Iowa Penitentiary

Fort Madison, Lee County

Seth H. Craig Warden; Term expires March 31,1874
J. H. Reynolds Deputy Warden
Charles Hilles Clerk
Rev. John Burgess Chaplain
A. W. Hoffmeister, M. D. Physician
The Warden is elected by the General Assembly In joint convention, at each reglar session. - The Warden appoints the Deputy Warden, Clerk, Chaplain, and Guards, and with the concurrence of the Governor the Physician, and on the nomination of the Physician appoints a Hospital Steward.


Now building at Anamosa, Jones County

Board Of Commissioners.
Name Town/City County
Martin Heisey Anamosa Jones
William Ure Fairfax Linn
Foster L. Downing Oskaloosa Mahaaka
Lewis Kinsey, Secretary of the Board of Commissioners Anamosa Jones
Commissioners "chosen" by the General Assembly, term not limited.

From Iowa Official Register 1873
Transcribed by Dennis Danielson

Copyright © Genealogy Trails
All data on this website is Copyright by Genealogy Trails with full rights reserved for original submitters.