Grand Traverse County
There are in the county of Grand Traverse now thirteen organized townships, as follows: Acme, Blair, East Bay, Fife Lake, Garfield, Grant, Green Lake, Long
Lake, Mayfield, Paradise, Peninsula, Union and Whitewater. As has already been mentioned, when Grand Traverse county was
organized what is now the present county was embraced in two organized townships: Peninsula, which embraced all of the peninsula lying between the east and west arms of
Grand Traverse bay, and Traverse, which took in, besides other territory, all of the rest of the present county. As the county settled up other townships were organized until the township of Traverse became reduced so as to embrace only the following
described territory: All of fractional sectons 1, 2 and 3; the cast half of fractional section 4 and the southeast fractional quarter of the northwest fractional quarter of section 4; the east half of fractional section 9; all of fractional sections 10, 11 and 12, all in township 27 north, of range 11 west; also lot 1 and lot 2 in section 6 in township 27 north of range 10 west. By act of
the legislature approved May 18, 1895, all of this territory was organized into the city of Traverse City, thus wiping out the organized township of Traverse entirely.
(Sprague's history of Grand Traverse and Leelanaw counties, Michigan edited and compiled by Elvin L. Sprague and Mrs. George N. Smith 1903)
The Traverse Region - H. R. Page & Co., 1884 Chapter 9
Grand Traverse Lodge, No. 200, I. 0. 0. F, was organized Dec. 20, 1872, with the following officers: N. G., E. 8. Bulbs; V. G., John Titus; Sec, John Verly; Treas.,B. D. Ashton; D. D. G. M., David Vinton.
Officers in 1884: N. G., Henry Green; V. G., Samuel Tim Win; R. S., William Moody; P. S., D. Matleson; Treas., Thomas Shilson.
Traverse Bay Lodge, I. 0. G. T., was organized January 19, 1876. Rev. A. P. Moors, Deputy G. W. C. of the state, gave a temperance lecture in the M. E. Church after which a lodge with fifty members was organized. The first officers were as follows: E. L Sprague; Mrs. R. A. Campbell; Sec., Joseph Pohoral; W. A. SR Clara, E. Hill; W. F. S., A. L. Craw; Treas., J. W. Milliken; W. M., B. D. Ashton; W. D. M., Mrs. Severson; W. I. G., Mrs. L. Soule; W. O. G., Frank E. Wood; P. W. C, J. F. Boyd.
Officers, first-quarter in 1884: W. 0. T., E. L. Ashton; W. V. T., Mrs. L. Sonic; W. Sec, G. G. Bates; W. Fin. Sec, Miss Flora Clapp; W. Tress., Miss Anna Gilroy; W. Marshal, R. A. Campbell: W. I. G., Miss Rosa Roberts: W. 0. G., Miss Brown. Traverse City Lodge, No. 222, F. & A. M., was instituted February 2, 1868, with nineteen charter members. At that time the advent of a Masonic order was attended with a good deal of interest. A public dedication and installation was held at the M. E. Church, on Thursday evening, February 20th.
The persons acting as Grand Officers on that occasion were: Rev. J. Boynton, of Pentwater. W. G. M.; Mr. Dunham, of Manistee, D. G. M.; Rev. S. Steel, of Manistee, S. G.W.; Mr. Thurman, of Manistee, J. G. W.; Rev. Mr. Ellis, of Pentwater, Grand Chap. The services at the church were opened with instrumental music by Miss Leach, followed with prayer by the (hand Chaplain. An oration upon the designs and principles of the institution was then delivered by Rev. S. Steel. The new lodge was then dedicated and the following officers installed, in form:
Charles W. Day. W. M.; James D. Harvey, S. W.; Samuel W. Arnold, J. W.; S. M. Edwards, treasurer; Edwin S. Pratt, secretary; Isaac J. Winnie, S. D.; Joseph E. Greilick, J. P.; Rev. George N. Smith, chaplain; R. Johnson and G. W. McClellan, stewards; Prokop Kesselkah, Tyler.
Of the nineteen charter members, seven arc now residents of Traverse City, as follows: Jesse Cram, J. E. Greil, Harvey, Prokop Kesselkah, E. S. Pratt, J. J. Ramsdell, I. J. Winnie. Officers in 1884: W. M., J. N. Broadfoot; S. W., A. McMaims; J. W., H. Montague; S. D., W. G. Lawrence; J. P., Charles Lambert; Sec, M. B. Holley; Treas., H. P. Daw. Present membership, 180.
LADIES LIBRARY ASSOCIATION.
The Ladies Library Association, of Traverse City, is one of the important institutions of the place, and a testimony to the intelligence and enterprise of the citizens. The building of this association was completed and formally opened December 6, 1878, at which time Mrs. M. E. C. Bates read a historical sketch of the association, from which we make the following extracts:
"The plan of the association originated in the mind of one woman, and that the woman of Traverse City above all others best calculated to organize and carry out such an enterprise—a woman, who, to abundant means and leisure, added a vigorous will, a courage that was never daunted, and a patience that never tired. As we sit here to-night in this pleasant hall, come to congratulate each other on the opening of this flower of success, whose beauty is so fair to our eyes, let us not forget her who planted the seed from which it sprung so long ago, and watched its early, feeble growth with such loving, tender care, but give a reverent thought to the memory of Mrs. Morgan Bates, whose grave has grown green in fair spring time and white with the drifting snows of winter, for six long years. The association was the child of her love, and to its advancement she bent every force of her strong mind while she lived.
"Pursuant to her call, there met, in Leach's hall, one hot summer afternoon, the 3d of July, 1869, eight ladies to talk over the matter. These eight were Mrs. Morgan Bates, Mrs. Ashton, Mrs. Hatch, Mrs. Fuller, Mrs. Samuel Arnold, Misses Mina Leach and Mary Knizek, and your speaker. There are live of that little band present here to-night, or there ought to be, and to every one of us the scene is as vivid as if it were yesterday. In our fancy we can feel the heated air, see the dusty floor and benches of the almost deserted hall, and I can even remember the droning of a bewildered blue-bottle fly, that had strayed in somehow and doubtless wondered, as he tumbled over the dingy windows, what it was all about, but clearest of all, we can see the little group of women on the front seats, vigorously fanning themselves and listening to the stirring words of our leader, as, with her flashing black eyes and vivacious manner, she unfolded her plans and wishes to us. Then and there our association sprang, full fledged, into existence. The records of the society, oh the first page of the first volume, say: 'After remarks by various ladies, it was moved tint a Ladies' Library Association he organized in Traverse City. Carried unanimously. It was very simple after all. We merely said: 'Let there be a Ladies' Library Association,' and there was a Ladies' Library Association.
"Its first local habitation was in the building across the way, lately occupied by the U. S. Land Office, the register of which was at that time Morgan Bates. Our first books were donated, and generously donated, by the citizens, and adding a few dollars' worth to them out of the membership fees, we had, when our first report was made, October 1, 1869, seventy-nine volumes, of which fifty- four were donated. Our first public entertainment was a free lecture by Miss Mary Clark, of Ann Arbor, but this, pleasant as it was, did not bring any funds into the treasury, so preparations were soon commenced for a fancy fair and supper, which was to come off at the Gunton House about holiday time. And it did come off according to programme, and was a grand success, the funds of the society being replenished to the amount of $170, gross proceeds- During the fiscal year of the society there were given also, among lesser entertainments, an ice cream festival and a lecture by Mr. A. S. Wadsworth, which brought the amount received this year up to about $280, of which $140 was spent for books, and the library increased by that and by sundry donations to 829 volumes.
"In July, 1871, the association was incorporated and became capable of buying and selling and holding property, a power which it improved in the fall of 1871 by buying two lots—the two lot directly east of the residence of the late Dr. Goodale—and making a part payment down on the purchase. The event of this year was our afghan fair — we didn't call it a lottery because that didn't sound well. The center piece was a brilliant carriage afghan, radiant in hue and fine in texture—by the same token yon can see it any day as it goes between Judge Ramsdell's fruit farm and town, though worn and faded and shorn of all its former glories, it is only a relic of better days,—and besides a large variety of fancy articles which were disposed of by tickets. The afghan fell to the share of Morgan Bates, who donated it again to the association, and it was resold by auction and re-donated several times. The whole entertainment brought us $190, gross proceeds. Then there was the big squash. Do you remember how it looked and what came of it? The big squash weighed considerably over one hundred pounds and took the first prize at the Agricultural Fair that fall. It was given to some one—Mr. Leach, we think,--and after a series of vicissitudes, given to the L. L. A. for their entertainment, as a sort of a drive upon that august body. But the spirit of Mrs. Bates was equal to the emergency. She accepted the huge vegetable with a profusion of thanks—and immediately made it up into an enormous quantity of squash pies, called a squash pie social at her house and netted the society an even twenty dollars! This was the best year the association ever knew, its gross receipts being over four hundred dollars.
"During the year 1871-72, there were a series of lectures delivered by prominent citizens, among whom were the Hon. S. C. Moffatt, of Northport. and Judge Ramsdell and Mr. Griswold, of Traverse City, all of which brought additions to the funds of the Association. "In August, 1872, there came another streak of good luck,— Morgan Bates and Mr. Hannah paying off the indebtedness on the lots by presenting the society with $275, Mr. Bates giving $250 and Mr. Hannah making up the balance. This ended the 'flush times' of the association, the good old times that have never come again and probably never will.
In the fall of 1872, Mrs. Hates went east on a visit. At the last meeting of the library which she attended she said she could not be happy while she was away without news of us, and appointed a committee to write to her while she was gone, but only one or two letters were exchanged when the news came swift and unexpected: Mrs. Hates is dead! The shock was great to the entire community, but outside her own family nowhere was it felt as in the society which she had organized and which had grown through her fostering care to be what it was. The members of the association attended her funeral in a body and wore badges of mourning for thirty days. I shall never forget the first meeting we held after all was over, for the purpose of electing a president to occupy the place which she had always filled. Some of us, and I was one of the faintest hearted, said: 'It is of no use to try to keep up our organization, —it is best to give it up now.' A few brave-hearted souls, first among them our present worthy president, said: 'We will not give up! We will go on the best we can and surely, if slowly, make our association the success she would have made it had she lived!' So we took up the burden again but we missed our old leader sadly.
"During the next year the usual income from memberships, etc., and a series of socials gave us an income of under $130, while in 1874 a few entertainments brought us the sum of nearly $150, Mrs. L. 0. Saylor contributing a valuable oil painting which netted the society nearly $60, and Judge Ramsdell contributing flowers and fruits which brought, at a flower and fruit festival, some $40. "During this year a change was made in the real estate owned by the society,—Hon. Perry Hannah buying the two lots before mentioned, giving in exchange a lot on what was known as the Park and $500 in cash.
"In 1875 our receipts from entertainments dwindled down to a little over $70, and with one exception this ended the entertainment chapter from that time till the present, 1878.
"The society was out of debt, owned a library of over 400 volumes, and had about $600 out at interest, with a village lot worth $500. Early in January, 1870, the change was made to the rooms of the Y. M. C. A. with which body we remained, with the best of good feeling existing between the two societies, until the Y. M. C. A. gave up their rooms at the close of 1877. During this time no call had been made on the community at large, the only money received outside of our regular income being $10, the proceeds of a social or reception given by the Y. M. C. A.
