1878 and that of Doctor of Philosophy by Syra­cuse University in 1886. For fifteen years he has occupied the chair of biology in Earlham College, and is regarded as one of the most successful and capable professors ever connected with the faculty of that institution. After his graduation he spent two years in Earlham College, then four years as a teacher in the high school at Richmond, and two years as president of Wilmington College. He then spent a year in rest and study, after which he resumed his pedagogic labors as a teacher in the Bloomingdale Academy, where he remained two years. He then returned to Earlham College, where 'his labors have been continuous, with the exception of the period passed in Europe. Some one has said "Travel is the source of all true wisdom," and certainly in the year spent abroad Professor Dennis gained a broad fund of knowledge which will enrich his life and its labors for all time. To a mind of great discernment and a nature of broad and acute sympathies, the world is continually offering valuable lessons, and he availed himself of the opportunity to improve, bringing with him from  the Old World strong impressions and vivid and pleasant memories which are constantly coloring and enriching his views of life.
    In addition to the work of the class-room. Professor Dennis lectures frequently on various general educational topics. His services in this regard are in frequent demand for teachers' institutes, and he often illustrates his lectures with stereopticon views. He is also well known in educational circles by reason of his able articles on pedagogic and scientific subjects, articles that frequently appear in the leading journals of the country. Not the least important branch of his work is in connection with the different clubs of Richmond organized for intellectual improvement. He has long been vice president of the Tuesday Club, is a member of the Tourists' Club and of the University Extension Center. He delivers many addresses in connection with the work of these organizations, and has been chairman of the program committee of the Tourists' Club. He takes a broad-minded interest in the political situation of the country, and gives his support to the men and measures of the Republican party, but has never sought nor desired political preferment. He took a deep interest in the money question during the last campaign, is a stanch advocate of the "gold standard," and believes most thoroughly in the territorial expansion of our government. Of the Friends' meeting he is an active lay member and delivers many addresses before the society, on moral questions, but is not connected with the ministry.
    In 1876 Professor Dennis was united in marriage, in Parke county, Indiana, to Miss Martha Curl, a daughter of Jeremiah and Sarah (Gifford) Curl, both of Parke county. One son was born to them, William Cullen, who was graduated at Earlham College with the degree of Bachelor of Arts when seventeen years of age. The following year he was graduated at Har­vard College with the same degree. Although the youngest man in the class, his standing was very high. He then spent another year within the classic walls of that time honored institution, won the degree of Master of Arts, and the honor of delivering the oration for the graduate school. He is, now, at the age of nineteen, a student in the law department of Harvard. The home life of Professor Dennis and his family was ideal. The most perfect companionship existed, and so strong was the influence of the beautiful Christian character of Mrs. Dennis upon the life of this community that this work would be incomplete without the record of her life, which we herewith append. Professor Dennis is still actively carrying on his life work, continuing his labors among the young, whose thought he directs to nobler, higher things, with a realization of the truth that even intellectual attainments count for naught save as they aid in the development of an upright character.

JUDGE HENRY C. FOX

    Henry Clay Fox, judge of the circuit court of Wayne county, and a distinguished jurist of eastern Indiana, was born near West Elkton, Preble county, Ohio, on the 20th day of January, 1836, a son of Levi and Rebecca (Inman) Fox, the former of English and the latter of Irish lineage. On the paternal side he is descended from the celebrated Fox family of England that furnished to that nation some of its most eminent and prominent representatives. His grandfather, Thomas Fox, was a native of New Jersey and there spent his entire life, devoting his energies to farming. He was quiet and unassuming in manner, but merited and gained the high regard of his neighbors and friends. His wife bore the maiden name of Nancy Pitman, and was a native of New York.    Levi Fox also was a native of New Jersey, where he spent the days of his boyhood and youth. In 1810 he removed to Preble county, Ohio, where he was extensively engaged in agricultural pursuits until his death, which occurred in 1867. He was a practical, progressive and enterprising farmer and met with very gratifying success in his undertaking. His wife passed away in 1846. In politics he was an ardent Whig, and a great admirer and a supporter of Henry Clay, whose name he bestowed upon his young son, the future judge of the Wayne county circuit court Both he and his wife were active and influential members of the Methodist Episcopal church, and their labors largely promoted its usefulness. Mr. Fox took a commendable interest in everything pertaining to the general welfare, and was one of the prime movers of the Eaton & Hamilton Railroad, doing much good to secure its location and completion. He was public spirited, loyal to American institutions, and by his activity in public affairs, as well as by his upright character, won the respect of all with whom he came in contact.
    Judge Fox spent the days of his childhood and youth in the place of his nativity, and having acquired his preliminary education in the public schools continued his studies in Whitewater College, in Centerville, Indiana. In i860 he removed from Preble county to Centerville, which was then the county seat of Wayne county, and began the study of law under the direction of George W. Julian, a very able attorney, who recently died in Irvington, Indiana. After pursuing a thorough course and largely familiarizing himself with the underlying principles of jurisprudence, Mr. Fox was admitted to the bar in 1861, but, instead of devoting his energies to building up a practice, he put aside all personal considerations and offered his services to the government, becoming a member of Company C, Fifty seventh Indiana Infantry. He was made first lieutenant and served for thirteen months, at the end of which time he was forced to resign on account of failing health. During that time, however, he participated in the hard fought battle of Pittsburgh Landing.
After his return home Lieutenant Fox began the practice of law, and for that purpose formed a partnership with Judge Nimrod H. Johnson, under the firm name of Johnson & Fox. Judge Johnson was the father of the Hon. Henry U. Johnson, late representative in congress from this district. In 1875 Judge Fox removed from Centerville to Richmond, and has since made his home in this city. He opened an office and successfully engaged in practicing law. In 1862 Judge Fox was elected district attorney for the common pleas district, composed of the counties of Wayne, Union, Fayette and Franklin. In 1864 he was re-elected, serving in all four years in this office. In the year 1878 Mr. Fox was elected judge of the Wayne superior court, which office he held until the office was abolished. On the 25th day of August, 1892, he was, by Governor Chase, appointed a judge on the appellate bench of Indiana. He was nominated for this position in that year by the Republican party. At the regular fall election he was defeated with the balance of the Republican ticket. In the year 1896 Judge Fox was elected judge of the seventeenth judicial circuit of Indiana, which position he now holds. Judge Fox commands the respect and attention of the bar who practice before him, as well as of the voters who elected him.
    In politics the Judge has been an ardent Republican all his life, uncompromising in his political views. For thirty five years he has been a member of the Masonic fraternity. He is now a member of Richmond Lodge, Rich­mond,   Indiana.
In May, 1861, Judge Fox was married to Helen S. Linsley, of Trumbull county, Ohio. She was of Scotch and Welsh descent. She was at the time he married her a teacher of music, and they first met in the town of Seven-mile, Butler county, Ohio, where Miss Linsley was teaching music for the celebrated Professor Hanby, who was the author of the well known song, il Nellie Gray," and other popular ballads.
    Judge Fox and his wife now have three living children: Francis L. Fox is an attorney in the city of Richmond. Frederick H. Fox was, in December, 1898, by the federal government, appointed in the postal service for Cuba, and was assigned to the city of Bayamo, military station No. 22, in the province of-Santiago de Cuba, as postmaster. This position he held until May, 1899, when he was transferred to Baracoa, in the same province, at which place he now is acting as postmaster. Florence J. Fox is the third child. She is an artist of rare ability, her specialty being in oil painting of animals. She also excels as a painter of portraits. She was for some time a pupil under Professor Bell, of New York.
The Judge has also had some experience in literary matters, having a very fine library of miscellaneous books. He, as a matter of recreation, has indulged in some literary work, principally of a humorous character. He won considerable reputation by the publication of a book entitled "The Adventures of a Philosopher, a Dun Mule and a Brindle Dog," of which two editions were quickly sold. The book is now out of print and probably will never be reprinted. The Judge has never been a society man, but has all his life been a hard worker, confining himself to his profession and to his family.

OLIVER FERGUSON

A prominent citizen of Milton, Wayne county, the subject of this article is a worthy scion of one of the foremost pioneer families of eastern Indiana. From the early days of this century the Fergusons have materially aided in the development of the county, helping to  place  it  on a stable basis and to maintain the order and good government which it has enjoyed from the first.
The father of our subject, Linville Ferguson, whose history is given at some length elsewhere in this volume, has spent almost his entire life in this region, as he was brought here when but six months old. He was born in North Carolina, August 17, 1815, a son of Micajah and Frances (Isbell) Ferguson, the former born in 1793, and the latter in 1791, in the same state. Micajah was a son of Thomas Ferguson, whose ancestors emigrated from Scotland to Virginia, and thence removed to Wilkes county, North Carolina, in the early part of the eighteenth century. Frances Ferguson was a daughter of Thomas Isbell, of English descent, and a hero of the Revolutionary war, in which he enlisted at eighteen years of age and served for five years. In the spring of 1816 Micajah Ferguson, with his wife and three children, emigrated to Indiana. They located upon wild land situated about three miles south of Milton, and there the next few years were filled with the most arduous kind of toil, as it was no easy task to hew the forests of heavy timber and to prepare the ground for cultivation. In the course of time, however, much was accomplished by the sturdy frontiersman and his boys, and they turned their attention to the raising and feeding of live stock, which found ready market in Cincinnati. As stated, the three eldest children, Matilda, Horton and Linville, were born in the south, but the others were natives of this county. Matilda became the wife of Joel Hiatt; Salena wedded C. Saxton, and after his death Joseph Caldwell; Savanna was the wife of I. B. Loder; and Jane, born in 1833, died in 1841. The younger sons were Levingston; Finley, now of Kansas; Sanford, born in 1828, and died in 1833; Kilby, who is a minister of the Christian church; and Olive, born in 1835 and died in 1854. The father departed this life in 1866 and the mother died October 23,  1871.
For forty years Linville Ferguson was actively engaged in the raising, buying and selling of cattle and hogs, being recognized as an expert in that line, and for some years he was connected with a flourishing pork-packing establishment in Connersville. In his early -manhood he was a veritable athlete, it being his pride that he could split more rails in a day than any other man of the locality, and indeed one day he turned out one thousand rails! In 1870 he assisted in the organization of the National Bank of Cambride City, with which institution he was associated for twenty-three years, fifteen years of that time being president of the concern. For twenty years he was trustee of his township, ten years by election and ten years by appointment; and here, as in everything which he undertook, he was found thoroughly reliable and trustworthy. In addition to this, he served most creditably for three years as one of the county commissioners, and, though nominated several times on the Democratic ticket for the legislature, was defeated on account of the large Republican majorities in his district.  Financially he was very successful, and besides enjoying a large bank account and owning valuable property, he has divided fifteen hundred acres of land among his children. In 1883 he retired and has lived in a commodious residence which he had built upon a fine eight-acre tract of land which he purchased, the place adjoining Milton.
The wife of Linville Ferguson was Elizabeth Loder in her girlhood, her parents being John and Isabel (Ringland) Loder. He was born in Essex  county, New Jersey, August 10, 1780, and she on the 31st of May, 1785. They were married in 1806, and in 1815 came to what now. is Fayette County, Indiana. He voted for delegates to the first Ohio constitutional convention, and to the first similar convention in this state. He died in 1863, and his wife's death occurred five years later.
Oliver Ferguson, born in Posey township, Fayette county, February 5, 1840, is the eldest son of Linville Ferguson and wife. His youngest brother, Charley, is carrying on the old homestead, and the other brother, Elmer, died at the age of twelve years. The sisters are Mrs. Savanna Munger and Mrs. Emma Thornburg. The boyhood of our subject was spent in the usual vocations of farmer lads, a portion of his time being given to the acquisition of an education in the schools of the district. When he reached his majority he was so thoroughly reliable and successful as an agriculturist that his father allowed him to undertake the management of one of his farms. He continued to devote much of his attention to' farming until 1879, when he removed to Milton and engaged in the implement business, in which he had been financially interested for some years. He bought stock in the factory where these implements were manufactured and also owned a large amount of stock in the Hoosier Drill Company. After all of the Milton factories had been closed, he engaged in the sale of implements and fertilizers more extensively than ever, employing two traveling salesmen for a number of years. At present he is merely interested in the sale of fertilizers and in attending to his three finely improved farms. Formerly he was very successful in the raising and feeding of live stock, though he was never so extensively engaged in that line of business as was his father. Fraternally, he is an Odd Fellow and politically is a Democrat.
Having made a success of life from a financial point of view, Mr. Ferguson is practically retired and enjoys his attractive home which he built in Milton. The residence is of brick, is furnished with modern improvements and luxuries, and is ever hospitably open to the reception of friends. The first marriage of Mr. Ferguson was. solemnized in 1863, when Miss Martha F., daughter of   Cyrus and  Catherine (Hunt) Wallace, became his bride.
The father, born May 19, 1817, was a son of John and Mary (Banks) Wallace, and was a direct descendant of William Wallace, who emigrated from Scotland to Virginia about 1730. Cyrus Wallace was a typical western pioneer, and after he came to the wilds of Indiana he developed an excellent farm and owned nearly four hundred acres at the time that he retired. He is passing his last years in Milton, where he is greatly esteemed and loved. His wife, to whom he was married in 1843, was a daughter of John Hunt, of North Carolina. He was a gunsmith by trade, and after he came to this-state in 1811 his services were in great demand, especially by the Indians, and later by the settlers during the troubles with the red men. His children were named William, Wilson, John, Labona, Salina and Catherine. To the union of Cyrus Wallace and wife but two daughters were born: Mary, who married J. S. Baker; and Martha F. The latter, who was the wife of our subject, became the mother of two children: Luella, who is the wife of O. L. Beeson, a prosperous young farmer; and Rossie B., wife of Homer Newman, a traveling salesman. Mrs. Martha Ferguson was called to the silent land March 12,  1886.
The present wife of Mr. Ferguson was formerly Miss Lucinda Dungan, who comes of one of the honored pioneer families of Fayette county. Their marriage was celebrated July 25, 1888. Mrs. Ferguson, who was born April 1, 1849, is a daughter of Joseph and Rebecca (Chambers) Dungan, and granddaughter of Isaac Dungan, who was one of the early settlers of Fayette county. His children, who were reared in the strict Presbyterian faith, were: Mrs. Elizabeth Petro; Mrs. Ada Reese; Wilson, of Huntington county; Joseph and Magdalene, who never married; and all of that generation have passed to their reward. Mrs. Ferguson's father was engaged in farming until he retired, some time prior to his death in 1897, and the wife and mother survived him only two weeks. She came from one of the families that first arrived in this territory, and her father often sought protection from the Indians in the block-house, one of his children, indeed, being born within the crude fortress. Three of his daughters married men by the name of Dungan, and the fourth became the wife of a Mr. Rhodes. B. F., the only son, was-a farmer by occupation. The only brother of Mrs. Ferguson is William, a resident of Connersville. Her sisters are Mrs. Minerva Cline, Mrs. Margaret Smith, Mrs. Ada Thomas, Matilda, who is unmarried, Mrs. Alice Kidd, and. Martha and Josephine, deceased. The parents were members of the Primitive Baptist church, to which Mrs. Ferguson also belongs. She is a lady of superior education, and for twenty-five years she was actively engaged in teaching, having as pupils many of the now promising young men of the counties of Fayette, Wayne and Huntington, where she had charge of schools.

THE GAAR FAMILY
    If a complete account of the events which form the history of Wayne county were written no name would appear more frequently or figure more prominently in connection with leading events than that of Gaar. Through many decades representatives of the family have been important factors in the public life, especially that department bearing on the industrial and commercial development whereby the growth and prosperity of the county has been assured. From the Fatherland came the first American ancestors, who left their Bavarian home and crossed the Atlantic to the shores of the New World. Their first location was made in Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, whence they removed at a later date to Virginia. In 1807 the first settlement of the family was made in Wayne county, then a wild western region on the very borders of civilization. The Indians had not departed for western hunting grounds, fleeing before the oncoming tide of civilization; the forests stood in their primeval strength, and the broad prairies had been unturned by the plow.
Such was the condition of the country into which Abraham Gaar made his way more than four score years ago. He was born in Madison county, Virginia, February 28, 1769, and was there reared to manhood. He married Miss Dinah Weaver, who was likewise born in the Old Dominion and was also of German lineage. In 1805 they became pioneers of Kentucky, and in 1807 they made their way to Wayne county, Indiana, locating in what is now Boston township, where Abraham Gaar secured one hundred and sixty acres of land from the government. A little clearing was soon made and a log cabin erected. Then other trees were cut down and such vegetables and grains planted as would supply the family with the necessaries of life. As the years passed, however, and the work of development was continued, the entire tract was placed under a high state of cultivation, and waving fields of grain were seen where once stood the uncut timber. The father of the family thus took an active part in reclaiming the wild tract for the uses of civilization, and was active in promoting the agricultural interests of the county. His untiring industry, energy and well directed efforts at length were crowned with success, and ere the end of his earthly pilgrimage he found himself in possession of a good home and a comfortable competence. His religious obligations were never neglected, and even in the days when churches had not been established, and when ministers had not found their way into the new region, he gathered his family around him for worship on the first day of the week, and was ever observant of his Christian duties as a member of the Baptist church. His wife was alike faithful and earnest, and they gave a generous support to the erection of a house of worship in their locality and to the establishment of a Baptist congregation. Having for more than half a century borne an important part in the development and upbuilding of Wayne county, Abraham Gaar passed to his final rest August 20, 1861, and his wife died September 26, 1834, at the age of sixty six years, ten months and one day.
    This worthy couple were the parents of eight children: Jonas; Fielding, who died in Utah; Larkin, who resided on the old family homestead in Bos­ton township, Wayne county; Abel, who made his home in Michigan; Fansnie, deceased wife of William Lamb, of Iowa; Rosa, deceased wife of John Ingels; Martha, who was the wife of Jeptha Turner; and Eliza J., wife of Thomas Henderson, of Iowa. All of this family are now deceased except Eliza J.
    Jonas Gaar, who was the eldest, was born in Madison county, Virginia, February 1, 1792, and came with the family to Wayne county in 1807. He was therefore reared amid the wild scenes of frontier life, enduring many of the hardships and privations which fall to the lot of the pioneer. He pursued his studies in a log school-house, but acquired his education largely through self culture. He was a great reader and a close observer of men and events, and in the busy affairs of life added greatly to his knowledge. He and his younger brother, Fielding, were soldiers in the war of 1812, doing duty on the frontier in defense of the homes and lives of the border settlers. He assisted in the work of the home farm until attaining his majority, when he resolved to learn a trade, and took up that of cabinet making. In 1820 they established a little cabinet shop of his own in Richmond, where he carried on business for a number of years.
    In 1836 he extended his operations into other fields of labor by establishing a foundry and machine shop, in connection with Abel Thornbury and Job W. Swain. The plant was operated by a rotary steam engine, the first steam engine in the county, but the enterprise was conducted for only a few years, and for a decade thereafter Jonas Gaar was connected with other business lines. In 1849, in connection with his sons, Abram and John M., and his son-in-law, William G. Scott, he purchased of Jesse M. and John H. Hutton their machine works, which later became the extensive Spring foundry, then A. Gaar & Company and lastly the Gaar, Scott & Company's machine works. This was the foundation for the present mammoth establishment now conducted under the last mentioned title. Mr. Gaar, his two sons and his son-in-law, were all natural mechanics and soon the old foundry business was placed upon a paying business basis and its patronage steadily increased. Prior to this time it had never been a profitable enterprise. On the 1st of April, 1870, the name was changed to Gaar, Scott & Company, and Jonas Gaar continued to be identified therewith until his death, which occurred June 21, 1875. In 1870 the business was incorporated with a paid-up capital of four hundred thousand dollars. Abram Gaar then became president of the company, and so continued until his death.
    In 1818 Jonas Gaar was united in marriage to Miss Sarah Watson, a native of Kentucky, and they became the parents of eight children: Abram, born November 14, 1819.; Malinda, born November 11, 1821; John Milton, born May 26, 1823; Samuel W., born October 22, 1824; Fielding, born January 1, 1827; Emeline, born June 16, 1829; Elizabeth, born June 27, 1831; and Fannie A., born October 5, 1853. All have now passed away with the exception of John M., Fielding, Emeline Land and Elizabeth Campbell. The father died June 21, 1875, and the mother's death occurred November 8, 1863. Though his business demanded much of his attention, he yet found time to labor for the advancement of many movements and measures calculated to benefit the community and promote the welfare of his fellow men. He was a public spirited, progressive citizen, honored for his integrity in industrial life, for his fidelity to every trust, and his faithfulness to family and friends.  

ABRAM GAAR

    In the death of Abram Garr, Wayne County lost one of its most valued citizens. His entire life was spent within its borders, and for a number of years he was in control of what is probably the chief industrial interest of the county. In America "labor is king," and the sovereignty that the liberty loving people of this nation acknowledge is that of business. The men of influence in this enlightened age are the enterprising, progressive representatives of commerce, and to such ones advancement and progress are due. Abram Gaar was one who had the mental poise and calm judgment to successfully guide and control gigantic business affairs, and at the same time he had a keen appreciation of the ethics of commercial life, so that he not only commanded the respect of his fellow men for his uprightness, but also excited their admiration by his splendid abilities.
    Mr. Gaar was born in Wayne County, November 14, 1819, and during his infancy was taken by his parents to Richmond, where he spent his remaining days. His educational privileges were those afforded by the subscription schools of the period and he received his manual training in his father's cabinet shop. He served a regular apprenticeship, and in 1845, when his father embarked in the foundry business, Abram, being a natural mechanic, worked at pattern making, building wooden machinery and other labors in connection with the foundry business. After a short time, however, misfortune overtook the enterprise and he was thus thrown out of employment. He was then about eighteen years of age, and during the two succeeding years he was in the employ of Ellis Nordyke, a millwright. All this time he was gaining a good practical knowledge of mechanical work that well fitted him for his greater responsibilities in connection with the Gaar Machine Works. About 1840, however, a period of financial depression and consequent business inactivity came upon the country, and as there was not much demand for mechanical work, he turned his attention to literary pursuits.
    He attended school for some time, his last teacher being James M. Poe, under whose direction he pursued his studies in 1842. The following year he entered the employ of J. M. and J. H. Hutton in the old Spring foundry machine shops, and there devoted himself untiringly to his duties, thus mastering the business in principle and detail. He also saved the major part of his wages until, in 1849, having acquired considerable capital, he purchased the plant, with his father, his brother, John M., and his brother-in-law, William G. Scott, as partners. The business was reorganized and conducted under the name of A. Gaar & Company, and from that time until his death, forty five years later, Abram Gaar was actively connected therewith and contributed in no small measure to its success. On the 1st of April, 1S70, the business was incorporated under the name of Gaar, Scott & Company with a paid-up capital of four hundred thousand dollars, and he was elected president, a position which he continued to fill, with marked ability, until his demise. The business steadily grew in volume and importance until it had assumed extensive proportions and was accounted the leading industrial concern of the county. In its management Abram Gaar displayed splendid executive power and keen discrimination, and he was widely recognized as a most capable business man.
    On the 26th of March, 185 1, Mr. Gaar was united in marriage to Miss Agnes Adams, born May 2, 183 1, a daughter of Henry and Agnes (Chapman) Adams. She was born on a farm south of Richmond, but spent the greater part of her girlhood, until her ninth year, in Cincinnati, Ohio, and in Illinois. Her mother died in the latter state, after which the family returned to Wayne county. Mr. Adams was connected with the firm of Gaar, Scott & Company for a long period, and died in his seventy fourth year. Mrs. Gaar was reared in Richmond from the age of nine, and from her thirteenth year until her marriage, at the age of nineteen, she acted as her father's housekeeper. To Mr. and Mrs. Gaar were born four children: Oliver P., Clem. A., Samuel W. and Nettie R. The daughter is the wife of S. S. Stratton, Jr., and all are residents of Richmond.
    In 1867 Mr. Gaar became a member of the Methodist church, to which his widow belongs, and at all times was a liberal contributor to church and charitable interests. His support and co-operation were withheld from no enterprise calculated to prove of public benefit. He voted with the Democracy in early life, but when the Missouri Compromise was repealed, his opposition to slavery led him to join the Republican party, with which he affiliated until his death. Education, temperance, political reform and morality always found in him a friend, and in 1883 he donated five thousand dollars toward the erection of the First Methodist church in Richmond.   
     In 1868 he was elected one of the trustees of the Home for Friendless Women, and for nine years gave his services to that institution without pecuniary reward. He was a man of large heart and broad humanitarian principles, and his public career and private life were alike above reproach. In 1876 he erected a beautiful residence on his farm two miles from the city, and made it one of the most attractive homes in Wayne county. There, in the midst of family and friends, he spent many delightful hours, for he was a man of domestic tastes and was never happier than when ministering to the happiness of his wife and children. He died February 10, 1894, and the community mourned the loss of one of its most valued citizens.

