Columbia Township
History

Line Divider


Pictures provided by Paul Petosky
The Square 1909   Walker Tavern 1930s
Brooklyn 1909   Wolf Lake 1912
Presbyterian Church  Brooklyn School

     Brooklyn was founded by Calvin Swain, who filed the first land claim on June 16, 1832 and named his settlement SWAINSVILLE. In a town meeting vote on August 5, 1836, the community elected to change the town's name to BROOKLYN. The town is named after Brooklyn, NY.
 
      Calvin H. Swaine became the first postmaster at SWAINSVILLE on July 28, 1834. When the name was changed to BROOKLYN on October 25, 1836 he was still postmaster. He was succeeded by Rufus Tiffany on June 1, 1841 as postmaster.
 
      A sign marking Swain's historical discovery currently stands in the town square.
 
      The photo, below, shows the Brooklyn, MI Post Office in 1911 with postmaster George L. Worthington (standing). He was postmaster from November 5, 1902 to July 21, 1913, and was succeeded by John W. O'Leary.
 
      Brooklyn, MI is "A Place For All Seasons" and is home to the Michigan International Speedway.
 
      The Brooklyn, MI Post Office is located in Jackson County and uses zip code 49230.
Written by Paul Petosky.
Brooklyn Post office 1911


From "The History of Jackson County, Michigan"


    The historical incidents set forth in this paper on the settlement of the present territory of the town of Columbia took place mostly when it was included in the town of Napoleon.  At that time Napoleon contained four surveyed townships,viz : T. 3 and 4 S., of R. 1 and 2 E.  In the winter of 1838-'9, Columbia was set apart from Napoleon, containing the two south tiers of sections of T. 3 S., of R. 1 E. and T. 4 S., R. 1 E.,excepting one-fourth mile on the east side of said territory, and since then the boundaries of Columbia have been changed, so that its present territory comprises T. 4 S., of R. 1 E., except one mile off the north side of said township, and extending two miles east into township 4 S., E. 2 E., making the present town five miles north and south, and eight miles east and west.
    The first settlement in this town was made by Rev. Calvin H. Swain, who in June,1832, located 40 acres on the west side of section 19, T, 4 S., of E. 2 E., and in connection with his son, Consider P. Swain, immediately commenced improvements.  At that time the general Government held title to all the land in the town except four lots which were located on speculation.  Soon afterward said land was brought into market by John Gilbert, it being the Jefferson water power on the west branch of Rive river.  Mr. Swain made the location to improve the water-power; therefore he brought with him all the iron gearing necessary for a saw-mill, and a large store of solid provisions and groceries; that, with venison and fish, easily obtained at the time, enabled him to sustain his large force in the wilderness comfortably.  Immediately after building a shanty on the north side of the river, he commenced building a saw-mill (now known as the Brooklyn water-power) with the gift of a true pioneer.  The erection of the mill and dam occupied the time to Jan. 29,1833, when the fluttes wheel splashed its first notes of civilization to the surrounding forest.  They had employed as foreman a Mr. Wood, assisted by Samuel Quigley, a millwright, who built several mills afterward in the adjacent country.
    Mr. Swain foresaw the first want of settlers in a new country was a saw-mill along the Detroit & Chicago road, which had been made passable by the Government.  As settlements had been made both north and south, and at the village of Napoleon, they gave sufficient business for said mill.  The principal timber was oak, with a sprinkling of white-wood, black walnut and white ash.
    To procure flour, Mr. Swain dispatched an ox team to Lodi Plains, where wheat was raised, and took it to Ypsilanti or Ann Arbor to grind, making a trip in four to five days.  The first wheat raised in this town was on the N. E. 1/4 of the S. E. 1/4  section 24, about six acres, cultivated in the fall of 1833 by Mr. Swain.
    During this summer he commenced building a large two-story house on the premises where the Episcopal church now stands, into which he moved in 1834.  Mr. G. B. Swain also built a dwellinghouse, on the lot now occupied by W. B. Sherman's store, and which now stands on the adjoining lot.
    A postoffice was established in 1834:, called Swainsville, and C. H. Swain was appointed postmaster.  The mail was carried on horseback once a week to and from Springville, where it met the mail stage from Detroit to Chicago via Clinton and Tecumseh.
    Through a miscalculation of the line of his lot, Mr. Swain built his mill on Government land, which was purchased by other parties; and the purchase of the same at a time when they had expended so much in improvements crippled them in their resources, which materially interfered with their success.  Mr. Swain also established here the first Baptist Church, and was its pastor.  He was a man of brain, strong will, untiring energy and uncommon resources, which well qualified him to battle in a wilderness for a home, and the extending of civilization.
    Barnabas Case and Benjamin Davis located land on section 8, township 4 S., R. 2 E., in the fall of 1832; and in the spring of 1833 commenced to make their improvements.  Their purpose was to make a water-power on the River Raisin at that point, but from the improvements already made by Mr. Swain above him, the undertaking was found to be impracticable.
    In the spring of 1833 Mr. Asahel Knight came from Lodi Plains with his family, consisting of his wife and five sons—Alexis, Allen, Hamblin, Monroe, and Lafayette, and located on sections 18 and 19, township 4 S., of R. 1 E., and commenced improvements, building a house and breaking up land for wheat, etc.  His object in settling there was to establish a cattle ranch.  The convenience of water and abundance of natural meadow in the valley of Grand river, and exuberant supply of grass for pasture on the surrounding undulating plains, made it a desirable point; but the rapid settlement of the contiguous territory soon confined his operations to his own possessions.  Stoel Knight, with his family, also located on section 19, and lived there a short time.
    In the fall of 1833, Mr. George S. Stranahan and his son George located a large tract of land, over 400 acres, on the north side and west end of Clark's lake.  They commenced improvements by putting up the body of a log house and broke up land sufficient to plant an orchard, the first in the town, but returned to New York State to winter.  In the spring of 1834 Mr. Stranahan moved, with his wife, son George and five daughters; and in May, as soon as their log house was made tenable, moved in and commenced to make a home by repairing the soil for raising subsistence for the future.  The privations incident to the settlement in a wilderness with a large family, far from all supplies, none can appreciate except those who have had experience.  While Mr. Stranahan was absent with his teams to Detroit to move his household goods, his wife and five daughters were stricken down with serious sickness, caused by exposures and change of water, unavoidable in early settlements, with no one to take care of them except his son George and two or three neighboring men.  George was also afflicted periodically with fever and ague.  Soon after Mr. Stranahan's return, one of his daughters, Catherine, 18 years old, died, being the first death in town.
    Clark's lake was named by Mr. Clark, of Monroe, the surveyor employed by the U. S., to survey the land in this part of the territory.  While he was meandering the lake, he was so pleased with its surroundings, noble banks and transparent water, that he gave it his own name; and there is his monument forever.  This fact shows that of all the lakes he saw in his practice, this one was the most beautiful.
    In 1834 very important additions were made to the resident population.  Anson H. De Lamater, Edward De Lamater and Samuel T. Marsh came from Onondaga County, N. Y., and landed at Detroit the last day of April.  They came on foot to Manchester—Abraham, Anson and Isaac De Lamater (the latter was E. DeLamater's father) moved their families the previous year,—and then pursued their course westwardly on the Indian trail, running north of River Raisin to the head of Clark's lake.  After examining the country in the vicinity with reference to its capacity for continued settlement, they were so well pleased with the beautiful wild parks and tillable lands that they concluded to settle on the south side of Clark's lake, on sections 20 and 29, adjoining each other, and hastened on foot to Monroe to enter their lands.  At Monroe they purchased one yoke of oxen, a wagon, chains, etc.,and started for their new possessions.  At Clinton they purchased a breaking-up plow, axes, etc., and at Manchester added two yoke of cattle to their team.  Thus supplied, they commenced breaking up the virgin soil for turnips, potatoes and wheat, boarding with Mr. Asahel Knight, their nearest neighbor.  A. H. De Lamater, being the only married man of the trio, had a log house built on his premises, and July 4, started to New York State and soon returned, with his wife, to the Wilderness of Michigan.  E. De Lamater returned to New York State in the fall and came back in the fall of 1835, bringing a wife, and settled on his location.  Mr. S. T. Marsh married Miss Mary Jane DeLamater, daughter of Anson DeLamater, in September, 1835.  For each of the three pioneers, 10 acres were plowed with three yoke of oxen.  Two incidents of the summer illustrate some of the disadvantages of pioneer life.
    The understanding was that if anything was broken of the common property, each should share alike in the expense of repair, and the one on whose land the accident happened should do the traveling necessary to get the repairs made.  While plowing on the land of Mr. Marsh, A. H. De Lamater came in contact with a large grub; the iron standard broke, and there was a general crushing of the plow.  De Lamater sang out: “Come, ye sinners, poor and needy.”  Marsh retorts: "D—n you, if you had to travel through the woods to Ypsilanti with an ox team to get the plow exchanged, you would not sing ' Come ye sinners.'"  The trip took five hard days' work for Mr. Marsh and team.  When the ground was prepared for sowing, A. H. De Lamater, with his ox team, went to Washtenaw County to purchase wheat for seed and for bread the ensuing year.  He took a part of the load to Tecumseh to be ground, and then returned home in consequence of new and crooked tracks to avoid marshes; it took five days.
    Joseph and Hiram King, and Elijah Webber, with their families, located early in the spring, on sections 24 and 25, west of the village, and commenced improvements as soon as they could build log houses.  Calvin Love and family, and his son, Wm. C, arrived soon after, and located their farms and home on section 13, one mile north of the village, and commenced improvements.
    Day and Ransom Jones came during the summer of 1834, and established a blacksmith shop in the village of Swainsville, a much needed establishment at that time.  Isaac, John, Robert, and Wm. Quigley settled in the northeast part of the town the same summer, and commenced improvements, but soon sold their land to other settlers.  In the fall Jacob Every and James Swartout came from the eastern part of New York State with their families and located farms on section 32; these were the last settlements of 1834.
    In the year 1835 there was a great rush of hardy pioneers, and most of the remaining Government land in this town was located for permanent homes.  In February, Anson De Lamater, son and three daughters, and Iaaac De Lamater and family (3 sons and 2 daughters), Washington, Charles, Jackson W., Wallace, Cook C, Maria and Sophia, located farms.  Isaac located on section 21, south of Clark's lake; Anson located on sections 18 and 19, and both commenced vigorously to improve their farms.
    Early in the spring Rufus Tiffany established his mercantile business at Swainsville, which he commenced in the little brown house erected by Mr. Swain, but soon moved to the site now occupied by A. P. Cook.  In a few years he spread out in a great establishment in every branch of trade.
    Mr. Tiffany purchased of Mr. Nowland the northeast quarter of southeast quarter of section 24 for $200, and had the same surveyed and platted for a village by A. H. De Lamater; soon after, a meeting was called, and the name of Swainsville was changed to the village of Brooklyn.  He bought other landed property and engaged in farming, in addition to his mercantile establishment, and his varied business and capital undoubtedly fixed the location of his business in the village of his choice as the center of a large trade.
    Wm. Randall and Alden Hewitt, with their families, Joseph Randall, with his sons Gideon, Flavius J., and C. A. Crary, located the remaining land south of Clark's lake, and commenced improvements.  Joseph Randall, who moved his family one or two years afterward, John, Harvy and Richard Crego, Gardner J. Gallup and Wm. Gallup located farms and settled with their families, and commenced to make homes; Richard Crego, with his family, occupied his land in 1836; located the north half of section 10 for himself and sons, John and Erastus, who moved in 1836.  Joseph, John, Reuben, Uriah and George Every, Mr. Kelley, the father of Alanson, Nelson, Wm., and O. Kelley, located farms in 1835, with their families, for their future homes, in the south part of the town; James Conley & Isaac Swartout, with their families, located homes in the southwest part of the town.  Joseph Townsend, Josiah A. White, Nathan Roberts, Horace Phelps, and John Antisdele located farms in the east part of the town.  Archibald Clark and James Parish settled on the north side of Clark's lake.  Daniel Peterson located a large tract of land on the east end of Clark's lake.  Dr. J. W. Titus, Walter A. White, Albert M. Harmon, Edward Boyers, C. C. Carpenter, Derastus Jones, Ferdinand French and Leonard Sparks were added to the population of Swainsville about this time, and a part of them located farms in said town.  In 1835 Mr. John H. and Broadhead Du Bois located at what is now known as Jefferson, and purchased 320 acres at that place, on the west branch of River Raisin, to improve the water-power.  They commenced building a dam and saw-mill, also a grist-mill; there being no improvements, they built a shanty for their protection ; the difficulty of the undertaking may be appreciated from the fact that all the iron and other material for the necessary machinery for said mill had to be drawn over new roads from Detroit, and provision for subsistence was brought from a considerable distance.  They succeeded in getting the sawmill in operation early in 1836.  Samuel Quigley was the millwright for both mills.  The proprietors caused a village to be surveyed and platted by A. II. De Lamater in 1836.  J. H. Du Bois also located 300 or 400 acres of land northeast of Jefferson, and subsequently improved it.  Broadhead Du Bois located a large tract east of the village.  A. H. and D. C. De Lamater purchased a one third interest in the above water-power, and in company with said Du Boises, completed their flouring-mill early in 1837.  Blacksmith shops were started,—one by Mr. Wm. Silk worth ; one by Mr. Reynolds; a store by Mr. King and Wm. F. Fuller; afterward John H. Du Bois added a general variety store to his other business, and served his town as justice of the peace, town clerk and in other offices of trust several terms; David Peterson started carding and clothing soon.  Amos Picket and L. F. Picket located in Columbia in 1836, and soon after at Jefferson.  They were mechanics, and built a machine shop at Jefferson, connected with water-power.  Amos Picket held offices of trust in his town, and two terms as sheriff of Jackson county; was colonel of a militia regiment.  Lewis F. Picket was an excellent millwright, and was employed in building and improving many mills in the surrounding country.  He served the town of Columbia as clerk and justice of the peace many terms, and as supervisor 14 years.  Bliss Charles, in 1836, settled a farm in the north part of the town.