"With the close of 1877 the old project of building began to revive. It was finally decided to build and in August Messrs. Conner and West Hegan the election of the building, which was completed and dedicated December 6th, 1878, at a cost of $1,940." There are in 1884 about 1,000 volumes in the library. The officers in 1884 are as follows: President, Mrs. L. Gage; vice-presidents, Mesdames S. S. Wright, B. D. Ashton and W. Pound; recording secretary, Mrs. W. Pound; financial secretary, Mrs Thanker; assistant secretary, Mrs. C. J. Kneeland; treasurer, Mrs. L. Soule; librarian, Mrs. J. K. Boyd; assistant librarian, Mrs. B. D. Ashton.
Charles J. Kneeland, physician and surgeon, Traverse City, a native of Freedom, Portage County, Ohio, was born Feb. 10, 1840. He received his education and entered his profession in his native state. He was six years a student in Hiram Eclectic Institute, (afterward Hiram College) when our martyr President, James A. Garfield, was principal. In 1870 he graduated in the University of Philadelphia. He was a post graduate of Rush Medical College, Chicago, in 1880. On July 12, 1870, he was married to Miss Estella Udall, of Hiram, Portage County, Ohio. She was horn there May 20, 1840. They have one son, Harold Scott. After three years medical practice in Freedom, Ohio, he removed to Traverse City, Mich., and in January, 1878, entered the medical firm of Ashton A Kneeland, where with his partner he enjoys a medical patronage which enlarges the more as years and population increase. The doctor has been director of Traverse City schools nearly eleven years, secretary of the county board of examiners nearly three years, school inspector in Traverse Township ten years, and United States examining surgeon in Traverse City seven years.
The question of incorporating the village was agitated for two or three years, and finally in the winter of 1881 a bill to incorporate the village of Traverse City was passed by the legislature. The following is a copy of the etc:
"That the following described lands and territory, the same lying and being within the present limits of the township of Traverse, county of Grand Traverse and state of Michigan, to-wit: Lots No. 8 and 4, Section 2; Lots No. 1, 2, 8, 4 and 5, Section 8; Lots No. 1 and 2 and southwest quarter of northeast fractional quarter and southeast quarter. Section 4; north half of northeast quarter, Section 9; Lots No. 1, 18, 14 and 15, Section 10; Lot No. 1, Section 11, Town 27 north. Range II west; the same to be constituted a village corporate and known by the name of the village of Traverse City.
"The first election for officers of said village shall be held on the third Monday of April in the year A. D. 1881, at Leach's hall, in said village; notice of which shall he posted in three public places in said village by the board of registration, hereinafter appointed, at least ten days previous thereto.
"H. D. Campbell and Charles S. Desprice are hereby constituted a hoard of registration, for the purpose of registering voter's for the first election to be held in said village; and the said board of registration are hereby required to meet at the office of the county clerk, in said village of Traverse City, on Saturday pre- ceding the third Monday of April, A. D. 1881, and register all persons presenting themselves for registration, and having the qualifications of voters at annual township meetings, due notice of which shall be given by said board in the same manner and time as provided in the preceding section.
"In case the said officers are not elected at the time designated in section two of this bill, an election for officers be had at any time within one year from the time so designated in said section two of this bill; notice having been given as provided in said section two of this bill.
"The said village of 'Traverse City shall in all things, not here matter otherwise provided, be governed by and its powers and duties defined by an act entitled *An act granting and defining the powers and duties of incorporated villages,' approved April 1, A. D. 1875, and acts amendatory thereof.
"The bridges and approaches thereto now built, or that may hereafter be built within the limits of the territory described in section one of this bill, shall be built and maintained by the township of Traverse or the county of (Grand Traverse, in the same manner as though said village of Traverse was not incorporated.
"The council shall, for the purpose of improving the highways, within the limits of said township of Traverse and outside the said incorporated limits of the village of Traverse City, be authorized and empowered by a majority vote of all the council elect to use such an amount of the statute highway labor or general highway fund, as maybe assessed within the limits of said territory described in section one of this bill, in the improvement of such roads & highways as the said council may determine, anywhere within said township. Said highway fund or statute highway labor to be expended and laid out in such manner as the said council shall advise or determine; provided said amount thus expended shall not exceed one-half of the aggregate amount of said highway fund or statute highway labor in any one year as assessed within the limits of said incorporation; provided further in the discretion of the said council not exceeding three-fourths of said aggregate amount may be expended in the year A. D. 1881.
"The poor that are now and may hereafter become a charge upon the township of Traverse, within the limits of said territory described in section one of this bill, shall be maintained by the said township of Traverse or county of Grand Traverse, in the same in inner as though the said village of Traverse City had not been incorporated."
The first charter election was held the third Monday of April, 1881; 229 votes were polled, and the following non-partisan ticket elected: President, Perry Hannah; clerk, Thomas W. Browne; treasurer, M. E. Haskell; assessor, Henry D. Campbell; street commissioner, John Kelley; constable, William J. Moody; Trustee,: Smith Barnes, Seth 0. Moffatt, Homer P. Daw, Joseph . Haviland, James Lee, Joseph E. Greilick. 1882:—President,Perry Hannah; Harry 0. Davis; treasurer, M. E. Haskell; assessor, Henry D. Campbell; street commissioner, John Kelley; constable, William J. Moody; trustees: James Lee, Joseph E. Greilick, George E. Steele. 1888:—President, Perry Hannah; clerk, H. C. Davis; treasurer, M. E. Haskell; assessor, H. D. Campbell; street commissioner, John Kelley; constable, William Moody; trustees: Smith Barnes, Seth C. Moffatt, Homer P. Daw, D. C. Leach. 1884:—President, Perry Hannah; trustees, two years: Dewitt C. Leach, James Lee, Joseph E. Greilick; clerk. Harry C. Davis; treasurer, Myron E. Haskell; assessor, Charles E. Lockwood; street commissioner, John Kelley; constable, William J. Moody.
The Traverse City Fire Department dates back to the year 1877. March 16 of that year a meeting was held at Leach's hull for the purpose of effecting an organization. A few months prior to that time a final had been raised by subscription, and two small engines purchased. Two hose carts had also been ordered. At this meeting the Traverse City Fire Department was organized and officers elected, as follows: Fire marshal, S. Barnes; assistant, H. D. Campbell; chief engineer, W. V. Harvey; fire inspectors, Charles Duprey and John Stevenson. Officers for the engines Wide Awake and Invincible were also used. Other business relating to buildings, location was also transacted. With the introduction of water works the tire protection of the village was completed. In 1882 a state asylum for tho insane was located at Traverse City, and is now in course of erection.
THE OLDEST MASON.
William McDowell, who died at Traverse City, March 12, 1884, aged 104 years, was the oldest Mason in the world. This question was settled some years ago beyond dispute. He was made a Mason in Lodge No. 208, Balleymaney, county of Antrim, Ireland, June 24, 1807. He was a royal arch, knight templar, knight of Malta, ark and mark degrees, and priest, lord and knight of the cross. He was master in 1828, resigning that year to emigrate to Canada. He had been a resident of Traverse City three years, living with his daughter, Mrs. Urban Barnhart, in Fern wood suburb.
THE HANNAH & LAY MERCANTILE CO.
One of the most gratifying and creditable accomplishments in the history of general progress in Traverse City, was the building of a mammoth business block by the firm of Hannah. Lay & Co., and its occupancy by the Hannah & Lay Mercantile Co. in 1883. The history of this firm presents some remarkable and interesting features. From this him have emanated the vital forces which have made the Traverse City of to-day, and while many of their business operations have a heady been mentioned, it seems desirable to summarize them in chronological order.
The firm of Hannah Lay & Co., which consists of Ferry Hannah, Albert T. Lay, James Morgan and William Morgan, was organized in the city of Chicago, May 1, 1850. It will, consequently, be thirty-three years on the 1st of May next, since this now widely known firm took its place in the business world. For a year after the organization of the firm its business was confined to the purchase and sale of lumber in Chicago, then a miniature town compared with its present size. A lumber yard was leased on the corner of Jackson and Canal Streets, nearly two miles below their present location, and it was the furthest lumber yard up the river, in the city.
In the spring of 1851 Mr. Hannah came to Traverse City, or rather the spot upon which Traverse City is now built, in the little schooner Venus, a craft of about fifty tons burden. In company with Horace Boardman and a Mr. Whitcher, he went up what is now known as the Boardman River, and spent several days in examining the pine region tributary thereto. Returning, he bought from the firm of Capt. Boardman what is now known as the old mill, on the creek, in the western part of the village, with some 200 acres of land, for the sum of $5,500.
From 1851 to 1855 the supervision of the business here was divided between Mr. Hannah and Mr. Lay, each remaining six months and then changing places with the other, who had charge in Chicago. As the business grew in magnitude and importance this plan was found to be inconvenient, and in 1855 Mr. Hannah took permanent charge of the Traverse City business, and Mr. Lay that in Chicago. This arrangement has continued to the present time, a period of twenty-eight years.
It is not necessary to again review the details of the early lumbering operations.
In 1858 the pine was taken from the village plat and principally sawed into bridge limber, which was used in the construction of the Illinois Central railroad bridge across the Illinois River at LaSalle, of more than a mile in length. Before the job was completed, it was getting to be ho late in the fall, and it was so important that the lumber should be furnished, that the loggers prolonged their labors until late in the evening, Mr. Lay holding lanterns for the choppers to work by.
The first store occupied by the company was a little log building, 12x18 feet in sue. situated in the west part of the town, a few feet south of where today stands the old budding used at that time a« a boarding-house for the little water mill. After the completion of the first steam saw-mill, the business of the company was transferred to the spot which had been occupied so many years by them. The first store here was a little building, now known as the tin shop, and which stands on the opposite side of the road from the Bay House. In 1850 what is now known as the central or main building of the old block of wooden stores was constructed. As the business grow year after year the adjoining buildings were added.
In 1857 was built the present steam saw-mill which was used until 1870, when it was entirely rebuilt and all the latent and best machinery put in, and the most improved methods for manufacturing number employed, making it one of the most complete mills in the state. Soon after the removal from the old steam mill, in 1857, that building was converted into a flouring mill, for which purpose it was used until the erection of their present magnificent waterpower mill. The shingle-mill was built in the fall and winter of 1881, The mill made 12,000,000 shingles during the past year. Since the beginning of their business, this firm has manufactured over 400,000,000 feet of lumber at Traverse City. The first vessel property owned by this firm was the brig J. Y. Seammon, eventually wrecked on the Manitou Islands and a total loss. At a later day they owned the schooner Telegraph. Both vessels were engaged in the lumber trade between this place and Chicago. Their first steam craft was the propeller Allegheny, bought in 1860 and run until the close of 1870. The people of Grand Traverse thought they were almost out of the woods when they had a regular weekly steamer from this port to Chicago. The then editor of the Herald, the late Gov. Bates, upon his first trial of the Allegheny, said: " The trip to Chicago instead of being a terror and dread, and of ten days' duration as it often was in sail vessels, is now a pleasant pastime." In 1864 the company built the little steamer Sunny Side, in Detroit, especially for the bay business. This was the first steamer plying regularly upon the bay, and was a great favorite with the public, and to-day there remain many very pleasant recollections among the older residents of Traverse City, of the pretty little Sunny Side. This boat did a fine business for four seasons, when she was totally wrecked at the Pine River (Charlevoix) dock, Nov. 11, 1867. The steamer City of Traverse took the place of the Allegheny in 1871, arriving at Traverse City from Cleveland, where she was built and furnished, on the 1st of May in that year. She was the third steamer owned by the company, and was built expressly for their own trade, and has proved to be an excellent boat and a good investment. The original cost of the City of Traverse was $85,000, and large sums have been spent upon her of late years in thoroughly overhauling, putting in new machinery and entirely refitting the boat for passenger travel, and she is, to-day. one of the finest and most popular boats upon the lakes. She is now again being lifted up, at heavy expense, for the summer travel of 1888.
