From Leeson's History of Macomb County, Michigan, pp.778
The first clearing made in what is now called Richmond was in Section 30, by Edwin Rose. The entry of this land bears date December 1, 1832, and has since been known as the Goodar farm on Clay street. Another entry is made on the same day, and located on the same section, by John Hale. The next entry is dated May 13, 1833, by Anson Pettibone, still owned by the family. Charles Hicks settled on the ridge in 1834, and Phillip Cudworth in 1835. John Hicks, the Beebes, Mr. Halt Perkins and others moved in soon after. The township was organized and named after the township of the same name in Ontario, N.Y., at the suggestion of Phillip Cudworth. This was done in the spring of 1838, on the wood-pile of Mr. Perkins, who had settled on the ridge. The meeting to organize the town was called to meet at his house, and, the house being small and the meeting large, it was adjourned to the wood-pile, where elbow room was plenty, and the young township was brought into being and properly named there.
The land on which the village of Richmond is situated was mostly taken from the Government by Erastus Beebe, in 1835, and constituted for a long time his farm. The location was well chosen, being a joint where the ridge running north crosses that extending from east to west, and a little more than one mile from the Gratiot Turnpike, Erastus Beebe erected a shanty south of the village and kept bachelor's hall for a season, when, getting tired of this, he concluded to get married. He was in possession of a large white mare and an Indian pony of small size and malicious disposition, and of these the bridal cortege was made up. Placing his bride upon the white mare, he bestrided the pony, and, as the roads were not of sufficient width to admit of riding side by side, he took the lead through the woods, she meekly following, in search of Squire Granger, who had just settled some two or three miles to the northeast. They found the Squire at work on his fallow, who came to the house, washed his face, and in due form pronounced the pair man and wife, instead of husband and wife. On their return home, the neighbors came in, and they had a feast. Whether the wife was married more than her husband does not matter now.
The first school was taught in the house of Daniel Hall, a quilt being hung across the room for the purpose of partition. This school consisted of one-half dozen scholars, taught by Mahala Weeks. The following year, a small log school house was built near the Hall house, and Miss Lucinda Clough became teacher. This gave place to the present house in the Hall District in 1852.
That portion of the township known as the Ridge was the first to be settled from the trail and from the settlement at Armada east, and then that between the villages of Richmond and Memphis north of Daniel Hall wore the Simmonds, George H. Stuart and the Gilberts, and tho vacant spaces between their farms filled up fast- One of the first exhibitions of commercial enterprise was shown by George H. Stuart, whose domestic department was in a state of emptiness -or nearly so. He took his oxen and wagon, and, going to a mill on Mill Creek, he bought a load of clear pine lumber on credit "With this he started south toward Birmingham. Having friends along the road, he found ready and gratuitous entertainment until he reached that place, where he exchanged the lumber for three barrels of superfine flour, about as white as a good quality of shorts ought to be. This flour he brought home, and with one he paid for his lumber, and had two barrels left. As the country began to lie still more developed, the corner at Beebe's was seen to be central, and symptoms of a village began to appear. A blacksmith shop was put up by Erastus Beebe and a grocery store by Jesse------, and H. P. Beebe a general store After a few years, the Richmond Post Office was kept by Phillip Cud worth; afterward, as follows: David Ward, Hiram Burk, H. P. Beebe, James M. Hicks, H. P. Beebe, D. G. Gleason, Seth Lathrop. H. P. Beebe the present incumbent.
The place was known as BeeBe's Corners until 1870, when an election was held under a village charter just granted. This was on the 31st of March of that year, and A. M. Keeler was elected President; A. G. Stone, Clerk; and W. H. Acker, Treasurer. The succeeding Presidents have been Thomas Conway and Sanford M. Stone. Del T. Sutton succeeded A. G. Stone as Clerk, and W. H. Acker has been Treasurer from the first. Upon the building of the Grand Trunk Railway, the village began to grow and business to thrive, and when, some years later, the Michigan Air-Line Railway made this a terminus, a still greater growth was manifest. Manufactories have sprung up and trades have multiplied. The stave-mill, started by J. W. Cooper, made a market for timber and furnished employment to a large number of men. It has twice been destroyed by fire, and, with remarkable promptness, has been rebuilt, and is still in operation. The manufactories of Theo Miller also fill a large place in the industries of the village. The same is also true of Freeman & Knight's packing establishment, and other industries. A more extended history of the school will follow.
TOWN ROSTER. Supervisors - Hiron Hathaway, 1838-43; James Flower, 1843-45; Linus S. Gilbert, 1845-40; Pliny Corbin, 1840-47; Isaac B. Gilbert, 1847-52; Hiron Hathaway, 1852-53; Isaac B. Gilbert, 1853-54; George H. Stewart, 1854-60; Isaac B. Gilbert, 1856-59; Daniel Flagler, 1859-62; Oscar A. Burgess, 1862-67: Isaac B. Gilbert, 1867-68; Daniel Flagler, 1868-69; Charles J. Heath, 1869-70; Hiram Burke, 1870-71; George H. Stewart. 1871-72; Daniel Flagler, 1872-74; Thomas Dawson, 1874-78; George L. Perkins. 1878-79; Thomas Dawson, 1879-82.
Justices of the Peace -William P. Simmons, 1838; Jesse Welden, 1838; James Flower, 1838; Horace Swell, 1838; Isaac B. Gilbert, 1839; James Flower, 1839; Pliny Corbin, 1840; Isaac B. Gilbert. 1842; Jesse Welden, 1842; James Flower, 1843; Pliny Corbin, 1844; Daniel Hall, 1845. Abel Sabin, 1840: Jesse Welden, 1847; George Perkins, 1848; Daniel Flagler, 1849; Daniel Hall, 1849; Linus S. Gilbert, 1850; James Henderson, 1850; James Sago, 1871; Caleb Miller, 1851; Daniel G. Stowe, 1852; Seymour Allen, 1853; Williams. Smith. 1853; Samuel S. Ealsie, 1854; Ira Spencer. 1855; John Hicks, 1855; Amassey W. Sutton, 1855; Pendleton Ogden, 1850: Isaac B. Gilbert, 1857; Randolph Arnold, 1858; Daniel Flagler, 1859; George L. Perkins, 1859; A. W. Sutton, 1859; O. S. Burgess, 1860; C. S. Arnold, 1860; Willard Church, 1861; George L. Perkins. 1861; Lovell Arnold, 1862; Daniel Flagler, 1863: Oscar S. Burgess, 1864; William D. Walton, 1864; Fayette Harris, 1864; Oscar S. Burgess. 1865; George L. Perkins, 1865; George H. Stuart, 1860; James S. Durfee, 1860; William D Walton. 1867; David H. Olney, 1868. O. L. Burgess, 1868; A. W. Sutton. 1869; Josiah Kingsbury, 1869: J. S. Durfee, 1870-73; I. H. Sutton. 1871; O. S. Burgees. 1872; Chester L. Dudley, 1873; James S. Durfee, 1874; Sanford M. Stone, 1875; William H. Morris. 1870; Sherman S. Eaton and Gilbert, 1877; Manly C. Perry, A. G. Stone, 1880; S. S. Eaton, 1881.
Clerks - Henry P. Beebe, 1850-57; Oscar S. Burgess. 1858: Henry P. Beebe, 1859-60: Charles J. Heath, 1863-68; James M. Hicks, 1869; Simon H. Heath, 1870; George Peck. 1871; John G. Aiken, 1872; Thurston 0. Knight, 1873: H. A. Haskin, 1874; George M. Granger, 1875-70; H. A Haskins, 1870-78; James S. Hastings, 1879; Simon H. Heath. 1880-82.
Treasurers John B. Ellsworth. 1850; Jerome B. Graves, 1857-59; Russell E. Combs, 1860 61; James L. Sutton, 1862; Alfred H. Newcomer. 1863-64; William M. Eaton, 1865-70; Simon H. Heath, 1867-69; Reuben Burgess, 1870-71; James H. Sutton. 1872-73; Simon H. Heath, 1874-77; Israel Dryer, 1878; George W. Carman, 1879-80; Frank W. Fenner, 1881-82.
In Richmond there was no opposition to the Republican ticket in 1882. Thomas Dawson was elected Supervisor, S. H. Heath, Clerk, and F. W. Fenner, Treasurer. The agricultural products of Richmond, according to the Supervisors' report, corn proportion, in production.
In 1850, Richmond contained a population of 1,000; in 1873, it had increased to 2,105, and in 1880, to 2,611. With the villages and the large agricultural interests of the township, Richmond forms a most, important portion of the county. Tho township is plentifully supplied with churches, schoolhouses, and industrial and manufacturing institutions, which, combined conduce to the morality, intelligence, wealth and prosperity of its inhabitants. Blessed with these various sources of general worth. Richmond cannot fail to increase in population and value in the future, with even greater rapidity than has characterized it in past.
This village was settled in 1832. It is located near the junction of the Michigan Air-Line and Grand Trunk Railroads, thirty-nine miles northeast of Detroit, four toon northeast of Mt. Clemens, seventeen miles west of the St. Clair River, and five miles south of Memphis. The Methodist, Baptist. Free Methodist and Congregational societies have houses of worship within the village. A weekly newspaper named the Richmond Review is published by Del T. Sutton. The post office is conducted by Henry P. Beebe. Among the business men of tho village are W. H. Acker, George W, Kenfield, D. T. Obert, Orrin B. Reed, John G. Akin, B. F. Doty, R. S. Freeman, Daniel G. Gleason, Hosea Fuller, D. L. Harrison, John M. Johnson, James W. Cooper, David L. Ranolye, Alex Caster, A. B. Batty, J. L. Sutton, D. J. Lathrop, Then Miller. A. W. Reed, Joseph Connell, W. E. "Walton, John Welsh, A. Y. Wright. Thomas A. Leach, Seth Lathrop, Christian Kihen and Simon H. Heath.
TOWNSHIP SCHOOLS IN 1881.
The first district school was organized April 7, 1838. The three pupils—James M. Hix, Eliza A. Hix and William Hall---with two other children, studied under Miss Mahala Weeks. the first teacher.
The taxes assessed in Richmond Township for the year 1881-82 are as follows: State and county taxes, $4,267.97; township tax, $785; drain tax, $188.60, assessed to town, drain tax to individuals, $167. The school district taxes and the mill tax was $3,322.36; The professions are represented by Oscar S. Burgess, Chauncey R. Canfield, Joseph Chubb and Addison G. Stone, lawyers; Daniel G. Gleason, O. F. Rood,---Garlick,-- Clark, Clement L. Chandler, I. Mills and Mrs. Sarah F. Kenfield, physicians; D. M. Clark and Frank Emerson, dentists.
Among the business enterprises of the village may be mentioned the egg and butter trade of Freeman & Knight. This was inaugurated in 1872, under the Arm name of Knowlton & Freeman (John A. Knowlton and Harrup Freeman), dealing in both butter and eggs the entire season in Western New York and in Macomb. This continued four years, when the New York branch was dropped, and the firm became Freeman & Doty. This continued one year, when Doty retired, and Cooper & Knight entered the firm for a term of two years. The style of the business at present is H. Freeman & Co. in the butter branch, and Freeman & Knight, of the egg branch. The business has grown from an annual shipment of 600 to 700 barrels to 3,000 to 4,000 barrels of eggs, and 250,000 pounds of butter, requiring an expenditure of $120,000 annually, and giving constant employment to twenty-five men and five teams. They annually preserve in solution 100,000 dozen of eggs, and hold an equal quantity in cold storage. The buildings are situated on Main street, and consist of a refrigerator, a brick building 26x56, with basement; a warehouse 26x80, two stories high and basement; and have in contemplation a brick warehouse 20x40; have also a storing cellar, capable of storing 2,000 barrels, and a large repacking cellar; also an ice-house, whose capacity is 700 tons.
The Richmond Post Office was established in 1840, with Phillip Cudworth as first Postmaster. David Ward was appointed in 1844; Hiram Burk, in 1848; H. P. Beebe, in 1851, James M. Hicks, in 1854; H. P. Beebe, in 1860; D. G. Gleason, in 1800; Seth Lathrop, in I860; and H. P. Beebe, in 1872.