    His son, Asa Charles, succeeded him on the farm first located, and Bliss Charles, Jr., bought a farm on section 10, part of the James T. Weeks purchase.  John Russel and E. Smith located farms this year in the southwest part of the town.  Cornelius Du Bois and his son, Abram, came in 1836, and located a tract of land north and east of Jefferson.  Abram settled with his family on it, and improved a farm for a home.  Cornelius purchased a tract of land, 160 or 180 acres, north of the west end of Clark's lake, made it his home, and it is a well-improved farm.  Asa and Gideon Denison, Mr. Coger, Zina James, Jason St. John, and Mr. Reynolds settled and improved farms in 1837 south and east of Jefferson, and Reuben Hart settled in the same neighborhood soon after.  Dewitt C. De Lamater settled in Columbia, and in 1837 was in company with the Jefferson mill firm; with his energetic and determined perseverance did much in developing the business.  The postoffice of Columbia was established at Jefferson, and D. C. De Lamater was appointed postmaster, and Sophia Picket, deputy.  The town of Columbia was organized in the winter of 1838-'9, and the first town meeting was held at Wm. Fuller's store, April 16, 1839.  The board was duly organized according to law, and the officers elected were: A. H. De La Mater, Supervisor; David Peterson, Town Clerk; Broadhead Du Bois, Treasurer; Amos Picket, Simon Holland and G. H. Denison, Assessors; David Peterson, Daniel Rand and Reuben Hart, Justices of the Peace; Wm. Miller, Merritt Hewitt and R. W. Squires, Commissioners of Highways; Daniel Rand, James St. John, and Jason St. John, School Inspectors; Wm. Gallup, Jr., Town Collector; Lewis Chase, J. E. Haynes and G. W. Richards, Constables; Hiram Haynes and John H. Burroughs, Overseers of the Poor; John H. Du Bois, Town Sealer.  The following were elected overseers of highways: Dist. No. 1, Zina St. Johns; Dist. No. 2, Uriah Every; Dist. No. 3, Luther Baker; Dist. No. 4, Isaac De Lamater; Dist. No. 5, Gideon H. Denison; Dist. No. 6, Henry Crego; Dist. No. 7, David Peterson; Dist. No. 8, Bliss Charles; Dist. No. 9, Pain Wait; Dist. No. 10, James Weeks; Dist. No. 11, Clover Griffin; Dist. No. 12, David Foster; Dist. No. 13, Henry Palin; Dist. No. 14, A. Phillips; Dist. No. 15, R.W. Squires.
    The first school in district No. 3 was taught by Miss Salina Henrys, in a shanty at the head of Clark's lake, on Geo. S. Stranahan's land, in the summer of 1836; the second school was taught by Miss Almira Charles, in the summer of 1837, on section 19, on the farm of Asahel Knight.  The first school-house was built in the fall of 1837, on section 17, at the head of Clark's lake, and the school was taught by D. Dudley, the ensuing winter.  Daniel Rand and Amos Picket were moderators.  Most of the aforesaid settlers were men in the prime of life, of small means, but energetic and determined to make themselves a home in the wilderness.  They expected to be deprived of many of the necessaries of life; were always cheerful and ready to help each other, and succeeded, through many hardships and discouragements, in making valuable and pleasant homes, which are yet mostly owned by the first settlers and their descendants.  They became attached to each other as relatives, and this tended to overbalance the hardships endured.
    In the years 1836-'7, the enactment of a general State banking law secured the redemption of their circulation by mortgages on real estate.  These banks were organized all over the State, in nearly all of the new villages, and secured the redemption of their notes principally by almost worthless land, and simultaneously they flooded the country with their worthless issues, which enhanced the value of all property far beyond the intrinsic value, producing wild excitement and rapid improvements, causing almost all to make debts, until suddenly a mistrust of the solvency of banks caused a simultaneous suspension of redemption and the crash of the banks, which left business without currency, and compelled all our business to be carried on by barter; every species of property became almost valueless, and caused great distress.  Real estate and other property was exchanged to liquidate debts at one-fourth of its former value; and, to procure goods, groceries, and other necessities for the support of their families, they would have to buy of the merchants on credit, and by the time the wheat was harvested and fitted for market, the crops were anticipated by the demands of the merchant who floured or shipped the grain to pay the Eastern merchants for their goods.  It was almost impossible to come out square at the end of the year, even by practicing the most strict economy, and dispensing with everything that could possibly be dispensed with.  This economy cannot be imagined by the present generation.  When the pioneers first settled here, the country appeared to be very healthy, but the land in summer was covered with an abundant growth of grass and herbage, and the settlers made rapid improvements from 1834 to 1837, plowing large tracts of land, girdling the timber, building mill-dams, plowing much new land, all of which caused an immense amount of decomposition of vegetable matter, filling the atmosphere with miasma, causing a great amount of sickness; in 1840, in many cases, it became difficult to procure help enough to take care of the sick.  After those causes ceased, the town became healthy.  At that season, the deprivations and distress were great, but it is past, and the pioneers succeeded, and have homes surpassed by no country for health, beauty and productiveness.

CHURCHES

    All Saints {Episcopal) Church, of Brooklyn village, had its origin at a meeting held in Felt's Hall, Aug. 12, 1858, at which meeting an organization was completed in the election of the following officers: L. S. Austin and A. P. Cook, Wardens; W. S .Blackman, M. W. Ferris, Day Jones, George P. Cook and S. L. Austin, Vestrymen; S. L. Austin, Secretary and Treasurer.  A committee was appointed to take preliminary steps for the erection of a church edifice, and on Easter Monday a building committee of the following named members of the parish were chosen: W. S. Blackmail, A. P.Cook, George Bestram, WalkerB. Sherman, S. Spaulding. Rev. N. W. Lyster was chosen chairman, and S. L. Austin, secretary.  This committee with the valuable aid extended to them by the Ladies' Society of the parish, made purchase of a lot fronting 200 feet on Main street, and commenced the erection of their building in 1861, and completed it the following year.  It is 40x80 feet in size, Gothic in style, constructed of brick.  It contains sittings for about 200, finished inside with oil, heated with furnace, and is surmounted with spire and bell.  Financially the Church owes its success largely to the enterprise and efficiency displayed by the ladies of the parish.  Sept. 19, 1871, they started a fund of $600, which, by holding fairs and festivals, was gradually increased to $1,600.  This amount was expended in the finishing of the church, purchase of an organ, and, lastly, purchase of a rectory.
    The spiritual life and light of the parish was for many years the lamented Rev. William N. Lyster, a native of Sion, Wexford Co., Ireland.  He was a graduate of Trinity College, Dublin, and later of the Theological University of Edinburg.  He came to the United States as missionary in 1832.  In 1850 became to Brooklyn in a missionary cause, and from that time remained there until his death in 1875.  His successors have been Revs. S. W. Frisbee, I. I. Morton and I. H. Eichbaum, its present rector.  They have a thriving Sunday-school, with W. S. Culver as its present superintendent. Value of the property of the parish, including rectory, is $2,500.

    The First Presbyterian Church of Brooklyn village was organized April 14, 1838, with a list of 13 members, as follows: G. J. Chapman, Lorinda Chapman, Daniel Howland, Gulinda Howland, Lucretia Howland, Elisha Cole, Lucretia Cole, Horace Phelps, Sarah E. Phelps, Thomas Cotton, Sarah Cotton, Mary Boyers and Zilpha Clark.
    The first installed pastor was Rev. C. W. Gurney, who commenced his duties as such in 1841, continuing through the year 1842.  Next came Rev. J. E. Boyd, 1842-'9; Rev. C. W. Smith, 1849-'54; Rev. N. II. Barnes, 1849-'54; Rev. Periah King, 1854-'7; Rev. Augustus Marsh, 1857-'60; Rev. O.W.Norton, 1860-'5; Rev. Thomas Sherrard, 1865-'74; Rev. W. S. Coulter, 1874-77; Rev. J. H. Phelps, 1877-'S0; and Rev. W. S. Price, the present pastor, 1880-'l.  The original elders of the Church were Harvey Austin, Guy Chapman, Herman Walbridge, Thomas Cotton and Thomas Jerrett.  The present membership is 109; 395 is the total number of names as members on the Church records.  The society is out of debt and owns a comfortable church edifice, well furnished, with organ, bell, etc.  They have a well-attended Sunday-school, conducted by Superintendent George W. Green, also efficient ladies' and young people's societies, which contribute much to the life of the Church.  The building occupies two lots fronting on Main street, is 40x60 feet in size, and seats 300 people.

    First Methodist Episcopal Church of Brooklyn owes its origin to the assembling of 11 residents of the village at the home of Dr. L. M. Jones, on Main street Aug. 13, 1865.  Those present were Dr. and Mrs. Jones, G. B. Markham and wife, James Brink and wife, Mrs. Hattie Parker, Mrs. Felt, Mary Murdock, Mrs. Hetty, Seth W. Bartlett and wife.  G. B. Markham was chosen chairman and a class consisting of the above-named persons was formed.  Felt's Hall was settled upon as being the future place of meeting, and Rev. Mr. Belknap, of Napoleon, served as their first pastor.  Services were continued every Sabbath in Felt's Hall until 1870, when they removed to Ambler's Hall for two years, and since 1872 have met in Ennis's Hall.  The society have no church edifice, but own a location upon which they hope to build.  Eleven pastors have succeeded Mr. Belknap, viz.: Revs. George Barnes, W. Q. Burnett, E. Wigle, Mr. Newton, O. B. Hale, Mr. Hazen, Mr. Nichols, Mr. Allman, Mr. Priestly, Mr. McLaughton and H. Bradley.  The society is out of debt and numbers 26 members.  Dr. L. M. Jones has faithfully served as their class-leader for eight years past.

    Baptist Church of Brooklyn — This was the first religious body organized in the village, and its edifice the first erected.  In June, 1834, with the Rev, Calvin H. Swain at its head, the first Baptist Church of Swainsville (this being the name of the village at that time) was organized.  The original members of this society were: C. F. Swain, Louise Swain, Paulina Swain, Elijah Webber and wife, Joseph King, Polly King, Ransom Jones, Day Jones, Calvin Love and wife, Rufus Tiffany, Joseph Townsend, Daniel Wright and others.  The legal organization of this society took place Dec. 26, 1838, and was effected by a resolution as follows: "That we form ourselves into a society, to be known as the 'Brooklyn Baptist Society,' " and elected Joseph Townsend, J. L. Butterfield, R. Tiffany, R. Jones and Henry W. Ladd as trustees.
The contract for the erection of the church edifice was signed May 10, 1841, the contracting builders being Vernon French and William Ambler.  The consideration for the erection of the building 40x30 feet in size, 20 feet ceiling, built of wood, was $650.  Elder Calvin H. Swain was their first pastor, and he was succeeded by the following: Elder Griswold in 1838, John I. Fulton in 1839, C. L. Bacon, 1841-'6, Revs. Kies and Jennison until 1850, P. F. Jones 1851, A. A. Ellis until 1856, J. M. Wait until 1859, C. G. Purritt until 1861, Elisha Kimball until 1864, T. G. Lamb until 1867, Cyrus B. Abbott until 1869, J. Bloomer until 1870.  During 1870-'l the Church was without a pastor.  In 1872-'4 Rev. D. B. Davis filled the pulpit, and in November, 1877, the Rev. S. F. Lyon, the present pastor, commenced his labors.  The present membership is about 90.  The church is finely located, is comfortably furnished, surmounted with a bell and belfry, and the society is out of debt.

    Clark's Lake Baptist Church Society was first organized May 2, 1868, by a small company of citizens assembled for the purpose at Clark's Lake school-house.  The meeting was called to order and presided over by the Rev. Dr. Luther R. Cook, of Jefferson village, and appropriate resolutions were adopted and preliminary steps taken toward a permanent organization of a Church society.  Articles of faith were drawn, to which the following persons assented, signing their names: Luther Dean, Benjamin Reed, Alfred Russell, Forester Cook, Jefferson White, Miranda Dean, Betsey Reed, Helen Russell, Mary C. Cook, Ange White, Lydia Reed, Mary Hill.  A Church and covenant meeting was appointed for May 9.  June 20 the preliminary steps were taken toward building a church edifice, and the following were the building committee chosen: Alfred Russell, Jefferson White and Byron Hill.  Funds for the purpose were raised in the following manner: By subscription, $1,200; festivals, $500; work and material contributed, $300; making the total cost of the building $2,000.  It is 31x41 in size, constructed entirely of wood, seats 200, is well carpeted and furnished with an organ.  Its first pastor was Rev. Dr. Luther R. Cook, who served them several years.  Has a Sunday-school organization, with Jay Reed as superintendent until the present time, and an average attendance of 40 pupils.  The society is free from debt and in prosperous condition.

PERSONAL   SKETCHES

The rest of the history of Columbia township is in the form of personal sketches of its leading citizens, as follows:

    George W. ADAMS, of Brooklyn village, was born at Lenox, Mass., Aug. 27, 1832.  His father is Capt. Joseph Adams, a miller by trade, and a mill owner in Rensselaer County, N. Y., of which county he was a native.  Capt. Joseph Adams was a public-spirited man of strong temperance principles, and a Whig of decided character.  George W. received at his home a thorough common-school education, and afterward attended Pittsfield Seminary, in Massachusetts.  He afterward learned the milling business of his father, and has since made it his life's occupation.  He left Pittsfield, Mass., and came west to Binghamton, N. Y., in 1873, where he remained one year, and in 1874 came to Marshall and followed the milling business there one year.  He then went to Brooklyn and purchased the mill property there of Mrs. John L. Butterfield, consisting of the title to the power, upright muley saw-mill and grist-mill of three run of burrs.  This mill is one of the best custom and flouring mills in Central Michigan, being equipped with modern wheat-cleaning and flour-separating and finishing machinery, and turns out first-class manufacture of straight grade and process flour.  Its propelling power is taken from two 36-inch turbine water-wheels, running under a 20-foot head.  The saw-mill is of modern muley construction, and is driven by a 36-inch turbine wheel.  Mr. Adams finds a local market for nearly all of his milling product, but ships some of the best brands of flour to Detroit.
He was married in 1852 to Sarah Jane Vary, daughter of J. R. Vary, a pioneer of Rensselaer County, N. Y.  She died in 1861, leaving 4 children—George H., Walter J., William E. and Clark B.  He married a second wife in 1865, namely, Miss E. L. Cleveland, daughter of Nelson Cleveland, of Otsego County, N. Y., and they have 2 daughters—Mary B. and Carrie J.

    Dr. N. H. BARNES, Brooklyn, was born Nov. 10, 1816, at Grafton, Worcester Co., Mass.  Nathaniel Barnes, his father, was a boot and shoe manufacturer of Hopkinson, Chautauqua Co., and was a native of Connecticut, as was also his mother.  Dr. Barnes received his education in Chautauqua County, and afterward studied medicine under Dr. Stephen Eaton, M. D., in 1833, and soon turned his attention to the ministry, and graduated at the Auburn Theological Seminary, in 1844, and then assumed his first pastoral charge of a Church in Portland, Chautauqua Co., then successively in Clean, Versailles, Sinclairville, in New York, and then came to Brooklyn, and in four years removed to Dowagiac, and remained seven years, a portion of the time practicing medicine there with success.  In 1861 his health failed, and he resumed the ministry, in which profession he has spent 37 years of his life, his time having been divided between the East and the West.  He returned East and spent several years, and came to Brooklyn a second time, in 1875, and since that time has practiced medicine.  He was first married Oct. 16, 1847, to Miss M. Ann Bennie, of Olean, N. Y.  She died at Sinclairville, N. Y., May 25, 1853.  Jan. 16, 1856, he again married Miss Sarah E., daughter of John Ladd, a farmer of Columbia Township.  They have 1 daughter, Eleanor Gertrude, born Nov. 24, 1865, and 1 son, Ernest H., born May 10, 1873.