The little steamer Clara Belle was put upon the bay in 1875, and had a good trade for several years, until the business outgrew the boat, and she was then sold and was run last season on Pine Lake. The steamers City of Grand Rapids and T. S. Faxton are now owned and run by this company, on the Traverse City, Petoskey and Mackinac daily line.
Park Place Hotel, Traverse City
The growing popularity of the Grand Traverse Region as a summer resort, and the rapid increase of pleasure travel, necessitated the opening of the new route, and also providing increased hotel accommodation. To meet this demand Park Place Hotel was leased of H. D. Campbell, and handsomely fitted up by this firm and placed in charge of Col. J. D. Billings, and has, under his management, gained the reputation of being one of the best houses in the state. The large three story building has since been built on the opposite corner, connected by a covered bridge with the original building, and both are now used in the summer.
East Park Place was built by H. P. Campbell in 1873, and kept by him five years.
In the spring of 1882 the erection of a mammoth brick block was begun, and completed the following year. In April, 1888, the new block was occupied, the building and business was mentioned in the Herald of April 12 at great length, of which the following is an extract:
"From 1859 until this week, Hannah, Lay & Co. have occupied thee old wooden stores which were started in that year. As the business increased one department after another was added and warehouses were built on the opposite side of the road, an the old flour-mill was utilized for the same purpose, and other warehouses were built or rented in other parts of the town. But the time had come when all this was insufficient. The business had outgrown the accommodations. The necessity for a change in the near future was apparent several years ago, and plans were then laid for the changes recently made.
"One year ago the erection was begun of the magnificent block just completed. This block occupies what was for so many years known as the 'triangle' at the west end of Front Street, and faces 212 feet on Front Street and 112 feet on Union Street. The south and the north fronts and the side elevations are all of the same height. It is, in fact, a block with four fronts. It is three stories above ground, with a basement nine feet in the clear under the entire building. This basement is finished in keeping with the rest of the building, is well lighted, front and rear, and will be used by the various departments. The building is, therefore, really, four stories in height. The best quality of pressed brick (which were all manufactured here) are used for the entire exterior. The caps and cornices are of galvanized iron and the sills of cut stone. The first floor south front is entirely of iron and French plate glass, the plates being from 6x12 to 9x12 feet in size. The entire building is heated by steam, which is made in the building. There are freight and passenger elevators running from basement to fourth story. The building will be lighted by electric lights. A walk fourteen feet wide urns entirely around the block, and a permanent wing covers the entire walk in front. The extensive grounds connected with the building are all heavily clayed and graveled, there are fourteen public entrances to the building in the two fronts and at the sides.
In the southeast corner is placed the banking office of Hannah, Lay & Co., and in the rear of this Mr. Hannah's private office. The remainder of the west end of the building and the entire department next east is used for hardware and crockery from top to bottom. Next comes the boot and shoe department, next the dry goods department, 50x112 feet, the entire four floors being used for this purpose together with furniture and upholstery. The next two departments are devoted to groceries from basement to fourth floor. "Each department connects by wide arched doorways, with the adjoining departments, so that one may pass the entire length of the block through the different stores, without going outdoors. Wide, easy stairways lead from each department to the next Moor above. These are placed at the north end, and from the first turn, where is a roomy resting place, a fine view is had of the entire length of the long salesroom below.
"Our space is too limited to enter into details Suffice it to say that this building, erected at a cost of $100,000 is probably the most complete and best adapted to the business for which it is intended, of any in the state.
"Right here it is very proper to speak of Mr. Smith Barnes. Mr. Barnes came to Traverse City in 1859 and became interested in the mercantile business, taking the general management of that department of the business of the firm. Mr. Barnes' peculiar fitness for what has proved to be so important a position is conceded by all. Closely watching the minutest details of the business, great and varied as it is, he is perfectly familiar with every item, and he has so systemized the work that the business is carried on quietly, pleasantly, and with perfect order. Mr. Haines has taken an active interest in the erection of the new building and has given much time and thought to the interior plans of the different departments, and with what degree of success is now apparent. It must be very gratifying, indeed, to Mr. Barnes to note the present magnificent proportions of the business which has, under his management, grown from its small beginnings a quarter of a century ago. "For two or three weeks the work of removing the stock had been quietly going forward, so quietly that business was not in any was interrupted, and but few of our citizens were aware of the work being done. On Saturday, March Hist, the grand rush was made, and on that day a small army of men was busy from morning until night, and darkness came down upon the old store deserted.
"The old buildings look low and small now: the ceilings are low and dingy, the rooms look darker than they used to, the floors are more sunken, and the office is smaller than we thought; but to those of us who have been daily visitants there for twenty years or more, and to those who have stood behind counter and at desk for Unit time and longer, pleasant memories cluster around the old spot, and in leaving it forever we feel somewhat as we felt when leaving the old borne years ago.
"Hannah, Lay & Co. have been signally successful in seeming and retaining a most efficient corps of employees. C. Germaine acting as general outside foreman, has been with them from the earliest memory of man and is yet as youthful and efficient as ever. The late John Francis Grant, whose death the Herald recorded two or three weeks ago, had stood at the general book-keeper's desk for twenty-five years. William Holdsworth who has charge of tho real estate department, has occupied his place for twenty-three years. Chas. A. Crawford, who has general charge of the office and banking department has been in his position from his boyhood days, and we draw no fancy sketch and paint no untruthful picture when we say that he is one of the best business men in the state. Time and space fail when we attempt to note in detail the great number of employees that are engaged with this firm. Fully sixty clerks and bookkeepers are required to attend to the business as now conducted. The heads of the departments are as follows; H.P. Daw, hardware; K. P. Wilhelm, dry goods (Mr. Wilhelm has been with the firm for twenty years): Herbert Montague, grocery; C.B. Atwood, boots and shoes; M. S. McMichael, furniture. Jas. A. Moore will be in charge of the central or mercantile office, Chas. A. Crawford will remain in charge of the hank and lumber office, Julius T. Hannah will assist his father in the general management of the business.
"If there is any one feature of the business of this firm more worthy special notice than another, it is the cash system which was inaugurated by them many years ago. They have always paid cash for everything bought and for all labor performed, and have always expected cash for what they have sold. This has, very hugely, done away with "dicker trade" throughout Grand Traverse, and the benefits arising from this excellent system have been beyond all estimation. Founded upon the solid rock of a cash system, Grand Traverse has scarcely felt the ebb and flow of tho waves of financial worry and distress that have, twice since the organization of this firm, swept over the country, but, scarcely checked in its process, the development of the entire region as steadily and surely gone on.
"Another important fact in this connection is worthy of note. All the large gains that have been made in the transaction of this great firm have been used to promote the interests of and benefit the Grand Traverse country. Nothing has been drawn away except for the actual living expenses. Here the business centers, here the work has been done, here the money has been paid. As a firm Hannah, Lay & Co. have been public spirited and generous. No public improvement planned, one-half of the tax for which this firm must pay, has ever been objected to or opposed by them. Anxious to promote the best interests of the entire region they have ever been ready to do their full share.
"Hon. Perry Hannah, the head of the firm, the best years of whose life have been given to its service, strict and exact in all business affairs, but quick to note and reward ability and fidelity; public spirited, liberal in great matters and in small; a kind friend and trusted counselor, is honored and beloved by all.
"Thirty-three years is a long time for a company of men to remain in business without changes, and knowing 'time waits for no man' they have wisely concluded to organize their business into corporations. The new store starts out with the organization of a mercantile company, with a capital of $300,000. Perry Hannah* president; A. T. Lay, vice-president; Smith Barnes, secretary and treasurer, and will be known as the Hannah & Lay Mercantile Co. It is also proposed at an early day to organize the lumber interests into a corporation to be known as the Traverse City Lumber Co. with a capital of about $1,000,000. The banking business will also be carried on and under the name of Banking House of Hannah, Lay A Co."
An idea of the growth of the business may be obtained from the fact That in 1860 the sales aggregated $16,000, and in 1883, $600,000. Following are some facts in connection with Messrs. Perry Hannah and Smith Barnes.
Mr. Hannah was born in Erie County, Penn., Sept. 22, 1824. He came with his father to St. Clair County, Mich., when thirteen years of age, and spent a portion of his early life in rafting logs from Port Huron to Detroit. He was then engaged for several years in commercial work with Mr. John Wells, of Pert Huron. In 1846 he became clerk in the lumber yard of Mr. Jacob Beidler, of Chicago, and continued there until 1850, when the firm of Hannah, Lay & Co. was formed. Mr. Hannah's marriage was on Jan. 1, 1852, to Miss Ann Amelia Flint, of New York. She was born there Dec. 25, 1884. They have one son, Julius T. Hannah, and two daughters, Hattie Amelia and Claribel.
Perky Hannah was a member of the state legislature in 1856-'57, and has always interested himself in local affairs. He has served twenty-eight years as moderator of the school board, has been supervisor several years, and president of the village since it was incorporated. He is politically a Republican, and his name has been prominently mentioned in connection with the office of United States senator. His liberality in all worthy enterprises is proverbial. Smith Barnes, secretary, treasurer and general manager of the firm of Hannah & Lay Mercantile Co., Traverse City, was born in Madison County, N. Y., in 1827. Since 1880 his life has been spent in Michigan. He spent five years of his youth in Livingston County, and about six in Oakland County. Later he spent some twelve years in Port Huron, St. Clair County. From there he removed to Traverse City in 1860, and became a partner in the firm of Hannah, Lay & Co. Since that time he has had the sole charge or general management of the mercantile department. During his first year in the business of the firm he and one clerk made all the sales, amounting to $16,000. In 1888 the sales were a little less than $600,000.
In 1852 Mr. Barnes was married to Miss Lucinda M. Hart She died in 1870. His second marriage was to Miss Catharine K. Clarke, of Geneva, N. Y., in 1871. In politics Mr. Barnes is a Republican, but steadily declines official position. Be has, however, accepted an election as member of the city council, and has served as such ever since the incorporation of the village. His elegant private residence is on the corner of State Street and Wellington, and is known as Ingleside. Nearly forty years of his life have been devoted to commercial work and enterprise.
The mercantile interests at Walton, and lumbering operations at Long Lake, are noticed in connection with those points.
In December, 1883, the Grand Traverse Herald had completed its twenty-fifth year, and upon that occasion penned a retrospect of that period as follows: "In 1858 Traverse City was a little hamlet upon the shores of a wild and beautiful bay. A few houses were planted among the fresh pine stumps, but streets were only known as the recorded plat.
" On the west side of the town was the old saw-mill, then used as a flouring-mill, afterward occupied by J. E. Greilick for several years for his sash and door factory. The old roll-way and track from the mill to the bay, and the old dock, are now things of the past. In that part of the town were a few small houses and shanties used by the mill men and Hannah, Lay & Co's employees. Coming east the first house was Mr. Hannah's cottage, then a small, one story building. Next to this was the small building used for the Herald then the 'boarding-house, now the Bay House, but much smaller than now. The company's' store was then the little building now opposite the Bay House. This is a building about 20x30 feet in size, and here was the foundation for the present immense business of Hannah, Lay & Co. and the Hannah & Lay Mercantile Co. The old saw mill then occupied the spot upon which the present handsome building was erected a few years ago.