THE BAPTIST CHURCH OF RICHMOND VILLAGE.
Previous to the year 1809, the residents of the village who were of tho Baptist persuasion worshiped in private houses, and at such times as circumstances seemed to favor. Prayer meetings were held in a small building rented by Dr. S. F. Teall. and a Sabbath school was organized at about the same time, with seven scholars. This building is now the Lenox Post Office. The organization of the church was effected June 15, 1869, with Manson Farrar, Deacon; H. F. Douglass. Clerk; and D. Stewart, Treasurer; and a Board of six Trustees; Rev. Silas Finn, pastor, and a membership of twelve persons.
March 1, 1870, a meeting was hold preparatory to building a house of worship, which was almost immediately commenced, and was completed February 25, 1871. It was situated on a lot donated for the purpose by the late Mr. Gillet. The annual meetings of the society were regularly observed till 1880, when the society re-organized under the new law. August 17, 1880, a lot was bought of Thomas Conway for $100, on which the society proceeded to erect a parsonage. This building was completed the same year, at a cost of $000. Mrs. A. W. Reed was the financial agent to raise this fund, and met with remark able success. The society is provided with an organ, a bell, horse-sheds, and other requirements for the good of the religious service, and is out of debt. Estimated value, $5,000. The other religions societies of Richmond are fully regarded in the general history of the county.
Memphis was settled in 1835, and incorporated as a village in 1865. In 1878, its population was stated to be 800, while at present that portion of it in Macomb County is only GOO. This village is prettily located on Belle River, on the line between Macomb and St. Clair Counties, twenty-seven miles northeast of Mt. Clemens, twenty- two miles southwest of Port Huron, and seven miles north of Richmond, and about the same distance northeast of Armada. There are three churches in the village, viz.: The Congregational, Methodist and Adventist, with a graded school. The first effort to reclaim the land now occupied by the village of Memphis was made by tho Wells family, one member of which still lives just north of the village. James Wells, the father, was born in Albany in 1772, a descendant of one of two brothers who emigrated from England and settled in New York shortly prior to the war of the Revolution. His family consisted of throe sons and three daughters, of whom one son and one daughter are living. Their house, a comfortable log one, covered with shingles, was the first structure of any kind to succeed the wigwams of tho Indians, and, in good old pioneer style, for all purposes of hospitality or for meetings, the latch-string was always out. The family had dealings to considerable extent, and learned much of their ways, and bear testimony that in nearly all instances they were honest in their dealings and faithful to their promises. Especial mention is made of the good qualities of John Riley, the Chippewa chief. His family and that of Black Cloud, with some others, were leading spirits among them. At this time (1835), the former owned a tract of land granted by Government at what is now Port Huron, on the south of Black River. Only two houses—one log and one frame—were to be seen at that point. John Riley was born in the Mohawk Valley, of a German father and Indian mother, and possessed greater intelligence than the full Indian. He, with many of his tribe, made annual visits to the woods near the village for the purpose of making maple sugar, coming in February or March, and returning when the season was over. In the spring of 1836, he came early for this purpose, and one pleasant Sunday, as he would not allow any work to be done that day, he took a walk in the woods, accompanied with a boy. Coming upon a large hollow log, which had the appearance of being the homo of some animal, he said to the boy, " Abs-co-in, Hash-a-pun" (John, a raccoon)! directing the boy to crawl in the log and investigate. The young Abs-co-in soon came out with great speed, shouting "Mo-quash! mo-quash' (A bear! a bear! Riley drew his hatchet, and, as the bear's head appeared, struck her a powerful blow with the edge of the weapon, burying it in her brains. She weighed over four hundred pounds, and furnished material for a continuous feast. The Indians gave names to the whites to correspond with some habit or commemorate some gift- The older Mr. Wells they called "Mo-quash" (bear) because he was a hunter of that animal. Abram Wells was " Caw-ke-chee " (porcupine!; he had given them a porcupine, the flesh of which they relish. Anthony Wells was "Mish-a-wah" (elk); -William Wells. " Wah-wa-cash " (deer); Mr. Welch. "Mus-co dance'' (Indian hole or clearing), from the fact that he bought land on which there was an Indian field, on which there were bearing apple trees when the whites arrived. Riley afterward retired to the Saginaw country, where he died in His first wife was buried on and since known as the " Fitz Patrick " place, and, as the roads came to be straightened and worked, her body was exhumed and stolon away. One of the chiefs of this tribe, Macompte, went to England previous to this time, and performed the feat of shooting an apple, held in the lingers of one of the royal family, with his rifle. The bullet pierced the apple, and the hand was unhurt. Tip-se-co, an Indian well known to the settlers of Macomb, also made a visit to the same country. He was a man of great speed and skill in wrestling, his principal feat being to run to a stake ten rods away and return before a horse and rider could make the like trip. This Indian is still living in Isabella County.
The next family in the place was that of Potter; then Welch, Moore, Slater. Mansfield, etc. The first death was that of Bird, the first school-teacher, who was born in a lot a little south of the Congregational Church, which Wells had designed for a cemetery. The wife of Joshua Eaton was the next to be buried here. Her body was afterward removed, but that of Bird still lies where it was placed.
In the winter of 1836-87, an Indian went out hunting and did not return. A heavy snow-storm prevailing at the time obliterated all traces of him and, although a thorough search was made, he could not be found. One day in spring, 1837, as Hartford Phillips was piloting a few lumberers through the woods, a gun was discovered standing by a tree, and, near by the body of the missing Indian, crushed beneath the fallen tree, which he had chopped down. The Indians identified the body and buried it Three years later, the little settlement was called to mourn its first fatal accident the death of Anthony Wells. About this time. Carleton Sabin purchased of Wells the eighty-acre lot on which the southwest corner of the village is located, and lots were generally sold over the plat. It was discovered that an excellent water-power existed here, which was developed in 1840 by Gel Rix and Dr. Sabin. The latter built a saw-mill, while the former built a flouring- mill, The nearest post office was six miles distant, at Phillip Cudworth's; but now the Memphians sought for an office of their own, which they did not succeed in obtaining until eight years later. The naming of the village was then taken up. Belle River passes through the northern portion of the village, and so some of its inhabitants urged the adoption of the name Belleview. Others, who admired James G. Birney and his party, desired it should be named Birney; while others urged the name Riley, in honor of the Indian chief who resided there. The name Memphis was suggested at length, and adopted. The first physician was Dr. Sabin, who come in 1844, and remained there until 1854. He was succeeded in practice by Dr. Cole.
The first religious services held in the " Wells Settlement was at the house of Mr. Wells and was conducted by Mrs. Chilson, whose son now lives in the village. This woman was a member of tho M. E. Church, and, having the ability to address an audience in public, she thought herself called to preaching, which she did on many occasions. This was in the year of 1837. Soon after this, Elder Simons also preached in tho house of Mr. Wells. In 1839, a Baptist Church was formed at the house of William Smith, who lived south of the village. The members at the organization were William Smith. William Wells, George William and Deborah Simmons and their mother, Mrs. William Smith, Johanna Eaton and wife, J. Eaton, Jr., and wife, Solomon Eaton, old Mrs. Wells and Durfee Simmons, who was chosen Deacon. A house of worship was built for the church just formed, in the south part of the settlement, on the east side of the street. This was a small building, and was afterward removed south and turned into a dwelling house. No other edifice of that denomination has since been erected. During the summer of 1837, a Sabbath school was organized, which was not under tho care of any denomination, but joined in by all. Sabbath school exercises have been held almost continuously since that time.
The Methodist class was the next to be formed, and in 1840 the Congregational Church was formed. This was effected at the house of Deacon A. Gilbert, under the advice and direction of Rev. Seth Hardy, of Romeo. Seventeen members constituted the church at its organization, six of whom were from Romeo. Their house of worship was built in 1842. The Methodist house was erected a few years later. The first pastor of the Congregational Church was Rev. Charles Kellogg, in 1841. He was succeeded by Rev. W. P. Russell, who labored with the church for the welfare of the community from July, 1848, to the time of his death, in 1880. The first school was taught by Mr. Bird, in a small log schoolhouse which stood on the west side of the village, in the town of Riley. This man was a great believer in the efficacy of the "birch" in subduing the total depravity of average childhood, and it was perseveringly applied on the slightest provocation. The first female teacher was Harriet Stewart.
Marriages were undoubtedly celebrated at an early date, but who was first doth not yet appear. Miron Salisbury and Amelia S. Ellenwood were the first couple married by Rev. W. P. Russell, and he did his work in so satisfactory a manner that he was called upon afterward to unite the fates of 396 pairs.
The first frame building was a barn erected for Anthony Wells; the first house, a small frame one, by Mr. Rix; but the first substantial residence was that of Lewis Gilbert, in 1840, which is doing good service still. The first store was that of Oel Rix, who had a small stock of goods to meet the needs of his workmen. Among the first settlers of Memphis still living among us may be mentioned Hartfort Phillips, who was born in Chenango County, N. Y., in 1800, and came to Memphis in 1836, having lived here continuously since that time. His wife, Polly Wade, of Rhode Island, a descendant of Roger Williams, of Puritan fame, died in 1879, at the age of seventy-three years. There are others also who have given the helping hand to all the industries and improvements of the village, and to them all we say, peace to the closing days of life, and joy in the bright hereafter.
The village of Memphis was incorporated in the South Schoolhouse, on the 4th day of April, 1865. The name was given some ten years previously. A portion of the citizens wished the young village to have the name Birney. after J. G. Birney. Others wanted the name Belleview, as the Belle River passed through the place. Tho name Memphis, however, prevailed, which was given after the Egyptian city, and custom has made firm the name then suggested. An election was held on the date above given, at which the following were chosen: Sherman S. Eaton. President; Lewis Granger, Linus Gilbert, Oel Rix, Solon Spafford, Joseph M. Beach, Hiram Burk, Trustees; L. G. Sperry. Clerk; Orrin Granger, Treasurer.
The principal village officers from USIIO to the present time are as follows:
1860—Sherman S. Eaton, President; Clark B. Hall, Clerk; O. Granger, Treasurer.
The village election passed off very quietly in April, 1882. There were three tickets in the field, designated the Village, People's and Flag. Only 175 tickets were cast, of which 28 were straight—Village, 19; People's 5; Flag, 4. A large amount of slipping was done by different candidates. Below is the result of the election: For President—Sanford M. Stone (village). 132; Oscar S. Burgess (people's), 36; scattering, 4.
For Trustees—Adam W. Reed (village and flag), 91; Zenas Corey (village and flag), 136; Theodore Miller (village and flag), 1*9; August Beier (people's), 29; John M. Johnson (people's), 92; George W. Weston (people's), 74; scattering. 2. For Clerk Adelbort T. Sutton (village). 108; Addison G. Stone (people's), 57; A. Martin Keeler scattering, 3.
For Treasurer -William H. Acker (village), 138; Thomas Conway (people's), 81.
For Assessor -Simon H. Heath (village), 133; William D. Clark (people's), 30; John M. Johnson (flag), 10; scattering, 2.
For Street Commissioner—James L. Sutton (village). 120; Ambrose J. Hancock (people's), 54; scattering, 1.
For Constable—William E. Jarvis (village), 137; James M. Hicks (people's), 35; Israel Dryer (flag), 10; scattering, 1.
This loaves the Council the same as in 1881, with the exception of John M. Johnson in the place of E. S. Hunt. Tho result seems to give general satisfaction.
The Memphis Post Office was established in 1848. with Harry Rix as first Postmaster. His successors in office were: F. E. Gilbert, L. S. Gilbert. Thomas Robson, George Robson. S. P. Spafford, James M. Beach, William Jenkinson, Orrin Granger. H. C. Mansfield, and George W. Carman, the present Postmaster.
We complete the history of this township with the biographies of many of its most public-spirited and best citizens. In the pages devoted to them, much that is historically valuable is given.