    Morgan BOOTH was born Nov. 25, 1819, in Delaware County, in the town of Tompkins.  His father was Erastus Booth, a farmer and a native of that county.  His grandfather was also Erastus Booth, and was a pensioner of the Revolution at $96 per year.  Morgan remained at home until 30 years of age and acquired a liberal education, and came to Michigan in 1835.  He made a brief trip through Central Michigan and first settled in Columbia Township., on section 6, where he remained two years.  He then sold and bought 50 acres of George Stranahan on the north bank of Clark's lake, where he has developed a productive farm.  In 1850 he married Miss Mary Lewis, daughter of Thomas Lewis, a farmer, of Erie County, N. Y., town of Clarence, and an old pioneer of that section.  Her grandfather was Jacob Lewis, a native of Pennsylvania.  Mr. and Mrs. Booth have 3 children—Edgar, George and Carrie.

    Edward BOYERS, one of the early settlers of Jackson county, and one of the most thrifty farmers of Columbia Township, was born in Erie County, N. Y., Oct. 5,1816.  His father, John Boyers, was a shoemaker by trade, but devoted most of his time to farming.  He was a native of Pennsylvania.  In 1835 he came to Michigan, on a prospecting trip, and returned to Erie County, where he purchased a farm, settled and lived until his death in 1869.  Jacob Boyers, his father, was a soldier in the war of the Revolution, and died in Erie County, in 1826.  His widow for some years after his death, drew his pension of $96 per year.  The Boyers family are of New England and Pennsylvania German descent.  Edward received his early education at Newstead common schools, and finished at the Newstead Seminary.  He came to Michigan and settled in Columbia Township, in 1837, when he located land on section 30, being the premises on which he has lived for over 35 years.  In 1852 he made a trip to California for his health and returned in 1853, having been absent one year.  Mr. Boyers married Miss Betsy Ann Lester, daughter of Gideon Lester, of Newstead, Erie Co., N. Y.
Betsy Ann died in 1835, leaving l child—Matilda Ann, now deceased.  In 1839 he again married, this time Mrs. Mary Polk, widow of Samuel Polk.  Her father was C. Wright, a mechanic, who came West and settled in Illinois, where he died in October, 1855.
Mr. Boyers owns 159 acres of good farming land, mostly under improvements.

    Charles A. CARY, one of the earliest residents of Columbia Township, was born Aug. 11, 1811, in the town of Lenox, Madison Co., N. Y.  His father, Aaron, was of Scotch descent and a native of New England.  Charles A. received his schooling in the town of Lenox, and there learned the woolen manufacturer's business. He came to Michigan in 1835, and located on a tract of 160 acres of Government land, on section 22, Columbia Township, in the present village of Jefferson.  In 1858 he purchased an interest in the water-power at that point, and commenced making woolen cloth, and spinning.  Owing to an unexpected lack of power to run his factory, he sold out, and the machinery was removed to Ann Arbor, Washtenaw Co.  Since that time Mr. Cary has devoted his time to farming.  He married Miss Caroline Hone, in 1836, daughter of Moses Hone, a resident of the town of Smithfield, Madison Co., N. Y.  They have 1 son, Byron, who assumes the responsibilities of the farm etc.  He married Miss Nancy White, daughter of Tenny White, a carpenter of Columbia Township, and they have 2 children —Charley and Addie L.

    Warren CASE, son of Morgan Case, a farmer of Napoleon, and a pioneer of the county, was born Nov. 3, 1832, in Napoleon Township, this county, where he received his early schooling, afterward finishing in Brooklyn village.  Mr. Case is a thrifty and industrious farmer, and owns one of the largest and best cultivated farms in this township.  It comprises 350 acres of land, is well stocked and has good buildings.  Nov. 4, 1859, he married Miss Delia Stout, daughter of John W. Stout, a farmer of Liberty Township.  He is a pioneer of this county, having settled in Liberty in 1833.  Mr. and Mrs. Case have 3 children—Ella, Emma and George.

    Asa CHARLES was born in Wyoming County, N. Y., Nov. 12, 1816, son of the next mentioned.  He lived at home until 1836, and then came West to Michigan, and settled in Columbia Township at the age of 20 years.  He is a man of thrift and industry, and has developed a handsome farm, which is kept well stocked and upon which stands a beautiful residence and good farm buildings.  Jan. 4, 1877, he married Mrs. Marinda (nee Foster) Quirk, widow of William Quirk.  Her father was David Foster, a farmer and pioneer of Napoleon Township, and they have 3 children—Charles, Rosey and Minnie.

    Bliss CHARLES was born in the State of Maine, in Oxford County, in the town of Fryburg, Jan. 29, 1815.  His father, Bliss Charles, was a farmer and a native of the Fine Tree State, from where he moved in the same year to Genesee County, N. Y., and purchased a farm in the town of Wethersfield, and here resided until he came to Michigan with his family in 1836.  He located on section 9, and bought 300 acres of land on which his son Asa now lives.  Bliss Charles, Jr., received his education in New York, and came to Michigan when 21 years of age.  He was married March 11, 1812, to Miss Marsha Marsh, daughter of Samuel T. Marsh, and sister of the late S. T. Marsh, a pioneer of this township.  She was born Feb. 14, 1822, in Onondaga County, N. Y., in the town of Pompey.  Her father was a tanner and shoemaker by trade.  They have 4 children —Thevenette W., Sylvester A., Lavant M. and Mary M.  The homestead now consists of 120 acres on section 10.

    Franklin CLARK was born in the township of Columbia, Aug. 19, 1841, a son of Archibald Clark, who was one of the earliest pioneers of this county.  He was a native of Clarence County, N. Y., and was a butcher and a drover.  Being possessed of a progressive spirit, became West in 1835, purchased 40 acres of  land of Geo. S. Stranahan, and located on the north side of Clark's lake.  His family consisted of 7 children—4 sons and 3 daughters.  Two of the family, however, died when they were young before Mr. Clark came to Michigan.  Franklin is the second son of the family, and received his schooling mostly at the Clark's lake district school-house, and was brought up a farmer.  Archibald was married to Miss Betsy, daughter of George S. Stranahan, then of Erie county, N. Y., in 1831.  She died in Columbia in 1852.  In July, 1861, Franklin enlisted in the 9th Mich. Inf., and commenced a five years' hazardous service for the preservation of the Union, in the war of the Rebellion.  In October of the same year his regiment was ordered to join the Army of the Cumberland in Kentucky, and soon entered battle at Bowling Green.  During his service he was engaged in several hot contests, and at the battle of Murfreesboro, received a wound in his left thigh, and was taken prisoner by the Confederate troops, and remained in their custody three months, when he was paroled, returned home, and was afterward exchanged, and soon returned to duty under Gen. Thomas, and from that time served on his General's staff until the close of his service.  March  25,  1866, he  married Miss Dorlisce Myers, daughter of Alexander Myers, of Columbia Township, now deceased, and they have 3 children—Hester, Betsey and Nevah.  He owns 88 acres on section 20.

    Joshua G. CLARKE, whose name as a tax-payer and a prominent settler appears on the roll among the first of the county, is one of the honored list of pioneers who justly deserve the title.  The trials and discouragements of a pioneer's life are such that only those who possess iron wills, strong constitutions and stout hearts can expect to win the laurels that justly fall to the subduers of the kings of the forest and soil of an unbroken wilderness.  Joshua G. Clarke was born April 24, 1820, in Cattaraugus County, in the town of Elliottville.  His father, Archibald, was a native of Maryland, a man of letters and acknowledged legal ability.  In early life he removed from Maryland to Erie County, N. Y., from which district he was sent to Congress, and upon the completion of his services in that capacity, was called to the Circuit Court Judgeship in his county.  Joshua devoted his early life to study in a district school and out-door pursuits, and after finishing his studies at Springville Seminary he adopted his chosen calling, that of a farmer.  In the spring of 1840 he came West and located on section 19, this township, 150 acres, on which land he commenced life in rather humble circumstances, and here he has lived, except seven years in which he lived in Jackson city during the Rebellion, and four years previous to 1873 he did a lumbering business in Kent County.  Oct. 6, 1842, he married Miss Nancy W. De Lamater, but in 1843 was called upon to mourn her loss.  He again married, next time Miss Hanna H. De Lamater, March 4,1845, and they have 1 son, Anson D., who married Miss Emma Bartlett, daughter of Seth W. Bartlett, of Brooklyn village, and they have 3 children—Sarah E., Anson W. and Mary J.

    Rev. Luther COOK, of Jefferson village, Columbia Township, was born Aug. 8, 1821, at Belleville, Jefferson Co., N. Y.  His father, Rev. Martin E. Cook, was a native of Shelburne Falls, Franklin Co., Mass., and a Baptist minister of some note in his locality, having served the cause for 26 years, and during that time baptized over 700 converts into the Church.  He was the father of 15 children, and was of the seventh generation from Plymouth Rock stock.  The eldest son of these seven generations bore the Christian name of Josiah, and these were all Deacons of a Baptist Church.  Luther Cook's great-grandfather, Josiah, lived to be 116 years of age, and his wife 112, and they lived together as man and wife for 87 years.  Luther's mother was Betsey Burge, descendant of Rev. Dr. Burge, who was a Scotchman, and the first Presbyterian minister of Boston, Mass.  Dr. Cook's boyhood was spent at Belleville, where he received his early schooling.  He commenced his academic course at the age of 15, in Dayton, Ohio, and completed it in Portage County.  He read medicine with Dr. Mordecai Morton, in Kent County, Ohio, and commenced practice in that county, at the age of 23.  In 1849 he came to Adrian, Mich., and in 1856 removed to South Jackson, where he assumed the pastorate of the South Jackson Baptist Church,  remaining there five years.  In 1861 he removed to Jefferson village, where he has since been a resident, and entered upon the duties of pastor of the Baptist Church at Kelley's Corners, dividing his attention between that Church and that at Clark's lake.  This arrangement continued eight years, when he resumed the practice of medicine, which he has since continued with unusual success.  He was married June 2, 1844, to Miss Hattie M. Osgood, daughter of Emory Osgood, a lawyer by profession.  Patriotic Puritan blood coursed freely in the veins of the Osgoods.  Mrs. Cook's Grandfather Osgood was captain in the American Revolution, and a brother, Major R. E. Osgood, served in the war of the Rebellion.  She was born at Henderson, Jefferson Co., N. Y., July 12, 1825.  They have had 1 son—Martin E., who lost his life by falling through the ice on Brown's lake at Michigan Center, on New Year's day, at the age of 15.  He was a young man of exemplary life and much esteemed by all who knew him.

    Chauncy M. CREGO was born Aug. 2, 1835, in Erie County, N. Y.  His father, Richard Crego, was a native of Herkimer County and emigrated to Michigan in 1835, and located 240 acres of land on section 11.  His family consisted of 8 sons and 1 daughter, of which Chauncy M. was the seventh.  He received his early schooling in Columbia Township, and finished at Leoni Seminary, Jackson Co., and afterward taught school in Lenawee County for several terms.  Dec. 14, 1861, he married Miss Jennie Conover, a daughter of Dennis Conover, a farmer of Steuben County, N. Y.  By this union they had 1 daughter, Nora, who died in 1864.  Mrs. Crego also died July 16, 1865.  In 1867 Mr. Crego again married, this time Miss Delia Wyman, daughter of Jonas Wyman, a farmer of Orleans County, N. Y., his native home.  He afterward came to Ingham County and settled near Lansing, where Delia was born.  He has since moved further west, and now resides in California.  Mr. Crego has 2 sons and 5 daughters—Dennis M., Walter L., Addie, May, Edith A., Maggie E., and Cora E.  He has 160 acres of land on section 14, all under improvements, with excellent buildings.

    Hon. Anson H. DeLAMATER—Probably there is not a man in Jackson County who has been more closely identified with the early history, growth and development of this, one of the best and most prolific counties in the Peninsular State, than Anson H. De Lamater.  Having come to Jackson County at a time when the prairies and forests were in their primeval state, he has had an experience that has justly earned him the venerable title of  pioneer.
    The genealogy of the De Lamater family is traceable as far back as the year 1656, to one Captain Isaac DeLamater, who belonged to the Huguenot sect and emigrated from Holland to America about that time, and settled in Ulster County, N. Y.  Further down the line of descendants, history tells of one John De Lamater, who was one of the fourth generation from Captain Isaac De Lamater, and he married Miss Maria Kipp, she being of the fifth generation of the descendants of the historical Anneke Jans, who was a conspicuous character in the days of the early settlement of New York City.  Anson H. De Lamater was born April 13, 1811, in the town of Pompey, Onondaga Co., N. Y.  His father, John De Lamater, was formerly a resident of Dutchess County, but moved from there to Pompey about the year 1800, where he married Miss Yoa Eaton Nov. 13,1803.  It was here that Anson received his early schooling, and afterward finished at Cazenovia Seminary.  He was at this time 16 years of age, and being possessed of an independent and enterprising spirit, sought his own support and engaged alternately in teaching and farming in Madison County, N. Y., until the spring of 1834, when he, with a cousin, Edward De Lamater, and their lamented friend and boyhood companion, Samuel T. Marsh, set out to seek their fame and fortunes in the then almost unbroken wilderness of the Territory of Michigan, the first objective point being Detroit.  From there they wended their way into the interior on foot, Indian file, following most of the time such tow-paths or Indian trails as seemed to lead to the fountain of perpetual youth and fortune, until they brought up on the north bank of Clark's lake.  Following around to the opposite shore, they drove their stakes, and the wisdom of their choice is verified by the fact that these three farms, located side by side, are not only first in history, but are among: the finest in point of location and quality of soil in the county.  Having acquired at Cazenovia something of the theory of engineering and surveying, his knowledge proved of practical use to himself and others in locating boundaries to their property, and in 1837 he was elected the first Surveyor of Jackson County, which responsible position he held for 12 successive years.  The duties of this office in those days were arduous and attended with much responsibility, and the accuracy and dispatch with, which this work was done is due to the ability, energy and public zeal of Mr. De Lamater.  His popularity as a citizen and official was demonstrated in 1842, when he was chosen to represent his district in the Michigan Legislature, which he did with much satisfaction to his constituency.  He was the first Supervisor of his township, and filled that position for several successive years; and as a proper recognition of his valuable services as a public official, a citizen and a pioneer, he was elected President of the Pioneer Society of Jackson County in 1880, and re-elected in 1881.  Mr. De Lamater has been twice married, his first union being with Miss Ann Alida Adams, of Lansingburg, N. Y., in 1831; nine years later she died.  In 1842 he married Miss Lydia A. Parmater, of Steuben County, N. Y.
    In personal appearance Mr. De Lamater is a little above the medium height, and stands erect.  His genial countenance bespeaks the force of character and the warm and passionate heart that has made him a friend to the friendless, a father to the fatherless, and a ready helper to the poor commandingly situated on the south bank of Clark's lake, and he lives in comparative retirement.  His portrait is on page 785.