CLEM A.   GAAR

    Clem A. Gaar, the second son of Abram and Agnes Gaar, was born in Richmond, Indiana, on the 13th of April, 1859. His youth was spent in the usual manner of lads of the period, study in the school-room and the pleasures of the play-ground engrossing his attention. Entering upon his business career at the age of nineteen years, he began serving an apprenticeship in the pattern making department of the works of Gaar, Scott & Company, his term covering a period of four years and eight months, during which time he became an expert workman. On the expiration of that period he began farming on the old homestead and carried on agricultural pursuits for eight months, but not rinding that occupation to his taste, he embarked in the wholesale grocery business in connection with John Shroyer, under the firm name of Shroyer & Gaar. They conducted that enterprise until 1890, and in 1894 Mr. Gaar aided in organizing the National Church Furniture Company, of which he has since served as vice president. They have built up an extensive business and are now enjoying a large and lucrative patronage. In addition, Mr. Gaar is engaged in general farming, making a specialty of the raising of wheat, and a glance at his broad and well tilled fields indicates his careful supervision. He is also a stockholder in the corporation conducting business under the name of Gaar, Scott & Company. He possesses the true western spirit of enterprise, and is quick to note a favorable business opportunity. Therein lies the secret of many a man's success, and the prosperity which our subject enjoys is largely attributable to that quality.
    On the 15th of November, 1882, Mr. Gaar was married to Miss Fannie McMeans, a daughter of the late Alfred L. and Anna L. McMeans, of Richmond. They now have two children, Lucille and Russell A, Mr. Gaar is a leading member of the First Methodist Episcopal church, is serving as trustee, and is a valued representative of the Royal Arcanum. He and his wife have spent their entire lives in Richmond, and in their large circle of friends are many who have known them from childhood to the present.

FIELDING GAAR

    After a successful business career, in which he has acquired a handsome competence, Fielding Gaar is now living a retired life in Richmond. He was born in the city which is still his home, on the 1st of January, 1827, his parents being Jonas and Sarah ("Watson) Gaar. His boyhood days were spent under the parental roof, and in the subscription school he obtained his education. Early trained to habits of industry, he served a regular apprenticeship to the machinist's trade, under the direction of his father, completing his term on attaining his majority. Throughout the remainder of his active business career, he was employed along that line. He is still a stockholder in the factory of Gaar, Scott & Company, and held a similar connection with the predecessor of this company, A. Gaar & Company. A mammoth business is conducted by this factory, and its extensive sales have brought to the stockholders a most desirable income. Their trade, in the sale of the boilers, sawmills, threshing machines and portable and traction engines which they construct, extends not only throughout this country but to foreign lands as well, and brings to the owners marked prosperity. Fielding Gaar is also the owner of a valuable farm of one hundred and sixty acres, south of Richmond.
    In his political views he is a Democrat and formerly took quite an active part in advancing the interests of the Democracy, but is not aggressively partisan. At one time he represented the second ward in the city council and gave his support to all progressive measures for the public good. He belongs to the Masonic fraternity, in which he has attained the Knights Templar degree, holding membership in the commandery of Richmond. For thirty five year he has been connected with Whittier Lodge, No. 41, I. O. O. F., and is held in high esteem by the brethren of the fraternity.
    Mr. Gaar was married in Richmond, in 1865, to Miss Mary J. Gallagher, and four children have been born of this union, namely: Jonas, of Richmond, who is a member of the firm of Pogue, Miller & Company; Charles, a machinist with Gaar, Scott & Company; Indiana, wife of Harry Gilbert, of Richmond; and Earl, who is eighteen years of age, and is with his parents. Mr. Gaar is now resting in the enjoyment of the fruits of his former toil.     He has reached the age of three-score years and ten, and now, on the western slope of life, he is resting from arduous cares, in the midst of family and friends, who esteem him for his honorable record and his many commendable characteristics

JOHN M.  GAAR

    It has often been stated and commented upon that the United States has always presented great opportunities to men of industry, ability, honesty and integrity, and as long as men have the aspirations and the determination to improve their conditions of life and earn the success which it is possible to obtain, the theme will never be exhausted. One of the most prominent of Indiana's business men whose enterprise and sound judgment have not only promoted their individual prosperity but have advanced the public welfare, is John Milton Gaar. As the president of the extensive corporation doing business under the name of Gaar, Scott & Company, he is too well known to need introduction to the readers of this volume, and his fame in this connection is not even confined by the bounds of his native land, but as a business man in other lines of endeavor, as a citizen and as a friend, we would preserve the record of his career among a people who have learned to admire, respect, honor and esteem him.
    John M. Gaar, the son of Jonas Gaar, was born in Richmond on the 26th of May, 1823, and is indebted to the subscription schools of the city for the educational privileges which he enjoyed. His early life passed uneventfully, and as his parents were not then wealthy his youth was by no means free from labor. In 1835, by the firm, whose members were Job W. Swain, Abel Thornbury and Jonas Gaar, he was employed to operate a stationary engine, and continued to serve in their employ until 1838, when his employers failed. He afterward worked at anything he could get to do that would yield him an honest living. In 1839 he secured a situation in a brickyard and followed that pursuit until he became an expert brick maker. He was employed in that line until the 6th of November, 1841, when he began working in the blacksmith shop of the Spring foundry, owned by J. M. and J. H. Hutton. In         January, 1845, when he was receiving one dollar per day, he and his brother, Abram, each asked for an advance to a dollar and a quarter per day, but the firm compromised by giving each of them a one fifth interest in the business, their father also having a fifth interest. On the 20th of September, 1849, in connection with their father, Jonas Gaar, and William G. Scott, they purchased the interest of J. M. and J. H. Hutton, and organized the firm of A. Gaar & Company, the partners being Jonas Gaar and his two sons, Abram and John M., and William G. Scott. From the beginning their patronage steadily increased. It was a healthy growth, for their products commanded the commendation of the public, and good goods upon the market, sold at reasonable rates, always secure purchasers. From the beginning John M. Gaar of this review was one of the partners, and he so continued until 1870, when the business was incorporated under the name of Gaar, Scott & Company, at which time he was elected a director and treasurer. Upon the death of his brother Abram, in 1894, he succeeded to the presidency, and for five years has remained at the head of the most extensive business in this line in the entire country. Their plant has been constantly enlarged to meet the growing demands of the trade until it now covers ten acres of land, and is fitted out with the most modern buildings and improved machinery known to the trade. They are among the most extensive boiler and engine builders in the world, and the products of this great foundry include threshing machines, clover-hullers, boilers, portable and traction engines and sawmills. The trade which the house enjoys is very extensive, their manufactures being shipped to every state in the Union, in addition to which they have a large export trade. The name of Gaar, Scott & Company upon any piece of machinery is a guaranty of its excellence and a recommendation that is everywhere received, for the reliability of the company is a matter widely recognized throughout the business world. The present officers of the company are: John M. Gaar, president; Joseph B. Craighead, vice-presi­dent; S. S. Stratton, Jr., secretary; and Howard Campbell, treasurer and general manager. They employ an army of skilled workmen, each department being under the direction of expert machinists, and every machine sent out from the foundry is made with a degree of perfection unsurpassed up to the present time. The men are paid good wages, and the relation between employers and employees is most harmonious, owing to the justice and consideration on the part of the former, which awakens the good will and respect of the latter.
While John M. Gaar is at the head of one of the leading foundry enterprises of the world, his efforts have been by no means confined to one line of endeavor. It would be difficult to imagine what the business life of Richmond would be without his guiding hand, his wise counsel and his financial assistance. He is now president of the Second National Bank, of the city, president of the F. & N. Lawn Mower Company, and president of the Richmond Natural Gas Company, and has been a most potent factor in the success which has attended these various enterprises. In addition, he has engaged in stock raising on a large scale and has managed an extensive farm. Thus has he been prominently connected with the agricultural, industrial and commercial interests of the city, and is none the less prominent in social circles. He is a valued member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Masonic fraternity, and his genial, unassuming manner has gained him the sincere friendship of many of the representatives of these lodges. His early political support was given the Democratic party, but on the organization of the Republican party he joined its ranks, and has since been one of the stalwart advocates of its principles.
    On the 20th of January, 1845, Mr. Gaar was united in marriage to Miss Hannah A. Rattray, who died June 6, 1849, leaving a daughter, H. A., who is now the wife of Joseph B. Craighead, vice president of the Gaar, Scott & Company's Works. On the 16th of September, 1S65, Mr. Gaar was again married, his second union being with Helen M. Rattray, who was born March 2, 1840. Three children were born of this union: William W., a resident of Richmond; Jennie, wife of W. B. Leeds, of Chicago, the president of the American Tin Plate Company, of Elwood, Indiana; and John M., Jr., deceased.
For seventy six years Mr. Gaar has been a resident of Wayne county, and has long been accounted one   of the most prominent  and   progressive citizens of Richmond. He may well be termed one of the founders of the city, for he has been the promoter of many of the leading business interests, and the history of Richmond, as of that of all other modern cities, is largely the history of commercial activity. He has earned for himself an enviable reputation as a careful man of business, always known for his prompt and honorable methods of dealing, which have won him the deserved and unbounded confidence of his fellow men.

JONAS   GAAR

    Numbered among the younger business men of Richmond is Jonas Gaar, whose whole life, save the time spent in the east, at college, has been passed in this flourishing little city. The eldest son of Fielding and Mary J. (Galla­gher) Gaar, he was born in Richmond, on the 22d of January, 1867. After completing his education in the public schools of this place, he matriculated in Cornell University, where he passed two years in earnest study, qualifying himself for the more serious duties of life.
    In 1886 our subject returned home, where he was offered the position of assistant postmaster, and, accepting the place, served under J. F. Eldor, until 1890, making an efficient and popular official. He then became interested in the firm of Pogue, Miller & Company, buying a share in the business. This well known hardware house was established in 1880 by Charles H. Pogue and George W. Miller, both of Richmond, the firm name being Pogue & Miller until Mr. Gaar was admitted to the partnership. In 1893 Mr. Pogue retired from the business, and Mr. Gaar acquired a half interest, though the old style of the firm remains as formerly. The location of their store is on Fort Wayne avenue, and by judicious management their trade, which is exclusively wholesale, is growing steadily, year by year. Mr. Gaar possesses marked business ability, and it is safe to predict for him a successful and useful future.
    On the 23d of October, 1889, Mr. Gaar married Fanny C. Pogue, daughter of A. L. Pogue, a prominent and influential citizen of Richmond. Two interesting children bless the home of our subject and his estimable wife: Mary Frances, born July 2, 1890, and Americus Fielding, born July 17, 1894. The family reside in a beautiful home in the most desirable portion of east Main street, and are surrounded by all of the comforts and many of the luxuries that denote refined and cultured tastes.

SAMUEL W.   GAAR

    The well known cashier of the Second National Bank is Samuel W. Gaar, a son of Abram  and Agnes (Adams) Gaar. He was born in Richmond, March 3, 1863, and having acquired a good literary education in the public schools pursued a course in the Richmond Business College, in which he was graduated in the class of 1884.
    Thus prepared for the practical and responsible duties of life, Samuel W. Gaar entered upon his business career as bookkeeper in the Second National Bank, in which capacity he acceptably served for ten years. He was then promoted to the place of assistant cashier, in 1895, and in 1897 was made cashier, in which capacity he is now serving. He is also a stockholder and a member of the directorate, and has contributed to the success of the institution, which has the reputation of being one of the most reliable banking houses in this section of the state. He is also a stockholder in the extensive manufacturing business conducted by Gaar, Scott & Company.
    On the 24th of December, 1885, was celebrated the marriage of Samuel W. Gaar and Miss Mary E. Matthews, a daughter of Edward R. and Rachel Matthews, of Richmond. They have one child, Mildred E. They enjoy the hospitality of the best homes of the city, and their friends in the community are many. Mr. Gaar is quite prominent and widely known in Masonic circles, holding membership with Webb Lodge, No. 24, A. F. & A. M.; King Solomon Chapter, R. A. M., and Richmond Commandery, K. T. He also belongs to J. N. S. Council, Royal Arcanum. He exercises his right of franchisee in support of the men and measures of the Republican party, but for himself has never sought nor desired the honors or emoluments of public office, preferring to devote his energies to his business interests. He is a worthy representative of one of the prominent families that has figured conspicuously in the history of the county from the time of its earliest pioneer development down to the present, with its wonderful commercial and industrial advancement.

TIMOTHY HARRISON

    Timothy Harrison, deceased, for many years a leading promoter of commercial and industrial interests in Wayne county, was born May 10, 1832, in Yorkshire, England, a son of Timothy and Mary (Smith) Harrison. The family is one of the old and eminently respectable families of Yorkshire, and historians have no difficulty in tracing the genealogy back to the time when Charles I. was on the throne of England. Strong intellectuality has ever been one of the marked characteristics of the Harrisons, and many prominent representatives of the name have left the impress of their individuality upon the public life of both America and England. Among these are William Henry Harrison, Benjamin Harrison and Carter H. Har­rison. In England the family largely followed mechanical pursuits and were extensively engaged in the construction of locomotives.
    The life record of Timothy Harrison is one which added new luster to a name already bright, for he manifested not only excellent business ability but also the higher traits of character which everywhere command respect and admiration. His mother died when he was only ten years of age, his father when he was eighteen. He was largely reared by his sister Rebecca, and when seventeen years of age completed his literary education at Rugby, one of the most famous preparatory schools of the world. He was fortunate in pursuing  his  studies under the superintendence of the celebrated Dr. Thomas Arnold, and his marked intellectuality and literary culture well fitted him for responsible duties in life. He could speak seven different languages, and his scholarly tastes and habits remained with him throughout life, enriching his thought and broadening his mental vision. In accordance with the laws of his native land requiring that all boys should learn a trade, he served a seven years apprenticeship at mechanical engineering, completing his term in the Leeds Locomotive Works. A natural predilection for mechanics led him into the field of endeavor and he became an expert workman.
    In 1856, in company with his aunt, Rachel Smith, he emigrated to the United States, and making his way westward finally located in Newcastle, Henry county, Indiana, where he was engaged in the dry goods trade for a short time. Subsequently he purchased a woolen mill at Raysville, Henry county, operating the same on an extensive scale and meeting with excellent success. He continued in that line of business until 1S60, and at the same time was associated with Charles Hubbard in the ownership of a large general store at Knightstown, Mr. Hubbard acting as its manager. Mr. Harrison, however, continued a partner in that enterprise until his death, when his son, Thomas H., closed out the business. In 1859 Timothy Harrison removed to Richmond and became one of the principal stockholders in the Quaker Machine Works, in which he served as bookkeeper for four years. In 1872 he became one of the organizers and directors of the Ezra Smith Manufacturing Association, now doing business under the name of the Richmond Casket Works. It was capitalized for one hundred thousand dollars, with a paid-up capital of ninety six thousand dollars. Mr. Harrison continued to serve as bookkeeper in that industry until his death, which occurred March. 22, 1881, and his wise management and business ability contributed not a little to the success of the undertaking.
    Mr. Harrison was likewise prominent in church work and was a recognized leader in the Friends' meeting, serving for many years as clerk of the Whitewater meeting and as elder of the Indiana yearly meeting. He was an earnest, zealous and untiring worker in the cause of the Master, and in connection with William Tate organized a Sunday school for  the colored children of Richmond. They began with only a few scholars, but developed the school until it became the largest ever held in Richmond. He gave his support to all measures which he believed to be of public benefit, and exercised his right of franchise in support of the Republican party, in whose principles he firmly believed, although he took no active part in politics. He was a man of good judgment and sound financial ability; and that he had the unlimited confidence of his fellow men was shown by the fact that he was frequently chosen to settle up estates.
    Mr. Harrison was united in marriage, in 1858, to Miss Naomi W. Morgan, and to them were born the following children: Mrs. Mary E. Tits-worth, who was educated in the high school of Richmond and Westtown, and is now a resident of Chicago; Thomas H., whose sketch appears following this; Mrs. Susan R. Johnson, a graduate of Earlham College, now of Whittier, California; Elizabeth, who died in infancy; Anna R., who received a high school education and became a trained nurse in the Ann Arbor Medical hospital, where she became head nurse, and when she handed in her resignation in the spring of 1896 received the unanimous vote of the medical faculty to the place again; Timothy, who was educated in Earlham, married Pearl, daughter of Senator Landers, a prominent Democratic politician of Indianapolis, and is now buyer for the Stubbs Construction Company, Chicago, having previously, in 1893, served as manager for the Chicago Wrecking Company, which was engaged in wrecking buildings after great conflagrations; Miriam Alice, a graduate of Earlham, who pursued a post-graduate course of education in Bryn Mawr.
    Mr. Harrison was most devoted to his family and counted no effort or sacrifice too great that would enhance the welfare and happiness of his wife and children. He crossed the Atlantic ocean thirteen times, the first time after his arrival in America in 1858, when with his bride he went on a wedding tour to the land of his birth. In 1867 also he went abroad, accompanied by his wife and three of their children, visiting his brother, Thomas H. Harrison, who still resided in the mother country.
Mr. Harrison of this review long ranked among the foremost representatives of business and religious interests in Richmond, and his death was a sad loss to the community. His widow still resides in West Richmond, in a residence erected by Mr. Harrison soon after his arrival in this city, but which was remodeled, enlarged and improved in 1870. Like her husband she shares in the warm regard of his many friends, and is an earnest Christian lady.

THOMAS H. HARRISON

    In connection with industrial interests, the reputation of Thomas Henry  Harrison is not limited by the confines of Richmond, his name being well known in this connection in Chicago and many of the leading cities throughout the central section of our country. In studying the lives and characters of prominent men we are naturally led to inquire into the secret of their success and the motives that prompted their action. Success is oftener a matter of experience and sound judgment and thorough preparation for a life-work than it is of genius, however bright. When we trace the career of those whom the world acknowledges as successful, and of those who stand highest in public esteem, we find that in almost every case they are those who have risen gradually by their own efforts, their diligence and perseverance.    These qualities are undoubtedly possessed in a large measure by the gentleman whose name introduces this sketch, and who, by reason of his marked business ability, has recently been appointed manager for the Hazel Pure Food Company.
    Mr. Harrison, a son of Timothy Harrison, was born on Cedar Hill, at the corner of Main and West Seventh streets, Richmond, November 16, i860. He pursued his education in the old Whitewater Friends' school, in a district school taught by Mary Harris, an eminent educator and graduate of Vassar College, and later entered Earlham College, where he was graduated in the class of 1S80. He entered upon his business career as an architect and builder, and has since continued in that line of business. He erected the Richmond city hall in 1886, and also built a number of the dwellings in Richmond and Earlham Place. In 1885 he took the contract for the erection of the laboratory for Morrison, Plummer & Company, of Chicago; in 1887 superintended the construction of the water-works at Fort Smith, Arkansas, for A. L. Pogue; in 1888 he built Lindley Hall, of Earlham College; and in 1889 sent in an estimate for the building of the court-house at Richmond, but was not awarded the contract. He then went to Chicago, where he erected the Lakeside hospital; was the architect and superintendent of construction of the plant of the Chicago Wire & Spring Company, near Blue Island, and of Farquhar's furnace plant. He also superintended the construction of the Epworth and Columbia hotels, World's Fair enterprises, and remodeled a hotel in Buffalo and one on the Bowery in New York city. In connection with Mr. Campfield he erected the State Soldiers' Home at Lafayette, Indiana, in 1896, and has figured on contracts from Pittsburgh to Little Rock, Arkansas, and from the north to the south. In September, 1898, he accepted the position of manager for the Hazel Pure Food Company, having charge of their extensive plant, which is being erected and is owned by the well known firm of Siegel, Cooper & Company, of Chicago. He will have charge of the manufacturing department, a most responsible position, the duties of which, however, he is ably qualified to discharge.
In 1885 Mr. Harrison wedded Miss Claribel Barrett, of  Spring Valley, Ohio, a daughter of Isaac M. Barrett, an extensive  miller and pork packer, who has also served as state senator of Ohio.     Unto our subject and his wife have been born seven children, six of whom are living,   namely:    Isaac Merritt, Raymond T., Russell  Earl,   Carlos E., William  Henry and Thomas. The third son, Julian Paul, has passed away.
    In his political views Mr. Harrison is a stalwart Republican and takes a deep interest in the issues and questions of the day, at the same time laboring earnestly to promote the growth and insure the success of the party. His family have long been connected with the Society of Friends, and he is like qualities are undoubtedly possessed in a large measure by the gentleman whose name introduces this sketch, and who, by reason of his marked business ability, has recently been appointed manager for the Hazel Pure Food Company.
Mr. Harrison, a son of Timothy Harrison, was born on Cedar Hill, at the corner of Main and West Seventh streets, Richmond, November 16, i860. He pursued his education in the old Whitewater Friends' school, in a district school taught by Mary Harris, an eminent educator and graduate of Vassar College, and later entered Earlham College, where he was graduated in the class of 1S80. He entered upon his business career as an architect and builder, and has since continued in that line of business. He erected the Richmond city hall in 1886, and also built a number of the dwellings in Richmond and Earlham Place. In 1885 he took the contract for the erection of the laboratory for Morrison, Plummer & Company, of Chicago; in 1887 superintended the construction of the water-works at Fort Smith, Arkansas, for A. L. Pogue; in 1888 he built Lindley Hall, of Earlham College; and in 1889 sent in an estimate for the building of the court-house at Richmond, but was not awarded the contract. He then went to Chicago, where he erected the Lakeside hospital; was the architect and superintendent of construction of the plant of the Chicago Wire & Spring Company, near Blue Island, and of Farquhar's furnace plant. He also superintended the construction of the Epworth and Columbia hotels, World's Fair enterprises, and remodeled a hotel in Buffalo and one on the Bowery in New York city. In connection with Mr. Campfield he erected the State Soldiers' Home at Lafayette, Indiana, in 1896, and has figured on contracts from Pittsburgh to Little Rock, Arkansas, and from the north to the south. In September, 1898, he accepted the position of manager for the Hazel Pure Food Company, having charge of their extensive plant, which is being erected and is owned by the well known firm of Siegel, Cooper & Company, of Chicago. He will have charge of the manufacturing department, a most responsible position, the duties of which, however, he is ably qualified to discharge.
In 1885 Mr. Harrison wedded Miss Claribel Barrett, of  Spring Valley, Ohio, a daughter of Isaac M. Barrett, an extensive  miller and pork packer, who has also served as state senator of Ohio.     Unto our subject and his wife have been born seven children, six of whom are living,   namely:    Isaac Mer-ritt, Raymond T., Russell  Earl,   Carlos E., William  Henry and Thomas. The third son, Julian Paul, has passed away.
    In his political views Mr. Harrison is a stalwart Republican and takes a deep interest in the issues and questions of the day, at the same time laboring earnestly to promote the growth and insure the success of the party. His family have long been connected with the Society of Friends, and he is likewise connected therewith. For a time after his father's death he served as clerk of the Whitewater meeting. He is a man of commanding influence in the community and the county, and widely known and honored throughout the state as one who is always on the right side of all questions affecting moral and educational interests. He has attained prominence in business circles, while in private life no man in Richmond has more friends than he, and they have been won and are being retained by his attractive personality, his outspoken devotion to the best interests of the community and his mental ability, which is of a high order.