MRS. SANFORD C. ALLEN (Helen Stone), daughter of Solomon Stone of Richmond Township, was born November 27, 1822; commenced teaching school in New York at the age of fourteen. and taught several terms; married, in 1849, to Sanford 0. Allen, a native of Tompkins County. N. Y.. who engaged in the business of a furniture-dealer at Almont, Lapeer County, where he died in 1852; one son, Sanford C. Allen, born October, 1852; and a son who died in infancy. Mrs. Allen again engaged in teaching most of the time for fifteen years of her residence at Almont. In 1872. Mrs. Allen engaged as teacher in the school at Armada two years of her residence at that place; removed to Richmond Village in 1875. where she now resides. Mrs. Allen has been a faithful and efficient teacher, and is kindly remembered by her numerous pupils. S. C. Allen was born October 18. 1852; received an education at the village of Almont. and was in the drug store of Vincent, at Armada, three years, and, on removing to Richmond, engaged in various pursuits in tho village; was married, July 4. 1880. to Clara Gorshin. of Canada: she was born December 20. 1802; they have one child, Charles B.. born April 3, Mr. Allen is a thorough and active business man, and a Republican in politics,
ASA ALLEN was the son of Barber Allen, a native of Vermont, who afterward removed to Genesee County, N. Y.. and died in 1838; his mother was Mary Peiry a native of Vermont. Asa was born in Genesee County. N. Y. Le Roy Township, October 4, 1825; in 1850, married Ellen Sanford of Genesee, and at once removed to Lenawee and located 100 acres of land, which he improved and sold, going to Eaton County. Mich., and bought 300 acres near the village of Vermontville, which he soon sold, and returned to New York; in 1857, again took the Michigan fever, and arrived in Macomb County March 15 of that year, and bought land in Lenox Township, which he kept eight years, then bought a farm near Richmond Village, and set out 1,100 apple trees and a large quantity of other fruits. While living on this farm, his wife died, January 25, 1807. Frank E., born September 18, 1852; Emma J., born April I, 1856, died in 1878; Kate Alida, born March 10, 1858; Harley F., born October 26, 1862. The three oldest are now living in Oregon. In March. 1877, he sold the farm and erected a residence in the village of Richmond, and entered oh the business of house carpentering three years then engaged in the bale of agricultural implements; ho is at present engaged in the grocery trade in the village. Mr. Allen helped to cut down the first tree used in the erection of the M. E. Church, and has been a member since that time; in politics, a Republican. Father Barber Allen served in the war of 1812, at the siege of Buffalo; grandfather was a soldier of the Revolution, married again. Mrs. D. A. Terry. September 18, 1867: she is a native of Wyoming, N. Y.; one son. Charles, born July 20. 1862.
REV. WILLIAM ALLINGTON was born in England July 15, 1822; was educated in his native country, and ordained as pastor of the Methodist Church; came to America May 12, 1853, and became Pastor of the Baptist Church in Maumee. Ohio; then went to East Toledo, and, in 1860, to Macomb County, staying one year in Armada Village as Pastor of the Baptist Church; he then removed to Richmond Village, where he now resides; during this time, he has traveled over many of the States and Canada, lecturing on scientific and literary subjects, and has maintained services in a great many places in our country, and is still so engaged. He was married, in England, to Miss Passmore; married, again, Miss Thompson, of England, in 1800, at Toledo, Ohio, and has throe children —William, born in September. 1853, now manager of the telephone and telegraph companies of La Salle, Ill.; Harriet, born December 2, 1808; Sarah, July 10, 1870. He entered the army as Chaplain of the Ninety fourth Ohio Volunteer Infantry; was engaged in twelve battles and skirmishes, and injured in three of them; served throe and one-fourth years. Ho and others had raised this regiment at Clark and neighboring counties, and he should have been elected Colonel, for which he was well fitted, having been educated in the military manual of England; but in his absence, political influence was brought to bear, and another man was chosen, and he became Chaplain. His creed in politics is " the best man in tho best place."
ERASTUS M. BEEBE, brother of Henry P. Beebe, was born in Lewis County, town ship of Denmark, October 11, 1809. He took up land here from the Government under the Presidency of Martin Van Buren. He owned the land whereon the village of Richmond now stands, and laid out the plat of the town, and sold lots therein to the value of $25,000 and upward. He was married, by Elisha Granger, in the township of Columbus. March 29, 1838, to Sophronia, daughter of Consider Ewell, of Massachusetts. At the time of this marriage, the contracting parties went in search of a Justice on a couple of ponies bought of Black Cloud, father of the famous Tipseco; the road was not wide enough to drive side by side, so they went Indian file; they found the Justice at work in the fallow: he came to the house and washed his face and performed the ceremony, when they returned to their shanty and held a pioneer feast. They had nine children, seven of whom are living—Helen T. born February 1, 1830: Henry C., born September 18, 1840; Porter E., born October 25, 1843: Marion S. born March 27, 1840; Rhoda A., born October 1, 1847; Eliza M, born August 22, 1850; William S., born December 22, 1853; May R., born October 27, 1854; Sarah R., born June 20, 1858. Mrs. Beebe died August 1, 1867. He was married again, to Mrs. Helen A. Stowe, of New York. Mr. Beebe has never used tobacco in any form, and never drank a glass of liquor, nor paid for one for any one else to drink, Ho is a member of tho Congregational Church. Mrs. Erastus Beebe was a daughter of John Adams, of Dutchess County. N. Y.; his father. Ebenezer Adams, was born in Quincy, Mass., and was a relative of John Quincy Adams; she was born April 25, 1811; was married, in 1820, to D. B. Slow, a native of Columbia County, N. Y., also a Massachusetts man; he died in 1852, in Kingston, N. Y ; she remained a widow twenty years, and, in 1872, married E. Beebe, and has remained in Richmond Village since that time; she is a woman of culture and refinement; on her mother's side, she is a descendant of Chancellor Livingston, of N. Y., and is also a grand-niece of Peter Stuvyvesant, the first Governor of New York; she witnessed many of the scenes of the anti-rent troubles on the Hudson: she was born in Hudson, N. Y., and passed much of her life in that vicinity.
ALEXANDER BEEBE, brother of E. M., came to Macomb County late in the same year, and located land in another part of the town; he kept the hotel in this place a number of years. He married Priscilla Comstock September 14. 1832; raised a family of four children, and died June 2, 1870; Mrs. Beebe died September 23, 1807; their children were Eliza J,,born October 2, 1833, married May 1, 1855; Martha M., born February 15, 1835, married February 25, 1857; Almira, born May 12, 1840, married February 25, 1857; Ann Beebe. born December 17, married March 11, 1866.
HENRY P. BEEBE, son of Henry and Betsey Archer, he a native of Chatham, N. Y., and she of Springfield, Mass.: his father died at Gainesville, N. Y., at the age of fifty years; the mother died at Richmond December 24, 1850, at the age of seventy-nine; was born in Chatham, Columbia Co., N. Y., November 20, 1817; in the year 1818, moved on the Holland Purchase, N. Y.; April, 1830, Chauncy Smith, Sr., and son, Chester, H M. Curtis, John Russell, Hiram Burke, E. Palmer (who afterward went to Jackson County, H. P. and Erastus Beebe, these started from Gainesville on foot for Cleveland; this journey was mode in eight days; then took passage on the steamer Robert Fulton for Detroit, then to Mt. Clemens on foot, to Armada, to the house of Elijah Burk; located the Beebe land in Richmond Township, where the village of Richmond now stands; at a point where the ridge which runs east and west crosses the one running north and south, expecting that a village would be located hero at some time, in which they were correct; the others located near by; they cut the bridge road eight miles form Armada to get here. Mr. Beebe was married, September 22, 1850, to Ellen M., daughter of Jerry Norton, a native of Connecticut; she was born February 27, 183", in Portage County, Ohio; they have had three children—J. Asher, born July 8, 1851, and living at Fort Gratiot; Stella E.. born August 5, 1852, married and lives in Chicago. 111.; May E., born June 5, 1805. Mr. Beebe was Postmaster of the village for thirty years, except about six years, and still holds the office. At first, he was a Whig, but is now a strong Republican. Mr. Beebe was engaged for two years in the copper mines, in 1847 and 1848. Mrs. Beebe has boon a member of the M. E. Church for many years.
LEMUEL BISSELL, son of Lemuel Bissell and Mary Beaumont, was born December 20, 1853, at Ahmednuggur, India; his father, a native of Connecticut, was born at East Windsor in that State; he graduated" from tho Western Reserve College of Ohio, and went as a missionary to India in 1851. Under the A. B. C. F. M.. where they are both still engaged. The subject of this sketch spent the first ten years of his life in India; lived two years in Milan, Ohio, then removed to Mt. Clemens. Mich., to live with his uncle, attended the schools of Mt Clemens, and was under the tuition of tho Rev. H. N. Bissell six years; entered the Western Reserve College; graduated from that institution in 1870; he then in public schools in Kansas; spent three years in Yale Divinity School; graduated this institution in 1880, and at once located as pastor of the Congregational Church at Memphis, Mich., in which place he is still located. He was married, October 20, 1880, to Miss Anna A., daughter of Alfred Wolott, of Boston, Summit Co., Ohio; she was born February 23, 1856; her mother,Mary A. Scoville, was a native of Connecticut; the father, of Ohio; Mrs. Bissell attended the union schools of the county and the seminaries of Hudson; spent four years in Lake Erie Female Seminary at Painesville graduating in 18711.
EGBERT L. BRIGGS, Principal of the Union School or Richmond village, was born at Chestertfield Township. Macomb County, December 27, 1855; he is the son of Jerub Briggs and Harriet Leonard, natives of Yates and Seneca Counties, N. Y., who were pioneers of that township; his mother was a teacher in the public schools of Southern Macomb for a number of years prior to her marriage The subject of this sketch received tho elements of his education in tho schools of his township, then attended the Union School at Utica, this county; thence wont to the university in 1880 and 1881; taught four terms in the public schools, and two years, 1875 and 1876, at New Haven Village; then became Principal of the Union School of the village of Richmond three years; at the close of this engagement, he entered tho university as student; in September, 1881, again accepted the Principalship of tho Union School of Richmond Village, in which he is now engaged. Mr. Briggs is thoroughly identified with the work of education in the county, an active member and officer in its educational organizations, and a member of the State Teachers Association. In political preferences, he is a Republican, and in church relationship, a Congregationalist.
HIRAM BURK, son of Elijah and Hannah (Root) Bark, was born in Oswego County, N. Y., February 17, 1810; his father, a native of Vermont, born at Woodstock; removed to Macomb in the spring of 1833; lived some years, and returned to New York, where he died about 1860, at the age of eighty-seven; his mother, a native of Connecticut, born at Windsor, died at Gainesville, Genesee County, in 1820; the relatives did protective duty both in the Revolutionary war and in the war of 1812. The subject of this sketch received his scanty schooling in the schools of his neighborhood, and worked upon the farm until 1830, when he removed to Macomb, locating land near the village of Richmond, which he cleared up and provided with suitable buildings, and occupied about twenty years, and then sold; remove . to Memphis Village, buying there a farm and tannery, which he soon sold, buying again, in tho same locality, land on which he now lives; on this place he has erected a fine residence and surrounded himself with all tho comforts of life; was married, in 1838, to Harriet Woodruff, of Genesee County; she was born in Litchfield, Conn., in 1815, July 18, Hortense, born September 22. 1845, died November 15, 1848; Francelio, born August 23, 1840, married J. D. Turnbull and lives at Alpena, Mich., a member of Legislature; Eugene, born March 6, 1854, living at home. Mrs. Burk is a member of the Congregational Church. For many years Mr. Burk, was an officer in his township; he was a Whig, and became a Republican at the formation of that party.
JOSEPH G. CARMAN, son of Joseph and Mina (Leete) Carman, she a native of Connecticut and he of Eastern New York, was born in Greene County, N. Y.. May 1, 1819; came to Macomb September 15, 1853; lived in Romeo a short time, and settled in Memphis in 1854, as a farmer, near the village, where he lives at the present time. He was married, September 15, 1840. to Susan Louisa Gould, of Essex County, N. J.; she was born in January, 1811*; they had five sons, only one of whom survives. Mrs. Carman died November 4, 1850. George W. was born in New- York August 28, 1852; lived at home, except three years which he spent in lake survey, until his marriage. October 25, 1870, to Harriet H. Lacy, of New York State, Livingston County, born June 18. 1850; they have two children *Ruth, born July 23, 1877; and Francis L., born August 10, 1880. Mr. George W. Carman has been Treasurer of the township of Richmond two years, and has been Postmaster of the village same time, and holds the office at. the present time. The mother of Joseph Carman, Mina Leete. is a direct descendant of Gov. William Leete, of Guilford, Conn., who was Governor of Connecticut previous to 1083. The Carrnans were descended from two brothers who came from England in 1031, and settled at Roxbury, Mass.