    Jeremiah M. DUBOIS was born in Washtenaw County, in the town of Lodi, Aug. 28, 1833.  His father, Jacob Dubois, was a native of Seneca County, N. Y., and came to Michigan in 1824, and settled in Lodi, on Government land.  Here he remained 10 years, and then removed to Bridgewater, in 1834, and bought of the Government 240 acres.  He had 4 children—Rachel, Jeremiah, Margaret and Julia.  Jeremiah received his schooling in Bridgewater Township, and in 1857 married Mary Jane Hart, daughter of Reuben Hart, of Columbia Township, and they have 6 children—Lizzie, Delmar, Myra, Lucius, Clarence and Florence.  Mr. Dubois has one of the best farms in Columbia, which consists of 210 acres on section 33, and is kept well stocked and under a high state of cultivation.

    Daniel EVERY is a member of one of the oldest families of Columbia Township, his father, John Every, having come to Michigan in 1835.  Daniel was born in Columbia, Jan. 1, 1838.  He received his schooling in district No. 4, and soon developed into a man of much energy and good business principles.  Jan. 1, 1861, he married Miss Lucretia Wood, daughter of Milton Wood, a pioneer and a farmer of Napoleon Township, and there Mrs. Every was born, Jan. 4, 1843.  Mr. Wood's family consisted of 7 children—Abel, Lucretia, Frank, Percy, Alvina, Henry and Orville (deceased).  Mrs. Every's mother was Maria Randall, daughter of Benjamin Randall, a farmer and pioneer, who located and occupied Mr. Every's present home.  Mr. Wood died Feb. 1,1863, at the age of 52, and Mrs. Wood Dec. 19, 1878, and their remains are interred in Jefferson cemetery.  Mr. Every first settled on section 33, but traded for the Wood homestead, where he has lived for six years.  Their family consists of 6 children—Milton, Charles, Burt, Florence, Robert and Homer.

    Charles B. FISH was born in Marcellus, Onondaga Co., N. Y., Jan. 1, 1809.  His father, Joseph B. Fish, was an native of Connecticut, a farmer by occupation, and moved to Michigan and settled in Norvell Township in 1836.  He married Cynthia Barnes, and their family consisted of 6 sons and 6 daughters.  Charles B. was the first son, and received his schooling in Onondaga County, and Feb. 16, 1830, he married Miss Lurinda Bliss, and they have 5 children —Martha, Mary, Helen, Grace and John H.  His second marriage took place Feb. 16, 1849.  Joseph B. Fish was born in 1784, and died in Ionia County in 1862.  Mrs. Fish was born in 1786, and died in the same county in 1863.

    Vernon FRENCH was born in Bristol County, Mass., in the town of Berkley, May 2, 1810.  He received at the home of his youth a common-school education, and when a young man learned the carpenter's trade, at which he served three and one-half years' apprenticeship.  He came to Michigan in 1839, landing at Detroit, and then pursued his way westward via the Chicago turnpike, and settled in section 30, this township, where he developed a productive farm.  He married Bathsheba Hathaway, daughter of Joseph Hathaway, of Fall River, Mass., where Mr. French learned his trade.  They have had 8 children, 6 of whom are living: Caroline, now Mrs. George Stacy, a harness-maker of Brooklyn; Belva Ann, now Mrs. Thomas Murray, a molder by trade, of Three Rivers; Cyrus V., George B. and Richmond W.  Mr. and Mrs. French have 12 grandchildren and 1 great-grandchild.

    John J. FRIEDRICH (deceased) was born Aug. 18, 1826, at Lahr, in Baden, Germany.  His father, John Friedrich, was a stonecutter by trade, who died in Germany at the age of 48, leaving a family of 1 son and 4 daughters.  John J. was the second born of the family, and the only one who came to America.  He emigrated in 1853.  He was raised a farmer and soon found ready employment on Long Island farms, and afterward came to Buffalo, thence to Michigan, and worked several farms of Columbia Township,  until 860, when he purchased 100 acres of land  in  section 14.  Oct. 13, 1861, he married Miss Barbara Fender, daughter of George Fender, of Baden, Germany.  She came to America the year of her marriage, leaving her parents in the old country.  She died in 1878, leaving a family of 8 motherless children, viz.: Sophia M., Anna B., George J., Jennie D., Ludwich P., Emma R., Flora R. and Frederick W.  Mr. Friedrich again married, Nov. 27, 1879, Christiana Holloch, widow of John Holloch, of Germany, by whom she had 3 children—Albert, Bertha and Frederick.  Mrs. Friedrich's maiden name was Christiana Harer, daughter of John L. Harer, of Wittemberg, Germany, and she came to America in 1871.

    Shubeal A. FULLER, of Columbia Township, was born in Macedon, Wayne Co., N. Y.  His father, John Fuller, was a farmer in Massachusetts, where his parents settled in 1787, when he was but six months old, and here he was reared and educated.  He was born July 14, 1788.  He made his own way in the world and afterward settled in Wayne County, N. Y., where Shubeal was born, June 15, 1819.  Mr. Fuller's grandfather was a shoemaker by trade, and a native of New Hampshire.  At the age of 30 he moved to Massachusetts, where he followed his trade and farming.  He was a man of much intelligence, a loyal citizen, and during the war of the Revolution was a valiant soldier, and took part in some of the hottest battles of that notable conflict.  He died in Monroe County, N. Y., at the age of 63.  John Fuller, Jr., was the father of 14 children—9 sons and 5 daughters.  All are living but 4 sons and 2 daughters.  He came to Michigan in 1837, first settling in the town of Madison, Lenawee Co., where Shubeal received his education, after which he purchased the homestead which he occupied three years.  He next engaged as traveling salesman for Needham & Co., publishers, of Buffalo, and afterward settled on his present premises in Columbia Township, one-half mile south, of Brooklyn village, in 1876.  Dec. 24, 1851, he married Miss Martha A. Sanborn, daughter of Abram Sanborn,  of  Hanover Township, this county, and later of Montcalm County, where he died Jan. 5, 1872.  Her mother's maiden name was Sarah Dearborn, daughter of Josiah Dearborn, a farmer.  Mrs. Fuller was born March 30, 1832.  They have 3 children—Nellie M., John A. and Lizzie.

    Lebeus GARDNER, of Brooklyn village, was born in Suffolk County, Mass., town of Hingham, Oct. 31, 1829.  His father, Cushing Gardner, was a cooper by trade, who also devoted a part of his life to farming pursuits.  He was a New Englander by birth, and a direct descendant from "May Flower" stock.  Cushing Gardner's family consisted of 13 children, and Lebeus was the 11th.  He received his education at the village school, and at 14 years of age commenced serving an apprenticeship as shoemaker, which he finished in three years.  He came West in 1850, and settled first in Kalamazoo, where he remained only six mouths, when he came to Jackson and became overseer in the boot and shoe manufacturing department of the Michigan State's Prison one year, and then commenced business for himself at Brooklyn, where he has since remained, doing a thriving business in the manufacturing line.
He married, Jan. 1, 1851, Miss Lucy A. Hunt, daughter of Josiah Hunt, of Braintree, Mass.  Mr. Gardner's mother was Deborah Hathaway, daughter of Joshua Hathaway, and was born at Plymouth, Mass., June 17, 1791.  He has 3 children living— Mary, Isa and Bertha.  Carrie and Hattie are deceased.

    George W. GREENE, of Brooklyn village, is one of its most enterprising and reliable manufacturers.  He is the son of Nathaniel S. Greene, a native of Northfield, Vt., who came to Michigan in 1834, and settled at Clinton, Lenawee Co., where George W. was born March 14, 1838.  Nathaniel S. Greene was a weaver and cloth-dresser by trade, but has made farming his business since he came to Michigan.  George W. received his early education at Clinton, and afterward graduated at Ypsilanti Seminary under Prof. Estabrook.  He afterward learned the machinist's trade at Tecumseh, and followed the business until 1868, when he came to Brooklyn and bought the foundry and machine shop of G. H. Felt and entered business for himself.  This institution is located on Marshall street and occupies one acre of ground.  The main building is 40x90 feet in size, two stories in height, and constructed of wood.  The rear is occupied by engine and boiler and moulding rooms.  In the front on first floor are located lathes, drills and other iron-working machinery.  The second floor is used for wood-working and finishing rooms.  The machinery receives its propelling power from a 25-horse-power engine.  Mr. Greene manufactures agricultural implements, including straw-cutters, plows, cultivators, windmills, and does a general repairing business, employing nine men.  Mr. Greene was married Oct. 25,1860, to Miss Mary E. Townsend, daughter of Joseph Townsend, a respected citizen and a pioneer of this township, and they have 4 children—George E., Charles T., Leon S. and Clark.

    Joseph M. GRISWOLD, of the village of Brooklyn, is one of its citizens who has for many years devoted much of his time to the public good.  Having come into the State at a time when the country had a place and a service for men of public spirit and ability, Mr. Griswold's life naturally drifted into a public channel.  He was born March 28, 1828, at Fabius, Onondaga Co., N. Y.  His father, the lamented Rev. Horace Griswold, was a Baptist clergyman by profession, and he is well remembered by most of the pioneers of this section as the second pastor of the First Baptist Church of Brooklyn, then Swainsville, in the years 1835-'7.  Upon coining into this wilderness in the first named year he located 360 acres of land on sections 18, 19 and 35, but died in the second year of his residence here, leaving a large family and circle of friends to mourn his departure.  He was succeeded in the pastorate of his church by Rev. Samuel Fulton, whose son, Rev. Justin D. Fulton, the present noted Baptist divine of New York city, was a school-mate of Joseph's, at Brooklyn, in 1837-'8.  After mastering a full course of study at home, Mr. Griswold completed a course at Hamilton Academy, and then entered the employ of the publishing-house of the Madison Observer, at Forestville, N. Y.  In 1846 he returned to Michigan and entered farming on his late father's homestead, where he gained his first actual business experience.  In 1854 he purchased an interest in the Jackson Patriot, and occupied its editorial chair two years, and in 1856 assumed charge of the Michigan State Journal at Lansing, having purchased a half-interest in the same.  This arrangement continued until 1858, when he purchased his partner's interest and continued two years more.  In 1858 he was appointed Postmaster of Lansing, and served until 1861.  At the breaking out of the Rebellion newspaper ability was in great demand, and Mr. Griswold's services were secured as war correspondent of the Chicago Times, and in that capacity accompanied Gen. Grant from Shiloh to Vicksburg.  He served the Times until 1866, when he was called to the editorial staff of the Detroit Free Press during 1866-'7.  Having experienced several years of exciting public life, he retired to the home of his boyhood until 1870, which year was entirely devoted to securing subscriptions to the stock and right of way through Columbia Township of the Detroit, Hillsdale & Southwestern railroad, and by contract built that portion of the road lying in Norvell and Columbia townships to Brooklyn village, since which time he has lived in comparative retirement at his home in Brooklyn.  In 1879 he was elected Supervisor of Columbia Township, re-elected in 1880, and in 1881 was returned by an overwhelming majority, running far ahead of his ticket, which is a satisfactory index to his popularity, both as a citizen and an official.
He was married in 1855 to Miss Eunice Worden, daughter of Thomas F. Worden (deceased), who was a farmer and pioneer of Columbia Township, and they have 1 daughter—Florence J.

    Cornelius HASBROUCK is another one of the farmers of Columbia Township whose father has seen early days in Michigan, and can properly claim the venerable name of pioneer, and can tell from actual experience its meaning. The farm upon which Cornelius now lives was taken up by his grandfather, Cornelius Dubois, in 1834, who migrated from Ulster County, N. Y.,as did his father. Cornelius, being only three years of age when the family came West, received his education in Columbia Township, attending at Jefferson village, and grew up a full-fledged farmer. Nov. 3, 1855, he married Cornelia Dingee, daughter of Jeremiah Dingee, a farmer of Ulster County, and they have 4 children—John H., Katie, Luther and Jessie.

    Alden HEWITT, one of the oldest and highly respected citizens of Brooklyn village, was born Aug. 15, 1806, in Palatine, Livingston Co., N. Y.  Thomas Hewitt (deceased) was the father of Alden, and was one of the three brothers who emigrated from England to America when boys and settled in New London, Conn., where they remained until that town was burned by the British in Revolutionary times.  Thomas then moved westward, and at the time of his death was living in the township of Lenox, Madison Co., N. Y.  Alden was the third son.  He attended school at Palatine and received a common-school education.  His business experience was gained on a farm, and farming was adopted as the chosen calling of his life.  He came to Michigan in 1835 and settled on Government land, on section 21, this township (then Napoleon), and secured 240 acres.  In 1830 he married Julia Carey, of Madison County, N. Y., who died in 1851, leaving 7 children to mourn her loss.  Five of this number are still living, viz.: Aurelia, now wife of C. S. Pratt, of Jackson city; Julietta, now Mrs. N. H. King, of Jackson; Caroline, now Mrs. J. B. Stoutenburgh, of Detroit; Kate, now Mrs. D. C. De Lamater, of Jackson, and Frederick, a resident of Kansas.  Mr. Hewitt married as a second wife Miss Huldah R. Howe, daughter of Jones Howe (deceased), then a resident of Poyalton, Fulton Co., Ohio, March 19,1852.  They have 4 children living— Fremont, living in Adrian, this State; Charles, living in Kansas; Corey and Grace, at home.  Mr. H. has been an ambitious, active and public-spirited citizen, and in early days was the organizer and leader in the State militia, having risen through the official grades from a private to that of a Colonel.  He now owns a 215-acre farm on section 27, Columbia Township, 114 acres in Brooklyn village.  Mr. and Mrs. H. are members of the Baptist Church, of longstanding. 

    Byron W. HILL, one of the enterprising farmers of Columbia Township, was born Nov. 20, 1834, in the town of Ogden, Genesee Co., N. Y., where he lived until he came to Michigan, in 1858, and settled on his present place, which his father, Benedict, had located in 1836, after which he returned home and suddenly died the same year.  Elisha, Byron's grandfather, was a general business man and a mill-owner of Steuben County, N. Y.  Benedict Hill was a blacksmith by trade, which he pursued most of his life.  The farm consists of 120 acres, on  section 18,  and  originally cost $1.50 an acre.  Mr. Hill married Miss Mary E. Reed, daughter of James Reed, of this township, and they have 2 children—Bertha, born June 21,1867; Reedy, born Dec. 14, 1878.

    Jonathan P. HINSHAW was born in Randolph County, N. C, July 27, 1820, son of Jesse and Eunice (Guilford) Hinshaw.  Mrs. H. was a daughter of Col. Guilford, of Guilford County, N. C.  Jonathan received his education in the common schools of Guilford County, and finished in a Quaker school of that locality, after which he pursued farming for several years.  He afterward entered the jewelry trade for eight years, during a portion of which time he engaged in dentistry.  In 1861 he enlisted in the 6th Indiana Infantry, and was made Orderly Sergeant, serving two years in the regulars, and was engaged in the battles of Pittsburg Landing and siege of Corinth, after which he was detailed to care for sick and wounded soldiers, and later transferred to the secret detective service for some months, and discharged in 1865.  He then returned to Brooklyn, where he has since been engaged in dentistry.  He has been twice married: in 1840 to Miss Jane Caltram, and they had 2 children— Mary L. and Elmira.  His second marriage was to Mrs. Mary M. Rounds, and they have 1 child living— Maggie.