" Coming across tho river Front street could boast of the Cutler House, about half its present size, the small house just west of it, a small dwelling owned by D. C. Goodale, on the old postoffice lot, and which was burned in 1863, the Sprague Home, corner of Front and Cass Streets, about half its present size, a tall, square house which would hardly be recognized now as Locust Grove Cottage, a small two story building known to the older residents as the ' Exchange' Hotel on the lot now occupied by the Font Street House, the Fowle House, still remaining substantially as it was then, corner of Front Street and Park Place, and a small portion of what is now the Occidental Hotel, then known as the Gunton House. These, with two or three log houses near Boardman Lake, and one log house near the Gunton House, made up Traverse City. The rest was a wild plain, covered with slumps and over-grown with huckleberry bushes. What is now known as the 1 South Side' was then government land, and was entered soon after by Morgan Bates, he paying $200 for 160 acres. In a few weeks he sold to Perry Hannah for $400 and thought he had made a nice thing out of it.
"The entire region was a wilderness. Little settlements had been made at a few places along the lake and bay shores, but the interior was entirely unknown except to Indians, trappers and surveyors. Grand Traverse, Antrim, Leelanaw and Benzie formed one county. The only means of communication with the outside world was by sail vessel. West and south only Indian trails penetrated the wilderness. There was not a house between Traverse City and Glen Arbor, and three between this place and Manistee, seventy miles distant. William Monroe was Hie first settle south of Silver Lake, and he cut a road six miles to get to this location. A few farms were opening up on the east bay between Traverse City and Elk Rapids, as was also the case on the peninsula. Old Mission was then the terminus of the mail route (the office was then known as • Grand Traverse,') and was one of the most important places on the bay. The counties now traversed by the G. B. A I. R. R. were unknown and an unbroken wilderness. "At the time of which we write the entire region, including Manistee County, probably did not contain one thousand white people. There was not a laid out road in the whole region. Mails were brought through from the south, a distance of 160 miles, on Indian trails on the back of an Indian, or in winter by Indian dog sleds, and their arrival at Traverse City was a noteworthy event, and was the subject of conversation for days after.
"This same territory has increased a hundred fold and more in population and a thousand fold in wealth. Railroads and graded and smoothly graveled wagon roads penetrate it in every direction; broad, cultivated fields, handsome farm buildings, schools and churches are found at every turn; half a hundred thriving towns and villages have sprang up; mills and factories give employment to a multitude, already we are sparing from our abundance to help feed those who are not so fortunate; a hundred thousand summer tourists annually throng our hotels which are not surpassed a comfort and elegance by any in the state; our streams and lakes and forests are famous for the sports they afford the fisherman and the hunter. The choicest varieties of the tenderized frails thrive and ripen upon our shores, abundant crops repay the labors of the careful farmer, extensive forests of maple, elm, beech, aspen, oak and pine prove an inexhaustible mine of wealth from which all reap benefit. Our people are peaceable, orderly, well educated, refined, supporting liberally schools, churches and the press, while our business men are enterprising and happy."
Rev. Merritt Bates, deceased, twin brother of the late Hon. Morgan Bates, and father of Thomas T. Bates, now proprietor of the Grind Traverse Herald, died at his farm residence, near Traverse City, Aug. 22, 1869. We give herewith a sketch of his life, written by Hon. D. C. Leach, and published in the Herald, following his death: "Mr. Bates was born at Queensbury, Warren County, N. Y., near Glens Falls, on the 12th day of July, 1806. His mother died at Glens Falls in 1818, leaving four sons, and two daughters, the oldest of whom was in the twelfth year of her age. At her death the family was broken up and the children scattered. He was thrown upon his own resources and commenced his life struggle before he had reached the age of seven years. How well he sustained that struggle, a long life of usefulness and honor can tell. He commenced his ministerial labors in 1827, and became a member of the Troy, N. Y., conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church. He devoted thirty-six years of his life to earnest, active and successful labor in that conference, having filled almost every important appointment within its boundaries. He was repeatedly stationed at Albany, Troy, Lansingburg, Schenectady, Gloversville, Amsterdam, Glens Falls, Kneeseville, and other important points in New York, and at Burlington, Middlebury, St. Albany, Shelbourne, Bennington, and at other places in Vermont. He was four years presiding elder of the Burlington District.
"In 1836 the Middlebury College conferred upon him the honorary degree of Master of Arts, but he respectfully declined the diploma on the ground that he would not accept as a compliment what he was not entitled to as a right. He was a hard student and a better scholar than a majority of those who are graduates of some college. It was his custom for many years in the early part of his. ministry to arise at four o'clock, summer and winter, and devote three hours to study. When he was stopping at a log cabin of a settler who couldn't afford to burn candles, he pursued his studies by the light of a pitch pine knot, which is a very good substitute. In this way he obtained not only a solid, but a classical education. "In the first year of his ministry be received in full compensation for his labor forty dollars, and thought he was well paid. He gave half of this to those who were poorer than himself. "He was a positive and practical man. His opinions were convictions, and he never surrendered the right to expediency. "He was an ardent and uncompromising anti-slavery man, and freely expressed his opinions on that subject in and out of the pulpit, when it was treason to the church to do so. He suffered great persecution from his own people on this account for all the years that the Methodist Church was under the dominion of slavery; but he lived to see the church and the country freed from that sin and that Satan.
"In 1863, at the earnest solicitation of his twin brother, he assumed a superannuated relation to his conference, retired from active ministerial labor, and settled with his family upon a piece of new land near Traverse City. In six years he made it one of the best farms in Grand Traverse County."
Joseph B. Haviland, whose death occurred Dec. 10, 1881, was one of the representative men of Grand Traverse County, and an early settler of the town of East Bay. His death occurred at his residence in Traverse City, of malarial fever. Mr. Haviland was born March 23, 1836, in Raisin, Lenawee County, Mich. March 14, 1859, he married Adaline L. Hoxsie, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. L. K. Hoxsie, afterward residents of this county. In 1861 Mr. Haviland removed to Acme, Grand Traverse County in company with his wife's parents, and always considered that place his home, although for seven years before his death he lived in Traverse City the better to attend to his duties as a county officer. Mr. Haviland always took an active part in all public enterprises, and whatever he did, in public or private life, was done with all the enthusiasm of an active, energetic, strong nature. His whole life was a busy and useful one. In 1878 he was appointed state swamp land road commissioner for Michigan, and he held the other continuously until his death, an almost unexampled case in the official records of the state; and this long tenure of office was due to his eminent fitness for the position and his honest, earnest, faithful discharge of the trying and arduous duties pertaining to the office. In 1874 he was elected county clerk and register of deeds of Grand Traverse County, and he was in 1880 elected for the fourth term to this position. In this office he made friends on every hand, and was, probably, the most popular man in the county. He also held for several years, and at the time of his death the office of assessor of the Traverse City school district. He was also a member of the Traverse City village council, an active and enthusiastic Mason, and a prominent member of the M. E. Church.
Henry D. Campbell, probate judge of Grand Traverse County, was born in Franklin County, N. Y., March 11, 1881. He spent his youth and received his education in his native state. In November, 1852, he came to Traverse City, Mich. He was in the employ of Hannah, Lay & Co. for eight years. In 1860 he engaged in agricultural enterprise, and has devoted his attention thereto more or less ever since. On July 2, 1862, he was married to Miss Catharine A. Carmichael, of Traverse City. She was born in Genesee County, N. Y., in July, 1839. They have four sous and one daughter. In 1871 the supervision of the mail Service in northern Michigan, in which Mr. Campbell had for several years been engaged, demanded so much of his attention that they removed from their farm home to Traverse City. This supervision continued until 1874. From 1873 to 1878 they conducted the Campbell House, or Park Place Hotel. Since then his Attention has been devoted chiefly to general business and official duties. Mr. Campbell has served eight years as treasurer of Grand Traverse County. He made the tint settlement ever made between that county and the state. In 1854 he made the first returns of the Grand Traverse County board of canvassers for the state election, being chairman of the board. The county returns were from what is now Manistee, Leelanaw, Antrim and Grand Traverse Counties. He is now, in 1884, serving in his tenth year as supervisor of Traverse Township. In January, 1881, he entered upon his duties as judge of probate, and has devoted himself assiduously to that work. He is also sole proprietor of Traverse City water works.
Reuben Hatch, Jr., attorney at law. Traverse City, was born in Alstead, N. H., Oct. 11, 1847. His father. Rev. Reuben Hatch, also a native of Alstead, was a minister in the Congregational Church. He and his wife, Mrs. Almira Hatch, were both graduates of Oberlin College, Ohio. He removed to York, Medina County, Ohio, about the year 1850, and remained there as pastor of the Congregational Church three or four years, and then removed to Union City, Mich., and served in the same relation. His present residence is in Oberlin, Ohio. Mr. Reuben Hatch, Jr., devoted his youth, first to literary studies and later to the study of law. He was admitted to the bar in Traverse City in the Spring 1871, and has since then pursued his profession with gratifying success. In the spring of 1875 he was elected judge of the Thirteenth Judicial Circuit, embracing the counties of Grand Traverse, Leelanaw, Antrim, Charlevoix, Emmet, Cheboygan, Kalkaska and Missaukee. At tho end of his term, January, 1882, he resumed practice at the bar. He is a member of the law firm of Pratt, Hatch A Davis. They have an extensive and growing legal practice in the thirteenth and adjoining circuits. Mr. Hatch has held various local offices, and is now treasurer for the new Northern Asylum for the Insane, at Traverse City. His marriage was in August, 1878, to Miss Esther H. Day, of Traverse City, a native of Massachusetts.
Charles M. Bell, baker and confectioner. Traverse City, was born in Hinckley, Medina County, Ohio, May 15, 1852. He came with his parents to Stock bridge, Mich., in his infancy. From there he went to Lansing where he received his education and learned his trade. Later he spent some time in traveling in Ohio, New York and Pennsylvania, attending the centennial in 1876, and came to Traverse City, Mich., in April, 1878. He wrought at his trade four years, and then opened his present place of business on Front Street, as baker and confectioner, where he commands a large and steadily increasing patronage.
Lovell H. Gage, attorney and counselor at law, Traverse City, was born in Hudson. Lenawee County. Mich., May 8, 1846. He received his early education in his native county. His later literary studies were pursued in Oberlin College, Ohio. One year was spent in the service of his country in suppressing the rebellion. He graduated in the law department of the Michigan University at Ann Arbor, and was admitted to the bar in 1868. His first legal practice was in Elk Rapids, Antrim County, where he served as prosecuting attorney, and also as circuit court commissioner. From there he came to Traverse City and opened a law office on Front Street, where he has a steadily enlarging practice in his profession. He has served several years as justice of the peace, and six years as prosecuting attorney and circuit court commissioner in Grand Traverse County. He is United States commissioner for the Western District of Michigan. He has a wife and two children. They have a pleasant farm home one mile from the city, with a most enticing view of the city, the bay, and the adjacent surroundings.