ALEXANDER CASTER, son of John Caster, a native of Pennsylvania, was born in Canada February 3, 1829; with his father, he removed to Michigan about 1851, and settled in Sanilac County; here his father died in the year 1850; his mother died a few years previous, Mr. Caster began life for himself as a blacksmith; afterward as a farmer in that county, and as engineer of the mills of that and other places; removed to Macomb in 1855, and was an engineer some years; also owned a farm in Richmond, near the village. In 1873, December 18, he married Miss Elizabeth, daughter of Solomon Stone, of Richmond Township; they have two children—Mabel, born November 3. 1875; Charles A., July 21, 1879. In 1870, he erected a tine residence on Ridge street, in which he now lives. In politics, he is a Republican.
WILLIAM CASTER was born in Canada May 2, 1819; his parents were natives of Pennsylvania, and died at Lexington. Mich.; Mr. Caster removed to Sanilac County in 1843, and bought a lot of land, which he improved and sold in 1853, and, the following Spring removed to Richmond Township, where ho bought a farm: this he soon sold, and then removed to the village of Richmond, where he now resides. Mr. Caster was married, in 1843, to Miss Jane Elliott, who was born in August, 1823; they have no children; they are prominent in the Free Methodist Church in the village, and he is a Republican.
DR. W. D. CLARK was born in the town of Clarkson, Monroe Co.. N. Y., August 21: 1841: his father. Harley C Clark, was a native of Now York: his mother, Julia Loring. a native of Massachusetts, both of English descent; his grandfather. Steven Clark, served in the war of the Revolution. W. D. received his early education in a district school at Webster's Mills, Monroe Co., N. Y.; when fourteen years of age, moved to Rochester, N. Y., and there graduated at No. 14 High School; in 1850, commenced the study of dentistry with Briggs & Doolittle. in Albion. N. Y.; after three years study, removal to Erie, Penn., and there worked for Dr. Chapin one year; while there, commenced the study of medicine (allopathic); in 1863, received a call from Dr. S. Barns, of the United States Army, and joined his staff as an assistant. In 1866, he came to Michigan and commenced the practice of dentistry at Monroe, at the same time taking up the study of homoeopathy with Dr. A. S. Sanger; in the fall of 1866-67, also in 1867, attended lectures at Ann Arbor (Michigan) University; in 1872, February 12. he graduated from the Cleveland Hospital College, where he also received an extra diploma for his superior skill as a surgeon; he then returned to Monroe, Mich., and continued the practice of medicine and surgery with Dr. A. S. Sanger, his former preceptor, for four years: the 17th of March, 1882, he came to Richmond, Macomb Co., Mich. Dr. Clark was among the first to organize the State Homoeopathic Society, and held the Chairmanship of the Board of Censors for several years: he still belongs to tho above society: he has built up a large practice in this place, and has been very successful as a practitioner, and especially noted as a surgeon. He was married, January 31. 1871, to Miss Emma, daughter of Lyman Cummings, of Ontario County. N. Y.; his children are Abigail, born January 28. 1873: Bertha, May 22, 1870: Harley C, born December I, 1881. Mrs. Clark was horn in Ontario County, N. Y., April 4, 1848.
JAMES W. COOPER, a merchant of Richmond Village, was born in Herkimer County, County, N. Y., September 30, 1819, son of Fred Cooper, of New England and Hannah Sterling, of same place- Mr. Cooper attended school in the common schools of the place, worked at the builders' trade seventeen years; in 1857, engaged in the grocery and feed business in the city of Syracuse. N. Y.. two and a half years, and returned with a loss of all he had invested; he then removed to Richmond Village and engaged in the business of buying and selling hoops; this he made a profitable business; after three years, built a stave mill in the village, and soon after engaged in mercantile pursuits, with other men as partners at various times: the stave mill was destroyed by tire in INTO; the same business was destroyed eight years later; in 1878. He was principal in the erection of the Cooper & Miller Block; in addition to this, he has added a line hotel and a complete stock of dry goods, fancy goods, boots, shoes, etc., which he owns in company with his son. James P. Cooper. He was married, December 1, 1847, to Miss Louisa H. Allen, born August 24, 1823, in Vermont Their children are —Alfloutta, born Jan. 1, 1850, died Feb. 4, 1850; Frances H., born in Oswego Feb. 23, 1853, married and lives in Romeo: Ella, born in Oswego June 13, 1854, married and lives in Toronto: James P., born in Syracuse August 24, 1858. James P. Cooper, son of above, in company with his father in the store, was married. October 10, 1880, to Mary Stevens, daughter of William Stevens, of Riley Center; she was born February 5, 1860, Howard, born October 14, 1881. Mr. Cooper is still in the stave manufacture in company with Rapelye; is connected with the Richmond Driving Park Association, and President of the same. In politics, he is a Democrat.
THOMAS DAWSON was born in Lancashire, England, in the cotton manufacturing districts of that country, May 2, 1820; emigrated to Canada in 1840, where he lived near Toronto Canada West, seventeen years, as a former, currier and school teacher; was married, in Canada, October 29, 1843, to Mary Brooks, a native of Canada, and had seven children, all of whom are living, two on the homestead. Mrs. Dawson died January 27, 1878; was married again, March 23, 1870, to Mrs. Belinda Braddock (Champion), a native of Lyme, Conn, born March 20, 1820; her first husband died in Philadelphia: second died in Bay City: removed to Michigan in February, 1857, and settled in Great Berville, St. Clair County, where he was a farmer twelve years: from here he removed to the vicinity of Romeo, where he bought the Canfield and Snover farms, near the village, which he kept four years; he then sold this and purchased the Linns Gilbert farm, at Memphis. Mich., and removed to that place, where he now lives: previous to coming to Macomb, he was Supervisor of Grant Township seven years; also in Macomb eight years, except one year; was the Secretary of all committees connected with the building of court house and jails of Macomb County from 1880 to 1882 and has been a valuable aid to them all; also owns, together with his son, the Rochester Flouring-Mill of Oakland County: first became a voter in 1850, and has been identified with the Republican party since that time.
ERASTUS DAY, Sr. born at Dalton, Mass., in August 1780: he is the son of Daniel Day, born July 21, 1747: of Benjamin, born February 7 1709; of John, born 1677; of John Day, of Hartford, the son of Robert and brother of Thomas Day, who emigrated to America in April, 1634, with his wife, Mary, and on arriving settled at Newton, now Cambridge, Muss. Erastus Day was a farmer in Massachusetts: while still young, he moved with his parents to Otsego County. N. Y.. where he was married to Lucy Willard, of Worcester. Mass. at the close of the year 1807. In 1812. Mr. Day moved into Canada—not, however, as a U. E. Loyalist, as he refused to join the British troops; he remained in Canada several years; next made his home at Lima, N. Y., for a few years, and came to Michigan in May, 1820, locating lands on Section 20, Bruce, where he resided until he died, July 12, 1830. His children were Erastus, now residing in Richmond Township: John W., a resident of Mason, Ingham County; Russell, died at Armada June 1880; Dan. W. living at Greenville, Montcalm County; Levi, a physician of Grandville, Kent County: Lucinda who married Volney Day, a resident of Kalamazoo: and Lucy, who died at home, in New York, in infancy." Mr. Day's early settlement in Macomb is alluded to in the general history of the county, as well as in that of the northern townships. Mrs. Day. born in August, 1780, formerly Miss Lucy Willard, died in 1855, aged seventy-five years: her remains were brought from Kalamazoo, where she was staying with her daughter, and interred in the cemetery near where she first settled in Michigan.
ERASTUS DAY, Jr., son of the old settler just referred to, was born in Otsego County, N. Y., October 15, 1808; settled with his parents on Grenadier Island, of the St. Lawrence River, in 1812; returned to Lima. N. Y„ in 1822, and remained there until December, 1825, when he left Lima for Michigan, in company with Addison Chamberlin, Sylvanus Taft and a young physician, who located in Rochester; the trip was made overland through Canada on a sleigh, via Detroit, to a point two miles northwest of Romeo; the streams and rivers were frozen, so that the incidents of spring or fall travel wore not experienced; the party took possession of a log shanty, built the year previous by Capt. Gad Chamberlin and his son, who visited the place in 1824; here they made their winter's home, played cards for the privilege of cooking johnny-cake, and so amused themselves until spring time, when they began to prepared for the coming of their families. Mr. Day, Sr., and his family, arrived in June, 1820, and lived for two months in the shanty erected by the Chamberlins, Mr. Day. Jr., received a promise from his father that, if ho would buy him a yoke of cattle, his time would be given; the proposition was accepted, and to perform his part, he entered the employ of Capt Chamberlin at $9 per mouth, and, after a period of seven months, a yoke of oxen was given him, which was equivalent to his pay for that time, which oxen he delivered to his father. Before he attained the age of twenty-one, he purchased a yoke of steers and eighty acres of land located north of Almont, together with the oxen presented to his father, all resulting from his own labors. After his term of employment with Capt. Chamberlin was concluded, he chopped fifteen acres of land in the neighborhood of John Mellen's residence, at Romeo, and previously took an important part in clearing the site of that village; he purchased an eighty-acre lot north of St, Clair street and east of the railroad, of which he cleared fifteen acres in 1831; this land he sold, and bought 150 acres now known as the Thompson farm, which he also sold; in 1883, he purchased 105 acres on Section 18, Armada, where he built the first house in the northern sections of that township, now occupied by George Warner; this property he owned until March 17, 1870, when he sold it to the present occupant Mr. Day was married to Mrs. Catherine Donaldson Smith, widow of Alanson Smith, of Mendon, Genesee Co.. N. Y.; the ceremony was performed at Romeo, by Rev. Luther Shaw. February 0, 1833, in the old Hoxie log house; to this marriage two daughters were born—Lucy, who married Levi W. Crawford, and who is now r. resident of Stanislaus County, Cal.; and Mary, married James Palmer, died January 31, 1866. Mrs. Day died October 17, 1835. For his second wife he married Betsey Day, daughter of Capt. Harry Day, of Erie County, Penn., September 13, 1830; to them six children were born, three of whom are living—John E.,born January 11, 1838; Malvina, born May 22, 1839; and Nancy. September 1, 1851. The former resides in Richmond Township; Malvina married F. L. Beckwith, is now a resident of Oakland. Cal.; Nancy married L. B. Vandecar, of Isabella County. Of the children deceased, Harry was drowned May 27, 1844; Sarah died in infancy in 1843; and Martha died August 30, 1873. During the trying years from 1864 to 1866, he was Supervisor of Armada; has been Justice of the Peace from 1839 to 1872; was the first Assessor of the town in 1834: he has tilled many other town offices, and has taken a very important place in the building-up of the northern townships for the last fifty-seven years; also served as Captain of the Independent Rifle Company of Macomb in the Toledo war. and succeeded in drawing one month's pay: previous to this war. he served in the military commands of his county, and was promoted gradually until the period when peace was declared between Ohio and Michigan, when he was mustered out. Mrs. Day taught school in Erie County, and. after coming to Macomb, in 1835 taught the first school in District No. 8 of Armada. Mr. and Mr* Day belong to the Congregational Church, and are Republicans.