    G. HITT was born in Delaware County, N. Y., at Coal Center, Sept. 14, 1832.  His father, Ephraim F. Hitt, a farmer and a pioneer, was a soldier of the war of 1812, and his grandfather was a Revolutionary soldier, and for a time served as an Orderly for General Washington.  He was afterward appointed carrier of Government mail.  Ephraim F. Hitt, in 1835, moved from Delaware County to Jackson County, and purchased of George Stranahan 50 acres of land on section 17, to which has been added 220 acres.  Mr. Hitt received his education in the common schools of Delaware County, and was married Oct. 6, 1858, to Miss E. M. Aulls, daughter of Wm. H. Aulls, a farmer of Bridgewater Township, Washtenaw County.  They have 3 children—2 sons, Elmer G. and Frank R., and a daughter, Mary E.  Mr. Hitt's farm comprises 270 acres of fine tillable soil, upon which is situated one of the finest farm houses in Jackson County.  Of most loyal blood were his ancestors and he is in every essential a Union man, and is industrious and frugal.

    Philip S. HOWLAND was born in Tompkins County. N. Y., in the town of Ithaca, Aug. 11, 1824.  His father, Jabez, was a farmer of Tompkins County, and died in 1830 when Philip was a small boy.  It was at Ithaca that Philip received his early school training.  They remained on the farm until 1837, when they sold out and came to Michigan.  The family at this time consisted of the mother, Philip, Luthern and Mehitabel, and they settled in the town of Tecumseh on a farm, the boys having become old enough to assume responsible charge of the same.  At Tecumseh Philip married, Oct. 17,1858, Miss Catharine Vest, daughter of Eli Vest, of Tecumseh, and a mason by trade.  He was a native of Seneca County, N. Y., and was born in 1808.  He died at Tecumseh in 1855, at the age of 47.  In 1877 Philip moved to Jackson County, and settled in the town of Norvell, and 1879 removed to Columbia Township, and permanently settled on his present place, which consists of 80 acres on section 20.  Mrs. Howland was born in Tecumseh, Sept. 12, 1840.  Her mother, nee Eliza Wood, was a daughter of Barnabas Wood, a native of New England.  She is still alive and resides at Clinton, Lenawee Co.  They have 7 children—Avorice E., Jabez, Mary Bell, Grace, Philip, Hillard and Benjamin Alonzo.

    A. C. IDE was born March 14,1813, at Cambridge, Washington Co., N. Y.  His father, Timothy Ide, was a farmer and a native of the Green Mountain State.  His mother was of Irish parentage, but American born.  They moved from Washington County to Stafford, Onondaga Co., and from there to Michigan in 1838 and first settled in Ypsilanti.  In 1839 they came to Manchester and farmed it there.  In 1841 came to Jackson County and purchased 56 acres of A. B. Whiton.  This farm is finely located, adjoining Brooklyn on the east.  In 1842 he married Miss Henrietta Palmer, daughter of Capt. Stephen N. Palmer, and they had 3 children: H. G. Ide, the eldest, was born Aug. 11, 1853, and is now a graduate of the homeopathic college of Detroit, practicing with much success at Memphis, Macomb Co., this State; Etta K. was born July 11, 1856; at 21 years of age she married F. C. St. John, then living in Brooklyn, now residing in Kansas; Clarence A., deceased.  Mrs. Henrietta Ide died March 8, 1861, at the age of 36.  Mr. Ide again married, this time Sarah Bartlett, daughter of S. Wright Bartlett, of Brooklyn village, Sept. 24, 1862.

    Andrew G. IRWIN, of Brooklyn village, was born in the north of Ireland, Dec. 27, 1790.  His father's name was Robert Irwin, and was a farmer by occupation.  He came to America with his family in 1828, and settled at Bath, Steuben Co., N. Y., where he pursued his calling.  Andrew's advent to America preceded that of his father by about five years.  He also located in Bath, where he remained until 1841.  For a time after his arrival he followed farming by the month, and afterward acted as salesman in retail mercantile houses of that locality for a considerable time, until he was able to purchase a stock for himself, when he commenced peddling goods through the country, until 1837.  He was possessed of an ambitious spirit, which prompted the turning of his path westward, and in the fall of this year landed himself in Manchester, Washtenaw Co., where he bought 240 acres of the virgin soil of Washtenaw County at Manchester.  He was prospered in business, and in 1841 he sold this place and removed to Columbia Township and invested in 50 acres of land adjoining the village of Brooklyn, which has since in part been added to the village plat, and of which he still owns 35 acres.  Mr. Irwin married Miss Harriet Blood, daughter of Asa Blood, of Bath, N. Y.. in 1829.  They have no children of their own, but have furnished home and schooling to 10 homeless and destitute children.  Mr. and Mrs. Irwin have been members of the Presbyterian Church since 1838, and Mr. Irwin has been Ruling Elder in the same church for 37 years past.
 
    Daniel S. JOHNSON, of Columbia Township, was born June 3, 1814, at New Paltz, Ulster Co., N. Y.  His father was John Johnson, who was a farmer and mill-owner at New Paltz.  He was a native of New Jersey, was an Anti-Mason and a politician of strong Republican principles. He was also a professional surveyor and engineer, and at one time was appointed Acting State Surveyor of New York.  In 1812 he married Miss Jane Conklin, and they had 9 children.  Daniel lived at home until 1844, when he came West and settled in Columbia Township, on section 22, and bought 153 acres of B. Dubois.  This property was taken from the Government by Jonathan Gilbert.  Mr. Johnson has 2 sisters, who came to Michigan with him, Susan and Elizabeth, who are members and managers of his household, as he is still a single man.

    Dr. L. M. JONES, Brooklyn, whose name is familiar to many citizens of Jackson County, is a member of one of the oldest families in this State.  His father, Beniah Jones, came to Michigan in 1828, and located 220 acres of land in Hillsdale County, on which is situated the present village of Jonesville, he being the founder, and for many years its most active and influential citizen.  Here he erected at the time a large hotel, which he conducted as the Fayette House.  This was the first frame building in Hillsdale County.  He also developed a large farm adjoining the village.  To these two enterprises he devoted his entire time until about 1834.  Having greatly failed in health on account of the responsibilities of his business, he closed out his interests there and went to San Antonio, Texas, and engaged in the mercantile business until 1839, and in that year opened a plantation, in which business he continued until his death in 1863.  He married Miss Lois Olds, daughter of Daniel Olds, of Painesville, Ohio, who was a soldier of the Revolution under George Washington, and followed him through that great and notable conflict.
    The Jones family consisted of 7 sons and 1 daughter, Leonidas M. being the 3d, and was born Aug. 24, 1822, at Painesville, Ohio.  He received his early education at Jonesville, and afterward attended the Western Homeopathic College, of Cleveland, Ohio, where he graduated in 1858, and immediately commenced practice at Camden, Hillsdale Co., and in July, 1860, opened his present office in Brooklyn.  Of the extent and success of Dr. Jones's practice, little needs here to be stated, as his popularity among his numerous patrons is a satisfactory index.  He was married July 3, 1845, to Miss Charlotte A., daughter of Jonas Holcomb, a farmer, and a pioneer of Camden Township.  They have 1 son and 1 daughter living—Oliver Q., a physician of Hanover, this county, and Ella M., now Mrs. Dr. R. V. House, of Tecumseh.  The reader will find a portrait of Dr. Jones no page 803 of this volume.

    John LADD, of Columbia Township, one of the pioneers, and a highly respected citizen of Jackson County, was born Feb. 23, 1808, at Windham, Windham Co., Conn.  His father was John Ladd, a farmer and a native also of Windham County.  The Ladd family are descendants from pure English stock.  In 1814 Mr. Ladd's father emigrated from Connecticut to Oswego County, N. Y., where they remained five years, and in 1819 they removed to Oneida County, where the father and mother both spent the remaining years of their lives.
Mr. Ladd, after coming to Michigan, first settled in the town of Norvell (then Napoleon), where he remained 23 years, and then removed to his present home on section 20, where he owns 320 acres of improved land and 70 acres of timber.  In 1836 Mr. Ladd married Miss Frances Stevens, daughter of a farmer of Williamstown, Connecticut.  Mrs. Ladd died in 1810, leaving 1 daughter, Sarah, now Mrs. N. H. Barnes, of Brooklyn.  In 1844 he again married, this time Maria Lewis, daughter of John R. Lewis, a farmer of Connecticut.  Maria Ladd died, leaving 2 children, John R. and Fredric Etta.  He again married, in 1853, Miss Sarah Cults, daughter of Samuel Cults, a farmer of Pennsylvania, who came to Michigan in 1835, and settled in Napoleon.  Sarah Cults Ladd has 4 children—Effie M., now wife of George A. Garry, a lawyer of Grand Rapids, Mich., Sumner R., Inez and Frank L.

    Wm. C. LOVE, one of the pioneers of Columbia Township, was born Jan. 23, 1813, at Hartford, Washington Co., N. Y.  His father, Calvin, was a native of the Empire State, and was a son of John Love, who was a farmer of Cayuga County, N. Y., and a Green Mountain boy.  Wm. C. received his education in Erie County, N. Y., and came to Michigan with his father in 1830, who located 160 acres of land in section 13, where he lived until his death, in 1842.  He was a man of temperate habits, generous and noble impulses, and a loyal and public-spirited citizen.  W. C. located for himself 60 acres adjoining his father's on the west, to which he has added and which he has much improved until his farm property comprises 213 acres, mostly tillable and productive.  April 13, 1834, he married Miss Mary Boyers, daughter of John Boyers, a farmer of Erie County, N. Y.  Five children have been born in this family: Helen H., now wife of Judson Freeman, is the only one now living.  The names of the deceased are Olive, George, Julia M., and John G, who served his country as one of the noble boys in blue, and returned home after three years of steady and valiant service, after which he married Miss Hattie M. Grosvenor, of Norvell Township, and settled on a farm on section 12.  He died May 9, 1877, leaving a, family of 6 children—George F., Tracy, Lyman, Mary, Laura and Carrie.  Mr. Love is a man of sterling qualities, and a character beyond reproach or comment.  Mrs. Love was born July 25, 1815, in Erie County, N. Y.  Mr. John Boyers, her father, was a man of property and of public spirit. He was a soldier, and the Captain of his company in the war of 1812.

    Amasa W. MARSH, was born in the town of Pompey, Onondaga Co., N. Y., Oct. 17, 1816.  His father, Samuel T. Marsh, was a tanner and currier by trade.  He settled in the town of Pompey when a young man, where he lived until his death, which occurred in 1829.  Amasa then left home to live with an uncle, Philo Peck, in Van Buren Township, same county, and there he spent his boyhood and youth, at times attending school.  He came to Michigan and settled on his present property in 1839, his brother, Samuel T., having preceded him in 1834, and his mother and sister Martha coming in two years later, in 1837.  Mr. Marsh has been twice married.  His first wife, nee Lydia Lindsley, died Jan. 26, 1851, leaving 2 sons—Clifton and Homer.  June 8, 1854, he again married, this time, Miss Eliza Totten, daughter of Samuel Totten, a farmer of Tecumseh, Lenawee Co.  Mr. Totten was a native of Albany County, N. Y.  The American branch of the Totten family originated in England, 4 brothers having come to America before the American Revolution.  Samuel Totten's family consisted of 8 children—Amos J., Philip, Henry, William, Eliza A., George, Juliette and Charles.  Mr. and Mrs. Marsh have 4 children— Laverne, Hortense, Florence and William.  Hortense is now Mrs. Fred Fork, of Liberty.
The lamented Samuel T. Marsh, whose death Dec. 12,1880,citizens of this county were suffered to mourn, was one of the fathers of Jackson County, having come into Columbia in the year 1834, at the same time with his fellow townsman, Anson H. De Lamater.  He was born April 5, 1812, in the village of Oran, Onondaga Co., N. Y.  His father, also Samuel T. Marsh, was a pioneer of Onondaga County, and a prosperous tanner by trade.  He was of New England nativity and had a genuine Yankee parentage.  Samuel T., Jr., had the advantages of a common-school education, which he improved in his boyhood, and afterward a course of study at Cazenovia Seminary.  At the age of 15 he acquired the tanner's trade of his father, who died in 1827.  During the next seven years he worked at his trade, and in the spring of 1834 he came to Michigan and settled on section 20, this township, where the results of his life's work can be appreciated only when looked upon.  The Marsh homestead consists of 160 acres of rolling, finely subdued and productive soil, on section 20, fronting the south shore of Clark's lake.  Samuel T. Marsh and Miss Jane De Lamater were married Sept. 17, 1835, and have 1 daughter, Mary Jane, who is now Mrs. Uriah H. Gates, of Litchfield, this State.
Mr. Marsh was a public-spirited citizen, and a man with a full heart and open hand for any and every good work.

    John B. MARTIN, one of the substantial and well-to-do citizens of Brooklyn was born April 14, 1837, in the town of Fayette, Hillsdale Co., this State.  His father, Isaac G. Martin, was a millwright by trade, and that was the occupation of his life.  Isaac was the son of a cloth dresser, John Martin, an Englishman, and came to America in 1822, at the age of 19.  He died in the town of Allyn, Hillsdale Co., Nov. 26,1864, at the age of 61.  He married Miss Mary Goforth, daughter of Richard Goforth, a carpenter who emigrated from England to America in 1821.  She was born May 26, 1809.  They had 3 children—Emeline, now wife of George Knapp, a farmer of Branch County, this State; John B., and William, a resident of Quincy, Mich.  John B. married Miss Lucinda Smith, daughter of Robert Smith, a farmer of Hanover Township, and they have 2 children—Charles B., born Aug. 7, 1864, and B. Franklin, born June 28, 1879.  Mrs. Martin was born Dec. 14, 1843.

    Reuben MATHIS, son of Henry, who was a son of William, was born Oct. 15, 1835, in the town of York Haven, York Co., Penn.  His father was a net-maker and his grandfather was a livery man and a farmer, in Pennsylvania.  Reuben received his education in Northumberland , Penn., where he learned the blacksmith's and carriage-maker's trades, which at intervals he followed until 1861, when he enlisted in the 3d Mich. Cav., in Co. K., and served three years in defense of the stars and stripes, after which he re-enlisted and served 18 months more, making four and a half years of constant service for his country, when he received his discharge at San Antonio, Texas. Aug. 14, 1867, he married Miss Laura Taylor, daughter of Eli Taylor, a farmer of Rome, Lenawee Co., a native of Westchester County, N. Y., and they have 4 children: Nettie May. Albert C, Levi J. and Willis B.

    Daniel MYRES was born in the town of Hiram, Portage Co., Ohio, June 15, 1834.  His father, Daniel Myres, was a former resident of New York, but moved to Ohio, where he followed his calling, that of a distiller, and came to Michigan in 1836, and settled in Lenawee County, Cambridge Township, where he died in 1844.  He was the father of 11 children, 5 sons and 6 daughters.  Daniel was the fourth son.  He received his schooling at Cambridge, where he lived until he moved to Jackson County, in 1874, where he purchased 40 acres of land of the De Shay estate.  Oct. 28, 1875, he married Miss Laura H. Shores, daughter of Jonathan, a farmer of Coles County, Ill., formerly of Brooklyn, in this township, where she was born Sept. 22, 1859.  They have 2 children—Lillie Adell and Alma Gale.  Mrs. Myres' ancestry were of Scotch descent, and parents were natives of New Jersey.  Her father died in Huron County, at the age of 76.