George E. Steele, a native of West Andover, Ashtabula County, Ohio, was born Oct. 28, 1842. His ancestors were all of Hartford, Conn. His grandfather, Zadock Steele, went from there to West Andover as pioneer in 1806. His grandmother, Laura Steele, was the first white woman who settled in that place. His father, William Steele, was the first white child born in that town. From 1845 to 1861 he lived in Kingsville, Ohio, but then removed to Benzie County, Mich., where he still resides. George E.. the son, received his academic education in Kingsville, Ohio. After coming to Michigan be attended the Agricultural College at Lansing, being the first student from the northwestern part of tho state. He had spent some twelve years in pioneer farm life, and this gave him vim and ambition in his intellectual pursuits. Mr. Steele has been county surveyor of Grand Traverse County two years, when it included what is now Benzie. Later he removed to Elk Rapids, Antrim County, and has been county surveyor there six years. In Benzie County he gave the name " Homestead " to his chosen township, and was its supervisor two years, and several years its treasurer. In Elk Rapids he has been supervisor about four years. In 1877 and 1878 he was the representative to the state legislature, from the counties of Antrim, Charlevoix, Emmet, Manitou and Otsego. In 1880 he removed to Traverse City, and in March following became a member of the firm of Steele & Titus, in the business of real estate, insurance and abstracts. They are enjoying an enlarging and remunerative patronage. His marriage was on Feb. 9, 1865, to Miss Lois S. Judson, of Benzonia. She was born in Medina County, Ohio, April 24, 1843, They have one living son, Ray, and one adopted daughter, Minnie.
Clarence 0. Titus, of the firm of Steele A Titus, a native of New York, has been formerly a successful publisher of local works, but is now engaged with good success in real estate, insurance and abstract business, on Front Street, Traverse City. Mich.
B. J. Morgan, proprietor livery, Traverse City, was born in Lorain County, Ohio, in 1847. He came from his native place to Traverse Region when fifteen years of age. He spent some years as clerk in the Gunton House, Traverse City, now the Occidental Hotel. In 1869 Mr. Morgan opened a livery stable for the accommodation of the traveling public, and some three years later engaged in the sale of horses. In both of these departments he was met with gratifying success. He now keeps steadily for public use about fifty horses, and his sales reach as high as 200 horses per annum. In 1871 Mr. Morgan was married to Miss Carrie M. Gunton, of Traverse City. She was born there April 1. 1854.' They have one son, Theron, and two daughters, Eva and Grace. He has served as sheriff of Grand Traverse County five terms, and is in 1884 serving in his twelfth year as United States deputy marshal.
John T. Beadle, saddler and harness maker, Traverse City, was born in England, on June 28, 1846, and came to Detroit, Mich., in childhood. He remained there until 1867, when he came to Traverse City and opened his present fine of business, in which he has a steadily enlarging patronage, his sales of late reaching to from $18,000 to $20,000 per year. On Feb. 11, 1870, he and Miss Anna Thacker, of Yuba, Grand Traverse County, were united in marriage. She was born in Defiance, Ohio, April 4, 1851. He has served as clerk of Traverse Township three years, county superintendent of the poor four years, and six years as county treasurer of Grand Traverse County.
S. Edwin Wait, druggist, Traverse City, was born near. St. Albany, Vermont, July 21, 1884. He removed with his parents to, the state of New York in 1837. One year later they went to Ohio. In 1846 he removed to Wisconsin, and thence in 1848 to Mackinaw Island, Mich., and from there in 1850 to Old Mission. He spent the most of the summer of it working on the boarding-house of Hannah, Lay & Co., and on the county court-house, at Traverse City. In the winter following he taught school in Ohio. From 1850 to 1800 he had charge of tire carpenter and joiner work of Dexter & Noble, at Elk Rapids. During that summer he built a schooner for Dr. Thos. Fearnside, in payment for a farm at Old Mission. In 1862 he taught the Indian school at Middle Village, and later at Pashawba. During the summer of 1864 he built the steamer Albatross for Dexter & Noble. From 1866 until 1871 he was clerk for Hannah, Lay & Co. During that summer he was clerk and steward on the propeller City of Traverse. From October, 1872, until May, 1875, he was cashier and book-keeper in the drug store of L. W. Hubbell & Co., of Traverse City. He then purchased their stock, and since that time has conducted a prosperous business in drugs, medicines, stationery, mixed paints and materials for painting, fishing tickle, etc. He also compounds and keeps on hand many valuable medicinal preparations. His sales increase largely every year. His first marriage was on April 8, 1858, to Miss Louisa Colburn, of Old Mission. She was born in Lewisburgh, Ohio, July 27, 1885, she died Jan. 20, 1867. Their children are Ida R. (now deceased) and Cora L. Mr. Wait's second marriage was to Miss Ella Packard, of Racine, Wis., June 28, 1870. Their children are Minnie B., Edmond W., and C. Raymond. He has served as clerk of Peninsula, as treasurer of Elk Rapids, and as justice of the peace.
Walter Perry, mercantile foreman, Traverse City, was born in Port Huron, Mich., Feb. 14, 1858. He left there with his parents for Traverse City in childhood, and in later years has taken an active part in the hardware and crockery business, conducted by his father, John A. Perry, on Front Street. On Feb. 26, 1881, he was married to Miss Minnie Gunton, of Traverse City. She was born there June 10, 1861. They have one son, Julius R. They have a pleasant residence in Fernwood, beautifully adjacent to Boardman Lake.
John A. Perry, dealer in hardware. Traverse City, was born in Chatham, Ontario, Nov. 17, 1884. In 1853 he removed to Port Huron. Mich., and remained eight years. From there he came to Traverse City in 1861. He was ten years in the employ of Hannah, Lay & Co., and since then has conducted a prosperous hardware business on Front Street. He was married Jan. 6, 1854, to Miss Caroline Morey, also of Chatham. They have two living sons, A. Henry and Walter.
Frank F. Brosch, butcher. Traverse City, was born in Austria Feb. 4, 1831. He came to Chicago in 1858, and about three years later came to Traverse City, Mich. He worked for Hannah Lay & Co. ten years. He then took a homestead and spent seven years in farming. He then came to Traverse City and opened a meat market on Front Street, where helms a steadily enlarging patronage. He has a. wife and three children. He has a beautiful residence on the east corner of West Bay, with most enticing surroundings.
Oscar P. Carver, clerk and registrar of Grand Traverse County, was born in Steuben County, Indiana, April 13, 1847. He spent his youth chiefly in the city of Angola, in that county. In December, 1863, he enlisted in Company A, 88th Indiana Volunteer Infantry, and served his country until the close of the war in 1865. On Aug. 25, 1860, he was married to Miss Pauline Dean, also of Angola. Their children are Charlie 0. and Lulu I. In the full of 1866 Mr. and Mrs. Carver removed to Muskegon, Mich. One year later he located land and settled in what is now the township of Paradise, Grand Traverse Comity, devoting some time to agriculture, and some to school teaching. Later he engaged in mercantile work with Mr. Means at Sherman. Afterward, with Messrs. Mears & Harger, he engaged in mercantile business at Manton, and after selling out his interest there engaged in mercantile enterprise, railroad agency and railroad real estate business at Summit. In 1862 he was elected county clerk and registrar, and removed to Traverse City, where he gives his unremitting attention to the duties of his office. In Manton Mr. Carver served as township treasurer, and later as township clerk. He was also school inspector, justice of the peace and postmaster. He has also been postmaster at Summit, and has been three years supervisor of Paradise township, but resigned his official relations there when elected county clerk and registrar.
Martin E. Ellis, liquor dealer, Traverse City, was born in Huron County, Ohio, in 1820. He removed from his native state to Traverse City, Mich., in 1878, and opened his present line of business on Front Street. His marriage was in May, 1849 to Miss Odelia H. Chamberlain, also of Huron County. They have four sons, Charles, Frank, Elbert and Martin. Mr. Ellis has in Garfield a farm of 220 acres of land with 150 acres under improvement. He also owns the estate known as the Parmelee farm at Old Mission; on it he has 116 acres of choice orchard, consisting of apples, pears, peaches, plums and other fruits of the finest varieties. and most enticing specimens.
Robert A. Campbell, proprietor of stage line, Traverse City, was born in Franklin Conn in, N. Y., Jan. 18, 1840. In 1850 he came to Traverse City, Mich. He was for some time in the employ of Hannah, Lay & Co., and then spent some time in farm work. On April 25, 1863, he was married to Miss Eugenia Steele, daughter of Rev. Salmon and Mrs. Adelaide R. Steele, of Northport. Mr. S. was then Methodist Episcopal presiding elder of Grand Traverse District - Mrs. Campbell was born in Springfield, Mich., May 31, 1848. After marriage, Mr. and Mrs. Campbell went to his native place, and after an absence of three years returned to Traverse City, where they still reside. Mr. Campbell has spent some three years as baker and confectioner, but has given his attention chiefly to stage business, on the Big Rapids, Cadillac, Fife Lake, Elk Rapids. Northport, Glen Arbor and Frankfort lines. Mrs. Campbell has dealt in millinery and fancy goods, but sold out that interest in 1881 to Mrs. Roland. Since that time she has given special time and effort to temperance work, and has been state vice-president of the W. C. T. U. formerly in the Ninth and now in the Eleventh District. Their living children are Lewis H. and Robert E - both born in Grand Traverse County. Mr. Campbell's parents, Robert A. and Harriet E. Campbell, natives of Vermont, but later, residents of New York state, came to Traverse City some ten years since, and now reside with their son Robert A. The father is now, in 1884, eighty-eight, and the mother seventy-eight years old.
Julius K. Elms, physician and surgeon, Traverse City, was born in Fayetteville, Onondaga County, N. Y., Nov. 7, 1847. When ten years of age he removed with his parents to Marshall, Mich., and remained there five years. They then removed to Van Buren County, and for some years he took part in the work of the home farm. He commenced the study of medicine in 1874, and graduated from the Chicago Homoeopathic College in 1879. His first practice of medicine was in Vicksburg, Kalamazoo County, Mich., and continued until January, 1881, when he removed to Traverse City, where be has since that time enjoyed a steadily enlarging practice in his profession. On July 24, 1875, he was married to Miss Clara Baker, of Allegan, Mich. She was born in Canton, Clinton County, N. Y., July 6, 1852. She went from there to Painesville, Ohio, and removed from Ohio to Michigan in the fall of 1867, coming to Allegan on the fourth train which came to the place. They have one daughter, Theo Blanch,
H. E. Steward, dealer in real estate, loans and collections, Traverse City, was born in Delaware County, Ohio, March 6, 1828. His youth and early manhood were spent in his native state. On Jan. 1,1861, he was married to Miss Caroline A. Thompson, also of Delaware County. She was born in New Jersey, Jan. 25, 1828. Their children are William T., Ed son W., George W. and Carrie Jane. They removed to Traverse Region, Mich., in 1861, and spent some seven years in Bensonia. Here Mr. Steward was engaged chiefly in agricultural pursuits. In 1868 he was elected treasurer of Grand Traverse County, and removed to Traverse City, in which vicinity they still reside. He continued in that office six years. Since then he has been interested somewhat in abstract and insurance business, but now devotes his attention chiefly to matters of real estate, loan and collection. He has a commodious office on Front Street, and enjoys an enlarging patronage. He has served twelve years as justice of the peace in Traverse City. His home residence is pleasantly situated in Garfield. He is now, in 1884, serving in his fourth term as supervisor of that township.
