In Chippewa Co MI

Trout Creek Hotel - contributed by Lynn Walters
Found on Facebook -- by Randy Broemer 2014

The Hotel Iroquois in Sault Ste. Marie MI 1912 - contributed by Paul Petosky

(The Ironwood Daily Globe 13 September 1927) - The Soo's 100 room $500,000 tourist hotel, the Ojibway opened November 1, 1927 with elaborate ceremony to which notables of Michigan and Minnesota have been invited. The hotel is built of steel, concrete, stone and brick. It is six stories tall and of Egyptian design.

This postcard contributed by Paul Petosky shows the Hotel with its new cocktail lounge

in the 1940s providing front-row-center seats for patrons to watch the ships pass only 150 feet away from the large picture windows.

Guests of the lounge can watch the Great Lakes' vessels actually going through the Soo Locks.

(Photo on left Bay City House - 1890 - On the Right 1918 when it was called the Hickler House).
Contributed by Paul Petosky - One of the largest and most finely equipped of the Soo's hostleries recently rebuilt throught-out and modernized in every respect by the addition of steam heat, electric light with telephone and bath in every room, Five minutes walk from heart of the city and in a quiet locality with an excellent view of the St. Mary's River and the passing panorama of steamers and smaller crafts. Cars to any part of the city pass the main entrance, almost continuously. This building still stands today, and was originally the Bay City House, then the name changed to the Hickler House. Today it is called the Harbor House. The Happy Hideaway Bar is nestled on the lower level, better known to local residents as "Bomb Shelter". It is located at 501 E. Portage Ave. When in the Soo, stop by and tell them Paul sent you.

Genealogy Trails