    Lewis L. NASH was born in Bowerstown, Otsego Co., N. Y., May 2, 1809.  His father, Moses Nash, was a farmer, and a resident of Milford, Otsego Co., but moved to the Holland purchase in 1810.  His family consisted of 11 children, 8 daughters and 3 sons.  Lewis was the eldest of the children, and received his schooling mostly at Newstead, where he lived 39 years, when he came West, but to return upon the sad event of his father's death.  He remained there about 17 years.  April 9, 1834, he married Grace Gardner, daughter of William Gardner, an old soldier of the war of 1812.  He was a farmer, and a native of Otsego CountyCounty, and of the town of Elizabeth.  They have had 10 children, 6 sons and 4 daughters.  Alphonzo, Delia J., Olilla and Diadema are still living.  Mr. Nash owns 40 acres on section 11.  He is advanced in years, and is known as a man of honest poses, steady, frugal, and a law-abiding citizen.

    Dr. Emmet N. PALMER, of Brooklyn, was born June 9, 1840, in Bridgewater Township, Washtenaw County, this State, and is a son of Col. D. W. Palmer, an attorney at law, and a farmer of Bridgewater.  He is held in high esteem by his fellow citizens, and has for several years been elected to the Clerkship of his town, and the office of Justice of the Peace.  Emmet N. received his early education at home, and finished with an academic course under Prof. Estabrook, of Ypsilanti.  He afterward graduated at the medical department of the Michigan University, in class of 1869, and commenced practice in Manchester, Washtenaw Co., the same year, where he continued until 1872.  In 1869 he was appointed surgeon of the Michigan Southern Railroad Company, in which capacity he served three years, and afterward occupied a similar position with the Detroit, Hillsdale & Southwestern Company.  In March, 1872, he engaged in the drug business in Brooklyn, where he continued three years, and then sold out to Woodward & Dresser, and has since devoted his time to the practice of his profession.  During his residence in Brooklyn he has held a position on the school Board of Village Trustees, nine in number, and served one year as member of the village Common Council.  Aug. 21, 1870, he married Miss Nettie L. Williams, daughter of Frederick Williams, a farmer of Washtenaw County, and they have 1 son, now nine years of age.
Mr. Palmer's office is at Dresser's drug store.

    Oscar B. PALMER was born in the town of Bridgewater, Oneida Co., N. Y., April 12, 1835.  His father, Jonathan K. Palmer, was one of the earliest settlers of Columbia Township, having located on Clark's lake in 1835.  He, however, soon removed to section 34, where he developed a good farm and raised a family of sons— Alonzo E., Oscar B., Albert P.  The family are of New England parentage.  Mrs. Jonathan Palmer was Miss Huldah Randall, a daughter of Benjamin Randall, a pioneer of this township.  Oscar Palmer was married Oct. 21, 1866, to Miss Mary M. Wright, daughter of Ira Wright, of Oneida County, N. Y.  He was a farmer and a native of England.  They have 5 children—Luman F., Alice L., William E., Edward L., Luther E.  Mrs. Palmer was born July 6, 1845.

    Stephen N. PALMER was born in the town of Lenox, Madison Co., N. Y., Feb. 7, 1816.  His father, Joshua G. Palmer, was a farmer, and one of the early settlers of Madison County.  He was a native of Connecticut, and when a young man moved to Madison County, and settled at Brookfield.  He was a mechanic by trade, but turned his attention to farming.  He married Miss Esther Randall, sister of Elder Joseph Randall, a native Baptist divine of that section.  Stephen N. came to Jackson County in 1845, and located on section 7, this township, then Napoleon.  This property was purchased from second hands by his father, and at that time consisted of 160 acres, to which Mr. Palmer has, from time to time, added, until now he owns 360 acres, which is mostly under improvement, well fenced, and upon which he has erected first-class farm buildings, including a spacious and modern farm dwelling.  Mr. Palmer received his schooling at Lenox, and in 1838 married Miss Rebecca A. Farley, daughter of Abiah Farley, a laborer of that section.  They have had 5 children—Joshua G., Helen L., wife of George Luce; Maria, wife of Edgar N. Randall, of Bridgewater; Mary, now Mrs. Austin Miller; and Alonzo D., the eldest, who lay down his life for his country in the war of the Rebellion.  He enlisted in the 7th Mich. Inf., Co. B, in 1861, and fought in the battles of Fair Oaks and Williamsburg, passed through the campaign of Chickahominy and Yorktown, and fell at the battle of Antietam.  He, with four others of his comrades, who lost their lives in this, one of the severest battles of the war, were buried on the battle-field, and their remains were brought home by Mr. Stephen N., who, with much difficulty, made the journey to the scene of their death in person.  Alonzo Palmer was a brave soldier, and the account of the imposing burial services of these four young martyrs, that appears in the sketch of Columbia Township, was a just tribute to the departed heroes.
Mr. and Mrs. Palmer are members of the First Baptist Church of Napoleon, of long standing.

    Warren, R. PALMER was born March 4, 1833, at Sodus, Wayne Co., N. Y., and is a son of Reuben Palmer, a shoemaker of Jackson city.  He has also made farming a business, but is now retired.  He married Miss Alvina Munson, who died Feb. 5, 1880, at 80 years of age.  Mr. Palmer came from New York to Jackson County in 1853, with his family of 4 children, and settled on a farm in Leoni Township, which he has since sold.  Warren R. is a tinner by trade, having learned the business in New York, and first worked in Jackson city, afterward Eaton Rapids, and in Lansing.  In 1870 he purchased a farm on section 27, Columbia Township, where he now lives. He married, Oct. 24, 1857, Miss Mary Ann, daughter of J. M. Coykendall, a farmer of Leoni.  Mr. C. was a native of Genesee County, N. Y., and a son of Joel Coykendall, a brewer, and he brought with him to the West a family of 5 children.  Mr. and Mrs. Palmer have 3 daughters—Stella, Delia and Blanche.

    William S. PALMER, one of the pioneers of Jackson County, came to this State in 1853, from Madison County, N. Y., town of Lenox.  He was born in Connecticut, Sept. 28, 1802, and his parents were of New England ancestry.  He received at his house an early common-school education, and finished in Madison County, when he came to Michigan and settled on his present farm on section 13, of 83 acres, which he purchased of Daniel Welch.  He married Miss Priscilla Palmer, daughter of Stephen W. Palmer, of Madison County, N. Y., Aug. 26, 1824, and they have 1 son, Austin S., who lives on the homestead.  He was born June 15, 1832, in Madison County, N. Y.  He married Miss Carrie, daughter of Peter Betsinger, of Lenox, a farmer of that vicinity.    They have no children of their own, but an adopted daughter, Ida C. Palmer, formerly Ida C. Betsinger.  She was born Sept. 15, 1870.  Mr. Palmer is a member of the Presbyterian Church, of Brooklyn, and of Brooklyn Masonic Lodge,   No. 169.

    Theodore H. PARKER, one of the respected citizens of Columbia Township, was born at Schroeppell, Oswego Co., N. Y., March 31, 1833.  His father was Hiram Parker, a farmer of Oswego County, whose family consisted of 2 sons, Theodore H. and Edward H., and 1 daughter, Minerva, now Mrs. Wm, Bishop, residents of Ionia.  Theodore H. received his early education at Schroeppell, finishing at Fulton Seminary, about 1852, at the age of 19.  He then made a trip to the far West, to California and Nevada.  The Parker family being of a mechanical turn of mind, Theodore H. took up readily and acquired the use of tools, and made the use of them a considerable source of revenue to himself while on his Western trip, and also devoted a portion of his time to mining.  He remained in the West three years and then returned to Onondaga County, where he remained until 1869, when he came to Michigan and settled on sections 19 and 20, 198 acres, mostly improved.  This property was taken from the Government by Mr. David Howland, in 1838.  Mr. Parker was married to Miss Eliza M., daughter of Asa Barnes, a farmer of New York, but formerly from New England, Jan 12,1860, and they have 6 children living, the eldest having died at the age of 14 years, July 5, 1878.  The remaining 5 are Hattie J., Mary E., Edward B., William T. and Albert E.

    Mrs. O. S. PETERSON—The family of which Mrs. O. S. Peterson, of Columbia Township, is a member was one of the first to locate on Clark's lake, and justly deserves mention in this book.  In 1855, when Jackson County could boast of as much wild timbered lands, and forests filled with Indians and wild beasts as any county in the Territory, Mr. Daniel Peterson, with his family of 6 sons and 5 daughters, pressed his way westward, and in the month of June halted his ox-team on the north bank of the beautiful sheet of water bearing the above name, that of its discoverer.  Here he took from the Government 160 acres of that heavily timbered and very fertile soil.  Mr. Peterson was a man of much resolution and a brave heart, and knew that with the co-operation of the then quite able-bodied sons he could conquer the kings of this forest and turn his sylvan retreat into rolling wheat-fields, and make for his family a home; and this they immediately set to work to accomplish.  The family, however, remained on this spot but a few years, and moved upon section 15, where he erected a small frame dwelling and developed a good property.  This home he occupied until his death in 1824, and since has been owned by one of his sons, O. S. Peterson, one of the older sons of the family, and still a resident of this township.  He was born in Washington County, N. Y., and came West with the family in 1835.  He received his education at Fort Edwards, his native home.  With industry and careful management he has made for himself and family a comfortable home, which consists of 100 acres on section 10.  Aug. 22, 1853, he married Miss Susan Jane Conover, daughter of William Conover, a farmer by trade, and a resident of Maryall, Bradford Co., Penn.

    Orremus PHELPS was born Sept. 10, 1810, in the town of Shoreham, Vt.  His father, Joseph Phelps, was a farmer of that place, from whence he moved in 1815 to Steuben County, and pursued farming there until his death in 1868, at the age of 83.  His mother's name was Annie Bissell; she also died in Steuben County one year before her husband, in 1867.  Orremus remained on the farm until 1844, when he removed to Jackson County and settled in the town of Liberty, where they remained nine years.  In 1853 they removed to Columbia Township, and settled on the farm they still occupy, on section 32, where they own 115 acres.  Nov. 26,1833, he married Miss Clara G. Pond, daughter of Josiah Pond.  He was a shoemaker by trade, but devoted most of his life to agricultural pursuits.  He was born in Shoreham, Vt., in 1791.  He was a public-spirited man and a loyal citizen.  In 1820 he left Vermont and settled in Steuben County, N. Y., where he lived 12 years, and then came to Michigan and located in Liberty Township, where he died in 1865, at the age of 74.  Mrs. Phelps' mother's name was Nabbie Gates, and her Grandfather Gates' name was Gabriel, who was a soldier of the Revolution and a pensioner.  They are of New England descent and of Puritan stock.  Mrs. Phelps has 6 children, 5 sons—Myron W., Melvin, Edgar L., Jimri and Freeman A., and 1 daughter, Olive Ann.  They have grandchildren, as follows—Jerome, Owen, Martin O., Lillian, Daniel and Eva, children of Edgar Phelps; Ambrose, Harry E. and Fredric, children of Jimri; Burtie and Percy F., sons of Freeman.

    Truman PICKETT, of Jefferson village, is another one of the present residents who can relate from experience many of the trials and hardships of an early-day pioneer life.  He was born May 20,1824, at the town of Orangeville, Wyoming Co., N. Y., and is a son of Amos Pickett, deceased Nov. 23, 1838.  He came to Michigan and settled in the town of Leoni, this county, on section 17, in 1836.  His family consisted of 9 children—Julia, Celestia, Amos, Sidney, Lewis, Mary, Emily, Hannah, and Truman, the youngest, who was but 14 years of age when his father died.  He received most of his education in Michigan, and in early manhood learned the carpenter and joiner's trade, which has been the chief occupation of his life.  His mother was Hannah, daughter of Acil Gridley, a millwright by trade and a resident of Connecticut.  She was born Oct. 18, 1782.  May 6, 1846, Truman married Miss Eliza Kelsey, daughter of J. Kelsey, then a farmer of Chautauqua County, N. Y.  He afterward came to Michigan and settled in Napoleon, this county, in 18— but afterward moved to Illinois, where he died in 1860, at Hoyleton.  Mrs. Pickett's mother was Susan Bruce, daughter of Acil Bruce, Winfield, Herkimer Co., N. Y., where Susan was born Feb. 22,1808, and is still living, in Ingham County., this State.  Mr. and Mrs. Pickett have 4 children—Anna, Mary, Amos and James.

    Edgar D. PRATT, son of Silas Pratt, who was a physician and surgeon, and a pioneer of Liberty Township, this county, was the second son of his father's family and the fourth child.  Silas came to Michigan in the year 1839, and settled in Liberty Township, this county, with his family, then consisting of 5 children—Cavillo S., Eliza, Sarah, Edgar D. and Darwin.  Silas Pratt married Miss Sallie Wakefield, and was a native of Otsego County, N. Y.  Edgar, being young when his father came to Michigan, received most of his education in the town of Liberty and finished in Brooklyn.  July 12, 1857, he married Miss Ann Gallup, daughter of G. J. Gallup, a farmer, and an early pioneer of Columbia Township, where she was born Jan. 29, 1841.  Mr. Gallup came to Michigan from Erie County, N. Y., and the town of Clarence, and was a native of Otsego County.  He located 200 acres of land on section 13, where he developed a good farm.  He was married Feb. 12, 1824, to Miss Polly S. Crego, daughter of John Crego, a farmer of this township. and they have 8 children— Horace M., Lucy H., Nathaniel, Diadema, Harlow, Louise, Ann and Anson.  Mr. Pratt's family consists of George S., Addie L., Clarence and Alonzo.   

    Flavius J. RANDALL, one of the reliable and substantial farmers of Columbia Township, was born at Lenox, Oneida Co., N. Y., May 14, 1828.  His father, William Randall, was a native of Connecticut, and was born in Stonington, March 7, 1797.  He was a farmer by occupation, and a pioneer of Oneida County.  He afterward moved to Madison County, and from there to Michigan in 1834.  He was married Nov. 1, 1816, to Cynthia Ray, who died Aug. 21,1822, leaving a family of 5 children—Austin A., Arzella, Pauline, William A. and Gideon C.  Nov. 3, 1826, he again married, Miss Freelove Crarey, who died July 25, 1862, in the 74th year of her age, leaving 2 children—Esther C. and Flavins J.  Flavins J. is very properly called an old pioneer of Jackson County, having lived on the old homestead about 47 years, where his father located and lived until his death, Feb. 28, 1862.  Flavins received his schooling at Jefferson district school, and Jan. 15, 1854, married Miss Lucinda A. Freeman, daughter of Whitaker and Almeda (McClure) Freeman.  Mr. F. was born in Vermont, Oct. 10, 1798.  He had 3 sons, and Lucinda was his only daughter, who was born in Leoni Township, this county, Sept. 3, 1832.  Mr. and Mrs. Randall have 1 son, Will E.