JOHN E. DAY son of Erastus Day, Jr., was born in Armada Township January 11, 1838; from that time until 1865. he resided with his parents, devoting his attention to agriculture and education: he attended the district school until 1855, when he went to the Romeo Academy, under Daniel B. Briggs and continued to study until 1850. From this period until 1865 he was engaged on the farm; in August of the latter year, he entered into partnership with Alex. Shelp. and opened a carriage, wagon and farm implement factory at Romeo, which proved very successful, and would doubt loss have continued to advance had not the fires of July 1867 destroyed the building, machinery and stock; the firm rebuilt and established the factory, which was operated until February 1868, when J. E. Day sold his interest to Milton H. Thomson, receiving in consideration the tract of ninety-two acres known as the Thomson farm, in Ray Township; for the succeeding six years, Mr. Day carried on this farm, until its sale to A. H. Shelp in 1871; in 1875. he removed hack to the homestead iu Armada, and lived there until March 1870, when he located on the James Flower farm. Section 30. Richmond Township. Mr. Day's connection with the schools of Armada and Richmond is of the happiest character; he was elected School Inspector in 1850; held that office continuously until the Inspectorship was abolished; in 1877. he was elected Township Supervisor of Schools, which position he now holds; in 1870, was elected Secretary of the Sunday School Association. Macomb, and Secretary of the Macomb County Pioneer Society in 1880. Mr. Day has hold the office of Secretary of the Historical Society, Union Farmers Club, and Director of the County Agricultural Society. With the spirit born of education, he has taken a deep interest in the history of his native county, and has for a number of years contributed interesting historical sketches to the press of Michigan, as well as to the archives of the State Pioneer Society. Since 1877, he has born associated with the press of the county. He was married, December 30, 1861 by Prof. John Morgan. D. D.. to Miss Sarah C. Judson, daughter of Isaac Judson, of Oberlin, Ohio, born at Wakeman, Huron Co.. Ohio. October 23, 1842; they have three children—Nellie M., born January 6. 1807; Erastus. May 25, 1868; and Fanny June 4, 1872; a fourth child, Flora D. born October 7. 1862. died June 10. 1865. Isaac Judson, father of Mrs. Day. is a native of Connecticut, born at Woodbury in 1797. Mrs. Judson was also a native of Connecticut, who settled in Huron County, Ohio, with her family about the year 1831; she died September 21, 1851, aged forty-four years. Mr. Judson is a fine type of the old Puritan stock—firm in the orthodox faith, a strong advocate of temperance, and anti-slavery in politics. Both Mr. and Mrs. Day are members of the Congregational Church of Armada, and are Republican in politics.
BENJAMIN F. DOTY, son of Elias and Zeviah (Jayne) Doty, was born in Oakland County, town of Rose, January 14, 1852; spent his early life on a farm in Oakland County; he engaged in breaking up new land, it not being in condition for culture; he attended the public schools of the neighborhood, and entered the Union School at Fentonville at the age of sixteen, then attended the Detroit Commercial College, received his diploma in 1871 and the following year engaged in the store of Cooper, Heath &. Co. Richmond, Mich., as bookkeeper until 1879; he erected a store in the Cooper Block, and filled it with a new stock of boots and shoes and groceries: soon after, entered into partnership with C. H. Knight in the dry goods line; this continued one year; at this time, he bought the interest of his partner, and continued in the trade alone; he has two stores devoted to the business, and keeps a fine stock and desirable goods; aside from this, he conducts, in company with Theodore Milter, a clothing store in the Miller Block since 1880. He was married June 11, 1874 to Miss Marilla H. Gleason, daughter of Mathias Gleason, of Pennsylvania; she was born December 19, 1850, at Townville; Edna, born March 26, 1878. Her father was a soldier of the rebellion; served two years, and was discharged at the close of the war; her grandfather was a soldier of the Revolution; in politics, a Republican.
ALFRED A. DRESSER, son of George Dresser, was born in Canada October 10, 1862; his father moved to Macomb, settling on Clay street, Richmond Township, where he died in 1876. The subject of this sketch attended the schools of the neighborhood; is a persevering student, a constant reader, and a young man of good habits and principles.
MRS. RACHEL DRESSER, widow of George Dresser, was born in Canada December 3, 1845; she is the daughter of William McLane, of Canada; she was married in Canada, and removed to Macomb in 1868. settling on a farm on Clay street, on Section 82, where she still resides; her children are Robert V.. born January 23, 1809; William, born March 28, 1871; and a step-son. Alfred A. Dresser, born October 10, 1862. She conducts the farm of eighty acres; she has, by good management, provided herself with all the comforts of life. In form of worship, she is a Baptist. Her husband died February 10. 1876.
MRS. CHESTER L. DUDLEY (Lydia Leete Carman) was born in Greene County. N. Y., June 18, 1816; came to Memphis with the Carman family in 1854; she had been a teacher of young ladies in New Jersey. She was married, August 29, 1860, to Chester L. Dudley, at Almont, Lapeer County and removed to Memphis in 1807, where Mr. Dudley died June 24, 1879. Mrs. Dudley is a member of the Congregational Church of the village and a worker in the Sabbath school and in society. Mr. Dudley was born in Berkshire Mass, July 4, 1800: came to Michigan and settled in Memphis in 1855; he was a prominent man in all the interests of the society, village and township.
SHERMAN S. EATON, son of William and Hannah P. Shattuck, was born in Jefferson County. N. Y.. September 25, 1822; his parents were natives of New Hampshire: they moved from New Hampshire to the State of New York in the year 1818, and settled in Jefferson County, where Sherman was born: they moved from there to Niagara County. New York, in 1827; the father died in Tompkins County, N. Y., in 1845; the mother died in 1850. in Essex. Essex Co. N. Y. Sherman, when but a boy, commenced working in a woolen factory at Burlington. Vt., in the year 1833; he and his mother then removed to the head of Lake Champlain. on the place now known as Whitehall; he then commenced to drive on the tow-path on the Erie Canal, and rose from the position of driver to that of Captain in the year 1845: in the meantime, he had acquired some skill in the art of molding, and, in the year 1846, on the 12th day of June, he arrived in Michigan and worked two and a half years for Dexter Mussey as a molder; he then started in business for himself in a small foundry at Armada; he succeeded in accumulating some property there, and, in the year 1852, he removed to the village of Memphis, Macomb County: when he came to Memphis, there was but one shop, a blacksmith, which was kept by William Betts. and a small store; the first year, Mr. Eaton was obliged to go to Armada for supplies to live upon; h© continued his business, which proved a success, and it is now a leading enterprise in the village. His wife, Eliza, was the daughter of Andrew Conklin, of Herkimer County. N. Y., and was born May 14, 1827; they had two sons and two daughters, only one of whom is living—Emery, born March 16, 1862. Mrs. Eaton died January 15, 1868, at Memphis. He was married again, November 24, 1869, to Miss Katie A., sister of the former wife. He has held important offices in the township and society; he belongs to the enterprising, industrious class of citizens. Politically, he is a member of the Republican party.
WILLIAM F. FENNER son of Turner Fenner, of Connecticut, was born January 27, 1803, in Onondaga County, N. Y.; he moved to the township of Washington about 1836. and located a farm there; this he sold in 1853 and removed to Richmond Township, settling on Section 14, on a farm of 160 acres; also owned 120 acres close by. He was married, in New York State, to Emily Amesbury, and had a family of five children, all at home. His wife died, and ho afterward married Betsey Martin Graves, a native of Western New York. Cayuga County; she was born December 24, 1800. Of the last family, there were three children, only one of whom is living. Mrs. Fenner died May 30, 1880. Mr. Fenner is still living, at the age of seventy-nine years.
FRANK W. FENNER, son of W. Fenner, was born in the township of Washington May 10, 1848: at the age of five years, his parents moved to the township of Richmond, where he attended school in the neighborhood, and at Memphis, under the tuition of Clark Hall, and gave his attention to farming: he succeeded to the ownership of the homestead, and was married, September 30, 1874, to Miss Frank E. Ambrose, daughter of Thomas Reed, of Monroe County, Mich.; she was born May 31, 1850; they have one adopted child, Edna, born March 31, 1874. Mr. Fenner is an intelligent and prosperous farmer, making the raising of horses a specially. He was elected Treasurer of the township of Richmond in 1881, which office he still holds. Politically, he is a Republican; religiously, he is a Baptist. The relatives on the mother's side were soldiers in the Revolution.
DANIEL FLAGLER was born in Albany County, N. Y., May 14, 1814; he is the son of John and Gertrude Bogart Flagler; are natives of Dutchess County, N. Y. In 1835, Mr. Flagler moved to Canada, and, in the fall of 1830, came to Armada. Mich. In April, 1838, he settled on his farm on Section 31. Richmond Township, where he has since resided. He was married. May 2. 1835, to Serena Smith, a native of Albany County, N. Y. The record of their seven children is as follows: George, born May 30, 1836. died October 24, 1836; Alonzo, born May 16, 1838, married Jane Lemon and lives in Oakland County, Mich.; Myron, born August 14, 1840. was killed at the battle of Murfreesboro in 1862; Emma E.. born May 7, 1845. married Carlton N. Brown and resides in this township; Henrietta, born July 1. 1849; Winfield born October 29. 1850, married Mary A. Thomas and resides at Yellow Springs, Ohio; Louisa, born October 9, 1852, married Timothy P. Turner and resides on the homestead. Mr. Flagler has been a Republican since the organization of the party; he has served several successive years as Supervisor of the township, and has been Justice of the Peace for twelve years. In 1840, he joined the Union Church, and afterward connected himself with the Christian society.
CHARLES S. GILBERT, son of Isaac and Rhoda A. (Sage) Gilbert, was born at Memphis January 13, 1842; his father, a native of Massachusetts, was born in 1810; the mother was born in Connecticut in 1811; both are living at Ypsilanti. Mich. Charles Gilbert spent his early life on the farm on which he was born; attended school at the village, and was married, in 1866, December 18, to Matilda Pierce, daughter of Isaac C. Pierce, a native of England, where Mrs. Gilbert was born February 13, 1839. Their children are as follows: Leah, born January 31, 1808; Lillie. born April 11, 1869; Burton L, born July 5, 1870; Halmer, born November 18, 1871; Jessie, born November 4, 1873; Emma, born July 26, 1875; Georgiana, born February 20. 1877. Mr. Gilbert received a portion of the homestead farm, situated just south of the village of Memphis, on which he has resided since that time, having made many improvements upon it; a Congregationalist in worship, and a Republican in politics. Mrs. Gilbert received her primary education at the schools of St Clair City, and entered the Albion Female College in 1857, and remained two years; on leaving the school, she engaged as teacher of the public schools, a calling in which she had previously been engaged; she taught in all nineteen terms, and always with satisfaction to pupils and patrons; she has for many years been a member of the Congregational Church of the village. Mr.G. enlisted in Company E, Fifth Cavalry, and served seven months; discharged on account of an accident.
DR. DAVID G. GLEASON, son of Joseph Gleason and Margaret (Francisco), natives of Vermont, was born in Allegany County, N. Y., September 26, 1825; the family moved into the State of Pennsylvania in 1834; stayed nine years, then removed to Livingston County, N. Y., where David attained majority; studied at Middlebury Academy and at Birmingham, Mich.; studied medicine, and began practice in the township of Chesterfield, Macomb County, in 1848; continued the practice at this place seventeen years, then removed to the village of Richmond, bought a piece of land on Main street and built a house and store, and, six years after, bought the farm known as the Norton farm, a little north of the village, which he conducts, together with his practice; at the time of the purchase of the farm, he was engaged in the business of general store, a blacksmith shop and a livery stable, besides his practice of medicine, thus making business to thrive and giving employment to a large number of people; he afterward, in 1809, built the first brick block in the village, which he still owns; he was one of the originators of the cheese factory in the village, and owns one-third of the same; in 1878, he. in company with Lathrops, built the second block, making three stores owned by Gleason; one of these he occupies as a drug store, and the other two are rented. He was married. January 27, 1851, to Miss Lucretia Mathews, daughter of Charles B. Mathews, of Chesterfield, native of Oswego County, N. Y.; she was born in Chesterfield February 24, 1836: Elmer P.. born February 18,1855; Ella, born February 18, 1855 (a twin), died May 6, 1858; Allie, born June 0, 1862. Mrs. Gleason's people were pioneers of Chesterfield, having moved to that township and erected a large log hotel, which was on the first Gratiot Turnpike, just then being built; this was made the point at which the Indians of that locality received their annual appropriations from the Government,, and was often the scene of much excitement. Mr. Mathews died May 5, 1809. at the age of sixty-six: his wife died in 1878, aged seventy years; both died at the Doctors house, in Richmond. In politics, the Doctor is a Democrat.