E.  R.   HASTINGS

The Hastings family, which is represented in Cambridge City, Wayne County, by the subject of this sketch, is one of the oldest in this section of Indiana. Aaron Hastings, the father of E. R. Hastings, was born near Richmond, Wayne county, in 1808, and the greater part of his life was spent within the county boundaries. He died at his home in Dublin, in 1889, mourned by a large circle of friends. His faithful, loving wife, whose maiden name had been Christina Reese, survived him a few years, dying in 1897, at the advanced age of eighty-four. She was a native of North Carolina, and her father, John Reese, was one of the early pioneers of Henry county, Indiana. He possessed considerable land there, and the original deed, signed by Andrew Jackson, now belongs to our subject, who recently transferred a portion of the old estate to other parties.
The birth, of E. R. Hastings occurred in 1835, m Henry county, Indiana, on the parental homestead, where his boyhood days were spent. His education was acquired in the common schools of the period, and was ¦supplemented by private reading and study. His early manhood was devoted to agriculture, and during the four years following 1868 he carried on a farm in Washington township, Wayne county. He then engaged in the mercantile business in Cambridge City, and still devotes himself to this enterprise.
 He 'is systematic and uses excellent judgment in the management of his affairs, endeavoring to meet the wishes of his patrons, and meriting the high reputation which he bears as a man of his word, just and reliable.
On the 3d of September, 1857, Mr. Hastings married Sarah E. Edgerton, a daughter of William Edgerton, of Richmond, Indiana. They have had five children, a son and four daughters, namely: William E., who is in the grocery business on Main street, Richmond, Indiana; Emma, wife of Walter Smith, of Memphis, Tennessee; Anna, wife of C. T. Wright, of this place; Eva, wife of Edward Paul; and Bertha, who is at home.

Benajah Hiatt

Benajah Hiatt, second son of Wm. Hiatt, was born in North Carolina, and was married to Elizabeth White.  In 1824 he removed to this county, and settled near Milton.  He was the first saddler in the township, and had a shop in a part of his dwelling.  After a few years, he devoted his attention wholly to farming.  He had 6 children, who settled in this county: 1. Naomi, wife of Elijah Coffin.  2. Mordecai, who married Rhoda Dicks, in N.C.; removed to Milton in 1827, commenced business as a saddler, and continued it about 25 years, when he removed to his farm near town, which he conducted about 16 years; and in 1868 removed to Richmond, where he now resides.  He had 9 children, besides 3 who died in infancy and childhood: Elizabeth D., wife of Samuel F. Fletcher, in Richmond. Benajah W., who married Martha Ann Wilson, and lives in Kansas.  Semina, wife of Dr. Wm. P. Waring, Richmond.  Martha W., wife of Joshua Moffitt, Thorntown, Ind.  Jesse D., who married Louisa Woodward, and moved to Springdale, Kansas.  Wm. J., who married Eliza Smith, of Indianapolis, and is a merchant in Richmond.  Francis Henry, unmarried; resides at Springville, Kansas.  3.  Anna, second daughter of Benajah Hiatt, married Eli Unthank; they live at Spiceland.  5.  Esther G., wife of Joseph Dickinson, both living and residing in Richmond.  6.  Hannah F., wife of Charles Dickinson, brother of Joseph and lives at Spiceland pg 328-329
Transcribed by Marji Turner 4/11/09

Eleazar Hiatt
 Eleazar Hiatt was born in Guilford Co., N. C. February 10, 1783.  He removed from Carolina about the year 1815, and after a residence of a few years in Ohio came to Richmond in the winter of 1818-19, and established a pottery, the first, probably, in the county.  He was an early justice of the peace, and in 1825 a member of the legislature.  After a residence of several years east of Richmond, he removed to Newport, and engaged in the mercantile business, about the year 1828. (?)  About 1838, he removed to a farm he had bought near Washington, in Clay townshi; thence to Chester.  He married, for his first wife, Anna Williams, from N. C.   Their children were: 1. Eliza, who married Jesse Reynolds, who died of a cancer on the tongue.  She married, second, Samuel Hadley, and lives in Morganville, Ind.  2. Jesse, formerly merchant in Milton, now in Dublin.  [See sketch, Washington township.]  3. Daniel W., son of Eleazar Hiatt, married, first, Melinda Mendenhall, and lives in Perry; second, Gulielma Sanders, of Ohio.  4.  Anna Maria, who married Isaac Votaw, of New Garden pg 420
 Transcribed by Marji Turner 4/11/09

Jesse Hiatt
 Jesse Hiatt, son of Eleazar Hiatt, came, when young, with his father, from North Carolina to Ohio in 1815, and thence to Richmond in the winter of 1818-19.  He was for about five years a clerk in the store of HIatt & Moore, in Milton, and in 1840, commenced trade for himself, and continued until 1860.  In 1861 he removed to Dublin, where he is still in business with his son, Wm. F., who married Frances M. Lawrence, daughter of Edmund Lawrence, formerly a county commissioner and a member of the legislature.  Charles E., who married Ella Pike, and is on a farm in Henry county, adjoining Jackson.  Frank F., at Earlham College, and Sarah Anna, aged 11 years. pg 329
Transcribed by Marji Turner 4/11/09

William Hiatt
William Hiatt, who remained in North Carolina, had 9 children who reached mature age, all of whom, except one, came to this county:  1. Prudence, wife of James Stanley, who settled in Ohio, both still living, aged about 92.  2.  Joel, who settled at Milton, about 1827.  His son, Allen, came in 1824 or 1825; was first a potter, afterward a merchant at Knightstown and at Anderson a few years, and for many years at Milton, of the firms of Moore & Hiatt, and Hopkins and HIatt.  Isom, another of his sons, removed west.  3.  Benajah, subject of the foregoing sketch.  4. Rachel, wife of Wm. Kersey, who settled south of Dublin, now in Washington township.  A son, Vierling Kersey, is a physician in Richmond.  Another son, also a physician, resides 3 miles east of Richmond, and is also a farmer.  5.  Silas, who married Anna Clary, and settled one mile southwest of Milton, and died at Milton.  6.  Isom, married, and lives in Ohio.  7. Esther, wife of Jesse Evans, both living 2 miles west of Richmond.  8.  Amor, who married Achsah Willis and lives in Hamilton county.  9.  Rebecca, wife of Wm. Unthank, Spiceland. pg 329 
 Transcribed by Marji Turner 4/11/09

ELIAS M.  HOOVER

Elias M. Hoover is recognized as one of the most public-spirited and patriotic citizens of Jefferson township, Wayne county. He is a strong believer in the better and more systematic education of the masses, in order that they may understand their duties and privileges as American citizens; and all other worthy public enterprises and reforms are championed by him.
Frederick Hoover, the paternal grandfather of our subject, was a native of Pennsylvania, whence he emigrated with his family to Liberty township, Henry county, Indiana. There he and his loved wife spent the rest of their days, living to an advanced age. They were the parents of twelve children, four sons and eight daughters, and of the entire household but three survive, namely: Christina, wife of John Easton, of Iowa; Mrs. Margaret Ulrich, of this township;  and Jacob, the father of  Elias M. Hoover.     The latter was born in the Keystone state, in 1826, and has lived principally in Indiana, for years having dwelt in this township, where he is sincerely honored. He is a minister in the German Baptist denomination, with which sect his family has long been associated. To himself and wife, whose maiden name was Sarah Rinehart, ten children were born, of whom the following named are living: Elias M., Abram, Jefferson, Samantha, Jennie, Horace, David and Frank. Mrs. Hoover is a daughter of Jacob Rinehart, who was a native of Maryland, but her birthplace was in Ohio.
Elias M. Hoover was born in Liberty township, Henry county, only a short distance from his present home, across the county line, May 25, 1852. In his boyhood he attended what was known as the Chicago school, in his native township, and later he was a student in Jefferson township. He has made agriculture his main business in life, and has been prospered in his various undertakings. He is affiliated with the Republican party and is not an office-seeker, but his fellow citizens, knowing well his earnest, systematic methods and his genuine desire to aid in every possible manner the public weal, elected him to the position of township trustee. They judged him rightly, for his influence has been materially felt in many directions, especially in the educational department of township affairs. Without an additional expenditure of money, he has so thoroughly systematized the local school management that marked improvement is noticeable in the equipment of schools, in the securing of better qualified teachers, in the increased duration of terms, and in other items equally important. The same careful attention which he directs upon his own private business concerns is exercised by him in his responsible office of trustee. Following in the footsteps of his ancestors, he is a worthy member of the German Baptist church.
In 1872 Mr. Hoover married Miss Louisa Kauffrnan, a daughter of Arnos Kauffman. The latter was a native of Pennsylvania, in which state his father died, and later the mother be- came the wife of Moses Myers, who removed to Indiana with his family. Mrs. Hoover was summoned to the silent land November 22, 1889, leaving two children, Flora and Hollace, to mourn her loss, a third child having died in infancy. Mrs. Hoover was a ¦devoted wife and mother, a kind neighbor and friend, and was actively interested in church work and in all kinds of helpful, Christian philanthropies.

SILAS HUDDLESTON

The Huddleston family is one of the oldest and most honored in the United States and England. Ancient documents and records, well authenticated and acknowledged, such as the " Peerage and Gentry of England," state that the Huddlestons come from the same stock as Rollo, the Danish pirate chief, who turned reformer and was the Duke of Normandy in 922, and that
 the Danish blood of Rollo and the Huddlestons has flowed through the veins of all the kings and queens who have reigned in England since the Norman conquest. The name, with its numerous forms, such as Hudeiston, Huddelson, Huddlestone, is derived from Hod or Hud (meaning head), this root being softened by the inflection "el or le" and ston (stone), and thus the entire word might be translated, " head-of-stone" or " headstone," or " head (farthest point) of the quarry." The family was located at Milum Castle, in Cumberlandshire, in the time of Rollo, and the genealogy there begins with Adam; John, son of Adam; Richard, son of John; Richard. son of Richard; and so on, down to the twelfth century, when more noted names appear, as: Nigel de Hudeiston; Sir Gilbert; Richard; Sir John, who was one of the great council that indited the celebrated letter to Pope Boniface VIII, in 1301; Richard; Sir John, and Richard. AH of those just mentioned held offices of honor, and were more or less prominent in public affairs of the kingdom. Christopher, a brother of the Richard last named, was associated with him in the wars in France in the beginning of the fourteenth century. - He spelled his surname Huddlestonne, and after his military career he married and settled in Paris, in 1421. Of his descendants in the direct line were Charles; Jean de lies, who was renowned and lived to the age of one hundred and seven years; Philo, a minister of the reformed church and cousin to Henry IV, of France; Martin, a very wealthy man; Cephas, who was disowned by the family for marrying a poor woman, and was, perhaps, the first of the line to earn his bread " by the sweat of his brow;" Stephen was put to death by the Roman Catholics; and Nathan, who met a similar fate at the hands of the same persecutors. Small wonder, then, that the two brothers of Nathan, mourning his loss and that of their father, and feeling their own lives insecure, determined to seek a home in the new land of religious toleration, America. These brothers, William and Eli, came to these hospitable shores in 1758, bringing with them the fatherless children of Nathan, and from them are descended the many branches of the family in this country.
David Huddleston, the father of the subject of this sketch, was a native of North Carolina, and was one of the pioneers of Union county, Indiana. He  married  Elizabeth  Powell, a  native of Tennessee,  and  most  of their wedded life was happily spent on a farm in Union county, whence they removed to Wayne county in 1868. He died at the age of eighty-nine years,  on the   1st of October, 1890, and was followed  to  the silent land about a year later by his devoted wife, whose death took place December 16, 1891,-when she was in her eighty-fifth year.
Silas Huddleston was born May I, 1828, in Union county, and is the eldest of eight children. The others are as follows:   Eliza, widow of Henry Pickett; Aaron, a resident of California; Martha, wife of Aquilla Binford, of Boone county, Indiana; Enos, who died in California; Benjamin F., of Seattle, Washington; Lucinda, wife of James Coffin, of Hancock, Indiana; and Elwood, deceased.
The early years of Silas Huddleston were filled with hard work, as his father needed assistance in the clearing and development of his frontier farm, and it was only in the winter season that the lad attended school. Reared to the life of a farmer, he continued to follow pastoral pursuits, and in 1866 he came to his present home, on the outskirts of Dublin, Wayne county. Here he purchased a tract of land, of which he has sold sixteen building lots to citizens of the town, and still retains three acres. He is engaged in the cultivation of small fruits and vegetables, has a model garden and pleasant home, and the neat and thrifty appearance of everything about his grounds bespeaks the constant, careful attention of the owner.
Silas Huddleston and his estimable wife celebrated their golden wedding on the 10th of May, 1899, on which occasion the children, grandchildren and many other friends and relatives were in attendance. It was a happy gathering and one that will long be remembered. Mrs. Huddleston is the youngest daughter of Alexander and Hannah DuBois, natives of New Jersey and Ohio, respectively, the father born May 24, 1783, and the mother, October 23, 1786. They lived in the Buckeye state at a time when it was, in the main, a vast wilderness, and in 1840 they removed to the neighborhood of Salem, Union county, Indiana, where the father died at the age of eighty-six years. Ten of their children lived to maturity, namely: John, born.July 23, 1807; Charlotte, February 10, 1810; Isaac, March 20, 1812; Jane, April 28, 1814; Isaiah, October 23, 18 [6; Katherine, November 12, 1818; Hannah, March 29, 18.21;. Lydia, March 1, 1823; Alexander, September 17, 1826; and Emily Ann (Mrs. Huddleston), January 16, 1829.
The children who bless the union of our worthy subject and wife are Hiram, a dentist, of Maryville, Tennessee; Albert, a physician, of Winchester, Randolph county, Indiana; and Rosetta, wife of Charles R. Hill, of Maineville, Ohio. Dr. Albert Huddleston is connected with several public enterprises in Winchester, and is a member of the board of health and the board of the Orphans' Home. Our subject is a,member and a strong sup¬porter of the Friends church. He is genial and social in temperament and possesses the high regard of all who know him.

WILLIAM  H.  H. MIDDLETON

Soon afire the close of the civil war. in 1866. Mr. Middleton settled in Richmond, Indiana, where he has since continued to dwell. During the great and dreadful struggle between the north and the south he had done all within his power in support of the Union, devoting several of the best years ¦of his manhood to his country. He has always been a loyal patriot, in time of peace as well as of war, faithful to the principle of the " greatest good to tithe greatest number."
A son of Joseph and Mariana (Moon) Middleton, the subject of this narrative was born on the old homestead near Hurveysburg, Warren county, Ohio. August 24, 1840. His father, a millwright by trade, traced his ancestry to Arthur Middleton, one of the signers of the Declaration of Independence. William received an ordinary public-school education and when the war of the Rebellion came on he was anxious to go to the front with the first troops. Enlisting in Company B, Fortieth Ohio Volunteer Infantry, September 17, 1861, he took the place assigned him in the ranks of the private soldiers. Soon afterward he suffered a severe siege of illness, and when convalescent resumed his service for the government in the dispensary at Nashville, Tennessee, and remained there until the war closed.
The following year he embarked in the building and contracting business in Richmond and later became connected with the planing-mill company here. In time he was promoted to be foreman of the plant of Cain & Son. and subsequently he engaged in business on his own account. Politically he is a Republican and has served most efficiently as a member of the city council, but has preferred to leave public honors to others. In the Masonic order he has received the chapter degrees and stands deservedly well in the estimation of all.
On the 24th of December, 1873, Mr. Middleton married Miss Susanna Mulloy, who had been successfully occupied in teaching in the public schools of Richmond for several years, a lady of refinement and excellent education. They have a very pleasant and attractive home at Earlham Place and enjoy a large and representative acquaintanceship. They have four children: Walter Guy, a graduate of Earlham College; Joseph Burke, Elizabeth Alice and Donald Rich, students in the high school.
Dr. David Mulloy, the father of Mrs. Middleton, was a successful physician, with a most promising future, when, in 1854, he was stricken by the hand of death. He was a son of Thomas and Susanna (Morton) Mulloy and was born at Mount Hygiene, Clermont county, Ohio, in 1824, the oldest of five children. He was reared in his native county, and after leaving the common schools he graduated in Parker's Academy, and soon afterward entered the Ohio Medical College, at Cincinnati, and in due time received his diploma. Subsequently he located in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, and was there during the fearful cholera epidemic. His last years were spent in the neighborhood of St. Louis, where he had built up a large practice ere his early demise. He had married Elizabeth Burke and had three children, of whom Mrs. Middleton is now the only survivor.
Hugh Mulloy was born in Albany, New York, in 1751, a descendant of ancestors who came from the north of Ireland and were of Scotch-Irish parentage. When a boy he emigrated to what was then the province of Maine, and lived in Brunswick and Georgetown. In the latter place, in May, 1776, while home on a furlough from the Continental army, he married Priscilla Thompson, daughter of Benjamin Thompson. When the news of the battle of Bunker Hill was received, he, with other patriots from his locality, in 1775, started for Boston and at once enlisted as a private in the army at Cambridge. In April following he was promoted corporal, in June following to the position of sergeant, and November 6, 1776, was commissioned ensign, in the company of which George White was captain. His commission was issued at Boston, by order of congress, and signed by John Hancock, president. In May, 1778, he was promoted again, this time to the rank of first lieutenant. He had engaged in the battle of Ticonderoga, in May, 1777, in the battle of Hubbardstone, both battles of Saratoga (Stillwater), and witnessed the surrender of Burgoyne, October 17, 1777. He also had been in several skirmishes, in one of which he was wounded twice severely, one of the wounds proving so troublesome as to incapacitate him from active duty, and he was honorably discharged from the service, his dis¬charge being written on the back of his commission, in the handwriting of General Washington. This paper, which was on rile in the pension department at Washington, was destroyed in 18 14 by the British when they sacked the town. Lieutenant Mulloy enjoyed a personal acquaintance with both Washington and Lafayette. He was initiated into the mysteries of Freemasonry in Washington's tent, and was secretary of the lodge that existed in the army.
Immediately after his discharge from the army he moved with his family to Monmouth, Maine, where he was among the first settlers. He held several positions of trust in the plantation, among them that of plantation clerk. It was subsequently found that the land upon which he had settled belonged to General Dearborn, who then bought out his improvements, giving him a note in payment.
Upon selling out his interest in Monmouth, Mr. Mulloy settled in Litchfield upon land now owned by Warren R. Buker, by the side of Pleasant Pond, where he made his home for more than thirty years. He was frequently moderator of the town meetings and also a member of the school board and took a lively interest in education. In 18 17 he moved to a point near Williamsburg, Clermont county, Ohio, where he ever after made his home until his decease, July 11, 1845. At the time of his death he was the last commissioned officer of the regular Continental army, and as such his portrait was painted by Frankenstein, the celebrated artist.
One of Lieutenant Mulloy's sons, David, born in 1779, married Mary Stevens and lived in Litchfield until 1817, when he moved to Ohio and shortly afterward to the distant Oregon, where he was lost trace of. One of David's   daughters,   Mary, widow  of   Elisha   Burgess, has  recently  died, in Caribou, Maine, at an advanced age. Another daughter, Lucinda, married Elijah Closson, and has a daughter living in Augusta, Maine, now Mrs. Charles Bennett. John, the second son of Hugh, was born August 27, 1783, and died in 1807. James, the third son, was born in 17SS and died in his youth. Thomas, the fourth son, moved to Ohio with his father and was a prosperous farmer, who died leaving a large number of respectable descendants.
Of the daughters of Hugh Mulloy, Abigail, the eldest, was born in 1781, married first David Colson and lived in Bath, and secondly Jeremiah Norton, who was a resident of Webster, Maine. One of her children was James M. Colson, who for so many years, until his death, was an honored and respected citizen of Gardiner, was lieutenant of Company C, Third Maine, and for many years city marshal of Gardiner. Catherine, the second daughter, born in 1786, married Samuel Herrick and moved to Ohio. After his decease she married William Bowler and lived in Indiana. Hannah, the third daughter, born July 3, 1790, married Hon. Ebenezer Herrick, then residing at Bowdoinham. Mr. Herrick was a school-teacher and the first principal of Monmouth Academy. He was a representative to the general court of Massachusetts and a member of the constitutional convention in Portland in 1819, from Bowdoinham. Soon afterward he moved to Lewiston, where he was for so many years a resident. From 1821 to 1827 he was a member of congress from Lewiston district and subsequently a member of the Maine senate. One of his sons, Anson, was a prominent editor and a member of congress from New York city. Another son is Hugh Mulloy Herrick, now editor of the Hackensack Republican, at Hackensack, New Jersey. Priscilla. the fourth daughter, married a neighbor's son, Benjamin Ring, of Litchfield. He was a merchant in Hallowell, Maine, and while returning with a vessel of goods from Boston in the fall of 1814. the vessel and all on board were lost. In 1815 Mrs. Ring moved to Clermont county, Ohio, married Rev. Daniel Parker, and with her husband and son was instrumental in founding Clermont Academy, one of the leading educational institutions in Ohio. Martha. the fifth and last daughter, was born in 1796, went to Ohio with her father, became the wife of William Sherwin, and while living in Ohio was a near neighbor to and an intimate acquaintance of the family of Jesse R. Grant at the time of the birth of Ulysses S., who became the most noted hero of the world.

JOSIAH   REYNOLDS

Josiah Reynolds, of Dublin, Wayne county, is a citizen of worth and integrity, and for a quarter of a century he has been identified with the interests of this place. His parents, Daniel and Margaret (Morris) Reynolds, were born in the same year, 1805; the former died in 1889 and the latter in 1879. Mr. Reynolds was a man of prominence in his community, and for years was prominently and intimately connected with the development and prosperity of Dudley township, Henry county, Indiana. For several terms he served as township trustee and in other local offices, and for years elections were held at his house, while he was living on a farm.
Josiah Reynolds, born September 29, 1838, near Hopewell, Henry county, is one of eleven children, six of whom are living. In the order of birth they were named as follows: Mary, Milton, Morris, Thomas, Phoebe, Josiah, Anna, Benjamin, Henry, Isaac and Martha. Four of the sons, Milton, Thomas, Henry and Isaac, ware volunteers in the civil war. Thomas and Henry died while in the service; Milton is now a resident of Rocky Ford, Colorado; and Isaac went to the Indian Territory after the war and subsequently lived in Kansas, where he died.
The early years of our subject passed uneventfully upon the old homestead, until he reached his majority, when he was married. At one time he was engaged in carrying on a mercantile business in Dublin, but not finding it a profitable undertaking he later operated a sawmill, with better financial success. Then he turned his energies to the real-estate and insurance business, and now represents the following companies: the Northwestern Mutual Life; the Home, of New York; the Phoenix, of Brooklyn; and various accident companies. In 1875 he was elected to the office of justice of the peace, but declined to serve; was appointed notary public in 1890, and is still acting in that capacity, and has filled the position of township assessor several terms. Politically he is an ally of the Republican party.
On the 20th of June, 1859, there was performed a marriage ceremony by which the destinies of Josiah Reynolds and Lucretia Macy, a daughter of James and Anna Macy, were united. Their son and only child, Will H. Reynolds, went to the Pacific slope a few years ago, and has since been actively engaged in various enterprises there. In 1890 he located in Seattle, Washington; two years ago proved some important mining claims; built the first hotel in Cascade City, British Columbia, where twelve others are being carried on at present, and has extended his business investments to Spokane, San Juan de Fuca and other points. He is now in British Columbia, and is prospering in his numerous enterprises. He possesses the qualities which rarely fail to bring success, and a promising future is opening before him.

WILLIAM A. ROTH

One of the oldest merchants of Cambridge City, in years of active business enterprise, is William A. Roth, a prominent and much esteemed citizen. He recently passed the half-century mark, as his birth took place on the 23d of September, 1848. His honored parents, Eli and Mary A. (Hoover) Roth, are both living, their home being in Cambridge City.
William A. Roth, who is the only child of Eli and Mary A. Roth, was born in Wayne county, and received good educational advantages in the public schools. In 1871 he embarked in independent business, becoming a member of the firm of Hoover, Roth & Company. For. some time he was extensively engaged in the lumber business, after which he became interested in the grain business, in the firm of Shultz, Roth & Company, which later became W. A. Roth & Company.  He was one of the first to embark in the grain business in this city, and has built up a large and remunerative trade. He was one of the original projectors of the direct acting steam or compressed air shears, for cutting sheet metal, which device is justly considered the best of the kind in use in the United States. In 1893 he went to Chattanooga, Tennessee, where he engaged in the real-estate business for some time, but, returning to the north, where commercial matters are carried on in a much more business-like manner, he has continued his transactions in grain, and has prospered. Mr. Roth takes commendable interest in all public affairs and uses his franchise in favor of the nominees of the Democratic party. Fraternally he is associated with Cambridge City Lodge, No. 5, Free & Accepted Masons, and belongs to the Knights of Pythias, being trustee of the lodge building at the present time. In 1878 Mr. Roth was united in marriage with Miss Viola M. Kimmel, a daughter of Joseph and Amanda (Worman) Kimmel, who were of German extraction.
Upright and just in all his business relations, Mr. Roth has won the confidence and high regard of all who know him. He holds the word as sacred as his bond, and never takes an undue advantage of another. Kindliness and genuine courtesy are among his marked characteristics and have contributed to his success.

