1879 Education

State University

Iowa city, Johnson county

Board Of Regents
John H, Gear, Governor, ex-officio President.
Carl W. Von Coelln, Superintendent of Public Instruction, ex-officio
J. L. Pickard, President of the University, ex-officio
John N. Coldren; Treasurer; Iowa City
Wm. J. Haddock; Secretary; Iowa City
District Name Town/City Term Expires
First C. W. Slagle Fairfield 1882
Second D. N. Richardson Davenport 1882
Third H. C. Bulis Decorah 1884
Fourth A. T. Reeve Hampton 1884
Fifth J. W. Henderson Cedar Rapids 1880
Sixth A. K. Campbell Newton 1880
Seventh T. S. Parr Indianola 1882
Eighth L. W. Ross Council Bluffs 1880
Ninth John F. Duncombe Fort Dodge 1884
The Regents are elected by the General Assembly, in Joint Convention, for six years, one-third being elected at each regular session, one member to be chosen front each Congressional District.

Iowa State Agricultu­ral College And Farm

Ames, Story county

Board Of Trustees
Name Town/City Term Expires
Buel Sherman Fredericksburg 1880
George H. Wright Sioux City 1880
Henry G. Little Grinnell 1882
Wm. McClintock West Union 1882
John N. Dixon Oskaloosa 1882
Name Position Town/City
A. S. Welch President of the Faculty Ames
W. D. Lucas Treasurer Ames
E. W. Stanton Secretary Ames
The Trustees are elected by the General Assembly, in Joint Convention, for four years, three being elected at one session and two the next.

Iowa State Normal School

Cedar Falls, Black Hawk County

Board Of Directors
Name Town/City Term Expires
Sherman G. Smith Newton 1880
Edward H. Thayer Clinton 1880
Gifford S. Robinson Storm Lake 1882
Nicholas W. Boyes Dubuque 1884
Lorenzo D. Lewelling Mount Pleasant 1884
Name Town/City Position
Edward Townsend Cedar Falls Treasurer
J. J. Tolerton Cedar Falls Secretary and member of Board of Directors
The Directors are elected by the General Assembly, in Joint Convention, and two members are elected at each regular session.

Iowa College For The Blind

Vinton, Benton County

Board of trustees
Name City/County Term Expires
Jeremiah L. Gay, President Cedar Valley 1880
S. H. Watson, Treasurer Vinton 1880
P. F. Sturgis Fayette county 1880
Milton H. Westbrook Lyons 1882
George Morehouse Waverly 1882
Jacob Springer Watkins 1882
Rev. Robert Carothers, Principal of the Institution, and Secretary of the Board.
The Trustees are chosen by the General Assembly for four years; one half being chosen at each regular session.

Iowa Institution For The Deaf And Dumb

Council Bluffs, Pottawattamie County

Board Of Trustees
Name Town/City
Fred Teale, President Leon
Alfred Hebard Red Oak
John H. Stubenrauch, Treasurer Pella
Moses W. Folsom, Superintendent
Term of office expires with the close of the next session of the General Assembly

Iowa Soldiers’ Orphans’ Home

Davenport, Scott County

Board Of Trustees
Name Town/City Term Expires
John P. Irish Iowa City 1880
Seth P. Bryant Davenport 1880
Charles C. Horton Muscatine 1880
S. W. Pierce, Superintendent Davenport
The Trustees are elected by the Geneal Assembly, in joint convention, at each regular session, and hold office for two years

Iowa Official Register 1879, Transcribed by Dennis Danielson

Copyright © Genealogy Trails
All data on this website is Copyright by Genealogy Trails with full rights reserved for original submitters.