DR. FRED M. GARLICK. son of Horace and Nancy (House), was born at Detroit, Mich., June 15, 1849; he received his primary education at Romeo, under the tuition of D. B. Briggs, and at Armada; entered the Medical Department of the University of Michigan in 1809; graduated from the Detroit Medical College June '28, 1871, and entered upon the practice of medicine at Waterford, Oakland Co., Mich., one year; thence removed to Armada, where he remained about three years; from there to Port Sanilac, where he remained till 1881, when he took up his residence in Richmond, where he is still in the practice. On leaving Waterford, the citizens of that place presented him a paper expressing confidence and esteem in the ability and worth of the Doctor as a citizen and a physician, and regrets for his leaving thorn, and expressing a hope of a return to that place: this was signed by more than fifty of the citizens of the village; letters of a like character are in receipt by the Doctor from other places where he has lived. He was married. May 20, 1872, to May Bentley, daughter of E. R. Bentley; she was born at Marcellus, this county, September 13, 1852; children as follows: May E.. born June 0, 1873; Edwin H., born in Sanilac June 24, 1877, died November 7. 1879; Edith M., born in Sanilac June 12. 1879; Fred B., born March 1. 1881. Mr. Garlick is a young man of energy and skill in his practice; a member of the Detroit Academy of Medicine; in belief, a Congregationalism and in politics, a Republican.
ORRAN GRANGER, son of Thaddeus and Julia E. (Manly), was born in Akron, Ohio, August 26, 1823; his father was born in Sandisfield, Mass.; moved to Ohio about 1810, and died in 1826; the mother, a native of same place, died in Memphis Village in I860. The subject of this sketch was a carriage-painter, having learned that business in Ohio; left the business and the State in 1848, arriving in Memphis in July of that year, and engaged in mercantile trade two years, then was a traveling salesman eight years, at which time he again engaged in trade, in company with his brother Lewis, three years; then engaged in the same line of trade alone, in which he is still employed; the business has grown from an investment of $500 to §12,000. He was married, July 10, 1840, to Miss Harriet Hose, of Cuyahoga Falls, born in September, 1823: George M., born July 10, 1841, living in Detroit; Charles W., August 15, 1843, living in Chicago. Mrs. Granger died in 1847. Mr. Granger was married again, October 4, 1840, to Sarah A. Ashly. daughter of David Ashly, of Vermont; she was born November 14, 1828: Isabella, born July 17, 1850, died September 12, 1850; Herbert A.. February 23, 1852, died May 12, 1853; Carrie A. Granger, born October 2. 1854, living at Memphis; and an adopted child. C. Gus, born June 18, 1865. An officer in village and in society: a member of the Masonic fraternity; a Republican in politics, and prominently identified with the improvements of the village.
DANIEL HALL, son of Benjamin and Beulah (Fowler) Hall, born in North Guilford. New Haven Co.. Conn.. October 26. 1807. His grandfather. William Hall, came from England in 1600. in company with one Thomas Norton, and Grace, his wife, and settled on the present site of North Guilford. His mother. Beulah Fowler, was of Dutch descent. Daniel Hall was married, in December. 1831. to Sarah D.. daughter of Jerry Norton, of Ohio; she was then visiting friends in Connecticut. In the following spring, the young couple went out to Ohio; here their eldest son. Edward W. was born: also two children who died in infancy. A*tor a four-years' stay in Burton. Ohio, they moved to Macomb County and settled on land taken from the Government, cutting a road one and a half miles to reach the place. Mr. Hall immediately began to develop the new farm and make his home; on this place the family still reside; shortly after coming to Michigan, they lost another infant child; their other children were as follows: Daniel Webster, born in North Guilford. Conn., while his parents were there on a visit, now deceased; Eunice, died at the age of seven years; Adaline. born May 30, 1840. married T. Ward and lives at Richmond Village: Emma, born January 24. 1843, married Ransom Odeon. now living at Romeo; Caroline, born August 16. 1848. married Charles Mills and lives in Richmond Township; Joseph A. and Benjamin R., was born March 20. 1851: the former lives on the homestead, and the latter on a farm adjoining. The first school in this part of the town was kept in a part of Mr. Hall's house, partitioned off by a blanket; this school is referred to in the general history. The parents of Mrs. Hall were pioneers of Ohio, and moved to Macomb County in 1835; her father died in Ohio in 1866 and her mother in Macomb in 1875. Mr. Hall died January 22. 1880; Mrs. Hall still lives on the home farm, at the age of seventy-three: she has been a member of the M. E. Church for forty-eight years. Webster, son of Mr. Hall, enlisted in the Fifteenth Michigan Volunteer Infantry in the late war; served four years, and was honorably discharged: returned to his home, married and gathered around him a family and many of the comforts of life; he was killed by a threshing machine iu 1875. In the fall of 1860, the family suffered loss by fire; the dwelling house and much of its contents were burned; the next summer they built the present residence; the situation is one of the most pleasant, and the farm a very fertile one. When the cemetery at Richmond was laid out, thirty years ago. Mr. Hall was the first sexton, and acted in that capacity for three years; since then, his son, Edward W. Hall, has been the sexton—a period of twenty-seven years.
JOHN HICKS, one of the old settlers of Macomb County, was born in Ontario County, town of Bristol, N. Y.. October 15. 1803; his father, Otis Hicks, was a native of Attleboro. Mass.: his mother, Betsey Dunham, was a native of the same place. Otis Hicks became sixteen years of age just in time to enlist for the defense of the courts of his native town from the Hays men, who had banded to prevent the sitting of the courts. The family are descended from three brothers, who were Pilgrims, and arrived from England soon after the landing of the Mayflower; was engaged as a farmer in New York; moved to Michigan in 1830, arriving in Macomb in May of that year; the family arrived in the following autumn; started from Detroit the 12th day of October, with a team hired for the purpose, at the rate of $7 per day; the journey required three days, and, when within one- half mile of the end of the journey, the driver upset the wagon and left the goods in the woods, refusing to load them up again; the load consisted of the household effects of the family, the wife and three children, who went on foot most of the way. Mr. Hicks located on eighty acres of land on Section 35, in Richmond, one-half of which is now covered by the village of Richmond. He was married, December 1, 1835, to Catherine Emmons; she was born in Northumberland, Saratoga Co., N, Y., December 1, 1804: have had nine children, six of whom died young, and three—James M. Hicks, born August 17, 1830; Eliza A. Hancock, November 20, 1832; Ophelia Corbin, January 14, 1840. Mr. Hicks has lived in the village of Richmond since 1830, except eleven years spent in Armada Township; he has aided in the development of the county, and seen it emerge from the wilderness to the fruitful land; was a member of the Christian Church in Bristol, and transferred his relations from that to the same church here; Democrat; voted first for Jackson. Mrs. Hicks died November 21, 1875.
JOHN M. JOHNSON was born in County York, Ontario, April 28. 1845, where his people were farmers; moved to Macomb County in March, 1868, and settled on a farm, March, 1860, Section 3, Richmond Township, known as the old Fenton farm, where he remained ten years; thence to Richmond Village March 8, 1879, and engaged in the furniture and undertaking business, which he is still engaged in; was married, February 7, 1869, in Canada, to Mary A. Baker, who died May 20, 1877; was again married, May 6, 1879, to Josie S. Gilbert, daughter of Lines Gilbert, of Memphis; she was born September 15, 1843; they had no children. Mr. Johnson is at Richmond, still in the same line of trade, and merits the patronage of the vicinity in which he lives; in politics, he is a Republican.
ALONZO M. KEELER, son of John and Mary M. (Follows) Keeler, natives of Monroe County, N. Y., she of Schoharie County; the father was born March 18, 1802; the mother, November 8, 1800; they moved to Washington Township in 1820 and settled on Section 35; lived on his farm until 1854, then moved to Disco, where he still resides; they have been prominent in the development of the new country, and have been perhaps the only ones of the new settlers left to each other's company. Mr. Alonzo Keeler received the elements of his education in the schools of the neighborhood where he lived, which was further pursued at Rochester, Mich., and at Oberlin. Ohio; at the age of twenty-one, he began life as a teacher: taught his first school in the Brindle Schoolhouse, and afterward took the Principalship of the Disco Academy from 1850 to 1850, then went to Rochester and taught one year, when he returned and taught two years in Utica. Mr. Keeler taught the first school in the old brick school building in Utica Village, and then the last one, and also taught the first term in the new building. August 7, 1862, he enlisted in Company B, Twenty-second Michigan Volunteer Infantry; raised a company of 115 men in five days, and took them into camp; on the mustering in, Mr. Keeler was elected Captain, was taken prisoner at Chickamauga, and remained a prisoner at Libby and Macon, Ga., one and a half years; was one of the 600 under fire at Charleston; on release from prison, went to parole camp, and entered active service May 15, 1865; was promoted, Jan. 1, 1805, to Major, and afterward to brevet Lieut. Colonel and brevet Colonel; was mustered out July 12, 1865; returned home and began teaching again; he was elected Register of Deeds for the county in 1868 one term; during this time and immediately afterward, he prepared an abstract of the county—a costly and very valuable work: in April. 1875. he removed to the village of Richmond and engaged as the Principal of the Armada Public School, in which place he has since been engaged. He was married, December 31, 1849, to Miss Lucy A, daughter of Channcey Church; she was born in Vermont March 7, 1831, and they have had six children—A. Martin, born December 19, 1850; Flora L., born April 12, 1852; John C, born February 22, 1859; Ezra Bruce, born December 25, 1860; Ella B., born November 6, 1802; Henry A., bora November 4, 1807. Mr. Keeler and wife have been members of the M. E. Church for the past thirty-five years; he has born an officer in the same, a leader in th^ choir, and the Superintendent of the Sunday school, and Trustee in the society; was appointed Collector of the Fifth District under Andrew Johnson, and would not subscribe to "my policy;" the nomination was not confirmed; has always been a Republican since the war, and was a Democrat before.
ROBERT KNIGHT. He is the son of Edward and Elizabeth, daughter of L. Worth, of New Hampshire; was born in Stafford, N. H.. June 1, 1806; moved at an early age to Vermont, where he lived until the death of his parents, when he removed to Orleans County, N. Y., where he was married, in 1828, to Cloe Wage, of Saratoga County, N. Y.: they have one son, Charles S. Mrs. Knight died in Orleans County in August, 1834; married again, April 14, 1835, to Miss Lois R. Chase, of Addison County, Vt., born December 2, 1815. Soon after the second marriage, Mr. Knight took his wife and son, and, in company with a brother and brother-in-law and their families, removed to Michigan, arriving in Macomb County in the fall of 1835. and located a farm in Chesterfield Township, on Section 15; built a log shanty, with shake roof and split basswood for a floor, and a quilt for door and windows, and thus began life in the new county; he sold this farm and bought another near by which he still owns, and on which a son is still living. In 1873, Mr. Knight left the farm and removed to the village of Richmond, where he still resides; has had a family of eight children, four of whom are living in the county. Mr. Knight was an officer in the early history of Chesterfield, active in building roads and in the improvement of the place: first a Whig, and afterward a Republican.
CHARLES KNIGHT, son of Robert Knight, a native of New Hampshire, and Cloe Wage Knight, of New York, was born in Orleans County in April, 1829; removed with his father's family to Macomb County in 1835; lived with his father's family until marriage, which took place May 4, 1859, to Miss Helen C. Haskin; she was born August 20, 1840, and died November 17. 1806; they had one child, Mary E., born July 29. 1862; married again. May 7, 1808. to Mrs. Maggie G. Hotchkiss; she was born October 26, 1834, and died October 2, 1873; their children are Addie L., born February 27, 1869, died April 13, 1871; Gleason C. September 22. 1873. died November 12,1873; married again, February 18. 1875, to Abbie J. Crittenden; she was born November 17. 1830; she is the daughter of Levi Crittenden, of Massachusetts, who moved to Oakland County in an early day; her grandfather was a participant of the Revolution. After marriage, Mr. Knight engaged in farming until 1805, when he removed to Richmond Village and engaged in merchandise at that village and at White Lake, Oakland Co., Mich., where he remained two years; he engaged in this business, together with the stave and heading business, with Cooper some years; in 1879, sold this store and engaged in the butter and egg business, under the firm name of Freeman & Knight, in which he is at present engaged. Mr. Knight has been a member of the Congregational Church eleven years, and is now Deacon of the church of that faith in Richmond Village; is also Superintendent of the Sabbath school, and was an officer of the township of Chesterfield; always been a Republican.