    Valentine M. REDNER was born July 2, 1815.  He came to Michigan in 1855, from Tioga County, Penn.  His father, Henry Redner, was shoemaker by trade, and a native of Orange County, N. Y.  He moved to Pennsylvania, where he died, in the town of Hector, Butler Co.  Valentine when a young man left his home in Pennsylvania and spent his early manhood in the State of New York, and in the day of the early settlement of Jackson County he made his way westward to Jefferson, where he spent a few years working for the settlers by the month, until he had sufficient means to purchase his present home of 40 acres, of section 8, upon which he has just erected a new dwelling.  In June, 1867, he married Mrs. Eliza French, formerly Miss Eliza Keelan, daughter of James Keelan, a native of Onondaga County, N. Y., who settled at Onondaga, Ingham Co., Mich., where he died in 1872.

    James REED came to Michigan in 1861, from the State of New York, Orleans County, and the town of Gaines.  He was born May 22, 1816, in the town of Providence, Saratoga Co., N. Y., and son of a carpenter, John Heed, deceased at the age of 80 years.  James received his early education in the town of Providence, and after residing in Orleans County he moved to Michigan, as above stated, and settled on his present property.  Jan. 7, 1837, he married Miss Lydia Delano, daughter of Jonathan Delano, of Newstead, Erie Co.,N. Y., who was a miller by occupation.  In 1834 he moved to Akron, and organized the Akron Water Cement Co., where he died April 13, 1842.  He was born Dec. 9,1784.  Lydia was born June 8, 1816, in the town of Providence. Saratoga Co., and they have—Mary, born May 20, 1839; Jay D., Sept. 6,1840; Will, June 14, 1845.  Jay D. was married in 1868 to Miss Francelia Preston, daughter of Othniel Preston, a farmer of Napoleon, and lives on a farm of his own near his father's, in Columbia Township.  Will W. was married in 1875 to Miss Alice Towner, daughter of Henry Towner, of this township, and works the homestead.

    Abram SANFORD was born in the town of Mount Morris, Genesee Co., N. Y., Sept. 10, 1822.  He is the son of John Sanford (deceased), who came to Michigan in 1832 and settled at Saline, Washtenaw Co.  He at this time took up a tract of land from the Government lying in Dundee Township, Monroe Co., but made jobbing on the Chicago turnpike, at that time in process of construction, his business for several years.  Abram was an only child, and received his schooling at Liberty, Columbia Township, and lived on a farm until 1863, when he became ambitious to see the West.  He sold out his worldly effects, excepting horses and wagon and sufficient wearing apparel and cooking utensils, and started on an overland trip to California with his family, which was accomplished in six months' time.  This trip was fraught with many incidents that might be of interest to the general reader, had we space to record them.  He remained in California one year only, during which time he kept the Summit House at Virginia City, when he returned to Brooklyn, where he has since remained.  He married, March 10, 1841, Miss Miranda Stranahan, and they have 2 children living—Sarah E., now wife of John L. De Lamater, and Cordelia, wife of L. Q. Jones.

    Michael SHERIDAN, one of the enterprising and substantial merchants of Brooklyn, Columbia Township, was born in Ireland Jan. 12, 1829, at Castle Bar, in the county of Leone.  He lived in Ireland until 15 years of age, where he received what was termed in that country at that time a liberal education, and Sept. 30, 1844, sailed from Liverpool for New York city, arriving there in due season, and proceeded next as far as Scott's village, Monroe Co., via boat to Albany, where he joined his father's family, who had preceded him in 1833, excepting his mother, who died before the family emigrated to this country.  Michael Sheridan is a blacksmith, and as such worked for several years in different parts of the State until 1856, when he, in company with his brother, Patrick Sheridan, formed a partnership and erected a blacksmith shop on the lot now occupied by the Episcopal Church on Main street.  The lumber for their shop, which consisted mainly of slabs, they carried on their shoulders from Swain's mill, and this laborious mode of moving lumber was not adopted so much on account of their personal inclinations as it was a necessity.  Here they continued business for two years, when they sold out, dissolved partnership, and Michael went to Fort Dodge, Iowa, where he followed his trade about six months.  He then returned to Brooklyn and worked for Justice Day Jones (since deceased), then proprietor of the Brooklyn House.  In 1859 he made a six months' trip through the East, and returning Oct. 30 of that year to Brooklyn he entered the grocery and provision trade, in which business he has since been engaged, and in 1860 he moved into his present store, fronting on the public square, where he has done a thriving and in every way a successful business.  Sept. 13, 1864, he married Maria O'Brien, daughter of William O'Brien, of Fort Wayne, Ind.  They have 3 children—Anna M., Hattie L. and Mary L.

    W. B. SHERMAN, one of the most influential, enterprising and public spirited citizens of Brooklyn village, is a native of Fairfield County, Conn., and was born in the town of Huntington, Dec. 6, 1823.  His father, Lemuel Sherman, was a farmer by occupation, and moved from Huntington to Schuyler County, N. Y., when Mr. B. was a boy, and it was there, in the town of Veteran, that he received his schooling, and at intervals worked in their neighborhood at odd jobs, driving an ox team and running the tan-bark mill at the village tannery; in 1845 he came West and made his halt in Columbia, then Napoleon Township, where he taught school a few years; worked on a farm for a time, and then commenced his thus far very successful business career, by entering the store of Harmon & Cook, at that time the principal mercantile house in Jackson County, as salesman, until 1854, when he purchased Mr. Harmon's interest in the business, and the firm name was changed to Cook & Sherman.  This latter arrangement continued for two years, and the partnership dissolved.  Mr. Sherman then spent two years with Mosher & Chapman, merchants in Jackson.  In 1858 he returned to Brooklyn and the firm of Cook, Austin & Sherman was formed, consisting of George P. Cook, S. L. Austin and W. B. Sherman, and under the above title conducted a general mercantile business until 1863.  The years 1864-'5 Mr. Sherman spent in the war with the army of the Potomac in the quartermaster's and pay departments, under Gens. Hooker, Mead and Grant, and since that time has been a general merchant, grain and wool dealer of Brooklyn.  Mr. Sherman is a popular man in his community, open-hearted and free-handed, and does business on a broad and liberal basis.  He is the present President of the Village Council.

    Andrew SPRINGER was born Nov. 30, 1824, in Baden, Germany.  His father, Michael, was a stone-cutter and mason by trade.  He came to America in 1856, and landed at New York.  His first engagement in America was in Monroe County, N. Y., where he worked on a farm.  In 1857 he married Miss Elizabeth Keber, daughter of George Keber, a farmer and a resident of Brooklyn village.  They have 6 children—Frederick W., Mary E., Dora, Helena, Margaret and Maria B.  He owns 85 acres of land in section 26.

    Henry STACY was born in Kent County, England, Feb. 11, 1800.  His father, Richard, was a brick-mason by trade, and died when Henry was a small boy, leaving him entirely without friends and entirely on his own resources.  At the age of 10 Henry was pressed on board of an English man-of-war, and at the breaking out of the war between England and the United States in 1812 this war ship was sent into American waters to fight against the stars and stripes in the English navy.  Mr. Stacy did not touch American soil until 1825, when he landed at Nantucket, or Martha's Vineyard.  He then came to Otsego, N. Y., where he pursued farming until he came to Michigan in 1842, and settled in the town of Franklin, where he remained only two years, and then removed to Columbia Township, and purchased of A. P. Cook 62 acres of land on section 30, where he still lives.  Aug. 5, 1831, he married Miss Eliza Nash, who died Nov. 19, 1839, leaving 5 children.  July 21, 1842, Mr. Henry Stacy again married, this time Miss Margaret Gault, daughter of John Gault, then a farmer of Otsego County, N. Y.  He was a public-spirited man, and took an active part in the local politics of the day.  Her grandfather, William Gault, was a weaver by trade, and a native of Ireland.  Her great-grandfather was a Revolutionary soldier and died on the battle-field.  They have 2 sons—Charles Franklin and William Albert, the former of whom is living on the homestead and assumes charge of the farm and the care of his aged parents.  He married Miss Annie Laura Johnson, daughter of Thomas Johnson, of this township, who is son of Elder Thomas Johnson, a pioneer of Columbia, and they have 1 little son—Leo Henry.

    Edwin STEARNS was born Aug. 25, 1818, in the town of Lanesboro, Berkshire Co., Mass.  His father, Cyrus Stearns, was a farmer by occupation, and a radical Whig in politics.  In the fall of 1834 he left Berkshire County, came to Michigan, and settled in Blissfield, Lenawee Co.  In 1852 he removed to Columbia Township, and settled on the farm where Edwin and his 2 only sisters, Sarah and Mary, now live.  Two of the brothers are now residents of this State, in Blissfield, one a merchant, the other a mason by trade.  Mr. Stearns' mother was Diantha Rockwell.  She was a daughter of Jabez Rockwell, a shoemaker by trade, of Milford, Pike Co., Penn.  She was a native of Danbury, Conn., and died May 1, 1880, at the age of 88, leaving 4 sons and 2 daughters, as above stated.  Mr. Stearns' father, Cyrus, died at the homestead in 1863.     This farm consists of 63 acres, is under good  cultivation and is very productive.  Sarah, the oldest of the daughters, was born Jan. 27, 1823, and Mary, Nov. 18, 1828.

    George STRANAHAN, son of George S. Stranahan, was born Aug. 24, 1816, in Clarence, Erie Co., N. Y.  In the summer of 1833, at the early age of 17, Mr. Stranahan became a pioneer, coming with his father to the wilds of Michigan, and at the head of Clark's lake assisted the former in clearing land and erecting a log cabin.  Finishing their work, the two went back in the autumn, spent the winter, and returned with the family the following spring.  George was the main help of his father, and in those days of the sparsely settled State and distant neighbors, families were much more dependent upon their individual members than they now are.  At one time, in the absence of the father, the whole family was stricken with the fever common to Michigan, and only George was left to care for them.  Night and day did he watch and work over them until almost exhausted; after nearly two weeks of such labor he was relieved by the return of his father.  The daughter, Catherine, fell a victim to the fever.  The Pottawatomie Indians, then inhabiting this country, were located very near at hand, and their young white neighbors had frequent frolics with their youthful braves.
    At the age of 20, Mr. Stranahan went back to his former home and spent one winter attending select school.  Two or three years later he went to Batavia, Branch Co., Mich., where he was more or less engaged in business with his brother-in-law, Leonard Taylor, for two or three years, and where he formed the acquaintance of Miss Caroline Brink, then teaching school in that neighborhood, who afterward became his wife.  At the age of 25, in 1841, Mr. Stranahan was married and settled on 50 acres of the homestead given him by his father.  A few years subsequent to this he purchased the whole homestead, upon which he erected what for those days was a fine brick dwelling, and eventually surrounded himself with the buildings and comforts of a well-appointed farm home.  They have 1 child, George B., who, having failed in health, visited California for its improvement in 1872, and remained more than two years in that far-off State alone.  Mr. Stranahan sold his farm for the purpose of joining him there (having lived upon the homestead more than 30 years), which he did in company with his wife in the spring of 1875, remaining 10 months, which gave him opportunity to witness one of its famous winters.  He returned with his family the following spring to Coldwater, Mich., where the family spent two years, after which they removed to the village of Brooklyn, April, 1878 (six miles from the old homestead), where he has always been acquainted, and where he has already been given places of trust by the people.
    Notwithstanding the fact that Mr. Stranahan began life in very limited circumstances, that his health has never been vigorous, and that he has had a certain unusual pecuniary tax, his financial success is very fair, and he is now living on his income.  Nearly 50 years have passed since his advent to Michigan, and in that time he has seen civilization advance and the Indian disappear, the forest melt away and the country blossom as the rose.

    George S. STRANAHAN was born Oct. 4, 1783, probably in New Canaan, Columbia Co., N. Y., where in his father's family he spent much of his early life.  From that place he removed to about 20 miles east of Buffalo, on the Holland purchase, Erie Co., where he remained many years in the capacity of a farmer, and where he also taught school.  The spring of 1833 Mr. Stranahan, in company with his son-in-law, Leonard Taylor, visited Michigan with the view of prospecting for a home in that State.  Arriving at Napoleon, they were shown the country about Clark's lake, one of the most beautiful sheets of water in Southern Michigan.  Here he decided to settle and accordingly purchased from Government about 400 acres of land adjoining the north and west sides of the lake, on sections 17 and 18, and went back to New York.  Spending a few weeks with his family, he with his son George returned to the site of their new home the following summer, where they cleared some land and erected a log cabin at the northwest corner of the lake.  Purchasing 100 apple-trees at Clinton, he also put out the first orchard in the township, of which about 70 trees remain.  Going back in the fall, they remained until spring, when Mr. Stranahan returned with his family, consisting of his wife, George, Catherine, Maranda, now wife of Abram Sanford, of Brooklyn; Julia A., now widow of J. D. White, of Columbia; Mariett, now wife of Stacy Clark, of Liberty; Cordelia, now wife of George W. Lobdell, of Jackson; Caroline, now the widow of Leonard Taylor, of Branch County, Mich.; Betsey (deceased), who was wife of A. S. Clark,formerly of Columbia; Hiram (deceased), Minnesota.
The family saw a great difference in their western from that of their eastern home: many incidents of venture came with it.  One may be worth recording.  One night Mrs. Stranahan was awakened by the squealing of a pig kept in a pen a few rods from the house, and informed her husband accordingly.  Mr. Stranahan immediately arose and, seizing a large fire-shovel common to the fire-places of those days, proceeded to the pen, where, despite the darkness, he was able to discover some animal annoying his hog.  Letting down the fence for the hog to escape, the animal jumped upon him just as the hog was passing from the pen, whereupon Mr. Stranahan struck and killed the intruder with his shovel.  Further investigation showed this creature to be a wolf; and what was Mr. Stranahan's surprise when after nine days the hog ran mad, proving that the wolf had hydrophobia!
    In the war of 1812 Mr. Stranahan served in the American army and witnessed the burning of Buffalo, N.Y., when that now important city was but a small village.  On another occasion he was a spectator of the blowing up of the British by the Americans, in retaliation for a like act done to our men by the enemy.  His brother, Farrand Stranahan, was Colonel of a regiment in the same war, and is favorably mentioned in the history of that event.
Mr. Stranahan came of a large family, remarkable for fearlessness and independence of spirit, and for vigor of body and mind.  He was a public-spirited man and of much benevolence of heart.  He was Justice of the Peace, and Road Commissioner, which last was a responsible office in those days.  In politics he was a staunch, un-comprising Democrat.
Mr. S. had the honor of naming the township of his adoption, which he called the beautiful and national name of Columbia, after Columbia, his native county, in New York.  In his home in the West Mr. Stranahan lived about 30 years, and died at the ripe age of 81 years.

