Kansas Genealogy Trails
Genealogy Trails History Group
Genealogy and History
Volunteers Dedicated to Free Genealogy

Welcome to Rooks County, Kansas Genealogy Trails!

A view from the hillside outside of Stockton.

Rooks County was founded February 26, 1867 and named for Private John C. Rooks of the 11th Kansas Infantry who died December 11, 1862 of wounds received at the Battle of Prairie Grove near Fayetteville, Arkansas, during the civil war.

Rooks County is located in north central Kansas; with a total area of 895 square miles of which 891 square miles is land and 4.6 square miles is water. The general surface of the county is rolling, with high bluffs along the south fork of the Solomon River and Paradise Creek.

Settlers did not begin coming into the county until 1871. By the fall of the next year there were sufficient population for county organization, which took place on November 26, 1872 with Stockton as the county seat. Plainville is the largest city.


First settlers: Joseph, James, Thomas, John and Francis McNulty; Tunis Bulls, John Wells, John Powell, Seal Northrup and Capt. J. Owens.

First woman settler: Mrs. Robert E. Martin, who came with her husband and family in the fall of 1871.

First house erected: February 1871 by the McNulty Brothers, 2 1/2 miles south of town on the south side of the South Solomon.

First marriage: January 1, 1873 William E. Newton was married to Mary M. Young, by B.M. Cooper, a Justice of the Peace.

First birth: Myrtle Maude, daughter of Thomas McNulty, born December 25, 1871 on Elm Creek, 3 miles east and south of Stockton.

First death: Erastas Foster, 2 miles from Stockton, in the spring of 1878. He was buried in the Stockton graveyard.

 Rooks County, Kansas

Alcona - Codell - Palco - Plainville - Stockton - Woodston - Zurich

Adamson - Amboy - Ashgrove - Bradford - Cedar - Chandler - Cresson - Earnest - Igo - Mellale - Motor - Oyen - Raceburgh - Rockport - Slate - Survey - Villisen - Webster - Welcome

rooks counties

Check your Attics!
Dust off your family scrapbooks!
We're looking for DATA for this site!!!

If you are interested in adding your families' information to this website,
Email Us.
We'll be happy to help your families' obituaries, news items and other historical data find a home here at Rooks County Genealogy Trails, where it will remain free for all to view.

Online Records

Biographies Maps
Birth Index Marriage Index
Birth Notices Marriage Notices
Books Military
Burial Index Military News
Cemeteries News/Brevities
Census Data Newspapers
Churches Obituaries
County History Photographs
Crime Pioneers
Death Index Probate/Wills
Directories Research Help
Disasters Schools
Divorce Index Societies
History Stories/Families
Historical Landmarks Tax Lists
Land Records Towns
Libraries Website Past Updates
Website Updates:

Census: 1910 Federal Census, Plainville City, pg 3A
Obit: Leonard F. Dix


Search Our Sites Submit A Cemetery Transcription Submit an Obit
In you are interested in volunteering Volunteer Page. Subscribe to our Mailing List to get notification when we update this and our other mid-western websites. Regularly adding data to this site leaves me no time to do personal research for you...Sorry
Past Updates, You never know who you might meet and what family data they may share with you -- it could start a whole new branch of the family! We also use the mailing lists to announce our website updates.
Coordinating Host Julie Schadek...Email Me

unique visitor counter

Surrounding Counties
Ellis | GrahamOsborne | Phillips |
| Smith| Trego |

Kansas Genealogy Trails
Visit the Kansas State Site

Genealogy Trails

Visit the national site of

Copyright © Genealogy Trails
All data on this website is Copyright by Genealogy Trails.
Full rights reserved for original submitters.