1883 - 1902 Officers
Sons of the American Revolution

Wm. H. Baily, President

PURSUANT to a call issued by Hon. H. E. J. Boardman of Marshalltown nine gentlemen met on July 6, 1893, in the Horticultural rooms in the State Capitol at Des Moines to consider the matter of organizing a State Society. Temporary officers were elected, viz.: H. E. J. Boardman, President; J. H. Strong, Vice President; F. G. Pierce, Secretary, and O. H. Munsell, Treasurer. Various committees were appointed and other preliminary work done. The meeting then adjourned to meet at the same place September 5, 1893.

At the meeting held September 5, 1893, the Committee on Credentials reported the names of twenty-five persons eligible for membership, all of whom were elected. A constitution and by-laws were adopted and officers were elected.

At the annual meetings held since its organization, viz.: January 15, 1895; February 19, 1896; April 19, 1897; April 19, 1898; April 19, 1899; February 21, 1900, and February 22, 1901, there has always been a good attendance, and in addition to the election of officers and other usual business, the members of the Society and their guests have had a banquet with toasts, addresses, papers and other exercises.

The following have been the Presidents and Secretaries of the Society:

President, Henry Elderkin Jewett Boardman;
Secretary, Franklin Gilman Pierce.

President, Levi Beardsley Raymond;
Secretary, Charles Henry Earnest Boardman.

President Albert Winfield Swalm;
Secretary, Charles Henry Earnest Boardman.

President, William Henry Wheeler;
Secretary, Charles Henry Earnest Boardman.

President, George Herbert Richardson;
Secretary, Edward Ridgway Hutchins.

President, Francis Hanmer Loring;
Secretary, Elbridge Drew Hadley.

President, Hon. Damon Noble Sprague;
Secretary, Captain Elbridge Drew Hadley.

President William-Henry Baily;
Secretary, Elbridge Drew Hadley.
(See below for expanded list)

The Society has now 153 members in good standing and flourishing Chapters at Keokuk, Sioux City, Ottumwa and Des Moines.

147 Members.

Organized September 5th, 1893. Annual meeting April 19th, to commemorate Lexington and Concord.

(A National Register of the Society, Sons of the American Revolution, Volume 1, 1902)

List Of Officers (Elected on the 21st day of February, 1901)

President, William Henry Baily, Des Moines

First Vice-President, Herman Knapp, Esq , Ames

Second Vice-President, W. H. H. Ashbury, Esq , Ottumwa

Treasurer, Willard Secor, Esq , Forest City

Secretary, Elbridge Drew Hadley, Des Moines

Registrar-Historian, Dr. Edward H. Hazen, Des Moines

Chaplain, Rev. James Balloch Chase Ocheyedan

Additional Managers.

Hon. Damon Noble Sprague, Wapello

Henry Brown Hawley. Esq, Des Moines

Lancelot Minor Kean, Esq , Sioux City

Lyman William White, Esq , Woodbine

Delegates And Alternates.

Delegate-at-LargeFrank Benj. Clark, Esq., Ottumwa.
AlternateŚMorris William Blair, Esq., Kossuth.

Capt. Edward Ridgway Hutchins, Des Moines;
Col. Levi Beardsley Raymond, Hampton;
Frank F. Bates, Esq., Odebolt.

Arthur Springer, Esq., Wapello;
Harry Hooker Skinner, Esq., Des Moines;
Eugene D. Hamlin, Esq., Des Moines.

Alternates For President And First Vice President.

Rev. Edmund March Vittuin, Grinnell

James David Spaulding, Esq , Sioux City

Executive Committee.

W. H. Baily (President ex-officio),
E. D. Hadley,
H. B. Hawley.

(A National Register of the Society, Sons of the American Revolution, Volume 1, 1902)

Copyright © Genealogy Trails
All data on this website is Copyright by Genealogy Trails with full rights reserved for original submitters.