Welcome to Woodson County Kansas

Genealogy and History

Welcome to Genealogy Trails!

Volunteers working to put free historical data online.

My name is Peggy Thompson and as your temporary Woodson County host I try to post as much data online as possible in order to make it freely available to all. We gratefully accept contributions of raw data such as census information, marriage/birth/death records, obituaries, county histories, biographies, old newspaper items - anything that would help someone build their family tree!!

Feel free to
email me with your contributions - every little bit helps.

I regret that I am unable to do personal research, as I do not live in Woodson County.

Established: August 25, 1855

Most likely named for Daniel Woodson (1824-1894), who served as secretary of Kansas Territory, 1854-1857, including four stints as acting governor.

Some other sources suggest it was named for Silas Woodson (1819-1896), a lawyer and politician in St. Joseph, Missouri, who served as governor of that state in the 1870s.

County Seat: Yates Center

Neosho Falls was the original county seat (1858-1873). Kalida was the seat from 1873 to 1874, when it moved to Defiance.

Yates Center became the seat after the election of 12 Sept 1876.



Online Data




Census Data

County History



Family Histories 



Military Data

Newspaper Stories





February 2015 - Newspaper Articles - 9 were added




Back to Genealogy Trails

Surrounding Counties

Coffey County - Our Neighbor to the North

Wilson County - Our Neighbor to the South

Allen County - Our Neighbor to the East

Greenwood County - Our Neighbor to the West


Back to Kansas Genealogy Trails

All data on this website is Copyright 2015 by Genealogy Trails with full rights reserved for original submitters.