Genealogy Trails


Kentucky Governors



Governor Party Years
Where Buried Location of Gravesite
City, State
Isaac Shelby Democratic- Republican 1792-1796 Family Cemetery Outside Danville, Kentucky
James Garrard Democratic- Republican 1796-1804 Family Cemetery Bourbon County, Kentucky
Christopher Greenup Democratic- Republican 1804-1808 Frankfort Cemetery Frankfort, Kentucky
Charles Scott Democratic- Republican 1808-1812 Canewood Cemetery, then moved to Frankfort Cemetery Frankfort, Kentucky
Isaac Shelby Democratic- Republican 1812-1816 Family Cemetery Outside Danville, Kentucky
George Madison Democratic- Republican 1816 Frankfort Cemetery Frankfort, Kentucky
Gabriel Slaughter Democratic- Republican 1816-1820 Family Cemetery Mercer County, Kentucky
John Adair Democratic- Republican 1820-1824 Frankfort Cemetery Frankfort, Kentucky
Joseph Desha Democratic- Republican 1824-1828 Georgetown Cemetery Georgetown, Kentucky
Thomas Metcalfe Nat. Republican 1828-1832 Family Cemetery Nicholas County, Kentucky
John Breathitt Democratic 1832-1834 Breathitt Cemetery,
then moved to
Maple Grove Cemetery
Russellville, Kentucky
James Turner Morehead National Republican, then Whig 1834-1836 Frankfort Cemetery Frankfort, Kentucky
James Clark Whig 1836-1839 Family Cemetery  Winchester, Kentucky
Charles Anderson Wickliffe Whig 1839-1840 Bardstown Cemetery   Bardstown, Kentucky
Robert P. Letcher Whig 1840-1844 Frankfort Cemetery Frankfort, Kentucky
William Owsley Whig 1844-1848 Belleview Cemetery Danville, Kentucky
John John Crittenden Whig 1848-1850 Frankfort Cemetery Frankfort, Kentucky
John L. Helm Whig 1850-1851 Family Cemetery Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Lazarus W. Powell Democratic 1851-1855 Fernwood Cemetery   Henderson, Kentucky
Charles Slaughter Morehead Know Nothing 1855-1859 Frankfort Cemetery Frankfort, Kentucky
Beriah Magoffin Democratic 1859-1862 Spring Hill Cemetery  Harrodsburg, Kentucky
James F. Robinson Democratic 1862-1863 Georgetown Cemetery Georgetown, Kentucky
Thomas E. Bramlette Democratic 863-1867 Cave Hill Cemetery Louisville, Kentucky
John L. Helm Democratic 1867 Family Cemetery Elizabethtown, Kentucky
John W. Stevenson Democratic 1867-1871 Spring Grove Cemetery  Cincinnati, Ohio
Preston H. Leslie Democratic 1871-1875 Forestvale Cemetery Helena, Montana
James B. McCreary Democratic 1875-1879 Richmond Cemetery   Richmond, Kentucky
Luke P.  Blackburn Democratic 1879-1883 Frankfort Cemetery Frankfort, Kentucky
James Proctor Knott Democratic 1883-1887 Ryder Cemetery   Lebanon, Kentucky
Simon Bolivar Buckner Democratic 1887-1891 Frankfort Cemetery Frankfort, Kentucky
John Young Brown Democratic 1891-1895 Fernwood Cemetery   Henderson, Kentucky
William O. Bradley Republican 1895-1899 Frankfort Cemetery Frankfort, Kentucky
William S. Taylor Republican 1899-1900 Crown Hill Cemetery  Indianapolis, Indiana
William Goebel Democratic 1900- Frankfort Cemetery Frankfort, Kentucky
John Crepps Wickliffe (J.C.W.) Beckham Democratic 1900- 1907 Frankfort Cemetery Frankfort, Kentucky
Augustus E. Willson Republican 1907-1911 Cave Hill Cemetery Louisville, Kentucky
James B. McCreary Democratic 1911-1915 Richmond Cemetery   Richmond, Kentucky
Augustus Owsley Stanley Democratic 1915-1919 Frankfort Cemetery Frankfort, Kentucky
James Dixon Black Democratic 1919 Barbourville Cemetery Barbourville, Kentucky
Edwin P. Morrow Republican 1919-1923 Frankfort Cemetery Frankfort, Kentucky
William J. Fields Democratic 1923-1927 Olive Hill Cemetery Olive Hill, Kentucky
Flem D. Sampson Republican 1927-1931 Barbourville Cemetery   Barbourville, Kentucky
Ruby Laffoon Democratic 1931-1935 Grapevine Cemetery   Madisonville, Kentucky
A.B. (Happy) Chandler Democratic 1935-1939 Pisgah Presbyterian Cemetery Woodford County, Kentucky
Keen Johnson Democratic 1939-1943 Richmond Cemetery   Richmond, Kentucky
Simeon S. Willis Republican 1943-1647 Frankfort Cemetery Frankfort, Kentucky
Earle C. Clements Democratic 1947-1950 Odd Fellows Cemetery  Morganfield, Kentucky
Lawrence W. Wetherby Democratic 1950-1955    
A.B. (Happy) Chandler Democratic 1955-1959    
Bert T. Combs Democratic 1959-1963 Beech Creek Cemetery Manchester, Kentucky
Edward (Ned) Breathitt Democratic 1963-1967 Riverside Cemetery Hopkinsville, Kentucky
Louie B. Nunn Republican 1967-1971 Cosby Cemetery Glasgow, Kentucky
Wendell H. Ford Democratic 1971-1974 Elmwood Cemetery Owensboro, Kentucky
Julian M. Carroll Democratic 1974-1979    
John Y. Brown Jr. Democratic 1979-1983    
Martha Layne (Hall) Collins Democratic 1983-1987    
Wallace G. Wilkinson Democratic 1987-1991 originally buried at Blue Grass Memorial Gardens
in Nicholasville, KY.
Later moved to Sarasota Memorial Park
Sarasota, Florida
Brereton C. Jones Democratic 1991-1995    
Paul E. Patton Democratic 1995-2003    
Ernie Fletcher Republican 2003-2007    
Steve Beshear Democratic 2007-2015    
Matt Bevin Republican 2015    



Copyright © Genealogy Trails