1879 Judicial Officers

Supreme Court

Name Position Town City Term Expires
Joseph M. Beck Chief Justice Fort Madison December 31, 1879
Austin Adams Judge Dubuque December 31, 1881
Wm. H. Seevers Judge Oskaloosa December 31, 1882
James G. Day Judge Sidney December 31, 1883
James H. Rothrock Judge Tipton December 31, 1884
John F. McJunkin Attorney General Washington P. O., Washington January 2, 1881
Edward J. Holmes Clerk Des Moines December 81, 1882
John S. Runnels Reporter of Opinions Des Moines December 31, 1882

District Courts


District Name Town/City County
First Judicial Abraham H. Stutsman Burlington Des Moines
Second Judicial Edward L. Burton Ottumwa Wapello county.
Third Judicial R. C. Henry Mount Ayr Ringgold
Forth Judicial Charles H. Lewis Cherokee Cherokee
Fifth Judicial Wm. H. McHenry Des Moines Polk
Sixth Judicial John C, Cook Newton Jasper
Seventh Judicial Walter I. Hayes Clinton Clinton
Eighth Judicial John Shane Vinton Benton
Ninth Judicial Sylvester Hagg Waterloo Black Hawk
Tenth Judicial Reuben Noble McGregor Clayton
Eleventh Judicial James W. McKenzie Hampton Franklin
Twelfth Judicial George W. Ruddick Waverly Bremer
Thirteenth Judicial Joseph R. Reed Council Bluffs Pottawattamie
Fourteenth Judicial Ed. R. Duffie Sac City Sac
The terms of office of all the Judges of the District Courts, except those for the 12th, 13th, and 14th Districts, expire on the 31st of December, 1882. Those for the 12th, 13th and 14th expire on the 31st of December, 1880.

District Attorneys

District Name Town/City County
First Judicial Thomas A. Bereman Mount Pleasant Henry
Second Judicial Rufis B. Townend Albia Monroe
Third Judicial Smith McPherson Red Oak Montgomery
Fourth Judicial Stephen M. Marsh Sioux City Woodbury
Fifth Judicial Wm. Conner, Jr. Des Moines Polk
Sixth Judicial Edward W. Stone Washington Washington
Seventh Judicial H. H. Benson Davenport Scott
Eighth Judicial Milo P. Smith Marengo Iowa
Ninth Judicial H. B. Fouke Dubuque Dubuque
Tenth Judicial Cyrus Wel­lington Decorah Winneshiek
Eleventh Judicial John L. Stevens Ames Story
Twelfth Judicial J. B. Cleland Osage Mitchell
Thirteenth Judicial A. R. Anderson Sidney Fremont
Fourteenth Judicial J. M. Toliver Lake City Calhoun
The terms of office of all the District At­torneys except those for the 12th, 13th, and 14th Districts, expire December 31, 1882. Those for the 12th, 13th, and 14th Districts Expire January 3, 1881.

Circuit Courts

Circuit Name Town/City County
First Judicial, First District John B. Drayer Mount Pleasant Henry
First Judicial, Fifth District John Mitchell Des Moines Polk
First Judicial, Seventh District Daniel W. Ellis Lyons Clinton
Second Judicial Robert Sloan Keosauqua Van Buren
Second Judicial, First District Charles H. Phelps Burlington Des Moines
Second Judicial, Fifth District Stephen A. Callvert Adel Dallas
Second Judicial, Seventh District DeWitt C. Richman Muscatine Muscatine
Third Judicial D. D. Gregory Afton Union
Fourth Judicial J. R. Zuver Sioux City Woodbury
Sixth Judicial Lucian C. Blanchard Oskaloosa Mahaska
Eighth Judicial John McKean Anamosa Jones
Ninth Judicial Benjamin W. Lacy Dubuque Dubuque
Tenth Judicial Charles T. Granger Waukon Allamakee
Eleventh Judicial John H. Bradley Marshalltown Marshall
Twelfth Judicial Robert G. Reiniger Charles City Floyd
Thirteenth Judicial C. F, Loofbourow Atlantic Cass
Fourteenth Judicial John N. Weaver Algona Kossuth
The terms of office of all the Circuit Judges expire on the 31st of December, 1880. The boundaries of the Judicial Circuits are the same as the boundaries of the Judicial Districts, except the, 1st, 5th, and 7th Dis­tricts, which arc respectively divided into two Circuits.

Iowa Official Register 1879, Transcribed by Dennis Danielson

Copyright © Genealogy Trails
All data on this website is Copyright by Genealogy Trails with full rights reserved for original submitters.