GEORGE WASHINGTON CONRAD

CONRAD, George Washington Bryant, lawyer with Penn. R. R. System; born at Xenia, Ohio, June 22, 1867; son of Thomas A. and Elizabeth (Jackson) Conrad; attended public schools, Xenia; took course in business college at Richmond, Ind.; preparatory edn. Oberlin College, O.; LL.B., Univ. of Mich., 1902; married Beatrice A. Cox, of Walnut Hills, Cincinnati, O., June 8, 1910; 1 child: Elizabeth. Began with Pennsylvania Railroad System at Richmond, Ind., when 15 years of age; was stenographer and telegraph operator, 1882-95; private secretary to Col. J. F. Miller, vice-pres. Penn. R. R. and U. S. Commissioner at Louisiana Purchase Exposition, St. Louis, Mo., 1903-4; now with Claim Department and assistant in Law Dept. of the System at Richmond. Republican. Catholic. Member Crispus Attucks Loyal League. Home: 22 N. 22d St. Office: Union Station, Richmond, Ind.
Source: Who's Who Of The Colored Race, by Frank Lincoln Mather, Detroit, 1915 - Transcribed by C. Anthony

John O. Austin


John O. Austin is a native of Montgomery Co., Md., born March 29, 1807, a son of Thomas and Elizabeth (Offord) Austin. His parents moved to the District of Columbia when he was quite young, and kept s hotel in Georgetown. When he was ten years of age they moved to the Shenandoah Valley, where he grew to manhood. They afterward moved to Hamilton County,Ohio, where the father died in 1829. Of ten children, John 0. and a sister living in Union Co., Ind., are the only ones living. John O. Austin learned the shoemaker's trade when a young man, at which he worked over forty years. I n 1830 he moved to Richmond, remaining there till 1834. In 1832 he subscribed for the Palladium. While in Richmond he clerked in the dry-goods store of Theo. Sittle. In 1835 he went to Liberty, Union County, and soon after married Amy Rose, a native of Indiana, born in 1814, and a daughter of Abraham Rose. He located in Liberty, working at his trade in connection with farming. In the fall of 1871 he came to Wayne County, and bought the farm known as the Jacob Brooks farm, consisting of 105 acres of fine land with good farm bnildings. At present he lives rather a retired life, renting his farm to his sons. Mr. and Mrs. Austin are members of the Congregational church.
Their children are five in number, Warren B., John R., Catherine (wife of P. S. Sutton), Brushrod W., and Garrie D., the latter deceased.
History Of  Wayne County, Indiana Vol 1, 1884     Contributed by  Brenda Wiesner

John N. Black


John N. Black, farmer, Centre Township, was born March 9, 1834, a son of Robert and Julia Ann (Jackson) Black. Robert Black was a native of Kentucky, and came with his father, James Black, to Wayne County, Ind., in 1813, settling three miles southwest of Richmond. He was married in 1824, and settled on a farm two and one-half miles southwest of Centreville, which he entered, and where his family of six boys and two girls were born, and where he died in 1838, while his children were yet small, leaving his young wife dependent upon her good judgment aud energy to raise them. She died in 1883 at the age of eighty years. John N. Black remained with his mother till his marriage. He then engaged in farming for himself on the farm where he was born, and of which he now owns 140 acres, most of it under cultivation.
He was married in 1857 to Julia Ann Kitterman, daughter of Philip and Salome Kitterman. They have three children, Mary C., wife of W. H. Petty; Joseph S. and Ida Belle. Mr. Black wao initiated in Hoosier Lodge, No. 23, I. O. O.F., April 3, 1880, and of which he is still a member of good standing.
History of Wayne County Indiana Vol. 1, 1884     Contributed by  Brenda Wiesner

Joseph W. Black

Joseph W. Black is a native of Center Township, born Nov.16,1836, a son of Robert and Julia Ann (Jackson) Black, and a cousin of Captain Caleb and Joseph W. Jackson. He was reared on a farm receiving his education in the common schools. Being early instructed in the different phases of farm life, he chose that as his occupation, and has been very successful, owning 110 acres of land, mostly improved, with good farm buildings. He was married in 1866 to Hannah Lamott, daughter of Joshua Lamott, one of the oldest residents of Washington Township. They have a family of eight children, Monroe M., Joseph W., Joshua R., Charles F., Walter, Freeman, Flora A. and Sadie E.
History of Wayne County Ind, Vol 1, 1884    Contributed by  Brenda Wiesner

Henry C. Leeson
 

Henry C. Leeson, grocer, Centreville, was born Aug. 5, 1841, near Jacksonburg, Wayne Co., Ind. ; lived there until the year 1857, when he went to Dublin, being influenced by the high grade to which the public schools had been raised, and was a pupil during four terms. During vacation he was always found in some employment or other endeavoring to make the expenses of his parents in his education as light as possible. During the winter of 1860 and '61 he tried his hand in learning the young ideas how to shoot. Was successful to a remarkable extent, it being his first effort. When Fort Sumtner was fired upon then everything personal was forgotten. All aspirations for the future were dropped and nothing could be done; but, being a minor, was prevented from enlisting immediately. He responded to the second call of Lincoln and enlisted Aug. 20, 1861, as private, in Company C, Eighth Indiana Infantry, serving three years, not having received a furlough during the time, and, with the exception of two short spells of sickness, was always ready for duty. He was discharged as Second Sergeant having been in all the battles that the regiment was engaged in, Pea Ridge, Mo., Raymond, Champion Hills, Jackson, Miss., siege or Vicksburg and many others. It may not be out of place to say that there are not many regiments that saw the services of the Eighth. After returning home he took a thorough course in the Miami Commercial College of Dayton, Ohio. In 1866 he assisted his father in the office of the Clerk of Wayne Circuit Court. In 1867 he purchased the grocery stock of the estate of Levi Fox. His father, Moses D. Leeson, was born in Harrison Township, Wayne Co., Ind., Nov. 16, 1818. Having; received a fair education at the common schools of the day, he taught school with great success until 1849, when he purchased a stock of goods in Jacksonburg, where he conducted a large business, continuing in Jacksonburg until 1857, when he moved to Dublin, superintending the business of J. & C. A. Leeson until 1862.
When the call for more troops by Lincoln was made he enlisted in the Fifth Indiana Cavalry and served to the close of the war, a faithful soldier and a beloved officer. He received four promotions, entering as a Lieutenant and rising to the position of Major. He was a bold and fearless officer, leaving a good record. In 1866 he was appointed Clerk of Wayne Circuit Court to fill vacancy caused by the death of Samuel B. Slagle, serving until the election of his successor. Retiring from oftice he remained with his son, our subject, in the store until August, 1877, when he was stricken with paralysis, lingering helpless for six years and five months, dying on the 19th day of January, 1884. His wife mas Elizabeth Mundell, a native of Peru, mother of five children: three of whom still survive. Richard Leeson, the grandfather of Henry C. Leeson, was a native of Kentucky, emigrating to Wayne County in about the year 1814, settling near Jacksonburg.
He was a tanner by trade and carried on in connection with the tannery a farm of 300 acres. He was a soldier in what was known as the Ohio Militia, under General Wingate. He raised a family of eleven children, of whom Moses D. Leeson is the first to break the band.
History of Wayne County Indiana Vol. 1, 1884     Contributed by  Brenda Wiesner

   John Wesley Cook

 JOHN WESLEY COOK, the progressive owner of Clover Hill Farm, in Wayne township, Wayne county, is respected and highly esteemed by all who know him. His history, in brief, is the history of a man who has conquered unusual difficulties and has faithfully discharged all duties assigned him and held inviolate every trust reposed in him. Such men deserve fortune and are entirely worthy of honor and position, yet they are usually found pursuing the even tenor of their way, undisturbed by thought of prominence; and thus it is with our subject. As a voter he is a Republican, but he has never been an aspirant for public office, as indeed, his time is fully occupied by his business cares.
    The old house in which our subject was born, September 30, 1860, and in which he is still living, was built by his grandfather, Seth Cook, who settled on this tract of land ove r eighty years ago, and here spent the remainder of his life. The parents of John W. were Elijah and Rachel M. (CRAMPTON) COOK, the former now deceased and the latter still living at the old homestead, with our subject. Elijah Cook stayed on the home farm after he attained his majority, and for a period was in partnership with John C. Boyd in the manufacture of lime at Middleboro. Shortly before his father’s death he returned to the farm and took charge of affairs and tenderly cared for his widowed mother, who was an invalid for many years and survived her son, her death occurring when she was eighty-eight years of age.  Elijah Cook bought more land as the years passed, and thus enlarged the boundaries of the homestead, making it a place of two hundred and twenty acres. He was energetic and enterprising in his business methods, and had he lived a few years longer, to carry out his plans, would have been a rich man, comparatively speaking. He was one of the first in this section of the Union to become interested in the breeding of fine Poland-China hogs, and exhibited excellent specimens of the stock, in competition with others, at county fairs. Death closed his busy career July 17, 1877, when he was in his fifty-fourth year.
    When John W. Cook, a youth of about seventeen, succeeded his father on the farm he found before him a task which seemed almost an impossible one to perform.  Upward of four thousand dollars must be paid to his grandmother’s heirs and to the heirs of his father ere the property could be really his, and in accordance with the will of Elijah Cook, the young man must not shirk the responsibility. At first he deemed it best to work but a part of the farm himself and to allow his brother-in-law to operate the main homestead. One season, however, convinced the youth that this plan was not a good one, and that he had better undertake the task of managing the whole place, single-handed. Desiring above all things to be perfectly just and upright, he was now deeply troubled about the verbal agreement into which he had entered with his sister’s husband. An opportunity, however, presented itself for declaring the whole arrangement at an end, when the other party in the affair refused to stand by his agreement in the matter of a division of a crop, and decided that the lion’s share must fall to him. John W. then asserted his rights and entered upon the great task of his life in earnest – the payment of the indebtedness on the farm. Though friends discouraged him at the outset, he persevered in this noble intention, and, aided by the faith and cooperation of his devoted mother, met the payments one by one as they fell due. He denied h imself everything but the barest necessaries of life in order to do this, and worked early and late. The farm was sadly in need of improvements, and an outlay of several hundred dollars was imperative, and this, too, he accomplished. Several years ago he reached the goal of his ambition, and the farm, unencumbered, became his. For the past twelve years he has been engaged in the raising of Poland-China hogs, of which he makes a specialty, and at present he has about one hundred thoroughbreds. At various county fairs he has taken the prizes on hogs, and at the Ohio state fair he was awarded the first premium and sweepstakes, even with strong competitors. About ten years ago he commenced the raising of shorthorn cattle, and in this, too, he has met with success.  He sells stock extensively and ships to distant states. Well built barns are on his premises, these being especially constructed to accommodate his livestock in the winter season. For three years he has been a stockholder and director in the Ohio Poland-China Records Association.
    Mr. Cook is a member of the Friends’ church at Smyrna, Indiana, and patterns his life upon the upright, peace-loving principles of that denomination. On the 10th of September, 1886, Mr. Cook married Miss Anna M. RICHEY, formerly a teacher. Her father, L. W. Richey, was a merchant and a justice of the peace in New Paris, Ohio, for many years. Three children grace the home of Mr. and Mrs. Cook, namely: Frank Elijah, born December 21, 1888; Bessie R., born February 24, 1891; and John Carl, born February 9, 1898.
Page 682      COOK, CRAMPTON, RICHEY
Biographical and Genealogical History of Wayne, Fayette, Union, & Franklin counties of Indiana.

WILLIAM H. COOK
 
Numbered among the most enterprising businessmen of Richmond, Wayne county, is WILLIAM H. COOK, whose whole life, since he was a child, has been spent in this immediate vicinity. A native of Preble county, Ohio, born May 9, 1843, he received his education in the public schools of Wayne township, this county, and finished his studies in the high school. Remaining at home until he reached his majority, he then engaged in farming and other pursuits on his own account. For some eight years he made a good income from the burning of lime near Cox’s Mills, north of Richmond. Subsequently, he was one of the leading dairymen in the neighborhood of Richmond, and during a period of about twelve years was prominent among those occupied in this line of business in the county. A few years ago he became financially interested in the milling business, and in partnersh ip with J. C. Boyd, under the firm name of Cook & Boyd, he has operated the old Cox Mill, previously mentioned. Having met with gratifying success in his business ventures thus far, Mr. Cook embarked in a totally different enterprise in 1893 when, with Messrs. Wood & Swegman, he established a cold-storage business on South Fifth street, Richmond, the style of the firm bring cook & Company. .This, too, has been a success, in every point of view, and no little credit is due Mr. Cook for the sound business sense and foresight that marks all of his investments and transactions. Since he attained his majority he has been more or less engaged in buying and selling livestock, shipping to the city markets. Thus is may be seen that his life has been a very active and busy one, that he has not deemed it prudent to risk everything upon one venture and that his branching out into new lines of business has been very beneficial in a generally way, to the local public. In politics he uses his ballot in favor of Republican nominees and principles.
In tracing the ancestry of William H. Cook we find that he is a grandson of Seth and Ruth (COOK) COOK (distant relatives), and that they were natives of South Carolina. At an early day they removed to Warren county, Ohio, and in July, 1825, they became residents of Wayne county, Indiana. Settling upon an 80 acre tract of land which he bought, it being situation four miles northeast of Richmond, Mr. Cook gradually increased the size of his farm and purchased others, until he owned several hundred acres.  A fine businessman and financier, he was of great benefit to the railroad then being constructed from Dayton to Indianapolis, and by personal work and effort he secured large subscriptions to the enterprise, thus securing its success. In his zeal for this factor of civilization he made numerous speeches at towns along the proposed route, and it was while he was thus employed that he contracted the severe cold which resulted in his death, at the age of sixty-one years.  However, he lived to see the road completed as far as new Paris and to ride a short distance on the line.  In religion he was an orthodox Friend, and was always present at meetings in the Richmond church.
His wife, who lived to be eighty-eight years old, lacking twelve days, continued to reside on the old homestead, now owned by her grandson, John Cook. She was a niece of John TOWNSEND, a soldier of the Revolutionary War, who reached the one hundredth anniversary of his birth, and died in Wayne township, while his wife, Elva lived to be past a century old. Three of the eight children of Seth and Ruth Cook died while young, and the others were Amos; Isaac, who lived on a farm adjoining the old homestead and is succeeded by his son John, as previously stated; Elizabeth, widow of Robert COMMONS, a farmer, is making her home with her children; and Mary, who died at the age of about fifty-nine years and who had married Samuel CRAMPTON, of the vicinity of Portland.
        Amos COOK, the father of William H., of this sketch, was born in Warren county, Ohio, near Waynesville, July 29, 1819. When he was grown he carried on a farm in Preble county, Ohio, belonging to his father, for two years, and over half a century ago he became the possessor of his fine homestead in Wayne township, this county. He had received from his father nearly six hundred acres of land, and his three farms comprised, respectively, sixty, eighty and one hundred and sixty acres. On his home farm there were large quarries, and for years he burned lime extensively, receiving good prices for the product. At New Paris, Ohio, he was similarly occupied, and the output of lime thus treated amounted to about thirty thousand bushels a year. Politically he is a strong Republican, and religiously a member of the Methodist Episcopal church. For thirty years he has been connected with this denomination and he belongs to the First church of Richmond. For years he was a local preacher, and still occupies the pulpit occasionally.  Though he was reared as a Friend, he was turned out of that church because he was married by a ‘squire instead of in the customary manner of the sect.
                March 30, 1842, Amos COOK and Miss Lydia WRIGHT were united in marriage and after forty-six years of happy companionship Mrs. Cook passed to the better land, October 19, 1888. She as born in < st1:City w:st="on">Wayne township, in 1823, and was a daughter of Jonathan and Lydia Wright, who were cousins. Of the children born to Mr. and Mrs. Cook, William H. is the eldest. Sylvester lives with his father on the old homestead, and attends to its management. He first married Lydia, daughter of David P. GROVES, of Richmond, and later Mary PYLE became his wife. He has two children: Lawrence, a student in the Richmond high school, and Anna, who is at home.
                William H. Cook chose for his wife Miss Angeline COX of Wayne township, their marriage being celebrated, in 1864, at the home of her father, Robert Cox. Lillian, who is at home, and Leslie R., a farmer, are the only children of our subject and wife.
Page  713         COOK, TOWNSEND, COMMONS, CRAMPTON, WRIGHT, GROVES, PYLE
Biographical and Genealogical History of Wayne, Fayette, Union, & Franklin counties of Indiana.
  Contributed by Friends For Free Genealogy

ALEXANDER P. COOK
 
                 Owning and occupying a nice farm of one hundred acres, located three miles east of Liberty, Union county, Indiana, we find the subject of this sketch, Alexander P. COOK, a native “Hoosier.” Mr. Cook was born in Union county, March 14, 1847, son of Jesse and Lydia B. (SANFORD) Cook. Mrs. Lydia B. Cook was born on Nantucket Island, daughter of Edward and Hepzibath Sanford, and died when her son, Alexander P., was only six years old. She had two other children: Eveline, wife of William BARNARD, now a resident of Gage county, Nebraska; and Eugene, who died in infancy. Jesse Cook, the father of our subject, died January 30, 1899, aged eighty-one years. In early life he learned the carpenter trade, at which he worked for many years, chiefly in Union county.
                Alexander P. Cook as reared in his native county and was yet in his teens at the time the civil war broke out. At the age of sixteen he enlisted as a member of Company d, Ninth Indiana Cavalr y, under Colonel Jackson. His service was chiefly in Tennessee, in the Army of the Cumberland. After the battle at Nashville he was ordered to New Orleans, but was soon returned to Vicksburg, where he remained until mustered out. He was honorably discharged, under general order, in June, 1865, after two years of service. Throughout his service he was constantly with his command on duty with the exception of a few weeks when he was in the hospital at Nashville.
                After his return from the army Mr. Cook engaged in farm work and he had been farming sever since. He settled on his present farm in 1884, a nice tract of land, one hundred acres in extent, three miles east of Liberty, upon which he has made some substantial improvements, and where he is carrying on diversified farming. Among his stock are found some fine thoroughbred cattle.
                Mr. Cook was married December 22, 1870 to Miss Clara STANTON, daughter of Franklin and Semira (SWAIN) Stanton. Her father lives on a farm adjoining theirs. Mr. and Mrs. Cook have no children.
                Politically Mr. Cook is what may be termed an independent. He makes a practice of casting his vote for the man rather than for the party.
Biographical and Genealogical History of Wayne, Fayette, Union, & Franklin counties of Indiana.
  Page 748   COOK,  SANFORD, BARNARD, STANTON, SWAIN.
Contributed by Friends For Free Genealogy

BOYD, Mrs. Louise Esther Vickroy

BOYD, Mrs. Louise Esther Vickroy, author, born in Urbana, Ohio, 2nd January, 1827.
When she was about four years of age, her parents removed to Ferndale, a picturesque valley among the mountains near Johnstown, Pa. Although good schools were scarce in those days, her education was not neglected, and for two years she was a pupil in the select school of Miss Esther R. Barton, in Lancaster, Pa. While a young woman she made frequent visits to Philadelphia, and she there became acquainted with many of the authors and literary people of that city. Her first poem was written in 1851. The next year she became a regular contributor to Grace Greenwood's "Little Pilgrim," and frequently, since that time, her poems as well as prose sketches have appeared in magazines and newspapers, among others the "Knickerbocker," "Graham's Magazine," "Appleton's Journal," the New York "Tribune," the Philadelphia "Saturday Evening Post." the Cincinnati "Gazette," " Woman's Journal." the Indianapolis "Journal," " Wide Awake," the "Century," and others. For several years she was engaged in teaching, until in September, 1865, she became the wife of Dr. S. S. Boyd, since which time her home has been in Dublin, Ind. Mrs. Boyd's married life was a most happy one. Her husband was a man of fine literary taste and an ardent worker in the cause of humanity, and she was strengthened and encouraged by him in the causes of temperance and woman suffrage. She is well known as an advocate of woman suffrage. Well acquainted with history, she has watched with unfailing interest all the movements of our eventful times, her sympathies ever on the side of the oppressed. She has frequently appeared on the platform, where she has a good presence, is natural, womanly, logical and sprightly. She is greatly interested in creating a State literature, and she has not only furnished much material for it, but has done a great deal toward creating a correct and pure literary taste in her own town and county. She was reared in the faith of the followers of Emanuel Swedenborg, but is now an earnest member of the Christian Church. She has been a widow since 1888.
(American Women Fifteen Hundred Biographies, Volume 1, Publ. 1897.  Transcribed by Marla Snow)

JOHN BEARD
JOHN BEARD was born in North Carolina, August 2,1780. His parents emigrated from Londonderry, Ireland, and settled in North Carolina in 1770. He married Mary Wright in Car¬olina, in 1803; removed with two children to Tennessee, and thence, a year after, in 1806, to a few miles below Hunt's settlement, now in Union county, and m October, 1811, to the present township of Harrison, cutting his road a part of the way through the wilderness, and driving his team with his family and household goods, and a cow and a calf, without as¬sistance. He had a full measure of the experience of pioneer life. He is represented as having been an honest, industrious, and estimable citizen. He was for a time a member of the Christian society at Jacksonburgh, and one of their preachers; and at a later period embraced the Universalist faith. He is spoken of by one who knew him well, as " a patriot and a true lover of his country, at all times manifesting a deep interest in the prosperity of the United States, and the perpetuity ofour free institutions; and that in the faithful discharge of his duties as a husband, a parent, and a neighbor, " he left behind him an example worthy to be followed." He died Feb. 13,1859, in his 79th year. Being a member of Hall of Milton Lodge of Free Masons, he was buried with the usual Masonic ceremonies on the 15th. His wife survived him less than two years. She died at Milton, Oct. 16,1860, in her 81st year. She proved a valuable helpmeet to her husband amidst the hardships and privations of pioneer life, and possessed in a high degree those qualities which adorn the female character, and which fitted her so well for the discharge of her social and domestic duties. The children of John Beard were: 1, Sarah, wife of Robert Willitts, who died in Iowa. 2. Isaac N. [Sk.]   3. Mary W., wife of Jacob Sinks, deceased; resides with her daughter, wife of Kilby Ferguson, Indianapolis. 4. Malinda K., wife of H. C. Justice, who went to the far west some thirteen years ago, and is supposed to be dead. She re-sides with her brother, Isaac N., in Harrison.

ISAAC N. BEARD
ISAAC N. BEARD, son of John Beard, was born in North Carolina, May 16, 1808. He was about three years of age when his father settled, in 1811, in what is now Harrison township, the place being then without a name. Being an only son, his help was needed on the farm, where he remained until after he attained to manhood. He married, March 31, 1833, Matilda Swope, who was born in Pennsylvania, Oct. 19,1814. He settled on the farm where he now resides, near that of his father. He possesses the esteem and confidence of his fellow-citizens; having received at their hands various offices of trust, the duties of which he faithfully discharged. He holds now, and has held for many years, the office of justice of the peace; and has been elected as representative of the county in the state legislature. His wife died of a cancerous affection, Feb. 11,1871. Their children are Victoria, who married James Lichty; Mary, who married George T. Kepler; Benton J., John W., Levi W., Matilda, Ida.