De Witt C. Leach, publisher, Traverse City, was born in Erie County, N. Y., Nov. 28, 1822. He came with his parents to Genesee County, Mich., in childhood. Several years of his early manhood were spent in teaching. Iv 1849 he was elected a member of the state legislature from Genesee County. In 1850 he was elected a member of the constitutional convention. On April 17, 1850, he was married to Miss Abigail P. Comfort, of Birmingham, Oakland County, Mich. She was born in Southport, N. Y., Dec. 16, 1829. Their children are Mina L.,now Mrs. L. W. Hubbell, of Springfield, Mo., and Emma L. and Hattie S., who are both teachers. In January, 1855, Mr. Leach was appointed by Governor Bingham as state librarian. In the fall of 1856 he was, as Republican candidate, elected to Congress from tho Fourth District, which then embraced the northern portion of the Lower Peninsula, and till of the Upper, and was" re-elected in 1858. During all these years, which were among the most eventful in the history of the republic, when congressional contest was rife, at times rising to actual personal violence, Mr. Leach stood firmly for liberty, for the Union, for Michigan. In March, 1861, he was appointed by President Lincoln, as United States Indian Agent for Michigan, and served four years, without a single attempt, even by opponents, to in any way impeach his integrity and faithfulness in that official relation. In the fall of 1865 be removed from Lansing to Traverse City. In 1867 he was elected a member of the constitutional convention which met at Lansing. Shortly after this he purchased the Grand Traverse Herald of Governor Bates and conducted its publication for nine years. In 1876 they removed to Springfield Mo., but in March, 1882, returned to Traverse City, where they still reside. He is now publisher of the Northeast Farmer, an interesting journal of rural affairs. He is also engaging extensively in the cultivation of cranberries at Walton, where he expects soon to have thirty acres occupied in that enterprise.
Lovias F. Ingersoll, surgeon and physician, Traverse City, was born in Orangeville, Wyoming County, N. Y., March 1, 1864. He removed with his parents to Oakland County, Mich., in early youth. In 1874 he took the degree of B. S. in the Agricultural College in Lansing. In 1880 he graduated in the medical department of the Michigan University at Ann Arbor. In 1882 he took a special course in Bellevue Hospital, New York. His first place of medical practice was Sutton's Bay, Leelanaw County. He came to Traverse City in the fall of 1882, and has a growing and remunerative professional practice. The doctor's marriage was on March 11, 1876, to Miss Estelle F. Berry, daughter of Dr. Berry, of Grand Ledge, Mich. She was born in Grand Ledge Sept. 11, 1656. Their first born daughter, little Ethelyn was taken from them by death in 1888. The doctor's only specialty in his practice is general operative surgery.
William W. Smith, clerk of the steamer T. S. Faxton, Traverse City, was born in the state of New York August 22, 1849. He came from his native state to Traverse City, Mich., in 1860. Since then he has been most of the time in the employ of Hannah, Lay & Co. On June 8, 1874, he was married to Miss Susan Reynolds, of Ogdensburg, N. Y. She was born in Gouverneur, N. Y., Dec. 8, 1863. Their children are Ada, Jennie, William E., Grade and Harry. His trips during the season 1881 will be between Traverse City and Harbor Springs, touching at all intermediate points.
John Wilhelm, merchant, Traverse City, was born in Austria, May 10, 1840. He came to New York City in the fall of 1862, and remained there some six years. From there he came to Traverse City, Mich., in the summer of 1868, and was engaged in agricultural work until about 1866, when he entered the employ of Hannah, Lay & Co., and continued with them until 1870. He then, with Victor Petertyl and John Shad, spent two years in the manufacture and sale of furniture. Then for about seven years he conducted a tobacco store and saloon. After this with other partners, he conducted a business in ready-made clothing, furnishing goods and merchant tailoring for about three years. In 1880 he opened a stock of dry goods and clothing and ladies' and gent's furnishing goods on Front Street, where he has a steadily enlarging and remunerative trade. His marriage was in 1807 to Miss Victoria Petertyl, also of Austria. Mrs. Wilhelm died in September, 1883. She leaves one son and three daughters, with her husband, to mourn her loss.
John D. Billings, hotel keeper, Traverse City, was born in Litchfield, Me., June 25, 1835. His youth was spent in his native state, employed chiefly in farming in summer and in teaching in winter. In 1857 he removed to Chicago, where he engaged in mercantile business, and three years later he returned to Maine, where he remained six years, employed chiefly in hotel business. He then spent one year more in Chicago; and then was six years in Missouri engaged in farming and stock raising. The next four years he kept hotel in Chicago. In 1879 he removed to Traverse City, Mich., and since that time has conducted the Park Place Hotel. His marriage was on March 27, 1865, to Miss Emily Prescott Colcord, of Hallowell, Me. She was born there April 27, 1887. Their living children are Bertie and Ervin Colcord Billings.
Isaac G. Winnie, of the firm of Winnie Bros., Traverse City, was born in Troy, N. Y., Oct. 25, 1839. He came to Traverse City in the spring of 1859. He spent two years in the employ of Hannah, Lay & Co., in the woods and on the river. In the fall of 1861 he enlisted in Battery G, First New York Artillery, in the Army of the Potomac, and served his country over three years in the suppression of the rebellion. After the war he was with Hannah, Lay & Co., in their grocery department over eight years. In 1874 he and George F. Stevens engaged in grocery and drug business on Front Street, and continued until 1882, when the firm of Winnie Bros, took its present form. Ample supplies of feed, groceries and provisions are kept constantly on hand. Teas, coffees, sugars, syrups and spices are tho specialties of the firm. He has a wife and six children, five sons and one daughter.
Malcolm Winnie, of the firm of Winnie Bros., Traverse City, was born in West Troy, Albany County, N. Y., July 18, 1842. He came from there to Old Mission, Mich., in October, 1856. For about sixteen years he was engaged chiefly in farming. Then for some time he was engaged in other features of labor and general business, and in the fall of 1882 he entered the film of Winnie Bros., of which he is still a member. He has been treasurer of Traverse Township five years, and is now, in 1884, serving his fourth year as treasurer of Grand Traverse County. He has a wife and three sons and one daughter.
George F. Steven, general merchant, Traverse City, was born in Dundee, Scotland, Feb. 19, 1839. He came from his native country to Michigan in 1859. He spent some two years at Grand Rapids, and in the fall of 1861 he came to Traverse City, and went from there to Northport in the employ of Campbell & Goodrich, and after some time returned to Traverse City in the same employ. Later he was several years in the United States land office. He also cleared and opened a fine fruit farm on the Peninsula. He was also some four years in the employ of Hannah, Lay & Co. His next engagement was as dealer in groceries, drag and provisions, with Mr. I. G. Winnie, on Front Street, until 1882, when he erected a fine, substantial block on Front Street, and opened his present stock of general merchandise, groceries and provisions. He has a large and remunerative trade in all departments of his business. He has a wife and two sons and four daughters.
Wolcott F. Griffin, dealer in real estate. Traverse City, was born in Malone, Franklin County, N. Y., July 23, 1831. He removed with his parents to Rush ford, Allegany County, in childhood, there he received his education, and spent his youth and early manhood, employed in mercantile business. On Jan. 9, 1855, he was married to Miss Lucina G. Bush, of Pike, Wyoming County, N. Y. They had one daughter, Ella L. Mrs. L. G. Griffin died May 11, 1863. Mr. Griffin's second marriage was on June 25,1867 to Miss Harriet J. Robinson, of Pompey, Onondaga County, N. Y. She died Feb. 7, 1882. On Dec. 4, 1883, he was married to Miss Frances K. Slusser, of Kalamazoo, Mich. She was born in Taberg, Oneida County, N. Y., April 16, 1842. in 1869 Mr. Griffin removed from York State to Plainwell, Allegan County, Mich., and spent about seven years employed mostly in the grain business. In December, 1870, he removed to Traverse City, and after spending a short time in mercantile life, engaged in real estate business. He has platted the Fernwood, Second Fernwood, Oakwood and Griffins at Winnie's additions to Traverse City, and also that of Oak Park. These are extensive and most inviting additions. Religiously, Mr. and Mrs. Griffin are devoted Episcopal Methodists.
Victor Petertyl, of the firm of V. & A. Petertyl, Traverse City, was born in Bohemia, Nov. 25, 1857. He came to Michigan in 1868. In 1869 he went to Chicago. He remained there seven years and became a painter. He came from there to Traverse City, Mich., in 1876, and engaged in carriage painting. In 1881, with Mr. A. Petertyl, he engaged in the manufacture and sale of carriages, wagons and other wheel vehicles, and also of sleighs, cutters, etc. Their place of business is on State Street, where they are enjoying a large and steadily growing patronage.
John N. Broadfoot, dealer in agricultural implements, Traverse City, was born in Ayrshire, Scotland, Sept. 17, 1845. He came to Albany, N. V , in 1868. Thence he went to Chicago. From there he came to Traverse City and spent thirteen years as foreman in the blacksmith's department in the employ of Hannah, Lay & Co. After this, with Mr. E. N. Carrier, he opened business on State Street, in the sale of agricultural implements, steam engines, boilers, and all kinds of mill machinery. In the spring of 1884 he bought out Mr. Carrier's interest, and now conducts the entire business, which is rapidly extending through the surrounding country. On Dec. 24, 1870, he was married to Miss Emma Hobbs, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Roland Hobbs, of Traverse City. They have two sons and two daughters. Mr. Broadfoot has been nine years worshipful master of Traverse City Lodge of Free and Accepted Masons, and two years high priest of the Chapter of Royal Arch Masons, and glories in brotherly love, relief and truth. When he landed in Albany he had only ten cents in hand, yet he has never borrowed a dollar from any person for his assistance. All he has secured has been by hard labor, and patient industry and enterprise.
Asa C. Cutter, lumberman, Traverse City, was born of New England parentage, in Cleveland, Ohio, March 20, 1884. He came to Kalamazoo, Mich., in 1846. He spent some three years in attendance at the Union School and then four years in the Kalamazoo Seminary under the tuition of Rev. Dr. Stone. In March, 1853, he accepted a situation with Stewart, Swain & Co., of Chicago, at their mills in Waterviet, Mich. In a short time he was assigned the foil general management, and remained until 1860, when the timber was all cut off, and what was a wilderness had become cultured farm lands with a prosperous village. In March, 1860, he sailed for California and took charge of the erection of the first planing-mill, in San Francisco, for Mr. John Metcalf, of Chicago. In December following he received an injury to his forearm, which for the time greatly prevented his usual activity, but he was offered full pay for lost time and urged to remain until fully recovered. In February, 1861, he sailed for Hong Kong, China. Thence he went to Jeddo, Japan, and then visited Sandwich Islands. Portland, Oregon, and Port Townsend, N. T., where he witnessed the mode of cutting the large redwood timber into lumber, and saw many new and novel methods of lumbering. He then visited Sitka in Alaska. Returning to San Francisco he made a tour with a pack pony through Lower California to the city of Mexico. In returning in the gulf of California he traversed 300 miles of coast, in the direction of Mazatlan. He was intercepted by the army of Maximilian and spent some time in Peasta on the sea shove, where he became acquainted with the cutting and transportation of logwood, the hardness of Mexican ebony and many other kinds of wood. Later he reached Mazalhin, and sailed thence to Valparaiso, Chili, visiting the lumbering operations of Handy & Curdy, formerly of New England, the Andes Mountains, Buenos Ayres, Montevideo, and Yerka, a lumbering point. He also visited the coffee fields at Rio Janeiro, and the lumbering operations at Zaetahui. Sailed for home in a whale vessel, was becalmed and took an English ship to Liverpool. From there he went to London and visited the home of his grandparents in Essex, the English navy, and the shipyard at Hull. He then visited various places in France and Italy and Egypt, and also the island of Ceylon. Later he visited many places of interest in Holland and Russia. Returning he landed at Bermuda, and sailed thence for New York, and later visited numerous lumbering operations in northern Maine, and reached Kalamazoo in August, 1864. He next had charge of one branch of the lumber interest of Mr. Badlou, of Bay City, until 1870, when he entered the employ of Hannah, Lay & Co., Traverse City. His diligent study of the various kinds of wood, and his observations and experience in manipulating lumber have given him a world-wide reputation as an expert in the grading and inspection of both haul and soft weed lumber. He was at one time selected by the Saginaw Lumber Exchange as inspector general of state, under the inspection laws of 1871 and 1872. Mr. Cutter seems to possess fine skill in this peculiar trade, discerning at a glance the quality of the pine and also of the different kinds of elm and other hard wood lumber with which this country abounds. His marriage was in 1868, to Miss Hattie Hurrah, of Massilon, Ohio. They have one son and three daughters.
