1873 Court Officers

Supreme Court
Name Position City Term Expires
Joseph M. Beck Chief Justice Port Madison December 31, 1873
William E. Miller Judge Iowa City December 31,1875
Chester C. Cole Judge Des Moines December 31,1875
James G. Day Judge Sidney December 31,1877.
Charles Linderman Clerk Des Moines January 3,1875.
Edward H. Stiles Reporter of the Decisions January 3, 1875.

District Courts
District Name Town/City County
1st Judicial District Joshua Tracy Burling­ton Des Moines
2nd Judicial District Morris J. Williams Ottumwa Wapello
3rd Judicial District Samuel Forrey Leon Decatur
4th Judicial District Henry Ford Sioux City Woodbury
5th Judicial District Hugh W. Maxwell Indianola Warren
6th Judicial District Ezekiel S. Sampson Sigourney Keokuk
7th Judicial District William F. Brannan Muscatine Muscatine county.
8th Judicial District James H. Rothrock Tip­ton Cedar
9th Judicial District David S. Wilson Du­buque Dubuque
10th Judicial District Milo McGlathery West Union Payette
11th Judicial District Daniel D. Chase Web­ster City Hamilton
12th Judicial District George W. Ruddick Waverly Bremer
13th Judicial District Joseph R. Reed Council Bluffs Pottawattamie

The terms of office of all the Judges of the District Courts, except those for the 13th and 18th Districts, expire on the 31st of December, 1874. Those for the 18th and 13th expire on the 81st of December, 1876.

District Attorneys
Distrct Name Town/City County
1st Judicial District D. N. Sprague Wapello Louisa
2nd Judicial District M. H. Jones Bloomfleld Davis
3rd Judicial District W. T. Laughlin Mt. Ayr Ringgold
4th Judicial District C. H. Lewis Cherokee Cherokee
5th Judicial District Josiah Given Des Moines Polk
6th Judicial District S. G. Smith Newton Jasper
7th Judicial District Lyman A. Ellis Lyons Clinton
8th Judicial District W. G. Thompson Marian Linn
9th Judicial District Joseph B. Powers Cedar Falls Black
10th Judicial District Orlando J. Clark * Decorah Winneshiek
11th Judicial District M. D. O'Connell Fort Dodge Webster
12th Judicial District Lindley S. Butler Northwood Worth
13th Judicial District H, K. McJunkin Glenwood Mills

The terms of office of all the District Attorneys, except those for the 12th and 13th Districts, expire on January 3,1875. Those for the 12th and 13th Districts expire On December 31,1876.
* Appointed to fill vacancy

Distrct Name Town/City County
1st Judicial Circuit Joan B. Drayer Mt. Pleasant Henry
2nd Judicial Circuit Robert Sloan Keosauqua Van Buren
3rd Judicial Circuit J. W. Hewitt Red Oak Montgomery
4th Judicial Circuit Addison Oliver Onawa City Monona
5th Judicial Circuit John Mitchell Des Moines Polk
6th Judicial Circuit Lucian C. Blanchard Montezuma Poweshiek
7th Judicial Circuit Daniel W. Ellis Lyons Clinton
8th Judicial Circuit John McKean Anamosa Jones
9th Judicial Circuit Sylvester Bagg Waterloo Black Hawk
10th Judicial Circuit Charles T. Granger Waukon Allamakee
llth Judicial Circuit John H. Bradley Marshalltown Marshall
12th Judicial Circuit Robert G. Reiniger Charles City Floyd
13th Judicial Circuit T. R. Stockton Sidney Fremont

The terms of office of all the Circuit Judges commence on the sixth day of January 1873, and terminate on the 31st day of December,1876.
The boundaries of the Judicial Circuits are the same as the boundaries of the Judicial Districts.

Commissioners of Legal Inquiry
Name Town/City County Term Expires
William H. Seevers Oskaloosa Mahaska April, 1878.
Samuel H. Fairall Iowa City Johnson April, 1878.
James O. Crosby Garnavillo Clayton April, 1878.

Appointed by the Governor, with the consent of the Senate.

Commissioners to Revise the Statutes
Name Town/City County
William U, Seevers Oskaloosa Mahaska
William G. Hammond Iowa City Johnson
Wm. J. Knight Dubuque Dubuque

Appointed by Chapter 97, Private, Local and Temporary Laws of 1872.

From Iowa Official Register 1873
Transcribed by Dennis Danielson

Copyright © Genealogy Trails
All data on this website is Copyright by Genealogy Trails with full rights reserved for original submitters.