SAMUEL BOYD
SAMUEL BOYD was born in Craven Co., S. C, May 20,1763. He was of Scotch descent. His father, James Boyd, had previously emigrated thither from Virginia, and had six sons and two daughters. The father and one son died in a Tory prison during the Revolutionary war; and Samuel, the subject of this sketch, came near losing his life by a ball from a Tory gun. He recovered, however, with the loss of his left eye, and served through the war, having enlisted at the age of 16. He was married, December 12, 1785, to Isabella Higgins, who also was of Scotch descent, and a not distant relative of Robert Burns, the poet. She did not forget, through life, that, when a young woman, she danced with Andrew Jackson. In 1788, Samuel Boyd, with his wife and one child, moved to Kentucky, where they lived 23 years. To provide homes for his niue children, he removed to Whitewater Valley; and in November, 1811, he built a tent of bark and limbs of trees on Martiudale's creek, 2 miles north of Jacksonburgh, where he entered a quarter section of land, on which he lived until his death, Novem-ber 27,1835, aged 72 years.
In 1801, during the famed Kane revival, in Kentucky, he made a profession of the Christian religion, and during the remainder of his life he labored faithfully, as a minister, for the salvation of others. During a missionary tour to the Indians, he again came near losing his life. An Indian boy thoughtlessly touched a burning brand to a keg of powder, blowing the rude hut to pieces, killing two children, and in-juring Samuel Boyd, who was laid out as dead. He recov-ered, and for more than a score of years was an active laborer in the cause of his Master. He was a member of the Christian church, then often termed " Newlights." As a public speaker he was earnest and animated, and for one of so limited educational advantages was an efficient Christian teacher. His wife lived to the age of 88 years, and died a Christian, October 31, 1852. They had ten children; all but one having lived to be married, and settled as farmers and farmers' wives, and all except one in Wayne county:
1. James, who died in Richmond, September 29,1863.
2. John, who, at the age of 82, resides in Dublin.
3. William, who died in Harrison township, September 22,1846.
4. Elizabeth, wife of Elijah Martindale, lives at Newcastle, aged 78.
5, Samuel K., who resides at Centerville.
6. Lard, who died in infancy.
7. Robert, who settled in Henry county, aud died there, February 24, 1853.
8. Martha, wife of Joseph Lewis, at Williamsburg, aged 71.
9. Mary, wife of Abner M. Brad-bury, Cambridge City, aged 67.
10. Isabella Ladd, who died in Marion county, September 16,1854.
These nine heads of families had 92 children; and these have so multiplied that it is safe to estimate the descendants of Samuel and Isabella Boyd at the present date (1871), at 550 children, grandchild-ren, great-grandchildren, and great-great-grandchildren. At a social reunion of the Boyd family in 1861, 274 of them sat down to a dinner, more than one hundred and fifty being absent.

ABNER M. BRADBURY
ABNER M. BRADBURY was born in Warren Co., O., July 8,  1798, removed  from  Butler Co., at the  age of 17,  to Martindale's creek, 3 miles west of the town of "Washington, and, with his brother John, built a small fulling mill in 1815. In 1820, he settled in Harrison township. In March, 1821, he married Mary, a daughter of Samuel Boyd. He was, in 1820, appointed deputy sheriff under Abraham Elliott; was a delegate to the Whig National Convention in 1848; was elected in that year an associate judge for Wayne Co.; and in 1832, 1833, and 1834, elected a representative in the legislature. In 1836, he was elected a senator, and held two years; and again in 1841, for three years. In April, 1869, he removed to Cambridge City, where he now resides.    His children are:
1. Isabel, who married James Leeson, of Harrison township.
2. Caroline, wife of James Russell, Alexandria, Madison Co.
3. William H., who married Jane Kinley.   
4. Elizabeth, wife of Isaac Harned, of Cambridge City.   
5. James L., who married Eveline Nicholson, and resides near Newcastle.  
6. Martha,wife of Josephus Mundell,  of Hagerstown.   
7. Samuel B.,who married Margaret O'Neal, and resides at Winchester.  
8. Daniel M., who married Sarah Ballenger, and resides at Indianapolis.   
9. Robert Burns, who married Sarah Townsend, and resides at Cambridge City.   
10. Albert W., who married Francis Hatfield, and resides at Cambridge City.   
11. Allison B., who married Sarah Burr, and is a practicing physician at Milton.   
12. Emma, unmarried.

LEWIS HOSIER
LEWIS HOSIER, from North Carolina, in 1807, after a few years' residence on the Elkhorn, settled on the land now owned by his son Henderson in Harrison. He was a man of limited education, which was chiefly acquired from the few books he was able to obtain, or to which he had access. He was fond of reading, and succeeded in getting hold of a number of works of the best authors, which he read with avidity, and with which he made himself familiar. He delighted in discussion; was an acute reasoner, and adhered with unusual firm¬ness, not to say obstinacy, to deliberately formed opinions. He was a man of strict integrity. His children living are Isaiah, in Denmark, Iowa, and Henderson, in the south-east part of Harrison township. Children deceased, Enoch, Jesse, Elizabeth, Mary.    Lewis Hosier died in 1853, aged 78. 5. Anna, who married Joseph Wain, and resides at Wamego, Kansas. 6. Jane, who married Wm. Bradbury. 7. Sarakj who died in infancy. 8. Martha, who married John Daniels, and resides at Marion, Linn Co., Iowa, and is recorder of the county.

ISAAC KINLBY, JUN
ISAAC KINLBY, JUN., was born in Randolph Co., Ind., Nov. 27, 1822. He married, first, Nancy B. Holloway, in 1849; second, Mrs. Jeannie G. Adams, October 2,1859. At the age of 15, he commenced as a teacher, and taught district schools for several years. In 1848, he commenced teaching at Greens¬boro' Seminary ; and afterward taught in Union Seminary at Spiceland, Henry Co. In 1850, he was elected from thift county to the Constitutional Convention as a free-soil delegate. In 1854, he was elected state senator for four years. In 1861, he removed to Richmond; and the same year he enlisted in the war, and was chosen Captain by the company, and elected by the officers of the 36th regiment of Indiana as Major, and commissioned by the governor. He was in the battles of Corinth, Perrysville, Wildcat, and wounded at Stone River. In 1863, he was appoined Provost Marshal of the 5th District In 1866, he was elected to the senate from Wayne Co. In 1869, he departed with his wife on a tour to Europe, and returned to his home in Richmond, having, during his absence written a series of interesting letters which were published in the Radical newspaper of Richmond.

JOHN SCOTT, a native of Virginia, from Kentucky in 1814, settled in the north part of what is now the township of Harrison, where his son John now resides, and where he died io 1824, aged 53 years. His children were James C, William, Robert, Jane, Maria, Lorenzo, Harrison, John, Paulina, and Lucinda. James C. died in 1854, where his son Elias now lives, aged 50 years. Also, William, Robert, and Lorenzo are deceased. Harrison, who married a daughter of the late Caleb Lewis, of Washington township, resides in the north part of Harrison.

Cambridge City Tribune Cambridge City Indiana May 3 1883
OLD WAYNE AND HER PIONEERS BY SAMUEL HUDDLESTON
Shubal Julian was born in North Carolina, April 14, 1702 and came to Indiana alone, on horseback in 1810 when he was eighteen years old.
Arriving near where Richmond now is, he stopped with his older brother, Isaac Julian, the father of George W., Jacob, and Isaac, Jr. who had came out and entered land the year before. Shubal Julian’s first days work in Indiana was done for William Bulla, near the present site of Richmond.
He was at the first election ever held in Wayne County, in January 1811, though not old enough to vote by two years. He knows of but one other man now living that was at this election, namely Joseph Meek, now residing in Boston Township, four or five miles south of Richmond.
The candidates for Clerk at this election were Colonel George Hunt, on one side, and Joseph Holman and David Hoover on the other. Hunt’s supporters were called the Hunt party, and Holman’s and Hoover’s supporters the Quaker party. The Quakers, for fear that running two candidates might result in the defeat of both, sought to draw one man off the track and they finally agreed upon the plan of tossing up a silver quarter of a dollar, for head or tail and this resulted in the nomination of Joseph Holman, he getting two best out of three. But Colonel George Hunt defeated him at the election, and was the first clerk of Wayne County. John Turner was the first Sheriff of Wayne County. Colonel Flemming, was considered aristocratic by his extravagant dress, and came near being defeated on that account.
In the year 1810 there came a terrible wind storm which uprooted and blew down every tree on about ten acres of ground where the main portion of Richmond now stands. This broken and mangled mass of timber was allowed to lay until the next year, when it was “logged up” and in July every able bodied pioneer in the settlement, which extended over the known area of Wayne County, gathered together and went into the weeds and nettles waist high. The party was divided into four companies with as many captains in command. They raced all day and by night ten acres of the most discouraging looking prospect for the coming city of Richmond, was ready for the torch. The first circuit rider in Wayne County was Reverend William Hunt, of the M.E. Church, who was sent here by the M.E. Conference in 1812. Before this time there was not a preacher regularly in the work in the county, and there was not a doctor, nor a lawyer, and but one church, a very rude, small log structure, about where the old Quaker Church stands in Richmond. It was built by the Quakers previous to this date.
When Hugh Crull was spoken of as a candidate for delegate to the constitutional convention, he pleaded incompetency, and begged not to be sent. But he was elected and when he was ready to go on his mission he said. “The men of Wayne County have misplaced their confidence in my ability to serve their interests in a matter of such vast importance as that for which they have chosen me. They have chosen a worthy man in the person of Patrick Beard, and I shall vote just as he does.”
Shubal Julian speaks in the highest terms of John, a brother to Patrick Beard, who, he says, was among Wayne County’s best pioneers, a Christian, a Gospel preacher, and a true American.
Shubal Julian stayed with his brother Isaac until he was of age, when in the year 1813 he bought ninety acres of land adjoining Jacksonburg on the west of David Young, for which he paid five hundred dollars. His land was entirely unimproved and he went to work, cleared twenty acres, and built a small cabin of round sugar tree logs, with puncheon floor, stick chimney, and such other conveniences as were fashionable in thus days. He also built a stable of sugar tree poles, and built rail pens for granaries, and in the course of a few years he had a farm which for beauty richness, and improvements, would compare with any in Walnut Level. He only lacked one thing to make his home complete that was a wife. He had under gone many hardships and disadvantages by not having a housekeeper and helpmate, one of which we will relate.
Shubal Julian is quite a large fleshy man, and he had for a neighbor a small weakly man. His neighbor, on account of his ill health, found it very difficult to clear up and improve his farm and provide a living for his family of small children. His wife had a piece of linen in the loom with which his wife agreed to make him a shirt from the piece of linen. The shirt was made in due time and sent to him. Shubal says it would have been a novel sight if anyone could have seen him when he tried to crawl into that shirt one Sunday morning. But he was alone in his bachelor home, and could take his own time to it, with no one to molest or make him afraid. He finally succeeded in getting his head through so that he could take a look at himself, and to his sore dismay he found only a narrow strip of linen drawn tightly around his waist, while his arms in trying to find shelter in the sleeves, were extended until he had the appearance of a guide post or to some, he might have suggested, the thought of a scarecrow. It occupied the rest of his leisure moments that day in removing the encumbrances. The shirt was returned to the lady who made it, of whom Shubal says there has not been a more honest woman or better neighbor in Indiana to this day. She afterward made the remark to a neighbor lady that she knew the shirt was too small for Shubal, for she made it to fit her husband, because he and her children were in actual need of clothing, and she knew that Shubal had no one to prove for but himself, and that he could wait until she could weave another piece.
Shubal Julian was united in marriage to Biddy, daughter of Peter Hoover, in October, 1818. Peter Hoover was a brother to Andrew Hoover, and among the first settlers in the vicinity of Richmond. He, like many others of that early day, suffered great losses by the thieving Indians. He had been so repeatedly robbed of his horses and produce, that, at the time of his daughter’s marriage, he was totally unable to help her to a “set out” in her new home. But Shubal had just swapped horses and got fifteen dollars to boot, with which he went to Washington and bought three plates, three cups and saucers, three knives and forks, three spoons, and a great heavy iron dinner pot, which was the entire extent of their cooking and table ware. Shubal still has this dinner pot, and keeps it where he can see it every day, and carry his recollection back to the happiest days of his life, when sixty five years ago he used to sit in his humble cabin home in the woods and watch his young wife lift the great thick loaves of bread and the other steaming victuals from this same iron kettle. He says he sometimes lifts the kettle and wonders how his wife found strength to hand it as she used to. As the good old man talked of the dear old bygones his eyes became flooded with tears, as from the heart that longs once more to find rest in the bosom of that angel wife, who has waited to welcome him to their Immortal home for nearly twenty years. The iron kettle is now the property of his daughter, Mrs. Ellen Holloway, of Cadiz with whom he has made his home since the death of his wife.
We asked him how he came to sell his farm and leave Wayne County, which he did in 1824. He bowed his head solemnly, and said: “That is one thing that grieves me to think of. I lost it all by signing my name to a note for a fried. He failed to pay and they took my farm and everything else, save one cow and our household goods and I would not have had them left me, if it had not been for James Rariden, who persuaded the man to divide with me.
Broken up but not broken hearted, Shubal Julian went to work, and in a short time he had a twenty five year old horse which was full of life and slick as a colt. He traded this horse for a fine five year old blind mare, and a yearling colt, which had been starved through the winter and looked very rough. But Shubal fed and curried them up, and the mare brought him another colt shortly after he traded for her, and in the fall he had three animals worthy the pride of any pioneer. He says everything he touched seemed to work a profit to him, and he soon made money enough to enter a good farm in Prairie Township, Henry County, and went to improving it.
The first spring he had six acres of ground ready to plant, and just as he was ready to put out his crop, his family run out of bread. He was out of corn, out of money, and in a strange land. He, in company with a neighbor who was in the same fix, went to a little mill just above Hagerstown, that was run by a Mr. Evans. They had never seen the man, and it was in a faltering and timid manner, driven by necessity that they approached him, to ask him to furnish them bread, and wait for his pay until they could raise a crop. The miller hesitated, for he said he had been fooled by men from the ”Purchase,” but he finally agreed to supply them, and they returned home with their supply, filling the woods with cheerful songs as they went. Shubal planted his corn the next day and that year he raised 300 bushels of corn and forty bushels of potatoes, and had but six acres of ground cleared.
Shubal Julian raised a family to two sons and two daughters. His wife, one son and a daughter, fell victims to that terrible epidemic that visited Cadiz in 1863. The two children who were heads of families died in February 1863 and his wife who was stricken at the same time, lingered as it were between life and death, until March 6, 1864.
Shubal Julian has just entered upon the ninety second year of his age, and is a remarkably strong and sound man for his age. He has walked to his son, Ensley Julian’s, a distance of ten miles within the past ten years, but is now afflicted with rheumatism, and is compelled to walk with care.
P.S. Fort Wayne Sentinel Newspaper.  March 16 1886 Fort Wayne Indiana.  Shubal Julian, an uncle of Judge J.B. Julian and Honorable George W. Julian, died at Cadiz, Henry County, last Friday at the age of ninety four. He was a native of North Carolina.
Transcribed and Contributed by Charlotte Slater

HALSEY C. MARCHANT.

Halsey C. Marchant, general manager for the Superior Rock Springs Coal Company and a valued citizen of Ogden, was born at Richmond, Indiana, August 19, 1880. His father, Fred W. Marchant, also a native of Indiana, was descended from one of the old families early established on the isle of Nantucket and of English origin. The first of the name in America was Joseph Marchant who came to the new world in 1638. While he made the voyage from England to the United States, the ancestral line is traced still farther back to France. Representatives of the family participated in the Revolutionary war when the colonies opposed the oppression of the mother country and the family was also represented in the War of 1812. The grandfather, Joseph Marchant, served with an Indiana regiment in the Union army during the Civil war.

For many years Fred W. Marchant was a resident of Indiana, where he was actively and prominently engaged in the insurance business at Richmond. In 1909 he removed to Utah, settling in Ogden, where he now resides. He has retired from active business and is enjoying in well earned rest the fruits of his former toil. He wedded Mary I. Jones, who was born in Richmond, Indiana, and belongs to one of the old families of that state, of English lineage. By her marriage she became the mother of three sons: Harry H., Halsey C. and Ray M.

In the public schools of his native city Halsey C. Marchant began his education, passing through consecutive grades to the high school, while later he entered Purdue University, from which he was graduated in 1905 on the completion of a course in civil engineering. After leaving school be became connected with Delaware, Lackawanna & Western Railroad, in the mining department, and occupied the position of assistant engineer until January 1, 1906, when he resigned and removed to Cheyenne, Wyoming. There he became assistant engineer on survey work for the Union Pacific Railroad and so served until January, 1908, when he left the railroad and entered the employ of the Wyoming Coal Company as its mining engineer. He was with that corporation for nine years, or until the 22d of March, 1917, when he resigned and became general manager for the Superior Rock Springs Coal Company, which he now represents. His thorough collegiate training and his broad experience well qualify him for the responsible duties of this position. He is making an excellent record in this connection and is regarded as one of the prominent mining engineers of the west.

On the 28th of October, 1908, Mr. Marchant was married to Miss Saia B. La Fontaine, a native of Nebraska and a daughter of the late Captain Robert La Fontaine, who became one of the pioneer settlers of Nebraska and who was a Civil war veteran. To Mr. and Mrs. Marchant have been born two children: Robert La Fontaine, whose birth occurred in Cheyenne. Wyoming, November 1, 1910; and Mary Virginia, born in Ogden, Utah, June 22, 1912.

The religious faith of the family is that of the Presbyterian church and in social connections Mr. Marchant has membership with the Weber Club and with the University Club of Ogden. His political allegiance is given to the republican party and his interest in matters of public concern is deep and sincere. He took a prominent and active part on various committees having to do with war work and was a most earnest and faithful champion of every measure which he believed would promote the interests of the government in its relations with the allied armies and support the American troops at the front. His business career has been marked by steady advancement due to his own efforts and capability, and today he occupies an enviable and responsible position in connection with the development of the coal fields of the state.

[Source: Utah since Statehood: Historical and Biographical Volume 2; By Noble Warrum; Publ. 1919; Transcribed and submitted by Andrea Stawski Pack.]


ASBURY L. KERWOOD.

About the year 1792, Richard Kerwood, the paternal great-grandfather, left Monmouthshire, England, with his wife, two sons and four daughters, and embarked for a passage to America. During the voyage, both himself and wife fell victims to ship-fever, and died a few days subsequent to their arrival. Mr. Kerwood was a member of the Masonic fraternity, as was also the captain of the vessel upon which he embarked. The latter took a kindly interest in the welfare of the orphaned children and found homes for them. The boys were apprenticed to learn mechanical trades. Richard, the eldest, and the grandfather of the gentleman for whom this biographical sketch is prepared, was apprenticed to a blacksmith at Brandytown, N. J., while William was apprenticed to a cabinet-maker at Philadelphia.
After mastering the deails of his trade, Richard, the grandfather, moved West, locating in Washington County, Penn., where he became a prominent and highly respected citizen, and served for a number of years in the capacity of Justice of the Peace. He died in that county in 1838.
During his residence in New Jersey he married Mary Minor, who bore him five sons -Samuel, William, John R., Abia M., and Richard; and two daughters Nancy and Elizabeth.
The maternal ancestors, whose patronymic was Peden, were of Irish nativity. James Peden, the grandfather, emigrated to the United States when young, and settled in Pennsyvania. He married Margaret Love, a native of Kilkenny, Ireland, and, in 1835, removed to the State of Ohio, and subsequently to Henry County, Ind., where he and his wife both died.
Their children were James, Joseph, David, Milton, Reuben, Hiram, Elizabeth and Jane, of whom James, Milton, Reuben, Hiram and Elizabeth still survive.
Abia Minor Kerwood, the father of Asbury L., was born in Washington County, Penn., where he grew to manhood, working with his father at the blacksmith's trade until he attained his majority. Starting out then to earn his way in the world, he went to Brownsville, Penn., where he took passage on a river steamer for Cincinnati. Among the passengers on this boat was Miss Rebecca Peden, the lady to whom he was united in marriage in 1840, but with whom he was not then acquainted. The narration of incidents of the voyage in later years, remembered by both, was what led to the discovery of this fact.
After reaching Cincinnati, Mr. Kerwood went to Oxford, Ohio, where his elder brother, John, resided, and during a part of the time attended Miami University, and at other times was engaged at his trade. He was married to Miss Peden at the residence of her uncle, in Preble County, Ohio, and shortly afterward engaged in mercantile pursuits at Sugar Valley, in that county; and several years later engaged in farming, which he continued for three years. He moved to Wayne County, Ind., in 1842, where he continued the pursuit of farming, varied by teaching school at intervals in the winter.
In 1852, he purchased a home on West River, in Randolph Couty, Ind., and, in the fall of 1854, entered the ministry of the Methodist Episcopal Church, in which denomination he had long been a local preacher or exhorter. He traveled various circuits for a period of twenty-five years, and, in the spring of 1879, was placed upon the superannuated list.
He resides at Camden, Jay County, Ind. His family consisted of four sons--Asbury L., David L., William R. and Albert, and two daughters--Mary E. and Margaret F., of whom all are now living save David L.
His son, Asbury L., was born June 21, 1842, in Preble County, Ohio, and acquired a fair English education at the common schools of that county, and Wayne County Ind., finishing with a term at Liber College, in Jay County, Ind., after he was fifteen years of age.
In October, 1859, he was apprenticed to Judge John Brady, of Muncie, to learn the trade of saddle and harness-making, at which he worked faithfully for almost two years, in the meantime acquiring great proficiency. His labors were interrupted by the sound of civil war in the land, and the patriotism of his nature forbade him to remain in the quiet pursuit of a peaceful calling when his country called for strong and true men to defend her; so, when the son of his employer, Gen. Thomas J. Brady, raised a company of volunteers, in April, 1861, Mr. Kerwood was among the first to subscribe his name to tim articles of enlistment, the period for which the company was enrolled being a term of three months. In the engagement at Rich Mountain, W. Va., July 11, 1861, he was wounded in the left arm and right breast, and was probably the first soldier from Delaware County who was wounded by rebel bullets.
He was discharged Angust 6, 1861, at the expiration of the term for which he had enlisted, and remaining at Muncie until November, 1861, enlisted in Company F, Fifty-Seventh Indiana Volunteer Infantry, with the rank of Duty Sergeant. His regiment went into camp at Richmond, Ind., leaving that place and moving to Indianapolis December 10, 1861. On the 23d day of the same month, they embarked for Louisville, Ky., and their first engagmnent was at the battle of Shiloh, after a forced march of thirty miles to reach the field. Subsequently he participated with his regiment in the following engagements: At Perryville, Ky.; the three days' battle at Stone River, where, for gallant conduct, he was promoted to the rank of First Sergeant, serving as such until the close of the war; the battle of Mission Ridge, Tenn., where his regiment formed the advance line of the Second Division, commanded by Gen. Phil. Sheridan; the battle of Rocky Face Ridge, Ga.; Resaca, Ga., May 14 and 15, 1864; New Hope Church, May 27, 1864; Kenesaw Mountain, June 18, 23 and 27, 1864; all of which were hot engagements, and almost hand to hand conflicts. The engagements in which this regiment subsequently took part were the battles of Peach Tree Creek, July 20, 1864; the siege of Atlanta, Ga.; Jonesboro, Ga., September 1, 1864; Spring Hill, Tenn., November 29, 1864; Franklin, Tenn., November 30, 1864; and Nashville, Tenn., December 15 and 16, 1864.
On the 4th day of February, 1865, Mr. Kerwood was honorably discharged from service, and after his return to Indiana was engaged at school-teaching and similar pursuits in Wabash and Hamilton Counties, and devoted a large share of his time to the collection of material for a history of his regiment, which he completed and published in the spring of 1868.
In the spring of 1866, he started upon a tour through the Eastern States, and upon his return settled at Fairmount, Grant Co., Ind., where he worked at his trade during the summer of that year. In October, 1867, he settled at Wheeling, in the northwest part of Delaware County, where he resided until February, 1875.
July 22, 1868, he was united in marriage with Mrs. Susan C. Craw, daughter of William P. and Sarah Reasoner, and widow of Ephraim Craw.
At the Republican County Convention of 1874, he became the candidate for the office of Clerk of the Circuit Court and, in October of the same year, he was elected by the largest majority on the ticket,. In 1878, at the expiration of his first term, he was again nominated by the Republican convention, and again elected by a majority almost as large as the first.
He has proved himself a faithful and efficient officer, and he has established for himself a record as the soldier, the public officer, and the private citizen, which his posterity may read with just pride.


HOLLAND, George

No compendium such as the province of this work defines in its essential limitations will serve to offer fit memorial to the life and accomplishments of the honored subject of this review, a man remarkable in the breadth of his wisdom, in his indomitable perseverance, his strong individuality, and yet one whose entire life had not one esoteric phase, being able to bear the closest scrutiny. True, his were " massive deeds and great" in one sense, and yet his entire accomplishment but represented the result of the fit utilization of the innate talent which was his, and the directing of his efforts along those lines where mature judgment and rare discrimination led the way. There was in George Holland a weight of character, a native sagacity, a far-seeing judgment and a fidelity of purpose that commanded the respect of all, but greater than these was his absolute honesty, and "an honest man is the noblest work of God."