    Theophilus W. THOMPSON, a man whose untiring energy and ambition has served in developing one of the most productive farms in Jackson County, is a native of the Empire State, and was born in Oneida County, Oct. 29, 1808.  His father's name was Cyrus Thompson, a farmer and a native of Massachusetts, as was also his grandfather.  Mr. Thompson's boyhood and youth were spent in the town of his nativity, where he received a liberal schooling according to the general understanding of the meaning of the phrase in those days, and in 1837 left his home and friends to seek his fortune in a wilderness, and pressed his way westward to Manchester, Washtenaw Co., and here he remained two years, during which time he taught school.  In 1839 he came to Columbia Township, and located on section 23, where he bought of Royal Watkins 120 acres of land, which from year to year has gradually been transformed to rolling meadow and productive wheat fields.  He has from time to time added to his homestead until it now contains 280 acres.  Mr. Thompson married April 25, 1839, Miss Ruth M. Watkins, daughter of Royal Watkins, of Norvell, and they have 2 children—Freeman, and Edwin Clarence.  Mrs. Thompson's great-grandfather, Nathan Watkins, was of old Connecticut stock and of Welsh and Scotch descent.  Different branches of the family were of the original settlers of New England and Virginia, and the family ancestry are traceable as far back as the 15th century.  Mrs. Thompson now has in her possession several very old family relics that establish without a doubt the fact that she is a descendant in a direct line from May Flower stock, via the Carpenter and Howard family, of which the late Hon. Matt Carpenter, of Wisconsin, is a member.

    Edward TOMPKINS was born July 25, 1836, in Columbia Township, on the homestead which his father, William Tompkins, had taken from the Government that year, having come from Saratoga County, N. Y., and the town of Stillwater.  Edward received a common-school education at Clark's Lake school-house, and learned the carpenter's trade in Liberty Township, which he followed for several years until 1872.  He hired to the United States Government in 1863, and went West to Little Rock, Arkansas, and worked at his trade on Government warehouses then being erected there.  His father was one of the first settlers in Jackson County, and was an experienced and skillful hunter and  trapper.  He raised a family of 4 sons, all of whom are now living in Columbia Township.  Edward was married Aug. 1,1870, to Miss Ellen Loom is, daughter of Benjamin Loomis (deceased), who was a resident of Liberty Township, and they have 3 children—Bruce C, Percy B. and Charley L.  Mr. Tompkins owns 122 acres of good farming land, well improved, on section 30.

    Henry WARNES was born at Norfolk, England, July 21, 1837.  His father, John Warnes, is a farm laborer of Norfolk.  Henry was reared and received his schooling in his native county, and came to America in 1861, making the first halt in his journey at Tecumseh, Mich.  Here he worked on a farm for B. J. Bidwell six years and nine months, and then bought 10 acres of land in the town of Raisin.  This property he soon sold and came to Columbia Township, and bought 100 acres on section 21, of N. H. King, on which he has made many improvements, among them a fine residence, where he lives in independence and comfort.  Jan. 3, 1865, he married Miss Elizabeth McCaughen, daughter of Dougal McCaughen, then a blacksmith of Tecumseh.  They have 3 children—Ellen J., Lucy E. and Henry Lester.

    Wm. P. WATTERMAN was born in Massachusetts, Franklin County, in the town of Shutesbury, Oct. 29, 1828.  His father, Dexter Watterman, was a farmer, and was born at Royalton, Vermont.  His mother's name was Polly Severance, and of her father very little is now known, from the fact that he died when Polly was a small child.  William lived with his parents until 17 years of age, and received his early schooling at Shutesbury, and, being possessed of a mechanical turn of mind, soon turned his attention to that trade.  From 1866 to 1870 he resided in the town of Bloomer, Montcalm Co., Mich.  From Bloomer he came to Columbia Township, and settled on section 20, where he purchased 80 acres of land of M. Grosvenor, which property he sold to Philip S. Howland, and purchased his present farm of 80 acres, one-quarter of a mile east of his former home.  He was married June 6, 1854, to Miss Harriet N. Hemingway, daughter of N. H. Hemingway, at that time a resident of Prescott, Massachusetts, and now living at Mr. Howland's.  He was born in Cumberland County, R. I.  His father, Josiah, was a blacksmith by trade, and figured quite conspicuously in the local politics of his county.  Mr. Hemingway was married Oct. 23, 1831, to Miss Hannah B. Hill, daughter of Cyrus Hill, of Shutesbury, Mass., a native of that State, who had married Miss Olive Hunting.  Mr. Hill died at his native home in 1843, and Mrs. Hill at the same place in 1867.  Mr. Hemingway's father, Josiah, died in 1865, at the age of 84; and his mother, whose maiden name was Betsey Hall, died in 1863, aged 84.  Mr. Howland has 2 sons—Edward W., an instructor by profession, and Fred. N.

    John T. WEEKS, whose portrait appears m this volume on page 821, is another one of the pioneers to whom Columbia Township owes not a little of her early history and development. His father, James Weeks, was born in Vassalborough, Maine, June 7, 1784, and moved from his native State to Weathersfield, Mass., in 1808, where he remained until 1834.  He married Miss Betsey Tilton, daughter of John Tilton, a farmer of Genesee County, N. Y.  They had a family of 5 children, of which John T. was the oldest.  A sister, Lurinda, was next, and next were Laura, Erastus and Lucy.  James Weeks came directly to Columbia Township and settled on section 10, entering from the Government five lots, or 400 acres.  His first dwelling was soon erected from logs cut on the place; it was a single-story cabin 18x20 feet square.  John T. Weeks came on with his young wife and son,Willard C, in the spring of 1835, and settled on the first 100 acres west of his father, James, on section 10.  He had married the previous year, Jan. 19, Miss Lucy Phelps, daughter of John Phelps, of Oneida County, N. Y., who became the mother of 6 children, of whom 3 are now living: Willard C, on the homestead; LucyM., now Mrs. Julius P. Dean, of Napoleon Township; and Allie A., wife of Chas. A.Wood, of this township.
Mrs. Weeks was born April 11, 1816, and died, at the age of 65, March 23, 1881.  Mr. Weeks is a mechanic by trade and inheritance from his forefathers, and devoted much of his time in pioneer days to making cabinet-ware, pails, barrels, shoes, etc., for which in those days he found a ready market among the settlers at remunerative prices.  He is the inventor and patentee of a centrifugal honey extractor.  This has received general endorsement through the country.  Willard O. Weeks was born Nov. 23, 1834, and received his schooling in Columbia Township, and his business experience with his father, mostly on a farm.  Dec. 4, 1857, he married Miss Helen A. Moon, daughter of S. C. Moon, of Napoleon, but later of Cedar Springs, Mich.  He is a pioneer of this State and a mason by trade, but has devoted the past few years of his life to farming.  He was a native of Ontario County, N. Y., and the town of Gorham.  His wife was Mary Ann Snyder, of New York, and was of direct German descent.  Mr. and Mrs. Weeks have 4 children—Eva L., Bell O, John W. and Pearl.

    Walter WHITE was born Dec. 8,1801, in Vermont, town of Tapson, Orange Co.  His father, Ebenezer, was a native of Orange County, and a farmer by occupation.  Walter received his education in his native town, and after leaving school acquired his trade, that of a shoemaker, which occupation he followed first in Vermont and for several years after coming to Michigan.  His advent to this State took place in 1835, and he first settled in the village of Brooklyn, and occupied as a shop the second floor of the building now owned and used by W. B. Sherman as a general store.  He was soon tendered an opportunity of entering the Michigan State's Prison as foreman of the boot and shoe manufacturing department, which he improved, and remained there two years, after which he returned to Brooklyn and resumed trade here.  In 1838 he purchased 100 acres of land on section 20, Columbia Township, to the development of which he devoted a portion of his time, and afterward relinquished the pursuance of his trade to devote his entire time to farming, and in the latter occupation has been engaged to the present time.  In 1823 he married Miss Malany Rotnour, daughter of George Rotnour, a farmer of Lenox, Madison Co., N.Y., and they have 4 children—Fayette, George A., Jefferson T. and Amos W.  Mr. and Mrs. White have been for many years members of the Presbyterian Church of Brooklyn.

    Joseph B. WHITNEY, of Brooklyn, was born in Volney Township, Oswego County, N. Y., a son of Berkey Whitney (deceased), who was a native of Oswego County, and of New England ancestry.  He died in 1838 at his home, leaving a widow and 2 children—Joseph and a sister, Cordelia.  Joseph B. was born Oct. 14, the year of his father's death.  He improved the educational opportunities afforded by a district school and obtained a practical education, which has enabled him to secure for himself and family a competency, and has placed himself among the thriving and prosperous merchants of the village of Brooklyn, now being a member of the furniture and undertaking firm of Hoag & Whitney.  Mr. Whitney is a practical business man and a mechanic, having learned the carpenter's trade when a young man, which he followed until 1870, when he came to Michigan, settling in Brooklyn.  He married Amelia W. Randall, daughter of S. S. Randall, of Fulton, Oswego Co., N. Y., a contracting carpenter of that locality, and they have 3 children—2 sons, Frank and Mortimer, and 1 daughter, Bruce.

    William WINDLE was born at Newton, Trumbull Co., Ohio, Jan. 2, 1808.  This much is known of his ancestry: His great-grandfather, Francis Windle, emigrated to Pennsylvania from England, and was of good old Quaker stock.  His grandfather, William, and father, Francis, were born and reared in Chester County, Penn.  Francis afterward moved to Mifflin, and there married Miss Eleanor Holt, and they had 8 children—Betsey, Mary, Dorcas, Eleanor, Rebecca, Francis, Martha J. and William.  William remained at home until 1834, when he came West to Indiana, attended the first sale of public lands in that State, and made a purchase of one quarter-section.  This land he, however, sold in 1839, and came to Michigan, settling at Hudson.  In 1854 he came to Jackson County and bought his present property of A. P. Cook.  Mr. Windle has had to mourn the death of two devoted wives.  The first he married June 16, 1831.  This was Miss Mary McLain, and was mother of 7 children—Margaret B., Francis, David (deceased), William, Mary J., Ella, and Rosa (deceased).  Mrs. Windle died March 13, 1839.  Aug. 11, 1839, Mr. Windle again married, this time his brother's widow, Mrs. Francis Windle, whose maiden name was Mary Nichols, and this added to his family 4 fatherless children— James P., Mifflin, Joseph and Mercy.  Before her death they were blessed with their only child, Goodwin C, Nov. 23, 1876.  Mr. W. took for his third wife, Mrs. C. E. Wheeler, daughter of Benjamin R. Swick, a clergyman of Lima, Livingston Co., N. Y.  She had 1 child, Stanley Wheeler.  Mr. Windle sent two brave soldiers to the war of the Rebellion.  His son William  enlisted in

TWO MISSING PAGES


    Percy WOOD was born Sept. 4, 1846.  His father, Milton Wood, was a pioneer and a farmer of Columbia Township, and settled on section 17.  His family consisted of 7 children—Lucretia, Frank, Percy, Alvina, Henry, Abel and Oliver (deceased).  Percy received his schooling in Brooklyn and lived 17 years on his father's homestead, now owned and occupied by Daniel Every when he and Mr. Every made an exchange in 1877.  He married, Jan. 23, 1872, Miss Hattie Lester, daughter of Herman Lester (deceased), who was a native of Cayuga County, N. Y., born Jan. 12, 1808, and was a son of Ebenezer Lester, a native of New England and a boot and shoe maker by trade.  Mrs. Herman Lester was Miss Chloe Clark, daughter of Archibald Clark, a public man of Erie County, having held the positions of Judge in Circuit Court, was member of Congress from his district, and held many other minor offices.  Mrs. Wood was born Dec. 16, 1847, and they have 1 child, Effie May, born June 8, 1879.

    Hon. Hiel WOODWARD, of Brooklyn, who has figured quite conspicuously in the public affairs of this county during a greater portion of his life, was born in Windsor County, Vt, in the town of Bridgewater, Feb. 10, 1824.  His father, Samuel Woodward, was a mechanic by trade, and a native also of the Green Mountain State.  His grandfather, Nehemiah, was a Baptist clergyman, and during the Revolutionary war was an attache to General Washington's staff.  His services to his country entitled him to a pension of $96 per year, which he drew until his death, at the age of 92 years.  Hiel Woodward came to Michigan in 1836, at the age of 11, with his father.  He first settled at Adrian, Mich.  His family at that time consisted of 6 sons and 3 daughters.  At Adrian he settled on a farm which, with the earnest efforts of his boys, was made to yield a comfortable support, allowing the children such school advantages as could be obtained in those days in a new country, and Hiel was not the slowest to profit by them.  In 1845 his father died, which sad event threw the boys practically on their own resources.  Hiel, realizing the fact, immediately prepared to fit himself to shoulder his share of the family responsibilities, and learned the mechanics' trade, which for several years he followed.  It was in this same year that he first came, where he acquired and followed his trade, and was soon enabled to purchase a farm in Columbia Township.  In 1858 was elected Supervisor of his township, which office he held for several successive terms until 1868.  In 1864 he was nominated and elected, on the Republican ticket, to represent his district in the Michigan Legislature.  The results of his first term of service were strongly endorsed by a re-election in 1866, and he was still further honored by his constituency, and called to the Michigan Senate for two years.  In 1870 he was appointed and qualified to take the census in the southern district of Jackson County, and in 1872 was appointed Postmaster of Brooklyn, by General Grant, which position he has since occupied with satisfaction to all.  He was married Nov. 4, 1849, to Miss Louise Culver, daughter of Martin Culver, a farmer of Norvell Township, and they have 3 children—Miss E. Florine, teacher in Brooklyn high schools; Rosa, and Arthur B., a telegraph operator.

    Brayton S. WRIGHT was born in Oswego, N. Y., Aug. 23, 1839.  He is third son of Joseph S. Wright, a native of Massachusetts, and for 10 years past a retired mechanic of this township.  Brayton's early boyhood was spent at Oswego, where he received an early school training, and at the age of nine years his parents moved to Ohio, and settled at Unionville, Lake Co., where three more years were spent in school.  They next removed to McHenry County, Ill., locating in the town of Woodstock, and there remained until they came to Michigan.  At the breaking out of the Rebellion he enlisted in the 15th Illinois Infantry, was soon mustered in and sent to the front, and from that time during the three years and three months of his career as a Union soldier, was on active duty.  He took part in numerous battles, and among them some of the hottest of the war.  Was at the siege of Corinth, and siege and surrender of Vicksburg.  During his service he was promoted to the rank of Sergeant.  He also took part in the battle of Pittsburg, and was with Sherman in Mississippi.  Nov. 1, 1865, he was married to Miss Lucy Fitch, daughter of Henry Fitch, a blacksmith by trade, who came to Illinois in 1846.  His people were of Connecticut descent, and family resided at Norfolk.  He afterward moved from Illinois to Ohio, where Lucy Ann was born May 7, 1838. They have 1 daughter—Carrie May, born Oct. 12, 1867.  Mr. Wright is a painter by trade, and divides his attention between that and his farm.  He is a member of the Masonic order, of 17 years' standing.


Line Divider

Back Home
Backgrounds By Marie

Copyright Genealogy Trails All Rights Reserved with Full Rights Reserved for Original Contributor