William Fowler, hotel-keeper, was born in Kent, England, in 1883, and came to Traverse City, Mich., in June, 1854. He was for some time engaged as baker in the boarding-house of Hannah, Lay & Co. Later he was at various times cook in their lumber camps. In May, 1857, he took the Front Street House, named it the Traverse City House, and conducted it some three years. Then, after this, he purchased the Hedgecock premises, and for some time kept boarders there. Later he was for three seasons cook on the ill-fated steamer Sunny Side, and was on board when she was wrecked at the mouth of Pine River by the fierceness of the tempest in the fall of 1867. In the spring of 1868 he resumed charge of Hannah, Lay & Co.'s boarding-house on Bay Street, and continued until 1874, since which time he has conducted it on his own account as the Bay House Hotel. He furnishes first-class accommodations and can entertain from eighty to ninety persons. It is beautifully located in full view of Grand Traverse Bay. He has owned a farm at Silver Lake, but after clearing some twenty acres thereon sold it to Mr. Campbell. On March, 24, 1854, he was married to Miss Eliza C. Stepney, also a native of England. They had one son, William Henry. Mrs. E. C. Fowle died at her father's at Old Mission, Mich., in the spring of 1866. His second marriage was by Rev. V. G. Boynton, on board the steamer Sunny Side, on her trip to Old Mission, to Miss Mary E. Hooker, of Traverse City, Nov. 10, 1866. Their children are Arthur S. and Claribel. In 1855 Mr. Fowle bought 120 acres of land in Norristown, on which he has now about forty acres improved. He has also a thriving young orchard of over 400 fruit bearing trees, an elegant country residence and other good farm buildings.
E. J. HANSLOVSKY, salesman in the Hannah & Lay Mercantile Co., Traverse City, was born in Velka, Blanice, near Prachatitz, Bohemia, May 16, 1857. After several years study at the gymnasium schools, he was employed in one of the general stores at Prachatitz, at the age of thirteen years, and remained four years in the employ. Having gathered quite a knowledge of mercantile business he now accepted a situation in a large establishment in Vienna, Austria. Three years later he was induced by a brother to remove to Kewaunee, Wis., in September, 1876. He went thence to Sutton's Bay, Mich., and remained there five years as telegraph operator and salesman. From there he came to Traverse City in 1880 and has been ever since in his present situation on Front Street. On Jan. 1, 1881, he was married to Miss Emma J. Steimel, of Sutton's Bay. She died Oct. 16, 1881. His second marriage was to Miss Rosa Wiener, of Minneapolis, Minn., on May 26, 1888. They have one son, Willard, born in Traverse City in February, 1884. They have a pleasant residence on the corner of Seventh and Oak Streets.
Joseph E. Greilick, manufacturer, Traverse City, a native of Austria, was born Sept. 11, 1884, and came with his parents to New York City in 1848, and thence to Grand Traverse Region in the spring of 1854. After spending some years in carpenter work and other industrial engagements he entered his present line of business in the manufacture of sash, doors, blinds, moldings and frames, and in dressing lumber, flooring, ceiling, etc., in the spring of 1867, under the firm name of Greilick & Co., Hannah, Lay & Co. being partners in the business. In 1879 Mr. Greilick bought the interests of the other parties, and since then has conducted the business solely on his own account He is enjoying a very extensive patronage from the city and also from the surrounding country, one of his contracts in 1884 being the furnishing of all the materials in his line for the new Northern Insane Asylum in process of erection in Traverse City.
Arthur T. Bodle, physician and surgeon, Traverse City, was born in Middletown, N. Y., July 18, 1858. His youth, to the age of fourteen years, was spent chiefly in literary study. He then spent some time in a real estate and insurance office, and later was for a while salesman on the road. Some time also was spent in attendance at Wallkill Academy. In the fall of 1874 he went to Europe, traveling through the British Isles, and returning by the why of the West Indies. After his return he resumed his studies in the academy, and took up the study of medicine. Next he made a trip into Texas and various parts of the south, and this was followed by another tour to Europe. Returning in 1877 be went to Chicago, IL, resumed the study of medicine, and graduated in the Chicago Homeopathic College in 1888. He at once received an appointment as house physician to the dispensary connected with the college, but resigned this position and removed to Traverse City, Mich., to engage in medical practice with Dr. J. K. Elms, of that place. On Jan. 1, 1881, their partnership was dissolved. Since then Dr. Bodle has continued the practice of medicine and surgery in the office formerly occupied by the firm on the corner of Park Plare and Front Street, with gratifying success.
Robert Caldwell, blacksmith. Traverse City, was born in Ayrshire. Scotland, Dec. 25, 1848. He came to America in 1878. He spent four months in Chicago, IL, and then came to Traverse City and spent seven years in the employ of Hannah, Lay & Co. In May, 1881, with Mr. William Loudon, he took the shop of Hannah, Lay & Co. and opened a blacksmithing business under the firm name of Caldwell A London. Mr. Caldwell was married Dec. 8, 1871, to Miss Mary McMillan, also of Ayrshire, Scotland. They have four sons and one daughter. They have a most inviting residence on Eighth Street, Traverse City, one of the most pleasant localities in the city.
William Loudon, blacksmith and wagon-maker, Traverse City, was born in Kilmarnock, Ayrshire, Scotland, Jan. 12, 1851. He came to Traverse City, Mich., in 1872, and spent about nine years in the blacksmith's department in the employ of Hannah, Lay & Co. In the spring of 1881 he became a partner in the firm of Caldwell A Loudon, on Bay Street. They not only do all ordinary custom work, but they also manufacture and export a large number of logging wheels. They send them to Wisconsin and all points in the Union where home trade demands, and also to the southern states, to Arizona, Mexico, and even to South America. His marriage was in Scotland, July 12, 1872, to Miss Elizabeth McMillan. They have four children, one son and three daughters. Their beautiful residence on Eighth Street affords an enticing view of Boardman Lake and also of Grand Traverse Bay.
D. E. Carter, jeweler, Traverse City, was born in Genesee County, N. Y., March 25, 1888. He removed with his parents to Erie County, Penn., in childhood, remained there until early manhood, and acquired the profession of jeweler and watchmaker. Later he resided in Ashtabula County, Ohio, spending between two and three years in school, and over three years in the work of his profession, when his health failed and be removed to Grand Traverse Region in the fall of 1862. His health soon improved, and he opened work in Densonia, Benzie County. His father also came north, and together they erected a mill on a homestead he had taken in that county, and still has in his possession. While in Benzonia Mr. Carter had an extensive patronage from that entire region of country, reaching all the way to Manistee, where there was no jeweler at that time; hence their work came to him. In 1866, however, he removed to Traverse City and opened a jewelers shop, and obtained a growing patronage from the city and vicinity, which has extended farther and become more remunerative each succeeding year. He has continued longer in steady business in the city than any other establishment, except Hannah, Lay & Co. He is now, in 1884, about to erect a new building for business convenience, and expects to soon entertain his patrons in the most inviting jewelers' store in Traverse Region. His stock is kept constantly full and complete in all the various articles belonging in his line of business for the ample accommodation of his numerous customers.
Albert Jennings, attorney at law, and dealer in real estate, Traverse City, was born in Birmingham, Oakland County, Mich., July 4, 1848. He spent his youth and received his early education in his native county. He entered the literary department in the Michigan University at Ann Arbor, in the Sophomore Class, in 1862, and graduated in 1865. He entered the law department in 1866 and graduated in 1868. After graduation he engaged in teaching, and was in charge of public schools until 1874. He was then engaged in the practice of law in, the city of Grand Rapids until 1880, when he resumed teaching, and continued until the spring of 1883. He then removed to Traverse City and engaged in real estate business. He organized the Oakwood Land Company for the platting and sale of a large tract, and is still engaged in managing their interests and effecting the sale of lots. In his general real estate business he makes a specialty of the purchase and sale of hard wood timbered lands in northern Michigan. Mr. Jennings was also instrumental in the organization of the Oakwood Manufacturing Company, a corporation engaged in the manufacture of chairs and other furniture, door and window frames, and moldings, and in planing and matching lumber; and as secretary of the company has an important part in the management of the business. He has also been for several years engaged in journalism as a contributor to a number of important journals in the state. On June 26, 1872, he was married at Decatur, Mich., to Miss Frances A. Toof, daughter of Rev. E. M. Toof, of the Presbyterian Church. She was born in Castile, Wyoming County, N. Y., April 12, 1850. They have one son, Albert T., born May 11, 1873. Religiously Mr. and Mrs. Jennings are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and he is superintendent of the M. E. Sabbath-school in Traverse City. Fraternally, Mr. Jennings is a Free and Accepted Mason.
James Lee, retired farmer and fruit grower, was born in England, March 10, 1816. He came to Detroit, Mich., in June, 1832, and remained in that vicinity until 1858. He then removed to Leelanaw County, purchased a farm in what is now the township of Bingham, and prepared for himself and family a pioneer home in the waving forest. He has now about seventy acres under cultivation. He has also nearly live acres of fruit bearing apple orchard, about 1,000 peach trees and some pears, and a rich variety of grapes and other small fruits. He has a good dwelling and other farm buildings. He was among the first in planting fruit trees in that county, and also one of the first in introducing sheep. In Bingham Mr. Lee served seven years as supervisor, twelve years as justice of the peace, ten or twelve years as highway commissioner, six years as school inspector, and also filled various other offices. In 1875 he was elected from Leelanaw County as a member of the state legislature, and was re-elected in 1877. During that season he retired from active farm work and removed to Traverse City, where be still resides. He is serving as highway commissioner of Traverse, is in his second year as justice of the peace, and is serving in his third term as a member of the city council. Mr. Lee's marriage was in 1830 to Miss Jane Ackley, also of England. They have two living children, John A. and Sarah Jane. Mrs. Lee died in 1873. He has a beautiful city residence on the corner of Union and Ninth Streets.
Arthur W. Wait, contractor and builder, Traverse City, was born at Old Mission, Mich., Feb. 11, 1854. He spent his youth and acquired a knowledge of his occupation in his native place. In July, 1878, he removed to Traverse City, and with Mr. M. B. West spent some three years in his usual work as a builder. In 1879 they purchased premises on Boardman Avenue, and Mr. Wait erected a pleasant dwelling, and also the business shop which he still occupies In 1681 be purchased Mr. West's interest in the business and has since conducted it on his own account. The business includes scroll sawing, band sawing, turning and the preparation of moldings, and whatever is connected with building. Mr. Wait's marriage was in December, 1879, to Miss Alice M. Hazelton, of Leslie, Ingham County, Mich. Their children are Alice M. and Arthur Edward.