George Holland spent almost his entire life in eastern Indiana. He was born in Westmoreland county, Pennsylvania, September 28, 1811. There, nine years before, his parents, John and Ann (Henderson) Holland, had taken up their abode. They were poor Protestant peasants from the north of Ireland, and after their marriage and the birth of two of their children they crossed the Atlantic, in 1802. Not long after the birth of their son George they removed to Ohio, and made their home near Zanesville until 1817 when they became residents of Franklin county, Indiana. The father purchased a farm upon the west bank of Whitewater river, about five miles from Brookville, the county seat, making a partial payment upon the place, expecting soon, as the result of his labors, to have the money to discharge the remaining obligation. Death, however, set aside his plans, for in the autumn of 1818 both the father and mother were stricken with a malignant fever, and while their bodies were interred in a cemetery of their adopted land by the hands of strangers, their seven children, all yet in their minority, were ill at home, unable to attend the funeral. There were six sons and a daughter, and on this side of the Atlantic they had no relative. It was a sad fate, made still harder by cruel treatment which was meted out to them, and of which George Holland wrote in an autobiography found among his papers after his death: "We now first began to learn something of the great world around us. Its rush and roar we had before heard only in the distance; but those being gone who had kindly preserved us from exposure and had borne for us all the cares of life, we found ourselves, helpless and unprotected, afloat upon the current. We tasted, too, for the first time, the bitter falsehood of human nature. The man of whom my father had bought his land came forward in the exigency and charitably administered the estate. His benevolence was peculiar. It resulted in appropriating to himself the real and personal property, and turning us, the children, as paupers, over to the bleak hospitalities of the world."

In Indiana, at that time, it was the custom, on the first Monday in April, to gather the poor of a county at the court-house and hire them out to such persons as would engage to maintain them at the lowest price. The winter being passed in the cabin of a neighbor, Mr. Holland and his four brothers were conveyed by the overseers of the poor to  Brookville, on the first Monday in April, 1819, to be thus placed in the care of the lowest bidder. Although but seven years of age, Mr. Holland deeply felt the humiliation of the position, but kind hearted people of Brookville interposed in behalf of himself and his brothers, and found permanent homes for them as apprentices until twenty one years of age. Thus it was that he became an inmate of the home and a member of the family of Robert John, a man who had no property but was possessed of a kind heart and proved a benefactor to the boy. In return, however, Mr. Holland was most faithful to Mr. John, and for many years was his active assistant in whatever work he engaged. When he was about thirteen Mr. John purchased an interest in a printing office, and Mr. Holland began work at the case and press, soon gaining a practical knowledge of the business and becoming a good workman. When Mr. John became sheriff he served as deputy, and on retiring from office he worked in a woolen factory which his employer rented, having charge of a set of wool carding machines for two seasons. In the summer of 1830 Mr. John was elected clerk of the circuit court, and took charge of the office in February, 1831, Mr. Holland again becoming his deputy. This was a year and a half before he attained his majority. His experience in the office had determined him to make the practice of law his life-work, and on coming of age he began reading without the aid of a teacher. The county clerk, John M. Johnson, witnessing his ambitious efforts, permitted him to use his law library, and at the same time he read all the miscellaneous volumes he could procure, thus daily broadening his general as well as professional knowledge. He was always a man of scholarly tastes, and throughout life found one of his chief sources of pleasure among his books. A short time before attaining his majority he successfully passed an examination, and was admitted to the bar. One who knew him well, in referring to his early life, said: "As a boy and youth he was gentle, kind and considerate, full of energy, and possessed of the most indomitable perseverance. His vigorous and unremitting efforts to educate and prepare himself for the profession of his choice in the midst of irksome and exacting duties, and his early struggles in the profession, in the face of poverty and ill health, indicate the heroic spirit and fixedness of purpose which even then distinguished him, and which he afterward so conspicuously displayed under such trying circumstances."

Mr. Holland had not a dollar at the time of his admission to the bar. He, however, borrowed fifty dollars, purchased a small law library at auction and opened an office in Brookville. About this time he secured the office of county assessor and the outdoor exercise proved very beneficial to his undermined health, while the nature of his business made him acquainted with many people and thus paved the way for future law practice. He received -seventy five dollars for his official services, which enabled him to repay the borrowed money. He was not only well equipped for his professional career by a comprehen- sive knowledge of the principles of jurisprudence, but his experience in the clerk's office had given him a thorough and practical knowledge of forms and practice. One from whom we have before quoted, said of him: " His early success at the bar was marvelous, and may be attributed mainly to the thorough knowledge of his profession, which he acquired by the most indefatigable reading and study. He read everything he could get hold of in the way of general and professional literature. Few lawyers of the day, at the Indiana bar, were as thoroughly grounded in the principles of law and as familiar with the English and early American reports as he was. His range of professional reading was most extensive and included most of the rare works in black letter lore that could then be procured. At the same time, and in fact almost during his entire life, even when in later years he was almost overwhelmed with financial cares and responsibilities, his delight was in general literature, it was his rest and recreation, and in historical, political, scientific and religious learning his mind was a encyclopedia of facts. While he had none of the elements of a popular speaker, and, consequently, made no mark as an orator, he was a logical and persuasive reasoner before a jury, and had great force in presenting an argument to a court. The care with which he prepared his cases, the skill and shrewdness he displayed in their management, his unrivaled power in dealing with a complicated and tangled chain of issues and circumstances, together with his extensive professional knowledge, made him a most formidable opponent in the lower courts, and gave him an excellent reputation at the bar of the supreme court, where he was admitted to practice in May, 1835, when twenty four years of age."

Prosperity attended his efforts for many years. The important litigated interests entrusted to his care brought him handsome financial returns, and much of his capital he judiciously invested in property and added not a little to his income through wise speculations. At length, however, disaster overtook him. Honorable himself, he was slow to distrust others, and when those in whose worthiness and friendship he relied implicitly wished him to go security for them he complied. It was in November, 1853, that some of his merchant friends failed, leaving him to pay their indebtedness of fifty thousand dollars. This seemed a great deal, but was as nothing compared to what awaited him. In November, 1854, he awoke to the realization that he was endorser for a broken and bankrupt merchant for one hundred thousand dollars in blank, all due within sixty days and for which he was unmistakably liable. Utterly discouraged and disheartened, in the midst of this gloom and desolation, yet encouraged by his sympathizing wife, he resolved that with the help and blessing of God he would pay the debt, and resolutely set to work to accomplish the task, with an abiding faith that he would live to accomplish it. And he did live to accomplish it after a struggle of twenty one years, paying the last of these debts just fourteen years before his sudden death, and never was a word of suspicion breathed against his fair name. Anxiety pressed heavily upon him and he suffered a purely nervous fever, from the effects of which he never recovered, but he  paid off dollar for dollar. The true character of the man now shone   forth; his ideas of commercial honor and integrity were of the   highest character and his determination to pay that awful debt, most of it fraudulently put upon him, was inflexibly fixed. The financial skill and business ability he displayed at this critical  period in his  affairs; the zeal  and ingenuity he exhibited  in getting extensions of the bank paper upon which he was liable, until he could have time to turn about and handle  his property;   his   unvarying success in disposing of the latter to the best advantage;   in making,   when   necessary, new and   advantageous loans, and generally,  in meeting his obligations, promptly as they became due, are simply marvelous. When one  considers that   all   this was done in connection with the exacting duties of a large law practice, which he never suffered to be neglected, it indicates more strongly than words can express the  strength and   fertility of his mind and his great business and professional capacities.

In May, 1869, Judge N. H. Johnson died suddenly, leaving a vacancy on the bench of the criminal court of Wayne county, and to the position Mr. Holland was appointed. Previous to this time, his only child had married C. C. Binkley, a young lawyer, whom Judge Holland admitted into partnership in his business, this connection continuing until his elevation to the bench. In July, 1861, he had determined to remove to Richmond, and in May, 1862, had established his family in the new home. When elevated to the bench he was in very poor health, but after a few months spent at Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts, he returned much improved, and with characteristic energy entered upon his judicial labors. He was re-elected to that office, and administered justice without fear or favor until the court was abolished by legislative act. His professional brethren spoke of him as one of the foremost lawyers of Indiana of his day and his record reflects honor upon the bench and bar of the state.

When twenty three years of age Judge Holland was united in marriage to Miss Elizabeth John, daughter of Robert John, in whose family he was reared, and he never lost an opportunity to acknowledge his indebtedness to his wife and her parents for all that they were to him. To her mother, Mrs. Asenath John, he attributed all the ambitious and honorable influences which permeated his youth, and to the assistance and encouragement of his wife he attributed the success which crowned his many years of  effort in paying off the debts of another. One daughter, Georgiana, was born of this marriage, and from the time of their removal to Richmond Mr. Holland and his wife and Mr. and Mrs. Binkley with their children lived in one family. Mrs. Holland survives and still resides with her daughter. In 1849, having no son of their own, they adopted Edwin Holland Terrel, then only nine months old. He was left motherless at that age, and his father, Rev. Williamson Terrel, was an itinerant Methodist minister. The boy proved entirely worthy the love and tender care bestowed upon him. For some years he was a prominent practitioner at the bar at Indianapolis. Having married at San Antonio, Texas, he removed there and entered the practice at that place. Soon afterward he drifted into railroad and other enterprises, resulting very successfully. In 1888, his merit and qualification being well known to Benjamin Harrison, president of the United States, he appointed him United States minister to Belgium, which place he filled with great renown and distinction to the close of that administration. He is still living in San Antonio, occupied with the care of his property and accumulations, enjoying the comforts of one of the most elegant homes of Texas and reveling in the delights of one of the finest private libraries in the state.

In politics Judge Holland was a stalwart Republican, and in 1860 he was a delegate to the national convention in Chicago, which nominated Abraham Lincoln for the presidency. In the spring of 1842 he acknowledged his belief in the Christ and was ever afterward a follower in His footsteps, having an abiding faith in the Christian religion. He was always at his place in the church, and manifested his belief in that practical spirit of helpfulness of the One who came not to be ministered unto but to minister. Death came to him unexpectedly, November 30, 1875, but his upright life had fully prepared him to meet it, and he passed from earth as "one who wraps the draperies of his couch about him and lies down to pleasant dreams."

No death in Wayne County has ever been more deeply lamented than that of Judge Holland. He was a man who regarded home ties as most sacred and friendship as inviolable. Emerson says "The way to win a friend is to be one," and no man in the community had more friends than he. He was a man of very sympathetic and generous nature, a pleasant companion, and especially congenial to those who cultivated all that was highest and best in life. Resolutions of the highest respect were passed by the bar of the county and circuit and the bar of Brookville, his old home, and the sympathy of the entire community was with the family. Almost a quarter of a century has passed since Judge Holland was called to the home beyond, but he is well remembered by all who knew him, his memory is cherished in the hearts of his friends, and his influence still remains as a blessed benediction to those among whom he walked daily.


JOHN M. HARTLEY.

In Colonel John M. Hartley, of Hagerstown, Wayne county, are united the best qualities of the patriotic, progressive American citizen. Keenly alive to the responsible duties which devolve upon him, the soul of uprightness and integrity, he possesses the friendship of all who know him, and no one is more justly entitled to representation in this volume.

His father, Josiah Hartley, was born in Wilmington, Delaware, whence he removed to Lancaster, Pennsylvania, in his early manhood, there marrying Ann Brady. In 1838 they came to Indiana with their two children, the younger of whom was John M., and locating in Milton, Wayne county, the father found employment at his trade as carpenter and as a mechanic. Six children were born to this worthy couple during their residence in .Milton, but the only survivors of the family are the Colonel and two of his sisters. The wife and mother died in the spring of 1852, and the father spent his last years with his children, dying at the home of his daughter Harriet, in Kansas, some years ago. Joseph, the eldest son, served in the Nineteenth Regiment of Indiana Volunteer Infantry for the full term of his enlistment and was wounded, during the war of the Rebellion. He died at Madison, this state, in the spring of 1897, from injuries received in the explosion of a steam boiler. Henry, another son, who served in the war as a private of the Tenth Illinois Infantry, died at Knightstown, Indiana, in the spring of 1888, and left a wife, son and daughter to mourn his loss. Josiah was a member of Company F, Nineteenth Indiana, was wounded at the battle of Gainesville, and died at Bellevue Hospital, Philadelphia, in August, 1862. George W. died in infancy. Mary Ann, the eldest daughter became the wife of Alonzo Rice, and now resides in Kansas City, Missouri. Harriet, who married Amos Crawford, died in Kansas, and left four sons and a daughter. Elvira is the wife of Thomas J. Hanna, of McCordsviile, Indiana.

Colonel John M. Hartley was born in Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, March 13, 1836, and nearly the whole of his life has been spent in the state of Indiana. He had but limited educational advantages, but was diligent in his studies, and experience and observation have been excellent teachers. He assisted his father at carpenter work and then served an apprenticeship to the cabinet-maker's trade. Thus he was occupied until the breaking out of the civil war, when he was among the first to respond to his country's call. He enlisted for one year in Company E, Sixteenth Regiment of Indiana Infantry, which regiment was the first to rendezvous at Camp Wayne, Richmond, Indiana. In the ensuing June it was sent to Harper's Ferry, Virginia, where it remained for several months, and the following winter was passed at Frederick City, Maryland, in General Banks' command. Several skirmishes were had with the rebels in the early part of 1862, but the Sixteenth was in no serious battles, and was mustered out of service at Washington, D. C. , about the 1st of May. On his return to this state the Colonel located at Knightstown, and soon afterward, when the contest between the north and the south had reached a most threatening state and the fate of the Union hung gloomily in the balance, he commenced raising a company of volunteers. Though his patriotic ardor was undampened, his plans were terminated by illness, and it was not until July, 1864, that he was enabled to re-enter the service of his country. At that time he was made.captain of Company A, One Hundred and Thirty-ninth Regiment of Indiana Volunteers, but was soon promoted to the rank and duties of lieutenant-colonel of the regiment, acting in that capacity until the close of his term of enlistment. During the greater part of this period the regiment was stationed in Kentucky, with headquarters at Murfreesboro, engaged in guard duty and in guerrilla warfare.

Since 1866 the Colonel has been closely associated with the commercial interests of Hagerstown. For some years he worked at his trade and later was occupied in the insurance business. Since the Natural Gas Company was organized here, in the fall of 1887, he has been its secretary, and for the past four years he has been the secretary and treasurer of the Railway Cycle Manufacturing Company, which was founded here in February, 1895. Both he and his son are largely interested in this flourishing concern, the business of which is constantly increasing in volume and importance.

The Colonel is active as a Republican partisan, and during President Harrison's administration he served as postmaster of Hagerstown. He was trustee of Jefferson township for two terms, or for four years, and in these public capacities he won the confidence and respect of the people by his fidelity to their interests. Fraternally he is identified with Bowman Post, No. 250, Grand Army of the Republic, and H. A. Lodge, No. 25, Independent Order of Odd Fellows.

On the last day of January, 1858, the Colonel married Miss Amanda, the eighteen-year-old daughter of John W. Macy, who had removed to Rush county, Indiana (where Mrs. Hartley was born), from North Carolina. Later the Macy family dwelt in Knightstown and Milton, Indiana, and, after spending eleven years in the last mentioned town, settled in Franklin county, this state, where the father departed this life in November, 1886; the mother, who was afflicted with blindness for many years, died at the home of our subject and wife, in December, 1897, when in her eighty-fourth year. The only daughter of the Colonel is Laura, widow of Isaac D. Hines, and for some time an employee of the Commercial Bank of Hagerstown. The only son, Charles H., is the superintendent of the Ashland (Wisconsin) division of the Chicago & Northwestern Railroad. Colonel Hartley and wife are members of the Christian church, and are in thorough sympathy with all endeavors to uplift and aid humanity.
BIOGRAPHICAL AND GENEALOGICAL HISTORY OF Wayne, Fayette, Union and Franklin Counties, The Lewis Publishing Co 1899

MRS. ALICE WILLIAMS BROTHERTON
Brotherton, Mrs. Alice Williams, author, born in Cambridge, Ind. Her family is of Welsh and English descent, with six generations on American soil. Her father resided in Cincinnati, Ohio, and afterward in St. Louis, Mo., then in Cambridge, Ind., and again settled in Cincinnati. She was educated mainly in the St. Louis and Cincinnati public schools, graduating in 1870 from Woodward high school, Cincinnati. In October, 1876, she was married to William Ernest Brotherton. Since then she has resided in Cincinnati. Two children, a boy and a girl, compose her family. Her oldest son, a bright boy of eleven, died in 1890. Living from her birth in an atmosphere of books, she was early trained by her mother in careful habits of composition. Her first appearance in print was in 1872. Her specialty is poetry, but she has written considerable prose in the form of essays, reviews and children's stories. From the first her success, in a pecuniary way, has been marked. Writing only when the spirit moves, in the spare moments of a busy home life, she has contributed at intervals to a variety of periodicals, the "Century," the "Atlantic," "Scribner's Monthly," the "Aldine," the "Independent," and various religious journals. Her booklet, "Beyond the Veil" (Chicago, 1886), was followed by "The Sailing of King Olaf and Other Poems" (Chicago, 1887), and by a volume of prose and verse for children, entitled "What the Wind Told the Tree-Tops" (New York, 1887). Her work shows a wide range of feeling and a deep insight into varying phases of life. Many of her poems have been set to music in this country and in England.  [Source: American Women Fifteen Hundred Biographies Vol 1 Publ. 1897 - Transcribed by Marla Snow]

McKAY RUSSEY
McKay Russey, of Rifle, Garfield county, is a native of Wayne county, Indiana, born in 1845, and the son of William and Elizabeth (Davenport) Russey. His father was a North Carolinian by nativity, and was prominent in the oil business in the early days of its history. Later in life he kept a hotel at Hartford City, Indiana, and died there at the age of seventy-two, when his son McKay was quite young. The mother was a native of Wayne county, Indiana, and died in 1893, aged seventy-six, leaving six children, of whom McKay was the fourth. He remained at home until he reached the age of sixteen, attending school in the neighborhood when he could, and looking forward eagerly to making his own way in the world. In 1863 he enlisted in the Union army, in Company I, One Hundred and Thirtieth Indiana Infantry, for a term of three years or during the war, and was discharged in December, 1865. He was in a number of important battles, especially the one at Nashville and those of the Atlanta campaign. After the close of the war and his discharge he went to Texas and engaged in the stock industry for about two years. He then took up his residence at Parsons, Kansas, and there opened a livery business which he carried on seven years. From there he came to Colorado and located at Glenwood Springs where he again engaged in the livery business until 1887, when he moved to Rifle, and at first turned his attention to raising stock, afterward starting a livery business here also. He is now solicitor for the Colorado Stage & Transportation Company, with headquarters at Rifle. Mr. Russey’s varied and active career has given him good business experience and capacity which make him a valuable adjunct to any enterprise requiring energy, knowledge of men and breadth of view, and his services to the company for which he is now working are highly valued. He is also much respected as a good citizen and leading man, and one who has the essential good of the community very much at heart.
(Source: Progressive Men of Western Colorado, Publ 1905. Transcribed by Kim Mohler)

Dr. Abijah Johnson
Among the most useful and important callings in life is that of the country physician, and in proportion to its usefulness it is exacting and trying to him who follows it.  The Doctor is an essential visitor to every household at times, and a reassurance and suggestion of safety at all except when extremities are at hand.  If he be cheerful by nature and knows his patient as he does his profession, he carries about with him an air of encouragement and hope which is in many cases half the battle for life.  Who can tell to how many he is health in sickness, solace in sorrow, hope in gloom and even consolation in death!  And it is seldom that his services are unappreciated however meagerly they may be rewarded, for in all parts of our country the local physician is among the most popular and generally well esteemed of all citizens.  To this class belongs Dr. Abijah Johnson, of Montrose, who was highly endowed by nature for his profession, and has multiplied his capacity by judicious study, observation and the cultivation of an inspiring and reassuring presence.  He was born in 1837, in Wayne county, Indiana, the son of Charles and Nancy (Beeson) Johnson.  His father was born in North Carolina, and removed to Indiana with his parents when he was young.  There he grew to manhood and remained many years engaged in farming, removing toward the end of his life to Iowa and dying there in 1872, at the age of seventy-five.  He was a Quaker in religious affiliation.  His wife was a native of Ohio and accompanied her parents to Indiana in early life.  There she was married and there in 1849 she died, leaving eight children, all of who are living, the Doctor being the fifth in order of birth.  He was reared in his native county, and educated at is public schools, finishing at the high school, after which he became a teacher and followed that vocation for a number of years.  He then entered the medical department of Ann Arbor University, and after a course of instruction at that institution, matriculated at the Brooklyn (New York) Medical College in 1863, being graduated in due time.  He began practicing at Fairview, Indiana, remaining two years, then located at Earlham, Iowa, and during the next ten years was actively engaged in a lucrative practice at that place.  From there he came to Colorado, settling at Castle Rock in 1880, and five years later removing to Montrose, where he has since resided and conducted a busy and expanding practice, rising to eminence in his profession in this part of the state and becoming a forceful factor in its public life.  He is a Republican in politics and has served as chairman of the county central committee and a member of the state central committee of his party, rendering good service and giving material aid in the campaigns.  He belongs to the Masonic order through lodge, chapter and commander, and for twenty-five years or more has been prominent in school affairs wherever he has lived, during the last fifteen being a leading member of the local board of education at Montrose.  He is also a valued member of the library association.  On the last day of the year 1863 he was united in marriage with Miss Sarah A. Street, a native of Maryland, daughter of Jacob and Celia (Wright) Street, of that state.  Three children have blessed their union.  Britomarte, who is the wife of Olin Spencer; Carl, who is a physician and now vice-consul of the United States in China; and Ross, who is manager of the Trading and Transfer Company of Cripple Creek.  Dr. Johnson was the efficient president of the Western Slope Fair Association for several years.
(Source: Progressive Men of Western Colorado, Publ 1905. Transcribed by Nancy Overlander)

JOHN G. BENNETT
The subject of this brief review has lived the greater part of his life in this state and become thoroughly identified with its interests and the aspirations of its people. He is one of them in feeling and purpose, and all his energies are bent to help in building up the state and multiplying its resources in every element of industrial, commercial and moral greatness. Mr. Bennett was born at Franklin, Indiana, in 1876, and is the son of John and Frances V. (Fisk) Bennett, also native in Indiana. In 1884 the family moved to Colorado and located at Aspen. Some little time after their residence was changed to the ranch on which he now lives and there they lived until the property was purchased of the father by the son, since which time he and his mother has occupied it and the father is now bookkeeper in Van Luck’s hardware establishment at Aspen. Mr. Bennett, the younger, is actively engaged in ranching and raising stock, and in developing his land and bringing it under cultivation with systematic industry and regularity. His plans for its improvement are laid on a broad basis of enduring value, and while there is no attempt at striking or occasional effects, there is steady and substantial progress in his work. His cattle are cared for with judicious attention which keeps them in good condition and every effort is made to keep the breeds pure and the standard high; and with reference to the agricultural products of his land as much care is given to securing good qualities as large quantities of produce. Mr. Bennett is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, belonging to the lodge of the order at Carbondale, and also of the Woodmen of the World, belonging to Camp No. 405 at the same place. He is held in general respect and esteem as a good citizen, a serviceable and productive force in his business operations, a man of influence on the public life of the community whose efforts are all in behalf of its best interests, and a social factor of decided and beneficial activity and usefulness.
(Source: Progressive Men of Western Colorado, Publ 1905. Transcribed by Kim Mohler)

FESLER Bert
FESLER Bert, Duluth.  Res 6019 Tioga St, office 604 First Nat Bank bldg.  Lawyer.  Born July 22, 1866 in Franklin Ind, son of John R and Harriet (Fish) Fesler.  Married March 28, 1894 to Vinnie L King.  Admitted to the bar 1893.  City atty of Duluth 1904-1908.
[Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. Publ.  1907 Transcribed by Anna Parks]