SETH LATHROP. son of Edward and Emma Andrews Lathrop, was born July 1, 1818, at West Springfield, Mass.; arrived in Macomb County in 1837; lived in Armada until 1842, where he was engaged in farm labor principally until 1840. then built the Lathrop store; in company with Charles, engaged in the mercantile business until 1802, when he moved to Richmond and engaged in the same business, in which he is still engaged. He was married. December 24, 1849, to Polly, daughter of Richard Walker; she was born in New York April 1, 1827, and died July 18, 1854: they had two children— died in infancy. He was married again, in 1850, to Lydia C. McAllister, daughter of George McAllister, of New Hampshire; she was born in Rockingham County. N. H.. March 13, 1832: Alice E.. born March 27, 1859; Seth D.. born February 3, 1801; an infant. September 28, 1804; Emma J., January 20, 1808; Clarence Eugene, March 7. 1870, died March 8. 1873; Mary E., October 4, 1873. Mr. Lathrop was for many years a prominent member of the Congregational Church and the Superintendent of the Sunday school at Armada Village, and, after moving to Richmond, took a prominent position in the Congregational society at that place. Mrs. Lathrop is a leader in the temperance cause, and belongs to the Sabbath school of the place. Mr. Lathrop owns a large farm just at the outskirts of the village, and has erected a tine residence on Main street. He is a Republican. Mrs. Lathrop's relatives were engaged in the war of the Revolution.
THOMAS A. LEACH, son of Capt. Thomas Leach and Electa (Abbot) Leach: his father was a wealthy Captain on the lakes; he owned vessels on Lake Ontario, one of which he was Master of several years; he at last left the scenes of the lakes and returned to a farm in Oakville, Ontario, where he died in 1848. His mother was born in Toronto, whose ancestors were pioneers of the city of Toronto, Canada, and whose farm is now inclosed in the city limits: she is still living in this county. The subject of this sketch was born in Oakville. Ontario. November 14, 1847; attended the schools of his native town, and removed thence to Buffalo, N. Y.; at the age of eighteen, had a position as clerk in a retail store in that city, where he remained two years; while in this store, he was associated with first-class business, where he received a thorough business education; then purchased a store and embarked in the same line of trade for himself, in which he met with remarkable success for eight Years: he sold his entire stock and removed to the village of Richmond, Macomb County, where he established himself in the produce and commission business, being the first to establish a cash market for all kinds of produce, dealing heavily in all kinds of fruit, potatoes, butter, eggs, etc.: this was continued two years, then adding to the business the grocery trade, including the stock purchased of Burgess Bros.; he soon found his trade too large for his rooms; he purchased the large stock of grocery and crockery ware of Cooper & Son. and entered into business in the store known as Cooper Block; remained at the place one and a half years, then sold his entire stock, intending to go out of the grocery trade; soon after, changing his purpose, he bought the stock of S. H. Heath, and added to it fine groceries, crockery and glassware, in which he still continued, together with the produce business. He was married, April 10, 1878, to Emily J. Day, daughter of Capt. Augustus Day and Julia A. (Miner), of Detroit, Mich.; she was born in Detroit October 10, 1840; attended the public schools of that city until 1861, then entered the Detroit Female Seminary and remained until 1871, graduating with high honors; one child, Norwood A., born February 27, 1880. Previous to his marriage, Mr. Leach had purchased a house and lot in the village, and, soon after, bought a farm of forty acres near the village, which his mother now occupies; he is an energetic, aggressive man, and is gaining a very extensive trade; he is a member of the Knights of Honor, and also Free and Accepted Masons, and has held all the offices conferrable by the lodge; he is a Republican in politics; he was elected Trustee of the village by a large majority, which office he now holds.
THEODORE MILLER, son of Caleb Miller and Almica Whittcomb, was born in 1842, July 11, Orleans County, N. Y.; his father arrived in 1846, bought a farm on Section 34, in Richmond, which he kept one year, then moved to Section 20, on the Ridge, and bought a farm now owned by the family; in 1860, built a foundry and plow factory, in which he gained a wide reputation; in 1868, added a grist-mill, run by steam-power; in 1874, moved the foundry to Richmond Village; in 1878, sold the mill, when the business was all taken to the village. Mr Miller died at the farm, in July, 1878. The subject of this sketch was married. October 5. 1808, to Ellen, daughter of Shephard Smith, who was born June 20, 1838. Mr. Theodore Miller removed to the village of Richmond in August, 1873, and engaged in the manufacture of agricultural implements; erected his house, and, in 1878, erected one-third of the Cooper Block, and placed there a complete stock of hardware-- the best-furnished stock in the place, with which his brother is in company; the following season, in company with James W. Cooper, built the Cooper & Miller Block, on the west side of Main street, in which he, with B. F. Daty, have a clothing store; the manufacture of implements is still carried on, and is an important branch of industry in the village. He has three children—Adelbert, thirteen years: Nellie, eleven years; and Annie, eight years.
JOHN A. PATON, "son of John and Margaret Wilson Paton, natives of Scotland, was born near Amherst burg, Ontario, March 12, 1840; came to Macomb County with his parents when fifteen years old; they settled on Section 12, Armada Township; he worked rented land mostly for about seven years after attaining his majority, and, in the spring of 1870, he bought the farm he now occupies, on Section 32, Richmond Township, and afterward added to it. Mr. Paton was married. March 20, 1878, to Maggie A., daughter of David Paton, of Lapeer County; they have two children-—Charlotte, born January 17, 1870; and Florence E.. born October 13, 1881. Mr. Paton is a farmer of great energy and has made the raising of fine cattle and draught horses a prominent branch of his business; he has also a large Hock of sheep, and will in the future enlarge upon this branch: he has also fifteen acres of apple orchard of the most choice varieties. -Mr. Paton and wife are members of the Congregational Church. He is a Republican, and votes for honest temperance men.
BARTLETT PERKINS, son of George and Rebecca S. (Goddard) Perkins, was born at Albany, N. Y., January 8. 1828; came to Macomb with parents in May, 1831, and located at Romeo, where he worked for N. D. Taylor; ho moved to Richmond Township February 8, 1830, where his father died. Bartlett Perkins resided on a portion of the homestead lands until 1870, when he moved to the village of Richmond. He was married, in January, 1853, to Amanda A. Ellenwood, of Jefferson County, N. Y.; two children were born to them—Franklin L, October 20, 1853, died February 3. 1805; and Eddie B.,born September 13. 1800. Mrs. Perkins died July 10, 1870. Mr. Perkins married Mrs. J. L. Barnard (Sutton), born at Stratford, N. Y., September 23, 1833, to whom three children were born, one of whom is living. Mr. Perkins has always been a successful farmer, and a member of the Republican party.
CHARLES H. PERKINS, son of George and Rebecca S. Goddard Perkins, was born in Richmond Township, Section 28, May 25, 1840: the parents were natives of Plymouth, Mass.: came to Macomb County in May, 1831. stopping in Romeo for five years; he bought eighty acres of land west of the village; also built a house and shop, where he carried on the coopers trade; from the village-of Romeo he moved to the Township of Richmond and bought land on Section 28. where Charles now resides; their house was two miles from the neighbors, and several of the elections were held there. The father died August 20, 1876, at the homestead; the mother still lives, at the age of eighty-one years. Mr. Charles H. Perkins has always lived on his farm, and was married, January 5, 1800, to Miss Adelaide Selleck, daughter of Ira Selleck, of New York State; they have four children, viz.: Emma J., born November 15, 1800; Mary E., born July 21, 1802; Nora L.. born August 0, 1866; Hiram A., born March 6. 1860. All are living at home. The family have always been Methodist in form of worship, the mother having been a member of that church for many years. Mr. Perkins has made the raising of fruit a specialty, in which he has met with remarkable success, apples, peaches and strawberries being of extraordinary size and excellence.
REV. DANIEL A PERRTN, A. B.. Pastor of the Methodist Episcopal Church of Richmond Village, was born near Brantford, Ontario, March 21, 1839: his father, Col. Thomas Perrin, was a native of Pittsburgh, Penn., who emigrated to Canada in 1804, and carried on general merchant and milling business for many years in the village of Mt. Vernon, Ontario; he died in 1870. His mother, Mary A. Peet, was a native of Almira, N. who emigrated to Canada in 1810; she died near Brantford, Ontario, January 10,1800. The subject of this sketch received his early education at the Central School, Gait, and at the Mt. Pleasant Academy; at the age of seventeen, he entered the university of Victoria College, Coburg, from which he received the degree of Bachelor of Arts in May, 1861; in 1850, while a student, he entered the ministry of the Wesleyan Methodist Church, in which body he remained eleven years, filling important positions; in 1860, he severed his connection with the Wesleyan Methodist Church of Canada, and removed to the State of Kansas, United States, and entered the ministry of the Methodist Episcopal Church, where he remained, in connection with the Kansas and South Kansas Conference, eight years, filling both literary and ministerial positions; in 1878, he was received into the Detroit Conference, and has been successively stationed at Hamburg, Washington and Richmond. Macomb County, where he still remains. He was married, June 23, 18(53, to Miss Annabella Tyler, of Erin, Ontario, who was born July 12. 1840, in Lockport. N. Y., and died in Kansas November 23, 1876; the issue of this marriage were Hedloy V.. born December 16, 1864, and died August 7, 1865; and Frederick Tyler, born September 2. 1866. He was again married, to Miss Achsah R. Perrin. Mistress of-English Literature and graduate of Bordontown Female College, June 11, 1870; she is the daughter of James W. Perrin. of Freehold, N. J., and was born March 1, 1840; by this marriage he has one son, Willard Scott, born April 10, 1880. The father of Mr. Perrin was a Captain in the militia of Canada in 1837, and was afterward promoted to be Colonel, which honor he wore till the day of his death. Mr. Perrin is an acceptable Pastor of his church, and a Republican in politics.
EDWARD RANDALL, son of Felix and Maria Ingraham Randall, born in Ricnmond August 3, 1849, lived on the homestead and attended the public schools of the township until 1870; he then purchased the old village place on Clay street, where he has since resided. He was married, February 20, 1870, to Miss Etta, daughter of Hiram Goodar: the children of this marriage are Ethel E., born April 25, 1878; Arthur M., born January 10, 1881; and Anna D., born November 18, 1870, died August 24, 1878. Mr. Randall is a farmer and breeder of fine sheep, having purchased of J. C. Thompson, in 1879. twenty ewes of his best breeding; afterward bought of the same party six in addition; in January, 1882, he purchased of Taylor & Chapman, of Middlebury, Vt., ten ewes, all registered in the Vermont Sheep Registry; he also bought of Thompson, in 1881, a ram-Pathfinder, recorded in Vermont Registry, grandson of Bismarck, who took the sweep, stake prize at the Centennial Exposition, and yields twenty-five pounds of wool; he believes in raising the best sheep only; he cultivates a farm of eighty acres.