Washington Pound, railroad conductor, Traverse City, was born in Lyons, Seneca County, N. Y., Dec. 17, 1817. He came to Allegan County, Mich., in boyhood, spent some time in agricultural employments, and in 1863 enlisted in the Third Michigan Cavalry, and served his country until the close of the rebellion. Since 1869 he has been in the employment of the Grand Rapids & Indiana Railroad Company, and since 1870 has been conductor. His marriage was on Oct. 15, 1874, to Miss Ada J, Peabody, of Allegan, Mich. She was born in Allegan, Mich. They have been residents of Traverse City since 1875. Their elegant residence On State Street was erected in 1888. They have one daughter, Clara, born in Traverse City.
James N. Martinek, watchmaker and jeweler, Traverse City, was born in Bohemia, Sept. 28, 1858. He came to Cleveland, Ohio, in 1870. and remained over three years, employed in his profession as a jeweler and watchmaker. He had devoted six years to the study of that business in Bohemia, and had become well skilled in making all parts of the work by hand. In 1870 he removed to Traverse City, Mich., and opened business on Front Street, where he is enjoying a growing patronage from the city and surrounding country. He was married July 25, 1881, to Miss Mary Blake, of Cleveland, Ohio. She was born in Bohemia in 1868. They have one living son, James, born in Traverse City, April 4, 1888.
William Starr, engineer, Traverse City, was born in Sullivan County, N. Y., July 29, 1863. He came to Grand Traverse County, Mich., in 1882, and engaged in engineering at Mayfield. About nine months later he removed to Traverse City and spent some time in the employ of Mr. J. E. Greilick, and was afterward a while with Mr. Lighter. Later he spent some six months at Kingsley, and in April, 1884, came to Traverse City and entered the employ of H. D. Campbell, Esq., at the Traverse City Water Works.
Jesse G. Holliday, contractor and builder, Traverse City, was born near Brookline, Ont., Oct. 23, 1857. He spent his youth and acquired his occupation in his native country. He came to Elk Rapids, Mich., in the spring of 1881, spent some ten months there and then removed to Traverse City. He worked for some time at his trade as a builder, and in 1883 he opened his present line of business, as a contractor and builder. His business also includes the manufacture of door and window frames, screen doors, windows, sideboards, cupboards and other cabinet work. His commodious shop is on the corner of Lake Avenue and Cass Street. He has a large and steadily growing patronage. His marriage was Sept. 10, 1870, to Miss Lucy J. Hubbell, of Myrtle, Ontario. They have two children, Nellie and Earle.
Loren Newberry, drayman, Traverse City, was born in Wisconsin, Dec. 2,1848. He came with his parents to Macomb County, Mich., in 1851, and in December, 1867, he came to Traverse City. He spent some years in the employ of his brother, Mr. Mauley Newberry, and in 1882 he commenced in his present business. He has a large and rapidly growing patronage. He started in the business with one horse, and now has three rigs, and finds them necessary for his work. He has a wife and two children. They have a beautiful residence on the north side of Ninth Street, east of Union, affording a delightful view of Boardman Lake and of Grand Traverse Bay.
Cutler Germaine, foreman, or general outside superintendent for Hannah, Lay & Co., Traverse City, was born in Dutchess County, N. Y., Dec. 22, 1888. He went to Chicago, early in 1851, and engaged in inspecting lumber for Mr. Barber, but shortly after came to Traverse City, Mich., in the employ of Mr. Boardman. In the fall of 1851 he entered the employment of Hannah Lay & Co. He began with them in common labor, and has occupied various positions in their employ. He cleared the Boardman River of obstructions for logging purposes, and has run logs therein for some fifteen springs. When Mr. Germaine came to Traverse Region he found it a vast wilderness, but he has seen the wilderness bud and blossom as the rose. He is the only one now left of those who commenced in the employ of Haunch, Lay & Co. when he did, being now in his thirty-third year in their employment. His marriage was in July, I860, to Miss Anna Grattfied, of Traverse City. They have three sons and four daughters. Their pleasant home is beautifully situated on Bay Street, in full view of Grand Traverse Bay, and is one of the most enticing localities in the city.
Dr. Vickers Fell, proprietor of the Harrington Washer, Traverse City, was born in Lancaster County, Penn., in 1819. He was a pioneer settler in Minneapolis, Minn., in 1851, and was one of the first practicing physicians in that place. In December, 1882, he removed to Battle Creek, Mich., and in November, 1883, he removed from there to Traverse City to engage in fruit growing, and in all matters pertaining to the washer. He is now, in 1884, about to establish a laundry on Front Street, to demonstrate publicly the merits of the Harrington washer. He offers to sell washers and territory also, if desired, having nearly one-half of the United States embraced in his patent, which has not yet been sold. He also offers liberal inducements to active and reliable agents everywhere in his territory. Mr. Fell has been an active laborer for the promotion of morals, temperance, liberty and all features of improvement, but he fully believes that in his present enterprise in improving the modes of washing, there is that element of freedom from the slavery of female drudgery which equals any enterprise, physical or moral, in which he has ever endeavored to promote the good of others. His marriage was on Dec. 30,1846, to Miss Elvira Ann Fielding, of Pay son, 111. They have four living children—two sons and two daughters. They have also a farm of thirty-six acres on the west side of Traverse Bay, partly in fruit orchards already, which they expect to devote fully to orchard and other fruit-bearing purposes.
John Francis Grant, deceased, was born in Kendal, Westmoreland, England, in 1821. His occupation from boyhood was book-keeping. He was cashier of Hankey's Hank, in London, England. Was married Jan. 9, 1849, to Maria Woodhams, of Buckinghamshire, England, and the same year came with his wife to Brooklyn, New York, where they resided eight years, he being employed there as book-keeper. In 1856 moved to Lansing, Mich., and thence to Muskegon, where he remained one year, and then came to Grand Traverse County, in 1857. Here Mr. Grant went into the employ of Hannah, Lay & Co., as bookkeeper, remaining with this firm until the time of his death. Soon after coming to Grand Traverse County he bought of the government two hundred acres of land in Sections 8 and 9, Town 27, Range 11, where he resided for the last twenty years of his life. He held at one time the office of justice of the peace, but duly (o his employers, which was with him one of the first considerations of his life, precluded him from taking the prominent position in public life for which he was so well fitted. He died March 16, 1888, leaving a wife, three sons and two daughters. Mrs. Grant is now a resident of Traverse City. The children are Effingham Howard and Francis William, residing on their own farms, portions of the old homestead; Charles Herbert, living in Almira, and engaged in farming; Alice Evangeline and Jane Maud Maria, with their mother in Traverse City. Effingham H., the eldest son, was born in Brooklyn, N. Y., in 1854. Came in infancy with his parents to Traverse County; married in 1879 to Esther Fowle, a native of England, and has three children.
Morgan L. Leach was born in Erie County, N. Y., April 1, 1821, being the eldest of a large family of children. His father was Jeshurun Leach, and his mother was Theoda, daughter of Theopous Huntington, both natives of Vermont. During his early years the family made several removals, going first to Oakland County, Mich., back to Erie County, N. Y., then to Strongsville, Ohio, from there to Mundy, Genesee County, Mich., and then to Margaretta, Erie County, Ohio. In consequence of the death of his father, which occurred in Margaretta, the care of tho family devolved in a great measure on the subject of our sketch. Returning with them at the age of twenty-one to Mundy, he became a resident of the neighborhood where several years before the family had passed through the somewhat romantic and not unpleasant experiences of pioneer settlers in an almost unbroken wilderness. Here he engaged in various pursuits, with varying success, but without accumulating any property, and finally turned his attention to the study of medicine. After devoting a considerable period to suitable preliminary studies under Dr. H. C. Fairbank, he went to Ann Arbor in the fall of 1851, for the purpose of attending the lectures in the medical department of the university. It was Saturday night when he arrived. After paying his hotel bill on Monday morning and his matriculation fee at the college, he had just sixty-two and a half cents left to carry him through a six months course. How he was to get through was a mystery. He went through, however, successfully, receiving help to the amount of six dollars from friends, and coming out a few dollars in debt in the spring, proving the truth of the adage that " where there is a will there is a way." In the spring a friend came to him with the offer of pecuniary assistance. He accepted the loan of a hundred dollars, which enabled him to spend the summer in study at Ann Arbor, in a class under Dr. E. Andrews, who was then demonstrator of anatomy, and has since held a distinguished position as professor of surgery in the Chicago Medical College. In the fall he removed with his mother and younger brothers to Duplain, Clinton County, and engaged in practice. On the 27th of October, 1856, he was married to Mrs. Lemira M. Coy, widow of Chandler W. Coy, one of tho pioneer settlers of Duplain. In the autumn of 1857, after several years of successful practice, he returned to Ann Arbor, attended a second course of lectures, and graduated with the degree of Doctor of Medicine on the 25th of March, 1858, a few days before he was thirty-seven years old. On the organization of the First Michigan Cavalry in August following the breaking out of the rebellion, Dr. Leach, with many of his neighbors and friends, enlisted as a private in that regiment, and was soon afterward made hospital steward. The regiment spent the fall in Washington and the winter in Frederick, Md., crossing with Gen. Banks' forces into the Shenandoah Valley late in the following February. Gen. Banks, after the battle of Kernstown, having pursued the enemy up the valley to Harrisonburg, and afterward fallen back to Strasburg, was finally compelled to fly before the overwhelming force of Stonewall Jackson. On the retreat, when a little north of Middletown, the wagon train with which Dr. Leach was moving, with Several wagons containing the hospital stores, nurses and sick men of his regiment, was suddenly charged by the Confederate cavalry. Though not required to carry arms, he had always done so, and now, perhaps not wisely, commenced using his revolver, attempting almost single-handed to repel the attack. In less time than it takes to tell it, he was unhorsed and lay on the ground, bruised and bleeding, with a severe saber cut on the right cheek, a slight cut on each hand, and another on the shoulder, and a bad bullet wound in the lower part of the thigh. He was made prisoner and carried back to Middletown, where a few days later he was paroled and left in hospital, when Jackson in his turn had to retreat. As soon as he was able to travel, he returned home, spent some time in Camp Chase,. Ohio, whither he was ordered with other paroled prisoners, was discharged on account of disability from wounds, and again returned home. In the fall of 1862, having nearly recovered from the effects of his wounds, Dr. Leach received a commission as assistant surgeon in the Ninth Michigan Cavalry, then organizing at Cold water. He left with the regiment for Kentucky in May, 1869, which, after participating in the stirring events occurring in that state during the summer, passed over the Cumberland Mountains in the fall, and joined General Burnside's command in Tennessee. He remained with the regiment till the spring of 1864, when he was detailed for service in one of the general hospitals of Knoxville. In the course of the summer, finding his health steadily failing, he resigned his commission and retired from the service. After the war, Dr. Leach was engaged for some time to the construction of State swamp land roods, and for a short time in mercantile business, losing in the latter the profits realized from the former. The death of Mrs. Leach in 1878 was the occasion of the breaking up of his home in Duplain. In the spring of 1880 he went to Charlevoix where he remained two years and then came to Traverse City, his present place of residence. During the latter part of his life, Dr. Leach has been a somewhat prolific newspaper writer, the productions of his pen being scattered through a large number of periodicals. During his residence in Traverse City he has been associated with his brother, D. C. Leach, in the editorial work of the Northwest Farmer. He has been for many years a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
Source: The Traverse Region - H. R. Page & Co., 1884.