MORDECAI D. DODDRIDGE.
It is now eighty-five years since the family to which this well-known citizen belongs became identified with Wayne county, and its various members have won for the name an enviable distinction by their intelligence and worth. This high reputation is in no way diminished in this generation, and our subject, who is counted among the leading agriculturists of Washington township, displays in a marked degree the admirable characteristics which the name suggests.
The family is of English origin and was founded in America during colonial days, some of its representatives settling in New England, others in Pennsylvania. The Indiana branch springs from Joseph Doddridge, who left England early in the eighteenth century and first settled in New Jersey, whence he removed to Maryland, where several of his children were born. Among them was Philip Doddridge, who when grown removed with his parents to Washington county, Pennsylvania, where he married. His son John was born in that state. May 2, 1786, and there married Avis Manchester, a native of Rhode Island. In 18 14 Philip Doddridge, his son John, David Jenkins and John Spahr formed a colony and came to the territory of Indiana. Building a flatboat, they floated down the Ohio, with all their possessions, families and stock, to Cincinnati, where they sold the boat and then started across the country for the new Eldorado, cutting their own road in many places. Arriving at the twelve-mile purchase, Wayne county, Philip Doddridge entered one hundred and sixty acres of land, where the family settled and improved a farm, which is now occupied by David J. Doddridge. He also entered other large tracts and gave each of his children a farm. In England the family was connected with the Episcopal church, but on coming to free America joined the Methodist church, and soon after locating in Indiana Philip Doddridge and his son John were instrumental in organizing one of the first churches in this region. For a time services were held in the different cabins, but at length these two gentlemen gave the land for a church and cemetery, and the first house of worship, which was a log structure, was erected in 18 16. In honor of the family it was named Doddridge Chapel. It was a historic church, and its converts are now scattered throughout many states. In 1832 the congregation erected a brick edifice, and when it became too small it was replaced, in 1876, by a more commodious and modern structure, which is still in use. It is a standing monument to Philip and John Doddridge. Many of the old settlers were laid to rest in the cemetery adjoining the church. The children of Philip Doddridge were Mrs. Hannah Jenkins, Mrs. Sabra Spahr, Mrs. Walters, and John.
John Doddridge carried forward the work inaugurated by his father, and after the latter's death inherited the home farm, on which he erected a good brick residence, which is still in use. He entered other lands in Tipton and Marshall counties, and, being quite successful in his undertakings, he left a large estate. He was a leader in all church work, and as an exhorter traveled throughout the country, attending meetings within a radius of twenty miles. He was a man honored and respected wherever known, and his death which occurred in 1851, was widely and deeply mourned. His faithful wife, who was also an earnest church worker, survived him for many years, dying in 1883, at the advanced age of ninety-three. In their family were eight children, all born in Indiana with the exception of Isaac, the father of our subject. The others were: Philip, who died in Washington township, Wayne county; John, who died in Kansas; Mrs. Phoebe Baker; Mrs. Eliza Ream; Sarah, wife of Rev. McMullen; David J., who resides on the old homestead; and Mrs. Nancy McMullen.
Isaac Doddridge was born in Washington county, Pennsylvania, December 19, 1 809, "but was reared on the Indiana frontier, and his education was necessarily limited, as there were few schools in this section at that time. At the age of twelve he commenced driving a four-horse team to Cincinnati, Ohio, in the freighting business, in which he was interested for many years. After his marriage, in 1834, he moved to Union county, Indiana, where he bought land and improved a farm, remaining there eleven years. He then purchased the Lambert farm, in Wayne county, which was his home for the same length of time, and spent the remainder of his life on the old Dickson Hurst farm, where he died January 27, 1896. He was a very industrious and energetic man, and became one of the largest landowners of the county, having at one time three thousand acres, divided into well improved farms, many of which he rented. His tenants have nothing but praise to say of him, as he was a most kind and liberal landlord. He was quiet, genial and companionable, never allowing business or trivial things to worry him; and he was a man of unquestioned integrity and honor. He kept well-posted on public questions, and was an ardent supporter of the Republican party. On the 27th of March, 1834, he married Miss Sarah Weekly, who was born in North Carolina in 18 16, a daughter of Isaiah and Agatha (Fishback) Weekly, who came to Indiana in 1819 and located in Wayne county, where her father developed a farm in the midst of the forest. Healed the quiet, honest and unassuming life of a farmer, and was an earnest member of the Methodist church. His children were: Fanny, wife of P. Jenkins; Sarah, mother of our subject; Betsy, wife of Philip Doddridge; and Mordecai, all now deceased with the exception of Mrs. Jenkins. To Isaac Doddridge and wife were born eleven children, namely: Mary, who first married John Wright, and secondly William Wright; Phoebe, who died March 27, 1884; Francena, wife of W. Kramer; Eliza, wife of H. Houseworth; John H., a Methodist minister of Bloomington, Indiana; Isaiah, a farmer; Mordecai, our subject; Lurena, wife of John Judkins; Benjamin, who died in 1890; Wilbur, a farmer; and James, a resident of Milton.
Mordecai Doddridge was reared to the honest toil of a farmer and was educated in the common schools and the National Normal of Ohio. After completing his education he engaged in teaching school, in both Wayne and Union counties, until his marriage. After his marriage he settled on a farm owned by his father west of Doddridge chapel, and commenced life in earnest. In 1896 he purchased what is known as the Isom Small farm of one hundred and sixty acres, to which he has since added forty acres, and there he continues to make his home, engaged in general farming and stock-raising, with good success. He feeds most of the products of his farm to his stock. That he stands high in his community and is very popular with his fellow citizens is shown by his election to the office of trustee in a strong Democratic township when he is a Republican. He is a leading member and active worker in the Methodist church, and has held all of the church offices. He has been called upon to settle many estates, which demonstrates the fact that the people place the utmost confidence in him. He was appointed executor of his father's will and this required great care and attention, as the estate was large.
On the 12th of September, 1883, Mr. Doddridge married Miss Mary J. Spahr, who was born, in Abington township, Wayne county, May 11, 1854, and they have become the parents of two children: Joseph I., born July 23, 1886; and Sarah E. , born May 29, 1889. Mr. and Mrs. Doddridge hold membership in the Doddridge Chapel Methodist church, and occupy an enviable position in social circles.
Mrs. Doddridge's paternal grandfather, John Spahr, was one of the colony previously mentioned who came to Wayne county in 1814 and settled in Abington township, where Mrs. Doddridge's father now lives. There he spent the remainder of his life and was actively and prominently identified with the moral and material development of the county. He was twice married and by the second union had two children: Joseph B., father of Mrs. Doddridge; and Nancy, wife of Isaac Jenkins, who was also a member of the colony of 18 14 and is still living in Centerville. Joseph B. Spahr has spent his entire life upon his present farm, and as an agriculturist has met with marked success. He has made a specialty of the raising of short-horn cattle. He is a sincere and consistent Christian, a member of the Methodist church, and his life is well worthy of emulation. Formerly he was a Democrat in politics but for many years has affiliated with the Prohibition party and is a stanch adherent of its principles. He married Miss Matilda Burgess, a daughter of Richard and Susan Burgess, natives of Virginia and honored pioneers of Wayne county. By occupation her father was a farmer, miller and millwright. His children were Alexander and Leander, both farmers of Wayne county; Matilda, the first wife of Joseph B. Spahr and the mother of Mrs. Doddridge; and Martha, the second wife of Mr. Spahr.
Biographical and Genealogical History for Wayne, Fayette, Union and Franklin Counties 1899

HON. BRANSON L. HARRIS.
One of the families which have been prominent in the history of Wayne county from its early days was founded here several years prior to the beginning of the war of 1812 by Benjamin Harris, the grandfather of the subject of this memoir. The Harris family originated in Wales, and some time during the last century one Obediah Harris, with two of his brothers, made a settlement in Virginia. They were members of the Society of Friends, and sought the greater religious liberty which they were permitted to enjoy in the young American colony. Obediah Harris lived in North Carolina for a number of years, and there his son Benjamin was born. In 1810 Obediah Harris and his youngest son and namesake, both of whom were ministers of the Quaker church, came to Indiana and passed the remainder of their days in the northern part of Wayne and the southern part of Randolph counties.
It was subsequent to his marriage to Miss Margaret England that Benjamin Harris determined to try his fortunes in the new northwest, and made his removal with his family to Indiana, and located on land about six miles north of Richmond, Wayne county. He and his estimable wife spent the rest of their lives here, and of their large family, most of whom grew to maturity, married, and had homes of their own, only one, Elizabeth, the youngest daughter, is now living, her home being in Fountain City, this state. Those who have passed away were Obediah, Barsheba, Pleasant, James, John, Rebecca, Margaret, David, Sarah, Aaron and Nathan.
James Harris, the father of Branson L. Harris, was born in North Carolina, and was a lad of fourteen years when he accompanied his parents in their removal to Indiana. During the war of 1812 he entered the army and served for several months on behalf of his country, for which offense against the teachings of the Quaker church he was turned out of the society. He managed to survive that affliction, however, and later became a faithful member of the Methodist Episcopal denomination. As a young man, he performed the hardest kinds of pioneer labor, such as clearing away the forests, splitting rails, raising log cabins, and breaking the virgin soil with the crude implements of that period. Thus he earned the money with which to purchase a little tract of land for himself. His first home was on a farm of eighty acres, in Green township, west of Williamsburg, but this property he sold three years later and entered a quarter-section of land in the southeastern part of the same township. About 1827 he exchanged that place for one owned by his eldest brother Obediah, it being near the center of the same township. There he spent the rest of his busy and prosperous life, his death occurring in July, 1854. Quiet and industrious,upright and gentle, he was a most worthy and respected citizen, faithful in the discharge of all his duties. Though he was a Whig with strong antislavery principles, he did not desire to serve in public positions, preferring to keep out of politics, but was a justice of the peace for several years. In the early part of 1816 he married Naomi, daughter of John and Sarah Lewis. She was a native of North Carolina, whence she emigrated to this state with her parents, and she survived her husband a number of years. To James and Naomi Harris five sons and two daughters were born, Branson L. being the eldest; Winston E. is a resident of Williamsburg, Wayne county; Addison R. died at the age of three years; Milton R. died a number of years ago; Allen M. lives in Richmond, this county; Hannah, deceased, was the wife of William Campbell; and Sarilda is the wife of William Thornburg. The birth of Branson L. Harris took place April 21, 18 17, upon his father's old homestead in Green township. His entire life, eighty-two years has been spent in Green and Clay townships, his attention chiefly devoted to agriculture. In his young manhood he worked for neighbors until he had saved a little capital, and his next step was to rent a farm. Later he bought a small tract of land, and added to this as he could afford. At last he had one hundred and seventy acres of finely improved land, lying in one body, and this he sold some years ago, buying instead his present farm adjoining Green's Fork.
An eventful day in the history of our subject was September 19, 1839, when his marriage to Miss Martha Young was solemnized. She was born March 23, 1817, in the same locality, and they had grown up together. Her parents were Jesse and Ruth (Martindale) Young, respected early settlers of Green township. Two sons blessed the union of Mr. and Mrs. Harris, namely: Addison and Alonzo M. The latter, who was born September 13, 1845, ^^'^ resides on the farm near his parents, is married and has one daughter, Lenora, who is the only grandchild of our subject and wife. The elder son, whose birth took place October 1, 1840, was educated in Christian (now Butler) University, near Indianapolis, and later read law in that city, with Barber Howland as his preceptor. He won a splendid reputation as a member of the legal profession, and became about equally prominent in the ranks of the Republican party in this state. In the spring of 1899, after he had abundantly proved his ability in the state senate, where he had previously served the people, he was appointed by President McKinley to the very responsible and important post of minister to Austria and is now representing this great government in the court at Vienna.
By a rather remarkable coincidence Branson L. Harris and his distinguished son were members of the legislative body of Indiana at the same time, serving in the lower and upper house, respectively. The former was elected to represent his county in the general assembly of the state as early as 1852, and in 1875 and 1877 was honored with re-elections, thus serving, altogether, three terms. About 1850 he was given the office of justice of the peace, acting in that capacity for some five years, and he also served as township trustee. Both he and his sons have been stanch Republicans, keeping themselves thoroughly posted upon all of the great questions of the day. Mr. and Mrs. Harris, who are loved and revered by all who know them, were largely influential in the founding of the Christian church at Green's Fork, and have contributed liberally of their time, means and zeal toward its upbuilding.
Biographical and Genealogical History for Wayne, Fayette, Union and Franklin Counties 1899

JESSE BOND.
Jesse and Phoebe Bond, the grandparents of Henry T. and Abner D. Bond, of Clay township, and of Lewis Bond, of Cambridge City, Wayne county, were among the earliest of the pioneers of this county, as they arrived here in 1807. Their ancestors were members of the Society of Friends, and its principles were believed in and practiced by them throughout their lives. The founder of the Bond family in America was one of the colonists who accompanied William Penn; and a son, Joseph Bond, was the father of Stephen Bond, who settled in Virginia, and of Edward and Samuel, who located in North Carolina, while the other sons, Benjamin, Silas and John, remained in Pennsylvania. Edward Bond, who, as mentioned, removed to the south, married a Miss Mills, and to them were born the following named children: Benjamin, Edward, John, Joshua, William, Jesse, Joseph, Anne and Keziah.
Jesse Bond was born in 1779, married Phebe Commons, a daughter of Robert and Ruth (Hayes) Commons, and in 1807 they emigrated from Virginia to what was then the territory of Indiana. For a few years they lived upon land which now is the site of Earlham College, near Richmond. Then removing to the homestead, which is in the possession of Abner Bond, his grandson, Jesse Bond spent more than half a century there, passing to his reward upon the 4th of April, 1862. His devoted helpmate died many years previously, when in her sixty-third year, June 30, 1845. By the aid of his sons he had succeeded in clearing and greatly improving the old farm, which is situated about a mile south of the present town of Green Fork, in Clay township. For his day he was considered in quite affluent circumstances in his later years, but the life which he and his household led was simple and devoid of expensive luxuries, as this was a matter of long habit and religious training. He was a man of high standing in the community and influential in the Quaker church, often preaching and assisting in the services. Needless to say his integrity and uprightness of word and deed won for him the love and high regard of every one with whom he was associated.
To Jesse Bond and wife were born several children, namely: Nathan, -whose birth took place in 1803, and whose wife was formerly Tamar Kentworthy; Robert, born in 1804, and married Rachel Thornburg; John, born in 1806, and married Mary Barnett; William C. , born in 1808, and married Hannah Locke; Enos, born in 1810, and wedded Susanna Hoover; Isom, born in 1812, and married Dinah Kentworthy; Ruth, born in 1814, and married William Nicholson; Hannah, born in 18 16, wife of John Wilson; Isaac, born in 1818, and married Heather J Ringood; Jesse, born in 1820 and was three times married,-first to Jane Cox, then to Harriet Hank, and finally to Belle King; and Lydia, born in 1822, became the wife of Oliver Mendenhall. With the exception of Jesse and his wives, all were residents of Wayne county at the time of their marriage. In 1899 the only survivors of the family of Jesse Bond, the senior, are William, Jesse, Hannah and Lydia. Robert Bond, the father of Henry T. , Abner D. and Lewis Bond, was born in Virginia in 1804, and consequently was very young when he was brought to this county, with whose welfare his own was thenceforth to be connected. The lady of his choice was Rachel Thornburg, a daughter of Henry Thornburg, an early settler of Jefferson township, Wayne county-She was a native of Tennessee, and came to this section with her parents in childhood. After his marriage, Robert Bond located upon land adjoining his ' father's homestead, and on this property he and his estimable wife passed the rest of their days. Following the worthy example of his father, he adhered to the Society of Friends and illustrated the noble ideals which he cherished in his daily life. Loved and mourned by a large circle of sincere friends, he entered the silent land on the 28th of March, 1864. Of the six sons and two daughters born to himself and wife, and reared to maturity, only three, H. T. , A. D. and Lewis, survive. John, Milton, Larkin, Emily and Lydia E. have passed away.
Henry T. Bond was born upon the parental homestead in Clay township, February 10, 1827, and on the 4th of September, i860, he was united in marriage with Miss Mary A. Boyd. Her father, Robert Boyd, was one of the pioneers of Wayne county and later removed to Henry county, where he spent the rest of his life. Mr. Bond was bereft of his wife, who died in October, 1897, leaving three children: Robert B., Emma F. and James Edgar.
Abner Bond, who resides upon the old homestead formerly owned by his grandfather, Jesse Bond, was born April 19, 1836. His marriage to Miss Mary E. Scott, a daughter of John and Jane (Willetts) Scott, was solemnized in i860. To Mr. and Mrs. Bond the following named children were born: Emma Celeste, September 24, 1861; Maud, March 16, 1865; Virgia Blanche, April 14, 1877; and Edith A., May 20, 1882. The eldest daughter became the wife of A. R. Jones, of Centerville, Wayne county, and died November 4, 1889, leaving two children: Forest B., who was born April 8, 1876, and Mary Lucile, born October 24, 1879. Maud, the second daughter of Mr. Bond, married William Woodruff, and resides near her father's home. Virgia Blanche died February 4, 1878. Edith A. is living with her father on the farm.
The Bond brothers are highly respected by those who have known them from their boyhood, and they are indeed worthy representatives of this honored pioneer family. At all times they have been safely relied upon to use their influence, and means if need be, in the advancement of whatever has been for the good of the community.
Biographical and Genealogical History for Wayne, Fayette, Union and Franklin Counties 1899

ISHAM SMELSER.
During the pioneer epoch in the history of Wayne county, the Smelser family was founded within its borders by Jacob and Elizabeth (Smith) Smelser, who, leaving their homes in Kentucky in 1822, took up their residence in Boston township, Wayne county, Indiana, where they spent their remaining days. The members of the family took an active and prominent part in the development of this section of the state, aided in transforming its wild lands into rich farms, and in other ways promoted the progress and advancement which made a once wild region the home of a contented, prosperous people. Jacob Smelser lived to witness much of the development of the county, his death occurring December 8, 1875, when he had reached the advanced age of ninety-one years. His wife passed away April 7, 1869, at the age of seventy-five years. They had nine children: Harriet, widow of William Byers, and a resident of Richmond; Solomon, who is mentioned in connection with the sketch of Nicholas Smelser, of Harrison township, Union county; Catherine, who married Isaac Esteb, of Boston township, Wayne county; Margarey, deceased wife of John Sedgwick; James, who died leaving a widow, who now lives four miles east of Richmond; Isham, of this review; Jacob, a resident of Frankton, Madison county, Indiana; Minerva, wife of James Hart, of Harrison township, Union county; and Tracy, widow of Zachariah Osborn, of Boston township, Wayne county.
Isham Smelser, whose name heads this article, was born on the old family homestead in Wayne county, November 23, 1823, and was therefore reared amid the wild scenes of frontier life. He aided in the arduous task of clearing wild land and converting it into fertile fields, continuing to assist his father until his marriage, when he began farming on his own account. The first land he owned was a tract of one hundred and eighty-two acres, given him by his father, and with characteristic energy he began its development. He was very industrious and enterprising, and as his financial resources increased he added to his landed possessions until he was the owner of an extensive and valuable property. In connection with the cultivation of his fields, he engaged in raising cattle in large numbers. He fed these for the town market, and found that branch of his business a very profitable one. His capable management, enterprise, well directed efforts and honorable dealings were the important factors in his prosperity and brought him a very handsome competence.
In 1850 Mr. Smelser and Miss Henrietta Farlow were united in marriage. The lady was a daughter of John and Catherine Farlow, of Harrison township. Union county, where the family located at a very early day. It was in that locality that Mrs. Smelser was born, and there her marriage occurred. Four children were born of this union: John F. and Richard E., who reside on the old family homestead, now owned by the latter; Jacob S., a resident farmer of Boston township, Wayne county; and Mary E., wife of Walter W. McConahan, of Center township, Wayne county. Both Richard and John are members of the Knights of Pythias fraternity, of Abington, Indiana. The former owns four hundred and five acres of land,-the old family homestead,-and the latter is the owner of a valuable farm of three hundred and twenty acres in Boston township. They carried on business in partnership for five years, but have since dissolved their business relations. They are both men of executive ability and enterprise and are numbered among the leading citizens of the community. The father of this family was a faithful member of the Universalist church, very regular in his attendance on its services, and was fond of an argument on religious topics, on which he was well informed. Straightforward in all his business dealings, loyal to his duties of citizenship, he commanded the respect and confidence of his fellow men, and by his death the community lost one of its valued citizens. He passed away September 28, [882, in his fifty-ninth year, and his wife, surviving him some time, died December 15, 1893, at the age of sixty-seven years.
Biographical and Genealogical History for Wayne, Fayette, Union and Franklin Counties 1899

HON. WILLIAM BAXTER.
In the death of William Baxter, September 6, 1886, Wayne county lost one of her most prominent and useful citizens, and though more than a decade has been added to the past since he passed to his reward he is remembered in many a home, and his good works in various directions still speak his praises. While he was deeply concerned in numerous philanthropic enterprises, he was, more especially, heart and soul identified with the temperance cause. Gifted with eloquence and a ready flow of language, he delivered able addresses on the subject of temperance, in all parts of this state and Ohio. A Republican, politically, he was elected on that ticket to the Indiana legislature, and served one term there in the '70s. Later he was further honored by being elected to the state senate, and while a member of that honorable body he introduced and secured the passage of the bill known as the Baxter local-option bill. He was actively engaged in all measures of public importance and was a thorough disbeliever in the system of capital punishment which prevails. Not only was he prominent in the Woman's Reformatory of Indianapolis and deeply interested in all state-prison reforms, but in every practical manner he also sought to do good to his fellow men. In short, his life was the embodiment of the highest teaching of Christianity, of love and service toward God and man.
A native of Yorkshire, England, William Baxter was born February 14, 1824. His parents were John and Mary (Pollard) Baxter, likewise of Yorkshire birth. The father was a minister of the Methodist church, and doubtless his beautiful example and wise teaching had much to do in forming the character of his son William. He was very influential in his own neighborhood, for ha was not only a good man but one of brains and liberal ideas, and a great student. He was the father of ten children, three of whom died in England. The father having died, William Baxter came to the United States in 1848 and made a home in Philadelphia, to which his widowed mother came the following year, and the rest of the family later crossed the Atlantic.
Prior to leaving his native land Mr. Baxter had studied law, but he concluded that he would not follow that vocation, and instead he accepted a position as manager of a woolen-goods factory. At the end of a few years he became interested in the tea trade at Liverpool, and after arriving in Philadelphia he dealt in wool in wholesale quantities, as a partner in the firm of David Scull & Company. When he came to Richmond in 1864 he continued buying, shipping and selling wool to his old Quaker City house up to 1875. He became the owner of a fine one-hundred-acre farm in what is now West Richmond, and from 1875 until his death he was a stockholder and director in the Wayne Agricultural Works, of Richmond.
In England Mr. Baxter married Mary Wickett, who died soon after their removal to Philadelphia, and their only child, a son, died in infancy. December 3, 1856, Mr. Baxter married Mary Barker, who survives him and resides in Richmond, loved and respected by all who know her. Her parents, Enoch and Sophia (Davis) Barker, were both natives of North Carolina, and left that state to take up their abode in the north on account of their opposition to slavery. They came to this state in 1831 and five years later the father died at his home near Thornton, Boone county. The mother survived him for sixty years, dying at a very advanced age in Richmond, in 1896.
The five living children of William and Mary (Barker) Baxter are: Sarah, wife of Edward Fletcher, of thip place; Mary E., wife of John G. Sutton, of Warsaw, Indiana; Maria, at home; Lucy V., who married Percival B. Coffin, of Chicago; and William H., a citizen of Richmond.
Biographical and Genealogical History for Wayne, Fayette, Union and Franklin Counties 1899

