1879 Executive Officers

Name County Position
John H. Gear Des Moines Governor
Wm. H. Fleming Clinton Pri­vate Secretary to the Governor
John A. T. Hull Davis Secre­tary of State
Fletcher W. Young Monroe Deputy Secretary of State
Buren R. Sherman Benton county Auditor of State
John C. Parish Polk Deputy Auditor of State
George W. Bemis Buchanan Treasurer of State
Erastus G. Morgan Webster Deputy Treasurer of State
James K. Powers Cass Reg­ister of the State Land Office
John M. Davis Polk Deputy Register of the State Land Office.
Carl W. Von Coelln Black Hawk Superintendent of Public Instruction
Ira C. Kling Cerro Gordo Dep­uty Superintendent of Public Instruction
Richard T. Clarkson Polk State Printer until May 1, 1870
Frank M. Mills Polk State Printer from May 1, 1870
Henry A. Perkins Woodbury State Binder until May 1, 1879
Matt Parrott Black Hawk State Binder from May 1, 1879
Wm L. Alexander Lucas Adjutant and Inspector General, and act­ing Quartermaster General
Prof. Nathan R. Leonard
Superin­tendent of Weights and Measures; P. O. Iowa City
Mrs. S. B. Maxwell Guthrie State Librarian
Note - Where not otherwise stated, the post office address of the State officers is Des Moines

Iowa Official Register 1879, Transcribed by Dennis Danielson

Copyright © Genealogy Trails
All data on this website is Copyright by Genealogy Trails with full rights reserved for original submitters.