FELIX RANDALL, son of John and Sarah Smith Randall, natives of Orange Com N. Y., was born at that place October 8, 1812; at the age of eight years, his parents moved to Canada, where they remained for thirteen years; they removed from Canada to Ohio in 1833 where the father died in 1858, aged sixty-seven years; the mother died in Illinois in 1873 aged 84 years. Felix Randall arrived in Macomb in the winter of 1837; he had visited the county two years previously and located 120 acres of land on Sections 31 and 32, Richmond, on which he now resides; he moved from Talmage Township, Portage Co., Ohio, with an ox team and wagon, with a chest of tools, clothes, and a barrel of pork; married, June 1, 1838, Maria, daughter of Asa Ingraham. of Canada; she was born in Canada April 13, 1818; their children are as follows: Climenia, born June 7, 1889, now Mrs. Harris, of Richmond Township; Sarah M.. born October 23. 1841, married Mr. Abbey, now of Iowa; Rhoda M., born December 17, 1843, married Mr. Hodges, of Richmond: Robert A., born May 5, 1847. married and lives in Lenox Township; Edward, born August 3, 1840, lives in Richmond Township; Phoebe, born April 1, 1842, married Marion P. Bates, now a resident of Richmond; Helen, born November 17. 1855. died at home March 22, 1856; Arthur F., born November 3, 1858, married and living on the homestead. Mr. Randall has always lived on the land first taken from the Government; he redeemed it from the wilderness, and has made it a fertile farm; he has taken a prominent part in all the advancements of society, as an officer of the township and a strong temperance man; by industry and economy, he has acquired a competency for his declining years. The mother of Mrs. Randall died February 1. 1850, at the farm in Richmond; her father died at Mt. Clemens in 1864. at the age of eighty-three. Politically. Mr. Randall is a Republican.
ORL RIX, a native of Vermont, was born at Royalton August 1, 1804; his father was a native of the same State; his mother also; both removed to Genesee County. N. Y.. where she died some forty years ago: he died in Memphis, in April. 1867. Mr. Orl Rix removed to Romeo in 1835 and engaged in the mercantile trade; this lasted about five years, when he sold out and went to Memphis and established himself as a miller, building first a saw-mill, and soon after a grist-mill, now occupied and run by S. G. & A. D. Taylor, from 1856 to 1850: the family removed to Romeo, and then returned to the village of Memphis. He was married, in 1836. to Lydia. daughter of Noah Sage, of Vermont; she was born at Shaftsburv. Vt. in 1814; they had a family of five children, three of whom are still living—Mrs. East. Mrs. Taylor and George H. Rix, of Lawton. Van Buren Co., Mich. Mrs. Rix died in Kalamazoo, and was buried in Memphis, in 1877. Mr. Rix died September 8, 1880: he was a member of the Senate and House of Representatives of the Legislature.
MRS. WILLIAM P. RUSSELL (Miss Lucinda G. Stevens), daughter of Deacon O. S. Stevens, of Clinton. Lenawee Co.. Mich., was born in Livingston County. N. Y.. May 16, 1831; removed to Clinton May 16. 1836; educated in the public schools of that place, and afterward under the tuition of Prof. Estabrook. now of the Olivette College; she began to teach in the public schools of the State at the age of twenty-two, which she followed for three years. She was married, August 27, 1874, to the Rev. W. P. Russell, of Memphis, Mich.* and still lives at that place; her father was born at Claremont, N. H.. and moved to Michigan in an early day. and has spent his active life in this State; he now lives with his daughter, Mrs. Russell, and is in good health, at the age of eighty-five years; her mother died March 16, 1866, at Clinton, Mich.; her maiden name was Matilda Goss; she became a member of the Congregational Church, then Presbyterian, of Clinton, Mich., at the age of eighteen years, which membership was transferred to the church at Memphis, and she is still an active member, a Clerk of the church, and a faithful worker in the Sabbath school.
JOHN K. SMITH, a native of Vermont, rendered a most important service to his country's troops in 1813; was afterward appointed a Forage Master of a United States regiment, and served with the command until discharged at Detroit in 1816; the same year, he visited Stromner's Island, leased the old Laughton House thereon from David Laughton, and inaugurated the Smith Pottery there in May, 1817; in the winter of 1818, he taught school on Harsen's Island, in a part of Jacob Harsen's house, at the same time being engaged in trade with the Indians, in company with D. Laughton; he was commissioned Justice of the Peace of Macomb County May 17, 1818, by Gov. Cass; was the first Postmaster in St Clair County, being appointed in charge of an office at Plainfield An gust 26, 1826, and Special Commissioner of St. Clair April 20, 1827, first Custom Inspector on the St Clair River May 1. 1832; and was the first Probate Judge of St. Clair, being elected in 1835; he was Justice of the Peace from 1818 until his death, in 1855. Throughout the chapters of the general history, the name of John K. Smith is given in close connection with the affairs of Macomb Count in 1818, 1819 and 1821.
ADDISON G. STONE, son of George and Melinda farewell, natives of New York and Ohio, was born at the village of Albion, Orleans Co., N. Y., March 10, 1840; he received a primary education in his native place, and then entered Eastman's Commercial College, of Rochester, N. Y., and then to Georgetown College, of Washington, D. C. where he graduated from the Law Department in June, 1875; was admitted to the practice of law by the Supreme Court of the District of Columbia June 14, 1875; entered upon the practice of his profession at once, which was continued one year; on leaving Washington, he went South, and was in Savannah during the rage of the yellow fever, and was one of the sufferers; then he removed to Rutland Count}', Vt., and engaged in the practice of law at that place about two years, where he was a member of tho bar for that county. He removed to Macomb County December 12, 1878, locating in Richmond Village, where he still resides, and is engaged in his profession. He was married, September 10, 1873, to Lucretia M. Kent, a native of Wallingford, Vt.; she was the daughter of E. W. Kent, a farmer of that place; they have no children. At the township meeting next succeeding his arrival in the township, he was elected a magistrate, which office he still holds; in 1880, ho was elected Circuit Court Commissioner of the county, and is still in office. Mr. Stone is well up in his profession, and is a Republican in politics: was elected by the largest majority of any one on the ticket- Mrs. Stone was born in Wallingford. Vt., March 31, 1850. Mr. Stone was Clerk of the village of Richmond for two years succeeding its organization and incorporation—1870 and 1880.
SANFORD M. STONE, son of Solomon and Betsey, daughter of Amos Bradley was born October 22, 1828, in Monroe County, N. Y.; came 'to Macomb with his father's family in 1843; lived at home until attaining the age of twenty years, then attended private school at Armada Village from this time until 1857, when he was a public teacher in the schools fourteen terms; then he bought land on Section 26, Richmond; he soon added to the farm and improved it; he sold in 1863; since that time, he has been engaged agriculture in various places, and now owns several farms; was married, March 16, 1859 to Caroline A. Halleck, daughter of Hinsdale Halleck, a native of Orleans County, N.Y. she was born in Lapeer County April 20, 1840; they have four children—Alice J., born September 0. 1801; Mary E., Juno 21, 1803; Hiram H., November 1, 1865, died March 25, 1866; Warren S., born September 23, I860; Phoebe C. September 7, 1873. After marriage, Mr. Stone lived on the farm six years, then he moved to the village of Richmond, and has since resided there; in 1878, he built a residence, which at that time was the finest residence in the place; he has been a township officer at several times; also an officer under the village charter from the beginning, and at present is its President; a dealer in real estate and securities, and always a Democrat; an officer at the organization of the Union School of the village
SOLOMON STONE. Was born January 17, 1788; ho was the son of Elias Stone, a native of Massachusetts. Solomon was married first to Martha Stanton Clark, who died after a few years. A few years after, he married Betsey Bradley, who was born in Salem, Washington Co., N. Y.; they had one child, Mrs. Sherman, of Bruce Township; by the two marriages there were twelve children, six of whom are living. Mr. Stone was a farmer, having taken land from the Government, on which ho lived until the time of his death, which occurred February 2, 1853, on the homestead. Mrs. Stone died in Richmond Village February I. 1878. All but one are living in the county; came to Macomb and located his land and moved his family in September, 1843.
DAVID STONE, one of the old-time residents of Macomb, a fuller and carder by trade, was born in Massachusetts in 1703. He distinctly remembers the scenes of Washington's death, and the fact, of his parents going to attend funeral services, which were held at many places; also the terrible shock attending the death of Hamilton at the hands of Aaron Burr; during the war of 1812, was called out with the militia for defense. He moved from Genesee County, N. Y., to Macomb, Mich., about the year 1830, and became a pioneer of that region, establishing himself in the trade of carder of wool and dresser of cloth: this business was destroyed by fire, and soon after, his wife, only son and two daughters died. His present home is at Lapeer City. He became a Christian early in life, joining the Congregational Church, of which he is still a devoted and consistent member; he is an active politician, and has voted for every President since 1815; always Whig and Republican. His only surviving daughter is Mrs. Dr. Hamilton, of Lapeer, with whom is his present home.
GEORGE H. STUART, son of Ebenezer and Susan (Hale) Stuart, was born in West Bloomfield, N. Y., October 20, 1813; his parents were natives of Massachusetts: his father removed to Ontario County, N. Y., and died there in 1817; his mother died at Detroit in 1858, at the age of seventy-five. Mr. Stuart passed his early life in Richmond, in the family of Mr. Nathan Hicks, attending school and working on a farm; in April, 1842, he removed to Macomb, having been married the December previous to Miss Betsey A. Jones, of the same place, who accompanied her husband to his new home: they located on land previously purchased, on Section 10, Richmond, on which he has continuously resided since that time. Mrs. Stuart was born May 18, 1817; she is the daughter of Seth Jones, of Bristol, Ontario Co., N. Y.; they have no children. Mr. Stuart has held important offices in township and society, and is a member of the Democratic party; he brought his land from a state of nature to a pleasant and productive farm.
D. T. SUTTON.
BYRON SUTHERLAND, son of Andrew and Naomi (Cooler) Sutherland, was born in Cambria, Niagara Co., N. Y., February 4, 1824; his parents were natives of Rutland County, Vt, who removed to Western New York and died in 1880; he was a soldier of the war or 1812. and was promoted to the Colonelcy of a regiment, and was discharged with honor; his mother died at Romeo in 1871. The subject of this sketch removed to Macomb in the year 184'..), and located land on Section 10, in Richmond Township, which is a portion of his present farm. He was married, January I, 1840, to Sarah A., only child of Noah Cooley, of Washington Township; she was born in Niagara County, N. Y., September 30, 1824; the fruits of this marriage have been Sarah, born November 26, 1840, married H. Woodward and lives in Flint; Andrew B., born September 9, 1851, married Lou DeLand and lives in Memphis Village; Emma A., born January 13, 1854, living with a brother at Romeo; Noah G, born August 13, .1856, married Stella Skillman and lives near Romeo; Anna N., born July 0, 1858, lives at home; William D.. born November 10, 1860, lives at home; Elmer B., born June 22, .1862, lives at home; Irving C. and Earnest A. (twins), born March 25, 1865, also at home. Mr. Sutherland has been an officer of the township, and is the owner of a well-situated and fertile farm of 250 acres. The father of Mrs. Sutherland was born at-Rutland, Vt, November 26, 1804; moved to Romeo in 1831 and cleared the homestead farm, where he died April 10, 1877. Her mother was born in Allegany County, N. Y., November 14, 1807, and died at Romeo November 16, 1880; her ancestors took part in the Revolution.
STEPHEN G. TAYLOR, son of Elijah and Clarissa Taylor, a native of New Hampshire, and his mother's great-grandfather was Lord Granville, of England. Mr. Stephen
Taylor was born in Carroll County, N. H., October 13, 1835. one of eight children, all living but one: also their father and mother, in their native State, had lived together for
fifty-seven years. He came to Michigan in 185(5; was a school-teacher near Baltimore one
term, and then engaged as a clerk in a dry goods store until 1850, when he removed to
Memphis and engaged in the dry goods trade in that village; this was continued for a few
years, when Orl Rix became associated with him, which partnership was continued until the
business was closed out in 1804. At this time, Mr. Taylor engaged in the milling business with Mr. Rix, and, on Mr. Rix retiring in 1877, Mr. A. D. Taylor became a partner,
which continues at the present time. Mr. Taylor was married, in August, 1801, to Sarah
A., daughter of Orl Rix. of Royalton, Vt.; she was born at Memphis July 13, 1843; their
children are as follows: Charles R., born February 4, 1803, now in Detroit: Adrian G..
born May 20, 1867; May L, born September 0. 1877. Mr. Taylor has been a member of
the Congregational Church of the village for sixteen years, and a Deacon of the same:
Mrs. Taylor has also been a member the same length of time. Ho has been for a long time
connected with the Sunday school, and active in all the improvements of the village. In
politics, he is a Democrat.