JAMES H. WALKER.
This well known agriculturist and highly esteemed citizen of Washington township is a worthy representative of one of the honored pioneer families of Wayne county, being a son of John B. and Susan (Sinks) Walker, natives of Tennessee and Ohio, respectively. The maternal grandfather, Jacob Sinks, came to this county from Ohio, about 1818, and located on land adjoining the new village of Milton, which his wife's father, Mr. Yount, had entered from the government. He improved a part of the land for ing purposes, and platted a portion, laying out about a fourth of the town of Milton into lots, which he sold. He built the first gristmill at that place, which was burned a number of years ago. Lated he added a sawmill to that structure, the power being obtained by damming the Whitewater river. He was a very enterprising and public-spirited man, whose services were of inestimable value to the new country, and he did all in his power to promote the interests of Milton, taking a foremost place in any movement for the benefit of his adopted town or county. He built many of the residences of Milton, and continued to make that place his home until his death. He was a consistent member of the Society of Friends, was a man of stern integrity and honor, and was highly esteemed by his fellow citizens. He had four children: Daniel; Anna; Susan, mother of our subject; and Jacob, all of whom are now deceased.
John B. Walker, the father of our subject, was a blacksmith and woodworker by trade, and was an expert mechanic. He came to Milton in 1818, and was soon afterward joined by his brother and sister. Seeing the need of agricultural implements in this new country, and both being good mechanics, the brothers soon embarked in the manufacture of plows, for which there was a great demand, and now many of the old men, who were then boys, say that the first plow they used was made by Walker & Brother. They are also willing to testify to the honest work done by the firm, and the honorable way in which they conducted all their black smithing and woodwork business, which, they continued for many years. The father of our subject also engaged in farming, and was a great fancier of fine horses. He probably did more than any other individual in early days to improve the grade of horses in this county, and owned several fine stallions. He bought a small tract of land adjoining the corporation of Milton, erected thereon a commodious residence, and there spent the remainder of his days, dying November 4, 1852. On coming to Milton he was a Methodist, but finally became converted to the Christian church, and was ever afterward one of its devoted and leading members. He was a man of high integrity, was honorable in all his dealings, and in all respects his life was most exemplary. Politically he was a Whig. His wife survived him for many years, and died on the old homestead, at Milton, June 26, 1880. She, too, was a consistent member of the Christian church, and was loved and respected by all who knew her. Their children were Sarah C, who died at the age of twelve years; Jacob S., who died in 1880, leaving a wife and five children; Mary A., wife of J. McNamee; and James H., our subject.
James H. Walker was born in Milton, April 13, 1851, and was only an infant When his father died. He was reared at the old home by a good Christian mother, who tenderly cared for him, and he was educated in the local schools. He was always engaged in agricultural pursuits, and also in teaming to some extent, and he now owns a good farm besides the sixteen acre tract at the old home. The house built by his father in 1837 is an elegant structure and is still well preserved.
In 1880 Mr. Walker wedded Miss Mary C. Macy, who belongs to a prominent early family of Jay county, Indiana. Her parents, Obed and Mary (White) Macy. were natives of North Carolina, and with their respective parents came to Jay county, where their marriage was celebrated. The father, who is a carpenter by trade, now resides in Adams county, Indiana, an honored and highly respected citizen of that locality. Politically, he is a Democrat, and religiously adheres to the faith of the Society of Friends. His wife died when Mrs. Walker was very young. The latter was born April 16, 1856, and is an only child. Mr. and Mrs. Walker have one daughter, Carrie S., born May 30, 1884. Mother and daughter are consistent members of the Methodist church, and the family is both widely and favorably known. Politically, Mr. Walker is a stanch Republican, and though I e takes an active interest in all public questions and political affairs he has never aspired to office.
Biographical and Genealogical History for Wayne, Fayette, Union and Franklin Counties 1899


ANDREW F. SCOTT.
It is a well attested maxim that the greatness of the state lies not in the machinery of government, or even in its institutions, but in the sterling qualities of its individual citizens, in their capacity for high and unselfish effort and their devotion to the public good. To this class belonged Andrew F. Scott of Richmond, a man prominent in the business, social and church circles of the city. His influence for good was widely felt, and his example was indeed worthy of emulation. He was at all times actuated by the highest motives and the most lofty principles; he lived for the benefit of others, and his memory remains as an unalloyed benediction to all who knew him. The history of Richmond would be incomplete without the record of his life, so intimately was he connected with its commercial and benevolent institutions.
Andrew F. Scott was born in Rockbridge county, Virginia, on the 28th of December, 1811, and made the best of the advantages afforded him for the acquirement of an education. In 1838 he left the Old Dominion in order to try his fortune upon the prairies of the far west and took up his residence in the little village of Richmond, Indiana. He entered upon his vocation here as a school-teacher, and later accepted the position of clerk for Daniel Reid. In 1839 Mr. Reid was appointed registrar of the land office at Fort Wayne, and appointed Mr. Scott his chief deputy. In 1841 the latter was appointed deputy sheriff of Wayne county and returned from Fort Wayne to Centerville in order to assume the duties of his new position. On the expiration of his term of service he went to Cincinnati and entered the employ of a steamboat company, with which he was connected until 1847, when he came to Richmond and embarked in merchandising. For four years he successfully carried on operations in that line, and then assumed the duties of county clerk, to which office he was elected in 1851 for a term of four years. In 1855 he was again chosen for that position, being elected almost without opposition. When his second term expired he turned his attention to agricultural pursuits and carpentering, which he followed for six years, when, in 1866, he became a partner in the grocery firm of Forkner, Scott & Elmer, which relation was maintained for a number of years. In 1872 he was instrumental in organizing the Second National Bank, was one of its leading stockholders, and at its formation was elected president, in which position he continued to serve to the time of his death. To his enterprise, sagacity, keen discrimination and thorough reliability, the success of the institution is largely due, and to his efforts may be attributed its high standing in financial circles. He was a man of unquestioned integrity in all business transactions, was progressive in his methods and very energetic; and the success and prosperity he achieved was the deserved reward of honorable labor. He aided in organizing, and was a stockholder in the Richmond Natural Gas Company.
In 1839 Mr. Scott was united in marriage with Miss Martha McGlathery, of Philadelphia. She was born in Norristown, Pennsylvania, June 17, 1808. Her father was a wealthy market gardener near Philadelphia, who came to Richmond, Indiana, in 1837, and lived here until her marriage to Mr. Scott, July 11, 1839. She was a faithful helpmate until her death, January 8, 1888. She was a member of the United Presbyterian church, but her home among the flowers and plants was her delight. In regard to her benevolent character we can emphatically say she never turned the needy from her door un-supplied. Her kindness of heart often carried her to the limit of her resources. For example, during the civil war word was received that the soldiers were suffering for blankets to keep them warm; and Mrs. Scott contributed the last comfortable or quilt she had in the house.
The children of Mr. and Mrs. Scott were John. Letitia, Augustus and Mary; but all are now deceased with the exception of Augustus. Letitia died February 22, 1863, at the age of twenty-two years. She was married in 1859 to Joseph McNutt, who died in 1877. They had two children. The elder, Albert Scott McNutt, is a graduate of the West Point Military Academy and was stationed for some time in the west, at Cheyenne, Fort Thomas and other points, with the rank of first lieutenant. The younger son, Frank A., is a man of superior education and has traveled all over the world, having circumnavigated the globe. He served as secretary of the legation at Madrid and consul at Constantinople. He recently married a Miss Van Cortland Ogden, an heiress of New York city, and now lives in a palatial home in Rome, Italy. Mary E. was the wife of John M. Tennis, and had one daughter, Martha, wife of Joseph Gibson, of Richmond, Indiana.
For many years Mr. Scott was one of the leading and zealous members of the United Presbyterian church of Richmond, and served as elder for a long period. He was always found in his place at the church services and lived that practical religion which teaches charity, kindness, sympathy and benevolence. The poor and needy found in him a warm friend, yet his aid was always un-ostentatious, and was frequently bestowed when the recipient knew not who was the donor. In politics he was always a stanch Democrat, and for eight years served as a member of the city council, taking an active part in the advocacy and adoption of all measures tending to prove of public benefit. He was an exemplary member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, of the Masonic order and of the local humane society. He passed away March i6, 1895, honored and respected by all who knew him. The banks of the city were closed during the hour of the funeral services, and throughout this section of Indiana was mourned the death of this honored pioneer, enterprising citizen, faithful friend, devoted husband and father and earnest Christian gentleman. At the meeting of the Humane Society, the following tribute to his memory was read by Mrs. F. M. Clark:
The cause of humanity never had a truer friend than this loved and valued member of our society who has passed to the higher life. The stereotyped words customary on such occasions seem but mockery when we remember all the grand traits that went to make the character of this, one of nature's noblemen. In all the relations of life,-family, church and society, -he displayed that consistent Christian spirit, that innate refinement, that endeared him alike to man, woman and child. He early learned that true happiness consisted in ministering to others, and his integrity and fidelity were manifest in every act of his life. Splendid monuments record the virtues of kings, history's pages chronicle the deeds of heroes, but the memory of our brother will live in the hearts of those who knew and loved him. The example of such a life is an inspiration to others, and his influence will be felt long after the marble has crumbled and history's pages are dust. We feel that in the death of Andrew F. Scott our society has sustained an irreparable loss, and we extend to his family our sincere sympathy in this their great bereavement."
Biographical and Genealogical History for Wayne, Fayette, Union and Franklin Counties 1899

HON. OMER M. KEM

It is only within a very recent period that the great West of our country has been able to make itself heard in any effective way in its demand for the aid of the general government in developing its vast arid regions and bringing them into productiveness and fertility through systematic and sufficient irrigation.  To all appeals on this score prior to a few years ago, the congress of the United States turned a deaf and often defiant ear, apparently unable or unwilling to see that the waters of the Rocky mountain region, if properly stored and distributed, would not only fructify the great plains that stretch away from it to the Mississippi, but would also be restrained from creating the disastrous floods which spring after spring for centuries has wasted many, many times the wealth required for their proper use in this way.  Among the broad-minded and aggressive representatives of the West whose persistent efforts at last compelled an attentive audience to this subject and secured provision for the mighty means of beneficence and local and national aggrandizement involved therein.  Hon. Omer M. Kem, a member of the fifty-second, fifty-third and fifty-fourth congresses from Nebraska, but now an esteemed resident of Colorado, is entitled to special consideration and credit.  From the time of his entry into the halls of national legislation, to the close of his valuable services there he was a persistent and able advocate of the scheme, and labored incessantly in committees and on the floor of the house of representatives in its behalf.  His efforts and others’ have at length been crowned with success, for the government is now engaged in constructing immense irrigation works throughout the West, which solves for all time the irrigation problem.  If there were nothing else in his life worthy of regard, his efforts in this behalf would entitle him to be enshrined in the loving remembrance of the Western people for all time.  Mr. Kem was born in 1855 at Martinsdale Creek, Wayne County, Indiana, and is the son of Madison and Malinda (Bulla) Kem.  His father was a native of West Virginia, and at the age of sixteen emigrated to Indiana, then a newly opened territory and an almost unbroken wilderness.  He was a carpenter by trade and settled in Wayne County, with his parents, Joseph and Lucy (Helms) Kem, who were among the first settlers there, what is now the city of Richmond having at the time of their arrival only three log cabins as the sum of its human habitations.  Both father and grandfather passed the remainder of their lives in that state, the latter dying at the age of eighty-four and the former at that of seventy-five.  Mr. Kem’s mother was a native of the state, her parents having come thither from North Carolina previous to her birth.  They died while she was a young girl, and she passed away in 1883, aged sixty-five years, leaving eight children, of whom Omer was the last born.  His boyhood and youth were passed in Indiana and in her district schools he received his education.  At the age of fifteen, he engaged in farming there, remaining until 1880, when he moved to Illinois and during the next two years, farmed in Vermillion County, that state.  He then moved farther west to the frontier of Nebraska and settled on a homestead in Custer County near what is now the city of Broken Bow, the county seat.  Here he farmed and improved his land, and gave earnest attention to the public affairs of the section, aiding in developing its resources, multiplying its conveniences, raising the standards of life among its people, and doing all that a man of public-spirit, breadth of view and patriotic devotion to his community could do to accelerate its progress and better its condition.  In 1890 he was selected deputy county treasurer and served in that capacity till July of the following year.  He was nominated by the People’s Alliance party for representative in the fifty-second congress, and at the ensuing election was successful.  He was twice re-elected, serving in three successive congresses, and during that service of six years was of great benefit to his state and section in many ways.  He fully understood the people he represented, and was in full sympathy with their aspirations and thoroughly imbued with their spirit.  Moreover, he knew the needs of the region, was familiar with its history, had a comprehensive conception of its resources and possibilities, and was entirely loyal and devoted to its interests.  It was inevitable that a man so prepared and equipped and with the ability to use his forces effectively in set arguments or running debate, and withal possessed with a courtesy and geniality of manner that almost disarmed opposition to begin with, should prove to be a most valuable and serviceable representative, and his people set the seal of their approval on his usefulness by continuing him at his post so long.  After the close of his congressional career he moved to Colorado and settled on the farm of one hundred and sixty acres which is his present residence, three miles west of Montrose.  On this he has planted an orchard of twenty acres, containing apple, apricot, plum and cherry trees, and a vineyard of select varieties of grapes, and has erected a fine brick dwelling of modern pattern and ample proportions, with all the needed outbuildings and other appurtenances for the stock industry which he conducts in connection with his fruit culture.  In Colorado he has taken but little part in politics, but he is none the less keenly alive to the enduring welfare of the state, and neglects no opportunity to aid in promoting it.  Mr. Kem has been married twice, the second time in 1884 to Miss Maria Lockhart, of Ohio, a daughter of Robert and Rachel (Welch) Lockhart, of that state.  The father was a minister there and died in 1877, and his widow is now living at Paonia, Colorado.  By this marriage, Mr. Kem became the father of seven children, five of whom are living, Huxley Darwin, Iris, Myrtle, Victor and Kathleen.  Another son, Bert, and a daughter, Marie, are deceased.  His first marriage was to Miss Lenora Benson, a native of North Carolina, who died in 1882, at the age of thirty-four, leaving three children, Maud, Malinda and Claud.  Two others, Edwin and Earl, died in childhood.

The following extracts are from a speech delivered by Congressman Kem in the national house of representatives on Friday, August 10, 18945, on the question of government irrigation.  It is entitled to special interest as being the first speech ever made in congress publicly advocating government irrigation and also because the government is now practically following out the ideas embodied therein.  [long speech dealing with Colorado issues deleted]

(Source: Progressive Men of Western Colorado, Publ 1905. Transcribed By Joanne Scobee Morgan)
Nancy Piper

DR. JAMES EVANS
Dr. Evans was born in Wayne county, Indiana, June 6th, 1829. He never attended school until he was seventeen years of age, but studied some at home without a teacher. When he began school he bent his whole energy to his work. He soon began teaching and studying medicine at the same time, giving eighteen out of twenty-four hours to his books. He graduated from Rush medical college at Chicago in 1855, and practiced his profession in Lebanon, Indiana, twenty-three years, and keeping a drug store in connection with his practice. He made seven additions to the town of Lebanon during his residence there. In 1871 he came to Missouri and settled in Springfield and engaged in the drug business three years, and since has been dealing in real estate. In 1880 he purchased the farm where he now resides, at Nichols’ Junction. It was known as the Robinson farm, and the dwelling is the finest brick farm house in the county. Dr. Evans now owns seven hundred acres of land in this county, besides property in Indiana. He is now rearing some thoroughbred short horned cattle, and makes a specialty of rearing stock of a high grade. He was married May 3rd, 1855, to Miss Louisa A. Thompson, of Boone county, Indiana. Their union has been blest with four children, viz.: Alpha D., J.B. Breckenridge, E. Ella and Freddie. Dr. Evans is a member of both the Odd Fellows and Masonic societies.
Source: Greene County, Missouri; St. Louis, Western Historical Company (1883) Transcribed by Kim Mohle

Hon. Joseph E. Saint – This gentleman, who has the reputation of being one of Albuquerque's most farseeing and successful residents, is a native of Indiana, having been born in Henry county, on the 23d day of November, 1847. He is of Scotch descent, his ancestors being early settlers in the South. His paternal great-grandfather resided for many years in Greensburg, North Carolina, where his grandfather, William Saint, was born. Our subject's father, Alpheus Saint, was also born at that place, the date of his nativity being the 4th day of February, 1812. The family belonged to the Quaker Church, and was one of honest convictions, believers of the Golden Rule, and by reason of their antipathy to the prevalent practice of human slavery in the South, it ceased to be a congenial place of residence for them. Accordingly, in 1817, the grandfather and his family sought the free territory of Indiana, then a veritable wilderness, and became pioneer settlers of Wayne county, where they made comfortable homes.
Here it was that the father of our subject married Miss Irene Hyat. The lady was born in North Carolina, and belonged to a family of the Quaker faith, who removed to Indiana at the time that the Saints did. To them were born ten children, of whom five are now living. The father died when seventy-four years of age, and his wife, who is now eighty-three years old, still lives, being one of Indiana's honored pioneer women. She is a noble woman, and one who is respected and beloved by a wide circle of friends, as well as by her descendants of three generations.
Joseph E., our subject, was the seventh child in the order of birth. He attended school in Indiana until his thirteenth year, and the family then removed to Illinois, where the young man's education was completed. After becoming of age he left the farm, learned the milling business and followed the vocations of milling and mill building for about ten years. After this he traveled for a wholesale grocery house, and was engaged in this business when, in 1879, he came to New Mexico. In that vocation he continued for three years and then, in 1882, resigned his position to embark in the wholesale and retail grocery business in Albuquerque, in which line he continued for a number of years.
In the year 1884 he engaged in an extensive land speculation, organized a large cattle company and leased a tract of land, comprising 100,000 acres, for thirty years, it being the Acoma Indian Reservation. They had $300,000 paid up capital, and Mr. Saint was at the organization made vice-president and general manager, a position which he still holds. The operations of this company have been very extensive, as many as 18,000 head of cattle being owned at one time. The directors and officers of the company remain the same as when organized, and the live-stock is now well graded up with Herefords and Shorthorns. In 1890 Mr. Saint organized a timber proposition and sold 314,000 acres of timbered land to Mitchell Bros., of Michigan, for $629,000 in cash, making upon this deal a handsome margin of profit. Since 1890 the gentleman has been interested in mining and now has valuable property at Hillsboro. This is being worked at present and with flattering prospects.
In 1893 Mr. Saint was appointed receiver of the New Mexico Savings Bank. He has already paid forty per cent of the indebtedness and expects to work out the whole liability with very slight loss to any one. The gentleman is in politics a Republican, and as such takes a great interest in the offices of his country and city. In 1891 he was elected Mayor of Albuquerque, and in 1892 he was chosen as a member of the Territorial Senate. Here he was quite prominent, taking a leading part in the deliberations of that body. He did valiant battle for a number of good measures and was one of the champions of the bill to reduce the salaries of county officers, to take effect two years thereafter. The measure carried, but the last legislature practically reinstated the old salary list. Mr. Saint was for seven years a member of the Cattle Sanitary Board of New Mexico, and for four years president of the board. He was appointed twice by a Democratic Governor and twice by a Republican Governor, and the health and brand laws of New Mexico are largely due to his knowledge of the needs of the cattle business.
In 1876 Mr. Saint was married to Miss Ada Millington, a native of Illinois, and a daughter of Mr. D. A. Millington, a pioneer merchant of Leavenworth, Kansas. Their children are Irene, Louise and Ethel. They have for their home one of Albuquerque's finest residences and are counted as among the city's best residents.
In 1890 he was one of a party who made an excursion tour through Texas, and in the various towns and cities which they visited Mr. Saint had occasion to note incidentally that there were boards of trade or chambers of commerce, and through this source was entertainment principally extended to the visitors. The advantage of maintaining such an organization in his own city occurred forcibly to our subject's mind, and he forthwith made the determination that he would lend every effort toward bringing about such an organization in Albuquerque. To his zeal and interest is, in a large measure, due the maintenance of the prosperous Commercial Club, which was duly organized and which has contributed so largely to the advancement and substantial upbuilding of the metropolis of the Territory. The club has erected a fine building in the business center and the same is one of the most substantial and attractive architectural structures in the Territory. Upon the organization of the club Mr. Saint became one of the stockholders and a member of its board of directors, and he has continued to manifest a lively interest in its work, the organization being looked upon by all as one of Albuquerque's best institutions, since it has spread the fame of the city throughout the entire Union and has made known the advantages and great natural resources of New Mexico. Our subject enjoys the confidence and esteem of the entire community, and is recognized as one of the representative citizens of the place to whose welfare he has been devoted.
Source:  "An Illustrated History of New Mexico . . .;" The Lewis Publishing Company, 1895; transcribed by Genealogy Trails Transcription Team

Judge Elisha Van Buren Long, senior member of the law firm of Long & Fort, of Las Vegas, was born in Wayne county, Indiana, March 7, 1840, of German and Welsh descent, but on both sides his ancestors were early settlers in America. His grandfather, Christopher Long, served through the war for independence, and lived to the age of ninety-eight years. He was one of the early pioneers of Indiana, and was buried at a place which afterward became the center of the turnpike constructed through Henry county, Indiana; but out of consideration for the remains of a soldier of the Revolution a slight diversion was made and his grave was left unmolested. Later, his son, Joel Long, had the grave enclosed in a neat iron fence, and erected a monument with the inscription, "Christopher Long, a Revolutionary Soldier." Notwithstanding the grave is a long distance out of town, each Decoration Day kind hands decorate with beautiful flowers the last resting place of the patriot soldier. Our subject's father, Elisha Long, was born in Rockingham county, Virginia. He emigrated to Ohio when a young man, becoming an early pioneer of Jackson county, but afterward removed to Wayne county, Indiana, and was one of the prominent men of that State. He was active in the organization of the State militia, and was widely known in the pioneer days, having been one of the commissioners of the State for the making of the internal improvements of Indiana. Mr. Long married Miss Malinda Hale, a native of Virginia, and a descendant of one of the old families of that State. They had seven children, of whom three survive. Mr. Long departed this life at the age of fifty years, and his wife lived to the age of sixty-eight years.

Elisha V. Long, their youngest child, received his education in the common schools of Indiana and in the New Castle Academy. When a young man he worked on the farm, clerked in a store and taught school, using every laudable means to obtain a start in life. He afterward read law in the office of Stanfield & Anderson, at South Bend, Indiana, and before reaching his twenty-first year was admitted to the bar in Warsaw, Indiana, where he followed his profession until 1873, at which time he was appointed a Judge of the Circuit Court by the Hon. Thomas A. Hendricks, then Governor of Indiana. Subsequently Judge Long was twice elected Circuit Judge in the same district, having been retained on the bench continuously from 1873 until the fall of 1885. His friends mention, with pardonable pride, that, although an earnest, active Democrat, Judge Long was retained as a Judge for twelve years, in a district largely Republican, and twice carried his own county as a Democratic candidate, notwithstanding the fact that the county was Republican by a thousand majority, and also twice received good majorities as a Democratic candidate in the city of Warsaw, which usually gave a Republican majority of 400. Judge Long enjoys the distinction of being the only Democrat who ever received a majority in his county and city after the organization of the Republican party. On the day his term expired he received a commission from President Cleveland making him Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of the Territory of New Mexico. His health having become seriously impaired, he accepted the appointment, and entered upon the duties of his office at Santa Fe in November, 1885, where he remained until 1887. The Territory was afterward redistricted for judicial purposes, and Judge Long came to Las Vegas and held the office until March, 1891. After the inauguration of President Harrison, he resigned his position to give the members of that party their places in the offices of the country, believing that to the victors belong the spoils. A life-long Democrat, he has rendered his party much valuable service. His services on the bench were both capable and satisfactory, and proved him to be a lawyer of a high order of talent. In social relations he is a Royal Arch Mason. Since coming to Las Vegas the Judge has been fully identified with the advancement of the city, having invested in her real estate, built a beautiful home, and is highly esteemed as a valuable citizen and a lawyer of the highest integrity and ability.
After his retirement from the bench the firm of Long & Fort was organized, thus constituting one of the most able law firms in the Territory, and they have enjoyed a large and successful practice. Mr. Long prefers the criminal law practice, but is at home in the general practice of his profession. He is an eloquent and forcible speaker, and is an easy and natural writer, with the power to put his ideas in good English. He began writing for the press when only eighteen years of age, and is consequently a veteran writer. It is a matter of history in New Mexico that Judge Long enforced the first writ of ejectment on the Maxwell land grant, and thus has the credit of being the pioneer leader in the settlement of vexatious titles.
In 1872 our subject was united in marriage with Miss Alice R. Walton, a native of Pennsylvania, but raised in Indiana. They have four children – Alfred Hendricks and Boaz Walton, both attending a military academy in Missouri, and Mary and Terressa Alice.
Source:  "An Illustrated History of New Mexico . . .;" The Lewis Publishing Company, 1895; transcribed by Genealogy Trails Transcription Team







Return To The Main Wayne County Index Page